Skip to main content

Full text of "Curiosities of London: exhibiting the most rare and remarkable objects of interest in the metropolis; with nearly sixty years personal recollections"

See other formats


m 


%»so#      "%3AIN(H^ 


-< 


%7wmn^ 


V 


y0Aavaau# 


i 


^UlBRARYQc 


^lUBRARY^ 


%Qi\m-lti^ 


^ojnvjjo^ 


<\WIMVER% 


v^lOSANCElfj> 


<TJ1»S0V^        "%3AINH3t\V 


CO 
> 


^QfCALIF(%       ^OFCAllFO/fo 


AWEUNIVERy/A 


>^10SANCEI% 


^AHvaain^7    ^Aavaain^      ^nwsov^     ^.smaim^ 


^\\E(JNIVER%       ^10SANCEI% 


^l-LIBRARY^ 


^UIBRARYte, 


%i»soi^     ^ainmv^       %)jnvD-jo^ 


\\tf  UNIVERSE 


^UR-ANGEUfc* 

o 


^JUDNYSOV^        "%i3AINfl-3WV 


^OFCALIF(% 

to 

£5  i\  f  /*•  \  < 

> 


%. 


^AavaaiH^ 


^0FCAIIF(% 


^Aavaan^ 


;$ 


^UIBRARYQr 


^•LIBRARY^ 


^OJIIVJJO^       ^OJIIVJJO^ 


<\WEUNIVER% 


_  o 


^lOSANGElfj^ 

o 


'%3AIN(HWVS 


,~V 


,0f  CAl!F(% 


^OFCALIFO/?^ 


^EUNIVERS//, 


vvlOS  ANCElfj> 

3 


'^AdvaaiH^    ^Aavaain^       ^howsov^ 


-< 


>i 


vKlOSANGElfX* 


\\tf  USIVERS/^. 
1   ^-f"3 


wHIBRARYQr         ^UlBRARYtf/^ 


«IUE,I 1 


i?      •£ 


^amainin^      ^awmih^     ^Aavaain^       %i»so^ 


^UIBRARY^ 


%0JI1V>J0^ 


^UNIVERSE, 


^lOSANGElfr* 


<Til30NVS0# 


^UIBRARY^ 


^aojiivj-jo^' 


^Of-CAIIFO%. 


AWE-UNIVERSE 


^OF-CAUFORto 


%av»an-#      %wsov^     ^/hbaiimb?*       ^atoii-^7 


f 


o 

-n 

i 

-n 
£ 


^lOSANGElfr.*  ^tllBRARYQ^       ^vt-UBRARY^ 


>        =3 


"%MINa-3W^ 


.^OFCAL!F(%, 


^omm\n^ 


^owmin^ 


"%3AINfHt\V>>         ^OJIWDJO^"      ^/OJITVDJO^  %ilJONYS01^ 

^clOSANGELfr.*  ^OFCAIIFO^ 


<\WEUNIVERS/a 

es 
< 


<Til«S01^ 


fc.        ^UBRARYQr 


^EtlNIVERS/A 


^lOSANCELfj^ 

o 


JO^      ^OJI1V3JO^        ^i1«S0#       %a3AINn3W^  %0dnV3J0^ 


^UIBRARYfl/- 


^OFCALIF0fy> 


y0AwaaiH^ 


A\tf  UNIVERSE 


^lOSANGElfj^ 


,^OFCAUF0% 

as 


<TiU3NV-S0V^      ^/MAINIHt^         *$&AHvaan-# 


ER%-       AjcWSANCElfj> 


^t-UBRARY^       ^tUBRARYQr 


§1  ir^  si  if 


>* 


^WEUNIVERS/A 


Digitized  by  the  Internet  Archive 

in  2007  with  funding  from 

Microsoft  Corporation 


http://www.archive.org/details/curiositiesoflonOOtimbiala 


**> 


■ 


CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON 


EXHIBITING   THE   MOST 


RARE  AND  REMARKABLE  OBJECTS  OF  INTEREST 
IN    THE   METROPOLIS; 


WITH   NEARLY 


Sktg  Jtos'  H^rsonal  'j&ttalhdians. 


By  JOHN  TIMBS,  F.S.A. 


[Bow  Church  and  Cheapside,  1750.] 


"  I'll  see  these  things !— They're  rare  and  passing  curious."— OLD  PLAY. 
"I  walked  up  to  the  window  in  my  dusty  black  coat,  and  looking  through  the  glass,  saw 
all  the  world  in  yellow,  blue,  and  green,  running  at  the  ring  of  pleasure." — STERNE. 
"  The  man  tliat  is  tired  of  London  is  tired  of  existence."— JOHNSON. 


A  NEW  EDITION,  CORRECTED  AND  ENLARGED. 


LONDON : 
JOHN    CAMDEN  HOTTEN,  74  &  75,  PICCADILLY 

[All  Rights  Reserved.] 


/vine* 

IMA/ 

KM 


PREFACE. 


IT  is  not  without  considerable  anxiety  that  I  submit  to  the  public  this 
enlarged  edition  of  a  Work  in  which  are  garnered  many  of  the  labours 
of  a  long  life,  for  the  most  part  passed  amidst  the  localities  and  charac- 
teristics which  it  is  the  aim  of  this  volume  to  focus  and  portray.  The 
cause  of  the  above  anxiety  lies  chiefly  in  the  changeful  nature  of  the 
subject ;  for  at  no  period  in  the  existence  of  the  Metropolis  have  so 
many  changes  been  wrought  in  its  "scarred  face,"  and  its  modern  aspect, 
as  in  the  Twelve  Years  that  have  elapsed  since  the  publication  of  the  first 
edition  of  this  Work. 

The  "  Curiosities  of  London"  originally  appeared  in  the  Spring  of  1855,  f 
in  a  small  octavo  volume  of  800  pages,  when  it  was  received  by  the  Critical 
Press  with  almost  unanimous  approval ;  or,  in  some  respects,  an  inclina- 
tion to  take  the  word  for  the  deed,  and  in  others  to  kindly  regard  the 
difficulties  of  the  labour.  In  either  case  I  am  bound  to  be  grateful. 
The  edition,  over  3000  copies,  was  sold  within  a  comparatively  short 
period,  considering  the  character  of  the  work,  then  regarded  as  almost  ex- 
clusively antiquarian ;  although  the  above  reception  induces  the  belief  that 
"  the  Present  has  its  Curiosities  as  well  as  the  Past."  The  book  remained 
for  several  years  entirely  out  of  print,  and  second-hand  could  only  be 
rarely  obtained  by  advertisement.  I  then  resolved  upon  its  revision,  and 
its  reproduction,  enlarged  and  more  perfect  in  its  details  than  hitherto ; 
and  the  present  volume  of  library  size,  880  pages,  is  the  result;  im- 
proved, it  is  hoped,  in  the  value  of  its  contents,  as  well  as  increased  in  bulk. 


M> 


PREFACE. 


The  plan  and  arrangement  of  this  edition  are  essentially  the  same  as 
those  of  its  predecessor.  The  type  is  somewhat  enlarged,  and  more 
readable ;  in  the  quotations  and  descriptive  details,  the  small  but  clear 
letter  has  been  adhered  to,  so  as  to  comprise  an  additional  amount 
of  exact  and  authorized  illustrative  information.  Meanwhile,  the  extent 
of  the  more  important  articles  has  been  considerably  augmented,  though 
with  the  requisite  attention  to  conciseness  and  facility  of  reference. 
Several  new  articles  have  been  added.;  others  have  been  re-written  and 
enlarged.  Correctness  has  been  the  cardinal  point  throughout  the  Work  ; 
although  the  many  thousand  facts,  names,  and  dates  contained  in  this  large 
volume  will,  it  is  hoped,  be  taken  into  account. 

The  Preface  to  the  First  Edition  has  been  reprinted  for  the  sake  of  its 
explanation  of  the  design,  which  I  have  here  amplified,  improved,  and 
rendered  more  trustworthy  as  well  as  entertaining,  by  the  best  means 
and  opportunities  at  my  disposal,  venerating  the  injunction  of  the  old 
poet — 

"Up  into  the  watch-tower  get, 
And  see  all  things  despoiled  of  fallacies." 

The  Annals  of  a  great  City  are  ofttimes  to  be  traced  in  the  history  of 
its  Public  Edifices.  In  the  ancient  and  modern  Cathedral,  the  venerable 
Minster,  and  the  picturesque  Churches  of  the  Metropolis,  we  not  only 
read  the  history  of  its  Architecture,  but  in  their  "  solemn  paths  of  Fame" 
we  trace  countless  records  of  our  country's  greatness. 

The  Birthplaces  and  Abodes  of  eminent  Londoners  are  so  many  hal- 
lowed sites  to  those  who  love  to  cherish  the  memories  of  great  men.  The 
palace-prison  of  M  the  Tower "  bears  upon  its  very  walls  an  index  to 
most  stirring  events  in  our  history. 

The  Civic  H  alls  of  London  are  stored  with  memorials  of  past  ages 
illustrating  curious  glimpses  of  manners  and  artistic  skill  in  their  Pictures, 
Plate,  and  Painted  Glass. 

To  trace  the  growth  of  great  centres  of  population,  from  the  village  in 
the  fields  to  a  city  of  palaces,  part  of  the  Great  Town  itself,  leads  us 
through  many  vivid  contrasts  of  life  and  manners  : — from  the  times  when 
Southwark  was  a  Roman  suburb ;  Lambeth  and  Chelsea  were  Saxon 
villages;  "Westminster  was  a  u  Thorny  Island  ;"  St.  Marylebone,  a  hamlet 
on  the  brook  ;  St.  Pancras,  in  the  fields  ;  and  Finsbury,  a  swampy  moor : 
all  lying  around  the  focus  of  Roman  civilization,  the  City  itself. 

Certain  localities  bear  names  which  "  make  us  seek  in  our  walks  the 


PREFACE. 


very  footmarks  of  the  Roman  soldier;"  whilst  one  of  our  most  thronged 
thoroughfares  can  be  identified  as  a  British  trackway  and  Roman  street. 
Plow  often  upon  such  sites  are  unearthed  relics  of  the  civilization  and 
luxury  of  our  conquerors  and  colonists. 

The  records  of  the  Amusements  of  the  People,  and  their  Sights  and 
Shows,  in  all  ages,  are  richly  stored  with  Curiosities :  from  the  period 
when  Smithfield  was  an  Anglo-Norman  race-course,  to  the  waning  of  the 
last  of  the  City  pageants,  Lord  Mayor's  Show.  Old  Poets  and  Dramatists, 
Travellers  and  Diarists,  have  left  us  pictures-in-little  of  the  sports  and 
pastimes,  the  follies  and  nine-day- wonders,  of  the  "  Londiners."  Fitz- 
stephen  and  Hentzner,  Stow  and  Strype,  Howell  and  Aubrey,  Evelyn 
and  Pepys,  Ned  Ward  and  Tom  Brown,  Gay  and  Walpole,  have  bequeathed 
us  many  "  trivial  fond  records"  of  this  anecdotic  class.  Again,  how  many 
amusing  eccentricities  are  recorded  in  the  lives  of  the  Alchemists,  Astro- 
logers, and  Antiquaries  of  Old  London  ! 

Such  are  the  leading  Archaeological  features  which,  interwoven  with 
the  Modern  History  and  Present  Condition  of  the  Metropolis,  form  the 
staple  of  the  present  volume.  In  the  intermediate  changes  have  dis- 
appeared many  old  London  landmarks,  which  it  has  been  my  special 
object  to  describe : 

"  Praising  what  is  lost, 
•  Makes  the  remembrance  dear." 


JOHN  TIMBS. 


HoRNSEY-ROAD, 

Dec.  1867.    \\   — — 


PRE  FACE 


TO 


THE    FIRST    EDITION, 


LITTLE  need  be  said  to  bespeak  the  interest  of  readers  in  the  staple  of 
the  present  work — the  Notable  Things  in  the  History  of  London 
through  its  Nineteen  Centuries  of  accredited  antiquity.  Still,  I  am  anxious 
to  offer  a  few  words  upon  the  origin  and  growth  of  this  volume  ;  and  the 
means  by  which  I  have  striven  to  render  it  as  complete  as  the  extent  and 
ever -varying  nature  of  the  subject  will  allow. 

Twenty-seven  years  since  (in  1828),  I  wrote  in  the  parlour  of  the 
house  No.  3  Charing  Cross  (then  a  publisher's),  the  title  and  plan  of  a 
volume  to  be  called  "  Curiosities  of  London;"  and  the  work  here  sub- 
mitted to  the  public  is  the  realization  of  that  design.  I  then  proposed  to 
note  the  most  memorable  points  in  the  annals  of  the  Metropolis,  and  to 
describe  its  most  remarkable  objects  of  interest,  from  the  earliest  period 
to  my  own  time,-:— for  the  Present  has  its  Curiosities  as  well  as  the 
Past.  Since  the  commencement  of  this  design  in  1828, — precisely  mid- 
way in  my  lifetime, — I  have  scarcely  for  a  day  or  hour  lost  sight  of  the 
subject;  but,  through  along  course  of  literary  activity,  have  endeavoured 
to  profit  by  every  fair  opportunity  to  increase  my  stock  of  materials ;  and 
by  constant  comparison,  "  not  to  take  for  granted,  but  to  weigh  and  con- 
sider," in  turning  such  materials  to  account.  In  this  labour  I  have  been 
greatly  aided  by  the  communications  of  obliging  friends,  as  well  as  by  my 
own  recollection  of  nearly  Fifty  Years'  Changes  in  the  aspects  of  "  enlarged 
and  still  increasing  London." 

"  Thinking  how  different  a  place  London  is  to  different  people,"  I  have, 
in  this  volume,  studied  many  tastes ;  but  its  leading  characteristics  will 


PREFACE  TO  THE  FIRST  EDITION. 


be  found  to  consist  in  what  Addison's  Freeholder  calls  "  the  Curiosities  of 
this  great  Town."  Their  bibliographical  illustration,  by  quotations  from 
Old  Poets  and  Dramatists,  Travellers  and  Diarists,  presents  a  sort  of 
literary  chequer-work  of  an  entertaining  and  anecdotic  character ;  and 
these  historic  glimpses  are  brought  into  vivid  contrast  with  the  Social 
Statistics  and  other  Great  Facts  of  the  London  of  to-day. 

The  plan  of  the  book  is  in  the  main  alphabetical.  Districts  and  locali- 
ties are,  however,  topographically  described ;  the  arrangement  of  street3 
being  generally  in  a  sub-alphabet.  The  Birthplaces,  Abodes,  and  Burial- 
places  of  Eminent  Persons — so  many  sites  of  charmed  ground — are 
specially  noted,  as  are  existing  Antiquities,  Collections  of  Rare  Art  and 
Virtu,  Public  Buildings,  Royal  and  Noble  Residences,  Great  Institutions) 
Public  Amusements  and  Exhibitions,  and  Industrial  Establishments ;  so 
to  chronicle  the  renown  of  Modern  as  well  as  Ancient  London.  The 
articles  describing  the  Churches,  Exchanges,  Halls,  Libraries  and  Museums, 
Palaces  and  Parks,  Parliament-Houses,  Roman  Remains,  and  the  Tower 
of  London,  are,  from  their  importance,  most  copious  in  their  details. 

The  utmost  pains  has  been  taken  to  verify  dates,  names,  and  circum- 
stances ;  and  it  is  trusted  that  no  errors  may  be  found  in  addition  to  those 
noted  at  the  close  of  the  volume,  with  the  changes  in  the  Metropolis 
during  the  progress  of  the  printing  of  the  work.  The  reader,  it  is  hoped, 
will  regard  these  inaccuracies  with  indulgence,  when  the  immense  number 
of  facts  sought  to  be  recorded  in  this  volume  is  considered.  Lastly,  it  has 
been  my  aim  to  render  the  Curiosities  useful  as  well  as  entertaining ; 
and  with  that  view  are  introduced  several  matters  of  practical  informa- 
tion for  Londoners  as  well  as  visitors. 

JOHN  TIMBS. 


88,  SlOANE- STREET,  CHELSEA, 

Jan.  16,  1855. 


ADDITIONS,  CHANGES,  CORRECTIONS,  $c. 


During  the  printing  of  the  present  Work  (nearly  900  pages),  several  changes 
have  been  made  in  the  Metropolis — its  material  aspect,  as  well  as  in  circumstances 
affecting  its  government,  &c. ;  among  which  are  the  following,  entitled  to  special 
note : — 

Page  36. — Bitnhill-eields  Bueial-GBOTTND.  By  Act  of  Parliament,  the 
management  of  this  property  has  been  transferred  by  the  Ecclesiastical  Commissioners 
to  the  Corporation  of  London,  who  are  to  convert  the  ground  into  a  public  garden ; 
the  Commissioners  reserving  the  right  to  resume  possession  of  the  estate  should  their 
conditions  be  ineffectually  performed. 

Page  37. — Bartholomew's  (S.)  Hospital.  The  question  as  to  the  election  of  the 
Presidents  of  the  four  great  City  Hospitals,  stated  at  p.  37  to  be  then  sub  judice, 
was,  in  November,  1866,  decided  by  the  Court  of  Queen's  Bench  in  favour  of  the 
Hospitals,  the  Governors  of  which  have  free  choice  in  the  election  of  their  Presidents 
(see  p.  436).  His  Royal  Highness  the  Prince  of  Wales  has  since  been  elected  President 
of  S.  Bartholomew's. 

Page  41. —  Pantheon  Bazaar  was  closed  in  1867,  and  the  building  converted  into  a 
wine  dep6t.     (See  p.  640.) 

Page  49. — Bermondsey  Priory.  See  Annates  Monastici,  vol.  hi.,  edited  by  H.  R. 
Luard,  1866. 

Page  74. — Top  line,  for  Jolliffe  Banks,  read  Jolliffe  and  Banks. 
^"oe  80. — The  Speaker's    State    Coach    is  now   kept   at   the  Speaker's  stables, 
Millbank. 

j-uije  85. — Charterhouse  site  and  buildings  are  to  be  transferred  to  Merchant 
Taylors  ;  and  Charterhouse  to  be  removed  into  the  country. 

Page  92. — The  old  print  of  the  "  Bunn  House  at  Chelsey,"  measures  52  by  21 
inches. 

Page  144. —  Church  of  S.  Allan  the  Martyr :  the  choir  entirely  for  the  parishioners. 

Page  153. — S.  Benet's  Church,  Gracechurch-street,  has  been  taken  down. 

Page  238. — For  Peckburn  read  Pickburn. 

Page  284. — Nelson  Column.  The  bronze  lions,  by  Landseer,  on  the  pedestal,  are 
described  at  p.  759. 

Page  287. — Common  Council.    For  "  the  Court  held,"  read  the  Court  hold. 

Page  302. — For  "  Britton  and  Bailey,"  read  Britton  and  Brayley. 

Page  312. — Doctobs'  Commons.     The  buildings  were  taken  down  in  1867. 

Page  350. — Fleet-stbeet.  No.  50,  (not  13,)  formerly  the  Amicable  Life  As- 
surance Office,  is  now  the  Office  of  the  Norwich  Union  Society. 

Page  430. — Middle  Row  has  been  taken  down. 

Page  469. — Gbay's  Inn.     For  "  Corner-court,"  read  Coney-court. 

Page  541. — Mansion  House.  At  the  close  of  the  International  Exhibition  of 
1851,  the  Corporation  of  London,  with  a  view  of  encouraging  the  growth  of  Art  in 
this  country,  voted  the  sum  of  10,000£.  to  be  expended  in  Statuary  for  the  Egyptian 
Hall ;  and  the  Statues  now  in  the  Hall  were  ordered. 

Page  608. — Stband  Mitsic  Hall.    For  "  Old,"  read  New  Exeter  'Change. 

Page  716. — Spitalfields.    For  "  Lottesworth,"  read  Loletworth. 


CUEIOSITIES   OF   LONDON. 


ABELPHI,  THE. 

A  SERIES  of  streets  in  the  rear  of  the  houses  on  the  south  side  of  the  Strand, 
reaching  east  and  west  from  Adam-street  to  Buckingham -street,  and  facing  the 
Thames  on  the  south — a  grand  commencement  of  the  architectural  embankment  of  the 
river,  in  1768.  It  is  named  Adelphi  (d8eX(£6r,  brother)  from  its  architects,  the  four 
brothers  Adam,  who  built  vast  arches  over  the  court-yard  of  old  Durham  House,  and 
upon  these  erected,  level  with  the  Strand,  Adam-street,  leading  to  John,  Robert, 
James,  and  William-streets ;  the  noble  line  of  houses  fronting  the  Thames  being  the 
Adelphi-terrace.  The  view  from  this  spot  is  almost  unrivalled  in  the  metropolis  for 
variety  and  architectural  beauty  :  from  Waterloo  Bridge  on  the  east,  with  the  majestic 
dome  and  picturesque  campanili  of  St.  Paul's,  to  Westminster  Bridge  on  the  west, 
above  which  rise  the  towers  of  Lambeth  Palace  and  Westminster  Abbey ;  the  massive 
entrance  and  lofty  clock-tower,  and  pinnacled  and  bristling  roofs  of  the  Houses  of  Par- 
liament :  beneath  lies  the  river,  spanned  with  manifold  bridges.  The  prospect  is,  how- 
ever, partially  disfigured  with  huge  and  shapeless  railway  buildings. 

In  passing  through  Parliament  the  Bill  for  the  Embankment  of  part  of  the  Thames  adjoining 
Durham-yard,  a  violent  contest  arose  between  the  City  and  the  Court.  The  Lord  Mayor,  as  Con- 
servator of  the  river,  considering  the  rights  of  the  citizens  exposed  to  encroachment,  they  were  heard 
by  counsel  in  Parliament.  They  produced  a  grant  of  Henry  VII.  of  all  the  soil  and  bed  of  the  river, 
from  Staines  Bridge  to  a  place  in  Kent,  near  the  Medway ;  and  showed  a  lease  granted  by  them,  sixty- 
six  years  before  this  period,  of  a  nook  of  the  river  at  Vauxhall,  under  which  they  still  continued  to 
receive  rent.  On  the  other  side  a  charter  of  Charles  II.  to  the  City  was  produced,  in  which  he  reserved 
the  bed  of  the  river ;  and  it  was  contended  that  the  City,  by  receiving  the  latter  grant,  abandoned  the 
former ;  that  the  charter  of  Henry  VII.  extended  only  to  the  soil  of  the  river  within  the  City  and 
suburbs.  The  lease  of  Vauxhall  was  said  to  be  a  mere  encroachment,  and  the  right  of  the  City  was 
utterly  denied.  These  arguments  prevailed :  the  Bill  passed  both  Houses:  and  the  magnificent  pile  of 
buildings  called  the  Adelphi  was  erected  on  the  site.  The  brothers  Adam  were  chosen  the  Court 
architects,  through  the  influence  of  the  Earl  of  Bute,  and  did  not  escape  the  satire  of  the  day : — 

"  Four  Scotchmen,  by  the  name  of  Adam, 
Who  keep  their  coaches  and  their  madam," 
Quoth  John,  in  sulky  mood,  to  Thomas, 
"  Have  stole  the  very  river  from  us." 

Foundling  Hotpitalfor  Wit,  vol.  iv. 

In  the  centre  house  of  the  Terrace,  No.  4,  David  Garrick  lived  from  1772  till  his 
death,  Jan.  20,  1779  :  the  ceiling  of  the  front  drawing-room  was  painted  by  Antonio 
Zucchi,  A.R.A. ;  the  white  marble  chimney-piece  cost  300J.  Garrick  died  in  the  back 
drawing-room ;  and  here  his  remains  lay  in  state,  previous  to  their  interment  in  West- 
minster Abbey,  Feb.  1.  Johnson  says  :  "  His  death  eclipsed  the  gaiety  of  nations  f 
but  Walpole,  "  Garrick  is  dead ;  not  a  public  loss ;  for  he  had  quitted  the  stage." 
There  were  not  at  Lord  Chatham's  funeral  half  the  noble  coaches  that  attended 
Garrick's ;  Burke  was  one  of  the  mourners,  and  came  expressly  from  Portsmouth  to 
follow  the  great  actor's  remains ;  and  Lord  Ossory  was  one  of  the  pall-bearers.  Walpole 
writes  to  the  Countess  of  Ossory  : — 

"  Yes,  madam,  I  do  think  the  pomp  of  Garrick's  funeral  perfectly  ridiculous.  It  is  confounding  the 
immense  space  between  pleasing  talents  and  national  services.  What  distinctions  remain  for  a  patriot 
hero,  when  the  most  solemn  have  been  showered  on  a  player  ?  .  .  .  Shakspere,  who  wrote  when 
Burleigh  counselled  and  Nottingham  fought,  was  not  rewarded  and  honoured  like  Garrick,  who  only 
acted."— Letter,  Feb.  1,  1779. 

B 


CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


Garrick's  widow  also  died  in  the  front  drawing-room  of  the  same  house,  in  1822,  at 
the  Adelphi-terrace.  The  floor  is  now  the  chambers  of  the  Royal  Literary  Fund 
Society.  In  another  of  the  Terrace  houses  lived  Sir  Edward  Banks,  one  of  the  builders  of 
Waterloo,  Southwark,  London,  and  Staines  bridges,  over  the  Thames.  He  was  one  of 
the  earliest  railway  "navvies,"  and  worked  on  the  Merstham  Railway,  in  Surrey, 
about  the  year  1801 :  by  natural  abilities  and  the  strictest  integrity,  he  raised  himself 
to  wealth  and  station :  he  died  July  5,  1835. 

At  the  north-east  corner  of  Adam-street,  No.  73,  Strand,  Becket,  the  bookseller, 
kept  shop, — the  rendezvous  of  Garrick,  who  never  went  to  taverns,  seldom  to  coffee- 
houses. At  No.  1,  Adam-street,  lived  Dr.  Vicesimus  Knox,  one  of  "the  British 
Essayists  ."  In  the  first  floor  of  the  same  house  resided,  for  twenty  years,  in  almost 
total  seclusion,  George  Blamire,  barrister-at-law,  of  very  eccentric  habits,  but  sound 
mind.  No  person  was  allowed  to  enter  his  chamber,  his  meals  and  all  communications 
being  left  by  his  housekeeper  at  the  door  of  his  ante-room.  He  was  found  dead  in  an 
arm-chair,  in  which  he  had  been  accustomed  to  sleep  for  twenty  years.  He  died  of 
exhaustion,  from  low  fever  and  neglect ;  at  which  time  his  rooms  were  filled  with  fur- 
niture, books,  plate,  paintings,  and  other  valuable  property. 

At  Osborne's  Hotel,  John-street,  in  1824,  sojourned  Kamehameha  II.,  King  of  the 
Sandwich  Islands,  and  his  sister  the  Queen,  with  their  suites :  at  this  time  was  written 
the  song  of  "  The  King  of  the  Cannibal  Islands."  The  Queen  died  here  of  measles, 
July  8 ;  and  the  King  died  of  the  same  disease  at  the  Caledonian  Hotel  on  the  14th. 
Their  remains  lay  in  native  pomp  at  Osborne's,  and  were  then  deposited  in  the  vaults 
of  St.  Martin's  Church,  prior  to  their  being  conveyed  in  the  Blonde  frigate  to  the 
Sandwich  Islands  for  interment.  The  poor  King  and  Queen  were  wantonly  charged 
with  gluttony  and  drunkenness  while  here ;  but  they  lived  chief! y  on  fish,  poultry,  and 
fruit,  and  their  favourite  drink  was  some  cider  presented  to  them  by  Mr.  Canning. 

In  John-street  also,  on  the  north  side,  is  the  house  built  for  the  Society  of  Arts  by 
the  Adams,  and  extending  over  part  of  the  site  of  the  New  Exchange,  Strand.  In 
the  second-floor  chambers  at  No.  2,  James-street,  lived,  for  nearly  thirty  years,  Mr. 
Thomas  Hill,  the  "  Hull "  of  Theodore  Hook's  novel  of  Gilbert  Gurney.  Hill  died 
'  &  here  December  20,  1841,  in  his  eighty-first  year,  and  left  a  large  collection  of  curio- 
sities, including  a  cup  and  a  small  vase  formed  from  the  mulberry-tree  planted  by 
Shakspeare  at  Stratford-upon-Avon.  Neither  of  these,  however,  is  the  Shakspeare 
Cup  presented  to  Garrick  by  the  Mayor  and  Corporation  of  Stratford  at  the  time  of 
the  Jubilee.  This  celebrated  relic  was  bought  on  May  5,  1825,  for  121  guineas,  by 
Mr.  J.  Johnson ;  and  by  him  sold,  July  4,  1846,  for  40Z.  8*.  6d.,  to  Mr.  Isaacs,  of 
Upper  Gower-sbreet. 

The  Adelphi  vaults,  in  part  occupied  as  wine-cellars  and  coal-wharfs,  in  their  grim 
vastness,  remind  one  of  the  Etruscan  Cloaca  of  old  Rome.  Beneath  the  "  dry  arches," 
the  most  abandoned  characters  have  often  passed  the  night,  nestling  upon  foul  straw ; 
and  many  a  street-thief  escaped  from  his  pursuers  in  these  dismal  haunts,  before  the 
introduction  of  gas-light  and  a  vigilant  police. 

ADMIRALTY  OFFICE,  THE, 

FORMS  the  left  flank  of  the  detachment  of  Government  Offices  on  the  north  side  of 
Whitehall.  It  occupies  the  site  of  Wallingford  House,  from  the  roof  of  which 
Archbishop  Usher  saw  King  Charles  I.  led  out  to  execution  in  the  front  of  Whitehall 
Palace,  and  swooned  at  the  sad  scene. 

Wallingford  House  was  sold  to  the  Crown  in  1680,  and  thither  the  business  of  the 
Admiralty  was  removed  from  Crutched  Friars,  and  Duke-street,  Westminster.  The 
street  front  was  rebuilt  by  Thomas  Ripley,  about  1726. 

"  See  under  Bipley  rise  a  new  Whitehall." 

The  Jhtnciad,  B.  iii. 

The  Admiralty  is  a  most  ugly  edifice.  To  conceal  its  ugliness,  the  court-yard  was 
fronted  with  a  stone  screen,  by  Adam,  in  the  reign  of  George  III.  This  screen  is  a 
very  characteristic  composition;  its  sculptured  hippocampi,  and  prows  of  ancient 
vessels,  combining  with  an  anchor  in  the  pediment  of  the  portico  of  the  main  building, 


ALCHEMISTS. 


to  denote  the  purposes  of  the  office — the  administration  of  the  affairs  of  the  Eoyal  Navy. 
In  one  of  the  large  rooms  the  body  of  Lord  Nelson  lay  in  state,  January  8,  1806 ;  and 
next  day  took  place  the  solemn  funeral  procession,  with  a  military  force  of  nearly  8000 
men,  from  this  spot  to  St.  Paul's  Cathedral. 

The  office  of  Lord  High  Admiral  was,  in  1827,  revived,  after  the  sleep  of  a  century, 
and  was  conferred  by  patent  (similar  to  that  of  Prince  George  of  Denmark),  upon  the 
Duke  of  Clarence,  who  resided  at  the  Admiralty.  His  Royal  Highness  was  thought  by 
the  Duke  of  Wellington,  then  Premier,  to  have  mixed  up  with  the  business  of  the  office 
too  much  jaunting  and  cruising  about,  presenting  of  colours,  and  shows,  on  sea  and 
land,  "  more  expensive  and  foolish  than  in  any  way  serviceable."  On  a  long  account 
for  travelling  expenses  being  sent  in  to  the  Treasury  by  the  Duke  of  Clarence,  the 
Premier  endorsed  the  paper, "  No  travelling  expenses  allowed  to  the  Lord  High  Admiral," 
and  dismissed  it ;  when  His  Royal  Highness  retired ;  the  salary  was  5000Z.  a  year. 

On  the  roof  of  the  Admiralty  Office,  many  years  since,  was  placed  a  Semaphore  (the 
invention  of  Sir  Home  Popham) ;  the  arms  of  which,  extending  laterally  at  right 
angles,  communicated  orders  and  intelligence  to  and  from  the  sea-ports ;  previous  to 
which  was  used  the  shuttle  telegraph,  invented  by  R.  L.  Edgeworth.  The  Semaphore 
has,  however,  been  superseded  by  the  Electric  Telegraph,  of  which  wires  are  laid  from 
the  office  in  Whitehall  to  the  Dockyard  at  Portsmouth,  &c. 

ALCHEMISTS. 

SOME  sixty  years  since,  there  died  in  his  chamber,  in  Barnard's  Inn,  Holborn,  Peter 
Woulfe,  the  eminent  chemist,  a  Fellow  of  the  Royal  Society.  According  to  Mr. 
Brande,  Woulfe  was  "  the  last  true  believer  in  alchemy."  He  was  a  tall,  thin  man  ; 
and  his  last  moments  were  remarkable.  In  a  long  journey  by  coach,  he  took  cold ;  ' 
inflammation  of  the  lungs  followed,  but  he  strenuously  resisted  all  medical  advice.  '  By 
his  desire,  his  laundress  shut  up  his  chamber,  and  left  him.  She  returned  at  midnight 
Avhen  Woulfe  was  still  alive;  next  morning,  however,  she  found  him  dead;  his  coun- 
tenance was  calm  and  serene,  and  apparently  he  had  not  moved  from  the  position  in 
which  she  had  last  seen  him.  These  particulars  of  Woulfe's  end  were  received  by  the 
writer  from  the  Treasurer  of  Barnard's  Inn,  who  was  one  of  the  executors  of  Woulfe's 
last  will  and  testament.  Little  is  known  of  Woulfe's  life.  Sir  Humphry  Davy  tells 
us  that  he  used  to  affix  written  prayers,  and  inscriptions  of  recommendations  of  his 
processes  to  Providence.  His  chambers  were  so  filled  with  furnaces  and  apparatus, 
that  it  was  difficult  to  reach  the  fireside.  Dr.  Babington  told  Mr.  Brande  that  he  once 
put  down  his  hat,  and  could  never  find  it  again,  such  was  the  confusion  of  boxes,  pack- 
ages, and  parcels,  that  lay  about  the  room.  His  breakfast-hour  was  four  in  the 
morning :  a  few  of  his  friends  were  occasionally  invited,  and  gained  entrance  by  a 
secret  signal,  knocking  a  certain  number  of  times  at  the  inner-door  of  the  chamber. 
He  had  long  vainly  searched  for  the  Elixir,  and  attributed  his  repeated  failure  to  the 
want  of  due  preparation  by  pious  and  charitable  acts.  Whenever  he  wished  to  break 
an  acquaintance,  or  felt  himself  offended,  he  resented  the  supposed  injuries  by  sending  a 
present  to  the  offender,  and  never  seeing  him  afterwards.  These  presents  sometimes 
consisted  of  an  expensive  chemical  product,  or  preparation.  He  had  an  heroic  remedy 
for  illness,  which  was  a  journey  to  Edinburgh  and  back  by  the  mail-coach ;  and  a  cold 
taken  on  one  of  these  expeditions  terminated  in  inflammation  of  the  lungs,  of  which  he 
died. — A  Century  of  Anecdote,  vol.  ii.,  pp.  315,  316. 

"About  1801,  an  adept  lived,  or  rather  starved,  in  the  metropolis,  in  the  person  of  an  Editor  of  an 
evening  journal,  who  expected  to  compound  the  alkahest  if  he  could  only  keep  his  materials  digested 
in  a  lamp-furnace  for  the  space  of  seven  years.  The  lamp  burnt  brightly  during  six  years,  eleven  months, 
and  some  odd  days  besides,  and  then,  unluckily,  it  went  out.  Why  it  went  out  the  adept  never  could 
guess  ;  but  he  was  certain  that  if  the  flame  could  only  have  burnt  to  the  end  of  the  septenary  cycle  his 
experiment  must  have  succeeded." — Paper  on  Attrology  and  Alchemy,  by  Sir  Walter  Scott ;  Quarterly 
Review,  1821. 

In  Catherine-street,  Strand,  lived  for  many  years,  one  John  Denley,  a  bookseller, 
who  amassed  here  a  notable  collection  of  the  works  of  alchemist,  cabalist,  and  astro- 
loger. He  is  the  individual  so  characteristically  portrayed  by  Sir  Edward  Lytton 
Bulwer,  in  the  introduction  to  his  Zanoni. 

B  2 


Xi 


CURIOSITIES   OF  LOXDOX. 


Within  the  last  fifteen  years,  there  has  been  printed  in  England,  a  volume  of  consi- 
derable extent,  entitled,  A  Suggestive  Inquiry  into  the  Hermetic  Mystery  :  London, 
T.  Saunders,  1850.  This  work,  which  a  Correspondent  of  Notes  and  Queries  describes 
as  "  a  learned  and  valuable  book,"  is  by  a  lady  (anonymous),  and  has  been  suppressed 
by  the  author.  By  this  circumstance  we  are  reminded  of  a  concealment  of  alchemical 
practices  and  opinions,  some  thirty  years  since,  when  it  came  to  our  knowledge  that  a 
man  of  wealth  and  position  in  the  metropolis,  an  adept  of  Alchemy,  was  held  in 
terrorem  by  an  unprincipled  person,  who  extorted  from  him  considerable  sums  of  money 
under  a  threat  of  exposure,  which  would  have  affected  his  mercantile  credit. 

ALMACK'S 

ASSEMBLY-ROOMS,  on  the  south  side  of  King-street,  St.  James's,  were  built  by 
Robert  Mylne,  architect,  for  Almack,  a  Scotchman,  and  were  opened  Feb.  12, 
1765,  with  an  Assembly,  at  which  the  Duke  of  Cumberland,  the  hero  of  Culloden,  was 
present.     Gilly  Williams  writes  to  George  Selwyn : — 

"  There  is  now  opened  at  Almack's,  in  three  very  elegant  new-built  rooms,  a  ten-guinea  subscription, 
for  which  you  have  a  ball  and  supper  once  a  week,  for  twelve  weeks.  You  may  imagine  by  the  sum 
the  company  is  chosen ;  though,  relined  as  it  is,  it  will  be  scarce  able  to  put  old  Soho  (Mrs.  Comelys') 
out  of  countenance.  The  men's  tickets  are  not  transferable,  so,  if  the  ladies  do  not  like  us,  they  have 
no  opportunity  of  changing  us,  but  must  see  the  same  persons  for  ever."  .  .  .  .  "  Our  female  Almack's 
flourishes  beyond  description.  Almack's  Scotch  face,  in  a  bag-wig,  waiting  at  supper,  would  divert 
you,  as  would  his  lady,  in  a  sack,  making  tea  and  curtseying  to  the  duchesses." 

The  large  ball-room  is  about  one  hundred  feet  in  length,  by  forty  feet  in  width  ;  ifc 
is  chastely  decorated  with  gilt  columns  and  pilasters,  classic  medallions,  mirrors,  &c, 
and  is  lit  with  gas,  in  cut-glass  lustres.  The  largest  number  of  persons  ever  present 
in  this  room  at  one  ball  was  1700. 

The  rooms  are  let  for  public  meetings,  dramatic  readings,  lectures,  concerts, 
balls,  and  dinners.  Here  Mrs.  Billington,  Mr.  Braham,  and  Signor  Naldi,  gave 
concerts,  from  1808  to  1810,  in  rivalry  with  Madame  Catalan),  at  Hanover-square 
Rooms;  and  here  Mr.  Charles  Kemble  gave,  in  1814,  his  Readings  from  Shakespeare. 
Almack's  Rooms  are  often  called  "  Willis's,"  from  the  name  of  their  present  pro- 
prietor.    Many  public  dinners  now  take  place  here. 

Almack's  has  declined  of  late  years ;  "  a  clear  proof  that  the  palmy  days  of  exclusive- 
ness  are  gone  by  in  England ;  and  though  it  i^  obviously  impossible  to  prevent  any 
given  number  of  persons  from  congregating  and  re-establishing  an  oligarchy,  we  are 
quite  sure  that  the  attempt  would  be  ineffectual,  and  that  the  sense  of  their  importance 
would  extend  little  beyond  the  set." —  Quarterly  Review,  1840. 
b  >  *?  Many  years  ago  was  published  Almack's,  a  novel,  in  which  the  leaders  of  fashion  were 
sketched  with  much  freedom :  they  were  identified  in  A  Key  to  Almack's,  by  Ben- 
jamin Disraeli. 

ALDERMAN. 

THE  oldest  office  in  the  Corporation  of  London,  and  derived  from  the  title  of  the 
superior  Saxon  noble.  The  more  aged  were  so  called ;  for  aide  in  Saxon  means 
"  old,"  and  alder  is  our  word  "older  :  "  hence,  as  the  judgment  is  most  vigorous  in 
persons  of  more  mature  years,  the  dignitary  who,  among  the  Romans,  was  known  as 
"  Consul "  or  "  Senator,"  among  us  is  called  "  Alderman."  And  yet,  in  the  case  of 
aldermen,  maturity  of  mind  is  to  be  considered  rather  than  of  body,  and  gravity  of 
manners  in  preference  to  length  of  years :  hence  it  is  that  in  the  ancient  laws  of  King 
Cnut,  and  other  kings  in  Saxon  times,  the  person  was  styled  "  Alderman  "  who  is  now 
called  "  Judge  "  and  "  Justiciar,"  as  set  forth  in  the  Liber  Custumarum.  These  alder- 
men, too,  in  respect  of  name  as  well  as  dignity,  were  anciently  called  "  Barones," 
and  were  buried  with  baronial  honours ;  a  person  appearing  in  the  church  upon  a 
caparisoned  horse  in  the  armour  of  the  deceased,  with  his  banner  in  his  hand,  and  carry- 
ing upon  him  his  shield,  helmet,  and  the  rest  of  his  arms.*  This  gorgeous  ceremonial 
was  gradually  discontinued;  but  the  alderman  still  retained  great  state,  and  enjoyed 
special  immunities.  He  could  not  be  placed  on  inquests;  he  was  exempt  from  fees  on 
the  enrolment  of  deeds  or  charters  relating  to  himself;  and  any  person  who  assaulted 

*  Sec  Liber  Albus;  the  White  Book,  B.  1,  Pt.  1,  translated  by  Riley,  1861. 


ALDEBMAST. 


or  slandered  him  was  liable  to  be  imprisoned,  to  be  put  in  the  pillory,  or  to  have  his 
hand  struck  off.  The  aldermen  were  privileged  to  be  arrayed,  on  particular  occasions, 
in  certain  grand  suits,  lined  with  silk.  But  if  a  mayor  or  alderman  gave  away,  or  in 
any  manner  parted  with,  his  robe  within  his  year  of  office,  he  was  mulcted  in  a  forfei- 
ture of  one  hundred  shillings  for  the  benefit  of  the  community,  without  remission ;  or 
if  he  wore  his  cloak  single,  or  not  trimmed  with  fur,  he  was  subjected  to  a  penalty. 
Madox  says :  "  Alderman  was  a  name  for  a  chief  governor  of  a  secular  guild,  and  in 
time  it  became  also  a  name  for  a  chief  officer  in  a  guildated  city  or  town ;"  and  he 
quotes,  in  illustration,  the  circumstance  of  the  Prior  of  Holy  Trinity,  Aldgate,  becom- 
ing an  Alderman  of  London,  in  consequence  of  the  grant  to  that  priory  of  the  "  English 
Knightengild."  According  to  Norton's  Commentaries  on  London,  "  there  is  no  trace 
when  the  name  of  Alderman  was  first  applied  to  the  presidents  of  the  London  wards  or 
guilds :  the  probability  is  it  was  introduced  after  the  Conquest ;  and  there  is  reason 
to  believe  that  the  appellation  was  not  used  in  that  sense  until  the  time  of  Henry  IL," 
when  Aldermen  are  first  mentioned  as  presiding  over  guilds,  some  of  which  were  terri- 
torial and  others  mercantile.  Each  has  his  title  from  his  ward,  as  "  Alderman  of 
Cheap,"  u  Alderman  of  Queenhithe,"  &c. ;  but,  anciently,  the  Ward  was  styled  after 
the  name  of  its  alderman;  as  Tower  Ward  was  called  "the  Ward  of  William  de 
Hadestok."  The  present  ward  of  Farringdon  was  bought  by  William  Faryngdon  in 
1279,  and  remained  in  his  family  upwards  of  eighty  years ;  it  was  held  by  the  tenure 
of  presenting  at  Easter  a  gillyflower,  then  of  great  rarity. 

Among  the  early  Aldermen  we  find,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  III.,  Arnald  Fitz- 
Thedmar,  who  compiled  a  Chronicle  of  the  Mayors  and  Sheriffs  of  London,  from  1188 
to  1274,  in  the  Liber  de  Antiquis  Legibus,  translated  in  1846  and  1863.  Somewhat 
later,  we  find  William  de  Leyre,  Alderman  of  the  Ward  of  Castle  Baynard :  he  had 
once  acted  as  gaoler  to  the  heroic  William  Wallace ;  for  it  was  in  his  house,  situate  in 
the  parish  of  All  Saints,  Fcnchurch -street,  that  the  patriot  was  confined  (22nd  August, 
1305),  the  day  and  night  before  his  barbarous  execution  at  the  Elms  in  Smithfield. 

Aldermen  have,  at  various  times,  suffered  by  the  caprice  of  sovereigns.  In  1545, 
when  Henry  VIII.  demanded  a  "benevolence"  from  his  subjects,  to  defray  the  charges 
of  his  war  with  France  and  Scotland,  Richard  Read,  an  Alderman  of  London,  refused 
to  pay  the  sum  required  from  him.  For  this  offence,  Henry  compelled  the  recusant 
Alderman  to  serve  as  a  foot-soldier  with  the  army  in  Scotland,  where  he  was  made 
prisoner;  and  after  enduring  great  hardships,  he  purchased  his  discharge  by  a  con- 
siderable ransom.     (See  Lord  Herbert's  Life  of  Henry  VIII.) 

Alderman  Barber,  the  first  printer  Lord  Mayor  (1733),  was  the  friend  of  Boling- 
broke,  Swift,  and  Pope ;  and  in  1721  erected  a  tablet  to  Samuel  Butler,  in  West- 
minster Abbey,  with  an  eulogistic  Latin  inscription,  notwithstanding  Butler's  satiric 
"  Character  of  an  Alderman :" — 

"  He  does  no  public  business  without  eating  and  drinking1;  and  when  he  comes  to  be  a  lord-mayor, 
he  does  not  keep  a  great  house,  but  a  very  great  house-warming  for  a  whole  year ;  for  though  he  invites 
all  the  Companies  in  the  City,  he  does  not  treat  them,  but  they  club,  to  entertain  him  and  pay  the 
reckouing  before  the  meal.  His  fur  gown  makes  him  look  a  great  deal  bigger  than  he  is,  like  the 
feathers  of  an  owl ;  and  when  he  pulls  it  off,  he  looks  as  if  he  were  fallen  away,  or  like  a  rabbit,  had  his 
skin  pulled  off." 

The  notorious  Alderman  Wilkes  was  a  man  of  talent,  though  profligate  and  unprin- 
cipled. Alderman  Boydell  was  a  generous  and  discriminating  promoter  of  the  fine 
arts,  and  was  honoured  with  a  public  funeral.  Alderman  Birch  was  an  accomplished 
scholar,  and  wrote  dramatic  pieces.  Alderman  Salomons,  who  joined  the  Court  in  1847, 
was  the  first  Jew  admitted  to  that  privilege.  The  Aldermen  form  the  bench  of  magis- 
trates for  the  City  :  each,  on  his  election  by  Wardmote,  receives  a  present  of  law- 
books; and  in  the  absence  of  any  prisoners  for  examination  at  the  Police  Court  in  which 
the  Alderman  sits,  he  receives  a  pair  of  white  kid  gloves.  The  Aldermen  receive  no 
salary,  but  exercise  many  influential  privileges ;  their  duties  are  onerous.  Probably  the 
history  of  the  Court  presents  a  greater  number  of  instances  of  self-advancement  than 
any  other  records  of  personal  history.  Pensions  or  allowances  are  paid  annually  by 
the  Court  to  the  widows  or  descendants  of  their  less  fortunate  brethren. 

Each  of  the  twenty-six  City  Wards  elect?,  one  Alderman  for  life,  or  "  during  good 
behaviour."     The  fine  for  the  rejection  of  the  office  is  500/. ;  but  it  is  generally  sought 


6  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

as  a  stepping-stone  to  the  Mayoralty,  each  Alderman  heing  in  rota  Lord  Mayor,  he 
having  previously  served  as  Sheriff  of  London  and  Middlesex.  The  Aldermen  form  a 
court,  the  Lord  Mayor  presiding ;  and  sit  in  a  superb  apartment  of  the  Guildhall, 
which  has  a  rich  stucco  ceiling,  painted  mostly  by  Sir  James  Thornhill ;  in  the  cornice 
are  carved  and  emblazoned  the  arms  of  all  the  Mayors  since  1780 ;  each  Alderman's 
chair  bears  his  name  and  arms  :  he  wears  a  scarlet  cloth  gown,  hooded  and  furred ; 
and  a  gold  chain,  if  he  hath  served  as  Mayor.  Upon  state  visits  of  sovereigns  to  the 
City,  the  several  Aldermen  ride  in  procession  on  horseback.  At  the  opening  of  the 
New  Royal  Exchange,  October  28,  1844,  the  Aldermen  rode  thus,  wearing  their  scarlet 
gowns  and  chains,  and  cocked  hats,  carrying  wands,  and  preceding  the  Queen's  proces- 
sion from  Temple  Bar  to  the  Exchange. 

ALMONRY,   THE, 

OR  Eleemosynary,  corruptly,  in  Stow's  time,  and  later,  the  Ambry,  was  named  from 
its  being  the  place  where  the  alms  collected  in  the  Abbey  Church  at  Westminster 
were  distributed  to  poor  persons.  It  was  situated  at  the  east  end  of  the  Sanctuary,  and 
was  divided  into  two  parts :  the  Great  Almonry,  consisting  of  two  oblong  portions, 
parallel  to  the  two  Tothill  streets,  and  connected  by  a  narrow  lane  (the  entrance  being 
from  Dean's-yard)  ;  and  the  Little  Almonry,  running  southward,  at  the  eastern  end  of 
the  other  Almonry. 

In  the  Almonry  the  first  printing-press  ever  known  in  England  was  set  up  by 
William  Caxton :  according  to  Stow,  in  an  old  chapel  near  the  entrance  of  the  Abbey  ; 
but  a  very  curious  placard,  in  Caxton's  largest  type,  and  now  preserved  in  the  library 
of  Brasenose  College,  Oxford,  shows  that  he  printed  in  the  Almonry ;  for  in  this  pla- 
card he  invites  customers  to  M  come  to  Westmonester  in  to  the  Almonestrye  at  the  Reed 
Pale,"  the  name  by  which  was  known  a  house  wherein  Caxton  is  said  to  have  lived. 
It  stood  on  the  north  side  of  the  Almonry,  with  its  back  against  that  of  a  house  on 
the  south  side  of  Tothill-street.  Bagford  describes  this  house  as  of  brick,  with  the 
sign  of  the  King's  Head :  it  is  said  to  have  partly  fallen  down  in  November,  1815, 
before  the  removal  of  the  remainder  of  the  other  dwellings  in  the  Almonry,  to  form  a 
new  line  (Victoria-street)  from  Broad  Sanctuary  to  Pimlico,  when  wooden  types  were  said 
to  have  been  found  here.  A  beam  of  wood  was  saved  from  the  materials  of  the  house, 
and  from  it  have  been  made  a  chess-board  and  two  sets  of  chessmen,  as  appropriate 
memorials  of  Caxton's  first  labour  in  England,  namely,  The  Game  and  Playe  of  the 
Chesse,  1474,  folio,  the  first  book  printed  in  England. 

According  to  a  view  of  Caxton's  house,  nicely  engraved  by  G.  Cooke,  in  1827,  it  was 
three-storied,  and  had  an  outer  gallery,  or  balcony,  to  the  upper  floor,  with  a  window 
in  its  bold  gable :  its  precise  site  was  immediately  adjoining  the  spot  now  occupied  by 
the  principal  entrance  to  the  Westminster  Palace  Hotel,  in  digging  for  the  foundation 
of  which  was  found,  at  twelve  feet  from  the  surface,  a  statuette  of  the  Virgin  and 
Child,  eleven  inches  high,  carved  in  sandstone,  and  bearing  traces  of  rich  gilding. 

In  the  Little  Almonry  lived  James  Harrington,  author  of  Oceana,  in  a  "  faire  house," 
which,  according  to  Aubrey,  "  in  the  upper  story,  had  a  pretty  gallery,  which  looked 
into  the  yard  (cover  ....  court),  where  he  commonly  dined  and  meditated,  and  took 
his  tobacco."  This  "  gallery"  corresponds  with  that  in  Caxton's  house,  which  we  well 
remember :  its  identity  has  been  questioned  j  and  in  one  of  the  appendices  to  Mr. 
Gilbert  Scott's  Gleanings  from  Westminster  Abbey,  Mr.  Burges  suggests,  not  altogether 
without  probability,  that  it  was  in  the  spacious  triforiuui  of  Westminster  Abbey  that 
Caxton  first  set  up  his  printing-press.  Walcott  states  his  "  place  of  trade  near  a  little 
chapel  of  St.  Catherine.  It  is  not,  however,  wholly  improbable  that  at  first  he  erected 
his  press  near  one  of  the  little  chapels  attached  to  the  aisles  of  the  Abbey,  or  in  the 
ancient  Scriptorium." 

"  There  is  an  old  brick  house  in  Tothill-street,  opposite  Dartmouth-street,  which  was  probably  at 
one  time  connected  with  the  Almonry.  It  has  upon  its  front,  sunken  in  the  brickwork,  the  letters  E. 
(Eleemosynaria?)  T.  A.  (perhaps  the  initials  of  the  almoner's  name),  with,  however,  a  late  date,  1571. 
A  heart,  which  is  above  the1  inscription,  was  the  symbol  used  in  the  old  Clog  Almanacks  for  the  Annun- 
ciation, the  Purification,  and  all  other  Feast-days  of  Our  Lady." — Walcott's  Westminster,  1819. 


ALMONRY— ALMSHOUSES. 


ALMONRY,  ROYAL. 

THIS  Office,  in  Middle  Scotland-yard,  Whitehall,  is  maintained  expressly  for  the 
distribution  of  the  Royal  Alms,  or  Bounty,  to  the  poor.  The  duties  of  the 
Hereditary  Grand  Almoner,  first  instituted  in  the  reign  of  Richard  I.,  are  confined  to 
the  distribution  of  alms  at  a  Coronation.  The  office  of  the  High  Almoner  is  of  a  more 
general  description.  In  the  reign  of  Edward  I.  his  office  was  to  collect  the  fragments 
from  the  royal  table,  and  distribute  them  daily  to  the  poor ;  to  visit  the  sick,  poor 
widows,  prisoners,  and  other  persons  in  distress ;  to  remind  the  King  about  the  be- 
stownl  of  his  alms,  especially  on  Saints'  days  j  and  to  see  that  the  cast-off  robes  were 
sold,  to  increase  the  King's  charity. 

Chamberlayne  describes  the  Great  Almoner's  office,  in  1755,  to  have  included  the  disposal  of  the 
King's  alms,  for  which  use  he  received  moneys,  besides  all  deodands  and  bona  felonum  de  se.  He  had 
the  privilege  to  give  the  King's  dish  to  whatsoever  poor  men  he  pleased ;  that  is,  the  first  dish  at  dinner, 
set  upon  the  King's  table,  or  instead,  44.  per  diem.  Next,  he  distributed  every  morning,  at  the  court- 
gate,  money,  bread,  and  beer,  each  poor  recipient  first  repeating  the  Creed  and  the  Lord's  Prayer,  in 
the  presence  of  one  of  the  King's  chaplains,  the  Sub-Almoner;  who  had  also  to  scatter  newly-coined 
twopences,  in  the  towns  and  places  visited  by  the  King,  to  a  certain  sum  by  the  year.  Besides  these, 
there  were  many  poor  pensioners  to  tho  King  and  Queen  below  stairs. 

For  more  than  a  century  the  office  of  Lord  High  Almoner  was  held  by  the  Arch- 
bishops of  York ;  but  on  the  death  of  Archbishop  Harcourt,  in  November,  1847,  the 
office  was  conferred  upon  Dr.  Samuel  Wilberforce,  Lord  Bishop  of  Oxford. 

The  distribution  of  Alms  on  the  Thursday  before  Easter,  or  Maundy  Thursday,  takes 
place  in  Whitehall  Chapel ;  that  at  Easter,  Whitsuntide,  and  Christmas,  at  the  Office 
in  Middle  Scotland-yard. 

Thus,  the  Royal  Maundy  was  distributed  on  Maundy  Thursday,  1866,  in  Whitehall  Chapel,  with 
the  customary  formalities,  to  47  aged  men  and  47  aged  women,  the  number  of  each  sex  corresponding 
with  the  age  of  her  Majesty. 

The  procession  is  formed  in  the  following  order : — Boys  of  the  Chapel  Royal,  Gentlemen  of  the 
Chapel  Royal,  Priests  of  the  Chapel  Royal,  Sergeant-Major  of  the  Yeomen  of  the  Guard,  the  Sergeant 
of  the  Vestry,  the  Lord  High  Almoner,  the  Sub-Almoner,  and  the  Sub-Dean,  six  children  of  the  National 
Schools,  the  Yeoman  of  the  Almonry  and  his  assistants,  the  Yeomen  of  the  Guard,  one  carrying  the 
Royal  Alms  on  a  gold  salver,  of  the  reign  of  King  William  and  Queen  Mary. 

A  special  service  is  then  read,  and  after  the  first  Anthem,  \l.  15s.  is  distributed  to  each  woman,  and 
to  each  man  shoes  and  stockings.  After  the  second  Anthem  woollen  and  linen  clothes  are  distributed. 
After  the  third  Anthem,  purses.  And  after  the  fourth  Anthem,  two  prayers  composed  for  the  occasion 
are  read,  and  the  prayer  for  the  Queen,  when  the  sermon  is  ended. 

Each  red  purse  contained  the  usual  gold  sovereign,  and  a  further  sum  of  11, 10s.  as  a  commutation  in 
lieu  of  provisions  formerly  issued  from  the  Lord  Steward's  department  of  the  Queen's  Household.  Each 
white  purse  contained  the  Maundy  coin,  consisting  of  silver  fourpenny,  threepenny,  twopenny,  and 
penny  pieces,  amounting  to  47,  the  age  of  Her  Majesty. 

On  Friday  and  Saturday  in  the  previous  week,  and  on  Monday  and  Tuesday  in  the  current  week, 
Her  Majesty's  Royal  Bounty  of  5s.,  and  the  Royal  alms,  in  ancient  times  distributed  at  the  gate  of  the 
Royal  Palace,  were  paid  to  aged  and  deserving  poor  who  had  been  previously  selected  by  the  Lord  High 
Almoner  and  the  Sub-Almoner,  from  those  who  had  been  recommended  by  various  clergymen  and  by 
other  persons  in  London  and  its  vicinity.  The  number  relieved  exceeded  1000  persons,  among  whom 
vory  many  were  blind,  paralyzed,  and  disabled,  some  exceeding  90  years  of  age.  Formerly  bread,  meat, 
and  fish  were  distributed  in  large  wooden  bowls,  and  the  officers  carried  bouquets  of  flowers  and  wore 
white  scarves  and  sashes ;  but  the  earliest  custom  was  the  King  washing  with  his  own  hands  the  feet 
of  as  many  poor  men  as  he  was  old,  in  imitation  of  the  humility  of  the  Saviour.  The  last  monarch  who 
performed  this  act  was  James  II. 

The  pious  Queen  Adelaide,  who  died  in  1849,  and  is  known  to  have  expended  one- 
third  of  her  large  income  in  private  and  public  charity,  maintained  in  her  household  an 
Almoner,  whose  duty  it  was  to  investigate  all  applications  for  the  royal  benevolence. 

ALMSHOUSES, 

BUILT  by  Public  Companies,  Benevolent  Societies,  and  private  individuals,  for  aged 
and  infirm  persons,  were  formerly  numerous  in  the  metropolis  and  its  suburbs.  The 
Companies'  Almshouses  were  originally  erected  next  their  Halls,  that  the  almspeople 
might  be  handy  to  attend  pageants  and  processions ;  but  these  almshouses  have  mostly 
been  rebuilt  elsewhere,  owing  to  decay,  or  the  increased  value  of  ground  in  the  City. 

Almshouses  succeeded  the  incorporated  Hospitals  dissolved  by  King  Henry  VIII. 
Among  the  earliest  erected  were  the  Almshouses  founded  in  Westminster  by  Lady  Mar- 
garet, mother  of  King  Henry  VII.,  for  poor  women ;  in  one  of  these  houses  lived  Thomas 
Barker,  who  aided  Izaak  Walton  in  writing  his  Complete  Angler.     They  were  con- 


8  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

verted  into  lodgings  for  the  singing-men  of  the  Abbey,  and  called  Choristers'  Rents  : 
they  were  taken  down  about  1800. 

Westminster  contains  several  of  these  munificent  foundations  :  as  the  Red  Lion  Alms- 
houses, in  York^treet,  founded  in  1577,  for  eight  poor  women,  by  Cornelius  Van  Dun, 
of  Brabant,  a  soldier  who  served  under  King  Henry  VIII.,  at  Tournay.  Next  are,  in  the 
same  neighbourhood,  the  Almshouses  for  twelve  poor  housekeepers  of  St.  Margaret's, 
with  a  school  and  chapel — the  boys  clad  in  black  :  these  were  founded  in  1566,  by  the 
Rev.  Edward  Palmer,  B.D.,  many  years  preacher  at  St.  Bride's,  Fleet-street,  and  who 
used  to  sleep  in  the  church-tower.  Emmanuel  Hospital,  James-street,  was  founded  by 
the  will  of  Lady  Ann  Dacre,  in  1601,  for  aged  parishioners  of  St.  Margaret's ;  and  in 
one  of  its  almshouses,  on  January  22,  1772,  died  Mrs.  Windimore,  cousin  of  Mary 
(consort  of  William  III.)  and  of  Queen  Anne. 

The  Drapers'  Company,  in  1720,  maintained  Almshouses  at  Crutched-friars,  Beach- 
lane,  Greenwich,  Stratford-le-Bow,  Shoreditch,  St.  George's-fields,  St.  Mary  New- 
ington,  and  Mile  End.  The  Almshouses  at  Crutched-friars  were  erected  and  endowed 
by  Sir  John  Milborn,  Mayor  of  London,  in  1521,  for  thirteen  decayed  members  of  the 
Drapers'  Company  (of  which  Sir  John  was  several  years  Master),  or  bedemen,  who 
daily  prayed  at  the  tomb  of  their  benefactor,  in  the  adjoining  church.  The  stone 
carving  of  the  Assumption  of  the  Virgin,  over  the  Tudor  gateway  leading  towards  the 
pleasant  little  garden, — the  shields  with  heraldic  devices, — the  old-fashioned  roof,  and 
dark, rich, red-coloured  brickwork, — formed  a  picturewell  remembered;  taken  down  1862. 
The  Almshouses  and  School-house  at  Mile  End  were  built  in  1735,  with  the  ill- 
gotten  fortune  bequeathed  by  Francis  Bancroft,  grandson  of  Archbishop  Bancroft,  and 
an  officer  of  the  Lord  Mayor's  Court;  and  so  hated  for  his  mercenary  and  oppressive 
practices,  that  at  his  funeral,  a  mob,  for  very  joy,  rang  the  church-bells  of  St.  Helen's, 
Bishopsgate,  where  a  monument  to  his  memory  had  been  erected  in  his  life-time.  The 
almsmen  are  twenty-four  poor  old  members  of  the  Drapers'  Company ;  and  the  School 
boards,  clothes,  educates,  and  apprentices  100  boys. 

The  Trinity  Almshouses,  in  the  Mile  End-road,  were  erected  by  the  Corporation  of 
the  Trinity  House,  in  1695,  for  decayed  masters  and  commanders  of  ships,  mates,  and 
pilots,  and  their  wives  or  widows.  The  thirty  houses  have  characteristic  shipping  on 
their  roofs ;  there  is  a  chapel,  and  on  the  green  is  a  statue  of  Captain  Robert  Sandes,  a 
benefactor  to  the  establishment;  he  died  1721. 

The  Salters'  Company  had  Almshouses  for  their  decayed  brethren  in  Monkwell- 
street  and  Bow-lane ;  in  1864,  they  were  rebuilt,  at  Watford,  Herts,  at  a  cost  of  8000/., 
besides  that  of  the  site  and  adjacent  grounds. 

Traditionally,  we  owe  the  foundation  of  Dame  Owen's  School  and  Almshouses,  at 
Islington,  to  Archery.  In  1610,  this  rich  brewer's  widow,  in  passing  along  St.  John- 
street-road,  then  Hermitage-fields,  was  struck  by  a  truant  arrow,  and  narrowly 
escaped  "  braining ;"  and  the  grateful  lady,  thinking  such  close  shooting  dangerous,  in 
commemoration  of  her  providential  escape,  built,  in  1613,  a  Free  School  and  ten  Alms- 
houses upon  the  scene  of  her  adventure.  Since  1839  they  have  been  handsomely 
rebuilt  by  the  Brewers'  Company,  trustees  for  the  Charity. 

Whittington's  College,  or  Almshouses,  founded  in  1621,  on  College-hill,  were  rebuilt 
by  the  Mercers'  Company,  at  the  foot  of  Highgate-hill,  about  1826;  cost  20,000/. 
Upon  the  old  site,  College-hill,  was  built  the  Mercers'  Schools. 

The  Fishmongers'  Company's  Almshouses,  or  St.  Peter's  Hospital,  Newington  Butts, 
founded  1618,  consisted  of  three  courts,  dining-hall,  and  chapel :  they  were  rebuilt  on 
Wandsworth  Common,  in  1850;  cost  25,000/. 

Edward  Alleyn,  the  distinguished  actor,  and  friend  of  Ben  Jonson  and  Shakspeare, 
besides  founding  Duhvich  College,  built  and  endowed  three  sets  of  Almshouses  in  the 
metropolis :  in  Lamb-alley,  Bishopsgate-street ;  in  Bath-street,  St.  Luke's ;  and  in  Soap- 
yard,  Southwark.  Of  the  Bath-street  Almshouses,  the  first  brick  was  laid  by  Alleyn 
himself,  July  13,  1620 ;  they  were  rebuilt  in  1707. 

Cure's  College,  in  Deadman's-place,  Southwark,  was  founded  in  1584,  by  Thomas 
Cure,  saddler  to  King  Edward  VI.  and  the  Queens  Mary  and  Elizabeth,  for  16  poor 
pensioners,  with  20d.  a  week ;  president,  the  Chief  Justice  of  the  Common  Pleas  for 
the  time  being.     The  College  has  been  rebuilt. 


AMUSEMENTS. 


The  East  India  Almshouses,  Poplar,  were  established  at  the  granting  of  the  first 
charter,  in  the  17th  century,  for  widows  of  mates  and  seamen  dying  in  the  Company's 
service.  There  are  also  houses,  with  gardens,  for  the  widows  of  captains,  receiving 
pensions  of  from  30?.  to  80?.  yearly. 

In  Bath-street,  City-road,  are  Almshouses  for  poor  descendants  of  French  Protestant 
Refugees,  founded  in  1708,  after  the  revocation  of  the  edict  of  Nantes. 

The  Goldsmiths'  Company  have  Almshouses  at  Woolwich,  Acton,  and  Hackney ;  each 
house  has  its  little  garden. 

The  Clock  and  Watchmakers'  Asylum  was  founded  in  1857  at  Colney  Hatch. 

At  Hoston,  are  the  Haberdashers'  Company's  Almshouses,  founded  by  Robert  Aske, 
in  1692,  for  poor  men  of  the  Company,  and  boys ;  here  is  a  statne  of  the  founder. 

Morden  College,  Blackheath,  was  founded  by  Sir  John  Morden,  in  1695,  for  decayed 
merchants,  each  72?.  a  year,  with  coals,  candles,  washing-bath,  medical  and  clerical 
attendance.     The  chapel  has  some  fine  carvings,  reputed  to  be  by  Gibbons. 

Norfolk  Almshouses,  or  Trinity  Hospital,  Greenwich,  is  an  Elizabethan  building, 
founded  by  Henry,  Earl  of  Northampton,  1613.  The  Trustees  were  the  Mercers' 
Company ;  revenue,  12,000?.  a  year. 

Surrey  Chapel  Almshouses,  erected  1811,  were  founded  and  principally  endowed  by 
the  Rev.  Rowland  Hill,  for  twenty-three  destitute  females. 

The  Marylebone  Almshouses,  built  in  St.  John's-wood-terrace,  Regent's-park,  in 
1836,  originated  in  a  legacy  of  500?.  from  Count  Woronzow;  the  site  being  leased  for 
ninety-nine  years,  at  a  pepper-corn  rent,  by  Colonel  Eyre,  who  is  also  entitled  to  two 
presentations  to  the  Charity. 

The  London  Almshouses  were  erected  by  subscription,  at  Brixton,  in  1833,  to  com- 
memorate the  passing  of  the  Reform  Bill,  instead  of  by  illumination. 

The  King  William  Naval  Asylum,  at  Penge,  opened  1849,  for  the  widows  of  Com- 
manders, Lieutenants,  Masters  and  Pursers  in  the  Royal  Navy,  was  founded  by  Queen 
Adelaide,  to  the  memory  of  King  William  IV. 

The  Dramatic  College  has  its  retreat  "  for  poor  players,"  a  central  hall,  residences, 
and  external  cloisters,  in  the  Tudor  style,  at  Maybury,  in  Surrey. 

Recently  also  have  been  erected  Almshouses  for  the  parishes  of  St.  Pancras,  St. 
Martin,  and  Shoreditch.  For  Bootmakers,  Mortlake ;  Pawnbrokers,  Forest-gate ; 
Booksellers,  King's  Langley;  Aged  Pilgrims,  Edgware-road ;  Butchers,  Walham- 
green ;  Bookbinders,  Ball's-pond ;  Printers,  Wood-green ;  Tailors  (journeymen),  Haver- 
stock-hill;  and  Poulterers  and  Fishmongers,  Southgate;  besides  many  others  provided 
by  Companies ;  and  Provident,  Trades,  and  other  societies,  for  decayed  members. 

The  Almshouses  erected  of  late  years  are  mostly  picturesque  buildings,  in  the  old 
English  style,  with  gables,  turrets,  and  twisted  chimney-shafts,  of  red  brick,  with  hand- 
some stone  dressings.  In  Weale's  London  Exhibited  in  1851  will  be  found  a  more 
copious  List  of  Almshouses  (pp.  214 — 219)  than  the  above. 

AMUSEMENTS. 

ARCHERY  is  mentioned  among  the  summer  pastimes  of  the  London  youth  by 
Fitzstephen,  who  wrote  in  the  reign  of  Henry  II.;  and  the  repeated  statutes 
from  the  13th  to  the  16th  centuries,  enforcing  the  use  of  the  Bow,  invariably  ordered 
the  holidays  to  be  passed  in  its  exercise.  Finsbury  appears  to  have  been  a  very  early 
locality  for  Archery  ;  for  in  the  reign  of  Edward  I.  there  was  formed  a  society  entitled 
the  Archers  of  Finsbury.  Here,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VII.,  all  the  gardens  were 
destroyed  by  law,  "  and  of  them  was  made  a  plain  field  for  archers  to  shoot  in ;"  this 
being  the  early  appropriation  of  what  is  now  called  "  the  Artillery  Ground."  There  is 
also  preserved  a  MS.  enumeration  of  the  Archers'  Marks  in  Finsbury  Fields,  compiled 
in  1601 :  it  gives,  in  flight  shooting,  nineteen  score  as  the  distance  between  Allhollows 
and  Daie's  Deed  marks.  Indeed,  Miss  Banks,  Sir  Joseph's  daughter,  an  enthusiastic 
lover  of  the  bow,  has  left  a  MS.  note  that  a  friend,  Mr.  Bates,  often  shot  eighteen 
score  in  Finsbury  Fields ;  the  length  of  the  plain  being  about  one  mile,  and  the  breadth 
three-quarters.  Among  the  curious  books  on  Archery  are  the  Ayme  for  Finsburie 
Archers,  1628 ;  and  the  Ayme  for  the  Archers  of  St.  George's  Fields,  1664. 


10  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Henry  VIII.  shot  with  the  longhow  as  well  as  any  of  his  guards :  he  chartered  a 
society  for  shooting ;  and  jocosely  dignified  a  successful  archer  as  Duke  of  Shoreditch, 
at  which  place  his  Grace  resided.  This  title  was  long  preserved  by  the  Captain  of  the 
London  Archers,  who  used  to  summon  the  officers  of  his  several  divisions  under  the 
titles  of  Marquis  of  Barlo,  of  Clerkenwell,  of  Islington,  of  Hoxton,  of  Shacklewell, 
&.c,  Earl  of  Pancras,  &c.  We  read  of  a  grand  pageant  in  this  reign,  of  three  thousand 
archers,  guarded  by  whifflers  and  billmen,  pages  and  footmen,  proceeding  from  Mer- 
chant Taylors'  Hall,  through  Broad-street,  the  residence  of  their  captain ;  thence  into 
Moorfields  by  Finsbury,  and  so  on  to  Smithfield,  where  they  performed  evolutions,  and 
shot  at  a  target  for  honour. 

Edward  VI.  was  fond  of  Archery ;  in  his  reign  the  scholars  of  St.  Bartholomew, 
who  held  their  disputations  in  cloisters,  were  rewarded  with  a  bow  and  silver  arrows. 

Stow  (who  died  in  1605)  informs  us,  that  before  his  time  it  bad  been  customary  at 
Bartholomew-tide  for  the  Lord  Mayor,  with  the  sheriffs  and  aldermen,  to  go  into  the 
fields  at  Finsbury,  where  the  citizens  were  assembled,  and  shoot  at  the  standard  with 
broad  and  flight  arrows  for  games,  which  were  continued  for  several  days. 

Charles  I.  was  an  excellent  archer,  and  forbade  by  proclamation  the  inclosure  of 
shooting-grounds  near  London.  Archery,  however,  seems  then  to  have  soon  fallen 
into  disrepute.  Sir  William  Davenant,  in  a  mock  poem,  entitled  The  Long  Vacation 
in  London,  describes  idle  attorneys  and  proctors  making  matches  in  Finsbury  Fields  :— 

"  With  loynes  in  canvas  bow-case  tied, 
Where  arrows  stick  with  mickle  pride; 
Like  ghosts  of  Adam  Bell  and  Clymme, 
Sol  sets — for  fear  they'll  shoot  at  him  ?" 

Pepys  records,  in  his  Diary,  that,  when  a  boy,  he  used  to  shoot  with  his  bow  and 
arrows  in  the  fields  of  Kingsland. 

In  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.,  a  shout  through  the  City  of  "Shovels  and  spades  ! 
Shovels  and  spades I"  assembled  a  band  of  'prentice  lads,  who  speedily  levelled  the 
hedges,  dykes,  and  garden-houses,  by  which  trespassers  had  encroached  on  the  shooting- 
fields.  Even  as  late  as  1786,  the  Artillery  Company,  preceded  by  a  detachment  of 
their  pioneers,  marched  over  Finsbury,  pulling  down  the  fences  again  illegally  erected. 
The  brick  wall  enclosing  a  lead-mill  was  also  attacked ;  but,  on  the  entreaty  of  the  pro- 
prietor, the  Hon.  Company  ordered  it  to  be  spared,  contenting  themselves  with  direct- 
ing one  of  their  archers  to  shoot  an  arrow  over  it,  in  token  of  their  prescriptive  right. 
—Proc.  Soc.  Antiquaries,  London,  vol.  iv.  No.  47. 

In  1781,  the  remains  of  the  "  Old  Finsbury  Archers  "  established  the  Toxophilite 
Society,  at  Leicester  House,  then  in  Leicester  Fields.  They  held  their  meetings  in 
Bloomsbury  Fields,  behind  the  present  site  of  Gower-street ;  here,  in  1794,  the  Turkish 
Ambassador's  secretary  shot,  with  a  bow  and  arrow,  482  yards.  In  about  twenty-five 
years  they  removed  on  "  target  days"  to  Highbury  Barn  ;  from  thence  to  Bayswater  ; 
and  in  1834,  to  the  Inner  Circle,  Regent's  Park,  where  they  have  a  rustic  lodge,  and 
between  five  and  six  acres  of  ground.  The  Society  consisted  in  1850  of  100  members ; 
terms,  hi.  annually,  entrance-fee  51.,  and  other  expenses :  they  possess  the  original 
silver  badge  of  the  old  Finsbury  Archers.  They  meet  every  Friday  during  the  Spring 
and  Summer ;  the  shooting  is  at  60,  80,  and  100  yards ;  and  many  prizes  are  shot  for 
during  the  season ;  Prince  Albert  was  patron. 

The  most  numerous  Society  of  the  kind  now  existing  is,  however,  "The  Royal  Com- 
pany of  Archers,  the  Queen's  body-guard  of  Scotland,"  whose  captain-general,  the 
Duke  of  Buccleuch,  rode  in  the  coronation  procession  of  Queen  Victoria. 

In  1849,  the  Society  of  Cantelows  Archers  was  established  ;  their  shooting-ground  is 
at  Camden-square,  Camden  New  Town ;  the  prize,  a  large  silver  medal.  There  was  a 
fine  display  of  Archery  at  the  Fete  of  the  Scottish  Society  of  London,  in  Holland  Park, 
Kensington,  June  20,  21, 1849,  when  300/.-worth  of  prize  plate  was  shot  for. 

BALtAD-SiNGiNG,  the  vestige  of  the  minstrelsy  which  Cromwell,  in  1656,  silenced 
for  a  time,  was  common  in  the  last  century.  "  The  Blind  Beggar "  had  conferred 
poetic  celebrity  upon  Bethnal  Green ;  "  Black-eyed  Susan,"  and  "  'Twas  when  the  seas 
were  roaring,"  were  the  lyrics  that  landsmen  delighted  to  sing  of  the  sea ;  and 
"  Jemmy  Dawson  "  (set  to  music  by  Dr.  Arne)  grew  into  historic  fame  elsewhere  than 


AMUSEMENTS.  H 


on  the  scene  of  the  tragedy,  Kennington  Common.  To  these  succeeded  the  sea-songs 
of  Charles  Dibdin,  which  were  commonly  sung  about  the  streets  by  the  very  tars  who 
had  first  felt  their  patriotic  inspiration  :  a  sailor,  who  wore  a  model  of  the  brig  Nelson 
upon  his  hat,  long  maintained  his  vocal  celebrity  upon  Tower-hill.  Hogarth,  in  his 
"  Wedding  of  the  Industrious  Apprentice,"  has  painted  the  famous  ballad-singer 
"  Philip  in  the  Tub  f  and  Gravelot,  a  portrait-painter  in  the  Strand,  had  several 
sittings  from  ballad-singers.  The  great  factory  of  the  ballads  was  long  Seven  Dials, 
where  Pitts  employed  Corcoran,  and  was  the  patron  of  "  slender  Ben"  and  "  over-head- 
and-ears  Nic."  Among  its  earlier  lyrists  were  "  Tottenham  Court  Meg,"  the  "  Ballad- 
singing  Cobler,"  and  "  oulde  Guy,  the  poet."  Mr.  Catnach,  another  noted  printer 
of  ballads,  lived  in  Seven  Dials ;  and  at  his  death,  left  a  considerable  fortune.  He 
was  the  first  ballad-printer  who  published  yards  of  song."  for  one  penny,  in  former  davs 
the  price  of  a  single  ballad ;  and  here  he  accumulated  the  largest  stock  on  record  of 
whole  sheets,  last-dying  speeches,  ballads,  and  other  wares  of  the  Hying  stationers. 
Another  noted  ballad-printer  and  ballad-monger  kept  shop  in  Long-lane,  Smithfield. 

Bear  and  Bull  Baiting. — A  map  of  London,  three  centuries  ago,  gives  the 
"  Spitel  Field"  for  archers ;  "  Fynsburie  Fyeld,"  with  "  Dogge's  House,"  for  the 
citizens  to  hunt  in ;  "  Moore  Fyeld,"  with  marks,  as  if  used  by  clothiers ;  "  the  Banck" 
by  the  side  of  the  river;  "  tlie  Bolle  Bating  Theatre,"  near  the  "Beare  Baitynge 
House,"  nigh  where  London  Bridge  now  commences.  Pepys  describes  a  visit  to  the 
"  beare-garden"  in  1G66,  where  he  saw  "  some  good  sport  of  the  bull's  tossing  of  the 
dogs,  one  into  the  very  boxes.  But  it  is  a  very  rude  and  nasty  pleasure."  Hockley - 
in-the-hole,  Clerkenwell,  was  styled  "  His  Majesty's  Bear-Garden"  in  1700,  and  was 
the  scene  of  bull  and  bear-baiting,  wrestling,  and  boxing ;  but  it  was  neglected  for 
Figg's  Amphitheatre,  in  Oxford-road  : 

"  Long  liv'd  the  great  Figtr,  by  the  prize-fighting  swains 
Sole  monarch  acknowledged  of  Marybone  plains." 

At  Tothill  Fields,  Westminster,  was  in  1793,  a  noted  bear-garden,  a  portion  of 
which  now  forms  Vincent-square ;  and  bear-baiting  and  rat-hunting  lingered  in  their 
Westminster  haunts  longer  than  elsewhere. 

Bowls  was  formerly  a  popular  game  in  the  metropolis:  it  succeeded  archery 
before  Stow's  time,  when  many  gardens  of  the  City  and  its  suburbs  were  converted 
into  bowling-alleys ;  our  author,  in  1579,  wrote  : — "  Common  bowling-alleyes  are  privy 
mothes  that  eat  up  the  credit  of  many  idle  citizens,  whose  gaynes  at  home  are  not 
able  to  weigh  downe  theyr  losses  abroad;"  elsewhere  he  says: — "Our  bowes  are 
turned  into  bowls."  The  game  of  bowls,  however,  is  as  old  as  the  13th  century,  and 
in  the  country  was  played  upon  greens ;  but  the  alleys  required  less  room,  and  were 
covered  over,  so  that  the  game  could  be  played  therein  all  weathers,  whence  they 
became  greatly  multiplied  in  London.  Bowls  was  played  by  Henry  VIII.,  who  added 
to  Whitehall  "  tennise-courtes,  lotvling-alleys.  and  a  cock-pit."  . 

Spring  Garden,  Charing-cross,  had  its  ordinary  and  bowling-green  kept  by  a  servant 
of  Charles  the  First's  Court ;  and  Piccadilly  Hall,  at  the  corner  of  Windmill-street  and 
Coventry-street,  had  its  upper  and  lower  bowling-greens. 

The  grave  John  Locke,  in  one  of  his  private  journals  (1679),  records  "  bowling  at 
Marebone  and  Putney  by  persons  of  quality ;  wrestling  in  Lincoln's  Inn  Fields  on 
summer  evenings ;  bear  and  bull  baiting  at  the  Bear-Garden ;  shooting  in  the  long-bow 
and  stob-ball  in  Tothill  Fields." 

In  the  last  century,  Bowls  was  much  played  in  the  suburbs,  especially  at  Marybone 

Gardens,  mentioned  by  Pepys  in  1668  as  "  a  pretty  place."     Its   bowling-greens  were 

frequented  by  the  nobility,  among  whom  was  Sheffield,  Duke  of  Buckingham,  to  whose 

partiality  for  the  game  Lady  Mary  Wortley  Montague  refers  in  the  oft-quoted  line— 

"  Some  dukes  at  Marybone  bowl  time  away." 

The  place  grew  into  disrepute,  and  was  closed  in  1777 ;  it  is  made  by  Gay  a  scene 
of  Macheath's  debauchery  in  the  Beggar's  Opera. 

Greens  remain  attached  to  a  few  old  taverns  round  London.  In  the  town,  bowling 
alleys  were  abolished  in  the  last  century,  and  gave  rise  to  long-bowling,  or  bowling  in 


12  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

a  narrow  inclosure  at  nine-pins  upon  a  square  frame.     They  have  been  succeeded  by 
the  American  bowling  alley,  sometimes  in  the  cellar  of  the  tavern. 

Bowling- street,  Westminster,  commemorates  the  spot  where  the  members  of  the 
Convent  of  St.  Peter  amused  themselves  at  bowls.  We  have  also  Bowling-street  in 
Marylebone  and  Turnmill-street ;  Bowling-green-lane  in  Clerkenwell  and  Southwark  ; 
Bowling-green-buildings,  Bryanston-square ;  and  Bow  ling-green- walk  at  Hoxton. 

Cakd-Playijto  woidd  appear  to  have  become  early  a  favourite  pastime  with  the 
Londoners ;  for  in  1643  a  law  was  passed  on  a  petition  of  the  cardmakers  of  the  City, 
prohibiting  the  importation  of  playing-cards.  It  was  a  very  fashionable  Court  amuse- 
ment in  the  reign  of  Henry  VII. ;  and  so  general,  that  it  became  necessary  to  prohibit 
by  law  apprentices  from  using  cards,  except  in  the  Christmas  holydays,  and  then  only 
in  their  masters'  houses.  Agreeable  to  this  privilege,  Stow,  speaking  of  the  customs  at 
London,  says  :  "  From  Allhallow-eve  to  the  day  following  Candlemas-day,  there  was, 
among  other  sports,  playing  at  cards,  for  counters,  nails,  and  points,  in  every  house, 
more  for  pastime  than  for  gayne."  Basset  was  a  fashionable  card-game  at  the  end  of 
the  17th  century ;  and  Basset-tokens  are  preserved  : — 

"  Who  the  bowl  or  rattling  dice  compares 
To  Basset's  heavenly  joys  and  pleasing  cares?" — Pope's  Eclogue — Basset-table. 

Whist,  in  its  present  state,  was  not  played  till  about  1730,  when  it  was  much  studied 
by  a  set  of  gentlemen  at  the  Crown  Coffee-house  in  Bedford-row.  Gaming  in  public 
was  formerly  a  royal  pastime  at  Christmas  :  George  I.  and  George  II.  played,  on  certain 
days,  at  hazard,  at  the  Groom-porter's,  in  St.  James's  Palace ;  and  this  was  continued 
some  time  in  the  reign  of  George  III.  The  name  of  "  hells,"  applied  in  our  day 
to  gambling-houses,  originated  in  the  room  in  St.  James's  Palace  formerly  appropriated 
to  hazard  being  remarkably  dark,  and  on  that  account  called  "  hell."  (Tlteodore  Hook.) 
A  few  years  ago  there  were  more  of  those  infamous  places' of  resort  in  London  than  in 
any  other  city  in  the  world.  The  handsome  gas-lamp  and  the  green  or  red  baize  door 
at  the  end  of  the  passage  were  conspicuous  in  the  vicinity  of  St.  James's ;  and  of  St. 
George's,  Hanover-square;  and  the  moral  nuisances  still  linger  about  St.  James's 
parish  and  Leicester-square. 

Cock-Fighting  was  a  London  pastime  1190,  and  very  fashionable  from  the  reign 
of  Edward  III.  almost  to  our  time.  Henry  VIII.  added  a  cock -pit  to  Whitehall  Palace, 
where  James  I.  went  to  see  the  sport  twice  a  week  ;  this  pit  being  upon  the  site  of  the 
present  Privy  Council  Office :  hence  the  Cockpit  Gate,  built  by  Holbein,  across  the  road 
at  Whitehall.  Besides  this  Royal  Cockpit,  there  was  formerly  a  Cockpit  in  Drury-lane, 
now  corrupted  to  Pitt-place,  and  there  was  the  Cockpit  or  Phoenix  Theatre.  There 
were  other  Cockpits,  in  Jewin-street,  Cripplegate,  Tufton-street,  whence  the  Cock- 
pit Yards  there;  another  in  Shoe-lane,  temp.  James  I.,  whence  Cockpit-court  in 
that  neighbourhood ;  and  another  noted  Cockpit  was  "  behind  Gray's  Inn."  Hogarth's 
print  best  illustrates  the  brutal  refinement  of  the  Cock-fighting  of  the  last  century  ; 
and  the  barbarous  sport  was,  we  believe,  last  encouraged  at  Westminster,  not  far  dis- 
tant from  the  spot,  where  in  kindred  pastime,  Royalty  relieved  the  weighty  cares  of 
State.  The  famous  Westminster  cock-pit  was  in  Park-street.  Cock-fighting  is  now 
forbidden  and  punishable  by  statute. 

Cricket  is  stated  to  have  been  played  at  Finsbury,  in  the  Royal  Artillery  Ground, 
before  the  year  1746.  Some  thirty  years  later,  in  1774,  a  committee  of  noblemen  and 
gentlemen  was  formed,  under  the  presidency  of  Sir  William  Draper ;  they  met  at  the 
Star  and  Garter  in  Pall  Mall,  and  laid  down  the  first  rules  of  Cricket,  which  rules  form 
the  basis  of  the  laws  of  Cricket  to  this  day.  The  next  great  step  was  the  establishment 
of  the  White  Conduit  Club,  in  the  year  1799 ;  and  among  its  members,  in  addition  to 
the  before-named  patron  of  the  game,  we  find  the  names  of  Lord  Winchilsea,  Lord 
Strathaven,  and  Sir  P.  Burrell.  Their  place  of  meeting  was  still  the  Star  and  Garter, 
and  their  Ground  was  in  White  Conduit-fields.  One  of  the  attendants,  Thomas  Lord, 
was  persuaded  to  take  a  ground ;  and  under  the  patronage  of  the  old  White  Conduit 
Club,  a  new  club,  called  the  Marylebone  Club,  was  formed  at  "  Lord's  Cricket  Ground," 
which  was  the  site  of  the  present  Dorset-square.     Lord's  Ground  is  now  in  St.  John's- 


AMUSEMENTS.  13 


wood-road,  and  is  about  7^  acres  in  extent,  and  devoted  almost  exclusively,  in  May, 
June,  and  July,  to  the  matches  and  practice  of  the  Marylebone  Club;  at  the  annual 
meeting,  early  in  May,  the  Laws  of  Cricket  are  revised,  and  matches  for  the  season 
arranged.  Attached  to  Lord's  Ground  are  a  Tennis  Court  and  Baths.  Here  is  an  old 
painting  of  the  game,  in  which  the  bat  has  the  bend  of  the  club,  which,  it  is  thought, 
denotes  Cricket  to  have  been  a  gradual  improvement  of  the  Club  and  Ball.  Amongst 
the  other  principal  Cricket-grounds  are  the  Oval  (larger  than  Lord's)  at  Kennington  : 
the  Royal  Artillery  Ground,  Finsbury,  is,  perhaps,  tbe  oldest  ground  in  London ;  for 
here  a  match  was  played  between  Kent  and  All  England  in  1746.  There  was  for- 
merly a  ground  in  Copenhagen-fields ;  there  is  one  at  the  Brecknock  Arms,  Camden- 
town;  at  Brixton,  near  the  church;  the  Middlesex  County,  Islington  Cattle  Market, 
Tufnell  Park,  Highbury ;  Victoria  Park,  Battersea  Park  ;  Rosemary  Branch,  Peckham ; 
Crystal  Palace,  Sydenham ;  Sluice  House,  Hornsey ;  Primrose  Hill ;  Vincent-square, 
Westminster ;  and  at  Bow,  Millwall,  and  Putney,  Of  the  younger  London  clubs  is 
the  Civil  Service,  consisting  exclusively  of  members  of  the  Civil  Service. 

Dfce-Huxtixg  with  dogs  was  a  barbarous  pastime  of  the  last  century  in  the 
neighbourhood  of  London,  happily  put  an  end  to  by  the  want  of  ponds  of  water.  St. 
George's  Fields  was  a  notorious  place  for  this  sport ;  hence  the  infamous  Dog  and 
Duck  Tavern  and  Tea  Gardens,  from  a  noted  dog  which  hunted  ducks  on  a  sheet  of 
water  there  :  Hannah  More  makes  it  a  favourite  resort  of  her  Cheapside  Apprentice. 
The  premises  were  afterwards  let  to  the  School  for  the  Indigent  Blind,  and  were  taken  [^ 
down  in  1812,  when  Bethlem  Hospital  was  built  upon  the  site ;  in  its  front  wall  is 
preserved  the  original  sign-stone  of  the  tavern — a  dog  with  a  duck  thrown  across  its 
back.  Ingenious  lesson  this — in  setting  up  a  memorial  of  profligacy  and  cruelty  upon 
a  site  devoted  to  the  restoration  of  reason !  Duck-hunting  was  also  one  of  the  low 
sports  of  the  butchers  of  Shepherd's  Market,  at  May  Fair,  where,  to  this  day,  is  a  spot 
known  as  the  "  duck-hunting  pond ;"  and  within  memory,  on  the  site  of  Hertford- 
street,  was  the  Dog  and  Duck  publichouse,  with  its  ducking-pond,  boarded  up  knee- 
high  and  shaded  by  willows. 

Equestrianism  appears  to  have  been  a  favourite  amusement  with  the  Londoners  for 
more  than  a  century  past.  One  of  the  first  performers  was  Thomas  Johnson,  who 
exhibited  in  a  field  behind  the  Three  Hats,  at  Islington,  in  1758 ;  he  was  succeeded 
by  one  Sampson,  in  1767,  whose  wife  was  the  first  female  equestrian  performer  in 
England.  In  the  same  year,  rode  one  Price  at  D'Aubigny's,  or  Dobney's  Gardens, 
nearly  opposite  the  Belvedere  Tavern,  Pentonville,  and  where  Wildman  exhibited  his 
docile  bees,  in  1772 ;  the  site  is  at  this  day  marked  by  Dobney's-place. 

About  this  time  Hughes  established  himself  in  St.  George's  Fields,  and  Astley  in 
Westminster-bridge-road;  the  latter  was  succeeded  by  Ducrow  and  Batty.  Horses 
in  England  were  taught  dancing  as  early  as  the  13th  century ;  but  the  first  mention  of 
feats  on  horseback  occurs  in  the  Privy  Purse  expenses  of  Henry  VIII. 

Fates. — The  three  great  Fairs  of  old  London  belonged,  in  Catholic  times,  to  the 
heads  of  religious  houses :  Westminster  to  its  abbot ;  and  St.  Bartholomew  and  South- 
wark  (or  St.  Mary  Overie,  as  it  is  oftener  called),  to  the  Priors  of  those  monasteries. 

Westminster,  or  St.  Edward's  Fair  (held  on  that  Saint's  Day),  was  commanded  by 
proclamation  of  Edward  III.,  in  1248 ;  it  was  first  held  in  St.  Margaret's  churchyard, 
and  then  was  removed  to  Tothill-fields,  where  the  Fair  continued  to  be  held,  but  of 
considerably  less  extent,  so  lately  as  1823. 

Two  Fairs  were  held  in  Smithfield  at  Bartholomew-tide :  that  within  the  Priory 
precincts  was  one  of  the  great  Cloth  Fairs  of  England  :  the  other,  Bartholomew  Fair, 
was  held  in  the  Field,  and  granted  to  the  City  of  London,  for  cattle  and  goods.  The 
latter  was  proclaimed,  for  the  last  time,  in  the  year  1855. 

Southwark  Fair  was  held  on  St.  Margaret's-hill,  on  the  day  after  Bartholomew 
Fair ;  and  was  by  charter  limited  to  three  days,  but  usually  lasted  fourteen.  Evelyn 
records  among  its  wonders,  monkeys  and  asses  dancing  on  the  tight  rope ;  and  the  tricks 
of  an  Italian  wench,  whom  all  the  Court  went  to  see.  Pepys  tells  of  its  puppet-shows, 
especially  that  of  Whittington ;  and  of  Jacob  Hall's  dancing  on  the  ropes.  The  Fair 
was  suppressed  iu  1762 ;  but  it  lives  in  one  of  Hogarth's  priuts. 


14  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

St.  James's  Fair,  held  in  the  month  of  May,  in  Brook  Field,  acquired  the  name  of 
"  May  Fair."  It  was  aholished  in  1709 ;  but  was  revived,  and  was  not  finally  sup- 
pressed until  late  in  the  reign  of  George  III.  It  gave  the  fashionable  quarter  hi  which 
it  was  held  the  name  of  May  Fair;  and  the  Brook  to  Brook-street. 

Fieewokks,  for  pastime,  are  rarely  spoken  of  previous  to  the  reign  of  Elizabeth ; 
when  the  foyste,  or  galley,  with  a  great  red  dragon,  and  "  wilde  men  casting  of  five," 
accompanied  the  Lord  Mayor's  barge  upon  the  Thames.  A  writer  in  the  reign  of 
James  I.  assures  us  there  were  then  "  abiding  in  the  City  of  London  men  very  skilful  in 
the  art  of  pyrotechnie,  or  of  fireworkes ;"  which  were  principally  displayed  by  persons 
fantastically  dressed,  and  called  Green  Men.  In  the  last  century,  the  train  of  Artillery 
displayed  annually  a  grand  firework  upon  Tower-hill  on  the  evening  of  his  Majesty's 
birthday.  Fireworks  were  exhibited  regularly  at  Marybone  Gardens  and  at  Ranelagh; 
not  at  Vauxhall  until  1798,  and  then  but  occasionally.  At  Bermondsey  Spa,  and  va- 
rious tea-gardens,  they  were  also  displayed,  but  in  inferior  style.  Fireworks  were  first 
exhibited  at  the  Surrey  Zoological  Gardens,  in  illustration  of  picture-models ;  and  similar 
galas  at  Cremorne  Gardens,  Chelsea,  have  been  very  successful. 

There  have  been  some  grand  Firework  displays  at  the  Government  expense  :  as  in 
the  Green  Park  at  the  Peace  of  Aix-la-Chapelle,  in  17-18;  and  on  August  1,  1814,  in 
celebration  of  the  general  Peace,  and  the  Centenary  of  the  accession  of  the  Brunswick 
family  to  the  British  throne,  these  fireworks  being  by  Sir  William  Congreve,  of 
rocket  celebrity.  There  have  been  similar  firework  galas  in  Hyde  Park  at  coro- 
nations and  Peace  celebrations.  At  the  coronation  of  King  William  IV.  and  Queen 
Adelaide,  Sept.  1831,  the  amount  expended  for  fireworks,  and  for  keeping  open  the 
public  theatres,  was  3034Z.  18*.  Id. 

Football  was  played  in  the  twelfth  century  by  the  youth  of  the  City  in  the  fields  ; 
and  five  centuries  later,  we  find  football  players  in  Cheapside,  Covent  Garden,  and  the 
Strand ;  Moorfields  and  Lincoln's  Inn  Fields.  There  is  an  old  print  of  football  play 
in  Fleet-street. 

Hunting. — "  The  Common  Hunt"  dates  from  a  charter  granted  by  Henry  I.  to  the 
citizens  to  "  have  chaces,  and  hunts :"  and  Strype,  so  late  as  the  reign  of  George  I., 
reckons  among  the  modern  amusements  of  the  Londoners  "  riding  on  horseback,  and 
hunting  with  my  Lord  Mayor's  hounds,  when  the  Common  Hunt  goes  out."  The 
Epping  Hunt  was  appointed  from  a  similar  charter  granted  to  the  citizens.  Strype 
describes  a  visitation  of  the  Lord  Mayor  Harper,  and  other  civic  authorities,  to  the 
Tyburn  Conduits,  in  1562,  when  "  afore  dinner  they  hunted  the  hare  and  killed  her," 
at  the  end  of  St.  Giles's,  with  great  hallooing  and  blowing  of  horns.  Much  later,  the 
Lord  Mayor  and  Aldermen  enjoyed  this  sport  on  Easter  Monday,  when  a  stag  was 
turned  out.  The  kennel  for  the  hounds,  and  a  house  adjoining,  was  rebuilt  about  1800. 
The  officer  of  the  Common  Hunt  has  not  long  been  abolished  in  the  Lord  Mayor's 
household ;  the  "  hunt"  exists  but  in  the  verse  of  Tom  D'Urfey,  or  Thomas  Hood. 

Poaching  was  common  in  the  metropolis  three  centuries  since ;  for,  in  a  proclamation 
of  Henry  VIII.,  1546  (preserved  in  the  library  of  the  Society  of  Antiquaries),  the  King 
is  desirous  to  have  the  "  Games  of  Hare,  Partridge,  Pheasant,  and  Heron,"  preserved 
from  Westminster  palace  to  St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields,  &c. 

Masquerades  were  introduced  into  England  from  Italy  in  1512-13,  by  Henry  VIII. 
They  were  frequent  among  the  citizens  at  the  Restoration.  In  1717-18,  a  very 
splendid  masquerade  was  given  at  the  Opera  House  by  Heidegger,  at  which  there  was 
high  play  with  heaps  of  guineas.  Soon  after  the  bishops  preached  against  these  amuse- 
ments, which  led  to  their  suppression,  9  George  I.,  1723.  They  were,  however,  revived, 
and  carried  to  shameful  excess  by  connivance  of  the  Government,  and  in  direct  viola- 
tion of  the  laws.  During  the  food-riots,  in  1772,  there  was  given  at  the  Pantheon, 
Oxford-street,  a  masquerade,  in  which  10,000  guineas  were  expended  by  the  revellers 
in  dress  and  other  luxuries  :  Oliver  Goldsmith  masqueraded  there  in  "  an  old  English 
dress."  At  the  Pantheon,  in  1783,  a  masquerade  was  got  up  by  Delpini,  the  famous 
clown,  in  celebration  of  the  Prince  of  Wales  attaining  his  majority ;  tickets,  three 


AMUSEMENTS.  15 


guineas  each.  In  the  same  year  Garrick  attended  a  masked  fete  at  the  Pantheon  as 
King  of  the  Gipsies.  But  the  most  eccentric  entrepreneur  was  Madame  Teresa 
Cornelys,  "the  Heidegger  of  the  age,"  who,  at  Carlisle  House,  Soho-square,  gave 
masquerades  in  extravagant  style,  and  was  soon  ruined.  These  entertainments  were 
never  encouraged  hy  George  III.,  at  whose  request  Foote  abstained  from  giving  a 
masquerade  at  the  Little  Theatre  in  the  Haymarket.  At  Ranelagh  they  were  given 
occasionally.  At  the  Opera  House  and  Argyle  Rooms,  masquerades  were  given  ;  and 
at  Drury-lane  and  Covent  Garden  Theatres :  towards  the  close  of  a  masquerade,  or 
masked  hall,  May  5,  1856,  the  latter  theatre  was  entirely  destroyed  by  fire. 

Mayings  axd  May-Games  were  celebrated  by  "  the  citizens  of  London  of  all 
estates"  with  Maypoles  and  warlike  shows,  "  with  good  archers,  morrice-dancers,  and 
other  devices  for  pastime,  all  day  long ;  and  towards  evening  they  had  stage-plays  and 
bonfires  in  the  streets."  The  games  were  presided  over  by  the  Lord  and  Lady  of  the 
May,  decorated  with  scarves,  ribbons,  and  other  finery ;  to  which  were  added  Robin 
Hood  and  Maid  Marian.  May-poles  were  regularly  erected  in  many  parts  of  London 
on  Mayday  morning ;  as  in  Leadenhall-street,  before  the  south  door  of  St.  Andrew's 
Church,  therefore  called  Under  Shaft ;  this  pole  being  referred  to  by  Chaucer  as  "  the 
great  Shaft  of  Cornhill :"  it  was  higher  than  the  church-steeple  (91  feet).  After  Evil 
Mayday,  1517,  this  pole  was,  in  1549,  sawn  into  pieces,  and  burnt  as  "  an  idol." 
Another  celebrated  Maypole  was  that  placed  in  the  Strand,  upon  the  site  of  the  present 
church  of  St.  Mary:  this  pole  was  131  feet  high,  and  was  set  up  with  great  pomp  and 
festivity  in  1661 ;  it  was  broken  with  a  high  wind  a  few  years  after.  Opposite  is  Maypole- 
alley,  at  the  top  of  which  and  over  against  the  gate  of  Craven  House,  were  the  lodgings 
of  Nell  Gwyn ;  and  Mr.  Peter  Cunningham,  in  his  piquant  Story  of  Nell,  says : — "  This 
Maypole,  long  a  conspicuous  ornament  to  the  West-end  of  London,  rose  to  a  great 
height  above  the  surrounding  houses,  and  was  surmounted  by  a  crown  and  vane,  and 
the  royal  arms  richly  gilded."  Stow  tells  us  that  this  pole  was  put  up  by  the  farrier, 
Charges,  to  commemorate  his  daughter's  good  fortune  of  arriving  to  the  dignity  of 
Duchess  of  Albemarle,  by  being  married  to  General  Monk,  when  he  was  a  private 
gentleman.  The  Maypole  being  grown  old  and  damaged,  was,  in  1717,  obtained  by 
Sir  Isaac  Newton  (who  then  lived  in  St.  Martin's-street,  Leicester-fields),  and  being 
taken  down  was  carried  away  to  Wanstead,  in  Essex ;  there  it  was  placed  in  Sir  Richard 
Child's  park,  for  raising  a  telescope,  the  largest  in  the  world,  stated  to  have  belonged 
to  Newton's  friend,  Mr.  Pound,  rector  of  Wanstead,  to  whom  it  had  been  presented  by 
M.  Hugon,  a  French  member  of  the  Royal  Society.  Another  famous  Maypole  stood  in 
Basing-lane :  Stow  described  it  as  a  large  fir-pole,  which  reached  to  the  roof  of  Gerard's 
Hall  Inn,  and  was  fabled  to  be  the  justice-staff  of  Gerard  the  giant,  of  whom  a  carved 
wood  figure  stood  by  the  gate  until  the  demolition  of  the  inn  in  1852.  There  are 
other  places  in  London  which  indicate  the  site  of  Maypoles :  as  Maypole-alley,  St. 
Margaret's-hill,  Southwark;  and  Maypole-alley,  from  the  north  side  of  Wych-street 
into  Stanhope-street.  In  the  Beaufoy  Collection  are  two  tokens :  one  Nat.  Child, 
"  near  ye  May  poal,  in  ye  Strand,  Grocer  j"  and  Philip  Complin,  "  at  the  Maypole  in 
the  Strand,  Distiller,"  and  the  Maypole,  with  some  small  building  attached. 

TnE  Parks  had  their  pastimes  upwards  of  two  centuries  ago.  The  French  game  of 
Paille-mail  (striking  a  ball  with  a  wooden  mallet  through  an  iron  ring)  was  introduced 
in  the  reign  of  Charles  I.  Skating  was  first  brought  into  vogue  in  England  on  the  new 
canal  in  St.  James's  Park :  Evelyn  enters  it,  1st  Dec,  1 662,  "  with  scheets  after  the 
manner  of  the  Hollanders."  Pepys  records,  10th  Aug.  1664,  Lords  Castlehaven  and 
Arran  running  down  and  killing  a  stout  buck  in  St.  James's  Park,  for  a  wager,  before 
the  King  j  and  Evelyn  enters,  19th  Feb.  1666-67,  a  wrestling-match  for  1000Z.  in 
St.  James's  Park,  before  his  Majesty,  a  world  of  lords,  and  other  spectators,  'twixt  the 
western  and  northern  men,  when  the  former  won.  At  this  time  there  were  in  the 
park  flocks  of  wild-fowl  breeding  about  the  Decoy,  antelopes,  an  elk,  red-deer,  roe- 
bucks, stags,  Guinea  fowls,  Arabian  sheep,  &c. :  and  here  Charles  II.  might  be  seen 
playing  with  his  dogs  and  feeding  his  ducks.  Birdcage  Walk  was  named  from  the 
aviary  established  there  in  the  reign  of  James  I.,  and  the  decoy  made  there  in  the 
reign  of  Charles  II. 


16  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Hyde  Park  was  formerly  much  celebrated  for  its  deer-hunts,  foot  and  horse  races, 
musters  and  coach-races,  boxing-matches,  and  Mayings. 

Prison  Bars,  or  Base,  is  as  old  as  the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  when  it  was,  by 
proclamation,  prohibited  to  be  played  in  the  avenues  of  the  Palace  at  "Westminster 
during  the  session  of  Parliament,  from  its  interruption  of  the  members  and  others 
in  passing  to  and  fro.  About  1780,  a  grand  match  at  base  was  played  in  the  fields  be- 
hind Montagu  House,  by  twelve  gentlemen  of  Cheshire  against  twelve  of  Derbyshire, 
for  a  considerable  stake. 

"  Punch"  has  for  nearly  two  centuries  delighted  the  Londoner ;  there  being  entries 
of  Punchinello's  Booth  at  Charing-cross,  1666,  in  the  Overseers'  Books  of  St. 
Martin's-in-the-Fields.  (Cunningham's  Handbook,  2nd  edit.)  Punch's  costume  closely 
resembles  the  Elizabethan  peasecod-bellied  doublets.  Covent  Garden  was  another  of 
Punch's  early  "  pitches,"  where  Powell's  performances  thinned  the  congregation  in  St. 
Paul's  Church,  as  we  learn  from  No.  14  of  the  Spectator ;  and  in  1711-12,  he  lessened 
the  receipts  at  the  Opera  and  the  national  theatres  :  the  showman  worked  the  wires, 
and  "  by  a  thread  in  one  of  Punch's  chops,  gave  to  him  the  appearance  of  animation." 
Such  was  the  olden  contrivance :  at  present  the  puppets  are  played  by  putting  the 
hand  under  the  dress,  and  making  the  middle  finger  and  thumb  serve  for  the  arms, 
while  the  forefinger  works  the  head.  Mr.  Windham,  when  one  of  the  Secretaries  of 
State,  on  his  way  from  Downing-street  to  the  House  of  Commons,  was  seen  to  stop 
and  enjoy  the  whimsicalities  of  Punch. 

"  We  are  never  ashamed  of  being  caught  gazing  at  Punch,"  wrote  Albert  Smith. 
In  1828,  George  Cruikshank  produced  his  grotesque  etchings  of  Punch,  to  illustrate 
Mr  Payne  Collier's  very  agreeable  volume,  Punch  and  Judy.  Haydon  painted  Punch, 
with  Hogarthian  humour,  in  1829 ;  and  Webster,  B.A.,  painted  with  equal  humour 
"  Punch  in  the  Country,"  in  1840. 

Street  Shows  and  Performers  have  become  very  numerous  in  the  present  day.  Such  are  Punch. 
Fantoccini,  Chinese  Shades,  and  Galantee  Shows ;  jugglers,  conjurors,  balancers,  posturers,  stiff 
tumblers,  pole-balancers,  salamanders  or  fire-eaters,  and  sword  and  snake  followers  ;  street  dancers ; 
and  performances  of  trained  animals,  as  dancing  dogs,  acting  birds,  and  mice.  The  street  musicians 
include  brass  and  other  bands,  Ethiopians,  farm-yard  fiddlers,  horse  organs,  Italian  organ-boys,  hurdy- 
gurdy  players,  blind  and  crippled  fiddlers,  and  violoncello  and  clarionet  players.  Next  are  the  peep- 
showmen  and  the  proprietors  of  giants,  dwarves,  industrious  fleas,  alligators,  "happy  families,"  and 
glass  ships ;  together  with  street  telescopes,  microscopes,  thaumascopes,  and  weighing,  lifting,  and 
measuring  machines.  Porsini  and  Pike  were  celebrated  Punch  exhibitors;  the  former  is  said  to  have 
frequently  taken  \0l.  a  day ;  but  he  died  in  St.  Giles'  workhouse.  A  set  of  Punch  figures  costs  about 
152.,  and  the  show  about  31.  The  speaking  is  done  by  a  "  call,"  made  of  two  curved  pieces  of  metal 
about  the  size  of  a  knee-buckle,  bound  together  with  black  thread,  and  between  them  is  a  thin  metal 
plate.  Porsini  used  a  trumpet.  The  present  artists  maintain  that  "  Punch  is  exempt  from  the 
Police  Act."  The  most  profitable  performance  is  that  in  houses ;  and  Punch's  best  season  is  in  the 
spring,  and  at  Christmas  and  Midsummer :  the  best  "  pitches  "  in  London  are  Leicester-square,  Regent- 
street  (corner  of  New  Burlington-street),  Oxford  Market,  and  Belgrave-square.  There  are  sixteen 
Punch  and  Judy  frames  in  England,  eight  of  which  work  in  London.  Fantoccini  are  puppets,  which, 
with  frame,  cost  about  102.  Chinese  Shades  consist  of  a  frame  like  Punch's,  with  a  transparent  curtain 
and  movable  figures ;  shown  only  at  night,  with  much  dialogue. — Selected  from  a  Letter  by  Henry 
Mayhew  ;  Morning  Chronicle,  May  16, 1850. 

Punch  has  not,  however,  been  always  a  mere  puppet :  for  we  read  of  a  farce  called 
"  Punch  turned  Schoolmaster  •"  and  in  1841,  was  commenced  "  Punch  ;  or,  the  London 
Charivari,"  which  under  excellent  editorship  has  effected  considerable  moral  service.* 

PrjppET-snows  were  common  at  the  suburban  fairs  in  the  early  part  of  the  last  cen- 
tury ;  they  also  competed  with  the  larger  theatres,  until  they  were  superseded  by  the 
revival  of  Pantomimes.  But  the  Italian  Fantoccini  was  popular  early  in  the  present 
century.  The  puppet-showman,  with  his  box  upon  his  back,  is  now  rarely  seen  in  the 
street,  but  we  have  the  artist  of  Punch,  with  his  theatre.  Clockwork  figures  appeared 
early  in  the  last  century.  In  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne,  a  celebrated  show  of  this  kind 
was  exhibited  at  the  great  house  in  the  Strand  over  against  the  Globe  Tavern,  near 
Hungerford  Market.  A  saraband,  danced  with  castanets,  and  throwing  balls  and 
knives  alternately  into  the  air  and  catching  them  as  they  fall,  with  catching  oranges 
upon  forks,  formed  part  of  the  puppet-showman's  exhibition. 

*  In  a  14th-century  manuscript  of  the  French  romance  of  Alexander,  in  the  Bodleian  Library,  is  an 
illumination  of  Punch's  show,  the  figures  closely  resembling  the  modern  Punch  and  Judy. 


AMUSEMENTS.  17 


Men  and  monkeys  dancing  upon  ropes,  or  walking  upon  wires;  dogs  dancing 
minuets,  pigs  arranging  letters  so  as  to  form  words  at  their  master's  command,  hares 
beating  drums,  or  birds  firing  off  cannons — these  were  favourite  exhibitions  early  in 
the  last  century.     Raree-shows,  ladder-dancing,  and  posturing,  are  also  of  this  date. 

Rackets  is  nearly  coeval  with  Tennis,  which  it  so  much  resembles  ;  Rackets  being 
striking  a  ball  against  a  wall,  and  Tennis  dropping  a  ball  over  a  central  net.  There 
are  Racket-grounds  at  the  Belvedere,  Pentonville ;  at  the  Tennis  Court,  Haymarket ; 
and  at  Prince's  Club  Racquets  Courts,  Chelsea.  Rackets  was  also  much  played  in  the 
Fleet  Prison,  taken  down  in  18-11;  in  the  Queen's  Bench  Prison;  and  at  Copenhagen 
House,  St.  Pancras. 

Salt-box  Music  will  be  remembered  by  the  middle-aged  reader.  It  was  played 
with  a  rolling-pin  and  salt-box  beaten  together,  the  noise  being  modulated  so  as  to 
resemble  a  sort  of  music.  It  was  formerly  played  by  Merry  Andrews,  at  country  fairs. 
Bonnel  Thornton  composed  a  burlesque  Ode  on  St.  Cecilia's  Day,  which  Dr.  Burney, 
in  1769,  set  for  Smart  and  Newbury.  It  was  performed  at  Ranelagh,  by  masks : 
Beard  sang  the  salt-box  song,  which  was  admirably  accompanied  on  that  instrument 
by  Brent,  the  fencing-master ;  Skeggs,  on  the  broomstick,  as  bassoon ;  and  a  remark- 
able performance  on  the  Jew's  harp.  Cleavers  were  cast  in  bell-metal  for  this  enter- 
tainment. All  the  performers  of  the  Old  Woman's  Oratory,  employed  by  Foote,  were 
engaged  at  Ranelagh  on  this  occasion.  Price,  landlord  of  the  Green  Man,  formerly 
the  Farthing  Pye-house,  was  a  famous  salt-box  player. 

Skittles,  corrupted  from  kayles  of  the  fourteenth  century,  and  afterwards  kettle, 
or  kettle-pins,  was  much  played  in  and  near  London  until  1780,  when  the  magistrates 
abolished  all  Skittle-grounds.  To  this  succeeded  Nine-holes,  or  "  Bubble-the-justice," 
on  the  supposition  that  it  could  not  be  set  aside  by  the  justices,  as  it  was  not  named  in 
the  prohibitory  statutes :  it  is  now  called  "  Bumble-puppy,"  and  the  vulgarity  of  the 
term  is  characteristic  of  the  company  who  play  it.  Nine-pins,  Dutch-pins,  and  Four- 
corners  are  but  variations  of  Skittles  ;  which  games  originated  in  the  covering  of  open 
grounds  in  London  and  its  neighbourhood  with  houses. 

Tea  Gabdejjs  were  the  favourite  resorts  of  the  middle  classes  in  the  last  century ; 
and,  in  most  cases,  they  succeeded  the  promenade  at  mineral  springs.  Such  was 
Bagnigge  Wells,  Battle  Bridge-road,  taken  down  a  few  years  since  :  we  remember  its 
concert-room  and  organ,  its  grottoes  and  fountains,  and  grotesque  figures,  and  bust  of 
Nell  Gwynne,  who  is  traditionally  stated  to  have  resided  here.  Next  were 
Sadler's  Wells  Music  House,  before  it  became  a  theatre ;  Tunbridge  Wells,  or 
Islington  Spa ;  and  the  Three  Hats,  at  Islington,  mentioned  in  Bickerstaff's  comedy 
of  the  Hypocrite :  the  house  remained  a  tavern  until  1839,  when  it  was  taken  down. 
White  Conduit  House,  Pentonville,  was  originally  a  small  ale  and  cake  house,  built  in 
the  fields,  in  the  reign  of  Charles  I.,  and  named  from  a  conduit  in  an  adjoining  meadow. 
An  association  of  Protestant  Dissenters,  formed  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne,  met  at 
this  house :  the  Wheal  Pond,  close  by,  was  a  famous  place  for  duck-hunting ;  Sir 
William  Davenant  describes  a  city  wife  going  to  the  fields  to  "  sop  her  cake  in  milk ;" 
and  Goldsmith  speaks  of  tea-drinking  parties,  with  hot  rolls  and  butter,  at  White 
Conduit  House.  A  description  of  the  place  in  1774  presents  a  general  picture  of  the 
Tea  Garden  of  that  period  :  "  The  garden  is  formed  into  walks,  prettily  disposed.  At 
the  end  of  the  principal  one  is  a  painting,  which  seems  to  render  it  (the  walk)  longer 
in  appearance  than  it  really  is.  In  the  centre  of  the  garden  is  a  fish  pond.  There 
are  boxes  for  company,  curiously  cut  into  hedges,  adorned  with  Flemish  and  other 
paintings.  There  are  two  handsome  tea-rooms,  one  over  the  other,  and  several  inferior 
ones  in  the  house."  The  fish-pond  was  soon  after  filled  up,  and  its  site  planted,  the 
paintings  removed,  and  a  new  dancing  and  tea  saloon,  called  the  Apollo-room,  built. 
In  1826,  the  gardens  were  opened  as  a  "  Minor  Vauxhall ;"  and  here  Mrs.  Bland,  the 
charming  vocalist,  last  sang  in  public.  In  1829,  the  small  house,  the  original  tavern, 
was  taken  down,  and  rebuilt  upon  a  more  extensive  plan,  so  as  to  dine  upwards  of  2000 
persons  in  its  largest  room.  But  in  1819  these  premises  were  also  taken  down ;  the 
tavern  was  re-erected  on  a  smaller  scale,  and  the  garden-ground  let  on  building  leases, 
for  White  Conduit-street,  &c. 

o 


18  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Next  we  reach  Highbury,  where  originally  stood  the  Barn  of  the  Monks  of  Clerken- 
well :  hence  the  old  name  of  the  Tavern,  Highbury  Barn.  In  the  fields,  opposite 
Pentonville  Prison,  was  Copenhagen  House  (Coopen  Hagen,  in  Camden's  Britannia, 
1695),  first  opened  by  a  Dane.  In  Islington  there  remain  the  Canoubury  Tea 
Gardens,  a  very  old  resort  (the  tavern  has  been  rebuilt)  ;  and  in  Barnsbury  remains 
an  old  tea-garden.     Hoxton  had  also  several  tea-gardens. 

Toten  Hall,  at  the  north-west  extremity  of  Tottenham-court-road,  was  the  ancient 
court-house  of  that  manor,  and  subsequently  a  place  of  public  entertainment.  In  the 
parish  books  of  St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields,  year  1645,  is  an  entry  of  Mrs.  Stacye's  maid 
and  others  being  fined  "  for  drinking  at  Tottenhall  Court  on  the  Sabbath  daie,  xijd. 
a-piece."  The  premises  next  became  the  Adam  and  Eve  Tea  Gardens :  before  the 
house  is  laid  the  scene  of  Hogarth's  March  to  Finchley ;  and  in  the  grounds,  May  16, 
1785,  Lunardi  fell  with  his  burst  balloon,  and  was  but  slightly  injured.  The  Gardens 
were  much  frequented ;  but  the  place  falling  into  disrepute,  the  music-house  was  taken 
down,  and  upon  the  site  of  the  Skittle-grounds  and  Gardens  was  built  Eden-street, 
Hampstead-road,  the  public-house  being  rebuilt. 

Chalk  Farm,  corrupted  from  the  old  village  of  Chalcot,  shown  in  Camden's  map,  was 
another  noted  tea-garden.  This  was  "  the  White  House,"  to  which,  in  1678,  the  body 
of  Sir  Edmund  Berry  Godfrey  was  carried,  after  it  had  been  found,  about  two  fields 
distant,  upon  the  south  side  of  Primrose  Hill.  Several  duels  have  been  fought  here  : 
here  John  Scott  (of  the  London  Magazine),  was  shot  by  Mr.  Christie,  Feb.  16,  1821 ; 
and  the  poet  Moore,  and  Jeffrey,  of  the  Edinburgh  Review,  met  in  1806.  Chalk  Farm 
now  gives  name  to  the  railway  station  here. 

The  above  were  the  most  celebrated  Tea-gardens  north  and  north-west  of  London. 
Westward  lay  Marybone  Gardens,  open  for  public  breakfasts  and  evening  concerts  to 
high-class  company  ;  fireworks  being  added.  In  1777-8  these  gardens  were  shut  up, 
and  the  site  let  to  builders ;  the  ground  being  now  occupied  by  Beaumontand  Devon- 
shire streets,  and  part  of  Devonshire-place.  Next  were  the  Bayswater  Gardens, 
once  the  "  Physic  Garden "  of  Sir  John  Hill ;  and  Ranelagh,  the  costly  rival 
of  Vauxhall,  as  well  as  a  Tea-garden  in  the  present  century.  Mulberry  Garden,  upon 
the  present  site  of  Buckingham  Palace  and  its  gardens,  dated  from  temp.  Charles  I. 
Pimlico  was  noted  for  its  tea-gardens  and  ale  to  our  day :  the  Gun  Tea  Gardens, 
Queen's-row,  with  its  arbours  and  grotesque  figures,  were  the  last  to  disappear: 
here  were  the  Dwarf  Tavern  and  Gardens ;  the  Star  and  Garter,  Five-fields-row, 
famous  for  its  equestrianism,  fireworks,  and  dancing ;  and  the  Orange,  upon  the  site  of 
St.  Barnabas  Church.  Here,  too,  was  New  Ranelagh ;  and  Jenny's  Whim,  Bowling- 
green,  and  gardens,  the  site  now  covered  by  St.  George' s-row :  it  was  opened  temp. 
George  I.  for  fireworks ;  and  it  had  its  duck-hunting  pond,  alcoves,  and  character  figures, 
and  was  much  frequented  for  bull-baiting  in  the  adjoining  fields.  Knightsbridge  was  noted 
for  its  Spring  Gardens,  and  houses  of  entertainment.  Southward  were  Cumberland 
Gardens  and  Assembly  Rooms,  the  site  now  occupied  by  Price's  Candle  Company's 
Works,  Vauxhall  Bridge ;  Spring  Garden,  Vauxhall ;  the  Dog  and  Duck,  and  Apollo 
Gardens,  St.  George's  Fields ;  and  Cuper's  Gardens,  through  the  site  of  which  runs 
Waterloo-bridge-road.  Bermondsey  had  its  Spa  Gardens  in  the  Grange-road;  and 
Cupid's  Gardens  upon  Jacob's  Island,  the  ill-fated  locality  in  which  the  cholera  (1818-9) 
first  broke  out  in  the  metropolis,  and  where  it  lingered  last. 

Few  of  these  old  Tea  Gardens  remain.  In  the  increase  of  London  within  the  last 
half-century,  the  environs  have  lost  their  suburban  character,  and  have  become  part 
of  the  great  town  itself;  and  steamboats  and  railways  now,  for  very  small  sums,  convey 
the  over- worked  artisan  out  of  its  murky  atmosphere  into  pure  air  and  rural  scenery. 

Tennis,  from  the  French  Hand-ball  or  Palm-play,  was  played  in  London  in  the  six- 
teenth century,  in  covered  courts  erected  for  the  purpose.  Henry  VII.  and  VIII.  were 
fond  of  Tennis ;  and  the  latter  added  to  the  palace  of  Whitehall  "  tennise-courts." 
James  I.  recommended  Tennis  to  his  son,  as  becoming  a  prince.  Charles  II.  was  an 
accomplished  Tennis-player,  and  had  particular  dresses  for  playing  in.  We  have  a 
relic  of  these  times  in  the  Tennis-court  in  James-street,  Haymarket,  which  bears  the 
date  1676,  and  was  formerly  attached  to  the  gaming-house,  or  Shavers'  Hall.     In 


APOLLONICON— ARCADES.  19 

Windmill-street  was  another  Tennis-court,  which  belonged  to  Piccadilly  Hall,  also  a 
gaming-house.  Another  famous  Tennis-court  was  Gibbon's,  in  Clare  Market,  where 
lulligrew's  comedians  performed  for  some  time.  There  are  in  Holborn,  Blackfriars, 
and  Southwark  thoroughfares  known  as  "  Tennis-courts,"  denoting  the  game  to  have 
been  formerly  played  there. 

Thames  Spoets. — Fitzstephen  relates  of  the  ancient  Londoners  fighting  "  battles  on 
Easter  holidays  on  the  water,  by  striking  a  shield  with  a  lance."  There  was  also  a 
kind  of  water  tournament,  in  which  the  two  combatants,  standing  in  two  wherries, 
rowed  and  ran  against  each  other,  and  fought  with  staves  and  shields.  In  the  game 
of  the  Water  Quintain  the  shield  was  fixed  upon  a  post  in  the  river,  and  the  champion, 
stationed  in  a  boat,  struck  the  shield  with  a  lance.  Jousting  upon  the  ice  was  likewise 
practised  by  the  young  Londoners.  Each  mansion  upon  the  Thames  bank  had  its 
private  retinue  of  barge  and  wherry,  and  the  sovereign  a  gilded  and  tapestried 
barge.  There  were  also  public  boats,  with  gay  awnings,  for  tea-parties.  All  this  gay 
water-pageantry  has  disappeared,  including  the  state  barges  of  the  Sovereign  and  the 
Admiralty,  the  Lord  Mayor,  and  a  few  of  the  wealthier  of  the  City  companies.  In 
1S50,  the  old  Barge  of  the  Goldsmiths'  Company  was  let  at  Richmond,  "  for  Pic-nic, 
Wedding,  and  Birthday  Parties,"  at  51.  5s.  per  day.  The  great  civic  barge,  the 
Maria  Wood,  is  likewise  let  for  similar  occasions. 

Of  Boat-races,  the  oldest  is  that  for  Dogget's  Coat  and  Badge,  on  August  1 :  the 
prizes  are  distributed  by  the  Fishmongers'  Company.  We  have  also  Regattas  and 
Sailing  Matches,  to  aid  in  the  enjoyment  of  which  steamers  are  employed. 

Tiieatees  originated  in  Miracle  Plays,  such  as  were  acted  in  fields  and  open  places 
and  inn-yards.  The  playhouse  dates  from  the  age  of  Elizabeth;  and  between  1570 
and  1629,  London  had  seventeen  theatres.     (See  Tiieatees.) 

APOLLONICON,  THE. 

A  CHAMBER-ORGAN  of  vast  power,  supplied  with  both  keys  and  barrels,  was 
built  by  Messrs.  Flight  and  Robson,  of  101,  St.  MartinVlane,  and  first  exhibited  by 
them  at  their  manufactory  in  1817.  The  denomination  is  formed  from  Apollon,  and 
the  Greek  termination  icon. 

"  The  Apollonicon,"  says  a  contemporary  description,  "  is  either  self-acting1,  by  means  of  machinery, 
or  may  be  played  on  by  keys.  The  music,  when  the  organ  is  worked  by  machinery,  is  pinned  on  three 
cylinders  or  barrels,  each  acting  on  a  distinct  division  of  the  instrument;  and  these,  in  their  revolution, 
not  only  admit  air  to  the  pipes,  but  actually  regulate  and  work  the  stops,  forming,  by  an  instantaneous 
action,  all  the  necessary  combinations.  The  key-boards  are  five  in  number ;  the  central  and  largest 
comprising  five  octaves,  and  the  smaller  ones,  of  which  two  are  placed  on  each  side  the  larger,  two 
octaves  each.  To  the  central  key-board  are  attached  a  swell  and  some  compound  pedals,  enabling  the 
performer  to  produce  all  the  changes  and  variety  of  effect  that  the  music  may  require.  There  is  also  a 
key-board,  comprising  two  octaves  of  other  pedals,  operating  on  the  largest  pipes  of  the  instrument. 
There  are  1900  pipes,  the  largest  twenty-four  feet  in  length,  and  one  foot  eleven  inches  in  aperture, 
being  eight  feet  longer  than  the  corresponding  pipe  in  the  great  organ  at  Haarlem.  The  number  of 
stops  is  forty-five,  and  these  in  their  combinations  afford  very  good  imitations  of  the  various  wind 
instruments  used  in  an  orchestra.  Two  kettle-drums,  struck  by  a  curious  contrivance  in  the  machinery, 
are,  with  the  other  mechanism,  inclosed  in  a  case  twenty-four  feet  high,  embellished  with  pilasters, 
and  paintings  of  Apollo,  Clio,  and  Erato." 

This  magnificent  instrument  performed  Mozart's  overtures  to  the  Zauberflote,  Figaro, 
and  Idomeneo ;  Beethoven's  Prometheus ;  Weber's  to  the  Freischutz  and  Oberon  ; 
Cherubini's  to  Anacreon,  &c.,  without  omitting  a  single  note  of  the  score,  and  with  all 
the  fortes  and  pianos,  the  crescendoes  and  diminuendoes,  as  directed  by  the  composers, 
with  an  accuracy  that  no  band  can  possibly  exceed,  and  very  few  can  reasonably  hope 
to  rival.  The  Apollonicon  was  five  years  in  building,  and  at  an  expense  of  about 
10,000?.,  under  the  patronage  of  George  IV.  Its  performance's  were  popular  for  many 
years. 

ARCADES. 

ONLY  a  few  of  these  covered  passages  (series   of  arches  on  insulated  piers)  have 
been  constructed  in  London ;  although  Paris  contains  upwards  of  twenty  passages 
or  galleries  of  similar  design. 

C  2 


20  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Bttelington  Aecadk. — When,  in  1815,  Burlington  House  was  purchased  of  the  Duke 
of  Devonshire  hy  his  uncle,  Lord  George  Cavendish,  that  nohleman  converted  a  narrow 
slip  of  ground  on  the  west  side  of  the  house  and  garden  into  a  passage,  with  a  range  of 
shops  on  each  side,  called  Burlington  Arcade,  making  a  covered  communication  for 
foot  passengers  from  Piccadilly  to  Burlington  Gardens,  Cork -street,  and  New  Bond- 
street.  This  Arcade  was  built  hy  Samuel  Ware,  in  1819.  It  consists  of  a  double  row 
of  shops,  with  apartments  over  them,  a  roof  of  skylights,  and  a  triple  arch  at  each  end  ; 
it  is  about  210  yards  long,  and  the  shops,  seventy -two  in  number,  produce  to  the  noble 
family  of  Cavendish  4000Z.  a  year ;  though  the  property,  by  sub-letting  and  otherwise, 
is  stated  to  yield  double  that  amount  a  year. 

Exeteb  Change  (the  second  building  of  the  name,  but  on  a  different  site  from  the 
first)  was  an  Arcade  built  in  1844,  on  the  estate  of  the  Marquis  of  Exeter,  and  ran  ob- 
liquely from  Catherine-street  to  Wellington-street  North,  Strand.  It  was  designed  by 
Sydney  Smirke ;  and  consisted  of  a  polygonal  compartment  at  each  extremity,  the  in- 
termediate passage  being  coved  and  groined,  and  lighted  from  above ;  it  contained 
ten  neat  shops  with  dwellings  over.  The  cove,  fascia,  piers,  &c,  had  polychromic  ara- 
besque decorations :  at  each  entrance  to  the  Arcade  was  an  imitative  bronze  gate ;  and 
the  fronts  in  Catherine-street  and  Wellington-street,  were  of  fine  red  brick,  with  stone 
dressings,  in  the  Jacobean  style.  The  "  Change,"  however,  proved  unprofitable ;  it 
was  taken  down  in  1863,  and  upon  its  site  was  erected  a  portion  of  the  Strand  Music 
Hall,  externally  and  internally,  of  elaborate  design. 

Lowthee  Aecade  (named  from  Lord  Lowther,  Chief  Commissioner  of  the  Woods 
and  Forests  when  it  was  built)  leads  from  the  triangle  of  the  West  Strand  to  Adelaide- 
street,  north  of  St.  Martin's  Church.  It  was  designed  by  Witherden  Young,  and  far 
surpasses  the  Burlington  Arcade  in  architectural  character :  the  ceiling  vista  of  small 
pendentive  domes  is  very  beautiful,  and  the  caducei  in  the  angles  are  well  executed. 
The  length  is  245  feet,  breadth  20  feet,  and  height  35  feet.  The  sides  consist  of 
twenty-five  dwellings  and  shops,  principally  kept  by  dealers  in  foreign  goods,  who,  by 
mutual  consent,  hold  in  the  avenue  a  sort  of  fair  for  German  and  French  toys,  cheap 
glass  and  jewellery,  &c.  At  the  north  end  of  the  Arcade  is  the  Adelaide  Gallery, 
where  Mr.  Jacob  Perkins  exhibited  his  Steam  Gun.  A  living  electrical  eel  was  shown 
here  from  August,  1838,  to  March  14,  1843,  when  it  died;  and  in  1832  was  formed 
here  a  Society  for  the  Exhibition  of  Models  of  Inventions,  &c.  The  rooms  were  sub- 
sequently let  for  concerts,  dancing,  and  exhibitions. 

The  Aecade  oe  Coveot  Garden,  miscalled  piazza,  was  designed  about  1631  for 
Francis,  Earl  of  Bedford,  but  only  the  north  and  east  sides  were  built,  and  half  of  the 
latter  was  destroyed  by  fire  about  the  middle  of  the  last  century.  The  northern  was 
called  the  Great  Piazza,  the  eastern  the  Little  Piazza :  Inigo  Jones,  the  architect, 
probably  took  his  idea  from  an  Italian  city,  Bologna,  for  instance.  "  The  proportions  of 
the  arcades  and  piers,  crossed  with  elliptical  and  semicircular  arches  into  groins,  are  ex- 
quisitely beautiful,  and  are  masterpieces  of  architecture."  (Elmes.)  The  elevation  was 
originally  built  with  stone  pilasters  on  red  brick,  which  have  for  many  years  been 
covered  with  compo  and  white  paint ;  at  the  north-east  corner  two  arcades  and  piers 
have  been  removed  for  the  intrusion  of  the  Covent  Garden  Floral  Hall.  Had  Inigo 
Jones's  picturesque  square  been  completed,  its  entirety  would  probably  have  been 
preserved. 

ARCHES. 

LONDON  differs  essentially  from  many  other  European  capitals  in  the  paucity 
of  its  Arches,  or  ornamental  gateways.  It  has  only  three  triumphal  Arches, 
whereas  Paris,  not  half  the  size  of  our  metropolis,  has  four  magnificent  Arches,  and 
the  principal  entrances  are  graced  with  trophied  gateways  and  storied  columns.  The 
Parisian  Are  de  VEtoile  is  without  exception  the  most  gigantic  work  of  its  kind  either 
in  ancient  or  modern  times ;  within  its  centre  arch  would  stand  eight  such  structures 
as  Temple  Bar,  that  is,  four  in  depth,  and  as  many  above  them.  The  Paris  Arch  cost 
417,666/. 


ARCHES.  21 

The  Green  Task  Aech,  at  Hyde  Park  Corner,  was  built  by  Decimus  Burton  in 
1828.  It  is  Corinthian,  and  each  face  has  six  fluted  pilasters,  with  two  fluted  columns 
flanking  the  single  archway,  raised  upon  a  lofty  stylobate,  and  supporting  a  richly 
decorated  entablature,  in  which  are  sculptured  alternately  G.  R.  IV.  and  the  imperial 
crown,  within  wreaths  of  laurel.  The  soffite  of  the  arch  is  sculptured  in  sunk  panels. 
The  gates,  by  Bramah,  are  of  massive  iron  scroll-work,  bronzed,  with  the  royal  arms  in 
a  circular  centre.  Within  the  pier  of  the  arch  are  the  porter's  apartments,  and  stairs 
ascending  to  the  platform,  where,  upon  a  vast  slab,  laid  upon  a  brick  arch,  the  colossal 
equestrian  statue  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington  was  placed,  September  30,  1846.  The 
height  of  the  arch,  its  attic,  and  platform  is  about  90  feet;  of  the  statue,  30 feet.  {See 
Statues.) 

Opposite  the  above  Arch  is  the  elegant  entrance  to  Hyde  Park,  by  three  carriage 
archways  and  sides,  in  a  Screen  of  fluted  Ionic  columns,  of  107  feet  frontage,  designed 
and  built  by  Decimus  Burton,  in  1828.  The  blocking  of  the  central  archway  has  a 
beautiful  frieze  (Grecian  naval  and  military  triumphal  processions),  designed  by  the 
son  of  Mr.  Henning,  known  for  his  successful  models  of  the  Elgin  marbles.  The  gates, 
by  Bramah,  are  a  beautiful  arrangement  of  the  Grecian  honeysuckle  in  bronzed  iron ; 
the  hanging,  by  rings  of  gun  metal,  is  very  ingenious. 

Altogether,  these  two  Park  entrances,  with  St.  George's  Hospital  north,  and  the 
Duke  of  Wellington's  palatial  mansion  south,  form  one  of  the  finest  architectural 
groups  in  the  metropolis,  and  its  most  embellished  entrance.  Sir  John  Soane,  how- 
ever, proposed  two  triumphal  arches,  connected  by  a  colonnade  and  arches,  stretching 
across  the  main  road — a  design  of  superb  grandeur. 

The  third  Arch  was  one  originally  designed  and  constructed  in  St.  James's  Park  for 
the  especial  entrance  of  the  Sovereign  and  the  Royal  Family  to  Buckingham  Palace. 
In  1851  it  was  removed  to  Cumberland  Gate,  Hyde  Park  Corner.  This  was  the 
largest  work  of  mere  ornament  ever  attempted  in  Great  Britain.  It  was  adapted  by 
Xash  from  the  Arch  of  Constantine,  at  Rome ;  but  it  is  by  no  means  so  richly  em- 
bellished. The  sculpture  is  omitted  in  the  attic,  and  in  place  of  the  reversed  trusses 
above  the  columns  were  to  have  been  figures  of  Dacian  warriors,  and  panels  of  sculpture 
intervening.  The  fascia  was  to  have  been  more  highly  enriched;  the  attic  carried 
considerably  higher,  and  surmounted  with  an  equestrian  statue  of  George  the  Fourth, 
flanked  with  groups  of  military  trophies,  vases  at  the  angles,  &c.  The  Arch  has  a  centre 
and  two  side  openings ;  the  sculpture  is  confined  to  a  pair  of  figures,  and  a  key-stone 
on  each  face  of  the  central  archway ;  with  panels  above  the  side  openings  and  wreaths 
at  the  end.  These  sculptures  are  by  Flaxman,  Westmacott,  and  Rossi.  The  statue  of 
George  the  Fourth  was  executed  by  Chantrey  for  9000  guineas ;  it  was  not  placed 
upon  the  Arch  at  the  Palace,  but  at  the  north-east  angle  of  Trafalgar-square.  Upon 
the  Arch  was  hoisted  the  Royal  Standard  to  denote  the  presence  of  the  Sovereign.  The 
central  entrance-gates  were  designed  and  cast  by  Samuel  Parker,  of  Argyll-street  < 
they  are  the  largest  and  most  superb  in  Europe,  and  cost  3000  guineas.  They  are  of  a 
beautiful  alloy,  the  base  refined  copper,  and  are  bronzed :  design,  scroll-work  with  six 
circular  openings,  two  filled  with  St.  George  and  the  Dragon,  two  with  G.  R.,  and 
above,  two  lions  passant-gardant ;  height  to  the  top  of  Arch,  21  feet ;  width,  15  feet; 
extreme  thickness,  3  inches ;  weight,  5  tons  and  6  cwt.  Although  cast,  their  enriched 
foliage  and  scroll-work  have  the  elaborate  finish  of  fine  chasing.  They  terminate  at  the 
springing  of  the  Arch ;  but  Mr.  Parker  had  designed  and  cast  for  the  semicircular 
heading  a  rich  frieze  and  the  royal  arms  in  a  circle,  flanked  by  state  crowns.  This 
portion,  however,  was  irreparably  broken  in  removal  from  the  foundry.  The  face  of 
the  Arch  is  Carrara  marble,  altogether  unfitted  for  the  sooty  atmosphere  of  London. 
When  it  was  resolved  to  enlarge  Buckingham  Palace  by  the  erection  of  the  present 
front  towards  the  Park,  the  Arch  could  not  be  made  to  form  part  of  the  design,  and  it 
was  removed  and  rebuilt  at  Hyde  Park  Corner,  at  the  cost  of  4,340/.  The  original  cost 
of  the  Arch  was  75,000/. 

Of  the  two  arches,  St.  John's  Gate  and  Temple  Bae,  separate  histories  will  be 
given. 


CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


ARGYLL  ZOOMS. 

THIS  place  was  originally  a  large  house  purchased  hy  Col.  Greville,  of  sporting 
notoriety,  and  converted  into  a  place  of  public  entertainment,  where  balls,  concerts, 
masquerades,  and  amateur  plays  were  much  patronized  by  the  haul  ton.  In  1818,  the 
Rooms  were  rebuilt  in  handsome  style,  by  Nash,  at  the  north  corner  of  Little  Argyll- 
street,  Regent-street,  and  contained  a  splendid  suite  for  the  above  purposes :  they  were 
burnt  down  in  February,  1830,  when  Mr.  Braithwaite  first  publicly  applied  steam- 
power  to  the  working  of  a  fire-engine ;  it  required  eighteen  minutes  to  raise  the  water 
in  the  boiler  to  212°,  when  the  engine  threw  up  from  thirty  to  forty  tons  of  water  per 
hour  to  a  height  of  ninety  feet.  The  premises  were  rebuilt,  but  not  upon  the  same 
scale  as  heretofore. 

At  the  Argyll  Rooms,  June  9,  1829,  Signor  Velluti,  the  contralto  singer,  gave  a 
concert.  In  the  same  year,  M.  Chahert,  "  the  Fire-King,"  exhibited  here  his  power  of 
resisting  the  effects  of  poisons,  and  withstanding  extreme  heat.  He  swallowed  40 
grains  of  phosphorus,  sipped  oil  at  333°  with  impunity,  and  rubbed  a  red-hot  fire- 
shovel  over  his  tongue,  hair,  and  face  unharmed.  Sept.  23,  on  a  challenge  of  501., 
Chabert  repeated  these  feats,  and  won  the  wager ;  he  next  swallowed  a  piece  of  burn- 
ing torch ;  and  then,  dressed  in  coarse  woollen,  entered  an  oven  heated  to  380°,  sang  a 
song,  and  cooked  two  dishes  of  beef-steak  !  Still,  the  performances  were  suspected, 
and  in  fact  proved,  to  be  a  chemical  juggle. 

ART-UNION  OF  LONDON, 

A  SOCIETY  established  1836,  and  incorporated  by  9th  and  10th  Vict.,  c.  48,  "to 
aid  in  extending  the  love  of  the  Arts  of  Design  within  the  United  Kingdom,  and 
to  give  encouragement  to  artists  beyond  that  afforded  by  the  patronage  of  individuals." 
The  annual  subscription  is  one  guinea,  which  entitles  the  subscriber  to  one  chance 
for  a  prize  in  the  scheme,  ranging  from  10Z.  to  200/.,  to  be  selected  from  one  of 
the  London  exhibitions  of  the  year.  There  are  also  prize  medals,  bronze  casts, 
porcelain  statuettes,  works  in  cast-iron ;  line  engravings,  outlines,  and  mezzotints ; 
lithographs  and  chromo-lithographs ;  etchings  and  photographs  and  wood  engravings ; 
and  bas-reliefs  in  fictile  ivory ;  and  every  subscriber  is  entitled  to  a  print  or  prints. 

The  Art-Union  has,  unquestionably,  fostered  a  taste  for  art ;  and  the  increased 
means  of  art-education  has  benefited  the  country  in  increased  exports  of  articles  of 
taste, — such  as  plate,  silk  manufactures,  pottery,  and  paper-hangings. 

The  demand  in  England  at  this  time  for  pictures  is  very  great,  and  the  prices  paid  for  the  works  of 
our  best  painters  are  larger  than  has  ever  been  the  case  before.  Money  judiciously  spent  in  this  way 
is  well  invested.  The  first  purchaser  of  "  The  Strawberry  Girl '  gave  Keynolds  fifty  guineas  for  it ; 
the  last,  the  Marquis  of  Hertford,  was  delighted  in  obtaining  it  for  2100  guineas. — Art  Union  Report, 
1864. 

Few  who  assisted  at  our  first  meeting,  in  the  little  gallery  in  Kegent-stveet,  now  the  Gallery  of  Illus- 
tration, were  sanguine  enough  to  expect  a  course  of  such  continuing  success  as  that  through  which  the 
institution  has  run  ;  or  ventured  to  prognosticate  that  it  would  by  this  time  have  raised  (mainly  from 
the  classes  at  that  date  spending  little  on  art),  and  would  have  distributed  in  aid  of  art  and  artists,  the 
sum  of  324,000^.;  producing  during  that  period  35  engravings  of  high  class,  15  volumes  of  illustrative 
outlines,  etchings,  and  wood-engravings ;  16  bronzes,  12  statues  and  statuettes,  with  figures  and  vases 
in  iron,  and  a  series  of  medals  commemorative  of  British  artists — to  say  nothing  of  the  main  operation 
of  the  A  ssociation,  the  distribution  throughout  the  United  Kingdom  and  the  Colonies,  of  some  thousands 
of  pictures  by  native  modern  artists,  and  some  hundreds  of  thousands  of  impressions  from, 
the  engravings  referred  to.  Such,  however,  has  been  the  case,  notwithstanding  the  difficulty  with  which 
the  subscriptions  for  the  first  year  were  made  to  mount  to  4891.  For  the  present  year  the  sum  of 
11,743/.  has  been  subscribed.  The  subscriptions  for  the  year  amount  to  the  sum  of  13,6481.,  showing 
an  increase  of  1941J.  on  last  year.— Report,  1866. 

Mr.  Noel  Paton's  Illustrations  of  "  The  Ancient  Mariner,"  given  in  1864,  with  the 
text,  was  then  allowed  to  be  the  greatest  work  offered  to  the  subscribers.  The 
Society  has  about  600  honorary  secretaries  in  the  provinces,  in  the  British  Colonics,  in 
America,  &c,  including  Canton  ;  it  has  expended  about  150,000/.  in  the  purchase  and 
production  of  works  of  art ;  and  in  one  morning  the  honorary  secretaries  paid  to  artists 
of  the  metropolis  no  less  than  10,000/.     The  drawing  of  the  prizes  is  usually  held  in 


ARTESIAN  WELLS.  23 


one  of  the  metropolitan   theatres,    in  April,   and  the   subscribers  are    admitted   by 
tickets  :  office,  445,  West  Strand. 

ARTESIAN   WEILS* 

HAVE  been  sunk  or  bored  in  various  parts  of  the  metropolis,  the  London  Basin 
being  thought  well  adapted  for  them,  there  being  on  it  a  thick  lining  of  sand, 
and  a  deep  bed  of  "  London  blue  clay,"  on  boring  which,  into  the  chalk  formation,  the 
water  rises  to  various  heights :  hence  it  was  thought  that  an  abundant  and  unfailing 
supply  might  be  obtained.  The  first  boring  was  made  at  Tottenham,  Middlesex.  To 
test  the  practicability  of  this  method  of  procuring  water  in  sufficient  quantity  for  the 
use  of  the  metropolis,  the  New  River  Company  sank  a  vast  well  at  the  foot  of  their 
reservoir  in  the  Hampstead-road  :  the  excavation  was  steined  with  brick,  12ft.  6  in.  in 
diameter,  and  then  reduced  and  continued  with  iron  cylinders  (like  those  of  a  tele- 
scope), to  240  feet.  The  expense  was  12,412Z.  The  operations,  which  occupied  three 
years,  were  detailed  by  Mr.  Mylne,  engineer  of  the  company,  to  the  Institution  of 
Civil  Engineers,  1839. 

It  is  remarkable  that  chalk  should  have  been  reached  at  so  small  a  depth  as  in  the 
Hampstead-road.  Water  was  found  at  170  feet,  but  so  mixed  with  sand  as  not  to  be 
easily  separable,  which  is  the  chief  difficulty  in  forming  wells  in  the  London  clay ; 
hence  the  workmen  passed  through  the  quicksand  with  the  cylinders  at  an  expense  of 
40002".,  independent  of  the  80002".  which  the  well  cost,  hoping  to  obtain  water  in  the 
chalk  below ;  but  this  was  found  too  inconsiderable  for  the  purpose. 

Artesian  Wells  are  mostly  formed  by  boring  and  driving  pipes,  varying  from  6  to 
10  inches  or  more  in  diameter ;  but  many  of  these  only  enter  the  sand  immediately 
below  the  clay,  instead  of  obtaining  the  supply  of  water  from  the  chalk.  Thus,  an 
Artesian  Well  sunk  in  Covent  Garden,  for  more  than  fourteen  years  failed  to  supply 
the  ordinary  wants  of  the  market ;  but  having  been  deepened  and  carried  ninety  feet 
into  the  chalk,  it  yielded  an  abundant  supply,  and  is  constantly  worked,  without  mate- 
rially reducing  the  level  of  the  water,  or  lowering  it  in  neighbouring  wells,  as  in  cases 
where  the  chalk  is  not  reached.  It  has  been  long  known  that  the  well  in  the  Thames- 
street  Brewery,  late  Calvert's,  240  feet,  and  Barclay's  well,  367  feet,  at  the  Southwark 
Brewery,  affect  each  other  so  much — even  though  the  Thames  lies  between  them — that 
the  two  firms  agreed  not  to  pump  at  the  same  time. 

The  following  are  the  depths  of  a  few  of  the  Wells  bored  in  London :  Berkeley-square,  320  feet;  Meux 
and  Co.'s  Brewery,  435  feet ;  Norwood,  Middlesex,  414  feet,  unsuccessful  at  this  depth ;  West  India 
Export  Dock,  360  feet;  Zoological  Gardens,  Regent's-park,  227  feet,  cost  19572.;  Barclay  and  Pcrkius" 
Brewery,  367  feet ;  Combe  and  Delafield's  Brewery,  522  feet ;  North  Western  Railway  Station,  400  feet ; 
Nicholson's  Distillery,  160  feet ;  Truman,  Hanbury,  and  Co.'s  Brewery,  390  feet,  cost  44442. ;  Reid  and 
Co.'s  Brewery,  shaft  sunk  the  whole  depth,  259  feet,  Dost  77002.;  Blackwall  Railway,  depth  not _given, 
cost  80002.;  Pentonville  Prison,  370  feet,  cost  16002. ;  St.  Mary  Woolnoth,  Lombard-street,  252  feet,  cost 
200'. ;  Whitbread  and  Co.'s  Brewery,  160  feet ;  Combe  and  Co.'s  Brewery,  190  feet ;  Covent-garden 
Market,  340  feet;  Piccadilly  (St.  James's  Church),  240  feet ;  Elliott's  Brewery,  390  feet;  Royal  Mint, 
Tower-hill,  400  feet.  At  Kentish  Town,  in  1856,  an  Artesian  Well  was  abandoned  when  the  borings  had 
reached  1302  feet,  no  water  having  been  met  with,  though  a  copious  supply  had  been  predicted  from  the 
lower  greensands  naturally  expected  to  occur  immediately  below  the  gault;  but  the  gault  was  found  to 
be  succeeded  by  176  feet  of  a  series  of  red  clays,  with  intercalated  sandstones  and  grits — a  fact  which  set 
geologists  pondering.  The  two  Wells  for  the  Government  Water-works,  Trafalgar-square,  by  C.  E. 
Amos,  C.E.,  were  sunk  in  1844,  300  feet  and  400  feet  deep;  cost  nearly  80002. ;  these  works  will  be 
further  described.  At  Kensington  there  has  been  sunk  and  bored,  for  the  supply  of  the  Horticultural 
Gardens,  a  well  401  feet  deep,  and  5  feet  clear  in  diameter,  the  bore-hole  being  201  feet  deep  from  the 
bottom  of  the  well ;  water  rises  73  feet  in  the  shaft,  the  pumps  lifting  144,000  gallons  daily,  of  excellent 
chalk  spring-water. 

The  question  of  supply  from  these  wells  is  beset  with  so  marry  difficulties,  the  altera- 
tions in  the  London  strata  being  so  great,  that  no  one  experienced  in  wells  will  venture 
to  infer  from  one  place  what  will  occur  in  another. 

Dr.  Buckland,  the  eminent  geologist,  one  of  the  first  to  show  the  fallacy,  states  that 
although  there  are  from  250  to  300  so-called  Artesian  Wells  in  the  metropolis,  there  is 
not  one  real  Artesian  Well  within  three  miles  of  St.  Paul's  :  such  being  a  well  that  is 

*  The  term  Artesian  has  been  applied  from  the  supposed  fact  of  these  wells  having  been  originally 
constructed  in  the  county  of  Artois  (the  ancient  Artesium),  in  the  north  of  France.  They  were,  how- 
ever, rather  found  than  originated  in  Artois,  for  they  had  long  existed  in  Italy  and  a  few  other  parts  of 
Europe,  and  appear  to  have  been  common  generally  in  the  East  at  a  very  early  period. 


24  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

always  overflowing,  either  from  its  natural  source  or  from  an  artificial  tube :  and  when 
the  overflowing  ceases,  it  is  no  longer  an  Artesian  Well.  The  wells  which  are  now 
made  by  boring  through  the  London  clay  are  merely  common  wells.  It  has  been  said 
that  a  supply  of  water,  if  bored  for,  will  rise  of  its  own  accord ;  but  the  water  obtained 
for  the  fountains  in  Trafalgar-square  does  not  rise  within  forty  feet  of  the  surface,  and 
is  pumped  up  by  means  of  a  steam-engine — the  same  water  over  and  over  again.  Dr. 
Buckland  maintains  that  the  supply  of  water  formerly  obtained  from  the  so-called 
Artesian  Wells  in  London  has  been  greatly  diminished  by  the  sinking  of  new  wells ;  of 
the  more  than  250  wells,  one-half  have  broken  down,  and  others  are  only  kept  in 
action  at  an  enormous  expense.  The  average  depth  at  which  water  can  be  obtained 
from  these  defective  wells  is  60  feet  below  the  Trinity  House  water-mark.  In  1856,  it 
was  stated  that  the  level  of  the  London  wells,  since  1822,  had  sunk  fifty  feet ;  and  falls 
at  the  rate  of  18  or  24  inches  in  a  year.  The  rapid  increase  in  the  number  of  these 
wells,  of  late  years,  has  been  attended  with  so  constant  a  reduction  of  the  quantity  of 
water  they  respectively  furnish,  that  it  is  now  generally  considered  that  any  additional 
supply  for  public  purposes  cannot  be  expected  from  this  source,  as  it  seems  already 
overtaxed  by  private  work. 

Mr.  Prestwicb,  jun.,  F.G.S.,  in  his  Geological  Inquiry,  considers  "  it  would  be  diffi- 
cult to  account  for  the  generally  unfavourable  opinion  entertained  regarding  Artesian 
Wells  as  a  means  of  public  supply,  were  it  not  that  the  annually  decreasing  yield  of 
water  from  the  tertiary  sands  and  the  chalk  beneath  London  has  produced  an  im- 
pression of  uncertainty  as  to  all  such  sources  of  supply ;  which,  with  the  constantly 
increasing  expense  caused  by  the  depth  from  which  the  water  has  to  be  pumped,  and 
the  proportion  of  saline  ingredients  being  so  much  greater  in  them  than  in  the  river 
waters,  have  been  taken  as  sufficient  grounds  of  objection.  But  it  is  to  be  observed,  in 
explanation  of  the  diminished  supply  from  the  present  source,  that  the  tertiary  sands 
are  of  very  limited  dimensions ;  that  the  chalk  is  not  a  freely  permeable  deposit ;  and 
that  the  peculiarities  of  the  saline  ingredients  depend  upon  the  chemical  composition  of 
these  formations.  All  these  causes,  however,  are  local,  and  can  by  no  means  be  con- 
sidered as  grounds  of  objection  against  the  system  of  Artesian  Wells  generally."  Mr. 
Prestwich  suggests  a  fresh  system  of  Artesian  Wells,  especially  as  none  have  as  yet 
been  carried  through  the  chalk  ;  though  it  is  shown  that  the  conditions  in  this  country 
are  more  favourable  than  in  France. 

ARTILLERY  COMPANY. 

THIS  ancient  body  of  Civic  Volunteers,  the  oldest  armed  force  in  the  kingdom, 
originated  in  the  Guild  of  St.  George,  in  the  reign  of  Edward  I.  They  were  also 
known  as  the  Archers  of  Finsbury,  and  were  incorporated  by  Henry  VIII.,  whose 
signature  is  on  the  great  book  of  the  Company.  We  next  trace  it  as  the  old  City 
Trained  Band,  raised,  or  rather  augmented  in  1585,  at  the  period  of  the  menaced 
Popish  invasion.  Within  two  years  there  were  enrolled  nearly  300  merchants  and 
others,  "  very  sufficient  and  skilful  to  train  and  teach  common  soldiers  the  management 
of  their  pieces,  pikes,  and  halberds;  to  march,  countermarch,  and  ring.  Some  of 
them,  in  the  dangerous  year  of  1588,  had  charge  of  men  in  the  great  camp  at  Tilbury, 
and  were  generally  called  Captains  of  the  Artillery  Garden,  the  place  where  they 
exercised"  (Stow,  by  Howell)  in  "  the  Old  Artillery  Ground,"  demised  to  them  out  of 
the  ancient  manor  of  Finsbury,  or  Fensbury,  originally  a  field  called  Tassel  (or  Teasel, 
from  teasels  being  gro\vn  here  for  cloth- workers)  Close ;  then  let  for  archery  practice ; 
and  next  enclosed  with  a  wall  for  the  Gunners  of  the  Tower  to  exercise  in.  After 
1588,  the  City  Artillery  neglected  their  discipline;  but  in  1610  they  formed  anew,  and 
in  a  few  years  numbered  nearly  6000.  In  1622,  they  removed  to  a  larger  ground  with- 
out Moorgate,  the  present  Artillery  ground,  west  of  Finsbury-square. 

In  the  Civil  War,  the  Company  marched  with  Essex  to  raise  the  siege  of  Gloucester, 
which  was  the  distinguishing  crisis  of  the  contest ;  and  in  the  second  battle  of  Newbury 
their  steady  valour  repulsed  the  fiercest  charges  of  Rupert's  cavalry,  and  proved  the 
main  safeguard  of  the  Parliamentary  Army.  The  reluctant  testimony  of  Clarendon  to 
these  "  Londoners"  is  very  remarkable  : — 


ARTILLERY  COMPANY.  25 

"  The  London  Trained  Bands  and  Auxiliary  Regiments  (of  whose  inexperience  of  danger,  or  anv  kind 
of  service,  by  the  easy  practice  of  their  postures  in  the  Artillery  Garden,  men  held  till  then,  too  "cheap 
in  estimation)  behaved  themselves  to  wonder,  and  were  in  truth  the  preservation  of  that  army  that  day, 
for  they  stood  as  a  bulwark  and  rampire  to  defend  the  rest ;  and  when  their  wings  of  horse  were 
scattered  and  dispersed,  kept  their  ground  so  steadily,  that  though  Prince  Rupert  himself  led  up  the 
choice  horse  to  charge  them,  and  endured  their  storm  of  small  shot,  he  could  make  no  impression  upon 
their  stand  of  pikes,  but  was  forced  to  wheel  about ;  of  so  sovereign  benefit  and  use  is  that  readiness, 
order,  and  dexterity  in  the  use  of  their  arms,  which  hath  been  so  much  neglected." — Hist.  Bebellion, 
edit.  1826,  iv.  236. 

Howell,  in  bis  Londonopolis,  1657,  tells  us  that  London  had  then  "  12,000  Trained 
Band  Citizens  perpetually  in  readiness,  excellently  armed ;"  and  in  the  unlucky  wars 
with  the  Long  Parliament,  the  London  firelocks  did  the  King  most  mischief. 
Cromwell  knew  the  value  of  this  force,  and  for  some  years  its  strength  was  18,000  foot 
and  600  horse.  They  were,  however,  disbanded  at  the  Restoration,  but  continued  their 
evolutions,  the  King  and  the  Duke  of  York  becoming  members,  and  dining  in  public 
with  the  new  Company.  When  Queen  Anne  went  to  St.  Paul's,  the  City  Train  Bands 
lined  the  streets  from  Temple  Bar  to  the  Cathedral.  The  last  time  they  were  in  active 
service  was  at  the  riots  of  1780,  when  they  aided  in  saving  the  Bank  of  England  from 
the  pillage  of  the  rioters. 

The  Artillery  Company  have  always  been  the  only  military  body  in  the  kingdom 
which  bears  arms  under  the  direct  authority  of  the  reigning  Sovereign,  and  which  is 
wholly  free  from  the  control  of  Parliament.  From  time  immemorial  the  post  of 
Captain-General  and  Colonel,  which  is  the  ancient  title  of  the  officer  in  supreme  com- 
mand of  the  corps,  has  been  held,  sometimes  by  the  reigning  Sovereign,  by  a  Prince 
Consort,  and  by  a  Prince  of  Wales  or  heir-apparent  of  the  throne.  Its  roll  of  Captains- 
General  and  Colonels  includes  the  names  of  Charles  I.,  James  II.,  the  Prince  of  Orange, 
Prince  George  of  Denmark,  George  I.  (who  gave  the  Company  500Z.),  George  II., 
George  IV.,  William  IV.,  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  and  Albert,  Prince  Consort,  who  was 
succeeded  by  the  Prince  of  Wales  :  on  its  muster-roll  are  the  names  of  Prince  Rupert, 
the  Duke  of  Buckingham,  General  Monk,  and  the  Duke  of  Monmouth. 

Upon  royal  visits  to  the  City,  the  Artillery  Company  attend  as  a  guard  of  honour  to 
the  Sovereign.  In  cases  of  apprehended  civil  disturbance  the  Company  muster  at  their 
head-quarters,  the  Artillery  Ground,  Finsbury,  granted  to  them  in  trust,  in  1641,  at  the 
rent  of  6s.  8d.  per  annum.  This  ground,  with  the  houses  adjoining,  realizes  to  the 
Company  a  yearly  income  of  2000Z.,  which  is  expended  for  the  benefit  of  the  members, 
and  in  payment  of  managerial  officers.  Strype  describes  the  ground  as  "  the  third 
great  field  from  Moorgate,  next  the  Six  Windmills."  Here  is  the  spacious  Armoury 
House,  finished  in  1735 ;  the  collection  of  arms,  &c,  includes  some  fine  pieces  of 
ordnance,  among  which  is  a  pair  of  handsome  brass  field-pieces,  presented  by  Sir 
M'illiam  Curtis,  Bart.,  President ;  besides  portions  of  the  ancient  uniforms  and  arms  of 
the  corps,  as  caps  and  helmets,  pikes  and  banners.  A  new  set  of  colours  was  formally 
presented  to  the  regiment,  in  1864,  by  the  Princess  of  Wales. 

The  corps  comprises  six  companies  of  Infantry,  besides  Artillery,  Grenadiers, 
Light  Infantry,  and  Yagers.  They  exercise  on  occasional  field-days  in  the  Artillery 
Ground,  and  meet  for  rifle  practice  in  the  vicinity  of  the  metropolis,  the  prize 
being  a  large  gold  medal.  Besides  the  Armoury,  here  is  a  workshop  for  cleaning 
guns,  a  long  shooting  gallery,  &c.  Each  member,  for  a  subscription,  has  the  use  of 
arms  and  accoutrements  from  the  Company's  stores,  but  finds  his  uniform  according 
to  regulations. 

The  musters  and  marchings  of  the  City  Trained  Band  have  not  escaped  the  whipping 
of  dramatists  and  humorists.  Fletcher  ridicules  them  in  the  Knight  of  the  Burning 
Pestle ;  as  does  Steele  in  the  Tatler,  more  especially  in  No.  41,  with  the  Company's 
way  of  giving  out  orders  for  "  an  exercise  of  arms,"  when  the  greatest  achievements 
were  happily  performed  near  Grub-street,  where  a  faithful  historian,  being  eye-witness 
of  these  wonders,  should  transmit  them  to  posterity,  &c.  The  Company  were  then 
(1709)  mercilessly  quizzed,  and  we  may  judge  of  the  reason  from  Hatton's  observation, 
in  1708 : — "  They  do  by  prescription  inarch  over  all  the  ground  from  the  Artillery 
Ground  to  Islington,  and  Sir  George  Whitmore's  at  Hoxton,  breaking  down  gates,  Sfc, 
that  obstructed  them  in  such  marches."  Hatton  tells  of  their  former  splendid  public 
feasts,  when  four  of  the  nobility  and  as  many  citizens  were  stewards,  and  to  which  the 


26  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

principal  nobility  and  foreign  ministers  were  invited.     The  Company's  armorial  ensigns 
are  very  characteristic : — 

The  Shield  and  Cross  of  St.  George,  charged  with  a  lion  of  England ;  on  a  chief  azure,  a  portcullis 
furnished  or  ;  between  two  ostrich  feathers,  argent.  Crest,  a  dextcr-arm  armed,  holding  a  leading  stall", 
or,  fringed  gules.  Supporters,  two  military  men  equipped  according  to  the  laws  of  the  Militia,  the 
dexter  with  a  pike,  the  sinister  with  a  musket  proper.    Motto — Arma  Pacis  Fulcra. 

The  Barracks  in  Artillery-place,  designed  by  Jennings,  in  the  style  of  the  early 
castellated  mansion,  and  erected  of  stone  in  1857,  are  the  head-quarters  of  the  London 
Militia. 

BALLOON  ASCENTS. 

THE  following  are  the  more  memorable  Balloon  Ascents  made  from  the  metropolis 
since  the  introduction  of  aerostation  into  England.  In  most  cases  the  aeronauts 
were  accompanied  by  friends,  or  persons  who  paid  for  the  trip  various  sums. 

Nov.  25, 1783,  the  first  Balloon  (filled  with  hydrogen)  launched  in  England,  from 
the  Artillery  Ground,  Finsbury,  by  Count  Zambeccari.  The  Balloon  was  found  48 
miles  from  London,  near  Petworth. 

Sept.  15,  1784,  Lunardi  ascended  from  the  Artillery  Ground,  Moorfields ;  being  the 
first  voyage  made  in  England ;  he  was  accompanied  by  a  cat,  a  dog,  and  a  pigeon. 

March  23,  1785,  Admiral  Sir  Edward  Vernon,  accompanied  by  Count  Zambeccari. 

June  29,  1785,  ascent  of  Mrs.  Sage,  the  first  Englishwoman  aeronaut. 

July  5,  1802,  M.  Garnerin  made  his  second  ascent  in  England,  from  Lord's  Cricket 
Ground.  The  same  year  he  ascended  three  times  from  Ranelagh  Gardens;  and 
descended  successfully  from  a  Balloon  by  a  Parachute,  near  the  Small-pox  Hospital,  St. 
Pancras. 

1811,  James  Sadler,  ascended  from  Hackney ;  his  two  sons,  John  and  Windham,  were 
also  aeronauts ;  the  latter  killed,  Sept.  29,  1824,  by  falling  from  a  Balloon. 

July  19,  1821,  Mr.  Charles  Green  first  ascended  in  a  Balloon  inflated  with  coal  gas, 
substituted  for  hydrogen,  on  the  coronation  day  of  George  IV.  Cost  of  inflation,  from 
251.  to  5(M. :  this  was  Mr.  Green's  first  aerial  voyage.  Up  to  May,  1850,  he  had  made 
142  ascents  from  London  only.      Ten  persons  named  Green  have  ascended  in  Balloons.* 

Sept.  11, 1823,  Mr.  Graham  ascended  from  White  Conduit  House. 

May  25,  1824,  Lieutenant  Harris,  R.N.,  ascended  from  the  Eagle  Tavern,  City 
Koad,  with  Miss  Stocks ;  the  former  killed  by  the  too  rapid  descent  of  the  Balloon. 

July,  1833,  Mr.  Graham  ascended  from  Hungerford  Market;  day  of  opening.  One 
of  Mr.  Graham's  companions,  on  this  occasion,  shortly  after  made  a  second  ascent, 
which  caused  a  derangement  of  intellect,  from  which  he  never  entirely  recovered. 

Sept.  17,  1835,  Mr.  Green  ascended  from  Vauxhall  Gardens,  and  remained  up  during 
the  whole  of  the  night. 

August  22,  1836,  the  Duke  of  Brunswick  ascended. 

Sept.  9,  1836,  Mr.  Green's  first  ascent  in  his  great  Vauxhall  Balloon. 

Nov.  7,  1836,  Mr.  Green,  Mr.  Monck  Mason,  and  Mr.  Holland  ascended  in  the  great 
Vauxhall  Balloon,  and  descended,  in  eighteen  hours,  at  Weilburg,  in  Nassau.  Of  this 
ascent,  Mr.  Mason  published  a  detailed  account. 

July  24,  1837,  Mr.  Green  ascended  from  Vauxhall  Gardens,  in  his  great  Balloon, 
with  Mr.  Cocking  in  a  parachute,  in  which  the  latter  was  killed  in  descending. 

May  24, 1838,  unsuccessful  attempt  to  ascend  with  a  large  Montgolfier  Balloon  from 
the  Surrey  Zoological  Gardens.  The  Balloon  was  destroyed  by  the  spectators  ;  it  was 
the  height  of  the  York  Column,  and  half  the  circumference  of  the  dome  of  St.  Paul's, 
and  would  contain,  when  fully  inflated,  170,000  cubic  feet  of  air. 

Sept.  10,  1838,  Mr.  Green  and  Mr.  Rush  ascended  from  Vauxhall  Gardens  in  the 
Nassau  Balloon,  and  descended  at  Lewes,  Sussex  ;  having  reached  the  then  greatest 
altitude  ever  attained — 27,146  feet,  or  5  miles  746  feet. 

July  17,  1840,  the  Vauxhall,  or  great  Nassau  Balloon,  sold  to  Mr.  Green  for  500Z. ; 
in  1836  it  cost  2100Z. 

August  19, 1844,  perilous  night  ascent  with  Mr.  Gypson's  Balloon  from  Vauxhall 

*  Mr.  Green  has  made,  altogether,  a  larger  number  of  ascents  than  any  other  aeronaut ;  they  exceed 
600.    Of  this  veteran  a  fine  portrait  (private  plate)  has  been  engraved. 


BANK  OF  ENGLAND. 


Gardens,  with  fireworks.  Mr.  Albert  Smith  and  Mr.  Coxwell  accompanied  the  aero- 
naut. At  7000  feet  high  the  Balloon  burst,  but,  by  Mr.  Coxwell  cutting  some  lines, 
the  Balloon  assumed  a  parachute  form,  and  descended  safely. 

Aug.  7,  1850,  Mrs.  Graham's  Balloon  destroyed  by  fire,  after  her  descent,  near 
Edmonton. 

Sept.  7,  1854,  ascent  of  Mr.  Coxwell's  War  Balloon,  from  the  Surrey  Zoological 
Gardens,  with  telegraphic  signals. 

June  15,  1857,  night  voyage  from  Woolwich  to  Tavistock,  250  miles,  made  by  Mr. 
Coxwell,  in  five  hours. 

July  17,  1862,  Mr.  Glaisher  and  Mr.  Coxwell  first  ascended  in  a  large  Balloon  made 
by  the  latter  for  the  experiments  of  the  British  Association :  ascent  from  Wolver- 
hampton ;  elevation  attained,  26,177  feet  above  the  sea-level. 

Sept.  5,  1862,  the  highest  and  most  memorable  ascent  on  record.  Mr.  Glaisher  and 
Mr.  Coxwell  attained  an  elevation  of  37,000  feet,  or  7  miles.  Mr.  Glaisher  became 
insensible;  and  Mr.  Coxwell,  his  hands  being  frozen,  had  to  pull  the  valve-cord  with 
his  mouth,  and  thus  escaped  death. 

Jan.  12,  1864,  Mr.  Glaisher's  seventeenth  scientific  ascent  in  Mr.  Coxwell's  large 
Balloon ;  the  only  ascent  made  in  England  during  the  month  of  January. 

Aug.  3, 1864,  M.  Godard  ascended  from  Cremorne  Gardens,  in  his  huge  Montgolfier 
Balloon,  and  made  a  perilous  descent  at  Waltbamstow. 

Mr.  Glaisher,  by  his  scientific  ascents,  has  proved  that  the  Balloon  'does  aflbrd  a 
means  of  solving  with  advantage  many  delicate  questions  in  physics ;  and  the  Com- 
mittee of  the  British  Association  report  that  Science  and  the  Association  owe  a  debt  of 
gratitude  to  Mr.  Glaisher  for  the  ability,  perseverance,  and  courage  with  which  he  has 
voluntarily  undertaken  the  hazardous  labour  of  recording  meteorological  phenomena 
in  the  several  ascents.  The  following  survey  of  Loudon,  Oct.  9,  1863,  sixteenth  ascent, 
as  the  Balloon  passed  over  London  Bridge,  at  the  height  of  7000  feet,  in  an  unusually 
clear  atmosphere,  is  picturesquely  descriptive. 

"  The  scene  around,"  says  Mr.  Glaisher,  "  was  probably  one  that  cannot  be  equalled  in  the  world  at 
one  glance — the  homes  of  3,000,000  of  people  were  seen,  and  so  distinctly  that  every  large  building  at 
every  part  was  easily  distinguished ;  while  those  almost  under  us — viz.,  the  Bank  and  Newgate,  the 
Docks  and  surrounding  buildings,  &c,  in  such  detail  that  their  inner  courts  were  visible,  and  their 
ground-plans  could  have  been  drawn.  Cannon-street  was  easily  traced;  but  it  was  difficult  to  believe 
at  first  sight  that  small  building  to  be  St.  Paul's.  Looking  onward,  Oxford-street  was  visible;  the 
Parks,  the  Houses  of  Parliament,  and  Millbank  Prison,  with  its  radiating  lines  from  the  centre,  at  oncfe 
attracted  notice.  In  fact,  the  whole  of  London  was  visible,  and  some  parts  of  it  very  clearly.  Then  all 
around  there  were  lines  of  detached  villas,  imbedded  as  it  were  in  shrubs ;  and  beyond,  the  country,  like 
a  garden,  with  its  fields  well  marked,  but  becoming  smaller  and  smaller  as  the  eye  wandered  further 
away. 

"Again  looking  down,  there  was  the  Thames,  without  the  slightest  mist,  winding  throughout  its 
whole  length,  with  innumerable  ships,  apparently  very  long  and  narrow,  and  steamboats  like  moving 
toys.  Gravescnd  was  visible,  as  were  the  mouth  of  the  Thames  and  the  coast  leading  on  to  Norfolk. 
The  southern  boundary  of  the  mouth  of  the  Thames  was  not  quite  so  clear,  but  the  sea  beyond  was 
discernible  for  many  miles;  and  when  higher  up  I  looked  for  the  coast  of  France,  but  I  could  not  see  it. 
On  withdrawing  the  eye  it  was  arrested  by  the  garden-like  appearance  of  the  county  of  Kent,  till  again 
London  claimed  attention.  Smoke,  thin  and  blue,  was  curling  above  it  and  slowly  moving  away  in 
beautiful  curves,  from  all  but  south  of  the  Thames ;  here  the  smoke  was  less  blue  and  became  apparently 
more  dense,  till  the  cause  was  evident,  it  being  mixed  with  mist  rising  from  the  ground,  the  southern 
limits  of  which  were  bounded  by  an  even  line,  doubtless  indicating  the  meeting  of  the  subsoils  of  gravel 
and  clay. 

"  The  whole  scene  was  surmounted  by  a  canopy  of  blue,  the  sky  being  quite  clear  and  free  from  cloud 
everywhere  except  near  the  horizon,  where  a  circular  band  of  cumuli  and  strata  clouds,  extending  all 
round,  formed  a  fitting  boundary  for  such  a  scene.  The  sun  was  seen  setting,  but  was  not  itself  visible, 
except  a  small  part  seen  through  a  break  in  a  dark  stratus  cloud — like  an  eye  overseeing  all.  Sunset,  as 
seen  from  the  earth,  is  described  as  fine,  the  air  being  clear  and  shadows  sharply  defined.  As  we  rose 
the  golden  hues  decreased  in  intensity  and  richness  both  right  and  left  of  the  place  of  the  sun ;  but  their 
effects  extended  to  fully  one-fourth  part  of  the  circle,  where  rose-coloured  clouds  limited  the  scene. 
The  remainder  of  the  circle  was  completed  partly  by  pure  white  cumulus  of  very  rounded  and  symme- 
trical forms.  1  have  seen  London  from  above  by  night,  and  I  have  seen  it  by  day  when  four  miles  high, 
but  nothing  could  exceed  the  view  on  this  occasion  at  the  height  of  one  mile,  varying  to  one  mile  and 
three-quarters,  with  a  clear  atmosphere.  The  roar  of  London  even  at  the  greatest  height,  was  one 
unceasing  rich  and  deep  sound,  and  added  impressive  interest  to  the  general  circumstances  in  which  we 
were  placed." 

BANK  OF  ENGLAND,  TKE, 

S  an  insulated  assemblage  of  buildings  and  courts,  occupying  three  acres,  minus  nine  or 
ten  yards,  north  of  the  Royal  Exchange,  Cornhill ;  bounded  by  Prince's-street,  west ; 


I 


28  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Lotbbury,  north ;  Bartholomew-lane,  east  ;  and  Threadneedle-street,  south.  Its  exterior 
measurements  are  365  feet  south,  410  feet  north,  245  feet  east,  and  440  feet  west. 
Within  this  area  are  nine  open  courts;  a  spacious  rotunda,  numerous  public  offices, 
court  and  committee-rooms,  an  armoury,  engraving  and  printing-offices,  a  library,  and 
apartments  for  officers,  servants,  &c. 

The  Bank,  "  the  greatest  monetary  establishment  in  the  world,"  was  projected  in 
1691,  by  Mr.  William  Paterson,  a  Scotsman ;  was  established  by  a  company  of  Whig 
merchants,  and  incorporated  by  William  III.,  July  27,  1694,  Paterson  being  placed  on 
the  list  of  Directors  for  this  year  only  ;  the  then  capital,  1,200,OOOZ.,  being  lent  to 
Government.     The  first  chest  used  was  somewhat  larger  than  a  seaman's. 

The  first  Governor  was  Sir  John  Houblon,  whose  house  and  garden  were  on  part  of 
the  site  of  the  present  Bank  ;  and  the  first  Deputy-Governor  was  Michael  Godfrey, 
who,  July  17,  1695,  was  shot  at  the  siege  of  Namur,  while  attending  King  William 
with  a  communication  relating  to  the  Bank  affairs. 

The  Bank  commenced  business  at  Mercers'  Hall,  and  next  removed  to  Grocers'  Hall, 
then  in  the  Poultry ;  at  this  time  the  secretaries  and  clerks  numbered  but  54,  and 
their  united  salaries  amounted  to  4350/.  In  1734  they  removed  to  the  premises 
built  for  the  Bank,  the  earliest  portion  of  which  part  is  still  remaining — the  back  of 
the  Threadneedle-street  front,  towards  the  court — was  designed  by  an  architect  named 
Sampson.  To  this  building  Sir  Robert  Taylor*  added  two  wings  of  columns,  with 
projections  surmounted  by  pediments,  and  other  parts.  On  Jan.  1,  1785,  was  set 
up  the  marble  statue  of  William  III.,  amid  the  firing  of  three  volleys,  by  the 
servants  of  the  establishment,  Cheere,  sculptor,  in  the  Pay  Hall,  79  feet  by  40  feet, 
which,  in  the  words  of  Baron  Dupin,  would  "  startle  the  administration  of  a  French 
bureau,  with  all  its  inaccessibilities." 

In  1757,  the  Bank  premises  were  small,  and  surrounded  by  St.  Christopher-le-Stocks 
Church  (since  pulled  down),  three  taverns,  and  several  private  houses.  Between  1766 
and  1786  east  and  west  wings  were  added  by  Taylor  :  some  of  his  work  is  to  be  seen  in 
the  architecture  of  the  garden  court.  Upon  Sir  Robert  Taylor's  death,  in  1788,  Mr. 
John  Soane  was  appointed  Architect  to  the  Bank ;  and,  without  any  interruption  to 
the  business,  he  completed  the  present  Bank  of  brick  and  Portland  stone,  of  incom- 
bustible materials,  insulated,  one-storied,  and  without  external  windows.  The  general 
architecture  is  Corintbian,  from  the  Temple  of  the  Sibyi  at  Tivoli,  of  which  the  south- 
west angle  exhibits  a  fac-simile  portion.  The  Lotbbury  court  is  fine ;  and  the  chief 
Cashier's  office  is  from  the  Temple  of  the  Sun  and  Moon  at  Rome.  The  embellish- 
ments throughout  are  very  beautiful ;  and  the  whole  well  planned  for  business — high 
architectural  merit.  The  Rotunda  has  a  dome  57  feet  diameter  ;  and  the  Bank  Parlour, 
where  the  Governor  and  Company  meet,  is  a  noble  room  by  Taylor.  Here  the  Divi- 
dends are  declared ;  and  here  the  Directors  are  baited  half-yearly  by  every  Proprietor 
who  has  had  500Z.  Bank-stock  in  his  possession  for  six  months.  In  the  Parlour  lobby 
is  a  portrait  of  Daniel  Race,  who  was  in  the  Bank  service  for  more  than  half  a  century, 
and  thus  amassed  upwards  of  200,000Z.  In  the  ante-chamber  to  the  Governor's  room 
are  fine  busts  of  Pitt  and  Fox,  by  Nollekens.  The  ante-room  to  the  Discount  Office  is 
adapted  from  Adrian's  Villa  at  Tivoli.  The  private  Drawing  Office,  designed  in  1836, 
by  Cockerell  (Soane's  successor),  is  original  awd  scenic ;  and  the  Drawing  Office,  com- 
pleted by  the  same  architect  in  1849,  is  138  feet  6  inches  long,  and  lit  by  four  large 
circular  lanterns.  In  1850,  the  Cornhill  front  was  heightened  by  an  attic ;  and  a  large 
room  fitted  up  as  a  Library  for  the  clerks. 

The  entrance  to  the  Bullion  Yard  is  copied  from  Coustantine's  Arch  at  Rome,  and 
has  allegories  of  the  Thames  and  Ganges,  by  T.  Banks,  R.A.  The  Bullion  Office,  ou 
the  northern  side  of  the  Bank,  consists  of  a  public  chamber  and  two  vaults — one  for 
the  public  deposit  of  bullion,  free  of  charge,  unless  weighed;  the  other  for  the  private 
stock  of  the  Bank.  The  duties  are  discharged  by  a  Principal,  Deputy-Principal,  Clerk, 
Assistant-Clerk,  and  porters.  The  public  are  on  no  account  allowed  to  enter  the 
Bullion  Vaults.    Here  the  gold  is  kept  in  bars  (each  weighing  16  lbs.  and  worth  about 

*  The  late  Professor  Cockerell,  in  his  earlier  lectures,  used  to  exhibit,  as  a  specimen  of  clever  arrange- 
ment, a  plan  of  the  triangular  block  of  buildings,  by  Sir  Kobert  Taylor,  that  formerly  stood  between  the 
Bank  and  the  Mansion  House,  where  the  Wellington  Statue  is  now. 


BANK  OF  ENGLAND.  29 

8007.),  and  the  silver  in  pigs  and  bars,  and  dollars  in  bags.  The  value  of  the  Bank 
bullion  in  May,  1850,  was  sixteen  millions.  This  constitutes,  with  their  securities,  the 
assets  which  the  Bank  possess  against  their  liabilities,  on  account  of  circulation  and 
deposits :  and  the  difference  between  the  several  amounts  is  called  "  the  Rest,"  or 
balance  in  favour  of  the  Bank.  For  weighing,  admirably-constructed  machines  are 
used :  the  larger  one,  invented  by  Mr.  Bate,  for  weighing  silver  in  bars  from  50  lbs.  to 
80  lbs.  troy ;  second,  a  balance,  by  Sir  John  Barton,  for  gold ;  and  a  third,  by  Mr. 
Bate,  for  dollars,  to  amounts  not  exceeding  72  lbs.  2  oz.  troy.  Gold  is  almost  ex- 
clusively obtained  by  the  Bank  in  the  bar  form ;  although  no  form  of  deposit  would  be 
refused.     A  bar  of  gold  is  a  small  slab,  weighing  16  lbs.,  and  worth  about  8007. 

In  the  Weighing  Office,  established  in  1842,  to  detect  light  gold,  is  the  ingenious 
machine  invented  by  Mr.  William  Cotton,  then  Deputy-Governor  of  the  Bank.  About 
80  or  100  light  and  heavy  sovereigns  are  placed  indiscriminately  in  a  round  tube  ;  as 
they  descend  on  the  machinery  beneath,  those  which  are  light  receive  a  slight  touch, 
which  moves  them  into  their  proper  receptacle ;  and  those  which  are  of  legitimate 
weight  pass  into  their  appointed  place.  The  light  coins  are  then  defaced  by  a 
machine,  200  in  a  minute ;  and  by  the  weighing-machinery  35,000  may  be  weighed  in 
one  day.  There  are  six  of  these  machines,  which  from  1844  to  1849  weighed  upwards 
of  48,000,000  pieces  without  any  inaccuracy.  The  average  amount  of  gold  tendered 
in  one  year  is  nine  millions,  of  which  more  than  a  quarter  is  light.  The  silver  is 
put  up  into  bags,  each  of  one  hundred  pounds  value,  and  the  gold  into  bags  of  a 
thousand ;  and  then  these  bagfuls  of  bullion  are  sent  through  a  strongly-guarded 
door,  or  rather  window,  into  the  Treasury,  a  dark  gloomy  apartment,  fitted  up  with 
iron  presses,  and  made  secure  with  huge  locks  and  bolts. 

The  Bank-note  machinery,  invented  by  the  Oldhams,  father  and  son,  exerts,  by 
the  steam-engine,  the  power  formerly  employed  by  the  mechanic  in  pulling  a  note. 
The  Bank-notes  are  numbered  on  the  dexter  and  sinister  halves,  each  bearing  the  same 
figures,  by  Bramah's  machines :  as  soon  as  a  note  is  printed,  and  the  handle  reversed 
to  take  it  out  and  put  another  in  its  place,  a  steel  spring  attached  to  the  handle  alters 
the  number  to  that  which  should  follow. 

The  Clock  in  the  roof  is  a  marvel  of  mechanism,  as  it  is  connected  with  all  the  clocks 
in  the  Stock  offices :  the  hands  of  the  several  dials  indicate  precisely  the  same  hour 
and  second,  by  means  of  connecting  brass-rods  (700  feet  long,  and  weighing  6  cwt.), 
and  200  wheels ;  the  principal  weight  being  350  lbs. 

The  Bank  has  passed  through  many  perils :  it  has  been  attacked  by  rioters,  its  notes 
have  been  at  a  heavy  discount,  it  has  been  threatened  with  impeachment,  and  its  credit 
has  been  assailed  by  treachery.  In  1696  (the  great  re-coinage)  the  Directors  were 
compelled  to  suspend  the  payment  of  their  notes.  They  then  increased  their  capital  to 
2,201,2717.     The  Charter  has  been  renewed  from  1697  to  the  present  time. 

The  earliest  panic,  or  run,  was  in  1707,  upon  the  threatened  invasion  of  the  Pre- 
tender. In  the  run  of  1745,  the  Corporation  was  saved  by  their  agents  demanding 
payment  for  notes  in  sixpences,  and  who,  paying  in  the  same,  thus  prevented  the  bond 
fide  holders  of  notes  presenting  them.  Another  memorable  run  was  on  February  26, 
1797,  upon  an  alarm  of  invasion  by  the  French,  when  the  Privy  Council  Order  and  the 
Restriction  Act  prohibited  the  Bank  from  paying  cash,  except  for  sums  under  20s. 
During  the  panic  of  1825,  from  the  evidence  of  Mr.  Harman  before  Parliament,  it 
appears  that  the  quantity  of  gold  in  the  treasury,  in  December,  was  under  1,300,0007. 
It  has  since  transpired  that  there  was  not  100,0007.,  probably  not  50,0007. !  The 
Bank  then  issued  one-pound  notes,  to  protect  its  remaining  treasure ;  which  worked 
wonders,  though  by  sheer  good  luck  :  "  because  one  box  containing  a  quantity  of  one- 
pound  notes  had  been  overlooked,  and  they  were  forthcoming  at  the  lucky  moment." 

Panics  have  been  produced  sometimes  by  extraordinary  means.  In  May,  1832,  a  "  run  upon  the  Bank 
of  England  "  was  produced  by  the  walls  of  London  being  placarded  with  the  emphatic  words,  "  To  stop 
the  Duke,  go  for  Gold ;"  advice  which  was  followed,  as  soon  as  given,  to  a  prodigious  extent.  The 
Duke  of  Wellington  was  then  very  unpopular ;  and  on  Monday,  the  14th  of  May,  it  being  currently 
believed  that  the  Duke  had  formed  a  Cabinet,  the  panic  became  universal,  and  the  run  upon  the  Bank 
of  England  for  coin  was  so  incessant,  that  in  a  few  hours  upwards  of  half  a  million  was  carried  off. 
Mr.  Doubleday,  in  his  Life  of  Sir  Robert  Peel,  states  it  to  be  well  known  that  the  above  placards  were 
"  the  device  of  four  gentlemen,  two  of  whom  were  elected  members  of  the  reformed  Parliament.  Each 
put  down  20J. :  and  the  sura  thus  clubbed  was  expended  in  printing  thousands  of  these  terrible  missives, 


30  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

which  were  eagerly  circulated,  and  were  speedily  seen  upon  every  wall  in  London.    The  effect  is  hardly 
to  be  described.    It  was  electric." 

The  Bank  is  the  banker  of  the  Government;  for  here  are  received  the  taxes, 
the  interest  of  the  National  Debt  paid,  the  Exchequer  business  transacted,  &c.  The 
amount  paid  by  the  Government  to  the  Bank  for  the  management  of  the  National 
Debt  is  at  the  rate  of  340Z.  per  million  for  the  first  600,000,000?.,  and  300Z.  per 
million  for  the  remainder.  This  amounts  to  about  250,OOOZ.  a  year.  "The  Old  Lady 
of  Threadneedle-street,"  applied  to  the  Bank,  is  a  political  sobriquet  now  almost 
forgotten. 

The  forgeries  upon  the  Bank  supply  a  melancholy  chapter  in  its  history.  The  first 
forger  of  a  note  was  a  Stafford  linendraper,  who,  in  1758,  was  convicted  and  executed. 
Through  the  forgeries  of  one  person,  Kobert  Aslett,  the  Bank  lost  320,000?. ;  and 
by  another,  Fauntleroy,  360,000Z.  In  1862,  there  were  forgeries  to  a  large  amount, 
by  paper  expressly  manufactured  for  the  Bank,  which  had  been  stolen,  for  which  four 
persons  suffered  penal  imprisonment. 

The  Committee  of  Treasury  sit  weekly,  and  is  composed  of  all  the  Directors  who 
have  passed  the  chair.  The  Accountant,  the  Secretary,  and  the  Cashier  reside  within 
the  Bank ;  and  a  certain  number  of  Clerks  sit  up  nightly  to  go  the  round  of  the  build- 
ing, in  addition  to  the  military  guard. 

The  Bank  possesses  a  very  fine  collection  of  ancient  coins.  Visitors  are  shown  in  the 
old  Note  Office,  paid  notes  for  ten  years  ;  and  some  bank-notes  for  large  amounts  which 
have  passed  between  the  Bank  and  the  Government,  including  a  single  note  for  one 
million  sterling,  kept  in  a  frame. 

Madox,  who  wrote  the  History  of  the  Exchequer,  was  first  Cashier;  but  more  popu- 
larly known  was  Abraham  Newland,  Chief- Cashier  from  1778  to  1807,  who  had 
slept  twenty-five  years  within  the  Bank,  without  absenting  himself  a  single  night. 
He  signed  every  note :  his  name  was  long  remembered  in  a  popular  song,  "  as  one 
that  is  wrote  upon  every  bank-note,"  to  forge  which,  in  street  slang,  was  to  "sham 
\   Abraham." 

In  1852  was  placed  in  the  Garden  Court  a  fountain,  constructed  by  the  then  Go- 
vernor, Mr.  Thomas  Hankey.  The  water  is  thrown  by  a  single  jet,  30  feet  high, 
amongst  the  branches  of  two  of  the  finest  lime-trees  in  London,  and  is  part  of  the  Bank 
system  of  waterworks.  An  Artesian  well  sunk  330  feet — 100  in  the  chalk — yields 
soft  water,  free  from  lime,  and  without  a  trace  of  organic  matter.  The  water  is 
pumped  into  the  tanks  at  the  top  of  the  building,  which  contain  50,000  gallons,  and 
the  fountain  is  connected  with  these  tanks ;  the  pumping  being  by  the  steam-engine 
employed  also  in  printing  the  bank-notes.  The  fountain  is  placed  on  the  site  of  St. 
Christopher's  churchyard.  The  last  person  buried  there  was  Jenkins,  a  Bank  clerk, 
7^  feet  in  height,  and  who  was  allowed  to  be  buried  within  the  walls  of  the  Bank,  to 
prevent  disinterment,  on  account  of  his  unusual  height. 

There  are  in  the  Bank  upwards  of  eight  hundred  clerks,  at  salaries  ranging  from 
65Z.  per  annum  to  800Z. ;  the  patronage  is  in  the  hands  of  the  directors,  of  whom  there 
are  twenty-four,  each  having  a  nomination  to  admit  one  clerk,  provided  he  be  found 
qualified  on  examination.  The  vacancies  are  not,  as  in  most  public  offices,  filled  up  as 
they  occur  by  deaths,  resignations,  &c,  but  by  electing  from  twenty-five  to  thirty 
junior  clerks  every  four  or  five  months ;  it  is  also  usual  to  admit  one-fifth  of  this  num- 
ber from  the  sons  of  clerks  already  in  the  service.  The  scale  of  pensions  for  length  of 
service  is  the  same  as  in  the  Government  offices. 

Among  the  Curiosities  are  the  bank-note  autograph-books — two  splendidly-bound 
folio  volumes,  each  leaf  embellished  with  an  illuminated  border,  exactly  surrounding 
the  space  required  to  attach  a  bank-note.  When  any  distinguished  visitor  arrives  he 
is  requested  to  place  his  autograph  to  an  unsigned  note,  which  is  immediately  pasted 
over  one  of  the  open  spaces.  They  are  thus  illustrated  by  the  signatures  of  various 
royal  and  noble  personages.  That  of  Napoleon  III.,  Henry  V.,  the  Kings  of  Sweden, 
Portugal,  and  Prussia,  a  whole  brigade  of  German  Princes,  Ambassadors  from  Siam, 
Persia,  Turkey — the  latter  in  Oriental  characters — and  some  of  our  higher  nobility. 
There  are  some  scientific  names,  but  few  literary  celebrities ;  among  them  those  of  Lady 
Sale;  and  Mehemet  Ali,  the  Pasha  of  Egypt. 


BANK  OF  ENGLAND.  31 

"  The  circulation  of  the  Bank  of  England  has  been  stationary  or  slightly  retrogressive  for  some  years 
past,  notwithstanding  the  increase  of  trade,  wealth,  and  population.  The  authorities  even  of  the  Cur- 
rency principle  no  longer  insist  upon  the  variations  of  the  bank-note  circulation  as  the  symptoms  to  be 
chiefly  regarded.  They,  with  the  rest  of  the  world,  have  discovered  that  the  state  of  the  banking  reserve 
at  the  Bank  of  England,  the  condition  of  credit,  and  the  effects  of  a  high  or  low  rate  of  interest,  are  the 
cirenmstances  which  really  control  the  financial  phenomena  of  the  country  from  week  to  week  and 
month  to  month." — Economist. 

Upwards  of  a  million  is  paid  into  the  Bank  daily,  in  the  shape  of  notes.  "When 
cashed  a  corner  is  torn  off,  and  this  now  valueless  piece  of  paper,  after  being  duly 
entered  in  the  hooks,  is  deposited  in  chambers  beneath  the  sorting-room,  where  it  is 
kept  ten-  years,  in  case  it  may  be  required  as  testimony  at  some  future  trial,  or  to  settle 
any  other  legal  difficulties.  In  one  of  the  court-yards  of  the  building  is  a  large  circular 
cage,  within  which  is  an  octagonal  furnace  constructed  of  bricks,  laid  only  half  over 
each  other,  so  as  to  afford  ample  ventilation.  In  this  furnace,  once  a  month,  all  the 
notes  that  were  received  during  the  month  previous  ten  years  back  are  consumed.  The 
furnace  is  five  feet  high,  by  at  least  ten  in  diameter  ;  yet  we  are  assured  that  it  is 
completely  filled  by  the  number  returned  during  one  month. 

Notes  of  the  Bank,  at  its  establishment,  20  per  cent,  discount ;  in  1745  under  par.  Bank  Bills  paid 
in  silver,  in  1745.  Bank  Post  Bills  first  issued,  1754.  Small  Notes  issued,  1759.  Cash  payments  dis- 
continued, Feb.  25,  1797,  and  Notes  of  1/.  and  21.  put  into  circulation.  Cash  payments  partially  resumed, 
Sept.  22, 1817.  Bestriction  altogether  ceased,  1821.  May  14,  1832,  upwards  of  300,000/.  weighed  and 
paid  to  bankers  and  others.  Quakers  and  Hebrews  not  eligible  as  Directors.  Qualification  for  Director, 
2000/.  Bank  Stock;  Deputy-Governor,  3000/. ;  Governor.  4000/.  Highest  price  of  Bank  Stock,  299; 
lowest  91.  The  Bank  has  paid  Dividends  at  the  rate  of  21  per  cent.,  and  as  low  as  4-J  per  cent,  per 
annum.  Silver  Tokens  issued,  Jan.,  1793.  Issue  on  paper  securities  not  permitted  to  exceed  14,000,000/. 
Capital  punishment  for  forgery,  excepting  only  forgeries  of  wills  and  powers  of  attorney,  abandoned  in 
li.32. —  (See  Francis's  popular  History  of  the  Bank  of  England,  3rd  edit.  1848.) 

1852,  Oct.  1,  West-end  Branch  opened  at  Uxbridge  House,  Burlington  Gardens. 

The  total  of  deposits  held  ten  years  ago  by  the  Bank  of  England  was  about 
1  i,300,O00Z. ;  it  is  now  (1866)  20,140,000Z. 

In  the  Riots  of  1780,  the  Bank  was  defended  by  military,  the  City  volunteers,  and  the 
officers  of  the  establishment,  when  the  old  inkstands  were  cast  into  bullets.  It  was  at- 
tacked by  the  mob,  when  Wilkes  rushed  out  and  seized  some  of  the  ringleaders.  Since 
this  date  a  military  force  has  been  stationed  nightly  within  the  Bank ;  a  dinner  is  pro- 
vided for  the  officer  on  guard  and  two  friends.  (See  a  clever  sketch  in  Meliboeus  in 
London?)  In  the  political  tumult  of  November,  1830,  provisions  were  made  at'  the 
Bank  for  a  state  of  siege.  At  the  Chartist  Demonstration  of  April  10,  1848,  the  roof 
of  the  Bank  was  fortified  by  Sappers  and  Miners,  and  a  strong  garrison  within.  The 
Bank  has  now  its  own  company  of  Rifles,,  150  strong,  with  two  subdivisions  each, 
having  a  lieutenant  and  ensign,  and  fully  armed  and  equipped. 

BANKSIDE. , 

THAT  part  of  the  Liberty  of  Paris  Garden  called  by  old  writers  the  "Bank" 
simply,  and  afterwards  Bankside,  bordering  on  the  Thames,  was  the  site  of  several 
early  theatres,  namely,  the  Globe,  the  Hope,  the  Rose,  and  the  Swan ;  and  superseded 
the  circus  for  "  Bull-bayting"  and  "  Bear-baiting,"  shown  in  Aggas's  Map,  about  1560. 
(See  Theatees.)  The  stews  here  were  as  old  as  the  reign  of  Henry  II.,  and  in  the 
time  of  Richard  II.  belonged  to  Sir  William  Walworth  who  slew  Wat  Tyler,  who 
had  several  stew-houses  on  the  Bankside.  They  had  signs  painted  on  the  walls;  as  a 
Boar's  Head,  the  Cross  Keys,  the  Gun,  the  Castle,  the  Cranes,  the  Cardinal's  Hat,  the 
Bell,  the  Swan,  &C.  These  stews,  which  were  regulated  by  Parliament,  were  put  down 
by  sound  of  trumpet  in  1546;  about  1506  this  part  was  known  as  Stews-bank. 
Bears  were  baited  here  from  a  very  early  period,  but  the  bear-garden  was  removed  to 
Clerkenwell  about  1686;  the  site  at  Bankside  is  now  occupied  by  the  Eagle  iron 
foundry  and  Bear-garden  wharf.  In  1720,  the  Bank  was  chiefly  inhabited  by  dyers, 
"  for  the  conveniency  of  the  water."  In  the  reigns  of  Queen  Elizabeth  and  James  I., 
Edward  Alleyn,  the  founder  of  Dulwich  College,  kept  the  garden  on  the  Bankside,  in 
conjunction  with  his  father-in-law,  Philip  Henslowe,  who  was  originally  a  dyer  here. 
Here  were  the  Bishop  of  Winchester's  park  and  garden  and  palace :  of  the  latter  a 
fragment  remains ;  and  here  is  "  Cardinal's  Cap-alley,"  and  "  Pike-garden." , 


32  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


p(\  BARBICAN. 

THIS  old  street,  which  is  a  portion  of  the  line  of  thoroughfare,  eastward  from  "West 
Smithfield  to  Finsbury-square,  is  named  from  its  proximity  to  a  barbican,  or 
watch-tower,  attached  to  the  City  wall,  the  remains  of  which  were  visible  within  the 
last  eighty  years.  It  was  the  advanced  post  of  Cripplegate;  and,  like  the  others  that 
surrounded  the  City,  was  intrusted  to  some  person  of  consequence  in  the  State.  This 
tower  was  granted  by  Edward  III.  to  the  Earl  of  Suffolk,  and  he  made  it  his  town  re- 
sidence. After  the  removal  of  the  City  gates  all  vestiges  of  the  Barbican  dis- 
appeared, except  its  name ;  this  became  applied  to  the  street,  which  R.  B.,  in  Strype, 
describes  as  *  a  good  broad  street,  well  inhabited  by  tradesmen,  especially  by  salesmen 
for  apparel  both  new  and  old ;  and,  fronting  Redcross-street,  is  the  watchhouse,  where 
formerly  stood  a  watch-tower  called  Burgh,  and  Ken,  a  place  to  view  or  ken  from," 
which  is  the  derivation  given  by  Sir  Henry  Spelman,  the  antiquary,  who  resided  in 
tins  street  at  the  time  of  his  death  in  1640. 

Camden,  in  his  Britannia  (published  1586),  says :  "  The  suburb  also  which  runs  out 
on  the  north-west  side  of  London  is  large,  and  had  formerly  a  watch-tower  or  military 
fence,  from  whence  it  came  to  be  called  by  an  Arabiek  name — Barbacan." 

The  tower  is  described  as  built  on  high  ground,  and  of  some  good  height :  from 
thence  "  a  man,"  says  Stow,  "  might  behold  and  view  the  whole  city  towards  the  south, 
and  also  into  Kent,  Sussex,  and  Surrey,  and  likewise  every  other  way,  east,  north,  or 
west."  Mr.  Godwin,  F.S.A.,  in  1850  read  to  the  British  Archaeological  Association 
an  ingenious  paper  illustrative  of  the  term  Barbican. 

Milton  lived  here,  1646-7,  in  a  house,  No.  17,  on  the  north  side  of  the  street :  it 
was  taken  down  in  1 864.  In  Barbican  was  the  mansion  of  the  poet's  early  patrons,  the 
Bridgevvater  family ;  and  here  lived  Sir  Thomas  Wriothesley,  Garter  King-at-arms ; 
whence  Bridgewater-square,  Brackley-street,  and  Garter-court.  Beech-street,  the  east 
continuation  of  Barbican,  was,  peradventure,  named  fioin  Nicholas  de  la  Beech,  Lieu- 
tenant of  the  Tower  of  London,  temp.  Edward  III.  Here,  in  Drury  House,  lived 
Prince  Rupert.  Its  remains  in  1766  were  engraved  by  J.  T.  Smith.  Barbican  was, 
in  1865-6,  in  part  taken  down,  to  make  room  for  the  Metropolitan  (Extension  to 
Finsbury)  Railway. 

BARTHOLOMEW  FAIR. 

THIS  ancient  Fair  presents,  through  its  seven  centuries'  existence,  many  phases  of 
our  social  history  with  such  graphic  force,  that  "  he  may  run  that  readeth  it." 
The  Fair  originated  in  two  Fairs,  or  Markets,  one  begun  by  a  grant  of  land  from 
Henry  I.  to  his  jester,  Rayer,  or  Rahere,  who  founded  a  Priory  to  St.  Bartholomew,  in 
West  Smithfield,  previous  to  which,  however,  a  market  called  "  the  King's  Market," 
had  been  held  near  Smithfield.  Out  of  the  two  elements,  the  concourse  of  pilgrims  to 
the  Miraculous  Shrine  of  St.  Bartholomew,  and  the  concourse  of  traders  to  the  King's 
Market,  Bartholomew  Fair  grew  up.  Rayer's  miracles  were  most  ingenious,  for  he 
cured  a  woman  who  could  not  keep  her  tongue  in  her  mouth  :  if  the  wind  went  down, 
as  sailors  far  at  sea  were  praying  to  the  denuded  saint,  they  called  it  a  miracle,  and 
presented,  in  procession,  a  silver  ship  at  the  Smithfield  shrine.  The  forged  miracles 
gave  way  to  the  imitative  jugglers  and  mvstery  players ;  and  these  three  ele- 
ments— the  religious,  the  dramatic,  and  the  commercial — flowed  on  till  the  Refor- 
mation. 

The  Priory  Fair,  which  was  proclaimed  on  the  Eve  of  St.  Bartholomew,  and  con- 
tinued during  the  next  day,  and  the  next  morrow,  was  granted  for  the  clothiers  of 
England  and  the  drapers  of  London,  who  had  their  booths  and  standings  within  the 
Priory  churchyard  (the  site  now  Cloth  Fair),  the  gates  of  which  were  locked  every 
night,  and  watched,  for  the  safety  of  the  goods  and  wares.  Within  its  limits  was  held 
a  court  of  justice,  named  Pie  Poudre,  from  pieds  poudreux — dusty  feet — by  which, 
persons  infringing  upon  the  laws  of  the  Fair,  its  disputes,  debts,  and  legal  obligations, 
&c.,  were  tried  the  same  day,  and   the  punishment  of  the  stocks,  or  whipping-post, 


BARTHOLOMEW  FAIR.  33 

summarily  inflicted ;  and  tins  court  was  held,  to  the  last,  at  the  Hand  and  Shears,  Cloth 
Fair,  by  the  Steward  of  the  Lord  of  the  Manor. 

"  Thus  we  have  in  the  most  ancient  times  of  the  Fair,  a  church  full  of  worshippers,  among  whom  were 
the  sick  and  maimed,  praying  for  health  about  its  altar ;  a  graveyard  full  of  traders,  and  a  place  of  jest- 
ing and  edification,  where  women  and  men  caroused  in  the  midst  of  the  throng ;  where  the  minstrel  anb 
the  story-teller  and  the  tumbler  gathered  knots  about  them ;  where  the  sheriff  caused  new  laws  to  de 
published  by  loud  proclamation  in  the  gathering  places  of  the  people ;  where  the  young  men  bowled  at 
nine-pins,  while  the  clerks  and  friars  peeped  at  the  young  maids;  where  mounted  knights  and  ladies 
curvetted  and  ambled,  pedlars  loudly  magnified  their  wares,  the  scholars  met  for  public  wrangle,  oxen 
lowed,  horses  neighed,  and  sheep  bleated  among  their  buyers ;  where  great  shouts  of  laughter  answered 
to  the  '  Ho  !  ho  !'  of  the  devil  on  the  stage,  above  which  flags  were  flying,  and  below  which  a  band  of 
pipers  and  guitar  bearers  added  music  to  the  din.  That  stage  also,  if  ever  there  was  presented  on  it 
the  story  of  the  Creation,  was  the  first  Wild  Beast  Show  in  the  Fair;  for  one  of  the  dramatic  effects 
connected  with  this  play,  as  we  read  in  an  ancient  stage  direction,  was  to  represent  the  creation  of 
beasts  by  unloosing  and  sending  among  the  excited  crowd  as  great  a  variety  of  strange  animals  as  could 
be  brought  together,  and  to  create  the  birds  by  sending  up  a  flight  of  pigeons.  Under  foot  was  mud 
and  filth,  but  the  wall  that  pent  the  city  in  shone  sunlit  among  the  trees,  a  fresh  breeze  came  over  the 
surrounding  fields  and  brooks,  whispering  among  the  elms  that  overhung  the  moor  glittering  with 
pools,  or  from  the  Fair's  neighbour,  the  gallows.  Shaven  heads  looked  down  on  the  scene  from  the 
adjacent  windows  of  the  buildings  bordering  the  Priory  inclosure,  and  the  poor  people  whom  the 
friars  cherished  in  their  hospital,  madj  holiday  among  the  rest.  The  curfew  bell  of  St.  Martin's-le- 
Grand,  the  religious  house  to  which  William  the  Conqueror  had  given  with  its  charter  the  adjacent 
moorland,  and  within  whose  walls  there  was  a  sanctuary  for  loose  people,  stilled  the  hum  of  the  crowd 
at  nightfall,  and  the  Fair  lay  dark  under  the  starlight." — Memoirs  of  Bartholomew  Fair.  By  Henry 
Morley.    1858. 

After  the  Reformation,  Bartholomew  Fair  flourished  with  unabated  vigour,  the  clergy 
having  no  longer  any  interest  in  veiling  its  debaucheries.  The  Priory,  together  with 
the  rights  formerly  exercised  by  the  monks,  had  been  granted  to  the  founder  of  the 
Rich  family,  who  was  Solicitor-General  to  Henry  VIII.,  and  afterwards  Lord  Chancellor ; 
they  were  enjoyed  by  his  descendants  till  the  year  1830,  when  they  were  purchased 
from  Lord  Kensington  by  the  Corporation  of  London.  The  Fair  greatly  declined,  as 
a  cloth  fair,  from  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth ;  and  the  mysteries  and  moralities  being 
succeeded  by  productions  more  nearly  resembling  the  regular  drama,  the  Corporation 
granted  licences  to  mountebanks,  conjurors,  &c,  and  allowed  the  Fair  to  be  extended  to 
fourteen  days,  the  Sword-bearer  and  other  City  officers  being  paid  out  of  the  emolu- 
ments. Hentzner,  in  1578,  describes  a  tent  pitched  for  the  proclamation  of  the  Fair, 
and  wrestling  after  the  ceremony,  with  the  crowd  hunting  wild  rabbits,  for  the  sport  of 
the  Mayor  and  Aldermen.  Here  was  also  formerly  a  burlesque  proclamation  on  the 
night  before,  by  the  drapers  of  Cloth  Fair  snapping  their  shears  and  loudly  shouting 
all  through  Smithfield. 

Ben  Jonson,  in  his  play  of  Bartholomew  Fair,  tell  us  of  its  motions,  or  puppet- 
shows,  of  Jerusalem,  Nineveh,  and  Norwich ;  and  the  "  Gunpowder  Plot,  presented  to 
an  eighteen  or  twenty  pence  audience  nine  times  in  an  afternoon."  The  showman 
paid  three  shillings  for  his  ground ;  and  a  penny  was  charged  for  every  burden  of  goods 
and  little  bundle  brought  in  or  carried  out.  A  rare  tract,  of  the  year  1641,  describes 
the  "  variety  of  Fancies,  the  Faire  of  Wares,  and  the  several  enormityes  and  mis- 
demeanours" of  the  Fair  of  that  period.  At  these,  the  sober-minded  Evelyn  was 
shocked.  Pepys  (Aug.  30,  1667)  found  at  the  Fair  "  my  Lady  Castlemaine  at  a 
puppet-show,"  her  coach  waiting,  "  and  the  street  full  of  people  expecting  her."  The 
sights  and  shows  included  wild  beasts,  dwarfs,  and  other  monstrosities;  operas,  and 
tight-rope  dancing,  and  sarabands ;  dogs  dancing  the  Morrice,  and  the  hare  beating 
the  tabor ;  a  tiger  pulling  the  feathers  from  live  fowls ;  the  humours  of  Punchinello, 
and  drolls  of  every  degree.  An  ox  roasted  whole,  and  piping-hot  roast  pig,  sold  in 
savoury  lots,  were  among  the  Fair  luxuries :  the  latter,  called  Bartholomew  Pigs,  were 
railed  at  by  the  Puritans,  and  eating  them  was  "a  species  of  idolatry."  The  pig- 
market  was  at  Pye  Corner,  and  pig  was  not  out  of  fashion  in  Queen  Anne's  time. 

Among  the  celebrities  of  the  Fair  was  Tom  Dogget,  the  old  comic  actor,  who  "  wore 
a  farce  in  his  face,"  and  was  famous  for  dancing  the  Cheshire  Round.  One  Ben 
Jonson,  the  actor,  was  celebrated  as  the  grave-digger  in  Hamlet,  in  which  he  intro- 
duced a  song  preserved  in  Durfey's  Fills.  Tom  Walker,  the  original  Macheatb,  was 
another  Bartholomew  hero.  William  Bullock,  from  York,  is  alluded  to  by  Steele,  in 
The  Father,  and  is  censured  for  "  gagging :"  in  1739  he  had  the  largest  booth  in  the 
Fair.  Theophilus  Cibber  was  of  the  Fair,  but  there  is  no  evidence  that  Colley  Cibber 
ever  appeared  fihere.     Cadinan,  the  famous  flyer  on  the  rope,  immortalized  by  Hogarth, 

s 


34  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

was  a  constant  exhibitor  at  Bartholomew,  as  well  as  Southwark  Fair.  William 
Phillips  was  a  famous  Merry  Andrew,  and  some  time  fiddler  to  a  puppet-show,  in 
which  he  held  many  a  dialogue  with  Punch.  Edward  Phillips  wrote  Britons  Strike 
Home  for  the  Fair ;  and  Kitty  Clive  played  at  the  booth  of  Fawkes,  Winchbeck,  &c, 
in  that  very  farce.  Harlequin  Phillips  was  in  Mrs.  Lee's  company,  and  afterwards 
became  the  celebrated  Harlequin  at  Drury-lane,  under  Fleetwood.  Penkethman  and 
Dogget,  though  of  very  unequal  reputation,  are  noticed  in  the  Spectator.  The  first 
in  that  humorous  account  of  the  Projector,  in  the  31st  number,  where  it  is  proposed 
that  "  Penkethman  should  personate  King  Porus  upon  an  elephant,  and  be  encountered 
by  Powell,  representing  Alexander  the  Great,  upon  a  dromedary,  which,  nevertheless, 
Mr.  Powell  is  desired  to  call  by  the  name  of  Bucephalus."  Dogget  is  commended 
(No.  502)  as  an  admirable  and  genuine  actor. 

The  public  theatres  were  invariably  closed  at  Bartholomew  Fair  time  ;  drolls,  like 
Estcourt  and  Penkethman,  finding  Bartholomew  Fair  a  more  profitable  arena  for 
their  talents  than  the  boards  of  Dorset-garden  or  old  Drury-lane.  Here  Elkanah 
Settle,  the  rival  for  years  of  Dryden,  was  reduced  at  last  to  string  speeches  and  con- 
trive machinery;  and  here,  in  the  droll  of  St.  George  for  England,  he  made  his  last 
appearance,  hissing  in  a  green  leather  dragon  of  his  own  invention. 

Here  we  may  mention  another  class  of  sights, — "  a  large  and  beautiful  young  camel 
from  Grand  Cairo,  in  Egypt,"  says  the  advertisement :  "  this  creature  is  twenty-three 
years  old ;  his  head  and  neck  are  like  that  of  a  deer,"  and  he  "  was  to  be  seen  or  sold 
at  the  first  house  on  the  pavement  from  the  end  of  Hosier-lane,  during  Bartholomew 
Fair."  And  we  read  that  later,  Sir  Hans  Sloane  employed  a  draughtsman  to  sketch 
the  wonderful  foreign  animals  in  the  Fair. 

There  are  scores  of  other  Bartholomew  celebrities — actors,  mummers,  tumblers, 
nonjurors,  and  exhibitors  of  various  grades,  as  Burling  and  his  famous  monkey; 
William  Joy,  the  English  Samson ;  Francis  Battalia,  the  Stone  Eater ;  Topham,  the 
Strong  Man ;  Hale,  the  Piper ;  the  Auctioneer  of  Moorfields,  who  regularly,  for  a 
series  of  years,  transferred  his  book-stall  to  Smithfields  Rounds ;  James  Spiller,  the 
original  Mat  o'  the  Mint  of  the  Beggar's  Opera,  at  one  time  the  "  glory  of  the  Fair  :" 
this  piece  was  played  at  Smithfield  in  1728.  Punchinello  was  another  Bartholomew 
attraction  :— 

"  'Twas  then,  when  August  near  was  spent, 

That  Bat,  the  grilliado'd  saint, 

Had  ushered  in  his  Smithfield  revels, 

Where  Punchinellos,  popes  and  devils, 

Are  by  authority  allowed, 

To  please  the  giddy,  gaping  crowd." 

Hudibras  Sedivivut,  1707. 

Powell,  too,  the  Puppet-show  man,  was  a  great  card  at  the  Fair,  especially  when 
his  puppets  played  such  incomparable  dramas  as  Whittington  and  his  Cat,  The  Children 
in  the  Wood,  Dr.  Faustus,  Friar  Bacon,  Robin  Hood  and  Little  John,  Mother 
Shipton,  "  together  with  the  pleasant  and  comical  humours  of  Valentini,  Nicolini,  and 
the  tuneful  warbling  pig  of  Italian  race."  No  wonder  that  such  attractions  thinned 
the  theatres,  and  kept  the  churches  empty.  Steele  makes  mention  of  "  Powell's  books :" 
if  they  were  books  of  his  performances,  what  a  treasure  they  would  be  in  our  day ! 
The  two  great  characters  of  Jewish  history — Judith  and  Holophernes — long  kept  in 
popular  favour;  for  Setchel's  fan-print  of  1728  depicts  Lee  and  Harper's  great 
theatrical  booth,  with  an  announcement  of  the  play  of  Judith's  Adventures  as  its  chief 
attraction :  elevated  from  puppet  performers  to  regular  living  actors,  Judith  herself 
being  seated  on  the  platform  of  the  show  in  a  magnificent  dress,  and  the  high  head- 
dress and  false  jewellery  that  captivated  the  wicked  Holophernes,  who  strides  towards 
her  in  the  full  costume  of  a  Roman  general. 

Among  Bagford's  collection  in  the  British  Museum,  is  a  Bartholomew  Fair  bill  of 
the  time  of  Queen  Anne,  of  the  playing  at  Heatly's  booth,  of  "  a  little  opera,  called 
the  Old  Creation  of  the  World  newly  revived,  with  the  addition  of  the  Glorious  battle 
obtained  over  the  French  and  Spaniards  by  his  Grace  the  Luke  of  Marlborough  !" 
Between  the  acts*  jigs,  sarabands,  and  antics  were  performed,  and  the  whole  entertain- 
ment concluded  with  The  Merry  Humours  of  Sir  John  Spendall  and  Punchinello  ; 


BARTHOLOMEW  FjUR.  35 

Kith  several  other  things  not  yet  exposed"     Heatly  is  supposed  to  have  had  no  better 
scenery  than  the  pasteboard  properties  of  our  early  theatres : — 

"  The  chaos,  too,  he  had  descried 
And  seen  quite  through,  or  else  he  lied; 
Kot  that  of  pasteboard  which  men  shew 
For  groats  at  Fair  of  Barthol'mew." — Hudibrag,  canto  i. 

Henry  Fielding  had  his  booth  here,  Dr.  Rinibault  tells  us,  after  his  admission  into 
the  Middle  Temple.  That  Fielding  should  have  turned  "  strolling  actor,"  and  have 
the  audacity  to  appear  at  Bartholomew  at  the  very  moment  when  the  whole  town  was 
ringing  with  Pope's  savage  ridicule  of  the  "  Smithfield  Muses,"  would  of  course  be 
an  unpardonable  offence.  Fielding's  last  appearance  at  Bartholomew  Fair  was  in 
1736,  as  usual,  in  the  George  Inn  Yard,  at  "  Fielding  and  Hippisley's  Booth."  Don 
Carlos  and  the  Cheats  of  Scapin,  adapted  from  Moliere,  were  the  two  plays ;  and 
Mrs.  Pritchard  played  the  part  of  Loveit,  in  which  she  had  made  her  first  hit  at 
Bartholomew.  Other  celebrities,  who  kept  up  the  character  of  the  Fair  for  another 
quarter  of  a  century,  were  Yates,  Lee,  Woodward,  and  Shuter,  the  two  last  well  known 
for  their  connexion  with  Goldsmith's  comedies.  Shuter  played  Croaker  in  the  Good- 
natured  Man,  and  llardcastle  in  She  Stoops  to  Conquer.  Woodward  played  Lofty  in 
the  former  piece.  With  Shuter,  "  the  history  of  the  English  stage  "  (says  Mr.  Morley) 
"parted  entirely  from  the  story  of  the  Fair."  Garrick's  name  is  connected  only  with 
the  Fair  by  stories  which  regard  him  as  a  visitor :  although  Edmund  Kean  is  stated 
to  have  played  here  when  a  boy. 

Among  the  notorieties  of  the  Fair  was  Lady  Holland's  Mob  (Lord  Rich  having  been 
ancestor  of  the  Earl  of  Warwick  and  Holland), — hundreds  of  loose  fellows,  principally 
journeyman  tailors,  who  used  to  assemble  at  the  Hand  and  Shears,  in  Cloth  Fair. 
They  were  accustomed  to  sally  forth  knocking  at  the  doors  and  ringing  the  bells  of 
the  peaceable  inhabitants,  and  assaulting  and  ill-treating  passengers.  These  ruf- 
fians frequently  united  in  such  strength  as  to  defy  the  civil  power.  .  As  late  as  1822, 
a  number  of  them  exceeding  5000  rioted  in  Skinner -street,  and  were  for  hours  too 
powerful  for  the  police. 

The  Fair  was  annually  proclaimed  by  the  Lord  Mayor,  on  the  2nd  of  September, 
his  lordship  proceeding  thither  in  his  gilt  coach,  "  with  City  Officers  and  trumpets ;" 
and  the  proclamation  for  the  purpose  read  before  the  entrance  to  Cloth  Fair.  It  was 
the  custom  for  the  Lord  Mayor,  on  this  occasion,  to  call  upon  the  keeper  of  Newgate, 
and  partake,  on  his  way  to  Smithfield,  of  "  a  cool  tankard  of  wine,  nutmeg,  and  sugar." 
This  custom,  which  ceased  in  the  second  mayoralty  of  Sir  Matthew  Wood  in  1818, 
was  the  cause  of  the  death  of  Sir  John  Shorter,  Lord  Mayor  in  1688.  In  holding  the 
tankard,  he  let  the  lid  slip  down  with  so  much  force,  that  his  horse  started,  and  he  was 
thrown  to  the  ground  with  great  violence.     He  died  the  next  day. 

The  Fair  dwindled  year  by  year  :  the  writer  remembers  it  at  midnight,  before  gas  had 
become  common  :  viewed  from  Richardson's,  the  shows,  booths,  and  stalls,  with  their 
flaring  oil-lamps  and  torches,  shed  a  strange  glare  over  the  vast  sea  of  heads  which 
filled  the  area  of  Smithfield  and  the  adjacent  streets.  As  lately  as  1830,  upwards  of 
200  booths  for  toys  and  gingerbread  crowded  the  pavement  around  the  Fair,  and  over- 
flowed into  the  adjacent  streets.  Richardson,  Saunders,  and  Wombwell  were  late  in 
the  ascendant  as  showmen.  Among  the  latest  "  larks  "  was  that  of  young  men  of  caste 
disguising  themselves  in  working  clothes,  to  enjoy  the  loose  delights  of  "Bartlemy" 
Fair,  in  September. 

For  300  years  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Aldermen  had  in  vain  attempted  to  suppress 
the  Fair ;  when,  in  1840,  upon  the  recommendation  of  the  City  Solicitor,  Mr.  Charles 
Pearson,  having  purchased  Lord  Kensington's  interest,  they  refused  to  let  the  ground 
for  the  shows  and  booths  but  upon  exorbitant  prices,  and  limited  the  Fair  to  one  day ; 
and  the  State  proclamation  of  the  Lord  Mayor  was  given  up.  In  1849,  the  Fair  was 
reduced  to  one  or  two  stalls  for  gingerbread,  gambling-tables  for  nuts,  a  few  fruit- 
barrows  and  toy-stalls,  and  one  puppet-show.     In  1852,  the  number  was  still  less. 

"  The  Mayors  had  withdrawn  the  formality  as  much  as  possible  from  public  observation,  until  in  the 
year  1850,  and  in  the  mayoralty  of  Alderman  Musgrove,  his  lordship  having  walked  quietly  to  the 
appointed  gateway,  with  the  necessary  attendants,  found  that  there  was  not  any  Fair  left  worth  a 
Mayor's  proclaiming.    After  that  year,  therefore,  no  Mayor  accompanied  the  gentleman  whose  duty  it 

u  2 


36  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

was  to  read  a  certain  form  of  words  out  of  a  certain  parchment  scroll,  under  a  quiet  gateway.  After 
live  years  this  form  also  was  dispensed  with,  and  Bartholomew  lair  was  proclaimed  for  the  last 
time  in  the  year  1855.  The  sole  existing  vestige  of  it  is  the  old  fee  of  three  and  sixpence  still  paid 
by  the  City  to  the  Rector  of  St.  Bartholomew  the  Great,  for  a  proclamation  in  his  parish." — Morley. 

It  was  held  that  the  proclamation  was  part  of  the  charter  for  holding  the  market, 
on  which  account  it  continued  to  he  read,  until  the  Act  of  Parliament  for  removing 
the  market  to  Copenhagen-fields  at  length  relieved  the  Corporation  of  going  through 
the  useless  ceremony. 

Hone,  in  his  JSvery-day  Boole,  describes  the  Bartholomew  Fair  of  1825,  with  the 
minuteness  of  Dutch  painting :  Hone  visited  the  several  sights  and  shows,  accom- 
panied by  Samuel  Williams,  by  whom  the  wood-cut  illustrations  were  cleverly  drawn  and 
engraved.  Mr.  Morley's  History  of  the  Fair,  which  has  been  referred  to,  is  a  laborious 
work,  with  some  original  views. 

BARTHOLOMEWS  (ST.)  HOSPITAL, 

IN  West  Smithfield,  is  one  of  the  five  Royal  Hospitals  of  the  City,  and  the  first 
institution  of  the  kind  established  in  the  metropolis.  It  was  originally  a  portion 
of  the  Priory  of  St.  Bartholomew,  founded  by  Rahere,  in  1102,  who  obtained  from 
Henry  I.  a  piece  of  waste  ground,  upon  which  he  built  an  hospital  for  a  master, 
brethren  and  sisters,  sick  persons,  and  pregnant  women.  Both  the  Priory  and  the 
Hospital  were  surrendered  to  Henry  VIII.,  who,  at  the  petition  of  Sir  Richard  Greshara, 
Lord  Mayor,  and  father  of  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  re-founded  the  latter,  and  endowed  it 
with  an  annual  revenue  of  500  marks,  the  City  agreeing  to  pay  an  equal  sum ;  since 
which  time  the  Hospital  has  received  princely  benefactions  from  charitable  persons. 
It  was  first  placed  under  the  superintendence  of  Thomas  Vicary,  sergeant-surgeon  to 
Henry  VIII.,  Edward  VI.,  Mary,  and  Elizabeth;  Harvey  was  physician  to  the  Hos- 
pital for  thirty- four  years;  and  here,  in  1619,  he  first  lectured  on  the  discovery  of  the 
Circulation  of  the  Blood. 

The  Hospital  buildings  escaped  the  Great  Fire  in  1666 ;  but  becoming  ruinous, 
were  taken  down  in  1730,  and  the  great  quadrangle  rebuilt  by  Gibbs ;  over  the  en- 
trance next  Smithfield  is  a  statue  of  Henry  VIII.,  and  under  it,  "  St.  Bartholomew's 
Hospital,  founded  by  Rahere,  A.D.  1102,  re-founded  by  Henry  VIII.,  1546;"  on  the 
pediment  are  two  reclining  figures  of  Lameness  and  Sickness.  The  cost  of  these 
buildings  was  defrayed  by  public  subscription,  to  which  the  munificent  Dr.  Radcliffe 
contributed  largely ;  besides  leaving  5002.  a  year  for  the  improvement  of  the  diet,  and 
100Z.  a  year  to  buy  linen.  The  principal  entrance,  next  Smithfield,  was  erected 
in  1702  ;  it  is  of  poor  architectural  character. 

The  Museums,  Theatres,  and  Library  of  the  Hospital  are  very  extensive ;  as  is  also 
the  New  Surgery,  built  in  1842.  The  Lectures  of  the  present  day  were  established 
by  Mr.  Abernethy,  elected  Assistant-Surgeon  in  1787.  Prizes  and  honorary  distinc- 
tions for  proficiency  in  medical  science  were  first  established  in  1834;  and  their  annual 
distribution  in  May  is  an  interesting  scene.  In  1843  was  founded  a  Collegiate 
Establishment  for  the  pupils'  residence  within  the  Hospital  walls.  A  spacious  Casu- 
alty Room  has  since  been  added. 

The  interior  of  the  Hospital,  besides  its  cleanly  and  well-regulated  wards,  has  a 
grand  staircase ;  the  latter  painted  by  Hogarth,  for  which  he  was  made  a  life-governor. 
The  subjects  are — the  Good  Samaritan ;  the  Pool  of  Bethesda ;  Rahere,  the  founder, 
laying  the  first  stone ;  and  a  sick  man  carried  on  a  bier,  attended  by  monks.  In  the 
Court  Room  is  a  picture  of  St.  Bartholomew  holding  a  knife,  as  the  symbol  of  his 
martyrdom;  a  portrait  of  Henry  VIII.  in  Holbein's  manner;  of  Dr.  Radcliffe,  by 
Kneller ;  Perceval  Pott,  by  Reynolds ;  and  of  Abernethy,  by  Lawrence. 

In  January,  1846,  the  election  of  Prince  Albert  to  a  Governorship  of  the  Hospital 
was  commemorated  by  the  president  and  treasurer  presenting  to  the  foundation  three 
costly  silver-gilt  dishes,  each  nearly  twenty-four  inches  in  diameter,  and  richly  chased 
with  a  bold  relief  of — 1.  The  Election  of  the  Prince;  2.  The  Good  Samaritan;  3.  The 
Plague  of  London. 

The  Charity  is  ably  managed  by  the  Corporation  :  the  president  must  have  served 
as   Lord  Mayor;    the   qualification  of  a  Governor  is    a    donation  of   100    guineas. 


BATES,   OLDEN.  37 


"  From  a  search  made  in  the  official  records  of  the  City,  it  appears  that  for  more  than  three  hundred 
years,  namely,  since  1549,  an  alderman  of  London  had  always  been  elected  president  of  St.  Bartholomew's 
Hospital ;  until  1854,  whenever  a  vacancy  occurred  in  the  presidency  of  the  Royal  Hospitals  (St. 
Bartholomew's,  Bethlehem,  Bridewell,  St.  Thomas's,  or  Christ's  Hospitals),  it  was  customary  to  elect 
the  Lord  Mayor  for  the  time  being,  or  an  alderman  who  had  passed  the  chair.  This  rule  was  first 
broken  when  the  Duke  of  Cambridge  was  chosen  President  of  Christ's  Hospital  over  the  head  of 
Alderman  Sidney,  the  then  Lord  Mayor  ;  and  again  when  Mr.  Cubitt,  then  no  longer  an  alderman,  was 
elected  President  of  St.  Bartholomew's  in  preference  to  the  then  Lord  Mayor.  This  question  is,  how- 
ever, contested  by  the  foundation-governors  or  the  Corporation,  and  the  donation-governors." 

It  has  been  shown  that  King  Henry  VIII.  in  1546  vested  the  Hospital  of  St. 
Bartholomew  in  the  mayor,  commonalty,  and  citizens  of  London,  and  their  successors, 
for  ever,  in  consideration  of  a  payment  by  them  of  500  marks  a  year  towards  its 
maintenance,  and  with  it  the  nomination  and  appointment  of  all  the  officers.  In 
September,  1557,  at  a  general  court  of  the  Governors  of  all  the  Hospitals,  it  was  ordered 
that  St.  Bartholomew's  should  henceforth  be  united  to  the  rest  of  the  Hospitals,  and 
be  made  one  body  with  them,  and  on  the  following  day  ordinances  were  made  by  the 
Corporation  for  the  general  government  of  all  the  Hospitals.  The  500  marks  a  year 
have  been  paid  by  the  Corporation  since  1546,  besides  the  profit  of  many  valuable 
leases. 

This  charity  has  an  existence  of  nearly  seven  centuries  and  a  half.  The  Hospital 
receives,  upon  petition,  cases  of  all  kinds  free  of  fees;  and  accidents,  or  cases  of 
urgent  disease,  without  letter,  at  the  Surgery,  at  any  hour  of  the  day  or  night. 
There  is  also  a  "  Samaritan  Fund,"  for  relieving  distressed  patients.  The  present 
buildings  contain  25  wards,  consisting  of  650  beds,  400  being  for  surgical  cases,  and 
250  for  medical  cases  and  the  diseases  of  women.  Each  ward  is  presided  over  by  a 
"sister"  and  nurses,  to  the  number  of  nearly  180  persons.  In  addition  to  a  very  ex- 
tensive medical  staff,  there  are  four  resident  surgeons  and  two  resident  apothecaries, 
who  are  always  on  duty,  day  and  night,  throughout  the  year,  to  attend  to  whatever 
may  be  brought  in  at  any  hour  of  the  twenty-four.  It  further  possesses  a  College 
within  itself,  a  priceless  museum  ;  and  a  first-class  Medical  School,  conducted  by  thirty- 
six  professors  and  assistants.  The  "View-day,"  for  this  and  the  other  Royal  Hospitals 
of  the  City,  is  a  day  specially  set  apart  by  the  authorities  to  examine,  in  their  official 
collective  capacity,  every  portion  of  the  establishment ;  when  the  public  are  admitted. 

BATHS,  OLDEN. 

THE  most  ancient  Bath  in  the  metropolis  is  "  the  old  Soman  Spring  Bath"  in 
Strand-lane ;  but  evidently  unknown  to  Stow,  though  he  mentions  the  locality 
as  "  a  lane  or  way  down  to  the  landing-place  on  the  banks  of  the  Thames."  This 
Bath  is  in  a  vaulted  chamber,  and  is  formed  of  thin  tile-like  brick,  layers  of  cement 
and  rubble-stones,  all  corresponding  with  the  materials  of  the  Roman  wall  of  London ; 
the  water  is  beautifully  clear  and  extremely  cold.  The  property  can  be  traced  to  the 
Danvers,  or  D'Anvers,  family,  of  Swithland  Hall,  Leicestershire,  whose  mansion 
stood  upon  the  spot. 

St.  Agnes-le-  Clair  Baths,  Tabernacle-square,  Finsbury,  are  supposed  originally  to 
have  been  of  the  above  age,  from  finding  the  Roman  tiles  through  which  the  water 
was  once  conveyed.  Stow  mentions  them  .  as  "  Dame  Anne's  the  clear."  The  date 
assigned  to  these  Baths  is  1502.  This  famous  spring  was  dedicated  to  St.  Agnes ; 
and,  from  the  transparency  and  salubrity  of  its  waters,  denominated  St.  Agnes-le- 
Clair.  It  has  claims  to  antiquity,  for  it  appears  that  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.  it 
was  thus  named  : — "  Fons  voc'  Lame  Agnes  a  Clere."  It  is  described  as  belonging  to 
Charles  Stuart,  late  king  of  England.  This  spring  was  said  to  be  of  great  efficacy  in 
all  rheumatic  and  nervous  cases,  headache,  &c. 

Peerless  Pool,  Baldwin-street,  City-road,  is  referred  to  by  Stow  as  near  St.  Agnes-le- 
Clair,  and  •'  one  other  clear  water,  called  Perilous  Pond,  because  divers  youths,  by 
swimming  therein,  have  been  drowned ;"  but  this  ominous  name  was  change  to  Peerless 
Pool ;  in  1743,  it  was  enclosed,  and  converted  into  a  bathing-place. 

The  Cold  Bath,  Clerkenwell,  was  originally  the  property  of  one  Walter  Baynes,  who 
purchased  a  moiety  of  the  estate,  in  1696 ;  when  it  comprised  Windmill-hill,  or  Sir 
John  Oldcastle's  Field,  extending  westward  from  Sir  John   Oldcastle's  to  the  River 


38  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Fleet,  or,  as  it  was  then  called,  Tuminill-brook ;  and  southward,  by  Coppice-row,  to 
the  same  brook,  near  the  Clerks'  Wells :  while  Gardiner's  Farm  was  the  plot  on 
which  stands  the  Middlesex  House  of  Correction.  Baynes's  attention  was  first 
directed  to  the  Cold  Spring,  which,  in  1697,  he  converted  into  a  Bath,  spoken  of, 
eleven  years  afterwards,  in  Hatton's  New  View,  as  "  the  most  noted  and  first  about 
London,"  which  assertion,  written  so  near  the  time  at  which  it  states  the  origin  of  our 
Cold  Bath,  disproves  the  story  of  its  having  been  the  bath  of  Nell  Gwynn,  whom  a 
nude  figure,  on  porcelain,  preserved  by  the  proprietor,  is  said  to  represent.  In  Mr. 
Baynes's  time,  the  charge  for  bathing  was  2s.  :  or,  in  the  case  of  patients  who,  from 
weakness,  required  the  "  chair,"  2s.  6d.  The  chair  was  suspended  from  the  ceiling, 
in  such  a  manner  that  a  person  placed  in  it  coidd  be  thereby  lowered  into  the  water, 
and  drawn  up  again  in  the  same  way.  The  spring  was  at  the  acme  of  its  reputation 
in  1700.  Of  its  utility,  in  cases  of  weakness  more  especially,  there  can  be  no  ques- 
tion. Besides  which,  its  efficacy  is  stated  in  the  cure  of  scorbutic  complaints,  nervous 
affections,  rheumatism,  chronic  disorders,  &c.  It  is  a  chalybeate,  and  deposits  a  saline 
incrustation.  The  spring  is  said  to  supply  20,000  gallons  daily.  The  height  to 
which  it  rises  in  the  marble  receptacles  prepared  for  it,  is  four  feet  seven  inches. 
Until  the  sale  of  the  estate  in  1811,  the  Bath  House,  with  the  garden  in  which  it 
stood,  comprised  an  area  of  103  feet  by  60,  enclosed  by  a  brick  wall,  with  a  summer- 
house  (resembling  a  little  tower)  at  each  angle :  the  house  had  several  gables.  The 
garden  was  let  on  building-leases,  and  the  whole  is  now  covered  with  houses,  the 
Bath  remaining  in  the  midst.  In  1815,  the  exterior  of  the  Bath  House  was  nearly  all 
taken  down,  leaving  only  a  small  portion  of  its  frontage,  which  it  still  retains. 

The  Duke's  Bath,  or  Bagnio,  is  minutely  described  by  Samuel  Haworth,  in  1683,  as 
"  erected  near  the  west  end  of  Long  Acre,  in  that  spot  of  ground  called  Salisbury 
Stables."  Here  dwelt  Sir  William  Jennings,  who  obtained  the  royal  patent  for  making 
all  public  bagnios  or  baths,  either  for  sweating,  bathing,  or  washing.  "  In  one  of  the 
ante-rooms  hangs  a  pair  of  scales,  to  weigh  such  as  out  of  curiosity  would  know  how 
much  they  lose  in  weight  while  they  are  in  the  bagnio.  The  bagnio  itself  is  a  stately 
oval  edifice,  with  a  cupola  roof,  in  which  are  round  glasses  to  let  in  light.  The 
cupola  is  supported  by  eight  columns,  between  which  and  the  sides  is  a  *  sumptuous 
walk,'  arched  over  with  brick.  The  bagnio  is  paved  with  marble,  and  has  a  marble 
table ;  the  sides  are  covered  with  white  gully-tiles,  and  within  the  wall  were  ten  seats, 
such  as  are  in  the  baths  at  Bath.  There  are  also  fourteen  niches  in  the  walls,  in 
which  are  placed  so  many  fonts  or  basins,  with  cocks  over  them  of  hot  or  cold  water. 
On  one  side  of  the  bagnio  hangs  a  very  handsome  pendulum-clock,  which  is  kept  to 
give  an  exact  account  how  time  passeth  away.  Adjoining  to  the  bagnio  there  are  four 
little  round  rooms,  about  eight  feet  over,  which  are  made  for  degrees  of  heat,  some 
being  hotter,  others  colder,  as  persons  can  best  bear  and  are  pleased  to  use.  These 
rooms  are  also  covered  with  cupolas,  and  their  walls  with  gully-tiles."  We  refer  the 
reader  to  Haworth's  account  for  the  details  of  "the  entertainment,"  as  the  bath  is  termed. 

On  the  east  side  of  the  Bagnio  fronting  the  street,  is  "  The  Duke's  Bagnio  Coffee- 
house." A  great  gate  opens  into  a  courtyard,  for  coaches.  In  this  courtyard  is  visible 
the  front  of  the  Bagnio,  having  this  inscription  upon  it  in  golden  letters,  upon  a  carved 
stone  : — "  The  Duke's  Bagnio."  On  the  left  of  the  yard  is  a  building  for  the  accom- 
modation required  for  the  bath,  on  the  outside  of  which  is  inscribed  in  like  manner — 
"  The  Duke's  Bath."  The  building  is  about  42  feet  broad,  21  feet  deep,  and  three 
stories  high.  There  is  on  the  lower  story  a  room  for  a  laboratory,  in  which  are  chemic 
furnaces,  glasses,  and  other  instruments  necessary  for  making  the  bath  waters.  On 
the  accession  of  the  Duke  of  York  to  the  throne,  the  Baths  were  improved,  and  re- 
opened, under  the  name  of  the  "  King's  Bagnio,"  in  1686,  by  Leonard  Cuuditt,  who, 
in  his  advertisement,  says — "There  is  no  other  Bagnio  in  or  about  London  besides  this 
and  the  Royal  Bagnio  in  the  City."  This,  Malcolm  supposes,  was  in  allusion  to  the 
Bagnio  we  shall  next  describe,  which  seems  to  have  been  the  first  we  had  in  the  capital. 

The  Bagnio,  in  Bagnio-court  (altered  to  Bath-street  in  1843),  Newgate-street,  was 
built  by  Turkish  merchants,  and  first  opened  in  December,  1679,  for  sweating,  hot 
bathing,  and  cupping.  It  has  a  cupola  roof,  marble  steps,  and  Dutch  tile  walls,  and 
was  latterly  used  as  a  cold  Bath. 


BATHS,   OLDEN.  3£ 


Queen  Anne's  Bath  was  at  the  Lack  of  the  house  No.  3,  Endell-street,  Long-acre,  on 
the  west  side  of  the  street.  It  has  been  converted  into  a  wareroom  by  an  iron- 
monger whose  shop  is  in  the  front  of  the  premises.  The  part  occupied  by  the  water 
has  been  boarded  over,  leaving  some  of  the  Dutch  tiles  which  line  the  sides  of  the 
Bath  visible.  The  water,  which  flows  from  a  copious  spring,  is  a  powerful  tonic,  and 
contains  a  considerable  trace  of  iron.  Thirty  years  ago  it  was  much  used  in  the 
neighbourhood,  when  it  was  considered  good  for  rheumatism  and  other  disorders.  The 
house  in  which  the  Bath  is  situate  was  -formerly  No.  3,  Old  Belton-street :  it  was 
newly-fronted  in  1845  ;  the  exterior  had  originally  red  brick  pilasters,  and  a  cornice,  in 
the  style  of  Inigo  Jones.  It  does  not  seem  clear  how  this  place  obtained  the  name  of 
Queen  Anne's  Bath.  It  might  be  supposed  that  this  had  been  a  portion  of  the  King's 
Bagnio.  Old  maps  of  London,  however,  show  this  could  scarcely  be  correct,  for  the 
Duke's,  afterwards  the  King's  Bagnio  was  on  the  south  side  of  Long-acre,  and  the 
above  Bath  is  about  a  hundred  yards  to  the  north  of  that  thoroughfare.  "  Queen 
Anne's  Bath"  is  engraved  from  a  recent  sketch  in  the  Builder,  Oct.  12,  1861 ;  whence 
the  preceding  details  of  the  three  Baths  are  abridged. 

The  Summums,  in  Covent-garden,  now  an  hotel,  with  baths,  was  formerly  "a 
Bagnio,  or  Place  for  Sweating ;"  in  Arabic  "  Hammam."  Malcolm  says :  "  The  Arabic 
root  hatna,  [+>.,  signifies  calescere,  to  grow  warm  :  hence  by  the  usual  process  of  deriv- 
ing nouns  from  verbs  in  that  language,  hummum,  *♦»,  a  warm  bath.     They  are  known 

by  that  name  all  over  the  East."  The  Bagnio  at  the  hot  Baths  at  Sophia,  in  Turkey, 
is  thus  described  by  Lady  Mary  Wortley  Montague,  in  her  Letters,  vol.  i.,  and  probably 
her  description  suggested  the  name  of  the  Old  and  New  Hummums :" — 

"  It  is  built  of  stone,  in  the  shape  of  a  dome,  with  no  window  but  in  the  roof,  which  gives  light 
enough.  There  are  live  of  these  domes  joined  together ;  the  outermost  being  less  than  the  rest,  and 
serving  as  a  hall,  where  the  portress  stood  at  the  door.  Ladies  of  quality  generally  gave  this  woman  a 
crown  or  ten  shillings.  The  next  room  was  a  large  one,  paved  with  marble,  and  all  round  it  are  two 
raised  sofas  of  marble,  one  above  the  other.  There  were  four  fountains  of  cold  water  in  this  room, 
falling  first  into  marble  basins,  and  then  running  on  the  floor  in  little  channels  cut  for  that  purpose, 
which  carried  the  streams  into  the  next  room,  which  is  something  less,  and  fitted  with  the  same  sort  of 
marble  sofas;  but  from  the  streams  of  sulphur  proceeding  from  the  bath  adjoining  to  it,  it  is  impossible 
to  stay  with  one's  clothes  on.  Through  the  other  two  doors  were  the  hot  baths;  one  of  which  had 
cocks  of  cold  water  turned  into  it — tempering  it  to  what  degree  of  warmth  the  bather  please  to  have." 

Queen  Elizabeth's  Bath  formerly  stood  among  a  cluster  of  old  buildings  adjoining  the 
King's  Mews,  at  Charing  Cross,  and  was  removed  in  1831.  Of  this  Bath  a  plan  and 
view  were  presented  to  the  Society  of  Antiquaries,  Feb.  9,  1832,  and  are  engraved  in 
the  Archaologia,  xxv.  588-90.  The  building  was  nearly  square  on  the  plan,  and  was 
constructed  of  fine  red  brick.  Its  chief  merit  consisted  in  its  groined  roof,  which  was 
of  very  neat  workmanship,  and  formed  by  angular  ribs  springing  from  corbels.  The 
form  of  the  arch  denoted  the  date  of  this  building  to  be  the  fifteenth  century. 

The  Floating  Baths  (of  which  there  were  two  in  our  day)  upon  the  Thames,  in  plan 
remind  one  of  the  Folly  described  by  Tom  Brown  as  a  "  musical  summer-house," 
usually  anchored  opposite  Somerset  House  Gardens.  The  Queen  of  William  III.  and 
her  court  once  visited  it ;  but  it  became  a  scene  of  low  debauchery,  and  the  bath  build- 
ing was  left  to  decay,  and  be  taken  away  for  firewood. 

The  Turkish  Bath,  which  closely  resembles  the  Bath  of  the  old  Romans,  was 
introduced  into  Ireland  and  England  in  1856 :  and  in  London  handsome  baths 
were  erected  in  Victoria-street,  Westminster;  these  were  taken  down  in  1855-6. 
The  most  extensive  establishment  of  this  class  in  London  is  the  Hammam,  or  hot-air 
Bath,  opened  in  1862,  No.  76,  Jermyn-street,  St.  James's,  and  formed  under  the 
superintendence  of  Mr.  David  TJrquhart  ;  its  cost  is  stated  at  6000?. ;  the  architecture 
is  from  Eastern  sources. 

Baths  and  Wash-houses,  for  the  working  classes,  originated  in  1844,  with  an 
"  Association  for  Promoting  Cleanliness  among  the  Poor,"  who  fitted  up  a  Bath-house 
and  a  Laundry  in  Glass-house  Yard,  East  Smithfield ;  where,  in  the  year  ending  June 
1847,  the  bathers,  washers,  and  ironers  amounted  to  81,584;  the  bathers  and  washers 
costing  about  one  penny  each,  and  the  ironers  about  one  farthing.  The  Association 
also  gave  whitewash,  and  lent  pails  and  brushes,  to  those  willing  to  cleanse  their  own 
wretched  dwellings.     And  so  strong  was  the  love  of  cleanliness  thus  encouraged,  that 


40  CUBIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

women  often  toiled  to  wash  their  own  and  their  children's  clothing,  who  had  been  com- 
pelled to  sell  their  hair  to  purchase  food  to  satisfy  the  cravings  of  hunger.  This 
successful  experiment  led  to  the  passing  of  an  Act  of  Parliament  (9  and  10  Vict.  c.  74), 
"  To  Encourage  the  Establishment  of  Paths  and  Wash-houses."  A  Committee  sat  at 
Exeter  Hall  for  the  same  object ;  a  Model  Establishment  was  built  in  Goulston- square, 
Whitechapel ;  and  Baths  and  Wash-houses  were  established  in  St.  Pancras,  Maryle- 
bone,  St.  Martin-in-the-Fields,  and  other  large  metropolitan  parishes. 

BAYNARB'S  CASTLE. 

A  STRONGHOLD,  "  built  with  walls  and  rampires,"  on  the  banks  of  the  Thames 
below  St.  Paul's,  by  Bainiardus,  a  follower  of  William  the  Conqueror.  In  1111 
it  was  forfeited,  and  granted  by  Henry  I.  to  Robert  Fitzgerald,  son  of  Gilbert,  Earl  of 
Clare;  from  whom  it  passed,  by  several  descents,  to  the  Fitzwalters  (the  chief  ban- 
nerets of  London,  probably  in  fee  for  this  castle),  one  of  whom,  at  the  commencement 
of  a  war,  was  bound  to  appear  at  the  west  door  of  St.  Paul's,  armed  and  mounted, 
with  twenty  attendants,  and  there  receive  from  the  Mayor  the  banner  of  the  City,  a 
horse  worth  20/.,  and  20Z.  in  money.  In  1428,  the  castle  became,  probably  by 
another  forfeiture,  crown  property ;  it  was  almost  entirely  burnt,  but  was  granted  to 
Humphrey,  Duke  of  Gloucester,  by  whom  it  was  rebuilt ;  upon  his  attainder,  it  again 
reverted  to  the  Crown.  Here  Stafford,  Duke  of  Buckingham,  presented  to  Richard, 
Duke  of  Gloucester,  a  parchment  purporting  to  be  a  declaration  of  the  three  estates  in 
favour  of  Richard;  and  in  the  "Court  of  Baynard's  Castle"  Shakspeare  has  laid 
scenes  3  and  7,  act  hi.,  of  King  Richard  III. ;  the  latter  between  Buckingham,  the 
Mayor,  Aldermen,  and  citizens,  and  Gloucester.  Baynard's  Castle  was  repaired  by 
Henry  VII.,  and  used  as  a  royal  palace  until  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  when  it 
was  let  to  the  Earls  of  Pembroke;  and  here,  in  1553,  the  Privy  Council,  "changing 
their  mind  from  Lady  Jane,"  proclaimed  Queen  Mary.  The  castle  subsequently 
became  the  residence  of  the  Earls  of  Shrewsbury.  Pepys  records  King  Charles  II. 
supping  here,  19th  June,  1660 ;  and  six  years  after  the  castle  was  destroyed  in  the 
Great  Fire.  The  buildings  surrounded  two  court-yards,  with  the  south  front  to  the 
Thames,  and  the  north  in  Thames-street,  where  was  the  principal  entrance.  '  Two  of 
the  towers,  incorporated  with  other  buildings,  remained  till  the  present  century,  when 
they  were  pulled  down  to  make  way  for  the  Carron  Iron  Company's  premises.  The 
ward  in  which  stood  the  fortress-palace  is  named  Castle-Baynard,  as  is  also  a  wharf 
upon  the  site ;  and  a  public-house  in  the  neighbourhood  long  bore  the  sign  of  "  Duke 
Humphrey's  Head." 

In  Notes  and  Queries,  No.  11,  it  is  shown  that  Bainiardus,  who  gave  his  name  to 
Baynard's  Castle,  held  land  here  of  the  Abbot  of  Westminster ;  and  in  a  grant  of  1G53 
is  described  "  the  common  field  at  Paddington"  (now  Bayswater  Field),  as  being  "  near 
to  a  place  commonly  called  Baynard's  Watering."  Hence  it  is  concluded  "  that  this 
portion  of  ground,  always  remarkable  for  its  springs  of  excellent  water,  once  supplied 
water  to  Baynard,  his  household,  or  his  castle ;  that  the  memory  of  his  name  was  pre- 
served in  the  neighbourhood  for  six  centuries ;"  and  that  this  watering-place  is  now 
Bayswater. 

BAZAARS. 

THE  Bazaar  is  an  adaptation  from  the  East,  the  true  principle  of  which  is  the  classifi- 
cation of  trades.  Thus,  Paternoster-row,  with  its  books;  Newport  Market,  with 
its  butchers'  shops;  and  Monmouth-street  with  its  shoes;  are  more  properly  Bazaars 
than  the  miscellaneous  stalls  assembled  under  cover,  which  are  in  London  designated  by 
this  name.  Exeter  'Change  was  a  great  cutlery  bazaar ;  and  the  row  of  attorneys' 
shops  in  the  Lord  Mayor's  Court  Office,  in  the  second  Royal  Exchange,  were  a  kind  of 
legal  Bazaar,  the  name  of  each  attorney  being  inscribed  upon  a  projecting  signboard. 
The  Crystal  Palace  of  1851,  and  the  Great  Exhibition  of  1862,  were  vast  assemblages 
of  Bazaars.     The  Crystal  Palace  at  Sydenham  partakes  of  this  character. 

The  introduction  of  the  Bazaar  into  the  metropolis  dates  from  1816,  when  was 
opened  the  Soho  Bazaar,  at  4,  5,  and  6,  Soho-square.     It  was  planned  solely  by  Mr. 


BAZAARS.  41 


John  Trotter,  with  a  truly  benevolent  motive.  At  the  termination  of  the  War,  when 
a  great  number  of  widows,  orphans,  and  relatives  of  those  who  had  lost  their  lives 
on  foreign  service  were  in  distress  and  without  employment,  Mr.  Trotter  conceived  that 
an  establishment  in  the  hands  of  Government  would  promote  the  views  of  the  respect- 
able and  industrious  (possessing  but  small  means)  by  affording  them  advantages  to 
begin  business  without  great  risk  and  outlay  of  capital.  Mr.  Trotter  having  at  that 
time  an  extensive  range  of  premises  unoccupied,  without  any  idea  of  personal  emolu- 
ment, offered  them  to  Government,  free  of  expense,  for  several  years,  engaging  also  to 
undertake  their  direction  and  management  on  the  same  disinterested  terms.  His 
scheme  was,  however,  considered  visionary,  and  his  offer  rejected.  Mr.  Trotter  then 
undertook  the  responsibility  himself;  the  Bazaar  was  opened  1st  February,  1816,  and 
by  excellent  management,  the  establishment  has  since  nourished ;  this  success  being 
mainly  attributable  to  the  selection  of  persons  of  respectability  as  its  inmates,  for  whose 
protection  an  efficient  superintendence  of  several  matrons  is  provided.  The  counters 
are  mostly  for  fancy  goods,  and  to  obtain  a  tenancy  requires  a  testimonial  respectably 
signed.  The  success  of  the  Soho  Bazaar  led  to  establishments  formed  by  private 
individuals,  but  with  only  temporary  success. 

The  Western  Exchange,  Old  Bond-street  (with  an  entrance  from  the  Burlington 
Arcade),  was  burnt  down,  and  not  re-established. 

The  Queen's  Bazaar,  on  the  north  side  of  Oxford-street,  the  rear  in  Castle-street, 
was  destroyed,  May  23,  1829,  by  a  fire  which  commenced  at  a  dioramic  exhibition  of 
"the  Destruction  of  York  Minster  by  fire."  The  Bazaar  was  rebuilt;  but  proving 
unsuccessful,  was  taken  down,  and  upon  the  site  was  built  the  Princess'  Theatre. 

The  Pantheon  Bazaar,  on  the  south  side  of  Oxford-street,  with  an  entrance  in 
Great  Marlborough-street,  was  constructed  in  1834,  from  the  designs  of  Sydney  Smirke, 
A.R.A.,  within  the  walls  of  the  Pantheon  Theatre,  built  in  1812 ;  the  fronts  to  Oxford- 
street  and  Poland-street  being  the  only  remains  of  the  original  structure.  The  mag- 
nificent staircase  leads  to  a  suite  of  rooms,  in  which  pictures  are  placed  for  sale ;  and 
thence  to  the  great  Basilical  Hall  or  Bazaar,  which  is  116  feet  long,  8S  feet  wide,  and 
60  feet  high  ;  it  is  mostly  lighted  from  curved  windows  in  the  roof,  which  is  richly 
decorated,  as  are  the  piers  of  the  arcades,  with  arabesque  scrolls  of  flowers,  fruit,  and 
birds ;  the  ornaments  of  papier-mache  by  Bielefield.  The  style  of  decoration  is  from 
the  loggias  of  the  Vatican.  The  galleries  and  the  floor  are  laid  out  with  counters,  and 
promenades  between.  From  the  southern  end  of  the  hall  is  the  entrance  to  an  elegant 
conservatory  and  aviary,  mostly  of  glass,  ornamented  in  Saracenic  style.  Here  are  birds 
of  rich  plumage,  with  luxuriant  plants,  which,  with  the  profusion  of  marble,  gilding, 
and  colour,  have  a  very  pleasing  effect  in  the  heart  of  the  smoky  town. 

The  Bazaar  in  Baker-street,  Portman-square,  was  originally  established  for  the 
sale  of  horses;  but  carriages,  harness,  furniture,  stoves,  and  glass  are  the  commodities 
now  sold  here.  Madame  Tussaud's  Wax-work  Exhibition  occupies  the  greater  part ; 
and  here,  annually,  in  December,  the  Smithfield  Club  Cattle  Show  formerly  took  place. 

The  Pantechnicon,  Halkin-street,  Belgrave- square,  is  a  Bazaar  chiefly  for  carriages 
and  furniture.  Here,  too,  you  may  warehouse  furniture,  wine,  pictures,  and  carriages, 
for  any  period,  at  a  light  charge  compared  with  house-rent. 

The  Lowther  Bazaar,  nearly  opposite  the  Lowther  Arcade,  Strand,  was  a  reposi- 
tory of  fancy  goods,  besides  a  "  Magic  Cave,"  and  other  exhibitions.  The  establish- 
ment was  frequently  visited  by  Louis  Philippe  from  1848  to  1850.  The  Magic  Cave, 
with  its  cosmoramic  pictures,  realized  1500^.  per  annum,  at  6d.  for  each  admission. 
This  and  the  house  adjoining,  eastward,  have  fronts  of  tasteful  architectural  design. 

St.  James's  Bazaar,  King-street,  St.  James's-street,  was  built  for  Mr.  Crockford, 
in  1832,  and  has  a  saloon  nearly  200  feet  long  by  40  wide.  Here  were  exhibited,  in 
1841,  three  dioramic  tableaux  of  the  second  obsequies  of  Napoleon,  in  Paris,  at  Decem- 
ber, 1841.  And  in  1844  took  place  here  the  first  exhibition  of  Decorative  Works  for 
the  New  Houses  of  Parliament. 

The  Cosjiorama,  No.  207-209,  Regent-street,  originally  an  exhibition  of  views  of 


> 


42  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

places  through  large  convex  lenses,  was  altered    into   a  Bazaar,    subsequently,   the 
Prince  of  Wales's  Bazaar. 

The  Anti-Coen-Law  League  Bazaab  was  held  in  the  spring  of  1845,  when  the 
auditory  and  stage  of  Covent-garden  Theatre  were  fitted  up  for  this  purpose,  and  in  six 
weeks  25,000Z.  was  cleared  by  the  speculation,  partly  by  admission-money.  The 
Theatre  was  painted  as  a  vast  Tudor  Hall,  by  Messrs.  Grieve,  and  illuminated  with  gas 
in  the  day-time ;  the  goods  being  exhibited  for  sale  on  stalls,  appropriated  to  the  great 
manufacturing  localities  of  the  United  Kingdom.  At  this  time  the  Theatre  was  let 
to  the  League  at  3000  guineas  for  the  term  of  holding  the  Bazaar,  and  one  night  per 
week  for  public  meetings  throughout  one  year. 

The  Pobtland  Bazaab,  19,  Langham-place,  is  noted  for  its  "  German  Fair,"  aud 
its  display  of  cleverly-modelled  toy  figures  of  animals. 

SUG  GABS. 

BEGGING,  although  illegal,  and  forbidden  by  one  of  our  latest  statutes,  is  followed 
as  a  trade  in  the  metropolis,  perhaps  more  systematically  than  in  any  other 
European  capital.  It  has  been  stated  that  the  number  of  professional  Beggars  in  and 
about  London  amounts  to  15,000,  more  than  two-thirds  of  whom  are  Irish. 

The  vigilance  of  the  Police,  and  the  exposure  of  Beggars'  frauds  by  the  press  and 
upon  the  stage  (from  the  Beggars  Opera  to  Tom  and  Jerry),  have  done  much  towards 
the  suppression  of  Begging.  The  Mendicity  Society,  in  Bed  Lion-square,  Holborn, 
established  in  1818,  has  also  moderated  the  evil  by  exposing  and  punishing  impostors, 
and  relieving  deserving  persons.  The  receipts  of  this  institution  are  upwards  of  4000Z. 
a  year.  In  one  day  it  has  distributed  3300  meals.  The  Society  has  a  mill,  stone- 
yard,  and  oakum-room,  in  which,  during  one  day,  there  have  been  employed  763 
persons,  who  would  otherwise  have  been  begging  in  the  streets.  A  record  is  kept  of 
all  begging-letter  cases,  from  which  police-magistrates  obtain  information  as  to  the 
character  of  persons  brought  before  them.     There  are  other  societies  for  similar  objects. 

Sir  John  Fielding,  in  his  "  Cautions,"  published  in  1776,  gives  a  curious  picture  of 
the  Sky  Farmers  who  imposed  upon  the  benevolent,  as  "  good  old  charitable  ladies," 
with  dreadful  stories  of  losses  by  fire,  inundations,  &c.,  for  which  the  cheats  collected 
subscriptions  entered  in  a  book,  setting  out  with  false  names.     Sir  John  says : — 

There  are  persons  in  this  town  who  get  a  very  good  livelihood  by  writing  letters  and  petitions  of  this 
stamp.  A  woman  stuffed  up  as  if  she  was  ready  to  lie  in,  with  two  or  three  borrowed  children  and  a 
letter,  giving  an  account  of  her  husband's  falling  off  a  scaffold  and  breaking  his  limbs,  by  being  drowned 
at  sea,  is  an  irresistible  object. 

Many  years  ago,  there  died  in  Broad-street  Buildings,  aged  81,  John  Yardley 
Vernon,  who  wore  in  the  streets  the  garb  of  a  beggar,  though  he  possessed  100,000^., . 
which  he  realized  as  a  stockbroker. 

Mr.  Henry  Mayhew  has  given  us  the  fullest  report  of  the  Beggar-life  of  our  time  : 
which  has  been  supplemented  by  Mr.  Halliday :  all  tending  to  prove  that  indiscrimi- 
nate relief  of  street-beggars  is  most  delusive  and  dangerous.    . 

With  the  ordinary  types  of  "  disaster  beggars,"  such  as  shipwrecked  mariners,  blown-up  miners — 
"  those  having  real  or  pretended  sores  vulgarly  known  as  the  scaldman  dodge,"  we  are  all  familiar. 
But  there  are  oddities  and  niceties  even  in  this  humble  department  of  the  Begging  art.  There  are, 
for  instance,  the  lucifer  droppers.  The  business  of  these  persons  is  to  take  a  box  or  two  of  lucifers,  and 
offer  them  for  sale  at  a  crowded  and  dirty  corner.  They  choose  a  victim,  and  contrive  to  get  in  his  way. 
Down  go  the  lucifers  in  the  mud,  and  the  professional  sets  up  a  piteous  howl.  The  gentleman  is 
ashamed  of  having  done  so  much  mischief,  and  to  quiet  the  complainant,  who  is  generally  of  the  softer 
sex,  he  gives  her  many  times  the  worth  of  her  dropped  lucifers.  "  Famished  Beggars  "  seem  highly 
successful  in  their  own  line,  but  their  success  demands  the  natural  advantages  of  a  corpse-like  face,  an 
emaciated  frame,  and  a  power  of  enduring  the  winter's  cold  in  rags.  Among  those  endowed  with  these 
requisites,  the  more  accomplished  performers  have  invented  many  ingenious  subtleties.  One  device  is 
the  "  choking  dodge."  The  famished  beggar  seizes  on  a  crust  and  eagerly  devours  it ;  but  he  has  been 
too  long  without  food — he  tries  in  vain  to  swallow  it,  and  it  sticks  in  his  throat.  Another  device  is  that 
of  the  "  offal-eaters."  These  people  decline  absolutely  to  eat  anything  but  what  they  find  in  the  gutters. 
When  we  hear  of  all  the  trouble  and  ingenuity  that  is  expended  in  deceiving  us,  we  may  well  feel  inclined 
to  ask,  as  a  beggar  was  once  asked,  "  Don't  you  think  you  would  have  found  it  more  profitable  had  you 
taken  to  labour  or  to  some  honester  calling  than  your  present  one  ?"  But  the  candid  answer  returned 
is  suggestive.  "  Well,  sir,  p'raps  I  might,"  he  replied  j  "but  going  on  the  square  is  so  dreadfully  con- 
fining."— Saturday  Bevieto,  1862. 


BELGBAVIA— BELLS  AND   CHIMES.  43 


BELGBAVIA 

WAS  originally  applied  as  a  sobriquet  /to  Belgrave  and  Eaton  Squares  and  the 
radiating  streets,  but  is  now  received  as  the  legitimate  name  of  this  aristocratic 
quarter.  In  1824,  its  site  was  "  the  Five  Fields,"  intersected  by  mud-banks,  and  occu- 
pied by  a  few  sheds.  The  clayey  swamp  retained  so  much  water,  that  no  one  would 
build  there ;  and  the  "  Fields "  were  the  terror  of  foot-passengers  proceeding  from 
London  to  Chelsea  after  nightfall.  At  length,  Mr.  Thomas  Cubitt  found  the  strata  to  con- 
sist of  gravel  and  clay,  of  considerable  depth :  the  clay  he  removed,  and  burned  into  bricks; 
and  by  building  upon  the  substratum  of  gravel,  he  converted  this  spot  from  the  most 
unhealthy  to  one  of  the  most  healthy,  to  the  immense  advantage  of  the  ground-land- 
lord and  the  whole  metropolis.  This  is  one  of  the  most  perfect  adaptations  of  the 
means  to  the  end  to  be  found  in  the  records  of  the  building  art.  In  1829,  the  same 
land,  consisting  of  about  140  acres,  was  nearly  covered  with  first  and  second  class 
houses,  the  nucleus  being  Belgrave-square,  designed  by  George  Basevij  the  detached 
mansions,  at  the  angles,  by  Hardwick,  Kendall,  and  others ;  the  area,  originally  a 
nursery  garden,  about  ten  acres.  The  level  is  low ;  for  it  has  been  ascertained  that  the 
ground-floor  of  Westbourne-terrace,  Hyde  Park  Gardens,  70  feet  above  the  Thames 
high-water  mark,  is  on  a  level  with  the  attics  of  Eaton  and  Belgrave  Squares.  Yet 
Chelsea  acquired  a  proverbial  salubrity  in  the  last  century  by  Doctors  Arbuthnot, 
Sloane,  Mead,  and  Cadogan  residing  there. 

Mr.  Thomas  Cubitt,  who  died  in  1856,  was,  in  his  nineteenth  year,  working  as  a  journeyman  car- 
penter; he  then  took  one  voyage  to  India  and  back  as  captain's  joiner,  and  on  his  return  to  London 
with  his  savings,  commenced  business  in  the  metropolis  as  a  carpenter.  In  about  six  years,  upon  a  tract 
of  ground  in  Gray's  Inn-road,  he  erected  large  workshops.  About  1824,  he  engaged  with  the  Duke  of 
Bedford  and  Lord  Southampton  for  the  ground  on  which  Tavistock-square  and  Gordon-square,  with 
Woburn-place,  and  adjoining  streets,  now  stand.  In  the  same  year  he  engaged  witli  the  Marquis  of  West- 
minster and  Mr.  Lowndes,  to  cover  large  portions  of  "  the  Five  Fields,"  and  ground  adjacent :  the  results 
are  Belgrave-square,  Lowndes-square,  Chesham-place,  and  other  ranges  of  houses.  He  subsequently 
engaged  to  cover  the  vast  open  district  lying  between  Eaton-square  and  the  Thames,  now  South  Bel- 
gravia.  His  works  and  establishment  were  at  Thames  Bank :  they  were  destroyed  by  fire,  by 
which  Mr.  Cubitt  lost  30,0007. ;  when  he  was  apprised  of  the  calamity,  his  noble  reply  was,  "  Tell  the 
men  they  shall  be  at  work  within  a  week,  and  I  will  subscribe  6CKM.  towards  buying  them  new  tools." 
His  large  engagements  as  to  Belgrave-square,  begun  in  1825,  hadjust  been  completed  in  the  year  of  liis 
death;  and  his  own  dwelling-house  at  Denbies,  in  which  he  died,  had  only  been  just  finished,  as  the 
future  residence  of  his  family.  His  portrait  has  been  painted  and  engraved.  He  had  two  brothers, 
Alderman  Cubitt,  twice  Lord  Mayor';  and  Lewis  Cubitt,  the  eminent  engineer,  architect  of  the  Great 
Northern  Railway  Terminus. — Memoir  in  the  Builder,  1856. 

BULLS  AND  CHIMES. 

THE  histories  of  the  various  peals  of  Bells  in  the  metropolis,  and  the  Societies  by 
which  their  ringing  has  been  reduced  to  scientific  standards  are  interesting. 
Commencing  from  the  Conquest,  we  have 

The  Curfew. — Although  the  Couvrefeu  law  was  abolished  by  Henry  I.,  who  restored 
the  use  of  lamps  and  candles  at  night  after  the  ringing  of  the  Curfew-bell,  which  had 
been  prohibited  by  his  predecessors  (Will.  Malmesb.,  fol.  88),  yet  the  custom  of  ringing 
the  bell  long  continued ;  and  in  certain  parishes  of  the  metropolis,  and  in  some  parts 
of  the  country,  to  the  present  time, 

"The  curfew  tolls  the  knell  of  parting  day." 

Among  the  charges  directed  for  the  wardmote  inquests  of  London,  in  the  second 
mayoralty  of  Sir  Henry  Colet  (a.d.  1495),  it  is  said :  "  Also  yf  there  be  anye  paryshe 
clerke  that  ryngeth  curfewe  after  the  curfewe  be  ronge  at  Bowe  Chyrche,  or  Saint 
Brydes  Chyrche,  or  Saint  Gyles  without  Cripelgat,  all  suche  to  be  presented." 
(Knight's  Life  of  Lean  Colet).     The  same  charge  is  in  the  wardmote  inquest  1649. 

"  The  church  of  St.  Martin's-le-Grand,  with  those  of  Bow,  St.  Giles's,  Cripplegate,  and  Barkin,  had 
its  Curfew-bell  long  after  the  servile  injunction  laid  on  the  Londoners  had  ceased.  These  were  sounded 
to  give  notice  to  the  inhabitants  of  those  districts  to  keep  within,  and  not  to  wander  in  the  streets; 
which  were  infested  by  a  set  of  ruffians,  who  made  a  practice  of  insulting,  wounding,  robbing,  and 
murdering  the  people  whom  they  happened  to  meet  abroad  during  the  night." — Strype's  Stow,  v.  L 
book  iii.  p.  106. 

"The  Couvre-few  is  still  rung,  at  eight  o'clock,  at  St.  Edmund  the  King,  Lombard-street.  At 
Bishopsgate  (St.  Botolph's) ;  St.  Leonard's,  Shoreditch;  Christchurch,  Spitalfields;  St.  Michael's, 
Queenhithe;  St.  Mildred's,  Bread -street  ;*  St.  Antholin's,  Budge-row  ;  and  in  some  other  City  churches, 

*  The  bell  at  this  church  was  silenced  by  order  of  vestry,  December,  1847. 


<& 


U  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

there  are  bells,  which  are  popularly  known  as  the  couvre-feu,  but  some  of  which  are  really,  I  believe 
prayer-bells. 

"On  the  southern  side  of  the  Thames,  the  couvre-feu  was,  till  within  these  six  or  seven  years,  nightly 
rung  at  St.  George's  Church,  Borough."— Mr.  Syer  Cuming  :  Proceedings  of  the  British  Archceologieal 
Association,  April  12,  1848.  * 

•  Mr.  Cuming  also  states  that  at  St.  Peter's  Hospital,  Newington  (the  Fishmongers' 

Almshouses,  taken  down  in  1851),  there  was  "  a  hell  rung  every  evening  from  eight 

o'clock  till  nine,  which  the  old  parishioners  were  wont  to  denominate  the  couvre-feu  ; 

hut  it  is  now  said  that  this  was  rung  to  warn  all  strangers  from  the  premises,  and  the 

almspeople  to  their  several  apartments." 

The  Curfew  was  not  always  rung  at  eight  o'clock,  for  the  sexton  in  the  old  play  of 

the  Merry  Devil  of  Edmonton  (4to.  1631)  says  : — 

"  Well,  'tis  nine  a  cloke,  'tis  time  to  ring  curfew." 

The  Curfew-hell,  strictly  as  such,  had  prohahly  fallen  into  disuse  previous  to  the   time 

of  Shakspeare,  who,  in  Romeo  and  Juliet,  applies  the  term  to  the  morning  hell : — 

"  The  second  cock  hath  crow'd, 
The  curfew-bell  has  rung,  'tis  three  o'clock." 

At  Charterhouse,  the  Chapel-hell  (which  hears  the  arms  and  initials  of  Thomas 
Sutton,  the  founder,  and  the  date  1631)  is  rung  at  eight  and  nine  to  warn  the  absent 
pensioner  of  the  approaching  hour ;  and  this  practice  is,  we  think,  erroneously  adduced 
as  a  relic  of  Curfew-ringing. 

"  There  is  one  peculiarity  attached  to  the  ringing,  which  is  calculated  to  serve  the  office  of  the 
ordinary  passing-bell ;  and  that  is  the  number  of  strokes,  which  must  correspond  with  the  number  of 
pensioners.  So  that  when  a  brother-pensioner  has  deceased,  his  companions  are  informed  of  their 
loss  by  one  stroke  of  the  bell  less  than  on  the  preceding  evening." — Chronicles  of  Charterhouse,  p.  l->0. 

The  Couvre-feu  formerly  in  the  collection  of  the  Rev.  Mr.  Gostling,  and  so  often  engraved,  passed 
into  the  possession  of  Horace  Walpole,  and  was  sold  at  Strawberry  Hill,  in  1842,  to  Mr.  William  Knight. 
It  is  of  copper,  riveted  together,  and  in  general  form  resembles  the  "  Dutch-oven"  of  the  present  day. 
It  is  stated  to  have  been  used  for  extinguishing  a  fire,  by  raking  the  wood  and  embers  to  the  back  of 
the  hearth,  and  then  placing  the  open  part  of  the  couvre-feu  close  against  the  back  of  the  chimney.  In 
February,  1842,  Mr.  Syer  Cuming  purchased  of  a  curiosity-dealer  in  Chancery-lane  a  couvre-feu  closely 
resembling  Mr.  Gostling's;  and  Mr.  Cuming  considers  both  specimens  to  be  of  the  same  age,  of  the 
close  of  the  loth  or  early  part  of  the  16th  century;  whereas  Mr.  Gostling's  specimen  was  stated  to  bo 
of  the  Norman  period.  A  third  example  of  the  couvre-feu  exists  in  the  Canterbury  Museum.  Another 
Couvre-feu  was  sold  by  Messrs.  Foster,  in  Pall  Mall,  April  11, I860;  reputed  date  1068. 

The  Bell  of  the  Clochard,  or  Bell-tower,  of  the  ancient  Palace  at  Westminster 
had  a  curious  destination.  Although  we  find  the  details  of  building  the  tower,  by  King 
Edward  III.,  we  find  nothing  respecting  the  construction  or  even  placing  of  the  clock, 
or  the  casting  of  not  one,  but  three  bells ;  but  bell-ropes  and  a  vice  or  engine  are 
mentioned.  In  later  accounts  (Henry  VI.)  we,  however,  have  the  expense  of  maintain- 
ing the  clock  and  bells,  for  the  superintendence  of  which  Thomas  Clockmaker  received 
13s.  Ad.  a  year  as  his  salary ;  he  was  but  a  subordinate  officer ;  the  account  being 
rendered  by  Agnes  de  la  Van,  the  wife  of  Jeffrey  de  la  Van,  who  was  himself  the 
deputy  of  John  Lenham,  who  is  designated  "  Custos  orologii  domini  Regis  infra  pala- 
tium  suum  Westmonasterio." — Rev.  J.  Hunter,  F.S.A. :  Archceologia,  xxxvii.  23. 

Aubrey,  in  his  Natural  History  of  Wiltshire,  ed.  Britton,  p.  102,  has  this  note : 
"  The  great  bell  at  Westminster,  in  the  Clockiar  at  the  New  Palace  Yard,  36,000  lib, 
weight.     *     *     It  was  given  by  Jo.  Montacute,  Earle  of  (Salisbury,  I  think).     Part 

of  the  inscription  is  thus,  so.  ' .,  annis  ab  acuto  monte  Johannis.' "     The 

three  clock-bells  when  taken  down,  however,  weighed  less  than  20,000  lb.  The  metal 
of  the  largest  bell  is  now  part  of  the  great  bell  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral. 

The  Gbeat  Bell  for  the  Westminster  Palace  Clock  was  cast  at  Norton,  near 
Stockton-on-Tees,  from  the  design  of  E.  B.  Denison,  Q.C.,  in  1856,  by  Warner  and 
Sons,  Cripplegate ;  its  metal  was  nearly  as  hard  as  spring-steel,  and  it  cracked  in  the 
sounding  at  Westminster,  before  it  was  attempted  to  be  raised.  It  was  then  broken 
into  pieces,  and  carted  away  to  Mears's  Foundry,  Whitechapel,  and  there  re-cast,  with 
2\  tons  less  metal ;  the  clapper  weighs  about  6  cwt. :  the  former  weighed  12  cwt.  It 
was  raised  Nov.  18,  1858 ;  weight  of  bell,  1\\  tons :  name,  "  St.  Stephen  j  "  note, 
nearer  the  true  E  natural  than  that  of  the  first  bell.  This  great  bell  having  cracked, 
the  clock  for  a  time  struck  the  quarters  on  the  four  qnarter-bells,  and  the  hour  also  on 
the  largest  of  them,  which  is  smaller,  but  more  powerful,  as  well  as  sweeter  in  tone, 
than  the  great  bell  of  St.  Paul's :  its  weight  is  4  tons.  The  great  or  hour  bell  has  been 
repaired,  and  is  now  in  use. 


BELLS  AND  CRIMES.  45 

St.  Paul's  Cathedral  has  four  bells, — one  in  the  northern,  and  three  in  the 
southern  or  clock -tower  :  the  former  is  tolled  for  prayer  three  times  a  day,  and  has  a 
clapper ;  butneither  of  the  four  can  be  raised  upon  end  and  rung,  as  other  church-bells. 
In  the  clock-tower  are  hung  two  bells  for  the  quarters,  and  above  them  is  hung  the 
Great  Bell,  on  gudgeons  or  axles,  on  which  it  moves  when  struck  by  the  hammer  of 
the  clock.  It  was  cast  principally  from  the  metal  of  a  bell  in  the  clock-tower  opposite 
Westminster  Hall  Gate,  which,  before  the  Reformation,  was  named  "  Edward  ;" 
subsequently  to  the  time  of  Henry  VIII.,  as  appears  by  two  lines  in  Eccles's  Glee,  it 
was  called  "Great  Tom,"  as  Gough  conjectures,  by  a  corruption  of  grand  ton, 
from  its  deep,  sonorous  tone.  On  August  1,  1698,  the  clochard,  or  tower,  was  granted 
by  William  III.  to  St.  Margaret's  parish,  and  was  taken  down:  when  the  bell  was 
found  to  weigh  82  cwt.  2  qrs.  21  lbs.,  and  was  bought  at  10c?.  per  lb.,  producing 
3S5£.  Vis.  6d.,  for  St.  Paul's.  While  being  conveyed  over  the  boundary  of  West- 
minster, under  Temple  Ear,  it  fell  from  the  carriage  ;  it  stood  under  a  shed  in  the 
Cathedral  Yard  for  some  years,  and  was  at  length  re-cast,  with  additional  metal, 
the  inscription  stating  it  to  have  been  "brought  from  the  ruins  of.  Westminster." 
It  was  cast  in  1709,  by  Richard  Phelps,  of  Whitechapel,  whose  successors  in  the 
foundry,  Charles  and  George  Mears,  state  the  dimensions,  &c,  as  follows : — "  Diameter, 
6  feet  9|  inches ;  height  to  top  of  crown,  6  feet  4^  inches ;  thickness  at  sound  bow, 
5^-  inches;  weight,  5  tons  4  cwt.  We  have  a  portion  of  the  agreement  made  between 
the  Dean  and  Chapter  of  St.  Paul's  and  Mr.  Phelps,  dated  July  8th,  1709,  it  which  it 
is  stipulated  that  the  hour-bell  and  quarters  should  be  delivered  at  the  Cathedral  by 
the  1st  of  October  in  the  same  year." 

"  The  key-note  (tonic)  or  sound  of  this  bell  is  A  flat  (perhaps  it  was  A  natural, 
agreeably  to  the  pitch  at  the  time  it  was  cast),  but  the  sound  heard  at  the  greatest 
distance  is  that  of  E  flat,  or  a  fifth  above  the  key-note ;  and  a  musical  ear,  when  close 
by,  can  perceive  several  harmonic  sounds." —  W.  Parry. 

The  Great  Bell  is  never  used,  except  for  the  striking  of  the  hour,  and  for  tolling  at 
the  deaths  and  funerals  of  any  of  the  Royal  Family,  the  Bishop  of  London,  the  Dean 
of  the  Cathedral;  and  the  Lord  Mayor,  should  he  die  in  his  mayoralty.  The  same 
hammer  which  strikes  the  hours  has  always  been  used  to  toll  the  bell,  on  the  occasion 
of  a  demise ;  but  the  sound  then  produced  is  not  so  loud  as  when  the  hour  is  struck, 
in  consequence  of  the  heavy  clock-weight  not  being  attached  when  the  bell  is  tolled, 
and  causing  the  hammer  to  strike  with  greater  force  than  by  manual  strength. 

It  was  the  Westminster  "  Great  Tom "  which  the  sentinel  on  duty  at  Windsor 
Castle,  during  the  reign  of  William  III.,  declared  to  have  struck  thirteen  instead  of 
twelve  times  at  midnight,  and  thus  cleared  himself  of  the  accusation  by  the  relief- 
guard  of  sleeping  upon  his  post.  The  story  is  told  of  St.  Paul's  Bell ;  but  the 
Cathedral  had  no  heavy  bell  until  the  above  grant  by  King  William,  who  died  in  1702 ; 
the  circumstance  is  thus  recorded  in  the  Public  Advertiser,  Friday,  June  22,  1770  :— 

"Mr.  John  Hatfield,  who  died  last  Monday  at  his  house  in  Glasshouse  Yard,  Aldersgate,  aged  102 
years,  was  a  soldier  in  the  reign  of  William  and  Mary,  and  the  person  who  was  tried  and  condemned  by 
a  court-martial  for  falling  asleep  on  his  duty  upon  the  Terrace  at  Windsor.  He  absolutely  denied  the 
charge  against  him,  and  solemnly  declared  that  he  heard  St.  Paul's  clock  strike  thirteen ;  the  truth  of 
which  was  much  doubted  by  the  court,  because  of  the  great  distance.  But  whilst  he  was  under  sentence 
of  death,  an  affidavit  was  made  by  several  persons,  that  the  clock  actually  did  strike  thirteen  instead  of 
twelve ;  whereupon  he  received  his  Majesty's  pardon." 

This  striking  thirteen,  instead  of  twelve,  is  mechanically  possible,  and  was  caused  by 
the  lifting-piece  holding  on  too  long. 

The  ancient  Societies  of  Bell-ringers  in  London,  called  "  College  Youths,"  "  Cumber- 
land Youths,"  &c,  it  is  very  probable,  are  relics  of  the  ancient  Guilds ;  for,  as  early  as 
the  time  of  Edward  the  Confessor,  there  was  in  Westminster  a  guild  of  ringers.  They 
were  re-organized  by  Henry  III.;  and  by  a  patent  roll  in  the  39th  year  of  his  reign, 
the  brethren  of  the  Guild  of  Westminster,  who  were  appointed  to  ring  the  great  bells 
there,  were  to  receive  annually  out  of  the  exchequer  100  shillings — 50  at  Easter  and  50 
at  Michaelmas — until  was  provided  the  like  sum  for  them  payable  out  of  lands  for  the 
said  ringing.  And  "that  the  brethren  and  their  successors  for  ever  enjoy  all  the 
privileges  and  free  customs  which  they  have  enjoyed  from  the  time  of  Edward  the  Con- 
fessor, to  the  date  of  these  presents." 

In  the  library  of  All  Souls',  Oxon,  is  a  manuscript  of  "  The  orders  agreed  upon  by 


46  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  company  exercising  the  arte  of  ringing,  knowne  and  called  hy  the  name  of  the 
Schollers  of  Cheapsyde,  in  London,  hegun  2nd  February,  1603."  This  MS.  contains 
the  names  of  all  the  members  down  to  the  year  1634.  After  this  date,  in  1637,  the 
Society  of  College  Youths  was  established  by  Lord  Brereton,  Sir  Cliff  Clifton,  and 
several  other  gentlemen,  for  the  practice  of  ringing.  They  used  to  ring  at  St. 
Martin's  Vintry,  on  College-hill,  near  Doctors'  Commons,  upon  a  peal  of  six  bells. 
This  church  was  burnt  in  the  Great  Fire  of  London,  and  never  rebuilt;  but  the 
Society  still  retains  the  name  derived  from  College-hill,  and  has  in  its  possession  a 
massive  silver  bell,  which  formed  the  top  of  the  staff  which  used  to  be  carried  by  the 
beadle  of  the  Society  when  the  members  attended  divine  service  at  Bow  Church,  on 
the  anniversary  of  its  foundation,  and  other  occasions ;  also  an  old  book,  in  which  the 
names  of  its  members  are  entered.  This  book  was  lost  at  the  time  of  the  Great  Fire, 
but  was  subsequently  recovered.  The  names  in  it  are  sufficient  to  show  that  ringing 
was  considered  an  amusement  worthy  of  nobles,  divines,  and  scholars.  Among  the 
notables  who  have  been  elected  members  are  the  Hon.  Robert  Cecil  (Marquis  of 
Salisbury),  Sir  John  Bolles  and  Sir  Watkin  W.  Wynne,  baronets ;  Sirs  Francis  Withins, 
Martin  Lomly;  Richard  Everard,  Henry  Tulse,  aldermen,  Richard  Atkins,  Henry 
Chauncey,  Thomas  Samnell,  Gilbert  Dolbin,  William  Culpeper ;  John  Tash,  alderman ; 
Henry  Hicks,  and  Watkin  Lewis,  knights. 

About  1700,  another  Society  was  formed,  which  was  called  "  The  London  Scholars." 
In  1746,  the  name  was  changed  to  the  present  title,  "  The  Cumberland  Youths,"  in 
consequence  of  the  great  victory  under  the  Duke  of  Cumberland,  at  the  battle  of 
Culloden  in  that  year.  The  London  Scholars  rang  the  bells  of  Shoreditch  Church 
as  the  victorious  Duke  passed  by  on  his  return  from  the  battle ;  for  which  a  medal  of 
the  Duke  and  his  chargers  was  presented  to  the  Society,  and  is  still  worn  by  the 
master  of  the  Society  of  Cumberland  Youths,  at  their  general  meetings.  The  St. 
James's  Youths,  another  society,  was  established  on  St.  James's-day,  25th  July,  1824, 
at  St.  James's  Church,  Clerkenwell.  The  grandsire  ringing  principally  belongs  to 
this  society,  as  it  is  the  first  rudiment  of  the  half-pull  ringing.  About  1841,  the 
Society  rang  a  peal  of  12,000  changes  of  grandsire  quatres  at  All  Saints'  Church, 
Fulham ;  also  7325  of  grandsire  cinques  at  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields,  in  1837 ;  and 
many  other  peals  besides,  as  recorded  in  London  church-belfries.  The  head-quarters 
of  the  society  are  at  St.  Clement  Danes,  Strand.  The  parochial  ringing  churches 
are  St.  Andrew's,  St.  Sepulchre's,  St.  Dunstan's  in  the  West,  St.  Clement's,  West- 
minster Abbey,  St.  John's,  Waterloo-road  j  and  St.  Mary's,  Lambeth  : — 

There  are  certain  Bells  still  remaining  in  London,  notwithstanding  the  Great  Fire,  which  have 
historical  notes.  That,  for  instance,  at  the  top  of  the  Bell-tower  which  adjoins  the  Governor's  lodgings 
in  the  Tower,  which  was  probably  tolled  at  the  execution  of  Lady  Jane  Grey,  Anne  Boleyn,  and  other 
State  prisoners,  and  probably  sounded  alarms  of  fire  and  other  calamities  in  early  days.  This  bell 
seems  to  have  been  more  particularly  used  by  the  Tower  authorities  than  that  in  St.  Peter's  Church, 
which  stands  near  the  spot  where  the  scaffold  was  usually  erected.  The  bells  of  St.  Bartholomew's, 
Smithfield,  are  old,  and  were  probably  rung  when  the  Court  has  come  to  the  tournaments  and  jousting 
at  Smithfield.  With  the  exception  of  Westminster  Abbey,  St.  Saviour's,  All  Hallows  Barking,  Cripple- 
gate,  and  Old  St.  Pancras,  there  are  few  of  the  ancient  bell-towers  of  the  metropolis  remaining.  Several 
of  the  bells,  however,  may  have  been  saved  from  the  ruins  of  the  Great  Fire.  There  is  also  the  bell 
of  the  Charter-house,  which  has  tolled  at  the  departure  of  a  brother  from  soon  after  the  death  of  Thomas 
Sutton.  Many  will  still  remember  that,  while  the  fire  of  the  second  Royal  Exchange  was  raging,  the 
self-acting  bells  played  merrily  the  tune  of  "  There  is  nae  luck  about  the  house,"  and  eventually  fell 
with  a  crash  amidst  the  blazing  ruins. — Communication*  to  the  Builder. 

The  curious  custom  of  a  new  rector  tolling  himself  into  his  new  benefice,  is  observed 
in  the  City  churches.  Before  the  Reformation,  no  layman  was  allowed  to  be  a 
"  ringer,"  and  the  ecclesiastics  had  to  perform  their  office  in  surplice.  The  "  tolling- 
in"  is  as  follows : — "  The  rector  is  met  at  the  door  of  the  church  by  the  trustees  of  the 
church  property  belonging  to  the  parish,  and  the  churchwardens.  Having  obtained 
possession  of  the  keys  of  the  church,  the  new  rector  unlocks  the  doors :  then,  having 
closed  them,  he  proceeds  alone  to  the  belfry,  and  for  a  few  minutes  tolls  one  of  the 
bells,  thus  complying  with  the  custom  imposed  by  the  ordinances  of  the  Church,  by 
announcing  to  the  parishioners  at  large  his  acceptance  of  the  rectorship,  and  his  pos- 
session of  the  church  property. 

Bow  Bells  are  of  ancient  celebrity  j  and  it  was  from  the  extreme  fondness  of  the 
citizens  for  them  in  old  times  that  a  genuine  Cockney  has  been  supposed  to  be  born 


BELLS  AND  CHIMES.  47 

within  the  sound  of  Bow  Bells.  According  to  Fynes  Morison,  the  Londoners,  and  all 
within  the  sound  of  Bow  Bells,  are,  in  reproach,  called  Cockneys,  and  eaters  of  "  but- 
tered toasts."  Beaumont  and  Fletcher  speak  of  "  Bow  Bell  suckers,"  i.e.,  as  Mr. 
Dyce  properly  explains  it,  "  children  born  within  the  sound  of  Bow  Bells." 

From  a  book  of  ordinances  of  the  City  of  Worcester,  Mr.  Burtt  quotes  certain  annual  payments, 
dating  from  very  early  times,  for  ringing  "day-bell"  and  "bow-bell,"  the  latter  being  doubtless  the 
same  as  the  curfew,  although  now  rung  at  eight  instead  of  at  nine,  as  at  the  time  of  the  ordinances. 
There  is  no  local  explanation  of  the  term  bow-bell,  but  Mr.  Burtt  considers  Mr.  Wolf's  suggestion 
feasible— that  as  the  curfew  bell  of  London  was  rung  at  Bow  Church,  the  name  of  that  church  was 
adopted  in  other  places,  and  applied  to  the  bell. — Proceedings  of  the  British  Archaeological  Association, 
April,  1866. 

In  1469,  by  an  Order  of  Common  Council,  Bow  bell  was  to  be  rung  nightly  at 
nine  o'clock,  and  lights  were  to  be  exhibited  in  the  steeple  to  direct  the  traveller. 
When  the  church  was  rebuilt,  the  belfry  was  prepared  for  twelve  bells,  but  only 
eight  were  placed :  these  got  out  of  order,  and  in  1758  the  citizens  petitioned  the 
vestry,  that  the  tenor  bell  being  the  completest  in  Europe,  and  the  other  seven 
very  inferior,  they  requested  to  be  allowed,  at  their  own  expense,  to  recast  the 
seven  smaller  bells,  and  to  add  two  trebles.  This  was  permitted,  after  Dance  and 
Chambers,  the  architects,  had  reported  that  "  neither  such  additional  weight,  nor 
any  weight  that  can  be  put  upon  the  steeple,  will  have  any  greater  effect  than 
the  bells  now  placed  there."  Accordingly,  the  set  of  ten  bells  was  completed  by 
subscription,  and  was  first  rung  June  4,  1762,  the  anniversary  of  the  birth  of  King 
George  III.  In  the  year  1822,  some  fear  was  expressed  that  the  use  of  the  bells 
would  endanger  the  steeple,  when, by  order  of  vestry,  the  bells  were  rung  for  trial; 
and  from  a  subsequent  examination,  there  did  not  appear  to  be  any  cause  for  alarm. 
The  present  set  is  much  heavier,  and  much  more  powerful  in  tone,  than  the  first  peal 
of  bells :  it  requires  two  men  to  ring  the  largest  (the  tenor,  53  cwt.,  key  C),  in  conse- 
quence of  its  not  having  been  properly  hung.  In  1837,  the  College  Youths  rang 
a  grand  peal  of  Stedman  quatres  on  Bow  Bells ;  also,  in  1840,  a  peal  of  triple  ten, 
at  the  same  church.  Mr.  W.  H.  Burwash,  the  sexton  of  St.  James's,  Clerkenwell, 
rang  the  triple  to  both  peals,  and  conducted  them ;  and  Mr.  A.  C.  Frost  rang  the 
tenor  to  both  :  weight,  2  tons  13  cwt.  22  lb.,  stated  to  be  the  greatest  bell  rung  by  a 
single  man  in  England. 

St.  Bride's  has  a  fine  peal.  A  century  ago,  the  College  Youths,  at  their  own 
expense,  placed  the  two  small  bells  in  St.  Bride's  tower,  to  make  the  present  peal  of 
twelve  bells ;  and,  about  1730,  twelve  members  of  the  Society  rang  the  first  peal  of 
triple-bob  maximus  that  was  ever  known  to  be  rung  on  twelve  bells.  Rear-Admiral  Sir 
Francis  Grey  and  Lord  Chief- Justice  Hale  were  members  of  this  Society,  and  rang 
in  the  peal.  There  is  still  a  record  of  this  feat  in  St.  Bride's  ringing-room.  On 
Monday  evening,  March  13,  1843,  the  Cumberland  Society  rang  a  complete  peal  of 
cinques  on  Stedman's  principle,  consisting  of  5146  changes,  in  four  hours  two 
minutes,  at  St.  Bride's ;  it  being  the  first  peal  in  that  scientific  method  ever  performed 
on  the  bells. 

Chjiistchtjrch,  Spitalfields',  Bells  are  scarcely  inferior  to  any  in  the  kingdom ;  the 
tenor  weighs  44  cwt.,  or  4928  lbs.  In  the  spring  of  1836,  by  a  fire  which  broke  out 
in  the  belfry,  and  reached  the  loft,  the  tenor  fell  upon  the  other  bells,  and  the  whole 
were  shivered  to  pieces,  or  fused  by  the  heat  of  the  conflagration;  the  clock  and 
chimes  were  also  destroyed :  they  have  all  been  replaced. 

St.  Leonard's,  Shoreditch. — Here  the  London  Society  of  Cumberland  accomplished 
their  greatest  achievement  in  olden  times — a  peal  of  12,000  changes  of  triple-bob 
royals,  which  took  nine  hours  and  five  minutes  on  10  bells,  March  27th,  1784,  of  which 
there  is  a  record  in  the  tower,  written  on  copper.  The  Society,  in  1820,  added  two 
new  small  bells  to  St.  Leonard's,  to  make  a  peal  of  12  bells,  at  their  own  cost- 
over  1001. ;  but  it  is  to  be  regretted  that  the  great  bell  of  the  peal  has  been  cracked. 

St.  Maetin's-in-the-Fields. — The  peal  of  12  bells  has  been  put  in  good  ringing 
order,  and  all  the  bells  made  to  strike  true,  to  the  satisfaction  of  the  parochial  ringers 
and  the  Cumberland  Society,  who  regard  the  ringing  as  now  more  easy  and   more 


48  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

merry,  as  well  as  more  musically  true.  The  hammer  of  the  church-clock,  too,  has 
been  altered  so  as  to  strike  downwards  instead  of  upwards,  thus  giving  greater  force 
and  clearness  to  the  tone.  The  ringing-room  itself  has  also  been  improved ;  boxes 
have  been  placed  to  the  bells,  and  the  place  lit  with  gas,  as  well  as  the  staircase  and 
bell-chamber.  On  Nov.  19,  1862,  the  Cumberland  Society  rang  here  a  peal  of 
5050  changes  of  Stedman's  quatres,  in  three  hours  and  twenty-eight  minutes,  in 
honour  of  the  Prince  of  Wales  attaining  his  majority. 

St.  Michael's,  Cornhill,  had  in  Stow's  time,  six  bells,  the  sixth  being  "  rung  by 
one  man  by  the  space  of  160  yeares";  (?)  Upon  one  St.  James's  night,  on  the 
ringing  of  a  peal,  during  a  storm,  the  lightning  entered  at  the  north  window,  which  so 
terrified  the  ringers  that  "they  lay  down  as  dead."  The  present  tower,  rebuilt 
1723,  has  a  fine  peal  of  12  bells,  with  which,  in  March,  1866,  twelve  members  of  the 
College  Youths  rang  a  fine  and  good  peal  of  treble-bob  maximus,  consisting  of  5088 
changes,  occupying  three  hours  and  fifty-two  minutes ;  this  being  the  first  peal  on 
treble-bobs,  on  twelve  bells  ever  rung,  when  the  tenor  man  conducted  the  peal. 

St.  Saviour's,  Southwark,  has  a  beautiful  tenor  and  12  large  bells ;  a  spacious  ringing- 
room  with  great  marble  tablet,  put  up  at  the  expense  of  the  various  societies  of  ringers 
in  London :  a  record  of  a  grand  peal  by  the  Cumberland  Society  cost  20  guineas. 
The  12  bells  of  St.  Saviour's,  were  not  rung  at  the  opening  of  New  London  Bridge, 
in  1831,  on  account  of  the  alleged  insecurity  it  would  occasion  to  the  tower.  The 
tenor  of  this  peal  weighs  52^  cwt. ;  that  of  Bow,  53  cwt. 

St.  Sepulchre's  Bell  has  a  melancholy  history.  In  1605,  Mr.  R.  Dowe  left  501. 
to  this  parish,  on  condition  that  a  person  should  go  to  Newgate  in  the  still  of  the  night 
before  every  execution-day,  and,  standing  as  near  as  possible  to  the  cells  of  the  con- 
demned, should,  with  a  hand-bell  (which  he  also  left),  give  twelve  solemn  tolls,  with 
double  strokes,  and  then  deliver  this  impressive  exhortation  : — 

"  All  you  that  in  the  condemned  hole  do  lie, 
Prepare  you,  for  to-morrow  you  shall  die; 
Watch,  all,  and  pray,  the  hour  is  drawing  near 
That  you  hefore  the  Almighty  must  appear; 
Examine  well  yourselves,  in  time  repent, 
That  you  may  not  t'  eternal  flames  be  sent. 
And  when  St.  Sepulchre's  Bell  to-morrow  tolls, 
The  Lord  have  mercy  on  your  souls  ! 

Past  twelve  o'clock !" 

Dowe  likewise  ordered  that  the  great  bell  of  the  church  should  toll  on  the  morning ; 
and  that,  as  the  criminals  passed  the  wall  to  Tyburn,  the  bellman  or  sexton  should 
look  over  it  and  say,  "All  good  people,  pray  heartily  unto  God  for  these  poor  sinners, 
who  are  now  going  to  their  death ;"  for  which  he  who  says  it  is  to  receive  11.  6s.  8d.; 
let  us  hope  that  the  gift  ere  long  will  be  a  free  one. 

St.  Stephen's,  Rochester-row,  Westminster. — Miss  Burdett  Coutts  has  given  to 
this  church,  built  at  her  cost,  a  fine  peal  of  eight  bells,  with  a  tenor  of  1  ton  5  cwt. ; 
and  to  St.  Ann's,  Highgate-rise,  a  peal  of  eight  bells. 

Chimes. — The  only  church  chimes  now  existing  in  the  metropolis  are  those  of  St. 
Clement  Danes,  in  the  Strand;  St.  Giles's,  Cripplegate;  St.  Dionis,  Fenchurch-street ; 
and  St.  Bride's,  Fleet-street.  The  Cripplegate  chimes  are  the  finest  in  London  ;  they 
were  constructed  by  a  poor  working  man.  Formerly,  several  churches  in  London,  includ- 
ing those  of  St.  Margaret  and  St.  Sepulchre,  had  chime-hammers  annexed  to  their  bells. 

In  each  Royal  Exchange,  the  business  has  been  regulated  by  a  bell :  in  Gresham's 
original  edifice  was  a  tower  "  containing  the  bell,  which  twice  a  day  summoned  mer- 
chants to  the  spot — at  twelve  o'clock  at  noon,  and  at  six  o'clock  in  the  evening." 
(Burgon's  Life  and  Times  of  Sir  T.  Oresliam,  ii.  345). 

The  Chimes  at  the  Royal  Exchange,  destroyed  by  fire  in  1S38,  played,  at  intervals  of 
three  hours,  "  God  save  the  Queen,"  "  Life  let  us  cherish,"  "  The  Old  104th  Psalm  (on 
Sundays),  and  "  There's  nae  luck  about  the  house,"  which  last  air  they  played  at 
twelve  o'clock  on  the  night  of  the  fire,  just  as  the  flames  reached  the  chime-loft. 

In  the  new  Exchange,  chimes  have  not  been  forgotten.     The  airs  have  been  arranged 


BERMONDSEY.  49 


by  Mr.  E.  Taylor,  the  Gresham  Professor  of  Music  ;  which  Mr.  Dent  has  applied  on 
the  chime-barrel.     The  airs  are  : — 

1.  A  Psalm  tnne,  by  Henry  Lawes,  the  friend  of  Milton ;  it  is  in  the  key  of  B  flat,  so  as  to  exhibit 
the  capability  of  the  chimes  to  play  in  different  keys. 

2.  God  save  the  Queen,  in  E  flat.  3.  Rule  Britannia. 

4.  An  air  selected  by  Professor  Taylor  to  exhibit  the  power  of  the  bells.  The  key  in  which  the  bells 
are  set  is  E  flat.  There  are  fifteen  bells,  and  two  hammers  to  several,  so  as  to  play  ra,pid  passages. 
There  are  frequently  three  hammers  striking  different  bells  simultaneously,  and  sometimes  five.  The 
notes  of  the  bells  are  as  follows :— B  flat,  A  natural,  A  flat,  G,  F,  E  flat,  D  natural,  D  flat,  C,  B  flat,  A 
natural,  A  flat,  G,  P,  and  E  flat.  The  first  bell,  B  flat,  weighs  4cwt.  261bs.,  and  its  cord,  8cwt.  2  qrs.  5  lbs.; 
the  four  bells,  A  flat,  G,  F,  and  E  flat»  weigh  severally,  lOcwt.  lqr.  9  lbs.,  12cwt.  2  qrs.  27  lbs., 
15  cwt.  2  qrs.  lllbs.,  and  23  cwt.  2  qrs.  24  lbs.  The  united  weight  of  them  is  131  c wt.  1  qr.  They  were 
cast  by  Messrs.  Mears,  of  Whitechapel. 

BERMONDSEY 

IS  a  large  parish  in  Surrey,  adjoining  the  borough  of  Southwark ;  and  named  Beor- 
mund's  eye,  or  island,  from  its  having  been  the  property  of  some  Saxon  or  Danish 
Thane,  and  the  land  being  insulated  by  watercourses  connected  with  the  Thames.  In 
1082,  a  wealthy  citizen  built  here  a  convent,  wherein  some  Cluniac  Monks  settled  in 
1089,  to  whom  William  Rufus  gave  the  manor  of  Bermondsey ;  and  numeroxis  dona- 
tions and  grants  followed,  until  this  became  one  of  the  most  considerable  alien  priories 
in  England.  From  its  vicinity  to  London,  the  monastery  occasionally  became  the 
residence  of  royal  personages.  Katherine  of  France,  widow  of  Henry  V.,  retired  to 
this  sanctuary,  and-  died  here,  Jan.  3,  1437;  and  Elizabeth  Widvile,  relict  of 
Edward  IV.,  was  committed  to  the  custody  of  the  monks  by  her  son-in-law,  Henry  VII., 
and  ended  her  days  here,  in  penury  and  sorrow,  in  1492.  Among  the  persons  of  note 
interred  here  is  said  to  have  been  Margaret  de  la  Pole,  wife  of  Edmund  de  la  Pole, 
afterwards  Earl  of  Suffolk,  who  was  executed  by  Henry  VIII.,  in  1513.  The  Abbey 
occupied  the  ground  between  Grange-walk  (where  was  a  farm)  and  Long-walk,  which 
was  a  passage  between  the  monastic  buildings  and  the  conventual  church ;  the  latter  a 
little  south  of  the  present  parish  church  of  St.  Mary  Magdalene,  originally  founded  by 
the  Priors  of  Bermondsey  for  their  tenantry ;  rebuilt  in  1680,  and  since  repaired. 
Among  the  communion-plate  is  an  ancient  silver  alms-dish,  supposed  to  have  belonged 
to  the  abbey. 

A  drawing  formerly  in  Mr.  Upcott's  collection  shows  the  monastery  as  rebuilt  early  in 
the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  and  the  cloisters  and  refectory  in  1380.  After  the  surrender  of 
the  establishment  to  Henry  VIII.,  he  granted  it  to  Sir  Robert  Southwell,  Master  of  the 
Bolls  :  it  was  by  him  sold  to  Sir  Thomas  Hope,  who,  in  1545,  pulled  down  the  ancient 
Priory  Church,  and  with  the  materials  built  Bermondsey  House,  where  died  Thomas 
Ratcliffe,  Earl  of  Sussex  (Lord  Chamberlain  to  Queen  Elizabeth),  in  1583.  The  east 
gate  of  the  monastery  was  taken  down  about  1760 ;  the  great  gate-house  was  nearly 
entire  in  1806,  shortly  after  which  all  the  ancient  buildings  were  removed,  and  Abbey- 
street  built  on  their  site.  Bermondsey-square  now  occupies  the  great  close  of  the 
Abbey,  and  Grange-road  was  its  pasture-ground,  extending  to  the  farm ;  the  ancient 
watercourse,  Neckinger,  was  once  navigable  from  the  Thames  to  the  Abbey.  Adjoining 
was  an  Almonry,  or  Hospital,  for  "  indigent  children  and  necessitous  converts,"  erected 
by  Prior  Richard  in  1213,  but  not  to  be  traced  after  the  Reformation. 

There  is,  in  the  Spa-road,  St.  James's  Chapel,  a  Grecian  edifice,  opened  in  1829 ;  pr>. 
the  altar-piece  is  a  large  picture  of  "  the  Ascension,"  painted  by  John  Wood,  in  1844, 
and  the  prize  picture  selected  from  among  eighty  competitors  for  500£.  bequeathed  for 
this  purpose  by  Mr.  Harcourt,  a  parishioner,  and  awarded  by  Eastlake  and  Haydon. 
St.  Paul's  Gothic  Church  and  Schools  were  opened  in  1848 ;  and  Christ  Church  and 
Schools,  Neckiuger-road  (Romanesque),  in  1849. 

The  Roman  Catholic  population  of  Bermondsey  exceeds  5000  persons ;  they  have  a 
large  church  near  Dockhead,  opened  in  1835.  Precisely  three  centuries  after  the  Dis- 
solution of  the  Monasteries,  was  founded  here,  in  1838,  a  Convent  for  the  "  Sisters  of 
Mercy."  The  inmates  are  mostly  ladies  of  fortune,  and  support  a  school  for  200  chil- 
dren. Sister  Mary,  the  Lady  Barbara  Eyre,  second  daughter  of  the  sixth  Earl  of 
Newburgh,  took  the  vows  December  12,  1839 ;  with  Miss  Ponsonby,  Sister  Vincent. 

At  Bermondsey,  perhaps,  is  carried  on  a  greater  variety  of  trades  and  manufactures 

E 


50  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

than  in  any  other  parish  of  the  kingdom.  It  has  been  the  seat  of  the  Leather  Market 
for  nearly  two  centuries  ;  its  series  of  tidal  streams  from  the  Thames  twice  in  twenty- 
four  hours  supplying  water  for  the  tanners  and  leather-dressers.  At  the  Neckinger 
Mills  here,  nearly  half  a  million  of  hides  and  skins  are  converted  into  leather  yearly ; 
and  in  the  great  Skin  Market  are  sold  the  skins  from  nearly  all  the  sheep  slaughtered 
in  London.,  Steam -machinery  is  much  employed  in  the  manufactories ;  and  in  Long- 
lane  is  an  engine  chimney-shaft  175  feet  high.  Here  is  Christy's  Hat  Manufactory, 
employing  500  persons,  and  considered  the  largest  establishment  of  the  kind  in  the 
world.  Here,  too,  abound  paper  and  lead  mille,  chemical  works,  boat  and  ship 
builders,  mast  and  block  makers,  rope  and  sail  makers,  coopers,  turpentine  works,  &c. 
ol  r>  The  tidal  ditches,  with  their  filthy  dwellings,  produced  cholera  in  1832  and  1848-49 ; 
in  the  latter  year  189  deaths  occurred  in  1000  inhabitants.  Here  is  Jacob's  Island, 
so  powerfully  pictured  in  Dickens's  novel  of  Oliver  Twist. 

Bermondsey  Spa,  a  chalybeate  spring,  discovered  about  1770,  was  opened  in  1780,  as 
a  minor  Vauxhall,  with  fireworks,  and  a  picture-model  of  the  siege  of  Gibraltar,  painted 
by  Keyse,  and  occupying  about  four  acres.  He  died  in  1800,  and  the  garden  was  shut 
up  about  1805.     There  are  tokens  of  the  place  extant  j  the  Spa-road  is  named  from  it. 

In  the  parish  was  born  Mary  Johns,  the  daughter  of  a  cooper,  in  1752,  who  wrote 
the  Lord's  Prayer  in  the  compass  of  a  silver  penny. 

In  the  Registers,  1604,  is  the  "  forme  of  a  solemne  Vowe  made  betwixt  a  Man  and 
his  Wife,  having  been  longe  absent,  through  which  occasion  the  Woman  beinge  married 
to  another  Man,  took  her  again." 

Viewed  from  the  Greenwich  Railway,  which  crosses  its  north-eastern  side,  Ber- 
mondsey presents  a  curious  picture  of  busy  life,  amid  its  streams  and  tan-pits,  its  narrow 
streets,  close  rents  and  lanes,  by  no  means  tributary  to  the  public  health.  Yet  the 
district  has  long  been  noted  for  longevity;  and  from  90  to  105  years  are  not  uncommon 
in  the  burial  registers. 

BETHNAL  GREEK, 


(*- 


A 


VILLAGE  or  large  green,  formerly  a  hamlet  of  Stepney,  but  made  a  parish  (St. 
Matthew)  in  1743.  The  old  English  ballad  of  The  Blind  Beggar  of  Bednall 
Green  has  given  the  district  a  long  celebrity  j  the  story  "  decorates  not  only  the  sign- 
posts of  the  publicans,  but  the  staff  of  the  parish  beadle." — (Lysons.)  The  incidents 
}>  \b  have  been  poetically  wrought  into  a  drama  by  Sheridan  Knowles.  The  mansion  tradi- 
tionally pointed  to  as  "  the  Blind  Beggar's  House"  was,  however,  built  by  John  Thorpe, 
in  1570,  for  a  citizen  of  London,  and  called  after  him,  "  Kirby's  Castle."  Pepys  describes 
his  visits  to  this  house,  then  Sir  W.  Rider's,  to  dinner :  his  "  fine  merry  walk  with  the 
ladies  alone  after  dinner,  in  the  garden ;  the  greatest  quantity  of  strawberries  he  ever 
saw,  and  good."  It  was  then  said  that  only  some  of  the  outhouses,  and  not  the  man- 
sion, were  built  by  the  Blind  Beggar  of  Bethnal  Green. 

Robert  Ainsworth,  author  of  the  Latin  Dictionary  which  bears  his  name,  kept  an 
academy  at  Bethnal  Green. 

Here  was  a  large  house  said  to  have  been  a  palace  of  Bishop  Bonner's,  and  taken 
down  in  1849,  in  forming  Victoria  Park.  Between  1839  and  1849,  there  were  builfc 
here  ten  district  churches,  principally  through  the  exertions  of  Dr.  Blomfield,  Bishop 
of  London :  the  tenth  of  these  churches  (St.  Thomas's)  was  erected  at  the  sole  cost  of 
a  private  individual.     Silk-weavers  live  in  great  numbers  at  Bethnal  Green. 

Nichol-street,  New  Nichol-street,  Half  Nicbol-street,  Nichol-row,  Turvil-street,  comprising  within  the 
same  area  numerous  blind  courts  and  alleys,  form  a  densely-crowded  district  in  Bethnal  Green.  Among 
its  inhabitants  may  be  found  street  vendors  of  every  kind  of  produce,  travellers  to  fairs,  tramps, 
dog-fanciers,  dog-stealers,  men  and  women  sharpers,  shoplifters  and  pickpockets.  It  abounds  with 
the  young  Arabs  of  the  streets,  and  its  outward  moral  degradation  is  at  once  apparent  to  any  one 
who  passes  that  way.  Here  the  police  are  certain  to  be  found,  day  and  night,  their  presence  being 
required  to  quell  riots  and  to  preserve  decency.  Sunday  is  a  day  much  devoted  to  pet  pigeons  and 
to  bird-singing  clubs :  prizes  are  given  to  such  as  excel  in  note,  and  a  ready  sale  follows  each 
award.  Time  thus  employed  was  formerly  devoted  to  cock-fighting.  In  this  locality,  twenty-five 
years  ago,  an  employer  of  labour,  Mr.  Jonathan  Duthoit,  made  an  attempt  to  influence  the  people  for 
good  by  the  hire  of  a  room  for  meeting  purposes.  The  first  attendance  consisted  of  one  person.  Per- 
sistent efforts  were,  however,  made ;  other  rooms  have  from  time  to  time  been  taken  and  enlarged ;  here 
is  a  Hall  for  Christian  instruction ;  and  another  for  Educational  purposes ;  Illustrated  Lectures  are 
delivered ;  a  Loan  Library  has  been  established,  also  a  Clothing  Club  and  Penny  Bank,  and  Training 
Classes  for  industrial  purposes. — Athenaeum,  1862. 


BETHLEM   HOSPITAL.  51 


BETHLEM  OR  BETHLEHEM  HOSPITAL. 

THE  history  of  the  word  Bedlam,  by  which  this  Hospital  was  called,  within  recollec- 
tion, has  been  the  subject  of  much  curious  inquiry.  Our  lexicographers  commonly 
refer  its  introduction  into  our  language  to  the  conversion  of  a  religious  house 
of  this  name  into  a  lunatic  asylum,  or  about  320  years  ago.  The  word  Bedlem, 
however,  occurs  in  Tyndale's  quarto  testament,  twenty  or  two-and-twenty  years 
before  the  above  date;  and  Mr.  Gairdner  has  proved  it  to  have  been  so  applied 
still  earlier : — 

It  is  quite  true,  says  Mr.  Gairdner,  that  the  Hospital  was  granted  to  the  City  of  London  for  the 
purpose  to  which  it  is  still  applied,  either  by  Henry  the  Eighth  or  Edward  the  Sixth  ;  but  it  is  a  mis- 
take to  suppose  it  had  never  been  so  used  before.  The  royal  grant  changed  the  government  of  the 
hospital,  not  its  use.  Monastic  institutions,  whatever  evils  they  may  have  been  answerable  for,  were 
undoubtedly  the  medium  of  much  practical  good  that  we  seldom  give  them  credit  for,  and  to  mental 
and  bodily  disease  they  offered  such  assistance  as  the  skill  and  science  of  the  age  afforded.  I  have 
myself  met  with  a  passage  in  the  works  of  Tyndale's  great  opponent,  Sir  Thomas  More,  who  died 
even  before  (a  martyr,  too,  though  for  a  different  cause),  which  proves  beyond  a  doubt  that  Bethlehem 
Hospital  was  a  place  for  lunatics  before  the  dissolution  of  the  religious  houses.  "  Think  not,"  he 
says,  in  his  treatise  De  Quatuor  Novissimis  (page  73  of  his  English  works), — "  Think  not  that  every 
thing  is  plesant  that  men  for  madnes  laughe  at.  For  thou  shalt  in  Bedleem  see  one  laugh  at  the 
knocking  of  his  own  hed  against  a  post,  and  yet  there  is  little  pleasure  therein." 

Bethlem  Hospital  originated  in  an  establishment  founded  as  a  "  Priory  of  Canons, 
with  brethren  and  sisters,"  in  1246,  by  Simon  Fitz-Mary,  a  sheriff  of  London  ;  towards 
which  he  gave  all  his  lands  in  St.  Botolph  without  Bishopsgate,  being  the  spot  after- 
wards known  as  Old  Bethlem,  now  Liverpool-street.  This  priory  stood  on  the  east 
side  of  Moorfields,  from  which  it  was  divided  by  a  deep  ditch.  It  is  described  as  "  an 
Hospital "  in  1330 ;  in  1346  it  was  received  under  the  protection  of  the  City  of  London, 
who  purchased  the  patronage,  lands,  and  tenements  in  1546 ;  and  in  the  same  year, 
Henry  VIII.  gave  the  Hospital  to  the  City,  though  not  before  he  had  endeavoured  to 
sell  it  to  them :  it  was  united  to  Bridewell  Hospital  in  1557. 

Bethlem  is,  however,  first  mentioned  as  an  hospital  for  lunatics  in  1402.  The 
earliest  establishment  of  the  kind  in  the  metropolis  appears,  from  Stow,  to  have  been 
"  by  Charing  Cross,"  though  when  founded  is  unknown ;  "  but  it  was  said  that  some 
time  a  king  of  England,  not  liking  distraught  and  lunatic  people  to  remain  so  near  his 
palace  caused  them  to  be  removed  farther  off  to  Bethlem  ;"  to  which  Hospital  the 
site  of  the  house  in  question  belonged  till  1830,  when  it  was  exchanged  with  the  Crown 
to  make  way  for  the  improvements  at  Charing  Cross. 

The  priory  buildings  becoming  dilapidated,  another  Hospital  was  built  in  1675-76, 
on  the  south  side  of  Moorfields,  north  of  the  London  Wall,  on  ground  leased  to  the 
Governors  by  the  Corporation  for  999  years,  at  1*.  annual  rent,  if  demanded.  This,  the 
centre  of  Old  Bethlem  Hospital,  cost  17,000/.,  raised  by  subscription :  it  was  designed 
by  Robert  Hooke ;  but  there  is  no  foundation  for  the  traditional  story  of  its  so  closely 
resembling  the  palace  of  the  Tuileries,  that  Louis  XIV.,  in  retaliation,  ordered  a  copy 
of  our  King's  palace  at  St.  James's  to  be  built  for  his  offices. 

This  second  Bethlem  was  540  feet  in  length  and  40  feet  in  breadth ;  it  was  sur- 
rounded by  gardens,  in  one  of  which  the  convalescent  lunatics  were  allowed  to  walk ; 
the  whole  was  enclosed  by  a  high  wall  and  gates ;  the  posterns  of  the  latter  were  sur- 
mounted with  two  finely-sculptured  figures  of  Raving  and  Melancholy  Madness,  by 
Caius  Gabriel  Cibber,  the  father  of  Colley. 

In  1733,  two  wings  were  added  for  incurable  patients.  In  1754,  the  Hospital  is 
described  as  consisting  chiefly  of  two  galleries,  one  over  the  other,  divided  in  the 
middle  by  two  iron  gates,  so  that  all  the  men  were  placed  at  one  end  of  the  house  and 
all  the  women  at  the  other  ;  there  was  also  "  a  bathing-place  for  the  patients,  so  con- 
trived as  to  be  a  hot  or  cold  bath."  The  Hospital  then  held  150  patients.  The 
favourite  resort  of  the  poor  inmates  was  the  Fore-street  end  of  the  building,  from  the 
windows  of  which  we  have  seen  them  look  out  upon  the  unafflicted  passengers  in  the 
streets  below.  Here  Nat  Lee,  the  tragic  poet,  was  confined  four  years;  he  did 
not  live  long  after  his  release.     Here  too  was  confined  Oliver  Cromwell's  gigantic  porter, 

E  2 


52  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

who  is  traditionally  said  to  have  been  the  original  of  one  of  Gibber's  figures.  Hannah 
Snell,  the  female  soldier,  who  received  a  pension  for  wounds  received  at  the  siege  of 
Pondicherry,  died  a  patient  of  Bethlem,  in  1792.  "  Tom  o'  Bedlam"  was  the  name 
given  to  certain  out-door  patients,  for  whom  room  could  not  be  found  in  the  Hospital. 
They  wore  upon  their  arms  metal  plates,  licensing  them  to  go  a-begging,  which  many 
cunning  impostors  adopted,  until  a  caution  from  the  Governor  put  a  stop  to  the  fraud. 
In  1799,  the  Hospital  was  reported  by  a  committee  to  be  in  a  very  bad  condition  : 
it  had  been  built  in  sixteen  months,  upon  part  of  the  City  ditch  filled  in  with  rubbish, 
so  that  it  was  requisite  to  shore-up  and  underpin  the  walls.  At  length  it  was  resolved 
to  rebuild  the  Hospital ;  and  in  1810  its  site,  2\  acres,  was  exchanged  for  about  11 
acres  in  St.  George's  Fields,  including  the  gardens  of  the  infamous  Dog  and  Duck. 
The  building  fund  was  increased  by  grants  of  public  money,  and  benefactions,  from  the 
Corporation,  City  companies,  and  private  individuals.  The  first  stone  of  the  new 
edifice,  for  200  patients,  was  laid  in  April  1812,  and  completed  in  August  1815,  at  a 
cost  of  122,572Z.  8s.,  the  exact  sum  raised  for  the  purpose.  It  was  built  from  three 
prize  designs,  superintended  by  the  late  Mr.  Lewis :  it  consists  of  a  centre  and  two 
wings,  the  entrance  being  beneath  a  hexastyle  Ionic  portico  of  six  columns,  with  the 
royal  arms  in  the  pediment,  and  underneath  the  motto : — Hen.  tiii.  eege  ■  fun- 
datvm  •  civium  ■  1AKGITAS  '  PEEFECIT.  Two  wings,  for  which  the  Government 
advanced  25,144Z.,  were  appropriated  to  criminal  lunatics.  Other  buildings  have  since 
been  added,  for  166  patients,  by  Sydney  Smirke,  A.R.A.,  the  first  stone  of  which  was 
laid  July  26,  1838,  when  a  public  breakfast  was  given  at  a  cost  of  4647.  8s.  to  the 
Hospital,  and  a  narrative  of  the  proceedings  was  printed  at  a  charge  to  the  charity  of 
UOl.  The  entire  building  is  three  stories  in  height,  and  897  feet  in  length.  To  the 
Y^  centre  was  added  a  large  and  lofty  dome  in  1815 ;  the  diameter  is  37  feet,  and  it  is 
about  150  feet  in  height  from  the  grouud.  The  Hospital  and  grounds  extend  to  eight 
acres ;  the  adjoining  three  acres  being  devoted  to  the  House  of  Occupation,  a  branch 
of  Bridewell  Hospital. 

In  the  entrance-hall  are  placed  Gibber's  two  statues,  from  the  old  Hospital :  they 
are  of  Portland  stone,  and  were  restored  by  the  younger  Bacon  in  1814 ;  they  are 
screened  by  curtains,  which  are  only  withdrawn  upon  public  occasions :  some  of  the 
irons  formerly  used  are  also  shown  as  (curiosities.  The  basement  and  three  floors  are 
divided  into  galleries.  The  improved  management  was  introduced  about  1816.  The 
patients  employ  themselves  in  knitting  and  tailoring,  in  laundry-work,  at  the  needle, 
and  in  embroidery ;  the  women  have  pianos  and  occasionally  dance  in  the  evening ;  the 
men  have  billiards  and  bagatelle  tables,  newspapers,  and  periodicals ;  and  they  play  in 
the  grounds  at  trap-ball,  cricket,  fives,  leap-frog,  &c.  Others  work  at  their  trades,  in 
which,  though  dangerous  weapons  have  been  entrusted  to  them,  no  mischief  has  en- 
sued, and  the  employment  often  induces  speedy  cure.  The  railed-in  fire-places  and 
the  bone  knives  are  almost  the  only  visible  peculiarities;  there  are  cells  lined  and 
floored  with  cork  and  india-rubber  for  refractorylpatients.  The  building  is  fire-proof 
throughout,  and  warmed  by  hot  air  and  water. 

From  the  first  reception  of  lunatics  into  Bethlem,  their  condition  and  treatment 
was  wretched  in  the  extreme.  In  a  visitation  of  1403  are  mentioned  iron  chains  with 
locks  and  keys,  and  manacles  and  stocks.  In  1598,  the  house  was  reported  so  loath- 
some and  so  filthily  kept,  as  not  fit  to.  be  entered;  and  the  inmates  were  termed 
prisoners.  In  a  record  of  1619  are  expenses  of  straw  and  fetters.  Up  to  the  year 
1770,  the  public  were  admitted  to  see  the  lunatics  at  Id.  each,  by  which  the  Hospital 
derived  a  revenue  of  at  least  400£.  a  year :  hence  Bethlem  became  one  of  "  the  sights 
of  London;"  and  such  was  the  mischief  occasioned  by  this  brutal  and  degrading  prac- 
tice, that,  to  prevent  disturbances,  the  porter  was  annually  sworn  a  constable,  and 
attended  with  other  servants  to  keep  order.  So  late  as  1814,  the  rooms  resembled 
dog-kennels ;  the  female  patients  chained  by  one  arm  or  leg  to  the  wall,  were  covered 
by  a  blanket-gown  only,  the  feet  being  naked ;  and  they  lay  upon  straw.  The  male 
patients  were  chained,  handcuffed,  or  locked  to  the  wall;  and  chains  were  universally 
substituted  for  the  strait-waistcoat.  One  Norris,  stated  to  be  refractory,  was  chained 
by  a  strong  iron  ring,  riveted  round  his  neck,  his  arms  pinioned  by  an  iron  bar,  and 
his  waist  similarly  secured,  so  that  he  could  only  advance  twelve  inches  from  the  wall, 


BETHLEM  HOSPITAL.  53 

the  length  of  his  chain ;  and  thus  he  had  heen  "  encaged  and  chained  more  "than  twelve 
years ; "  yet  he  read  books  of  various  kinds,  the  newspapers  daily,  and  conversed  ration- 
ally :  a  drawing  was  made  of  Norris  in  his  irons,  and  he  was  visited  by  several  members 
of  Parliament,  shortly  after  which  he  died,  doubtless  from  the  cruel  treatment  he  had 
received.  This  case  led  to  a  Parliamentary  inquiry,  in  1815,  which  brought  about  the  X 
adoption  of  a  new  method  of  treatment  in  Bethlem  ;  although,  in  two  years,  6601.  were 
expended  from  the  Hospital  funds  in  opposing  the  bill  requisite  for  the  beneficial 
change. 

The  last  female  lunatic  released  from  her  fetters  was  a  most  violent  patient,  who 
had  been  chained  to  her  bed  eight  years,  her  irons  riveted,  she  being  so  dangerous  that 
the  matron  feared  being  murdered  if  she  released  her  ;  in  May  1838,  she  was  still  in 
the  New  Hospital,  and  was  the  only  patient  permitted  to  sleep  at  night  with  her  door 
unlocked ;  the  slightest  appearance  of  restraint  exasperated  her ;  but  on  her  release 
she  became  tranquil,  and  happy  in  nursing  two  dolls  given  to  her,  which  she  imagined 
to  be  her  children. 

The  criminal  lunatics  were  formerly  maintained  and  clothed  here  at  the  expense  of 
Government,  and  cost  nearly  4000Z.   a  year.     Most  of  the  criminals   were  confined 
for  murder,  committed  or  attempted.     Amongst  them  was  Margaret  Nicholson  for      r 
attempting  to  stab  George  III.;  she  died  here  in  1828,  having  been  coufined  forty-     o 
two  years.     In  1841,  died  James  Hadfield,  who  had  been  confined  here  since  1802,  for    i  >g 
shooting  at  George  III.,   at  Drury  Lane  Theatre.     He  was  a  gallant  dragoon,  and  his 
face  was  seamed  with  scars   got  in  battle  before  his  crime  :  he  employed  himself  with 
writing  verses  on  the  death  of  his  birds  and  cats,  his  only  society  in  his  long  and  weary- 
ing imprisonment.  Many , including  Edward  Oxford,  who  so  nearly  assassinated  theQueen,    ^  ' 
in  1840;  Macnaughten,  who  murdered  Sir  Robert  Peel's  secretary,  at  Charing  Cross;     ft 
and  the  celebrated  Captain  Johnston,  who  under  such  terrible  circumstances  killed  all     V? 
the  crew  of  his  ship,  the  Tory ;  were  kept  at  Bethlehem,  but  have  been  removed  to  the 
great  Broadmoor  Asylum,  built  by  Government  near  the  Wellington  College  Station    /^] 
of  the  South  Eastern  Railway. 

Bethlem  stands  in  eleven  acres  of  ground,  which  is  judiciously  laid  out.  It  was  placed 
under  the  jurisdiction  of  the  Commissioners  in  Lunacy  in  1853.  In  1841  only  23-60 
per  cent,  of  the  patients  attended  chapel  on  Sunday,  and  there  was  a  weekly  average 
of  2'64  per  cent,  under  restraint ;  in  1862,  55  per  cent,  attended  chapel,  and 
restraint  had  been  for  several  years  unknown.  Of  the  115  curable  patients  in  the 
hospital  in  1862  only  eight  were  unemployed,  and  of  the  61  incurables  24.  The 
annual  cost  of  maintenance,  furniture,  and  clothing  was  about  361.  in  1862.  The 
following  cases  are  inadmissible  lunatics :  those  who  have  been  insane  for  more  than 
twelve  months ;  who  have  been  discharged  uncured  from  other  hospitals ;  afflicted  with 
idiotcy,  palsy,  or  epileptic  or  convulsive  fits,  or  any  dangerous  disease.  The  patients 
are  not  allowed  to  remain  more  than  one  year  :  preference  is  given  to  patients  of  the 
educated  classes,  to  secure  accommodation  for  whom  no  one  will  be  received  who  is 
a  proper  object  for  admission  into  a  county  lunatic  asylum. 

Although  Bethlem  receives  only  those  cases  of  madness  which  it  deems  most  likely 
to  terminate  in  recovery  ;  of  these  simple  and  select  cases  nearly  40  per  cent,  (including 
deaths)  are  eventually  discharged  from  Bedlam  unrelieved.  "  The  annual  rate  of  mor- 
tality in  Bethlem  is  7  per  cent. ;  in  other  asylums,  from  13  to  22  per  cent." — {Registrar- 
General's  Report,  1850.) 

The  income  of  Bethlem  and  Bridewell  Hospitals  amounts  to  about  33,000^.  per 
annum,  mostly  the  accumulation  of  private  benevolence. 

From  November  22,  1841,  Bethlem  Hospital,  with  its  purlieus  and  approaches,  was 
considered  to  be  within  the  rules  of  the  Queen's  Bench,  by  an  order  of  that  Court, 
until  their  abolition. 

Patients  are  admitted  by  petition  to  the  Governors  from  a  near  relation  or  friend ; 
forms  to  be  obtained  at  the  Hospital.  The  visiting  days  are  two  Mondays  in  each 
month  ;  for  taking  in  and  discharging  patients,  every  Friday. 

Strangers  are  admitted,  on  Tuesdays,  Wednesdays,  Thursdays,  and  Fridays,  to  view 
the  Hospital  by  Governors'  orders  ;  and  foreigners  and  Members  of  Parliament  by 
orders  from  the  president,  treasurer,  or  Secretary  of  State ;  but  the  average  yearly 


CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


number  of  visitors  does  not  exceed  550.  Still,  few  sights  can  be  more  interesting  than  the 
present  condition  of  the  interior  of  Bethlem.  The  scrupulous  cleanliness  of  the  house,  the 
decent  attire  of  the  patients,  and  the  unexpectedly  small  number  of  those  under  restraint, 
(sometimes  not  one  person  throughout  the  building),  lead  the  visitors,  not  unnaturally, 
to  conclude  that  the  management  of  lunatics  has  here  attained  perfection ;  while  the 
quiet  and  decent  demeanour  of  the  inmates  might  almost  make  him  doubt  that  he  is 
really  in  a  madhouse.  The  arrangements,  however,  are  comparatively,  in  some  in- 
stances, defective :  the  building  being  partly  on  the  plan  of  the  old  Hospital  in  Moor- 
fields,  in  long  galleries,  with  a  view  to  the  coercive  system  there  pursued,  is,  conse- 
quently, ill  adapted  to  the  present  improved  treatment. 

Above  the  door  of  the  entrance-lodge  are  sculptured  the  arms  of  the  Hospital, — Argent,  two  bars  sable, 
a  file  of  five  points  gules,  on  a  chief  azure  an  etoile  of  sixteen  rays  or,  charged  with  a  plate,  thereon  a 
cross  of  the  third,  between  a  human  skull  placed  on  a  cup,  on  the  dexter  side,  and  a  basket  of  Wastell 
bread,  all  of  the  fifth,  on  the  sinister. 

Bishop  Tanner  observes,  however,  that  he  was  informed  by  John  Anstis,  Garter  King  of  Arms,  that 
the  ensigns  were,  Argent,  two  bars  sable,  a  label  of  three  points  gules,  on  a  chief  azure  a  comet  with 
ten  rays  or,  oppressed  with  a  torteau  charged  with  a  plain  cross  of  the  field,  between  a  chalice  or,  with 
an  hosty  of  the  first,  and  a  basket  of  the  same.  AVith  respect  to  any  signification  to  be  assigned  to 
these  bearings,  there  is,  probably,  no  positive  information  extant ;  but,  supposing  them  to  be  really 
ancient,  it  may  be  observed,  that  the  bars  and  file  in  the  principal  part  of  the  shield  were,  most  likely, 
the  arms  of  Simon  Fitz-Mary,  the  founder,  which  would  account  for  their  very  prominent  situation. 
The  etoile,  or  blazing  star,  on  the  blue  chief,  evidently  refers  to  the  star  seen  in  the  sky  at  the  birth  of 
Christ,  which  led  the  wise  men  to  Bethlehem,  and,  therefore,  properly  became  its  peculiar  badge ; 
whilst  the  cross  in  the  centre  indicates  the  crucifixion  of  the  Saviour  for  all  mankind.  The  basket  of 
bread  has,  probably,  also  an  allusion  to  Bethlehem ;  since  the  best  translation  of  that  word  is  con- 
sidered to  be  "  the  house  of  bread,"  as  implying  a  fertile  soil  in  the  production  of  barley  and  wheat, 
noticed  in  the  book  of  Ruth,  chapter  ii. ;  but,  as  wastell  cakes  were,  anciently,  especially  used  in 
Christian  ceremonies  and  festivals,  they  might  be  designed  as  the  English  emblem  of  the  birth-place  of 
the  Lord.  Perhaps,  no  satisfactory  signification  can  be  assigned  to  the  present  bearing  of  a  cup  con- 
taining a  skull ;  but  if  the  blazon  of  these  arms,  given  by  Anstis  to  Uishop  Tanner,  be  accepted,  the 
chalice,  surmounted  by  the  consecrated  wafer,  will  then  be  intended  for  the  usual  ecclesiastical  figure 
of  the  sacrament ;  and,  perhaps,  also  expresses  that  the  Saviour,  born  at  Bethlehem,  the  house  of 
bread,  was  "  the  living  bread  which  came  down  from  heaven."  Upon  the  same  principle  of  interpre- 
tation, however,  if  the  star  be  regarded  as  indicating  Christ  and  his  passion,  the  cup  with  the  skull 
might  be  meant  to  designate,  the  "  death  which  he  tasted  for  every  man,"  in  the  cup  of  his  own  suffer- 
ings at  Gethsemane,  and  at  Golgotha,  "  the  place  of  a  skull."  Another  armorial  ensign,  assigned  to 
the  ancient  hospital  of  Bethlehem,  is,  Azure,  an  etoile  of  eight  points  or ;  and  the  connexion  between 
this  foundation  and  that  of  Bridewell,  which  is  under  the  same  governor,  is  indicated  by  the  latter 
bearing  the  star  of  Bethlehem,  on  a  chief  azure,  between  two  fleurs-de-lis. — Pamphlet  by  Peter  Laurie, 
Esq.,  LL.B. ;  privately  printed. 

BILLINGSGATE 

IS  stated  to  take  its  name  from  having  been  the  gate  of  Belin,  a  king  of  the  Britons, 
about  400  B.C.  But  this  rests  upon  no  better  authority  than  Geoffrey  of  Mon- 
mouth, and  is  doubted  by  Stow,  who  suggests  that  the  gate  was  called  from  some 
owner  named  Beling  or  Billing :  Stow  describes  it  as  "  a  large  water-gate,  port,  or 
harborough  for  ships  and  boats,  commonly  arriving  there  with  fish,  both  fresh  and 
salt,  shell-fishes,  salt,  oranges,  onions,  and  other  fruits  and  roots,  wheat,  rye,  and  grain 
of  divers  sorts,  for  the  service  of  the  City.  It  has  been  a  quay,  if  not  a  market,  for 
nearly  nine  centuries — since  the  customs  were  paid  here  under  Ethelred  II.,  a.d.  979 ; 
and  fishing-boats  paid  toll  here,  according  to  the  laws  of  Athelstan,  who  died  940 
Its  present  appropriation  dates  from  1699,  when,  by  an  Act  of  William  III.,  it  was 
made  "  a  free  and  open  market  for  all  sorts  of  fish ;"  and  was  fixed  at  the  western 
extremity  of  the  Custom  House,  a  short  distance  below  London  Bridge. 

The  Market,  for  many  years,  consisted  of  a  collection  of  wooden  pent-houses,  rude 
sheds,  and  benches :  it  commenced  at  three  o'clock  A.M.  in  the  summer  and  five  in  the 
winter:  in  the  latter  season  it  was  a  strange  scene,  its  large  flaring  oil-lamps  showing 
a  crowd  struggling  amidst  a  Babel  din  of  vulgar  tongues,  such  as  rendered  "Billings- 
gate "  a  byword  for  low  abuse :  "  opprobrious,  foul-mouth  language  is  called  Billings- 
gate discourse." — (Martin's  Dictionary,  1754,  second  edit.)  In  Bailey's  Dictionary 
we  have  "  a  Billingsgate,  a  scolding,  impudent  slut."  Tom  Brown  gives  a  very  coarse 
picture  of  her  character;  and  Addison  refers  to  "  debates  which  frequently  arise  among 
the  ladies  of  the  British  fishery."  She  wore  a  strong  stuff  gown,  tucked  up,  and  show- 
ing a  large  quilted  petticoat ;  her  hair,  cap,  and  bonnet  flattened  into  a  mass  by  carry- 
ing a  basket  upon  her  head ;  her  coarse,  cracked  cry,  and  brawny  limbs,  and  red, 
bloated  face,  completing  a  portrait  of  the  "  fish-fag  "  of  other  days. 


BLACKFRIABS.  55 


Not  only  has  the  virago  disappeared,  but  the  market-place  has  been  rebuilt,  and  its 
business  regulated  by  the  City  authorities,  with  especial  reference  to  the  condition  of 
the  fish ;  and  in  1849  was  commenced  the  further  extension  of  the  market.  There  is 
no  crowding,  elbowing,  screaming,  or  fighting,  as  heretofore ;  coffee  has  greatly  super- 
seded spirits ;  and  a  more  orderly  scene  of  business  can  scarcely  be  imagined.  The 
market  is  daily,  except  Sundays,  at  five  A.M.,  summer  and  winter,  announced  by  ring- 
ing a  bell,  the  only  relic  of  the  olden  rule.  The  fishing-vessels  reach  the  quay  during 
the  night,  and  are  moored  alongside  a  floating  wharf,  which  rises  and  falls  with  the 
tide.  The  oyster-boats  are  berthed  by  themselves,  the  name  of  the  oyster  cargo  is 
painted  upon  a  board,  where  they  are  measured  out  to  purchasers.  The  other  fish  are 
carried  ashore  in  baskets,  and  there  sold,  by  Dutch  auction,  to  fishmongers,  whose 
carts  are  waiting  in  the  adjoining  streets.  The  wholesale  market  is  now  over;  the 
hummarees  supply  the  costermongers,  &c. 

All  fish  is  sold  by  tale,  except  oysters  and  shell-fish,  which  are  sold  by  measure,  and 
salmon  by  weight.  In  February  and  March,  about  thirty  boxes  of  salmon,  each  one 
cwt.,  arrive  at  Billingsgate  per  day ;  the  quantity  gradually  increases,  until  it  amounts 
in  July  and  August,  to  1000  boxes  (during  one  season  it  reached  to  2500  tons) — the 
fish  being  finest  when  it  is  lowest  in  price.  Of  lobsters,  Mr.  Yarrell  states  a  twelve- 
months' supply  to  be  1,90 1,000  ;  of  turbots,  87,958.  The  speculation  in  lobsters  is 
very  great :  in  1816,  one  Billingsgate  salesman  is  known  to  have  lost  1200Z.  per 
week,  for  six  weeks,  by  lobsters !  Periwinkles  are  shipped  from  Glasgow,  fifty  or 
sixty  tons  at  a  time,  to  Liverpool,  and  sent  thence  by  railway  to  London,  where  better 
profits  are  obtained,  even  after  paying  so  much  sea  and  land  carriage.  Sometimes 
there  is  a  marvellous  glut  of  fish  :  thus,  in  two  days  from  90  to  100  tons  of  plaice, 
soles,  and  sprats  have  been  landed  at  Billingsgate,  and  sold  at  two  and  three  lbs.  a 
penny ;  soles,  2d. ;  large  plaice,  Id.  each. 

A  full  season  and  scarce  supply,  however,  occasionally  raise  the  price  enormously ;  as 
in  the  case  of  four  guineas  being  paid  for  a  lobster  for  sauce,  which,  being  the  only 
one  in  the  market,  was  divided  for  two  London  epicures !  During  very  rough  weather, 
scarcely  an  oyster  can  be  procured  in  the  metropolis.  In  the  Time.?,  Nov.  9, 1859,  we 
read:  "In  consequence  of  the  gales  which  have  recently  prevailed,  the  price  of  fish  \^ 
has  risen  so  much,  that  cod-fish  fetched  the  enormous  sum  of  11.  15s.,  yesterday  morn-  ^ 
ing  in  Billingsgate  market." 

Mackerel  were,  in  1698,  first  allowed  to  be  cried  through  the  streets  on  a  Sunday ; 
but,  by  the  9  and  10  Victoria,  passed  August  3,  1846,  the  sale  of  mackerel  on  a  Sunday 
was  declared  illegal. 

The  wholesale  fish-trade  of  Billingsgate  having  greatly  increased  in  1854,  Mr. 
Dunning,  the  City  architect,  completed  a  sub-market  on  the  site  of  Billingsgate  Dock ; 
the  carriage  of  fish  by  railway  to  London  having  greatly  superseded  the  use  of  sailing 
vessels  for  that  purpose.  A  new  granite  wharf-wall  extends  the  entire  river  frontage 
of  the  market ;  and  the  foundations  of  the  fish-market  were  constructed  on 
the  blue  clay  beneath  the  bed  of  the  river,  without  the  aid  of  a  coffer-dam. 

Few  persons  are  aware  of  the  great  consumption  of  fish  in  the  metropolis.  In  the 
Parliamentary  Keport  on  the  Sea  Fisheries,  1866,  is  a  calculation  showing  that  nearly 
as  much  fish  as  beef  is  consumed  in  London.  About  90,000  tons  of  fish  are  brought 
yearly,  of  which  some  80,000  tons  are  large  fish,  the  remainder  being  whiting  and 
small  fish. 

BLACKFRIARS 

IS  the  district  between  Ludgate  Hill  and  the  river  Thames ;  where  anciently  a 
monastery  of  Black  or  Dominican  Friars,  removed  from  Holborn  in  1276,  to  a 
piece  of  ground  given  them  by  Gregory  Rocksley,  Mayor.  The  monastery,  church,  and 
a  mansion  were  erected  with  the  stone  from  the  tower  of  Montfichet,  and  from  part  of 
the  City  wall.  Edward  I.  and  his  Queen  Eleanor  were  great  benefactors  to  the  new 
convent.  Here  the  King  kept  his  charters  and  records;  and  great  numbers  of  the 
nobility  dwelt  in  the  precinct.  In  the  church,  divers  parliaments  and  other  great 
meetings  were  held.  In  1522  the  Emperor  Charles  V.  of  Spain  was  lodged  here  by 
Henry  VIII. ;  and  here,  1524,  was  begun  the  sitting  of  a  parliament,  adjourned  to  the 


56  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Black  Monks  at  Westminster,  and  therefore  called  the  Black  Parliament.  Henry's 
divorce  from  Katherine  of  Arragon  was  decided  there ;  and  the  parliament  which  con- 
demned Wolsey,  assembled  at  Blackfriars.  The  precinct  was  very  extensive,  was  walled 
in,  had  four  gates,  and  contained  many  shops,  the  occupiers  of  which  were  allowed  to 
carry  on  their  trades,  although  not  free  of  the  City,  privileges  maintained  even  after 
the  dissolution  of  the  monasteries.  Part  of  the  church  was  altered  and  fitted  up  for 
parochial  use ;  it  was  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  and  the  church  of  St. 
Andrew  by  the  Wardrobe  erected  in  its  place.  Beneath  the  Times  office,  upon  the 
site  of  the  King's  Printing-house,  is  a  fragment  of  the  Roman  wall,  upon  which  is  a 
Norman  or  early  English  reparation ;  and  upon  that  are  the  remains  of  a  passage  and 
window,  which  probably  belonged  to  the  Blackfriars  monastery. 

Taking  advantage  of  the  sanctuary  privilege,  Richard  Burbage  and  his  fellows, 
when  ejected  from  the  City,  built  a  playhouse  in  the  Blackfriars  precinct,  and  here 
maintained  their  ground  against  the  powerful  opposition  of  the  City  and  the  Puritans. 
Shakspeare  had  a  share  in  this  theatre. 

In  the  volume  of  the  Calendar  of  State  Papers,  edited  by  Mr.  Bruce,  F.S.A.,  we 
get  some  interesting  information  of  the  Blackfriars  theatre,  part  of  the  site  of  which 
is  still  called  Playhouse-yard,  where  was  a  piece  of  ground  "  to  turne  coaches  in." 
Under  the  date  of  Nov.  16,  1633,  we  find — "Notes  by  Sec.  Windebank,  of  business 
transacted  at  the  council  this  day. — Blackfriars  Playhouse.  The  players  demand 
21,0002.  The  commissioners  valued  it  at  near  30002.  The  parishioners  offer  towards 
the  removing  of  them  1001.  An  order  of  the  board  to  remove  the  coaches  from  thence, 
and  to  lay  the  coachmen  of  whomsoever  by  the  heels.  That  no  coaches  stay  between 
Paul's  Chain  and  the  Fleet  Conduit.  The  officers  to  be  punished  if  they  do  not  their 
duties.  The  Lord  Mayor  to  have  his  commandment  directed  to  him,  and  every  ward 
to  be  answerable." 

Hard  by  is  another  Shakspearean  locality  of  note,  the  town  property  of  the  poet, 
first  pointed  out  by  Mr.  Halliwell — viz.,  the  site  of  the  house  purchased  by  Shak- 
speare of  Henry  Walker,  in  March,  1612-13,  the  counterpart  of  the  conveyance  of 
which  is  preserved  in  the  Guildhall  Library  (bought  in  1841,  for  1652.  15*.,)  with 
Shakspeare's  signature  attached,  and  which  is  there  described  as  "  abutting  upon  a 
streete  leading  doune  to  Pudle  Wharfe  (Black friers),  in  the  east  part,  right  against  the 
Kinge's  Majesties  Wardrobe."  The  v ery  house  was,  most  probably,  destroyed  in  the 
Great  Fire ;  but  the  present  one  stands  upon  its  exact  site ;  and,  until  these  few  years, 
it  had  been  tenanted  by  the  Robinson  family,  to  whom  Shakspeare  leased  it.  The 
house  was  bequeathed  by  the  poet  to  his  daughter,  Susannah  Hall. 

Three  eminent  painters  resided  in  Blackfriars :  Isaac  Oliver,  the  celebrated  minia- 
ture-painter, who  died  in  1617,  and  is  buried  in  St.  Anne's ;  Cornelius  Jansen,  the 
portrait-painter,  employed  by  King  James  I.,  and  who  painted  Milton  at  ten  years 
old.  And  here  Vandyck  was  lodged  amongst  the  King's  artists,  in  1631,  when  he 
arrived  a  second  time  in  London;  thither  His  Majesty  Charles  I.  frequently  went 
by  water,  and  viewed  his  paintings.  The  painter  kept  here  a  splendid  establishment 
and  a  sumptuous  table ;  but  his  luxurious  and  sedentary  life  brought  on  gout ;  he  died 
here  in  the  Blackfriars,  in  1641,  and  was  buried  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  with  great 
funeral  pomp. 

In  1735,  the  right  of  the  City  to  the  jurisdiction  of  the  precinct  was  decided  in  their 
favour  in  an  action  against  a  shalloon  and  drugget  seller,  tried  in  the  Court  of  King's 
Bench ;  since  which  Blackfriars  has  been  one  of  the  precincts  of  Farringdon  Ward. 

At  Hunsdon  House,  in  the  Friary,  occurred  the  catastrophe  long  remembered  as 
the  "  Fatal  Vespers."  It  was  on  the  anniversary  of  the  Gunpowder  Plot  that  some 
300  persons  had  assembled  in  a  small  gallery  over  the  gateway  of  the  lodgings  of  the 
French  ambassador,  to  hear  a  sermon  from  the  Jesuit,  Father  Drury,  when  the  whole 
congregation  were  precipitated,  with  the  timber,  plaster,  and  rubbish,  into  the  vacant 
apartments  some  20  feet  below.  Drury  was  killed,  and  with  him  about  100  persons 
of  his  congregation ;  the  bodies  were  buried,  coffinless,  in  two  large  pits. 

In  a  "  Note  of  Liberties,"  in  the  State  Paper  Office,  we  find  in  a  list  of  persons 
"  as  well  honourable  as  worshipful,  inhabiting  the  Precincts  of  the  Blacke  and  White 


BLACKWALL.  57 


d* 


Friers,"  in  the  middle  of  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  or  about  the  year  1581,  the 
following : — 

"  The  Earl  of  Lincoln,  Lord  Admirall  of  England ;  the  Bishop  of  Wigorne ;  the  Lord  Cobham;  the 
Lord  Chcynie ;  the  Lord  Laware ;  the  Lord  Kussell ;  the  Lord  Clinton ;  Sir  Ambrose  Jermyn ;  Sir 
Nicholas  Povnes ;  Sir  Thomas  Gerrarde ;  Sir  William  Morgan ;  the  Lord  Buekhurst ;  the  Lord  Chief 
Justice  of  England ;  the  Lord  Chief  Justice  of  the  Common  Pleas ;  the  Master  of  the  Holies ;  the 
Queen  e's  Sollicitour;  Mr.  Thomas  Faushawe;  Peter  Osborne;  Mr.  Powle,  of  the  Chancery." 

In  Earl-street  was  the  house  of  the  British  and  Foreign  Eible  Society,  upon  the  exact 
site  of  the  premises  in  which  the  Committee  of  six  of  the  forty-seven  "  distinguished 
scholars"  ordered  by  James  I.  to  furnish  our  present  translation  of  the  Bible  used  to 
meet  in  the  early  part  of  the  seventeenth  century,  to  review  the  whole  work ;  and 
which  was  finally  revised  there  by  Dr.  Smith  and  Dr.  Bilson,  Bishop  of  Winchester, 
then  approved  of  by  the  King,  and  printed  in  the  year  1611.  When  the  Bible 
Society  purchased  the  above  house  of  Mr.  Enderby,  there  was  in  it  a  curious  fourpost 
bedstead,  carved  and  painted,  and  the  following  inscription  in  capitals  at  the  head : — 
"  Henri,  by  the  Grace  of  God,  Kynge  of  Englonde  and  of  Fraunce,  Lorde  of  Irelonde, 
Defendour  of  the  Faythe,  and  Supreme  Heade  of  the  Churche  of  all  Englonde. 
An.  Dmi.  mcccccxxxix."  Below  the  inscription,  on  each  side,  is  the  King's 
motto,  with  the  initials  of  Henry  and  his  Royal  Consort,  Anne  Boleyn :  "  Dieu  et 
mon  droit."     "  H.  A."     A  new  house  for  the  Bible  Society  was  founded  in  June,  1866. 

In  the  operations  necessary  for  carrying  the  London,  Dover,  and  Chatham  Railway 
from  the  viaduct  across  the  Thames  at  Blackfriars,  great  part  of  the  east  side  of  Bridge- 
street  was  removed  in  1863-4;  the  railway  being  carried  on  brick  arches  parallel 
with  the  street  line;  and  a  large  passenger-station,  150  feet  in  width,  was  erected. 
In  the  requisite  clearances  was  removed  the  York  Hotel,  the  house  which  Mylne,  the 
architect  of  Blackfriars  Bridge,  built  for  his  private  residence.  On  its  southern  face, 
in  Little  Bridge-street,  was  a  medallion,  with  the  initials,  "  R.  M .,"  surmounted  by 
his  crest  and  the  date  mdcclxxx.  ;  the  walls  of  the  principal  rooms  bore  several 
medallions  of  classic  figures.  Mylne  also  planned  the  noble  approach  to  Blackfriars 
Bridge,  and  superintended  the  covering  of  the  Fleet  ditch.  He  planned  well  his 
houses  in  Blackfriars,  although  many  of  them  were  altered  or  rebuilt  for  insurance 
offices.  In  the  house  No.  5,  opposite  the  York  Hotel,  lived  Sir  Richard  Phillips : 
in  the  rear,  Bride-court,  he  published  his  Monthly  Magazine  ;  and  here,  as  became  i  L 
an  author-publisher,  he  formed  a  considerable  collection  of  pictures,  mostly  portraits  of  ' 
eminent  men  of  letters. 

BLACKWALL, 

ON  the  north  bank  of  the  Thames,  and  at  the  eastern  extremity  of  the  West  India 
Docks,  is  said  to  have  been  originally  called  Bleakwall,  from  its  exposed  situation 
on  the  artificial  bank  or  wall  of  the  river,  through  the  winding  of  which  it  is  nearly 
eight  miles  from  the  City,  though  less  than  half  that  distance  by  land.  Here,  on  the 
Brunswick  Wharf  or  Pier,  is  the  handsome  Italianized  terminus  (by  Tite)  of  the 
Blackwall  Railway  from  Fenchurch -street,  A\  miles  in  length. 

To  the  large  taverns  at  Blackwall  and  Greenwich  gourmets  flock  to  eat  whitebait,  a 
delicious  little  fish  caught  in  the  Reach,  and  directly  netted  out  of  the  river  into  the 
frying-pan.  They  appear  about  the  end  of  March  or  early  in  April,  and  are  taken 
every  flood-tide  until  September.  Whitebait  are  caught  by  a  net  in  a  wooden  frame, 
the  hose  having  a  very  small  mesh.  The  boat  is  moored  in  the  tideway,  and  the  net 
fixed  to  its  side,  when  the  tail  of  the  hose,  swimming  loose,  is  from  time  to  time  handed 
in  to  the  boat,  the  end  untied,  and  its  contents  shaken  out.  Whitebait  were  thought 
to  be  the  young  of  the  shad,  and  were  named  from  their  being  used  as  bait  in  fishing 
for  whitings.  By  aid  of  comparative  anatomy,  Mr.  Yarrell,  however,  proved  white- 
bait to  be  a  distinct  species,  Clupea  alia. 

Pennant  describes  whitebait  as  esteemed  by  the  loioer  order  of  epicures.  If  this 
account  be  correct,  there  must  have  been  a  strange  change  in  the  grade  of  the  epicures 
frequenting  Greenwich  and  Blackwall  since  Pennant's  days ;  for  at  present  the  fashion 
of  eating  whitebait  is  sanctioned  by  the  highest  authorities,  from  the  Court  of  St. 
James's  in  the  West  to  the  Lord  Mayor  and  his  court  in  the  East ;  besides  the  philo- 


CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


sophers  of  the  Royal  Society  j  and  her  Majesty's  Cabinet  Ministers,  who  wind  up  the 
Parliamentary  session  with  their  "  annual  fish  dinner,"  the  origin  of  which  is  stated  to 
be  as  follows : — 

On  the  banks  of  Dagenham  Lake  or  Reach,  in  Essex,  many  years  since,  there  stood  a  cottage, 
occupied  by  a  princely  merchant  named  Preston,  a  baronet  of  Scotland  and  Nova  Scotia,  and  sometime 
M.P.  for  Dover.  He  called  it  his  "  fishing  cottage,"  and  often  in  the  spring  he  went  thither,  with  a  friend 
or  two,  as  a  relief  to  the  toils  of  parliamentary  and  mercantile  duties.  His  most  frequent  guest  was 
the  Right  Hon.  George  Rose,  Secretary  of  the  Treasury,  and  an  Elder  Brother  of  the  Trinity  House. 
Many  a  day  did  these  two  worthies  enjoy  at  Dagenham  Reach ;  and  Mr.  Rose  once  intimated  to  Sir 
Robert,  that  Mr.  Pitt,  of  whose  friendship  they  were  both  justly  proud,  would,  no  doubt,  delight  in 
the  comfort  of  such  a  retreat.  A  day  was  named,  and  the  Premier  was  invited ;  and  he  was  so  well 
pleased  with  his  reception  at  the  "  fishing  cottage"— they  were  all  two  if  not  three  bottle  men — that,  on 
taking  leave,  Mr.  Pitt  readily  accepted  an  invitation  for  the  following  year.  For  a  few  years  the  Premier 
continued  a  visitor,  always  accompanied  by  Mr.  George  Rose.  But  the  distance  was  considerable ;  the 
going  and  coming  were  somewhat  inconvenient  for  the  First  Minister  of  the  Crown.  Sir  Robert  Preston, 
however,  had  his  remedy,  and  he  proposed  that  they  should  in  future  dine  nearer  London.  Greenwich 
was  suggested :  we  do  not  hear  of  Whitebait  in  the  Dagenham  dinners ;  and  its  introduction,  probably, 
dates  from  the  removal  to  Greenwich.  The  party  of  three  was  now  increased  to  four ;  Mr.  Pitt  being 
permitted  to  bring  Lord  Camden.  Soon  after  a  iifth  guest  was  invited — Mr.  Charles  Long,  afterwards 
Lord  Farnborough.  All  were  still  the  guests  of  Sir  Robert  Preston ;  but,  one  by  one,  other  notables 
were  invited — all  Tories — and,  at  last,  Lord  Camden  considerately  remarked,  that,  as  they  were  all 
dining  at  a  tavern,  it  was  but  fair  that  Sir  Robert  Preston  should  be  relieved  from  the  expense.  It  was 
then  arranged  that  the  dinner  should  be  given,  as  usual,  by  Sir  Robert  Preston,  that  is  to  say,  at  his 
invitation ;  and  he  insisted  on  still  contributing  a  buck  and  champagne :  the  rest  of  the  charges  were 
thenceforth  defrayed  by  the  several  guests,  and,  on  this  plan,  the  meeting  continued  to  take  place 
annually  till  the  death  of  Mr.  Pitt. 

Sir  Robert  was  requested,  next  year,  to  summon  the  several  guests,  the  list  of  whom,  by  this  time, 
included  most  of  the  Cabinet  Ministers.  The  time  for  meeting  was  usually  after  Trinity  Monday,  a 
short  period  before  the  end  of  the  Session.  By  degrees  the  meeting,  which  was  originally  purely  gastro- 
nomic, appears  to  have  assumed,  in  consequence  of  the  long  reign  of  the  Tories,  a  political,  or  semi- 
political  character.  Sir  Robert  Preston  died;  but  Mr.  Long,  now  Lord  Farnborough,  undertook  to 
summon  the  several  guests,  the  list  of  whom  was  furnished  by  Sir  Robert  Preston's  private  secretary. 
Hitherto,  the  invitations  had  been  sent  privately :  now  they  were  despatched  in  Cabinet  boxes,  and  the 
party  was,  certainly  for  some  time,  limited  to  the  members  of  the  Cabinet. — Communicated  to  the  Timet. 

An  important  thing  to  be  noticed  is  the  vast  extent  of  iron  shipbuilding  carried  on 
here,  an  art  of  construction  but  of  thirty  years'  growth.  A  great  portion  of  Black- 
wall  and  the  Isle  of  Dogs  is  occupied  in  this  building  trade,  with  its  clanking  boiler- 
works,  and  its  Cyclopean  foundries  and  engineering  shops,  in  which  steam  istheprimum 
mobile. 

In  the  East  India  Docks,  at  Blackwall,  arrived,  April,  1848,  a  large  Chinese  Junk, 
the  first  ever  seen  in  England. 

BLIND-SCHOOL  (THE), 

OR  the  School  for  the  Indigent  Blind,  was  established  in  1799,  at  the  Dog  and  Duck 
premises,  St.  George's  Fields;  and  for  some  time  received  only  fifteen  blind 
persons.  The  site  being  required  by  the  City  of  London  for  the  building  of  Bethlem 
Hospital,  about  two  acres  of  ground  were  allotted  opposite  the  Obelisk,  and  there  a 
plain  school-house  for  the  blind  was  built.  In  1826,  the  School  was  incorporated ;  and 
in  the  two  following  years  three  legacies  of  500£.  each,  and  one  of  10,000£.,  were 
bequeathed  to  the  establishment.  In  1834,  additional  ground  was  purchased,  and  the 
school-house  remodelled,  so  as  to  form  a  portion  of  a  more  extensive  edifice  in  the 
Tudor  or  domestic  Gothic  style,  designed  by  John  Newman,  F.S.A.  The  tower  and 
gateway  in  the  north  front  are  very  picturesque  ;  the  School  will  now  accommodate 
220  inmates.  The  pupils  are  clothed,  lodged,  and  boarded,  and  receive  a  religious 
and  industrial  education ;  so  that  many  of  them  have  been  returned  to  their  families 
able  to  earn  from  6*.  to  8s.  per  week.  Applicants  are  not  received  under  twelve,  nor 
above  thirty,  years  of  age ;  nor  if  they  have  a  greater  degree  of  sight  than  will  enable 
them  to  distinguish  light  from  darkness.  The  admission  is  by  votes  of  the  subscribers ; 
and  persons  between  the  ages  of  twelve  and  eighteen  have  been  found  to  receive  the 
greatest  benefit  from  the  instruction. 

The  pupils  may  be  seen  at  work  between  ten  and  twelve  A.M.,  and  two  and  five  p.m., 
daily,  except  Saturdays  and  Sundays.  The  women  and  girls  are  employed  in  knitting 
stockings  and  needlework ;  in  spinning,  and  making  household  and  body  linen,  netting 
silk,  and  in  fine  basket-making ;  besides  working  baby-hoods,  bags,  purses,  watch- 
■oockets,  &c.,  of  tasteful  design,  both  in  colour  and  form.  The  women  are  remarkably 
/uick  in  superintending  the  pupils.     The  men  and  boys  make  wicker  baskets,  cradles, 


BREWERIES.  59 


and  hampers ;  rope  door-mats  and  worsted  rugs ;  and  they  make  all  the  shoes  for  the 
inmates  of  the  School.  Reading  is  mostly  taught  by  Alston's  raised  or  embossed  letters, 
in  which  have  been  printed  the  Old  and  New  Testament,  and  the  Liturgy.  Both 
males  and  females  are  remarkably  cheerful  in  their  employment :  they  have  great  taste 
and  aptness  for  music,  and  they  are  instructed  in  it,  not  as  a  mere  amusement,  but 
with  a  view  to  engagements  as  organists  and  teachers  of  psalmody ;  and  once  a  year 
they  perform  a  concert  of  sacred  music  in  the  chapel  or  music-room :  the  public  are 
admitted  by  tickets,  the  proceeds  from  the  sale  being  added  to  the  funds  of  the 
institution.  An  organ  and  pianoforte  are  provided  for  teaching;  and  above  each  of 
the  .inmates  of  the  males'  working-room  usually  hangs  a  fiddle.  They  receive,  as  pocket- 
money,  part  of  their  earnings ,  and  on  leaving  the  school,  a  sum  of  money  and  a  set  of 
tools,  for  their  respective  trades,  are  given  to  them. 

Among  the  other  Charities  for  the  Blind  is  the  munificent  bequest  of  Mr.  Charles 
Day  (of  the  firm  of  Day  and  Martin,  High  Holborn),  who  died  in  1836,  leaving 
100,000/.  for  the  benefit  of  persons  afflicted,  like  himself,  with  loss  of  sight  ;  the  divi- 
dends and  interest  to  be  disbursed  in  sums,  of  not  less  than  10/.,  or  more  than  20/., 
per  year,  to  each  blind  person,  the  selection  being  left  to  Trustees :  the  Charity  is 
named  "  The  Blind  Man's  Fund." 

BREWERIES. 

THE  great  Breweries  of  London  are  described  by  Stow,  in  1598,  as  for  the  most 
part  remaining  "near  to  the  friendly  water  of  Thames,"  which  was  long 
thought  to  be  superior  to  any  other  for  brewing ;  but  Richardson,  an  experienced 
authority,  alleges  this  to  be  a  mistake,  as  some  of  the  principal  brewers  find  the  New 
River  water  equally  good ;  they  have  also  been  at  great  expense  in  sinking  wells  upon 
their  own  premises.  In  the  Annual  Register  for  17G0  the  London  beer  trade  is  traced 
from  the  Revolution  down  to  the  accession  of  George  the  Third.  The  great  increase 
in  the  trade  appears  to  date  from  the  origin  of  Porter. 

"  Prior  to  the  year  1730,  publicans  were  in  the  habit  of  selling  ale,  beer,  and  two-penny,  and  the 
'thirsty  souls'  of  that  day  were  accustomed  to  combine  either  of  these  in  a  drink  called  half-and-half. 
From  this  they  proceeded  to  spin  '  three  threads,'  as  they  called  it,  or  to  have  their  glasses  filled  from 
each  of  the  three  taps.  In  the  year  1730,  however,  a  certain  publican,  named  Horwood,  to  save  himself 
the  trouble  of  making  this  triune  mixture,  brewed  a  liquor  intended  to  imitate  the  taste  of  the  '  three 
threads,'  arid  to  this  he  applied  the  term  '  entire.'  This  concoction  was  approved,  and  being  puffed  aa 
good  porter's  drink,  it  speedily  came  to  be  called  Porter  itself." — Quarterly  Seciew,  1854. 

By  Act  of  Parliament,  beer  and  porter  can  only  be  made  of  malt  and  hops,  the  great 
council  of  the  nation  having  omitted  all  mention  of  the  water,  which  the  brewers  have 
added  as  a  necessary  ingredient.  It  has  been  well  said  that  all  nations  know  that 
London  is  the  place  where  porter  was  invented ;  and  Jews,  Turks,  Germans,  Negroes, 
Persians,  Chinese,  New  Zealanders,  Esquimaux,  Copper  Indians,  Yankees,  and  Spanish 
Americans,  are  united  in  one  feeling  of  respect  for  the  native  city  of  the  most  univer- 
sally favourite  liquor  the  world  has  ever  known. 

The  increase  of  brewers  has  kept  pace  with  London's  increase  in  other  respects. 
Whitbread's  Brewery,  in  Chiswell-street,  Finsbury,  dates  more  than  two  centuries 
back :  we  find  it  at  the  head  of  the  list  in  1787 ;  and  so  it  continued  until  1806  in 
the  Picture  of  London,  for  which  year  Whitbread's  is  described  as  the  largest 
Brewery  in  the  metropolis,  the  year's  brewing  of  Porter  being  above  200,000  barrels. 

■  There  is  one  stone  cistern,"  says  the  account,  "  that  contains  3600  barrels ;  and  there  are  49  large 
oak  vats,  some  of  which  contain  3500  barrels ;  one  is  27  feet  in  height  and  22  feet  in  diameter.  There 
are  three  boilers,  each  of  which  holds  about  5000  barrels.  One  of  Mr.  Watt's  steam-engines  works  the 
machinery.  It  pumps  the  water,  wort,  and  beer;  grinds  the  malt,  stirs  the  mash-tubs,  and  raises  the 
casks  out  of  the  cellars.  It  is  able  to  do  the  work  of  seventy  horses,  though  it  is  of  a  small  size,  being 
only  a  twenty-four  inch  cylinder,  and  does  not  make  more  noise  than  a  spinning-wheel.  Whether  the 
magnitude  or  ingenuity  of  contrivance  is  considered,  this  Brewery  is  one  of  the  greatest  curiosities  that 
is  to  be  anywhere  seen ;  and  little  less  than  half  a  million  sterling  is  employed  in  machinery,  buildings, 
and  materials." 

To  the  Brewery  of  Barclay,  Perkins  and  Co.,  in  Park -street,  Southwark,  has,  how- 
ever, attached  a  greater  celebrity,  from  its  great  extent.  It  may  be  inspected  by  a 
letter  of  introduction  to  the  proprietors;  and  a  great  number  of  the  foreigners  of 
distinction  who  visit  the  metropolis  avail  themselves  of  such  permission.  The 
Brewery  and  its   appurtenances  occupy  about  twelve  acres  of  ground,  immediately 


60  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

adjoining  Bankside,  and  extending  from  the  land-arches  of  Southwark  Bridge  nearly 
half  of  the  distance  to  those  of  London  Bridge.  Within  the  Brewery  walls  is  said 
to  be  included  the  site  of  the  famous  Globe  Theatre,  "  which  Shakspeare  has  bound  so 
closely  up  with  his  own  history."  In  an  account  of  the  neighbourhood,  dated  1795,  it 
is  stated  that "  the  passage  which  led  to  the  Globe  Tavern,  of  which  the  playhouse 
formed  a  part,  was,  till  within  these  few  years,  known  by  the  name  of  Globe-alley,  and 
upon  its  site  now  stands  a  large  storehouse  for  Porter."  We  are  inclined  to  regard 
this  evidence  merely  as  traditional.  However,  the  last  Globe  Theatre  was  taken 
down  about  the  time  of  the  Commonwealth ;  and  so  late  as  1720,  Maid-lane  (now  called 
New  Park-street),  of  which  Globe-alley  was  an  offshoot,  was  a  long,  straggling  place, 
with  ditches  on  each  side,  the  passage  to  the  houses  being  over  little  bridges  with 
little  garden-plots  before  them  (Strype's  Stow). 

Early  in  the  last  century  there  was  a  Brewery  here,  comparatively  very  small ;  it 
then  belonged  to  a  Mr.  Halsey,  who,  on  retiring  from  it  with  a  large  fortune,  sold  it  to 
the  elder  Mr.  Thrale ;  he  became  Sheriff  of  Surrey  and  M.P.  for  Southwark,  and  died 
in  1758.  About  this  time  the  produce  of  the  Brewery  was  30,000  barrels  a  year. 
Mr.  Thrale's  son  succeeded  him,  and  found  the  Brewery  so  profitable  and  secure  an  income, 
that,  although  educated  to  other  tastes  and  habits,  he  did  not  part  with  it ;  yet  the 
Brewery,  through  Thrale's  unfortunate  speculation  elsewhere,  was  at  one  time,  accord- 
ing to  Mrs.  Thrale,  130,0002.  in  debt,  besides  borrowed  money  ;  but  in  nine  years  every 
shilling  was  paid.  Thrale  was  the  warm  friend  of  Dr.  Johnson,  who,  from  1765  to  the 
brewer's  death,  lived  partly  in  a  house  near  the  Brewery,  and  at  his  villa  at  Streatham. 
Before  the  fire  at  the  Brewery,  in  1832,  a  room  was  pointed  out,  near  the  entrance  gate- 
way, which  the  Doctor  used  as  a  study.  In  1781  Mr.  Thrale  died,  and  his  executors, 
of  whom  Johnson  was  one,  sold  the  Brewery  to  David  Barclay,  junior,  then  the  head 
of  the  banking  firm  of  Barclay  and  Co.,  for  the  sum  of  135,0002.  "  We  are  not  here," 
said  Johnson,  on  the  day  of  the  sale,  "  to  sell  a  parcel  of  boilers  and  vats,  but  the 
potentiality  of  growing  rich  beyond  the  dreams  of  avarice."  While  on  his  tour  to  the 
Hebrides,  Johnson  mentioned  that  Thrale  paid  20,0002  a  year  to  the  revenue, 
and  that  he  had  four  vats,  each  of  which  held  1600  barrels,  above  1000 
hogsheads.  David  Barclay  placed  in  the  brewing  firm  his  nephew  from  America, 
Robert  Barclay,  who  became  of  Bury  Hill;  and  Mr.  Perkins,  who  had  been 
in  Mr.  Thrale's  establishment — hence  the  firm  of  "  Barclay  and  Perkins."  Robert 
Barclay  was  succeeded  by  his  son,  Charles  Barclay,  who  sat  in  Parliament  for  South- 
wark ;  and  by  his  sons  and  grandsons.  Forty  years  since,  the  Brewery  was  of  great 
extent;  in  1832  a  great  portion  of  the  old  premises  was  destroyed  by  fire,  but  was 
rebuilt,  mostly  of  iron,  stone,  and  brick.  The  premises  extend  from  New  Park-street, 
southward,  tbrough  Park-street,  both  sides  of  which  are  the  Brewery  buildings,  con- 
nected by  a  light  suspension  bridge ;  to  the  right  is  the  vast  brewhouse  and  principal 
entrance.  There  are  extensive  ranges  of  malt-houses  extending  northward,  with  a 
wharf  to  Bankside.  From  the  roof  of  nearly  the  middle  of  the  premises  may  be  had  a 
bird's-eye  view  of  the  whole. 

The  water  used  for  brewing  is  pumped  up  by  a  steam-engine  through  a  large  iron 
main,  which  passes  under  the  malt  warehouses,  and  leads  to  the  "  liquor-backs,"  two 
cast-iron  cisterns,  on  columns,  reaching  an  elevation  of  some  40  feet.  By  this  means 
the  establishment  may  be  supplied  with  water  for  brewing  to  the  extent  of  a  hundred 
thousand  gallons  daily.  There  is  on  the  premises  an  Artesian  well  367  feet  deep ;  but 
its  water,  on  account  of  its  low  temperature,  is  principally  used  for  cooling  the  beer  in 
hot  weather. 

The  machinery  is  worked  throughout  the  Brewery  by  steam.  The  furnace-shaft  is 
19  feet  below  the  surface,  and  110  feet  above ;  and,  by  its  great  height,  denotes  the 
situation  of  this  gigantic  establishment  among  the  forest  of  Southwark  chimneys. 

The  malt  is  deposited  in  enormous  bins,  each  of  the  height  or  depth  of  an  ordinary 
three-storied  house.  The  rats  are  kept  in  check  by  a  standing  army  of  cats,  who  are 
regularly  fed  and  maintained. 

The  malt  is  conveyed  to  be  ground  in  tin  buckets  upon  an  endless  leather  band 
("  Jacob's  Ladder")  ;  and  thus  carried  to  the  height  of  60  or  70  feet,  in  the  middle  of 
the  Great  Brewhouse,  built  entirely  of  iron  and  brick,  and  lighted  by  eigbt  large  and 


BREWERIES.  61 


lofty  windows.  The  Brewhouse  is  225  feet  long  by  60  in  width,  and  of  prodigious 
height,  with  an  elaborate  iron  roof,  the  proportions  reminding  us  of  Westminster  Hall. 
Within  this  compass  are  complete  sets  of  brewing  apparatus,  perfectly  distinct  in 
themselves,  but  connected  with  the  great  supply  of  malt  from  above,  of  water  from 
below,  and  of  motive  force  from  the  steam-engine  behind,  vast  coolers,  fermenting  vats, 
&c.  Each  of  the  copper  boilers  cost  nearly  5000/.,  and  consists  of  a  furnace,  a  globular 
copper  holding  320  barrels,  and  a  cylindrical  cistern  to  contain  120  barrels,  an  arrange- 
ment equally  beautiful  and  useful  from  its  compactness  and  the  economy  of  heat. 
There  is  no  continuous  floor ;  but  looking  upwards,  whenever  the  steamy  vapour  per- 
mits, there  may  be  seen  at  various  heights,  stages,  platforms,  and  flights  of  stairs,  all 
subsidiary  to  the  Cyclopean  piles  of  brewing  vessels.  The  coals,  many  tons  per  day, 
are  drawn  up  from  below  by  tackle,  and  wheeled  along  a  railway. 

"  The  hot  water  is  drawn  from  one  of  the  copper  boilers  to  the  corresponding  mash-vat  below ;  and 
machinery  working  from  a  centre  on  a  cog-rail  that  extends  over  the  circumference  of  the  vat,  stirs  the 
malt.  The  mash-vat  has  a  false  bottom,  which  in  due  time  lets  off  the  wort  through  small  holes  to  an 
under-pan,  whence  it  is  pumped  back  to  the  emptied  copper,  from  whence  it  receives  the  hot  water,  and 
there,  mixed  with  hops,  it  is  boiled,  and  again  run  otf  into  a  vast  cistern,  where  passing  through  a 
perforated  bottom,  it  leaves  the  hops,  and  is  pumped  through  the  cooling  tubes  or  refrigerators  into  the 
open  cooler,  and  thence  to  the  fermenting  cases ;  whence,  in  a  few  days,  it  is  drawn  off  into  casks,  again 
fermented,  and  when  clearer  put  into  the  large  vat." 

The  surface  of  one  of  the  fermenting  cases  nearly  filled  is  a  strange  sight :  the  yeast 
rises  in  rock-like  masses,  which  yield  to  the  least  wind,  and  the  gas  hovers  in  pungent 
mistiness  over  the  ocean  of  beer.  The  largest  vat  will  contain  about  3500  barrels  of 
porter,  which,  at  the  retail  price,  would  yield  9000/.  The  "  Great  Tun  of  Heidelberg" 
would  hold  hut  half  this  quantity. 

Nearly  every  portion  of  the  heavy  toil  is  accomplished  by  the  steam-engine.  The 
malt  is  conveyed  from  one  building  to  another,  even  across  the  street,  by  machinery, 
and  again  to  the  crushing  rollers  and  mash  vat.  The  cold  and  hot  water,  the  wort  and 
beer,  are  pumped  in  various  directions,  almost  to  the  exclusion  of  human  exertions. 
With  so  much  machinery  and  order,  few  men  comparatively  are  required  for  the 
enormous  brewing  of  3000  bushels  of  malt  a  day.  The  stables  are  a  pattern  of  order. 
The  name  of  each  horse  is  painted  upon  a  board  over  the  rack  of  each  stall.  The  horses 
are  mostly  from  Flanders,  are  about  200  in  number,  and  cost  from  70/.  to  80/.  each. 

Truman,  Haribury,  Buxton,  Sf  Co.'s  Brewery  is  situated  in  Brick-lane,  Spitalfields, 
and  covers  nearly  six  acres  of  ground.  Here  are  two  mash  tuns,  each  to  contain  800 
barrels,  the  mashing  being  performed  by  a  revolving  spindle  with  huge  arms,  like  a 
chocolate-mill.  The  wort  is  then  pumped  into  large  coppers,  of  which  there  are  five, 
containing  from  300  to  400  barrels  each  ;  it  is  then  boiled  with  the  hops,  of  which  often 
two  tons  are  used  in  a  day.  The  boiling  beer  is  now  pumped  up  to  the  cooler  on  the 
roof  of  the  brewery,  which  presents  a  black  sea  of  32,000  square  feet,  partly  open  to 
the  air.  There  are  sixteen  large  furnace-chimneys  connected  with  this  brewery,  the 
smoke  of  which  is  consumed  by  Juckes's  apparatus.  There  is  a  vast  cooperage  for  the 
80,000  barrels ;  a  farrier's,  millwright's,  carpenter's  and  wheelwright's  shop  ;  a  painter's 
shop  for  sign-boards;  all  which  surround  the  central  gear  or  beer-barrel  dep6t.  The 
malt  bins  are  20  feet  across  and  35  deep.  The  stables  are  of  great  extent,  and  there 
are  a  score  of  farriers.  The  drayman  is  sui  generis ;  there  are  some  80  in  number, 
taller  than  the  Guardsmen,  and  heavier  by  two  stone. 

Meux's  Brewery  (now  Held  Sf  Co.'s),  in  Liquorpond-street,  Gray's  Inn-lane,  was 
described  by  Pennant,  in  1795,  as  "  of  magnificence  unspeakable."  In  this  year  Meux 
built  a  vessel  60  feet  in  diameter,  and  23  feet  in  height,  which  cost  5000/.  building, 
and  would  contain  from  10,000  to  12,000  barrels  of  beer,  valued  at  20,000/.  Their 
vats  then  held  100,000  barrels.  Messrs.  Meux  removed  from  Liquorpond-street  to 
their  great  brewery  at  the  end  of  Tottenham  Court-road.  The  head  of  the  firm,  Sir 
Henry  Meux  was  created  a  baronet  in  1831,  when  he  had  a  fortune  of  200,000/.,  which  by 
his  income  from  the  brewery,  increased  in  after  years  to  between  500,000/.  and  600,000/. 

The  handsomest  edifice  of  this  class  in  the  metropolis  is  the  Lion  Brewery,  built  for 
Goding,  in  1836,  in  Belvedere-road,  next  Waterloo-bridge,  and  surmounted  with  a 
colossal  stone  lion.  The  top  of  the  building  is  a  tank  to  contain  1000  barrels  of  water, 
pumped  up  from  a  well  230  feet  deep,  or  from  the  Thames ;  this  supplies  the  floor 


62  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

below,  where  the  boiled  liquor  is  cooled — 200  barrels  in  less  than  an  hour ;  when  cooled 
it  is  received  on  the  floor  beneath  into  the  fermenting  tuns  j  next  it  descends  to  the  floor 
for  fining ;  and  lastly,  to  the  cellars  or  store-vats.  The  steam-engine  passes  the  beer 
under  the  Belvedere-road ;  loads  or  unloads  barges ;  conveys  malt  by  the  Archimedes 
Screw  or  Jacob's  Ladder ;  and  pumps  water  and  beer  to  every  height  and  extreme 
position,  displaying  the  advantage  of  mechanic  power,  by  its  steady,  quiet  regularity. 

The  Metropolitan  Breweries  have  their  signs,  which  figure  upon  the  harness  of  their 
dray-horses ;  thus,  Barclay  and  Perkins,  the  Anchor ;  Calvert's  (now  the  City  of 
London),  the  Hour-glass ;  Meux,  Horseshoe,  &c. 

BRIDEWELL  HOSPITAL. 

UPON  one  of  the  oldest  historic  sites  in  the  City  of  London  stood  the  ancient  palace 
of  Bridewell,  which  extended  nearly  from  Fleet-street  to  the  Thames  at  Black- 
friars.  It  was  founded  upon  the  remains  of  a  building  supposed  to  be  Roman,  and 
inhabited  by  the  Kings  of  England  previous  to  the  Conquest.  Here  our  Norman 
Kings  held  their  Courts.  Henry  I.  gave  stone  towards  rebuilding  the  palace ;  and  in 
1847,  in  excavating  the  site  of  Cogers  Hall,  in  Bride-lane,  was  discovered  a  vault,  with 
Norman  pellet-moulding,  and  other  remains  of  the  same  date.  The  palace  was  much 
neglected  until,  upon  the  site  of  the  old  Tower  of  Mountfiquit,  Henry  VIII.  built  "a 
stately  and  beautiful  house  thereupon,  giving  it  to  name  Bridewell,  of  the  parish  and 
well  there." — (Stow.)  This  house  was  erected  for  the  reception  of  Charles  V.  of  Spain, 
though  only  his  nobles  were  lodged  here,  "  a  gallery  being  made  out  of  the  house  over 
the  water  [the  Fleet],  and  through  the  wall  of  the  City  into  the  Emperor's  lodgings 
in  the  Blackfriars." — (Stoio.)  The  whole  third  act  of  Shakspeare's  Henry  VIII.  is 
laid  in  "  the  palace  at  Bridewell,"  which  is  historically  correct.  Subsequently  the 
King,  taking  a  dislike  to  the  palace,  let  it  fall  to  decay.  The  "  wide,  large,  empty 
house"  was  next  presented  to  the  City  of  London  by  King  Edward  VI.,  after  a  sermon 
by  Bishop  Ridley,  who  begged  it  of  the  King  as  a  workhouse  for  the  poor  and  a  house 
of  correction ;  the  gift  was  made  for  "  sturdy  rogues,"  and  as  "  the  fittest  hospital  for 
those  cripples  whose  legs  are  lame  through  their  own  laziness."  It  was  endowed 
with  lands  and  furniture  from  the  Savoy.  All  this  history  is,  by  a  curious  licence, 
transferred  to  Milan,  by  Decker,  in  the  second  part  of  the  old  play  of  the  Honest 
Whore.  The  account  is  very  exact,  compared  with  Entick's  History  of  London,  iv. 
284.  (Nares's  Glossary,  new  edit.  1859.)  The  gift  was  confirmed  by  charter  only  ten 
days  before  the  death  of  the  King.  Nearly  two  years  elapsed  before  Queen  Mary  con- 
firmed her  brother's  gift ;  and  in  February,  1555,  the  Mayor  and  Aldermen  entered 
Bridewell  and  took  possession,  with  seven  hundred  marks  land,  and  all  the  bedding  and 
other  furniture  of  the  house  of  the  Savoy.  But  the  gift  soon  proved  costly  and  in- 
convenient to  the  citizens  by  attracting  thither  idle  and  abandoned  people  from  the 
outskirts  of  London,  when  the  Common  Council  issued  acts  against  "  the  resort  of 
masterless  men."  In  1608,  the  City  erected  here  twelve  large  granaries  for  corn  and 
two  storehouses  for  coals.  In  Aggas's  plan  of  London,  the  buildings  and  gardens  of  the 
hospital  extend  from  the  present  site  to  the  Thames,  on  the  bank  of  which  a  large 
castellated  mansion  is  represented ;  as  also  in  Van  der  Wyngrerde's  (1542)  view,  in  the 
Bodleian  Library ;  but  in  Hollar's  view,  after  the  Great  Fire,  most  of  the  buildings  are 
consumed. 

The  Hospital  was  rebuilt  as  we  see  it  in  Kip's  view,  1720,  in  two  quadrangles,  the 
principal  of  which  fronted  the  Fleet  River,  now  a  vast  sewer  under  the  middle  of 
Bridge-street.  Within  the  present  century  were  built  the  committee-room  and 
prisons  ;  the  chapel  was  rebuilt  and  the  whole  latterly  formed  only  one  large  quad- 
rangle, with  a  handsome  entrance  from  Bridge-street ;  the  keystone  of  the  archway 
is  sculptured  with  the  head  of  King  Edward  VI.  Hatton  thus  minutely  describes 
the  hospital  in  1708: — 

It  is  a  prison  and  house  of  correction  for  idle  vagrants,  loose  and  disorderly  servants,  night-walkers, 
strumpets,  &c.  These  are  set  to  hard  labour,  and  have  correction  according  to  their  deserts ;  but 
have  their  clothes  and  diet  during  their  imprisonment  at  the  charge  of  the  house. 

It  is  also  an  hospital  for  indigent  persons,  and  where  twenty  art-masters  (as  they  are  called),  being 
decayed  traders— as  shoemakers,  taylors,  flax-drapers,  &c.  have  houses,  and  their  servants  or  appren- 


BRIDEWELL  HOSPITAL.  63 

ticcs  (being  about  140  in  all)  have  clothes  at  the  house  charge,  and  their  masters  having  the  profit  of 
their  work,  do  often  advance  by  this  means  their  own  fortunes.  And  these  boys,  having  served  their 
time  faithfully,  have  not  only  their  freedom,  but  also  £10  each  towards  carrying  on  their  respective 
trades,  and  many  have  even  arrived  from  nothing  to  be  governors. 

The  Bridewell  boys  were  distinguished  by  a  particular  dress,  and  were  very  active 
at  fires  with  an  engine  belonging  to  the  hospital.  In  1755  they  had,  however, 
grown  unruly,  and  so  turbulent  in  the  streets  as  to  be  a  great  annoyance  to  peaceable 
citizens.  Their  peculiar  costume  was  then  laid  aside,  and  they  became  more  peaceable. 
The  Hogging  at  Bridewell  for  offences  committed  without  the  prison  is  described  by 
Ward  in  his  London  Spy  ;  both  men  and  women  were  whipped  on  their  naked  backs, 
before  the  Court  of  Governors.  The  president  sat  with  his  hammer  in  his  hand,  and 
the  culprit  was  taken  from  the  post  when  the  hammer  fell.  Hogarth,  in  his  "  Harlot's 
Progress,"  gives  the  peculiar  features  of  the  place.  In  the  Fourth  Plate  men  and 
women  are  beating  hemp  under  the  eye  of  a  savage  taskmaster ;  and  a  lad,  too  idle  to 
work,  is  seen  standing  on  tiptoe  to  reach  the  stocks,  in  which  his  hands  are  fixed, 
while  over  his  head  is  written,  "  Better  to  work  than  stand  thus."  *  When  Howard 
visited  Bridewell  he  found  the  building  damp  and  unhealthy,  and  the  rooms,  cells,  and 
corridors  confined  and  dark,  and  altogether  a  bad  specimen  of  a  prison. 

"  Lob's  Pound  "  was  a  cant  name  for  Bridewell,  the  origin  of  which  so  puzzled 
Archdeacon  Nares,  that  he  said  :  "  Who  Lob  was,  is  as  little  known  as  the  site  of 
Lipsbury  Pinfold."  In  Sudibras  the  term  is  employed  as  a  name  for  the  stocks  into- 
which  the  Knight  put  Crowdero  : — 

Crowdero,  whom,  in  irons  bound,  L/hi 

Thou  basely  threw'st  into  Lob's  Pound.  ^  ' 

Miss  Baker  suggests,  in  her  Northamptonshire  Glossary,  that  the  name  originated 
from  "  lob,"  a  looby  or  clown,  rather  than  any  specific  individual — Bridewell  being 
the  place  of  correction  for  the  petty  offences  of  that  class. 

Bridewell  is  named  from  the  famous  well  in  the  vicinity  of  St.  Bride's  Church ;  and 
this  prison  being  the  first  of  its  kind,  all  other  houses  of  correction,  upon  the  same 
plan,  were  called  Bridewells.  In  the  Nomenclator,  1585,  occurs  "  a  workhouse  where 
servants  be  tied  to  their  work  at  Brideivell ;  a  house  of  correction ;  a  prison."  We 
read  of  a  treadmill  at  work  at  Bridewell  in  1570. 

Bridewell  was,  until  lately,  used  as  a  receptacle  for  vagrants  committed  by  the 
Lord  Mayor  and  sitting  Aldermen ;  as  a  temporary  lodging  for  persons  previous  to 
their  being  sent  home  to  their  respective  parishes;  and  a  certain  number  of  boys 
were  brought  up  to  different  trades ;  and  it  is  still  used  for  apprentices  committed 
by  the  City  Chamberlain.  The  male  prisoners  sentenced  to  and  fit  for  hard  labour 
were  employed  on  the  treadwheel,  by  which  corn  was  ground  for  the  supply  of 
Bridewell,  Bethlehem,  and  the  House  of  Occupation ;  the  younger  prisoners,  or  those 
not  sentenced  to  hard  labour,  were  employed  in  picking  junk  and  cleaning  the 
wards ;  the  females  were  employed  in  washing,  mending,  and  getting  up  the  linen 
and  bedding  of  the  prisoners,  or  in  picking  junk  and  cleaning  the  prison.  The 
punishments  for  breaches  of  prison  rules  were  diminution  of  food,  solitary  confine- 
ment, and  irons,  as  the  case  might  be.]  In  1842  were  confined  here  1324  persons,  of 
whom  233  were  under  seventeen,  and  466  were  known  or  reputed  thieves.  In  1818 
no  employment  was  furnished  to  the  prisoners.  The  seventh  Report  of  the  Inspectors 
of  Prisons  returned  Bridewell  as  answering  no  one  object  of  improvement  except 
that  of  safe  custody ;  it  does  not  correct,  deter,  or  reform ;  and  nothing  could  be 
worse  than  the  association  to  which  all  but  the  City  apprentices  were  subjected. 
However,  in  1829,  there  was  built,  adjoining  Bethlehem  Hospital,  in  Lambeth,  a 
"  House  of  Occupation,"  whither  young  prisoners  were  thenceforth  sent  from  Bridewell 
to  be  taught  useful  trades. 

The  prison  of  Bridewell  was  taken  down  in  1863 ;  and  the  committals  are  now 
made  to  the  City  Prison,  at  Holloway.  Meanwhile  a  portion  of  Bridewell  Hospital 
will  be  reserved  for  the  detention  and  reformation  of  incorrigible  City  apprentices 
committed  here  by  the  Chamberlain  from  time  to  time ;  this  jurisdiction  being  pre- 
served by  the  Court  of  Chancery  in  dealing  with  the  matters  which  concern  the 

*  This  background  is,  however,  incorrect ;  since  the  harlot,  being1  sentenced  by  a  Westminster 
magistrate,  would  not  have  been  flogged  in  the  City  Bridewell. 


64  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

disposal  of  the  building  and  the  estates  of  the  governors  of  the  Hospital.  Reforma- 
tory schools  are  also  to  be  built  from  the  revenue  of  Bridewell,  stated  at  12,000/.  per 
annum.  At  the  Social  Science  Congress,  in  1862,  the  worthy  Chamberlain  read  a 
paper  on  the  peculiar  jurisdiction  of  his  Court.  In  the  prison,  special  care  was  taken 
to  prevent  the  apprentices  making  the  acquaintance  of  the  low  vagrants  and  misde- 
meanants who  ordinarily  occupied  the  building.  The  apprentices  were  placed  in  small 
cells,  closed  in  with  double  doors,  which  shut  out  sound  as  effectually  as  sight ; 
communication  was,  therefore,  nearly  impossible.  Hereafter,  only  the  apprentices  will 
be  confined  here.  The  number  of  committals  rarely  exceeds  twenty-five  annually.  At 
the  date  of  our  last  visit  there  was  but  one  apprentice  confined  here.  Although  the 
number  is  so  small,  the  power  of  committal,  which  the  Chamberlain  has  most  praise- 
worthily  asserted  and  successfully  maintains,  acts  as  a  terror  to  evildoers,  keeping 
in  restraint  about  3000  of  these  lads  of  the  City. 

In  a  piece  of  ground,  leased  for  the  burial-place  of  Bridewell  Precinct,  Robert 
Levett,  the  old  and  faithful  friend  of  Dr.  Johnson,  and  an  inmate  of  his  house,  was 
buried,  in  1732.  Not  a  vestige  of  the  ancient  Bridewell  remains.  The  noblest 
feature  of  the  later  buildings  was  the  court-room — 85  ft.  4  in.  by  29  ft.  8  in.,  wains- 
coted, and  hung  with  the  great  picture  of  Edward  VI.  granting  the  Boyal  Charter  of 
Endowment  to  the  Mayor.  Beneath  was  a  cartoon  of  "  The  Good  Samaritan,"  by 
the  youthful  artist  Dadd.  The  other  pictures  are  a  fine  full-length  of  Charles  II.,  by 
Sir  Peter  Lely ;  and  portraits  of  the  Presidents,  including  Sir  William  Withers,  1708, 
a  very  large  equestrian  portrait,  with  St.  Paul's  in  the  background.  But  the  most 
valuable  embellishments  were  the  tables  of  benefactions,  ranging  from  500/.  to  50/., 
"  depensilled  in  gold  characters."  In  this  hall  the  governors  dined  annually,  each 
steward  contributing  15/.  towards  the  expenses,  the  dinner  being  dressed  in  the  spacious 
kitchen  beneath,  only  used  for  this  purpose.  This  hall  and  kitchen  were  taken  down 
at  the  close  of  the  year  1862 — the  official  buildings  facing  Bridge-street  remain.  The 
great  picture  of  Edward  VI.  transferring  Bridewell  Palace  to  the  City  of  London, 
which  was  engraved  by  Vertue  in  1750,  and  afterwards  adopted  into  the  series  of 
historical  prints  published  by  the  Society  of  Antiquaries,  was  long  accredited  as  painted 
by  Holbein,  whereas,  it  represents  an  occurrence  which  took  place  in  1553,  ten  years 
after  Holbein's  death.  Consequently,  it  is  simply  impossible  that  he  could  have 
painted  it,  notwithstanding  that  one  of  the  figures  in  the  background  was  asserted 
by  Vertue  and  by  Walpole  to  be  Holbein's  own  portrait,  Upon  this  picture,  Mr.  J. 
Gough  Nichols,  F.S.A.,  remarked,  in  1859,  that  "  it  is  not  now  regarded  as  Holbein's 
work,  as  it  bears  no  comparison  with  his  capital  picture  at  Barber-Surgeons'  Hall  of 
King  Henry  VIII.  granting  his  charter  to  that  Company."  "  But,"  adds  Mr. 
Nichols,  "  after  all,  though  not  a  masterly  work  of  art,  it  is  a  valuable  item  among 
a  very  few  historical  pictures,  and  it  would  be  desirable  to  recover  its  real  history,  of 
which  we  literally  know  nothing." — ArchcBologia  xxxix.  21. 

A  very  interesting  historical  fact  in  connexion  with  Bridewell  remains  to  be  noticed. 
Mr.  Lemon,  of  the  State  Paper  Office,  has  discovered  in  that  depository  a  manuscript 
showing  that  in  the  old  Bridewell  were  imprisoned  the  members  of  the  Congregational 
Church  first  formed  after  the  accession  of  Elizabeth.  On  the  evening  of  the  20th  of 
June,  1567,  the  gates  of  the  old  prison  were  opened  to  receive  a  company  of  Christian 
men  and  women,  who  were  committed  to  the  custody  of  the  gaoler  for  an  indefinite 
term,  at  the  pleasure  of  the  authorities,  who  consigned  them  to  his  care.  The  Lord 
Mayor,  in  pity  for  their  condition,  urged  them  to  make  the  required  acknowledg- 
ment ;  but  they  conscientiously  refused.  Then  were  led  to  their  cells,  men  unknown 
to  fame,  but  who  discovered  the  long-neglected  principles  of  Church  Government  in 
the  New  Testament,  which  have  wrought  in  silence  much  mighty  and  beneficial 
changes.  It  is,  no  doubt,  to  this  company  that  Bishop  Grindal  refers,  in  his  letter 
to  Bullinger,  July  11,  1568  :  "  Some  London  citizens,"  he  says,  "  with  four  or  five 
ministers,  have  openly  separated  from  us,  and  sometimes  in  private  houses,  sometimes 
in  fields,  and,  occasionally,  even  in  ships,  they  have  held  meetings  and  administered 
the  Sacraments.  Besides  this,  they  have  ordained  ministers,  elders,  and  deacons  after 
their  own  way.  The  number  of  the  sect  is  about  two  hundred,  but  consisting  of 
more  women  than  men.  The  Privy  Council  have  lately  committed  the  heads  of 
this  faction  to  prison,  and  are  now  using  means  to  put  a  timely  stop  to  the  sect." 


BRIDGES.  65 


Dr.  Waddington  has  also  discovered  some  papers  written  by  the  members  of  this 
Church  in  the  Bridewell,  signed  chiefly  by  Christian  women ;  together  with  a  docu- 
ment containing  a  brief  statement  of  their  principles,  by  Richard  Fitz,  their  pastor. 
It  appears  from  these  records — which  have  been  kept  for  nearly  three  hundred  years — 
that  Richard  Fitz,  their  minister ;  Thomas  Rowland,  deacon ;  Partridge,  and  Giles 
Fowler ;  died  in  prison.  From  the  enlarged  proportions  the  congregational  denomina- 
tion has  since  reached  in  Great  Britain  and  America,  considerable  interest  is  attached 
to  Bridewell  because  of  these  associations.  Dr.  Waddington,  following  the  current  of 
history  from  this  hidden  source,  shows,  by  indisputable  evidence  from  original  papers 
in  the  public  archives,  that  the  succession  of  Congregational  Churches  from  this  period 
is  continuous  :  the  Bridewell  may  thus  be  regarded  as  the  starting-point  of  Congrega- 
tionalism after  the  Reformation.* 

These  touching  and  simple  memorials  have  been  preserved  by  the  Metropolitan 
Bishop,  and  finally  transferred  to  the  royal  archives.  The  name  of  Fitz  was  known  to 
the  Christian  exiles  in  Holland  associated  with  the  Pilgrim  Fathers.  Henry  Ains- 
worth  speaks  of  "  that  separated  Church,  whereof  Mr.  Fitz  was  pastor,  in  the  begin- 
ning of  Queen  Elizabeth's  reign."  It  was  reserved  for  us  to  identify  him  in  his  rela- 
tion to  the  "  Flock  of  Slaughter,"  suffering  bonds  and  imprisonment  in  the  Bridewell. 
These  original  papers  enable  us  with  certainty  to  trace  the  origin  of  the  first  voluntary 
Church  in  England  after  the  Marian  persecution,  as  contemporaneous  with  the  Angli- 
can movement. — See  Historical  Papers :  No.  1,  Richard  Fitz. 

BRIDGES. 

THERE  is  no  feature  of  the  metropolis  calculated  to  convey  so  enlarged  an  idea  of 
the  wealth,  enterprise,  and  skill  of  its  population,  as  the  Eight  Bridges,  which 
have  been  thrown  across  the  Thames  within  the  present  century.  Until  the  year  1750, 
the  long  narrow  defile  of  Old  London  Bridge  formed  the  sole  land  communication 
between  the  City  and  the  suburbs  on  the  Surrey  bank  of  the  Thames ;  whereas  now, 
westward  of  the  structure  built  to  replace  the  ancient  Bridge,  are  Southwark, 
Blackfriars,  Waterloo,  Lambeth  Suspension,  Westminster,  Vajixhall,  and  Chelsea 
Bridges,  besides  the  Railway  Bridges  to  be  described  elsewhere. 

London  Beidge,  the  first  Bridge  across  the  Thames  at  the  metropolis,  was  of  wood, 
erected  in  the  year  994,  opposite  the  site  of  the  present  St.  Botolph's  Wharf:  it  is 
mentioned  in  a  statute  of  Ethelred  II.,  fixing  the  tolls  to  be  paid  by  boats  bringing 
fish  to  "  Bylynsgate." 

The  first  wooden  bridge  is  stated  to  have  been  built  by  the  pious  Brothers  of  St. 
Mary's  monastery,  on  the  Bankside ;  which  house  was  originally  a  convent  of  sisters, 
founded  and  endowed  with  the  profits  of  a  ferry  at  this  spot,  by  Mary,  the  only 
daughter  of  the  ferryman,  who  is  traditionally  said  to  be  represented  by  an  antique 
monumental  figure  in  St.  Saviour's  Church.  This  bridge  is  described  with  turrets 
and  roofed  bulwarks  in  the  narrative  of  the  invasion  of  the  fleet  of  Sweyn,  King 
of  Denmark,  in  994 ;  and  it  was  nearly  destroyed  by  the  Norwegian  Prince  Olaf 
in  1008.  It  was  rebuilt  before  the  invasion  of  Canute  in  1016,  who  is  said  to  have 
sunk  a  deep  ditch  on  the  south  side,  and  dragged  his  ships  to  the  west  side  of  the 
bridge.  It  was  easily  passed  by  Earl  Godwin  in  1052 ;  but  it  was  swept  away  by 
flood  in  1091 ;  rebuilt  in  1097  ;  burnt  in  1136  ;  and  a  new  bridge  erected  of  elm-timber 
in  1163,  by  Peter,  chaplain  of  St.  Mary  Colechurch,  Poultry. 

The  same  pious  architect  began  to  build  a  stone  bridge,  a  little  to  the  west  of  the 
wooden  one,  in  1176 ;  when  Henry  II.  gave  towards  the  expenses  the  proceeds  of  a 
tax  on  wool,  which  gave  rise  to  the  popular  saying  that  "  London  Bridge  was  built  upon 
woolpacks."  Peter  of  Colechurch  died  in  1205,  having,  it  would  appear,  left  the  bridge 
unfinished  four  years  previously ;  since  the  Patent  Roll  of  the  third  year  of  the  reign 
of  King  John  informs  us  that  the  King  was  anxious  to  bring  the  Bridge  to  perfection, 
and  in  1201  took  upon  himself  to  recommend  to  the  Mayor  and  citizens  of  London  for 
that  purpose,  Isenbert,  Master  of  the  Schools  of  Xainctes,  who  had  already  constructed 
a  bridge  there,  and  at  Rochelle.     A  translation  of  this  Royal  Writ  is  given  in  the 

*  Sec  Walks  and  Talks  about  London,  1865,  pp.  31-38. 


66  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Chronicles  of  Old  London  Bridge  (pp.  70,  71).  In  it  the  King  states  that,  hy  the 
advice  of  Hubert,  Archbishop  of  Canterbury,  and  others,  he  had  entreated  Isenbert  to 
undertake  the  building  (or  rather  completion)  of  the  bridge,  and  that  he  had  granted  the 
profits  of  the  edifices  Isenbert  was  to  build  on  the  bridge  to  be  for  ever  applied  to  its 
repair  and  sustentation ;  in  another  document  mention  is  made  of  the  houses  built  upon 
the  bridge,  as  well  as  to  a  plan  of  lighting  the  bridge  by  night,  according  to  Isenbert's 
plan.  {See  Mr.  Hardy's  Introduction  to  the  Patent  Rolls,  and  Mr.  W.  Sidney  Gibson's 
communication  to  Notes  and  Queries,  2nd  s.,  ix.,  119.)  The  bridge  was,  accordingly, 
finished  in  1209.  It  consisted  of  a  stone  platform,  926  feet  long  and  40  in  width, 
standing  about  60  feet  above  the  level  of  the  water;  and  of  a  drawbridge  and  19 
broad-pointed  arches,  with  massive  piers.  It  had  a  gate-house  at  each  end;  and 
towards  the  centre,  on  the  east  side,  a  Gothic  chapel,  dedicated  to  St.  Thomas  of 
Canterbury ;  in  the  crypt  of  which,  within  a  pier  of  the  bridge,  was  deposited,  in  a 
stone  tomb,  the  body  of  Peter  of  Colechurch.  Up  to  the  year  1250,  a  toll  of  twelve 
pence,  a  considerable  sum  at  that  time,  had  been  levied  upon  every  ship  passing  under 
London  Bridge,  i.e.  through  the  drawbridge  in  the  middle.  The  many  edicts  about 
the  nets  used  upon  the  Thames  show  how  carefully  the  fisheries  were  watched,  and 
how  productive  they  must  have  been. 

Norden  describes  the  bridge,  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  as  "adorned  with  sumptuous 
buildings  and  statelie  and  beautiful  houses  on  either  syde,"  like  one  continuous 
street,  "  except  certain  voyd  places  for  the  retyre  of  passengers  from  the  danger  of 
cars,  carts,  and  droves  of  cattle,  usually  passing  that  way,"  through  which  vacancies 
only  could  the  river  be  seen  over  the  parapet-walls  or  palings.  Some  of  the  houses 
had  platform  roofs,  with  pretty  little  gardens  and  arbours.  Near  the  drawbridge, 
and  overhanging  the  river  side,  was  the  famed  Nonsuch  House,  of  the  Elizabethan 
age :  it  was  constructed  in  Holland,  entirely  of  timber,  put  together  with  wooden 
pegs  only,  and  was  four  stories  high,  richly  carved  and  gilt. 

There  is  a  view  of  London  Bridge  by  Norden,  which  is  a  pearl  of  great  price  among  print  collectors. 
One  impression,  in  the  Sutherland  Clarendon,  in  the  Bodleian  Library,  is  in  the  second  state,  and  differs 
materially  from  the  view  published  by  Norden,  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  twenty-seven  years  earlier 
than  the  Sutherland  impression.  Of  the  first  named  view,  an  early  impression  was  discovered  in 
Germany  in  1863,  by  Mr.  J.  Holbert  Wilson ;  the  old  houses  upon  the  bridge  are  neatly  engraved ;  and 
a  cluster  of  traitors'  heads  is  placed  upon  poles  on  the  top  of  the  bridge  gate.  The  print  in  the  second 
state  has  lost  five  inches  in  depth,  and  the  dedication  states  that  Norden  had  described  it  in  the  reign  of 
Queen  Elizabeth,  but  the  plate  had  been  "neare  these  twenty  years,  embezzed  and  detained  by  a  person 
till  of  late  unknown  j"  it  was,  therefore,  not  published  until  late  in  the  reign,  of  James  I.,  then  in  a 
mutilated  state ;  though  the  above  is  evidence  of  impressions  of  the  first  state.  This  is,  therefore,  the 
oldest  known  view  of  London  Bridge. 

We  may  here  mention  another  old  view  of  London  Bridge — one  of  a  series  published  by  Boydell  and 
Co.,  in  1818,  with  a  note  stating  it  to  have  been  copied  from  a  print  engraved  in  1751,  from  a  "very 
antient  picture;  but  the  plate  (which  was  a  private  one)  was  afterwards  mislaid."  This  view  is  birds- 
eye,  reaching  from  the  bridge  to  St.  Katharine's ;  in  it  appears  St.  Paul's,  with  the  spire,  which  was 
burnt  in  1561.  Beneath  the  view  this  is  stated  to  be  "  the  oldest  view  of  London  extant ;"  but  we  have 
Van  den  Wyngrerde's  (1543)  view,  in  the  Sutherland  Collection.  In  neither  of  these  views,  however, 
is  London  Bridge  so  distinctly  shown  as  in  Norden's  horizontal  view :  the  detail  of  the  houses  on  the 
bridge  is  surprisingly  minute. 

The  chronicles  of  this  stone  bridge  through  nearly  six  centuries  and  a  quarter 
form,  perhaps,  the  most  interesting  episode  in  the  history  of  London.  The  scenes 
of  fire  and  siege,  insurrection  and  popular  vengeance,  of  national  rejoicing  and  of 
the  pageant  victories  of  man  and  of  death,  of  fame  or  funeral — it  were  vain  for  us 
to  attempt  to  recite.  In  1212,  within  four  years  after  the  bridge  being  finished, 
there  was  a  terrific  conflagration  at  each  end,  when  nearly  3000  persons  perished; 
in  1264,  Henry  III.  was  repulsed  here  by  De  Montfort,  Earl  of  Leicester,  and  the 
populace  attacked  the  Queen  in  her  barge  as  it  was  preparing  to  shoot  the  Bridge ; 
in  1381,  the  rebel  Wat  Tyler  entered  the  City  by  this  road ;  in  1392,  Richard  II.  was 
received  here  with  great  pomp  by  the  citizens ;  in  1415,  it  was  the  scene  of  a  grand  tri- 
umph of  Henry  V.,  and  in  1422  of  his  funeral  procession ;  in  1428,  the  Duke  of  Norfolk's 
barge  was  lost  by  upsetting  at  the  bridge,  and  his  Grace  narrowly  escaped ;  in  1450 — 

"  Jack  Cade  hath  gotten  London  Bridge ;  the  citizens 
Fly  and  forsake  their  houses :" 

but  the  rebel  was  defeated,  and  his  head  placed  upon  the  Gate-house :  in  1477,  Falcon- 
bridge  attacked  the  Bridge,  and  fired  several  houses ;  in  1554,  it  was  one  of  the  daring 
scenes  of  Sir  Thomas  Wyatt's  rebellion ;  in  1632  more  than  one-third  of  the  houses 


BRIDGE— OLD  LONDON.  67 


were  consumed  in  an  accidental  conflagration ;  and  in  16(16  the  labyrinth  of  dwellings 
was  swept  away  by  the  Great  Fire  :  the  whole  street  was  rebuilt  within  twenty  years ; 
but,  in  1757,  the  houses  were  entirely  removed,  and  parapets  and  balustrades  erected 
on  each  side ;  in  this  state  the  Bridge  remained  till  its  demolition  in  1832. 

In  1582,  at  the  west  side  of  the  City  end  of  the  Bridge,  Waterworks  were 
commenced  by  Morice,  with  water-wheels  turned  by  the  flood  and  ebb  current  of 
the  Thames  passing  through  the  purposely  contracted  arches,  and  working  pumps 
for  the  supply  of  water  to  the  metropolis ;  this  being  the  earliest  example  of  public 
water  service  by  pumps  and  mechanical  powers  which  enabled  water  to  be  distributed 
in  pipes  to  dwelling-houses.  Previously,  water  had  only  been  supplied  to  public 
cisterns,  from  whence  it  was  conveyed  at  great  expense  and  inconvenience  in 
buckets  and  carts.  These  Waterworks  were  not  removed  until  1822,  when  the  pro- 
prietors received  for  their  interest  10,000Z.  from  the  New  River  Company. 

The  Bridge  shops  had  signs,  and  were  "  furnished  with  all  manner  of  trades." 
Holbein  is  said  to  have  lived  here ;  as  did  also  Herbert,  the  printseller,  and  editor 
of  Ames's  Typographical  Antiquities,  at  the  time  the  houses  were  taken  down.  On 
the  first  night  Herbert  spent  here,  a  dreadful  fire  took  place  on  the  banks  of  the 
Thames,  which  suggested  to  him  the  plan  of  a  floating  fire-engine,  soon  after 
adopted.  Tradesmen's  Tokens  furnish  but  few  records  of  the  Bridge  shopkeepers. 
"As  fine  as  London  Bridge"  was  formerly  a  proverb  in  the  City;  and  many  a 
serious,  sensible  tradesman  used  to  believe  that  heap  of  enormities  to  be  one  of  the 
Seven  Wonders  of  the  World,  and,  next  to  Solomon's  Temple,  the  finest  thing  that 
ever  art  produced.  Pin-makers,  the  first  of  whom  was  a  negro,  kept  shops  in  con- 
siderable numbers  here,  as  attested  by  their  printed  shop-bills. 

The  Bridge  was  also  the  abode  of  many  artists :  here  lived  Peter  Monamy,  the 
marine  painter,  who  was  taught  drawing  by  a  sign  and  house  painter  on  London 
Bridge.  Dominic  Serres  once  kept  shop  here  ;  and  Hogarth  lived  here  when  he 
engraved  for  old  John  Bowles,  in  Cornhill.  Swift  and  Pope  have  left  accounts  of 
their  visits  to  Crispin  Tucker,  a  waggish  bookseller  and  author-of-all-work,  who 
lived  under  the  southern  gate.  One  Baldwin,  haberdasher,  born  in  the  house 
over  the  Chapel,  at  seventy-one  could  not  sleep  in  the  country  for  want  of  the  noise 
of  the  roaring  and  rushing  tide  beueath,  which  "  he  had  been  always  used  to  hear." 

A  most  terrific  historic  garniture  of  the  Bridge  was  the  setting  up  of  heads  on  its 
.gate-houses  :  among  these  ghastly  spectacles  were  the  head  of  Sir  William  Wallace, 
1305;  Simon  Frisel,  1306;  four  traitor  knights,  1397;  Lord  Bardolf,  1408 ;  Boling- 
broke,  1440;  Jack  Cade  and  his  rebels,  1451 ;  the  Cornish  traitors  of  1497;  and  bf 
Fisher,  Bishop  of  Rochester,  1535,  displaced  in  fourteen  days  by  the  head  of  Sir 
Thomas  More.  In  1577,  the  several  heads  were  removed  from  the  north  end  of  the 
Drawbridge  to  the  Southwark  entrance,  thence  called  Traitors'  Gate.  In  1578,  the 
head  of  a  recusant  priest  was  added  to  the  sickening  sight ;  and  in  1605,  that  of 
Garnet  the  Jesuit,  as  well  as  those  of  the  Romish  priests  executed  under  the  statutes 
of  Elizabeth  and  James  I.  Hentzner  counted  above  thirty  heads  on  the  Bridge 
in  1598.     The  display  was  transferred  to  Temple  Bar  in  the  reign  of  Charles  II. 

The  narrowness  of  the  Bridge  arches  so  contracted  the  channel  of  the  river  as  to 
cause  a  rapid ;  and  to  pass  through  them  was  termed  to  "  shoot  the  bridge,"  a  peril 
taken  advantage  of  by  suicides.  Thus,  in  1689,  Sir  William  Temple's  only  son,  lately 
made  Secretary  at  War,  leaped  into  the  river  from  a  boat  as  it  darted  through  an 
arch :  he  had  filled  his  pockets  with  stones,  and  was  drowned,  leaving  in  the  boat  this 
note :  "  My  folly  in  undertaking  what  I  could  not  perform,  whereby  some  misfortunes 
have  befallen  the  King's  service,  is  the  cause  of  my  putting  myself  to  this  sudden 
end ;  I  wish  him  success  in  all  his  undertakings,  and  a  better  servant."  Pennant  adds 
to  the  anecdote  that  Sir  William  Temple's  false  and  profane  reflection  on  the  occasion 
was,  that  "  a  wise  man  might  dispose  of  himself,  and  make  his  life  as  short  as  he 
pleased  !"  In  1737,  Eustace  Budgell,  a  soi-disant  cousin  of  Addison,  and  who  wrote 
in  the  Spectator  and  Guardian,  when  broken  down  in  character  and  reduced  to  poverty, 
took  a  boat  at  Somerset  Stairs ;  and  ordering  the  waterman  to  row  down  the  river, 
Budgell  threw  himself  into  the  stream  as  they  shot  London  Bridge.  He,  too,  had 
filled  his  pockets  with  stones,  and  rose  no  more  :  he  left  in  his  secretary  a  slip  of  papa-, 

If  2 


68  CUBIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

on  which  was  written  a  broken  distich  :  "  What  Cato  did,  and  Addison  approved,  cannot 
be  wrong."  This  is  a  wicked  sophism ;  there  being  as  little  resemblance  between  the 
cases  of  Budgell  and  Cato  as  there  is  reason  for  considering  Addison's  Cato  written 
in  defence  of  suicide. 

Of  a  healthier  complexion  is  the  anecdote  of  Edward  Osborne,  in  1536,  leaping 
into  the  Thames  from  the  window  of  one  of  the  Bridge  houses,  and  saving  his  master's 
infant  daughter,  dropped  by  a  nurse-maid  into  the  stream.  The  father,  Sir  William 
Hewet,  was  Lord  Mayor  in  1559,  and  gave  this  daughter  in  marriage  to  Osborne, 
whose  great-grandson  became  the  first  Duke  of  Leeds. 

In  1716,  a  very  remarkable  phenomenon  occurred  at  London  Bridge.  The  Thames, 
from  long  continued  drought,  and  the  consequent  stopping  of  the  supplies  by  its 
tributaries,  was  reduced  to  so  low  a  pitch,  that  many  persons  walked  over  its  bed  from 
Southwark  to  the  city,  and  vice  versa.  During  the  twenty-four  hours  which  this 
extraordinary  ebb — assisted  as  it  was  by  a  gale  of  wind  from  W.S.W. — lasted,  many 
interesting  observations  were  made  in  respect  to  the  foundation  of  the  bridge,  and  a 
variety  of  relics  were  found.  To  allow  of  extensive  changes  and  repairs,  a  temporary 
wooden  bridge  was  built  on  the  sterlings,  or  ancient  coffer-dams,  to  protect  the  piers; 
it  was  burnt  April  10,  1758,  but  rebuilt  in  a  month.  The  centre  pier  and  two  arches 
adjoining  were  then  taken  down  and  replaced  by  one  large  arch,  the  bridge  widened 
several  feet,  and  reopened  in  1759.  These  alterations  are  said  to  have  cost 
the  large  sum  of  100,000*. 

The  annual  loss  of  life  and  property  that  occurred  through  the  dangerous  state  of 
the  navigation  under  the  arches  (the  fall  being  at  times  five  feet),  and  the  perpetually 
recurring  expense  of  keeping  the  Bridge  in  repair,  suggested,  about  the  beginning  of 
\o  the  present  century,  its  demolition  and  rebuilding;  but  not  until  1824  was  the  new 
structure  commenced,  the  first  pile  being  driven  March  15.  It  was  designed  by  John 
Rennie,  F.R.S.,  and  is  about  100  feet  westward  of  the  old  Bridge.  In  excavating  the 
foundations,  were  discovered  brass  and  copper  coins  of  Augustus,  Vespasian,  and  later 
Roman  emperors;  Venetian  tokens,  Nuremberg  counters,  and  a  few  Tradesmen's 
Tokens ;  brass  and  silver  rings  and  buckles,  ancient  iron  keys  and  silver  spoons,  the 
remains  of  an  engraven  and  gilt  dagger,  an  iron  spear-head,  a  fine  bronze  lamp  (head 
of  Bacchus),  and  a  small  silver  figure  of  Harpocrates :  the  latter  preserved  in  the 
British  Museum.  We  may  here  notice,  that  upon  the  old  Bridge  grew  abundantly 
Sisymbrium  Iris,  or  London  Rocket,  with  small  yellow  flowers  and  pointed  leaves  :  this 
plant  probably  appeared  here  soon  after  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  when  it  sprung  up 
thickly  from  among  the  City  ruins. 

Mr.  Rennie  died  in  1821 ;  but  the  works  were  continued  by  his  sons,  Mr.  (now  Sir 
John)  Rennie  and  Mr.  George  Rennie ;  the  builders  being  Mr.  W.  Jolliffe  and  Sir 
Edward  Banks.  On  June  15,  1825,  the  first  stone  was  laid  in  a  coffer-dam  nearly 
forty-five  feet  below  high-water  mark,  opposite  the  southern  arch  (fourth  lock),  with 
great  ceremony,  by  the  Lord  Mayor  (Garratt),  in  the  presence  of  the  Duke  of  York ; 
and  in  the  evening  the  Monument  was  illuminated  with  portable  gas,  to  commemorate 
the  event.  Two  large  gold  medals  were  also  struck  on  the  occasion.  The  first  arch 
was  keyed  August  4,  1827 ;  the  last  Nov.  19,  1828 ;  and  the  Bridge  was  opened  with 
i  '  great  state,  August  1,  1831,  by  King  William  IV.  and  Queen  Adelaide,  who  went  and 
returned  by  water,  and  were  present  at  the  banquet  given  on  the  Bridge ;  the  Lord 
Mayor  (Key)  presiding ;  and  the  King  and  Queen  partaking  of  the  loving-cup. 

New  London  Bridge  is  unrivalled  in  the  world  "  in  the  perfection  of  proportion  and 
the  true  greatness  of  simplicity." 

"  It  consists  of  five  semi-elliptical  arches,  viz.  two  of  130  feet,  two  of  140  feet ;  and  the  centre,  152 
feet  6  inches  span,  and  37  feet  6  inches  rise,  is  perhaps  the  largest  elliptical  arch  ever  attempted  :  the 
roadway  is  52  feet  wide.  This  bridge  deserves  remark,  on  account  of  the  difficult  situation  in  which  it 
was  built,  being  immediately  above  the  old  bridge,  in  a  depth  of  from  25  to  30  feet  at  low  water,  on  a 
soft  alluvial  bottom,  covered  with  large  loose  stones,  scoured  away  by  the  force  of  the  current  from  the 
foundation  of  the  old  bridge,  the  whole  of  which  had  to  be  removed  by  dredging,  before  the  coffer-dams 
for  the  piers  and  abutments  could  be  commenced,  otherwise  it  would  have  been  extremely  difficult,  if 
not  impracticable,  to  have  made  them  water-tight;  the  difficulty  was  further  increased  by  the  old  bridge 
being  left  standing,  to  accommodate  the  traffic,  whilst  the  new  bridge  was  building ;  and  the  re- 
stricted water-way  of  the  old  bridge  occasioned  such  an  increased  velocity  of  the  current  as  materially 
to  retard  the  operations  of  the  new  bridge,  and  at  times  the  tide  threatened  to  carry  away  all  before  it. 
The  great  magnitude  and  extreme  flatness  of  the  arches  demanded  unusual  care  in  the  selection  of 


BEIDGE-LOKDON.  69 


the  materials,  which  were  of  the  finest  blue  and  white  granite  from  Scotland  and  Devonshire;  great 
accuracy  in  the  workmanship  was  also  indispensable.  The  piers  and  abutments  stand  upon  platforms 
of  timber  resting  upon  piles  about  20  feet  long.  The  masonry  is  from  8  feet  to  10  feet  below  the  bed 
of  the  river.— Sir  John  Rennie,  FM.S. 

The  time  occupied  in  the  erection  of  the  Bridge,  from  driving  the  first  pile,  March  15, 
1824,  to  its  completion  in  July,  1831,  was  seven  years  five  months  and  thirteen  days, 
during  which  it  employed  upwards  of  800  men.  Its  huilding  was  attended  with  so 
many  local  difficulties,  that  forty  persons  lost  their  lives  in  the  progress  of  the  works. 
The  total  quantity  of  stone  in  the  bridge  is  stated  at  120,000  tons ;  and  the  ends  of 
the  parapets  consist  of  the  largest  blocks  of  granite  ever  brought  to  this  country.  A 
single  cornice  runs  along  the  upper  part  of  the  bridge,  supported  on  dentils  formed 
of  solid  beams  of  granite,  marking  externally  the  line  of  the  roadway;  this  is  sur- 
mounted by  a  close  parapet,  four  feet  high,  upon  which  are  lofty  and  massive  bronzed 
standards,  with  gas  lanterns. 

The  amount  paid  to  Messrs.  Jolliffe  and  Banks  for  this  bridge  was  425,0812.  9s.  2d. ; 
but  the  whole  sum  expended  on  it,  including  the  approaches,  was  1,458,3112.  8s.  11-jd. 
The  latter  are  very  fine,  especially  the  roadway  into  the  City,  where,  at  the  suggestion 
of  Mr.  Alderman  Gibbs,  a  granite  statue  of  King  William  was  set  up,  to  commemorate 
the  opening ;  and  a  bronze  equestrian  statue  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  in  front  of 
the  Royal  Exchange,  was  erected  as  an  acknowledgment  by  the  citizens  of  his  Grace's 
exertions  in  facilitating  the  means  of  erecting  the  new  bridge. 

The  old  Bridge  was  not  entirely  removed  until  1832,  when  the  bones  of  the  builder, 
Peter  of  Colechurch,  were  found  beneath  the  masonry  of  the  chapel,  as  if  to  complete 
the  eventful  history  of  the  ancient  structure.  The  superstructure  was  enormously 
thick.  The  roadway  was  8|  feet  above  the  crowns  of  the  arches,  and  had  apparently 
risen  by  the  accumulations  of  five  different  strata,  one  of  which  was  composed  of  charred 
wood,  the  debris  of  the  houses  that  had  been  destroyed  by  fire.  The  foundations  were 
very  defective.  The  masonry  was  but  2^  feet  below  low-water  mark,  and  rested  on 
oak  planking  16  inches  wide  by  9  inches  thick,  which  in  turn  was  supported  by  a  mass 
of  Kentish  rubble,  mixed  with  chalk  and  flints,  thrown  in  and  held  together  by  star- 
lings. Parts  of  the  piers  had  been  faced  at  some  early  period,  but  very  ill  and  care- 
lessly, and  no  part  of  the  original  work  rested  on  piles. 

At  the  sale  of  the  materials  of  this  Bridge,  Mr.  Weiss,  the  cutler,  of  the  Strand, 
purchased  all  the  iron,  amounting  to  fifteen  tons,  with  which  the  piles  had  been  shod; 
and  such  portions  as  had  entered  the  ground  produced  steel  infinitely  superior  to  any 
which  Mr.  Weiss  had  ever  met  with.  Upon  examination,  it  was  inferred  that  the 
extremities  of  the  piles  having  been  charred,  the  straps  of  iron  closely  wedged  between 
them  and  the  stratum  in  which  they  were  imbedded,  must  have  been  subjected  to  a 
galvanic  action,  which,  in  the  course  of  some  six  or  seven  hundred  years,  produced  the 
above  effects. 

The  stone  proved  finely-seasoned  material  :  a  portion  of  it  was  purchased  of 
Alderman  Humphery  by  Alderman  Harmer,  and  used  in  building  his  seat,  Ingress 
Abbey,  near  Greenhithe;  the  balustrades,  of  good  proportions,  were  preserved. 
Many  snuff-boxes  and  other  memorials  were  turned  from  the  pile-wood. 

The  traffic  across  the  old  Bridge,  in  one  day  of  July,  1811,  amounted  to  89,640 
persons  on  foot,  769  waggons,  2924  carts  and  drays,  1240  coaches,  485  gigs  and  taxed 
carts,  and  764  horses.  The  present  Bridge  is  capable  of  accommodating  four  continuous 
streams  of  vehicles,  with  the  addition  of  wide  pavements  for  foot-passengers.  The 
traffic  over  the  Bridge  during  the  24  hours  ending  at  6  P.M.  has  comprised  : — Vehicles — 
cabs,  4483 ;  omnibuses,  4286 ;  waggons,  carts,  &c,  9245 ;  other  vehicles,  2430 ; 
horses,  led  or  ridden,  54 — total,  20,498.  Passengers : — In  vehicles,  60,836 ;  on  foot, 
107,074 — total,  167,910. — [See  Chronicles  of  London  Bridge,  by  an  Antiquary 
(Richard  Thomson),  1827 ;  where  the  researches  of  a  lifetime  appear  to  be  condensed 
into  a  single  volume.] 

Westminster  Bridge  was  opened  in  1750,  until  when  the  only  communication 
between  Lambeth  and  Westminster  was  by  the  ferry-boat  near  Lambeth  Palace  Gates, 
the  property  of  the  Archbishop  of  Canterbury,  granted  by  patent  under  a  rent  of  20d. 
and  for  the  loss  of  which  ferry  22052.  were  given  to  the  see. 


70  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


Attempts  to  obtain  another  bridge  over  the  Thames,  besides  that  of  London,  were 
made  in  the  several  reigns  of  Elizabeth,  James  I.,  Charles  I.  and  II.,  and  George  I. ; 
but  it  was  not  until  the  year  1736  (10  Geo.  II.),  that  Parliament  authorized  the  build- 
ing of  a  second  bridge.  The  architect  was  Charles  Labelye,  a  native  of  Switzerland : 
the  first  stone  was  laid  by  the  Earl  of  Pembroke,  Jan.  29,  1738-9;  and  the  bridge  was 
opened  Nov.  18,  1750.  It  consisted  of  fifteen  semicircular  arches,  the  centre  seventy-six 
feet  span  ;  1223  feet  long  by  44  feet  wide.  It  was  originally  intended  for  a  wooden 
bridge,  and  was  partly  commenced  on  this  principle.  The  bottom  courses  of  the  piers, 
were  laid,  or  built,  in  floating- vessels,  or  caissons,  which  when  so  loaded,  were  conducted 
to  their  proper  positions,  and  there  sunk  upon  the  natural  alluvial  bed  of  the  river ; 
the  bottom  of  the  caissons  thus  forming,  when  the  sides  had  been  removed,  the  plat- 
forms or  foundations  of  the  masonry,  unsustained  by  underpiling,  or  any  other  support 
than  that  of  the  gravel  or  sand  on  which  they  rested. 

In  the  Gentleman's  Magazine  for  1750,  a  view  of  Westminster  Bridge  as  then  finished  is  given,  with 
this  memorandum : — "  This  structure  is  certainly  a  very  great  ornament  to  our  metropolis,  and  will  be 
looked  on  with  pleasure  or  envy  by  all  foreigners.  The  surprising  echo  in  the  arches,  brings  much 
company  with  French  horns  to  entertain  themselves  under  it  in  summer ;  and  with  the  upper  part,  for 
an  agreeable  airing,  none  of  the  public  walks  or  gardens  can  stand  in  competition."  For  the  protection 
of  passengers  over  it  at  night  there  was  at  this  time  a  watch  of  twelve  men  ! 

Labelye  states  the  quantity  of  stone  in  this  Bridge  to  be  nearly  double  that  employed 
in  building  St.  Paul's  Cathedral.  "  The  caissons  contained  upwards  of  150  loads  of 
timber,  and  were  of  more  tonnage  than  a  forty-gun  vessel."  (Sutton's  Tracts).  The 
original  cost  of  the  Bridge  is  given  as  393,1 89Z.,  of  which  145,057/.  went  to  contrac- 
tors and  248,132/.  to  other  parties.  The  approaches  cost  109,054?.  It  is  worthy  of 
note  that  long  before  Labelye's  bridge  was  erected,  the  place  of  crossing  was  known  as 
Westminster  Bridge.  (See  Dr.  Wallis  to  S.  Pepys,  Oct.  24,  1699.)  In  the  old  maps 
the  landing-place  on  the  north  shore  is  so  marked. 

Vast  sums  were  expended  in  the  repair  of  this  Bridge.  Within  forty  years  it  cost 
nearly  half  a  million  of  money ;  whereas  the  property  of  the  Bridge  only  realized 
7464/.  11*.  8d.  In  1838,  Mr.  W.  Cubitt  found  the  caissons  in  a  perfect  state,  the 
wood  (fir)  retaining  its  resinous  smell.  After  the  removal  of  London  Bridge,  as  Tel- 
ford foresaw,  more  than  one  of  the  Westminster  piers  gave  way ;  to  stay  their  sinking, 
in  Aug.  1846  the  thoroughfare  was  closed ;  the  balustrades  and  heavy  stone  alcoves 
were  removed,  the  stone-work  stripped  to  the  cornice,  and  the  roadway  lowered,  thus 
lightening  it  of  30,000  tons  weight  j  timber  palings  were  put  up  at  the  sides,  and  the 
Bridge  was  re-opened.  The  proportions  of  the  sides  are  stated  to  have  been  so  accurate, 
that  if  a  person  spoke  against  the  wall  of  any  of  the  niches  on  one  side  of  the  way,  he 
might  be  distinctly  heard  upon  the  opposite  side ;  even  a  whisper  was  audible  in  the 
stillness  of  the  night.  This  was  the  last  metropolitan  bridge  which  had  a  balustrade 
parapet,  that  of  Blackfriars  Bridge  having  been  removed  in  1839. 

Westminster  Bridge  was  built  of  magnesian  limestone,  containing  from  24  to  42  per 
cent,  of  carbonate  of  magnesia,  from  which  Epsom  salts  are  obtained  by  the  application  of 
sulphuric  acid.  "  If,"  said  Dr.  Ryan,  in  a  lecture  before  'the  Royal  Agricultural 
Society,  "  Westminster  Bridge,  built  of  that  rock,  were  covered  with  water  and  sul- 
phuric acid,  it  would  be  converted  into  Epsom  salts." 

It  was  upon  Westminster  Bridge,  September  3, 1803,  that  Wordsworth  poured  forth 
this  truly  majestic  sonnet : — 

Earth  has  not  anything  to  show  more  fair : 

Dull  would  he  be  of  soul  who  could  pass  by 

A  sight  so  touching  in  its  majesty : 

This  City  now  doth  like  a  garment  wear 

The  beauty  of  the  morning ;  silent,  bare,  • 

Ships,  towers,  domes,  theatres,  and  temples,  lie 

Open  unto  the  fields,  and  to  the  sky, 

All  bright  and  glittering  in  the  smokeless  air. 

Never  did  sun  more  beautifully  steep 

In  hi3  first  splendour  valley,  rock,  or  hill; 

Ne'er  saw  I,  never  felt,  a  calm  so  deep ! 

The  river  glideth  at  its  own  sweet  will : 

Dear  God  !  the  very  houses  seem  asleep, 

And  all  that  mighty  heart  is  lying  still  1 

At  length  the  construction  of  a  new  Bridge  was  commenced  as  near  as  possible  to 
the  old  one,  the  latter  being  used   as    a  temporary  bridge.       The   works   were  com- 


BRIDGE— WESTMINSTER.  71 

menced  by  T.  Page,  C.E.,  somewhat  lower  down  the  river,  in  the  middle  of  1859.  No 
coffer-dams  were  used;  hut  on  the  site  of  each  pier,  elm  piles  were  driven  deep  below 
the  bed  of  the  river  into  the  London  clay.  Round  these  again  were  forced  massive 
iron  circular  piles,  grooved  at  the  edges,  so  as  to  admit  of  great  sheets  of  cast  iron 
being  slid  down  like  shutters  between  them;  the  space  they  shut  in  being  care- 
fully dredged  out  of  mud  to  the  bed  of  the  river,  the  piles  tied  together  with  iron 
rods,  and  the  space  filled  in  between  with  concrete  up  to  low-water  mark,  when  the 
masonry — euormous  slabs  of  granite,  weighing  from  eight  to  twelve  tons — was  fixed 
for  the  pier,  and  on  these  were  raised  the  massive  stone  piers  themselves.  The  arches 
of  the  Bridge  are  seven  in  number,  each  formed  of  seven  ribs,  which  are  of  cast-iron 
nearly  up  to  the  crown,  where,  to  avoid  danger  from  the  concussion  of  heavy  loads, 
they  are  of  wrought  metal.  The  arches  vary  in  span,  from  the  smallest,  of  90  ft.,  to 
the  largest  in  the  centre,  of  120  ft.,  and  from  a  height  above  high- water  level  of  from 
16  ft.  to  20  ft.  In  the  spandrels  of  the  arches  are  Gothic  quatrefoils,  filled  with  shields 
of  the  arms  of  Westminster  and  England.  The  materials  used  in  the  constraction  of 
the  whole  bridge  were  4200  tons  of  cast  and  1400  tons  of  wrought-iron,  30,000  cubic 
yards  of  concrete,  21,000  cubic  yards  of  brickwork  set  in  Portland  cement,  165,000 
cubic  feet  of  granite,  and  46,000  cubic  feet  of  timber.  Its  gradient  is  12  ft.  lower  than 
the  old  Bridge,  and  its  total  width  more  than  double,  so  that  it  is,  size  for  size,  the 
cheapest  Bridge  over  the  Thames  that  has  yet  been  built,  costing  per  superficial  foot 
less  than  half  the  price  of  any  similar  structure  in  London.  The  length,  breadth,  and 
cost  of  each  of  the  metropolitan  Bridges  have  been  as  follows  : — 

Length.  Breadth.  Cost  per 

Feet.                   Ft.  in.  Square  ft. 

London 901  .  .        53    6  .  .  £11    6    0 

Southwark 800  .  .        42    6  .  .  11    5  10 

Blackfriars 994  .  .        42    0  .  .  3  15    6 

Waterloo 1380  .  .       41    6  .  .  10    0    0 

Hungerford       .    ■ 1536  .  .        13    4  .  .  4  16    6 

Westminster,  old       .        .        .       .  ■      .      1160  .  .        43    0  .  .  7  16    0 

Westminster,  new 990..85    0..  400 

Vauxhall 840  .  .       36    2  .  .  9  16    0 

Chelsea 922  .  .        40    0  .  .  2    5    0 

New  Bridge  at  Blackfriars       .       .       .       930  .  .       76    0  .  .  3    5    0 

Thus  it  will  be  seen  that  the  new  Bridge  is  very  nearly  twice  as  wide  as  any  of  the 
bridges  over  the  Thames.  Within  the  parapets  it  is  84  ft.  2  in.  Of  this  the  footways 
occupy  28  ft.,  the  road  for  the  light  traffic  39  ft.,  the  tramways  14  ft.  8  in.,  and  the 
space  between  them  2  ft.  6  in.  The  tramways  consist  of  iron-plates,  bolted  to  timbers, 
and  laid  upon  an  elastic  bed  of  cork  and  bitumen.  The  kerb  of  the  footway  is  formed 
of  Ross  of  Mull  granite;  the  footway  itself  is  of  Blashfield's  terra-cotta,  in  diamond- 
shaped  tiles,  grooved  transversely.  The  Bridge  was  completed  in  1863,  and  opened 
May  24,  Her  Majesty's  birthday,  at  a  quarter  to  4  o'clock,  the  precise  time  when  the 
Queen  was  born  ;  and  at  that  hour  a  salute  of  25  guns  was  fired,  a  number  correspond- 
ing to  the  years  of  her  reign. 

"  The  unparalleled  width  produces  a  most  striking  effect  as  yon  pass  on  to  the  Bridge :  if  you  approach 
it  from  the  Surrey  side  of  the  river,  it  is  singularly  imposing,  as  it  stretches  its  wide  way  before  you, 
spanning  the  broad  unseen  river,  and  backed  by  the  magnificent  mass  of  the  Houses  of  Parliament, — 
never  so  well  seen  before,  the  visitor  should  see  it  for  the  first  time  thus— it  is  a  thing  to  remember. 
From  the  river  the  Bridge  is  less  impressive.  It  is  not  so  majestic  as  London  Bridge,  nor  so  beautiful  as 
Waterloo.  The  arches  seem  to  press  upon  the  water." — Companion  to  the  Almanack,  1S63.  Still,  with 
certain  artistic  defects,  this  is  a  noble  bridge. 

The  old  Bridge  was  taken  down  in  1861 ;  the  last  arch,  April  25,  and  the  foundations 
three  months  later  :  altogether,  including  the  arches,  more  than  2,100,000  cubic  feet 
of  masonry  and  brickwork  were  taken  out. 

Blacktkiabs  Beidge  originated  with  a  committee  appointed,  in  1746,  to  examine 
Labelye's  designs  for  improving  London  Bridge ;  though  the  architect  of  Blackfriars 
Bridge  was  Robert  Mylne,  a  native  of  Edinburgh.  "  The  first  pile  of  it  was  driven  in 
the  middle  of  the  Thames,  June  7,  1760 ;  and  the  foundation-stone  was  laid  by  Sir 
Thomas  Chitty,  Lord  Mayor,  Oct.  31.  On  Nov.  19,  1768,  it  was  made  passable  as  a 
bridle-way,  exactly  two  years  after  its  reception  of  foot-passengers;  and  it  was  finally 
and  generally  opened  on  Sunday,  Nov.  19,  1769.     There  was  a  toll  of  one  halfpenny 


72  CVBIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

for  every  foot-passenger,  and  one  penny  on  Sundays ;  but  on  January  22,  1785,  the 
tolls  were  redeemed  by  Government.  The  toll-house  was  burnt  down  in  the  Riots  of 
1780,  when  all  the  account-books  were  destroyed." — (Chronicles  of  London  Bridge, 
pp.  568,  569.)  The  total  cost  of  building  and  completing  the  Bridge  and  avenues 
thereto  was  261,5792.0*.  %\d:;  including  21,2502.  lis.  6d.  paid  to  the  Watermen's 
Company  for  the  Sunday  ferry. 

"  Under  the  foundation-stone  were  placed  several  pieces  of  gold,  silver,  and  copper  coins  of  George 
II.,  together  with  a  silver  medal  given  to  Mr.  Mylne,  the  architect,  by  the  Academy  of  St.  Luke,  with  a 
copper  rim  round  it,  having  the  following  inscriptions.  On  the  one  side,  '  In  architectura  prastantise 
prremium  (ipsa  Roma  judice),  Roberto  Mylne  pontis  hujus  architectoni  grato  animo  posuit.* "  Upon 
"  a  plate  or  plates  of  pure  tin"  was  a  Latin  inscription,  stating  the  Bridge  to  have  been  undertaken 
by  the  Common  Council  of  London  (amidst  the  rage  of  an  extensive  war),  and  that  there  might  re- 
main to  posterity  a  monument  of  this  city's  affection  to  the  man,  who,  by  the  strength  of  his  genius, 
the  steadiness  of  his  mind,  and  a  certain  kind  of  happy  contagion  of  his  probity  and  spirit  (under  the 
Divine  favour  and  fortunate  auspices  of  George  II.)  recovered,  augmented,  and  secured  the  British 
Empire  in  Asia,  Africa,  and  America,  and  restored  the  ancient  reputation  and  influence  of  this  country 
amongst  the  nations  of  Europe,  the  citizens  of  London  unanimously  voted  this  bridge  to  be  inscribed 
with  the  name  of  William  Pitt.  It  was  for  a  short  time  called  '*  Pitt  Bridge,"  which  was  soon 
changed  to  Blackfriars  Bridge;  but  the  names  of  William  and  the  Earl  of  Chatham  still  live  in 
William-street,  Earl-street,  and  Chatham-place. 

Mylne's  success  was  owing,  in  a  great  measure,  to  the  exertions  of  his  friend,  John 
Paterson,  City  Solicitor ;  and  they  being  of  the  Anti- Wilkes  party,  and  of  the  same 
country  as  Lord  Bute,  the  unpopular  First  Minister  of  the  Crown,  Churchill,  in  his 
poem  founded  on  the  Cock-lane  Ghost  story,  has  scathed  both  Mylne  and  Paterson. 

The  Bridge  was  built  of  Portland  stone,  and  consisted  of  nine  semi-elliptical  arches, 
then  introduced  about  the  first  time  in  this  country,  in  opposition  to  Gwyn,  who,  in 
his  design,  proposed  the  semicircular  arch.  The  columns  were  the  most  objectionable 
feature  in  Mylne's  design,  architecturally ;  for  the  line  of  the  parapet  being  a  curve, 
the  pillars  were  necessarily  of  different  heights  and  diameters.  Between  1833  and 
1 840,  the  Bridge  was  thoroughly  repaired  by  Walker  and  Burgess,  at  an  expense  of 
74,0352.,  it  is  stated  at  a  loss  to  the  contractors.  The  foot  and  carriage  ways  were 
lowered;  the  removal  of  the  balustrades,  and  the  substitution  of  a  plain  parapet, 
altogether  spoiled  the  architectural  beauty  of  the  structure.  It  is  traditionally  said 
that  our  great  landsape-painter,  Richard  Wilson,  used  to  make  frequent  visits  to  Black- 
friars Bridge,  to  study  the  magnificent  view  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  obtained  from  it. 
q  At  length,  the  Court  of  Common  Council  resolved  to  build  a  new  Bridge  upon  the 

W-"  site  of  the  old  Bridge,  but  much  wider ;  and  the  design  of  Joseph  Cubitt  was  selected 
■—to  consist  of  five  iron  arches,  surmounted  by  an  ornamental  cornice  and  parapet,  and 
the  iron  floor  covered  with  a  layer  of  concrete,  and  paved  with  granite ;  each  of  the 
four  piers  having  a  massive  i  lumn  o"  red  polished  granite.  A  temporary  wooden 
bridge  900ft.  in  length,  having  three  arches  of  75ft.  span  tor  the  river  traffic;  the 
carriage-way  is  26ft.  wide,  aid  above  it,  at  an  elevation  of  16ft.,  two  footways,  each 
9ft.  wide,  were  erected :  the  old  bridge  was  then  closed,  and  its  demolition  commenced 
forthwith ;  the  rubble  and  masonry  above  the  arch-turnings  was  nearly  20,000  tons 
weight.  The  cost  of  this  Bridge,  four  equestrian  statues,  and  the  temporary  bridge,  is 
stated  at  265,0002.,  or  32.  per  foot  super.  At  150  feet  eastward  an  iron  lattice  girder- 
bridge  hud  been  constructed  for  the  London,  Chatham,  and  Dover  Railway. 

Vauxhall  Bridge,  communicating  with  Millbank,  had,  in  consequence  of  disputes, 
four  engineers  :  Ralph  Dodd,  Sir  Samuel  Bentham,  John  Rennie,  F.R.S. ;  and  lastly, 
James  Walker,  who  carried  the  design  into  effect  at  the  expense  of  a  public  Company. 
The  Bridge  is  of  cast-iron,  but  was  originally  intended  to  be  of  stone :  hence  the 
narrowness  of  the  nine  arches,  which  would  not  have  been  necessary  for  an  iron 
structure.  The  first  stone  of  the  pier  begun  by  Mr.  Rennie  was  laid  by  Lord 
Dundas,  as  proxy  for  the  Prince  Regent,  May  9,  1811.  The  building  was  then  sus- 
pended, but  transferred  to  Mr.  James  Walker ;  the  first  stone  of  the  resumed  works 
was  laid  by  the  late  Duke  of  Brunswick,  August  21,  1813 ;  and  on  June  4,  1816, 
the  bridge  was  opened. 

The  width  of  the  river  is  900  feet  at  this  Bridge,  the  length  of  which,  clear  of  the 
abutments,  is  806  feet ;  its  9  arches  are  each  78  feet  span,  and  its  8  piers,  each  13 
feet  wide ;  height  of  centre  arch,  at  high  water,  27  feet.  The  bridge  cost  upwards  of 
300,0002. ;  its  half-year's  clear  revenue  from  tolls  in  1849-50  was  29862.  3*.  4d.     The 


BRIDGES— WATERLOO— SOUTEWARK.  73 

low  grounds  west  of  the  bridge,  and  formerly  known  as  the  Neathouse  Gardens,  were 
elevated  to  a  level  with  the  Pimlico-road,  by  transporting  hither  the  soil  excavated 
from  St.  Katherine's  Docks ;  and  upon  this  artificial  foundation  several  streets  were 
built.     The  roadway  on  the  south  side  crosses  the  site  of  the  Cumberland  Tea  Gardens. 

Waterloo  Bridge  has  been  dignified  by  Canova  as  "  the  noblest  bridge  in  the 
world,"  and  by  Baron  Dupin  as  "  a  colossal  monument  worthy  of  Sesostris  and  the 
Caesars."  It  was  partly  projected  by  George  Dodd,  the  engineer,  and  designed  for 
him  by  John  Linnell  Bond,  architect,  who  died  in  1837  ;  but  the  bridge  was  eventually 
built  for  a  public  Company  by  John  Rennie,  F.R.S.  It  crosses  the  Thames  from  the 
Strand,  between  Somerset  Place  and  the  site  of  the  Savoy,  to  Lambeth,  at  the"  centre  .  ^, 
of  the  site  of  Cuper's  Gardens,  where  the  first  stone  was  laid  October  11,  1811. 

This  Bridge  consists  of  nine  semi-elliptical  arches,  each  120  feet  span  and  35  feet 
high,  supported  on  piers  20  feet  wide  at  the  springing  of  the  arches;  with  "useless 
and  inappropriate  Grecian-Doric  columns  between  the  piers,  surmounted  by  the  anoma- 
lous decoration  of  a  balustrade  upon  a  Doric  entablature." — (Elmes.)  The  width  of 
the  Thames  at  this  part  is  1326  feet  at  high  water ;  the  entire  length  of  the  bridge 
is  2456  feet — the  bridge  and  abutments  being  1380  feet,  the  approach  from  the  Strand 
310  feet,  and  the  land-arch  causeway  on  the  Surrey  side  766  feet.  The  roadway  upon 
the  summit  of  the  arches  is  carried  upon  brick  arches  to  the  level  of  the  Strand  ,•  and 
by  a  gentle  declivity  upon  a  series  of  brick  arches  over  the  roadway  upon  the  Surrey 
bank  of  the  river  to  the  level  of  the  roads  near  the  Obelisk  by  the  Surrey  Theatre. 
This  district,  until  the  building  of  the  Bridge,  was  known  as  Lambeth  Marsh,  was 
low-lying  and  swampy,  with  thinly  scattered  dwellings;  but  in  a  few  years  it  became 
covered  with  streets  of  houses. 

The  Bridge  is  built  of  granite,  "  in  a  style  of  solidity  and  magnificence  hitherto 
unknown.  There  elliptical  arches,  with  inverted  arches  between  them  to  counteract 
the  lateral  pressure,  were  carried  to  a  greater  extent  than  in  former  bridges ;  and 
isolated  coffer-dams  upon  a  great  scale  in  a  tidal  river,  with  steam-engines  for  pump- 
ing out  the  water,  were,  it  is  believed,  for  the  first  time  employed  in  this  country ;  the 
level  line  of  roadway,  which  adds  so  much  to  the  beauty  as  well  as  the  convenience  of 
the  structure,  was  there  adopted." — (Sir  John  Rennie,  F.R.S!)  The  Bridge  was 
opened  by  a  procession  of  the  Prince  Regent  and  the  Dukes  of  York  and  Wellington,  y^ 
and  a  grand  military  cavalcade,  on  June  18,  1817,  the  second  anniversary  of  the  battle 
of  Waterloo,  whence  it  is  named.  The  Bridge  itself  cost  about  400,000?.,  which,  by 
the  expense  of  the  approaches,  was  increased  to  above  a  million  of  money — a  larger 
sum  than  the  cost  of  building  St.  Paul's,  the  Monument,  and  seven  of  our  finest  metro- 
politan churches.  It  has  been  a  ruinous  speculation  to  the  Company,  the  tolls  amount- 
ing to  little  more  than  20,000?.  per  annum. 

Formerly,  the  average  number  of  suicides  annually  committed  from  Waterloo 
Bridge  was  40 ;  in  September,  1841,  there  were  nine  attempts  made,  within  a  few 
days,  to  commit  suicide  from  Blaekfriars  Bridge. 

Southwaee  Bridge,  designed  by  John  Rennie,  F.R.S.,  was  built  by  a  public 
Company,  and  cost  about  800,000/.  It  consists  of  three  cast-iron  arches :  the  centre 
240  feet  span,  and  the  two  side  arches  210  feet  each,  about  forty-two  feet  above  the 
highest  spring-tides  :  the  ribs  forming,  as  it  were,  a  series  of  hollow  masses,  or 
voussoirs,  similar  to  those  of  stone,  a  principle  new  in  the  construction  of  cast-iron 
bridges,  and  very  successful.  The  whole  of  the  segmental  pieces  and  the  braces  are 
kept  in  their  places  by  dove-tailed  sockets  and  long  cast-iron  wedges,  so  that  bolts  are 
unnecessary  ;  although  they  were  used  during  the  construction  of  the  bridge,  to  keep 
the  pieces  in  their  places  until  the  wedges  had  been  driven.  The  spandrels  are  similarly 
connected,  and  upon  them  rests  the  roadway  of  solid  plates  of  cast  iron,  joined  by  iron 
cement.  The  piers  and  abutments  are  of  stone,  founded  upon  timber  platforms,  resting 
upon  piles  driven  below  the  bed  of  the  river.  The  masonry  is  tied  throughout  by 
vertical  and  horizontal  bond-stones,  so  that  the  whole  acts  as  one  mass  in  the  best 
position  to  resist  the  horizontal  thrust.  The  first  stone  was  laid  by  Admiral  Lord 
Keith,  May  23,  1815,  the  Bill  for  erecting  the  Bridge  having  been  passed  May  6,  1811. 
The  iron-work,  weight  5700  tons,  had  been  so  well  put  together  by  the  Walkers,  of 


Vto 


cA  o 


74  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Rotherham,  the  founders,  and  the  masonry  hy  the  contractors,  Jolliffe  Banks ;  that 
when  the  work  was  finished,  scarcely  any  sinking  was  discernible  in  the  arches.  From 
experiments  made  to  ascertain  tWI  extent  of  the  expansion  and  contraction  between 
the  extreme  range  of  winter  and  summer  temperature,  it  was  found  that  the  arch  rose 
in  the  summer  about  1  inch  to  1|  inch.  The  works  were  commenced  in  1813,  and 
the  bridge  was  opened  by  lamp-light,  March  24,  1819,  as  the  clock  of  St.  Paul's 
Cathedral  tolled  midnight.  Towards  the  middle  of  the  western  side  of  the 
bridge  is  a  descent  from  the  pavement  to  a  steamboat  pier.  The  bridge  was  opened 
free  of  toll,  for  six  months,  by  the  Lord  Mayor  (Lawrence),  Nov.  8,  1864,  with  a  view 
to  its  purchase,  ultimately,  by  the  City  of  London. 

"  Within  a  fraction,  London  Bridge  has  as  much  traffic  as  all  the  rest  put  together,  the 
proportions  being — London  equal  to  all ;  Westminster  half  of  London ;  Blackfriars 
half  of  Westminster ;  Waterloo  one  third  of  Blackfriars ;  and  Southwark  one-fourth 
of  Waterloo." — Bennoch  on  the  Bridges  of  London,  1853. 

Httngeefoed  StisPENSiON-BEiDGE,from  Hungerford  Market  to  Belvedere  Road,  Lam- 
beth, was  constructed  by  I.  K.  Brunei,  F.R.S.,  and  was  a  fine  specimen  of  mechanical  skill. 
It  consisted  of  two  lofty  brick  piers,  or  towers,  in  the  Italian  style,  designed  by  Bun- 
ning,  58  feet  above  the  road,  and  built  in  brickwork  and  cement  on  the  natural  bed  of 
the  river,  without  piles.  In  the  upper  part  of  these  towers,  four  chains  passed  over 
rollers,  so  as  to  equalize  the  strain :  they  carried  the  platform  or  roadway,  in  two 
lines,  with  single  suspension  rods,  12  feet  apart ;  the  chains  being  secured  in  tunnels  at 
the  abutments  to  iron  girders,  embedded  in  brickwork  and  cement,  and  strengthened 
with  concrete.  There  were  three  spans,  the  central  one  between  the  piers  being 
676^  feet,  or  110  feet  wider  than  the  Menai  Bridge ;  and  second  only  to  the  span  of 
the  wire  suspension-bridge  atFribourg,  which  is  nearly  900  feet.  The  length  between 
the  abutments  of  the  Hungerford  Bridge  was  1352^  feet.  The  roadway  was  in  the 
centre  32  feet  above  high-water  mark,  or  7  feet  higher  than  the  crown  of  the  centre 
arch  of  Waterloo  Bridge.  The  height  above  the  piers  was  28^  feet.  Thus  was 
gained  additional  height  for  the  river  traffic,  and  a  graceful  curve,  with  the  appearance 
of  swagging  prevented.  The  Bridge  was  commenced  in  1841,  and  was  built  without 
any  scaffolding  but  a  few  ropes,  consequently,  without  impediment  to  the  navigation  of 
the  river.  The  iron-work,  between  10,000  and  11,000  tons,  was  by  Sandys  and  Co., 
Cornwall.  The  entire  cost  of  the  Bridge  was  110,000/.,  raised  by  a  public  Company. 
The  toll  was  a  halfpenny  each  person  each  way.  The  Bridge  was  opened  May  1, 
1845,  when,  between  noon  and  midnight,  36,254  persons  passed  over.  Hungerford 
was  then  the  great  focus  of  the  Thames  steam -navigation,  the  embarkations  and 
landings  here  exceeding  2,000,000  per  annum.  The  Bridge  was  taken  down  in  1863, 
and  the  chains  were  carried  to  Clifton,  for  the  Suspension-Bridge  erecting  there. 
Upon  its  site  has  been  constructed  the  Bridge  for  the  Charing  Cross  Extension  of  the 
South  Eastern  Railway  :  it  has  on  each  side  a  foot-path  and  ornamental  balustrade  ; 
and  in  the  centre  four  lines  of  rails,  expanding  fanwise  into  seven  lines  on  approaching 
the  Charing  Cross  terminus.  The  Bridge  for  carrying  the  Railway  across  the  Thames 
to  the  City  terminus,  in  Upper  Thames-street,  is  similar  to  the  Charing  Cross  Bridge, 
but  12  feet  wider. 

Hammebsmith  Suspension-Bbidge  is  one  of  the  most  elegant  structures  of  its 
kind  j  and,  unlike  other  suspension-bridges,  has  part  of  the  roadway  supported  on,  and 
not  hanging  from,  the  main  chains.  The  weight  of  the  masonry  abutments  on  each 
bank  is  2160  tons,  to  resist  the  pull  of  the  chains.  Cost,  80,000/. ;  engineer,  W. 
Tierney  Clarke;  first  stone  laid  by  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  May  7, 1826 ;  finished  1827. 

Chelsea  Sttspension-ISbidge,  opened  in  1858,  forms  a  communication  between 
Pimlico,  Belgravia,  and  Chelsea,  on  one  side  of  the  Thames,  and  Battersea  Park,  and 
the  neighbourhood,  on  the  other  (the  Middlesex  roadway  crossing  the  site  of  Rane- 
lagh),  and  was  built  with  funds  granted  by  Parliament  in  1846 ;  Geo.  Gordon  Page, 
engineer.  The  length  of  the  Bridge  is  704  feet :  it  consists  of  a  centre  opening  of 
333  feet,  with  two  side  openings  166  feet  6  inches  each.      The  piers  terminate  in 


BUCELEBSBTTRY—BUNHILL-FIELDS.  75 

curved  cutwaters:  the  width  of  the  Bridge  is  47  feet;  the  roadway  at  the  centre  of  the 
Bridge  is  24  feet  6  inches  above  high-water,  and  has  a  curve  of  18  inches  rise,  com- 
mencing at  the  abutments.  The  towers  and  ornamental  portions  are  of  cast-iron. 
The  girders  and  flooring  of  the  platform  are  of  wrought  iron :  ironwork  by  Howard, 
Ravenhill,  &  Co.  The  piers  are  built  upon  caissons,  below  which  the  ironwork  spreads 
out  at  the  bottom  on  bed-plates  that  rest  upon  York  stone  landings,  laid  on  piles,  and 
concrete  supports ;  externally,  the  piers  are  cased  with  ornamental  ironwork.  The 
abutments  and  piers  rest  upon  piles  driven  20  feet  beyond  low-water  mark.  On  each  side 
of  the  carriage  way  is  a  tram  for  heavy  traffic.  A  very  large  amount  of  additional 
strength  is  obtained  over  the  ordinary  suspension  construction  by  two  longitudinal 
lattice  girders,  of  wrought  iron,  which  separate  the  roadway  from  the  footpaths.  At 
each  end  of  the  bridge  are  rectangular  lodges,  with  terra-cotta  terminations.  The 
four  iron  towers  that  rise  from  the  caissons  and  piers  have  their  upper  portions  of 
moulded  copper,  gilded  and  painted  to  resemble  bronze,  and  crowned  with  globular 
lamps.  The  towers  bear  the  royal  arms  and  V.  A.  Yet,  this  public  way  across  the 
Thames — although  built  ostensibly  with  the  public  money  to  afford  the  inhabitants  of 
Middlesex  access  to  Battersea/ree  park — had  a  horse,  carriage,  and  foot  toll,  an  anomaly 
which  was  loudly  reprehended. 

At  a  short  distance  eastward  is  the  Bridge  for  the  Victoria  Station  and  Phnlico 
Railway;  the  ironwork  by  Bray  and  Waddington,  of  Leeds;  Fowler,  engineer; 
opened  in  1860.  The  stone  piers,  and  the  framework  of  the  spandrels  of  the  four  flat 
and  segmental  iron  arches,  each  175  feet  span,  and  the  iron  cornice,  render  this  one  of 
the  handsomest  railway  bridges  over  the  Thames. 

Lambeth  Suspension  Bbidge,  connects  Horseferry-road,  Westminster,  with 
Church-street,  Lambeth,  P.  W.  Barlow,  engineer ;  and  though  constructed  for  both 
carriage  and  foot  traffic,  it  cost,  including  the  approaches,  only  40,000Z.  Its  entire 
length  is  1040  feet ;  it  has  three  spans  of  280  feet  each,  of  wire  cable,  bearing  wrought- 
iron  platforms,  suspended  from  piers,  each  of  two  iron  cylinders,  12  feet  in  diameter, 
sunk  into  the  London  clay,  18  feet  below  the  bed  of  the  river,  filled  with  concrete  and 
brickwork ;  the  novelty  consists  in  placing  under  the  bridge,  on  each  side,  a  longi- 
tudinal tubular  iron  girder,  a  cross  girder  between,  so  as  to  reduce  to  the  minimum  the 
upward,  downward,  and  lateral  movement. 

B  UCKLJERSB  UR  Y, 

A  SHORT  street  at  the  point  where  the  Poultry  meets  Cheapside :  here  formerly 
stood  the  great  Conduit  which  brought  water  from  Conduit  Mead,  near  Oxford- 
road  and  Paddington.  Stow  writes :  "  Bucklersbury,  so  called  of  a  manor  and  tene- 
ments pertaining  to  one  Buckle,  who  dwelt  there,  and  kept  his  courts."  The  manor- 
house,  in  Stow's  time,  bore  the  sign  of  the  Old  Barge,  from  its  being  said,  that  when 
Walbrook  lay  open,  barges  were  rowed  or  towed  out  of  the  Thames  up  here :  hence 
the  present  Barge  Yard.  Bucklersbury  was  a  noted  place  for  grocers  and  apothecaries, 
drugsters  and  furriers.  In  Shakspeare's  days  it  was,  probably,  a  herb-market ;  for  he 
has  the  comparison  of  smelling  "  like  Buckler's-bury  in  simple-time." — {Merry  Wives 
of  Windsor,  Act  iii.  sc.  3.) 

B  UNHILL-FIELDS, 

TVTEAR  Finsbury-square,  one  of  the  three  great  fields  of  the  manor  of  Finsbury, 
J- '  named  Bonhill  Field,  Mallow  Field,  and  the  "  High  Field,  or  Meadow  Ground, 
where  the  three  windmills  stand ;"  Bonhill  was  erected  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth, 
on  a  deposit  made  of  "  more  than  1000  cartloads"  of  bones  removed  from  the  charnel 
of  old  St.  Paul's,  which,  it  is  believed,  gave  rise  to  the  name  Bonehill  or  Bunhill  Fields. 
In  1553,  a  lease  was  granted  to  the  Corporation  of  this  with  other  land,  being  the 
property  of  the  Prebendal  Stall  of  Finsbury,  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral ;  and  by  various 
renewals  of  this  lease,  the  Corporation  held  the  land  until  1769,  when  the  last  of 
the  leases  expired.  Prior  to  this  the  Statute  of  Charles  II.  had  passed,  by  which 
persons  of  all  degrees   were  prohibited  from  granting  leases    of  Church  property 


76  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

for  longer  periods  than  forty  years ;  and  thus,  in  1769,  the  growth  of  London  having 
rendered  it  desirable  that  the  land  should  be  built  over,  a  private  Act  was  passed 
authorizing  the  then  Prebend,  Dr.  Wilson,  to  lease  the  land  to  the  Corporation  for 
ninety-nine  years,  upon  the  terms  of  two-sixths  of  the  net  income  to  be  received  by 
them  being  paid  to  the  Prebend  as  his  own  property  (in  lieu  of  any  fine  for  the  grant 
of  the  lease),  one-sixth  to  the  Prebendal  Stall,  and  the  remaining  three-sixths  to  be 
retained  by  the  Corporation.  This  lease  will  expire  in  1868.  Wilson-street  is  named 
from  the  Prebend,  the  Rev.  Dr.  Wilson. 

The  earliest  known  record  of  the  Bunhill-fields  themselves,  as  distinguished  from  the 
rest  of  the  land  in  the  lease,  is  that  the  City  leased  them  to  one  Tindal,  for  fifty-one 
years,  from  Christmas,  1661 :  in  that  lease  they  are  described  as  meadow-land,  and 
the  lease  contains  a  provision  for  the  citizens  using  them  for  recreation.  Both  this 
provision  and  the  description  of  the  land  are  at  direct  variance  with  its  having  been 
used  as  a  place  of  burial  up  to  that  date.  In  four  years,  afterwards,  however  (1665), 
London  was  visited  with  the  Great  Plague,  and  in  the  next  year  with  the  Great  Fire ; 
and  it  is  extremely  probable  that  in  the  disturbance  of  social  order  which  these  two 
visitations  caused,  the  living  sought  for  their  dead  a  burial-place  outside  the  City,  and 
found  it  at  Bunhill-fields.  Certain  it  is,  that  before  the  expiration  of  Tindal's  lease 
it  had  become  a  burial-ground.  As  such,  however,  the  Corporation  had  nothing  to  do 
with  it,  until  the  year  1788,  when  they  determined  not  to  renew  the  lease,  but  take  it 
into  their  own  hands,  and  so  it  has  remained  to  this  day. 

Since  1788  the  Prebend  has  year  by  year  received  his  moiety  of  the  income  of  the 
ground  as  a  cemetery,  and  as  that  cemetery  now  reverts  to  those  claiming  under  the 
Prebend,  i.e.,  the  Ecclesiastical  Commissioners,  they  have  imposed  upon  them  the  obliga- 
tion of  preserving  the  ground  for  the  purpose  for  which  they  have  received  the  money. 
There  remains  but  one  point  from  which  liability  is  sought  to  be  imposed  upon  the 
Corporation.  It  is  said  the  Act  of  Parliament  authorized  the  renewal  of  the  lease  in 
perpetuity,  and  that  the  City,  through  their  negligence  in  not  having  obtained  a  re- 
newal of  the  lease,  must  indemnify  the  owners  of  graves.  It  were  to  be  wished,  for 
the  City's  sake,  that  the  renewal  were  authorized,  as  they  lose  in  1868,  through  the 
expiring  of  the  lease,  an  income  of  4O,000Z.  per  annum ;  but,  unfortunately,  this  is  not 
the  fact.  The  mistake  has  arisen  from  the  marginal  note  saying  the  lease  is  renew- 
able ;  but  there  is  nothing  in  the  Act  to  warrant  the  note,  and  no  one  at  this  distance 
of  time  can  explain  how  the  error  has  arisen. — (Communicated  to  the  City  Press.) 

Curll  published  a  Register  of  the  interments  here  to  1717,  with  the  inscriptions,  &c 
Among  these  are  the  following : — 

"  Here  lyeth  interred  the  body  of  Edward  Tucker,  late  of  Weymouth,  who  (by  his  own  prediction) 
departed  this  life,  March  4th,  1706-7,  aged  86  years."  "This  ground,  six  foot  long  eastward,  is  bought 
for  Elizabeth  Chapman."  This  notice  is  valuable,  as  conclusively  showing  that,  even  at  that  early 
period,  graves  were  sold  in  perpetuity,  and  any  attempt  to  sell  the  soil  for  secular  purposes  would  be  a 
most  unwarrantable  desecration.  "  Here  lyeth  the  body  of  Francis  Smith,  Bookseller,  who  in  his 
youth  was  settled  in  a  separate  congregation,  sustaining,  between  1659  and  1688,  great  persecutions,  by 
Imprisonments,  exile,  fines,  and  for  printing  petitions  for  caling  of  a  Parliament,  with  several  things 
against  Popery.  After  nearly  40  imprisonments,  he  was  fined  5001.  for  printing  and  selling  the  speech 
of  a  noble  peer,  and  three  times  suffered  corporeal  punishment.  He  was  for  said  fine  five  years  a 
prisoner  in  the  King's  Bench,  'which  hard  duress  utterly  impaired  his  health.  He  dyed  House- 
keeeper  in  the  Custom  House,  December  22nd,  1691."  Engraved  on  the  side  of  a  handsome  tomb, 
"  Mordecai  Abbott,  Esq.,  Receiver-General  of  His  Majesty's  Customs,  obiit  29  Feby.  1699,  setat.  43: 

Here  Abbott,  virtue's  great  example,  lies, 
The  charitable,  pious,  just,  and  wise ; 
But  how  shall  fame  in  this  small  Table  paint 
The  Husband,  Father,  Master,  Friend,  and  Saint? 
A  soul  on  Earth  so  ripe  for  glory  found ; 
So  like  to  theirs,  who  are  with  glory  crown'd, 
That  'tis  less  strange  such  worth  so  soon  should  go 
To  Heaven,  than  that  it  staid  so  long  below." 

Mr.  A.  J.  Jones,  in  a  volume  published  in  1849,  gives  a  transcript  of  most  of  the 
inscriptions  that  remained  in  Bunhill-fields  at  that  period,  about  three  hundred. 

Among  the  eminent  persons  interred  here,  in  an  altar-tomb,  east  end  of  the  ground, 
is  Dr.  Thomas  Goodwin,  the  Independent  preacher,  who  attended  Oliver  Cromwell  on 
his  deathbed.  Also  Dr.  John  Owen,  Dean  of  Christchurch  and  Vice-Chancellor  of 
Oxford  when  Cromwell  was  Chancellor  j  he  preached  the  first  sermon  before  the  Parlia- 


BUNHILL-FIELDS.  77 


ment  after  the  execution  of  Charles  I.  But  more  attractive  is  the  resting-place  of 
John  Bunyan,  in  the  vault  of  his  friend  Strudwick,  the  grocer,  Holborn  Bridge,  at 
whose  house  Bunyan  died.  His  name  is  not  recorded  in  the  Register,  nor  is  it  in  Curll's 
List ;  hut  the  place  was  long  marked  by  a  monument,  with  this  inscription : — "  Mr.  John 
Bunyan,  Author  of  The  Pilgrim's  Progress,  oh.  31  Aug.  1688,  aet.  60. 

The  '  pilgrim's*  progress  now  is  finished, 
And  Death  has  laid  him  in  this  earthly  bed." 

This  inscription  was  cut  many  years  after  Bunyan's  funeral.  Southey  tells  us,  with  grave 
humour,  "  People  like  to  be  buried  in  company,  and  in  good  company.  The  Dissen- 
ters regarded  Bunhill  Fields'  Burial-ground  as  their  Campo  Santo,  and  especially  for 
Bunyan's  sake.  It  is  said  that  many  have  made  it  their  desire  to  be  interred  as  near 
as  possible  to  the  spot  where  his  remains  are  deposited."  In  May,  1852,  the  above  me-  ^ 
morial  was  replaced  by  an  altar-tomb,  upon  which  is  the  recumbent  figure  of  Bunyan, 
book  in  hand;  the  end  panels  have  sculptures  from  The  Pilgrim's  Progress. 

Here,  too,  sleeps  Lord-Deputy  Fleetwood,  of  the  Civil  Wars,  Oliver  Cromwell's  sou- 
in-law,  and  husband  of  the  widow  of  Ireton :  there  was  a  monument  to  his  memory, 
which  has  been  obliterated  or  removed. 

Here  also  rest  Dr.  Daniel  Williams,  founder  of  the  Library  in  Redcross-street ;  John  ^ 
Dunton,  author  of  his  own  Life  and  Errors  ;  the  Rev.  D.  Neal,  author  of  the  History 
of  the  Puritans ;  Dr.  Lardner,  author  of  the  Credibility  of  the  Gospel  History ;  Dr. 
John  Guise,  Dr.  Gill,  Dr.  Stennett,  Dr.  Harris ;  Dr.  Richard  Price,  author  of  Rever- 
sionary Payments ;  Dr.  Henry  Hunter,  Dr.  Fisher,  the  Rev.  Theophilus  Lindsey ; 
Dr.  A.  Rees,  editor  of  the  Cyclopaedia ;  George  Walker,  of  Nottingham  and  Man- 
chester ;  and  the  Rev.  Thomas  Belsham,  the  Unitarian  Minister. 

Defoe,  the  author  of  Robinson  Crusoe,  who  was  born  and  died  in  the  parish  of  St. 
Giles,  Cripplegate,  is  buried  in  Bunhill-fields,  with  his  second  wife,  the  spot  unknown. 
The  entry  in  the  register,  written,  probably,  by  some  ignorant  person  who  made  a 
strange  blunder  of  his  name,  is  as  follows  : —  "  1731,  April  26.  Mr.  Dubow,  Cripple- 
gate."  Here  lies,  with  a  headstone  to  her  memory,  Susannah  Wesley,  mother  of  John 
Wesley,  founder  of  the  people  called  Methodists ;  and  Charles  Wesley,  the  first  person 
who  was  called  a  Methodist.  Near  the  centre  of  the  ground  is  a  monument  to  Dr. 
Isaac  Watts ;  Joseph  Ritson,  the  antiquary,  lies  here,  spot  unmarked ;  William  Blake, 
the  painter  and  poet,  25  feet  from  the  north  wall,  without  a  monument ;  and  Thomas 
Stothard,  R.A.,  best  known  by  his  Canterbury  Pilgrimage.  Near  the  street  rails  is 
a  monument  to  Thomas  Hardy,  who  was  tried  for  treason  in  company  with  John  Home 
Tooke.     Hardy's  memorial  bears  a  long  and  somewhat  defiant  semi-political  inscription. 

In  1864,  Mr.  Deputy  Charles  Reed,  F.S.A.,  presented  to  the  Common  Council  a 
memorial,  influentially  signed,  praying  the  Court  to  take  steps  for  the  preservation  of 
Bunhill-fields  burial-ground.     This  memorial  eloquently  says  :— 

"  In  this  burying-ground  are  interred  men  whose  memory  and  writings  are  among  the  most  precious 
of  our  national  heirlooms  ;  some  of  the  most  fearless  assert ers  of  civil  and  religious  liberty  at  critical 
periods  of  our  history ;  notable  men  of  all  professions  and  of  all  religious  communities ;  divines, 
artists,  reformers ;  a  crowd  of  worthies  and  confessors  whose  learning,  piety,  and  public  services  not 
only  adorned  the  age  in  which  they  lived,  but  have  proved  a  permanent  blessing  to  the  land,  and  whose 
names  the  world  will  not  willingly  let  die.  The  Nonconformist  bodies,  especially,  look  upon  this  as  the 
holy  field  of  their  illustrious  dead,  because  here  lie  buried  those  whose  remains  were  refused  interment 
in  the  graveyards  of  the  churches  in  which  they  had  long  faithfully  ministered,  and  whose  memory  is 
reverently  cherished  in  the  hearts  and  homes  of  their  religious  descendants." 

George  Fox,  founder  of  the  Society  of  Friends,  is  erroneously  said  to  have  been 
buried  here  ;  but  he  lies  in  Coleman-street,  which  was  part  of  Finsbury  Manor  Farm, 
and  was,  before  Fox's  death,  acquired  by  the  Friends  as  their  place  of  interment; 
besides,  the  Friends  were  looked  upon  in  no  favourable  manner  by  the  other  dissenting 
bodies,  who  had  acquired  Bunhill-fields.  In  Fox's  diary  it  is  related  how,  after  the 
meeting  in  White  Hart  Court,  Gracechurch- street,  he  went  to  Henry  Goldney's,  close 
by,  and  there  admitted  to  others  that  "  he  thought  he  felt  the  cold  strike  to  his  heart  as 
he  came  out  of  the  meeting."  It  was  "  the  13th  of  the  11th  month,"  1690,  being  in 
the  67th  year  of  his  age,  that  Fox  died.  On  the  day  appointed  for  his  interment  a  meet- 
ing of  Friends  was  held  in  White  Hart  Court,  and  "  the  body  was  borne,  accompanied 
by  very  great  numbers,  to  the  Friends'  burying-ground,  near  Bunhill  Fields."  Hasty 
readers  have  inferred  from  this  that  it  was  in  the  larger  cemetery  George  Fox  was  buried. 


78  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


CANONBURY   TOWER, 

fi\  A  T  the  northern  extremity  of  the  parish  of  Islington,  denotes  the  site  of  the  country- 
-£*-  house  of  the  Prior  of  the  Canons  of  St.  Bartholomew ;  hence,  it  is  supposed,  the 
name  of  Canons' -bury,  bury  being  synonymous  with  burgh,  a  dwelling.  On  a  garden- 
house  hard  by  is  sculptured  the  rebus  or  device  of  Bolton,  the  last  prior — a  bolt,  or 
arrow  for  the  crossbow,  through  a  tun : 

"  Old  Prior  Boltou,  with  his  bolt  and  tun." 

The  Tower,  which  is  of  red  brick,  is  believed  to  have  been  built  by  Sir  John 
Spencer,  of  Crosby-place,  who  purchased  the  estate  in  1570.  Elizabeth,  his  only 
daughter  and  heiress,  married  William,  second  Lord  Compton,  who  is  traditionally  said 
to  have  contrived  her  elopement  from  her  father's  house  at  Canonbury  in  a  baker's 
basket.  In  1618,  he  was  created  Earl  of  Northampton,  and  from  him  the  present 
owner  of  Canonbury,  who  is  the  eleventh  Earl  and  third  Marquis  of  Northampton,  is 
lineally  descended. 

The  Tower  is  17  feet  square,  and  nearly  60  feet  in  height,  and  consists  of  seven 
stories  and  23  rooms.  For  many  years  it  was  let  in  lodgings.  Amongst  its  tenants 
was  Ephraim  Chambers,  whose  Cyclopcedia  was  not  only  the  basis  of  Rees's  work, 
but  originated  all  the  modern  Cyclopaedias  in  the  English  and  the  other  European 
languages.  Chambers  died  at  Canonbury,  May  18,  1740,  and  was  buried  in  West- 
minster Abbey,  under  a  short  Latin  inscription,  his  own  composition.  Newbery,  the 
bookseller,  lodged  here ;  and  in  his  apartments  Goldsmith  often  lay  concealed  from  his 
creditors,  and  under  a  pressing  necessity  he  there  wrote  his  Vicar  of  Wakefield ;  "  he 
was  the  most  diligent  slave  that  ever  toiled  in  the  mill  of  Grub-street." 

"  A  silly  notion  at  one  time  prevailed  that  there  was  formerly  a  subterranean  com- 
munication between  Canonbury  House  and  the  Priory  of  St.  Bartholomew.  Similar 
vulgar  and  absurd  stories  are  current  at  most  of  the  large  monasteries ;  as  Malmesbury, 
Netley,  Glastonbury,  Sec." — (Godwin's  Churches  of  London.) 

The  ancient  priory  mansion  covered  the  entire  site  now  occupied  by  Canonbury- 
place,  and  had  attached  to  it  a  park  of  about  four  acres,  with  large  gardens,  a  fish- 
pond, &c. ;  most  of  which  were  included  in  the  premises  of  Canonbury  Tea-gardens  and 
Tavern,  in  the  middle  of  the  last  century  but  a  small  ale-house.  It  was  enlarged  and 
improved  by  a  Mr.  Lane,  who  had  been  a  private  soldier  j  but  its  celebrity  was  chiefly 
owing  to  the  widow  Sutton,  who  resided  here  from  1785  to  1808,  and  laid  out  the 
bowling-green  and  grounds.  The  streets  which  now  cover  the  Canonbury  estate  are 
mostly  named  from  the  titles  of  the  Marquis  of  Northampton,  the  ground  landlord. 

CARVINGS  IN   WOOD. 

THE  art  of  Sculpture  in  Wood  has  ever  been  royally  and  nobly  encouraged  in 
England ;  and  the  metropolis  contains  many  fine  specimens  of  ancient  and  modern 
skill  in  this  tasteful  branch  of  decoration. 

The  figures  carved  upon  the  chestnut  roof  of  Westminster  Hall  show  the  degree  of 
excellence  the  art  had  attained  in  this  country  so  early  as  the  reign  of  Richard  II. 
The  sculptured  arms  on  the  corbels  are  those  of  France  and  England,  quarterly ;  and  of 
St.  Edward  the  Confessor,  as  borne  by  Richard  II. ;  whose  favourite  badge,  viz.,  the 
white  hart,  lodged,  ducally  gorged  and  chained,  and  his  crest  of  a  lion  guardant 
crowned,  standing  on  a  chapeau  and  helmet,  are  also  carved,  in  alternate  succession, 
on  the  cornice. 

There  is  every  reason  to  suppose  the  timber  architecture  of  Old  London  to  have  been 
elaborate  and  beautiful.  Till  about  the  year  1625,  nearly  all  the  houses  were  built  of 
wood :  the  interiors  of  the  better  sort  were  often  richly  carved,  particularly  in  the 
panels  of  rooms,  chimney-pieces,  ceilings,  and  staircases  j  and  the  exteriors  displayed  a 
similar  love  of  ornament  in  the  doors  and  barge-boards,  and  story  corbels. 

The  Great  Fire  of  1666  spared  few  specimens  of  early  wood-carving ;  but  several 
exist  in  quarters  not  reached  by  the  destroyer.     Of  existing  Gothic  work  may  be 


CARVINGS  IN  WOOD.  79 

mentioned  the  decorations  of  Crosby  Hall,  much  injured,  however,  by  "  restoration." 
The  excellently  carved  stalls  in  the  church  of  St.  Helen,  Bishopsgate,  and  those  of  the 
Chapel  of  Henry  VII.  at  Westminster,  are  unusually  magnificent,  and  were  mostly 
executed  by  foreign  workmen  summoned  to  England  by  Henry  VII. 

In  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  not  only  the  houses  of  the  nobility  were  decorated,  but 
furniture  made  of  British  woods  was  richly  carved  :  the  late  Mr.  Cottingham,  F.S.A., 
assembled  many  unique  specimens  of  this  period,  which  were  dispersed  in  1851. 

In  the  Elizabethan  style  may  also  be  mentioned  : — 

Two  splendid  brackets  (griffins),  dated  1592,  supporting  the  yard  entrance  at  21,  Princes-square, 
Wilson-street,  Finsbuiy. 

Two  house-fronts  in  Aldersgate-strect. 

Some  boldly  carved  brackets  (1595),  at  the  Old  Boar's  Head,  Gray's-Inn-lane. 

Panel  and  trusses  over  the  mantel  of  the  Cock  Tavern,  Fleet-street  (temp.  James  I.).  The  room  was 
formerly  panelled  opposite  the  fire-place.  The  sign  bird,  over  the  entrance  doorway  from  Fleet-street, 
is  in  the  manner  of  Gibbons,  and  gilt. 

Brackets  (temp.  James  I.)  at  the  back  of  the  house,  61,  Gray's-Inn-lane. 

There  was  6ome  fine  Elizabethan  panelling  in  the  Star  Chamber  at  Westminster,  taken  down  in  1835 ; 
but  restored  for  the  Hon.  E.  Cust,  Leasowe  Castle. 

Brackets,  very  fine,  at  the  corner  of  Cloth  Fair,  Smithfield. 

House-front,  91,  Fenchurch-street. 

Several  house-fronts,  rather  later,  in  Whitechapel  Market. 

The  Sir  Paul  Pindar's  Head,  Bishopsgate-street-without,  has  a  finely  carved  front,  and  a  carved  ceil- 
ing in  one  of  the  unmodernized  rooms. 

The  projecting  house-front  (now  gilt),  17,  Fleet-street,  opposite  Chancery-lane. 

Mask  brackets  (temp.  James  J.),  at  the  front  and  back  of  the  Old  Cheshire  Cheese,  48,  Hart-street, 
City;  and  a  spirited  grotesque  head  (same  date)  within  the  court  of  Red- Lion-place,  Cock-lane. 

A  fine  staircase,  attributed  to  Inigo  Jones  (probably  later),  at  96,  St.  Martin's-lane,  Charing  Cross. 

At  the  White  Horse  Inn,  Church-street,  Chelsea,  (burnt  Dec.  14, 1840,)  were  four  grotesque  Eliza- 
bethan brackets,  carved  chimney-pieces ;  and  a  carved  frame  for  the  sign,  dated  1509. 

The  most  celebrated  carver  after  the  Great  Fire  was  Grinling  Gibbons,  who,  Wal- 
pole  tells  us,  so  delicately  carved  a  pot  of  flowers,  that  they  shook  in  the  room  with  the 
motion  of  coaches  passing  in  the  street.  Most  of  the  interior  carvings  of  St.  Paul's 
Cathedral  were  executed  by  Gibbons,  or  by  Dutch  workmen  under  his  superintendence; 
the  cherubs  in  the  choir  are  in  the  highest  style  of  the  art. 

One  of  the  best  carvers  employed  by  Wren  was  Philip  Wood,  who  came  up  a  poor  lad 
from  Suffolk,  and  carved  as  a  specimen  of  his  skill  a  sow  and  pigs,  for  which  he  re- 
ceived ten  guineas.  According  to  the  Commissioners'  Report,  between  the  years  1701 
and  1707,  Wood  was  paid  large  sums  of  money  for  carved  work  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral. 

It  is  not  generally  known  that  the  pulpit  at  St.  Paul's  was  designed  by  Mylne,  and 
executed  about  sixty  years  since  by  one  of  the  finest  flower-carvers  of  the  time,  named 
Mowatt,  then  employed  by  a  relative  of  Edward  Wyatt,  the  carver  and  gilder,  in  Ox- 
ford-street. The  pulpit  is  carved  in  Spanish  mahogany  and  satin-wood ;  the  foliage 
is  marvellously  played  with  in  the  volutes. 

Many  of  the  Halls  of  the  City  Companies  are  decorated  with  reputed  Gibbons's  work ; 
as  well  as  the  interiors  of  most  of  the  churches  built  by  Sir  Christopher  Wren.  St. 
James's,  Piccadilly,  has  some  fine  pulpit,  altar,  and  pew  carvings;  and  the  churchwardens' 
pews  at  Allhallows  Barking  (with  the  symbols  of  the  four  Evangelists),  are  amongst 
the  most  delicate  decorations  of  their  time  in  the  metropolis.  The  Hall  of  Heralds' 
College  is  also  well  enriched  in  the  Gibbons  style ;  and  a  beautiful  specimen  of  Gibbons's 
skill  in  fruit,  fish,  game,  shells,  &c.  is  preserved  at  the  New  River  House,  Clerkenwell. 

At  Canonbury  House,  Islington,  the  great  chamber  contains  a  quaintly  carved  oak 
fireplace,  in  which  are  small  statues  of  Mars  and  Venus  draped.  The  room  had 
originally  wood  panelling  and  carved  pilasters  placed  at  intervals ;  all  this,  with  the 
exception  of  two  or  three  pilasters,  has  disappeared ;  the  doorway  with  the  busts  of 
the  old  English  gentleman  and  dame  in  the  quaint  costume  of  the  time,  is  very  curious. 
These  doorways  generally  projected  like  small  screens  into  these  great  rooms,  and  were 
used  as  a  protection  from  the  cold.  Its  Roman  moulding  and  enriched  frieze-like  running 
ornament  throughout  the  building  of  the  same  character  as  the  latter.  The  ceiling  of 
the  room  bears  the  date  1559,  probably  that  year  when  Sir  John  Spencer  came  to  re- 
side on  the  spot.  Besides  the  great  chamber,  there  are  several  other  long  rooms  full 
of  rich  carvings,  especially  one  on  the  ground-floor,  which  retains  all  its  original  de- 
coration :  this  was  formerly  the  parlour  of  the  old  mansion.  The  whole  of  the  carving 
of  these  old  buildings  is  carefully  protected  by  the  noble  owner,  the  present  Marquis 


80  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  Northampton  :  the  tenants  heing  strictly  directed  in  their  leases  to  uphold,  maintain, 
&c,  all  the  several  antiquities  submitted  to  their  charge.      (J.  C.  Richardson,  Architect?) 

In  1861,  there  was  sold  amongst  the  old  materials  of  No.  108,  Cheapside,  which 
stood  immediately  opposite  Bow  Church,  the  "  fine  old  oak  panelling  of  a  large  dining- 
room,  with  chimney  piece  and  cornice  to  correspond,  elaborately  carved  in  fruit  and 
foliage,  in  excellent  preservation,  750  feet  superficial."  This  "  oak-clad  room,"  was 
bought  by  Mr.  Morris  Charles  Jones,  of  Gunrog,  near  Welshpool,  in  North  Wales, 
for  72£  10s.  3d.,  including  commission  and  expenses  of  removal,  being  about  1*.  Sd. 
per  foot  superficial.  It  has  been  conveyed  from  Cheapside  to  Gunrog.  This  room  was 
the  principal  apartment  of  the  house  of  Sir  Edward  Waldo,  and  stated,  in  a  pam- 
phlet by  Mr.  Jones,  "  to  have  been  visited  by  six  reigning  sovereigns,  from  Charles  II.  to 
George  III.,  on  the  occasion  of  civic  festivities  and  for  the  purpose  of  witnessing  the  Lord 
Mayor's  Show."  (See  Mr.  Jones's  pamphlet,  privately  printed,  1864.)  A  contem- 
porary (the  Guilder)  doubts  whether  this  room  can  be  the  work  of  Gibbons ;  "  if  so,  it 
is  a  rare  treasure,  cheaply  gained.  But  except  in  St.  Paul's,  a  crown  and  ecclesiastical 
structure,  be  it  remembered — not  a  corporate  one — there  is  not  a  single  certain  example 
of  Gibbons's  art  to  be  seen  in  the  City  of  London  proper." 

About  the  same  year  that  Gibbons  died,  Nicholas  Collet  was  born.  This  clever 
carver  lived  until  1804.  He  executed  the  carving  of  Queen  Anne's  state-carriage,  and 
it  is  probable  that  to  him  we  are  indebted  for  the  best  of  the  decorated  doors  in 
Ormond-street,  Queen-square.  William  Collins,  the  inseparable  companion  of  Gains- 
borough the  painter,  was  an  excellent  modeller  and  carver. 

Smith,  in  his  London  Antiquities,  says — "  Samuel  Monette,  a  native  of  Paris,  now 
living  in  London,  claims  the  highest  encomiums  I  can  possibly  bestow :  his  art  is  prin- 
cipally confined  to  flowers,  and  when  I  say  that  Grinling  Gibbons  was  a  mouse  to  him, 
I  shall  not  utter  too  much ;  his  carvings  in  wood  are  so  light  and  playful,  that  they 
may  be  blown  away."  This  artist  designed  the  pulpits  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  St. 
Paul's,  Covent-garden,  St.  Margaret's  Westminster,  &c.  Smith  also  speaks  well  of 
the  carving  of  Burns,  famous  for  carving  wheat-sheafs;  one  of  these  wheat-sheafs  still 
remains  in  a  shop  in  the  West  Strand,  not  far  from  the  Electric  Telegraph  Station.— 
Builder,  1854. 

Gog  and  Magog,  the  giants  in  Guildhall,  which  are  masterly  examples  of  carving,  are 
of  wood  and  hollow  :  they  are  composed  of  pieces  of  fir,  and  are  said  to  be  the  pro- 
duction of  a  ship-carver.  It  is  also  reported  that  they  were  presented  to  the  City  by 
the  Stationers'  Company,  which,  if  true,  might  have  given  rise  to  the  common  report 
of  their  being  made  of  paper. 

London  once  abounded  in  richly-carved  doorways  and  over-doors  of  the  17th  and  18th 
centuries :  there  were  good  examples  in  Great  Ormond-street ;  in  Shire-lane,  Temple 
Bar,  where  Gibbons  once  lived ;  in  Cavendish-square,  especially  at  No.  33 ;  the  entrance 
to  Langbourn  Chambers,  Fenchurch-street ;  and  some  old  mansions  in  Mark-lane ; 
there  was  formerly  a  very  fine  one  over  the  door  of  .the  Ship  Tavern,  Water-lane. 

State  Coaches  present  fine  carving.  Such  are  the  Lord  Mayor's  Coach,  kept  at  the 
Green  Yard,  Whitecross-street ;  the  Queen's  Coach,  at  the  Royal  Mews,  Pimlico ;  and 
the  Speaker's  Coach,  Prince's-street,  Westminster. 

In  private  collections,  some  magnificent  specimens  of  early  carving  are  preserved : 
such  were  the  Italian  bedstead-pillars  of  the  16th  century,  and  the  bas-relief  after 
Rubens,  in  the  Earl  of  Cadogan's  collection;  and  the  collection,  dating  from  the 
15th  to  the  18th  centuries,  the  property  of  G.  Field,  Esq.,  of  Lister  House,  Clapham. 

Carving  received  considerable  check  from  the  introduction  of  stucco  in  the  reign  of 
George  II. ;  but  the  art  has  received  a  fresh  impetus  in  the  present  century.  Some 
fine  church  carving  was  executed  in  1839-42  for  the  Temple  Church ;  and  in  1847-8 
for  the  choir  of  Westminster  Abbey,  then  refitted  with  canopied  stalls,  organ-case,  screen, 
&c,  by  Messrs.  Ruddle,  of  Peterborough.  The  church  of  St.  Mary-at-Hill,  Billings- 
gate, was  redecorated  in  1849-50,  by  W.  Gibbs  Rogers  :  the  pulpit  alone  cost  upwards 
of  6001. ;  the  stairs  have  an  elaborate  string-course,  and  all  the  banisters  are  on  the 
rake ;  the  bosses  and  flowers  of  the  sounding-board  exceed  a  foot  in  projection :  the 
organ-gallery  front  has  flowers  festooned  with  musical  instruments,  and  the  pretty 
conceit  of  a  crab  crawling  over  a  violin.     Mr.  Rogers  has  also  carved,  from  a  design 


CEMETERIES.  81 


suggested  by  the  Queen,  a  boxwood  cradle  in  rich  Italian  style,  most  delicately  finished, 
and  first  used  for  the  infant  Prince  Arthur,  born  1850 :  it  is  cleverly  engraved  and 
described  in  the  Art  Journal  for  August  1850. 

St.  Michael's  Church,  Cornhill,  has  also  been  redecorated  by  Mr.  Rogers,  with  carvings 
of  elaborate  detail,  which  will  be  described  hereafter,  from  the  carver's  pamphlet. 

The  interior  enrichments  of  the  New  Palace  at  Westminster  present  some  fine 
specimens  of  contemporary  carving.  Much  of  the  work  has,  however,  been  executed 
by  machinery,  and  finished  by  hand.  The  new  Hall  of  Lincoln's  Inn  has  also  some 
fine  new  work. 

The  great  depository  for  old  carvings  is  Wardour -street,  Oxford-street,  where  the 
dealers  mostly  keep  shop  :  much  discrimination  is  requisite  in  making  purchases. 

CEMETERIES, 

OR  public  burial-grounds,  planted  and  laid  out  as  gardens  around  the  metropolis,  are  a 
novelty  of  our  times;  although  they  were  suggested  just  after  the  Great  Fire  of  1666, 
when  Evelyn  regretted  that  advantage  had  not  been  taken  of  that  calamity  to  rid  the 
City  of  its  burial-places,  and  establish  a  necropolis  without  the  walls.  He  deplores  that 
"  the  churchyards  had  not  been  banished  to  the  north  walls  of  the  City,  where  a  grated 
inclosure,  of  competent  breadth,  for  a  mile  in  length,  might  have  served  for  an  universal 
cemetery  to  all  the  parishes,  distinguished  by  the  like  separations,  and  with  ample  walks 
of  trees;  the  walks  adorned  with  monuments,  inscriptions,  and  titles,  apt  for  contempla- 
tion and  memory  of  the  defunct,  and  that  wise  and  excellent  law  of  the  Twelve  Tables 
restored  and  renewed." 

The  several  Cemeteries  in  the  suburbs  are  the  property  of  Joint-Stock  Companies. 
From  the  costliness  of  interment  in  them,  they  at  first  but  little  abated  the  evil 
of  intramural  burial,  as  stated  in  the  Report  of  the  Board  of  Health  in  1850.  By  the 
Metropolitan  Interment  Act,  passed  in  the  above  year,  the  evil  has  been  abolished,  and 
Cemeteries  provided  for  the  several  metropolitan  parishes. 

Kexsal  Green  Cemeteey  was  the  first  established.  It  lies  upon  high  ground, 
left  of  the  Harrow  Road  and  the  hamlet  of  Kensal  Green,  about  two  miles  from  Padding- 
ton  Green.  It  is  divided  into  two  grounds :  the  westernmost  consecrated  Nov.  2, 
1832 ;  the  smaller  ground  being  for  the  interment  of  persons  whose  friends  desire  a 
funeral  service  differing  from  that  of  the  Church  of  England.  The  same  distinction 
is  observed  in  each  of  the  Cemeteries ;  and  each  is  planted  and  laid  out  in  walks,  par- 
terres, and  borders  of  flowers,  and  other  styles  of  landscape-gardening.  A  register  is 
kept  of  interments  for  both  portions  of  the  grounds,  and  a  duplicate  is  lodged  with  the 
registrars  of  parishes  in  the  diocese.  Each  Company  has  its  scale  of  charges  for  inter- 
ment in  catacomb,  vault,  or  grave. 

Within  three  years  from  the  opening  of  the  Kensal-Green  Cemetery,  there  took 
place  in  it  about  1000  interments.  Each  ground  has  its  chapel  and  colonnades ;  in 
the  latter  are  placed  mural  tablets,  and  beneath  are  vaults  or  catacombs.  The  memorials 
in  this  Cemetery  are  very  numerous :  altar- tombs,  "  monumental  urns,"  sarcophagi, 
and  the  broken  column ;  capacious  tomb-houses,  encompassed  with  flower-beds  or 
overhung  with  funereal  trees;  pillars,  bearing  urns;  weeping  and  praying  figures, 
medallion  portraits,  and  groups  of  insignia  are  most  frequent ;  though  emblems  are 
borrowed  alike  from  the  Pagan  temple  and  the  Christian  church.  The  cross,  in  its 
picturesque  varieties,  and  the  plain  but  massive  slab,  are  side  by  side.  Among  the 
most  conspicuous  is,  at  the  entrance,  a  monument  to  Madame  Soyer,  by  a  Belgian 
sculptor ;  the  pedestal  and  a  colossal  figure  of  Faith  are  upwards  of  twenty  feet  in  height. 
The  tombs  of  St.  John  Long,  the  "  counter-irritation "  surgeon ;  of  Morison,  the 
"  hygeist ;"  and  of  Ducrow,  the  equestrian ;  are  also  prominent :  the  latter  left  a  sum 
of  money  for  flowers,  shrubs,  and  repairs.  The  memorial  to  Thomas  Hood,  the  popular 
humorist,  with  sculptures  from  his  poems,  is  in  better  taste.  Here  is  interred  the 
Duke  of  Sussex,  according  to  especial  directions  left  by  that  prince  :  his  grave,  near  the 
chapel,  is  covered  by  an  immense  granite  tomb ;  and  near  it  rest  the  remains  of  the 
Princess  Sophia,  his  sister,  beneath  a  handsome  sarcophagus  tomb  of  Sicilian  marble 

G 


82  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

erected  in  1850,  by  subscription  of  Queen  Victoria,  the  King  of  Hanover,  Adolphus 
Duke  of  Cambridge,  and  the  Duchess  of  Gloucester.  Beyond  Kensal  Green,  is  a  large 
Cemetery  for  Roman  Catholics  :  here  is  interred  Cardinal  Wiseman. 

The  South  Metropolitan  and  Norwood  Cemetery  was  consecrated  Dec.  6, 
1837  :  the  chapels,  by  Tite,  in  the  pointed  style,  are  very  beautiful ;  and  the  grounds 
are  hilly,  and  picturesquely  planted. 

Higjigate  and  Kentish  Town  Cemetert,  consecrated  May  20,  1839,  lies  imme- 
diately below  Highgate  Church.  It  has  a  Tudor  gate-house  and  chapel,  and  cata- 
combs of  Egyptian  architecture  ;  the  ground  is  laid  out  in  terraces,  tastefully  planted ; 
and  the  distant  view  of  the  overgrown  Metropolis,  from  among  the  tombs,  is  sug- 
gestive to  a  meditative  mind. 

Abney  Park  Cemetery  and  Arboretum,  lying  eastward,  at  Stoke-Newington,  was 
opened  by  the  Lord  Mayor,  May  20,  1840.  It  was  formed  from  the  Park  of  Sir 
Thomas  Abney,  the  friend  of  Dr.  Isaac  Watts,  to  mark  whose  thirty-six  years'  resi- 
dence here  a  statue  of  the  Doctor,  by  Baily,  R.A.,  was  erected  in  1845.  The  Abney 
mansion  was  taken  down  in  1844 ;  many  of  the  fine  old  trees  remain. 

Westminster  and  West  of  London  Cemetery,  Earl's  Com-t,  Fulham-road,  was 
consecrated  June  15,  1840;  it  has  a  domed  chapel,  with  semi-circular  colonnades  of 
imposing  design.  In  the  grounds  is  a  large  altar-tomb,  with  athlete  figures,  modelled 
by  Baily,  and  erected  by  subscription,  to  Jackson  the  pugilist. 

Nunhead  Cemetery,  Peckham,  was  consecrated  July  29,  1840. 

The  City  op  London  and  Tower  Hamlets  Cemetery,  lies  at  the  extremity  of 
Mile-End  Boad,  north  of  Bow  Common  ;  and  Victoria  Park  Cemetery,  about  eleven 
acres,  at  Bethnal  Green,  north  of  the  Eastern  Counties  Railway.  There  are  also  large 
Cemeteries  for  Marylebone  and  Paddington ;  Islington  and  St.  Pancras. 

A  few  suburban  churchyards  are  planted  similarly  to  the  Cemeteries ;  as  that  of  St. 
John's  Wood  Chapel,  where  are  buried  Joanna  Southcot ;  Richard  Brothers  "  the 
prophet ;"  and  John  Jackson,  R.A.,  the  portrait-painter.  The  churchyard  of  St.  Giles's- 
in-the-Fields,  Lower  Pancras  Road,  consecrated  so  long  ago  as  1804,  has  many 
flowery  graves :  here  is  the  handsome  tomb  of  Sir  John  Soane,  overhung  with 
cypresses.  The  burying-ground  of  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields,  Pratt-street,  Camden 
Town,  is  also  planted :  here  lies  Charles  Dibdin,  the  song- writer. 

The  burial-grounds  for  Jews  are  mostly  laid  out  and  planted  in  the  cemetery 
manner.  Formerly  their  burial-place  was  outside  the  City  Wall,  at  Leyrestowe, 
"  without  Cripplegate." 

CHANCER  Y-LANE 

"  A  CQTJIRED  its  ominous  name  about  the  time  of  Richard  I.  There  is  extant 
Lx.  a  deed,  by  which  Longchamp,  Bishop  of  Ely,  devised  certain  messuages  in  the 
Chancellor's-lane,  heretofore  the  New-street." — (Archcaological  Journal,  No.  12, 
p.  375.)  This  is  the  greatest  "  legal  thoroughfare"  in  London,  and  extends  from 
Fleet-street,  opposite  Inner  Temple  Gate,  to  Holborn,  nearly  opposite  Gray's  Inn. 
In  Edward  I.'s  time  it  was  so  foul  and  miry  as  to  be  barred  up,  to  prevent  accidents. 
Entering  by  Fleet-street,  on  the  left  were  until  lately  some  half-timbered  houses,  with 
projecting  windows,  overhanging  stories,  and  gabled  fronts.  Izaak  Walton  kept  a 
draper's  shop  at  the  second  house  on  the  left,  taken  down  when  that  end  of  the  lane 
was  widened;  he  subsequently  removed,  according  to  Sir  Harris  Nicolas's  Life  of 
Walton,  five  doors  higher  up  in  the  lane.  Opposite  is  Serjeants'  Inn,  rebuilt  by  Sir 
Robert  Smirke  in  1838  ;  but  the  old  Hall  remains.  Higher  up,  on  the  west,  is  the 
Law  Institution,  with  a  noble  Grecian- Ionic  portico,  built  of  stone  by  Vulliamy,  in 
1842 ;  it  contains  a  library  and  club  accommodation  for  the  legal  profession.  In  this 
ancient  thoroughfare  have  been  built  several  edifices  of  ornamental  character,  including 
the  large  premises  for  the  Union  Bank,  at  the  cost  of  30,000£. 

The  Bishop  of  Chichester  formerly  had  a  palace  in  Chancery-lane,  where  are  still 


CHARING  CROSS. 


Chichester  Rents  and  Symonds  Inn ;  the  latter,  to  this  day,  owned  hy  the  see.  The 
large  old  house,  with  low-built  shops  before  it,  and  between  Bream's  Buildings  and 
Cursitor-street,  is  said  to  have  been  the  Bishop's  palace.  Nearly  opposite  is  the  red- 
brick gatehouse  of  Lincoln's  Inn ;  a  Tudor  arch  betweeu  two  massive  towers,  built  by 
Sir  Thomas  Lovell,  1518,  and  bearing  his  arms. 

The  Survey  of  Aggas,  in  1560,  shows  Chancery-lane  with  only  a  few  houses  at  the 
end,  the  intervening  road  flanked  with  gardens;  and  there  is  no  reason  to  doubt 
Aubrey's  statement  that  young  Ben  Jonson  worked  with  his  father-in-law,  a  brick- 
layer, in  building  the  garden-wall  of  Lincoln's  Inn,  when,  as  Fuller  says,  "  having  a 
trowel  in  his  hand,  he  had  a  book  in  his  pocket." 

The  stone  buildings  at  the  northern  end  of  the  lane  are  the  Accountant- General's 
and  Inrolment  Offices.  Opposite,  upon  the  site  of  Southampton  Buildings,  was 
Southampton  House,  inherited  by  the  ill-fated  William,  Lord  Russell,  by  his  marriage 
with  the  daughter  of  Thomas,  last  Earl  of  Southampton. 

"  It  was  in  passing  this  house,  the  scene  of  his  domestic  happiness,  on  his  way  to  the  scaffold  in 
Lincoln' s-lnn- fields,  that  the  fortitude  of  the  martyr  for  a  moment  forsook  him  (W.  Lord  Russell) ;  but 
over-mastering  his  emotion,  he  said  '  The  bitterness  of  death  is  now  past.'  It  is  from  this  house  that 
some  of  Lady  Rachel  Russell's  celebrated  letters  are  dated.  A  former  entrance  to  the  chapel  of  South- 
ampton House  appears  to  correspond  with  the  moulding  of  the  flat  timbered  roof,  which  is  of  the  time 
of  Henry  VII.  This  part  of  the  edifice  retains  its  original  proportions,  except  that  its  height  is  divided 
by  a  modern  floor.  Its  length  is  about  40  feet  by  about  20.  Other  portions  of  Southampton  House  have 
been  incorporated  with  the  surrounding  dwellings,  one  of  which  contains  a  beautiful  Elizabethan  stair- 
case. Old  mouldings  and  panelling  appear  likewise  in  47,  Southampton  Buildings,  which  house  seems 
to  have  been  constructed  upon  a  portion  of  the  ancient  mansion." — J.  Wykeham  Archer. 

CHARING   CROSS. 

THE  large  area  at  the  meeting  of  the  Strand,  Whitehall,  and  Cockspur-street,  with 
Trafalgar-square  on  the  north,  is  named  from  the  Village  of  Cherringe,  near 
Westminster,  and  seems  to  have  been  the  border  or  neutral  ground  between  the  City 
and  the  King's  western  palace.  Tradition  traces  it  to  the  stone  cross  erected  there, 
to  Eleanor,  the  Chere  Reine  of  Edward  I. ;  but  this  tradition  is  fanciful. 

In  the  narrative  of  the  quarrel  between  the  merchants  of  London  and  Northampton, 
in  the  IAber  de  Antiquis  Legibus,  the  following  passage  occurs  : — "  Quibus  Uteris  im- 
petratis,  ecce !  rumores  quod  predicti  p'sones  fuerunt  apud  Cherringe  juxta  Westmon- 
asterium  ubi  Maior  et  Ballivi  Norehamptone  illos  adduxerunt."  This  was  in  1260,  and 
Queen  Eleanor  (the  Chere  Reine  in  question)  died  in  1291.  But,  the  association  is  of 
older  date,  for  in  King  Edward  I.,  Neale's  Works,  edited  by  Dyce,  we  read  :— 

"  Erect  a  rich  and  stately  carved  cross 
Whereon  her  statue  shall  with  glory  shine, 
And  henceforth  see  you  call  it  Chariug  Cross ; 
For  why  ?  the  chariest  and  the  choicest  queen, 
That  ever  did  delight  my  royal  eyes 
There  dwells  in  darkness." 

This  was  the  last  spot  at  which  the  Queen's  body  rested  on  its  way  to  Westminster  for 
burial.  Mr.  Hudson  Turner,  in  Manners  and  Household  Expenses  of  England  in  the  \3t7i 
and  15th  Centuries,  gives  some  curious  particulars  of  the  nine  Eleanor  Crosses,  of  which 
two  were  those  at  Charing  and  Cheap.  Charing  Cross  was  built  of  Caen  stone,  and 
Dorset  marble  steps,  by  Richard  and  Roger  de  Crundale;  it  was  highly  decorated, 
and  had  paintings  and  metal  figures,  gilt;  besides  Eleanor  and  others,  sculptured  in 
Caen  stone  by  Alexander  of  Abingdon,  and  modelled  by  Torel,  a  goldsmith,  probably 
an  Italian.  It  has  been  much  discussed  whether  this  and  the  other  Eleanor  Crosses 
were  erected  by  Edward  I.  as  memorials  of  his  "  conjugal  affection,"  or  by  him  as  one 
of  the  executors  of  the  Queen ;  but,  surely,  "  the  very  last  thing  that  a  husband  who 
desired  to  express  his  own  affection  for  the  deceased  wife  would  do  would  be  to  appear, 
not  in  his  proper  person,  but  as  one  of  her  legal  representatives." — (Athen&um.) 

That  the  Crosses  were  raised  by  command  of  the  King  is  founded  on  the  authority  of 
Walsingham  and  his  predecessors,  handed  down  by  Sandford  and  others  to  the  present 
day  :  see  Mr.  Abel's  paper  upon  the  Inquiry. 

The  Cross  appears  in  the  Sutherland  View,  1543,  with  only  a  few  houses  near  it,  and 
St.  Martin's  Church  literally  "  in  the  fields."  A  century  later,  puritanical  bigotry 
was  at  its  full  height ;  and  April  23, 1643,  "  by  order  of  the  Commission  or  Committee 

Q  2 


84  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

appointed  by  the  House,  the  sign  of  a  tavern,  The  Golden  Cross,  at  Charing  Cross,  was 
taken  down  as  superstitious  and  idolatrous."  Next  followed  the  Cross  itself,  it  being 
pulled  down  in  June,  July,  and  August  1647,  and  knife-hafts  made  of  some  of  the  stone, 
or  marble.     Then  the  wits  had  their  gibe  : 

"Undone,  undone,  the  lawyers  are, — 
They  wander  about  the  towne, 
Nor  can  find  the  way  to  Westminster, 

Now  Charing  Cross  is  downe. 
At  the  end  of  the  Strand  they  make  a  stand, 

Swearing  they  are  at  a  loss, 
And  chaffing  say,  That's  not  the  way, 
They  must  go  by  Charing  Cross. 

The  Downfalle  of  Charing  Cross. 

Next,  regicides  were  executed  "  at  the  said  place,  where  Charing  Cross  stood."  In 
1674,  was  placed  here  the  noble  equestrian  statue  of  Charles  I.,  by  Le  Soeur,  which  had 
been  cast  in  1633,  but  long  lay  concealed.  A  memorandum  in  the  State-Paper  Office 
points  to  the  statue  having  been  originally  ordered  of  Le  Sceur  by  Lord  Treasurer 
Weston,  afterwards  Earl  of  Portland,  to  be  set  up  in  his  gardens  at  Roehampton.  The 
stone  pedestal,  long  attributed  to  Gibbons,  is  proved  by  written  evidence  to  be  the 
work  of  Joshua  Marshall,  master-mason  to  the  Crown. 

Where  the  Post-office  at  Charing  Cross  now  stands,  there  was  once  a  hermitage, 
within  which  the  patent  rolls  of  the  47th  Henry  III.  grant  permission  to  William  de 
Kadnor,  Bishop  of  Llandaff,  to  lodge  with  all  his  retainers,  whenever  he  came  to  Lon- 
don. Opposite  this  stood  the  ancient  Hospital  of  St.  Mary  Roncevalles,  founded  by 
William  Marechal,  Earl  of  Pembroke.  It  was  suppressed  by  Henry  V.  as  an  alien 
priory,  restored  by  Edward  IV.,  and  finally  suppressed  by  Edward  VI.,  who  granted  it 
to  Sir  Thomas  Carwarden,  to  be  held  in  free  soccage  of  the  honour  of  Westminster. 

Canalletto  painted  for  his  patron,  Algernon  Sidney,  Baron  Percy,  created  in  1749 
Earl  of  Northumberland,  a  view  of  Northumberland-house  and  Charing  Cross ;  the 
picture  is  now  in  that  mansion ;  it  was  painted  about  1746  ,and  shows  the  houses  of  the 
street-lines,  with  their  signs,  among  which  is  prominent  the  Golden  Cross. 

Charing  Cross  was  a  favourite  pitch  for  Punch,  or  Punchinello,  as  he  is  termed  in  sun- 
dry entries  in  the  Overseers'  books  of  St.  Martin's- in-the-Fields,  dated  1666,  March  29, 
which  Mr.  Cunningham  states  to  be  the  earliest  mention  of  Punch  in  England. 

It  was  at  the  Rummer  Tavern,  Charing  Cross,  that  Matthew  Prior  was  brought  up 

by  his  uncle,  the  landlord,  who  had  him  educated  at  Westminister  School.     The  Swan, 

at  Charing  Cross,  was  a  favourite  tavern  of  Ben  Jonson.     Proclamations  were  read 

here :  hence  Swift, 

"  Where  all  that  passes  inter  nos, 
May  be  proclaimed  at  Charing-cross," 

■ — a  popular  saying  in  our  day.  Edmund  Curll,  the  notorious  bookseller,  stood  here  in 
the  pillory.  Sir  Harry  Vane,  the  younger,  had  bis  residence  next  to  Northumberland 
House.  Isaac  Barrow,  the  divine,  died  in  mean  lodgings  over  the  saddler's  long  shop 
at  Charing  Cross,  which  lasted  till  our  time.  Rhodes,  the  bookseller,  hung  out  his 
sign  of  the  Ship  in  the  same  locality.  Here,  according  to  Pyne,  William  Hogarth 
stood  at  a  window  of  the  old  Golden  Cross  making  sketches  of  the  heralds  and  the 
sergeant  trumpeter's  band,  and  the  yeoman  guard,  who  rendezvoused  at  Charing  Cross, 
purposing  to  make  a  picture  of  the  ceremony  of  proclaiming  the  new  King,  George  III. 
On  June  21,  1837,  Queen  Victoria  was  proclaimed  herein  fitting  state :  the  High 
Constable  and  High  Bailiff  of  Westminster,  Knight-marshalmen,  drums  and  trumpets, 
sergeants- at- arms,  pursuivants,  heralds,  and  other  authorities,  in  official  costume, 
standing  within  a  cordon  of  Life  Guards,  round  the  statue,  and  the  Somerset  Herald 
reading  aloud  the  proclamation. 

"  I  talked,"  says  Boswell,  "  of  the  cheerfulness  of  Fleet-street,  owing  to  the  quick 
succession  of  people  which  we  perceive  passing  through  it."  Johnson — "  Why,  Sir, 
Fleet-street  has  a  very  animated  appearance,  but  I  think  the  full  tide  of  human  exis- 
tence is  at  Charing  Cross."     (Boswell,  Croker's  ed.,  p.  433). 

The  changes  at  Charing  Cross  within  the  last  forty  years  have  been  very  strik- 
ing. We  well  remember  the  paved  area  about  St.  Martin's  Church,  with  the 
surrounding  labyrinth  of  courts,  and  alleys,  and  lanes,  which  the  gallants  of  Elizabeth 


CHARTERHOUSE.  85 


or  James's  time,  who  had  cruised  in  search  of  Spanish  galleons,  wittily  named  "  the 
Bermudas." 

"  Here  the  valorous  Captain  Bobadil  must  have  lived  in  Barmecidal  splendour,  and  have  taught  his 
dupes  the  true  conduct  of  the  weapon.  Justice  Overdo  mentions  the  Bermudas  with  a  righteous  indig- 
nation. '  Look,'  says  that  great  legal  functionary, '  into  any  angle  of  the  town,  the  Streights  or  the  Ber- 
mudas, where  the  quarrelling  lesson  is  read,  and  how  do  they  entertain  the  time  but  with  bottled  ale 
and  tobacco  ?  At  a  subsequent  period  the  cluster  of  avenues  exchanged  the  title  of  Bermuda*  for  that 
of  the  C'ribbee  Islands,  the  learned  possessors  corrupting  the  name  into  a  happy  allusion  to  the  arts 
cultivated  there.  Gay,  writing  in  1715,  describes  the  small  streets  branching  from  Charing  Cross  as 
resounding  with  the  shoeblacks'  cry, '  Clean  your  honour's  shoes  ?'  Porridge  Island  was  the  cant  name 
for  a  paved  alley  near  St.  Martin's  Church,  which  derived  its  name  from  being  full  of  cookshops.  A 
writer  in  The  World  (1753)  describes  a  man  like  Beau  Tibbs,  who  had  his  dinner  in  a  pewter-plate 
from  a  cookshop  in  Porridge  Island,  and  with  only  100Z.  a  year  was  foolish  enough  to  wear  a  laced  suit, 
go  every  evening  in  a  chair  to  a  rout,  and  return  to  his  bedroom  on  foot,  shivering  and  supperless,  vain 
enough  to  glory  in  having  rubbed  elbows  with  the  quality  of  Brentford." — Pictures  of  the  Period. 

In  the  improvements,  commenced  in  1829,  was  swept  away  the  lower  part  of  St. 
Martin's-lane.  Westward  disappeared  Duke's-court,  where  lived  Roger  Payne,  the 
celebrated  bookbinder,  whose  chef-d'oeuvre,  iEschylus,  in  Lord  Spencer's  library, 
cost  fifteen  guineas  binding.  Then,  at  the  Mews'-gate,  lived  honest  Tom  Payne,  the 
bookseller,  whose  little  shop  in  the  shape  of  L  was  named  the  Literary  Coffee-house, 
from  its  knot  of  literary  frequenters. 

CHAR  TERHO  USE. 

NOT  far  from  Smithfield,  once  the  town-green  of  the  City  of  London,  the  chivalrous 
Sir  Walter  Manny,  Lord  of  the  town  of  Manny,  in  the  diocese  of  Cambray,  and 
Knight  of  the  Garter  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  founded  in  1371  a  monastery  of 
Carthusian  monks.  The  site  (now  Charterhouse-square)  was  in  part  a  lonely  field, 
bearing  the  name  of  "  No  Man's  Land."  Ralph  Stratford  bought  it  as  a  place  of 
burial  for  the  victims  of  the  pestilence  of  13  i9,  "where  was  buried  in  one  year," 
says  Camden,  "  no  less  than  sixty  thousand  of  the  better  sort  of  people."  Thirteen 
acres  of  adjoining  ground,  bought  at  about  the  same  time  of  St  Bartholomew's 
Spittle,  and  called  the  Spittle  Croft,  had  also  been  enclosed  and  consecrated.  The 
monastery  was  devoted  to  the  use  of  the  Carthusian  monks,  whose  name  of  Chartreuse 
time  has  corrupted  into  Charterhouse.  It  was  the  third  Carthusian  monastery 
instituted  in  this  country,  and  its  title  and  address  was — "  The  House  of  the  Saluta- 
tion of  the  Mother  of  God,  without  the  Bars  of  West  Smithfield,  near  London." 

The  last  prior  was  executed  at  Tyburn,  May  4,  1535 — his  head  set  on  London 
Bridge ;  and  one  of  his  limbs  over  the  gateway  of  his  own  convent — the  same  gateway, 
it  is  said,  which  is  still  the  entrance  from  Charterhouse-square.  The  priory,  thus 
sternly  dissolved,  was  first  set  apart  by  King  Henry  VIII.  as  a  place  of  deposit  for 
his  "  hales  and  tents  " — i.e.,  "  his  nets  and  pavilions."  It  was  afterwards  given  by 
the  King  to  Sir  Thomas  Audley,  Lord  Chancellor,  by  whom  it  was  sold  to  Sir  Thomas 
North,  Baron  North  of  Kirtling.  Lord  North  subsequently  parted  with  it  to  John 
Dudley,  Duke  of  Northumberland,  on  whose  execution  and  attainder  in  1553  it 
reverted  to  Lord  North  by  a  grant  from  the  Crown.  In  1565,  by  deeds,  and  in  con- 
sideration of  the  sum  of  2820/.,  Roger,  second  Lord  North,  sold  it  to  Thomas  Howard, 
Duke  of  Norfolk,  on  whose  execution  and  attainder  in  1572  it  again  reverted  to  the 
Crown.  Queen  Elizabeth  subsequently  granted  it  to  the  Duke's  second  son,  Thomas, 
afterwards  Earl  of  Suffolk,  founder  of  Audley  End,  in  Essex,  and  father  of  Frances, 
Countess  of  Essex  and  Somerset,  the  infamous  heroine  of  "  the  great  Oyer  of  Poison- 
ing," in  the  reign  of  James  I. 

On  May  9, 1611,  the  property  was  sold  by  Lord  Suffolk  to  Thomas  Sutton,  of  Camps 
Castle,  in  the  county  of  Cambridge,  for  13,000/.  His  wealth  was  great :  he  had  dis- 
covered rich  veins  of  coal  near  Newcastle-on-Tyne,  which  he  worked  so  profitably  as  to 
be  reputed  worth  the  then  vast  sum  of  50,000/.  He  added  greatly  to  his  fortune  by  mar- 
riage ;  and  in  privateering  service  he  captured  a  Spanish  vessel  with  a  cargo  valued  at 
20,000/.  On  June  22,  follows  his  purchase  of  Charterhouse ;  Sutton  endowed  it  as  a 
charity  by  the  name  of  "  the  Hospital  of  King  James,"  "  for  poor  brethren  and 
scholars."  Sutton  died  almost  an  octogenarian  in  the  same  year,  Dec.  12th,  before  his 
good  work  was  complete,  and  was  buried  in  the  chapel  of  the  Hospital,  beneath  a 


86  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

sumptuous  monument,  the  work  of  Stone  and  Jansen.  On  opening  the  vault,  in 
1842,  the  body  of  the  founder  was  discovered  "  lapt  in  lead,"  like  an  Egyptian 
mummy-case.  Sutton  has  been  charged  with  avarice  in  acquiring  the  money  he 
bequeathed,  and  has  been  pointed  out  as  the  original  of  Volpone,  the  Fox ;  but  this 
Gilford  disproves.  In  the  chapel,  Burrell,  the  preacher  to  the  Hospital,  paid  the 
first  tribute  of  praise  to  the  memory  of  Sutton  in  a  sermon,  printed  in  1629,  but 
now  as  rare  as  a  manuscript. 

The  buildings  and  grounds  of  Charterhouse  occupy  about  thirteen  acres  of  land. 
Entering  by  the  gate  over  which  one  of  the  quarters  of  the  last  prior  of  the  monastery 
was  placed,  on  the  right  is  part  of  the  "  fair  dwelling "  erected  about  1537 ;  the 
Middle  or  Monitors'  Court  is  of  about  the  same  date,  though  the  Long  Gallery  is 
reduced  by  half;  the  Washhouse  Court  is  one  of  the  few  remaining  portions  of  the 
monastery.  The  Preacher's  Court  contains  the  chapel,  which,  from  a  plan,  date  about 
1500,  seems  to  be  identified  with  the  monastery  chapel.  In  some  repairs  in  18 12  an 
ancient  ambrie  was  discovered  towards  the  south  corner  of  the  east  wall.  The  Chapel 
contains  several  fine  monuments,  besides  that  of  Sutton.  The  Ante-Chapel,  which, 
like  the  Evidence  Room  above  it,  has  a  groined  roof,  bears  the  date  1512.  The  Great 
Chamber,  or  Old  Governors'  Room,  was  either  built  or  decorated  by  Thomas,  fourth 
Duke  of  Norfolk,  between  1565  and  1571 :  it  was  restored  in  1838,  and  is  now  the 
most  perfect  Elizabethan  apartment  in  London.  It  has  a  chimney-piece  of  wood,  a 
centre  and  two  wings,  in  two  stories,  Tuscan  and  Ionic,  reaching  to  the  ceiling,  deco- 
rated with  escutcheons  of  the  House  of  Norfolk.  In  this  room  Queen  Elizabeth  and 
James  I.  kept  their  court  on  their  visits  here.  And  here,  on  Founder's  Day,  is  delivered 
the  Annual  Oration :  the  walls  are  richly  painted,  and  hung  with  six  pieces  of  tapestry. 
The  Great  Hall  has  a  screen,  music-gallery,  sculptured  chimney-piece,  and  lantern  in 
the  roof:  here  hangs  a  noble  portrait  of  Sutton,  and  here  is  celebrated  "  the  Founder's 
Day,"  Dec.  12,  when  the  Carthusians  dine  together  by  subscription.  At  the  Poor 
Brothers'  celebration  was  formerly  sung  the  old  Carthusian  melody,  with  this  chorus  : — 

"Then  blessed  be  the  memory 
Of  good  old  Thomas  Sutton, 
"Who  gave  us  lodging — learning, 
And  he  gave  us  beef  and  mutton." 

In  the  Upper  Hall  the  foundation  scholars  dine  daily;  and,  in  another  Hall,  the 
Master,  the  Preacher,  and  other  officers. 

This  "  triple  good,"  as  Bacon  calls  it — this  "  masterpiece  of  Protestant  English 
charity,"  as  it  is  called  by  Fuller, — was  also  "  the  greatest  gift  in  England,  either  in  Pro- 
testant or  Catholic  times,  ever  bestowed  by  any  individual."  It  is  under  the  direction 
of  the  Queen,  fifteen  Governors  selected  from  the  great  officers  of  state ;  and  the 
Master  of  the  Hospital,  whose  income  is  800?.  a  year,  besides  a  capital  residence 
within  the  walls.  The  value  of  the  estates  bequeathed  by  Sutton  has  increased 
tenfold ;  yet  the  gross  rental,  which  was,  in  the  year  1691,  5391?.,  is  stated  to  average 
less  than  21,000?.  Upon  the  foundation  are  maintained  eighty  pensioners,  or  poor 
brothers,  whom  the  Governors  nominate  in  rotation ;  they  live  together  in  collegiate 
style,  provided  with  apartments,  and  all  necessaries,  except  apparel,  in  lieu  of  which 
they  are  allowed  14?.  a  year  and  a  gown  each.  Next  are  the  scholars,  in  two  divi- 
sions— the  foundation,  or  gown  boys,  and  the  boarders  received  by  the  masters ;  the 
former  are  fed  and  clothed  at  the  expense  of  the  Hospital ;  the  latter  by  their  friends. 
The  foundation  scholars  also  enjoy  the  right  of  election  to  exhibitions  of  from  80?. 
to  100?.  a  year,  at  either  university,  besides  the  preference  over  the  scholars  of  presen- 
tation to  valuable  church  preferments  in  the  gift  of  the  Governors.  The  sum  of  40?. 
was  formerly  paid  with  every  boy,  either  to  advance  him  in  college,  or  as  an  apprentice- 
fee  in  trade ;  but  no  youth  has  been  apprenticed  from  the  school  since  John  Philip 
Ivemble  was  bound  to  his  uncle,  the  comedian,  to  learn  the  histrionic  art.  The  total 
number  of  scholars  does  not  exceed  200 ;  formerly  the  number  was  480,  when 
boarding-houses  were  allowed  in  the  neighbourhood ;  now  the  scholars  are  only  allowed 
to  reside  within  the  walls. 

The  present  school-house  is  a  modern  brick  building  (1803),  on  a  mound  in  the 
playground ;  the  large  central  door  is  surrounded  by  stones  bearing  the  names  of  former 


CHARTERHOUSE.  87 


Head  Masters,  and  the  names  of  the  boys  as  they  leave  the  school.  The  internal 
economy  of  the  establishment  is  vested  in  the  Master  ;  the  manciple,  or  house-steward, 
provides  the  diet  of  the  Hospital,  for  which  he  has  "  to  pay  in  ready  money." 

Charterhouse  is  more  healthily  placed  than  any  other  public  school  in  the  metro- 
polis. John  Wesley  imputed  his  after  health  and  long  life  to  his  strict  obedience  to 
his  father's  injunction — that  he  should  run  round  the  Charterhouse  playing-green 
three  times  every  morning.  There  are  two  play-greens — for  the  "  Uppers"  and 
"  Unders ;"  and  by  the  wall  of  the  ancient  monastery  is  a  gravel-walk  upon  the  site  of 
a  range  of  cloisters.  The  Master  has  his  flower-garden,  with  its  fountain ;  there  are 
courts  for  tennis,  a  favourite  game  with  Carthusians ;  a  wilderness  of  fine  trees,  inter- 
sected by  grass  and  gravel  walks;  the  cloisters,  where  football  and  hockey  are  played; 
the  old  school,  its  ceiling  charged  with  armorial  shields ;  the  great  kitchen,  probably 
the  banqueting-hall  of  the  old  priory  ;  the  chapel ;  and  lastly,  the  burial-ground  for  the 
poor  brethren.  There  are  besides  solitary  courts,  remains  of  cloisters  and  cells,  and  old 
doorways  and  window-cases,  which  assert  the  antiquity  of  the  place ;  and  the  Governors 
have  wisely  extended  the  great  object  of  the  founder  by  the  grant  of  a  piece  of 
ground,  where  a  church  and  schools  for  the  poorer  classes  have  been  built. 

There  are  three  schoolrooms :  one  very  large,  and  two  smaller,  for  French  and 
study.  The  system  of  education  includes  Greek  and  Latin  and  mathematics ; 
modern  history,  geography,  natural  science ;  the  French  and  German  languages ;  and 
singing,  fencing,  and  drilling  classes.  The  foundation  scholarships  are  competed  for 
annually.  There  are  other  prizes,  including  the  Havelock  Exhibition,  founded  in  I860, 
in  honour  of  General  Sir  Henry  Havelock,  who  was  a  Carthusian. 

Oliver  Cromwell  was  elected  Governor  in  1652,  and  was  succeeded  by  his  son 
Richard,  in  1658.  The  most  eminent  Master  of  the  house  was  Dr.  Thomas  Burnet, 
author  of  The  Sacred  Theory  of  the  Earth ;  and  the  most  eminent  Schoolmaster,  the 
Rev.  Andrew  Tooke,  author  of  the  Pantheon. 

Upon  the  register  of  pupils  are  many  illustrious  names,  including  Crawshay,  the 
poet ;  Isaac  Barrow,  the  divine  and  mathematician  ;  Sir  William  Blackstone,  author  of 
the  Commentaries ;  Joseph  Addison,  and  Richard  Steele,  both  here  together;  John 
Wesley,  the  founder  of  the  Wesleyans ;  Lord  Chief- Justice  Ellenborough  (buried  in  the 
Chapel) ;  the  Prime  Minister,  Lord  Liverpool ;  Bishop  Monk ;  Baron  Alderson ;  and 
General  Sir  H.  Havelock — "  Old  Phlos,"  he  was  called  in  the  school :  he  is  described 
to  have  been  then  a  gentle  and  thoughtful  lad,  who  used  to  stand  looking  on  while 
others  played,  and  whose  general  meditative  manner  procured  for  him  the  name  of 
"  Philosopher,"  and  occasionally  "  Old  Philos ;"  W.  M.  Thackeray,  the  novelist ;  and 
John  Leech,  the  celebrated  artist;  Sir  C.  L.  Eastlake,  President  of  the  Royal 
Academy ;  the  two  eminent  historians  of  Greece,  Bishop  Thirlwall  and  Mr.  George 
Grote,  were  both  scholars  together  in  the  same  form,  under  Dr.  Raine. 

Among  the  Poor  Brethren  were  Elkanah  Settle,  the  rival  and  antagonist  of  Dryden; 
John  Bagford,the  antiquary,  originally  a  shoemaker  in  Turnstile ;  Isaac  de  Groot,  nephew 
of  Hugo  Grotius ;  and  Alexander  Macbean,  who  assisted  Dr.  Johnson  in  his  Dictionary. 

In  the  Master's  Lodge  are  several  excellent  portraits :  the  Founder,  engraved  by 
Vertue;  Isaac  Walton's  good  old  Bishop  Morley;  Charles  II.;  Villiers,  Duke  of 
Buckingham ;  the  Duke  of  Monmouth ;  Lord  Chancellor  Shaftesbury ;  William,  Earl 
of  Craven ;  Archbishop  Sheldon ;  Lord  Chancellor  Somers ;  and  one  of  Kneller's  finest 
works,  the  portrait  of  Dr.  Thomas  Burnet. 

■  Dr.  Burnet,  elected  Master  in  1665,  died  here  in  1715,  and  was  buried  in  the  chapel  of  the  institution. 
Soon  after  Burnet's  election,  James  II.  addressed  a  letter  to  the  Governors,  ordering  them  to  admit  one 
Andrew  Popham  as  pensioner  into  the  Hospital  upon  the  first  vacancy,  without  tendering  to  him  any 
oath,  or  requiring  of  him  any  subscription  or  recognition  in  conformity  with  Church  of  England  doc- 
trine, the  King  dispensing  with  any  statute  or  order  of  the  Hospital  to  the  contrary.  Burnet,  as  junior 
Governor,  was  called  upon  to  vote  first,  when  he  maintained  that  by  express  Act  of  Parliament,  3  Car.  I., 
no  officer  could  be  admitted  into  that  Hospital  without  taking  the  oaths  of  allegiance  and  supremacy. 
An  attempt  was  made,  but  without  effect,  to  overrule  this  opinion.  The  Duke  of  Ormond  supported 
Burnet,  and  on  the  vote  being  put,  Popham  was  rejected :  and  notwithstanding  the  threats  of  the  King 
and  the  Popish  Party,  no  member  of  the  communion  was  ever  admitted  into  the  Charterhouse." 

The  history  of  this  noble  foundation  has  been  written  by  Bearcroft,  Hearne,  and 
Smythe;  and  in  1847  appeared  Chronicles  of  Charterhouse,  by  a  Carthusian,  a 
clever  work,  with  illustrations.     Charterhouse  is  also  well  described  in  Staunton's 


CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


Great  Schools  of  England,  1865,  where  are  thus  sketched  the  saturnalia  of  the  "  fags," 
now  abolished : — 

"  In  former  times  there  was  a  curious  custom  of  the  School  termed  '  pulling-in,'  by  which  the  lower 
boys  manifested  their  opinion  of  the  seniors  in  a  rough  but  very  intelligible  fashion.  One  day  in  the 
year  the  fags,  like  the  slaves  in  Rome,  had  freedom,  and  held  a  kind  of  saturnalia.  On  this  privileged 
occasion  they  used  to  seize  the  upper  boys  one  by  one  and  drag  them  from  the  playground  into  the 
Schoolroom,  and  accordingly  as  the  victim  was  popular  or  the  reverse  he  was  either  cheered  and  mildly 
treated,  or  was  hooted,  groaned  at,  and  sometimes  soundly  cufted.  The  day  selected  was  Good  Friday ; 
and,  although  the  practice  was  nominally  forbidden,  the  officials  for  many  years  took  no  measures  to 
prevent  it.  One  ill-omened  day,  however,  when  the  sport  was  at  the  best,  '  the  Doctor '  was  espied 
approaching  the  scene  of  battle.  A  general  se  sauve  qui  pent  ensued ;  and  in  the  hurry  of  flight  a  meek 
and  quiet  lad  (the  Hon.  Mr.  Howard),  who  happened  to  be  seated  on  some  steps,  was  crushed  so  dread- 
fully that,  to  the  grief  of  the  whole  school,  he  shortly  after  died.  '  Pulling-in '  was  thenceforth  sternly 
interdicted." 

In  the  head  monitor's  room  is  preserved  the  iron  bedstead  on  which  died  W.  M. 
Thackeray ;  and  in  the  chapel  are  memorial  tablets  to  Thackeray  and  Leech,  erected 
by  fellow  Carthusians. 

CHEAPSIDE, 

THE  street  extending  from  the  Poultry  and  Bucklersbury  to  St.  Paul's  and  New- 
gate-street, was,  some  three  centuries  ago,  worthily  called  "  the  Beauty  of  London  ;" 
and  was  famed  for  its  "  noted  store "  of  goldsmiths,  linendrapers,  haberdashers,  &c. 
It  is  named  from  the  Saxon  word  Chepe,  or  market :  the  name,  therefore,  is  the 
Market-side. 

"In  1269,  the  pillory  that  stood  in  Chepe  was  broken  through  the  negligence  of  the  Bailiffs,  and  for 
a  long  time  unrepaired ;  wherefore,  in  the  meantime  no  punishment  was  inflicted  upon  the  bakers, 
who  made  their  loaves  just  as  they  desired,  so  much  so  that  each  of  their  loaves  was  deficient  in  one- 
third  of  the  weight  that  it  ought  to  weigh ;  and  this  lasted  for  a  whole  year  and  mote." — Chronicle  of  the 
Mayors  and  Sheriffs,  p.  127. 

In  1331  the  south  side  only  was  built  upon,  and  the  north  side  was  an  open  field, 
where  jousts,  tournaments,  or  ridings,  were  often  held.  By  this  road  passed  many  a 
royal  pageant ;  as  when,  in  the  reign  of  Edward  I.,  Queen  Margaret  came  from  the 
Tower,  "there  were  two  bretassches  (wooden  towers)  in  the  road  of  Chepe,  from 
which  there  were  eight  outlets  discharging  wine  from  above ;  the  road  was  covered 
with  cloths-of-gold  against  her  first  coming."  The  Chepe  was  also  the  scene  of  many 
tragical  deaths ;  as  when,  in  the  reign  of  Edward  II.,  Stapleton,  Bishop  of  Exeter, 
who  had  been  proclained  a  traitor,  was  met  near  Saint  Paul's  Church,  dragged  from 
his  horse  and  carried  into  Chepe,  and  there  he  was  despoiled,  and  his  head  cut  off; 
and  one  of  his  esquires,  and  his  warden,  were  beheaded  the  same  day  in  Chepe. 

Stow  describes  one  of  the  joustings  held  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  Sept.  21, 
1331 ;  when,  "the  stone  pavement  being  covered  with  sand,  that  the  horses  might  not 
slide  when  they  strongly  set  their  feet  to  the  ground,  the  King  held  a  tournament 
three  days  together,  with  the  nobility,  valiant  men  of  the  realm,  and  other  strange 
knights.  And  to  the  end  the  beholders  might  with  the  better  ease  see  the  same,  there 
was  a  wooden  scaffold  erected  across  the  street,  like  unto  a  tower,  wherein  the  Queen 
Philippa,  and  many  other  ladies,  richly  attired,  and  assembled  from  all  parts  of  the 
realm,  did  stand  to  behold  the  jousts."  This  frame  brake  down;  after  which  the 
King  had  a  stone  shed  built  "  for  himself,  the  queen,  and  other  estates,  to  stand  on, 
and  there  to  behold  the  joustings  and  other  shows,  at  their  pleasure,  by  the  Church  of 
St.  Mary  Bow."  This  shed,  or  "  seldam,"  was  similarly  used  in  after  reigns,  especially 
to  behold  the  Great  Watches  on  the  eve  of  St.  John  Baptist  and  St.  Peter  at  Mid- 
summer. In  1510,  on  St.  John's  Eve,  King  Henry  VIII.  came  to  this  place,  then 
called  the  King's  Head  in  Chepe,  in  the  livery  of  a  yeoman  of  the  guard,  with  an 
halbert  on  his  shoulder,  and  there  beholding  the  watch,  departed  privily  when  the 
watch  was  done ;  "  but  on  St.  Peter's  night  next  following,  he  and  the  Queen  came 
royally  riding  to  the  said  place,  and  there  with  their  nobles  beheld  the  Watch  of  the  City, 
and  returned  in  the  morning."  When  Bow  Church  was  rebuilt,  Wren  provided,  in  place 
of  the  shed  or  sild,  a  balcony  in  the  tower,  immediately  over  the  principal  entrance 
in  Cheapside ;  and  though  the  age  of  tournaments  had  passed  away,  the  Lord  Mayor's 
pageants  were  long  viewed  from  this  balcony. 

Opposite  Bow  Church  was  taken  down,  in  1861,  No.  108,  the  house  built  by  Sir 


CHELSEA.  89 

Edward  Waldo,  after  the  Great  Fire,  and  subsequently  leased  to  David  Barclay, 
linendraper ;  which  house  was  visited  by  six  reigning  sovereigns,  from  Charles  II.  to 
George  III.,  on  civic  festivities,  and  for  witnessing  the  Lord  Mayor's  Show ;  in 
this  house  Sir  Edward  Waldo  was  knighted  by  Charles  II. ;  and  the  Lord  Mayor,  in 
1714,  was  created  a  baronet  by  George  I.  When  the  house  was  taken  down  in  1861, 
the  fine  old  oak-panelled  dining-room,  with  its  elaborate  carvings,  was  purchased 
entire,  and  removed  to  Gunrog,  near  Welshpool,  Montgomeryshire,  whose  proprietor, 
Mr.  M.  C.  Jones,  has  written  a  description  (privately  printed)  of  the  panelling,  the 
royal  visits,  the  Barclay  family,  &c.     (See  Caevings,  p.  80.) 

Cheapside  Cross,  which  stood  facing  Wood-street,  was  the  most  magnificent  (except 
that  of  Charing)  of  the  crosses  built  by  Edward  I.  to  his  Queen  Eleanor,  and  was  (Mr. 
Hudson  Turner  states)  the  work  of  Alexander  of  Abingdon.  It  was  "  re-edified"  by 
John  Hatberly,  Mayor,  by  license  procured  in  1441  of  Henry  VI.  ;  it  was  regilt  in 
1522,  for  the  visit  of  the  Emperor  Charles  V. ;  and  in  1533  for  the  coronation  of 
Henry  VIII.  and  Anne  Boleyn ;  newly  burnished  at  the  coronation  of  Edward  VI.; 
and  again  newly  gilt,  1554,  against  the  arrival  of  King  Philip.  After  this  the  Cross 
was  presented  by  juries  as  standing  "  in  the  highway  to  the  let  of  carriages ;"  but 
they  could  not  get  it  removed ;  and  it  was  by  turns  defaced  and  repaired,  and  its 
images  stolen  and  replaced,  until  May  2,  1643,  when  it  was  demolished  to  the  "  noyse 
of  trumpets,"  the  workmen  being  protected  by  soldiery. 

Nearly  opposite  Honey-lane  was  the  Standard,  the  place  of  execution ;  and  between 
Bucklersbury  and  the  Poultry  stood  Westcheap,  or  the  Great  Conduit,  which  brought 
the  first  supply  of  sweet  water  to  London,  from  Paddington;  facing  Foster-lane 
stood  the  Little  Conduit.  Westward  of  the  site  of  the  Great  Conduit,  on  the  north 
side,  is  Mercers'  Hall  and  chapel,  rebuilt  after  the  Great  Fire  of  1666;  the  original 
chapel  being  an  hospital  purchased  at  the  Dissolution  by  means  of  Sir  Richard  Gresham. 
Westward,  next  No.  142,  is  Saddlers'  Hall ;  the  old  street  front  has  been  taken  down, 
and  replaced  by  an  elegant  stone  facade. 

The  handsome  stone-fronted  house,  No.  73,  built  by  Sir  C.  Wren,  was,  before  the 
erection  of  the  Mansion  House  (1737),  sometimes  tenanted  by  the  Lord  Mayor,  during 
his  year  of  office :  here  Mr.  Tegg,  the  publisher,  amassed  a  large  fortune ;  he  restored 
the  house  front,  which  has  since  been  considerably  altered.  Nearly  opposite,  between 
Ironmonger-lane  and  King-street,  is  the  Atlas  Insurance  Office,  with  three  enriched 
fronts,  granite  basement,  and  stone  superstructure  :  built  in  1839. 

The  house-front,  No.  39,  has  the  sign-stone  of  the  noted  Nag's  Head  tavern,  which 
stood  at  the  east  end  of  Friday-street. 

CHELSEA, 

A  LARGE  and  populous  parish  upon  the  north  bank  of  the  Thames:  it  was  a 
village  of  three  hundred  houses  in  the  last  century,  but  now  extends  from  beyond 
Battersea  or  Chelsea  Bridge  almost  to  Hyde  Park  Corner.  It  lies  about  fifteen  feet 
above  the  river ;  and,  according  to  Norden,  is  named  from  its  strand,  "  like  the  chesel 
(ceosel  or  cesel)  which  the  sea  casteth  up  of  sand  and  pebble-stones,  thereof  called 
Cheselsey,  briefly  Chelsey,  as  is  Chelsey  (Selsey)  in  Sussex."  In  a  Saxon  charter,  how- 
ever, it  is  written  Cealchylle ;  in  Domesday,  Cerechede  and  Chalced ;  and  Sir  Thomas 
More  wrote  it  Chelehith,  though  it  began  to  be  written  Chelsey  in  the  sixteenth 
century.  The  Rev.  J.  Blunt  derives  the  name  from  Cealc,  chalk,  and  Hyd,  or  Hythe, 
a  harbour,  adding  that  this  Hythe  was  used  for  landing  chalk,  and  so  had  given  a 
name  to  the  place.  It  was  at  Chelsea  that  two  important  councils  were  held  under 
OfFa,  King  of  Mercia.  Among  the  possessors  of  the  manor  were  Sir  Reginald  Bray 
(temp.  Henry  VII.) ;  it  was  given  by  Henry  VIII.  to  Katherine  Parr  as  a  portion  of 
her  marriage  settlement ;  here  she  lived  with  her  second  husband,  Thomas  Seymour, 
the  Lord  Admiral,  afterwards  beheaded ;  and  here,  in  the  same  house  with  them,  lived 
Queen  Elizabeth,  when  a  girl  of  thirteen.  The  manor  was  bought  of  Lord  Cheyne  by 
Sir  Hans  Sloane  in  1712,  from  whom  it  passed  by  marriage  and  bequest  to  Baron 
Cadogan  of  Oakley,  in  whose  family  the  property  remains  :  hence  the  names  of  Cheyne 
Walk,  Cadogan  and  Hans  Places,  and  Sloane  and  Oakley  Streets. 


cb 


90  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

At  Chelsea  lived  Sir  Thomas  More,  in  a  mansion  at  the  north  end  of  Beaufort-row,  with  gardens 
extending  to  the  Thames.  Here  More  was  visited  by  Henry  VIII.,  who,  "  after  dinner,  in  a  fair  garden 
of  his,  walked  with  him  by  the  space  of  an  hour,  holding  his  arm  about  his  neck  ;"  and  used  to  ascend 
with  him  to  the  house-top  to  observe  the  stars  and  discourse  of  astronomy.  A  more  illustrious  visitor 
was  Erasmus,  who  describes  the  house  as  "  a  practical  school  of  the  Christian  religion."  Holbein  worked 
here  for  near  three  years,  upon  portraits  of  the  Chancellor,  his  relations,  and  friends.  More  also  hired 
a  house  for  aged  people  in  Chelsea,  whom  he  daily  relieved.  His  own  establishment  was  large :  Erasmus 
says,  "  there  he  converseth  with  his  wife,  his  son,  his  daughters-in-law,  his  three  granddaughters  with 
their  husbands,  with  eleven  great-grandchildren."  More  resigned  the  Great  Seal  in  1533,  and  retired 
to  Chelsea  for  study  and  devotion;  but  dismissed  his  retinue,  and  gave  his  barge  to  his  successor  in  the 
Chancellorship.    More's  mansion  was  purchased  by  Sir  Hans  Sloane,  and  taken  down  in  1740. 

Sloane  dwelt  in  the  New  Manor-House,  nearly  opposite  the  site  of  the  present  Pier. 
The  grounds  of  More's  house  were  extensive,  and  the  porter's  lodge  hecame  the  Clock- 
house  and  Herb-distillery,  in  the  King's-road. 

After  the  death  of  Katherine  Parr  the  Duke  of  Somerset  obtained  a  grant  of  the  manor  and  palace  of 
Marlborough,  which  had  formed  part  of  the  Queen's  dower.  On  the  attainder  and  death  of  Somerset, 
it  was  granted  by  the  young  King  (Edward  VI.)  to  the  heir  of  Northumberland,  and  after  his  attainder 
and  death,  to  John  Caryll,  who  sold  it  to  James  Basset;  yet,  in  the  Herald's  order  for  the  funeral  of 
Anne  of  Cleves,  who  died  at  Chelsea,  July,  1557,  the  manor  is  described  as  Crown  property.  Elizabeth, 
in  the  second  year  of  her  reign,  granted  it  to  the  widowed  Duchess  of  Somerset,  who  lived  there.  The 
Lords  Cheyne  then  became  Lords  of  the  Manor,  whence  the  ground  on  which  stood  the  Queen's  palace 
and  the  palace  of  the  Bishop  of  Winchester,  from  Morley  in  1633  to  North  in  1820.  Further  west, 
near  the  river  side,  was  the  Chelsea  China  Manufactory. 

Lady  Llanover,  in  her  piquant  notes  to  the  Autobiography,  <^c.  of  Mrs.  Delany,  thus  notices 
Blacklands  in  the  Marlborough-road,  Chelsea,  formerly  called  Blacklands-lane.  "  Bowiick,  in  his  Anti- 
quities of  Middlesex  (1700),  says : — William  Lord  Cheyne,  Viscount  Newhaven  in  Scotland,  has  two 
good  seats  in  Chelsea.  The  first  is  the  mansion-house,  where  Queen  Elizabeth  was  nursed,  east  end 
of  the  town,  near  the  Thames.  The  other  some  distance  north  of  the  town,  called  Blacklands 
House,  both  (1705)  let  to  French  boarding-schools."  It  adjoins  the  old  manor-house  at  Chelsea, 
which  forms  part  of  the  premises  of  Messrs.  Scott  and  Cuthbertson  (paper  manufacturers),  called 
AVhitelands.  Blacklands  has  still  a  good  garden  and  old  iron  gates ;  and  the  centre  of  the  house  is 
evidently  part  of  the  original  structure. 

The  beautiful  Duchess  of  Mazarin  (niece  of  tbe  Cardinal)  died  in  difficulties,  in  1699, 
in  a  small  house  which  she  rented  of  Lord  Cheyne.  Lysons  had  heard  that  it  was 
usual  for  the  nobility  and  others  who  dined  at  her  house  to  leave  money  under  their 
plates  to  pay  for  their  entertainment ;  she  appears  to  have  been  in  arrears  for  the 
parish-rates,  during  the  whole  time  of  her  residence  at  Chelsea. 

Here  too  was  Lindsey  House,  the  residence  of  the  Berties,  Earls  of  Lindsey,  now 
the  site  of  Lindsey-row ;  Danvers  House,  where  lived  Sir  John  Danvers,  the  site  is  now 
Danvers-street.  Here  were  also  Essex  House,  and  Shrewsbury  or  Alstone  House  j  Lau- 
rence-street is  named  from  Sir  John  Laurence  (temp.  Charles  I.)  and  his  descendants. 

In  Chcyne-walk  was  the  Museum  and  Coffee-house  of  Don  Saltero,  renowned  in  the 
swimming  exploits  of  Dr.  Franklin.  The  landlord,  James  Salter,  was  a  noted  barber, 
who  made  a  collection  of  natural  curiosities  which  acquired  him  the  name  (probably 
first  given  him  by  Steele)  of  Don  Saltero.  (See  Tatter,  Nos.  34, 195,  and  226.)  The 
tavern  was  taken  down  in  1866,  but  the  Museum  was  dispersed  about  1807.  In  a 
large  meanly-furnished  house  in  Cheyne-walk,  died  August  30,  1852,  John  Camden 
Ncild,  who  bequeathed  500,000Z.  to  Queen  Victoria.  The  old  Chelsea  Bun-house  pos- 
sessed a  sort  of  rival  Museum  to  Don  Saltero's.  It  was  taken  down  in  1839.  Eastward 
is  the  Royal  Hospital;  and  on  part  of  its  garden  was  the  gay  Ranelagh,  from  1740 
to  1815.  Here,  too,  are  the  Apothecaries'  Company's  Gardens ;  one  of  the  fine  old 
cedar  trees  was  blown  down  in  1854.  Nearly  opposite  was  the  Red  House  at  Battersea, 
fifty  yards  west  of  which  Caesar  is  believed  by  some  antiquaries  to  have  forded  the  Thames. 

Chelsea  has  two  churches  dedicated  to  St.  Luke.  The  old  river-side  church  was 
built  in  the  sixteenth  and  seventeenth  centuries,  and  has  an  eastern  chapel  added  by 
Sir  Thomas  More.  In  the  chancel  is  a  black  marble  tablet  to  More,  placed  there  by 
himself  in  1532,  three  years  before  his  death :  it  was  restored  by  Sir  John  Lawrence 
about  1644,  and  by  subscription  in  1833  :  the  inscription,  in  Latin,  is  by  More.  Here 
are  also  memorials  of  Jane,  wife  of  the  ambitious  John  Dudley,  Duke  of  North- 
umberland ;  and  of  Lady  Jane  Cheyne,  by  Bernini.  In  the  churchyard  is  the  tomb  of 
Sir  Hans  Sloane,  egg-shaped  and  entwined  with  serpents ;  also  monuments  to  Philip 
Miller,  the  writer  on  gardening  j  and  Cipriani  the  painter. 

St.  Luke's  new  church,  between  King's-road  and  Fulhain -road,  was  built  by  Savage, 
in  1820,  in  the  style  of  the  fourteenth  and  fifteenth  centuries,  and  has  a  pinnacled 
tower  142  feet  high. 


CHELSEA  BUNS.  91 


Above  Battersea  Bridge  was  Cremorne  House,  formerly  the  elegant  villa   of  Lord 
Cremorne,  who  had  here  a  fine  collection  of  Italian  and  Flemish  pictures;  adjoining  was 
the  residence  of  Dr.  Benjamin  Hoadly  (son  of  the  bishop),  the  author  of  The  Suspicious    ^ '  9 
Husband.     Cremorne  has  been  converted  into  a  place  of  public  entertainment,  for 
which  the  grounds  are  well  adapted. 

Chelsea  was  once  a  place  of  courtly  resort :  many  of  the  nobility,  as  well  as  scholars 
and  philosophers,  resided  here ;  and  its  noted  taverns  and  public  gardens  were  much 
frequented  in  the  17th  and  18th  centuries.  The  principal  features  now  are  its  palace- 
Hospital  for  soldiers,  its  Botanic  Gardens,  its  Dutch-like  river  terrace  (Cheyne-walk), 
mostly  brick-built,  and  fronted  by  lofty  trees ;  and  its  olden  church,  with  a  brick  tower. 

In  a  river-side  cottage,  beyond  the  church,  upon  the  road  to  Cremorne  Gardens,  J.  M.  W.  Turner, 
the  great  landscape-painter,  ended  his  days,  having  shut  up  his  house  in  Queen  Anne-street.  His 
fondness  for  Thames  scenery  was  great:  he  fell  sick  at  Chelsea,  at  the  close  of  1851,  but  was  daily 
wheeled  in  a  chair  to  the  window  of  his  room,  that  he  might  look  on  the  calm  December  sunshine,  the 
river,  and  its  craft.  From  a  sort  of  gallery  upon  the  house-top  the  great  painter  enjoyed  the  river 
traffic,  and  watched  those  beautiful  atmospheric  changes  which  Turner  could  so  ably  transfer  to 
canvas.  Here,  in  these  cheap  Chelsea  lodgings,  Turner,  under  the  assumed  name  of  "  Admiral  Booth,"  \  $, 
went  to  his  rest,  on  the  19th  of  December,  1851.  * 

In  the  hamlet  of  Little  Chelsea  lived  Bulstrode  Whitelock  ;  Mr.  Pym,  member  of 
the  Long  Parliament ;  Bishop  Fowler,  Sir  Richard  Steele,  Addison,  and  John  Locke ; 
Lord  Shaftesbury,  author  of  the  Characteristics,  in  the  house  now  St.  George's 
additional  workhouse  ;  and  here  Tobias  Smollett  retired  after  his  failure  in  practice  at 
Bath.  Dean  Swift  bad  lodgings  "  a  little  beyond  the  church ;"  and  Sir  Bobert  Wal- 
pole  had  a  house  adjoining  Gough  House ;  hence,  Walpole-street. 

The  Five  Fields,  Chelsea,  are  commemorated  by  Steele  in  the  Tatler ;  and  at  the 
Willow  Walk,  Jerry  Abershaw  (that  other  Johnny  Armstrong)  had  his  secluded 
house,  in  the  midst  of  "  cuts,"  or  reservoirs  of  water.  In  the  King's-road,  on  the 
spot  where  is  now  the  West  London  Literary  and  Scientific  Institution,  the  Earl 
of  Peterborough  was  stopped  by  highwaymen,  in  what  was  then  a  narrow  lane ;  and 
the  robbers,  being  watched  by  the  soldiers  on  guard  at  the  gate  of  the  Chelsea  College, 
were  fired  at  from  behind  the  hedge.  One  of  the  highwaymen  was  a  student  in  the 
Temple,  named  Brown,  whom  Mr.  Vernon,  the  Secretary  of  State,  in  a  letter  to  the 
Duke  of  Shrewsbury,  says,  "  a  friend  of  his  (Sir  John  Talbot)  knew  well ;  and 
his  father,  losing  his  estate,  Mr.  Brown  lived  by  play,  sharping,  and  a  little  on  the 
highway." 

Numerous  signs  at  Chelsea  have  military  associations :  as  "  The  Snow  Shoes," 
a  recollection  of  Wolfe's  glorious  campaign;  "The  General  Elliot ;"  and  " The  Duke 
of  York;"  and  "Nell  Gywnne"  from  association  with  Chelsea  Hospital. 

Chelsea  Water-works  were  originally  constructed  in  1724 ;  a  print  of  the  Works  was 
published  by  Boydell,  in  the  year  1756. 

CHELSEA  BUNS. 

CHELSEA  has  been  famed  for  its  Buns  since  the  commencement  of  the  last  century. 
Swift,  in  his  Journal  to  Stella,  1712,  writes  : — "  Pray  are  not  the  fine  buns  sold 
here  in  our  town,  as  the  rare  Chelsea  buns  ?  I  bought  one  to-day  in  my  walk,"  &c. 
They  were  made  and  sold  at  "  the  Old  Original  Chelsea  Bun-house,"  in  Jews'-row,  a 
one-storied  building,  with  a  colonnade  projecting  over  the  foot-pavement.  It  was 
customary  for  the  Royal  Family  and  the  nobility  and  gentry  to  visit  the  Bun-house  in 
the  morning.  George  II.,  Queen  Caroline,  and  the  Princesses  frequently  honoured  the 
proprietor,  Richard  Hand,  with  their  company ;  as  did  also  George  III.  and  Queen 
Charlotte;  her  Majesty  presented  Mrs.  Hand  with  a  silver  half-gallon  mug,  and  five 
guineas  in  it.  On  Good  Friday  morning  upwards  of  50,000  persons  were  assembled 
here,  when  disturbances  often  arose  among  the  London  mob ;  in  one  day  more 
than  250/.  have  been  taken  for  buns.  The  Bun-house  was  also  much  frequented  by 
visitors  to  Ranelagh,  after  the  closing  of  which  the  bun-trade  declined.  Notwith- 
standing, on  Good  Friday,  April  18,  1839,  upwards  of  240,000  buns  were  sold  here. 
Soon  after,  the  Bun-house  was  sold  and  pulled  down ;  and  at  the  same  time  was  dis- 
persed a  collection  of  pictures,  models,  grotesque  figures,  and  modern  antiques,  which 
had  for  a  century  added  the  attractions  of  a  museum  to  the  bun  celebrity.     Another 


92  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

bun-house  was  built ;  but  the  olden  charm  of  the  place  had  fled.  In  the  Mirror 
for  April  6,  1839,  are  two  views  of  the  old  Bun- house,  sketched  just  before  its 
demolition.     Here  is  a  glance  at  the  sale  of  the  curiosities  : 

There  were  two  leaden  figures  of  Grenadiers,  about  three  feet  high,  in  the  dress  of  1745,  presenting 
arms,  which  sold  for  U.  10*.  An  equestrian  plaster  figure  of  William  Duke  of  Cumberland,  with  other 
plaster  casts,  21.  2*.  A  whole  length  painting  of  "  Aurengzebe,  Emperor  of  Persia,"  41.  is.  A  large 
old  painting,  an  interior,  with  the  King  and  Queen  seated,  and  perhaps  the  baker,  &c,  21.  10*.  A 
model  of  the  Bun-house,  with  painted  masquerade  figures  on  two  circles,  turned  round  by  a  bird 
whilst  on  its  perch  in  a  cage  at  the  back  of  the  model,  19*.  A  large  model  in  cut  paper,  called  St. 
Mary  Ratcliff  Church,  sold  with  its  glazed  case  for  21.  2s.  A  framed  picture,  worked  by  a  string,  re- 
called the  exploits  of  the  Bottle  Conjuror.  After  the  death  of  Mrs.  Hand  the  business  was  carried 
on  by  her  son,  an  eccentric  character,  who  dealt  also  largely  in  butter,  which  he  carried  round  to 
his  customers  in  a  basket  on  his  head.  Upon  his  death  his  elder  brother  came  into  possession ; 
he  had  been  an  officer  in  the  Stafford  Militia,  was  one  of  the  Poor  Knights  of  Windsor,  and  not  much 
less  eccentric  than  his  brother.  It  is  not  known  that  he  left  any  relations,  and  his  property,  it  is  said, 
reverted  to  the  Crown. 

There  is  a  folio-print,  engraved  in  the  reign  of  George  II.;  under  it,  "A  perspective  View  of  David 
Loudon's  (probably  the  owner  before  Hand)  Bunn  House  at  Chelsey,  who  has  the  honour  to  serve 
the  Royal  Family.  52  by  21  ft."  Over  the  print,  in  the  centre,  is  the  Royal  Arms.  On  each  side 
stands  a  grenadier,  three  figures  of  Freemasons,  with  Masonic  emblems ;  and  on  the  left  hand  is  a  coat 
of  arms.  These  arms  are  reversed,  as  if  copied  on  the  copper  immediately  from  a  piece  of  silver  plate. 
Below  them  is  a  motto  (not  reversed),  "For  God,  my  King,  and  Country."  It  is  not  impossible  that 
these  were  the  arms  of  some  respectable  family,  whose  servant  David  Loudon  had  been. 

)4a         Chelsea  Bun-house  has  given  name  to  one  of  Miss  Manning's  clever  novels,  pub- 
lished in  1854. 

CHELSEA  HOSPITAL 

OCCUPIES  the  site  of  "  Chelsea  College,"  commenced  by  Dr.  Sutcliffe,  Dean  of 
'  Exeter,  in  the  reign  of  James  I.,  but  only  in  part  built.  Its  object  was  to  main- 
tain fellows  in  holy  orders,  "  to  answer  all  the  adversaries  of  religion,"  and  others  to 
write  the  history  of  their  own  times.  It  was  nicknamed  "  Controversy  College  "  by 
Archbishop  Laud ;  the  whole  scheme  and  its  originator  were  mercilessly  ridiculed  by 
the  wits  of  the  day,  and  thus  failed.  It  was  given  by  Charles  II.  to  the  then  newly- 
established  Royal  Society,  who,  in  1681-82,  sold  the  property  to  Sir  Stephen  Fox  for 
1300Z.,  as  a  site  for  a  Royal  Hospital  for  aged  and  disabled  soldiers,  the  building  of 
which  has  been  attributed  to  the  influence  of  Nell  Gwynne,  which  tradition  is  kept 
in  countenance  by  the  head  of  Nell  Gwynne  having  been  for  very  many  years  the 
sign  of  a  public-house  in  Grosvenor-row,  Pimlico.  But  more  than  one  entry  in 
Evelyn's  Diary  proves,  that  Sir  Stephen  Fox  "  had  not  only  the  whole  managing  "  of  the 
plan,  but  was  himself  "  a  grand  benefactor  "  to  it.  He  was  mainly  advised  by  Evelyn, 
who  arranged  the  offices,  "would  needes  have  a  library,  and  mentioned  several 
bookes."     Here  are  a  few  other  evidences : 

The  idea,  it  is  said,  originated  with  Nelly,  and  I  see  no  reason  to  doubt  the  tradition,  supported,  as 
it  is,  by  the  known  benevolence  of  her  character,  her  sympathy  with  the  suffering,  and  the  (act  that 
sixty  years  ago  at  least  Nelly's  share  in  its  foundation  was  recorded  beneath  her  portrait  serving  as 
the  sign  of  a  public-house  adjoining  the  Hospital.  (Lysons.)  The  sign  remains,  but  not  the  inscrip- 
tion ;  yet  the  tradition  is  still  rife  in  Chelsea,  and  is  not  soon  likely  to  die  out.  Ormonds,  and  Granbys, 
and  Admiral  Vernons  disappear,  but  Nelly  remains,  and  long  may  she  swing  with  her  favourite  lamb 
in  the  row  or  street  commemorated  for  ever  in  the  Chelsea  Pensioners  of  Wilkie — ( Peter  Cunningham's 
Story  of  Nell  Gwynne,  1852,  p.  146.)  Nell's  residence  at  Sandy  End  is  doubted;  but  it  is  certain  that 
her  mother  lived  near  the  Neate  House,  in  Pimlico.  In  the  records  of  Knightsbridge  Chapel, 
Jan.  13,  1667,  is  the  marriage  of  Robert  Hand  and  Mary  Gwin,  thus  connecting  Nelly's  family  with  the 
Chelsea  Bun-house. 

Sir  Christopher  Wren  was  appointed  architect  of  the  Hospital ;  and  the  foundation 
stone  was  laid,  Feb.  16,  1682,  by  Charles  II.,  who  promised  to  provide  the  funds,  and 
was  assisted  by  public  subscription.  The  progress  of  the  building  is  recorded  hi  this 
inscription  on  the  southern  front : — 

"  In  subsidium  et  levamen  emeritorum  venio,  belloque  fraetorum,  condidit  Carolus  Secundus,  auxil. 
Jacobus  Secundus,  perfecere  Gulielmus  et  Maria,  Bex  et  Regina,  mdcxc." 

The  building,  which  cost  150,000Z.,  is  of  red  brick,  with  stone  quoins,  cornices,  pedi- 
ments, and  columns,  and  is  remarkable  for  its  harmonious  proportions.  It  consists  of 
three  courts,  two  of  which  are  spacious  quadrangles ;  the  third,  the  central  one,  is 
open  on  the  south  side,  next  the  Thames  ;  and  in  the  area  is  a  statue  of  Charles  II., 
in  Roman  imperial  armour,  sculptured  by  Gibbons,  for  Tobias  Rustat.  In  the  eastern 
and  western  wings  of  this  court  are  the  wards  of  the  Pensioners.     At  the  extremity  of 


CHELSEA  HOSPITAL.  93 

the  eastern  wing  is  the  Governor's  house,  with  a  state  apartment ;  and  portraits  of 
Charles  I.,  his  queen,  and  two  sons — Charles,  Prince  of  Wales,  and  James,  Duke  of 
York;  Charles  II.,  William  III.,  and  George  III.  and  Queen  Charlotte.  The  north 
front  is  of  great  extent,  and  faced  by  avenues  of  limes  and  horse-chestnuts.  In  the 
centre  is  a  tetrastyle  Roman-Doric  portico,  surmounted  by  a  handsome  lofty  clock- 
turret  in  the  roof. 

Beneath  are  the  principal  entrances.  To  the  right  is  the  chapel,  the  furniture  and 
plate  of  which  were  given  by  James  II.,  and  the  organ  by  Major  Ingram;  the  altar- 
piece  has  a  painting  of  the  Ascension,  by  Sebastian  Ricci.  In  the  left  wing  is  the  Hall, 
wherein  the  Pensioners  dine :  here  is  an  equestrian  portrait  of  Charles  II.,  by  Verrio 
and  H.  Cooke  ;  and  an  allegorical  picture  of  the  victories  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington, 
by  James  Ward,  R.A.  Both  the  Hall  and  Chapel  are  paved  with  black  and  white 
marble :  in  each  are  suspended  colours  captured  by  the  British  army ;  in  the  chapel 
are  thirteen  eagles  taken  from  Napoleon  I. :  and  in  the  Hall  fragments  of  the  standards 
captured  at  Blenheim ;  in  addition  are  dragon  Chinese  banners,  and  the  trophies  of 
the  Sikh  campaign  of  1840. 

In  the  Hall  the  remains  of  the  gTeat  Duke  of  Wellington  lay  in  state,  Nov.  11-17, 1852.  The  Vesti- 
bule, Hall,  and  Chapel  were  hung  with  black  drapery.  On  a  dais  in  the  Hall,  upon  a  cloth-of-gold 
carpet,  and  black  velvet  bier,  was  placed  the  coffin,  crimson  and  gold ;  above  the  bier  were  sus- 
pended stars  and  orders,  "  in  numbers  and  importance  far  surpassing  anything  of  the  kind  ever 
possessed  by  a  single  individual."  The  whole  bier  was  surrounded  with  a  silver  balustrade  adorned 
with  heraldic  devices,  and  the  Marshal's  eight  batons,  and  the  Duke's  standard  and  guidon ;  and 
attached  to  all,  gold  lion  supporters,  two  feet  high,  bearing  shields  and  banners.  At  the  back  of 
the  bier  was  her  Majesty's  escutcheon,  surrounded  by  the  Wellington  bannerols,  upon  a  cloth-of- 
gold  hanging,  surmounted  by  a  magnificent  canopy,  with  a  plume  of  feathers — the  curtains  being:  of 
black  velvet,  with  linings,  cornice,  and  fringes  of  silver,  and  draped  in  graceful  festoons.  The  Hail 
was  lighted  with  wax-tapers,  and  the  dais  with  twelve  magnificent  silver  candelabra,  each  with  five 
wax-lights ;  here  were  also  ten  columns  of  spears,  feathers,  laurel,  and  escutcheons,  lighted  by  gas. 
Along  the  side  walls  stood  picked  soldiers  of  the  Grenadier  Guards,  their  arms  reversed ;  around 
the  catafalque,  Yeomen  of  the  Guard,  and  seated  mourners;  and  the  chair  of  the  chief  mourner 
concealed  at  the  head  of  the  coffin.  The  whole  was  designed  by  Mr.  Cockerell,  the  architect.  Two 
persons  died,  and  several  were  seriously  hurt  by  the  pressure  of  the  vast  crowd  of  spectators. 

The  old  soldiers  receive  pensions  from  funds  voted  by  Parliament :  in  1850  there 
were  nearly  70,000  out- pensioners,  who  received  6d.,9d.,  and  Is.  per  diem ;  there  were  539 
in-pensioners,  who  were  well  clothed  and  fed  in  the  Hospital,  and  were  allowed  Id.  a  day 
for  tobacco,  which  is  called  "  her  Majesty's  bounty."  They  wear  long  scarlet  coats, 
lined  with  blue,  and  the  original  three-cornered  cocked  hats  of  the  last  century :  undress, 
a  foraging  cap,  inscribed  R.H.  Their  ages  vary  from  60  to  90  years,  and  two  veterans 
had  in  1850  attained  the  age  of  104.  The  annual  rate  of  mortality  among  the  Pen- 
sioners is  27  per  cent. 

Adjoining  the  Hospital  is  a  burial-ground  for  Pensioners,  wherein  are  the  following 
data: — William  Hisland,  died  1732,  aged  112 — he  married  when  upwards  of  100  years 
old  ;  Thomas  Asbey,  died  1737,  aged  112 ;  Captain  Laurence,  died  1865,  aged  95 ;  Robert 
Comming,  died  1767,  aged  115 ;  Peter  Dowling,  1768,  aged  102;  a  Soldier  who  fought 
at  the  battle  of  the  Boyne,  1772,  aged  111 ;  Peter  Bennet,  of  Tinmouth,  died  1773, 
aged  107. 

In  1739  was  interred  here  Christian  Davis,  abas  Mother  Ross,  who  had  served  in 
campaigns  under  William  III.  and  the  Duke  of  Marlborough,  and  whose  third  husband 
was  a  Pensioner  in  the  Hospital. 

The  Hospital  Gardens  are,  in  a  measure,  open  to  the  public,  but  are  little  frequented. 
The  river  terrace  is  bordered  with  dwarf  limes,  and  there  are  besides  some  tine  shady 
trees.     "  The  Old  Men's  Gardens  "  have  been  cleared  away. 

North  of  the  Hospital  is  the  Royal  Military  Asylum,  for  the  support  and  education 
of  the  children  of  soldiers  and  non-commissioned  officers  :  the  first  stone  of  the  building 
was  laid  by  the  Duke  of  York,  in  1801.  The  Hospital  and  Asylum  may  be  seen 
daily,  from  10  till  4 :  the  boys  parade  on  Fridays. 

Eastward  of  the  Hospital  was  the  famous  Ranelagh,  which  see.     Upon  part  of  the 
site  was  built  a  large  house,  with  a  portion  of  the  materials  of  Ranelagh  :   it  had  a 
large  Queen  Anne  staircase :  this  house  was  taken  down  in  1854,  in  forming  the  road    A  p 
to  the  new  Chelsea  Bridge. 


94,  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


CHELSEA  PORCELAIN. 

THE  earliest  manufactories  of  porcelain  in  England  were  those  at  Bow*  and 
Chelsea,  both  which  have  long  been  extinct.  "  The  Chelsea  ware,  bearing  a  very 
imperfect  similarity  in  body  to  the  Chinese,  admitted  only  of  a  very  fusible  lead  glaze ; 
and  in  the  taste  of  its  patterns,  and  the  style  of  their  execution,  stood  as  low,  perhaps, 
as  any  on  the  list."  (A.  Aikin;  Trans.  Soc.Arts.)  This  character,  however,  applies 
only  to  the  later  productions.  The  period  of  the  greatest  excellence  of  the  Chelsea 
porcelain  was  between  1750  and  1763;  and  there  was  so  much  demand  for  it,  that 
dealers  are  described  as  surrounding  the  doors  of  the  works,  and  purchasing  the  pieces 
at  large  prices,  as  soon  as  they  were  fired. 

Faulkner,  in  his  History  of  Chelsea,  (1829,)  states  :  "  The  Chelsea  China  Manufac- 
tory was  situate  at  the  corner  of  Justice-walk,  and  occupied  the  houses  to  the  upper 
end  of  the  street.  Several  of  the  large  old  houses  were  used  as  show-rooms.  It  lias 
been  discontinued  for  more  than  forty  years,  the  whole  of  the  premises  pulled  down, 
and  new  houses  erected  on  the  site." 

Justice-walk  took  its  name  from  a  magistrate  who  resided  in  the  house  at  the  south 
corner  of  Church-street,  whence  formerly  an  avenue  of  lime-trees  extended  to  Lawrence- 
street  ;  and  in  the  latter  were  the  ovens  of  the  Chelsea  China  Manufactory,  where  Dr. 
Johnson  made  experiments  on  tea-cups. 

Johnson  had  conceived  the  idea  that  he  was  possessed  of  a  peculiar  "secret  for  making  porcelain ; 
he  obtained  permission  to  have  his  compositions  baked  in  the  ovens  at  Chelsea,  and  here  he  watched 
them  day  by  day.  He  was  not  allowed  to  enter  the  mixing-room,  but  had  free  access  to  all  other  parts 
of  the  manufactory,  and  roughly  modelled  his  composition  in  a  room  by  himself.  He  failed  in  all  his 
trials,  for  none  of  the  articles  he  formed  would  bear  the  heat  of  firing.  He  at  last  gave  up  his  attempts 
in  disgust.  He  always  conceived  that  one  simple  ingredient  was  sufficient  to  form  the  body  of  porcelain ; 
whereas  Stephens,  who  managed  the  manufactory,  declared  to  him  that  in  the  composition  of  the 
Chelsea  paste  no  less  than  sixteen  different  substances  were  blended  together. 

"  The  premises  were  not  far  distant  from  Church -street,  and  near  the  water-side. 
They  subsequently  became  a  stained  paper  manufactory,  conducted  by  Messrs.  Echardts 
and  Woodmason,  in  1786;  afterwards  by  Messrs.  Bowen  and  Co.;  and  in  1810  by 
Messrs.  Harwood  and  Co."  (T.  Crofton  Croker,  F.S.A.)  The  works  were  discontinued 
in  1764,  and  the  manufacture  was  then  removed  to  Derby,  and  the  ware  was  called 
Chelsea-Derby  :  it  has  the  mark  of  a  D  crossed  by  an  anchor ;  it  is  very  beautiful, 
but  as  dear  as  silver. 

In  July,  1850,  we  saw  in  the  stock  of  Mr.  Heigham,  Fulham-road,  a  set  of  three 
Chelsea  vases,  remarkably  fine  in  form  and  colour ;  each  bearing  a  view  of  the  old 
church  at  Chelsea  and  the  china-manufactory. 

"  Martin  Lister  mentions  a  manufacture  at  Chelsea  as  early  as  1698,  comparing  its  productions  with 
those  of  St.  Cloud,  near  Paris.  It  was  patronized  by  George  II.,  who  brought  over  artificers  from 
Brunswick  and  Saxony ;  whence,  probably,  M.  Brongniart  terms  Chelsea  a  '  Manufacture  Boyale.'  Its 
reputation  commenced  about  1740 ;  and  in  1745  the  celebrity  of  Chelsea  porcelain  was  regarded  with 
jealousy  by  the  manufacturers  of  France,  who  therefore  petitioned  Louis  XV.  to  concede  to  them 
exclusive  privileges.  About  1750,  it  was  under  the  direction  of  M.  Spremont,  a  foreigner.  The  pro- 
ductions of  the  Chelsea  furnaces  were  thought  worthy  to  vie  with  those  of  the  celebrated  manufactories 
of  Germany.  Walpole,  in  his  correspondence  with  Sir  Horace  Mann,  mentions  a  service  of  Chelsea 
porcelain  sent  by  the  King  and  Queen  to  the  Duke  of  Mecklenburg,  which  cost  1200/.  The  Duke  of 
Cumberland  took  much  interest  in  promoting  the  success  of  this  interesting  manufacture.  The  mark 
is  an  Anchor,  in  gold,  burnished  on  the  best  specimens,  and  red  on  the  inferior."— Forster's  Rotes  to  the 
Stowe  Catalogue,  1848. 

At  Stowe,  iu  1848,  the  finest  specimen  "  of  rare  old  Chelsea-china  "  sold  was  a  pair 
of  small  vases,  painted  with  Roman  triumphs,  23Z.  10*.  Few  specimens  of  Chelsea 
ware  were  sold  at  Strawberry  Hill,  in  1842.  At  the  sale  of  Sir  John  Macdonald's  col- 
lection, in  1850,  a  pair  of  Chelsea  cups  and  saucers,  painted  with  birds,  brought  36Z.  15*. 

In  1854,  some  fine  examples  of  Chelsea  porcelain  were  exhibited  in  the  Crystal 
Palace,  Sydenham.     There  was  a  Chelsea  tea-pot  which  had  belonged  to  Dr.  Johnson. 

In  the  Bernal  Collection,  sold  in  March,  1855,  a  pair  of  Scalloped  Chelsea  Vases, 
painted  with  birds,  brought  110Z.  5s. ;  a  pair  of  oval  dishes,  13Z.  13*. ;  a  two-handled 
cup  and  saucer,  21/. ;  and  an  ecuelle,  very  delicately  painted  with  flowers,  271.  6s. 

*  Bow  China,  formerly  made  at  Stratford-le-Bow,  is  always  marked  with  a  crescent,  or  bow :  it  much 
resembles  in  quality  the  old  Worcester  or  Derby,  and  is  mostly  of  blue  pattern ;  it  is  scarce,  but  never 
fine. 


CHRIST'S  HOSPITAL.  95 


CSJESS  CLUBS. 

IN  1747,  the  principal,  if  not  the  only  Chess  Club  in  the  metropolis  met  at  Slaughter's 
Coffee-house,  St.  Martin's-lane.  The  leading  players  of  this  Club  were — Sir 
Abraham  Jannsen,  Philip  Stamma  (from  Aleppo),  Lord  Godolphin,  Lord  Sunderland, 
and  Lord  Elibank ;  Cunningham,  the  historian  j  Dr.  Black  and  Dr.  Cowper ;  and 
it  was  through  their  invitation  that  the  celebrated  Philidor  was  induced  to  visit 
England. 

Another  Club  was  shortly  afterwards  founded  at  the  Salopian  Coffee-house,  Charing 
Cross :  and  a  few  years  later,  a  third,  which  met  next  door  to  the  Thatched  House 
Tavern,  in  St.  James's- street.  It  was  here  that  Philidor  exhibited  his  wonderful 
faculty  for  playing  blindfold ;  some  instances  of  which  we  find  in  the  newspapers  of 
the  period : — 

"  Yesterday,  at  the  Chess  Club  in  St.  James's-street,  Monsieur  Philidor  performed  one  of  those 
wonderful  exhibitions  for  which  he  is  so  much  celebrated.  He  played  three  different  games  at  once  with- 
out seeing  either  of  the  tables.  His  opponents  were  Count  Bruhl  and  Mr.  Bowdler  (the  two  best 
players  in  London),  and  Mr.  Maseres.  He  defeated  Count  Bruld  in  one  hour  and  twenty  minutes,  and 
Mr.  Maseres  in  two  hours ;  Mr.  Bowdler  reduced  his  games  to  a  drawn  battle  in  one  hour  and  three- 
quarters.  To  those  who  understand  Chess,  this  exertion  of  M.  Philidor's  abilities  must  appear  one  of 
the  greatest  of  which  the  human  memory  is  susceptible.  He  goes  through  it  with  astonishing  accuracy, 
and  often  corrects  mistakes  hi  those  who  have  the  board  before  them." 

In  1795,  the  veteran,  then  nearly  seventy  years  of  age,  played  three  blindfold 
matches  in  public.  The  last  of  these,  which  came  off  shortly  before  his  death,  we  find 
announced  in  the  daily  newspapers  thus : — 

"  Chess  Club,  1795.    Paksloe's  St.  James's  Stbbet. 

By  particular  desire,  Mons.  Philidor,  positively  for  the  last  time,  will  play  on  Saturday,  the  20th  of  June, 
at  two  o'clock  precisely,  three  games  at  once  against  three  good  players ;  two  of  them  without  seeing 
either  of  the  boards,  and  the  third  looking  over  the  table.  He  most  respectfully  invites  all  the  members 
of  the  Chess  Club  to  honour  him  with  their  presence.  Ladies  and  gentlemen  not  belonging  to  the 
Club  may  be  provided  with  tickets  at  the  above-mentioned  house,  to  see  the  match,  at  five  shillings  each." 

Upon  the  death  of  Philidor,  the  Chess  Clubs  at  the  West-end  seem  to  have  de- 
clined ;  and  in  1807,  the  stronghold  and  rallying  point  for  the  lovers  of  the  game  was 
"  the  London  Chess  Club,"  which  was  established  in  the  City,  and  for  many  years  held 
its  meetings  at  Tom's  Coffee-house,  in  Cornhill.  To  this  Club  we  are  indebted  for 
many  of  the  finest  chess-players  of  the  age ;  and  after  the  lapse  of  nearly  a  century, 
the  Club  still  flourished,  and  numbered  among  its  members  some  of  the  leading 
proficients. 

About  the  year  1833,  a  Club  was  founded  by  a  few  amateurs  in  Bedford-street, 
Covent  Garden.  This  establishment,  which  obtained  remarkable  celebrity  as  the  arena 
of  the  famous  contests  between  La  Bourdonnais  and  M'Donnell,  was  dissolved  in  1840  ; 
but  shortly  afterwards,  through  the  exertions  of  Mr.  Staunton,  was  re-formed  under 
the  name  of  "the  St.  George's  Club,"  in  Cavendish-square,  since  removed  to  20, 
King-street,  S.W. 

In  addition  to  the  above,  and  the  London  Chess  Club,  which  held  its  meetings  at  the 
George  and  Vulture  Tavern,  Cornhill,  there  are  many  minor  institutions  in  various 
parts  of  the  metropolis  and  its  environs,  where  Chess,  and  Chess  only,  forms  the  staple 
recreation  of  the  members.  There  are  also  the  magnificent  Cigar  Divan,  No.  100, 
Strand,  belonging  to  Mr.  Ries ;  and  Kilpack's  well-appointed  Divan,  42,  King-street, 
Covent  Garden ;  at  each  of  which  the  leading  Chess  publications  are  accessible  to 
visitors,  and  where  as  many  as  twenty  Chess-boards  may  often  be  seen  in  requisition  at 
the  same  time. 

CHEISrS  HOSPITAL. 

WE  owe  the  foundation  of  this,  "  the  noblest  institution  in  the  world,"  to  the  ex- 
ertions of  the  City  of  London  to  provide  for  a  large  houseless  population,  in 
which  good  work  the  citizens  were  greatly  assisted  by  grants  from  King  Henry  VIII. 
It  was  long  customary  to  designate  King  Edward  VI.  as  its  special  founder ;  but  his- 
torical records  show  that  King  Edward  had  little  to  do  with  the  foundation  of  Christ's 


96  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Hospital :  both  the  house  itself,  and  the  revenues  for  its  support,  came  from  his  pre- 
decessor, or  were  raised  by  the  bounty  of  the  citizens  themselves ;  the  young  King 
Edward  bestowed  upon  the  Hospital  its  name,  and  conferred  upon  it  certain  grants  for 
its  support,  in  connexion  with  the  hospital  of  Bridewell,  which  the  King  had  founded ; 
and  St.  Thomas's  which  the  citizens  themselves  had  purchased.  The  story  runs,  that 
the  King's  attention  was  directed  to  this  foundation  by  a  sermon  preached  before  him 
by  Bishop  Ridley,  in  the  year  1552  j  and  that  in  consequence,  the  King  sent  by  the 
Bishop  a  letter  to  the  Mayor,  "  declaring  his  special  commandment,  that  the  Mayor 
should  travail  therein,"  which  are  the  words  of  the  old  chronicler  Grafton.  But  this 
was  not  until  after  the  citizens  bad  done  what  they  could,  and  found  that  they  re- 
quired certain  aid  from  the  Crown.  Bishop  Ridley  himself,  in  his  farewell  letter  to 
his  friends,  written  shortly  before  his  martyrdom,  attributed  the  chief  merit  to  the 
City  magistrates ;  first  to  Sir  Richard  Dobbs,  in  whose  mayoralty  the  renewed  effort 
was  made ;  and  next  to  his  successor,  Sir  George  Barnes. 

When  the  Grey  Friars  came  to  London  in  the  thirteenth  century,  they  established 
themselves  on  the  north  side  of  what  we  now  call  Newgate-street.  Here,  aided  by  the 
citizens,  they  built  first  a  chapel,  then  a  church,  and  then  again  a  much  larger  church, 
— the  latter  between  1301  and  1327.  In  1539  they  surrendered  to  King  Henry  VIII., 
in  whose  hands  the  house  remained  for  some  time.  Just  before  his  death,  he  provided 
that  the  church  of  the  Grey  Friars  should  become  the  parish  church  of  "  Christ's 
Church  within  Newgate." 

It  appears  that  Christ's  Hospital  was  not  originally  founded  as  a  school ;  its  object 
was  to  rescue  young  children  from  the  streets,  to  shelter,  feed,  clothe,  and  lastly  to 
educate  them.  The  citizens  had  already  received  from  the  King  the  monastery  of  the 
Grey  Friars ;  and  from  its  new  parish  church  came  the  name  of  "  Christ's  Hospital." 
When  the  citizens  had  collected  sufficient  funds,  they  repaired  the  Grey  Friars  build- 
ings, and  on  the  23rd  of  November,  1552,  the  poor  children  were  received  to  the 
number  of  almost  four  hundred.  When  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Aldermen  rode  to 
St.  Paul's  on  the  following  Christmas-day,  all  the  children  stood  in  array  "  from  St. 
Laurence-lane-in-Cheap  towards  Paul's,"  attired  in  a  livery  or  dress  of  russet  cotton, 
the  boys  with  red  caps,  and  the  girls  with  kerchiefs  on  their  heads,  having  a  woman 
keeper  between  every  twenty  children;  and  accompanied  also  by  the  physician  and 
four  surgeons,  and  the  masters  of  the  Hospital. 

At  the  following  Easter,  the  boys  and  "  mayden  children"  were  in  *  plonket,"  or 
blue ;  hence  Christ's  Hospital  also  became  called  the  Blue  Coat  School.  It  has  been 
imagined  that  the  coat  was  the  mantle,  and  the  yellow,  as  it  is  technically  termed,  the 
sleeveless  tunic  of  the  monastery ;  the  leathern  girdle  also  corresponding  with  the 
hempen  cord  of  the  friar.  There  is  an  old  tradition  among  the  boys  that  the  dress 
was  originally  of  velvet,  fastened  with  silver  buttons,  and  an  exact  fac-simile  of  the 
ordinary  habit  of  King  Edward  VI. 

It  is  most  reasonable  to  regard  the  dress  as  copied  from  the  costume  of  the  citizens 
of  London  at  this  period  (1552),  when  long  blue  coats  were  the  common  habit  of 
apprentices  and  serving-men,  and  yellow  stockings  were  generally  worn  [the  School  is 
vulgarly  called  "  the  Yellow  Stocking  School  ]  ;  the  coat  fits  closely  to  the  body,  but  has 
loose  sleeves,  and  beneath  is  worn  a  sleeveless  yellow  under-coat ;  around  the  waist  is 
a  red  leathern  girdle ;  a  clerical  band  round  the  neck,  and  a  small  flat  black  cap  about 
the  size  of  a  saucer,  complete  the  costume. 

While  the  citizens  were  perfecting  the  good  work,  King  Edward  was  seized  with 
small-pox,  from  the  effects  of  which  he  never  recovered.  When,  however,  the  scheme 
for  the  endowment  of  the  Royal  Hospitals  was  placed  before  the  pious  prince,  and 
according  to  the  usual  practice,  a  blank  had  been  left  for  the  amount  of  property  which 
the  City  were  to  receive  for  this  object,  Edward,  with  his  own  hand,  wrote  in  the  sum, 
•'  four  thousand  marks  by  the  year ;"  and  then  exclaimed,  in  the  hearing  of  his  Council, 
"  Lord,  I  yield  Thee  most  hearty  thanks  that  Thou  hast  given  me  fife  thus  long,  to 
finish  this  work,  to  the  glory  of  Thy  name !" 

Among  the  early  bequests  is  the  following : — When  the  Hospital  was  erected 
and  put  into  good  order,  there  was  one  Richard  Castel,  alias  Casteller,  shoemaker, 
dwelling  in  Westminster,  a  man  who  was  called  "  the  Cock  of  Westminster,"  because 


CHRIST'S  HOSPITAL.  97 


both  winter  and  summer  he  was  at  work  by  four  o'clock  in  the  morning.  This  man, 
thus  steadily  and  honestly  labouring  for  his  living,  purchased  lands  and  tenements 
at  Westminster,  worth  44Z.  per  annum ;  and  having  no  child,  with  the  consent  of  his 
wife,  who  survived  him,  gave  the  same  lands  wholly  to  Christ's  Hospital,  and  for  the 
"  succour  of  the  miserable  sore  and  sick  harboured  in  other  hospitals  about  London." 

The  ancient  Hospital  buildings  suffered  materially  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  when 
the  church  of  the  monastery  was  entirely  destroyed.  The  Hospital  was  rebuilt  by  the 
Governors,  anticipating  its  revenue  from  the  endowment  of  the  King,  and  other 
sources.  The  Great  Hall  was  rebuilt  by  Alderman  Sir  John  Frederick,  at  a  cost  of 
50001.  The  first  important  addition  to  the  foundation,  after  the  Fire,  was  the 
Mathematical  School,  founded  by  Charles  II.  1672,  for  forty  boys,  to  be  instructed  in 
navigation  :  they  are  called  "  King's  boys,"  and  wear  a  badge  on  the  right  shoulder 
Lest  this  mathematical  school  should  fail  for  want  of  boys  properly  qualified  to  supply 
it,  one  Mr.  Stone,  a  governor,  left  a  legacy  to  maintain  a  subordinate  Mathematical 
School  of  twelve  boys  ("  the  Twelves"),  who  wear  a  badge  on  the  left  shoulder ;  and  to 
these  have  been  added  "  the  Twos." 

The  Mathematical  School  was  originally  designed  by  Samuel  Pepys,  then  Secretary 
to  the  Admiralty.  There  is  preserved  a  collection  of  letters  between  Pepys  and 
Major  Aungier,  Sir  Isaac  Newton,  Halley,  and  other  persons,  relating  to  the  manage- 
ment of  the  Mathematical  School ;  and  containing  details  of  the  career  of  some  of  the 
King's  scholars  after  leaving  school.  The  letters  extend  from  1692  to  1695,  and  are 
the  original  letters  received  by  Pepys,  with  his  drafts  of  the  answers.  (Notes  and 
Queries,  No.  227.)  Pepys,  it  appears,  printed  and  handed  about  privately,  some 
letters  about  the  abuses  of  Christ's  Hospital ;  he  certainly  saved  from  ruin  the  Mathe- 
matical foundation.  This  was  the  first  considerable  extension  of  the  system  of  educa- 
tion at  the  Hospital,  which  originally  consisted  of  a  grammar  school  for  boys,  and  a 
separate  school  for  girls  j  the  latter  being  taught  to  read,  sew,  and  mark.  Pepys 
relates  the  following  curious  story  of  a  Blue-coat  girl : — 

"  Two  wealthy  citizens  are  lately  dead,  and  left  their  estates,  one  to  a  little  Blue-coat  boy,  and  the 
other  to  a  Blue-coat  girl,  in  Christ's  Hospital.  The  extraordinariness  of  which  has  led  some  of  the 
magistrates  to  carry  it  on  to  a  match,  which  is  ended  in  a  public  wedding — he  in  his  habit  of  blue  satin, 
led  by  two  of  the  girls,  and  she  in  blue  with  an  apron  green,  and  petticoat  yellow,  all  of  sarsnet,  led  by 
two  of  the  boys  of  the  house,  through  Cheapside  to  Guildhall  Chapel,  where  they  were  married  by  the 
Dean  of  St.  Paul's,  she  given  by  my  Lord  Mayor.  The  wedding  dinner,  it  seems,  was  kept  in  the  Hos- 
pital halL"— Pepys  to  Mm.  Steward,  Sept.  20, 1695. 

The  East  Cloister  and  South  front  were  next  (in  1675)  rebuilt  by  Sir  Robert 
Clayton,  alderman,  and  cost  him  about  7000Z. ;  but  it  was  not  known  who  was  the 
benefactor  until  the  whole  was  finished.  The  Writing  School  was  built  by  Sir  Chris- 
topher Wren,  in  1694,  at  the  expense  of  50001.  to  Sir  John  Moore,  of  whom  a  marble 
statne  is  placed  in  the  front :  this  school  is  situated  on  the  west  side  of  the  play- 
ground, and  is  supported  on  cloisters,  which  shelter  the  boys  in  bad  weather  j  the  ward 
over  the  east  side  cloister  was  rebuilt  in  1705,  by  Sir  Francis  Child  the  banker ;  and 
in  1795  was  erected  the  Grammar  School.  Some  of  the  buildings  of  the  ancient 
monastery  were  standing  early  in  the  present  century,  but  they  had  become  ruinous 
and  unsafe ;  and  in  1803  was  commenced  a  fund  for  rebuilding  the  whole,  the  Cor- 
poration of  London  granting  5000Z.,  and  many  private  benefactions  being  made.  The 
refectory  of  the  monastery  originally  served  as  the  dining-hall  of  the  Hospital :  after 
the  Great  Fire,  the  hall  was  rebuilt ;  this  was  taken  down,  and  partly  upon  its  site,  and 
partly  on  the  ancient  City  wall,  was  erected  a  vast  edifice  in  the  Tudor  style  by  John 
Shaw,  F.R.S.,  F.S.A.,  architect ;  the  first  stone  laid  by  the  Duke  of  York,  April  25, 
1825.  The  back  wall  stands  on  the  site  of  the  ditch  that  anciently  surrounded  London, 
and  is  built  on  piles  driven  twenty  feet  deep  ;  in  excavating  for  the  foundation  there 
were  found  some  Roman  arms  and  coins,  and  some  curious  leathern  sandals.  The 
southern  or  principal  front,  facing  Newgate-street,  is  supported  by  buttresses  and  has 
an  octagonal  tower  at  each  extremity ;  and  the  summit  is  embattled  and  pin- 
nacled. On  the  ground  story  is  an  arcade  open  to  the  play -ground;  here  also  are 
the  Governors'  meeting-room,  and  the  Hospital  wardrobe ;  and  in  the  basement  are 
the  vast  kitchen,  67  feet  by  33  feet ;  and  butteries  and  cellars.  In  the  rear  of  the 
Hall  is  the  Infirmary ;  and  on  the  east  and  west  sides  of  the  cloister  are  the  dormi- 


98  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

tories.  The  arcade  beneath  the  Hall  is  built  with  blocks  of  llaytor  granite,  highly 
wrought ;  the  remainder  of  the  front  is  of  Portland  stone.  Over  the  centre  arch  of  the 
arcade  is  a  bust  of  Edward  VI.  The  area  in  front  or  play-ground,  is  enclosed  by 
handsome  metal  gates,  enriched  with  the  arms  of  the  Hospital :  argent,  across  gules, 
in  the  dexter  chief,  a  dagger  of  the  first  {The  City  of  London),  on  a  chief  azure,  be- 
tween two  fleurs-de-lis  or,  a  rose  argent. 

The  Dining-hall,  with  its  lobby  and  organ-gallery,  occupies  the  entire  story,  which 
is  187  feet  long,  51  feet  wide,  and  47  feet  high ;  it  is  lit  by  nine  large  windows,  filled 
with  stained  glass  on  the  south  side ;  and  is,  next  to  Westminster  Hall,  the  noblest 
room  in  the  metropolis. 

In  the  Great  Hall  hangs  a  large  picture  of  King  Edward  VI.  seated  on  his  throne,  in  a  scarlet  and 
crrained  robe,  holding  the  sceptre  in  his  left  hand,  and  presenting  with  the  other  the  charter  to  the 
kneeling  Lord  Mayor.  By  his  side  stands  the  Chancellor,  holding  the  seals,  and  next  to  him  are  other 
officers  of  state.  Bishop  Ridley  kneels  before  him  with  uplifted  hands,  as  if  supplicating  a  blessing  on 
the  event;  whilst  the  Aldermen,  &c,  with  the  Lord  Mayor,  kneel  on  both  sides,  occupying  the  middle 
ground  of  the  picture;  and  lastly,  in  front,  are  a  double  row  of  boys  on  one  side,  and  girls  on  the 
other,  from  the  master  and  matron  down  to  the  boy  and  girl  who  have  stepped  forward  from  their  re- 
spective rows,  and  kneel  with  raised  hands  before  the  King. 

This  picture  was  long  erroneously  attributed  to  Holbein ;  but  it  is  now  considered 
to  be  of  the  period  of  James  I.,  or  Charles  I. ;  it  is  SO  feet  long.  Here  is  also  a  still 
larger  picture,  in  which  James  II.  is  receiving  the  "  Mathematical  boys,"  though  there 
are  girls  as  well  as  boys.  This  was  painted  by  Verrio,  who  also  painted  the  full  length 
of  Charles  II.,  which  hangs  near  it.  Here  are  likewise  full-length  portraits  of  Queen 
Victoria  and  Prince  Albert,  by  Grant ;  and  a  picture  of  Brook  Watson's  escape,  when 
a  boy,  from  a  shark,  with  the  loss  of  a  leg,  while  bathing,  painted  by  Copley,  father 
of  Lord  Chancellor  Lyndhurst. 

In  the  Treasurer's  house  is  a  portrait  of  Edward  VI.,  considered  by  Mr.  J.  Gough 
Nichols  to  have  been  evidently  painted  towards  the  end  of  the  King's  life.  There  is 
also  at  the  Hospital  another  portrait,  inscribed  "  Edwardus,  Walliaj  Princeps,  anno 
aetatis  suae  9."  These  portraits  have  been  ascribed  to  Holbein ;  but  by  the  recent 
discovery  of  the  will  of  Holbein,  it  is  proved  that  at  his  death  Edward  VI.  was  only 
in  his  sixth  year.  Neither  is  there  better  evidence  of  the  Charter  picture  in  the 
Great  Hall :  the  event  took  place  in  1553 ;  and  "  it  is  now  ascertained  beyond  dis- 
pute that  Holbein  could  have  produced  no  work  later  than  the  year  1534 ;  whilst 
hitherto  his  era  has  been  extended  for  eleven  years  longer." — Nichols.  See  also 
Archceologia ;  vol.  xxxix.,  pt.  1,  1863. 

In  the  Hall  the  boys,  now  about  800  in  number,  dine;  and  here  are  held  the  "  Sup- 
pings  in  Public,"  to  which  visitors  are  admitted  by  tickets,  issued  by  the  Treasurer  and 
by  the  Governors.  The  tables  are  laid  with  cheese  in  wooden  bowls ;  beer,  in  wooden 
piggins,  poured  from  leathern  jacks ;  and  bread  brought  in  large  baskets.  The  official 
company  enter ;  the  Lord  Mayor,  or  President,  takes  his  seat  in  a  state-chair,  made  of 
oak  from  St.  Katherine's  church  by  the  Tower  j  a  hymn  is  sung,  accompanied  by  the 
organ ;  a  "  Grecian,"  or  head-boy,  reads  the  prayers  from  the  pulpit,  silence  being  en- 
forced by  three  drops  of  a  wooden  hammer.  After  prayer,  the  supper  commences,  and 
the  visitors  walk  between  the  tables.  At  its  close,  the  "  trade-boys"  take  up  the 
baskets,  bowls,  jacks,  piggins,  and  candlesticks,  and  pass  in  procession,  the  bowing  to  the 
Governors  being  curiously  formal.  The  "  Suppings  in  Public"  are  held  every  Sun- 
day, from  Quinquagesima  Sunday  to  Easter  Sunday,  inclusive ;  they  are  a  picturesque 
sight,  and  always  well  attended.  This  interesting  spectacle  was  witnessed  by  Queen 
Victoria  and  Prince  Albert,  on  Sunday  evening,  March  9th,  1845. 

In  this  Hall,  too,  St.  Matthew's  Day  (September  21st)  the  day  of  the  annual  Com- 
memoration is  a  festival  set  apart  from  the  first  year  of  their  foundation  for  the  General 
Court  of  the  several  Royal  Hospitals  j  and  it  is  still  observed  with  the  usual  solemnity. 
The  Lord  Mayor  and  Aldermen  having  met  the  Governors  of  each  hospital  in  the- 
Great  Hall,  the  children  pass  before  them,  leading  the  way  to  Christ  Church,  where 
tbe  sermon  is  preached.  The  company  ■  return  to  the  Hall  to  hear  the  Grecians,  or 
head-boys,  deliver  Orations  before  the  Lord  Mayor,  Corporation,  and  Governors,  and 
their  friends ;  this  being  a  relic  of  the  scholars'  disputations  in  the  cloisters.  After  the 
Orations,  a  collection  is  made  for  the  speakers  in  furtherance  of  their  support  at  the 
University.     Trollope,  in  1834,  stated  about  1201.  to  be  usually  contributed.     The  de- 


CHRIST'S  HOSPITAL.  99 

livery  of  the  list  of  Governors  follows  the  collection  ;  and,  according  to  the  "  Order  of 
the  Hospitals,"  all  the  beadles  are  called  before  the  Court,  and,  delivering  up  their 
staves,  retire  to  the  bottom  of  the  Hall,  "  that  the  opinion  of  the  Court  may  be  heard 
touching  the  doing  of  their  duties :  to  the  intent,  if  any  of  them  be  faultye,  that  he 
or  they  may  be  rebuked  or  dismissed,  at  the  discretion  of  the  said  Court;  and  there- 
upon to  deliver  unto  suche  as  then  remayne  their  staves,  and  again  astablishe  them." 
These  forms  concluded,  the  Court  is  dissolved,  and  the  company,  having  partaken  of 
refreshments,  retire.  It  appears  from  the  journal  of  Sheriff  Hoare,  1740-41,  that 
"  sweet  cakes  and  burnt  wine"  were  then  handed  round  on  these  occasions,  and  the 
usual  breakfast  was  "  roast  beef  and  hurnt  wine." 

The  Spital  or  Hospital  Sermons  are  preached  in  Christ  Church,  Newgate-street,  on 
Easter  Monday  and  Tuesday.  On  Monday  the  children  proceed  to  the  Mansion 
House,  and  return  in  procession  to  Christ  Church,  with  the  Lord  Mayor,  Lady 
Mayoress,  and  City  authorities,  to  hear  the  sermon.  On  Tuesday  the  children  again  go 
to  the  Mansion  House,  and  pass  through  the  Egyptian  Hall,  before  the  Lord  Mayor, 
each  boy  receiving  a  glass  of  wine,  two  buns,  and  a  shilling ;  the  monitors  half-a-crown 
each,  the  probationers  half-a-guinea  each,  and  the  Grecians  a  guinea — all  in  coins  fresh 
from  the  Mint ;  they  then  return  to  Christ  Church,  as  on  Monday. 

The  boys  formerly  visited  the  Royal  Exchange  on  Easter  Monday ;  but  this  has 
been  discontinued  since  the  burning  of  the  last  Exchange,  in  1838. 

At  the  first  drawing-room  of  the  year  the  forty  Mathematical  boys  are  presented 
to  the  Sovereign,  who  inspects  their  charts,  and  who  gives  them  81.  8*.  as  a 
gratuity.  To  this  other  members  of  the  Royal  Family  formerly  added  smaller  sums, 
and  the  whole  was  divided  among  the  ten  boys  who  left  the  school  in  the  year. 
During  the  illness  of  King  George  III.  these  presentations  were  discontinued;  but 
the  Governors  of  the  Hospital  continued  to  pay  11.  3s.,  the  amount  ordinarily 
received  by  each,  to  every  boy  on  quitting.  The  practice  of  receiving  the  boys  was 
revived  by  William  IV.,  and  is  continued  by  her  present  Majesty.  Each  scholar 
having  passed  his  Trinity- House  examination,  and  received  testimonials  of  his  good 
conduct,  is  presented  with  a  watch,  as  a  reward,  worth  from  91.  to  131. ;  in  addition 
to  an  outfit  of  clothes,  books,  mathematical  instruments,  a  Gunter's  scale,  a  quadrant, 
and  a  sea-chest. 

Christ's  Hospital,  by  ancient  custom,  possesses  the  privilege  of  addressing  the 
Sovereign  on  the  occasion  of  his  or  her  coming  into  the  City  to  partake  of  the  hos- 
pitality of  the  Corporation  of  Londou.  On  the  visit  of  Queen  Victoria  in  1837,  a  booth 
was  erected  for  the  Hospital  boys  in  St.  Paul's  Churchyard ;  and  on  the  Royal  carriage 
reaching  the  Cathedral  west  gate,  the  senior  scholar,  with  the  Head  Master  and 
Treasurer,  advanced  to  the  coach-door,  and  delivered  a  congratulatory  address  to  her 
Majesty,  with  a  copy  of  the  same  on  vellum. 

The  School  has  always  been  famous  for  its  penmen.  The  education  consists  of 
reading,  writing,  and  arithmetic,  French,  the  classics,  and  the  mathematics.  There  are 
sixteen  Exhibitions  for  scholarships  at  the  Universities  of  Oxford  and  Cambridge, 
besides  a  "  Pitt  Scholarship,"  and  a  "  Times  Scholarship,"  the  latter  founded  by  the 
proprietors  of  that  journal,  with  a  fund  subscribed  by  the  public  in  testimony  of  their 
detection  of  the  Bogle  Fraud,  1841. 

Among  the  more  eminent  Blues,  as  the  scholars  are  termed,  are  Joshua  Barnes, 
editor  of  Anacreon  and  Euripides;  Jeremiah  Markland,  the  eminent  critic,  particularly 
in  Greek  literature ;  Camden,  the  antiquary ;  Bishop  Stillingfleet.  [Pepys  has  this 
quaint  entry  in  his  Diary.  "January  16,  16G6-7,  Sir  R.Ford  tells  me  how  the  famous 
Stillingfleet  was  a  Blue  Coat  boy."]  Samuel  Richardson,  the  novelist;  Thomas 
Mitchell,  the  translator  of  Aristophanes ;  Thomas  Barnes,  many  years  editor  of  the 
Times  newspaper;  and  Coleridge,  Charles  Lamb,  and  Leigh  Hunt,  who  have  published 
many  interesting  reminiscences  of  their  contemporaries  in  the  School.  Lamb's 
"  Recollections  of  Christ's  Hospital,"  and  "  Christ's  Hospital  Five  and  Thirty  Years 
Ago"  (says  Peter  Cunningham,  once  a  Deputy  Grecian),  have  done  much  to  uphold  the 
dignity  of  the  School. 

The  Library  is  a  recent  addition ;  it  is  a  spacious  room,  divided  into  boxes  and  pro- 
vided with  tables :  on  the  walls  hang  useful  maps,  and  engravings  of  the  steam-engine  j 


100  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

at  one  end  is  stored  a  small  but  well-chosen  collection  of  books,  and  on  the  table  are 
several  illustrated  periodicals.     Another  addition  is  the  erection  of  a  Gymnasium. 

The  old  cloister  of  the  Grey  Friars  Priory,  repaired  by  Wren,  and  nearly  deprived 
of  its  ancient  appearance,  formerly  served  as  a  public  thoroughfare  from  Newgate-street 
to  Smithfield,  but  has  been  stopped  up.  In  1855,  in  excavating  for  some  new  houses 
on  the  north  side  of  Newgate-street,  were  exposed,  under  Christ's  Church  yard  three 
pointed  arches,  10  feet  in  span,  and  covered  with  masses  of  chalk  and  concrete,  to 
within  three  feet  of  the  surface,  the  rest  being  earth  ;  these  being  vestiges  of  the  Grey 
Friars  buildings ;  as  also  are  the  gateway  and  a  portion  of  the  brick  building  under 
which  it  opens,  together  with  the  cloistered  passage  in  rear  of  the  basement.  The  brick- 
work of  the  superstructure,  of  about  Elizabeth's  reign,  is  marvellously  fine. 

The  customs  of  the  School  have  varied  with  time.  Formerly  the  Saints'  days  were 
kept  as  holidays  j  money-boxes  for  the  poor  were  kept  in  the  cloister ;  and  unruly 
boys  were  kept  confined  in  dungeons ;  but  these  regulations  have  been  discontinued. 
Bread  and  beer  are  no  longer  the  breakfast.  Nor  do  the  boys  perform  common  menial 
offices  as  heretofore.  The  wards  or  dormitories,  in  which  the  boys  sleep,  are  seventeen 
in  number ;  each  boy  makes  his  own  bed,  and  each  ward  is  governed  by  a  nurse  and 
two  or  more  monitors.  There  is  a  curious  feature  in  most  of  the  sleeping  wards :  in 
one  corner,  near  the  roof,  and  reached  by  a  staircase,  is  a  wooden  box,  which  serves  as 
a  resting-place  and  study  for  the  "  Grecian  "  of  the  ward.  From  this  eminence  he  is 
enabled  to  notice  any  delinquency  below. 

The  general  burial-ground  of  the  Hospital  is  between  the  south  cloister  and  the 
houses  in  Newgate-street,  where  the  funerals  formerly  took  place  by  torch-light,  and 
the  service  was  preceded  by  an  anthem,  thus  reviving  the  monastic  associations  of  the 
place.     The  Burials  are  now  by  daylight. 

A  book  is  preserved,  containing  the  records  of  the  Hospital  from  its  foundation,  and 
an  anthem  sung  by  the  first  children. 

The  income  of  the  institution  has  known  much  fluctuation ;  and  consequently,  also, 
the  number  of  inmates.  The  340  children  with  which  the  Hospital  opened  had 
dwindled  in  1580  to  150.  The  object  of  the  institution  has  also,  in  the  lapse  of  time, 
become  materially  changed,  which  may  in  a  great  measure  be  attributed  to  the  influence 
of  the  Governors,  or  benefactors,  its  chief  supporters.  The  government  is  practically 
vested  in  a  committee  of  50  almoners.  The  system  of  education  is  not  considered  to 
have  kept  pace  with  the  requirements  of  the  times. 

We  have  seen  that  there  were  abuses  in  the  management  of  the  Hospital  in  Pepys's 
time ;  they  have  lasted  to  our  day.  In  1810,  Mr.  Waithman,  one  of  the  Common 
Councilmen  for  the  Ward  in  which  the  Hospital  is  situated,  showed  that  instead  of 
being  a  benefit  to  the  children  of  the  poor  and  friendless,  it  was  engrossed  almost  ex- 
clusively by  the  rich.  Presentations  were,  at  that  time,  sold  at  an  average  of  thirty 
guineas  each.  By  recommendation  of  Sir  Samuel  Romilly,  and  Mr.  Bell,  the  Lord 
Chancellor  was  petitioned  for  an  inquiry  into  the  conduct  of  the  Hospital  Committee ; 
but,  in  1816,  its  object  failed.  As  testimonies  to  the  original  designs  of  the  foun- 
dation, a  statue  of  a  Blue  Coat  Boy,  in  each  of  the  four  corners  of  the  cloister,  had, 
within  the  recollection  of  several  persons  living,  the  following  painted  notice  underneath : 

"  This  is  Christ's  Hospital,  where  poor  Blue-Coat  boys  are  harboured  and  educated." — ILughson'* 
\ ';  \0   Walks  through  London. 

There  is  printed  annually,  and  freely  circulated,  "  A  True  Report  of  the  Number  of  Children  and 
other  poor  People  maintained  in  the  several  Royal  Hospitals  in  the  City  of  London,  under  the  pious  care 
of  the  Right  Honourable  the  Lord  Mayor,  Aldermen,  and  Governors  thereof,  for  the  year  last  past." 
This  document,  in  appearance,  resembles  a  sheet  almanack  :  it  is  .headed  by  the  Easter  anthem  set  to 
music ;  and  it  is  enclosed  in  a  woodcut  border,  the  design  of  which  indicates  the  custom  of  printing 
these  Reports  to  have  been  of  long  standing.  In  the  upper  portion  of  the  border  are  the  Royal  Arms ; 
at  the  sides  are  the  City  Arms,  ancient  and  modern ;  in  medallions  at  the  corners  are  three  figures  of  the 
Christ's  Hospital  boys,  and  one  of  a  girl ;  at  the  foot  is  an  emblematic  group,  with  the  old  Hospital  in 
the  background ;  and  beneath  it  is  inscribed  on  a  ribbon,  "  Pray  remember  the  Poor." 

The  income  arising  from  early  endowments  and  bequests,  which  may  be  set  down  as 

exceeding  40,000/!.  per  annum,  is  largely  augmented  by  the  contributions  of  Governors, 

of  whom,  on  an  average,  twenty-five  are  elected  annually ;  and  as  they  give  500J.  each 

on  election,  12,500^.  a  year  arises  from  this  source. 

In  1SC5,  the  gross  receipts  amounted  to  71,8552.  13«.  1CW.,  more  than  one  half  of  which  is  derived 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  101 

from  the  rents  of  estates,  quit-rents,  tithe-rent  charges,  &c.  The  benefactions  were  802U. ;  legacies, 
6930Z.  2s.  lid.  The  expenditure  contains  among  other  items,  2720J.  18*.  9rf.  payments  under'bene- 
factions,  wills,  deeds  of  gift,  &c,  to  various  parishes  and  companies  for  their  poor  and  for  other  objects, 
to  pensioners,  for  relief  of  prisoners  for  debt,  for  setting  up  in  business  young  men  and  women  educated 
in  the  Hospital,  and  other  purposes,  2S27£.  The  sum  available  for  the  purposes  of  the  Hospital  was 
67,3892.  0*.  lid.  The  washing  at  the  two  establishments  amounted  to  20102.  9s.  6d.  The  provisions  and 
stores  (less  the  sum  received  by  sale  of  kitchen-stuff  and  dripping),  amounted  to  10,3422.  0*.  4d.; 
coals  and  fuel,  7831.  18*.  8d. ;  gaslighting  and  water  supply,  15652.  7*. ;  the  charges  for  apparel,  linen, 
bedding,  shoes,  and  leather,  were  64082.  The  average  number  of  children  maintained  and  educated  in 
the  London  and  Hertford  establishments  in  1865  was  1205 ;  and  the  average  expenditure  per  child, 
412.  Is.  7\d. 

Boys,  whose  parents  may  not  be  free  of  the  City  of  London,  are  admissible  on  Free 
Presentations,  as  they  are  called ;  as  are  also  the  sons  of  clergymen  of  the  Church  of 
England.  The  Lord  Mayor  has  two  presentations  annually ;  and  the  Court  of  Alder- 
men one  each :  it  was  the  good  practice  of  the  late  Alderman  Humphery,  to  give  his 
presentations  to  inhabitants  of  the  Ward  over  which  he  presided.  The  rest  of  the 
Governors  have  presentations  once  in  three  years.  A  list  of  the  Governors  who  have 
presentations  for  the  year  is  printed  every  Easter,  and  may  be  had  at  the  Counting- 
house  of  the  Hospital.  No  boy  is  admitted  before  he  is  seven  years  old,  or  after  he  is 
nine ;  and  no  boy  can  remain  in  the  School  after  he  is  fifteen,  King's  boys  and  Grecians 
alone  excepted.  There  are  about  500  Governors,  at  the  head  of  whom  are  the  Queen, 
the  Prince  of  Wales,  and  Prince  Alfred.  The  President  is  the  Duke  of  Cambridge, 
whose  election  to  that  office  was  a  departure  from  the  custom,  which  had  hitherto  been 
to  elect  the  Lord  Mayor  for  the  time  being.  The  qualification  for  a  Governor  is  pay- 
ment of  5002*. ;  but  an  Alderman  has  the  power  of  nominating  a  Governor  for  etection 
at  half  price.  About  200  boys  are  admitted  annually  (at  the  age  of  from  seven  to 
ten  years),  by  presentations  in  rotation,  so  that  the  privilege  occurs  about  once  in  three 
or  four  years.  A  list  of  the  Governors  having  presentations  is  published  annually  in 
March,  and  is  to  be  had  at  the  counting-house  of  the  Hospital. 

The  subordinate  establishment  is  at  Hertford,  to  which  the  younger  boys  are  sent 
prepiratory  to  their  entering  on  the  foundation  in  London,  which  takes  place  as 
vacancies  occur.  The  building  at  Hertford  was  erected  by  the  Hospital  Governors  in 
1683,  and  has  extensive  grounds  for  recreation ;  when  full,  it  will  contain  416  children, 
of  whom  about  200  are  taught  the  classics.  There  is  likewise  accommodation  here  for 
80  girls. 

The  Report  published  in  1865  states  that  all  the  early  and  chief  gifts  of  the  property  held  by  the  Hospital 
are  expressed  to  be  for  the  benefit  of  poor  children,  without  distinction  of  sex;  nor  does  the  Hospital 
during  the  early  period  of  its  institution  appear  to  have  been  appropriated  more  to  boys  than  to  girls. 
For  many  years  past,  however,  up  to  a  recent  period,  only  six  girls  were  admitted  (at  Hertford)  every 
year,  besides  those  received  under  specific  trusts.  The  education  of  a  boy  so  as  to  advance  him  in  life 
was  thought  to  be  of  much  greater  material  advantage  to  a  family  than  the  education  of  a  girl ;  so  that 
it  was  a  common  expression  that  a  governor  "  threw  away  "  his  presentation  on  nominating  a  girl.  But 
the  purpose  of  the  foundation  being  the  public  good,  it  is  considered  that  the  general  good  would  have 
been  better  promoted  if  at  least  an  equal  share  of  the  tunds  of  the  Hospital  had  been  expended  in  the 
education  of  girls. 

In  1853,  there  were  61  girls  in  the  establishment  at  Hertford,  which,  in  its  teaching,  was  below  the 
level  of  a  good  parifh  school ;  the  number  of  scholars  has  since  been  reduced  to  26.  Improved  schemes 
of  education  have  been  suggested,  to  comprise  instruction  in  needlework,  washing,  cooking,  and  other 
household  work. 

Apart  from  the  special  purpose  for  which  Christ's  Hospital  was  endowed,  there  are 
seven  distinct  Charities  appropriated,  in  part  or  in  whole,  to  entirely  separate  objects. 
The  annual  income  from  six  of  these  charities  may  be  stated  at  9000Z.  The  seventh, 
the  Charity  to  the  Blind,  by  the  Rev.  W.  Hetherington,  since  augmented  by  many  bene- 
factors, is  the  wealthiest  of  all :  in  one  year,  65202".  have  been  paid  to  652  aged  blind 
persons.     To  this  fund  the  late  Richard  Thornton,  Esq.,  bequeathed  10,000J. 

CHURCHES  AND    CHAPELS. 

AN  episcopal  see  was  founded  in  London  in  the  time  of  the  Roman  occupation  of 
Britain,  but  very  little  is  known  concerning  it.  From  the  establishment  of  the 
Saxons  in  Britain  to  the  mission  of  Augustine,  in  596,  there  is  no  record  of  any 
Bishop  in  London;  but  when  Augustine  had  established  himself  at  Canterbury, 
he  consecrated  Mellitus  Bishop,  in  the  year  604.  The  East  Saxons  relapsed  into 
paganism,  on  the  death  of  Sebert,  their  king,  when  Mellitus  was  driven  out,  and 


102  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

London  remained  without  a  Bishop  until  656,  in  which  year  Cedd  (or  Chad),  at  the 
invitation  of  King  Sigebert  the  Good,  re-established  the  see,  which  has  ever  since  con- 
tinued without  any  material  interruption  or  lengthened  vacancy. 

London  and  the  suburbs,  in  the  Middle  Ages,  contained,  according  to  Fitzstephen, 
"  13  churches  belonging  to  convents,  besides  126  lesser  parish  churches."  Of  those 
belonging  to  convents  eleven  may  be  traced.  Thus,  we  find  in  Fitzstephen's  time, 
Trinity  Priory,  Aldgatej  St.  Bartholomew's,  West  Smithfield;  Bermondsey,  South- 
wark ;  St.  James's  Priory,  Clerkenwell ;  the  Priory  of  St.  John  the  Baptist,  Holywell, 
Shoreditch ;  St.  Katharine's  Hospital  by  the  Tower ;  St.  Thomas  Aeon,  at  the  south- 
west corner  of  King-street,  Cheapside,  upon  the  site  of  the  birth-place  of  St.  Tbomas  k 
Becket ;  St.  John  of  Jerusalem,  Clerkenwell ;  the  Temple ;  St.  Mary  Overie,  South- 
wark;  and  St.  Martin's-le-Grand,  so  named  from  its  magnificence.  All,  except 
Bermondsey,  are  shown  in  Wyngrerde's  View  cf  London,  1543,  in  the  Sutherland 
Collection,  at  Oxford. 

Stow  states  the  entire  number  of  parish  churches  at  his  time  (1525 — 1605),  in  and 
about  London,  within  four  miles'  compass,  at  139.  Within  the  walls,  at  the  Great 
Fire,  there  were  98  churches,  of  which  85  were  burnt  down,  and  13  unburnt ;  53  were 
rebuilt,  and  35  united  to  ether  parishes. 

The  following  were  the  City  Churches  burnt  and  not  rebuilt  :— 

Allhallows,  Honey-lane;  near  the  City  School.  Alihallows  the  Less,  in  Thames-street,  near  Cole- 
harbour-lane,  graveyard  remains.  St.  Andrew  Hubbard,  near  to  the  site  of  the  Weigh  House  Chapel. 
St.  Ann,  Blackfriars,  Ireland-yard,  now  graveyard.  St.  Benet  Sherehog,  Pancras-lane,  near  Bucklers- 
bury,  now  graveyard.  St.  Botolph  Billingsgate,  over  against  Botolph-lane,  Thames-street ;  burying- 
ground,  and  the  site  built  upon.    St.  Faith  was  under  the  lien  of  the  late  Cathedral  of  St.  Paul's,  in  the 

f  round  of  which,  previous  to  the  Intramural  Act,  the  parishioners  had  a  right  of  interment.  St.  Gabriel, 
'enchurch,  in  Fenchurch-street,  graveyard  exists.  St.  Gregory,  in  St.  Paul's-ehurehyard,  near  where 
the  statue  of  Queen  Anne  now  stands.  St.  John  Baptist,  on  Dowgate-hill,  the  corner  of  Cloak-lane,  now 
graveyard.  St.  John  Evangelist,  in  Watling-street,  corner  of  Friday-street,  now  graveyard.  St. 
John  Zachary,  corner  of  Silver-street,  Falcon-square,  now  graveyard.  St.  Laurence  Pountney,  on  Lau- 
rence Pountney-hill,  now  graveyard.  St.  Leonard's,  Eastc'heap,  now  graveyard.  St.  Leonard, 
Foster-lane,  the  graveyard  part  of  the  site  of  the  General  Post  Office.  St.  Margaret  Moses,  in  Passiny:- 
alley,  late  a  burying-ground,  now  Little  Friday-street.  St.  Margaret,  New  Fish-street,  church  and  burial 
ground,  where  the  Monument  now  stands.  St.  Martin  Pomeroy,  in  Ironmonger-lane,  on  part  of  the 
ground  now  the  graveyard.  St.  Martin  Orgar,  in  St.  Martin's-lane,  where  there  is  now  a  French  Church, 
bt.  Martin's  Vintry,  College-hill,  Thames-street,  now  graveyard.  St.  Mary  Bothaw,  in  Turnwheel- 
lane,  now  graveyard.  St.  Mary  Colechurch,  in  Old  Jewry,  where  the  Mercers'  Hal  lwas,  and  Frederick- 
place  now  is.  St.  Mary  Magdalen,  Milk-street,  and  ground,  where  part  of  Honey-lane  Market  now  stands. 
St.  Mary  Mounthaw,  on  Labour-in-vain-hill,  now  graveyard.  St.  Mary  Staining,  on  the  north  side  of 
Oat-lane,  on  a  part  of  the  graveyard  remaining,  opposite  Titus  Oates'  House,  now  pulled  down.  St.  Mary 
AVoolchurch  and  graveyard,  where  the  Mansion  House  now  stands.  St.  Miehael-le-Querne,  near  Pater- 
noster-row, in  Cheapside,  where  a  conduit  formerly  stood.  St.  Nicholas  Aeons,  in  Nicholas-lane,  now 
graveyard.  St.  Nicholas  Olave,  in  Bread-street-hill,  now  graveyard.  St.  Olave,  Silver-street,  south  side 
of  Noble-street,  now  graveyard;  under  part  of  which  some  remains  of  the  church  have  been  discovered. 
St.  Pantras  Soper  lane,  in  Pancras-lane,  near  Queen-street,  where  is  the  graveyard.  St.  Peter  Cheap, 
corner  of  Wood-street,  Cheapside,  where  the  graveyard  still  remains,  and  where  the  plane-tree  still 
flourishes,  on  which  the  rooks,  till  lately,  annually  built  their  nests.  St.  Peter  Paul's-wharf,  at  the 
bottom  of  Peter's-hill,  Thames-street,  now  graveyard.  St.  Thomas  the  Apostle,  now  graveyard,  corner 
of  Cloak-lane.  The  Holy  Trinity  church,  where  there  is  now  a  Lutheran  church,  corner  of  Little  Trinity- 
lane.  St.  Christopher-le-Stocks  church,  in  Threadneedle-street,  pulled  down  in  1781,  for  the  enlarge- 
ment of  the  Bank  of  England. 

Pepys  records  this  odd  circumstance  concerning  the  London  churches  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire : 
"  January  7th,  1667-8.  It  is  observed,  and  is  true,  in  the  late  Fire  of  London,  that  the  fire  burned  just  as 
many  parish  churches  as  there  were  hours  from  the  beginning  to  the  end  of  the  lire ;  and  next  that 
there  were  just  as  many  churches  left  standing  in  the  rest  of  the  City  that  was  not  burned,  beiug,  I 
think,  thirteen  in  all  of  each;  which  is  pretty  to  observe." 

Sir  Christopher  Wren  built,  besides  St.  Paul's  and  the  western  towers  of  West- 
minster Abbey,  fifty  churches  in  the  metropolis,  at  sums  varying  from  less  than  2500?. 
to  upwards  of  15,000Z.  In  "  Gothic,"  or,  as  Wren  proposed  to  call  it,  "  Saracenic," 
architecture,  he  was  certainly  not  a  successful  practitioner ;  although  in  the  adaptation 
of  a  steeple  (a  form  peculiar  to  Pointed  architecture)  to  Roman  buildings,  he  has  mani- 
fested much  ingenuity,  and  produced  some  light  and  graceful  forms  of  almost  endless 
variety.  This  may  be  seen  by  reference  to  Mr.  Cockerell's  picturesque  grouping  of  the 
principal  works  of  Wren,  the  drawing  of  which  was  exhibited  at  the  Royal  Academy  in 
1838,  and  has  been  engraved  in  line  by  Richardson. 

In  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne  were  built  or  commenced  eleven  churches.  In 
the  next  two  reigns  were  completed  three  large  churches,  eacb  distinguished  by 
a  noble  Corinthian  portico :  viz.,  St.  George's,  Bloomsbury ;  St.  Martin's-in-the- 
Fields ;  and  St.  George's,  Hanover-square.     With  the  exception  of  St.  Peter-le-Poor 


& 


CHURCHES  AND   CHAPELS.  103 

(1791)  and  St.  Martin's  Outwich  (1796)  not  one  church  was  huilt  from  the  com- 
mencement of  the  reign  of  George  III.  nearly  to  the  Regency,  an  interval  of  more 
than  half  a  ceutury.  The  two  Grecian  orders,  Doric  and  Ionic,  were  then  adopted  in 
church- building ;  this  pseudo  classic-style  was  superseded  hy  the  Old  English  of  various 
periods.  The  increase  of  churches  did  not,  however,  keep  pace  with  the  population ; 
though  the  appeals  to  the  public  for  funds  were,  in  some  instances,  answered  with  rare 
munificence.  Thus,  in  the  subscription-list  in  1836  for  building  new  churches  we  find 
the  following  donation  :  "  A  clergyman  seeking  for  treasure  in  heaven,  5000£." 

In  1839,  Lord  John  Russell  stated  in  Parliament,  that  in  Loudon  there  were  34 
parishes,  with  a  population  of  1,170,000,  and  church  accommodation  for  only  101,000 ; 
and  in  these  34  parishes  were  only  69  churches,  and  including  proprietary  chapels,  only 
100  places  of  worship  in  the  whole;  whereas,  if  we  allot  a  church  to  every  3000,  there 
ought  to  be  379,  leaving  a  deficiency  of  279.  In  the  following  year,  1840,  the  Bishop 
of  London  remarked  to  the  House  of  Lords : — 

"  If  you  proceed  a  mile  or  two  eastward  of  St.  Paul's,  you  will  find  yourself  in  the  midst  of  a  popu- 
lation themost  wretched  and  destitute  of  mankind,  consisting  of  artificers,  labourers,  beggars,  and  thieves, 
to  the  amount  of  800,000  or  400,000  souls !  Throughout  this  entire  quarter  there  is  not  more  than  one 
church  for  10,000  inhabitants ;  and  in  one,  nay  in  two  districts,  there  is  but  one  church  for  45,000 
souls." 

The  Rev.  Dr.  Cumming  next  stated  that  in  a  radius  of  eight  miles  around  St.  Paul's 
there  was  a  population  of  two  millions,  of  whom  not  more  than  60,000  were  com- 
municants in  any  church  or  chapel  whatever.  Instead  of  five-eighths,  or  1,300,000, 
of  the  population  being  church-goers,  the  greatest  extent  of  attendance  at  any  place  of 
worship  did  not  exceed  400,000,  and  not  more  than  600,000  could  he  accommodated. 
In  a  small  district  of  Covent  Garden  there  were  354  houses :  338  were  of  the  most 
wretched  description ;  these  contained  1216  individuals,  of  whom  only  134  attended 
church ;  and  in  that  small  locality  there  were  no  fewer  than  44  shops  regularly  open 
on  the  Sabbath.  In  some  cases  there  was  a  population  of  100,000  in  the  parish,  with 
only  one  rector  and  one  curate.  The  above  startling  statistics  led  to  a  "Metropolis  ^ 
Churches  Fund,"  established  in  1836,  by  which  means  several  churches  have  been  built  ^  0 
and  provided  for. 

The  great  number  of  the  City  churches  is,  however,  now  disproportionate  to  its 
requirements.  In  1834,  Mr.  Lambert  Jones  stated  in  the  Court  of  Common 
Council,  that  the  population  of  the  City  had  within  a  century  decreased  one-half; 
that  the  number  of  inhabitants  did  not  then  exceed  53,000,  and  for  them  were  66 
churches.  The  population  of  the  City  may  now  be  set  down  at  55,000,  for  whom  there 
are  60  churches,  a  proportion  very  different  to  that  which  exists  in  other  parts  of  the 
metropolis.  At  St.  Mildred's,  Poultry,  on  a  Sunday  morning,  there  has  been  only 
one  person  to  form  a  congregation,  and  there  was,  consequently,  no  service.  By  a 
Parliamentary  return,  the  largest  income  is  2081Z.  9s.  4d.,  for  St.  Botolph,  Bishops- 
gate  ;  and  the  smallest  hut  one  is  401.,  for  St.  Helen,  Bishopsgate.  In  one  church 
(St.  Laurence  Jewry  and  St.  Mary  Magdalen,  Milk-street),  with  sittings  for  1000 
persons,  the  average  attendance  is  only  30.  At  another  church,  with  700  sittings,  the 
average  attendance  is  30.  In  1853,  the  congregations  were,  in  some  cases,  below  16, 
and  in  many  under  50  :  average  about  33.  Various  remedies  have  been  proposed,  as 
the  union  of  benefices,  and  the  removal  of  churches  to  ill-provided  parishes.  "  The 
Bishop  of  London's  Fund"  has  been  formed.  In  the  211  parishes  of  the  metropolis 
there  are  nearly  1,000,000  persons  for  whom  the  Church  of  England  ought  eventually 
to  provide,  which  is  sought  to  be  done  by  raising  a  fund  of  3,000,0002. 

*'  One  of  the  most  important  movements  of  our  time  originated  in  the  late  Bishop  of  London's  sense 
of  the  great  church  destitution  observable  principally  in  the  Bethnal-green  district,  which  became  even 
at  the  outset  metropolitan.  It  has  resulted  up  to  the  present  time  in  the  erection,  and  more  or  less 
complete  endowment,  of  no  less  than  seventy-eight  new  churches  in  and  near  London,  at  a  cost  of  more 
than  half  a  million ;  independently  of  seven  new  churches,  the  entire  erection  and  endowment  of  which 
by  seven  separate  individuals  (one  being  the  Bishop  himself),  is  wholly  attributable  to  the  impulse  de- 
rived from  the  appeal  made  to  the  public  on  the  first  formation  of  the  Metropolitan  Churches  Fund. 
This  is  a  great  achievement,  and  it  will  go  down  in  history  a  lasting  honour  to  Bishop  Blomfield's  name. 
Yet  it  is  remarkable  that  the  first  publication  of  this  great  design  very  nearly  coincided  in  point  of  time 
with  that  of  the  publication  of  the  first  Tracts  for  the  Times;  and  its  success  was  most  materially  aided 
by  the  munificent  zeal  with  which  Dr.  Pusey,  in  particular,  and  the  then  Oxford  residents  generally,  the 
Tract-writers  and  their  friends,  took  it  up  and  forwarded  it ;  but  it  was  the  Bishop's  conception  and 
execution." — The  Guardian. 


104  CuBIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


OLD  SAINT  PAUL'S. 

THE  present  Cathedral  of  St.  Paul  is  the  third  church  dedicated  to  that  saint,  and 
huilt  very  nearly  upon  the  same  site.  The  first  church  was  founded  ahout 
A.D.  610,  hy  Ethelbert,  King  of  Kent,  hut  destroyed  by  fire  in  1087.  Its  rebuilding 
was  commenced  by  Bishop  Maurice,  whose  successor  completed  the  enclosing  walls, 
which  extended  as  far  as  Paternoster-row  and  Ave  Maria-lane,  on  one  side  ;  and  to  Old 
Change,  Carter-lane,  and  Creed-lane  on  the  other.  This  second  church,  "  Old  Saint 
Paul's,"  was  built  of  Caen  stone:  it  was  greatly  injured  by  fire  in  1137 ;  but  a  new 
steeple  was  finished  in  1221,  and  in  1240  a  choir.  The  entire  edifice  was  690  feet 
long,  and  130  feetbroad;  and  its  tower  and  spire  rose  520  feet,  or  116  feet  higher 
than  the  spire  of  Salisbury  Cathedral ;  64  feet  loftier  than  that  of  Vienna ;  50  feet 
higher  than  that  of  Strasburg ;  surpassing  the  height  of  the  Great  Pyramid  of  Egypt ; 
and  higher  than  the  Monument  placed  upon  the  cross  of  the  present  Cathedral.  It 
had  a  bowl  of  copper-gilt,  9  feet  in  compass  (large  enough  to  hold  10  bushels  of  corn), 
supporting  a  cross  15^  feet  high,  surmounted  by  an  "  eagle-cock  of  copper-gilt,  4  feet 
long."  In  1314,  the  cross  fell ;  and  the  steeple  of  wood  covered  with  lead,  being 
ruinous,  was  taken  down,  and  rebuilt,  with  a  new  gilt  ball.  The  French  Chronicle 
notices  this  reparation,  and  describes  the  extraordinary  relics  which  were  found  in  the 
old  ball,  and  replaced,  with  additions,  in  the  new  one.  In  1444,  the  steeple  was  nearly 
destroyed  by  lightning,  and  not  repaired  till  1462.  In  1561,  the  Cathedral  was  partly 
burnt,  but  was  restored  in  1566,  except  the  spire,  which  was  never  rebuilt.  Heylin, 
in  his  Cosmography,  says  of  the  above  catastrophe : — 

"  It  was  by  the  carelessness  of  the  sexton  consumed  with  fire,  which  happening  in  a  thundering  and 
tempestuous  day,  was  by  him  confidently  affirmed  to  be  done  by  lightning,  and  was  so  generally  believed 
till  the  hour  of  his  death ;  but  not  many  years  since,  to  disabuse  the  world,  he  confessed  the  truth  of  it, 
on  which  discovery,  the  burning  of  St.  Paul's  steeple  by  lightning  was  left  out  of  our  common  almanacks, 
where  formerly  it  stood  among  the  ordinary  epochs  or  accounts  of  time." 

The  church  was  of  the  Latin  cross  form,  with  a  Lady  chapel  at  the  east  end,  and 
two  other  chapels,  St.  George's  north,  and  St.  Dunstan's  south.  At  the  eastern 
extremity  of  the  churchyard  stood  a  square  clocher,  or  bell-tower,  with  four  bells, 
rung  to  summon  the  citizens  to  folkmotes  held  here.  These  bells  belonged  to  St. 
Faith's  under  St.  Paul's,  a  church  so  situated,  hut  demolished  about  1256,  when  part 
of  the  crypt  beneath  the  Cathedral  choir  was  granted  to  'the  parishioners  for  divine 
service.  Hence  the  popular  story  in  our  time  of  there  being  a  church  under  St.  Paul's, 
and  service  in  it  once  a  year.  At  the  south-west  corner  was  the  parish  church  of  St. 
Gregory.  Fuller  wittily  describes  Old  St.  Paul's  as  being  "truly  the  mother-church, 
having  one  babe  in  her  body — St.  Faith's — and  another  in  her  arms — St.  Gregory's." 

On  the  south  side  of  the  Cathedral,  within  a  cloister,  was  a  chapter-house,  in  the 
Pointed  style;  and  on  the  north,  on  the  walls  of  another  cloister,  next  to  the  charnel- 
house,  was  a  "  Dance  of  Death,"  or,  as  Stow  calls  it,  *'  Death  leading  all  Estates, 
curiously  painted  upon  board,  with  the  speeches  of  Death,  and  answer  of  every  Estate," 
by  John  Lydgate.  It  was  painted  at  the  cost  of  John  Carpenter,  Town  Clerk  of 
London,  temp.  Henry  V.  and  VI. 

On  special  saints'  days  it  was  customary  for  the  choristers  of  the  Cathedral  to 
ascend  the  spire  to  a  great  height,  and  there  to  chant  solemn  prayers  and  anthems  : 
the  last  observance  of  this  custom  was  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Mary,  when,  "  after 
even-song,  the  quere  of  Paules  began  to  go  about  the  steeple  singing  with  lightes, 
after  the  olde  custome."  A  similar  tenure-custom  is  observed  to  this  day  at  Oxford, 
on  the  morning  of  May  1,  on  Magdalen  College  tower. 

Camden  relates,  that  on  the  anniversary  of  the  Conversion  of  St.  Paul,  January  25, 
held  in  the  church,  a  fat  buck  was  received  with  great  formality  at  the  choir  entrance 
by  the  canons,  in  their  sacerdotal  vestments,  and  with  chaplets  of  flowers  on  their 
heads;  whilst  the  antlers  of  the  buck  were  carried  on  a  pike  in  procession  round  the 
edifice,  with  horns  blowing,  &c.  On  the  buck  being  offered  at  the  high  altar,  one 
shilling  was  paid  by  the  Dean  and  Chapter. 


CHURCHES— OLD  SAINT  PAUL'S.  105 

St.  Baude,  in  lieu  of  twenty-two  acres,  bequeathed  a  fat  doe  in  winter,  and  a  buck 
in  summer,  which  was  received  at  the  altar  crowned  with  roses  by  the  chapter 
annually,  till  the  reign  of  Elizabeth. 

On  the  north  side  near  the  east  end  stood  Paul's  or  Towly's  Cross,  with  a  pulpit 
whence  sermons  were  preached,  the  anathema  of  the  Tope  thundered  forth,  heresies 
recanted,  and  sins  atoned  for. 

The  Cross  was  hexagonal  in  form  ;  of  wood,  raised  on  stone  steps,  with  a  canopy  covered  with  lead, 
on  which  was  elevated  a  cross.  Stow  could  not  ascertain  its  date  :  we  first  read  of  it  in  1259,  when, 
by  command  of  Henry  III.,  striplings  were  here  sworn  to  he  loyal :  and  in  the  same  year  the  folkmote 
Common  Hall  assembled  here  by  the  tolling  of  St.  Paul's  great  bell.  At  preaching  the  commonalty  sat 
in  the  open  air ;  the  king,  his  train,  and  noblemen  in  covered  galleries.  All  preachers  coming  from  a 
distance  had  an  allowance  from  the  Corporation,  and  were  lodged  during  five  days  "  in  sweete  and  con- 
venient lodgings,  with  fire,  candle,  and  all  necessary  food."  Bishop  Northburgh  lent  small  sums  to 
citizens  on  pledge,  directing  that  if  at  the  year's  end  they  were  not  restored,  then  that  "  the  preacher 
at  Paul's  Cross  should  declare  that  the  pledge,  within  fourteen  days  would  be  sold,  if  unredeemed."  An 
earthquake  overthrew  the  Cross  in  1382 ;   it  was  set  up  again  by  Bishop  Kemp  in  1419. 

Ralph  Baldoc,  Dean  of  Paul's,  cursed  from  the  Cross  all  persons  who  had  searched  in  the  church 
of  St.  Martin' s-in-the-Fields  for  a  hoard  of  gold.  In  1493,  Jane  Shore,  with  a  taper  in  one  hand,  and 
arrayed  in  her  "  kertell  onelj  e,"  did  open  penance  at  the  Cross.  In  the  same  year,  Dr.  Shaw  and  Friar 
Pinke  aided  the  traitorous  schemes  of  Duke  Richard;  the  preacher  took  for  his  text  these  words, 
"  Bastard  slips  shall  never  take  deep  root."  Stow  in  forms  us  that  the  Doctor  so  repented  his  "  shamefuf 
sermon  "  that  it  struck  him  to  the  heart,  and  "  within  a  few  days  he  withered  and  consumed  away." 
Friar  Pinke  lost  his  voice  while  preaching,  and  was  forced  to  leave  the  pulpit.  Royal  contracts  of  mar- 
riage were  notified  from  the  Cross.  Henry  VIII.  sent  preachers  to  the  Cross  every  Sunday  to  preach 
down  the  Pope's  authority.  In  1538,  Bishop  Fisher  exposed  at  the  Cross  the  famous  rood  ot  grace 
from  Boxlcy  Abbey.  From  his  attendance  there,  as  a  preacher,  Richard  Hooker  dated  the  miseries 
of  his  married  life.  Queen  Mary  caused  sermons  to  be  preached  at  the  Cross  in  praise  of  the  old 
religion,  but  they  occasioned  serious  riots. 

The  Cross  was  pulled  down  in  1643,  by  order  of  Parliament  j  its  site  was  long 
denoted  by  a  tall  elm  tree. 

The  interior  of  the  church  was  divided  throughout  by  two  ranges  of  clustered 
columns ;  it  had  a  rich  screen,  and  canopied  doorways ;  and  a  large  painted  rose- 
window  at  the  east  end.  The  walls  were  sumptuously  adorned  with  pictures, 
shrines,  and  curiously  wrought  tabernacles;  gold  and  silver,  rubies,  emeralds,  and 
pearls  glittered  in  splendid  profusion ;  and  upon  the  high  altar  were  heaped  countless 
stores  of  gold  and  silver  plate,  and  illuminated  missals.  The  shrine  of  St.  Erkenwald 
(the  fourth  bishop),  at  the  back  of  the  high  altar,  had'  among  its  jewels  a  sapphire, 
believed  to  cure  diseases  of  the  eye.  The  mere  enumeration  of  these  treasures  fills 
twenty-eight  pages  of  Dugdale's  folio  history  of  the  Cathedral.  King  John  of  France 
offered  at  St.  Erkenwald's  shrine;  King  Henry  III.  on  the  feast  of  St.  Paul's  Conver- 
sion, gave  1500  tapers  to  the  church,  and  fed  15,000  poor  in  the  garth,  or  close. 

There  are  several  notices  of  miracles  said  to  have  been  wrought  in  St.  Paul's  at  "  a 
tablet,"  or  picture,  set  up  by  Thomas  Earl  of  Lancaster,  who,  after  his  execution  at 
Pontefract,  was  reckoned  a  martyr  by  the  populace.  The  tablet  was  removed  by  royal 
order,  but  replaced  a  few  years  later.  At  the  base  of  one  of  the  pillars  was  sculp- 
tured the  foot  of  Algar,  the  first  prebendary  of  Islington,  as  the  standard  measure  for 
legal  contracts  in  land,  just  as  Henry  I.,  Eichard  1.,  and  John,  furnished  the  iron  ell 
by  their  arms.  On  the  north  side  of  the  choir,  "  on  whose  monument  hung  his  proper 
helmet  and  spear,  as  also  his  target  covered  with  horn  "  (Ifugdale),  stood  the  stately 
tomb  of  John  of  Gaunt,  Duke  of  Lancaster,  and  Blanche,  his  first  wife.  In  St. 
Dunstan's  chapel  was  the  fine  old  tomb  of  Henry  Lacy,  Earl  of  Lincoln,  from  whom 
Lincoln's  Inn  derives  its  name.  In  the  middle  aisle  of  the  nave  stood  the  tomb  of 
Sir  John  Beauchamp,  constable  of  Dover  Castle,  and  son  to  Guy  Beauchamp,  Earl 
of  Warwick.  Between  tbe  choir  and  south  aisle  was  a  noble  monument  to  Sir  Nicholas 
Bacon,  father  of  Lord  Chancellor  Bacon ;  and  "  higher  than  the  post  and  altar," 
(Bishop  Corbet),  between  two  columns  of  the  choir,  was  the  sumptuous  monument  of 
Sir  Christopher  Hatton ;  and  near  it  was  a  tablet  to  Sir  Philip  Sidney,  and  another  to 
his  father-in-law,  Sir  Francis  Walsingham,  The  stately  appearance  of  Hatton's  monu- 
ment and  the  plainness  of  Walsingham's  and  Sidney's  tablets,  gave  rise  to  this  epigram 
by  old  Stow  : — 

"Philip  and  Francis  have  no  tomb, 
For  great  Sir  Christopher  takes  all  the  room." 


106  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

In  the  south  aisle  of  the  choir  were  the  tombs  of  two  of  the  Deans  ;  Colet  the 
founder  of  Paul's  school,  a  recumbent  skeleton  ;  and  Dr.  Donne,  the  poet,  standing 
in  his  stony  shroud  :  the  latter  is  preserved  in  the  crypt  of  the  present  Cathedral.  In 
a  vault,  near  John  of  Gaunt's  tomb,  was  buried  Van  Dyck  ;  but  the  outbreak  of  the 
wars  under  Charles  I.,  prevented  the  erection  of  any  monument  to  his  memory.  The 
state  obsequies  were  a  profitable  privilege  of  the  Cathedral :  the  choir  was  hung  with 
black  and  escutcheons ;  and  the  herses  were  magnificently  adorned  with  banner-rolls 
and  other  insignia  of  vainglory. 

The  floor  of  the  church  was  laid  out  in  walks :  "  the  south  alley  for  usurye  and 
poperye;  the  north  for  simony  and  the  horse-fair;  in  the  midst  for  all  kinds  of  bar- 
gains, meetings,  brawlings,  murthers,  conspiracies,  &c."  The  middle  aisle,  "  Pervyse  of 
Paul's,"  or  "  Paul's  Walk,"  was  commonly  called  "  Duke  Humphrey's  Walk,"  from  Sir 
John  Beauchamp's  monument,  unaccountably  called  "  Duke  Humphrey's  Tomb,"  being 
the  only  piece  of  sculpture  here ;  and  as  this  walk  was  a  lounge  for  idlers  and  hunters 
after  news,  wits  and  gallants,  cheats,  usurers,  and  knights  of  the  post,  dinnerless  per- 
sons who  lounged  there  were  said  to  dine  with  Duke  Humphrey.  Here  "  each  lawyer 
and  serjeant  at  his  pillar  heard  his  client's  cause,  and  took  notes  thereof  upon  his 
knee."  (Dugdale's  Orig.  Jurid.)  Here  masterless  men,  at  the  Si  quis  door,  set  up 
their  bills  for  service.  Here  the  font  was  used  as  a  counter  for  payments.  Here  spur 
money  was  demanded  by  two  choristers  from  any  person  entering  the  Cathedral 
during  divine  service  with  spurs  on.  Hither  Fleetwood,  Recorder  of  London,  came 
"  to  learn  some  news"  to  convey  by  news-letter  to  Lord  Burghley.  Ben  Jonson  has 
laid  a  scene  of  his  Every  Man  out  of  his  Humour  in  "the  middle  aisle  in  Paule's;" 
Captain  Bobadil  is  a  "  Paul's  man  f  and  Falstaff  bought  Bardolph  in  Paul's.  Greene, 
in  his  Theeves  Falling  Out,  Sfc.,  says :  "  Walke  in  the  middle  of  Paul's,  and  gentlemen's 
teeth  walk  not  faster  at  ordinaries,  than  there  a  whole  day  together  about  enquiry 
after  news."  Bishop  Earle,  in  his  Microcosmographia,  1629,  says  :  "  Paul's  Walk  is 
the  Land's  Epitome,  or  you  may  call  it  the  lesser  He  of  Great  Brittaine.  *  *  *  *  The 
noyse  in  it  is  like  that  of  Bees,  in  strange  hummings  or  buzze,  mixt  of  walking, 
tongues,  and  feet;  it  is  a  kind  of  still  roare,  or  loud  whisper."  It  was  a  common 
thoroughfare  for  porters  and  carriers,  for  ale,  beer,  bread,  fish,  flesh,  fardels  of  stuff, 
and  "  mules,  horses,  and  other  beasts ;"  drunkards  lay  sleeping  on  the  benches  at  the 
choir-door ;  within,  dunghills  were  suffered  to  accumulate ;  and  in  the  choir  people 
walked  "  with  their  hatts  on  their  heddes."  Dekker,  in  his  Gull's  Hornbook,  tells 
us  that  the  church  was  profaned  by  shops,  not  only  of  booksellers,  but  of  other  trades, 
such  as  "  the  semster's  shops,"  and  "  the  new  tobacco  office."  So  great  had  the 
nuisances  become,  that  the  Mayor  and  Common  Council  in  1554,  prohibited,  by  fine, 
the  use  of  the  church  for  such  irreverent  purposes. 

The  desecration  of  the  exterior  of  the  church  was  more  abominable.  The  chantry 
and  other  chapels  were  used  for  stores  and  lumber,  as  a  school  and  a  glazier's  work- 
shop ;  parts  of  the  vaults  were  occupied  by  a  carpenter,  and  as  a  wine-cellar ;  and  the 
cloisters  were  let  out  to  trunkmakers,  whose  "  knocking  and  noyse"  greatly  disturbed 
the  church-service.  Houses  were  built  against  the  outer  walls,  in  which  closets  and 
window-ways  were  made  :  one  was  used  "  as  a  play-house,"  and  in  another  the  owner 
"  baked  his  bread  and  pies  in  an  oven  excavated  within  a  buttress ;"  for  a  trifling  fee, 
the  bell-ringers  allowed  wights  to  ascend  the  tower,  halloo,  and  throw  stones  at  the 
passengers  beneath.  The  first  recorded  Lottery  in  England  was  drawn  at  the  west 
door  in  1569.  Dekker  describes  "  Paul's  Jacks,"  automaton  figures,  which  struck  the 
quarters,  on  the  clock.  We  read,  too,  of  rope-dancing  feats  from  the  battlements  of 
St.  Paul's  exhibited  before  Edward  VI.,  and  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Mary,  who,  the  day 
before  her  coronation,  also  witnessed  a  Dutchman  standing  upon  the  weathercock  of 
the  steeple,  waving  a  five-yard  streamer  !  Another  marvel  of  this  class  was  the  ascent 
of  Bankes,  on  his  famous  horse  Marocco,  to  the  top  of  St.  Paul's,  in  the  year  1600,  to 
the  delight  of  "  a  number  of  asses"  who  brayed  below.  The  steed  was  "  a  middle- 
sized  bay  English  gelding,"  and  Bankes  was  a  vintner  in  Cheapside,  and  had  taught 
his  horse  to  count  and  perform  a  variety  of  feats.  When  the  novelty  had  somewhat 
lessened  in  London,  Bankes  took  his  wonderful  horse  to  Paris,  and  afterwards  to 


CHURCHES— ST.  PAUL'S  CATHEDRAL.  107 

Rome.  "  He  had  better  have  stayed  at  home,  for  both  he  and  his  horse  (which  was 
shod  with  silver)  were  burnt  for  witchcraft."  (Ben  Jonson's  Epigrams.)  Shakspeare 
alludes  to  "  the  dancing  horse"  (Lovefs  Labour  Lost) ;  and  in  a  tract  called  Maroccus 
Lxtaticus,  qto.,  1595,  there  is  a  rude  woodcut  of  the  unfortunate  juggler  and  his 
famous  gelding. — Cunningham's  Handbook. 

Several  attempts  were  made  to  restore  the  Cathedral ;  and  money,  Stow  says,  was 
collected  for  rebuilding  the  steeple ;  but  no  effectual  step  for  the  repairs  was  taken 
until  1633,  when  Inigo  Jones,  to  remove  the  desecration  from  the  nave  to  the  ex- 
terior, built,  it  is  stated  at  the  expense  of  Charles  I.,  at  the  west  end,  a  Corinthian 
^portico  of  eight  columns,  with  a  balustrade  in  panels,  upon  which  he  intended  to  have 
placed  ten  statues :  this  portico  was  200  feet  long,  40  feet  high,  and  50  feet  deep; 
but  its  classic  design,  affixed  to  a  Gotbic  church,  must  be  condemned,  unless  it  be  con- 
sidered as  an  instalment  of  a  new  cathedral.  Laud  was  then  Bishop  of  London.  The 
sum  collected  was  101,3302. ;  and  the  repairs  progressed  until  about  one-third  of  the 
money  was  expended,  in  1642,  when  they  were  stopped  by  the  contests  between 
Charles  and  his  people :  the  funds  in  hand  were  seized  to  pay  the  soldiers  of  the 
Commonwealth,  and  Old  St.  Paul's  was  made  a  horse-quarter  for  troops. 

Shortly  after  the  Restoration,  the  repairs  were  resumed  under  Sir  John  Denham ; 
and  "  that  miracle  of  a  youth,"  Wren,  drew  plans  for  the  entire  renovation.  A  com- 
mission was  appointed,  but  before  the  funds  were  raised,  the  whole  edifice  was  destroyed 
in  the  Great  Fire : — 

"The  daring  flames  peep'd  in,  and  saw  from  far 

The  awful  beauties  of  the  sacred  quire; 
But  since  it  was  profan'd  by  civil  war, 
Heav'n  thought  it  fit  to  have  it  purg'd  by  fire." 

Dryden's  Annus  Mirabilis. 
Evelyn  thus  records  the  catastrophe  :— 

"I  was  infinitely  concerned  to  find  that  goodly  church,  St.  Paul's,  now  a  sad  ruin,  and  that  beautiful 
portico  (for  structure,  comparable  to  any  in  Europe)  now  rent  in  pieces,  flakes  of  vast  stone  split  asunder, 
but  nothing  remaining  entire  but  the  inscriptions,  showing  by  whom  it  was  built,  which  had  not  one 
letter  defaced.  It  was  astonishing  to  see  what  immense  stones  the  heat  had  in  a  manner  calcined,  bo 
that  all  the  ornaments  flew  off,  even  to  the  very  roof,  where  a  sheet  of  lead  covering  a  great  space  was 
totally  melted.  The  lead  over  the  altar  at  the  east  end  was  untouched,  and  among  the  monuments  the 
body  of  one  bishop  remained  entire." 

According  to  Dugdale,  this  was  the  corpse  of  Bishop  Braybrooke,  which  had  been 
inhumed  260  years,  being  "  so  dried  up,  the  flesh,  sinews,  and  skin  cleaving  fast  to  the 
bones,  that  being  set  upon  the  feet  it  stood  as  still  as  a  plank,  the  skin  being  tough 
like  leather,  and  not  at  all  inclined  to  putrefaction,  which  some  attributed  to  the 
sanctity  of  the  person  offering  much  money." 

In  the  Great  Fire  the  church  was  reduced  to  a  heap  of  ruins ;  and  books  valued  at 
150.000Z.,  which  had  been  placed  in  St.  Faith's  (the  crypt)  for  safety  by  the  stationers 
of  Paternoster-row,  were  entirely  destroyed.  After  the  Fire,  Wren  removed  part  of 
the  thick  walls  by  gunpowder,  but  most  he  levelled  with  a  battering-ram ;  some  of  the 
stone  was  used  to  build  parish  churches,  and  some  to  pave  the  neighbouring  streets. 
Tradition  tells  that  Serjeants'  Inn,  Fleet-street,  being  then  ecclesiastical  property,  was 
not  forgotten  in  the  distribution  of  the  remains  of  Old  St.  Paul's ;  and  there  remained 
to  our  day  a  large  number  of  blocks  of  Pur  beck  stone,  believed  to  have  formed  part  of 
the  old  Cathedral. 

The  west  end  of  the  old  church  was  not  taken  down  till  1686.  In  the  same  year  a 
great  quantity  of  old  alabaster  was  beaten  into  powder  for  making  cement.  Those 
fragments  were,  doubtless,  monumental  effigies  or  other  ornaments  of  the  old  church. 
In  1688  the  tower  was  pulled  down,  and  162  corpses  taken  from  its  cemetery  and  re- 
buried  at  the  west  end  of  the  old  foundation,  at  6c?.  each. 

ST.  PAUL'S  CATHEDRAL. 

NEARLY  eight  years  elapsed  after  the  Great  Fire  ere  the  ruins  of  the  old  Cathedral 
were  cleared  from  the  site.  Meanwhile,  Wren  was  instructed  "  to  contrive  a 
fabric  of  moderate  bulk,  but  of  good  proportion;  a  convenient  quire,  with  a  vestibule 
and  porticoes,  and  a  dome  conspicuous  ahove  the  houses."  A  design  was  accordingly 
prepared,  octagonal  in  plan,  with  a  central  dome  and  cupolettas,  and  affording  a  vast 


103 


CUBIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


number  of  picturesque  combinations,  as  shown  in  the  model,  preserved  to  this  day.  It 
is  of  wood,  and  some  10  feet  in  height  to  the  summit  of  the  dome ;  it  is  thus  large 
enough  to  walk  bodily  into  it.  Wren  aimed  at  a  design  antique  and  well  studied,  con- 
formable to  the  best  style  of  the  Greek  and  Koman  architecture.  The  model  is  accu- 
rately wrought,  and  carved  with  all  its  proper  ornaments,  consisting  of  one  order,  the 
Corinthian  only.  The  model,  after  the  finishing  of  the  new  fabric,  was  deposited  over 
the  Morning  Prayer  Chapel,  on  the  north  side.  Wren's  model  had  neither  side  aisles 
nor  oratories,  though  they  were  afterwards  added,  because  as  Spence,  in  his  Anecdotes, 
imagines,  the  Duke  of  York  (James  II.)  considered  side  aisles  would  be  an  absolute, 
necessity  in  a  cathedral  where  he  hoped  the  Romish  ritual  would  soon  be  practised.* 
These  innovations  sadly  marred  the  uniformity  of  the  original  design,  and  when  de- 
cided upon,  drew  tears  of  vexation  from  the  architect.  He  was  paid  160  guineas  only 
for  the  model.  The  Surveyor  next  devised  "  a  cathedral  form,  so  altered  as  to  recon- 
cile, as  near  as  possible,  the  Gothic  to  a  better  manner  of  architecture ;"  which  being 

approved,  Charles  II.  issued 
his  warrant  for  commenc- 
ing the  works  May  1, 1675. 
In  digging  the  foundation, 
a  vast  cemetery  was  dis- 
covered, in  which  Britons, 
Romans,  and  Saxons  had 
been  successively  buried ; 
and  on  digging  deeper, 
marine  shells  were  found, 
thus  proving  that  the  sea 
once  flowed  over  the  site 
of  the  jyesent  cathedral. 
Wren   did    not,    however, 

" — -"'  find  any  remains  to  support 

Relative  positions  of  the  Old  and  Xew  Cathedrals.  t]ie  tradition  of  a   Roman 

temple  to  Diana  having  once  occupied  this  spot.     The  accompanying  ground-plan  shows 
the  relative  positions  of  the  Old  and  New  Cathedrals. 

The  first  stone  of  the  new  church  was  laid  June  21,  1675,  by  the  architect  and  his 
lodge  of  Freemasons ;  and  the  trowel  and  mallet  then  used  are  preserved  in  the  Lodge 
of  Antiquity,  of  which  Wren  was  master.  The  mallet  has  a  silver  plate  let  into  the 
head ;  and  it  bears  this  inscription : — 

"  By  Order  of  the  M.  W.  the  Grand  Master, 
His  Royal  Highness  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  &(?.,  &c, 

and  W.  Master  of  the  Lodge  of  Antiquity, 

and  with  the  Concurrence  of  the  Brethren  of  the 

Lodge,  this  plate  has  been  engraved  and  affixed 

to  this  Malikt.    A.L.  5831,  A.D.  1827. 

To  commemorate  that  this,  being  the  same  Mallet  with  which 

His  Majesty  King  Charles  the  Skcokd 

levelled  the  foundation  Stone  of 

St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  A.L.  5677,  A.D.  1673, 

was  presented  to  the  Old  Lodge  of  St.  Paul's, 

now  the  Lodge  of  Antiquity, 

acting  by  immemorial  Constitution. 

Bx  Brother  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  R.W.D.G.M., 

Worshipful  Master  of  the  Lodge, 

and  Architect  of  that  Edifice." 

Portland  stone  had  been  selected,  principally  on  account  of  the  large  scantlings 
procurable  from  those  quarries,  and  yet  no  blocks  of  more  than  four  feet  in  diameter 
could  be  procured.  This  led  to  the  choice  of  two  orders  of  architecture,  with  an  attic 
story  like  that  of  St.  Peter's  at  Rome,  that  the  just  proportions  of  the  cornice  might 
be  preserved. 

In  commencing  the  works,  Wren  accidentally  set  out  the  dimensions  of  the  dome 
upon  a  piece  of  a  gravestone  inscribed  Resurgam  (I  shall  rise  again) ;  which  pro- 
pitious circumstance  is  commemorated  in  a  Phoenix  rising  from  the  flames,  with  the 
motto  Resurgam,  sculptured  by  Cibber  in  the  pediment  over  the  southern  portico. 
In  1678  Wren  set  out  the  piers  and  pendentives  of  the  dome. 


CHURCHES— ST.  PAUL'S  CATHEDRAL. 


109 


During  the  building,  the  Commissioners,  with  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  issued  the  following  very- 
proper  order : — 

"  Whereas,  among  labourers,  &c.,  that  ungodly  custom  of  swearing  is  too  frequently  heard,  to  the 
dishonour  of  God  and  contempt  of  authority ;  and  to  the  end,  therefore,  that  such  impiety  may  be 
utterly  banished  from  these  works  intended  for  the  service  of  God  and  the  honour  of  religion,  it  is 
ordered  that  customary  swearing  shall  be  sufficient  crime  to  dismiss  any  labourer  that  comes  to  the 
call;  and  the  clerk  of  the  works,  upon  sufficient  proof,  shall  dismiss  them  accordingly.  And  if  any 
master,  working  by  task,  shall  not  upon  admonition,  refrain  this  profanation  among  his  apprentices, 
servants,  and  labourers,  it  shall  be  construed  his  fault,  and  he  shall  be  liable  to  be  censured  by  the' 
Commissioners.    Dated  26th  September,  1695." 

By  1685,  the  walls  of  the  choir  and  its  side  aisles,  and  the  north  and  south  semi- 
circular porticoes,  were  finished ;  the  piers  of  the  dome  were  also  Drought  up  to  the 
same  height.  On  Dec.  2,  1697,  the  choir  was  opened  on  the  day  of  Thanksgiving  for 
the  peace  of  Ryswick,  when  Bishop  Burnet  preached  before  King  William.  On  Feb.  1, 
1699,  the  Morning  Prayer  Chapel,  at  the  north-west  angle,  was  opened;  and  in  1710 
the  son  of  the  architect  laid  the  last  stone — the  highest  slab  on  the  top  of  the 
lantern. 

There  is  a  strange  story  of  a  conspiracy  against  Queen  Anne,  who  was  to  have  been 
crushed  to  death  in  St.  Paul's ;  the  screws  of  some  part  of  the  building  being  loosened 
beforehand  for  the  purpose,  and  intended  to  be  removed  when  she  should  come  to  the 
Cathedral,  and  thus  overwhelm  her  in  the  fall. 

Notices  of  this  imaginary  plot  will  be  found  in  Boyer's  Annals  of  Queen  Anne,  Nov.  9, 1710,  and 
in  Oldmixon's  Hist,  of  England,  f.  452.  The  latter  states,  that  "Mr.  Secretary  St.  John  had  not 
been  long  in  office  before  lie  gave  proofs  of  his  fitness  for  it,  by  inserting  an  advertisement  in  the 
Gazette  of  some  evil-designing  persons  having  unscrewed  the  timbers  of  the  west  roof  of  the  cathedral. 
Upon  this  foundation,  Mrs.  Abigail  Masham  affirmed  that  the  screws  were  taken  away  that  the  cathe- 
dral might  tumble  upon  the  heads  of  the  Court  on  the  Thanksgiving-day,  when  it  was  supposed  her 
Majesty  would  have  gone  thither.  But  upon  inquiry,  it  appeared  that  the  missing  of  the  iron  pins  was 
owing  to  the  neglect  of  some  workmen,  who  thought  the  timber  sufficiently  fastened  without  them ; 
and  the  foolishness,  as  well  as  malice,  of  this  advertisement  made  people  more  merry  than  angry." 

Thus,  the  whole  edifice  was  finished  in 
thirty-five  years;  under  one  architect,  Sir 
Christopher  Wren ;  one  master-mason,  Mr. 
Thomas  Strong ;  and  while  one  Bishop, 
Dr.  Henry  Compton,  occupied  the  see.  For 
his  services,  Wren  obtained,  with  difficulty, 
200?.  per  annum  !  "  and  for  this,"  said  the 
Duchess  of  Marlborough,  "  he  was  content 
to  be  dragged  up  in  a  basket  three  or  four 
times  a  week."  The  fund  raised  for  the 
rebuilding  amounted,  in  ten  years,  to 
216,000?.;  a  new  duty  laid  on  coals  for 
this  purpose  produced  5000?.  a  year ;  and 
the  King  contributed  10,000?.  annually. 

Exterior. — St.  Paul's  occupies  very  nearly 
the  site  of  the  old  Cathedral,  in  the  centre 
and  most  elevated  part  of  the  City ;  though 
its  highest  point,  the  cross,  is  36  feet  lower 
than  the  Castle  Tavern,  on  Hampstead 
Heath.  The  plan  of  the  Cathedral  is  a  Latin 
cross,  and  bears  a  general  resemblance  to 
that  of  St.  Peter's.  Its  length,  from  the 
east  to  the  west  wall,  is  500  feet;  north 
to  south,  250  feet ;  width,  125  feet,  except 
at  the  western  end,  where  two  towers,  and 
chapels  beyond,  make  this,  the  principal 
front,  facing  Ludgate-hill,  about  180  feet 
in  width.  The  chapels  are,  the  Morning 
Prayer,  north;  and  the  Consistory  Court, 
south. 

The  exterior  generally  is  of  two  orders, 
100  feet  in  height — the  upper  Composite, 


Ground  Plan  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral.— A.  Nave. 
B.  Great  Dome.  C.  North  Transept.  D.  South 
Transept.    E.  Choir. 


110  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

and  the  lower  Corinthian ;  and  the  surface  of  the  church  is  Portland  stone,  rusticated 
or  grooved  throughout.  At  the  east  end  is  a  semicircular  recess,  containing  the  altar. 
At  the  west  end,  a  noble  flight  of  steps  ascends  to  a  double  portico  of  coupled 
columns,  twelve  in  the  lower,  Corinthian ;  and  eight  in  the  upper,  Composite ;  termi- 
nated by  a  pediment,  in  the  tympanum  of  which  (61  feet  long  and  17  feet  high)  is  the 
Conversion  of  St.  Paul,  sculptured  in  pretty  high  relief  by  Bird ;  on  the  apex  is  a 
colossal  figure  of  St.  Paul,  and  on  the  right  and  left,  St.  Peter  and  St.  James.  Beneath 
the  lower  portico  are  the  doors,  and  above  them  a  sculptured  group,  in  white  marble, 
of  St.  Paul  preaching  to  the  Bereans.  This  double  portico  has  been  much  censured: 
Wren  pleaded  that  he  could  not  obtain  stone  of  sufficient  height  for  the  shafts  of  one 
grand  portico ;  "  but,"  says  Mr.  Joseph  Gwilt,  "  it  would  have  been  far  better  to  have 
had  the  columns  in  many  pieces,  and  even  with  vertical  joints,  than  to  have  placed  one 
portico  above  another."  At  the  extremities  of  this  front  rise,  220  feet,  two  campanile 
towers,  terminating  in  open  lanterns,  "  covered  with  domes  formed  by  curves  of 
contrary  flexure,  and  not  very  purely  composed,  though,  perhaps,  in  character  with  the 
general  facade."  (Gwilt.)  Each  dome  has  a  gilt  pine-apple  at  the  apex  :  the  south 
tower  contains  the  clock,  and  the  north  is  a  belfry ;  and  in  the  west  faces  are  statues 
of  the  four  Evangelists.  At  the  northern  and  southern  ends  of  the  transepts,  the  lower 
order,  Corinthian,  is  continued  into  porticoes  of  six  fluted  columns,  standing,  in  plan,  on 
the  segment  of  a  circle,  and  crowned  with  a  semi-dome.  In  the  upper  order  are  two 
pediments,  the  south  sculptured  with  the  Phoenix,  and  the  north  with  the  royal  arms 
and  regalia ;  and  on  each  side  are  five  statues  of  the  Apostles.  The  main  building  ts 
surmounted  with  a  balustrade,  not  in  Wren's  design,  the  obtrusion  of  which  by  the 
Commissioners  caused  the  architect  to  say :  "  I  never  designed  a  balustrade ;  ladies 
think  nothing  well  without  an  edging." 

The  Cathedral  was  scientifically  secured  from  lightning,  according  to  the  suggestion  of  the  Royal 
Society,  in  1769.  The  seven  iron  scrolls  supporting  the  ball  and  cross  are  connected  with  other  rods 
(used  merely  as  conductors),  which  unite  them  with  several  large  bars  descending  obliquely  to  the 
stone-work  of  the  lantern,  and  connected  by  an  iron  ring  with  four  other  iron  bars  to  the  lead  covering 
of  the  great  cupola,  a  distance  of  forty-eight  feet;  thence  the  communication  is  continued  by  the  rain- 
water pipes  to  the  lead-covered  roof,  and  thence  by  lead  water-pipes  which  pass  into  the  earth ;  thus 
completing  the  entire  communication  from  the  cross  to  the  ground,  partly  through  iron  and  partly 
through  lead.  On  the  clock-tower  a  bar  of  iron  connects  the  pine-apple  at  the  top  with  the  iron  stair- 
case, and  thence  with  the  lead  on  the  roof  of  the  church.  The  bell-tower  is  similarly  protected.  By  these 
means  the  metal  used  in  the  building  is  made  available  as  conductors ;  the  metal  employed  merely  for 
that  purpose  being  exceedingly  small  in  quantity. — (Times,  Sept.  8, 1842,  abridged.) 

The  height  to  the  top  of  the  cross  is  thrice  the  height  of  the  roof,  or  365  feet  from 
the  ground,  356  from  the  floor  of  the  church,  and  375  from  that  of  the  crypts.  In 
most  accounts  the  height  is  stated  404  feet,  which  may  be  taken  from  the  bottom 
of  the  foundations,  or  the  level  of  the  Thames.  In  height  it  stands  third,  exceeding 
the  Pantheon  by  70  feet ;  about  equalling  St.  Sophia,  but  falling  short  of  the  Florence 
cupola  by  50  feet,  and  of  St.  Peter's  by  150. — Weale's  London,  p.  186. 

The  following  account  of  the  constructive  details  is  from  Mr.  Joseph  Gwilt's 
Lncyclopadia  of  Architecture : — 

"  The  entrances  from  the  transepts  lead  into  vestibules,  each  communicating  with  the  centre,  and  its 
aisles  formed  between  two  massive  piers  and  the  walls  at  the  intersections  of  the  transepts  with  the 
choir  and  nave.  The  eight  piers  arc  joined  by  arches  springing  from  one  to  the  other,  so  as  to  form  an 
octagon  at  their  springing  points ;  and  the  angles  between  the  arches,  instead  of  rising  vertically,  sail 
over  as  they  rise  and  form  pendentives,  which  lead,  at  their  top,  into  a  circle  on  the  plan.  Above  this 
a  wall  rises  in  the  form  of  a  truncated  cone,  which,  at  the  height  of  168  feet  from  the  pavement, 
terminates  in  a  horizontal  cornice,  from  which  the  interior  dome  springs.  Its  diameter  is  100  feet,  and 
it  is  60  feet  in  height,  in  the  form  of  a  paraboloid.  Its  thickness  is  18  inches,  and  it  is  constructed  of 
brickwork.  From  the  haunches  of  this  dome,  200  feet  above  the  pavement  of  the  church,  another  cone 
of  brickwork  commences,  85  feet  high,  and  94  feet  diameter  at  the  bottom.  This  cone  is  pierced  with 
apertures,  as  well  for  the  purpose  ot  diminishing  its  weight  as  for  distributing  light  between  it  and  the 
outer  dome.  At  the  top  it  is  gathered  into  a  dome,  in  the  form  of  a  hyperboloid,  pierced  near  the 
vertex  with  an  aperture  12  feet  in  diameter.  The  top  of  this  cone  is  285  feet  from  the  pavement,  and 
carries  a  lantern  55  feet  high,  terminating  in  a  dome,  whereon  a  ball  and  (aveline)  cross  is  raised.  The 
last-named  cone  is  provided  with  corbels,  sufficient  in  number  to  receive  the  hammer-beams  of  the 
external  dome,  which  is  of  oak,  and  its  base  220  feet  from  the  pavement, — its  summit  being  level  wi'h 
the  top  of  the  cone.  In  form  it  is  nearly  hemispherical,  and  generated  by  radii  57  feet  in  length,  whose 
centres  are  in  a  horizontal  diameter,  passing  through  its  base.  The  cone  and  the  interior  dome  are 
restrained  in  their  lateral  thrust  on  the  supports  by  four  tiers  of  strong  iron  chains  (weighing  95  cwt. 
3  qrs.  23  lbs.),  placed  in  grooves  prepared  for  their  reception,  and  run  with  lead.  The  lowest  of  these 
is  inserted  in  the  masonry  round  their  common  base,  and  the  other  three  at  different  heights  on  the 
exterior  of  the  cone.  Externally,  the  intervals  of  the  columns  and  pilasters  are  occupied  by  windows 
and  niches,  with  horizontal  and  semicircular  heads,  and  crowned  with  pediments. 


CHURCHES— ST.  PAUL'S  CATHEDRAL.  Ill 

"  Over  the  intersection  of  the  nave  and  transepts  for  the  external  work,  and  for  a  height  of  25  feet 
above  the  roof  of  the  church,  a  cylindrical  wall  rises,  whose  diameter  is  146  feet.  Between  it  and  the 
lower  conical  wall  was  a  space,  but  at  intervals  they  are  connected  by  cross  walls.  This  cylinder  is 
quite  plain,  but  perforated  by  two  courses  of  rectangular  apertures.  On  it  stands  a  peristyle  of  thirty 
columns  of  the  Corinthian  order,  40  feet  high,  including  bases  and  capitals,  with  a  plain  entablature 
crowned  by  a  balustrade.  In  this  peristyle,  every  fourth  intercolumniation  is  filled  up  solid,  with  a 
niche,  and  connexion  is  provided  between  it  and  the  wall  of  the  lower  cone.  Vertically  over  the 
base  of  that  cone,  above  the  peristyle,  rises  another  cylindrical  wall,  appearing  above  the  balustrade.  It  is 
ornamented  with  pilasters,  between  which  are  two  tiers  of  rectangular  windows.  From  this  wall  the 
external  dome  springs.  The  lantern  receives  no  support  from  it.  It  is  merely  ornamental,  differing 
entirely  in  that  respect  from  the  dome  of  St.  Peter's.  Externally  the  dome  is  of  wood,  covered  with 
lead;  at  its  summit  is  The  Golden  Gallery  (with  gilt  railing),  where  the  lantern  commences. 

"  The  interior  of  the  nave  and  choir  are  each  designed  with  three  arches  longitudinally  springing  from 
piers,  strengthened,  as  well  a3  decorated,  on  their  inner  faces  by  an  entablature,  whose  cornice  reigns 
throughout  the  nave  and  church.  Above  this  entablature,  and  breaking  with  it  over  each  pilaster,  is  a 
tall  attic,  from  projections  on  which  spring  semicircular  arches  which  are  formed  into  arcs  doubleaux. 
Between  the  last,  pendentives  are  formed,  terminated  by  horizontal  cornices.  Small  cupolas  of  less 
height  than  their  semi-diameter,  are  formed  above  these  cornices.  In  the  upright  plane  space  on  the 
■walls  above  the  main  arches  of  the  nave,  choir,  and  transepts,  a  clerestory  is  obtained  over  the  attic 
order,  whose  form  is  generated  by  the  rising  of  the  pendentives." 

Mr.  Wightwick,  in  a  paper  read  to  the  Institute  of  British  Architects,  says  : — 

"  It  was  by  command  of  the  Popish  Duke  of  York,  that  the  north  and  south  chapels,  near  the  west- 
ern end,  were  added,  to  the  reduction  of  the  nave  aisles,  and  the  lamentable  injury  of  the  return  fronts  of 
the  two  towers,  which  therefore  lost  in  apparent  elevation,  by  becoming  commingled  with  pieces  of  pro- 
jecting facade  on  the  north  and  south  sides.  Thus  were  produced  the  only  defects  in  the  longitudinal 
fronts  of  the  church.  The  independence  of  the  towers  is  destroyed ;  their  vertical  emphasis  oblite- 
rated ;  and  a  pair  of  excrescences  is  the  consequence  which  it  were  well  to  cut  away.  All  that  could  be 
done  to  diminish  the  evil  was  accomplished;  but  no  informed  eye  can  view  the  perspective  of  the  Cathe- 
dral from  the  north-west  or  south-west,  without  seeing  how  no  architect,  who  only  admitted  a 
•variety  of  uniformities,'  could  have  intentionally  formed  a  distinct  component  in  an  exterior  of  other- 
wise uniform  parts,  by  a  tower  having  only  one  wing,  and  that,  too,  flush  with  its  face !  With  this  ex- 
ception, the  general  mass  of  the  cathedral  is  faultless,  i.e.,  as  the  result  of  a  conciliation  between  the 
architect's  feeling  for  the  Roman  style,  and  his  compelled  obedience  to  the  shape  prescribed.  With  this 
consideration  the  grand  building  under  notice  must  be  judged.  This  it  is  which  excuses  the  application 
of  the  upper  order  as  a  mere  screen  to  conceal  the  clerestory  and  flying  buttresses ;  for  it  must  be  ad- 
mitted that  uninterrupted  altitude  of  the  bulk,  in  the  same  plane,  is  absolutely  necessary  to  the  sub- 
structure of  the  majestic  dome,  which  is  indeed  the  very  crown  of  England's  architectural  glory.  The 
four  projections  which  fill  out  the  angles  formed  by  the  intersecting  lines  of  the  cross,  finely  buttress 
up  the  mountain  of  masonry  above  ;  and  the  beautiful  semicircular  porticoes  of  the  transepts  still  fur- 
ther carry  out  the  sentiment  of  stability. 

"  As  to  the  dome  in  itself,  it  stands  supreme  on  earth.  The  simple  stylobate  of  its  tambour ;  its  unin- 
terrupted peristyle,  charmingly  varied  by  occasionally  solid  intervening  masonry,  so  artfully  masking 
the  buttress-work  as  to  combine  at  once  an  appearance  of  elegant  lightness  with  the  visible  means  of  con- 
fident security ;  all  these,  with  each  subsequently  ascending  feature  of  the  composition,  leave  us  to 
wonder  how  criticism  can  have  ever  spoken  in  qualified  terms  of  Wren's  artistic  proficiency. 

"The  western  front  must  be  criticised  as  illustrating,  in  great  measure,  a  Gothic  idea  Romanized. 
Instead  of  twin  spires  (as  at  Lichfield),  we  have  two  pyramidal  piles  of  Italian  detail ;  instead  of  the 
high-pointed  gable  between,  we  have  the  classic  pediment,  as  lofty  as  may  be ;  the  coupled  columns  and 
pilasters  answer  to  the  Gothic  buttresses ;  and  a  minute  richness  and  number  of  parts,  with  picturesque 
breaks  in  the  entablatures  (though  against  the  architect's  expressed  principles),  are  introduced  in  com- 
pliance with  the  general  aspect  and  vertical  expression  of  the  Gothic  facade." 

The  ascent  to  the  Whispering  Gallery  is  by  260  steps ;  to  the  outer,  or  highest 
Golden  Gallery,  560  steps :  and  to  the  Ball,  616  steps. 

The  Library,  in  the  gallery  over  the  southern  aisle,  was  formed  by  Bishop  Compton, 
whose  portrait  it  contains.  Here  are  about  7000  volumes,  besides  some  manuscripts 
belonging  to  Old  St.  Paul's.  The  room  has  some  fine  brackets,  and  pilasters  with 
flowers,  exquisitely  carved  by  Gibbons ;  and  the  floor  consists  of  2300  pieces  of  oak, 
parquetted,  or  inlaid  without  nails  or  pegs.  At  the  end  of  this  gallery  is  a  Geometrical 
Staircase,  of  110  steps,  built  by  Wren,  for  private  access  to  the  Library.  In  crossing 
thence  to  the  northern  gallery,  a  fine  view  is  gained  of  the  entire  vista  of  the  Cathe- 
dral from  west  to  east.  You  then  reach  the  Model  Room,  where  are  Wren's  first 
design  for  St.  Paul's,  and  some  of  the  tattered  flags  formerly  suspended  beneath  the 
dome.  Keturning  to  the  southern  gallery,  a  staircase  leads  to  the  south-western  cam- 
panile tower,  where  is  the  Clock  Room. 

The  Clock  is  remarkable  for  the  magnitude  of  its  wheels,  and  fineness  of  works, 
and  cost  300L  It  was  made  by  Langley  Bradley  in  1708 :  it  has  two  dial-plates,  one 
south,  the  other  west ;  each  is  51  feet  in  circumference,  and  the  hour-numerals  are 
2  feet  2\  inches  in  height.  The  minute-hands  are  9  feet  8  inches  long,  and  weigh 
75  lbs.  each ;  and  the  hour-hands  are  5  feet  9  inches  long,  and  weigh  44  lbs.  each. 
The  pendulum  is  16  feet  long,  and  the  bob  weighs  180  lbs. ;  yet  it  is  suspended  by  a 
spring  no  thicker  than  a  shilling :  its  beat  is  2  seconds — a  dead  beat,  30  to  a  minute, 
instead  of  60. 


112  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  Clock, " going  eight  days,"  strikes  the  hour  on  the  Great  Bell*  suspended 
about  40  feet  from  the  floor :  the  hammer  lies  on  the  outside  brim  of  the  hell ;  it  lias 
a  large  head,  weighs  145  lbs.,  is  drawn  by  a  wire  at  the  back  part  of  the  clockwork, 
and  falls  again  by  its  own  weight  upon  the  bell.  The  clapper  weighs  180  lbs.  The 
hour  struck  by  this  clock  has  been  heard,  in  the  silence  of  midnight,  on  the  terrace  of 
Windsor  Castle.  {See  p.  45.)  Below  the  Great  Bell  are  two  smaller  bells,  on  which 
the  clock  strikes  the  quarters  :  the  larger  of  these  weighs  24  cwt.  2  qrs.  25  lbs. :  the 
smaller,  12  cwt.  2  qrs.  9  lbs.     The  northern  tower  contains  the  bells  tolled  for  prayers. 

The  Whispering  Gallery  is  reached  by  returning  towards  the  dome,  and  again 
ascending.  Here  a  low  whisper,  uttered  on  one  side,  may  be  distinctly  heard  at 
the  opposite  side,  of  the  gallery.     The  phenomenon  is  thus  explained  by  Dr.  Paris : — 

"  M  shows  the  situation  of  the  mouth  of  the  speaker,  and  E  that  of 
the  ear  of  the  hearer.  Now  since  sound  radiates  in  all  directions,  a  part 
of  it  will  proceed  directly  from  M  to  E,  while  other  rays  of  it  will  proceed 
from  M  to  u,  and  from  M  to  z,  &c. ;  but  the  ray  that  impinges  upon  « 
will  be  reflected  to  E,  while  that  which  first  touches  z  will  be  reflected 
to  y  and  from  thence  to  E  ;  and  so  of  all  intermediate  rays,  which  are 
omitted  in  the  figure  to  avoid  confusion.  It  is  evident  therefore,  that 
the  sound  at  E  will  be  much  stronger  than  if  it  had  proceeded  immedi- 
ately from  M  without  the  assistance  of  the  dome ;  for,  in  that  case,  the 
rays  at  z  and  u  would  have  proceeded  in  straight  lines,  and  consequently 
could  never  have  arrived  at  the  point  E." — Philosophy  in  Sport  made 
Science  in  Earnest,  p.  310. 

The  organ,  built  by  Bernard  Schmydt,  in  1694,  at  a  cost  of  2000?.,  was  originally 
placed  upon  the  wrought-iron  screen  which  separates  the  choir  from  the  nave,  where 
it  marred  the  full  effect  of  the  imposing  architectural  merits  of  the  edifice.  From 
Dr.  Rimbault's  clever  book  on  The  Organ  we  learn  that  Sir  Christopher  Wren  himself 
was  averse  from  placing  it  over  the  screen.     There  it  is  stated : — 

"  In  consequence  of  the  reputation  which  '  Father  Smith'  had  acquired  by  these  instruments,  he 
was  made  choice  of  to  build  an  organ  for  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  then  in  the  course  of  erection.  A  place  was 
accordingly  fitted  up  for  him  in  the  Cathedral  to  do  the  work  in,  but  it  was  a  long  time  before  he  could 
proceed  with  it,  owing  to  a  contention  between  Sir  Christopher  Wren  and  the  Dean  and  Chapter.  Sir 
Christopher  Wren  wished  the  organ  to  be  placed  on  one  side  of  the  choir,  as  it  was  in  the  old  Cathedral, 
that  the  whole  extent  and  beauty  of  the  building  might  be  had  at  one  view.  The  Dean,  on  the 
contrary,  wished  to  have  it  at  the  west-end  of  the  choir ;  and  Sir  Christopher,  after  using  every  effort 
and  argument  to  gain  his  point,  was  at  last  obliged  to  yield.  Smith,  according  to  his  instructions, 
began  the  organ,  and  when  the  pipes  were  finished  found  that  the  case  was  not  spacious  enough  to  con- 
tain them  all;  and  Sir  Christopher,  tender  of  his  architectural  proportions,  would  not  consent  to  let  the 
case  be  enlarged  to  receive  them,  declaring  the  beauty  of  the  building  to  be  already  spoilt  by  the  box 
of  whistles." 

Steele  suggested,  in  a  paper  in  the  Spectator,  that  the  organ  should  be  placed  over 
the  great  west  entrance,  and  be  constructed  on  so  majestic  a  scale  as  to  resound 
throughout  the  whole  of  the  Cathedral.  It  has  been  removed  to  the  first  arch  from 
the  altar  on  the  north  side  of  the  choir,  the  position  chosen  by  Wren  himself,  as 
shown  in  a  drawing  lately  discovered,  and  preserved  among  the  Cathedral  records.  This 
instrument,  though  deservedly  regarded  as  a  chef-d'oeuvre  at  the  time  of  its  completion, 
was  singularly  deficient  in  most  of  the  mechanical  appliances  for  an  easy  and  effective 
performance  now  in  vogue  in  organs  of  comparatively  recent  date.  An  enormous 
organ,  built  for  the  Alhambra,  Leicester-square,  has  also  been  placed  in  the  south 
transept :  it  is  intended  for  the  use  of  the  Special  Evening  Services,  and  the  Annual 
Services  under  the  dome. 

The  Monuments  (exceeding  forty)  have  been  for  the  most  part  voted  by  Parliament 
in  honour  of  naval  and  military  officers  j  there  are  a  few  also  to  authors  and  artists, 
and  philanthropists.  But,  in  general,  while  civil  eminence  has  been  commemorated  in 
Westminster  Abbey,  St.  Paul's  has  been  made  a  Pantheon  for  our  heroes.  At  the 
entrance  of  the  choir  is  a  colossal  statue  of  John  Howard,  with  an  inscription  by 
Samuel  Whitbread,  this  being  the  first  monument  erected  in  the  church  (1796)  ;  at  a 
corresponding  point  is  a  colossal  statue  of  Dr.  Johnson,  the  inscription  by  Dr.  Parr  : 
both  statues  are  by  Bacon,   R.A. :    Howard  with  his  keys,  is  often  mistaken  for  St. 

*  The  New  Great  Tom  of  Lincoln,  cast  in  1834,  is  6  cwt.  heavier  than  the  Great  Bell  of  St.  Paul's. 
Its  tone  is  generally  considered  to  be  about  the  same  as  that  of  St.  Paul's,  but  sweeter  and  softer.  Mr. 
E.  B.  Denison,  however,  "thinks  St.  Paul's  far  the  best  of  the  four  large  bells  of  England,  though  it  is 
the  smallest  of  them,  being  about  5  tons ;  while  York  is  12,  Lincoln  b\,  and  Oxford  7t,  which  last  is  a 
remarkably  bad  bell."— Treatise  on  Clock  and  Watch  Making,  1850. 


CHURCHES— ST.  PAUL'S  CATHEDRAL.  113 

Peter ;  and  Johnson,  with  his  scroll,  for  St.  Paul.  Near  Howard  is  a  statue  of  Hallam, 
the  historian,  by  Theed.  At  opposite  piers  are  statues  of  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds,  by 
Flaxman,  R.A.,  and  Sir  William  Jones,  by  Bacon,  R.A.  Under  the  great  choir  arch  is 
a  monument  to  Lord  Nelson,  by  Flaxman ;  the  statue  is  characteristic,  but  the  figures 
about  the  pedestal  are  absurd.  Opposite  is  a  monument  to  Lord  Cornwallis,  by  Rossi, 
R.A. :  the  Indian  river  gods  are  most  admired.  In  the  south  transept  are  monuments 
to  Sir  Ralph  Abercrombie  and  Lord  Collingwood,  by  Sir  R.  Westmacott,  R.A.,  and 
to  Lord  Howe,  by  Flaxman,  R.A. ;  statue  of  Lord  Heathfield,  by  Rossi,  R.A. ; 
monument  to  Sir  John  Moore,  by  Bacon,  R.A.;  statue  of  Sir  W.  Hoste,  by  Campbell ; 
and  Major-General  Gillespie,  by  Chantrey,  R.A.  In  the  north  transept,  the  principal 
are  monuments  to  Lord  Rodney  and  to  Captains  Mosse  and  Riou,  by  Rossi,  R.A.  j 
Capt.  Westcott,  by  Banks,  R.A. ;  Gen.  Ponsonby,  a  graceful  composition,  by  Baily, 
R.A. ;  Major-Gen.  A.  Gore  and  J.  B.  Skerrett,  by  Chantrey,  R.A. ;  statue  of  Earl  St. 
Vincent,  by  Baily,  R.A. ;  Gen.  Picton,  who  fell  at  Waterloo,  by  Gahaghan ;  Admiral 
Duncan,  an  elegant  figure,  by  Sir  R.  Westmacott,  R.A. ;  Major-Gen.  Dundas,  by  Bacon, 
R.A. ;  and  the  Hon.  Monntstuart  Flphinstone,  the  historian  of  India,  by  M.  Noble. 

In  the  south  aisle  of  the  Nave  is  a  monument  to  Dr.  Middleton,  the  first  Protestant 
Bishop  of  India,  by  Lough ;  and  in  the  south  aisle  of  the  Choir  is  a  kneeling  figure  of 
Bishop  Heber,  by  Chantrey,  R.A.  Here  also  are  two  statues — Sir  Astley  Cooper,  by 
Baily,  R.A. ;  and  Dr.  Babington,  by  Behnes.  Opposite  is  a  statue  of  Admiral  Lord 
Lyons,  by  M.  Noble.  Two  of  the  finest  and  most  touching  works  here  are  Chantrey's 
battle-piece  monuments  to  Colonel  Cadogan,  mortally  wounded  at  the  battle  of  Vittoria ; 
and  Major-General  Bowes,  slain  at  the  head  of  his  men  at  the  storming  of  Salamanca  : 
these  are  poetic  pictures  of  carnage  closing  in  victory.  Near  the  great  northern 
entrance  are  statues,  by  G.  G.  Adams,  of  Sir  Charles  Napier,  the  hero  of  Scinde ;  and 
Sir  William  Napier,  the  historian  of  the  Peninsular  War;  and  in  the  north  aisle  of 
the  Nave  is  the  memorial  to  Viscount  Melbourne — two  angels,  sculptured  by  Marochetti. 

The  Crypt  is  now  used  only  as  a  place  of  interment.  In  the  south  aisle,  on  the  site  of 
the  ancient  high  altar,  is  the  grave  of  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  covered  by  a  flat  stone,  the 
English  inscription  upon  which  merely  states  that  he  died  in  1723,  aged  91 :  suspended 
on  the  adjoining  wall  is  a  tablet  bearing  the  Latin  epitapb : 

Subtus  eonditur  hujus  ecclesise  et 
Urbis  conditor,  Christopher  Wren, 
Qui  visit  annus  ultra  nonaginta, 
Non  sibi  sed  bono  publico.    Lector, 
Si  monumentum  requiris, 
Circumspice. 
Obiit  XXV.  Feb.,  Anno  MDCCXXIII.,  aetat.  91. 
Beneath  lies  Christopher  "Wren,  builder  of  this  church  and  City,  who  lived  upwards  of  ninety  years, 
not  for  himself  but  for  the  public  good.  Reader,  if  thou  wouldst  search  for  his  monument,  look  around. 

Next  Wren's  remains  are  those  of  his  son;  and  here  is  a  tablet  in  memory  of 
his  granddaughter,  aged  95 :  Sir  Christopher  was  91,  and  his  son  97.  Here  are  the 
graves  of  our  great  painters.  It  has  been  remarked  :  "  if  Westminster  Abbey  has  its 
Poets'  Corner,  so  has  St.  Paul's  its  Painters'  Comer.  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds's  statue,  by 
Flaxman,  is  here,  and  Reynolds  himself  lies  buried  here;  and  Barry,  and  Opie,  and 
Lawrence  are  around  him ;  and,  above  all,  the  ashes  of  the  great  Van  Dyck  are  in  the 
earth  under  the  Cathedral."  (C  E.  Leslie,  M.A.)  On  December  30,  1851,  the 
remains  of  J.  M.  W.  Turner,  our  greatest  landscape-painter,  were  laid  next  the  grave 
of  Reynolds ;  George  Dance,  the  architect,  and  the  last  survivor  of  the  original  forty 
of  the  Royal  Academy,  also  lies  here,  with  Fuseli ;  and  the  Presidents,  West,  and 
Martin  Archer  Shee.  The  grave  of  Dr.  Boyce,  next  to  Purcell,  perhaps,  the  greatest 
English  musician,  is  also  here ;  with  the  altar-tombs  of  Robert  Mylne,  the  architect  of 
the  first  Blackfriars  Bridge;  and  John  Rennie,  who  designed  the  present  London 
Bridge. 

In  the  middle  of  the  Crypt,  under  an  altar-tomb,  Jan.  9,  1806,  were  deposited  the 
remains  of  the  great  Nelson  :  they  were  placed  beneath  a  black  marble  sarcophagus 
made  by  order  of  Cardinal  Wolsey,  but  left  unused  in  the  tomb-house  adjoining  St. 
(ieorge's  Chapel,  Windsor.  It  is  surmounted  with  a  viscount's  coronet  upon  a  cushion ; 
on  the  pedestal  is  inscribed,  "  Horatio  Viscount  Nelson."  The  coffin,  made  from  part 
of  the  mainmast  of  the  ship  L' Orient,  which  blew  up  at  the  battle  of  the  Nile,  was 

I 


114  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

presented  to  Nelson  by  his  friend  Ben  Hallowell,  captain  of  the  Siviftsure.  Nelson's 
Hag  was  to  have  been  placed  with  the  coffin ;  but  just  as  it  was  about  to  be  lowered, 
the  sailors  who  had  borne  it,  moved  by  one  impulse,  rent  it  in  pieces,  each  keeping  a 
fragment.  Lord  Collingwood,  as  he  requested,  was  laid  near  Nelson,  beneath 
a  plain  altar-tomb ;  and  opposite  lies  Lord  Northesk,  distinguished  at  Trafalgar. 

On  the  day  of  the  funeral  of  the  great  Duke  of  Wellington,  Nov.  18,  1852,  his 
coffin  was  placed  on  the  top  of  the  sarcophagus  which  covered  the  remains  of  Nelson, 
the  coronet  and  cushion  of  the  Viscount  having  been  previously  removed  ;  and  here  the 
coffin  of  the  Duke  remained  nearly  two  years,  inclosed  by  a  wood  casing.  The  Duke's 
coffin  was  then  (in  1854)  removed  to  the  middle  of  a  square  chamber  about  forty  feet 
eastward,  almost  immediately  under  the  entrance  to  the  choir  of  the  church,  in  which 
compartment  of  the  crypt  no  interment  had  previously  taken  place.  Meanwhile,  the 
Duke's  tomb  was  prepared  from  the  design  of  Mr.  Penrose,  the  conservating  architect 
of  the  Cathedral.  The  material  is  porphyry,  from  Luxalyan  in  Cornwall,  and  a  huge 
block,  originally  weighing  seventy  tons.  This  has  been  sculptured  into  a  grand  and 
simple  sarcophagus  form.  Upon  one  side  is  inscribed  "  Arthur,  Duke  of  Wellington  ;" 
and  on  the  opposite  side,  "  Born  May,  1769 ;  died  Sept.  14, 1852."  At  each  end,  and 
upon  the  porphyry  boss,  is  an  heraldic  cross,  which,  and  the  inscriptions,  are  in  gold  out- 
line. The  sarcophagus  is  placed  upon  a  massive  basement  of  Aberdeen  granite,  and 
at  each  corner  is  sculptured  the  head  of  a  guardian  lion.  Within  the  sarcophagus  is 
deposited  the  rich  coffin  of  the  Duke,  and  upon  it  the  coronet  and  cushion,  and  over 
it  the  porphyry  lid,  hermetically  sealed.  The  floor  of  this  compartment  of  the  crypt 
is  laid  with  Minton's  tiles ;  and  in  each  of  the  four  angles  is  a  candelabrum  of 
polished  red  granite,  surmounted  by  a  ball,  from  which  rise  the  gas-jets  to  light  the 
place.  As  you  stand  at  the  left-hand  corner,  looking  westward,  the  sarcophagus  of 
Nelson  is  seen  in  the  distance,  and  that  of  Wellington  in  the  foreground.  This  view 
of  the  tombs  of  two  of  England's  most  illustrious  heroes  at  one  glance  is  impressive. 

In  another  compartment  of  the  Crypt  is  deposited  the  State  Car  upon  which  the  body 
of  Wellington  was  conveyed  to  the  cathedral  at  his  funeral. 

1.  The  Car  and  its  equipments  consisted  of  the  coffin  at  the  summit,  uncovered,  and  upon  it  the  cap, 
sword,  &c. ;  beneath  a  canopy  of  rich  tissue,  supported  by  halberds.  2.  The  bier,  covered  with  a  black 
velvet  pall,  diapered  with  the  Duke's  crest,  and  Field  Marshal's  baton  across,  fringed  with  laurel  leaves, 
and  the  legend  "  Blessed  are  the  dead  which  die  in  the  Lord," — the  whole  worked  in  silver.  3.  The  plat- 
form of  the  car,  inscribed  with  the  names  of  the  Duke's  victories ;  and  at  the  four  sides  military 
trophies  of  modern  arms,  helmets,  guns,  flags,  and  drums,  real  implements,  furnished  by  the 
Board  of  Ordnance.  The  whole  is  placed  on  a  carriage  richly  ornamented  with  bronze  figures 
of  Fame,  holding  palms,  panels  of  Fame,  lions'  heads,  and  the  Duke's  arms.  Attached  to  the  Car  are 
model  horses  three  abreast,  with  velvet  housings  embroidered  with  the  Duke's  arms.  The  whole  was 
designed  by  the  Department  of  Practical  Art :  its  merits,  were  grandeur,  solemnity,  and  reality  :  coffin, 
bier,  trophies,  and  metal  carriage,  were  all  real.  The  public  are  admitted  to  see  the  tomb,  and  the 
funeral  car,  for  a  small  fee,  to  defray  the  expense  of  gaslights  and  attendants. 

In  June,  1859,  the  remains  of  General  Sir  Thomas  Picton  were  removed  from 
the  burial-ground  of  St.  George's  Chapel,  Bayswater-road,  to  St.  Paul's  Cathe- 
dral, and  there  deposited  in  the  Crypt,  nearly  adjoining  the  tomb  of  Wellington. 

The  north  aisle  of  the  Crypt  is  appropriated  to  the  parishioners  of  St.  Faith, 
as  a  place  of  sepulture,  from  whom  the  Dean  and  Chapter  receive  a  trifling  gratuity 
for  each  body  there  interred.  Beneath  the  semicircular  apsis  are  deposited  all  that 
remain  of  the  monuments  saved  from  the  old  cathedral. 

The  Inner  Dome  (which  Wren  intended  to  have  lined  with  mosaic)  is  plastered  on 
the  under  side,  and  painted  by  Sir  James  Thornhill  with  events  in  the  life  of  St.  Paul : 
1,  His  Conversion ;  2,  The  Punishment  of  Elymas  the  Sorcerer ;  3,  Cure  of  the  Cripple 
at  Lystra ;  4,  Conversion  of  the  Gaoler ;  5,  Paul  Preaching  at  Athens ;  6,  Burning  of 
the  Books  at  Ephesus ;  7,  Paul  before  Agrippa ;  8,  Shipwreck  on  the  Isle  of  Melita. 
For  these  paintings  Thornhill  received  only  40*.  per  square  yard  !  Putting  on  one 
side  the  vital  error  hi  the  general  arrangement,  whereby  the  endeavour  is  made  by 
painting  to  transform  the  cupola  into  a  drum  of  upright  walls,  the  pictures,  about  40 
feet  high,  are  works  of  merit,  and  the  heads  are  painted  with  much  force :  the  figures 
are  each  from  14  to  16  feet  high.  In  1853,  the  restoration  of  the  plaster- work,  and 
repainting  of  the  pictures,  were  commenced  by  Mr.  Parris,bvaidof  shifting  scaffolding 
and  platforms  and  wire-ropes,  ingeniously  constructed  for  the  purpose ;  the  medium 
used  by  Mr.  Parris  being  encaustic,  his  own  "  marble  medium,"  and  the  tone  of  the 


CHURCHES— ST.  PAUL'S  CATHEDRAL.  115 

pictures  being  much  heightened.  This  labour  occupied  Mr.  Parris  three  years,  slung 
in  an  aerie  at  from  1G0  to  200  feet  high.  The  paintings  are  best  seen  from  the 
Whispering  Gallery,  by  the  flood  of  lisrht  which  flows  from  the  lantern  through  the 
opening  at  the  crown  of  the  dome.  When  looking  down  into  the  church  from  this 
point,  men  seem  but  as  children,  and  the  immensity  of  the  structure  is  altogether  best 
felt.     From  the  Whispering  Gallery  we  ascend  to 

The  Stone  Gallery,  outside  the  base  of  the  dome,  where  the  gigantic  height  of  the 
figures  (11  feet)  on  the  western  pediment,  and  the  outlines  of  the  campanile  towers, 
are  very  striking.  There  is  a  second  outer  gallery,  still  below  the  base  of  the  dome ; 
and  thence  you  ascend  to 

The  Outer  Golden  Gallery  (regilt  in  1845,  at  a  cost  of  68?.),  at  the  summit  of  the 
dome;  the  Inner  Golden  Gallery  being  at  the  base  of  the  lantern.  Through  this  the 
ascent  is  by  ladders,  to  the  small  dome  immediately  below  the  inverted  consoles  which 
support 

The  Ball  and  Cross :  ascending  through  the  iron-work  in  the  centre,  we  look 
into  the  dark  Ball,  which  is  6  feet  2  inches  in  diameter,  and  will  hold  eight  persons ; 
its  weight  is  5600  pounds  :  thence  to  the  Cross  is  39  feet ;  the  Cross,  which  is  solid,  is 
3360  pounds  weight.  The  Ball  and  Cross  have  been  renewed,  and  re-gilt  within 
thirty  years  from  that  date.  In  1862  (Exhibition  year),  the  vergers'  receipts  for 
showing  the  Crypt  and  Ball,  amounted  to  1160?. 

The  View  from  the  Outer  Golden  Gallery  is  very  minute :  the  persons  in  the 
streets  below  "  appear  like  mice ;"  London  seems  little  else  than  a  dense  mass  of  house- 
tops, chimneys,  and  spires ;  the  Thames  being  conspicuous  from  its  glittering  surface, 
but  the  bridges  appearing  as  dark  lines  across  at  intervals.  Here,  and  at  the  higher 
points,  in  clear  weather,  the  metropolis  is  seen  as  in  a  map,  with  the  country  20  miles 
round.  The  north  division  of  London  rises  gently  from  the  Thames,  to  Hampstead  and 
Highgate.  On  the  east  and  west  are  fertile  plains  extending  at  least  20  miles,  and 
watered  by  the  Thames.  On  the  south  the  view  is  bounded  by  the  high  grounds  of 
Richmond,  Wimbledon,  Epsom,  Xorwood,  and  Blackheath  ;  terminating  in  the  horizon 
by  Leith  Hill,  Box  Hill,  and  the  Beigate  and  Wrotham  hills.  Shooter's  Hill  is  con- 
spicuous eastward,  and,  in  a  more  easterly  direction,  parts  of  Epping  Forest  and  other 
wooded  uplands  of  Essex. 

When  Mr.  Horner,  in  1821-2,  made  his  sketches  for  the  Great  View  of  London, 
painted  at  the  Colosseum,  he  built  for  himself  an  observatory  upon  the  Cross  of  St. 
Paul's.  He  describes  the  strange  scene  from  this  lofty  summit  at  three  o'clock  in 
the  morning  as  very  impressive ;  for  here  he  frequently  beheld  "  the  Forest  of  London" 
without  any  indication  of  animated  existence.  It  was  interesting  to  mark  the  gradual 
symptoms  of  returning  life,  until  the  rising  sun  vivified  the  whole  into  activity,  bustle, 
and  business.  In  high  winds,  the  creaking  and  whistling  of  the  scaffolding  resembled 
those  of  a  ship  labouring  in  a  storm ;  and  once  Mr.  Horner's  observatory  was  torn  from 
its  fastenings,  and  turned  partly  over  the  edge  of  the  platform.* 

Churchyard. — The  enclosed  ground-plot  of  the  Cathedral  is  2  acres  16  perches  70 
feet.  In  the  area  before  the  west  front,  marking  the  site  of  St.  Gregory's  Church,  is 
the  statue  of  Queen  Anne,  with  figures,  by  Bird,  of  Britain,  France,  Ireland,  and 
America,  at  the  comers  of  the  pedestal.     Garth  wrote  some  bitter  lines  upon  this  group : 

"France  above  with  downcast  eyes  is  seen, 
The  sad  attendant  of  so  good  a  queen." 

Her  Majesty's  nose  was  struck  off  by  a  lunatic,  about  a  century  ago,  and  was  not  repaired 
for  many  years.  The  Churchyard  is  enclosed  with  a  dwarf  stone  wall,  on  which  is  a 
noble  iron  balustrade,  5  feet  6  inches  high ;  there  are  in  it  seven  ornamental  gates, 
which,  with  the  2500  rails,  weigh  200  tons  81  lbs.  They  were  designed  by  M. 
Tijoue,  and  cast  at  Gloucester  Furnace,  Lamberhurst,  in  Kent >  they  cost  6d.  per 
pound,  and  with  other  charges,  amounted  to  11,202/.  Os.  6d.     The  cost  of  the  Church 

*  An  accident  somewhat  more  perilous  befel  Mr.  Gwyn,  when  measuring  the  top  of  the  dome  for  a 
section  of  the  Cathedral.  While  intent  on  his  work  his  foot  slipped,  and  he  slid  down  the  convex  sur- 
face of  the  dome  until  his  descent  was  fortunately  obstructed  by  a  small  projecting  piece  of  the  lead, 
lie  thus  remained  until  released  from  the  impending  danger  by  one  of  his  assistants,  who  providentially 
discovered  his  awful  situation.— Mr.  Horner's  Narrative. 

I  2 


116  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

was  736,752/.  2*.  3d. ;  in  all,  747,954/.  2s.  9d.,  equal  to  1,222,437/.  present  money. 
Nine-tenths  of  this  sum  were  raised  by  a  tax  on  coals  received  into  the  port  of 
London. 

The  admission-fee  originated  in  "  the  Stairs-foot  Money,"  fixed  by  Jennings,  the 
carpenter,  in  1707  ;  the  proceeds  of  which  were  applied  to  the  relief  of  those  men  to 
whom  accidents  happened  during  the  progress  of  the  works.  In  1819,  the  sum  received 
from  visitors  to  the  body  of  the  Cathedral,  at  2d.  each,  was  430/.  3s.  8c/.,  which  vas 
divided  among  the  four  vergers.     This  fee  is  now  discontinued. 

Nearly  opposite  the  North  Door  of  St.  Paul's  Churchyard  is  the  Convocation  or 
Chapter  House  of  the  Cathedral,  where  a  kind  of  clerical  parliament  is  summoned 
with  every  new  Imperial  Parliament.  The  Chapter  is  composed  of  a  Dean  and  four 
Canons,  or  Prebends,  12  Minor  Canons,  6  Lay  Vicars,  and  12  Choristers.  There 
are  30  Prebendary  Stalls,  or  Honorary  Canonries ;  they  are  of  great  antiquity,  having 
been  founded  by  Gregory  the  Great  himself.  Two  of  the  brightest  wits  of  their  day, 
the  Rev.  Sydney  Smith  '(Peter  Plymley),  d.  1845,  and  the  Rev.  R.  H.  Barbara  (Thomas 
Ingoldsby),  d.  1845,  were  at  the  same  period  Canons  of  St.  Paul's.  In  1849,  the  Rev.  H. 
H.  Milman  (the  poet)  was  appointed  Dean,  an  office  hitherto  held  by  the  Bishop  of'Llan- 
daff  for  the  time  being.  The  Lord  Mayor's  chaplain  is  the  preacher  on  all  State  holi- 
days ;  viz.,  30th  January,  29th  May,  20th  June,  and  5th  November,  on  the  first 
Sunday  in  term,  and  the  anniversary  of  the  Great  Fire  of  1666. 

The  State  processions  to  St.  Paul's  have  been  very  imposing.  Queen  Anne  came 
yearly  to  return  thanks  for  the  brilliant  successes  of  Marlborough,  who  carried  the 
sword  of  state  before  Her  Majesty;  as  did  Wellington  before  the  Prince  Regent,  on  the 
day  of  Thanksgiving  for  Peace  in  1814.  George  III.  went  to  St.  Paul's,  to  return  public 
thanks  for  his  recovery  from  derangement,  in  1789 ;  and  in  1797,  in  Thanksgiving  for 
naval  victories.  The  last  procession  of  this  kind  was  on  Nov.  29,  1820,  when  Queen 
Caroline  went  to  St.  Paul's  in  Thanksgiving  for  her  deliverance  from  the  Bill  of  Pains 
and  Penalties. 

The  Cathedral  is  the  scene  of  other  impressive  celebrations:  as  the  Anniversary- 
Festival  of  the  Sons  of  the  Clergy,  in  May,  preceded  by  sacred  music  by  Handel,  Boyce, 
Atwood,  and  others,  aided  by  the  choirs  of  St.  Paul's,  Westminster  Abbey,  and  the 
Chapel  Royal.  The  great  annual  gathering  of  the  Charity  children,  about  8000  in 
number,  is  held  here  in  June,  the  amphitheatre  of  seats  being  erected  under  the  great 
dome :  the  effect  of  the  grouping  of  the  children  ranged  in  their  rows  of  seats,  tier 
above  tier,  with  the  banners  of  their  various  schools  placed  in  order  in  the  uppermost 
circle  of  the  amphitheatre,  is  remarkably  striking.  The  attendance  of  the  Judges  and 
other  law  officers,  and  civic  authorities,  is  another  impressive  service. 

"  For  external  elegance/'  says  Mr.  Gwilt,  "  we  know  no  church  in  Europe  which 
exhibits  a  cupola  comparable  with  that  of  St.  Paul's ;  though  in  its  connexion  with  the 
church  by  an  order  higher  than  that  below  it,  there  is  a  violation  of  the  laws  of  the  art. 
While,  notwithstanding  its  inferior  dimensions  (it  would  stand  within  St.  Peter's),  the 
external  appearance  of  St.  Paul's  has  been  preferred  by  many  to  that  of  St.  Peter's,  it 
is  admitted  by  all  that  the  interior  of  the  English  cathedral  will  bear  no  comparison 
with  that  of  the  Roman.  The  upward  view  of  the  dome  of  St.  Paul's,  however,  conveys 
an  impression  of  extraordinary  magnificence  :  though  not  so  elevated  as  St.  Peter's,  it 
is  still  very  lofty  :  the  form  of  the  concave,  which  approaches  considerably  nearer  to 
that  of  a  circle — the  height  being  equal  to  a  diameter  and  a  half,  while  in  St.  Peter's 
it  is  equal  to  two  diameters — has  also  been  considered  more  beautiful  than  that  of  its 
rival."  The  crossing  of  Ludgate  Hill  by  a  railway  viaduct  interferes  materially  with 
the  view  of  St.  Paul's.  Mr.  Penrose,  the  architect,  remarks : — "  About  180  yards  east- 
ward of  Temple  Bar,  the  dome  of  St.  Paul's  begins  to  be  seen,  and,  when  fully  opened 
out  a  little  further  on,  presents  a  combination,  unsurpassed  in  Europe,  with  the  exqui- 
site campanile  of  St.  Martin's  and  the  suggested  access  to  the  Cathedral  by  the  winding 
street.  It  is  true  that  the  viaduct  does  not  thus  far  hide  any  part  of  the  Cathedral, 
but  it  obtrudes  itself  on  the  sight,  and  destroys  the  spectator's  pleasure  in  the  view 
almost  as  effectually.  But  from  about  60  yards  before  reaching  Farringdon-street  it 
actually  hides  more  or  less  of  the  western  facade,  and  gives  in  exchange  nothing  but  its 
deep  sides  and  cavernous  soffit,  at  least  40  feet  wide." 


CHURCHES,— WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  117 


In  defence  of  this  obstruction  it  was  objected  that  already  the  steeple  of  St.  Martin's 
church  on  Ludgate-hill  was  constantly  getting  in  the  way  when  you  wished  to  see  the 
dome  of  St.  Paul's ;  which  is  altogether  an  error,  as  the  thin  proportions  of  the  steeple, 
in  strong  contrast,  add  to  the  effect  of  the  dome.  From  the  east  end  of  Bride-court, 
Bridge-street,  you  get  a  striking  view  of  the  dome ;  as  well  as  from  the  Farringdon-road. 
Annexed  is  a  recapitulation  of  the  main  dimensions  of  the  Cathedral : — 

ft.     in. 

Circumference  of  the  Cathedral 2292    0 

Height  of  Centre,  exclusive  of  Dome 2)0    0 

Height  of  Nave,  Choir,  and  Transepts 100    0 

Height  from  floor  of  Crypt  to  top  of  Cross 404    0 

Height  from  Nave  pavement  to  top  of  Cross S30    0 

Height  of  Western  Towers 220    0 

Height  of  Western  Front 133    0 

Diameter  of  Interior  Dome 100    0 

Height  of  Dome 00    0 

Height  of  Dome  from  ground-line 215    0 

Diameter  of  opening  at  top  of  Dome 14  10J 

Height  of  Lantern  Gallery 274    9 

Diameter  of  opening  at  top  of  Upper  Dome 8    0 

The  following  are  the  comparative  dimensions  of  St.  Paul's  and  St.  Peter's  : 
E.  to  W.    West  end,       Ditto,  Tran-      Height 

within.  in.  out.  sept.        to  top. 

St.  Paul's  .        500  100  138  223  360      English  feet. 

St.  Peter's  .        669  226  395  442  432 

St.  Peter's  occupies  an  acre  of 227.069  superficial  feet. 

St.  Paul's 84J025         „ 

The  Cathedral  is  now  in  course  of  repair  and  redecoration,  the  funds  being  raised 
by  subscription.*  The  organ  and  screen  have  been  removed,  and  a  new  eastern  transept 
formed.  The  great  central  area  of  the  dome,  found  by  experiment  to  be  the  part  of 
the  Cathedral  best  adapted  to  the  voice,  has  been  made  available  for  Special  Evening 
Services,  and  3500  persons  can  there  be  seated  in  chairs.  The  marble  pulpit  under 
the  dome,  was  given  by  his  friends,  as  a  memorial  of  the  late  Captain  Fitzgerald. 
The  church  can  now  be  warmed  by  Gurney  stoves,  placed  in  the  crypt,  whence  the 
heated  air  ascends  through  ornamental  openings  in  the  floor.  The  lighting  is  mainly 
by  the  corona  of  gas  which  was  left  round  the  Whispering  Gallery  at  the  time  of  the 
funeral  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington.  The  Cathedral  was  first  lighted  with  g:is  in  1822 ; 
Moore,  in  his  Diary,  says :  "  May  6, — Went  with  Lord  and  Lady  Lansdowne,  at  ten 
o'clock,  to  St.  Paul's,  to  see  it  lighted  up  with  gas,  for,  I  believe,  the  first  time." 

The  embellishment  of  the  Cathedral,  as  originally  designed  by  Sir  Christopher 
Wren,  will  consist  in  filling  eleven  windows  at  the  ends  of  the  choir,  nave,  and 
transepts,  with  painted  glass  of  the  highest  quality,  uniform  in  style,  design,  and  execu- 
tion ;  in  filling'tbe  spandrels  of  the  dome,  vaults,  and  other  suitable  compartments,  and 
ultimately  the  dome  itself,  with  paintings  in  mosaic;  and  generally  in  gilding  and  in- 
crusting  with  coloured  marbles  parts  of  the  architecture.  The  four  great  arches  leading 
from  the  dome,  and  the  vaultings  of  the  choir,  have  been  richly  gilded.  The  spandrels  of 
the  dome,  vaultings,  and  other  compartments  are  to  be  filled  with  paintings  in  mosaic 
upon  a  gold  ground,  by  Salviati ;  and  the  series  of  painted  windows  has  been  com- 
menced with  two  aisle  windows,  by  Clayton  and  Bell,  containing  life-size  figures  of  St. 
Peter  and  St.  Paul.  The  great  west  window,  containing  the  Conversion  of  St.  Paul, 
the  gift  of  Mr.  Brown  (of  the  firm  of  Longman  and  Co.),  is  to  cost  1000Z. 

WESTMINSTER  ABBEY. 

THE  earliest  foundation  of  Westminster  Abbey  is  enveloped  in  obscurity,  but  is 
attributed  by  the  early  chroniclers  to  the  British  King  Lucius,  a.d.  184,  or  to 
King  Sebert,  a.d.  616,  its  site  being  then  called  "Thorney  Island;"  but  it  is  really  a 

*  "The  Fabric  Fund"  for  keeping  the  building  in  repair,  produces  only  1200J.  a  year:  there  are  more 
than  8500  square  feet,  or  two  acres,  of  lead  work  exposed  to  the  sun,  the  soot,  and  the  weather,  and  the 
bad  work  of  the  dome  has  demanded  very  extensive  repairs ;  there  are  also  about  450,00')  feet,  or  ten 
and  a  half  acres,  of  stonework  likewise  exposed  to  the  sulphureous  vapours  and  smoke  of  London ;  to 
say  nothing  of  the  interior,  of  which  the  superficial  area  (including  crypt)  is  about  twelve  acres.  A  con- 
siderable portion  of  the  fund  (236J#  is  devoted  to  insuring  the  church  from  fire  to  the  extent  of  95,000/. 
its  total  value  may  be  estimated  at  1,500,000/.,  but  damage  by  fire  could  not  be  done  to  a  greater  extent 
than,  perhaps,  600,000/. 


118  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


peninsula  of  the  purest  sand  and  gravel,  which  may  be  seen  in  the  foundations  of  the 
Abbey.  The  Island  is  named  from  this  circumstance  :  "  Sebert,  nephew  to  Ethelbert, 
King  of  Kent  and  King  of  the  East  Saxons,  having  received  baptism  from  the  hands 
of  Mellitus,  who,  coming  over  with  Austin  the  Monk,  was  placed  Bishop  of  London, 
pulled  down  a  Pagan  temple  at  a  place  called  Thorney,  from  being  overgrown  with 
thorns,  about  two  miles'  distance  from  London,  and  founded  upon  the  place  a  church  to 
the  honour  of  St.  Peter."  (Dean  Buckland.)  This  church  was  not,  however,  com- 
pleted until  about  361  years  after,  by  King  Edgar,  when  it  was  named  from  being  the 
"  Min  ster  West  of  St.  Paul's."  It  was  in  a  decayed  and  almost  expiring  condition 
when  King  Edward  the  Confessor,  in  fulfilment  of  a  vow  he  bad  made  during  his  exile 
from  the  kingdom,  erected  a  church  and  abbey  in  a  style  hitherto  unparalleled  in 
English  architecture,  at  Westminster,  and,  according  to  William  of  Malmesbury,  the 
earliest  Norman  church  in  the  island.  King  Edward  gave  to  its  treasury  rich  vest- 
ments, a  golden  crown  and  sceptre,  a  dalmatic,  embroidered  pall,  spurs,  &C,  to  be  used 
on  the  day  of  the  Sovereign's  coronation :  here  our  Kings  and  Queens  have  been 
crowned,  from  Edward  the  Confessor  to  Queen  Victoria,  and  here  very  many  of  them 
are  buried,  some  with  and  others  without  monuments.  The  Confessor  lived  just  long 
enough  to  see  his  intention  fulfilled.  On  the  Festival  of  the  Holy  Innocents,  Dec.  28, 
1065,  the  new  Abbey  was  dedicated,  and  the  King,  who  died  eight  days  afterwards,  was 
buried  by  his  own  desire  in  front  of  the  high  altar  in  the  Church  of  which  he  had  just 
witnessed  the  completion.  The  Abbey  as  it  now  exists  was  for  the  most  part  rebuilt 
by  Henry  III.  (a.d.  1220  to  1269),  out  of  regard  to  the  memory  of  the  Confessor ;  but 
it  covers  the  same  ground,  and  there  are  vestiges  of  the  original  building  to  be  seen. 
The  remains  of  the  Confessor  were  removed  from  before  the  high  altar  to  the  present 
shrine  in  1269  by  Henry  III.  From  the  Fabric  Rolls  we  gather  that  the  outlay  going 
on  at  Westminster  for  the  King's  Palace  and  the  Abbey  Church  was  from  20,000/.  to 
40.000Z.  a  year ;  or,  in  fifteen  years,  more  than  half  a  million  of  our  money  value.  A 
great  diversity  of  materials  was  used.  The  early  portion  (Henry  III.)  was  built  with 
the  green  sand  or  God-stone,  which  gave  the  name  to  the  place  in  Surrey ;  a  large  por- 
tion, including  the  Jerusalem  Chamber,  was  of  this  stone.  Purbeck  marble  and  Caen* 
stone  were  used  j  and  in  some  of  the  old  cloisters,  magnesian  limestone,  similar  to  that 
in  the  New  Houses  of  Parliament.  The  enormous  and  massive  fabric  stands  on  a  level 
with  the  adjacent  causeway — not  having  a  basement  story,  like  St.  Paul's — built  upon 
a  fine  close  sand,  secured  only  by  its  very  broad,  wide,  and  spreading  foundations. 

From  a  Norman-French  verse  of  the  time  of  Henry  III.,  there  is  no  doubt  that 
during  that  king's  reign  there  existed  a  central  tower  and  two  others  at  the  west  end. 
Sir  Christopher  Wren  distinctly  stated  that  the  commencement  of  a  central  tower 
existed  in  his  time,  and  one  of  Hollar's  views  shows  clear  indications  of  it.  As  to  what 
kind  of  central  tower  over  the  crossing  was  originally  intended,  Mr.  Gilbert  Scott,  K.A., 
concludes,  chiefly  from  the  slightness  of  the  exquisitely  graceful  piers  of  the  central 
crossing,  that  nothing  but  a  light  fleche,  after  the  French  fashion,  was  ever  thought  of. 
Mr.  Scott,  who  has  so  ably  illustrated  the  architecture  of  the  Abbey,  says : — 

"  Of  the  original  details  of  the  exterior  it  is  nearly  impossible  to  form  anything  like  a  correct  idea. 
The  whole  was  greatly  decayed  at  the  commencement  of  the  last  century,  and  was  re-cased, 
almost  throughout,  with  Oxfordshire  stone,  by  Sir  Christopher  Wren  and  his  successors,  the 
details  being  altered  and  pared  down  in  a  very  merciless  manner :  and  the  work,  thus  renewed,  has 
again  become  greatly  decayed.  There  is,  in  fact,  scarcely  a  trace  of  any  original  detail  of  the  eastern 
portion  of  the  exterior  left."    The  Bayeux  tapestry  shows  the  Abbey-church  in  outline. 

Dugdale,  however,  says  : — 

"  The  Church,  as  far  as  rebuilt  in  the  reign  of  Henry  III.,  may  be  easily  distinguished  from  the  parts 
erected  at  a  later  period.  It  consists  of  Edward  the  Confessor's  Chapel,  the  side  aisles  and  chapels,  the 
choir  (to  somewhat  lower  than  Sir  Isaac  Newton's  monument),  and  the  transepts.  The  four  pillars  of 
the  present  choir,  which  have  brass  fillets,  appear  to  finish  Henry's  work :  the  conclusion  of  which  is 
also  marked  by  a  striped  chalky  stone,  which  forms  the  roof." — Dugdale's  Monasticon,  vol.  i.p.  273. 

In  1862,  it  was  discovered  that  in  the  south  cloister  wall  of  the  Abbey  the  whole 
extent  of  its  lower  half  consists  of  masonry  of  the  age  of  Edward  the  Confessor.     This 

*  On  the  coast  of  France,  in  the  neighbourhood  of  Caen,  resides  an  old  lady,  on  whose  property  are 
some  valuable  stone  quarries,  from  whence  the  English  Commissioners  proposed  to  purchase  the 
materials  for  building  our  Houses  of  Parliament.  It  is  a  curious  fa*t  that,  by  some,  old  records  in  her 
family,  she  can  prove  that  the  blocks  of  stone  used  in  building  our  Westminster  Abbey  were  derived 
from  the  very  same  source.— A  Portion  of  the  Journal  of  T.  Bailees,  Etq. 


CHURCHES,—  WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  119 

stone  of  a.d.  1060  is  uninjured  to  this  day ;  though  the  vaulting  above,  of  the  date  of 
1380,  has  perished  considerably.  Both  are  equally  exposed  to  the  air  and  to  external 
influences.     The  western  towers,  of  shelly  Portland  oolite,  are  sound. 

Nicholas  Litlington,  Abbot  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  added  several  abbatial 
buildings,  including  the  Hall;  a  great  chamber  called  "the  Jerusalem;"  the  west 
and  south  sides  of  the  Great  Cloister;  and  the  Granary.  Remains  of  the  Jewel 
House,  built  by  Richard  II.,  exist.  The  walls,  even  to  the  parapets  and  the  original 
doorways,  are  perfect ;  the  interior,  however,  has  been  altered  to  fit  it  for  a  depository 
of  the  records  of  the  House  of  Lords  ;  the  original  groined  vaults  remain  in  the  base- 
ment. The  walls  of  this  ancient  strong  house  are  6  feet  thick ;  and  the  masonry, 
generally,  is  of  a  similar  character  to  that  of  the  cloisters  and  other  vaulted  substruc- 
tures built  by  Abbot  Litlington.  On  the  bosses  of  the  vaulting  in  the  parts  of  the 
cloisters  attributed  to  this  abbot  the  initials  N.  L.  may  be  traced — rendering  conjecture 
as  certain  as  it  may  be. 

It  has  lately  been  brought  to  light  that  the  nave  of  the  Abbey  was  rebuilt  in  1413 
by  Richard  Whittington  and  Richard  Harrowden  (a  monk  of  the  Abbey),  to  whom 
Henry  V.  issued  a  commission  for  the  purpose.  It  has  been  plausibly  argued  by  Mr. 
Lysons,  in  his  recent  memoir  of  Lord  Mayor  Whittington,  that  this  personage  was  the 
very  man  named  in  the  Royal  Commission.  The  story  goes  that,  when  the  King  was 
unable  to  repay  the  sums  which  Whittington  had  advanced,  the  creditor  magnani- 
mously destroyed  the  bonds.  There  is  every  reason  to  believe  that  the  old  Norman 
Nave  was  left  standing  until  that  time. 

In  1502,  Henry  VII.  pulled  down  the  Chapel  of  the  Virgin,  at  the  east  end,  and 
replaced  it  with  the  beautiful  chapel  now  called  by  his  name.  It  was  originally  built 
with  Caen  stone,  and  was  restored  within  the  present  century,  but  with  stone  now 
in  a  state  of  decomposition. 

From  the  first  opening  of  the  edifice  until  after  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  the  Abbey 
was  regarded  as  a  safe  Sanctuary  :  hither  the  Queen  of  Edward  IV.  fled  with  her  five 
daughters  and  the  young  Duke  of  York  when  the  crafty  Richard  Duke  of  Gloucester 
was  plotting  to  seize  the  crown.  "  The  Queen,"  says  Sir  Thomas  More,  "  sate  low  on 
the  rushes,  all  desolate  and  dismayed;"  whilst  the  Thames  was  full  of  boats  of 
Gloucester's  servants,  watching  that  no  man  should  go  to  Sanctuary.  On  the  reverse 
cf  Edward  IV.,  in  1470,  his  Queen,  Elizabeth  Woodville,  took  shelter  in  the 
Sanctuary,  where,  "  in  great  penury,  forsaken  of  all  her  friends,"  she  gave  birth  to 
Edward  V. 

The  dedication  of  the  Church  to  St.  Peter  (the  tutelar  saint  of  fishermen)  led  to 
their  offerings  of  salmon  upon  the  high  altar ;  the  donor  on  such  occasions  having  the 
privilege  of  sitting  at  the  convent-table  to  dinner,  and  demanding  ale  and  bread  from 
the  cellarer. 

Successive  kings  and  abbots  continued  the  building  on  the  plan  of  Henry  III.,  but 
so  slowly,  that  the  west-end  towers  in  1714  were  unfinished ;  these  Sir  Christopher 
Wren  pulled  down,  and  erected  the  present  western  towers,  in  Grecianized  Gothic  style ; 
he  also  proposed  a  central  spire,  as  originally  intended,  for  its  beginnings  appear 
on  the  corners  of  the  cross,  "  but  left  off  before  it  rose  so  high  as  the  ridge  of  the 
roof."     Of  the  old  west  front  there  is  a  view  by  Hollar,  in  Dugdale's  Monasticon. 

"The  Abbey  Church,"  says  Mr.  Bardwell,  "  formerly  arose  a  magnificent  apex  to  a  royal  palace,  sur- 
rounded by  its  own  greater  and  lesser  sanctuaries  and  almonries  :  its  bell-towers  (the  principal  one  72 
feet  6  inches  square,  with  walls  20  feet  thick),  chapels,  prisons,  gatehouses,  boundary-walls,  and  a  train 
of  other  buildings,  of  which  we  can  at  the  present  day,  scarcely  form  an  idea.  In  addition  to  all  the 
land  around  it,  extending  from  the  Thames  to  Oxford-street,  and  from  Vauxhall  Bridge  road  to  tho 
Church  of  St.  Hary-le-Strand,  the  Abbey  possessed  97  towns  and  villages,  17  hamlets,  and  216  manors ! 
Its  officers  fed  hundreds  of  persons  daily ;  and  one  of  its  priests  (not  the  Abbot)  entertained 
at  his  '  pavilion  in  Tothill'  the  King  and  Queen,  with  so  large  a  party,  that  seven  hundred  dishes  did  not 
suffice  for  the  first  table;  the  Abbey  butler,  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  rebuilt  at  his  own  private 
expense,  the  stately  gatehouse  which  gave  entrance  to  Tothill-street,  and  a  portion  of  the  wall  which 
remains  to  this  day." — Brief  Account  of  Ancient  and  Modern  Wettminxter. 

At  the  Dissolution,  the  Abbey  was  resigned  to  Henry  VIII.  by  Abbot  Benson;  and 
the  King  ordered  the  Church  to  be  governed  by  a  Dean  and  Prebendaries,  making 
Benson  the  Dean.  In  1541,  the  Church  was  turned  into  an  Episcopal  See,  having 
Middlesex  for  its  diocese ;  but  was  soon  again  placed  under  a  Dean  and  Prebendaries. 


120  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Mary,  in  1556,  dissolved  this  institution,  and  reappointed  an  Abbot  and  monies ;  but 
Elizabeth,  on  her  accession,  placed  it  under  a  dean  and  12  secular  canons,  as  a 
Collegiate  Church,  besides  minor  canons,  and  others  of  the  choir,  to  the  number  of 
SO;  10  other  officers,  2  schoolmasters,  40  scholars,  and  12  almsmen,  with  ample 
maintenance  for  all ;  besides  stewards,  receivers,  registrars,  library-keepers,  and  other 
officers,  the  principal  being  the  High  Steward  of  Westminster.  In  the  time  of  Crom- 
well, most  of  the  revenues  were  devoted  to  the  public  service,  but  afterwards  restored. 
As  the  abbots  of  the  monastery  had  in  former  times  possessed  great  privileges  and 
honours  annexed  to  the  foundation,  such  as  being  entrusted  with  the  keeping  of  the 
regalia  for  the  coronation,  &c,  having  places  of  necessary  service  on  days  of  solemnity, 
and  also  exercising  archiepiscopal  jurisdiction  in  their  liberties,  and  sitting  as  spiritual 
lords  in  Parliament ;  so  the  Deans  of  the  Collegiate  Church  succeeded  to  most  of 
them,  and  still  possess  considerable  privileges.  The  Chapter  still  have  a  jurisdiction, 
not  only  within  the  city  and  liberty  of  Westminster,  but  also  the  precincts  of  St. 
Martin's-le-Grand,  first  annexed  to  it  by  Henry  VII. 

We  give  a  precis  of  the  most  ancient  remains,  by  Mr.  Scott  :— 

"  As  Westminster  Abbey  is  about  the  earliest  work  of  its  kind  in  this  country,  and  as  the  building  of  the 
first  portion  of  it  by  Henry  III.  extended  over  a  space  of  twenty-four  years,  i.e.  from  1215  to  1269,  it  be- 
comes important  to  ascertain  how  early  in  this  period  the  style  of  its  architecture  can  be  proved  to  have 
been  defined.  Now,  a  single  entry  in  the  documents  in  question  has  for  ever  settled  this  point.  1  have 
before  stated  that  the  most  advanced  part  of  the  work  (as  to  style)  is  the  Chapter-house,  as  that 
contained  traceried  windows  of  four  and  five  lights  in  a  very  developed  form  ;  the  tracery  is  not 
confined  to  circles,  but  containing  great  quatrefoils,  and  the  heads  of  the  lights  being  trefoiled,  which 
is  not  the  case  in  the  church.  Now  it  would  be  most  useful  to  know  the  exact  date  of  these  windows, 
for,  though  Matthew  Paris  gives  1250  as  the  year  of  commencement  of  the  Chapter-house,  it  may  have 
spread  over  an  indefinite  length  of  time,  and  the  windows  have  belonged  to  twenty  years  after  that  date. 
Let  us  look  then  to  the  bills.  Here  we  find  in  a  roll,  bearing  date  37th  Henry  III.,  or  1253,  and  expressly 
called  the  eighth  year  from  the  beginning  of  the  work,  an  item  of  '  300  yards  of  canvas  for  the  windows 
of  the  Chapter-house,'  followed  immediately  by  items  for  the  purchase  of  glass,  showing  that  the  windows 
in  question  were  completed  in  1253,  which  I  see  was  a  year  before  the  King,  in  company  with  St.  Louis, 
visited  the  Sainte  Chapelle,  at  Paris,  which  was  then  scarcely  completed,  and  the  style  of  which  indi- 
cates exactly  the  same  degree  of  advancement.  I  find  also,  that  during  the  same  year,  the  beautiful 
entrance  or  vestibule  to  the  Chapter-house  was  erected." 

A  ground-plan,  which  is  made  by  the  gradations  of  its  shading  to  represent  the 
several  ages  of  each  part  of  the  structure,  shows  us  that  the  Chapel  of  the  Pyx 
and  the  whole  vaulted  undercroft,  extending  southward  under  the  old  dormitory, 
which  is  the  present  Westminster  school-room — besides  the  lower  story  of  the  re- 
fectory, which  forms  the  south  side  of  the  cloister — are  remains  of  Edward  the  Con- 
fessor's work,  in  the  Late  Saxon  or  Early  Norman  style.  The  superficial  decoration 
of  the  inner  wall  is,  as  is  well  known,  of  the  most  exquisite  kind  of  Pointed  Architec- 
ture— that  of  the  reign  of  Henry  III.  Late  Norman  is  only  found  in  the  remains  of 
St.  Catherine's  Chapel,  supposed  to  have  been  the  Infirmary  Chapel,  which  are  visible 
to  the  east  of  the  Little  Cloister.  The  Choir,  Chevet,  and  Transepts  of  the  Abbey- 
church,  and  the  Chapter-house  with  its  vestibule,  belong  to  the  great  rebuilding 
undertaken  by  Henry  III.  The  eastern  half  of  the  Nave,  with  the  corresponding 
part  of  the  Cloister,  was  built  in  the  First  Pointed  manner  of  Edward  I.  Later  in 
the  same  style  is  the  south-eastern  angle  of  the  Cloisters.  All  the  west  end  of  the 
Nave,  with  the  remainder  of  the  Cloisters,  and  the  Abbot's  house  (now  the  Deanery), 
including  the  famous  Jerusalem  Chamber,  were  built  in  the  Earlier  Third  Pointed ; 
while  the  eastern  Chapel  of  Henry  VII.,  replacing  the  Lady  Chapel  of  Henry  III., 
was  added  in  the  Tudor  times  of  the  expiring  Gothic. 

The  church  is  remarkable  as  marking,  first,  the  introduction  of  the  French  arrange- 
ment of  chapels  which,  however,  failed  to  take  root  here;  and,  secondly,  the  com- 
pleted type  of  bar  tracery,  which  was  no  sooner  grafted  on  an  English  stock  than  it 
began  to  shoot  forth  in  most  vigorous  and  luxuriant  growth. 

The  Exterior  of  the  Abbey  is  best  viewed  from  a  distance  :  the  western  front  from 
Tothill-street ;  the  picturesque  North  Transept  from  King-street ;  and  the  south  side 
from  College-street.  St.  Margaret's  Church,  so  often  condemned  as  a  disfigurement 
in  viewing  the  Abbey,  renders  its  height  much  greater  by  contrast.  "Distant  peeps 
of  the  Abbey  towers,  springing  lightly  above  the  trees,  may  be  caught  on  the  rising 
ground  of  the  Green-park,  and  from  the  bridge  over  the  Serpentine;  and  the  superior 
elevation  of  the  whole  Abbey  is  seen  with  great  effect  from  the  hills  about  Wandsworth 


CHURCHES— WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  121 

and  Wimbledon." — {Handbook,  by  H.  Cole.)  The  importance  of  the  western 
towers  is,  however,  lessened  by  the  loftier  tower  of  the  New  Houses  of  Parliament. 

The  North  Transept,  though  its  niches  are  statueless,  is  remarkable  for  its 
pinnacled  buttresses,  its  triple  porch  and  clustered  columns,  and  its  great  rose-window, 
90  feet  in  circumference — so  as  to  have  been  called,  for  its  beauty,  "  Solomon's  porch." 
From  the  west  side  of  this  Transept,  judicious  restorations  are  in  progress.  At  the 
ai  ched  doorway  leading  into  the  North  Aisle  terminates  the  portion  of  the  Abbey 
completed  by  Edward  1. 

The  Western  Front  bears  the  date  of  1735  :  the  height  of  the  towers  (225  feet) 
tells  nobly ;  they  were  used  as  a  telegraph  station  during  the  last  French  war.  The 
great  west  window  was  the  work  of  Abbot  Estney,  in  1498.  The  base  of  the  south 
tower  is  hidden  by  the  gable  of  the  Jerusalem  Chamber,  now  used  as  the  Chapter- 
house. Parallel  with  the  Jerusalem  Chamber  are  the  College  Dining  Hall  and  Kitchen, 
built  by  Abbot  Litlington.  The  Westminster  scholars  dined  in  the  hall  until  the  year 
1839 ;  in  the  centre  fagots  blazed  on  a  circular  stone  hearth,  the  smoke  finding  egress 
through  the  lantern  in  the  roof. 

The  South  Side  is  approached  from  Dean's  Yard,  on  the  east  side  of  which  an  old 
doorway  leads  into  a  court  where  is  Inigo  Jones's  rustic  entrance  to  the  school-room  of 
the  College,  refounded,  in  1560,  by  Queen  Elizabeth.  To  the  left  are  the  old  grey 
Cloisters,  with  groined  arches  of  the  fourteenth  century,  surrounding  a  grassy  area — 
monastic  solitude  in  contrast  with  the  scene  on  the  opposite  side  of  the  Church.  The 
Ecmbrandtish  lights  in  these  cloisters  are  very  fine ;  and  here  the  South  Aisle  of  the 
Church,  with  its  huge  buttresses,  is  best  seen.  The  North  Cloister  is  distinguished 
by  its  trefoiled  arches,  with  circles  above  them,  of  the  twelfth  century.  The  East 
Cloister  (temp.  Edward  III.)  is  rich  in  flowing  tracery  and  foliations.  Here  is  the 
entrance  to  a  chapel  of  the  Confessor's  time,  and  now  "  the  Chamber  of  the  Pyx," 
wherein  are  kept  the  standards  used  at  the  trial  of  the  Pyx,  the  three  keys  of  its 
double  doors,  being  deposited  with  distinct  officers  of  the  Exchequer.  The  groined 
roofs  are  supported  by  ltomanesque  or  semicircular  arches,  and  thick,  short,  round 
shafts. 

Eastward  is  the  magnificent  entrance  to  the  Chapter-house,  which  is  to  be  repaired 
under  the  direction  of  Mr.  Scott.  Its  beauty  is  evident,  notwithstanding  its  neglected 
condition.  In  the  course  of  the  works,  the  architect  has  discovered  the  ancient 
entrance  to  the  dormitory,  which  he  re-opened,  and  restored  as  the  entrance  to  the 
library.  This  has  enabled  him  to  get  rid  of  the  modern  entrance  to  the  library,  which 
was  cut  through  the  groining  of  this  passage,  leading  to  the  vestibule  of  the  Chapter- 
house. 

The  Interior. — The  best  entrance  to  the  Abbey  is  through  the  little  door  into  the 
South  Transept,  or  Poets'  Corner;  whence  the  endless  perspective  lines  lead  into 
mysterious  gloom. 

From  Poets'  Corner  we  see,  almost  without  changing  the  point  of  sight,  the  two  Transepts,  and 
part  of  the  Nave  and  Choir.  The  interior  consists,  as  it  were,  of  two  grand  stories,  or  series  of  groined 
arches  of  unequal  height :  a  lower  story,  which  comprises  the  outer  aisles  of  the  Transepts,  of  the 
Nave,  and  the  ambulatory  of  the  Choir :  and  a  higher  story,  forming  the  middle  aisles  of  the  Nave, 
Transepts,  and  the  Choir.  The  lower  story  mostly  exhibits  the  remains  of  a  series  of  three-headed 
arches  or  trefoil-headed  arcades,  resting  on  a  basement  seat :  and  above  these  arcades  are  pointed  win- 
dows, each  divided  in  the  centre  by  a  single  mullion,  surmounted  by  a  circle.  Among  the  marked 
features  of  the  whole  of  the  upper  and  inner  story  are  the  mural  decorations  of  the  spandrels  of  the 
arches ;  above  them,  the  gallery  or  triforium  j  and  over  this  a  clerestory  of  lofty  windows. — (See  Hand- 
book, by  H.  Cole,  pp.  45,  46.) 

The  Interior,  viewed  from  the  western  entrance,  shows  the  surpassing  beauty  of  the 
long-drawn  aisles,  with  their  noble  columns,  harmonious  arches,  and  fretted  vaults, 
"  a  dim  religious  light  "  streaming  through  the  lancet  windows. 

The  general  plan  of  the  Church  is  cruciform  :  besides  the  Nave,  Choir,  and  Tran- 
septs, it  contains  12  chapels,  the  principal  of  which  are  those  dedicated  to  St.  Edward 
of  England,  to  the  Blessed  Virgin  (Henry  VII.'s),  the  easternmost  building,  and  those 
in  the  northern  and  southern  sides  of  the  building :  four  on  the  south,  viz.,  those  of 
St.  Blaise,  St.  Benedict,  St.  Edmund,  and  St.  Nicholas ;  on  the  north  those  of  St. 
Andrew,  St.  Michael,  St.  John  the  Evangelist,  St.  Erasmus,  St.  John  the  Baptist, 
and  St.  Paul.     Of  these,  10  are  nearly  filled  with  monumental  tombs ;  the  Chapel 


122  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  Henry  VII.  containing  but  the  monument  of  its  founder ;  and  that  of  St.  Paul 
having  hut  one  tomh. 

The  South  Transept  is  less  decorated  than  its  fellow  on  the  north ;  and  the  lower 
part  is  concealed  by  the  Library  and  Chapter-house.  Here,  in  what  is  appropriately 
termed  Poets'  Corner,  are  the  graves  or  monuments  of  the  majority  of  our  greatest 
poets,  from  Chaucer  to  Campbell.  To  the  right  of  the  entrance-door  is  the  tomb  of 
"  the  Father  of  English  Poetry  "  (d.  1400) :  it  is  a  dingy  and  greasy  recess,  on  which 
may  be  traced  with  the  finger  Galfridus  Chaucer,  the  only  part  of  the  inscription 
which  was  originally  chiselled;  the  other  lines  have  disappeared.  This  memorial  was 
partly  placed  here  in  1556,  by  Nicholas  Brigham,  a  student  at  Oxford,  and  a  poet, 
too:  the  altar-tomb  originally  covered  Chaucer's  remains,  removed  from  here  by 
Brigham,  who  placed  over  it  the  canopy :  it  is  altogether  in  decay,  but  in  1850  was 
proposed  to  be  restored.  Nearer  the  door  is  the  large  monument  erected  by 
Sheffield,  Duke  of  Buckingham,  to  Dryden,  whose  name  it  simply  bears,  witli 
a  noble  bust  of  him  by  Scheemakers.     Pope  wrote  for  the  pedestal  this  couplet : — 

"This  Sheffield  raised :  the  sacred  dust  helow 
Was  Dryden  once :  the  rest,  who  does  not  know  ?  " 

Next  is  a  wreathed  urn,  by  Bushnell,  erected  by  George  Duke  of  Buckingham  over 
Abraham  Cowley,  as  the  Latin  inscription  declares,  the  Pindar,  Horace,  and  Virgil  of 
England :  this  full-blown  flattery,  by  Dean  Sprat,  greatly  provoked  Dr.  Johnson. 
From  Chaucer's  tomb,  eastward,  the  monuments  are  placed  as  follows : — To  John 
Philips,  who  wrote  The  Splendid  Shilling,  Cider,  and  other  poems  :  profile  in  relief, 
within  a  wreath  of  apple  and  laurel  leaves.  Barton  Booth,  the  eminent  actor,  the 
original  Calo  in  Addison's  play :  a  bust,  erected  by  Booth's  widow.  Michael  Drayton, 
who  wrote  the  Polyolbion :  a  bust  on  pediment,  with  a  beautiful  epitaph,  attributed 
to  Dryden ;  erected  at  the  expense  of  Clifford,  Countess  of  Dorset,  who  also  put  up  a 
monument  to  Edmund  Spenser,  author  of  the  Faerie  Queene :  tablet  and  pediment, 
renewed  in  marble  in  1778.  Spenser  was  the  second  poet  interred  in  the  Abbey ;  he 
"died  for  lake  of  bread,"  in  King-street,  Westminster,  and  was  buried  here  by 
Devereux,  Earl  of  Essex.  Ben  Jonson :  medallion  on  the  wall,  by  Rysbrack,  after 
Gibbs ;  "  0  rare  Ben  Jonson  !"  inscribed  beneath  the  head.  Samuel  Butler,  author  of 
Hudibras  :  bust,  placed  here  by  Alderman  Barber,  the  patriotic  printer  (see  Alder- 
man, p.  5).  John  Milton,  buried  in  St.  Giles's  Church,  Cripplegate :  bust  and 
tablet,  erected  by  Mr.  Auditor  Benson,  who,  "  in  the  inscription,  has  bestowed  more 
words  upon  himself  than  upon  Milton."  Thomas  Gray,  buried  at  Stoke  Pogeis :  a 
figure  of  the  Lyric  Muse  holding  a  medallion  of  the  poet,  by  Bacon,  E.A.,  with 
inscription  by  William  Mason,  Gray's  biographer,  who  lies  next :  profile  medallion, 
with  inscription  by  Bishop  Hurd.  Matthew  Prior  :  bust  by  Coysevox,  presented  to  Prior 
from  Louis  XIV. ;  and  statues  of  Thalia  and  Clio,  by  Rysbrack.  St.  Evremond,  the 
French  Epicurean  wit :  bust  and  tablet ;  and  below  it,  profile  medallion,  by  Chantrey, 
P. A.,  of  Granville  Sharp,  Negro  Slavery  Abolitionist,  erected  by  the  African  Institu- 
tion of  London.  Thomas  Shadwell,  poet-laureate  early  in  the  reign  of  William  III., 
buried  at  Chelsea :  but  crowned  with  bays,  above  Prior's  monument.  Christopher 
Anstey,  author  of  the  New  Bath  Guide  :  tablet  on  the  next  column ;  and  at  the  back 
of  St.  Evremond's  monument,  a  tablet  to  Mrs.  Pritchard,  the  eminent  tragic  actress. 
William  Shakspeare:  the  subscription  monument;  a  statue  by  Scheemakers,  after 
Kent,  with  absurd  and  pedantic  accessories :  the  lines  on  the  scroll  are  from  the  play 
of  the  Tempest.  James  Thomson,  buried  in  Richmond  (Surrey)  Church  :  statue,  paid 
for  by  a  subscription  edition  of  his  Seasons,  &c,  in  1762.  Nicholas  Rowe,  dramatist 
and  poet-laureate  (George  I.),  and  his  daughter  Charlotte :  busts  by  Rysbrack ;  in- 
scription by  Pope.  John  Gay,  who  wrote  the  Beggars'  Opera:  winged  boy  and 
medallion  portrait,  erected  by  the  Duke  and  Duchess  of  Queensbury :  the  scoffing 
couplet,  "  Life's  a  jest,"  is  Gay's  own  unworthy  composition ;  the  lines  beneath  it  are 
by  Pope.  Oliver  Goldsmith,  poet,  dramatist,  and  essayist :  medallion  by  Nollekens, 
R.A.,  over  doorway  to  the  Chapel  of  St.  Blaise ;  the  place  chosen  by  Sir  Joshua  Rey- 
nolds ;  the  Latin  inscription  written  by  Dr.  Johnson.  John  Duke  of  Argyll :  statues 
of  the  warrior  and  orator  as  a  Roman,  with  History,  Eloquence,  Britannia,  &c,  by 
Roubiliac :  Canova  said  of  the  figure  of  Eloquence :   "  This  is  one  of  the   noblest 


CHURCHES,— WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  123 

statues  I  have  seen  in  England."  George  Frederick  Handel,  the  great  musician : 
statue,  heneath  a  winged  harper  and  stupendous  organ ;  the  last  work  of  Roubiliac, 
who  took  the  mould  from  Handel's  face  after  death.  Above  the  niche  is  a  record  of 
the  "  Commemoration,"  in  1784 ;  the  gravestone  is  beneath.  Joseph  Addison,  buried 
in  Henry  YII.'s  Chapel:  a  poor  statue  on  pedestal,  by  Westmacott,  R.A.  Addison's 
visits  here  are  ever  to  be  remembered  -.  "  When  I  am  in  a  serious  humour,"  writes  he, 
"  I  very  often  walk  by  myself  in  Westminster  Abbey,  where  the  gloominess  of  the 
place,  and  the  use  to  which  it  is  applied,  with  the  solemnity  of  the  building,  and  the 
condition  of  the  people  who  lie  in  it,  are  apt  to  fill  the  mind  with  a  kind  of  melan- 
choly, or  rather  thoughtfulness,  that  is  not  disagreeable."  Isaac  Barrow,  "  the  unfair 
preacher,"  temp.  Charles  II. :  bust  and  tablet.  Sir  Richard  Coxe,  Taster  (of  food)  to 
Queen  Elizabeth  and  James  I. :  marble  tablet.  Isaac  Casaubon,  the  learned  editor  of 
JPersius  and  Polybius :  marble  monument.  Camden,  the  great  English  antiquary, 
and  a  Master  of  Westminster  School :  half-length  figure ;  buried  before  St.  Nicholas's 
Chapel.  David  Garrick,  the  eminent  actor:  statue,  with  medallion  of  Shakspeare;  a 
coxcombical  piece  of  art. 

The  most  remarkable  gravestones  in  the  South  Transept  are  those  of  Richard 
Cumberland,  Richard  Brinsley  Sheridan,  Samuel  Johnson,  and  David  Garrick  and  his 
wife ;  "  Thomas  Parr,  of  ye  county  of  Sallop,  born  in  a.b.  1483.  He  lived  in  the 
reignes  of  ten  princes,  viz.,  King  Edward  IV.,  King  Edward  V.,  King  Richard  III., 
King  Henry  VII.,  King  Henry  VIII.,  King  Edward  VI.,  Queen  Mary,  Queen  Eliza- 
beth, King  James,  and  King  Charles ;  aged  152  years,  and  was  buryed  here  Nov.  15, 
1635  ;"  Sir  William  Chambers,  architect  of  Somerset  House ;  R.  Adam,  architect  of 
the  Adelphi;  John  Henderson,  the  actor;  James  Macpherson,  Esq.,  M.P.  (Ossian 
Macpherson) ;  William  Gifford,  critic ;  Davenant  (inscribed,  "  0  rare  Sir  William 
Davenant !"),  in  the  grave  of  Thomas  May,  the  poet,  whose  body  was  disinterred,  and 
his  monument  destroyed,  at  the  Restoration ;  Francis  Beaumont,  "  Fletcher's  asso- 
ciate ,"  and  Sir  John  Denhaui,  K.B.,  author  of  Cooper's  Hill. 

Near  Shakspeare's  monument  is  a  bust,  by  Weekes,  of  Robert  Southey,  poet- 
laureate  (buried  in  Crosthwaite  Church,  Keswick) ;  and  next  is  the  gravestone  over 
Thomas  Campbell,  author  of  the  Pleasures  of  Hope,  with  an  exquisite  statue  of  the 
poet,  by  W.  C.  Marshall.     Here  also  is  a  sitting  statue  of  Wordsworth,  by  Theed. 

Large  fees  are  paid  to  the  Dean  and  Chapter  for  the  admission  of  monuments  :  from 
200/.  to  300Z.  for  a  statue,  and  from  150Z.  to  200Z.  for  a  bas-relief;  for  Lord  Holland's 
monument,  20  feet  square,  300Z.  The  statue  of  Lord  Byron,  by  Thorwaldsen,  was 
refused  admission ;  and  after  lying  twelve  years  in  the  London  Dock  cellars,  in  1845 
it  was  placed  in  the  Library  of  Trinity  College,  Cambridge. 

"  The  power  of  granting  or  refusing  permission  to  erect  monuments  in  the  Abbey  rests  exclusively 
with  the  Dean,  except  when  the  House  of  Commons,  by  a  vote  and  grant  of  public  money,  takes  the 
matter  out  of  his  hands.  The  Dean  invariably  refuses  to  allow  the  erection  of  statues,  as  encroach- 
ing on  space  which  ought  to  belong  to  worshippers,  and  is  already  unduly  encumbered  with  stone 
and  marble." 

Over  the  grave  of  Lord  Maoaulay  is  placed  a  tablet,  with  the  following  simple 
inscription  :  "  Thomas  Babington,  Lord  Macanlay,  born  at  Rothley  Temple,  Leicester- 
shire, October  25,  1800.  Died  at  Holly  Lodge,  Campden-hill,  December  28,  1859. 
'  His  body  is  buried  in  peace,  but  his  name  liveth  for  evermore.' " 

On  the  end  of  the  gallery,  westward,  are  the  remains  of  a  supposed  fresco,  a 
White  Hart,  "  couchant,  gorged  with  a  gold  chain  and  coronet,"  the  device  of 
Richard  II. 

The  Chapel  of  St.  Blaise,  or  the  Old  Revestryr,  which  occupies  the  space  between 
the  South  Transept  and  the  Vestibule,  leading  from  the  Cloisters  to  the  Chapter- 
house, is  known  to  few  visitors  :  its  beautiful  bit  of  sexpartite  groining,  and  its  mural 
paintings,  are  very  curious. 

The  Chapel  of  St.  Blaise  occupies  the  place  of  what  is  known  at  St.  Alban's  and  elsewhere  as  the 
"  slype."  At  the  east  end  of  the  chapel  are  the  remains  of  an  elaborate  painting  of  a  figure  holding  a 
gridiron,  supposed,  therefore,  to  represent  St.  Faith ;  beneath  which  is  the  Crucifixion  :  there  is  also 
a  monk  at  his  devotions  ;  and  the  remainder  of  the  pointed  arch  is  filled  with  red  and  other  coloured 
zigzag  Qrnamcnts,  inscriptions,  and  devices ;  and  although  the  original  altar  has  been  removed,  the  low 
deration,  with  a  peculiar  circle  in  front,  may  still  be  traced.  Immediately  above  the  Blaise  Chapel  is 
some  .Norman  masonry,— a  piece  of  the  exterior  of  the  former  Abbey. 


124 


CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


From  Poets'  Corner  (Goldsmith  first  mentions  the  felicitous  name),  in  passing  to  the 
first  Chapel  may  be  seen,  preserved  under  glass,  the  remains  of  an  altar-painting, 
including  a  figure,  probably  intended  for  Christ ;  an  angel  with  a  palm-branch  on  each 
side,  and  a  figure  of  St.  Peter ;  considered  by  the  late  Sir  C.  L.  Eastlake,  P.R.A.,  to  be 
"  worthy  of  a  good  Italian  artist  of  the  fourteenth  century,"  yet  executed  in  England : 
of  the  costly  enrichments  there  remain  coloured  glass,  inlaid  on  tinfoil,  and  a  few 
cameos  and  gems.  The  following  is  the  order  of  the  Chapels,  only  the  most  remarkable 
of  their  monumental  Curiosities  being  noticed.  The  Chapels,  both  on  the  north  and 
south  sides  are  nearly  alike,  and  architecturally  in  character  with  Henry  III.'s  struc- 
ture :  they  are  lighted  by  lofty  windows,  with  arches  enclosing  circles,  above  which  are 
windows  within  triangles,  also  enclosing  circles. 


|  1  CLOISTERS  I  | 


Ground  Plan  of  Westminster  Abbey.— A.  Jerusalem  Cbamber.  B.  College  Dining  Hall.  C.  Kitchen. 
I).  Larder.  E.  Ancient  remains.  F.  Confessor's  building  (Pix).  G.  Dark  Cloisters.  H.  Hall  of 
Kefectory.  1.  High  Altar.  2.  Henry  V.'s  Chapel.  3.  Porch  to  Henry  Vll.'s  Chapel.  4.  Henry 
VII.'s  Tomb. 

1.  St.  Benedict's  Chapel. — The  oldest  tomb  here  is  that  of  Langham,  Archbishop  of 
Canterbury  (d.  1376)  ;  his  effigies  robed  and  mitred. 

2.  St.  Edmund's  Chapel :  Tomb  of  William  de  Valence,  Earl  of  Pembroke,  and  half- 
brother  to  Henry  III.  (d.  1296),  the  effigies  encased  in  metal — the  earliest  existing 
instance  in  this  country  of  the  use  of  enamelled  metal  for  monumental  purposes ;  tomb 
of  John  of  Eltham,  son  of  Edward  II.,  but  without  its  beautiful  canopy  covering  the 
whole  with  delicate  wrought  spires  and  mason's  work,  everywhere  intermixed  and 
adorned  with  little  images  and  angels,  according  to  the  fashion  of  those  times,  sup- 
ported by  eight  pillars  of  white  stone,  of  the  same  curiously  wrought  -work  (d.  1334)  j 
alabaster  figures  of  William  of  Windsor  and  Blanch  de  la  Tour,  children  of  Edward  III. 


CHURCHES,— WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  125 


the  boy  in  a  short  doublet,  the  girl  in  a  horned  headdress ;  portrait  brasses,  in  the 
area,  of  Eleanora  de  Bohun,  Duchess  of  Gloucester,  as  a  nun  of  Barking  Abbey 
(d.  1399),  and  Robert  de  Waldeby,  Archbishop  of  York  (d.  1397)— both  the  most  per- 
feet  in  the  Church ;  alabaster  figure  of  Lady  Elizabeth  Russell,  long  absurdly  said  by 
the  guides  to  have  died  from  the  prick  of  a  needle;  wall  monuments  to  Lady  Jane 
Seymour  (d.  1560)  and  Lady  Jane  Grey  (d.  1553) ;  black  marble  gravestone  of  Lord 
Herbert  of  Cherbury  (d.  1678) ;  and  Sir  Bernard  Brocas  (d.  1170),  altar  statue  and 
decorated  canopy.  This  Chapel  contains  altogether  about  twenty  monuments,  including 
one  of  the  finest  brasses  in  the  Abbey.  There  are  also  some  interesting  specimens  of 
enamelling  on  the  well-known  fine  monument  to  Edward  III.,  with  metal  statuettes 
on  the  side  opposite  the  entrance  to  this  chapel.  These  enamels  are  of  later  date 
(Edward  III.  died  in  1377)  and  are  probably  of  English  make. 

3.  St.  Nicholas's  Chapel :  Perpendicular  stone  screen,  with  quatre-foiled  arches 
highly  decorated,  and  embattled  frieze  of  shields  and  roses,  once  coloured;  entrance, 
over  the  grave  of  Sir  Henry  Spelman,  the  antiquary ;  rich  in  Elizabethan  tombs, 
bright  with  gold  and  colour,  alabaster,  touchstone,  porphyry,  and  variegated  marbles, 
Gothic  canopies,  Corinthian  pillars,  kneeling  and  recumbent  figures,  &c. :  marble  tomb 
of  the  wife  of  the  Protector  Somerset;  portrait  brass  of  Sir  Humphrey  Stanley, 
knighted  by  Henry  VII.  on  Bosworth  Field ;  gorgeous  monument  of  the  great  Lord 
Burghley  to  his  wife  Mildred  and  their  daughter  Anne ;  costly  altar-tomb  of  Sir 
George  Villiers,  erected  for  his  wife,  by  N.  Stone,  cost  560/.,  the  year  before  her  death ; 
monument  of  Bishop  Dudley,  his  original  brass  effigies  gone,  and  the  figure  of  Lady 
Catherine  St.  John  in  its  place !  Here  rests  Katherine  of  Valois,  Queen  of  Henry  V., 
removed  on  the  pulling  down  of  the  old  Chapel  of  the  Virgin ;  her  body  was  for  nearly 
three  centuries  shown  to  visitors,  not  being  re-interred  until  1776.  Next  is  the  vault 
of  the  Percys,  with  a  large  marble  monument,  designed  by  Adam  ;  here  the  Dukes  of 
Northumberland  have  been  interred  with  great  state;  their  funeral  processions 
reaching  from  Northumberland  House  to  the  Abbey  western  door. 

In  the  Ambulatory,  opposite  St.  Nicholas's  Chapel,  are  the  eastern  side  of  the  tomb  of 
Edward  III.,  and  the  chantry  of  Henry  V.,  where  Mr.  Scott  discovered  tabernacle- 
work  and  statuettes  within  the  masonry,  and  niches  filled  with  blue  glass.  The  entire 
work  contained,  when  perfect,  more  than  seventy  statues  and  statuettes,  besides  several 
brass  figures  on  the  surrounding  railing.  Looking  thence,  in  a  few  square  feet,  we 
have  specimens  of  Gothic  architecture,  in  several  of  its  stages,  as  it  flourished  from  the 
time  of  Henry  III.  to  Henry  VII.     Through  a  dark  vestibule  you  ascend  to 

4.  Henry  VII.' s  Chapel,  consisting  of  a  Nave  and  two  aisles,  with  five  chapels  at  the 
east  end.  The  entrance- gates  are  of  oak,  cased  with  brass-gilt,  and  richly  dight  with 
the  portcullis,  the  crown,  and  twined  roses.  The  vaulted  porch  is  enriched  with 
radiated  quatrefoils  and  other  figures,  roses,  fleurs-de-lis,  &c. ;  Henry's  supporters,  the 
lion,  the  dragon,  and  the  greyhound ;  his  arms  and  his  badges  :  a  rose  frieze  and  em- 
battlement.  The  fan-traceried  pendentive  stone  roof  of  the  Chapel  is  encrusted  with 
roses,  knots  of  flowers,  bosses,  pendants,  and  armorial  cognizances;  the  walls  are 
covered  with  sunk  panels,  with  feathered  mouldings ;  and  in  a  profusion  of  niches  are 
statues,  and  angels  with  escutcheons ;  and  the  royal  heraldic  devices,  the  Tudor  rose 
and  the  fleur-de-lis  under  crowns.     The  edifice  is  lighted  by  eight  clerestory  windows. 

In  the  Nave  are  the  dark  oaken  canopied  stalls  of  the  Knights  of  the  Bath,  who 
were  installed  in  this  Chapel  until  1812 :  these  stalls  are  studded  with  portcullises, 
falcons  on  fetterlocks,  fruit  and  flowers,  dragons  and  angels;  and  above  each  still  hangs 
the  banner  of  its  knight.  In  the  centre  of  the  apsis,  or  east  end,  within  rich  and 
massive  gates  of  brass,  is  the  royal  founder's  tomb :  a  pedestal,  with  the  effigies  (sup- 
posed likenesses)  of  Henry  and  his  Queen  Elizabeth,  originally  crowned ;  the  whole 
adorned  with  pilasters,  relievos,  rose-branches,  and  images,  on  graven  tabernacles,  of  the 
Kings  and  patron  Saints,  all  copper-gilt ;  at  the  angles  are  seated  angels.  This  costly 
tomb  is  the  six  years'  work  of  Pietro  Torrigiano,  a  Florentine,  who  received  for  it  the 
large  sum  of  1500/. :  the  Perpendicular  brazen  screen,  resembling  a  Gothic  palace,  is 
fine  English  art :  it  formerly  had  thirty-six  statues,  of  which  but  six  remain.  The  only 
remnant  of  old  glass  in  the  Chapel  is  a  figure  called  Henry  VII.  in  the  east  window. 

From  Henry  VII.  to  George  II.,  most  of  the  English  sovereigns  have  been  interred 


126  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

here.  Edward  VI.  was  buried  near  the  high  altar,  but  is  without  tomb  or  inscrip- 
tion. In  the  North  Aisle,  in  the  same  tomb,  lie  the  Queens  Mary  and  Elizabeth,  with 
a  large  monument  to  Elizabeth,  by  Maximilian  Coulte,  erected  by  James  I. 

*  The  bigot  Mary  rests  in  the  Abbey  Church  of  Westminster,  but  no  storied  monument,  no  costly 
tomb,  has  been  raised  to  her  memory.  She  was  interred  with  all  the  solemn  funeral  rites  used  by  the 
Church,  and  a  mass  of  requiem,  on  the  north  side  of  the  chapel  of  Henry  VII.  During1  the 
reign  of  her  successor  not  the  slightest  mark  of  respect  was  shown  to  her  memory  by  the  erection  of  a 
monument ;  and  even  at  the  present  day  no  other  memorial  remains  to  point  out  where  she  lies,  except 
two  small  black  tablets  at  the  base  of  the  sumptuous  tomb  erected  by  order  of  King  James  I.  over  the 
ashes  of  Elizabeth  aud  her  less  fortunate  sister.    On  them  we  read  as  follows  : 


BEGXO   CONSOBTES 
ET  VEITA  HIC   OBDOE- 

jinu-s  elizabetha 


ET   MAEIA   SOKOHIS 

IN   SPE   BESTBBEC- 

TIOKIS. 


Sir  JF.  Madden;  Privy-Purge  Expenses  of  the  Princess  Mary,  i(c. 

Near  Queen  Elizabeth's  monument  is  an  alabaster  cradle  and  effigy  of  the  infant 
daughter  of  James  I. ;  which  King,  with  his  Queen  Anne,  and  son  Prince  Henry,  the 
Queen  of  Bohemia,  and  Arabella  Stuart,  lie  beneath.  Next  is  a  white  marble  sarco- 
phagus, containing  the  supposed  remains  of  Edward  V.  and  his  brother  Richard,  mur- 
dered in  the  Tower  by  order  of  their  uncle,  King  Richard  III.  Near  it  is  a  recast* 
bent  figure,  by  Sir  R.  Westmacott,  R.  A.,  of  the  Duke  of  Montpensier,  brother  of  Louis 
Philippe,  King  of  the  French.  Next  is  the  grave  of  Addison,  whose  elegant  and  im- 
pressive essay  on  the  Abbey  Church  and  its  monuments  is  inseparable  from  its  his- 
tory ;  and  close  by  is  the  great  pyramidal  monument  of  Addison's  friend  and  patron, 
the  Earl  of  Halifax.  The  headless  corpse  of  Charles  I.  was  buried  at  Windsor.  The 
Protector  was  buried  in  Henry  VII.'s  Chapel,  but  in  about  two  years  his  remains 
were  removed.  In  the  South  Aisle  was  interred  Charles  II.,  "  without  any  manner 
of  pomp,  and  soon  forgotten"  (Evelyn).  James  II.  has  no  place  here;  the  vacant 
space  next  his  brother's  remains  being  occupied  by  William  III.  and  his  Queen.  Anne 
and  Prince  George  complete  the  royal  occupants  of  the  vault.  In  the  centre  of  the 
Chapel,  in  another  vault,  are  the  remains  of  King  George  II.  and  Queen  Caroline,  as 
it  were  in  one  "receptacle,  a  side  from  each  coffin  having  been  removed  by  the  King's 
direction.  In  the  same  vault  rests  Frederick  Prince  of  Wales,  father  of  George  III., 
beside  the  Duke  of  Cumberland,  the  hero  of  Culloden.  In  the  South  Aisle  is  the  altar- 
tomb  of  Margaret  Countess  of  Richmond,  mother  of  Henry  VII.,  with  a  brass  effigy 
by  Torrigiano ;  a  very  fine  altar-tomb,  with  effigy,  of  Lord  Darnley's  mother,  who 
"  had  to  her  great-grandfather  King  Edward  IV.,  to  her  grandfather  King  Henry  VII., 
to  her  uncle  King  Henry  VIII.,  to  her  cousin-german  King  Edward  VI.,  to  her 
brother  King  James  V.  of  Scotland,  to  her  son  (Darnley,  husband  of  Mary  Queen 
of  Scots),  King  Henry  I.  (of  Scotland),  and  to  her  grandchild  King  James  VI.  (of 
Scotland),"  and  I.  of  England.  Here  also  is  the  tomb,  with  effigy,  of  Mary  Queen  of 
Scots,  erected  by  Cornelius  Cure  for  James  L,  who  removed  his  mother's  remains 
thither  from  Peterborough  Cathedral.  In  the  same  aisle  lies  Monk,  Duke  of  Albe- 
marle, whose  funeral  Charles  II.  personally  attended :  the  statue  monument  is  by 
Kent.  Here  likewise  are  interred  George  Villiers,  Duke  of  Buckingham  (assassinated 
1G28),  and  his  son,  the  profligate  Duke. 

Henry  VII.  did  not  live  to  see  this  Chapel  finished ;  but  his  will,  dated  a.d.  1509, 
contains  orders  and  directions  for  its  completion.  In  several  parts  of  the  walls  is 
repeated  a  rebus,  formed  by  an  eye  and  a  slip  or  branch  of  a  tree,  indicating  the  name 
of  the  founder,  Islip.  The  Chapel  had,  at  the  beginning  of  the  present  century, 
been  built  only  about  300  years ;  within  a  period  of  thirty -three  years  no  less  a  sum 
than  nearly  70,000£.  was  spent  in  repairs,  chiefly  of  the  exterior.*  In  1793,  James 
Wyatt  stated  that  the  repairs,  necessary  and  ornamental,  would  amount  to  25.200Z. 
The  restoration  was  commenced  in  1810;  contrary  to  Wyatt's  estimate,  it  occupied 
thirteen  years  instead  of  three,  and  cost  over  42.000J. 

The  choristers  had  a  right  to  levy  a  fine  on  any  person  who  entered   this  Chapel  with  spurs : 

*  Henry  the  Seventh's  Chapel  is  built  of  stone  from  the  quarries  between  the  town  of  Rcigate  aud- 
the  chalk  hills  to  the  north. — Webster;  Oeolog.  Trans, 


CHURCHES— WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  127 

Bishop  Finch  had  to  pay  eighteenpencc  for  offending;  and  even  the  Koyal  Duke  of  Cumberland,  excus- 
ing himself  with  this  reply,  "  It  is  only  fair  I  should  wear  my  spurs  where  they  were  first  buckled  on," 
complied  with  the  custom.  It  was  made  the  Chapel  ofthe  Knights  of  the  Bath,  May  18, 1725;  the  last 
installation  occurred  in  1811.  On  May  9,  1803,  according  to  old  custom,  the  King's  cook  met  the 
Knights  at  Poets'  Corner  with  a  chopping-knife,  and  addressed  them  with  these  words :  "  If  you  break 
your  oath,  by  virtue  of  my  office  I  will  hack  your  spurs  from  off  your  heels." 

5.  St.  Paul's  Chapel  is  crowded  with  Cinque-cento  tombs,  rich  in  marble,  gilding, 
and  colour :  the  tombs  of  Sir  Thomas  Bromley,  Queen  Elizabeth's  Chancellor,  hung 
with  banners ;  of  Lord  Bourchier,  standard-bearer  to  Henry  V.  at  Agincourt ;  and  of 
Sir  Giles  Daubney,  are  among  the  best  specimens  of  the  period.  In  frigid  and 
colossal  contrast  with  their  beauty,  and  hiding  the  Raffaelesque  sculptures  of  Henry 
the  Fifth's  chantry,  is  the  sitting  statue  of  James  "Watt,  the  engineer,  by  Chantrey, 
R.A.,  strangely  out  of  place  in  a  mediaeval  Church  :  the  inscription,  which  contains  not  a 
word  of  flattery,  is  by  Lord  Brougham.  Next  westward  you  ascend  a  small  staircase, 
lending  to 

6.  Edward  the  Confessor's  Chapel,  in  the  rear  of  the  high  altar  of  the  Abbey.  A 
square  of  red  tiles  marks  the  site  of  St.  Edward's  altar,  which  was  standing  at  the 
coronation  of  Charles  II.,  and  used  as  the  depositary  of  the  regalia.  In  the  centre  is 
the  Shrine  of  the  Confessor,  erected  at  the  expense  of  Henry  III.,  and  enriched  with 
mosaic,  priceless  jewels,  and  images  of  gold  and  silver ;  and  bearing  a  Latin  inscription, 
now  almost  effaced.  Northward  is  the  altar-tomb  of  Edward  I.  (d.  1307),  of  Purbeck 
marble,  "  scantly  fynysshed :"  it  was  opened  in  1774,  when  the  King's  body  was  nearly 
entire.  Next  is  the  canopied  altar-tomb  of  Henry  III.  (1272),  once  richly  dight  with 
glittering  marbles  and  mosaic  work  of  gold,  and  still  bearing  a  fine  brass  effigies  of  the 
King.  At  the  east  end  is  the  altar-tomb  and  effigies  of  Eleanor,  Queen  of  Edward  I. ; 
its  beautiful  iron-work,  wrought  by  a  smith  at  Leighton  Buzzard  in  1293-4,  was 
restored  in  1849.  To  Fabyan's  time,  two  wax  tapers  had  been  kept  burning  upon 
Eleanor's  tomb,  day  and  night,  from  her  burial.  The  statue  of  the  Queen  Eleanor  is 
of  English  workmanship,  by  William  Torel,  a  goldsmith,  and  citizen  of  London. 
There  has  been  an  attempt  to  prove  that  he  was  a  member  of  the  Italian  family  of 
Torelli ;  but  the  name  of  Torel  occurs  in  documents  from  the  time  of  the  Confessor 
down  to  the  said  William.  When  the  beauty  of  the  statue  of  the  Queen  is  examined 
it  will  be  understood  how  acceptable  is  this  discovery  :  "  her  image  most  curiously 
done  in  brass,  gilt  with  gold ;  her  hair  dishevelled,  and  falling  very  handsomely  about 
her  shoulders ;  on  her  head  a  crown,  under  a  fine  canopy,  supported  by  two  cherubim, 
all  of  brass  gilt."  The  stone-work  ofthe  Queen's  tomb  was  constructed  by  Master  Richard 
de  Crundale,  mason,  who  began  the  Charing  Cross.  Above  the  effigy  was  originally  a 
canopy  of  wood,  made  by  Thomas  de  Hockington,  carpenter.  This  canopy  was  painted 
by  Master  Walter  de  Durham,  who  also  executed  the  paintings  on  the  side  of  the  tomb. 

Richard  II.  and  his  Queen,  Anne  of  Bohemia,  are  commemorated  by  a  tomb  of 
Petworth  marble,  inlaid  with  latten ;  the  fabric  cost  2507.,  the  images  400/.,  and  the 
building  of  the  effigies  of  copper  and  latten  gilt,  linked  hand  in  hand,  400  marks. 
Henry  V.,  who  removed  Richard's  remains  from  Langley,  established  a  Chantry  of  "  sad 
and  solemn  priests,"  for  his  soul's  repose. 

The  altar-tomb  and  chantry  of  Henry  V.  occupy  the  east  end  of  the  chapel; 
the  head  of  the  King,  of  solid  silver,  was  stolen  from  the  tomb  at  the  Reformation. 
"  In  Harry  the  Fifth's  time,"  says  Sir  Philip  Sidney,  "  the  Lord  Dudley  was  his  lord- 
steward,  and  did  that  pitiful  office  in  bringing  home,  as  the  chief  mourner,  his  victorious 
master's  dead  body,  as  who  goes  but  to  Westminster  in  the  church  may  see." 

At  the  King's  burial,  three  chargers,  with  their  riders  excellently  armed,  were  led  according  to  cus- 
tom, up  to  the  high  altar.  The  iron  gates  were  wrought  in  the  reign  of  King  Henry  VI.  The  screen, 
flanked  with  two  octagonal  towers,  is  a  mass  of  images  of  saints,  sculptures  of  his  coronation,  and  heraldic 
badges.  A  mutilated  effigy  of  oak  lies  upon  the  tomb  ;  above  him  arc  the  remains  ofthe  armour  which 
he  offered  here  in  thanksgiving,  the  saddle-tree  stripped  of  its  blue  velvet  housings  powdered  with 
fleur-de-lys ;  the  small  shield,  its  green  damask  semee  with  lilies  of  France ;  and  that  renowned 
sore  broken  helmet,  its  crest  deeply  dinted  with  the  stroke  of  D'Alenenn's  battle-axe  that  stunned  him  at 
Agincourt,  when  it  clove  away  half  of  his  golden  crown.  The  canopies  and  niches,  filled  with  statues 
of  kings,  bishops,  abbots,  and  saints,  are  very  fine. 

The  archway  had  formerly  ornamented  iron  gates,  made  by  a  London  smith,  in  1431, 
but  now  among  the  Abbey  stores.     Next,  by 

7.  St.  Erasmus's  Chapel,  you  enter 


128  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

8.  St.  John  the  Baptist's  Chapel,  with  a  groined  roof,  coloured  end  wall,  and  sculp- 
tured arcades.  Here  are  buried  several  early  Abbots  of  Westminster.  An  altar-tomb, 
of  freestone,  bears  the  effigy  of  William  de  Colchester,  wearing  gold  bracelets  bordered 
with  pearls  and  set  with  stones,  and  a  gold  mitre  covered  with  large  pearls,  and  crosses 
and  stars  of  precious  gems, — a  rare  piece  of  monumental  costume.  Here  is  a  large 
Cinque-cento  monument  to  Cary,  Lord  Hunsdon,  first  cousin  and  Chamberlain  to 
Queen  Elizabeth  ;  in  the  centre  of  the  area  is  the  altar-tomb  of  Thomas  Cecil,  Earl 
of  Exeter,  and  his  two  wives,  the  second  of  whom  refused  to  allow  her  statue  to  be  laid 
in  the  left  side  space,  still  vacant.  The  alabaster  monument  to  Colonel  Edward 
Popham.  '"oneof  the  Parliament  Generals  at  sea,"  was  the  only  one  spared  at  the 
Restoration.  Nearly  all  the  old  tombs  have  lost  their  canopies.  The  view  from  here 
is  very  picturesque  and  varied ;  and  in  leaving  the  Chapel,  the  eye  ranges  across  the 
north  transept,  and  down  the  north  aisles  of  the  choir  and  nave,  through  a  high 
o'erarching  vista  of  "  dim  religious  light,''"  brightened  by  a  gemmy  lancet  window. 

9.  Abbot  Islip's  Chapel  is  elegantly  sculptured,  and  contains  his  altar-tomb,  with 
an  effigy  of  the  Abbot  in  his  winding-sheet.  In  this  chapel  was  the  Wax-work  Exhi- 
bition, which  originated  in  the  olden  custom  of  waxen  figures  of  great  persons  being 
formerly  borne  in  their  funeral  processions,  then  for  a  time  deposited  over  their  graves, 
and  subsequently  removed.  Other  figures  were  added ;  the  sight  was  called  by  the 
vulgar,  "  The  Play  of  the  Dead  Volks,"  and  was  not  discontinued  until  1839.  Next  the 
Chapel  is  the  monument  to  General  Wolfe,  by  Wilton,  R.A.,  with  a  lead-bronzed  bas- 
relief  of  the  landing  at  Quebec,  executed  by  Cappizoldi.  We  now  enter  the  East 
Aisle  of  the  North  Transept,  formerly  divided  by  enriched  screens  into  the  Chapels  of 
St.  John,  St.  Michael,  and  St.  Andrew.  Here  is  the  celebrated  tomb  of  Sir  Francis 
Vere  {temp.  Elizabeth),  his  effigy  recumbent  beneath  a  canopy  on  which  are  his  helmet, 
breastplate,  &c,  supported  by  four  kneeling  knights  at  the  four  corners ;  the  design  is 
said  to  have  been  borrowed  from  a  tomb  at  Breda,  attributed  to  Michael  Angelo. 
Roubiliac  was  found  one  day  with  his  looks  fixed  on  one  of  the  knights'  figures; 
"  Hush  !  hush  \"  said  he  to  the  Abbey  mason,  laying  his  hand  on  his  arm  as  he 
approached,  and  pointing  to  the  figure,  "  he  will  speak  presently."  Near  this  tomb  is 
Roubiliac's  famous  monument  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nightingale,  where  Death,  as  a  skeleton, 
is  launching  his  dart  at  the  beautiful  wife,  who  sinks  into  the  arms  of  her  agonized 
husband .  her  right  arm  is  the  perfection  of  sculpture :  "  life  seems  slowly  receding 
from  her  tapering  fingers  and  quivering  wrist."  (Allan  Cunningham.)  Roubiliac 
died  the  year  after  its  erection,  1762  :  this  work  touches  every  heart,  but  the  figure 
of  Death  is  too  literal  and  melodramatic.  Upon  the  spot,  formerly  the  oratory  of  St. 
John  the  Evangelist,  is  a  marble  statue  of  Mrs.  Siddons  by  Campbell  j  she  is  in  her 
famous  walking  dream  as  Lady  Macbeth.  Here  is  also  an  alto-relievo,  by  J.  Bacon, 
jun.,  to  Admiral  R.  Kempenfeldt,  drowned  by  the  sinking  of  the  Royal  George,  1782  : 

"  When  Kempenfeldt  went  down 
With  twice  four  hundred  men." 

Opposite  is  the  colossal  statue  of  Telford,  the  eminent  engineer,  by  Baily,  R.A.;  and  a 
tablet  to  Sir  Humphry  Davy.  Eastward  is  the  north  side  of  Henry  the  Fifth's 
Chantry,  with  his  coronation  ceremony,  and  its  equestrian  war-group,  whose  poetic 
grandeur  of  sculpture  so  charmed  Flaxman. 

The  shrine  of  Henry  V.  is  excellently  carved.  The  figures,  which  are  carried  along:  the  screen,  in 
niches,  are  mostly  habited  in  long  gowns,  fastened  by  a  buckled  belt,  and  reaching  to  the  feet,  with  a 
cloak  over  them :  others  represent  ecclesiastics  ;  and  several  of  them  have  books.  The  coronation,  in 
a  square  compartment,  is  supposed  by  Gough  to  represent  the  coronation  of  Henry  V.  in  this  church, 
by  Thomas  Arundel,  Archbishop  of  Canterbury,  and  Henry  Beaufort,  the  king's  uncle.  The  canopies  over 
the  coronation,  and  nine  small  figures,  are  surmounted  by  devices  of  the  swan  and  antelope  alternately. 
The  large  cornices  under  the  figures  are  likewise  ornamented  with  swans  and  antelopes,  collared  and 
chained  to  a  tree,  on  which  is  a  flaming  cresset  light. 

Near  to  this  Chantry  is  the  tomb  of  Philippa  of  Hainault,  Queen  of  Edward  III., 
in  the  account  of  its  cost  stated  to  have  been  executed  by  one  "  Hawkin  Liege,  from 
France,"  though  its  character  is  Flemish. 

The  monument  consists  of  an  altar  tomb  of  dark  marble  overlaid  with  niches  of  open  work  in  white 
alabaster.  These  niches  contained  thirty  statuettes  of  different  personages,  connected  by  relationship  or 
marriage  with  the  queen.  Nearly  the  whole  of  the  tabernacle-work,  though  shown  as  perfect  hi  the 
prints  of  the  early  part  of  the  last  century,  has  since  disappeared. 


CHURCHES— WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  129 

Next  is  the  highly  decorated  altar-tomb  and  effigies  of  Edward  III.,  with  the 
richest  and  most  perfect  canopy  in  the  Abbey :  it  is  Early  Perpendicular,  and 
elaborately  carved ;  six  statues  of  Edward's  children  remain,  of  brass-gilt,  set  in  niches ; 
the  metal  table  and  effigy  are  of  latten;  the  head  of  the  King  is  eulogized  by  Lord 
Lindsay  as  one  of  almost  ideal  beauty.  The  sword,  7  feet  in  length,  and  weighing  18  lb., 
and  the  plain  rough  shield  of  wood,  coarsely  lined  with  buckram  and  rough  leather, 
recal  "  the  mighty  victor,  mighty  lord."  The  state  sword  and  shield  were  carried 
before  Edward  III.  in  France : 

"  The  monumental  sword  that  conquered  France." — Dryden. 
Here,  also,  are  three  small  tombs  of  children  of  Edward  III.,  Edward  IV.,  and 
Henry  VII. ;  likewise,  a  brass  of  John  de  Waltham,  Bishop  of  Salisbury,  and  Lord 
High  Treasurer,  buried,  by  favour  of  Richard  II.,  in  this  "  Chapel  of  the  Kings."  This 
is  parted  from  the  Choir  by  a  shrine  of  fifteenth-century  work,  its  frieze  bearing  the 
following  14  sculptures,  from  the  life  of  the  last  legitimate  Anglo-Saxon  King  : 

1.  Prelates  and  nobles  doing  fealty  to  Edward  the  Confessor  before  he  was  born.  2.  Birth  of  the 
Confessor.  3.  The  Confessor's  Coronation.  4.  The  Confessor  witnessing  the  Devil  dancing  on  the 
Danegelt  Tax  in  casks.  5.  Edward  admonishing  the  thief  stealing  his  treasure.  6.  Christ  appearing 
to  Edward.  7.  Vision — King  of  Denmark  falling  into  the  sea.  8.  Tosti  and  Harold's  quarrel.  9.  Vision — 
Emperor  Theodosius  and  Cave  of  Seven  Sleepers  of  Ephesus.  10.  Edward  giving  his  ring  to  St.  John 
Evangelist.  11.  Restoration  of  the  Blind,  by  use  of  water  in  which  Edward  had  washed.  12.  St.  John 
giving  Edward's  ring  to  Pilgrims.  13.  Pilgrims  returning  the  ring  to  Edward.  14.  Called  "  Dedication 
of  Edward  the  Confessor's  Church." 

The  two  upper  stories  of  the  Shrine  are  of  wainscot,  and  were  probably  erected  by 
Abbot  Feckenham,  in  Queen  Mary's  reign.  The  massive  iron-bound  oaken  coffin  con- 
taining the  ashes  of  the  pious  Edward,  within  the  ancient  stonework,  may  be  seen  from 
the  parapet  of  Henry  V.'s  Chapel. 

Two  illuminations  from  the  life  of  St.  Edward,  in  the  University  Library, 
Cambridge,  show — 1.  One  end  of  the  Shrine  in  which  the  saint  was,  probably,  first 
deposited  after  canonization,  with  the  infirm  persons  creeping  through  the  openings 
left  in  his  tomb  for  this  purpose.  There  is  a  pillar  on  either  side  of  the  Shrine  sur- 
mounted by  statues  of  St.  John  the  Evangelist  and  Edward  the  Confessor.  It  is 
therefore  probable  that  the  two  large  twisted  columns  which  we  now  see  at  the  base- 
ment of  the  Shrine  served  for  a  similar  purpose.  2.  The  side  of  the  same  Shrine. 
The  lid  is  raised,  upheld  by  several  persons ;  and  four  other  persons,  one  of  whom  is 
doubtless  intended  to  represent  Gundulph,  who  vainly  endeavoured  to  abstract  one  of 
the  hairs  of  the  beard,  are  readjusting  the  saint's  remains.  His  features  and  beard 
are  shown  as  in  perfect  preservation ;  and  there  is  a  crown  upon  his  head. 

Mr.  John  Gough  Nichols,  from  diaries  kept  during  the  days  of  Queen  Mary,  shows 
that  the  body  of  the  Confessor  had  been  removed,  and  the  Shrine,  wholly  or  in  part, 
taken  down  at  the  Dissolution,  but  restored  in  Queen  Mary's  time,  when  the  present 
wooden  Shrine,  cornice,  modern  inscription,  and  painted  decorations  were  added.  Mr. 
Scott,  however,  thinks  the  marble  substructure  to  have  been  only  in  part  removed. 
There  is,  in  Abbot  Litlington's  service-book  in  the  Abbey  Library,  a  view  of  the 
Shrine — it  is  feared,  an  imaginary  one.  The  substructure  is  speckled  over  to  represent 
mosaic  work,  but  the  seven  arched  recesses  for  pilgrims  to  kneel  under,  which  really 
occupy  two  sides  and  an  end,  are  all  shown  on  one  side !  The  Shrine  has  on  its 
sloped  covering  a  recumbent  figure  of  the  Confessor.  Mr.  Scott  opened  the  ground 
round  the  half-buried  pillars  at  the  west  end,  and  found  them  to  agree  in  height  with 
those  at  the  east,  which  they  so  much  exceed  in  diameter ;  and  he  recovered  the 
broken  parts  of  one  of  the  eastern  pillars,  and  refitted  and  refixed  its  numerous  frag- 
ments with  the  help  of  one  new  piece  of  only  a  few  inches  in  length ;  so  that  we  have 
now  one  perfect  pillar. 

Some  seven  years  ago,  Mr.  P.  Cunningham  found  in  the  Accounts  of  the  Paymaster 
of  Works  and  Buildings,  belonging  to  the  Crown  during  the  reign  of  King  James  II., 
the  following  entry : — 

"  Paid  to  Mathew  Bankes,  for  a  large  coffin  by  him  made  to  enclose  the  body  of  St.  Edward  the  Con- 
fessor, and  setting  it  up  in  its  place,  in  the  year  1685,-6/.  28.  8d.  And  to  William  Backe,  locksmith, 
for  large  hinges  and  rivetts,  and  2  crossebarrs  for  the  said  coffin, — 21. 17*.  7d." 

"  I  have  seen  "  (says  Keepe)  "a  large  chest  or  coffin,  bound  about  with  strong  bands  of  iron,  lying 
about  the  midst  of  the  inside  of  this  shrine,  where  I  suppose  the  body  of  the  pious  Confessor  may  still  be 
conserved."    Keepe's  work  was  published  in  1681 ;  and  four  years  after,  at  the  taking  down  of  the 

X 


130  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

scaffolding,  erected  for  the  coronation  of  James  II.,  a  hole  was  either  accidentally  or  purposely  broken  in 
the  lid  of  the  Confessor's  coffin.  "  On  putting  my  hand  into  the  hole  "  (says  Keepe) ,  "  and  turning  the 
hones  which  1  felt  there,  I  drew  from  underneath  the  shoulder-bones  a  crucifix,  richly  adorned  and  en- 
amelled, and  a  gold  chain,  twenty-four  inches  long."  The  crucifix  and  chain  of  the  last  but  one  of 
our  Saxon  kings  were  accepted  by  the  last  of  our  Stuart  kings.  Their  destiny  is,  I  believe,  un- 
known. 

With  their  hacks  to  the  screen  stand  the  two  Coronation  Chairs  used  at  the  crown- 
ing of  the  British  sovereigns.  One  was  made  by  order  of  Edward  I.  to  hold  the 
Scone  stone,  of  legendary  fame,  and  which  had  been  for  ages  the  coronation  seat  of 
the  Scottish  kings  :  it  is  of  reddish-grey  sandstone,  26  by  16f  inches,  and  \0\  inches 
thick.  The  companion  chair  was  made  for  the  coronation  of  Mary,  Queen  of 
William  III.  Both  chairs  are  of  architectural  design  :  the  ancient  one,  St.  Edward's 
Chair,  is  supported  upon  four  lions ;  and  both  are  covered  with  gold-frosted  tissue,  and 
cushioned,  when  used  at  coronations. 

Mr.  Burges  believes  that  the  Chair  was  ornamented  with  painting,  gilding,  glass,  jewels,  and  enamels 
in  a  similar  mode  as  were  the  sedilia  and  retabulum.  The  gilding  of  the  chair  was  effected  by  a  pro- 
cess not  hitherto  detected.  After  the  usual  "  gesso  "  was  applied,  and  the  gold  laid  on  by  means  of 
white  of  egg,  and  the  ground  thus  formed  was  still  elastic,  a  blunt  instrument  was  used  to  prick  out 
the  pattern.  By  the  aid  of  a  dark  lantern  and  a  strong  lens,  the  decorations  have  been  made  out  by 
Mr.  Tracey.  At  the  back  of  the  chair  are  remains  of  the  representation  of  a  king  there,  seated  on  a 
cushion  diapered  with  lozenges,  with  his  feet  resting  on  a  lion.  On  the  dexter  side  are  traces  of  birds 
and  foliage ; — on  the  sinister  a  diaper  of  compound  quatrefoils  with  a  different  subject,  such  as  a  knight, 
a  monster,  a  bird,  foliage,  in  each  quatrefoil. 

In  the  Wardrobe  Accounts  of  Edward  I.'s  time  there  is  a  charge  by  Master  Walter,  the  painter,  for 
the  costs  and  expenses  incurred  by  him  for  making  one  step  at  the  foot  of  the  new  chair  (in  which  is  the 
stone  from  Scotland),  set  up  near  the  altar  in  St.  Edward's  Shrine  in  the  Abbatial  Church  at  Westmin- 
ster, in  pursuance  of  the  order  of  the  King,  for  the  wages  of  the  carpenter  and  painter  for  painting  the 
same,  together  with  making  a  case  for  covering  the  chair.  The  cost  of  this  was  11.  19s.  7d.  The  coro- 
nation-stone is  placed  within  the  framework  of  the  chair :  at  each  end  is  a  circular  iron  handle,  affixed 
to  a  staple  within  the  stone  itself,  so  that  it  might  be  lifted  up. 

In  1297,  according  to  Stow,  Edward  I.  offered  at  the  Confessor's  Shrine  the  chair, 
containing  the  famous  stone ;  and  the  sceptre  and  crown  of  gold  of  the  Scottish 
sovereigns,  which  he  had  brought  from  the  Abbey  of  Scone.  The  Prophetic  or 
Fatal  Stone  is  named  from  the  belief  of  the  Scots  that  whenever  it  was  lost,  the 
power  of  the  nation  would  decline ;  it  was  also  superstitiously  called  Jacob's  Pillow. 
The  mosaic  pavement  of  this  chapel,  by  Abbot  Ware,  is  as  old  as  the  Confessor's 
Shrine  :  its  enigmatical  designs  in  tesserae  of  coloured  marbles,  porphyry,  jasper, 
alabaster,  &c,  are  very  curious. 

The  North  Transept,  from  its  number  of  political  memorials,  is  sometimes  called 
Statesmen's  Corner,  in  correspondence  with  Poets'  Corner,  in  the  South  Transept. 

The  North  Transept  contains  some  important  modern  monuments  :  such  are  Bacon's 
statue  of  the  great  Lord  Chatham,  with  allegorical  figures ;  and  Nollekens's  large 
group  of  pyramid,  allegory,  and  medallion,  to  the  three  Captains  mortally  wounded  in 
Rodney's  victory  of  April  12,  1782  :  these  are  national  tributes,  erected  by  the  King 
and  Parliament.  The  memorials  to  naval  commanders  here  are  numerous,  and  their 
heroic  suffering  is  usually  narrated  in  medallion.  Mrs.  Warren  and  child,  sometimes 
entitled  "  Charity,"  for  pathetic  treatment  has  few  rivals  in  modern  sculpture ;  it  is 
by  Sir  R.  Westmacott,  R.A.  One  of  the  grandest  works  here  is  Flaxman's  sitting 
statue  of  Lord  Chief- Justice  Mansfield,  supported  by  figures  of  Wisdom  and  Justice ; 
in  the  rear  of  the  pedestal  is  the  crouching  figure  of  a  condemned  youth,  with  the 
torch  of  life  reversed,  or  it  is  better  described  as  "  a  criminal,  by  Wisdom  delivered 
up  to  Justice."  (Cunningham's  Handbook  of  Westminster  Abbey.)  Lord  Mansfield 
rests  beneath  this  memorial :  it  cost  2500Z.,  bequeathed  by  a  private  individual  for  its 
erection.  In  the  pavement  here  are  buried  Chatham,  Pitt,  and  Fox;  Castlereagh, 
Canning,  and  Grattan ;  Lord  Colchester  and  William  Wilberforce : 

"Now — taming  thought  to  human  pride  I— 

The  mighty  chiefs  sleep  side  by  side. 

Drop  upon  Fox's  grave  the  tear, 

'Twill  trickle  to  his  rival's  bier ; 

O'er  Pitt's  the  mournful  requiem  sound, 

And  Fox's  shall  the  notes  rebound."    Sir  Walter  Scott. 

Fox's  memorial,  by  Westmacott,  shows  the  orator  dying  in  the  arms  of  Liberty, 

attended  by  Peace  and  a  kneeling  negro.     Canova  said  of  the  figure  of  the  African 

in  this  group,  that  "  neither  in  England  nor  out  of  England  had  he  seen  any  modern 

work  in  marble  which  surpassed  it."     King  George  IV.  subscribed  1000  guineas 


CHURCHES— WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  131 


towards  this  monument.  Pitt's  monument,  by  the  same  sculptor,  is  over  the  great 
western  door  of  the  Nave.  In  the  north  aisle  of  the  Choir,  leading  to  the  Nave,  are 
Chantrey's  marble  portrait-statues  of  Horner,  Canning,  Malcolm,  and  Raffles ;  a  statue 
of  Follett,  by  Behnes;  John  Philip  Kemble  (without  a  name),  modelled  by  Flaxman, 
but  executed  after  his  death  ;  Wilberforce,  by  S.  Joseph ;  and,  opposite  Canning,  the 
late  Marquis  of  Londonderry,  by  J.  E.  Thomas — placed  here,  in  1850,  by  the  Marquis's 
brother.     Nearly  opposite  is  the  grave  of  Viscount  Palmerston,  d.  October  18, 1865. 

Here  are  three  monuments  by  Wilton:  statue  of  General  Wolfe,  and  figures; 
statue  of  Adiniral  Holmes,  in  Roman  armour ;  and  William  Pulteney,  Earl  of  Bath, 
statues  and  medallion. 

The  more  ancient  monuments,  of  the  larger  size,  are  those  of  William  Cavendish, 
the  loyalist  Duke  of  Newcastle,  and  his  Duchess ;  and  his  kinsman,  the  Duke  John 
Holies.  Here,  too,  are  memorials  of  our  old  admirals,  Sir  Charles  Wager,  Vernon  of 
Portobello,  and  Sir  Peter  Warren,  by  Scheemakers,  Rysbrack,  and  Roubiliac.  Here  are 
busts,  by  Weekes,  of  Charles  Buller  and  Sir  George  Cornewall  Lewis,  the  latter  in  the 
western  porch,  and  adjoining  the  monuments  to  Follett,  Kemble,  and  Lieut.-Gen. 
Sir  Eyre  Coote.  Next,  also,  are  the  bust  of  Warren  Hastings,  by  Bacon ;  Thrupp's 
statue  of  Sir  Thomas  Fowell  Buxton  ;  and  Sir  Robert  Peel,  by  Gibson,  R.A.  Here, 
likewise,  is  the  mural  monument,  by  Noble,  to  Sir  James  Outram — a  bust  surmounting 
a  historical  group  of  the  meeting  of  Outram,  Havelock,  and  Clyde,  at  Lucknow  :  the 
tablet  supported  by  figures  of  a  Scindian  and  Bheel  chief. 

The  six  lancet  windows  of  the  North  Transept,  painted  with  figures  of  Moses, 
Joshua,  Caleb,  Gideon,  David,  and  Jonathan,  and  with  medallion  pictures  of  their 
chief  exploits,  were  erected  in  memory  of  six  officers  of  Sir  James  Outram's  army, 
killed  in  the  Indian  War  of  1857  and  1858 ;  another  window,  in  the  aisle  to  the  left, 
is  dedicated  to  that  of  Brigadier  the  Hon.  Adrian  Hope.  The  rose-window,  higher  up, 
filled  with  paintings  of  the  Saviour,  the  twelve  Apostles,  and  the  four  Evangelists,  is 
of  much  older  date. 

The  Choir  is  in  height  the  loftiest  in  England.  The  light  and  graceful  piers  are 
ornamented  with  detached  shafts  filleted  with  brass.  The  triforium,  or  gallery  imme- 
diately above  the  aisles,  where  the  nuns  of  Kilburn  are  traditionally  said  to  have 
attended  service,  is  an  arcade  of  double  compartments  of  two  arches  with  a  cinquefoil 
in  the  head ;  the  arches  narrow  towards  the  apse,  and  become  sharply  pointed.  This 
arcade  is  probably  the  most  beautiful  example  in  existence  of  its  kind.  Mr.  Scott 
says : — "  The  spaciousness  of  this  upper  story  is  quite  surprising  to  persons  who  see  it 
for  the  first  time.  It  is  capable  of  containing  thousands  of  persons,  and  its  architec- 
tural and  artistic  effects,  as  viewed  from  different  points,  are  wonderfully  varied  and 
beautiful."  Its  convenience  for  public  solemnities,  as  coronations,  was  very  great ; 
and  it  is  to  be  wished  that  access  to  these  noble  triforial  galleries,  from  which  by  far 
the  most  beautiful  views  of  the  interior  are  to  be  had,  were  more  freely  granted  to 
such  visitors  as  would  appreciate  the  privilege.  Mr.  Burges  suggests,  not  altogether 
without  probability,  that  it  was  in  the  spacious  triforium  that  Caxton  first  set  up  his 
printing-press  in  Westminster  Abbey. 

The  clerestory  windows  are  of  two  lights  :  the  spandrels  are  chiselled  with  diaper 
work  in  small  panels,  containing  flowers  in  low  relief.  The  piers  of  the  lantern  are 
massive  and  grand — one  continuous  upward  line  of  grey  marble,  surrounded  by  sixteen 
shafts  wrought  out  of  the  main  column.  The  bosses  in  the  vault  were  gilded  in  the 
time  of  Queen  Anne.  The  vaulting  of  plaster  under  the  lantern  is  by  Bernasconi,  and 
designed  by  James  Wyatt,  who  set  up  the  paltry  altar  screen  at  the  coronation  of 
George  IV. 

The  pavement  of  opus  Alexandrintim,  on  the  altar  platform,  was  made  by  a  Roman  artist  for  Abbot 
Ware,  circa  1268.  An  inscription  on  the  pavement  says: — "Odericus  et  Abbas  hos  compegere  por- 
phyreos  lapides."  But  for  three  peculiarities  indicated  by  Mr.  Burges,  it  might  be  supposed  that 
Abbot  Ware  had  brought  this  present  for  his  church  from  Home  in  its  finished  state ;  an  examination 
will  show  that  the  Italian  ground  for  mosaics,  cippolino,  not  being  obtainable  in  this  country,  Purbeck 
was  substituted ;  that  legends  in  brass  letters  were  inserted  in  the  Purbeck  borders ;  and  that  glass 
was  introduced ;  facts  which  show  conclusively  that  it  was  of  Northern  workmanship.  Among  the 
sums  paid  by  the  executors  of  Queen  Eleanor  was  an  account  of  sixty  shillings  to  William  le  Pavour 
"  pro  pavimento  faciendo  in  Ecclesia  West."  This,  it  is  conjectured,  relates  to  the  mosaic  pavement  in 
the  chapel  of  Edward  the  Confessor.— Scott's  Gleanings  from  Westminster  Abbey. 

The  Choir  was  formerly  hung  with  beautiful  tapestries,  and  cloth  of  arras,  which,  on 

K  2 


132  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Jan.  4,  1644,  were  transferred  to  the  Parliament  House,  given  back  at  the  Restoration, 
and  finally  removed  in  1707 :  a  portion  is  now  in  the  Jerusalem  Chamber. 

The  Choir  has  some  fine  canopied  monuments.  On  the  north  side  is  the  richly- 
canopied  tomb  of  Avelina,  Countess  of  Lancaster;  of  Aymej  de  Valence,  Earl  of 
Pembroke  (best  seen  from  the  north  aisle) ;  and  Edmund  Crouchback,  Earl  of  Lan- 
caster, second  son  of  Edward  III.  Aymer  de  Valence  was  one  of  the  heroes  of 
Bannockburn,  and  fell  wounded  by  a  tilting-spear  in  France,  June  23,  1323 :  Gray 
portrays  his  countess  as — 

The  sad  Chatillon  on  her  bridal  morn 

Who  wept  her  bleeding  love. 

The  monument  was  thus  described  by  Keepe  in  1683 : — 

"  A  wainscot  chest,  covered  over  with  plates  of  brass,  richly  enamelled,  and  thereon  the  image  of 
de  Valence,  Earl  of  Pembroke,  with  a  deep  shield  on  his  left  arm,  in  a  coat  of  mail  with  a  surcoat,  all  of  the 
same  enamelled  brass,  gilt  with  gold,  and  beset  with  the  arms  of  Valence,  &c.  *  *  *  Round  about  the 
inner  ledge  of  this  tomb  is  most  of  the  epitaph  remaining,  in  the  ancient  Saxon  letters ;  and  the  rest  of 
the  chest,  covered  with  brass,  wrought  in  the  form  of  lozenges,  each  lozenge  containing  either  the  arms 
of  England  or  of  Valence,  alternately  placed  one  after  the  other,  enamelled  with  their  colours.  Round 
this  chest  have  been  thirty  little  brazen  images,  some  of  them  still  remaining,  twelve  on  each  side,  and 
three  at  each  end,  divided  by  central  arches  that  serve  as  niches  to  enclose  them ;  and  on  the  outward 
ledge,  at  the  foot  of  these  images,  is  placed  a  coat  of  arms  in  brass  enamelled  with  the  colours." 

Flaxman  characterizes  the  two  latter  monuments  as  "  specimens  of  the  magnificence 
of  our  sculpture  in  the  reign  of  the  first  two  Edwards.  The  loftiness  of  the  work,  the 
number  of  arches  and  pinnacles,  the  lightness  of  the  spires,  the  richness  and  profusion 
of  foliage  and  crockets,  the  solemn  repose  of  the  principal  statue,  representing  the 
deceased  in  his  last  prayer  for  mercy  at  the  throne  of  grace ;  the  delicacy  of  thought 
in  the  group  of  angels  bearing  the  soul,  and  the  tender  sentiment  of  concern  variously 
expressed  in  the  relations  ranged  in  order  round  the  basement, — forcibly  arrest  the 
attention,  and  carry  the  thoughts  not  only  to  other  ages,  but  to  other  states  of  existence." 
In  the  South  aisle  of  the  Choir  is  part  of  a  splendid  altar  frontal  (thirteenth  century), 
discovered  in  1827. 

This  is  a  very  wonderful  work  of  art,  being  most  richly  decorated  with  glass,  gold,  and  painting,  and 
probably  with  precious  stones,  and  even  with  casts  of  antique  gems.  The  glass  enrichments  are  of  two 
sorts — in  one  the  glass  is  coloured,  and  is  decorated  on  its  face  with  gold  diaper;  in  the  other 
it  is  white,  and  laid  upon  a  decorated  surface.  The  great  charm,  however,  of  the  work  must  have  been 
in  the  paintings.  They  consist  of  single  figures  in  niches  of  our  Lord  and  SS.  Peter  and  Paul,  and  two 
female  saints,  and  a  number  of  small  medallion  subjects  beautifully  painted. 

On  the  south  is  the  Cinque-cento  altar- tomb  of  Anne  of  Cleves,  one  of  King  Henry 
VIII.'s  six  wives,  which  is  so  miserable  as  to  have  led  old  Fuller  to  observe,  "  not  one 
of  Harry's  wives  had  a  monument,  and  she  but  half  a  one  ;"  above  is  the  tomb 
of  King  Sebert,  erected  in  1308,  and  bearing  two  pictures,  Sebert  and  Henry  III., 
among  our  earliest  specimens  of  oil-painting,  and  in  tolerable  condition. 

In  1848,  the  oak  refitting  of  the  Choir  was  completed  j  the  Organ  over  the  screen  at 
the  west  entrance  was  then  partly  removed  to  the  sides,  and  partly  lowered,  so  as  not 
to  intercept  the  view  of  the  great  west  window.  On  each  side  are  ranged  oaken 
stalls,  with  decorated  gables,  those  for  the  Dean  and  Sub-dean  distinguished  by  loftier 
canopies,  and  the  western  entrance  being  still  more  enriched;  the  pew-fronts  and 
seat-ends  are  also  carved,  and  many  more  sittings  have  been  provided :  the  carved 
wood-work  is  by  Messrs.  Ruddle,  of  Peterborough,  from  designs  by  E.  Blore. 
The  great  circular  or  marigold  window,  and  the  triforium  and  other  windows  beneath 
it,  in  the  South  Transept,  have  been  filled  with  stained  glass  by  Ward  and 
Nixon  ;  the  subjects  are  incidents  in  the  life  of  our  Saviour,  with  figures  nearly  three 
feet  high.  From  the  cross  of  the  Transepts,  the  magnificent  perspective  of  the  high 
imbowed  roof  of  the  Nave  and  Choir,  and  the  great  height  of  the  edifice,  nearly  104 
feet,  is  seen  to  the  best  advantage.  The  pavement  is  partly  Abbot  Ware's,  and  in 
part  black  and  white  marble,  the  latter  given  by  Dr.  Busby,  of  Westminster  School. 
The  decorations  of  the  altar  are  in  the  Gothic  style;  but  a  classic  order  disgraced  the  choir 
from  the  days  of  Queen  Anne  to  the  reign  of  George  IV.  The  original  stalls  of  the  choir 
seem  to  have  been  retained  in  a  more  or  less  perfect  state  till  late  in  the  last  century. 
They  are  shown  in  the  view  given  by  Dart,  and  in  that  given  in  Sandford's  account  of 
the  coronation  of  James  II.  The  canopies  are  there  supported  by  single  shafts.  The 
sedilia  are  more  than  usually  curious,  from  the  fact  that  they  are  made  of  wood.  They 
have  suffered  much  since  Sir  J.  Ayliffe  had  them  and  the  tomb  of  Avelina,  Countess  of 


CHURCHES,— WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  133 

Lancaster,  drawn  for  the  Vetusta  Honumenta,  in  1778.  There  are  four  of  them  : 
but  no  trace  is  found  of  a  piscina.  They  appear  to  have  been  elaborately  decorated  by 
processes  similar  to  that  which  beautified  the  retabulum,  which  was  discovered  by  Mr. 
Blore,  in  1827,  lying  on  the  top  of  the  effigy  cases  in  the  upper  chapel  of  Abbot  Islip. 
It  is  a  rich  specimen  of  thirteenth -century  workmanship  j  and  has  been  restored  to  its 
place  at  the  back  of  the  high  altar. 

The  north  aisle  of  the  Choir,  leading  to  the  Nave,  has  been  described  as  a  sort  of 
Musicians'  Corner ;  for  here  rests  Purcell,  with  the  striking  epitaph,  attributed  to 
Dryden :  "  Here  lies  Henry  Purcell,  Esq.,  who  left  this  life,  and  is  gone  to  that 
blessed  place  where  only  his  harmony  can  be  exceeded."  On  the  same  pillar  is  a 
memorial  of  Samuel  Arnold ;  both  Purcell  and  Arnold  were  organists  of  the  Abbey. 
Opposite  is  a  tablet  to  Dr.  Blow ;  and  close  by  lies  Dr.  Croft,  another  organist  of 
the  Abbey,  whose  death  is  said  to  have  been  brought  on  by  his  attendance  at  the  coro- 
nation of  George  II. 

Coronations. — In  this   Abbey-church   the  following    monarchs  and  consorts  have 

been  crowned : — 

Jan.  6, 1066,  Harold ;  Dee.  25,  "William  ;  Sept.  26, 1087,  William  II. ;  Aug.  6,  1094,  Henry  I. ;  Dec. 
26, 1135,  Stephen  of  BLis;  March  22,  1135-6,  Matilda  of  Boulogne;  Dec.  19,  1154,  Henry  II.  and 
Eleanor  of  Aquitaine;  Sunday  after  St.  Barnabas'  day,  1170,  Prince  Henry;  Sept.  3,  1189,  Richard  I. ; 
May  27,  1199,  John;  Oct.  28,  1216,  Henry  III.,  and  again  Feb.  1236,  with  Eleanor  of  Provence; 
Aug.  19,  1272,  Kdward  I.  with  Eleanor  of  Castile  ;  Quinquagesima,  1308,  Edward  II.,  and  Isabella  of 
France;  Feb.  2,  1327,  Edward  III.,  and  Philippa  of  Hainault;  Richard  II.,  July  16, 1377 ;  Jan.14,1382, 
Anne  of  Bohemia;  Oct.  13, 1399,  Henrv  IV.,  and  Feb.  26,  1403,  Joan  of  Bretagne,  with  the  sacred  un- 
guent of  Rheims;  April  9, 1421,  Henry  V.,  and  Feb.  24, 1421,  Katherine  of  Valois ;  Nov.  6,  1421,  Henry 
VI.;  Mav30,  14  to,  Margaret  of  Anjou;  June  8,  1460,  Edward  IV.,  and  Ascension-Day,  1465,  Elizabeth 
Woodville;  July  5, 1483,  Richard  HI.;  Oct. 30, 1485, Henry  VII.,  and.Nov.25,1487,  Elizabeth  of  York; 
June  24, 1509,  Henry  VIII.  and  Catherine  of  Aragon ;  Whitsun-Day  1533,  Anna  Boleyn;  Shrove  Tues- 
day, 1547,  Edward  VI. ;  Oct.  2, 1552,  Mary ;  Jan.  13, 1558-9,  Elizabeth ;  July  25, 1603,  James  I.  (the  service 
for  the  first  time  being  in  the  English  tongue) ;  Feb.  2, 1626,  Charles  I.,  ominously  clad  in  white  satin ;  St. 
George's  Day,  1661,  Charles  II. ;  St.  George's  Day,  1685,  James  II.,  and  Mary  of  Modena;  April  18, 
1689,  William  of  Orange  and  Mary,  when  Lord  Danby  had  to  produce  twenty  guineas  at  the  offertory, 
as  the  purse  had  been  stolen  at  the  king's  side  ["the  Bishop  of  London  put  the  crown  on  the  king's 
head, as  Dr.  Sancroft,  the  Archbishop  of  Canterbury,  would  not  take  the  oaths  to  their  Majesties]; 
April  23, 1702,  Anne;  Oct.  20,  1714,  George  I.,  who  rudely  repulsed  Dean  Atterbury's  ceremonious 
offer  of  the  canopy  and  chair  of  state,  but  refused  to  wear  his  crown  while  receiving  the  Holy  Com- 
munion, saying  it  was  indecent  so  to  appear  before  the  King  of  kings ;  Oct.  11,  1727,  George  II.  and 
Caroline  of  Anspach ;  Sept.  22nd,  1761,  George  III.  (the  kiss  of  charity  was  omitted,  and  mitres  were  first 
disused  by  the  prelates) :  July  19, 1821,  George  IV. ;  Sept.  8,  1831,  William  and  Adelaide,  without  coro- 
nation feast  and  procession,  or  champion's  challenge ;  June  28, 1838,  "The  Hanover  Thursday,"  Queen 
Victoria ;  when,  for  the  first  time  since  the  Revolution,  a  sovereign  was  desired  to  lay  aside  the  crown  be- 
fore receiving  the  Holy  Communion ;  and  a  procession  of  coaches  was  substituted  for  the  ancient  proces- 
sion on  foot. —  Walcott's  Guide  to  the  Cathedrals,  1858. 

Upon  most  occasions,  the  sacred  ceremony  was  followed  by  a  banquet  in  the  Great 
Hall  of  the  Palace  of  Westminster.  The  last  of  these  festivities  was  that  at  the  coro- 
nation of  George  IV.  On  the  night  previous,  the  King  reposed  on  a  couch  in  the 
tapestry-room  of  the  Speaker's  official  residence  in  the  Old  Palace ;  and  next  morning 
the  royal  procession  advanced  along  a  raised  platform,  covered  by  an  awning,  from  West- 
minster Hall  to  the  Abbey  Church,  where  the  King  was  crowned ;  and  then  returned 
to  the  Great  Hall,  where  the  banquet  was  served. 

The  entire  cost  of  this  Coronation  is  stated  to  have  exceeded  a  quarter  of  a  million,  or  more  than 
268,000^.  It  has  been  commemorated  in  one  of  the  most  costly  works  of  pictorial  art  ever  produced — 
the  Illustrated  History  of  the  Coronation  of  George  IV.,  by  Sir  George  Nayler :  containing  forty-five 
splendidly  coloured  plates,  atlas  folio,  price  fifty  guineas  per  copy.  Sir  George  lost  a  considerable  sum 
by  the  publication,  although  Government  voted  50001.  towards  the  expenses.  Sir  George  also  under- 
took a  much  more  costly  memorial  of  this  Coronation  for  George  IV.,  but  it  was  never  completed. 
The  portion  executed  contains  seventy-three  coloured  drawings,  finished  like  enamels,  on  velvet  and 
white  satin :  the  portraits  are  very  accurate  likenesses,  and  many  of  the  coronets  have  rubies,  emeralds, 
pearls,  and  brilliants  set  in  gold ;  each  portrait  costing  fifty  guineas,  first-hand.— H.  Bonn's  Catalogue. 

At  the  coronation  of  Queen  Victoria,  temporary  reception  apartments  were  erected 
at  the  great  western  entrance  to  the  Abbey  Church ;  the  Nave  was  fitted  with  galleries 
and  seats  for  spectators,  as  were  also  the  Choir  and  Transepts ;  the  peers  were  seated 
in  the  North  Transept,  and  the  peeresses  South ;  and  the  House  of  Commons  in  a 
gallery  over  the  altar ;  and  the  orchestra  of  400  performers  in  front  of  the  organ. 
At  the  intersection  of  the  Choir  and  Transepts  was  the  theatre,  or  pulpitum,  covered 
with  rich  carpets  and  cloth  of  gold,  in  the  centre  of  which,  upon  a  raised  platform, 
stood  the  Chair  of  Homage.  At  the  north-east  corner  of  the  theatre  was  the  pulpit, 
whence  "  the  Coronation  Sermon "  was  preached.  The  crowning  in  St.  Edward's 
Chair  took  place  in  the  Sacrarium,  before  the  altar,  in  front  of  St.  Edward's  Chapel ; 


134  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

and  behind  the  altar  was  "  the  Queen's  Traverse,"  or  retiring-room.  (See  "  Corona- 
tion Chairs,"  described  at  p.  132.) 

At  the  altar  were  married  the  Princesses  Joan  and  Margaret,  May  2,  128 1 ;  and 
Henry  and  Elizabeth,  January  18,  1486;  here  were  offered  the  spoils  of  Wales, 
April,  1285  ;  here,  when  Prince  Edward  was  made  a  Knight,  two  knights  were  stifled 
in  the  crowd,  and  the  King  swore  him  and  his  nobles  on  the  two  golden  swans  that 
were  carried  up  in  procession,  to  avenge  John  Corny n. and  conquer  Scotland.  Here 
Henry  V.  offered  the  trappings  of  his  coursers  on  his  return  from  France,  to  be  con- 
verted into  vestments.  Here,  August  11,  1381,  the  Constable  of  the  Tower  and  Sir 
Ralph  Farren  slew  a  squire  who  had  fought  at  Najara,  and  a  monk  who  endeavoured 
to  save  him,  before  the  Prior's  stall :  as  in  1380  Wat  Tyler's  mob  slew  a  man  before 
the  Shrine.  Here  Abbot  Weston  celebrated  mass  in  armour,  when  Sir  T.  Wyatt  was 
marching  on  London ;  and  afterwards  silenced  his  opponents  in  a  famous  disputation, 
saying,  "  You  have  the  word,  but  we  have  the  sword." — Walcott's  Handbook. 

The  Nave  has  almost  every  variety  of  memorial — sarcophagus  and  statue,  bust  and 
brass,  tablet  and  medallion,  mostly  modern.  Immediately  behind  the  memorial  of 
Fox,  on  the  left,  as  the  visitor  enters  the  great  western  door,  are  a  marble  bust  of  Sir 
James  Mackintosh,  and  busts  of  Zachary  Macaulay,  Tierney,  and  other  public  men. 
In  the  southern  aisle  of  the  Choir,  leading  to  the  Nave,  is  Bird's  monument  to  Sir 
Cloudesley  Shovel,  personifying  "  the  brave,  rough  English  Admiral"  by  a  periwigged 
beau,  which  was  so  justly  complained  of  by  Addison  and  the  pious  Dr.  Watts.  Opposite 
is  Behnes's  bust  of  Dr.  Bell,  the  founder  of  the  Madras  System  of  Education  ;  and  near 
it  is  the  monument  .to  Thomas  Thynne,  of  Longleat,  Wilts :  he  was  shot  in  his  coach,  at 
the  end  of  the  Haymarket,  Sunday,  Feb.  12,  16S2,  as  sculptured  on  the  tomb.  Here, 
too,  is  a  fine  bust,  by  Le  Socur,  of  Sir  Thomas  Richardson,  Lord  Chief-Justice  (temp. 
Charles  I.) ;  and  a  bust  of  Pasquale  de  Paoli,  the  Corsican  chief.  Here,  also,  are 
the  monuments  to  Dr.  South,  the  witty  prebendary  of  the  Church;  Dr.  Busby, 
master  of  Westminster  School ;  and  Dr.  Isaac  Watts,  buried  in  Bunhill  Fields. 

In  the  two  side  arches  of  the  Choir  screen  are  the  monuments  of  Sir  Isaac  Newton, 
and  James,  first  Earl  Stanhope ;  both  designed  by  Kent,  and  executed  by  Rysbrack  : 
Newton's  is  characterized  by  the  celestial  globe,  with  the  course  of  the  comet  of  1681, 
and  the  genius  of  Astronomy  above  it.  In  the  screen  niches  are  statues  of  Edward  the 
Confessor,  Henry  III.,  and  Edward  L,  and  their  respective  queens. 

In  the  Nave  north  aisle  is  a  weeping  female,  by  Flaxman,  to  the  memory  of  George 
Lindsay  Johnstone — a  touching  memorial  of  sisterly  sorrow.  One  of  the  few  old 
monuments  here  is  that  to  Mrs.  James  Hill — a  kneeling  figure  and  sheeted  skeleton, 
and  the  mottoes :  "  Mors  mihi  lucrum,"  and  "  Solus  Christus  mihi  sola  salus."  Near 
the  above  is  the  Parliamentary  figure-group,  by  Westmacott,  to  Spencer  Perceval,  the 
Prime  Minister,  shot  by  Bellingham,  in  the  lobby  of  the  House  of  Commons,  May  11, 
1812 ;  the  assassination  is  sculptured  rearward  of  the  figures.  Here  also  are  several 
interesting  monuments  to  heroes  who  have  fallen  in  battle :  as,  Colonel  Bringfield, 
killed  by  a  cannon-shot  at  Ramilies  whilst  remounting  the  great  Duke  of  Marlborough 
on  a  fresh  horse  ;  the  three  brothers  Twysden,  who  fell  in  their  country's  service  in 
three  successive  years;  Captains  Harvey,  Hutt,  and  Montagu,  who  fell  in  Lord 
Howe's  victory  of  June  1 ;  Sir  Richard  Fletcher,  killed  at  St.  Sebastian ;  and  the  Hon. 
Major  Stanhope,  at  Corunna.  Here,  too,  is  a  plain  tablet  to  Banks,  the  sculptor,  R.A. ; 
a  monument  to  Sir  Godfrey  Kneller,  the  painter,  by  Rysbrack,  after  Sir  Godfrey's  own 
design,  Pope  furnishing  the  epitaph :  Kneller  is  buried  in  Twickenham  Church.  To- 
wards the  middle  of  the  Nave  are  the  gravestones  of  Major  Rennell,  the  geographer ; 
and  Thomas  Telford,  the  engineer ;  and  near  Banks's  tablet  is  buried  Ben  Jonson,  his 
coffin  set  on  its  feet,  and  originally  covered  with  a  stone  inscribed  "  O  rare  Ben 
Jonson  !"  By  his  side  lies  Tom  Killigrew,  the  wit  of  Charles  the  Second's  court ;  and 
opposite,  his  son,  killed  at  the  battle  of  Almanza,  in  Spain,  1707.  In  the  north  aisle, 
too,  is  a  large  brass  to  the  memory  of  Sir  Robert  Wilson,  the  soldier  and  politician, 
and  Dame  Jemima,  his  wife ;  with  figures  of  a  mediaeval  warrior  in  coat  of  mail,  and 
of  a  mediaeval  lady,  under  canopies ;  and  below  are  two  groups  of  seven  boys  and  seven 
girls !  Side  by  side  are  memorials  of  Robert  Stephenson,  the  engineer,  and  John 
Hunter,  the  surgeon,  removed  here  in  1859,  from  the  Church  of  St.  Martin's-in-the- 
Fields;  the  memorials  are  of  polished  granite,  inlaid  and  bordered  with  brass. 


CHURCHES— WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  135 

Over  the  west  door  "is  Westmacott's  statue- memorial  to  the  Right  Hon.  William 
Pitt :  it  cost  6300Z.,  then  the  largest  sum  ever  voted  by  Government  for  a  national 
monument.  To  the  left  is  a  large  marble  monument  to  Lord  Holland,  by  Baily,  R.A., 
erected  by  public  subscription  in  1848 ;  the  design — the  prison-house  of  Death,  with 
three  poetic  figures  in  lamentation,  bassi-relievi  on  the  two  sides,  and  the  whole  sur- 
mounted by  a  colossal  bust  of  the  deceased  Lord — is,  perhaps,  the  finest  architectural 
and  sculptural  combination  in  the  Abbey. 

We  now  reach  the  south  tower  of  the  western  front,  used  as  the  Consistory  Court, 
and  Chapel  for  Morning  Prayers. 

In  the  south  aisle  of  the  Nave,  commencing  from  the  west,  is  the  tomb  of  Captain 
Cornewall,  who  fell  in  the  sea-fight  off"  Toulon,  1743 ;  this  being  the  first  monument 
voted  by  Parliament  for  naval  services. 

Next  is  the  statue  of  the  Right  Hon.  James  Craggs,  the  friend  of  Pope  and  Addi- 
son ;  and  Bird's  bust-monument  to  Congreve,  the  great  dramatic  poet,  erected  at  the  ex- 
pense of  Henrietta  Duchess  of  Marlborough,  to  whom  Congreve,  "  for  reasons  not  known 
or  not  mentioned,"  bequeathed  10,000/.  Among  the  noticeable  personages  interred 
here,  without  memorials,  is  Dean  Atterbury — the  place  his  own  previous  choice,  being, 
as  he  told  Pope,  "  as  far  from  kings  and  kaesars  as  the  space  will  admit  of;"  also  Mrs. 
Oldfield,  the  actress,  buried  "  in  a  very  fine  Brussels-lace  head,  a  Holland  shift,  with  a 
tucker  and  double  ruffles  of  the  same  lace,  a  pair  of  new  kid  gloves,"  &c. ;  to  which 
Pope  thus  alludes : — 

"  Odiou3  !  in  woollen !  'twould  a  saint  provoke, 

(Were  the  last  words  that  poor  Narcissa  spoke) : 

No,  let  a  charming  chintz  and  Brussels  lace 

Wrap  my  cold  limbs  and  shade  my  lifeless  face; 

One  would  not,  sure,  be  frightful  when  one's  dead — 

And — Betty,  give  this  cheek  a  little  red." 

Eastward  is  the  sculptural  burlesque  deservedly  known  as  "the  Pancake  Monument,"  to 
Admiral  Tyrrell,  with  its  patchy  clouds,  coral  rocks,  cherubs,  harps,  palm-branches,  and 
other  allegorical  absurdities.  Between  three  successive  windows  are  the  monuments,  by 
Roubiliac,  of  Lieut.-Gen.  Hargrave,  Maj.-Gen.  Fleming,  and  Marshal  Wade,  all  in  the 
conventional  school  of  allegory.  Next  are  a  good  bust,  by  Bird,  of  Sidney,  Earl  of 
Godolphin,  chief  minister  to  Queen  Anne;  alto-relievo  and  figures  to  Lieut.-Coh 
Townsend,  killed  by  a  cannon-ball  at  Ticonderago,  in  his  28th  year  ;  and  a  monument, 
by  Bushnell,  to  Sir  Palmes  Fairborne,  governor  of  Tangier,  with  inscription  by  Dryden. 
We  now  reach  the  tomb  of  Major  Andre,  who  was  executed  by  the  Americans  as  a  spy 
in  1780;  his  remains  were  removed  here  in  1821  :  the  bas-relief  shows  Andre  as  a 
prisoner  in  the  tent  of  Washington,  with  the  bearer  of  a  flag  of  truce  to  solicit  his 
pardon.  This  monument  was  put  up  at  the  expense  of  George  III. ;  the  heads  of 
the  principal  figures  have  been  several  times  mischievously  knocked  off,  but  as  often 
restored.  The  new  pulpit,  on  the  north  side  of  the  Nave,  was  designed  by  Scott,  R.A* 
and  executed  by  William  Farmer.     Its  sculptural  details  are  as  follow : 

The  pulpit  is  composed  principally  of  magnesian  limestone  from  the  Mansfield  Woodhouse  quarry. 
It  is  octagonal,  with  a  capping  of  red  Devon  marble.  The  cornice  is  ornamented  with  leaves  and 
flowers  of  the  columbine.  At  the  angles  are  figures  of  the  four  Evangelists  and  of  St.  Peter  and 
St.  Paul  under  canopies.  In  one  panel  is  the  face  of  our  Lord,  in  white  marble,  well  sculptured  by 
Monro.  In  the  other  panels  are  lozenges  containing  circular  medallions  of  mosaic  work  in  different 
coloured  marbles.  The  capping  of  the  string  which  runs  round  the  bottom  of  the  panels  is  of  grey 
Derbyshire  marble  :  the  string  is  ornamented  with  First  Pointed  foliage.  The  pulpit  is  supported  on 
columns  of  Devonshire  marble  at  the  angles,  and  a  larger  one  in  the  centre ;  the  capitals  being  of  Early 
Pointed  character.  The  columns  of  the  staircase  are  of  the  same.  The  figures  of  the  Apostles  are  well 
carved.    The  nave  has  been  fitted  for  special  Sunday  services. 

The  Jerusalem  Chamber,  adjoining  the  south  tower  of  the  Western  front,  is  now 
used  as  the  Chapter-house.  Its  northern  window  has  some  stained  glass,  temp. 
Edward  III. ;  and  here  hangs  the  ancient  portrait  of  Richard  II.  in  the  Coronation 
chair.  In  the  Jerusalem  Chamber  died  Henry  IV.,  brought  from  the  Confessor's 
Shrine  in  the  Abbey  in  a  fit  of  apoplexy,  March  20,  1413.  Being  carried  into  this 
Chamber,  he  asked,  on  rallying,  where  he  was ;  and  when  informed,  he  replied,  to  use 
the  words  of  Shakspeare,  founded  on  history — 

"  Laud  be  to  God !  even  here  my  life  must  end : 
It  hath  been  prophesied  to  me  many  years, 
I  should  not  die  but  in  Jerusalem." 

King  Henry  IV.,  Part  2,  act  iv.  sc.4. 


136  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Here  the  body  of  Congreve  lay  in  state,  before  bis  pompous  funeral,  at  which  noble- 
men bore  the  pall.  Here,  too,  Addison  lay  in  state,  before  his  burial  in  Henry  VII.'s 
Chapel,  as  pictured  in  Tickell's  elegy : — 

"  Can  I  forget  the  dismal  night  that  gave 
My  soul's  best  part  for  ever  to  the  grave  ? 
How  silent  did  his  old  companions  tread, 
By  midnight  lamps,  the  mansions  of  the  dead  : 
Through  breathing  statues,  then  unheeded  things ; 
Through  rows  of  warriors,  and  through  walks  of  kings,"  &c. 

The  Chapter-house,  an  exquisitely  beautiful  specimen  of  mediaeval  Gothic  architec- 
ture, was  originally  built  by  Edward  the  Confessor ;  the  existing  walls  are  of  the  time 
of  Henry  III.  Fabric-rolls  and  other  papers  discovered  by  Mr.  Burtt  have  proved 
the  very  important  fact  that  the  Chapter-house,  which  is  the  latest  part  of  the  work 
of  Henry  III.,  was  finished  ready  for  glazing  so  early  as  1253 ;  and  a  Parliament  was 
held  here  in  1264.  The  Chapter-house  was  the  most  usual  place  of  meeting  of  the 
House  of  Commons  through  the  Middle  Ages,  until  the  dissolution  of  the  Collegiate 
body  of  St.  Stephen  had  put  the  Royal  Chapel  of  the  Plantagenets  at  the  disposal  of 
the  Legislature.  Originally  lent  by  the  Dean  and  Chapter  of  Westminster  for  the 
casual  use  of  Parliament,  the  building  was  quietly  appropriated  by  the  Tudors  after  the 
reason  of  the  loan  had  passed  away.  Room  was  wanted  for  records,  and  the  Chapter- 
house provided  a  tempting  expanse  of  wall  space.  So  the  rich  tile  floor  was  boarded 
over,  and  thereby  luckily  preserved ;  the  traceried  windows  were  gutted  and  walled 
up ;  the  vaulted  roof  was  demolished  by  some  builder,  after  Wren  had  refused  the  job, 
and  the  whole  interior  choked  with  recesses  and  galleries  equally  concealing  wall- 
painting  and  carved-work.     Mr.  Scott  thus  gives  the  details : 

It  is  an  octagon  of  18  feet  diameter,  and  had  a  vaulted  roof,  which  was  supported  by  a  central  pillar 
about  35  feet  high.  It  is  entirely  of  Purbeck  marble,  and  consists  of  a  central  shaft,  surrounded  by  eight 
subordinate  shafts  attached  to  it  by  three  moulded  bands.  The  capital ,  though  of  marble,  is  most  richly 
carved.  The  doorway  itself  has  been  truly  a  noble  one.  It  was  double,  divided  by  a  single  central 
pillar  and  a  circle  in  the  head,  whether  pierced  or  containing  sculpture  cannot  be  ascertained,  as  it  is 
almost  entirely  destroyed.  The  jambs  and  arch  are  magnificent.  The  former  contains  on  the  outer  side 
four  large  shafts  of  Purbeck  marble ;  their  caps  are  of  the  same  material,  and  most  richly  carved,  and 
the  spaces  between  the  6hafts  beautifully  foliated.  The  walls  below  the  windows  are  occupied  by 
arcade  d  stalls,  with  trefoiled  heads.  The  five  which  occupy  the  eastern  side  are  of  superior  richness  and 
more  deeply  recessed.  Their  capitals,  carved  in  Purbeck  marble,  are  of  exquisite  beauty.  The  spandrels 
over  the  arch  are  diapered,  usually  with  the  square  diaper  so  frequent  in  the  church,  but  in  one  in- 
stance with  a  beautifully  executed  pattern  of  roses.  One  of  the  most  remarkable  features  in  the  Chapter- 
house is  the  painting  at  the  back  of  the  stalls.  The  general  idea  represented  by  this  painting  would 
appear  to  be  our  Lord  exhibiting  the  mysteries  of  the  Kedemption  to  the  heavenly  host.  In  the  central 
compartment  our  Lord  sits  enthroned ;  His  hands  are  held  up  to  show  the  wounds,  and  the  chest  bared 
for  the  same  purpose ;  above  are  angels  holding  a  curtain  or  dossel,  behind  the  throne,  and  on  either 
side  are  others  bearing  the  instruments  of  the  Passion.  The  whole  of  the  remaining  spaces  are  filled 
by  throngs  of  cherubim  and  seraphim.  The  former  occupy  the  most  important  position,  and  are  on 
the  large  scale.  And  on  one  of  its  sides  is  a  statue  called  "  St.  John,"  said  to  be  one  of  the  oldest 
sculptures  in  the  Abbey.  This  was  a  beautifully-decorated  building,  with  painted  walls  and  coloured 
and  gilded  arcades,  and  high  arched  windows  in  seven  of  its  sides,  now  sadly  obscured. 

The  restoration  of  the  Chapter-house  has  very  properly  been  undertaken  by  the 
Government,  under  the  direction  of  Mr.  Scott.  Beneath  the  present  building,  the 
walls  of  which  are  5  feet  thick,  is  a  crypt  with  walls  of  the  enormous  thickness  of  17 
feet.  From  a  straight  joint  which  separates  the  lower  wall  into  two  concentric  por- 
tions, Mr.  Scott  is  of  opinion  that  the  bulk  of  the  subterranean  masonry  is  of  the  date 
of  the  Confessor,  the  foundation  having  been  enlarged  for  the  new  chapter-house  of 
King  Henry  III.,  which  was  coeval  with  the  Sainte  Chapelle  in  Paris.  The  crypt  is  called 
the  Chapel  of  the  Confessor,  but  is  part  of  the  original  Norman  church.  The  crypt 
contains  an  altar,  a  piscina,  and  aumbry.  The  outer  walls  are  of  a  great  thickness, 
and  solid  masonry.  There  are  no  indications,  as  is  the  case  in  many  crypts,  of  iron 
rings  for  the  suspension  of  lamps.  Here  is  the  Library  of  the  Dean  and  Chapter, 
(about  11,000  volumes):  it  was  formed  from  the  monks'  parlour  by  Dean  Williams, 
whose  portrait  hangs  at  the  south  end.  The  great  treasure  of  the  place  was  William 
the  Conqueror's  Domesday  Book,*  in  excellent  condition,  from  searchers   not   being 

•On  the  night  of  the  burning  of  the  Houses  of  Parliament,  in  1834,  Sir  Francis  Pa'grave  and  Dean 
Ireland  were  standing  on  the  roof  of  the  Chapter-house,  looking  at  the  fire,  when  a  sudden  gust  of  wind 
seemed  to  bring  the  flames  in  that  direction.  Sir  Francis  implored  the  Dean  to  allow  him  to  carry 
Domesday  Book  and  other  valuable  records  into  the  Abbey,  but  the  Dean  answered  that  he  could  not 
think  of  doing  so  without  first  applying  to  Lord  Melbourne  or  the  Board  of  Works! 


CHURCHES— WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  137 

allowed  to  touch  the  text,  or  writing.  Here,  too,  were  Clement  the  Seventh's  Golden 
Bull,  conferring  the  title  of  Defender  of  the  Faith  on  Henry  VIII. ;  a  treaty  of  per- 
petual peace  between  Henry  VIII.  and  Francis  I.,  with  a  gold  seal,  6  inches  diameter, 
said  to  be  the  work  of  Cellini ;  the  original  wills  of  Richard  II.,  Henry  V.,  Henry  VIII. ; 
and  the  Indenture  between  Henry  VII.  and  the  Abbot  of  Westminster,  a  glorious 
specimen  of  miniature-painting  and  velvet  binding,  with  enamelled  and  gilt  bosses. 

Cloisters. — South — lie  four  of  the  early  Abbots  of  Westminster.  Here  is  "  Long 
Meg,"  a  slab  of  blue  marble,  traditionally  the  gravestone  of  twenty-six  monks  who 
died  of  the  Plague  in  1349,  and  were  buried  in  one  grave.  Here  is  a  tablet  to  William 
Lawrence,  which  records : 

"  Short-hand  he  wrote :  his  Flowre  in  prime  did  fade, 
And  hasty  Death  Short-hand  of  him  hath  made. 
Well  cooth  he  Nv'bers,  and  well  mesur'd  Land; 
Thvs  doth  he  now  that  Grovd  whereon  yov  stand, 
Wherein  he  lyes  so  Geometricall : 
Art  inaketh  some,  bvt  thvs  will  Natvre  all." 

This  quaint  conceit  is  in  the  North  Walk ;  where  also  are  the  graves  of  Spranger 
Barry,  the  actor,  famous  in  Othello ;  and  Sir  John  Hawkins,  who  wrote  a  History  of 
Music,  and  a  Life  of  Doctor  Johnson. 

East  Walk  :  medallion  monument  to  Bonnell  Thornton  ("  the  Connoisseur"),  inscrip- 
tion by  Joseph  Warton ;  monument  to  Lieut. -Gen.  Withers,  with  inscription  by  Pope, 
"  full  of  commonplaces,  with  something  of  the  common  cant  of  a  superficial  satirist  " 
(Johnson) ;  tablet  to  Sir  Edmund  Berry  Godfrey  (d.  1678,)  buried  in  St.  Martin's-in- 
the-Fields ;  graves  of  Aphra  Behn,  the  lady  dramatist  {temp.  Charles  I.) ;  and  Mrs. 
Bracegirdle,  the  fascinating  actress. 

West  Walk  :  bust  and  alto-relievo,  by  Banks,  R.A.,  to  William  Woollett,  the  engraver, 
buried  in  Old  St.  Pancras'  churchyard  :  tablets  to  George  Vertue,  the  engraver ;  Dr. 
Buchan,  who  wrote  on  "  Domestic  Medicine ;"  and  Benjamin  Cooke,  organist  of  the 
Abbey,  with  the  musical  score  of  "  the  Canon  by  twofold  augmentation "  graven 
upon  the  slab. 

In  the  Cloisters,  too,  are  interred  Henry  Lawes,  the  composer  of  the  music  of  Comas, 
and  "  one  who  called  Milton  friend ;"  Tom  Brown,  the  wit ;  Thomas  Betterton,  who 
"  ought  to  be  recorded  with  the  same  respect  as  Roscius  among  the  Romans ;"  Samuel 
Foote,  the  actor,  and  dramatist ;  Aphra  Behn,  above-mentioned,  Thomas  Betterton, 
Mrs.  Bracegirdle,  Samuel  Foote,  Mrs.  Yates,  Mrs.  Rowe,  and  Mrs.  Cibber,  all  well-known 
professors  of  the  dramatic  art;  so  that  the  Cloisters  may  be  termed  the  Actors'  Corner. 

Here  is  a  wall  monument,  with  this  inscription : — 

"  Sir  Edmund  Bury  Godfrey,  Kt. 

*  »  * 

being  lost  on  the  4  Id.  Octob.  1678 

was  found  five  days  after 

murdered  after  a  most  cruel  and  barbarous  manner. 

History  will  inform  you  further." 

At  the  entrance  of  the  Little  Cloisters  is  Litlington  Tower,  built  by  Abbot  Litling- 
ton,  and  originally  the  bell-tower  of  the  Church  :*  the  four  bells  were  rung,  and  a 
small  flag  hoisted  on  the  top  of  this  tower  (as  appears  in  Hollar's  view),  when  great 
meetings  or  prayers  took  place  in  St.  Catherine's  Chapel ;  pulled  down  1571.  The  bells 
(one  dated  1430,  and  two  1598)  were  taken  down,  and,  with  two  new  bells,  were 
hung  in  one  of  Wren's  western  towers.  Litlington  Tower  was  restored  by  its  tenant, 
Mr.  R.  Clark,  one  of  the  choir,  who  also  erected  in  its  front  the  original  Gothic  en- 
trance to  the  Star-Chamber  Court,  and  its  ancient  iron  bell-pull. 

Mr.  Scott  has  recently  discovered  an  old  hall  of  the  date  of  Abbot  Litlington,  no 
doubt  the  hall  of  the  Infirmarer's  house,  and  probably  used  by  the  convalescent  patients. 
The  garden  now  called  the  College  Garden,  was  originally  the  Infirmary  garden. 

There  are  preserved  several  models  of  churches,  one  of  which  is  the  model  con- 
structed by  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  in  the  reign   of  Queen  Anne,  of  his  proposed 

*  An  author  of  the  fourteenth  century  says:  "At  the  Abbey  of  St.  Peter's,  Westminster,  are  two 
bells,  which  over  all  the  bells  in  the  world  obtain  the  precedence  in  wonderful  size  and  tone."  We  read 
also,  that  "  in  the  monasterye  of  Westminster  ther  was  a  fayr  yong  man  which  was  blynde,  whom  the 
monks  hadde  ordeyned  to  rynge  the  bellys." 


133  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

alteration  of  the  Abbey  Churcb,  by  erecting  an  elevated  spire  on  the  central  tower. 

We  believe  that  the  other  models  are  those  of  St.  Mary's  and  St.  Clement's  in  the 

Strand,  St.  Paul's,  Co  vent- garden,  and  St.  John's,  Westminster.     Here  are  also,  it  is 

said,  some  models  by  Roubiliac. 

Music. — In  1784  took  place  the  "  Commemoration  of  Handel,"  in  the  Abbey  Nave ; 

and  similar  festivals  in  1785-6-7,  and  1790-91 ;  and  in  1834  was  a  Four  Days'  Festival, 

commencing  June  24,  when  King  William  IV.,  Queen  Adelaide,  and  the  Princess 

Victoria,  were  present. 

"  It  is  full  fifty  years  since  I  heard  last, 
Handel,  thy  solemn  and  divinest  strain 
Eoll  through  the  long  nave  of  this  pillar"  d  fane, 
Now  seeming  as  if  scarce  a  year  had  pass'd." — W.  Lisle  Bowleg,  1834. 

Oct.  28,  St.  Simon  and  St.  Jude.  Anniversary  of  the  birth  of  Thomas  Tallis  cele- 
brated ;  his  Cathedral  Service  performed  at  morning  prayers.  Tallis  was  organist  to 
Henry  VIII.,  Edward  VI.,  Queen  Mary,  and  Elizabeth. 

Organs. — The  small  organ,  the  oldest,  was  repaired  by  Father  Smith,  in  1694  :  this 
organ  is  represented  in  the  prints  of  the  Choir  of  the  Abbey,  at  the  coronation  of 
James  II.,  in  Sandford's  Book  of  the  Coronation.  It  was  placed  under  one  of  the 
arches  on  the  north  side  of  the  Choir,  and  had  a  small  projecting  organ-loft  over  the 
Stalls.  The  larger  organ,  built  by  Schreider,  who  succeeded  Schmidt,  about  1710,  as 
organ-builder  to  the  Royal  Chapels,  is  a  very  fine  instrument.  "  Mr.  Turle's  accom- 
paniment of  the  Choral  Service  is  quite  a  model  of  that  kind  of  organ  playing." — 
A  Short  Account  of  Organs,  1847. 

Tombs. — The  numerous  specimens  of  early  Italian  decorative  art  make  Westminster 
Abbey  the  richest  church  north  of  the  Alps.  The  tomb  of  William  de  Valence  is  stated 
to  be  a  French  work,  probably  executed  by  an  enameller  from  Limoges.  Labarte,  in  his 
Handbook  of  the  Arts  of  the  Middle  Ages,  after  quoting  a  document  cited  by  Mr. 
Albert  Way,  which  tells  us  that  an  artist  of  Limoges,  "  Magister  Johannes  Lhnovi- 
censis,"  was  employed  about  the  year  1276,  to  construct  the  tomb  and  effigy  of  Walter 
de  Merton,  Bishop  of  Oxford,  says  : — "  This  curious  monument  was  despoiled  of  its 
enamelled  metal  at  the  Reformation,  but  there  still  exists  in  England  an  evidence  of 
the  high  repute  in  which  the  enamelled  work  of  Limoges  was  held,  in  the  effigy  of 
William  de  Valence,  in  Westminster  Abbey.  There  can  be  no  doubt  that  this  curious 
portraiture  was  produced  by  an  artist  of  Limoges."  The  effigy  is  of  wood,  overlaid 
with  enamelled  and  engraved  copper,  and  includes  an  enamelled  shield  displaying 
twenty-eight  bars,  alternately  argent  and  azure,  diapered ;  or,  rather,  ornamented 
with  inlaid  scroll-work ;  and  having  nineteen  martlets,  gules,  displayed  around  the 
circumference  of  the  shield.     Mr.  Scott  observes : — 

Taking  the  tomhs  of  the  Confessor,  of  Henry  III.,  and  his  daughter,  and  of  young  de  Valence,  in 
connexion  with  the  pavement  before  the  high  altar,  and  that  of  the  Confessor's  Chapel,  I  should  doubt 
whether — I  will  not  say  any  church  north  of  the  Alps— but,  I  may  almost  say,  whether  any  country 
north  of  the  Alps  contains  such  a  mass  of  early  Italian  decorative  art ;  indeed,  the  very  artists  em- 
ployed appear  to  have  done  their  utmost  to  increase  the  value  of  the  works  they  were  bequeathing  to 
us,  by  giving  to  the  mosaic  work  the  utmost  possible  variety  of  pattern. 

The  tombs  at  Westminster  have  been  at  least  spared  from  the  hand  of  the  early 
restorers,  if  not  from  the  destroyers.  The  earliest  tomb  erected  after  the  completion 
of  the  new  Choir  was  that  of  the  beautiful  little  dumb  princess,  daughter  of  Henry  III., 
who  died  1257,  in  her  fifth  year. 

Painted  and  Stained  Glass. — (Ancient.)  North  Aisle  of  Nave,  figure,  said  to  be 
Edward  the  Confessor ;  South  Aisle,  given  to  the  Black  Prince,  Edward  III.,  and 
Richard  II.  See  also  clerestory  windows  east  of  Choir,  east  window  of  Henry  VII.'s 
Chapel,  and  Jerusalem  Chamber. — (Modern.)  Great  west  window,  the  Patriarchs ; 
large  rose  window,  North  Transept,  Apostles  and  Evangelists — a  noble  mass  of  brilliant 
colour  and  delicate  stone  tracery ;  marigold  window  in  South  Transept  (put  up  in  1847), 
figures  nearly  three  feet  high ;  also  windows  above  Henry  VII.'s  Chapel,  and  in  east 
end  of  triforium.  The  lost  original  tracery  of  the  great  rose  windows  of  the  Tran- 
septs has  been  imaginatively  restored  from  the  pattern  of  some  encaustic  paving-tiles 
still  remaining  in  the  Chapter-house.  Amongst  the  recent  works  set  up  in  the  Abbey, 
must  be  mentioned,  too,  a  small  painted  glass  window,  in  the  East  Aisle  of  that  Tran-. 
sept,  by  Lavers  and  Barraud,  commemorative  of  Vincent  Novello,  musical  composer : 


CHURCHES '-WESTMINSTER  ABBEY.  139 

the  subject  is  St.  Cecilia.  Here  is  the  Stephenson  memorial — a  window  filled  with 
stained  glass,  by  "VVailes :  in  the  body  are  represented  some  of  the  greatest  archi- 
tectural and  engineering  works ;  and  above  these,  at  the  top  of  the  window,  are  in 
five- foil,  bust-portraits  of  eminent  engineers.  Robert  Stephenson  is  placed  in  the 
centre ;  above,  his  father,  George  Stephenson ;  on  one  side,  Thomas  Telford ;  on  the 
other,  John  Smeaton ;  and  below  these,  James  Watt  and  John  Eennie.  The  archi- 
tectural works  represented  are  bordered  with  ornamental  tracery,  and  consist  of,  on 
the  one  half  of  the  window,  the  Ark,  the  erecting  of  the  Tabernacle,  the  first  Temple, 
the  second  Temple,  and  Menai  Bridge;  and  on  the  other  half,  the  building  of  Nineveh, 
the  Treasure  Cities  of  Egypt,  Aqueduct  near  Pygro,  the  Colosseum  at  Rome,  and  the 
High-Level  Bridge  at  Newcastle. 

Metal-work. — There  are  five  examples  of  metal-work  remaining  in  the  Abbey 
Church.  These  are  the  grille  at  the  top  of  the  tomb  of  Queen  Eleanor,  lately  rein- 
stated by  Mr.  Scott;  the  railing  round  Archbishop  Langham's  effigy;  that  at  the 
west  end  of  the  Chantry  of  Henry  V. ;  the  brass  or  copper  gates  of  Henry  VII.'s 
Chapel;  and  the  beautiful  brass  grille  round  the  tomb  of  the  latter  King.  The 
metal-work  that  protected  the  tomb  of  Queen  Philippa,  that  "  most  gentyll  quene  " 
of  Edward  III.,  had  previously  kept  guard  round  the  tomb  of  a  bishop  in  St.  Paul's 
Cathedral ;  this  and  the  railing  of  Edward  I.'s  are,  however,  lost  to  us.  In  1822  the 
Dean  and  Chapter  ordered  the  removal  of  most  of  the  railings  around  the  tombs; 
although  some  of  the  metal-work  then  taken  down  has  been  discovered  in  the  vestry. 
Across  the  Transept,  looking  north,  new  ironwork  has  been  put  up  from  the  designs 
of  Mr.  Scott.  The  gate  and  the  grille  is  for  the  most  part  of  wrought  iron;  it  is  30  feet 
in  length  on  each  side,  and  was  executed  by  Potter,  for  the  sum  of  700Z. 

Brasses. — There  are  still  fifteen  Brasses  in  the  Church :  the  principal  are  in  the 
Chapels  of  St.  Edmund,  St.  John  the  Baptist,  and  Edward  the  Confessor. 

The  present  conservating  architect  of  the  Abbey  is  Mr.  George  Gilbert  Scott,  R.A. 
The  following  are  the  principal  Admeasurements : — 

Nave.— Length,  166  ft. ;  breadth,  38  ft.  7  in. ;  height,  101  ft.  8  in. ;  breadth  of  aisles,  16  ft.  7  in. ;  ex- 
treme breadth  of  nave  and  its  aisles,  71  ft.  9  in. 

Choir.— Length,  155  ft.  9  in. ;  breadth,  38  ft.  4  in. ;  height,  101  ft.  2  in. 

Transepts. — Length  of  both,  including  choir,  203  feet.  2  in. ;  length  of  each  transept,  82  ft.  5  iu.; 
breadth,  including  both  aisles,  84  ft.  8  in. ;  height  of  south  transept,  105  ft.  5  in. 

Interior. — Extreme  length,  from  western  towers  to  the  piers  of  Henry  VII.'s  Chapel,  383  ft. ;  ex- 
treme length,  from  western  towers,  including  Henry  VII.'s  Chapel,  511  ft.  6  in. 

Exterior. — Extreme  length,  exclusive  of  Henry  VII.'s  Chapel,  416  ft. ;  extreme  length,  inclusive  of 
Henry  VH's  Chapel,  530  ft. ;  height  of  western  towers,  to  top  of  pinnacles,  225  ft.  4  in. 

Henry  VII.'s  Chapel.  Exterior.— Length,  115  ft.  2  in. ;  extreme  breadth,  79  ft.  6  in. ;  height  to  apex 
of  roof,  95  ft.  5  in. ;  height  to  top  of  western  turrets,  101  ft.  6  in.  (Interior.') — Nave :  length,  103  ft.  9  in. ; 
breadth,  35  ft.  9in. ;  height,  69  ft.7in.  Aisles :  length,  62  ft.  5  in. ;  breadth,  17  ft.  1  in. ;  height  of  west 
window,  45  ft. 

Admission.— The  Abbey  is  open  to  the  public  between  the  hours  of  11  and  3,  generally;  and  in  sum- 
mer, between  4  and  6  in  the  afternoon.  There  is  no  charge  for  admission  to  the  Nave,  Transept,  and 
Cloisters;  but  the  fee  for  admission  to  view  the  Choir  and  Chapels,  and  the  rest  of  the  Abbey,  is  6d. 
each  person,  with  the  attendance  of  a  guide.  The  entrance  is  at  Poets'  Corner.  The  admission-money 
was  originally  lod.  each  person,  when  it  usually  produced  upwards  of  15001.  per  annum,  mostly  distri- 
buted among  the  minor  canons,  organists,  and  lay-clerks. 

The  Chapter  is  composed  of  a  Dean  and  eight  Canons ;  there  are  six  minor  canons, 
twelve  lay  vicars,  and  twelve  choristers.  There  are  two  daily  services — choral — and  a 
weekly  celebration  of  the  Holy  Communion.  The  capitular  revenue  was,  in  1852, 
30,6577. ;  and  the  expenditure  on  the  fabric  in  fourteen  preceding  years,  29,949Z. 

"  In  Westminster  Abbey,"  observes  Horace  Walpole,  "  one  thinks  not  of  the  build- 
ing :  the  religion  of  the  place  makes  the  first  impression."  One  more  walk  through 
its  aisles  was  the  dying  wish  of  the  exile  Atterbury.  "  Westminster  Abbey  or 
Victory  !"  were  the  watchwords  which  fired  the  heart  of  Nelson  himself.  From  the 
design  of  applying  the  Abbey  property,  under  the  care  of  Sir  T.  Wroth,  to  the  repairs 
of  St.  Paul's,  on  the  dissolution  of  the  bishopric,  came  the  cant  proverb  to  rob  Peter 
to  pay  Paul.     The  following  is  from  a  thoughtful  and  eloquent  paper  by  Dean  Stanley : 

"  The  Abbey  of  Westminster  owes  its  traditions  and  its  present  name,  revered  in  the 
bosoms  of  the  people  of  England,  to  the  fact  that  the  early  English  Kings  were  interred 
within  its  walls,  and  that  through  its  associations  our  Norman  rulers  learnt  to  forget 
their  foreign  paternity,  and  to  unite  in  fellowship  and  affection  with  their  Saxon 
fellow-citizens.     There  is  no  other  church  in  the  world,  except,  perhaps,  the  Kremlin 


140  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

at  Moscow,  with  which  Royalty  is  so  intimately  associated.  There  our  Sovereigns  aro 
crowned  and  buried  under  the  same  roof,  whereas  in  Russia  the  coronation  takes  place 
in  one  church,  the  marriage  in  another,  while  a  third  is  reserved  for  the  reception  of 
the  dead.  It  was  in  the  reign  of  Henry  III.  that  the  Abbey  began  to  assume  that 
national  character  which  now  belongs  to  it  so  fully.  The  third  Henry  was  the  first 
thoroughly  English  King  after  the  Conquest — that  is  to  say,  the  first  who  was  born 
in  England,  and  who  never  resided  in  Normandy.  The  Abbey  never  possessed  a 
bishop's  throne,  except  for  a  short  time  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.,  and  so  was  not  a 
cathedral  in  the  ordinary  sense ;  but  from  the  time  of  Edward  I.  it  always  contained 
the  Coronation  Chair,  in  which  is  fixed  '  the  fatal  stone  of  Scone.'  This  throne,  which 
gives  to  the  Abbey  the  constructive  character  of  a  cathedral,  has  never  since  the  time 
of  the  first  Edward  been  removed  from  the  church  except  once,  and  that  was  in  the 
time  of  Oliver  Cromwell — so  jealous  were  the  people  of  monarchical  attributes  and 
privileges."  The  Dean  then  traces  the  burial-places  of  our  Kings  and  Queens  from  the 
time  of  Henry  III.  to  Elizabeth's  reign;  "  after  the  death  of  the  latter,  tombs  ceased  to 
be  erected  in  the  Abbey  to  the  memories  of  Sovereigns.  This  was  owing  to  the  pecu- 
liar course  of  succession,  for  none  of  the  monarchs  from  the  Tudors  to  those  of  the 
Hanoverian  dynasty  had  any  peculiar  interest  in  honouring  the  names  of  their  prede- 
cessors. The  second  George  was  the  last  of  our  Kings  who  was  buried  in  the  Abbey ;  but 
another  of  Royal  blood,  though  of  a  different  dynasty  and  a  different  country,  had  found 
his  last  resting  therein — the  Duke  de  Montpensier,  younger  brother  of  Louis  Philippe." 

More  striking  than  the  edifice  and  its  general  associations  are  its  personal  monu- 
ments and  contents.  Here,  for  example,  beyond  a  doubt,  lies  the  body  of  the  Con- 
fessor himself,  like  the  now  decayed  seed  from  which  the  wonderful  pile  has  grown. 
Around  his  shrine  are  clustered  not  only  the  names  but  the  earthly  relics  of  the  prin- 
cipal actors  in  every  scene  of  our  history.  No  less  than  seventeen  of  our  Kings,  from  the 
Confessor  to  George  II.,  and  ten  of  our  Queens,  lie  within  the  Abbey,  amid  statesmen, 
poets,  divines,  scholars,  and  artists.  "  It  has,"  says  Mr.  Scott,  "  claims  upon  us  archi- 
tects— I  will  not  say  of  a  higher  but  of  another  character,  on  the  ground  of  its  in- 
trinsic and  superlative  merits,  as  a  work  of  art  of  the  highest  and  noblest  order;  for, 
though  it  is  by  no  means  pre-eminent  in  general  scale,  in  height,  or  in  richness  of 
sculpture,  there  are  few  churches  in  this  or  any  other  country,  having  the  same  exqui- 
site charms  of  proportion  and  artistic  beauty  which  this  church  possesses." 

On  Dec.  28,  1865,  being  the  Feast  of  the  Holy  Innocents,  and  just  800  years  since 
the  dedication  of  the  Abbey  by  Edward  the  Confessor,  the  Dean  and  Chapter  com- 
memorated the  event  by  special  services  and  the  celebration  of  the  Holy  Communion. 
The  sermon,  eloquently  descriptive,  was  preached  by  the  Dean  (Dr.  Stanley)  from 
John  x.  21,  22:  "And  it  was  at  Jerusalem,  the  feast  of  the  dedication,  and  it  was 
winter.     And  Jesus  walked  in  the  temple  in  Solomon's  porch." 

The  whole  of  the  music  was  selected  from  composers  who  either  in  the  past  or  present  were  connected 
with  the  Abbey— namely,  Thomas  Tallis,  who  died  in  1585,  organist  to  Henry  VIII. ;  Henry  Purcell, 
organist  of  Westminster  Abbey,  who  died  in  1695,  and  was  buried  in  the  north  aisle ;  William  Croft, 
organist  of  Westminster  Abbey,  who  died  in  1727,  and  was  also  buried  in  the  north  aisle ;  George 
Frederick  Handel,  who  died  in  1759,  and  was  buried  in  the  south  transept ;  Benjamin  Cooke,  organist 
of  Westminster  Abbey,  who  died  in  1793,  and  was  buried  in  the  west  cloister ;  J.  L.  Brownsmith,  John 
Foster,  and  Montem  Smith,  vicars  choral;  and  James  Turle,  organist,  all  of  Westminster  Abbey.  The 
words  of  the  hymn  for  the  introit,  commencing  "  Hark,  the  sound  of  holy  voices,"  were  written  by  Dr. 
Wordsworth,  Canon  and  Archdeacon  of  Westminster,  and  the  tune  for  it,  entitled  "  All  Saints,"  was 
composed  by  Mrs.  Frere,  niece  of  the  late  Kev.  Temple  Frere,  Canon  of  Westminster. 

Chapel  Royal,  St.  James's  Palace,  is  situated  on  the  western  side  between  the 
Colour  Court  and  the  Ambassadors'  Court.  It  is  oblong  in  plan,  with  side  galleries, 
the  Royal  Gallery  being  at  the  west  end. 

The  superb  ceiling,  painted  by  Holbein  in  1540,  is  one  of  the  earliest  specimens  of  the  new  style 
introduced  by  him  into  England.  The  rib-mouldings  are  of  wooden  frame-work,  suspended  to  the  roof 
above ;  the  panels  have  plaster  grounds,  the  centres  displaying  the  Tudor  emblems  and  devices.  The 
subject  is  gilt,  shaded  boldly  with  bistre;  the  roses  glazed  with  a  red  colour,  and  the  arms  emblazoned 
in  their  proper  colours ;  leaves,  painted  dark  green,  ornamented  each  subject ;  the  general  ground  of 
the  whole  was  light  blue.  The  mouldings  of  the  ribs  are  painted  green,  and  some  are  gilt;  the  under 
side  is  a  dark  blue,  on  which  is  a  small  open  running  ornament  (cast  in  lead),  gilt.  The  ceiling  has 
undergone  several  repairs,  in  one  of  which  the  blue  ground  was  painted  white.  In  1836,  when  the 
chapel  was  enlarged  under  the  direction  of  Sir  Robert  Smirke,  the  blue  ground  was  discovered,  as  were 
likewise  some  of  the  mottoes  in  the  small  panels ;  thus,  "sibt  diev  felix:  henricq  bex  8 — h.  a. 

VIVAT.  EBX.  1540.      KIEV.  ET.  MO.  DEOIT,"   &C. 

Divine  Service  is  performed  here  as  at  our  Cathedrals,  by  the  gentlemen  of  the  choir, 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  141 

and  ten  choristers  (boys).  The  establishment  consists  of  a  Dean  (usually  the  Bishop 
of  London),  the  Sub-Dean,  Lord  High  Almoner,  Sub-Almoner,  Clerk  of  the  Queen's 
Closet,  deputy -clerks,  chaplains,  priests,  organists,  and  composer  j  besides  violist  and 
lutanist  (now  sinecures),  and  other  officers;  and  until  1833,  there  was  a  "Confessor  to 
the  Royal  Household."  Each  of  the  Chaplains  in  Ordinary  preaches  once  a  year  in 
the  Chapel  Royal.  The  hours  of  service  are  8  a.m.  and  12  noon.  There  are  seats  for 
the  nobility,  admission-fee  2s.  George  III.,  when  in  town,  attended  this  Chapel,  when 
a  nobleman  carried  the  sword  of  state  before  him,  and  heralds,  pursuivants-at-arms, 
and  other  officers,  walked  in  procession ;  and  so  persevering  was  his  attendance  at 
prayers,  that  Madame  d'Arblay,  one  of  the  robing- women,  tells  us,  in  November  1777, 
the  Queen  and  family,  dropping  off  one  by  one,  used  to  leave  the  King,  the  parson, 
and  His  Majesty's  equerry,  to  "  freeze  it  out  together."  In  this  Chapel  were  married 
Prince  George  of  Denmark  and  the  Princess  Anne  ;  Frederick  Prince  of  Wales  and  the 
daughter  of  the  Duke  of  Saxe-Gotha ;  George  IV.  and  Queen  Caroline ;  and  Queen 
Victoria  and  Prince  Albert.  Before  the  building  of  the  Chapel  at  Buckingham 
Palace,  Her  Majesty  and  the  Court  attended  the  Chapel  Royal,  St.  James's.  The 
silver  candelabra,  and  other  altar-plate  are  magnificent.  The  fittings  of  the  Chapel 
and  Palace  for  the  last  royal  marriage  cost  9226/.  The  Chapel  is  supposed  to  be  the 
same  building  that  was  used  when  St.  James's  Palace  was  first  founded  as  an  Hospital 
for  fourteen  leprous  females. 

Jn  the  Liber  Niger  Domus  Eegni  (temp.  Edward  IV.)  is  an  ordinance  naming  "Children  of  the 
Chapelle  viij.  founden  by  the  King's  privie  coft'eres  for  all  that  longeth  to  their  apperelle  by  the  hands 
and  oversyghte  of  the  deane,  or  by  the  master  of  song  assigned  to  teache  them ;"  such  being  the  origin 
of  the  present  musical  establishment  of  the  Chapel  Royal.  Ordinances  were  also  issued  for  the  impress- 
ment of  boys  for  the  royal  choirs :  in  1550,  the  master  of  the  King's  Chapel  had  license  "to  take  up  from 
time  to  time  children  to  serve  the  King's  Chapel."  Tusser,  the  "  Husbandrie"  poet,  was,  when  a  boy, 
in  Elizabeth's  reign,  thus  impressed  for  the  Queen's  Chapel.  The  Gentlemen  and  Children  of  the  Chapel 
Royal  were  the  principal  performers  in  the  religious  dramas  or  Mysteries ;  and  a  "  master  of  the 
children,"  and  "  singing  children,"  occur  in  the  chapel  establishment  of  Cardinal  Wolsey.  In  1583,  the 
Children  of  the  Chapel  Royal,  afterwards  called  the  Children  of  the  Revels,  were  formed  into  a  company 
of  players,  and  thus  were  among  the  earliest  performers  of  the  regular  drama.  In  1731,  they  performed 
Handel's  Esther,  the  first  oratorio  heard  in  England ;  and  they  continued  to  assist  at  oratorios  in  Lent, 
so  long  as  those  performances  maintained  their  ecclesiastical  character  entire. 

"  Spur-money,"  a  fine  upon  all  who  entered  the  chapel  with  spurs  on,  was  formerly  levied  by  the 
choristers  at  the  doors,  upon  condition  that  the  youngest  of  them  could  repeat  his  gamut ;  if  he  failed, 
the  spur-bearer  was  exempt.  In  a  tract  dated  1598,  the  choristers  are  reproved  for  "  hunting  after  spur- 
money  ;"  and  the  ancient  Cheque-book  of  the  Chapel  Royal,  dated  1622,  contains  an  order  of  the  Dean, 
decreeing  the  custom.  "  Within  my  recollection,"  wrote  Dr.  Rimbault,  in  1850,  "  the  Duke  of  Welling- 
ton (who,  by  the  way,  is  an  excellent  musician)  entered  the  Royal  Chapel  'booted  and  spurred,'  and 
was,  of  course,  called  upon  for  the  fine.  But  his  Grace  calling  upon  the  youngest  chorister  to  repeat 
his  gamut,  and  the  '  little  urchin'  failing,  the  impost  was  not  demanded." — Notes  and  Queries,  No.  30. 

Chapel  Royal,  Whitehall,  the  Banqueting  House  of  the  Palace,  designed  by 
Inigo  Jones,  commenced  June  1,  1619,  finished  March  31,  1622,  cost  14,9402.  4s.  Id. 
The  above  hall  was  converted  into  a  Chapel  in  the  reign  of  George  I.,  who,  in  1724, 
appointed  certain  preachers,  six  from  Oxford  and  six  from  Cambridge  University, 
to  preach  in  successive  months  on  the  Sundays,  at  a  salary  of  30/.,  through  the  year. 
The  edifice  has,  however,  never  been  consecrated  as  a  Chapel,  which  fact  was 
mentioned  in  the  House  of  Commons  by  Sir  Robert  Inglis,  several  years  ago,  when 
it  was  proposed  to  use  the  Hall  as  a  picture-gallery.  It  was  shut  up  in  1829, 
and  remained  closed  till  1837,  during  which  interval  it  was  restored  and  refitted, 
nnder  the  direction  of  Sir  Robert  Smirke,  R.A.  The  lower  windows  were  then 
closed  up,  the  walls  were  hung  with  drapery  (1400  yards  of  drugget),  and  the  floor 
carpeted,  to  remedy  the  excessive  echo.  The  Guards  formerly  attended  Divine  Service 
here;  they  now  attend  at  the  Chapel  in  Wellington  Barracks,  St.  James's  Park  ;  and 
the  gallery  in  which  they  sat  at  Whitehall  has  been  removed.  The  organ  originally 
placed  here  was  sold  by  order  of  Cromwell,  and  is  now  in  Stanford  Church,  Leicester- 
shire ;  the  present  organ  is  of  subsequent  date.  The  hall  is  exactly  a  double  cube, 
being  111  feet  long,  55  feet  6  inches  high,  and  55  feet  6  inches  wide.  Over  the  prin- 
cipal doorway  is  a  bronze  bust  of  James  I.,  attributed  to  Le  Sceur ;  above  is  the 
organ-loft,  and  along  the  two  sides  is  a  lofty  gallery.  Above  the  altar  were  formerly 
placed  eagles  and  other  trophies  taken  from  the  French  at  Barossa,  in  Egypt,  and  at 
Waterloo ;  but  they  have  been  removed  to  Chelsea  Hospital.  The  Whitehall  ceiling 
is  divided  into  panels,  and  painted  black,  and  gilded  in  parts.     These  are  lined  with  oil 


142  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

pictures  on  canvas,  painted  abroad  by  Rubens  in  1635,  it  is  stated  for  3000Z.,  by  com- 
mission from  Charles  I.  There  are  nine  compartments :  the  largest  in  the  centre, 
oval,  contains  the  apotheosis  of  James  I.,  who  is  trampling  on  the  globe,  and  about  to 
fly  on  the  wings  of  Justice  (an  eagle)  to  heaven.*  On  the  two  long  sides  of  it  are 
great  friezes,  with  genii,  who  load  sheaves  of  corn  and  fruits  in  carriages  drawn  by 
lions,  bears,  and  rams :  each  of  the  boys  measures  9  feet.  The  northernmost  of  the 
large  compartments  represents  the  King  pointing  to  Peace  and  Plenty,  embracing 
Minerva,  and  routing  Rebellion  and  Envy ;  at  the  south  end  (the  altar)  the  King  is  on 
the  throne,  appointing  Prince  Charles  his  successor.  The  four  corner  pictures  are 
allegorical  representations  of  Royal  Power  and  Virtue.  The  whole  are  best  viewed 
from  the  south  end  of  the  apartment.  Dr.  Waagen  considers  these  pictures  to  have 
been  principally  executed  by  the  pupils  of  Rubens :  they  have  undergone  restora- 
tions :  in  1687,  under  the  direction  of  Sir  Christopher  Wren ;  and  about  1811,  by 
Cipriani,  who  was  paid  2000£.  Vandyck  was  to  have  painted  the  sides  of  the 
Banqueting  House  with  the  history  and  procession  of  the  Order  of  the  Garter.  Divine 
Service  is  performed  in  the  Chapel  on  Sundays,  Saints'  Days,  &c,  the  gentlemen  and 
choristers  of  the  Chapels  Royal  executing  the  musical  service.  The  Maundy  is  dis- 
tributed in  this  Chapel  on  the  day  preceding  Good  Friday,  Maundy  Thursday. — (See 
Almonet,  p.  7.)  The  Royal  closet  is  large  and  massive,  situated  on  the  right-hand 
side  in  the  centre  of  the  Chapel,  opposite  the  pulpit.  King  William  IV.  and  Queen 
Adelaide  often  attended  this  Royal  Chapel,  and  it  is  said  that  the  King  was  here  pre- 
sent for  the  last  time  at  a  public  service  only  six  weeks  before  his  death.  The  Royal 
closet  is  described  in  the  reports  as  being  within  a  few  feet  of  the  spot  on  which  King 
Charles  I.  was  executed.  This  is  hardly  correct;  for,  according  to  a  memorandum  of 
Vertue,  on  a  print  in  the  library  of  the  Society  of  Antiquaries,  through  a  window  be- 
longing to  a  small  building  abutting  from  the  north  side  of  the  present  Banqueting 
House,  the  King  stepped  upon  the  scaffold,  "  which  was  equal  to  the  landing-place  of 
the  Hall  within  side."  The  Boyle  Lectures,  founded  by  the  Hon.  Robert  Boyle  for 
proving  the  truth  of  the  Christian  religion  against  notorious  infidels  are  sometimes 
delivered  in  the  Chapel  Royal.  For  many  years  these  lectures  were  delivered  in  the 
City  churches,  where  scarcely  half  a  dozen  persons  could  be  obtained  to  listen  to  them. 
The  preachers  are  enjoined  to  perform  the  office  following : — "  To  preach  eight  sermons 
in  the  year  for  proving  the  Christian  religion  against  notorious  infidels — viz.,  Atheists, 
Theists,  Pagans,  Jews,  and  Mahometans,  not  descending  lower  to  any  controversies 
that  are  among  Christians  themselves." 

Chapel  Rotai,  Savoy,  in  the  rear  of  the  south  side  of  the  Strand,  occupies  a  site 
granted  by  King  Henry  III.,  in  1245,  to  Peter  Count  of  Savoy  (hence  its  name)  on  his 
arrival  to  visit  his  niece  Queen  Eleanor.  It  was  afterwards  possessed  by  Edmund,  Earl 
of  Lancaster  (1267),  and  John  of  Gaunt,  during  whose  tenure  of  it  the  palace  was 
destroyed ;  after  which,  being  inherited  by  his  son,  Henry  IV.,  it  was  vested  in  the 
Crown  as  part  of  the  Duchy  of  Lancaster,  and  thus  acquired  its  peculiar  dignities  and 
privileges  as  a  Royal  manor.  An  Hospital  was  erected  in  the  Savoy  under  the  will  of 
Henry  VII.,  and  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.  a  perpetual  Hospital  was  incorporated. 
This  was  one  of  the  institutions  declared  to  be  illegal  in  the  1st  of  Edward  VI.,  and  it 
was  given  up  to  the  King.  It  was  re-established  in  the  fourth  year  of  Philip  and 
Mary,  but  was  converted  into  a  military  hospital  and  marine  infirmary  in  the  reign  of 
Charles  II.,  and  shortly  afterwards  was  used  as  a  barrack.  The  Hospital  was,  there- 
fore, declared  to  be  dissolved  in  1702. 

Strype,  in  his  edition  of  Stow's  Survey,  1755,  says :  "  In  the  year  1687,  Schools  were  set  up  and 
ordained  here  at  the  Savoy;  the  masters  whereof  were  Jesuits;"  the  classes  soon  consisted  of  400  boys, 
about  one-half  of  whom  were  Protestants ;  the  latter  were  not  required  to  attend  mass.  All  were  taught 
gratis,  buying  only  their  own  pens,  ink,  paper,  and  books ;  and  in  teaching  no  distinction  was  made, 
nor  was  any  one  to  be  persuaded  from  the  profession  of  his  own  religion;  yet  they  were  generally  success- 
ful in  promoting  the  Roman  religion.  The  Schools  were,  however,  soon  dissolved  upon  the  ceasing  of 
the  government  of  King  James.  And  the  clock  that  was  made  for  the  use  of  the  Savoy  School,  was 
bought  and  set  up  upon  a  gentleman's  house  in  Low  Lay  ton.  The  College  gave  rise  to  many  other 
schools  in  the  metropolis :  the  Blue  Coat  School,  in  St.  Margaret's,  Westminster,  is  one  of  these.  There 
is  a  contemporary  ballad,  entitled  "  Religious  Reliques ;  on  the  Sale  at  the  Savoy,  upon  the  Jesuits 
breaking  up  their  School  and  Chapel."— Printed  in  Notes  and  Queriei,  2nd  S.,  No.  14,  Jan.  1856. 

•  Eubens's  original  sketch  is  in  the  National  Gallery,  Trafalgar-square. 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  143 

Several  persons  of  note  are  buried  here,  and  had  figure  monuments.  Among  them 
was  one,  in  the  chancel,  of  Sir  Robert  Douglas  and  his  lady  (seventeenth  century). 
In  a  pointed  niche  was  the  figure  of  a  lady  kneeling — Jocosa,  daughter  of  Sir  Allan 
Apsley,  Lieutenant  of  the  Tower,  sister  of  Mrs.  Hutchinson.  In  the  western  wall, 
near  the  altarpiece,  was  an  ornamental  recess,  in  the  back  of  which  had  been  effigies 
incised  in  brass ;  and  near  this  was  a  small  tablet  to  the  memory  of  Anne  Killigrew, 
daughter  of  one  of  the  Masters  of  the  Savoy,  and  niece  to  the  well-known  jester.  This 
was  the  lady  described  by  Dryden  as  "  A  grace  for  beauty  and  a  muse  for  wit." 
Over  the  door  was  a  small  kneeling  figure,  with  a  skull  in  her  hands,  inscribed  "  Alicia 
Steward."  A  recumbent  figure  was,  it  is  thought,  improperly  named  the  Countess 
Dowager  of  Nottingham.  Here,  also,  is  a  brass  over  the  grave  of  Gawin  Douglas,  who 
translated  Virgil  j  and  here  rest  George  Wither,  the  poet,  without  a  monument ;  the 
Earl  of  Feversham,  who  commanded  King  James  II.'s  troops  at  the  Battle  of  Sedgmoor  j 
and  Dr.  Cameron,  the  last  person  who  suffered  for  the  Rebellion  of  1745,  to  whom 
was  erected  a  marble  relief  tablet  by  his  great-grandson,  in  1846,  "  one  hundred  years 
after  the  Battle  of  Culloden."  Here,  also,  was  placed  a  tablet  to  the  memory  of 
Richard  Lander,  the  traveller  in  Africa ;  and  in  the  burial-ground  is  the  tomb  of 
Hilton,  R.  A.,  the  historical  painter,  whose  works  were  barely  appreciated  in  his  lifetime. 

In  the  Chapel  was  a  monument,  rather  sumptuous,  erected  about  1715,  in  honour  of  a  merchant;  the 
sole  statement  of  the  epitaph  was,  that  he  had  bequeathed  51.  to  the  poor  of  the  Savoy  Precinct,  and  a 
like  sum  to  the  poor  of  the  parish  of  St.  Mary-le-Strand ;  while  at  the  side,  and  occupying  about  half 
the  breadth  of  the  marble,  the  money  was  expressed  in  figures,  just  as  in  a  page  of  a  ledger,  with  lines 
single  and  double,  perpendicular  and,  at  the  bottom,  horizontal ;  the  whole  being  summed  up,  and  in 
each  line  two  cyphers  for  shillings  and  one  for  pence.  The  epitaph  concluded,  "  which  sum  was  duly 
paid  by  his  executors." 

The  Savoy  was  last  used  as  barracks  and  a  prison  for  deserters  until  1819,  when 
the  premises  were  taken  down  to  form  the  approach  to  Waterloo  Bridge.  The 
roadway  to  the  Bridge  from  the  Strand,  or  Wellington-street  and  Lancaster-place, 
covers  the  entire  site  of  the  old  Duchy-lane  and  great  part  of  the  Hospital.  We  see 
the  river  front  of  the  Savoy  in  Hollar's  prints  and  Canaletti's  pictures ;  and  Vertue's 
ground-plan  shows  the  Middle  Savoy  Gate,  where  Savoy-street  now  is ;  and  the  Little 
Savoy  Gate,  where  now  are  Savoy-steps.  Ackermann  published  a  view  of  the  ruins  as 
they  were  in  their  last  condition,  before  they  were  swept  away.  The  pulling  down  of 
the  ruins,  in  1816,  when  the  chapel  was  left  isolated,  was  a  work  of  immense  labour, 
so  massive  was  the  masonry.  Not  the  least  amusing  incident  was  that  of  the  gamins 
picking  out  the  softest  parts  of  the  Royal  palace  walls  and  cutting  them  into  hearth- 
stones to  clean  hearths  and  the  steps  before  doors  ! 

The  Chapel  is  a  parochial  benefice  in  the  gift  of  her  Majesty,  in  right  of  her  Duchy 
of  Lancaster  j  it  was  endowred  by  Henry  VII.,  and  the  incumbent  to  this  day  receives 
an  annual  fee  by  Royal  warrant.  The  interior  dimensions  of  the  chapel  are  90  ft.  by 
24  ft. ;  its  style  English  Perpendicular,  late  and  plain,  except  the  ceiling,  which  was 
rich  and  coloured,  and  one  of  the  finest  pieces  of  carved  work  in  the  metropolis. 

It  was  wholly  of  oak  and  pear  tree,  and  divided  into  138  quatrefoil  panels,  each  enriched  with  a 
carved  ornament  sacred  or  historical.  The  panels  numbered  twenty-three  in  the  length  of  the  chapel 
and  six  in  its  width.  Ten  of  the  ranges  had  each  a  shield  in  the  centre  presenting  in  high  relief  some 
featnte  or  emblem  of  the  Passion  and  Death  of  the  Saviour ;  and  all  devised  and  arranged  in  a  style  of 
which  there  are  many  examples  in  sacred  edifices  in  the  fifteenth  and  sixteenth  centuries.  The  panels 
throughout  the  rest  of  the  ceiling  contained  bearings  or  badges  indicating  the  various  families  from 
which  the  Royal  lineage  was  derived,  and  more  particularly  the  alliances  of  the  house  of  Lancaster,  each 
panel  being  surrounded  by  a  wreath  richly  blazoned  and  tinted  with  the  livery  colours  of  the  different 
families.  For  a  long  series  of  years  they  were  hidden  under  repeated  coats  of  whitewash,  but  in  1843 
Mr.  John  Cochrane,  a  bookseller  in  the  Strand,  having  been  appointed  chapel  warden,  brought  his 
antiquarian  knowledge  to  bear  on  the  neglected  ceiling,  and  it  was  restored. 

The  Savoy  has  a  certain  literary  aspect :  all  Proclamations,  Acts  of  Parliament  and 
Gazettes,  used  to  issue  from  the  Royal  Printing-press  established  in  the  precinct ;  and 
there  Fuller  lectured,  if  he  did  not  write  his  Worthies.  It  was  in  the  Chapel,  also, 
that  the  memorable  Conference  between  the  Episcopalian  and  Presbyterian  divines  on 
the  Book  of  Common  Prayer  was  held  in  1661.  Here  many  of  the  bishops  were  con- 
secrated, and  among  them  WiL-on,  Bishop  of  Sodor  and  Man,  by  Archbishop  Sharpe, 
in  1698 ;  and  among  those  who  have  held  the  benefice  was  Dr.  Anthony  Horneck, 
the  favourite  chaplain  of  King  William  III. 

The  Savoy  precinct  became  as  notorious  for  thieves  and  beggars,  as  for  the  lame, 


144  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

the  sick,  and  the  vagabond,  who  considered  themselves  privileged  to  claim  succour 
from  the  Master  of  the  Hospital  of  the  Savoy,  an  office  which  was  much  coveted,  and 
which  Cowley  struggled  ineffectually  to  obtain.  While  the  Dutch,  German,  and 
French  congregations  met  quietly  within  the  precinct,  a  favour  which  was  originally 
owing  to  Charles  II.,  all  sorts  of  unseemly  marriages  were  celebrated  by  the  "  Savoy 
parsons,"  there  being  five  private  ways  by  land  to  this  chapel,  and  two  by  water.  The 
Rev.  Mr.  Wilkinson,  the  father  of  Tate  Wilkinson,  the  actor,  for  performing  the  illicit 
ceremony,  was  informed  against  by  Garrick,  and  the  reverend  gentleman  was  transported. 
A  letter  to  Lord  Burleigh  in  1581,  as  to  an  outbreak  of  rogues,  states,  "  the  chief 
nurserie  of  all  these  evell  people  is  the  Savoy,  and  the  brick  kilnes  near  Islington." 

The  Chapel  was  built,  in  1505,  of  squared  stone  and  boulders,  with  a  low  bell-tower 
and  large  Tudor  windows  ;  and,  standing  in  a  small  burial-ground,  amid  a  few  trees 
and  evergreens,  it  resembled  the  church  of  a  rural  hamlet ;  it  was  all  that  remained 
of  the  Hospital.  Thither  John,  King  of  France,  was  brought  prisoner  from  Poictiers 
by  Edward  the  Black  Prince ;  and  there,  in  his  "  antient  prison,"  King  John  died. 
The  chapel  was  originally  dedicated  to  the  Saviour,  the  Virgin,  and  St.  John  the 
Baptist ;  but  when  the  old  church  of  St.  Mary-le-Strand  was  destroyed  by  the  Pro- 
tector Somerset,  the  parishioners  united  themselves  to  the  precinct  of  the  Savoy,  and 
the  chapel,  being  used  as  their  church,  acquired  the  name  of  St.  Mary-le-Savoy, 
though  before  the  householders  beyond  the  precinct  were  permitted  to  use  it  as  their 
parish  church  they  signed  an  instrument  renouncing  all  claim  to  any  right  or  property 
in  the  chapel  itself.  There  is  a  tradition  that  when  the  Liturgy  in  the  vernacular 
tongne  was  restored  by  Queen  Elizabeth,  the  chapel  of  the  Savoy  was  the  first  place 
in  which  the  service  was  performed. 

The  Chapel  Royal  was  restored  chiefly  through  the  instrumentality  of  George  IV. 
The  interior  wa3  destroyed  by  fire,  but  was  repaired  at  the  expense  of  Queen  Victoria, 
in  1843 ;  the  fine  ceiling  was  restored  and  emblazoned  by  Willement,  by  whom  it  has 
been  minutely  illustrated.  Mr.  Willement  also  reglazed  the  altar-window.  In  the 
lower  centre  was  a  figure  of  St.  John  the  Baptist ;  the  side  compartments  contained 
emblems  of  the  other  Evangelists ;  and  in  other  parts  were  the  ducal  coronet,  the  red 
rose  of  Lancaster,  and  the  lions,  also  fleurs-de-lis  of  the  Plantagenet  escocheon,  and 
over  all  the  inscription — "  This  window  was  glazed  at  the  expense  of  the  congregation, 
in  honour  of  God,  and  in  gratitude  to  our  Queen  Victoria."  The  altar-screen,  said  to 
have  been  the  work  of  Sir  Reginald  Bray,  was  restored  by  Mr.  Sydney  Smirke,  in 
1843.  In  July,  1864,  the  Chapel  was  again  destroyed  by  fire,  save  the  walls ;  the 
fine  altar-screen  and  window,  the  carved  ceiling,  and  many  of  the  old  monuments, 
were  entirely  consumed.  It  has  been  rebuilt  at  a  cost  of  about  50001.  (it  was 
insured  for  4000Z.),  under  the  superintendence  of  Mr.  Sydney  Smirke ;  the  roof  has 
been  embellished  much  after  the  design  of  that  which  was  destroyed,  but  different 
in  detail ;  the  great  window  over  the  altar  has  been  magnificently  painted,  and  a  fine 
Organ  erected  at  the  southern  end  of  the  Chapel.  Over  the  window  is  a  Latin  inscrip- 
tion to  the  effect  that  it  was  presented  by  the  inhabitants  of  the  precinct  in  1843, 
destroyed  with  the  chapel  in  1864,  and  restored  by  Queen  Victoria  in  memory  of  the 
Prince  Consort  in  1865.  A  beautiful  font  has  been  contributed  by  Mrs.  De  Wint,  a 
parishioner ;  a  carved  oaken  pulpit  of  chaste  design  has  been  presented  by  another 
p  rishioner,  Mr.  Burgess,  of  the  Strand.  The  benefice  is  a  "  peculiar ;"  building  uncon- 
secrated ;  clergy  unlicensed.  Her  Majesty  pays  every  current  expense  belonging  to 
the  chapel,  its  officers,  and  services. 

On  the  Sunday  following  Christmas-day  it  has  been  customary  to  place  near  the 
door  a  chair  covered  with  a  cloth :  on  the  chair  being  an  orange  in  a  plate.  This 
curious  custom  at  the  Savoy  has  not  been  explained. 

St.  Alban  the  Maettb,  Baldwin's  Gardens,  Grays'-Inn-lane,  was  built  and 
endowed  at  the  sole  expense  of  Mr.  Hubbard,  M.P.  The  site  was  given  by  Lord 
Leigh :  Butterfield,  architect ;  consecrated  Feb.  20,  1863 ;  the  choir  entirely  from 
the  parishioners  of  the  district.  The  church  comprises  a  clerestoried  Nave  and  a  Chancel, 
both  with  aisles,  and  a  saddle-back  tower  at  the  west  end.  The  building  is  of  brick, 
with    stone,  alabaster,  and  terra-cotta  dressings.     Externally,  the  bricks  are  of  the 


CHURCHES  A2W  CH.iPELS.  145 

ordinary  stock  brick  character,  with  very  slight  handings  of  red}  and  internally,  red 
and  yellow  bricks  are  disposed  in  patterns  mixed  with  stone;  the  latter  being  orna- 
mented with  incised  scroll-work  filled  in  with  black  mastic.  The  use  of  constructive 
polychrome,  and  the  absence  of  carving,  are  characteristics  of  the  edifice.  At  the 
west  end  is  a  narthex,  or  Galilee  porch,  supported  by  an  arch  of  imposing  span  and 
height,  and  lighted  by  a  noble  west  window.  Here,  according  to  the  custom  of  the 
early  churches,  are  the  north  and  south  doors.  The  Chancel  is  approached  by  two 
steps,  and  the  altar  is  raised  on  a  platform  considerably  higher.  Over  it  is  a  large 
marble  cross,  enriched,  let  into  the  wall.  The  chancel  walls  are  lined  with  alabaster, 
banded  with  tile,  and  ornamented  with  niello  work.  On  the  flat  east  end,  above  the 
second  story,  is  a  series  of  panels  filled  with  ten  water-glass  pictures,  designed  by 
Le  Strange,  from  Our  Lord's  life,  the  central  place  being  occupied  with  a  picture  of  the 
Annunciation.  Alow  wrought-iron  screen  separates  the  Nave  from  the  Chancel;  and 
lofty  iron  parcloses  divide  the  chancel  from  its  aisles.  The  columns  of  the  clerestory 
here,  as  in  the  Nave  and  in  the  arcading  against  the  north  and  south  walls  of  the  aisles, 
are  of  red  terra-cotta,  in  short  lengths.  The  roof  is  of  wood,  ornamented  with  colour. 
The  font  has  a  rich  character  in  design  and  form,  and  in  the  coloured  stone  of  its  inlaid 
work.  In  the  Chancel  is  a  brass  lectern.  The  pulpit  is  of  oak,  simple  in  design,  on  a 
pedestal  of  stone  and  terra  cotta.  The  entrance  to  the  belfry  story  is  by  a  staircase 
opening  into  the  church  at  the  centre  of  the  west  wall :  over  the  door  is  inscribed, 
"  I  believe  in  one  baptism  for  the  remission  of  sins,"  under  a  sculptured  bas-relief 
of  the  Last  Supper.  Incense  and  the  vestments  are  used.  Here  is  a  tenor  bell,  one  of 
an  intended  peal  of  eight.  Near  the  entrance  of  the  church  is  placed  a  drinking- 
fountain.     The  whole  cost  of  the  church,  without  the  pictures,  is  about  15,000Z. 

St.  Alban's,  "Wood-street,  Cheapside,  is  stated  to  have  been  named  from  its  belong- 
ing to  the  monastery  of  St.  Albans.  Stow  thinks  it  to  be  "  at  least  of  as  antient 
standing  as  King  Adelstane  the  Saxon  (925  to  941),  who,  as  the  tradition  says,  had 
his  house  at  the  east  end  of  this  church,"  and  which  gave  name  to  Adel-street. 
Maitland  supposes  the  church  to  have  bean  one  of  the  first  places  of  worship  built  in 
London  by  Alfred,  after  he  had  driven  out  its  destroyers,  the  Danes.  It  was  rebuilt 
by  Inigo  Jones,  but  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire,  and  again  rebuilt  by  Wren  in 
1685,  "  Gothic,  as  the  same  was  before  the  Fire,"  with  clustered  columns,  flat  pointed 
arches,  and  boldly  groined  roof.  To  the  right  of  the  reading-desk,  within  twisted 
columns,  arches,  &c,  and  in  a  frame  richly  ornamented  with  angels  sounding  trumpets, 
&c,  is  an  hour-glass,  such  as  was  common  in  churches  in  the  sixteenth  and  seventeenth 
centuries,  "  that  when  the  preacher  doth  make  a  sermon,  he  may  know  the  hour 
passeth  away :"  the  hour-glass  frame  and  the  spiral  column  upon  which  it  ia  mounted 
are  of  brass.     Butler,  in  Hurtibras,  has  : 

As  gifted  Brethren  preaching  by 

A  carnal  Hour-glass  do  imply.— Canto  3,  v.  1061,  and  Note. 

The  exterior  of  the  church  is  ill  designed,  and  has  a  pinnacled  tower  92  feet  high. 
The  whole  was  restored  in  1859,  by  G.  Gilbert  Scott,  architect.  The  interior  is 
wainscoted  with  Norway  oak.  One  of  the  St.  Alban's  rectors,  Dr.  Watts,  who  died 
in  1649,  assisted  Sir  Henry  Spelman  in  his  Glossary,  and  edited  Matthew  Paris's 
Historia  Major. 

Ailhai/lows  Babking,  at  the  east  end  of  Great  Tower-street,  so  called  from  having 
belonged  to  the  Abbot  and  Convent  of  Barking,  in  Essex,  narrowly  escaped  the  Great 
Fire,  which  burnt  the  dial  and  porch,  and  vicarage-house.  The  church  contains  a 
curiously-carved  communion-table,  font-cover,  and  screen  with  altar-wreaths  ;  and  some 
funeral  brasses  of  early  date,  among  the  best  in  London.  The  headless  bodies  of 
the  poet  Surrey,  Bishop  Fisher  (More's  friend),  and  Archbishop  Laud,  who  were  exe- 
cuted on  Tower  Hill,  were  interred  in  AUhallows  Church  and  churchyard,  but  have 
been  removed  for  honourable  burial.  The  body  of  Fisher  was  carried  on  the  halberds 
of  the  attendants,  and  interred  in  the  churchyard. 

There  has  been  published,  by  the  archaeologist  curate  of  this  parish,  Berlcynge 
Churche  JMatfa-TwrnVB— collections  in   illustration  of   the   architecture  and    monu- 


146  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

merits,  notices  of  vicars,  &c.  Much  of  the  church  is  Perpendicular ;  the  chancel- 
window  is  late  Decorated.  The  whole  huilding  bad  a  narrow  escape  at  the  Great  Fire; 
for,  as  Pepys  records,  the  dial  and  porch  were  burnt,  and  the  fire  there  quenched. 

Mr.  Leyborne,  in  Strype,  B.  ii.  p.  36,  relates  that  over  against  the  wall  of  Barking  Churchyard,  a  sad 
and  lamentable  accident  befel  by  gunpowder  in  this  manner.  At  a  ship-chandler's,  upon  Jan.  4, 1619, 
about  seven  o'clock  at  night,  being  busy  in  his  shop  barrelling  up  gunpowder,  it  took  fire,  and  in  the 
twinkling  of  an  eye  blew  up,  not  only  that,  but  all  the  houses  thereabouts  to  the  number  (towards  the 
street  and  in  back  alleys)  of  fifty  or  sixty.  The  number  of  persons  destroyed  by  this  blow  could  never 
be  known,  for  the  next  house  but  one  was  the  Rose  Tavern,  a  house  never  (at  that  time  of  night)  but 
full  of  company ;  and  that  day  the  parish  dinner  was  at  the  house.  And  in  three  or  four  days  after 
digging,  they  continually  found  heads,  arms,  legs,  and  half  bodies,  miserably  torn  and  scorched,  besides 
many  whole  bodies,  not  so  much  as  their  clothes  singed.  In  the  digging,  strange  to  relate,  they  found 
the  mistress  of  the  Rose  Tavern  sitting  in  her  bar,  and  one  of  the  drawers  standing  by  the  bar's  side, 
with  a  pot  in  his  hand,  only  stifled  with  dust  and  smoke ;  their  bodies  being  preserved  whole  by  means 
of  great  timbers  falling  across  one  another.  Next  morning  there  was  found  on  the  upper  leads  of 
Barking  Church,  a  young  child  lying  in  a  cradle,  as  newly  laid  in  bed,  neither  the  child  nor  the  cradle 
having  the  least  sign  of  any  fire  or  other  hurt.  It  was  never  known  whose  child  it  was,  so  that  one 
of  the  parish  kept  it  as  a  memorial;  for  in  the  year  1666  (says  the  narrator),  I  saw  the  child,  grown  to 
be  then  a  proper  maiden,  and  came  to  the  man  that  had  kept  her  all  that  time,  where  he  was  drinking 
at  a  tavern  with  some  other  company  then  present.  And  he  told  us  she  was  the  child  that  was  so  found 
in  the  cradle  upon  the  church  leads,  as  aforesaid.  According  to  a  tablet  which  hung  beneath  the  organ 
gallery  of  the  church,  the  quantity  of  gunpowder  exploded  in  this  catastrophe  was  twenty-seven  barrels. 

Allhallows,  Bread-street,  was  built  by  Wren,  in  1G80 :  the  old  church,  in 
which  Milton  was  baptized,  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  but  the  register  preserves 
the  entry  of  the  poet's  baptism.  Here  was  buried  Alderman  Richard  Reed,  who  re- 
fusing to  pay  to  "  a  benevolence"  levied  by  Henry  VIII.,  was  sent  to  serve  as  a  soldier, 
"  both  he  and  his  men  at  his  own  charge,"  in  the  Northern  wars.  Reed  was  taken 
prisoner  by  the  Scotch,  and  was  glad  to  make  his  peace  with  the  King,  and  purchase 
his  ransom  at  a  heavy  rate.  Laurence  Saunders  was  rector  of  this  parish  in  1553.  In 
Queen  Mary's  reign  he  preached  most  zealously  against  Romish  errors,  and  was  im- 
prisoned fifteen  months,  degraded  Feb.  4, 1555,  and  next  day  was  carried  to  Coventry, 
where,  on  the  8th,  he  suffered  martyrdom. 

"  There  are  but  few  residents  in  the  parish,  which  is  chiefly  filled  with  warehouses, 
nearly  every  one  of  which  has  a  padlock  on  the  door  on  Sunday.  The  congregation 
usually  averages  nine  ! — Mackeson. 

Allhallows  the  Geeat  and  Less,  Upper  Thames-street,  built  in  1683,  has  a 
richly  carved  oak  rood-screen  the  whole  width  of  the  church.  It  was  manufactured 
at  Hamburgh,  and  presented  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne  to  the  church  by  Hanse 
Merchants,  who  formerly  resided  in  this  parish  in  considerable  numbers. 

William  Lichfield  was  Rector  in  1440.  He  composed  during  his  ministry  3083 
sermons,  which  were  found  in  his  own  handwriting,  after  his  decease.  Pepys  speaks  of 
Allhallows  the  Great  as  one  of  the  first  churches  that  set  up  the  King's  Arms  before  the 
Restoration,  while  Monk  and  Montague  were  as  yet  undecided.  Theodore  Jacobson, 
the  architect  of  the  Foundling  Hospital,  is  buried  here. 

Allhallows,  Honey-lane,  a  small  parish  church,  in  the  ward  of  Cheap,  on  the  site 
of  Honey-lane  Market ;  it  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  not  rebuilt.  Here 
was  buried  John  Norman,  draper,  Mayor,  1453,  "  the  first  Mayor  that  was  rowed 
to  Westminster  by  water,  for  before  that  they  rode  on  horseback." — (Stow.) 
Thomas  Garrard  was  Rector  in  1537,  and  having  circulated  forbidden  theological 
books,  was  attainted  by  Parliament,  and  burned  in  Smithfield,  1540. 

Allhallows,  Lombard-street,  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire  and  rebuilt  by  Wren 

in  1694,  contains  an  exquisitely-sculptured  white  marble  font ;  carved  figures  of  Time 

and  Death,  in  wood,  besides  a  carved  curtain,  which  seems  to  hide  foliage  behind  it. 

The  churchyard  was  closed  in  the  cholera  year,  1849,  and  laid  out  as  a  garden.  y 

In  1580,  one  Peter  Symons  left  31.  2».  8d.  to  the  parish  of  Allhallows,  in  order  that,  after  a  sermon 
and  the  usual  morning  service  upon  Whit-Sunday,  a  penny  and  a  packet  of  plums  should  be  given  to 
sixty  boys  belonging  to  Christ's  Hospital.  Each  lad  receives  a  new  penny  and  a  packet  containing 
about  a  quarter  of  a  pound  of  plums.  Another  version  of  the  Will  states  the  distribution  to  be  in  the 
burying-ground  in  Old  Bethlem  to  sixty  poor  people  of  the  parish  of  St.  Botolph,  Bishopsgate.    The 

Ecnny  loaves  have  increased  to  twopenny  loaves,  and  the  burial-ground  of  Old  Bethlem  has  been  invaded 
y  railway  companies.  Of  late  years  the  loaves  have  been  given  away  in  the  garden  of  Mr.  Elwin. 
Gifts  of  bread,  buns,  and  money,  from  a  local  source,  are  also  then  given  to  the  charity  children,  and  to 
many  of  the  poorer  inhabitants  of  the  parish. 

Allhallows  Staining,  Mark -lane,  escaped  the  Great  Fire,  and  Stow  thinks  was 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  147 

called  Stane  church  to  distinguish  it  from  others  in  the  City  of  the  same  name,  huilt 
of  timber.  The  tower  and  a  portion  of  the  west  end  alone  are  ancient.  The  Princess 
Elizabeth,  on  May  19,  1554,  after  her  release  from  the  Tower,  performed  her  devotions 
in  this  church ;  and  afterwards  is  said  to  have  dined  off  pork  and  peas  at  the  King's 
Head  in  Fenchurch-street,  where  a  metal  dish  and  cover  used  on  the  occasion  are 
shown  ;  and  a  commemorative  dinner  was  held  annually  on  Elizabeth's  birthday,  but 
discontinued  thirty  years  since.  The  churchwardens'  books  contain  payments  for  ring- 
ing the  bells  "  for  joye  of  ye  execution  of  ye  Queene  of  Scots :"  also  for  the  return  of 
King  James  II.  from  Feversham ;  and,  two  days  after,  on  the  arrival  of  the  Prince  of 
Orange.  In  De  Laune's  History  of  London,  published  1681,  mention  is  made  of  charities 
connected  with  Allhallows  Staining ;  and  that  "  John  Costin,  a  Girdler,  who  dyed  1244, 
gave  the  poor  of  the  parish  a  hundred  quarters  of  charcoals  for  ever." 

Allhallows-in-the-Wall,  Broad-street  Ward,  is  named  "of  standing  close  to 
the  wall  of  the  City."  (Stow.)  It  was  built  in  the  shape  of  a  wedge,  east  end  broadest, 
by  Dance,  jun.,  1765,  and  contains  an  altar-picture,  painted  and  presented  by  Sir 
N.  Dance,  of  P.  da  Cortona's  "  Ananias  restoring  Paul  to  sight."  The  parish  books 
(commencing  1455)  record  the  beuefactions  of  an  "  ancker,"  or  hermit,  who  lived  near 
the  old  church  which  escaped  the  Great  Fire.  Here  is  a  tablet  to  the  Rev.  William 
Beloe,  translator  of  Herodotus,  and  twenty  years  rector  of  this  parish ;  his  successor  in 
the  living  was  Archdeacon  Nare3,  so  well  known  by  his  Glossary. 

All  Saints  Bishopsgate,  Skinner-street,  a  Gothic  church,  built  in  1830,  at  the 
expense  of  Bishop  Blomfield,  when  rector  of  St.  Botolph's. 

All  Saints,  Kennington  Park,  W.  White,  architect,  completed  in  1853,  presents  in 
its  materials  stone  of  various  colours,  Devonshire  marble,  and  different  coloured  tiles 
and  brickwork ;  in  the  clerestory,  part  of  each  window-head  is  filled  with  mosaic  work, 
instead  of  being  pierced  j  and  large  squares  of  stained  glass  in  place  of  the  ordinary 
perishable  quarry  lights.  This  church  owes  its  erection  mainly  to  the  munificence  of 
the  Rev.  Dr.  Walker,  rector  of  St.  Columb  Major,  after  the  model  of  whose  beautiful 
church  in  Cornwall  the  church  of  All  Saints  is  built. 

All  Saints,  Knightsbridge,  in  the  Lombardic  or  Byzantine  style,  by  Vulliamy,  con- 
secrated 1849 :  incumbent,  the  Rev.  W.  Harness,  one  of  the  editors  of  Shakspeare ; 
senior  curate,  the  Rev.  Mackenzie  Walcott,  author  of  Memorials  of  Westminster,  1819. 

All  Saints,  Lower  Marsh,  Lambeth,  built  in  1846,  in  the  Anglo-Norman  style, 
has  a  tower  and  spire  160  feet  high,  and  upwards  of  100  feet  from  the  body  of  the 
church,  with  which  it  is  connected  by  a  passage. 

All  Souls,  Langham-place,  built  by  Nash  in  1822-25,  has  been  much  ridiculed,  but 
is  suited  to  its  angular  plan  j  the  circular  tower,  surrounded  with  Ionic  columns, 
has  a  Coi'inthian  peristyle  above,  and  a  stone  cone  or  spire;  it  is  well  adapted  to 
its  situation,  having  the  same  appearance  whichever  way  viewed.  The  surface  is 
fluted,  and  the  point  finished  with  metal.  The  interior  is  formed  on  the  model  of 
the  older  churches  in  the  Italian  style,  and  is  divided  "  by  colonnades  into  nave  and  " 
aisles  :  it  contains  an  altar-picture  by  Westall,  R.A.,  of  Christ  crowned  with  thorns. 

All  Saints,  Margaret-street,  W.  Butterfield,  architect,  was  designed  as  a  model 
church,  in  art-development,  and  "  in  strict  conformity  with  all  the  distinctive  tenets 
and  limitations  of  the  pure  reformed  church."  The  first  stone  was  laid  by  the  Rev. 
Dr.  Pusey,  on  All  Saints'  Day  (Nov.  1,  1850) ;  and  the  conduct  of  the  work  was  un- 
dertaken on  his  own  responsibility  by  Mr.  A.  J.  B.  Beresford  Hope,  with  a  very  limited 
number  of  subscriptions,  one  of  which,  however,  is  stated  to  have  been  3O,0O0Z.  from 
an  anonymous  benefactor.  The  ground,  which  includes  the  site  of  Margaret-street 
Chapel,  was  purchased  chiefly  by  Mr.  Hope  for  10,000£.  The  church  forms  one  side  of 
a  small  court,  two  sides  of  which  are  formed  by  houses  (schools  and  clergy  house), 
connected  with  the  church,  and  the  fourth  side  opens  to  Margaret-street.  It  consists 
of  a  nave  and  chancel,  with  aisles  to  each :  its  length  is  109  feet,  its  width  64  feet. 
The  length  of  the  nave  internally  is  63  feet  6  inches,  and  of  the  chancel,  which  is 
vaulted,  38  feet  6  inches.  The  external  height  of  the  building  itself  is  75  feet  j  and 
that  of  the  tower  and   spire,  one  of  the  noblest  features  in  the  design,  227  feet. 

X  2 


148  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  style  of  the  entire  mass  is  Early  Middle  Pointed,  i.e.,  the  style  of  ahout  a.d.  1300 
The  material  of  the  whole  is  red  brick,  chequered,  in  the  church  itself,  hy  mosaic 
patterns  of  black  brick,  and  courses  of  Danby  Dale  stone  ;  in  the  collegiate  buildings  by 
patterns  of  black  brick,  which  is  used,  especially  above  the  window  arches,  with  great 
boldness.  The  court  is  separated  from  the  road  by  an  iron  screen  standing  on  a  low  per- 
peyn  wall ;  the  entrance  is  by  a  pedimented  gateway,  and  immediately  opposite  a  but- 
tress is  converted  into  a  kind  of  churchyard  cross.  In  its  upper  part  it  is  ornamented 
with  a  sculpture  of  the  Annunciation;  above  that,  it  carries  a  metal  cross  at  the  height 
of  55  feet.  The  tower  is  at  the  west  end  of  the  south  aisle.  Its  union  and  harmony 
with  the  spire,  and  the  treatment  of  the  belfry  windows,  are,  beyond  comparison,  finer 
than  the  Marien  Kirche  of  Lubeck.  The  decoration  of  the  tower  consists  principally  of 
courses  of  Danby  Dale  stone,  edged  by  a  border  of  black  brick,  and  relieved  by  a 
chevron  of  the  same  ;  mosaic  patterns  being  introduced.  The  spire  is  broached ;  it  is 
covered  with  slates,  and  relieved  with  bands  of  lead,  and  carries  a  very  noble  metal 
cross.  It  is  (1866)  the  highest  spire  in  London,  being  more  elevated  than  that  of 
Bow  Church  or  St.  Bride's. 

The  interior  is  the  most  gorgeous  in  the  kingdom,  and  the  one  in  which  ecclesio- 
logical  teaching  has  been  most  studiously  followed ;  every  part  of  it  having  been 
executed  in  accordance  with  mediaeval  precedent  and  symbolism.  The  Nave  is  divided 
into  three  bays,  the  south-western  being  inclosed  so  as  to  form  a  Baptistery.  The 
clustered  columns  which  support  the  arches  of  the  Nave  are  of  polished  Aberdeen 
granite,  with  plinths  of  black  marble,  and  boldly  foliaged  capitals  of  alabaster ;  the 
spandrels  of  the  arches  are  inlaid  with  coloured  stones  and  encaustic  tiles  in  geometrical 
patterns.  The  roof  is  of  wood  in  seven  bays,  painted  of  a  chocolate  colour  relieved 
with  white  and  pricked  out  with  blue.  The  great  Chancel  arch  is  of  alabaster ;  the 
wall  above  is  inlaid  with  black,  white,  and  coloured  work,  and  has  a  large  "  cross  of 
glory,"  in  the  centre.  All  the  windows  are  of  stained  glass :  the  one  of  the  south  aisle 
and  great  window  (the  Root  of  Jesse)  by  Gerente  of  Paris,  represent  scriptural  subjects. 
The  clerestory  windows  are  of  geometrical  patterns,  by  O'Connor.  The  pulpit  is  of 
coloured  marble,  and  cost  nearly  400/.  The  floor  is  laid  with  encaustic  tiles ;  there 
are  neither  pews  nor  forms,  but  chairs  are  used. 

The  Chancel  is  mainly  lined  with  alabaster  and  statuary  marble ;  the  arches  dividing 
the  Chancel  from  its  aisles  being  filled  with  tracery  of  alabaster,  resting  on  shafts  of 
dark  red  serpentine ;  while  on  the  ground-line  of  the  sanctuary  beyond,  these  rich 
materials  are  sculptured  into  canopied  arcades,  forming  graceful  sedilia.  There  is  no 
east  window,  the  entire  end  of  the  chancel  above  the  altar  being  occupied  by  a  series 
of  fresco  paintings  by  W.  R.  Dyce,  R.A.,  on  a  diapered  gold  ground,  and  each  in  a 
canopied  frame  of  alabaster;  the  detached  shafts  are  of  serpentine.  In  the  lowest 
stage  is  "the  Nativity;"  the  Madonna,  with  the  infant  in  her  lap  occupies  the 
centre ;  whilst  three  of  the  Apostles  are  in  panels  on  either  side.  In  the  middle 
stage  in  the  centre  is  a  representation  of  "  the  Crucifixion,"  and  the  rest  of  the  Apostles 
occupy  the  side  panels;  the  upper  space  is  devoted  to  a  large  representation  of 
"  the  Celestial  Court,  with  our  Lord  in  Majesty  in  the  centre,"  the  Saviour  being 
seated  in  front  of  an  elliptical  aureole,  around  which  is  a  choir  of  angels,  while  below 
are  Saints  of  the  church,  standing  and  kneeling  in  adoration.  The  upper  portion  of 
the  Chancel  is  decorated  with  geometrical  and  mosaic  work,  in  coloured  marbles.  The 
roof,  which  is  externally  more  elevated  than  the  nave,  is  groined  in  stone ;  the  main 
ribs  of  the  arches  and  vaulting  are  gilt ;  the  low  screen,  which  shuts  off  the  altar,  is 
of  alabaster  and  coloured  marble.  The  floor  is  laid  with  encaustic  tiles.  The  Organ, 
divided  into  two  parts,  occupies  portions  of  the  Chancel  aisles,  the  trackers  passing  under 
the  floor.  The  Baptistery  (the  ground-floor  of  the  tower)  is  ornamented  with  polished 
red  granite,  serpentine,  and  alabaster  j  the  font  is  of  coloured  marble,  resembling  in 
style  the  pulpit.  The  ceiling  contains  a  figure  of  the  emblematic  pelican.  Throughout 
the  building  is  a  rich  display  of  Gothic  brasswork.  The  grilles  dividing  the  chancel 
from  the  transept  are  light  and  graceful ;  the  stalls  are  very  unobtrusive  and  neat ; 
the  holy  table  is  of  various  precious  woods. 

Mr.  Butterfield's  design  and  intention  evidently  was  to  produce  a  whole  profusely  but  delicately 
coloured,  bright  and  luminous,  refreshing  to  the  eye,  and  satisfying  (if  it  comes  to  be  reflected  upon)  to 


CEUECRES  AXD  CHAFELS.  140 

the  mind.  The  key-note  of  the  colour  was  to  be  struck  by  the  lovely  natural  marbles  so  largely  used 
throughout  the  church ;  white  was  to  be  the  foundation  of  the  system,  relieved  indeed  and  decorated, 
but  never  overpowered,  by  the  stronger  and  more  decided  hues,  whether  of  marble,  of  paint,  or  of  gilding, 
employed  to  surround  it  and  give  it  force ;  the  result  is  admirable.  The  low  marble  screen,  chiefly  of 
white  and  light  brown  marble  ;  the  side  arches  filled  with  tracery  of  serpentine  and  alabaster  full  of 
manly  strength  and  beauty ;  the  magnificent  alabaster  reredos ;  the  general  use  of  alabaster  and  green 
marble  on  the  sides  of  the  chancel,  and  alabaster  and  faintly  coloured  chalkstone  in  the  groining, 
together  with  most  of  the  encaustic  tiles  and  the  woodwork,  are  Mr.  Butterfield's.  The  pillars  earning 
the  vaulting  are  of  green  Mona  marble,  with  alabaster  capitals.  The  alabaster  ribs  are  completely 
covered  with  gold,  and  have  the  effect  of  burs  of  simple  metal ;  the  capitals  of  the  columns  and  large 
masses  of  the  reredos  are  covered  with  gold.  The  church  is  not  absolutely  large.  The  height  of  the 
roof,  however,  increased  to  the  eye  by  the  use  of  white  plaster  between  the  carved  beams  ;  the  broad 
and  stately  arches ;  the  large,  bold,  and  bright  patterns  inlaid  upon  the  walls ;  all  combine  to  create  an 
impression  of  breadth  and  dignity  altogether  uncommon.  The  mingling  of  the  coloured  bricks,  the 
white  stone,  the  pink  granite,  and  the  alabaster  arches  and  capitals,  is  very  happy.  The  carvings  of 
the  capitals  were  long  since  remarked  upon  by  Mr.  Buskin,  with  perfect  justice,  as  unequalled  in  modern 
times. — Abridged  from  the  Guardian. 

The  church  is  the  parish  church  of  a  "  Peel "  parish,  formed,  in  1849,  out  of  the 
district  rectory  of  All  Souls',  St.  Marylebone,  in  the  perpetual  patronage  of  the  Bishop 
of  London.  Its  present  and  first  incumbent  is  the  Kev.  W.  Upton  Richards.  The 
church  was,  in  the  main,  finished  in  1859,  and  is  understood  to  have  cost  70,000?. 
One  of  our  ablest  ecclesiologists,  himself  a  leader  among  the  exclusively  Gothjc 
architects  of  our  time,  Mr.  G.  E.  Street,  observes  : — "  Though  I  have  a  rather  large 
acquaintance  with  English  and  foreign  works  executed  since  the  revival  of  Pointed 
Art,  I  cannot  hesitate  for  an  instant  in  allowing  that  this  church  is  not  only  the  most 
beautiful,  but  the  most  vigorous,  thoughtful,  and  original  of  them  all." 

All  Saints,  Poplar-lane,  India-road,  was  first  built  in  1650-54,  by  subscription,  on 
ground  given  by  the  East  India  Company,  and  was  nearly  rebuilt  by  them  in  1776.  It 
has  a  very  good  peal  of  ten  bells.  Here  are  monuments  to  Robert  Ainsworth,  the 
lexicographer  ;  and  Flaxman's  sculpture  in  memory  of  George  Steevens,  the  illustrator 
of  Shakspeare :  it  is  a  bas-relief  of  Steevens  earnestly  contemplating  a  bust  of  our 
great  Dramatic  Bard ;  the  poetical  inscription  is  by  Hayley. 

St.  Alpiiage,  London  Wall,  escaped  the  Great  Fire,  and  was  rebuilt  in  the  last 
century :  it  has  a  porch  with  sculptured  heads  and  pointed  arches,  stated  to  be  a 
remnant  of  the  ancient  Elsing  Priory.  Its  registers  record,  within  a  few  years,  about  forty 
persons  in  this  parish  who  certified  that  they  had  been  touched  by  Charles  II.  for  the 
Evil. 

St.  Andrew's,  Canal-road,  Kingsland-road,  built  of  brick  of  divers  colours,  C.  A. 
Long,  architect,  has  a  recessed  porch  at  the  west  end,  and  a  square  tower  and  zinc 
spire  at  the  east:  opened  1865. 

St.  Andbew's,  Holborn,  was  rebuilt  by  Wren,  upon  the  site  of  the  old  church,  in 
1686;  the  original  tower  (date  Henry  VI.),  110  feet  high,  was  recased  in  1704.  It 
is  one  of  the  best  placed  churches  in  London :  "  for  as  the  west  end  is  nearly  at  the 
summit  of  Holborn-bill,  the  foundation  was  necessarily  continued  throughout  on  this 
level  to  the  east  end  in  Shoe-lane ;  so  that  the  basement  is  there  considerably  elevated 
above  the  houses."  (Godwin.)     The  interior  is  rich  in  gilding  and  stained  glass. 

The  Organ  was  built  from  the  famous  instrument  constructed  by  Harris  for  the  Temple  Church, 
part  of  which  was  sent  to  Christchurch  Cathedral,  Dublin,  but  was  sold  for  500/.,  and  is  now  in 
Wolverhampton  Church.  When  Dr.  Sacheverell  entered  upon  the  living  of  St.  Andrew's,  he  found  that 
the  organ,  not  having  been  paid  for,  had,  from  its  erection  in  1699,  been  shut  up ;  when  Sacheverell,  by 
a  collection  amongst  his  parishioners,  raised  the  amount,  and  paid  for  the  instrument. 

St.  Andrew's  has  been  called  "  the  Poets'  Church,"  from  the  sons  of  Song  connected 
with  it :  John  Webster,  the  dramatic  poet,  a  late  contemporary  of  Shakspeare,  is  said 
to  have  been  parish-clerk  here,  but  this  is  not  attested  by  the  register ;  Robert  Savage 
was  christened  here,  Jan.  18,  1696-7  ;  the  register  records,  Aug.  28, 1770,  "  William  " 
(Thomas)  "  Chatterton,"  with  "  the  poet "  added  by  a  later  hand,  interred  in  the 
burial-ground  of  Shoe-lane  Workhouse,  now  the  site  of  Farringdon  Market ;  and  in 
the  churchyard  lies  Henry  Neele,  the  gravestone  bearing  a  touching  epitaph  written 
by  him  on  his  father.  Among  the  eminent  rectors  of  the  church  were  Hacket  and 
Stillingfleet,  afterwards  bishops ;  and  Sacheverel,  the  partisan  preacher,  who  is  buried 
in  the  Chancel.  In  the  south  aisle  is  a  tablet  to  John  Emery,  the  comedian,  d.  1822. 
Some  of  the  registers  date  from  1558. 


Ill 


150  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

St.  Andeew's  Undeeshaet,  Leadenhall-street,  nearly  opposite  the  site  of  the 
East  India  House,  is  a  Tudor  church,  before  whose  south  side  was  set  up  on  every  May- 
day morning  a  long  shaft  or  May-pole,  which  was  higher  than  the  church-steeple.  It 
was  last  raised  in  1517,  on  "  Evil  May-day,"  "  so  called  of  an  insurrection  made  by 
apprentices  and  other  young  persons  against  aliens :"  it  was  then  hung  on  iron  hooks 
over  the  doors  and  under  the  "  pentices  "  of  Shaft-alley,  until  3rd  King  Edward  VI., 
when  one  St.  Stephen,  a  curate,  preaching  at  Paul's  Cross,  "  said  that  this  shaft  was 
made  an  idol,  by  naming  the  church  of  St.  Andrew  with  the  addition  of  '  under-that- 
shaft.'  "  Stow  heard  this  sermon,  and  describes  how  the  parishioners  in  the  afternoon 
lifted  the  shaft  from  the  hooks  whereon  it  had  rested  thirty-two  years,  sawed  it  in 
pieces,  "  every  man  taking  for  his  share  so  much  as  had  lain  over  his  door  and  stall, 
the  length  of  his  house ;  and  they  of  the  alley  divided  among  them  so  much  as  had 
lain  over  their  alley-gate "  (Stow) :  and  thus  was  this  idol  "  mangled  and  after 
burned."  The  present  church,  rebuilt  1520-1532,  consists  of  a  nave  and  two  side 
aisles,  with  ribbed  and  flattened  roof,  painted  and  gilt  with  flowers  and  shields.  The 
Chancel  has  also  paintings  of  the  heavenly  choir,  landscapes,  and  buildings.  St. 
Andrew's  has  much  stained  glass ;  and  a  large  pointed  windo  .v  at  the  east  end  of  the 
Nave  contains  whole-length  portraits  of  King  Edward  VI.,  Queen  Elizabeth,  James  I., 
Charles  I.,  and  Charles  II.  The  church  was  pewed  soon  after  1520.  It  contains 
many  brasses,  tablets,  and  monuments,  the  most  characteristic  of  which  is  that  of 
John  Stow,  author  of  A  Survey  of  London  (1598).  This  monument  is  of  terra-cotta, 
and  was  erected  by  Stow's  widow;  it  contains  the  figure  of  the  chronicler,  once 
coloured  after  life  :  he  is  seated  at  a  table,  pen  in  hand,  with  a  book  before  him,  and 
a  clasped  book  on  each  side  of  the  alcove :  above  are  the  arms  of  Stow's  Company,  the 
Merchant  Tailors'. 

John  Stow  was  born  in  the  parish  of  St.  Michael,  Comhill,  in  the  year  1525.  There  is  abundant 
proof  that  he  was  by  trade  a  tailor.  In  1549,  he  was  dwelling  near  the  well  within  Aldgate,  now  known 
as  Aldgate  pump ;  where  the  Bailiff  of  Rumford  was,  to  use  Stow's  own  words,  "  executed  upon  the 
pavement  of  my  door,  where  I  then  kept  house."  Amidst  the  toils  of  business,  Stow  wrote  his 
Chronicles,  his  Annates,  and  his  Survey,  a  "  simple  and  unadorned  picture  of  London  at  the  close  of  the 
16th  and  commencement  of  the  17th  century;"  besides  other  works,  printed  and  manuscript,  which,  to 
use  his  own  words,  "  cost  him  many  a  weary  mile's  travel,  many  a  hard-earned  penny  and  pound,  and 
many  a  cold  winter  night's  study."  He  enjoyed  the  patronage  of  Archbishop  Parker,  the  friendship  of 
Lambarde,  and  the  respect  of  Camden;  yet  he  fell  into  poverty,  and  all  he  could  obtain  from  his 
sovereign,  James  I.,  for  the  toil  of  near  half  a  century,  was  a  license  to  beg !  Stow  died  a  twelvemonth 
after,  on  the  6th  of  April,  1605,  in  the  parish  of  St.  Andrew  Undershaft,  and  was  buried  on  April  8  :  but, 
according  to  Maitland,  in  the  year  1732,  certain  men  removed  Stow's  "  corpse,  to  make  way  for  another." 
His  collections  for  the  Chronicles  of  England,  occupying  60  quarto  volumes,  are  now  in  the  British 
Museum.  Of  the  various  editions  of  Stow's  Survey,  it  may  suffice  to  commend  to  the  reader's  notice 
the  reprint  from  the  edition  of  1603,  carefully  edited  by  W.  J.  Thorns,  F.S.A.,  1842. 

In  a  desk  in  this  church  are  preserved  seven  curious  old  books,  mostly  in  black  letter, 
with  a  portion  of  iron  chain  attached  to  them,  by  which  they  were  formerly  secured 
under  open  cages. 

St.  Andrew  by  the  Waedeobe,  in  Castle  Baynard  Ward,  was  named  from  its  con- 
tiguity to  the  King's  Great  Wardrobe,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  rebuilt  by 
Wren,  in  1692.  Here  is  a  monument,  by  the  elder  Bacon,  to  the  Rev.  William 
Romaine ;  the  bust  very  good. 

St.  Awdkew's,  Wells-street,  Marylebone,  built  by  Daukes  and  Hamilton,  in  1845-7, 
is  fine  Early  Perpendicular,  and  has  a  tower  and  spire  155  feet  high  :  the  Anglican 
musical  service  is  fully  performed  here ;  seats  free  and  open. 

St.  Anne's,  Blackfriars,  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  not  rebuilt.  It  was 
"  pulled  down  with  the  Friars'  Church,  by  Sir  Thomas  Cawarden,  Master  of  the 
Revels ;  but  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Mary,  he  being  forced  to  find  a  church  for  the 
inhabitants,  allowed  them  a  lodging  chamber  above  a  stair"  (Slow).  The  parish 
register  records  the  burial  of  Isaac  Oliver,  the  miniature  painter ;  Nat  Field,  the  poet 
and  player ;  Dick  Robinson,  the  player ;  William  Faithorne,  the  engraver.  Van  Dyck 
lived  and  died  in  this  parish ;  his  daughter  vVas  baptized  the  day  her  illustrious  father 
died,  December  9,  1641. 

St.  Anne's,  Limehouse,  built  by  Hawksmoor,  pupil  of  Wren,  17J  2-24,  at  a  cost  of 
35,00OZ.,  has  a  tower,  with  four  angular  turrets,  and  a  more  lofty  one  in  the  centre, 


CHURCHES  ANT)  CHAPELS.  151 

original  and  picturesque.  At  130  feet  high  is  the  clock,  put  up  hy  Messrs.  Moore  in 
1839 :  it  is  the  highest  in  the  metropolis,  not  excepting  St.  Paul's,  and  has  four 
dials,  each  13  feet  in  diameter ;  the  hours  heing  struck  on  the  great  hell  (38  cwt.), 
inscribed : 

"  At  proper  times  my  voice  I'll  raise, 
And  sound  to  my  subscribers'  praise." 

The  whole  of  the  interior  of  the  church,  including  a  fine  organ,  was  destroyed  by  an 
accidental  fire  on  the  morning  of  Good  Friday,  March  29,  1850 ;  but  has  been  judi- 
ciously restored. 

St.  Anne's,  Soho,  was  finished  in  1686,  and  occupies  a  spot  formerly  called  Kemp's 
Fields.  It  was  dedicated  to  St.  Anne  in  compliment  to  the  Princess  Anne  of  Denmark. 
The  tower  and  spire  were  rebuilt  about  1806  by  the  late  S.  P.  Cockerell  j  the  clock  is 
a  whimsical  and  ugly  excrescence.  The  interior  is  very  handsome,  and  has  a  finely- 
painted  window  at  the  east  end.  In  this  church  is  a  tablet  to  the  memory  of  Theodore 
Anthony  Neuhoff,  King  of  Corsica,  who  died  in  this  parish  in  1756,  soon  after  his 
liberation  from  the  King's  Bench  Prison  by  the  Act  of  Insolvency.  The  friend  who 
gave  shelter  to  this  unfortunate  monarch,  whom  nobles  could  praise  when  praise  could 
not  reach  his  ear,  and  who  refused  to  succour  him  in  his  miseries,  was  himself  so.  poor 
as  to  be  unable  to  defray  the  cost  of  his  funeral.  His  remains  were  therefore  about  to 
be  interred  as  a  parish  pauper,  when  one  John  Wright,  an- oilman  in  Corapton-street, 
declared,  he  for  once  would  pay  the  funeral  expenses  of  a  king,  which  he  did.  The 
tablet  was  erected  at  the  expense  of  Horace  Walpole,  who  inscribed  upon  it 

"  The  grave,  great  teacher,  to  a  level  brings 
Heroes  and  beggars,  galley-slaves  and  kings; 
But  Theodore  this  morai  learn'd  ere  dead ; 
Fate  pour'd  its  lesson  on  his  living  head, 
Bestow'd  a  kingdom,  and  denied  him  bread." 

In  the  church  is  buried  David  Williams,  founder  of  the  Literary  Fund ;  and  in  the 
churchyard,  William  Hazlitt,  the  clever  essayist.  In  the  church  are  monuments  to  Sir 
John  Macpherson,  Governor-General  of  India,  and  William  Hamilton,  R.A.,  painter. 

St.  Anthony's  (St.  Antholin's  or  St.  Antling's),  in  Budge-row,  at  the  corner  of 
Sise-lane,  is  of  ancient  foundation,  being  mentioned  in  the  twelfth  century.  The 
church  was  rebuilt  about  1399  and  again  1513 ;  and  being  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of 
1666,  was  rebuilt  by  Wren  in  16S2,  when  the  parish  of  St.  John  Baptist,  Watling- 
street,  was  annexed  to  that  of  St.  Antholin.  The  interior  has  an  oval  dome,  supported 
on  eight  columns ;  and  the  carpentry  of  the  roof  is  a  fine  specimen  of  Wren's  con- 
structive skill.  The  exterior  has  a  tower  rising  directly  from  the  ground,  with  an 
octagonal  spire,  terminating  with  a  Composite  capital,  at  the  height  of  154  feet.  In 
1559,  there  was  established,  "after  Geneva  fashion,"  at  St.  Antholin's,  an  early 
prayer  and  lecture,  the  bells  for  which  began  to  ring  at  five  in  the  morning.  This 
service  is  referred  to  by  our  early  dramatists,  and  the  preacher  (a  Puritan)  and  the 
bell  of  St.  Antlin's  were  proverbially  loud  and  lengthy.  The  chaplains  of  the  Commis- 
sioners from  the  Church  of  Scotland  to  King  Charles,  in  1610,  preached  here:  and 
"  curiosity,  faction,  and  humour,"  drew  such  crowds,  that  on  Sundays,  from  daybreak 
to  nightfall,  the  church  was  never  empty.  The  churchwardens'  accounts  present  (in 
an  unbroken  series)  the  parish  expenditure  for  nearly  three  centuries. 

St.  Augustine's,  Watling-street,  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  rebuilt  by 
Wren,  in  1682.  The  ancient  church  stood  near  the  gate  that  led  from  Watling-street 
into  St.  Paul's  churchyard.  In  1387  (^ays  Strype)  was  founded  the  fraternity  of  St. 
Austin's,  in  Watling-street  (corrupted  from  St.  Augustine's),  who  met  in  this  church 
on  the  eve  of  St.  Austin's,  and  in  the  morning  at  high  mass,  when  every  brother 
offered  a  penny,  afterwards  they  were  ready  either  "  at  mangier  or  at  revele  " — to  eat 
or  to  revel,  as  the  master  and  wardens  of  the  fraternity  directed.  After  the  Great 
Fire,  the  parish  of  St.  Faith-under-Paul's  (so  called  because  a  part  of  the  crypt  of 
that  cathedral  was  formerly  their  church)  was  united  to  St.  Augustine's. 

St.  Baenabas',  Queen-street,  Pimlico,  is  a  portion  of  a  college  founded  on  St. 
Barnabas'  Day,  1846,  including  schools  and  residentiary  house  for  the  clergy,  upon, 


152  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


ground  presented  by  the  first  Marquis  of  Westminster.  The  buildings  are  in  the 
Early  Pointed  style,  Cundy,  architect;  and  the  church  has  a  Caen-stone  tower  and 
spire  lVO  feet  high,  with  a  peal  of  ten  bells,  the  gifts  of  as  many  parishioners.  The 
windows  throughout  are  filled  with  stained  glass  by  Wailes,  of  Newcastle  ;  the  subjects 
from  the  life  of  St.  Barnabas.  The  open  roof  is  splendidly  painted;  the  rood  dividing 
the  Choir  from  the  Chancel,  and  other  fittings,  are  entirely  of  oak ;  the  lectern  is  a 
brass  eagle  :  the  superb  altar-plate,  the  font,  illuminated  office-books,  the  corona  lucis 
in  the  chancel,  and  other  costly  ornaments,  are  the  gifts  of  private  individuals.  The 
funds  were  contributed  by  the  inhabitants  of  the  district  of  St.  Paul,  Knightsbridge, 
through  the  pious  zeal  of  the  Rev.  W.  J.  E.  Bennett,  the  incumbent.  There  is  an 
organ  by  Flight,  of  great  richness,  variety,  and  power ;  and  full  choral  service  is  per- 
formed. During  the  Anti-Papal  agitation  towards  the  close  of  1850,  this  church  was 
more  than  once  the  scene  of  disgraceful  interruption  by  intolerant  mobs,  who,  but  for 
the  intrepidity  of  the  officiating  clergy,  would  have  set  aside  the  right  to  undisturbed 
worship.  The  church  was  consecrated  by  the  Bishop  of  London,  on  St.  Barnabas'  Day 
(June  11),  1850.  The  clergy  and  services  are  maintained  by  the  offertory,  as  there  is 
no  endowment.  In  1849-50,  sermons  were  preached  here  by  the  Bishop  of  London 
(Blomfield),  the  Bishop  of  Oxford,  Archdeacon  Manning,  the  Regius  Professors  of 
Hebrew  at  Oxford  and  Cambridge  (Dr.  Mill  and  Dr.  Pusey),  Mr.  Sewell  (of  Oxford), 
Mr.  Paget,  Mr.  Gresley,  Mr.  Keble,  Mr.  F.  Bennett,  Mr.  Kennaway,  Mr.  Neale, 
Mr.  H.  Wilberforce,  Mr.  Richards,  Mr.  R.  Eden,  and  Mr.  W.  J.  E.  Bennett.  The 
ancient  practice  of  singing  the  Litany  at  a  faldstool,  at  the  entrance  to  the  chancel, 
has  here  been  revived,  and  in  all  other  respects  the  most  approved  Catholic  usages 
have  been  observed,  in  so  far  as  they  are  applicable  to  our  own  ritual.  The  stone  altar 
has  been  replaced  by  a  wooden  one, — a  table. 

St.  Babnabas,  Bell-street,  Edgware-road,  stands  north  and  south,  instead  of  east 
and  west,  owing  to  the  peculiar  form  of  the  site.  Over  the  altar  is  a  metal  cross, 
affixed  to  the  wall,  bearing  in  its  centre  a  circular  mosaic  representing  the  Lamb,  on  a 
gold  ground.  Above  the  Chancel  arch  is  a  figure  of  the  Saviour  seated,  painted  in 
fresco ;  and  the  north  window  is  of  stained  glass.     A.  W.  Blomfield,  architect. 

St.  Bartholomew  by  the  Exchange,  rebuilt  by  Wren  after  the  Great  Fire, 
mostly  with  the  old  masonry,  was  taken  down  in  1840  :  the  tower  was  in  eccentric 
taste,  appearing  as  though  the  upper  part  had  been  blown  down,  and  a  door-way  or 
window-frame  been  left  on  each  side.  Here  was  buried  Miles  Coverdale,  our  first 
translator  of  the  Bible,  whose  remains  were  removed  to  St.  Magnus'  Church,  London 
Bridge,  on  the  taking  down  of  St.  Bartholomew's.  This  church  has  been  rebuilt  in 
Moor-lane,  Cripplegate,  under  the  direction  of  C.  R.  Cockerell,  R.A.  The  interior 
details  are  Tuscan;  the  altar-piece,  pulpit,  &c,  are  richly- carved  oak ;  and  the  com- 
munion end  is  lighted  by  a  stained  Catherine-wheel  window.  From  the  western  door 
the  whole  interior  to  the  east  is  discovered  through  a  triumphal  arch,  formed  by  a 
novel  and  ingenious  construction  of  the  choir-gallery  in  front  of  the  organ. 

St.  Bartholomew  the  Gbeat,  in  West  Smithfield,  is  part  of  the  ancient  Priory 
of  St.  Bartholomew  the  Great,  founded  about  1102,  by  Rahere,  the  King's  Minstrel, 
who  became  first  Prior.  Originally,  the  church  consisted  of  a  low  central  tower,  with 
four  other  towers,  one  at  each  of  the  angles  of  the  edifice,  and  all  crowned  with  conical 
spires.  Of  Rahere's  church,  founded  as  above,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  I.,  and  finished 
about  1123,  nothing  remains  but  the  Choir,  with  an  aisle  or  procession-path  surrounding 
its  apsidal  east  end,  the  crossing  (at  the  original  intersection  of  the  transepts),  and  one 
bay  only — the  easternmost  one — of  the  Nave.  These  remains  are  coeval  with  the 
naves  of  the  cathedrals  of  Durham,  Norwich,  and  Peterborough.  The  original  length 
of  St.  Bartholomew's  seems  to  have  been  about  280  feet,  and  its  breadth  60  feet — a 
little  less  than  those  of  Rochester  Cathedral.  At  the  Dissolution  of  religious  houses  the 
Nave  was  pulled  down,  and  the  conventual  buildings  were  disposed  of  to  various  per- 
sons. The  Choir  and  Transepts  were  granted  in  1544  to  the  parishioners,  for  their  use  as  a 
parish  church ;  and  so  remained  till  now — except  that  about  the  year  1628  the  original 
towrer  was  taken  down  and  a  new  one  built  of  brick.  The  Nave  is  supposed  to  have 
originally  extended  to  the  house-fronts  in  West  Smithfield,  where  is  the  entrance-gate, 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  153 

an  excellent  specimen  of  Early  English,  with  the  toothed  ornament  in  its  mouldings. 
Mr.  Parker  has,  however,  explained  that  the  above  gateway  was  not  the  doorway  to 
the  south  aisle,  as  it  had  been  considered.  The  grant  of  the  Priory  by  Henry  VIII. 
defines  the  Nave  as  it  was  then,  "  a  void  ground,  87  feet  in  length  and  60  feet  in 
breadth,"  and  it  was  reserved  as  a  churchyard,  for  which  purpose  it  had  been  used  to  our 
time.  The  discrepancy  of  the  present  dimensions  with  those  in  the  grant,  it  is  remark- 
able had  not  before  occurred  to  antiquaries.  Mr.  Parker  has  also  explained  that  the 
size  of  the  doorway  and  extent  of  the  mouldings  are  altogether  unsuited  to  the  position 
assigned  to  them  in  the  church.     Here  are  the  details : 

At  present  the  building  is  132  ft.  by  57  ft,  and  47  ft.  high,  having  an  open  timber  roof,  which  is 
supposed  to  be  equal  in  age  to  the  building  itself.  The  square  brick  tower  at  the  end  of  the  south  aisle 
is  75  ft.  high,  and  was  erected  in  1628.  It  contains  five  bells.  The  six  bells  belonging  originally  to  the 
edifice  were  sold  at  the  Dissolution  of  the  monastery  to  the  parish  church  of  St.  Sepulchre.  On  the  east 
side  of  the  south  wing  stood  a  beautiful  chapel  of  the  time  of  Edward  111.,  with  a  large  western  archway, 
which  was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1830.  Attached  to  the  east  end  of  the  church  was  a  Lady  Chapel,  of 
Norman  style,  now  a  fringe  manufactory,  the  side  walls  of  which  still  remain.  The  prior's  house, 
infirmary,  refectory,  dormitory,  chapter-house,  and  cloisters  originally  surrounded  the  building.  The 
walls  of  the  chapter-house,  of  the  time  of  Henry  III.,  were  remaining  in  1809,  as  high  as  the  window- 
sills.  It  had  three  arched  entrances  to  the  cloister,  with  arcades  on  the  north  and  south  sides.  On  the 
south  side  of  the  church  is  an  oriel  window  built  by  Prior  Bolton  early  in  the  16th  century,  and  supposed 
to  have  been  used,  like  that  at  Worcester  Cathedral,  by  the  sacristan  for  the  supervision  of  the  lights 
burning  at  the  altar.  It  is  ornamented  by  the  Prior's  rebus,  an  arrow,  or  some  such  thing,  inserted 
through  a  tun.  The  interior  of  the  church  contains  several  very  ancient  monuments  in  good  preserva- 
tion ;  among  others  the  effigy  and  tomb  of  Rahere,  the  first  prior,  inserted  within  a  screen ;  the 
Elizabethan  tomb  of  Sir  Walter  Mildmay,  Chancellor  of  the  Exchequer,  and  founder  of  Emmanuel 
College,  Cambridge,  who  died  in  May,  1589 ;  and  of  Rycroft,  the  king's  printer  of  the  Polyglot.  Le 
Scaur,  the  sculptor,  and  Milton  lived  in  Bartholomew-close,  hard  by ;  and  William  Hogarth  was  baptized 
in  the  church  in  November,  1697. 

Archer,  in  his  Vestiges  of  Old  London,  has  engraved  the  west  gate  of  the  Priory 
and  that  portion  of  it  which  is  now  the  "  Coach  and  Horses"  public-house,  at  the 
entrance  to  Bartholomew-close,  formerly  the  Priory  close.  The  kitchen  is  now  a  dwell- 
ing-house, from  which  a  subterranean  passage  communicated  with  the  church.  Mr. 
Archer  identified  the  mulberry-garden  from  an  old  plan,  and  the  decayed  stump  of  a 
celebrated  mulberry-tree  was  grubbed  up  just  before  his  visit  in  1842. 

This  church,  the  oldest  beyond  all  question  in  the  whole  City  of  London,  having  been 
erected  nearly  750  years  ago,  is  about  to  be  restored  to  its  primitive  grandeur  at  the 
cost  of  a  large  sum  of  money,  under  the  direction  of  a  Committee. 

St.  Bartholomew  the  Less,  St.  Bartholomew's  Hospital,  West  Smithfield,  was 
formerly  the  Chapel  of  the  Brotherhood  of  St.  Bartholomew,  and  was  founded  by 
Rahere  the  first  Prior,  and  contained  a  chapel  for  the  poor.  It  escaped  the  Great 
Fire,  but  becoming  dilapidated,  was  taken  down,  except  the  tower,  and  replaced  by 
an  octagon  wooden  building  by  Dance.  This  again  was  taken  down,  and  a  stone 
building  erected,  in  1823,  by  Hardwicke,  K.A.  During  the  operation,  the  arms  of 
Edward  the  Confessor,  in  stone,  were  found  under  the  tower  (they  are  now  in  the 
Vestry),  and  as  these  arms  were  assumed  by  the  Edwards,  it  is  supposed  that  the  old 
church  was  erected  during  one  of  their  reigns.  The  tower  contains  very  fine  Norman 
and  Early  English  arches  and  pillars  j  the  piscina  from  the  ancient  church  is  used  as  a 
font.  A  beautiful  Chancel  has  been  built  in  the  style  of  the  Lady  Chapels  in  Nor- 
mandy ;  the  reredos  of  marble  and  alabaster,  as  is  also  the  pulpit,  with  bas-reliefs  of  the 
Sermon  on  the  Mount ;  stained  glass  windows  by  Powell. — Mackeson. 

St.  Benet,  Gracechurch-street,  is  one  of  Wren's  least  attractive  edifices,  rebuilt  after 
the  Great  Fire.  The  original  church  is  mentioned  as  "  S.  Benedicti,  Graschurch,"  in  a 
survey  made  in  the  twelfth  century ;  according  to  Stow,  it  was  called  Grass-church,  to 
distinguish  it  from  other  churches  of  the  same  name,  because  that  the  herb-market  was 
held  opposite  its  western  door.  Weever  mentions  only  one  monument  of  early 
date  (1491)  in  the  church ;  but  the  parish  books  contain  many  curious  entries.  Thus, 
at  the  accession  of  Queen  Mary,  in  1553  : — "  Paid  to  a  plasterer,  for  washing  owte  and 
defacing  of  such  Scriptures  as  in  the  tymeof  King  Edward  VI.  were  written  aboute  the 
chirche  and  walls,  we  being  commanded  to  do  so  by  ye  Right  Hon.  ye  lord  bishopp  of 
Winchester,  Ld  Chanr  of  England,  3*.  4d. ;"  and  "  Paid  to  the  paynters  for  the 
making  ye  Boode,  with  Mary  and  John,  61. ;"  while  in  the  first  year  of  Queen  Eliza- 
beth's reign,  1558,  occur,  "  Payd  to  a  carpenter  for  pulling  down  the  Boode  and  Mary, 


154  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

As.  and  2d. ;"  and  "  Paid  three  labourers  one  day  for  pulling  down  the  altars  and  John, 
2*.  Ad."  Later  still,  in  1G42,  were  sold  "  the  superstitious  brasses  taken  off  the  grave- 
stones for  9s.  and  Gd."  The  tower  of  Wren's  church,  at  the  north-west  angle,  is,  with 
the  cupola  and  spire,  140  feet  high.  The  interior  of  the  church  is  a  double  cube  of 
60  feet  by  30  feet,  with  a  groined  ceiling,  crossed  by  bands.  In  the  register  is :  "  1559, 
April  14,  Robert  Burges,  a  common  player."  The  yard  of  the  Cross  Keys  Inn,  Grace- 
church-strect,  was  one  of  our  early  theatres. 

St.  Bennet  Fink,  named  from  Robert  Finke,  the  original  founder  (as  also  of  Finch- 
lane  adjoining),  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  rebuilt  by  Wren,  but  taken 
down  in  1S42-44.  The  remains  were  sold  by  auction,  Jan.  15, 1816,  when  lot  12,  the 
carved  oak  poor-box,  with  lock,  &c.  (date  on  the  lock  1683),  fetched  four  guineas ;  and 
lot  17,  the  carved  and  panelled  oak  pulpit,  with  sounding-board,  &c,  fifteen  guineas. 
The  paintings  of  Moses  and  Aaron,  the  carved  and  panelled  oak  fittings  of  the  altar, 
marble  floor,  and  the  two  tablets  with  inscriptions  in  gold,  were  purchased  for  501.  The 
parish  registers  record  the  marriage  of  Richard  Baxter,  the  celebrated  Nonconformist, 
to  Margaret  Charlton,  Sept.  10th,  1662  ;  and  the  baptism  of  "  John,  the  son  of  John 
Speed,  merchant-tailor,"  March  10,  1608. 

St.  Bennet,  Paul's  Wharf,  or  St.  Benet  Hude  or  Hythe,  was  destroyed  in  the 
Great  Fire,  and  rebuilt  by  Wren,  in  1683.  The  burial  register  records  Inigo  Jones, 
the  architect ;  Sir  William  Le  Neve  (Clarencieux) ;  John  Philpott  (Somerset  Herald) ; 
and  William  Oldys  (Norroy).  Inigo  Jones's  monument  (for  which  he  left  100Z.)  was 
destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire.  Elias  Ashmole,  the  antiquary,  was  married  to  his  first 
wife  in  this  church. 

St.  Bennet  SHEEEHOG,or  Syth,  Ward  of  Cheap,  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and 
not  rebuilt.  Stow  says  its  most  ancient  name  is  Shorne,  from  one  Robert  Shorne,  citizen 
and  stock-fish  monger,  "  a  new  builder,  repairer,  or  benefactor  thereof,  in  the  reign  of 
Edward  II.  j"  so  that  Shorne  is  but  corruptly  Shrog,  or  more  corruptly,  Sherehog. 

St.  Botolph  without  Aldeksgate  escaped  the  Great  Fire,  and  was  rebuilt  in 
1796.  Here  are  monuments  to  Dame  Anne  Packington,  believed  to  have  written  The 
Whole  Duty  of  Man ;  Elizabeth,  wife  of  Sir  Thomas  Richardson ;  Elizabeth  Smith, 
with  cameo  bust  by  Roubiliac;  and  a  tablet  to  Richard  Chiswell,  bookseller. 

St.  Botolph,  Aldgate,  at  the  corner  of  Houndsditch,  opposite  the  Minories,  was 
rebuilt  by  G.  Dance,  1741-44.  It  contains  monuments  of  good  sculpture  to  Lord 
Dacre,  beheaded  1537  ;  and  Sir  Nicholas  Carew,  of  Beddington,  beheaded  1538 ;  also 
an  effigies  monument  to  Robert  Dowe,  who  left  the  St.  Sepulchre's  Bell,  &c.  {see 
p.  48).  In  the  churchyard  is  a  tomb  inscribed  with  Persian  characters,  of  which 
Stow  gives  the  following  account : — 

"August  10, 1626.  In  Petty  France  [a  part  of  the  cemetery  unconsecrated],  out  of  Christian  burial, 
was  buried  Hodges  Shaughsware,  a  Persian  merchant,  who  with  his  son  came  over  with  the  Persian 
ambassador,  and  was  buried  by  his  own  son,  who  read  certain  prayers,  and  used  other  ceremonies, 
according  to  the  custom  of  their  own  country,  morning  and  evening,  for  a  whole  month  after  the  burial ; 
for  whom  is  set  up,  at  the  charge  of  his  son,  a  tomb  of  stone  with  certain  Persian  characters  thereon, 
the  exposition  thus  : — This  grave  is  made  for  Hodges  Shaughsware,  the  chiefest  servant  to  the  King  of 
Persia  for  the  space  of  twenty  years,  who  came  from  the  King  of  Persia,  and  died  in  his  service.  If  any 
Persian  cometh  out  of  that  country,  let  him  read  this  and  a  prayer  for  him.  The  Lord  receive  his  soul, 
for  here  lieth  Maghmote  Shaughsware,  who  was  born  in  the  town  Novoy,  in  Persia." — Stoic's  Survey, 
ed.  1633,  p.  173. 

St.  Botolph's  is  situate  without  the  walls  of  London,  near  one  of  the  ancient 
entrances  to  the  City,  supposed  to  have  been  built  by  a  bishop,  and  thence  called 
Bishopsgate.  The  old  church  narrowly  escaped  the  Great  Fire  of  1666 ;  it  was  re- 
built in  1725-29  by  James  Gold  j  its  peculiarity  is,  that  the  tower  rises  at  the  east 
end,  in  Bishopsgate-street,  and  the  lower  part  forms  the  chancel.  The  living,  valued 
at  1650Z.,  with  a  Rectory-house,  is  the  richest  in  the  City  and  Liberties  of  London. 
The  Crown  exercises  the  right  of  patronage  in  consequence  of  having  raised  the  then 
rectors  to  the  Episcopal  Bench.  Dr.  Blomfield  (the  late  Bishop  of  London)  was  rector 
from  1820  until  his  consecration  as  Bishop  of  Chester  in  1828 ;  and  Dr.  Grey  was 
rector  from  1828  until  his  consecration  as  Bishop  of  Hereford  in  1832.  In  the  chancel  is 
the  monument  to  Sir  Paul  Pindar,  whose  residence  in  Bishopsgate-street  Without  is  now 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  155 

the  Sir  Paul  Pindar's  Head  public-house.  He  was  a  rich  merchant  (temp.  James  I.  and 
Charles  I.),  and  like  many  other  good  subjects,  was  ruined  by  his  attachment  to  the 
latter  monarch.  He  was  charitable  and  hospitable,  and  often  gave  "  the  parish  venison" 
for  public  dinners :  yet  the  parisbioners  made  him  pay  for  a  license  for  eating  flesh. 
Sir  Paul  presented  the  parish  yearly  with  a  venison  pasty;  for  in  1634  we  find 
charged  in  the  parish  book  19s.  Id.  for  the  mere  "  flour,  butter,  pepper,  eggs,  making, 
and  baking."  Another  curious  entry  is  in  1578  :  "  Paid  for  frankincense  and  flowers, 
when  the  Chancellor  sate  with  us,  lis. 

The  ecclesiastical  custom  of  a  new  Rector  "tolling  himself  in,"  or,  legally  speaking,  taking  up  "  the 
livery  of  possession,"  was  performed  by  the  Rev.  William  Rogers,  M.A.,  the  present  Hector,  with 
the  formalities  described  at  p.  46,  Bells.  The  "reading  himself  in"  took  place  on  the  following 
Sunday.  The  above  induction  custom  seems  to  imply  the  general  authority  of  the  Rector  over  the 
peal  of  bells;  and  there  is  an  old  saying,  that  the  number  of  strokes  given  on  the  occasion  will  corre- 
spond with  the  years  the  incumbent  is  to  hold  the  living. 

Bow  Chuech,  see  St.  Mary-le-Bow,  page  183. 

St.  Bride's,  or  St.  Bridget,  Fleet-street,  was  built  by  Wren,  upon  the  site  of  the 
old  church,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire.  It  was  completed  in  1703,  cost  11,430Z., 
and  is  remarkable  for  its  graceful  steeple.  "  Ye  first  stone  was  layed  on  the  4th  day 
of  October,  1701,  and  was  finished,  and  the  wether-cocke  was  put  up  in  September, 
1703 ;  it  being  in  height  234  feet  6  inches  from-  the  surface  of  ye  earth  to  ye  top  of 
the  cross,  ye  wether-cocke  from  ye  dart  to  ye  end  is  6  feet  4  inches."  In  June  1764, 
this  beautiful  steeple  was  so  damaged  by  lightning,  that  it  was  found  requisite  to  take 
down  eighty-five  feet  of  the  stone-work,  and  in  restoring  it,  the  height  was  lowered 
eight  feet :  the  whole  cost  was  3000Z.  In  1803  the  steeple  was  again  struck  by 
lightning :  "  The  metal  vane,  the  cramps  with  which  the  masonry  was  secured,  and 
the  other  ironwork  employed  in  the  construction,  led  the  electric  fluid  down  the  steeple, 
in  the  absence  of  any  continued  or  better  conductor ;  and  as  at  each  point  where  the 
connexion  was  broken  off,  a  violent  disruption  necessarily  ensued,  the  stonework  was 
rent  in  all  parts  and  projected  from  its  situation.  One  stone,  weighing  nearly  eighty 
pounds,  was  thrown  over  the  east  end  of  the  church,  and  fell  on  the  roof  of  a  house  in 
Bride-lane ;  while  another  was  forced  from  the  bottom  of  the  spire,  through  the  roof 
of  the  church,  into  the  north  gallery."  (Godwin's  Churches  of  London,  vol.  ii.) 
The  Philosophical  Transactions  for  1764  also  contains  two  scientific  investigations  of 
the  above  damage.  The  upper  part  was,  for  a  long  time,  preserved  on  the  premises  of 
a  mason  in  Old-street  Road.  The  entire  spire  is  one  of  Wren's  most  beautiful  designs, 
and  consists  of  four  stories,  the  two  lower  Tuscan,  the  third  Ionic,  and  the  fourth  Com- 
posite, terminating  in  an  obelisk,  with  a  ball  and  vane.  In  height  and  lightness  it 
approaches  nearer  to  the  exquisite  spires  of  the  Pointed  style  than  any  other  example; 
the  details,  however  (in  Portland  stone),  are  hastening  to  decay.  In  the  north  face  of 
the  tower  is  a  transparent  clock-dial,  first  lit  with  gas  in  1827,  and  one  of  the  earliest 
in  the  metropolis.  In  the  tower  is  a  peal  of  twelve  bells  (see  p.  47) ;  and  the  Organ, 
by  Harris,  is  good.  The  interior  is  handsome  :  the  great  eastern  window,  above  the 
altar,  is  filled  with  a  copy,  in  stained  glass,  of  Rubens' s  "  Descent  from  the  Cross,"  in 
Antwerp  Cathedral :  this  was  executed  by  Muss  in  1824-5,  and  is  a  fine  produc- 
tion. The  marble  font  bears  the  date  1615.  Richardson,  the  author  of  Clarissa 
Marlowe,  and  who  printed  his  own  novels  in  Salisbury-square,  is  buried  in  the  church ; 
and  in  the  vestibule,  beneath  the  tower,  is  a  tablet  to  Alderman  Waithman  (interred 
here),  who  sat  in  five  Parliaments  for  the  City  of  London.  The  registers  of  St.  Bride's 
were  saved  at  the  destruction  of  the  first  church  :  they  commence  from  1587  :  and  the 
vestry-books,  which  date  from  1653,  minutely  chronicle  the  Great  Fire,  a  relic  of  which 
is  the  doorway  into  a  vault,  to  the  right  of  the  entrance  from  Bride-passage. 
In  the  old  church  were  buried  Wynkin  de  Worde,  whose  printing-office  was  in  Fleet- 
street  ;  Thomas  Sackville,  Earl  of  Dorset  (d.  1608),  the  poet,  who  commenced  The 
Mirrourfor  Magistrates ;  Sir  Richard  Baker,  the  chronicler,  who  died  in  the  Fleet 
Prison,  1644-5  ;  Richard  Lovelace,  the  poet,  who  died  a  broken  cavalier,  "  very  poor 
in  body  and  purse,"  in  Gunpowder-alley,  Shoe-lane,  in  1658.  The  register  also  records 
the  burial  of  Ogilby,  the  translator  of  Homer  (d.  1676) ;  Mary  Carlton,  or  Frith, 
the  "  English  Moll "  of  Hudibras,  alias  Moll  Cutpurse,  an  infamous  cheat  and  pick- 
pocket, hanged  at  Tyburn  1672-3  ;  also,  the  burial  of  Flatman,  the  poet  and  painter : 


156  CURIOSITIES  OF  LOXDOX. 

Flatman,  who  Cowley  imitates  with  pains, 
And  rules  a  jaded  Muse  whipt  with  loose  reins. 

Lord  Rochester. 

The  present  church  and  much  of  its  elegant  spire  were  hidden  by  houses  until 
after  a  destructive  fire  in  Bride-passage  on  Nov.  14,  1824,  when  an  avenue  was 
opened  from  Fleet-street :  it  was  designed  by  J.  Hi  Papworth ;  this  improvement 
cost  10.000Z.,  of  which  Mr.  Blades,  of  Ludgate-hill,  advanced  6000Z. 

One  of  Milton's  London  abodes  was  in  St.  Bride's  churchyard :  here,  after  his  return 
from  Italy,  he  lodged  with  one  Russel,  a  tailor,  and  devoted  himself  to  the  education  of 
his  nephews,  John  and  Edward  Phillips,  and  to  the  politics  of  the  day.  Thence,  how- 
ever, he  soon  removed  to  "  a  pretty  garden-house  "  in  Aldersgate- street. 

British  and  Foreign  Sailors'  Church  (the)  was  opened  April  30,  1845,  in  the 
Danish  Church,  Wellclose-square,  Ratcliffe  Highway.  An  inscription  over  the 
entrance  states  it  to  have  been  built  in  1696,  by  Caius  Gabriel  Cibber,  the  sculptor,  at 
the  cost  of  Christian  V.,  King  of  Denmark,  for  such  merchants  and  seamen,  his  sub- 
jects, who  visited  the  port  of  London.  The  architect  and  his  son,  Colley  Cibber,  are 
buried  in  the  vaults ;  and  in  the  church  is  a  tablet  to  Jane  Colley.  The  pulpit  has 
four  sand-glasses  in  a  brass  frame,  by  which  preachers  formerly  regulated  the  length  of 
their  sermons.  •* 

Camden  Church,  Camberwell,  has  a  Byzantine  Chancel,  G.  G.  Scott,  R.A., 
architect.  The  stained  glass  window  is  by  Ward,  Frith-street,  assisted  by  hints  from 
Mr.  Ruskin  (a  member  of  the  congregation).  The  carving  and  decorations  through- 
out the  church  are  good. 

Catherine  Cree  (or  Christ  Church),  on  the  north  side  of  Leadenhall-street, 
was  rebuilt  in  the  year  1629,  and  consecrated  by  Laud,  Bishop  of  London,  Jan.  16, 
1630-31 ;  when  persons  were  stationed  at  the  doors  of  the  church  to  call  with  a  loud 
voice  on  his  approach,  "  Open,  open,  ye  everlasting  doors,  that  the  King  of  Glory  may 
enter  in."  When  Laud  had  reached  the  interior,  he  fell  on  his  knees,  and  lifting  his 
hands,  exclaimed,  "  This  place  is  holy,  the  ground  is  holy ;  in  the  name  of  the  Father, 
Son,  and  Holy  Ghost,  I  pronounce  it  holy ;"  then  throwing  dust  from  the  ground  into 
the  air,  he  bowed  to  the  Chancel,  and  went  in  procession  round  the  church.  These 
and  other  ceremonies,  fully  described  in  Rusbworth,  were  made  grave  accusations 
against  Laud,  and  brought  about  his  death.  The  present  church  is  debased  Gothic 
and  Corinthian.  Among  the  monuments  removed  from  the  old  church  is  a  canopied 
figure  of  Sir  Nicholas  Throgmorton  (d.  1570),  from  whom  Throgmorton-street  is  named. 
By  the  Will  of  Sir  John  Gager,  Lord  Mayor  in  1646,  provision  is  made  for  a  sermon  to 
be  annually  preached  on  the  16th  of  October,  in  St.  Catherine  Cree  Church,  in  com- 
memoration of  his  happy  deliverance  from  a  lion,  which  he  met  in  a  desert  whilst 
travelling  in  the  Turkish  dominions,  and  which  suffered  him  to  pass  unmolested. 

The  old  church  was  the  reputed  burial-place  of  Holbein,  upon  \#hich  Mr.  W.  H. 
Black,  F.S.A.,  remarks,  in  connexion  with  the  recent  discoverv  of  the  great  Painter's 
Will  :— 

Walpole  observes  that "  the  spot  of  his  (Holbein's)  interment  was  as  uncertain  as  that  of  his  death-" 
and  he  might  have  added  (if  the  circumstances  of  the  "  Plague  "  had  been  considered) — 1554  was  not 
a  Plague  year — of  the  time  of  his  death  also.  He  alluded  to  Strype's  story  of  Lord  Arundel's  desire  to 
erect  a  monument  to  the  painter's  memory.  Strype's  words  are  (speaking  of  St.  Catherine  Cree 
Church): — "I  have  been  told  that  Hans  Holbein,  the  great  and  inimitable  painter  in  King  Henry 
VIII.'s  time,  was  buried  in  this  church;  and  that  the  Earl  of  Arundel,  the  great  patron  of  learning  and 
arts,  would  have  set  up  a  monument  to  his  memory  here  had  he  but  known  whereabouts  the  corpse  lay." 
So  uncertain  is  tradition,  that,  although  this  rumour  must  have  originated  in  a  knowledge  of  the  neigh- 
bourhood where  Holbein  died,  yet  a  wrong  place  is  assigned  for  his  burial ;  for  Cree  Church  and 
Undershaft  are  situate  in  the  same  street,  on  the  same  side  of  the  way,  and  within  200  yards  of  each 
other.  The  beautiful  pile  of  Undershaft  escaped  the  Fire  of  London,  but  the  register  from  1538 
to  1579  inclusively,  has  not  been  preserved  ;  and  if  it  were  extant  who  would  believe  that  a 
John  Holbein,  dying  and  buried  in  1543,  was  the  Hans  Holbein  whose  life  had  been  prolonged  by 
all  biographers  to  1554,  unless  upon  the  infallible  testimony  of  the  Will  now  brought  to  light  ?— 
Archaologia,  vol.  xxxix. 

St.  Chad,  Haggerston,  has  all  seats  free  :  "  altar  cross,  and  lights  at  every  celebra- 
tion of  the  Holy  Communion." — Mackeson. 

Christ  Church,  Broadway,  Westminster,  was  designed   in  1842,  in  the  Early 


CEEECEES  AND  CEAPELS.  15? 

Pointed  style,  by  Poynter ;  upon  the  site  of  the  former  New  Chapel :  the  spire  not 
built.  It  has  some  good  stained  glass  by  Willement,  especially  in  the  centre  window. 
The  New  Chapel  was  built  about  1631 ;  Archbishop  Laud  contributing  to  the  funds 
10007.  and  some  most  curious  glass.  At  the  Rebellion,  Sir  Robert  Harley  defaced  the 
window,  laid  the  painted  glass  in  heaps  upon  the  ground,  and  trod  it  to  pieces,  calling 
his  sacrilegious  antics  "dancing  a  jig  to  Laud."  The  troopers  of  the  Commonwealth 
stabled  their  chargers  in  the  church  aisles ;  and  Cromwell  and  his  officers  are  said  to 
have  used  it  as  a  council-room.  In  the  adjacent  ground  was  buried  Sir  William 
Waller  (d.  1688),  the  famous  Parliamentarian  General  in  the  Civil  Wars.  On  June  26, 
1739,  Margaret  Patten  was  interred  here,  at  the  age  of  136  years  (?) :  she  was  born 
at  Lochborough,  near  Paisley,  and  was  brought  to  England  to  prepare  Scotch  broth  for 
King  James  II.;  but  after  his  abdication  she  fell  into  poverty,  and  died  in  St.  Mar- 
garet's Workhouse,  where  her  portrait  is  preserved.  "None  would  recognise  the 
description  given  of  this  burial-ground — now  so  crowded  upon  by  houses — towards  the 
beginning  of  the  last  century,  that  it  was  '  the  pleasantest  churchyard  all  about 
London  and  Westminster.'" — (W'alcott's  Westminster,  p.  286.) 

Christ  Church,  Clapham,  of  Gothic  geometrical  design,  by  Ferrey.  "  Incense 
and  the  vestments  are  used ;  this  was  the  first  church  in  London  at  which  they  were 
used." — Mackeson. 

Christ  Church,  Down-street,  Piccadilly,  a  stone  building ;  Messrs.  Francis,  archi- 
tects ;  style,  "  Middle  Pointed  French  Gothic ;"  only  the  eastern  half  built. 

Christ  Church,  Highbury,  designed  by  T.  Allom,  in  18-18,  has  a  tower  and  spire  in 
the  angle  between  the  North  Transept  and  Nave,  the  spire  having  gabled  and  crocketed 
lucarnes.  Internally,  the  plan  is  equally  novel,  in  the  centre  becoming  an  octagon 
of  eight  arches,  so  as  to  allow  the  pulpit  and  reading-desk,  placed  against  the  pillars 
of  the  Chancel  arch,  to  be  distinctly  seen  from  all  parts  of  the  church. 

Christ  Church,  Newgate-street,  was  built  by  Wren  between  1687  and  1704,  and 
occupies  part  of  the  site  of  the  ancient  Grey  Friars'  Church,  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire 
of  1666.  The  tower  rises  directly  from  the  ground,  and  with  the  steeple  is  153  feet 
high ;  the  basement-story  being  open  on  three  sides,  and  forming  a  porch  to  the 
church.  A  large  gallery  at  the  west  end  is  appropriated  for  the  Christ's  Hospital 
Boys;  and  here,  since  1797,  have  been  preached  the  "  Spital  Sermons."  In  1799,  the 
Spital  Sermon  on  Easter  Tuesday  was  preached  by  the  celebrated  Dr.  Parr,  who  occu- 
pied nearly  three  hours  in  its  delivery. 

The  Spital  Sermons  originated  in  an  old  custom  by  which  some  learned  person  was  appointed 
yearly  by  the  Bishop  of  London  to  preach  at  St.  Paul's  Cross,  on  Good  Friday,  on  the  subject  of  "  Christ's 
Passion:"  on  the  Monday,  Tuesday,  and  Wednesday  following,  three  other  divines  were  appointed  to 
uphold  the  doctrine  of  "  The  Kesurrection  "  at  the  Pulpit  Cross  in  the  "  Spital "  (Spitalfields).  On 
the  Sunday  following,  a  fifth  preached  at  Paul's  Cross,  and  passed  judgment  upon  the  merits  of  those 
who  had  preceded  him.  At  these  Sermons,  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Aldermen  attended;  ladies  also  on 
the  Monday  forming  part  of  the  procession ;  and  at  the  close  of  each  day's  solemnity,  his  Lordship  and 
the  Sheriffs  gave  a  private  dinner  to  such  of  their  friends  among  the  Aldermen  as  attended  the 
Sermon.  From  this  practice,  the  civic  festivities  at  Easter  were  at  length  extended  to  a  magnificent 
scale.  The  children  of  Christ's  Hospital  took  part  in  the  above  solemnities ;  so  that,  in  1594,  when  it 
became  necessary  to  rebuild  the  Pulpit  Cross  at  the  Spital,  a  gallery  was  erected  also  for  their  accommo- 
dation. In  the  Great  Rebellion,  the  pulpit  was  destroyed,  and  the  Sermons  were  discontinued  till  the 
Restoration ;  after  which,  the  three  Spital  Sermons,  as  they  were  still  called,  were  revived  at  St.  Bride's 
Church,  in  Fleet-street.  They  have  since  been  reduced  to  two,  and  from  1797  have  been  delivered  at 
Christ  Church,  Newgate-street.  It  was  on  their  first  appearance  at  the  Spital  that  the  children  of 
Christ's  Hospital  wore  the  blue  costume  by  which  they  have  since  been  distinguished.  Instead  of  the 
subjects  which  were  wont  to  be  discussed  from  the  Pulpit  Cross  of  St.  Mary's  Spital,  discourses  are  now 
delivered  commemorative  of  the  objects  of  the  five  sister  Hospitals;  and  a  Report  is  read  of  the  num- 
ber of  children  maintained  and  educated,  and  of  sick,  disorderly,  and  lunatic  persons  for  whom  pro- 
vision is  made  in  each  respectively.  On  each  day,  the  Boys  of  Christ's  Hospital,  with  the  legend 
"  HJC  IS  ttSCll  attached  to  their  left  shoulders,  form  part  of  the  civic  procession;  walking  on  the 
first  day  in  the  order  of  their  schools,  the  King's  Boys  bearing  their  nautical  instruments ;  and  on  the 
second,  according  to  their  several  wards,  headed  by  their  nurses. — Abridged  from  the  Rev.  Mr. 
Trollope's  History  of  Christ's  Hospital. 

Christ  Church,  Poplar,  cruciform,  with  spire,  was  built  at  the  expense  of 
Alderman  William  Cubitt,  twice  Lord  Mayor ;  some  stone  from  old  London  Bridge 
was  used  in  the  building :  it  has  five  bells  and  a  good  organ. 

Christ  Church,  Spitalfields  (originally  a  hamlet  of  St.  Dunstan's,  Stepney),  was 


158  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

built  by  Hawksmoor,  a  pupil  of  Wren,  and  consecrated  July  5,  1729.  It  is  entirely 
of  stone,  very  massive,  and  has  one  of  the  loftiest  spires  in  London,  225  feet  high, 
or  23  feet  higher  than  the  Monument.  It  contains  a  peal  of  12  bells,  scarcely 
inferior  in  power  and  sweetness  to  any  in  the  kingdom  ;  the  tenor  weighing  4928  lbs. 
It  has  a  large  organ,  the  masterpiece  of  Bridge,  containing  2126  pipes.  Here  is 
a  monument  to  Sir  Robert  Ladbroke,  a  whole-length  figure,  in  the  full  dress  of 
Lord  Mayor :  one  of  the  early  works  of  Flaxman.  This  church  was  greatly  injured 
by  fire  on  Feb.  17,  1836,  shortly  after  the  parishioners  had  finished  paying  8000/. 
for  repairs.  On  the  morning  of  Jan.  3,  1841,  the  spire  and  roof  of  the  church 
were  greatly  damaged  by  lightning,  at  ten  minutes  before  seven,  when  the  clock 
stopped.  The  lightning  struck  the  cone,  or  upper  part  of  the  spire  j  thence  it 
descended  to  a  room  above  the  clock-room,  forcing  the  trap-door  from  the  hinges 
down  to  the  floor,  melting  the  iron  wires  connected  with  the  clock,  scorching  the 
wooden  rope-conductors,  breaking  many  of  the  windows,  and  making  a  considerable 
fracture  in  the  wall,  where  the  lightning  is  supposed  to  have  escaped.  The  roof  was 
partially  covered  with  large  stones,  which  broke  in  the  lead-work  by  their  weight  in 
falling;  and  the  lead  near  the  injured  masonry  was  melted  in  several  places. 

St.  Clement's,  Eastcheap,  Clement's-lane,  City,  is  of  uncertain  foundation:  it  was. 
rebuilt,  except  the  south  aisle  and  steeple,  in  1658,  but  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire ; 
after  which  it  was  rebuilt  by  Wren  in  1686,  and  made  to  serve  the  two  districts  of  St. 
Clement  and  St.  Martin  Orgar,  which  church  stood  in  St.  Martin's-lane.  The  tower 
remains  to  this  day,  and  serves  as  an  entrance  to  the  site  of  the  old  church,  occupied 
as  a  burial-ground  for  the  united  parishes.  St.  Clement's  Church  has  little  that  is 
noteworthy  j  but  the  parishioners  were  satisfied  with  its  architect :  for  we  find  in  the 
Register-book,  date  1685,  "  To  one-third  of  a  hogshead  of  wine  given  to  Sir  Christopher 
Wren,  41.  2s."  The  tower  is  88  feet  high.  The  church  has  a  fine  organ,  and  an 
elaborately  carved  pulpit  and  desk,  and  soundiug-board ;  and  a  marble  font,  with  a 
curious  oak  cover.  In  the  list  of  rectors  is  Dr.  Benjamin  Stone,  presented  to  the  living 
by  Bishop  Juxon  in  1637 ;  but  deemed  popishly  affected,  and  declared  unfit  to  hold 
office,  in  Cromwell's  time,  and  confined  in  Crosby  Hall ;  thence  removed  to  Plymouth, 
and  set  free  by  paying  60/.  fine :  but  Stone  recovered  his  benefice  in  1660.  Another 
celebrated  rector  was  Bishop  Pearson,  who,  in  the  old  church,  delivered  the  Lectures 
forming  his  Exposition  of  the  Creed,  which,  when  published  in  1658,  he  dedicated  to 
the  parishioners  of  St.  Clement,  Eastcheap ;  the  work  is  to  this  day  used  as  a  text- 
book in  the  examination  of  candidates  in  divinity.  Among  the  former  organists  at  this 
church  were  Purcell,  Battishill,  and  Whitaker. 

St.  Clement's  Danes,  Strand,  the  first  church  west  of  Temple  Bar,  is  said  by 
Stow  to  have  been  so  called  "  because  Harold,  a  Danish  king,  and  other  Danes,  were 
buried  there."  Strype  gives  another  reason :  that  the  few  Danes  left  in  the  kingdom 
married  English  women,  and  compulsorily  lived  between  Westminster  and  Ludgate; 
and  there  built  a  synagogue,  called  "  Ecclesia  Clementis  Danorum."  This  account 
Fleetwood,  the  antiquary,  Recorder  of  London  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  reported  to 
the  Lord  Treasurer  Burleigh,  who  lived  in  this  parish.  The  body  of  the  old  church 
was  taken  down  in  1680,  and  rebuilt  to  the  old  tower  in  1682,  by  Edward  Pierce, 
under  the  gratuitous  directions  of  Wren,  as  recorded  on  a  marble  slab  in  the  north 
aisle.  In  1719,  Gibbs  added  the  present  tower  and  steeple,  about  116  feet  high,  with 
a  peal  of  ten  bells.  The  clock  strikes  the  hours  twice,  "  the  hour  being  first  struck  on 
a  larger  bell,  and  then  repeated  on  a  smaller  one,  so  that  has  the  first  been  miscounted, 
the  second  may  be  more  correctly  observed."  (A.  Thomson's  Time  and  Timekeepers, 
p.  77.)  In  addition  to  the  clock  is  a  set  of  chimes,  which  play  the  old  104th  Psalm, 
though  somewhat  crazily.  In  the  church  are  buried  Otway  and  Nat  Lee,  the  dramatic 
poets ;  and  Rymer,  compiler  of  the  Foedera,  &c. 

Dr.  Johnson  was  a  constant  attendant  at  the  service  of  St.  Clement's  Danes,  in  one 
of  the  pews  of  which  (No.  18),  in  the  north  gallery,  he  had  a  seat  for  many  years 
against  the  large  pillar  at  the  end,  which  bears  the  following  inscription,  written  by 
the  Rev.  G.  Croly,  LL.D.,  Rector  of  St.  Stephen's,  Walbrook  :— 

"  In  this  pew  and  beside  this  pillar,  for  many  years  attended  Divine  Service,  the  celebrated  Dr. 
Samuel  Johnson,  the  philosopher,  the  poet,  the  great  lexicographer,  the  profound  moralist,  and  chief 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  159 

writer  of  his  time.  Born,  1709 ;  died,  178  i.  In  remembrance  and  honour  of  noble  faculties,  nobly 
employed,  some  inhabitants  of  the  parish  of  St.  Clement  Danes  have  placed  this  slight  memorial,  a.d. 
1851." 

St.  Clemext's,  Islington,  of  Gothic  design,  G.  G.  Scott,  E.A.,  architect,  was  erected 
at  the  sole  expense  of  George  Cubitt,  Esq.,  M.P. :  it  has  three  good  bells ;  organ  by 
Walker ;  and  stained  windows  in  the  Chancel  by  Clayton  and  Bell. 

St.  Clement's,  York -place,  Barnsbury,  is  a  spacious  brick  church,  designed  by  G.  G. 
Scott,  B.A.,  and  built  at  the  expense  of  George  Cubitt,  Esq.,  M.P. ;  cost  nearly  8000Z. ; 
opened  1865.  The  west  front  is  striking ;  it  is  lofty,  has  a  good  doorway,  over  which 
are  lancet  windows,  and  above  these  a  well-carved  seated  statue  of  St.  Clement,  within 
a  niche ;  whilst  the  gable  is  crowned  by  a  stepped  open  bell-cote,  having  two  large  bells 
in  the  lower  and  a  smaller  one  in  the  upper  stage.  The  interior  is  spacious  ;  the  Nave, 
of  six  bays,  is  divided  from  the  aisles  by  cylindrical  stone  columns,  which  support  tall 
brick  arches,  and  a  clerestory  with  triplet  lancet  windows  over  each  arch.  The 
Chancel  is  similarly  lighted,  and  has  a  painted  oval  light,  filled,  like  the  windows  below, 
with  painted  glass.  The  Chancel  arch  is  noble,  and  the  roof  an  open  timber  one,  of 
high  pitch :  the  walls  are  of  plain  yellow  brick. 

.  St.  Dionis'  Backchtthch  (behind  the  line  of  Fenchurch-street),  is  the  third  church 
upon  this  site,  and  was  rebuilt  by  Wren  after  the  Great  Fire  of  1666 :  it  has  a  tower 
90  feet  high.  In  the  vestry-room  are  preserved  four  of  the  large  syringes,  at  one 
time  the  only  engines  used  in  London  for  tbe  extinction  of  fires ;  they  are  about  2  feet  3 
inches  long,  and  were  attached  by  straps  to  the  body  of  the  fireman.  The  organ, 
for  which,  in  1722,  the  sum  of  741 1.  9s.  was  subscribed,  was  built  by  By  field,  Jordan, 
and  Bridge  :  "  this  magnificent  instrument  is  in  its  original  state." — (Dr.  Rimbault.) 
There  is  a  peal  of  ten  bells,  for  which,  in  1727,  a  sum  of  479£.  18s.  was  subscribed. 

St.  Dunstax's-in-the-East,  between  Tower-street  and  Upper  Thames-street,  was 
nearly  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1606,  and  was  restored  by  Wren  in  1698 :  it 
has  a  stone  tower  and  spire,  supported  on  four  arched  ribs,  springing  from  the  angles 
of  the  tower:  this  is  Wren's  best  work  in  the  Pointed  style;  but  it  generally  re- 
sembles the  spire  of  St.  Nicholas'  Church,  at  Newcastle-upon-Tyne,  built  in  the 
fifteenth  century.  John  Carter,  however,  says  : — "  St.  Nicholas's  tower  is  so  lofty, 
and  of  such  a  girth,  that,  to  compare  great  things  with  small,  our  London  piece 
of  vanity  is  but  a  mole-hill  to  the  Newcastle  '  mountain,'  the  pride  and  glory  of  the 
northern  hemisphere."  There  is  a  tradition,  that  the  plan  of  St.  Dunstan's  tower 
and  spire  was  furnished  by  the  architect's  daughter,  Jane  Wren,  who  died  in  1702, 
aged  26,  and  was  buried  under  the  choir  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral.  Lady  Dionysia 
Williamson,  in  1670,  gave  4000Z.  towards  the  rebuilding  of  St.  Dunstan's.  After  the 
dreadful  storm  in  London  through  the  night  of  the  26th  November,  1703,  Wren 
hearing  next  morning  that  some  of  the  steeples  and  pinnacles  had  been  damaged, 
quickly  replied,  "  Not  St.  Dunstan's,  I'm  quite  sure."  The  old  church  had  a  lofty 
leaden  steeple.  The  body  of  the  present  church  was  rebuilt  of  Portland  stone,  in  the 
Perpendicular  style,  by  Laing  and  Tite,  in  1817.  The  interior  is  divided  into  three 
aisles  by  clustered  columns  and  pointed  arches.  The  east  window  represents  symboli- 
cally the  Law  and  the  Gospel ;  the  north,  Christ  Blessing  Little  Children ;  and  the 
south,  the  Adoration  of  the  Magi.  '  In  the  vestry  is  a  wood  carving,  by  Gibbons,  of 
the  arms  of  Archbishop  Tenison.     In  the  south  churchyard  is  a  Rookery. 

St.  Dtjnstan's-in- the- West,  Fleet-street,  was  designed  by  John  Shaw,  F.R.S. 
and  F.S.A.,  in  1831-33,  set  back  30  feet  from  the  site  of  the  former  church,  which 
projected  considerably  beyond  the  street-line.  It  just  escaped  the  Great  Fire  of  1666, 
which  stopped  within  three  houses  of  it ;  as  did  also  another  fire  in  1730.  A  View  in 
1739  shows  the  oldest  portion  to  be  the  tower  and  bell-turret,  the  latter  containing  a 
small  bell  which  was  rung  every  morning  at  a  quarter  before  seven  o'clock.  The  body 
of  the  church  is  Italianized  Gothic,  with  battlements  and  circular-headed  windows ; 
shops  with  overhanging  signs  are  built  against  the  south  and  west  walls,  though  pre- 
viously the  churchyard  was  thus  built  in,  and  was  a  permanent  station  for  booksellers, 
as  appears  by  many  imprints.  Thus,  "  Epigrams  by  H.  P.,"  &c. — "  and  are  to  be 
soulde  by  John  Helme,  at  his  shoppe  in  St.  Dunstan's  Churchyarde,  1608,  qto."     John 


160  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Smethwick  had  "  his  shop  in  St.  Dunstan's  churchyard,  in  Fleet- street,  under  the 
Diall ;"  and  here,  in  1653,  Richard  Marriott  published  the  first  edition  of  Walton's 
Angler,  for  ISd.  The  church  clock  was  one  of  London's  wonders  :  it  had  a  large  gilt 
dial,  overhanging  Fleet-street,  and  above  it  two  figures  of  savages,  of  life-size,  carved 
in  wood,  and  standing  within  an  alcove,  each  bearing  in  his  right  hand  a  club,  with 
which  they  struck  the  quarters  upon  two  suspended  bells,  moving  their  heads  at  the 
same  time.  This  clock  and  figures  were  the  work  of  Mr.  Thomas  Harrys,  in  1671, 
then  living  at  the  lower  end  of  Water-lane,  who  received  for  his  work  35Z.  with  the 
old  clock,  and  the  sum  of  41.  per  annum  to  keep  the  whole  in  repair.*  Originally 
the  clock  was  within  a  square  ornamental  case  with  a  semicircular  pediment,  and  the 
tube  from  the  church  to  the  dial  was  supported  by  a  carved  figure  of  Time,  with 
expanded  wings,  as  a  bracket ;  when  altered,  in  1738,  it  cost  the  parish  1101.  Strype 
calls  the  figures  "two  savages,  or  Hercules;"  Ned  Ward,  " the  two  wooden  horolo- 
gists;"  and  Cowper,  in  his  Table  Talk,  likens  a  lame  poet  to — 

"  When  labour  and  when  dulness,  club  in  hand, 
Like  the  two  figures  at  St.  Dunstan's,  stand." 

In  1766,  the  elegant  statue  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  which  stood  on  the  west  side  of 
Ludgate,  was  put  up  at  the  east  end  of  St.  Dunstan's  Church ;  and  the  other  figures, 
King  Lud  and  his  two  sons,  were  deposited  in  the  parish  bone-house.  The  old  church 
was  taken  down  in  December,  1829,  when  the  materials  were  sold  by  auction :  the 
bell-turret  for  10*. ;  the  flag  and  flag-staff  for  12*. ;  and  an  iron  standard,  with  copper 
vane,  warranted  850  years  old  (?),  weighing  three-quarters  of  a  cvvt.,  was  sold  for 
21.  Is.  At  another  sale,  in  1830,  the  statue  of  Queen  Elizabeth  sold  for  161.  10s.,  and 
a  stained-glass  window  for  4:1.  5s.  The  clock,  figures,  &c.  were  purchased  by  the  late 
Marquis  of  Hertford,  and  placed  in  the  grounds  of  his  villa  in  the  Regent's  Park, 
where  they  strike  the  hours  and  quarters  to  this  day.  The  new  church  of  St.  Dunstan 
was  consecrated  July  31, 1832,  which  the  architect  did  not  live  to  witness,  he  having 
died  July  SO,  1831,  the  twelfth  day  after  the  external  completion  of  the  edifice.f  It 
is  in  the  latest  Pointed  style,  and  has  a  lofty  tower  surmounted  by  an  elegant  lantern, 
130  feet  high  (of  Ketton  stone),  different  from  any  other  in  the  metropolis,  but  resem- 
bling St.  Botolph's,  Boston,  Lincolnshire ;  St.  Helen's,  York ;  and  St.  George's,  at 
Ramsgate,  built  in  1825.  Over  the  entrance-porch  are  sculptured  the  heads  of  Tyndale, 
the  Reformer ;  and  Dr.  Donne,  who  was  once  vicar  of  the  church :  they  are  considered 
faithful  portraits.  Above  is  a  clock,  with  three  dials,  curiously  coloured  and  gilt  in 
the  embellished  taste  of  the  architectural  period ;  and  a  belfry,  with  eight  fine  bells 
from  the  old  church,  the  sound  of  which  receives  effect  from  the  four  large  windows 
which  are  the  main  features  of  the  tower.  The  enriched  stone  lantern  is  perforated 
with  Gothic  windows  of  two  heights;  the  whole  being  terminated  by  an  ornamental 
pierced  and  very  rich  crown  parapet.  The  body  of  the  church  is  of  octagon  form, 
and  has  eight  recesses,  with  as  many  windows  above,  containing  good  stained  glass. 
The  roof  is  formed  by  eight  iron  spandrel-beams,  projecting  from  an  angle  towards  the 
centre,  and  there  connected  by  an  iron  ring ;  and  from  the  enriched  keystone  hangs 
the  chandelier.  The  northern  recess  contains  the  altar-table,  of  oak  elaborately 
carved :  and  the  altar-piece  presents  three  admirably  carved  canopies,  of  foreign  work- 
manship. Above  is  a  large  Pointed  window,  filled  with  stained  glass,  by  Willement, 
in  the  ancient  manner :  it  contains  figures  of  the  Evangelists ;  the  crown  of  thorns  and 
the  nails ;  the  spear  and  sponge  upon  a  reed ;  the  Holy  Lamb ;  and  the  inscription,  in 
black  letter,  "  Deo  et  ecclesise  fratres  Hoare  dicaverunt,  anno  Domini  mdcccxxxii." 
This  is,  altogether,  one  of  the  most  elegant  church  interiors  in  the  metropolis.  In 
May,  1839,  the  statue  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  already  mentioned,  was  placed  in  a  niche, 
flanked  with  two  pilasters,  above  the  doorway  of  the  parochial  schools,  east  of  the 
principal  entrance  to  the  church.  On  the  west  side  is  the  Law  Life  Insurance  Office, 
designed  by  John  Shaw,  in  the  style  that  prevailed  between  the  last  period  of  Pointed 

*  So  early  as  1478  there  was  a  similar  piece  of  mechanism  in  Fleet-street.  Stow  describes  a  conduit 
erected  in  the  above  year,  near  Shoe-lane,  with  angels  having  "  sweet-sounding  bells  before  them ; 
whereupon,  by  an  engine  placed  in  the  tower,  they,  divers  hours  of  the  day  and  night,  with  hammers 
chimed  such  an  hymn  as  was  appointed."  There  is,  we  believe,  a  like  contrivance  to  that  at  St. 
Dunstan's,  at  Norwich  Cathedral.    (See  also  Paul's  Jacks,  p.  106.) 

t  The  interior  was  finished  by  his  son,  John  Shaw. 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  161 

architecture  (of  which  St.  Dunstan's  Church  is  an  example),  and  the  complete  revival 
of  the  architecture  of  Greece  and  Koine.  In  the  old  church  was  a  large  hour-glass,  in 
silver  frame ;  of  the  latter,  in  1723,  two  heads  were  made  for  the  parish  staves.  The 
Rev.  William  Itomaine  was  rector  of  the  old  church  in  1749,  when  it  was  generally  so 
crowded  that  the  pew-opener's  place  was  worth  50Z.  per  annum.    The  font  is  ancient. 

St.  Dunstan's,  Stepney,  a  Perpendicular  church,  is  famed  in  story  for  its  legend 
of  "  The  Fish  and  King,"  and  the  popular  ballad  of  "  The  Cruel  Knight,  or  Fortu- 
nate Farmer's  Daughter ;"  her  identity  is  referred  to  Lady  Berry,  whose  tomb  is  on 
the  outer  east  wall,  with  the  fish  and  annulet  in  the  arms  thereon :  but  the  finding 
of  a  ring  in  a  fish  is  an  incident  of  much  greater  antiquity  than  Lady  Berry's 
time  (1696),  and  occurs  in  the  Arabian  Nights'  Entertainments.  The  churchyard  is 
noticed  in  the  Spectator,  by  Steele,  for  the  number  and  oddity  of  its  epitaphs.  Here 
lies  the  father  of  Dr.  Mead,  who  was  born  over  the  antique  brick  gateway  opposite  the 
rectory,  and  first  began  practice  at  Stepney ;  also  Rev.  W.  Vickers,  author  of  the  Com- 
panion to  the  Altar ;  and  Roger  Crab,  who  lived  long  on  bran,  dock-leaves,  grass,  and 
water.  Within  the  church  is  the  splendid  tomb  of  Sir  Henry  Colet,  Lord  Mayor  in 
1486  and  1495,  and  father  of  the  founder  of  St.  Paul's  School.  Here  also  is  a  marble 
monument  of  the  Good  Samaritan,  by  Sir  R.  Westmacott,  R.A.,  to  B.  Kenton,  Esq. 
(d.  1800),  leaving  63,500^.  to  charity  schools,  and  30,000Z.  to  his  friends.  In  the 
western  porch  is  a  stone  reputed  to  have  been  brought  from  the  wall  of  Carthage. 

St.  Edmund's  (the  King  and  Martyr),  Lombard-street,  has  also  been  called  St. 
Edmund's  Grass  Church,  because  of  a  grass-market  held  here :  whence  Grasschurch- 
street,  now  Gracechurch-street.  The  church  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  re- 
built by  Wren  :  it  has  a  tower  and  incongruous  steeple,  90  feet  high,  and  a  projecting 
bracket  clock.  The  altar-piece  has  some  fine  carvings,  and  two  paintings  of  Moses  and 
Aaron  by  William  Etty,  1833 :  above  is  a  stained  glass  window,  with  the  arms  of 
Queen  Anne,  "  set  up  in  the  memorable  year  of  union,  1707 ;"  besides  two  other 
stained  glass  windows,  of  superior  excellence,  representing  St.  Paul  and  St.  Peter. 

St.  Ethelbubga's,  Bishopsgate-street,  a  Gothic  church,  which  escaped  the  Great 
Fire,  and  retains  some  of  its  Early  English  masonry;  it  has  been  restored  by  Withers: 
it  was  anciently  in  the  patronage  of  the  Convent  of  St.  Helen.  It  is  well  known  for 
the  "  short  services  for  City  men,"  and,  according  to  tradition,  is  frequented  by  sailors 
returning  from  voyages,  or  immediately  previous  to  sailing.  Here  incense  is  used  on 
Saints'  Days;  and  stoles  and  altar  vestments,  according  to  the  canonical  colours. 
(Mackeson.)  Traces  of  a  reredos  were  found  during  the  repairs,  and  Roman  coins  and 
bricks  have  been  discovered  in  the  churchyard.  The  western  arch  is  said  to  have 
formed  part  of  the  gateway  of  St.  Helen's  Priory.  Under  it  John  Hudson  and  many 
of  his  crew  came  to  receive  the  Holy  Sacrament  before  they  left  their  native  shores  in 
1610  (Rev.  Mackenzie  Walcott,  Gentleman's  Magazine,  June,  1863.)  The  church- 
wardens of  St.  Ethelburga  appear,  from  the  accounts,  to  have  provided  profusely  for 
their  Ascension-Day  dinner,  1686  : — "  Three  quarters  of  lamb ;  600  of  sparagrasse, 
sallatering,  and  spinnage ;  400  oranges  and  lemmons,  three  hams,  Westphalia  bacon,  and 
i  lb.  of  tobaccoe."  There  are  also  charges  fbr  "  yew  and  box  to  decke  ye  church ;" 
"  hearbes"  for  the  same ;  "  wands  and  nosegays,"  "  strawings  and  greenes."  Dryden's 
antagonist,  Luke  Milbourne,  died,  April  15,  1720,  rector  of  St.  Ethelburga's.  "  The 
view  of  this  church,  by  West  and  Toms  (1737)  exhibits  several  of  the  adjoining  houses, 
and  is  one  of  the  most  interesting  of  Old  London  illustrations." — Cunningham. 

St.  Etheleeda's,  Ely-place,  Holborn,  is  all  that  remains  of  the  ancient  palace  of 
the  Bishops  of  Ely,  and  retains  much  of  its  original  aspect :  the  interior  roof  is  boldly 
arched ;  on  each  side  is  a  row  of  noble  windows,  though  their  tracery  has  disappeared ; 
the  pinnacle-work  between  and  overtopping  them  is  very  fine,  and  at  the  east  end  is 
"  one  fine  Decorated  window,  of  curious  composition."  Evelyn  records  the  consecra- 
tion here  of  Dr.  Wilkins,  Bishop  of  Chester,  in  1668,  when  Dr.  Tillotson  preached; 
and  April  27,  1693,  Evelyn's  daughter  Susannah  was  married  here  to  William  Draper, 
Esq.,  by  Dr.  Tenison,  then  Bishop  of  Lincoln.     Cowper  thus  chronicles  an  amusing 

M 


162  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

occurrence  in  this  chapel,  at  the  time  of  the  defeat  of  the  Young  Pretender  by  the 
Duke  of  Cumberland,  in  1746 : — 

"  So  in  the  chapel  of  old  Ely  House, 
When  wandering  Charles,  who  meant  to  be  the  Third, 
Had  fled  from  William,  and  the  news  was  fresh, 
The  simple  clerk,  but  loyal,  did  announce, 
And  eke  did  roar  right  merrily  two  staves, 
Sung  to  the  praise  and  glory  of  King  George'' 

The  chapel,  after  being  leased  to  the  National  Society  for  a  school-room,  was  for 
some  time  closed;  but  on  Dec.  19,  1843,  was  opened  for  the  service  of  the  Established 
Church  in  the  Welsh  language;  this  being  the  first  performance  of  the  kind  in  London. 

St.  Geoege's,  Campden-hill,  Kensington,  E.  B.  Keeling,  architect,  cost  70007., 
defrayed  by  Mr.  J.  Bennett.  In  plan  it  is  cruciform,  and  has  a  tower  with  a  lofty 
spire,  and  an  apsidal  Chancel.  It  is  of  Early  Second  Pointed  style,  but  of  French 
character.  The  tower  is  ornamented  with  bands,  mouldings,  and  dressings.  The 
entrance  is  by  a  continued  porch  or  Galilee  at  the  west.  The  interior  is  lofty,  lined 
with  various  coloured  bricks,  and  shafts  of  red  Mansfield  stone.  The  roof  is  of  very  high 
pitch,  and  decorated  in  polychromy ;  behind  the  altar  is  a  tall  reredos.   Opened  1864. 

St.  Geoege's,  Hanover-square,  was  completed  by  John  James  in  1724 ;  the  parish 
being  taken  out  of  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields.  St.  George's  is  built  upon  ground  given 
by  Lieut.-Gen.  W.  Stewart :  it  has  a  stately  and  august  Corinthian  portico,  and  a 
handsome  and  well-proportioned  steeple ;  still,  it  can  only  be  viewed  in  profile ;  but 
"  were  it  not  for  two  or  three  intervening  houses,  it  would  be  seen  in  the  noblest  point 
of  sight  in  the  world."  The  interior  has  a  large  altar-picture  of  the  Last  Supper, 
attributed  to  Sir  James  Thornhill;  above  it  is  a  painted  window,  foreign,  of  the  16th 
century,  with  the  Virgin  and  Child,  the  Crucifixion,  ecclesiastical  personages,  masonic 
emblems,  &c. ;  the  altar-piece,  in  its  sculptured  framework,  and  the  painted  glass  in 
its  architectural  recess,  is  effective;  but  this  Gothic  window  in  a  Roman  church  is  a 
glaring  absurdity. 

"  The  view  down  George-street,  from  the  upper  side  of  Hanover-square,  is  one  of  the  most  enter- 
taining in  the  whole  city :  the  sides  of  the  square,  the  area  in  the  middle,  the  breaks  of  building  that 
form  the  entrance  to  the  vista,  but  above  all,  the  beautiful  projection  of  the  portico  of  St.  George's 
Church,  are  all  circumstances  that  unite  in  beauty,  and  make  the  scene  perfect." — Ralph. 

St.  George's,  Hanover-square,  also  possesses  a  burial-ground  at  a  short  distance  on 
the  Bayswater-road.  Here  is  the  grave  of  Sterne,  with  a  stone  set  up  by  two 
"  Brother  Masons :"  here,  too,  lay  Sir  Thomas  Picton,  who  fell  at  the  Battle  of 
Waterloo,  in  1815 ;  his  remains  were  removed  to  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  in  1859. 

St.  Geoege's  in  the  East,  Ratcliffe  Highway,  designed  by  Hawksmoor,  1715-29, 
in  an  original  and  massive  style,  has  a  very  picturesque  spire.  The  altar-piece  is  a 
painting  of  "  Jesus  in  the  Garden,"  by  Clarkson.  In  the  churchyard  is  buried  Joseph 
Ames  (d.  1759),  author  of  Typographical  Antiquities,  originally  a  plane-maker,  and 
afterwards  a  shipchandler  at  Wapping ;  he  lies  in  a  stone  coffin,  in  virgin  earth,  at  the 
depth  of  eight  feet.  This  church  was,  for  a  considerable  period,  the  scene  of  disgrace- 
ful riots  upon  the  plea  of  opposition  to  the  manner  of  conducting  the  service. 

In  this  parish  are  the  Schools  and  Asylum  founded  by  Mr.  Raine,  a  wealthy  brewer,  in  1717  and 
1736 ;  who  also  provided  that  on  May  1  and  December  26,  annually,  a  marriage-portion  of  1001.  should 
be  presented  to  two  young  women,  former  inmates  of  the  School,  and  who  have  attained  the  age 
of  twenty-two  years.  The  bridegrooms  must  be  inhabitants  of  St.  George's-in-the-East,  or  of  Wapping, 
or  Shadwell ;  and  the  young  women  draw  lots  for  the  portion,  one  hundred  new  sovereigns,  usually 
put  into  a  handsome  bag,  made  by  a  young  lady  of  St.  George's  parish,  and  presented  at  a  dinner  of  the 
trustees.  In  the  morning  a  discourse  is  preached  in  the  Church,  "  On  Diligence  and  Industry  in  our 
Calling;"  after  which  the  drawing  takes  place  at  the  Asylum. 

St.  Geoege's,  Hart-street,  Bloomsbury,  was  designed  by  Hawksmoor  in  handsome 
style,  and  was  consecrated  in  1731 ;  a  district  for  its  parish  being  taken  out  of  that  of 
St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields.  This  church  is  remarkable  for  standing  north  and  south; 
the  tower  and  steeple  are  placed  by  the  side  of  the  main  edifice,  the  favourite  practice 
of  Palladio.  Upon  the  tower,  on  the  four  sides,  rises  a  range  of  unattached  Corinthian 
pillars  and  pediments ;  above  is  a  series  of  steps,  with  lions  and  unicorns  at  the  corners, 
guarding  the  royal  arms,  and  which  supports  at  the  apex,  on  a  short  column,  a  statue, 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  163 

in  Koman  costume,  of  George  I.  The  design  is  from  Pliny's  description  of  the  first 
mausoleum,  the  tomb  of  King  Mausolus,  in  Caria.  Walpole  calls  this  steeple  a  master- 
stroke of  absurdity,  and  it  has  provoked  this  epigram : — 

"  When  Harry  the  Eighth  left  the  Pope  in  the  lurch, 
The  people  of  England  made  him  head  of  the  Church; 
But  George's  good  subjects,  the  IMoomsbury  people, 
Instead  of  the  church,  made  him  head  of  the  steeple." 

More  admired  is  the  magnificent  portico  of  eight  Corinthian  columns,  which  Hawks- 
moor  added  to  his  design,  influenced  by  Gibbs's  portico  at  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields, 
then  just  completed ;  but  St.  George's  is  the  better,  from  its  height  above  the  level  of 
the  street.  Here  are  a  tablet  to  the  great  Lord  Mansfield ;  and  a  monument  to  Mr. 
Charles  Grant,  by  Bacon,  R.A. 

St.  Geoege  the  Maetyb,  Queen-square,  Bloomsbury,  built  in  1706,  as  a  chapel  of 
ease  to  St.  Andrew's,  Holborn,  was  declared  a  parish  church  in  1723 ;  of  which  Dr. 
Stukeley,  the  Roman-British  antiquary,  was  many  years  the  rector  :  in  his  MS.  Diary, 
1749,  formerly  in  the  possession  of  Mr.  Britton,  is  described  the  then  rural  character  of 
Queen-square  and  its  vicinity.  The  parish  burial-ground  is  in  the  rear  of  the  Found- 
ling Hospital :  a  strong  prejudice  formerly  existed  against  new  churchyards,  and  no 
person  was  interred  here  till  the  ground  was  broken  for  -Robert  Nelson,  author  of 
Fasts  and  Festivals,  whose  character  for  piety  reconciled  others  to  the  spot :  people 
like  to  be  buried  in  company,  and  in  good  company.  Nancy  Dawson,  the  dancer,  of 
Covent  Garden  and  Drury-laue  Theatres  (noted  for  hornpipes)  lies  here. 

St.  Geoege  the  Maetye,  Southwark,  was  built  in  1733-36,  by  John  Price,  upon 
the  site  of  the  old  church ;  the  parish  having  been  originally  given  by  William  the 
Conqueror  to  the  noble  family  of  Arderne,  and  for  some  time  attached  to  the  Priory 
of  Bermondsey.  Stow  describes  the  former  church  as  almost  directly  over  against 
Suffolk  House,  formerly  the  mansion  of  Charles  Brandon,  Duke  of  Suffolk,  the  brother- 
in-law  of  Henry  VIII. ;  now  the  site  of  the  premises  of  Mr.  Pigeon,  the  distiller. 
There  were  buried  in  the  old  church,  Bonner,  Bishop  of  London,  who  died  in  the  Mar- 
shalsea ;  and  Rushworth,  author  of  the  Collections,  who  died  in  the  King's  Bench ; 
both  these  prisons  being  in  the  parish.  Edward  Cocker,  engraver  and  teacher  of 
writing  and  arithmetic,  is  also  stated  upon  a  sexton's  evidence  to  have  been  interred 
here :  his  Arithmetic,  a  posthumous  work,  was  first  published  "  by  John  Hawkins, 
writing-master,  near  St.  George's  Church."  The  present  church  has  a  lofty  stone 
spire  and  tower,  with  a  fine  peal  of  eight  bells ;  the  large  bell  is  tolled  nightly,  and 
thought  to  be  a  relic  of  the  curfew  custom.  Hogarth,  in  his  plate  of  Southwark  Fair, 
represents  Figg,  the  famous  prizefighter,  and  Cadman,  flying  by  a  rope  from  the  tower 
of  St.  George's  Church ;  the  fair  being  held  in  that  part  of  the  Mint  which  lies  in  the 
rear  of  the  houses  opposite. 

There  is  preserved  a  curious  handbill,  or  affiche,  printed  in  black  letter,  which  must  have  been 
promulgated  previous  to  the  suppression  of  religious  houses  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.  It  is  sur- 
mounted by  a  small  woodcut  of  St.  George  slaying  the  Dragonj  and  by  a  child.  It  appears  from 
Staveley's  History  of  Churches  in  England,  p.  99,  that  the  monks  were  sent  up  and  down  the  country 
with  briefs  of  a  similar  character  to  the  above,  to  gather  contributions  of  the  people ;  and  it  is  most 
probable  that  the  collectors  were  authorized  to  grant  special  indulgences  proportionate  to  the  value  of 
the  contributions.    One  of  these  handbills  is  reprinted  in  Notes  and  Queries,  No.  84. 

St.  Giles's,  Camberwell,  is  one  of  the  largest  churches  built  in  England  since  the 
Reformation :  it  occupies  the  site  of  the  old  brick  church,  burnt  on  Sunday,  Feb.  7, 
1841.  The  new  church,  designed  by  Scott  and  Moffatt,  is  massively  built  entirely  of 
stone,  and  was  consecrated  Nov.  21,  1844 :  it  is  in  the  Transition  style,  from  Early 
English  to  Decorated  j  cruciform  in  plan,  with  a  large  central  tower  and  spire,  207  feet 
high,  and  the  tower  thirty  feet  square ;  it  has  a  fine  peal  of  bells,  by  Mears.  The  out- 
side length  of  the  church  exceeds  153  feet.  The  interior  has  an  open  timber  roof,  and 
oak  fittings ;  a  very  powerful  Organ  by  Bishop  j  and  several  stained  glass  windows  by 
Ward  and  Nixon,  the  largest,  over  the  altar,  enriched  with  the  symbolism  of  the 
thirteenth  century. 

St.  Giles's,  Cripplegate,  is  the  successor  of  a  church  founded  by  Alfun,  subsequently 
the  first  hospitaller  of  the  Priory  of  St.  Bartholomew.     It  was  built  in  1090,  near  the 

M  2 


164  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

postern  in  the  City  wall,  called  Cripple-gate,  from  an  adjoining  Hospital  for  lame 
people  (Camden),  or  from  the  numerous  cripples  begging  there  (Stow);  and  it  was 
dedicated  to  St.  Giles,  as  the  patron  of  cripples ;  it  was  small,  and  its  site  was  "  where 
now  standeth  the  vicarage-house."  In  the  year  1545,  it  suffered  greatly  from  fire,  but 
was  soon  repaired,  and  partially  rebuilt ;  and  in  1682,  the  tower  was  raised  15  feet ;  it 
has  a  peal  of  twelve  bells,  besides  one  in  the  turret,  and  a  very  musical  set  of  chimes, 
said  to  have  been  constructed  by  a  working  mechanic.  The  interior  is  divided  into  a 
Nave  and  aisles  by  clustered  columns  and  pointed  arches,  and  the  ceiling  of  the  Chancel 
is  painted  with  cherubim.  Here  are  buried  John  Fox,  the  martyrologist,  described  in 
the  register  as  "  householder,  preachar ;"  John  Speed,  the  historian,  with  his  bust,  once 
painted  and  gilt ;  John  Milton  and  his  father,  under  the  clerk's  desk  :  a  bust  of  the 
poet,  by  Bacon,  E.A.,  with  a  tablet,  were  set  up  on  the  north  side  of  the  nave,  by 
Samuel  Whitbread,  in  1793.  The  entry  in  the  parish  register  is  :  "  12  November, 
1674,  John  Milton,  gentleman,  consumpcon,  chancell."  In  the  Chancel,  too,  are  tab- 
lets to  Constance  Whitney  and  Margaret  Lucy,  both  descendants  of  Sir  Thomas  Lucy, 
of  Charlecote,  Warwickshire  :  the  former  represents  a  female  rising  from  a  coffin,  and 
has  been  erroneously  supposed  to  commemorate  a  lady  who,  having  been  buried  while 
in  a  trance,  was  restored  to  life  through  the  cupidity  of  a  sexton  in  digging  up  the 
body  to  get  possession  of  a  ring  left  upon  her  finger.  Several  of  the  actors  from 
the  Fortune  Theatre,  Golding-lane,  are  buried  here.  Here,  too,  rests  Sir  Martin 
Frobisher,  one  of  the  earliest  of  the  Arctic  voyagers  (d.  1594-5) ;  and  Henry  Welby, 
the  Grub-street  hermit,  yet  a  man  of  exemplary  charity  (d.  1636).  And  the  register 
records  the  marriage  of  Oliver  Cromwell  with  Elizabeth  Bowchier,  August  20,  1620. 
In  1861,  the  restoration  of  the  church  was  commenced,  "  in  honour  of  the  memory  of 
John  Milton ;"  a  monument  has  been  erected,  as  a  memorial  of  the  poet,  in  the  south 
aisle,  near  the  chancel.  The  cenotaph  is  nearly  13  feet  high,  and  about  8  feet  wide  at 
the  base ;  and  the  body  of  the  work,  consisting  of  carved  Caen  stone,  is  divided  by 
pillars  of  coloured  marble,  thus  forming  three  canopied  niches.  In  the  central  niche 
the  bust  of  the  poet,  which  was  executed  by  Bacon,  has  been  placed.  Beneath  this  is 
a  marble  tablet,  with  the  following  simple  record  : — "  John  Milton,  author  of '  Para- 
dise Lost.'  Born  December,  1608.  Died  November,  1674."  The  date  of  his  father's 
death  in  1646,  and  the  name  of  Mr.  Samuel  Whitbread,  who  placed  the  tablet  in  the 
church  in  1793,  are  also  engraved  thereon.  Milton  lived  in  the  parish — first  in 
Barbican,  subsequently  in  Jewin-street,  and  finally,  in  Artillery-walk,  where  he  died. 
There  is  an  apocryphal  story  of  the  poet's  remains  being  irreverently  disturbed,  and 
scattered,  in  the  year  1790 ;  but  the  evidence  of  identity  is  weak,  and  it  is  recorded 
that  the  corpse  then  found  was  that  of  a  female,  and  of  smaller  stature  than  that  of 
the  poet.  The  story  of  the  assumed  desecration  is  told  in  "  The  Diary  of  General 
Murray,"  in  the  Monthly  Magazine,  August,  1833.  The  restoration  of  the  church  in- 
cludes windows  of  rich  memorial  glass  contributed  by  parishioners ;  the  reconstruction 
of  the  Chancel  with  an  open  roof,  and  the  reglazing  of  a  magnificent  window,  long 
blocked  up.     In  the  adjoining  burial-ground  remains  a  bastion  of  the  old  London  wall. 

St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields,  on  the  south  side  of  High-street,  was  formerly  in  the 
fields,  and  the  parish  the  village  of  St.  Giles ;  the  church  being  traceable  to  the  chapel 
of  a  Hospital  for  Lepers,  founded  about  1117,  by  Queen  Matilda,  consort  of  Henry  I. 
The  ancient  church  was  taken  down  in  1623,  and  a  brick  edifice  was  erected  in  its 
place :  this  was  removed  in  1730,  and  the  present  church,  designed  by  Henry  Flit- 
croft,  was  completed  in  1734.  It  is  built  of  Portland  stone,  and  has  a  tower  and 
spire,  160  feet  high,  with  eight  bells.  Above  the  entrance  gateway,  in  the  lunette, 
is  "  The  Day  of  Judgment,"  in  alto-relievo,  brought  from  the  Lich-gate,  or  Resurrec- 
tion-gate of  the  old  church  in  1687;  it  is  well  described  by  Mr.  George  Scharf,jun.,  in 
a  paper  read  to  the  Society  of  Antiquaries,  in  1855,  upon  "  Representations  of  the  Last 
Judgment :" — 

The  figures  (he  tells  us)  are  very  small  in  proportion  to  the  semicircular  lunette  they  occupy.  The 
Saviour  stands  in  the  clouds,  surrounded  by  rays,  holding1  the  banner  of  redemption,  and  with  His 
right  hand  pointing  upwards.  Angels  playing  musical  instruments,  and  tumultuously  expressing  the 
joys  of  heaven,  completely  surround  Him.  Neither  the  Virgin  Mary  nor  Apostles  are  to  be  seen  in 
order.  The  prominent  attitudes  of  the  rising  dead,  and  of  the  condemned,  betray  markedly  the  in- 
fluence of  Michael  Angelo;  they  have  been  directly  and  ignorantly  copied  from  his  outline  conception. 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  165 


This  alto-relievo  is  very  curious,  and,  beinp  both  elaborate  and  well  preserved,  deserves  to  be  care- 
fully drawn  and  published.  (It  forms  one  ofthe  many  illustrations  of  Mr.  Scharf's  paper  in  the  Archtso- 
logia,  vol.  xxxvi.  part  20.)  The  treatment  is  very  unworthy  of  the  subject,  but,  as  a  piece  of  carving,  it 
is  remarkably  good. 

This  sculpture  was  formerly  placed  over  the  north-western  gateway,  which  has  l>een 
taken  down,  and  a  new  gateway  erected  opposite  the  western  or  principal  door  of  the 
church,  over  which  is  placed  the  alto-relievo. 

At  St.  Giles's  were  buried  Chapman,  the  translator  of  Homer;  Lord  Herbert  of 
Cherbury,  who  lived  in  Great  Queen-street;  Shirley,  the  dramatist,  and  his  wife ;  Sir 
Roger  L'Estrange,  the  political  writer ;  and  Andrew  Marvel],  "  a  man  in  whose  repu- 
tation the  glory  of  the  patriot  has  eclipsed  the  fine  powers  of  the  poet."  The  monu- 
ment to  Chapman,  built  by  Inigo  Jones  at  his  own  expense,  is  now  in  the  churchyard, 
against  the  south  wall  of  the  church.  In  the  churchyard,  too,  is  the  altar-tomb  of 
Richard  Pendrell,  who  aided  in  the  escape  of  Charles  II.;  and  a  few  years  since  was 
revived  the  custom  of  decorating  this  tomb  on  Restoration  Day  (May  29)  with  brandies 
of  oak.  The  finest  monument  in  the  present  church  is  the  recumbent  effigies  of  the 
Duchess  Dudley  (d.  1670),  preserved  in  grateful  memory  of  her  munificence  to  the 
parish.  At  the  place  of  public  execution,  a  short  distance  north-west  of  the  church, 
Sir  John  Oldcastle,  Lord  Cobham,  was  hung  in  chains  and  roasted  over  fagots  in  1417, 
during  the  reign  of  Henry  V.,  his  early  friend.  The  phrase,  "  St.  Giles's  Bowl,"  is 
referred  to  the  custom  of  giving,  at  the  Hospital  gate,  every  malefactor  on  his  way  to 
Tyburn  a  bowl  of  ale,  as  his  last  worldly  draught,  which  practice  was  also  continued 
at  an  hostel  built  upon  the  site  of  the  monastic  house ;  of  this  the  Bowl  Brewery, 
taken  down  in  1849,  was  the  representative;  and  the  bowl  itself  is  said  to  be  in  ex- 
istence. The  transparent  clock-dial  of  the  church  was  lit  with  gas  in  1827,  the  first 
in  the  metropolis;  and  opposite,  in  1842,  was  made  one  of  the  earliest  experiments 
with  wood-paving.  In  Endell-street,  in  1845,  was  built  a  district  church,  in  the  Early 
Pointed  style,  by  Ferrey — a  timely  provision  for  the  spiritual  destitution  of  the  parish. 
St.  Giles's  possesses  a  cemetery  in  the  Lower  St.  Pancras-road,  where  are  buried,  each 
beneath  an  altar-tomb,  John  Flaxman,  our  greatest  English  sculptor ;  and  Sir  John 
Soane,  the  architect.     (See  Cemeteries,  p.  82.) 

St.  Gregory  by  St.  Paul's  was  contiguous  to  the  Lollards'  Tower,  which  had 
once  been  used  as  a  prison  for  heterodox  divines.  It  stood  at  the  south  side  of  the 
Cathedral,  in  Castle  Baynard  Ward.  It  was  very  ancient,  for  the  body  of  Edmund, 
king  of  the  East  Angles,  who  was  martyred  by  the  Danes  in  870,  rested  there  for  three 
years. — Newcourt. 

St.  Helen's,  Bishopsgate,  on  the  east  side  of  Bishopsgate-street  Within,  was  once 
the  church  of  the  Nunnery  of  St.  Helen,  the  site  of  which,  judging  from  pavements 
found  here,  was  originally  occupied  by  a  Roman  building. 

The  church  consists  of  two  broad  aisles,  122  feet  in  length,  and  two  chantry  chapels. 
The  north  aisle,  known  as  the  Nuns'  Quire,  was  appropriated  to  the  use  of  the  inmates 
of  the  Convent,  and  separated  from  the  south  or  parish  aisle  by  a  wooden  screen ;  this 
screen,  together  with  the  altar,  was  removed  at  the  dissolution  of  the  House.  For- 
tunately, 17  of  the  original  carved  miserere  seats  have  been  preserved,  and  the  hagio- 
scope which  formerly  communicated  with  the  crypt  still  remains.  The  interior  of  the 
edifice,  with  its  columns  and  pointed  arches,  is  picturesque  :  it  contains  more  monu- 
ments, perhaps,  than  any  other  church  in  the  metropolis ;  and  these  being  altar-tombs 
upon  the  floor,  increase  the  appearance  of  antiquity  and  solemnity.  They  include  a 
freestone  altar-tomb,  with  quatrefoil  panels  enclosing  shields;  upon  the  ledger  lie 
full-length  alabaster  effigies  of  Sir  John  Crosbie  and  his  first  wife  Anneys  or  Agnes ; 
the  knight  wears  his  aldermanic  gown  over  plate  armour.  Also,  a  canopied  monument 
to  Sir  W.  Pickering,  in  dress  armour,  reclining  upon  a  pillow  of  matting  (d.  1542) ; 
several  kneeling  figures,  elaborately  painted  and  gilt,  in  memory  of  Sir  Andrew  Judd 
(in  armour)  (d.  1558) ;  a  very  large  sculptured  altar-tomb  to  Sir  Thomas  Gresham, 
who  founded  the  Royal  Exchange ;  a  monument  representing  Martin  Bond,  captain  of 
the  trained  bands  at  Tilbury  when  the  Spanish  Armada  was  expected — he  is  sitting 
within  a  tent,  with  sentries,  &c.  (d.  1643) ;  a  tomb  of  Francis  Bancroft  (d.  1726), 
built  in  his  lifetime,  when  he  directed  that  his  body  should  be  embalmed,  and  placed 


166  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

in  a  coffin  unfastened;  and  a  table  monument  by  N.  Stone  to  Sir  Julius  Caesar, 
Master  of  the  Rolls  to  James  I.  (1636),  the  monument  erected  in  the  previous  year, 
with  the  Latin  inscription  sculptured,  as  if  on  a  folded  deed,  an  engagement  of  the 
deceased  to  pay  the  debt  of  nature  whenever  it  shall  please  God  to  appoint  it.  In  the 
vestibule  also  are  several  elaborate  monuments,  displaying  figures ;  and  an  alms-box 
supported  by  a  curiously -carved  figure  of  a  mendicant.  Here  are  also  fine  monumental 
brasses  of  the  fifteenth  and  sixteenth  centuries.     The  church  was  restored  in  1866. 

St.  Katharine's,  the  church  of  the  Royal  Hospital  of  St.  Katharine,  rebuilt  in 
1827,  on  the  east  side  of  the  Regent's  Park,  after  the  demolition  of  the  ancient 
Hospital  and  Church,  "  at  the  Tower,"  for  the  site  of  St.  Katharine's  Docks. 

More  than  700  years  ago,  in  the  reign  of  King  Stephen,  1148,  Queen  Matilda  founded 
and  endowed,  on  the  east  side  of  the  Tower  of  London,  a  Hospital  dedicated  to  St. 
Katharine;  the  foundation  was  confirmed  by  the  grants  of  succeeding  sovereigns, 
and  the  revenues  increased  by  Queen  Eleanor,  and  other  royal  donors.  The  mastership 
is  in  the  gift  of  the  Queen  Consort ;  if  there  be  no  such  personage,  the  Queen  Dowager. 
Provision  was  made  for  a  master,  who,  according  to  an  ordinance  of  Queen  Philippa, 
was  to  be  a  priest.  There  were  to  be  maintained  also  three  Brothers,  who  were  to  be 
priests,  and  three  Sisters,  all  under  obligation  of  perpetual  chastity,  and  to  "  serve  and 
minister  before  God,"  and  do  works  of  charity.  Masses  were  to  be  said  daily  in  the 
chapel,  one  to  be  for  the  souls  of  all  the  Kings  and  Queens  of  England.  Provision 
was  to  be  made  also  for  24  poor  men  and  10  poor  women ;  and  the  charter  of  Queen 
Eleanor  directed  that  when  in  future  times  the  means  of  the  Hospital  should  augment, 
the  number  of  chaplains  and  poor  men  and  women  relieved  should  be  increased.  In 
the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.  the  income  was  about  365£.  a  year. 

The  Church  and  Hospital,  in  the  Regent's  Park,  designed  by  A.  Poynter,  is  in  the 
florid  Gothic  style,  has  octagonal  towers,  with  a  large  painted  window  of  beautiful 
tracery.  Among  the  relics  of  the  old  church  is  a  finely  enriched  tomb,  part  of  a 
chantry  chapel,  thus  inscribed  : 

"  This  monument  was  erected  in  the  Collegiate  Church  of  St.  Katharine,  near  the  Tower,  to  the 
memory  of  John  Holland  Duke  of  Exeter,  Earl  of  Huntingdon  and  Ivry,  Lord  of  Sparr,  Admiral  of 
England,  Ireland,  and  Aquitaine,  Knight  of  the  most  noble  order  of  the  Garter,  and  Constable  of  the 
Tower.  He  died  the  V.  of  August,  M.CCCCXL  VII.  Also,  to  the  memory  of  his  two  wives,  viz. :  Anne, 
daughter  of  Edmund  Earl  of  Stafford,  by  whom  he  had  issue  Henry  Holland,  the  late  Duke  of  Exeter  of 
that  surname,  who  married  Anne,  sister  of  King  Edward  the  Fourth,  and  died  without  issue ;  and  Anne, 
daughter  of  John  Montacute,  Earl  of  Salisbury,  by  whom  he  had  issue  one  daughter,  mother  to  Ralph 
N evil,  third  Earl  of  Westmoreland."    Below  is  engraved — 

"  These  remains,  having  been  carefully  removed  from  the  original  place  of  interment,  were  deposited 
in  this  chapel,  as  were  those  of  the  other  persons  whose  monuments  and  gravestones  were  transferred 
to  it  from  the  Collegiate  Church  aforesaid." 

In  some  parts  along  the  mouldings  are  well-designed  groups  of  sporting  subjects — "  Reynard"  and 
the  goose,  monkeys  in  chains,  and  other  quaint  devices.  The  shields  of  arms  and  crests  are  coloured 
and  gilt.    The  effigies  represent  the  Duke,  one  of  his  wives,  and  his  sister. 

The  old  wood  pulpit  from  St.  Katharine's  is  also  preserved,  and  is  a  curious  example 
of  the  elaborate  carved  work  of  the  sixteenth  and  seventeenth  centimes :  in  the  panels 
are  two  views  of  old  St.  Katharine's.  Some  of  the  carved  seats,  similar  to  those  in 
Henry  the  Seventh's  Chapel  in  Westminster  Abbey,  have  also  been  saved;  as  have 
likewise  some  of  the  corbels  formed  by  crowned  angels,  bearing  shields.  These,  with 
additions,  have  been  arranged  round  the  present  church,  with  the  arms  and  dates  of 
the  reigns  of  the  English  Queens  from  Matilda's  time.  The  Organ,  of  about  the 
reign  of  George  II.,  has  also  been  preserved;  and  among  the  old  monuments  is  one 
with  this  inscription  on  a  gold  plate  within  a  frame : 

"  Here  dead  in  part  whose  best  part  ne'er  dyeth, 
A  benefactor,  William  Cuttinge,  lyeth ; 
Not  deade  if  good  deedes  could  keepe  man  alive, 
Nor  all  deade,  since  good  deedes  doe  men  revive. 
Gonvile  and  Kaies  his  good  deeds  men  record, 
And  will,  no  doubte,  his  praise  for  them  afford  i 
Saincte  Katrins  eke  nccr  London  can  it  tell: 
Goldsmythes  and  Marchant  Taylers  know  it  well. 
Two  Country's  towns  his  civil  bounty  bleste, 
East  Dareham  and  Nortonfitzwarren  West : 
More  did  he  then  this  table  can  unfold, 
The  worlde  his  faime  this  earth  his  earth  doth  hold. 
"  He  deceased  ye  4  daie  of  March,  1599." 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  167 

According  to  an  official  Report  issued  in  1866,  the  income  of  the  Hospital  now 
exceeds  7000/.  a  year ;  and  if  the  system  of  letting  the  estates  on  leases  for  lives  with 
fines  for  renewal  were  abandoned,  the  income  would  probably  be  nearly  11,000/.,  to  be 
increased  to  nearly  15,000/.  when  the  Tower-hill  leases  fall  in  in  the  year  1900.  The 
site  of  the  Hospital  has  now  become  a  dock,  and  when  the  new  hospital  was  about  to 
he  erected  in  the  Regent's  Park,  unfortunately,  the  removal  was  made  in  such  a 
manner  as  to  involve  much  expense  that  might  have  been  avoided.  To  the  inquiry, 
"  What  is  done  with  this  7000/.  a  year  ?"  an  answer  is  given  in  this  Report.  The 
Master  receives  nearly  1500/.  a  year,  increased  to  2000/.  by  the  rent  of  his  official 
house,  which,  as  he  is  non-resident,  he  lets.  His  house  and  gardens  occupy  two  acres, 
and  it  is  considered  to  be,  for  its  size,  one  of  the  most  desirable  residences  in  London. 
He  attends  the  meetings  of  the  Chapter,  which  are  held  about  three  times  in  a  year  ; 
hut  is  seldom,  if  ever,  at  the  chapel ;  he  occasionally  visits  the  schools ;  but  these 
are  considered  to  be  sufficiently  superintended  by  the  Brothers  and  Sisters  in  residence. 
He  was  appointed  by  Queen  Adelaide,  whose  vice-chamberlain  he  was.  Each  of  the 
three  Brothers  receives  above  360/.  a  year,  and  has  also  a  sufficiently  convenient  residence, 
though  much  less  costly  than  the  Master's.  Each  Brother  is  in  residence  four  months 
in  the  year.  One  of  them  has  been  presented  by  the  Hospital  to  the  living  of  Kings- 
thorpe,  near  Northampton,  with  a  net  income  of  700/.  a  year  and  a  house.  The 
junior  Brother  became  British  vice-consular  chaplain  at  Dieppe  in  1863,  and  has  since 
let  his  official  residence,  which  is  considered  to  be  worth  100/.  a  year ;  but  he  occupies 
rooms  in  it  during  his  term  of  residence.  Each  of  the  three  Sisters  receives  about 
240/.  a  year,  besides  having  a  residence  provided.  The  senior  Sister  has  always  been 
non-resident,  and  lets  her  house.  The  junior  has  done  the  like  until  recently,  her 
duties  as  preceptress  to  the  Royal  Princesses  requiring  her  constant  attendance  at 
Court ;  but  these  having  ceased,  she  has  now  virtually,  if  not  actually,  entered  upon 
residence.  There  are  various  officers  and  attendants  provided  for  the  establishment. 
There  remain  funds  sufficient  to  pay  10/.  each  to  20  Bedesmen  and  20  Bedeswomen 
(decayed  tradespeople  and  worn-out  governesses  and  servants),  and  to  maintain  a  school 
in  which  33  boys  and  18  girls,  the  children  of  clerks,  tradespeople,  artificers,  and 
servants  are  freely  educated  and  clothed,  and  then  apprenticed  or  presented  with  outfits 
for  entering  domestic  service. 

It  is  suggested  in  the  Report  that  the  large  and  increasing  resources  of  this  institu- 
tion should  by  competent  authority  be  made  productive  of  more  extended  benefit  than 
they  are  at  present.  Thus,  a  scheme  has  been  propounded,  which  proposes  the  restora- 
tion of  the  Hospital  to  the  east  of  London  ;  and  the  establishment  there  of  a  collegiate 
church,  with  the  Master  and  Brothers  for  dean  and  canons,  each  of  them,  by  virtue  of 
his  office,  holding  a  benefice,  with  cure  of  souls,  in  that  quarter;  the  three  Sisters,  with 
stipends  of  not  less  than  250/.  a  year  each,  to  reside  within  the  limits  of  these  parishes 
or  places,  and  superintend  and  direct  the  work  of  the  bedeswomen,  who  should  also 
reside  within  the  same  limits,  and  perform  the  duties  of  parochial  mission  women 
and  nurses ;  the  bedesmen,  also  resident  in  the  limits,  to  perform  the  duties  of  Scripture 
readers,  or  lay  assistants.  The  four  benefices  might  either  be  acquired  by  exchange, 
or  newly  constituted  by  the  Crown.  The  scheme  contemplates  also  that  a  portion  of 
the  income  of  the  foundation  be  devoted  to  educational  or  eleemosynary  purposes  in 
the  east  of  London.  The  scheme  was  proposed  by,  or  on  behalf  of,  a  Committee  of  the 
local  clergy,  comprising  seven  incumbents  in  the  immediate  neighbourhood  of  the  site 
of  the  ancient  Hospital,  which  forty  years  since  was  required  and  taken  for  the  construc- 
tion of  St.  Katharine's  Docks. 

St.  James's,  Aldgate,  Mitre-square,  was  built  on  the  site  of  the  wealthy  Priory  of 
the  Holy  Trinity,  in  tasteless  style,  1622.  Here  is  service  on  great  festivals  and  on  the 
last  night  of  the  year.  And  here,  every  Whit-Tuesday  evening  is  preached  the 
"  Flower  Sermon,"  on  a  topic  allied  to  flowers.  The  church  is  decked  with  flowers, 
and  the  congregation  carry  nosegays,  and  a  bouquet  is  placed  in  the  pulpit.  On  Whit- 
Tuesday  evening,  1866,  the  Sermon  was  preached  by  the  Rev.  W.  M.  Whittemore, 
the  Rector.     His  text  was  Genesis  i.  11,  "  Let  the  earth  bring  forth  grass." 

The  following  is  an  outline  of  the  discourse : — Pleasantness  of  a  walk  in  the  fields,  conversing  with 
dear  friends,  resting  from  the  care  and  toil  of  a  busy  City  life,  enjoying  the  sights  and  sounds  of  nature, 


168  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

and  striving  to  gather  spiritual  lessons  from  the  objects  around  us.  A  single  blade  of  grass,  how  much 
it  may  teach  us  !  How  full  of  testimony  to  the  goodness  of  the  Creator,  who  has  covered  the  earth 
with  this  enamelled  carpet  of  soft,  fragrant  verdure,  to  refresh  and  gladden  our  hearts.  How  full,  also, 
of  solemn  teachings  of  our  frail  mortality.  All  flesh  is  grass.  This  was  shown  to  be  true  literally,  as 
well  as  figuratively.  Then  the  preacher  brought  out  several  lessons,  which  he  bade  his  youthful  hearers 
to  remember.  1.  The  value  of  little  things.  A  blade  of  grass  is  full  of  creative  skill;  the  combining 
of  many  little  blades  covers  the  hills  and  valleys  of  the  world.  2.  The  union  of  firmness  with  gentleness 
of  character.  The  grass  bends  easily,  yet  is  coated  with  flint,  and  its  root  is  remarkably  tenacious.  3. 
Discrimination  necessary  in  striving  to  be  useful.  Some  one  sowed  grass»seed,  as  he  thought,  but  it 
grew  up  chiefly  chickweed  and  groundsel.  4.  Unity  may  consist  with  great  diversity.  There  are  5000 
species  of  grasses,  yet  they  have  many  features  of  aspect,  structure,  and  growth  in  common,  so  that  no 
class  of  plants  is  so  easily  identified. 

St.  James's,  Clerkenwell,  on  the  north  side  of  Clerken well- green,  has  replaced 
the  church  of  a  Benedictine  monastery,  founded  about  1100;  it  served  the  nuns  and 
inhabitants  until  the  Dissolution  of  the  convent,  when  it  was  made  parochial,  and 
dedicated  to  St.  James  the  Less  instead  of  the  Virgin  Mary.  In  the  Sutherland  View 
of  1543,  we  see  it  far  in  the  fields.  In  1623,  the  steeple  and  tower  both  fell,  and 
destroyed  part  of  the  church  ;  both  were  rebuilt.  In  1788,  the  whole  was  taken 
down,  rebuilt  by  Carr,  and  consecrated  in  1792.  In  the  vaults  are  preserved  some 
coffins  from  the  old  church,  and  among  them  that  of  Bishop  Burnet,  who  died 
1714-1 5  in  St.  John's-square,  close  by,  though  the  fanatic  rabble  threw  dirt  and  stones 
at  his  funeral  procession.  His  handsome  mural  monument  was  removed  to  the  present 
church,  which  has  a  peal  of  eight  musical  bells. 

St.  James's,  Garlick  Hithe,  on  the  east  side  of  Garlick-hill,  Upper  Thames-street,  is 
named  from  its  being  near  the  chief  garlick  market  of  the  City.  It  was  rebuilt  in 
1326 :  among  the  persons  interred  here  was  Richard  Lyons,  a  wine-merchant  and 
lapidary,  beheaded  in  Cheapside  by  Wat  Tyler  in  the  reign  of  Richard  II.  Stow 
describes  his  "  picture  on  his  gravestone  very  fair  and  large,  with  his  hair  rounded  by 
his  ears,  and  curled ;  a  little  beard  forked ;  a  gown  girt  to  him  down  to  his  feet,  of 
branched  damask,  wrought  with  the  likeness  of  Mowers :  a  large  purse  on  his  right  side 
hanging  in  a  belt  from  his  left  shoulder ;  a  plain  hood  about  his  neck,  covering  his 
shoulders,  and  hanging  back  behind  him."  The  following  citizens  who  had  served 
Mayor  were  also  buried  here :  John  of  Oxenford,  Mayor  in  1341 ;  Sir  John  Wrotch,  or 
Wroth,  1360;  William  Venor,  1389;  William  More,  1385;  Robert  Chichell,  1421 ; 
James  Spencer,  1527.  The  old  church  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire :  it  was 
rebuilt  by  Wren,  1676-83,  with  a  tower  and  lantern,  98  feet  high,  and  a  projecting 
clock-dial,  with  a  carved  and  gilt  figure  of  St.  James :  a  large  organ,  built  by  Bernard 
Schmidt,  in  1697  ;  and  a  clever  altar-picture  of  the  Ascension,  by  A.  Geddes.  In  this 
church  Steele  heard  the  Common-Prayer  service  read  so  distinctly,  so  emphatically,  and 
so  fervently,  that  it  was  next  to  an  impossibility  to  be  inattentive.  Steele  proposed  that 
this  excellent  reader  (Mr.  Philip  Stubbs,  afterwards  Archdeacon  of  St.  Alban's), 
upon  the  next  and  every  annual  assembly  of  the  clergy  of  Sion  College,  and  all  other 
convocations,  should  read  before  them. — Spectator,  No.  147,  August  18,  1711. 

Here  is  a  curious  story,  by  Newconrt,  of  Arthur  Bulkley,  D.D.,  Rector  of  St.  James's 
in  1531,  who  was  promoted  to  the  Bishopric  of  Bangor  in  1541.  "  This  man  sold  away 
five  fair  bells  out  of  the  steeple  of  his  cathedral,  and  it  is  certainly  reported,  that  going 
to  the  sea-side  to  see  them  shipped  off,  he  had  not  set  three  steps  on  his  way  home- 
ward before  he  was  stricken  with  blindness,  so  that  he  never  saw  afterwards." 

St.  James  the  Less,  Garden-street,  Westminster,  was  built  in  1861,  at  the  expense 
of  Miss  Monk,  in  memory  of  her  father,  the  late  Bishop  Monk,  of  Gloucester,  a 
Canon  of  Westminster;  G.  E.  Street,  architect;  style,  Byzantine  Gothic;  cost  about 
8500Z.  The  church  is  situated  in  the  poor  district  of  St.  Mary,  Tothill-fields.  It 
consists  of  a  Nave  and  Chancel,  with  north  and  south  aisles  to  both.  It  has  a  detached 
steeple,  forming  ante-porch,  with  porch  connecting  it  with  the  north  aisle.  The  height 
of  the  tower  and  slated  spire  is  134  feet.  The  materials  used  are  mainly  red  and 
black  bricks,  stone,  and  marble.  The  apse  has  windows  of  three  lights,  with  a  rose- 
window  in  the  head,  filled  with  stained  glass,  representing  types  and  antitypes  of 
Christ.  Between  these  descend  the  groining-ribs,  to  rest  upon  banded  shafts  of 
polished  marble.  The  reredos  below  the  line  of  lights  is  of  white  stone,  inlaid  (with 
a  black  composition)  with  figures  of  holy  women,  commencing  on  the  left  with  Mary 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  160 

the  mother  of  James,  then  Mary  Magdalen,  St.  Elizaheth,  and  the  Virgin  Mary ;  then, 
on  the  other  side  of  the  reredos  proper,  come  the  wife  of  Manoah,  Hannah,  Ruth,  and 
Sarah.  Bands  of  red  and  yellow  tiles  are  inserted  between  these  figures,  which  are 
represented  in  niches,  dividing  them  into  twos.  Immediately  over  the  altar  is  a  cross 
of  vari -coloured  Irish  marbles,  set  with  studs  of  Derbyshire  spar.  Within  the  apse 
come  the  transept  aisles ;  in  that  on  the  left  is  the  Organ.  Two  drop  arches,  on 
broad  shafts  of  polished  granite,  with  carved  caps,  and  resting  on  tall  plinths  (the 
height  of  the  choir  seats),  divide  these  Transept  aisles  from  the  Choir.  Each  Transept 
aisle  is,  in  itself,  divided  by  a  shaft  of  Bath  stone  in  its  centre,  whence  spring  arches 
to  the  side  piers  of  the  Choir.  The  two  shafts  which  are  on  each  side  of  the  Nave  are 
of  polished  red  granite,  with  bands  of  Bath  stone  midway  of  their  heights  ;  the  caps 
are  carved,  illustrative  of  the  Parables  and  Miracles.  Over  the  Chancel  arch  is  a  fresco 
painted  by  G.  F.  Watts,  representing  a  sitting  figure  of  Our  Lord  in  the  centre, 
with  groups  of  angels  on  each  side,  and  the  four  Evangelists  below,  on  a  gold  ground. 
The  pulpit  is  of  stone  and  marble,  and  is  very  richly  sculptured  :  it  contains  figures  of 
the  four  Doctors  of  the  Western  Church  and  the  four  Evangelists,  and  on  the  panels, 
which  are  divided  from  each  other  by  shafts  of  green  marble,  are  illustrations  of 
preaching : — 1.  St.  John  the  Baptist  preaching ;  2.  Dispute  with  the  Doctors ; 
3.  The  Sermon  on  the  Mount;  4.  St.  Augustine  of  Canterbury  preaching.  The 
Chancel  is  groined  in  brick,  with  stone  ribs.  The  screens  and  gates  round  the 
Chancel  are  of  wrought  iron  and  ornamental  brasswork.  The  pavement  of  the  body 
of  the  church  is  formed  of  Maw's  tiles,  and  that  of  the  Chancel  has  marble  inserted. 
The  steps  leading  to  the  Chancel  and  altar  are  of  black  Isle  of  Man  limestone. 
The  roof  has  been  painted  by  Clayton  and  Bell,  with  the  Tree  of  Jesse  and  the 
Genealogy  of  our  Lord,  typical  busts  of  the  personages  being  introduced  in  medal- 
lions along  the  sides  of  the  span  in  a  line  on  either  hand.  The  stained  glass  through- 
out is  also  by  Clayton  and  Bell. 

St.  James's,  Piccadilly,  or  St.  James's,  Westminster,  was  built  by  Wren,  at  the 
cost  of  Henry  Jermyn,  Earl  of  St.  Alban's,  whose  arms  are  placed  above  the  south 
door;  consecrated  Sunday,  July  13,  1684;  it  was  originally  a  chapel  of  ease,  and  con- 
stituted a  parish  church  in  1685.  It  has  a  tower  and  spire,  150  feet  high ;  the  latter 
was  not  the  work  of  Wren.  It  was  built  a  few  years  after  the  church,  and  was  from  a 
design  supplied  by  one  Mr.  Wilcox,  a  carpenter  in  the  parish,  which,  strange  to 
say,  was  made  choice  of  by  the  Vestry  in  preference  to  a  design  for  the  same  furnished 
by  Wren  himself,  the  cost  of  the  erection  of  which  was  estimated  to  exceed  the  other 
by  only  1001.  It  was  covered  with  cement  in  1850,  when  the  interior  of  the  church 
was  repaired  throughout.  The  clock  was  the  gift  of  Mr.  H.  Massey,  and  the  original 
dial  was  gilded  and  painted  by  Mr.  Highmore,  H.M.  Serjeant-Painter  :  its  diameter  is 
10  feet.  The  interior,  Wren's  masterpiece,  is  in  its  plan  Basilical,  Nave  and  aisles 
being  formed  by  two  ranges  of  six  piers  and  columns,  in  two  stories.  The  piers, 
which  are  of  the  Doric  order,  panelled,  carry  the  galleries ;  the  fronts  of  the  latter 
of  oak,  with  carved  enrichments,  forming  the  entablature  of  the  order,  with  a  low 
attic  above,  to  complete  the  breastwork.  The  upper  order  is  the  Corinthian  ;  columns 
rise  from  the  breastwork  of  the  galleries,  and  the  highly -enriched  entablature  of  these, 
stretching  across  from  each  column  to  the  side  walls,  serves  as  imposts  to  a  series  of 
transverse  arches  from  column  to  column,  forming  the  covering  of  the  aisles ;  whilst 
from  the  abacuses  also  springs  the  great  semiciicular  vault  that  covers  the  Nave ;  the 
whole  roof  being  divided  into  sunk  panels,  ornamented  with  festoons  of  drapery  and 
flowers  in  relief,  "  producing,"  as  Mr.  J.  Gwilt  observes,  "  by  its  unity,  richness,  and 
harmonious  proportions,  a  result  truly  enchanting."  These  ceilings  and  their  enrich- 
ments, as  now  seen,  were  put  up  in  1837,  when  the  decayed  state  of  the  timbers  had 
rendered  an  entire  new  roof  to  the  church  necessary.  The  work  was  strictly  a  restora- 
tion. Wren,  in  a  letter  printed  by  Elmes,  says : — "  I  can  hardly  think  it  practicable 
to  make  a  single  room  so  capacious,  with  pews  and  galleries,  as  to  hold  2000  persons, 
and  all  to  hear  the  service  and  see  the  preacher.  I  endeavoured  to  effect  this  in  build- 
ing the  parish  church  of  St.  James's,  Westminster,  which,  I  presume,  is  the  most 
capacious,  with  these  qualifications,  that  hath  yet  been  built." 


170  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  noble  Organ  was  built  for  James  II.,  and  intended  for  his  Roman  Catholic 
Oratory  at  Whitehall,  but  given  to  this  parish  by  Queen  Mary  in  1691. 

It  is  in  two  oaken  cases,  standing  one  before  the  other,  the  organist's  place  being  between  them ;  his 
face  to  the  great  organ,  and  his  back  to  the  smaller  one,  to  the  latter  of  which  the  action  passes  beneath 
his  feet  and  seat.  The  great  case  is  in  the  florid  style  of  the  period  of  its  original  construction  (Louis 
XIV.).  The  carving  of  Fames,  angels,  cherubs'  heads,  &c.  with  which  it  is  adorned,  strikingly  mark, 
by  their  great  beauty,  the  master-hand  of  Gibbons.  This  favourite  old  instrument,  originally  made  by 
the  celebrated  Ren  at  us  Harris,  anno  1678,  was  entirely  rebuilt  by  the  late  Mr.  Bishop,  in  1852,  on  a 
much  more  comprehensive  scale,  but  retaining  the  old  pipes — for  these,  the  mellowing  hand  of  time 
had  rendered  of  more  than  ordinary  value — when  also  the  old  case  was  restored,  with  the  original 
decoration,  and  the  detached  front  choir  added. 

In  1738,  the  Prince  of  Wales  gave  crimson  velvet  and  gold  hangings,  valued  at 
700/.,  for  the  holy  table  and  pulpit.  The  end  above  the  altar-screen  is  nearly  all 
occupied  by  a  Venetian  window,  in  1846  filled  with  stained  and  painted  glass. 

The  window  is  illustrative  by  six  principal  pictures— one  to  a  compartment — of  the  narrative  of  our 
Blessed  Lord's  Sacrifice  for  the  Redemption  of  Mankind.  In  the  lower  central  division  is  displayed  the 
Crucifixion,  with  the  praying  in  the  Garden  of  Gethsemane,  on  the  left;  and  the  Bearing  of  the  Cross 
on  the  right.  The  upper  central  compartment  is  the  Ascension,  with  the  Entombment  on  the  left,  and 
the  Resurrection  on  the  right.  Very  wide  mosaic  borders  surround  each  of  these  pictures,  in  which,  as 
well  as  in  the  other  parts  of  the  filling  in,  are  numerous  minute  representations  of  other  scriptural 
subjects ;  with  details  of  immense  variety,  consisting  of  religious  emblems,  symbols,  monograms,  &c. 
&c.    For  this  glass  Wailes,  of  Newcastle,  received  10007. 

It  is  intended  also  to  fill  in  with  stained  and  painted  glass  the  whole  of  the  ten  gallery  windows, 
designed  to  form,  when  completed,  a  series  of  paintings,  illustrative  of  the  history  of  our  Blessed 
Saviour's  life  and  ministry,  commencing  with  the  "  Nativity,"  in  the  easternmost  window  on  the  south 
side — the  succeeding  windows  to  carry  on  the  subject,  progressively,  as  follows  : — No.  2.  The  Adoration  of 
the  Magi ;  3.  Baptism  of  Christ ;  4.  Christ  and  the  Woman  of  Samaria ;  5.  Christ  with  Peter  on  the 
Sea.  And  returning  eastward  on  the  north  side  with— 6.  The  Transfiguration  ;  7.  Christ  with  Martha 
and  Mary ;  8.  Christ  Blessing  Little  Children ;  9.  The  Raising  of  Lazarus ;  10.  Entry  into  Jerusalem. 
Thus  connecting  the  narrative  with  the  Passion,  as  represented  in  the  great  altar  window.  Nos.  2  and 
4  have  been  executed  (also  by  Mr.  Wailes)  at  a  cost  of  1251.  each. 

Evelyn,  in  his  Diary,  thus  describes  the  altar  and  east  end  of  the  church  : — 

Dec.  16, 1684. — I  went  to  see  the  new  church  at  St.  James's,  elegantly  built.  The  altar  was  especially 
adorned,  the  white  marble  inclosure  curiously  and  richly  carved,  the  flowers  and  garlands  about  the 
walls  by  Mr.  Gibbons,  in  wood  :  a  pelican,  with  her  young  at  her  breast,  just  over  the  altar  in  the  carv'd 
compartment  and  border  invironing  the  purple  velvet  fringed  with  (black)  I.  H.  S.  richly  embroidered, 
and  most  noble  plate,  were  given  by  Sir  R.  Geere,  to  the  value  (as  was  said)  of  20M.  There  was  no 
altar  anywhere  in  England,  nor  has  there  been  any  abroad,  more  handsomely  adorned." 

The  wood  is  lime,  with  cedar  for  the  reredos ;  the  marble  scrolls  have  been  replaced 
by  bronze.  In  addition,  a  noble  festoon  ending  in  two  pendants,  which  extends  nearly 
the  whole  length  of  the  screen,  displays  all  the  varied  representations  of  fruit  and 
flowers,  in  the  highest  relief.  This  elaborate  and  delicate  work  having  become  much 
injured  by  the  casualties  of  160  years,  was  in  1846  thoroughly  repaired  by  two  Italian 
artists — a  work  of  protracted  labour;  several  thousand  bits  of  carving,  more  or  less 
minute,  requiring  to  be  added,  in  order  to  restore  the  groupings  to  their  pristine  state. 

Facing  the  western  entrance  is  the  white  marble  font,  exquisitely  sculptured  by 
Gibbons  :  it  is  nearly  five  feet  high,  and  the  bowl  is  about  six  feet  in  circumference. 
The  shaft  represents  the  tree  of  life,  with  the  serpent  twining  round  it,  and  offering 
the  forbidden  fruit  to  Eve,  who,  with  Adam,  stands  beneath :  these  figures  are  18 
inches  high.  On  the  bowl  are  bas-rehefs  of  the  Baptism  of  the  Saviour  hi  the  Jordan ; 
the  Baptizing  of  the  Treasurer  of  Candace  by  St.  Philip  the  Deacon ;  and  the  Ark  of 
Noah,  with  the  dove  bearing  the  olive-branch.  The  cover  of  this  font  (shown  in 
Vertue's  engraving),  held  by  a  flying  angel  and  a  group  of  cherubim,  was  stolen  about 
the  beginning  of  the  present  century,  and  subsequently  hung  up  as  a  sign  at  a  spirit- 
shop  in  the  neighbourhood. — (Brayley's  Londiniana,  vol.  ii.  p.  282.) 

In  the  church  are  interred  Charles  Cotton,  the  companion  of  Walton  in  the  Com- 
plete  Angler;  Dr.  Sydenham,  with  a  marble  tablet  erected  by  the  College  of  Physicians, 
in  1810;  Hayman,  the  portrait-painter ;  the  two  Vanderveldes,  the  marine  painters; 
and  Michael  Dahl,  the  Swedish  portrait-painter ;  Dr.  Arbuthnot,  the  friend  of  Pope, 
Swift,  Gay,  and  Prior ;  Benjamin  Stillingfleet,  the  naturalist,  so  touchingly  deplored 
by  Pennant,  in  the  preface  to  his  British  Zoology;  Dr.  Akensidc,  the  poet;  James 
Dodsley,  the  bookseller,  with  a  tablet ;  G.  H.  Harlow,  who  painted  "  The  Trial  of 
Queen  Katherine;"  also  Sir  John  Malcolm.  Here  lies  Thomas  d'Urfey,  dramatist 
and  song- writer,  to  whom  there  is  a  tablet  on  the  outer  south  face  of  the  church-tower, 
inscribed  "Tom  d'Urfey,  dyed  February  26,  1723."  In  the  vestry  are  the  portraits  of" 
the  St.  James's  rectors,  that  of  Dr.  Birch  alone  missing :  the  first  rector,  Dr.  Tenison  j 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  171 

the  third,  Dr.  Wake  ;  and  the  seventh,  Dr.  Seeker;  became  Archbishops  of  Canterbury. 
(See  Walcott's  Handbook  of  St.  James's.) 

Nollekens,  the  sculptor,  when  a  lad,  had  an  idle  propensity  for  bell-tolling,  and 
whenever  his  master  missed  him,  and  the  dead-bell  of  St.  James's  Church  was  tolling, 
he  knew  perfectly  well  what  "  Joey  "  was  at. 

The  church  exterior  and  interior  wei-e  in  1857  greatly  improved ;  and  an  ornamental 
arched  entrance  to  the  churchyard,  and  a  large  Vestry-hall  erected. 

St.  James's,  Shoreditch,  Curtain-road,  of  Early  English  architecture,  erected  1838, 
"  stands  on  a  site  occupied  by  a  theatre  in  Shakspeare's  time.  He  lived  close  by,  in  a 
place  called  Gillum's  Field.  At  this  theatre  a  curtain  was  for  the  first  time  used; 
hence  the  name  of  the  road.  The  theatre  was  afterwards  removed  to  South  Lambeth. 
Tradition  says  that  Shakspeare  himself  acted  at  the  theatre,  and  that  his  Hamlet  was 
first  performed  there." — Maekeson's  Churches. 

St.  James's,  Spa-road,  Bermondsey,  contains  a  large  altar-picture,  painted  for  5001., 
by  John  Wood,  upon  conditions  detailed  at  p=  49.  The  subject  is  the  Ascension  of  our 
Saviour ;  the  figures  are  considerably  above  the  natural  size :  on  a  canvas  of  275  square 
feet  (25  feet  by  11),  in  the  upper  part,  a  full-length  figure  of  the  Saviour  occupies 
nearly  one-half  of  the  picture ;  a  nimbus  around  the  head  illumining  the  upper  sky  ;  the 
eleven  disciples  are  in  various  positions,  standing,  kneeling,  prostrated,  with  uplifted 
hands  and  faces,  and  bodies  bent  with 'reverential  awe  and  devotion;  and  their  personal 
identity,  costume,  and  colouring,  are  very  successful. 

St.  John's,  formerly  St.  Attgustin's,  at  Hackney,  was  taken  down  in  1798,  except 
the  tower,  of  the  sixteenth  century,  which  still  remains,  with  a  clock  and  a  peal  of 
C'ght  bells ;  the  body  of  the  church  was  rebuilt  northward  of  the  ancient  edifice ; 
eastward  is  the  chapel  of  the  Howe  family,  built  in  1614,  and  preserved  as  a 
mausoleum.  The  churchyard  has  thoroughfare  paths,  lined  with  lofty  trees,  but 
the  funereal  yew  is  not  among  them.  The  old  church,  before  its  demolition,  was  ex- 
tremely rich  in  monuments  and  brasses,  some  of  which  were  removed  to  the  porches 
and  vestibules  of  the  new  church. 

St.  John's,  Bethnal  Green,  designed  by  Sir  John  Soane  in  1828,  was  the  first  church 
consecrated  by  Bishop  Blomfield  in  the  diocese  of  London.  (See  Gentleman's  Maga- 
zine, Feb.  1831.) 

St.  John's,  Clerkenwell,  a  modern  church,'  in  St.  John's-square,  has  an  ancient 
crypt  (part  of  the  Priory  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem),  in  which  the  detection  of  the 
Cock-lane  Ghost  hoax  was  consummated. 

"  While  drawing  in  the  erypt  of  St.  John's,  Clerkenwell,  in  a  narrow  cloister  on  the  north  side  (there 
being  at  that  time  coffins,  and  fragments  of  shrouds,  and  human  remains  lying  about  in  disorder),  the 
sexton's  boy  pointed  to  one  of  the  coffins,  and  said  the  woman  in  it  was  '  Scratching  Fanny.'  This 
reminding  me  of  the  business  of  the  Cock-lane  Ghost,  I  removed  the  lid  of  the  coffin,  which  was  loose, 
and  saw  the  body  of  a  woman,  which  had  become  adipoeere;  the  lace  perfect,  handsome  oval,  with 
aquiline  nose.  [Will  not  arsenic  produce  adipoeere?]  She  was  said  to  have  been  poisoned,  although 
the  charge  is  understood  to  have  been  disproved.  I  inquired  of  one  of  the  churchwardens  of  the  time 
(Mr.  Bird,  I  believe),  and  he  said  the  coffin  had  always  been  understood  to  contain  the  body  of  the 
woman  whose  spirit  was  said  to  have  haunted  the  house  in  Cock-lane." — Communicated  by  John  Wyke- 
hum  Archer,  1851. 

St.  John  the  Evangelist,  Charlotte-street,  Fitzroy-square,  designed  by  Hugh 
Smith,  in  the  Norman  or  Romanesque  style,  was  opened  in  1846,  its  west  front  having 
two  towers,  and  a  spire  120  feet  high,  and  a  large  wheel- window  beneath  the  inter- 
vening gable.     The  second  spire  has  not  been  built. 

St.  John  the  Evangelist,  Horselydown,  one  of  the  Fifty  New  Churches  (10 
Anne),  was  finished  in  1732  :  it  has  a  tower,  with  an  ill-proportioned  Scamozzian  Ionic 
column,  seen  to  the  eastward  from  the  London  and  Greenwich  Railway. 

St.  John  the  Evangelist,  Smith-square,  Westminster,  was  the  second  built  of  the 
Fifty  New  Churches  (10  Anne),  finished  in  1728,  after  the  designs  of  Archer,  pupil  of 
Vanbrugh;  before  which  it  began  to  settle,  and  a  tower  and  lantern-turret  were 
added  at  each  corner  to  strengthen  the  main  building ;  "  and  these  would  have  been 


172  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

beautiful  accompaniments  to  the  central  tower  and  spire  intended  by  the  architect." 
\12lmes.)  These  towers  reminded  Lord  Chesterfield  of  an  elephant  thrown  on  its 
back,  with  its  four  feet  erect  in  the  air  ;  and  Charles  Mathews,  of  a  dining-table  up- 
side-down, with  its  four  legs  and  castors.  Meanwhile,  justice  has  not  been  done  to  the 
originality  and  powers  of  the  architect :  the  whole  composition  is  impressive,  and  its 
boldness  loses  nothing  by  the  graceful  playfulness  of  the  outline;  it  has  some  in- 
accuracies of  detail,  but  is,  altogether,  a  very  striking  production  of  the  Vanbrugb 
school.  (Donaldson!)  It  has  semicircular  apses  east  and  west,  and  imposing  Doric 
porticoes  north  and  south.  The  interior  of  the  church  (said  to  have  been  the  first  in 
London  lit  with  gas)  is  without  columns,  and  is  highly  embellished :  the  east  window 
is  filled  with  ancient  painted  glass  brought  from  Normandy ;  and  above  the  altar-table 
is  a  copy  of  the  celebrated  picture  of  Christ  bearing  his  Cross,  by  Ribalta,  in  the 
Chapel  of  St.  Mary  Magdalen  College,  Oxford.  The  elegant  marble  font,  designed  by 
C.  Barry,  jun.,  sculptured  by  J.  Thomas,  was  placed  here  in  1847.  The  Organ, 
erected  by  a  German  builder,  in  1727,  and  repaired  by  Hill,  in  1840,  is  handsome  and 
powerful.  Churchill,  the  satirist,  born  in  the  parish,  succeeded  his  father  in  1758,  in 
the  curacy  and  lectureship  of  this  church :  he  soon  disgraced  the  holy  office,  and  substi- 
tuted for  the  clerical  costume  a  blue  coat,  gold-laced  waistcoat  and  hat,  and  large 
ruffles ;  remonstrances  ensued,  and  he  resigned. 

St.  John's  burial-ground  contains  "the  ashes  of  an  Indian  chief,  who  died  of  small-pox,  in  1731,  and 
was  buried  in  the  presence  of  the  Emperor  Toma,  after  the  custom  of  the  Karakee  Creeks,  sewn  up  in 
two  blankets,  between  two  deal  boards,  with  his  clothes,  some  silver  coins,  and  a  few  glass  beads." — 
Walcott's  Westminster,  p.  314. 

St.  John  the  Evangelist,  Waterloo-road,  was  built  in  1822-24,  from  the  design 
of  P.  Bedford :  it  has  a  Grecian-Doric  hexastyle  portico,  and  lofty  steeple,  with  an 
excellent  peal  of  eight  bells ;  tenor,  1900  lbs.  weight.  The  font  is  of  white  marble,  and 
was  brought  from  Italy.  In  a  vault  here  is  interred  11.  W.  Elliston,  the  comedian. 
The  site  of  St.  John's  was  a  swamp  and  horse-pond;  the  district  commences  at  the 
middle  of  Westminster  Bridge,  whence  an  imaginary  boundary-line  passes  through  the 
middle  of  the  River  Thames  and  Waterloo  Bridge. 

St.  John  of  Jerusalem,  South  Hackney,  Middlesex  ;  a  large  and  beautiful  church 
in  the  best  Pointed  style,  thirteenth  and  fourteenth  centuries,  by  E.  C.  Hakewill; 
consecrated  July  20,  1848.  The  plan  is  cruciform,  with  a  tower  and  spire  of 
equal  height,  together  rising  187  feet;  the  latter  has  graceful  lights  and  broaches,  and 
the  four  Evangelists  beneath  canopies  at  the  four  angles ;  the  Nave  has  side  aisles 
with  flying  buttresses  to  the  clerestory ;  each  Transept  is  lit  by  a  magnificent  window, 
29  feet  high ;  and  the  Choir  has  an  apsis  with  seven  lancet  windows :  entire  external 
length,  192  feet;  materials,  Kentish  rag  and  Speldhurst  stone.  The  principal  entrance 
is  at  the  west,  through  a  screen  of  open  arches.  The  roof,  of  open-work,  is  of  60  feet 
highest  pitch,  with  massive  arched  and  foliated  ribs;  and  the  meeting  of  the  Transepts, 
Chancel,  and  Nave  is  very  effective.  The  Chancel  has  a  stone  roof,  and  the  walls  of  the 
apse  are  painted  and  diapered — red  with  fleur-de-lis,  and  blue  powdered  with  stars ;  the 
pulpit  and  reading-desk  are  also  diapered ;  and  the  seats  are  of  oak,  and  mostly  formed 
of  stall-ends  with  finials  :  the  two  first  seats  are  well-carved;  on  one  is  the  crest  of  the 
Hector  and  the  badge  of  the  patron  Saint ;  and  on  the  other  side  the  dove  with  the 
olive-branch,  and  the  lynx,  as  an  emblem  of  watchfulness.  All  the  windows  are  filled 
with  painted,  stained,  or  richly-diapered  glass,  by  Wailes,  Powell,  &c. ;  and  a  me- 
morial clerestory  window,  Christ  Blessing  Little  Children,  and  Raising  Juirus's 
Daughter,  is  beautifully  painted  by  Ward  and  Nixon.  The  altar-floor  is  laid  with 
Minton's  tiles ;  the  font  is  nicely  sculptured ;  the  Organ  is  from  the  old  church  at 
Hackney :  the  tower  has  a  fine  peal  of  eight  bells. 

St.  John's,  Notting-hill,  an  Early  English  cross  church,  designed  by  Stevens  and 
Alexander,  and  consecrated  Jan.  22,  1845,  stands  upon  an  elevated  portion  of  Ken- 
sington Park,  facing  Ladbroke  Grove,  and  has  a  tower  156  feet  high,  seen  to 
picturesque  advantage. 

St.  John's,  Oxford-square,  Paddington,  is  a  debased  imitation  of  New  College 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  173 


Chapel  in  the  exterior ;  architect,  Fowler  :  it  possesses  a  good  stained  glass  window  of 
the  Twelve  Apostles. 

St.  Jude's,  Gray's  Inn  Road,  was  the  first  church  which  received  aid  from  the 
Bishop  of  London's  Fund ;  founded,  November,  1862 ;  style,  Early  English ;  archi- 
tect, Joseph  Peacock.  The  tower,  at  the  south-east  angle,  is  100  feet  high,  ter- 
minating with  an  iron  finial.  All  the  chancel  windows  are  of  stained  glass.  The 
three  lancet  windows,  the  gift  of  a  lady,  represent  the  Birth,  Crucifixion,  and  Resurrec- 
tion, of  Our  Lord.  The  large  rose-window  is  a  thank-offering  of  the  congregation  :  in 
the  centre  circle  is  the  Ascension ;  and  in  the  tracery  around  the  Annunciation  are — 
Disputing  in  the  Temple,  the  Baptism,  the  Agony,  Bearing  the  Cross,  the  First 
Appearance  to  Mary,  the  Journey  to  Emmaus,  and  the  Pentecost.  The  reredos  is  of 
Caen  stone,  and  represents  the  Last  Supper  carved  in  relief,  the  wall  on  each  side  being 
richly  covered  with  tiles  in  pattern.  The  Organ,  which  is  of  original  arrangement,  is 
in  the  Chancel  aisle,  under  the  tower,  and  is  free  and  open  to  the  choir. 

St.  Lawrence  Jewry,  King-street,  Cheapside,  was  commenced  by  Wren,  in  1671, 
upon  the  site  of  the  old  church,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire :  it  has  a  tower  and 
steeple  130  feet  high,  with,  for  a  vane,  a  gilt  gridiron,  the  emblem  of  St.  Lawrence ; 
the  east  end,  in  King- street,  is  so  pure  as  to  be  almost  Grecian.  The  interior  has 
some  excellent  plaster-work,  in  wreaths  and  branches ;  and  the  organ-case,  pulpit,  and 
doorways  are  richly-carved  oak.  In  the  centre  is  a  large  pew  for  the  Lord  Mayor  and 
Common  Council,  the  church  being  used  for  Corporation  Sermons.  Here  Tillotson  was 
Tuesday  lecturer ;  was  married  1663-4 ;  and  buried  in  1694,  three  years  after  he  was 
consecrated  Archbishop  of  Canterbury  :  his  sculptured  monument  is  on  the  north  wall 
of  the  church.  The  Vestry-room  walls  are  entirely  cased  with  fine  dark  carved  oak  j 
and  che  ceiling  has  elaborate  plaster  foliage,  and  a  painting,  by  Thornhill,  of  St.  Law- 
rence. In  the  old  church,  mentioned  1293,  was  buried  Thomas  Boleyn,  Earl  of  Wilt- 
shire, whose  daughter  Anna  married  King  Henry  VIII.,  and  was  the  mother  of  Queen 
Elizabeth  :  here  lay  also  the  remains  of  Richard  Rich,  mercer  (d.  1469),  from  whom  de- 
scended the  Earls  of  Warwick.  There  are  a  fine  peal  of  bells,  two  good  windows  by 
Clayton  and  Bell,  and  an  excellent  Organ  by  Schmidt. 

St,  Leonard's,  Eastcheap,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  not  rebuilt,  had  a  curious 
affix.  Newcourt  oddly  says : — "  On  Fish-street-hill,  in  the  Ward  of  Bridge  Within, 
stood  St.  Leonard  Milk  Church,  so  called  after  one  William  Melker,  the  builder 
thereof." 

St.  Leonard's,  Shoreditch  (anciently  Soresdich),  occupies  the  site  of  a  church 
mentioned  in  grants  early  in  the  thirteenth  century.  The  last  church  (which  had  four 
gables  in  a  line,  and  a  low  square  tower)  was  taken  down  in  1736  :  and  the  present 
church  built  by  the  elder  Dance  in  1740  :  it  has  a  steeple  imitated  from  that  of  St. 
Mary-le-Bow,  Cheapside,  and  a  fine  peal  of  twelve  bells.     The  Organ  is  by  Bridge. 

Holywell-street,  in  this  parish,  now  High-street,  Shoreditch,  was  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth 
and  James  I.  inhabited  by  players  of  distinction,  connected  with  the  Curtain  Theatre,  the  Blackfriars 
Theatre,  and  the  Globe  on  the  Bankside.  The  parish  register  (within  a  period  of  sixty  years)  records 
the  interment  of  the  following  celebrated  characters  :— Will  Sommers,  Henry  VIll.'s  jester;  Richard 
Tarlton,  the  famous  clown  of  Queen  Elizabeth's  time ;  James  Burbage,  and  his  more  celebrated  son, 
Richard  Burbage ;  Gabriel  Spenser,  the  player,  who  fell  in  1598,  in  a  duel  with  Ben  Jonson ;  William 
Sly  and  Richard  Cowley,  two  original  performers  in  Shakspeare's  plays ;  the  Countess  of  Rutland,  the 
only  child  of  the  famous  Sir  Philip  Sidney ;  Portunatus  Greene,  the  unfortunate  offspring  of  Robert 
Greene,  the  poet  and  player.  Another  original  performer  in  Shakspeare's  plays,  who  lived  in  Holywell- 
street,  in  this  parish,  was  Nicholas  Williamson  alias  Tooley,  whose  name  is  recorded  in  gilt  letters  on 
the  north  side  of  the  altar  as  a  yearly  benefactor  of  el.  10*.,  still  distributed  in  bread  every  year  to  the 
poor  of  the  parish,  to  whom  it  was  bequeathed. — Cunningham's  Handbook,  p.  285. 

In  the  register  is  entered,  among  the  "  Burialles,  Thomas  Cam,  ye  22d  inst.  of 
Januarye,  1588,  Aged  207  years,  Holywell-street.  George  Garrow,  parish  clerk."  [Is 
not  2  written  for  1  in  the  number  of  years  ?]  At  St.  Leonard's  is  annually  preached  the 
endowed  Lecture  founded  by  Mr.  Thomas  Fairchild,  gardener,  who  carried  on  his  busi- 
ness in  Selb/s  Gardens,  extending  from  the  west  end  of  Ivy -lane  to  the  New  North-road. 
By  his  will,  in  1728,  he  bequeathed  the  sum  of  257.,  the  interest  of  which  he  desired 
might  be  given  annually  to  the  lecturer  of  St.  Leonard's,  for  preaching  on  Whit- 
Tuesday  a  sermon  on  "  The  Wonderful  Works  of  God  in  the  Creation,"  or  "OntheCer- 


174  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

tainty  of  the  Eesurrection  of  the  Dead,  proved  by  certain  changes  of  the  Animal  and 
Vegetable  parts  of  the  Creation."  The  bequest  came  into  operation  in  1730,  and  has 
been  continued  ever  since.  The  sum  bequeathed  by  Mr.  Fairchild  was  increased  by 
subscriptions  to  1001.  South-Sea  Annuities,  producing  31.  per  annum,  which  was  trans- 
ferred to  the  President  and  Council  of  the  Royal  Society.  To  the  subscription  added 
to  the  bequest,  Archdeacon  Denne  added  291.  out  of  the  money  he,  the  first  lecturer, 
had  received  for  preaching  the  sermon.  It  was  the  custom  for  the  President  and 
Fellows  of  the  Royal  Society  to  hear  this  sermon  preached.  Stukeley  records  :— 
"  Whitsunday,  June  4, 1750, 1  went  with  Mr.  Folkes,  and  other  Fellows,  to  Shoreditch, 
to  hear  Dr.  Denne  preach  Fairchild's  sermon,  On  the  Beautys  of  the  Vegetable  World. 
We  were  entertained  by  Mr.  Whetman,  the  vinegar-merchant,  at  his  elegant  house  by 
Moorfields ;  a  pleasant  place,  encompassed  with  gardens  well  stored  with  all  sorts  of 
curious  flowers  and  shrubs,  where  we  spent  the  day  very  agreeably,  enjoying  all  the 
pleasures  of  the  country  in  town,  with  the  addition  of  philosophical  company." — 
MS.  Journal. 

St.  Luke's,  Nutford-place,  Edgware-road,  was  erected  in  1856,  Ewan  Christian, 
architect,  as  a  thank-offering  for  the  exemption  from  cholera,  where,  at  the  time,  fifty 
in  a  thousand  was  the  rate  of  mortality  in  some  parishes,  and  only  two  in  a  thousand 
suffered.  The  cost  was  13,782?.,  of  which  6000Z.  was  for  the  site ;  the  church  was 
built  chiefly  for  working-men,  by  whom  it  is  well  attended. 

St.  Luke's  Church,  Chelsea  (the  Old  Church),  near  the  river,  consists  of  a  Nave, 
Chancel,  and  side  aisles ;  the  chancel  rebuilt  early  in  the  sixteenth  century ;  chapel  at 
the  east  end  added  by  Sir  Thomas  More  about  1520 ;  and  the  tower  of  brick,  built 
1667-1674.  The  interior  has  been  much  altered.  Its  tombs  of  "  divers  persons  of 
quality"  are  very  interesting.  In  the  chancel  is  an  ancient  altar-tomb,  without  in- 
scription, supposed  to  belong  to  a  Bray,  of  Eton.  Here,  on  the  south  wall,  is  the 
black  marble  tablet,  erected  by  Sir  Thomas  More,  in  1532  (see  ante,  p.  90),  with 
the  famous  biographical  epitaph,  in  Latin,  from  More's  own  pen,  and  the  following  to 
More  and  his  two  wives  : — 

"Chara  Thom«  jacet  hie  Joanna  uxorcula  Moei, 

Qui  tumulum  Aliclk  hunc  destino,  quique  mihi. 
Una  mihi  dedit  hoc  conjuncta  virentibus  annis, 

Me  vocet  ut  puer,  et  trina  puella  patrem. 
Altera  privignis  (quae  gloria  rara  noverea;  est) 

Tarn  pia,  quam  quatis,  vix  fuit  ulla  suis. 
Altera  sic  mecum  vixit,  sic  altera  vivit, 

Charior  incertum  est,  qua?  sit  an  ilia  fuit. 
0  siraul,  O  juncti  poteraraus  vivere  nostros, 

Quam  bene,  si  fatum  religioque  sinant. 
At  soeiet  tumulus,  societ  nos,  obseero,  ccelum ! 

Sic  mors,  non  potuit  quod  dare  vita,  dabit." 

This  elegant  Latin  is  considered  to  be  not  excelled  by  any  epitaph  in  that  or  any 
other  language.  In  the  biographical  epitaph,  the  word  "  hereticisque"  was  purposely 
omitted  when  the  monument  was  restored  on  both  occasions  :  there  is  a  blank  space 
left.  Over  the  tomb  are  the  crest  of  Sir  Thomas  More,  namely,  a  Moor's  head ;  the 
arms  of  himself  and  his  two  wives. 

Sir  Thomas  More  is  stated  to  have  been  buried  here,  but  this  is  disputed  :  most  probably,  he  was 
buried  in  the  chapel  of  St.  Peter-in-the-Tower ;  though  Aubrey  distinctly  states  that  "after  More  was 
beheaded,  his  trunk  was  interred  in  Chelsey  Church,"  beneath  the  monument  already  described.  The 
decapitated  head  of  More  was  long  kept  in  the  Tudor  mansion  of  Baynard's,  in  Surrey,  by  More's  favourite 
daughter,  Margaret  Roper,  who  once  lived  here.  The  skull  of  Sir  Thomas  was  finally  deposited  in  the 
vault  of  the  Ropers,  in  St.  Dunstan's  Church,  in  the  suburbs  of  Canterbury,  where  it  was  seen  by  JK. 
W.  Brayley,  about  sixty  years  ago. — (See  Note  in  Brayley's  Survey,  vol.  v.  p.  183.) 

The  Rev.  Mr.  Blunt  suggests  that  the  ancient  dedication  of  the  church  was  to  All  Saints,  though 
it  has  long  been  appropriated  to  St.  Luke.  The  Chancel,  with  the  chantries  north  and  south  of  it,  are 
the  only  portions  of  ancient  work  left.  The  north  chantry,  called  the  Manor  Chantry,  once  contained 
the  monuments  of  the  Brays,  now  in  very  imperfect  condition  ;  having  been  destroyed  or  removed  to 
make  space  for  those  of  the  Gervoise  family.  There  remains,  however,  an  ancient  brass  in  the  floor. 
Of  the  south,  or  More  Chantry,  Mr.  Blunt  states  that  the  monument  of  Sir  Thomas  More  was  removed 
from  it  to  the  chancel,  and  the  chantry  had  been  occupied  by  the  monuments  of  the  Georges  family,  now 
also  removed,  displaced,  and  destroyed.  Notwithstanding  the  current  contrary  opinion,  founded  on 
Aubrey's  assertion,  the  More  monument  (says  Mr.  Blunt)  is  the  original  one  for  which  Sir  Thomas  More 
himself  dictated  the  epitaph. 

Mr.  Burnell,  the  architect  of  the  improvements  effected  subsequently  to  1857,  speaks  positively  as 
to  the  non-existence  of  a  crypt  which  conjecture  had  placed  under  the  More  chantry.    The  foundation 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  175 


of  the  west  end  of  the  church,  before  it  was  enlarged  in  1666,  he  found  west  of  Lord  Dacre's  tomb.  On 
the  nortli  side  of  the  chancel  an  aumbry,  and  on  the  south  a  piscina,  were  found,  coeval  with  the  chancel 
(early  fourteenth  century).  The  arch  between  the  More  Chantry  and  the  chancel  is  a  specimen  of 
Italian  workmanship,  dated  1528 ;  a  date  confirmed  by  the  objects  represented  in  the  carved  ornaments, 
those  objects  being  connected  with  the  Roman  Catholic  ritual.  It  is  a  remarkably  early  instance  of  the 
use  of  Italian  architecture  in  this  country. 

Here  are  these  monuments :  one  with  kneeling  figures,  to  Thomas  Hungerford ;  to 
the  daughter  of  Sir  Theodore  Mayerne,  wife  of  Peter  de  Caumont,  Marquis  de  Cugnac ; 
Jane  Dudley,  Duchess  of  Northumberland,  beheaded  for  proclaiming  Lady  Jane  Grey, 
mother  of  Queen  Elizabeth's  favourite,  Robert  Dudley,  Earl  of  Leicester  ;  her  daughter 
Mary  was  the  mother  of  Sir  Philip  Sidney  ["  her  monument  at  east  end  of  south 
chapel  is  not  unlike  Chaucer's  in  Westminster  Abbey,  but  sadly  mutilated;" — Cun- 
ningham] ;  Gregory,  Lord  Dacre,  and  Lady  Ann,  his  wife :  the  latter  founded  the 
almshouses  in  Westminster  which  bear  her  name ;  she  was  sister  to  Sackville,  Earl  of 
Dorset,  the  poet.  In  a  chapel  of  the  north  aisle  lie  the  Laurence  family,  after  whom 
"  Lawrence-street,"  Chelsea,  was  called.  In  the  same  aisle  is  the  monument  (said  by 
Walpole  to  be  by  Bernini,  and  cost  500Z.),  to  Lady  Jane  Cheyne,  and  wife  of  Charles 
Cheyne,  Esq.,  whence  Cheyne-row ;  she  is  represented  lying  on  her  l'ight  side,  and 
leaning  on  a  Bible. 

In  the  south-west  corner  of  the  church  is  a  mural  monument  to  Dr.  Edward 
Chamberlayne,  with  a  punning  Latin  epitaph :  it  mentions  that  some  of  his  books 
[MSS.],  inclosed  in  wax,  were  buried  with  him ;  yet  when  his  tomb  fell  into  decay 
not  a  vestige  of  them  could  be  found.  Prom  a  Latin  epitaph  on  his  daughter,  we 
learn  that  on  June  30,  1690,  she  fought  valiantly  in  men's  clothing  six  hours  against 
the  French,  on  board  a  fire-ship  under  the  command  of  her  brother. 

In  the  church  are  interred,  without  monuments,  the  mother  of  John  Fletcher,  the 
poet ;  the  mother  of  George  Herbert  and  Lord  Herbert  of  Cherbury :  Dr.  Donne 
preached  her  funeral  sermon  in  this  church,  and  Izaak  Walton  tells  us  he  heard  him  ; 
Thomas  Shadwell,  the  Mac-Flecknoe  :  his  funeral  sermon  was  preached  in  this  church 
by  Nicholas  Brady,  Nahum  Tate's  associate  in  the  Psalms ;  Abel  Boyer,  author  of  a 
Life  of  Queen  Anne  and  the  French  Dictionary  which  bears  his  name ;  Cipriani,  the 
elegant  painter  and  designer ;  Dr.  Martyn,  translator  of  Virgil ;  Henry  Mossop,  the 
actor ;  Dr.  Kenrick,  the  annotator  of  Shakspeare ;  Sir  John  Fielding,  the  magistrate ; 
and  Henry  Sampson  Woodfall,  printer  of  Junius. 

In  the  churchyard  is  the  mystic  monument  of  the  great  naturalist  and  virtuoso,  Sir 
Hans  Sloane,  M.D.,  who  attended  Queen  Anne  in  her  last  illness,  and  was  the  first 
medical  man  created  a  baronet ;  his  collections  became  the  nucleus  of  the  British 
Museum.  Here,  too,  is  a  pyramidal  monument  erected  by  the  Linnean  and  Horticul- 
tural Societies  to  Philip  Miller,  author  of  the  Gardeners'  Dictionary ;  he  was  nearly 
fifty  years  gardener  to  the  Apothecaries'  Company's  Garden  at  Chelsea. 

The  Register,  under  Feb.  13,  1577-8,  records  the  baptism  of  "  Charles,  a  boy  by 
estimacon  10  or  12  yers  olde,  brought  by  Sir  Walter  Rawlis  from  Guiane."  John 
Larke,  presented  to  the  rectory  of  Chelsea,  in  1530,  by  Sir  Thomas  More,  was  exe- 
cuted at  Tyburn,  in  1544,  for  following  the  example  of  his  patron,  in  denying  the 
King's  supremacy. 

St.  Luke's  New  Chttech,  Chelsea,  was  founded  in  1820 ;  Savage,  architect,  one  of 
the  restorers  of  the  Temple  Church ;  style,  Gothic,  14th  and  15th  centuries.  The  build- 
ing is  of  brick,  cased  with  Bath  stone.  It  has  a  pinnacled  tower,  142  feet  high,  with 
arcaded  entrance  porch.  The  north  and  south  fronts  have  bold  buttresses;  and  the 
east  front  is  magnificent.  The  vaulting,  60  feet  in  height,  is  entirely  of  stone ;  and 
under  the  clerestory  windows  is  a  triforium ;  the  Nave  is  divided  from  the  aisles  by  an 
arcade  and  clustered  pillars.  The  altar-screen  is  ably  sculptured,  and  in  the  centre  is 
a  picture  of  the  Ascension,  stated  to  be  by  Northcote.  The  interior  length  of  the 
church  is  130  feet.  The  Organ,  built  by  Nicholls,  contains  33  stops  and  1876  pipes, 
and  is  one  of  the  most  powerful  instruments  in  the  metropolis. 

In  the  churchyard  lie  Blanchard  and  Egerton,  the  actors,  side  by  side.  Captain 
M'Leod,  who  wrote  the  Voyage  of  the  Alceste,  1817  ;  and  Alexander  Stephens,  who 
wrote  a  Life  of  John  Home  Tooke,  and  edited  the  Annual  Biography  and  Obituary. 
In  a  cemetery  in  the  KingVroad,  given  to  St.  Luke's  parish  in  1733,  by  Sir  Hans 


176  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Sloane,  is  buried  Andrew  Millar,  the  bookseller,  who  lived  in  the  Strand,  "  at 
Buchanan's  Head"  (see  his  imprint  to  Thomson's  Seasons)  ;  his  grave  is  marked  by  an 
obelisk  in  the  centre  of  the  ground. 

St.  Luke's,  near  the  centre  of  Old-street-road,  is  one  of  the  fifty  Queen  Anne 
churches,  and  was  consecrated  on  St.  Luke's  day,  Oct.  16,  1733.  It  is  built  of  stone, 
and  has  an  obelisk  spire,  a  masterpiece  of  absurdity.  The  parish  was  taken  out  of  St. 
Giles's,  Cripplegate. 

St.  Magnus  the  Mabtyb,  London  Bridge,  was  burnt  in  the  Great  Fire,  and 
rebuilt  by  Wren,  1676.  It  has  a  tower,  octagon  lantern,  cupola,  and  spire,  added 
in  1705,  which  are  very  picturesque.  The  footway  under  the  tower,  on  the  east  side, 
was  made  in  1760,  through  the  recesses  and  groined  arches  originally  formed  in  the 
main  building  by  Wren,  as  if  he  had  seen  its  necessity  whenever  the  street  leading  to 
Old  London  Bridge  required  widening. 

This  improvement  was  made  after  the  destruction  of  the  church  roof  by  fire,  April  18, 1760,  which 
began  in  an  oilman's  premises  in  Thames-street,  adjoining  the  church,  and  consumed  seven  houses  and 
all  the  warehouses  on  Fresh  Wharf.  This  conflagration  was  occasioned  by  the  neglect  of  a  servant, 
who  left  some  inflammable  substances  boiling  while  he  went  to  see  Karl  Ferrers  return  from  his  trial  and 
condemnation  for  murder :  before  the  man  could  get  back,  the  shop  was  in  flames. 

Miles  Coverdale  was  for  a  short  time  rector  of  St.  Magnus :  he  was  buried  in  St. 
Bartholomew's  by  the  Exchange,  which  being  taken  down  ill  1840,  Coverdale's  remains 
were  removed,  and  interred  in  St.  Magnus',  where  a  monument  to  his  memory  was 
erected  in  1837. 

The  inscription  upon  Coverdale's  tomb  states: — "On  the  4th  of  October,  1535,  the  first  complete 
English  version  of  the  Bible  was  published  under  his  direction."  The  third  centenary  of  this  event 
was  celebrated  by  the  clergy  throughout  the  churches  of  England,  October  4, 1835;  and  several  medals 
were  struck  upon  the  occasion. 

The  handsomely  carved  and  gilt  projecting  dial,  affixed  to  St.  Magnus'  tower,  was  the 
gift  of  Sir  Charles  Duncomb,  in  1709,  and  cost  4851.  5s.  4d. :  Sir  Charles,  it  is  related, 
when  a  poor  boy,  had  once  to  wait  upon  London  Bridge  a  considerable  time  for  his  master, 
whom  he  missed  through  not  knowing  the  hour ;  he  then  vowed  that  if  ever  he  became 
successful  in  the  world,  he  would  give  to  St.  Magnus'  a  public  clock,  that  passengers 
might  see  the  time ;  and  this  dial  proves  the  fulfilment  of  his  vow.  It  was  originally 
ornamented  with  several  richly  gilded  figures :  upon  a  small  metal  shield  inside  the  clock 
are  engraven  the  donor's  arms,  with  this  inscription  :  "  The  gift  of  Sir  Charles  Duncomb, 
Knight,  Lord  Maior,  and  Alderman  of  this  ward.  Langley  Bradley  fecit,  1709." 
Sir  Charles  also  presented  the  large  Organ  in  St.  Magnus'  Church :  it  was  built  by 
Jordan,  in  1712,  as  announced  in  the  Spectator  : 

"  Whereas,  Mr.  Abraham  Jordan,  senior  and  junior,  have  with  their  own  hands,  joynery  excepted, 
made  and  erected  a  very  large  Organ  in  St.  Magnus'  Church,  at  the  foot  of  London  Bridge,  consisting  of 
four  sets  of  keys,  one  of  which  is  adapted  to  the  art  of  emitting  sounds  by  swelling  the  notes,  which 
never  was  in  any  Organ  before ;  this  instrument  will  be  publicly  opened  on  Sunday  next,  the  performance 
by  Mr.  John  Robinson.  The  abovesaid  Abraham  Jordan  gives  notice  to  all  masters  and  performers, 
that  he  will  attend  every  day  next  week  at  the  said  church,  to  accommodate  all  those  gentlemen  who 
shall  have  a  curiosity  to  hear  it." — Spectator,  Feb.  8, 1712. 

This  instrument  still  exists,  but  has  been  much  altered  and  modernized  by  Parsons ; 
and  at  present,  only  three  of  the  original  four  sets  of  keys  remain. — A  Short  Account 
of  Organs,  &c,  1847. 

The  tower  has  a  peal  of  ten  bells.  A  bronzed  or  copper  medalet,  date  1676,  bears 
on  its  obverse  a  view  of  old  St.  Magnus'  Church.  Here  was  buried  Hervey  Yevele,  or 
Zenely,  described  by  Stow  as  Free-Mason  to  Edward  III.,  Richard  II.,  and  Henry  IV. : 
ho  assisted  to  erect  the  tomb  of  Richard  II.  in  Westminster  Abbey,  between  1395  and 
1397,  and  prepared  plans  for  raising  the  walls  of  Westminster  Hall. 

St.  Maegaeet's,  Lothbury,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  rebuilt  by  Wren  in 
1690,  has  a  steeple  140  feet  high ;  two  carved  and  painted  figures  of  Moses  and 
Aaron,  brought  from  St.  Christopher-le-Stocks,  when  that  church  was  taken  down; 
and  a  marble  font  attributed  to  Gibbons,  resembling  that  in  St.  James's  Church,  Pic- 
cadilly.    The  Organ  is  by  England. 

St.  Maegaeet  Patten's,  Fenchurch-street,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  re- 
built by  Wren  in  1687,  contains  a  fine  altar-picture — Angels  ministering  to  Christ  in 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  177 

the  Garden — ascribed  to  Carlo  Maratti.  About  the  altar-piece  are  some  exquisitely- 
carved  flowers.  Against  the  south  wall  is  a  large  monument,  by  Rysbrack,  to  Sir  P. 
Delme,  Lord  Mayor  in  1723.  The  church  was  named  from  the  patten-makers,  who 
formerly  mostly  lived  in  the  neighbourhood. 

St.  Margaret's  parish  church,  Westminster,  is  placed  a  short  distance  from  the 
north  door  of  Westminster  Abbey :  it  was  originally  built  about  1064,  by  Edward  the 
Confessor,  for  the  people  who  had  thickly  settled  around  the  Abbey,  and  were  greatly 
increased  by  those  who  sought  here  the  privilege  of  Sanctuary.  This  Norman  edifice 
was  destroyed,  and  the  church  rebuilt  in  the  reign  of  Edward  I.,  of  which  period  there 
exist  a  few  remains.  It  was  considerably  altered  in  the  time  of  Edward  IV.,  when, 
probably,  a  flight  of  steps  led  up  to  the  church-door,  the  surrounding  level  having 
been  raised  about  nine  feet  above  the  original  surface :  a  stone  cross  and  a  pulpit 
formerly  stood  here,  as  at  St.  Paul's.  Soon  after  the  ancient  Chapel  of  St.  Stephen 
had  been  given  up  for  the  sittings  of  the  House  of  Commons,  it  is  supposed  the  mem- 
bers attended  Divine  Service  in  St.  Margaret's,  as  the  Lords  went  to  the  Abbey 
Church.  On  Sept.  25,  1642,  the  Covenant  was  read  from  St.  Margaret's  pulpit,  and 
taken  by  both  Houses  of  Parliament,  the  Assembly  of  Divines,  and  the  Scots  Commis- 
sioners. Here  also  were  preached  the  lengthy  Fast-day  Sermons;  and  Hugh 
Peters,  "  the  pulpit  buffoon,"  persuaded  the  Parliament  to  bring  Charles  "  to  condign, 
speedy,  and  capital  punishment,"  while  the  churchyard  was  guarded  by  soldiers  with 
pikes  and  muskets.  St.  Margaret's  did  not  escape  plunder  by  the  Puritans ;  but  in 
1660,  "  the  State's  Arms,"  richly  carved  and  gilt,  were  set  up  in  the  church,  and  they 
are  still  preserved  in  the  vestry.  In  1641,  a  gallery  was  built  over  the  north  aisles; 
and  in  1681,  another  over  the  south  aisles,  "  exclusively  for  persons  of  quality,"  the 
latter  erected  at  the  expense  of  Sir  John  Cutler,  the  miser  satirized  by  Pope.  Doctors 
Burnet  and  Sprat,  old  rivals,  once  preached  here  before  Parliament  in  one  morning ; 
and  on  Palm  Sunday,  1713,  Dr.  Sacheverell  preached  here  first  after  the  term  of  his 
suspension  :  40,000  copies  of  this  sermon  were  sold.  In  1735,  St.  Margaret's  was 
repaired  at  the  expense  of  Parliament,  when  the  tower  was  faced  with  Portland  stone 
and  raised  20  feet,  being  now  85  feet  high :  it  has  a  fine  peal  of  ten  bells,  the  tenor 
weighing  26  cwt.  In  1753  was  placed  over  the  altar-table  a  relievo  of  our  Lord's 
Supper  at  Emmaus,  sculptured  in  limewood,  by  Aiken  of  Soho,  from  Titian's  celebrated 
picture  in  the  Louvre.  In  1758,  the  east  end  was  rebuilt  and  made  apsidal ;  and  the 
great  east  window  removed,  and  replaced  by  the  present  beautiful  cinque-cento  window, 
said  to  have  occupied  five  years  executing,  at  Gouda  in  Holland,  intended  as  a  present 
from  the  magistrates  of  Dort  to  Henry  VII. 

This  celebrated  glass  painting  represents  the  Crucifixion,  with  angels  receiving  the  blood-drops  from 
the  Saviour's  wounds ;  an  angel  wafts  the  soul  of  the  good  thief  to  paradise,  and  a  dragon  (the  devil) 
bears  the  soul  of  the  wicked  thief  to  eternal  punishment.  The  six  upper  compartments  are  filled  with 
as  many  angels,  bearing  the  cross,  the  sponge,  the  crown  of  thorns,  the  hammer,  the  rods,  and  nails. 
In  the  lower  compartment  (right)  is  Arthur  Prince  of  Wales,  eldest  son  of  Henry  VII.,  and  above  him 
St.  George  and  the  red  and  white  rose ;  and  to  the  left  is  Catherine  of  Arragon,  Arthur's  bride,  with 
above  her  the  figure  of  St.  Cecilia,  and  a  bursting  pomegranate,  the  emblem  of  Granada.  The  window 
is  also  said  to  have  been  ordered  by  Ferdinand  and  Isabella,  on  Prince  Arthur  being  affianced,  in  1499, 
to  the  Princess  Catherine,  their  portraits  being  procured  for  the  purpose.  It  was  probably  finished 
after  his  brother's  death,  to  be  sent  as  a  gift  to  Henry  VIII.  The  king  gave  it  to  Waltham  Abbey, 
where  it  remained  until  the  Dissolution,  a.d.  1540;  when  the  last  abbot  sent  it  for  safety  to  his  private 
chapel  at  New  Hall,  which,  by  purchase,  subsequently  became  the  property  of  Sir  Thomas,  father  cf 
Anne  Boleyn,  queen  of  Henry  VIII.  The  chapel  remained  undisturbed  until  General  Monk  becoming 
possessor  of  New  Hall,  to  save  the  window  from  destruction  by  the  Puritans,  had  it  buried  underground. 
After  the  Restoration,  Monk  replaced  the  window  in  the  chapel.  Subsequent  to  his  death,  the  seat  fell 
into  decay,  and  the  chapel  was  taken  down :  but  the  window  was  preserved  for  some  time  cased  up, 
until  purchased  by  Mr.  Conyers,  of  Copt  Hall,  Essex,  by  whose  son  it  was  sold,  in  1758,  to  the  church- 
wardens of  St.  Margaret's  for  400  guineas :  it  was  then  placed  in  the  church,  re-opened  in  1759,  a  fine 
anthem  for  the  occasion  being  composed  by  Dr.  Boyce.  A  prosecution  was  now  instituted  against  the 
parishioners  by  the  Dean  and  Chapter  of  Westminster,  for  putting  up  what  was  attempted  to  be  proved 
" a  superstitious  image  or  picture."  After  seven  years'  suit,  the  bill  was  dismissed;  in  memory  of 
which  Mr.  Churchwarden  Peirson  presented,  as  a  gift  for  ever,  to  the  churchwardens  of  the  parish,  a 
richly-chased  cup,  stand,  and  cover,  silver- gQt,  weighing  93  oz.  15  dwt.,  which  is  the  loving-cup  of  St. 
Margaret's,  and  is  produced  with  especial  ceremony  at  the  chief  parochial  entertainments. 

St.  Margaret's  is  otherwise  rich  in  painted  glass :  the  north-east  window  is  filled  with  gold  mosais 
designs,  the  Holy  Monogram,  the  red  and  white  roses,  and  portcullis,  and  a  saint  (Iago  of  Compostella?) 
bearing  an  open  book.  The  crescent  beside  the  rose,  Mr.  Bickman  thought,  denoted  some  "  expectancy 
of  regal  amplitude ;"  so  Shakspeare : 

"  Pompey.  My  power  's  a  crescent,  and  my  auguring  hope 

Says  it  will  come  to  the  full." — Ant.  and  Cleop.  act  ii.  sc.  1. 

K 


178  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

In  this  and  the  south-east  windows  arc  the  arms  of  Edward  the  Confessor,  represented  as  blazoned  by 
the  heralds  temp.  Henry  VIII.  The  saint  in  the  centre  is  St.  Michael  overcoming  the  dragon. — 
Abridged  from  Walcott's  Westminster. 

The  Chancel  is  decorated  in  polychrome  by  Willement :  and  over  the  reredos  are 
crocketed  canopies,  coloured  ruby,  azure,  and  emerald  diaper,  and  richly  gilded.  In 
1802,  the  present  beautifully  carved  pulpit  and  reading-desk,  by  Lenox,  were  erected ; 
the  Speaker's  chair  of  state  was  placed  in  the  front  of  the  west  gallery ;  and  a  new 
Organ,  by  Avery,  was  built.  Altogether,  the  votes  of  the  House  of  Commons  for  the 
repairs  of  this  church  have  been  frequent  and  considerable.  Upon  certain  occasions, 
as  Restoration  Day  (May  29),  the  Chaplain  of  the  House  of  Commons  preached  here ; 
when  the  House  was  usually  represented  by  the  Speaker,  the  Serjeant-at-Arms,  the 
clerks  and  other  officers,  and  some  eight  or  ten  members.  These  and  similar  obser- 
vances, as  on  Jan.  30,  King  Charles's  Martyrdom,  and  Nov.  5,  Gunpowder  Plot,  have 
been  discontinued  since  1858.  The  church  originally  consisted  of  a  Nave  and  Choir, 
with  side  aisles ;  with  chapels  or  altars  in  the  latter  to  St.  Margaret,  St.  George,  St. 
Katherine,  St.  Erasmus,  St.  John,  and  St.  Cornelius,  besides  two  to  St.  Nicholas  and 
St.  Christopher :  the  churchwardens'  accounts  bear  evidence  of  the  maintenance  of 
these  shrines.     In  the  ambulatory  is  a  carved  stall  of  the  16th  century. 

Among  the  names  of  the  more  eminent  of  the  Puritans  who  preached  in  St.  Margaret's,  are  those  of 
Calamy,  Vines,  Nye,  Manton,  Marshall,  Gauden,  Owen,  Burgess,  Newcomen,  Reynolds,  Cheynell, 
Baxter,  Case  (who  censured  Cromwell  to  his  face,  and  when  discoursing  before  General  Monk,  cried 
out,  "  There  are  some  will  betray  three  kingdoms  for  filthy  lucre's  sake,"  and  threw  his  handkerchief 
into  the  General's  pew) ;  the  critical  Lightfoot ;  Taylor,  "  the  illuminated  Doctor ;"  and  Goodwyn,  "  the 
windmill  with  a  weathercock  upon  the  top." — Walcott's  Westminster. 

The  monuments  are  very  numerous :  among  them  are  a  tablet  to  Caxton  the 
printer,  by  Westmacott,  raised  1820  by  the  Roxburgh  Club;  alabaster  figures, 
coloured  and  gilt,  to  Marie  Lady  Dudley  (d.  1600);  brass  tablet,  put  up  by  subscription, 
1845,  to  Sir  Walter  Raleigh,  whose  body  was  interred  within  the  Chancel  of  this  church 
on  the  day  he  was  beheaded  in  the  Old  Palace-yard,  Oct.  29,  1618 ;  a  black  marble 
slab  to  James  Harrington  (d.  1677),  who  wrote  Oceana ;  monument  near  the  porch- 
door  to  Mrs.  E.  Corbet,  with  what  Johnson  considered  "  the  most  valuable  of  all 
Pope's  epitaphs ;"  monument  to  Captain  Sir  Peter  Parker,  Bart.,  R.N.,  with  bas-relief 
of  his  death,  1814,  and  lines  by  Lord  Byron,  in  Chancel  north  aisle  :  a  curious  tablet 
of  Cornelius  Van  Dun  (d.  1577),  with  a  coloured  bust  in  the  uniform  of  the  Yeomen 
of  the  Guard :  and  a  small  monument  to  Mrs.  Joane  Barnett  (d.  1674),  who  left 
money  for  a  yearly  sermon  and  poor  widows :  she  is  said  to  have  sold  oatmeal  cakes  hard 
by  the  church-door,  in  memory  of  which  a  large  oatmeal  pudding  is  a  standing  dish  at 
the  "  Feast."  There  is  but  one  ancient  brass  in  the  church,  the  rest  having  been  sold 
in  1644,  at  3cZ.  and  Ad.  per  pound,  as  the  churchwardens'  accounts  attest.  Weever 
records  the  burial  hereof  John  Skelton,  Poet  Laureate  to  Henry  VIII.  (d.  1529);  and 
the  registers  contain  the  burial  of  Thomas  Churchyarde,  "  Court  Poet "  (d.  1604).  Soon 
after  the  Restoration,  several  bodies  were  disinterred  from  the  Abbey,  and  deposited  in 
a  pit  in  St.  Margaret's  churchyard  :  among  them  was  the  corpse  of  Oliver  Cromwell's 
mother,  from  Henry  VII.'s  Chapel ;  Sir  W.  Constable,  one  of  the  judges  in  the  trial  of 
Charles  I. ;  Admiral  Blake ;  John  Pimme ;  Thomas  May,  the  poet,  &c.  Here,  too, 
are  buried  Sir  William  Waller,  the  Parliament  General  (d.  1668) ;  Hollar,  the  engraver 
(d.  1677),  in  the  churchyard,  "  near  N.w.  corner  of  the  tower "  (Aubrey) ; 
Thomas  Blood,  who  attempted  to  steal  the  regalia  (d.  1680) ;  Gadbury  the  Cavalier 
astrologer,  and  helpmate  of  Lilly  (d.  1704) ;  Frances  Whate  (d.  1736),  a  charwoman, 
buried  in  the  church;  John  Read,  the  "  Walking  Rushlight,"  and  the  oldest  general  in 
the  service  (d.  1807).  The  churchyard  is  extremely  crowded  with  bodies.  In  the 
report  on  Extramural  Sepulture,  1850,  Dr.  Reid  stated,  "  that  the  state  of  the  bury- 
ing-ground  around  St.  Margaret's  Church  is  prejudicial  to  the  air  supplied  at  the 
Houses  of  Parliament,  and  also  to  the  whole  neighbourhood ;"  that  "  these  offensive 
emanations  have  been  noticed  at  all  hours  of  the  night  and  morning ;"  and  that  even 
*  fresh  meat  is  frequently  tainted  "  by  the  deleterious  gases  issuing  from  this  church- 
yard. The  removal  of  the  church  was  proposed  even  in  Stow's  time,  and  has  often 
been  revived :  it  was  favoured  by  Sir  Charles  Barry,  in  his  design  for  the  completion  of 
the  New  Palace  of  Westminster  :  if  allowed  to  remain,  the  church  should  be  restored, 
to  harmonize  with  the  Abbey,  to  which  it  was  originally  an  adjunct.     Among  the  be- 


CHURCHES  AND   CHAPELS.  179 

quests  is  an  endowment,  founded  in  ]781,  by  the  will  of  Mr.  Edward  Dickenson,  who 
left  5000£.  stock,  the  interest  of  which  was  to  be  divided,  on  the  first  month  after 
Easter-day,  between  three  newly-married  couples  from  each  parish  of  St.  Margaret 
and  St.  John  the  Evangelist,  Westminster,  and  of  Acton.  The  distribution  takes  place 
with  the  approbation  of  the  Bishop  of  London ;  and  petitions  are  taken  into  considera- 
tion by  the  trustees  on  the  Wednesday  in  Easter  week,  when  they  decide  on  the  nine 
couples  to  receive  the  bounty,  lbl.  each. 

A  celebrated  heirloom  of  the  parish  is  the  "  Overseers'  Box,"  originally  purchased  at  Horn  Fair  for 
fonrpsnee,  and  presented  by  a  Mr.  Monck  to  his  brother  Overseers,  in  1713.  In  1713,  the  Society  of 
Past  Overseers  commemorated  the  gift  by  adding  to  the  Box  a  silver  rim;  and  in  1726  were  added  a 
silver  side-case  and  bottom.  In  17-10,  an  embossed  border  was  placed  on  the  lid,  and  Vie  bottom 
enriched  with  an  emblem  of  Charity.  In  1746,  Hogarth  engraved  inside  the  lid  a  bust  of  the  Duke  of 
Cumberland,  in  memory  of  the  battle  of  Culloden.  In  1765  was  added  to  the  lid  a  plate  with  the  arms 
of  the  City  of  Westminster,  and  the  inscription : — "  This  Box  is  to  be  delivered  to  every  succeeding  set 
of  Overseers,  on  penalty  of  five  guineas."  The  original  Horn  Box  thus  ornamented  has  been  placed  in 
four  additional  cases,  each  ornar.».ented  by  its  several  custodians,  the  senior  Overseer  for  the  time  being, 
with  silver  plates  engraved  with  the  following  subjects :  — Fireworks  in  St.  James's  Park  (Peace  of 
Aix-la-Chapelle),  1749 ;  Admiral  Keppel's  Action  off  Ushant,  and  his  Acquittal  by  Court  Martial ;  Battle 
of  the  Nile,  1798 j  Repulse  of  Admiral  Linois,  1804;  Battle  of  Trafalgar,  1805;  Action  between  San 
Fiorenzo  and  La  Piedmontaise,  1808;  Battle  of  Waterloo,  1815;  Bombardment  of  Algiers,  1816 ;  House 
of  Lords  at  Trial  of  Queen  Caroline ;  Coronation  of  George  IV.,  and  his  visit  to  Scotland,  1822. 
Portraits  : — Wilkes,  Churchwarden  in  1759 ;  Nelson,  Duncan,  Howe,  and  Vincent;  Fox  and  Pitt,  1806; 
the  Prince  Regent,  1811 ;  Princess  Charlotte,  1817 ;  and  Queen  Charlotte,  1818.  Views : — Interior  of 
Westminster  Hall,  with  Westminster  Volunteers  attending  Divine  Service,  on  Fast-day,  1803 ;  the  old 
Sessions  House;  St.  Margaret's  Church  from  north-east,  the  west  front,  tower,  and  altar-piece.  In 
1813  was  added  to  the  outer  case  a  large  silver  plate  portrait  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  commemorating 
the  centenary  of  the  box.  The  top  of  the  second  case  represents  the  Governors  in  their  board-room, 
inscribed,  "  The  original  Box  and  cases  to  be  given  to  every  succeeding  set  of  Overseers,  on  penalty  of 
fifty  guineas,  1783."  Outside  the  first  case  is  engraved  a  cripple.  In  1793,  a  contumacious  Overseer 
detained  the  Box,  and  it  was  deposited  "in  Chancery"  until  1796,  when  it  was  restored  to  the  Overseers* 
Society ;  this  event  being  commemorated  by  the  addition  of  a  third  case,  of  Justice  trampling  upon  an 
unmasked  man  and  a  serpent,  and  the  Lord  Chancellor  (Loughborough)  pronouncing  his  decree.  On 
the  fourth,  or  outer  case,  is  the  Anniversary  meeting  of  the  Past  Overseers'  Society,  and  the  delivery  of 
the  Box  to  the  succeeding  Overseer,  who  must  produce  it  at  certain  parochial  entertainments,  with  three 
pipes  of  tobacco  at  least,  under  the  penalty  of  six  bottles  of  claret;  and  must  return  the  whole  safe  and 
sound,  with  some  addition,  under  penalty  "of  two  hundred  guineas.  Within  the  Box  is  a  mother-of- 
pearl  tobacco-stopper,  with  a  silver  chain. — Abridged  from  Walcott's  Westminster. 

St.  Mark's,  Kennington  Common,  a  Doric  church,  designed  by  Roper,  and  built 
in  1824,  on  the  spot  formerly  the  place  of  execution  for  Surrey,  and  where  several  per- 
sons suffered  death  in  the  Stuart  cause.    Here  was  executed  "  Jemmy  Dawson,"  1746. 

St.  Mark's,  Old-street-road,  St.  Luke's,  a  beautiful  Early  English  Church,  designed 
by  Ferrey,  and  built  in  1848 :  it  has  a  noble  four-storied  tower  and  spire,  rising  from 
the  ground  125  feet ;  and  the  windows  throughout  the  edifice  are  fine. 

St.  Mark's,  Victoria  Docks,  near  the  little  village  of  Silvsrtown,  was  built  for  the 
accommodation  of  the  "  Londoners  over  the  border."  The  style  is  English  Decorated, 
fifteenth  century :  materials,  inside  and  outside,  white  and  coloured  bricks ;  Teulon, 
architect.     It  contains  1000  sittings,  and  cost  7000£. :  the  Organ,  a  gift,  is  fine. 

St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields,  north  of  the  western  extremity  of  the  Strand,  is  the 
second  church  built  upon  this  site;  the  first  having  been  erected  by  Henry  VIII., 
from  his  disliking  the  funerals  of  inhabitants  passing  Whitehall  in  their  way  to  St, 
Margaret's,  at  Westminster,  as  they  had  no  parish  church.  It  is  probable  that 
there  was  a  building  before  this,  but  "  only  a  chapel  for  the  use  of  the  monks  of  West- 
minster when  they  visited  their  Convent  (Covent)  Garden,  which  then  extended  to 
it." — (J.  Gwilt.)  The  old  church  had  a  low  square  tower,  and  was  strictly  "  in  the 
fields  :"  in  1607,  Henry  Prince  of  Wales  added  a  chancel.  In  this  ancient  church  was 
buried  Nicholas  Stone,  the  sculptor,  his  monument  adorned  with  his  bust  finely  carved 
in  profile,  with  tools  used  in  sculpture,  compasses,  &c. :  he  was  engaged  in  the  building 
of  the  Banqucting-house,  Whitehall.  No  doubt  the  sculpture,  scrolls,  and  other  orna- 
ments in  stone  were  of  his  work.  In  this  church  also  were  interred  Paul  Vansomer, 
portrait-painter,  scarcely  inferior  to  Vandyck ;  Nicholas  Laniere,  painter,  musician, 
and  engraver,  and  who  bought  pictures  for  Charles  I. ;  Nicholas  Lyzard,  who  had  been 
in  the  service  of  Henry  VIII.  and  Edward  VI.,  and  who  was  sergeant-painter  to 
Queen  Elizabeth;  Nicholas  Hilliard,  limner,jeweller,  and  goldsmith  to  Queen  Elizabeth, 
and  afterwards  to  King  James  I. :  he  was,  perhaps,  the  best  miniature-painter  who 

S  2 


180  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

had  appeared :  also  Sir  Theodore  Mayerne,  the  physician,  a  friend  of  Vandyck,  to  whom 
he  communicated  valuahle  information  relating  to  pigments ;  also  Dobson,  the  English 
Vandyck;  George  Farquhar,  the  comic  dramatist;  Nell  Gwynne  was  interred  in 
the  church ;  and  Jack  Sheppard  in  the  burial-ground.  In  the  church  was  buried, 
Oct.  31,  1679,  Sir  Edmund  Berry  Godfrey,  found  murdered  in  a  ditch  near  Chalk 
Farin  :  the  corpse  was  brought  from  Bridewell  Hospital  with  great  pomp,  eight  knights 
supporting  the  pall,  and  attended  by  all  the  City  aldermen,  72  London  ministers, 
and  above  100  persons  of  distinction.  At  the  funeral  sermon  two  divines  stood  by  the 
preacher,  lest  he  should  be  assassinated  by  the  Papists.  The  Hon.  Robert  Boyle  was 
buried  here,  and  his  funeral  sermon  was  preached  by  his  friend  Dr.  Burnet.  The  Organ 
was  built  by  Schmydt,  in  1676,  and  he  himself  was  the  first  organist  here,  and  played 
for  a  salary.  Edward,  a  son  of  the  celebrated  Henry  Purcell,  was  elected  organist  in 
1 726.  The  old  church  was  taken  down  in  1720-21,  and  the  present  church  commenced 
from  a  design  by  Gibbs,  when  King  George  I.,  by  proxy,  laid  the  first  stone,  March  19, 
1721,  gave  the  workmen  100  guineas,  and  subsequently,  upon  being  chosen  church- 
warden, presented  the  Organ,  built  by  Schreider ;  but  this  has  long  given  place  to 
another  Organ,  built  by  Gray. 

The  present  church  was  consecrated  in  1726 :  the  cost  of  its  erection  was  36,891  £.  10s.  4d. 
Its  length,  including  the  portico,  is  equal  to  twice  its  width  :  it  is  in  the  florid  Roman 
or  Italian  style,  and  has  a  very  fine  western  Corinthian  hexastyle  portico  :  the  east  end 
is  truly  elegant,  and  the  round  columns  at  each  angle  of  the  building  render  it  very 
effective  in  profile.  The  tower  and  spire  rise  out  of  the  roof,  behind  the  portico.  The 
interior  is  richly  ornamented,  "  a  little  too  gay  and  theatrical  for  Protestant  worship." 
In  1842,  45  feet  of  the  spire  were  struck  by  lightning,  and  had  to  be  restored  at  the 
expense  of  1000Z. :  the  ball  and  vane  were  also  regilt ;  the  latter  is  6  feet  8  inches 
high  and  5  feet  long,  and  is  surmounted  with  a  crown,  to  denote  this  the  parish  of  the 
Sovereign ;  and  in  its  registers  are  entered  the  births  of  the  royal  children  born  at 
Buckingham  Palace.  The  tower  has  a  fine  peal  of  twelve  bells  ;  but  the  story  of  Nell 
Gwynne  having  left  a  legacy,  paid  weekly  to  the  ringers,  has  no  foundation  in  fact. 
High  in  the  steeple  hangs  a  small  shrill  bell,  formerly  called  the  Sanctus,  and  now 
the  Saint's  or  Parson's  Bell.  "  It  was  rung  before  the  Reformation,  when  the  priest 
came  to  the  Sanctus,  '  Holy,  holy,  holy,  Lord  God  of  Sabaoth  !'  so  that  those  without 
the  church  might  participate  in  the  devotions  of  those  present  at  the  most  solemn 
part  of  the  divine  office." — The  Parish  Choir,  No.  59. 

The  churchyard  was  paved  in  1829;  and  in  1831,  the  vaults  beneath  the  church 
were  reconstructed,  each  vault  being  10  feet  high,  20  wide,  and  40  long.  Here  is  pre- 
served the  old  parish  whipping-post,  with  a  carved  head. 

In  the  present  church  rest  Roubiliac,  the  sculptor ;  and  Scott,  the  author  of  a  Visit 
to  Paris,  who  was  killed  in  a  duel  in  1821.  The  remains  of  John  Hunter  were 
deposited  in  the  vaults  in  1793,  whence  they  were  removed  with  fitting  ceremony  in 
1859  to  Westminster  Abbey. 

St.  Maetin's,  Gospel  Oak  Fields,  between  Kentish  Town  and  Haverstock-hill,  is  a 
carefully  finished  specimen  of  that  now  rare  style,  the  Third  Pointed,  or  Perpendicular. 
The  tower  at  the  north-west,  almost  detached  from  the  body  of  the  church,  is  square, 
lofty,  has  rather  large  windows,  and  an  angle  turret  crowned  by  a  small  spirelet, 
shorter  pinnacles  capping  the  other  angles ;  of  which  form  we  remember  no  other 
example  about  London.  There  are  also  two  capped  turrets  at  the  junction  of  the  Nave 
and  Chancel.  The  windows  have  florid  tracery ;  the  roof  is  an  elaborate  one,  on  the 
hammer-beam  principle,  and  is  of  dark  varnished  timber,  rich  in  effect.  With  the 
parsonage,  this  church  is  estimated  to  cost  13,000^.,  defrayed  by  Mr.  J.  B.  Alcroft ; 
architect,  E.  B.  Lamb.  It  will  accommodate  1000  worshippers,  who  will  all  have  an 
almost  uninterrupted  view  of  the  Chancel,  reading-desk,  and  pulpit ;  400  sittings  are 
free.     The  tower  contains  six  bells,  of  deep  tone. 

St.  Maetin's,  Ironmonger-lane,  was  a  small  church,  and  also  called  St.  Martin 
Pomary,  "  on  what  account  (saith  the  antiquary)  he  knoweth  not ;  but  it  is  supposed 
from  apples  growing  there." 

St.  Maetin's  Ludgate,  near  the  site  of  the  City  gate  of  that  name,  in  Ludgate- 
ptreet,  was  rebuilt  by  Wren  after  the  Great  Fire :  the  steeple  has  a  small  gallery,  and 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  181 

rises  168  feet.  Between  Ludgate-street  and  the  body  of  the  church  is  an  ambulatory, 
the  whole  depth  of  the  tower,  so  as  to  lessen  within  the  church  the  noise  from  the 
street.  In  the  vestry-rooin  are  a  carved  seat  (date  1690),  and  several  curious  coffers 
or  chests.  The  font  has  a  Greek  inscription,  a  palindrome,  i.e.,  it  reads  the  same  back- 
wards as  forwards.     In  the  old  church  was  the  following  epitaph,  dated  1590  :— 

Earth  goes  to        \  f  As  mold  to  mold 

Earth  treads  on      I  -earih    J  Glittering  in  gold 
Earth  as  to            f  1  Peturn  here  should 

Earth  shall  to       J  \  Goe  ere  he  would 

Earth  upon  \  I  Consider  may 

Earth  goes  to         [  -Pa-M.     J  Passed  away 

Earth  though  on    f  £""la     j  Is  stout  and  gay 
Earth  shall  from  )  \  Passe  poor  away. 

The  spire  of  St.  Martin's,  backed  by  the  campanile  towers  and  majestic  dome  of  St. 
Paul's,  seen  from  Fleet-street,  is  a  fine  architectural  group;  although  the  injudicious 
have  condemned  the  spire  as  an  obstacle  in  the  view.  Extraordinary  antiquity  has 
been  claimed  for  the  ancient  church  of  St.  Martin :  according  to  Newcourt,  it  is  alleged 
that  Cadwallo,  the  valiant  King  of  the  Britons,  after  he  had  reigned  for  forty  years, 
died  in  677,  and  was  buried  in  this  place ;  and  Robert  of  Glo'ster  tells  us  of  the  said 
monarch — 

"  A  Church  of  St.  Martyn,  livyng  he  let  rere, 

In  whych  yat  men  shold  Goddys  seruyse  do, 

And  sing  for  his  soule  and  al  Christene  also." 

The  former  church  was  dated  1437.  Samuel  Purchas,  known  by  his  Pilgrimages,  was 
rector  here  in  1613  :  he  is  styled  "  the  English  Ptolemy,"  but  gained  more  fame  than 
profit  by  his  publications. 

St.  Martin  Oegab,  now  united  to  the  adjacent  parish  of  St.  Clement,  near  East- 
cheap,  formerly  possessed  a  church  on  this  spot,  which,  after  having  served  as  a  place  of 
worship  for  French  Protestants  for  about  twenty  years,  was  pulled  down  in  the 
year  1820.  The  old  clock-tower  remained  standing  till  1851,  together  with  two 
adjoining  houses  belonging  to  the  parish,  formerly  known  as  "  the  rectory."  These 
have  been  taken  down,  and  a  new  clock  and  bell-tower  erected,  the  lower  part  forming 
part  of  the  rectory -house ;  the  upper  part  only  being  appropriated  for  the  reception 
of  the  clock,  whilst  the  cupoletta,  which  crowns  the  composition,  receives  an  ancient 
bell,  which  is  highly  valued  by  the  parish.  The  height  is  about  110  feet  to  the  top  of 
the  pine,  which  forms  the  finial.  The  tower  is  five  diameters  high  to  the  top  of  the 
cornice,  the  proportion  adopted  in  most  of  Wren's  towers.  The  bracket-clock  is 
picturesque. 

St.  Mabtin's  Outwich  (Otteswich),  Bishopsgate-street,  was  originally  built  in  the 
fourteenth  century,  in  the  Pointed  style,  with  a  low  tiled  roof  and  square  tower ;  and 
the  churchwardens'  accounts  (1508  to  1545)  contain  entries  of  ancient  usages  previous 
to  the  Reformation :  as,  "  Wyne  on  Relyks  Sondaye,  Id.  ;"  "  Paschall  or  Hallowed 
Taper,  tenebur  Candell  and  Cross  Candell,  License  to  eate  flesh,"  &c.  This  church 
escaped  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  but  was  greatly  injured  in  a  conflagration  in  Nov.  1765, 
which  burnt  fifty  houses.  In  1796,  the  present  church  was  built  by  S.  P.  Cockerell. 
Its  form  is  oval,  with  a  recess  for  the  chancel,  in  the  ceiling  of  which  is  a  light  filled 
with  stained  glass,  mostly  from  the  old  church.  There  are  also  several  monuments 
from  the  same,  including  two  recumbent  stone  figures  of  John  Oterwich  and  bis  wile, 
their  head-cushions  supported  by  angels ;  the  feet  of  the  man  resting  against  a  lion, 
and  those  of  the  female  against  a  dog.  Here  also  is  a  canopied  tomb,  date  1500,  with 
remains  of  brass  figures,  armorial  bearings,  and  labels  against  the  back ;  and  several 
stone  effigies  to  the  memory  of  Alderman  Staper  (1594) :  "  hee  was  the  greatest 
merchant  in  his  tyme,  the  chiefest  actor  in  discovere  of  the  trades  of  Turkey  and  East 
India,  &c. ;"  also  two  brass  figures  of  rectors  of  the  church  in  the  fifteenth  century. 
Few  would  expect  to  find  these  monumental  treasures  within  a  church  of  such  un- 
ecclesiastical  design.  It  contains  also  a  fine  picture  of  the  Resurrection,  by  Rigaud. 
The  South  Sea  House,  which  is  in  St.  Martin's,  was  given  to  the  parish  by  Mrs.  Mar- 
garet Taylor,  in  1667. 

St.  Maet  Abbots',  Kensington,  the  mother-church,  was  rebuilt  1696 :  here  are 
monuments  to  Edward,  eighth  Earl  of  Warwick  and  Holland  (d.  1759),  with  his 


182  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

effigies,  seated,  and  reposing  upon  an  urn ;  and  to  the  three  Colmans :  Francis  Colman  ; 
his  son,  George,  "the  Elder;"  and  his  son, "the  Younger:"  the  two  latter  wrote 
several  comedies,  and  were  proprietors  of  the  Haymarket  Theatre.  In  the  churchyard 
are  monuments  to  Jortin,  author  of  the  Life  of  Erasmus,  and  Vicar  of  Kensington  j 
and  to  Mrs.  Inchhald  (a  Roman  Catholic),  a  heauty,  a  virtue,  a  player,  and  authoress 
of  the  Simple  Story.  Here,  too,  is  huried  William  Courten,  the  traveller  and 
naturalist,  whose  curiosities,  it  is  said,  filled  ten  rooms  in  the  Middle  Temple :  this 
collection  he  bequeathed  to  Sir  Hans  Sloane,  and  thus  it'  became  part  of  the  nucleus  of 
the  British  Museum.  James  Mill,  the  historian  of  British  India,  is  huried  here ;  and  a 
son  of  George  Canning,  with  a  headstone  by  Chantrey.  St.  Mary's,  Kensington,  had  a 
"  Vicar  of  Bray  "  in  one  Thomas  Hodges,  collated  to  the  living  by  Archbishop  Juxon  : 
he  kept  his  preferment  during  the  Civil  War  and  interregnum,  by  joining  alternately 
with  either  party ;  although  a  frequent  preacher  before  the  Long  Parliament  and  one 
of  the  Assembly  of  Divines,  he  was  made  Dean  of  Hereford  after  the  Restoration,  but 
continued  Vicar  of  Kensington. — (Murray's  Environs  of  London,  p.  69.)  The  Organ 
is  a  fine  old  instrument ;  and  there  is  a  good  peal  of  bells.  The  ancient  church  of 
Kensington  (Chenesit)  is  mentioned  in  Domesday,  and  had  for  its  patron  Aubrey  de 
Vere,  who  came  over  with  the  Conqueror,  from  whom  he  received  the  manor. 

St.  Maby  Abchubch,  Abchurch-lane,  was  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire,  and  rebuilt 
by  Wren  in  1686 :  its  tower  and  spire  are  140  feet  high :  the  interior  has  a  large 
cupola,  painted  by  Sir  James  Thornhill ;  and  an  altar-piece,  with  fruit  and  flowers, 
exquisitely  carved  by  Gibbons,  and  originally  painted  after  nature  by  Thornhill.  The 
Organ  is  by  Bishop. 

St.  Maey  Aldeemaby,  Bow-lane,  is  the  third  church  erected  on  this  site.  To  the 
first,  Richard  Chaucer,  vintner,  gave  his  tenement  and  tavern,  with  the  appurtenances 
in  the  royal  street,  the  corner  of  Kerrion-lane,  and  was  there  buried,  1348.  It  is 
believed  that  this  was  the  father  of  Chaucer  the  poet.  Charles  Blunt,  Lord  Mountjoy, 
was  buried  there  about  the  year  1545.  In  1510,  Sir  Henry  Keble,  Lord  Mayor  of 
London,  began  to  rebuild  the  church.  This  church  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire, 
with  the  exception  of  the  tower,  so  built  by  Lord  Mayor  Keble,  the  lower  part  of  which 
was  repaired  by  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  and  the  upper  part  new  built  in  1681,  a  sum 
equal  to  5000Z.  being  furnished  for  that  purpose  by  the  widow  of  Henry  Rogers,  in 
pursuance  of  his  will.  The  clustered  columns,  fine  groinings,  large  circular  ornamental 
openings  for  skylights,  the  ceilings  decorated  with  flowers,  foliage,  and  shields,  and  the 
fine  east  window,  are  admired.  In  1835  some  houses  abutting  upon  the  north  wall  of 
the  church  were  pulled  down,  which  brought  to  light  a  crypt,  possibly  the  vaulted  ceme- 
tery of  the  old  church,  about  50  feet  in  length  and  10  feet  wide,  having  five  arches  on 
each  side  in  the  Pointed  style  of  architecture.  The  church  is  a  specimen  of  Wren's 
Gothic,  for  which  his  apologists  plead  that  he  was  required  to  follow  the  plan  of  the 
old  church  destroyed  by  fire.  The  tower,  with  four  turrets,  is  130  feet  high.  In  the 
great  storm  of  1703,  two  of  these  turrets  were  blown  down. 

St.  Maby's,  Battersea,  a  church  of  tasteless  design,  built  in  1776,  is  remarkable 
for  containing  Roubiliac's  elegant  monument  to  the  celebrated  Lord  Bolingbroke,  and 
his  second  wife,  a  niece  of  Madame  de  Maintenon.  In  the  east  window  are  three 
portraits  :  1.  Margaret  Beauchamp,  ancestor  (by  her  first  husband,  Sir  Oliver  St.  John) 
of  the  St.  Johns,  and  (by  her  second  husband,  John  Beaufort,  Duke  of  Somerset) 
grandmother  to  Henry  VII. ;  2.  the  portrait  of  that  monarch ;  3.  the  portrait  of 
Queen  Elizabeth,  placed  here  because  her  grandfather,  Thomas  Boleyn,  Earl  of  Wilt- 
shire (father  of  Queen  Anne  Boleyn),  was  the  grandfather  of  Anne,  the  daughter  of 
Sir  Thomas  Leighton,  and  wife  of  Sir  John  St.  John,  the  first  baronet  of  the  family. 
Here  is  a  monument  to  Sir  Edward  Wynter,  who  died  1635-6;  it  has  a  bas-relief 
representing  the  feats  thus  commemorated  in  the  inscription : 

"  Alone,  unarm'd,  a  tyger  he  oppress'd, 
And  crush'd  to  death  the  monster  of  a  beast ; 
Twice  twenty  mounted  Moors  he  overthrew 
Singly  on  foot ;  some  wounded,  some  he  slew, 
Dispers'd  the  rest.    What  more  could  Samson  do  ?" 

At  the  top  is  a  large  bust  of  Sir  Edward,  in  a  flowing  peruke  and  lace  shirt. 


CHURCHES  AND   CHAPELS.  183 

St.  Mary-le-Bone,  or  St.  Mary-at-the-Bourne,  at  the  end  of  the  High-street,  verging 
on  the  New-road,  was  originally  the  mother-clmrch  of  Marylehone,  and  was  rebuilt  in 
1741,  on  the  site  of  an  edifice  erected  about  1400,  on  the  removal  of  the  ancient 
church  of  Tyburn,  "  which  stood  in  a  lonely  place  near  the  highway  (on  or  near  the 
site  of  the  present  Court-house,  at  the  corner  of  Stratford-place),  subject  to  the  depre- 
dations of  robbers,  who  frequently  stole  the  images,  bells,  and  ornaments." — (Lysons's 
^Environs,  vol.  iii.  1795.)  In  Vertue's  Plan,  about  1560,  the  only  building  seen  between 
the  village  of  St.  Giles's  and  Primrose-hill  is  the  little  solitary  church  of  Marylehone : 
its  interior  is  shown  in  one  of  Hogarth's  plates  of  the  Make's  Progress  (the  Marriage), 
where  some  ill-spelt  verses  on  the  vault  of  the  Forset  family,  and  the  churchwardens' 
names,  are  accurately  copied  ;  this  plate  was  published  in  1735,  and  part  of  the  original 
inscription  was  preserved  in  the  present  church,  converted  into  a  parish  chapel  in  1817, 
on  the  consecration  of  the  church  in  the  New-road.  In  the  chapel  are  tablets  to  Gibbs, 
the  architect ;  Baretti,  the  friend  of  Dr.  Johnson ;  and  Caroline  Watson,  the  engraver ; 
and  in  the  churchyard  is  a  monument  to  James  Ferguson,  the  Astronomer.  Among 
the  burials  in  the  register  are  James  Figg,  the  prize-fighter ;  Vanderbank,  the  por- 
trait-painter ;  Hoyle,  aged  90,  who  wrote  the  Treatise  on  Whist ;  Kysbrack,  the 
sculptor;  and  Allan  Ramsay,  portrait-painter,  and  son  of  the  author  of  the  Gentle 
Shepherd.  In  Paddington-street  are  two  burial-grounds  formerly  attached  to  this 
church.  In  1511,  the  Marylehone  curate's  stipend  was  only  13s.  per  annum ;  in  1650, 
the  impropriation  was  valued  at  80Z.  per  annum,  and  Richard  Bonner  was  curate ; 
before  the  late  separation,  the  value  of  the  living  was  1898J. 

In  a  Map  published  in  1742,  the  diminutive  church  of  St.  Mary-le-bone  is  shown  detached  from 
London,  with  two  zigzag  ways  leading  to  it,  one  near  Vere-street,  then  the  western  extremity  of  the 
new  buildings,  and  the  second  from  Tottenham-Court-road.  Rows  of  houses,  with  their  backs  to  the 
fields,  extended  from  St.  Giles's  Pound  to  Oxford-market ;  but  Tottenham-Court-road  had  only  one 
cluster  on  the  west  side,  and  the  spring-water  house.  The  zigzag  way  above  mentioned,  near  Vere- 
street,  still  retaining  its  original  name  of  Mary-le-bone-lane,  was  the  communication  between  the  high 
road  and  the  village.  A  friend,  born  in  1780,  remembers  his  father  and  mother  relating  how  they 
walked  out  through  the  fields,  to  be  married  at  Mary  bone  Church. 

St.  Mabylebone  (New  Church),  New-road,  opposite  York  Gate,  Regent's-park, 
designed  by  T.  Hardwick,  father  of  P.  Hardwick,  R.A.,  was  originally  built  "  on 
speculation "  as  a  chapel ;  and  was  purchased  by  the  parish,  and  converted  into  a 
handsome  church,  at  the  cost  of  60,000Z.  It  has  a  lofty  stone  clock-tower  and  portico  j 
the  interior  was  at  first  objected  to  as  too  theatrical  in  arrangement :  it  has  an  altar- 
picture  of  the  Holy  Family,  painted  and  presented  by  B.  West,  P.R.A.  Cosway  and 
Northcote,  Royal  Academicians,  are  buried  here. 

St.  Mary-le-Bow,  Cheapside,  "  for  divers  accidents  happening  there,  hath  been 
made  more  famous  than  any  other  parish  church  of  the  whole  city  or  suburbs."— 
(Stoic.)  If  not  originally  a  Roman  temple,  as  was  once  believed,  this  was  one  of  the 
earliest  churches  built  by  our  Norman  conquerors.  Stow  says  it  was  named  St.  Mary 
de  Arcubus,  from  its  being  built  on  arches  of  stone,  the  semicircular-arched  Norman 
crypt,  extant  to  this  day :  and  hence  is  named  the  "  Court  of  Arches,"  formerly  held 
in  the  church.  About  1190,  Longbeard,  ringleader  of  a  tumult,  took  refuge  in  the 
steeple,  which  was  fired  to  drive  him  out :  in  1271,  part  of  the  steeple  fell,  and  killed 
several  persons  j  and  some  years  after  its  repair,  one  Ducket,  a  goldsmith,  fled  here  for 
Sanctuary,  and  was  murdered.  The  old  steeple  was  entirely  rebuilt  by  1460,  when 
the  Common  Council  ordered  that  Bow  bell  should  be  rung  nightly  at  nine  o'clock,  a 
vestige  of  the  Norman  curfew  ;  in  1472,  two  tenements  in  Hosier-lane  (now  Bow-lane), 
were  bequeathed  "  to  the  maintenance  of  Bow  bell,"  which  being  rung  for  the 
closing  of  shops  somewhat  late,  the  young  men,  'prentices,  and  others  in  Cheap,  made 
this  rhyme :  / 

"  Clarke  of  the  Bow  bell,  with  the  yellow  lockes, 
For  thy  late  ringing,  thy  head  shall  have  knockes." 

To  which  the  Clerk  replied : — 

"  Children  of  Cheape,  hold  you  all  still, 
For  you  shall  have  the  Bow  bell  rung  at  your  will." 

William  Copeland,  churchwarden,  either  gave  a  new  bell  for  thi3  purpose,  or  caused 
the  old  one  to  be  recast,  in  1515 :  Weever  says  the  former.     In  1512,  the  arches  and 


184  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

spire  of  the  tower  were  provided  with  lanterns,  as  beacons  for  travellers :  the  latter  is 
shown  in  the  View  of  London,  1643  (in  the  Sutherland  Collection)  ;  it  has  a  central 
lantern,  or  hell-turret,  and  a  pinnacle  at  each  corner.  The  church  was  rebuilt,  as  we 
now  see  it,  by  Wren,  after  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  and  the  belfry  was  prepared  for 
twelve  bells,  though  only  eight  were  placed ;  but  two  were  subsequently  added,  and 
the  set  of  ten  bells  was  first  rung  in  1762.  (See  Bells,  p.  46.)  The  earliest  monu- 
ment in  the  old  church  was  that  to  Sir  John  Coventry,  Mayor  in  1425  :  Weever  gives 
his  epitaph.  The  present  church  contains  a  large  marble  sarcophagus,  with  figures  of 
Faith  and  a  cherub,  and  a  medallion  bust,  by  Banks,  R.A.,  of  Bishop  Newton,  twenty- 
five  years  rector  of  this  parish,  and  interred  in  St.  Paul's. 

Bow  Church  is  one  of  Wren's  finest  works:  it  is  well  described  in  Godwin's 
Churches  of  London.  The  large  Palladian  doorways  are  noble  j  and  the  campanile  is 
one  of  Wren's  most  picturesque  designs. 

The  circular  peristyle,  or  continued  range  of  columns,  which  rises  from  a  stylobate  on  the  top  of  the 
tower  (a  miniature  representation  of  that  around  the  dome  of  St.  Paul's),  let  it  be  viewed  from  what 
point  it  may  be,  is  the  most  beautiful  feature  of  the  steeple.  By  the  introduction  of  the  combined  scrolls 
at  each  angle  of  the  tower,  Wren  has  endeavoured  to  prevent  that  appearance  of  abruptness  which 
would  otherwise  have  resulted  from  the  sudden  transition  from  the  square  to  the  circular  form,  and  has 
caused  the  outline  to  be  gradually  pyramidical  from  the  top  of  the  tower  to  the  vane.  The  flying 
buttresses,  which  appear  to  support  the  columns  above  the  peristyle,  are  introduced  chiefly  with  a  view 
to  effect  the  same  end. 

The  spire  was  repaired  by  Sir  W.  Staines  when  a  young  stonemason ;  and  in  1820  it 
was  in  part  rebuilt  by  George  Gwilt,  F.S.A.,  but  was  not  lowered,  as  generally  believed. 
Its  height  is  225  feet ;  the  dragon,  ten  feet  long,  was  regilt,  and  a  young  Irishman 
descended  from  the  spire  point  on  its  back,  pushing  it  from  the  cornices  and  scaffolds 
with  his  feet,  in  the  presence  of  thousands  of  spectators.*  Over  the  doorway  in 
Cheapside  is  a  small  balcony,  intended  as  a  place  to  view  processions  from.  The  present 
bells  are  much  heavier,  and  more  powerful  in  tone,  than  the  first  set.  It  requires  two 
men  to  ring  the  largest  (the  tenor,  53  cwt.,  key  C.)  The  ringers  belong  to  the  Society 
of  "  College  Youths,"  founded  in  1637,  and  named  from  the  College  of  St.  Spirit  and 
Mary,  built  by  Sir  Richard  Whittington,  on  College-hill,  Upper  Thames-street,  and 
burnt  down  in  the  Great  Fire.  A  book  recording  the  names  of  the  founders  and 
members  of  the  College  Youths,  from  1637  to  1724,  was  lost  about  the  latter  date, 
and  only  recovered  in  1840.  Another  Society,  called  the  "  Cumberland  Society,"  rang 
for  a  few  years  at  Bow  Church.  There  is  a  peal  called  the  "  Whittington  Peal,"  which 
can  only  be  rung  on  twelve  bells.     (See  Bow  Bells,  p.  47.) 

Independently  of  ordinary  services  in  the  church,  prayers  are  read  and  the  Sacrament  administered 
at  eight  o'clock  in  the  morning  on  every  festival  throughout  the  year  which  does  not  fall  on  a  Sunday. 
This  is  in  compliance  with  the  will  of  Mr.  Robert  Nelson,  author  of  the  Companion  to  the  Festivals  and 
Fasts  of  the  Church  of  England,  who  left  for  the  purpose  'il.  per  annum.  Formerly,  the  Boyle  lectures 
were  delivered  here,  but  they  have  been  discontinued  for  some  years  past.  The  Bishops  elect  of  the 
province  of  Canterbury  attend  at  this  church,  previous  to  their  consecration,  to  take  the  oaths  of 
supremacy,  &c. 

St.  Mary's,  Islington,  "  the  old  church,"  is  built  upon  the  site  of  a  church  with  an 
embattled  tower  and  bell-turret,  and  which  was  presumed  to  be  300  years  old  when 
taken  down  in  1751.  One  of  its  oldest  monuments  was  that  to  "  Thomas  Gore, 
parsonne  of  Isledon  and  Westbame,"  who  died  in  1499  :  here  were  also  memorials  of 
the  Fowlers,  and  Dame  Katherine  Brook,  nurse  who  "  nourished  with  her  milk  "  the 
Princess  Mary,  daughter  of  Henry  VIII.  Dame  Alice  Owen,  foundress  of  the  alms- 
houses and  school  at  the  top  of  Goswell-road,  was  buried  here ;  and  here  are  two 
monumental  brasses  of  the  Savills.  Dr.  Cave,  the  learned  ecclesiastical  historian,  and 
chaplain  to  Charles  II.,  who  became  vicar  of  Islington  at  the  age  of  25,  was  buried  in 
the  old  church.  The  present  church  was  erected  by  Launcelot  Dowbiggin,  opened 
May  26,  1754.  It  has  a  tower  and  stone  spire,  164  feet  high,  and  a  fine  peal  of  eight 
bells,  each  inscribed  with  a  couplet  inculcating  loyalty,  love,  and  harmony.  In  1787, 
when  a  lightning  conductor  was  affixed  to  the  spire,  one  Thomas  Bird  constructed 
round  it  a  wickerwork  scaffold,  with  steps  within.  Among  the  persons  buried  here 
are  Dr.  Hawes,  one  of  the  originators  of  the  Humane  Society ;  Earlom,  the  niezzo- 

*  One  of  Mother  Shipton's  prophecies  was,  that  when  the  Dragon  of  Bow  Church  and  the  Grass- 
hopper of  the  Royal  Exchange  should  meet,  London  streets  would  be  deluged  with  blood !  In  1820  both 
these  vanes  were  lying  together  in  a  stonemason's  yard  in  Old-street  Road,  where  the  upper  portion  of 
"Wren's  spire  is  preserved  to  this  day. 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  185 

tinto  engraver ;  and  John  Nichols,  F.S.A.,  the  editor  of  the  Gentleman's  Magazine, 
his  grave  heing  a  few  yards  from  the  house  in  which  he  was  horn.  During  the  last 
forty  years  more  than  sixteen  churches  have  been  erected  in  the  district  of  Islington, 
and  Dissenting  chapels  have  multiplied  in  a  similar  proportion. 

St.  Mary,  Lambeth,  the  mother-church  of  the  manor  and  parish,  stands  within 
the  patriarchal  shade  of  Lambeth  Palace,  and  has  a  Perpendicular  tower,  lately 
restored.  In  the  Bishop's  Register  at  Winchester,  date  1377,  is  a  commission  to 
compel  the  inhabitants  to  erect  this  tower  for  their  church,  then  newly  built.  In  the 
churchwardens'  accounts,  "  pewes  "  are  mentioned  as  earljT  as  the  reign  of  Philip  and 
Mary.  The  eastern  end  of  the  north  aisle,  built  1522,  by  the  Duke  of  Norfolk,  is 
called  the  Howard  Chapel.  In  the  church  are  the  tombs  of  these  Archbishops  of 
Canterbury :  Parker,  d.  1575 ;  Bancroft,  d.  1610 ;  Tenison,  d.  1715  ;  Hutton,  d.  1758; 
Seeker  (in  passage  between  church  and  palace),  d.  1768 ;  Cornwallis,  d.  1783 ;  Moore, 
d.  1805. 

In  burying  Archbishop  Cornwallis,  were  found  tl  e  remains  of  Thirlby,  the  first  and  only  Bishop  of 
Westminster:  he  died  a  prisoner  in  Lambeth  Palace  (temp.  Elizabeth).  The  body  was  discovered 
wrapped  in  fine  linen,  the  face  perfect,  the  beard  long  and  white,  the  linen  and  woollen  garments  well 
preserved;  the  cap,  silk  and  point  lace,  as  in  portraits  of  Archbishop  Juxon;  slouched  hat,  under  left 
arm;  cassock,  like  apron  with  strings;  and  pieces  of  garments  like  a  pilgrim's  habit. 

Here  also  are  the  tombs  of  Alderman  Goodbehere ;  Madame  Storace,  the  singer ; 
Peter  Dollond,  inventor  of  the  achromatic  telescope ;  and  Elias  Ashmole,  the  antiquary. 
In  the  churchyard  is  the  altar -tomb  of  the  Tradescants,  father  and  son  : 

"  These  famous  antiquarians  that  had  been 
Both  gardeners  to  the  Rose  and  Lily  queen." — Epitaph. 

The  tomb  is  sculptured  with  palm-trees,  hydra  and  skull,  obelisk  and  pyramid,  and 
Grecian  ruins,  crocodile,  and  shells.  In  the  Register  are  entered  the  burials  of  Simon 
Forman,  the  astrologer ;  and  Edward  Moore,  who  wrote  the  tragedy  of  The  Gamester. 
In  a  window  of  the  middle  aisle  is  painted  a  pedlar  with  his  pack  and  dog,  said  to 
represent  the  person  who  bequeathed  to  the  parish  of  Lambeth  "  Pedlar's  Acre,"  pro- 
vided his  portrait  and  that  of  his  dog  were  perpetually  preserved  in  one  of  the  church 
windows.  When  the  painting  was  first  put  up  is  unknown,  but  it  existed  in  1608; 
■  a  new  glass  pedlar  "  was  put  up  in  1703,  but  removed  in  1816. 

The  name  of  the  benefactor  is  unknown ;  but  it  has  been  suggested  that  this  portrait  was  intended 
rather  as  a  rebus  upon  the  name  "  Chapman"  than  upon  his  trade :  for  in  Swaff  ham  Church,  Norfolk, 
is  the  portrait  of  John  Chapman,  a  great  benefactor  to  that  parish ;  and  the  device  of  a  pedlar  and  his 
pack  occurs  in  several  parts  of  the  church,  which  has  given  rise  to  nearly  the  same  tradition  at  Swaff  ham 
as  at  Lambeth.  (Preface  to  Hearne'g  Caii  Antiquitatet,  p.  84.)  Besides,  Pedlar's  Acre  was  not  originally 
so  called,  but  the  Church  Hopes,  or  Hopys  (an  isthmus  of  land  projecting  into  the  river),  and  is  entered 
in  the  Register  as  bequeathed  by  "  a  person  unknown." — Popular  Errors  Explained,  Ifc.  p.  293. 

The  church,  except  the  tower,  has  been  rebuilt  by  Hardwick  in  correct  design ;  the 
font  is  fine,  and  many  of  the  windows  are  filled  with  memorial  stained  glass-  The 
bells  and  Communion-plate  are  of  very  considerable  age,  the  latter  of  great  value. 

St.  Maby-at-Hill,  Eastcheap,  "  called  on  the  hill  because  of  the  ascent  from 
Billingsgate,"  rebuilt  by  Wren,  after  the  Great  Fire,  had  this  singular  custom : 

"On  the  next  Sunday  after  Midsummer,  every  year,  the  Fellowship  of  the  Porters  of  London,  time 
out  of  mind,  came  to  this  church  in  the  morning,  and  whilst  the  Psalms  were  reading,  they  went  up 
two  by  two  towards  the  rails  of  the  Communion  table,  where  were  set  two  basins,  and  there  they  make 
their  offerings.  Afterwards  the  inhabitants  of  the  parish,  and  their  wives,  make  their  offerings ;  and 
the  money  thus  offered  is  given  to  the  poor,  decrepit  porters  of  the  Company  for  their  better  support." 

The  church  was  built  by  Wren,  between  1672  and  1677,  the  west-end  tower  being 
of  subsequent  date  :  the  exterior  of  the  east  end  alone  remains.  In  1848-9,  the  interior 
was  entirely  refitted,  with  such  an  extent  of  carving  as  had  not  been  executed  before 
in  the  City  for  many  years.  The  pillars  supporting  the  organ  gallery  are  ornamented 
with  fruit  and  flowers.  The  great  screen  has  a  frame  of  oak  ;  the  Rector's  pew  and 
reading-desk  are  enriched  with  carved  open  tracery,  and  brackets  surmounted  with 
the  royal  supporters,  bearing  shields  with  V.R.  1849.  The  pulpit  is  entirely  new, 
and  is  very  elaborately  carved :  in  the  sounding-board  are  bosses  of  flowers  of  12-inch 
projection ;  from  the  eyes  of  the  volutes  garlands  of  flowers  are  suspended,  which  pass 
through  the  split  trusses,  and  fall  down,  crossing  and  uniting  behind ;  and  within  the 
pulpit,  at  the  back,  is  a  well-executed  drop  of  fruit  and  flowers :  on  the  front  of  the 


186  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

organ-gallery  are  bold  clusters  of  musical  trophies  and  garland  of  flowers,  with  birds 
and  fruit ;  and  the  royal  arms,  with  a  mantle  scroll,  about  ten  feet  long,  form  a  per- 
forated screen  on  the  top  of  the  gallery.  All  the  carved  work  is  by  W.  Gibbs  Rogers. 
The  organ  was  built  by  Hill,  on  the  German  plan,  and  contains  two  manuals  and  a 
pedal  organ.  Brand,  who  compiled  the  Popular  Antiquities,  and  was  Secretary  to  the 
Society  of  Antiquaries,  was  Rector  of  St.  Mary-at-Hill  from  1789  till  his  death  in 
1806 :  he  is  buried  in  the  Chancel.  Dr.  Young,  author  of  Night  Thoughts,  was 
married  here. 

St.  Mart  Magdalene,  Bermondsey,  was  originally  founded  by  the  monks  of  Ber- 
mondsey,  it  is  supposed,  early  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III. ;  but  taken  down  in  1680,  when 
the  present  church  was  built  upon  the  same  site :  in  1830,  the  west  front  was  remodelled, 
the  tower  repaired,  and  the  large  pointed  window  restored.  Among  the  communion 
plate  is  an  ancient  silver  salver,  supposed  to  have  belonged  to  the  Abbey  of  Bermond- 
sey :  in  the  centre,  a  knight  in  plate  armour  is  kneeling  to  a  female,  about  to  place  a 
helmet  on  his  head,  at  the  gate  of  a  castle  or  fortified  town  :  from  the  fashion  of  the 
armour  and  the  form  of  the  helmet,  this  relic  is  referred  to  the  age  of  Edward  II. 
In  the  church  is  a  monument  to  Dr.  Joseph  Watson,  more  than  thirty-seven  years 
teacher  to  the  first  public  institution  in  this  country  for  the  education  of  the  deaf  and 
dumb,  established  in  this  parish,  1792.  In  the  churchyard  is  buried  Mrs.  S.  Utton, 
who  was  tapped  twenty-five  times  for  dropsy,  and  had  157  gallons  of  water  taken  from 
her;  also  Mrs.  S.  Wood,  tapped  ninety-seven  times,  water  461  gallons;  and  the 
husband  of  the  latter,  who  died  1837,  aged  108  years  ! 

The  registers  commenced  in  1538,  have  been  continued  with  great  exactness,  and 
with  very  few  interruptions  up  to  the  present  time :  some  of  the  entries  are  very 
eccentric. 

St.  Mart  Magdalen,  Old  Fish-street,  in  Castle-Baynard  Ward,  was  rebuilt  by 
Wren,  after  the  Great  Fire,  and  contains  a  small  brass  tablet,  date  1586,  with  the 
figure  of  a  man,  and  the  following  lines  in  black  letter : 

"  In  God  the  Lord  put  all  your  truste, 

Repente  your  formar  wicked  waies, 
Elizabethe  our  Queen  moste  juste 

Bless  her,  O  Lord,  in  all  her  dales; 
So  Lord  enerease  good  councelers, 

And  preachers  of  his  holie  worde 
Mislike  all  papistes  desiers 

O  Lord,  cut  them  off  with  thy  sworde. 
How  small  soever  the  gift  shall  be 

Thank  God  for  him  who  gave  it  thee. 
Ill  penie  loaves  to  III  poor  foulkes 

Geve  every  Sabbath  day  for  aye." 

This  church  serves  as  well  for  the  parish  of  St.  Gregory-by-St.  Paul's.  St.  Mary 
Magdalen,  Milk-street,  was  on  the  site  of  the  City  of  London  Schools. 

St.  Mary  Magdalen,  Munster-square,  Regent's  Park,  was  designed  by  R.  C. 
Carpenter,  and  consists  of  a  Nave  with  south  aisle,  large  and  lofty  Chancel,  and  tower ; 
style,  Geometric,  of  the  fourteenth  century.  The  Nave  and  Aisle  have  massive  open 
gabled  roofs,  of  Baltic  fir  timber.  The  Chancel  roof  is  arched  with  timber,  boarded 
and  panelled.  The  east  window  of  the  Chancel,  which  is  of  seven  lights,  is  filled  with 
stained  glass,  at  a  cost  of  400£.  by  Hardman  of  Birmingham,  and  was  one  of  the  last 
works  upon  which  Pugin  was  engaged.  The  lower  part  of  the  Chancel  is  adorned  by 
richly  carved  arcades,  with  shafts  of  St.  Ann's  marble,  and  panels  in  the  spandrels. 
The  arcades  and  the  Chancel  roof  are  highly  enriched  with  colour  and  gilding,  executed 
by  Crace.  The  arcade  on  the  south  side  of  the  Chancel  is  varied,  to  form  sedilia  for 
the  officiating  clergymen,  and  the  floor  is  raised  three  steps  above  that  of  the  Nave,  and 
is  separated  from  it  by  a  stone  septum.  The  west  window  of  the  Nave,  a  fine  one,  of 
five  lights,  has  been  filled  with  stained  glass,  in  memory  of  the  architect.  In  the 
service,  the  Eucharistic  vestments  are  used  daily,  and  incense  at  high  celebration  on 
Sundays. 

St.  Mart's  Matfelon,  Whitechapel,  at  the  eastern  end  of  High -street,  was  origi- 
nally a  chapel-of-ease  to  Stebenhith,  or  Stepney ;  its  second  name  being  from  Matfel, 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  187 

in  Hebrew,  a  woman  recently  delivered  of  a  son.  Stow  traces  the  name  to  the  wives 
of  the  parish  having  slain  out  of  hand  a  certain  Frenchman  who  had  murdered  and 
plundered  a  devout  widow,  by  whom  he  had  been  cherished  and  brought  up  of  alms 
This  occurred  in  1428,  the  sixth  of  King  Henry  VI. ;  but  Stow  also  finds  the  name  as 
early  as  the  twenty-first  of  Richard  II.  The  old  church  was  taken  down  in  1673, 
and  rebuilt  nearly  as  at  present :  it  has  a  gas-lit  clock-dial. 

The  Parish  Register  records  that  Richard  Brandon  was  buried  in  the  churchyard,  June  24, 1649 ; 
and  a  marginal  note  (not  in  the  hand  of  the  Registrar,  but  bearing  the  mark  of  antiquity),  states  : 
"  This  R.  Brandon  is  supposed  to  have  cut  off  the  head  of  Charles  I."  He  was  assisted  by  his  man 
Ralph  Jones,  a  ragman  in  Rosemary-lane ;  and  a  tract  in  the  British  Museum,  entitled,  "  The  Confes- 
sion of  Richard  Brandon,  the  Hangman,  upon  his  Deathbed,  concerning  the  Beheading  of  His  late 
Majesty,"  printed  in  1649,  relates  that  the  night  after  the  execution  he  returned  home  to  his  wife,  living 
in  Kosemary-lane,  and  gave  her  the  money  he  had  received,  301. ;  that  about  three  days  before  he  died, 
he  lay  speechless.  "  For  the  burial  whereof,  great  store  of  wines  were  tent  by  the  sheriff  of  the  City  of 
London,  and  a  great  multitude  of  people  stood  waiting  to  see  his  corpse  carried  to  the  churchyard,  some 
crying  out, '  Hang  him,  rogue ! '  'Bury  him  in  the  dunghill !'  others  pressing  upon  him,  saying  they 
would  quarter  him  for  executing  the  king,  insomuch  that  the  churchwardens  and  masters  of  the  parish 
were  fain  to  come  for  the  suppression  of  them ;  and  with  great  difficulty  he  was  at  last  carried  to 
Whitechapel  churchyard."  See  Ellis's  Letters  on  English  History,  vol.  iii.  second  series ;  and  the  Trial 
of  Charles  I.  vol.  xxxi.  Family  Library. 

St.  Mary's,  Newington-butts,  was  built  in  1791^3  by  Hurlbatt,  in  place  of  a 
smaller  church.  It  contains  a  monument  with  statues  to  Sir  Hugh  Brawne,  buried 
in  the  old  church,  1614,  and  who  "  for  the  space  of  twenty-two  years  was  the  whole 
ornament  of  the  parish."  Here,  too,  is  a  tablet  to  Dr.  Fothergill ;  and  to  Captain  M. 
Waghorn,  one  of  the  few  persons  who  escaped  from  the  sinking  of  the  Royal  George, 
in  1782.  The  parsonage-house  was  originally  built  of  wood,  and  surrounded  by  a 
moat,  now  filled  up.  In  this  parish  was  a  small  water-course  called  the  river  Tigris, 
part  of  Cnut's  trench ;  and  a  parishioner  who  died  at  the  age  of  109  years,  early  in  the 
present  century,  remembered  when  boats  came  up  as  far  as  the  church  at  Newington. 

In  the  church  is  buried  Mr.  Sergeant  Davy  (d.  1860).  He  was  originally  a  chemist  at  Exeter :  and 
a  sheriff's  officer  coming  to  serve  on  him  a  process  from  the  Court  of  Common  Pleas,  he  civilly  asked 
him  to  drink ;  while  the  man  was  drinking,  Davy  contrived  to  heat  a  poker,  and  then  told  the  bailiff 
that  if  he  did  not  eat  the  writ,  which  was  of  sheepskin  and  as  good  as  mutton,  he  should  swallow  the 
poker  !  The  man  preferred  the  parchment;  but  the  Court  of  Common  Pleas,  not  then  accustomed  to 
Mr.  Davy's  jokes,  sent  for  him  to  Westminster  Hall,  and  for  contempt  of  their  process,  committed  him 
to  the  Fleet  Prison.  From  this  circumstance,  and  some  unfortunate  man  whom  he  met  there,  he  ac- 
quired a  taste  for  the  law ;  and  on  his  discharge  he  applied  himself  to  the  study  of  it  in  earnest,  was 
called  to  the  bar,  made  a  sergeant,  and  was  for  a  long  time  in  good  practice.— See  Manning  and  Bray's 
History  of  Surrey. 

St.  Maey's,  Paddington,  on  the  Green,  was  rebuilt  in  1788-91 ;  and  its  churchyards 
are  remarkable  as  the  burial-place  of  several  eminent  artists;  among  whom  are, 
Bushnell,  the  sculptor  of  the  statues  on  Temple  Bar;  Barrett,  the  landscape-painter  ; 
Banks  and  Nollekens,  the  sculptors ;  Vivares,  Hall,  and  Schiavonetti,  the  engravers : 
Caleb  Whitefoord  (see  Goldsmith's  Retaliation) ;  Mrs.  Siddons,  the  great  actress ; 
Collins,  the  painter ;  and  Haydon,  historical  painter.  Hogarth  was  married  in  this 
church  to  the  daughter  of  Sir  James  Thornhill,  March  23,  1729. 

St.  Mary's,  Botherhithe,  close  to  the  shaft  of  the  Thames  Tunnel,  was  rebuilt  in 
1736-39,  upon  the  site  of  the  old  church,  which  had  stood  above  400  years.  This  new 
church  has  a  lofty  spire  :  in  the  vestry-room  is  a  portrait  of  King  Charles  I.,  in  his 
robes,  kneeling  at  an  altar,  and  holding  a  crown  of  thorns,  the  composition  resem- 
bling the  frontispiece  to  the  JEikon  Rasilike.  In  the  churchyard  is  buried  Prince  Lee 
Boo,  a  native  of  the  Pellew  Islands,  d.  Dec.  29,  1784,  set.  20 ;  over  his  remains  a 
monument  has  been  erected  by  the  East  India  Company,  in  testimony  of  his  father's 
humane  and  kind  treatment  of  the  crew  of  the  Antelope,  wrecked  off  Goo-roo-raa,  one 
of  the  Pellew  Islands,  on  the  night  of  August  9,  1783. 

St.  Mary's  Somerset  (Summer's  hith,  or  wharf),  was  destroyed  in  the  Great 
Fire  of  1666,  and  rebuilt  by  Wren  in  1685  :  it  has  a  tower,  with  pedestals  and  urns 
and  obelisks  upon  the  summit,  120  feet  high ;  and  the  keystones  ^f  the  arches  are 
sculptured  with  grotesque  heads.  dcC**-^Cfr*Wv   '*+    I  9  7/ 

St.  Mary's,  Stoke  Newington  (2^  miles  north  from  London),  in  the  patronage  of 
the  Prebendary  of  Newington,  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  was  repaired,  or  "  rather  new 


188  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

builded "  (Slow),  in  1563,  of  hewn  stones,  flint,  and  pebbles,  bnt  has  been  inuch 
modernized.  It  has  a  square  embattled  tower,  about  60  feet  high,  with  six  bells, 
■with  an  additional  bell  in  a  wooden  cupola,  and  a  clock  made  1723.  The  chapel,  and 
a  portion  of  the  body  of  the  church,  under  two  other  roofs,  formed  the  whole  of  the 
ancient  structure.  The  painted  altar- window  represents  the  Virgin  Mary  and  the 
Purification,  the  Birth  and  Preaching  of  St.  John  the  Baptist,  and  the  arms  of  Queen 
Elizabeth ;  and  in  the  Chancel  windows  are  the  arms  of  the  Drapers'  Company  and 
the  City  of  London.  Among  the  communion-plate  is  a  large  silver  offertory  alms-dish. 
In  the  Chancel  is  an  elegant  coloured  alabaster  monument  to  John  Dudley,  Esq.,  and 
hi3  widow,  afterwards  married  to  Thomas  Sutton,  Esq.,  founder  of  Charterhouse : 
the  writer  of  the  long  Latin  inscription  was  rewarded  with  10*.,  according  to  the  roll 
of  Mr.  Dudley's  funeral  expenses  :  and  the  tomb  was  restored  in  1808  by  subscription 
of  grateful  Carthusians.  Behind  the  church  is  Queen  Elizabeth's  Walk,  a  grove  of 
tall  trees ;  and  at  Newington  Green  is  King  Harry's  Walk.  At  Stoke  Newington 
lived  many  years  Mrs.  Durbauld,  the  amiable  educationist,  who  taught  Lord  Denman 
•when  a  boy  the  art  of  declamation ;  and  Mr.  Barbauld,  her  husband,  was  for  four 
years  morning  preacher  to  a  Unitarian  congregation  at  Newington-green. 

St,  Maey-le-Steand,  erected  on  the  site  of  a  very  ancient  church,  St.  Ursula  of 
the  Strand,  and  nearly  upon  the  site  of  the  old  Maypole,  was  the  first  built  (1714-17)  of 
Queen  Anne's  Fifty  Churches,  but  was  to  our  day  called  "  the  New  Church."  It  was 
not  consecrated  till  Jan.  1,  1723.  Gibbs,  the  architect,  was  desired  by  the  Commis- 
sioners "  to  beautify  it,"  on  account  of  its  public  situation :  hence  it  is  overloaded  with 
ornament.  It  was  originally  to  have  had  only  a  small  bell-tower  at  the  west  end, 
changed  to  a  steeple,  which  therefore  appears  to  stand  on  the  roof ;  it  consists  of  three 
receding  stories,  surmounted  by  a  vane :  when  it  was  last  repaired,  at  an  expense  of 
411.  10s.,  the  scaffolding  cost  301.  The  exterior  of  the  body  is  of  two  stories,  Ionic 
below,  the  lower  wall  "  solid,  to  keep  out  noises  from  the  street ;"  and  Composite  above, 
surmounted  by  a  balustrade  and  urns :  during  the  procession  to  proclaim  Peace,  in 
1802,  one  of  these  urns  was  accidentally  pushed  down  on  the  crowd  below,  when  three 
persons  were  killed,  and  several  others  much  hurt.  The  west  end  has  a  semicircular 
Ionic  portico,  and  occupies  the  Maypole  site.  The  interior  is  grand,  but  too  florid, 
with  Corinthian  and  Composite  pilasters,  ceiling  crowded  with  ornaments,  and  the 
semicircular  altar-part,  with  the  triangular  symbol  of  the  Trinity  glorified,  and 
cherubim,  &c.  The  windows  are  hung  with  crimson  drapery,  and  in  the  side  inter- 
columniations  are  paintings  of  the  Annunciation  and  the  Passion,  by  Brown.  The  old 
church  was  "  next  beyond  Arundell  House,  on  the  street  side,"  and  was  "  called  of 
the  Nativitie  of  our  Lady  (St.  Mary),  and  the  Innocents  of  the  Strand."  (Stow.) 
Seymour  states,  that  its  site  became  part  of  the  garden  of  Somerset  House,  and  that 
when  the  Protector  pulled  down  this  old  church,  be  promised  to  build  a  new  one  for 
the  parishioners,  but  death  prevented  his  fulfilling  that  engagement.  The  Rev.  Joshua 
Denham  was  rector  of  St.  Mary-le-Strand  j  he  wrote  a  brief  History  of  the  Church  of 
St.  Dunstan' s-in-the-  West. 

St.  Mart's,  Windham-place,  Marylebone,  was  designed  by  Sir  Robert  Smirke, 
R.A.,  and  consecrated  Jan.  7,  1824,  when  the  Rev.  T.  Frognall  Dibdin,  D.D.,  was 
instituted  rector.  This  church  has  a  large  painted  east  window,  of  the  Ascension, 
said  to  have  cost  250  guineas.  The  circular  tower  and  cupola,  135  feet  high,  are 
picturesquely  effective. 

St.  Maby's  Woolnoth,  one  of  the  most  striking  and  original  churches  in  the 
metropolis,  is  between  the  western  ends  of  Lombard-street  and  King  William-street. 
This  has  been  the  site  of  a  Christian  church  from  a  very  early  period,  and  previously 
of  a  pagan  temple.  The  church  was  rebuilt  early  in  the  fifteenth  century,  much  in- 
jured by  the  Great  Fire,  and  repaired  by  Wren  in  the  following  year ;  to  this  Alderman 
Sir  It.  Viner,  living  in  Lombard-street,  contributed  liberally,  to  commemorate  which, 
says  Stow,  "  a  number  of  vines  were  spread  over  that  part  of  the  church  which  faced 
his  house."  In  1716,  the  church,  as  we  now  see  it,  was  rebuilt  by  Hawksmoor  :  the 
west  front,  which  has  an  elongated  tower,  like  two  towers  united,  has  no  prototype  in 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  189 

England ;  but  its  details  are  so  heavy  as  to  indicate  rather  a  fortress  and  prison  than  a 
church.  The  interior,  on  the  model  of  a  Roman  atrium,  is  nearly  square :  it  has  twelve 
Corinthian  columns,  admirably  arranged,  and  is  profusely  ornamented  with  panels  and 
carved  mouldings.  It  contains  an  Organ  built  by  Father  Schmidt,  in  1681.  Here  is 
a  tablet  to  the  Rev.  John  Xewton,  the  friend  of  Cowper,  and  Rector  of  this  church  for 
twenty-eight  years:  it  bears  this  inscription,  written  by  himself: 

"  John  Newton,  clerk,  once  an  infidel  and  libertine,  a  servant  of  slaves  in  Africa,  was,  by  the  rich 
mercy  of  our  Lord  and  Saviour  Jesus  Christ,  preserved,  restored,  pardoned,  and  appointed  to  preach 
the  faith  he  had  long  laboured  to  destroy." 

"  I  remember,  when  a  lad  of  about  fifteen,  being  taken  by  my  uncle  to  hear  the  well-known  Mr.  Newton 
(the  friend  of  Cowper  the  poet)  preach  his  wife's  funeral  sermon  in  the  church  of  St.  Mary's  Woolnoth, 
In  Lombard-street.  .Newton  was  then  well  stricken  in  years,  with  a  tremulous  voice,  and  in  the  cos- 
tume of  the  full-bottomed  wig  of  the  day.  He  had,  and  always  had,  the  entire  possession  of  the  ear  of 
his  congrearation.  He  spoke  at  first  feebly  and  leisurely,  but  as  he  warmed,  his  ideas  and  his  periods 
seemed  mutually  to  enlarge :  the  tears  trickled  down  his  cheeks,  and  his  action  and  expression  were  at 
times  quite  out  of  the  ordinary  course  of  things.  It  was  as  the  '  mens  agi/«n*  molem  et  magno  se 
corpore  miseen*.'  In  fact,  the  preacher  was  one  with  his  discourse.  To  this  day  I  have  not  forgotten  his 
text,  Hab.  iii.  17-18  :  '  Although  the  fig-tree  shall  not  blossom,  neither  shall  fruit  be  in  the  vines;  the 
labour  of  the  olive  shall  fail,  and  the  fields  shall  yield  no  meat;  the  flock  shall  be  cut  off  from  the  fold, 
and  there  shall  be  no  herd  in  the  stalls ;  yet  I  will  rejoice  in  the  Lord,  I  will  joy  in  the  God  of  my 
salvation."  Newton  always  preached  extemporaneous." — Dr.  Dibdin's  Reminiscences  of  a  Literiry 
Life,  voL  i.  p.  162. 

The  origin  of  Woolnoth  is  uncertain ;  but  is  attributed  to  the  beam  for  weighing  wool, 
which  stood  in  the  churchyard  of  St.  Mary's  Woolchurch,  in  the  Stocks  Market,  on  the 
site  of  the  Mansion-house  :  this  church  was  burnt  in  1666,  and  the  parish  is  now  united 
to  St.  Mary's  Woolnoth. 

St.  Mary's  Woolnoth  was  saved  from  destruction  in  1863,  although  it  had  been  some  time  priced  for 
sale.  At  a  vestry  meeting,  the  Lord  Mayor  (Alderman  Rose)  as  a  parishioner  by  his  tenancy  of  the 
Mansion  House,  ably  supported  the  opposition  to  the  "amalgamation"  scheme,  and  an  amendment 
rejecting  it  was  carried  unanimously.  In  the  Report  of  the  Ecclesiological  Society,  the  committee 
recorded  that  the  parishioners  had  successfully  resisted  a  scheme  put  forward  under  the  auspices 
of  the  Bishop  of  London's  Act  for  the  demolition  of  the  remarkable  church  of  St.  Mary  Woolnoth 
(Hawksmoor's  chef-d'oeuvre),  which  it  was  proposed  to  destroy  for  the  convenience  of  the  General 
Post  Office." 

St.  Matthew's,  Oakeley-crescent,  City-road,  built  by  G.  G.  Scottr  in  1848,  in  the 
Early  English  style,  has  an  ornamented  four-storied  tower  and  spire,  eastern  lancet 
windows,  filled  with  stained  glass,  and  other  meritorious  details;  a  picturesque  stone 
porch  was  added  July,  1866. 

St.  Matthias,  Stoke-Newington,  a  Gothic  church,  Butterfield,  architect ;  seats, 
all  free.  Incense  and  the  Eucharistic  vestments  are  used ;  and  all  expenses  are  paid 
from  the  weekly  offertory,  except  a  small  endowment  for  the  incumbent. 

St.  Matthew's,  Bethnal-Green,  built  in  1740,  has  at  the  west  end  a  low  square 
tower,  with  a  large  stone  vase  at  each  angle.  A  second  church,  St.  John's,  was  built 
by  Sir  John  Soane,  and  much  resembles  the  Grecian  church  of  the  Holy  Trinity, 
Regent's  Park.  In  1839,  there  were  only  these  two  churches  for  a  population  of 
80,000,  and  schools  for  about  1000  children.  There  were  next  built  in  the  parish  ten 
churches :  St.  Matthew's,  St.  John's,  St.  Peter's,  St.  Andrew's,  St.  Philip's,  St.  James 
the  Less,  St.  James  the  Great,  St.  Bartholomew's,  St.  Jutle's ;  and  St.  Simon  Zelotes, 
the  latter  at  the  sole  expense  of  Mr.  W.  Cotton.  These  churches  owe  their  origin  to 
the  exertions  of  Bishop  Blomfield ;  there  have  been  added  three  churches  since  the 
accession  of  Bishop  Tait  in  1856.  St.  Matthew's  church,  except  the  walls,  was  burnt 
on  the  night  of  Dec.  18, 1859,  during  a  hard  frost ;  the  water  froze  as  it  was  poured  on 
the  burning  ruins.  It  was  rebuilt  by  a  rate  levied  on  the  parish.  The  apse  is  very 
handsomely  coloured,  and  has  a  carved  stone  reredos,  with  cross,  and  scenes  from  the 
life  of  Christ.  There  is  a  good  east-end  window  of  the  Crucifixion ;  the  stone  pulpit 
and  font  are  finely  carved.  There  is  a  curious  old  staff  used  by  the  beadle,  the  head  of 
which  (in  silver  gilt)  presents  the  legend  of  the  Blind  Beggar  of  Bethnal  Green  and  his 
daughter,  as  in  the  old  ballad ;  the  date  1669. — Mackeson's  Churches. 

St.  Matthew's,  Brixton,  at  the  junction  of  the  Tulse-hill  and  Brixton-hill  roads,  is 
of  Grecian  Doric  design,  by  Porden,  and  was  consecrated  in  1824 :  it  has  a  noble  por- 
tico, resembling  the  pronaos  of  a  Grecian  temple  ;  at  the  east  end  is  a  tower  surmounted 


190  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

with  an  octagonal  temple,  from  that  of  Cyrrhestes,  at  Athens.  In  the  churchyard  is  a 
costly  mausoleum  of  Grecian  design,  upwards  of  25  feet  high. 

St.  Michael  and  all  Angels,  Paul-street,  Finsbury,  is  built  of  yellow  hrick ; 
style,  First  and  Second  Pointed ;  architect,  J.  Brook;  opened,  1865.  The  interior,  de- 
signed for  "  aesthetic  service,"  is  of  great  width,  height,  and  length  ;  and  "  the  deep 
Chancel,  narrower  than  the  Nave,  and  raised  several  steps,  gives  importance  to  the 
skilfully -arranged  grouping  of  priests  and  choristers,  banners  and  crosses,  millinery  and 
flowers,  and  saves  even  the  processions  from  appearing  mean."  {Companion  to  the 
Almanack,  1866.)  It  will  accommodate  nearly  1000  persons ;  cost  of  site,  4700Z., 
of  which  one  gentleman  contributed  3000£. ;  the  building  cost  7500/.,  towards  which 
another  (or  the  same)  anonymous  donor  gave  6000/.  The  bare  walls  look  cheerless,  but 
the  architect  designed  them  to  be  covered  with  paintings  and  other  decorations.  And 
apart  from  its  sesthetic  character,  the  interior  is  a  success ;  the  nave  columns  scarcely 
intercept  the  sight,  and  the  acoustic  principles  seem  good — you  hear  the  preacher  and 
reader  well  from  very  different  parts  of  the  church,  and  the  tones  of  the  organ  pro- 
duce no  awkward  reverberation. 

St.  Michael's  Bassishaw  (haugh,  or  hall,  of  the  Basing  family),  Basinghall- 
street,  was  originally  founded  about  1110,  and  rebuilt  in  1-160;  here  was  interred  Sir 
John  Gresham,  uncle  to  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  and  Lord  Mayor  in  1547  :  at  his  funeral, 
on  a  fast-day,  a  fish  dinner  was  provided  for  all  comers : 

"  He  was  buried  with  a  standard  and  pennon  of  arms,  and  a  coat  of  armour  of  damask  (Damascus 
steel),  and  four  pennons  of  arms ;  besides  a  helmet,  a  target,  and  a  sword,  mantles  and  the  crest,  a  goodly 
hearse  of  wax,  ten  dozen  of  pensils,  and  twelve  dozen  of  escutcheons.  He  had  four  dozen  of  great  staff 
torches,  and  a  dozen  of  great  long  torches.  The  church  and  street  were  all  hung  with  black,  and  arms 
in  great  store  ;  and  on  the  morrow  there  goodly  masses  were  sung." — Stow. 

The  old  church  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  rebuilt  by  Wren  in  1676-79.  It 
contains  a  beautifully  sculptured  monument  to  Dr.  T.  Wharton,  who  did  so  much  to 
stay  the  Great  Plague  of  1665 ;  and  here  rests  Alderman  Kirkman,  sheriff-elect  in  1780, 
who  died,  at  the  age  of  39,  of  a  cold  taken  in  aiding  to  suppress  the  Biots. 

St.  Michael's,  in  Chester-square,  Pimlico,  is  a  picturesque  church  in  the  Decorated 
style  of  the  fourteenth  century,  and  has  a  tower  and  spire  rising  from  the  ground  at 
the  west  end,  150  feet  high ;  Cundy,  architect,  1844 ;  the  details  are  very  characteristic. 

St.  MicnAEL's,  Cornhill,  was  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire,  except  the  great  tower, 
which  contained  a  celebrated  set  of  ten  bells :  the  body  was  first  rebuilt  by  Wren,  and 
fifty  years  later  (1729)  the  tower  itself,  which  is  an  imitation  of  the  splendid  chapel 
tower  of  Magdalen  College,  Oxford,  built  in  the  fifteenth  century,  and  145  feet  high ; 
but  St.  Michael's  is  only  130  :  it  has  a  set  of  twelve  bells.  The  site  is  presumed  to 
have  been  occupied  by  a  church  since  the  Saxon  dynasty ;  it  had  a  cloister  and  pulpit 
cross.  Of  the  old  steeple,  destroyed  in  1421,  a  pen-and-ink  drawing  upon  vellum  is 
preserved  on  the  fly-leaf  of  a  vellum  vestry-book  {temp.  Henry  V.)  belonging  to  the 
parish.  In  the  old  church  and  churchyard  were  buried  Bobert  Fabyan,  the  chronicler 
and  sheriff ;  and  the  father  and  grandfather  of  John  Stow,  the  antiquary.  In  the  pre- 
sent church  was  buried  Philip  Nye,  with  "  the  thanksgiving  beard,"  in  1672 ;  Nye  was 
curate  of  St.  Michael's  from  1620  to  1633.  The  architect,  in  rebuilding  the  tower, 
adhered  to  the  Gothic  style,  and  though  the  details  are  poor,  the  general  outline  is 
noble  and  effective.  It  was  long  shut  in,  but  some  of  the  houses  which  intervened 
between  the  north  side  of  the  tower  and  Cornhill  being  cleared  away,  to  obtain  an 
entrance  there  to  the  church,  a  porch  has  been  built,  and  two  stages  of  the  tower  itself 
have  been  repaired  and  altered,  windows  with  tracery,  and  a  new  circular  window  with 
wheel  tracery  immediately  above  the  porch,  having  been  inserted.  The  six  shafts  in 
the  jambs  of  the  principal  doorway  are  of  red  polished  granite. 

The  sculpture  in  the  gable  of  the  doorway  represents  Our  Lord  in  the  act  of  benedic- 
tion. In  the  tympanum  below  is  a  group  representing  Michael  disputing  with  Satan 
about  the  body  of  Moses.  The  other  carving  consists  of  medallions  of  angels,  bosses  of 
foliage,  &c.  Architects,  Scott  and  Mason.  The  church  has  been  entirely  refitted  with 
carvings  executed  by  Bogers,  under  the  direction  of  Scott  and  Williams,  architects. 

The  pulpit  is  hexagonal,  on  a  dwarf  column  of  Portland  stone,  with  the  hand-rail  supported  by 
ornamental  brass-work.    Un  the  angles  are  twisted  pillars,  each  with  various  designs,  and  supporting 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  191 

a  cornice  with  branches  of  the  hawthorn.  The  panels  have  each  a  different  diaper  pattern,  with  boldly 
carved  symbols  of  the  four  Evangelists  in  roundels.  The  reading-desk  has  two  double  arches  and  ten 
pilasters.  The  centre  pillars  are  round,  resting  on  square  bases.  On  each  of  the  angles  are  heads  of 
the  dragon,  in  reference  to  the  prowess  of  the  patron  Saint.  The  perforated  friezes  in  the  screens 
behind  the  choir-seats  in  the  chancel  are  of  foliated  scroll-work,  interspersed  with  sacred  fruits  and 
emblematical  flowers — the  passion-flower,  trefoil,  pomegranate,  lily,  figs,  and  olives. 

Sixteen  panels  have  been  carved  for  the  chancel-gates :  Moses  in  the  Bulrushes ;  the  Tablets  of  the 
Law,  with  the  sword  of  Justice;  the  Star  of  Bethlehem;  the  Gospel  of  Peace,  over  which  is  a  dove; 
the  Brazen  Serpent  in  the  Wilderness ;  the  Seven-branch  Golden  Candlestick ;  emblems  of  the  Sacra- 
ment (wheat  and  grapes) ;  chalice  and  paten.  Solomon's  Glory,  represented  by  three  crowns  rising 
out  of  three  full-blown  lilies;  the  Crown  of  Victory;  emblems  of  the  passion-flower;  the  Resurrection, 
emblematized  by  a  butterfly  issuing  from  a  chrysalis ;  Light  out  of  Darkness,  the  Snowdrop ;  Faith, 
Hope,  and  Charity ;  the  Trinity  in  Unity. 

The  first  seat  south  of  the  chancel  is  a  representation  of  the  Agony  in  the  Garden.  The  cup  is  en- 
closed in  foliage  at  the  top,  and  at  the  back  is  a  branch  of  olives  copied  from  one  gathered  by  E.  T. 
Bogers,  vice-consul  of  Caiffa,  Palestine,  in  the  garden  of  Gethsemane :  around  the  outer  edge  of  this 
bench-end  are  the  words,  "  Not  my  will,  but  Thine  be  done." 

The  fronts  and  backs  of  the  seats  have  a  double  row  of  variously  enriched  panelling,  180  in  number, 
the  upper  row  being  alternately  relieved  by  sprigs  or  branches  of  sacred  flowers  bound  with  labels,  and 
having  suitable  inscriptions  in  raised  letters,  such  as  "  In  the  midst  of  judgement  He  remembers 
mercy ;"  "  Look  upon  the  rainbow,  and  praise  Him,"  &c.  &c. 

At  the  chancel  end  of  the  centre  aisle  there  are  seven  seats  set  apart  for  special  purposes.  On  the 
right  is  the  royal  pew,  with  an  enriched  double  shield  surmounted  by  the  crown,  V.B.,  and  the  motto 
"  I)ieu  et  mon  droit ;"  her  Majesty's  monogram,  Victoria,  in  the  form  of  a  Greek  cross,  enclosed  in  foli- 
age and  flowers,  the  rose,  thistle,  and  shamrock.  The  Diocesan  pew  has  ecclesiastical  shield  with 
croziers,  mitre,  and  the  crossed  swords  representing  the  martyrdom  of  St.  Paul ;  the  Corporation  pew, 
the  City  arms  and  representation  of  St.  George,  &c. ;  the  pew  of  the  Worshipful  Company  of  Drapers,  en- 
riched shield,  date,  and  motto  of  the  company,  "  Unto  God  only  be  honour  and  glory,"  surmounted  by 
the  triple  crown  issuing  from  clouds,  with  rays  of  light :  on  the  inside  are  a  triple  branch  of  lilies,  the 
emblem  of  the  Virgin,  the  patroness  of  the  Company,  the  shield  of  Fitzalwyn,  the  first  mayor  of  London. 
On  the  pew  of  the  Merchant  Tailors'  Company  are  the  shield,  &c.  of  the  Company,  and  in  one  part  is 
introduced  an  illustration  of  a  text  from  St.  Augustine's  19th  chapter  of  St.  John, — God  is  all  to  thee :  if 
thou  be  hungry,  He  is  bread :  if  thou  be  thirsty,  He  is  water :  if  in  darkness,  He  is  light :  and,  if 
naked,  He  is  a  robe  of  immortality."  In  this  instance  Mr.  Bogers  has  figured  the  star  of  light,  the 
bread,  chalice,  and  the  robe,  in  a  manner  which  describes  the  text.  Next  are  the  pews  of  the  Cloth- 
workers'  Company,  and  the  Sector's  pew ;  on  the  former  the  teasel  is  conspicuous,  and  on  the  latter  the 
monogram  of  the  Eev.  T.  W.  Wrench,  surmounted  by  a  branch  of  olives.  All  the  bench-ends  in  this 
aisle  have  a  shield,  emblazoned  on  the  outside,  enclosed  by  Greek  foliage  :  on  the  inside  are  fruits  and 
flowers,  such  as  the  gourd  of  Jonah,  Syrian  dates,  nut  fruit,  oak  and  acorns,  chestnuts,  wheat  ears, 
mulberry,  pine  fruit,  the  Bose  of  Sharon,  olives,  figs,  &c.  Amongst  the  carvings  on  the  benches  for 
the  north  aisle,  is  a  female  figure  of  Charity,  seated  in  an  ecclesiastical  chair,  supported  by  pelicans :  she 
is  feeding  and  protecting  three  children,  the  idea  from  an  early  sculpture  in  Valterra  marble.  On  other 
seats  are  the  pelican  in  her  piety;  the  fall  of  man  represented  by  the  serpent  coiling  round  the  for- 
bidden tree.  On  the  back  is  the  lily  of  the  valley.  The  sage-plant  of  Palestine  is  combined  with  the 
primrose  of  England,  the  stork  of  the  wilderness,  &c.  On  some  of  these  are  the  sage-plant  of  the  East, 
combined  with  a  branch  of  oak ;  the  ivy  and  the  anemone,  and  the  common  flowers  of  the  East ;  a 
cluster  of  pomegranates  and  bell-flowers,  Aaron's  rod,  a  triple  branch  of  lily  rising  out  of  a  bulbous  root, 
which  is  given  in  the  form  of  a  heart.  On  the  device  of  a  Latin  cross  is  suspended  the  passion-flower ; 
the  carving  of  the  scape-goat  wandering  in  the  wilderness,  with  the  mark  of  the  High  Priest  on  his 
forehead:  in  the  background  is  forked  lightning,  indicating  the  wrath  of  God.  On  the  back  of  this 
standard  is  a  crown  of  thorns, — "  On  him  was  laid  the  iniquity  of  us  all."  In  the  design  of  these 
numerous  carvings  Mr.  Bogers  has  been  assisted  by  his  son,  Mr.  W.  H.  Bogers. — {See  the  descriptive 
pamphlet,  by  Mr.  Bogers.) 

The  colouring  of  the  walls  and  ceiling  of  the  church,  the  altar  of  alahaster  and 
marhle,  and  the  stained  glass  in  the  windows,  are  all  executed  with  great  richness. 

St.  Michael's,  Crooked-lane,  was  of  ancient  foundation,  before  the  year  1304.  In 
1336,  John  Loveken,  four  times  Lord  Mayor,  rebuilt  the  church,  which  received  several 
additions  and  benefactions  from  Sir  William  Walworth,  Lord  Mayor  in  1374,  and  for- 
merly servant  to  Loveken.  St.  Michael's  was  a  general  burial-place  of  stockfish- 
mongers;  Loveken  and  Walworth  rested  here.  The  church  was  destroyed  in  the 
Great  Fire,  but  rebuilt  by  Wren  in  1687;  it  had  a  Portland  stone  tower,  100  feet  high, 
and  a  picturesque  steeple,  with  clock,  vane,  and  cross.  This  handsome  church  was 
taken  down  in  1831,  in  forming  the  New  London  Bridge  approaches.  Crooked-lane, 
*'  so  called  of  the  crooked  windings  thereof,"  was  then  in  part  taken  down  j  it  wan 
famous  for  its  bird-cage  and  fishing-tackle  shops. 

St.  Michael's  Pateiwoster  Royal,  Thames-street,  is  partly  named  from  its  neigh- 
bourhood to  the  Tower  Royal,  wherein  our  sovereigns,  as  early  as  King  Stephen,  re- 
sided. The  church  was  rebuilt  by  the  munificent  Whittington,  who  was  himself  buried 
in  it,  under  a  marble  tomb  with  banners,  but  his  remains  were  twice  disturbed  :  once 
by  an  incumbent,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VI.,  who  fancied  that  money  was  buried  with 
him ;  and  next  by  the  parishioners,  in  the  reign  of  Mary,  to  rewrap  the  body  in 
lead,  of  which  it  had  been  despoiled  on  the  former  occasion  (Godwin's   Churches  of 


192  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

London).  Whittington's  church  was  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire,  but  rebuilt  by 
Wren,  and  has  a  somewhat  picturesque  steeple.  The  interior  has  a  beautiful  altar- 
picture,  by  Hilton,  R.A.,  of  Mary  Magdalen  anointing  the  feet  of  Christ :  this  fine 
work  was  presented  by  the  Directors  of  the  British  Institution  in  1820.  There  was 
long  no  memorial  to  Whittington  in  the  present  church,  until  the  Rector  contributed  a 
handsome  painted  window.  The  rights  and  profits  of  the  old  church  Whittington 
bestowed  on  a  College  and  almshouses  close  by,  the  site  of  which  is  now  occupied  by 
the  Mercers'  Company's  School. 

St.  Michael's,  Queenhithe,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  was  rebuilt  by  Wren  in 
1677 :  it  is  chiefly  remarkable  for  its  spire,  135  feet  high,  with  a  gilt  vane  in  the  form 
of  a  ship  in  full  sail,  the  hull  of  which  will  contain  a  bushel  of  grain — referring  to  the 
former  traffic  in  corn  at  the  Hithe. 

St.  Michael's,  Wood-street,  Cheapside,  stands  at  the  corner  of  Huggin-lane,  named 
from  a  resident  there  about  the  time  of  Edward  I.,  and  known  as  "  Hugan  in  the 
lane."  The  old  church  was  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire,  and  the  present  edifice 
completed  in  its  place  by  Wren,  in  1675  :  it  is  of  very  unecclesiastical  design,  but  the 
Wood-street  front  is  well-proportioned  Italian.  The  head  of  James  IV.  of  Scotland, 
slain  at  Flodden  Field,  Sept.  9,  1513,  is  said  by  Stow  to  have  been  buried  here  ;  the 
body  was  conveyed,  after  the  battle,  to  London,  and  thence  to  the  monastery  of  Sheen, 
in  Surrey,  where  it  was  seen  by  Stow,  lapped  in  lead,  but  thrown  into  a  waste  room. 
"  Some  workmen,  for  their  foolish  pleasure,  hewed  off  his  head,  which  Launcelot 
Young,  master-glazier  to  his  Majesty,  brought  to  his  house  in  Wood- street,  where  he 
kept  it  for  a  time ;  but  at  length  gave  it  to  the  sexton  to  bury  amongst  other  bones," 
&c.  This  statement  is  contradicted  by  the  Scottish  historians ;  but  Weever  is  positive 
that  Sheen  was  the  place  of  James's  burial. 

St.  Mildred's,  Bread-street,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  rebuilt  by  Wren, 
1677-83,  is  remarkable  for  being  roofed  by  a  large  and  highly  enriched  cupola ;  and  has 
a  pulpit  and  sounding-board  and  altar-piece  exquisitely  carved  in  the  style  of  Gibbons. 

St.  Mildeed's,  Poultry,  was  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire,  and  rebuilt  by  Wren; 
when  was  united  with  it  the  parish  of  St.  Mary  Colechurch,  the  church  of  which  stood 
at  the  south  end  of  the  Old  Jewry ;  its  chaplain  was  "  Peter  of  Colechurch,"  who  in 
part  built  old  London  Bridge.  St.  Mildred's  has  a  tower  75  feet  high,  surmounted  by 
a  gilt  ship  in  full  sail.  In  the  former  church  was  buried  Thomas  Tusser,  who  wrote 
the  Points  of  Sushandrie,  and  was  by  turns  chorister,  farmer,  and  singing-master. 

St.  Nicholas  Cole  Abbey,  Fish-street-hill,  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire,  and  re- 
built by  Wren  in  1677,  has  a  tasteless  steeple,  135  feet  high,  but  some  fine  interior 
carvings ;  the  parish  register-books  contain  a  list  of  persons,  with  their  ages,  whom 
King  James  II.  at  his  coronation  touched  for  the  cure  of  the  Evil. 

St.  Olave,  Hart-street,  escaped  the  Great  Fire  :  it  is  of  Norman,  Early  English, 
Decorated,  and  Perpendicular  work ;  the  foundation  and  walls  are  of  rubble,  and  the 
upper  part  brick.  There  does  not  exist  any  account  of  its  erection ;  and  the  first  men- 
tion of  its  Rector,  William  de  Samford,  who  held  that  office  prior  to  1319,  and  whose 
salary  was  2\  marks  per  annum,  refers  to  an  earlier  structure  than  the  present  St. 
Olave's.  It  has  an  interesting  interior,  with  clustered  columns  and  pointed  arches  and 
windows,  and  the  ceilings  of  the  aisles  powdered  with  stars.  This  church  is  often 
mentioned  in  the  Diary  of  Samuel  Pepys,  Secretary  to  the  Navy  (temp.  Charles  II. 
and  James  II.),  who  lived  in  a  house  belonging  to  the  Navy  Office,  in  Seething-lane, 
and  resided  subsequently  in  Hart-street :  he  was  buried  in  St.  Olave's  at  nine  at  night, 
"  in  a  vault  of  his  own  makeing,  by  his  wife  and  brother,"  "  by  ye  Communion  Table," 
June  4,  1703  ;  and  there  is  a  monument  to  his  wife  in  the  chancel.  There  are  also 
several  figure  tombs  and  brasses ;  and  a  marble  figure  of  Sir  Andrew  Riccard  (d.  1672), 
who  bequeathed  the  advowson  of  the  living  to  the  parish.  There  is  likewise  a  monu- 
ment to  John  Orgone  and  Ellyne  his  wife,  with  a  quaint  inscription,  which  is  some- 
times found  in  Latin :— 


CHUBCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  193 

"  As  I  was  so  be  ye, 
As  I  am  you  shall  be, 
That  I  gave  that  I  have, 
That  I  spent  that  1  had. 
Thus  I  ende  all  my  cost, 
That  I  left  that  1  loste.— 1584." 

St.  Olave's  was  repaired  in  1863  ;  one  of  the  towers  at  the  west  end  of  the  south  aisle, 
hitherto  hricked  up,  has  heen  thrown  into  the  church,  and  now  forms  a  baptistry ;  the 
roof,  which  is  of  oak,  has  heen  varnished,  and  the  bosses,  &c,  gilt.  A  new  reredos 
has  been  erected,  from  a  design  of  G.  G.  Scott ;  it  is  composed  of  Caen  stone,  and  has 
five  panels  of  alabaster.  In  the  churchyard  are  interred  a  number  of  victims  to  the 
Great  Plague :  the  first  entry  in  the  register  is  dated  July  24, 1665  :  "  Mary,  daughter  of 
"William  Ramsay,  one  of  the  Drapers'  Almsmen  ;"  and  there  is  a  tradition  that  the  pesti- 
lence first  appeared  in  the  Drapers'  Almshouses,  Cooper's-row,  in  this  parish.  Here  is 
a  peal  of  six  bells,  five  made  by  Anthony  Bartlet,  in  1662;  the  sixth  by  James 
Bartlet,  iu  1694. 

St.  Olave'3,  Jewry,  a  brick  church,  rebuilt  by  Wren,  in  1763-76,  upon  the  site  of 
the  old  church,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  is  alone  remarkable  for  containing  the 
remains  of  Alderman  Boydell,  the  eminent  engraver  and  printseller,  who  expended  a 
large  fortune  in  founding  the  English  School  of  Historic  Painting  :  he  was  Lord  Mayor 
in  1790  (d.  1804);  and  on  the  north  wall  of  the  church  is  a  tablet  to  his  memory, 
surmounted  by  his  bust. 

St.  Olaye's,  Tooley-street,  Southwark,  in  Bridge  Ward  Without,  was  designed  in 
1737-39,  by  Flitcroft,  a  pupil  of  Kent ;  the  funds  being  mostly  advanced  by  a  French 
emigrant,  on  an  annuity  for  his  life ;  and  he  dying  soon  after,  it  became  a  saying  that 
the  Organ  had  cost  more  than  the  church  :  it  had  a  richly- decorated  interior,  and  a  fine 
peal  of  bells.  The  interior  was  burnt  almost  to  the  walls  on  August  19,  1843 ;  when 
also  was  destroyed  Watson's  Telegraphic  Tower,  originally  a  shot  manufactory.  St.  Olave's 
Church  has  since  been  handsomely  restored.  The  former  church  was  of  the  fourteenth 
century,  with  a  low  square  tower  and  bell-house.  The  first  church  was  certainly 
founded  prior  to  the  Norman  Conquest,  from  its  dedication  to  St.  Olave,  or  OlafF,  King 
of  Norway,  who,  with  Ethelred,  in  1008,  destroyed  the  bridge  at  London,  then  occupied 
by  the  Danes.  The  present  church  is  nearly  on  the  site  of  this  exploit ;  for  the  first 
bridge  was  somewhat  eastward  of  the  old  bridge,  taken  down  after  the  building  of  the 
present  bridge.     St.  Olave  has  been  corrupted  into  St.  Oley  and  Tooley-street. 

St.  PANCBAS-rN-THE-FrEiDS,  one  of  the  oldest  churches  in  Middlesex,  is  situated 
on  the  north  side  of  the  road  leading  from  King's  Cross  to  Kentish  Town.  Norden,  in 
his  Speculum  Britannia,  describes  it,  in  1593,  as  standing  "  all  alone,  utterly  forsaken, 
old  and  wether-beten ;"  "yet  about  this  structure  have  bin  manie  buildings,  now 
decaied,  leaving  poore  Pancras  without  companie  or  comfort."  St.  Pancras  is  a  pre- 
bendal  manor,  and  was  granted  by  Ethelbert  to  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  about  603.  It  was 
a  parish  before  the  Conquest.  Its  ancient  church,  which  Stukeley  says  occupied  the 
site  of  a  Roman  camp,  was  erected  about  1180 ;  it  consisted  of  a  nave  and  chancel, 
built  of  stones  and  flints,  and  a  low  tower,  with  a  bell-shaped  roof.  St.  Pancras  con- 
tained, in  1251,  only  forty  houses.  Pancras  was  corrupted  to  "  Pancredge"  in  Queen 
Elizabeth's  time.  In  1745  only  three  houses  had  been  built  near  the  church.  In 
1775  the  population  was  not  600.  It  is  now  the  most  extensive  parish  in  Middlesex, 
being  eighteen  miles  in  circumference.  The  annual  value  of  land  (including  the 
houses  built  upon  it,  the  railways,  &c.)  is  3,798,521£. 

"  Of  late,"  says  Strype,  "  those  of  the  Roman  Catholic  religion  have  affected  to  be 
buried  here,  and  it  has  been  assigned  as  a  reason  that  prayer  and  mass  are  said  daily  in 
St.  Peter's  at  Rome  for  their  souls,  as  well  as  in  a  church  dedicated  to  St.  Pancras,  in 
the  south  of  France."  In  Windham's  Diary,  we  find  another  explanation  of  the  choice  : 
— "  While  airing  one  day  with  Dr.  Brocklesby,  in  passing  and  returning  by  St.  Pancras 
Church,  he  (Dr.  Johnson)  fell  into  prayer,  and  mentioned,  upon  Dr.  Brocklesby  inquiring 
why  the  Catholics  chose  that  spot  for  their  burial-place,  that  some  Catholics  in  Queen 
Elkabeth's  time  had  been  burnt  there."  It  is  also  understood  that  this  church  was  the 
last  whose  bell  tolled  in  England  for  mass,  and  in  which  any  rites  of  the  Roman . 

o 


194  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Catholic  religion  were  celebrated  before  the  Reformation.  The  crosses  with  "  Requiescat 
in  Pace,"  or  the  initials  of  those  words,  "  R.  I.  P.,"  on  the  monuments  and  tombstone?, 
are  very  frequent.  At  the  beginning  of  the  present  century  the  French  clergy  were 
buried  here  at  the  average  rate  of  thirty  a-year.  There  is  said  to  have  been  in  the 
church  a  silver  tomb,  which  was  taken  away  at  the  time  of  the  Commonwealth.  The 
edifice,  reconstructed  and  enlarged  by  A.  D.  Gough,  was  reopened  July  5,  1848 :  the 
style  adopted  was  Anglo-Norman :  the  building  was  lengthened  westward ;  the  old  tower 
was  removed,  and  a  new  one  built  on  the  south  side ;  and  to  the  west  end  was  added  a 
Norman  porch,  and  a  wheel-window  in  the  gable  above.  In  the  progress  of  the  works 
were  found  Roman  bricks,  a  small  altar-stone,  Early  Norman  capitals,  an  Early 
English  piscina,  and  Tudor  brickwork.  Under  the  old  tower,  which  was  then  removed, 
is  said  to  have  been  privately  interred,  in  a  grave  14  feet  deep,  the  body  of  Earl 
Ferrers,  executed  at  Tyburn,  in  1760.  The  Chancel  windows  are  filled  with  stained 
glass,  by  Gibbs,  as  is  also  the  western  wheel-window.  On  the  north  wall,  opposite 
the  baptistery,  is  the  Early  Tudor  marble  Purbeck  memorial,  supposed  to  have  belonged 
to  the  Gray  family,  of  Gray's  Inn ;  the  recesses  for  brasses  removed,  and  neither  dates 
nor  arms  remaining.  On  the  south-east  interior  wall  is  the  marble  tablet,  with  palette 
and  pencils,  to  Samuel  Cooper,  the  celebrated  miniature-painter ;  the  arms  are  those  of 
Sir  Edward  Turner,  Speaker  of  the  House  of  Commons  in  the  reign  of  Charles  II.,  at 
whose  expense  it  is  probable  the  monument  was  erected.  The  ancient  communion- 
plate  of  the  church,  date  1638,  discovered  in  1848,  is  now  again  in  use. 

In  the  burial-ground  of  Old  St.  Pancras  are  deposited  scions  of  the  noble  families  of  Abergavenny, 
Arundell,  Barnewall,  Calvert,  Castlehaven,  Clifford,  Dillon,  Fleming,  Howard,  Litchfield,  Montagu,  Rut- 
land, Waldegrave,  Wharton,  and  other  distinguished  persons.'  Here  lies  Lady  Barbara  Belasyse,  whose 
father  was  grandnephew  of  the  Lord  Falconberg  who  married  Cromwell's  daughter.  Among  the  illus- 
trious foreigners  interred  here  are  Count  Harlang;  Louis  Charles,  Count  de  Herville,  Mareschal  of 
France;  Philip,  Count  de  Montlosier,  Lieutenant-Gene ral  in  the  French  army;  Angelus  Franciscus 
Talaru  de  Chalmaret,  Bishop  of  Coutanees,  in  Normandy ;  Francois  Claude  Amour,  Marquis  de  Bouille ; 
Augustinus  Renatus  Ludovicus  Le  Mintier,  Bishop  and  Count  of  Treguier:  Alexandre  Marquis  de  Lire; 
Louis  Claude  Bigot  de  St.  Croix,  dernier  Ministre  de  Louis  XVI. ;  Louise  d'Esparbes,  de  Lussan,  Com- 
tesse  de  Polastron,  Dame  de  Palais  de  la  Reine  de  France;  Louis  Andre"  Grimaldi  d'Antibes  des  Princes 
de  Monaco,  Eveque,  et  Comte  de  Noyon,  Pair  de  France ;  Jean  Francois  de  la  Marche,  Bishop  of  Pol 
St.  Leon;  Henri,  Marquis  de  l'Ostanges,  Grand  Seneschal  de  Quercy,  and  Field  Marshal  of  France; 
Baroness  de  Montalembert ;  Pascal  de  Paoli,  the  Corsican  patriot,  kinsman  of  the  Bonapartes,  and  as 
such  of  the  present  Emperor  of  the  French ;  Pasqualino  Philip  St.  Martin,  Comte  de  Front,  the  in- 
scription on  whose  tomb  is — "  A  foreign  land  preserves  his  ashes  with  respect." 

Near  the  church  door  is  a  headstone  to  William  Woollett,  the  engraver,  and  his  widow ;  it  was  ■ 
restored  some  years  since.    On  the  north  side  of  the  churchyard  is  an  altar-tomb  to  William  Godwin,  . 
author  of  Caleb  Williams,  and  his  two  wives,  Mary  Wolstoncroft  Godwin  and  Mary  Jane.    Here,  too,  - 
is  a  headstone  to  John  Walker,  author  of  the  Pronouncing   Dictionary.     Here,  also,  were  buried  . 
Abraham  Woodhead,  reputed  by  some  the  author  of  The  Whole  Duty  of  Man ;  and  near  him  his  friend,  . 
Obadiah  Walker;  Dr.  Grebe,  editor  of  the  Septuagint ;  Jeremy  Collier,  who  wrote  against  the  immo- 
rality of  the  stage  in  the  time  of  Dry  den;  Lewis  Theobald,  the  editor  of  Shakspeare;  Lady  Henrietta 
Beard,  daughter  of  an  Earl  Waldegrave,  widow  of  Lord  Edward  Herbert,  and  wife  of  Beard,  the  . 
singer;  S.  F.  Ravenet,  the  engraver;   Arthur  Richard  Dillon  (of  Lord  Dillon's  family),  Bishop  of 
Evreux,  Archbishop  of  Narbonne,  and  President  of  the  States  of  Languedoc;  the  Chevalier  D'Eon,  &c.  . 
And  here  rests  Father  Arthur  O'Leary,  to  whom  Earl  Moira  erected  a  monument,  which  has  been 
repaired  by  public  subscription. 

St.  Panckas,  near  Euston-square,  Euston-road,  was  built  by  Messrs.  Inwood ;  the 
first  stone  being  laid  by  the  Duke  of  York,  July  1,  1819.  The  cella,  or  body  of  the 
church,  is  designed  from  the  Erechtheium,  dedicated  to  Minerva  Polias  and  Pandrosus, 
at  Athens ;  and  the  steeple,  168  feet  high,  is  from  the  Athenian  Tower  of  the  Winds, 
with  a  cross,  in  lieu  of  the  Triton  and  wand,  symbols  of  the  wind,  in  the  original. 
The  clock-dials  are  but  6|  feet  in  diameter,  though  at  the  height  of  100  feet,  and  there- 
fore are  much  too  small.  The  western  front  of  the  church  has  a  fine  portico  of  six 
columns,  with  richly-sculptured  voluted  capitals  ;  beneath  are  three  enriched  doorways, 
designed  exactly  from  those  of  the  Erechtheium,  and  exquisite  in  detail.  Towards  the 
east  end  are  lateral  porticoes,  each  supported  by  colossal  statues  of  females,  on  a  plinth, 
in  which  are  entrances  to  the  catacombs  beneath  the  church,  to  contain  two  thousand 
coffins :  each  of  the  figures  bears  an  ewer  in  one  hand,  and  rests  the  other  on  an  in- 
verted torch,  the  emblem  of  death ;  these  figures  are  of  terra-cotta  (artificial  stone), 
formed  in  pieces,  and  cemented  round  cast-iron  pillars,  which  in  reality  support  the  en- 
tablature. 

These  figures  are  ill-executed,  as  may  be  seen  by  reference  to  the  original  Caryatides  from  the  Pan- 
drosium,  in  the  Elgin  Collection  in  the  British  Museum.  The  St.  Pancras  figures,  and  other  artificial, 
stone  details  for  the  church,  were  executed  by  Rossi,  from  Messrs.  Inwood's  designs,  and  cost  54O07. 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  195 

The  eastern  front  varies  from  the  ancient  Temple  in  having  a  semicircular  termination, 
round  which,  and  along  the  side  walls,  are  terra-cotta  imitations  of  Greek  tiles.  The 
interior  is  designed  in  conformity  with  the  general  plan  of  ancient  temples.  The 
pulpit  and  reading-desk  are  made  from  the  trunk  of  "  the  Fairlop  Oak,"  in  Hainault 
Forest,  blown  down  in  1820.  The  cost  of  this  classic  edifice,  much  too  close  a  resem- 
blance to  a  Pagan  temple  to  be  appropriate  for  a  Christian  church,  was  76,679£.  The 
fine  Organ,  recently  erected,  was  originally  built  by  Gray  and  Davison  for  the  New  Music 
Hall  at  Birmingham,  and  cost  nearly  2000J. 

St.  Paul's,  Avenue-road,  St.  John's-wood,  is  of  red  and  black  brick,  in  various 
patterns,  with  stone  window-frames  and  dressings ;  the  tiled  entrance  surmounted  by 
a  wooden  bell-cote.  The  roof  is  of  high  pitch  and  wide  span,  and  is  borne  by  the 
walls,  which  have  internal  buttresses  dividing  them  into  five  bays :  there  are,  conse- 
quently, no  pillars  to  obstruct  light  or  sound,  but  all  is  clear  and  open :  architect, 
S.  S.  Teuton ;  completed  1859. 

St.  Paul's,  Camden  New  Town,  St.  Pancras,  was  built  in  1848-9  (Ordish  and 
Johnson,  architects) ;  it  is  majestically  situated,  and  consists  of  a  nave  and  aisles,  with 
transepts  and  chancel,  and  a  tower  and  spire  at  the  west  end,  156  feet  high ;  the 
windows  are  Decorated,  the  roofs  have  crosses  and  crestings,  and  the  arrangement  is 
very  picturesque  :  this  large  church,  for  1200  persons,  cost  less  than  9000J. 

St.  Paul's,  Covent  Garden,  was  commenced  for  the  ground-landlord,  Francis  Earl 
of  Bedford,  by  Inigo  Jones,  in  1631,  but  not  finished  till  1638 ;  this  being  the  last  of 
that  great  architect's  works.  The  Earl's  commission  is  stated  to  have  been  for  a  chapel 
"  not  much  bigger  than  a  barn ;"  when  Jones  replied,  "  Well,  then,  you  shall  have  the 
handsomest  barn  in  England."  The  truth  of  this  anecdote  has  been  questioned :  for 
the  fabric  cost  4500Z.,  a  large  sum  for  those  days.  Pennant  ascribes  the  church  to  the 
second  Duke  of  Bedford, "  whom,"  says  Walpole  (Letters,  Sept.  18,  1791),  "he  takes 
for  the  first,  and  even  then  would  not  be  right,  for  I  conclude  Earl  Francis,  who  died 
in  1641,  was  the  builder,  as  the  church  was  probably  not  erected  after  the  Civil  War 
began."  It  was  built  of  brick,  with  a  portico  at  the  east  front,  consisting  of  a  pediment 
supported  by  four  Tuscan  columns  of  stone,  and  the  roof  was  covered  with  tiles : 
Hollar's  print  of  it  shows  a  small  bell-turret  surmounted  with  a  cross.  Within  the 
pediment  was  placed  a  pendulum  clock,  made  by  Richard  Harris  in  1641,  and  stated 
by  an  inscription  in  the  vestry  to  be  the  first  made. 

If  this  inscription  be  correct,  it  negatives  the  claim  of  Huyghens  to  having  first  applied  the  pendu- 
lum to  the  clock,  about  1657;  although  Justice  Bergen,  mechanician  to  the  Emperor  Kodolphus,  who 
reigned  from  1576  to  1612,  is  said  to  have  attached  one  to  a  clock  used  by  Tycho  Brahe\  Inigo  Jones, 
the  architect  of  St.  Paul's,  having  been  in  Italy  during  the  time  of  Galileo,  it  is  probable  that  he  com- 
municated what  he  heard  of  the  pendulum  to  Harris.  Huyghens,  however,  violently  contested  for  the 
priority ;  while  others  claimed  it  for  the  younger  Galileo,  who,  they  asserted,  had,  at  his  father's  sugges- 
tion, applied  the  pendulum  to  a  clock  in  Venice  which  was  finished  in  1649. — Adam  Thomson's  Time 
and  Timekeepers,  pp.  67,  68. 

The  ceiling  of  the  interior  was  beautifully  painted  by  E.  Pierce,  senior,  a  pupil  of 
Van  Dyck.  Inigo  Jones  was  present  at  the  consecration  by  Bishop  Juxon,  Sept.  27, 
1638.  In  1725  it  is  recorded  that  the  Earl  of  Burlington  gave  3001.  or  400Z.  to 
restore  the  portico,  which  had  been  spoiled  by  some  injudicious  repairs.  Its  appearance 
in  the  middle  of  last  century  is  familiar  from  one  of  Hogarth's  prints  of  "  The  Times 
of  the  Day."  In  the  picture  of  "  Morning  "  the  front  of  this  church  is  represented. 
The  church  dial  points  to  a  few  minutes  before  seven  a.m.,  and  two  very  incongruous 
groups  appear — Miss  Bridget  Alworthy,  with  her  foot-boy  carrying  her  prayer-book, 
going  to  the  early  service,  while  some  dissipated  rakes  are  staggering  out  of  Tom 
King's  Coffee-house,  hard  by. 

In  1788,  the  walls  of  the  church  were  cased  with  Portland  stone ;  and  the  rustic 
gateways  at  the  east  front,  which  Jones  had  imitated  in  brick  and  plaster  from  Palladio, 
were  then  rebuilt  with  stone.  In  1795,  the  interior  of  the  church  was  burnt,  the  fine 
old  roof,  the  stained  glass,  and  some  pictures,  including  one  of  Charles  I.,  by  Lely, 
being  then  destroyed ;  but  the  portico  and  the  walls  remained,  and  the  edifice  was 
restored  by  the  elder  Hardwick.  The  altar-piece  has  two  figures  of  angels,  sculptured 
by  Banks,  R.A.    Among  the  eminent  persons  interred  here  are  Samuel  Butler,  author 

02 

\ 


196  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  Hudibras,  whose  friends  could  not  afford  to  bury  him  in  Westminster  Abbey ;  Sir 
Peter  Lely,  the  painter,  to  whom  there  was  a  monument,  with  a  bust  by  Gibbons, 
destroyed  with  the  old  church  ;  Edward  Kynaston,  the  famed  actor  of  female  parts, 
who  played  Juliet  to  Betterton's  Romeo ;  "William  Wycherley,  the  witty  dramatist, 
who  had  "  a  true  nobleman  look ;"  Susannah  Centlivre,  who  wrote  The  Wonder ; 
Grinling  Gibbons,  the  sculptor  and  wood-carver;  Dr.  John  Armstrong,  known  by  his 
didactic  poem,  The  Art  of  Preserving  Health ;  and  Charles  Macklin,  the  actor,  at  the 
supposed  age  of  107  :  the  two  last  in  a  vault  under  the  Communion-table.  Another 
centenarian,  named  by  Strype,  is  Marmaduke  Conway,  buried  here  1717,  at  the  age  of 
108  years  and  some  months  :  he  was  in  the  service  of  the  royal  family  from  the  reign  of 
King  James  I.  to  his  dying  day,  and  was  much  liked  by  Charles  I.  for  his  skill  in  hawking. 
Here,  too,  lie  Michael  Kelly,  the  musical  composer ;  and  Estcourt,  the  founder  of  the 
original  Beef-steak  Club.  Wolcot  (Peter  Pindar,)  lies  beneath  the  vestry-room ;  and 
Butler  in  the  churchyard,  abutting  on  King-street.  Dr.  Arne's  remains  are  also  said  to 
rest  here  without  any  tombstone  or  memorial.  In  the  churchyard  lies  Sir  Robert 
Strange,  the  engraver,  who  published  his  own  prints  at  "the  Golden  Head,"  Henrietta- 
street.  Holland  and  Edwin,  and  many  players  of  minor  note,  are  also  buried  in  the 
churchyard.  The  portico  and  overhanging  roof  of  the  church  are  picturesque  in 
eflect ;  and  the  whole  building  is  impressive  from  its  vastness,  and  agreeable  from  the 
simple  rusticity  of  the  order. 

Du  Val,  the  famous  highwayman,  executed  at  Tyburn,  Jan.  21,  1669,  after  lying  in  ttate  at  the 
Tangier  Tavern,  St.  Giles,  was  buried  in  the  middle  aisle  of  St.  Paul's ;  his  funeral  was  attended  with 
flambeaux,  and  a  numerous  train  of  mourners,  including  many  of  the  fair  sex. 

Before  the  portico  of  St.  Paul's  Chuich  is  erected  the  hustings  for  the  election  of  members  of  Par- 
liament for  Westminster.  Contests  are  now  restricted  to  one  day ;  but  Westminster  was,  for  many 
Parliaments,  the  cockpit  wherein  battles  of  Court  and  people  were  fought,  when  "  madman's  holiday" 
extended  to  fifteen  days;  from  Bradshaw  and  Waller  to  Fox  and  Sheridan;  Burdett,  Cochrane,  aud 
Hobhouse ;  and  the  popular  dii  minores,  Hunt  and  Cartwright. 

St.  Paul's,  Herne-hill,  between  Camberwell  and  Dulwich,  was  built  in  1844-5,  by 
Stevens  and  Alexander,  in  the  Perpendicular  Gothic  style  of  the  15th  century.  It  had 
a  lofty  stone  tower  and  spire,  and  a  highly-decorated  interior  :  the  ceiling  was  divided, 
by  moulded  beams  and  Gothic  tracery,  into  panels,  elaborately  painted ;  the  beams 
had  illuminated  Scripture  texts ;  all  the  windows  were  filled  with  stained  glass ;  the 
open  seats  were  of  polished  oak ;  the  floor  is  laid  with  coloured  encaustic  tiles,  and  the 
chancel-steps  with  tasteful  porcelain,  by  Copeland ;  the  Decalogue,  &c.,  was  written  in 
illuminated  characters  upon  porcelain  slabs ;  and  the  pulpit  panels  were  filled  with  paint- 
ings of  the  Evangelists  and  Apostles.  As  this  was  one  of  the  earliest  specimens  of 
modern  High-Church  embellishment,  so  it  was  one  of  the  most  beautiful.  The  interior 
was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1858,  but  has  been  rebuilt  (Street,  architect)  in  an  earlier 
style,  and  according  to  stricter  ecclesiastical  principles.  Mr.  Ruskin  has  pronounced 
the  church  to  be,  as  it  now  stands,  "  one  of  the  loveliest  churches  of  the  kind  in  the 
country,  and  one  that  makes  the  fire  a  matter  of  rejoicing." 

St.  Paul's,  Lorimore-square,  Walworth,  erected  1857,  H.  Jarvis,  architect;  Early 
English,  with  Transition  details ;  has  a  tower  and  spire  of  good  form,  at  the  north-east 
angle,  122  feet  high. 

St.  Paul's  Chuech  tor  Seamen  op  the  Poet  of  London,  near  the  London 
and  St.  Katharine's  Docks,  the  Sailors'  Home,  and  the  Seamen's  Asylum,  was  founded 
by  Prince  Albert,  May  11,  1846,  and  consecrated  July  10, 1847 ;  H.  Roberts,  architect. 
The  style  is  Early  English,  with  a  western  tower  and  spire  100  feet  high.  Prince 
Albert  gave  the  east  window  and  communion-plate,  and  was  present  at  the  consecration. 
"  In  the  course  of  a  year  it  is  computed  that  about  7000  seamen  come  to  this  church :  a 
field  of  usefulness  that  can  scarcely  be  overrated." — (Low's  Charities  of  London,  p.  390.) 
St.  Paul's  has  superseded  the  Episcopal  Floating  Church,  originally  the  Brazen  sloop- 
of-war:  she  was  moored  in  the  Pool,  and  fitted  with  a  small  organ;  and  boats 
were  provided  on  Sundays  at  the  Tower-stairs  for  the  free  passage  of  sailors  to 
attend  the  ship  service,  which  was  under  the  direct  superintendence  of  Dr.  Blomfield, 
Bishop  of  London. 

St.  Paul's,  Shadwell,  named  from  its  being  in  the  patronage  of  the  Dean  and 
Chapter  of  St.  Paul's,  was  originally  built  in  1656 ;  but  rebuilt,  as  we  now  see  it,  in 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  197 

1820-1,  by  Walters,  who  died  in  the  latter  year  :  it  has  a  beautiful  spire,  and  is 
throughout  a  very  meritorious  design.  The  parish,  formerly  a  hamlet  of  Stepney,  was 
called  Chadwelle,  from  a  spring  dedicated  to  St.  Chad,  within  the  churchyard. 

St.  Paul's,  Virginia-row,  Bethnal-green,  W.  Wigginton,  architect,  is  an  inexpensive 
church,  built  for  a  very  poor  neighbourhood.  It  is  of  ordinary  stock  brick,  with  red 
and  black  bands ;  has  a  four-light  east  window,  with  tracery  ;  and  at  the  north-east 
angle  a  square  chamfered  tower  of  four  stages,  with  a  short  broach  spire. 

St.  Paul's,  Wilton-place,  Knightsbridge,  designed  by  Candy,  was  consecrated  by 
the  Bishop  of  London,  May  30,  1843.  It  has  an  Early  Perpendicular  and  eight- 
pinnacled  tower,  121  feet  high.  It  consists  of  a  nave  and  two  aisles,  and  a  chancel, 
the  latter  very  handsome ;  here,  in  advance  of  the  reading-desk  and  pulpit,  is  the 
lectern.  On  the  south  are  three  sedilia ;  over  the  Communion-table  are  three  com- 
partments of  stonework,  terminating  in  a  reredos,  above  which  is  the  great  window  of 
stained  glass,  by  Wailes,  portraying  the  Prophets  and  the  Twelve  Apostles :  the 
window  and  stonework  cost  100OZ.  The  font  is  of  Caen  stone,  and  has  eight  sculptured 
panels,  angels  holding  a  shield  or  book,  plant  bosses,  &c.  The  Organ  is  a  very  powerful 
one,  and  has  a  richly-canopied  case ;  it  covers  14  feet  square,  and  is  30  feet  high. 
The  roof  is  open,  and  is  said  to  be  the  largest  unsupported  by  pillars  of  any  ecclesias- 
tical edifice  in  the  metropolis.  Eight  of  the  side  windows  are  filled  with  stained 
glass,  by  Wailes,  representing  scenes  and  actions  of  St.  Paul  and  other  Apostles.  The 
choral  service  is  efficiently  performed ;  the  silver-gilt  Communion- plate  is  very  massive ; 
the  altar  appointments  are  truly  Anglican.  The  cost  of  this  church  was  11,000£., 
exclusive  of  fittings.  The  Rev.  W.  J.  E.  Bennett,  M.A.,  of  Christ  Church,  Oxford, 
appointed  to  the  incumbency  in  1843,  resigned  in  1850,  and  was  succeeded  by  the 
Hon.  and  Rev.  R.  Liddell.  The  furniture  and  services  of  this  church  have  given  rise 
to  much  ritualistic  controversy  and  litigation. 

St.  Petee's,  Belsize-park,  Hampstead,  is  a  cruciform  Decorated  church,  with  a  nave, 
five  bays,  and  a  handsome  east  window  of  five  lights ;  all  the  windows  are  of  stained 
glass,  stated  to  be  the  work  of  the  incumbent :  completed  1859. 

St.  Petee's,  Cornhill,  was  rebuilt  of  brick  by  Wren,  after  the  Great  Fire ;  it  has 
a  tower  and  spire  140  feet  high,  surmounted  by  an  enormous  key,  the  emblem  of  St. 
Peter.  Here  is  a  tablet  recording  the  death  by  fire,  Jan.  18,  1782,  of  the  s§ven 
children  of  James  and  Mary  Woodmason,  of  Leadenhall-street.  The  nave  and 
chancel  are  separated  by  a  carved  wainscot  rood-screen,  set  up  by  direction  of  Bishop 
IJeveridge,  who  was  32  years  rector  of  St.  Peter's,  and  who  paid  special  attention  to 
the  appropriateness  of  church  furniture  and  repairs.  An  inscription  upon  a  brass  plate 
in  the  vestry-room  describes  the  old  church  as  founded  a.d.  179, — a  statement  un- 
supported by  facts.  Stow  records  a  murderer  to  have  fled  to  St.  Peter's  for  sanctuary 
in  1230 ;  and  one  of  the  priests  was  murdered  in  1243. 

St.  Petee's,  Eaton-square,  Pimlico,  an  Ionic  Church;  H.  Hakewill,  architect; 
consecrated  in  1827.  The  altar-piece,  "  Christ  crowned  with  Thorns,"  painted  by  W. 
Hilton,  R.A.,  was  presented  to  the  church  by  the  British  Institution. 

St.  Peter's,  Saffron-hill,  a  district  church  of  St.  Andrew's,  Holborn,  was  designed  by 
C.  Barry,  R.A.,  in  the  Anglo-Norman  Style,  and  consecrated  in  1832 :  it  has  been  placed 
in  a  proverbially  depraved  locality,  with  the  most  salutary  effect. 

St.  Petee's,  Sumner-street,  Bankside,  designed  by  Edmunds,  and  consecrated  1839, 
is  in  the  plain  Pointed  style,  and  has  an  embattled  tower  84  feet  high. 

St.  Petee's-le-Poor,  Old  Broad-street,  was  taken  down  in  1788,  rebuilt  by  Jesse 
Gibson,  and  consecrated  by  Bishop  Porteus  in  1792.  The  church  is  traceable  to 
1181 :  it  was  "  sometime  peradventure  a  poor  parish"  {Stow),  but  scarcely  now  con- 
tains one  pauper. 

St.  Petee's,  Vauxhall,  occupies  part  of  the  site  of  the  once  famous  Vauxhall 
Gardens,  was  designed  by  J.  L.  Pearson,  and  consecrated  in  1864.  The  style  is  First 
Pointed,  of  French  type.  It  has  two  aisles,  a  western  vestibule,  nave,  baptistery  attached 
to  the  west  side  of  the  south  aisles,  and  polygonal  aisleless  chancel  j  there  are  four 

\ 


198  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

bays  to  the  nave,  which  comprises  a  sort  of  blank  triforium,  to  be  hereafter  filled  with 
pictures,  the  subjects  of  which,  it  is  suggested,  should  be  from  the  Old  and  New  Testa- 
ments, on  the  respective  appropriate  sides.  The  triforium  of  the  chancel  is  open, 
composed  of  seven  coupled  lights,  with  rear-vaults  and  detached  shafts ;  the  clerestory 
of  the  chancel  is  composed  of  acute  lancets  deeply  splayed.  The  reredos  of  alabaster, 
carved,  is  by  Poole ;  the  mosaics  on  the  wall  are  executed  by  Dr.  Salviati,  of  Venice. 
Beneath  the  triforium  arcade  of  the  east  end  it  is  proposed  to  place  a  line  of  frescoes, 
representing  the  Passion.  The  whole  of  the  church  is  groined  in  brick,  with  stone 
ribs  springing  from  vaulting-shafts  of  red  stone,  with  carved  capitals.  The  pulpit  is 
square,  and  of  stone,  with  an  incised  picture  towards  the  west,  representing  St.  Peter 
preaching  on  the  Day  of  Pentecost :  it  is  also  richly  carved.  "  Mr.  Pearson's  excellent 
Church  of  St.  Peter's  is  memorable  as  the  first  example,  in  London,  in  the  present 
revival,  of  a  church  vaulted  throughout." — Report  of  the  Ecclesiological  Society. 

St.  Petee's  ad  Vincuea,  the  chapel  of  the  Tower,  situate  north-west  of  the  White 
Tower,  dates  as  early  as  Henry  I. :  it  was  restored  by  Edward  III.,  who  added  18Z.  to 
the  original  3Z.  of  rectorial  endowment.  The  seats  are  appropriated  to  the  inhabi- 
tants of  the  Tower.  .  It  is  a  very  old  rectory,  and  was  put  under  the  jurisdiction  of 
the  Bishop  of  London  by  Edward  VI.  and  Queen  Mary  :  it  is  extra-parochial.  The 
present  chapel  was  erected  temp.  Edward  I. ;  it  is  of  squared  stones  and  flints,  and  has  a 
small  bell-tower.  The  interior  consists  of  a  chancel,  nave,  and  north  aisle,  the  two  latter 
separated  by  flat-pointed  arches  springing  from  clustered  columns ;  but  little  of  the 
original  building  remains.  This  chapel  is  extremely  interesting,  as  the  burial-place  of 
these  eminent  persons,  executed  within  the  Tower  walls  or  upon  Tower-hill :  Queen 
Anne  Boleyn  (beheaded  1536) ;  Queen  Katherine  Howard  (beheaded  1542) ;  Sir 
Thomas  More  (beheaded  1535) ;  Thomas  Cromwell,  Earl  of  Essex  (beheaded  1540); 
Margaret  Countess  of  Shrewsbury  (beheaded  1541) ;  Thomas  Lord  Seymour,  Lord 
Admiral,  beheaded  1549,  by  warrant  of  his  own  brother,  the  Protector  Somerset,  who 
in  1552  was  executed  on  the  same  scaffold;  John  Dudley,  Duke  of  Northumberland 
(beheaded  1553). 

"  There  lyeth  before  the  High  Altar  in  St.  Peter's  Church,  two  Dukes  between  two  Queenes,  to  wit, 
the  Duke  of  Somerset  and  the  Duke  of  Northumberland,  between  Queen  Anne  and  Queen  Katherine, 
all  four  beheaded." — Stow  (Hoicet't). 

Lady  Jane  Grey  and  her  husband,  Lord  Dudley  (beheaded  1553-4) ;  Robert  Deve- 
reux,  Earl  of  Essex  (beheaded  1600) :  under  the  communion  table  lies  the  Duke  of 
Monmouth  (beheaded  1684) ;  and  beneath  the  gallery,  Lords  Kilmarnock  and  Bal- 
merino  (beheaded  1746) ;  and  Simon  Lord  Lovat  (beheaded  1747).  The  Register 
records  the  burial  in  this  chapel  of  Sir  Thomas  Overbury,  poisoned  in  the  Tower,  1613 : 
and  here  lies  Sir  John  Eliot,  who  died  a  prisoner  in  the  fortress,  his  son  being  refused 
by  King  Charles  I.  permission  to  remove  the  body  to  Cornwall  for  interment.  Also 
are  buried  in  St.  Peter's,  John  Roettier,  "  his  Majesty's  engraver  at  the  Tower  j"  and 
Colonel  Gurwood,  who  edited  the  Wellington  Despatches.  In  the  north  aisle  is  the 
altar-tomb,  with  effigies,  of  Sir  Richard  Cholmondeley  (Lieutenant  of  the  Tower, 
temp.  Henry  VII.)  and  his  wife,  Lady  Elizabeth.  In  the  chancel  is  a  rich  marble 
monument  to  Sir  Richard  Blount  and  his  son  Sir  Michael,  Lieutenants  of  the  Tower, 
sixteenth  century ;  with  figures  of  the  knight  and  his  sons  in  armour,  and  of  his  wife 
and  daughters.  Here  also  is  the  tomb  of  Sir  Allan  Apsley,  Lieutenant  of  the  Tower ; 
and  in  the  nave-floor  is  the  inscribed  gravestone  of  Talbot  Edwards,  keeper  of  the 
Regalia  in  the  Tower  when  Blood  stole  the  crown.  In  the  Tower  Liberties  the  paro- 
chial perambulation  on  Holy  Thursday  is  triennial :  after  service  in  the  church  of  St. 
Peter,  in  the  Tower,  a  procession  is  formed  of  the  headsman  bearing  an  axe,  a  painter 
to  mark  the  bounds,  yeomen-warders  with  halberts,  the  Deputy-Lieutenant,  and  other 
officers  of  the  Tower,  &c. ;  the  boundary-stations  are  painted  with  a  red  broad  arrow 
upon  a  white  ground,  while  the  Chaplain  of  St.  Peter's  repeats  "  Cursed  be  he  who 
removeth  his  neighbour's  landmark." 

St.  Petee's,  Walworth-road,  in  the  parish  of  St.  Mary,  Newington,  was  built  in 
1823-5,  and  cost  about  19.000J.  It  is  one  of  Soane's  classic  churches ;  the  west  front 
decorated  with  Ionic  columns,  and  the  tower  has  two  stories,  the  lower  Corinthian 
and  the  upper  Composite.     The  interior  is  in  elegant  and  original  taste. 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  199 

St.  Peter's,  Great  Windmill-street,  is  in  close  juxtaposition  with  the  Argyll 
Rooms.  The  first  stone  was  laid  by  the  Earl  of  Derby,  in  1860 :  it  was  built  by 
subscription  of  the  richer  of  the  parish  of  St.  James's,  to  supply  the  wants  of  the 
poorer.  To  the  fund  of  12,000/.,  Lord  Derby  contributed  4500/.  It  is  remarkable 
for  its  picturesque  west  front,  the  only  portion  not  shut  in  by  the  surrounding  houses  : 
the  church  cost  about  6000/.,  and  the  site  a  like  sum :  architect,  Raphael  Brandon ; 
style,  Decorated  Early  English. 

St.  Saviour's,  Cedars-road,  Clapham  Common,  built  by  the  Rev.  Wentworth 
Bowyer,  rector  of  Clapham ;  James  Knowles,  architect ;  cost  about  10,000/. ;  is  cruci- 
form, and  has,  at  the  intersection  of  the  nave  and  transepts,  a  central  pinnacled  tower, 
120  feet  high.  The  windows  are  filled  with  stained  glass  by  Clayton  and  Bell,  a  con- 
nected series,  illustrating  the  life  of  our  Lord  on  earth.  Under  the  tower,  and  in 
front  of  the  altar  rails,  is  an  altar-tomb,  bearing  on  it  a  recumbent  effigy  of  Mrs. 
Bowyer,  co-foundress  of  the  church,  who  died  just  before  its  completion.  The  style  is 
Second  Pointed  :  the  mouldings,  tracery,  and  carving  are  good. 

St.  Saviour's,  Hoxton,  built  1866,  J.  Brooks,  architect,  of  brick,  with  stone  bands ; 
in  the  First  Pointed  Gothic  style,  of  Continental  cast.  The  apse  with  half-conical  roof, 
the  Nave  roof  75  feet  high,  and  the  spirelet,  rising  like  a  sanctus  bell,  are  externally 
effective ;  Lancet  clerestory  windows,  good. 

St.  Saviour  and  Cross,  Wellclose-square,  was  built  at  the  expense  of  Christian  V. 
King  of  Denmark,  in  1696,  by  Caius  Gabriel  Cibber,  wl.o  erected  here  a  monument  to 
his  wife  Jane,  mother  of  Colley  Cibber,  the  famous  dran  atist.  King  Christian  VII.  of 
Denmark,  attended  the  church  in  1768  while  he  remained  in  this  country :  it  is  still 
used  by  the  Danes,  as  well  as  by  St.  George's  Mission. 

St.  Saviour's,  Pimlico ;  architect,  T.  Cundy ;  Second  Pointed  in  style,  has  a  tower 
and  spire  190  feet  high,  only  12  feet  less  than  the  height  of  the  London  Monument. 
It  cost  12,000/.,  towards  which  the  Marquis  of  Westminster  contributed  7000/. 

St.  Saviour's,  Southwark,  a  short  distance  from  the  south  foot  of  London-bridge, 
ranks  in  magnitude  and  architectural  character  as  the  third  church  in  the  metropolis, 
and  is  one  of  the  few  churches  in  the  kingdom  possessing  a  Lady  Chapel.  Roman 
masonry  and  pottery  have  been  found  below  the  church  floor. 

A  romantic  tradition  is  associated  with  this  church.  Stow,  in  the  account  which  he  received  from 
Linsted,  the  last  Prior,  describes  it  as  "  Saint  Mary  ouer  the  Bie,  or  Overy,  that  is,  over  the  water. 
This  church,  or  some  other  in  place  thereof,  was  (of  old  time,  long  before  the  Conquest)  an  House 
of  Sisters,  founded  by  a  mayden  named  Mary,  unto  the  which  House  and  Sitters  she  left  (as 
was  left  to  her  by  her  parents)  the  ouersight  and  profits  of  a  Crosse  Ferrie,  or  trauerse  ferrie  ouer  the 
Thames,  there  kept  before  any  bridge  was  builded."  (See  London  Bbidge,  p.  65.)  This  story  haa 
however,  been  much  discredited.  The  shrouded  figure  now  in  the  north  aisle  has  been  gossipingly 
assigned  to  Audery,  the  Ferryman,  father  of  the  foundress  of  St.  Mary  Overie's,  There  is  a  curious, 
although  probably  fabulous,  tract  of  his  life,  entitled,  "The  True  History  of  the  Life  and  sudden  Death 
of  old  John  Overs,  the  rich  Ferry-Man  of  London,  shewing  how  he  lost  his  life  by  his  own  covetousness. 
And  of  his  daughter  Mary,  who  caused  the  church  of  St.  Mary  Overs  in  Southwark  to  be  built;  and  of 
the  building  of  London  Bridge."  There  are  two  editions :  the  first,  1637,  with  woodcuts ;  the  second, 
1774,  "  Printed  for  T.  Harris  at  the  Looking-Glass  on  London  Bridge."  It  is  among  S.  W.  Musgrave's 
Biographical  Tracts  in  the  British  Museum.  A  synopsis  of  the  story  is  given  in  the  Chronicles  of 
London  Bridge,  pp.  40-44. 

This  was  originally  the  church  of  the  Augustine  Priory  of  St.  Mary  Overie,  and  was 
founded  by  the  Norman  knights,  William  Pont  de  l'Arcbe  and  William  Dauncy.  The 
nave  of  the  church  is  attributed  to  Gifford,  Bishop  of  Winchester  in  1106  (7th 
Henry  I.) ;  and  an  arch,  an  apsis,  and  other  remains  of  this  date,  have  been  uncovered 
by  the  removal  of  the  masonry  of  the  church,  altered  in  the  reigns  of  Richard  II.  and 
Henry  IV.  After  the  Dissolution  of  the  Monasteries,  this  church  was  purchased  of 
Henry  VIII.  by  the  people  of  Southwark ;  and  in  1540,  it  was  made  parochial  as  St. 
Saviour's,  and  united  with  the  two  parishes  of  St.  Mary  Magdalen  and  St.  Margaret- 
at-Hill.  The  church  is  cathedral  or  cruciform  in  plan,  with  a  nave,  transepts,  choir,  and 
Lady  Chapel,  and  a  lofty  embattled  tower  at  the  central  intersection ;  besides  Mary 
Magdalen's  and  the  Bishop's  Chapels,  now  removed.  An  etching,  by  Hollar,  executed 
for  Dugdale's  Monasticon,  shows  the  church  about  1660.  The  Choir  and  Lady  Chapel 
■were   commenced  in  the  Lancet   style,  according  to  an  ancient  chronicle :  "  John 

\ 


200  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

anno  X°  (1208).  Seynte  Marie  Overie  was  that  yere  begonne."  In  1618,  the  fine 
perspective  of  nave  and  choir  was  destroyed  by  an  organ- screen,  set  up  in  place  of  the 
ancient  rood-loft.  In  1624,  the  Lady  Chapel,  which  had  been  let  out  as  a  bakehouse 
for  60  years,  was  restored ;  and  in  1689,  the  tower  was  repaired,  and  the  pinnacles  were 
rebuilt :  height  150  feet.  From  the  roof  Hollar  drew  his  celebrated  Views  of  London, 
before  and  after  the  Great  Fire,  lately  rendered  familiar  by  Martin's  pen-and-ink 
lithograph.  The  choir,  transepts,  Lady  Chapel,  and  tower  are  the  work  of  Bishop  de 
Rupibus,  and  afford  a  good  specimen  of  the  architecture  of  the  commencement  of  the 
thirteenth  century,  when  the  Pointed  style  flourished  in  its  greatest  purity.  The 
windows  are  lancet-shaped,  the  buttresses  large  and  massive,  united  to  the  choir  by 
segments  of  arches ;  the  pinnacles  which  finish  the  buttresses  closely  resemble  the  cor- 
responding works  of  Wykeham  at  Winchester.  The  eastern  gable  of  the  choir  and 
the  foliated  cross  on  the  apex  are  very  fine.  "  Of  the  east  end,"  says  Mr.  George  Gwilt, 
"  no  remains  of  the  more  ancient  building  existed ;  for  this  part  of  the  restoration,  the 
eastern  end  of  Salisbury  Cathedral  furnished  the  requisite  data,  and  this  is  fully  borne 
out  by  Wyngrerde's  Drawing  of  London,  1543." 

For  a  long  interval,  the  only  repairs  of  the  church  tended  to  its  disfigurement,  by 
barbarous  brick  casing  and  the  destruction  of  beautiful  windows ;  until,  in  1818,  the 
repair  of  the  entire  edifice  was  commenced  with  the  tower.  Ascending  the  tower,  it 
will  be  seen  that  a  great  portion  of  its  elevation  was  open  to  the  church  as  a  lantern, 
before  the  present  painted  ceiling,  with  its  trap,  was  set  up.  "  This  tower,"  says  Mr. 
Gwilt,  "  if  we  may  indicate  the  period  of  its  erection  from  a  well-preserved  bust  on 
the  north-west  pier,  must  have  been  built  so  long  ago  as  the  time  of  King  John.  It 
was  not  so  much  time,  as  the  tremendous  vibration  caused  by  the  ringing  of  a  fine  peal 
of  twelve  bells,  containing  nearly  eleven  tons  of  metal  (the  tenor  bell  alone  weighing 
about  2\  tons),  which  split  the  tower  on  two  sides,  causing  a  fissure  of  three  inches  in 
breadth.  The  further  progress  of  this  impending  ruin  was  checked  by  the  application 
of  cast-iron  ties ;  imperceptibly  encircling  each  angular  pier,  as  well  as  the  four  sides  of 
the  tower,  secured  to  octangular  rings,  ample  allowances  being  provided  for  changes  of 
temperature."  The  pinnacles  and  embattled  parapets  were  rebuilt,  also  windows  in- 
serted. This  restoration  was  superintended  by  Mr.  George  Gwilt,  F.S.A.,  who  also, 
in  1822-24,  took  down  the  east  end  of  the  church  to  the  clerestory,  and  gave  the  pre- 
sent face  to  the  structure — his  own  design — consisting  of  an  enriched  gable,  with  an 
elaborately  foliated  cross  on  its  apex ;  pinnacled  staircase  turrets,  with  niches  at  the 
angles ;  and  a  new  triple  lancet  window,  in  the  more  florid  style  of  the  thirteenth  cen- 
tury, instead  of  the  original  window  of  five  lights  (temp.  Henry  VI  I.);  besides  a  Catherine- 
wheel  window,  of  extraordinary  richness  and  beauty.  Over  the  vaulting  a  cast-iron 
roof  was  erected,  and  covered  with  copper ;  and  the  piers  of  the  flying  buttresses  on 
each  side  were  cased  with  stone,  the  aisle  windows  built  anew,  &c. ;  in  all  whicb  Mr. 
Gwilt  has  rigidly  adhered  to  the  former  work,  "  not  only  in  the  general  design,  but 
in  the  minutest  details,  wherever  prototypes  could  be  found."  In  1829-30,  the 
transepts  were  restored  from  the  designs  of  R.  Wallace,  architect ;  groined  roofs  were 
added ;  and  in  the  south  was  introduced  a  circular  window,  designed  from  that  in  the 
ruins  of  Winchester  Palace,  Bankside,  discovered  through  a  fire  in  1814.  In  the  north 
transept  has  been  inserted  a  window  of  circular  tracery,  in  the  style  of  Westminster 
Abbey ;  but  the  side  windows,  originally  of  beautiful  length,  have  been  injudiciously 
shortened.  Within,  the  transepts  present  a  beautiful  vista,  second  only  to  the  choir. 
The  four  magnificent  arches  which  support  the  tower  remain  unaltered. 

The  Lady  Chapel  was  used  by  Bishop  Gardiner  as  a  Consistorial  Court  in  the  reign 
of  Queen  Mary.  In  1555,  a  commission  sat  here  for  the  trial  of  heretics,  Bishop 
Hooper  and  John  Rogers  being  the  first  victims  to  the  stake ;  but  within  four  years, 
the  Popish  vestments  were  sold  for  the  repairs  of  the  church,  and  next  the  valuable 
Latin  records  of  the  Priory  were  burnt  as  superstitious  remains  of  Popery.  The  Lady 
Chapel  was  restored  in  1832,  by  public  subscription,  at  the  expense  of  4027^.  19*.  Id., 
Mr.  G.  Gwilt  giving  his  gratuitous  superintendence  as  architect.  It  possesses  the  sin- 
gularity of  four  gables,  which  has  a  very  beautiful  effect.  The  groined  roof  of  the 
Lady  Chapel  is  very  fine.  Here  is  the  marble  tomb  of  Lancelot  Andrewes,  Bishop  of 
Winchester,  with  his  full-length  effigies,  formerly  in  the  Bishop's  Chapel,  where  also 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  201 

his  leaden  coffin  was  found.  Some  stained-glass  windows,  in  memory  of  Protestant 
martyrs,  have  heen  put  up  in  the  Lady  Chapel,  and  are  effective  as  seen  from  the  choir. 
The  Nave,  it  is  believed,  the  oldest  part  of  the  structure,  was,  in  1839,  taken  down 
within  7  feet  of  the  ground,  and  was  sold  for  150  guineas ! — by  order  of  vestry — 
the  Organ  being  then  moved  up  to  form  a  temporary  end  to  the  Choir.  The  roof  of  the 
nave  had  wooden  bosses,  sculptured  with  grotesque  heads,  shields,  dragons,  flowers, 
fruits,  &c.  The  trusses  of  the  roof  had  knees,  springing  from  stone  corbels,  carved 
into  winged  angels,  bearing  shields  painted  with  various  colours.  The  roof  of  each 
aisle  was  groined  and  ribbed,  with  bosses  at  the  intersections.  The  timber  roof  of  the 
nave  was  a  fine  specimen  of  carpentry,  said  to  have  been  put  up  by  Bishop  Fox  (temp. 
Edward  IV.)  At  the  west  end  were  Tudor  doorways,  to  let  down  tapestry  on  high 
festivals  over  the  walls.  In  the  ruined  nave  have  been  found  a  semicircular-headed 
door  and  some  other  portions  of  the  Norman  church  ;  and  a  semicircular  apse  at  the 
north-east  corner  of  the  vestry,  formerly  St.  John's  Chapel,  was  brought  to  light. 
These  fragments,  together  with  some  other  remains,  would  seem  to  show  that  the 
church  of  the  date  of  1106  was  situated  on  the  north  side  of  the  present  Choir.  Thus 
dismantled  stood  the  roofless  walls,  and  the  massive  Tudor  doorway  at  the  west  end, 
until,  in  1838-9,  the  Nave  was  rebuilt  for  Divine  Service  in  poor,  incongruous  style; 
and  being  separated  from  the  Choir,  St.  Saviour's  now  presents  the  anomalous  appear- 
ance of  two  churches  in  one ;  but  had  the  Nave  been  restored  according  to  the  ancient 
example,  the  groined  roof  of  the  church  would  exhibit  an  uninterrupted  perspective  of 
208  feet.  The  most  picturesque  views  are  from  the  clerestory  vaultings  of  the  Choir. 
The  commonplace  oak  and  plaster  of  the  last  century  have  heen  removed  from  the 
eastern  end,  thus  unveiling  the  stone  altar-screen,  a  beautiful  composition  of  niches, 
&c. ;  and  which,  from  its  resembling  that  in  Winchester  Cathedral,  and  bearing  Bishop 
Fox's  device  of  the  pelican  feeding  her  young,  is  inferred  to  be  his  workmanship :  it 
was  restored  in  1833,  at  the  cost  of  1001. 

"  In  the  fifteenth  century,  sculpture  and  painting  lent  their  aid  to  complete  and  embellish  this  sump- 
tuous display  of  architecture.  Upon  the  altar  and  under  the  central  canopy,  in  the  first  range,  stood 
the  crucifix ;  the  large  niche  above  was  appropriated  to  the  statue  of  the  Blessed  Virgin,  the  patroness 
of  the  church ;  and  the  corresponding  niche  in  the  upper  range  we  may  as  confidently  assign  to  the 
representation  of  the  sacred  Trinity ;  the  minor  niches  might  be  occupied  by  the  sainted  bishops  of  the 
see.  Above  the  whole,  the  design  was  carried  on  in  the  painted  glass  of  the  east  window,  inclosed  as 
it  were  in  a  richly  sculptured  frame :  in  this  perfect  state,  what  a  magnificent  scene  was  displayed  in  the 
Choir  !" — E.  J.  Carlos,  Gentleman's  Magazine,  Feb.  1834. 

The  church  is  very  rich  in  painted  sculpture  tombs.  In  the  south  transept  is  the 
Perpendicular  monument  of  the  poet  Gower,  removed  from  the  north  aisle  of  the  nave 
in  1832,  when  it  was  restored  and  coloured  at  the  expense  of  the  first  Duke  of 
Sutherland,  a  presumed  collateral  descendant  from  the  poet.*  Here  Gower  and  his 
wife  are  buried ;  the  poet  beneath  the  above  monument,  triple  canopied,  and  richly 
dight  with  gold  and  colour  inscription,  with  the  recumbent  effigies  of  Gower  in  prayer : 
his  hair  auburn,  and  long  to  the  shoulders,  and  a  small  forked  beard ;  on  his  head  a 
purple  and  gold  rose  fillet,  with  the  words,  "  Merci  Ihii ;"  a  habit  of  purple,  damasked, 
clown  to  his  feet ;  a  collar  of  esses,  gold,  about  his  neck ;  his  head  resting  upon  three 
gilded  volumes,  the  "  Speculum  Meditantis,"  "  Vox  Clamantis,"  and  "  Confessio 
Amantis ;"  on  the  wall  at  his  feet  are  his  arms,  and  a  hat  or  helmet,  with  a  red  hood, 
ermined,  and  surmounted  by  his  crest — a  dog.  Opposite  Gower's  tomb  is  the  coloured 
bust  of  John  Bingham,  saddler  to  Queen  Elizabeth  and  James  I.  In  the  north 
transept  is  a  richly-painted,  carved,  and  gilt  monument,  with  angels,  rocks,  suns,  and 
serpents,  to  William  Austen,  Esq.,  who  wrote  a  poem  of  "  Meditations."  Next  lies 
Dr.  Lockyer,  the  empiric  (temp.  Charles  II.),  his  reclining  effigies  in  thick  curled  wig 
and  furred  gown : 

"  His  virtues  and  his  pills  are  so  well  known, 
That  envy  can't  confine  them  under  stone." — Epitaph. 

*  "We  are  afraid,  on  the  showing  of  Sir  H.  Nicolas  and  Dr.  Pauli,  that  the  family  of  the  Duke  of 
Sutherland  and  Lord  Ellesmere  must  relinquish  all  pretension  to  being  related  to,  or  even  descended 
from,  John  Gower.  They  have  hitherto  depended  solely  upon  the  possession  of  a  MS.  of  the  Confessio 
Amantis,  which  was  supposed  to  have  been  presented  to  an  ancestor  by  the  poet;  but  it  now  turns  out, 
on  the  authority  of  Sir  Charles  Youug,  Garter,  that  it  was  the  very  copy  of  the  work  which  the  author 
laid  at  the  feet  of  King  Henry  IV.,  while  he  was  yet  Harry  of  Hereford,  Lancaster,  and  Derby!" — 
Review  of  Dr.  Pauli's  edition  of  the  Confessio  Amantis;  Athenaeum,  No.  1537,  p.  468.  Baker  is  the  only 
Chronicler  who  gives  the  date  of  Gower's  death  correctly,  namely,  1408,  as  in  his  Will ;  most  if  not 
all  other  writers  represent  Gower  as  dying  in  1402  or  1403. 

\ 
\ 


202  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

In  the  north  aisle  is  the  monument  to  John  Trehearne,  gentleman-porter  to  James  I., 
with  the  costumed  bust  of  himself  and  wife.  Opposite  is  the  tomb  of  Alderman 
Humble  (temp.  James  I.),  with  kneeling  figures  of  himself  and  his  two  wives,  and 
representations  of  their  children;  and  an  inscription,  slightly  varied  from  a  poem 
attributed  to  Francis  Quarles,  commencing — 

"  Like  to  the  damask  rose  you  see.' 
Here,  too,  is  an  oaken  effigy,  supposed  of  one  of  the  Norman  knights,  founders  of  the 
church  ;  and  near  it  is  the  figure  of  an  emaciated  man,  wrapped  in  a  shroud,  and  finely 
sculptured.  The  burial  register  records,  under  1607,  "  Edmond  Shakespeare,  a  player, 
in  the  church,"  the  great  dramatist's  brother,  and  who,  doubtless,  was  followed  to  the  ' 
grave  by  him  as  chief  mourner ;  under  1625  is  "  Mr.  John  Fletcher,  a  man,  in  the 
church"  (Beaumont  and  Fletcher) ;  and  Philip  Massinger,  "  a  stranger,"  in  the  church- 
yard, 1638-9.  Beneath  a  gravestone  in  the  Choir  lies  Sir  John  Shorter,  who  died 
Lord  Mayor,  in  1688 ;  and  his  wife,  who  died  in  1703 :  he  was  the  grandfather  of 
Lady  Walpole,  wife  of  Sir  Robert,  and  mother  of  Horace  Walpole. 

In  the  church  was  married,  in  1406,  Edmund  Holland,  last  Earl  of  Kent,  Lord 
Admiral  of  England,  and  grandson  of  the  Fair  Maid  of  Kent,  to  Lucia,  eldest  daughter 
of  Barnaby,  Lord  of  Milan :  King  Henry  IV.  gave  away  the  bride  at  the  church-door. 

Here,  on  the  termination  of  his  sentence,  the  Rev.  Dr.  Sacheverel  preached  in 
1713,  on  the  Christian  Triumph,  or  Duty  of  Praying  for  Enemies  j  and  the  booksellers 
gave  him  100Z.  for  the  sermon. 

The  tower  has  a  fine  peal  of  twelve  bells,  and  in  the  belfry  are  recorded  exploits 
performed  upon  them  by  the  College  and  Cumberland  Youths  j  though  these 
bells  were  not  rung  at  the  opening  of  London  Bridge,  in  1831,  from  the  alleged  in- 
security to  the  masonry.  The  clock,  put  up  in  1795,  has  a  dial  31  feet  in  circum- 
ference ;  length  of  minute-hand,  5  feet ;  circumference  of  bell,  11  feet  6  inches.  The 
tower,  east  end,  and  Lady  Chapel,  originally  concealed  by  the  west  side  of  the  old  High- 
street,  were  opened  to  view  in  forming  the  approaches  to  New  London  Bridge,  thus 
presenting,  perhaps,  the  finest  architectural  group  in  the  metropolis  :  its  restoration  in 
the  present  century  has  cost  above  60,000Z. 

St.  Sepuxchbe's,  anciently  "  in  the  Bailey,"  at  the  east  end  of  Skinner-street,  and 
adjacent  to  Newgate,  was  damaged  in  the  Great  Fire,  which  just  reached  Pye  Corner, 
northward  of  the  church.  It  was  rebuilt  about  the  middle  of  the  fifteenth  century. 
The  south-west  entrance-porch,  resembling  a  transept,  has  a  groined  roof,  with  bold 
ribs  and  beautifully-scnlptured  bosses ;  adjoining  is  an  ancient  chapel,  erected  by  the 
Popham  family.  The  body  of  the  church  was  refitted  by  Wren  after  the  Fire.  The 
Organ,  one  of  the  largest  and  finest  in  London,  was  built  by  Harris,  second  only  to 
Schmidt,  in  1677,  and  has  been  enlarged ;  the  pedal  organ,  with  ten  stops,  or  fourteen 
ranks  of  pipes  throughout,  is  unequalled  in  England.  St.  Sepulchre's  was,  in  New- 
court's  time,  "  remarkable  for  possessing  an  exceedingly  fine  Organ,  and  the  playing  is 
thought  so  beautiful  that  large  congregations  are  attracted,  though  some  of  the 
parishioners  object  to  the  mode  of  performing  Divine  service."  The  pulpit  has  a 
sounding-board,  like  a  parabolic  reflector,  with  ribs  of  mahogany,  the  grain  radiating 
from  the  centre.  Among  the  monuments  is  that  of  Capt.  John  Smith,  Governor  of 
Virginia,  and  a  romantic  traveller  (d.  1631)  :  his  eccentric  epitaph,  recorded  by  Strype, 
has  disappeared.  The  benefactions  to  the  parish  include  that  of  Mr.  Richard  Dowe, 
who  left  a  hand-bell,  to  be  rung,  with  certain  forms,  to  the  condemned  criminals  in 
Newgate,  and  on  their  way  to  Tyburn  for  execution,  when  it  was  also  customary  to 
present  a  nosegay  to  each.  St.  Sepulchre's  tower,  "  one  of  the  most  ancient  in  the 
outline  in  the  circuit  of  London "  (Malcolm),  has  four  pinnacles  with  vanes,  rebuilt 
1630-33,  and  is  140  feet  high  :  it  has  a  fine  peal  of  ten  bells ;  the  clock  regulates  the 
hanging  of  criminals  at  Newgate.  "  Unreasonable  people,"  says  Howell,  "  are  as  hard 
to  reconcile  as  the  vanes  of  St.  Sepulchre's  tower,  which  never  looked  all  four  upon  one 
point  of  the  heavens."  On  April  10,  1600,  one  William  Dorrington  threw  himself 
from  the  roof  of  this  tower,  leaving  there  a  written  prayer  for  forgiveness. 

On  St.  Paul's  Day,  service  is  performed  in  the  church  in  accordance  with  the  will  of  Mr.  Paul  Jcrvis, 
who  in  1717,  devised  certain  land  iu  trust,  that  a  Sermon  should  be  preached  in  the  church  upon  every 
Paul's  Day,  upon  the  excellence  of  the  Liturgy  of  the  Church  of  England ;  the  preacher  to  receive  40*. 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  203 

for  such  sermon.  Various  sums  are  also  bequeathed  to  the  Curate,  the  Clerk,  the  Treasurer,  and 
Masters  of  the  parochial  schools.  To  the  poor  of  the  parish  he  bequeathed  20*.  a-piece  to  ten  of  the 
poorest  housekeepers  within  that  part  of  the  parish  of  St.  Sepulchre  commonly  called  Smithfield 
quarter;  4/.  to  the  Treasurer  of  St.  Bartholomew's  Hospital;  and  6«.  8d.  yearly  to  the  Clerk,  who  shall 
attend  to  receive  the  same.  The  residue  of  the  yearly  rents  and  profits  is  to  be  distributed  unto  and 
amongst  such  poor  peopleof  the  parish  of  St.  Sepulchre,  London,  who  shall  attend  the  service  and  sermon. 
At  the  close  of  the  service,  the  Vestry  Clerk  reads  aloud  an  extract  from  the  Will,  and  then  proceeds  to 
the  distribution  of  the  money.  In  the  evening  the  Vicar,  Churchwardens,  and  Common  Councilmen  of 
the  Precinct,  dine  together. 

St.  Simon's,  Moore-street,  Chelsea,  J.  Peacock,  architect,  is  of  Gothic  design, 
cruciform,  with  an  interior  of  some  polychromatic  display,  by  means  of  coloured 
marble  shafts ;  and  it  has  a  very  large  east  window  of  five  lights,  filled  with  stained 
glass :  completed  1859. 

St.  Stephen's,  Coleman-street,  was  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire,  and  rebuilt  by 
Wren,  as  we  now  see  it,  with  a  tower  and  bell-turret  65  feet  high.  Among  the  monu- 
ments is  a  marble  bas-relief,  by  E.  W.  Wyon,  erected  in  1847,  to  the  Rev.  Josiah 
Pratt,  Vicar  of  the  parish,  whose  missionary  labours  are  personified  by  the  Angel  of 
the  Gospel  addressing  an  African,  Hindoo,  and  New  Zealander.  A  curious  square  oak 
carving,  about  5  feet  by  2|,  in  alto-relief,  is  inserted  over  the  gateway  of  St.  Stephen's, 
which  Mr.  George  Scharf  thus  describes : — 

"  From  the  two  upper  corners  seems  to  hang  a  festoon  of  clouds,  upon  which  in  the  centre,  the 
Saviour  is  seated  in  cumbrous  drapery,  holding  the  banner  of  Redemption  in  the  right  hand,  and  the 
ball  and  cross  in  the  left ;  the  significant  action  of  the  Judge  is,  therefore,  entirely  lost.  He  has  a  large 
beard  and  rough  hair,  but  no  nimbus. 

"  Immediately  beneath  the  Saviour,  in  front  of  the  clouds,  Satan  is  falling.  He  is  represented 
of  a  slim  human  form,  with  hideous  face,  horns  and  bats'  wings:  his  feet  are  tied  together !  The 
entire  space  below  is  filled  with  the  dead — all  entirely  naked — issuing  from  their  coffins,  which  are 
shaped  like  those  now  in  use.  At  each  end  some  figures  are  seen  issuing  from  caverns.  The  central 
figures  below  are  large,  fat  children;  but  otherwise  there  is  no  distinction  of  age  or  sex.  One  angel,  to 
the  left  of  the  Saviour,  sounds  the  trumpet. 

"  There  are  no  musical  instruments  nor  indications  of  entrance  to  the  places  of  final  reward.  The 
Book  of  Life  also  is  not  represented.  The  remaining  space  within  the  line  of  clouds  is  filled  with  winged 
angels,  many  of  them  exceedingly  graceful,  busied  in  assisting  the  aspirants  to  heaven  by  reaching 
their  hands  over  the  clouds.  Many  of  the  figures,  in  their  excitement,  seem  ready  to  scale  the  walls 
ofheaven;  but  the  treatment  of  the  whole  is  very  unworthy  of  the  subject.  As  a  piece  of  carving  it  is 
remarkably  good,  and  superior  to  that  over  the  lich-gate  of  St.  Giles's." — Archceologia,  vol.  xxxvi.  p. 
3S9.    See  St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields,  p.  165. 

In  the  old  church  was  buried  Master  Antony  Munday,  who  wrote  a  continuation  of 
Stow's  Survey,  and  for  more  than  forty  years  arranged  the  City  pageants  and  shows. 
Of  this  parish  John  Havward  was  under-sexton  during  the  Great  Plague,  when  he 
carried  the  dead  to  their  graves,  and  fetched  the  bodies  with  the  Dead  Cart  and  Bell, 
yet  "  never  had  the  distemper  at  all,  but  lived  about  twenty  years  after  it." — (See 
Defoe's  Memoirs.) 

St.  Stephen's  the  Maetye,  Avenue-road,  Portland-town,  is  a  large  Decorated 
church,  by  Daukes,  with  a  tower  and  spire  136  feet  high ;  towards  building  whicfl. 
two  individuals  gave  100(M.  each;  the  freehold  of  the  site  and  500Z.  being  also  given 
by  the  Duke  of  Portland. 

St.  Stephen's  the  Maetye,  Rochester-row,  Westminster,  is  a  stately  church,  built 
and  endowed  at  the  sole  cost  of  Miss  Burdett  Coutts,  as  a  memorial  to  her  patriotic 
father,  Sir  Francis  Burdett,  Bart.,  M.P.  for  Westminster  thirty  years.  The  site  was 
presented  by  the  Dean  and  Chapter  of  Westminster,  and  is  nearly  opposite  the  Alms- 
houses founded  by  Emery  Hill  in  1674.  The  first  stone  of  the  church  was  laid  by 
Miss  Coutts,  July  20,  1847 ;  it  was  consecrated  June  20,  1850.  The  style  is  the 
Decorated,  of  the  reigns  of  the  first  three  Edwards ;  and  the  architect,  Ferrey.  The 
church  consists  of  a  Nave  with  aisles,  and  a  Chancel ;  and  on  the  north  side  a  massive 
tower  and  spire,  200  feet  high,  with  a  peal  of  eight  bells  by  Mears ;  all  the  windows 
are  richly  traceried.  The  Chancel  ceiling  is  coloured  blue,  powdered  with  gold  stars ; 
the  walls  are  decorated  with  texts ;  and  the  reredos  is  of  the  Canterbury  diaper,  picked 
out  in  gold  and  colour :  the  altar-cloth  was  presented  by  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  and 
the  chancel  carpet  was  wrought  in  Berlin  work  by  forty  ladies  of  rank,  the  border  by 
the  girls  of  St.  Stephen's  Schools ;  the  design  consists  of  shields  and  heraldic  devices 
and  panels  of  the  fleur-de-lis  and  Tudor  rose,  within  a  Tudor  rose  border.  The  Organ, 
by  Hill,  has  a  screen  of  diapered  pipes,  and  cost  800  guineas.     The  nave  and  aisle  roofs 


204  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

are  of  oak ;  and  the  arcade  rests  upon  clustered  shafts,  with  sculptured  capitals.  The 
pulpit  is  of  stone,  and  enriched  with  tracery ;  and  the  font  is  sculptured  with  Scripture 
subjects.  The  windows  are  tilled  with  stained  glass,  by  Wailes,  and  Powell's  stamped 
quarries.  The  stalls  and  seats  are  of  oak,  and  for  about  900  persons  :  in  the  chancel 
is  a  handsome  corona  of  gas-burners  and  candlesticks.  Adjoining  are  Schools,  of  very 
picturesque  design,  also  by  Ferrey.  By  an  Order  in  Council,  in  the  Gazette,  April  9, 
1856,  no  one  is  to  be  buried  in  St.  Stephen's  Church  besides  Miss  Coutts  and  Mrs. 
Brown  (widow  of  Mr.  Brown,  who  is  already  buried  there) ;  and  their  bodies  are  to  be 
imbedded  "  in  a  layer  of  powdered  charcoal,  six  inches  at  least  in  thickness,  and  be 
separately  entombed  in  brickwork  well  cemented." 

St.  Stephen's,  Spitalfields,  E.  Christian,  architect,  on  the  east  side  of  Commercial- 
street,  was  completed  in  1862.  It  is  of  yellow  brick,  with  red  and  black  bricks, 
sparingly  introduced ;  its  distinctive  feature  being  the  apse,  which,  instead  of  serving 
as  the  chancel,  as  is  usual,  is  placed  at  the  west-end  of  the  nave — a  fashion  borrowed, 
with  some  other  features,  from  Germany.  Beside  it  is  a  parsonage,  as  quaint  as  the 
church.  The  interior  of  the  church  is  an  exact  square,  without  the  apse.  The  walls 
are  plastered,  but  the  piers  and  arches  are  faced  with  red  and  white  bricks. 

St.  Stephen's,  Walhrook,  is  the  third  church  of  that  name  and  locality  :  the  first, 
according  to  Dugdale,  stood  on  the  west  side  of  the  "  Brook ;"  the  second,  built  in 
1428,  on  the  east  side,  was  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire ;  and  the  present  church, 
Cinque-cento  style,  was  built  upon  the  same  site,  1672-79,  from  the  designs  of  Wren,  at 
a  salary  of  100/.  a  year ;  and  the  parish  accounts  show  that  a  hogshead  of  claret  was 
presented  to  the  architect,  and  twenty  guineas  to  his  lady.  The  exterior  is  plain : 
tower  and  spire  128  feet  high.  The  interior  is  one  of  Wren's  finest  works,  with  its 
exquisitely-proportioned  Corinthian  columns,  and  great  central  dome  of  timber  and 
lead,  resting  upon  a  circle  of  light  arches  springing  from  column  to  column ;  its 
enriched  Composite  cornice,  the  shields  of  the  spandrels,  and  the  palm-branches  and 
rosettes  of  the  dome- coffers,  are  very  beautiful;  and  as  you  enter  from  the  dark  vesti- 
bule, a  halo  of  dazzling  light  flashes  upon  the  eye  through  the  central  aperture  of  the 
cupola.  The  fittings  are  of  oak :  and  the  altar-screen,  Organ-case,  and  gallery,  have 
some  good  carvings,  among  which  are  prominent  the  arms  of  the  Grocers'  Company, 
the  patrons  of  the  living,  and  who  gave  the  handsome  wainscoting.  The  carved  pulpit 
has  festoons  of  fruit  and  flowers,  and  canopied  sounding-board,  with  angels  bearing 
wreaths.  The  church  was  cleansed  and  repaired  in  1850,  when  West's  painting  of 
the  Martyrdom  of  St.  Stephens,  presented  in  1779  by  the  then  Rector,  Dr.  Wilson, 
was  removed  from  over  the  altar  and  placed  on  the  north  wall  of  the  church.  The 
large  east  window,  painted  by  Willement,  represents  the  ordination  and  death  of  the 
proto-martyr,  to  whom  the  church  is  dedicated :  the  other  windows,  by  Gibbs,  are  a 
memorial  to  the  late  rector,  Dr.  Croly,  the  eloquent  poet  and  imaginative  prose- 
writer,  whose  bust  by  Behnes,  and  monument  by  Philip,  are  here.  In  a  niche  is  also 
placed  a  bust  of  the  architect  of  St.  Stephen's,  Sir  Christopher  Wren.  There  are  four 
large  windows,  two  at  either  end  of  the  church,  and  thirteen  smaller  ones.  The  sub- 
jects of  the  large  windows  at  the  west  end  of  the  church  are  the  Nativity  and  Baptism 
of  Christ ;  at  the  east  end,  the  Crucifixion  and  Ascension.  The  small  windows  at  the 
north  side  are  illustrative  of  the  Parables  of  our  Lord :  the  Sower,  Good  Samaritan, 
Prodigal  Son,  Dives  and  Lazarus,  Pharisee  and  Publican,  the  Ten  Virgins,  and  the 
Good  Shepherd.  On  the  south  side,  the  miracles  represented  are — Turning  Water 
into  Wine,  Raising  Jairus's  Daughter,  Restoring  the  Blind  to  Sight,  Feeding  the 
Five  Thousand,  the  Pool  of  Bethesda,  and  Christ  Walking  on  the  Sea.  The  Organ 
was  built  by  England,  and  is  very  sweet-toned ;  the  case  harmonizes  with  the 
beautiful  architecture  of  the  church. 

This  church,  unquestionahly  elegant,  has  been  overpraised.  The  rich  dome  is  considered  by  John 
Carter  to  he  Wren's  attempt  to  "  set  up  a  dome,  a  comparative  imitation  (though  on  a  diminutive  scale) 
of  the  Pantheon  at  Rome,  and  which,  no  doubt,  was  a  kind  of  probationary  trial  previous  to  his  gigantic 
operation  of  fixing  one  on  his  octangular  superstructure  in  the  centre  of  his  new  St.  Paul's."  Mr.  J. 
Gwilt  says  of  St.  Stephen's  :  "  Compared  with  any  other  church  of  nearly  the  same  magnitude,  Italy 
cannot  exhibit  its  equal ;  elsewhere  its  rival  is  not  to  be  found.  Of  those  worthy  notice,  the  Zitelle  at 
Venice  (by  Palladio),  is  the  nearest  approximation  in  regard  to  size,  but  it  ranks  far  below  our  church 
in  point  of  composition,  and  still  lower  in  point  of  effect."    Again:  "  Had  its  materials  and  volume 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  205 

been  as  durable  and  extensive  as  those  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  Sir  Christopher  Wren  had  consummated 
(in  St.  Stephen's)  a  much  more  efficient  monument  to  his  well-earned  fame  than  that  fabric  affords." 

St.  Stephen's  serves  also  for  the  parish  of  St.  Bennet  Sherehog.  Upon  the  north  side 
of  Pancras-lane  is  a  small  enclosed  piece  of  ground,  and  upon  a  stone  on  an  adjoining 
house  is  inscribed,  "  Before  the  dreadful  fire,  anno  1666,  here  stood  the  parish  church 
St.  Bennet  Sherehog." 

Pendleton,  the  celebrated  Vicar  of  Bray,  known  by  his  multiversations,  subsequently  became  rector 
of  St.  Stephen's,  Walbrook.  It  is  related  that  in  the  reign  of  Edward  VI.,  Lawrence  Sanders,  the  martyr, 
an  honest  but  mild  and  timorous  man,  stated  to  Pendleton  his  fears  that  he  had  not  strength  of  mind 
to  en  Jure  the  persecution  of  the  times ;  and  was  answered  by  Pendleton  that  "he  would  see  every  drop 
of  his  fat  and  the  last  morsel  of  his  flesh  consumed  to  ashes  ere  he  would  swerve  from  the  faith  then 
established."  He,  however,  changed  with  the  times,  saved  his  fat  and  his  flesh,  and  became  rector  of 
St.  Stephen's,  whilst  the  mild  and  diffident  Sanders  was  burnt  in  Smithfield. 

The  oldest  monument  in  the  church  is  that  of  John  Lilburne :  Sir  John  Vanbrugh, 
the  wit  and  architect,  is  buried  here,  in  the  family  vault.  During  the  repairs  in  1850, 
it  is  stated  that  4000  coffins  were  found  beneath  the  church  ;  they  were  covered  with 
brickwork  and  concrete  to  prevent  the  escape  of 'noxious  effluvia. 

St.  Swithin's,  London  Stone,  Cannon-street,  was  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire, 
and  rebuilt  by  Wren,  in  1680,  as  we  now  see  it.  It  has  a  tower  and  spire  150  feet 
high ;  but  is  chiefly  remarkable  for  having  against  its  outer  south  wall,  within  a  modern 
stone  case,  all  that  remains  of  the  ancient  "  London  Stone,"  a  Roman  miliarium. 
Before  it  was  removed  from  the  opposite  side  of  Cannon-street  it  was  well  secured,  for 
Sir  John  Fielding,  in  his  London  and  Westminster,  1776,  tells  us,  "  it  was  fixed  so 
very  deep  in  the  ground,  and  was  so  thoroughly  fastened  by  bars  of  iron,  that  the  most 
ponderous  carriages  could  do  it  no  injury." 

Temple  Church  (St.  Mary's),  in  the  rear  of  the  south  side  of  Fleet-street,  was  the 
church  of  the  Knights  Templars  after  their  removal  from  their  chief  house  on  the  site 
of  old  Southampton  House,  without  Holborn-bars.*  It  consists  of  "  the  Round," 
built  in  1185,  and  consecrated  by  Heraclius,  Patriarch  of  Jerusalem,  some  two  cen- 
turies, or  nearly  so,  before  the  addition  of  the  Gothic  Latin  Chapel  of  the  time  of 
Edward  II.,  as  erected  by  the  Knights  of  St.  John  after  the  expulsion  of  the  Templars. 
The  inscription  (from  the  Saxon)  beneath  the  western  entrance  is : 

"  Ab  incarnatione  Domini  MCLXXXV.,  dedicata  ha?c  ecclesia  in  honore  beatffi  Mariae,  a  domino 
EEACLIO,  Dei  gratia  Sanctas  Resurrectionis  ecclesia;  patriarcha,  IV.  idus  Februarii,  qui  earn  anna- 
tim  petentibus  de  injuncta  sibi  penitentia  LX.  dies  indulsit." 

This  is  one  of  the  four  circular  churches  built  in  England  after  the  Templars'  return 
from  the  first  and  second  Crusades;  the  other  three  existing  at  Cambridge,  Northampton ; 
and  Maplestead,  in  Essex.  The  architecture  is  midway  between  Romanesque  and  Early 
English  Gothic :  the  western  entrance  semicircular  arches  and  capitals  are  richly  sculp- 
tured and  deeply  recessed ;  within,  Purbeck  marble  columns,  with  boldly-sculptured 
capitals,  support  a  gallery  or  triforium  of  interlaced  Norman  arches ;  and  the  clerestory 
has  six  Romanesque  windows,  one  filled  with  stained  glass,  bright  ruby  ground,  with 
a  representation  of  Christ,  and  emblems  of  the  Evangelists ;  and  the  ceiling,  cf  Sara- 
cenic character,  is  colouied.  On  the  gallery  well-staircase  is  a  "penitential  cell." 
The  arcade  in  the  aisle  beneath  has  sculptured  heads  of  astonishing  variety,  copies  exe- 
cuted by  Sir  R.  Smirke  in  1827 ;  and  here  are  pointed  arches  with  Norman  billets. 
Upon  the  pavement  are  figures  of  Crusaders,  "  in  cross-legged  effigy  devoutly  stretched," 
but  originally  placed  upon  altar-tombs  and  pedestals. 

These  effigies  of  feudal  warriors  are  sculptured  out  of  freestone.  The  attitudes  of  all  are  different, 
but  they  are  all  recumbent  with  the  legs  crossed.  They  are  in  complete  mail  with  surcoats ;  one  only 
is  bare-headed,  and  has  the  cowl  of  a  monk.  The  shields  are  of  the  heater  or  Norman  shape,  but  the 
size  is  not  the  same  in  all ;  one  of  them  is  very  long,  and  reaches  from  the  shoulder  to  the  middle  of 
the  leg.  Their  heads,  with  one  exception,  repose  on  cushions,  and  have  hoods  of  mail.  Three  of  them 
have  flattish  helmets  over  the  armour,  and  one  has  a  sort  of  casque.  They  have  been  well  restored  by 
Mr.  Richardson.    The  best  authorities  assign  five  of  them  as  follow :  to  Geoffry  de  ilagnaville,  Earl  of 

*  In  the  rear  of  the  house  No.  322,  High  Holborn,  is  a  room  or  hall,  for  some  unexplained  reason, 
called  "  the  chapel :"  it  has  a  finely  panelled  oak  ceiling,  about  a.d.  1500;  a  large  window  opening, 
and  a  pointed  doorway,  now  filled  up.  A  few  yards  westward  may  be  traced  the  position  of  the  Round 
Church  of  the  Templars,  which  they  possessed  previous  to  the  erection  of  the  present  Temple  Church 
in  Fleet-street.  Stow  relates  that  adjoining  the  old  Temple  Church  was  the  inn  of  the  Bishop  of  Lin- 
coln ;  and  afterwards  a  house  belonging  to  the  Earl  of  Southampton,  to  which  the  room  in  question 
appears  to  pertain. — J.  Wt/keham  Archer,  1850, 


206  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Essex,  a.d.  1144  (right  arm  on  his  breast  and  large  sword  at  his  right) — lie  is  not  mentioned  by 
Weever ;  William  Mareschall,  Earl  of  Pembroke,  a.d.  1219  (sculptured  in  Sussex  marble,  with  his 
sword  through  a  lion's  head) ;  Robert  Lord  de  Ros,  a.d.  1245  (head  uncovered,  with  long  flowing 
hair),  whose  effigy  is  said  to  have  been  brought  from  Helmsley  Church,  Yorkshire ;  William  Mareschall, 
junior,  Earl  of  Pembroke,  1231  (with  lion  rampant  on  shield,  and  sheathing  his  sword) ;  Gilbert 
Mareschall,  Earl  of  Pembroke,  1281  (drawing  his  sword,  winged  dragon  at  feet).— A  Ola-nee  at  the 
Temple  Church,  by  Henry  Cole.    See  also  Richardson's  Illustrations,  1845. 

In  1841  were  discovered  the  ancient  lead  coffins  containing  the  bodies  of  these  knights,  who  did 
not  appear  to  have  been  buried  in  their  armour  j  and  none  of  the  coffin  ornaments  were  of  earlier  date 
than  the  beginning  of  the  13th  century. 

There  has  also  been  found  in  the  Church  an  early  inscribed  monument,  upon  which  Mr.  W.  S. 
Walford  has  succeeded  in  deciphering  the  name  of  Philip  de  St.  Hilaire,  who  was  of  a  Norman  family, 
allied  with  the  Clares  and  the  Earl  of  Arundel  at  the  close  of  the  twelfth  century;  and  the  name  his 
been  found  by  Mr.  Waterton  among  the  Knights  Templars  of  the  century. 

In  the  Temple  Round,  lawyers  received  clients  as  merchants  on  'Change : 
"  Retain  all  sorts  of  witnesses, 
That  ply  i'  the  Temple  under  trees  ; 
Or  walk  the  Round  with  Knights  o'  the  Posts, 
About  the  cross-legg'd  knights,  their  hosts." — Hudibras,  pt.  iii.  c.  8. 

Dugdale  says :  "  Item,  they  (the  lawyers)  have  no  place  to  walk  in  and  confer  their 
learnings  hut  the  church;  which  place  all  the  term-times  hath  in  it  no  more  quietness 
than  the  Pervise  of  Paules,  by  occasion  of  the  confluence  and  concourse  of  such  as  are 
suitors  in  the  law."  "  The  Round"  is  the  nave  or  vestibule  to  the  oblong  portion,  which 
is  the  Choir,  in  pure  Lancet  style,  almost  rebuilt  in  the  restorations  and  alterations  in 
1839-42  by  Savage  and  Sydney  Smirke.  The  groined  roof,  richly  coloured  in  ara- 
besque, and  ornamented  with  holy  emblems,  is  rendered  very  effective  by  the  floods  of 
light  from  the  triple  lancet-headed  windows. 

The  Temple  Church  Organ  has  a  strange  history.  It  was  built  late  in  the  reign  of 
Charles  II.  by  competition.  First  was  set  up  an  organ  by  Schmidt,  when  Dr.  Blow  and 
Purcell,  then  in  their  prime,  performed  on  the  instrument  on  appointed  days,  to  dis- 
play its  excellence.  Another  organ  was  built  in  a  different  part  of  the  church,  by 
Harris,  who  employed  Sully,  organist  to  Queen  Catharine,  to  touch  this  organ,  which 
brought  it  in  favour ;  and  the  rival  organs  competed  for  nearly  a  year.  At  length, 
Harris  challenged  Schmidt  to  make  additional  reed-stops  in  a  given  time;  these  were  the 
voxhumana,  Cremorne,  the  double-cartel,  or  double-bassoon,  and  some  others;  and 
these  stops,  which  were  new  to  English  ears,  delighted  the  crowd  at  the  trial.  At 
length,  Judge  Jefferies,  of  the  Inner  Temple,  terminated  the  controversy  in  favour  of 
Schmidt ;  and  Harris's  Organ  was  removed.  The  partisanship  ran  so  high,  that,  accord- 
ing to  the  Hon.  Roger  North,  "  in  the  night  preceding  the  last  trial  of  the  reed-stops, 
the  friends  of  Harris  cut  the  bellows  of  Smith's  organ  in  such  a  manner  that  when  the 
time  came  for  playing  upon  it,  no  wind  could  be  conveyed  into  the  wind-chest." 

The  Temple  Organ  is  considered  Schmidt's  masterpiece,  and  though  additions  have  been  made  by 
Byfield,  and  by  Bishop,  it  retains  all  the  original  pipes  in  great  organ  and  choir  organ.  The  swell  was 
constructed  by  Byfield,  and  perhaps  still  contains  the  pipes  of  the  original  also.  This  organ  is  remark- 
able for  possessing  quarter-tones,  so  that  there  is  a  difference  of  tone  between  G  sharp  and  A  flat,  and 
also  between  B  sharp  and  E  flat.  Originally  this  arrangement  occurred  only  in  the  choir  organ  and 
great  organ :  and  it  seems  to  have  been  introduced  either  as  an  object  of  curiosity,  or  to  render  it  in 
some  way  more  perfect  than  its  rival,  since  probably  Harris  was  unprepared  for  the  novel  contrivance. 
(See  A  short  Account  of  Organs  built  in  England,  1847.)  This  organ  is  a  grand  instrument,  but  far  too 
large  for  the  church.    The  Musical  Service  here  is  very  fine. 

In  the  little  vestry  beneath  the  Organ-gallery  is  a  marble  tablet  to  Oliver  Gold- 
smith, buried  iu  the  ground  east  of  the  choir,  April  9,  1774.  The  choir-stalls  and 
benches  are  beautifully  carved  in  oak  from  ancient  examples  :  the  altar  is  new,  in  the 
style  of  Edward  I.,  and  contains  five  canopied  panels,  gilt  and  illuminated ;  here  are  an 
ambry,  piscina,  and  sacrarium  or  tabernacle  for  the  Eucharist ;  and  behind  the  altar 
are  three  ancient  niches  for  sacred  utensils.  On  the  south  is  the  monumental  effigies 
of  a  bishop  in  pontificals,  supposed  to  be  that  of  Silverston  de  Eversdon,  Bishop  of 
Carlisle,  d.  1255,  and  buried  here.  To  the  left  is  a  white  marble  tomb  over  the  re- 
mains of  the  learned  Selden,  d.  1654,  in  Whitefriars ;  his  funeral  sermon  was  preached 
by  Archbishop  Ussher.  In  the  triforium  are  the  tombs  of  Plowden,  the  jurist ;  Howell, 
writer  of  the  Familiar  Letters ;  and  Edmund  Gibbon,  an  ancestor  of  the  historian : 
the  views  of  the  church  from  this  gallery  are  very  picturesque.  Here  are  also  several 
memorials  of  eminent  lawyers ;  and  among  them,  a  marble  bust,  by  Rossi,  of  Lord 
Chancellor  Thurlow  (d.  1806).  On  the  south  wall  is  a  tablet  to  Ann  Littleton  (d. 
1623),  daughter-in-law  to  Sir  Edward  Littleton,  with  a  quaint  epitaph,  ending— 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  207 

"  Keep  well  this  pawn,  thou  marble  chest ; 
Till  it  be  called  for,  let  it  rest: 
For  while  this  jewel  here  is  set, 
The  grave  is  but  a  cabinet." 

It  is  mentioned  in  Dugdale's  Monasticon  that  both  King  Henry  II.  and  his  Queen 
Eleanor  directed  that  their  bodies  should  be  interred  within  the  walls  of  the  Temple 
Chapel,  and  that  the  above  monarch  by  his  Will  left  500  marks  for  that  purpose.  The 
walls  are  inscribed  with  Scripture  texts  in  Latin ;  and  between  the  top  of  the  stalls  and 
the  string-course  beneath  the  windows,  is  the  Hymn  of  St.  Ambrose.  The  windows, 
by  Willement,  are  among  the  finest  specimens  of  modern  stained  glass :  the  altar  sub- 
jects are  from  the  life  of  Christ,  the  interspaces  being  deep-blue  and  ruby  mosaic,  with 
glittering  borders.  Knights  Templars  fill  the  aisle  windows;  but  that  opposite  the 
organ  has  figures  of  angels  playing  musical  instruments. 

A  brief  history  of  the  Templars  in  England  and  of  this  church  may  be  read  in  the  rude  effigies  of 
the  successive  kings  during  whose  reigns  they  flourished,  now  painted  on  the  west  end  of  the  chancel. 
At  the  south  corner  sits  Henry  I.  (a.d.  1128),  holding  the  first  banner  of  the  Crusaders,  half  black,  half 
white,  entitled  " Iieauseant ;"  white  typifying  fairness  towards  friends;  black,  terror  to  foes.    This 
banner  was  changed  during  the  reign  of  Stephen  (a.d.  1116)  for  the  red  cross: 
"  And  on  his  brest  a  bloodie  crosse  he  bore, 
The  deare  remembrance  of  his  dying  Lord." 
Henry  II.  and  the  Round  Church  are  represented  by  the  third  figure.    Richard  I.,  with  the  sword  which, 
he      elded  as  Crusader,  and  John,  his  brother,  are  the  next  kings;  and  in  the  north  aisle  is  portrayed 
He       III.,  holding  the  two  churches;  the  chancel,  or  square  part,  having  been  added  in  his  reign,  and 
con.         ed  on  Ascension-day,  1240. — Cole's  Glance  at  the  Temple  Church. 

Exten.  'ly,  the  east  end  has  three  high  gables,  with  crosses ;  and  the  bell  is  hung  in  a 
new  stone  turret  on  the  north  side.  The  church  has  been  thrown  open  to  view ;  and 
in  removing  tht  house  over  the  porch,  a  western  wheel-window  was  exposed  in  the 
Norman  Round.  T  "R  groined  western  Norman  porch  has  been  restored,  and  covered 
with  a  leaded  gable  It  '.  The  renovated  ashlar-work  has  been  carried  throughout  the 
Round;  a  new  cone  or  "vfa  has  been  ^laced  on  the  top,  in  place  of  the  former  roof, 
dormer  lights  introduced,  and  the  spl.  terminated  in  a  large  metal  gilt  vane — a 
strictly  mediaeval  bird.  By  the  W  ^a-  i  buildings,  a  sort  of  new  location  is  given 
to  the  Norman  Round  and  porch,  ana  i  "ken  .grassy  churchyard  with  its  ancient 

tombs.  These  works  are  by  S.  Smirke  an  f  May**  During  their  progress,  the 
dust  and  bones  of  the  learned  John  Selden  were  "  c.iriod  away  .md  shot  into  a  dust- 
hole."  Opposite  the  bell-turret,  in  the  burial-ground,  was  found  a  decayed  blue  flag  or 
slate  ledger-stone,  inscribed  with  uncial  letters,  ending  den,  which  slab  was  once  laid 
over  the  remains  of  Selden,  whose  dust  and  remains  were  ignominiously  treated  as 
above  by  the  workmen.  This  is  remarkable,  seeing  that,  according  to  Aubrey,  at  the 
time  of  the  interment  of  Selden,  no  pains  seem  to  have  been  spared  to  render  the  deposi- 
tory secure.     Aubrey  tells  us : — 

"  His  (Selden's)  grave  was  ten  foot  deep  or  better,  walled  up  a  good  way  with  brick,  of  which  also 
the  bottome  was  paved,  but  the  sides  of  the  bottome  for  about  two  feet  high  were  of  black  polished 
marble,  wherein  his  coffin  (covered  with  black  bays)  lyeth,  and  upon  that  wall  of  marble  was  presently 
lett  downe  a  huge  black  marble  stone  of  great  thickness  with  this  inscription :  '  His  jacet  corpus 
Johannis  Selden,  qui  obiit  die  Novembris,  1654.'  Over  this  was  turned  an  arch  of  brick  (for  the 
House  would  not  give  their  ground),  and  upon  that  was  throwne  the  earth,  &c.— Letter  to  The  Timet, 
late  in  1864. 

North-east  of  the  Choir  is  the  house  of  the  Master  of  the  Temple,  as  the  preacher  at 
the  church  is  called  :  it  is  fronted  by  a  garden,  beneath  which  is  the  Benchers'  Vault. 
One  of  the  most  learned  Masters  was  Hooker,  author  of  the  Ecclesiastical  Polity ; 
another  eminent  Master  was  Sherlock,  afterwards  Bishop  of  London. 

The  Offertory  alms  are  distributed  to  the  poor,  chiefly  old  servants  of  the  Temple,  at 
Midsummer  and  Christmas. 

In  March,  1862,  at  a  short  distance  south  of  the  Round  of  the  church  were  exca- 
vated some  pillars  and  part  of  the  basement  of  St.  Anne's  Chapel,  which  connected 
the  convent  of  the  Temple  with  the  church.  This  chapel  was  taken  down  in  1827  : 
here  Almeric  de  Montfort,  the  Pope's  chaplain,  who  had  been  imprisoned  by  Edward  I., 
was  set  at  liberty  at  the  instance  of  the  Roman  Pontiff. 

St.  Thomas  the  Apostle  stood  in  Knightrider-street.  It  was  an  endowment  of 
the  Canons  of  St.  Paul's,  and  is  spoken  of  so  early  as  1181.  Sir  Wm.  Littlebury, 
alias  Horn  (so  named,  saith  Stow,  by  King  Edward  IV.,  because  he  was  an  excellent 


208  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

blower  on  the  horn),  was  buried  here.  He  bequeathed  his  house,  called  the  George,  in 
Bread-street,  to  find  a  priest  for  the  sanctuary,  who  was  to  have  a  stipend  of  6Z.  13*.  4d. 
yearly ;  also  to  every  preacher  at  Paul's-cross  and  the  Spittle,  4d.  for  ever ;  to  the 
prisoners  at  Newgate,  &c.,  10s.  at  Christmas  and  Easter,  for  ever,  which  legacies  were 
soon  forgotten.  He  further  gave  four  new  bells  to  the  church,  and  500  marks  towards 
repairing  the  highways  between  London  aud  Cambridge.  His  house,  garden,  &c,  to 
be  sold  and  bestowed  in  charity,  "  as  his  executors  would  answer  before  God."  The 
church  of  St.  Thomas  the  Apostle  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  was  not  rebuilt. 

St.  Thomas,  Chaetebhottse,  Goswell-street-road,  a  brick  church  in  the  Anglo- 
Norman  style,  was  designed  by  E.  Blore,  and  consecrated  1842.  A  portion  is  set 
apart  for  the  Brethren  of  the  Charterhouse. 

St.  Thomas's,  Southwark,  in  St.  Thomas's-street,  was  originally  the  church  of  the 
Monastery  or  Hospital  of  St.  Thomas,  but  was  made  parochial  after  the  Dissolution  : 
in  1702  it  was  rebuilt  of  brick,  with  a  square  tower,  closely  resembling  that  of  the 
former  church.  The  Kegister  records  the  marriage,  Jan.  27,  1613,  of  the  father 
and  mother  of  John  Evelyn.  Johnson,  the  younger,  the  sculptor  of  the  Stratford 
bust  of  Shakspeare,  is  ascertained,  by  Cunningham  and  Halliwell,  to  have  lived  in  this 
parish. 

Teinity,  Holt,  Bessborough  Gardens,  close  to  Vauxhall  Bridge,  a  district  church  of 
St.  Margaret's  and  St.  John's,  Westminster,  was  erected  at  the  sole  expense  of  Arch- 
deacon Bentinck,  Prebendary  of  Westminster ;  the  foundation-stone  was  laid  by  Mrs. 
Bentinck,  Nov.  8, 1849,  on  which  day  also  was  founded  another  church,  in  Great  Peter- 
street,  in  the  same  parish.  Holy  Trinity  Church  is  designed  in  the  Early  Decorated 
style  (temp.  Edward  1.  and  II.)  :  at  the  intersection  of  the  four  arms  rises  an  enriched 
tower  and  spire,  193  feet  high :  the  east-end  window  of  seven  lights  is  large  and  fine. 
The  church  has  been  decorated  and  furnished  by  subscription. 

Teinity,  Holy,  Bishop' s-road,  Paddington,  a  Perpendicular  church,  built  by  Cundy 
in  1844-6  j  it  has  a  richly  crocketed  spire  and  pinnacled  tower,  219  feet  high,  and  a 
magnificent  stained  chancel-window :  the  crypt  is  on  a  level  with  the  roofs  of  the 
houses  in  Belgrave-square. 

Teinity,  Holy,  Brompton,  a  church  in  the  Early  English  style,  by  Donaldson  ; 
with  a  lofty  tower,  and  stained  glass  of  ancient  design  and  colour ;  consecrated  1829. 
It  occupies,  with  the  burial-ground,  the  site  of  a  nursery-garden ;  here  flowers  and 
funereal  shrubs  decorate  the  graves.     John  Beeve,  the  comic  actor,  is  buried  here. 

Teinity,  Holy,  Hartland-road,  Haverstock-hill,  is  a  district  church  of  St.  Pancras, 
and  was  consecrated  1850.  It  is  built  in  the  Middle  Pointed  style,  Wyatt  and  Brandon, 
architects,  and  consists  of  a  Nave,  with  north  and  south  aisles,  Chancel,  and  tower 
and  spire  160  feet  high  ;  the  chancel  is  novel,  the  arches  producing  an  elegant  play 
of  lines. 

Teinity,  Gray's-inn-road,  district  church  of  St.  Andrew's,  Holborn,  designed  by 
Pennethorne,  was  built  in  1837-8  :  it  has  a  pedimented  centre,  and  belfry  with  cupola 
roof  and  cross,  and  catacombs  beneath  for  1000  bodies.  Adjoining  is  the  old  burial- 
ground  of  St.  Andrew's,  its  crowded  graves  interspersed  with  trees  and  shrubs. 

Teinity,  Albany -street,  Marylebone,  designed  by  Soane,  R.A.,  in  classic  taste,  has  the 
first  story  of  the  tower  of  beautiful  design ;  but  the  second  puny,  owing  to  lack  of 
funds.     The  basement  has  spacious  catacombs. 

Teinity,  Holy,  Minories,  was  originally  the  church  of  the  Priory  of  the  Holy  Trinity, 
founded  by  Matilda,  Queen  of  Henry  I.,  in  1108.  The  church  was  without  the  walls 
of  London,  and  escaped  the  Great  Fire ;  but  becoming  insecure,  it  was  taken  down 
and  rebuilt  in  1706  j  the  font  was  taken  from  the  old  church  ;  a  spring  in  Haydon- 
square  was  the  Priory  fountain.  It  is  stated  by  Strype,  that  Trinity  pretended  to 
privileges,  as  "  marrying  without  a  license."  In  the  Chancel  is  the  tomb  of  the  loyal 
William  Legge,  who  bore  the  touching  message  of  Charles  I.  from  the  scaffold  to  his 
son,  the  Prince  of  Wales,  enjoining  him  to  "  remember  the  faithfullest  servant  ever 
prince  had."     Here,  too,  is  buried  Legge's  son,  the  first  Earl  of  Dartmouth  j  and  bis 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  209 

grandson,  the  second  Earl ;  and  annotator  of  Burnet.     Some  bones  from  the  battle- 
field of  Culloden  are  deposited  in  the  churchyard,  bearing  date  1745. 

St.  Vedast's,  Foster-lane,  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire,  and  rebuilt  by  Wren,  has 
an  original  and  graceful  spire,  in  three  stories.  The  interior  has  a  ceiling  enriched 
with  wreaths  of  flowers,  and  fruits,  and  foliage ;  and  a  carved  oak  altar-piece,  with 
winged  figures,  palm -branches,  a  pelican,  &c.  In  the  vestry -room  is  a  print  of  "  West 
Cheap  "  in  1585,  with  the  church  of  St.  Michael  on  the  north  side  of  Paternoster. row, 
the  burial-place  of  the  antiquary,  Leland  (d.  1552).  "The  only  church  clock  in  London 
— or,  perhaps,  the  kingdom — without  a  face,  is  St.  Vedast's,  Foster-lane,  at  the  back 
of  the  Post-Office,  which  strikes  on  a  small  shrill  bell,  supernumerary  to  the  peal 
of  six." 

Towees  and  Spires. — The  Churches  of  London  give  much  beauty  to  every  view  of 
the  metropolis,  and  have,  moreover,  many  valuable  and  interesting  associations.  In 
the  "  Union  of  Benefices  Act  is  nothing  that  shall  authorize  the  pulling  down  the 
churches  of  St.  Stephen,  Walbrookj  St.  Martin,  Ludgate;  St.  Peter,  Cornhill;  and 
St.  Swithin,  Cannon-street."  To  preserve  the  other  works  of  this  class,  a  meeting  was 
held  on  the  top  of  St.  Paul's,  at  which  six  architects  examined  the  various  towers  and 
steeples,  with  the  view  of  saying  which  should  be  preserved.  The  sight  was  wonderful, 
and  those  present  found  few  spires  to  the  destruction  of  which  they  were  willing  to 
assent.  A  memorial  was  agreed  on,  and,  being  signed  by  the  President  of  the  Institute  of 
Architects  and  members  of  the  Council,  presented  to  the  House  of  Commons,  praying  that 
the  following  towers  and  steeples  be  added  to  those  exempted  from  destruction,  namely : 

Saint  Alban's,  Wood-street;  Allhallows,  Bread-street;  Allhallows,  Lombard-street;  AUhallows, 
Thames-street;  Saint  Andrew's,  Holborn ;  Saint  Antholin's,  Watling-street ;  Saint  Augustine's,  Wat- 
ling-street  ;  Saint  Bartholomew's  the  Great ;  Saint  Benet's,  Thames-street ;  Saint  Bride's,  Fleet-street ; 
Christchurch,  Newgate-street ;  Saint  Dionis'  Backehurch ;  Saint  Dunstan's  in  the  East ;  Saint  Dun- 
stan's  in  the  West ;  Saint  Edmund  the  King's ;  Saint  George's,  Botolph-lane ;  Saint  Giles's,  Cripplegate ; 
Saint  James's,  Garlick-hill ;  Saint  Lawrence's,  Jewry ;  Saint  Magnus's,  London  Bridge ;  Saint  Mar- 
garet's, Lothbury;  Saint  Margaret  Pattens' ;  Saint  Mary  Abchurch;  Saint  Mary  Aldermary;  Saint 
Mary's-le-Bow ;  Saint  Mary's,  Somerset ;  Saint  Maty  Magdalen's,  Old  Fish-street-hill ;  Saint  Michael's, 
Cornhill;  St.  Michael's,  Queenhithe;  Saint  Michael's  Royal;  Saint  Mildred's,  Bread-street;  Saint 
Mildred's,  Poultry;  Saint  Sepulchre's ;  Saint  Vedast's,  Foster-lane. 

According  to  Mackeson's  trustworthy  Guide  to  the  Churclies  of  London  and  its 
Suburbs,  1866,  their  entire  number  is  368. 

EPISCOPAL    CHAPELS. 

ASYLUM  (Female  Orphan)  Chapel,  Westminster-road,  Lambeth,  was  built  for 
the  Charity,  established  1758,  at  the  suggestion  of  Sir  John  Fielding,  the  police- 
magistrate.  The  chapel  service  was  rendered  attractive  by  the  singing  of  the  Orphan 
children,  and  by  popular  preachers,  thus  contributing  to  the  support  of  the  institution 
by  a  collection.  The  Asylum  was  rebuilt  in  the  country,  in  1866,  with  the  chapel, 
when  the  premises  in  Westminster-road  were  taken  down. 

St.  Bartholomew's,  Kingsland,  was  an  ancient  and  picturesque  wayside  chapel, 
near  the  toll-gate,  and  taken  down  in  1846.  Its  walls  were  of  flint  and  rubble,  the 
window -frames  of  stone,  in  the  Perpendicular  style,  and  in  the  roof  was  a  wooden 
bell-turret.  It  was  originally  the  chapel  of  a  hospital  or  house  of  lepers,  called  *  Le 
Lokas,"  and  was  long  an  appendage  to  St.  Bartholomew's  Hospital,  to  which  it  was  a 
kind  of  outer  ward  till  1761,  when  the  patients  were  removed  from  Kingsland, 
and  the  site  let  for  building.  Upon  the  petition  of  the  neighbouring  inhabitants,  the 
chapel  was  repaired,  and  service  performed  there,  the  chaplain  being  appointed  by  the 
governors  of  St.  Bartholomew's.  It  was  so  small  as  scarcely  to  contain  50  persons. 
It  is  engraved  in  Archer's  Vestiges  of  Old  London,  part  i.  1850. 

Bedfordbury  Chapel  and  School. — Bedfordbury  is  a  harrow  street  running 
out  of  New-street,  Covent  Garden,  to  Chandos-street,  and  was  built  about  1637.  On 
the  west  side  of  this,  a  compound  edifice,  part  chapel,  part  school,  has  been  erected — 
the  school-room  placed  over  the  chapel ;  and  opened  (not  consecrated)  with  an  after- 
noon service,  Dr.  Tait,  Bishop  of  London,  preaching.  The  site  is  about  60  feet  by  40 
feet.     The  building  is  entered  from  Bedfordbury,  through  a  small  gabled  tower.     The 

P 


210  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

doorway  has  an  arched  head,  the  tympanum  being  filled  with  sculpture  representing 
"  The  Good  Shepherd."  The  chapel  consists  of  a  Nave  and  south  aisle,  a  small  Chancel 
raised  two  steps,  and  a  sacrariura  one  step  higher.  The  material  employed,  inside  and 
out,  is  brick,  relieved  with  bands  of  red.  The  nave  is  divided  from  the  aisle  by  a 
brick  arcade,  carried  on  Bath  stone  columns  with  carved  capitals.  The  arch  to  the 
sacrarium  is  carried  on  small  columns  of  slate  with  carved  capitals  and  corbels.  The 
sacrarium  is  decorated  in  a  somewhat  novel  manner  in  sgrafito.  There  is  a  credence 
table  and  a  reredos,  in  stone,  alabaster,  and  marble,  by  Earp,  who  executed  all  the 
carving ;  the  east  window,  of  five  lights,  is  filled  with  stained  glass :  the  other  windows 
are  filled  with  rough  plate-glass  (not  in  quarries).  Light  is  admitted,  too,  by  dormers 
in  the  south  aisle.  The  ceiling  is  boarded,  and  separated  into  compartments  by  the 
girders  which  carry  the  floor  of  the  school-room.  A  harmonium  has  been  presented 
to  the  chapel  by  Lady  Overstone.  The  building,  exclusive  of  the  site,  cost  2300Z., 
raised  by  subscription,  headed  by  the  Queen  ahd  Prince  Albert,  250J. ;  Miss  Burdett 
Coutts,  300Z. ;  architect,  A.  W.  Blomfield. 

Bentinck  Chapel,  Chapel-street,  New-road,  was  built  in  1772,  and  opened  by  the 
Rev.  Mr.  Hunt,  father  of  the  originator  of  the  Examiner  newspaper.  The  Rev. 
Basil  Woodd  was  minister  of  this  chapel  45  years. 

Chaelotte  Chapel,  Charlotte-street,  Buckingham-gate,  was  built  in  1776  for  "  the 
unfortunate  Dr.  Dodd,"  who  laid  the  first  stone  in  July.  "  Great  success  attended  the 
undertaking,"  writes  Dodd ;  "  it  pleased  and  it  elated  me."  In  the  following  year, 
June  27,  Dodd  was  hanged  at  Tyburn  for  forgery.  Charlotte  Chapel,  now  St.  Peter's, 
was  also  occupied  by  Dr.  Dillon ;  it  was  refitted  in  1850. 

Dttee-steeet  Chapel,  Westminster,  was  originally  the  north  wing  of  the  house 
built  for  Lord  Jefferies,  Lord  Chancellor  to  King  James  II.,  who  permitted  a  flight  of 
stone  steps  to  be  made  thence  into  St.  James's-park,  for  Jefferies's  special  accommoda- 
tion :  they  terminate  above  in  a  small  court,  on  three  sides  of  which  stands  the  once 
costly  mansion.  One  portion  of  it  was  used  as  an  Admiralty  House,  until  that  office 
was  removed  by  William  III.  to  Wallingford  House.  The  north  wing  (in  which 
Jefferies  transacted  his  judicial  business  out  of  term)  was  formed  into  a  chapel  in  1769, 
with  a  daily  service ;  Dr.  Pettingale,  the  antiquary,  was  for  some  time  incumbent. — 
See  Walcott's  Westminster,  p.  72. 

Foundling  Hospital  Chapel,  Gnilford-street,  was  designed  by  Jacobson,  in 
1747,  and  built  by  subscription,  to  which  George  II.  contributed  3000Z.  Handel  gave 
the  large  profits  of  a  performance  of  his  music  j  and  his  Messiah,  performed  in  the 
chapel  for  several  years  under  his  superintendence,  produced  the  Charity  7000Z.  At 
the  west  end  of  the  edifice  are  seated  the  children  and  the  choir ;  and  in  the  centre 
is  the  Organ,  given  by  Handel :  the  altar-piece,  "  Christ  presenting  a  little  Child,"  is 
by  West,  who  retouched  the  picture  in  1816.  Several  blind  "  foundlings,"  instructed 
in  music,  by  their  singing,  greatly  added  to  the  funds  of  the  Charity,  by  pew-rents 
and  contributions  at  the  doors,  and  for  several  years  the  latter  exceeded  1O00Z. ;  the 
net  proceeds  of  the  chapel  have  been  stated  at  687?.  the  year,  after  paying  the  profes- 
sional choir.  Beneath  the  chapel  are  stone  catacombs :  the  first  person  buried  here  was 
Captain  Coram,  the  founder  of  the  Hospital.  Lord  Chief-Justice  Tenterden  is  interred 
here ;  and  his  marble  bust  is  placed  in  the  eastern  entrance  to  the  chapel.  Children 
who  died  in  the  Hospital  were  formerly  buried  in  the  churchyard  of  St.  Pancras. — 
When  the  Rev.  Sidney  Smith  came  to  London,  in  1804,  he  was  elected  one  of  the 
chaplains  to  the  Foundling  Hospital,  where  his  sermons  were  very  attractive,  espe- 
cially those  on  the  objects  of  the  Charity,  so  often  misunderstood  and  misrepresented.  The 
chaplain's  salary  was  but  50Z.  a-year.  Mr.  Smith  resided  in  Doughty -street,  and  here 
he  early  obtained  the  'acquaintance  and  friendship  of  several  eminent  lawyers  in  that 
neighbourhood ;  the  most  distinguished  of  whom  were  Sir  Samuel  Romilly,  Mr.  Scarlett 
(Lord  Abinger),  and  Sir  James  Mackintosh.  To  these  may  be  added  Dr.  Marcet, 
M.  Dumont,  Mr.  Whishaw,  Mr.  R.  Sharpe,  Mr.  Rogers,  &c.  Mr.  Smith  likewise 
officiated  at  Berkeley  Chapel,  May-fair;  and  at  Fitzroy  Chapel. — Lives  of  Wits  and 
Humourists,  vol.  ii.  pp.  216-219.     1862. 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS.  211 

Geay's-inn  Chapel,  on  the  south  side  of  Gray's-inn-square,  on  the  site  of  a  chapel 
built  long  anterior  to  the  Reformation,  has  special  seats  assigned  to  the  Benchers, 
Barristers,  and  Students,  and  others  unappropriated.  It  has  been  much  modernized. 
Here  are  three  good  windows  by  Gibbs,  on  the  north  side :  1.  Christ  in  the  Temple,  in 
the  midst  of  the  Doctors.  2.  Christ  delivering  the  Sermon  on  the  Mount.  3.  The 
Ascension.  These  windows  were  presented  by  Samuel  Turner,  Esq.,  one  of  the 
Benchers,  and  Dean  of  the  chapel,  1862.  In  the  east  window  are  the  arms  of  the 
various  prelates  who  have  been  either  honorary  Members  or  Benchers  of  the  Society. 
A  new  Organ  was  set  up  in  3863.  The  sermons  are  preceded  by  "the  Bidding 
Prayer."  The  Offertory  is  dispensed  to  the  poor  of  the  Inn.  The  music  is  chiefly 
from  the  old  English  masters,  sung  by  the  choir,  established  1850.  There  do  not 
appear  to  be  any  records  of  the  Preachers  earlier  than  1574,  when  Mr.  W.  Cherke,  or 
Charke,  was  appointed  :  he  was  afterwards  Preacher  of  Lincoln's-inn  and  Fellow  of 
Eton.  There  have  been  23  preachers  since  his  day,  among  whom  were  Dr.  Roger 
Fenton,  one  of  the  translators  of  the  Bible ;  Dr.  Richard  Sibbes,  the  celebrated  Puritan, 
author  of  the  Bruised  Reed ;  Dean  Nicholas  Bernard,  Chaplain  to  Oliver  Cromwell, 
and  one  of  his  almoners;  Bishop  Wilkins,  the  mathematician;  Archbishop  Wake; 
Dean  Robert  Moss;  Archdeacon  Stebbing;  Bishop  Walker  King;  Dr.  Matthew 
Raine,  Head-master  of  Charterhouse  School;  and  Dr.  George  Sheppard,  an  elegant 
and  sound  scholar,  who  died  in  1849.  He  was  succeeded  by  the  Rev.  Dr.  Hessey, 
Head-master  of  Merchant  Tailors'  School,  &c,  the  present  preacher. 

Gbosvexoe  Chapel,  South  Audley-street,  contains  in  its  vault  the  remains  of 
Ambrose  Philips,  the  Whig  poet,  whom  Pope  ridiculed,  but  Tickell,  Warton,  and 
Goldsmith  eulogized;  of  Lady  Mary  Wortley  Montague;  and  John  Wilkes,  cha- 
racteristically designated  by  himself  on  a  tablet  as  "  a  Friend  to  Liberty." 

Hanovee  Chapel,  Regent-street,  between  Prince's  and  Hanover-streets,  was  built 
in  1 823-28,  C.  R.  Cockerell,  R.A.,  architect,  and  is  of  the  Ionic  order  of  the  Temple 
of  Minerva  Polias  at  Priene  :  it  has  a  well-proportioned  portico  extending  across  the 
footpath,  and  picturesquely  breaking  the  street-line;  two  square  turrets,  of  less 
felicitous  design,  finish  the  elevation.  The  interior  is  square,  and  mostly  lighted  by  a 
large  glazed  cupola,  surmounted  with  a  cross;  and  the  arrangement  generally 
resembles  that  of  St.  Stephen's,  Walbrook :  the  altar-piece  is  a  splendid  composi- 
tion of  imitative  antique  marbles,  enriched  with  passion-flowers  and  lilies,  superbly 
coloured. 

HorsE  of  Chaeitt  Chapel,  Greek-street,  Soho,  was  built  in  1863,  from  designs 
by  Joseph  Clarke,  F.SA.,  and  intended  for  the  Wardens,  Sisters,  Council,  and  Associates, 
together  with  the  inmates  of  the  Hospital,  known  as  the  House  of  Charity. 

The  chapel  has  been  built  on  the  type  of  the  early  apsidal  churches,  with  round  aisles.  The  chapel 
of  St.  Croix,  attached  to  the  Abbey  of  Mount  Majour,  furnished  the  idea  of  the  applicability  of  apsidal 
aisles  as  being  specially  adapted  to  the  requirements  of  the  House.  The  original  arrangement  of  the 
plan  was  Basilican.  The  bema  containing  the  Bishop's  chair,  with  the  Clergy  round  the  altar,  with  the 
retable  behind,  standing  in  advance  on  the  chord  of  the  arc.  The  two  apsidal  divisions  on  each  side 
of  the  chapel,  as  aisles,  are  for  the  inmates— for  the  women  on  the  north  side  and  the  men  on  the  south, 
the  easternmost  apses  being  for  communicants.  The  centre  of  the  chapel,  which  has  a  lofty  iron  fleche, 
besides  the  celebrants,  is  occupied  by  the  Associated  Members,  and  there  are  grilles  on  either  side,  as 
parcloses  to  ante-chapels  from  the  nature  of  the  ground  could  not  be  provided.  The  chapel  is  closed 
from  the  western  narthex  by  wronght-iron  gates,  and  the  narthex  (which  serves  as  the  entrance 
from  those  three)  being  closed,  becomes  available  on  festivals.  The  chapel  has  been  erected  with  much 
care,  both  as  regards  solidity  and  polychromatic  effect.  The  walls  are  built  in  a  variety  of  stones,  com- 
bined with  reference  to  colour,  and  are  lined  internally  with  chalk  as  a  vehicle  of  future  frescoes.  The  roofs 
and  all  the  woodwork  are  of  oak.  The  floor  of  the  sacrarium  with  the  marble  steps  is  very  striking.  The 
altar  is  of  oak,  the  retable  of  stone,  with  the  super-altar  of  marble.  The  ordinary  hangings  of  the  altar 
are  exquisitely  wrought  by  the  ladies  who  undertook  this  costly  work.  The  needlework  of  the  sedilia,  the 
steps,  the  Bishop's  chair  in  applique,  are  equally  worthy  of  the  offering.  Mr.  Arthur  O'Connor,  an 
Associate,  executed  the  painted  glass  with  which  the  whole  chapel  is  filled.  Bound  the  chapels  and 
the  bema  are  low  stone  seats,  with  the  stall  or  chair  for  the  Bishop,  as  visitor,  at  the  extreme  end  of  the 
latter.  The  Choir  and  Clergy  have  oak  stalls  set  on  the  paving,  with  chairs  for  the  Council,  Associates, 
and  inmates.  The  chapel  is  open  to  Rose-street,  with  a  low  wall  in  front.  The  entrance  into  the 
interior  quadrangle,  and  to  the  chapel,  is  through  a  covered  passage  at  the  west  end ;  and  ultimately 
the  chapel  will  form  one  side  of  this  court,  with  a  covered  way  round. 

The  House  of  Charity  was  originally  established  in  1846,  at  a  house  in  Rose-street, 
for  affording  gratuitous  temporary  board  and  lodging  to  deserving  persons,  who,  by 

p  2 


212  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

such  afflictions  as  the  death  of  parents,  husband,  or  employer,  are  brought  almost  to 
the  verge  of  destitution.  The  house,  No.  1,  Greek-street,  where  the  institution  is 
now  located,  was  the  town  residence  of  Alderman  Beckford,  the  father  of  the  builder 
of  Fonthill  Abbey :  it  is  a  fine  house,  and  in  the  requisite  alterations  its  elaborate 
plaster  ceilings,  carved  chimney-pieces,  and  wainscot  panelling,  have  been  preserved. 

St.  James's  Chapel,  Hampstead-road,  is  a  chapel-of-ease  to  St.  James's,  West- 
minster. In  the  burial-ground  adjoining  lie  George  Morland,  the  painter  (d. 
1804),  and  his  wife;  John  Hoppner,  the  portrait-painter  (d.  1810);  and,  without  a 
memorial,  Lord  George  Gordon,  the  leader  of  the  Riots  of  1780,  who  died  in  New- 
gate in  1793. 

St.  James's  Chapel,  Pentonville,  is  a  chapel-of-ease  to  St.  James's,  Clerkenwell, 
and  was  built  by  T.  Hardwick.  Here  is  interred  R.  P.  Bonington,  the  landscape- 
painter  (d.  1828) ;  and  in  the  burial-ground  lies  poor  Tom  Dibdin,  the  playwright, 
close  by  the  grave  of  his  friend,  Joseph  Grimaldi,  "  Old  Joe,"  the  famous  clown, 
who  died  in  1837. 

St.  John's  Chapel,  Bedford-row,  at  the  corner  of  Chapel-street  and  Great  James- 
street,  was  the  frequent  scene  of  schism  from  its  first  erection  for  Dr.  Sacheverell :  it 
was  subsequently  occupied  by  the  Rev.  Mr.  Cecil  (Low  Church) ;  by  the  Rev.  Dr. 
Dillon,  of  unenviable  notoriety ;  the  Rev.  Daniel  Wilson  (Bishop  of  Calcutta) ;  the 
Rev.  Mr.  Sibthorp,  given  to  change ;  and  by  the  Hon.  and  Rev.  Baptist  Noel,  who 
after  22  years'  ministry,  preached  his  farewell  sermon  here,  Dec.  3,  1848 ;  and  on 
Aug.  9,  1849,  was  publicly  baptized  in  John-street  Chapel,  of  which  he  became 
minister.     St.  John's  has  been  altered  and  enlarged,  and  re-opened  in  1866. 

Kentisu  Town  Chapel,  or  district  church,  is  a  spacious  and  costly  edifice  in  the 
Early  Decorated  style;  Bartholomew,  architect.  It  has  two  lofty  steeples,  and  a 
large  painted  altar-window ;  and  four  smaller  windows,  inscribed  with  the  Decalogue, 
Creed,  &c,  within  sacramental  borders  of  corn  and  vines ;  the  altar  recess  has  some 
good  sculpture. 

King's  College  Chapel,  Strand,  is  of  Romanesque  design,  G.  G.  Scott,  architect : 
the  choir  consists  of  students,  and  of  boys  on  the  foundation  as  "  Choral  Exhibitioners." 

St.  John's-wood  Chapel,  north-west  of  the  Regent's-park,  is  of  the  Ionic  order, 
and  was  designed  by  T.  Hardwick  :  it  has  a  tetrastyle  portico,  and  a  tower,  surmounted 
with  a  Roman-Doric  lantern.  Here,  or  in  the  adjoining  cemetery,  which  is  taste- 
fully planted  with  trees  and  shrubs,  are  buried  John  Farquhar,  Esq.,  of  Fonthill 
Abbey,  Wilts,  with  a  medallion  portrait ;  Richard  Brothers,  "  the  prophet ;"  Tred- 
gold,  the  engineer;  Joanna  Southcott,  "the  prophetess,"  with  prophetic  quotations 
from  Scripture,  in  gilt  letters  upon  black  marble;  John  Jackson,  R.A.,  the  portrait- 
painter,  &c.  "  About  40,000  persons  He  interred  in  this  cemetery." — (Smith's  Mary- 
lebone,  1833.) 

Lamb's  Chapel  was  originally  founded  in  the  reign  of  Edward  I.,  in  the  hermitage 
of  St.  James's-in-the-Wall,  which  was  a  cell  to  the  Abbey  of  Gerendon,  in  Leicester- 
shire, certain  monks  of  which  were  appointed  chaplains  here ;  on  which  account,  and 
a  well  belonging  to  them,  called  Monks'  Well,  the  street  was  called  Monkswell-street. 
The  chapel  of  St.  James,  with  its  appurtenances,  was  granted  by  Henry  VIII.  to 
William  Lamb,  one  of  the  gentlemen  of  his  chapel,  and  a  citizen  and  clothworker, 
who  gave  it  to  the  Clothworkers'  Company ;  they  have  four  sermons  preached  to  them 
annually,  and  after  the  sermon,  relieve,  with  clothing  and  money,  twelve  poor  men, 
and  as  many  poor  women.  Lamb's  Chapel  (the  ancient  Hermitage  Chapel)  contained 
a  fine  old  bust  of  the  founder,  in  his  livery-gown,  placed  here  in  1612,  with  a  purse  in 
one  hand  and  his  gloves  in  the  other ;  and  in  the  windows  were  paintings  of  St.  James 
the  Apostle,  St.  Peter,  St.  Matthew,  and  St.  Matthias.  The  chapel  was  noted  for  many 
private  marriages.  Beneath  the  old  chapel  was  a  crypt,  with  Saxon  or  Norman 
capitals ;  and  upon  this  crypt  the  chapel  and  almshouses  were  re-built  in  1825,  Angell, 
architect  ;  style,  Elizabethan.  The  bust  of  Lamb,  painted  in  colours,  is  in  the 
west  wall. 


CHURCHES   AND    CHAPELS.  213 

Leadexhall  Chapel,  built  within  the  precincts  of  Leadenhall  by  Sir  Simon 
Eyre,  in  1417,  some  time  an  upholsterer,  was  fair  and  large,  and  over  the  porch  was 
written  "  Dextra  Domini  exaltavit  me."  He  gave  3000  marks  to  the  Drapers'  Com- 
pany, that  Divine  service  might  be  kept  up  for  ever ;  but  his  munificent  bequests  were 
not  carried  out  as  they  should  have  been. 

Lincols's-i>"n  Chapel,  one  of  "  the  Old  Buildings,"  was  built  in  1621-23  :  Dr. 
Donne  laid  the  first  stone,  and  preached  the  consecration  sermon,  the  old  chapel  being 
then  in  a  ruinous  condition.  Inigo  Jones  was  the  architect  of  the  new  chapel,  as 
stated  in  the  print  by  Vertue,  in  1751 :  it  stands  upon  an  open  crypt  or  cloister,  in 
which  the  students  of  the  Inn  met  and  conferred,  and  received  their  clients.  Pepys 
records  his  going  to  Lincoln's-inn,  "  to  walk  under  the  chapel,  by  agreement."  It  is 
now  enclosed  with  iron  railings,  and  was  used  as  a  burial-place  for  the  Benchers.  The 
chapel  has  side  windows  and  intervening  buttresses,  style,  temp.  Edward  III. ;  the 
large  eastern  window  has  a  beautifully  traceried  circle,  divided  into  twelve  trefoiled 
lights.  At  the  south-west  angle  is  a  turret  with  cupola  and  vane,  and  containing 
an  ancient  bell,  traditionally  brought  from  Spain  about  1596,  among  the  spoils  acquired 
by  the  gallant  Earl  of  Essex  at  the  capture  of  Cadiz.  The  ascent  to  the  chapel  is  by 
a  flight  of  steps,  under  an  archway  and  porch,  the  latter  built  by  Hardwick  in  1843. 
The  windows  are  filled  with  glass,  unusually  fine :  those  on  the  sides  have  figures  of 
prophets  and  apostles,  by  Flemish  artists ;  the  great  eastern  and  western  windows  have 
armorial  embellishments.  The  carved  oaken  seats  are  of  the  time  of  James  L,  but 
the  pulpit  is  later.  The  Organ,  by  Flight  and  Robson  (1820),  is  of  great  power  and 
sweetness  of  tone ;  and  the  choral  service  is  attentively  performed.  In  the  porch  is  a 
cenotaph,  with  Latin  inscription,  to  the  Right  Hon.  Spencer  Perceval ;  and  on  the 
ascent  to  the  chapel  is  a  marble  tablet  to  Eleanora  Louisa  (d.  1837),  daughter  of  Lord 
Brougham  (a  Bencher  of  Lincoln's-inn),  with  a  poetic  inscription,  in  Latin,  by  the 
celebrated  Marquis  Wellesley,  written  in  his  81st  year.  Among  the  remarkable  persons 
buried  in  the  cloister  under  the  chapel  are  John  Thurloe,  Secretary  of  State  to  Oliver 
Cromwell ;  and  William  Prynne,  who  preserved  many  of  our  public  records.  In  the 
list  of  preachers  in  this  chapel  are  the  great  names  of  Gataker,  Donne,  Ussher,  Tillotson, 
Warburton,  Hurd,  Heber,  J.  S.  M.  Anderson,  &c.  Here  are  delivered  annually  the 
Warburtonian  Lectures. — (Selected  principally  from  a  carefully-written  account  of 
Lincoln's-inn  and  its  Library,  by  W.  H.  Spilsbury,  Librarian.     1850.) 

St.  Luke's  Chapel,  Consumption  Hospital,  Fulham-road,  built  at  the  cost  of 
Sir  Henry  Foulis,  Bart.,  in*  memory  of  a  deceased  sister ;  consecrated  June,  1850 ; 
style,  Early  English,  E.  B.  Lamb,  architect.  It  is  exclusively  for  the  officers  and 
patients  of  the  Consumption  Hospital.  The  chapel,  the  details  of  which  are  very  elegant, 
consists  of  a  Nave,  north  and  south  transeptal  projections,  and  a  Chancel ;  and  is  con- 
nected with  the  Hospital  by  a  corridor,  externally  ornamented  with  pinnacled  but- 
tresses and  gable  crosses,  and  an  octagonal  bell-turret.  The  Organ,  by  Holdich,  is 
unique.  The  windows  are  traceried,  and  filled  with  stained  glass ;  the  roof  is  open 
timbered ;  the  Chancel  has  florid  sedilia  of  stone,  and  is  separated  from  the  nave  by  a 
low  traceried  screen.  The  interior  fittings  are  of  oak,  some  bearing  the  arms  and 
crest  of  the  founder,  heraldically :  "  Arg.  three  bay -leaves  proper ;  crest,  a  crescent 
arg.  surmounted  by  a  cross  sa. ;"  the  motto  is  "  Je  ne  change  qu'en  mourant."  The 
crest  has  been  most  frequently  used,  as  applicable  to  the  building — "  Christianity  over- 
coming Paganism."  The  floor  is  partly  paved  with  tiles  of  armorial  patterns.  The 
seats  are  specially  adapted  for  the  patients.  This  is  stated  to  be  the  only  con- 
secrated chapel  attached  to  any  metropolitan  hospital. 

Magdalen  Hospital  Chapel,  Blackfriars-road,  is  attractive  by  the  singing  of  a 
choir  of  the  reclaimed  women.  The  "  Magdalen  House"  was  originally  established  in 
Prescot-street,  Goodman's- fields,  in  1758 ;  where  Dr.  Dodd  was  chaplain,  and  rendered 
great  service  to  the  Charity  by  his  eloquent  preaching. 

Mabgaeet-stkeet  Chapel,  Margaret-street,  Cavendish-square,  was  first  converted 
into  a  chapel  in  1783.  Huntington  preached  here  with  Lady  Huntingdon's  people, 
when  he  first  came  to  London.     In  1833,  the  minister  was  the  Rev.  W.  Dodsworth. 


2U  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

who  has  since  seceded  to  the  Roman  Catholic  Church.  At  Margaret-street  may  be 
said  to  have  been  the  first  development  of  "  Puseyism"  in  the  metropolis.  In  1842, 
the  chapel  was  under  the  direction  of  the  Rev.  Frederick  Oakeley,  a  non-resident  Fellow 
of  Balliol  College,  Oxford. 

"  Flowers,  and  altar-candlesticks,  and  Gregorian  chantings,  and  scarce-concealed  bowings,  and  strange 
modes  of  reading  prayers,  and  frequent  services,  with  a  conspicuous  cross  over  the  communion-table, 
served  to  awake  the  suspicions  of  the  wary;  and  in  conjunction  with  a  course  of  zealous  and  earnest 
preaching,  and  the  self-denying  lives  of  the  chief  minister  and  his  friends,  to  persuade  the  frequenters 
of  the  chapel  that  here,  at  least,  was  a  true  '  Catholic  revival,'  and  that  by  the  multiplication  of  Margaret 
Chapels  the  whole  Anglican  Establishment  might  be  at  length  '  un-Protestantized.'  To  Margaret 
Chapel  also  was  due  no  little  of  that  phase  of  the  movement  which  consisted  in  the '  adapting"  of 
Catholic  books  to '  the  use  of  members  of  the  English  Church ;'  and  by  the  employment  of  which  it  has 
done  so  much  good  in  preparing  the  minds  of  its  congregations  for  the  reception  of  the  Catholic  faith. 
This  system  was  soon  taken  up  by  no  less  important  a  person  than  Dr.  Pusey  himself." — The  Rambler, 
a  Soman  Catholic  Journal,  Feb.  1851. 

In  1845,  Mr.  Oakeley  resigned  his  license  as  minister  of  Margaret  Chapel,  which  then 
fell  to  his  curate,  the  Rev.  Mr.  Richards.  Mr.  Oakeley  subsequently  joined  the  Roman 
Catholic  Church.  The  chapel  in  Margaret-street  was  taken  down  in  1850 ;  the  site  is 
included  in  that  of  All  Saints'  Church,  described  at  pp.  146-7. 

St.  Mark's,  North  Audley-street,  a  chapel-of-ease  to  St.  George's,  Hanover-square, 
is  of  original  and  not  inelegant  design,  by  Gandy  Deering,  R.A.,  1828 ;  the  order  is 
Ionic  from  the  Erechtheium;  the  portico  has  two  handsome  fluted  columns,  with  an 
enriched  entablature ;  and  above  is  a  turret  of  Grecian  design,  with  pierced  iron- work 
sides  and  pyramidal  stone  roof,  with  gilt  ball  and  cross.  The  entrance  is  a  very  good 
example  of  the  portico  in  antis,  i.e.,  columns  standing  in  a  line,  in  front,  with  the 
outer  or  projecting  ends  of  the  side  walls  of  the  chapel.  Some  of  the  adjoining  houses 
are  in  the  heavy  style  of  Sir  John  Vanbrugh. 

St.  Mark's  Chapel,  Fulham-road,  attached  to  the  National  Society's  Training 
College  for  Schoolmasters,  in  the  Byzantine  style ;  Blore,  architect,  1843 ;  cruciform  in 
plan,  with  semicircular  eastern  end,  and  twin  towers  with  high-pitched  broclte  roofs,  resem- 
bling an  early  German  church.  The  east  end  has  some  stained  glass  of  olden  character. 
It  serves  as  a  place  of  worship  for  the  adjoining  district,  as  well  as  for  the  inmates  of 
the  College ;  and  the  musical  service,  including  cathedral  service  and  anthems,  is  by 
the  students ;  offertory  on  Sundays  and  festivals,  to  defray  the  expenses  of  the  chapel. 

Percy  Chapel,  Charlotte-street,  was  built  by  the  Rev.  Henry  Matthew,  an  early 
patron  of  Flaxman  (Cunningham).  It  was  the  scene  of  the  showy,  eloquent  preaching 
of  the  Rev.  Robert  Montgomery,  author  of  The  Omnipresence  of  the  Deity,  a  poem. 

St.  Peter's  Episcopal  Chapel,  Queen-square,  Westminster,  was  originally  a  royal 
gift  for  the  special  use  of  the  Judges  of  Westminster,  and  was  frequented  by  the  mem- 
bers of  the  Royal  Household.  In  1840,  it  was  much  injured  by  a  fire,  which 
originated  in  the  adjoining  mansion  of  Mr.  Hoare  j  and  the  altar-piece,  then  nearly 
destroyed,  was  one  of  the  finest  specimens  of  ancient  oak-carving  in  England.  Here 
have  officiated  the  venerable  Romaine,  Gmin,  Basil  Woodd,  Wilcox,  and  Shepherd : 
the  latter  for  fifty  years  held  the  chaplaincy,  with  the  lectureship  of  St.  Giles's-in-the- 
Fields.  St.  Peter's  was,  about  a  hundred  and  fifty  years  ago,  the  chapel  of  the  Spanish 
Embassy ;  and  here  preached  Antonio  Gavin,  a  secular  priest,  who  having  been  con- 
verted from  Popery  to  the  Church  of  England,  was  licensed  to  officiate  in  this  chapel 
in  the  Spanish  language,  by  Dr.  Robinson,  the  Bishop  of  London ;  and  sermons  in 
Spanish  preached  here  by  Gavin  were  published. — Gent.  Mag.,  Feb.  1827. 

St.  Peter's  (formerly-  Oxford)  Chapel,  Vere-street,  Oxford-street,  designed  by 
Gibbs,  was  built  about  1724,  and  was  once  considered  the  most  beautiful  edifice  of  its 
class  in  the  metropolis.  It  has  a  Doric  portico  and  a  three-storied  steeple.  The  Duke 
of  Portland  was  married  at  this  chapel  in  1734.  The  Rev.  F.  D.  Maurice  is  the  in- 
cumbent. "  This  is  a  Government  church  :  the  Government  collects  and  reserves  the 
pew-rents,  and  pays  4501.  to  the  incumbent.  No  free  seats,  no  poor,  and  no  district. 
The  offertory  alms  are  paid  to  the  rector  of  All  Souls,  Langham-place." — Mackeson's 
Churches. 


CHURCHES  AND   CHAPELS.  215 


St.  Philip's  Chapel,  Regent-street,  midway  between  Waterloo-place  and  Picca- 
dilly, was  built  by  Repton,  and  consecrated  in  1820.  It  has  a  tower  copied  from  the 
Lantern  of  Demosthenes  at  Athens ;  and  a  Doric  portico,  with  sacrificial  emblems  on 
the  side  porticos  or  wings. 

Pobtlaxd  Chapel,  now  St.  Paul's,  in  Great  Portland-street,  was  built  in  1776, 
on  the  site  of  a  basin  of  the  Marylebone  Waterworks :  it  was  the  cause  of  many  fatal 
accidents,  and  the  scene  of  as  many  suicides ;  there  is  a  view  of  the  basin  engraved  by 
Chatelain.  The  chapel  was  not  consecrated  at  the  time  of  its  erection ;  but  Divine 
Service  was  performed  in  it  until  1831,  when  the  consecration  was  performed,  and  it 
was  dedicated  to  St.  Paul.  At  the  Portland  Hotel,  north  of  the  chapel,  Captain  Sir 
John  Ross  lodged  after  his  return  from  the  North  Polar  Expedition,  in  1833. 

Quebec  Chapel,  Quebec-street,  Marylebone,  was  built  in  1788,  and  is  celebrated 
for  its  sweet-toned  Organ  and  musical  service.  The  interior  of  the  chapel  is  described 
as  "  a  large  room  with  sash-windows." 

Ragged  Chuecii. — In  Brewer's-court,  Wild-street,  exists  a  ragged  church  with  its 
affiliated  institutions — a  ragged  school,  ragged  mothers'  meeting,  and  ragged  Sunday- 
school  teachers.  The  congregation  meet  every  Sunday.  Their  homes  are  in  Lincoln- 
court,  Wild-court,  and  other  dreary  bays,  into  which  is  washed  up  the  refuse  of  a 
London  population.  Many  of  them  have  been  for  various  terms  in  prison,  or  in  penal 
servitude.  In  winter,  every  hearer  receives  a  loaf  of  bread  on  retiring.  Some  hearers 
have  no  coats,  some  no  shirts,  and  others  ragged  trousers.  They  are  visited  at  their 
homes  by  the  ministers  of  the  Ragged  Church  during  the  week  ;  and  on  Sunday  about 
a  hundred  and  fifty  of  them  flock  to  the  service  and  sermon  at  the  church. 

Rolls  Chapel  is  attached  to  the  Rolls  House,  between  14  and  15,  Chancery-lane, 
and  was  originally  built  of  flints,  with  stone  finishings,  early  in  the  seventeenth  cen- 
tury. Pennant  states  that  it  was  begun  in  1617,  and  that  Dr.  Donne  preached  the 
consecration  sermon.  The  large  west  window  has  some  old  stained  glass,  including  the 
arms  of  Sir  Robert  Cecil  and  Sir  Harbottle  Grimston ;  and  here  are  a  large  Organ, 
and  presses  in  which  the  Records  are  kept.  Among  the  monuments  are :  to  Dr. 
John  Young,  Master  of  the  Rolls  (temp.  Henry  VIII.),  a  recumbent  figure,  in  a  long 
red  gown  and  deep  square  cap,  the  face  fine ;  above,  in  a  recess,  is  a  head  of  Christ,  be- 
tween two  cherubim,  in  bold  relief — this  tomb  is  attributed  to  Torrigiano ;  to  Lord 
Kinloss,  Master  of  the  Rolls  to  James  I.,'  reclining  figure  in  a  long  furred  robe,  and 
before  him  a  kneeling  figure  in  armour,  supposed  his  son,  killed  in  a  desperate  duel 
with  Sir  Edward  Sackville ;  also,  kneeling  figure  in  armour  of  Sir  Richard  Allington, 
his  wife  opposite,  and  three  daughters  on  a  tablet  ;  and  here  lies  Sir  John  Trevor, 
Master  of  the  Rolls  (d.  1717),  and  other  Masters.  Bishops  Burnet,  Atterbury,  and 
Butler,  were  eloquent  preachers  at  the  Rolls' ;  and  Butler's  volume  of  fifteen  sermons 
delivered  here  contains  the  germ  of  his  great  work,  the  Analogy  of  Religion.  Rolls 
Chapel  occupies  the  site  of  a  house  founded  by  Henry  III.  for  converted  Jews,  and  in 
1377,  annexed  by  Edward  III.  to  the  new  office  of  Custos  Rotulorum,  or  Keeper  of  the 
Rolls,  who  was  his  chaplain  and  preacher :  in  1837  the  estate  was  vested  by  Parlia- 
ment in  the  Crown,  the  salary  of  the  Master  of  the  Rolls  being  fixed  at  7000Z.  a  year 
in  lieu  of  fines  and  rents. 

Texison's  Chapel,  between  Nos.  172  and  174,  east  side  of  Regent-street,  was 
founded  by  Archbishop  Teni3on,  who,  in  1700,  conveyed  to  trustees  (of  whom  Sir  Isaac 
Newton  was  one)  this  chapel  or  tabernacle,  to  be  employed  as  a  public  chapel  or 
oratory  for  St.  James's  parish ;  at  the  same  time  giving  500/.  to  be  laid  out  in  the  pur- 
chase of  houses,  lands,  or  ground-rents.  Out  of  the  revenues  and  the  Archbishop's 
charity  were  to  be  provided  two  preachers  for  the  chapel,  and  a  reader  "  to  say  Divine 
Service  every  day  throughout  the  year,  morning  and  afternoon;"  a  clerk  to  officiate; 
and  schoolmasters  to  teach  without  charge  poor  boys  of  the  parish  to  read,  write,  cast 
accounts,  and  in  five  years  to  assist  them  in  becoming  apprentices.  There  are  forty 
boys  on  the  foundation ;  non-foundationers  pay  12s.  6d.  per  quarter :  the  school  is  at 
No.  172,  Regent-street.     The  Archbishop  of  Canterbury  for  the  time  being  is  visitor  of 


216  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

this  excellent  charity.     The  chapel  was  erected  in  1702,  and  was  refronted  in  building 
Regent-street. 

Teinitt  Ciiapel,  Conduit-street,  now  a  neat  brick  edifice,  was  originally  a  small 
wooden  room  upon  wheels,  resembling  a  caravan.  Evelyn  describes  it  as  "  formerly 
built  of  timber  on  Hounslow-heath,  by  King  James  for  the  mass  priests,  and  being 
begged  by  Dr.  Tenison,  rector  of  St.  Martin's,  was  set  up  by  that  public-minded, 
charitable,  and  pious  man."     Pennant  writes  : — 

"  The  history  of  Conduit-street  Chapel,  or  Trinity  Chapel,  is  very  remarkable.  It  was  originally 
built  of  wood  by  James  II.,  for  private  mass,  and  was  conveyed  on  wheels,  attendant  on  its  royal  master's 
excursions,  or  when  he  attended  his  army.  Among  other  places,  it  visited  Hounslow-heath,  where  it 
continued  some  time  after  the  Revolution.  It  was  then  removed  and  enlarged  by  the  Rector  of  the 
parish  of  St.  Martin's,  and  placed  not  far  from  the  spot  on  which  it  now  stands.  Dr.  Tenison,  when 
Rector  of  St.  Martin's,  got  permission  of  King  William  to  rebuild  it;  so,  after  it  had  made  as  many 
journeys  as  the  house  of  Loretto,  it  was  by  Tenison  transmuted  into  a  good  building  of  brick,  and  has 
rested  ever  since  on  the  present  site." 

Thinity  (Holt)  Chapel,  Knightsbridge,  was  formerly  attached  to  a  Hospital  be- 
longing to  the  Dean  and  Chapter  of  Westminster.  There  is,  in  the  British  Museum,  a 
grant  of  James  I.  providing  a  supply  of  spring  water  from  Hyde  Park,  "  by  pipe  of 
lead."  It  has  always  been  traditionally  told  in  Knightsbridge,  that  during  the  fatal 
year  of  the  Plague,  1665,  the  Hospital  was  given  up  to  plague  patients ;  and  it  is  also 
said  that  the  inclosed  spot  on  the  Green  was  the  burial-place  of  the  victims.  The 
chapel  is  of  ancient  foundation,  and  was  rebuilt  in  1699 ;  the  front  was  extended  in 
1789.  Many  of  our  readers  may  possibly  remember  the  quaintly-inscribed  stone  slabs  under 
the  upper  windows :  one  bearing  the  words,  "  Rebuilte  by  Nicho.  Birkhead,  Gould- 
smith,  of  London,  Anno  Dom.  1699 ;"  and  the  other  (the  westernmost),  "  Capella 
Sanctae  Indiuiduas  Trinitatis."  It  was  frequently  dignified  with  the  name  of  church. 
In  the  list  of  ministers  was  the  Rev.  H.  J.  Symons,  who  read  the  burial  service  over 
Sir  John  Moore  at  Corunna.  He  gained  the  notice  of  the  Duke  of  York  in  this  pulpit, 
and  quitted  it  for  the  Peninsula,  with  a  regiment,  to  which  he  was  chaplain.  The 
chapel  was  noted  for  its  irregular  marriages ;  Shadwell,  in  his  play  of  The  Sullen 
Lovers,  1668,  speaks  of  "  a  person  at  Knightsbridge,  that  yokes  all  stray  people  to- 
gether ;"  and  in  the  Guardian,  No.  14,  March  27,  1713,  we  read  of  a  runaway  mar- 
riage being  celebrated  "  last  night  at  Knightsbridge."  Here  Sir  Samuel  Morland 
married  his  fourth  wife,  who  was  recommended  to  him  as  an  heiress,  and  Morland, 
being  "  distracted  for  want  of  moneys,"  was  "  led  as  a  fool  to  the  stocks,  and  married 
a  coachman's  daughter,  not  worth  a  shilling,"  and  whose  moral  character  proved  to 
be  none  of  the  purest ;  but  he  got  divorced  from  her.  At  Trinity  Chapel,  July  30, 
1700,  Robert  Walpole  was  married  to  Katharine  Shorter,  daughter  of  a  Lord 
Mayor,  and  mother  of  Horace  Walpole.  (See  extracts  from  the  Registers,  in  Me- 
morials of  Knightsbridge,  pp.  51-92.)  The  chapel  has  been  rebuilt;  Brandon  and 
Eyton,  architects.  Its  roof  is  entirely  new  in  its  construction,  introducing  an  entire 
range  of  clerestory  lights  on  each  side,  to  compensate  for  the  want  of  lights  in  the  side 
walls ;  the  building  being  adjoined,  on  each  side,  by  ordinary  houses. 

Yokk-stkeet  Chapel,  on  the  north  side  of  St.  James's-square,  is  a  chapel-of-ease  to 
St.  James's.  In  1815,  it  was  occupied  by  Swedenborgians.  It  was  originally  the 
chapel  of  the  Spanish  Embassy  (then  at  the  present  No.  7,  St.  James's-square) ;  and  the 
"  Tower  of  Castile,"  the  arms  of  Spain,  appears  on  the  parapet  of  the  front. 

FOREIGN  PROTESTANT  CHURCHES. 

DUTCH  CHURCH,  Austin  Friars.  The  German,  Butch,  or  Flemish  Branch  was  at 
first  composed  of  the  Polish  exile  Jean  a  Lasco,  and  the  members  of  his  church  at 
Embden  in  East  Friesland.  To  these  German  Protestants  were  united  the  Dutch  and 
Flemish  refugees ;  they  are  all  included  in  the  Charter  of  Edward  VI.,  as  forming  one 
sole  nation,  Germanorum;  and  the  church  was  subsequently  known  as  the  Flemish 
Church.  The  "  Temple  du  Seigneur  Jesus,"  in  Austin  Friars,  is  occupied  by  the 
members  of  the  Dutch  Church :  on  its  painted  windows  is  inscribed,  "  Templum  Jesu, 
1550."  It  originally  belonged  to  the  House  of  Augustine  Friars,  founded  by 
Humphrey  Bohun,  Earl  of  Hereford  aqd  Essex;  it  had  "a  most  fine-spired  steeple, 


CHURCHES— FOREIGN  PROTESTANT.  217 

small,  high,  and  straight."  Henry  VIII.,  at  the  Dissolution,  gave  away  the  house 
and  grounds,  but  reserved  the  church,  which  his  son,  Edward  VI.,  gave  to  the  Dutch 
or  German  nation  (1550)  "  to  have  their  service  in,  for  avoiding  of  all  sects  of  Ana- 
Baptists,  and  such  like."  From  that  time  to  this  it  has  continued  to  that  use.  The 
church  contains  some  very  good  Decorated  windows.     Strype  says : — 

"  On  the  west  end,  over  the  skreen,  is  a  fair  library,  inscribed  thus :  '  Ecclesiae  Londino-Belgise 
Bibliotheca,  extructa  sumptibus  Maria?  Dubois,  1659.'  In  this  library  are  divers  valuable  MSS.,  and 
letters  of  Calvin,  Peter  Martyr,  and  others,  foreign  Reformers."  The  books  have  been  presented  to 
the  Library  of  the  Corporation,  at  Guildhall. 

On  July  24,  1850,  the  tercentenary  of  the  Royal  Charter  of  Edward  VI.  was  solemnly 
commemorated  in  this  church  by  a  special  service,  as  also  in  the  French  Protestant 
Church  in  St.  Martin's-le-Grand ;  and  the  members  of  the  consistories  of  both  churches 
dined  together  in  the  evening,  and  drank  "To  thememory  of  the  pious  King  Edward  VI." 
The  present  church  is  the  Nave  only  of  the  original  building,  which  was  granted 
by  Edward  VI.  to  the  strangers  in  London.  This  contained,  also,  north  and  south 
transepts,  choir,  chapels  of  St.  John  and  St.  Thomas,  chapter-house,  cloisters,  &c., 
and  there  was  a  remarkable  spire,  or  Jleche,  at  the  intersection  of  the  cross,  all  of 
which  were  destroyed  by  the  Marquis  of  Winchester,  to  whom  they  had  been  granted 
at  the  Reformation.  The  church  was  founded  upwards  of  600  years  ago — namely,  in 
1253,  as  an  inscription  over  its  western  entrance  indicates ;  but  the  Nave  was  erected 
a  century  later.  "  It  is,"  wrote  Mr.  Gilbert  Scott,  the  architect,  "  a  noble  model 
of  a  preaching  nave,  for  which  purpose  it  was  no  doubt  specially  intended,  being 
of  great  size  and  of  unusual  openness.  It  is  upwards  of  150  feet  by  80  feet  internally, 
supported  by  light  and  lofty  pillars,  sustaining  eighteen  arches,  and  lighted  by  large 
and  numerous  windows  with  flowing  tracery.  It  is,  in  fact,  a  perfect  model  of  what 
is  most  practically  useful  in  the  nave  of  a  church."  In  November,  1862,  the  roofs  of 
the  nave  and  north  aisle  were  almost  wholly  destroyed  by  fire,  when  it  was  proposed 
to  take  down  the  edifice  and  erect  a  small  chapel  on  its  site.  Mr.  Scott,  however, 
showed  that  the  walls  and  internal  stonework  could  be  easily  restored,  and  this  has 
been  effected.  The  roof,  which  is  now  of  wood,  and  open  and  elegant  in  design,  sub- 
stituting an  unsightly  flat  ceiling,  is  supported  on  twenty  graceful  columns,  with 
arches  springing  from  each  pillar,  and  towards  the  east  end  there  are  six  dormers  in 
it,  three  on  each  side  to  light  up  the  chancel.  The  church  consists  now,  as  before, 
of  a  lofty  nave  and  two  side  aisles.  Its  interior  is  136  feet  in  length,  by  80  feet ;  the 
nave  is  50  feet  high,  and  each  of  the  side  aisles  37  feet.  Besides  the  main  or  western 
door,  there  is  a  porch  at  the  south  side  of  the  building.  In  addition  to  the  dormers 
in  the  roof,  the  fabric  is  lighted  by  eighteen  windows,  with  flowing  tracery,  including 
the  western  window,  which,  next  to  that  of  Westminster-hall,  is  said  to  be  the  largest 
of  any  building  in  London.  The  tracery  in  twelve  of  the  windows,  which  had  been 
wholly  destroyed  by  time  and  the  fire  together,  is  restored  in  Portland  stone.  The  pre- 
vailing style  of  architecture  throughout  the  edifice  is  pure  Gothic.  The  new  Organ, 
by  Hill  and  Sons,  has  a  magnificent  effect  in  this  lofty  and  almost  cathedral  edifice. 

French. — There  are  in  London  two  branches  of  the  Church  of  Foreign  Protestants 
founded  by  Charter  of  Edward  VI.,  July  24,  1550.  The  French  Branch  was  at  first 
exclusively  composed  of  the  refugees  who  quitted  France  before  the  revocation  of  the 
Edict  of  Nantes.*  They  first  assembled  with  their  German  and  Dutch  brethren  in 
the  "  Temple  du  Seigneur  Jesus  "  in  Austin  Friars ;  but  their  number  having  greatly 
increased,  they  subsequently  met  for  public  worship  in  the  chapel  of  St.  Mary, 
dependent  on  the  Hospital  of  St.  Antony,  in  Threadneedle-street,  and  belonging  to 
the  Dean  and  Chapter  of  Windsor.  This  chapel  was  taken  down  in  1841,  consequent 
on  the  fire  which  destroyed  the  Royal  Exchange ;  the  congregation  having  retained 
almost  uninterrupted  possession  of  the  site  for  nearly  three  centuries.  The  first  church 
was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of  London,  but  was  speedily  rebuilt.  The  congrega- 
tion next  removed  to  a  new  church  in  St.  Martin' s-le-  Grand,  nearly  opposite  the 
General  Post-office  :  this  church,  designed  by  Owen,  and  opened  in  1842,  is  a  tasteful 

*  The  number  of  French  Protestants  who  took  refuge  in  England  after  the  revocation  of  the  Edict 
of  Nantes  is  estimated  at  80,000.  Of  these,  13,000  settled  in  London,  in  the  districts  of  Long  Acre, 
Seven  Dials,  Soho,  and  Spitalftelds.  At  least  one-third  of  these  refugees  joined  the  French  Church  in 
the  years  1688,  1637,  and  1688.— Manifesto,  1850. 


218  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

specimen  of  Gothic,  and  has  a  large  east  window  with  flamboyant  tracery,  flanked  by 
lofty  turrets.  We  may  here  mention  that  about  a  third  of  the  Nantes  refugees  met 
in  the  first  church.  James  II.  gave  permission  for  another  French  church  to  be  founded 
in  London ;  in  1688  was  opened  the  Temple  de  VHopital,  in  Spitalfields,  afterwards 
the  Eglise  Neuve. 

During  succeeding  reigns,  there  were  established  in  London  alone  no  less  than  twenty-two  foreign 
congregations,  some  of  which  adopted  the  Anglican  rite,  while  others  preserved  the  discipline  of  the 
Reformed  Church  of  France.  In  a  sermon,  preached  in  the  French  Church  of  the  Artillery  in  Spital- 
fields, in  1782,  the  preacher  lamented  that,  out  of  twenty  flourishing  churches  which  existed  on  his 
arrival,  nine  had  been  closed,  and  others  were  declining;  while  M.  Baup,  in  1841,  mourned  that,  of 
these  eleven,  three  only  remained.  "  As  our  two  sisters,  the  Eglise  des  Grecs  and  that  of  the  Quarr6, 
have  adopted  the  Anglican  rite,  we  remain  the  only  representatives  in  London  of  the  Reformed 
French  churches;  while  we  are  also  alone,  among  all  the  foreign  churches  in  this  kingdom,  in 
having,  in  common  with  the  Dutch  Church,  preserved  our  rights  to  the  charter  of  Edward  VI." 

La  Savoy,  Bloomsbury-street,  was  designed  by  Ambrose  Poynter,  and  built  for  the 
congregation  first  established  in  the  Savoy  :  it  is  in  the  Gothic  style,  and  has  a  Pointed 
gable,  and  a  large  Decorated  eastern  window. 

"  In  the  year  1646,  the  French  Protestant  refugees  commenced  their  church  services  in  Pembroke 
House,  near  Whitehall.  In  1660,  the  congregation  had  increased  to  2000,  with  two  ministers. 
Charles  II.  granted  them  the  use  of  the  Savoy  Chapel,  in  the  Strand :  they  adopted  the  ritual  of 
the  English  Church,  and  received  letters-patent  from  the  King,  under  the  title  of  the  French  Pro- 
testant Episcopal  Chapel  of  the  Savoy.  The  congregation  increased  so  rapidly  that,  in  less  than 
twenty  years,  there  were  three  separate  churches — the  Savoy,  the  Greek  Church  in  Soho,  and  a  church 
in  Spring  Gardens.  In  1733,  the  Savoy  Chapel  was  abandoned  for  want  of  funds  to  repair  it;  and  in 
1700,  the  congregation  only  possessed  the  Greek  Church,  in  Soho,  and  after  being  transferred  to  a  build- 
ing in  Edward-street,  Soho,  they  built  the  above  church  in  Bloomsbury-street,  which  was  consecrated 
under  the  name  of  St.  John,  by  the  Bishop  of  London,  on  22nd  of  December,  1845.  The  Two 
Hundredth  Anniversary  of  the  Church  was  celebrated  on  the  14th  July,  1801." — Mackeson's  Churches. 

Swiss. — There  were  considerable  numbers  of  Swiss  in  this  country  previously  to  the 
Eebellion  of  1745,  when  George  II.  availed  himself  of  the  offer  of  the  Swiss  to  furnish 
him  with  a  regiment ;  the  monarch  acknowledged  this  devotion  by  presenting  them 
with  a  standard,  bearing  this  inscription  : — 

"These  colours  were  presented  by  King  George  the  Second  to  the  Swiss  residents  in  this  country,  as 
a  mark  of  the  sense  which  his  Majesty  was  graciously  pleased  to  entertain  of  the  otTcr  made  by  them 
of  a  battalion  of  500  men  towards  the  defence  of  the  kingdom  on  the  occasion  of  the  Rebellion" 
(Scottish,  1745). 

About  1722,  the  Swiss,  with  the  approval  of  George  I.,  granted  the  ground  for 
building  a  church  near  Charing  Cross,  but  they  were  not  sufficiently  numerous  to  raise 
the  funds.  But,  in  1762,  the  Swiss  having  increased  in  numbers,  a  congregation  of 
Protestant  worshippers  met  in  Castle-street,  Holborn,  in  a  building  styled  the  Eglise 
Helvetique.  One  of  the  principal  promoters  of  this  church  was  M.  Francois  Justin 
Vulliamy,  a  native  of  Berne,  who  had  settled  in  London,  and  became  the  founder  of  the 
house  of  Vulliamy,  in  Pall  Mall,  clockmakers ;  there  is  in  the  Eglise  Suisse  a  clock 
given  to  the  church  by  Francois  Vulliamy,  above  named.  On  the  27th  of  June,  1762, 
M.  Buignon  preached  the  inauguration  sermon  from  the  text,  "  It  is  good  for  us  to  be 
here."  The  little  chapel  in  Castle-street  was  so  crowded  that  there  was  not  standing- 
room.  It  was  a  neat  building,  and  cost  little  more  than  100CM.  Before  the  expiry  of 
the  lease  of  the  church  in  Castle-street,  in  1770,  to  endeavour  to  raise  subscriptions 
and  build  on  lease  another  church,  appeals  were  made  to  the  Swiss  in  London,  and 
to  all  who  felt  any  interest  in  Switzerland.  One  curious  answer  was  made  to  this  appeal 
— the  present  of  a  "  lottery  ticket,  No.  2110,"  by  a  M.  des  Barres,  as  his  "  voluntary 
subscription  to  the  building  of  the  chapel ;"  it  is  presumed  to  have  turned  up  a  blank. 
The  royal  family  were  memorialized,  and  a  petition  in  French  presented  to  George  III. 
to  aid  the  fund,  but  without  effect.  However,  on  the  22nd  of  March,  1775,  was  laid 
the  first  stone  of  the  Eglise  Helvetique,  in  Moor-street,  Seven  Dials.  In  this  church 
Protestant  service  was  conducted  in  the  French  language  till  1855.  The  Prince  of 
Orange,  while  an  exile  in  England,  owing  to  the  troubles  arising  out  of  the  French  Revo- 
lution, was  a  frequent  attendant ;  and  the  Swiss  congregation  subsequently  numbered 
among  its  occasional  worshippers  the  Princess  Charlotte,  the  daughter  of  George  IV. 
A  tablet  which  is  placed  in  the  present  Eglise  Suisse  explains  the  interest  which  her 
Royal  Highness  took  in  the  minister  and  his  flock.  The  former,  Alexandre  Sterky, 
who  was  born  in  the  Canton  de  Vaud,  in  1767,  and  died  in  London  in  1838,  had  been 
French  tutor  to  the  Princess.  He  was  the  minister  of  the  church  for  forty-six  years. 
The  present  church,  the  Eglise  Suisse,  Endell-street,  was  opened  in  1855.     There  are 


CHAPELS— DISSENTERS'.  219 

some  three  hundred  attendants,  about  two-thirds  of  whom  are  Swiss,  or  of  Swiss 
origin.  The  entire  service  is  conducted  in  French.  The  singing  at  the  Eglise  Suisse 
is  accompanied  by  an  Organ  and  the  whole  congregation.  Here  are  preserved  the 
colours  presented  by  George  II. 

DISSENTERS'    CHAPELS. 

ALBION  CHAPEL,  Moorgate-street,  next  to  116,  London  Wall,  designed  by  Jay, 
has  a  pleasing  diastyle  Ionic  portico.     It  belongs  to  a  United  Presbyterian  con- 
gregation. 

Baptist  Chapel,  Little  Wild-street,  Lineoln's-inn-fields :  here  is  annually  preached 
a  sermon  in  commemoration  of  the  Great  Storm,  Nov.  26,  1703.  The  preacher  in 
1846,  the  Rev.  C.  Woollacott,  in  describing  the  damage  by  the  Storm,  stated : — 

"  In  London  alone,  more  than  800  houses  were  laid  in  ruins,  and  2000  stacks  of  chimneys  thrown 
down.  In  the  country  upwards  of  400  windmills  were  either  blown  down  or  took  fire,  by  the  violence 
with  which  their  sails  were  driven  round  by  the  wind.  In  the  New  Forest,  4000  trees  were  blown  down, 
and  more  than  19,000  in  the  same  state  were  counted  in  the  county  of  Kent.  On  the  sea  the  ravages  of 
this  frightful  storm  were  yet  more  distressing :  15  ships  of  the  Royal  Navy,  and  more  than  300  merchant 
vessels,  were  lost,  with  upwards  of  6000  British  seamen.  The  Kddystone  Lighthouse,  with  its  ingenious 
architect,  Mr.  Winstanley,  was  totally  destroyed.  The  Bishop  of  Bath  and  Wells  and  his  lady  were 
killed  by  the  falling  of  their  palace.  The  sister  of  the  Bishop  of  London,  and  many  others,  lost  their 
lives." 

This  annual  custom  has  been  observed  upwards  of  a  century.  The  chapel  is  built  upon 
the  site  of  Weld  House  and  gardens,  the  mansion  of  the  son  of  Sir  Humphrey  Weld, 
Lord  Mayor  of  London  in  1608.  It  was  subsequently  let :  Ronquillo,  the  Spanish 
ambassador,  lived  here  in  the  time  of  Charles  II.  and  James  II. :  and  in  the  anti- 
Popish  riots  of  the  latter  reign  the  house  was  sacked  by  the  mob,  and  the  ambassador 
compelled  to  make  his  escape  at  a  back  door. 

Baptist  Chapel,  on  the  west-side  of  Bloomsbury -street,  was  designed  by  Gibson, 
and  opened  Dec.  2,  1848  :  it  is  in  elegant  Lombardic  style  j  the  central  portion  has  a 
gable  pediment,  large  wheel-window,  flanked  by  two  lofty  spires,  and  is  very  pic- 
turesque. It  was  built  by  Sir  Morton  Peto,  at  the  expense  of  12,000J.,  and  will  hold 
from  1500  to  2000  persons.  South  is  the  French  Protestants'  Gothic  Chapel ;  and 
the  tasteless  pile  to  the  north  is  Bedford  Chapel.  The  sole  condition  which  Sir  Morton 
Peto  imposed  upon  the  Baptist  congregation  was  that  they  should  repay,  at  their  con- 
venience, one-third  of  the  expense,  which  he,  on  his  part,  undertook  should  be  laid  out  in 
opening  another  chapel  for  the  denomination  in  some  other  part  of  the  town.  Sir  Morton 
Peto  subsequently  purchased  the  building  formerly  known  as  the  "  Diorama,"  in  the 
Regent's-park,  and  had  it  converted  at  his  expense  into  a  chapel  for  the  Baptist 
denomination,  by  extensive  alterations.  The  roof,  for  instance,  which  was  a  forest 
of  complicated  timbers,  depended  in  a  great  measure  for  support  upon  framed  parti- 
tions extending  across  the  building  in  different  directions.  All  these  had  of  necessity 
to  be  removed,  and  a  wrought-iron  girder,  84  feet  span,  was  substituted.  Upon  this 
girder,  directly  or  indirectly,  the  whole  roof  is  now  supported,  leaving  the  area  of  the 
chapel  unobstructed.     The  style  of  architecture  adopted  is  the  Byzantine. 

Among  the  houses  taken  down  near  Bloomsbury -street,  and  towards  the  centre  of 
what  is  now  New  Oxford-street,  stood  the  Hare  and  Hounds  public-house,  a  noted 
resort  of  the  Londoners  of  the  sixteenth  and  seventeenth  centuries  :  till  the  reign  of 
Charles  II.  it  bore  the  sign  of  the  Beggar's  Bush,  when  the  name  was  changed,  owing 
to  a  hunted  hare  having  been  caught  there,  and  cooked  and  eaten  in  the  house. 

Baptist  Chapel,  The,  Notting  Dale,  built  in  1863,  is  a  curiosity  in  its  way.  It  is 
a  slip  (eleven  bays)  of  one  of  the  annexes  of  the  International  Exhibition  Building, 
1862,  reconstructed  by  Mr.  Owen  Jones,  who  has  made  the  interior  quite  gay  by  the 
application  of  his  favourite  red,  white,  and  blue  to  the  well-remembered  old  roof  tim- 
bers, and  with  greys  and  yellows  and  pretty  classical  borderings  round  walls  and  win- 
dows, brought  the  whole  into  harmony,  at  a  trifling  expenditure  on  common  distemper 
colour  and  stencil  patterns. — Companion  to  the  Almanac,  1864. 

Caledonian  Chapel,  Cross-street,  Hatton  Garden,  was  the  chapel  at  which  the 
Rev.  Edward  Irving  first  preached  in  the  metropolis. 

"  Irving's  London  reputation  was  made  by  Canning.  Irving  removed  to  London  in  the  year  1822, 
being  then  thirty  years  of  age.    He  came  at  the  invitation  of  the  Caledonian  Chapel  in  Hatton  Garden, 


220  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

where  a  small  sprinkling  of  Scotch  assembled  together.  Among  these  was  Sir  James  Mackintosh,  who 
was  especially  delighted  with  one  phrase  which  Irving  let  fall  when  he  spoke  of  orphans  cast  upon  '  the 
fatherhood  of  God.'  One  night,  in  the  House  of  Commons,  he  reported  the  phrase  to  Canning.  The 
latter  was  anxious  to  hear  the  tartan,  and  both  he  and  Mackintosh  went  the  following  Sunday  to  the 
Caledonian  Chapel.  A  few  nights  afterwards,  from  the  Treasury  bench,  Canning  had  to  rise,  and  to  make 
some  remarks  on  clerical  affairs.  In  the  course  of  his  speech  he  referred  to  the  sermon  which  he  heard 
from  Irving's  lips  as  the  most  eloquent  that  he  had  ever  listened  to.  That  speech  was  the  making  of 
Irving.  All  the  fashion  of  London  flocked  to  him.  His  chapel  was  crowded  to  overflowing.  His 
powers  grew  as  encouragement  increased,  and  he  rose  into  notoriety  as  the  greatest  pulpit  orator  of 
the  day." — Life  of  Irving,  by  Mrs.  Oliphant. 

Canonbuey  Chapel,  St.  Paul's-road,  Islington,  was  built  for  a  congregation  of  Evan- 
gelical Nonconformists ;  Habershon,  architect.  The  height  of  the  building  to  the  apex 
of  gables  is  57  feet;  the  interior  height  to  lantern,  60  feet;  the  span  of  the  roof  is  66 
feet.  There  are  transverse  arches  at  the  four  transepts,  and  three  large  windows  and 
eight  clerestory  windows. 

The  London  Congregational  Chapel  Building  Society  has  stated  that  "The  large  and  rapidly 
increasing  district  of  Islington  has  a  population  of  about  110,000,  with  church  and  chapel  accommodation 
for  less  than  30,000;  that  is,  for  little  more  than  one-fourth  of  the  population.  That  the  present 
number  of  inhabitants  is  about  twice  as  great  as  it  was  fifteen  years  ago,  and,  during  that  period,  very 
little  has  been  done  by  all  religious  bodies  for  providing  increased  accommodation  for  public  worship. 
Only  one  additional  chapel  has  been  erected  by  the  Congregationalists  for  au  additional  population  of 
about  55,000  persons." 

Catholic  and  Apostolic  Cht/kch,  Gordon-square,  was  commenced  in  the  year  1853, 
for  the  community  who  take  this  title.  It  was  designed  by  Raphael  Brandon,  and  consists 
of  Chancel  (with  an  eastern  chapel,  occupying  the  usual  position  of  a  Lady  chapel), 
north  chancel  aisle  (provision  is  made  for  a  south  aisle  at  some  fixture  period),  north 
and  south  transepts,  with  lantern  at  intersection,  Nave  and  aisles.  The  height  from  the 
floor  of  nave  to  the  ridge  is  90  feet.  The  carving  in  the  chapel  is  exceedingly  well 
done,  especially  that  in  the  arches  of  the  last  three  divisions  on  the  south  side  of  the 
arcade  which  encompasses  the  walls.  The  Chancel  has  a  stone  groined  roof,  with  some 
excellent  carving  in  the  bosses.  As  an  adaptation  of  the  Early  English  style,  this  church 
must  be  considered  one  of  the  most  successful  modern  works. 

Congregational  Nonconfoemist  Chubch,  Kentish  Town,  designed  by  Hodge 
and  Butler,  and  opened  in  1848,  is  in  the  Ecclesiastical  style  of  the  fifteenth  century,  and 
has  several  richly-traceried  windows  filled  with  stained  glass,  including  a  splendid 
wheel-window,  15  feet  diameter. 

Essex-steeet  Chapel,  Strand,  the  head-quarters  of  the  Unitarians  of  the  metro- 
polis, is  built  upon  part  of  the  site  of  Essex.  House,  taken  down  in  1774.  In  a  portion 
of  it  was  kept  the  Cottonian  Library  from  1712  to  1730;  one  of  its  large  apartments 
was  let  to  Paterson,  the  auctioneer,  and  was  next  hired  by  the  patrons  of  Mr.  Lindsey 
and  Dr.  Disney  (Unitarians),  to  preach  in.  In  1805,  on  the  death  of  Dr.  Disney,  Mr. 
Thomas  Belsham  removed  to  Essex-street  Chapel  from  the  Gravel-pit  congregation  at 
Hackney,  where  he  had  succeeded  Dr.  Priestley.  At  Essex-street,  Belsham  continued 
pastor  during  the  rest  of  his  life,  acquiring  great  popularity  by  his  eloquent  and  argu- 
mentative preaching;  he  died  in  1829,  aged  80,  and  was  succeeded  by  the  Rev. 
Thomas  Madge. 

Hoebuet  Chapel,  Kensington-Park-road,  Notting-hill,  was  built  by  subscription  of 
the  Independent  denomination,  and  opened  Sept.  13,  1849.  The  design,  by  Tarring, 
is  transition  from  Early  English  to  Decorated,  with  a  pair  of  towers  and  spires ;  the 
principal  windows  are  filled  with  stained  glass. 

Independent  Chapel,  Robinson's-row,  Kingsland,  was  built  about  1792:  here  the 
Rev.  John  Campbell,  the  benevolent  South-African  missionary,  was  thirty-seven  years 
minister,  and  is  buried ;  and  a  monument  to  his  memory  has  been  erected  by  his  flock. 

Jewin-stbeet  Chapel,  Aldersgate-street,  was  built  in  1808,  for  a  congregation  of 
English  Presbyterians,  who  removed  thither  from  Meeting-House-court,  Old  Jewry. 
Among  the  eminent  pastors  were  the  eloquent  John  Herries ;  Dr.  Price,  F.R.S.,  the 
writer  on  finance ;  and  Dr.  Abraham  Rees,  editor  of  the  Cyclopadia  with  his  name. 

Mobavian  Chapel,  Fetter-lane,  is  the  only  place  of  worship  belonging  to  the 


CHAPELS— DISSENTERS'.  221 

Moravians  (United  Brethren)  in  London,  by  whom  it  was  purchased  in  1738,  on  their 
settling  in  England.  The  interior  is  remarkably  plain,  and  bespeaks  the  simple  cha- 
racter of  its  occupants ;  there  is  a  small  organ,  for  they  have  church  music  and  singing  j 
there  are  no  pews,  but  seats  for  males  and  females,  apart.  The  chapel  is  capacious, 
but  the  auditory  does  not  exceed  from  200  to  300  persons :  the  support  is  voluntary. 
There  is  a  burial-ground  for  the  members,  with  a  small  chapel,  at  Lower  Chelsea, 
near  the  Clock-house.  At  Chelsea,  in  June,  17GO,  died  Count  Zinzendorf,  who  first 
introduced  the  Moravians  into  this  country.  The  chapel  in  Fetter-lane  lies  in  the  rear 
of  the  houses,  one  of  the  entrances  to  it  being  through  No.  32 :  it  was  possibly  so 
built  for  privacy.  It  escaped  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  and  was  originally  occupied  by 
Nonconformists.  Turner,  who  was  its  first  minister,  was  very  active  during  the  Great 
Plague ;  and  having  been  ejected  from  Sunbury,  he  continued  to  preach  in  Fetter-lane 
till  towards  the  close  of  the  reign  of  Charles  II.  Here  also  Baxter,  the  eminent  Non- 
conformist divine,  preached  after  the  Indulgence  granted  in  1672 ;  and  he  held  the 
Friday-morning  lectureship  until  August,  1682. 

National  Scotch  Ciiurch,  Crown-court,  Little  Bussell-street,  Covent  Garden,  has 
a  cement  Norman  facade,  with  the  staircases  effective  outside  features.  The  minister 
is  the  Rev.  Dr.  dimming,  who  preached  before  Queen  Victoria,  at  Crathie,  Balmoral, 
Sept.  22,  1850 ;  and  who  ably  controverted  the  claims  of  Dr.  Wiseman  the  same  year. 

Old  Gravel-pit  Meeting-house,  Hackney,  was  built  in  1715  :  here  Dr.  Price, 
F.R.S.,  and  Dr.  Priestley  were  ministers;  next  Mr.  Belsham,  the  congregation  being 
Anti-Trinitarians ;  succeeded  by  the  Rev.  Robert  Aspland,  who  remained  here  till  the 
erection  of  the  New  Gravel-pit  Meeting-house,  "  Sacred  to  one  God  the  Father,"  in 
Paradise-fields. 

Oxendon  Chapel,  Haymarket,  was  built  about  1675,  by  Richard  Baxter,  the  Non- 
conformist divine,  in  Oxendon-street,  on  the  west  side,  at  the  back  of  the  garden-wall 
of  the  house  of  Mr.  Secretary  Coventry,  from  whom  Coventry-street  derives  its 
name.  Baxter's  principles  were  so  little  to  the  liking  of  Secretary  Coventry,  that  he 
instigated  the  guards  of  Charles  II.  to  come  under  the  windows  and  flourish  their 
trumpets  and  beat  their  drums  whenever  Richard  preached.  Finding  that  not  a  word 
he  said  could  be  heard,  and  that  remonstrating  with  these  gentry  was  dangerous, 
Baxter  sought  to  dispose  of  the  building.  Dr.  Lloyd,  rector  of  St.  Martin's-in-the- 
Fields,  kindly  introduced  the  affair  to  the  vestry  of  St.  Martin's.  By  his  mediation 
poor  Baxter  obtained  the  handsome  rental  of  40£.  per  annum  for  the  building  from  the 
vestry,  and  it  was  forthwith  consecrated  as  a  "  Tabernacle"  to  St.  Martin's- in- the- 
Fields.     Oxendon  Chapel  now  belongs  to  the  Scotch  Secession. 

Presbyterian  Dissenters'  Chapel,  Mare-street,  Hackney,  was  established  early 
in  the  seventeenth  century :  here  Philip  Nye  and  Adoniram  Byfield,  two  eminent 
Puritan  divines,  preached  in  1636 ;  and  Dr.  W.  Bates  and  Matthew  Henry  were 
pastors  late  in  the  seventeenth  century.  The  old  meeting-house  has  been  taken  down, 
and  a  new  one  built  opposite,  and  occupied  by  Independents. 

Presbyterian  Meeting-house,  Newington-green,  established  soon  after  the 
Restoration,  was  rebuilt  about  1708 :  in  the  fist  of  ministers  are  Richard  Biscoe,  Hugh 
Worthington,  M.A.,  John  Hoyle,  Dr.  Richard  Price,  F.R.S.,  Dr.  Amory,  Dr.  Towers, 
Mr.  Lindsey,  Dr.  Isaac  Maddox  (afterwards  Bishop  of  Worcester),  Thomas  Rees  j  and 
Mr.  Barbauld,  husband  of  the  authoress. 

Providence  Chapel,  Little  Titchfield-street,  Marylebone,  was  built  by  a  congre- 
gation of  Independents  for  Huntington,  S.S.  ("  the  Coal-heaver,"  as  he  called  himself), 
upon  his  credit  with  "  the  Bank  of  Faith,"  when  he  quitted  Margaret  Chapel :  when 
it  was  finished,  "  I  was  in  arrears,"  says  Huntington,  "  for  1000J.,  so  that  I  had  plenty 
of  work  for  faith,  if  I  could  but  get  plenty  of  faith  to  work ;  and  while  some  deny  a 
Providence,  Providence  was  the  only  supply  I  had."  This  chapel  was  burnt  down, 
with  seven  houses  adjoining,  July  13,  1810,  and  the  site  became  a  timber-yard. 

Providence  Chapel,  on  the  east  side  of  Gray's-Inn-lane,  nearly  opposite  Guilford- 


222  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

street,  was  built  for  Huntington,  S.S.,  by  his  flock,  after  the  destruction  of  the  Titch- 
field-street  Chapel :  this  second  edifice  he  named  from  the  pulpit  for  these  reasons: 
that  "  unless  God  provided  men  to  work,  and  money  to  pay  them,  and  materials  to 
work  with,  no  chapel  could  be  erected ;  and  if  He  provided  all  these,  Providence  must 
be  its  name."  The  chapel  was,  accordingly,  built  in  Gray's-Inn-lane,  and  upon  a  larger 
scale  than  the  last ;  it  was  made  over  to  him  as  his  own,  and  bequeathed  in  his  will  to 
his  widow,  who,  however,  resigned  it  to  the  congregation.  It  was  subsequently 
altered  and  opened  as  an  Episcopal  Chapel,  the  Rev.  T.  Mortimer,  B.D.,  minister. 

Regent-square  Chapel,  Gray's-inn-road,  was  built  for  the  Rev.  Edward  Irving, 

in  1824-5,  W.  Tite,  the  architect,  adapting  the  west  front  from  York  Cathedral :  the 

twin  towers  are  120  feet  in  height.     Here  the  "  unknown  tongues"  attracted  large 

and  fashionable  congregations. 

AVhen  the  charm  of  novelty  was  worn  off,  the  chapel  in  Cross-street,  Hatton  Garden,  was  still 
insufficient  for  Mr.  Irving's  congregation,  and  they  resolved  on  the  erection  of  another  chapel  of  larger 
dimensions.  For  this  purpose  7000/.  was  in  a  short  time  subscribed,  and  a  piece  of  ground  purchased 
on  the  south  side  of  Sidmouth-street,  Brunswick-square,  for  the  sum  of  1800/.  The  Duke  of  Clarence 
had  undertaken  to  lay  the  foundation-stone,  but  was  prevented  by  illness,  and  it  devolved  upon  the 
Earl  of  Breadalbane.  "I  undertook  to  open  Irving's  new  church  in  London,"  says  Dr.  Chalmers. 
"  The  congregation,  in  their  eagerness  to  obtain  seats,  had  already  been  assembled  three  hours.  Irving 
said  he  would  assist  me  by  reading  a  chapter  for  me.  He  chose  the  longest  in  the  Bible,  and  went  on 
for  an  hour  and  a  half.  On  another  occasion  he  offered  me  the  same  aid,  adding,  '  I  can  be  short.'  I 
said, '  How  long  will  it  take  you  ?'  '  Only  an  hour  and  forty  minutes.' "  Still  Irving  drew  the  crowds. 
"  The  excitement  which  Irving  created  in  London  held  the  throngs  together  for  hours.  They  were 
first  assembled  for  hours  before  he  made  his  appearance,  and  then  they  listened  to  his  lofty  discourse 
for  hours  more.  His  sermon  for  the  London  Missionary  Society  was  three  hours  long,  and  he  had  to 
take  rest  twice  in  the  middle  of  it,  asking  the  congregation  each  tune  to  sing  a  hymn." 

Scotch  Chtjech,  The,  Swallow-street,  Piccadilly,  was  originally  a  French  Pro- 
testant Chapel,  founded  in  the  year  1692  :  it  was  purchased  by  James  Anderson,  and 
converted  into  a  Presbyterian  Meeting-house ;  and  in  the  Treasury  Crown  Lease  Book 
(No.  1,  p.  71)  will  be  found  a  letter  from  the  Surveyor-General,  dated  1729,  giving  a 
history  of  the  foundation  of  this  church,  and  Anderson's  petition  for  a  lease,  which 
was  granted  by  the  Lords  of  the  Treasury;  but  the  chapel  being  much  out  of  repair, 
and  the  congregation  poor,  the  fine  was  remitted ;  the  building  was  then  valued  at 
20Z.  The  above  document  is  printed  in  Notes  and  Queries,  2nd  S.,  No.  3.  The  chapel 
has  been  rebuilt  of  red  brick,  with  a  low  spire. 

Sotjth-place  Chapel,  Finsbury,  is  of  Ionic  design,  and  was  built  for  a  Unitarian 
congregation,  under  the  ministry  of  Mr.  W.  J.  Fox,  the  eloquent  M.P.  for  Oldham. 

Spa-fields  Chapel,  Exmouth-street,  Spa-fields,  though  consecrated  for  "  Lady 
Huntingdon's  Connexion,"  nearly  80  years  since,  was  originally  built  for,  and  opened 
as,  a  place  of  public  amusement,  called  the  Pantheon,  in  1770,  in  imitation  of  the  Pan- 
theon in  Oxford-road.  The  Spa-fields  building  is  circular  in  plan,  and  had  a  statue  of 
Fame  on  the  top.  The  interior  had  galleries  entirely  round  the  whole ;  and  in  the  centre 
was  a  curious  stove,  with  fire-places  all  round,  from  which  the  smoke  was  carried  off 
without  any  chimney,  and  the  building  was  warmed  in  the  severest  weather.  There 
were  also  a  garden,  with  shrubs  and  fruit  trees,  and  boxes  and  tea-rooms  for  company. 
Upon  the  same  site  was  previously  the  "  Ducking  Pond  House,"  with  a  fine  view  of 
Hampstead,  Highgate,  and  the  adjacent  country.  The  Pantheon  lost  its  character, 
and  was  closed  in  1776.  The  pious  Selina,  Countess  of  Huntingdon,  then  proposed  to 
convert  the  place  into  a  chapel,  but  was  discouraged  by  Toplady.  It  was  then  fitted 
up,  and  opened  upon  Evangelical  principles,  as  Northampton  Chapel,  and  became  very 
popular.  In  1779  it  was  opened  "  in  the  Connexion  of  the  Countess  of  Huntingdon." 
In  1780,  it  narrowly  escaped  being  pulled  down  by  the  Rioters.  The  congregation 
became  wealthy  and  influential :  the  Duke  of  Kent,  father  of  Queen  Victoria,  often 
attended  here ;  the  pulpit  was  for  many  years  supplied  with  ministers  from  Cheshunt 
College.  The  chapel  will  hold  2000  persons,  and  is  lighted  by  a  monster  ring  of  gas- 
jets.  Large  schools  are  attached  to  the  chapel.  In  the  large  house  adjoining, 
formerly  the  tea-rooms  of  the  Pantheon,  Lady  Huntingdon  resided  twelve  years,  and 
here  she  died  in  1791,  in  her  84th  year.  She  had  expended  100,000Z.  in  works  of 
charity  :  she  had  founded,  wholly  or  in  part,  64  chapels  in  her  connexion.  The  exten- 
sive plot  of  ground  in  the  rear  of  Spa-fields  Chapel  became,  soon  after  its  opening,  a 


CHAPELS— DISSENTERS'.  223 

burial-place  for  Nonconformists  and  others.  It  contains  42,640  square  feet,  and  would 
decently  inter  1361  adult  bodies ;  yet  within  50  years  80,000  bodies  were  deposited 
here,  averaging  1500  per  annum.  To  make  room,  bones  and  bodies  were  burnt  for 
upwards  of  a  quarter  of  a  century,  to  the  constant  annoyance  of  the  neighbourhood; 
until,  in  1845,  the  lessees  of  the  ground  were  indicted,  and  the  pestilential  nuisance 
stopped.  This  agitation  brought  about  the  Abolition  of  Burials  in  Towns.  (See 
Pinks's  History  of  ClerTcenwell,  1865,  pp.  141-151.)  The  old  chapel  was  noted  for 
the  four  lofty  pillars  which  supported  the  roof,  they  having  been  presented  for  the 
purpose  by  the  States-General  of  Holland  in  1764 ;  and  being,  consequently,  a  memorial 
of  the  friendly  intercourse  then  subsisting  between  the  English  Nonconformists  and 
the  Dutch. 

Stepney  Meeting,  The,  erected  for  Congregationalists  in  1863,  in  place  of  one  of 
the  oldest  Independent  chapels  about  London,  is  of  Second  Pointed  Gothic,  and  of 
hammered  stone  in  irregular  courses,  with  Bath  stone  dressings :  it  has  a  stone  spire, 
150  feet  high,  with  clustered  pinnacles  at  the  base ;  and  a  wheel  window  with  graceful 
tracery,  and  filled  with  stained  glass.  The  roof  is  high-pitched,  curved,  and  panelled : 
cost  10,000?. ;  architects,  Searle,  Son,  and  Yelf. 

Sueeey  Chapel,  corner  of  Little  Charlotte- street,  Blackfriars-road,  is  of  octagonal 
form,  and  was  built  in  1783,  for  a  congregation  of  Calvinistic  Dissenters,  the  Rev. 
Rowland  Hill,  pastor,  who  preached  here  in  the  winter  season  for  nearly  50  years :  he 
had  a  house  adjoining,  where  he  died,  aged  88,  in  1833,  and  was  buried  in  a  vault  under 
the  chapel.  Adjacent,  in  Hill-street,  are  Almshouses  for  24  poor  widows,  built  and 
maintained  by  the  Surrey  Chapel  congregation. 

Swedenboeg-  Chttbch,  Argyle-square,  King's-cross,  was  opened  Aug.  11,  1844,  for 
the  followers  of  Swedenborg,  whither  they  removed  from  a  small  chapel  in  the  City, 
built  about  forty  years  previously.  The  new  church  is  in  the  Anglo-Norman  style, 
Hopkins,  architect,  with  two  towers  and  spires,  70  feet  high,  each  terminating  with  a 
bronze  cross ;  the  intervening  gable  has  a  stone  cross,  and  a  wheel  window  over  a 
deeply-recessed  doorway.  The  interior  has  a  finely-vaulted  roof;  the  altar  arrange- 
ments are  peculiar ;  and  there  is  an  Organ  and  choir.  The  founder  of  the  sect  of 
Swedenborgians,  the  learned  Baron  Swedenborg,  who  died  in  1772,  is  buried  in  the 
Swedish  Church,  Prince's-square,  Ratclifle  Highway. 

Tabebnacle,  The,  in  Moorfields,  was  built  in  1752;  previously  to  which,  in  1741, 
shortly  after  Whitefield's  separation  from  Wesley,  some  Calvinistic  Dissenters  raised 
for  Whitefield  a  large  shed  near  the  Foundry,  in  Moorfields,  upon  a  piece  of  ground 
lent  for  the  purpose,  until  he  should  return  from  America.  From  the  temporary 
nature  of  the  structure  it  was  named,  in  allusion  to  the  tabernacles  of  the  Israelites  in 
the  Wilderness ;  and  the  name  became  the  designation  of  the  chapels  of  the  Calvinistic 
Methodists  generally.  Whitefield's  first  pulpit  here  is  said  to  have  been  a  grocer's 
sugar-hogshead,  an  eccentricity  not  improbable.  In  1752,  the  wooden  building  was 
taken  down,  the  site  was  leased  by  the  City  of  London,  and  the  present  chapel  was 
built,  with  a  lantern  roof :  it  is  now  occupied  by  Independents,  and  will  hold  about 
4000  persons.  This  chapel  was  the  cradle  of  Methodism ;  the  preaching-places  had 
hitherto  been  Moorfields,  Marylebone-fields,  and  Kennington-common.  Silas  Todd 
describes  the  Tabernacle  in  Moorfields  as  "a  ruinous  place,  with  an  old  pantile 
covering,  a  few  rough  deal  boards  put  together  to  constitute  a  temporary  pulpit,  and 
several  other  decayed  timbers,  which  composed  the  whole  structure."  John  Wesley 
preached  here  (the  Foundry,  as  it  was  called),  at  five  in  the  morning  and  seven  in  the 
evening.  The  men  and  women  sat  apart ;  and  there  were  no  pews,  or  difference  of 
benches,  or  appointed  place  for  any  person.  At  this  chapel  the  first  Methodist  Society 
was  formed  in  1740. 

Tabebnacle,  Metbofolitan,  was  built  for  Mr.  Spurgeon,  upon  part  of  the  site  of 
the  Fishmongers'  Company's  Almshouses,  at  Newington,  in  1861.  The  exterior  has  a 
large  hexastyle  Corinthian  portico,  and  four  angle  turrets ;  the  interior  is  remarkable 
for  its  great  size,  luminousness — it  being  lighted  both  from  roof  and  windows — and 
unecclesiastical  appearance :  it  was  modelled  from  the  Surrey  Music-hall,  in  which  Mr. 


224  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Spurgeon  for  some  time  carried  on  his  ministration.  The  ceiling  and  galleries  are 
supported  by  thin  iron  columns,  of  salmon  colour,  with  gilt  capitals  ;  the  florid  gallery 
fronts  are  white  and  gold.  Instead  of  a  pulpit  there  are  two  raised  platforms  with 
balconies ;  from  the  upper  one  the  minister,  with  his  church  officers  sitting  around 
him,  preaches  and  conducts  the  service.     The  chapel  will  hold  6500. 

Tbinity  Independents' Chaped,  East  India-road,  Poplar,  was  erected  in  18-40-1,  by 
Hosking,  at  the  expense  of  Mr.  George  Green,  the  wealthy  shipbuilder  of  Black  wall, 
principally  for  shipwrights  in  his  employ,  and  for  inducing  the  seamen  in  the  neigh- 
bourhood to  attend  Divine  worship.  The  chapel  has  a  Greek  Corinthian  portico,  and 
facade  with  enrichments  of  shells,  dolphins,  and  foliage;  and  a  classic  bell  tower,  the 
summit  80  feet  high.  The  interior  has  a  Keene's-cement  pulpit,  highly  decorated ; 
and  a  powerful  Organ  by  Walker,  in  a  Grecian  architectural  case. 

United  Pbesbyteeians. — Thiee  or  four  noteworthy  churches  were  built  in  1863. 
Park  Church,  Highbury  New  Park,  Habershon,  architect,  is  a  modification  of  the 
Anglo-Italian  of  Hawksmoor's  time,  and  has  a  tower  with  pinnacled  spire.  At 
Clapham,  a  Presbyterian  church  has  been  erected,  its  chief  feature  being  a  lofty 
'  Corinthian  portico.  Another  at  Shaftesbury-place,  Kensington,  J.  M.  M'Culloch,  archi- 
tect, is  Second  Pointed  Gothic,  with  short  transepts,  a  tower  with  spire,  and  a  large 
five-light  traceried  window. 

Unity  Chuech,  Islington,  T.  C.  Clarke,  architect,  was  completed  in  1862,  for  the 
congregation  formerly  meeting  in  Carter-lane,  City,  and  is  remarkable  for  its  strictly 
ecclesiastical  character.  It  is  cruciform,  has  a  broad  Nave  with  narrow  aisles,  and  a 
shallow  semi-octagonal  chancel ;  a  handsome  tower  with  double  buttresses,  cornice, 
gurgoyles,  &c,  and  a  spire  120  feet  high.  The  principal  entrance,  in  Upper-street,  is 
Second  Pointed  in  style,  but  Italianized :  the  window-heads  have  elaborate  tracery,  and 
in  the  tympanum  of  the  entrance  is  a  relievo  of  Christ's  Charge  to  Peter.  The 
interior  has  much  good  carving,  some  polychromy ;  stone  pulpit,  with  shafts  and  inlay 
of  coloured  marbles  and  alabaster,  with  reliefs  on  the  panels;  large  stained-glass 
windows ;  and  the  organ  treated  as  part  of  the  design.  The  building  has  a  curiously 
orthodox  appearance,  considering  for  whose  use  it  has  been  constructed  :  it  cost 
upwards  of  10,O0OZ. 

Weigh-house  ChapeI/,  Fish-street-hill,  is  named  from  the  Weigh-house  of  which 
it  occupied  the  site,  whereon  formerly  stood  the  church  of  St.  Andrew  Hubbard, 
before  the  Great  Fire.  The  chapel,  which  belonged  to  the  Independent  connexion, 
was  rebuilt  about  thirty  years  ago  upon  a  small  freehold  plot,  which  cost  70O0Z., 
but  which  was  sold,  in  1866,  to  a  Railway  Company  for  95.000Z.,  besides  compensation 
to  the  minister  of  the  chapel,  the  Rev.  Thomas  Binney.  William  Hone,  who  was  per- 
suaded by  his  Independent  friends  to  try  his  talent  as  a  preacher,  appeared  frequently 
in  the  pulpit  at  Weigh-house  Chapel,  where,  in  1835,  he  was  struck  by  paralysis. 

Wesleyan  Chapel,  City-road,  was  built  in  1778,  upon  ground  leased  by  the  City : 
thither  John  Wesley  removed  from  the  Foundry  in  Moorfields,  the  lease  of  which  had 
expired ;  and  thenceforth  the  City-road  Chapel  became  the  headquarters  of  the  Society 
of  Methodists.  Wesley  laid  the  first  stone,  in  which  his  name  and  the  date  were 
inserted  upon  a  plate  of  brass  :  "  This  was  laid  by  John  Wesley,  on  April  1,  1777." 
"  Probably,"  says  he,  "  this  will  be  seen  no  more  by  any  human  eye,  but  will  remain 
there  till  the  earth  and  the  works  thereof  are  burnt  up."  John  Wesley,  who  died 
March  2,  1791,  aged  88,  was  buried  here  in  a  vault  which  he  had  prepared  for  him- 
self, and  for  those  itinerant  preachers  who  might  die  in  London. 


corpse i 
each  of 

escutcheon,  no  pomp,  except  the  tears  of  them  that'love  me/and  are  following  me  to  Abraham's  bosom.' 
On  the  day  preceding  the  interment,  Wesley's  body  lay  in  the  chapel,  in  a  kind  of  state  becoming  the 
person,  dressed  in  his  clerical  habit,  with  gown,  cassock,  and  band,  the  old  clerical  cap  on  his  head,  a 
Bible  in  one  hand,  and  a  white  handkerchief  in  the  other.  The  face  was  placid,  and  the  expression 
which  death  had  fixed  upon  his  venerable  features  was  that  of  a  serene  and  heavenly  smile.  The  crowds 
who  flocked  to  see  him  were  so  great,  that  it  was  thought  prudent,  for  fear  of  accidents,  to  accelerate 


CHAPELS— DISSENTERS'.  225 

the  funeral,  and  perform  it  between  five  and  six  in  the  morning.  The  intelligence,  however,  could  not 
be  kept  entirely  secret,  and  several  hundred  persons  attended  at  that  unusual  hour." — Southey's  Life  of 
Wesley,  3rd  edit.  vol.  ii.  p.  403. 

Wesleyax  Chapel,  Kentish  Town,  is  of  ecclesiastical  character:  it  is  huilt  of 
stone,  has  a  handsome  west  window  of  seven  lights,  with  good  tracery  j  and  a  tower 
with  a  tall  stone  spire.  It  has  an  open-timber  roof,  and  apsidal  termination,  which 
serves  as  an  organ-loft,  not  chancel ;  in  front  is  the  pulpit,  large  enough  to  contain 
three  or  four  ministers ;  architect,  J.  Tarring. 

Wesleyan  Chapel,  Great  Queen-street,  Lincoln's-inn-fields,  huilt  in  1811,  has  a 
tasteful  facade,  added  by  Jenkins  in  1841,  consisting  of  a  small  Ionic  tetrastyle 
forming  a  portico,  crowned  by  a  pediment ;  above  is  a  Venetian  triple  window,  and 
a  handsome  cornicione.  The  front  is  executed  in  beautiful  Talacre  stone  from 
North  Wales,  and  is  the  earliest  instance  of  its  being  employed  in  our  metropolitan 
buildings. 

Wesleyan  Model  Chapel,  East  India-road,  Poplar,  named  from  its  improved 
plan,  was  built  in  1848,  James  Wilson,  architect,  by  subscription,  to  which  one  person 
gave  500/.  The  style  is  Decorated,  and  the  materials  are  Caen  and  rag  stone.  The 
windows  are  richly  traceried ;  there  are  two  turrets,  each  80  feet  higb,  and  the  build- 
ing is  finished  with  a  pierced  parapet,  pinnacles,  and  roof-cresting. 

Wesleyan  Chapel,  at  the  angle  of  the  Islington  end  of  the  Liverpool-road,  is  in 
the  Decorated  style :  it  has  a  turret  on  the  front  gable  76  feet  in  height,  and  the 
parapets  are  pierced  with  trefoils  and  quatrefoils.  The  principal  windows  have  flowing 
tracery ;  and  the  interior,  divided  by  arches  and  octangular  columns,  whence  spring 
the  roof  timbers,  is  altogether  of  ecclesiastical  character. 

"  The  Wesleyans  have  now  five  or  six  edifices  in  London,  clothed  in  the  Gothic  dress  of  various 
periods,  and  following  the  usual  arrangements  of  a  mediaeval  church,  except  having  no  tower  and  no 
extensive  chancel,  resembling  in  this  respect  the  churches  erected  between  the  Reformation  and  the 
late  abandonment  of  church  design.  The  average  capacity  of  these  buildings  is  for  1300  persons.  One, 
nearly  facing  St.  John's,  Clerkenwell,  affects  the  complete  Gothic  above,  and  has  a  neat  original  front, 
but  thin." — Companion  to  the  Almanac,  1851. 

Whitefield's  Tabeenacle,  Tottenham-court-road,  was  designed  by  the  Rev.  George 
Whitefield,  and  commenced  building  in  1756,  upon  a  plot  of  ground  near  the  Field  of 
Forty  Footsteps,  and  the  Lavender  Mills,  Coyer's  Gardens.  It  was  first  opened  for 
public  worship,  Nov.  7,  1756.  In  1759  or  1760  was  added  an  octangular  front,  which 
gave  it  the  appearance  of  two  chapels ;  the  addition  being  called  "  the  Oven,"  and 
the  chapel  itself,  "  Whitefield's  Soul- Trap."  This  enlargement  is  said  to  have  been 
aided  by  Queen  Caroline,  consort  of  George  II.,  who  seeing  a  crowd  at  the  door  unable 
to  obtain  admission,  observed  it  was  a  pity  that  so  many  good  people  should  stand  in 
the  cold,  and  accordingly  sent  Whitefield  a  sum  of  money  to  enlarge  the  chapel ;  it 
was  called  "the  Dissenters'  Cathedral."  When  Whitefield  preached  there  it  was 
visited  by  many  persons  of  rank  and  distinction.  The  Prince  of  Wales  and  his  Royal 
brothers  and  sisters,  Lord  Chesterfield,  Lord  Bolingbroke,  Lord  Halifax,  Horace  Walpole, 
David  Hume,  and  David  Garrick,  are  all  reported  to  have  been  among  Whitefield's 
hearers.  The  existing  pulpit  is  the  same  from  which  Whitefield  preached.  In  the 
vestry  there  is  a  good  portrait  of  Whitefield,  taken  when  he  was  young,  and  also  a  fine 
bust  of  him ;  with  portraits  of  all  the  ministers  since  the  commencement,  viz.,  the 
Rev.  George  Whitefield,  M.A. ;  the  Rev.  Josiah  Joss,  the  Rev.  Joel  Abraham  Knight, 
the  Rev.  Matthew  Wilks,  the  Rev.  John  Hyatt ;  the  Rev.  John  Campbell,  D.D. ;  the 
Rev.  Joseph  Wilberforce  Richardson ;  and  the  present  minister,  the  Rev.  James  H. 
Boulding.  Whitefield  here  preached  his  last  sermon  in  England  on  the  2nd  of 
September,  1769 ;  he  died  on  the  20th  of  September,  1770,  at  Boston,  America.  It 
had  been  agreed  between  Whitefield  and  Wesley  that  whichever  of  them  died  first, 
the  survivor  should  preach  the  funeral  sermon.  Wesley  preached  Whitefield's  funeral 
sermon  in  Tottenham-court-road  Chapel,  on  the  30th  of  November  in  the  above  year. 
Another  instance  of  a  clergyman  preaching  his  own  funeral  sermon  occurred  in  this 
chapel  on  the  16th  of  August,  1787.  This  was  the  Rev.  Henry  Peckwell,  D.D.,  the 
cause  of  whose  death  was  a  prick  of  his  finger  with  a  needle,  at  a  post-mortem 
examination,  when  some  of  the  putrid  blood  got  into  the  wound,  which  caused  morti- 
fication in  a  few  days.     At  this  time  Dr.  Peckwell  was  doing  duty  for  the  minister  of 

Q 


226  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Tottenham-court-road  Chapel.  Being  conscious  of  his  approaching  end,  he  ascended 
the  pulpit  with  his  arm  in  a  sling,  and  preached,  from  St.  Paul's  Epistle  to  the  Hebrews, 
xiii.  7,  8,  an  affecting  sermon,  at  the  conclusion  adding  that  this  was  his  farewell 
sermon.  "  My  hearers,"  he  said,  "  shall  long  hear  it  in  mind,  when  this  frail  earthly- 
body  shall  be  mouldering  in  its  kindred  dust."  The  congregation  were  unable  to  con- 
jecture his  meaning;  but  next  Sunday  morning,  a  strange  minister  ascended  the 
pulpit  and  informed  them  that  Dr.  Peckwell  had  breathed  his  last  on  the  evening 
before !  The  burial-ground  which  surrounds  this  chapel  was  made  from  the  mould 
which  was  brought  from  the  burial-ground  of  the  church  of  St.  Christopher-le-Stocks, 
in  the  City  of  London,  when  that  church  was  taken  down,  in  1764,  to  enlarge  the 
Bank  of  England,  which  now  occupies  the  same  site.  By  this  cunning,  it  is  stated, 
the  consecration  fees  were  saved.  On  Thursday,  May  13,  1824,  the  Rev.  Edward 
Irving  here  delivered  in  Whitefield  Chapel  his  celebrated  missionary  oration  of 
three  hours  and  a  half.  In  1828,  Whitefield's  lease  expired,  and  the  chapel  was 
closed  until  1830,  when  it  was  purchased  by  trustees  for  20,0O0Z.,  and  altered  at  a 
great  cost,  the  exterior  being  coated  with  stucco.  It  was  well  adapted  for  hearing, 
the  octagonal  portion  serving  as  a  kind  of  funnel  or  trumpet  to  the  voice :  it  will 
seat  from  7000  to  8000  persons.  In  1834,  an  unhappy  difference  arose  between  the 
minister,  the  Rev.  Dr.  Campbell,  and  the  trustees  of  Whitefield  Chapel,  which  caused 
the  chapel  to  be  placed  in  Chancery :  the  trial  respecting  it  occupied  between  three  and 
four  days.  In  1857,  the  chapel  was  considerably  damaged  by  fire.  It  was,  however, 
repaired,  and  some  years  later  it  was  sold  to  the  London  Congregational  Chapel  Build- 
ing Society  for  47001.  It  has  by  them  been  almost  rebuilt.  The  front  has  a  portico 
and  octagonal  tower,  with  a  dome.  The  interior  is  lighted  from  the  dome  by  a  star- 
light ;  and  behind  the  pulpit  is  a  fine  Organ,  built  by  J.  Walker.  Here  are  monu- 
ments to  Whitefield,  the  founder ;  to  Toplady,  the  zealous  Calvinistic  controversialist 
with  John  Wesley ;  and  to  John  Bacon,  the  sculptor,  who  wrote  his  own  epitaph,  as 
follows : — 

"  What  I  was  as  an  Artist 

Seemed  to  me  of  some  importance  while  I  lived ; 

But  what  I  really  was  as  a  Believer 

Is  the  only  thing  of  importance  to  me  now." 

Zoae  Chapei,  in  Zoar-street,  leading  from  Gravel-lane  to  Essex-street,  Southwark, 
was  the  meeting-house  in  which  the  celebrated  John  Bunyan  was  allowed  to  preach, 
by  favour  of  his  friend,  Dr.  Thomas  Barlow,  Bishop  of  Lincoln,  to  whom  it  belonged ; 
and  if  only  one  day's  notice  was  given,  the  place  would  not  contain  half  the  people 
that  attended  ;  3000  persons  have  been  gathered  together  there,  and  not  less  than 
1200  on  week-days  and  dark  winter  mornings  at  seven  o'clock.  There  is  a  print  of 
this  chapel  in  Wilkinson's  Londina  Illustrata,  and  a  woodcut  vignette  of  it  in  Dr. 
Cheever's  Memoir  of  Bunyan,  prefixed  to  the  Pilgrim's  Progress  (Bogue,  1858).  The 
chapel  was  used  as  a  wheelwright's  shop  prior  to  its  being  pulled  down,  when  the 
pulpit  in  which  Bunyan  had  preached  was  removed  to  the  Methodist  Chapel,  Palace- 
yard,  Lambeth.  Another  "  true  pulpit "  is  shown  in  Jewin-street  Chapel,  Aldersgate- 
street.  Bunyan's  Pulpit  Bible  was  purchased  by  Mr.  Whitbread,  M.P.,  at  the  sale  of 
the  library  of  the  Rev.  S.  Palmer,  at  Hackney,  in  1813. 

FRIENDS'  OP  QUAKE  PS'  MEETING-HOUSES. 

THERE  are  six  Friends'  Meeting-houses  in  the  metropolis :  1.  Devonshire  House 
(Houndsditch) ;  2.  Bishopsgate-street  Without ;  3.  Peel  (Peel-court,  John-street, 
Smithfield) ;  4,  Ratcliffe  (Brook-street) ;  5.  Southwark  (Redcross-street)  ;  6.  Westmin- 
ster (Peter's-court,  St.  Martin's-lane).  The  first  established  was  that  in  'White  Hart- 
court,  which  was  taken  down  in  1865. 

"  The  Yearly  Meeting  of  the  Society  of  Friends  is  held  in  London,  opening  always  on  a  Wednesday 
in  the  latter  end  of  May,  and  continuing  into  the  month  of  June,  generally  lasting  about  ten  days  or  a 
fortnight.  Of  course  it  is  the  most  important  event  in  their  religious  system,  the  most  interesting 
season  in  their  year.  To  this  great  meeting  the  business  of  all  their  lesser  meetings  points,  and 
is  here  consummated.  To  it  delegates  are  sent  from  every  quarter  of  the  island ;  by  it  committees 
are  appointed  to  receive  appeals  against  the  decisions  of  minor  meetings,  to  carry  every  object 
which  is  deemed  desirable,  within  their  body  or  beyond  it,  into  effect ;  by  it  Parliament  is  petitioned ; 
the  Crown  addressed;  religious  ministers  are  sanctioned  in  their  schemes  of  foreign  travel,  or 


CHURCHES— GREEK.  227 


those  schemes  restrained;  and  funds  are  received  and  appropriated  for  the  prosecution  of  all 
their  views  as  a  society.  The  City  is  their  place  of  resort ;  and  the  Yearly  Meeting  is  held  in  Devon- 
shire House. 

"The  mingling  of  plain  coats,  broad  hats,  friendly  shawls,  and  friendly  bonnets,  in  the  great  human 
stream  that  ever  rolls  along  the  paves  of  the  City,  in  that  neighbourhood,  at  this  season,  becomes 
very  predominant.  Bishopsgate  Within  and  Bishopsgate  Without,  Gracechurch-street,  Houndsditch, 
Liverpool-street;  Old  Broad-street,  Sun-street,  almost  every  street  of  that  district,  fairly  swarms  with 
Friends.  The  inns  and  private  lodgings  are  full  of  them.  TheWliite  Hart  and  the  Four  Swans  are 
full  of  them.  They  have  a  table-d'hote,  at  which  they  generally  breakfast  and  dine.  Every  Friend's 
house  at  this  time  has  its  guests ;  and  many  of  the  wealthy  keep  a  sort  of  open  house. 

"  At  a  Friends'  Meeting,  the  men  are  sitting  all  on  one  side  by  themselves,  with  their  hats  on,  and 
presenting  a  very  dark  and  sombre  mass ;  the  women  sitting  together  on  the  other,  as  light  and  attrac- 
tive. In  the  seats  below  the  gallery  are  sitting  many  weighty  friends,  men  and  women,  still  apart ;  and 
in  the  gallery  a  long  row  of  preachers,  male  and  female,  perhaps  twenty  or  thirty  in  number.  You  may 
safely  count  on  a  succession  of  sermons  or  prayers.  Men  and  women  arise,  one  after  another,  and  preach 
in  a  variety  of  styles,  but  all  peculiar  to  Friends.  Suddenly  a  man-minister  takes  off  his  hat,  or  a 
woman-minister  takes  off  her  bonnet ;  he  or  she  drops  quietly  on  the  bass  before  them ;  at  the  sight 
the  whole  meeting  rises,  and  remains  on  its  feet  while  the  minister  enters  into  '  supplication.'  Most 
singular,  striking,  and  picturesque  are  often  the  sermons  you  hear." — William  Sowitt. 

GREEK  CEURCKES, 

GREEK  CHURCH,  London  Wall,  the  first  ecclesiastical  structure  erected  by  the 
Greek  residents  in  London,  was  opened  in  1850,  on  Sunday,  Jan.  6,  O.S.,  and  in 
the  Greek  Kalendar,  Christmas-day.  The  edifice  is  Byzantine  (from  Byzantium,  the 
capital  of  the  Lower  Greek  Empire),  with  Italian  interior  details.  The  north  front 
has  three  horse-shoe  arches  fringed,  and  Byzantine  columns,  between  which  are  the 
entrance  doorways ;  and  in  the  upper  story  is  a  similar  arcade,  containing  three 
windows :  above  is  this  inscription,  in  Greek  characters : 

"  During  the  reign  of  the  august  Victoria,  who  governs  the  great  people  of  Britain,  and  also  other 
nations  scattered  over  the  earth,  the  Greeks  sojourning  here  erected  this  Church  to  the  Divine  Saviour, 
in  veneration  of  the  rights  of  their  fathers." 

Above  is  a  pediment  surmounted  with  a  cross.  In  plan,  the  church  is  a  cross  of  equal 
parts ;  the  ceiling  is  domed  in  the  centre  :  on  the  north  and  south  sides  are  galleries, 
with  flower-ornamental  fronts,  and  supported  on  decorated  arches  and  pillars,  with 
fine  capitals.  The  altar-screen  has  these  panel  pictures,  painted  in  Russia  :  the  Annun- 
ciation ;  the  Virgin  holding  the  infant  Jesus ;  Jesus  sitting  on  a  throne ;  and  St.  John 
the  Baptist.     In  a  centre  panel  is  inscribed,  in  Greek : 

"  O  Lord,  the  strength  of  those  who  trust  in  Thee,  uphold  the  Church  which  Thou  hast  redeemed 
with  Thy  precious  blood." 

Within  the  Iconostasis,  or  screen,  is  the  altar  in  "  the  holy  place,"  symbolic  of  the  Holy 
of  Holies  in  the  Jewish  ritual.  A  magnificent  chandelier,  with  wax-lights,  is  sus- 
pended from  the  ceiling.  The  congregation  stand  during  the  whole  service ;  but  there 
are  seats  made  to  turn  up,  as  in  our  cathedral  stalls;  and  knobs  are  placed  on  the 
upper  arms,  to  serve  as  rests.  The  officiating  priest  is  richly  robed,  and  attended  by 
boys  bearing  a  wax-taper,  each  in  a  surplice  with  a  blue  cross  on  the  back.  Upon  the 
high  altar  are  placed  a  large  crucifix,  candelabra  with  lights,  &c.  At  a  portion  of  the 
Mass  a  curtain  is  drawn  before  the  altar,  whilst  the  priest  silently  and  alone  prays  for 
the  sanctification  of  the  Sacrament ;  he  then  re-appears,  "  bids  peace  to  all  the 
people,"  and  blesses  them.  The  sermon  is  preached  in  the  pulpit,  the  priest  wearing 
a  black  robe  and  a  black  hat ;  this  is  covered  with  the  KaXvrrrpa,  or  veil,  to  indi- 
cate that  the  wearer  is  under  the  influence  of  the  Gospel.  The  church  at  London 
Wall  (designed  by  T.  E.  Owen,  of  Portsmouth),  cost  about  10,0007. ;  yet  the  number 
of  Greek  residents  at  the  date  of  its  opening,  in  1850,  did  not  exceed  220. 

Russian  Embassy  Chapel,  Welbeck-street,  James  Thomson,  architect,has  some  points 
of  special  interest,  not  only  on  account  of  being  one  of  the  only  two  places  in  the  metro- 
polis devoted  to  divine  service  according  to  the  Greek  ritual,  the  other  being  in  London 
Wall ;  but  also  in  a  class  of  architecture  of  which  we  have  fewer  examples  than  of 
most  others.  The  style  is  Byzantine,  and  the  distinctive  feature  it  aims  to  embody,  is 
that  of  firmamental  expanse,  as  contradistinguished  from  the  flat  ceilings  of  the  Latin 
or  pointed  roofs  of  Gothic  churches.  This  is  effected  by  means  of  arched  ceilings 
throughout,  the  centre  having  a  domical  roof  or  cupola  superimposed  upon  a  polygonal 
tambour.  The  chapel  consists  of  a  parallelogram :  the  length  is  divided  into  three 
compartments,  of  which  two  are  devoted  to  the  auditorium,  and  the  third,  formed  into 

<J2 


22S  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

an  apse,  is  limited  to  the  sanctum.  Tbia  latter  is  raised  and  approached  by  three 
circular  steps,  on  each  side  of  which  is  a  small  platform  for  the  choristers,  the  whole 
being  enclosed  with  a  dwarf  metal  railing.  Between  this  and  the  altar  is  erected  an 
ornamental  screen  formed  of  solid  masonry,  with  carved  mouldings  and  marble  pillars, 
having  alabaster  caps  and  bases  :  this,  while  on  the  one  hand  it  represents  the  veil  of 
the  temple,  separating  the  body  of  the  chapel  from  the  "  Holy  of  Holies,"  serves  also 
as  an  Iconostasis,  not  for  sculptured  images,  but  for  paintings,  in  niches  :  they  are  the 
production  of  Russian  artists,  and  represent  the  Saviour,  the  Virgin,  St.  Nicholas 
(patron  saint  of  Russia),  St.  George,  and  the  archangels  Gabriel  and  St.  Michaeli ;  and 
in  the  crowning  panel  of  the  screen  is  a  picture  of  the  Holy  Supper,  after  the  eminent 
Russian  painter,  Bruloff.  The  holy  doors  are  carved  and  splendidly  gilt,  and  inlaid 
with  metals  of  different  hue.  They  contain  small  heads  of  the  Evangelists,  and  a 
picture  of  the  Annunciation.  The  folding  of  these  doors  is  managed  so  that,  when 
closed,  they  appear  as  an  impassable  barrier,  which,  at  the  proper  time,  the  high  priest 
is  able  to  unfold  with  ease,  so  as  to  give  access  to  the  altar.  The  whole  of  the  paint- 
ings and  screen  are  the  gift  of-H.  Basil  Gromoff,  a  Russian  gentleman  of  St.  Peters- 
burg. Behind  the  screen  doors  is  the  customary  curtain  of  damask  silk,  which,  when 
drawn  aside,  displays  the  sacred  altar  and  its  insignia.  The  Russian  mode  of  worship 
being  wholly  a  standing  or  kneeling  service,  there  are  no  pews  or  stall  seats  provided. 
The  cupola  is  constructed  of  iron,  and  contains  twelve  lunettes  five  feet  high ;  four 
have  glass  paintings,  representing  figures  of  the  four  great  prophets,  Isaiah,  Jeremiah, 
Daniel,  and  Ezekiel,  and  eight  of  the  minor  prophets ;  above  these,  in  mural  painting, 
are  heads  of  the  twelve  Apostles  upon  gold  discs. 

A  gilt  band  encircles  the  upper  part  of  the  cupola,  on  which  is  inscribed,  in  Sclavonic  characters  :— 
"  Turn  Thee  again,  thou  God  of  hosts ;  look  down  from  heaven ;  behold  and  visit  this  vine  and  the  place 
of  the  vineyard  which  Thy  right  hand  hath  planted."  At  the  east  end  is  a  semicircular  apse,  having  a 
vaulted  ceiling,  painted  azure  and  studded  with  gold  stars,  which  are  embossed  on  the  surface,  gra- 
duating and  concentrating  from  the  base  upwards  to  the  apex,  where  the  monogram  representing  the 
name  of  Jehovah  is  placed.  The  fittings  of  the  apse  consist  of  the  altar  table,  within  the  holy  doors ; 
the  screen,  or  Iconostasis,  corresponding  to  the  veil  of  the  Temple;  and,  behind  the  altar,  a  triangular 
pedestal  of  oak,  fitted  with  a  bronze  socket,  to  hold  the  seven-branch  candlestick.  To  terminate  the 
apse,  a  freestone  arch,  supported  on  black  marble  pillars,  with  carved  capitals,  contains  a  stained  glass 
window,  representing  the  Saviour,  at  whose  feet,  upon  a  verde-antique  marble  slab,  is  inscribed,  in 
Greek  characters : — "  Come  unto  me,  all  ye  that  labour  and  are  heavy  laden,  and  I  will  give  you  rest." 
A  large  niche  on  each  side  contains  tables  and  small  enshrined  pictures  formerly  belonging  to  churches 
at  Bomarsund,  presented  by  the  British  Government.  A  credence  or  cupboard  of  oak,  fashioned  as  a 
miniature  ark,  with  sloping  roof,  contains  the  chalice,  patens,  and  other  holy  vessels  used  in  the 
celebration  of  the  Eucharist.  Other  pictures  on  the  side  wall  are  St.  Alexander  Nevsky  and  St. 
Mary  Magdalen;  the  latter  figure  bearing  the  alabaster  box  of  precious  ointment.  In  advance  of  all 
are  placed  two  elegant  barriers  of  graceful  pattern  and  rich  material,  mounted  on  brass  standards  16ft. 
high,  with  crosslets  carved  and  gilt;  upon  them  are  painted,  as  medallions,  representations  of  the 
Baptism  and  Resurrection. 

JEWS'  SYNAGOGUES. 

BEVIS  MARKS,  St.  Mary  Axe :  here  is  the  Spanish  and  Portuguese  Synagogue, 
which  occupies  part  of  the  site  of  the  ancient  house  and  gardens  of  the  Bassets, 
then  of  the  Abbots  of  Bury,  or  Burie's  Marks,  corruptly  Bevis  Markes. 

Duke's-place. — "When  the  Jews  returned  to  England,  at  the  time  of  the  Common 
wealth,  most  of  the  settlers  being  Portuguese,  they  built  the  first  Synagogue  in  King- 
street,  Duke's-place,  in  1656 ;  and  in  1691,  was  built  in  Duke's-place  the  first  German 
Synagogue. 

New  Synagogue,  in  Great  St.  Helen's,  Bishopsgate,  was  built  by  Davies,  in  1838. 
It  is  in  rich  Italian  style,  with  an  open  loggia  of  three  arches  resting  upon  Tuscan 
columns.  The  sides  have  Doric  piers,  and  Corinthian  columns  above,  behind  which  are 
ladies'  galleries,  fronted  with  rich  brasswork.  There  are  no  pews ;  the  centre  floor  lias 
a  platform,  and  seats  for  the  principal  officers,  with  four  large  brass-gilt  candelabra. 

At  the  south  end  is  the  Ark,  a  lofty  semicircular-domed  recess,  consisting  of  Italian  Doric  pilasters, 
with  verde  antico  and  porphyry  shafts,  and  gilt  capitals ;  and  Corinthian  columns,  with  sienna  shafts, 
and  capitals  and  entablature  in  white  and  gold.  In  the  upper  story  the  intercolumns  are  filled  with 
three  arched  windows  of  stained  glass,  arabesque  pattern,  by  Nixon  ;  the  centre  one  having  Jehovah,  in 
Hebrew,  and  the  Tables  of  the  Law.  The  semi-dome  is  decorated  with  gilded  rosettes  on  an  azure 
ground  ;  there  are  rich  festoons  of  fruit  and  flowers  between  the  capitals  of  the  Corinthian  columns, 
and  ornaments  on  the  frieze  above,  on  which  is  inscribed  in  Hebrew,  "  Know  in  whose  presence  thou 
standest."    The  centre  of  the  lower  part  is  fitted  up  with  recesses  for  Books  of  the  Law,  enclosed  with 


CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS— ROMAN  CATHOLIC.  229 


polished  mahogany  doors,  and  partly  concealed  by  a  rich  velvet  curtain  fringed  with  gold ;  there  are 
massive  gilt  candelabra ;  and  the  pavement  and  steps  to  the  Ark  are  of  fine  veined  Italian  marble, 
partly  carpeted.  Externally,  the  Ark  is  flanked  with  an  arched  panel ;  that  on  the  east  containing  a 
prayer  for  the  Queen  and  Royal  Family  in  Hebrew,  and  the  other  a  similar  one  in  English.  Above 
the  Ark  is  a  rich  fan-painted  window,  and  a  corresponding  one,  though  less  brilliant,  at  the  north  end. 
The  ceiling,  which  is  flat,  is  decorated  with  thirty  coffers,  each  containing  a  large  flower  aperture  for 
ventilation. 

This  congregation  bad  been  previously  established  about  eighty  years  in  Leadenhall- 
street,  and  there  known  as  the  "  New  Synagogue." 

New  Synagogue,  TJppeb,  Bryanstone-stkeet,  was  erected  in  1861,  for  the  con- 
venience and  use  of  those  members  of  the  Jews  of  the  Spanish  and  Portuguese 
congregations  who  reside  at  the  west  end  of  London ;  Lett,  architect.  The 
general  character  of  the  building  is  Saracenic  freely  treated.  The  elevation  to 
Bryanstone-street  is  composed  of  a  centre  and  two  wings;  the  west  wing  being 
gabled,  with  cornice  supported  by  cut  tresses,  and  the  east  rising  as  a  tower  and 
spire.  The  facade  is  built  of  parti-coloured  bricks,  with  stone  dressings.  The 
porch  leads  to  a  loggia  or  vestibule,  from  which  branch  off  on  either  side  Port- 
land stone  stairs  leading  to  the  ladies'  galleries,  as  by  the  requirements  of  the  Jewish 
ritual  the  sexes  are  separated  during  divine  worship.  The  "  Synagogue "  itself  is 
entered  from  this  loggia,  and  affords  accommodation  on  the  ground-floor  for  240  males. 

The  interior  of  the  Synagogue  is  divided  into  nave  and  side  aisles,  by  light  ornamental  columns  in 
two  stages,  the  first  supporting  the  ladies'  gallery  and  the  upper  arches  of  a  slight  horseshoe  form,  above 
which  is  a  clerestory  with  semicircular  windows  filled  in  with  stained  glass.  Between  the  windows  and 
over  each  column  are  ornamental  brackets,  from  which  spring  arched  ribs,  dividing  the  ceiling  into 
coffers,  the  centre  of  each  of  which  is  occupied  by  a  flower  communicating  with  ventilating  apparatus. 

At  the  east  end  of  the  Synagogue  an  elliptical  recess  or  apex  forms  the  sanctuary,  which  is  approached 
by  a  flight  of  marble  steps.  The  lower  portion  of  the  sanctuary  is  formed  into  closets,  in  which  are 
deposited  the  sacred  scrolls  of  the  Law,  the  upper  part  being  formed  with  windows  filled  with  painted 
glass,  having  inscribed  there,  in  Hebrew  characters,  the  Ten  Commandments,  &c.  The  ceiling  of  the 
sanctuary  is  formed  in  a  domical  shape,  pierced  with  small  star-shaped  apertures,  filled  in  with  different 
coloured  glass,  which  throw  light  on  the  scrolls  of  the  law  when  the  doors  of  the  closet  containing  the 
same  are  thrown  open. 

"West  London  Synagogue,  Margaret- street,  Cavendish-square,  designed  by  D. 
Mocatta,  was  completed  in  1850.  It  is  square  in  plan,  and  consists  of  Ionic  columns 
supporting  the  ladies'  gallery,  whence  rise  other  columns,  receiving  semicircular 
arches,  crowned  by  a  bold  cornice  and  lantern-light.  The  Ark  composes  cleverly 
with  the  semicircular  arches,  which  hang  as  pendants  before  it,  and  complete  the 
fourth  side  of  the  building;  the  steps,  platform,  stylobate,  and  columns,  are  all  of 
scagliola  surmounted  by  a  decorated  entablature,  which  supports  a  niche-head,  in  which 
are  placed  the  tablets  of  the  Ten  Commandments,  surrounded  and  shadowed  by  the 
palm-leaf. 

There  are  in  London  other  Synagogues :  the  chief  one  is  the  German,  in  Duke's-place,  Houndsditch, 
in  the  midst  of  the  Jewish  population.  The  Sabbath  commences  at  sunset  on  Friday,  when  the  Syna- 
gogue is  opened ;  and  again  at  ten  o'clock  on  Saturday  morning.  The  singing,  handed  down  from  the 
Temple  service,  and  the  chanting  of  the  Law,  said  to  be  the  manner  in  which  it  was  revealed  to  Moses, 
are  impressive.  The  Jews,  and  the  officers  in  attendance,  are  most  kind  and  polite  to  strangers.  The 
interest  of  the  visit  is  enhanced  by  procuring  a  Jewish  prayer-book,  with  the  English  translation  on  the 
opposite  page.  Strangers  are  reminded  not  to  take  off  their  hats  as  they  enter :  it  is  an  abomination 
to  the  Jews,  who  worship  with  their  heads  covered. 

MOHAN  CATHOLIC  CHURCHES  AND  CHAPELS. 

AMBASSADORS'  CHAPELS  :  Spanish  Place  Chapel  is  attended  by  the  members 
of  the  Spanish  Embassy ;  Warwick-street,  Golden-square,  by  the  Bavarian 
Embassy  (the  former  Chapel  was  destroyed  in  the  Riots  of  1780);  Luke-street, 
Lincoln's-inn- fields,  by  the  Sardinian ;  and  Little  George-street,  King-street,  Portman- 
gquare,  by  the  French.  Celebrated  foreign  preachers  are  occasionally  heard  here,  chiefly 
in  Lent. 

Bavarian  Chapel,  Warwick-street,  Regent-street,  has  an  altar-piece,  occupying 
the  whole  space  of  the  end  of  the  chapel,  with  four  Corinthian  columns,  six  pilasters,  and 
sub-pilasters  running  the  whole  height.  In  the  centre  is  a  large  sculptured  tablet,  14 
feet  high  and  7  feet  wide,  representing  the  Virgin  Mary,  and  cherubim,  by  Carew, 
lighted  from  above. 


230  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

St.  Geoege's  CntrBCH,  St.  George's  Fields,  nearly  facing  the  eastern  wing  of 
Bethlem  Hospital,  is  built  upon  the  site  of  the  focus  of  the  "  No  Popery  "  Riots  of 
1780 :  it  is  the  largest  Roman  Catholic  Church  erected  in  England  since  the  Refor- 
mation ;  and  with  the  quaint  conventional  buildings  (priests'  houses  and  schools,  and  a 
convent  for  Sisters  of  Mercy)  at  the  north  end,  was  designed  by  A.  W.  Pugin.  The 
church  is  a  high  example  of  Roman  Catholic  symholic  details :  it  is  in  the  Decorated 
style  (temp.  Edward  III.),  is  cruciform  in  plan,  and  consists  of  a  nave  and  aisles, 
chancel,  and  two  chapels  j  and  a  tower  at  the  north-west  end,  to  be  surmounted  by  a 
rich  hexagonal  spire,  320  feet  high. 

The  church  is  about  235  feet  in  length,  and  will  seat  3000  persons.  It  is  lit  by  traceried  windows, 
some  filled  with  stained  glass,  by  Wailes,  of  Newcastle ;  the  great  chancel-window  was  given  by  John 
Earl  of  Shrewsbury,  and  represents  the  root  of  Jesse,  or  genealogy  of  our  Lord.  The  large  window 
over  the  principal  entrance,  in  the  great  tower,  has  figures  of  St.  George,  St.  Michael,  and  other  saints. 
There  is  no  clerestory,  but  each  roof  is  gabled;  slender  pillars  and  arches  divide  the  nave  and  side 
aisles,  in  which  are  confessionals ;  and  between  the  nave  and  chancel  is  a  double  stone  screen  bearing  a 
rood-loft,  with  a  crucifix  of  Belgian  fifteenth-century  work,  and  images  of  the  Virgin  and  St.  John, 
nearly  life-size,  and  coloured.  The  chancel  is  panelled  with  oak,  with  crocketed  arches  round  the  sanc- 
tuary ;  the  high  altar  has  bas-reliefs  of  the  Transfiguration,  Resurrection,  and  Ascension;  the  tabernacle 
is  richly  dight  and  painted,  the  metal  doors  being  chased  and  gilt,  and  studded  with  large  crystals. 
Behind  the  altar  is  an  elaborately- carved  stone  reredos,  with  niches  filled  with  images  of  angels,  and 
the  Saints  Peter  and  Paul.  The  high  altar  furniture  is  very  superb  and  massive ;  the  chancel  is  floored 
with  encaustic  tiles ;  and  the  chapels  are  superbly  decorated  in  gold  and  colour.  In  the  baptistery  is- 
an  octagonal  stone  font,  with  sculpture  and  Gothic  panelling.  Outside  the  church,  between  two  con- 
fessionals, is  a  Perpendicular  chantry  to  the  late  Hon.  Edmund  Petre,  for  the  repose  of  whose  soul  Mass 
is  offered  herein  daily ;  this  being  the  first  foundation  for  the  support  of  the  church.  "  The  Adorable 
Presence  is  day  and  night  in  the  Chapel  of  the  Blessed  Sacrament.    Look  for  the  red  light ;  it  is  there." 

St.  George's  was  opened  with  great  pomp,  July  4,  1848 ;  and  was  the  scene  of  the 
solemn  enthronization  of  Cardinal  Wiseman,  Archbishop  of  Westminster,  Dec.  6,  1850. 
The  cost  of  this  church  to  July,  1848,  had  been  38,000£.  The  number  of  persons  attend- 
ing this  church  is  stated  at  from  12,000  to  13,000  persons. 

Immaculate  Conception  Chtjech,  Farm-street,  Berkeley-square,  designed  by 
Scoles,  and  built  at  the  expense  of  Jesuits,  is  the  first  ever  possessed  by  the  Order  in 
London  :  it  was  opened  1849.  The  style  is  the  Decorated,  the  south  front  much  resem- 
bling that  of  Beauvais  Cathedral.  The  altar  and  organ-loft  windows  are  filled  with 
brilliant  stained  glass :  the  rose  in  the  latter  is  very  elegant ;  and  each  of  the  22  flank 
windows  has  different  tracery.  The  interior  is  large  and  lofty,  and  has  no  aisles  or 
rood-screen :  the  high  altar,  designed  by  A.  W.  Pugin,  cost  about  1000Z.,  and  was 
presented  by  Miss  Monica  Tempest,  of  Brough ton  Hall,  Yorkshire ;  and  her  brother, 
Sir  Charles  Tempest,  presented  the  Missal,  which  cost  about  501.  "  Confraternities  of 
the  Bona  Mors  of  the  Sacred  Heart  of  Jesus,  and  of  the  Immaculate  Heart  of  Mary, 
are  established  in  this  church."     The  services  are  performed  by  Jesuits. 

"  Roman  Catholic  churches  seem  to  be  distinguished  from  those  of  the  national  faith,  at  present, 
only  by  the  occupation  of  niches  that  in  the  latter  would  be  left  vacant.  It  is  remarkable,  however,  that 
they  all  seem  to  affect  the  style  of  one  period,  viz.,  the  first  half  of  the  fourteenth  century,  their 
designers  apparently  disdaining  the  representation  of  either  an  immature  or  a  declining  form  of  art; 
but  fixing  always  on  the  fully  developed  Gothic,  just  at  the  turning  point  of  its  career." — Companion  to 
the  Almanac,  1851. 

St.  John  op  Jebttsalem,  Great  Ormond-street,  was  generously  founded  by  Sir 
George  Bowyer,  Bart.,  M.P.,  and  built  from  the  designs  of  Goldie.  The  facade  of  the 
exterior,  of  Portland  stone,  is  of  two  orders,  Ionic  and  Corinthian :  upon  the  upper 
cornice  is  inscribed : 

"  Servi :  Dominorum  :  Pauperum :  Infirmorura :" 

and  on  the  lower  are  the  following  words : 

"  Ecclesia :  S :  Milit :  ord :  S :  Johan :  Hierosol :" 
In  the  pediment  is  the  cross  of  the  Order  of  St.  John ;  and  the  Imperial  crown  and 
shield  adorn  the  window,  which  forms  a  feature  in  the  upper  order,  flanked  by  two 
sculptured  wreaths.  The  principal  entrance  doorway  is  surmounted  by  a  marble 
tablet,  on  which  is  commemorated,  in  an  inscription,  the  fact  of  the  foundation. 
The  church  within  presents  a  parallelogram.  Slight  recesses  stand  in  the  place  of 
transepts,  and  beyond  them  is  the  choir  for  the  religious  of  the  adjoining  Convent  and 
Hospital,  whilst  between  rises  the  cupola  above  the  ceiling  of  the  church.  An  elaborate 
cornice  runs  round  the  church  below  the  ceiling,  and  rests  on  pilasters  of  the  Corinthian 
order,  all  formed  of  polished  red  marble,  with  marble  bases  and  plinths.     At  the  upper 


CHURCHES  AND   CHAPELS— ROHAN  CATHOLIC.         231 

end  of  the  Nave  a  doorway  gives  access  to  the  Hospital ;  and  above  it,  carried  on  carved 
stone  consols,  is  a  tribune  of  polished  alabaster,  opening  into  the  lowest  ward  for  the 
use  of  the  sick.  The  floor  of  the  Nave  is  of  coloured  tiles,  arranged  in  a  fret  pattern. 
A  marble  step  lifts  the  sanctuary  floor  above  the  nave  level,  and  this  upper  floor  is 
entirely  composed  of  white  marble.  The  high  altar  is  placed  beneath  a  marble  canopy, 
under  a  cupola,  adorned  with  the  same  materials,  the  most  frequent  decoration  being 
the  Maltese  Cross  of  eight  points,  in  white,  inlaid  in  the  brown  veined  marble ;  it 
stands  immediately  beneath  the  centre  of  the  dome,  and  is  surmounted  by  a  baldachino 
of  marbles  of  various  colours,  with  a  panelled  ceiling  of  wood.  Two  side  altars,  both 
ancient,  stand  on  either  side  in  the  small  transeptal  recesses.  The  nuns'  choir,  behind 
the  high  altar,  is  supported  by  marble  scrolls,  and  is  fitted  up  on  three  sides  with  stalls, 
and  inlaid  crosses  of  the  Order  of  St.  John,  all  polished.  The  front  bears  the  arms 
of  the  founder,  who  has  presented  this  church  to  the  Hospital.  Against  the  extreme 
end  wall  of  the  church  is  a  large  tribune,  carried  on  stone  brackets,  with  a  gilt  lattice 
front,  for  the  Organ.     The  whole  of  the  interior  is  decorated  with  gilding  and  colour. 

Italian  (St.  Peter's)  Chtjech,  Hatton-wall ;  architect,  J.  M.  Bryson.  The  walls 
are  of  grey  stock  bricks.  The  triforium  arches  are  supported  by  York  stone  columns, 
of  the  Ionic  order,  in  the  Roman  Basilica  style,  and  is  the  only  church  of  the  same 
style  in  the  kingdom.  There  are  two  side  aisles,  a  Nave  and  a  Chancel :  in  the  latter 
are  statues  of  the  four  Evangelists.  There  are  two  galleries,  one  over  each  of  the  side 
aisles  (as  triforia),  with  access  by  stone  stairs.  Under  the  Chancel  is  a  subterraneous 
church,  or  crypt,  capable  of  holding  200  persons.  The  ceilings  are  flat,  in  panels, 
which  will  eventually  be  painted,  as  also  will  be  the  walls.  There  will  be  a  tower  at 
the  south-west  end  of  the  church,  carried  up  to  a  height  of  100  feet,  where  will  be  hung 
a  bell  weighing  four  tons.  The  high  altar  has  four  polished  black  and  gold  marble 
columns,  standing  on  pedestals,  with  white  marble  caps  and  bases  of  the  Composite 
order,  surmounted  with  a  cornice  wreath,  crown  canopy,  and  cross,  which  will  be  gilt. 
The  tabernacle  and  steps  of  the  high  altar  are  of  different  coloured  marbles,  all  of 
which  have  been  obtained  from  Italy.  The  body  of  the  church  is  lighted  by  clerestory 
windows,  in  each  of  which  is  a  design  in  the  shape  of  a  cross,  made  of  iron  and  wood. 
The  chancel  is  lighted  by  windows  of  a  similar  design.  The  church  is  planned  to  hold 
3400  persons.  The  funds  have  been  collected  abroad  by  the  priests  connected  with  the 
church.     It  was  opened  in  1863. 

St.  John  the  Evangelist's,  Duncan-terrace,  Islington,  was  opened  in  1843.  It 
was  designed  by  Scoles,  in  the  Anglo-Norman  style,  and  has  an  eastern  gable,  flanked 
by  two  spires,  each  130  feet  high.  The  church  itself  is  a  large  structure,  Basilican  in 
plan,  very  lofty  and  effective  in  composition ;  its  aisles  are  narrow,  set  off  for  chapels 
and  special  altars.  In  one  of  these  is  the  fresco,  painted  by  Armitage,  against  the  ex- 
ternal wall  of  the  church. 

"  The  figures  are  life-size  j  the  subject,  St.  Francis  of  Assisi,  in  1210,  receiving  the  approval  of  Pope 
Innocent  the  Third  to  the  Rule  of  the  Order  of  the  Fratres  Minores,  or  Franciscans,  as  they  are  now 
called.  Their  founder  stands,  his  head  humbly  bent,  his  hands  held  together  before  the  enthroned 
Pope,  who  reads  article  by  article  the  Rule  of  the  Order.  A  monk  on  each  side  of  the  saint  kneels,  as 
do  others  behind  him.  The  Pope  is  supported  by  a  cardinal  on  each  side,  seated  all  splendidly  dressed. 
Attendants  stand  behind  the  throne.  The  scene  is  an  open-sided  hall  in  the  Capitol,  where  the  Pope 
is  presumed  to  have  lived  at  the  period  in  question.  Through  the  arcade  we  look  over  Rome  and  its 
ruins  as  in  the  thirteenth  century.  Following  that  sound  rule  of  Art  which  demands  character  every- 
where, Mr.  Armitage  has  given  a  portrait-like  character  to  his  heads,  which  in  the  broad  style  he  follows 
individualizes  each  figure  and  face,  and  gives  a  striking  look  of  truth  to  the  whole.  The  expressions 
are  effective,  without  anything  of  the  theatre ;  the  design,  large  and  simple  in  composition,  suits  the 
subject  and  the  material  perfectly." — Athenaum. 

In  the  apse  of  the  church  is  the  fresco  representing  Christ  and  the  Apostles.  In  the 
semi-dome  above  the  last  is  a  fresco  representing  God  the  Father  with  the  Angels,  &c„ 
painted  by  A.  Aglio  about  1844.  Under  the  chancel  is  a  crypt,  or  mortuary  chapel : 
and  adjoining  is  a  spacious  cemetery.  This  church  has  a  Holy  Guild  attached  j  the 
Bev.  Frederick  Oakeley  officiates. 

St.  Mart's,  Moorfields,  corner  of  East-street,  Finsbury-circus,  opened  in  1S20,  has 
an  embellished  entrance  facade,  in  the  pediment  of  which  are  sculptured  two  figures 
kneeling  at  the  Cross.  The  interior  is  very  superb :  it  was  re-decorated  throughout  by 
Charles  Kuckuck,  in  1858. 


232  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

It  is  divided  transversely,  by  a  series  of  columns,  into  a  spacious  Nave  and  side  aisles,  the  ceiling  of 
the  former  being  elliptical  and  the  latter  flat,  and  the  latter  terminated  at  the  western  ends  by  alcoves, 
which  form  minor  altars.  Over  the  high  altar  is  a  semi-elliptical  dome,  supported  by  six  fluted  columns, 
which  have  gilded  capitals,  modelled  from  the  example  of  the  monument  of  Lysicrates,  at  Athens.  The 
surface  of  this  semi-dome  is  embellished  by  thirteen  oaken  panels,  which  are  filled  with  foliage  and 
fruit  and  flowers,  in  admirable  imitation  of  reliefs.  Behind  this  semi-dome,  on  a  curved  ground,  which 
is  the  extreme  termination  of  the  church,  and  forms  the  back  of  the  high  altar,  ingeniously  lighted 
from  the  roof,  is  a  magnificent  large  painting  of  tbe  Crucifixion,  which  produces  a  splendid  effect.  In 
the  centre  of  the  ceiling  of  the  Nave  is  a  large  painting  in  fresco,  representing  the  Assumption  of  the 
"Virgin  Mary,  attended  by  the  heavenly  choir,  and  the  Four  Evangelists ;  and  on  each  side  of  the  spring- 
ing of  the  arched  ceiling  are  oblong  panels  painted  with  figures  in  bas-relief  of  the  Nativity,  the  Adora- 
tion of  the  Magi,  the  Infant  Saviour,  Ac. 

The  ceilings  of  the  aisles  are  divided  into  various  compartments,  and  painted  in  white,  to  resemble 
moulded  panels  and  enrichments  in  plaster,  on  a  deep  gold  ground.  The  series  of  columns,  with  their 
surmounting  entablature,  are  profusely  decorated,  their  bases  being  to  imitate  white  and  their  shafts 
sienna  marble.  The  capitals,  together  with  the  dentals  of  the  cornice,  are  gilded.  The  moulded  por- 
tion of  the  entablature  is  relieved  with  white,-  green,  red,  and  blue,  picked  in  with  deep  brown,  and  the 
front  of  the  corona  is  painted  to  resemble  rouge  royale  marble.  The  general  surfaces  of  the  walls  above 
the  surbase  mouldings  are  of  a  lavender  tint,  and  underneath  the  cornice  around  the  windows  is  a  richly- 
ornamented  border.  The  lower  portions  of  the  altar  are  very  richly  decorated,  their  pilasters  haviiig 
enriched  silver  ornaments  on  their  faces,  picked  out  with  brilliant  colours  on  a  solid  gilt  ground,  and 
the  base  and  back  of  the  altar  under  the  large  picture  of  the  Crucifixion,  to  which  we  have  previously 
adverted,  is  formed  in  imitation  of  various  kinds  of  marble. 

The  sacramental  plate  was  presented  by  Pope  Pius  VII.  Carl  Maria  von  Weber 
was  buried  in  the  vaults  of  this  chapel,  June  21,  1826 ;  but  his  remains  have  since  been 
removed  to  the  Catholic  churchyard  in  the  Friederichstadt,  Dresden. 

St.  Monica's  is  in  connexion  with  the  Irish  Augustinian  Monastery,  in  Hoxton- 
square.  It  is  a  curious  fact  that  the  old  house  inhabited  by  the  Fathers  was  formerly 
a  favourite  place  of  resort  of  King  Charles  II.,  who  had  a  house  not  far  distant,  between 
which  and  the  house  in  question  a  subterranean  passage  communicated.  Some  traces 
of  the  passage  are  still  discernible. 

Obatoey  of  St.  Philip  Neri,  King  William-street,  Strand,  was  originally  an 
Assembly  Koom  :  here  the  Rev.  F.  W.  Faber,  author  of  the  Cherwell  Water  Lily,  and 
other  poems,  preached  (in  1850)  to  a  large  and  deeply-moved  audience.  About  thirteen 
years  ago,  a  Roman  Catholic  builder  purchased  a  plot  of  ground,  three  acres,  beside 
the  church  of  the  Holy  Trinity  at  Brompton,  and  here  commenced  buildings  for 
the  future  residence  and  church  of  the  Oratorian  Fathers. 

"  The  Roman  Catholic  population  in  the  parish,  or  mission,  under  the  spiritual  direction  of  the 
Fathers  of  the  Oratory,  now  comprises  between  7000  and  8000  souls.  The  average  attendance  at  Mass 
on  Sundays  is  about  5000,  and  the  average  number  of  communions  for  two  years  has  been  about  45,000 
annually.    In  the  schools  attached  are  1000  pupils." — Tablet,  1865. 

Otjb  Lady's,  Grove-end-road,  St.  John's  Wood,  designed  by  Scoles,  1834,  was 
built  and  endowed  by  two  ladies,  the  Misses  Gallini.  The  site  formerly  belonged  to 
the  Knights  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem  (whence  St.  John's  Wood),  whose  predecessors, 
the  Knights  Templar,  held  the  same  estate,  and  built  the  Temple  Church,  the  proto- 
type of  the  present  cross  church,  which  is  Early  Pointed,  thirteenth  century.  The 
western  front,  with  its  three  gables  and  crosses,  Catherine-wheel  and  lancet  windows, 
and  pinnacled  turrets,  is  a  fine  composition.  The  gables  of  the  north  and  south  fronts 
are  surmounted  with  canopied  niches,  containing  sculptured  groups  of  the  Madonna 
and  Child ;  and  the  east  front  has  a  large  window  filled  with  stained  glass.  The  in- 
terior has  acutely-arched  and  richly -bossed  roofs,  springing  from  slender  shafts  -,  and 
the  high  altar  is  backed  by  a  rich  open  screen.  In  the  schools  are  educated  and 
clothed,  gratuitously,  three  hundred  poor  children. 

St.  Pateick's,  Sutton-street,  Soho,  is  much  frequented  by  the  poor  Catholic  popu- 
lation of  St.  Giles's.  The  festival  of  St.  Patrick  (March  17)  is  observed  here  as  a 
double  of  the  first  class,  with  High  Mass. 

Saedinian  Chapel  (the),  Duke-street,  Lincoln's-inn-fields,  is  the  oldest  foundation 
of  the  metropolitan  places  of  worship  now  in  the  hands  of  the  Roman  Catholics  of 
London.  It  was  built  in  the  year  before  Charles  I.  was  beheaded  :  that  is,  in  1648,  just  at 
the  close  of  the  Great  Rebellion,  and  the  practical  commencement  of  Oliver  Cromwell's 
rule.  During  the  existence  of  the  penal  laws,  the  only  entrance  to  the  chapel  was 
through  the  Sardinian  ambassador's  house,  in  Lincoln's-inn-fields.  The  Riots  of  1780 
commenced  with  the  partial  demolition  of  this  building:  the  mob  were  especially 
savage  in  attacking  it  it  being  the  mother-chapel,  the  oldest  in  Loudon,  and  at  that 


CITY  WALLS  AND  GATES.  233 

time  the  resort  of  all  the  leading  Roman  Catholics.  In  derision  of  their  worship,  a 
cat  was  dressed  in  the  miniature  vestments  of  a  priest,  an  imitative  host  or  wafer  was 
placed  in  its  paws,  and  thus  it  was  hung  to  the  lamp-post  of  the  chapel.  The  edifico 
was  rebuilt  after  the  Riots,  and  was  enlarged  by  adding  to  it  at  the  west  end  the  Am- 
bassador's stables.  It  has  some  painted  glass,  a  finely-toned  organ,  and  splendid 
church-plate,  used  only  on  solemn  festivals  :  the  altar-furniture  was  presented  by  the 
late  King  of  Sardinia,  and  cost  1000  guineas ;  and  the  painting  over  the  altar,  "The 
Taking  down  from  the  Cross,"  is  valued  at  700/.  The  choir  was  formerly  maintained 
at  a  great  expense ;  though  on  Whitsunday,  during  Dr.  Baldaconi's  chief  chaplaincy, 
Malibran,  Persiani,  Lablache,  and  Rubini,  and  the  principals  of  the  Italian  Opera 
orchestra,  gave  their  aid  gratuitously.  The  choir  is  now  scarcely  above  mediocrity ; 
but  the  services  are  conducted  with  great  solemnity.  All-Saints'  day  (Nov.  1)  is  one 
of  the  best  in  the  year  on  which  to  witness  the  splendour  of  the  worship.  About 
thirty  years  ago  the  district  of  the  chapel  extended  to  Islington,  and  the  congregation 
numbered  about  12,000  souls.  This  district  has  been  much  diminished  by  the  building 
of  other  chapels;  but  the  Sardinian  congregation  is  very  large.  There  are  four 
resident  priests,  one  expressly  for  the  Italians.  The  Savoyard  organ-boys  much 
resort  here. 

Spanish  Chapel,  Spanish-place,  Manchester-square,  was  built  in  1797,  by  Joseph 
Bonomi,  and  enlarged  in  18-16,  when  a  picturesque  campanile,  70  feet  high,  was  added 
by  C.  Parker :  its  interior  is  a  Lady  Chapel,  and  forms  a  second  south  aisle.  The 
chapel  is  lighted  from  the  roof  with  a  most  captivating  effect  of  architectural  chiaro- 
scuro, and  is  divided  by  Corinthian  columns. 

CITY  WAILS  AND  GATES. 

THE  small  space  within  the  Walls  of  old  London  has  been  described  as  almost  exactly 
of  the  same  shape  and  the  same  area  as  Hyde  Park.  It  was,  in  fact,  ddun,  or  Celtic 
hill-fortress,  formed  by  Tower-hill,  Cornhill,  and  Ludgate-hill;  and  effectually  protected 
by  the  Thames  on  the  south,  the  Fleet  on  the  west,  the  great  fen  of  Moorfields  and 
Finsbury  on  the  north,  and  by  the  Houndsditch  and  the  Tower  on  the  east. — Taylor's 
Words  and  Places. 

The  City  Wall  is  believed  to  have  been  a  work  of  the  later  Roman  period,  when 
London  was  not  unfrequently  exposed  to  hostile  attacks.  Its  direct  course  was  as 
follows : — Beginning  at  a  fort  on  part  of  the  site  of  the  present  Tower  of  London,  the 
line  was  continued  by  the  Minories,  between  Poor  Jury-lane  and  the  Vineyard  (where 
now  is  Vine-street),  to  Aid-gate.  Thence,  forming  a  curve  to  the  north-west,  between 
Shoemaker-row,  Bevis-marks,  and  Houndsditch,  it  abutted  on  Bishop' s-gate,  from 
which  it  extended  nearly  in  a  straight  line,  through  Bishopsgate  churchyard,  and  behind 
Bethlem  Hospital  and  Fore-street,  to  Cripple-gate.  At  a  short  distance  further,  it 
turned  southward,  by  the  back  of  Hart-street  and  Cripplegate  churchyard ;  and  thence, 
continuing  between  Monkvvell-street  and  Castle-street,  led  by  the  back  of  Barber- 
Surgeons'  Hall  and  Noble-street  to  Dolphin-court,  opposite  Oat-lane,  where,  turning 
■westerly,  it  approached  Alders' -gate.  Proceeding  hence,  towards  the  south-west,  it 
curved  along  the  back  of  St.  Botolph's  churchyard,  Christ's  Hospital,  and  Old  New- 
gate,  from  which  it  continued  southward  to  Lud-gate,  passing  at  the  back  of  the 
College  of  Physicians,  Warwick- square,  Stationers'  Hall,  and  the  London  Coffee-house, 
on  Ludgate-hill.  From  Ludgate  it  proceeded  westerly  by  Cock-court  to  Little  Bridge- 
street,  where,  turning  south,  it  skirted  the  Fleet-Brook  to  the  Thames,  near  which  it 
was  guarded  by  another  fort.  The  circuit  of  the  whole  line,  according  to  Stow,  was 
two  miles  and  one  furlong  neaily.  Another  wall,  defended  by  towers,  extended  the 
whole  distance  along  the  banks  of  the  Thames  between  the  two  forts.  The  walls  were 
defended  by  strong  towers  and  bastions ;  the  remains  of  three  of  which,  of  Roman 
masonry,  were,  in  Maitland's  time,  to  be  seen  in  the  vicinity,  of  Houndsditch  and 
Aldgate.  The  height  of  the  perfect  wall  is  considered  to  have  been  22  feet,  and  that 
of  the  towers  40  feet. 

The  following  course  of  the  Wall  is  shown  in  a  plan  drawn  by  order  of  the  Corpo- 
ration of  London,  to  ascertain  the  extent  of  the  Great  Fire,  and  now  preserved  in  tho 
Comptroller's  Office,  Guildhall.     It  may  be  distinctly  traced  as  the  southern  boundary 


234  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  the  churchyard  of  St.  Botolph,  at  the  hack  of  Bull-and-Mouth-street.  Heiice  it  pro- 
ceeded due  east,  across  Aldersgate- street,  to  Aldersgate,  whence  it  continued,  in  the  same 
direction  perhaps,  about  200  feet,  where  it  formed  an  angle,  and  had  a  curious  bastion. 
It  then  went  rather  to  the  north-north-east  of  Falcon-square,  eastward  of  Castle-street, 
where  it  is  now  standing,  externally  incorporated  with  the  walls  of  the  houses  (a  semi- 
circular tower  was  uncovered  in  the  rear  of  No.  27,  in  the  year  1865)  j  thence  it 
proceeds,  and  exhibits  large  remains  in  the  churchyard  of  St.  Giles's,  Cripplegate. 

"  The  latter,  including  a  bastion,  are  the  most  perfect  relics.  The  base  of  the  Wall  is  composed  of 
small  rough  flints,  to  the  height  of  one  foot  six  inches,  resting  on  a  fine  loam,  upon  which  are  placed 
four  feet  six  inches  of  rough  Kentish  ragstone  (the  green  sandstone  of  geologists),  with  pieces  of 
ferruginous  sandstone  irregularly  interposed.  Then  come  two  courses  of  bricks,  each  measuring 
eighteen  inches  by  twelve,  and  one  and  three-quarters  thick,  on  which  is  laid  more  of  the  ragstone  for 
two  feet  six  inches ;  again  a  double  course  of  tiles,  and  above  that  one  foot  six  inches  of  the  ragstone. 
Total  existing  height,  nineteen  feet  seven  inches.  It  is  nine  feet  six  inches  in  width  at  the  base,  and 
two  feet  at  the  top."—  W.  D.  Saull.F.G.S. 

Mr.  Koach  Smith  has  shown  that  the  area  and  dimensions  of  the  Roman  city  may 
be  conjecturally  mapped  out  from  the  masses  of  masonry  forming  portions  of  its 
boundaries,  and  many  of  which  have  come  to  light  in  the  progress  of  City  improvements. 

The  position  of  the  Gates,  besides  intervening  remains,  enables  us  to  trace  the  course 
of  the  Wall  on  the  western,  northern,  and  eastern  sides  of  London.  Mr.  Roach  Smith 
shows  that  it  runs  in  a  straight  line  from  the  Tower  to  Aldgate,  where,  making  an. 
angle,  it  takes  again  the  straight  line  to  Bishopsgate ;  frcm  Bishopsgate  it  runs  east- 
ward to  St.  Giles's  churchyard,  where  it  turns  to  the  south  as  far  as  Falcon-square, 
and  at  this  point  pursues  a  westerly  direction  by  Aldersgate,  running  under  Christ's 
Hospital  towards  Giltspur-street,  near  which  it  forms  an  angle,  and  proceeds  directly 
south  by  Ludgate  towards  the  Thames.  From  Ludgate,  however,  it  did  not  take  a 
direct  line  towards  the  river,  but  traversed  the  ground  now  occupied  by  The  Times 
offices,  and  from  this  spot  diverged  towards  St.  Andrew's-hill.  Excavations  in  Upper 
Thames-street  have  brought  to  light  a  portion  of  it  nine  feet  below  the  level  of  the 
present  street,  at  the  foot  of  Lambeth-hill.  Hence  it  continued  as  far  as  Queenhithe ; 
and  it  is  curious  to  observe,  that  though  this  portion  of  the  wall  had  disappeared  from 
above  the  surface  as  early  as  the  days  of  Fitzstephen,  many  of  the  large  stones  which 
formed  its  lower  part  were  found  to  be  sculptured  and  ornamented  with  mouldings, 
denoting  their  use  in  the  friezes  or  entablatures  of  edifices  at  some  period  antecedent 
to  its  construction.  Excavations  have  also  proved  that  within  the  area  thus  enclosed 
most  of  the  streets  of  the  present  day  run  upon  the  ruins  of  Roman  houses,  and  "  we 
may  safely  conclude  that  the  streets  and  buildings  of  the  Roman  city,  if  not  quite  so 
dense  and  continuous  as  those  of  the  modern  city,  left  but  little  space  throughout  the 
entire  area  unoccupied,  except  a  portion  of  the  district  between  Lothbury  and  Prince's- 
street,  and  London-wall,  and  the  ground  adjoining  the  wall  from  Moorgate-street 
towards  Bishopsgate." 

Mr.  Tite,  the  architect  of  the  Royal  Exchange,  in  1853,  unearthed  a  beautiful 
tessellated  pavement  under  Gresham  House,  in  Old  Broad-street ;  and  next,  in  Trinity- 
square,  Tower-hill,  a  portion  of  the  ancient  wall  still  existed  above  ground,  which, 
though  not  Roman,  was  supposed  to  rest  on  Roman  foundations.  In  1841,  the 
Blackwall  Railway,  much  further  north  than  this  point,  cut  through  Roman  remains 
of  the  great  wall  j  but  it  was  not  until  the  autumn  of  1864  that  further  traces 
were  found.  Then,  in  some  large  works  in  Cooper's-row,  was  discovered  a  very 
extensive  fragment  of  a  Norman  wall,  with  narrow  slits  for  archers  to  shoot  their 
arrows.  This  fragment  was  110  feet  long,  and  in  height,  from  the  bottom  of  the 
foundation  to  the  top  of  the  parapet,  41  feet.  All  the  foundations,  and  a  considerable 
portion  of  the  lower  wall,  were  undoubtedly  Roman,  built  of  square  stones,  in  regular 
courses,  with  bonding-courses  of  Roman  brick  of  intense  hardness,  and  excellent 
cement,  as  hard  as  any  red  earthenware ;  and  was,  as  was  always  the  case  with  the 
Roman,  more  of  what  we  should  call  a  tile,  being  1  foot  square  and  l^in.  thick.  The 
mortar  between  the  bricks  was  nearly  as  thick  as  the  bricks  themselves,  and  abound- 
ing in  portions  of  pounded  brick.  The  exact  place  of  these  remains  Mr.  Tite  has 
shown  in  an  ancient  plan  of  London  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  when  the  walls  and 
gates  were  in  existence.  Undoubted  Roman  remains  of  these  walls  are  traceable,  viz.. 
Camomile-street  (found  by  Dr.  Woodward,  in  1707) ;  the  street  still  called  London- 


CITY  WALLS  AND  GATES.  235 

wall  (portions  removed  1817-18,  when  Bethlem  Hospital  was  taken  down) ;  and  near 
Moorgate.  Mr.  Tite  points  out  that  there  could  have  been  no  walls  at  the  time  when 
Suetonius  abandoned  London,  a.d.  61.  Some  Norman  historians  refer  the  walls  to  a 
period  as  late  as  the  Empress  Helena ;  but  Mr.  Tite's  opinion  seems  to  be  that  they  dated 
about  the  second  century  of  our  era.  The  distinctly  Norman  work  above  this  level 
Mr.  Tite  attributes  to  the  troubled  times  of  King  John,  when  the  associated  Barons 
arrived  at  Aldgate,  in  1215,  the  Sunday  before  Ascension  Day,  and  entered  the  City 
while  the  inhabitants  were  at  Divine  service.  After  this,  the  walls  being  in  a  ruinous 
state,  they  restored  them,  using  the  materials  of  the  Jews'  houses  existing  in  the  neigh- 
bourhood, and  then  destroyed  to  build  up  the  defences,  which,  as  chroniclers  relate, 
were  in  a  subsequent  reign  in  a  bigh  state  of  excellence.  In  1257,  Henry  III.  caused 
the  whole  of  the  walls  of  the  City  to  be  repaired  at  the  common  charge.  In  1282 
and  1310,  the  walls  were  again  repaired;  and,  in  1477,  the  patriotic  Mayor,  Ralph 
Joscelyne,  completely  restored  all  the  walls,  gates,  and  towers,  in  which  work  he  was 
assisted  by  the  Grocers'  and  otber  companies,  and  by  Sir  John  Crosby.  "  The  gold- 
smiths," says  Stow,  "repaired  from  Cripplegate  towards  Aldersgate,  and  there  the 
work  ceased."  The  total  area  inclosed  by  the  Walls  which  still  constitute  "  the  City 
of  London  "  is  only  about  380  acres. — Proc.  Soc.  Anliq. 

Mr.  W.  H.  Black,  F.S.A,  in  describing  the  primitive  site  of  Roman  London,  cites 
Roman  authors,  as  Tacitus  and  Antoninus,  to  prove  that  Londinium  was  not  a  colonia, 
but  an  oppidum,  surrounded  by  walls,  for  the  protection  of  its  commerce  and  trade, 
and  having  a  treasurer.  He  entirely  refutes  the  opinions  to  prove  that  primitive 
London  was  situate  upon  the  south  side  of  the  Thames,  by  showing  that  the  whole  of  that 
low  ground  was  covered  by  a  lake,  which  extended  from  the  high  ground  of  Greenwich, 
Cainberwell,  Brixton,  and  so  on  to  Lambeth  ;  and  he  is  confirmed  in  this  opinion  by  the 
direction  of  the  principal  streets,  which  all  converge  to  a  centre  on  the  north  side. 
Froin  the  measures  he  has  taken,  in  his  opinion  the  primitive  site  of  London  was  between 
Walbrook  on  the  east,  and  Fleet  River  on  the  west.  The  north  wall,  he  believes,  ran  from 
Aldersgate,  through  Lad-lane,  to  the  Walbrook,  and  from  Doctors'  Commons  to  the  same 
brook,  through  Old  Fish-street,  on  the  south.  The  discovery  of  several  pieces  of  -old 
Roman  wall  on  the  line  confirms  this  view.  The  forum,  or  market-place,  would  be  in 
Cheap,  from  which  the  principal  roads  diverged.  The  commerce  of  the  city  increasing, 
it  necessitated  the  enlarging  of  the  city,  and  we  find  many  of  the  streets  were  altered, 
as  for  instance,  Broad-street  used  to  be  the  way  to  Bishopsgate,  which  was  changed  for 
Threadneedle-street ;  and  a  new  street  was  formed  from  Cheapside  to  Aldgate. 

In  the  Sutherland  View,  1543,  and  in  Tapperell  and  Innes's  large  Map,  the  Great 
Wall  is  seen  entire,  with  its  embrasures,  its  large  and  lofty  gates,  and  intervening 
towers.  These  gates  are  minutely  described  by  Stow.  Chamberlayne,  in  his  Magna 
JBritanicB  Notitia,  1726,  says  :  "  Most  of  the  gates  of  that  old  Wall  still  remain :  those 
which  were  burnt  down  at  Ludgate  and  Newgate  are  rebuilt  with  great  solidity  and 
magnificence ;  and  those  which  escaped,  as  Aldersgate,  Cripplegate,  Moorgate,  Aldgate, 
are  kept  in  good  repair,  and  are  shut  up  at  every  night,  with  great  diligence  and  a 
sufficient  watch,  at  ten  o'clock ;  none  being  suffered  to  go  in  or  out  without  examina- 
tion. Most  of  these  gates  are  of  good  architecture,  and  adorned  with  statues  of  some 
of  our  kings  and  queens ;  as  is  that,  likewise,  called  Temple  Bar,  in  Fleet-street,  near  the 
Jliddle  Temple  Gate."  The  Gates,  except  the  latter,  were  taken  down  1760-62  :  a  statue 
of  Queen  Elizabeth,  from  Ludgate,  is  now  placed  on  the  outer  wall  of  the  church  of  St. 
Dunstan-in-the-West ;  and  the  statues  of  Lud  and  his  sons,  from  the  same  gate,  are  in 
the  grounds  of  St.  Dunstan's  Villa,  Regent's  Park  (the  Marquis  of  Hertford's).  These 
statues  were  supposed  by  Flaxman  to  have  preserved  the  likeness  of  the  originals,  as 
copies,  or  possibly  liberal  restorations,  of  the  actual  figures.  (Archer's  Vestiges  of  Old 
London,  part  iv.,  with  six  views.)  Four  of  the  figures  from  New-gate  are  in  the  south 
front  of  the  present  prison  of  that  name. 

The  City  of  London,  properly  so  called,  consists  of  that  part  anciently  within  the  Walh,  together 
with  that  termed  the  Liberties,  which  immediately  surrounded  them.  The  Liberties  are  encompassed 
by  the  Line  of  Separation,  the  boundary  between  them  and  the  county  of  Middlesex :  and  marked  by 
the  Sara,  which  formerly  consisted  of  posts  and  chains,  but  are  now  denoted  by  lofty  stbne  obelisks, 
bearing  the  City  arms,  which  may  be  seen,  eastward,  in  Whitechapel,  the  Minories,  and  Bishopsgate- 
street ;  northward,  in  Goswell-strcet,  at  the  end  of  Fan-alley,  and  in  St.  John's-street ;  and  westward, 


236  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

at  Middle-row,  Holborn;  while  at  the  western  end  of  Fleet-street  the  boundary  is  the  stone  gateway 
called  Temple  Bar. —  G.  J.  Aungier. 

See  also  a  Comparative  Plan  of  that  part  of  the  City  of  London  which  was  destroyed  by  the  flreat 
Fire  in  1666,  and  its  altered  condition  in  1S49,  by  1-  rancis  Whishaw,  C.E. ;  wherein  old  London  is  shown 
by  strong  lines,  and  modern  London  by  dotted  lines. 

CLERKENWELL, 

A  LARGE  parish  north-east  of  High  Holborn,  and  named  from  a  well  around  which 
the  parish  clerks,  or  clerken,  were  wont  to  assemble  to  act  Scripture  plays.  The 
whole  district  was  originally  a  village,  which  grew  up  around  the  priory  of  St.  John 
of  Jerusalem,  north,  and  the  Nunnery  of  St.  Mary,  south,  of  what  is  now  Clerkenwell- 
green.  It  was  then  a  succession  of  gentle  pastures  and  slopes,  with  the  "  Kiver  of 
Wells,"  or  "  Fleet,"  flowing  between  two  hills  on  its  western  border :  and  its  rural 
character  is  kept  in  mind  by  its  Coppice  and  Wilderness  rows,  Saffron-hill,  Vineyard- 
gardens,  Field-lane,  Clerkenwell-green,  and  Cow-cross;  whilst  Turnmill-street  recals 
the  "  noise  of  the  water-wheels"  mentioned  by  Fitzstephen  in  1190.  In  the  Suther- 
land View  of  London,  1543,  we  see  St.  John's  with  a  lofty  spire,  with  trees  extending 
to  St.  Bartholomew's,  Smithfield ;  and  westward  the  village  green  and  St.  James's 
Church,  formerly  of  St.  Mary's  Nunnery,  and  then  just  made  parochial.  The  nave, 
aisles,  and  bell-tower  of  St.  John's  were,  however,  pulled  down  to  supply  materials  for 
building  the  proud  Protector  Somerset's  palace.  Aggas's  map,  in  1563,  shows  us  a 
few  houses  bounded  on  three  sides  by  little  else  than  fields.  By  1617,  however,  a 
number  of  fine  houses  had  been  built  in  the  district,  and  were  inhabited  by  persons  of 
note.  Hence  to  the  village  of  Islington  lay  through  green  fields  and  country  paths; 
and  so  lately  as  1780,  "  persons  walking  from  the  City  to  Islington  in  the  evening, 
waited  near  the  end  of  St.  John's-street,  in  what  is  now  termed  Northampton-street 
(but  was  then  a  rural  avenue  planted  with  trees,  called  Wood's  Close),  until  a  suffi- 
cient party  had  collected,  who  were  then  escorted  by  an  armed  patrol."  (Storer  and 
Cromwell's  Clerkenwell.)  The  whole  locality  is  covered  with  crowded  streets.  Here 
is  still  a  large  house,  once  the  town  residence  of  the  Northampton  family ;  the  garden- 
ground  is  now  Northampton- square ;  and  Compton,  Percival,  Spencer,  Wynyatt,  and 
Ash  by  streets  are  named  from  the  titles  of  the  Marquis  of  Northampton,  the  principal 
ground -landlord  of  the  district. 

Passing  to  olden  Clerkenwell,  the  Priory-gate  of  St.  John  has  been  transformed 
into  a  tavern ;  and  the  Square,  once  part  of  the  Priory  precincts,  and  afterwards  the 
residence  of  the  titled  and  wealthy,  is  now  mostly  tenanted  by  watchmakers  and 
jewellers:  in  this  Square  died  Bishop  Burnet.  J  erusalem- passage  leads  to  Ay lesbury- 
street,  between  which  and  St.  John's  Church  stood  the  town-house  of  the  Earl  of 
Aylesbury,  in  the  reign  of  Charles  II.  At  the  corner  of  Jerusalem-passage  and  Ayles- 
bury-street,  Thomas  Britton,  the  "  musical  small  coal-man,"  held  his  music  meetings 
from  1678  to  1714,  in  a  low  and  narrow  room  over  the  coal-shop,  to  which  all  the 
fashion  of  the  age  flocked ;  Britton  himself  playing  in  the  orchestra  the  viol-di-gamba. 
In  Woodbridge-street,  branching  from  Aylesbury-street,  was  the  celebrated  Red  Bull 
Theatre,  conjectured  to  have  been  originally  an  inn-yard,  used  for  performances  late  in 
the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  and  where  the  King's  Players  under  Killigrew  acted 
until  they  removed  to  Drury-lane.  At  the  Red  Bull,  women  first  acted  on  the 
English  stage  :  its  site  is  probably  now  occupied  by  part  of  a  distillery.  St.  James's 
Church  was  rebuilt  in  1788  as  we  now  see  it.  The  Nunnery  Close  became  Clerken- 
well-close,  on  the  east  side  of  which  was  Newcastle  House,  biiilt  by  the  Earl  of  New- 
castle, and  where  the  eccentric  literary  Duchess  Margaret  held  a  sort  of  academic 
court  for  many  years  after  the  Restoration.  "  Of  all  the  riders  of  Pegasus,"  says 
Walpole,  "  there  have  not  been  a  more  fantastic  couple  than  his  Grace  and  his  faithful 
Duchess,  who  was  never  off  her  pillion."  Pepys  notes  a  visit  of  Charles  II.  to  her 
Grace  at  Newcastle  House,  in  April,  1667. 

Another  eccentric  inhabitant  of  Newcastle  House  was  Elizabeth  Duchess  of  Albemarle,  and  after- 
wards of  Montague.  She  was  married  in  1669  to  Christopher  Monck,  second  Duke  of  Albemarle,  then 
a  youth  of  16,  whom  her  inordinate  pride  drove  to  the  bottle  and  other  dissipation.  After  his  death,  in 
1698,  at  Jamaica,  the  Duchess,  whose  vast  estate  so  inflated  her  vanity  as  to  produce  mental  aberration, 
resolved  never  again  to  give  her  hand  to  any  but  a  sovereign  prince.-  She  had  many  suitors ;  but  true 
to  her  resolution,  she  rejected  them  all,  until  Ralph  Montague,  third  Lord  and  first  Duke  of  that  name, 


CLERKENWELL.  237 


achieved  the  conquest  by  courting:  her  as  Emperor  of  China :  and  the  anecdote  has  been  dramatised  by 
Colley  Cibber,  in  his  comedy  of  "  The  Double  Gallant,  or  Sick  Lady's  Cure."  Lord  Montague  married 
the  lady  as  "  Emperor,"  but  afterwards  played  the  truant,  and  kept  her  in  such  strict  confinement, 
that  her  relations  compelled  him  to  produce  her  in  open  court,  to  prove  that  she  was  alive.  Richard 
Lord  Ross,  one  of  her  rejected  suitors,  addressed  to  Lord  Montague  on  his  match : 

"  Insulting  rival,  never  boast  From  one  that's  under  Bedlam's  laws 

Thy  conquest  lately  won ;  What  glory  can  be  had  ? 

No  wonder  that  her  heart  was  lost, —  For  love  of  thee  was  not  the  cause : 

Her  senses  first  were  gone.  It  proves  that  she  was  mad." 

The  Duchess  survived  her  second  husband  nearly  thirty  years,  and  at  last  "  died  of  mere  old  age,"  at 
Newcastle  House,  August  28, 1738,  aged  96  years.  Until  her  decease,  she  is  said  to  have  been  constantly 
6erved  on  the  knee  as  a  sovereign. 

On  the  east  side  of  the  Close  stood  a  large  house,  hy  unauthorized  tradition  said  to 
have  heen  inhabited  by  Oliver  Cromwell ;  but  Cromwell-place,  built  upon  the  house- 
site,  has  been  named  from  this  story.  Another  inhabitant  of  the  Close  was  Weever, 
the  antiquary,  who  dates  the  Epistle  to  the  first  edition  of  his  Ancient  Funerall  Monu- 
ments from  his  "  House  in  Clerkenwell-close,"  May  28,  1631 :  he  died  in  the  next 
year,  and  was  buried  in  old  St.  James's  Church.  On  Clerkenwell-green  is  the 
Middlesex  Sessions-House  (Rogers,  architect),  built  in  1779-82 :  it  has  a  handsome 
east  front,  and  a  large  hall,  with  a  lofty  dome.  Here  the  County  Sittings  were  re- 
moved from  "  Hicks's  Hall,"  in  St.  John's-street,  opposite  the  Windmill  Inn,  and 
named  after  Sir  Baptist  Hicks,  of  Kensington,  one  of  the  justices  of  the  county,  after- 
wards Viscount  Campden,  who  built  the  Hall  in  1612 ;  from  this  site,  "  the  spot  where 
Hicks's  Hall  formerly  stood,"  the  distances  on  the  mile-stones  on  the  Great  North 
Road  were  formerly  measured.  In  this  Hall,  the  patriotic  William,  Lord  Russell,  was 
tried,  1683.  In  St.  John's-lane  are  the  remains  of  an  Elizabethan  house,  with  the 
sign  of  the  Baptist's  Head  (probably  in  compliment  to  Sir  Baptist  Hicks)  :  it  is  said  to 
have  been  frequented  by  Samuel  Johnson  and  Oliver  Goldsmith,  in  their  transactions 
with  Cave,  the  printer,  at  St.  John's  Gate ;  and  in  the  taproom  is  a  fine  old  armorial 
chimney-piece,  engraved  in  Archer's  Vestiges  of  Old  London,  part  iii. 

Upon  the  site  of  Back-hill  and  Ray -street  was  the  Bear-garden  of  Hockley-in-the- 
Hole,  not  only  the  resort  of  the  mob,  but  of  noblemen  and  ambassadors,  to  witness  the 
cruelties  of  bear  and  bull  baiting  by  greater  brutes,  and  "  the  noble  science  of  defence  •" 
for,  says  Mrs.  Peachum  (Beggar's  Opera),  "  You  should  go  to  Hockley-in-the-Hole  to 
learn  valour ;"  but  the  nuisance  was  abolished  soon  after  1728.  The  locality,  however, 
still  retains  its  foul  stain  of  moral  degradation  and  squalid  misery  in  its  alleys  and 
courts,  several  with  but  one  narrow  entrance ;  and  three-storied  houses  let  in  tene- 
ments, where  men,  women,  and  donkeys  find  shelter  together. 

The  tract  immediately  eastward  of  the  Fleet  River  was  rich  in  springs,  many  of 
them  medicinal :  hence  Coldbath-fields,  Bagnigge-wells,  Sadler's-wells,  Islington  Spa, 
the  London  Spa,  and  the  "  Wells"  of  the  earlier  topographers.  Spa-fields,  the  hot-bed 
of  Radical  riot  in  1817,  is  now  covered  with  streets. 

Bagnigge  Wells  was  another  of  these  springs,  and  became  a  place  of  public  resort  in 
1767.  Near  the  Pindar  of  Wakefield,  in  Gray's-inn-road,  was  Bagnigge  House,  a 
picturesque  gabled  house,  covered  with  vines,  traditionally  said  to  have  been  the  sum- 
mer residence  of  Nell  Gwynne ;  and  here  was  a  memorial  stone,  inscribed  "  This  is 
Bagnigge  House,  near  the  Pindar  of  Wakefield,  1680." 

The  Clerks'  Well  (whence  the  parish  had  its  name),  in  Ray-street,  now  taken  down, 
was  left  by  gift  by  the  Earl  of  Northampton,  in  1673,  for  the  use  of  the  poor  of  St. 
James's  parish,  but  was  let  by  the  authorities,  for  40s.  a  year.  The  property  was 
neglected,  when  the  churchwardens,  in  1800,  placed  here  a  pump,  with  a  tablet,  giving 
a  brief  historical  account  of  the  Well.  Fitzstephen  tells  us  that  "  London,  in  place  of 
stage  plays  and  scenic  decorations,  hath  dramas  of  more  sacred  subjects — representa- 
tions of  those  miracles  which  the  holy  confessors  wrought ;  or  of  the  sufferings  wherein 
the  glorious  constancy  of  martyrs  did  appear  ;"  and  it  is  an  undoubted  fact  that  sacred 
dramas  were  performed  on  this  spot  before  the  reigns  of  Henry  II.  and  Richard  I., 
which  were  the  era  of  Fitzstephen.  Cromwell,  in  his  History  of  this  parish,  suggests 
that  the  observance  of  this  custom  here  may  be  of  more  remote  antiquity ;  that  Clerken 
being  an  Anglo-Saxon  compound,  the  custom  must  be  referred  to  that  period.  In 
Aggas's  Civitas  Londinensis,  1560,  is  a  rude  representation  of  the  Clerks'  Well  in  the 
time  of  Elizabeth ;  it  was  the  spring  of  St.  Mary's  Nunnery.     The  Clerks'  Well  be- 

\ 


238  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


came  neglected.  Near  it  was  the  Skinners'  Well,  now  no  longer  to  be  recognised,  nor 
its  precise  situation  determined.  In  a  narrow  thoroughfare  leading  from  Baker's- 
row  into  Ray-street,  is  a  small  public-house,  known  as  the  Pickled  Egg,  from  a  former 
landlord  selling  here  pickled  eggs,  such  as  are  still  prepared  in  Hants  and  Dorset. 
Charles  II.  is  said  to  have  halted  here,  and  partaken  of  a  pickled  egg.  The  house  had 
formerly  a  noted  cockpit ;  in  1775  there  were  cocking-matches  here  "  between  the 
gentlemen  of  London  and  Essex." 

West  of  Ray-street  is  Vine-street,  formerly  Mutton-hill,  thought,  in  FinJcs's  IBstory 
of  Clerkenwell,  p.  Ill,  to  be  derived  from  the  word  meeting,  anciently  spoken  moteing, 
in  reference  to  the  Clerks'  Mote  (Saxon)  or  meeting-place  by  the  Well. 

Cold  Bath-square,  hard  by,  is  named  from  the  famous  Cold  Bath  discovered  here 
in  1697 :  it '  is  now  surrounded  with  houses.  In  this  square,  near  the  Cold 
Bath,  in  1733-36,  lived  Eustace  Budgell,  the  relative  and  friend  of  Addison,  for  whom 
he  wrote  in  the  Spectator.  Here,  too,  for  ninety  years,  lived  the  eccentric  "  Lady 
Lewson."     She  died  here,  in  1816,  at  the  reputed  age  of  116. 

At  the  corner  of  Cobham-row  and  Cold  Bath-square,  there  stood  to  our  day  a  noble 
horse-chestnut  tree,  which,  tradition  tells  us,  was  one  of  a  grove  of  trees  that  once 
grew  here  in  the  extensive  grounds  of  the  ill-fated  Sir  John  Oldcastle,  afterwards 
Lord  Cobham,  the  great  Reformer ;  and  who,  by  the  barbarous  inhumanity  and  perse- 
cuting spirit  of  the  age  in  which  he  lived,  was  hung  in  chains  as  a  heretic,  and  burned 
in  St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields,  in  the  year  1418,  for  his  noble  advocacy  of  the  doctrines  of 
Wyckliffe,  and  an  alleged  conspiracy  against  the  government  of  Henry  V.  His  family 
mansion  became  Sir  John  Oldcastle's  Tavern;  subsequently  a  Small-pox  Hospital, 
specially  for  the  reception  of  patients  in  the  incipient  stages  of  that  disease,  and  such 
as  caught  it  naturally.  The  building  was  afterwards  reconstructed,  and  continued  to 
he  used  as  an  hospital  till  1795,  when  the  charity  was  removed  to  the  chief  establish- 
ment at  King's-cross.  At  a  later  period  the  property  passed  into  the  hands  of  the 
Countess  of  Huntingdon's  connexion,  when  the  hospital  building  was  converted  into 
private  dwelling-houses,  on  the  north  side  of  the  thoroughfare  well  known  as  Cobham- 
row.     Mr.  Pinks  could  not,  however,  trace  Sir  John  Oldcastle's  residence  here. 

Watchmakers,  clockmakers,  and  jewellers  settled  in  Clerkenwell  in  great  numbers 
early  in  the  last  century,  and  several  streets  are  mostly  occupied  by  them;  as 
"  escapement-maker,"  "  engine-turner,"  "  fusee-cutter,"  "  springer,"  "  secret-springer," 
"  finisher,"  and  "  joint-finisber,"  inscribed  upon  door-plates,  attest ;  for  in  no  trade  is 
the  division  of  labour  carried  to  a  greater  extent  than  in  watchmaking.  (See  St. 
John's  Gate.) 

The  History  of  Clerkenwell  had  been  compiled  and  written,  with  rare  fidelity  and  minuteness,  by 
William  J.  Pinks,  who,  dying  before  the  completion  of  the  work,  it  was  finished  by  E.  J.  Wood ;  it 
originally  appeared  in  the  Clerkenwell  News,  and  was  reproduced  in  a  large  handsome  volume  of  800 
pages,  by  Mr.  Peckburn,  Myddelton  House,  Clerkenwell.  The  author  spent  six  years  in  collecting  his 
materials:  and  the  editor  nearly  three  years  in  his  labours.  The  Hittory  is  mainly  the  work  of  Mr. 
Pinks  :  it  is  one  of  those  laborious  results  of  devotedness,  which  can  scarcely  be  overrated.  The  book 
is  rich  in  sketches  of  eccentric  persons,  who  seem  to  have  abounded  in  Clerkenwell,  from  early  times. 

CLIMATE  OF  LONDON. 

THE  temperature  of  the  air  in  the  metropolis  is  raised  by  the  artificial  sources  of  heat 
existing  in  it  no  less  than  two  degrees  on  the  annual  mean  above  that  of  its 
immediate  vicinity.  Mr.  Howard,  in  his  work  on  Climate,  has  fully  established  this 
fact,  by  a  comparison  of  a  long  series  of  observations  made  at  Plaistow,  Stratford,  and 
Tottenham  Green  (all  within  five  miles  of  London),  with  those  made  at  the  apartments 
of  the  Royal  Society  in  London,  and  periodically  recorded  in  the  Philosopfacal 
Transactions.  In  explanation,  Mr.  Howard  refers  to  the  heat  induced  by  the  population 
(just  as  the  temperature  of  a  hive  of  bees),  and  from  the  domestic  fires,  and  from  the 
foundries,  breweries,  steam-engines,  and  other  manufactories.  "  When  we  consider  that 
all  these  artificial  sources  of  heat,  with  the  exception  of  the  domestic  fires,  continue  in 
full  operation  throughout  the  summer,  it  should  seem  Miat  the  excess  of  the  London 
temperature  must  be  still  greater  in  June  than  it  is  in  January,  but  the  fact  is  other- 
wise. The  excess  of  the  City  temperature  is  greater  in  winter,  and  at  that  period 
seems  to  belong  entirely  to  the  nights,  which  average  3-710°  warmer  than  the  country ; 
while  the  heat  of  the  days,  owing,  without  doubt,  to  the  interception  of  a  portion  of 


CLUBS  AM)  CLUB-HOUSES.  239 

the  solar  rays  by  a  constant  veil  of  smoke,  falls,  on  a  mean  of  years,  about  a  third  of  a 
degree  short  of  that  in  the  open  plains." 

In  the  winter  of  1835,  Mr.  W.  H.  White  ascertained  the  temperature  in  the  City  to 
be  3°  higher  than  three  miles  south  of  London  Bridge  ;  and  after  the  gas  had  been 
lighted  in  the  City  four  or  five  hours,  the  temperature  increased  full  3°,  thus  making 
6°  difference  in  the  three  miles. 

Dr.  Prout  found  that  when  his  observations  were  made  during  the  prevalence  of 
wind  (his  station  being  at  the  western  extremity  of  London),  the  air  blowing  from  the 
east  contained  a  minute  portion  of  oxygen  less  than  that  which  blew  from  the  west. 
The  difference  was  exceedingly  small ;  still,  it  tended  to  show  that  the  air  which  has 
passed  over  the  busy  streets  of  the  metropolis  differs  in  its  amount,  not  only  of  car- 
bonic acid,  but  also  of  oxygen,  from  the  air  which  has  not  reached  those  scenes. 

Change  of  air  in  the  metropolis  is  mostly  effected  by  the  mixture  of  the  gases  com- 
posing it.  There  are  hundreds  of  places  in  London  into  which  the  wind  never  finds 
admission ;  and  even  among  the  wider  streets  there  are  many  through  which  a  free 
current  is  rarely  blown.  It  is  only  in  the  night,  when  combustion  in  some  measure 
ceases,  and  the  whole  surface  of  the  earth  is  cooled,  that  the  gases  are  gradually  re- 
moved, and  the  whole  atmosphere  of  the  City  is  brought  nearly  to  an  equality. 
Nothing,  indeed,  can  be  more  striking  than  the  difference  even  in  the  sensible  qualities 
of  the  air  of  London  in  the  early  morning  and  in  the  evening :  in  the  former  it  has  a 
coolness  and  refreshing  clearness,  which  those  who  know  it  in  the  heat  of  later  hour  can 
scarcely  imagine. 

Every  one  has  observed  upon  dirty  windows  in  the  metropolis  small  tree-like  crystal- 
lizations :  these  consist  of  sulphate  of  ammonia,  which  is  produced  in  the  atmosphere 
by  the  burning  of  vast  quantities  of  coal,  combining  with  the  sulphurous  acid  in  the 
atmosphere. 

Owing  to  the  smoke,  many  species  of  flowers  (the  yellow  rose,  for  instance),  will  not 
bloom  within  ten  miles  of  London ;  Paris,  on  the  contrary  (where  wood  is  almost 
universally  burnt),  produces  the  finest  flowers,  not  alone  in  the  gardens  of  the  Tuileries 
and  Luxembourg,  but  in  the  nursery-grounds  of  the  famous  rose-growers,  Noisette  and 
Laffay ;  which,  in  the  Faubourg  St.  Germain,  enjoy  advantages  such  as  it  would  be 
necessary  to  retreat  some  miles  from  London  to  secure. 

In  London,  in  sunny  weather,  some  fine  effects  of  light  and  shade  may  be  witnessed 
in  the  neighbourhood  of  the  public  buildings.  Miss  Landon  refers  to  a  bright  day  in 
spring  as  "  a  very  spendthrift  of  sunshine,  when  the  darkest  alley  in  London  wins  a 
golden  glimpse,  and  the  eternal  mist  around  St.  Paul's  turns  to  a  guttering  haze." 

CLUBS  AND  CLUB-HOUSES. 

ALTHOUGH  the  Club  was  a  social  feature  of  the  last  century,  to  the  preseut  age  is 
due  the  establishment  of  a  system  of  Club  Living  upon  a  scale  of  splendour  and 
completeness  hitherto  unattainable.  Formerly  the  Club  resembled  an  ill-appointed 
coffee-house  or  tavern ;  often,  however,  redeemed  by  the  brilliancy  of  the  wit  which 
was  "  wont  to  set  the  table  in  a  roar,"  and  animated  by  a  conversational  spirit  com- 
paratively little  indulged  in  the  present  day. 

There  has  been  an  excess  of  controversy  and  surmise  as  to  the  origin  of  the  Club ; 
but  neither  of  the  guesses  reaches  the  good  sense  of  Addison,  who  truly  said,  "all 
celebrated  Clubs  were  founded  upon  eating  and  drinking,  which  are  points  where  most 
men  agree,  and  in  which  the  learned  and  the  illiterate,  the  dull  and  the  airy,  the 
philosopher  and  the  buffoon,  can  all  of  them  bear  a  part." 

It  has  been  pleasantly  observed,  that  Clubs  are  gradually  working  as  complete  a 
revolution  in  the  constitution  of  society  as  they  have  already  effected  in  the  archi- 
tectural appearance  of  our  streets.  In  the  year  1800,  there  were  only  White's,  as  old 
as  Hogarth's  time ;  Brooks's  and  Boodle's ;  the  Cocoa-Tree,  Graham's,  and  another  : 
now  there  are  nearly  fifty  Clubs,  each  possessing  a  well-appointed  mansion.  The 
facilities  of  living  have  been  wonderfully  increased  by  them,  whilst  the  expense  has 
been  greatly  diminished ;  and  for  a  few  pounds  a-year,  advantages  are  to  be  enjoyed 
which  no  fortune  except  the  most  ample  can  procure. 


240  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Alfred  Club,  the,  No.  23,  Albemarle-street,  established  in  1808,  is  described  by 
Earl  Dudley,  in  his  time,  as  the  dullest  place  in  existence,  "  the  asylum  of  doting 
Tories  and  drivelling  quidnuncs."  It  was  at  this  Club  that  "  Mr.  Canning,  whilst  in 
the  zenith  of  his  fame,  dropped  in  accidentally  at  a  house-dinner  of  twelve  or  fourteen, 
stayed  out  the  evening,  and  made  himself  remarkably  agreeable,  without  any  of  the 
party  suspecting  who  he  was."     {Quarterly  Review,  No.  110.) 

The  Alfred  had,  ab  initio,  been  remarkable  for  the  number  of  travellers  and  men  of 
letters,  who  formed  a  considerable  proportion  of  its  members.  Yet,  strangely  enough,  its 
cockney  appellation  was  Half-read.  Lord  Byron  was  a  member,  and  he  tells  us  that 
"  it  was  pleasant,  a  little  too  sober  and  literary,  and  bored  with  Sotheby  and  Francis 
D'lvernois ;  but  one  met  Rich,  and  Ward,  and  Valentia,  and  many  other  pleasant  or 
known  people ;  and  it  was,  in  the  whole,  a  decent  resource  in  a  rainy  day,  in  a  dearth 
of  parties,  or  Parliament,  or  in  an  empty  season."  The  Alfred  joined  the  Oriental  in  1855. 

Almack's  Clt/b,  the  original  Brooks's,  was  founded  in  Pall  Mall,  in  1764  (on  the 
site  of  what  is  now  the  British  Institution),  as  a  gaining  Club.  Some  of  its  members 
were  Maccaronis,  the  "  curled  darlings"  of  the  day :  they  were  so  called  from  their 
affectation  of  foreign  tastes  and  fashions,  and  were  celebrated  for  their  long  curls  and 
eye-glasses.  "At  Almack's,"  writes  Walpole  in  1Y70,  "which  has  taken  the  pa*  of  White's, 
is  worthy  the  decline  of  our  empire,  or  commonwealth,  which  you  please :  the  young  men 
of  the  age  lose  ten,  fifteen,  twenty  thousand  pounds  in  an  evening."  The  play  at  this 
gaming  club  was  only  for  rouleaus  of  50Z.  each,  and  generally  there  was  10,000Z.  in 
specie  on  the  table.  The  gamesters  began  by  pulling  off  their  embroidered  clothes, 
and  put  on  frieze  greatcoats,  or  turned  their  coats  inside  outwards  for  luck.  They  put 
on  pieces  of  leather  (such  as  are  worn  by  footmen  when  they  clean  the  knives)  to  save 
their  laced  ruffles ;  and  to  guard  their  eyes  from  the  light  and  to  prevent  tumbling  their 
hair,  wore  high-crowned  straw  hats  with  broad  brims,  and  adorned  with  flowers  and 
ribbons;  masks  to  conceal  their  emotions  when  they  played  at  quinz.  Each  gamester 
had  a  small  neat  stand  by  him,  to  hold  his  tea ;  or  a  wooden  bowl  with  an  edge  of 
ormolu,  to  hold  the  rouleaus.     Almack's  was  subsequently  Goosetree's. 

In  the  year  1780,  Pitt  was  then  an  habitual  frequenter,  and  here  his  personal  adherents  mustered 
strongly.  The  members,  we  are  told  in  the  Life  of  Wilberforce,  were  about  twenty-five  in  number, 
and  included  Pratt  (afterwards  Lord  Camden),  Lords  Euston,  Chatham,  Graham,  Duncannon,  Althorp, 
Apsley,  G.  Cavendish,  and  Lennox  ;  Messrs.  Eliot,  Sir  Andrew  St.  John,  Bridgeman  (afterwards  Lord 
Bradford),  Morris  Robinson  (afterwards  Lord  Eokeby),  R.  Smith  (afterwards  Lord  Carrington),  W. 
Grenville  (afterwards  Lord  Grenville),  Pepper  Arden  (afterwards  Lord  Alvanley) ;  Mr.  Edwards,  Mr. 
Marsham,  Mr.  Pitt,  Mr.  Wilberforce,  Mr.  Bankes,  Mr.  Thomas  Steele,  General  Smith,  Mr.  'Windham. 
Gibbon,  the  historian,  was  a  member,  and  he  dated  several  letters  from  here. 

Alpine  Club,  8,  St.  Martin's-place,  a  small  Society  founded  in  order  to  bring  to- 
gether those  who,  whether  as  explorers,  artists,  or  men  of  science,  take  an  interest  in 
the  Alps,  or  in  any  of  the  other  great  mountain  ranges.  During  the  winter  and 
spring,  meetings  are  held,  at  which  are  read  papers  descriptive  of  mountain  excursions, 
glacier  phenomena,  and  other  cognate  subjects.     See  the  Alpine  Journal. 

Apollo  Club  was  held  at  the  Devil  Tavern,  Fleet-street,  between  Temple-bar  and 
Middle  Temple-gate,  a  house  of  great  resort  in  the  reign  of  Jamej  I.,  and  then  kept  by 
Simon  Wadloe.  Ben  Jonson  wrote  The  Devil  is  an  Asse,  played  in  1616,  when  he 
"  drank  bad  wine  at  the  Devil."  The  principal  room,  called  "  the  Oracle  of  Apollo," 
was  spacious,  and  apart  from  the  tavern.  Above  the  door  was  a  bust  of  Apollo;  and 
at  the  entrance,  in  gold  letters  on  a  black  board,  was  inscribed  the  famous — 

"  Welcome  all,  who  lead  or  follow, 
To  the  Oracle  of  Apollo,"  &c. 

Beneath  these  verses  was  the  name  of  the  author,  thus  inscribed — "  0  Rare  Ben 
Jonson,"  a  posthumous  tribute  from  his  grave  in  Westminster  Abbey.  The  bust 
appears  modelled  from  the  Apollo  Belvedere,  by  some  skilful  person  of  the  olden  day, 
but  has  been  several  times  painted.  "  The  Welcome,"  originally  inscribed  in  gold 
letters,  on  a  thick  black-painted  board,  has  since  been  wholly  repainted  and  gilded ; 
but  the  old  thickly-lettered  inscription  of  Ben's  day  may  he  seen  as  an  embossment 
upon  the  modern  painted  background.  These  poetic  memorials  are  both  preserved  in 
the  banking-house  of  the  Messrs.  Child. 


CLUBS  AND  CLUB-HOUSES.  241 

"  The  Welcome,"  says  Mr.  Burn,  "  it  may  be  inferred,  was  placed  in  the  interior  of  the  room ;  so 
also,  above  the  fireplace,  were  the  Rules  of  the  Club,  said  by -early  writers  to  have  been  inscribed  in 
marble,  but  were  in  truth  gilded  letters  upon  a  black-painted  board,  similar  to  the  verses  of  the  Welcome. 
These  Rules  are  justly  admired  for  the  conciseness  and  elegance  of  the  Latinity."  They  have  been  felici- 
tously translated  by  Alexander  Broome,  one  of  the  wits  who  frequented  the  Devil,  and  who  was  one  of 
Ben  Jonson's  twelve  adopted  poetical  sons.  Latin  inscriptions  were  also  placed  in  other  directions,  to 
adorn  the  house;  over  the  clock  in  the  kitchen  there  remained  one  in  1731.  In  the  Rules  of  the  Apollo 
Club,  women  of  character  were  not  excluded  from  attending  the  meetings. 

Aemy  and  Navy  Club-house,  Pall  Mall,  corner  of  George-street,  designed  by 
Parnell  and  Smith,  was  opened  February,  1851.  The  exterior  is  a  combination  from 
Sansovino's  Palazzo  Cornaro,  and  Library  of  St.  Mark  at  Venice ;  but  varying  in  the 
upper  part,  which  has  Corinthian  columns,  with  windows  resembling  arcades  filling  up 
the  intercolumns ;  and  over  their  arched  headings  are  groups  of  naval  and  military 
symbols,  weapons,  and  defensive  armour — very  picturesque.  The  frieze  has  also  effec- 
tive groups  symbolic  of  the  Army  and  Navy  ;  the  cornice,  likewise  very  bold,  is  crowned 
by  a  massive  balustrade.  The  basement,  from  the  Cornaro,  is  rusticated :  the  entrance 
being  in  the  centre  of  the  east  or  George-street  front,  by  three  open  arches,  similar  in 
character  to  those  in  the  Strand  front  of  Somerset  House.  The  whole  is  extremely 
rich  in  ornamental  detail.  The  hall  is  fine ;  the  coffee-room,  eighty-two  feet  by  thirty- 
nine  feet,  is  panelled  with  scagliola,  and  has  a  ceiling  enriched  with  flowers,  and  pierced 
for  ventilation  by  heated  flues  above ;  adjoining  is  a  room  lighted  by  a  glazed  plafond ; 
next  is  the  house  dining-room,  decorated  in  the  Munich  style ;  and  more  superb  is  the 
morning  room,  with  its  arched  windows,  and  mirrors  forming  arcades  and  vistas 
innumerable.  A  magnificent  stone  staircase  leads  to  the  library  and  evening  rooms; 
and  in  the  third  story  are  billiard  and  card  rooms ;  and  a  smoking-room,  with  a  lofty 
dome  elaborately  decorated  in  traceried  Moresque.  The  apartments  are  adorned  with 
an  equestrian  portrait  of  Queen  Victoria,  painted  by  Grant,  R.A. ;  a  piece  of  Gobelins 
tapestry  (Sacrifice  to  Diana),  presented  to  the  club  in  1849  by  Prince  Louis  Napoleon 
marble  busts  of  William  IV.  and  the  Dukes  of  Kent  and  Cambridge ;  and  several  life- 
size  portraits  of  naval  and  military  heroes.  The  Club-house  is  provided  with  twenty 
lines  of  Whishaw's  Telekouphona,  or  Speaking  Telegraph,  which  communicate  from  the 
Secretary's  room  to  the  various  apartments.  The  cost  of  this  superb  edifice,  exclusive 
of  fittings,  was  35,000?. ;  the  plot  of  ground  on  which  it  stands  cost  the  Club  52,000£. 

Aets  Club,  Hanover-square,  was  instituted,  1863,  for  facilitating  the  social  inter- 
course of  those  who  are  connected  either  professionally  or  as  amateurs  with  Art,  Litera- 
ture, or  Science. 

Aethue's  Club-house,  69,  St.  James's-street,  is  named  from  Mr.  Arthur,  the 
keeper  of  White's  Chocolate-house,  who  died  1761.  The  present  Club-house  is  by 
Hopper ;  the  principal  windows  are  decorated  with  fluted  Corinthian  columns. 

Athene  um  Club,  Waterloo-place,  Pall  Mall,  was  established  in  1823  :  the  members 
are  chosen  by  ballot,  one  black  ball  in  ten  excluding.  The  present  Club-house,  designed 
by  Decimus  Burton,  was  built  in  1829-30,  on  a  portion  of  the  court-yard  of  Carlton 
Palace ;  the  architecture  is  Grecian,  with  a  frieze  exactly  copied  from  the  Panathenaic 
procession  in  the  friez^j  of  the  Parthenon — the  flower  and  beauty  of  Athenian  youth 
gracefully  seated  on  the  most  exquisitely-sculptured  horses, — which  Flaxman  regarded 
as  the  most  precious  examples  of  Grecian  power  in  the  sculpture  of  animals.  Over  the 
Ronian-Doric  entrance-portico  is  a  colossal  figure  of  Minerva,  by  Baily,  R.A. ;  and  the 
interior  has  some  fine  casts' from  chef-d'eeuvres  of  sculpture:  the  style  of  the  hall,  stair- 
case, gallery,  and  apartments,  is  grand,  massive,  and  severe.  The  Athenaeum  is  a  good 
illustration  of  the  Club  system.  The  number  of  ordinary  members  is  fixed  at  1200 ; 
they  are  mostly  eminent  persons,  civil,  military,  and  ecclesiastical ;  peers  spiritual  and 
temporal ;  men  of  the  learned  professions,  science,  the  arts,  and  commerce ;  and  the 
distinguished  who  do  not  belong  to  any  particular  class.  Many  of  these  are  to  be  met 
with  every  day,  living  with  the  same  freedom  as  in  their  own  houses.  For  thirty 
guineas  entrance,  and  six  guineas  a-year,  every  member  has  the  command  of  an 
excellent  library  (the  best  Club  library  in  London),  with  maps ;  of  newspapers,  English 
and  foreign;  the  principal  periodicals ;  writing  materials,  and  attendance.  The  build- 
ing is  a  sort  of  palace,  and  is  kept  with  the  same  exactness  and  comfort  as  a  private 
dwelling.     Every  member  is  master,  without  any  of  the  trouble  of  a  master  :  he  can 

B 


!l« 


242  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

come  when  be  pleases,  and  stay  away  when  he  pleases,  without  anything  going  wrong ; 
he  has  the  command  of  regular  servants,  without  having  to  pay  or  manage  them  ;  he 
can  have  whatever  meal  or  refreshment  he  wants,  at  all  hours,  and  served  up  as  in  his 
own  house.  From  an  account  of  the  expenses  at  the  Athenseum  in  the  year  1832,  it 
appears  that  17,323  dinners  cost,  on  an  average,  2s.  9Jd.  each,  and  that  the  average 
quantity  of  wine  for  each  person  was  a  small  fraction  more  than  half-a-pint.  The 
expense  of  building  the  Club-house  was  35,000Z.,  and  50001.  for  furnishing ;  the  plate, 
linen,  and  glass  cost  2500Z. ;  library  21.398Z. ;  and  the  stock  of  wine  in  cellar  is  usually 
worth  about  50001. :  yearly  revenue  about  10,000?.  The  principal  rooms  are  lighted  by 
chandeliers  fitted  with  Faraday's  perfect  ventilation  apparatus.  In  the  library  is  an 
unfinished  portrait  of  George  IV.,  which  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence  was  painting  but  a 
few  hours  before  his  decease,  the  last  bit  of  colour  that  he  ever  put  upon  canvas  being 
that  on  the  hilt  and  sword-knot  of  the  girdle. 

At  the  preliminary  meeting  for  the  formation  of  the  Athenaeum,  February  16, 1824,  were  present 
Sir  Humphry  Davy,  Bart.,  P.R.S.,  the  Eight  Hon.  John  Wilson  Croker,  Sir  Francis  Chantrey,  R.A., 
Richard  Heber,  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence,  P.R.A.,  Dr.  Thomas  Young,  F.R.S.,  Lord  Dover,  Davies  Gilbert, 
the  Earl  of  Aberdeen,  P.S.A.,  Sir  Henry  Halford,  Sir  Walter  Scott.  Bart.,  Joseph  Jekyll,  Thomas  Moore, 
Charles  Hatchett,  F.R.S.;  Secretary,  Professor  Faraday. 

"  The  mixture  of  Whigs,  Radicals,  savans,  foreigners,  dandies,  authors,  soldiers,  sailors,  lawyers, 
artists,  doctors,  and  Members  of  both  Houses  of  Parliament,  together  with  an  exceedingly  good  average 
supply  of  bishops,  render  the  melange  very  agreeable,  despite  of  some  two  or  three  bores,  who  '  con- 
tinually do  dine,'  and  who,  not  satisfied  with  getting  a  6*.  dinner  for  38. 6d.,'  continually  do  complain.'  " 
— New  Monthly  Magazine,  1834. 

At  the  Athenaeum,  Theodore  Hook  was  a  great  card ;  and  in  a  note  to  the  sketch 
of  him  in  the  Quarterly  Review,  it  is  stated  that  the  number  of  dinners  at  this  Club 
fell  off  by  upwards  of  threo  hundred  per  annum  after  Hook  disappeared  from  his 
favourite  corner,  near  the  door  of  the  coffee-room.  That  is  to  say,  there  must  have 
been  some  dozens  of  gentlemen  who  chose  to  dine  there  once  or  twice  every  week 
of  the  season,  merely  for  the  chance  of  Hook's  being  there,  and  permitting  thein  to 
draw  their  chairs  to  his  little  table  in  the  course  of  the  evening.  The  corner  alluded 
to  will,  we  suppose,  long  retain  the  name  which  it  derived  from  him — Temperance 
Corner.  Many  grave  and  dignified  personages  being  frequent  guests,  it  would  hardly 
have  been  seemly  to  be  calling  for  repeated  supplies  of  a  certain  description  j  but  the 
waiters  well  understood  what  the  oracle  of  the  corner  meant  by  "  Another  glass  of 
toast  and  water,"  or,  "  A  little  more  lemonade." 

Athenjetjm,  Jtjniob,  the,  pro  tern.  St.  James's-square,  was  originated  in  1864,  and 
consists  of  members  of  both  Houses  of  Parliament,  members  of  the  Universities,  fellows 
of  the  learned  and  scientific  societies,  or  gentlemen  connected  with  literature,  science, 
and  art.  The  device  adopted  by  the  Club  is  the  Bird  of  Minerva,  a  copy  of  the  reverse 
of  the  drachma  of  the  Greeks. 

Boodle's,  28,  St.  James's-street,  is  the  noted  "Savoir  vivre"  Club-house  designed 
by  Holland.  It  contains  portraits  of  C.  J.  Fox  and  the  Duke  of  Devonshire.  Gibbon, 
the  historian,  was  one  of  its  early  members.  Next  door,  29,  Gillray,  the  caricaturist, 
in  1815,  threw  himself  from  an  upstairs  window,  and  died  in  consequence. 

Beooks's,  the  Whig  Club-house,  at  60,  west  side  of  St.  James's-street,  was  designed 
by  Holland,  and  opened  in  1778 ;  but  was  originally  established  in  Pall  Mall,  in  1764, 
by  the  Duke  of  Portland,  C.  J.  Fox,  and  others.  It  was  formerly  a  gaming-club,  kept 
by  Ahnack,  and  then  by  Brooks,  a  wine-merchant  and  money-lender,  who  left  the  Club 
soon  after  the  present  house  was  built,  and  died  in  poverty  about  1782.  Among  the 
early  members  were  C.  J.  Fox,  Burke,  Sir  Joshua  Beynolds,  Garrick,  Horace  Walpole, 
Hume,  Gibbon,  and  Sheridan.  When  Wilberforce  was  young  and  gay,  he  played  here 
at  faro ;  but  his  usual  resort  was  at  Goosetree's,  in  Pall  Mall,  where  he  one  night  kept 
the  bank  and  won  600Z. ;  but  this  weaned  him  from  gaming.  On  March  21, 1772, 
Mr.  Thynne  retired  from  Brooks's  in  disgust,  because  he  had  won  only  12,000  guineas 
in  two  months.  The  Club  was  famous  for  wagers;  and  the  old  betting-book  is  an 
oddity.  Lord  Crewe,  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Club  in  Pall  Mall,  died  in  1829,  after 
sixty-five  years'  membership  of  Brooks's.     The  Fox  Club  meet  here. 

"  At  Brooks's,  for  nearly  half  a  century,  the  play  was  of  a  more  gambling  character  than  at  White's. 
....  On  one  occasion,  Lord  Robert  Spencer  contrived  to  lose  the  last  shilling  of  his  considerable 
fortune  given  him  by  his  brother,  the  Duke  of  Marlborough.  General  Fitzpatrick  being  much  in  the 
same  condition,  they  agreed  to  raise  a  sum  of  money,  in  order  that  they  might  keep  a  faro-bank.    The 


CLUBS  AND  CLUB-HOUSES.  243 


members  of  the  Club  made  no  objection,  and  ere  long  they  carried  out  their  design.  As  is  generally 
the  case,  the  bank  was  a  winner,  and  Lord  Robert  bagged,  as  his  share  of  the  proceeds,  100.000Z.  He 
retired,  strange  to  say,  from  the  foetid  atmosphere  of  play,  with  the  money  in  his  pocket,  and  never 
again  gambled.  George  Harley  Drummond,  of  the  famous  banking-house,  Charing-cross,  only  played 
once  in  his  whole  life  at  White's  Club,  at  whist,  on  which  occasion  he  lost  20,0002.  to  Brummell.  This  ( 
event  caused  him  to  retire  from  the  banking-house,  of  which  he  was  a  partner." — Capt.  Qronotc.  £>*> 

Beef-steak  Society,  "the  sublime  Society  of  Beef-steaks"  (but  disdaining  to  be 
thought  a  Club),  consists  of  twenty-four  members,  noblemen  and  gentlemen,  who  dine 
together  off  beef-steaks  at  five  o'clock  on  Saturdays,  from  November  until  the  end  of 
June,  at  their  rooms  in  the  Lyceum  Theatre.  The  dining-room  is  lined  with  oak,  and 
decorated  with  emblematic  gridirons,  and  in  the  middle  of  the  ceiling  is  the  gridiron 
first  used  by  the  cook.  The  orthodox  accompaniment  to  the  steaks  is  arrack  punch. 
Each  member  may  invite  a  friend.  The  Society  originated  with  George  Lambert,  the 
scene-painter  of  Covent  Garden  Theatre  during  Rich's  management,  where  Lambert 
often  dined  from  a  steak  cooked  on  the  fire  in  his  painting-room,  in  which  he  was 
frequently  joined  by  his  visitors.  This  led  to  the  founding  of  the  Society  by  Rich  and 
Lambert  in  1735,  in  a  room  in  the  theatre.  After  its  rebuilding,  the  place  of  meeting 
was  changed  to  the  Shakespeare  Tavern,  in  the  Piazza;  afterwards  to  the  Lyceum 
Theatre ;  and  on  its  destruction  by  fire  in  1830,  to  the  Bedford  Hotel ;  and  thence  to 
the  Lyceum,  rebuilt  in  1834.  The  number  of  members  was  increased  to  twenty-five, 
to  admit  the  Prince  of  Wales,  afterwards  George  IV.  Charles  Howard,  Duke  of 
Norfolk,  was  a  leading  member ;  and  Captain  Morris  was  the  laureat,  the  sun  of  this 
"jovial  system  :"  in  1831  he  bade  adieu  to  the  Society,  but  in  1835  revisited  it,  and 
was  presented  with  an  elegant  silver  bowl ;  at  the  age  of  ninety  he  sung  : 

"  When  my  spirits  are  low,  for  relief  and  delight, 
I  still  place  your  splendid  memorial  in  sight ; 
And  call  to  my  muse,  when  care  strives  to  pursue, 
'Bring  the  steaks  to  my  mem'ry,  and  the  bowl  to  my  view.' " 
The  liquors  are  limited  to  port  and  punch,  in  quantity  unlimited.    The  Club-button  bears  the  Club- 
blazon — a  gridiron  fumant,  odorant.    Song,  give-and-take  jest — not  always  of  the  smoothest — and  fun 
— the  more  rampant,  the  welcomer — follow  the  feast  of  steaks.  At  the  sale  of  the  Curiosities  belonging  to 
Mr.  Harley,  the  comedian,  in  Gower-street,  in  November,  1858,  a  silver  gridiron,  won  by  a  member  of 
the  Steaks,  was  sold  for  11. 3g.    The  gridiron  upon  which  Rich  broiled  his  solitary  steak  was  saved  from 
the  fire  at  Covent  Garden  Theatre,  in  1808,  and  is  still  preserved.  In  the  above  fire  was  lost  the  valuable 
stock  of  wine  of  the  Club,  and  its  original  archives.    Formerly,  the  damask  table-cloths  were  figured 
with  gridirons ;  and  so  were  the  drinking  glasses  and  plates.    Among  the  presents  made  to  the  Society 
are  a  punch-ladle,  from  Barrington  Bradshaw;   Sir  John  Boyd,  six  spoons;  mustard-pot,  by  John 
Trevanion,  M.P. ;  two  dozen  water-plates  and  eight  dishes,  given  by  the  Duke  of  Sussex ;  cruet-stand, 
by  W.  Holland ;  vinegar-cruet,  by  Thomas  Scott.    Lord  Suffolk  gave  a  silver  cheese-toaster ;  toasted  or 
stewed  cheese  being  the  wind-up  of  the  dinner. — (See  the  fullest  account  of  the  Beef-steak  Society,  in 
Club  Life  of  London,  vol.  i.  pp.  123 — 149 :  1866.    See,  also,  Ned  Ward's  account  of  the  Society,  in  its 
early  days.) 

There  was  also  a  Beef-steak  Club,  which  is  mentioned  by  Ned  Ward  in  1709 ;  Peg 
Woffington  was  a  member,  and  the  president  wore  an  emblem,  a  gold  gridiron. 

Among  the  other  Beef-steak  Societies  or  Clubs  was  the  Club  in  Ivy-lane,  of  which 
Dr.  Johnson  was  a  member ;  a  political  Club,  "  the  Rump-steak  or  Liberty  Club,"  in 
existence  in  1733-4,  in  eager  opposition  to  Sir  Robert  Walpole;  and  at  the  Bell 
Tavern,  Houndsditch,  was  held  the  Beef-steak  Club,  established  by  Beard,  Woodward, 
&c. — See  Memoirs  of  Charles  Lee  Leicis,  vol.  ii.  p.  196. 

Blue-Stocking  Cltxb,  the,  met  at  the  house  of  Mrs.  Montague,  at  the  north- 
west angle  of  Portman-square.  Forbes,  in  his  Life  of  Beattie,  gives  the  following 
account :  "  This  Society  consisted  originally  of  Mrs.  Montague,  Mrs.  Vesey,  Miss 
Boscawen,  and  Mrs.  Carter,  Lord  Lyttelton,  Mr.  Pulteney,  Horace  Walpole,  and  Mr. 
Stillingfleet.  To  the  latter  this  constellation  of  talents  owed  that  whimsical  appella- 
tion of  '  Bas-Bleu.'  Mr.  Stillingfleet  being  somewhat  of  a  humorist  in  his  habits 
and  manners,  and  a  little  negligent  in  his  dress,  literally  wore  grey  stockings  j  from 
which  circumstance  Admiral  Boscawen  used,  by  way  of  pleasantry,  to  call  them  '  The 
Blue-Stocking  Society,'  as  if  to  intimate  that  when  these  brilliant  friends  met  it  was 
not  for  the  purpose  of  forming  a  dressed  assembly.  A  foreigner  of  distinction  hearing 
the  expression,  translated  it  literally  '  Bas-Bleu,'  by  which  these  meetings  came  to  be 
afterwards  distinguished."  Dr.  Johnson  sometimes  joined  this  circle.  The  last  of  the 
Club  was  the  lively  Miss  Monckton,  afterwards  Countess  of  Cork,  "  who  used  to  have 
the  finest  bit  of  blue  at  the  house  of  her  mother  Lady  Gal  way."  Lady  Cork  died  at 
upwards  of  ninety  years  of  age  at  her  house  in  New  Burlington-street,  in  1850. 

B  2 


244  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

British  and  Foreign  Institute,  George-street,  Hanover-square,  was  formed  by- 
James  Silk  Buckingham,  under  the  patronage  of  Prince  Albert,  who  was  present  at 
the  opening,  in  1841.  The  leading  object  of  the  Institute  was  to  afford  a  point  of 
union  for  literary  and  scientific  men  from  all  quarters  of  the  globe,  without  distinction 
of  nation,  politics,  or  creed ;  to  give  facilities  of  introduction  to  strangers  visiting  the 
metropolis  from  the  country ;  and  to  add  to  the  attractions  of  literature,  science,  and 
art,  the  refinements  and  grace  of  female  society.  The  Club-rooms  had  the  accommo- 
dations of  a  family  hotel.     The  Institute  did  not  long  exist. 

Brothers'  Club,  the,  was  founded  in  1711,  by  Lord  Bolingbroke,  for  conversation 
and  moderate  conviviality,  but  intended  to  eschew  the  drunkenness  and  extravagance 
of  the  Kit  Kat  and  Beefsteak  Clubs.  Among  the  other  members,  besides  himself  and 
Swift,  were  Arbuthnot,  Prior,  Sir  William  Windham,  Orrery,  and  the  Duke  of  Ormond ; 
Masham  and  his  brother-in-law  Hill  (?)  were  also  Brothers.  They  used  to  dine  at  the 
Star  and  Garter,  in  Pall  Mall,  latterly,  to  which  tavern  they  had  been  induced  to 
transfer  their  custom,  owing  to  the  dearness  of  their  previous  landlord. 

Carlton  Club,  the,  Pall  Mall,  is  a  purely  political  Club,  and  was  founded  by  the 
late  Duke  of  Wellington,  and  a  few  of  his  most  influential  political  friends.  It  first 
held  its  meetings  in  Charles-street,  St.  James's,  in  the  year  1831.  In  the  following 
year  it  removed  to  larger  premises,  Lord  Kensington's  house,  in  Carlton-gardens.  In 
1836  an  entirely  new  house  was  built  for  the  club,  in  Pall  Mall,  by  Sir  Robert  Smirke, 
R.A.,  small  in  extent,  and  plain  and  inexpensive  in  its  architecture.  As  the  Club  grew 
in  numbers  and  importance,  the  building  soon  became  inadequate  to  its  wants.  In 
1846,  a  very  large  addition  was  made  to  it  by  Mr.  Sydney  Smirke ;  and  in  1854  the 
whole  of  the  original  building  was  taken  down  and  rebuilt  by  Mr.  Smirke,  upon  a 
sumptuous  scale,  in  florid  Italian  style,  nearly  a  fac-simile  of  Sansovino's  Library  of  St. 
Mark,  at  Venice  :  the  lower  order  Doric,  the  upper  Ionic ;  the  six  intercolumniations 
occupied  by  arched  windows,  with  bold  keystones,  and  the  upper  window  spandrels, 
filled  with  sculpture ;  above  are  a  decorated  frieze,  rich  cornice,  and  massive  balustrade. 
The  facade  is  of  Caen  stone,  but  the  shafts  and  pilasters  are  of  polished  Peterhead 
granite.     This  new  portion  is  intended  to  form  one-third  of  the  entire  facade. 

Cavendish  Club,  the,  307,  Regent- street,  occupies  one-half  of  the  upper  facade  of 
the  Polytechnic  Institution,  the  entrance  being  wholly  distinct.  The  Reading-room, 
42  feet  square,  and  20  feet  high,  has  a  larger  supply  of  foreign  and  colonial  news- 
papers and  literature  than  any  other  Club  in  the  metropolis;  the  Cavendish  presents 
all  the  usual  conveniences  of  a  Club,  except  dinners. 

Chess  Clubs,  see  page  95. 

City  Club-house,  19,  Old  Broad-street,  occupying  the  site  of  the  old  South  Sea 
House,  was  built  in  1833,  from  the  design  of  Hardwick,  R.A.  The  style  is  handsome 
Palladian ;  the  only  sculpture  is  a  rich  festooned  garland  over  the  doorway.  The 
Club  consists  of  merchants,  bankers,  and  professional  men  of  the  City. 

City  Club,  New,  George-yard,  Lombard-street,  intended  for  merchants  in  the 
City,  was  erected  from  a  design  by  J.  H.  Rowley,  architect,  at  the  cost  of  50,000£. : 
it  is  the  property  of  a  company  of  merchants,  who  reserve  to  themselves  the  power  of 
admitting  fresh  members.  The  front  is  of  Portland  stone,  and  in  the  centre  the  columns 
and  pilasters  are  of  polished  red  granite.  The  frontage  in  George-yard  is  upwards  of 
100  feet,  and  there  is  an  additional  frontage  and  entrance  in  Bell-yard,  Gracechurch- 
street.  The  club-house  is  approached  from  George-yard  through  a  Doric  portico  and 
vestibule  with  granite  columns  and  pilasters.  The  windows  have  carved  key-stones,  and 
fruits  and  flowers  over  the  architraves.  The  frieze  and  cornice  are  also  enriched. 
An  agreeable  novelty  in  decoration  has  been  introduced  by  means  of  enamelled  slate  in 
panels,  imitating  malachite  and  other  marble,  on  the  staircase  walls.  The  rooms  are  all 
decorated  in  gilding  and  colours,  each  having  its  own  distinctive  character  as  to  colour. 

Civil  Service  Club,  the,  upon  the  site  of  the  Thatched  House  Tavern,  St. 
James's-street,  James  Knowles,  jun.,  architect,  is  occupied  by  an  association  of  gentle- 
men connected  with  the  several  branches  of  the  Civil  Service.  The  facade,  99  feet 
high,  is  entirely  of  stone,  and  has  a  very  elegant  bay  window;  the  decorative  carving, 
by  Daymond,  represents  real  foliage  and  birds  instead  of  mere  conventional  ornaments. 


CLUBS  AND  CLUB-HOUSES.  245 

In  excavating  the  foundations — which  were  carried  30ft.  below  the  level  of  the  street, 
their  superficial  extent  being  about  7500  square  feet — a  collection  of  fossils  was 
discovered,  including  a  good  specimen  of  a  lion's  jaw  and  a  variety  of  mammoth  bones, 
the  ancient  denizens  of  the  spot  in  centuries  long  passed ;  below  this  surface  the  earth 
was  pierced  another  80  ft.,  to  which  depth  the  main  tube  of  the  hydraulic  apparatus 
descends,  its  lifting  power  being  obtained  by  the  gradual  rise  of  water  let  into  the  tube  as 
required.  The  Club-house  rises  above  the  surrounding  buildings ;  there  is  an  exten- 
sive panoramic  view  of  town  and  country  from  its  upper  rooms,  to  which  access  is 
obtained  by  two  staircases,  or  by  an  hydraulic  lift,  which  communicates  with  every 
floor,  and  is  of  the  newest  and  safest  construction. 

Civil  Club,  established  in  1669,  three  years  after  the  Great  Fire,  exists  to  this 
day.  One  of  the  fundamental  rules  was,  that  but  one  person  of  the  same  trade  or  pro- 
fession should  be  a  member,  the  design  being  to  render  mutual  assistance  in  business 
matters — a  very  desirable  object,  especially  after  the  great  calamity  above  referred  to. 
The  Club  appears  to  have  been  a  sort  of  court  of  appeal  also.  Thus,  if  one  member 
in  his  dealings  with  another  did  not  feel  satisfied  with  the  quality  or  quantity  of  the 
goods  served  to  him,  he  could  lay  his  grievance  before  the  Club,  who  would  decide  the 
matter.  Of  course,  the  rules  have  been  somewhat  modified,  to  meet  the  advanced 
spirit  of  the  times.  The  law  excluding  two  of  a  trade  is  adhered  to,  to  some  extent. 
The  Civil  Club  met  for  many  years  at  the  Old  Ship  Tavern,  Water-lane,  whence  it 
removed  to  the  Xew  Corn  Exchange  Tavern,  Mark-lane.  The  records  show  that 
among  former  members  were  Parliament-men,  baronets,  and  aldermen  ;  the  chaplain 
is  the  incumbent  of  St.  Olave-by-the-Tower,  Hart-street.  Two  high  carved  chairs,  bear- 
ing date  1669,  are  used  by  the  Stewards.     This  is  the  oldest  Club  in  existence. 

Clietoed-steeet  Clcb  was,  in  the  last  century,  a  debating  Society,  which  met  once 
a  month  at  the  Clifford-street  Coffee-house,  at  the  corner  of  Bond-street.  The  debaters 
were  chiefly  Mackintosh,  Richard  Sharp,  a  Mr.  Ollyett  Woodhouse ;  Charles  Moore,  son 
of  the  celebrated  traveller ;  and  Lord  Charles  Townshend,  fourth  son  of  the  facetious 
and  eccentric  Marquis.  The  great  primitive  principles  of  civil  government  were  then 
much  discussed.  It  was  before  the  French  Revolution  had  "  brought  death  into  the 
world  and  all  its  woe." 

At  the  Clifford  street  Society,  Canning  generally  took  "  the  Liberal  side  "of  the 
above  questions.  His  earliest  prepossessions  are  well  known  to  have  inclined  to  this 
side ;  but  he  evidently  considered  the  Society  rather  as  a  school  of  rhetorical  exercise, 
where  he  might  acquire  the  use  of  bis  weapons,  than  a  forum,  where  the  serious  pro- 
fession of  opinions,  and  a  consistent  adherence  to  them,  could  be  fairly  expected  of  him. 

Club  Chambees,  St.  James's-square,  north  corner  of  King-street  (formerly  the 
mansion  of  Lord  Castlereagh,  d.  1822),  has  been  refronted  in  cement,  in  the  Italian 
palazzo  style  (Johnson,  architect)  :  the  ground-floor  has  some  good  vermiculated  rustic- 
work,  and  the  windows  of  the  King-street  front  are  piquant. 

Club  Chambees,  Begent-street,  west  side,  between  Pall  Mall  and  Piccadilly,  was 
built  in  1839,  by  Decimus  Burton,  cost  26,0O0£.  The  style  is  Italian ;  the  ground- 
story  is  rusticated,  and  terminated  by  a  lace  band,  or  string-course,  enriched  with  the 
Vitruvian  scroll ;  this  forms  a  basement  to  three  other  stories,  surmounted  by  a  bold 
and  enriched  cornice.  The  principal  floor  has  handsome  balconies,  Corinthian  columns, 
and  pediments ;  but  the  whole  facade  is  too  narrow  for  its  height.  The  entrance  is 
beneath  a  portico  with  coupled  Doric  columns.  The  building  contains  77  chambers, 
coffee  and  dining-rooms,  and  offices.  The  whole  is  ventilated,  and  warmed  by  hot 
water,  with  complete  skill ;  and  is  supplied  with  water  from  a  well  250  feet  deep, 
which  is  raised  to  the  attic  story  by  a  steam-engine,  also  employed  for  lifting  coals, 
furniture,  &c.  The  Chambers  are  let  in  suites  by  the  proprietors.  They  occupy  the 
site  of  a  house  built  by  Mr.  Nash  for  Charles  Blicke,  Esq. ;  it  was  filled  with  articles 
of  vertu  and  superb  decoration ;  among  which  was  a  small  circular  temple,  supported 
by  Corinthian  columns  with  brass  capitals ;  and  a  conservatory  embellished  with 
models  from  Canova.  Altogether,  this  was  one  of  the  most  elaborately-decorated  houses 
in  the  metropolis. 

Cocoa- teee  Club,  the,  was  the  Tory  Chocolate-house  of  Queen  Anne's  reign  ;  the 


246  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Whig  Coffee-house  was  the  St.  James's,  lower  down,  in  the  same  street,  St.  James's. 
The  party  distinction  is  thus  defined : — "  A  Whig  will  no  more  go  to  the  Cocoa-tree  or 
Ozinda's,  than  a  Tory  will  he  seen  at  the  coffee-house  of  St.  James's."  The  Cocoa- 
tree  Chocolate-house  was  converted  into  a  Cluh,  probably  before  1746,  when  the  house 
was  the  head-quarters  of  the  Jacobite  party  in  Parliament.  Horace  Walpole,  in  a 
letter  to  George  Montagu,  says : — "  The  Duke  has  given  Brigadier  Mordaunt  the 
Pretender's  coach,  on  condition  he  rode  up  to  London  in  it.  '  That  I  will,  sir,'  said  he ; 
*  and  drive  till  it  stops  of  its  own  accord  at  the  Cocoa-tree.'  "  Gibbon  was  a  member 
of  this  Club,  and  has  left  this  entry,  in  his  journal  of  1762  :— 

"  Nov.  24. — I  dined  at  the  Cocoa-tree  with  *  *  *,  who,  under  a  great  appearance  of  oddity,  conceals 
more  real  humour,  good  sense,  and  even  knowledge,  than  half  those  who  laugh  at  him.  We  went 
thence  to  the  play  (The  Spanish  Friar) ;  and,  when  it  was  over,  retired  to  the  Cocoa-tree.  That  respect- 
able body,  of  which  I  have  the  honour  of  being  a  member,  affords  every  evening  a  sight  truly  English. 
Twenty  or  thirty,  perhaps,  of  the  first  men  in  the  kingdom  in  point  of  fashion  and  fortune,  supping  at 
little  tables  covered  with  a  napkin,  in  the  middle  of  a  coffee-room,  upon  a  bit  of  cold  meat,  or  a  sandwich, 
and  drinking  a  glass  of  punch.  At  present  we  are  full  of  King's  counsellors  and  lords  of  the  bed- 
chamber, who,  having  jumped  into  the  ministry,  make  a  very  singular  medley  of  their  old  principles 
and  language  with  their  modern  ones." 

Bribery,  high  play,  and  foul  play,  were  common  at  the  Cocoa-tree.  Walpole  tells, 
in  1780,  of  a  cast  at  hazard  here  to  180,000Z.  The  Cocoa-tree  was  one  of  the  Clubs 
to  which  Lord  Byron  belonged. 

Conservative  Cltjb-hotjse,  on  the  site  of  the  old  Thatched  House  Tavern,  74,  St. 
James's-street,  was  designed  by  Sydney  Smirke  and  George  Basevi,  1845.  The  upper 
portion  is  Corinthian,  with  columns  and  pilasters,  and  a  frieze  sculptured  with  the 
imperial  crown  and  oak- wreaths ;  the  lower  order  is  Roman  Doric ;  and  the  wings  are 
slightly  advanced,  with  an  enriched  entrance-porch  north,  and  a  bow-window  south. 
The  interior  is  superbly  decorated  in  colour  by  Sang :  the  coved  hall,  with  a  gallery 
round  it,  and  the  domed  vestibule  above  it,  is  a  fine  specimen  of  German  encaustic 
embellishment,  in  the  arches,  soffites,  spandrels,  and  ceilings ;  and  the  hall  floor  is 
tesselated,  around  a  noble  star  of  marqueterie.  The  evening  room,  on  the  first  floor, 
nearly  100  feet  in  length  and  26  in  breadth,  has  an  enriched  coved  ceiling,  and  a 
beautiful  frieze  of  the  rose,  shamrock,  and  thistle,  supported  by  scagliola  Corinthian 
columns ;  the  morning  room,  beneath,  is  of  the  same  dimensions,  with  Ionic  pillars. 
The  library,  in  the  upper  story  north,  has  columns  and  pilasters  with  bronzed  capitals ; 
and  beneath  is  the  coffee-room.  Here  is  no  grained  or  imitative  wood-work,  the 
doors  and  fittings  being  wainscot-oak,  bird's-eye  maple,  and  sycamore.  The  kitchen 
is  skilfully  planned ;  exceeding  the  Reform  Club  kitchen  in  completeness. 

This  is  the  second  Club  of  the  Conservative  party,  and  many  of  its  chiefs  are 
honorary  members,  but  rarely  enter  it ;  the  late  Sir  Bobert  Peel  is  said  never  to  have 
entered  this  Club-house,  except  to  view  the  interior. 

County  Club,  the  (Proprietary),  43  and  44,  Albemarle-street,  consists  of  noblemen, 
members  of  the  Church,  the  learned  professions,  officers  of  the  army  and  navy,  and 
gentlemen,  without  reference  to  political  distinction.  The  Duke  of  Wellington, 
president  of  the  committee,  1866. 

Coventry  House  Club  (the  Ambassadors')  was  at  106,  Piccadilly :  the  mansion 
occupies  the  site  of  the  old  Greyhound  Inn,  and  was  bought  by  the  Earl  of  Coventry 
of  Sir  Hugh  Hunlock,  in  1764,  for  10,000/.,  and  751.  per  annum  ground  rent. 

Cbockeord's  Club-house,  50,  west  side  of  St.  James's-street,  was  built  for  Crockford 
in  1827 ;  B.  and  P.  Wyatt,  architect.  It  consists  of  two  wings  and  a  centre,  with 
four  Corinthian  pilasters  with  entablature,  and  a  balustrade  throughout ;  the  ground- 
floor  has  Venetian  windows,  and  the  upper  story  large  French  windows.  The  entrance 
hall  has  a  screen  of  Boman-Ionic  scagliola  columns  with  gilt  capitals,  and  a  cupola  of 
gilding  and  stained  glass.  The  coffee-room  and  library  have  Ionic  columns,  from  the 
Temple  of  Minerva  Polias ;  the  staircase  is  panelled  with  scagliola,  and  enriched  with 
Corinthian  columns.  The  grand  drawing-room  is  in  the  style  of  Louis  Quatorze : 
azure  ground,  with  elaborate  cove,  ceiling  enrichments  bronze-gilt,  doorway  paintings 
a  la  Watteau ;  and  panelling,  masks,  and  terminals  heavily  gilt.  The  interior  was 
redecorated  in  1849,  and  opened  for  the  Military,  Naval,  and  County  Service  Club,  but 
was  closed  in  1851.     It  is  now  "  the  Wellington"  Dining-rooms. 


CLUBS  AND   CLUB-HOUSES.  247 


Crockford  started  in  life  as  a  fishmonger,  in  the  old  bulk-shop  next  door  to  Temple  Bar  Without, 
which  he  quitted  for  "  play  "  in  St.  James's.  He  began  by  taking  Watier's  old  Club-house,  where  he 
set  up  a  hazard-bank,  and  won  a  great  deal  of  money ;  he  then  separated  from  his  partner,  who  had  a 
bad  year,  and  failed.  Crockford  now  removed  to  St.  James's-street,  had  a  good  year,  and  built  the 
magnificent  Club-house  which  bore  his  name;  the  decorations  alone  are  said  to  have  cost  him  94,0002. 
The  election  of  the  Club  members  was  vested  in  a  committee;  the  house  appointments  were  superb, 
and  Ude  was  engaged  as  maitre  d'kotel.  "  Crockford's "  now  became  the  high  fashion.  Card-tables 
were  regularly  placed,  and  whist  was  played  occasionally ;  but  the  aim,  end,  and  final  cause  of  the  whole 
was  the  hazard-bank,  at  which  the  proprietor  took  his  nightly  stand,  prepared  for  all  comers.  His 
speculation  was  eminently  successful.  During  several  years,  everything  that  any  body  had  to  lose  and 
cared  to  risk  was  swallowed  up ;  and  Crockford  became  a  millionaire.  He  retired  in  1840,  "  much  as  an 
Indian  chief  retires  from  a  hunting  country  when  there  is  not  game  enough  left  for  his  tribe ;"  and  the 
Club  then  tottered  to  its  fall.  After  Crockford's  death,  the  lease  of  the  Club-house  (thirty-two  years, 
rent  140W.)  was  sold  for  2900Z. 

Dilettanti  Society  originated  in  1734,  with  a  party  of  Dilettanti  (lovers  of  the 
fine  arts),  who  had  travelled  or  resided  in  Italy.  In  1764,  they  commissioned  certain 
artists  to  journey  to  the  East,  to  illustrate  its  antiquities ;  and  hy  the  aid  of  the  Society 
several  important  works,  including  Stuart's  Athens,  have  heen  published.  The  Dilettanti 
met  at  Parsloe's,  in  St.  James's-street,  whence  they  removed  to  the  Thatched  House,  in 
1799,  where  they  dined  on  Sundays  from  February  to  July. 

In  the  list  of  members,  between  1770  and  1790,  occur  the  names  of  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds,  Earl  Fitz- 
william,  Charles  James  Fox,  Hon.  Stephen  Fox  (Lord  Holland),  Hon.  Mr.  Fitzpatrick,  Charles  Howard, 
Duke  of  Norfolk,  Lord  Robert  Spencer,  George  Selwyn,  Colonel  Fitzgerald,  Hon.  H.  Conway,  Joseph 
Banks,  Duke  of  Dorset,  Sir  William  Hamilton,  David  Garriek,  George  Colman,  Joseph  Windham,  R. 
Payne  Knight,  Sir  George  Beaumont,  Towneley,  and  others  of  less  posthumous  fame. 

The  funds  of  the  Society  were  largely  benefited  by  the  payment  of  fines.  Those 
paid  "  on  increase  of  income,  by  inheritance,  legacy,  marriage,  or  preferment,"  are  very 
odd :  as,  five  guineas  by  Lord  Grosvenor,  on  his  marriage  with  Miss  Leveson  Gower ; 
eleven  guineas  by  the  Duke  of  Bedford,  on  being  appointed  First  Lord  of  the 
Admiralty;  ten  guineas  compounded  for  by  Bubb  Dodington,  as  Treasurer  of  the 
Navy ;  two  guineas  by  the  Duke  of  Kingston  for  a  Colonelcy  of  Horse  (then  valued 
at  400Z.  per  annum) ;  twenty-one  pounds  by  Lord  Sandwich  on  going  out  as  Ambassador 
to  the  Congress  at  Aix-la-Chapelle ;  and  twopence  three-farthings  by  the  same  noble- 
man, on  becoming  Recorder  of  Huntingdon ;  thirteen  shillings  and  fourpence  by  the 
Duke  of  Bedford,  on  getting  the  Garter ;  and  sixteen  shillings  and  eightpence  (Scotch) 
by  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch,  on  getting  the  Thistle ;  twenty -one  pounds  by  the  Earl  of 
Holdernesse,  as  Secretary  of  State ;  and  nine  pounds,  nineteen  shillings  and  sixpence, 
by  Charles  James  Fox,  as  a  Lord  of  the  Admiralty. 

The  Society,  in  1835,  included,  among  a  list  of  sixty-four  names,  those  of  Sir  William  Gell,  Mr. 
Towneley,  Richard  Westmacott,  Henry  Hallam,  the  Duke  of  Bedford,  Sir  M.  A.  Shee,  P.R.A.,  Henry  T. 
Hope ;  and  Lord  Prudhoe,  afterwards  Duke  of  Northumberland. 

The  Dilettanti  have  never  built  themselves  a  mansion.  They  continued  to  meet  at 
the  Thatched  House  Tavern,  the  large  room  of  which  was  hung  with  portraits  of  the 
Dilettanti.     Sir  Joshua  Reynolds  painted  for  the  Society  three  capital  pictures  :— 

1.  A  group,  in  the  manner  of  Paul  Veronese,  containing  the  portraits  of  the  Duke  of  Leeds,  Lord 
Dnndas,  Constantine  Lord  Mulgrave,  Lord  Seaforth,  the  Hon.  Charles  Greville,  Charles  Crowle,  Esq., 
and  Sir  Joseph  Banks.  2.  A  group,  in  the  manner  of  the  same  master,  containing  portraits  of  Sir 
William  Hamilton,  Sir  Watkin  W.  Wynne,  Richard  Thomson,  Ksq.,  Sir  John  Taylor,  Payne  Galway, 
Esq.,  John  Smythe,  Esq.,  and  Spencer  S.  Stanhope,  Esq.  3.  Head  of  Sir  Joshua,  dressed  in  a  loose 
robe,  in  his  own  hand.    The  earlier  portraits  in  the  collection  are  by  Hudson,  Reynolds's  master. 

There  is  a  mixture  of  the  convivial  in  the  portraits  j  many  are  using  wine-glasses, 
and  of  a  small  size.  Lord  Sandwich,  in  a  Turkish  costume,  has  a  brimming  goblet  in 
his  left  hand,  and  a  capacious  flask  in  his  right.  Sir  Bourchier  Wray  is  mixing  punch 
in  the  cabin  of  a  ship  ;  the  Earl  of  Holdernesse,  in  a  red  cap,  as  a  gondolier,  Venice  in 
the  background ;  Charles  Sackville,  Duke  of  Dorset,  as  a  Roman  senator,  dated  1738  j 
Lord  Galloway,  in  the  dress  of  a  Cardinal ;  Lord  Le  Despencer  as  a  monk  at  his  devo- 
tions. The  late  Lord  Aberdeen,  the  Marquises  of  Northampton  and  Lansdowne, 
Colonel  Lecky,  Mr.  Broderip,  and  Lord  Northwick,  were  members.  The  Society  now 
meet  at  the  Clarendon  Hotel ;  the  Thatched  House  being  taken  down.  An  excellent 
account  of  the  Dilettanti  Society  will  be  found  in  the  Edinburgh  Review,  No.  214. 
The  character  of  the  Club,  however,  became  changed ;  the  members  being  originally 
persons  almost  exclusively  devoted  to  art  and  antiquarian  studies.  The  Dilettanti  are 
now  a  publishing  society,  like  the  Roxburghe,  the  Camden,  and  others. 

East  India  United   Seevice  Cltjb-hotjse,  St.  James's-square,  was  erected  in 


248  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

1866,  upon  the  site  of  two  houses,  No.  14  and  15.  The  style  is  handsome  Italian; 
architect,  Charles  Lee.  The  East  India  United  Service  Club  was  founded,  in  1848,  to 
meet  the  wants  of  the  various  services  which  administer  the  Indian  Government.  It 
has,  however,  gradually  lost  its  exclusively  Indian  character,  especially  since  the  transfer 
of  our  Eastern  Empire  to  the  Queen,  and  it  has  now  on  its  rolls  many  officers  belonging 
to  the  home  forces.  The  Club  numbers  upwards  of  1760  members,  of  whom  generally 
about  800  are  in  England.  The  new  building  has  been  designed  to  accommodate  over 
1000  members.  The  classic  facade  next  the  new  Club-house  was  built  by  Athenian 
Stuart  for  Lord  Anson ;  and  No.  15  was  the  residence  of  Lady  Francis,  who  lent  the 
house  to  Caroline,  Queen  of  George  IV. 

Eccenteic  Clubs. — In  Ward's  Secret  History,  we  read  of  the  Golden  Fleece  Club, 
B  rattle-brained  society,  originally  held  at  a  house  in  Cornhill,  so  entitled.  They  were 
a  merry  company  of  tippling  citizens  and  jocular  change-brokers.  Each  member  on 
his  admission  had  a  characteristic  name  assigned  to  him ;  as,  Sir  Timothy  Addlepate, 
Sir  Nimmy  Sneer,  Sir  Talkative  Do-little,  Sir  Skinny  Fretwell,  Sir  Rumbus  Rattle, 
Sir  Boozy  Prate-all,  Sir  Nicholas  Ninny  Sipall,  Sir  Gregory  Growler,  Sir  Pay-little, 
&c.  The  Club  flourished  until  the  decease  of  the  leading  member ;  when  they  adjourned 
to  the  Three  Tuns,  Southwark.  "  It  appears,  by  their  books  in  general,  that,  since 
their  first  institution,  they  have  smoked  fifty  tons  of  tobacco,  drunk  thirty  thousand 
butts  of  ale,  one  thousand  hogsheads  of  red  port,  two  hundred  barrels  of  brandy,  and 
one  kilderkin  of  small  beer.     There  had  been  likewise  a  great  consumption  of  cards." 

Eccentrics,  The. — Late  in  the  last  century,  there  met  at  a  tavern  kept  by  one 
Fulham,  in  Chandos-street,  Covent-garden,  a  convivial  club  called  "  The  Eccentrics," 
which  was  an  offshoot  of  "  The  Brilliants."  They  next  removed  to  Tom  Rees's,  in 
May's-buildings,  St.  Martin's-lane ;  and  here  they  were  flourishing  at  all  hours,  some 
five-and-twenty  years  since.  Amongst  the  members  were  many  celebrities  of  the 
literary  and  political  world ;  they  were  always  treated  with  indulgence  by  the  authori- 
ties. An  inaugural  ceremony  was  performed  upon  the  making  of  a  member,  which 
terminated  with  a  jubilation  from  the  president.  The  books  of  the  Club,  up  to  the  time 
of  its  removal  from  May's-buildings,  are  stated  to  have  passed  into  the  possession  of 
Mr.  Lloyd,  the  hatter,  of  the  Strand,  who,  by  the  way,  was  eccentric  in  his  business, 
and  published  a  small  work  descriptive  of  the  various  fashions  of  hats  worn  in  his  time, 
illustrated  with  characteristic  engravings.  From  its  commencement,  the  Eccentrics  are 
said  to  have  numbered  upwards  of  40,000  members,  many  of  them  holding  high  social 
position :  among  others,  Fox,  Sheridan,  Lord  Melbourne,  and  Lord  Brougham.  On  the 
same  memorable  night  that  Sheridan  and  Lord  Petersham  were  admitted,  Hook  was 
also  enrolled ;  and  through  this  Club  membership,  Theodore  is  believed  to  have  obtained 
some  of  his  high  connexions.  In  a  novel,  published  in  numbers,  some  five-and-twenty 
years  since,  the  author,  F.  W.  N.  Bayley,  sketched  with  graphic  vigour  the  meetings 
of  the  Eccentrics  at  the  old  tavern  in  May's-buildings. — Club  Uje  of  London,  vol.  i. 
p.  308,  1866. 

Erechtheitjm  Club-house,  was  in  St.  James's-square  (entrance,  8,  York-street), 
and  was  the  house  of  Wedgwood,  whose  beautiful  "  ware"  was  shown  in  its  rooms. 
It  was  formerly  the  site  of  Romney  House ;  and  from  its  windows  William  III.  used 
to  witness  the  fireworks  in  the  Square  at  public  rejoicings.  The  Club,  long  extinct, 
was  established  by  Sir  John  Dean  Paul,  Bart.,  the  banker,  and  became  somewhat  noted 
for  its  good  dinners. 

Essex  Head  Club,  the,  was  established  by  Dr.  Johnson,  at  the  Essex  Head,  in 
Essex-street,  Strand,  then  kept  by  Samuel  Greaves,  an  old  servant  of  Mr.  Thralc's :  it 
was  called  "Sam's."  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds  refused  to  join  it;  but  Daines  Barrington, 
Dr.  Brocklesby,  Arthur  Murphy,  John  Nichols,  Dr.  Hursley,  and  Mr.  Windham,  and 
Boswell,  were  of  the  Club.  Dr.  Johnson  wrote  the  Rules,  when  he  invented  the  word 
"  clubbable."  Alderman  Clark,  Lord  Mayor  and  Chamberlain,  was,  probably,  the  last 
surviving  member  of  this  Club ;  he  died  in  1831,  aged  92. 

Farmers'  Club,  the,  originally  formed  at  the  York  Hotel,  Bridge-street,  Blackfriars, 
"  open  to  practical  farmers  and  scientific  men  of  all  countries,"  has  now  a  handsome  Club- 
house (the  Salisbury  Hotel),  Salisbury-square,  Fleet-street;  architect,  Giles ;  built  1865. 


CLUBS  AND   CLUB-7I0USES.  249 

Fielding  Club,  Maiden-lane,  Covent-garden.  Albert  Smith,  was  a  leading  mem- 
ber ;  and  the  Club  gave  several  amatenr  representations  "  for  the  immediate  relief  of 
emergencies  in  the  literary  or  theatrical  world." 

Foub-in-Hand  Club,  the,  originated  some  seventy  years  ago,  when  the  Hon. 
Charles  Finch,  brother  to  the  Earl  of  Aylesford,  used  to  drive  his  own  coach-and-four, 
disguised  in  a  livery  great-coat.  Soon  after,  "  Tommy  Onslow,"  Sir  John  Lade,  and 
others,  mounted  the  box  in  their  own  characters.  The  Four-in-Hand  combined 
gastronomy  with  equestrianism  and  charioteering  :  they  always  drove  out  of  town  to 
dinner.  The  vehicles  of  the  Club  which  were  formerly  used,  are  described  as  of  a 
hybrid  class,  quite  as  elegant  as  private  carriages,  and  lighter  than  even  the  mails. 
They  were  horsed  with  the  finest  animals  that  money  could  secure.  In  general,  the 
whole  four  in  each  carriage  were  admirably  matched;  grey  and  chestnut  were  the 
favourite  colours,  but  occasionally  very  black  horses,  or  such  as  were  freely  flecked  with 
white,  were  preferred.  The  master  generally  drove  the  team,  often  a  nobleman  of 
high  rank,  who  commonly  copied  the  dress  of  a  mail-coachman.  The  company  usually 
rode  outside,  but  two  footmen  in  rich  liveries  were  indispensable  on  the  back  seat ;  nor 
was  it  at  all  uncommon  to  see  some  splendidly-attired  female  on  the  box.  A  rule  of 
the  Club  was,  that  all  members  should  turn  out  three  times  a  week ;  and  the  start  was 
made  at  mid-day,  from  the  neighbourhood  of  Piccadilly,  through  which  tbey  passed  to 
the  Windsor-road — the  attendants  of  each  carriage  playing  on  their  silver  bugles. 
From  twelve  to  twenty  of  these  handsome  vehicles  often  left  London  together.  Forty 
years  back,  there  were  from  thirty -four  to  forty  four-in-hand  equipages  to  be  seen  con- 
stantly about  town.     Their  number  is  now  considerably  less. 

Gaeeick  Club-house,  Garrick-street,  Covent  Garden,  contains  a  collection  of 
theatrical  paintings  and  drawings,  assembled  by  Charles  Mathews,  the  elder,  and  be- 
queathed by  a  member  of  the  Club :  they  include  : 

Elliston  as  Octavian,  by  Singleton ;  Macklin  (aged  93),  by  Opie ;  Mrs.  Pritchard,  by  Hayman ;  Peg 
Woflington,  by  R.  Wilson;  Nell  Gwynne,  by  Sir  Peter  Lely;  Mrs.  Abington;  Samuel  Foote,  by  Sir 
Joshua  Reynolds;  Colley  Cibber  as  Lord  Foppington;  Mrs.  Bracegirdle;  Kitty  Give;  Mrs.  Robinson, 
after  Reynolds;  Garrick  as  Macbeth,  and  Mrs.  Pritchard,  Lady  Macbeth,  by  Zoffany;  Garrick  as 
Richard  III.,  by  Morland,  sen. ;  Young  Roscius,  by  Opie;  Quin,  by  Hogarth;  Rich  and  his  Family,  by 
Hogarth;  Charles  Mathews,  four  characters,  by  Harlowe;  Nat  Lee,  painted  in  Bedlam;  Anthony  Leigh 
as  the  Spanish  Friar,  by  Kneller ;  John  Liston,  by  Clint;  Munden,  by  Opie ;  John  Johnstone,  by  Shee; 
Lacy  in  three  characters,  by  Wright;  Scene  from  Charles  II., by  Clint ;  Mrs.  Siddons  as  Lady  Macbeth, 
by  Harlowe;  J.  P.  Kemble  as  Cato,  by  Lawrence;  Macready  as  Henry  IV.,  by  Jackson;  Edwin,  by  Gains- 
borough ;  the  twelve  of  the  School  of  Garrick ;  Kean,  Young,  Elliston,  and  Mrs.  Inchbald,  by  Harlowe ; 
Garrick  as  Richard  III.,  by  Loutherbourg ;  Rich  as  Harlequin ;  Moody  and  Parsons  in  the  "  Committee," 
by  Vandergucht;  King  as  Touchstone,  by  Zoffany;  Thomas  Dogget;  Henderson,  by  Gainsborough; 
Elder  Colman,  by  Reynolds;  Mrs.  Oldfield,  by  Kneller :  Mrs.  Billington;  Nancy  Dawson;  Screen  Scene 
from  the  "  School  for  Scandal,"  as  originally  cast;  Scene  from  "  Venice  Preserved  "  (Garrick  and  Mrs. 
Cibber),  by  Zoffany;  Scene  from  "Macbeth"  (Henderson);  Scene  from  "Love,  Law,  and  Physic" 
(Mathews,  Liston,  Blanchard, and  Emery),  by  Clint;  Scene  from  the  "  Clandestine  Marriage"  (King 
and  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Baddeley),  by  Zoffany ;  Weston  as  Billy  Button,  by  Zoffany.  The  following  have  been 
presented  to  the  Club:  Busts  of  Mrs.  Siddons  and  J.  P.  Kemble,  by  Mrs.  Siddons ;  of  Garrick,  Captain 
Marryat,  Dr.  Kitchiner,  and  Malibran ;  Garrick,  by  Roubiliac ;  Griffin  and  Johnson  in  the  "  Alchemist," 
by  Von  Bleeck ;  miniatures  of  Mrs.  Robinson  and  Peg  Woflington ;  Sketch  of  Kean,  by  Lambert ;  Gar- 
rick Mulberry-tree  Snuff-box;  Joseph  Harris  as  Cardinal  Wolsey, from  the  Strawberry-hill  Collection; 
proof  print  of  the  Trial  of  Queen  Katharine,  by  Harlowe.  In  the  Smoking-room  is  a  splendid  sea-piece, 
by  Stanfield ;  and  Balbec,  by  David  Roberts ;  portrait  of  R.  Keeley,  by  O'Ncil ;  Frederick  Yates  and 
Mrs.  Davison ;  also  a  statuette  of  Thackeray ;  and  a  most  valuable  collection  of  theatrical  prints. 

The  pictures  may  be  seen  by  the  personal  introduction  of  a  member  of  the  Club  on 
Wednesdays  (except  in  September),  between  eleven  and  three  o'clock.  The  Garrick 
Club  was  instituted  in  1831,  "  for  the  general  patronage  of  the  Drama ;  the  formation 
of  a  Theatrical  Library,  and  Works,  and  Costume;  and  for  bringing  together  the 
patrons  of  the  Drama,"  &c.  The  Garrick  is  noted  for  its  summer  gin-punch,  thus 
made :  Pour  half-a-pint  of  gin  on  the  outer  peel  of  a  lemon,  then  a  little  lemon-juice, 
a  glass  of  maraschino,  a  pint  and  a  quarter  of  water,  and  two  bottles  of  iced  soda-water. 
The  Club  originally  met  at  29,  King-street,  Covent  Garden,  previously  "  Probatt's" 
hotel.  The  old  place,  inconvenient  as  it  was,  will  long  preserve  the  interest  of  associa- 
tion for  the  older  members  of  the  Garrick.  From  James  Smith  (of  Rejected  Ad- 
dresses) to  Thackeray,  there  is  a  long  series  of  names  of  distinguished  men  who  have 
marie  the  Garrick  their  favourite  haunt,  and  whose  memories  are  connected  with  those 
rooms.  The  Club  removed  to  their  present  mansion,  built  for  them ;  Marrable, 
architect.     The  style  is  elegant  Italian. 


250  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Gbesham  Club-house,  Sfc.  Swithin's-lane,  King  William-street,  City,  was  built  in 
1844,  for  the  Club  named  after  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  who  founded  the  Royal  Ex- 
change. The  Club  consists  chiefly  of  merchants  and  professional  men.  The  style  of 
the  Club-house  (H.  Flower,  architect)  is  Italian,  from  portions  of  two  palaces  in  Venice. 

Gbillion's  Club,  of  which  the  Fiftieth  Anniversary  was  celebrated,  May  6,  1863, 
by  a  banquet  at  the  Clarendon,  the  Earl  of  Derby  in  the  chair,  was  founded  half  a 
century  since,  by  the  Parliamentary  men  of  the  time,  as  a  neutral  ground  on  which  they 
might  meet.  Politics  are  strictly  excluded  from  the  Club :  its  name  is  derived  from 
Grillion's  Hotel,  in  Albemarle-street,  at  which  the  Club  originally  met.  On  Jan.  30, 
1860,  there  was  sold  at  Puttick  and  Simpson's  a  series  of  seventy-nine  portraits  of 
members  of  this  Club,  comprising  statesmen,  members  of  the  Government,  and  other 
highly  distinguished  persons  during  the  last  half  century.  These  portraits,  all  of 
which  were  private  plates,  were  engraved  by  Lewis,  after  drawings  by  J.  Slater 
and  G.  Richmond.  There  were  also  four  duplicate  portraits,  a  vignette  title,  Rules  of 
the  Club,  and  list  of  its  members.  In  this  list,  the  only  original  surviving  members 
are  four. — Notes  and  Queries,  3rd  S.  j  May  23,  1863. 

The  members  present  at  the  50th  Anniversary  were  the  Earl  of  Derby,  K.G.,  chairman,  sup- 
ported by  the  Duke  of  Newcastle,  K.G.;  the  Earls  of  St.  Germans,  G.C.B.,  of  Devon,  of  Clarendon, 
K.G.,  G.C.B.,  of  Carnarvon,  of  Harrowby,  K.G.,  Somers,  and  of  Gosford;  Viscounts  Sydney,  G.C.B., 
and  Eversley ;  the  Bishop  of  Oxford ;  Lords  Stanley,  Elcho,  Robert  Cecil,  Clinton,  Lyttelton,  Wodehouse, 
Monteaglc,  Cranworth,  Ebury,  Chelmsford,  and  Taunton;  the  Secretaries  of  State  for  the  Home  and 
Indian  Departments;  the  Hous.  John  Ashley,  E.  Pleydell  Bouverie,  and  G.  M.  Fortescue;  the  Bight 
Hons.  Sir  P.  Baring,  Sir  Thomas  Premantle,  Spencer  Walpole,  Edward  Cardwell,  Sir  Edmund  Head,  and 
C.  B.  Adderley ;  Vice-Chancellor  Sir  W.  Page  Wood ;  the  Lord  Advocate ;  Sirs  P.  De  Grey  Egerton, 
Thomas  Dyke  Acland,  W.  Heathcote,  James  East,  J.  Shaw  Lefevre,  K.C.B.,  and  Hugh  Cairns;  Messrs. 
Hastings  Russell  and  Thomas  Dyke  Acland ;  Colonel  Wilson  Patten ;  Messrs.  Baring,  Buller,  Childers, 
C  C.  Greville,  Monckton  Milnes,  Morier,  Ker  Seymer,  W.  Stirling,  Wrightson,  and  Richmond.  The 
undermentioned  members  were  unavoidably  absent : — The  Marquis  of  Westminster,  K.G. ;  Earls  De 
Grey,  Russell,  and  Grosvenor ;  Viscounts  Sandon,  Stratford  de  Redcliffe,  G.C.B.,  and  Lovaine;  Lord 
Kingsdown,  the  Hon.  B.  Curzon,  Sir  C.  Lemon,  Sir  Roundell  Palmer,  and  the  Rev.  H.  Wellesley. 

Guaeds'  Club,  the,  was  formerly  housed  in  St.  James's-street,  next  Crockford's;  but, 
in  1850,  they  removed  to  Pall  Mall,  No.  70.  The  new  Club-house  was  designed  for  them 
by  Henry  Harrison,  and  is  remarkable  for  compactness  and  convenience.  The  architect 
has  adopted  some  portion  of  a  design  of  Sansovino's  in  the  lower  part  or  basement. 

Independents,  the,  established  in  1780,  was  a  Club  of  about  forty  members  of  the 
House  of  Commons,  opponents  of  the  Coalition  Ministry,  whose  principle  of  union  was 
a  resolution  to  take  neither  place,  pension,  nor  peerage.  In  a  few  years,  Wilberforce 
and  Bankes  were  the  only  ones  of  the  incorruptible  forty  who  were  not  either  peers, 
pensioners,  or  placemen. 

Ivy-lane  Club,  Paternoster-row,  was  formed  by  Dr.  Johnson ;  his  friend,  Dr. 
Richard  Bathurst ;  Hawksworth ;  and  Hawkins,  the  attorney,  afterwards  Sir  John 
Hawkins.  The  Club  was  shut  up  the  year  before  Johnson's  death.  About  this  time 
he  instituted  a  Club  at  the  Queen's  Arms,  St.  Paul's  Churchyard. 

Junioe  Caelton,  the,  was  instituted  in  1864,  and  "  is  a  political  Club  in  strict  con- 
nexion with  the  Conservative  party,  and  designed  to  promote  its  objects.  The  only 
pureons  eligible  for  admission  are  those  who  profess  Conservative  principles,  and  ac- 
knowledge the  recognised  leaders  of  the  Conservative  party,"  which  Rule  each  mem- 
ber, on  joining,  signs.  The  Club  is  temporarily  located  at  14,  Regent-street ;  but  a 
freehold  site  on  the  north  side  of  Pall  Mall  has  been  secured  for  a  new  Club-house,  to 
cost  37,000/.,  and  to  be  ready  in  1868.  The  Club,  in  May,  1866,  consisted  of  1624 
members ;  the  subscriptions  in  1865  amounted  to  17,081/. ;  cost  of  wines  and  spirits, 
3109Z. ;  cigars,  458/. 

King  of  Clubs,  the,  set  on  foot  about  1801,  by  Bobus  Smith  (brother  of  Sydney), 
met  at  the  Crown  and  Anchor  Tavern,  Strand.  Among  the  members  were  "  Conver- 
sation Sharp ;"  Scarlett,  afterwards  Lord  Abinger ;  Rogers,  the  poet ;  honest  John 
Allen ;  Dumont,  the  French  emigrant ;  Wishart,  and  Charles  Butler.  Curran  often 
met  Erskine  here. 

Kit-eat  Club,  a  society  of  thirty-nine  noblemen  and  gentlemen,  zealously  attached 
to  the  Protestant  succession  in  the  House  of  Hanover.  The  Club  is  said  to  have 
originated  about  1700,  in  Shire-lane,  Temple  Bar,  at  the  house  of  Christopher  Kat,  a 


CLUBS  AND   CLUB-HOUSES.  251 

pastrycook,  where  the  members  dined :  he  excelled  in  making  mutton-pies,  always  in 
the  bill  of  fare,  and  called  Kit-kats ;  hence  the  name  of  the  Society. 

Jacob  Tonson,  the  bookseller,  was  secretary.  Among  the  members  were  the  Dukes  of  Somerset,  Rich- 
mond, Grafton,  Devonshire,  and  Marlborough ;  and  (after  the  accession  of  George  I.)  the  Duke  of  New- 
castle, the  Earls  of  Dorset,  Sunderland,  Manchester,  Wharton,  and  Kingston ;  Lords  Halifax  and  Somers; 
Sir  Robert  Walpole,  Garth,  Vanbrugh,  Congreve,  Granville,  Addison,  Maynwaring,  Stepney,  and  Walsh. 
Pope  tells  us  that  "  the  day  Lord  Mohun  and  the  Earl  of  Berkeley  were  entered  of  the  Club,  Jacob  said 
he  saw  they  were  just  going  to  be  ruined.  When  Lord  Mohun  broke  down  the  gilded  emblem  on  the  top 
of  hi*  chair,  Jacob  complained  to  his  friends,  and  said  that  a  man  who  cQuld  do  that  would  cut  a  man's 
throat.  So  that  he  had  the  good  and  the  forms  of  the  Society  at  heart.  The  paper  was  all  in  Lord 
Halifax's  writing,  of  a  subscription  of  400  guineas  for  the  encouragement  of  good  comedies,  and  was 
dated  1709.  Soon  after  that  they  broke  up." — (Spence's  Anecdotes.)  Tonson  had  his  own  and  all  their 
portraits  painted  by  Sir  Godfrey  Kneller;  each  member  gave  him  his ;  and,  to  suit  the  room,  a  shorter 
canvas  was  used  (viz.,  36  by  28  inches),  but  sufficiently  long  to  admit  a  hand,  and  still  known  as  the  Kit- 
kat  size.  The  pictures,  42  in  number,  were  removed  to  Tonson's  seat  at  Barn  Elms,  where  he  built  a 
handsome  room  for  their  reception.  At  his  death  in  1736,  Tonson  left  them  to  his  great-nephew,  also 
an  eminent  bookseller,  who  died  in  1767.  The  pictures  were  then  removed  to  the  house  of  his  brother, 
at  Water-Oakley,  near  Windsor ;  and,  on  his  death,  to  the  house  of  Mr.  Baker,  of  Hertingfordbury, 
where  they  now  remain. 

Walpole  speaks  of  the  Club  as  "  the  patriots  that  saved  Britain,"  as  having  "  its  beginning  about  the 
Trial  of  the  Seven  Bishops  in  the  reign  of  James  II.,"  and  consisting  of  "the  most  eminent  men  who 
opposed  the  reign  of  that  arbitrary  monarch."  Garth  wrote  some  verses  for  the  toasting-glass  of  the 
Club,  which  have  immortalized  four  of  the  reigning  beauties  at  the  commencement  of  the  last  century: 
the  Ladies  Carlisle,  Essex,  Hyde,  and  Wharton.  Halifax  similarly  commemorated  the  charms  of  the 
Duchesses  of  St.  Albans,  Beaufort,  and  Richmond ;  Ladies  Sunderland  and  Mary  Churchill ;  and  Mdlle. 
Spanheime. 

Law  I>*STiTTJTioy,  the,  west  side  of  Chancery-lane,  was  built  in  1832  (Vulliamy, 
architect),  for  the  Law  Society  of  the  United  Kingdom ;  and  combines  a  valuable 
library  with  a  hall  and  office  of  registry,  with  Club  accommodation.  The  Chancery- 
lane  front  has  a  Grecian-Ionic  portico,  with  a  pediment  of  considerable  beauty ;  and 
the  Club  front  in  Bell-yard  resembles  that  of  an  Italian  palace.  The  Society  consists 
of  attorneys,  solicitors,  and  proctors  practising  in  Great  Britain  and  Ireland,  and  of 
Writers  to  the  Scottish  Signet  and  Courts  of  Justice ;  and  certificates  of  attorneys  and 
solicitors  must  be  registered  here  before  granted  by  the  Commissioners  of  Stamps. 
Law  lectures,  limited  to  one  hour,  are  delivered  here  during  term  in  the  Great  Hall. 

Litekaey  Club,  the,  was  founded  in  1764  by  a  knot  of  good  and  great  men,  who 
met  at  the  Turk's  Head  Tavern,  in  Soho,  first  at  the  corner  of  Greek-street  and  Comp- 
ton-street,  and  subsequently  in  Gerard-street,  the  founders  being  Sir  Joshua  Keynolds 
and  Dr.  Johnson.  The  members  were  limited  to  nine,  including  Reynolds,  Johnson, 
Hawkins,  and  Burke,  and  Goldsmith,  notwithstanding  Hawkins's  objection  to  Oliver  as 
"  a  mere  literary  drudge."  The  members  met  one  evening  at  seven  for  supper,  in 
1772.  The  supper  was  changed  to  a  dinner,  and  the  members  increased  to  twenty, 
and  it  was  at  length  resolved  that  it  should  never  exceed  forty.  In  1783  the  land- 
lord died,  and  the  tavern  was  converted  into  a  private  house.  The  members  then  re- 
moved to  Prince's,  in  Sackville-street ;  and  on  this  house  being  soon  shut  up  they 
removed  to  Baxter's,  afterwards  Thomas's,  in  Dover-street.  In  1792  they  removed  to 
Parsloe's,  in  St.  James's-street,  and  thence  to  the  Thatched  House,  in  the  same  street. 
The  reader  will  recollect  Lord  Chancellor  Thurlow's  rough  reply  to  the  prim  Peer, 
■who,  in  a  debate  in  the  House  of  Lords,  having  pompously  cited  certain  resolutions 
passed  by  a  party  of  noblemen  and  gentlemen  at  the  Thatched  House,  said,  "  As  to 
-what  the  noble  Lord  in  the  red  ribbon  told  us  he  had  heard  at  t he  ale-house"  &c. 
From  the  time  of  Garrick's  death,  the  Club  was  known  as  "  The  Literary  Club,"  since 
which  it  has  certainly  lost  its  claim  to  this  epithet.  It  was  originally  a  club  of  authors 
by  profession  ;  it  now  numbers  few  except  titled  members,  which  was  very  far  from 
the  intention  of  the  founders.     The  name  of  the  Club  is  now  "  The  Johnson." 

The  centenary  of  the  Club  was  commemorated  in  1864  at  the  Clarendon,  when  were  present — in  the ' 
chair,  the  Dean  of  St.  Paul's;  his  Excellency  M.  van  de  Weyer,  Earls  Clarendon  and  Stanhope,  the 
Bishops  of  London  and  Oxford;  Lords  Brougham,  Stanley,  Cranworth,  Kingsdown, and  Harry  Vane; 
the  Right  Hon.  Sir  Edmund  Head,  Spencer  Walpole,  and  Robert  Lowe ;  Sir  Henry  Holland,  Sir  C.  East- 
lake,  Sir  Roderick  Murchison,  Vice-chancellor  Sir  W.  Page  Wood,  the  Master  of  Trinity,  Professor 
Owen,  Mr.  G.  Grote,  Mr.  C.  Austen,  Mr.  H.  Reeve,  and  Mr.  G.  Richmond.  Among  the  few  members 
prevented  from  attending  were  the  Duke  of  Argyll,  the  Earl  of  Carlisle,  Earl  Russell,  the  Chancellor  of 
the  Kxchequer,  Lord  Overstone,  Lord  Glenelg,  and  Mr.  W.  Stirling.  Mr.  N.  W.  Senior,  who  was  the 
politicid  economist  of  the  Club,  died  a  few  days  previously.  The  Secretary  is  Dr.  Milman,  Dean  of  St. 
Paul  s ;  who  keeps  the  books  and  archives  of  the  Club ;  the  autographs  are  valuable.  Among  the  me- 
morials is  the  portrait  of  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds,  with  spectacles  on,  which  he  painted  and  presented  to 
the  Club.— See  Club  Life  of  London,  vol.  i.  pp.  204—218.    1866. 


252  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

Mermaid  Club,  the,  was  long  said  to  have  been  held  in  Friday-street,  Cheap- 
side  ;  but  Ben  Jonson  has  settled  it  in  Bread-street ;  and  Mr.  W.  Hunter,  in  his 
Notes  on  Shakspeare,  has,  in  a  schedule  of  1603,  "  Mr.  Johnson,  at  the  Mermaid,  in 
Bread-street."  Mr.  Burn,  in  the  Beaufoy  Catalogue,  explains :  "  The  Mermaid  in 
Bread-street,  the  Mermaid  in  Friday-street,  and  the  Mermaid  in  Cheap,  were  all  one 
and  the  same.  The  tavern,  situated  behind,  had  a  way  to  it  from  these  thoroughfares, 
but  was  nearer  to  Bread-street  than  Friday-street."  Mr.  Burn  adds,  in  a  note,  "  The 
site  of  the  Mermaid  is  clearly  defined,  from  the  circumstance  of  W.  R.,  a  haberdasher 
of  small  wares,  '  'twixt  Wood-street  and  Milk-street,'  adopting  the  same  sign  •  over 
against  the  Mermaid  Tavern  in  Cheapside.' "  The  tavern  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire. 

Here  Sir  Walter  Raleigh  is  traditionally  said  to  have  instituted  "The  Mermaid  Club."  Gifford  has 
thus  described  the  Club,  adopting  the  tradition  and  the  Friday-street  location:— "About  this  time 
[1603 J  Jonson  probably  began  to  acquire  that  turn  for  conviviality  for  which  he  was  afterwards  noted, 
Sir  Walter  Raleigh,  previously  to  his  unfortunate  engagement  with  the  wretched  Cobham  and  others, 
had  instituted  a  meeting  of  beaux  espritt  at  the  Mermaid,  a  celebrated  tavern  in  Friday-street.  Of  this 
Club,  which  combined  more  talent  and  genius  than  ever  met  together  before  or  since,  our  author  was  a 
member;  and  here  for  many  years  he  regularly  repaired,  with  Shakspeare,  Beaumont,  Fletcher,  Selden, 
Cotton,  Carew,  Martin,  Donne,  and  many  others,  whose  names,  even  at  this  distant  period,  call  up  a 
mingled  feeling  of  reverence  and  respect."  But  this  is  doubted.  A  writer  in  the  Athenceum,  Sept.  16, 
1865,  states :— "  The  origin  of  the  commoD  tale  of  Raleigh  founding  the  Mermaid  Club,  of  which  Shak- 
speare is  said  to  have  been  a  member,  has  not  been  traced.  Is  it  older  than  Gifford  ?"  Again  :  "  Gifford's 
apparent  invention  of  the  Mermaid  Club.  Prove  to  us  that  Raleigh  founded  the  Mermaid  Club,  that 
the  wits  attended  it  under  his  presidency,  and  you  will  have  made  a  real  contribution  to  our  knowledge 
of  Shakspeare's  time,  even  if  you  fail  to  show  that  our  Poet  was  a  member  of  that  Club."  The  tradition, 
it  is  thought,  must  be  added  to  the  long  list  of  Shakspearian  doubts.  Nevertheless,  Fuller  has  described 
the  wit-combats  between  Shakspeare  and  Ben  Jonson,  which  he  beheld — meaning  with  his  mind's  eye ; 
for  he  was  only  eight  years  old  when  Shakspeare  died. — Club  Life  of  London,  vol.  i.  p.  91.   1866. 

Mtjlbeeeies,  the,  a  Club  originated  in  1824,  at  the  Wrekin  Tavern,  Covent- 
garden,  with  the  regulation  that  some  paper,  or  poem,  or  conceit,  bearing  upon 
Shakspeare,  should  be  contributed  by  each  member.  Hither  came  Douglas  Jerrold 
and  Laman  Blanchard,  William  Godwin,  Kenny  Meadows ;  Elton,  the  actor ;  and 
Chatfield,  the  artist ;  "  that  knot  of  wise  and  jocund  men,  then  unknown,  but  gaily 
struggling."  The  Mulberries'  Club  gathered  a  number  of  contributions,  "  mulberry- 
leaves,"  but  they  have  not  been  printed.  The  name  of  the  Club  was  changed  to  the 
Shakspeare,  when  it  was  joined  by  Charles  Dickens,  Justice  Talfburd,  Maclise, 
Macready,  Frank  Stone,  &c.  The  Mulberries'  meetings  are  embalmed  in  Jerrold's 
Cakes  and  Ale.  There  were  other  Clubs  of  this  class,  as  the  Gratis  and  the  Rationals, 
the  Hooks  and  Eyes  and  Our  Club. 

Museum  Club,  the,  at  the  north  end  of  Northumberland-street,  was  established  in 
1847,  as  "  a  properly  modest  and  real  literary  Club."  Jerrold,  and  Mahony  (Father 
Prout)  enjoyed  their  "  intellectual  gladiatorship"  at  the  Museum ;  but  its  life  was  brief. 

National  Club-house,  1,  Whitehall-gardens,  has  a  noble  saloon,  80  feet  in  length, 
hung  with  large  tapestry  pictures,  in  the  manner  of  Teniers :  they  are  of  considerable 
age,  yet  fresh  in  colour. 

Natal  Club,  The  Royal,  originated  as  follows : — About  the  year  1674,  according 
to  a  document  in  the  possession  of  Mr.  Fitch,  of  Norwich,  a  Naval  Club  was  started 
"  for  the  improvement  of  a  mutuall  Society,  and  an  encrease  of  Love  and  Kindness 
amongst  them ;"  and  that  consummate  seaman,  Admiral  Sir  John  Kempthorne,  was 
declared  Steward  of  the  institution.  This  was  the  precursor  of  the  Royal  Naval  Club 
of  1765,  which,  whether  considered  for  its  amenities  or  its  extensive  charities,  may  be 
justly  cited  as  a  model  establishment.  (Admiral  Smyth's  Rise  and  Progress  of  the 
Royal  Society  Club,  p.  9.)  The  members  of  this  Club  annually  distribute  a  con- 
siderable sum  among  the  distressed  widows  and  orphans  of  those  who  have  spent  their 
days  in  the  naval  service  of  their  country.  The  Club  was  accustomed  to  dine  together 
at  the  Thatched  House  Tavern,  on  the  anniversary  of  the  Battle  of  the  Nile.  It  is 
confined  exclusively  to  members  of  the  Naval  Service :  it  'has  numbered  among  its 
members  men  from  the  days  of  Boscawen,  Rodney,  and  the  '  first  of  June'  downwards. 
It  was  a  favourite  retreat  for  William  IV.  when  Duke  of  Clarence;  and  his  comrade, 
Sir  Philip  Durham,  the  survivor  of  Nelson,  and  almost  the  last  of  the  "  old  school," 
frequented  it. 


CLUBS  AND   CLUB-HOUSES.  253 

Naval  and  Military  Club,  the,  94,  Piccadilly — Cambridge  House,  the  town 
residence  of  the  late  Viscount  Palmerston. 

Noviomagians. — The  more  convivially-disposed  members  of  learned  London  Socie- 
ties have,  from  time  to  time,  formed  themselves  into  Clubs.  The  Royals  have  done 
so,  ab  initio.  The  Antiquaries  appear  to  have  given  up  their  Club  and  their  Anniver- 
sary Dinner ;  but  certain  of  the  Fellows,  resolving  not  to  remain  impransi,  many  years 
since,  formed  a  Club,  styled  "  Noviomagians,"  from  the  identitication  of  the  Roman 
station  of  Noviomagus  being  just  then  reputedly  discovered. 

One  of  the  Club-founders  was  Mr.  A.  J.  Kempe ;  and  Mr.  Crofton  Croker  was  president  more  than 
twenty  years.  Lord  Londesborough,  Mr.  Corner,  the  Southwark  antiquary,  and  Mr.  Fairholt,  were  also 
Noviomagians;  and  in  the  present  Club-list  are  Sir  William  Betham,  Mr.  Godwin,  Mr.  S.  C.  Hall,  Mr. 
Lemon,  &c.  The  Members  dine  together  once  a  month,  during  the  season.  Joking  minutes  are  kept, 
among  which  are  found  many  known  names,  either  as  visitors  or  associates: — Theodore  Hook,  Sir 
Henry  Ellis,  Britton,  Dickens,  Thackeray,  John  Bruce,  Jordan,  Planch^,  Bell,  Maclise,  &c.  The  wits  have 
found  Arms  for  the  Club,  with  a  butter-boat  rampant  for  the  crest.  In  1855,  Lord  Mayor  Moon,  F.S.A., 
entertained  the  Noviomagians  at  the  Mansion  House. 

October  Club,  named  from  its  "  October  ale,"  was  formed  at  the  Bell  Tavern,  King- 
street,  Westminster,  and,  in  1710,  were  for  impeaching  every  member  of  the  Whig  party, 
and  for  turning  out  every  placeman  who  did  not  wear  their  colours,  and  shout  their  cries. 
Swift  was  great  at  the  October  Club :  in  a  letter,  February  10, 1710-11,  he  says : 

"  We  are  plagued  here  with  an  October  Club ;  that  is,  a  set  of  above  a  hundred  Parliament-men  of 
the  country,  who  drink  October  beer  at  home,  and  meet  every  evening  at  a  tavern  near  the  Parliament, 
to  consult  affairs,  and  drive  things  on  to  extremes  against  the  Whigs,  to  call  the  old  ministry  to  account, 
and  get  oif  five  or  six  heads."  Swift's  Advice  humbly  offered  to  the  Members  of  the  October  Cub  had  the 
desired  effect  of  softening  some,  and  convincing  others,  until  the  whole  body  of  malcontents  was  first 
divided  and  finally  dissolved. 

The  red-hot  "  tantivies,"  for  whose  loyalty  the  October  Club  was  not  thorough-going 

enough,  seceded  from  the  original  body,  and  formed  the  March  Club,  more  Jacobite 

and  rampant  in  its  hatred  of  the  Whigs  than  the  Society  from  which  it  branched. 

Oriental  Club,  the,  was  established  in  182  4-,  by  Sir  John  Malcolm,  the  traveller 
and  brave  soldier.  The  members  were  noblemen  and  gentlemen  associated  with  the 
administration  of  our  Eastern  empire,  or  who  had  travelled  or  resided  in  Asia,  at  St. 
Helena,  in  Egypt,  at  the  Cape  of  Good  Hope,  the  Mauritius,  or  at  Constantinople. 
The  Oriental  was  erected  in  1827-8,  by  B.  and  P.  Wyatt,  and  has  the  usual  Club  cha- 
racteristic of  only  one  tier  of  windows  above  the  ground-floor ;  the  interior  has  since 
been  redecorated  and  embellished  by  Collman.  The  Alfred,  in  1855,  joined  the 
Oriental,  which  had  been  designated  by  hackney-coachmen  as  "  the  Horizontal  Club." 
"Enter  it,"  said  the  New  Monthly  Magazine,  some  thirty  years  since,  "it  looks 
like  an  hospital,  in  which  a  smell  of  curry-powder  pervades  the  'wards' — wards 
filled  with  venerable  patients,  dressed  in  nankeen  shorts,  yellow  stockings  and  gaiters, 
and  facings  to  match.  There  may  still  be  seen  pigtails  in  all  their  pristine  perfection. 
It  is  the  region  of  calico  shirts,  returned  writers,  and  guinea-pigs  grown  into  bores. 
Such  is  the  nabobery  into  which  Harley -street,  Wimpole-street,  and  Gloucester-place 
daily  empty  their  precious  stores  of  bilious  humanity."  Time  has  blunted  the  point  of 
this  satiric  picture,  the  individualities  of  which  had  passed  away,  even  before  the  amal- 
gamation of  the  Oriental  with  the  Alfred. 

Oxeord  and  Cahbridge  Club-iiouse,  71,  Pall  Mall,  for  members  of  the  two 
Universities,  was  designed  by  Sir  Robert  Smirke,  R.A.,  and  his  brother,  Sydney 
Smirke,  1835-8.  The  Pall  Mall  facade  is  80  feet  in  width  by  75  in  height,  and  the 
rear  lies  over  against  the  court  of  Marlborough  House.  The  ornamental  detail  is  very 
rich  :  as  the  entrance-portico,  with  Corinthian  columns ;  the  balcony,  with  its  panels 
of  metal  foliage  j  and  the  ground-story  frieze,  and  arms  of  Oxford  and  Cambridge 
Universities  over  the  portico  columns.  The  upper  part  of  the  building  has  a  delicate 
Corinthian  entablature  and  balustrade ;  and  above  the  principal  windows  are  bas-reliefs 
in  panels,  executed  in  cement  by  Nicholl,  from  designs  by  Sir  R.  Smirke,  R.  A. 

Centre  panel :  Minerva  and  Apollo  presiding  on  Mount  Parnassus ;  and  the  river  Helicon,  surrounded 
by  the  Muses.  Extreme  panels :  Homer  singing  to  a  warrior,  a  female,  and  a  youth ;  Virgil  singing  his 
Georgics  to  a  group  of  peasants.  Other  four  panels:  Milton  reciting  to  his  daughter;  Shakspeare 
attended  by  Tragedy  and  Comedy;  Newton  explaining  his  system ;  Bacon,  his  philosophy. 

Beneath  the  ground-floor  is  a  basement  of  offices,  and  an  entresol  or  mezzanine  of 

chambers.     The  principal  apartments  are  tastefully  decorated  :  the  drawing-room 


/ 


254  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

panelled  with  papier-mache ;  and  the  libraries  are  filled  with  hook-cases  of  beautifully- 
marked  Russian  birch-wood.  From  the  library  rearward  is  a  view  of  Marlborough 
House  and  its  gardens. 

Pall  Mail  was  noted  for  its  tavern  Clubs  more  than  two  centuries  since.  "  The 
first  time  that  Pepys  mentions  Pell  Mell,"  writes  Cunningham,  "  is  under  the  26th  of 
July,  1660,  where  he  says,  '  We  went  to  Wood's'  (our  old  house  for  clubbing),  '  and 
there  we  spent  till  ten  at  night.'  This  is  not  only  one  of  the  earliest  references  to 
Pall  Mall  as  an  inhabited  locality,  but  one  of  the  earliest  uses  of  the  word  '  clubbing/ 
in  its  modern  signification  of  a  Club,  and  additionally  interesting,  seeing  that  the  street 
still  maintains  what  Johnson  would  have  called  its  *  clubbable'  character.  In  Spence's 
Anecdotes  (Supplemental),  we  read :  "  There  was  a  Club  held  at  the  King's  Head,  in 
Pall  Mall,  that  arrogantly  called  itself  '  The  World.'  Lord  Stanhope  then  (now  Lord 
Chesterfield),  Lord  Herbert,  &c,  were  members.  Epigrams  were  proposed  to  be 
written  on  the  glasses,  by  each  member,  after  dinner ;  once,  when  Dr.  Young  was  in- 
vited thither,  the  Doctor  would  have  declined  writing,  because  he  had  no  diamond ; 
Lord  Stanhope  lent  him  his,  and  he  wrote  immediately : 

" '  Accept  a  miracle,  instead  of  wit  ; 

See  two  dull  lines  with  Stanhope's  pencil  writ.'" 

The  first  modern  Club  mansion  in  Pall  Mall  was  No.  86,  opened  as  a  subscription 
house,  called  the  Albion  Hotel.  It  was  originally  built  for  Edward  Duke  of  York, 
brother  of  George  III.,  and  is  now  the  office  of  Ordnance  (correspondence). 

The  south  side  of  Pall  Mall  has  a  truly  patrician  air  in  its  seven  costly  Club-houses, 
of  exceedingly  rich  architectural  character,  and  reminding  one  of  Captain  Morris's 
luxurious  resource : 

"  In  town  let  me  live  then,  in  town  let  me  die ; 
For  in  truth  I  can't  relish  the  country,  not  I. 
If  one  must  have  a  villa  in  summer  to  dwell, 
Oh,  give  me  the  sweet  shady  side  of  Pall  Mall." 

Parthenon  Club-house,  east  side  of  Regent-street,  nearly  facing  St.  Philip's 
Chapel,  was  designed  by  Nash :  the  first  floor  is  elegant  Corinthian.  The  south  divi- 
sion was  built  by  Mr.  Nash  for  his  own  residence ;  it  has  a  long  gallery,  decorated  from 
a  loggia  of  the  Vatican  at  Rome :  it  is  now  the  "  Gallery  of  Illustration."  The 
Parthenon  Club,  now  no  longer  in  existence,  was  taken  by  Mr.  Poole,  for  his  memorable 
paper,  "  The  Miseries  of  a  Club,"  in  the  New  Monthly  Magazine. 

Phcenix  Club,  17,  St.  James's-place,  consists  of  the  Public  Schools'  Club,  amal- 
gamated with  the  Universities  Union,  and  intended  to  include  gentlemen  educated  at 
the  Universities  and  Public  Schools,  together  with  Woolwich,  Sandhurst,  and  Royal 
Naval  College. 

Portland  Club,  1,  Stratford-place,  Oxford-street. 

Pbince  of  Wales's  Cltjb,  43,  Albemarle-street. 

Pbince  of  Wales's  Yacht  Club,  Freemasons'  Tavern. 

Reform  Club-house,  between  the  Travellers'  and  Carlton  Club-houses,  has  a 
frontage  in  Pall  Mall  of  135  feet,  being  nearly  equal  to  that  of  the  Athenceum  (76  feet) 
and  Travellers'  (74  feet).  The  Reform  Club  was  established  by  Liberal  Members  of 
the  two  Houses  of  Parliament,  to  aid  the  carrying  of  the  Reform  Bill,  1830-32.  The 
Reform  was  built  in  1838-39,  from  the  designs  of  Barry,  R.A. ;  and  resembles  the 
Farnese  Palace  at  Rome,  designed  by  Michael  Angelo  Buonarotti,  in  1545.  The  Club- 
house contains  six  floors  and  134  apartments :  the  basement  and  mezzanine  below  the 
street  pavement,  and  the  chambers  in  the  roof,  are  not  seen. 

The  points  most  admired  are  extreme  simplicity  and  unity  of  design,  combined  with  very  unusual 
richness.  The  breadth  of  the  piers  between  the  windows  contributes  not  a  little  to  that  repose  which 
is  so  essential  to  simplicity,  and  hardly  less  so  to  stateliness.  The  string-courses  are  particularly  beau- 
tiful, while  the  cornicione  (68  feet  from  the  pavement)  gives  extraordinary  majesty  and  grandeur  to  the 
whole.  The  roof  is  covered  with  Italian  tiles ;  the  edifice  is  faced  throughout  with  Portland  stone,  and 
is  a  very  fine  specimen  of  masonry. 

In  the  centre  of  the  interior  is  a  grand'hall,  56  feet  by  50,  resembling  an  Italian  cortile, 
surrounded  by  colonnades,  below  Ionic,  and  above  Corinthian ;  the  latter  is  a  picture- 
gallery,  where,  inserted  in  the  scagliola  walls,  are  whole-length  portraits  of  eminent 


CLUBS  AND   CLUB-HOUSES.  255 

political  Reformers.  The  floor  of  the  hall  is  tesselated ;  and  the  entire  roof  is  strong 
diapered  flint  glass,  hy  Pellatt  &  Co.  The  staircase,  like  that  of  an  Italian  palace, 
leads  to  the  upper  gallery  of  the  hall,  opening  into  the  principal  drawing-room,  which 
is  over  the  coffee-room  in  the  garden  front,  hoth  heing  the  entire  length  of  the  build- 
ing; adjoining  are  a  library,  card-room,  &c.,  over  the  library  and  dining-rooms. 
Above  are  a  billiard-room  and  lodging-rooms  for  members  of  the  Club ;  there  being  a 
separate  entrance  to  the  latter  by  a  lodge  adjoining  the  Travellers'  Club. 

The  basement  comprises  two-storied  wine-cellars  beneath  the  hall,  besides  the  Kitchen  Department, 
planned  by  Alexis  Soyer,  originally  chef-de-cuisine  of  the  Club  :  it  contains  novel  employments  of  steam 
and  pras,  and  mechanical  applications  of  practical  ingenuity,  the  inspection  of  which  was  long  one  of  the 
privileged  sights  of  London.  The  cuisine,  under  M.  Soyer,  enjoyed  European  fame,  fully  testified  in  a 
magnificent  banquet  given  by  the  Club  to  Ibraham  Pasha,  July  3, 1846.  Another  famous  banquet  was 
that  given  July  20,  1850,  to  Viscount  Palmerston,  who  was  a  popular  leader  of  the  Reform.  This  fes- 
tival was,  gastronomically  as  well  as  politically,  a  brilliant  triumph. 

Refobm  Club,  Jcniob  ;  Club-house  to  be  erected  in  Jermyn-street. 

Robin  Hoot),  the,  was  a  Debating  Society,  which  met,  in  the  reign  of  George  II., 
at  a  house  in  Essex-street,  Strand,  at  which  questions  were  proposed  for  discussion,  and 
any  member  might  speak  seven  minutes ;  after  which,  "  the  baker,"  who  presided  with 
a  hammer,  summed  up  the  arguments.  Arthur  Mainwaring  and  Dr.  Hugh  Chamber- 
lain were  early  members ;  and  the  Club  was  visited  by  M.  Beaumont,  as  a  curiosity,  in 
1761.  This  was  the  scene  of  Burke's  earliest  eloquence.  Goldsmith  came  here,  and 
was  struck  by  the  imposing  aspect  of  the  President,  who  sat  in  a  large  gilt  chair. 

Rota,  the,  or  Coffee  Cltxb,  as  Pepys  calls  it,  was  founded  in  1659,  as  a  kind  of 
Debating  Society  for  the  dissemination  of  republican  opinions,  which  Harrington  had 
painted  in  their  fairest  colours  in  his  Oceana.  It  met  in  New  Palace  Yard,  at  the  then 
Turk's  Head,  "  where  they  take  water,  the  next  house  to  the  staires,  at  one  Miles's,  where 
was  made  purposely  a  large  ovall -table,  with  a  passage  in  the  middle  for  Miles  to  deliver  his 
coffee."  Here  Harrington  gave  nightly  lectures  on  the  advantage  of  a  commonwealth 
and  of  the  ballot.  The  Club  derived  its  name  from  a  plan,  which  it  was  its  design  to 
promote,  for  changing  a  certain  number  of  Members  of  Parliament  annually  by  rota- 
tion. Sir  William  Petty  was  one  of  its  members.  Round  the  table,  "  in  a  room  every 
evening  as  full  as  it  could  be  crammed,"  says  Aubrey,  sat  Milton  and  Marvell,  Cyriac 
Skinner,  Harrington,  Nevill,  and  their  friends,  discussing  abstract  political  questions. 
Aubrey  calls  them  "  disciples  and  virtuosi."   The  Club  was  broken  up  at  the  Restoration. 

Dr.  Nash  notes :  "  Mr.  James  Harrington,  sometime  in  the  service  of  Charles  I., 
drew  up  and  printed  a  form  of  popular  government,  after  the  King's  death,  entitled 
the  Commonwealth  of  Oceana.  He  endeavoured  likewise  to  promote  his  scheme  by 
public  discourses,  at  a  nightly  Club  of  several  curious  gentlemen,  Henry  Nevil,  Charles 
Wolseley,  John  Wildman,  Dr.  (afterwards  Sir  William)  Petty,  who  met  in  New 
Palace-yard,  Westminster.  Mr.  Henry  Nevil  proposed  to  the  House  of  Commons  that 
a  third  part  of  its  members  should  rote  out  by  ballot  every  year,  and  be  incapable  of  re- 
election for  three  years  to  come.     This  Club  was  called  the  Rota." 

Roxbttbghe  Club,  the,  was  founded  by  the  Rev.  T.  Frognall  (afterwards  Dr.) 
Dibdin,  at  the  St.  Albans  Tavern,  St.  James's,  on  June  17,  1812,  immediately  after  the 
sale  of  the  rarest  lot  in  the  Roxburghe  Library,  viz.,  II  Decamerone  di  Boccaccio,  which 
produced  2260Z.     The  members  were  limited  to  24,  subsequently  extended  to  31. 

The  President  of  this  Club  was  the  second  Earl  Spencer.  Among  the  most  celebrated  members  were 
the  Duke  of  Devonshire,  the  Marquis  of  Blandford  (the  late  Duke  of  Marlborough),  Lord  Althorp  (late 
Karl  Spencer),  Lord  Morpeth  (afterwards  Earl  of  Carlisle),  Lord  Gower  (afterwards  Earl  of  Carlisle),  Sir 
Masterman  Sykes,  Sir  Egerton  Brydges,  Mr.  (afterwards  Baron)  Holland,  Mr.  Dent,  Mr.  Townley,  Rev.  T. 
C.  Heber,  Rev.  Rob.  Holwell  Carr,  Sir  Walter  Scott,  &c. :  Dr.  Dibdin  being  Secretary.  The  avowed  object 
of  the  Club  was  the  reprinting  of  rare  and  neglected  pieces  of  ancient  literature ;  and,  at  one  of  the 
early  meetings, "  it  was  proposed  and  concluded  for  each  member  of  the  Club  to  reprint  a  scarce  piece 
of  ancient  lore,  to  be  given  to  the  members,  one  copy  being  on  vellum  for  the  chairman,  and  only  as  many 
copies  as  members."  It  may,  however,  be  questioned  whether  the  "  dinners  "  of  the  Club  were  not  more 
important  than  the  literature.  They  were  given  at  the  St.  Albans',  at  Grillion's,  at  the  Clarendon,  and 
the  Albion  Taverns.  Of  these  entertainments  some  curious  details  have  been  recorded  by  Mr.  Joseph 
Haslewood,  one  of  the  members,  in  a  MS.,  entitled  "Roxburghe  Bevels;  or,  an  Account  of  the  Annual 
Display,  culinary  and  festicous,  interspersed  with  Matters  of  Moment  or  Merriment :"  a  selection  from 
its  rarities  has  appeared  in  the  Athenaum :  at  the  second  dinner,  Mr.  Heber  in  the  chair,  a  few  tarried 
until,  "  on  arriving  at  home,  the  click  of  time  bespoke  a  quarter  to  four."  Among  the  early  members 
was  the  Rev.  Mr.  Dodd,  one  of  the  masters  of  Westminster  School,  who,  until  1818  (when  he  died), 
enlivened  the  Club  with  Robin  Hood  ditties.    At  the  fourth  dinner,  at  Grillion's,  Sir  Masterman  Sykes 


256  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

chairman,  20  members  present,  the  bill  was  57/.  At  the  Anniversary,  1818,  at  the  Albion,  Mr.  Heber  in. 
the  chair,  15  present,  the  bill  was  85/.  9s.  6d.,  or  5/.  lis.  each  ;  including  turtle,  12/.  10s. ;  venison,  10/.  10*. ; 
and  wine,  30.'.  17s.  "  Ancients,  believe  it,"  says  Haslewood, "  we  were  not  dead  drunk,  and  therefore  lie 
quiet  under  the  table  for  once,  and  let  a  few  moderns  be  uppermost." 

The  Roxburghe  Club  still  exists  :  it  may  justly  be  considered  to  have  suggested  the 
publishing  Societies  of  the  present  day ;  as  the  Camden,  Shakspeare,  Percy,  &c. 

Royal  Society  Club,  the,  was  founded  in  1743,  and  was  at  first  styled  "the  Club 
of  Royal  Philosophers."  It  originated  some  years  earlier  with  Dr.  Halley  and  a  few 
friends,  who  dined  together  once  a  week ;  at  length,  they  removed  to  the  Mitre  Tavern, 
No.  39,  Fleet-street,  to  be  handy  to  the  Royal  Society,  which  then  met  in  Crane- 
court.  In  1780,  the  Club  removed  to  the  Crown  and  Anchor  Tavern,  in  the  Strand  ; 
in  1818,  to  the  Freemasons'  Tavern :  and  thence,  when  the  Royal  Society  removed  to 
Burlington  House,  Piccadilly,  the  Club  removed  to  the  Thatched  House  Tavern,  St. 
James's-street.  The  dinners  were  plain,  black-puddings  figuring  for  many  years  at 
each  repast.  The  presents  made  to  the  Club  became  very  numerous ;  and  haunches  of 
venison,  turtle,  and  game,  were  rewarded  by  the  donors'  healths  being  drunk  in  claret. 
The  circumnavigator,  Lord  Anson,  presented  the  Club  with  a  magnificent  turtle ;  and 
on  another  occasion  with  a  turtle  which  weighed  4001bs.  James  Watt  dined  at  one  of 
these  turtle-feasts ;  "  and  never  was  turtle  eaten  with  greater  sobriety  and  tempe- 
rance, or  with  more  good  fellowship."  Then  we  find  mighty  chines  of  beef,  and  large 
carp  among  the  presents ;  and  Lord  Macartney  sent  "  two  pigs  of  the  China  breed." 
Fruits  were  presented  for  dessert;  and  Philip  Miller,  who  wrote  the  Gardener's  Dic- 
tionary, sent  Egyptian  Cos  lettuces,  the  best  kind  known ;  and  Cantaloupe  melons,  equal 
in  flavour  to  pine-apples.  For  thirty  years  the  Club  received  these  presents  in  lieu  of 
admission-money,  until  thinking  it  undignified  to  do  so,  the  practice  was  discontinued. 
The  charge  for  dinner  rose  from  Is.  6d.  to  10s.,  and  2d.  to  the  waiter !  Then,  the 
Club  laid  in  its  own  wine,  at  Is.  6d.  per  bottle,  and  the  landlord  charged  2s.  6d.  The 
consumption  of  wine,  per  head,  of  late,  averaged  less  than  a  pint  each. 

"Among  the  distinguished  guests  of  the  Club  are  many  celebrities.  Here  the  chivalrous  Sir  Sidney 
Smith  described  the  atrocities  of  Djezza  Pasha ;  and  here  that  cheerful  baronet— Admiral  Sir  Isaac  Coffin 
— by  relating  the  result  of  his  going  in  a  jolly-boat  to  attack  a  whale,  and  in  narrating  the  advantages 
specified  in  his  proposed  patent  for  fattening  fowls,  kept  "  the  table  in  a  roar."  At  this  board,  also,  our 
famous  circumnavigators  and  oriental  voyagers  met  with  countenance  and  fellowship — asCook.Furneaux, 
Clerke,  King,  Bounty  Bligh,  Vancouver,  Guardian  Riou,  Flinders,  Broughton,  Lestock,  Wilson,  Huddart, 
liass,  Tuckey,  Horsburgh,  &c. ;  while  the  Polar  explorers,  from  the  Hon.  Constantine  Phipps  in  1773, 
down  to  Sir  Leopold  M'Clintock,  in  1860,  were  severally  and  individually  welcomed  as  guests.  But, 
besides  our  sterling  sea-worthies,  we  find  in  ranging  through  the  documents  that  some  rather  outlandish 
visitors  were  introduced  through  their  means,  as  Chet  Quang  and  Wanga  Tong,  Chinese  ;  Ejutak  and 
Tuklivina,  Esquimaux ;  Thayen-danega,  the  Mohawk  chief;  while  Omai,  of  Ularetea,  the  celebrated  and 
popular  savage,  of  Cook's  Voyages,  was  so  frequently  invited,  that  he  is  latterly  entered  on  the  Club 
papers  simply  as  Mr.  Omai." — Admiral  Smyth's  Account  of  the  Royal  Society  Club ;  Club  Life  of 
London,  vol.  i.  pp.  65-81.    1866. 

Royal  Thames  Yacht  Cltjb,  49,  St.  James's-street. 

Sceiblebtjs  Club,  the,  was  founded  by  Swift,  in  1714,  in  place  of  "  the  Brothers ;" 
it  was  rather  of  a  literary  than  political  character.  Oxford  and  St.  John,  Swift, 
Arbuthnot,  Pope,  and  Gay,  were  members.  Oxford  and  Bolingbroke  led  the  way,  by 
their  mutual  animosity,  to  the  dissolution  of  the  Club ;  when  Swift  made  a  final  effort 
at  reconciliation,  but  failing,  retreated  in  dudgeon. — See  Beothebs  Club,  p.  244. 

Smithfield  Club,  the,  Half-moon-street,  has  the  management  of  the  Cattle  Show 
held  annually  at  the  Agricultural  Hall,  Islington,  and  the  award  of  Silver  Cups  and 
Gold  and  Silver  Medals  as  prizes  for  Stock,  Implements,  &c.,  exhibited. 

"  The  Smithfield  Cattle  and  Sheep  Society  "  was  instituted  December  17, 1798,  by  a  party  of  noble- 
men and  gentlemen,  amongst  whom  were  most  conspicuous  Francis,  Duke  of  Bedford ;  the  Karl  of 
"Winchelsea,  Lord  Somerville,  and  Sir  Joseph  Banks. 

The  Club  has  shifted  its  scene  of  annual  display  several  times.  In  1799  and  1800,  the  Club  exhibited 
in  Wootton's  Livery-stables, Dolphin-yard,  Smithfield;  in  1804,  the  Show  was  held  in  the  Swan-yard- 
in  1805,  at  Dixon's  Repository,  Baibican;  in  1808,  in  Sadler's-yard,  Gos  well  -street;  and  in  1839  the 
Club,  moving  westward,  gave  its  first  exhibition  in  Baker-street.  From  Mr.  Brandreth  Gibbs's  History 
of  the  Origin  and  Progress  of  the  Smithfield  Club,  we  learn  that,  at  the  first  exhibition,  the  Club  only 
received  from  the  public  40/.  3s.  The  receipts  of  the  first  Baker-street  Show  were  300/. ;  and  in  1857, 
no  less  a  sum  than  700/.  was  taken  at  the  doors.  The  prizes  annually  distributed  have  increased  as 
follows :  value  in  1799,  50  guineas;  1800,  120  guineas;  1810, 220  guineas ;  and  in  1840,  plate  and  money, 
330/. ;  and  in  1857, 1050/.  Concurrent  with  the  early  career  of  the  Smithfield  Club  were  the  Spring 
Cattle  Shows,  established  by  Lord  Somerville,  who,  in  1805,  at  bis  own  cost,  gave  six  prizes :  amou^st 
the  exhibitors  was  George  the  Third. 


CLUBS  AND   CLUB-HOUSES.  257 

The  Duchess  of  Ruthnd  became  a  member  of  the  Smithfield  Club  in  1823;  and  the  Queen  visited 
the  Show  in  Baker-street  in  18+1,  and  again  in  1850.  The  Royal  visit  in  1844  is  believed  to  be  the  first 
occasion  of  an  agricultural  show  being  attended  by  the  Sovereign  of  Great  Britain  ;  but  it  was  not  the 
first  time  that  Royalty  took  an  interest  in  the  Club  shows.  George  the  Third  was  an  exhibitor  in  1800; 
the  Duke  of  York  gained  a  prize  in  1806  ;  and  the  Prince  Consort,  who,  together  with  the  late  Duke  of 
Cambridge,  became  a  member  of  the  Club  in  1811,  carried  off  several  prizes  at  the  Baker-street  exhibi- 
tions with  animals  fed  at  the  "  Royal  Flemish"  and  "  Royal  Shaw  "farms.  The  silver-cup  and  the 
shepherd-smock  schools  combined  for  the  same  good  end — the  production  of  delicious  meat  at  moderate 
prices ;  and  he  will  not  act  inappropriately  who,  whilst  thanking  God  for  his  Christmas-dinner,  has  a 
grateful  recollection  of  the  men  who  contributed  to  bring  the  Roast  Beef  of  Old  England  to  its  present 
perfection. — Atheneeum,  No.  1728,  abridged. 

Thatched  House. — Admiral  Smyth,  in  1860,  gave  the  following  list  of  Clubs, 
which  then  dined  at  the  Thatched  House  Tavern,  St.  James's-street : — 

Actuaries,  Institute  of;  Catch  Club ;  Johnson's  Club ;  Dilettanti  Society ;  Farmers'  Club ;  Geo- 
graphical Club ;  Geological  Club;  Lir.naeau  Club ;  Literary  Society;  Navy  Club;  Philosophical  Club ; 
Physicians,  College  of,  Club;  Political  Economy  Club;  Royal  Academy  Club ;  Royal  Astronomical  Club ; 
Royal  Institution' Club ;  Royal  London  Yacht  Club;  Royal  Naval  Club  (1765);  Royal  Society  Club;  St. 
A lban's  Medical  Club;  St.  Bartholomew's  Contemporaries;  Star  Club;  Statistical  Club ;  Sussex  Club; 
Union  Society,  St.  James's. — Account  of  the  Moyal  Society  Club,  privately  printed. 

Tom's  Coffee-house  Cltjb,  the,  was  held  at  17,  north  side  of  Eussell-street, 
Covent-garden ;  the  house  was  taken  down  in  1865.  The  original  proprietor  was 
Thomas  West,  who  died  in  1722.  The  upper  portion  of  the  premises  was  the  coffee- 
house, under  which  lived  T.  Lewis,  the  original  publisher,  in  1711,  of  Pope's  Essay  on 
Criticism.  In  The  Journey  through  England,  1714,  we  read,  "  There  was  at  Tom's 
Coffee-house  playing  at  piquet,  and  the  best  conversation  till  midnight ;  blue  and  green 
ribbons  with  stars,  sitting  and  talking  familiarly."  M.  Grignon,  sen.,  had  seen  "  the 
balcony  of  Tom's  crowded  with  noblemen  in  their  stars  and  garters,  drinking  their  tea 
and  coffee,  exposed  to  the  people."  In  1764  was  formed  here,  by  a  guinea  subscrip- 
tion, a  Club  of  nearly  700  members. 

On  the  Club-books  we  find  "  Long  Sir  Thomas  Robinson ;"  Samuel  Foote;  Arthur  Murphy,  lately 
called  to  the  Bar;  David  Garrick,  who  then  lived  in  Southampton-street  (though  he  was  not  a  clubbable 
man) ;  John  Beard,  the  fine  tenor  singer ;  John  Webb ;  Sir  Richard  Glynne ;  Robert  Gosling,  the  banker ; 
Colonel  Eyre,  of  Marylebone;  Earl  Percy;  Sir  John  Fielding,  the  justice;  Paul  Methuen,  of  Corsham; 
Richard  Clive ;  the  great  Lord  Clive;  the  eccentric  Duke  of  Montagu;  Sir  Fletcher  Norton,  the  ill- 
mannered;  Lord  Edward  Bentinck;  Dr.  Samuel  Johnson;  the  celebrated  Marquis  of  Granby ;  Sir  F.  B. 
Delaval,  the  friend  of  Foote;  William Tooke,  the  solicitor;  the  Hon.  Charles  Howard,  sen.;  the  Duke  of 
Northumberland ;  Sir  Francis  Gosling ;  the  Earl  of  Anglesey ;  Sir  George  Brydges  Rodney  (afterwards 
Lord  Rodney);  Peter  Burrell;  Walpole  Eyre;  Lewis  Mendcz;  Dr.  Swinney;  Stephen  Lushington; 
JohnGunnine;  Henry  Brougham,  father  of  Lord  Brougham;  Dr.  Macnamara;  Sir  John  Trevelyan; 
Captain  Donellan;  Sir  W.  Wolseley;  Walter  Chetwynd;  Viscount  Gage,  &c;  Thomas  Payne,  Esq.,  of 
Leicester  House ;  Dr.  Schomberg,  of  Pall  Mall ;  George  Colman,  the  dramatist,  then  living  in  Great 
Queen-street;  Dr.  Dodd,  in  Southampton-row;  James  Payne,  the  architect,  Salisbury-street,  which  he 
rebuilt;  William  Bowyer,  the  printsr,  Bloomsbury-square ;  Count  Bruhl, the  Polish  Minister;  Dr.  Gold- 
smith, Temple  (1773),  &c.  Many  a  noted  name  in  the  list  of  700  is  very  suggestive  of  the  gay  society 
of  the  period.  Among  the  Club  musters,  Samuel  Foote,  Sir  Thomas  Robinson,  and  Dr.  Dodd  are  very 
frequent :  indeed,  Sir  Thomas  seems  to  have  been  something  like  a  proposer-general. 

Dance  painted  the  elder  Haines,  the  landlord,  who,  for  his  polite  address,  was  called 
among  the  Club  "  Lord  Chesterfield."  The  coffee-house  business  closed  in  1814, 
when  the  premises  became  occupied  by  Mr.  William  Till,  the  well-known  numismatist ; 
the  card-room  and  club-tables  in  their  original  condition.  On  the  death  of  Mr.  Till, 
Mr.  Webster  succeeded  to  the  tenancy  and  collection  of  coins  and  medals,  which  he  re- 
moved to  No.  6,  Henrietta-street ;  he  possesses,  by  marriage  with  the  grand-daughter 
of  the  second  Mr.  Haines,  the  Club-books ;  as  well  as  the  Club-room  snuff-box,  of  large 
size,  tortoiseshell ;  upon  the  lid,  in  high  relief,  in  silver,  are  the  portraits  of  Charles  I. 
and  Queen  Anne,  the  Boscobel  oak,  with  Charles  II.  amid  its  branches,  &c. — See 
Illustrated  London  News,  1865. 

Travellers'  Club-house,  adjoining  the  Athenaium,  in  Pall  Mall,  was  designed  by 
Barry,  R.A.,  and  built  in  1832.  The  architecture  is  the  nobler  Italian,  resembling  a  ' 
Roman  palace  :  the  plan  is  a  quadrangle,  with  an  open  area  in  the  middle,  so  that  all 
the  rooms  are  well  lighted.  The  Pall  Mall  front  has  a  bold  and  rich  cornice,  and  the 
windows  are  decorated  with  Corinthian  pilasters ;  the  garden- front  varies  in  the 
windows ;  but  the  Italian  taste  is  preserved  throughout,  with  the  most  careful  finish : 
the  roof  is  Italian  tiles.  The  Travellers'  Club  originated  shortly  after  the  Peace  of 
1814,  in  a  suggestion  of  the  late  Marquis  of  Londonderry,  then  Lord  Castlereagh,  with 
a  view  to  a  resort  for  gentlemen  who  had  resided  or  travelled  abroad ;  as  well  as  to  1 

S 


258  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON 

accommodation  of  foreigners,  who,  when  properly  recommended,  receive  an  invitation 
for  the  period  of  their  stay.  {Quarterly  Review,  No.  110,  1836.)  By  one  of  the  rules, 
"  no  person  is  eligible  to  the  Travellers'  Club  who  shall  not  have  travelled  out  of  the 
British  Islands  to  a  distance  of  at  least  500  miles  from  London  in  a  direct  line." 
Prince  Talleyrand,  during  his  residence  in  London,  generally  joined  the  muster  of 
whist-players  at  this  Club. 

Treason  Club,  the,  at  the  time  of  the  Kevolution,  met  at  the  Rose  Tavern,  Covent- 
garden,  to  consult  with  Lord  Colchester,  Mr.  Thomas  Wharton,  and  many  others ; 
and  it  was  then  resolved  that  the  regiment  under  Lieutenant-Colonel  Langdale's 
command  should  desert  entire,  as  it  did,  on  a  Sunday,  November,  1688. 

Union  Club-house,  Cockspur-street,  and  west  side  of  Trafalgar-square,  was  com- 
pleted in  1824,  from  designs  by  Sir  R.  Smirke,  R.A.  James  Smith  ("  Rejected  Ad- 
dresses") has  left  us  a  sketch  of  his  every-day  life  at  this  Club  : — 

"  At  three  o'clock  I  walk  to  the  Union  Club,  read  the  journals,  hear  Lord  John  Russell  deified  or 
diablerised,  do  the  same  with  Sir  Robert  Peel  or  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  and  then  join  a  knot  of  con- 
versationists by  the  fire  till  six  o'clock,  consisting  of  lawyers,  merchants,  and  gentlemen  at  large.  We 
then  and  there  discuss  the  Three  per  Cent.  Consols  (some  of  us  preferring  Dutch  two-and-a-half  per 
Cents.),  and  speculate  upon  the  probable  rise,  shape,  and  cost  of  the  New  Exchange.  If  Lady  Harrington 
happen  to  drive  past  our  window  in  her  landau,  we  compare  her  equipage  to  the  Algerine  Ambassador's ; 
and  when  politics  happen  to  be  discussed,  rally  Whigs,  Radicals,  and  Conservatives  alternately,  but  never 
seriously,  such  subjects  having  a  tendency  to  create  acrimony.  At  six,  the  room  begins  to  be  deserted ; 
wherefore  I  adjourn  to  the  dining-room,  and  gravely  looking  over  the  bill  of  fare,  exclaim  to  the  waiter, 
'  Haunch  of  mutton  and  apple-tart !'  These  viands  despatched,  with  the  accompanying  liquids  and 
water,  I  mount  upward  to  the  library,  take  a  book  and  my  seat  in  the  arm-chair,  and  read  till  nine.  Then 
call  for  a  cup  of  coffee  and  a  biscuit,  resuming  my  book  till  eleven;  afterwards  return  home  to  bed." — 
Comic  Miscellanies. 

The  Union  has  a  capital  smoking-room,  with  paintings  by  Stanfield  and  Roberts. 
The  Club  has  ever  been  famed  for  its  cuisine,  upon  the  strength  of  which  we  [are 
told  that  next  door  to  the  Club-house,  in  Cockspur-street,  was  established  the  Union 
Hotel,  which  speedily  became  renowned  for  its  turtle ;  it  was  opened  in  1823,  and  was 
one  of  the  best-appointed  hotels  of  its  day ;  Lord  Panmure,  a  gourmet  of  the  highest 
order,  is  said  to  have  taken  up  his  quarters  in  this  hotel,  for  several  successive  seasons, 
for  the  sake  of  the  soup.* — Adams's  London  Clubs. 

United  Service  Club,  the,  one  of  the  oldest  of  modern  Clubs,  was  instituted 
the  year  after  the  Peace  of  1815,  when  a  few  officers  of  influence  in  both  branches  of 
the  Service  had  built  for  them,  by  Sir  R.  Smirke,  a  Club-house  at  the  corner  of  Charles- 
street  and  Regent-street — a  frigid  design,  somewhat  relieved  by  sculpture  on  the 
entrance-front,  of  Britannia  distributing  laurels  to  her  brave  sons  by  land  and  sea. 
Thence  the  Club  removed  to  a  more  spacious  house,  in  Waterloo-place,  facing  the 
Athenajum,  the  Club-house  in  Charles-street  being  entered  on  by  the  Junior  United 
Service  Club ;  but  Smirke's  cold  design  has  been  displaced  by  an  edifice  of  much  more 
ornate  exterior  and  luxurious  internal  appliances.  The  United  Service  Club  (Senior) 
was  designed  by  Nash,  and  has  a  well-planned  interior,  exhibiting  the  architect's  well- 
known  excellence  in  this  branch  of  his  profession.  The  principal  front  facing  Pall  Mall 
has  a  Roman-Doric  portico ;  and  above  it  a  Corinthian  portico,  with  pediment.  One  of 
the  patriarchal  members  of  the  Club  was  Lord  Lynedoch,  the  hero  of  the  Peninsular 
War,  who  lived  under  five  sovereigns  :  he  died  in  his  93rd  year.  Stanfield's  fine  pic- 
ture of  the  Battle  of  Trafalgar ;  and  a  copy  by  Lane  (painted  1851)  of  a  contemporary 
portrait  of  Sir  Francis  Drake ;  are  amoug  the  Club  pictures. 

The  Windham  was  once  considered  the  most  expensive  Club,  and  the  United  Service  the  cheapest ; 
the  latter,  probably,  from  the  number  of  absent  members.  The  Duke  of  Wellington  might  often  be  seen 
dining  at  this  Club  on  a  joint;  "and  on  one  occasion,  when  he  was  charged  15d.  instead  of  1*.  for  it,  he 
bestirred  himself  till  the  odd  threepence  was  struck  off.  The  motive  was  obvious ;  he  took  the  trouble 
of  objecting  to  give  his  sanction  to  the  principle." — Quarterly  'Review,  No.  110, 1836. 

United  Service  Club,  the  Junior,  at  the  corner  of  Charles-street  and  Regent- 
street,  was  erected  upon  the  site  of  the  former  Club-house,  by  Sir  R.  Smirke,  R.A., 
in  1855-57,  Nelson  and  James,  architects,  and  is  enriched  with  characteristic  sculpture 
by  John  Thomas.     The  design  is  in  the  Italian  style  of  architecture,  the  bay-window 

•  The  West-end  Clubs  contribute  largely  to  the  feeding  of  the  poor.  The  Union  Club  distributed  in 
the  jcar  1844,  to  the  poor  of  St.  Martin' s-in-the-Fields,  no  less  than  3104  lbs.  of  broken  bread, 4556 lbs. 
of  broken  meat,  1147  pints  of  tea-leaves,  and  1158  pints  of  coffee-grounds. 


CLUBS  AND   CLUB-HOUSES.  259 

in  Regent-street  forming  a  prominent  feature  in  the  composition,  above  winch  is  a 
sculptured  group  allegorical  of  the  Army  and  Navy.  The  whole  of  the  sculpture  and 
ornamental  details  throughout  the  building  are  characteristic  of  the  professions  of  the 
members  of  the  Club.  Upon  the  angle-pieces  of  the  balustrade  are  bronze  lamps,  sup- 
ported by  figures.  The  staircase  is  lighted  from  the  top  by  a  handsome  lantern,  filled 
with  painted  glass.  On  the  landing  of  the  half-space  are  two  pairs  of  caryatidal 
figures,  and  single  figures  against  the  walls,  supporting  three  semicircular  arches.  On 
the  upper  landing  of  the  staircase  is  the  celebrated  picture,  by  Allan,  of  the  Battle  of 
Waterloo.  The  evening-room,  which  is  also  used  as  a  picture-gallery,  24  feet  high, 
has  a  bay-window  fronting  Regent-street.  Here  are  portraits  of  military  and  naval 
commanders ;  Queen  Victoria  and  Prince  Albert ;  the  Emperor  Napoleon,  and  an 
allegorical  group  in  silver,  presented  to  the  Club  by  his  Imperial  Majesty. 

University  Club,  the,  Suffolk-street,  Pall  Mall  East,  was  instituted  in  1824 ;  and 
the  Club-house,  designed  by  Deering  and  Wilkins,  architects,  was  opened  1826.  It  is 
of  the  Grecian  Doric  and  Ionic  orders ;  and  the  staircase  walls  have  casts  from  the 
Parthenon  frieze.  The  Club  consists  chiefly  of  Members  of  Parliament  who  have  re- 
ceived University  education ;  several  of  the  judges,  and  a  large  number  of  beneficed 
clergymen.  This  Club  has  the  reputation  of  possessing  the  best-stocked  wine-cellar 
in  London,  which  is  of  no  small  importance  to  members,  clerical  or  lay. 

Universities  Union  Club-house,  the,  is  at  20,  Cockspur-street,  Charing  Cross ; 
and  its  sphere  is  intended  to  embrace  all  gentlemen  whose  names  have  been  on  the 
books  of  any  college  at  Oxford  or  Cambridge,  or  Durham,  or  on  those  of  the  Scotch 
Universities,  or  of  Trinity  College,  Dublin. 

Urban  Club,  the,  held  at  St.  John's  Gate,  Clerkenwell,  consists  of  authors,  actors, 
and  artists,  who  meet  in  the  great  room  of  the  Tavern  over  the  gateway. 

Volunteer  Service  Club,  49,  St.  James's-street. 

Watier's  Club  was  the  great  Macao  gambling-house  of  a  very  short  period.  Mr. 
Thomas  Raikes,  who  understood  all  its  mysteries,  describes  it  as  very  genteel,  adding 
that  no  one  ever  quarrelled  there.  "  The  Club  did  not  endure  for  twelve  years  altogether ; 
the  pace  was  too  quick  to  last :  it  died  a  natural  death  in  1819,  from  the  paralysed 
state  of  its  members ;  the  house  was  then  taken  by  a  set  of  blacklegs,  who  instituted  a 
common  bank  for  gambling.  To  form  an  idea  of  the  ruin  produced  by  this  short-lived 
establishment  among  men  whom  I  have  so  intimately  known,  a  cursory  glance  to  the 
past  suggests  the  following  melancholy  list,  which  only  forms  a  part  of  its  deplorable 
results None  of  the  dead  reached  the  average  age  of  man." 

In  the  old  days,  when  gaming  was  in  fashion,  at  Watier's  Club,  princes  and  nobles 
lost  or  gained  fortunes  between  themselves.  Captain  Gronow  also  relates  the  following 
account  of  the  origin  of  this  noted  but  short-lived  Club : — 

"Upon  one  occasion,  some  gentlemen  of  both  White's  and  Brooks's  had  the  honour  to  dine  with 
the  Prince  Regent,  and  during  the  conversation  the  Prince  inquired  what  sort  of  dinners  they  got  at 
their  Clubs ;  upon  which  Sir  Thomas  Stepney,  one  of  the  guests,  obserTed '  that  their  dinners  were 
always  the  same,  the  eternal  joints  or  beef-steaks,  the  boiled  fowl  with  oyster-sauce,  and  an  apple-tart: 
this  is  what  we  have  at  our  Clubs,  and  very  monotonous  fare  it  is.'  The  Prince,  without  further 
remark,  rang  the  bell  for  his  cook  Watier,  and,  in  the  presence  of  those  who  dined  at  the  Royal  table, 
asked  him  whether  he  would  take  a  house,  and  organize  a  dinner-club.  Watier  assented,  and  named 
Madison,  the  Prince's  page,  manager ;  and  Labourie,  the  cook,  from  the  Royal  kitchen.  The  Club 
flourished  only  a  few  years,  owing  to  the  night-play  that  was  carried  on  there.    The  Duke  of  York 

£atronized  it,  and  was  a  member.    The  dinners  were  exquisite :  the  best  Parisian  cooks  could  not  beat 
abourie.    The  favourite  game  played  there  was  Macao." 

Wednesday  Club,  in  Friday-street,  Cheapside.  Here,  in  1695,  certain  conferences 
took  place  under  the  direction  of  William  Paterson,  which  ultimately  led  to  the  esta- 
blishment of  the  Bank  of  England.  Such  is  the  general  belief;  but  Mr.  Saxe  Bannister, 
in  his  Life  of  Paterson,  p.  93,  observes : — "  It  has  been  a  matter  of  much  doubt 
whether  the  Bank  of  England  was  originally  proposed  from  a  Club  or  Society  in  the 
City  of  London.  The  Dialogue  Conferences  of  the  Wednesday  Club,  in  Friday-street, 
have  been  quoted  as  if  first  published  in  1695.  No  such  publication  has  been  met 
with  of  a  date  before  1706 •"  and  Mr.  Bannister  states  his  reasons  for  supposing  it  was 
not  preceded  by  any  other  book.  Still,  Paterson  wrote  the  papers  entitled  the  Wednesday 
Club  Conferences. 

S  2 


260  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

There  was  likewise  a  Wednesday  Club  held  at  the  Glohe  Tavern,  in  Fleet-street, 
where  songs,  jokes,  dramatic  imitations,  burlesque  parodies,  and  broad  sallies  of  humour 
were  the  entertainments  ;  and  Oliver  Goldsmith  was  in  his  glory.  Here  was  first  heard 
the  celebrated  epitaph  (Goldsmith  had  been  reading  Pope  and  Swift's  Miscellanies)  on 
Edward  Purdon : — 

"  Here  lies  poor  Ned  Purdon,  from  misery  freed, 
Who  long  was  a  bookseller's  hack ; 
He  had  led  such  a  damnable  life  in  this  world, 
I  don't  think  he'll  wish  to  come  back." 

Westminster  Club,  23,  Albemarle-street. 

Whist  Clubs  originated  with  whist  becoming  popular  in  England  about  1730, 
when  it  was  closely  studied  by  a  party  of  gentlemen,  who  formed  a  sort  of  Club  at  the 
Y)  \\j  Crown  Coffee-house,  in  Bedford-row.  Hoyle  is  said  to  have  given  instructions  in  the 
game,  for  which  his  charge  was  a  guinea  a  lesson.  A  Committee,  including  members 
of  several  of  the  best  London  Clubs,  well  known  as  whist-players,  has  drawn  up  a  code 
of  rules  for  the  game ;  and  these  rules,  as  governing  the  best  modern  practice,  have 
been  accepted  by  the  Arlington,  the  Army  and  Navy,  Arthur's,  Boodle's,  Brooks's, 
Carlton,  Conservative,  Garrick,  Guards',  Junior  Carlton,  Portland,  Oxford  and  Cam- 
bridge, Reform,  St.  James's,  White's,  &c.  The  Laws  of  Short  Whist  were,  in  1865, 
published  in  a  small  volume ;  and  to  this  strictly  legal  portion  of  the  book  is  appended 
A  Treatise  on  the  Game,  by  Mr.  J.  Clay,  M.P.  for  Hull,  one  of  the  best  modern 
whist-players. 

White's  (Tory)  Club-house,  36  and  37,  St.  James's-street,  has  an  elegant  front, 
designed  by  James  Wyatt,  restored  and  enriched  in  1851 :  the  medallions  of  the  Four 
Seasons  above  the  drawing-room  story  are  classic  compositions.  The  Club,  as  White's 
Chocolate-house,  was  originally  established  about  1698,  near  the  bottom  of  the  west 
side  of  St.  James's-street :  the  Club-house,  then  kept  by  Mr.  Arthur,  was  burnt  down 
April  28, 1773  ;  and  plate  6  of  Hogarth's  "  Rake's  Progress  "  shows  a  room  at  White's 
so  intent  upon  their  play,  as  neither  to  see  the  flames  nor  hear  the  watchmen,  who  are 
bursting  into  the  room  to  give  the  alarm.  Sir  Andrew  Fountayne's  collection  of 
pictures,  valued  at  3000Z.,  was  destroyed  in  the  fire ;  and  the  King  and  the  Prince  of 
Wales  were  present,  encouraging  the  firemen  and  people  to  work  the  engines.  In  1736, 
the  principal  members  of  the  Club  were  the  Duke  of  Devonshire,  Lord  Chesterfield,  Sir 
John  Cope,  Bubb  Doddington,  and  Colley  Cibber :  before  this  date  it  was  an  open 
Chocolate-house.  It  soon  became  a  gaming  Club  and  a  noted  supper-house,  the  dinner- 
hour  being  early  a  century  since.  Betting  was  another  of  its  pastimes ;  and  a  book 
for  entering  wagers  was  always  laid  upon  the  table.  The  play  here  was  frightful ;  it 
was  for  White's  that  Walpole  and  his  friends  composed  the  famous  heraldic  satire. 

Walpole  writes  to  Sir  Horace  Mann,  Sept.  1,1750:  "  They  have  put  into  the  papers  a  good  story 
made  at  White's.  A  man  dropped  down  dead  at  the  door,  and  was  carried  in ;  the  Club  immediately 
made  bets  whether  he  was  dead  or  not ;  and  when  they  were  going  to  bleed  him,  the  wagerers  for  his 
death  interposed,  and  said  it  would  affect  the  fairness  of  the  bet." 

"  At  the  time  that  White's  Chocolate-house  was  opened  at  the  bottom  of  St.  James's-street— the  close 
of  the  last  century — it  was  probably  thought  vulgar ;  for  there  was  a  garden  attached,  and  it  had  a 
suburban  air.  At  the  tables  in  the  house  or  garden  more  than  one  highwayman  took  his  chocolate,  or 
threw  his  main,  before  he  quietly  mounted  his  horse,  and  rode  slowly  down  Piccadilly  towards  Bagshot. 
The  celebrated  Lord  Chesterfield  there  '  gamed,  and  pronounced  witticisms  among  the  boys  of  quality.' 
Steele  dated  all  his  love  news  in  the  Tatler  from  White's.  It  was  stigmatized  as '  the  common  rendezvous 
of  infamous  sharpers  and  noble  cullies ;'  and  bets  were  laid  to  the  effect  that  Sir  William  Burdett,  one 
of  its  members,  would  be  the  first  baronet  who  would  be  hanged.  The  gambling  went  on  till  dawn  of  day ; 
and  Pelham,  when  Prime  Minister,  was  not  ashamed  to  divide  his  time  between  his  official  table  and  the 
piquet  table  at  White's.  White's  ceased  to  be  an  open  Chocolate-house  in  1736."— Dr.  Doran's  Table  Trail*. 

The  Club,  on  June  20,  1814,  gave  at  Burlington-house,  to  the  Allied  Sovereigns 
then  in  England,  a  ball,  which  cost  9489Z.  2*.  6d. ;  and  on  July  6  following,  the  Club 
gave  a  dinner  to  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  which  cost  2480Z.  10s.  9d. — (See  Cunning, 
ham's  Handbook  ("  White's  ")  for  several  very  interesting  extracts  from  the  Club-books, 
and  from  writers  of  the  middle  of  the  last  century,  "  curiously  characteristic  of  the 
state  of  society  at  the  time." 

Whittington  Club  and  Metropolitan  Athen.£:um,  Arundel-street,  originated 
in  1846  with  Mr.  Douglas  Jerrold,  who  became  its  first  president.  It  combines  a 
literary  society  with  a  Club-house,  upon  an  economical  scale,  for  the  middle  classes ;  con- 


COFFEE-HOUSES.  .  261 


taining  dining  and  coffee-rooms,  library  and  reading-rooms,  smoking  and  cliess-rooms ; 
and  a  large  room  for  balls,  concerts,  and  soirees.  Lectures  are  given  here,  and  classes 
held  for  the  higher  branches  of  education,  fencing  and  dancing,  &c.  In  the  ball-room 
is  a  picture  of  Whittington  listening  to  Bow-bells,  painted  by  P.  Newenham,  and  pre- 
sented to  the  Club  by  its  founder.  All  the  original  Crown  and  Anchor  premises, 
wherein  the  Club  first  met,  were  destroyed  by  fire  in  1854 :  they  have  been  rebuilt, 
and  the  establishment  is  now  styled  the  Whittington  Club. 

Windham  Club,  11,  St.  James's-square,  was  founded  by  the  late  Lord  Nugent,  for 
gentlemen  "  connected  with  each  other  by  a  common  bond  of  literary  or  personal 
acquaintance."  The  mansion  was  the  residence  of  William  Windham ;  next,  of  the 
accomplished  John  Duke  of  Roxburghe;  and  here  the  Roxburghe  Library  was  sold 
in  1812,  the  sale  commencing  May  18,  and  extending  to  forty-one  days.  Lord  Chief- 
Justice  Ellenborough  lived  here  in  1814  ;  and  subsequently,  the  Earl  of  Blessington, 
who  possessed  a  fine  collection  of  pictures. 

COFFEE-ILO  USES. 

COFFEE  was  first  drunk  in  London  about  the  middle  of  the  seventeenth  century. 
"  The  first  coffee-house  in  London,"  says  Aubrey  (MS.  in  the  Bodleian  Library), 
"  was  in  St.  Michael's-alley,  in  Cornhill,  opposite  to  the  church,  which  was  set  up  by 

one Bowman  (coachman  to  Mr.  Hodges,  a  Turkey  merchant,  who  putt  him  upon 

it),  in  or  about  the  year  1652.  'Twas  about  four  yeares  before  any  other  was  sett  up, 
and  that  was  by  Mi.  Farr.  Jonathan  Paynter,  over-against  to  St.  Michael's  Church, 
was  the  first  apprentice  to  the  trade,  viz.,  to  Bowman." 

Another  account  states  that  one  Edwards,  a  Turkey  merchant,  on  his  return  from 
the  East  in  1657,  brought  with  him  a  Ragusan  Greek  servant,  Pasqua  Rosee,  who 
prepared  coffee  every  morning  for  his  master,  and  with  the  coachman  above  named  set 
up  the  first  coffee-house  in  St.  Michael's-alley ;  but  they  soon  quarrelled  and  separated, 
the  coachman  establishing  himself  in  St.  Michael's  churchyard. 

Sir  Hans  Sloane  had  in  his  Museum  in  Bloomsbury-square,  "  part  of  a  coffee-tree,  with  the  henries 
and  leaves  thereon ;  it  was  brought  over  from  Moco,  in  Arabia,  by  Air.  E.  Clive,  of  London,  merchant," 
who  lias  described  it  in  Philos.  Trans.  No.  208. 

Coffee  is  first  mentioned  in  our  statute-book  anno  1660  (12  Car.  II.,  c.  24),  when  a 
duty  of  4d.  was  laid  upon  every  gallon  of  coffee  made  and  sold.  A  statute  of  1663 
directs  that  all  coffee-houses  should  be  licensed  at  the  Quarter  Sessions.  In  1675, 
Charles  II.  issued  a  proclamation  to  shut  up  the  coffee-houses,  charged  with  being 
seminaries  of  sedition ;  but  in  a  few  days  he  suspended  this  proclamation  by  a  second. 

As  coffee  declined  in  fashion,  the  Coffee-houses  mostly  became  Taverns  and  Dining- 
houses,  or  Chop-houses.     The  first  on  our  list  is  an  instance. 

Baker's  Coffee-house,  1,  Change-alley,  Lombard-street,  was  originally  for  the 
sale  of  coffee,  but  has  been  for  nearly  half  a  century  noted  for  its  chops  and  steaks, 
broiled  in  the  coffee-room,  and  eaten  hot  from  the  gridiron. 

Baltic  Coffee-house,  58,  Threadneedle-street,  is  the  rendezvous  of  merchants  and 
brokers  connected  with  the  Russian  trade,  or  that  in  tallow,  oil,  hemp,  and  seeds. 
The  supply  of  news  to  the  subscription-room  is,  with  the  exception  of  the  chief  London, 
Liverpool,  and  Hull  papers,  confined  to  that  from  the  north  of  Europe  and  the  tallow- 
producing  countries  on  the  South  American  coast.  In  the  upper  part  of  the  Baltic 
Coffee-house  is  the  auction  sale-room  for  tallow,  oils,  &c. 

Bedford  Coffee-house,  "  under  the  Piazza,  in  Covent  Garden,"  north-east  corner, 
in  Memoirs  of  the  Bedford  Coffee-house,  two  editions,  1751-1763,  is  described  as  having 
been  "  signalized  for  many  years  as  the  emporium  of  wit,  the  seat  of  criticism,  and  the 
standard  of  taste.  Names  of  those  who  frequented  the  house : — Foote,  Mr.  Fielding, 
Mr.  Woodward,  who  mostly  lived  here,  Mr.  Leone,  Mr.  Murphy,  Mopsy,  Dr.  Arne. 
Dr.  Arne  was  the  only  man  in  a  suit  of  velvet  in  the  dog-days.  Stacie  kept  the  Bed- 
ford when  John  and  Henry  Fielding,  Hogarth,  Chnrchill,  Woodward,  Llovd,  Dr. 
Goldsmith,  and  many  others  met  there  and  held  a  gossiping  shilling-rubber  club. 
Henry  Fielding  was  a  very  merry  fellow."     In  the   Connoisseur,  No.  2,  we  read : 


262.  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"This  Coffee-house  is  every  night  crowded  with  men  of  parts.  Almost  every  one  you 
meet  is  a  polite  scholar  and  a  wit.  Jokes  and  bon-mots  are  echoed  from  hox  to  box : 
every  branch  of  literature  is  critically  examined,  and  the  merit  of  every  production  of 
the  press,  or  performance  of  the  theatres,  weighed  and  determined."  Foote  and 
Garrick  often  met  here.  Garrick,  in  early  life,  had  been  in  the  wine-trade,  and  had 
supplied  the  Bedford  with  wine  j  he  was  thus  described  by  Foote  as  living  in  Durham- 
yard,  with  three  quarts  of  vinegar  in  the  cellar,  calling  himself  a  wine-merchant. 
Churchill's  quarrel  with  Hogarth  began  at  the  shilling-rubber  club,  in  the  Bedford 
parlour :  "  Never,"  says  Walpole,  "  did  two  angry  men  of  their  abilities  throw  mud 
with  less  dexterity."  Young  Collins,  the  poet,  who  came  to  town  in  1744  to  seek  his 
fortune,  made  his  way  to  the  Bedford,  where  Foote  was  supreme  among  the  wits  and 
critics.  Like  Foote,  Collins  was  fond  of  fine  clothes,  and  walked  about  with  a  feather 
in  his  hat,  very  unlike  a  young  man  who  had  not  a  single  guinea  he  could  call  his  own. 
A  letter  of  the  time  tells  us  that  "  Collins  was  an  acceptable  companion  everywhere ; 
and  among  the  gentlemen  who  loved  him  for  a  genius  may  be  reckoned  the  Doctors 
Armstrong,  Barrowby,  Hill,  Messrs.  Quin,  Garrick,  and  Foote,  who  frequently  took 
his  opinion  upon  their  pieces  before  they  were  seen  by  the  public.  He  was  particularly 
noticed  by  the  geniuses  who  frequented  the  Bedford  and  Slaughter's  Coffee-houses." 
{Memoir,  by  Moy  Thomas.)  In  1754,  Foote  was  supreme  in  his  critical  corner  at  the 
Bedford.  The  regular  frequenters  of  the  room  strove  to  get  admitted'  to  his  party  at 
supper ;  and  others  got  as  nearly  as  they  could  to  the  table,  as  the  only  humour  flowed 
from  Foote's  tongue.  The  Bedford  was  now  in  its  highest  repute :  Dr.  Barrowby  was 
the  great  newsmonger  of  the  day. 

Of  two  houses  in  the  Piazza,  huilt  for  Francis,  Earl  of  Bedford,  we  obtain  some  minute  information 
from  the  lease  granted  in  1634  to  Sir  Edmund  Verney,  Knight  Marshal  to  King  Charles  I. ;  these  two 
houses  being  just  then  erected  as  part  of  the  Piazza.  There  are  also  included  in  the  lease  the  "yards, 
stables,  coachhouses,  and  gardens  now  layd,  or  hereafter  to  be  layd,  to  the  said  messuages,"  which 
description  of  the  premises  seems  to  identify  them  as  the  two  houses  at  the  southern  endof  the  Piazza,  ad- 
joining to  Great  Russell-street,  and  now  occupied  as  the  Bedford  Coffee-house  and  Hotel.  They  are  either 
the  same  premises,  or  they  immediately  adjoin  the  premises,  occupied  a  century  later  as  the  Bedford 
Coffee-house.  (Mr.  John  Bruce,  Archaeologia,  xxxv.  195.)  The  lease  contained  a  minute  specification 
of  the  landlord's  fittings  and  customary  accommodations  of  what  were  then  some  of  the  most  fashion- 
able residences  in  the  metropolis.  In  the  attached  schedule  is  the  use  of  the  wainscot,  enumerating 
separately  every  piece  of  wainscot  on  the  premises.  The  tenant  is  bound  to  keep  in  repair  the  "  Portico 
Walke"  underneath  the  premises;  he  is  at  all  times  to  have  "ingresse,  egresse  and  regresse"  through 
the  Portico  Walk ;  and  he  may  "  expel,  put,  or  drive  away  out  of  the  said  walke  any  youth  or  other 
person  whatsoever  which  shall  eyther  play  or  be  in  the  said  Portico  Walke  in  offence  or  disturbance  to 
the  said  Sir  Edmund  Verney." — Club  Life  of  London,  vol.  ii.,  p.  81, 1866. 

At  the  present  Bedford  Coffee-house,  or  Hotel,  the  Beef-steak  Society  met  before  their 
removal  to  the  Lyceum  Theatre. 

British  Coffee-house,  Cockspur-street,  "  long  a  house  of  call  for  Scotchmen,"  has 
been  fortunate  in  its  landladies.  In  1759,  it  was  kept  by  the  sister  of  Bishop  Douglas, 
so  well  known  for  his  works  against  Lauder  and  Bower,  which  may  explain  its  Scottish 
fame.  At  another  period  it  was  kept  by  Mrs.  Anderson,  described  in  Mackenzie's  Life 
of  Home  as  "  a  woman  of  uncommon  talents,  and  the  most  agreeable  conversation." 

Button's  Coffee-house,  "  over  against  Tom's,  in  Covent-garden,"  was  established 
in  1712,  and  thither  Addison  transferred  much  company  from  Tom's.  In  July,  1713,  a 
Lion's  Head,  "  a  proper  emblem  of  knowledge  and  action,  being  all  head  and  paws," 
was  set  up  at  Button's,  in  imitation  of  the  celebrated  Lion  at  Venice,  to  receive  letters 
and  papers  for  the  Guardian.  Here  the  wits  of  that  time  used  to  assemble ;  and 
among  them,  Addison,  Pope,  Steele,  Swift,  Arbuthnot,  Count  Viviani,  Savage,  Budgell, 
Philips,  Davenant,  and  Colonel  Brett ;  and  here  it  was  that  Philips  hung  up  a  birchen 
rod,  with  which  he  threatened  to  chastise  Pope  for  "  a  biting  epigram."  Button,  the 
master  of  the  Coffee-house,  had  been  a  servant  in  the  Countess  of  Warwick's  family ; 
and  it  is  said  that  when  Addison  suffered  any  vexation  from  the  Countess,  he  withdrew 
the  company  from  Button's  house.  Just  after  Queen  Anne's  accession,  Swift  made 
acquaintance  with  the  leaders  of  the  wits  at  Button's.  Ambrose  Philips  refers  to  him 
as  the  strange  clergyman  whom  the  frequenters  of  the  Coffee-house  had  observed  for 
some  days.  He  knew  no  one,  no  one  knew  him.  He  would  lay  his  hat  down  on  a 
table,  and  walk  up  and  down  at  a  brisk  pace  for  half  an  hour  without  speaking  to  any 
one.     Then  he  would  snatch  up  his  hat ,  pay  his  money  at  the  bar,  and  walk  off,  with- 


COFFEE-HOUSES.  263 


out  having  opened  his  lip3.     He  was  called  in  the  room  "  the  mad  parson."     Here 
Swift  first  saw  Addison. 

Sir  Walter  Scott  gives,  upon  the  authority  of  Dr.  Wall,  of  Worcester,  who  had  it  from  Dr.  Arbuth- 
not  himself,  the  following  anecdote,  less  coarse  than  the  version  usually  told.  Swift  was  seated  at  the 
fire  at  Button's :  there  was  sand  on  the  floor  of  the  coffee-room,  and  Arbuthnot  offered  him  a  letter 
which  he  had  been  just  addressing,  saying  at  the  same  time — "  There,  sand  that."  "  I  have  no  sand," 
answered  Swift ;  "  but  I  can  help  you  to  a  little  gravel."  This  he  said  so  significantly,  that  Arbuthnot 
hastily  snatched  back  the  letter,  to  save  it  from  the  fate  of  the  capital  of  Lilliput. 

At  Button's  the  leading  company,  particularly  Addison  and  Steele,  met  in  large 
flowing  flaxen  wigs.  Sir  Godfrey  Kneller,  too,  was  a  well-dressed  frequenter.  The 
master  died  in  1731,  when  in  the  Daily  Advertiser,  October  5,  appeared  the  follow- 
ing : — "  On  Sunday  morning,  died,  after  three  days'  illness,  Mr.  Button,  who  formerly 
kept  Button's  Coffee-house,  in  Russell-street,  Covent-garden ;  a  very  noted  house  for 
wits,  heing  the  place  where  the  Lyon  produced  the  famous  Tatlers  and  Spectators, 
written  by  the  late  Mr.  Secretary  Addison  and  Sir  Bichard  Steele,  Knt.,  which  works 
will  transmit  their  names  with  honour  to  posterity."  Mr.  Cunningham  found  in  the 
vestry-books  of  St.  Paul's,  Covent-garden  : — "  1719,  April  16.  Received  of  Mr.  Daniel 
Button,  for  two  places  in  the  pew  No.  18,  on  the  south  side  of  the  north  Isle,  21.  2s." 
J.  T.  Smith  states  that  Button's  name  appears  in  the  books  of  St.  Paul's  as  receiving 
an  allowance  from  the  parish.     (See  Streets  of  London,  Part  1.  p.  159.) 

Button's  continued  in  vogue  until  Addison's  death  and  Steele's  retirement  into  Wales, 
after  which  the  house  was  deserted ;  the  coffee-drinkers  went  to  the  Bedford  Coffee- 
house, the  dinner-parties  to  the  Shakspeare.  In  1720,  Hogarth  mentions  "  four  draw- 
ings in  Indian  ink  "  of  the  characters  at  Button's  Coffee-house.  In  these  were  sketches 
of  Arbuthnot,  Addison,  Pope,  (as  it  is  conjectured,)  aud  a  certain  Count  Viviani,  iden- 
tified years  afterwards  by  Horace  Walpole,  when  the  drawings  came  under  his  notice. 
They  subsequently  came  into  Ireland's  possession. — (Sala's  vivid  William  Hogarth, 
Cornhill  Magazine,  vol.  i.  428.)  Jemmy  Maclaine,  or  M'Clean,  the  fashionable  high- 
wayman, was  a  frequent  visitor  at  Button's,  which  subsequently  became  a  private  house ; 
and  here  Mrs.  Inchbald  lodged,  probably,  after  the  death  of  her  sister,  for  whose  sup- 
port she  practised  such  noble  and  generous  self-denial.  Phillips,  the  publisher,  offered 
her  a  thousand  pounds  for  her  Memoirs,  which  she  declined. 

The  memorable  Lion's  Head  is  tolerably  well  carved :  through  the  mouth  the  letters  were  dropped 
into  a  till  at  Button's;  and  beneath  were  inscribed  these  two  lines  from  Martial :  — 
"  Cervantur  magnis  isti  Cervicibus  ungues : 
Non  nisi  delicti  pascitur  ille  feraV* 

The  head  was  designed  by  Hogarth,  and  is  etched  in  Ireland's  Illustrations.  Lord  Chesterfield  is 
said  to  have  once  offered  for  the  Head  fifty  guineas.  From  Button's  it  was  removed  to  the  Shakspeare 
Head  Tavern,  under  the  Piazza,  kept  by  a  person  named  Tomkyns ;  and  in  1751,  was,  for  a  short  time, 
placed  in  the  Bedford  Coffee-house  immediately  adjoining  the  Shakspeare,  and  there  employed  as  a 
letter-box  by  Dr.  John  Hill,  for  his  Inspector.  In  1769,  Tomkyns  was  succeeded  by  his  waiter,  Camp- 
bell, as  proprietor  of  the  tavern  and  Lion's  head,  and  by  him  the  latter  was  retained  until  Nov.  8,  1804, 
when  it  was  purchased  by  Mr.  Charles  Richardson,  of  Richardson's  Hotel,  for  17/.  10*.,  who  also  pos- 
sessed the  original  sign  of  the  Shakspeare  Head.  After  Mr.  Richardson's  death  in  1827,  the  Lion's 
Head  devolved  to  his  son,  of  whom  it  was  bought  by  the  Duke  of  Bedford,  and  deposited  at  Woburn 
Abbey,  where  it  still  remains. — Communicatedby  Mr.John  Qreen. — See  also  Guardian,  Nos.  85, 93, 114, 142. 

Chapter.  Coffee-house,  50,  Paternoster-row,  is  mentioned  in  No.  1  of  the  Connois- 
seur, January  31,  1754,  as  the  resort  of  "  those  encouragers  of  literature,  and  not  the 
worst  judges  of  merit,  the  booksellers."  Chatterton  dates  several  letters  from  the 
Chapter.  Goldsmith  frequented  the  coffee-room,  and  always  occupied  one  place,  which, 
for  many  years  after,  was  the  seat  of  literary  honour  there.  The  Chapter  had  its  leather 
token. 

Alexander  Stephens  left  some  reminiscences  of  the  many  literati  and  politicians  who  frequented 
the  Chapter  from  1797  to  1805.  The  box  in  the  north-east  corner  was  called  the  Witenagemot,  and  was 
occupied  by  the  "  Wet  Paper  Club."  Here  assembled  Dr.  Buchan,  author  of  Domestic  Medicine;  Dr. 
Berdmore,  Master  of  the  Charter-house;  Walker,  the  rhetorician;  and  Dr.  Towers,  the  political  writer; 
Dr.  George  Fordyce,  and  Dr.  Gower  of  "  the  Middlesex,"  who,  with  Buchan,  prescribed  the  Chapter 
punch ;  Robinson,  King  of  the  Booksellers,  and  his  brother  John ;  Joseph  Johnson,  the  friend  of 
Priestley  and  Paine,  and  Cowper  and  Fuseli ;  Alexander  Chalmers,  the  workman  of  the  Robinsons ;  the 
two  Parrys,  of  the  Courier,  then  the  organ  of  Jacobinism;  Lowndes,  the  electrician;  Dr.  Busby,  the 
writer  on  music;  Jacob,  an  Alderman  andM.P.;  Waithman,  then  Common  Councilman;  Mr.  Blake, 
the  banker,  of  Lombard-street ;  Mr.  Patterson,  a  North  Briton,  who  taught  Pitt  mathematics;  Alexan- 
der Stephens ;  and  Phillips  (afterwards  Sir  Richard),  who  here  recruited  for  contributors  to  his  Monthly 
Magazine.  The  Witenagemot  lost  its  literary  celebrities ;  but  the  Chapter  maintained  its  reputation 
for  good  punch  and  coffee,  scarce  pamphlets,  and  liberal  supply  of  town  and  country  newspapers. 


264  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Mrs.  Gaskell  has  left  the  following  account  of  the  Chapter  in  1818  : — 

"  It  latterly  became  the  tavern  frequented  by  university  men,  and  country  clergymen,  who  were  up  in 
London  for  a  few  days,  and,  having  no  private  friends  or  access  into  society,  were  glad  to  learn 
what  was  going  on  in  "the  world  of  letters,  from  the  conversation  which  they  were  sure  to  hear  in  the 
coffee-room.  It  was  a  place  solely  frequented  by  men ;  I  believe  there  was  but  one  female  servant  in 
the  house.  Tew  people  slept  there :  some  of  the  stated  meetings  of  the  trade  were  held  in  it,  as  they 
had  been  for  more  than  a  century;  and  occasionally  country  booksellers,  with  now  and  then  a  clergy- 
man, resorted  to  it.  In  the  lonsr,  low,  dingy  room  upstairs,  the  meetings  of  the  trade  were  held."  The 
Chapter  is  now  a  modernized  public-house. 

Child's  Coffee-house,  St.  Paul's  Churchyard,  was  one  of  the  Spectator's  houses, 
who  smoked  a  pipe  here,  and  whilst  he  seemed  attentive  to  nothing  but  the  Postman, 
overheard  the  conversation  of  every  table  in  the  room.  It  was  much  frequented  by  the 
clergy,  and  Fellows  of  the  Royal  Society.  Dr.  Mead  often  came  here.  Child's  was, 
in  one  respect,  superseded  by  the  Chapter,  in  Paternoster-row. 

Clifford-street  Coffee-house,  corner  of  Bond-street,  had  its  debating  club. 
(See  ante  p.  245.)  During  a  debate,  the  refreshment  was  porter,  to  a  pot  of 
which  Canning  compared  the  eloquence  of  Mirabeau,  as  empty  and  vapid  as  his 
patriotism — "  foam  and  frotli  at  the  top,  heavy  and  muddy  within." 

Cocoa-Tree,  64,  St.  James's-street.     (See  Cocoa-tree  Club,  p.  216.) 

Dick's  Coffee-house  (now  a  Tavern),  8,  Fleet-street,  near  Temple  Bar,  was  ori- 
ginally called  Kichard's,  from  its  landlord,  Richard  Torver,  or  Turver,  in  1680.  Here 
Steele  takes  the  "Twaddlers,"  in  the  Tatler,  Nos.  86  and  132.  The  coffee-room  was 
frequented  by  the  poet  Cowper,  when  he  lived  in  the  Temple.  The  room  retains  its 
olden  panelling,  and  the  staircase  its  original  balusters. 

"  In  1737,  Dick's  was  kept  by  a  Mrs.  Yarrow  and  her  daughter,  who  were  the  reigning  toasts  with 
the  frequenters,  and  were  supposed  to  be  ridiculed  in  the  comedy  of  '  The  Coffee-house,'  by  the  Itev. 
James  Miller.  This  was  stoutly  denied  by  the  author :  but  the  engraver  having  inadvertently  fixed 
upon  Dick's  Coffee-house  as  the  frontispiece  scene,  the  Templars,  with  whom  the  ladies  were  great 
favourites,  became  by  his  accident  so  confirmed  in  their  suspicions,  that  they  united  to  damn  the  piece, 
and  even  extended  their  resentment  to  everything  suspected  to  be  this  author's  for  a  considerable  time 
after." — Biographia  Dramatica, 

The  Coffee-house  was,  wholly  or  in  part,  the  original  printing-office  of  Richard 
Tottel,  law-printer  to  Edward  VI.,  Queens  Mary  and  Elizabeth ;  the  premises  were 
attached  to  No.  7,  Fleet-street,  which  bore  the  sign  of  "  The  Hand  and  Starre,"  where 
Tottel  lived,  and  published  the  law  and  other  works  he  printed.  No.  7  was  subse- 
quently occupied  by  Jaggard  and  Joel  Stephens,  eminent  law-writers,  temp.  Geo.  I.— 
III.;  and  at  the  present  day  the  house  is  most  appropriately  occupied  by  Messrs. 
Butterworth,  who  follow  the  occupation  Tottel  did  in  the  days  of  Edward  VI.,  being 
law-publishers  to  Queen  Victoria;  and  they  possess  the  original  leases,  from  the  earliest 
grant,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.,  to  the  period  of  their  own  purchase. 

George's  Coffee-house  (now  a  hotel),  213,  Strand,  near  Essex-street,  is  men- 
tioned by  Foote,  in  his  Life  of  A.  Murphy,  as  an  evening  meeting-place  of  the  town 
wits  of  1751.  Shenstone  was  a  frequenter  of  George's,  where,  for  a  shilling  sub- 
scription, he  read  "  all  pamphlets  under  a  three  shillings'  dimension."  It  was  closed 
in  1843. 

Grecian  Coffee-house,  Devereux-court,  Strand,  was  originally  kept  by  one  Con- 
stantine,  a  Grecian.  From  this  house  Steele  proposed  to  date  his  learned  articles  in  the 
Tatler ;  it  is  mentioned  in  No.  1  of  the  Spectator ;  and  it  was  much  frequented  by 
Goldsmith  and  the  Irish  and  Lancashire  Templars.  The  Spectator's  face  was  very 
well  known  at  the  Grecian,  "  adjacent  to  the  law."  Occasionally  it  was  the  scene  of 
learned  discussion.  Thus,  Dr.  King  relates  that  one  evening,  two  gentlemen,  who  were 
constant  companions,  were  disputing  here,  concerning  the  accent  of  a  Greek  word. 
This  dispute  was  carried  to  such  a  length,  that  the  two  friends  thought  proper  to 
determine  it  by  their  swords :  for  this  purpose  they  stepped  into  Devereux-court,  where 
one  of  them  (Dr.  King  thinks  his  name  was  Fitzgerald)  was  run  through  the  body,  and 
died  on  the  spot.  The  Grecian  was  Foote's  morning  lounge.  Here  Goldsmith  occa- 
sionally wound  up  his  "  Shoemaker's    Holiday"  with  supper.      The  house  was  also 


COFFEE-HOUSES.  265 


frequented  by  Fellows  of  tho  Royal  Society.     The  premises  have,  since  1843,  been  the 
"  Grecian  Chambers ;"  and  over  the  door  is  the  bust  of  Devereux,  Earl  of  Essex. 

Garkaway's  Coffee-iiouse,  3,  Change-alley,  Cornhill,  had  a  threefold  celebrity : 
tea  was  first  sold  in  England  here ;  it  was  a  place  of  great  resort  in  the  time  of  the 
South  Sea  Bubble  ;  and  was  throughout  a  house  of  great  mercantile  transactions.  The 
original  proprietor  was  Thomas  Garway,  tobacconist  and  coffee-man,  the  first  who 
retailed  tea,  recommending  it  for  the  cure  of  all  disorders;  the  following  is  the  sub- 
stance of  his  shop-bill : — 

"  Tea  in  England  hath  been  sold  in  the  leaf  for  six  pounds,  and  sometimes  for  ten  pounds  the  pound 
weight,  and  in  respect  of  its  former  scarceness  and  dearness,  it  hath  been  only  used  as  a  regalia  in  high 
treatments  and  entertainments,  and  presents  made  thereof  to  princes  and  grandees  till  the  year  1651. 
The  said  Thomas  Garway  did  purchase  a  quantity  thereof,  and  first  publicly  sold  the  said  tea  in  leaf  and 
drink,  made  according  to  the  directions  of  the  most  knowing  merchants  and  travellers  into  those 
Eastern  countries ;  and  upon  knowledge  and  experience  of  the  said  Garway's  continued  care  and  industry 
in  obtaining  the  best  tea,  and  making  drink  thereof,  very  many  noblemen,  physicians,  merchants,  and 
gentlemen  of  quality,  have  ever  since  sent  to  him  for  the  said  leaf,  and  daily  resort  to  his  house  in  Ex- 
change-alley, aforesaid,  to  drink  the  drink  thereof;  and  to  the  end  that  all  persons  of  eminence  and 
quality,  gentlemen,  and  others,  who  have  occasion  for  tea  in  leaf,  may  be  supplied,  these  are  to  give 
notice  that  the  said  Thomas  Garway  hath  tea  to  sell  from,  sixteen  to  fifty  shillings  per  pound."  (See  the 
document  entire  in  Ellis's  Letters,  series  iv.  58.) 

Ogilby,  the  compiler  of  the  Britannia,  had  his  standing  lottery  of  books  at  Garway's 
from  April  7,  1673,  till  wholly  drawn  off;  and,  in  the  Journey  through  England,  1722, 
Garraway's,  Robins's,  and  Joe's,  are  described  as  the  three  celebrated  Coffee-houses  : 
the  first,  the  people  of  quality,  who  have  business  in  the  City,  and  the  most  consider- 
able and  wealthy  citizens,  frequent;  the  second,  the  foreign  banquiers,  and  often 
even  foreign  ministers ;  and  the  third,  the  buyers  and  sellers  of  stock.  Wines  were 
sold  at  Garraway's  in  1673,  "  by  the  candle  " — that  is,  by  auction,  while  an  inch  of 
candle  burns.  Swift,  in  his  "  Ballad  on  the  South  Sea  Scheme,"  1721,  did  not  forget 
this  Coffee-house: — 

"  Meanwhile,  secure  on  Garway's  cliffs, 
A  savage  race  by  shipwrecks  fed, 
Lie  waiting  for  the  founder'd  skiffs, 
And  strip  the  bodies  of  the  dead." 

The  reader  may  recollect  with  what  realistic  power  of  incident  and  character 
Mr.  E. If.  Ward  painted,  some  twenty  years  ago,  the  strange  scene  in  the  Alley; 
and  his  characteristic  picture  is,  fortunately,  placed  in  our  National  Gallery,  as  a 
lesson  for  all  time.     In  the  background  is  shown  the  Garraway's  of  1720. 

Dr.  Radcliffe,  who  was  a  rash  speculator,  was  usually  planted  at  a  table  at  Garra- 
way's, to  watch  the  turn  of  the  market.  One  of  his  ventures  was  five  thousand 
guineas  upon  one  project.  When  he  was  told  at  Garraway's  that  it  was  all  lost,  "  Why," 
said  he,  "  'tis  but  going  up  five  thousand  pair  of  stairs  more."  "  This  answer,"  says 
Tom  Brown,  "  deserved  a  statue." 

Garraway's  was  long  famous  as  a  sandwich  and  drinking-room,  for  sherry,  pale  ale, 
and  punch.  Tea  and  coffee  were  also  served.  It  is  said  that  the  sandwich-maker  was 
occupied  two  hours  in  cutting  and  arranging  the  sandwiches  before  the  day's  consump- 
tion commenced.  The  large  sale-room  was  an  old-fashioned  first-floor  apartment,  with 
a  small  rostrum  for  the  seller,  and  a  few  commonly-grained  settles  for  the  buyers ; 
there  were  also  other  sale-rooms.  Here  sales  of  drugs,  mahogany,  and  timber  were 
periodically  held.  Twenty  or  thirty  property  and  other  sales  sometimes  took  place  in 
a  day.     The  walls  and  windows  of  the  lower  room  were  covered  with  auction  placards. 

The  first  Garway's  Coffee-house  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire ;  the  house  was 
rebuilt,  and  again  burnt  in  the  fire  in  Cornhill,  in  1748 ;  and  again  rebuilt,  and  finally 
closed  August  18, 1866.  The  basement,  used  as  wine-vaults,  was  ancient,  of  fourteenth 
and  sixteenth  century  architecture,  of  ecclesiastical  character,  and  had  a  piscina.  It 
is  remarkable  that  Garraway's,  where  tea  was  first  sold,  and  the  Angel,  at  Oxford, 
where  coffee  was  first  sold,  were  both  taken  down  in  1866. — Illustrated  London  Neics. 

Gbay's-inn  Coffee-uouse,  eastern  corner  of  Gray's-inn  Gate,  Holborn  :  here 
were  formerly  held  the  Commissions  De  Lunalico  inquirendo.     It  was  closed  in  1865. 

St.  James's  Coffee-house,  the  famous  Whig  Coffee-house  from  the  time  of  Queen 


266  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Anne  till  late  in  the  reign  of  George  III.  It  was  the  last  bouse  but  one  on  tbe  south- 
west corner  of  St.  James's-street,  and  is  thus  mentioned  in  No.  1  of  the  Tatler : 
"Foreign  and  domestic  news  you  will  have  from  St.  James's  Coffee-house."  It 
occurs  also  in  the  Spectator.  The  St.  James's  was  much  frequented  by  Swift ;  letters 
for  him  were  left  there.  Here  Swift  christened  the  coffee-man  Elliot's  child,  "  when," 
says  he, "  the  rogue  had  a  most  noble  supper,  and  Steele  and  I  sat  amongst  some  scurvy 
company  over  a  bowl  of  punch."  Lady  Mary  Wortley  Montague's  Town  'Eclogues 
were  first  read  over  at  the  St.  James's  Coffee-house.  From  its  proximity  to  the  Palace, 
it  was  much  visited  by  the  Guards. 

But  the  St.  James's  is  more  memorable  as  the  house  where  originated  Goldsmith's 
celebrated  poem,  Retaliation.  The  poet  belonged  to  a  temporary  association  of  men 
of  talent,  some  of  them  members  of  the  Club,  who  dined  together  occasionally  here. 
At  these  dinners  he  was  generally  the  last  to  arrive.  On  one  occasion,  when  he  was 
later  than  usual,  a  whim  seized  the  company  to  write  epitaphs  on  him,  as  "  the  late  Dr. 
Goldsmith,"  and  several  were  thrown  off  in  a  playful  vein.  The  only  one  extant  was 
written  by  Garrick,  and  has  been  preserved,  very  probably,  by  its  pungency  :— 

"  Here  lies  poet  Goldsmith,  for  shortness  called  Noll; 
He  wrote  like  an  angel,  but  talked  like  poor  Poll." 

Goldsmith  did  not  relish  the  sarcasm,  especially  coming  from  such  a  quarter ;  and, 
by  way  of  retaliation,  he  produced  the  famous  poem,  of  which  Cumberland  has  left  a 
very  interesting  account,  but  which  Mr.  Forster,  in  his  Life  of  Goldsmith,  states  to 
be  "  pure  romance."  The  poem  itself,  however,  with  what  was  prefixed  to  it  when 
published,  sufficiently  explains  its  own  origin. 

The  St.  James's  was  closed  about  1806,  and  a  large  pile  of  buildings  looking  down 
Pall  Mall  erected  on  its  site.  The  globular  oil-lamp  was  first  exhibited  by  its  inventor, 
Michael  Cole,  at  the  door  of  the  St.  James's  Coffee-house,  in  1709  :  in  the  patent  he 
obtained,  it  is  mentioned  as  "  a  new  kind  of  light." 

Jamaica  Coffee-house,  1,  St.  Michael's-alley,  Cornhill,  is  noted  for  the  accuracy 
and  fulness  of  its  West  India  intelligence.  The  subscribers  are  merchants  trading 
with  Madeira  and  the  West  Indies.  It  is  the  best  place  for  information  as  to  the 
mail-packets  on  the  West  India  station,  or  the  merchant  vessels  making  these 
voyages. 

Jeexjsalem  Coffee-house,  1,  Cowper's- court,  Cornhill,  is  one  of  the  oldest  of  the 
City  news-rooms,  and  is  frequented  by  merchants  and  captains  connected  with  the 
commerce  of  China,  India,  and  Australia. 

"  The  subscription-room  is  well  furnished  with  files  of  the  principal  Canton,  Hong  Kong,  Macao, 
Penang,  Singapore,  Calcutta,  Bombay,  Madras,  Sydney,  Hobai  t  Town,  Launceston,  Adelaide,  and  Port 
Philip  papers,  and  Prices  Current ;  besides  shipping-lists  and  papers  from  the  various  intermediate 
stations  or  ports  touched  at,  as  St.  Helena,  the  Cape  of  Good  Hope,  &c.  The  books  of  East  India 
shipping  include  arrivals,  departures,  casualties,  &c.  The  full  business  is  between  two  and  three  o'clock, 
p.m.  In  1845,  John  Tawell,  the  Slough  murderer,  was  captured  at  the  Jerusalem,  which  he  was  in  the 
habit  of  visiting,  to  ascertain  information  of  the  state  of  his  property  in  Sydney." — The  City,  2nd 
edit.,  1848. 

Jonathan's,  Change-alley  Coffee-house,  is  described  in  the  Tatler,  No.  38,  as 
"  the  general  mart  of  stock-jobbers ;"  and  the  Spectator,  No.  1,  tells  us  that  he 
"sometimes  passes  for  a  Jew  in  the  assembly  of  stock-jobbers  at  Jonathan's."  This 
was  the  rendezvous  where  gambling  of  all  sorts  was  carried  on ;  notwithstanding  a 
formal  prohibition  against  the  assemblage  of  the  jobbers,  issued  by  the  City  of  Loudon, 
which  prohibition  continued  unrepealed  until  1825.  Mrs.  Centlivre,  in  her  comedy  of 
A  Bold  Stroke  for  a  Wife,  has  a  scene  from  Jonathan's  at  the  above  period :  while 
the  stock-jobbers  are  talking,  the  coffee  boys  are  crying,  "  Fresh  coffee,  gentlemen, 
fresh  coffee !     Bohea  tea,  gentlemen  !" 

Langbouen  Coffee-house,  Ball-alley,  Lombard-street,  rebuilt  in  1850,  has  a 
broiling-stove  in  the  coffee-room,  whence  chops  and  steaks  are  served  hot  from  the 
gridiron ;  and  here  is  a  wine  and  cigar  room,  embellished  in  handsome  old  French 
taste. 

Lloyd's,  Royal  Exchange,  celebrated  for  its  priority  of  shipping  intelligence,  and 


COFFEE-HOUSES.  267 


its  marine  insurance,  originated  with  one  Lloyd,  who  kept  a  coffee-house  in  Lombard- 
street.  One  of  the  apartments  in  the  Exchange  is  fitted  up  as  Lloyd's  Coffee-room. 
(See  Exchanges.) 

London  Coffee-house,  Ludgate-hill  (now  a  hotel  and  tavern),  was  opened  May, 
1731,  as  "  a  punch  house,  Dorchester  Beer,  and  Welsh  Ale  Warehouse,  where  the  finest 
and  best  old  Arrack,  Rum,  and  French  Brandy  is  made  into  Punch."  In  front  of  the 
London  Coffee-house,  immediately  west  of  St.  Martin's  Church,  stood  Ludgate ;  and 
on  the  site  of  the  church  Wren  found  the  monument  of  a  Roman  soldier  of  the  Second 
Legion,  which  is  preserved  in  the  Arundelian  Collection.  The  London  Coffee-house  is 
noted  for  its  publishers'  sales  of  stock  and  copyrights.  It  was  within  the  rules  of  the 
Fleet  Prison  :  and  in  the  Coffee-house  are  "  locked  up  "  for  the  night  such  juries  from 
the  Old  Bailey  Sessions  as  cannot  agree  upon  verdicts.  The  house  was  long  kept  by 
the  grandfather  and  father  of  Mr.  John  Leech,  the  celebrated  artist.  At  the  bar  of 
the  London  Coffee-house  was  sold  Rowley's  British  Cephalic  Snuff.  A  singular  inci- 
dent occurred  here  many  years  since ;  Mr.  Brayley,  the  topographer,  was  present  at  a 
party,  when  Mr.  Broadhurst,  the  famous  tenor,  by  singing  a  high  note,  caused  a 
wine-glass  on  the  table  to  break,  the  bowl  being  separated  from  the  stem. 

Man's  CoFFEE-HorsE,  in  Scotland-yard,  near  the  water-side,  took  its  name  from 
the  proprietor,  Alexander  Man,  and  was  sometimes  known  as  Old  Man's,  or  the  Royal 
Coffee-house,  to  distinguish  it  from  Young  Man's  and  Little  Man's  minor  establishments 
in  the  neighbourhood. 

Miles's  Coffee-house,  New  Palace-yard,  Westminster,  was  the  place  of  meeting 
of  the  noted  Rota  Club.     (See  Clubs,  p.  255.) 

Munday's  Coffee-house,  Maiden-lane,  was  a  noted  sporting  resort  in  the  days 
of  Captain  England,  Dennis  O' Kelly,  Hull,  the  Clark es,  and  others  of  turf  notoriety. 
It  was  one  of  Sheridan's  retreats,  secure  from  his  creditors. 

Nando's  Coffee-house  was  the  house  at  the  east  corner  of  Inner  Temple-lane, 
17,  Fleet-street,  and  next  door  to  the  shop  of  Bernard  Lintot,  the  bookseller; 
though  it  has  been  by  some  confused  with  Groom's  house,  next  door.  Nando's  was 
the  favourite  haunt  of  Lord  Thurlow,  before  he  dashed  into  law  practice.  At  this 
Coffee-house  a  large  attendance  of  professional  loungers  was  attracted  by  the  fame 
of  the  punch  and  the  charms  of  the  landlady,  which,  with  the  small  wits,  were  duly 
admired  by  and  at  the  bar.  The  house,  formerly  Nando's,  was  also  the  depository  of 
Mr.  Salmon's  Waxwork.  It  has  been  for  many  years  a  hair-dresser's.  It  is  inscribed, 
"  Formerly  the  Palace  of  Henry  VIII.  and  Cardinal  Wolsey."  But  the  structure  is  of 
the  time  of  James  I.,  when  it  was  the  Council  Office  of  the  Duchy  of  Cornwall ;  an 
entry  in  1619  is  from  "  Prince's  Council  Chamber,  Fleet-street." 

New  England  and  North  and  South  American  Coffee-house,  59  and  60, 
Threadneedle-street,  had  a  subscription-room,  with  newspapers  from  every  quarter  of 
the  globe.  Here  the  first  information  could  be  obtained  of  the  arrival  and  departure  of 
steamers,  packets,  and  traders  engaged  in  the  commerce  of  America,  whether  at  Mon- 
treal and  Quebec,  or  Boston,  Halifax,  and  New  York.  The  heads  of  the  chief  American 
and  continental  firms  were  on  the  subscription-list,  and  the  representatives  of  Barings, 
Rothschilds,  and  other  wealthy  establishments,  attended  the  room  as  regularly  as 
'Change ;  as  did  also  American  captains,  and  the  "  City  Correspondents"  of  the  morning 
and  evening  press.  From  300  to  400  files  of  newspapers  were  kept  here,  ranging  from 
America  to  the  East  or  West  Indies,  thence  to  Australia,  the  Havana,  France,  Ger- 
many, Holland,  Russia,  Spain,  and  Portugal.     (Abridged  from  The  City,  2nd  edit.) 

Adjoining'  was  the  Cock  Tavern,  with  a  large  soup-room,  named  after  the  Cock,  which  faced  the 
north  gate  of  the  old  Royal  Exchange,  and  was  long  celebrated  for  the  excellence  of  its  soups,  served 
in  silver.  This  house  was  taken  down  in  1841 ;  when,  in  a  claim  for  compensation  made  by  the  pro- 
prietor, the  trade  in  three  years  was  proved  to  have  been  344,720  basins  of  various  soups — viz.,  166,240 
mock  turtle,  3920  giblet,  59,360  ox-tail,  31,072  bouilli,  84,128  gravy  and  other  soups :  sometimes  500 
basins  of  soup  were  sold  in  a  day. 

Peele's,  177  and  178,  Fleet-street,  east  corner  of  Fetter-lane,  was  one  of  the  coffee- 
houses of  the  Johnsonian  period ;    and  here  was  long  preserved   a  portrait  of  Dr. 


268  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Johnson,  on  the  keystone  of  a  chimney-piece,  stated  to  have  been  painted  by  Sir  Joshua 
Reynolds.  Peele's  was  noted  for  its  files  of  newspapers  from  these  dates :  Gazette,  1759; 
Times,  1780;  Morning  Chronicle,  1773;  Morning  Post,  1773;  Morning  Herald, 
1784 ;  Morning  Advertiser,  1794.     Peele's  is  now  a  tavern  and  hotel. 

Percy  Coffee-hottse,  the,  Rathbone-place,-  Oxford-street,  no  longer  exists  ;  but  it 
will  be  kept  in  recollection  for  its  having  given  name  to  one  of  the  most  popular  pub- 
lications, of  its  class,  in  our  time,  namely,  the  Percy  Anecdotes,  "  by  Sholto  and  Reuben 
Percy,  Brothers  of  the  Benedictine  Monastery  of  Mont  Benger,"  in  44  parts,  com- 
mencing in  1820.  So  said  the  title-pages ;  but  the  names  and  the  locality  were  sup- 
pose. Reuben  Percy  was  Thomas  Byerley,  who  died  in  1824 ;  Sholto  Percy  was  Joseph 
Clinton  Robertson,  who  died  in  1852.  The  name  of  the  collection  of  Anecdotes  was 
not  taken,  as  at  the  time  supposed,  from  the  popularity  of  the  Percy  Reliques,  but 
from  the  Percy  Coffee-house,  where  Byerley  and  Robertson  were  accustomed  to  meet  to 
talk  over  the  joint  work. 

Piazza  Coffee-hottse,  the,  was  opened  in  that  portion  of  the  Piazza  houses  in 
Covent-garden  which  is  now  the  Tavistock  Hotel.  Here  Macklin  fitted  up  a  large 
Coffee-room,  or  theatre  for  oratory ;  a  three-shilling  ordinary,  and  a  shilling  lecture  :  he 
presided  at  the  dinner-table,  and  carved  for  the  company,  after  which  he  played  a  sort 
of  "  Oracle  of  Eloquence."  Fielding  has  happily  sketched  him  in  his  Voyage  to 
Lisbon  :  "  Unfortunately  for  the  fishmongers  of  London,  the  Dory  only  resides  in  the 
Devonshire  seas ;  for  could  any  of  this  company  only  convey  one  to  the  Temple  of 
Luxury  under  the  Piazza,  where  Macklin,  the  high  priest,  daily  serves  up  his  rich 
offerings,  great  would  be  the  reward  of  that  fishmonger." 

Foote,  in  his  fun  upon  Macklin's  Lectures,  took  up  his  notion  of  applying 
Greek  tragedy  to  modern  subjects,  and  the  squib  was  so  successful,  that  Foote 
cleared  by  it  500Z.  in  five  nights,  while  the  great  Piazza  Coffee-room  in  Covent- 
garden  was  shut  up,  and  Macklin  in  the  Gazette  as  a  bankrupt.  Eastward  was 
the  Piazza  Coffee-house,  much  frequented  by  Sheridan  and  John  Kemble ;  and 
here  is  located  the  well-known  anecdote  told  of  Sheridan's  coolness  during  the 
burning  of  Drury-lane  Theatre,  in  1809.  It  is  said  that  as  he  sat  at  the  Piazza, 
during  the  fire,  taking  some  refreshment,  a  friend  of  his  having  remarked  on  the  philo- 
sophical calmness  with  which  he  bore  his  misfortune,  Sheridan  replied :  "  A  man  may 
surely  be  allowed  to  take  a  glass  of  wine  by  Ms  own  fireside."  The  Piazza  facade  and  its 
interior  were  of  Gothic  design  :  the  house  has  been  taken  down,  and  in  its  place  is  built 
the  Floral  Hall,  after  the  Crystal  Palace  model,  thus  breaking  the  continuity  of  Inigo 
Jones's  arcade. 

Rainbow  Coffee-hottse  (now  a  tavern),  15,  Fleet-street,  by  the  Inner  Temple 

Gate,  was  the  second  Coffee-hcuse  opened  in  London,  and  had  its  token-money : — 

"  James  Fake,  1666.  A  Rainbow.  R,  in  Fleet-street.  In  the  centre,  his  halfpenny.  It  is  well 
known  that  James  Farr  kept  the  Rainbow,  in  Fleet-street,  at  the  time  of  the  Great  Fire,  the  very  year 
of  which  is  marked  on  this  token.  Farr  was  a  barber;  and  in  the  year  1657  was  presented  by  the  In- 
quest of  St.  Dunstan's-in-the-West  for  making  and  selling1  '  a  sort  of  liquor  called  "  coffee,"  whereby  in 
making  the  same  he  annoyeth  his  neighbours  by  evill  smells  ;  and  for  keeping  of  fire  for  the  most  part 
night  and  day,  whereby  his  chimney  and  chamber  hath  been  set  on  fire,  to  the  great  danger  and  affright 
ment  of  his  neighbours.' " 

However,  Farr  was  not  ousted;  he  probably  promised  reform,  or  amended  the 
alleged  annoyance :  he  remained  at  the  Rainbow,  and  rose  to  be  a  person  of  eminence 
and  repute  in  the  parish.  He  issued  the  above  token,  date  1666 — an  arched  rainbow  based 
on  clouds,  doubtless,  from  the  Great  Fire — to  indicate  that  with  him  all  was  yet  safe, 
and  the  Rainbow  still  radiant.  There  is  one  of  his  tokens  in  the  Beaufoy  collection, 
at  Guildhall,  and  so  far  as  is  known  to  Mr.  Burn,  the  Rainbow  does  not  occur  on  any 
other  tradesman's  token.  The  house  was  let  off  into  tenements  :  books  were  printed 
here  at  this  very  time  "  for  Samuel  Speed,  at  the  sign  of  the  Rainbow,  near  the  Inner 
Temple  Gate,  in  Fleet-street."  The  Phcenix  Fire  Office  was  established  here  about 
1682.  Hatton,  in  1708,  evidently  attributed  Farr's  nuisance  to  the  coffee  itself,  say- 
ing :  "  Who  would  have  thought  London  would  ever  have  had  three  thousand  such 
nuisances,  and  that  coffee  would  have  been  (as  now)  so  much  drank  by  the  best  of 
quality,  and  physicians  ?"     The  nuisance  was  in  Farr's  chimney  and  carelessness,  not 


COFFEE-HOUSES.  269 


in  the  coffee.  The  Spectator,  No.  16,  notices  some  gay  frequenters  of  the  Rainbow  : 
"  I  have  received  a  letter  desiring  me  to  be  very  satirical  upon  the  little  muff  that  is 
now  in  fashion ;  another  informs  me  of  a  pair  of  silver  garters,  buckled  below  the 
knee,  that  have  lately  been  seen  at  the  Rainbow  Coffee-house,  in  Fleet-street."  Mr. 
Moncrieff,  the  dramatist,  used  to  tell  that  about  1780  this  house  was  kept  by  his  grand- 
father, Alexander  Moncrieff,  when  it  retained  its  original  title  of  "  The  Rainbow  Coffee- 
house." It  has  vaulted  cellars,  excellent  for  keeping  stout ;  the  old  coffee-room 
originally  had  a  lofty  bay-window  at  the  south  end,  looking  into  the  Temple ;  in  the 
bay  was  the  large  table  for  the  elders.  The  room  was  separated  by  a  glazed  partition 
from  the  kitchen,  where  was  a  clock  with  a  large  wooden  dial.  The  house  has  long 
been  a  tavern :  all  the  old  rooms  have  been  swept  away,  and  a  large  and  lofty  dining- 
room  erected  in  their  place.  There  are  views  of  the  old  entrance  to  the  Rainbow  in 
Hughson  and  Malcolm's  London,  1807  and  1808. 

Saltero's  (Don)  Coefee-hot/se,  18,  Cheyne-walk,  Chelsea,  was  opened  by  a  barber 
named  Salter,  in  1695.  Sir  Hans  Sloane,  whose  valet  Salter  had  been,  contributed 
some  of  the  refuse  gimcracks  of  his  own  collection ;  and  Vice- Admiral  Munden,  who 
had  been  long  on  the  coast  of  Spain,  named  the  keeper  of  the  house  Don  Saltero,  and 
his  coffee-house  and  museum,  Don  Saltero's.  Steele,  in  the  thirty-fourth  number  of 
the  Tatler,  describes  Salter  as  "carrying  on  the  avocations  of  barber  and  dentist. 
Yon  see  the  barber  in  Don  Quixote  is  one  of  the  principal  characters  in  the  history, 
which  gave  me  satisfaction  on  the  doubt  why  Don  Saltero  writ  his  name  with 
a  Spanish  termination.  Ten  thousand  were  gimcracks  round  the  room,  and  on  the 
ceiling ;  and  a  sage  of  thin  and  meagre  countenance,  of  that  sort  which  the  ancients 
call  '  gingivister,'  in  our  language,  ■  tooth-drawers.'  "  Among  the  curiosities  presented 
by  Admiral  Munden  was  a  coffin,  containing  the  body  or  relics  of  a  Spanish  saint,  who 
had  wrought  miracles;  also,  "  a  straw  hat,  which,"  says  Steele,  "  I  know  to  be  made  by 
Madge  Peskad,  within  three  miles  of  Bedford ;  and  he  tells  you  *  It  is  Pontius  Pilate's 
wife's  chambermaid's  sister's  hat.'  "  The  Don  was  famous  for  his  punch  and  his  skill 
on  the  fiddle :  he  also  drew  teeth,  and  wrote  verses ;  he  described  his  museum  in  several 
stanzas,  one  of  which  is — 

"Monsters  of  all  sorts  here  are  seen : 

Strange  things  in  nature  as  they  grew  so ; 
Some  relicks  of  the  Sheba  queen, 

And  fragments  of  the  fam'd  Bob  Crusoe." 

Don  Saltero's  proved  very  attractive  as  an  exhibition,  and  drew  crowds  to  the  Coffee- 
house. A  Catalogue  was  published,  of  which  were  printed  more  than  forty  editions. 
Smollett,  the  novelist,  was  among  the  donors.  The  edition  of  1760  comprehended  the 
following  rarities : — 

Tigers' tusks ;  the  Pope's  candle;  the  skeleton  of  a  Guinea-pig ;  a  fly-cap  monkey;  a  piece  of  the 
true  Cross ;  the  Four  Evangelists'  heads  cut  on  a  cherry-stone ;  the  King  of  Morocco's  tobacco-pipe ; 
Mary  Queen  of  Scots'  pincushion;  Queen  Elizabeth's  prayer-book;  a  pair  of  nun's  stockings;  Job's 
ears,  which  grew  on  a  tree ;  a  frog  in  a  tobacco-stopper ;  and  five  hundred  more  odd  relics  !  The  Don 
had  a  rival,  as  appears  by  "  A  Catalogue  of  the  Karities  to  be  seen  at  Adams's,  at  the  Koyal  Swan,  in 
Kingsland-road,  leading  from  Shoreditch  Church,  1756."  Mr.  Adams  exhibited,  for  the  entertainment 
of  the  curious, "  Miss  Jenny  Cameron's  shoes;  Adam's  eldest  daughter's  hat;  the  heart  of  the  famous 
Bess  Adams,  that  was  hanged  at  Tyburn  with  Lawyer  Carr,  January  18,  1736-7 ;  Sir  Walter  Raleigh's 
tobacco-pipe;  Vicar  of  Bray's  clogs;  engine  to  shell  green  peas  with;  teeth  that  grew  in  a  fish's  belly; 
Black  Jack's  ribs  ;  the  very  comb  that  Abraham  combed  his  son  Isaac  and  Jacob's  head  with ;  Wat 
Tyler's  spurs;  rope  that  cured  Captain  Lowry  of  the  head-ach,  ear-ach,  tooth-ach,  and  belly-ach; 
Adam's  key  of  the  fore  and  back  door  of  the  Garden  of  Edeu,"  &c.  &c.  These  are  only  a  few  out  of  five 
hundred  others  equally  marvellous. 

In  Dr.  Franklin's  Life  we  read : — "  Some  gentlemen  from  the  country  went  by  water 
to  see  the  College,  and  Don  Saltero's  Curiosities,  at  Chelsea."  These  were  shown  in 
the  coffee-room  till  August,  1799,  when  the  collection  was  mostly  sold  or  dispersed ;  a 
few  gimcracks  were  left  until  about  1825,  when  we  were  informed  on  the  premises, 
they  were  thrown  away !  The  house  was  taken  down  in  1866.  (See  Chel- 
sea, p.  90.) 

Sam's  Coefee-hottse,  in  Exchange- alley;  and  in  Ludgate-street.  The  latter  is 
mentioned  in  State  Poems,  1697  and  1703 ;  and  in  1722  there  were  two  large  mul- 
berry-trees growing  in  a  little  yard  in  the  rear  of  the  house  in  Ludgate-street. 


270  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Seele's  Coffee-house,  Carey-street,  is  thus  mentioned  in  No.  49  of  the  Spectator  : 
"  I  do  not  know  that  I  meet  in  any  of  my  walks,  objects  which  move  both  my  spleen 
and  laughter  so  effectually  as  those  young  fellows  at  the  Grecian,  Squire's,  Serle's,  and 
all  other  Coffee-houses  adjacent  to  the  Law,  who  rise  for  no  other  purpose  but  to  publish 
their  laziness." 

Slaughter's  Coffee-house,  famous  as  the  resort  of  painters  and  sculptors,  in  the 
last  century,  was  situated  at  the  upper  end  of  the  west  side  of  St.  Martin's-lane,  three 
doors  from  Newport-street.  Its  first  landlord  was  Thomas  Slaughter,  1692.  A  second 
Slaughter's  (New  Slaughter's)  was  established  in  the  same  street  about  1760,  when  the 
original  establishment  adopted  the  name  of  "  Old  Slaughter's,"  by  which  designation  it 
was  known  till  within  a  few  years  of  the  final  demolition  of  the  house  to  make  way  for 
the  new  avenue  between  Long-acre  and  Leicester-square,  formed  1843-44.  For  many 
years  previous  to  the  streets  of  London  being  completely  paved,  "  Slaughter's"  was 
called  "  The  Coffee-house  on  the  Pavement."  Besides  being  the  resort  of  artists,  Old 
Slaughter's  was  the  house  of  call  for  Frenchmen.  Hogarth  was  a  constant  visitor  here : 
he  lived  at  the  Golden  Head,  on  the  eastern  side  of  Leicester-fields,  in  the  northern  half 
of  the  Sabloniere  Hotel.  Roubiliac  was  often  to  be  found  at  Slaughter's ;  and  young 
Gainsborough  and  Cipriani ;  Jervis  and  Hayman  met  here,  and  seldom  parted  till  day- 
light. Wilkie,  in  early  life,  was  the  last  dropper-in  here  for  a  dinner ;  and  Haydon 
was  often  his  companion.  J.  T.  Smith  refers  to  Slaughter's  as  "  formerly  the  rendez- 
vous of  Pope,  Dryden,  and  other  wits."  Thither  came  Ware,  the  architect  of  Chesterfield 
House ;  also  Gwynn,  who  competed  with  Mylne  for  Blackfriars  Bridge ;  and  Gravelot, 
who  kept  a  Drawing-school  in  the  Strand.  Hudson,  who  painted  the  Dilettanti  por- 
traits; M'Ardell,  the  mezzotinto- scraper;  and  Luke  Sullivan, the  engraver  of  Hogarth's 
March  to  Finchley,  also  frequented  Old  Slaughter's ;  likewise  Theodore  Gardell,  the 
portrait-painter,  who  was  executed  for  the  murder  of  his  landlady;  and  Old  Moser, 
keeper  of  the  Drawing-academy  in  Peter's-court.  Richard  Wilson,  the  landscape 
painter,  was  not  a  regular  customer  here.  Parry,  the  Welsh  harper,  though  totally 
blind,  was  one  of  the  first  draught-players  in  England,  and  occasionally  played  with  the 
frequenters  of  Old  Slaughter's ;  and  here,  in  consequence  of  a  bet,  Roubiliac  introduced 
Nathaniel  Smith  (father  of  John  Thomas),  to  play  at  draughts  with  Parry,  when 
Smith  won.  Rawle,  the  inseparable  companion  of  Capt.  Grose,  the  antiquary,  came 
often  to  Slaughter's ;  as  did  also  Collins,  the  young  poet. 

Smyrna  Coffee-house,  Pall  Mall,  is  frequently  alluded  to  by  the  writers  of  Queen 
Anne's  reign ;  and  was  one  of  the  most  celebrated  of  the  West-end  houses.  Prior  and 
Swift  were  among  its  most  distinguished  frequenters;  its  "seat  of  learning,"  and 
"  cluster  of  wise  heads."  Prior  and  Swift  were  much  together  at  the  Smyrna ;  we  read 
of  their  sitting  there  two  hours,  "  receiving  acquaintance."  It  seemed  also  to  be  a 
place  to  talk  politics.  Subscriptions  were  received  there  by  Thomson,  for  publishing 
his  Four  Seasons ;  with  a  Hymn  on  their  Succession."  We  find  the  Smyrna  in  a  list 
of  Coffee-houses,  in  1810. 

Somerset  Coffee-house,  162,  Strand,  has  a  literary  association,  from  the  Letters 
of  Junius  having  been  sometimes  left  at  the  bar. 

Squire's  Coffee-house  was  in  Fulwood's-rents,  Holborn,  running  up  to  Gray's 
Inn,  and  described  by  Strype  as  "  a  place  of  good  resort,  and  taken  up  by  coffee-houses, 
ale-houses,  and  houses  of  entertainment ;"  among  which  were  the  Castle  Tavern  and 
the  Golden  Griffin  Tavern.  Here  was  John's,  one  of  the  earliest  Coffee-houses ;  and 
adjoining  Gray's-inn-gate,  a  deep-coloured  red  brick  house,  once  Squire's  Coffee  house, 
kept  by  Squire,  who  died  in  1717.  The  house  is  very  roomy ;  it  has  been  handsome, 
and  has  a  wide  staircase. 

Squire's  was  one  of  the  receiving-houses  of  the  Spectator :  in  No.  269,  January  8, 17)1-12,  he  accepts 
Sir  Roger  de  Coverley's  invitation  to  "  smoke  a  pipe  with  him  over  a  dish  of  coffee  at  Squire's.  As  I 
love  the  old  man,  I  take  delight  in  complying  with  everything  that  is  agreeable  to  him,  and  accordingly 
waited  on  him  to  the  Coffee-house,  where  his  venerable  figure  drew  upon  us  the  eyes  of  the  whole  room. 
He  had  no  sooner  seated  himself  at  the  upper  end  of  the  high  table,  but  he  called  for  a  clean  pipe,  a 
paper  of  tobacco,  a  dish  of  coffee,  a  wax  candle,  and  the  Supplement  (a  periodical  paper  of  that  time), 
with  such  an  air  of  cheerfulness  and  good  humour,  that  all  the  boys  in  the  coffee-room  (who  seemed  to 
take  pleasure  in  serving  him)  were  at  once  employed  on  his  several  errands,  insomuch  that  nobody  else 
could  come  at  a  dish  of  tea  until  the  Knight  had  got  all  his  conveniences  about  him." 


COFFEE-HOUSES.  271 


Gray's-inn  Walks,  to  which  the  Rents  led,  across  Field-court,  were  then  a  fashionable 
promenade ;  and  here  Sir  Roger  could  "  clear  his  pipes  in  good  air ;"  for  scarcely  a 
house  intervened  thence  to  Hampstead. 

Tom's  Coffee-house,  Birchin-lane,  Comhill,  though  in  the  main  a  mercantile 
resort,  acquired  some  celebrity  from  its  having  been  frequented  by  Garrick,  who,  to 
keep  up  an  interest  in  the  City,  appeared  here  about  twice  in  a  winter  at  'Change 
time,  when  it  was  the  rendezvous  of  young  merchants.  Hawkins  says  : — "  After  all 
that  has  been  said  of  Mr.  Garrick,  envy  must  own  that  he  owed  his  celebrity  to  his 
merit ;  and  yet  of  that  himself  seemed  so  diffident,  that  he  practised  sundry  little  but 
innocent  arts  to  insure  the  favour  of  the  public  :"  yet  he  did  more.  When  a  rising  actor 
complained  to  Mrs.  Garrick  that  the  newspapers  abused  him,  the  widow  replied,  "  You 
should  write  your  own  criticisms ;  David  always  did."  Tom's  was  also  frequented  by 
Chatterton,  as  a  place  "  of  the  best  resort ;"  here  was  first  established  "  the  London 
Chess-Club."  (See  Chess-Clubs,  p.  95.)  The  premises  were  long  held  on  lease  from 
Lord  Cowper,  at  a  rent  of  1501.  per  annum,  but  had  been  sublet  at  1000£. 

Tom's  Coffee-house,  Devereux-court,  Strand,  was  much  resorted  to  by  men  of  letters; 
among  whom  were  Dr.  Birch,  who  wrote  the  History  of  the  Royal  Society ;  also 
Akenside,  the  poet  ;  and  there  is  in  print  a  letter  of  Pope's,  addressed  to  Fortescue,  his 
•  counsel  learned  in  the  law,"  at  this  Coffee-house. 

Tom's  Coffee-house,  17,  Russell-street,  Covent-garden,  opposite  Button's,  was 
kept  by  Thomas  West,  and  was  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne,  and  more  than  half  a 
century  after,  a  celebrated  resort.     (See  Clubs,  p.  257.) 

Tom  King's  Coffee-house  was  one  of  the  old  night-houses  of  Covent-garden 
Market :  it  was  a  rude  shed  immediately  beneath  the  portico  of  St.  Paul's  Church, 
and  was  one  "  well  known  to  all  gentlemen  to  whom  beds  are  unknown."  Fielding, 
in  one  of  his  prologues,  says :  "  Whab  rake  is  ignorant  of  King's  Coffee-house  ?"  It 
is  in  the  background  of  Hogarth's  print  of  "Morning,"  where  the  prim  maiden 
lady,  walking  to  church,  is  soured  with  seeing  two  fuddled  beaux  from  King's  Coffee- 
house caressing  two  frail  women.  At  the  door  is  a  drunken  row,  in  which  swords  and 
cudgels  are  the  weapons.  Harwood's  Alumni  Etonenses,  p.  293,  in  the  account  of  the 
boys  elected  from  Eton  to  King's  College,  contains  this  entry :  "  a.d.  1713,  Thomas 
King,  born  at  West  Ashton,  in  Wiltshire,  went  away  scholar  in  apprehension  that  his 
fellowship  would  be  denied  him;  and  afterwards  kept  that  Coffee-house  in  Covent- 
garden,  which  was  called  by  his  own  name."  Moll  King  was  landlady  after  Tom's 
death :  she  was  witty,  and  her  house  was  much  frequented,  though  it  was  little  better 
than  a  shed.  " Noblemen  and  the  first  beaux"  said  Stacie,  " after  leaving  Court, 
would  go  to  her  house  in  full  dress,  with  swords  and  bags,  and  in  rich  brocaded  silk 
coats,  and  walked  and  conversed  with  persons  of  every  description.  She  would  serve 
chimney-sweepers,  gardeners,  and  the  market-people  in  common  with  her  lords  of  the 
highest  rank."  Captain  Laroon,  an  amateur  painter  of  the  time  of  Hogarth,  who  often 
witnessed  the  nocturnal  revels  at  Moll  King's,  made  a  large  and  spirited  drawing  of  the 
interior  of  her  Coffee-house,  which  was  at  Strawberry  Hill :  it  wa»  bought  for  Walpole 
by  his  printer.     There  is  also  an  engraving  of  the  same  room,  which  is  extremely  rare. 

Turk's  Head  Coffee-house,  Change-alley,  established  in  1662;  the  sign  was 
Morat  the  Great,  who  figures  as  a  tyrant  in  Dry  den's  Aureng  Zebe.  There  is  a  token 
of  this  house  with  the  Sultan's  Head  in  the  Beaufoy  Collection.  Another  token,  in 
the  same  collection,  is  of  unusual  excellence,  probably  by  John  Roettier.  It  has  on  the 
obverse,  "  Morat  ye  Great  Men  did  mee  call, — Sultan's  Head ;"  reverse,  "  Where  eare 
I  came  I  conquered  all. — In  the  field,  Coffee,  Tobacco,  Sherbet,  Tea,  Chocolat,  Retail 
in  Exchange  Alee."  "  The  word  •  tea,' "  says  Mr.  Burn,  "  occurs  on  no  other  tokens  than 
those  issued  from  '  the  Great  Turk '  Coffee-house,  in  Exchange-alley."  In  a  news- 
paper of  1662,  customers  and  acquaintances  are  invited  the  New  Year's-day  to  the 
Great  Turk  new  Coffee-house,  in  Exchange-alley,  "  where  coffee  will  be  free  of  cost." 
There  was  also  a  Sultan  Morat's  Head  Coffee-house,  which  had  a  token,  rev.  "  In  Bar- 
bican  formerly  in  Pannyer  Ally." 

Tuek's    Head    Coffee-house,   142,  in  the  Strand,  was  a  favourite   supping- 


272  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

bouse  with  Dr.  Johnson  and  Boswell,  in  whose  Life  of  Johnson  are  several  entries, 
commencing  with  1763 — "  At  night,  Mr.  Johnson  and  I  supped  in  a  private  room  at  the 
Turk's  Head  Coffee-house,  in  the  Strand.  '  I  encourage  this  house,'  said  he,  '  for  the 
mistress  of  it  is  a  good  civil  woman,  and  has  not  much  business.'  "  Another  entry  is — 
"We  concluded  the  day  at  the  Turk's  Head  Coffee-house  very  socially."  And, 
August  3,  1673 — "  We  had  our  last  social  meeting  at  the  Turk's  Head  Coffee-house, 
before  my  setting  out  for  foreign  parts."  The  name  was  afterwards  changed  to  "  The 
Turk's  Head,  Canada  and  Bath  Coffee-house,"  and  lasted  as  a  well-frequented  tavern 
until  the  house  was  rebuilt,  at  the  cost  of  8000?.  as  "  Wright's  Hotel :"  it  is  now  an 
insurance  office.     The  house  has  two  stories  below  the  level  of  the  street. 

Will's  Coffee-house,*  the  predecessor  of  Button's,  and  even  more  celebrated 
than  that  Coffee-house,  was  so  called  from  William  Urwin,  who  kept  it,  and  was  the 
house  on  the  north  side  of  Russell-street  at  the  corner  of  Bow-street — the  corner 
house  (rebuilt) — now  occupied  as  a  ham-and-beef  shop,  and  numbered  21.  Pepys,  in  his 
Diary,  records  his  first  visit  to  Will's,  3  Feb.  1663-4, "  where  Dryden  the  poet  (I  knew 
at  Cambridge),  and  all  the  wits  of  the  town,  and  Harris  the  player,  and  Mr.  Hoole  of 
our  college,"  with  "  very  witty  and  pleasant  discourse."  Ned  Ward  sarcastically  culls 
it  "  the  Wits'  Coffee-house."  Wycherley,  Gay,  and  Dennis  were  frequenters.  "  It  was 
Dryden  who  made  Will's  Coffee-bouse  the  great  resort  of  the  wits  of  his  time."  {Pope 
and  Spence.)  The  room  in  which  the  poet  was  accustomed  to  sit  was  on  the  first 
floor ;  and  his  place  was  the  place  of  honour  by  the  fireside  in  the  winter ;  and  at  the 
corner  of  the  balcony,  looking  over  the  street,  in  fine  weather ;  he  called  the  two  places 
his  winter  and  his  summer  seat.  This  was  called  the  dining-room  floor  in  the  last 
century.  The  company  did  not  sit  in  boxes,  as  subsequently,  but  at  various  tables 
which  were  dispersed  through  the  room.  Smoking  was  permitted  in  the  public  room  : 
it  was  then  so  much  in  vogue  that  it  does  not  seem  to  have  been  considered  a  nuisance. 
Here,  as  in  other  similar  places  of  meeting,  the  visitors  divided  themselves  into  parties  ; 
and  we  are  told  by  Ward  that  the  beaux  and  wits,  who  seldom  approached  the  principal 
table,  thought  it  a  greac  honour  to  have  a  pinch  out  of  Dryden's  snuff-box.  Tom 
Brown  describes  "  a  Wit  and  a  Beau  set  up  with  little  or  no  expense.  A  pair  of  red 
stockings  and  a  sword-knot  set  up  one,  and  peeping  once  a  day  in  at  Will's,  and  two  or 
three  second-hand  sayings,  the  other." 

Addison  passed  each  day  alike,  and  much  in  the  manner  that  Dryden  did.  Dryden 
employed  his  morning  in  writing,  dined  en  famille,  and  then  went  to  Will's,  "  only  he 
came  home  earlier  o'  nights."  Pope,  when  very  young,  was  impressed  with  such 
veneration  for  Dryden,  that  he  persuaded  some  friends  to  take  him  to  Will's  Coffee- 
house, and  was  delighted  that  he  could  say  that  he  had  seen  Dryden.  Sir  Charles 
Wogan,  too,  brought  up  Pope  from  the  forest  of  Windsor,  to  dress  a  la  mode,  and 
introduce  at  Will's  Coffee-house.  Pope  afterwards  described  Dryden  as  "  a  plump 
man  with  a  down  look,  and  not  very  conversible ;"  and  Cibber  remembered  hini  "  a 
decent  old  man,  arbiter  of  critical  disputes  at  Will's."     Prior  sings  of — 

"the  younger  Stiles, 
Whom  Dryden  pedagogues  at  Will's  !" 

Most  of  the  hostile  criticisms  on  his  plays,  which  Dryden  has  noticed  in  his  various 
prefaces,  appear  to  have  been  made  at  his  favourite  haunt,  Will's.  Swift  was  accus- 
tomed to  speak  disparagingly  of  Will's,  as  in  his  Rhapsody  on  Poetry : — 

"  Be  sure  at  Will's  the  following  day 
Lie  snug,  and  hear  what  critics  say." 

Swift  thought  little  of  the  frequenters :  he  used  to  say  that  "  the  worst  con- 
versation he  ever  heard  in  his  life  was  at  Will's,"  In  the  first  number  of  the  Tatler, 
poetry  is  promised  under  the  article  of  Will's  Coffee-house.  The  place,  however, 
changed  after  Dryden's  time.  "  You  used  to  see  songs,  epigrams,  and  satires  in  the 
hands  of  every  man  you  met;  you  have  now  only  a  pack  of  cards;  and  instead  of  the 

*  Will's  Coffee-house  first  had  the  title  of  the  Red  Cow  (says  Sir  Walter  Scott),  then  of  the  Eose,  and, 
we  believe,  is  the  same  house  alluded  to  in  the  pleasant  story  in  the  second  number  of  the  Tatler:— 

"Supper  and  friends  expect  we  at  the  Kose." 
The  Eose,  however,  was  a  common  sign  for  houses  of  public  entertainment. 


COLLEGES.  273 


cavils  about  the  turn  of  the  expression,  the  elegance  of  the  style,  and  the  like,  the 
learned  now  dispute  only  about  the  truth  of  the  game."  The  Spectator  is  sometimes 
seen  "  thrusting  his  head  into  a  round  of  politicians  at  Will's,  and  listening  with  great 
attention  to  the  narratives  that  are  made  in  these  little  circular  audiences."  Although 
no  exclusive  subscription  belonged  to  any  of  these,  we  find  by  the  account  which  Colley 
Cibber  gives  of  his  first  visit  to  Will's,  in  Covent- garden,  that  it  required  an  introduc- 
tion to  this  society  not  to  be  considered  as  an  impertinent  intruder.  Will's  was  the 
open  market  for  libels  and  lampoons.  One  Julian  attended  Will's,  and  dispersed  among 
the  crowds  who  frequented  that  place  of  gay  resort  copies  of  the  lampoons  which  had 
been  privately  communicated  to  him  by  their  authors. 

After  Dryden's  death,  in  1701,  Will's  continued  for  about  ten  years  to  be  still  the 
Wits'  Coffee-house.  Pope,  it  is  well  known,  courted  the  correspondence  of  the  town 
wits  and  Coffee-house  critics. 

Will's  Coffee-house,  7,  Serle-street,  Lincoln's-inn,  was  much  frequented  by  the 
legal  profession,  and  by  actors  and  gay  company  when  Portugal-street  had  its  theatre. 
In  the  Epicure's  Almanac,  1813,  it  is  described  as  "  a  house  of  the  first-class  for  turtle 
and  venison,  matured  port,  double-voyaged  Madeira,  and  princely  claret ;  wherewithal 
to  wash  down  the  dust  of  making  law-books,  and  take  out  the  inky  blots  from  rotten 
parchment  bonds."     It  no  longer  exists. 

There  are  in  the  metropolis  about  1000  Coffee-shops  or  Coffee-rooms ;  the  establish- 
ment of  the  majority  of  which  may  be  traced  to  the  cheapening  of  coffee  and  sugar, 
and  to  the  increase  of  newspapers  and  periodicals.  About  the  year  1815,  the  London 
Coffee-shops  did  not  amount  to  20,  and  there  was  scarcely  a  Coffee-house  where  coffee 
could  be  had  under  6d.  a  cup ;  it  may  now  be  had  at  Coffee-shops  at  from  Id.  to  3d. 
Some  of  these  shops  have  from  700  to  1600  customers  daily  j  40  copies  of  the  daily 
newspapers  are  taken  in,  besides  provincial  and  foreign  papers,  and  magazines.  Cooked 
meat  is  also  to  be  had  at  Coffee-shops,  at  one  of  which  three  cwt.  of  ham  and  beef  are 
sometimes  sold  weekly. 

COLLEGES. 

ST.  BARNABAS  COLLEGE,  Queen-street,  Pimlico,  consists  of  a  church,  schools, 
and  residentiary  house  for  the  clergy,  built  1846-50,  in  the  Pointed  Early  English 
style,  Cundy,  architect.  The  residentiary  house  is  for  clergymen  who  attend  to  the 
parochial  duties  of  the  district,  minister  in  the  church,  teach  in  the  schools,  and  super- 
intend the  twelve  choristers.  The  schools  were  opened  on  St.  Barnabas  Day,  1847,  and 
the  church  in  1850.  (See  Churches,  p.  151.)  The  freehold  site  of  the  College  was 
given  by  the  first  Marquis  of  Westminster,  and  is  in  the  poorest  part  of  the  district. 
The  College  was  built  by  subscription,  to  which  the  Rev.  W.  J.  E.  Bennett,  then  incum- 
bent of  the  district,  contributed  the  bulk  of  his  fortune,  and  the  most  zealous  pastoral 
care.  A  "  Home  of  Refuge,"  under  the  management  of  the  clergy  of  the  parish,  is 
situated  in  the  Commercial-road. — Davis's  Knightsbridge,  p.  253. 

Church  of  England  Metropolitan  Training  Institution,  Highbury  (late 
Highbury  College),  was  instituted  1849,  to  train  pious  persons  as  masters  and  mistresses 
of  juvenile  schools  connected  with  the  Established  Church,  "  upon  principles  Scriptural, 
Evangelical,  and  Protestaat." 

Church  Missionary  College,  the,  Barnsbury-place,  Upper  Islington,  is  an  impor- 
tant branch  of  the  Church  Missionary  Society  for  Africa  and  the  East ;  and  here  the 
students  are  trained  for  future  missionaries.  Among  the  early  founders  of  this  Society 
were  Wilberforce,  Scott,  Cecil,  Newton,  Venn,  and  Pratt :  it  was  chiefly  matured  at 
the  "Eclectic  Society"  assembling  then  at  the  vestry  of  St.  John's  Chapel,  Bedford- 
row.  The  annual  cost  of  the  College  operations  averages  100,000^.,  or  about  1000Z.  for 
every  station.     (See  Low's  Charities  of  London,  pp.  412-13.) 

Chemistry,  College  of  (Royal),  16,  Hanover-square,  was  founded  in  1845,  for 
instruction  in  Practical  Chemistry  at  a  moderate  expense,  and  for  the  general  advance- 
ment of  Chemical  Science.  The  first  stone  of  the  three  new  laboratories  was  laid  by 
Prince  Albert,  President  of  the  College,  June  16,  1846;  James  Lockycr,  architect. 


274  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  Oxford-street  front  has  a  rusticated  ground-floor,  and  an  upper  story  decorated 
with  six  Ionic  columns. 

Dt/lwich.  College,  in  the  pleasant  hamlet  of  Dulwich,  exactly  five  miles  south  of 
Cornhill,  was  built  and  endowed  in  1613-19,  by  Edward  Alleyn,  "bred  a  stage-player:" 
he  became  a  celebrated  actor,  erected  the  Fortune  Theatre,  and  with  Henslowe,  was 
co-proprietor  of  the  Paris  Bear-Garden  at  Bankside.  Alleyn  named  the  foundation  at 
Dulwich  "  the  College  of  God's  Gift ;"  for  a  master  and  warden,  four  fellows,  six  poor 
brethren,  six  sisters,  and  twelve  scholars ;  and  thirty  out-members  lodged  in  alms- 
houses. By  the  founder's  statutes,  the  master  and  warden  should  bear  the  name  of 
Alleyn,  or  Allen,  and  both  continue  unmarried,  or  be  removed  from  the  College  ;  yet 
the  first  master  and  warden  (Alleyn's  kinsmen)  were  both  married,  and  Alleyn  himself 
was  twice  married.  He  bequeathed  his  books  and  musical  instruments,  and  his  "  seal- 
ring  with  I113  arms,  to  be  worn  by  the  master."  The  gross  annual  income  of  the 
College  is  about  8000Z.,  or  nearly  tenfold  the  value  settled  by  the  founder.  The  only 
eminent  master  or  warden  was  John  Allen,  one  of  the  earliest  writers  in  the  Edinburgh 
Revieio.  Little  of  the  old  buildings  remains  in  the  present  structure,  three  sides  of  a 
quadrangle ;  the  entrance  gates  are  curiously  wrought  with  the  founder's  arms,  crest, 
and  motto  "  God's  Gift."  In  the  centre  is  the  Chapel,  with  a  low  tower ;  the  altar- 
piece  is  a  copy,  by  Julio  Romano,  of  Raphael's  Transfiguration;  the  front  is  inscribed 
with  a  Greek  anagram,  the  same  read  either  way.  Alleyn  (d.  1626)  is  buried  here. 
Adjoining  the  College  is  "  the  Grammar-school  of  God's  Gift  College,"  built  by  Barry, 
R.A.,  in  184-2 ;  and  the  Dulwich  Gallery  of  Pictures,  famous  for  its  Cuyps  and  Murillos ; 
Soane,  R.A.,  architect. 

In  the  College  and  Master's  Apartments  are  several  portraits,  including  Alleyn  the  founder,  full 
length,  in  a  black  gown ;  also  left  by  Cartwright,  player  and  bookseller,  1687,  portraits  of  "  the  Actors  " 
Richard  Burbage,  Nat.  Field,  Richard  Perkins,  Thomas  Bond,  &c. ;  and  of  the  poet  Drayton ;  Lovelace 
the  poet,  and  "  Althea  "  with  her  hair  dishevelled ;  a  Lady  in  a  richly-flowered  dress,  large  ruff,  and 
pearls ;  and  a  Merchant  and  his  Lady  on  panel,  their  hands  resting  upon  a  human  skull  placed  on  a 
tomb,  below  which  is  a  naked  corpse.  Thelibrary  chimney-piece  is  made  out  of  "the  upper  part  of  the 
Queen's  barge,"  purchased  by  Alleyn  in  1618.  The  books  number  about  4200  volumes :  those  relating 
to  the  theatre  have  been  exchanged  or  filched  away ;  and  a  very  valuable  collection  of  old  plays  was 
exchanged  by  the  College  with  Garriek  for  modern  works,  and  eventually  purchased  for  the  British 
Museum.  The  College  possesses  an  original  letter  written  by  Alleyn  to  his  first  wife,  Joan  Woodward, 
from  Chelmsford,  in  1593,  when  he  was  one  of  "  the  Lord's  strange  Players."  Here  also  is  the  MS 
Diary  and. Account  Book  of  Phillip  Henslowe,  printed  by  the  Shakspeare  Society;  and  in  the  old  carved 
Treasury  Chest,  a  memorandum-book  in  Alleyn's  handwriting ;  besides  other  "  Dulwich  papers." — See 
Collier's  Memoirs  of  Alleyn. 

When  the  office  of  Master  of  the  College  becomes  vacant,  the  Warden  immediately  succeeds  to  it,  and 
a  new  Warden  is  elected  by  the  Master,  the  four  Fellows,  and  six  Assistants ;  the  latter  being  two 
churchwardens  from  each  of  the  parishes  of  St.  Botolph's,  Bishopsgate ;  St.  Luke's,  Old-street-road  ; 
and  St.  Saviour's,  Southwark. 

In  1851,  the  Archbishop  of  Canterbury,  as  official  Visitor  of  the  College,  extended 
the  education  at  the  School  to  surveying,  chemistry,  engineering,  and  the  allied  sciences. 
In  1858  was  passed  an  Act  of  Parliament,  by  which  its  educational  system  will  be  kept 
expanding  in  proportion  to  its  wealth.  There  are  now  two  Schools ;  an  upper,  which 
provides  a  more  advanced  education  for  boys  of  the  better  class,  and  a  lower,  intended 
for  the  preparation  of  youths  for  commercial  life ;  each  school  about  300.  The  fees  in 
the  upper  school  amount  to  81.  per  annum  for  each  boy,  and  in  the  lower  to  11.  In 
addition  to  these  scholars  there  are  foundation-boys  in  both  schools,  boarded  and  lodged 
at  the  expense  of  the  charity.  To  provide  for  this  extension,  new  buildings  were  com- 
menced in  1866,  on  a  site  of  30  acres,  between  the  present  College  and  the  Crystal 
Palace.  The  centre  of  the  building  is  a  large  hall  for  dining  and  for  the  general 
gathering  of  the  boys ;  there  are  a  cloister  between  the  two  schools,  and  official  resi- 
dences for  the  masters.  There  is  a  Speech-day  for  classic  and  dramatic  orations ;  and 
the  performance  of  a  play,  preference  being  given  to  Shakspeare's. 

Geesham  College,  Basinghall-street,  a  handsome  stone  edifice,  designed  by  George 
Smith,  was  opened  Nov.  2,  1843,  for  the  Gresham  Lectures.  It  is  in  the  enriched 
Roman  style,  and  has  a  Corinthian  entrance-portico.  The  interior  contains  a  large 
library,  and  professors'  rooms ;  and  on  the  first  floor  a  lecture-room,  or  theatre,  to  hold 
500  persons.  The  building  cost  upwards  of  70001.  The  Lectures,  on  Astronomy, 
Physic,  Law,  Divinity,  Rhetoric,  Geometry,  and  Music,  are  here  read  to  the  public 
gratis,  during  "Term  Time,"  daily, except  Sundays;  in  Latin,  at  12  noon;  English,  at 


COLLEGES. 


1  P.M. ;  the  Geometry  and  Music  Lectures  at  7  p.m.  Gresham  College  was  founded 
by  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  who,  in  1575,  gave  his  mansion-house  and  the  rents  arising 
from  the  Royal  Exchange,  which,  on  the  death  of  Lady  Gresham,  in  1597,  were  vested 
in  the  Corporation  of  London  and  the  Mercers'  Company,  who  were  conjointly  to 
nominate  seven  professors,  to  lecture  successively,  one  on  each  day  of  the  week ;  their 
salaries  being  501.  per  annum  :  a  more  liberal  remuneration  than  Henry  VIII.  had 
appointed  for  the  Regius  Professors  of  Divinity  at  Oxford  and  Cambridge,  and  equiva- 
lent to  4001.  or  5001.  at  the  present  day.  The  Lectures  commenced  June  1597,  in 
Gresham's  mansion,  which,  with  almshouses  and  gardens,  extended  from  Bishopsgate- 
street  westward  into  Broad-street.  Here  the  Royal  Society  originated  in  1645,  and 
met  (with  interruptions)  until  1710.  The  buildings  were  then  neglected,  and  in  1768 
were  taken  down,  and  the  Excise  Office  built  upon  their  site ;  the  reading  of  the 
Lectures  was  then  removed  to  a  room  on  the  south-east  side  of  the  Royal  Exchange ; 
the  lecturers'  salaries  being  raised  to  1001.  each,  in  place  of  the  lodging  they  had  in 
the  old  College,  of  which  there  is  a  view,  by  Vertue,  in  Ward's  Lives  of  the  Gresham 
Professors,  1740.*  On  the  rebuilding  of  the  Royal  Exchange,  the  Gresham  Committee 
provided  a  separate  edifice  for  the  College,  as  above.  Above  its  entrance  portico  are 
sculptured  the  following  arms : 

City  of  London.  Gresham.  Mercers'  Company. 

Arg.  a  cross,  and  in  Arg.  a  chev.  erm.  Gu.  a  demi-virgin  couped  below  the  shoulders,  issu- 

the  dexter  chief  a  betw.  three  mul-  ing  from  clouds,  all  ppr.  veiled  or  crowned  with 

sword  erect  gu.  lets  pierced  sa.  an  eastern  coronet  of  the  last,  her  hair  dishevelled, 

all  within  a  bordiire  nebuly  arg. 

Heralds'  College  (College  of  Arms),  College  of  Advocates,  and  Doctors  of  Law, 
east  side  of  Benet's  hill,  Doctors'  Commons,  was  built  in  1683,  from  the  design  of  Sir 
Christopher  Wren,  upon  the  site  of  the  former  College  (Derby  House),  destroyed  in 
the  Great  Fire;  but  all  the  valuable  documents  and  books  were  fortunately  saved.  Sir 
William  Dugdale,  then  Norroy  King-of-Arms,  built  the  north-west  corner  at  his  own 
expense  :  the  hollow  arch  of  the  gateway  on  Benet's-hill  is  a  curiosity.  On  the  north 
side  of  the  court-yard  is  the  grand  hall,  in  which  the  Court  of  Chivalry  was  formerly 
held.  On  the  right  is  the  old  library,  opening  into  a  fire-proof  record-room,  built  in 
1844 :  to  contain  the  MS.  collection  of  Heralds'  visitations,  records  of  grants  of  arms, 
royal  licenses,  official  funeral  certificates,  and  public  ceremonials.  Here,  too,  were  several 
portraits,  including  those  of  Sir  Gilbert  Dethick,  Garter  King-at-Arms ;  John  Anstis, 
Garter ;  Peter  Le  Neve,  Norroy ;  John  Talbot,  Earl  of  Shrewsbury,  &c.  In  the  grand 
hall  was  the  judicial  seat  of  the  Earl  Marshal ;  "  but  the  chair  is  empty,  and  the  sword 
unswayed."  On  the  south  side  of  the  quadrangle  is  a  paved  terrace,  on  the  wall  of 
which  are  two  escutcheons ;  one  bearing  the  arms  (and  legs)  of  Man,  and  the  other  the 
Eagle's  claw — both  ensigns  of  the  house  of  Stanley,  and  denoting  the  site  of  old  Derby 
House,  though  they  are  not  ancient. 

The  College  of  Arms  received  the  first  charter  of  incorporation  from  Richard  III.,  who  gave  them 
for  the  residence  and  assembling  of  the  Heralds,  Poulteney's  Inn, "  a  righte  fayre  and  stately  house,"  in 
Coldharbour.  They  were  dispossessed  of  this  property  by  Henry  VII.,  when  they  removed  to  the 
Hospital  of  Our  Lady  of  Rounceval,  at  Charing  Cross,  where  now  stands  Northumberland  House.  They 
next  removed  to  Derby  or  Stanley  House,  on  St.  Benet's-hill,  granted  by  Queen  Mary,  July  18, 1555,  to 
Sir  Gilbert  Dethick,  Garter  King-of-Arms,  and  to  the  other  Heralds  and  Pursuivants  at  Arms,  and  their 
successors.  The  service  of  the  Pursuivants,  and  of  the  Heralds,  and  of  the  whole  College,  is  used  in 
marshalling  and  ordering  Coronations,  Marriages,  Christenings,  Funerals,  Interviews,  Feasts  of  Kings 
and  Princes,  Cavalcades,  Shows,  Justs,  Tournaments,  Combats,  before  the  Constable  and  Marshal,  &c. 
Also  they  take  care  of  the  Coats  of  Arms,  and  of  the  Genealogies  of  the  Nobility  and  Gentry.  Anciently, 
the  Kings-at-Arms  were  solemnly  crowned  before  the  sovereign,  and  took  an  oath :  during  which  the 
Earl  Marshal  poured  a  bowl  of  wine  on  his  head,  put  on  him  a  richly  embroidered  velvet  Coat  of  Arms, 
a  Collar  of  Esses,  a  jewel  and  gold  chain,  and  a  crown  of  gold. — Chamberlayne'a  Magna  Britannia 
Notitia,  1726. 

The  College  has,  since  1622,  consisted  of  thirteen  officers : — Kings :  Garter,  Principal ; 
Clarencieux ;  Norroy.  Heralds :  Lancaster,  Somerset,  Richmond,  Windsor,  York, 
Chester.  Pursuivants :  Rouge  Croix,  Blue  Mantle,  Portcullis,  Blue  Dragon.  These 
hold  their  places  by  appointment  of  the  Duke  of  Norfolk,  as  Hereditary  Earl  Marshal. 
Few  rulers  have  been  insensible  to  the  pageantry  of  arms  :    even  the  royalty-hating 

*  In  Vertue's  print,  at  the  entrance  archway  are  two  figures,  designed  for  Dr.  Woodward  and  Dr. 
Mead,  Professors,  who  having  quarrelled  and  drawn  swords,  Mead  obtained  the  advantage,  and  com- 
manded Woodward  to  beg  his  life  :  "  No,  Doctor,  that  I  will  not,  till  I  am  your  patient,"  was  the  witty 
reply ;  but  he  yielded,  and  is  here  shewn  tendering  his  sword  to  Mead. 

T  2 


276  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Cromwell  appointed  his  King-at-Arms ;  and  the  heraldic  expenses  of  his  funeral  were 
between  400^.  and  5001.  The  Court  of  Chivalry  was  nearly  as  oppressive  as  the 
detestable  Star  Chamber ;  for  we  read  of  its  imprisoning  and  ruining  a  merchant- 
citizen  for  calling  a  swan  a  goose ;  and  fining  Sir  George  Markham  10,000Z.  for  saying, 
after  he  had  horse-whipped  the  saucy  huntsman  of  Lord  Darcy,  that  if  his  master 
justified  his  insolence,  he  would  horse-whip  him  also.  The  severest  punishment  of  the 
Court  is  the  degradation  from  the  honour  of  knighthood,  of  which  only  three  instances 
are  recorded  in  three  centuries :  this  consisted  in  breaking  and  defacing  the  knight's 
sword  and  gilt  spurs,  and  pronouncing  him  "  an  infamous  errant  knave."  In  our  time, 
the  banner  of  a  Knight  of  the  Bath  has  been  pulled  down  by  the  heralds,  and  kicked 
out  of  Henry  VII.'s  Chapel  at  Westminster.  The  herald's  visitations  were  liable  to 
strange  abuses,  and  ceased  with  the  seventeenth  century.  Another  trusty  service  of  the 
Officers-at-Arms  is  the  bearing  of  letters  and  messages  to  sovereign  princes  and  persons 
in  authority;  these  officers  were  the  "Chivalers  of  Armes,"  or  Knights  Riders,  the 
original  King's  Messengers ;  and  adjoining  the  College  is  Knight-Rider-street. 

Among  the  Curiosities  of  the  College  are,  the  Warwick  Roll,  with  figures  of  all  the 
Earls  of  Warwick  from  the  Conquest  to  Richard  III. ;  a  Tournament  Roll  of  Henry 
VIII.'s  time ;  a  sword,  dagger,  and  turkois  ring,  said  to  have  belonged  to  James  IV. 
of  Scotland,  who  fell  at  Flodden-field ;  portrait  of  the  warrior  Talbot,  Earl  of  Shrews- 
bury, from  his  tomb  in  Old  St.  Paul's;  pedigree  of  the  Saxon  kings  from  Adam,  with 
beautiful  pen- and  ink  illustrations  (temp.  Henry  VIII.);  and  a  volume  in  the  hand- 
writing of  "  the  learned  Camden,"  created  Clarencieux  in  1597.  Among  the  other 
officers  of  note  were  Sir  William  Dugdale,  Garter ;  Elias  Ashmole,  Windsor  Herald, 
who  wrote  the  History  of  the  Order  of  the  Garter ;  John  Anstis,  Garter ;  Francis 
Sandford,  Lancaster  Herald,  who  wrote  an  excellent  Genealogical  History  of  England ; 
Sir  John  Vanbrugh,  who  was  made  Clarencieux  as  a  compliment  for  building  Castle 
Howard,  but  sold  the  situation  for  2CXXW. ;  Francis  Grose,  Richmond  Herald ;  and 
Edmund  Lodge,  Lancaster  Herald.  (See  the  excellent  paper  by  J.  R.  Planche,  Somerset 
Herald,  in  Knight's  London,  vol.  vi.) 

A  Grant  of  Arms  is  thus  obtained :  The  applicant  employs  any  member  he  pleases  of  the  Heralds' 
Office,  and  through  him,  presents  a  memorial  to  the  Earl  Marshal,  setting  forth  that  he  the  memorialist 
is  not  entitled  to  arms,  or  cannot  prove  his  right  to  such ;  and  praying  that  his  Grace  will  issue  his 
warrant  to  the  King  of  Arms  authorizing  them  to  grant  and  confirm  to  him  due  and  proper  armorial 
ensigns,  to  be  borne  according  to  the  laws  of  heraldry  by  him  and  his  descendants.  This  memorial  is 
presented,  and  a  warrant  is  issued  by  the  Earl  Marshal,  under  which  a  patent  is  made  out,  exhibiting 
in  the  corner  a  painting  of  the  armorial  ensigns  granted,  and  describing  in  official  terms  the  proceed- 
ings that  have  taken  place,  and  the  correct  blazon  of  the  arms.  This  patent  is  registered  in  the  books  of 
the  Heralds'  College,  and  receives  the  signatures  of  the  Garter  and  of  one  the  Provincial  Kings  of  Arms. 
Thus  an  "  Armiger  "  is  made.  The  fees  on  a  Grant  of  Arms  amount  to  seventy-five  guineas ;  an  ordi- 
nary search  of  the  records  is  6*. ;  a  general  search,  one  guinea.  Arms  that  are  not  held  under  a  Grant 
must  descend  to  the  bearer  from  an  ancestor  recorded  in  the  Herald's  visitations.  No  prescription, 
however  long,  will  confer  a  right  to  a  coat-armour.  If  the  grantee  be  resident  in  any  place  north  of  the 
Trent,  his  patent  is  signed  by  Garter  and  Norroy  Kings  of  Arms ;  if  he  reside  south  of  that  river  the 
signatures  are  those  of  Garter  and  Clarencieux  Kings  of  Arms. 

The  arrangement  of  the  College  consists  of  several  houses  occupied  by  the  Doctors  of 
Law,  with  the  Courts,  noble  Dining-room  and  Library,  large  open  quadrangular  area 
and  garden ;  exclusive  of  which  the  number  of  rooms  is  140.  The  total  area  is  34,138 
feet,  or  more  than  three-quarters  of  an  acre.  The  whole  of  the  buildings  are  to 
be  taken  down  in  forming  the  new  street  from  Blackfriars  Bridge  to  the  Mansion 
House. 

King's  Colxege  and  School,  Somerset  House,  extend  from  the  principal  entrance 
in  the  Strand  to  the  east  wing  of  the  river-front,  designed  by  Sir  William  Chambers, 
but  left  unfinished  by  him  :  its  completion  by  the  College  being  one  of  the  conditions 
of  the  grant  of  the  site :  here  resided  the  Principal  and  Professors.  The  College 
facade,  designed  by  Sir  Robert  Smirke,  R.A.,  is  304  feet  in  length,  and  consists  of  a 
centre,  decorated  with  Corinthian  columns  and  pilasters ;  and  two  wings  with  pilasters, 
upon  a  basement  of  piers  supporting  arches,  which  extend  the  whole  length  of  the 
building.  On  the  interior  ground-floor  are  the  theatres  or  lecture-rooms,  and  the 
hall,  with  two  grand  staircases,  which  ascend  to  the  Museum  and  Library ;  the  Chapel 
occupying  the  centre.  Over  the  lofty  entrance-arch  in  the  Strand  are  the  arms  of  the 
College  :  motto,  "  Sancte  et  sapienter."     (See  Museums.) 


COLLEGES.  277 


King's  College  and  Schools  are  proprietary.  The  College  was  founded  in  1828,  for  the  education  of 
youth  of  the  metropolis  in  the  principles  of  the  Established  Church.  There  are  five  departments : 
1.  Theological;  2.  General  Literature;  3.  Applied  Sciences ;  4.  Medical;  5.  The  School.  The  age  for 
admission  to  the  latter  is  from  9  to  16 ;  and  each  proprietor  can  nominate  two  pupils  to  the  School,  or 
one  to  the  School  and  one  to  the  College  at  the  same  time.  The  first  Conference  of  Degrees  by  the 
University  of  London  took  place  in  the  hall  of  King's  College,  May  1, 1850.  In  connexion  with  the 
Medical  Schools  has  been  established  King's  College  Hospital,  in  Portugal-street,  Lincoln's-Inn-fields. 

St.  Mark's  Trailing  College,  Chelsea,  was  established  for  training  school- 
masters for  the  National  Society.  The  College,  fronting  King's-road,  is  of  Italian 
design;  the  Chapel,  facing  the  Fulhani-road,  is  Byzantine;  to  the  west  is  an 
octagonal  Practising  School ;  and  the  grounds  contain  about  fifteen  acres.  The  term 
of  training  is  three  years :  it  comprises,  with  general  education,  the  industrial  system, 
as  the  business  of  male  servants  in  the  house,  managing  the  farm  produce,  and  garden- 
ing. Still,  the  religious  service  of  the  Chapel  is,  as  it  were,  the  keystone  of  the 
system  of  the  College.  (See  Chapels,  p.  214.)  There  are  also  other  training  insti- 
tutions connected  with  the  National  Society.* 

New  College,  St.  John's  Wood,  was  commenced  building  in  1850,  when  the  first 
stone  was  laid,  May  11,  by  the  Rev.  Dr.  John  Pye  Smith,  known  as  a  divine,  and  as  a 
man  of  science  from  his  work  on  Scripture  and  Geology.  The  building  was  completed 
in  1851,  and  opened  October  8.  It  has  been  erected  by  the  Independent  Dissenters 
for  the  education  of  their  ministers,  and  is  founded  on  the  union  of  Homerton  Old 
College  and  Coward  and  Highbury  Colleges.  The  classes  are  divided  into  two  faculties, 
Arts  and  Theology ;  the  former  open  to  lay  students,  and  having  chairs  of  Latin  and 
Greek,  mathematics,  moral  and  mental  philosophy,  and  natural  history.  The  building, 
of  Bath  stone,  designed  by  Emmett,  in  the  Tudor  (Henry  VII.)  style,  is  situated  about 
a  mile  and  a  half  north  of  Regent's-park,  between  the  Finchley-road  and  Bellsize-lane. 
The  frontage  is  270  feet,  having  a  central  tower  80  feet  high.  The  interior  dressings  are 
of  Caen  stone,  and  the  fittings  of  oak ;  some  of  the  ceilings  are  of  wrought  wood-work, 
and  the  windows  of  elaborate  beauty.  The  main  building  contains  lecture-room, 
council-room,  laboratory,  museum,  and  students'  day-rooms ;  at  the  north  end  is  the 
Principal's  residence,  and  at  the  south  a  library  of  more  than  20,000  volumes. 

Physicians,  College  of,  was  founded  in  1518,  by  Linacre,  physician  to  Henry  VII. 

and  V11I.,  who  lived  in  Knight-Rider-street,  and  there  received  his  friends,  Erasmus, 

Latimer,  and  Sir  Thomas  More.     Linacre  was  the  first  President  of  the  College,  and 

the  members  met  at  his  house,  which  he  bequeathed  to  them ;  the  estate  is  still  the 

property  of  the  College.     Thence  they  removed  to   a  house  in  Amen  Corner,  where 

Harvey  lectured  on  his  great  discovery,  and  built  in  the  College  garden  a  Museum, 

upon  the  site  of  the  present  Stationers'   Hall.     The  old  College  and  Museum  being 

destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  the  members  met  for  a  time  at  the  President's  house,  until 

Wren  built  for  them  a  College,  in  Warwick-lane,  upon  part  of  the  site  of  the  mansion 

of  the  famed  Earls  of  Warwick ;  the  new  College  was  commenced  in  1674,  but  not 

completed  until  1689.     It  had  an  octangular  porch  of  entrance,  40  feet  in  diameter, 

the  most  striking  portion  of  Wren's  design.     The  interior,  above  the  porch,  formed 

the  lecture-room,  which  was  light,  and  very  lofty,  being  open  upwards  to  the  roof 

of  the  edifice.     It  was  opened  in  1689  :  the  entrance-porch  was  surmounted  by  a  dome, 

as  described  by  Garth  in  his  satire  on  the  quarrel  between  the  Apothecaries'  Company 

and  the  College : 

"  Not  far  from  that  most  celebrated  placet 
Where  angry  Justice  shews  her  awful  face, 
Where  litfle  villains  must  submit  to  fate, 
That  great  ones  may  enjoy  the  world  in  state, 
There  stands  a  Dome,  majestic  to  the  sight, 
And  sumptuous  arches  bear  its  oval  height ; 
A  golden  globe,  piae'd  high  with  artful  skill, 
Seems  to  the  distant  sight — a  gilded  pill." — The  Di*pen»ary. 

"  The  theatre  was  amphitheatrical  in  plan,  and  one  of  the  best  that  can  be  imagined 

*  Kncller  Hall  (between  Hounslow  and  Twickenham)  was  formerly  in  the  possession  of  Sir  Godfrey 
Kncller,  who  pulled  down  the  manor-house  and  erected  a  new  house  on  the  same  site,  as  inscrihed  upon 
a  stone:  "  The  building  of  this  house  was  begun  by  Sir  Godfrey  Kneller,  Bart.,  a.d.  1709."  It  had  a 
sumptuously  painted  staircase,  by  Kneller's  own  hand.  The  hall  was  almost  wholly  taken  down,  and 
a  Training  School  was  built  upon  its  site. 

t  Newgate. 


278  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

for  seeing,  hearing,  and  the  due  classification  of  the  students,  and  for  the  display  of 
anatomical  demonstrations  or  philosophical  experiments  upon  a  tahle  in  the  centre  of 
the  arena,  of  any  building  of  its  size  in  existence."  (Elmes.)  This  portion  was  latterly 
occupied  as  a  meat-market,  and  the  other  College  buildings  by  braziers  and  brass- 
founders.  The  buildings  comprised  a  lofty  hall,  with  a  magnificent  staircase ;  a  dining- 
room,  with  a  ceiling  elaborately  enriched  with  foliage  and  flowers  in  stucco,  and  carved 
oak  chimney-piece  and  gallery.  On  the  north  and  south  were  the  residences  of  the 
College  officers  ;  on  the  west,  the  principal  front,  consisting  of  two  stories,  the  lower 
decorated  with  Ionic  pillars,  the  upper  by  Corinthian  and  by  a  pediment  in  the  centre 
at  the  top.  Immediately  beneath  the  pediment  was  the  statue  of  Charles  II.,  with  a 
Latin  inscription.  On  the  east  was  the  octangular  side,  with  the  gilt  ball  above,  and 
a  statue  of  Sir  John  Cutler  below.  It  appears  by  the  College  books  that,  in  1675,  Sir 
John  Cutler,  a  near  relation  of  Dr.  Whistler,  the  President,  was  desirous  of  con- 
tributing towards  the  building  of  the  College,  and  a  committee  was  appointed  to  thank 
him  for  his  kind  intentions.  Cutler  accepted  their  thanks,  renewed  his  promise,  and 
specified  parts  of  the  building  of  which  he  intended  to  bear  the  expense.  In  1680, 
statues  in  honour  of  the  King  and  Sir  John  were  voted  by  the  members ;  and  nine 
years  afterwards,  the  College  being  then  completed,  it  was  resolved  to  borrow  money 
of  Sir  John  Cutler  to  discharge  the  debt  incurred ;  but  the  sum  is  not  specified.  It 
appears,  however,  that  in  1699  Sir  John's  executors  made  a  demand  on  the  College 
for  7000Z.,  supposed  to  include  money  actually  lent,  money  pretended  to  be  given,  but 
set  down  as  a  debt  in  Sir  John's  books,  and  the  interest  on  both.  The  executors, 
however,  accepted  2000Z.,  and  dropped  their  claim  to  the  other  five.  Thus  Sir  John's 
promise,  which  he  never  performed,  had  obtained  him  the  statue  ;  but  the  College 
wisely  obliterated  the  inscription  which,  in  the  warmth  of  gratitude,  had  been  placed 
beneath  the  figure  : — 

"  Omnis  Cutleri  cedat  Labor  Amphitheatre" 

Hence  it  was  called  Cutler's  Theatre,  in  Warwick-lane.  The  miser  Baronet  has,  how- 
ever, received  a  more  enduring  monument  from  the  hand  of  Pope,  in  his  Moral 
Essay  : — 

"  His  Grace's  fate  sage  Cutler  could  foresee, 

And  well  (he  thought)  advised  him, '  Live  like  me.' 

As  well  his  Grace  replied, '  Like  you,  Sir  John  ? 

That  I  can  do,  when  all  1  have  is  gone.'  " 

The  College  buildings  were  mostly  taken  down  in  1866 ;  the  carved  oak  fittings  and 
a  celebrated  stucco  ceiling  being  preserved,  with  the  statue  of  Cutler.  In  the  garrets 
of  the  old  College  were  formerly  dried  the  herbs  for  the  use  of  the  dispensary ;  and,  on 
the  left  of  the  entrance  portico,  beneath  a  bell-handle,  there  remained  till  the  last,  the 
inscription,  "  Mr.  Lawrence,  surgeon — night  bell,"  recalling  the  days  when  the  house 
belonged  to  a  learned  institution.  We  remember  it  leased  to  the  Equitable  Loan  (or 
Pawnbroking)  Company,  when  the  "  Golden  Globe"  was  partially  symbolical  of  its 
appropriation. 

The  Physicians,  in  1825,  had  emigrated  westward,  where  Sir  Robert  Smirke  built 
for  them  a  College  of  classic  design,  in  Pall  Mall  East  and  Trafalgar-square,  at  the 
cost  of  30,000Z.  It  was  opened  June  25, 1825,  with  a  Latin  oration  by  the  President, 
Sir  Henry  Halford.  The  style  is  Grecian-Ionic,  with  an  elegant  hexastyle  Ionic  por- 
tico. The  interior  is  sumptuous.  In  the  dining-room  are  portraits  of  Dr.  Hamey, 
the  Commonwealth  physician;  of  Dr.  Freind,  imprisoned  in  the  Tower;  and  of  Sir 
Edmund  King,  who  bled  Charles  II.,  in  a  fit,  without  consulting  the  Royal  physicians, 
and  who  was  promised  for  the  service  1000Z.  by  the  Council,  which  was  never  paid. 
In  the  oak-panelled  Censors'  Room  is  a  portrait  of  Dr.  Sydenham,  by  Mary  Beale  ;  of 
Linacre,  surmounted  by  the  College  arms  in  oak,  and  richly-emblazoned  shield ;  of 
the  thoughtful  Sir  Thomas  Browne,  who  wrote  Religio  Medici  ;  of  the  good-humoured 
Sir  Samuel  Garth,  by  Kneller ;  and  of  Cardinal  Wolsey  and  Henry  VIII.  (after  Holbein), 
and  Andreas  Vesalius,  the  Italian  anatomist ;  other  portraits ;  and  a  marble  bust  of 
Sir  Henry  Halford.  In  the  Library,  lighted  by  three  beautiful  lanterns,  is  a  fine  por- 
trait of  Radcliffe,  by  Kneller ;  and  of  Harvey,  by  Jansen.  Here  is  a  gallery  filled 
with  cases,  containing  preparations,  including  some  of  the  nerves  and  blood-vessels,  by 


COLLEGES.  279 


Harvey,  and  used  by  him  in  his  lectures  on  the  discovery  of  the  circulation  of  the 
blood.  Adjoining  is  a  small  theatre,  or  lecture-room,  where  are  busts — of  George  IV., 
by  Chantrey  ;  Dr.  Mead,  by  Roubiliac ;  Dr.  Sydenham,  by  Wilton ;  Harvey,  by  Schee- 
makers ;  Dr.  Baillie,  by  Chantrey ;  Dr.  Babington,  by  Behnes.  Here  also  is  a  picture 
of  Hunter  lecturing  on  Anatomy  before  Royal  Academicians  (portraits),  by  Zoffany ; 
besides  a  collection  of  physicians'  canes.  The  whole  may  be  seen  by  the  order  of  a 
physician,  Fellow  of  the  College.  The  Harveian  Oration  (in  Latin)  is  delivered  annu- 
ally by  a  Fellow,  usually  on  June  25. 

In  the  Library  is  a  copy  of  the  Homer  published  at  Florence  in  1488,  an  immortal  work  for  this  early 
period  of  typography :  in  the  whiteness  and  strength  of  the  paper,  the  fineness  of  the  character,  the 
elegant  disposition  of  the  matter,  the  exact  distance  between  the  lines,  the  large  margin,  and  various 
ornaments. 

Peeceptoes,  College  op  (the),  28,  Bloomsbury-square,  a  proprietary  institution, 
established  1847,  to  elevate  the  character  of  the  profession  of  teachers,  irrespective  of 
distinctions  of  sects  and  parties  ;  and  to  grant  certificates  and  diplomas  to  candidates 
duly  qualified,  after  examination. 

Queen's  College,  London,  67,  Harley-street,  was  established  1848,  for  general 
female  education,  and  for  granting  to  Governesses  certificates  of  qualification.  The 
instruction  is  given  in  lectures  by  gentlemen  connected  with  King's  College,  and  other 
professors ;  there  are  also  preparatory  classes  and  evening  classes,  the  latter  gratuitously : 
the  whole  superintended  by  ladies  as  visitors. 

Sion  College,  London  Wall,  is  built  on  the  site  of  the  Priory  of  Elsinge  Spital, 
and  consists  of  a  college  for  the  clergy  of  London,  and  almshouses  for  twenty  poor 
persons,  founded  1623,  by  the  will  of  Dr.  Thomas  White,  vicar  of  St.  Dunstan's-in- 
the-West ;  to  which  one  of  his  executors,  the  Rev.  John  Simson,  rector  of  St.  Olave's, 
Hart-street,  added  a  library.  "  Here,"  says  Defoe,  "  expectants  may  lodge  till  they  are 
provided  with  houses  in  the  several  parishes  in  which  they  serve  cure ;"  and  the  Fellows 
of  the  College  are  the  incumbents  of  parishes  within  the  City  and  Liberties  of  London. 
The  library  is  their  property :  a  third  of  the  books  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire, 
which  consumed  great  part  of  the  College.  The  collection  contaius  more  than  50,000 
volumes,  mostly  theological,  among  which  are  the  Jesuits'  books  seized  in  1679.  By 
the  Copyright  Act,  8  Anne  c.  19,  the  library  received  a  gratuitous  copy  of  every  pub- 
lished work  till  1836,  when  this  privilege  was  commuted  for  a  Treasury  grant  of  3631. 
a  year,  now  its  chief  maintenance.  It  is  open  to  the  clergy  of  the  diocese  and  their 
friends,  and  to  the  public  by  an  order  from  one  of  the  Fellows;  but  books  are  not 
allowed  to  be  taken  out,  except  by  Fellows.  Here  are  several  pictures,  including  a 
costume-portrait  of  Mrs.  James,  a  citizen's  wife  in  the  reign  of  William  and  Mary. 

Suegeons,  Royal  College  of,  on  the  south  side  of  Lincoln's-inn- fields,  was 
originally  built  by  Dance,  R.A.,  for  the  College,  who  removed  here  from  their  Hall  on 
the  site  of  the  New  Sessions  House,  Old  Bailey,  on  their  incorporation  by  royal  charter 
in  1800.  It  was  almost  entirely  rebuilt  by  Barry,  R.A.,  in  1835-37,  when  the  stone 
front  was  extended  from  84  to  108  feet,  and  a  noble  Ionic  entablature  added,  with  this 
inscription :  iEDES '  Collegii  ■  Chibvbgoevm  •  Londinensis  •  Diplomate  ■  Regio  ' 

COEPOEATI '   A.D.  MDCCC. 

The  interior  contains  two  Museums,  a  Theatre,  Library,  and  vestibule  with  screens 
of  Ionic  columns.  On  the  staircase-landing  are  busts  of  Cheselden  and  Sir  W.  Banks. 
In  the  Library  are  portraits  of  Sir  Caesar  Hawkins,  by  Hogarth ;  Serjeant-Surgeon 
Wiseman  (Charles  II.'s  time);  and  the  cartoon  of  Holbein's  picture  of  the  granting  of 
the  charter  to  the  Barber-Surgeons.  In  the  Council  Room  (where  sits  the  Court  of 
Examiners)  are  Reynolds's  celebrated  portrait  of  John  Hunter,  and  other  pictures : 
bust  of  John  Hunter,  by  Flaxman ;  of  Cline,  Sir  W.  Blizard,  Abernethy,  and  George  III. 
and  George  IV.,  by  Chantrey ;  of  Pott,  by  Hollins ;  and  Samuel  Cooper,  by  Butler. 
The  Museum,  with  Hunter's  collection  for  its  nucleus,  was  erected  in  1836 ;  and  the 
College  has  since  been  enlarged  by  adding  to  it  the  site  of  the  Portugal-street  Theatre, 
late  Copeland's  china  warehouse,  taken  down  in  1848.  (See  Museums.)  In  the 
Theatre  is  annually  delivered  the  Hunterian  Oration  (in  Latin),  by  a  Fellow  of  the 
College,  on  Feb.  14,  John  Hunter's  birthday. 


280  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

University  College,  east  side  of  Upper  Gower-street,  was  designed  by  Wilkins, 
R.A. ;  the  first  stone  laid  by  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  April  30,  1827  ;  and  the  College 
opened  Oct.  1,  1828.  It  has  a  bold  and  rich  central  portico  of  twelve  Corinthian 
columns  and  a  pediment,  elevated  on  a  plinth  19  feet,  and  approached  by  numerous 
steps,  arranged  with  fine  effect.  Behind  the  pediment  is  a  cupola  with  a  lantern  light, 
in  imitation  of  a  peripteral  temple  ;  in  the  Great  Hall  under  which  are  the  original 
models  of  the  principal  works  of  John  Flaxman,  R.A.,  presented  by  Miss  Denman.  In 
the  vestibule  is  Flaxman's  restoration  of  the  Farnese  Hercules ;  beneath  the  dome  ig 
his  grand  life-size  Michael  and  Satan ;  and  around  the  walls  are  his  various  monu- 
mental and  other  bas-reliefs ;  "  in  all  the  monumental  compositions  there  is  a  touch- 
ing story,  and  the  sublimity  of  the  poetic  subjects  is  of  a  quality  which  the  Greeks 
themselves  have  never  excelled." — (Art  Journal.)  An  adjoining  room  contains  Flax- 
man's  Shield  of  Achilles,  and  other  works. 

The  University  building  extends  about  400  feet  in  length  :  in  the  ground- floor  are 
lecture-rooms,  cloisters  for  the  exercise  of  the  pupils,  two  semicircular  theatres,  chemical 
laboratory,  museum  of  materia  medica,  &c.  In  the  upper  floor,  on  entering  by  the 
great  door  of  the  portico,  the  whole  extent  of  the  building  is  seen.  Here  are  the 
great  hall,  museums  of  natural  history  and  anatomy,  two  theatres,  two  libraries,  and 
rooms  with  naturo-philosophical  apparatus.  The  principal  library  is  richly  decorated 
in  the  Italian  style ;  here  is  a  marble  statue  of  Locke.  The  Laboratory,  completed 
from  the  plan  of  Prof.  Donaldson,  in  1845,  combines  all  the  recent  improvements  of 
our  own  schools  with  that  of  Professor  Liebig,  at  Giessen. 

University  College  is  proprietary,  and  was  founded  in  1828,  principally  aided  by  Lord  Brougham,  the 
poet  Campbell,  and  Dr.  Birkbeck,  for  affording  "  literary  and  scientific  education  at  a  moderate  ex- 
pense ;"  but  Divinity  is  not  taught.  There  is  a  Junior  School.  The  graduates  of  the  University  of 
London  from  University  College  are  entitled  Doctors  of  Laws,  Masters  of  Arts,  and  Bachelors  of  Law, 
Medicine,  and  Art.  The  School  of  Medicine  is  highly  distinguished ;  and  under  the  superintendence  of 
its  professors  has  been  founded  University  College  Hospital,  opposite  the  College,  in  which  the  medical 
students  receive  improved  instruction  in  medicine  and  surgery. 

Wilkins  also  designed  the  National  Gallery,  a  far  less  happy  work  than  Dniversity  College,  which 
is  unfinished;  the  original  design  comprised  two  additional  smaller  cupolas.  The  works  seem  hardly 
to  be  the  production  of  the  same  architect ;  in  the  National  Gallery  the  dome  being  as  unsightly  a  feature 
in  composition  as  in  the  College  it  is  graceful. 

In  the  rear  of  the  College,  on  the  west  side  of  Gordon-square,  is  University  Hall, 
designed  by  Prof.  Donaldson,  1849,  and  built  for  instruction  in  Theology  and  Moral 
Philosophy,  which  are  excluded  by  the  College.  The  architecture  is  Elizabethan-Tudor, 
in  red  brick  and  stone ;  the  grouping  of  the  windows  is  cleverly  managed.  In  the 
Great  Hall  the  students  breakfast  and  dine  ;  and  the  establishment  is  a  sort  of  students' 
club-house  or  model  lodging-establishment. 

Wesleyan  Nobmal  College,  Horseferry-road,  Westminster  (James  Wilson, 
architect),  has  been  erected  for  the  training  of  schoolmasters  and  mistresses,  and  the 
education  of  the  children  in  the  locality.  It  is  in  the  Late  Perpendicular  style,  of 
brick,  with  stone  dressings;  and  consists  of  a  Principal's  Eesidence,  a  quadrangular 
Normal  College  for  100  students,  with  Lecture  and  Dining  Halls ;  Practising  Schools, 
and  Masters'  Houses  :  beyond  is  the  Model  School,  in  Early  English  style,  with  porch 
and  lancet  windows  :  the  buildings  and  playgrounds  occupying  upwards  of  15  acres, 
with  a  large  central  octagonal  tower,  which,  with  the  embattled  parapets,  pointed 
gables,  and  traceried  oriel-windows,  forms  a  picturesque  architectural  group. 

COLOSSEUM  (THE). 

HTIHE  Colosseum,  upon  the  east  side  of  the  Regent's-park,  was  originally  planned  by 
-*-  Mr.  Hornor,  a  land-surveyor;  and  the  building  was  commenced  for  him  1824, 
by  Peto  and  Grissell,  from  the  designs  of  Decimus  Burton.  The  chief  portion  is  a 
polygon  of  sixteen  faces,  126  feet  in  diameter  externally,  the  walls  being  3  feet  thick 
at  the  ground;  and  the  height  to  the  glazed  doom  is  112  feet.  Fronting  the  west  is 
an  entrance  portico,  with  six  Grecian-Doric  fluted  columns,  said  to  be  full-sized  models 
of  those  of  the  Parthenon.  The  external  dome  is  supported  by  a  hemispherical  dome, 
constructed  of  ribs  formed  of  thin  deals  in  thicknesses,  breaking  joint  and  bolted 
together,  on  the  principle  educed  by  M.  Philibert  de  l'Orme  in  the  14th  century,  and 


COLOSSEUM  (TEE).  281 


stated  to  be  introduced  here  for  the  first  time  in  England.  The  second  dome  also 
supports  a  third,  which  forms  a  ceiling  of  the  picture,  to  be  presently  described.  The 
building  resembles  a  miniature  of  the  Pantheon,  and  has  been  named  from  its  colossal 
size,  and  not  from  any  resemblance  to  the  Colosseum  at  Rome;  but  it  more  closely 
resembles  the  Eoman  Catholic  Church  at  Berlin.* 

The  building  is  lighted  entirely  by  the  glazed  dome,  there  being  no  side  windows. 
Upon  the  canvassed  walls  was  painted  the  Panoramic  View  of  London,  completed  in 
1829 ;  for  which  Mr.  Hornor,  in  1821-2,  made  the  sketches  at  several  feet  above  the 
present  cross  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  (as  described  at  p.  115).  The  view  of  the  picture 
was  obtained  from  two  galleries:  the  first  corresponds,  in  relation  to  the  prospect,  with 
tin'  first  gallery  at  the  summit  of  the  dome  of  St.  Paul's;  the  second  with  the  upper 
gallery  of  the  cathedral.  Upon  this  last  gallery  is  placed  the  identical  copper  ball 
which  formerly  occupied  the  summit  of  St.  Paul's;  above  it  is  a  fac-simile  of  the 
cross ;  and  over  these  is  hung  the  small  wooden  cabin  in  which  Mr.  Hornor  made  his 
drawings.  A  small  flight  of  stairs  -leads  from  this  spot  to  the  open  parapet  gallery 
which  surrounds  the  domed  roof  of  the  Colosseum.  The  commuication  with  the 
galleries  is  by  spiral  staircases,  built  on  the  outside  of  a  lofty  cylindrical  core  in  the 
centre  of  the  rotunda ;  within  which  is  also  the  "  Ascending  Room,"  capable  of  con- 
taining ten  or  twelve  persons.  This  chamber  is  decorated  in  the  Elizabethan  style,  and 
lighted  through  a  stained-glass  ceiling ;  it  is  raised  by  secret  machinery  to  the  required 
elevation,  or  gallery,  whence  the  company  viewed  the  panorama.  The  hoisting  mechanism 
is  a  long  shaft  connected  with  a  steam-engine  outside  the  building,  working  a  chain 
upon  a  drum-barrel,  and  counterbalanced  by  two  other  chains,  the  ascending  motion 
being  almost  imperceptible. 

The  painting  of  the  picture  was  a  marvel  of  art.  It  covers  upwards  of  46,000 
square  feet,  or  more  than  an  acre  of  canvas ;  the  dome  on  which  the  sky  is  painted 
is  30  feet  more  in  diameter  than  the  cupola  of  St.  Paul's ;  and  the  circumference  of  the 
horizon  from  the  point  of  view  is  nearly  130  miles.  Excepting  the  dome  of  St. 
Paul's  Cathedral,  there  is  no  painted  surface  in  Great  Britain  to  compare  with  this  in 
magnitude  or  shape,  and  even  that  offers  but  a  small  extent  in  comparison.  It  is 
inferred  that  the  scaffolding  used  for  constructing  St.  Paul's  cupola  was  left  for  Sir 
James  Thornhill,  in  painting  the  interior;  and  his  design  consisted  of  several  com- 
partments, each  complete  in  itself.  Not  so  this  Panorama  of  London,  which,  as  one 
subject,  required  unity,  harmony,  accuracy  of  linear  and  aerial  perspective ;  the  com- 
mencement and  finishing  of  lines,  colours,  and  forms,  and  their  nice  unity ;  the  per- 
pendicular canvas  and  concave  ceiling  of  stucco  was  not  to  be  seen  by,  or  even  known 
to,  the  spectator;  and  the  union  of  a  horizontal  and  vertical  surface,  though  used, 
was  not  to  be  detected.  After  the  sketches  were  completed  upon  2000  sheets  of 
paper,  and  the  building  finished,  no  individual  could  be  found  to  paint  the  picture  in  a 
sufficiently  short  period,  and  many  artists  were  of  necessity  employed  :  thus,  by  the 
use  of  platforms  slung  by  ropes,  with  baskets  for  conveying  the  colours,  temporary 
bridges,  and  other  ingenious  contrivances,  the  painting  was  executed,  but  in  the 
peculiar  style,  taste,  and  notion  of  each  artist ;  to  reconcile  which,'  or  bring  them  to 
form  one  vast  whole,  was  a  novel,  intricate,  and  hazardous  task,  which  many  persons 
tried,  but  ineffectually.  At  length,  Mr.  E.  T.  Parris,  possessing  an  accurate  knowledge 
of  mechanics  and  perspective,  and  practical  execution  in  painting,  combined  with  great 
enthusiasm  and  perseverance,  accomplished  the  labour  principally  with  his  own  hands; 
standing  in  a  cradle  or  box,  suspended  from  cross  poles  or  shears,  and  lifted  as 
required,  by  ropes. 

The  Panorama  was  viewed  from  a  balustraded  gallery,  with  a  projecting  frame 

*  In  1769,  there  was  constructed  in  the  Champs  Elys&s,  at  Paris,  a  vast  building  called  Le  Colisee, 
for  fetes  in  honour  of  the  marriage  of  the  Dauphin,  afterwards  Louis  XVI.  Here  were  dances,  hydrau- 
lics, pyrotechnics,  &c. ;  the  buildine  did  not  resemble  the  Pantheon,  as  ours  in  the  Regent's-park,  but 
the  Colosseum  at  Rome.  It  contained  a  rotunda,  saloons,  and  circular  galleries,  skirted  with  shops, 
besides  trellis-work  apartments  and  four  cafh.  In  the  centre  of  Le  Cirque  was  a  vast  basin  of 
water,  with  fountains ;  beyond  which  fireworks  were  displayed.  The  whole  edifice  was  completely 
covered  with  green  trellis-work ;  the  entire  space  occupied  by  the  buildings,  coui  ts,  and  gardens,  was 
sixteen  acres;  and  the  cost  was  two  and  a  half  millions  of  money.  There  were  prize  exhibitions  of  pic- 
tures ;  and  Mr.  Hornor  projected  similar  displays  at  the  Colosseum,  but  the  idea  was  not  taken  up  by 
the  British  artists.  In  1778,  the  Parisian  building  was  closed,  and  two  years  afterwards  was  taken 
down.    It  is  mentioned  by  Dr.  Johnson,  in  his  Tour,  in  1775. 


232  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

beneath  it,  in  exact  imitation  of  the  outer  dome  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  the  perspective 
and  light  and  shade  of  the  campanile  towers  in  the  western  front  being  admirably 
managed.  The  spectator  was  recommended  to  take  four  distinct  stations  in  the  gallery, 
and  then  inspect  in  succession  the  views  towards  the  north,  east,  south,  and  west ; 
altogether  representing  the  Metropolis  of  1821,  the  date  of  the  sketches. 

The  North  comprises  Newgate-market,  the  old  College  of  Physicians,  Christ's  Hospital  (before  ths 
rebuilding  of  the  Great  Hall),  St.  Bartholomew's  Hospital,  and  Smithfield  Market;  and  the  New 
General  Post-Office,  then  building.  These  are  the  objects  near  the  foreground :  beyond  them  are 
Clerkenwell,  the  Charterhouse,  and  the  lines  of  Goswell-street,  St.  John-street,  Pentonville,  Islington, 
and  Hoxton.  In  the  next,  or  third  distance,  are  Primrose-hill,  Chalk  Farm,  Hampstead,  and  a  con- 
tinued line  of  wooded  hills  to  Highgate,  where  are  the  bold  Archway  and  the  line  of  the  Great  North 
Road  from  Islington;  whilst  Stamford-hill,  Muswell-hill,  part  of  Epping  Forest,  and  portions  of  Essex, 
Hertfordshire,  and  Middlesex  bound  the  horizon. 

The  East  displays  a  succession  of  objects  all  differing  from  the  former  view  in  effect,  character,  and 
associations.  Whilst  the  north  exhibits  the  rustie  scenery  of  the  environs  of  London,  the  east  pre- 
sents us  with  the  Thames,  and  its  massive  warehouses  and  spacious  docks ;  the  one  a  scene  of  rural 
quiet,  the  other  a  focus  of  commercial  activity.  In  the  foreground  is  St.  Paul's  School-house;  whilst 
the  lines  of  Cheapside,  Cornhill,  Leadenhall-street,  and  Whitechapel  carry  the  eye  through  the  very 
heart  of  the  City,  and  thence  to  Bow,  Stratford,  and  a  fine  tract  of  woodlands,  in  Essex.  On  the  right 
and  left  of  this  line  are  the  towers  and  steeples  of  Bow  Church,  St.  Mary  Woolnoth ;  St.  Michael,  Corn- 
hill  ;  St.  Ethelburga,  Bishopsgate,  and  others  of  subordinate  height ;  the  Bank,  Mansion-house,  Royal 
Exchange  (since  destroyed  by  fire),  East  India  House,  and  several  of  the  Companies'  Halls.  Another 
line,  nearly  parallel,  but  a  little  to  the  east,  extends  through  Watling-street  (the  old  Roman  road)  to 
Cannon-street,  Tower-street,  and  the  prison,  palace,  fortress,  and  museum — the  Tower.  The  course  of 
the  Thames,  with  its  vessels  and  wilderness  of  masts,  the  docks  and  warehouses  on  its  banks :  the  palace- 
hospital  of  Greenwich  and  the  beautiful  country  beyond  it,  contrasted  with  the  levels  of  the  Essex  bank — 
are  all  defined  in  this  direction. 

Southward,  the  eye  traces  the  undulating  line  of  the  Surrey  hills  in  the  distance ;  and  in  the  fore- 
part of  the  picture  the  Thames,  with  its  countless  craft,  among  which  are  civic  barges  and  steamers, 
characteristic  of  ancient  and  modern  London.  Here  also  are  shown  old  London-bridge,  and  Southwark, 
Blackfriars,  Waterloo,  Westminster,  and  Vauxhall  Bridges,  whilst  the  river-banks  are  crowded  with 
interesting  structures,  among  which  are  the  old  Houses  of  Parliament. 

The  Western  view  presents  a  new  and  different  series  of  objects.  First,  in  effect,  in  beauty  of  exe- 
cution and  imposing  character,  are  the  two  campanili,  the  pediment,  and  the  roof  of  the  western  end, 
of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral.  The  painting  here  is  masterly  and  magical ;  it  so  deceives  the  eye  and  the 
imagination,  that  the  spectator  can  scarcely  believe  these  towers  to  be  depicted  on  the  same  canvas  and 
the  same  surface  as  the  whole  line  of  objects  from  Ludgate  Hill  to  St.  James's-Park.  This  view  to  the 
west  embraces  the  long  lines  of  Ludgate-hill,  Fleet-street,  and  the  Strand,  Piccadilly,  &e. ;  Holborn-hill 
and  Oxford-street,  with  the  Inns  of  Court;  Westminster;  numerous  churches  and  public  buildings, 
right  and  left ;  and  Hyde-park,  Kensington-gardens,  and  a  long  stretch  of  flat  country  to  Windsor.— 
Brief  Account,  by  John  Britton,  F.S.A.,  1829. 

A  staircase  leads  to  the  upper  gallery,  whence  the  spectator  again  commanded  the 
whole  picture  in  a  sort  of  bird's-eye  view.  Another  flight  of  stairs  communicates 
with  the  room  containing  the  copper  ball  and  fac-simile  cross  of  St.  Paul's.  A  few 
more  steps  conduct  to  the  outer  gallery  at  the  summit ;  where,  in  fine  weather,  the 
spectator  might  compare  the  colouring,  perspective,  and  effects  of  nature  with  those 
of  art  within. 

The  Panorama  was  first  exhibited  in  the  spring  of  1829.  It  was  almost  repainted 
by  Mr.  Parris  in  1845  j  when  also  a  Panorama  of  London  by  Night,  essentially  the 
same  as  the  day  view,  was  exhibited  in  front  of  the  latter,  and  had  to  be  erected  and 
illuminated  every  evening :  the  moonlight  effect  upon  the  rippling  river ;  the  floating, 
fleecy  clouds  and  twinkling  stars ;  the  lights  upon  the  bridges,  in  the  shops,  and  in  the 
open  markets,  formed  a  rare  triumph  of  artistic  illusion.  In  May,  1848,  a  moonlight 
Panorama  of  Paris,  of  the  same  dimensions  as  the  night  view  of  London,  was  painted 
by  Danson,  and  was  very  attractive  in  illustration  of  the  localities  of  the  recent 
Revolution.  In  1850,  both  views  gave  way  to  a  Panorama  of  the  Lake  of  Thun,  in 
Switzerland,  painted  in  tempera  by  Danson  and  Son ;  and  in  1851,  the  Panorama  of 
London  was  reproduced  as  a  more  appropriate  sight  for  visitors  during  the  International 
Exhibition  season. 

The  Picture,  however,  was  but  one  of  the  many  features  of  the  Colosseum.  The 
basement  of  the  Rotunda  has  a  superb  Ionic  colonnade,  as  a  sculpture-gallery,  named 
the  Glyptotheca  :  the  columns  and  entablature  are  richly  gilt ;  and  the  frieze,  nearly 
300  feet  in  circumference,  is  adorned  with  bas-reliefs  from  the  Panthenaic  friezes  of 
the  Parthenon,  exquisitely  modelled  by  Henning ;  the  ribbed  roof  being  filled  with 
embossed  glass. 

Southward  and  eastward  of  the  Rotunda  are  large  Conservatories,  a  Swiss  chalet, 
and  mountain  scenery  interspersed  with  real  water:  these  were  executed  by  Mr. 
Hornor,  whose  enthusiasm  led  him  to  project  a  tunnel  beneath  the  Regent's-park- 


COLUMNS.  283 


road,  and  to  anticipate  a  grant  from  the  opposite  enclosure  to  be  added  to  the 
Colosseum  grounds.  But  the  ingenious  projector  failed :  the  property  passed  into 
the  hands  of  trustees ;  after  which  it  lost  much  of  its  status  as  a  place  of  public 
amusement ;  but  on  May  11,  1843,  it  was  bought  for  23,000  guineas  by  Mr.  David 
Montague,  who  altogether  retrieved  and  elevated  the  artistic  character  of  the 
establishment. 

The  Colosseum,  as  altered,  with  the  exception  of  the  Panorama,  was  principally 
executed  in  1845,  from  the  designs  of  the  late  Mr.  W.  Bradwell,  formerly  chief 
machinist  of  Covent  Garden  Theatre.  The  eastern  entrance,  in  Albany-street,  was 
then  added,  with  an  arched  corridor  in  the  style  of  the  Vatican,  and  leading  to  the 
Glyptotheca,  the  Arabesque  Conservatories,  and  the  Gothic  Aviary,  the  exterior 
promenade,  with  its  model  ruins  of  the  Temple  of  Vesta  and  Arch  of  Titus,  the  Temple 
of  Theseus,  and  golden  pinnacles  and  eastern  domes, — a  chaos  of  classic  relics  of  the 
antique  world.  A  romantic  pass  leads  to  the  chalet,  or  Swiss  Cottage,  originally 
designed  by  P.  P.  Robinson :  the  roof,  walls,  and  projecting  fireplace  are  fancifully 
carved ;  and  the  bay-window  looks  upon  a  mass  of  rock-scenery,  a  mountain-torrent 
and  lake, — a  model  picture  of  the  sublime.  In  another  direction  lies  a  large  model  of 
the  Stalactite  Cavern  at  Adelsberg,  in  Carniola ;  constructed  by  Bradwell  and  Telbin. 

At  Christmas,  1848,  was  added  a  superb  theatre,  with  a  picturesque  rustic  armoury  as 
an  ante-room.  The  spectatory,  designed  and  erected  by  Bradwell,  resembles  the  vesti- 
bule of  a  regal  mansion  fitted  up  for  the  performance  of  a  masque  :  it  is  decorated  with 
colossal  Sienna  columns,  and  copies  of  three  of  Raphael's  cartoons  in  the  Vatican  (School 
of  Athens,  and  Constantine  and  the  Pope),  by  Horner,  of  Rath  bone-place ;  the  ceilings 
are  gorgeously  painted  with  allegorical  groups ;  and  upon  the  fronts  of  the  boxes  is  a 
Bacchanalian  procession,  in  richly-gilt  relief.  Upon  the  stage  passed  the  Cyclorama  of 
Lisbon,  depicting  in  ten  scenes  the  terrific  spectacle  of  the  great  earthquake  of  1755 — 
the  uplifting  sea  and  o'ertopping  city,  and  all  the  frightful  devastation  of  flood  and  fire ; 
accompanied  by  characteristic  performances  upon  Bevington's  Apollonicon.  The  scenes 
are  painted  by  Danson,  in  the  manner  of  Loutherbourg's  Eidophusicon,  which  not  only 
anticipated,  but  in  part  surpassed,  our  present  dioramas.  The  entire  exhibition  has 
long  been  closed. 

In  March,  1855,  the  Colosseum,  with  the  Cyclorama,  were  put  up  to  auction  by  the 
Messrs.  Winstanley.  It  was  then  stated  that  the  Colosseum  was  erected  at  a  cost  of 
23,000?.  for  Mr.  Thomas  Hornor,  who  held  a  lease  of  it  direct  from  the  Crown,  at  a 
ground  rent  of  2621.  18s.  for  a  period  of  ninety-nine  years,  sixty-nine  of  which  were 
unexpired  on  the  10th  of  October,  1854.  He  subsequently  expended  above  100,000?. 
to  carry  out  the  objects  for  which  it  was  intended,  by  decorating  the  interior,  pur- 
chasing pictures,  &c.  In  August,  1836,  the  lease  was  sold  to  Messrs.  Braham  and 
Yates.  Mr.  Braham  laid  out  about  50,000?.  on  the  building,  which  in  a  few  years 
afterwards  became  the  property  of  Mr.  Turner,  who  added  the  Cyclorama,  which  cost 
20,000?.,  to  the  establishment,  with  many  decorations,  at  several  thousand  pounds' 
expense ;  so  that  the  entire  edifice  has  cost  above  200,000?.  The  sum  of  20,000?.  was 
bid,  but  the  property  was  not  sold. 

COLUMNS. 

NELSON  COLUMN  (the),  south  side  of  Trafalgar-square,  was  erected  between 
1839  and  1852,  by  public  subscription  and  the  aid  of  the  Government.  It  was 
designed  by  W.  Railton,  and  is  of  the  exact  proportion  of  a  column  of  the  Corinthian 
temple  of  Mars  Ultor  at  Rome :  Mr.  Railton  choosing  the  Corinthian  order  from  its 
being  the  most  lofty  and  elegant  in  its  proportions,  and  having  never  been  used  in 
England  for  this  purpose ;  whilst  it  is  in  keeping  with  the  surrounding  buildings,  and 
tends  more  than  any  other  species  of  monument  to  bring  the  entire  scene  into  general 
harmony,  without  destroying  the  effect  of  any  portion  of  it.  The  foundation  rests  upon 
a  6-feet  layer  of  concrete  in  a  compact  stratum  of  clay,  about  twelve  feet  below  the 
pavement ;  upon  which  is  the  frustrum  of  a  brick-work  pyramid,  48  feet  square  at  the 
base,  and  13  feet  high,  upon  which  the  superstructure  commences  with  the  graduated 
stylobate  of  the  pedestal,  the  first  step  of  which  is  33  feet  4  inches  wide.      From  this 


284  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

point  to  the  foot  of  the  statue,  the  work  is  of  solid  granite,  in  large  blocks  admirably 
dressed ;  and  in  the  shaft  they  are  so  well  connected  as  to  give  the  fabric  almost  the 
cohesion  of  a  monolith.  The  granite  was  brought  from  Foggin  Tor,  on  the  coast  of 
Devon ;  and  was  selected  for  its  equable  particles  and  intimate  distribution  of  mica, 
feldtspar,  and  quartz.  The  shaft  (lower  diameter  10  fuet)  is  fluted  throughout,  the 
base  being  richly  ornamented — the  lower  torus  with  a  cable,  the  upper  with  oak-leaves. 
The  pedestal  is  raised  upon  a  flight  of  steps;  and  at  the  angles  are  massive  cippi,  or 
blocks,  intended  to  receive  four  recumbent  African  lions.  The  capital  is  of  bronze, 
and  was  cast  from  old  ordnance  in  the  Arsenal  foundry  at  Woolwich,  from  full-sized 
models  carefully  prepared  by  C.  H.  Smith.  "  The  foliage  is  connected  to  the  bell  of  the 
cap  by  three  large  belts  of  metal  lying  in  grooves,  and  rendering  it  needless  to  fix  plugs 
into  the  work,  with  the  concomitant  risk  of  damage  from  the  galvanic  action  of  metals." 
(G.  Godwin,  jun.,  F.B.S.)  One  of  the  lower  tiers  of  leaves  weighs  about  900  lbs. 
Upon  a  circular  pedestal  on  the  abacus  is  a  colossal  statue  of  Nelson,  with  a  coiled  cable 
on  his  left;  E.  H.  Baily,  R.A.,  sculptor.  The  figure  is  of  Cragleith  stone,  in  three 
massive  blocks,  presented  by  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch;  the  largest  block  weighing 
upwards  of  30  tons.  The  statue  measures  17  feet  from  its  plinth  to  the  top  of  the  hat ; 
it  was  raised  on  Nov.  3  and  4,  1813;  and  on  Oct.  23  previous,  fourteen  persons 
partook  of  a  dinner  on  the  abacus  of  the  Column. 

The  scaffolding  used  in  constructing  this  Column  was  a  novelty  of  mechanical  skill.  Instead  of  the 
usual  forest  of  small  round  poles,  there  were  five  grand  uprights  or  standards  on  the  east  and  west  sides, 
in  six  stages  or  stories,  marked  by  horizontal  beams  and  curbs,  at  nearly  equal  intervals,  the  base  being 
greatly  extended,  and  the  sides  strengthened  by  diagonal  and  raking  braces.  By  means  of  a  powerful 
engine  moving  on  a  railway,  and  a  travelling  platform,  blocks  of  stone  from  six  to  ten  tons  weight,  were, 
at  a  rate  of  progression  scarcely  more'perceptible  than  the  motion  of  a  clock-weight  (being  only  thirty 
feet  in  the  hour),  raised  to  a  great  elevation,  and  set  down  with  less  muscular  exertion  than  would  be 
expended  on  a  lamp-post ;  one  mason  thus  setting  as  much  work  in  one  day  as  was  done  in  three  days 
by  the  old  system,  even  without  the  aid  of  six  labourers,  who  are  now  dispensed  with.  The  timber  used 
in  erecting  this  scaffold  was  7700  cubic  feet,  and  its  cost  was  2401.  for  labour  in  erecting. 

The  pedestal  has  on  its  four  sides  the  following  bronze  reliefs : 

North  (facing  the  National  Gallery),  Battle  of  the  Nile:  designed  by  W.  F.  Woodington.  Nelson, 
having  received  a  severe  wound  in  the  head,  was  caught  by  Captain  Berry  in  his  arms,  as  he  was 
falling,  and  carried  into  the  cockpit;  the  surgeon  is  quitting  a  wounded  sailor  that  he  may  instantly 
attend  the  Admiral.  "  No,"  said  Nelson ;  "  I  will  take  my  turn  with  my  brave  fellows."  Some  of  the 
parts  project  15  inches,  and  the  figures  are  8  feet  high:  the  casting  weighs  2  tons  15  cwt.  2  qrs.;  and 
the  metal  is  three-eighths  of  an  inch  thick. 

South  (facing  Whitehall),  Death  of  Nelson  at  Trafalgar:  designed  by  C.  E.  Carew.  Nelson  is  being 
carried  from  the  quarter-deck  to  the  cockpit  by  a  marine  and  two  seamen.  "  Well,  Hardy,"  said  Nelson 
to  his  captain,  "  they  have  done  for  me  at  last."  "  I  hope  not,"  was  the  reply.  "  Yes ;  they  have  shot 
me  through  the  backbone."  At  the  back  of  the  centre  group  is  the  surgeon.  To  the  left  are  three 
sailors  tightening  some  of  the  ship's  cordage ;  another  kneels,  holding  a  handspike  and  leaning  on  a 
gun,  arrested  by  the  conversation  between  the  dying  hero  and  Captain  Hardy.  Jn  the  front,  lying  on 
the  deck,  are  an  officer  and  marines,  who  have  fallen  to  rise  no  more.  Behind  stand  two  marines  and 
a  negro  sailor.  One  of  the  former  has  detected  the  marksman  by  whose  shot  Nelson  fell,  and  is  point- 
ing him  out  to  his  companion.  The  latter  has  raised  his  musket,  and  has  evidently  covered  his  mark ; 
whilst  the  black,  who  stands  just  before  the  two  marines,  is  grasping  his  firelock.  The  figures  are  of 
life-size;  the  casting  weighs  about  five  tons.  Beneath  are  Nelson's  memorable  words,  "  England  ei- 
pects  every  man  will  do  his  duty." 

East  (facing  the  Strand),  Bombardment  of  Copenhagen :  designed  by  the  late  Mr.  Ternouth.  Nelson 
is  sealing,  on  the  end  of  a  gun,  his  despatch,  to  send  by  the  flag  of  truce ;  a  group  of  officers  surround 
him,  and  a  sailor  holds  a  caudle  and  lantern :  in  the  foreground  are  wounded  groups ;  and  in  the 
distance  are  a  church  and  city  (Copenhagen)  in  flames. 

West  (facing  Pall  Mall),  Battle  of  St.  Vincent :  commenced  by  Watson  and  finished  by  Woodington. 
Nelson,  on  board  the  San  Josef,  is  receiving  from  the  Spanish  admirals  their  swords,  which  an  old 
Agamemnon  man  is  putting  under  his  arm ;  in  the  foreground  is  a  dying  sailor  clasping  a  broken  flag-staff. 

A  monument  to  Nelson  was  first  proposed  in  1805  (the  year  of  his  death),  when  the 
Committee  of  the  Patriotic  Fund  raised  1330Z.  Reduced  3  per  Cents,  which,  with  the ' 
accumulated  dividends,  amounted  in  June,  1838,  to  5545Z.  19*.  Meanwhile,  in  1816, 
the  monument  was  proposed  in  Parliament,  as  "  a  duty  which  the  nation  ought,  per- 
haps, to  have  discharged  not  less  than  thirty  years  ago."  The  subject,  however,  rested 
until  1838,  when  a  subscription  was  raised,  Trafalgar-square  chosen  as  the  site,  .and  a 
column  recommended  by  the  Duke  of  Wellington.  In  January,  1839,  118  drawings 
and  41  models  were  submitted,  and  the  first  prize,  2501.,  awarded  to  Mr.  Railton 
for  his  column ;  in  May  following,  a  second  series  of  designs  (167)  was  exhibited, 
but  the  Committee  adhered  to  their  former  choice.  In  1844,  the  subscriptions,* 
20,483^.  11*.  2d.,  had  been  expended ;  and  the  Government  undertook  the  comple- 

*  To  which  Nicholas,  Emperor  of  Russia,  contributed  5001. 


COLUMNS. 


285 


tion  of  the  monument,  estimated  at  12,0O0Z.  additional.  The  column  itself  cost 
23,000?.  building ;  the  statue,  capital,  and  reliefs,  5000?. ;  2000/.  architect's  commis- 
sion ;  four  lions  have  been  estimated  at  3000?.  Trafalgar-square  was  much  objected 
to  as  the  site  :  in  the  Parliamentary  examination,  eight  architects  and  sculptors  were 
in  favour  of  it,  and  four  architects  were  against  it.  Chantrey  considered  Trafalgar- 
square  to  be  "the  most  favourable  that  could  be  found  or  imagined  for  any  national 
work  of  art ;  its  aspect  is  nearly  south,  and  sufficiently  open  to  give  the  object  placed 
on  that  identical  spot  all  the  advantage  of  light  and  shade  that  can  be  desired ;  to  this 
may  be  added  the  advantage  of  a  happy  combination  of  unobtrusive  buildings  around : 
but  to  conceive  a  national  monument  worthy  of  this  magnificent  site  is  no  easy  task." 
Chantrey  objected  to  a  column  as  a  monument,  unless  treated  as  a  biographical  volume, 
with  the  acts  of  the  hero  sculptured  on  the  shaft,  as  on  the  columns  of  Trajan  and 
Antoninus.  Annexed  are  the  comparative  dimensions  of  the  principal  monumental 
columns : 


Height  to 

Date. 

Climate. 

Site. 

Order. 

the  top  of 
Capital. 

Diameter. 

A.D. 

Feet. 

Feet. 

118 

Trajan     .    .    . 

Rome   .    . 

Doric    .    . 

115 

12 

162 

Antoninus  .    . 

Rome   .    . 

Doric    .    . 

123 

13 

1671 

Monument  .    . 

London    . 

Doric    .    . 

172 

15 

1806 

Napoleon     .    . 

Paris    .    . 

Doric    .    . 

115 

12 

1832 

Duke  of  York  . 

London     . 

Tuscan 

111 

11 

1839 

Nelson     .    .    . 

London     . 

Corinthian 

1456 

10-1| — 11-71 

Nelson  Column,  145  feet  6  inches ;  statue  and  plinth,  17  feet ;  =  162  feet  6  inches. 

Yoek  Column,  Carlton-gardens,  built  1830-33,  in  memory  of  the  Duke  of  York 
(d.  1827),  Commander-in-Chief  of  the  army,  and  forty -six  years  a  soldier;  whose 
statue  is  placed  on  the  summit.  The  building  fund,  about  25,000?.,  was  raised 
by  subscription,  to  which  each  individual  of  the  service  contributed  one  day's  pay. 
The  Column  (Tuscan),  designed  by  B.  Wyatt,  is  of  fine  Aberdeenshire  granite,  the 
lower  pedestal  grey,  and  the  shaft  of  red  Peterhead ;  the  surface  fine-axed,  or  not 
polished.  The  abacus  of  the  capital  is  enclosed  with  iron  railing,  and  in  its  centre  is 
the  pedestal  for  the  statue.  Within  the  pedestal  and  shaft  is  a  spiral  staircase  of  168 
steps,  which,  with  the  newel,  or  central  pillar,  and  outer  casing,  are  cut  from  the  solid 
block.  The  masonry  throughout,  by  Nowell,  is  remarkably  good.  The  statue,  of 
bronze,  by  Sir  Richard  Westmacott,  R.A.,  represents  the  Duke  in  the  robes  of  the 
Order  of  the  Garter.  The  weight  is  7  tons  800  lbs.,  or  16,480  lbs. ;  it  was  raised 
April  8,  1834,  between  the  column  and  the  scaffolding,  seven  hours  labour,  at  a  cost 
of  400/.  The  column  may  be  ascended  from  12  to  4,  from  May  to  Sept.  24,  6d.  each 
person  :  the  view  from  the  gallery  of  the  Surrey  hills  and  western  London  is  fine  ;  the 
latter  showed  the  magnificence  of  Regent-street,  and  the  skill  of  the  architect,  Nash, 
in  the  junction  of  the  lines  by  the  Quadrant.  On  May  14,  1850,  Henri  Joseph 
Stephan,  a  French  musician,  committed  suicide  by  throwing  himself  from  the  gallery, 
which  has  since  been  entirely  enclosed  with  iron  caging.  The  height  of  the  column  is 
123  feet  Cinches;  of  the  statue,  13  feet  6  inches  =  137  feet;  or  viewed  from  the 
bottom  of  the  steps,  at  the  level  of  St.  James's  Park,  156  feet :  upper  diameter  of 
shaft,  10  feet  lj  inches  ;  lower  diameter,  11  feet  7£  inches.  The  foundation,  laid  in 
■  concrete,  is  pyramidal,  53  feet  square  at  the  base. 

The  height  of  the  balcony  of  the  York  Column  is  very  nearly  that  of  the  under  side  of  the  great 
tube  of  the  Britannia  Bridge,  over  the  Menai  Straits,  above  high  water.  The  entire  length  of  the 
bridge  is  1832  feet  8  inches ;  considerably  more  than  that  of  Waterloo-place,  from  the  York  Column  to 
the  foot  of  the  Quadrant. — Proceedings  of  the  Society  of  Arts,  1851. 

Dr.  VVaagen  condemns  this  monument  as  a  bad  imitation  of  Trajan's  Column,  very  mean  and  poor 
in  appearance,  with  a  naked  shaft,  and  without  an  entasis :  whereas  the  bas-reliefs  on  the  shaft  of 
Trajan's  Pillar  give  it,  at  least,  the  impression  of  a  lavish  profusion  of  art.  Besides,  the  statue  on  the 
York  Column,  though  as  colossal  as  the  size  of  the  base  will  allow,  appears  little  and  puppet-like  com- 
pared with  the  column ;  and  the  features  and  expression  of  the  countenance  seem  wholly  lost  to  the 
spectator. 

See  also  Monument,  The. 


286  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


COMMON  COUNCIL. 

THE  constitution  of  the  Corporation  of  London  presents  a  remote  and  illusory  re- 
semblance to  the  constitution  of  the  State.  There  are  the  Lord  Mayor,  the  Court 
of  Aldermen,  and  the  Court  of  Common  Council.  Strictly  speaking,  the  Court  of 
Common  Council  includes  the  Chief  Magistrate  and  the  Aldermen;  but  in  ordinary 
language  it  is  understood  to  mean  the  Commons  of  the  City,  being  somewhat  like  the 
House  of  Commons  :  the  Court  of  Aldermen  bearing  some  analogy  to  the  House  of 
Lords :  and  the  Lord  Mayor  to  the  Sovereign. — Lord  Brougham,  1843. 

The  two  corporate  assemblies  can  be  traced  back  to  a  very  distant  period,  and  there 
are  records  of  disputes  between  the  two  Courts  six  centuries  ago.  In  the  reigns  of 
Edward  I.  and  II.,  a  body  analogous  to  the  Common  Council  was  formed  by  the  repre- 
sentatives from  the  different  Wards  of  the  City.  But  the  Common  Council  appears 
to  have  been  first  constituted  in  its  present  form  only  in  the  reign  of  Richard  II.,  by  a 
civic  ordinance ;  whilst  in  an  Act  of  Parliament  of  the  previous  reign  (28  Edw.  III. 
c.  10),  the  Mayor,  Sheriffs,  and  Aldermen  are  invested  with  the  redress  and  correction 
of  errors,  &c,  in  the  City  of  London,  for  default  of  good  government. 

Altogether  there  are  26  Wards,  but  the  custom  of  holding  an  election  in  each  was  not  originally  the 
mode  of  representation,  though  it  is  said  to  have  been  customary  for  nearly  five  centuries.  Before  that 
period  the  election  of  the  Common  Council  rested  with  the  trades,  or  guilds,  and  the  whole  body  of 
liverymen  used  to  assemble  in  Guildhall  yearly  to  send  delegates  there.  It  is  said  there  are  ancient 
records  in  the  Corporation  Library  which  show  that  those  meetings  were  commonly  so  turbulent,  that 
in  1386,  early  in  the  reign  of  Richard  II.,  the  plan  of  voting  by  wards  was  tried  as  an  experiment,  and 
has  ever  since  obtained  without  interruption.  Still  the  trades,  to  some  extent,  continued  to  be  represented 
as  such  in  the  Court  of  Common  Council,  as  the  names  of  many  of  the  Wards  yet  prove,  as  in  the  cases  of 
Candlewick,  Cordwainer  and  Vintry  Wards,  it  being  a  usage  for  divers  trades  and  crafts  to  be  carried  on 
in  fixed  localities ;  but  now,  as  for  many  ages,  it  is  a  settled  rule  for  the  Lord  Mayor  to  issue  a  precept 
directing  the  election  of  Councilmen  in  the  various  Wards  on  St.  Thomas's  Day,  December  21,  and  the 
ceremony  of  election  takes  place  before  the  Alderman  of  each  Ward,  who  invariably  wears  his  robes  of  office 
on  the  occasion ;  and,  if  he  has  been  chief  magistrate,  his  gold  chain  and  badge.  Of  all  the  several  26 
members  of  the  Court  of  Aldermen,  the  only  one  without  a  constituency,  or  with  but  a  small  one,  if  any 
at  all,  sits  for  the  Ward  of  Bridge,  so  called  after  London-bridge,  of  which  it  is  chiefly,  if  not  solely, 
composed.  In  the  time  of  old  London-bridge,  when  there  were  many  inhabited  houses  on  that  structure, 
the  Alderman  of  the  Ward  represented  an  actual  community  of  citizens,  though  small  in  comparison  ; 
now  it  is  not  so,  though  the  custom  of  its  sending  a  delegate  to  the  Court  of  Aldermen  is  maintained. 

The  City  laws  against  foreigners  appear  to  have  been  formerly  very  stringent.  An  order  of  Common 
Council,  1605,  enjoins  a  penalty  of  51.  per  day  on  any  foreigner  or  stranger,  not  free,  keeping  a  retail 
shop  in  the  City  or  liberty  ;  and  if  any  freeman  employs  a  foreigner  to  work  for  him  in  the  City  or 
liberty,  he  forfeits  51.  per  day.  By  stat.  21  Hen.  VIII.,  a  stranger,  artificer  in  London,  &c,  shall  not 
keep  above  two  stranger  servants,  but  he  may  have  as  many  English  servants  and  apprentices  as  he  can 
get.  It  is  an  ancient  custom  of  London,  that  if  one  stranger  or  foreigner  buys  any  thing  of  another 
stranger,  it  shall  be  forfeited  to  the  mayor  and  commonalty  of  the  City. — Vide  Jacob's  City  Liberties,  1732. 

The  number  of  members  of  the  Common  Council  have  been,  from  time  to  time,  altered  as  follows  :— 
1273. 1st  Edward  I.,  40  men  elected  from  all  the  Wards — the  original  number. — 1317. 2nd  Edward  II.,  the 
Commonalty  elected  from  the  following  Wards :  Vintry,  Bread-street,  Cripplegate,  Farringdon,  Alders- 
gate,  Queenhithe,  and  Coleman-street=72men. — 1322. 16th  Edward  II.,  2  men  from  each  Ward=48.— 
1347.  20th  Edward  III.,  8,  6,  or  4  men  elected,  according  to  the  size  of  the  Ward :  133.— 1351.  25th 
Edward  III.,  elected  from  the  13  Misteries=54.— 1376.  50th  Edward  III.,  from  47  Misteries=156.— 
1383.  7th  Eichard  II.,  4  persons  from  each  Ward =96.— 1533.  25th  Henry  VIII.,  Cornhill  Ward  to 
return  6  instead  of  4.— 1549.  Edward  VI.,  total,  187 ;  but  there  is  nothing  to  show  how  the  number 
increased,  except  the  2  for  Cornhill. — 1639.  15th  Charles  I.,  5  added  to  Farringdon  Without. — 1641. 
17th  Charles  I.,  1  added  to  Portsoken— 1645.  21st  Charles  I.,  4  added  to  Coleman-street  Ward.— 1654. 
6th  Charles  II.,  Cheap  Ward  to  choose  12  members.— 1656.  8th  Charles  II.,  4  added  to  Tower  Ward= 
234.— 1736.  10th  George  II.,  2  added  to  Farringdon  Within;  total,  236.— 1826.  7th  George  IV.,  4  added 
to  Cripplegate  Without ;  total,  240.— 1840.  8th  May.  The  number  fixed  at  206,  the  present  number. 

From  1660  to  1676,  several  attempts  were  made  by  the  Aldermen  to  limit  the 
choice  of  the  Wardmote  to  citizens  of  the  higher  class ;  but  no  permanent  regulation 
was  the  result.  In  1831,  a  Committee  reported  that  persons  convicted  of  defrauding 
in  weights  or  measures,  or  having  compounded  with  their  creditors,  or  of  having  been 
bankrupt,  without  paying  20*.  in  the  pound,  were  ineligible  as  Common  Councilmen. 

Each  Common  Councilman  wears  a  gown  of   Mazarine-blue   silk,    trimmed   with 
badger's  fur — a  costume,  probably,  of  the  reign  of  Edward  VI.     They  formerly  wore 
black  gowns  ;  the  change  is  thus  alluded  to  in  the  chorus  to  a  political  song  of  1766  : 
"Oh,  London  is  the  town  of  towns !  Oh,  how  improved  a  city ! 
Since  chang'd  her  Common  Council's  gowns  from  black  to  blue  so  pretty !" 

They,  however,  discontinued  wearing  their  gowns  in  Court  in  1775 ;  perhaps  in 
consequence  of  a  Common  Councilman  being  called  "  a  Mazarine."  Nor  has  he  escaped 
the  severer  whipping  of  the  satirist : 


CONDUITS.  287 


"  The  cit — a  Common-Councilman  by  place, 
Ten  thousand  mighty  nothings  in  his  lace. 
By  situation,  as  by  nature,  great, 
With  wise  precision  parcels  out  the  state ; 
Proves  and  disproves,  affirms  and  then  denies, 
Objects  himself,  and  to  himself  replies ; 
Wielding  aloft  the  politician  rod, 
Makes  Pitt  by  turns  a  devil  and  a  god ; 
Maintains,  ev'n  to  the  very  teeth  of  pow'r, 
The  same  thing  right  and  wrong  in  half-au-hour. 
Now  all  is  well,  now  he  suspects  a  plot, 
And  plainly  proves  whatever  is — is  not : 
Fearlully  wise,  he  shakes  his  empty  head, 
And  deals  out  empires  as  he  deals  out  thread : 
His  useless  scales  are  in  a  corner  flung, 
And  Europe's  balance  hangs  upon  his  tongue." — Churchill. 

The  Court  held  their  sittings  in  a  Chamber  on  the  north  side  of  the  Guildhall,  where 
the  Lord  Mayor  presides  in  a  chair  of  state ;  and  visitors  are  admitted  below  the  bar, 
at  which  petitions,  &c,  are  presented  in  due  legislative  form.  The  entire  Court  were 
entertained  by  George  I.  at  a  banquet  at  St.  James's  Palace  in  1727. 

CONDUITS. 

SPRING  water  was  formerly  conveyed  to  public  reservoirs  in  the  City  by  leaden  pipes 
from  various  sources  in  the  suburbs — viz.,  from  Tyburn  in  1236,  from  Highbury 
in  1438,  from  Hackney  in  1535,  from  Hampstead  in  1543,  and  from  Hoxton  in  1546. 
For  these  useful  works  the  citizens  were  indebted  to  the  munificence  of  mayors,  sheriffs, 
and  other  individuals.  Stow  devotes  a  section  of  his  Survey  to  "  ancient  and  present 
rivers,  brooks,  bowers,  pools,  wells,  and  conduits  of  fresh  water,  serving  the  City  :"  he 
also  gives  a  long  list  of  benefactors  to  the  Conduits,  the  principal  of  which  were  in 
Aklgate,  Leadenhall,  Cornhill,  West  Cheape,  Aldermanbury,  Dowgate,  London  Wall, 
Cripplegate,  Paul's-gate,  Old  Fish-street,  Oldbourne,  &c.  In  a  large  Map  and  Draw- 
ing* of  London  and  Westminster,  early  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  the  several 
Conduits  occupy  central  positions  in  the  roadways. 

Bayswatee  was  noted  for  its  Conduit-Heads ;  and  the  association  is  preserved  in 
Conduit-street,  Tyburnia,  the  town  built  between  1839  and  1849,  in  the  rear  of  Hyde 
Park  Gardens. 

Canonbuey. — The  Priory  of  St.  Bartholomew  was  supplied  from  Canonbury ;  for  a 
water-course  is  specified  in  the  grant  made  to  Sir  Richard  Rich,  Knight,  at  the  Sup- 
pression, as  "  the  water  from  the  Conduit-head  of  St.  Bartholomew,  within  the  manor 
of  Canonbury,  as  enjoyed  by  Prior  Bolton  and  his  predecessors." 

Cheapside. — The  Great  Conduit  stood  at  the  east  end  of  Cheapside,  at  its  junction 
with  the  Poultry ;  and,  says  Stow,  "  was  the  first  sweete  water  that  was  conveyed  by 
pipes  of  lead  under  ground  to  this  place  in  the  citie  from  Paddington."  Another  Great 
Conduit  stood  in  West  Cheape,  at  the  west  end  of  Cheapside,  facing  Foster-lane  and 
Old  'Change. 

Conduit-mead. — "  New  Bond-street  was,  in  1760,  an  open  field,  called  Conduit- 
mead,  from  one  of  the  conduits  which  supplied  this  part  of  the  town  with  water;  and 
Conduit-street  received  its  name  for  the  same  reason."  (Pennant).  Carew  Mildmay, 
who  died  between  1780  and  1785,  told  Pennant  that  he  remembered  killing  a  wood- 
cock on  the  site  of  Conduit-street,  when  it  was  open  country. 

Coenhiel. — The  Conduit,  "castellated  in  the  middest"  of  Cornhill,  opposite  the 
south  entrance  to  the  present  Royal  Exchange,  was  called  the  Tun,  from  its  being  like 
a  tun  standing  on  one  end.  It  was  a  prison-house  until  1401,  when  "  it  was  made  a 
cistern  for  sweet  water,  conveyed  by  pipes  of  lead  from  Tiborne,  was  from  thenceforth 
called  the  Conduit  upon  Cornhill."  (Stoio.)  A  well,  which  adjoined,  was  then  planked 
over,  and  a  timber  cage,  pillory,  and  stocks,  set  upon  it;  these  were  removed  in  1546, 
the  well  revived,  and  made  a  pump ;  since  renewed,  with  the  following  inscription : 
"  On  this  spot  a  well  was  first  made,  and  a  House  of  Correction  built  by  Henry  Wallis, 
Mayor  of  London  in  1285.      The  well  was  discovered,  much  enlarged,  and  this  pump 

*  Dimensions,  6  feet  3  inches  by  2  feet  6  inches,  with  References  and  Historical  Notes.  Published 
by  Taperell  and  Innes,  2,  Winchester-building,  Old  Broad-street,  1850. 


288  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

erected  in  1799,  by  the  contributions  of  the  Bank  of  England,  East  India  Company,  and 
the  neighbouring  Fire  Offices,  together  with  the  Bankers  and  Traders  of  the  ward  of 
Cornhill."  Bound  the  head  of  the  pump  are  the  devices  of  the  Fire  Offices.  "  The 
Standard  in  Cornhill"  was  a  sort  of  Conduit,  set  up  in  1582,  by  Peter  Morris,  who,  by 
an  "  artificial  forcer,"  conveyed  Thames  water  in  pipes  of  lead  over  the  steeple  of  St. 
Magnus'  Church,  and  from  thence  to  the  north-west  corner  of  London  Wall,  the  highest 
ground  of  all  the  City,  where  the  waste  of  the  main-pipe  rising  into  the  Standard  at 
every  tide,  ran  by  four  mouths,  and  thus  served  the  inhabitants,  and  cleansed  the  streets 
towards  Bishopsgate,  Aldgate,  London  Bridge,  and  Stocks  Market.  This  Conduit 
appears  only  to  have  run  from  1598  to  1603  :  from  its  site  have  since  been  measured 
distances,  and  hence  *  the  Standard  in  Cornhill"  on  our  old  milestones. 

D Alston  and  Islington  had  their  Conduit-heads ;  and  the  Report  of  a  View  of  them, 
dated  1692,  describes  the  entire  course  of  this  supply  until  it  reaches  the  Conduit  at 
Aldgate.  This  Report  mentions  "  the  White  Conduit,"  fed  by  sundry  springs,  in  a 
field  at  Islington,  and  resorted  to  by  the  Carthusian  friars  of  the  monastery  upon  the 
site  of  which  Sutton  founded  the  Charterhouse,  supplied  also  from  the  above  conduit. 
It  likewise  gave  name  to  White  Conduit  House.  (See  Amusements,  Tea-gardens, 
p.  17.)  The  small  stone  house  built  over  the  well  or  conduit  in  1641  was  taken  down 
in  1832.  It  was,  however,  survived  by  the  Old  Conduit  at  Dalston,  the  remains  of 
which,  in  1849,  served  as  a  tool -house  in  the  nursery -ground  of  Mr.  Smith.  The 
Charter-house  Conduit  was  rebuilt  by  the  executors  of  Thomas  Sutton ;  it  bore  the 
date  1641,  and  upon  it  were  sculptured  the  arms  and  initials  of  Sutton ;  no  vestige 
of  it  now  remains. 

Fleet- street. — Another  famous  Conduit  stood  at  the  south  end  of  Shoe-lane,  Fleet- 
street,  surmounted  with  automaton  figures,  chimes,  &c. 

St.  James's. — A  print  by  Godfrey,  after  a  drawing  by  Hollar  (probably  temp. 
Charles  I.),  shows  a  stone  conduit  in  St.  James's- square,  on  or  near  the  spot  now  occu- 
pied by  Bacon's  equestrian  bronze  statue  of  William  III. :  the  whole  of  Pall  Mall  was 
then  clear  of  houses,  from  the  village  of  Charing  to  St.  James's  Palace.  The  above 
conduit  is  mentioned  by  Francis  Bacon  (Works,  vol.  ii.)  in  connexion  with  one  of  his 
experiments.  In  1720,  a  basin  of  water,  with  a  fountain  and  pleasure-boat,  had  taken 
the  place  of  the  conduit  j  into  this  basin  were  thrown  the  keys  of  Newgate  Prison 
during  the  riots  of  1780. 

Kensington. — On  the  Palace-green  was  formerly  a  four- gabled  Conduit,  built 
temp.  Henry  VIII. ;  and  a  Water  Tower,  erected  by  Sir  John  Vanbrugh,  temp.  Queen 
Anne ;  both  were  very  fine  specimens  of  brickwork,  and  communicating  by  pipes  with  the 
wells  on  the  green,  supplying  the  Palace  with  water,  which  was  raised  in  the  tower  by 
a  horse  and  wheel.  By  forming  the  great  sewer  for  Palace  Gardens  adjoining,  all  the 
wells  on  the  green,  except  one,  were  unexpectedly  drained :  the  Conduit  and  tower 
were  taken  down,  and  the  Palace  has  since  been  supplied  from  Chelsea  Water-works. 

Lamb's  Conduit  was  founded  by  William  Lamb,  sometime  a  Gentleman  of  the 
Chapel  to  Henry  VIII.,  citizen  and  clothworker:  "neere  unto  Holborn,"  says  Stow, 
"  he  founded  a  faire  conduit  and  a  standard,  with  a  cocke  at  Holborn-bridge,  to  con- 
veye  thence  the  waste,"  in  1577. 

The  conduit  is  described  by  Hatton,  in  1718,  as  "near  the  fields  (now  Lamb's  Condnit-streell, 
affording  plenty  of  water,  clear  as  crystal,  which  is  chiefly  used  for  drinking.  It  belongs  to  St.  Sepul- 
chre's parish,  the  fountain-head  being  under  a  stone,  marked  S.  S.  P.,  in  the  vacant  ground  a  little 
south  of  Ormond-street,  whence  the  water  comes  in  a  drain  to  this  conduit;  and  it  runs  thence  in  lead 
pipes  (2000  yards  long)  to  the  conduit  on  Snow-hill,  which  has  the  figure  of  a  Lamb  upon  it,  denoting 
that  its  water  comes  from  Lamb's  Conduit. 

The  sign  of  the  Lamb  public-house,  at  the  north-east  end  of  Lamb's  Conduit-street,  is 
the  effigy  of  a  lamb  cut  in  stone,  believed  to  be  one  of  the  figures  which  stood  upon 
Lamb's  Conduit,  as  a  rebus  on  his  name.  When  the  Foundling  Hospital  was  erected, 
we  learn  from  Hatton  that  the  Conduit  was  taken  down,  and  the  water  conveyed  to 
the  east  side  of  Red  Lion-street,  at  the  end  (now  Lamb's  Conduit-street) ;  an  inscrip- 
tion stating  the  waters  to  be  preserved  "  by  building  an  arch  over  the  same  ;"  and  in 
1851,  Mr.  J.  Wykeham  Archer  discovered,  beneath  a  trap-door  in  the  pavement  of  the 
Lamb-yard,  a  short  flight  of  steps,  a  brick  vault,  and  the  covered  well ;  as  well  as  on 


CON\rENTS.  289 


the  north  wall  of  the  next  yard  southward,  this  inscription  cut  in  wood,  over  a  recess 
now  bricked  up  :  "  Lamb's  Conduit,  the  property  of  the  City  of  London.  This  pump 
is  erected  for  the  benefit  of  the  publick."  The  water  is  perfectly  clear,  and  is  slightly 
astringent ;  and  the  Mansion  House  is  said  still  to  derive  a  supply  from  this  source. 
In  the  garden  of  the  house,  No.  30,  East-street,  Lamb's  Conduit-street,  are  a  pump  and 
spring  ;  and  on  the  opposite  wall  a  stone  stating  this  to  be  "  the  head  of  the  spring 
Lamb's  Conduit  Water." 

Tyburn  furnished  nine  Conduits,  and  with  Bayswater,  was  viewed  periodically  by 
the  Lord  Mayor  on  horseback,  accompanied  by  ladies  in  wagons. 

Strype  notes  that  on  Sept.  18, 1562,  "  the  Lord  Mayor,  Aldermen,  and  many  worshipful  persons,  rode 
to  the  Conduit-heads  to  see  them,  according  to  the  old  custom ;  and  then  they  went  and  hunted  a  hare 
before  dinner,  and  killed  her ;  and  thence  went  to  dinner  at  the  Banqueting  House  at  the  head  of  the 
Conduit,  where  a  great  number  were  handsomely  entertained  by  their  Chamberlain.  After  dinner  they 
■went  to  hunt  the  fox.  There  was  a  great  cry  for  a  mile,  and  at  length  the  hounds  killed  him  at  the  end 
of  St.  Giles's,  with  great  hollowing  and  blowing  of  horns  at  his  death;  and  thence  the  Lord  Mayor,  with 
all  his  company,  rode  through  London  to  his  place  in  Lombard-street."  The  Banqueting  House  was  at 
the  end  of  the  street  now  Stratford-place,  Oxtord-road;  and  when  the  mansion  was  taken  down  in  1737, 
the  cisterns  beneath  were  arched  over. 

The  establishment  of  the  "Waterworks  at  London  Bridge,  in  1512,  and  the  subse- 
quent introduction  of  the  New  River  in  1618,  having  superseded  the  use  of  the  Tyburn 
water,  the  Corporation  let  the  water  of  these  Conduits  on  a  lease  for  forty-three  years, 
for  the  sum  of  700Z.  per  annum. 

Many  of  the  City  Conduits  were  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666 ;  and  others 
were  removed  in  1728,  it  is  stated,  to  compel  the  public  to  have  the  New  River  water 
laid  on  to  their  houses.  Upon  great  festal  occasions,  the  Conduits  flowed  with  wine 
instead  of  water  :  at  the  procession  of  Anne  Boleyn,  June  1,  1533,  the  Great  Cheap 
Conduit  ran  with  white  and  claret  wine  all  the  afternoon.  Probably  the  last  of  these 
prodigal  events  was  in  1727,  on  the  anniversary  of  the  Coronation  of  George  1.,  when 
Lamb's  Conduit  ran  with  wine. 

Westminster  Abbey  has  been,  from  a  very  distant  period,  supplied  with  spring-water 
from  a  Conduit-head  at  Bayswater,  communicatiug  with  a  Gothic  conduit,  erected  by 
the  Dean  and  Chapter  (bearing  their  arms),  at  the  lower  end  of  the  Serpentine  in 
Hyde  Park.  West  of  the  Lodge  at  Hyde  Park -corner,  and  facing  the  Knightsbridge- 
road,  is  a  square  building,  inclosing  a  tank  filled  from  the  above  Conduit-head,  for  the 
supply  of  Buckingham  and  St.  James's  Palaces ;  the  water  is  remarkably  fine,  and  the 
building  bears  on  a  tablet  "  IV.  G.  R.,  1820,"  the  date  of  its  repair.  The  leaden 
pipes  pass  through  the  Green  Park,  and  the  end  of  the  ornamental  water  in  St.  James's 
Park,  at  a  spot  denoted  by  a  stone,  and  through  Queen-square  to  the  Abbey. 

Westminster  Palace  had  its  Conduit.  In  the  Close  Rolls  (Hen.  III.  1244)  the  king 
commands  a  payment  to  be  made  out  of  his  treasury  to  Edward  of  Westminster,  on 
account  of  "  our  conduit ;"  and  by  a  singular  precept  of  the  same  year  is  a  grant  to 
Edward,  that  "  from  the  aqueduct  which  the  king  had  constructed  to  the  Great  Hall 
at  Westminster,  he  might  have  a  pipe  to  his  own  court  at  Westminster,  of  the  size  of 
a  goose-quill."  In  a  memorandum  of  works  executed  (Edw.  II.  1307-1310),  is  the 
following  entry:— 

"  The  Conduit  of  water  coming  into  the  palace,  and  into  the  King's  Mews,  for  the  falcons,  which  in 
various  places  was  obstructed  and  injured,  and  the  underground  pipes  stolen,  was  completely  repaired, 
and  the  water  returned  to  its  proper  courses  and  issues,  both  at  the  palace  and  at  the  mews." 

"  A  beautiful  fountain,  which  fell  in  large  cascades,  and  on  jubilee  days  was  made  to  pour  forth 
streams  of  choice  wine,  stood  rather  towards  the  west,  and  on  the  north  side  of  the  court.  Permission 
to  make  use  of  the  surplus  water  which  flowed  from  this  conduit  was  granted,  on  Feb.  3  (25  Hen.  VI. 1, 
to  the  parish.  Under  the  date  1524,  the  churchwardens  for  the  time  being  note, '  Memm.  the  King's 
charter  for  the  Condett  at  the  Pales'-gate  remayneth  in  the  custody  of  the  churchwardens.'  The  fountain 
was  removed  in  the  reign  of  King  Charles  11." — Walcott's  Westminster.  Lastly,  in  the  very  curious 
Harleian  MS.,  numbered  433  (Rich.  111.  1484),  we  find  mentioned, "  the  lytell  water  conduct." 

CONVENTS. 

RELIGIOUS  Houses  and  Hospitals,  for  ages  before  the  Reformation,  occupied  nearly 
two-thirds  of  the  entire  area  of  London.  Independently  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral 
and  Westminster  Abbey,  the  following  Friaries  and  Abbeys  existed  almost  immediately 
prior  to  the  Reformation  :— 

Friaries :  Black  Friars,  between  Ludgate  and  the  Thames  ;  Grey  FriarS,  near  old  Newgate,  now 
Christ's  Hospital ;  Augustine  Friars,  now  Austin  Friars,  near  Broad-street :  White  Friars,  near  Salis- 

U 


290  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

bury-square ;  Crouched  or  Crossed  Friars,  St.  Olave's,  Hart-street,  near  Tower-hill :  Carthusian  Friars, 
now  the  Charter  House ;  Cistercian  Friars,  or  New  Abbey,  East  Smithfield ;  Brethren  de  Sacco,  or 
Eon  Homines,  Old  Jewry. 

Priories :  St.  John's  of  Jerusalem,  Clerkenwell ;  Holy  Trinity,  or  Christ  Church,  on  the  site  of 
Duke's-place,  and  near  Aldgate ;  St.  Bartholomew  the  Great,  near  Smithfield ;  St.  Mary  Overie's,  South- 
wark;  St.  Saviour's,  Bermondsey. 

A'unneries :  Benedictines,  or  Black  Nuns,  Clerkenwell ;  St.  Helen's,  Bishopsgate-strect ;  St.  Clare's, 
Minories ;  Holy-well,  between  Holy  well-lane  and  Norton-folgate. 

Colleges,  tyc. :  St.  Martin' s-le-Grand ;  St.  Thomas  of  Acres,  Westcheap ;  Whittington's  College  and 
Hospital,  Vintry  Ward;  St.  Michael's  College  and  Chapel,  Crooked-lane;  Jesus  Commons,  Dowgate. 

Hospitals  (having  resident  Brotherhoods) :  St.  Giles's  in  the  Fields,  near  St.  Giles's  Church ;  St. 
James's,  now  St.  James's  Palace :  Our  Lady  of  Bounceval,  near  Charing-cross :  St.  Mary,  Savoy,  Strand ; 
Elsing  Spital,  now  Sion  College;  Corpus  Christi,  in  St.  Lawrence  Pountney;  St.  Passey,  near  Bevis 
Marks;  St.  Mary  Axe;  Trinity,  without  Aldgate ;  St.  Thomas,  Mercers'  Chapel;  St.  Bartholomew  the 
Less,  near  Smithfield:  St.  Giles's,  and  Corpus  Christi,  without  Cripplegate;  St.  Mary  of  Bethlehem,  on 
the  eastern  side  of  Moorfields ;  St.  Mary  Spital,  without  Bishopsgate ;  St.  Thomas,  Southwark ;  Lok 
Spital,  or  Lazar,  Kent-street,  Southwark;  St.  Katherine's,  below  the  Tower. 

Fraternities :  St.  Nicholas,  Bishopsgate-street ;  St.  Fabian  and  St.  Sebastian,  or  the  Holy  Trinity, 
Aldersgate-street ;  St.  Giles,  Whiteeross-street;  the  Holy  Trinity,  Leadenhall;  St.  Ursula-le-Strand ; 
Hermitage,  Nightingale-lane,  East  Smithfield;  Corpus  Christi,  St.  Mary  Spital;  the  same  at  Mary  Beth- 
lehem, and  St.  Mary  Poultry. 

The  majority  of  these  establishments  disappeared  at  the  Reformation ;  but  a  glance 
at  the  Sutherland  View  of  London  in  1543,  and  at  Tapperell  and  Innes's  Map  (early 
in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth),  shows  us  many  of  these  important  buildings  entire,  and 
others  lying  distant  in  the  fields.  Almost  the  only  remains  now  traceable  are  around 
the  Abbey  Church  at  Westminster,  where  some  of  the  monastic  offices  are  tenanted  as 
the  School ;  of  Grey  Friars,  the  cloisters  exist ;  of  the  Augustine  Friars,  the  church ; 
of  the  Carthusian  Friars,  the  wooden  gate  and  a  few  other  relics ;  of  St.  John  of 
Jerusalem,  the  gateway ;  of  St.  Bartholomew  the  Great,  the  church  cloister  and  crypt ; 
of  St.  Mary  Overie's,  the  church-choir  and  lady-chapel ;  and  at  Bermondsey,  the  great 
gate-house  remained  nearly  entire  till  1807 ;  of  St.  Helen's,  Bishopsgate,  the  church 
remains ;  of  St.  Bartholomew's  the  Less,  the  church-tower ;  and  St.  Katherine's 
"  by  the  Tower  "  disappeared  in  1827.  Such  are  the  principal  Monastic  Remains  in 
the  metropolis. 

Since  the  relaxation  of  the  penal  laws,  Roman  Catholic  Convents  have  been  erected 
in  London  and  the  suburbs.  Of  these,  one  of  the  earliest  was  the  Convent  for  the 
Order  of  the  Sisters  of  Mercy,  founded  by  subscription,  at  Dockhead,  Bermondsey, 
in  1838,  and  opened  for  the  Sisterhood  December  12,  1839 ;  when  Sister  Mary,  the 
Lady  Barbara  Eyre,  sister  to  Francis  the  eighth  Earl  of  Newburgh,  took  the  vows, 
with  five  other  ladies  of  fortune,  and  liberal  benefactresses  to  the  chapel  and  convent. 
In  addition  to  the  services  of  their  religion,  the  Sisters  devote  themselves  to  the 
education  of  poor  girls,  the  visitation  and  comfort  of  the  sick  and  afflicted,  and  the 
protection  of  distressed  reputable  females. 

The  reception  of  a  postulant  into  the  Sisterhood,  or  the  "taking  of  the  veil,"  is  an  impressive  cere- 
mony performed  in  the  chapel  of  the  convent,  or  in  the  church  adjoining;  when  the  whole  sisterhood 
walk  in  procession,  dressed  in  the  habit  of  their  order,  each  bearing  a  lighted  taper,  and  followed  by  the 
postulants,  in  white  dresses,  and  head-wreaths  of  white  flowers  and  evergreens.  The  choir  then  chant 
"  Gloriosa  virginum ;"  the  priest  invokes  the  prayers  of  the  Virgin  in  behalf  of  the  postulants,  to  each 
of  whom  he  presents  a  lighted  taper,  "  as  a  corporal  emblem  of  inward  light."  The  superioress  and  her 
assistant  then  conduct  the  postulants  to  the  celebrant,  who  inquires  if  they  enter  the  order  by  their 
own  free  will,  andif  it  be  "their  firm  intention  to  persevere  in  religion  to  the  end  of  their  lives."  These  ques- 
tions being  answered  satisfactorily,  the  postulants  withdraw  with  the  superioress,  put  off  their  secular  dress, 
and  return  wearing  the  sombre  habit  of  the  Order.  The  superioress  then  girds  them  with  the  cincture; 
and  the  celebrant  holds  a  white  veil  over  the  head  of  each,  requesting  her  to  accept  it  as  "  the  emblem 
of  purity."  They  are  subsequently  habited  with  "  the  cloak  ot  the  Church;"  each  of  the  novices  sings  : 
*'  My  heart  hath  uttered  a  good  word;  1  speak  my  words  to  the  King,"&c;  each  novice  embraces  the 
superioress  and  each  member  of  the  sisterhood,  and  they  retire  as  they  entered,  in  procession. 

COENHILL, 

A  PRINCIPAL  street  of  the  City,  extending  from  the  western  end  of  Leadenhall- 
street,  crossing  westward  to  the  Mansion  House.  Tt  was  named  "  of  a  corn- 
market  time  out  of  mind  there  holden."  (Stow.)  Here  was  the  "  Tun"  prison,  built 
in  1283,  upon  the  spot  now  occupied  by  a  pump ;  also  a  castellated  conduit,  and  its 
water  "  Standard"  (1528)  near  the  junction  of  the  street  with  Leadenhall-street. 
Cornhill  has  been  the  site  of  the  Merchants'  Exchange  for  nearly  three  centuries.  On 
the  west  side,  adjoining  the  Bank  of  England,  was  St.  Christopher-le-Stocks  Church, 
•with  a  lofty  pinnacled  tower,  which  escaped  the  Great  Fire  of  1666  :  the  church  was 


CORNHILL.  291 


rebuilt  by  Wren,  but  taken  down  in  1781,  and  its  site  included  within  the  Bank. 
About  the  same  time  were  erected  Bank-buildings,  designed  by  Sir  Robert  Taylor,  wedge- 
like in  plan,  in  place  of  a  block  of  houses  built  after  the  Great  Fire  j  the  former  were 
removed  in  1844 :  the  end  house  extended  to  the  site  of  the  equestrian  statue  of  the  Duke 
of  Wellington.  In  excavating  for  the  new  Royal  Exchange,  in  1841,  was  discovered  a 
gravel-pit,  supposed  by  Mr.  Tite,  the  architect,  to  have  been  sunk  during  the  earliest 
Roman  occupation  of  London ;  and  then  to  have  been  a  pond,  gradually  filled  with  rubbish. 
In  it  were  found  Roman  work,  stuccoed  and  painted ;  fragments  of  elegant  Samian  ware  ; 
an  amphora,  and  terra-cotta  lamps,  17  feet  below  the  surface  :  also  pine-wood  table-books 
and  metal  styles,  sandals  and  soldiers'  shoes,  a  Roman  strigil,  coins  of  Vespasian  and 
Domitian,  &c. ;  and  almost  the  very  foot-marks  of  the  Roman  soldier.  The  locality  is 
now  the  most  embellished  area  of  the  City,  and  the  nucleus  of  new  streets  and  sump- 
tuous architecture. 

Cornhill  was  formerly  noted  for  its  shops  of  "  much  stolen  gear,"  mentioned  by 
Lydgate  early  in  the  fifteenth  century,  as  well  as  for  its  taverns,  where  was  "  wine  one 
pint  for  a  pennie,  and  bread  to  drink  it  was  given  free  in  every  tavern."  Here  was  the 
famous  Pope's-Head  Tavern,  whence  Pope's-Head-alley. 

Finch-lane,  properly  Fiuke-lane,  is  so  called  of  the  Finke  family,  the  elder  of  whom 
new-built  the  parish  church  of  St.  Bennet  (Finke).  In  Finch-lane,  in  the  year  1765, 
James  Watt  obtained  work  with  John  Morgan,  an  instrument-maker.  Here  Watt 
became  proficient  in  making  quadrants,  parallel  rulers,  compasses,  theodolites,  &c,  and 
contrived  to  live  upon  eight  shillings  a  week,  exclusive  of  his  lodging.  Birchin-lane, 
properly  Birchover-lane,  from  its  builder,  was  anciently  tenanted  by  wealthy  drapers. 
Anderson  states  that,  in  the  year  1372,  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  at  least  twenty 
houses  in  Birchin-lane,  in  the  very  heart  of  the  City,  came  under  the  denomination  of 
cottages,  and  were  so  conveyed  to  St.  Thomas's  Hospital,  in  Southwark.  The  shops 
also,  at  this  time,  appear  to  have  been  detached  and  separate  tenements,  or,  at  least, 
unconnected  with  houses,  as  they  are  drawn  to  appear  in  Aggas's  Map  of  London, 
where  you  may  know  the  shops  from  the  dwelling-houses  by  the  signs  attached.  In 
Birchin-lane  lived  Major  Graunt,  said  to  have  written  The  Observations  on  the  Bills  of 
Mortality,  1661-2.  The  houses  in  the  lane  were  in  our  time  small :  twenty  years  ago 
it  contained  23  houses,  now  it  has  but  16 :  what  it  has  lost  in  number  is  made  up 
in  altitude.  The  lease  for  80  years,  from  1862,  of  the  premises  of  the  London  and 
Middlesex  Bank,  No.  21,  Finch-lane,  with  a  frontage  of  18ft.  6in.,  was  sold  by  auction, 
in  1864,  and  realized  10,100^.,  subject  to  a  rental  of  500Z  per  annum. 

On  the  east  side  of  Cornhill  is  Change-alley,  a  maze  of  thoroughfares.  "  With  some- 
thing like  four  or  five  entrances,  two  from  Lombard-street,  two  from  Cornhill,  and  one 
rom  Birchin-lane,  there  is  great  danger  of  losing  your  way  either  to  the  right  or  the 
left :  you  may  possibly  find  that,  instead  of  going  as  you  intended  through  the  Alley, 
and  reaching  Cornhill,  you  have  in  reality  only  taken  another  turning  which  leads  you 
into  Lombard-street,  whence  you  started." — {The  City,  p.  169.)  In  Change-alley 
was  Garraway's  coffee-house,  described  at  page  265. 

No.  15,  Cornhill,  Birch's,  the  cook  and  confectioner's,  is  probably  the  oldest  shop  of  its  class  in  the 
metropolis.  This  business  was  established  in  the  reign  of  King  George  I.,  by  a  Mr.  Horton,  who  was 
succeeded  by  Mr.  Lucas  Birch,  who,  in  his  turn,  was  succeeded  by  his  son,  Mr.  Samuel  Birch,  born  hi 
1757;  he  was  many  years  a  member  of  the  Common  Council,  and  Alderman  of  the  Ward  of  Candlewick. 
He  was  also  Colonel  of  the  City  Militia,  and  served  as  Lord  Mayor  in  1815,  the  year  of  the  battle  of 
Waterloo.  In  his  Mayoralty,  he  laid  the  first  stone  of  the  London  Institution;  and  when  Chantrey's 
marble  statue  of  George  III.  was  inaugurated  in  the  Council  Chamber,  Guildhall,  the  inscription  was 
written  by  Lord  Mayor  Birch.  Ho  possessed  considerable  literary  taste,  and  wrote  poems  and  musical 
dramas,  of  which  The  Adopted  Child  remained  a  stock  piece  to  our  time.  The  Alderman  used  annually 
to  send,  as  a  present,  a  Twelfth-cake  to  the  Mansion  House.  The  upper  portion  of  the  house  in  Cornhill 
has  been  rebuilt,  but  the  ground-floor  remains  intact,  a  curious  specimen  of  the  decorated  shop-front  of 
the  last  century;  and  here  are  preserved  two  door-plates,  inscribed,  "Birch,  Successor  to  Mr.  Horton," 
which  are  140  years  old.  Alderman  Birch  died  in  1840,  having  been  succeeded  in  the  business  in  Corn- 
hill, in  1836,  by  the  present  proprietors,  Eing  and  Brymer.  Dr.  Kitehiner  extols  the  soups  of  Birch,  and 
his  skill  has  long  been  famed  in  civic  banquets. — Chambers's  Book  of  Days,  vol.  ii.  p.  161. 

At  a  corner  house,  between  Cornhill  and  Lombard-street,  Thomas  Guy,  the  wealthy 
stationer,  commenced  business.  (See  Hospitals.)  This  "  lucky  corner "  was  subse- 
quently Bidding's  Lottery-office.  There  were  several  other  lottery-offices  in  Cornhill, 
including  that  of  George  Carroll,  knighted  as  Sheriff  in  1837;  Lord  Mayor  in  1846. 

Don  Thomas  Isturitz  was  one  day  walking  near  the  Royal  Exchange  during  the  drawing  of  tho 
lottery  in  1815,  and  feeling  an  inclination  to  sport  twenty  pounds,  went  into  the  office  of  Martin  &  Co., 

TT  2 


292  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Cornhill,  where,  referring  to  his  pocket-book,  he  counted  the  number  of  days  that  had  elapsed  from  that 
of  his  providential  escape  from  Madrid  (and  the  tender  mercies  prepared  for  him  by  the  beloved  Fer- 
nando), he  found  them  amount  to  261,  and  then  demanded  to  buy  that  ticket;  but  it  was  nearly  half  an 
hour  before  it  could  be  obtained,  and  only  after  a  strict  search  amongst  the  lottery-offices  in  the  city.  At 
length,  a  half  ticket  of  No.  261  was  procured  at  two  o'clock ;  and  at  five  it  was  drawn  a  prize  of  forty 
thousand  pounds,  the  only  one  ever  exhibited  to  that  amount  in  England.  The  lucky  Don  lay  down  that 
night  twenty  thousand  pounds  richer  than  he  had  risen. 

Cornhill  has  been  the  scene  of  two  calamitous  fires — one,  March  25,  1748,  com- 
menced at  a  peruke-maker's,  in  Exchange-alley,  and  burnt,  within  twelve  hours,  from 
90  to  100  houses  (200,000Z.  loss),  including  the  London  Assurance  Office,  the  Fleece 
and  Three  Tuns  Taverns,  and  Tom's  and  the  Rainbow  Coffee-houses,  in  Cornhill ;  the 
Swan  Tavern,  with  Garraway's,  Jonathan's,  and  the  Jerusalem  Coffee-houses,  in  Ex- 
change-alley ;  besides  the  George  and  Vulture  Tavern,  and  other  coffee-houses :  many 
lives  were  lost.  Among  the  houses  burnt  was  that  in  which  was  born  the  poet  Gray, 
whose  father  was  an  Exchange  broker ;  the  house  was  rebuilt,  and  was,  in  1774,  occu- 
pied by  one  Natzell,  a  perfumer ;  and  in  1824  it  was  still  inhabited  by  a  perfumer — 
No.  41,  a  few  doors  from  Birchin-lane. 

The  second  fire  commenced  also  at  a  peruke-maker's,  in  Bishopsgate-street,  adjoining 
Leadenhall-street,  November  7,  1765,  when  all  the  houses  from  Cornhill  to  St.  Martin 
Outwich  Church  were  burnt ;  and  the  church,  parsonage  house,  Merchant  Tailors'  Hall, 
and  several  houses  in  Threadneedle-street  were  much  damaged.  The  White  Lion 
Tavern,  purchased  for  Z0O01.  on  the  preceding  evening,  and  all  the  houses  in  White 
Lion-court,  were  burnt,  together  with  five  houses  in  Cornhill  and  others  in  Leadenhall- 
street,  when  several  lives  were  lost. 

COVUNT  GASDEN, 

LYING  between  the  north  side  of  the  Strand  and  Long-acre,  has  been  a  locality  of 
great  interest  and  celebrity  for  six  centuries  past.  In  1222  most  of  the  present 
parish  of  St.  Paul,  Covent-garden,  was  occupied  by  the  garden  of  the  Abbey  at  West- 
minster; unde  Convent,  corrupted  to  Covent-garden,  which  name  occurs  in  a  deed 
of  2  August,  9  Elizabeth.  Strype  also  tells  us  that  it  "  hath  probably  the  name  of 
Covent-garden  because  it  was  the  garden  and  fields  to  that  large  convent  or  monastery 
where  Exeter  House  formerly  stood."  Although  this  is  the  true  orthography  of  the 
word,  we  see  it  commonly,  if  not  invariably,  written  Covent,  as  being  taken  from  the 
French  convent,  more  immediately  than  from  the  Latin  conventus;  and  in  1632  we 
find  Sir  Syniond  d'Ewes  writing  it  "  Coven  or  Common  Garden."  In  1627,  only  two 
persons  were  rated  to  the  poor  of  the  parish  of  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields,  under  the 
head  Covent-garden.  The  parish  of  St.  Paul,  Covent-garden,  is  completely  encircled 
by  that  of  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields  ;  but  the  boundary  of  each,  upon  the  site  of 
Bedford  House  and  grounds,  towards  the  lower  end  of  Southampton -street,  has  been 
contested  since  the  eighteenth  century.  Although  the  Market  dates  from  the  reign 
of  Charles  II.,  in  1726  and  later,  it  was  called  Convent-garden ;  and  by  the  vulgar 
"  Common-garden"  (Sir  John  Fielding,  1776).  In  digging  for  the  foundations  of  the 
new  market,  in  1829,  a  quantity  of  human  bodies  was  exhumed  on  the  north  side  of 
the  area,  supposed  to  have  been  the  Convent  burial-ground.  After  the  Dissolution,  this 
garden,  and  the  lands  belonging  to  it,  were  granted  by  Edward  VI.  to  his  uncle,  the 
Duke  of  Somerset,  upon  whose  attainder  they  reverted  to  the  Crown.  In  1552,  they 
were  granted  by  patent,  with  seven  acres,  called  Long-acre,  of  the  yearly  value  of 
61.  6s.  8d.,  to  John  Earl  of  Bedford,  who  built  a  town  residence,  principally  of  wood, 
upon  the  site  of  Southampton-street,  where  it  remained  till  1704 ;  the  garden  extending 
northward  nearly  to  the  site  of  the  present  market.  Southampton-street  was  then 
built,  and  named  after  Lady  William  llussell,  daughter  of  the  Earl  of  Southampton ; 
and  other  streets  were  named  from  the  Russell  family — as  Russell,  Bedford,  Tavistock, 
Chandos ;  King  and  Henrietta  streets,  from  Charles  I.  and  his  queen  ;  and  James  and 
York  streets,  from  the  Duke  of  York,  afterwards  James  II. 

In  1634,  Francis  Earl  of  Bedford  cleared  the  area;  in  1640,  Inigo  Jones  built  for 
his  lordship  the  church  of  St.  Paul,  on  the  west  side  (see  Chtjkcues,  p.  195) ;  and 
lines  of  lofty  houses  upon  arcades  on  the  north  and  east  sides,  a  near  imitation  of  the 
piazza  at  Livorno ;  Tavistock-row  being  built,  in  1704,  upon  the  south.     The  area  was 


COVENT  GARDEN.  293 


inclosed  with  railings,  at  60  feet  from  the  buildings ;  and  in  the  centre  was  a  dial, 
with  a  gilt  ball,  raised  upon  a  column.  One  of  Hollar's  prints,  temp.  Charles  II., 
shows  the  place  as  above,  with  uniform  houses,  one  on  each  side  of  the  church.  In 
1671,  the  E<irl  of  Bedford  obtained  a  patent  for  the  Market,  which,  however,  was  for 
a  long  time  only  held  on  the  south  side,  against  the  garden-wall  of  Bedford  House ;  for 
we  read  of  "  bonefires"  and  fire-works  in  the  square  in  1690  and  1691. 

From  its  contiguity  to  the  Cockpit  and  Drury-lane  theatre,  Covent-garden,  "  amo- 
rous and  herbivorous,"  became  surrounded  with  taverns.  Here,  in  1711,  stood 
"  Punch's  Theatre,"  which  thinned  the  congregation  in  the  church ;  quacks  used  here 
to  harangue  the  mob,  and  give  advice  gratis.  These  adventitious  notorieties  did  not 
improve  the  morals  of  the  locality — 

■  Where  holy  friars  told  their  beads, 

And  nuns  confess'd  their  evil  deeds : 

But,  oh,  sad  change !  oh,  shame  to  tell 

How  soon  a  prey  to  vice  it  fell ! 

How? — since  its  justest  appellation 

Is  Grand  Seraglio  to  the  nation." — Satire,  1756. 
"  The  convent  becomes  a  playhouse ;  monks  and  nuns  turn  actors  and  actresses.  The  garden,  formal 
and  quiet,  where  a  salad  was  cut  for  a  lady  abbess,  and  flowers  were  gathered  to  adorn  images,  becomes 
a  market,  noisy  and  full  of  life,  distributing  thousands  of  fruits  and  flowers  to  a  vicious  metropolis." — 
W.  8.  Landor. 

Covent-garden  was  the  first  square  inhabited  by  the  great ;  for  immediately  upon 
the  completion  of  the  houses  on  the  north  and  east  sides,  after  Inigo  Jones's  design, 
they  were  every  one  of  them  inhabited  by  persons  of  the  first  title  and  rank,  as  appears 
by  the  parish-books  of  the  rates  at  that  time.  Part  of  the  east  side  was  destroyed  by 
fire,  but  not  rebuilt  in  corresponding  manner. 

The  chambers  occupied  by  Richard  Wilson,  now  the  Tavistock  breakfast-rooms,  were 
portions  of  the  house  successively  inhabited  by  Sir  Peter  Lely,  Sir  Godfrey  Kneller, 
and  Sir  James  Thornhill.  Covent-garden,  even  so  late  as  Pope's  time,  retained  its 
fashion,  as  may  be  seen  in  the  Morning  Advertiser,  March  6th,  1730 : — "  The  Lady 
Wortley  Montague,  who  has  been  greatly  indisposed  at  her  house  in  Covent-garden  for 
some  time,  is  now  perfectly  recovered,  and  takes  the  benefit  of  the  air  in  Hyde  Park 
every  morning,  by  advice  of  her  physicians."  The  parish  of  St.  Paul  was  at  that  time 
the  only  fashionable  part  of  the  town,  and  the  residence  of  a  great  number  of  persons 
of  rank  and  title,  and  artists  of  the  first  eminence.  A  concourse  of  wits,  literary 
characters,  and  other  men  of  genius,  frequented  the  numerous  coffee-houses,  wine 
and  cider-cellars,  jelly-shops,  &c,  within  the  boundaries  of  Covent-garden;  the  list  of  whom 
particularly  includes  the  names  of  Butler,  Addison,  Sir  Richard  Steele,  Otway,  Dryden, 
Pope,  Warburton,  Cibber,  Fielding,  Churchill,  Bolingbroke,  and  Dr.  Samuel  Johnson ; 
Rich,  Woodward,  Booth,  Wilkes,  Garrick,  and  Macklin ;  Kitty  Clive,  Peg  Woffington, 
Mrs.  Pritchard,  the  Duchess  of  Bolton,  Lady  Derby,  Lady  Thurlow,  and  the  Duchess 
of  St.  Albans ;  Sir  Peter  Lely,  Sir  Godfrey  Kneller,  and  Sir  James  Thornhill  ;  Vande- 
velde,  Zincke,  Lambert,  Hogarth,  Hayman,  Wilson,  Dance,  Meyer,  and  Samuel  Foote. 

The  Garden  became  «w-famous  when  its  opulent  inhabitants  exchanged  their  resi- 
dences for  the  newly-built  mansions  in  Hanover,  Grosvenor,  and  Cavendish  squares, 
and  Holies  and  the  other  streets  adjacent.  It  was  at  that  period  that  Mother  Needham, 
Mother  Douglas  (alias,  according  to  Foote's  Minor,  Mother  Cole),  and  Moll  King,  the 
tavern-keepers  and  gamblers,  took  possession  of  the  abdicated  premises.  Beneath  St. 
Paul's  portico  was  "  Tom  King's  Coffee-house."  Upon  the  south  side  of  the  market- 
sheds  was  the  noted  "  Finish,"  originally  the  Queen's  Head,  kept  by  Mrs.  Butler,  open 
all  night — the  last  of  the  Garden  night  taverns,  and  only  cleared  away  in  1829.  Shuter 
was  pot-boy  here  and  elsewhere  in  the  Garden,  and,  from  carrying  beer  to  the  players 
behind  the  scenes,  joined  them  as  an  actor. 

The  north  and  east  sides  are  principally  occupied  as  hotels  and  taverns.  At  the  Old 
Hummums  (in  Arabic,  "  hammam"),  when  a  bagnio,  died  Parson  Ford,  who  conspicu- 
ously figures  in  Hogarth's  Midnight  Modern  Conversation.  There  is  a  capital  ghost- 
story  connected  with  his  exit,  told  in  Croker's  edition  of  Boswell's  Life  of  Dr.  Johnson. 
(See  Bedford  Coffee-house,  p.  261.)         * 

The  scene  of  Dryden's  Sir  Martin  Mar-all  is  laid  in  this  once  fashionable  quarter  of 
the  town;  and  the  allusions  to  the  square,  the  church,  and  the  piazza  are  of  constant 


294  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

occurrence  in  the  dramas  of  the  age  of  Charles  II.  and  Queen  Anne.      Gay,  in  his- 
Trivia,  gives  this  picture  of  the  place  : — 

"  Where  Covent-garden's  famous  temple  stands, 

That  boasts  the  work  of  Jones'  immortal  hands, 

Columns  with  plain  magnificence  appear, 

And  graceful  porches  lead  along  the  square. 

Here  oft  my  course  I  bend,  when  lo !  from  far 

I  spy  the  furies  of  the  foot-ball  war  : 

The  'prentice  quits  his  shop  to  join  the  crew—  » 

Increasing  crowds  the  flying  game  pursue. 

Oh  !  whither  shall  I  run?  the  throng  draws  nigh; 

The  ball  now  skims  the  street,  now  soars  on  high ; 

The  dexterous  glazier  strong  returns  the  bound, 

And  jingling  sashes  on  the  penthouse  sound." 
The  Piazza  was  very  fashionable  when  first  erected,  and  much  admired.     However, 
a  century  ago,  it  must  have  been  "  a  sad  place."     Shenstone  writes  in  1774 : — 

"  London  is  really  dangerous  at  this  time ;  the  pickpockets,  formerly  content  with  mere  filching, 
make  no  scruple  to  knock  people  down  with  bludgeons  in  Fleet-street,  in  the  Strand,  and  that  at  no 
later  hour  than  eight  o'clock  at  night ;  but  in  the  Piazzas,  Covent-garden,  they  come  in  large  bodies, 
armed  with  couteaus,  and  attack  whole  parties,  so  that  the  danger  of  coming  out  of  the  playhouse  is  of 
some  weight  in  the  opposite  scale,  when  I  am  disposed  to  go  to  them  oftener  than  I  ought." 

Otway  has  laid  a  scene  in  the  Soldier's  Fortune  in  Covent-garden  Piazza;  and  Wycher- 
ley,  a  scene  in  the  Country  Wife.  Thomas  Killigrew,  the  wit,  lived  in  the  north-west 
and  north-east  angles;  in  the  latter  (corner  of  James-street),  in  1.676,  dwelt  "Viscountess 
Muskerry,  the  celebrated  Princess  of  Babylon  of  De  Grammont's  Memoirs.  The 
famous  George  Robins,  of  the  Piazza,  for  fifty  years,  by  his  hammer,  dispersed  more 
property  than  any  other  man  of  his  time.  Lord  Byron  used  to  say  his  order  could  not 
go  on  long  without  George  Eobins  to  set  their  affairs  right :  he  was  beloved  in 
literary  and  theatrical  circles.  His  auction-rooms  were  formerly  the  studio  of  Zoffany, 
who  painted  here  Foote,  in  the  character  of  Major  Sturgeon.  Hogarth's  Marriage-a- 
la-Mode  pictures  were  exhibited  here  gratis.  One  of  the  earliest  records  of  artistic 
Covent-garden,  is  that  of  Charles  I.  establishing  at  the  house  of  Sir  Francis  Kynaston, 
in  "the  Garden,"  an  academy  called  "Museum  Minervse,"  for  the  instruction  of 
gentlemen  in  arts  and  sciences,  knowledge  of  medals,  antiquities,  painting,  architecture, 
and  foreign  languages.  Mr.  Cunningham's  Handbook  is  pleasantly  anecdotic  of  the 
residence  of  many  eminent  persons  resident  in  this  locality.  Till  the  present  century, 
the  neighbouring  streets  were  a  fashionable  quarter ;  and  Tavistock  and  Henrietta 
streets,  famed  for  perruquiers,  were  crowded  with  carriages  at  shopping  hours. 

In  Russell-street,  eastward,  were  Wile's,  Button's,  and  Tom's  Coffee-houses. 
(See  pp.  272,  262,  27l).  In  James-street,  northward,  was  formerly  held  a  Bird-market 
on  Sunday  mornings.  In  the  house  which  occupied  the  site  of  Evans's  Hotel,  at  the 
south-west  corner  of  the  Piazza,  lived  Sir  Harry  Vane,  the  younger ;  and  next  Sir 
Kenelm  Digby,  of  "  Sympathetic  Powder"  fame.     Aubrey  says : — 

"  Since  the  Eestoration  of  Charles  II.,  he  (Sir  Kenelm  Digby)  lived  in  the  last  faire  house  westward 
in  the  north  portico  of  Covent-garden,  where  my  Lord  Lenzil  Holies  lived  since.  He  had  a  laboratory 
there.    I  think  he  dyed  in  this  house." 

In  the  same  house,  from  1681  to  1689,  lived  Lord  Crewe,  Bishop  of  Durham ;  and 
it  appears  from  the  books  of  St.  Paul's,  Covent-garden,  that  almost  all  the  foundlings 
of  the  parish  were  laid  at  the  door  of  the  bishop's  house.  The  exterior  was  much 
altered  for  Russell,  Earl  of  Orford,  the  English  Admiral,  who,  in  1692,  defeated  the 
French  off  Cape  la  Hogue;  and  people  are  found  who  see  a  fancied  resemblance 
in  the  front  of  the  house  to  the  hull  of  a  ship.  Lord  Orford's  house  was  subsequently 
occupied  by  Thomas  Lord  Archer;  and  by  James  West,  the  great  collector  of  books, 
prints,  drawings,  &c,  the  sale  of  whose  collection  in  this  house  occupied  the  auctioneer 
six  weeks.  After  this  sale,  in  the  house  was  established  the  first  family  hotel  in 
London,  by  David  Low.  About  1790,  Mrs.  Hudson,  the  proprietor,  advertised  her 
house,  "with  stabling,  for  one  hundred  noblemen  and  horses."  In  the  garden  was 
formerly  a  small  cottage,  in  which  the  Kembles,  when  in  the  zenith  of  their  fame  at 
Covent  Garden  Theatre,  occasionally  took  up  their  abode ;  and  here  was  born  the 
gifted  Fanny  Kemble,  in  the  chamber  whij:h  now  forms  the  gallery  to  the  Music-room  of 
Evans's  Hotel.  Evans  was  succeeded  by  Mr.  John  Green,  for  whom  was  built  the 
magnificent  room,  designed  by  Finch  Hall,  and  opened  in  1855.  Here  is  a  very  inte- 
resting collection  of  portraits  of  eminent  dramatists,  actors,  and  actresses. 


COVENT  GARDEN.  295 


In  King-street  lived  the  lady  for  whom  mahogany  was  first  used  in  England;  and  a 
few  of  the  houses  in  the  street  have  doors  of  solid  mahogany. 

Next  door,  westward  of  the  original  Garrick  Club-house,  in  King-street,  lived  Arne, 
the  upholsterer ;  his  son,  Dr.  Arne,  the  composer,  and  his  daughter,  Mrs.  Cibber,  were 
born  in  this  house  ;  where  had  lodged  the  Indian  Kings,  commemorated  in  the  Tatler 
and  Spectator.  The  house  has  long  been  tenanted  by  Mr.  William  Cribb,  who  was 
the  first  to  appreciate  the  genius  of  Mr.  Thomas  Sydney  Cooper,  R.A. 

It  was  in  Rose-street  (Dec.  18th,  1679)  that  Dryden,  returning  to  his  house  in 
Long-acre,  over  against  Rose-street,  was  barbarously  assaulted  and  wounded  by  three 
persons,  hired  by  Wilmot,  Earl  of  Rochester.  There  are  many  allusions  to  this  Rose- 
alley  Ambuscade,  as  it  is  called,  in  our  old  State  Poems.  Butler,  the  author  of 
Hudibras,  lived,  in  the  latter  part  of  his  life,  in  Rose-street,  "  in  a  studious  and 
retired  manner,"  and  died  there  in  1680  :  the  house  was  taken  down  in  1863.  Butler  is 
said  to  have  been  buried  at  the  expense  of  Mr.  William  Longueville,  "  though  he  did 
not  die  in  debt."  Some  of  his  friends  wished  to  have  interred  him  in  Westminster 
Abbey  with  proper  solemnity ;  but  not  finding  others  willing  to  contribute  to  the 
expense,  bis  corpse  was  deposited  privately,  "  in  the  churchyard  of  St.  Paul's,  Covent- 
garden."  In  1786  a  marble  monument  was  placed  on  the  inside  south  wall  of  the 
church,  with   this  inscription  : 

"  This  little  monumcrt  was  erected  in  the  year  1786,  by  some  of  the  parisliioners  of  Covent-gardeo, 
in  memory  of  the  celebrated  Samuel  Butler,  who  was  buried  in  this  church,  a.d.  1680. 

"  A  few  plain  men,  to  pomp  and  state  unknown, 
O'er  a  poor  bard  have  raised  this  humble  stone; 
Whose  wants  alone  his  genius  could  surpass — 
Victim  of  zeal !  the  matchless  Hudibras  ! 
What  though  fair  freedom  suffer'd  in  his  page, 
Reader,  forgive  the  author  for  the  age ! 
How  few,  alas !  disdain  to  cringe  and  cant, 
When  'tis  the  mode  to  play  the  sycophant. 
But,  oh !  let  all  be  taught  from  Butler's  fate, 
Who  hope  to  make  their  fortunes  by  the  great, 
That  wit  and  pride  are  always  dangerous  things, 
And  little  faith  is  due  to  courts  and  kings." 

In  1721,  Alderman  Bai-ber  erected  to  Butler  a  monument  in  Westminster  Abbey, 
upon  its  epitaph  Samuel  Wesley  wrote  these  stinging  lines : — ■ 

"While  Butler,  needy  wretch,  was  still  alive, 
No  generous  patron  would  a  dinner  give ; 
See  him,  when  starved  to  death,  and  turned  to  dust, 
Presented  with  a  monumental  bust. 
The  poet's  fate  is  here  in  emblem  shown  : 
He  ask'd  for  bread,  and  he  received  a  stone." 

It  was  soon  after  this  proposed  to  erect  a  monument  in  Covent-garden  Church,  for 
which  Dennis,  the  critic,  wrote  an  inscription,  with  these  lines : 

"  He  was  a  whole  species  of  poet  in  one : 

Admirable  in  a  manner 
In  which  no  one  else  has  been  tolerable : 
A  manner  which  began  and  ended  in  him, 

In  which  he  knew  no  guide, 

And  has  found  no  followers." 

In  TavistocJc-row,  No.  4,  lived  Miss  Reay,  the  mistress  of  Lord  Sandwich :  she  was 
shot  in  the  Piazza,  in  1779,  by  the  Rev.  W.  Hackman,  in  a  fit  of  jealousy : 

"  A  Sandwich  favourite  was  his  fair, 

And  her  he  dearly  loved; 
By  whom  six  children  had,  we  hear; 

This  story  fatal  proved. 
A  clergyman,  O  wicked  one ! 

In  Covent-garden  shot  her; 
No  time  to  cry  upon  her  God, 

It's  hoped  He's  not  forgot  her." — Qrub-ttreet  Ballad. 

In  Southampton-street  is  a  bar-gate ;  the  Duke  of  Bedford  having  power  to  erect 
walls  and  gates  at  the  end  of  every  thoroughfare  on  his  estate.  Here,  in  1711, 
Bohea-tea  was  sold  at  26*.  per  pound,  at  the  sign  of  the  Barber's  Pole.  At  No.  27 
lived  David  Garrick,  before  he  removed  to  the  Adelphi.  No.  31,  late  Godfrey  and 
Cooke's,  was  the  oldest  chemist's  and  druggist's  shop  in  London ;  but  was  removed  from 
here  in  1863.     Here  phosphorus  was  first  manufactured  in  England ;  the  above 


296  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

premises  having  been  the  house,  shop,  and  laboratory  of  Ambrose  Godfrey  Hanckwitz, 
who,  immediately  after  the  discovery  of  phosphorus  by  Brandt,  the  alchemist,  under 
the  instructions  of  the  celebrated  Robert  Boyle,  succeeded  in  preparing  an  ounce  of 
solid  phosphorus;  such  as  he  subsequently  sold  at  50*.  and  60*.  au  ounce.  His 
laboratory  was  a  fashionable  resort  in  the  afternoon  on  certain  occasions,  when  he 
performed  popular  experiments  for  the  amusement  of  his  friends.  It  opened  into  a 
garden,  which  extended  as  far  ast  he  Strand.  Curious  prints  exist  of  the  laboratory 
in  its  former  state ;  also  a  portrait  of  Hanckwitz,  engraved  by  Vertue  (1718),  which 
he  had  distributed  among  his  customers  as  a  keepsake.  Hanckwitz  died  in  1741. 
His  successors,  Godfrey  and  Cooke,  maintained  the  date  1680  on  their  premises  in 
Southampton-street,  and  over  the  entrance  to  the  laboratory,  in  the  rear. 

In  Maiden-lane,  Andrew  Marvell  lodged  in  a  second-floor  while  he  sat  in  Parliament 
for  Hull,  and  refused  a  Treasury  order  for  1000/.,  brought  to  him  by  Lord  Danby 
from  the  king.  Voltaire  lodged  at  the  White  Peruke.  More  in  character  with  the 
place  was  the  Cyder  Cellar,  opened  about  1730,  and  described  in  Adventures  Under- 
ground, 1750;  and  by  Charles  Lamb  in  the  London  Magazine.  In  the  house, 
No.  26,  nearly  opposite,  lived  William  Turner,  who  dressed  wigs,  shaved  beards,  and, 
in  the  days  of  queues,  topknots,  and  hair-powder,  waited  on  the  gentlemen  of  the 
Garden  at  their  own  houses.  A  door  under  the  arched  passage  on  the  right  led  to  the 
shop,  in  the  room  above  which  was  born,  in  1775,  his  son,  Joseph  Mallord  William  Turner, 
landscape-painter.  The  great  painter's  natal  house  has  been  taken  down :  here,  and  in 
the  above  house,  Turner  painted  59  pictures,  which  he  exhibited  at  the  Royal  Academy. 

At  the  house  at  the  south-east  corner  of  Bedford-street,  Clay  sold  his  papier-mache. 
Clay  was  a  pupil  of  Baskerville,  of  Birmingham,  and  first  applied  papier-mache  to  tea- 
trays  in  1760,  by  which  he  realized  a  fortune  of  80,000/.  Some  of  the  finest  of  his 
trays  were  painted  by  early  members  of  the  Royal  Academy,  among  whom  was 
Wheatley.  "  At  the  Riding-hood  Shop,  the  corner  of  Chandos  and  Bedford-street," 
Humphry  Wanley,  the  antiquary,  was  lodging  in  1718. 

CRANE-  CO  URT. 

OF  the  four-and-thirty  streets,  lanes,  courts,  and  alleys  leading  from  Fleet-street,  the 
most  notable  is  Crane-court,  eastward  of  Fetter-lane ;  though  this  court  does  not 
lead  anywhere,  it  being  a  cul-de-sac.  It  was  originally  named  Two  Crane-court.  It 
was  rebuilt  immediately  after  the  Great  Fire,  and  contains  a  few  specimens  of  fine 
brickwork.  Strype  describes  Crane-court  as  "  a  very  handsome  open  place,  graced  with 
good  buildings,  well  inhabited  by  persons  of  repute."  Until  about  1782  it  was  paved  with 
black  and  white  marble.  The  large  end  house  was  built  by  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  and 
was  inhabited  by  Dr.  Edward  Brown,  an  eminent  physician,  until  1710,  when  it  was 
purchased,  with  the  "  atljoyning  little  house,"  by  the  Royal  Society ;  the  President, 
Sir  Isaac  Newton,  recommending  it  as  being  "  in  the  middle  of  the  town,  and  out  of 
noise."  On  the  meeting-nights,  a  lamp  was  hung  out  over  the  entrance  to  the  court 
from  Fleet-street.  The  Society  met  here  until  1782,  when  they  removed  to  Somerset 
House,  and  sold  that  in  Crane-court  to  the  Scottish  Hospital  and  Corporation,  who  now 
occupy  it.  This  Company  originated  in  "  the  Scottish  Box,"  in  1613 :  the  members 
then  numbered  only  20,  and  met  in  Lamb's  Conduit-street ;  their  Charter  dates  from 
1665.  The  Hospital  now  distributes  about  2200/.  a  year,  chiefly  in  101.  pensions  to 
old  people ;  and  the  princely  bequest  of  76.495Z.,  by  Mr.  W.  Kinloch,  allow  s  1800Z. 
being  given  in  pensions  of  41.  to  disabled  soldiers  and  sailors.  The  monthly  meetings 
of  the  Society  are  preceded  by  Divine  service  in  the  chapel,  in  the  rear  of  the  house. 
The  meeting-room  has  an  enriched  ceiling  of  finely-carved  oak.  The  walls  are  hung 
with  portraits  of  the  Duke  of  Lauderdale,  by  Lely;  Mary  Queen  of  Scots,  by 
Zucchero;  the  Earl  of  Bedford;  the  Duke  of  Queensberry;  the  second  Duke  of 
Sutherland;  James,  third  Duke  of  Montrose;  the  Scottish  Regalia;  and  a  large 
whole-length  portrait  of  William  IV.,  painted  by  Wilkie,  and  presented  by  him  to  the 
Scottish  Hospital,  &c. 

Crane-court  had  a  few  other  notabilities.  In  the  first  house  on  the  right  (now 
rebuilt)  lived  Dryden  Leach,  the  printer,  who,  in  1763,  was  arrested  on  a  general 
warrant,  upon  suspicion  of  having  printed  Wilkes's  North  Briton,  No.  45  :  Leach  was 


CROSBY  HALL.  297 


taken  out  of  his  bed  in  the  night,  his  papers  were  seized,  and  even  his  journeymen  and 
servants  were  apprehended ;  the  only  foundation  for  the  arrest  being  a  hearsay  that 
Wilkes  had  been  seen  going  into  Leach's  house.  Wilkes  had  been  sent  to  the  Tower 
for  the  No.  45 ;  after  much  litigation  he  obtained  a  verdict  of  4000Z.,  and  Leach 
300Z.  damages  from  three  of  the  king's  messengers,  who  had  executed  the  illegal 
warrant.  Crane-court  has  long  been  a  sort  of  nursery  for  newspapers  :  here  was  the 
office  of  the  Commercial  Chronicle ;  the  Traveller  removed  to  No.  9  from  Fleet-street, 
and  remained  here  until  its  junction  with  the  Globe.  In  the  basement  of  another  house 
were  printed  the  early  numbers  of  Punch ;  or,  the  London  Charivari ;  and  in  No.  10 
(Palmer  and  Clayton's),  immediately  opposite,  was  first  printed  the  Illustrated  London 
News,  projected  and  established  by  Herbert  Ingram,  in  the  spring  of  1842.  The  Society 
of  Arts  first  met  in  apartments  over  a  circulating  library  in  Crane-court ;  and  here  the 
Society  awarded  its  first  prize  (15Z.)  to  Cosway,  then  a  boy  of  fifteen,  and  afterwards 
a  fashionable  miniature-painter.  The  circulating  library  in  the  court  was  one  of  the 
earliest  established  in  the  metropolis ;  the  first  was  Batho's,  about  1740,  at  No.  132, 
Strand ;  in  1770  there  were  but  four. 

CROSBY  HALL, 

IN  Bishopsgate-street,  and  north  of  the  entrance  into  Crosby-square,  is  a  portion  of 
Crosby  Place,  built  upon  ground  leased  of  the  Prioress  of  St.  Helen's  in  1466,  by- 
Sir  John  Crosby,  alderman,  one  of  the  sheriffs  in  1471,  knighted  by  Edward  IV.  in  the 
same  year,  and  deceased  in  1475 :  "  so  short  a  time  enjoyed  he  that  his  large  and 
sumptuous  building ;  he  was  buried  in  St.  Helen's,  the  parish  church ;  a  fair  monu- 
ment to  him  and  his  lady  was  raised  there." — (Stow.) 

The  next  possessor  of  Crosby  Place  was  Richard  Duke  of  Gloucester,  afterwards 
King  Richard  III.;  and  here  Shakspeare  has  laid  a  portion  of  his  drama  of  that  name; 
though  "the  historian  is  compelled  to  say,  that  neither  at  the  death  of  Henry  VI.  in 
1471,  nor  at  the  marriage  of  Richard  with  the  Lady  Anne  in  1473,  is  it  probable 
that  Richard  was  in  possession  of  Crosby  Place ;"  but  here  he  determined  upon  the 
deposition,  and  perhaps  the  death,  of  the  young  King  Edward  V.,  and  here  plotted  his 
own  elevation  to  the  vacant  throne. 

The  Eev.  Joseph  Hunter,  in  his  New  Illustrations  of  Shakspeare,  says : — "  In  the  course  of  my 
researches  only  one  document  has  presented  itself  which  is  entirely  unknown,  containing  a  notice  of 
Shakspeare  during  the  course  of  his  London  life.  It  shows  us,  what  has  hitherto  remained  undis- 
covered, in  what  part  of  London  he  had  fixed  his  residence  at  the  period  of  his  life  when  he  was  pro- 
ducing the  choicest  of  his  works.  We  have  evidence  of  the  most  decisive  nature,  that  on  October  1, 
in  the  fortieth  year  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  which  answers  to  the  year  1598,  Shakspeare  was  one  of  the 
inhabitants  of  St.  Helen,  Bishopsgate,  and  consequently  a  near  neighbour  of  Crosby  Hall.  In  an  assess- 
ment-roll of  that  date,  for  levying  the  first  of  three  entire  subsidies  which  were  granted  to  the  Queen 
in  the  thirty-ninth  year  of  her  reign,  the  name  of  William  Shakspeare  occurs  in  connexion  with  that 
of  Sir  John  Spencer,  and  other  inhabitants  of  the  parish  of  St.  Helen's,  with  the  sum  51. 13*.  4rf.,  the 
assessment,  against  the  poet's  name.  This  document  gives  us  the  names  of  his  neighbours ;  among 
whom  we  find  Sir  John  Spencer;  Dr.  Richard  Taylor,  Dr.  Peter  Turner,  Dr.  Edward  Jordan,  all  well- 
known  physicians ;  Dr.  Cullimorc,  Robert  Honeywood,  and  the  heads  of  the  wealthy  families  of  Read 
and  Robinson." 

Crosby  Place  was  next  purchased  by  Sir  Bartholomew  Read,  who  kept  here  his 
mayoralty,  1501.  Its  next  possessor  was  Sir  John  Best,  Mayor  in  1516  (the  year  of 
Evil  May -day),  and  by  him  it  was  sold  to  Sir  Thomas  More,  in  what  year  is  uncertain ; 
but  it  was  probably  soon  after  his  return  from  his  mission  to  Bruges,  in  1514  and 
1515;  and  as  this  journey  forms  the  groundwork  of  the  Utopia,  there  is  reason  to 
infer  this  charming  romance  to  have  been  written  at  Crosby  Place,  to  which  the 
picture  in  the  preface  of  Sir  Thomas's  domestic  habits  may  apply.  There  is  little  or 
no  doubt  that  More  wrote  his  History  of  Richard  the  Third  at  Crosby  Place,  however 
it  may  be  with  the  Utopia.  Here,  too,  More  probably  received  Henry  VIII. ;  for 
this  was  just  the  time  he  was  in  high  favour  with  the  king,  who  then  kept  his  court  at 
Castle  Baynard's,  and  St.  Bride's.  In  1523  More  sold  Crosby  Place  to  his  dearest 
friend  Antonio  Bonvisi,  a  rich  merchant  of  Lucca,  who  leased  the  mansion  to  William 
Rastell,  More's  nephew;  and  to  William  Roper,  the  husband  of  More's  favourite 
daughter  Margaret.  In  the  reign  of  Edward  VI.,  Bonvisi,  Rastell,  and  Roper  were 
driven  abroad  by  religious  persecution,  and  Crosby  Place  was  forfeited,  but  restored  on 
the  accession  of  Mary.     The  next  proprietors  were  Jermyn  Cioll,  who  married  a  cousin 


298  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  Sir  Thomas  Gresham  ;  and  Alderman  Bond,  who  added  to  the  edifice  a  lofty  turret, 
though  no  traces  of  it  are  now  to  be  found. 

In  1594,  Sir  John  Spencer  purchased  Crosby  Place,  and  in  it  kept  his  mayoralty  that 
year.  He  greatly  improved  the  Place,  and  "  builded  a  most  large  warehouse  near 
thereunto."  He  was  the  "  rich  Spencer,"  worth  nearly  a  million  of  money ;  and  here 
he  entertained  Sully,  when  he  came  on  a  special  embassy  from  Henry  IV.  of  France  to 
James  I.  Sir  John  Spencer's  daughter  and  sole  heiress  married  William,  the  second 
Lord  Compton,  afterwards  Earl  of  Northampton,  and  ancestor  of  the  present  Marquis. 
During  Lord  Compton's  proprietorship,  the  celebrated  Countess  of  Pembroke,  "  Sidney's 
sister,  Pembroke's  mother,"  lived  many  years  in  Crosby  Place.  Spencer,  Earl  of 
Northampton,  son  of  the  last-mentioned  proprietor,  resided  here  in  1638.  Two  years 
previously,  the  property  was  leased  to  Sir  John  Langham,  sheriff  in  1642,  during 
whose  occupation  it  was  frequently  used  as  a  prison  for  Royalists.  His  son,  Sir  Stephen 
Langham,  succeeded  him  ;  and  during  his  tenancy,  Crosby  Place  was  so  injured  by  fire, 
that  it  was  never  afterwards  used  as  a  dwelling.  In  1672,  the  Upper  Hall  was  con- 
verted into  a  Presbyterian  meeting-house  by  the  Rev.  T.  Watson ;  he  was  followed  by 
Stephen  Charnock ;  Dr.  Grosvenor,  a  pupil  of  Benjamin  Keach ;  and  Edmund  Calamy, 
jun.  The  congregation  continued  to  meet  here  till  1769,  when  it  was  dispersed; 
previously  to  which  a  farewell  sermon  was  preached  here  by  the  Rev.  Mr.  Jones,  the 
predecessor  of  the  Rev.  Dr.  Collyer,  of  Peckham. 

The  Hall  was  then  let  as  a  packer's  warehouse.  In  1677,  the  present  houses  in 
Crosby-square  were  built  on  the  ruins  of  the  old  mansion.  In  1831,  the  packer's 
lease  of  the  Hall  expired ;  when  public  attention  was  drawn  to  its  restoration,  as  the 
finest  example  in  the  metropolis  of  the  domestic  mansion  of  Perpendicular  work.  Its 
long  list  of  distinguished  tenants, — above  all,  its  association  with  Richard  III.,  greatly 
popularized  the  proposed  restoration ;  and,  on  June  27,  1836,  the  first  stone  of  the 
new  work  was  laid  by  Lord  Mayor  Copeland,  alderman  of  Bishopsgate  Ward ;  when 
the  Hall  was  fitted  up  with  banners,  strewed  with  rushes,  and  an  Elizabethan  breakfast 
served  upon  the  long  tables. 

On  July  12,  1838,  a  musical  performance  was  given  in  the  Hall,  after  service  in  St. 
Helen's  Church,  in  commemoration  of  Sir  Thomas  Gresham  :  the  place  is  fraught  with 
musical  memories,  for  under  its  shadow  once  lived  Byrde,  Wilbye,  and  Morley,  the 
celebrated  madrigalists. 

The  restoration  was  completed  in  1842  :  repairs  have  been  made,  and  much  of  the 
original  mansion  has  been  built :  the  Hall,  the  Council-chamber,  with  the  Throne- 
room  above,  remain ;  and  the  vaults  are  a  fine  specimen  of  early  brickwork.  The 
entrance  to  Crosby-square  is  through  a  small  gateway  from  Bishopsgate-street.  The 
Hall  consists  of  one  story  only,  lighted  by  lofty  and  elegant  windows,  and  a  beautiful 
oriel  window,  reaching  from  the  floor  to  the  roof.  The  Council-chamber*  was  stripped 
of  many  of  its  decorations  in  1816  by  the  proprietor,  who  removed  them  to  adorn  a 
dairy  at  his  seat,  Fawley  Court,  Bucks;  but  the  finely -coved  ceiling  hecame  the  pro- 
perty of  Mr.  Yarnold,  of  Great  St.  Helen's,  at  the  sale  of  whose  Collection,  in  1825, 
this  lot  was  purchased  by  Mr.  Cottingham,  the  architect,  who  fitted  it  as  the  ceiling 
of  his  Elizabethan  Museum  at  No.  43,  Waterloo-bridge-road :  at  the  dispersion  of 
which,  in  1851,  the  relic  was  again  sold.  The  Throne-room  has  an  oak-ribbed  rounded 
roof;  and  among  its  windows,  is  one  reaching  the  entire  height  of  the  apartment. 

The  Great  Hall,  the  innermost  sanctuary,  is  54  ft.  long,  27£  broad,  and  40  feet  high. 
It  has  a  minstrels'  gallery,  but  not  a  dais. 

The  glory  of  the  place  is,  however,  the  roof,  which  is  an  elaborate  architectural  study,  and  decidedly 
one  of  the  finest  specimens  of  timber-work  in  existence.  It  differs  from  many  other  examples  in  being 
an  inner  roof ;  it  is  of  cork  or  chestnnt,  of  low  pointed  arches,  approaching  to  an  ellipse.  From  the 
main  points  of  intersection  hang  pendants,  which  end  in  octagonal  ornaments,  pierced  with  small 
niches,  each  pendant  forming  the  centre  of  four  arches ;  so  that,  in  whatever  point  it  is  viewed,  the 
design  presents  a  series  of  arches  of  elegant  construction,  whilst  the  spandrels  are  pierced  with  perpen- 
dicular trefoil-headed  niches.  The  principal  timbers  are  ornamented  with  small  flowers,  or  knots  of 
foliage,  in  a  hollow  ;  and  the  whole  springs  from  octangular  corbels  of  stone  attached  to  the  piers 
between  the  windows.  Here  the  superior  taste  of  the  architect  is  strikingly  displayed  in  the  method 
by  which  he  has  avoided  an  horizontal  import  to  his  ceiling,  by  constructing  arches  of  timber  corre- 

*  In  1794,  Mr.  Capon  painted  for  John  Philip  Kemble,  at  New  Drury-lane  Theatre,  the  Council 
Chamber,  for  the  play  of  Jane  Shore  ;  a  correct  restoration  of  the  original  apartment,  as  far  as  existing- 
documents  would  warrant. 


CBUTGEED  FBIAES.  299 

sponding  with  the  ornamental  portions  of  the  roof  above  the  lateral  windows,  and  thus  completely 
avoiding  a  horizontal  line,  which  was  as  much  the  abomination  of  our  ancient  architects  as  it  is  the 
favourite  of  our  modern  ones.  These  arches  are  surmounted  by  an  elegant  entablature,  of  a  moulded 
architrave,  a  frieze  of  pierced  quatrefoils  in  square  panels,  and  an  embattled  cornice ;  each  quatrefoil 
contained  a  small  flower,  of  which  fifty-six  originally  existed  on  each  side  of  the  Hall,  the  designs  being 
dissimilar. 

The  oriel,  forming  an  ornamented  recess  in  the  side  of  the  Hall,  has  ever  been  re- 
garded as  one  of  its  Lest  features :  it  is  vaulted  with  stone,  beautifully  groined,  the 
ribs  springing  from  small  pillars  attached  to  the  angles ;  while  knots  of  foliage  and 
bosses  are  at  the  points  of  intersection.  Among  them  is  a  ram  trippant,  the  crest  of 
Sir  John  Crosby.  This  and  the  other  windows  have  been,  for  the  most  part,  filled  with 
stained  glass,  decorated  with  the  armorial  bearings  of  the  several  personages  famous  in 
the  history  of  Crosby  Place,  as  well  as  of  persons  of  taste  who  have  contributed  to  its 
restoration.  The  lower  aperture  has  been  closed  by  the  same  piece  of  wood-work  that 
was  formerly  elevated  above  it.  The  floor  is  paved  with  stone  in  small  squares  arranged 
diagonally.  In  the  north  wall  is  a  fire-place,  which  is  at  least  singular,  if  not  unique, 
in  a  Hall  of  this  age. 

Crosby  Hall,  in  its  restored  state,  has  been  let  for  musical  performances  and  lectures ; 
and  it  was,  for  some  time,  the  meeting-place  of  a  Literary  Society.  The  west  front  of 
the  premises,  next  Bishopsgate-street,  has  been  composed  in  the  style  of  the  half- 
timbered  houses  of  the  Crosby  period.  Here  is  a  statue  of  Sir  John  Crosby,  by  Nixon  j 
with  his  arms  and  crest. 

CRUTCHED  FEIABS. 

THIS  picturesque  fragment  of  old  London,  which  Hatton  describes  "as  a  very  con- 
siderable, though  crooked  street,"  lies  between  Jewry-street  and  Hart-street,  the 
oldest  portion  being  a  short  distance  towards  Tower-hill,  from  Fenchurch-street.  Here 
remained  till  lately  a  group  of  houses,  but  little  altered  since  Queen  Elizabeth's  days  j 
the  quaint  gables,  the  highly-pitched  roofs,  the  peculiar  arrangement  of  the  water- 
troughs,  the  projections  over  the  shop  windows  little  more  than  seven  feet  in  height, 
the  thick  window-frames  and  small  squares  of  glass — all  denoted  the  considerable  age 
the  structure. 

The  street  derives  its  name  from  being  on  the  site  of  the  ancient  monastery  of 
Crouched  or  Crossed  Friars  (Fratres  Sancta  Cruris),  founded  in  1298,  by  Ralph  Hosier 
and  William  Sabernes,  who  became  friars  here.  Originally  they  carried  in  their  hands 
an  iron  cross,  which  they  afterwards  exchanged  for  one  of  silver.  They  wore  a  cross, 
made  of  red  cloth,  on  their  garment,  which  at  first  was  grey,  and  in  later  times  altered 
to  blue.  One  Adams  was  the  first  prior,  and  Edmund  Streatham  the  last.  Their 
annual  income  seems  to  have  been  small.  Henry  VIII.  granted  their  house  to  Sir 
Thomas  Wyat,  the  elder,  who  built  a  handsome  mansion  on  part  of  the  site.  This 
house  afterwards  became  the  residence  of  John  Lord  Lumley,  a  celebrated  warrior  in 
the  time  of  Henry  VIII.,  who  greatly  distinguished  himself  at  the  battle  of  Flodden, 
by  his  valour  and  the  number  of  men  he  brought  into  the  field.  "  John  Lord 
Lumley,  grandson  to  the  first,"  says  Pennant,  "was  amongst  the  few  of  the  nobility 
of  that  time  who  had  a  taste  for  literature."  He  married  his  sister  Barbary  to  Hum- 
phrey Llwyd,  of  Denbigh,  and  by  his  assistance  formed  a  considerable  library,  which 
at  present  makes  a  valuable  part  of  the  British  Museum.  The  refectory  was  converted 
into  the  first  glass-house  ever  established  in  England,  which  was  burned  down  in 
1575.  On  the  site  was  subsequently  erected  a  stupendous  tea-warehouse  for  the  East 
India  Company. 

Near  this  place  stood  a  Northumberland  House,  which  was  inhabited  in  the  reign  of 
Henry  VI.  by  two  of  the  Earls  of  Northumberland.  One  lost  his  life  at  the  battle 
of  St.  Albans,  and  the  other  his  son  in  that  of  Toulon.  Being  deserted  by  the  Percies, 
the  gardens  were  converted  into  bowling-alleys,  "  and  other  parts,"  says  Stow,  "  into 
dicing-bouses."     This  was  probably  one  of  the  first  of  those  evil  places  of  resort. 

In  the  valley,  now  crossed  by  a  viaduct  of  the  Blackwall  Railway,  were  the 
Almshouses  of  the  Drapers'  Company,  erected  and  endowed  in  1521,  by  Sir  John 
Milborne.  They  were  taken  down  in  1862;  they  are  described  under  Alms- 
houses, p.  8. 

The  neighbourhood  has,  however,  a  far  more  remote  antiquity,  for  an  inscribed  stone 


300  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


found  in  the  Tenter-ground,  in  Goodman's-fields,  while  making  an  excavation  in  a 
garden  at  a  depth  of  about  seven  feet  below  the  surface,  takes  us  back  to  the  Roman 
occupation  of  Britain.  Several  fragments  of  urns  were  found  at  the  same  time.  The 
inscription  connects  it  with  the  Sixth  Legion;  and  from  it  this  portion  of  the 
Roman  army  is  presumed  to  have  been  stationed  for  a  time  in  or  near  London. 

In  1865,  there  was  excavated  in  Jewry-street  a  portion  of  the  western  wall  of  old 
London.  Almost  upon  the  very  day  that  the  above  discovery  was  made  of  the  western 
wall,  near  Aldersgate- street  was  excavated  a  portion  of  the  eastern.  The  wall  runs 
in  a  straight  line  from  the  Tower  to  Aldgate,  by  Trinity-square,  where  a  portion  has 
been  discovered,  which,  though  not  Roman,  was  supposed  to  rest  on  Roman  founda- 
tions. In  1841,  the  Blackwall  Railway,  much  further  north  than  this  point,  cut 
through  Roman  remains  of  the  great  Wall,  nearly  opposite  Milborne's  Almshouses. 
These  remains  are  engraved  in  Knight's  London,  vol.  i.  p.  164,  where  the  fragment  is 
described  as  "  recently  excavated  behind  the  Minories."  In  August,  1864,  was  dis- 
covered an  extensive  fragment  of  a  Norman  wall,  upon  undoubtedly  Roman  foundations ; 
and  partly  behind  the  Minories,  on  the  east  side  of  the  lower  end  of  Jewry-street,  which 
had  been  cleared  of  a  number  of  small  houses,  remains  were  found  at  various  levels ;  as, 
masses  of  Roman  stonework,  with  bondings  of  Roman  bricks,  or,  as  we  should  call 
them,  tiles;  a  superstructure  of  earlier  date;  and  in  the  lowest  depths  horns  of  oxen 
and  other  remains  in  abundance.  East  of  the  site  is  Vine-street,  named  from  a  vine- 
yard anciently  there,  in  the  rear  of  the  Minories.  Some  of  the  entire  Roman  bricks, 
cleared  of  cement,  &c.,  were  fine  specimens  of  the  building  materials  of  our  conquerors. 
(See  Goodman's  Fields.) 

CRYPTS. 


I 


HE    Crypts,  vaults,  or   undercrofts  remaining  in  the  metropolis,  are   interesting 
specimens  of  its  ecclesiastical  and  domestic  architecture. 

The  Crypt  or  Lower  Chapel  of  Old  London  Bridge  belongs  to  the  past :  it  was  constructed  in  the 
tenth  or  tireat  pier,  and  was  entered  both  from  the  upper  apartment  and  the  street,  as  well  as  by  a  flight 
of  stone  stairs  winding  round  a  pillar  which  led  into  it  from  outside  the  pier:  whilst  in  front  of  this 
latter  entrance  the  sterling  formed  a  platform  at  low-water,  which  thus  rendered  it  accessible  from  the 
river.  This  Crypt  was  about  60  feet  in  length,  20  feet  high,  and  had  a  groined  roof,  supported  by  stone 
ribs  springing  from  clustered  columns ;  at  the  intersections  were  bosses  sculptured  with  cherubs,  epis- 
copal heads,  and  a  crowned  head  (probably  Richard  Coeur-de-Lion),  grouped  with  four  masks;  and 
near  the  entrance  was  a  piscina  for  holy  water.  Here  was  a  rich  series  of  windows  looking  on  to  the 
water,  and  the  floor  was  paved  with  black  and  white  marble :  herein  was  buried  Peter  of  Colechureh, 
the  priest-architect  of  the  bridge.  The  Chapel  was  taken  down  in  1700 :  the  Crypt  had  been  many 
years  used  as  a  paper  warehouse ;  and  though  the  floor  was  always  from  8  to  10  feet  under  the  surface 
at  high-water  mark,  yet  the  masonry  was  so  good  that  no  water  ever  penetrated.  In  front  of  the 
bridge-pier  a  square  fish-pond  was  formed  in  the  sterling,  into  which  the  fish  were  carried  by  the  tide, 
and  there  detained  by  a  wire  grating  placed  over  it ;  and  "  an  ancient  servant  of  London  Bridge,  now 
(1827)  verging  upon  his  hundredth  summer,  well  remembers  to  have  gone  down  through  the  Chapel  to 
fish  in  the  pond." — Thomson's  Chronicles,  p.  517. 

St.  Bartholomew's  Crypt,  Smithfield,  exists  in  good  preservation  under  the 
dining-hall  or  refectory  of  the  priory,  of  which  also  there  remain  other  appurtenances. 
The  crypt  is  of  great  length,  has  a  double  row  of  beautiful  aisles,  with  Early-Pointed 
arches,  divided  by  Middlesex-passage,  leading  from  Great  to  Little  Bartholomew- close ; 
a  door  at  the  extremity  is  traditionally  said  to  have  communicated  by  a  subterranean 
passage  with  Canonbury,  at  Islington.  Beneath  the  "  Coach  and  Horses"  public- 
house,  probably  once  the  hospitium,  within  the  west  gate  of  the  monastery,  is  the 
remains  of  another  crypt. 

Bishopsgate-street  Within,  No.  66  (taken  down  in  1865),  was  built  upon  a 
crypt,  of  ecclesiastical  architecture. 

Bow  Church  Crypt,  Cheapside,  consists  of  columns  and  simple  Romanesque  groin- 
ings,  said  to  be  of  the  age  of  the  Conqueror ;  it  is  the  crypt  of  the  ancient  Norman 
church,  but  it  was  mistaken  by  Wren  for  Roman  workmanship.  It  has  long  been  used 
as  a  dead-house,  is  ventilated,  and  the  coffins  are  put  in  fair  order.  At  Messrs.  Grow- 
coek's,  in  Bow  Churchyard,  is  a  small  portion  of  another  crypt  or  undercroft.  It  is 
difficult  to  understand  how  Wren  was  led  to  the  belief  that  the  above  remains  were 
Roman ;  unless,  as  was  pointed  out  by  Mr.  Gwilt,  in  an  admirable  description  of  the 
crypt  ( Vetusta  Monumenta,  vol.  v.  plates  61  to  65),  Wren  was  deceived  by  the  fact 


CRYPTS.  301 

that  Roman  bricks  are  used  in  the  construction  of  the  arches  j  or  did  he  mean  that 
they  were  more  Romano,  or  in  the  Roman  manner  ? 

St.  Etheleeda's  Chapel  Crypt,  Ely-place,  originally  a  burial-place,  is  not 
vaulted,  but  has  for  its  roof  the  chapel-floor,  supported  by  enormous  chestnut  posts  and 
girders.  During  the  Interregnum,  when  Ely  House  and  its  offices  were  converted 
into  a  prison  and  hospital,  this  crypt  became  a  kind  of  military  canteen  ;  it  was  sub- 
sequently used  as  a  public  cellar  to  vend  drink  in ;  and  here  were  frequently  revellings 
heard  during  divine  service  in  the  chapel  above. 

Gabhaway's  Coffee-hotjse,  3,  Change-alley,  Cornhill,  had  a  crypt  of  fourteenth 
and  sixteenth  century  architecture,  was  of  ecclesiastical  character,  and  had  a  piscina ; 
it  was  used  as  the  coffee-house  wine-cellar,  and  extended  under  Change-alley. 

Gerard's  Hall  Crypt,  Basing-lane,  was  the  only  remaining  vestige  of  the  mansion 
of  John  Gisors,  pepperer,  Mayor  of  London  in  1245 ;  "  a  great  house  of  old  time, 
builded  upon  arched  vaults,  and  with  arched  gates  of  stone  brought  from  Cane  in 
Normandy"  (Stow) ;  Gisors'  Hall  being  corrupted  to  Gerard's  Hall.  The  date  of  this 
crypt  was  probably  late  in  the  thirteenth  century.  The  groined  roof  was  supported  by 
sixteen  columns :  the  crypt,  although  generally  resembling  a  subterranean  ecclesiastical 
edifice,  was  constructed  solely  for  the  stowage  of  merchandize,  and  was  thus  an  example 
of  the  warehouse  of  the  wealthy  London  merchant  of  the  thirteenth  century.  The 
great  house  called  the  Vintrie  stood  upon  similar  vaults,  which  were  used  for  the 
stowage  of  French  wines ;  it  was  likewise  occupied,  in  1314,  by  Sir  John  Gisors,  who 
was  a  vintner.  Gerard's  Hall  Crypt,  with  the  modern  inn  which  had  replaced  the 
hall,  was  removed  in  forming  a  new  street  in  1859,  when  some  curious  old  merchant's 
marks  were  found. 

Here  was  preserved  the  tutelar  effigies  of  "  Gerard  the  grant,"  a  fair  specimen  of  a  London  sign, 
temp.  Charles  II.  Here  also  was  shown  the  staff  used  by  Gerard  in  the  wars,  and  a  ladder  to  ascend  to 
the  top  of  the  staff;  and  in  the  neighbouring  church  of  St.  Mildred,  Bread-street,  hangs  a  huge  tilting- 
helmet,  said  to  have  been  worn  by  the  said  gyant.  The  staff,  Stow  thinks,  may  rather  have  been  used 
as  a  May-pole,  and  to  stand  in  the  hall  decked  with  evergreens  at  Christmas  j  the  ladder  serving  for 
decking  the  pole  and  hall-roof.^<7.  W.  Archer. 

Guildhall  Crypt  is  the  finest  and  most  extensive  undercroft  remaining  in  London, 
and  is  the  only  portion  of  the  ancient  hall  (erected  in  1411)  which  escaped  the  Great 
Fire.  It  extends  the  whole  length  beneath  the  Guildhall  from  east  to  west,  divided 
nearly  equally  by  a  wall,  having  an  ancient  Pointed  door.  The  crypt  is  further  divided 
into  aisles  by  clustered  columns,  from  which  spring  the  stone-ribbed  groins  of  the  vaulting, 
composed  partly  of  chalk  and  bricks  ;  the  principal  intersections  being  covered  with 
carved  bosses  of  flowers,  heads,  and  shields.  The  north  and  south  aisles  had  formerly 
mullioned  windows,  now  walled  up.  At  the  eastern  end  is  a  fine  Early-English  arched 
entrance,  in  fair  preservation ;  and  in  the  south-eastern  angle  is  an  octangular  recess, 
which  formerly  was  ceiled  by  an  elegantly  groined  roof;  height,  13  feet.  The  vault- 
ing, with  four-centred  arches,  is  very  striking,  and  is  probably  some  of  the  earliest  of 
the  sort,  which  seems  peculiar  to  this  country.  Though  called  the  Tudor  arch,  the 
time  of  its  introduction  was  Lancastrian.  (See  Weale's  London,  p.  159.)  In  1851 
the  stone-work  was  rubbed  down  and  cleaned,  and  the  clustered  shafts  and  capitals 
were  repaired  j  and  on  the  visit  of  Queen  Victoria  to  Guildhall,  July  9,  1851,  a  ban- 
quet was  served  to  her  Majesty  and  suite  in  this  crypt,  which  was  characteristically 
decorated  for  the  occasion.  Opposite  the  north  entrance  is  a  large  antique  bowl,  of 
Egyptian  red  granite,  which  was  presented  to  the  Corporation  by  Major  Cookson  in 
1802,  as  a  memorial  of  the  British  achievements  in  Egypt. 

"  Gtty  Fawkes's  Cellar"  was  a  crypt-like  apartment  beneath  the  old  House  of 
Lords,  the  ancient  Parliament-chamber  at  Westminster,  believed  to  have  been  rebuilt 
by  King  Henry  II.  on  the  ancient  foundations  of  Edward  the  Confessor's  reign.  "  The 
walls  of  this  building  were  nearly  seven  feet  in  thickness,  and  the  vaults  below  ('  Guy 
Fawkes's  Cellar')  were  very  massive.  Piers  of  brickwork  (possibly  of  Charles  the 
Second's  time)  had  been  raised  to  strengthen  the  ceiling  and  sustain  the  weight  of  the 
Parliament-chamber  floor,  together  with  strong  rafters  of  oak,  supported  by  twelve 
octagonal  oak  posts,  on  stone  plinths.     This  building  was  taken  down  about  the  year 


302  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

1823,  when  it  was  ascertained  that  the  vaults  had  heen  the  ancient  kitchen  of  the  Old 
Palace;  and  near  the  south  end  the  original  buttery-hatch  was  discovered,  together 
with  an  adjoining  pantry  or  cupboard."  (Britton  and  Bailey's  Westminster  Palace, 
p.  421.)  The  conspirators  obtained  access  to  the  vaults  through  a  house  in  the  south- 
east corner  of  Old  Palace-yard,  which  was  at  one  time  occupied  as  the  Ordnance  Office, 
and  afterwards  as  the  entrance  to  the  House  of  Lords. 

After  the  Gunpowder  Plot,  Nov.  5, 1605,  it  became  the  custom  to  search  and  carefully  examine  all 
the  vaults  and  passages  under  the  Houses  of  Parliament,  previous  to  the  Sovereign  opening  the  Session. 
This  precautionary  inspection,  continued  to  our  time,  was  performed  by  certain  officers  of  Parliament, 
headed  by  the  Usher  of  the  Black  Rod,  who  went  through  the  vaults,  and  examined  the  various  nooks  and 
recesses  that  might,  if  conspirators  were  so  inclined,  again  hold  combustibles,  with  the  intent,  "  suddenly 
and  with  one  blast,  to  blow  up  and  tear  in  pieces "  those  assembled  on  the  occasion  in  Parliament. 
The  search  took  place  on  the  morning  of  the  day  of  the  Koyal  ceremonial. 

Hostelbt  of  the  Peioes  of  Lewes  Cetpt,  the,  was  discovered  in  Carter-lane, 
Southwark,  in  1832.  This  vaulted  chamber  was  supported  by  six  demi-columns,  attached 
to  the  side  walls ;  the  columns  and  arches  of  wrought  stone,  and  the  vaultings  of  chalk. 
In  1834  was  discovered  another  cryptal  chamber,  with  a  plain  massive  round  pillar  in 
the  centre,  from  which  sprang  elliptic-ribbed  arches,  forming  a  groined  roof.  This 
vault  is  supposed  to  have  been  the  cellar  of  "  the  Hostelry  for  Travellers,  which  had 
the  sign  of  the  '  Walnut  Tree.' "  (Stow.)  Both  Crypts  originally  belonged  to  the 
town-lodging  of  the  Priors  of  Lewes;  the  larger  Crypt  being  under  the  great  Hall, 
which  had  been  used  as  the  grammar  school-room  of  St.  Olave's,  founded  by  Queen 
Elizabeth.  These  crypts  were  destroyed  in  making  the  approaches  to  the  New 
London  Bridge. 

St.  John's  Cetpt,  Clerkenwell,  is  semi-Norman  and  Early  English,  and  part  of 
the  magnificent  Priory  Church  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem ;  the  superstructure  of  the 
present  Church  of  St.  John  being  mostly  the  patched-up  remains  of  the  choir.  This 
Crypt  in  modern  times  (1762)  has  been  rendered  notorious  by  the  detection  of 
the  imposture  known  as  the  Cock-lane  Ghost.  The  most  interesting  remaining 
portions  of  the  Crypt  comprise  the  central  avenue  and  a  small  compartment  on 
each  side  of  it  by  the  entrance  at  the  east  end.  The  Crypt  appears  to  have  been 
originally  above  ground,  and  not  subterraneous :  an  entrance  to  it  may  be  seen  in 
Hollar's  view  of  the  east  end  as  it  appeared  in  1661  from  St.  John-street,  with  the 
hospital  gardens  and  boundary -wall.  The  central  portion  of  the  crypt  consists  of  four 
severeys  or  bays :  two  simple  and  plain,  being  semi-Norman,  and  two  Early  English,  and 
very  perfect,  the  details  and  mouldings  being  worthy  of  careful  examination.  The 
ribs  of  the  Early-English  bays  spring  from  triple-clustered  columns,  in  each  angle  of 
the  bays,  with  moulded  capitals  and  bases ;  the  upper  moulding  horizontally  fluted, 
similar  to  some  Grecian-Ionic  bases.  The  central  shafts  of  the  clustered  columns  are 
pointed,  and  the  diagonal  ribs  have  three  mouldings  :  the  central  one  is  pointed  and  the 
outer  are  rolls.  This  pointed  bowtell  occurs  frequently  in  semi-Norman  and  Early- 
English  work,  and  is  coeval  with  the  introduction  of  the  pointed  arch.  Suspended 
from  the  keystone  of  each  arch  is  an  iron  ring.  On  each  side  of  the  two  western  bays 
of  the  central  aisle  is  a  deeply-recessed  pointed  widow :  the  doorways  are  trefoil-headed. 

Lambeth  Paxace  Cetpt,  or  Under,  chapel,  is  considered  to  be  the  oldest  portion 
of  the  Palace.     It  consists  of  a  series  of  strongly-groined  stone  arches,  supported  cen- 
trally by  a  short,  massive  column,  and  by  brackets  in  the  side  walls.     These  vaults  are 
now  converted  into  cellars ;  they  might,  possibly,  have  been  originally  used  for  Divine  . 
worship,  as  there  are  two  entrances  to  them  from  the  cloisters. 

"  Lambeth  Palace  Chapel  retains  a  Crypt,  a  doorway,  and  windows  of  great  beauty,  but  the  Chapel 
has  otherwise  been  quite  barbarised ;  and  the  remainder  of  this  archiepiscopal  residence,  though  founded 
as  early  as  the  reign  of  Richard  Cceur-de-Lion  (before  which  it  was  a  residence  of  the  Bishop  of  Rochester), 
now  forms  only  a  confused  medley  of  buildings,  with  no  fragment  older  than  the  fifteenth  century." 
AVeale's  London,  p.  145. 

Lamb's  Chapel  Cetpt,  Monkwell-street,  is  a  remarkably  pure  and  finished  speci- 
men of  the  Norman  style.  The  vaulted  roof  has  been  supported  by  nine  short  columns, 
six  of  which  remain,  with  very  ornate  capitals ;  and  the  interesting  ribs  of  the  groining 
are  decorated  with  zig-zag  mouldings  and  a  spiral  ornament.  The  carved  work  is  of 
Caen  stone.     The  chapel  was  originally  "  the  Hermitage  of  St.  James's"  in  the  wall, 


CRYPTS.  303 

a  cell  to  the  Abbey  of  Quorndon,  in  Leicestershire,  and  said  to  have  been  founded  by 
Henry  III.,  but  evidently  upwards  of  a  century  earlier.  The  Chapel  and  its  appur- 
tenances were  granted  by  Henry  VIII.  to  William  Lamb,  who  bequeathed  and  endowed 
it  at  his  death  for  the  benefit  of  the  Clothworkers'  Company,  of  which  he  was  a  mem- 
ber.    (-See  Lamb's  Coxdl-it,  p.  288.) 

Leather-Sellers'  Hail  Crypt,  at  the  east  end  of  St.  Helen's-place,  Bishopsgate, 
adjoins  the  church  of  St.  Helen  on  the  north  side,  and  extends  beneath  the  present 
hall :  it  is  boldly  groined.  In  the  wall  which  separated  this  Crypt  from  the  church 
were  two  ranges  of  small  apertures,  made  in  an  oblique  direction,  so  that  the  high  altar 
might  be  seen  by  those  in  the  Crypt  when  mass  was  performing.  The  position  of  one  set 
of  these  openings  ("  The  Nuns'  Grating")  is  marked  out  within  the  present  church  by 
a  stone-canopied  altar  affixed  to  the  wall.    The  Crypt  has  been  engraved  by  J.  T.  Smith. 

St.  Martin's-le-Grand  Crypt  was  laid  open  in  clearing  for  the  site  of  the  new 
General  Post-Office,  in  1818,  the  area  formerly  occupied  by  the  Church  and  Sanctuary 
of  St.  Martin.  There  were  then  found  two  ranges  of  vaults,  which  had  served  as 
cellars  to  the  houses  above ;  one  of  these  being  the  crypt  of  St.  Martin's  (taken  down 
in  1547),  and  afterwards  the  cellar  of  a  large  wine-tavern,  the  "  Queen's  Head,"  This 
•was  in  the  Pointed  style  of  Edward  III.,  and  was  most  likely  the  work  of  William  of 
Wykeham.  The  second  or  westernmost  range,  which  must  have  supported  the  nave, 
was  of  earlier  date,  and  was  a  square,  vaulted  chamber,  divided  by  piers  six  feet 
square  :  here  were  found  a  coin  of  Constantine,  and  a  stone  coffin  containing  a  skeleton ; 
and  in  digging  somewhat  lower  down,  Roman  remains  were  met  with  in  abundance. 
In  St.  Martin's-le-Grand  also,  between  Aldersgate  and  St.  Ann's-lane  end,  was  the  large 
tavern  of  the  "Mourning  Bush,"  whose  vaulted  cellars,  as  they  remain  from  the  Great 
Eire  of  1666,  disclose  the  foundation-wall  of  Aldersgate,  and  a  remarkably  fine  speci- 
men of  early  brick  arch -work. 

St.  Mary  Aldermary,  Bow-lane. — In  1835,  upon  the  removal  of  some  houses  in 
Watling-street,  at  the  east  end  of  this  church,  a  building,  thought  to  be  the  Crypt  of 
the  old  church  commenced  by  Sir  Henry  Keble  in  1510,  was  brought  to  light.  In 
1851,  in  widening  the  thoroughfare  by  way  of  Cannon-street,  just  opposite  St. 
Swithin's  Church  and  London  Stone,  an  ancient  vault  or  crypt,  of  considerable  length, 
was  opened  j  it  had  stone  cross-springers,  forming  a  Pointed  arch,  and  was  vaulted 
with  chalk. 

Merchant  Tailors'  Hall  Crypt  was  brought  under  notice  during  some  repairs 
in  1855,  this  being  the  crypt  of  the  former  Hall,  destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire.  The 
kitchen,  seen  in  the  way  to  the  Crypt,  may  be  older  than  the  time  of  the  fire,  probably 
about  the  time  of  Henry  VIII.  On  a  conspicuous  part  of  the  wall  is  the  excellent 
motto — "  Waste  Not,  Want  Not."  There  are  some  Pointed  arches  and  windows, 
and  also  two  corbels,  visible.  The  Crypt  is  at  a  considerable  depth  below  the  kitchen, 
and  has  been  used  for  some  time  past  as  a  coal-cellar :  the  walls  and  filling  in  between 
the  groins  are  of  chalk.  The  Company  have  preserved  it.  About  seven  feet  from  this 
Crypt,  and  under  the  late  open  yard  of  the  Hall,  another  old  vault  has  been  since 
discovered :  it  is  7  feet  wide,  and  quite  full  of  garden-mould.  The  walls  are  of  chalk- 
rubble,  and  the  voussoirs  of  Kentish  rag. 

St.  Michael,  Aldg-ate. — A  subterranean  passage  is  said  to  conduct  from  the 
Tower  to  the  ancient  Chapel  or  Crypt  of  St.  Michael  at  Aldgate,  situated  under  the 
house  at  the  south-east  corner  of  London  Wall-street,  hard  by  Aldgate  pump.  It  has 
some  marks  of  the  semi-Norman,  or  Transition  style,  but  it  is  assigned  to  Prior 
Norman,  in  1108.  The  central  clustered  column  is  Norman ;  the  bosses  remain 
perfect,  and  contain  roses  and  grotesque  heads.  A  means  of  approach  from  the  street 
has  existed ;  and  there  are  indications  of  two  other  passages,  one  said  to  have  run  to 
Duke's-place,  and  the  other  to  the  Tower. 

St.  Paul's  Crypt  extends  beneath  the  whole  of  the  church,  and,  like  the  body  of 
the  Cathedral,  is  divided  into  three  avenues  by  massive  pillars  and  arches ;  except  the 
portion  beneath  the  area  of  the  dome,  it  is  well  lighted  and  ventilated  by  windows 


30 i  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

opening  into  the  churchyard.  The  north  aisle  is  a  place  of  sepulture  for  the  parishioners 
of  St.  Faith.  (See  Cnr/RcnES,  p.  113.)  In  the  crypt  of  Old  St.  Paul's  the  stationers 
of  Paternoster-row  had  warehoused  their  stocks  of  books,  which  were  destroyed  in 
the  Great  Fire. 

St.  Stephen's  Cetpt,  Westminster  Palace,  also  called  "  St.  Mary's  Chapel  in 
the  Vaults,"  formed  the  basement  of  St.  Stephen's  Chapel,  founded  by  King  Stephen, 
and  rebuilt  by  Edward  I.  in  1292 :  a  roll  of  this  date  records  the  purchase  of  two 
shiploads  of  chalk,  besides  burnt  lime,  ashes,  and  sand,  for  the  foundation  of  the  chapel, 
thus  proving  it  to  have  been  raised  on  a  concrete  basis ;  and  how  substantially  is 
proved  by  the  Crypt  remaining  in  excellent  preservation,  notwithstanding  the  super- 
structure has  been  twice  destroyed  by  fire — in  1298  and  1834.  Like  other  crypts, 
this  is  of  low  proportions,  but  has  no  division  by  detached  pillars ;  the  masses  pro- 
jecting inwards,  and  dividing  window  from  window  in  short  massive  clusters,  the 
vault-ribs  and  all  other  members  partaking  of  the  same  bold,  thick  character ;  whilst 
the  tracery  of  the  windows  is  exquisitely  beautiful.  Strength,  solidity,  fine  propor- 
tions, and  skilful  execution,  are  the  characteristics  of  this  basement  chapel"  (Brilton 
and  Brayley),  which  "  is  the  last  fragment  in  London  that  can  be  decidedly  classed 
in  the  first  or  progressive  period  of  English  architecture." — (Weale's  London?)  This 
Crypt  was  fitted  up  as  the  state  dining-room  of  the  Speaker  of  the  House  of  Commons ; 
it  was  much  damaged  in  the  great  fire  of  1834,  but  has  been  restored  as  a  chapel  for 
the  officers  of  the  House  of  Commons ;  and  during  the  works,  on  January  17,  1852, 
the  workmen  discovered,  beneath  a  window-seat,  the  embalmed  body  of  an  ecclesiastic, 
without  any  coffin.  The  corpse  lay  with  the  feet  towards  the  east  (said  to  be  an 
unusual  position  for  an  ecclesiastic)  ;  it  was  wrapped  in  several  folds  of  waxed  cloth  sewn 
together  with  coarse  twine ;  its  right  hand,  on  which  was  probably  the  ring  or 
jewelled  glove,  was  lying  on  the  breast.  Over  the  left  arm  was  the  pastoral  staff—' 
a  crook— of  oak,  beautifully  carved.  On  the  feet  were  sandals,  witb  leathern  soles 
sharply  pointed.  Upon  removing  the  cere-cloth,  the  face  proved  to  be  in  remarkable 
preservation,  with  hair  on  the  chin  and  upper  lip.  The  remains  are  presumed  to  be 
those  of  William  Lyndwoode,  Bishop  of  St.  David's,  who  founded  a  chantry  in  St. 
Stephen's  Chapel,  and  died  in  1446 ;  and  in  the  patent  roll  of  32  Henry  VI.  there  is 
a  license  to  the  bishop's  executors  for  one  or  two  chaplains  to  celebrate  divine  service 
daily  "  for  the  soul  of  the  aforesaid  bishop,  whose  body  lies  buried  in  the  said  under- 
chapel,"  &c.  The  relics  were  inspected  by  a  deputation  from  the  Society  of  Antiqua- 
ries on  Jan.  31,  1852  ;  and  a  cast  of  the  face  having  been  taken  for  Her  Majesty,  the 
remains  were  placed  in  an  elm  coffin,  and  buried  in  a  grave  in  the  north  cloister  of 
Westminster  Abbey  j  the  pastoral  staff  and  sandals  being  sent  to  the  British  Museum. 

Tower  op  London. — The  Crypt,  or  large  range  of  vaults,  beneath  the  White 
Tower,  is  half  underground,  and  now  covered  by  modern  brickwork.  These  vaults 
were  formerly  occupied  as  prisons ;  and  among  the  inscriptions  still  remaining  on  a 
wall  of  a  subterranean  cell  is  one  cut  by  the  unfortunate  Bishop  of  Rochester,  John 
Fisher,  who  was  beheaded  for  his  opposition  to  the  Reformation. 

CURIOSITY-SHOPS. 

THE  principal  locality  for  dealers  in  Curiosities,  including  ancient  furniture  and 
carvings,  pictures,  china  and  enamels,  painted  glass,  metal-work,  and  church- 
furniture,  has  long  been  in  Wardour-street,  Soho,  and  Oxford-street.  Formerly  it  was 
also  noted  for  its  book-stalls;  but  in  the  spreading  taste  for  Curiosities  within  the 
last  quarter  of  a  century,  the  book-stalls  have  mostly  disappeared,  and  the  Curiosity- 
dealers  here  now  number  sixteen.  Wardour-street  is  especially  famous  for  old 
furniture  and  carvings ;  Hanway-street  (formerly  Hanway-yard,  at  the  east  end  of 
Oxford-street),  being  more  exclusively  celebrated  for  its  china-dealers.  There  are  also 
good  specimens  of  well-stocked  Curiosity-shops  towards  the  middle  of  the  Strand. 
These  several  shops  are  principally  supplied  from  the  Continent ;  but  it  is  a  profitable 
business  to  collect  specimens  from  our  provinces,  where  an  Elizabethan  bedstead  has 
been  bought  for  five  shillings,  and  sold  for  twice  as  many  pounds  in  Wardour-street. 


CUSTOM-HOUSE  (THE).  305 

The  marks  on  porcelain  denote  its  age  and  manufacture ;  but  there  is  no  such  warrant 
for  genuine  old  furniture ;  and  rough  work  which  has  just  left  the  carver's  hands,  and  has 
been  pickled  and  charred,  ante-dated,  and  even  shattered,  to  imitate  age,  is  often  sold 
for  the  ingenuity  of  the  two  preceding  centuries. 

The  revival  of  the  style  of  Louis  XV.  has  done  much  to  foster  this  false  taste ;  and  our  collectors, 
"not  content  with  ransacking  every  pawnbroker's  shop  in  London  and  Paris  for  old  buhl,  old  porce- 
lain, and  old  plate,  old  tapestry  and  old  frames,  even  set  every  manufacturer  to  work,  and  corrupt 
the  taste  of  every  modern  artist  by  the  renovation  of  this  wretched  style." — Hope's  Hist.  Architecture, 

The  dispersion  of  famed  collections  (as  Strawberry  Hill,  in  1842 ;  Mr.  Beckford's,  in 
1845;  Stowe,  in  1849;  and  Bernal's  in  1855;)  is  a  benefit,  direct  and  indirect,  to 
Curiosity-dealers.  The  taste  for  Mediaeval  art  in  church-fittings  and  painted  glass  has 
also  greatly  encouraged  this  trade,  as  well  as  the  copying  of  olden  works  in  new 
materials.  Certain  auction-rooms  are  noted  for  the  sale  of  Curiosities :  as  Christie 
and  Manson's,  King-street,  St.  James's,  especially  for  pictures.  Phillips's,  New  Bond- 
street  ;  Foster,  Pall-mall ;  and  Oxenhams',  Oxford-street,  are  known  for  their  sales  of 
articles  of  vertu,  and  collections,  as  well  as  "  importation  sales."  Here  the  accumula- 
tion of  a  lifetime  is  often  distributed  in  a  week  or  a  day.  (See  Carvings  in  Wood, 
pp.  78-81,  and  Chelsea  Porcelain,  p.  94.) 

The  Fox  public-house,  in  Wardour-street,  was  formerly  kept  by  Sam  House,  "  publican  and  repub- 
lican," who  commenced  politician  in  1763,  and  became  conspicuous  in  the  memorable  Westminster 
election-contest  between  Lord  Lincoln  and  Mr.  Fox,  in  1780 :  a  picture,  with  Fox  arm-in-arm  with 
House,  was  sold  by  Christie  and  Manson  in  1845.  In  the  window  of  Harrison,  the  pawnbroker,  95, 
"Wardour-street,  the  writer  ri.members  to  have  seen  the  Ireland  Shakspearean  MSS.  ("  great  and  impu- 
dent forgery,"  Dr.  Parr)  lying  for  sale  upon  a  family  Bible.  With  Harrison,  who  was  a  liberal  man, 
Sheridan  was  accustomed  occasionally  to  deposit  his  valuables. 

CUSTOM-HOUSE  (TEE), 

LOWER  THAMES-STREET,  immediately  east  of  Billingsgate-dock,  was  origi- 
nally designed  by  David  Laing :  the  foundations  were  laid  in  1813,  upon  piles 
driven  into  the  old  bed  of  the  river,  and  extending  eastward  beyond  the  site  of  the 
Custom-house,  destroyed  by  fire  Feb.  12,  1814,  when  the  greater  part  of  the  trade 
records  were  consumed.  The  northern  elevation,  fronting  Thames-street,  is  plain ; 
but  the  south  front  towards  the  Thames  has  in  the  wings  Ionic  colonnades  and  a  pro- 
jecting centre,  the  attic  of  which  was  decorated  with  terra-cotta  bas-relief  figures  of 
the  Arts  and  Sciences,  Commerce  and  Industry ;  and  natives  of  the  principal  countries 
of  the  globe,  with  emblems  of  their  arts.  The  clock-dial,  nine  feet  in  diameter,  was 
supported  by  colossal  figures  of  Industry  and  Plenty ;  and  the  royal  arms  by  Ocean 
and  Commerce.  Unfortunately,  the  piling  gave  way;  and  in  1825  the  re-centre  was 
taken  down,  the  foundation  relaid,  and  the  Thames  front  erected  as  we  now  see  it,  by 
Sir  Robert  Smirke.  The  expense  was  180,000^.,  which,  added  to  the  original  expendi- 
ture, 255,000^.,  made  the  total  cost  of  the  edifice  nearly  half  a  million,  or  two-thirds  the 
cost  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral.  The  river  facade  is  488  feet  in  length,  or  nearly  one 
tenth  of  a  mile.  It  is  fronted  by  a  noble  esplanade,  or  quay ;  but  as  the  breadth  of 
this  quay  is  not  equal  to  the  height  of  the  Custom-house,  its  facade,  which  is  of 
Portland  stone,  is  not  seen  to  advantage  from  that  point,  but  from  London  Bridge  or 
the  middle  of  the  river. 

The  interior  contains,  besides  warehouses  and  cellars,  about  170  apartments, 
classified  for  contiguity  and  convenience  of  the  several  departments.  In  the  Board- 
room are  portraits  of  George  III.  and  George  IV.,  the  latter  by  Lawrence.  The  Long 
Room,  in  the  centre  of  the  building,  is  probably  the  largest  apartment  of  its  kind  in 
Europe:  its  length  is  190  feet,  width  66  feet,  and  height  between  30  and  40  feet; 
but  it  is  not  so  handsome  as  the  "  Long  Room  "  taken  down  after  the  failure  of  the 
foundation.  The  officers  and  clerks  form  three  divisions  :  the  inward  department,  with 
its  collectors,  clerks  of  rates,  clerks  of  ships'  entries,  computers  of  duties,  receivers  of 
plantation  duties,  wine  duties,  &c. ;  the  outward  department,  with  its  cocket-writers, 
&c. ;  and  the  coast  department.  Here  a  Trinity-house  officer  sits  for  the  collection  of 
lighthouse  dues ;  and  here  is  a  constant  succession  of  ship-brokers  and  ship-owners, 
and  their  clerks,  and  of  skippers  and  wholesale  merchants.  Defoe  relates  Count 
Tallard  to  have  said,  that  nothing  gave  him  so  true  and  great  an  idea  of  the  richness 
and  grandeur  of  England  as  seeing  the  multitude  of  payments  made  in  a  morning  in 
the  Long  Room ;  since  this  was  said,  the  Customs  have  increased  tenfold. 

X 


306  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

On  the  ground-floor  is  the  Queen's  Warehouse,  with  diagonal-ribbed  roof.  The 
cellars  in  the  basement  form  a  groined  crypt,  and  are  fire-proof  j  the  walls  are  extraor- 
dinarily thick  j  and  here  are  kept  the  wines  and  spirits  seized  by  the  officers  of  the 
Custom-house.  The  condemned  articles  are  disposed  of  quarterly  by  auctions  or 
"  Custom-house  Sales,"  at  which  the  lots  are  not  produced,  but  have  been  previously 
viewed  in  the  Queen's  Warehouse  and  at  the  Docks. 

The  following  is  an  average  daily  report  of  the  principal  articles  passed  through  the  Custom  House, 
and  issued  to  the  public  for  consumption ;  and  to  arrive  at  a  year's  amount  these  figures  must  be  multi- 
plied in  many  instances  300  times : — Anchovies,  1455  lbs. ;  arrow-root,  101  cwt. ;  cattle,  172 ;  cocoa  and 
coffee,  78,681  lbs. ;  corahs,  1042  pieces;  elephants'  teeth,  395;  gloves,  2237  pairs ;  gum,  450  packages; 
handkerchiefs,  791  pieces ;  hemp,  587  bales ;  hides,  780;  honey,  17  cwt. ;  horns,  1500 ;  indigo,  274  chests ; 
iron,  5760  bars ;  isinglass,  6  cwt.;  jute,  636  bales;  leeches,  1802.  value;  lemon-peel,  20  pipes;  litho- 
graphic stones,  953;  manufactures,  63522.  value;  marble,  12  blocks;  molasses,  1176  cwt.;  nutmegs, 
414  lbs. ;  oil,  546  packages ;  oil,  scented,  810  lbs. ;  onions,  800  bushels ;  pepper,  11,832  lbs.;  quicksilver, 
4039  bottles;  rags,  67  bales;  rice,  215  cwt.:  sago,  70  cwt.;  sheep,  65;  silk,  382  bales;  spelter,  638 
cakes;  spirits,  19,875  gallons;  sugar,  11,151  cwt.;  tallow,  327  cwt.;  tea,  89,742  lbs.;  timber,  1900 
loads ;  tobacco,  14,143  lbs. ;  whale-fins,  279  bundles ;  wine,  10,765  gallons ;  wool,  354  bales.  Ware- 
housed in  one  day :  anchovies,  250  barrels ;  butter,  539  casks ;  coffee,  2650  bags ;  cork,19  bales ;  hams, 
600;  manufactures,  163  packages ;  marble  mortars,  50;  mats,  1000;  raisins, 750  drums;  rice, 581  bugs; 
rum,  111  casks;  spirits,  554  cases  or  casks ;  sugar,  1345  packages;  tallow,  191  packages;  tobacco, 990 
packages ;  tin,  1075  slabs ;  timber,  12,635  deals  and  pieces ;  wine,  896  cases  or  casks. 

The  present  is  the  fifth  Custom-house  built  nearly  upon  the  same  site.  The  first 
was  erected  by  John  Churchman,  Sheriff  of  London  in  13S5.  (Stoic)  The  second  was 
built  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  and  appears  in  the  1543  View  of  London  with  several 
high-pitched  gables  and  a  water-gate  :  it  was  burnt  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666.  It 
was  rebuilt  by  Wren,  at  a  cost  of  10,0002". ;  and  this  third  House  was  consumed  by 
fire  in  1718,  and  was  the  only  one  of  Wren's  buildings  that  in  his  long  life  was  destroyed. 
Wren's  Custom-house  was  replaced  by  Ripley,  who  introduced  the  "  Long  Room,"  and' 
embellished  the  river  front  with  Ionic  columns,  pediments,  and  a  Tuscan  colonnade : 
this  fourth  House  was  burnt  in  1814. 

The  taxes  levied  on  imported  and  exported  commodities  having  been  repeatedly  altered,  to  meet 
the  necessities  of  the  State,  or  serve  political  purposes,  their  amount  at  different  periods  is  not  of 
tself  a  correct  test  of  the  increase  of  trade.  In  1613,  the  date  of  one  of  the  earliest  notices  preserved, 
the  Customs  duties  collected  in  London  amounted  to  109,5722.,  being  nearly  thrice  as  much  as  was  col- 
lected in  all  the  rest  of  the  kingdom  (England),  the  whole  Customs  duties  then  amounting  to  143,0752. 
There  are  now  no  heaps  of  money  at  the  Custom-house  such  as  excited  Tallard's  admiration.  The 
duties  are  paid  into  the  Receiver-General's  Office  in  the  Custom-house,  and  almost  invariably  in  paper, 
so  that  only  very  small  sums  of  metallic  money  pass  in  collecting  the  twenty-two  millions. 

The  value  of  the  Exports  and  Imports  at  the  Port  of  London  in  1700  was  about  10,000,0002. ;  in  1794 
the  amount  increased  to  31,000,0002.  London  is  distinguished  among  the  ports  of  the  world  by  the 
enormous  quantity  and  value  of  its  imports,  rather  than  of  its  exports,  yet  the  value  of  the  exports 
alone  reached,  in  1S64,  to  above  36,000,0002.  The  gross  Customs  revenue  of  the  United  Kingdom  ir£ 
1864  was  22,498,2102.,  of  which  London  contributed  11,491,4122.  Thus,  the  London  Customs  Duties 
are  nearly  double  the  amount  levied  at  all  the  other  ports  of  England  put  together,  and  more  than 
double  the  amount  taken  in  all  Scotland  and  Ireland. 

DAGUERREOTYPE  (TEE). 

THE  first  experiment  made  in  England  with  the  Daguerreotype  was  exhibited  by  M. 
St.  Croix,  on  Friday,  September  13, 1839,  at  No.  7,  Piccadilly,  nearly  opposite 
the  southern  Circus  of  Regent-street ;  when  the  picture  produced  was  a  beautiful  minia- 
ture representation  of  the  houses,  pathway,  sky,  &c,  resembling  an  exquisite  mezzotint. 
M.  St.  Croix  subsequently  removed  to  the  Argyll  Rooms,  Regent-street,  where  his 
experimental  results  became  a  scientific  exhibition.  One  of  the  earliest  operators  was 
Mr.  Goddard.  The  discovery  was  patented  by  Mr.  Miles  Berry,  who  sold  the  first 
licence  to  M.  Claudet  for  1001.  or  2002".  a-year ;  and  in  twelve  months  after  disposed 
of  the  patent  to  Dr.  Beard,  who,  however,  did  not  take  a  Daguerreotype  portrait  until 
after  Dr.  Draper  had  sent  from  New  York  a  portrait  to  the  Editor  of  the  Philosophical 
Magazine,  with  a  paper  on  the  subject. 

With  reference  to  the  conditions  of  a  London  atmosphere,  as  regards  its  influence 
upon  Daguerreotypic  or  Photographic  processes,  there  are  some  very  peculiar  pheno- 
mena ;  for  the  following  details  of  which  we  are  indebted  to  Mr.  Robert  Hunt,  F.R.S., 
the  author  of  many  valuable  researches  in  Photography. 

The  yellow  haze  which  not  unfreqnently  prevails,  even  when  there  is  no  actual  fog  over  the  town 
itself,  is  fatal  to  all  chemical  change.  This  haze  is,  without  doubt,  an  accumulation,  at  a  considerable 
elevation,  of  the  carbonaceous  matter  from  the  coal-fires,  &c.  Although  a  day  may  appear  moderately 
clear,  if  the  sun  assume  a  red  or  orange  colour,  it  will  be  almost  impossible  to  obtain  a  good  Daguerreo- 
type.   Notwithstanding  in  some  of  the  days  of  spring  our  photographers  obtain  very  fine  portraits 


DEAF  AND  DUMB  ASYLUM.— DIORAMA  AND  COSMOS AMA.    307 

or  views,  it  must  be  evident  to  all  who  examine  an  extensive  series  of  Daguerreotypes,  that  those 
which  are  obtained  in  Paris  and  New  York  are  very  much  more  intense  than  those  which  are  gene- 
rally procured  in  London.  This  is  mainly  dependent  upon  the  different  amounts  and  kinds  of  smoke 
diffused  through  the  atmospheres  respectively  of  these  cities.  At  the  same  time,  there  is  no  doubt 
the  peculiarly  humid  character  of  the  English  climate  interferes  with  the  free  passage  of  those  solar 
rays  which  are  active  in  producing  photographic  change.  It  was  observed  by  Sir  John  Herschel,  when 
he  resided  at  Slough,  that  a  sudden  change  of  wind  to  the  east  almost  immediately  checked  his  photo- 
graphic experiments  at  that  place,  by  bringing  over  it  the  yellow  atmosphere  of  London :  this  is  called 
by  the  Berkshire  farmers  blight,  from  their  imagining  that  smut  and  other  diseases  in  grain  are  pro- 
duced by  it. 

It  is  a  curious  circumstance,  that  the  summer  months,  June,  July,  and  August,  notwithstanding  the 
increase  of  light,  are  not  favourable  to  the  Daguerreotype.  This  arises  from  the  fact,  now  clearly  de- 
monstrable, that  the  luminous  powers  of  the  sunbeam  are  in  antagonism  to  tho  chemical  radiations, 
and  as  the  one  increases,  the  other  diminishes.  This  may  be  imitated  by  a  pale  yellow  glass,  which, 
although  it  obstructs  no  light  completely,  cuts  off  the  chemical  rays,  and  entirely  prevents  any  photo- 
graphic change  taking  place. 

DEAF  AND  DUMB  ASYLUM. 

THE  first  Asylum  or  School  established  in  England  for  the  Deaf  and  Dumb  was 
opened  in  1792,  in  Fort-place,  Bermondsey,  under  the  auspices  of  the  Rev.  John 
Townsend,  of  Jamaica-row  Chapel ;  and  of  the  Rev.  H.  Cox  Mason,  then  curate  of 
Bermondsey.  The  teacher  was  Joseph  Watson,  LL.D.,  who  held  the  situation 
upwards  of  thirty-seven  years,  and  taught  upwards  of  1000  pupils,  who  were  thus  able 
to  read  articulately,  and  to  write  and  cipher.  This  tuition  was  commenced  with  six 
pupils  only.  In  1807  the  first  stone  of  a  new  building  was  laid  in  the  Old  Kent-road, 
whither  the  establishment  was  removed  October  5,  1809 ;  when  the  Society  celebrated 
•the  event  by  a  public  thanksgiving  at  the  church  of  St.  Mary  Magdalen,  Bermondsey, 
the  Rev.  C.  Crowther  preaching  the  sermon.  A  memorial  bust  of  the  Rev.  Mr. 
Townsend  is  placed  in  th6  committee-room.  The  pupils,  male  and  female,  are  such 
children  only  as  are  deaf  and  dumb,  not  being  deficient  in  intellect.  Other  children 
are  admitted  on  payment  of  201.  anually  for  board ;  and  private  pupils  are  also  received. 
The  term  of  each  pupil's  stay  is  five  years :  they  are  taught  to  read,  write,  draw,  and 
cipher ;  to  speak  by  signs,  and  in  many  instances  to  articulate  so  as  to  be  clearly 
understood.  They  are  wholly  clothed  and  maintained  by  the  charity,  are  instructed 
in  working  trades,  and  in  some  cases  apprentice-fees  are  given.  The  Asylum  is  amply 
supported  by  the  wealthy  ;  and  besides  its  annual  receipts  from  subscriptions,  donations, 
and  legacies,  &c,  it  has  a  funded  stock.  The  pupils  are  elected  half-yearly,  without 
reference  to  locality,  sect,  or  persuasion.  The  importance  of  this  Asylum  is  attested 
by  the  fact  that  in  1833,  in  20  families  of  159  children,  90  were  deaf  and  dumb. 

There  is  also  at  26,  Red-lion-square,  Bloomsbury,  an  Institution  for  the  Employment, 
Relief,  and  Religious  Instruction  of  the  Adult  Deaf  and  Dumb;  who  are  taught 
shoemaking,  tailoring,  dressmaking,  shoebinding,  fancy-work,  &c,  the  produce  of  their 
labour  being  added  to  the  funds  of  the  Society.  In  the  chapel  the  Scriptures  are 
expounded,  and  church  services  regularly  held,  at  which  the  deaf  and  dumb  are  ready 
and  interested  attendants. 

DIOEAMA   AND   COSMOEAMA. 

THE  Diorama,  on  the  eastern  side  of  Park-square,  Regent's-park,  was  exhibited  in 
Paris  long  before  it  was  brought  to  London,  by  its  originators,  MM.  Bouton  and 
Daguerre;  the  latter,  the  inventor  of  the  Daguerreotype,  died  1851.  The  exhibition- 
house,  with  the  theatre  in  the  rear,  was  designed  by  Morgan  and  Pugin :  the  spectatory 
had  a  circular  ceiling,  with  transparent  medallion  portraits;  the  whole  was  built  in 
four  months,  and  cost  10,000?. 

The  Diorama  consisted  of  two  pictures,  eighty  feet  in  length  and  forty  feet  in  height, 
painted  in  solid  and  in  transparency,  arranged  so  as  to  exhibit  changes  of  light  and 
shade,  and  a  variety  of  natural  phenomena ;  the  spectators  being  kept  in  comparative 
darkness,  while  the  picture  received  a  concentrated  light  from  a  ground-glass  roof. 
The  contrivance  was  partly  optical,  partly  mechanical;  and  consisted  in  placing  the  pic- 
tures within  the  building  so  constructed,  that  the  saloon  containing  the  spectators 
revolved  at  intervals,  and  brought  in  succession  the  two  distinct  scenes  into  the  field  of 
view,  without  the  necessity  of  the  spectators  removing  from  their  seats;  while  the 
scenery  itself  remained  stationary,  and  the  light  was  distributed  by  transparent  and 

z:  2 


303  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

movable  blinds — some  placed  bebind  tbe  picture,  for  intercepting  and  changing  tbe 
colour  of  tbe  rays  of  ligbt,  which  passed  through  the  semi-transparent  parts.  Similar 
blinds,  above  and  in  front  of  the  picture  were  movable  by  cords,  so  as  to  distribute  or 
direct  the  rays  of  light.  The  revolving  motion  given  to  the  saloon  was  an  arc  of  about 
73° ;  and  while  tbe  spectators  were  thus  passing  round,  no  person  was  permitted  to  go 
in  or  out.  The  revolution  of  the  saloon  was  effected  by  means  of  a  sector,  or  portion 
of  a  wheel,  with  teeth  which  worked  in  a  series  of  wheels  and  pinions ;  one  man,  by  turn- 
ing a  winch,  moved  the  whole.  The  space  between  the  saloon  and  each  of  the  two 
pictures  was  occupied  on  either  side  by  a  partition,  forming  a  kind  of  avenue,  propor- 
tioned in  width  to  the  size  of  the  picture.  Without  such  a  precaution,  the  eye  of  the 
spectator,  being  thirty  or  forty  feet  distant  from  the  canvas,  would,  by  anything 
intervening,  have  been  estranged  from  the  object. 

The  combination  of  transparent,  semi-transparent,  and  opaque  colouring,  still  further 
assisted  by  the  power  of  varying  both  the  effects  and  the  degree  of  light  and  shade, 
rendered  the  Diorama  the  most  perfect  scenic  representation  of  nature  ;  and  adapted 
it  peculiarly  for  moonlight  subjects,  or  for  showing  such  accidents  in  landscape  as 
sudden  gleams  of  sunshine  or  lightning.  It  was  also  unrivalled  for  representing  archi- 
tecture, particularly  interiors,  as  powerful  rehef  might  be  obtained  without  that  ex- 
aggeration in  the  shadows  which  is  almost  inevitable  in  every  other  mode  of  painting. 
The  interior  of  Canterbury  Cathedral,  the  first  picture  exhibited,  in  1823,  was  a  triumph 
of  this  class;  and  the  companion  picture,  the  Valley  of  Sarnen,  equally  admirable  in 
atmospheric  effects.     In  one  day  (Easter  Monday,  1824),  the  receipts  exceeded  200/. 

In  viewing  the  Diorama,  the  spectator  was  placed,  as  it  were,  at  the  extremity  of 
the  scene,  and  thus  had  a  view  across  or  through  it.  Hence  the  inventor  of  the  term 
compounded  it  of  the  Greek  preposition  dia,  through,  and  orama,  scene;  though,  from 
there  being  two  paintings  under  the  same  roof  in  the  building  in  the  Regent's-park,  it 
is  supposed  the  term  was  from  dis,  twice,  and  orama ;  but  if  several  paintings  of  the 
same  kind  were  exhibited,  each  would  be  a  Diorama.     {Black.) 

Although  the  Regent's-park  Diorama  was  artistically  successful,  it  was  not  commer- 
cially so.  In  September,  1848,  the  building  and  ground  in  the  rear,  with  the  ma- 
chinery and  pictures,  was  sold  for  61501.  j  again,  in  June,  1849,  for  4800/. ;  and  the 
property,  with  sixteen  pictures,  rolled  on  large  cylinders,  was  next  sold  for  3000Z. 
The  building  has  since  been  converted  into  a  Chapel  for  the  Baptist  denomination  at 
the  expense  of  Sir  Morton  Peto,  Bart. 

Dioramas  have  also  been  painted  for  our  theatres  by  Stanfield  and  Roberts,  tbe  Grieves,  and  other 
artists.  Other  Dioramic  exhibitions  have  been  opened  in  the  metropolis.  In  1828,  one  was  exhibited 
at  the  Queen's  Bazaar,  Oxford-street ;  in  1829,  the  picture  was  "  The  Destruction  of  York-Minster  by 
Fire,"  during  the  exhibition  of  which,  May  28,  the  scenery  took  fire,  and  the  premises  were  entirely 
burnt.  In  1841,  there  was  exhibited  at  the  Bazaar,  St.  James's-street,  a  Diorama,  of  five  large  scenes, 
of  the  second  funeral  of  Napoleon;  but,  though  most  effectively  painted  by  members  of "  The  Board 
of  Arts  for  the  Ceremony,"  and  accompanied  by  funeral  music  by  Auber,  the  spectacle  excited  little 
interest.  At  Easter,  1849,  was  opened  the  Gallery  of  Illustration,  in  the  large  saloon  of  the  late  residence 
of  Mr.  Nash,  the  architect,  No.  14,  Regent-street,  a  series  of  thirty-one  Dioramic  pictures  of  the  Over- 
land Mail  Route  from  SouthaWpfon  to  Calcutta ;  the  general  scenery  painted  by  T.  Grieve  and  W. 
Telbin,  human  figures  by  John  Absolon,  and  animals  by  J.  F.  Herring  and  H.  Weir :  in  picturesqueness, 
aerial  effect,  characteristic  grouping,  variety  of  incident,  richness  of  colour,  and  atmosphere  skilfully 
varied  with  the  several  countries,  this  Diorama  has,  perhaps,  scarcely  been  equalled :  it  was  exhibited 
between  1600  and  1700  times,  and  visited  by  upwards  of  250,000  persons. 

The  Cosmokama,  though  named  from  the  Greek  (Kosmos,  world ;  and  orama, 
view,  because  of  the  great  variety  of  views),  is  but  an  enlargement  of  the  street  peep- 
show  ;  the  difference  not  being  in  the  construction  of  the  apparatus,  but  in  the  quality 
of  the  pictures  exhibited.  In  the  common  shows,  coarsely-coloured  prints  are  suffi- 
ciently good;  in  the  Cosmorama  a  moderately  good  oil-painting  is  employed.  The 
pictures  are  placed  beyond  what  appear  like  common  windows,  but  of  which  the  panes 
are  really  large  convex  lenses,  fitted  to  correct  the  errors  of  appearance  which  the 
nearness  of  the  pictures  would  else  produce.  The  optical  part  of  the  exhibition  is  thus 
complete ;  but  as  the  frame  of  the  picture  would  be  seen,  and  thus  the  illusion  be 
destroyed,  it  is  necessary  to  place  between  the  lens  and  the  view  a  square  wooden 
frame,  which,  being  painted  black,  prevents  the  rays  of  light  passing  beyond  a  certain 
line,  according  to  its  distance  from  the  eye :  on  looking  through  the  lens,  the  picture 
is  seen  as  if  through  an  opening,  which  adds  very  much  to  the  effect.     Upon  the  top 


DOCKS.  309 

of  the  frame  is  a  lamp,  which  illuminates  the  picture,  while  all  extraneous  light  is  care- 
fully excluded  by  the  lamp  being  in  a  box,  open  in  front  and  top. 

A  Cosmorama  was  long  shown  at  Nos.  207  and  209,  Regent-street,  where  the  most 
effective  scenes  were  views  of  cities  and  public  buildings.  Cosmoramas  have  also  formed 
part  of  other  exhibitions.  At  the  Lowther  Bazaar,  35,  Strand,  the  "  Magic  Cave" 
(cosmoramic  pictures)  realized  1500/.  per  annum,  at  6d.  for  each  admission. 

DOCKS. 

THE  Docks  of  London  are  entirely  the  growth  of  the  present  century,  and  the  result 
of  the  vast  increase  in  the  commerce  of  the  preceding  25  years,  which  was  as  great 
as  in  the  first  70  years  of  the  century  :  a  hundred  years  since,  London  had  not  one- 
twentieth  of  its  present  trade.  Hitherto,  merchandize  was  kept  afloat  in  barges,  from 
want  of  room  to  discharge  it  at  the  legal  quays,  when  the  plunder  was  frightful- 
lightermen,  watermen,  labourers,  the  crews  of  ships,  the  mates  and  officers,  and  the 
revenue  officers,  combining  in  this  nefarious  system,  which  neither  the  police  nor  the 
terrors  of  Execution  Dock  could  repress.  At  length,  in  1789,  Mr.  Perry,  a  shipbuilder, 
constructed  at  Blackwall  the  Brunswick  Dock,  to  contain  28  East  Indiamen  and  50  or 
60  smaller  ships;  and  in  ten  years  after,  the  construction  of  public  Docks  was 
commenced. 

The  district  north  and  south  of  the  Thames,  from  the  Tower  to  Blackwall,  is  the 
most  remarkable  portion  of  London.  Here  have  been  formed  for  the  reception,  dis- 
charge, and  loading  of  vessels,  on  the  north,  St.  Katharine's  Docks,  the  London  Docks, 
the  West-India  Docks,  the  East-India  Docks,  the  Victoria  Docks ;  and  on  the  south 
the  Grand  Surrey  Docks  and  the  Commercial  Docks ;  these  comprise  hundreds  of  acres 
of  water,  surrounded  by  miles  of  walls,  and  sheltering  thousands  of  ships  j  here  have 
been  spent,  not  simply  thousands,  but  millions  of  pounds,  and  all  this  has  been  effected 
in  about  half  a  century.  Before  there  were  any  Docks,  an  East  Indiaman  of  800  tons 
was  not  usually  delivered  of  her  cargo  in  less  than  a  month,  and  then  the  goods  had  to 
be  taken  in  lighters  from  Blackwall  nearly  to  London  Bridge.  For  the  delivery  of  a 
ship  of  350  tons,  not  70  years  ago,  eight  days  were  necessary  in  summer  and  fourteen 
in  winter  :  now,  a  ship  of  500  tons  may  be  discharged  without  any  difficulty  in  two  or 
three  days.  The  mass  of  shipping,  the  vastness  of  the  many-storied  warehouses,  and 
the  heaps  of  merchandize  from  every  region  of  the  globe,  justify  the  glory  of  London 
as  "  the  great  emporium  of  nations,"  and  "  the  metropolis  of  the  most  intelligent  and 
wealthy  empire  the  sun  ever  shone  upon,  and  of  which  the  boast  is,  as  of  Spain  of  old, 
that  upon  its  dominions  the  sun  never  sets." 

These  several  Docks  have  been  constructed  at  the  expense  of  Joint-stock  Companies, 
and  have  been  moderately  profitable  to  their  projectors,  but  more  advantageous  to  the 
Port  of  London. 

Commercial  Docks,  Rotherhithe,  on  the  south  bank  of  the  Thames,  are,  upon  the 
authority  of  Stow,  said  to  include  the  commencement  of  Canute's  trench,  cut  early  in 
the  11th  century  from  thence  to  Batterseaj  and  into  which  the  river  was  diverted 
when  the  first  stone  bridge  across  the  Thames  was  built,  temp.  King  John.  The 
present  Commercial  Docks,  however,  originated  in  the  "  Howland  Great  Wet  Dock," 
which  existed  in  1660,  and  extended  about  10  acres  in  Queen  Anne's  time,  larger  than 
the  famous  basin  of  Dunkirk.  It  was  then  engaged  for  the  Greenland  whale-fishery 
vessels,  next  for  the  Baltic  trade  in  timber,  deals,  tar,  corn,  &c.;  and  in  1809  was 
opened  as  the  Commercial  Docks.  One  of  the  timber  ponds  covers  7  acres,  and  will 
float  above  6000  boards.  The  Docks,  seven  in  number,  extend  over  150  acres  j  the 
ponds  will  float  50,000  loads  of  timber,  and  the  yards  hold  4,000,000  deals.  The  cargo 
of  one  timber  ship  would  cover  32  acres,  were  the  deals  placed  side  by  side. 

East  India  Docks,  Blackwall,  lie  below  the  West  India  Docks,  and  immediately 
adjoin  the  Blackwall  Railway  and  Brunswick  Wharf.  These  Docks,  designed  by  Ralph 
Walker,  C.E.,  were  originally  constructed  for  the  East  India  Company,  and  completed 
in  1808.  Since  the  opening  of  the  trade  to  India,  they  have  been  the  property  of  the 
East  and  West  India  Company.  Their  water  area  is  30  acres,  and  their  great  depth 
(24  feet)  accommodates  vessels  of  very  large  size ;  they  have  a  cast-iron  wharf,  750 
feet  in  length,  in  which  are  more  than  900  tons  of  metal. 


310  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Grand  Surrey  Docks,  on  the  south  bank  of  the  Thames :  new  works,  in  1858, 
cost  upwards  of  100,000*. 

St.  Katharine's  Docks,  just  below  the  Tower,  were  planned  by  Telford,  and  con- 
structed by  Hardwick :  in  clearing  the  ground,  the  fine  old  church  and  other  remains 
of  the  Hospital  of  St.  Katharine  (founded  1148  by  Matilda  of  Boulogne,  wife  of  King 
Stephen),  with  1250  houses  and  tenements,  inhabited  by  11,300  persons,  were  pur- 
chased and  pulled  down  :  the  Hospital  and  Church  were  rebuilt  in  the  Regent's-park. 
{See  Churches,  p.  166.)  The  Docks  were  commenced  May  3,  1827,  and  upwards  of 
2500  men  worked  at  them  till  their  opening,  Oct.  25,  1828 ;  a  labour  of  unexampled 
rapidity.  The  excavated  earth  was  carried  by  water  to  Millbank,  and  there  used  to  fill 
up  the  reservoirs  of  the  Chelsea  Water-works,  upon  which  has  been  built  a  new  town 
south  of  Pimlico.  The  cost  of  St.  Katharine's  Docks  was  1,700,000*. ;  or  at  the 
rate  of  195.640Z.  per  acre.  The  lofty  walls  constitute  it  a  place  of  "  special  security," 
and  surround  23  acres,  of  which  11  acres  are  water,  and  will  accommodate  120  ships, 
besides  barges  and  other  craft.  The  lock  from  the  Thames  is  crossed  by  a  vast  iron 
swing-bridge  23  feet  wide :  it  can  be  filled  or  emptied  by  a  steam-engine  of  200-horse 
power,  and  14  feet  depth  can  be  made  by  the  gate-paddles  in  six  minutes.  This  lock  is 
sunk  so  deep  that  ships  of  700  tons  burden  may  enter  at  any  time  of  the  tide ;  and  the 
deptli  of  water  at  spring-tides  is  28  feet,  or  equal  to  that  in  any  other  dock  of  Loudon : 
the  machinery  of  the  gates,  by  Bramah,  is  very  fine.  At  these  Docks  was  first  pro- 
vided accommodation  for  landing  and  embarking  passengers  without  using  small 
wherries.  The  frontage  of  the  quays  is  paved  with  cast-iron.  The  warehouses,  five 
and  six  stories  high,  are  supported  on  cast-iron  columns,  3  feet  9  inches  diameter ;  they 
have  massive  granite  stairs,  huge  machinery  over  the  wells  or  shafts,  and  powerful 
cranes  on  the  quays,  so  that  goods  can  be  taken  out  at  once  into  the  warehouses  from 
the  ships,  and  in  one-fifth  of  the  time  required  in  the  earlier-constructed  docks.  A 
ship  of  250  tons  burden  can  be  discharged  at  St.  Katharine's  in  twelve  hours,  and  one 
of  500  tons  in  two  or  three  days.  One  of  the  cranes  cost  about  2000*.,  is  worked  by 
ten  or  twelve  men,  and  will  raise  from  30  to  40  tons.  The  vaults  below  for  wine  and 
spirits  have  crypt-like  arches :  "  lights  are  distributed  to  the  travellers  who  pre- 
pare to  visit  these  cellars,  as  if  they  were  setting  out  to  visit  the  catacombs  of  Naples 
or  Rome."  (Baron  Dupin.)  From  the  vaultings  hang  vinous  fungi,  like  dark  woolly 
clouds,  light  as  gossamer,  and  a  yard  or  more  in  length,  a  piece  of  which  applied  to 
flame  will  burn  like  tinder ;  in  the  spirit-vaidts  the  Davy  safety-lamp  is  used. 

London  Docks  lie  immediately  below  St.  Katharine's  Docks,  and  were  opened  in 
1805 ;  John  Bennie,  engineer.  They  comprise  90  acres :  35  acres  of  water,  and 
12,980  feet  of  quay  and  jetty  frontage;  with  three  entrances  from  the  Thames — Her- 
mitage, Wapping,  and  Shadwell,  where  the  depth  of  water  at  spring-tides  is  27  feet. 
The  western  Dock  comprises  20  acres,  the  eastern  7  acres,  and  the  Wapping  Basin  3 
acres,  besides  a  small  dock  exclusively  for  ships  laden  with  tobacco.  The  two  large 
Docks  afford  water-room  for  302  sail  of  vessels,  exclusive  of  lighters ;  warehouse-room 
for  220,000  tons  of  goods ;  and  vault-room  for  80,000  pipes  of  wine  and  spirits.  The 
superficial  area  of  the  vault-room  is  890,545  feet ;  of  the  warehouse-room,  1,402,115 
feet.  The  enclosing  walls  cost  65,000*.  The  capital  of  the  Company  is  four  millions 
of  money.  Six  weeks  are  allowed  for  unloading,  beyond  which  period  a  farthing  per 
ton  is  charged  for  the  first  two  weeks,  and  then  a  halfpenny  per  week  per  ton.  In 
1839  a  magnificent  jetty  and  sheds  cost  60,000*. ;  and  in  the  previous  twelve  years  a 
million  of  money  had  been  expended  in  extensions  and  improvements.  In  1858  two 
new  locks  were  constructed  to  admit  the  immense  vessels  now  built :  each  has  28  feet 
depth  of  water,  and  they  are  probably  the  most  perfect  works  of  their  kind  yet  erected ; 
engineers,  Messrs.  Rendell. 

In  these  Docks  are  especially  warehoused  wine,  wool,  spices,  tea,  ivory,  drugs, 
tobacco,  sugars,  dye-stuffs,  imported  metals,  and  other  articles.  These,  except  the 
wine,  tea,  spices,  and  ivory,  may  be  inspected  by  an  order  from  the  Secretary  j  for  the 
wine  a  "tasting  order"  must  be  obtained  from  the  owners.  The  shipping  and  people 
at  work  may  be  seen  without  any  order.  Rummage  sales  are  those  by  order  of  the 
Dock  Company,  for  payment  of  charges,  pursuant  to  Act  9  Geo.  IV.,  cap.  116,  sec.  106. 

Of  the  Wine-vaults,  one  alone,  formerly  7  acres,  now  extends  under  Gravel-lane, 


DOCKS. 


311 


and  contains  upwards  of  12  acres  :  above  is  the  mixing-house,  the  largest  vat  containing 
23,250  gallons.  The  Wool-floors  were  considerably  enlarged  and  glass-roofed  in  1850 : 
the  Lnnual  importation  is  130,000  bales ;  value,  2,600,000/.  A  vast  Tea-warehouse 
was  completed  in  1815;  cost,  100.000Z.;  stowage  for  120,000  chests  of  tea.  To  inspect 
the  Ivory-warehouse  requires  a  special  order :  here  lie  heaps  of  elephant  and  rhi- 
noceros tusks,  the  ivory  weapons  of  sword-fish,  &c. 

The  great  Tobacco-warehouse,  "the  Queen's,"  is  rented  by  Government  for 
H,000l.  per  annum :  it  is  five  acres  in  extent,  and  is  covered  by  a  skilfully  iron-framed 
r*of,  supported  by  slender  columns :  it  will  contain  24,000  hogsheads  of  tobacco,  value 
f,800,000£. ;  the  huge  casks  are  piled  two  in  height,  intersected  by  passages  and 
alleys,  each  several  hundred  feet  long.  There  is  another  warehouse  for  finer  tobacco; 
and  a  cigar-floor,  in  which  are  frequently  1500  chests  of  cigars,  value  150,000?. 

Near  the  north-east  corner  of  the  Queen's  Warehouse,  a  guide-post,  inscribed  "  To 
the  Kiln,"  directs  you  to  "  the  Queen's  Pipe,"  or  chimney  of  the  furnace  ;  on  the  door  of 
the  latter  and  of  the  room  are  painted  the  crown-royal  and  V.R.  In  this  kiln  are  burnt 
all  such  goods  as  do  not  fetch  the  amount  of  their  duties  and  the  Customs'  charges :  tea. 
having  once  set  the  chimney  of  the  kiln  on  fire,  is  rarely  burnt;  and  the  wine  and 
spirits  are  emptied  into  the  Docks.  The  huge  mass  of  fire  in  the  furnace  is  fed  night 
and  day  with  condemned  goods :  on  one  occasion,  900  Austrian  mutton-hams  were 
burnt ;  on  another,  45,000  pairs  of  French  gloves ;  and  silks  and  satins,  tobacco  and 
cigars,  are  here  consumed  in  vast  quantities :  the  ashes  being  sold  by  the  ton  as 
manure,  for  killing  insects,  and  to  soap-boilers  and  chemical  manufacturers.  Nails 
and  other  pieces  of  iron,  sifted  from  the  ashes,  are  prized  for  their  toughness  in 
making  gun-barrels ;  gold  and  silver,  the  remains  of  plate,  watches,  and  jewellery 
thrown  into  the  furnace,  are  also  found  in  the  ashes. 

Lastly,  in  the  London  Docks  in  brisk  times  are  employed  nearly  3000  men  :  and  this 
is  one  of  the  few  places  in  the  metropolis  where  men  can  get  employment  without 
either  character  or  recommendation.  At  the  Dock-gates,  at  half-past  seven  in  the 
morning,  "  may  be  seen  congregated  swarms  of  men,  of  all  grades,  looks,  and  kinds. 
There  are  decayed  and  bankrupt  master-butchers,  master-bakers,  publicans,  grocers, 
old  soldiers,  old  sailors,  Polish  refugees,  broken-down  gentlemen,  discharged  lawyers' - 
clerks,  suspended  government-clerks,  almsmen,  pensioners,  servants,  thieves — indeed, 
every  one  who  wants  a  loaf  and  is  willing  to  work  for  it." — Henry  Mayhew. 

The  two  Companies  of  the  St.  Katharine's  Docks  and  the  London  Docks  are  now 
amalgamated,  and  have  offices  in  Leadenhall-street,  built  in  1866. 

Miliavaix  Canal  and  Graving  Docks,  engineer,  Wilson,  extend  across  the  Isle  of 
Dogs,  from  east  to  west,  with  a  branch  projecting  at  right  angles  from  the  centre. 

Victoria  London  Docks,  the,  in  the  Plaistow  Marshes,  Bidder,  engineer,  opened 
1855,  provide  a  much  larger  area  of  water,  and  will  admit  larger  vessels,  than  the 
other  London  Docks.  The  lock-gates,  cranes,  and  capstans,  are  all  •  worked  by 
hydraulic  power.  The  first  estimate  of  cost  was  a  million  of  money.  The  basin 
covers  90  acres,  and  contains  more  than  a  mile  of  quay  and  wharfage :  contractors, 
Peto,  Betts,  and  Brassey.  In  the  course  of  the  works,  various  ancient  British  and 
Roman  coins  were  discovered,  some  Roman  urns,  a  circular  shield  of  tin,  bones  of 
deer  and  some  other  animals.  The  ground,  which  was  excavated,  consisted  of  the 
deposit  of  the  Thames,  which,  like  a  huge  lake  or  sea,  formerly  covered  all  the  now 
green  marshes  of  Essex.  The  Victoria  Docks,  from  the  peculiarity  of  position,  cost 
less,  it  is  said,  than  any  hitherto  formed. 


Names  of  Docks. 

Capital. 

Area  of 
Water 
Accom- 
modation. 

Cost 
per  acre. 

£ 

2,152,800 

Acres. 
11 
23 

112 

90 

£ 
195,640 
140,654 

17,884 

5,000 

3,938,310 

2,003,000 

450,000 

East  and  West  India  Docks  including  Canal  and 
Pond 

Victoria  Docks,  estimate  for  Works  and  Land,  to 

312  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

West  India  Docks,  the,  lie  between  Limehouse  and  Blackwall,  and  their  long  lines 
of  warehouses,  and  lofty  wall,  5  feet  thick,  are  well  seen  from  the  Blackwall  Railway. 
These  Docks  were  designed  by  Ralph  Walker,  C.E.,  as  "  the  Merchants'  Place."  in 
1799,  and  were  commenced  1800,  when  the  Rt.  Hon.  William  Pitt  laid  the  first  stone ; 
they  were  opened  1802.  Their  extent  is  (including  the  canal,  made  to  avoid  the 
bend  of  the  river  at  the  Isle  of  Dogs)  295  acres ;  this  canal  is  nearly  three-quarters  of 
a  mile  long,  with  lock-gates,  45  feet  wide,  and  is  used  as  a  dock  for  timber-ships.  Tae 
northern  or  Import  Dock  will  hold  250  vessels  of  300  tons  each :  when  originally 
opened,  it  took  ten  hours  to  fill,  24  feet  deep,  though  the  water  was  admitted  at  800 
gallons  per  second.  The  southern  or  Export  Dock  will  hold  1 95  vessels.  Here  the  ship  is 
seen  to  the  greatest  advantage,  fresh-painted,  standing-rigging  up,  colour-flying,  &c. ; 
whereas  in  the  Import  Dock,  the  vessels,  though  more  picturesque,  have  their  rigging 
down  and  loose,  the  sides  whitened  by  the  sea,  and  contrasting  with  outward-bound 
vessels.  The  warehouses  will  contain  180,000  tons  of  merchandize ;  and  there  havo 
been  at  one  time,  on  the  quays  and  in  the  sheds,  vaults,  and  warehouses,  colonial 
produce  worth  20,000,OOOZ.  sterling ;  comprising  148,563  casks  of  sugar,  70,875  barrels 
and  433,648  bags  of  coffee,  35,158  pipes  of  rum  and  Madeira,  14,000  logs  of  mahogany, 
and  21,000  tons  of  logwood,  &c.  In  the  wood-sheds  are  enormous  quantities  of 
mahogany,  ebony,  rosewood,  &c,  logs  of  which,  four  or  five  tons  weight,  are  lifted  with 
locomotive  cranes,  by  four  or  five  men.  For  twenty  years  from  their  construction, 
these  Docks  were  compulsorily  frequented  by  all  West  India  ships  trading  to  the 
Port  of  London,  when  the  maximum  revenues  amounted  to  449,421Z.,  in  1813 ;  since 
the  expiry  of  this  privilege,  and  the  depreciation  of  the  West  India  trade,  the 
revenues  have  much  declined.  The  Docks  are  now  used  by  every  kind  of  shipping,  and 
belong  to  the  East  and  West  India  Dock  Company. 

DOCTORS'  COMMONS, 

A  COLLEGE  of  Doctors  of  Civil  Law,  and  for  the  study  and  practice  of  the  Civil 
Law,  is  situated  in  Great  Knight-rider-street,  south  of  St.  Paul's  Churchyard ;  in 
the  south-west  corner  of  which  is  an  arched  gateway,  and  within  it  the  Lodge  of 
Porters  to  direct  strangers  to  "the  Commons."  The  civilians  and  canonists  were 
originally  lodged  in  a  house,  subsequently  the  Queen's  Head  tavern,  in  Paternoster- 
row  ;  whence  they  removed  to  a  house  purchased  for  them  in  Elizabeth's  reign  by 
Dr.  Harvey,  Dean  of  the  Arches ;  here  they  "  were  living  (for  diet  and  lodging)  in  a 
collegiate  manner,  and  commoning  together,"  whence  the  college  was  named  Doctors' 
Commons :  and  the  doctors  still  dine  together  on  every  court-day.  This  house  was 
destroyed  by  the  Great  Fire  of  1666 ;  when  the  College  removed  to  Exeter  House, 
Strand,  till  the  rebuilding  of  the  edifice  in  Great  Knight-rider-street,  in  1672,  as  we 
now  see  it,  with  a  side  entrance  on  Benet's-hill,  nearly  opposite  Heralds'  College. 
The  buildings  are  of  brick,  and  consist  of  two  quadrangles,  chiefly  occupied  by  the 
Doctors;  a  hall  for  the  hearing  of  causes,  &c. 

In  Doctors'  Commons  are — the  Court  of  Arches,  named  from  having  been  formerly 
kept  in  Bow  Church,  Cheapside,  originally  built  upon  arches  {see  Chttbches,  p.  183), 
and  the  supreme  ecclesiastical  court  of  the  whole  province  ;  the  Probate  Court,  which 
has  supplanted  the  Prerogative  Court ;  the  Consistory  Court  of  the  Bishop  of  London ; 
and  the  High  Court  of  Admiralty  :  all  these  courts  hold,  or  held,  their  sittings  in  the 
College  Hall,  the  walls  of  which  above  the  wainscot  are  covered  with  the  richly- 
emblazoned  coats  of  arms  of  all  the  doctors  for  a  century  or  two  past. 

The  Court  of  Aeches  has  jurisdiction  over  thirteen  parishes  or  peculiars,  which  form 
a  deanery  exempt  from  the  Bishop  of  London,  and  attached  to  the  Archbishop  of 
Canterbury :  hence  the  judge  is  named  Bean  of  the  Arches.  The  business  included, 
in  Chaucer's  time,  and  down  nearly  to  the  present,  cases 

"  Of  defamation  and  avouterie, 
Of  church  reves  and  of  testaments, 
Of  contracts  and  lack  of  sacraments, 
Of  usury  and  simony  also;" 

beside   those  of  sacrilege,  blasphemy,  apostacy  from  Christianity,  adultery,  partial  or 
entire   divorce,   &c. ;    also,  brawling  and    smiting  in  churches   or  vestries :  but  the 


DOCTORS'   COMMONS.  313 

majority  of  cases  were  matrimonial,  and  all  these  are  now  transferred  to  the  Divorce 
Court,  and  Wills  to  the  Prohate  Court. 

The  Divorce  Cotjet,  established  by  the  20th  and  21st  Victorias,  cap.  85, 
whether  sitting  in  the  City  of  London  or  Westminster,  is  now  the  only  Court  of 
original  jurisdiction  for  the  trial  of  causes  matrimonial,  and  for  breaking  the  marriage 
tie.  There  may  be  from  this  court  an  appeal  to  the  House  of  Lords  in  decrees  of 
absolute  divorce ;  otherwise  the  House  of  Lords  only  hears  questions  of  divorce,  as 
one  of  the  members  of  the  Legislature,  which  has  to  pass  a  special  Act  of  Parliament 
to  effect  a  divorce. 

In  the  Prerogative  Court  Wills  (until  the  establishment  of  the  Court  of  Probate 
by  the  20th  and  21st  Victorias,  cap.  77)  were  proved,  and  all  administrations  granted, 
that  were  the  prerogative  of  the  Archbishop  of  Canterbury. 

There  are  several  Registries  in  Doctors'  Commons,  under  the  jurisdiction  of  the 
Archbishop  of  Canterbury  and  the  Bishops.  Some  of  the  very  old  documents  connected 
with  them  are  deposited  for  security  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  and  Lambeth  Palace.  At 
the  Bishop  of  London's  Registry,  and  the  Registry  for  the  Commission  of  Surrey, 
Wills  (until  the  20  and  21  Vict.,  cap.  77,  the  Probate  Act)  were  proved  for  the  respective 
dioceses,  and  Marriage  Licenses  are  granted.  At  the  Vicar-  General's  Office  and  the 
Faculty  Office,  Marriage  Licenses  are  granted  for  any  part  of  England.  The  Faculty 
Office  also  grant  Faculties  to  notaries  public,  and  dispensations  to  the  clergy ;  and  for- 
merly granted  privilege  to  eat  flesh  upon  prohibited  days.  At  the  Vicar- General's 
Office,  records  are  kept  of  the  confirmation  and  consecration  of  bishops. 

Marriage  Licenses,  special  and  general,  if  to  be  solemnized  according  to  the  laws  of  the  Established 
Church,  are  procured  upon  personal  application  to  a  proctor  by  one  of  the  parties :  a  residence  of  fifteen 
days  is  necessary  by  either  party  in  the  parish  or  district  where  the  marriage  is  to  be  performed.  The 
expense  of  an  ordinary  license  is  21. 12*.  6d. ;  but  if  either  is  a  minor,  10*.  6d.  further  charge ;  and  the 
party  appearing  swears  he  has  obtained  the  consent  of  the  proper  person  having  authority  in  law  to 
give  it :  there  is  no  necessity  for  either  parents  or  minor  to  attend.  A  Special  License  fcr  Marriage  is 
issued  after  a  fiat  or  consent  has  been  obtained  irom  the  archbishop ;  and  is  granted  only  to  persons  of 
rank,  judges,  and  Members  of  Parliament,  the  archbishop  having  ajight  to  exercise  his  own  discretion. 
The  expense  of  a  Special  License  is  usually  twenty-eight  guineas.  This  gives  privilege  to  marry  at  any 
time  or  place,  in  private  residence,  or  at  any  church  or  chapel  situate  in  England ;  but  the  ceremony 
must  be  performed  by  a  priest  in  holy  orders,  and  of  the  Established  Church.  With  the  marriages  of 
Dissenters,  including  Roman  Catholics,  Jews,  and  Quakers,  the  Commons  has  nothing  to  do,  their 
licenses  being  obtainable  of  the  Superintendent- Registrar.  A  Divorce  when  sought  was  carried  through 
one  of  the  courts  in  the  profession  (according  to  the  diocese),  and  was  conducted  by  a  proctor ;  the  evidence 
of  witnesses  was  taken  privately  before  an  examiner  of  the  court,  and  neither  the  husband,  wife,  nor  any 
of  the  witnesses  had  to  appear  personally  in  court.    This  is  now  all  altered  in  the  Divoecb  Coukt. 

The  High  Court  of  Admiralty  consists  of  the  Instance  Court  and  the  Prize  Court. 
The  Instance  Court  has  a  criminal  and  civil  jurisdiction:  to  the  former  belong  piracy 
and  other  indictable  offences  on  the  high  seas,  which  are  now  tried  at  the  Old  Bailey ; 
to  the  latter,  suits  arising  from  ships  running  foul  of  each  other,  disputes  about  sea- 
men's wages,  bottomry,  and  salvage.  The  Prize  Court  applies  to  naval  captures  in 
war,  proceeds  of  captured  slave-vessels,  &c.  A  silver  oar  is  carried  before  the  judge  as 
an  emblem  of  his  office.  The  business  is  very  onerous,  as  in  embargoes  and  the  pro- 
visional detention  of  vessels,  when  incautious  decision  might  involve  the  country  in 
war ;  the  right  of  search  is  another  weighty  question.  Lord  Stowell,  the  judge,  in  one 
year  (1806)  pronounced  2206  decrees.  The  Admiralty  Registry  is  in  Paul's  Bakehouse- 
court,  Doctors'  Commons,  where  are  kept  records  of  prizes  adjudicated.  The  practi- 
tioners in  this  Court  are  advocates  (DD.C.L.)  or  counsel,  and  proctors  or  solicitors. 
The  judge  and  advocates  wear  in  court,  if  of  Oxford,  scarlet  robes  and  hoods  lined  with 
taffety ;  and  if  of  Cambridge,  white  minever  and  round  black  velvet  caps.  The  proctors 
wear  black  robes  and  hoods  lined  with  fur. 

The  College  has  a  good  library  in  civil  law  and  history,  bequeathed  by  an  ancestor  of 
Sir  John  Gibson,  judge  of  the  Prerogative  Court;  and  every  bishop  at  his  consecration 
makes  a  present  of  books. 

The  Principal  Registry  of  the  Court  of  Prorate  is  a  most  interesting  esta- 
blishment. Wills  are  always  to  be  found  here,  and  generally  in  a  few  minutes.  They 
are  kept  in  a  fire-proof  "  strong-room."  The  original  Wills  begin  with  the  date  1483, 
and  the  copies  from  1383.  The  latter  are  on  parchment,  strongly  bound,  with  brass 
clasps,  and  fill  the  public-room  and  other  apartments.     The  searches  amount  to  an 


314  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

enormous  number  each  year.     Some  entries  of  early  wills,  engrossed  by  the  monks,  are 
beautifully  illuminated,  the  colours  remaining  fresh  to  this  day. 

To  obtain  Perusal  of  a  Will. — Having  obtained  a  shilling  probate  stamp,  apply,  on  entering  the 
office  at  the  first  small  box  or  recess  on  the  right  hand,  where  a  clerk,  on  receiving  the  stamp,  and  the 
surname  of  the  maker  of  the  Will  required,  directs  the  applicant  to  the  Calendars,  which  are  arranged 
chronologically  and  alphabetically  on  the  left-hand  side  of  the  room.  A  search  must  then  be  made 
through  these  volumes  for  the  entry  of  the  Will ;  which  being  found,  a  clerk  at  the  further  end  of  the 
room,  on  being  furnished  with  the  exact  title  and  date  of  the  Will,  ushers  the  inquirer  into  another 
apartment,  lit  by  a  skylight,  and  furnished  with  a  table  and  benches.  Here  two  clerks  are  seated;  and 
the  actual  Will  being  brought  to  the  inquirer,  he  may  inspect  it  at  his  leisure.  He  must  not,  however, 
copy  any  thing  from  it,  or  make  even  a  pencil  memorandum ;  and  if  he  attempt  to  do  so,  he  will  be  checked 
by  the  clerks. 

To  obtain  the  Copy  of  a  Will. — Apply  to  the  clerks  in  Ihe  room,  and  they  will  state  the  expense  per 
folio.  The  order  for  a  copy  must  be  left  at  the  box  at  the  entrance  of  the  office,  where  the  time  will  be 
named  for  the  delivery  of  the  copy  within  a  few  days,  on  payment  of  the  cost.  To  insure  correctness, 
the  copy  is  read  out  to  the  applicant  in  the  office,  and  compared  with  the  original  will ;  and  the  copy  is 
moreover  duly  attested  by  public  authority. 

If  the  applicant  merely  desires  to  see  the  copy  of  a  Will,  the  clerk  in  the  outer  room,  on  being  shown 
the  entry  in  the  Calendar,  will  refer  him  by  a  written  note  to  an  attendant,  who  will  at  once  bring  the 
copy  to  him ;  the  same  rules  against  copying  and  making  extracts  prevail  here  also. 

The  principal  Kegistry  of  Wills  is  open  daily  from  10  to  4. 

Within  the  last  five  years,  Wills,  up  to  the  year  1699,  have  been,  on  permission  obtained 
from  the  judge  of  the  Court  of  Probate,  allowed  to  be  inspected  or  copied  for  literary 
or  historical  purposes.  Under  this  privilege,  a  volume  of  Wills  has  been  published 
by  the  Camden  Society. 

The  Wills  of  celebrated  persons  are  the  Curiosities  of  the  place.  Here  is  the  Will  of 
Shakspeare,  on  three  folios  of  paper,  each  with  his  signature,  and  with  this  interlinea- 
tion in  his  own  handwriting :  a  I  give  unto  my  wife  my  brown  best  bed,  with  the 
furniture."  Shakspeare's  Will,  which  consists  of  three  sheets  of  brief-paper,  has  been 
carefully  cleaned,  and  each  sheet  has  been  placed  in  a  polished  oak  frame,  between 
sheets  of  plate  glass.  The  frames  are  made  air-tight,  and  on  the  top  of  each  is  a  brass 
plate,  engraved,  "  Shakspeare's  Will,  March  25,  1616,"  and  each  one  is  fastened  with 
a  patent  lock.  Next  is  the  Will  of  Milton,  a  nuncupative  one,  the  great  poet  being 
blind;  but  which  was  set  aside  by  a  decree  of  Sir  Leoline  Jenkins,  the  judge  of  the 
Prerogative  Court.  The  Will  of  Edmund  Burke  is  here,  leaving  nearly  every  thing  he 
had  in  the  world  to  his  "  entirely  beloved,  faithful,  and  affectionate  wife."  .  The  Will 
of  Napoleon  I.,  deposited  here,  has  been  surrendered  on  the  application  of  his  nephew, 
the  Emperor  Napoleon  1IL 

DOMESDA  Y-BOOK. 

THE  Register  of  the  lands  of  England,  framed  by  order  of  William  the  Conqueror, 
the  earliest  English  record,  and  "  not  only  the  most  ancient,  but  beyond  dispute 
the  most  noble  monument  of  the  whole  of  Britain"  (Spelman),  is  preserved  to  this 
day  in  its  pristine  freshness,  fair  and  legible  as  when  first  written.  It  is  comprised  in 
two  volumes — one  a  large  folio,  the  other  a  quarto.  The  first  is  written  on  382  double 
pages  of  vellum,  in  one  and  the  same  hand,  in  a  small  but  plain  character,  each  page 
having  a  double  column.  Some  of  the  capital  letters  and  principal  passages  are  touched 
with  red  ink,  and  others  are  crossed  with  lines  of  red  ink.  The  second  volume,  in 
quarto,  is  written  in  450  pages  of  vellum,  but  in  a  single  column,  and  in  a  large  fair 
character.  At  the  end  of  the  second  volume  is  the  following  memorial,  in  capital 
letters,  of  the  time  of  its  completion :  "  Anno  Millesimo  Octogesimo  Sexto  ab  Incarna- 
tione  Domini,  vigesimo  vero  regni  Willielmi,  facta  est  ista  Descriptio,  non  solum  per 
hos  tres  Comitatus,  sed  etiam  per  alios."  From  internal  evidence,  the  same  year,  1086, 
is  assignable  as  the  date  of  the  first  volume. 

Although  in  early  times  Domesday,  precious  as  it  was  always  deemed,  occasionally 
travelled,  like  other  records,  to  distant  parts,  till  1696  it  was  usually  kept  with  the 
King's  Seal  at  Westminster,  by  the  side  of  the  Tally  Court,  in  the  Exchequer,  under 
three  locks  and  keys ;  in  the  charge  of  the  auditors,  the  chamberlains,  and  deputy- 
chamberlains,  of  the  Exchequer.  In  1696  it  was  deposited  among  other  valuable 
records  in  the  Chapter  House,  where  it  long  remained,  and  was  kept  "  in  the  vaulted  porch 
never  warmed  by  fire.  From  the  first  deposit  of  Domesday  volume  in  the  Treasury  at 
Winchester,  in  the  reign  of  the  Conqueror,  it  certainly  never  felt  or  saw  a  fire,  yet 
every  page  of  the  vellum  is  bright,  sound,  and  perfect."  (Sir  F.  Palgrave.)    In  making 


DRURY-LANE.  315 


searches  or  transcript,  you  are  not  nllowed  to  touch  the  text,  a  rule  which  has  beeu 
kept  from  time  immemorial,  and  to  which  the  excellent  condition  of  the  record  may  be 
partly  ascribed. 

It  is  a  remarkable  fact  that  Domesday- Book,  which  is  usually  so  minute  in  regard  to 
our  principal  towns  and  cities,  is  deficient  in  respect  to  London.  It  only  mentions  a 
vineyard  in  Holborn  belonging  to  the  Crown ;  and  ten  acres  of  land  near  Bishopsgate, 
belonging  to  the  Dean  and  Chapter  of  St.  Paul's :  yet  certainly,  observes  Sir  Henry 
Ellis,  in  his  Introduction  to  Domesday,  no  mutilation  of  the  manuscript  has  taken 
place ;  since  the  account  of  Middlesex  is  entire,  and  is  exactly  coincident  with  the 
abridged  copy  of  the  Survey  taken  at  the  time,  and  now  lodged  in  the  office  of  the 
King's  Remembrancer  in  the  Exchequer.  Still,  a  distinct  and  independent  survey  of 
the  City  itself  might  have  been  made  at  the  time  of  the  general  Survey,  although  now 
lost  or  destroyed,  if  not  remaining  among  the  unexplored  archives  of  the  Crown. 

The  parish  of  St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields  possesses  a  Book  of  Record,  called  Domesday- 
Book,  which  is  of  vellum,  and  was  made  in  1624,  by  direction  of  the  then  Bishop  of 
London,  as  a  perpetual  parish  record ;  entitled  "  Treasure  deposited  in  Heaven,  or  the 
Book  of  God's  House ;  of  things  worthy  to  be  remembered  in  this  parish  of  St.  Giles- 
in-the-Fields,  and  in  the  first  place  of  the  church  now  lately  restored,  some  account." 

DRURY-LANE, 

IN  Aggas's  plans,  of  about  1570  and  1584,  Drury-lane  is  represented  at  the  north 
end,  as  containing  a  cluster  of  farm  and  other  houses,  a  cottage,  and  a  blacksmith's 
shop ;  and  the  lane  in  continuity  to  Drury -place  forms  a  separation  from  the  fields  by 
embankments  of  earth,  something  like  those  of  Maiden-lane,  Battle-bridge.  It  was,  in 
fact,  a  country-road  to  Drury-place,  the  Strand,  and  its  vicinity.  A  low  public-house, 
bearing  the  sign  of  the  "  Cock  and  Pye,"  two  centuries  ago,  was  almost  the  only  house 
in  the  eastern  part  of  Drury-lane,  except  the  mansion  of  the  Druries. 

The  Lane  extends  from  the  north  side  of  the  Strand  to  Broad-street,  Bloomsbury, 
and  was  originally  in  the  "Via  de  Aldwych,"  still  preserved  in  Wych-street.  At  this 
end  was  the  mansion  of  the  Druries,  wherein  Dr.  Donne  had  apartments  assigned  him 
by  Sir  Robert  Drury;  and  here,  in  1612,  Mrs.  Donne  died  of  childbirth,  at  the  same 
day  and  hour  that  Dr.  Donne,  then  at  Paris,  saw  her  in  a  vision  pass  twice  before 
him,  "  with  her  hair  hanging  about  her  shoulders,  and  a  dead  child  in  her  anns." 
William  Lord  Craven,  the  hero  of  Creutznach,  became  the  next  owner  of  Drury 
House,  which  he  rebuilt  in  four  stories — a  large  square  pile  of  brick,  afterwards  called 
Craven  House,  where  the  Earl  died  in  1697.  This  mansion  was  taken  down  in  1803, 
and  the  ground  purchased  by  Philip  Astley  for  the  site  of  his  Olympic  Pavilkm.  In 
its  latter  time,  the  Craven  mansion  was  a  public-house  with  the  sign  of  **  The  Queen 
of  Bohemia" — a  reminiscence  of  its  former  occupancy  by  the  daughter  of  James  I., 
through  whom  the  family  of  Brunswick  succeeded  to  the  throne  of  England,  and  who  is 
suspected  to  have  been  secretly  married  to  her  heroic  champion,  Lord  Craven.  Craven- 
buildings,  erected  in  1723,  occupy  a  portion  of  the  grounds  of  Craven  House. 

On  the  end  wall  of  Craven-buildings  was  formerly  a  fresco  portrait  of  Earl  Craven  in  armour,  with  a 
truncheon  iu  his  hand,  and  mounted  on  his  white  charger ;  on  each  side  was  an  earl's  and  a  baron's 
coronet,  and  the  letters  "  W.  C."  This  portrait  was  twice  or  thrice  repainted  in  oil,  the  last  time  by 
Edward  Edwards,  A.R.A.  (Brayley's  Londiniana,  vol.  iv.  p.  301.)  Hayman,  the  painter,  once  lived  in 
Craven-buildings ;  Mrs.  Bracegirdle,  the  actress,  had  here  a  house,  afterwards  tenanted  by  the  equally 
celebrated  Mrs.  Pritchard;  and  in  the  back  parlour  of  No.  17,  Dr.  Arne  composed  the  music  of  Comut. 

The  Cock  and  Pye  public-house  (opposite  Craven-buildings)  above  mentioned,  still 
remains,  and  is  now  a  book-shop.  Next  door  is  one  of  the  few  panelled  houses  exist- 
ing ;  and  the  east  side  of  Drury -court,  facing  the  church  of  St.  Mary-le-Straud,  is  a 
range  of  old  houses,  apparently  contemporary  with  the  Cock  and  Pye,  or  probably  two 
centuries  and  a  half  old.  Wych-street,  which  runs  at  an  obtuse  angle  with  this  pas- 
sage, likewise  contains  some  houses  of  considerable  antiquity. — Archer's  Vestiges,  part  v. 

In  the  Coal-yard,  at  the  Holborn  end  of  Drury-lane,  was  born  Nell  Gwynne  j  and  in 
Maypole-alley  (now  Drury-court)  she  lodged  when  Pepys  saw  her  looking  at  the 
dance  around  the  Strand  Maypole: — 

"  1  st  May,  1667.  To  Westminster,  in  the  way  meeting  many  milkmaids  with  their  garlands  upon  their 
pails,  dancing  with  a  fiddler  before  them ;  and  saw  pretty  Nelly  standing  at  her  lodging-door,  in  Drury- 
lane,  in  her  smock-sleeves  and  bodice,  looking  upon  one :  she  seemed  a  mighty  pretty  creature." 


316  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDOX. 

Drury-lane  was  nobly  tenanted  till  late  in  the  seventeenth  century ;  but  a  paper  by 
Steele  in  the  Tatler,  No.  46,  represents  the  lane  in  its  decline;  and  Gay's  propitiatory 
lines— 

"  Oh,  may  thy  virtue  guard  thee  throuprh  the  roads 
Of  Drury's  mazy  courts  and  dark  abodes !" 

are  almost  as  applicable  now  as  at  the  day  they  were  written  :  Hogarth  hns  made  it 
the  locality  of  the  "  Harlot's  Progress."  Pitt-place  (above  Princes-street)  was  the  site 
of  the  Cock-pit,  the  first  Drury-lane  Theatre.     (See  Theatres.) 

EARTHQUAKES  IN  LONDON. 

FROM  Mr.  Milne's  elaborate  Register  of  Earthquakes  in  Great  Britain,*  the  most 
complete  record  of  its  class,  we  select  the  majority  of  the  following  details  of 
shocks  felt  in  the  metropolis : — 

1692,  September  8,  London  and  Flanders. 

1750,  February  8,  London  and  Westminster.  Motion  of  ground  from  "W.  to  E. 
Several  chimneys  thrown  down  and  walls  rent.  A  shepherd  at  Kensington  heard  the 
noise  rush  past  him,  and  instantly  he  saw  the  ground,  a  dry  and  solid  spot,  wave  under 
him  like  the  face  of  the  river ;  the  tall  trees  of  the  avenue  where  he  was  nodded  their 
tops  very  sensibly,  and  quivered. — Philos.  Trans,  vol.  xlvi. 

1750,  February  8,  between  12  and  1  p.m.,  all  over  Westminster.  "  Stacks  of  heavy 
chimneys  were  dislodged,  and  the  Thames  became  greatly  agitated.  The  barristers 
were  greatly  alarmed,  for  they  thought  that  Westminster  Hall  was  falling  down." — 
Walcott's  Westminster,  p.  22. 

1750,  March  8.  Motion  from  E.  to  W. ;  houses  near  the  Thames  were  most  shaken. 
Near  London  there  was  a  continued  and  confused  lightning  till  within  a  minute  or  two 
of  the  shock  ;  dogs  howled,  fish  jumped  three  feet  out  of  water;  sound  in  air  preceded 
concussions ;  flashes  of  lightning  and  a  ball  of  fire  were  seen  just  before  explosion. 
The  President  of  the  Royal  Society  (Martin  Folkes)  stated  that  he  did  not  on  this 
occasion  perceive  that  lifting  motion  which  he  was  sensible  of  on  8th  February,  but 
he  felt  very  quick  shakes  or  tremors  horizontally.  A  boatman  on  the  Thames  felt  his 
boat  receive  a  blow  at  the  bottom,  and  the  whole  river  seemed  agitated.  The  Rev.  Mr. 
Pickering  stated  that  he  was  lying  awake  in  his  bed,  which  stood  N.  and  S.  He  first 
"  heard  a  sound  like  that  of  a  blast  of  wind.  I  then  perceived  myself  raised  in  my  bed, 
and  the  motion  began  on  my  right  side,  and  inclined  me  towards  the  left."  In  the 
Temple  Gardens,  the  noise  in  the  air  was  greater  than  the  loudest  report  of  cannon. 
At  the  same  instant,  the  buildings  inclined  over  from  the  perpendicular  several  degrees. 
The  general  impression  was,  that  the  whole  city  was  violently  pushed  to  S.E.,  and  then 
brouglijt  back  again.  The  sound  preceded  the  concussions,  resembling  the  discharge  of 
several  cannon,  or  distant  thunder  in  the  air,  and  not  a  subterranean  explosion. 
Flashes  of  lightning  were  observed  an  hour  (before  ?)  and  a  vast  ball  of  fire.  At 
Kensington,  the  bailiff  of  Mr.  Fox,  at  a  quarter  past  five  a.m.,  heard  (when  in  the  open 
air)  a  noise  much  like  thunder  at  a  distance,  which,  coming  from  N.W.,  grew  louder, 
and  gave  a  crack  over  his  head,  and  then  gradually  died  away.  The  sky  was  clear, 
and  he  saw  no  fire  or  appearances  of  lightning.  Immediately  after  the  crack,  the 
ground  shook,  and  it  moved  like  a  quagmire.  The  whole  lasted  a  minute. — Philo- 
sophical Transactions,  vol.  xlvi. 

"  At  half-past  five  a.m.  the  whole  city  of  Westminster  was  alarmed  by  another  shock  more  severe 
than  the  former  (Feb.  8),  accompanied  by  a  hollow  rumbling  noise;  and  numbers  of  people  were 
awakened  in  amazement  and  fear  from  their  sleep.  Great  stones  were  thrown  from  the  '  new  spire '  of 
Westminster  Abbey,  and  fish  jumped  half  a  yard  above  the  water;  and  in  several  steeples  the  bells  were 
struck  by  chime-hammers.  An  impostor  pretended  to  foretel  an  earthquake  on  a  particular  day,  which 
would  lay  Westminster  in  ruins ;  and  when  the  appointed  time  arrived,  the  people  ran  out  in  crowds 
into  the  country  to  escape  such  a  terrible  catastrophe.  The  churches  could  scarcely  contain  the  throngs 
of  worshippers.  The  pulpits  and  public  prints  were  employed  in  deprecating  God's  wrath  and  calling 
a  degenerate  people  to  repentance.  But,  unhappily,  it  was  a  devotion  as  shortlived  only  as  their  fear." 
— Walcott's  Westminster,  p.  22. 

Horace  Walpole  writes  to  Sir  Horace  Mann,  March  11, 1750 : — "  In  the  night,  between  Wednesday 
and  Thursday  last  (exactly  a  month  since  the  first  shock),  the  earth  had  a  shivering  fit  between  one  and 
two;  but  so  slight,  that  if  no  more  had  followed,  1  don't  believe  it  would  have  been  noticed.  I  had 
been  awake,  and  had  scarce  dozed  again,  when  on  a  sudden  I  felt  my  bolster  lilt  up  my  head ;  I  thought 
somebody  was  getting  from  under  my  bed,  but  soon  found  it  was  a  strong  earthquake,  that  lasted  near 

*  Notices  of  Earthquake  Shocks  felt  in  Great  Britain.  By  David  Milne,  Esq.,  F.E.S.E.,  M.W.S. 
F.G.S.,  &c.    Communicated  to  Jameson's  Journal,  No.  61. 


EASTCHEAP.  317 


half  a  minute,  with  a  violent  vibration  and  great  roaring.  I  rang  ray  bell,  my  servant  came  in  frightened 
out  of  his  senses :  in  an  instant  we  heard  all  the  windows  in  the  neighbourhood  flung  up.  I  got  up, 
and  found  people  running  into  the  streets,  but  saw  no  mischief  done ;  there  has  been  some — two  old 
houses  flung  down,  several  chimneys,  and  much  china-ware.  The  bells  rung  in  several  houses.  Admiral 
Knowles,  who  had  lived  long  in  Jamaica,  and  felt  seven  there,  says  this  was  more  violent  than  any  of 
them.  Francesco  prefers  it  to  the  dreadful  one  at  Leghorn.  *  *  *  It  has  nowhere  reached  above 
ten  miles  from  London.  The  only  visible  effect  it  has  had  was  on  the  Eidotto,  at  which,  being  the  fol- 
lowing night,  there  were  but  400  people.  A  parson  who  came  into  White's  the  morning  of  earthquake 
the  first,  and  heard  bets  laid  on  whether  it  was  an  earthquake  or  the  blowing  up  of  powder-mills, 
went  away  exceedingly  scandalized,  and  said, '  I  protest  they  are  such  an  impious  set  of  people,  that  I 
believe  if  the  last  trumpet  was  to  sound,  they  would  bet  puppet-show  against  Judgment.' " 

1756,  February  8.     About  8  A.M.,  a  shock  felt  at  Dover  and  London. 

1761,  February  8.  A  shock  most  sensibly  felt  along  the  banks  of  the  Thames 
from  Greenwich  near  to  Richmond.  At  Limehouse  and  Poplar,  chimneys  were  thrown 
down ;  and  in  several  parts  of  London,  the  furniture  was  shaken,  and  the  pewter  fell 
to  the  ground  :  at  Hampstead  and  Highgate,  it  was  also  very  perceptible. 

1761,  March  8.  A  more  violent  shock,  between  five  and  six  a.m.,  the  air  being 
very  warm,  and  the  atmosphere  clear  and  serene ;  though,  till  within  a  few  minutes 
preceding,  there  had  been  strong  but  confused  lightning  in  quick  succession.  The 
violence  of  the  motion  caused  many  persons  to  start  from  their  beds  and  flee  to  the 
street,  under  the  impression  that  their  houses  were  falling.  In  St.  James's  Park,  and 
in  the  squares  and  open  places  about  the  West-end  of  the  town,  the  tremulous  vibration 
of  the  earth  was  most  distinguishable ;  it  seemed  to  move  in  a  south  and  north 
direction,  with  a  quick  return  towards  the  centre,  and  was  accompanied  with  a  loud 
noise  as  of  rushing  wind. 

A  crazy  life-guardsman  predicted  a  third  earthquake  within  a  month  from  the 
above,  and  drove  thousands  of  persons  from  the  metropolis  j  whilst  another  wight 
advertised  pills  "  good  against  earthquakes." 

In  1842,  an  absurd  report  gained  credence  among  the  weak-minded,  that  London 
would  be  destroyed  by  earthquake  on  the  17th  of  March,  St.  Patrick's  Day.  This 
rumour  was  founded  on  certain  doggerel  prophecies  :  one  pretended  to  be  pronounced  in 
the  year  1203,  and  contained  in  the  Harleian  Collection  (British  Museum),  800  b.  folio 
319  ;  the  other  by  Dr.  Dee,  the  astrologer  (1598,  MS.  in  the  British  Museum).  The 
rhymes,  with  these  "authorities,"  inserted  in  the  newspapers,  actually  excited  some  alarm, 
and  a  great  number  of  timid  persons  left  the  metropolis  before  the  17th.  Upon  re- 
ference to  the  British  Museum,  the  "  prophecies  "  were  not,  however,  to  be  found ;  and 
their  forger  has  confessed  them  to  have  been  an  experiment  upon  public  credulity. 

In  1863,  Oct.  6,  the  centre  and  western  parts  of  England  were  shaken ;  and  in  London 
and  the  suburbs  the  shock  was  slightly  felt. 

EASTCHEAP. 

THIS  ancient  thoroughfare  originally  extended  from  Tower-street  westward  to  the 
south  end  of  Clement's-lane,  where  Cannon-street  begins.  It  was  the  Eastern 
Cheap  or  Market,  as  distinguished  from  West  Cheap,  now  Cheapside  ;  and  was  crossed 
by  Fish-street-hill,  the  eastern  portion  being  Little  Eastcheap  (now  Eastcheap),  and  the 
western  Great  Eastcheap :  the  latter,  with  St.  Michael's  Church,  Crooked-lane,  dis- 
appeared in  the  formation  of  the  new  London  Bridge  approaches. 

Mr.  Kempe,  F.S.A.,  considers  Eastcheap  to  have  been  the  principal  or  Praetorian 
gate  of  the  Roman  garrison,  leading  into  the  Roman  Forum  j  and  in  1831  there  were 
found  here  a  Roman  roadway,  two  wells,  the  architrave  of  a  Roman  Building,  &c. ;  in 
Miles-lane,  a'  piece  of  the  Roman  wall,  cinerary  urns,  coins  of  Claudius  and  Vespasian ; 
and  in  Bush-lane,  remains  of  the  Prsetorium  itself,  in  fragments  of  brick,  with  inscriptions 
designating  them  as  formed  under  the  Prsetorsbip  of  Agricola. — Gent.  Mag.  March,  1842. 

Eastcheap  was  next  the  Saxon  Market,  celebrated  from  the  time  of  Fitzstephen  to 

the  days  of  Lydgate  for  the  provisions  sold  there : 

"  Then  I  hyed  me  into  Est-Chcpe, 
One  cryes  ribbes  of  befe  and  many  a  pye : 
Pewter  pottes  they  clattered  on  a  heape." — London  Lyckpenny. 

In  Great  Eastcheap  was  the  Boar's  Head  Tavern,  first  mentioned  temp.  Richard  II. ; 

the    scene   of  the  revels   of  Falstaff  and    Henry   V.,  when   Prince  of   Wales,   in 

Shakspeare's  Henry  IV.,  Part  2.     Stow  relates  a  riot  in  "  the  cooks'  dwellings  "  here 

on  St.  John's  Eve,  1410,  by  Princes  John  and  Thomas,  for  unceremoniously  quelling 


318  •  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

which  the  mayor,  aldermen,  and  sheriffs  were  cited  before  Chief  Justice  Gascoigne, 
but  discharged  honourably,  the  king  reproving  his  own  sons.  The  tavern  was  destroyed 
in  the  Great  Fire,  but  was  rebuilt  within  two  years,  as  attested  by  a  boar's  head 
cut  in  stone,  with  the  initials  of  the  landlord,  I.  T.,  and  the  date  1668,  above  the  first- 
floor  window.  This  sign-stone  is  now  in  the  Guildhall  library.  The  house  stood 
between  Small-alley  and  St.  Michael's-lane,  and  in  the  rear  looked  upon  St.  Michael's 
churchyard,  where  was  buried  a  drawer,  or  waiter,  at  the  tavern,  d.  1720 :  in  the 
church  was  interred  John  Rhodoway,  "  Vintner  at  the  Bore's  Head,"  1623. 

Maitland,  in  1739,  mentions  the  Boar's  Head,  with  "  This  is  the  chief  tavern  in 
London  "  under  the  sign.  Goldsmith  (Essays),  Boswell  (Life  of  Dr.  Johnson),  and 
Washington  Irving  (Sketch-book),  have  idealized  the  house  as  the  identical  place 
which  Falstaff  frequented,  forgetting  its  destruction  in  the  Great  Fire.  The  site  of 
the  Boar's  Head  is  very  nearly  that  of  the  statue  of  King  William  IV. 

In  1834,  Mr.  Kempe,  F.S.A.,  exhibited  to  the  Society  of  Antiquaries  a  carved  oak  figure  of  Sir  John 
Falstaff,  in  the  costume  of  the  sixteenth  century.  It  supported  an  ornamental  bracket  over  one  side 
of  the  door  of  the  Boar's  Head,  a  figure  of  Prince  Henry  sustaining  that  on  the  other.  The  Falstaff 
was  the  property  of  Mr.  Thomas  Shelton,  brazier,  Great  Fastcheap,  whose  ancestors  had  lived  in  the 
shop  he  then  occupied  ever  since  the  Great  Fire.  He  well  remembered  the  last  Grand  Shakspearean 
Dinner-party  at  the  Boar's  Head,  about  1784.  A  boar's  bead  with  silver  tusks,  which  had  been  sus- 
pended in  some  room  in  the  tavern,  perhaps  the  Half- Moon  or  Pomegranate  (see  Henry  IV.,  act  ii.  sc.  4), 
at  the  Great  Fire  fell  down  with  the  ruins  of  the  house,  and  was  conveyed  to  Whitechapel  Mount, 
where,  many  years  after,  it  was  recovered  and  identified  with  its  former  locality.  At  a  public-house, 
No.  12,  Miles-lane,  was  long  preserved  a  tobacco-box  with  a  painting  of  the  original  Boar's  Head  Tavern 
on  the  lid. 

HAST  INDIA  HOUSE, 

OR  the  House  of  the  East  India  Company,  "  the  most  celebrated  commercial  Associa- 
tion of  ancient  or  modern  times,  and  which  has  extended  its  sway  over  the 
whole  of  the  Mogul  Empire,"  was  situated  on  the  south  side  of  Leadenhall-street,  and 
was  taken  down  in  1862. 

The  tradition  of  the  House  is,  that  the  Company,  incorporated  December  31,  1600, 
first  transacted  their  business  in  the  great  room  of  the  Nag's  Head  Inn,  opposite  St. 
Botolph's  Church,  Bishopsgate-street.  The  maps  of  London,  soon  after  the  Great  Fire, 
place  the  India  House  on  a  part  of  its  late  site  in  Leadenhall-street.  Here  originally 
stood  the  mansion  of  Alderman  Kerton,  built  in  the  reign  of  Edward  VI.,  rebuilt  on  the 
accession  of  Elizabeth,  enlarged  by  its  next  purchaser,  Sir  William  Craven,  lord  mayor 
in  1610  :  here  was  born  the  great  Lord  Craven,  who  in  1701  leased  his  house  and  a 
tenement  in  Lime-street  to  the  Company,  at  100/.  a-year.  A  scarce  Dutch  etching  in 
the  British  Museum  shows  this  house  to  have  been  half-timbered,  its  lofty  gable  sur- 
mounted with  two  dolphins  and  a  figure  of  a  mariner,  or,  as  some  say,  of  the  first 
Governor ;  beneath  are  merchant-ships  at  sea,  the  Royal  arms,  and  those  of  the  Com- 
pany. This  grotesque  strncture  was  taken  down  in  1726,  and  upon  its  site  was  erected 
"the  old  East  India  House,"  to  which,  in  1799  and  1800,  was  built  a  handsome  stone 
front,  200  feet  long,  by  Jupp,  and  other  enlargements  by  Cockerell,  R.A.,  and 
Wilkins,  R.A.  It  had  a  hexastyle  Ionic  portico  of  six  fluted  columns,  from  the  ancient 
temple  of  Apollo  Didymajus,  and  in  the  tympanum  of  the  pediment  were  sculptured 
by  Bacon,  jun.,  figures  emblematic  of  the  commerce  of  the  East,  shielded  by  George  III. : 
on  the  upper  acroterium  was  a  statue  of  Britannia ;  and  on  the  two  lower,  a  figure  of 
Europe  on  a  horse,  and  Asia  on  a  camel. 

The  interior  contained  many  fine  statues  and  pictures.  The  new  Sale-room  approached 
in  interest  the  Rotunda  of  the  Bank  of  England.  The  Court-room  (Directors')  was  an 
exact  cube  of  30  feet ;  was  richly  gilt,  and  was  hung  with  six  pictures  of  the  Cape, 
St.  Helena,  and  Tellicherry :  and  over  the  chimney  was  a  large  marble  group  of  figures, 
supported  by  caryatides.  The  general  Court-room  (Proprietors')  had  in  niches  statues 
of  Lord  Clive,  Warren  Hastings,  the  Marquis  Cornwallis,  Sir  Eyre  Coote,  General 
Lawrance,  Sir  George  Pococke,  and  the  Marquis  Wellesley.  The  Finance  and  Home 
Committee-room  had  one  wall  entirely  occupied  by  a  picture  of  the  grant  of  the 
Dewanee  to  the  Company  in  1765,  the  foundation  of  the  British  power  in  India :  here 
also  were  portraits  of  Warren  Hastings  and  the  Marquis  Cornwallis;  Mirza  Abul 
Hassan,  the  Persian  envoy  to  London  in  1809,  &c.     The  Library  contained,  perhaps, 


EGYPTIAN  HALL,  PICCADILLY.  310 


the  most  splendid  assemblage  of  Oriental  MSS.  in  Europe,  many  with  illuminated  draw- 
ings; Tippoo  Sultan's  Register  of  Dreams  (with  interpretations),  and  his  Koran;  a 
large  collection  of  Chinese  printed  hooks ;  and  a  M.S.  Sanscrit  tract  on  the  Astrolabe, 
of  which  Chaucer's  celebrated  treatise  is  a  literal  translation,  though  the  poet  may  have 
translated  it  from  an  Arabic  or  a  Latin  version. 

The  auction  sale  of  the  materials  of  the  India  House  occupied  five  days ;  the  most  valuable  of  the 
contents  having  been  transferred  to  the  temporary  quarters  of  the  Indian  Government,  in  Victoria-street, 
Westminster.  There  were  15,000  feet  of  York  and  Portland  paving;  4000  feet  run  of  Portland  coping, 
stone  sills,  stringing,  cornice,  and  other  stonework ;  2000  feet  of  sheet  copper,  200  tons  of  lead  on  the 
roofs,  2000  squares  of  flooring  boards ;  1700  doors  of  all  kinds,  including  some  of  solid  mahogany ;  and 
an  immense  variety  of  other  materials,  covering  an  acre  and  a  half  of  ground.  The  Museum,  with 
elegantly  slender,  moulded,  and  decorated  columns,  supporting  the  interior  of  an  arcaded  quadrangle, 
surmounted  by  an  ornamental  domed  lantern,  and  paved  in  mosaic  work,  was  a  beautiful  example  of 
Moorish  and  Indian  architecture,  erected  about  three  years  previously  from  the  designs  of  Digby  Wyatt : 
it  cost  several  thousand  pounds,  and  was  sold  for  79/. 10«.  The  site  was  subsequently  sold  for  155,000/., 
at  the  rate  of  something  more  than  100,000/.  per  acre;  10,000/.  per  acre  more  than  was  given  for  the 
site  of  Gresham  House.  Hereupon  has  been  erected  a  vast  collection  of  Chambers,  principal  front  300 
feet  long;  E.  N.  Clifton,  architect :  the  structure  is  a  very  fine  piece  of  Italian  street  architecture. 

In  clearing  the  site  were  found  the  remains  of  a  Roman  house,  at  a  considerable 
depth ;  opposite  tbe  East  India  House  portico,  in  1803,  was  found  the  most  magnificent 
Soman  tesselated  pavement  yet  discovered  in  London. 

It  lay  at  only  9 \  feet  below  the  street,  but  a  third  side  had  been  cut  away  for  a  sewer ;  it  appeared 
to  have  been  the  floor  of  a  room  more  than  twenty  feet  square.  In  the  centre  was  Bacchus  upon  a  tiger, 
encircled  with  three  borders  (inflexions  of  serpents,  cornucopia?,  and  squares  diagonally  concave),  and 
drinking-cups  and  plants  at  the  angles.  Surrounding  the  whole  was  a  square  border  of  a  bandeau  of 
oak,  and  lozenge  figures  and  true-lovers'  knots,  and  a  five-feet  outer  margin  of  plain  red  tiles.  The 
pavement  was  broken  in  taking  up,  but  the  pieces  are  preserved  in  the  library  of  the  East  India  Com- 
pany ;  a  fragment  of  an  urn  and  a. jaw-bone  were  found  beneath  one  corner.  "In  this  beautiful  speci- 
men of  Roman  mosaic,"  says  Mr.  Fisher,  who  published  a  coloured  print  of  it, "  the  drawing,  colouring, 
and  shadows  are  all  effected  by  about  twenty  separate  tints,  composed  of  tessella;  of  different  materials, 
the  major  part  of  which  are  baked  earths ;  but  the  more  brilliant  colours  of  green  and  purple,  which 
form  the  drapery,  are  of  glass.  These  tessellae  are  of  different  sizes  and  figures,  adapted  to  the  situations 
they  occupy  in  the  design." 

Mr.  W.  H.  Black,  F.S.A.,  accounts  for  various  discoveries  of  tessellated  pavement 
and  other  remains  in  the  neighbourhood  of  Leadenhall-street,  by  these  places  being 
outside  Walbrook,  the  eastern  boundary  of  what  Mr.  Black  regards  as  Roman  London. 
He  contends  that  these  remains,  in  all  probability,  belong  to  the  villas  of  Roman 
citizens,  in  what,  until  the  time  of  Constantino,  were  the  suburbs  of  the  City. — Proc. 
Soc.  Antiq.,  1864. 

The  East  India  Company  became  an  exclusively  political  institution;  the  Act  3  &  4  Will.  IV.,  pro- 
longing the  charter  till  1854,  debarring  the  Company  from  the  privilege  of  trading.  Before  this  reduc- 
tion, nearly  400  men  were  employed  in  the  warehouses,  and  the  number  of  clerks  was  above  400.  The 
fifteen  warehouses  often  contained  50,000,000  lbs.  (above  22,000  tons)  of  tea :  and  1,200,000  lbs.  have 
been  sold  in  one  day.  (In  1668,  the  Company  ordered  "  one  hundred  pounds  weight  of  good  teye  "  to  be 
sent  home  on  speculation!)  The  clerks'  business  was  very  heavy:  from  1793  to  1813,  the  explanatory 
matter  from  the  Indian  Government  filled  9094  large  folio  volumes ;  and  from  that  year  to  1829, 14,414 ; 
and  a  military  despatch  has  been  accompanied  with  199  papers,  containing  13,511  pages.  In  1826,  the 
patronage  of  each  East  India  Director  for  the  year  was  estimated  at  20,000/.  sterling. 

The  twenty-four  Directors  received  300J.  each,  and  500/.  for  their  "  chairs,"  being  a 
charge  on  the  Hindoos  of  7700/.  per  annum.  Except  a  few  satrapies,  cadies,  high- 
priests,  and  teachers  of  hosts,  the  directors  exercised  the  whole  patronage  of  nomination 
to  Indian  office,  civil,  military,  and  clerical.  Hoole,  the  translator  of  Tasso ;  Charles 
Lamb,  the  author  of  Elia ;  and  James  Mill,  the  historian  of  British  India,  were  clerks 
in  the  East  India  House.  "  My  printed  works,"  said  Lamb,  "  were  my  recreations— my 
true  works  may  be  found  on  the  shelves  in  Leadenhall-street,  rilling  some  hundred 
folios." 

The  Company's  Museum  has  been  removed  to  Fife  House,  Whitehall.  (See  Mu- 
seums, &c.) 

EGYPTIAN  HALL,  PICCADILLY. 

THIS  edifice,  and  a  smaller  structure  in  Welbeck-street,  are,  in  single  features  and 
details,  the  only  specimens  of  Egyptian  architecture  in  London.  The  latter  was, 
as  originally  erected,  the  most  correct  in  character,  but  has  since  been  almost  spoiled. 
The  Hall  in  Piccadilly  conforms  to  the  style  in  the  columns  and  general  outline,  as 
indicated  by  the  inclined  torus-moulding  at  the  extremity  of  the  front,  the  cornice,  &c. ; 


320  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

though  the  composition  itself  is  at  variance  with  the  principles  of  genuine  Egyptian 
architecture,  the  front  heing  divided  into  two  floors,  with  wide  instead  of  narrow- 
windows  to  both.  The  details  are  mostly  from  the  great  temple  of  Tentyra,  with  the 
scarabseus,  winged  mundus,  hieroglyphics,  &c.  The  architect's  name,  G.  P.  Robinson, 
is  inscribed  upon  the  facade.  The  entablature  is  supported  by  colossal  figures  of  Isis 
and  Osiris,  sculptured  by  L.  Gahagan.  The  Hall  cost  16,000^.,  and  was  built  in  1812 
for  a  museum  of  natural  history  collected  by  W.  Bullock,  F.L.S.,  during  thirty  years' 
travel  in  Central  America,  which  was  exhibited  here  until  1819,  when  it  was  sold  in 
2248  lots* 

The  Egyptian  Hall  contains  lecture-rooms,  a  bazaar,  and  a  large  central  room,  "  the 
Waterloo  Gallery."  As  the  Hall  has  been  a  sort  of  Ark  of  Exhibitions,  we  enumerate 
the  Curiosities  which  have  been  shown  here :  — 

1816.  The  Judgment  of  Brutus,  painted  by  Le  Thiere,  president  of  the  Academy  of  St.  Luke,  at 
Kome. —  Water-colour  Paintings  of  Minerals  and  Shells,  by  Chev.  de  Barde. — Napoleon's  Travelling, 
Chariot,  built  for  his  Russian  campaign,  and  adapted  for  a  bed-room,  dressing-room,  pantry,  kitchen, 
&c. ;  captured  at  Waterloo  :  seen  at  the  Egyptian  Hall  by  800,000  persons  ;  transferred  to  the  Tussaud 
Exhibition,  in  Baker-street,  Portman-square. 

1819.  Sale  of  Bullock's  Museum :  produce,  99742.  13*.;  cost,  30,0002. 

1821.  Facsimile  of  the  Tomb  of  Psammuthis,  King  of  Thebes,  discovered  by  Bclzoni ;  constructed 
and  painted  from  drawings  and  wax -impressions  taken  by  him  of  all  the  original  figures,  hierogly- 
phics, emblems,  &c. ;  the  two  principal  chambers  illuminated :  first  day,  1900  admissions,  at  2s.  (id.  each. 

1822.  Laplanders  and  Reindeer :  1001.  per  day  taken  for  six  weeks. — Pair  of  Wapeti,  or  Elks,  from 
the  Upper  Missouri ;  and  a  pretended  Mermaid,  visited  by  300  and  400  persons  daily .t 

1824.  Mexican  Museum,  ancient  and  modern. — Esquimaux  Man  and  Woman. — Hatching  Chicken* 
by  Artificial  Heat. 

1825.  Rath,  or  Burmese,  Imperial  State  Carriage,  captured  by  theEritish  in  1824:  the  coach  and  the 
throne-seat,  studded  with  20,000  gems,  are  stated  to  have  cost  12,5002.  at  Tavoy. — Model  of  Switzerland. 

1826.  The  Musical  Sisters,  four  and  six  years  old,  harpist  and  pianist. — Altar-piece,  by  Murillo. — 
The  Pecilorama,  views  painted  by  Stanfield. 

1827.  The  Tyrolese  Minstrels,  four  males  and  one  female. 

1828.  Pictures  of  Battles  of  the  French  Armies,  painted  by  General  Le  Jeune. — The  Death  of  Vir- 
ginia, painted  by  Le  Thiere. — Haydon's  Picture  of  the  Mock  Election  in  the  King's  Bench,  bought  by 
George  IV.  for  500  guineas,  and  sent  from  the  Egyptian  Hall  to  St.  James's  Palace. 

1829.  Troubadours  (singers). — The  Siamese  Twins,tvto  youths  of  eighteen,  natives  of  Siam,  united 
by  a  short  band  at  the  pit  of  the  stomach — "  two  perfect  bodies,  bound  together  by  an  inseparable  link." 

1330.  Vox  Bipartitus,  or  two  voices  in  one. — Sculpture,  by  Lough. — Tableaux  Vivans  (ancient  pic- 
tures by  living  figures). — Michael  Boai,  or  the  chin-chopper,  a  la  Buckhorse. 

1831.  Model  of  the  Thidtre  Frangais,  Paris.  —  A  Cobra  di  Capello,  the  first  brought  alive  to 
Europe. — Two  Orang-outangs  and  a  Chimpanzee. — A  Double-sighted  Boy,  M'Kean,  aged  eight  years. — 
Scrymegour's  Picture  of  the  First  Sign  in  Egypt. — Double-sighted  Boy. — The  Egyptian  Hall  converted 
into  a  Bazaar. 

1832.  Museum  of  Etruscan  Antiquities. — Royal  Clarence  Vase,  of  glass,  made  at  Birmingham.— 
The  Brothers  Koeller,  singers,  from  Switzerland. — Haydon's  Pictures  of  Xenophon  and  the  10,000;  and 
his  Mock  Election,  lent  by  George  IV.  for  exhibition ;  Death  of  Eucles,  &c. 

1835.  Views  of  Paris,  painted  by  M.  Dupressoir. 

1837.  A  Living  Male  Child,  with  four  hands,  four  arms,  four  legs,  four  feet,  and  two  bodies,  born  at 
Staleybridge,  Manchester. — Masquerades. 

1838.  Le  Brun's  Picture  of  the  Battle  of  Arbela,  embossed  on  copper,  by  Szentpetery. — Captain 
Siborne's  Model  of  the  Battle  of  Waterloo,  with  190,000  figures ;  now  in  the  Museum  of  the  United 
Service  Institution. 

1839.  Skeleton  of  a  Mammoth  Os. — Pictorial  Storm  at  Sea,  introducing  Grace  Darling  and  the  "  For- 
farshire Wreck." 

1840.  Aubusson  Carpets.—  Vng-ka-puti  (Gibbon  monkey),  from  Sumatra. — Bioplulax,  or  Life  and 
Property  Protector. — Haydon's  large  Picture  of  the  General  Anti-Slavery  Convention. 

1841.  Catlin's  North  American  Indian  Gallery  of  310  portraits  of  chiefs,  and  200  views  of  villages, 
religious  ceremonies,  dances,  ball-plays,  buffalo-hunts — in  all,  3000  full-length  figures,  with  costumes 
and  other  produce,  from  a  wigwam  to  a  rattle,  filling  a  room  106  feet  long.— The  Missouri  Leviathan 
Skeleton. — The  Great  Pennard  Cheese,  presented  to  the  Queen. 

1843.  Sir  George  Hayter's  Great  Picture  of  the  First  Reformed  Parliament,  figures  half-life  size. — 
Model  of  Venice. — The  Napoleon  Museum. 

1844.  The  American  Dwarf,  "Tom  Thumb,"  whose  exhibition  often  realized  1252.  a  day;  while, 
in  sickening  contrast,  in  an  adjoining  room,  the  pictures  of  Haydon  (to  whom  Wordsworth  wrote 
"  High  is  our  calling,  friend  ")  were  scarcely  visited  by  a  dozen  persons  in  a  week.  The  "  Banishment 
of  Aristides,"  Haydon's  last  picture,  was  shown  here,  and  its  failure  hastened  the  painter  to  his  awful 
end.— Nine  Ojibbeway  Indians,  from  Lake  Huron,  in  their  native  costumes,  exhibiting  their  war-dances 
and  sports. — German  Dwarf s. 

1845.  The  Eureka,  a  machine  for  composing  hexameter  Latin  verses ;  a  practical  illustration  of  the 
law  of  evolution.— Second  Exhibition  of  Captain  Siborne's  Model  of  the  Battle  of  Waterloo. 

*  Bullock's  "  Liverpool  Museum"  was  opened  at  22,  Piccadilly,  in  1805,  in  the  room  originally  occu- 
pied by  Astley  for  his  evening  performance  of  horsemanship;  his  amphitheatre  not  being  roofed  until 
1780,  and  therefore  allowing  only  day  exhibitions. 

t  In  Manners  and  Customs  of  the  Japanese,  published  in  1841,  the  above  "  Mermaid  "  (the  head  and 
shoulders  of  a  monkey  neatly  attached  to  a  headless  fish)  is  proved  to  have  been  manufactured  in  Japan 
brought  to  Europe  by  an  American  adventurer,  and  valued  at  10002.  A  pretended  Mermaid  was  also 
exhibited  in  London  in  1775 ;  and  in  Broad-court,  Covent-garden,  in  1794. 


ELY-PLACE.  321 


1846.  Prof.  Faber's  Euphonia,  or  speaking  automaton,  enunciating  sounds  and  words ;  played  by 
keys. — Mammoth  Sorse. — Polar  Dog. — Bosjesman  Family. — The  Hock  Sarmonicon. — Curiosities  from 
Australia.— Professor  Kist's  Poses  Plastiques. — A  Dwarf  dressed  in  a  bear-skin:  the  "  What  is  it  V 
immediately  detected. 

1847.  Second  Family  of  Bosjesmen  (Bushmen),  from  Southern  Africa. — Models  of  Ancient  and 
'Modern  Jerusalem,  by  firunetti. — Exhibition  of  Modern  Paintings  ;  free  to  artists. 

1849.  Pictures  of  Recent  Political  Events  in  Paris. —  The  Mysterious  Lady. — Figure  of  a  Russian 
Itidy  in  veined  marbles. — Bancard's  Dioramic  Picture  of  the  Mississippi  and  Missouri  Rivers,  3000  miles, 
stated  to  be  painted  on  three  miles  of  canvas  (!) ;  sketched  before  the  painter  was  of  age. 

1850.  Panorama  of  Fremont's  Overland  Route  to  California. — Bonomi's  Panorama  of  the  Utile,  800 
feet  long:  representing  1720  miles  distance,  closing  with  the  Pyramids  and  Sphinx. 

1852.  March  15.  Mr.  Albert  Smith  first  gave  the  narrative  of  his  Ascent  of  Mont  Blanc  in  1851,  ac- 
companying the  exhibition  of  cleverly- painted  moving  dioramic  pictures  of  its  perils  and  sublimities. 
Mr.  Smith  continued  to  give,  at  the  Egyptian  Hall,  his  popular  representations  until  within  a  few 
days  of  his  lamented  death,  May  23,  1860,  the  day  before  he  attained  the  age  of  44. 

1860.  A  "  Miraculous  Cabinet,"  invented  and  produced  by  H.  Nadolsky.  This  cabinet  measures 
only  5  feet  high,  3  feet  wide,  and  18  inches  deep  :  it  contains  150  pieces  of  furniture,  of  the  same  size  as 
in  ordinary  use;  namely,  a  judge's-table,  with  ornaments,  books,  and  6  chairs ;  4  card-tables,  2  Chinese- 
tables,  a  smoking-table,  a  lady's  work-table,  2  Chinese  toilet-tables,  a  chess-table,  4  work-boxes,  4  flower- 
pots with  flowers;  a  what-not,  candelabrum,  bed  with  hangings,  and  a  swing-cot;  toilet-table, 
embroidery-frame,  flower-table,  7  Chinese  lamps,  2  Chinese  candlesticks,  12  fancy  boxes,  1  footstool,  a 
painter's  easel,  4  music-stands,  dining-table  laid  with  26  covers ;  4  dishes,  23  plates,  30  cups,  salt-cellars, 
&c.;  a  chandelier  with  12  wax-lights ;  9  garden-chairs,  4  candlesticks;  Chinese  writing-desk,  inkstand 
and  tapers,  rulers,  and  bell ;  tea-tray  table,  throne,  throne-chair,  4  flower-tables ;  and  a  large  table  inlaid 
with  shells,  glass  top,  &c.  When  the  various  articles  were  taken  out  of  the  cabinet,  and  spread  over 
the  apartment,  the  notion  of  putting  them  back  again  into  the  same  cabinet  seemed  almost  absurd. 

The  Hall  was  subsequently  let  for  various  performances  and  exhibitions ;  including  Mr.  Arthur 
Sketchley's  Entertainment ;  Colonel  Stodare's  Mystery  and  Magic ;  Mrs.  Fanny  Kemble's  Readings  ; 
Madame  Lind-Goldschmidt's  Concert ;  the  Exhibition  of  Chang,  the  Chinese  Giant ;  a  Panorama  of  the 
Holy  Land ;  Exhibition  of  Mr.  John  Leech's  Sketches ;  and  the  General  Society  of  Painters  in  Water- 
colours.  Here,  in  the  "  Dudley  Gallery,"  was  deposited  the  valuable  collection  of  Pictures  belonging 
to  the  Earl  of  Dudley,  during  the  erection  of  his  own  Gallery  at  Dudley  House,  Park-lane. 

ELY-PLACE. 

ALL  that  remains  of  this  celebrated  palace,  anciently  Ely  House,  which  stood  on  tho 
north  side  of  Holborn-hill,  and  was  the  town  mansion  of  the  Bishops  of  Ely,  is  the 
chapel  of  St.  Ethelreda,  already  described  at  page  161.      The  site  is  otherwise  occupied 
by  two  rows  of  houses  known  as  Ely-place,  and  a  knot  of  tenements,  streets,  and  alleys ; 
but  the  locality  is  fraught  with   the  various  historic  associations  of  five  centuries. 
Its  first  occupier,  Bishop  John  de  Kirkby,  dying  in  1290,  bequeathed  a  messuage  and 
nine  cottages  on  this  spot  to  his  successors  in  the  see  of  Ely.      William  de  Luda,  the 
next  bishop,  annexed  some  lands,  added  to  the  residence,  and  in  1297  devised  them  to 
the  sec,  on  condition  that  his  successor  should  provide  for  the  service  of  St.  Ethelreda's 
Chapel.     John  de  Hotham,  who  died  in  1336,  planted  a  vineyard,  kitchen-garden, 
orchard,  &c.     Thomas  de  Arundel,  preferred  to  the  see  in  1374,  re-edified  the  episcopal 
buildings  and  the  Chapel ;  and  erected  a  large  gate-house  towards  Holborn,  the  stone- 
work of  which  remained  in  Stow's  time.      Ely  House  was  in  part  let  by  the  see  to 
noblemen.     Here  "old  John  of  Gaunt,  time-honoured  Lancaster,"  died  Feb.  13,  1399; 
and  Shakspeare  has  made  it  the  scene  of  Lancaster's  last  interview  with  Richard  II. 
Following  Hall  and  Holinshed,  too,  Shakspeare  refers  to  this  Place  when  Richard  Duke 
of  Gloucester,  at  the  Council  in  the  Tower,  thus  addresses  the  Bishop : — 
"  D.  of  Glou.  My  lord  of  Ely,  when  I  was  last  in  Holborn, 
I  saw  good  strawberries  in  your  garden  there ; 
I  do  beseech  you  send  for  some  of  them. 
B.  of  Ely.  Marry,  and  will,  my  lord,  with  all  my  heart." 

Richard  III.,  act  iii.  sc.  4. 

At  Ely  House  were  kept  divers  feasts  by  the  Serjeants-at-Law :  at  one,  in  1495, 
Henry  VII.  was  present  with  his  queen;  and  at  another  feast  in  1531,  on  making 
eleven  new  Serjeants,  Henry  VIIL  and  Queen  Katharine  were  banquetted  here  with 
sumptuousness  wanting  "  little  of  a  feast  at  a  coronation ;"  and  open-house  was  kept 
for  five  days.  In  1576,  at  the  mandatory  request  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  Bishop  Cox 
leased  to  Sir  Christopher  Hatton  for  twenty-one  years  the  greater  portion  of  the 
demesne,  on  payment  at  Midsummer-day  of  a  red  rose,  ten  loads  of  hay,  and  KM.  per 
annum ;  the  Bishop  reserving  to  himself  and  his  successors  the  right  of  walking  in  the 
gardens,  and  gathering  twenby  bushels  of  roses  yearly.  Hatton  largely  improved  the 
estate,  and  then  petitioned  the  Queen  to  require  the  Bishop  to  make  over  the  whole 
property;  whereupon  ensued  the  Bishop's  remonstrance,  and  Elizabeth's  undignified 
threat  to  "unfrock"  him  :  and  in  1578,  the  entire  property  being  conveyed  to  Hatton, 


322  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Elizabeth  further  retaliated  by  keeping  the  see  of  Ely  vacant  for  eighteen  years  from 
the  death  of  Bishop  Cox  in  1591. 

Aggas's  map  shows  the  vineyard,  meadow,  kitchen-garden,  and  orchard,  of  Ely  Place 
to  have  extended  northward  from  Holborn-hill  to  the  present  Hatton-wall  and  Vine- 
street  ;  and  east  and  west,  from  Saffron-hill  to  nearly  the  present  Leather-lane :  but 
except  a  cluster  of  houses  (Ely  Rents)  on  Holborn-hill,  the  surrounding  ground  was 
entirely  open  and  unbuilt  on ;  the  names  of  Saffron-hill,  Field-lane,  and  Lily,  Turnmill, 
and  Vine  streets,  carry  the  mind's  eye  back  to  this  suburban  appropriation.  The 
Sutherland  View,  15-13,  also  shows  the  gate-house,  chapel,  great  banquetting-hall,  &c. 
Sir  Christopher  lived  in  great  state  in  Hatton  House,  as  Ely  Place  was  now  called; 
but  Elizabeth  "  which  seldom  gave  loans,  and  never  forgave  due  debts,"  pressed  the 
payment  of  some  4.0,0001.  arrears,  which  the  Chancellor  could  not  meet ;  so  it  went  to 
his  heart,  and  he  died  Nov.  20,  1591.  He  was  succeeded  by  his  nephew,  whose  widow, 
the  strange  Lady  Hatton,  in  1598  was  married  to  Sir  Edward  Coke,  then  Attorney- 
general,  but  who  could  not  gain  admission  to  Hatton  House :  she  died  "  at  her  house 
in  Holbourne,"  Jan.  3,  1646.  The  Bishops  of  Ely  made  several  attempts  to  recover 
the  entire  property ;  but,  during  the  imprisonment  of  Bishop  Wren  by  the  Long  Par- 
liament, most  of  the  palatial  buildings  were  taken  down,  and  upon  the  garden  were 
built  Hatton-garden,  Great  and  Little  Kirby-streets,  Charles-street,  Cross-street,  and 
Hatton-wall.  During  the  Interrugnum,  Hatton  House  and  Offices  were  used  as  a 
prison  and  hospital.  In  1772  the  estate  was  purchased  by  the  Crown ;  a  town-house 
was  built  for  the  Bishop,  No.  27,  Dover-street,  Piccadilly ;  and  about  1773,  the  present 
Ely-place  was  built,  the  chapel  remaining  on  the  west  side.  A  fragment  of  the  episcopal 
residence  is  preserved  in,  and  has  given  name  to,  Mitre-court,  leading  from  Hatton- 
garden  to  Ely-place.  Here,  worked  into  the  wall,  as  the  sign  of  a  public-house,  is  a 
mitre,  sculptured  in  stone,  with  the  date  1546;  which  probably  once  decorated  Ely 
Palace,  or  the  precinct  gateway. 

The  stage-play  of  Christ's  Passion  was  acted  in  the  reign  of  James  I.  "at  Elie 
House  in  Holborn,  when  Gondomar  (the  Spanish  ambassador),  lay  there  on  Good 
Friday  at  night,  at  which  there  were  thousands  present "  (Prynne's  Histriomastix, 
p.  Il7,  note) ;  this  being  the  last  performance  of  a  Religious  Mystery  in  England.  At 
Ely  House,  also,  was  arranged  the  the  grand  Masque  given  by  the  four  Inns  of  Court  to 
Charles  I.  and  Queen  Henrietta  Maria,  at  Whitehall,  on  Candlemas-day,  1634,  at  the 
cost  of  21,000?. ;  when  the  masquers,  horsemen,  musicians,  dancers,  with  the  grand 
committee — including  the  great  lawyers  Whitelocke,  Hyde  (afterwards  Lord  Clarendon), 
and  Selden — went  in  procession  by  torchlight  from  Ely  House,  down  Chancery-lane, 
along  the  Strand  to  Whitehall. 

EXCHANGES. 

THE  Royal  Exchange,  at  the  north-western  extremity  of  Cornhill,  is  the  third 
Exchange  built  nearly  on  the  same  site,  for  the  meeting  cf  merchants  and  bankers. 
The  first  "  goodely  Burse"  was  projected  by  Sir  James  Gresham,  Lord  Mayor  in  1538, 
who  submitted  to  Thomas  Cromwell,  Lord  Privy-Seal,  a  plan  taken  from  the  Burse  at 
Antwerp.  This  application  failed ;  but  the  project  was  renewed  twenty  years  later  by 
Thomas  Gresham,  the  younger  son  of  Sir  James,  born  in  London  in  1519,  apprenticed 
to  his  uncle,  Sir  John  Gresham,  and  admitted  in  1543  to  the  Mercers'  Company ;  ia 
their  Hall  is  a  contemporary  portrait  of  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  who  was  royal 
agent  at  Antwerp  to  Henry  VIII.,  Edward  VI.,  and  Elizabeth,  and  was  knighted  when 
ambassador  at  the  court  of  the  Duchess  of  Parma.  Like  other  bankers  and  merchants 
of  that  day,  Gresham  had  his  shop  in  Lombard-street,  as  yet  the  only  Exchange.  The 
house  was  on  the  site  of  No.  68,  the  banking-house  of  Martin,  Stone,  and  Co. :  over  the 
door  was  Gresham's  crest,*  a  grasshopper,  as  a  sign,  which  was  seen  by  Pennant,  but 
disappeared  by  piecemeal. 

*  The  letters  of  James  Gresham,  in  the  Paston  Collection,  are  sealed  with  a  grasshopper;  sufficient 
refutation  of  a  tradition  accounting  for  the  adoption  of  that  heraldic  symbol  by  Sir  Thomas  Gresham, 
from  a  grasshopper  having  saved  his  life  when  he  was  a  poor  famished  boy,  by  attracting  a  person  to 
the  spot  where  he  lay  in  a  helpless  condition  !  Still,  it  were  almost  a  pity  to  disturb  the  popular  legend, 
teaching,  as  it  simply  does,  reliance  upon  God's  providence. 


EXCHANGES,  ROYAL.  323 


On  June  G,  1566,  the  first  stone  of  the  Burse  was  laid  in  Cornhill,  by  Sir  Thomas 
Gresham  and  several  aldermen,  each  of  whom  "  laid  a  piece  of  gold,  which  the  work- 
men picked  up."  The  City  had  previously  purchased  and  taken  down  eighty  houses, 
and  prepared  the  site ;  the  whole  having  been  conveyed  to  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  who 
"  most  frankly  and  lovingly"  promised,  that  within  a  month  after  the  Burse  should  be 
finished,  he  would  present  it  in  equal  moieties  to  the  City  and  the  Mercers'  Company ; 
as  a  pledge  of  which  Gresham,  before  Alderman  Bivers  and  other  citizens,  gave  his 
hand  to  Sir  William  Garrard,  and  drank  a  carouse  to  his  kinsmen  Thomas  Bowe. 
"How  rarely  do  ancient  documents  furnish  us  with  such  a  picture  of  ancient  manners!" 
By  November,  1567,  the  Burse  was  finished.  '  As  Flemish  materials,  Flemish  work- 
men, and  a  Flemish  architect  (Henryke)  had  been  employed,  so  the  design  closely  imi- 
tated a  Flemish  building,  the  Great  Burse  of  Antwerp.  Two  prints,  date  1569,  and 
probably  engraved  by  Gresham's  order,  show  the  exterior  and  interior :  a  quadrangle, 
with  an  arcade ;  a  corridor,  or  paion*  of  stalls  above ;  and  in  the  high-pitched  roof, 
chambers  with  dormer-windows.  On  the  east  side  of  the  Cornhill  entrance  was  a  lofty 
bell-tower,  from  which,  at  twelve  at  noon  and  at  six  in  the  everiing,  was  rung  a  bell,  the 
merchants'  call  to  'Change ;  on  the  north  side,  a  Corinthian  column  rose  twice  the 
height  of  the  building;  and  both  tower  and  column  surmounted  by  a  grasshopper,  also 
placed  at  each  corner  of  the  quadrangle.  The  columns  of  the  court  were  marble ;  the 
upper  portion  was  laid  out  in  a  hundred  shops,  the  lower  in  walks  and  rooms  for 
the  merchants,  with  shops  on  the  exterior.  Thus  there  were  the  "  Scotch  Walk," 
"Hambro',"  and  the  "Irish,"  "  East  Country,"  "Swedish,"  "Norway,"  "American," 
"  Jamaica,"  "  Spanish,"  "  Portugal,"  "  French,"  "  Greek,"  and  "  Dutch  and  Jewel- 
lers' "  walks.  Long  after  the  opening  of  the  Burse,  the  shops  remained  "  in  a  manner 
empty;"  when,  upon  a  report  that  the  Queen  was  about  to  visit  it,  Gresham  prevailed 
upon  the  shopkeepers  in  the  upper  pawn  to  furnish  their  shops  with  "  wares  and  wax- 
lights,"  on  promise  of  "  one  year  rent-free."  The  rent  was  then  40*.  a  shop,  in  two 
years  raised  to  four  marks,  and  then  to  M.  10s.  a-year,  all  the  shops  being  let.  "  Then 
the  milliners  or  haberdashers  sold  mouse-traps,  bird-cages,  shoeing-horns,  Jews' 
trumps,  &c. ;  armourers,  that  sold  both  old  and  new  armour ;  apothecaries,  booksellers, 
goldsmiths,  and  glass-sellers."  (Howes.)  All  being  prepared,  on  Jan.  23,  1570-1, 
amidst  the  ringing  of  bells  in  every  part  of  the  City,  "  the  Queen's  Majesty,  attended 
with  the  nobility,  came  from  her  house  in  the  Strand  called  Somerset  House,  and 
entered  the  City  by  Temple  Bar,  through  Fleet-street,  Cheap,  and  so  by  the  north  side 
of  the  Burse,  through  Threadneedle-street,  to  Sir  Thomas  Gresham's  house  in  Bishops- 
gate-street,  where  she  dined.  After  dinner,  her  Majesty  returning  through  Cornhill, 
entered  the  Burse  on  the  south  side"  (Stow)  ;  and  having  viewed  the  whole,  especially 
the  pawne,  which  was  richly  furnished  with  the  finest  wares,  the  Queen  caused  the 
Burse,  by  herald  and  trumpet,  to  be  proclaimed  "  The  Royal  Exchange :" — 

"  Proclaim  through  every  high  street  of  the  city, 
This  place  be  no  longer  called  a  Bnrse; 
But  since  the  building's  stately,  fair,  and  strange, 
Be  it  for  ever  called — the  Royal  Exchange." 
Queen.  Elizabeth's  Troubles,  Part  2. — A  Play,  by  Thomas  Hoywood,  1609. 

Sir  Thomas  Gresham  died  suddenly,  Nov.  21,  1579,  in  the  evening,  on  his  return 
from  the  Exchange ;  "  being  cut  ofi"  by  untymely  death,  having  left  a  part  of  his  royall 
monument  unperformed :  that  is,  xxx.  pictures  (statues)  of  kings  and  queenes  of  this 
land ;  and  to  that  purpose  left  thirty  roomes  (niches)  to  place  them  in."  It  was  then 
proposed  that  before  any  citizen  should  be  elected  alderman,  he  should  be  "  enjoyned 
to  pay  the  charge  of  makyng  and  fynishing  one  of  the  forsaid  kings  or  queenes  theire 
pictures,  to  be  erected  in  the  places  aforesaid  in  the  Exchange,  not  exceeding  100 
nobles  (661.  6s.  8d.) ;  the  pictures  to  be  graven  on  wood,  covered  with  lead,  and  then 
gilded  and  paynted  with  oyle-cullors ;"  and  the  Court  of  Common  Council  subsequently 
made  the  erection  of  one  such  statue  a  part  of  the  fine  for  being  freed  from  the  office 

*  Corrupted  from  bahn,  German  for  a  path  or  walk.  There  is  a  curious  tradition,  not  unsupported 
by  facts,  that  the  framework  of  the  Exchange  was  constructed  upon  Gresham's  estate  at  Rinxhall,  near 
Battisford,  Suffolk,  formerly  rich  in  wood ;  the  remains  of  saw-pits  are  still  discernible.  The  stone, 
slates,  iron,  wainscot,  and  glass,  were  brought  from  Antwerp. 

X  2 


324  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  Sheriff.  The  building  was  often  in  danger  from  feather-makers,  and  others  that 
kept  shops  in  the  upper  pawne,  using  "  pannes  of  fyer,"  which  were  therefore  for- 
bidden by  an  order  of  the  Court  of  Aldermen.  A  print  by  Hollar,  date  1644,  shows  the 
merchants  in  full  'Change,  with  the  picturesque  costumes  of  the  respective  countries : — 

"  The  new-come  traveller, 
With  his  disguised  coat  and  ringed  ear, 
Trampling  the  Bourse's  marble  twice  a  day." 

The  statues,  from  Edward  the  Confessor  to  Queen  Elizabeth,  were  thus  provided :  and 
subsequently  James  1.,  Charles  I.,  and  Charles  II,  The  statue  of  Charles  I.  was  re- 
moved immediately  after  his  execution,  and  on  its  pedestal  was  inscribed  Exit  tyran- 
norum  vltimus  ;  which  was  in  turn  removed,  and  replaced  with  a  new  statue,  after  the 
Restoration.  Here  also,  on  May  28,  1661,  the  acts  for  establishing  the  Commonwealth 
were  burned  by  the  hands  of  the  common  hangman. 

Gresham's  Exchange  was  almost  entirely  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666 ;  "  when 
the  kings  fell  down  upon  their  faces,  and  the  greater  part  of  the  building  after  them, 
the  founders  statue  only  remaining."  Pepys  refers  to  "  Sir  Thomas  Gresham  in  the 
corner"  as  the  only  statue  that  was  left  standing.  After  the  death  of  Sir  Thomas 
Gresham,  the  affairs  of  the  Royal  Exchange  passed  under  the  management  of  the 
Gresham  Committee,  as  the  trustees  appointed  under  his  will,  with  certain  members 
nominated  by  the  Corporation.  Thus  originated  the  Grand  or  Joint  Committee,  under 
whose  direction  the  Exchange  was  rebuilt  after  the  Great  Fire  upon  the  old  founda- 
tions, by  Edward  Jerman,  one  of  the  City  Surveyors,  and  not  by  Sir  Christopher  Wren, 
as  often  stated;  but  Wren  was  consulted  in  the  project  of  the  rebuilding.  Mr.  Jupp, 
of  Carpenters'  Hall,  possesses  two  large  and  beautiful  drawings  of  Jerman's  design  for 
the  building,  executed  in  Indian  ink  upon  vellum.  Meanwhile,  the  merchants  met 
"  in  the  gardens  or  walkes  of  Gresham  College,"  being  the  site  of  the  great  court-yard 
of  the  Excise  Office  ;  on  which  a  temporary  Exchange  was  erected  for  a  similar  pur- 
pose, after  the  burning  of  the  second  Exchange  in  1838. 

Among  the  payments  for  Jerman's  buildings  is  one  by  the  Committee  to  Sir  John  Denham,  the  poet, 
"  His  Majestie's  Surveyor-General  of  his  Workes,  for  his  trouble  from  time  to  time  in  coming  down  to 
view  the  Exchange  and  streetes  adjoining;  as  also  in  furthering  theire  addresses  to  his  Majesty,  and 
giving  them  full  warrants  for  Portland  stone ;"  the  Committee  therefore  ordered  provision  to  be  made 
"  of  six  or  eight  dishes  of  meate  att  the  Sun  Tavern,  on  Wednesday  next,  to  intertayne  him  withal  at 
his  comeing  downe,  and  to  present  him  with  thirty  guinney-pieces  of  gold,  as  a  toaken  of  theire 
gratitude."  I 

Among  other  entries,  we  find  that  Cains  Gabriel  Cibber  was  appointed  carver ;  the  clock  was  to  be 
set  np  by  Edward  Stanton,  under  the  direction  of  Dr.  Hooke,  having  chimes  with  four  bells,  playing  six 
tunes ;  William  Wightman  was  to  furnish  a  set  of  sound  and  tuneable  bells,  at  61.  5s.  per  cwt. ;  four 
balconies  were  to  be  made  from  the  inner  pawn  into  the  quadrangle,  at  a  charge  of  not  more  than 
3001. ;  and  the  signs  to  the  shops  in  the  pawns  were  not  to  be  hung  forth,  but  set  over  the  frieze  of 
each  shop. 

The  celebrated  Sir  Robert  Viner,  on  March  22nd,  1668  (1669),  proffered  to  give  his  Majesty's  statue 
on  horseback,  cut  in  white  marble,  to  stand  upon  the  Royal  Exchange :  this  offer  was  declined,  because 
of  the  "bignesse  "  of  the  statue,  which  Sir  Robert  Viner  afterwards  gave  to  be  erected  over  the  conduit 
at  Stocks'-market ;  though  the  royal  figure  was  an  altered  John  Sobieski. 

The  King  interested  himself  so  far  in  the  architectural  appearance  cf  the  edifice  as  to  desire  that 
portions  might  be  built  on  all  sides  of  the  Exchange;  and  hence  the  difficulties  which  arose  between  the 
Committee  and  the  possessors  of  the  property  required ;  and  in  especial  with  Van  Swieten,  or  Sweetings, 
as  he  is  usually  called.  About  seven  hundred  superficial  feet  were  wanted  of  his  ground  at  the  east  end 
of  the  Exchange,  and  about  one  thousand  four  hundred  feet  more  for  a  street  or  passage;  for  which  he 
declared  that  he  expected  to  be  paid  according  to  the  cheapest  rate  that  any  other  ground  should  be 
bought  at.  When,  however,  he  appeared  before  the  sub-committee,  he  demanded  100W.  for  six  hundred 
and  twenty-seven  feet,  which  was  thought  so  unreasonable  that  they  laid  it  aside. 

On  Oct.  23rd,  1667,  Charles  II.  fixed  the  first  pillar  on  the  west  side  of  the  north 
entrance  to  the  Exchange.  "  The  King  was  entertained  by  the  City  and  Company 
with  a  chine  of  beef,  grand  dish  of  fowl,  gammon  of  bacon,  dried  tongues,  anchovies, 
caviare,  etc.,  and  plenty  of  several  sorts  of  wine.  He  gave  201.  in  gold  to  the  work- 
men. The  interteynment  was  in  a  shedd  built  and  adorned  on  purpose,  upon  the 
Scotch  walke."  On  the  31st,  the  Duke  of  York  founded  the  corresponding  pier;  and 
on  Nov.  18th,  Prince  Rupert  fixed  the  pillar  on  the  east  side  of  the  south  entrance; 
both  princes  being  similarly  entertained. 

This  second  Exchange  was  opened  Sept.  28, 1669 ;  its  cost,  58,962?.,  being  defrayed 
in  equal  moieties  by  the  City  and  the  Mercers'  Company.  It  was  quadrangular  in 
plan,  and  had  its  arcades,  pawn  above,  and  statues  in  niches,  like  Gresham's  Exchange ; 


EXCHANGES,  ROYAL.  325 

it  had  also  a  three- storied  tower,  with  lantern  and  gilt  grasshopper  vane.  The  edifice 
thus  remained  until  the  extensive  repairs  of  1820-26  (George  Smith,  architect),  when 
a  stone  tower,  128  feet  high,  was  built  on  the  south  front,  in  place  of  the  timber  one : 
these  repairs  cost  33,000/.,  including  6000/.  for  stone  staircases  and  floors.  The  Corn- 
hill  front  had  a  lofty  archway,  with  four  Corinthian  columns ;  emblematic  statues  of 
the  four  quarters  of  the  globe ;  statues  of  Charles  I.  and  II.  by  Bushnell ;  statue  of 
Gresham  by  E.  Pierce ;  four  busts  of  Queen  Elizabeth ;  alto-relievos  of  Britannia,  the 
Arts  and  Sciences,  &c,  and  of  Queen  Elizabeth  and  her  heralds  proclaiming  the  original 
Exchange.  The  area  within  the  quadrangle  was  paved  with  "  Turkey  stones ;"  in  the 
centre  was  a  statue  of  Charles  II.  by  Gibbons ;  in  the  arcade  was  a  statue  of  Uresham 
by  Gibber;  and  of  Sir  John  Barnard,  placed  there  in  his  lifetime  (temp.  George  II.). 
The  arcade  and  area  were  arranged,  nominally,  into  distinct  walks  for  the  merchants. 

"  For  half  an  hour  he  feeds :  and  when  he's  done, 
In  's  elbow-chair  he  takes  a  nap  till  one ; 
From  thence  to  'Change  he  hurries  in  a  heat 
(Where  knaves  and  fools  in  mighty  numbers  meet, 
And  kindly  mix  the  bubble  with  the  cheat) ; 
There  barters,  buys  and  sells,  receives  and  pays, 
And  turns  the  pence  a  hundred  several  ways. 
In  that  great  hive,  where  markets  rise  and  fall, 
And  swarms  of  muckworms  round  its  pillars  crawl, 
He,  like  the  rest,  as  busy  as  a  bee, 
Remains  among  the  henpeck'd  herd  till  three." 

Wealthy  Shopkeeper,  1700. 

The  royal  statues  were,  on  the  south  side,  Edward  I.,  Edward  III.,  Henry  V.,  and 
Henry  VI. ;  on  the  west,  Edward  IV.,  Edward  V.,  Henry  VII.,  and  Henry  VIII. ;  on 
the  north,  Edward  VI.,  Queen  Mary,  Queen  Elizabeth,  James  I.,  Charles  I.,  Charles  II., 
and  James  II. ;  on  the  east  were  William  and  Mary,  in  a  double  niche,  George  I., 
George  II.,  and  George  III.  These  figures  were  in  armour  and  Roman  costume,  the 
Queens  in  the  dresses  of  their  respective  times ;  most  of  them  were  originally  gilt. 
George  III.  was  sculptured  by  Wilton,  George  I.  and  George  II.  by  Rysbrack,  and  the 
inajor  part  of  the  others  by  Caius  Gabriel  Cibber. 

Originally,  the  oflices  in  the  upper  floors  were  let  as  shops  for  rich  and  showy  arti- 
cles ;  but  they  were  forsaken  in  1739  (Maitland),  and  the  galleries  were  subsequently 
occupied  by  the  Royal  Exchange  Assurance  Offices,  Lloyd's  Coffee-house,  the  Merchant 
Seamen's  Office,  the  Gresham  Lecture-room,  and  the  Lord  Mayor's  Court  Office  :  the 
latter  a  row  of  offices  divided  by  glazed  partitions,  the  name  of  the  attorney  being  in- 
scribed in  large  capitals  upon  a  projecting  board.  The  vaults  beneath  the  Exchange 
were  let  to  different  bankers;  and  the  East  India  Company,  for  the  stowage  of  pepper. 
Surrounding  the  exterior  were  shops,  chiefly  tenanted  by  lottery-office  keepers,  news- 
paper-offices, watch  and  clock  makers,  notaries,  stock -brokers,  &c.  The  tower  con- 
tained a  clock,  with  four  dials,  and  chimes,  and  four  wind-dials. 

On  Jan.  18th,  1838,  this  Exchange  was  entirely  burnt :  the  fire  commenced  in 
Lloyd's  Rooms  shortly  after  10  p.m.,  and  before  three  next  morning  the  clock-tower 
alone  remained,  the  dials  indicating  the  exact  times  at  which  the  flames  reached  them : 
north  at  lh.  25m.;  south,  2h.  5m. :  the  last  air,  played  by  the  chimes  at  12,  was, 
"  There's  nae  luck  about  the  house."*  The  conflagration  was  seen  twenty-four  miles 
round  London ;  the  roar  of  the  wind,  and  the  rush  and  crackling  of  the  flames,  the 
falling  of  huge  timbers,  and  the  crash  of  roof  and  walls,  were  a  fearful  spectacle. 

At  the  sale  of  the  salvage,  the  porter's  large  hand-bell,  rung  daily  before  closing  the  'Change  (with 
the  handle  burnt),  fetched  31.  3s. ;  City  Griffins,  301.  and  351.  the  pair ;  busts  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  101.  15*. 
and  181.  tbe  pair ;  figures  of  Europe,  Asia,  Africa,  and  America,  110?. ;  the  statue  of— Anne,  \0l.  5s. ; 
George  II.,  91.  5s.;  George  III.  and  Elizabeth,  111.  15s.  each ;  Charles  II.,  91.;  and  the  sixteen  other 
royal  statues  similar  sums.    The  copper-gilt  grasshopper  vane  was  reserved. 

Mr.  Scott,  the  Chamberlain  of  London,  states,  that  if,  from  the  Great  Fire  in  1666,  when  the  first 
Eoyal  Exchange  was  destroyed,  down  to  1838,  when  it  was  a  second  time  destroyed  by  fire,  a  sum  equiva- 
lent to  the  fire-insurance  rate  of  is.  per  cent,  and  3s.  duty  had  been  annually  raised  and  allowed  to 
accumulate,  it  would  have  been  sufficient  to  defray  forty-seven  aud  a  half  times  over  the  cost  of  200.000J. 
for  rebuilding  the  Exchange  as  it  now  exists. 

After  an  interval  of  nearly  tour  years,  the  rebuilding  of  the  Exchange  was  com- 

*  The  chimes  played  at  3, 6, 9,  and  12  o'clock— on  Sunday,  the  104th  Psalm ;  Monday, "  God  save  the 
King ;"  Tuesday,  "  Waterloo  March  ;"  Wednesday,  "  There's  nae  luck  about  the  house ;"  Thursdayi 
"  See  the  conquering  hero  comes ;"  Friday,  "  Life  let  us  cherish;"  Saturday,  "  Foot-Guards'  March." 


326  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

menced  from  the  designs  of  William  Tite,  F.R.S. ;  the  site  being  enlarged  by  the  removal 
of  Bank-buildings,  west  of  the  old  Exchange,  and  the  buildings  eastward,  nearly  to 
Finch-lane.  In  excavating  for  the  foundations  was  found  a  deep  pit  full  of  remains  of 
Roman  London,  specimens  of  which  are  preserved  in  the  Museum  at  Guildhall.  (See 
CoENniLL,  p.  291.)  Mr.  Tite  thinks  it  probable  that  "  this  pit  had  been  sunk  during 
the  earliest  times  of  the  Roman  occupation  of  London,  for  the  mere  purpose  of  obtain- 
ing the  gravel,  required  perhaps  for  making  a  causeway  or  road  across  the  banks  of  the 
adjoining  marshy  stream  of  the  Wall-Brook.  When  the  excavation  had  served  this 
purpose,  it  remained  for  years  (perhaps  centuries),  forming  a  dirty  pond  to  receive  the 
refuse  and  rubbish  of  all  the  neighbourhood,  and  in  this  way  it  must  have  been  gra- 
dually filled  up ;  at  the  time  of  building  the  Roman  wall  the  accumulation  was  firm 
enough  again  to  receive  a  bed  of  gravel,  slightly  concreted,  laid  on  the  top  of  the  mud, 
so  as  to  be  covered  up  and  become  apparently  solid  ground.  The  builders  of  the  Old 
Exchange,  however,  found  out  its  deficiency,  and  supported  their  work  on  piles,  which 
had  evidently  yielded."  The  foundation-stone  of  the  new  Exchange  was  laid  by  Prince 
Albert,  on  Monday,  Jan.  17th,  1842,  in  the  mayoralty  of  Alderman  Pirie;  the  circum- 
stances being  recorded  in  a  Latin  and  English  inscription  upon  a  zinc  plate,  placed  in 
the  foundation-stone.  The  Exchange  was  completed  within  the  short  space  of  three 
years,  for  somewhat  less  than  the  architect's  estimate,  137,600/. ;  or,  including  the 
sculpture,  architect's  commission,  &c,  150,0002. 

The  new  Exchange  was  formally  opened  by  her  Majesty,  Oct.  28, 1844,  when  the  Royal  and  Civic  Pro- 
cessions joined  within  Temple  Bar ;  the  Aldermen  in  gowns  and  chains,  and  the  Lord  Mayor  in  a  crimson 
velvet  robe,  collar,  and  jewel,  on  horseback ;  his  Lordship  bearing  immediately  before  the  Queen's  state- 
carriage  the  great  pearl  sword  presented  to  the  City  of  London  by  Queen  Elizabeth  on  her  opening  the 
first  Exchange.  The  procession  of  1844  was  altogether  the  most  magnificent  pageant  of  the  present 
reign.  At  the  Exchange,  an  address  was  presented  to  the  Queen,  followed  by  a  breakfast,  distribution 
of  commemorative  medals,  and  a  procession  to  the  centre  of  the  quadrangle,  where  the  Queen,  surrounded 
by  her  Ministers  and  the  City  authorities,  said :  "  It  is  my  Royal  will  and  pleasure  that  this  building  be 
hereafter  called  '  The  Eoyal  Exchange.' "  The  event  was  commemorated  with  great  civic  festivity ;  and 
the  Lord  Mayor,  Magnay,  received  a  patent  of  baronetcy. 

The  Royal  Exchange,  first  opened  for  business  Jan.  1,  1845,  stands  nearly  due  east 
and  west;  extreme  length,  308  feet;  west  width,  119  feet;  east,  175  feet.  The  foun- 
dation is  concrete,  in  parts  18  feet  thick ;  and  the  walls  and  piers  are  tied  together  by 
arches,  the  piers  strengthened  by  beds  of  wrought-iron  hooping.  The  foundation  of 
Gresham's  Exchange,  as  just  stated,  was  laid  upon  piles.  The  architecture  is  florid,  and 
even  exuberant,  characteristic  of  commercial  opulence  and  civic  state.  The  leading 
idea  of  the  plan  is  from  the  Pantheon  at  Rome :  material,  finest  Portland  stone. 

The  West  front  has  a  portico  "  very  superior  in  dimensions  to  any  in  Great  Britain, 
and  not  inferior  to  any  in  the  world."  It  is  96  feet  wide  and  74  high,  and  has  eight 
columns  (the  architect's  Composite),  4  feet  2  inches  in  diameter  and  41  feet  high,  with 
two  intercolumniations  in  actual  projection,  and  the  centre  also  deeply  recessed;  the 
interior  of  the  portico  is  strikingly  magnificent,  in  the  vastness  of  the  columns,  and  the 
beauty  of  the  roof  of  three  arches,  enriched  after  a  Roman  palace.  Flanking  the  cen- 
tral doorway  are  two  Venetian  windows,  with  the  architect's  monogram,  W.  T.,  beneath. 

On  the  frieze  of  the  portico  is  inscribed :  anno  xiii.  biizabeth.e  b.  cohditvm.  anno  viii.  victobia 
e.  bestavbatvm.  Over  the  central  doorway  are  the  Royal  arms,  by  Carew.  The  key-stone  has  the  mer- 
ihant's  mark  of  Gresham;  and  the  key-stones  of  the  side  arches,  the  arms  of  the  merchant  adventurers 
of  his  day,  and  the  staple  of  Calais.  North  and  south  of  the  portico,  and  in  the  attic,  are  the  City  sword 
and  mace,  with  the  date  of  Queen  Elizabeth's  reign  and  1844 ;  and  in  the  lower  panels,  mantles  bearing 
the  initials  of  Queen  Elizabeth  and  Queen  Victoria  respectively :  the  imperial  crown  is  12  inches  in  relief, 
and  7  feet  high.  The  tympanum  of  the  pediment  of  the  portico  is  filled  with  sculpture,  by  Richard 
Westmacott,  R.A. ;  consisting  of  17  figures,  carved  in  limestone,  nearly  all  entire  and  detached.  The 
centre  figure  is  Commerce,  with  her  mural  crown,  10  feet  high,  upon  two  dolphins  and  a  shell ;  she 
holds  the  charter  of  the  Exchange :  on  her  right  is  a  group  of  three  British  merchants,  as  lord  mayor, 
alderman,  and  common-councilman;  a  Hindoo  and  a  Mahommedan,  a  Greek  bearing  a  jar,  and  a 
Turkish  merchant :  on  the  left  are  two  British  merchants  and  a  Persian,  a  Chinese,  a  Levant  sailor,  a 
negro,  a  British  sailor,  and  a  supercargo :  the  opposite  angles  are  filled  with  anchors,  jars,  packages, 
&c.  Upon  the  pedestal  of  Commerce  is  this  inscription :  "  The  Eabth  is  the  Lobd's,  and  the 
fulness  thebeof." — Psalm  xxiv.  1.    The  ascent  to  the  portico  is  by  thirteen  granite  steps. 

The  East  front  has  four  composite  columns,  which  support  the  tower,  in  the  first 
story  of  which  is  a  statue  of  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  14  feet  6  inches  high,  by  Behnes; 
above  are  the  clock-faces ;  and  next  a  circular  story,  with  Composite  columns  and  a 


EXCHANGES,  ROYAL.  327 

dome  carved  in  leaves,  surmounted  by  the  original  grasshopper  vane,  of  copper  gilt, 
11  feet  long ;  height  of  tower  and  vane,  177  feet.  Beneath  the  tower  is  the  great 
eastern  entrance  to  an  oblong  open  area,  where  are  the  entrances  to  Lloyd's  Rooms 
and  the  Merchants'  Area. 

The  Clock  was  manufactured  by  Mr.  Dent  in  1843,  and  has  since  been  pronounced  by  the  Astro- 
nomer Royal  to  be  tbe  best  public  clock  in  the  world ;  the  pendulum,  which  weighs  nearly  4  ewt.,  is 
compensated,  and  the  first  stroke  of  the  hour  is  true  to  a  second.  This  clock  has  Mr.  Airey's  construc- 
tion of  the  going-fuzee  introduced,  by  which  the  winding  is  effected  without  stopping  the  motion.  This 
clock  is  a  great  improvement  on  that  placed  in  this  building  in  Sir  Thomas  Gresham's  days,  respecting 
which  it  was  reported,  in  1621,  that  "  the  Exchange  clocke  was  pr'sented  for  not  being  kept  well,  it 
standing  in  one  of  the  most  eminent  places  in  the  Cittie,  and  being  the  worst  kept  of  any  clock  in  that 
Cittie." 

The  Chimes  consist  of  a  set  of  fifteen  bells,  by  Mears,  cost  5001. ;  the  largest  being  also  the  hour- 
bell  of  the  clock.  In  the  chime-work,  by  Dent,  there  are  two  hammers  to  several  of  the  bells,  so  as  to 
play  rapid  passages ;  and  three  and  five  hammers  strike  different  bells  simultaneously.  All  irregularity 
of  force  is  avoided  by  driving  the  chime-barrel  through  wheels  and  pinions ;  there  are  no  wheels  be- 
tween the  weight  that  pulls  and  the  hammer  to  be  raised ;  the  lifts  on  the  chime-barrel  are  all  epicy- 
eloidal  curves;  and  there  are  6000  holes  pierced  upon  the  barrel  for  the  lifts,  so  as  to  allow  the  tunes  to 
be  varied :  the  present  airs  are,  "God  save  the  Queen,"  "The  Roast  Beef  of  Old  England,"  "Rule 
Britannia,"  and  the  104th  Psalm.  The  bells,  in  substance,  form,  dimensions,  &c,  are  Irom  the  Bow- 
bells  patterns ;  still,  they  are  thought  to  be  too  large  for  the  tower. 

The  South  front  has  a  line  of  pilasters,  upon  ground-floor  rusticated  arches ;  the 
three  middle  spaces  deeply  recessed,  and  having  richly-embellished  windows,  a  cornice, 
balustrade  and  attic.  Above  the  three  centre  arches  are  the  Gresham,  City,  and 
Mercers'  Company  arms,  which  are  repeated  on  the  east  front  entablature. 

The  North  front  has  a  projecting  centre,  and  otherwise  differs  from  the  south :  in 
niches  are  statues  of  Sir  Hugh  Myddelton,  by  Joseph ;  and  Sir  Richard  Whittington, 
by  Carew.  Over  the  centre  arch  is  Gresham's  motto,  Fortun  a  my ;  on  the  dexter,  the 
City  motto,  Dne.  dirige  nos  ;  and  on  the  sinister,  the  Mercers'  Company,  Honor  Deo. 

The  principal  or  First  floor  has  four  suites  of  apartments  : — 1.  Lloyd's,  east  and 
north  ;  2.  Royal  Exchange  Assurance,  west ;  3.  London  Assurance  Corporation,  south ; 
4.  Offices  originally  intended  for  Gresham  College,  south  and  west. 

The  Ground-floor  externally,  as  in  the  two  former  Exchanges,  is  occupied  by  shops 
and  offices,  each  having  a  mezzanine  and  basement. 

The  Interior  consists  of  the  open  Merchants'  Area,  resembling  the  corlile  of  an 
Italian  palace ;  its  form,  as  that  of  the  building,  is  parallelogram,  and  the  inner  area 
exactly  a  double  square.  The  ground-floor  is  a  Doric  colonnade,  and  rusticated  arches ; 
the  upper  floor  has  Ionic  columns,  with  arches  and  windows,  and  an  enriched  parapet, 
pierced.  The  key -stones  of  the  upper  arches  are  sculptured  with  national  arms,  in  the 
order  determined  at  the  Congress  of  Vienna.  At  the  north-east  angle  is  a  statue  of 
Elizabeth,  by  Watson ;  at  the  south-east,  Gibbons's  marble  statue  of  Charles  II.,  for- 
merly in  the  centre  of  the  old  Exchange,  nearly  upon  the  spot  where  is  now  a  marble 
statue  of  Queen  Victoria,  by  Lough :  the  sovereigns  in  whose  reigns  the  three 
Exchanges  were  built. 

The  encaustic  decorations  of  the  Ambulatories  having  become  obscured,  the  plaster-work  was 
removed  in  1859-60,  and  replaced  by  fresco-painting,  designed  by  Sang,  executed  by  Beensen,  of  Munich. 
Above  the  west  and  principal  entrance,  are  placed  the  Gresham  arms;  those  of  Sir  Thomas  Gres- 
ham, the  founder  of  the  institution,  in  combination  with  the  arms  of  the  Mercers'  Company,  to  which 
he  belonged ;  together  with  the  City  arms.  On  the  panel  of  the  ceiling  immediately  within  this  entrance 
are  the  Royal  arms.  To  the  right  are  the  national  arms  of  Sweden  and  Norway;  and  proceeding  round 
by  the  right,  next  are  the  following  national  and  distinguished  arms,  emblazoned  on  the  various  panels 
in  the  order : — Prussia,  the  East  Indies,  Australia,  Brazil,  America,  Portugal,  Naples,  Spain,  Italy, 
Greece,  France,  Austria,  Holland ;  followed  by  those  of  Brandenburg,  Hamburg,  and  Lubeck,  conjoined 
with  and  succeeded  by  those  of  Hanover,  Bavaria,  Scotland,  Ireland,  Denmark,  Schleswig-Holstcin, 
China,  Turkey,  and  Russia.  On  the  upper  corners  of  the  panels  crests  of  various  members  of  the 
Gresham  committee,  under  whose  direction  the  building  is  maintained,  have  been  placed ;  their  names 
will  be  found  recorded  on  a  granite  slab  which  occupies  the  south-west  corner  of  the  building.  The 
ceiling  panels  are  interspersed  with  the  Gresham,  the  Mercers',  and  the  City  arms,  together  with  the 
mottoes  of  the  two  latter,  "  Honor  Deo  "  and  "  Domine  dirige  nos,"  in  numerous  designs  and  combina- 
tions ;  while  above  the  statues  of  Elizabeth  and  Charles  II.  the  Royal  arms  are  again  conspicuous.  The 
different  Walks  of  the  Merchants  and  their  peculiar  trades  are  in  these  new  decorations  much  more 
readilv  recognisable  by  the  coats  of  arms  of  the  respective  countries,  and  each  particular  trade  is  repre- 
sented according  to  the  ancient  custom  resorted  to  by  the  frequenters  of  the  Royal  Exchange.  The 
temporary  decorations  had  little  or  no  reference  to  this  important  question,  but  now  the  coats  of  arms 
form  the  chief  ornaments  ol  the  large  arched  panels  of  the  walls,  the  borders  of  which  are  filled  with  a 
rich  Raphaelesque  margin  upon  a  purple  ground,  intersected  with  emblematic  medallions,  the  main  or 
central  leading  colour  being  an  aerial  and  sunny  yellow  of  the  most  cheerful  hue. 


328  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"  Here  are  the  same  old- favoured  spots,  changed  though  they  be  in  appearance ;  and  notwithstanding 
we  have  lost  the  great  Rothschild,  Jeremiah  Harman,  Daniel  Hardcastle  (the  Page  No.  1  of  the  Timet), 
the  younger  Rothschilds  occupy  a  pillar  on  the  south  side  of  the  Exchange,  much  in  the  same  place  as 
their  father;  and  the  Barings,  the  Bateses,  the  Salomons,  the  Doxats,  the  Durrants,  the  Crawshays,  the 
Curries,  and  the  Wilsons,  and  other  influential  merchants,  still  come  and  go,  as  in  olden  days."— (City, 
2nd  edit.)  Many  sea-captains  and  brokers  still  go  on  'Change ;  but  the  "  Walks  "  arc  disregarded.  The 
hour  of  High  'Change  is  from  \  past  3  to  \  past  I  p.m.,  the  two  great  days  being  Tuesday  and  Friday  for 
foreign  exchanges. 

Lloyd's  Subscription  Hooms  are  approached  by  a  fine  Italian  staircase ;  the  stairs 
are  each  a  single  block  of  Cragleith  granite,  14  feet  long.  In  the  vestibule  is  a  marble 
statue  of  Prince  Albert,  by  Lough  ;  a  marble  statue,  by  Gibson,  R.A.,  of  the  late  Mr. 
Huskisson,  presented  by  his  widow;  a  mural  testimonial  to  the  Times'  exposure  of  a 
fraudulent  conspiracy  in  1851 ;  and  a  monument  to  John  Lydekker,  Esq.,  who  be- 
queathed 58.000J.  to  the  Seamen's  Hospital  Society  :  it  has  figures  of  disabled  seamen, 
and  a  scene  from  the  Southern  Whale  Fishery. 

Lloyd's  is  the  rendezvous  of  the  most  eminent  merchants,  shipowners,  underwriters, 
insurance,  stock,  and  exchange  brokers,  &c.  Here  is  obtained  the  earliest  news  of  the 
arrival  and  sailing  of  vessels,  losses  at  sea,  captures,  re-captures,  engagements,  and  other 
shipping  intelligence;  and  the  proprietors  of  ships  and  freights  are  insured  by  the 
underwriters. 

Lloyd's  originated  with  a  coffee-house  keeper  of  that  name,  at  the  corner  of  Ab- 
church-lane,  Lombard-street : — 

"  To  Lloyd's  CofTee-house,  he  never  fails 
To  read  the  letters  and  attend  the  sales." — Wealthy  ShopTceeper,l700. 

In  1710,  Steele  dates  from  Lloyd's  (Tatler,  No.  246)  his  Petition  on  Coffee-house 
Orators  and  Newsvenders ;  and  Addison,  in  Spectator,  April  23,  1711,  speaks  of  the 
auction  pulpit  at  Lloyd's :  but  the  auction  business  was  transferred  to  Garra way's 
Coffee-house.  Lloyd's  was  subsequently  removed  to  Pope's  Head-alley,  and  in  1774  to 
the  north-west  corner  of  the  Royal  Exchange,  where  it  remained  until  the  fire  in 
1838 ;  the  subscribers  then  met  at  the  South-Sea  House,  till  they  returned  to  their 
present  location  in  the  new  Exchange.  The  rooms  are  in  the  Venetian  style,  with 
Roman  enrichments.  They  are: — 1.  The  Subscribers'  or  Underwriters',  the  Mer- 
chants', and  the  Captains'  Room.  The  Subscribers'  Boom  is  100  feet  long  by  48  feet 
wide,  and  is  opened  at  10  o'clock  and  closed  at  5  :  annual  subscription,  four  guineas; 
if  an  underwriter  or  insurance-broker,  he  pays  also  an  entrance-fee  of  twenty-five 
guineas ;  admissions  and  questions  determined  by  ballot,  each  underwriter  having  his 
own  seat.  At  the  entrance  of  the  room  are  exhibited  the  Shipping  Lists,  received  from 
Lloyd's  agents  at  home  and  abroad,  and  affording  particulars  of  departures  or  arrivals 
of  vessels,  wrecks,  salvage,  or  sale  of  property  saved,  &c.  To  the  right  and  left  are 
"  Lloyd's  Books,"  two  enormous  ledgers :  right  hand,  ships  "  spoken  with,"  or  arrived 
at  their  destined  ports ;  left  hand,  records  of  wrecks,  fires,  or  severe  collisions,  written 
in  a  fine  Roman  hand,  in  "  double  lines."  To  assist  the  underwriters  in  their  calcula- 
tions, at  the  end  of  the  room  is  an  Anemometer,  which  registers  the  state  of  the  wind 
day  and  night;  attached  is  a  rain-gauge. 

On  the  roof  of  the  Exchange  is  a  sort  of  mast,  at  the  top  of  which  is  a  fan,  like  that  of  a  windmill, 
the  object  of  which  is  to  keep  a  plate  of  metal  with  its  face  presented  to  the  wind.  Attached  to  this 
plate  are  springs,  which,  joined  to  a  rod,  descend  into  the  Underwriters'  Room  upon  a  large  sheet  of 
paper  placed  against  the  wall.  To  this  end  of  the  rod  a  lead-pencil  is  attached,  which  slowly  traverses 
the  paper  horizontally,  by  means  of  clock-work.  When  the  wind  blows  very  hard  against  the  plate 
outside,  the  spring,  being  pressed,  pushes  down  the  rod,  and  the  pencil  makes  a  long  line  down  the 
paper  vertically,  which  denotes  a  high  wind.  At  the  bottom  of  the  sheet,  another  pencil  moves,  guided 
by  a  vane  on  the  outside,  which  so  directs  its  course  horizontally  that  the  direction  of  the  wind  is  shown. 
The  sheet  of  paper  is  divided  into  squares,  numbered  with  the  hours  of  night  and  day ;  and  the  clock- 
work so  moves  the  pencils,  that  they  take  exactly  an  hour  to  traverse  each  square :  hence  the  strength 
and  direction  of  the  wind  at  any  hour  of  the  twenty-four  are  easily  seen. 

The  subscribers  number  about  1900;  and,  with  the  underwriters,  represent  the  greater 
part  of  the  mercantile  wealth  of  the  country.  (See  City,  2nd  edit,  pp,  108  to  122.) 
Above  the  Subscribers'  Room  is  the  Chart-room,  where  hangs  an  extensive  collection 
of  maps  and  charts. 

The  Merchants'  Room  is  superintended  by  a  master,  who  can  speak  several  lan- 
guages :  here  are  duplicate  copies  of  the  books  in  the  underwriters'  room,  and  files  of 
English  and  foreign  newspapers. 


EXCHANGES.  329 


The  Captains'  Room  is  a  kind  of  coffee-room,  where  merchants  and  ship-owners  meet 
captains,  and  sales  of  ships,  &c.  take  place. 

The  members  of  Lloyd's  have  ever  been  distinguished  by  their  loyalty  and  benevolent  spirit.  In 
1802,  they  voted  2000?.  to  the  Life-boat  subscription.  On  July  20,  1803,  at  the  invasion  panic,  they 
commenced  the  Patriotic  Fund  witli  20,000?.  3  per  cent,  consols ;  besides  70,312?.  7s.  individual  subscrip- 
tions, and  15,000?.  additional  donations.  After  the  battle  of  the  Nile,  in  1798,  they  collected  for  the 
widows  and  wounded  seamen  32,423?. ;  and  after  Lord  Howe's  victory,  June  1,  1794,  for  similar  pur- 
poses, 21,281?.  They  have  also  contributed  5000?.  to  the  London  Hospital ;  1000?.  for  the  suffering 
inhabitants  of  Russia  in  1813 ;  1000?.  for  the  relief  of  the  militia  in  our  North  American  colonies,  1813 ; 
and  10,000?.  for  the  Waterloo  subscription,  in  1815.  The  Committee  vote  medals  and  rewards  to  those 
who  distinguish  themselves  in  saving  life  from  shipwreck. 

Lloyd's  Register  of  British  and  Foreign  Shipping,  No.  2,  White-lion-court,  Corn- 
hill,  was  originally  established  in  1760,  and  re-established  in  1834,  and  gives  the  class 
and  standing  of  vessels,  date  of  building  and  where  built,  materials,  &c,  ascertained  by 
careful  surveys ;  but  is  a  distinct  body  from  Lloyd's  Subscription  Rooms. 

The  entrance-gates  in  each  front  of  the  Exchange  are  fine  specimens  of  iron-casting, 
bronzed.  The  western  or  principal  gates,  cast  by  Grissell,  are  22\  feet  high,  11  feet 
4  inches  wide.  The  design  is  Elizabethan :  on  the  flanks  and  around  the  semicircle, 
are  the  shields  of  the  twelve  great  City  companies ;  in  the  crown  of  the  arch,  Gresham's 
arms,  and  beneath  is  his  bust,  upon  a  mural  crown,  backed  by  the  civic  mace  and 
sword ;  on  the  panels  are  the  arms  of  Elizabeth  and  Victoria. 

The  cost  of  enlarging  the  site,  including  improvements  and  widening  of  Cornhill, 
Freeman's-court,  Broad -street,  and  removal  of  the  church  of  St.  Benet  Fink,  the 
French  Protestant  Church,  Bank-buildings,  Sweeting's-alley,  &c,  was  223,578?".  Is.  lOd. 
— City  Chamberlain's  Return,  October  30,  1851. 

"  Sir  Thomas  Gresham  left  the  Exchange  during  the  life  of  his  widow  to  her  use ;  and  at  her  death, 
he  left  his  mansion  in  Threadneedle-street,  since  occupied  by  the  Excise  Office,  for  a  college,  to  be  called 
Gresham  College,  as  a  London  University,  the  funds  for  its  support  being  provided  by  the  rents  of  the 
shops  and  pawns  of  the  Exchange.  By  the  Great  Fire,  this  source  of  income  was  entirely  cut  off;  and 
not  only  so,  but  the  two  Corporations  of  the  City  of  London  and  the  Mercers'  Company  incurred  a  debt 
of  nearly  60,000?.  in  rebuilding  the  Exchange.  They,  notwithstanding,  out  of  their  own  resources  con- 
tinued the  College  until  the  year  1745,  when  the  debt  amounted  to  111,000?.  In  1763,  the  College  was 
put  an  end  to  by  an  Act  of  Parliament,  and  the  site  let  to  the  Commissioners  of  Excise.  The  Gresham 
Professors  were  always  continued,  and  gave  their  lectures  in  a  room  in  the  Exchange  up  to  the  fire  of 
1838.  The  Gresham  Committee  have,  from  their  own  funds,  rebuilt  Gresham  College,  in  Gresham- 
street,  at  an  expense  of  upwards  of  15,000?. :  and  the  debt  incurred  by  the  two  Corporations,  in  main- 
taining the  Exchange  and  rebuilding  it  twice,  in  maintaining  the  Gresham  Professors,  and  some  alms- 
houses founded  also  by  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  amounts  now  to  considerably  more  than  200,000?." — W. 
Tite,  F.R.S. 

A  large  medal,  by  Wyon,  R.A.,  bears  on  the  obverse  Lough's  statue  of  the  Queen  in 
profile ;  on  the  reverse  is  a  bust  in  high  relief  of  Gresham,  in  the  cap  and  starched 
frill  of  his  period. 

In  the  neighbourhood  of  the  Exchange  are  the  finest  architectural  objects  in  the  City.  Westward 
is  the  Bank  of  England,  an  elaborately-enriched  pile,  very  picturesque  in  parts ;  and  beyond  it  are  the 
palatial  edifices  of  the  Alliance  and  Sun  Insurance  Offices.  Southward  is  the  Mansion  House,  in  effect  a 
massive  Italian  palace.  Northward  is  Royal  Kxchange-buildings,  an  enriched  specimen  of  street  archi- 
tecture. Before  the  Exchange  portico  is  an  equestrian  statue  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington  (the  last  work 
modelled  by  Chantrey),  placed  here  by  the  citizens  in  gratitude  for  the  Government  grant  of  1,000,000?. 
for  improvements  in  their  ancient  City.  From  this  spot  radiate  Moorgate  and  Prince' s-streets ;  the 
former  with  Italian  palazzo  offices,  less  showy  but  of  far  better  architectural  character  than  Regent- 
street  ;  and  King  William-street,  highly  embellished,  but  more  interesting  as  leading  to  London-bridge, 
which  contests  with  another  structure  across  the  same  stream  the  distinction  of  "  the  finest  bridge  in 
the  world." 

Coal  Exchange. — Three  hundred  years  ago,  when  the  use  of  coal  instead  of  wood 
had  only  just  commenced  in  the  metropolis,  two  or  three  ships  were  enough  for  the 
supply.  A  charter  of  Edward  II.  shows  Derbyshire  coal  to  have  been  then  used  in 
London,  though  a  proclamation  of  Edward  I.  shows  its  introduction  as  a  substitute  for 
wood  to  have  been  much  opposed;  and  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  the  burning  of  stone- 
coal  was  prohibited  during  the  sitting  of  Parliament,  lest  it  should  affect  the  health  of 
the  members.     An  Exchange  for  the  trade  in  the  new  fuel  was  early  established. 

The  "  Coal  Exchange,"  up  to  1807,  was  in  the  hands  of  private  individuals ;  in  that 
year  it  was  purchased  by  the  Coi-poration  for  25,600/.  In  1845,  the  coal-trade  peti- 
tioned for  the  enlargement  and  rebuilding  of  the  Exchange.  This  was  done  by  the 
City  architect,  J.  B.  Bunning;  and  the  new  Exchange  was  opened  with  great  iclat,  by 
Prince  Albert,  accompanied  by  the  Prince  of  Wales  and  the  Princess  Royal,  Oct.  29, 


330  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

1849 ;  when  the  Lord  Mayor  (Duke),  himself  a  coal-merchant,  received  a  patent  of 
baronetcy.  The  Exchange  has  two  principal  fronts  of  Portland  stone,  in  the  Italian 
style, — one  in  Lower  Thames-street,  and  the  other  in  St.  Mary-at-Hill ;  with  an  en- 
trance at  the  corner  by  a  semicircular  portico,  with  Roman-Doric  columns,  and  a  tower 
106  feet  high,  within  which  is  the  principal  staircase.  The  public  hall,  or  area  for 
the  merchants,  is  a  rotunda  60  feet  in  diameter,  covered  by  a  glazed  dome,  74  feet 
from  the  floor.  This  circular  hall  has  three  tiers  of  projecting  galleries  running  round 
it ;  the  stancheons,  galleries,  ribs  of  dome,  &c.  are  iron,  of  which  about  300  tons 
are  used.  The  floor  of  the  rotunda  is  composed  of  4000  pieces  of  inlaid  woods, 
in  the  form  of  a  mariner's  compass,  within  a  border  of  Greek  fret :  in  the  centre 
are  the  City  shield,  anchor,  &c. ;  the  dagger-blade  in  the  arms  being  a  piece  of  a 
mulberry-tree  planted  by  Peter  the  Great,  when  he  is  stated  to  have  worked  as  a  ship- 
wright in  Deptford  Dockyard. 

The  entrance  vestibule  is  richly  embellished  with  vases  of  fruit,  arabesque  foliage, 
terminal  figures,  &c.  In  the  rotunda,  between  the  Raphaelesque  scroll  supports,  are 
panels  painted  with  impersonations  of  the  coal-bearing  rivers  of  England :  the  Thames, 
Mersey,  Severn,  Trent,  Humber,  Aire,  Tyne,  &c. :  and  above  them,  within  flower- 
borders,  are  figures  of  Wisdom,  Fortitude,  Vigilance,  Temperance,  Perseverance, 
Watchfulness,  Justice,  and  Faith.  The  arabesques  in  the  first  story  are  views  of  coal- 
mines :  Wallsend,  Percy  Pit-Main,  Regent's  Pit,  &c.  The  second  and  third  story 
panels  are  painted  with  miners  at  work :  and  the  twenty-four  ovals  at  the  springing  of  the 
dome  have  upon  a  turquoise-blue  ground  figures  of  fossil  plants  found  in  coal-formations. 
The  minor  ornamentation  is  flowers,  shells,  snakes,  lizards,  and  other  reptiles,  and 
nautical  subjects.  The  whole  is  in  polychrome,  by  Sang.  The  gallery-fronts  and 
other  iron- work  are  cable  pattern.  The  cost  of  the  enlarged  site,  the  building,  and 
approaches,  was  91,167Z.  11*.  8d. 

In  a  basement  on  the  east  side  of  the  Exchange  are  the  remains  of  a  Roman  bath, 
in  excellent  preservation,  discovered  in  excavating  the  foundations  of  the  new  building ; 
there  is  a  convenient  access  to  this  interesting  relic  of  Roman  London. 

Cobn  Exchange  (the),  Mark-lane,  was  established  in  1747,  when  the  present 
system  of  factorage  commenced.  It  consists  of  an  open  Doric  colonnade,  within  which 
the  factors  have  their  stands;  it  resembles  the  atrium,  or  place  of  audience,  in  a 
Pompeian  house ;  with  its  impluvium,  the  place  in  the  centre  in  which  the  rain  fell. 
( W.  H.  Leeds.)  In  1827-8,  adjoining  was  built  a  second  Corn  Exchange  (G.  Smith, 
architect)  :  it  has  a  central  Grecian-Doric  portico,  surmounted  by  the  imperial  arms 
and  agricultural  emblems ;  the  ends  have  corresponding  pilasters.  Here  lightermen 
and  granary -keepers  have  stands,  as  well  as  corn-merchants,  factors  and  millers ;  the 
ceed  market  is  in  another  part  of  the  building. 

"  This  is  the  only  metropolitan  market  for  corn,  grain,  and  seeds.  The  m&rket-days  are  Monday, 
Wednesday,  and  Friday ;  hours,  ten  to  three.  Wheat  is  paid  for  in  bills  at  one  month,  and  other  corn 
and  grain  in  bills  at  two  months.  The  Kentish  '  hoymen,'  distinguishable  by  their  sailor's  jackets,  have 
stands  free  of  expense,  and  pay  less  for  metage  and  dues  than  others ;  and  the  Essex  dealers  enjoy  some 
privileges  :  in  both  eases  said  to  be  in  consideration  of  the  men  of  Kent  and  Essex  having  continued 
to  supply  the  City  when  it  was  ravaged  by  the  Plague." — Knight's  London,  vol.  iii.  p.  365. 

King's  Exchange  (the),  "  for  the  receipt  of  bullion  to  be  coined,"  was  in  Old 
Exchange,  now  Old  'Change,  Cheapside. 

"  It  was  here  that  one  of  those  ancient  officers,  known  as  the  King's  Exchanger,  was  placed ;  whose 
duty  it  was  to  attend  to  the  supply  of  the  Mints  with  bullion,  to  distribute  the  new  coinage,  and  to 
regulate  the  exchange  of  foreign  coin.  Of  these  officers  there  were  anciently  three :  two  in  London,  at 
the  Tower  and  Old  Exchange,  and  one  in  the  City  of  Canterbury.  Subsequently,  another  was  appointed 
with  an  establishment  in  Lombard-street,  the  ancieni  rendezvous  of  the  merchants ;  and  it  appears  not 
improbable  that  Queen  Elizabeth's  intention  was  to  have  removed  this  functionary  to  what  was  pre- 
eminently designated  bv  her  '  the  Eoyal  Exchange,'  and  hence  the  reason  for  the  change  of  the  name  of 
this  edifice  by  Elizabeth."—  W.  Tite,  FJi.S. 

No.  36,  Old  'Change  was  formerly  the  "  Three  Morrice-Dancers  "  public-house,  with 
the  three  figures  sculptured  on  a  stone  as  the  sign  and  an  ornament,  (temp.  James  I.)  : 
the  house  was  taken  down  about  1801 :  there  is  an  etching  of  this  very  characteristic 
sign-stone. 

New  Exchange,  en  the  south  side  of  the  Strand,  was  built  by  the  Earl  of  Salisbury 
on  the  site  of  the  stables  of  Durham  House,  and  was  opened  by  James  I.  and  his 


EXCHANGES.  331 


queen,  who  named  it  "  the  Bursse  of  Britain."  It  was  erected  partly  on  the  plan  of  the 
Royal  Exchange,  with  vaults  beneath,  over  which  was  an  open  paved  arcade;  and  above 
were  walks  of  shops  occupied  by  perfumers  and  publishers,  milliners  and  sempstresses : 

"  The  sempstress  speeds  to  'Change  with  red-tipt  nose." — Gay's  Trivia,  b.  li.  1.  337. 
When,  at  the  Restoration,  Covent  Garden  rose  to  be  a  fashionable  quarter,  the  New 
Exchange  became  very  popular.  It  is  a  favourite  scene  with  the  dramatists  of  the 
reign  of  Charles  II.,  and  was  the  great  resort  of  the  gallants  of  that  day.  At  the 
"Three  Spanish  Gipsies,"  in  the  New  Exchange,  lived  Anne  Clarges,  married  to 
Thomas  Ratford,  who  there  sold  wash-balls,  powder,  gloves,  &c,  and  she  taught  girls 
plain  work.  Anne  became  sempstress  to  Colonel  Monk,  and  used  to  carry  him  linen : 
"  she  was  a  woman,"  says  Lord  Clarendon,  "  of  the  lowest  extraction,  without  either 
wit  or  beauty;"  but  who  contrived  to  captivate  Monk,  "old  George,"  and  was  married 
to  him  at  St.  George's  Church,  Southwark,  in  1652,  it  is  believed  while  her  first  hus- 
band was  living.  "  She  became  the  laughing-stock  of  the  court,  and  gave  general 
disgust."  (Pepys,  iii.  75.)  She  died  Duchess  of  Albemarle,  leaving  a  son,  Christopher, 
who  succeeded  to  the  Dukedom ;  he  is  said  to  have  been  "  suckled  by  Honour  Mills, 
who  sold  apples,  herbs,  oysters,  &c."  At  the  Revolution,  in  1688,  there  sat  in  the 
New  Exchange,  as  a  sempstress,  Francis  Jennings,  the  reduced  Duchess  of  Tyrconnel, 
wife  to  Richard  Talbot,  lord-deputy  of  Ireland  under  James  II. :  she  supported  herself 
for  a  few  days  (till  she  was  known,  and  otherwise  provided  for)  by  the  little  trade  of 
this  place :  to  avoid  detection,  she  sat  in  a  white  mask  and  a  white  dress,  and  was 
therefore  known  as  "  the  white  widow."*  Another  romantic  story  is  told  of  the  place. 
In  November,  1653,  a  quarrel  having  arisen  in  the  public  walk  of  the  Exchange  be- 
tween M.  Gerard  (at  that  time  engaged  in  a  plot  against  Cromwell)  and  Don  Panta- 
loon Sa  (brother  to  the  Portuguese  ambassador) ;  the  latter  next  day  came  to  the  Ex- 
change, accompanied  by  assassins,  who  mistaking  another  person,  then  walking  with 
his  sister  and  mistress,  for  M.  Gerard,  seized  upon  him,  and  stabbed  him  to  death  with 
their  poniards.  For  this  crime  Don  Pantaleon  was  condemned  to  death ;  and,  by  a 
strange  coincidence,  he  suffered  on  the  same  scaffold  with  M.  Gerard,  whose  plot  had 
been  discovered. 

The  Exchange  latterly  became  famous  for  its  exhibitions  of  waxwork,  and  for  a 
magnificent  stock  of  English  and  foreign  china  kept  for  sale ;  but  by  the  intrigues, 
assignations,  and  indecent  licenses  of  the  fops  with  the  milliners,  the  place  lost  its 
character,  was  little  resorted  to  after  the  death  of  Queen  Anne,  and  in  1737  was  taken 
down,  and  the  site  covered  with  houses ;  the  name  is  retained  in   Exchange-court. 

In  the  Strand,  exactly  opposite  Ivy  Bridge  (a  short  distance  east  of  the  New  Exchange  site),  Thomas 
Parr,  the  "  olde  olde  man,"  had  lodgings,  when  he  came  to  London  to  be  shewn  as  a  curiosity  to 
Charles  I.  The  authority  for  this  fact  is  a  Mr.  Greening,  who  in  the  year  1814,  being  then  about  90 
years  of  age,  mentioned  it  to  the  author,  saying  that  he  perfectly  well  remembered,  when  a  boy,  having 
been  shown  the  house  by  his  grandfather,  then  88  years  of  age.  The  house,  which  stood  at  the  com- 
mencement of  the  present  century,  had  been  known  for  more  than  50  years  as  the  "  Queen's  Head" 
public-house. — Smith's  Streets  of  London,  edit.  1849,  p.  145. 

Stock  Exchange,  the  heart  of  "  the  Bank  for  the  whole  world  "  {Rothschild),  is 
in  Capel-court,  Bartholomew-lane,  facing  the  eastern  front  of  the  Bank  of  England. 
The  speculators  in  stock,  who  greatly  increased  with  the  National  Debt,  hitherto  met 
at  Jonathan's  Coffee-house,  Change-alley;  then  at  a  room  in  Threadneedle-street, 
admission  6d. ;  and  bargains  in  stocks  were  next  made  in  the  Bank  rotunda.  In  1801, 
the  present  building  was  commenced  by  subscription  (James  Peacock,  architect),  in 
Capel-court,  the  site  of  the  offices  and  residence  of  Sir  William  Capel,  lord  mayor  in 
1501.  The  inscription  placed  beneath  the  foundation-stone  states,  "at  this  era  the 
public  funded  debt  had  accumulated  in  five  successive  reigns  to  552,730,9242. ;"  adding 
propitiatorily,  "  the  inviolate  faith  of  the  British  nation,  and  the  principles  of  the  con- 
stitution, sanction  and  secure  the  property  embarked  in  this  undertaking.  May  the 
blessing  of  that  constitution  be  secured  to  the  latest  posterity  !"  The  building  was 
opened  March,  1802 ;  and  in  1822  the  business  in  the  foreign  funds  was  removed  here 
from  the  Boyal  Exchange. 

The  Stock  Exchange  was  considerably  enlarged  in  1854,  at  the  expense  of  20,0002. 

*  This  anecdote  was  ingeniously  dramatised  by  Mr.  Douglas  Jerrold ;  and  produced  at  Covent-garden 
Theatre,  in  1840,  as  "  The  White  Milliner." 


332  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  fabric  belongs  to  a  private  Company,  consisting  of  400  shareholders ;  and  the  shares  were 
originally  of  501.  each,  but  are  now  of  uncertain  amount.  The  affairs  of  this  Company  are 
conducted,  under  a  deed  of  settlement,  by  nine  "  managers,"  elected  for  life  by  the  shareholders. 
The  members  or  subscribers,  however,  entirely  conduct  their  own  affairs  by  a  Committee  of  thirty  of 
their  own  body.  There  are  three  branches,  or  houses :  the  English,  for  stocks  and  Exchequer- 
bills  ;  the  Foreign,  for  stocks ;  and  the  tiailway  or  Share-market,  a  market  for  mining  shares 
being  added  in  1850.  Lists  are  daily  published  of  the  prices  of  stocks  and  shares,  and  twice 
a  week  of  bullion  and  foreign  exchanges.  The  members  give  security  to  the  Stock  Exchange  Com- 
mittee, partly  as  a  guarantee  of  their  own  individual  respectability,  and  partly  of  their  good  faith.  In 
some  cases  they  give  sureties  to  the  amount  of  9001.,  and  in  others  of  5002.  or  6001. ;  the  smaller  amount 
being  required  of  brokers  who  have  for  some  time  before  been  recognised  clerks  of  members  of  the  Stock 
Exchange ;  but  in  all  cases,  the  time  during  which  such  security  lasts  is  limited  to  two  years.  The 
money  received  in  the  event  of  defalcation  by  a  broker  from  his  sureties  goes  solely  to  the  members  of 
the  Stock  Exchange ;  and  the  bonds  given  to  the  Stock  Exchange  are  required  for  the  protection  of 
that  body  only,  and  not  for  the  public.  Each  member,  as  well  as  the  Committee,  has  to  meet  the  proba- 
tion of  re-election  every  Lady-day.  A  bankrupt  ceases  to  be  a  member,  and  cannot  be  re-adinitted 
unless  he  pays  6s.  8d.  in  the  pound  beyond  that  collected  from  his  debtors.  The  names  of  defaulters 
are  posted  on  the  "  black  board,"  and  they  are  termed  "  lame  ducks  ;"  this  rule  was  established  in  1787, 
when  twenty-five  "  lame  ducks  waddled  out  of  the  Alley."  To  avoid  a  libel,  the  notice  runs  thus :  "  Any 
person  transacting  business  with  A.  B.  is  requested  to  communicate  with  C.  D."  Only  members  are 
allowed  to  transact  business  at  the  Stock  Exchange,  as  notified  at  each  entrance;  and  strangers  who 
stray  in  are  quickly  hustled  out :  but  a  view  of  the  Exchange  can  be  obtained  through  the  glass-doors 
in  the  entrance  from  Hercules-court.  The  brokers  usually  deal  with  the  jobbers;  and  among  the 
Exchange  cries  are,  " Borrow  money  ?"  "  What  are  Exchequer ?""  Five  with  me,"  "Ten  with  me," 
making  up  a  strange  Babel.  "A  thousand  pounds' consols  at  96f-964."  ("Take 'em  at  96|,"  is  the 
vociferous  reply  of  a  buyer:)  "Mexican  at  27^-27;  Portuguese  fours  at  32^-32$ ;  Spanish  fives  at  21; 
Dutch  two-and-a-halfs  at  50j-50J  :"  and  so  on  till  the  hour  for  closing  strikes.  Railway  companies  and 
bankers  often  lend  large  sums,  and  bankers  are  sometimes  borrowers,  as  are  also  the  Bank  of  England 
and  were  the  East  India  Company.  The  fluctuations  in  the  rate  of  interest  enjoin  "  watching  the  turn  of 
the  market ;"  for,  on  the  same  day,  money  has  been  lent  at  4  per  cent,  in  the  morning,  and  at  2  o'clock 
could  scarcely  be  borrowed  at  10  per  cent. 

The  Stock  Exchange  has  had  its  vocabulary  of  terms  for  than  a  century — traceable 
to  the  early  transactions  in  the  stock  of  the  East  India  Company. 

A  Bull  is  one  who  speculates  for  a  rise;  whereas  a  Bear  is  he  who  speculates  for  a  fall.  The  Bull 
would,  for  instance,  buy  100,0002.  consols  for  the  account,  with  the  object  of  selling  them  again  during 
the  intervening  time  at  a  higher  price.  The  Bear,  on  the  contrary,  would  sell  the  100,0002.  stock  (which, 
however,  he  docs  not  possess)  for  the  same  time,  with  the  view  "of  buying  in  and  balancing  the  trans- 
action at  a  lower  price  than  that  at  which  he  originally  sold  them.  If  consols  fall,  the  Bull  finds  him- 
self on  the  wrong  side  of  the  hedge ;  and  if  they  rise,  the  poor  Bear  is  compelled  to  buy  in  his  stock  at 
a  sacrifice. — The  City,  2nd  edit. 

Certain  of  the  legitimate  dealers  and  brokers,  originally  formed  themselves  into  a  Stock 
Exchange,  on  the  principle  of  admitting  only  those  who  could  give  assurance  of  their  respecta  ility, 
and  of  dismissing  summarily  any  of  their  own  body  who  should  be  guilty  of  irregularity.  On  the  whole, 
the  scheme  has  worked  greatly  to  the  public  advantage,  and  has  rendered  the  London  Money-market 
the  resort  of  all  the  world.  Notwithstanding  the  transactions  are  so  enormous,  the  amounts  so 
large,  and  the  confidence  reposed  so  unlimited,  the  instances  of  delinquency  in  the  members  are  sur- 
prisingly few.  Nevertheless,  the  reminiscences  of  the  "Alley,"  together  with  the  equivocal  conduct  of 
the  "  stags  "  who  haunt  its  purlieus,  still  attach,  though  unjustly,  to  the  Stock  Exchange  itself.  The 
benevolence  and  charity  of  the  members  are  well  known:  in  any  sudden  calamity,  the  Stock  Exchange 
men  are  always  amongst  the  first  to  succour  the  afflicted.  There  is,  moreover,  a  fund  subscribed  by 
the  members  for  their  decayed  associates,  the  invested  capital  of  which,  exclusive  of  annual  contribu- 
tions, amounts  to  upwards  of  50,0002. — The  Builder. 

The  Stock  Exchange  has  many  startling  episodes  of  fraud  and  panic,  rise  and  ruin- 
Speculation  often  produces  permanent  benefit  to  the  public :  to  the  fever  of  1807  and 
1808,  London  owes  Vauxhall  and  Waterloo  Bridges.  Late  in  Napoleon's  career  the 
funds  varied  8  and  10  per  cent,  within  an  hour ;  but  the  immediate  effect  of  the  battle 
of  Waterloo  news  on  the  funds  was  only  3  per  cent. :  the  decrease  of  the  public  expen- 
diture was  two  millions  per  month.  At  the  panic  of  1825,  which  more  affected  the 
public  funds  than  did  the  news  of  Napoleon's  escape  from  Elba,  the  extrance  to  the 
Stock  Exchange  became  so  choked  up,  that  a  fine  of  51.  was  imposed  upon  each  person 
who  stopped  the  way.  Pigeon-expresses  for  the  earliest  intelligence  were  chiefly  worked 
from  May  to  September;  the  birds  generally  used  were  the  Antwerp  breed,  strong  on 
the  wing,  and  fully  feathered  :  they  are,  however,  superseded  by  the  electric  telegraph 
and  the  cable.  Exchequer-bills  let  in  fraud  the  year  after  their  creation.  The  last  fraud 
in  Exchequer-bills  was  that  committed  by  Beaumont  Smith,  chief  clerk  in  the  Audit 
Office,  and  the  victim  of  llapallo,  an  Italian  jobber. 

Political  hoaxes,  from  the  reported  death  of  Queen  Anne  to  the  fraud  of  1814,  in 
which  Lord  Cochrane  was  implicated,  chequer  the  Stock-Exchange  chronicles ;  and 
victims  flit  about  its  gates — from  the  Goldsmids,  whose  credit  was  whispered  away  by 
envy,  to  the  poor  Miss  Whitehead,  whose  wits  were  turned  to  melancholy  by  the 
forgeries  of  her  brother.     The  recollection  of  large  loans  raised  here  reminds  one  of 


EXOIANGE-ALLEY— EXCISE  OFFICE  (THE)  333 

the  mighty  power  which  reigns  supreme  on  this  very  spot,  once  the  most  opulent  part 
of  Roman  London. 

"  The  warlike  power  of  every  country  depends  on  their  Three-per-Cents.  If  Caesar  were  to  re-appear 
on  earth,  Wettenhall's  List  would  be  more  important  than  his  Commentaries ;  Rothschild  would  open 
and  shut  the  Temple  of  Janus ;  Thomas  Baring,  or  Bates,  would  probably  command  the  Tenth  Legion ; 
and  the  soldiers  would  march  to  battle  with  loud  cries  of  '  Scrip  and  Omnium  reduced !'  '  Consols  and 
Ca?sar  !' " — Rev.  Sydney  Smith. 

The  most  remarkable  man  among  the  stockbrokers  of  our  time  was  the  late  Mr.  Francis  Baily,  F.R.S., 
the  astronomer,  who  retired  from  the  Stock  Exchange,  in  1825.  In  183S,  in  the  garden  of  his  house, 
Tavistock-place,  Russell-square,  was  constructed  a  small  observatory,  wherein  Mr.  Baily  repeated  the 
"  Cavendish  experiment,"  the  Government  having  granted  50M.  towards  the  expense  of  the  apparatus, 
tea.  This  is  the  building  in  which  the  earth  was  weighed,  and  its  bulk  and  figure  calculated;  the  standard 
measure  of  the  British  nation  perpetuated,  and  the  pendulum  experiments  rescued  from  their  chief  source 
of  inaccuracy.    Mr.  Baily  died  President  of  the  Astronomical  Society,  in  1844. 

The  Stock  Exchange,  as  rebuilt  by  Allason,  architect,  1853,  stands  in  the  centre  of 
the  block  of  buildings  fronting  Bartholomew-lane,  Threadneedle-street,  Old  Broad- 
street,  and  Throgmorton -street.  The  principal  entrance  is  from  Bartholomew-lane, 
through  Capel-court :  there  are  also  three  entrances  from  Throgmorton-street  and 
one  from  Threadneedle-street.  The  area  of  the  new  house  is  about  75  squares,  and  it 
would  contain  1100  or  1200  members :  there  are,  however,  seldom  more  than  half  that 
number  present.  The  site  is  very  irregular,  and  has  enforced  some  peculiar  construc- 
tion in  covering  it,  into  which  iron  enters  largely.  For  the  cupola,  laminated  ribs  are 
used.  The  vault  which  covers  the  centre  of  the  building,  39  feet  in  span,  is  of  timber 
and  iron.  The  whole  of  this,  together  with  the  dome,  &c.,  is  covered  with  lead  to  the 
extent  of  about  80  tons.  The  vitiated  air  is  got  rid  of  by  an  extracting-chamber  on 
the  apex  of  the  dome,  heated  by  a  sunburner  with  500  jets :  during  the  day  the  sun- 
burner  is  concealed  from  view  by  a  perforated  sliding  metal  screen ;  but,  when  required, 
sufficient  illuminating  power  is  to  be  obtained  by  withdrawing  the  screen,  to  light  up 
the  house  without  further  burners. — The  Builder. 

EXCHANGE- ALLEY. 

EXCHANGE-ALLEY  now  'Change-alley,  between  No.  24,  Cornhill,  and  No.  70, 
Lombard-street,  is  described  by  Strype  as  "  a  place  of  a  very  considerable  concourse 
of  merchants,  seafaring  men,  and  other  traders,  occasioned  by  the  great  coffee-houses  that 
stand  there.  Chiefly  now  brokers,  and  such  as  deal  in  the  buying  and  selling  of  stocks, 
frequent  it."  Thither  Jews  and  Gentiles  migrated  in  1700 :  for  a  century  it  was  the 
focus  of  all  the  monetary  operations  of  England,  and  in  great  part  of  Europe ;  and 
even  to  this  hour,  the  Stock  Exchange  bears  the  generic  designation  of  "  the  Alley." 
It  was  the  great  arena  of  the  South-Sea  Bubble  of  1720.  In  a  print  called  the 
"  Bubblers'  Melody  "  are  "  stock -jobbing  cards,  or  the  humours  of  'Change-alley." 

"  The  headlong  fool  that  wants  to  be  a  swopper 
Of  gold  and  silver  coin  for  English  copper, 
May  in  'Change-alley  prove  himself  an  ass, 
And  give  rich  metal  for  adulterate  brass." 

Nine  of  Heart),  in  a  Pack  of  Bubble  Cards. 

I7fi6  was  a  South-Sea  year  in  East  India  stock,  when  patriots  were  made  or  marred 

by  jobbing  :  "  from  the  Alley  to  the  House,"  said  Walpole,  "  is  like  a  path  of  ants." 

"  The  centre  of  the  jobbing  is  in  the  kingdom  of  Exchange-alley  and  its  adjacencies.  The  limits  are 
easily  surrounded  in  about  a  minute  and  a  half,  viz.,  stepping  out  of  Jonathan's  into  the  Alley,  you  turn 
your  face  full  south ;  moving  on  a  few  paces,  and  then  turning  due  east,  you  advance  to  Garraway's  ; 
from  thence,  going  out  at  the  other  door,  you  (jo  on  still  east  into  Birchin-lane ;  and  then  halting  a  little 
at  the  Sword-blade  Bank,  to  do  much  mischief  in  fewest  words,  you  immediately  face  to  the  north, 
enter  Cornhill,  visit  two  or  three  petty  provinces  there  in  your  way  west ;  and  thus  having  boxed  your 
compass,  and  sailed  round  the  whole  stock-jobbing  globe,  you  turn  into  Jonathan's  again  ;  and  so,  as 
most  of  the  great  follies  of  life  oblige  us  to  do,  you  end  just  where  you  began." — The  Anatomy  of 
Exchange-alley,  1719. 

EXCISE    OFFICE  (THE), 

OLD  Broad-street  (Dance,  sen.,  architect),  occupies  the  site  of  Gresham  College, 
which  the  Gresham  trustees  sold,  in  1768,  to  the  Crown  for  a  perpetual  rent  of 
&001.  per  annum ;  when  18.000Z.  was  also  paid  out  of  the  Gresham  fund  to  the  Com- 
missioners towards  pulling  down  the  College,  and  building  an  Excise  Office  !  (Burgon.) 
The  business  was  removed  in  1848  to  the  Inland  Revenue  Office,  Somerset  House.     In 


334  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  court-yard  of  the  Broad-street  Excise  Office  a  temporary  Exchange  was  put  up  for 
the  merchants  in  1838 ;  and  was  used  during  the  rebuilding  of  the  Royal  Exchange. 
(See  Gresham  College,  p.  274.) 

The  Excise  system  was  established  by  the  Long  Parliament,  in  1643,  to  raise  funds 
for  the  war  against  the  King !  The  Commissioners  first  sat  in  Haberdashers'  Hall,  and 
then  at  their  office  in  Smithfield,  which  was  taken  down  in  1647,  the  mob  carrying  off 
the  materials  in  triumph.  In  1 680,  the  office  was  at  Cockaigne  House,  formerly  the 
mansion  of  Eliah,  the  brother  of  Dr.  William  Harvey,  the  illustrator  of  the  Circulation 
of  the  Blood.  Thence  the  Excise  Office  was  removed  to  Sir  John  Frederick's  mansion, 
Old  Jewry ;  and  then  to  Old  Broad-street. 

EXETER  BALL, 

NO.  372,  on  the  north  side  of  the  Strand,  a  large  proprietary  establishment,  was 
commenced  in  1829  (Gandy  Deering,  architect),  and  was  originally  intended  for 
religious  and  charitable  Societies,  and  their  meetings.  It  has  a  narrow  frontage  in 
the  Strand,  but  the  premises  extend  in  the  rear  nearly  from  Burleigh-street  to  Exeter- 
street.  The  Strand  entrance  is  Grseco-Corinthian,  and  has  two  columns  and  pilasters, 
and  the  word  <£IAA AEA$EION  (Loving  Brothers)  sculptured  in  the  attic.  A  double 
staircase  leads  to  the  Great  Hall,  beneath  which  are  a  smaller  one,  and  passages  leading 
to  the  offices  of  several  Societies. 

The  Great  Hall,  opened  in  1831,  is  now  used  for  the  "  May  Meetings"  of  religious 
societies,  and  for  the  Sacred  Harmonic  Society's  and  other  concerts.  This  Hall  has 
been  twice  enlarged,  is  now  131  ft.  6  in.  long,  76  ft.  9  in.  wide,  and  45  ft.  high,  and  will 
accommodate  upwards  of  3000  persons.  At  the  east  end  is  an  organ  and  orchestra,  the 
property  of  the  Sacred  Harmonic  Society ;  at  the  west  end  is  a  large  gallery,  extending 
partly  along  the  sides ;  and  on  the  floor  are  seats  rising  in  part  amphitheatrically ;  also 
a  platform  for  the  speakers,  and  a  large  carved  chair.  In  1850,  the  area  of  the  hall 
was  lengthened  nearly  forty  feet ;  the  flat-panelled  ceiling  was  also  removed,  and  a 
coved  one  inserted,  without  disturbing  the  slating  in  the  roof;  S.  W.  Daukes,  archi- 
tect. Nearly  eighty  tons  of  iron  were  introduced  into  the  roof,  which,  with  the  new 
ceiling,  is  one-third  less  weight  than  the  original  roof. 

Thus  the  ceiling  gained  15  feet  in  height  at  the  ends,  and  12  feet  in  the  centre ;  and 
the  sound  and  ventilation  are  much  improved.  The  Orchestra  is  on  the  acoustic  prin- 
ciple successfully  adopted  by  Mr.  Costa  at  the  Philharmonic  Society ;  it  is  76  feet  wide, 
11  feet  more  than  the  Birmingham  Town- Hall  orchestra.  Every  member  can  see  the 
conductor ;  the  organ-player  sees  his  baton  in  a  glass,  among  the  phalanx  of  instrumental- 
ists. The  works  of  Handel,  Haydn,  and  Mozart  are  here  given  with  mighty  effect ;  and 
Spohr  and  Mendelssohn  have  here  conducted  their  own  productions.  The  Organ, 
built  by  Walker  in  1840,  is  30  feet  wide  and  40  feet  high :  it  has  2187  pipes ;  the 
longest  are  20  feet  from  the  base,  diameter  15  inches,  weight  of  each  4  cwt. ;  in  gilding 
one-half  of  each  pipe  750  leaves  of  gold  were  used  :  there  are  three  rows  of  keys  and 
two  octaves  of  pedals. 

From  April  to  the  end  of  May,  various  Societies  hold  their  anniversary  meetings  at 
Exeter  Hall.  The  smaller  hall  holds  about  1000  persons,  and  a  third  hall  250,  Haydon 
has  painted  the  Meeting  of  Anti-Slavery  Delegates  in  the  Great  Hall,  June  12,  1840, 
under  the  presidency  of  the  venerable  Thomas  Clarkson,  then  in  his  81st  year.  On 
June  1,  1840,  Prince  Albert  presided  in  the  Great  Hall  at  the  first  public  meeting  of 
the  Society  for  the  Extinction  of  the  Slave  Trade,  this  being  the  Prince's  first  ap- 
pearance at  any  public  meeting  in  England. 

Exeter  Hall,  with  its  various  religious  and  benevolent  aggregations,  is  one  field  with 
many  encampments  of  distinct  tribes.  "  Wesleyan,  Church,  Baptist  missionary  socie- 
ties, all  maintain  a  certain  degree  of  reserve  towards  each  other,  all  are  jealous  of  the 
claims  of  rival  sects,  and  yet  all  are  attracted  by  a  common  sense  of  religious  earnest- 
ness. The  independent  and  often  mutually  repelling  bodies  who  congregate  in  Exeter 
Hall  are  ne  in  spirit,  with  all  their  differences.  Without  a  pervading  organization, 
they  are  a  church." — Spectator  newspaper. 

Mr.  Hullah's  system  of  popular  Singing  was  formerly  illustrated  here,  when  2000 
pupils  combined  their  voices  in  the  performances. 


EXETER  HOUSE  AND  'CHANGE— FETTER-LANE.         335 


EXETER  SOUSE  AND  EXETER  'CHANGE. 

EXETER  'CHANGE  is  now  only  kept  in  remembrance  by  a  clock -dial,  inscribed 
with  its  name  in  place  of  figures,  upon  the  attic-front  of  the  house  No.  353,  east- 
ward of  the  'Change  site,  on  the  north  side  of  the  Strand.  Here  was  formerly  the 
parsonage-house  of  the  parish  of  St.  Martin,  with  a  garden,  and  a  close  for  the  parson's 
horse;  till  Sir  Thomas  Palmer  (temp.  Edward  VI.)  obtained  it  by  composition,  and 
began  to  build  here  "  a  magnificent  house  of  brick  and  timber"  (Stow).  But  upon  his 
attainder  for  high  treason  (1  Queen  Mary),  the  property  reverted  to  the  Crown,  and  so 
remained  until  Queen  Elizabeth  presented  it  to  Sir  William  Cecil,  lord  treasurer,  and 
the  great  Lord  Burleigh  (properly  Burghley),  who  completed  the  mansion,  with  four 
square  turrets ;  whence  it  was  called  Cecil  House  and  Burleigh  House,  and  afterwards 
Exeter  House,  from  the  son  of  the  great  statesman  Thomas  Cecil,  Earl  of  Exeter.  The 
mansion  fronted  the  Strand,  and  extended  from  the  garden-wall  of  Wimbledon  House 
(on  the  site  of  D'Oyley's  warehouse)  to  a  green  lane,  the  site  of  the  present  Southamp- 
ton-street, westward.  Queen  Elizabeth  visited  Lord  Burleigh  at  Exeter  House ;  and 
here  his  obsequies  were  celebrated  by  a  lying-in-state.*  In  the  chapel  attached,  the 
pious  John  Evelyn,  on  Christmas-day,  1657,  was  seized  by  the  soldiers  of  the  Common- 
wealth for  having  observed  "  the  superstitious  time  of  the  Nativity,"  and  was  tem- 
porarily shut  up  in  Exeter  House.  Here  lived  the  first  Earl  of  Shaftesbury,  and  here 
was  born  his  grandson,  who  wrote  the  Characteristics.  After  the  Great  Fire,  the  courts 
of  Doctors'  Commons  were  held  in  Exeter  House  until  1672. 

Exeter  'Change  was  built,  as  a  sort  of  bazaar,  by  Dr.  Barbon,  the  speculator  in 
houses,  temp.  William  and  Mary,  when  Exeter  House  was  taken  down  ;  and  probably 
some  of  the  old  materials  were  used  for  the  'Change,  including  a  pair  of  large  Corinthian 
columns  at  the  eastern  end.  (See  a  View,  by  G.  Cooke.)  About  the  same  time,  Exeter- 
street  was  erected.  The  'Change  extended  from  the  house  No.  352  to  the  site  of  the 
present  Burleigh-street :  it  projected  into  the  Strand,  the  northern  foot-thoroughfare  of 
which  lay  through  the  shops  or  stands  of  the  lower  floor,  first  occupied  by  senrpsters, 
milliners,  hosiers,  &c. 

The  body  of  the  poet  Gay  lay  in  state  in  an  upper  room  of  the  'Change ;  here,  too, 
were  upholsterers'  shops,  the  offices  of  Law's  Land  Bank,  auction-rooms,  &c.  Cutlery 
then  became  the  merchandise  of  the  lower  floor. 

Thomas  Clark,  "the  King  of  Exeter  'Change,"  took  a  stall  here  in  1765  with  1001.  lent  him  by  a 
stranger.  By  parsimony  and  trade,  he  grew  so  rich  that  he  once  returned  his  income  at  6000Z.  a  year; 
and  long  before  his  death,  in  1816,  he  had  rented  the  whole  ground-floor  of  the  'Change.  He  left 
nearly  half  a  million  of  money,  and  one  of  his  daughters  married  Mr.  Hamlet,  the  celebrated  jeweller. 

The  upper  rooms  of  Exeter  'Change  were  occupied  as  a  menagerie  successively  by 
Pidcock,  Polito,  and  Cross ;  admission  to  Pidcock's,  in  1810,  2*.  6d.  The  roar  of  the 
lions  and  tigers  could  be  distinctly  heard  in  the  street,  and  often  frightened  horses  in 
the  roadway.  During  Cross'  tenancy,  in  1826,  Chunee,  the  stupendous  elephant 
shown  here  since  1809,  in  an  oak  den  which  cost  350Z.,  was  shot,  and  his  skin  sold  for 
50Z. ;  his  skeleton,  sold  for  100Z.,  is  now  at  the  College  of  Surgeons.  (See  Museums.) 
Cross'  Menagerie  was  removed  in  1828  to  the  Kings'  Mews,  Charing-cross ;  and  Exeter 
'Change  was  entirely  taken  down  in  1829. 

New  Exeteb  Change,  an  Arcade  which  led  from  Catherine-street  to  Wellington- 
street,  Strand,  is  described  at  page  20. 

FETTER-LANE, 

FLEET-STREET,  eastward  of  St.  Dunstan's  Church,  extending  to  Holborn-hill,  "is 
so  called  of  fewters  (or  idle  people)  lying  there,  as  in  a  way  leading  to  gardens" 
(Stow)  before  the  street  was  built ;  but  when  he  wrote  "it  was  built  through  on  both 
sides  with  many  fair  bouses."  Here  lived  the  leatherseller  of  the  Revolution,  "  Praise 
God  Barebones,"  and  his  brother,  "Damned  Barebones,"  both  in  the  same  house. 

*  Burghley  died  at  Theobalds,  Aug.  4, 1598,  where  the  body  lay.  Hentzer,  however,  states  that  when 
he  called  to  see  Theobalds  at  Cheshunt,  there  was  "  nobody  to  shew  the  palace,  as  the  family  was  in  town 
attending  the  funeral  of  their  lord." 


336  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Hobbes  of  Malmesbury  bad  a  bouse  in  this  street.  In  No.  16,  over  Fleur-de-lis-court, 
Dryden  is  said  to  have  lived ;  but  not  by  his  biographers.  His  name  does  not  appear 
in  the  parish  books ;  but  he  may  have  been  a  lodger.  "  This  period  in  Dryden's  life 
may  have  been  about  the  time  when  he  wrote  prefaces  and  other  pieces  for  Hering- 
ham,  the  bookseller  in  the  New  Exchange,  or  soon  after." — J.  W.  Archer,  whose  im- 
pression was  that  the  authority  consisted  in  a  letter  of  Dryden's,  dated  from  Fetter- 
lane,  and  in  Mr.  Upcott's  collection  of  autographs.  At  the  right-hand  corner  of 
Fleur-de-lis-court,  the  infamous  Mrs.  Brownrigg  murdered  her  apprentices  in  1767 ; 
the  cellar-grating,  whence  the  poor  child's  cries  issued,  is  on  the  side  of  the  court : — 

"  She  whipped  two  female  'prentices  to  death, 

And  hid  them  in  the  coal-hole 

For  this  act, 
Did  Brownrigg  swing." — Canning,  AnVjacolin. 

On  the  Rolls  estate,  nearly  opposite,  was  commenced  a  new  Record  Office,  by  Penne- 
thorne,  in  1851.  No.  32,  Fetter-lane  is  the  entrance  to  the  Moravian  Chapel,  which 
was  attacked  and  dismantled  in  the  Sacheverel  riots.  (See  Dissenters'  Chapels, 
p.  220.)  The  Fleet-street  and  Holborn  ends  of  Fetter-lane  were,  for  more  than  two 
centuries,  places  of  public  execution.  At  the  Holborn  end,  Nathaniel  Tomkins  was 
executed,  July  5,  1643,  for  his  share  in  Waller's  plot  to  surprise  the  City.  At  the 
Fleet-street  end  Sarah  Malcolm  was  executed,  March  1733,  for  the  murder  of  three 
women.  (See  Mr.  Serjeant  Burke's  Romance  of  the  Forum,  vol.  i.  pp.  224-38.) 
Hogarth  painted  and  engraved  Sarah  Malcolm :  the  print,  for  which  the  Duke  of 
Roxburghe  gave  8Z.  5s.,  is  the  rarest  of  Hogarth's  portraits :  this  impression  is  now 
in  Mr.  Holbert  Wilson's  collection. 

"  Immediately  after  Sarah  Malcolm  underwent  the  extreme  penalty  of  the  law,  a  confession  made  by 
her  was  published  in  a  pamphlet  form;  the  edition  was  exhausted  at  once,  and  as  much  as  twenty 
guineas  is  said  to  have  been  offered  for  an  impression." — Romance  of  the  Forum,  2nd  series,  vol.  i.  p.  237. 

"  After  her  execution  her  corpse  was  carried  to  an  undertaker's  on  Snow-hill,  where  multitudes  of 
people  resorted,  and  gave  money  to  see  it ;  among  the  rest,  a  gentleman  in  deep  mourning  kissed  her, 
and  gave  the  attendants  half-a-crown." — Ireland,  vol.  ii.  p.  320.  Quoted  in  Mr.  Holbert  Wilson's  Cata- 
logue, privately  printed. 

Fetter-lane  has  still  a  few  old  houses:  towards  the  Holborn  end  are  some  of  the 
oldest  chambers  of  Barnard's  Inn.  Strange  labyrinths  of  courts  and  alleys  lie  between 
Chancery,  Fetter,  and  Shoe  lanes,  which,  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  intersected 
gardens  and  straggling  cottages.  This  district  was  the  principal  part  of  Saxon  London, 
and  was  nearly  all  burnt  a.d.  982,  when  the  City  had  "  most  buildings  from  Ludgate 
towards  Westminster,  and  little  or  none  where  the  heart  of  the  City  now  is  j  except  in 
divers  places  was  housing  that  stood  without  order."  (Stow.) 

The  White  Horse  Inn,  Fetter-lane  (now  a  cheap  lodging-house),  was  formerly  the  great  Oxford 
house :  here  Lord  Eldon,  when  he  left  school  and  came  to  London,  in  1776,  met  his  brother,  Lord 
Stowell.  "  He  took  me,"  says  Lord  Eldon,  "  to  see  the  play  at  Drury-lane.  Love  played  Jobton  in  the 
farce ;  and  Miss  Pope  played  Nell.  When  we  came  out  of  the  house  it  rained  hard.  There  were  then 
few  hackney-coaches,  and  we  both  got  into  one  sedan-chair.  Turning  out  of  Fleet-street  into  Fetter- 
lane,  there  was  a  sort  of  contest  between  our  chairman  and  some  persons  who  were  coming  up  Fleet- 
street,  whether  they  should  first  pass  Fleet-street,  or  we  in  our  chair  first  get  out  of  Fleet-street  into 
Fetter-lane.  In  the  struggle,  the  sedan-chair  was  overset,  with  us  in  it." — Lord  Eldon's  Anecdote-Book. 

FIELD-LANE, 

AN  infamous  rookery  of  "  the  dangerous  classes,"  extended  from  the  foot  of  Holborn- 
hill,  northward,  parallel  with  the  Fleet  Ditch,  but  has  been  mostly  taken  down 
since  it  was  thus  vividly  painted  in  1837  : — 

"Near  to  the  spot  on  which  Snow-hill  and  Holborn  meet,  there  opens,  upon  the  right  hand  as  you 
come  out  of  the  City,  a  narrow  and  dismal  alley  leading  to  Saffron-hill.  In  its  filthy  shops  are  exposed 
for  sale  huge  bunches  of  pocket-handkerchiefs  of  all  sizes  and  patterns — for  here  reside  the  traders  who 
purchase  them  from  pickpockets.  Hundreds  of  these  handkerchiefs  hang  dangling  from  pegs  outside 
the  windows,  or  flaunting  from  the  door-posts ;  and  the  shelves  within  are  piled  with  them.  Confined 
as  the  limits  of  Field-lane  are,  it  has  its  barber,  its  coffee-shop,  its  beer-shop,  and  its  fried-fish  ware- 
house. It  is  a  commercial  colony  of  itself— the  emporium  of  petty  larceny,  visited,  at  early  morning 
and  setting-in  of  dusk,  by  silent  merchants,  who  traffic  in  dark  back-parlours,  and  go  as  strangely  as 
they  come.  Here  the  clothesman,  the  shoe-vamper,  and  the  rag-merchant,  display  their  goods  as  sign- 
boards to  the  petty  thief;  and  stores  of  old  iron  and  bones,  and  heaps  of  mildewy  fragments  of  woollen- 
stuff  and  linen,  rust  and  rot  in  the  grimy  cellars."—  Charles  Dickens's  Oliver  Twist,  1837. 

From  Field-lane,  northward,  runs  Saffron-hill,  named  from  the  saffron  which  it  once 


FIELD   OF  FORTY  FOOTSTEPS— FINSBUBY.  337 

bore ;  next  is  Vine-street,  the  site  of  Ely-house  vineyard.  Strype  (1720)  describes  this 
locality  as  "of  small  account  both  as  to  buildings  and  inhabitants,  and  pestered  with 
small  and  ordinary  alleys  and  courts,  taken  up  by  the  meaner  sort  of  people;"  others 
are  "  nasty  and  inconsiderable." 

In  1844  was  taken  down  part  of  Old  Chick-lane,  which  debouched  into  Field-lane. 
Here  was  a  notorious  thieves'  lodging-house,  formerly  the  Red-Lion  Tavern :  it  had 
various  contrivances  for  concealment ;  and  the  Fleet  Ditch  in  the  rear,  across  which  the 
pursued  often  escaped  by  a  plank  into  the  opposite  knot  of  courts  and  alleys. 

FIELD  OF  FORTY  FOOTSTEPS. 

THE  fields  behind  Montague  House,  Bloomsbury,  appear  to  have  been  originally 
called  Long  Fields ;  and  afterwards  (about  Strype's  time)  Southampton  Fields.  On 
St.  John  Baptist's  Day,  1694,  Aubrey  saw  at  midnight  twenty-three  young  women  in 
the  pasture  behind  Montague  House,  looking  for  a  coal,  beneath  the  root  of  a  plantain, 
to  put  under  their  heads  that  night,  and  they  should  dream  who  would  be  their 
husbands.  The  fields  were  the  resort  of  depraved  wretches,  chiefly  for  fighting 
pitched  battles,  especially  on  the  Sabbath-day :  such  was  the  turbulent  state  of  the 
place  up  to  1800. 

A  legendary  story  of  the  period  of  the  Duke  of  Monmouth's  Rebellion  relates  a 
mortal  conflict  here  between  two  brothers,  on  account  of  a  lady,  who  sat  by :  the 
combatants  fought  so  ferociously  as  to  destroy  each  other ;  after  which  their  footsteps, 
imprinted  on  the  ground  in  the  vengeful  struggle,  were  said  to  remain,  with  the  in- 
dentations produced  by  their  advancing  and  receding ;  nor  would  any  grass  or  vege- 
tation ever  grow  over  these  forty  footsteps.  Miss  Porter  and  her  sister,  upon  this 
fiction,  founded  their  ingenious  romance,  Coming  Out,  or  the  Field  of  Forty  Footsteps  ; 
but  they  eutirely  depart  from  the  local  tradition.  At  the  Tottenham-street  Theatre 
was  produced,  many  years  since,  an  effective  melodrama,  by  Messrs.  Mayhew, 
founded  upon  the  same  incident,  entitled  the  Field  of  Forty  Footsteps. 

Southey  records  this  strange  story  in  his  Commonplace  Book  (second  series,  p.  21). 
After  quoting  a  letter  from  a  friend,  recommending  him  to  "  take  a  view  of  those 
wonderful  marks  of  the  Lord's  hatred  to  duelling,  called  The  Brothers'  Steps,"  and 
describing  the  locality,  Southey  thus  narrates  his  own  visit  to  the  spot :  "  We  sought 
for  near  half  an  hour  in  vain.  We  could  find  no  steps  at  all  within  a  quarter  of  a 
mile,  no,  nor  half  a  mile,  of  Montague  House.  We  were  almost  out  of  hope,  when  an 
honest  man,  who  was  at  work,  directed  us  to  the  next  ground,  adjoining  to  a  pond. 
There  we  found  what  we  sought,  about  three- quarters  of  a  mile  north  of  Montague 
House,  and  500  yards  east  of  Tottenham-court-road.  The  steps  are  of  the  size  of  a 
large  human  foot,  about  three  inches  deep,  and  lie  nearly  from  north-east  to  south-west. 
We  counted  only  seventy-six ;  but  we  were  not  exact  in  counting.  The  place  where 
one  or  both  the  brothers  are  supposed  to  have  fallen  is  still  bare  of  grass.  The 
labourer  also  showed  us  where  (the  tradition  is)  the  wretched  woman  sat  to  see  the 
combat."  Southey  adds  his  full  confidence  in  the  tradition  of  the  indestructibility  of 
the  steps,  even  after  ploughing  up,  and  of  the  conclusions  to  be  drawn  from  the 
circumstance. — Notes  and  Queries,  No.  12. 

Joseph  Moser,  in  one  of  his  Commonplace  Books,  gives  this  account  of  the  foot- 
steps, just  previous  to  their  being  built  over :  "  June  16,  1800.  Went  into  the  fields 
at  the  back  of  Montague  House,  and  there  saw,  for  the  last  time,  the  forty  footsteps  ; 
the  building  materials  are  there,  ready  to  cover  them  from  the  sight  of  man.  I  counted 
more  than  forty,  but  they  might  be  the  footprints  of  the  workmen." — Dobie's  St. 
Giles-in-the-Fields  and  St.  George,  Bloomsbury ;  and  Dr.  Rimbault,  in  Notes  and 
Queries,  No.  14. 

FINSBUBY, 

OR  Fenshury,  named  from  its  fenny  ground,  is  a  manor  of  high  antiquity,  which 
abuts  in  part  upon  the  City,  Cripplegate,  and  Moorgate  boundaries,  and  was 
anciently  named  Vynesbury.  A  great  part  of  the  manor  is  held  by  the  Corporation 
of  London,  by  virtue  of  a  lease  dated  22nd  May,  1315,  from  Robert  de  Baildok,  pre- 

z 


338  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

bendary  of  Haliwell  and  Finsbury,  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  at  an  annual  rent  of  20*. 
The  lease,  which  has  been  renewed  from  time  to  time,  will  expire  in  the  year  1867. 
The  Corporation  appoints  the  steward  and  other  officers  of  the  manorial  courts ;  but 
the  manor  is  not  within  the  jurisdiction  of  the  City.  The  Finsbury  court  leet  and 
baron  are  holden  in  October  every  year,  before  the  senior  Common  Pleader,  to  whose 
office  the  stewardship  of  the  manor  of  Finsbury  is  incident.  {Municipal  Corporation 
Report,  pp.  3,  136 ;  and  Maitland's  London,  vol.  ii.  1369.)  Finsbury  has  been  drained 
and  built  over,  and  is  now  a  populous  parliamentary  borough,  including  the  ancient 
district  of  Moorfields,  to  be  described  hereafter. 

In  early  times,  the  chief  magistrate  of  London  was  no  more  than  a  provost.  Afterwards,  the  title  of 
Mayor — that  is,  Major  Chief— was  given  to  him ;  hut  in  all  the  olden  chronicles  and  documents  he  is 
simply  called  by  that  name,  without  the  prefix  of  Lord.  When  the  manor  of  Finsbury  was  annexed  to 
the  City  property,  and  the  mere  marsh  was  turned  into  a  place  of  general  recreation,  he  was,  in  virtue 
of  his  office,  Lord  of  the  Manor  of  Finsbury.  Hence,  in  process  of  time,  the  compound  title  of  Lord 
Mayor :  Mayor,  that  is,  of  Loudon,  and  Lord  of  the  Manor  of  Finsbury. 

Aggas's  Plan,  1560,  shows  Finsbury  as  a  rural  suburb;  with  "  Finsburie  Fyeld,"  with  its  four  wind- 
mills; its  archers;  drying-grounds,  with  women  spreading  clothes  on  the  grass;  the  "  dogge-house,"  &c. 
"  Moor-gate  opens  to  the  moor,  or  fen — hence  the  district  name  Fin,  or  Fensbury,  and  that  of  the  near- 
to-hand  Moor-lane.  Fore-street  appears  before  the  City  wall.  The  City-road  is  a  footpath,  near  the 
junction  of  which  with  Old-street,  another  footpath,  stands  Finsbury-court.  Tenter-street  still  attests 
the  presence  of  the '  tenters,'  whose  frames  in  Aggas's  Plan  are  sketched  on  the  site  which  is  now  so  styled ; 
thus  also  do  Ropemaker  and  Skinner-streets  indicate  old  trades  of  suburban  custom.  Cherry-terrace, 
Crabtree-row,  Willow-walk  and  Wilderness,  Windmill,  Lamb,  Pear,  Rose,  Primrose,  Acorn,  Ivy,  Elder, 
Blossom,  Orchard,  and  Beech-streets,  all  in  the  neighbourhood,  suggest  odours  and  sights  that  have  long 
left  the  spot.  Tabernacle,  Chapel,  Worship,  Mark,  Luke,  John,  Paul,  Paradise,  Quaker,  Providence,  and 
Cheat  PearL-Btreets  hint  at  later  occupants." — Athenaeum,  1866. 

In  the  reigns  of  Queen  Elizabeth  and  James  I.  (says  Cunningham),  Finsbury  was  a 
favourite  walk  with  the  citizens  of  London  on  a  Sunday :  hence  Hotspur's  allusion  to 
Lady  Percy : — 

"  And  giv*st  such  sarcenet  security  for  thy  oaths, 
As  if  you  never  walk'st  further  than  Finsbury." 

Shakspeare,  First  Part  of  Henry  TV. 

The  Prebend  of  Finsbury  now  (1866)  has  revenues  of  7000£.  per  annum ;  they  will 
shortly  be  eight  or  nine  times  that  amount.  (See  Bunhill  Fields,  p.  76.)  The 
City's  proportion  of  the  net  proceeds  of  the  Finsbury  Estate  is,  annually,  42,977J. 

FIRE  OF  LONDON  (THE), 

OR  the  Great  Fiee  of  1666,  broke  out  about  one  o'clock  on  Sunday  morning,  Sep- 
tember 2,  and  raged  nearly  four  days  and  nights.  It  commenced  at  the  house  of 
one  Farryner,  the  "  King's  Baker,"  in  Pudding-lane,  near  New  Fish-street-hill,  and 
within  ten  houses  of  Lower  Thames-street,  into  which  it  spread  within  a  short  time ; 
nearly  all  the  contiguous  buildings  being  of  lath  and  plaster,  and  the  whole  neigh- 
bourhood mostly  close  passages  and  narrow  lanes  and  alleys,  of  wooden  pitched  houses. 
Driven  by  a  strong  east-north-east  wind,  the  flames  spread  with  great  rapidity  :  how- 
ever, it  was  proposed  to  the  Lord  Mayor  (Sir  Thomas  Bludworth),  who  came  before 
three  o'clock,  to  pull  down  some  houses,  to  prevent  their  extending ;  but  he  neglected 
this  advice,  and  before  eight  o'clock  the  fire  had  reached  London  Bridge. 

The  tremendous  event  is  finely  described  by  Evelyn  in  his  Diary,  wherein  he  tells  us 
that  it  made  the  atmosphere  as  light  as  day  "  for  ten  miles  round  about ;  .  .  all  the  skie 
was  of  a  fiery  aspect,  like  the  top  of  a  burning  oven,  the  light  seen  above  forty  miles 
round  about.  Above  10,000  houses  all  in  one  flame ;  the  noise  and  cracking  and  thunder 
of  the  impetuous  flames,  ye  shrieking  of  women  and  children,  the  hurry  of  people,  the 
fall  of  towers,  houses,  and  churches,  was  like  an  hideous  storme,  and  the  air  all  about 
so  hot  and  inflam'd,  that  at  last  one  was  not  able  to  approach  it,  so  that  they  were  forc'd 
to  stand  still  and  let  ye  flames  burn  on,  wch  they  did  for  neere  two  miles  in  length,  and 
one;  in  bredth.  The  clouds  of  smoke  were  dismall,  and  reached  upon  computation  necr 
50  miles  in  length." 

On  the  5th,  Evelyn  writes :  "  In  this  calamitous  condition,  I  return'd  with  a  sad 
heart  to  my  house,  blessing  and  adoring  the  mercy  of  God  to  me  and  mine,  who,  in  the 
midst  of  all  this  mine,  was  like  Lot,  in  my  little  Zoar,  safe  and  sound." 

Pepys's  account,  in  his  Diary,  is  fully  as  minute  as  that  of  Evelyn,  but  is  mingled 
with  various  personal  and  official  circumstances.     Pepys  was  then  clerk  of  the  Acts 


FIRE  OF  LONDON  {THE).  339 

of  the  Navy :  his  house  and  office  were  in  Seething-lane,  Crutched  Friars ;  he  was 
called  up  at  three  in  the  morning,  Sept.  2,  hy  his  maid  Jane,  and  so  rose  and  slipped 
on  his  nightgown,  and  went  to  her  window ;  but  thought  the  fire  far  enough  off,  and 
so  went  to  bed  again,  and  to  sleep.  Next  morning,  Jane  told  him  that  she  heard  above 
300  houses  had  been  burnt  down  by  the  fire  they  saw,  and  that  it  was  then  burning 
down  all  Fish-street,  by  London  Bridge.  "  So,"  he  writes,  "  I  made  myself  ready 
presently,  and  walked  to  the  Tower,  and  there  got  up  upon  one  of  the  high  places,  and 
saw  the  houses  at  that  end  of  the  bridge  all  on  fire,  and  an  infinite  great  fire  on  this 
and  the  other  side  of  the  bridge,"  &c.  On  Sept.  5,  he  notes :  "  about  two  in  the  morn- 
ing my  wife  calls  me  up,  and  tells  me  of  new  cries  of  fire,  it  being  come  to  Barking 
Church,  which  is  at  the  bottom  of  our  Lane."  The  fire  was,  however,  stopped,  "  as 
well  at  Mark-lane  end  as  ours;  it  having  only  burnt  the  dyall  of  Barking  Church,  and 
part  of  the  porch,  and  there  was  quenched." 

The  limits  of  the  Great  Fire,  according'  to  the  London  Gazette,  Sept.  8, 1666,  were :  "at  the  Temple 
Church,  near  Holhorn  Bridge,  Pye  Corner,  Aldersgate,  Cripplegate,  near  the  lower  end  of  Coleman- 
street,  at  the  end  of  Basinghall-street,  by  the  Postern ;  at  the  upper  end  of  Bishopsgate-street  and 
Leadenhall-street,  at  the  Standard  in  Cornhill,  at  the  Church  in  Fenchurch-street,  near  Clothworkers* 
Hall,  in  Mincing-lane,  at  the  middle  of  Mark-lane,  and  at  the  Tower  Dock." 

"  It  is  observed  and  is  true,  in  the  late  Fire  of  London,  that  the  Fire  burned  just  as  many  parish 
churches  as  there  were  hours  from  the  beginning  to  the  end  of  the  Fire;  and  next,  that  there  were  just 
as  many  churches  left  standing  in  the  rest  of  the  City  that  was  not  burned,  being,  I  think,  thirteen  in 
all  of  each;  winch  is  pretty  to  observe." — Pepys'  Diary,  Jan.  7, 1667-8. 

The  Fire  consumed  almost  five- sixths  of  the  whole  City ;  and  without  the  walls,  it 
cleared  a  space  nearly  as  extensive  as  the  one-sixth  part  left  unburnt  within.  Public 
edifices,  churches,  and  dwelling-houses  were  alike  consumed ;  and  it  may  be  stated  that 
the  flames  extended  their  ravages  over  a  space  of  ground  equal  to  an  oblong  square  of  a 
mile  and  a  half  in  length,  and  half  a  mile  in  breadth.  In  one  of  the  inscriptions  on  the 
Monument,  which  was  drawn  up  from  the  reports  of  the  surveyors  appointed  after  the 
Fire,  it  is  stated  that  "  the  ruins  of  the  City  were  436  acres  (viz.  373  acres  within 
the  walls,  and  63  without  them,  but  within  the  liberties)  ;  that  of  the  six-and-twenty 
wards,  it  utterly  destroyed  fifteen,  and  left  eight  others  shattered  and  half  burnt ; 
and  that  it  consumed  eighty-nine  churches,  four  of  the  City  gates,  Guildhall,  many 
public  structures,  hospitals,  schools,  libraries,  a  great  number  of  stately  edifices,  13,200 
dwelling-houses,  and  460  streets. 

Lord  Clarendon  says,  that  "the  value  or  estimate  of  what  that  devouring  Fire 
consumed  could  never  be  computed  in  any  degree."  A  curious  pamphlet  upon  the 
Burning  of  London,  first  published  in  1667,  however,  estimates  the  loss  at  7,335,000£. ; 
but  it  is  believed  to  have  been  nearer  ten  millions  sterling. 

Whether  the  Great  Fire  were  the  effect  of  design  or  of  accident,  has  been  much 
controverted.  Lord  Clarendon  admits  the  public  impression  to  have  been,  "  that  the 
Fire  was  occasioned  by  conspiracy  and  combination;"  and  although  he  himself  main- 
tains the  negative,  his  own  account  furnishes  opposite  testimony.  "  It  could  not  be 
conceived,"  he  says,  "  how  a  house  that  was  distant  a  mile  from  any  part  of  the  Fire 
could  suddenly  be  in  a  flame,  without  some  particular  malice ;  and  this  case  fell  out 
every  night."  One  Bobert  Hubert,  a  French  Papist,  seized  in  Essex,  confessed  to  have 
begun  the  Fire;  and  was  hanged  accordingly  :  he  stated  that  he  had  been,  "  suborned 
at  Paris  to  this  action ;"  that  there  "  were  three  more  combined  with  him  to  do  the 
same  thing,"  and  that  "  he  had  set  the  first  house  on  fire."  Yet  Lord  Clarendon 
strangely  remarks,  that  "  neither  the  judges,  nor  any  present  at  the  trial,  did  believe 
him  guilty,  but  that  he  was  a  poor  distracted  wretch  weary  of  his  life,  and  chose  to 
part  with  it  in  this  way."  This  was  not  credited  by  Howell,  then  recorder  of  London. 
"  Tillotson  believed  the  City  was  burnt  on  design."     {Burnet.) 

On  the  26th  of  April,  1666,  a  plot  was  discovered  for  taking  the  Tower  and  firing  the  City,  which 
was  to  have  been  put  in  execution  on  the  3rd  of  September,  a  day  regarded  as  peculiarly  lucky  to  the 
anti-royalist  faction.  It  is  worthy  of  remark  that  the  "  Great  Fire  of  London  "  broke  out  on  the  2nd 
of  September  in  that  year,  the  very  day  before  that  appointed  by  the  conspirators. 

An  extremely  impressive  narrative  of  the  progress  of  the  conflagration,  and  of  the  distress  and  con- 
fusion it  occasioned,  has  been  given  by  the  Rev.  T.  Vincent,  a  nonconformist  divine,  in  his  tract,  God's 
Terrible  Advice  to  the  City  by  Plague  and  Fire,  of  which  thirteen  editions  were  published  within 
five  years. 

The  stationers  and  booksellers  lost  their  stocks,  which  they  had  deposited  in  St. 
Paul's  crypt :  too  eager  to  ascertain  its  condition,  as  the  fire  subsided,  they  caused  an 

z  2 


340 


CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


aperture  to  be  made  in  the  smouldering  pile,  when  a  stream  of  wind  rushed  in  and  con- 
sumed the  whole : — 

"Heavens,  what  a  pile !  whole  ages  perish'd  there; 
And  one  bright  blaze  turn'd  learning  into  air." 

Aubrey  relates  that  on  St.  Andrew's  Day  (Nov.  30),  1666,  as  he  was  riding  in  a  coach  towards  Gres- 
ham  College,  at  the  corner  of  Holborn  Bridge,  a  cellar  of  coals  was  opened  by  the  labourers,  and  "  there 
were  burning  coals  which  burnt  ever  since  the  Great  Fire;  but  being  pent  so  close  from  air,  there  was 
very  little  waste." — Nat.  Hist.  Witts. 

Westminster  Hall  was  filled  with  the  citizens'  goods  and  merchandize ;  and  Pepys 
oddly  complains  that  he  could  not  "  find  any  place  in  Westminster  to  buy  a  shirt  or 
pair  of  gloves ;  Westminster  Hall  being  full  of  people's  goods." 

A  Court  of  Judicature  was  appointed  by  Parliament,  to  settle  all  differences  arising 
in  respect  to  the  destroyed  premises  :  and  the  judges  of  this  Court  gave  such  satisfac- 
tion, that  their  portraits  were  painted,  at  the  expense  of  the  citizens,  for  60Z.  a  piece, 
and  are  now  in  the  Courts  of  Common  Pleas  and  Queen's  Bench,  Guildhall. 

Not  more  than  six  persons  lost  their  lives  in  the  Fire ;  one  of  whom  was  a  watch- 
maker, living  in  Shoe- lane,  behind  the  Globe  Tavern,  and  who  would  not  leave  his 
house,  which  sunk  him  with  the  ruins  into  the  cellar,  where  his  bones,  with  his  keys, 
were  found. 

(See  Hollar's  small  view  of  London  before  and  after  the  Fire  j  and  an  ingenious 
picture-plan  by  F.  Whishaw,  C.E.,  showing  the  part  of  the  City  destroyed,  and  its 
altered  condition  in  1839.) 

Whilst  the  City  was  rebuilding,  temporary  edifices  were  raised,  both  for  divine 
worship  and  the  general  business.  Gresham  College,  which  had  escaped  the  flames, 
was  converted  into  an  Exchange  and  Guildhall ;  and  the  Royal  Society  removed  its 
sittings  to  Arundel  House.  The  affairs  of  the  Custom-house  were  transacted  in  Mark- 
lane  ;  of  the  Excise  Office  in  Southampton-fields,  near  Bedford  House ;  the  General 
Post-Office  was  removed  to  Brydges-street,  Covent-garden ;  Doctors'  Commons  to 
Exeter  House,  Strand;  and  the  King's  Wardrobe  was  consigned  from  Puddle  Wharf  to 
York-buildings.  The  inhabitants,  for  a  time,  were  mostly  lodged  in  small  huts,  built 
in  Finsbury  and  Moorfields,  in-  Smithfield,  and  on  all  the  open  spaces  in  the  neigh- 
bourhood of  the  metropolis.  The  whole  calamity  was  bravely  borne  :  Evelyn  mentions 
that  the  merchants  complied  with  their  foreign  correspondence  as  if  no  disaster  had 
happened,  and  not  one  failure  was  heard  of.  Within  two  days  after  the  conflagration, 
both  Wren  and  Evelyn  had  presented  to  the  King  plans  for  a  new  City :  neither  of 
these  was  accepted ;  but  London  was  principally  rebuilt  within  little  more  than  four 
years  after  its  destruction. — (See  Monument,  the.) 

MEMORABLE  FIRES. 


Southwark  burnt  by  William  the  Conqueror, 
about  twenty  years  before  the  Domesday  Survey. 

962.— St.  Paul's  Minster  burnt. 

1036. — All  the  houses  and  churches  from  the 
west  to  the  east  gate  burnt. — (Baker's  Chronicle.) 

1087. — The  Winchester  Chronicle  makes  entry  of 
the  burning  of  the  Church  of  St.  Paul's  and  of 
London.  The  Waverley  Chronicle  says  that  St. 
Paul's,  with  many  other  churches,  and  the  greater 
and  better  part  of  the  whole  City,  were  then  de- 
stroyed by  Are. 

1093.— The  wooden  houses  and  straw  roofs  of 
the  Loudon  citizens  again  in  flames,  and  great 
part  of  the  City  destroyed. 

1102. — "London  was  twice  burnt,"aphrase  which 
shows  how  quickly  the  City  could  then  be  rebuilt, 
and  that  the  houses  must  have  been  made  of  very 
combustible  materials. 

1104. — London  and  Lincoln  were  burnt. 

11 13.— The  Tower  of  London  partially  destroyed 
by  fire. 

1131. — "  Londonia  tota  combusta  est " — London 
entirely  burnt. 

1133.— The  first  year  of  Stephen.  A  great  fire 
broke  out  at  the  Bridge,  and  destroyed  not  only 
all  the  wooden  and  thatched  houses,  but  every 


edifice,  including  St.  Paul's,  between  the  bridge 
and  St.  Clement  Danes. 

1136. — The  houses  burnt  from  near  London- 
stone  eastward  as  far  as  Aldgate;  and  to  the 
shrine  of  St.  Erkenwald,  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral, 
west. 

1161. — By  the  Winchester  Chronicle,  not  only 
London  burnt,  but  Winchester,  Canterbury,  and 
Exeter. 

1212.— July  10.  Southwark,  with  the  Chapel  of 
St.  Thomas  (on  London  Bridge)  and  the  Priory  of 
St.  Mary  Overie,  was  consumed.  The  Wacerley 
Chronicle  says : — "  A  great  part  of  London  in  the 
neighbourhood  of  the  Bridge,  with  the  Southwark 
Priory,  was  burnt  down."  Three  thousand  bodies, 
some  half-burnt,  were  found  in  the  river  Thames : 
besides  those  who  perished  altogether  by  fire.  "  It 
broke  out  on  the  south  side  of  the  Bridge.  Multi- 
tudes of  people  rushed  to  the  rescue  of  the  inhabi- 
tants of  houses  on  the  bridge,  and  while  thus  en- 
gaged the  fire  broke  out  on  the  north  side  also, 
and  hemmed  them  in,  making  a  holocaust  of  those 
who  were  not  killed  by  leaping  into  the  Thames. 
The  fire  spread  north  and  south;  from  John's 
reign  to  that  of  Charles  the  Second  it  was  known 
as  the  Great  Fire,  but  that  name  is  now  only 


FIRE  BRIGADES. 


341 


applied  to  the  conflagration  of  1666,  which  ex- 
tended from  the  north-east  gate  to  Holborn- 
bridge,  and  from  the  Tower  to  the  Temple  Church, 
leaving  between  four  and  five  hundred  acres 
covered  with  ruins  of  many  thousands  of  houses 
to  mark  its  devastation." — Athenaum,  1866. 

1512.— Great  part  of  the  Palace  of  Westminster 
"once  again"  burnt  (4  Hen.  VIII.),  and  not  since 
re-edified;  only  the  Great  Hall,  with  adjoining 
offices,  kept  in  good  repair. 

1531.— Aug.    16.   ~ 
burnt. 


1613.— June  29 
burnt. 

1619— Jan.    12 


The  Mews,   Charing  Cross, 
The  Globe  Theatre,  Bankside, 


The  old  Banqueting-house, 
Whitehall  Palace,  burnt. 

1621.— Dec.  9.  The  Fortune  Theatre  burnt. 
Dec.  20.  Six  Clerks'  Office,  Chancerv-lane,  burnt. 

1691— April  10.  At  Whitehall  Palace  all  the 
buildings  over  the  stone  gallery  to  the  water-side 
burnt ;  150  houses,  chiefly  of  the  nobility,  con- 
sumed, and  20  blown  up. 

1697. — Jan.  4.  Whitehall  Palace,  except  Inigo 
Jones's  Banqueting-house,  burnt ;  all  its  pictures 
destroyed,  and  12  persons  perished. 

1632-33.— Feb.  3.  More  than  one-third  of  the 
houses  on  London  Bridge  burnt;  the  Thames 
almost  frozen. 

1666. — The  Great  Fihe.  (See  preceding  article.) 

1671-2.— The  King's  Theatre,  Drury-lane,  burnt. 

1676.— May  26.  The  Town-hall  and  part  of 
Southwark  (600  houses)  burnt. 

1718. — Custom-house  (Wren'3)  burnt. 

1726.— Great  fire  at  the  South-end  of  London 
Bridge ;  stopped  by  the  Stone  Gate. 

1743.— March  25.  In  Cornhill  ward :  200  houses 
burnt;  commenced  in  'Change-alley,  and  was  the 
largest  siuce  the  Great  Fire  of  1666.  (See  Cobn- 
hill,  p.  235.) 

1758. — April  11.  The  temporary  wooden  London 
Bridge  destroyed  by  fire,  stopping  all  communica- 
tion between  the  City  and  Southwark.  This  pro- 
duced the  Act  of  Parliament  making  any  wilful 
attempt  to  destroy  the  Bridge  or  its  works  to  be 
death  without  benefit  o£  clergy. 

1760.— April  18.  Fresh  Wharf  and  part  of  St. 
Magnus'  Church,  London  Bridge,  burnt. 

1765.— NOT.  7.  The  southern  half  of  Bishops- 
gate-street  Within,  including  St.  Martin  Outwich 
Church,  destroyed  by  fire;  the  four  corners  of 
Cornhill,  Bishopsgate-street,  Leadenhall-street, 
and  Graeechurch-street,  were  inflames  at  the  same 
time. 

1789.— June  17.  Italian  Opera-house  (Van- 
brugh's)  burnt. 


1794. — June  18.  At  Limehouse  Hole,  manv 
houses  burnt.  July  22,  23.  At  Ratcliffe  Cross  ; 
630  houses  and  an  East  India  warehouse  burnt : 
loss,  1,000,0002. 

1808.— Sept.  20.   Covent-garden  Theatre  burnt. 

1809.— Feb.  24.    Drury-lane  Theatre  burnt. 

1814. — Feb.  12.  The  Custom-house  and  adjoin- 
ing houses  destroyed.  Aug.  28.  Oil  and  mustard 
mills,  Bankside,  burnt;  remains  of  Winchester 
Palace  discovered  in  the  ruins. 

1834.— Oct.  16.  Both  Houses  of  Parliament  de- 
stroyed by  a  fire  which  was  not  extinguished 
several  days :  libraries  and  state  papers  preserved. 
In  1828,  Sir  John  Soane,  noticing  the  great  quantity 
of  timber  used  in  the  House  of  Lords,  propheti- 
cally asked :  "  Should  a  fire  happen,  what  would 
become  of  the  Painted  Chamber,  the  House  of 
Commons,  and  Westminster  Hall  ?  Where  would 
the  progress  of  the  fire  be  arrested  ?"  The  latter 
was  saved  by  the  favourable  direction  of  the  wind ; 
for  had  the  flames  and  flakes  of  fire  from  the  two 
Houses  been  wafted  towards  the  vast  timber  roof 
of  the  Hall,  it  must  have  been  inevitably  destroyed. 
Among  the  strange  stories  in  support  of  the  fire 
being  the  work  of  political  incendiaries,  is  the 
statement  of  Mr.  Cooper,  an  ironmonger,  of  Drury- 
lane,  that  he  heard  at  Dudley,  in  Worcestershire 
(119  miles  from  London),  a  report  of  the  confla- 
gration about  three  hours  after  it  broke  out. 

1838.— Jan.  10.  The  Boyal  Exchange  burnt 
within  five  hours;  with  a  great  amount  of  pro- 
perty, documents  of  corporations,  &c. 

1841.— Oct.  30.  Conflagration  in  the  Tower;  the 
great  storehouse,  with  280,000  stand  of  arms,  and 
the  Bowyer  and  Butler  Towers,  burnt. 

1843.— Aug.  17.  Great  fire  at  Topping's  Wharf, 
London  Bridge :  Watson's  telegraph  tower  and 
St.  Olave's  Church  burnt. 

1849.— March  29.  The  Olympic  Theatre  and  a 
dozen  other  buildings  burnt  in  three  hours.  Oct.  6. 
Extensive  fire  at  London-wall ;  Carpenters'  Hall 
injured :  loss,  100,0002. 

1850. — March  29.  St.  Anne's  Church,  Limehouse, 
destroyed.  Sept.  19.  Great  fire  in  Mark-lane  and 
Seething-lane ;  loss,  100,0002.  In  the  ruins  was 
discovered  a  tablet,  inscribed :  "  This  was  rebuilt 
in  1792.  The  foundation,  or  'base  courts,'  are  the  re- 
mains of  the  original  palace  where  the  City  standard 
of  weights  and  measures  were  formerly  kept,  and 
designated,  in  Saxon  phraseology, '  Assay  Thing 
Court,'  the  entrance  to  which  was  in,  as  is  now 
called, '  Seething-lane.' " 

1861. — June  22.  Conflagration  in  Tooley-street, 
London  Bridge ;  property  destroyed  half  a  million. 


FIRE  BRIGADE. 


THE  early  precautions  for  the  prevention  of  Fires  in  the  metropolis  were  remarkahle. 
A  householder,  within  the  liberty  of  the  City,  who  dared  to  cover  his  house  with 
thatch,  was  sure  to  see  his  dwelling  razed  to  the  ground  by  the  authorities.  From  the 
time  of  the  Fire  in  Stephen's  reign,  it  was  forbidden  to  bakers  to  light  their  oven-fires 
at  night  (brewers  were  under  similar  stringent  regulations)  with  reeds  or  loose  straw ; 
nothing  but  wood  was  legal.  Lead,  tile,  or  stones,  were  alone  permitted  in  Edward  the 
Third's  time  for  roofing. 

In  the  first  year  of  Richard  I.,  the  Wardmotes  ordered : — "  Item,  that  all  persons 
who  dwell  in  great  houses  within  the  ward  have  a  ladder  or  two  ready  and  prepared 
to  succour  their  neighbours  in  case  misadventure  should  occur  from  fire.  Item,  that 
all  persons  who  occupy  such  houses,  have  in  summer-time,  and  especially  between  the 
Feast  of  Pentecost  and  the  Feast  of  St.  Bartholomew  (August  24th),  before  their  doors 
a  barrel  full  of  water  for  quenching  such  fire,  if  it  be  not  a  house  which  has  a  fountain 
of  its  own.  Item,  that  the  reputable  men  of  the  ward,  with  the  aldermen,  provide  a 
strong  crook  of  iron,  with  a  wooden  handle,  together  with  two  chains  and  two  strong 
cords,  and  that  the  bedel  have  a  good  horn  and  loudly  sounding.     Of  persons  wander- 


342  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

ing  by  night,  it  is  forbidden  that  any  person  shall  be  so  dareing  as  to  be  found 
wandering  about  the  streets  of  the  City  after  the  curfew  rung  out  at  St.  Martin's-le- 
Grand,  St.  Laurance,  or  at  Berkyngchirch,  upon  pain  of  being  arrested." 

The  earliest  mechanical  contrivance  for  the  extinction  of  fires  in  London  appears  to 
have  been  a  syringe  or  squirt,  numbers  of  which  were  kept  by  the  parochial  authorities. 
In  the  vestry-room  of  St.  Dionis,  Back-church,  Fenchurch-street,  are  preserved  three 
of  these  squirts  :  each  is  about  2  feet  3  inches  long,  and  when  used  was  attached  by 
straps  to  the  body  of  a  man  :  others  were  worked  by  three  men,  two  holding  the  squirt 
by  the  handles  and  nozzle,  while  a  third  worked  the  piston  within  it.  Such  was  the 
rudiment  of  our  first  fire-engine. 

"  Now  streets  grow  throng'd,  and  busy  as  by  day : 
Some  run  for  buckets  to  the  hallow'd  quire ; 
Some  cut  the  pipes,  and  some  the  engines  play, 
And  some,  more  bold,  mount  ladders  to  the  fire." 

Dryden's  Annus  Mirabilis  (1666). 

The  *  engines"  were  the  syringes,  which  were  greatly  increased  after  the  Great 
Fire,  but  were  shortly  afterwards  superseded  by  regular  fire-engines.  By  order  of 
the  Corporation  of  London,  a  Fire  Police  was  established  in  1668 ;  the  several  parishes 
were  provided  with  leathern  buckets,  ladders,  pickaxes,  sledges,  shovels,  and  hand- 
squirts  of  brass ;  which  supply  the  companies,  aldermen,  and  subsidy-men  contributed ; 
and  among  other  provisions  was  the  ringing  of  a  bell.  The  fire-cocks,  and  the  "  F.P." 
and  "  W.M."  upon  houses  to  denote  the  place  of  the  fire-plug  and  water-main  j  and  the 
rewards  for  bringing  the  parish-engines,  date  from  stat.  6  Anne,  cap.  31. 

The  Great  Fire  led  to  the  establishment  of  Insurance  Offices  against  losses  by  fire : 
in  1681,  the  Court  of  Common  Council  attempted  to  establish  one,  but  unsuccessfully ; 
the  earliest  was  the  Phoenix,  at  the  Rainbow  Coffee-house,  Fleet-street,  in  1682 ;  the 
Friendly  Society,  1684  (badge  a  sheath  of  arrows) ;  and  the  Hand-in-Hand,  established 
in  1696 ;  next  was  the  Sun,  projected  by  one  Povey,  about  1706,  and  by  the  present 
Company  in  1710 ;  the  Westminster  Fire  Office,  1717 ;  each  office  keeping  its  firemen 
in  liveries,  with  silver  badges ;  and  their  fire-engines,  which  they  from  time  to  time 
improved.  In  1676  was  patented  an  engine  with  leathern  pipes,  for  quenching  fire ; 
and  about  1720  two  Germans  had  at  Bethnal-green  a  manufactory  of  water-tight 
seamless  hose.  Here  is  Gay's  mock-heroic  picture  of  a  fire  of  this*period  :— 
"  Now  with  thick  crowds  th'  enlightcn'd  pavement  swarms, 

The  fireman  sweats  beneath  his  crooked  arms; 

A  leathern  casque  his  vent'rous  head  defends, 

Boldly  he  climbs  where  thickest  smoke  ascends. 

Mov'd  by  the  mother's  streaming  eyes  and  prayers, 

The  helpless  infant  through  the  "flame  he  bears, 

With  no  less  virtue  than  through  hostile  fire 

The  Dardan  hero  bore  his  aged  sire. 

See  forceful  engines  spout  their  leveled  streams, 

To  quench  the  blaze  that  runs  along  the  beams ; 

The  grappling-hook  plucks  rafters  from  the  walls, 

And  heaps  on  heaps  the  smoky  ruin  falls. 

*****  e 

Hark  !  the  drum  thunders !  far,  ye  crowds,  retire : 

Behold !  the  ready  match  is  tipt  with  fire, 

The  nitrous  store  is  laid,  the  smutty  train 

With  running  blaze  awakes  the  barrell'd  grain, 

Flames  sudden  wrap  the  walls ;  with  sullen  sound 

The  shatter'd  pile  sinks  on  the  smoky  ground." — Trivia,  b.  iii. 

In  1798  was  formed  the  Fire-watch  or  Fire-guard  of  London ;  the  Insurance  Offices 
still  keeping  their  separate  engine  establishments.  In  1808,  Sir  F.  M.  Eden,  then 
chairman  of  the  Globe  Insurance  Company,  proposed  to  form  a  general  fire-engine  esta- 
blishment, but  the  attempt  failed.  About  1825,  the  Sun,  Union,  and  Royal 
Exchange  formed  a  brigade.  In  1832,  eight  Insurance  Companies  formed  an  alliance  for 
assisting  each  other  at  fires  j  hence  the  "  London  Fire-Engine  Establishment,"  which 
commenced  operations  in  1833.  By  the  rules,  London  was  divided  into  five  districts : 
in  each  were  engine-stations  :  besides  a  floating-engine  off  Rotherhithe  and  Southwark 
Bridge ;  these  required  more  than  100  men  each  for  working,  and  threw  up  two  tuns 
of  water  per  minute.  A  certain  number  of  the  men  or  "  Fire  Brigade,"  superintended 
by  Mr.  Braidwood,  were  ready  at  all  hours  of  the  day  and  night,  as  were  also  the 
engines,  to  depart  at  a  minute's  alarm,  in  case  of  fire.      The  Associations  awarded  gra- 


FIRE  BRIGADE.  343 


tuities  to  policemen  who  gave  an  alarm  to  the  nearest  engine-station ;  and  the 
director  or  captain  of  each  engine  paid  strangers  or  bystanders  for  aid  :  it  required 
from  twenty  to  thirty  men  to  work  each  engine ;  and  at  a  large  fire,  500  strangers  were 
sometimes  thus  employed.  Sometimes  the  engines  were  summoned  by  electric  tele- 
graph, and  conveyed  by  railway  to  fires  in  the  country. 

The  number  of  engines  kept  was  37;  of  the  Fire  Brigade,  96.  The  men  wore  a  dark  grey 
uniform,  trimmed  with  red,  black  leather  waist-belts,  hardened  leathern  helmets,  reminding  one  of 
the  leathern  casque  and  "  the  Dardan  hero  "  of  Gay's  Trivia.  The  engines  were  provided  with  scaling 
ladders ;  a  canvas  sheet,  with  handles  of  rope  round  the  edge,  to  form  a  fire-escape ;  besides  ropes,  hose, 
branch-pipes,  suction-pipes,  a  flat  rose,  goose-neck,  dam-board,  boat-hook,  saw,  shovel,  mattock,  pole- 
axe,  screw-wrench,  crowbar,  portable  cistern,  two  dog-tails,  strips  of  sheep-skin,  small  cord,  instruments 
for  opening  the  fire-plugs,  and  keys  for  turning  the  stop-cocks  of  the  water-mains. 

Another  ingenious  provision  was  a  smoke-proof  dress,  consisting  of  a  leathern  jacket  and  head  cover- 
ing, fastened  at  the  waist  and  wrist,  so  that  the  interior  is  smoke-proof:  two  glass  windows  served  for 
the  eyes  to  look  through,  and  a  pipe  attached  to  the  girdle  allowed  fresh  air  to  be  pumped  into  the  interior 
of  the  jacket,  to  support  the  respiration  of  the  wearer :  thus  equipped,  the  fireman  could  dare  the  densest 
smoke. 

Steam-power  was  first  applied  to  work  a  fire-engine  in  1830.  {See  Argyll  Booms, 
p.  22.)  There  is  also  on  the  Thames  a  steam  floating-engine,  the  machinery  of  which 
either  propels  the  vessel,  or  works  the  pumps,  as  required.  Subsequently  were  intro- 
duced the  land  steam  fire-engines,  by  which  is  diminished  damage  by  water,  which  is 
driven  by  such  force  by  steam  that  almost  every  drop  does  its  full  duty. 

The  Royal  Society  for  the  Protection  of  Life  from  Fire  was  first  established  in 
1836 ;  re-organized  in  1843 ;  for  establishing  Fire-escape  Stations  and  Conductors ; 
supported  by  voluntary  subscriptions  and  parochial  vestries. 

As  London  grows  and  grows,  the  number  of  Fires  recorded  every  year  in  the  vast 
agglomeration  of  brick  and  mortar  increases  also.  Thus  in  1863  the  total  was  1404, 
being  101  more  than  in  1862.  In  the  latter  year,  the  Parliamentary  Committee  ap- 
pointed to  inquire  into  the  existing  arrangements  for  the  Protection  of  Life  and  Pro- 
perty against  Fire  in  the  Metropolis,  reported  that  twenty  years  previously  the  number 
of  fires  in  London  was  about  450,  and  in  1862  the  total  number  was  1183.  According 
to  Sir  Richard  Mayne's  estimate,  the  whole  of  the  Metropolitan  Police  area  and  the 
City  of  London  together,  extending  over  700  square  miles,  may  be  considered  as  con- 
taining rather  above  3,000,000  of  inhabitants,  residing  in  about  475,000  houses,  and 
the  rental  for  taxation  about  14,800,000?.  The  magnitude  of  the  interest  at  stake  was 
also  shown  by  Mr.  Newmarch,  who  stated  in  his  evidence  that  the  total  value  of  pro- 
perty insurable  against  fire  within  six  miles  of  Charing  Cross  was  not  less  than 
1)00,000,000?.,  and  of  this  not  more  than  about  300,000,000?,  were  insured. 

A  new  force,  under  the  management  of  the  Board  of  Works,  and  with  the  title  of  the 
Metropolitan  Fire  Brigade,  embodying  the  whole  of  the  present  force  and  engines  of 
the  London  Fire  Establishment,  is  doubly  strengthened.  The  plan  decided  on  is  that  of 
Captain  Shaw,  who  has  been  appointed  its  chief  superintendent.  The  force  consists  of 
chiefs  and  350  officers  and  men,  4  steam  floating-engines,  4  large  land-steamers,  27 
small  land-steamers,  and  37  large  manual  engines,  with  horses,  drivers,  &c.  These  are 
distributed  among  33  large  and  56  small  fire-stations,  protecting  an  area  of  about.  117 
square  miles.  Compared  with  the  previous  Fire  Brigade,  the  increase  is  72  additional 
stations,  219  extra  firemen,  2  large  floating  and  2  large  land-steamers,  21  small  land- 
steamers,  and  61  manual  engines.  The  cost  of  its  maintenance  is  not  to  exceed  50,000?. 
per  annum,  partly  contributed  by  a  public  rate  of  \d.  in  the  pound,  10,000?.  contributed 
by  the  various  metropolitan  fire-insurance  companies,  and  10,000?.  from  the  Govern- 
ment. There  are  nearly  500  parish  engines  in  the  metropolis,  but  not  more  than  20 
were  considered  to  be  sufficiently  efficient  to  be  accepted  in  the  new  force. 

By  the  establishment  of  telegraphic  communication  between  the  central  station  in 
Watling-street  and  the  other  principal  stations,  the  necessary  force  of  men  and  engines 
can  be  despatched  to  the  required  spot  in  a  much  shorter  time  than  formerly.  There 
are  also  telegraph  lines  to  docks,  railways,  wharves,  and  warehouses. 

By  the  aid  of  the  telegraph  the  firemen  at  each  station  can  now  be  informed  of  the  locality  of  a  firo 
with  much  greater  certainty  than  formerly.  By  means  of  fixed  compasses  at  each  observatory,  "cross- 
bearings  are  taken  from  distant  points,"  and  the  results  sent  to  the  central  station  in  Watling-street. 
The  exact  locality  is  then  ascertained  by  observing  on  a  map  the  spot  at  which  the  lines  converge.  The 
process  is  simply  the  reverse  of  that  by  which  a  ship's  position  is  ascertained  at  sea,"  and  can  be  easily 
accomplished  in  the  three  minutes  occupied  in  turning  out  an  engine. — ;Capt.  Shaw's  Report,  1864.) 
The  crowds  at  fires  are  now  kept  off  by  stretched  wire-ropes. 


344  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


FLEET  PRISON  (THE), 

ABOLISHED  and  removed  in  1846,  after  nearly  eight  centuries'  existence,  was  in- 
disputably named  from  the  creek  or  stream  of  the  Fleet,  upon  the  eastern  hank  of 
which  it  was  erected.  This  was  once  a  busy  river  covered  with  ships  and  small  craft ; 
now  it  is  a  dark,  hidden  stream. 

The  prison  was  formerly  held  in  conjunction  with  the  manor  of  Leveland,  in  Kent, 
and  with  "the  king's  houses  at  Westminster:"  the  whole  being  part  of  the  ancient 
possessions  of  the  See  of  Canterbury,  traceable  in  a  grant  from  Archbishop  Lanfranc, 
soon  after  the  accession  of  William  the  Conqueror.  The  wardenship  or  serjeancy  of 
the  prison  was  anciently  held  by  several  eminent  personages,  who  also  had  custody  of 
the  king's  palace  at  Westminster.*  It  was  "  a  place,"  in  the  worst  sense  of  the 
phrase ;  for,  so  long  ago  as  1586,  the  persons  to  whom  the  Warden  had  underlet  it 
were  guilty  of  cruelty  and  extortion — crimes,  however,  characteristic  of  the  Court  of 
Star  Chamber,  of  which  the  Fleet  was  at  this  time  the  prison.  Up  to  this  period,  its 
history  is  little  better  than  a  sealed  book ;  the  burning  of  the  prison  by  the  followers 
of  Wat  Tyler  seeming  to  have  been  the  only  noticeable  event. 

In  the  reigns  of  Edward  VI.  and  Mary,  the  Fleet  was  tenanted  by  several  victims  of 
religious  bigotry.  Bishop  Hooper  was  twice  committed  to  the  Fleet,  which  he  only 
quitted  (1555)  for  the  stake  and  the  fire  at  Gloucester;  upon  his  way  whither,  he  slept 
at  the  Angel  Inn,  St.  Clement's :  in  the  Fleet,  his  bed  was  "a  little  pad  of  straw,  with 
a  rotten  covering ;"  his  "  chamber  was  vile  and  stinking." 

The  Warden's  fees  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth  were :  an  Archbishop,  Duke,  or  Duchess, 
for  his  commitment-fee,  and  the  first  week's  "  dyett,"  21Z.  10*. ;  a  lord,  spiritual  or 
temporal,  101.  bs.  lOd. ;  a  knight,  51. ;  an  esquire,  31.  6s.  8d. ;  and  even  "  a  poor  man 
in  the  wards,  that  hath  a  part  at  the  box,  to  pay  for  his  fee,  having  no  dyett,  7*.  4d." 
The  Warden's  charge  for  license  to  a  prisoner  "  to  go  abroad"  was  20d.  per  diem. 

From  the  reign  of  Elizabeth  to  the  sixteenth  year  of  Charles  1.  (16-11),  the  Star- 
Chamber  Court  was  in  full  activity ;  and  several  bishops  and  other  persons  of  distinction 
were  imprisoned  in  the  Fleet  for  their  religious  opinions.  Thither,  too,  were  consigned  the 
political  victims  of  the  Star  Chamber  :  two  of  the  most  interesting  cases  of  this  period 
being  those  of  Prynne  and  Lilburne.  Prynne  was  taken  out  of  the  prison,  and,  after 
suffering  pillory,  branding,  mutilation  of  the  nose  and  loss  of  ears,  was  remanded  to  the 
Fleet.  Lilburne — "Freeborn  John" — and  his  printer,  were  committed  to  the  Fleet 
for  libel  and  sedition :  the  former  was  smartly  whipped  at  the  cart's  tail,  from  the 
prison  to  the  pillory,  placed  between  Westminster  Hall  and  the  Star  Chamber ;  and 
subsequently  double  ironed  in  the  prison  wards. 

Another  tenant  of  the  Fleet  at  this  period  was  James  Howel,  the  author  of  the 
Familiar  Letters,  several  of  which  are  dated  from  the  prison.  By  a  letter  "  to  the 
Earl  of  B.,  from  the  Fleet,"  Nov.  20,  1643,  Howel  was  arrested  "  one  morning  be- 
times," by  five  men  armed  with  "  swords,  pistols,  and  bils,"  and  some  days  after  com- 
mitted to  the  Fleet ;  "  and,"  he  adds,  "  as  far  as  I  see,  I  must  lie  at  dead  anchor  in  this 
Fleet  a  long  time  unlesse  some  gentle  gale  blow  thence  to  make  me  launch  out."  Then 
we  find  him  consoling  himself  with  the  reflection  that  the  English  people  are  in 
effect  but  prisoners,  as  all  other  islanders  are.  Other  letters,  by  Howel,  date  from  the 
Fleet,  1615-6-7. 

After  the  abolition  of  the  Star  Chamber,  in  1641,  the  Fleet  became  a  prison  for 
debtors  only,  and  for  contempt  of  the  Court  of  Chancery,  Common  Pleas,  and  Ex- 
chequer. It  appears  to  have  been  used  for  the  confinement  of  debtors  from  the  thir- 
teenth century,  at  least,  by  a  petition  from  John  Frauncey,  a  debtor  in  the  Fleet, 
a.d.  1290. 

The  prison  was  burnt  down  in  the  Great  Fire ;  when  the  prisoners  were  removed  to 
Caroone  or  Caron  House,  in  South  Lambeth,  until  the  Fleet  was  rebuilt  on  theoriginalsite. 

Long  after  the  Star  Chamber  was  abolished,  the  Wardens  continued  their  extor- 
tionate fees,  and  loading  debtors  with  iron  :  their  cruelties  were  exposed  in  1696.  In 
1727,  after  a  parliamentary  investigation,  Bambridge  and  Huggins  (Wardens)  and  some 

•  To  the  Warden  belonged  the  rents  of  the  shops  in  Westminster  Hall. 


FLEET  PRISON.  345 


of  their  servants  were  tried  for  different  murders,  yet  all  escaped  by  a  verdict  of  not 
guilty  !  Hogarth  has,  however,  made  them  immortal  in  their  infamy,  by  his  picture 
of  Bambridge  under  examination,  whilst  a  prisoner  is  explaining  how  he  has  been 
tortured. 

One  Dance,  the  son  of  the  architect,  was  imprisoned  in  the  Fleet  as  a  debtor,  and, 
in  a  poem  entitled  the  Humours  of  the  Fleet,  1749,  has  described  the  inmates  of  "  this 
poor  but  merry  place,"  its  rackets,  or  wrestle,  billiards,  backgammon,  and  whist ;  the 
rough  justice  of  drenching  disturbers  of  the  peace  beneath  the  pump.  Dance's  book 
has  a  frontispiece  of  the  prison-yard :  a  new-comer  treating  the  gaoler,  cook,  and 
others,  to  drink ;  racket-playing  against  the  high  brick-wall,  with  chevaux-de-frise 
mountings,  and  a  pump  and  a  tree  in  one  corner.  Dance  tells  of  a  "  wind-up  to-day  in 
a  prison," — that  watchmen  repeated,  Who  goes  out  ?  from  half-past  nine  till  St.  Paul's 
clock  struck  ten,  to  give  visitors  notice  to  depart ;  when  the  last  stroke  was  given,  they 
cried,  All  told;  the  gates  were  locked,  and  nobody  suffered  to  go  out  upon  any 
account.  The  reader  will,  doubtless,  recollect  Mr.  Dickens's  life-like  pictures  of  the 
Fleet,  in  his  Pickwick  Papers. 

In  the  Riots  of  1780,  the  Fleet  was  destroyed  by  fire,  and  the  prisoners  liberated  by 
the  rioters.  Most  of  the  papers  and  Prison  records  were  lost ;  though  there  remain 
scattered  books  and  documents  of  several  centuries  back.  The  Warden  had  been 
directed  by  the  Lord  Mayor  not  to  make  any  resistance  to  the  mob,  which,  as  an  eye- 
witness informed  the  writer  of  a  short  History  of  the  Fleet  published  in  1845,  might 
have  been  easily  dispersed  by  a  few  soldiers.  The  rioters  were  polite  enough  to  send 
notice  to  the  prisoners  of  the  period  of  their  coming ;  and,  on  being  informed  it  would 
be  inconvenient  on  account  of  the  lateness  of  the  hour,  postponed  their  visit  to  the 
following  day. 

Immediately  after  "the  Riots,"  the  prison  was  rebuilt:  it  consisted  chiefly  of  one 
long  brick  pile  parallel  with  Farringdon-street,  and  standing  in  an  irregularly -shaped 
area,  so  as  to  leave  open  spaces  before  and  behind,  connected  by  passages  round  each 
other  :  this  pile  was  called  the  Master's  Side.  The  front  in  Farringdon-street  had  an 
arched  opening  into  a  room,  and  was  technically  called  "  the  grate,"  from  its  crossed 
iron  bars.  Above  was  inscribed,  "  Pray  remember  the  poor  prisoners  having  no  allow- 
ance ;"  a  small  box  was  placed  at  the  window-sill,  to  receive  the  charity  of  passengers 
in  the  street,  while  a  prisoner  within  shouted  in  suppliant  tone  the  above  prayer.  This 
was  a  relic  of  the  ancient  prison,  corresponding  with  the  "  begging  at  the  grate"  in  some 
old  comedies;  and  "having  a  part  at  the  box"  already  mentioned.  Disorderly 
prisoners  were  put  in  the  stocks,  or  strong-room ;  and  those  who  attempted  to  escape  were 
confined  in  a  tub  at  the  prison-gate.  There  was  likewise  "  the  Running  Box ;"  that  is, 
a  man  running  to  and  fro  in  the  neighbouring  streets,  shaking  a  box,  and  begging  the 
passengers  to  put  money  into  it,  for  the  poor  prisoners  in  the  Fleet.  In  Tempest's  Cries 
of  London,  1710,  is  a  representation  of  the  bearer  of  the  Running  Box,  inscribed, 
"Remember  the  poor  prisoners."  At  his  back  is  suspended,  by  leathern  straps,  a 
covered  basket  for  broken  victuals  j  he  carries  in  one  hand  a  staff,  and  in  the  other  a 
small  round  deep  box,  with  an  aperture  in  the  lid  for  receiving  alms  in  money. 

Above  the  entrance  to  the  prison  was  the  figure  9 ;  so  that  a  delicate  address  given 
by  the  prisoners  was  "  No.  9,  Fleet  Market." 

Alack  !  what  "  strange  bedfellows  "  did  debt — a  phase  of  misery — make  men  acquainted  with  in  the 
Fleet !  If  a  prisoner  was  unwilling  to  go  to  the  Common  Side  (for  which  he  paid  nothing),  he  had  the 
choice  of  going  down  into  "  Bartholomew  Fair,"  the  lowest  and  sunken  story,  where  he  paid  1*.  3d.  for 
the  undisturbed  use  of  a  room ;  or  up  to  some  of  the  better  apartments,  where  he  paid  the  same  rent, 
but  was  subject  to  chummage — i.e.,  a  fellow-prisoner  put  into  his  room,  or  "  chummed  upon  him,"  but 
who  might  be  got  rid  of  by  a  payment  of  is.  6d.  per  week,  or  more,  according  to  the  fulness  of  the 
prison.  The  latter  prisoner  would  then  provide  himself  with  a  common  lodging,  by  letting  which 
prisoners  in  the  Fleet  were  known  to  have  accumulated  hundreds  of  pounds  in  the  course  of  a  few  years. 
The  prison  sometimes  had  1000  inmates. 

It  was  throughout  a  sad  scene  of  recreant  waste,  vagabondism,  and  ruffian  recklessness :  it  had  a 
skittle-shed ;  and  a  racket-ground,  where  Cavanagh  was  a  noted  fives-player.  (See  Hazlitt's  life  of  him, 
Examiner,  Feb.  17,  1819.)  Here  you  might  hear  the  roar  of  the  great  town  from  without,  in  contrast 
with  the  stagnant  life  within  the  prison-walls,  above  the  chevaux-de-frise  of  which  might  be  seen  a 
church-spire  or  two. 

Happily,  this  pest  of  a  prison,  the  Fleet,  by  Act  of  Parliament,  1842,  was  abolished, 
and  its  few  inmates  were  drafted  to  the  Queen's  Prison.    The  property,  covering  nearly 


346  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

an  acre  of  ground,  was  purchased  of  the  Government  hy  the  Corporation  of  London  for 
25,000Z.  The  prison  was  taken  down,  and  the  materials  sold,  in  1816 ;  comprising  nearly 
three  millions  of  bricks,  50  tons  of  lead,  40,000  feet  of  paving,  &c.  The  ground,  after 
lying  almost  useless  for  17  years,  was  sold  to  the  London,  Chatham,  and  Dover  Railway 
Company  for  the  erection  of  their  Ludgate  station. 

The  liberty  of  the  Rules  and  the  Day-Mules  of  the  Fleet  may  be  traced  to  the  time  of  Richard  II., 
when  prisoners  were  allowed  to  go  at  large  by  bail,  or  with  a  baston  (tipstaff),  for  nights  and  days 
together.  This  license  was  paid  for  at  8d.  per  day,  and  12d.  for  his  keep  that  shall  be  with  him.  These 
were  Day-rules.  However,  they  were  confirmed  by  a  rule  of  Court  during  the  reign  of  James  I.  The 
Rules  wherein  prisoners  were  allowed  to  lodge  were  enlarged  in  1824,  so  as  to  include  the  churches  of 
St.  Bride's  and  St.  Martin's,  Ludgate;  New  Bridge-street.  Blackfriars,  to  the  Thames;  Dorset-street  and 
Salisbury-square,  and  part  of  Fleet-street,  Ludgate-hill  and  street,  to  the  entrance  of  St.  Paul's 
Churchyard,  the  Old  Bailey,  and  the  lanes,  courts,  &c,  in  the  vicinity  of  the  above  ;  the 
extreme  circumference  of  the  liberty  about  a  mile  and  a  half.  Those  requiring  the  rules  had  to 
provide  sureties  for  their  forthcoming,  and  keeping  within  the  boundaries,  and  to  pay  a  percentage 
on  the  amount  of  debts  for  which  they  were  detained ;  which  also  entitled  them  to  the  liberty  of  the 
Day-rules,  enabling  them  during  term,  or  the  sitting  of  the  Courts  at  Westminster,  to  go  abroad  during 
the  day,  to  transact  or  arrange  their  affairs,  &c.  The  Fleet  and  the  Queen's  Bench  were  the  only  prisons 
in  the  kingdom  to  which  these  privileges  had  for  centuries  been  attached. 

Fleet  Marriages,  i.e.  clandestine  marriages,  were  performed  in  this  prison  pre- 
viously to  the  year  1754 ;  and  though  not  legal  and  regular,  they  were  tacitly  recog- 
nised as  being  valid  and  indissoluble.  Many  of  these  weddings  were  really  performed 
in  the  chapel  of  the  prison ;  though,  as  the  practice  extended,  "  the  Fleet  parsons"  and 
tavern-keepers  in  the  neighbourhood  fitted  up  a  room  in  their  lodgings  or  houses  as  a 
chapel ;  and  most  of  the  taverns  near  the  Fleet  kept  their  own  registers.  In  1702, 
the  Bishop  of  London  interfered  to  prevent  this  scandalous  practice,  but  with  little 
effect ;  and  it  was  not  until  the  Act  of  Parliament  came  into  operation,  March  25, 
1754,  that  the  custom  was  put  an  end  to.  On  the  day  previously  (March  24,)  in  one 
register-book  alone,  were  recorded  217  marriages,  which  were  the  last  of  the  Fleet 
weddings.  In  1821,  a  collection  of  these  register-books,  weighing  more  than  a  ton 
(recording  Fleet  marriages  between  1686  and  1754),  was  purchased  by  Government, 
and  deposited  in  the  Registry  Office  of  the  Bishop  of  London,  Godliman-street,  Doctors' 
Commons.  Many  celebrated  names  figure  in  these  registers;  and  although  they  are 
not  now,  as  formerly,  received  in  evidence  on  trials,  they  are  not  altogether  useless  as 
matters  of  record,  &c.  For  their  history,  their  parsons,  and  registers,  see  Mr.  J.  Burn's 
volume. 

Pope  commemorates  the  Fleet  Prison  as  a  "  Haunt  of  the  Muses."  Lord  Surrey,  the  poet,  was  twice 
imprisoned  here;  as  was  Nash  for  writing  the  satirical  play  of  the  Isle  of  Dogs.  Wycherley,  the  wit  and 
dramatist,  lay  in  the  Fleet  seven  years,  ruined  through  his  Countess'  settlement  being  disputed.  Sir 
Richard  Baker  was  one  of  the  most  unfortunate  debtors  confined  here :  he  married  in  1620,  and  soon 
after  got  into  pecuniary  difficulties,  and  was  thrown  into  the  Fleet,  where  he  spent  the  remaining  years 
of  his  life,  writing  his  Chronicle  and  other  works  as  a  means  of  subsistence;  he  died  in  1611-5,  in 
extreme  poverty,  and  was  interred  in  old  St.  Bride's  Church.  Francis  Sandford,  author  of  the  Genea- 
logical History,  died  in  the  Fleet,  in  1693.  Passing  to  another  class  of  committals — Keys  was  sent  here 
for  marrying  the  Lady  Mary  Grey,  the  sister  of  Lady  Jane  Grey ;  Dr.  Donne  for  marrying  Sir  George 
More's  daughter  without  her  father's  knowledge ;  Sir  Robert  Killigrew,  for  speaking  to  Sir  Thomas 
Overbury,  as  he  came  from  visiting  Sir  Walter  Raleigh ;  the  Countess  of  Dorset,  for  pressing  into  the 
Privy  Chamber,  and  importuning  James  I.,  "  contrary  to  commandment ;"  and  Lucius  Carey,  Viscount 
Falkland,  for  sending  a  challenge.  Curll's  Corinna  (Mrs.  Thomas)  was  a  prisoner  in  the  Fleet  for  some 
time ;  Mrs.  Cornelys  died  here  in  1797 ;  and  Parson  Ford,  in  1731.  Parson  Keith,  of  May  Fair,  was  here 
in  1758;  and  Robert  Lloyd,  Churchill's  friend,  in  1764.  Arthur  Murphy,  provoked  by  the  satires  of 
Churchill  and  Lloyd,  describes  them  as  among  the  poor  hacks 

"  On  Ludgate-hill  who  bloody  murders  write, 
Or  pass  in  Fleet-street  supperless  the  night." 

Howel's  Letters,  already  mentioned,  have  had  a  parallel  in  our  time,  in  Richard  Oastler's  Meet 
Papers,  "  a  weekly  epistle  on  public  matters,"  inscribed  to  Thomas  Thornhill,  Esq.,  of  Fixby  Hall,  York- 
shire, whose  steward  Oastler  had  been,  and  at  whose  suit  he  was  imprisoned  here ;  he  was  liberated  by 
subscription,  Feb.  12, 1844:  and  a  bronze  group,  by  Philip,  has  been  erected  at  Bradford,  in  memory 
of  his  advocacy  of  the  Ten  Hours'  Factory  Bill.     Mr.  Rowcroft  also  wrote  a  volume  of  Fleet  Papers. 

FLEET  RIVEB  AND  FLEET  DITCH. 

fTHE  small,  rapid  stream  Fleet,  which  has  given  name  to  the  Prison  and  Street,  and 
•*-  the  portion  of  the  City  Wall  ditch  from  Holborn  to  the  Thames,  has  its  origin  in 
a  nursery-ground  on  the  eastern  ridge  of  Hampstead  Hill.  Here  it  becomes  a  sewer, 
after  which  it  issues  from  the  side  of  a  bank  below  Well  Walk  j  and  then  flows  down  a 
small  valley  of  gardens  and  orchards  to  near  the  reservoir  of  the  Hampstead  water-heads, 
to  feed  which  the  springs  of  the  Fleet  were  collected  in  1589,  and  were  afterwards  leased 


FLEET  RIVER  AND  FLEET  DITCH.  347 

out  by  the  City  of  London.  From  Hampstead  the  Fleet  may  be  traced  to  the  upper 
part  of  Kentish  Town,  after  which  it  is  diverted  from  its  original  course  for  the  sewer- 
age of  Camden  Town  ;  but  its  ancient  channel  may  be  traced  at  the  back  of  the  Castle 
Tavern,  Kentish  Town,  next  in  the  KingVroad,  near  St.  Pancras  Workhouse ;  and 
about  1825,  the  Fleet  was  conspicuous  all  along  the  Bagnigge-wells-road,  but  is  now 
covered  over.  Its  further  course  is  under  the  walls  of  the  House  of  Correction,  in 
Cold-bath-fields,  thence  to  the  workhouse  in  Coppice-row,  under  Eyre-street  (for- 
merly Hockley-in-the-Hole),  having  here  been  formerly  joined  by  "  the  River  of  the 
Wells,"  formed  by  Clerken,  Skinners',  and  other  wells ;  and  thus  to  the  bottom  of 
Holborn.  Here  it  received  the  waters  of  the  Old  Bourne,  which  rose  near  Middle-row, 
and  the  channel  of  which  forms  the  sewer  of  Holborn  Hill  to  this  day.  Thence  the 
united  streams  flowed  beneath  what  is  now  called  Farringdon-street  into  the  Thames. 

Stow  mentions  "that  a  Parliament  being  holden  at  Carlisle  in  the  year  1307,  the 
35  Edward  I.,  Henry  Lacy  Earle  of  Lincolne  complained,  that  whereas  (in  times  past) 
the  course  of  water,  running  at  London  under  Old-borne  Bridge,  and  Fleet  Bridge,  into 
the  Thames,  had  beene  of  such  bredth  and  depth  that  ten  or  twelve  ships,  Navies  at 
once,  with  Merchandises,  were  wont  to  come  to  the  aforesaid  bridge  of  Fleet,  and  some 
of  them  unto  Old-borne  Bridge,"  &c.  An  anchor  has  been  discovered  as  high  as  the 
present  Bagnigge-wells-road ;  and  even,  it  is  said,  the  remains  of  a  ship,  in  the  bed  of 
this  ancient  river,  near  Camden  Town.  The  upper  supply  of  water  being  diverted,  the 
ditch  became  stagnant,  and  into  it  were  thrown  all  sorts  of  offal,  dogs  and  cats,  and 
measled  hogs,  which  Ben  Jonson  has  minutely  described :  it  became  also  a  kind  of 
cloaca  maxima,  impassable  with  boats  ;  in  1652  it  was  ordered  to  be  cleansed,  but  the 
nuisance  was  scarcely  abated. 

The  Fleet  was  anciently  crossed  by  four  bridges  within  the  boundary  of  the  City  : 

the  first  of  these,  Holborn  Bridge,  was  covered  up  in  1802,  but  the  arch  and  part  of 

the  parapet  were  discovered  during  the  repair  of  the  ditch,  in  1811. 

In  the  bed  of  the  Fleet  many  Roman  and  Saxon  coins  have  been  discovered.  In  1670  various  Roman 
utensils  were  found  between  Holborn  and  Fleet  Bridge;  besides  Roman  coins,  including  silver  ring- 
money.  At  Holborn  Bridge  were  dug  up  two  brazen  lares,  about  four  inches  long, — Bacchus  and  Ceres ; 
also  arrow-heads,  scales,  and  seals,  with  the  proprietors*  names  upon  them  in  Saxon  characters  ;  spur- 
rowols,  keys,  and  daggers ;  medals,  crosses,  crucifixes,  &c. 

The  second  was  Fleet-lane  Bridge,  near  the  Prison.  Fleet  Bridge,  the  third,  con- 
nected Fleet-street  with  Ludgate-hill :  it  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666; 
and  in  its  place,  another,  the  breadth  of  the  street  (Strype),  was  erected,  ornamented 
with  pine-apples  and  the  City  arms;  it  was  finally  removed  in  1765.  The  fourth 
bridge  crossed  the  Fleet  opposite  Bridewell,  formerly  the  site  of  a  tower,  supposed  to 
have  appertained  to  the  Saxon  kings  of  England. 

After  the  Great  Fire,  the  Fleet,  or  Town  Ditch,  between  Holborn  and  the  Thames, 
was  cleansed  and  deepened  by  the  Corporation,  so  that  barges  ascended  to  Holborn 
Bridge,  as  formerly :  wharfs  and  landing  places  were  constructed ;  and  Seacoal  and 
Newcastle  lanes,  and  large  inn-yards,  remaining  to  this  day,  attest  the  barge  traffic. 
Seacoal-lane  is  mentioned  under  that  name  (Secol-lane,)  as  early  as  1253;  where, 
doubtless,  the  coal  was  brought  in  barges  up  the  Fleet  river,  and  stored  for  domestic 
purposes.  This  "  New  Canal,"  as  it  was  called,  cost  27,777£.,  but  proved  unprofitable : 
it  became  choked  with  Thames  mud,  and  again  relapsed  into  a  common  sewer.  Gay 
sings  of  its  "  muddy  current ;  and  Pope  points 

"  To  where  Fleet-ditch,  with  disemboguing  streams 
Rolls  the  large  tribute  of  dead  dogs  to  Thames, 
The  king  of  dykes !  than  whom  no  sluice  of  mud 
With  deeper  sable  blots  the  silver  flood." — The  Bunciad,  book  ii. 

Swift  thus  revels  in  its  delicice,  in  his  City  Shower  : — 

"Now  from  all  parts  the  swelling  kennels  flow, 
And  bear  their  trophies  with  them  as  they  go ; 
Filth  of  all  hues  and  odours  seem  to  tell 
What  street  they  sail'd  from  by  their  sight  and  smell. 
They,  as  each  torrent  drives  its  rapid  force, 
From  Smithfield  to  St.  'Pulchre's  shape  their  course, 
And  in  huge  confluence  joined  at  Snowhill  ridge, 
Fall  from  the  Conduit  prone  to  Holborn  Bridge ; 
Sweepings  from  butchers'  stalls,  dung,  guts,  and  blood, 
Drown'd  puppies,  stinking  sprats,  all  drench'd  in  mud, 
Bead  cats,  and  turnip-tops,  come  tumbling  down  the  flood." 


348  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Fleet  Ditch  is  engraved  as  the  frontispiece  to  Warbur  ton's  Pope,  vol.  v.  (The 
Dunciad.)  The  ditch  grew  to  be  so  pestilential  a  nuisance,*  its  slime  smothering  many 
persons  who  fell  into  it,  that  the  space  between  Holborn  Bridge  and  Fleet-street  was 
arched  over,  and  Stocks  Market  removed  here,  changed  to  Fleet  Market,  and  opened 
for  the  sale  of  meat,  fish,  and  vegetables,  Sept,  30,  1737 ;  and  upon  the  site  of  Stocks 
Market  was  built  the  Mansion  House.  The  remaining  portion  of  the  Fleet,  the  mouth 
of  which  Pennant  describes  as  "  a  muddy  and  genuine  ditch,"  continued  open  until 
1765,  at  the  building  of  Blackfriars  Bridge ;  the  foul  stream  was  then  arched  over, 
and  entered  the  Thames  on  the  west  side  of  the  bridge,  to  be  conveyed  some  distance 
into  the  river  by  a  culvert ;  the  vaulting  at  this  end  is  12  feet  high,  and  the  channel 
18  feet  wide.     (See  Sewees.) 

Since  1841,  Fleet  Ditch,  parallel  with  Field-lane,  has  been  covered  over;  but  it  might 
be  traced  in  the  alleys  at  the  back  of  Cow-cross,  whence  it  continued  open  to  Ray-street, 
Clerkenwell ;  while  Brookhill  and  Turnmill  streets  kept  in  memory  the  brook  which 
ran  here  into  the  Fleet,  and  the  mill  belonging  to  the  Knights  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem, 
which  was  turned  by  its  waters. 

In  1829  was  completed  a  new  market  between  the  north  end  of  Farringdon-street 
and  Shoe-lane;  whither,  on  Nov.  20,  was  removed  Fleet  Market,  the  premises  of 
which  were  then  taken  down.  At  the  south  end  of  Farringdon-street  is  a  granite 
obelisk,  erected  in  1839  to  the  memory  of  Alderman  Waithman,  who  commenced  busi- 
ness as  a  linendraper  close  to  this  spot  in  1785  ;  was  Lord  Mayor  in  1823-2 1,  and  was 
returned  six  times  to  Parliament  for  the  City  of  London.  Opposite  Waithman's  obelisk 
is  a  monument  which  bears  the  name  of  a  much  less  worthy  citizen,  John  Wilkes, 
and  the  year  of  his  mayoralty,  1775. 

In  1855,  the  valley  of  the  Fleet,  from  Coppice-row  to  Farringdon-street,  was  cleared 
of  many  old  and  decaying  dwellings,  many  of  a  date  anterior  to  the  Fire  of  London. 
From  Coppice-row  a  fine  view  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  was  opened  by  the  removal  of 
these  buildings. 

In  making  the  excavation  for  the  great  sewer  which  now  conveys  from  view  the  Fleet  Ditch,  at  a 
depth  of  about  13  feet  below  the  surface  hi  Ray-street,  near  the  corner  of  Little  Saffron-hill,  the  work- 
men came  upon  the  pavement  of  an  old  street,  consisting  of  very  large  blocks  of  ragstone  of  irregular 
shape.  An  examination  of  the  paving-stones  showed  that  the  street  had  been  well  used :  they  are  worn 
quite  smooth  by  the  footsteps  and  traffic  of  a  past  generation.  Below  the  old  street  was  found  another 
phase  of  Old  London.  Thickly  covered  with  slime  were  piles  of  oak,  hard  and  black,  which  had  seem- 
ingly been  portions  of  a  mill-dam.  A  lew  feet  below  were  very  old  wooden  water-pipes,  nothing  but  the 
rough  trunks  of  trees.  The  course  of  time  and  the  weight  of  matter  above  the  old  pavement  had  pressed 
the  gravel,  clay,  granite,  portions  of  tiles,  &c,  into  a  hard  and  almost  solid  mass,  and  it  was  curious  to 
observe  that  near  the  old  surface  were  great  numbers  of  pins.  Whither  have  the  pins  gone  ?  is  a  query 
which  has  puzzled  many.  The  now  hard  concrete,  stuck  with  these  useful  articles,  almost  like  a  pin- 
cushion, is  a  partial  reply  to  the  query.  The  13  feet  of  newer  deposit  would  seem  to  have  accumulated 
in  two  or  three  centuries :  it  is  not  unlikely  that  a  portion  of  the  rubbish  from  the  City  after  the  Great 
Fire  was  shot  here. — The  Builder. 

FLEET-STREET, 

TVTAMED  from  the  river  Fleet,  and  extending  from  the  junction  of  Farringdon- 
•*-"  street  and  New  Bridge-street,  is  one  of  the  most  ancient  and  celebrated  thorough- 
fares in  London.  For  many  centuries  it  has  been  noted  for  its  exhibitions  and  proces- 
sions ;  its  printers,  stationers,  and  booksellers ;  its  early  coffee-houses  and  taverns,  and 
banking-houses.     It  has  leading  from  it  thirty-four  streets,  lanes,  and  courts. 

Fleet-street  was  noted  for  its  signs :  the  counting  of  them,  "  from  Temple  Bar  to  the  furthest  con- 
duit in  Cheapside,"  &c.,  is  quoted  as  a  remarkable  instance  of  Fuller's  memory.  (Life,  &c.,  p.  76,  ed. 
1662.)  The  swinging  of  one  of  these  broad  signs,  in  a  high  wind,  and  the  weight  of  iron  on  which  it 
acted,  sometimes  brought  the  wall  down ;  and  one  front-fall  of  this  kind  in  Fleet-street-maimed  several 
persons,  and  killed"  two  young  ladies,  a  cobler,  and  the  King's  jeweller."— The  Doctor,  by  K.  Southey, 
one  vol.  edit.  p.  237. 

Before  the  Great  Fire,  and  long  after,  Fleet-street  was  badly  paved ;  the  houses, 
mostly  of  timber,  overhung  in  all  imaginable  positions ;  and  the  shops  were  rude  sheds 
with  a  penthouse,  beneath  which  the  tradesmen  unceasingly  called  "  What  d'ye  lack, 
gentles?     What  d'ye  lack  ?"     It  was  then  but  a  suburb.     Temple-bar  was  originally 

*  Chamberlayne  (1727),  however,  mentions  it  as  "a  mighty  chargeable  and  beautiful  work:  the 
curious  stone  bridges  over  it;  the  many  huge  vaults  on  each  side  thereof,  to  treasure  up  Newcastle  coals 
lor  the  use  ot  the  poor." 


FLEET-STREET.  349 


a  wooden  gatehouse  across  the  road  to  divide  the  City  from  Westminster ;  and  often  in 
Fleet-street  might  he  seen  men  playing  at  footbalL 

The  street  was  encumbered  with  posts,  upon  which  the  performances  at  the  theatres  were  announced ; 
hence  posting-bills.  Taylor,  the  water-poet,  relates  that  Master  Field,  the  player,  riding  up  Fleet-street 
at  a  great  pace,  a  gentleman  called  him,  and  asked  him  what  play  was  to  be  played  that  day  ?  He  being 
angry  to  be  stayed  on  so  frivolous  a  demand,  answered  that  he  might  see  what  play  was  to  be  played  on 
every  pott.    "  I  cry  your  mercy,"  said  the  gentleman ;  "  I  took  you  for  a  pott,  you  rode  so  fast." 

Fleet-street  retains  its  celebrity  for  printing-offices  in  the  adjoining  lanes  and  courts, 
greatly  increased  by  the  newspapers  of  the  last  half  century.  The  Great  Fire  stopped 
three  houses  eastward  of  St.  Dunstan's,  and  within  a  few  doors  of  the  Inner  Temple- 
gate,  nearly  opposite. 

No.  103  (now  Sunday  Times  office)  was  formerly  the  shop  of  Alderman  Waithman, 
whither  he  removed  from  the  south  end  of  Fleet-market.  At  No.  106,  the  sign  of  the 
Red  Lion,  Hardham's  37-snuff  was  first  made  and  sold  by  John  Hardbam,  olim 
Garrick's  "  numberer."  In  1824,  Nov.  14,  several  old  honses  on  the  south  side  of  the 
street  were  destroyed  by  fire,  besides  that  in  which  Milton  had  lodged,  in  St.  Bride's 
Churchyard.  Subsequently  was  opened  the  present  architectural  avenue  to  St.  Bride's 
Church,  designed  by  J.  B.  Papworth :  cost,  10,000/.  At  the  east  corner,  No.  86,  was 
.  published  by  D.  Bogue,  in  1855,  the  first  edition  of  the  Curiosities  of  London,  of  which 
3000  copies  were  sold. 

In  Bride-lane  is  the  ancient  St.  Bride's  Well,  over  which  is  a  pump ;  and  here  is 
Cogers'  Hall,  a  tavern,  where  the  Cogers  met  from  1756.  Curran  made  his  first 
oratorical  effort  among  the  Cogers;  Daniel  O'Connell  was  a  member;  as  was  also 
Judge  Keogh. 

In  Shoe-lane,  leading  to  Holborn-hill,  was  a  notorious  cockpit  in  Pepys's  time.  At  the 
north  end,  from  1378  to  1647,  was  the  town -house  of  the  Bishop  of  Bangor;  and  a 
part  of  the  garden,  with  lime-trees  and  a  rookery,  existed  in  1759 ;  the  mansion 
was  taken  down  in  1828.  Shoe-lane  is  associated  with  four  poets :  in  the  burial- 
ground  of  St.  Andrew's  Workhouse,  now  covered  by  Farringdon  Market,  was  buried 
Chatterton ;  in  St.  Andrew's  Churchyard  lies  Henry  Neele ;  in  Gunpowder-alley,  in 
1658,  died  in  abject  poverty,  Richard  Lovelace,  the  cavalier  poet,  "  the  most  amiable 
and  beautiful  person  that  eyes  ever  beheld  ;"*  in  1749,  in  a  wretched  lodging-house  off 
Shoe-lane,  died  Richard  Boyce.  In  Gunpowder-alley,  too,  lived  Evans,  the  astrologer, 
the  friend  and  instructor  of  Lilly,  the  "  Sidrophel"  of  Hudibras. 

Opposite  Shoe-lane  was  the  famous  Fleet-street  Conduit.  (See  p.  288.)  At  No.  134, 
the  Globe  tavern,  frequented  by  Goldsmith,  and  Macklin  the  actor,  was  held  the  Robin 
Hood  Club.  Salisbury-court,  nearly  facing,  was  once  the  inn  of  the  bishops  of  Salis- 
bury ;then  of  the  Sackvilles,  and  was  called  Sackville  House  and  Dorset  House ;  whence 
Dorset-street.  After  the  Great  Fire,  Wren  built  for  Davenant  "  the  Duke's  Theatre," 
opened  1671,  where  Betterton  played  :  it  had  a  picturesque  front  to  the  Thames ;  upon 
its  site  are  the  City  Gas-works.  Salisbury  or  Dorset- court  had  also  its  play-house, 
originally  the  granary  of  Salisbury  House;  it  was  pulled  about  by  sectarian  soldiers  in 
1649,  rebuilt  in  1660,  but  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire.  The  court  was  a  scene  of  the  Mug- 
house  Riots  of  1716,  and  here  was  a  noted  Mug-house.  In  Salisbury-court  (now  square) 
Richardson  wrote  his  Pamela,  and  printed  his  own  novels ;  his  printing-office  being  at 
the  top  of  the  court,  now  No.  76,  Fleet-street :  Goldsmith  was  once  Richardson's 
"  reader ;"  and  here  was  printed  Maitland's  London,  folio,  1739.  Richardson  was 
visited  here  by  Hogarth,  Dr.  Johnson,  Dr.  Young ;  Seeker,  Archbishop  of  Canterbury ; 
and  Mrs.  Barbauld,  when  a  playful  child.  Here  was  also  the  printing-office  of  Gillett, 
twice  destroyed,  in  1805  and  1810,  by  fire :  the  premises  were  rebuilt ;  and  here,  in 
1814  were  burnt  10,000  copies  of  the  Memoir  of  the  notorious  Mary  Anne  Clarke,  upon 
condition  of  her  debts  being  paid,  and  an  annuity  of  400Z.  granted  her  :  the  burning 
occupied  three  entire  days. 

Water-lane  (flow  Whitefriars-street)  leads  to  Whitefriars,  named  from  a  convent  of 
white-robed  Carmelites,  and  called  Alsatia  from  1608  to  1696  (see  Scott's  Fortunes  of 
Nigel) ;  extending  from  Fleet-street  to  the  Thames,  and  from  the  western  side  of 
Water-lane  to  the  Temple  :  it  was  a  privileged  sanctuary,  abolished  in  1697  :  a  notorious 

*  George  Petty,  haberdasher,  in  Fleet-street,  carried  twenty  shillings  to  Lovelace  every  Monday 
morning,  from  Sir Many,  and  Charles  Cotton,  Esq.,  for  months,  until  the  poet's  death. 


350  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

retreat  for  cheating  creditors,  had  its  cant  Lomhard-street ;  and  had  many  a  Cheatly, 
Shamwell,  Hackum,  and  Scapeall.  (See  Shadwell's  Squire  of  Alsatia.)  At  the 
Harrow,  in  Water-lane,  lived  Filby,  Goldsmith's  tailor.  No.  64,  Fleet-street,  much 
altered,  is  the  Bolt-in-Tun  Inn,  mentioned  in  a  grant  to  the  White  Friars  in  1443, 
as  "  Hospitium  vocattim  Le  Boltenton ; "  the  sign  is  an  arrow,  or  bolt,  partly  in  a  tun. 
In  Whitefriars-street,  adjoining,  is  the  Black  Lion,  a  small  inn-yard,  with  the  exterior 
wooden  gallery  in  part  remaining. 

At  the  east  corner  of  Peterborough-court  was  one  of  the  earliest  shops  for  the 
Instantaneous  Light  apparatus,  "  Hertner's  Eupyrion "  (phosphorus  and  oxymuriate 
matches,  to  be  dipped  in  sulphuric  acid  and  asbestos),  the  costly  predecessor  of  the 
Lucifer-match.  Nearly  opposite  were  the  works  of  Jacob  Perkins,  the  engineer  of  the 
steam-gun,  exhibited  at  the  Adelaide  Gallery,  Strand ;  and  which  the  Duke  of  Wel- 
lington truly  foretold  would  never  be  advantageously  employed  in  warfare.  About 
midway  on  the  north  side  lived  Thomas  Hardy,  the  bootmaker,  who  was  tried  with 
Home  Tooke,  in  1794,  for  treason ;  he  was  also  one  of  the  three  who  commenced  the 
London  Corresponding  Society,  and  its  secretary :  he  died  in  his  82nd  year,  and  is 
buried  in  Bunhill-fields,  beneath  a  semi-political  monument. 

On  the  north  side  is  Bolt-court,  where,  at  No.  8,  Dr.  Johnson  lived  from  1776  till 
his  death  in  1784 ;  while  here,  Johnson  unsuccessfully  applied  (in  1776)  to  the  Earl 
of  Hertford,  requesting  apartments  in  Hampton  Court  Palace.  Johnson's  house  was 
subsequently  Bensley's  printing-office,  and  was  burnt  June  26,  1819.  The  Johnson's 
Head  tavern  was  not  contemporary  with  the  Doctor.  (See  Notes  and  Queries,  No. 
123.)  At  No.  4,  Ferguson,  the  astronomer,  died  Nov.  1776.  In  the  court,  Cobbett 
wrote,  printed,  and  published  his  Political  Register,  and  sold  Indian  corn.  The 
Register  was  subsequently  published  at  No.  83,  Fleet-street,  where  was  exhibited  a 
large  iron  Gridiron,  which  Cobbett  had  made  for  his  political  sign.  No.  3,  Bolt-court, 
was  bequeathed  to  the  Medical  Society  of  London  by  Dr.  Lettsom ;  over  the  door  is 
an  emblematic  bas-relief.  The  Society  removed,  in  1851,  to  33,  George-street, 
Hanover-square. 

Wine-office-court :  Goldsmith  lodged  here  in  1761,  when  Johnson  first  visited  him  ; 
Goldsmith  then  wrote  for  the  Public  Ledger  newspaper,  and  began  the  Vicar  of 
Wakefield.     Here  is  an  old  chop-house,  the  Cheshire  Cheese,  long  noted  for  punch. 

Johnson' s-court :  at  No.  7,  Samuel  Johnson  lived  1765  to  1776 ;  the  John  Bull 
newspaper  was  commenced  here,  at  No.  11,  in  1820,  with  Theodore  Hook  as  editor. 
Northward  is  Gough-square,  where,  at  No.  17,  Johnson  compiled  the  greater  portion 
of  his  Dictionary,  1748  to  1758. 

Serjeants'  Inn,  on  the  south  side  of  Fleet-street,  was  formerly  an  inn  of  court ;  the 
handsome  offices  were  designed  by  Adam.  No.  13,  Fleet-street,  the  Amicable  Life 
Assurance  office,  was  rebuilt  in  1839 ;  the  Society  was  first  chartered  by  Queen  Anne. 

Ckane-cotjbt.     (See  p.  296.) 

Red  Lion-court :  printing-offices  of  John  Nichols  (Gentleman's  Magazine),  burnt 
Feb.  8,  1808;  of  Messrs.  Valpy  (Classics),  where  Punch  was  next  printed;  and  of 
Richard  Taylor,  F.R.S.  (Philosophical  Magazine). 

Hare-court  (originally  Ram-alley),  opposite  Fetter-lane,  was  noted  for  its  public- 
houses  and  cook-shops,  often  mentioned  in  17th  century  plays :  it  was  a  sanctuary 
until  1697. 

No.  17,  Fleet-street,  is  an  interesting  specimen  of  olden  street-architecture ;  above 
the  gateway  to  the  Inner  Temple,  of  plain  Jacobean  design,  with  a  semicircular  arch, 
and  the  Pegasus  in  the  spandrils.  It  was  built  in  1609,  and  was  not  as  inscribed, 
"Formerly  the  Palace  of  Henry  VIII.  and  Cardinal  Wolsey." 

One  of  the  Curiotities  of  Fleet-street  was  Mrs.  Salmon's  Moving  Waxwork,  originally  established  at 
the  Golden  Salmon,  St.  Martin's,  near  Aldersgate  (Harl.  MS.  5931 :  Brit.  Mus.)  :  "  it  would  have  been 
ridiculous  for  the  ingenious  Mrs.  Salmon  to  have  lived  at  the  sign  of  the  Trout."  (The  Spectator,  No.  28.) 
Thence  the  Waxwork  was  removed  to  No.  189,  Fleet-street,  site  of  Messrs.  Praed's  banking-house.  At 
the  death  of  Mrs.  Salmon,  aged  90,  the  collection  was  purchased  by  Mr.  Clarke,  a  surgeon  (father  of  Sir 
Charles  Mansfield  Clarke,  M.D.),  as  an  investment  for  his  wife.  Mrs.  Clarke  continued  the  exhibition 
as  Mrs.  Salmon's,  at  No.  189,  until  1795,  when  it  was  removed  to  No.  17,  nearly  opposite,  at  the  cast 
corner  of  Inner  Temple-lane ;  and  here  shown,  with  a  figure  of  Anne  Siggs,  on  crutches,  at  the  door, 
until  Mrs.  Clarke's  death  in  1812.  The  collection,  much  reduced,  was  then  sold  for  501.,  and  subsequently 
shown  at  the  west  corner  of  Water-lane.  Mrs.  Salmon,  with  more  probability,  styled  the  above  house 
"  once  the  Palace  of  Henry  Prince  of  Wales,  son  of  King  James  1. 1"  but  this  residence  is  not  mentioned 


FLEET-STREET.  351 


by  his  biographers :  the  first-floor  front-room  has,  however,  an  enriched  plaster  ceiling,  inscribed  P. 
(triple  plume)  H.,  which,  with  part  of  the  carved  wainscoting,  denote  the  house  to  be  of  the  time  of 
James  I.  Still,  we  do  not  find  in  the  lives  of  Prince  Henry  any  indication  of  this  house  as  a  royal 
palace.  It  appears  that  the  house,  though  never  the  residence  of  Prince  Henry,  was  the  office 
in  which  the  Council  for  the  Management  of  the  Duchy  of  Cornwall  Estates  held  their  sittings,  in  his 
time ;  and  in  the  Calendar  of  State  Papers,  edited  by  Mrs.  Green,  we  find  entries  dated  from  the  Council- 
Chamber,  in  Fleet-street.  The  interior  of  the  house  is  in  the  style  of  Inigo  Jones,  whose  first  office  was 
Surveyor  of  the  Works  to  Henry,  Prince  of  Wales,  until  the  year  1613. 

In  Fleet-street  are  the  oldest  banking  firms,  except  Stone,  Martin  &  Co.,  Lom- 
bard-street, who  claim  to  be  the  successors  of  Sir  Thomas  Gresham.  No.  1,  Fleet- 
street  (formerly  the  Marygold)  is  the  banking-house  of  Child  and  Co.,  who  date  from 
soon  after  the  Restoration;  they  occupy  the  rooms  over  Temple-bar  for  stowage  of 
their  books  of  accounts. 

This  firm  was  founded  in  the  reign  of  Charles  I.,  when  Francis  Child,  apprentice  to  William  Wheeler, 
a  goldsmith,  whose  shop  was  on  the  site  of  the  present  banking-house,  laid  the  foundation  of  his  fortune 
by  marrying  his  master's  daughter,  by  which  he  succeeded  to  the  estate  and  business.  ■  Messrs.  Child 
have  the  accounts  of  Nell  Gwynne;  and  among  the  records  of  the  firm  are  the  accounts  of  the 
partner,  Alderman  Backwell,  for  the  sale  of  Dunkirk  to  the  French.  The  principal  of  the  firm  is  the 
Countess  of  Jersey,  wife  of  George  Child  Villiers,  Earl  of  Jersey,  who  assumed  the  name  of  Child  upon 
his  Countess  inheriting  the  estates  of  her  maternal  grandfather,  Robert  Child,  Esq.,  of  Osterley  Park, 
Middlesex.  "  In  the  catalogue  of  a  sale  of  prints,  &c.,  by  Mr.  Hodgson,  9th  June,  1834,  lot  270,  is  an 
original  sketch  in  oil  by  Hogarth,  representing  a  memorable  occurrence  in  the  house  of  Child  and  Co., 
when  they  were  delivered  by  temporary  munificence  of  the  Duchess  of  Marlborough." 

Next  is  Gosling's,  No.  19,  sign  of  Three  Squirrels,  in  the  iron-work  of  a  window, 

originally  on  a  lozenge  shield. 

Gosling,  as  founder  of  the  house,  is  thus  mentioned  in  the  account  of  Secret  Service  Monies  of 
Charles  II.  and  James  I. :  "  To  Richard  Bakenham,  in  full,  for  several  parcells  of  gold  and  silver  lace, 
bought  of  William  Gosling  and  partners,  on  2nd  May,  1674,  by  the  Dutchess  of  Cleveland,  for  the  wedding- 
clothes  of  Lady  Sussex  and  Lichfield,  64W.  8»." 

Messrs.  Hoares',  No.  37  (Golden  Bottle),  dates  from  1680. 

The  Golden  Bottle  is  said  to  represent  the  flask  carried  by  the  founder  of  the  establishment,  when 
journeying  to  Loudon,  as  the  story-books  say,  to  seek  his  fortune.  Richard  Hoare,  Esq.,  the  principal  of 
the  firm,  succeeded  Sir  F.  Child  as  Alderman  of  the  Ward  of  Farringdon  Without ;  was  Sheriff  in  1740-41, 
in  wliich  year  there  were  three  Lord  Mayors.  Mr.  Hoare  has  left  a  manuscript  journal  of  his  shrievalty, 
illustrating  various  customs,  privileges,  and  "  treats  "  of  the  City,  and  concluding  thus :  "  after  being 
regaled  with  sack  and  walnuts,  I  returned  to  my  own  house  in  my  private  capacity,  to  my  great  con- 
solation and  comfort."    He  was  Lord  Mayor  in  1746. 

Fleet-street  was  long  ago  the  abode  of  dentists  and  makers  of  artificial  teeth.  An 
Almanac  of  1709,  advertises,  "  John  Watts,  operator,  who  applies  wholly  to  the  said 
business,  and  lives  in  Racquet-court,  Fleet-street." 

Fleet-street  has  been  the  cradle  of  printing,  almost  from  its  first  introduction :  Wynkyn  de  Worde 
(assistant  of  Caxton),  at  the  Golden  Sun,  Swan,  and  Falcon,  the  latter  in  Falcon-court;  the  imprint  to 
the  Demaundes  Joyous  is  as  follows : 

"  Emprynted  at  London  in  Fletestre 

te  at  the  signe  of  the  Swane  by 

me  Wynkyn  de  Worde 

In  the  yere  of  our 

lorde    a  m 

c  c  ceo 

and  xi 

There,  however,  exists  a  book  inscribed :  "  emprynted  by  me  Richarde  Pynson  at  the  temple  barre  of 
London  1493."  To  these  may  be  added  Rastell,  "  at  the  signe  of  the  Starre;"  of  Richard  Tottel,  the 
eminent  law  printer  and  publisher,  "  within  Temple  bar,  at  the  signe  of  the  Hande  and  Starre,"  now  the 
house  and  property  of  Messrs.  Butterworth,  who  possess  all  the  original  leases  of  the  same,  including 
Tottel's,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.,  to  the  present  time. 

The  following  were  also  contemporary  printers  in  Fleet-street,  viz.:  Robert  Copland,  stationer, 
printer,  bookseller,  author,  and  translator :  his  sign,  in  1515,  was  the  Rose  Garland.  John  Butler  lived 
at  the  sign  of  St.  John  the  Evangelist  in  1529.  Thomas  Bertholit,  King's  printer,  dwelt  at  the  Lucretia 
Romana :  he  retired  from  business  about  1641.  John  Bedel,  stationer  and  printer,  lived,  in  1531,  at  the 
sign  of  Our  Lady  of  Pity.  John  Waylond,  citizen  and  stationer,  lived  at  the  Blue  Garland,  1541.  Lawrence 
Andrew,  a  native  of  Calais,  was  a  printer  at  the  Golden  Press,  by  Fleet-bridge.  Thomas  Godfrey,  the 
printer  of  Chaucer's  works,  lived  near  the  Temple-bar. 

Here,  too,  we  find  the  cradle  of  steam-printing :  Bensley,  of  Bolt-court,  being  the  first  to  aid  the 
labours  of  Konig,  who  had  applied  to  German  and  other  Continental  printers  unsuccessfully.  Konig  and 
Bensley  were  joined  by  Woodfall  and  Taylor,  printers;  and  out  of  their  joint  exertions  grew  cylindrical 
printing,  of  which  Mr.  Walter,  of  the  Times  newspaper,  was  the  first  to  avail  himself,  28th  of  November, 
1814;  Bensley's  inking  apparatus  was,  however,  superseded  by  Cowper's — a  very  important  advance. 
Soon  after  the  above  date,  we  remember  to  have  seen  a  large  working  cylinder-machine,  which  had  been 
invented  by  Winch,  a  printer's  joiner,  while  he  was  confined  in  the  King's  Bench  Prison  for  debt. 

Two  of  the  most  disastrous  fires  in  Fleet-street  were  those  at  the  printing-office  of  S.  Hamilton,  in 
Falcon-court,  when  printing  materials,  &c,  were  consumed  to  the  value  of  80,000/.,  February  21, 1803; 
and  at  Bensley's,  Bolt-court,  June  1819,  where  the  costly  woodcuts  and  printed  stock  of  Dalloway's  elabo- 
rate History  qf  Sussex  were  destroyed.— Abridged  from  Walks  and  Talks  about  London. 


352  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  old  Fleet-street  taverns  and  coffee-bouses  are  mostly  up  passages.  Upon  the  site 
of  Child' s-place  was  the  Devil  Tavern,  sign  St.  Dunstan  pulling  the  Devil's  nose :  here, 
in  the  Apollo  chamber,  over  the  door,  were  inscribed  the  verses  by  Jonson,  commencing, 

"  Welcome,  all  who  lead  or  follow, 
To  the  oracle  of  Apollo." 

Here  Ben  Jonson  and  his  sons  used  to  make  their  liberal  meetings ;  the  rules  of  Ben's 
Club  in  gold  letters  over  the  chimney.  (Tatler,  No.  79.)  These  are  preserved  in  the 
premises,  at  the  back  of  Child's  bank,  No.  1,  with  a  terra-cotta  bust  of  Apollo :  the 
contemporary  landlord  was  Sim  Wadlow,  "the  king  of  skinkers."  (Jonson.)  The 
club-room,  fitted  with  a  music-gallery,  was  afterwards  used  for  balls  and  entertain- 
ments ;  and  the  house  continued  to  be  the  resort  of  the  wits  of  the  last  century :  "  I 
dined  to-day"  (Oct.  12,  1710)  "  with  Dr.  Garth  and  Mr.  Addison,  at  the  Devil  Tavern, 
near  Temple-bar ;  and  Garth  treated."  (Swift's  Journal  to  Stella.)  Here  Dr.  Johnson 
presided  at  a  supper  celebrating  the  publication  of  Mrs.  Lennox's  first  book,  when  the 
whole  night  was  spent  in  festivity.  The  tavern  was  taken  down  in  1788  ;  opposite  is 
Apollo-court ;  and  next  door  east,  is  the  Cock  Tavern,  with  an  old  carved  and  gilt  sign- 
bird.  (See  Tavekns.)  The  Horn  Tavern,  now  Anderton's  Hotel,  No.  164,  was  famous 
in  1604.     (-See  Coffee-houses  :  Dick's,  Rainbow,  and  Peele's,  pp.  264,  267,  268.) 

No.  39  was  "  the  Mitre,  in  Fleet-street,"  the  tavern  so  often  referred  to  in  Boswell's 
Life  of  Johnson  :  the  Mitre,  in  Mitre-court,  was  of  much  later  date.  At  the  Mitre, 
in  Fleet-street,  in  1640,  Lilly  met  old  Will  Poole,  the  astrologer,  then  living  in 
Ram-alley.  The  Royal  Society  Club  dined  at  the  Mitre  from  1743  to  1750;  and  the 
Society  of  Antiquaries  met  here  for  some  time :  the  house  had  its  token.  This  was 
Dr.  Johnson's  favourite  supper-house,  the  parties  including  Goldsmith,  Percy,  Hawkes- 
worth,  and  Boswell.  Chamberlain  Clark,  who  died  in  1831,  aged  92,  was  the  last 
surviving  of  Johnson's  Mitre  friends.  It  was  a  favourite  house  with  Lord  Stowell. 
The  premises  became  Macklin's  Poets'  Gallery  in  1788 ;  and  lastly  Saunders's  Auction- 
rooms  :  they  were  taken  down  to  enlarge  the  site  for  Hoare's  new  Banking-house. 

In  the  bay-windowed  house,  Nos.  184  and  185,  lived  Drayton,  the  poet.  At  No. 
186,  was  commenced,  Nov.  3,  1849,  Notes  and  Queries.  West  of  St.  Dunstan's  is  the 
Law  Life  Assurance  Office,  of  Jacobean  street-architecture,  built  by  Shaw  in  1834 : 
next  is  the  passage  to  Clifford's  Inn.  Chaucer,  when  a  student  of  the  Inner  Temple, 
was  fined  2s.  by  the  Society  for  beating  a  Franciscan  friar  in  Fleet-street ;  so  states 
Speght,  the  illustrator  of  the  poet.  Cowley  was  born  near  Chancery -lane ;  his  father 
was  an  engrosser,  not  a  grocer,  as  long  stated.  Isaac  Walton  lived  two  doors  west  of 
Chancery -lane,  whither,  in  1632,  he  removed.  (See  Chanceky-lane,  p.  82.)  At  No.  197 
was  Rackstrow's  Anatomical  Museum,  and  collection  of  natural  and  artificial  curiosi- 
ties, natural  magic,  &c.,  exhibited  from  1736  to  1798.  Bell-yard  and  Fetter-lane  were 
once  noted  for  fishing-tackle  shops. 

Shire-lane  (now  Lower  Serle's-place),  hard  by  Temple-bar,  named  from  its  dividing 
the  City  from  the  Shire,  was  once  a  place  of  note.  Here  was  born  Sir  Charles  Sedley, 
the  poet,  and  witty  contemporary  of  Rochester ;  here  lived  Elias  Ashmole,  by  turns 
astrologer,  alchemist  and  antiquary,  who  called  "father"  one  Backhouse,  an  adept,  in 
Fleet-street,  over  against  St.  Dunstan's  Church. 

In  1658,  Ashmole  left  the  astrologers  and  alchemists;  in  1660,  he  was  called  to  the  har  in  Middle 
Temple  Hall ;  and  on  Jan.  26,  1679,  by  a  fire  in  his  chambers  in  the  Middle  Temple,  he  lost  most  of  his 
library,  a  cabinet  of  9000  coins,  besides,  seals,  charters,  &c,  and  a  curious  collection  of  engraved 
portraits. 

At  the  upper  end  of  Shire-lane  lived  Isaac  Bickerstaff,  the  Tatler,  who  led  the 
deputation  of  "  Twaddlers"  down  the  lane,  across  Fleet-street,  to  Dick's  Coffee-house. 
At  the  Trumpet  (afterwards  the  Duke's  Head)  public-house,  in  Shire-lane,  the  Tatler 
met  his  club  ;  and  in  the  lane  lived  Christopher  Kat,  at  whose  house  originated  the 
Kit-Kat  Club.     (See  pp.  250,  251.) 

_  Fleet-street  was  the  scene  of  the  annual  grand  burning  of  the  Pope  (on  November  17)  in  the 
reign  of  Charles  II. ;  the  torchlight  procession  beginning  at  Moorfields,  and  ending  at  Fleet-street, 
where  the  effigy  of  the  Pope  was  burnt,  opposite  Middle  Temple-gate.  These  saturnalia  were  kept  up 
until  after  the  expulsion  of  James  II. ;  when  the  anti-popish  mummery  was  transferred  to  Nov.  5. 
(See  Temple  and  Temple  Bab.) 

Towards  the  west  end  of  Fleet-street  have  been  erected  several  buildings  of  highly 


FOG  OF  LONDON.  3o3 


ornamental  character ;  as  at  the  junction  of  Chancery-lane  and  Fleet-street,  handsome 
Italian;  the  Crown  Insurance  Offices,  Venetian,  of  marble,  granite,  and  coloured 
stone;  No.  21,  Italian,  of  the  Palladian  school;  No.  29,  of  Portland  stone,  granite, 
marble,  &c. 

Among  the  Fleet-street  booksellers  of  our  time,  William  Hone  must  be  mentioned  : 
he  commenced  business  at  No.  55,  about  the  year  1812 ;  where  he  published  a 
pamphlet  in  vindication  of  the  ill-fated  Eliza  Fenning,  who  is  now  believed  to  have  been 
guiltless  of  the  crime  for  which  she  suifered :  the  mystery  has  been  thus  cleared  up  by 
one  of  Fenning's  family  attesting  that  a  nephew  of  Mr.  Turner,  in  Chancery-lane, 
when  upon  his  death-bed,  in  Chelmsford,  disclosed  that,  "  many  years  since,  irritated 
with  his  uncle  and  aunt,  with  whom  he  resided,  for  not  supplying  him  with  money,  he 
availed  himself  of  the  absence  for  a  few  minutes  of  the  servant-maid  from  the  kitchen, 
stepped  into  it  and  deposited  a  quantity  of  powdered  arsenic  on  some  dough  he  found 
mixed  in  a  pan.     Eliza  Fenning,  he  added,  was  wholly  ignorant  of  these  facts." 

FOG  OF  LONDON. 

THIS  phenomenon  is  caused  by  the  millions  of  blazing  coal-fires  in  the  metropolis 
contributing  a  vast  quantity  of  fuliginous  matter,  which,  mingling  with  the 
vapour,  partly  arising  from  imperfect  drainage,  produces  that  foggy  darkness  which 
Londoners  not  inaptly  term  "  awful."  Sometimes  it  is  of  a  bottle-green  colour ;  but 
if  the  barometer  rise,  it  will  either  totally  disappear  or  change  into  a  white  mist.  At 
other  times  it  is  of  pea-soup  yellow ;  in  the  midst  of  which  the  street  gas-lights  appear 
like  the  pin-head  lamps  of  old.  The  latter  is  the  genuine  November  London  Fog. 
"  First  at  the  dawn  of  lingering  day, 

It  rises  of  an  ashy  grey; 

Then  deepening  with  a  sordid  stain 

Of  yellow,  like  a  lion's  mane. 

Vapour  importunate  and  dense, 

It  wars  at  once  with  every  sense. 

The  ears  escape  not.    All  around 

Eetums  a  dull,  unwonted  sound. 

Loath  to  stand  still,  afraid  to  stir, 

The  chilled  and  puzzled  passenger, 

Oft  blundering  from  the  pavement,  fails 

To  feel  his  way  along  the  rails  ; 

Or  at  the  crossings,  in  the  roll 

Of  every  carriage  dreads  the  pole. 

Scarce  an  eclipse  with  pall  so  dun 

Blots  from  the  face  of  heaven  the  sun. 

But  soon  a  thicker,  darker  cloak 

Wraps  all  the  town,  behold,  in  smoke, 

Which  steam-compelling  trade  disgorges 

From  all  her  furnaces  and  forges 

In  pitchy  clouds  too  dense  to  rise, 

Descends  rejected  from  the  skies ; 

Till  struggling  day,  extinguished  quite, 

At  noon  gives  place  to  candle-light. 
The  Fog,  too,  sensibly  affects  the  organs  of  respiration  :  hence  a  Scotch  physician  has 
asked,  "  If  a  person  require  half  a  gallon  of  pure  air  per  minute,  how  many  gallons  of 
this  foul  atmosphere  must  be,  as  it  were,  filtered  by  his  lungs  in  the  course  of  a  day  ?" 
Sometimes  the  Fog  is  caused  by  a  very  ordinary  accident, — a  change  of  wind,  thus 
accounted  for :  the  west  wind  carries  the  smoke  of  the  town  eastward  in  a  long  train, 
extending  twenty  or  thirty  miles,  as  may  be  seen  on  a  clear  day  from  an  eminence  five 
or  six  miles  from  the  town, — say,  from  Harrow-on-tbe-Hill.  In  this  case,  suppose  the 
wind  to  change  suddenly  to  the  east,  the  great  body  of  smoke  will  be  brought  back  in 
an  accumulated  mass ;  and  as  this  repasses  the  town,  augmented  by  the  clouds  of  smoke 
from  every  fire  therein,  it  causes  the  murky  darkness. 

By  accurate  observation  of  the  height  of  the  Fog,  relatively  with  the  higher  edifices, 
whose  elevation  is  known,  it  has  been  ascertained  that  the  Fogs  of  London  never  rise 
more  than  from  200  to  240  feet  above  the  same  level.      Hence  the  air  of  the  more 


Oh,  Chemistry,  attractive  maid, 
Descend,  in  pity,  to  our  aid  : 
Come  with  thy  all-pervading  gases, 
Thy  crucibles,  retorts,  and  glasses, 
Thy  fearful  energies  and  wonders, 
Thy  dazzling  lights  and  mimic  thunders ; 
Let  Carbon  in  thy  train  be  seen, 
Dark  Azote  and  fair  Oxygen, 
And  Wollaston  and  Davy  guide 
The  car  that  bears  them  at  thy  side, 
If  any  power  can,  any  how, 
Abate  these  nuisances,  'tis  thou; 
And  see  to  aid  thee  in  the  blow, 
The  bill  of  Michael  Angelo, 
O  join  (success  a  thing  of  course  is) 
Thy  heavenly  to  his  mortal  forces ; 
Make  all  chimneys  chew  the  cud 
Like  hungry  cows,  as  chimneys  should ! 
And  since  'tis  only  smoke  we  "draw 
Within  our  lungs  at  common  law, 
Into  their  thirsty  tubes  be  sent 
Fresh  air,  by  act  of  parliament."  I    .  i 

Benry  Zuttrel. 


elevated  environs  of  the  metropolis  is  celebrated  for  its  pure  and  invigorating  qualities, 
being  placed  above  the  fogs  of  the  plain,  and  removed  from  smoky  and  contaminated 
atmosphere.  The  height  of  the  Norwood  hills,  for  example  is  390  feet  above  the  sea- 
level  at  low  water ;  and  thus  enjoys  pre-eminent  salubrity. 

A  A 


354  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

What  is  often  called  Fog,  which  darkens  the  metropolis  in  winter,  is,  in  reality,  the  smoke  of  millions 
of  coal-fires,  which  are  much  increased  in  very  cold  weather.  To  prevent  this,  a  Correspondent  of  the 
Times  recommends  this  simple  plan :— Before  you  throw  on  coals,  pull  all  the  fire  to  the  front  of  the 
grate  towards  the  bars,  fill  up  the  cavity  at  the  back  with  the  cinders  or  ashes,  which  will  be  found  under 
the  grate,  and  then  throw  on  the  coals.  The  gas  evolved  in  the  process  of  roasting  the  coals  will  then 
be  absorbed  by  the  cinders— will  render  them,  in  an  increased  degree,  combustible.  The  smoke  will 
thus  be  burnt,  and  a  fine  glowing,  smokeless  fire  will  be  the  result.  This  rule  should  be  enforced  from 
the  kitchen  upwards. 

FOBTIFICA  TIONS. 

THE  defence  of  the  City  of  London  by  the  wall  built  by  our  later  Eoman  colonists 
has  been  already  described.     (See  City  Walls  and  Gates,  p.  233.)     In  later 
times,  the  metropolis  had  again  to  be  fortified. 

During  the  Civil  Wars,  in  1642,  the  Parliament  ordered  that  trenches  and  ramparts 
should  be  made  near  the  highways  leading  to  the  City,  and  in  different  parts  about 
London  and  Westminster.  These  Fortifications  consisted  of  a  strong  earthen  rampart, 
flanked  with  bastions,  redoubts,  &c,  surrounding  the  whole  City  and  its  liberties,  in- 
cluding Southwark.  In  Tyburn-road,  in  1643,  there  were  three  forts  erected — viz.,  a 
redoubt,  with  two  flanks,  near  St.  Giles's  Pound;  a  small  fort  at  the  east  end  of  the 
road ;  and  a  large  fort,  with  four  half  bulwarks,  across  the  road  opposite  to  Wardour- 
street.  From  The  Perfect  Diurnal  of  this  period,  we  gather  that  many  thousands  of 
men,  women,  and  servants  assisted  in  the  works ;  as  did  also  a  great  company  of  the 
Common  Council,  and  other  chief  men  of  the  City;  and  the  Trained  Bands,  with  spades, 
shovels,  and  pickaxes;  likewise  feltmakers,  cappers,  shoemakers,  and  porters,  to  the 
number  of  many  thousands,  assisted  in  raising  the  defences. 

Upon  the  site  of  Mount-street  was  the  fort  of  "  Oliver's  Mount ;"  and  on  the  ground 
now  occupied  by  Hamilton-place  at  Hyde-park-corner  was  a  large  fort  with  four 
bastions. 

"  From  ladies  down  to  oyster-wenches, 
Labour'd  like  pioneers  in  trenches." 

Butler's  Hudibras,  Part  ii.  canto  2. 
The  women,  and  even  the  ladies  of  rank  and  fortune,  not  only  encouraged  the  men,  but  worked  with 
their  own  hands.     Lady  Middlesex,  Lady  Foster,  Lady  Anne  Walker,  and  Mrs.  Dunch,  have  been 
particularly  celebrated  for  their  activity. — Dr.  Nash's  Notes. 

There  are  in  existence  drawings  of  London  Fortifications  ascribed  to  Hollar,  and 
Captain  John  Eyre  of  Oliver  Cromwell's  own  regiment,  dated  1643  ;  but  they  are  not, 
by  competent  judges,  regarded  as  genuine.     The  latter  have  been  etched. 

The  Parliamentary  Fortifications  of  London  are  described  in  Maitland's  History ; 
a  Plan  of  the  City  and  Suburbs,  1642  and  1643,  was  engraved  by  George  Vertue, 
1738 ;  and  a  small  Plan  of  the  same  works  appeared  in  the  Gentleman's  Magazine,  a 
few  years  afterwards. 

During  the  last  Civil  War,  a  Fortification  was  erected  at  the  Brill  Farm,  near  Old 
St.  Pancras  Church,  where,  120  years  later,  Somers  Town  was  built ;  a  view  of  it  is 
engraved. — Notes  and  Queries,  No.  230. 

FOUNDLING  HOSPITAL  (THF), 

IN  Guilford-street,  was  established  by  Royal  Charter,  granted  in  1739  to  Thomas 
Coram  (master  of  a  trading  vessel),  "  for  the  reception,  maintenance,  and  education 
of  exposed  and  deserted  young  children,"  in  a  hospital  erected  "  after  the  example  of 
France,  Holland,  and  other  Christian  countries."  This  shows  that  Coram  contemplated 
the  indiscriminate  admission  of  all  foundlings,  as  is  the  case  in  the  above  countries ;  and 
such  was  the  practice  up  to  the  commencement  of  the  present  century.  The  Governors 
first  opened  a  house  in  Hatton-garden,  on  March  25,  1740-1 ;  and  any  person  bringing 
a  child,  rang  the  bell  at  the  inner  door,  and  waited  to  hear  if  the  infant  was  returned 
from  disease  or  at  once  received,  no  question  whatever  being  asked  as  to  whom  the 
child  belonged,  or  whence  it  was  brought ;  and  when  the  full  number  of  children  had 
been  taken  in,  a  notice  of  "  The  House  is  full"  was  affixed  over  the  door  :  often  there 
were  100  children  offered,  when  only  20  could  be  admitted ;  riots  ensued,  and  thence- 
forth the  women  balloted  for  admission  by  drawing  balls  out  of  a  bag. 

The  present  Hospital  was  built  by  Jacobson ;  and  the  children,  600  in  number,  were 
removed  there  in  1745,  when  the  expenses  of  the  establishment  were  more  than  five 


FOUNDLING  HOSPITAL  (THE).  355 

times  the  amount  of  the  income.  The  Governors  afterwards  applied  to  Parliament,  who 
voted  them  10,000Z.,  and  sanctioned  the  general  admission  of  children,  the  establish- 
ment of  country  hospitals,  &c*  A  basket  was  hung  at  the  gate  of  the  hospital  in 
London,  in  which  the  children  were  deposited,  after  ringing  a  bell  to  give  notice  to  the 
officers  in  attendanee.-j-  On  June  2nd,  1756,  the  first  day,  117  children  were  thus 
received.  In  1757  printed  bills  were  posted  in  the  streets  apprising  the  public  of  their 
privilege.  The  consequences  were  lamentable :  prostitution  was  greatly  increased  by 
this  easy  means  of  disposing  of  illegitimate  offspring;  and  from  the  want  of  means  of 
rearing  so  many  children,  the  greater  number  died :  of  14,934  children  received  in  three 
years  and  ten  months,  10,389  perished.  At  length,  in  1760,  this  indiscriminate  ad- 
mission was  discontinued  by  Act  of  Parliament,  the  legislature  undertaking  to  support 
all  the  children  who  had  been  already  received  at  its  suggestion.  Still,  so  late  as 
1795  the  practice  of  admitting  children  without  inquiry,  on  payment  of  1001.,  had  not 
become  extinct ;  but  it  was  abolished  in  1801. 

Hogarth,  one  of  the  earliest  "  Governors  and  Guardians,"  greatly  assisted  his  friend 
Captain  Coram,  whose  full-length  portrait  he  painted  and  presented  to  the  Hospital, 
with  other  pictures.  These  were  shown  to  the  public,  and  became  very  attractive; 
and  out  of  this  success  grew  the  first  Exhibition  of  the  Royal  Academy,  in  the  Adelphi, 
in  the  year  1760.  The  painters  often  met  at  the  Hospital ;  the  exhibition  of  their 
pictures  drew  daily  crowds  of  spectators,  in  their  splendid  equipages ;  and  a  visit  to 
the  Foundling  became  the  most  fashionable  morning  lounge  of  the  reign  of  George  II. 
The  grounds  in  front  of  the  Hospital  were  a  favourite  promenade ;  and  brocaded 
silks,  gold-headed  canes,  and  laced  three-cornered  (Egham,  Staines,  and  Windsor)  hats 
formed  a  gay  bevy  in  Lamb's-Conduit-fields. 

The  pictures  represent  the  state  of  British  art  previously  to  the  patronage  of  West 
by  George  III.  In  the  collection  is  Hogarth's  March  to  Finchley,  and  Moses  brought 
to  Pharaoh's  Daughter ;  Dr.  Mead,  by  Allan  Ramsay ;  Handel,  by  Kneller ;  Lord 
Dartmouth,  by  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds;  Views  of  the  Foundling  and  St.  George's  Hos- 
pitals, by  Richard  Wilson ;  the  Charter-House  (Sutton's  Hospital),  by  Gainsborough ; 
Chelsea  and  Bethlem  Hospitals,  by  Haytley ;  Christ's  Hospital,  St.  Thomas's  and 
Greenwich  Hospitals,  by  Wale;  a  bas-relief  by  Rysbrack;  a  bust  of  Handel,  by 
Roubiliac ;  and  a  presumed  original  portrait  of  Shakspeare. 

The  Chapel  has  an  altar-piece  (Christ  presenting  a  little  Child),  painted  by  West. 
At  the  suggestion  of  Handel,  the  musical  service  has  been  a  source  of  great  profit  to 
the  Hospital  funds.  (See  Chapels,  p.  210.)  Dr.  Burney  attempted  to  found  an 
"  Academy  of  Music"  on  this  basis,  just  as  an  Academy  of  Arts  had  been  raised ;  but 
the  project  failed.  Several  blind  children,  who  had  been  received  into  the  Hospital 
during  the  indiscriminate  admission,  were  trained  as  a  choir.  Mr.  Grenville,  the 
organist;  Mr.  Printer,  Miss  Thetford,  and  Jenny  Freer,  singers,  were  all  blind 
foundlings. 

Coram  is  buried  in  the  vaults.  Here  also  rest  several  benefactors,  including  Lord 
Chief-Justice  Tenterden,  whose  bust  is  at  the  eastern  entrance  to  the  chapel :  some 
verses  written  by  his  Lordship  are  sung  at  the  Festival  of  the  Governors.  Upon  the 
lodges  are  two  characteristic  bas-relief  medallions,  nicely  executed. 

From  1760,  the  Institution  ceased  to  be  a  hospital  for  foundlings — 

"  A  race  unknown, 
At  doors  expos'd,  whom  matrons  call  their  own." — Dryden. 
Unfortunately,  the  name  has  been  retained :  hence  great  misapprehension  in  the  public  mind  as  to  the 
present  objects  and  purposes  of  the  Charity.  The  present  practice  of  admitting  children  requires  that 
they  be  illegitimate ;  that  the  mother  have  borue  a  good  character  previous  to  her  misfortune ;  and 
that  she  be  poor  and  have  no  relations  able  or  willing  to  maintain  her  child.  There  are  other  con- 
ditions enforced  by  the  Governors ;  their  benevolent  object  being,  "  to  hide  the  shame  of  the  mother, 
as  well  as  to  preserve  the  life  of  the  child,"  and  dismiss  her  from  the  Hospital  with  the  charge  to 

*  Branch  establishments  were  opened  in  the  country;  and  at  one  of  them  (Ackworth,  in  Yorkshire) 
was  made  cloth,  in  suits  of  which  several  of  the  artist-patrons  appeared  at  the  Festival  of  1761. 
Another  branch  Hospital  was  atAylesbury  :  of  this  John  Wilkes  (M.P.  for  that  borough)  was  appointed 
Treasurer ;  but  when  he  left  the  kingdom  in  1764,  his  accounts  were  deficient: 

f  An  aged  banker  in  the  north  of  England,  received  into  the  Hospital,  being  desirous  of  ascertain- 
ing his  origin,  all  the  information  afforded  by  the  books  of  the  establishment  was,  that  he  was  put  into 
the  basket  at  the  gate  naked. 

A  A  2 


356  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"sin  no  more."  There  are  several  eloquent  defences  of  the  objects  of  the  Hospital.  Sterne 
preached  a  sermon  for  the  Charity  in  1761 ;  and  the  Bev.  Sydney  Smith  was  one  of  the  appointed 
preachers. 

There  are  at  present  600  children  supported  by  the  Charity,  from  extreme  infancy  to  the  age  of 
fifteen  ;  the  Governors  have  not  the  privilege  of  presenting  children,  after  the  manner  of  other  esta- 
blishments, the  claim  for  admission  depending  upon  the  proven  misery  of  the  case.  The  general  health 
of  the  children  within  the  walls  of  the  Hospital  is  remarkably  good ;  indeed,  the  building  occupies  one 
of  the  healthiest  sites  in  London.  At  an  apprenticeable  age,  the  girls  are  put  out  to  domestic  service, 
and  the  boys  to  trades. 

The  qualification  of  a  Governor  is  a  donation  of  501.  The  revenue  of  the  Hospital 
is  principally  derived  from  the  improved  value  of  the  Lamb's-Conduit  estate  (56  acres), 
which  the  Governors  purchased  as  a  site  for  the  Hospital,  in  1741,  for  the  sum  of 
5500£.,  collected  by  benefactions  and  legacies ;  when  the  Charity  bought  the  whole 
estate,  not  because  they  required  it,  but  because  the  Earl  of  Salisbury,  its  owner,  would 
not  sell  any  fractional  part  of  it.  As  London  increased,  it  approached  this  property ; 
and  the  ground  is  now  mostly  covered  with  squares  and  streets  of  houses,  the  ground- 
rents  producing  an  annual  income  equal  to  the  purchase-money !  The  Governors  have 
likewise  established  a  Benevolent  Fund,  for  the  relief  of  aged  and  destitute  persons  who 
were  inmates  of  the  Hospital  when  infants.  (See  Memoranda  of  the  Foundling  Hos- 
pital, by  John  Brownlow,  Secretary,  third  edition,  1865.)  A  stone  portrait -statue  of 
Coram,  Calder  Marshall,  sculptor,  is  placed  upon  the  central  pier  of  the  entrance-gates. 

FOUNTAINS. 

LONDON  had,  until  lately,  in  comparison  with  Continental  cities,  but  few  decorative 
Fountains,  of  "  the  nature  that  sprinkleth  or  spouteth  water."  Early  in  the 
last  century,  however,  the  Fountains  were  more  numerous.  Hatton  (1708)  mentions 
in  Privy  Garden,  at  Somerset  House,  Middle  Temple,  Lincoln's  Inn,  and  King's-square, 
"  the  most  publick  ones."  The  court-yards  and  gardens  of  mansions  had  also  their 
fountains :  Montague  House  was  celebrated  for  them.  The  courts  of  the  Companies' 
Halls  and  City-merchants'  houses  boasted  of  their  fountains,  but  few  of  which  remain. 
The  private  garden  of  Drapers'  Hall  had  a  basin,  with  a  fountain  and  statue. 

Old  Somerset  House  had  its  geometrical  water-garden  and  fountain. 

Whitehall  had  its  fountains;  and  Queen  Elizabeth  had  a  cascade  made  to  play  in 
her  gardens,  which,  when  touched  by  a  distant  spring,  sprinkled  all  who  approached  it. 

The  King's  (Soho)  Square  fountain  had  in  the  middle  of  the  basin  a  stone  statue  of 
Charles  II.  in  armour,  on  a  pedestal  enriched  with  crowns  and  foliage ;  on  the  four 
sides  of  the  base  were  as  many  figures,  with  inscriptions,  of  the  Thames,  Severn,  Tyne, 
and  Humber  rivers,  spouting  water.  The  statue  of  Charles  remains,  but  the  basin  has 
been  filled  up,  and  is  now  a  flower-garden. 

St.  James's-square  had  in  its  centre,  in  1720,  a  basin  with  a  jet  of  water  15  feet 
high ;  the  basin  was  filled  from  York-buildings,  was  6  or  7  feet  deep,  and  150  feet  in 
diameter,  and  upon  it  was  kept  a  pleasure-boat :  the  site  is  now  occupied  by  an  eques- 
trian statue  of  William  III. 

The  fountain  was  a  popular  ornament  of  our  old  tea-gardens  :  Bagnigge  Wells  had 
a  curious  specimen — half  fountain,  half  grotto ;  and  the  fountain  lingered  among  the 
cool  delights  of  Vauxhall  Gardens  to  the  last. 

Kensington  Gardens  had  a  lofty  sculptured  fountain  in  the  basin  opposite  the  palace ; 
but  here,  and  in  the  Parks,  the  jets-d'eau  were,  until  lately,  tasteless  and  unornamental. 

In  the  middle  of  New-square,  Lincoln's  Inn,  was  a  fluted  Corinthian  column,  and  a 
clock  with  three  dials  near  its  vertex ;  and  at  each  angle  of  the  pedestal  was  a  Cupid 
blowing  water  through  a  short  twisted  shell.  In  the  Benchers'  Garden,  Lincoln's  Inn, 
in  the  centre  of  a  basin,  was  the  figure  of  a  mermaid  rising  out  of  reeds,  with  a  lofty 
jet  of  water. 

The  fountain  in  Fountain-court,  Middle  Temple,  rises  from  a  marble-bordered  basin, 
and  in  Hatton's  time  was  kept  "  in  so  good  order  as  always  to  force  its  stream  to  a 
vast  and  almost  incredible  altitude.  It  is  fenced  with  timber  palisades,  constituting  a 
quadrangle,  wherein  grow  several  lofty  trees,  and  without  are  walks  extending  on  every 
side  of  the  quadrangle,  all  paved  with  Purbeck,  very  pleasant  and  delightful."  The 
timber  palisades  have  given  way  to  iron  railing ;  the  jet  was  half-inch,  and  threw  the 


FOUNTAINS.   ■  357 


water  10  feet  high,  and  the  effect  of  its  sound  and  sparkle  through  the  trees  was  very 
refreshing.     Miss  Landon  has  left  a  poem  of  pensive  beauty,  commencing  thus : — 

"  The  fountain's  low  singing  is  heard  on  the  wind, 
Like  a  melody  bringing  sweet  fancies  to  mind ; 
Some  to  grieve,  some  to  gladden :  around  them  they  cast 
The  hopes  of  the  morrow,  the  dreams  of  the  past. 
Away  in  the  distance  is  heard  the  vast  sound, 
From  the  streets  of  the  city  that  compass  it  round, 
Like  the  echo  of  fountains  or  ocean's  deep  call : 
Yet  that  fountain's  low  singing  is  heard  over  all." 

A  more  decorated  design  has  been  substituted  for  the  formal  jet. 

In  the  ornamental  garden  adjoining  the  Bank  (of  England)  Parlour  is  a  stone  basin, 
with  a  jet  of  water  20  feet  high ;  already  described  at  p.  30. 

The  pair  of  fountains  and  basins  in  Trafalgar  square  are  the  largest  works  of  the 
kind  in  the  metropolis.  They  were  designed  by  Sir  C.  Barry,  R.A.,  and  executed  in 
Peterhead,  granite  by  M'Donald  and  Leslie,  Aberdeen.  Around  each  base  are  four 
dolphins'  heads  and  fins,  supporting  a  large  flat  vase  and  a  pedestal,  with  a  smaller 
vase,  in  the  centre  of  which  is  the  jet  whence  the  water  is  thrown  up ;  while  a  flat 
stream  issues  from  each  of  the  dolphins'  mouths.  The  water  is  supplied  from  two 
Artesian  wells,  one  in  Orange-street,  300  feet  deep,  and  the  other  in  front  of  the 
National  Gallery,  395  feet,  connected  at  170  feet  depth  by  a  tunnel  to  contain  70,000 
gallons  of  water ;  the  wells  and  tunnel  at  rest  holding  about  122,000  gallons.  The 
wells  are  worked,  the  jets  of  the  fountains  thrown,  and  the  water  otherwise  supplied, 
by  a  large  Cornish  pumping  steam-engine,  and  a  small  inverted  direct-action  engine : 
outlay  9000/. ;  annual  rent  500/. ;  engineers,  Easton  and  Amos,  Southwark.  The  con- 
tract for  "  spouting  water"  is  thirteen  hours  per  day  in  summer,  and  in  winter  seven 
hours ;  the  height  of  the  jets  varies  with  the  weather,  from  25  to  40  feet  from  the 
ground ;  supply,  500  gallons  per  minute ;  to  the  Treasury,  Admiralty,  Houses  of  Par- 
liament, and  other  public  offices,  100  gallons  per  minute. 

Such  were  the  original  works.  In  1862  was  added  to  each  of  the  semicircular  bays 
of  the  basins  a  group  of  jets,  consisting  of  a  centre  and  16  surrounding  it.  Thus  there 
are  68  jets,  throwing  300  gallons  per  minute,  rising  from  the  surface  of  the  basins. 
Within  each  is  an  octagon,  from  each  angle  of  which  a  jet  throws  the  water  20  feet 
high  into  the  upper  basin  of  the  central  fountain.  These  8  jets  throw  200  gallons  per 
minute,  and  their  curve  is  about  30  feet  in  length.  Here  are  again  two  inferior 
squares  surrounding  the  central  group,  and  from  each  of  the  angles  a  jet  is  thrown  out- 
wards, crossing  those  from  the  octagon,  rising  20  feet,  and  curving  about  17  feet :  these 
throw  together  200  gallons  per  minute.  There  are  also  8  feather  jets,  which  throw  up 
200  gallons  per  minute,  and  form  a  display  resembling  the  Prince  of  Wales's  Feathers. 
The  whole  may  be  played  at  once,  in  not  less  than  25  different  continuations  or 
changes.  It  has  been  the  fashion  to  abuse  the  designs  of  these  fountains,  without 
making  due  allowance  for  the  cause — the  insufficiency  of  the  sum  voted  for  their 
erection,  and  desirable  decorative  character. 

Hitherto,  fountains  had,  in  our  time,  been  mostly  ornamental,  but  they  have  of  late 
been  adapted  for  Drinking  purposes,  to  promote  temperance  and  sanitary  benefits. 

The  first  Drinking-fountain  set  up  in  the  metropolis  wa9  that  at  St.  Sepulchre's,  the 
parish  in  which,  nearly  three  centuries  ago,  Lamb,  citizen  and  clothworker,  and  some- 
time gentleman  of  the  chamber  to  Henry  VIII.,  "founded  a  faire  conduit  and  a 
standard,  with  a  cocke,  at  Holborn-bridge,  to  convey  thence  the  waste."  The  con- 
duit itself  was  in  the  fields — now  Lamb's-Conduit-street.     (See  Conduits,  p.  288.) 

The  Metropolitan  Free  Drinking-Fountains  Association  has  set  up  in  various  quarters, 
by  means  of  a  public  subscription,  fountains  in  localities  where  they  are  most  required. 
As  many  as  8000  persons  have  been  known  to  drink  at  a  single  fountain  in  one  day ;  and 
more  than  30,000  have  been  estimated  to  drink  daily  in  the  summer  at  140  fountains. 
Many  of  the  contributions  to  this  good  work  of  the  Association  exhibit  great  liberality  on 
the  part  of  the  donors,  as  well  as  an  occasional  tinge  of  eccentricity.  Cattle-troughs 
and  dog-troughs  have  been  added  to  the  fountains.  Benevolent  individuals  have  con- 
tributed to  their  own  localities.  Thus,  we  read  of  60/.  from  a  lady  in  Brompton,  and 
100/.  from  a  gentleman  in  Pimlico,  for  the  two  fountains  just  opened  by  the  Society 


358  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

outside  the  Kensington  Museum,  and  in  the  high  road  leading  to  Battersea  Park.  A 
gentleman  in  Fifeshire  offered  to  pay  the  cost  of  a  fountain  near  the  Kensington 
Potteries,  where,  by  the  way,  water  was  always  wanted ;  and  a  lady  at  St.  John's- 
wood  sent  to  the  Society  a  donation  for  the  new  cattle-trough  just  fixed  in  Finsbury- 
square.  One  of  the  Reports  of  the  Society  states  that  a  lady,  who  requested  tbat 
her  name  should  be  kept  secret,  sent  1000Z.  to  the  treasurer;  and  that  an  Indian  Prince 
furnished  a  similar  sum  to  be  expended  upon  a  fountain  in  Hyde  Park.  Mrs.  Rosetta 
Waddell,  amongst  other  bequests,  left  500Z.  for  the  erection  of  a  fountain  in  Warwick- 
square,  Newgate-street.  Mr.  Gurney,  the  founder  of  the  Association,  contributed 
between  300<!.  and  400Z.  yearly  towards  the  objects  which  it  had  in  view.  The  Associa- 
tion requires  1000Z.  a-year  to  keep  one  hundred  fountains  in  repair. 

Some  of  these  drinking-fountains,  erected  at  the  cost  of  private  individuals,  are 
admirable  works  of  art,  as  well  as  acts  of  public  spirit.  Sir  Morton  Peto  has  erected 
on  Islington-green  a  statue  of  Sir  Hugh  Myddelton,  with  two  fountains,  and  the  New 
River  Company  supply  the  water  gratis ;  and  the  Company,  in  1859,  set  up  a  fountain 
against  their  own  wall.  In  the  above  year,  the  Association  announced  seventy  sites, 
whereon  they  had  erected  fountains,  or  were  under  engagement  to  erect. 

The  Government  have  erected,  very  appropriately,  drinking-fountains  in  the  Parks. 
The  largest  and  most  important  is  placed  in  the  geometrical  garden  in  Hyde  Park, 
learly  opposite  Grosvenor-gate.  This  is  a  simple  and  massive  fountain,  with  a  group 
of  a  boy  and  dolphin,  in  Carrara  marble,  6  feet  high,  sculptured  by  Alexander  Munro. 
It  is  placed  on  a  block  of  red  granite  chiselled  to  represent  a  rock.  The  basin,  of 
polished  Sicilian  marble,  is  nine  feet  in  diameter,  and  is  believed  to  be  the  largest  basin 
of  a  single  block  of  marble  in  England.  This  rests  on  a  square  plinth  of  Dove  marble, 
leading  up  to  which  are  three  circular  steps  in  grey  granite,  the  lowest  step  being 
eighteen  feet  in  diameter.  The  whole  work  is  upwards  of  twelve  feet  in  height.  The 
group  represents  a  sturdy  boy  wrestling  with  a  dolphin;  the  water  issuing  in  jets 
from  the  nostrils  of  the  dolphin. 

On  the  south  side  of  St.  James's  Park,  near  Storey's-gate,  backed  by  trees,  is 
a  group,  sculptured  by  R.  Jackson,  of  a  boy  seated,  with  a  pitcher  at  his  side, 
and  holding  a  scallop-shell  as  if  to  dip  into  the  pitcher,  and  offer  its  contents  to  one 
towards  whom  his  head  is  slightly  turned.  On  the  front  of  the  granite  pedestal 
is  a  relief  of  bulrushes  and  other  water-plants,  and  from  the  mouth  of  a  dolphin  the 
water  trickles  into  a  conch-shell. 

In  the  Regent's  Park,  a  drinking-fountain  has  been  erected  from  the  designs  of 
R.  Westmacott,  R.A. :  it  consists  of  a  polished  red  granite  column,  on  which  is  a  female 
figure  in  bronze ;  the  water  flows  from  the  bills  of  two  bronze  swans,  at  the  base  of  the 
column,  into  a  large  tazza  of  black  enamelled  slate. 

The  Ornamental  Waterworks,  in  Kensington  Gardens,  contain  two  large  fountains, 
with  some  good  sculpture,  by  John  Thomas. 

In  Victoria  Park,  at  the  Hackney  entrance,  is  a  drinking-fountain,  of  unusual 
dimensions  and  costliness,  a  present  from  Miss  Burdett  Coutts.  It  is  a  Gothic  oc- 
tagonal structure,  crowned  by  a  cupola,  nearly  60  feet  high ;  the  shafts  and  bases  are 
of  polished  granite.  Within  are  marble  figures  in  niches,  which  pour  water  from 
vases  into  basins  beneath ;  vases  for  flowers,  and  coloured  marbles,  complete  the  decora- 
tion :  cost,  above  50O0Z. ;  designer,  H.  A.  Darbishire. 

Another  large  and  important  design  is  the  Buxton  Memorial  Drinking  Fountain, 
at  the  comer  of  Great  George-street  and  St.  Margaret's  Churchyard,  Westminster. 
The  base  is  octagonal,  having  open  arches  on  the  eight  sides,  supported  on  clustered 
shafts  of  polished  Devonshire  marble  around  a  large  central  shaft,  with  four  massive 
granite  basins.  Surmounting  the  pinnacles  at  the  angles  of  the  octagon  are  eight 
figures  of  bronze,  representing  different  rulers  of  England :  the  Britons  represented 
by  Caractacus,  the  Romans  by  Constantine,  the  Danes  by  Canute,  the  Saxons  by 
Alfred,  the  Normans  by  William  the  Conqueror,  and  so  on,  ending  with  Queen 
Victoria.     The  following  is  the  inscription : — 

"  This  fountain  is  intended  as  a  memorial  of  those  Members  of  Parliament  who,  with  Mr.  Wilber- 
foree,  advocated  the  Abolition  of  the  British  Slave  Trade,  achieved  in  1807;  and  of  those  Members  of 
Parliament  who,  with  Sir  T.  Fowell  Buxton,  advocated  the  Emancipation  of  the  Slaves  throughout  the 


FREEMASONS'  LODGES.  359 

British  dominions,  achieved  in  1834.    It  was  designed  and  built,  by  Charles  Buxton,  M.P.,  in  1865,  the 
year  of  the  final  extinction  of  the  Slave  Trade  and  of  the  Abolition  of  Slavery  in  the  United  States." 

The  upper  portion  is  covered  with  plaques  of  iron,  with  raised  patterns,  giving 
shadow,  and  enamelled  coloured  surfaces.  Superintendent  architect,  S.  Teulon ;  stone- 
work and  sculpture,  hy  Earp ;  cost,  upwards  of  1200J.,  exclusive  of  the  water  supply, 
undertaken  by  the  Drinking-Fountains  Association. 

Another  memorial  monumental  fountain  has  been  erected  in  Guildhall-yard,  by  the 
vestry  of  the  united  parishes  of  St.  Lawrence  Jewry,  and  St.  Mary  Magdalene,  Milk- 
street,  to  the  memory  of  the  benefactors  of  these  parishes.  This  memorial,  designed  in 
the  Pointed  style  of  architecture  which  prevailed  in  Italy  during  the  fourteenth  cen- 
tury, is  9  ft.  square  at  the  base,  and  32  ft.  in  height.  The  materials  are  Portland 
stone,  and  Bath  stone,  with  polished  granite  shafts.  On  the  east  and  west  sides  are 
statues  of  the  patron  saints  of  the  two  parishes ;  and  on  the  other  two  sides  are  marble 
slabs,  on  which  are  engraved  the  names  of  the  benefactors.  On  the  east  side,  facing 
Guildhall-yard,  is  a  bronze  bas-relief  of  Moses  striking  the  Rock,  an  admirable  pro- 
duction, which  forms  the  drinking-fountain ;  cost  has  been  665Z. ;  designed  by  John 
Eobinson,  architect;  statues  and  bas-relief  are  by  Joseph  Durham,  R.A.,  sculptor. 

Fountains  are  useful  ornaments  of  markets.  At  Billingsgate  is  a  cast-iron  fountain, 
with  a  basin  about  15  feet  in  diameter,  and  a  stem  of  rushes  whence  the  water  rises  : 
and  around  the  basin-lip  he  twelve  dolphins,  which  discharge  water  for  the  use  of  the 
market-people. 

FREEMASONS'  LODGES. 

OUR  glance  at  Freemasonry  in  the  metropolis  dates  from  two  centuries  back  (1666), 
when  Sir  Christopher  Wren  was  nominated  Deputy-Grand-Master  under  Earl 
Rivers,  and  distinguished  himself  above  all  his  predecessors  in  legislating  for  the  body 
at  large,  and  in  promoting  the  interests  of  the  Lodges  under  his  immediate  care.  He 
was  Master  of  the  St.  Paul's  Lodge,  which,  during  the  rebuilding  of  the  Cathedral 
after  the  Great  Fire,  assembled  at  the  Goose  and  Gridiron,  in  St.  Paul's  Churchyard, 
and  is  now  the  Lodge  of  Antiquity,  acting  by  immemorial  prescription,  and  regularly 
presided  at  its  meetings  for  upwards  of  eighteen  years.  During  his  presidency,  he  pre- 
sented the  Lodge  with  three  mahogany  candlesticks,  beautifully  carved,  and  the  trowel 
and  mallet  which  he  used  in  laying  the  first  stone  of  the  Cathedral,  June  21, 1675. 

During  the  building  of  the  City,  Lodges  were  held  by  the  fraternity  in  different 
places,  and  several  new  ones  constituted,  which  were  attended  by  the  leading  architects 
and  best  builders  of  the  day,  and  amateur  brethren  of  the  mystic  craft.  In  1674  Earl 
Rivers  resigned  his  grand-mastersbip,  and  George  Villiers,  Duke  of  Buckingham,  was 
elected  to  the  dignified  office.  He  left  the  care  of  the  Grand  Lodge  and  the  brother- 
hood to  the  Deputy-Grand-Master  Wren  and  his  Wardens.  During  the  short  reign 
of  James  II.,  who  tolerated  no  secret  societies  but  the  Jesuits,  the  Lodges  were  but 
thinly  attended ;  but  in  1685  Sir  Christopher  Wren  was  elected  Grand- Master  of  the 
Order,  and  nominated  Gabriel  Cibber,  the  sculptor,  and  Edward  Strong,  the  master 
mason  of  St.  Paul's  and  other  of  the  City  churches,  as  Grand- Wardens, 

Many  of  the  oldest  Lodges  are  in  the  neighbourhood  of  St.  Paul's ;  but  the  head- 
quarters of  Freemasonry  is  the  Grand  Hall  in  the  rear  of  Freemasons'  Tavern,  62, 
Queen-street,  Lincoln's-inn-fields :  it  was  commenced  May  1,  1775,  from  the  designs 
of  Thomas  Sandby,  R.A.,  Professor  of  Architecture  in  the  Royal  Academy  :  5000/.  was 
raised  by  a  Tontine  towards  the  cost ;  and  the  Hall  was  opened  and  dedicated  in  solemn 
form,  May  23, 1776 ;  Lord  Petre,  Grand-Master.  "  It  is  the  first  house  built  in  this 
country  with  the  appropriate  symbols  of  Masonry,  and  with  the  suitable  apartments 
for  the  holding  of  Lodges,  the  initiating,  passing,  raising,  and  exalting  of  brethren." 
(Elmes.)  Here  are  held  the  Grand  and  other  Lodges,  which  hitherto  assembled  in  the 
Halls  of  the  City  Companies. 

Freemasons'  Hall,  as  originally  decorated,  is  shown  in  a  print  of  the  annual  proces- 
sion of  Freemasons'  Orphans,  by  T.  Stothard,  R.A.  It  is  a  finely-proportioned  room, 
92  feet  by  43  feet,  and  60  feet  high ;  and  will  hold  1500  persons  :  it  was  re-decorated 
in  1S46 :  the  ceiling  and  coving  are  richly  decorated  -,  above  the  principal  entrance  is 


360  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

a  large  gallery,  with  an  organ ;  and  at  the  opposite  end  is  a  coved  recess,  flanked  by  a 
pair  of  fluted  Ionic  columns,  and  Egyptian  doorways ;  the  sides  are  decorated  with 
fluted  Ionic  pilasters ;  and  throughout  the  room  in  the  frieze  are  masonic  emblems, 
gilt  upon  a  transparent  blue  ground.  In  the  intercolumniations  are  full-length  royai 
and  other  Masonic  portraits,  including  that  of  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  as  Grand-Master,  b/ 
Sir  W.  Beechey,  R.A.  In  the  end  recess  is  a  marble  statue  of  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  exe- 
cuted for  the  Grand  Lodge,  by  E.  H.  Baily,  R.A.  The  statue  is  seven  feet  six  inches 
high,  and  the  pedestal  six  feet ;  the  Duke  wears  the  robes  of  a  Knight  of  the  Garter,  and 
the  Guelphic  insignia ;  at  his  side  is  a  small  altar,  sculptured  with  Masonic  emblems. 

Freemasons'  Hall  was,  however,  not  reserved  for  the  exclusive  use  of  the  Masons.  In 
1863,  the  erection  of  a  great  Masonic  building  was  decided  on;  architect,  F.  P. 
Cockerell,  son  of  the  late  Professor  Cockerell,  R.A. 

The  front,  which  is  89  ft.  in  length,  is  built  entirely  of  Portland  stone.  The  sculp- 
ture, including  the  four  figures  representing  Wisdom,  Fidelity,  Charity,  and  Unity, 
are  executed  by  W.  G.  Nicholl.  The  section,  comprising  the  greater  part  of  the  Masonic 
building,  was  completed  in  May,  1866.  The  old  hall  is  re-embellished  in  a  corresponding 
style. 

St.  Paul's,  604,  and  St.  Peter's,  Westminster,  605,  were  built  by  Freemasons.  Gundulph,  Bishop  of 
Eochester,  who  built  Rochester  Castle,  and,  it  is  said,  the  White  Tower  (of  London),  governed  the  Free- 
masons. Peter  of  Colechurch,  architect  of  old  London  Bridge,  was  Grand-Master.  Henry  VII.,  in  a  lodge  of 
Master  Masons,  founded  his  Chapel  at  Westminster  Abbey.  Hampton  Court  Palace  was  built  by  Free- 
masons, as  appears  from  the  accounts  of  the  expenses  of  the  fabric  extant  among  the  public  records  of 
London.  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  who  planned  the  Royal  Exchange,  was  Grand-Master:  as  was  also 
Inigo  Jones,  who  built  the  Banqueting-House,  Whitehall ;  Ashburnham  House,  Westminster,  &c.  Sir 
Christopher  Wren,  Grand-Master,  founded  St.  Paul's  with  his  Lodge  of  Masons,  and  the  trowel  and 
the  mallet  used  are  preserved.  Covent  Garden  Theatre  was  founded,  1808,  by  the  Prince  of  Wales, 
Grand-Master ;  and  the  Grand  Lodge.  Sir  Francis  Palgrave,  however,  maintains  that  "  the  connexion 
between  the  operative  masons  and  a  convivial  society  of  good  fellows — who,  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne, 
met  at  the  '  Goose  and  Gridiron,  in  St.  Paul  his  Church-yard ' — appears  to  have  been  finally  dissolved 
about  the  beginning  of  the  eighteenth  century.  From  an  inventory  of  the  contents  of  the  chest  of  the 
Worshipful  Company  of  Masons  and  Citizens  of  London,  it  appears  not  long  since  to  have  contained  a 
book  wrote  on  parchment,  or  bound  or  stitched  in  parchment,  containing  113  annals  of  the  antiquity, 
rise,  and  progress  of  the  art  and  mystery  of  masonry.  But  this  document  is  not  now  to  be  found. — Sir 
F.  Palgrave,  Edinburgh  Review,  April,  1839. 

There  is  in  existence,  and  known  to  persons  who  take  an  interest  in  the  History  of  Free- 
masonry, a  copperplate  List  of  Freemasons'  Lodges  in  London  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne,  with  a 
representation  of  the  Signs,  and  some  Masonic  Ceremony,  in  which  are  eleven  figures  of  well-dressed 
men,  in  the  costume  of  the  above  period.  There  were  then  129  Lodges,  of  which  86  were  in  London, 
36  in  English  cities,  and  7  abroad. 

According  to  the  books  of  the  Grand  Lodge  of  England,  there  are  63  Masonic  Lodges  in  the  City, 
distributed  as  follows :  Albion  Tavern,  Aldersgate-street,  7 ;  London  Tavern,  Bishopsgate,  9  ;  Radley's 
Hotel,  Bridge-street,  9;  Anderton's  Hotel,  Fleet-street,  8:  Ship  and  Turtle,  Leadenhall-street,  8; 
London  Coffee  House,  Ludgate-hill,  5;  Masons'  Hall,  Basinghall-street,  3;  Masons'  Rooms,  Little 
Bell-alley,  Moorgate-street,  1 ;  Cheshire  Cheese,  Crutched-friars,  1 ;  Falcon  Tavern,  Fetter-lane,  1 ;  and 
Dick's  Tavern,  Fleet-street,  1.  Formerly  the  most  ancient  lodge  in  the  City,  and  which  dates  from 
time  immemorial,  was  the  "Lodge  of  Antiquity"  (No.  2),  but  having  removed  from  the  Goose  and 
Gridiron,  St.  Paul's  Churchyard,  to  the  Freemasons'  Hall,  Great  Queen-street,  the  Royal  Athelstan 
(No.  19),  became  the  most  ancient  City  Lodge,  while  the  most  modern  are  the  City  of  London  (901,) 
and  Engineers  (902).  In  the  City  there  are  also  fourteen  Lodges  of  Instruction.  There  are  333 
Chapters  of  Royal  Arch  Masons,  12  of  which  are  in  the  City. 

"  Three  explanations,  widely  different,  have  been  given  of  the  origin  and  progress  of  Freemasonry. 
Some  see  in  Freemasonry  a  secret  system  deriving  its  teaching  from  Egyptian  mysteries,  preserved 
through  the  night  of  history.  Others  see  in  it  a  secret  body,  exclusive  in  its  formation,  and  passing 
through  the  world  irrespective  of  the  polities  and  religion  of  all  countries,  but  advocating  brotherly 
love  and  inculcating  moral  duties.  There  are  others  who,  having  regard  to  the  principle  of  cause  and 
effect,  see  in  it  a  speculative  brotherhood,  the  legitimate  and  lineal  descendants  of  the  operative  guilds 
which  flourished  in  the  Middle  and  early  ages.  Whichever  explanation  or  theory  may  be  true,  one  thing 
is  indubitable— namely,  that  the  origin  and  duration  of  Freemasonry  together  furnish  a  most  wonder- 
ful fact  in  the  history  of  mankind.  It  is  universal  in  its  scope  and  expansive  and  tolerant  in  its 
tendency ;  it  rejects  all  partisan  theories  and  condemns  all  sectarian  animosities  ;  it  forms  a  nucleus  to 
all  the  nations  of  the  world,  and  aims  at  linking  all  mankind  in  enduring  friendship  by  inculcating 
moral  responsibility  and  social  duty,  loyalty,  peace,  and  good  citizenship,  and  the  relief  of  human  sor- 
row and  affliction."— Rev.  A.  F.  Woodford,  Grand  Chaplain. 

FROSTS,   AND  FROST-FAIRS  ON  THE   THAMES. 

1281-2.  "  From  this  Christmas  till  the  Purification  of  Our  Lady,  there  was  such  a  frost  and  snow,  aB 
no  man  living  could  remember  the  like :  wherethrough,  five  arches  of  London  Bridge,  and  all  Rochester 
Bridge,  were  borne  downe  and  carried  away  by  the  streame ;  and  the  like  happened  to  many  bridges  in 
England.  And,  not  long  after,  men  passed  over  the  Thames,  between  Westminster  and  Lambeth,  dry- 
shod."—  Stow,  edited  by  Howes,  1631. 

1410.  "  Thys  yere  was  the  grete  frost  and  ise  and  the  most  sharpest  winter  that 


FROSTS,  AND  FROST-FAIRS  ON  THE  THAMES.  361 

ever  man  sawe,  and  it  duryd  fourteen  wekes,  so  that  men  myght  in  dyvers  places  both 
goo  and  ryde  over  the  Temse." — Chronicle  of  the  Grey  Friars  of  London. 

1434-5.  The  Thames  frozen  from  below  London  Bridge  to  Gravesend,  from  Dec.  25 
to  Feb.  10,  when  "  the  merchandise  which  came  to  the  Thames  mouth  was  carried  to 
London  by  land." — Stow. 

1506.  "  Such  a  sore  snowe  and  a  frost  that  men  myght  goo  with  carttes  over  the 
Temse  and  horses,  and  it  lastyd  tylle  Candlemas." — Chronicle  of  the  Grey  Friars  of 
London. 

1515.  The  Thames  frozen,  when  carriages  passed  over  the  ice  from  Lambeth  to 
Westminster. 

1564,  Dec.  21.  Stow  and  Holinshed  state  that  on  New-year's  eve — 

"  People  went  over  and  alongst  the  Thames  on  the  ise  from  London  Bridge  to  "Westminster.  Some 
plaied  at  the  foot  ball  as  boldlie  there,  as  if  it  had  beene  on  the  drie  land ;  diverse  of  the  Court  being 
then  at  Westminster,  shot  dailie  at  prickes  set  upon  the  Thames ;  and  the  people,  both  men  and  women, 
went  on  the  Thames  in  greater  numbers  than  in  anie  street  of  the  City  of  London.  On  the  third  daie 
of  January  at  night  it  began  to  thaw,  and  on  the  fifth  there  was  no  ise  to  be  seene  between  London 
Bridge  and  Lambeth,  which  sudden  thaw  caused  great  floods  and  high  waters,  that  bare  downe  bridges 
and  houses  and  drowned  manie  people  in  England." 

1608.  Great  frost  described  in  Howes's  continuation  of  Stow  : 

"  The  8th  of  December  began  a  hard  frost,  and  continued  until  the  15th  of  the  same,  and  then 
thawed  ;  and  the  22d  of  December  it  began  againe  to  freeze  violently,  so  as  divers  persons  went  halfe- 
way  over  the  Thames  upon  the  ice ;  and  the  30th  of  December,  at  every  ebbe,  many  people  went  quite 
over  the  Thames  in  divers  places,  and  so  continued  from  that  day  until  the  3d  of  January."  From  Jan. 
10th  to  15th,  the  ice  became  firm,  and  men,  women,  and  children  went  boldly  upon  it ;  some  shot  at 
pvickes,  others  bowled  and  danced,  and  many  "  set  up  booths  and  standing  upon  the  ice  as  fruitsellers, 
victuallers,  that  sold  beere  and  wine,  shoemakers,  and  a  barber's  tent :"  the  ice  lasting  until  Feb.  2. 
There  is  a  very  rare  Tract,  describing  this  frost,  mentioned  by  Gongh,  in  his  British.  'Topography,  vol  i. 
p.  731,  which  has  a  woodcut  representation  of  it,  with  London  Bridge  in  the  distance;  it  is  entitled — 
"  Cold  Doings  in  London,  except  it  be  at  the  Lottery,"  &c,  4to,  1608. 

1609.  Great  frost  commenced  in  October,  and  lasted  four  months.  The  Thames 
frozen,  and  heavy  carriages  driven  over  it. 

1683-4.  From  the  beginning  of  December  until  the  5th  of  February,  frost  "con- 
gealed the  river  Thames  to  that  degree,  that  another  city,  as  it  were,  was  erected 
thereon;  where, by  the  great  number  of  streets  and  shops,  with  their  rich  furniture, 
it  represented  a  great  fair,  with  a  variety  of  carriages,  and  diversions  of  all  sorts ;  and 
near  Whitehall,  a  whole  ox  was  roasted  on  the  ice."  (Maitland.)  Evelyn,  who  was 
an  eye-witness  of  the  scene,  thus  describes  it,  Jan.  24,  1684 : — 

"  The  frost  continuing  more  and  more  severe,  the  Thames  before  London  was  still  planted  with 
boothes  in  formal  streetes,  all  sorts  of  trades  and  shops  furnished,  and  all  full  of  commodities,  even  to  a 
printing  presse,  where  the  people  and  ladies  tooke  a  fancy  to  have  their  names  printed  on  the  Thames ; 
this  humour  tooke  so  universally,  that  'twas  estimated  the  printer  gained  51.  a  day  for  printing  a  line 
onely,  at  sixpence  a  name,  besides  what  he  got  by  ballads,  &c.  Coaches  plied  from  Westminster  to  the 
Temple,  and  from  several  other  staires,  to  and  fro,  as  in  the  streetes ;  sheds,  sliding  with  skeetes,  and 
bull-baiting,  horse  and  coach  races,  puppet-plays  and  interludes,  cookes,  tipling,  and  other  lewd  places ; 
so  that  it  seemed  to  be  a  bacchanalian  triumph,  or  carnival  on  the  water." 

King  Charles  II.  visited  these  diversions,  and  even  had  his  name  printed  on  the  ice, 
with  those  of  several  other  personages  of  the  royal  family.  Mr.  Upcott  possessed  a  speci- 
men— a  quarter  of  a  sheet  of  coarse  Dutch  paper ;  within  a  type  border,  were  the 
names  of — 


Charles,  King. 

.lull's,  LlUKK. 

Kaihehine,  Queen. 
Mary,  Dutchess. 
Anne,  1'hincess. 
George,  Prince. 
Hans  in  K  elder. 

London  :  Printed  by  G.  Croom,  on  the  Ice,  on 
the  River  of  Thames,  January  31, 1684. 


Feb.  6,  the  day  after  the  break-up  of  this  great  frost,  Charles  II.  died. 

In  some  curious  verses,  entitled  "  Thamasis's  Advice  to  the  Painter,  from  her  frigid 
zone,"  &c,  "  printed  by  G.  Croom,  on  the  river  of  Thames,"  occurs : 


362  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

"  To  the  Print-house  go, 
Where  Men  the  Art  of  Printing  soon  do  know; 
Where;  for  a  Teaster,  you  may  have  your  Jfam* 
Printed,  hereafter  for  to  show  the  same : 
And  sure,  in  former  Ages,  ne'er  was  found 
A  Press  to  print,  where  men  so  oft  were  dround !" 

The  principal  scene  of  this  "  Blanket-Fair"  was  opposite  the  Temple-stairs,  as  we  see 
in  a  pencil  and  Indian-ink  sketch,  supposed  hy  Thomas  Wyote,  dated  "Monday, 
February  the  4th,  1683-4 :"  in  front  are  various  groups  of  figures,  and  a  line  of  tents ; 
"  Temple-street"  stretches  across  the  Thames.  This  drawing,  with  some  prints,  &c, 
illustrative  of  this  frost,  is  in  the  Crowle  Pennant. 

1688-9.  Great  frost,  Dec.  20  to  Feb.  6  :  pools  frozen  eighteen  inches  thick,  and  the 
Thames'  ice  covered  with  streets  of  shops,  bull-baiting,  shows,  and  tricks ;  hackney- 
coaches  plied  in  the  ice-roads,  and  a  coach  and  six  horses  was  driven  from  Whitehall 
ahnost  to  London-bridge ;  yet  in  two  days  all  the  ice  disappeared. 

1709.  The  Thames  again  frozen  over,  and  some  persons  crossed  it  on  the  ice :  in  the 
Crowle  Pennant  is  a  coarse  bill,  within  a  woodcut  border  of  rural  subjects,  containing, 
'Mr.  John  Heaton,  printed  on  the  Thames  at  Westminster,  Jan.  the  7th,  1709." 

1715.  Severe  frost,  from  the  end  of  November  until  Feb.  9  following,  when  the 
sports  of  1683  were  all  renewed  :  in  the  Crowle  Pennant  is  a  copperplate  view,  with  a 
line  of  tents  from  Temple-stairs,  and  another  marked  "  Thames-street  ■"  "  Printed  on 
the  Thames,  1715-16  f  and  above  it,  **  Frost  Fair  on  the  River  Thames." 

1739-40.  Dec.  25,  another  severe  frost :  the  Thames  floated  with  rocks  and  shoals 
of  ice ;  and  when  they  fixed,  represented  a  snowy  field,  everywhere  rising  in  masses 
and  hills  of  ice  and  snow.  Several  artists  made  sketches ;  tents  and  printing-presses 
were  set  up,  and  a  complete  Frost  Fair  was  again  held  upon  the  river,  over  which 
multitudes  walked,  though  some  fell  victims  to  their  rashness.  It  was  in  this  fair  that 
Doll,  the  noted  pippin-woman,  lost  her  life  : 

"  Doll  every  day  had  walk'd  these  treacherous  roads ; 
Her  neck  grew  warp'd  beneath  autumnal  loads 
Of  various  fruit ;  she  now  a  basket  bore ; 
That  head,  alas  !  shall  basket  bear  no  more. 
Each  booth  she  frequent  past,  in  quest  of  gain. 
And  boys  with  pleasure  heard  her  thrilling  strain. 
Ah,  Doll !  all  mortals  must  resign  their  breath, 
And  industry  itself  submit  to  death ! 
The  cracking  crystal  yields ;  she  sinks,  she  dies, — 
Her  head,  chopt  off  from  her  lost  shoulders,  flies ; 
Pippins,  she  cried,  but  death  her  voice  confounds, 
And  pip,  pip,  pip,  along  the  ice  resounds." — Gay's  Trivia,  b.  ii. 

Another  remarkable  character,  "  Tiddy  Doll,"  died  in  the  same  place  and  manner. 
(J.  T.  Smith.)  In  the  Crowle  Pennant  are  several  prints  of  this  Frost  and  Ice  Fair. 
Some  vintners  in  the  Strand  bought  a  large  ox  in  Smithfield,  to  be  roasted  whole  on 
the  ice ;  and  one  Hodgeson,  a  butcher  in  St.  James's  Market,  claimed  the  privilege  of 
felling  or  knocking  down  the  beast  as  a  right  inherent  in  his  family,  his  father  having 
knocked  down  the  ox  roasted  on  the  river  in  the  Great  Frost,  1684 ;  as  himself  did 
that  roasted  in  1715,  near  Hungerford  Stairs :  Hodgeson  to  wear  a  laced  cambric 
apron,  a  silver-handled  steel,  and  a  hat  and  feathers.  The  breaking-up  of  this  frost 
was  an  odd  scene ;  the  booths,  shops,  and  huts  being  carried  away  by  the  swell  of  the 
waters  and  the  ice  separating. 

1768.  A  violent  frost,  Jan.  1-21,  when  the  piles  of  London  Bridge  sterlings  were 
much  damaged  by  the  ice ;  on  Jan.  5,  a  French  vessel  was  wrecked  upon  a  sterling, 
and  two  others  were  driven  through  the  centre  arch,  losing  their  main-masts,  and 
carrying  away  the  lamps  from  the  parapet. 

1789,  Jan.  8.  The  Thames  frozen  over,  several  purl-booths  erected,  and  many 
thousands  of  persons  crossed  upon  the  ice  from  Tower-wharf  to  the  opposite  shore.  The 
frost  had  then  lasted  six  weeks.  No  sooner  had  the  Thames  acquired  a  sufficient  con- 
sistency, than  booths,  turnabouts,  &c.,  were  erected ;  the  puppet-shows,  wild-beasts,  &c, 
were  transported  from  every  adjacent  village ;  and  the  watermen  broke  in  the  ice  close 
to  the  shore,  and  erected  bridges,  with  toll-bars,  to  make  every  passenger  pay  a  half- 
penny for  getting  to  the  ice.    A  large  pig  was  roasted  on  one  of  the  roads,  and  a  young 


FULWOOD'S  BENTS.  363 


bear  hunted  on  the  ice  near  Rotherhithe ;  and  the  printing-press  was  erected,  as  usual, 
to  commemorate  the  strange  scene.  Vast  quantities  of  boiling  water  were  every  morn- 
ing poured  upon  the  bridge  water-works,  to  set  the  wheels  in  motion,  and  twenty-five 
horses  were  used  daily  to  remove  the  ice  from  around  them ;  while  at  Blackfriars  the 
masses  of  ice  were  18  feet  thick.  The  sudden  breaking-up  of  the  ice,  with  the  rush  of 
the  people  to  the  shores,  at  night,  was  a  fearful  scene.  A  vessel  lying  off  Rotherhithe, 
fastened  by  a  cable  and  anchor  to  a  beam  of  a  public-house,  in  the  night  veered  about 
and  pulled  the  house  to  the  ground,  killing  five  sleeping  inmates. 

1811,  January.  The  Thames  frozen  over. 

1813-14.  Great  frost,  commenced  Dec.  27,  with  a  thick  fog,  followed  by  two  days' 
heavy  fall  of  snow.  During  nearly  four  weeks'  frost,  the  wind  blew  almost  uninter- 
ruptedly from  the  north  and  north-east,  and  the  cold  was  intense.  The  river  was 
covered  with  vast  heaps  of  floating  ice,  bearing  piles  of  snow,  which,  Jan.  26—29,  were 
floated  down,  filling  the  space  between  London  and  Blackfriars  Bridges ;  next  day, 
the  frost  recommenced,  and  lasted  to  Feb.  5,  uniting  the  whole  into  a  sheet  of  ice. 
Jan.  30,  persons  walked  over  it ;  and  Feb.  1,  the  unemployed  watermen  commenced 
their  ice-toll,  by  which  many  of  them  received  61.  per  day.  The  Frost  Fair  now  com- 
menced :  the  street  of  tents,  called  the  City-road,  put  forth  its  gay  flags,  inviting 
signs,  and  music  and  dancing  :  a  sheep  was  roasted  whole  before  sixpenny  spectators, 
and  the  "  Lapland  mutton  "  sold  at  a  shilling  a  slice  !  Printing-presses  were  set  up, 
and  among  other  records  was  printed  the  following  : 


jfrost  jFatr. 

Amidst  the  Arts  which  on  the  Thames  appear 
To  tell  the  wonders  of  this  icy  year 
Pbuj tin g  claims  prior  place,  which  at  one  view 
Erects  a  monument  of  That  and  You. 

Printed  on  the  River  Thames,  February  4,  in  the  54th  year  of  the  reign  of  King 
George  III.    Anno  Domini  1814. 


One  of  the  invitations  ran  thus : 

"  You  that  walk  here,  and  do  design  to  tell 
Your  children's  children  what  this  year  befell, 
Come  buy  this  print,  and  then  it  will  be  seen 
That  such  a  year  as  this  hath  seldom  been." 

In  the  Fair  were  swings,  book-stalls,  dancing  in  a  barge,  suttling-booths,  playing  at 
skittles,  frying  sausages,  &c.  The  ice  and  snow,  in  upheaved  masses,  as  a  foreground 
to  St.  Paul's  and  the  City,  had  a  striking  effect ;  and  the  scene,  by  moonlight,  was 
singularly  picturesque.  On  Feb.  5,  the  ice  cracked,  and  floated  away  with  booths, 
printing-presses,  &c. ;  the  last  document  printed  being  a  jeu-de-mot  "  to  Madame 
Tabitha  Thaw."  Among  the  memorials  is  a  duodecimo  volume,  pp.  124,  now  before 
us :  it  is  entitled,  "  Frostiana;  or,  a  History  of  the  River  Thames  in  a  frozen  state, 
with  an  Account  of  the  late  Severe  Frost,  &c. ;  to  which  is  added  the  Art  of  Skating. 
London  :  Printed  and  published  on  the  Ice  on  the  River  Thames,  February  5,  1814, 
by  G.  Davis ;"  the  title-page  was  worked  upon  a  large  ice-island  between  Blackfriars 
and  Westminster  Bridges.  In  the  Illustrated  London  News,  No.  138,  is  an  engraving 
of  the  Frost  Fair  of  1814,  from  a  sketch  near  London  Bridge,  by  Luke  Clennell. 

FULWOOD'S  RENTS, 

TTULGO, "  Fuller's  Rents,"  in  Holborn,  nearly  opposite  Chancery-lane,  is  a  court,  now 
'  meanly  inhabited ;  but  was  of  much  better  repute  in  the  time  of  James  I.,  when  its 
possessor,  Christopher  Fulwood,  Esq.,  resided  here.  Strype  describes  it  as  running  up 
to  Gray's  Inn,  "into  which  it  has  an  entrance  through  the  gate"  (now  closed);  "a 
place  of  good  resort,  and  taken  up  by  coffee-houses,  ale-houses,  and  houses  of  enter- 
tainment, by  reason  of  its  vicinity  to  Gray's  Inn.  On  the  east  side  is  a  handsome 
open  place,  with  a  freestone  pavement,  and  better  built,  and  inhabited  by  private 
housekeepers.  At  the  upper  end  of  this  court  is  a  passage  into  the  Castle  Tavern,  a 
house  of  considerable  trade,  as  is  the  Golden  Griffin  Tavern,  on  the  west  side."     Here 


364  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

was  John's,  one  of  the  earliest  coffee-houses ;  and  adjoining  Gray's  Inn  gate,  on  the 
west  side,  is  a  deep-coloured  brick  house,  once  Squire's  Coffee-house,  whence  some  of 
the  Spectators  are  dated :  it  has  been  handsome  and  roomy,  with  a  wide  staircase. 
Within  one  door  of  Gray's  Inn  was  Ned  Ward's  (London  Spy)  punch-house,  much 
frequented  by  the  wits  of  his  day. 

For  some  time  before  1699,  until  his  death  in  1731,  Ward  kept  this  house,  which  he 
thus  puffs  in  his  London  Spy ;  being  a  vintner,  we  may  rest  assured  that  he  would 
have  penned  this  in  praise  of  no  other  but  himself: — 

"  To  speak  but  the  truth  of  my  honest  friend  Ned, 
The  best  of  all  vintners  that  ever  God  made ; 
He's  free  of  the  beef,  and  as  free  of  his  bread, 
And  washes  both  down  with  his  glass  of  rare  red, 
That  tops  all  the  town,  and  commands  a  good  trade ; 
Such  wine  as  will  cheer  up  the  drooping  King's  head, 
And  brisk  up  the  soul,  though  our  body's  half-dead ; 
He  scorns  to  draw  bad,  as  he  hopes  to  be  paid; 
And  now  his  name's  up,  he  may  e'en  lie  abed ; 
For  he'll  get  an  estate — there's  no  more  to  be  said." 

The  Castle  Tavern,  mentioned  by  Strype,  was  many  years  kept  by  Thomas  Winter 
("Tom  Spring"),  the  pugilist,  who  died  here,  August  20,  1851. 

About  the  centre  of  the  east  side  of  Fulwood's  Rents  is  a  curious  gabled  and 
projecting  house,  temp  James  I.  Mr.  Archer  has  engraved  a  ground- floor  room, 
entirely  panelled  with  oak;  the  mantelpiece  is  well  carved  in  oak,  with  caryatides 
and  arched  niches ;  the  ceiling  beams  are  carved  in  panels ;  and  the  entire  room  is 
original,  except  the  window.  A  larger  room  on  the  first  floor  contains  another  old 
mantelpiece,  very  florid.  The  front  of  the  house  is  said  to  be  covered  with  ornament, 
now  concealed  by  plaster.     (Vestiges  of  Old  London,  part  v.) 

GARDENS. 

FITZSTEPHEN  records  that  in  the  time  of  Henry  II.  (1154-1189)  the  citizens  of 
London  had  large  and  beautiful  gardens  to  their  villas.  The  royal  garden  at 
Westminster  was  noted  for  its  profusion  of  roses  and  lilies  in  1276 ;  and  there  is  extant 
an  order  of  Edward  I.  for  pear-trees  for  his  garden,  and  that  at  the  Tower. 

"  Within  the  compass  of  one  age,  Somerset  House  and  the  buildings  were  called  country-bouses ; 
and  the  open  places  about  them  were  employed  in  gardens  for  profit :  and  also  many  parts  within  the 
City  and  liberties  were  occupied  by  working  gardeners,  and  were  sufficient  to  furnish  the  town  with 
garden-ware ;  for  then  but  a  few  herbs  were  used  at  the  table  in  comparison  to  what  are  spent  now." 
—Stow. 

About  two  and  a  half  centuries  since,  the  citizens  took  their  noon-tide  and  evening 
walks  in  their  gardens.  Cornhill  was  then  an  open  space,  and  the  ground  from  thence 
to  Bishopsgate-street  was  occupied  as  gardens,  as  were  also  the  Minories.  Goodman's 
Fields  were  an  extensive  inclosure ;  and  most  of  East  Smithfield  was  an  open  space, 
partly  used  for  bleaching.  Spitalfields  were  entirely  open.  From  Houndsditch,  a 
street,  but  interspersed  with  gardens,  extended  nearly  to  Shoreditch  Church,  then 
nearly  the  last  building  in  that  direction.  Moorfields  were  used  for  drying  linen; 
cattle  grazed  and  archers  shot  in  Finsbury  Fields,  at  the  verge  of  which  were  three 
windmills.  Goswell-street  was  a  lonely  road ;  and  Islington  Church  stood  in  the  dis- 
tance, with  a  few  houses  and  gardens  near  it.  In  Smithfield,  horses  were  exercised, 
and  on  the  western  side  was  a  row  of  trees.  Clerkenwell  was  mostly  occupied  by  the 
precincts  of  St.  John's  Priory,  beyond  which,  on  the  Islington-road,  were  a  few  de- 
tached houses,  with  gardens.  From  Cow  Cross  to  Gray's  Inn-lane,  the  ground  was 
either  waste  or  in  gardens ;  and  between  Shoe-lane  and  Fetter-lane  was  much  open 
ground.  At  Drury-lane  commenced  the  village  of  St.  Giles :  near  the  church  were  a 
few  houses  surrounded  with  trees.  Beyond  the  church  all  was  open  country,  the  main 
roads  being  distinguished  by  avenues  of  trees.  Leicester  Fields  and  Soho  were  open 
ground.  Spring  Garden  was  literally  a  garden,  reaching  to  the  site  of  the  present 
Admiralty.  The  dwellings  in  the  lower  part  of  Westminster  were  inns  and  poor  cot- 
tages, with  small  gardens.  Whitehall-palace  had  its  stately  gardens,  as  had  also  the 
several  noble  mansions  on  the  south  side  of  the  Strand.  Isaac  Walton  quotes  from  a 
contemporary  German  poet : — 


GARDENS.  365 


"  So  many  gardens,  dressed  with  curious  care, 
That  Thames  with  Boyal  Tiber  may  compare." 

These  gardens  had  their  water-gates ;  one  of  which,  York-house-gate,  remains,  with 
a  terrace  shaded  hy  lime-trees. 

Leicester  House,  at  the  north-east  corner  of  Leicester-square,  had  its  spacious 
gardens,  now  the  site  of  Lisle-street,  built  in  1791. 

Holborn  (Old-bourne)  was  famed  for  its  gardens :  Ely -place  had  its  kitchen  and 
flower  gardens,  vineyard  and  orchard,  and  the  bishops  were  celebrated  for  raising  choice 
fruit.  (See  Ely  Place,  p.  321.)  Gerarde  was  an  apothecary,  and,  before  the  year 
1597,  had  a  large  physic-garden  near  his  house  in  Holborn,  where  he  raised  1000 
plants  and  trees ;  a  proof  "  that  our  ground  could  produce  other  fruits  besides  hips  and 
haws,  acorns,  and  pignuts."  Gerarde  had  another  physic-garden,  in  Old-street :  his 
earliest  publication  was  the  Catalogue  (in  Latin)  of  his  own  garden  in  Holborn,  printed 
in  1596,  4to;  reprinted  in  4to,  1599.  The  first  edition  was  dedicated  to  Lord 
Burghley,  whose  garden  Gerarde  had  superintended  for  twenty  years :  the  second 
edition  was  dedicated  to  Sir  Walter  Raleigh.  A  copy  of  the  first  edition  (of  extreme 
rarity)  is  in  the  British  Museum ;  and  it  proved  of  great  use  to  Mr.  Aiton  in  preparing 
his  Hortus  Kewensis,  by  enabling  him  to  ascertain  the  time  when  many  old  plants 
were  first  cultivated.  Gerarde  dated  the  first  edition  of  his  Serial  from  Holborn. 
Wood  calls  him  "  the  best  herbalist  of  his  time."  Among  the  Lansdowne  MSS.  in  the 
British  Museum,  is  a  letter  of  Gerarde's  own  drawing-up,  for  Lord  Burghley  to  re- 
commend to  the  University  of  Cambridge  the  establishment  of  a  physic-garden  there, 
to  encourage  the  "  facultie  of  simpling."  Several  London  localities  of  Gerarde's  sim- 
fling  may  be  gathered  from  his  Herbal.  Thus,  he  says  :  "  Of  water  violets  I  have 
not  found  any  such  plenty  in  any  one  place  as  in  the  water  ditches  adjoining  to  Saint 
George  his  fielde,  near  London."  He  describes  Mile  End,  Whitechapel,  as  "  the 
common  near  London  where  penny -royal  grows  in  great  abundance."  "  The  small 
wild  buglosse  grows  upon  the  drie  ditch  bank  about  Pickadilla ;"  and  he  found  "  white 
saxifrage,  burr-reedes,  &c.,"  in  the  ditch,  right  against  the  place  of  execution,  St. 
Thomas-a- Waterings,  now  the  Old  Kent-road. 

Baldwin's  Gardens,  between  Leather-lane  and  Gray's-inn-lane,  were,  according  to  a 
stone  upon  a  corner-house  bearing  the  arms  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  named  after  Richard 
Baldwin,  one  of  the  royal  gardeners,  who  began  building  here  in  1589. 

Montague  House,  Bloomsbury,  had  its  spacious  gardens,  "  after  the  French  manner ;" 
and  the  gardens  of  the  houses  in  Great  Russell-street  were  noted  for  their  fragrance. 
Strype  (1720)  describes  the  north  side  as  having  gardens  behind  the  houses,  with  the 
prospect  of  pleasant  fields  up  to  Hampstead  and  Highgate,  "  inasmuch  as  this  place  is 
esteemed  the  most  healthful  in  London." 

The  garden  of  the  Earl  of  Lincoln  was  highly  kept,  long  before  the  mansion  became 
an  Inn  of  Court.  The  Earl's  bailiff's  accounts  (24  Edward  I.)  show  it  to  have  pro- 
duced apples,  pears,  large  nuts,  and  cherries  sufficient  for  the  Earl's  table,  and  to  yield 
by  sale  in  one  year  135?.,  modern  currency.  The  vegetables  grown  were  beans,  onions, 
garlick,  leeks ;  hemp  was  grown  ;  the  cuttings  of  the  vines  much  prized  j  of  pear-trees 
there  were  several  varieties ;  the  only  flowers  named  are  roses.  (T.  Hudson  Turner.) 
The  "  walk  under  the  elms,"  celebrated  by  Ben  Jonson,  was  a  favourite  resort  of 
Isaac  Bickerstaff.  In  1  and  2  Philip  and  Mary,  the  walk  under  the  trees  in  the 
coney-garth*  or  cottrel-garden  was  made ;  and  in  15  Car.  II.  1663,  the  said  garden 
was  enlarged,  and  a  terrace-walk  made  on  the  left  side ;  of  which  Pcpys  says :  "  to 
Lincoln's-Inn,  to  see  the  new  garden  which  they  are  making,  which  will  be  very 
pretty."  The  garden-wall  in  Chancery-lane  is  said  to  have  been  partly  the  labour  of 
Ben  Jonson. 

■  Gray's  Inn  for  walks,  Lincoln's  Inn  for  wall, 
The  Inner  Temple  for  a  garden,  and  the  Middle  for  a  wall." 

Lincoln'*  Inn.    By  W.  H.  Spilsbury,  Librarian,  1850. 

The  Inns  of  Court  always  boasted  of  their  gardens.  The  Middle  Temple  has  its 
gardens  with  an  avenue  of  limes ;  the  Inner  Temple,  a  more  extensive  garden  and  pro- 

*  The  coney-garth  was  "  well  stocked  with  rabbits  and  game,"  and  by  various  ordinances  of  the 
Society,  temp.  Edw.  IV.,  Henry  VII.,  and  Henry  VIII.,  penalties  were  imposed  on  the  students  hunting 
the  rabbits  with  bows  and  arrows,  or  darts. 


II 


366  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

menade.  In  "  the  Temple  Garden,"  Shakspeare  has  laid  the  scene  of  the  origin  of  the 
red  and  white  roses  as  the  cognisances  of  the  houses  of  York  and  Lancaster :  Richard 
Plantagenet  plucks  a  white  rose,  and  the  Earl  of  Somerset  a  red  one  j  an  altercation 
ensues,  when  the  Earl  of  Warwick  thus  addresses  Plantagenet : — 

"  In  signal  of  my  love  to  thee, 
Against  proud  Somerset  and  William  Poole, 
Will  I  upon  thy  party  wear  this  rose : 
And  here  I  prophesy, — this  brawl  to-day, 
Grown  to  this  faction,  in  the  Temple  Garden, 
Shall  send,  between  the  red  rose  and  the  white, 
A  thousand  souls  to  death  and  deadly  night." 

First  Fart  of  Henry  VI,  act  ii.  sc.  4. 

The  red  and  white  Provence  rose  no  longer  blossoms  here ;  but  both  the  Temple 
Gardens  are  well  kept,  and  chrysanthemums  here  attain  surprising  perfection  until 
mid-winter : — 

"  Still  alone,  'mid  the  tumult,  these  gardens  extend ; 
The  elm  and  the  lime  over  flower-beds  bend ; 
***** 

The  boat,  and  the  barge,  and  the  wave,  have  grown  red ; 
And  the  sunset  has  crimsoned  the  boughs  over-head : 
But  the  lamps  are  now  shining,  the  colours  are  gone, 
And  the  garden  lies  shadowy,  silent  and  lone." — L.  E.  L. 

Both  Lincoln  and  Gray's  Inn  had  an  uninterrupted  view  over  fields  and  gardens  to 
Hampstead  and  Highgate,  which  had  then  scarcely  lost  the  rich  woodland  scenery  of 
the  ancient  forest  of  Middlesex.  Gray's  Inn  Gardens  were  laid  out  under  the  direction 
of  Francis  Bacon,  who  wrote  so  practically  upon  gardening. 

"  In  the  40  Eliz.,  at  a  pension  of  the  bench, '  the  summe  of  71. 15».  4i.  laid  out  for  planting  elm  trees  * 
in  these  gardens,  was  allowed  to  Mr.  Bacon  (afterwards  Lord  Verulam  and  Lord  Chancellor).  On  the 
14th  November,  in  the  following  year,  there  was  an  order  made  for  a  supply  of  more  young  elms ;  and 
it  was  ordered  '  that  a  new  rayle  and  quickset  hedges '  should  be  set  upon  the  upper  long  walk,  at  the 
discretion  of  Mr.  Bacon  and  Mr.  Wilbraham ;  the  cost  of  which,  as  appeared  by  Bacon's  account, 
allowed  20th  April,  42  Eliz.,  was  60Z.  6*.  Sd.  Mr.  Bacon  erected  a  summer-house  on  a  small  mount  on 
the  terrace,  in  which,  if  we  may  be  allowed  the  conjecture,  it  is  probable  he  frequently  mused  upon 
the  subjects  of  those  great  works  which  have  rendered  his  name  immortal." — Pearce's  Inns  of  Court. 

To  this  day  here  is  a  Catalpa  tree,  raised  from  one  planted  by  Lord  Bacon,  slips  of 
which  are  much  coveted.  The  walks  were  in  high  fashion  in  Charles  II.'s  time ;  and 
we  read  of  Pepys  and  his  wife,  after  church,  walking  "  to  Gray's  Inne,  to  observe 
fashions  of  the  ladies,  because  of  my  wife's  making  some  clothes." 

The  City  Halls,  and  mansions  of  the  civic  aristocracy,  usually  had  their  gardens, 

with   terraces  and  lime-tree  walks,   fountains,   and  summer-houses,  and   decorative 

grottoes. 

Grocers'  Hall  had  in  1427  its  pleasant  garden,  to  which  the  citizens  were  admitted  on  petition  to  the 
Company :  it  contained  alleys,  hedge-rows,  and  a  bowling-alley,  but  was  reduced  in  1802,  as  we  now 
see  it.  Drapers'  Hall  had  its  garden  in  1551,  when  rents  were  paid  for  admission-keys,  and  it  became  a 
fashionable  promenade ;  it  is  now  open  to  the  public.  Merchant  Tailors'  Hall  had  its  garden,  with 
alleys  and  a  terrace,  a  treasury  and  summer  banqueting-room.  Salters"  Hall  (Oxford-place)  had  its  large 
garden,  into  which  the  infamous  Empson  and  Dudley  {temp.  Henry  VII.),  living  in  "  two  faire  houses  "  in 
tho  rear,  "  had  a  dore  of  intercourse ;"  and  here  "  they  met  and  consulted  of  matters  at  their  pleasures  " 
(Stow) ;  this  being  originally  the  garden  of  the  Priors  of  Tortington.  Lronmongers'  Hall  had  also  its 
garden,  for  which  we  find  charges  for  "  cutting  of  the  vines  and  roses,  and  knots  of  rosemary." 

Sir  Paul  Pindar,  contemporary  with  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  had  his  garden  and  park, 
with  an  embellished  lodge  in  the  rear  of  his  mansion,  now  a  public-house  in  Bishops- 
gate-street  ;  the  grounds  are  covered  with  lanes,  alleys,  and  blind  courts,  reaching  to 
Finsbury-square.     Gresham-house  had  also  its  spacious  walks  and  gardens. 

Finsbury-circus  has  a  fine  garden,  which  was  threatened  with  devastation  by  a 
Railway  Company,  in  1862,  when  it  was  saved  by  the  energy  of  the  Directors,  one  of 
whom,  Mr.  Alfred  Smee,  F.R.S.,  thus  successfully  advocated  the  preservation  of  this 
lung  of  the  City  of  London : — 

The  centre  constitutes  a  circle  planted  with  exquisite  taste  with  the  choicest  trees,  and  forms  a  tout 
ensemble  which  might  be  admired  in  any  part  of  the  world.  It  challenges  for  beauty  the  garden  of  any 
square  in  London,  and  it  is  the  admiration  and  astonishment  of  foreigners  as  an  affair  of  private  enter- 
prise, and  not  a  creation  of  the  State. 

A  return  made  by  the  gardener  shows  that  it  contains  three  trees  60  feet  high,  and  180  feet  in 
the  circle  of  the  head ;  20  trees  between  45  and  55  feet  high  :  34  trees  between  35  and  45  feet  high; 
60  trees  between  25  and  35  feet  high ;  and  107  trees  between  15  and  30  feet  high ;  besides  upwards  of 
700  fine  shrubs,  and  several  beautiful  weeping  trees,  all  of  more  than  half  a  century  of  growth.  The 
effect  of  trees  iu  the  centre  of  towns  cannot  be  too  much  appreciated.    They  carry  up  large  quantities 


GARDENS.  367 


of  water  into  the  over-dried  atmosphere,  and  this  little  forest  of  trees  must  play  an  important  and 
beneficial  part  to  the  neighbourhood. 

At  the  present  time  the  City  is  too  crowded,  and  contains  by  far  too  few  open  spaces  and  trees.  There 
are  two  trees  in  the  Bank  of  England  and  one  in  Cheapside,  two  or  three  smaller  ones  in  St.  Paul's- 
churchyard,  but  where  are  such  trees  as  we  possess  in  Finsbury  Circus  ? 

Clerkenwell  was,  iu  the  present  century,  famous  for  its  gardens.  About  the  year 
1830,  the  lined  slope  on  the  east  side  of  Bagnigge-wells-road,  had  a  pleasant  rural  aspect 
from  its  number  of  "  Myddelton  Gardens,"  which  belonged  to  private  individuals  resi- 
dent in  Clerkenwell,  who,  in  their  leisure  hours,  cultivated  here  flowers  and  vege- 
tables. On  these  extensive  garden-grounds  streets  and  squares  of  houses  have  been 
erected.  Another  famous  group  of  Clerkenwell  gardens,  formerly  belonging  to  the  Hos- 
pital of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem,  and  adjoining  Clerkenwell-green,  were  called  Garden- 
alleys;  after  the  Dissolution,  the  Hospital- close,  of  three  acres,  was  converted  into  gardens,  t 

Milton  had  a  poetic  liking  for  "garden-houses"  of  which  there  were  many  in  his  a  I 
time  :  his  house  in  Aldersgate-street  opened  into  a  garden ;  in  1651,  he  lived  in  Petty  ( 
France,  now  Westminster  (York-street,  No.  19),  "  a  pretty  gajden-house,  opening  into   ; 
the  Park ;"  a  cotton-willow  tree  is  said  to  have  been  planted  here  by  the  poet's  hand.  ,' 
Aaron  Hill  had  a  house  in  Petty  France,  with  a  garden  reaching  to  St.  James's  Park, 
and  a  grotto  in  it,  described  in  his  Letters  at  some  length. 

Sir  John  Hill's  famous  "  physic-garden"  was  at  Bayswater ;  here  he  cultivated 
medicinal  plants,  and  prepared  essences,  tinctures,  &c.  The  site,  after  being  long  con- 
verted into  tea-gardens,  is  now  covered  with  handsome  houses. 

Goring  House,  which  occupied  the  site  of  Buckingham  Palace,  had  a  fountain-garden^ 
westward  of  which  was  the  cherry-garden  and  kitchen- garden  of  Hugh  Audley,  Esq., 
from  whom  Audley-street,  Grosvenor-square,  is  named.  Here,  too,  was  a  grove  of 
mulberry-trees,  planted  by  King  James  I. ;  afterwards  "  the  Mulberry  Garden."  There 
was  another  mulberry  plantation  at  Chelsea,  upon  part  of  the  grounds  of  Beaufort  House. 

Waller  describes  the  wall  in  St.  James's  Park  as 

"All  with  a  border  of  rich  fruit-trees  crown'd." 

Brompton-park  Nursery  can  be  traced  from  1681.  Evelyn  describes  it  as  a  large 
and  noble  assembly  of  trees,  evergreens,  and  shrubs,  for  planting  the  boscage,  wilder- 
ness, or  grove ;  with  elms,  limes,  platans,  Constantinople  chestnuts,  and  black  cherry- 
trees  :  its  "  potagere,  meloniere,  culiniere"  garden ;  seeds,  bulbs,  roots,  and  slips,  for 
the  flowering  garden :  occupying  about  56  acres.  In  1705,  its  plants,  at  Id.  each, 
were  valued  at  40,00(M. ;  and  it  had  a  wall  half  a  mile  long,  covered  with  vines.  London 
and  Wise  were  the  proprietors  in  1694 :  they  are  praised  by  Addison  in  the  Spectator 
for  their  laying  out  of  Kensington-gardens,  where  we  also  see  Kent's  ha-ha.  The 
"  Brompton  Stock"  is  a  memorial  of  the  celebrity  of  this  district,  which  extended  to 
Chelsea ;  but  the  gardens  have  mostly  disappeared,  and  their  ground  is  built  upon : 
the  site  of  Trinity  Church,  Brompton,  was,  in  1828,  a  market-garden.  Chelsea  Hospital, 
however,  retains  its  terrace,  little  canals,  shady  lime-walks,  and  gigantic  plane-trees — a 
curious  specimen  of  the  Dutch  style,  temp.  William  III. ;  it  has  an  octagon  summer- 
house,  built  by  Sir  John  Vanbrugh.  "  The  Old  Men's  Gardens"  to  the  south-east, 
including  a  part  of  the  site  of  old  Ranelagh,  were  added  in  1826,  when  Lord  John 
Russell  was  Paymaster-General :  here  each  pensioner  had  his  garden,  the  dressing  of 
which  afforded  society  and  employment ;  but  these  gardens  have  disappeared. 

In  a  garden  at  Little  Chelsea  the  white  moss-rose  was  first  discovered,  and  success- 
fully cultivated.  As  the  eighteenth  century  advanced,  the  Botanic  Gardens  at  Chelsea, 
and  its  curator,  Philip  Miller,  came  into  notice. 

Buckingham- Palace  Gardens  comprise  about  forty  acres,  of  which  nearly  five  are  a 
lake :  upon  a  mount  is  a  pavilion  of  Chinese  design,  the  interior  decorated  in  the  Pom- 
peian  and  Raphaelesque  style,  with  paintings  from  Milton's  Comus,  and  Scott's  novels 
and  poems,  by  Eastlake,  Maclise,  Ross,  &c. :  the  grounds  are  secluded  by  majestic 
elms ;  whilst  the  principal  front  of  the  palace  commands  the  landscape-garden  of  St. 
James's  Park.  The  old  palace  of  St.  James's  and  Marlborough  House,  have  their 
gardens ;  and  in  the  same  line  were  the  grounds  of  Carlton  House,  with  conservatories 
and  rookery,  now  occupied  by  lofty  terraces  of  mansions ;  but  Buckingham  House,  and 
the  several  Club-houses  on  the  south  side  of  Pall  Mall,  have  their  gardens. 

Kensington  Palace  has  its  flower-garden  of  quaint  design.     In  this  direction  lies 


363  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Holland  House,  with  its  stately  cedars,  oaks,  and  planes ;  its  flower-garden,  with  ever- 
greens clipped  into  fantastic  forms ;  beds  of  Italian  and  old  English  character,  fountains 
and  terraces  befitting  the  architectural  garden  of  this  Elizabethan  mansion :  in  the 
"  French  Garden,"  in  1804,  was  first  raised  in  England  the  Dahlia,  from  seeds  sent  by 
Lord  Holland  from  Spain. 

Campden  House,  Kensington,  had  a  sheltered  garden,  in  which  the  wild  olive  once 
flourished ;  and  here  a  caper-tree  produced  fruit  yearly  for  a  century. 

Vauxhall,  noticed  by  Evelyn  in  1661,  as  "the  New  Spring  Garden,  a  pretty- 
contriv'd  plantation,"  is  mentioned  otherwise  than  as  a  mere  promenade  :  Monoconys, 
about  1663,  describes  its  squares  "  inclosed  with  hedges  of  gooseberries,  within  which 
were  roses,  beans,  and  asparagus." 

Hard  by  was  Tradescant's  garden  at  South  Lambeth,  well  stored  with  rare  and 
curious  plants  collected  in  his  travels :  including  roses  from  Rose  Island,  near  Port  St. 
Nicholas.  This  garden  existed  in  1749,  and  is  described  in  Philos.  Trans,  vol.  xlvi. 
Tradescant  was  "  King's  Gardener,"  temp.  Charles  T. ;  and,  with  his  son,  assembled 
at  Lambeth  the  rarities  which  became  the  nucleus  of  the  Ashmolean  Museum. 

In  the  Catalogue  of  their  Garden,  published  by  the  second  Tradescant,  are  Hollyhocks,  Southern- 
wood, Wormwood,  the  classical  Acanthus,  Prince's  Feathers ;  that  "  great  Flouramour,  or  purple  flowre 
gentle ;"  Anemones  of  all  sorts;  Dogsbane ;  the  "Arbor  Judse,  or  Judas  Tree,  with  red  flowres ;"  the 
Birthworts  of  the  south;  numerous  North- American  plants;  Meadow  Saffrons  from  Constantinople ; 
that  "Fragraria  Novae  Anglia?  nondam  descripta,"  the  mother  of  our  Keen's  Seedlings,  and  Scarlet  and 
British  Queen  Strawberries ;  the  "  Hippomarathrura,"  or  Rhubarb  of  the  Monks ;  Marvels  of  Peru ; 
"  Paralysis  fatua,  foolish  Cowslip,  or  Jack-an-apes  on  Horseback,"  probably  the  green  monster  of  the 
common  Oxlip ;  Pappas,  or  Virginian  Potatoes ;  "  Populus  alba  Virginiana  Tradescanti,"  apparently 
one  of  our  Tacamahacs ;  Musk  Roses,  Double  Yellow  Roses,  and  "  Muscovie  Roses ;"  Fox  Grapes,  from 
Virginia;  White  and  Red  Burlett  Grapes,  Currant  Grape,  Muscadells,  "  Frontinack  or  Musked  Grape, 
white  and  red; "  and  other  rarities,  filling  more  than  100  pages. — Gardener's  Chronicle,  1852. 

Lambeth  was  formerly  noted  for  its  public  gardens.  Here  was  Cuper's  garden,  laid 
out  with  walks  and  arbours  by  Boydell  Cuper,  gardener  to  Thomas  Earl  of  Arundel, 
who  gave  Cuper  some  of  the  mutilated  Arundelian  marbles  (statues),  which  he  set  up 
in  his  garden :  it  was  suppressed  in  1753  :  the  site  is  now  crossed  by  Waterloo- 
road.  The  site  of  St.  John's  Church,  and  Christ  Church,  Blackfriars-road,  was 
formerly  occupied  by  gardens,  through  which  lay  the  old  Halfpenny  Hatch  footpath. 
(See  St.  George's  Fields,  p.  376.) 

Opposite  the  Asylum  were  the  Apollo  Gardens,  opened  about  1788  :  the  old  orchestra 
was  removed  to  Sydney  Gardens,  Bath.  In  the  present  Southwark -bridge-road  was 
Finch's  Grotto  and  Garden,  established  about  1760  :  here  Suett  and  Nan  Cattley  acted 
and  sang :  the  old  Grotto  house  was  burnt  in  1795,  but  was  rebuilt,  and  a  stone  inserted 
with  this  inscription  :— 

*  Here  Herbs  did  grow, 
And  Flowers  sweet ; 
But  now  'tis  call'd 
St.  George's-street." 

Attached  to  some  of  the  modern  mansions  in  the  town  are  pleasant  landscape  - 
gardens :  from  the  rear  of  Devonshire  House  is  a  rus-in-wrbe  seemingly  extending  to 
Berkeley-square,  by  means  of  the  sunken  passage  between  the  grounds  of  Lansdowne 
and  Devonshire  Houses. 

The  gardens  in  the  centres  of  the  several  Squares  are  oases  highly  kept.  Mr.  Loudon 
was  one  of  the  first  to  recommend  the  lighter  trees,  as  the  Oriental  plane,  the  syca- 
more, the  almond,  and  others,  which  now  add  greatly  to  the  beauty  of  the  London  Squares. 

The  Nursery  and  Market  Gardens  around  London  have  yielded  to  railways  and 
the  building  of  suburban  towns. 

The  growth  of  London  has  pushed  the  Market  Gardener  gradually  into  the  country;  and  now,  in- 
stead of  sending  up  his  produce  by  his  own  waggons,  he  trusts  it  to  the  railway,  and  is  often  thrown 
into  a  market  fever  by  a  late  delivery.  To  compensate  him,  however,  for  the  altered  state  of  the  times, 
he  often  sells  his  crops  like  a  merchant  upon  'Change,  without  the  trouble  of  bringing  more  than  a  few 
hand-samples  in  his  pockets.  He  is  nearly  70  years  of  age,  but  looks  scarcely  50,  and  can  remember 
the  time  when  there  were  10,000  acres  of  ground  within  four  miles  of  Charing-cross  under  cultiva- 
tion for  vegetables,  besides  about  3000  acres  planted  with  fruit  to  supply  the  London  consumption. 
He  has  lived  to  see  the  Deptford  and  Bermondsey  gardens  curtailed ;  the  Hoxton  and  Hackney  gardens 
covered  with  houses;  the  Essex  plantations  pushed  further  off;  and  the  Brompton  and  Kensington 
nurseries— the  home  of  vegetables  for  centuries— dug  up  and  sown  with  International  Exhibition 
temples,  and  Italian  gardens  that  will  never  grow  a  pea  or  send  a  single  cauliflower  to  market.  He 
has  lived  to  see  Guernsey  and  Jersey,  Cornwall,  the  Scilly  Islands,  Holland,  Belgium,  and  Portugal, 
with  many  other  more  distant  places,  competing  with  the  remote  outskirts  of  London  bricks  and  mortar. 


GARDENS.  36S 


and  has  been  staggered  by  seeing  the  market  supplied  with  choice  early  peas  from  such  an  unexpected 
quarter  as  French  Algeria.— Comhil1  Magazine,  1806. 

In  the  heart  of  London,  some  gardens  are  much  frequented  hy  birds.  The  garden 
attached  to  the  house  of  Mr.  John  Britton,  at  the  south  end  of  Burton-street,  St. 
Pancras,  was  much  resorted  to  hy  the  sparrow,  robin,  tomtit,  wren,  crow,  starling,  and 
whitethroat,  the  latter  having  bred  here  for  several  years. 

In  St.  George's,  Bloomsbury,  and  a  few  other  parishes,  are  held  "Working  Men's 
Flower-shows  of  window-sill  floriculture — as  fuchsias,  geraniums,  and  other  flowering 
plants  ;  annuals  are  grown  in  pots  by  Sunday-school  children,  who  thus  rear  dwarf 
orange  and  lemon-trees,  walnut-trees,  and  even  date  palms  and  locust-trees,  from  stones 
and  seeds. 

Churchyards,  no  longer  used  for  interments,  are  now  laid  out  as  gardens.  St. 
Botolph's,  Bishopsgate,  has  its  flower-beds  enriched  with  terra-cotta  tiles,  instead  of  box 
edging ;  Virginia  stocks,  scarlet  and  yellow  nasturtiums,  are  favourite  flowers  j  the 
shrubs  are  mostly  poplars  and  planes :  a  sum  is  yearly  voted  by  the  vestry  to  keep 
up  this  garden.  The  south-eastern  portion  of  the  burial-ground  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral 
has  also  been  laid  out  in  flower-beds,  and  planted  with  shrubs. 

Botantc  Gardens. — In  Great  Britain,  the  first  Botanic  Gardens  were  called  Physic 
Gardens,  and  were  used  principally  as  places  for  growing  and  studying  medical  plants. 
The  first  English  Botanic  Garden  of  which  we  have  any  distinct  account  was  at  Syon 
House,  where  it  was  under  the  superintendence  of  Dr.  Turner,  one  of  our  earliest 
English  botanists.  This  was  about  the  middle  of  the  sixteenth  century ;  but  a  few 
years  later  we  find  botany  extensively  cultivated  in  England;  and  L'Obel,  after  whom 
the  genus  Lobelia  was  named,  was  styled  herbalist  and  botanist  to  James  I.  In  the 
next  reign,  as  we  have  seen,  Tradescant  had  his  botanic  garden  at  South  Lambeth ;  and 
in  the  reign  of  Charles  II.,  that  at  Chelsea  was  established. 

Botanic  Garden,  or  "  Physic  Garden,"  oe  the  Apothecaries'  Company,  upon 
the  Thames  Bank  at  Chelsea,  is  maintained  by  the  Company  for  the  use  of  the  medical 
students  of  London.  The  ground  was  first  laid  out  in  1673.  Evelyn  saw  here,  in 
1685,  a  tulip-tree  and  a  tea-shrub,  and  the  first  hot-house  known  in  England ;  "  the 
subterranean  heat  conveyed  by  a  stove  under  the  conservatory,  all  vaulted  with  brick," 
so  that  "  the  doores  and  windowes"  are  open  in  the  hardest  frosts,  excluding  only  the 
snow.  On  Sir  Hans  Sloane  purchasing  the  manor  of  Chelsea  in  1721,  he  graited  the 
freehold  of  the  Garden  to  the  Apothecaries'  Company,  on  condition  that  the  Professor 
who  gave  the  lectures  to  the  medical  students  should  deliver  annually  to  the  Royal 
Society  fifty  new  plants,  well  cured  and  specifically  described,  and  of  the  growth  of 
the  Garden,  till  the  number  should  amount  to  2000.  This  condition  was  complied 
with,  and  a  list  of  the  new  plants  published  yearly  in  the  Philosophical  Transactions, 
for  about  fifty  years,  when,  2500  plants  having  been  presented,  the  custom  was  dis- 
continued. The  garden  is  about  three  acres  in  extent :  it  contains  a  marble 
statue  of  Sir  Hans  Sloane,  by  Rysbrack,  set  up  in  1733  j  and  it  formerly  had 
two  noble  cedars,  planted  in  1683,  when  about  three  feet  high  :  in  1766,  they  measured 
more  than  twelve  feet  in  circumference  at  two  feet  from  the  ground,  and  their  branches 
extended  forty  feet  in  diameter.  One  of  these  cedars  is  said  to  have  been  brought  from 
Lebanon  for  Sir  Hans  Sloane ;  one  was  blown  dowii  in  the  year  1 854.  The  Apothecaries' 
Company  give  annually  a  gold  and  silver  medal  to  the  best  informed  students  in 
botany  who  have  attended  this  Garden ;  and  they  still  observe  an  old  custom  of 
summer  herbarizing,  or  simpling  excursions  to  the  country,  when  the  members  are 
accompanied  hy  apprentices  or  pupils. 

Botanic  Society  (Royal),  incorporated  in  1839,  have  gardens  occupying  a  portion 
of  the  Inner  Circle,  Regent's  Park,  formerly  Jenkins's  Nursery.  They  consist  of  about 
eighteen  acres,  but  they  have  been  laid  out  by  Marnock  with  so  much  skill  as  to 
appear  of  very  much  greater  extent :  they  contain  a  winter  garden ;  besides  a  conser- 
vatory, entirely  of  glass  and  iron,  covering  15,000  square  feet,  which  cost  about  6000/., 
and  will  accommodate  2000  visitors.  The  Society  hold  exhibitions,  and  distribute  prize 
medals.  The  Rock,  Winter,  and  Landscape  Gardens,  with  their  lake  and  artificial 
mound,  are  very  picturesque,  and  of  the  natural  school.      There  are,  also,  a  Library ; 

B  B 


370  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

and  an  useful  Museum,  illustrative  of  the  varieties  of  structure  in  the  parts  of  plants, 
their  products  and  uses.  In  several  parts  of  the  botanic  ground  are  privet  hedges,  each 
forming  the  segment  of  a  circle,  and  curiously  cut  so  as  to  make  each  look  like  a  minia- 
ture green  wall.  These  hedges  are  for  the  purpose  of  sheltering  some  of  the  more 
tender  plants  from  the  wind.  Beyond  the  arrangement  of  plants  according  to  the 
Natural  System,  is  a  medical  garden.  Farther  on  is  a  collection  of  British  plants, 
arranged  according  to  the  classes  and  orders  of  Linnams,  as  an  example  of  the  Linnaean 
System. 

HorttctjitttbaTj  Societt's  Gardens,  The,  at  Chiswick,  are  thirty-three  acres  in 
extent,  and  were  commenced  in  1821 :  they  comprise  Orchard  and  Kitchen,  Hot-house 
and  Tender  and  Hardy  departments,  the  latter  containing  the  arboretum  and  flower- 
garden;  besides  a  conservatory,  184  feet  long,  25  feet  high,  and  about  30  feet  wide. 
The  arboretum  contains  the  richest  collection  of  trees  and  shrubs  in  Europe;  the 
orchard  is  the  most  perfect  ever  formed ;  and  the  forcing-houses  and  hot-houses  are 
complete.  The  Society  distributes  plants,  seeds,  and  cuttings,  to  Members,  foreign 
correspondents,  and  the  British  colonies.  In  1861,  the  Horticultural  Society  decided 
upon  forming  another  Garden  at  South  Kensington,  where  the  Commissioners  of  the 
Great  Exhibition  of  1851  let  to  the  Society  the  upper  part  of  the  great  centre  square 
of  their  estate,  about  twenty-two  acres ;  the  Commissioners  expending  about  50,000/. 
in  building  arcades  in  the  new  Gardens ;  the  Society  expending  an  equal  amount  in 
terraces,  fountains,  conservatories,  and  in  laying  out  the  grounds.  The  arcades  were 
designed  by  Sydney  Srnirke  and  Captain  Fowke,  and  the  Gardens  were  laid  out  by 
Nesfield.  The  great  Conservatory,  at  the  northern  extremity  of  the  Garden,  is  of  glass 
and  iron,  and  is  263  feet  long,  and  75  feet  6  inches  in  height :  the  span  of  the  arched 
roof  is  45  feet ;  the  columns  are  15  feet  apart ;  there  is  an  arcade,  with  flights  of  stairs, 
leading  to  the  gallery  and  to  the  top  of  the  upper  arcades  in  the  Garden.  The  arcade 
in  the  conservatory  is  formed  with  terra-cotta  columns,  and  ornamented  brick  arches. 
The  works  are  thus  jocosely  described : — "So  the  brave  old  trees  which  skirted  the 
paddock  of  Gore  House  were  felled,  little  ramps  were  raised,  and  little  slopes  sliced 
off,  with  a  fiddling  nicety  of  touch  which  would  have  delighted  the  imperial  grandeur 
of  the  Summer  Palace ;  and  the  tiny  declivities  thus  manufactured  were  tortured  into 
curvilinear  patterns,  where  sea-sand,  chopped  coal,  and  powdered  bricks  atoned  for  the 
absence  of  flower  or  shrub."  (Quarterly  Meview.)  The  area  was  inclosed  with  Mr. 
Snnrke's  Kenaissance  arcades,  in  brick  at  the  upper  portion,  and  the  terra-cotta  imita- 
tion of  the  Lateran  cloister,  produced  by  the  Department  round  the  southern  half. 
Among  the  more  prominent  ornamental  objects  in  the  Gardens  are  the  cascade  and  its 
stupendous  basin,  and  Minton's  superb  Majolica  Fountain.  The  Gardens  are  elaborately 
described  in  The  Book  of  the  Royal  Horticultural  Society,  1862—1863.  (6'ee 
Museums  :  South  Kensington.) 

Kew  Boyal  Botanical  Gardens  are  generally  considered  the  richest  in  England, 
though  comparatively  of  recent  formation.  The  Prince  of  Wales,  son  of  George  II., 
and  father  of  George  III.,  lived  at  Kew  House,  which  had  extensive  pleasure-grounds ; 
and,  after  his  death,  his  widow,  the  Princess  Dowager,  assisted  by  the  Earl  of  Bute, 
established  the  Botanic  Garden.  Several  years  afterwards  Sir  Joseph  Banks  bestowed 
upon  it  the  immense  collection  of  plants  and  seeds  he  had  obtained  in  his  voyages ;  and 
other  travellers  following  his  example,  the  Gardens  soon  became  filled  with  the  rarest 
and  choicest  piants.  The  new  Palm-house  is  362  feet  6  inches  long ;  the  ribs  and 
columns  are  of  wrought  rron,  and  the  roofs  are  glazed  with  sheet  glass,  slightly  tinged 
green ;  the  floor  is  of  perforated  cast-iron,  under  which  are  laid  the  pipes,  &c,  for 
wanning  by  hot  water ;  and  the  smoke  is  conveyed  from  the  furnaces  by  a  flue,  479 
feet,  to  an  ornamental  shaft  or  tower,  60  feet  in  height.  The  cost  of  this  magnificent 
Palm-house  has  been  upwards  of  30,000/.  The  Gardens,  under  the  judicious  curator- 
ship  ot  Sir  W.  J.  Hooker,  were  greatly  extended  and  improved.  Among  the  rarities 
here  is  a  weeping  willow,  raised  from  that  which  overshadowed  Napoleon's  remains  at 
St.  Helena;*  the  Egyptian  papyrus;  the  bread-fruit-tree  from  the  South  Sea  Islands; 

*  Willows  from  slips  brought  from  Napoleon's  trees  at  St.  Helena  were,  in  the  year  1836,  flourishing 
In  the  garden  of  Captain  Stevens,  Beaamoat-square,  Mile  End;  in  the  grounds  of  the  late  Sir  Thomas 


GAS-LIGHTING.  371 


the  cocoa-nut,  coffee,  and  cow  trees ;  the  banana  and  cycas  (sago) ;  the  gigantic 
Tussack  grass,  &c.  The  Gardens  are  the  richest  in  the  world  in  New  Holland  plants. 
The  Herbarium  receives  large  collections  from  important  Government  expeditions; 
applications  for  advice  from  persons  proceeding  to  take  charge  of  plantations  of  tea, 
cinchona,  cotton,  coffee,  &c.  ;  and  the  redoubled  activity  of  the  colonies  in  the  publica- 
tion of  their  Floras,  which,  though  paid  for  by  the  Colonial  Government,  can  only  be 
prepared  at  Kew,  or  by  persons  in  direct  and  constant  correspondence  with  its  Her- 
baria and  Museums.  The  Flora  of  the  British  possessions  in  India  is  proceeded  with 
upon  the  same  plan  as  the  colonial  Floras.  Very  satisfactory  has  been  the  success  of 
the  introduction  of  cinchona  plantations  in  India,  in  the  establishment  of  which  Kew 
has  had  so  large  a  share. 

GAS-LIGSTING. 

THE  Very  Rev.  Dr.  Clayton,  Dean  of  Kildare,  having  experimentally  ascertained  that 
a  permanently  elastic  and  inflammable  aeriform  fluid  is  evolved  from  pit-coal ; 
described  the  same  in  a  letter  to  the  Hon.  Robert  Boyle,  who  died  in  1691 ;  though  the 
discovery  was  not  published  in  the  Philosophical  Transactions  till  the  year  1739. 
Hughes,  in  his  Treatise  on  Gas-works,  1853,  says: — "To the  celebrated  Dr.  Watson, 
Bishop  of  Llandaff,  we  are  indebted  for  the  first  notice  of  the  important  fact,  that  coal 
gas  retains  its  inflammability  after  passing  through  water  into  which  it  was  allowed  to 
ascend  through  curved  tubes;"  but  there  is  evidence  in  the  Miscellanea  Curiosa, 
1705-6-7,  vol  iii.  p.  281,  to  show  that  Dr.  Clayton  also  discovered  that  gas  retains  its 
inflammability  after  passing  through  water.  (See  Notes  and  Queries,  2nd  S.,  No.  38, 
pp.  324-5.) 

Although  the  Chinese  have,  for  ages,  employed  natural  Coal-Gas  for  lighting  their 
streets  and  houses,  only  within  the  present  century  has  Gas  superseded  in  London  the 
dim  oil-lights  and  crystal-glass  lamps  of  the  preceding  century.  Dr.  Johnson  is  said  to 
have  had  a  prevision  of  this  change ;  when,  one  evening,  from  the  window  of  his  house 
in  Bolt-court,  he  observed  the  parish  lamplighter  ascend  a  ladder  to  light  one  of  the 
glimmering  oil-lamps  :  he  had  scarcely  descended  the  ladder  halfway  when  the  flame 
expired ;  quickly  returning,  he  lifted  the  cover  partially,  and  thrusting  the  end  of  his 
torch  beneath  it,  the  flame  was  instantly  communicated  to  the  wick  by  the  thick 
vapour  which  issued  from  it.  "Ah  !"  exclaimed  the  Doctor,  "one  of  these  days  the 
streets  of  London  will  be  lighted  by  smoke  !"     {Notes  and  Queries,  No.  127.) 

Coal-gas  had  been  used  for  lighting  by  William  Murdoch,  in  Cornwall,  Birmingham, 
and  Manchester  as  early  as  1792,  when  F.  A.  Winsor,  a  German,  after  several  experi- 
ments, lighted  the  old  Lyceum  Theatre  in  1803-1804;  he  also  established  a  New 
Light  and  Heat  Company,  with  50,000£.  for  further  experiments ;  in  1807  he  lighted 
one  side  of  Pall  Mall,  and  on  the  King's  birthday  (June  4,)  brilliantly  illuminated  the 
wall  between  Pall  Mall  and  St.  James's  Park ;  and  next  exhibited  Gas-light  at  the 
Golden-lane  Brewery,  August  16,  1807. 

In  1809  Winsor  applied  to  Parliament  for  a  charter,  when  the  testimony  of  Accum, 
the  chemist,  was  bitterly  ridiculed  by  the  Committee.  In  1810-12  was  esta- 
blished the  Gas-Light  and  Coke  Company,  in  Cannon-row,  Westminster ;  removed  to 
Peter-street,  or  Horseferry-road,  then  the  site  of  a  market-garden,  poplars,  and  a  tea- 
garden.  In  1814  Westminster  Bridge  was  lighted  with  gas ;  and  the  old  oil-lamps 
were  removed  from  St.  Margaret's  parish,  and  gas  lanterns  substituted ;  and  on  Christmas- 
day,  1814,  commenced  the  general  lighting  of  London  with  gas.  Yet  the  scheme  had 
been  so  ridiculed,  that  Sir  Humphry  Davy,  F.R.S.,  asked  "  if  it  were  intended  to  take 
the  dome  of  St.  Paul's  for  a  gasometer."  Dr.  Arnott  has  truly  said,  with  respect  to  the 
mistakes  about  gas-lighting,  that  "  such  scientific  men  as  Davy,  Wollaston,  and  Watt, 
at  first  gave  an  opinion  that  coal-gas  could  never  be  safely  applied  to  the  purposes  of 
street  lighting." 

"  Winsor's  patent  Gas"  first  illumined  (Jan.  28,  1807,)  the  Carlton  House  side  of 

Farquhar  at  Roehampton ;  in  the  garden  of  the  Roebuck  Tavern,  Richmond  Hill ;  at  No.  1,  Canonbury- 
place,  Islington ;  in  Mr.  Bentley's  garden,  Highbury  Grange;  at  No.  10,  King-street, St.  James's;  in  the 
Surrey  Zoological  Gardens;  at  Kew ;  and  at  No.  11,  Brompton-row.— J.  H.  Fennell,  in  Loudon's  Arbore- 
tum Uritannicum. 

B  B  2 


372  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Pall  Mall ;  the  second,  Bishopsgate-street.  The  writer  attended  a  lecture  given  by 
the  inventor ;  the  charge  of  admittance  was  three  shillings,  hut,  as  the  inventor  was 
about  to  apply  to  Parliament,  members  of  both  houses  were  admitted  gratis.  The 
writer  and  a  fellow -jester  assumed  the  parts  of  senators  at  a  short  notice.  "  Members 
of  Parliament !"  was  their  important  ejaculation  at  the  door  of  entrance.  "  What  places, 
gentlemen  ? "  "  Old  Sarum  and  Bridgewater."  "  Walk  in,  gentlemen."  Luckily,  the 
real  Simon  Pures  did  not  attend.  This  Pall  Mall  illumination  was  further  noticed  in 
Horace  in  London  .— 

"  And  Winsor  lights,  with  flame  of  gas, 
Home  to  King's-plaee  his  mother." 

In  the  Peace  Rejoicings  of  1814,  the  Chinese  bridge  and  pagoda  on  the  canal,  in  St. 
James's  Park,  were  lighted  with  gas.     Mr.  Jerdan,  in  his  Autobiography,  relates : — 

"  My  friend,  David  Pollock,  who  was  about  the  earliest  promoter  of  the  introduction  of  gas  from 
the  invention  of  Mr.  Winsor — the  first  successful  experimentalist  with  it  in  his  own  dwelling — and 
for  30  years  Governor  of  the  Chartered  Gas  Light  and  Coke  Company,  was  so  concerned  in  the  applica- 
tion, that  he  hastened  to  London  from  the  Circuit  to  be  present  at  the  lighting  of  the  bridge  and  pagoda 
with  this  new  flame.  Mortifying  to  relate,  it  will  be  remembered  that  the  pagoda  caught  fire :  the  gas 
was  put  out,  happily  without  explosion,  and  every  part  thrown  into  smouldering  darkness." 

In  1814,  a  Committee  of  Members  of  the  Royal  Society  was  appointed  to  inquire 
into  the  causes  which  led  to  an  explosion  of  the  Gas-works  in  Westminster,  which  had 
only  just  been  established.  The  Committee  consisted  of  Sir  Joseph  Banks,  Sir  C. 
Blagden,  Col.  Congreve,  Mr.  Lawson,  Mr.  Rennie,  Dr.  Wollaston,  and  Dr.  Young 
They  met  several  times  at  the  Gas-works,  for  the  purpose  of  examining  the  apparatus, 
and  made  a  very  elaborate  Report.  They  were  strongly  of  opinion  that  if  gas- 
lighting  was  to  become  prevalent,  the  Gas-works  ought  to  he  placed  at  a  considerable 
distance  from  all  buildings,  and  that  the  reservoirs,  or  gasometers,  should  be  small  and 
numerous ;  and  always  separated  from  each  other  by  mounds  of  earth,  or  strong  party- 
walls.     (Weld's  Hist.  Royal  Society,  vol.  ii.  pp.  235-6.) 

In  1822,  St.  James's  Park  was  first  lighted  with  gas;  and  the  last. important  locality 
to  adopt  gas  lighting  was  Grosvenor-  square  in  1842. 

Theatres  were  first  lighted  in  1817-18 ;  church  clock-dials  in  1827.  The  Hay- 
market  was  the  last  of  the  London  theatres  into  which  gas  was  introduced,  in  conse- 
quence of  some  absurd  prejudice  of  the  proprietor  of  that  theatre,  who  bound  the  lessee 
to  adhere  to  the  old-fashioned  method  of  lighting  with  oil.  The  change  took  place 
April  15,  1853. 

Coal-gas  is  made  from  coal  enclosed  in  red-hot  cast-iron  or  clay  cylinders,  or  retorts ; 
when  hydro-carbon  gases  are  evolved,  and  coke  left  behind ;  the  gas  being  carried  away 
by  wide  tubes,  is  next  cooled  and  washed  with  water,  and  then  exposed  to  lime  in  close 
purifiers.  It  is  then  stored  in  sheet-iron  gas-holders,  miscalled  gasometers :  some  of 
which  hold  700,000  cubic  feet  of  gas ;  and  the  several  London  Companies  have  storage 
for  millions  of  cubic  feet  of  gas.  Thence  it  is  driven  by  the  weight  of  the  gas-holders 
through  cast-iron  mains  or  pipes  under  the  streets,  and  from  them  by  wrought-iron 
service-pipes  to  the  lamps  and  burners. 

The  London  Gas  Company's  works,  Vauxhall,  are  the  most  powerful  and  complete 
in  the  w-orld :  from  this  point,  their  mains  pass  across  Vauxhall-bridge  to  western 
London;  and  by  Westminster  and  Waterloo  Bridges  to  Hampstead  and  Highgate, 
seven  miles  distant,  where  they  supply  gas  with  the  same  precision  and  abundance  as 
at  Vauxhall. 

Gas  made  from  oil  and  resin  is  too  costly  for  street-lighting,  but  has  been  used  for 
large  public  establishments.  Covent- garden  Theatre  was  formerly  lighted  with  oil- 
gas,  made  on  the  premises ;  and  the  London  Institution,  with  resin-gas,  first  made  by 
Mr.  Daniell.  The  lime-ball,  Bude,  Boccius,  and  electric  lights  have  been  exhibited 
experimentally  for  street-lighting,  but  are  too  expensive.  Upon  the  Patent  Air-light 
(from  the  vapour  of  hydro-carbon,  mixed  with  atmospheric  air),  proposed  in  1838, 
upwards  of  30,000Z.  were  expended  unsuccessfully. 

"What  has  the  new  light  of  all  the  preachers  done  for  the  morality  and  order  of  London,  compared 
to  what  had  been  effected  by  gas  lighting !  Old  Murdoch  alone  has  suppressed  more  vice  than  the 
Suppression  Society;  and  has  been  a  greater  police-officer  into  the  bargain  than  old  Colquhoun  and 
Sir  Richard  Birnie  united. — Wettminster  Jtecievi,  1829. 

From  a  recent  Parliamentary  Return,  it  appears  that  in  the  year  1865,  the  total  revenue  paid  by  the 


GATE-HOUSE— GEOLOGY  OF  LONDON.  373 


consumers  and  the  public  for  gas  in  the  metropolis,  amounts  to  the  large  sum  of  1,767,2612.  19s.  9d.  per 
annum.  This  total  increases  every  year  with  the  growth  of  the  metropolis  and  the  increased  consump- 
tion of  gas. 

A  public  lamp  has  been  kept  up  in  a  part  of  Billingsgate,  where,  upwards  of  200  years  ago,  a  citizen 
fell  at  night  and  broke  his  leg,  and  afterwards  bequeathed  a  sum  of  42.  a  year  for  the  maintenance 
there  of  a  public  light  at  night  for  all  time.  The  money  has  been  paid  for  two  centuries ;  and,  since  the 
introduction  of  gas,  to  a  gas  company,  who  have  kept  up  the  light. 

An  ordinary  candle  consumes  as  much  air  while  burning  as  a  man  in  health  while 
breathing ;  the  same  may  be  said  with  regard  to  gas,  oil-lamps,  &c,  bearing  a  propor- 
tion to  the  amount  of  light  evolved.  One  hour  after  the  gas  of  London  is  lighted,  the 
air  is  deoxydized  as  much  as  if  500,000  people  had  been  added  to  its  population. 
During  the  combustion  of  oil,  tallow,  gas,  &c,  water  is  produced.  In  cold  weather  we 
see  it  condensed  on  the  windows  of  ill-ventilated  shops.  By  the  burning  of  gas  in 
London  during  twenty-four  hours,  more  water  is  produced  than  would  supply  a  ship 
laden  with  emigrants  on  a  voyage  from  London  to  Adelaide. 

GATEHOUSE  (THE),  WESTMINSTER, 

BUILT  temp.  Edward  III.  as  the  principal  approach  to  the  Monastery,  stood  at  the 
western  entrance  of  Tothill-street,  and  consisted  of  two  gates,  the  southern,  leading 
out  of  Great  Dean's-yard,  and  a  receptacle  for  felons.  On  the  east  side  was  the  Bishop 
of  London's  prison  for  clerks-convict ;  the  rooms  over  the  other  gate  adjoining,  but 
towards  the  west,  being  a  prison-house  for  state,  ecclesiastical,  and  parliamentary 
offenders,  prisoners  from  the  Court  of  Conscience,  as  well  as  for  debtors  and  felons. 
The  latter  were  brought  hither  through  Thieving-lane  and  Union-street,  to  prevent 
escape  by  entering  the  liberties  of  Sanctuary. 

Among  the  distinguished  prisoners  confined  here  were,  Nicholas  Vaux,  for  propagating 
the  Romish  religion — he  died  here  of  cold  and  hunger,  1571 ;  Lady  Purbeck,  for 
adultery,  1622 — she  escaped  to  France,  disguised  in  a  man's  dress;  John  Selden, 
1630 ;  Sir  Walter  Raleigh,  his  last  prison-house,  whence  he  was  led  to  the  block  in 
Old  Palace-yard ;  Lovelace,  the  Cavalier  poet,  who  wrote  here  his  loyal  song,  "  To 
Althaea,  from  prison ;"  Sir  Charles  Lyttleton,  whom  Clarendon  said  was  "  worth  big 
weight  in  gold ;"  in  1690,  Pepys,  the  diarist,  charged  with  being  affected  towards  the 
abdicated  James  II. ;  Sir  Jeffrey  Hudson,  the  court-dwarf,  suspected  of  joining  the 
Popish  Plot,  died  here ;  in  1701,  five  "  men  of  Kent,"  for  a  "  scandalous,  insolent,  and 
seditious"  petition  to  the  House  of  Commons ;  in  1716,  Thomas  Harley,  for  prevarica- 
tion to  the  House  of  Commons;  the  nonjuring  Jeremy  Collier,  1692;  and  Richard 
Savage,  the  poet,  committed  here  for  the  murder  of  Mr.  Sinclair  in  a  tavern  fray.  The 
debtors  used  to  let  down  upon  a  pole  an  alms-box,  to  collect  money  from  the  passers  in 
the  street.  The  Gate-house  was  taken  down  in  1777 ;  except  one  arch,  which  remained 
till  1836  in  the  wall  of  the  house  once  inhabited  by  the  Right  Hon.  Edmund  Burke. 
(See  Walcott's  Westminster,  p.  273.) 

GEOLOGY  OF  LONDON. 

WE  give  the  views  of  certain  of  our  leading  geologists.  The  area  on  which  the 
metropolis  is  situated,  as  well  as  the  surrounding  district  to  a  distance  varying 
from  a  radius  of  ten  to  twenty  or  thirty  miles,  consists  of  the  marine  tertiary  eocene 
(dawn  of  recent)  strata,  which  have  been  deposited  in,  and  still  occupy  a  depression  or 
excavation  of  the  chalk  called  the  London  basin.  Around  this  formation  the  chalk 
forms  a  distinct  boundary,  on  the  south,  west,  and  north  rising  up  into  chains  of  hills 
or  downs,  averaging  400  feet  in  height  above  the  level  of  the  Thames ;  but  on  the  east 
the  range  is  broken,  and  the  tertiary  basin  lies  open  to  the  sea,  affording  a  passage  for 
the  Thames  and  its  tributary  streams.     (Mantell.) 

The  chalk,  so  prominent  in  the  country  around  Gravesend,  Croydon,  and  Epsom, 
passes  beneath  London  at  a  depth  not  exceeding  150  to  250  feet.  It  is  covered,  first, 
by  a  series  of  beds  of  sand  and  mottled  clays,  50  to  80  feet  thick ;  and  these  are  again 
overlaid  by  the  London  clay,  from  100  to  400  feet  thick :  in  the  south-east  corner  of 
the  county  it  is  only  44  feet  thick  ;  while  at  White's  Club-house,  St.  James's-street,  it 
is  235  feet.  This  clay  is  usually  very  tough  and  tenacious,  with  the  exception  of  a  por- 
tion of  its  upper  beds,  which  is  mixed  with  sand.     Mr.  R.  W.  Mylne,  F.G.S.,  in  his 


374  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"  Geological  and  Topographical  Maps,"  1852,  was  the  first  to  point  out  the  exact  extent 
of  these  higher  beds,  upon  the  nature  of  the  surface  on  which  the  pleasant  character  of 
the  country  of  Highgate  and  Hampstead  is  dependent.*  But  the  most  remarkable 
variety  in  the  geological  features — a  variety  attended  by  a  corresponding  diversity  of 
scenery — occurs  in  the  district  between  Woolwich,  Greenwich,  Blackheatb,  and  Lewis- 
ham.  We  there  find  the  outcrops  of  no  less  than  five  different  groups  of  strata,  com- 
mencing with  the  chalk  and  ending  with  the  London  clay.  Throughout  a  great  part 
of  London,  this  clay  is  overlaid  by  drift  gravel,  varying  from  5  to  20  feet  in  thickness. 
The  chalk  basin,  formed  by  the  strata  bending  or  dipping  in  the  middle,  contains  pure 
water ;  into  this  formation  the  Artesian  Wells  of  London  are  often  carried  down ;  but 
it  is  a  question  as  to  the  quantity.     (See  Artesian  Weils,  p.  23.) 

The  gravel  is  not  confined  to  the  low  grounds,  but  caps  the  highest  summits  of  the 
districts — e.g.,  Highgate  on  the  north,  and  Shooter's  Hill  on  the  south,  of  the  Thames. 
To  explain  this  distribution  of  the  gravel  by  the  operation  of  the  actual  rivers,  we  must 
first  suppose  that  an  uniform  plain  originally  existed  from  the  summit  of  Highgate  to 
the  Hertfordshire  chalk  downs,  and  from  the  top  of  Shooter's  Hill  to  those  of  Kent,  on 
the  surface  of  which  the  rivers  once  flowed;  secondly,  that  these  rivers  have  subse- 
quently washed  away  all  that  immense  mass  of  material  which  would  be  requisite  thu9 
to  re-construct  the  surface ;  and  thirdly,  that  after  having  worn  down  that  surface  into 
nearly  its  present  form,  the  rivers  perpetually  shifted  their  channels,  so  as  to  distribute 
the  gravel  equally  over  the  whole  plain  of  London,  yet  remained  long  enough  in  each 
channel  to  lodge  there  deposits  of  this  gravel  20  or  30  feet  thick.     (Conybeare.) 

Mr.  Prestwich,  F.R.S.,  F.G.S.,  has,  in  three  lectures,  entitled  The  Ground  beneath 
Us,  most  lucidly  explained  its  geological  phases  and  changes.  Thus,  immediately  below 
the  vegetable  soil,  in  many  parts  of  the  metropolis,  we  find  a  bed  of  ochreous-coloured 
gravel,  which  is  the  great  source  of  water-supply  to  all  the  historic  pumps  of  the  City 
and  of  Westminster.  The  greater  part  of  this  gravel  was  brought  from  the  hills  of 
Surrey  and  Sussex,  which  have  sent  us  alike  the  flints,  the  sandstone  and  the  chert, 
which  compose  the  bulk  of  it.  A  few  pebbles  formed  of  quartz,  slate  and  other  sub- 
stances, have  evidently  been  brought  from  the  north-west,  by  forces  acting  in  a  direc- 
tion diametrically  opposite  to  those  which  wore  down  the  chalk  of  Southern  England, 
and  deposited  its  flints  in  the  London  basin.  How  the  gravel  came  is  explained  by 
these  hypotheses: — 1.  A  great  body  of  water  may  have  swept  from  the  southward  into 
the  valley  of  the  Thames ;  2,  a  large  river  flowing  through  Sussex  and  Surrey  may  have 
brought  down  fragments  of  the  rocks  over  which  it  passed ;  3,  marine  currents  may  have 
scattered  the  gravel  over  the  surface  of  the  country  ;  4,  ice  may  have  brought  its  vast, 
and,  as  yet,  perhaps,  imperfectly  understood  power  to  aid  in  the  production  of  the 
phenomena  around  us.  To  all  these  theories  there  are  objections ;  but  we  may  pro- 
visionally accept  them  all,  and  allow  that  the  force  to  which  each  would  assign  a  too 
exclusive  pre-eminence  may  have  done  its  part  in  heaping  up  that  mighty  gravel-bed 
which  is  so  important  to  the  health  of  the  "  world-city  on  the  banks  of  the  Thames." 
Mr.  Prestwich  has  examined  both  the  position  of  the  gravel  in  the  geological  series,  and 
the  organic  remains  which  are  found  in  various  parts  of  it ;  in  which  investigation  he 
has  drawn  largely  upon  Professor  Owen's  British  Fossil  Mammals  and  Birds.  On  the 
whole,  he  concludes  that  the  gravel  was  spread  over  Clapham-common  before  the  land 
in  the  neighbourhood  of  London  had  quite  assumed  its  present  configuration. 

The  London  clay  immediately  underlies  the  gravel  of  the  metropolis,  at  a  depth 
generally  of  from  three  to  twelve  feet;  although,  of  course,  it  is  really  separated  from 
it  by  a  vast  interval  of  geological  time,  by  part  of  the  Eocene  and  by  all  the  Miocene 
and  Pliocene  periods.  The  London  clay  is  very  homogeneous  in  its  mass,  and  where 
fully  developed  it  measures  from  400  to  500  feet  in  thickness.  In  the  middle  of  the 
Thames  Valley  a  great  portion  of  it  has  been  swept  away,  and  at  Clapham  it  is  only 
about  200  feet  thick.     After  determining  the  position  of  the  London  clay  in  the  geo- 

*  Mr.  Mylne  has  issued  a  "Map  of  the  Geology  and  Contours  of  London  and  its  Environs,"  1857, 
which,  to  a  scale  of  3J  inches  to  one  mile,  exhibits  an  area  of  176  square  miles—  extending  from  Kew- 
bridge  on  the  west  to  Plumstead  Marshes  on  the  east,  distant  sixteen  miles;  and  from  Hornsey  on  the 
north,  to  the  Crystal  Palace  on  the  south,  distant  eleven  miles— showing  the  variations  of  level  by 
contour  lines,  and  the  geological  features  of  the  surface  of  the  ground  in  and  around  London,  and  giving 
much  other  useful  information. 


ST.   GEORGE'S  FIELDS.  375 

logical  scale,  Mr.  Prestwieh  examines  the  organic  remains  of  the  formation,  from  the 
microscopic  foraminifera  up  to  pachyderms  allied  to  the  tapir  of  South  America.  The 
plants  of  Sheppey  are  also  noticed.  The  characteristic  pyritized  fruits  and  twigs  of 
the  London  clay  may  he  found  hy  tens  of  thousands  upon  the  open  heaeh  at  Sheerness. 

Lower  London  Tertiaries  are  a  much  less  homogeneous  deposit  than  the  mass  of  clay 
which  lies  ahove  it.  It  is  divided  into  three  sub-groups,  the  highest  of  which  is  known 
as  the  "  basement  bed"  of  the  London  clay.  This  is  a  marine  deposit,  agreeing  in 
mineralogical  character  with  the  strata  which  lie  beneath  it,  but  closely  connected  with 
the  superincumbent  mass  by  the  character  of  its  fossils.  Next  comes  the  "  Woolwich 
and  Reading  Series,"  a  group  of  fresh  water  and  estuary  origin.  Still  lower  we  have 
the  "  Thanet  Sands,"  a  small  marine  deposit. 

The  "  Thanet  Sands"  are  economically  of  great  importance,  as  forming  "  underneath 
London  and  the  adjacent  districts  a  large  water-bearing  stratum — that  which  supplies 
all  the  early  and  many  of  the  later  Artesian  wells."  A  large  layer  of  chalk  flints  of  a 
deep  olive  or  bottle-green  colour  lies  at  the  base  of  the  "  Thanet  Sands,"  and  separates 
them  from  the  upper  surface  of  the  chalk.  Mr.  Prestwieh  sets  before  us  that  wonderful 
period,  comparatively  so  near  to  us,  when,  during  the  period  of  the  "  London  clay," 
under  a  sun  such  as  now  shines  on  Ternate  and  Tidore,  tall  palms  and  gigantic  lianes, 
and  stiff-leaved  evergreens  were  haunted  by  great  troops  of  monkeys  and  by  huge 
pachyderms.  There  are  also  some  very  interesting  remarks  which  bear  likewise  upon 
the  phenomena  of  the  coal  period,  as  to  the  impossibility  of  accounting  for  the  hot 
climate  of  the  Lower  Eocene  by  a  mere  change  in  the  relative  position  of  land  and 
water. — Paper  in  Saturday  Bevieiv,  1858. 

Amongst  the  contents  of  the  London  basin  are  balls  of  imperfect  ironstone  (septaria),  of  which 
Parker's  cement  is  made ;  branches  and  stems  of  trees,  penetrated  by  the  teredo  navalin,  are  found  here, 
as  is  also  a  species  of  resin.  A  fossil  tree  and  nautili  were  found  in  digging  the  Primrose-hill  railway- 
tunnel.  Remains  of  turtles  and  crocodiles,  and  elephants'  teeth  and  tusks,  have  been  dug  out  of  the 
clay  at  Highgate  and  Islington. 

Fossils  are  occasionally  found  on  the  rising  slopes  near  Holloway,  formed  by  the  earth  thrown  up  in 
1812,  when  the  Highgate  tunnel  was  made.  Fine  specimens  of  echinut  marinus  (sea  urchin)  have  been 
picked  up  in  a  field  contiguous  to  the  archway,  together  with  a  fish  resembling  a  sole ;  another  fish, 
resembling  a  mackerel,  in  the  brick-fields ;  and  a  narrow  stratum  of  dusty  earth  abounds  with  mussels, 
pectines,  and  other  fossil  bivalves ;  with  large  quantities  of  iron  combined  with  sulphur,  in  the  form 
of  pyrites.    In  a  meadow  behind  Caen  Wood  is  a  spring  highly  impregnated  with  iron. 

In  1813,  Mr.  Trimmer's  brick-fields,  at  Brentford,  yielded  such  a  collection  of  sea-shells,  sharks' 
teeth,  bones  of  the  elephant,  hippopotamus,  ox,  and  deer,  together  with  fresh-water  shells,  as  to  remind 
one  of  the  relics  of  a  vast  menagerie  of  animals  from  all  quarters  of  the  globe;  and  in  1840,  in  excavat- 
ing 40  feet  deep  near  Kew  Bridge,  were  found  several  nautili,  and  smaller  marine  shells.  For  the 
disappearance  of  the  British  mammoths,  whose  remains  are  found  here,  Sir  R.  I.  Murchison  accounts 
by  viewing  England  as  the  comparatively  small  island  she  was,  when  the  ancient  estuary  of  the  Thames, 
including  the  plains  of  Hyde  Park,  Chelsea,  Hounslow,  and  Uxbridge,  were  under  water,  and  the 
country  thus  afforded  but  insufficient  feeding-grounds  for  these  stupendous  quadrupeds.  In  the  days  of 
the  Mammoths,  we  had  in  England  a  hippopotamus  larger  than  the  species  which  now  inhabits  the  Nile. 
Of  our  British  hippopotamus  some  remains  were  dug  up  by  the  workmen  in  preparing  the  foundations 
of  the  New  Junior  United  Service  Club-house,  in  Regent-street. 

Eocene  is  Sir  Charles  Lyell's  term  for  the  lowest  group  of  the  Tertiary  system  in  which  the  dawu  of 
recent  life  appears ;  and  any  one  who  wishes  to  realize  what  was  the  aspect  presented  by  this  country 
during  the  Eocene  period,  need  only  go  to  Sheerness.  If,  leaving  that  place  behind  him,  he  walks  down 
the  Thames,  keeping  close  to  the  edge  of  the  water,  he  will  find  whole  bushels  of  pyritized  pieces  of 
twigs  and  fruits.  These  fruits  and  twigs  belong  to  plants  nearly  allied  to  the  screw-pine  and  custard- 
apple,  and  to  various  species  of  palms  and  spice-trees  which  now  flourish  in  the  Eastern  Archipelago. 
At  the  time  they  were  washed  down  from  some  neighbouring  land,  not  only  crocodilian  reptiles,  but 
sharks  and  innumerable  turtles,  inhabited  a  sea  or  estuary  which  now  forms  part  of  the  London  dis- 
trict; and  huge  boa-constrictors  glided  amongst  the  trees  which  fringed  the  adjoining  shores. 

ST.  GEORGE'S  FIELDS, 

BETWEEN  Lambeth  and  the  borough  of  Southwark,  were  anciently  an  important 
district,  occupied  by  the  Romans,  attested  by  the  large  quantities  of  coins,  bricks, 
an  urn  full  of  bones,  tessellated  pavements,  &c,  found  here ;  the  urn  is  preserved  in  the 
Museum  of  the  Royal  Society.  St.  George's  Fields  were  also  crossed  by  the  great 
Roman  road,  Watling-street,  presumed  to  have  passed  from  Kent  through  Old  Croydon, 
or  Woodcote  (supposed  to  be  the  ancient  Noviomagus),  Streatham,  and  Newington,  to 
Stone-street  in  Southwark ;  and  thence  by  a  ferry  over  the  Thames  to  Dowgate  and 
the  Watling-street  of  our  day.  A  branch  of  the  Ermine-street,  from  Chichester  in 
Sussex,  is  also  conjectured  to  have  assumed  the  name  of  Stone-street  on  entering  Surrey  ; 


376  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

and  to  have  passed  by  Dorking,   Woodcote,  Streatham,  Kennington,  and  Ncwington, 
across  St.  George's  Fields,  into  Southwark.    This  Roman  occupation  is,  however,  disputed. 

Maitland,  who  carefully  examined  this  district,  says,  "  It  can  hardly  he  supposed  that  the  sagacious 
Romans  would  have  made  choice  of  so  noisome  a  place  for  a  station  as  St.  George's-in-the-Fields  must 
have  been ;  for  to  me  it  is  evident,  that  those  fields  must  have  been  overflowed  by  every  spring  tide. 
Notwithstanding  the  river  being  at  present  confined  by  artificial  banks,  I  have  frequently  at  spring- 
tides seen  the  small  current  of  water  which  issues  from  the  river  Thames  through  a  common  sewer  at 
the  Falcon  not  only  fill  all  the  neighbouring  ditches,  but  also  at  the  upper  end  of  Gravel-lane,  overflow 
its  banks  into  St.  George's  Fields ;  and  considering  that  a  twelfth  part  of  the  water  of  the  river  is 
denied  passage  by  the  piers  and  sterlings  of  (old)  London-bridge  (it  flowing  at  an  ordinary  spring-tide 
upwards  of  19  inches  higher  on  the  east  than  on  the  west  side  of  the  said  bridge),  I  think  that  this  is 
a  plain  indication  that  before  the  Thames  was  confined  by  banks,  St.  George's-in-the-fields  must  have 
been  considerably  under  water  every  high  tide,  and  that  that  part  of  the  said  fields,  called  Lambeth- 
marsh  was  under  water  not  an  age  ago." 

St.  George's  Fields  anciently  included  the  whole  space  peninsulated  by  the  bend  of  the  river  Thames, 
commencing  at  Greenwich,  and  terminating  at  Nine  Elms.  This  was,  probably,  originally  a  large 
marshy  bay,  across  which  were  several  lines  of  transit  at  low  water,  leading  from  the  rising  grounds  at 
Norwood,  Camberwell,  and  Dulwich,  to  fords  at  various  places  across  the  Thames.  Ptolemy  (second 
century)  mentions  that  the  Romans  had  then  settled  south  of  the  river,  though  the  north  bank  was 
their  original  station :  subsequently,  the  tract  called  St.  George's  Fields  having  been  partially  drained, 
and  eaic*etcay8  (as  at  Newington)  through  the  marshes  constructed,  forts  and  other  buildings  were 
erected,  and  a  southern  suburb  of  London  gradually  arose. — lirayley's  Surrey,  vol.  v.  p.  337. 

Nearly  to  the  present  century,  the  Fields  lay  waste,  and  were  the  scene  of  brutalizing 
sports,  political  meetings,  and  low  places  of  entertainment.  In  their  water-ditclies 
Gerarde  found  plenty  of  water-violets  :  and  scores  of  gardens  existed  here  to  our  time. 
Here  a  riot  was  raised  by  the  mobs  who  met  to  visit  Wilkes  in  the  King's  Bench 
Prison,  in  1768 ;  and  here  Lord  George  Gordon's  rioters  met,  June  2,  1780 ;  and  on 
the  7th,  the  700  prisoners  in  the  King's  Bench  were  liberated,  and  the  building  set 
on  fire  by  the  populace.  Here  were  the  Dog  and  Duck  Wells,  in  1695,  which  grew  to 
be  a  Sabbath-breaking  tavern  j  the  premises  were  last  tenanted  as  the  School  for  the 
Indigent  Blind;  the  site  is  now  included  in  Bethlem  Hospital,  and  the  sculptured 
sign-stone  preserved  in  the  boundary-wall  denotes  the  site  of  the  tavern-entrance. 
(See  Bethlem  Hospital,  p.  51 ;  Blind  School,  p.  58 ;  and  St.  George's  Roman 
Catholic  Chtjbch,  p.  238.) 

ST.  GILES'S, 

ORIGINALLY  a  village  in  the  north-west  suburbs  of  London,  was  named  from  an 
Hospital  for  lepers,  dedicated  to  the  Saint,  built  on  the  site  of  a  small  church  or 
oratory,  and  nearly  upon  the  site  of  the  present  church,  about  1117,  by  Matilda,  queen 
of  Henry  I.  The  gardens  and  precincts  extended  between  High-street  and  Hog-lane 
(now  Crown-street),  and  the  Pound,*  west  of  Meux's  brewery.  In  1213,  the  village 
was  laid  out  in  garden-plots,  with  cottages ;  it  had  its  ancient  stone  cross ;  and  about 
1225  there  was  a  blacksmith's  shop  at  the  north-west  end  of  Drury-lane,  which  re- 
mained long  after  the  suppression  of  the  Hospital,f  or  about  1600,  when  the  "verie 
pleasant  village"  was  built  over ;  "  on  the  High-street,  Holborn,"  says  Stow,  "  have 
ye  many  faire  houses  builded,  and  lodgings  for  gentlemen,  inns  for  travellers,  and  such 
like,  up  almost,  for  it  lacketh  little,  to  St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields." 

Aggas's  plan  shows  fields  and  gardens  from  St.  Giles's  Hospital  wall  to  Chancery- 
lane,  eastward,  with  a  few  houses  at  the  north  end  of  Drury-lane,  and  opposite  the  pre- 
sent Red  Lion-street,  Holborn.  Thence  to  the  north  side  of  the  Strand  are  two  or 
three  houses  in  Covent-garden ;  Drury  House,  at  the  bottom  of  Drury-lane ;  and  cattle 
grazing  on  the  site  of  Great  Queen-street,  Lincoln's-inn-fields.  Early  in  the  reign  of 
Queen  Anne,  the  whole  parish  of  St.  Giles's,  except  the  neighbourhood  of  Bedford- 
square  and  the  present  Bloomsbury,  was  covered  with  houses. 

The  village  of  St.  Giles's  was  noted  for  its  early  inns  and  houses  of  entertainment.  Here  was 
Croche  House  (Le  Crocke  Hose,  or  the  Crossed  Stockings,  sign),  which  belonged  to  the  Hospital  cook, 
anno  1300,  and  was  opposite  the  north  end  of  Monmouth-stteet.    The  Swan  on  the  Hoop,  iu  Holborn, 

*  The  exact  site  of  St.  Giles's  Pound  (whence  miles  on  the  Oxford  road  were  measured),  is  an  area 
of  30  feet  of  the  broad  space  where  St.  Giles's,  High-street,  Tottenham-court-road,  and  Oxford-street, 
meet ;  around  it  was  a  nestling-place  of  crime : 

"  At  Newgate-steps  Jack  Chance  was  found, 
And  bred  up  near  St.  Giles's  Pound." 
t  The  celebrated  Dr.  Andrew  Boorde  rented  for  many  years  the  Master's  House,  temp.  Henry  VIII. 


ST.  GILES'S.  377 


east  of  Drury-lane,  is  mentioned  34  Edward  III.;  and  the  White  Hart,  corner  of  Holborn  and  Drury- 
lane,  is  shown  in  Aggas's  plan,  1560,  and  was  an  inn  till  1720.  Not  far  eastward  was  the  Rose,  named 
in  a  deed,  Edward  111.;  with  the  Vine,  a  little  east  of  Kingsgate-street,  supposed  to  have  been  on  the 
site  of  the  Vineyard  in  Holborn,  named  in  Domesday  Book.  The  Vine  was  taken  down  in  1817,  and 
the  house  built  on  its  site  was  occupied  by  Probert,  the  accomplice  of  the  murderer  John  Thurtell. 
The  Maidenhead  inn,  in  Dyott-street,  flourished  early  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth.  The  Turnstile 
Tavern,  south-west  corner  of  Great  Turnstile,  was  bequeathed  to  the  parish  in  1640;  and  the  Cock  and 
Pye  was  in  the  fields  of  that  name. 

About  the  year  1413,  the  gallows  was  removed  from  the  Elms  in  Smithfield  to  the 
north  end  of  the  garden-wall  of  St.  Giles's  Hospital ;  and  it  is  figured  in  an  ancient 
plan  of  the  district. 

1416.  "  Thys  yere  the  xiiij  day  of  December  Sir  John  Oldecastell  Knyghte  was  drawne  from  the 
tower  of  London  un  to  gent  Gylles  in  the  felde  and  there  was  hongyd  (on  a  gallows  new  made)  and 
brent. —  Chronicle  of  the  Grey  Friars  of  London. 

The  gallows  was  again  removed  westward  to  Tyburn,  when  St.  Giles's  became  a  sort 
of  half-way  house  for  condemned  criminals,  who  stopped  at  the  Hospital,  and  afterwards 
at  an  hostel  built  near  its  site,  and  were  there  presented  with  a  large  bowl  of  ale.  This 
gave  a  moral  taint  to  St.  Giles's,  and  made  it  a  retreat  for  noisome  and  squalid  outcasts. 
The  Puritans  made  stout  efforts  to  reform  its  morals;  and,  as  the  parish  books  attest, 
"  oppressed  tipplers"  were  fined  for  drinking  on  the  Lord's-day,  and  vintners  for  per- 
mitting them ;  fines  were  levied  for  swearing  oaths,  travelling  and  brewing  on  a  fast- 
day,  &c.  Again,  St.  Giles's  was  a  refuge  for  the  persecuted  tipplers  and  ragamuffins  of 
London  and  Westminster  in  those  days  ;  and  its  blackguardism  was  increased  by  harsh 
treatment.  It  next  became  the  abode  of  knots  of  disaffected  foreigners,  chiefly  French- 
men, of  whom  a  club  was  held  in  Seven  Dials.  Smollett  speaks,  in  1740,  of  "  two 
tatterdemalions  from  the  purlieus  of  St.  Giles's,  and  between  them  both  there  was  but 
one  shirt  and  a  pair  of  breeches."  Hogarth  painted  his  moralities  from  St.  Giles's  : 
his  "  Gin-lane"  has  for  its  background  St.  George's  Church,  Bloomsbury,  date  1751 : 
"when,"  says  Hogarth,  "these  two  prints  ('Gin-lane'  and  'Beer-street')  were 
designed  and  engraved,  the  dreadful  consequences  of  gin-drinking  appeared  in  every 
house  in  Gin-lane ;  every  circumstance  of  its  horrid  effects  is  brought  to  view  in  ter- 
rorem — not  a  house  in  tolerable  condition  but  the  pawnbroker's  and  the  gin-shop* — the 
coffin-maker's  in  the  distance."  Again,  the  scene  of  Hogarth's  "  Harlot's  Progress" 
is  in  Drury-lane ;  Tom  Nero,  in  his  "  Four  Stages  of  Cruelty,"  is  a  St.  Giles's  charity- 
boy  ;  and  in  a  night-cellar  here  the  "  Idle  Apprentice"  is  taken  up  for  murder.  Here 
were  often  scenes  of  bloody  fray,  riot,  and  chance-medley ;  for  in  this  wretched  district 
were  grouped  herds  of  men  but  little  removed  from  savagery.  The  Round-house  *] 
(Watch-house)  of  St.  Giles's  was  probably  one  of  the  last  that  remained  :  it  stood  in 
an  angle  of  Kendrick-yard,  and  its  back  windows  looked  upon  the  burial-ground  of  St. 
Giles's  Church ;  it  was  built  in  a  cylindrical  form,  like  a  modern  martello  tower,  though, 
from  bulging,  it  resembled  an  enormous  cask  set  on  its  end :  it  was  two  stories  high, 
and  had  a  flat  roof,  surmounted  by  a  gilded  vane,  in  the  shape  of  a  key.  (See  W.  H.  i 
Ainsworth's  Jack  Sheppard.)  " 

Seven  Dials  was  built  temp.  Charles  II.  for  wealthy  tenants.  Evelyn  notes,  1694  : 
"  I  went  to  see  the  building  near  St.  Giles's,  where  Seven  Dials  make  a  star  from  a 
Doric  pillar  placed  in  the  middle  of  a  circular  area,  said  to  be  by  Mr.  Neale  (the  intro- 
ducer of  the  late  lotteries),  in  imitation  of  Venice,  now  set  up  here  for  himself  twice, 
and  once  for  the  state." 

"  Where  famed  St.  Giles's  ancient  limits  spread, 
An  in-rail'd  column  rears  its  lofty  head  ; 
Here  to  seven  streets  seven  dials  count  their  day, 
And  from  each  other  catch  the  circling  ray : 
Here  oft  the  peasant,  with  inquiring  face, 
Bewilder'd  trudges  on  from  place  to  place  ; 
He  dwells  on  every  sign  with  stupid  gaze, 
Enters  the  narrow  alley's  doubtful  maze, 
Tries  every  winding  court  and  street  in  vain, 
And  doubles  o'er  his  weary  steps  again."— Gat's  Trivia,  book  ii. 

The  seven  streets  were  Great  and  Little  Earl,  Great  and  Little  White  Lion,  Great 

*  A  Middlesex  magistrate  said,  in  1817 :  "  In  the  early  part  of  my  life  (I  remember  almost  the  time 
which  Hogarth  has  pictured)  every  house  in  St.  Giles's,  whatever  else  they  sold,  sold  gin  ;  every  chand- 
ler's shop  sold  gin :  the  situation  of  the  people  was  dreadful." 


378  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

and  Little  St.  Andrew's,  and  Queen ;  though  the  dial-stone  had  hut  six  faces,  two  of  the 
streets  opening  into  one  angle.  The  column  and  dials  were  removed  in  June,  1773,  to 
search  for  a  treasure  said  to  he  concealed  heneath  the  base :  they  were  never  replaced, 
but  in  1822  were  purchased  of  a  stone-mason,  and  the  column  was  surmounted  with  a 
ducal  coronet,  and  set  up  on  Weybridge  Green  as  a  memorial  to  the  Duchess  of 
York,  who  died  at  Oatlands  in  1820.  The  dial  is  now  a  stepping-stone  at  the  adjoin- 
ing Ship  Inn. 

"Everybody  whose  affairs  lead  him  to  be  constantly  running  about  London  knows  the  dirty 
labyrinth  of  Seven  Dials ;  indeed,  we  might  rather  say  everybody  does  not  know  it,  for  it  takes  a  long 
apprenticeship  in  pavement-polishing  to  become  acquainted  with  its  bearings  and  intricacies.  The 
respective  gin-shops  at  its  corners  arc  the  only  guides.  In  other  wildernesses  of  natural  objects,  instead 
of  bricks  and  mortar,  the  sun  and  stars  would  serve  to  indicate  points  of  the  compass,  but  in  Seven 
Dials  the  sun  and  the  6tars  are  seldom  visible.  A  heavy  tarpaulin  of  fog,  and  smoke,  and  reeking  odours, 
covers  the  entire  district,  shutting  out  the  heavens  by  a  murky  medium,  under  which  increases  and 
multiplies  the  most  unlovely  race  of  the  mammoth  metropolis.  They  never  get  a  lung-full  of  good 
V  air.  The  only  innocuous  atmosphere  they  breathe  is  that  which  sometimes  surges  down  over  the  roofs 
^  of  the  many-peopled  houses  from  the  adjacent  brewery,  and  even  that  is  artificial." — Albert  Smith. 

Long  Acre,  the  Seven  Dials,  and  Soho,  were  Cock  and  Pie  Fields,  the  resort  of  the  idle 
and  dissolute,  until,  temp.  William  III.,  Mr.Neale  built  upon  the  ground.  Great  Wild- 
street  is  named  from  the  mansion  here  of  the  Welds,  the  Dorset  Roman  Catholic  family  j 
Bainbridge  and  Buckeridge  streets,  from  their  owners,  men  of  wealth,  temp.  Charles  II. ; 
and  Dyott-street  (now  George-street),  from  Sir  Thomas  Dyott,  who  died  in  the  same 
reign,  devising  the  property,  since  Dyott  and  other  streets,  upon  the  condition  that  it 
should  be  appropriated  to  the  same  style  of  building,  and  the  same  description  of  in- 
habitants that  so  long  kept  possession  of  it.  Out  of  these  very  streets  was  formed  the 
Rookery,  removed  for  New  Oxford-street.  Here  the  Irish  first  colonized  London,  in  the 
reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth ;  hence  St.  Giles's  has  been  called  Little  Dublin ;  and  in 
1637  cellars  are  first  mentioned  in  the  parish -books  as  places  of  residence.. 

On  Sept.  27, 1841,  died,  aged  70,  in  the  house  in  which  he  was  born,  Mr.  Robert  Smith,  12,  Great  St. 
Andrew-street,  Seven  Dials,  a  smith,  possessed  of  £400,000  in  funded,  freehold,  and  leasehold  property : 
he  built  between  150  and  200  houses  in  the  Hampstead-road. 

Monmouth  (now  Dudley)  street,  said  to  be  named  after  the  unfortunate  Duke  (who 
had  a  mansion  on  the  site  of  Bateman's-buildings,  Soho-square),  was  long  noted  for  its  sign- 
board painters ;  its  dealers  in  amateur  theatrical  properties,  singing-birds,  old  clothes, 
and  second-hand  boots  and  shoes;  but  the  "laced  and  embroidered  coats  in  Mon- 
mouth-street,"  mentioned  by  Lady  Mary  Wortley  Montague,  have  become  exchanged 
for  the  sombre  suits  of  our  fashion.  Here  also  were  public-houses  noted  for  fancy-dog 
shows.  Whole  families  and  schools  lived  in  the  cellars.  In  1797,  many  horse-shoes 
nailed  to  the  thresholds  to  hinder  the  power  of  witches,  were  seen  in  Monmouth-street ; 
in  1813,  Sir  Henry  Ellis  counted  seventeen  horse-shoes;  in  1841  there  were  six;  in 
1852,  eleven.  Jews  preponderate  in  this  street,  Irish  abounding  most  in  the  lanes 
and  courts. 

The  modern  St.  Giles's  is  bounded  north  by  the  brewery  in  Bainbridge- street; 
south  by  the  brewery  in  Castle-street ;  and  extends  from  Crown-street  on  the  west 
to  Drury-lane  on  the  east.  The  literature  of  St.  Giles's  has  long  fixed  its  abode 
in  the  Seven  Dials ;  and  in  Great  White  Lion-street,  Mrs.  Pilkington  exhibited  in  her 
lodging  window,  "  Letters  written  here."  Printing-presses,  booksellers,  stationers, 
and  circulating-libraries  abounded  here ;  Pitts  and  Catnach  being  the  great  ballad- 
printers.  (See  Ballad-singing,  p.  10.)  One  of  their  authors  confessed  to  Mr. 
Henry  Mayhew — 

"  The  little  knowledge  I  have,  I  have  picked  up  bit  by  bit,  so  that  I  hardly  know  how  I  have  come 
by  it.  1  certainly  knew  my  letters  before  I  left  home,  and  I  have  got  the  rest  off  the  dead  walls  and  out 
of  the  ballads  and  papers  1  have  been  selling.  I  write  most  of  the  Newgate  ballads  now  for  the  printers 
in  the  Dials,  and,  indeed,  anything  that  turns  up.  I  get  a  shilling  for  a  '  Copy  of  verses  written  by  the 
wretched  culprit  the  night  previous  to  his  execution.'  I  wrote  Courvoisier's  sorrowful  lamentation :  I 
called  it '  A  Woice  from  the  Gaol.'  I  wrote  a. pathetic  ballad  on  the  respite  of  Annette  Meyers.  I  did 
the  helegy,  too,  on  Bush's  execution  :  it  was  supposed,  like  the  rest,  to  be  written  by  the  culprit  himself, 


and  was  particularly  penitent.  I  didn't  write  that  to  order— I  knew  they  would  want  a  copy  of  verses 
from  the  culprit.  The  publisher  read  it  over,  and  said, '  That's  the  thing  for  the  street  public'  I  only 
>t  a  shilling  for  Rush.    Indeed,  they  are  all  the  same  price,  no  matter  how  popular  they  may  be.    I 

ote  the  life  of  Manning  in  verse.     Besides  these,  I  have  written  the  lan.eat  of  Calcraft  the  Hangman 

the  decline  of  his  trade,  and  many  political  songs." — Morning  Chronicle. 

"  The  Rookery"  was  a  triangular  space  bounded  by  Bainbridge,  George,  and  High 


ST.  GILES'S.  379 


streets  :  it  was  one  dense  mass  of  houses,  through  which  curved  narrow  tortuous  lanes, 
from  which  again  diverged  close  courts — one  great  mass,  as  if  the  houses  had  originally 
heen  one  block  of  stone,  eaten  by  slugs  into  numberless  small  chambers  and  connecting 
passages.  The  lanes  were  thronged  with  loiterers ;  and  stagnant  gutters,  and  piles  of 
garbage  and  filth  infested  the  air.  In  the  windows,  wisps  of  straw,  old  hats,  and  lumps 
of  bed -tick  or  brown  paper,  alternated  with  shivered  panes  of  broken  glass;  the  walls 
were  the  colour  of  bleached  soot,  and  doors  fell  from  their  hinges  and  worm-eaten 
posts.  Many  of  the  windows  announced,  "  Lodgings  at  3d.  a  night,"  where  the  wild 
wanderers  from  town  to  town  held  their  nightly  revels.  With  such  scenes  the  public 
were  familiarized  by  Pierce  Egan's  Life  in  London  (1820),  upon  our  minor  metropolitan  V I . 
stages,  where  they  excited  as  much  curiosity  as  a  romance  of  savage  life.  The  Rookery 
has,  however,  almost  entirely  disappeared ;  and  in  its  place  stands  a  block  of  "  Model 
Houses  for  Families,"  with  perfect  ventilation  and  drainage,  and  rents  lower  than  the 
average  paid  for  the  airless,  dark,  and  fetid  rooms  of  the  old  Rookery.  Elsewhere, 
lanes  and  alleys  of  squalid  tenements  have  disappeared,  and  their  site  is  now  occupied  by 
the  embellished  lines  of  New  Oxford-street.     (See  Rookeries  of  London,  1850.) 

"  The  degraded  condition  of  the  Seven  Dials  (says  a  Report  of  1848)  is  notorious — vagrants,  thieves, 
sharpers,  scavengers,  basket-women,  charwomen,  army-seamstresses,  and  prostitutes,  compose  its  mass : 
infidels,  Chartists,  Socialists,  and  blasphemers  exist  there  as  in  head-quarters.  In  addition  to  the  street 
traffic  on  the  Sabbath,  there  are  150  shops  then  open  in  the  streets.  Lodging-houses  of  the  lowest  and 
dirtiest  description  afford  temporary  shelter  to  the  vagrant  and  the  criminal.  In  the  very  heart  of  this 
debased  and  debasing  locality  is  situated  a  Ragged  School ;  its  entrance-door  in  the  extreme  angle  of 
an  irregular,  three-cornered  yard— so  uninviting  that  few  respectable  persons  have  courage  to  venture 
through  it."  The  flagrant  evil  cannot  be  more  formidably  met ;  and  the  moral  regeneration  of  the 
district  is  thus  rapidly  progressing. 

We  rarely  pass  St.  Giles's  Church  without  reflecting  upon  the  great  changes  which 
have  come  over  this  locality  within  the  last  twenty  years,  by  the  sweeping  away  of  the 
greater  part  of  that  festering  spot  of  criminal  London,  known  as  St.  Giles's.  And 
when  we  look  at  the  narrow  gorge  opposite  the  church,  and  remember  that  through  it 
formerly  poured  the  rabble  rout  with  the  Tyburn  cart,  which  halted  hereabout,  for  the 
condemned  criminals  to  drink  a  bowl  of  ale,  we  say,  with  such  a  stream  of  pollution 
how  could  St.  Giles's  be  otherwise  than  a  nestling-place  of  crime  and  wretchedness  ? 
It  could  once  show  its  pound,  its  cage,  its  round-house  and  watch-house,Hts  stocks,  and  ("J 
its  whipping-post,  and  at  one  time  its  gallows.  We  have  parted  with  all  these  terrors ; 
and  built  here  churches  and  chapels,  schools,  and  reformatory  institutions  of  every  class. 

Dr.  Buchanan,  medical  officer  of  Health  for  the  St.  Giles'  district,  tracing  its  history  from  the  dedica- 
tion of  a  leper  hospital  to  St.  Giles  in  the  twelfth  century,  shows  that  the  district  has  always  presented 
points  of  interest  to  the  students  of  hygienic  science.  From  the  time  of  the  earliest  census  an  excess  in 
the  mortality  of  St.  Giles's  has  been  steadily  conspicuous.  The  reason  of  this  excess  is  mainly  to  be 
attributed  to  the  extreme  density  of  the  population,  which  has  from  one  cause  and  another  been  greater 
here  than  elsewhere  since  the  days  of  Elizabeth.  It  was  in  St.  Giles's  that  the  Great  Plague  of  1665 
first  broke  out,  and  two-thirds  of  the  poorer  inhabitants  were  destroyed  in  the  year.  The  district 
declined  from  comparative  opulence  in  the  seventeenth  century  to  the  point  of  its  lowest  debasement, 
delineated  by  Hogarth  and  Fielding ;  thence  again  increasing  in  prosperity  with  the  growth  of  Blooms- 
bury.  In  spite,  however,  of  this  new  association,  the  entire  district  has  maintained  its  evil  pre-eminence 
on  the  death-registers  down  to  the  year  1857.  In  the  most  crowded  localities  the  rate  of  mortality  was 
uniformly  the  highest.  Measures  have  been  adopted  in  St.  Giles's  to  remedy  this  fatal  condition  of 
"  overcrowding."  Among  the  results  which  have  already  followed  the  use  of  sanitary  measures  are : 
from  mere  drainage  improvements,  the  deaths  from  fevers  and  other  zymotic  diseases,  in  Dudley-street, 
had  fallen  in  1858  to  exactly  one-half  the  number  in  1857.  In  the  whole  district  there  were,  in  one  year, 
fewer  deaths  than  the  average  by  120,  although  the  year  was  much  less  healthful  than  its  predecessor 
to  the  metropolis  at  large.    The  evils  of  overcrowding  have  been  much  abated  by  these  clearances. 

In  the  southern  district  of  St.  Giles's  there  were  on  the  night  before  the  Census  of  1861  was  taken,  21 
houses,  not  one  of  which  had  less  than  ten  families  sleeping  in  it,  without  counting  single  men  and  women 
at  all.    In  a  lodging-house  in  the  same  district  of  that  parish  81  persons  passed  the  night. 

In  1831,  there  were,  opposite  each  other,  in  George-street,  St.  Giles's,  two  barbers'  shops,  whose  weekly 
customers  averaged  3000 ;  and  in  one  of  the  shops  was  a  man  who  frequently  on  a  Sunday  mowed  500 
chins,  the  majority  being  Irish  labourers  with  beards  of  a  week's  growth. 

The  old  map  of  St.  Giles's  and  St.  George's  made  in  1815,  by  Mr.  Mawley,  owing 
to  the  great  alterations  in  every  direction  since  that  time,  having  been  rendered  entirely 
useless,  has  been  re-drawn  by  Mr.  George  J.  J.  Mair,  and  handed  over  to  the  Vestry. 
A  plan  of  each  property  is  shown,  and  at  a  glance  is  distinguished  from  the  adjoining 
properties  by  an  arrangement  of  cross  hatching ;  a  book  of  reference  gives  a  further 
description.  The  parishes  contain  245  acres  (38  of  which  are  open  ground  in  squares), 
and  -1701  dwelling- houses. 


380  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


GILTSPUR-STREET 

WAS  in  Stow's  time  also  called  Knight-riders'-street,  "  of  the  knights  and  others 
riding  that  way  into  Smithfield."  The  portion  beyond  the  Compter  prison  was 
originally  Pie-corner,  "  noted  chiefly  for  cooks'  shops  and  pigs  drest  there  during  Bar- 
tholomew Fair."  (Strype.)  Here  the  Great  Fire  of  London  ended ;  to  commemorate 
which,  was  erected  against  a  public-house  (The  Fortune  of  War)  in  Pie-corner,  a 
carved  wooden  figure  of  a  boy  upon  a  bracket,  his  arms  folded  upon  his  breast,  and  the 
following  inscription  written  from  under  the  chin  downward :  "  This  boy  is  in  memory 
put  up  for  the  late  Fire  of  London,  occasioned  by  the  sin  of  gluttony,  1666."  This  is 
no  longer  legible.  The  whole  is  engraved  by  J.  T.  Smith,  and  in  Lester's  Illustra- 
tions, 1818.  The  houses  that  escaped  the  Fire  on  this  spot  were  taken  down  in  1809. 
On  the  west  side  of  Giltspur-street  is  Cock-lane,  the  scene  of  "  the  Cock-lane  gliost" 
imposture  in  1762  :  "  the  house  is  still  standing,  and  the  back  room,  where  '  scratching 
Fanny'  lay  surrounded  by  princes  and  peers,  is  converted  into  a  gas-meter  manufactory." 
{Notes  and  Queries,  No.  16.)  An  account  of  the  detection  of  the  imposture  was 
printed  by  Dr.  Johnson ;  a  pamphlet  describing  the  whole  affair  was  written  by  Gold- 
smith, and  is  reprinted  in  Cunningham's  edition  of  Goldsmith's  Works.  Churchill,  in 
his  poem,  The  Ghost,  satirized  the  hoax,  and  caricatured  Johnson  as  a  believer  in  it ; 
which  Boswell  has  disproved. 

GOG  AND  MAGOG. 

"fPHE  two  Giants  in  Guildhall"  are  supposed  to  have  been  originally  made  for 
•*-  carrying  about  in  pageants,  a  custom  not  peculiar  to  London ;  for  "  the  going  of 
the  giants  at  Midsummer"  occurs  among  the  ancient  customs  of  Chester,  before  1599. 
Puttenham  (1589)  speaks  of  "Midsummer  pageants  in  London,  where,  to  make  the 
people  wonder,  are  set  forth  great  and  uglie  gyants,  marching  as  if  they  were  alive," 
&c.  Again,  "one  of  the  gyants'  stilts"  that  stalks  before  my  Lord  Mayor's  Pageants 
occurs  in  the  old  play  of  the  Dutch  Courtezan.  (Marston's  Works,  1633.)  Bishop 
Hall,  in  his  Satires,  compares  an  angry  poet  to 

"  The  crab-tree  porter  of  the  Guildhall, 
While  he  his  frightful  Beetle  elevates." 

In  1415,  when  Henry  V.  entered  London  by  Southwark,  a  male  and  female  giant 
stood  at  the  entrance  of  London  Bridge;  in  1432,  here  a  "mighty  giant"  awaited 
Henry  VI.;  in  1554,  at  the  entry  of  Philip  and  Mary,  "Corinseus  and  Gog-magog" 
stood  upon  London  Bridge ;  and  when  Elizabeth  passed  through  the  City  the  day 
before  her  coronation  (Jan.  12,  1558),  these  two  giants  were  placed  at  Temple  Bar. 
(F.  W.  Fairholt,  F.S^i.)  Jordan,  in  describing  the  Lord  Mayor's  Pageant  for  1672, 
notices  as  exceeding  rarities  "  two  extreme  great  giants,  at  least  15  feet  high,  that  do 
sit  and  are  drawn  by  horses  in  two  several  chariots,  talking  and  taking  tobacco  as  they 
ride  along,  to  the  great  admiration  and  delight  of  all  spectators." 

Ned  Ward  describes  the  Guildhall  giants  in  his  London  Spy,  1699;  and  among  the 
fireworks  upon  the  Thames,  at  the  coronation  of  James  II.  and  his  queen,  April  24, 
1685,  "  were  placed  the  statues  of  the  two  giants  of  Guildhall."  Bragg,  in  his  Ob- 
server, Dec.  25,  1706,  tells  us  that  when  the  colours  taken  at  Ramilies  were  put  up  in 
Guildhall,  "  the  very  giants  stared  with  all  the  eyes  they  had,  and  smiled  as  well  as 
they  could."  (Malcolm.) 

"  Before  the  present  giants  inhabited  Guildhall,  there  were  two  giants  made  only  of  wicker-work  and 
pasteboard,  put  together  with  great  art  and  ingenuity ;  and  those  two  terrible  giants  had  the  honour 
to  grace  my  Lord  Mayor's  Show,  being  carried  in  great  triumph  in  the  time  of  the  pageants;  and  when 
that  eminent  annual  service  was  over,  remounted  their  old  stations  in  Guildhall — till  by  reason  of  their 
very  great  age,  old  Time,  with  the  help  of  a  number  of  City  rats  and  mice,  had  eaten  up  all  their  entrails. 
The  dissolution  of  the  two  old  weak  and  feeble  giants  gave  biith  to  the  two  present  substantial  and 
majestic  giants ;  who,  by  order,  and  at  the  City  charge,  were  formed  and  fashioned,"  by  Captain  Kichard 

i  those  lofty  sta- 
quote  this  from 
._  edit.  1741,  pub- 
lished within  Guildhall,  when  shops  were  permitted  there.  This  work  also  relates  that  "  the  fiist 
honour  which  the  two  ancient  wicker-work  giants  were  promoted  to  in  the  City,  was  at  the  Restoration 
of  King  Charles  II.,  when,  with  great  pomp  and  majesty,  they  graced  a  triumphal  arch  at  the  end  of 


GOODMAN'S  FIELDS-GREY  FBIABS.  381 

King-street,  in  Cheapside."  This  was  before  the  Great  Fire,  which  the  City  Giants  escaped,  till  their 
infirmities  and  the  "City  rats"  rendered  it  necessary  to  supersede  them;  and  the  City  accounts  in  the 
Chamberlain's  Office  contain  a  payment  of  701.  to  Saunders,  the  carver,  in  1707. 

The  "  Gigantick  History"  supposes  the  Guildhall  giants  to  represent  Corinaeus  and 
Gog-magog,  in  Geoftry  of  Monmouth's  Chronicle,  in  Milton's  Early  History  of  Britain, 
and  thus  in  a  broadsheet  of  1GG0 : 

"And  such  stout  Corinceus  was,  from  whom 
Cornwall's  first  honour,  and  her  name  doth  come, 
For  though  he  showeth  not  so  great  nor  tall, 
In  his  dimensions  set  forth  at  Guildhall, 
Know  'tis  a  poet,  only  a  poet  can  define 
A  gyaut's  posture  in  a  gyant's  line. 
•  *  *  "  »  * 

And  thus  attended  by  his  direful  dog. 
The  gyant  was  (God  bless  us)  Gogmagog." 

Brituh  Bibliogr.  iv.  p.  227. 

"Each  of  these  giants,"  says  Archdeacon  Nares  {Glossary),  "measures  upwards  of 
14  feet  in  height ;  the  young  one  is  believed  to  be  Corinaeus  and  the  old  one  Gog- 
magog," whence  "  Gog  and  Magog." 

The  present  costumes  of  the  giants  are  in  rococo  taste,  as  follow  : 

Gog. — Body-armour  a  la  Romaine,  witli  a  red  scarf  across  the  shoulder  :  plumed  helmet,  with  the 
City  Dragon  for  a  crest;  a  sword  by  his  side,  and  in  his  hands  a  halbert,  and  a  shield  ensigned  with  a 
spread  eagle. 

JIagog. — Body-armour  and  scarf  as  Gog ;  sword  at  side,  bow  and  arrows  over  his  shoulder,  and  in 
his  hand  a  "  morning-star ;"  his  hair  long  and  flowing,  and  encircled  with  a  "  couronne  d'honneur." 

In  1815,  the  Giants  were  removed  from  the  north  side  of  the  Hall,  when  Mr.  Hone 
examined  them,  and  found  them  to  be  "  made  of  wood,  and  hollow  within ;  and  from 
the  method  of  joining  and  gluing  the  interior,  are  evidently  of  late  construction  ;  but 
they  are  too  substantially  built  for  the  purpose  of  being  either  carried  or  drawn,  or 
any  way  exhibited  in  a  pageant."  (Hone,  on  Ancient  Mysteries.)  In  1837,  the 
dresses  of  the  giants  were  renewed,  their  armour  polished,  &c.  This  year  also,  copies 
of  the  giants,  14  feet  high,  were  introduced  in  the  Lord  Mayor's  show  :  each  walked 
by  means  of  a  man  within  side,  who  turned  the  giant's  face,  which  was  level  with  the 
first-floor  windows. 

GOODMAN'S  FIELDS 

ARE  described  by  Stow  to  have  been,  in  his  time,  a  farm  belonging  to  the  Abbey  of 
the  Nuns  of  St.  Clare,  called  the  Minories ;  "  at  the  which  farm  (says  Stow)  I  myself, 
in  my  youth,  have  fetched  many  a  halfpennyworth  of  milk,  and  never  had  less  than  three 
ale  pints  for  a  halfpenny  in  the  summer,  nor  less  than  one  ale  quart  for  a  halfpenny  in  the 
winter,  always  hot  from  the  kine,  as  the  same  was  milked  and  strained."  One  Trolop, 
and  afterwards  Goodman  were  the  farmers ;  and  next  Goodman's  son,  who  let  out  the 
ground  first  for  grazing  of  horses,  and  then  for  garden-plots,  Strype  (1720)  describes 
the  Fields  covered  with  Pescod  or  Prescot,  Ayliffe,  Leman,  and  Maunsell  streets,  the 
initials  of  wbich  names  make  the  word  palm ;  these  streets  are  mostly  inhabited  by 
thriving  Jews.  Strype  also  mentions  tenters  for  cloth-workers,  and  a  roadway  out  of 
Whitechapel  into  Well-close.  In  digging  the  foundations  for  houses  about  1678,  were 
found  a  vast  number  of  Roman  funereal  urns,  some  witb  ashes  of  bones  in  them, 
denoting  Goodman's  Fields  to  have  been  originally  a  Roman  burying-place. 

Goodman's- stile,  Goodman's-gardens,  and  Rosemary-lane,  denote  this  rural  district. 
On  the  site  of  Leman-street  was  the  New  Wells  Spa,  now  denoted  by  Well-yard. 
(See  Theatbes  :  Goodman's  Fields.) 

GREY  FRIARS. 

F1224,  four  of  the  Friars  Minors,  or  Grey  Friars,  arrived  in  London  from  Italy, 
and  were  first  entertained  in  the  house  of  the  Friars  Preachers,  or  Dominicans. 
Afterwards,  they  hired  a  house  in  Cornhill,  of  John  Travers,  then  sheriff,  where  they 
made  some  small  cells,  and  continued  until  the  following  summer ;  when  the  devotion 
of  the  citizens  enabled  the  Friars  to  purchase  the  site  of  their  future  residence  near 
Newgate.     Their  first  and  principal  benefactor  was  John  Iwyn,  citizen  and  mercer, 


382  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

who  gave  them  some  land  and  houses  in  the  parish  of  St.  Nicholas-in-the- Shambles,  by- 
deed  9th  Henry  III.  Upon  this  they  erected  their  original  building.  The  first  chapel, 
which  became  the  choir  of  the  church,  was  built  at  the  cost  of  Sir  William  Joyner, 
mayor  of  London  in  1239 ;  the  nave  was  added  by  Sir  Henry  Waleys,  mayor  during 
several  years  of  the  reign  of  Edward  I. ;  the  chapter-house  by  Walter  the  potter, 
citizen  and  alderman  (sheriff  in  1270  and  1273),  who  also  presented  all  the  brazen  pots 
for  the  kitchen,  infirmary,  &c. :  the  dormitory  was  erected  by  Sir  Gregory  de  Rokes- 
ley,  mayor  from  1275  to  1282 ;  the  refectory  by  Bartholomew  de  Castro,  another 
citizen ;  the  infirmary  by  Peter  de  Helyland  j  and  the  studies  by  Bonde,  king  of  the 
heralds.  The  convent  was  principally  supplied  with  water  by  William,  called  from  his 
trade  the  Taylor,  and  who  served  King  Henry  III.  in  that  capacity.* 

A  more  magnificent  church  was  commenced  in  1301,  and  completed  1327 :  first,  the 
choir  was  rebuilt,  chiefly  at  the  cost  of  Margaret  of  France,  the  second  wife  of  King 
Edward  I.,  who  assigned  it  for  her  place  of  interment ;  and  the  nave  was  added  from 
the  benefactions  of  John  of  Brittany,  Earl  of  Richmond,  and  his  niece  Mary,  Countess 
of  Pembroke  :  it  was  300  feet  long,  89  feet  wide,  and  64  feet  high  j  all  the  columns 
and  the  pavement  were  of  marble.  Tn  1421,  was  added  the  library,  "  furnished  with 
desks,  settles,  and  wainscoting  or  ceiling,"  by  Sir  Richard  Whittington,  the  celebrated 
mayor  in  the  reign  of  Henry  V. 

On  St.  George's  Day,  1502,  the  Grey  Friars  relinquished  the  "  London  russet,"  which 
they  had  for  some  time  worn,  and  resumed  the  undyed  white-grey,  which  had  been 
their  original  habit.  On  the  feast  of  Saint  Francis,  July  16,  1508,  the  mayor  and 
aldermen  were  received  with  grand  procession  as  founders,  which  custom  continued 
long  after ;  but  not  until  1522  did  the  convent  provide  a  feast  for  the  corporation  on 
that  anniversary.  In  1524,  King  Henry  and  Cardinal  Wolsey  personally  visited  the 
house.  In  1528,  in  the  case  of  a  prisoner  who  had  broken  away  from  the  sessions  at 
Newgate,  the  convent  asserted  its  right  of  Sanctuary,  a  privilege  that  could  scarcely 
be  often  put  in  requisition,  as  the  much-frequented  Sanctuary  of  St.  Martin-le-Grand 
was  in  the  immediate  vicinity.  The  Franciscans  seem  to  have  passively  acquiesced  in 
the  course  of  events :  for,  November  12,  1539,  their  warden,  and  twenty-five  of  his 
brethren,  signed  and  sealed  their  deed  of  surrender  to  the  king,  being  convinced  "  that 
the  perfeccion  of  Christian  livyng  dothe  not  consiste  in  doine  ceremonyes,  wering  of  a 
grey  coatte,  disgeasing  our  selffes  after  straunge  fassions,  dokynges,  nodyngs,  and 
bekyngcs,  in  gurding  our  selffes  wythe  a  gurdle  full  of  knots,  and  other  like  papisticall 
ceremonyes,"  &c. 

After  the  surrender,  the  house  of  the  Grey  Friars  was  not  given  up  to  immediate 
destruction ;  but  remained  unoccupied  in  the  king's  hands,  until  1544,  when,  with  the 
houses  of  the  late  Austin  and  Black  Friars,  it  became  a  receptacle  for  the  merchandize 
captured  at  sea  from  the  French ;  every  part  of  the  Grey  Friars  Church  being  filled 
with  wine  :  it  was  not,  however,  dismantled ;  for  in  1546  the  "  partitions"  or  screens 
remained ;  the  altars,  pictures,  images,  and  pulpit ;  the  monuments  and  grave-stones ; 
the  candlesticks,  organs,  and  desks.  Subsequently,  by  the  king's  gift,  the  church  of 
the  Grey  Friars  was  to  become  the  parish  church  of  "  Christ's  Church  within  New- 
gate ;"  but  the  king  dying  in  the  same  year  and  month,  the  altars,  stalls,  &c,  were 
removed,  and  the  church  reduced  in  length,  the  nave  being  rented  to  a  schoolmaster 
for  10s.  per  annum.  All  the  tombs  and  grave-stones  were  sold  for  about  51. ;  and 
Weever  states  there  to  have  been  buried  in  the  church  four  queens,  f  four  duchesses, 
four  countesses,  one  duke,  two  earls,  eight  barons,  and  some  thirty-five  knights ;  in  all, 
663  persons  of  quality :  the  catalogue  of  the  monuments  is  preserved,  and  is  a  very 
valuable  genealogical  record. 

These  details  are  abridged  principally  from  Mr.  Nichols's  Preface  to  the    Chronicle 

*  In  the  chapter  of  the  Register,  the  main  channel  or  pipe  is  traced  under  Newgate,  through  the 
rivulet  at  Holborn  Bridge,  up  Leather-lane  (Liworne-lane),  and  so  to  the  Conduit-heads  in  the  fields. 

t  The  Queens  were— the  foundress  of  the  church,  Margaret,  consort  of  Edward  I.;  Isabella,  consort 
of  Edward  II. ;  Joan,  Queen  of  Scots,  daughter  of  Edward  II.;  and  Isabella,  Queen  of  Man.  Besides 
these,  the  church  had  received  the  heart  of  a  fifth  Queen,  Alianor,  consort  of  Henry  III.;  and  also  the 
heart  of  King  Edward  II.,  deposited  under  the  breast  of  his  queen's  effigy.  The  catalogue  is  not,  how- 
ever, complete;  for,  during  some  excavations  on  the  site  about  1834,  were  found  two  ancient  inscribed 
grave-stones  not  in  the  Register :  they  commemorate  a  monk  of  Ely,  and  a  supposed  Italian  merchant, 
and  are  preserved  in  the  burial-ground  of  Christchurch. 


GRUB-STREET.  383 


of  the  Grey  Friars  of  London,  printed  for  the  Camden  Society  (1852),  from  the 
register-book  of  the  Fraternity.  The  history  of  the  Grey  Friars  Convent  next  merges 
into  that  of  the  establishment  of  Christ's  Hospital,  which  Mr.  Nichols  refers  to  Henry's 
grant  of  the  Grey  Friars'  House  to  the  City,  aided  by  their  subscriptions,  and  not  to 
Edward  VI.,  who  merely  recognised  the  hospital  which  the  citizens  themselves  had  set 
on  foot. 

"  Moreover,  Christ's  Hospital  was  not  founded  as  a  school;  its  object  was  to  rescue  young  children 
from  the  streets,  to  shelter,  feed,  and  clothe,  and  lastly,  to  educate  them— in  short,  to  do  exactly  what 
In  later  times  has  been  done  by  each  individual  parish  for  the  orphan  and  destitute  offspring  of  the 
poor."— KichoU. 

The  great  picture  in  the  hall  of  Christ's  Hospital  is  commonly  referred  to  as  contemporary  evidence 
of  King  Edward's  share  in  the  foundation.  "T^is  pi  ture  is  usually  attributed  to  Holbein,  but  in  error. 
It  is  an  amplification  of  Holbein's  picture  of  the  same  subject  which  is  at  Bridewell  Hospital.  That 
picture  contains  only  eleven  figures,  including  the  painter  himself;  the  picture  at  Christ's  Hospital  has 
ninety  or  more,  and  not  only  is  it  very  inferior  as  a  work  of  art,  but  obviously  of  posterior  date  in  point 
of  costume."  Mr.  Nichols  adds  ;  ''the  picture  at  Christ's  Hospital  is  derived  from  Holbein's,  so  far  as 
the  principal  figures  go :  my  own  impressson  is  that  it  is  of  the  period  of  James  I.  or  Charles  I." 

Some  of  the  buildings  of  the  ancient  convent,  including  the  fratry  and  refectory, 
were  standing  in  the  early  part  of  the  present  century.  The  walls  and  windows  of 
Whittington's  library  were  to  be  traced  in  a  mutilated  state  on  the  north  side  of  the 
cloisters.  Even  now,  the  southern  walk  of  the  friars'  cloisters  remains,  and  its  pointed 
arches  and  buttresses  may  be  seen  from  the  exterior.  The  western  walk  of  the  clois- 
ters was  under  the  Great  Hall,  which  was  pulled  down  in  1827,  as  was  Whittington's 
library  about  the  same  time.  The  shield  of  Whittington,  with  a  quatrefoil,  was  in- 
serted in  various  parts  of  this  building ;  and  a  stone  so  carved  has  been  preserved  in 
the  museum  of  Mr.  E.  B.  Price,  F.S.A.,  and  is  etched  at  the  end  of  Mr.  Nichols's 
Preface  to  the  Chronicle.     (See  Cheist's  Hospital,  pp.  95-101.) 

GRUB-STREET, 

CRIPPLEGATE,  is  now  called  Milton-street,  "  not  after  the  great  poet,  as  some 
persons  have  asserted,  but  from  a  respectable  builder  so  called,  who  has  taken  the 
whole  street  on  a  repairing  lease."  Such  was  the  statement  of  Mr.  Ehnes,  in  1830,  in 
his  Topographical  Dictionary ;  but  it  is  contradicted  by  the  editor  of  Notes  and 
Queries  (2nd  S.  ix.),  who  asserts,  upon  the  authority  of  "  a  gentleman  who  was  present 
at  the  meeting  when  the  nomenclature  was  discussed,  that  it  was  named  after  the  great 
poet,  from  his  having  resided  in  the  locality."  Grub-street  was  originally  tenanted  by 
bowvers,  fletchers,  makers  of  bow-strings,  and  of  everything  relating  to  archery.  It  is 
the  last  street  shown  in  Aggas's  map  ;  all  beyond,  as  far  as  Bishopsgale-street  Without, 
being  gardens,  fields,  or  morass.  After  the  Great  Fire,  the  Goldsmiths'  Company  met 
in  Grub-street,  temporarily,  in  the  house  of  Sir  Thomas  Allen,  grocer,  and  Lord  Mayor  in 
14359.  Here,  before  the  discovery  of  printing,  lived  the  text-writers,  who  wrote  all 
sorts  of  books  then  in  use,  namely,  A.  B.  C.  with  the  Paternoster,  Ave,  Crede,  Grace, 
&c,  and  retailed  by  stationers  at  the  corner  of  streets.  In  Grub-street  lived  John 
Foxe,  the  martyrologist. 

"  Many  letters  in  the  Harleian  collection  illustrate  the  influence  of  Foxe  at  this  time.  They  are 
addressed  to  him  in  Grub-street,  and  must,  therefore,  though  no  date  appears  on  them,  have  been  written 
after  1572.  A  letter  from  Foxe  to  one  of  his  neighbours,  who  had  so  built  his  house  as  to  darken  Foxe's 
windows,  is  curious  as  a  specimen  of  religious  expostulation,  for  an  injury  which  possibly  he  could  not 
afford  to  remedy  by  law." — Mr.  Canon  Townsend's  L'fe  of  John  Foxe,  edit.  1641,  p.  191. 

It  appears,  however,  very  doubtful  when  Foxe  went  to  Grub-street,  and  how  long 
he  resided  there.  He  did  not  write  there  his  Book  of  Martyrs,  published  in  1563, 
and  the  second  edition  in  1570.  Here  resided  honest  John  Speed,  the  tailor  and  his- 
torian, the  father  of  twelve  sons  and  six  daughters;  there,  too,  lived  Master  Richard 
Smith,  whose  amusing  Obituary  has  been  edited  by  Sir  Henry  Ellis  for  the  Camden 
Society — "  A  person,"  says  Antony  Wood,  "  infinitely  curious  in,  and  inquisitive  after 
books."  From  this  renowned  and  philosophic  spot,  celebrated  as  the  Lyceum  of  the 
Academic  Grove,  issued  many  of  the  earliest  of  our  English  lyrics,  and  most  of  our 
miniature  histories,  and  the  flying  sheets  and  volatile  pages  dispersed  by  such  charac- 
ters as  Shakspeare's  Autolycus ;  and  the  Grubean  sages  first  published  Jack  the  Giant 
Killer,  Reynard  the  Fox,  The  Wise  Men  of  Gotham,  Tom  HieJcathrift,  and  a 
hundred  others. 


384  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Nor  must  we  forget  Henry  Welby,  Esq.,  "the  Grub-street  Hermit,"  who  lived  here 
forty-four  years,  during  which  he  was  only  seen  by  his  maid-servant,  who  died  Oct.  23, 
1636 ;  and  Welby,  in  six  days  after,  aged  84:  he  owned  a  large  estate  in  Lincolnshire, 
but  betook  himself  to  this  seclusion  in  misanthropic  resentment  of  an  attempt  made 
upon  his  life  by  a  younger  brother.  In  the  old  print  of  the  Hermit,  we  see  in  the 
distance  boys  flying  kites  in  the  fields  adjoining  his  house.  His  diet  was  bread,  water, 
gruel,  milk,  and  vegetables ;  and  now  and  then  the  yolk  of  an  egg.  He  passed  his 
days  in  most  exemplary  charity  and  piety.  There  exists  a  rare  quarto  Tract,  entitled 
The  Phoenix  of  these  late  Times,  showing  "  the  first  occasion  and  reasons  "  of  Welby's 
seclusion,  with  Epitaphs  and  Elegies  (the  latter  occupying  several  pages),  by  Shakerlcy 
Marmion,  John  Taylor,  the  Water-poet ;  Thomas  Heywood,  Thomas  Brewer,  &c., 
1637.  It  has  a  full  length  portrait,  by  W.  Marshall,  of  Welby  :  the  copy  of  this  Tract 
in  Sir  Mark  Sykes's  library,  sold  for  51.  5s. 

In  Grub-street,  Dec.  9, 1695,  one  Stockden,  a  victualler,  was  murdered  by  four  men,  three  of  whom 
were  revealed  in  three  successive  dreams  to  the  victualler's  widow,  and  were  tried,  condemned,  and 
hanged;  the  narrative  attested  and  published  "by  the  Curate  of  Cripplegate !" 

During  the  Commonwealth  era  a  larger  number  than  usual  of  seditious  and  libellous 
pamphlets  and  papers  were  surreptitiously  printed.  The  authors  of  these  were,  for 
the  most  part,  men  whose  indigent  circumstances  compelled  them  to  live  in  the  most 
obscure  part  of  the  town.  Grub-street,  then  abounding  with  mean  old  houses  let  rut 
in  lodsrings,  afforded  a  fitting  retreat  for  persons  of  this  description.  The  offensive 
term  Grub-street  is  thought  to  have  been  first  applied  to  the  writings  of  John  Fox, 
the  martyrologist,  who,  as  we  have  seen,  lived  in  Grub-street.  However,  there  are 
various  other  conjectures,  which  it  may  be  interesting  to  notice.  The  inquiry  has  been 
cleverly  annotated  by  Mr.  Henry  Campkin,  F.S.A. 

Possibly,  from  Grub-street  being  the  booksellers'  suburb  of  Aldersgate  and  Little 
Britain  it  became  the  abode  of  small  authors.  In  Goswell- street,  to  this  day,  several 
old  or  second-hand  booksellers  keep  shop.  Arbuthnot  speaks  of  "the  meridian  of 
Grub-street ;"  and  Gay  of  "  Grab-street  lays."  In  the  Taller,  No.  41,  the  authors 
are  mentioned  as  faithful  historians  of  an  exercise  at  arms  of  the  Artillery  Company. 
In  the  Spectator,  No.  184,  "one  of  the  most  eminent  pens  in  Grub-street  is  employed 
in  writing  the  dream  of  the  miraculous  sleeper,"  Nicholas  Hart ;  and  the  orators  of 
Grub-street  dealt  very  much  in  plagues.  (Spectator,  150.)  There  was  also  a  Grub-street 
Journal ;  and  Swift  wrote  a  Grub-street  Elegy  on  the  pretended  death  of  Partridge, 
the  almanack-maker,  and  Advice  to  the  Grub-street  Versifiers.  The  halfpenny  news- 
paper-stamp duty  of  1712,  however,  occasioned  "  the  fall  of  the  leaf,"  and  utter  ruin 
among  Grub-street  authors. 

"  Do  you  know  that  all  Grub-street  is  dead  and  gone  last  week?  No  more  ghosts  or  murders  now 
for  love  or  money." — Swift  to  Stella,  July  9,  1712,  et  passim. 

The  Memoirs  of  the  Grub-street  Society  were  commenced  Jan.  8, 1730  (the  year  before  the  Gentle- 
man's Magazine),  and  were  published  weekly  until  the  close  of  1737.  The  avowed  objects  of  the  work 
were  to  counteract  the  original  Grubeans,  who  "  made  themselves  most  remarkably  infamous  for  want 
of  integrity,  by  wilfully  publishing  what  they  knew  to  be  false :"  and  to  repress  "the  exorbitances  of 
Authors,  Printers,  Booksellers,  and  Publishers."  The  Society  met  once  a  week  at  the  Pegasus,  in  Grub- 
street;  and  the  principals  of  the  staff  were  Dr.  John  Martin  and  Dr.  Richard  Russel*  (Bavins  and 
Masvius),  the  latter  being  secretary  until  1735.  The  work  was  then  conducted  by  a  committee,  but  was 
dropped  in  1737,  after  a  struggle  of  six  years,  eleven  months,  and  two  weeks  :  it  was  revived  as  the 
Literary  Courier  of  Grub-street,  of  which  only  a  few  numbers  were  printed. 

In  these  Memoirs,  most  of  the  personages  of  the  Dunciad  are  unsparingly  satirized,  and  the  pro- 
ductions of  Kusden,  Cibber,  Concanen,  Curll,  Dennis,  Henley,  Ralph,  Arnall,  Theobald,  Welstcd.  &c, 
are  treated  with  great  severity.  The  Memoirs  "  meeting  with  encouragement,"  says  Sir  John  Hawkins, 
"Cave  projected  an  improvement  thereon  in  a  pamphlet  of  his  own;"  and  in  the  following  year  ap- 
peared the  Gentleman's  Magazine. 

Grub-street  thus  figures  in  the  Dunciad  .— 

"  Not  with  less  glory  mighty  Dulness  crown'd, 
Shall  take  through  Grub-street  her  triumphant  round." 

*'  Pope's  arrows  are  so  shirp,  and  his  slaughter  so  wholesale,  that  the  reader's  sympathies  are  often 
enlisted  on  the  side  of  the  devoted  inhabitants  of  Grub-street.  He  it  was  who  brought  the  notion  of  a 
vile  Grub-street  before  the  minds  of  the  general  public;  he  it  was  who  created  such  associations  as 
author  and  rags— author  and  dirt— author  and  gin.  The  occupation  of  authorship  became  ignoble 
through  his  graphic  description  of  misery,  and  the  literary  profession  was  for  a  long  time  destroyed." — 
W.  M.  Thackeray. 

*  Dr.  Russel  subsequently  settled  at  Brighthelmstone,  and  wrote  a  Treatise  on  Sea- Water,  advocat- 
ing the  practice  of  sea-bathing,  which  laid  the  foundation  of  the  unexampled  prosperity  of  Brighton. 


GRUB-STREET.  385 


In  his  notes  to  the  Dunciad,  Bishop  Warburton  describes  a  libeller  as  "  nothing  but 
a  Grub-street  critic  run  to  seed."  Dr.  Johnson's  friend,  John  Hoole,*  received  his 
early  instruction  in  Grub-street,  from  his  uncle  "  the  metaphysical  tailor,"  who  used  to 
draw  squares  and  triangles  on  his  shopboard.     (Boswell's  Johnson,  vol.  iv.) 

Grub-street  was  formerly  "  much  inhabited  by  writers  of  small  histories,  dictionaries, 
and  temporary  poems  :  whence  any  mean  production  is  called  Grub-street."  (Johnson's 
Dictionary.)  The  Doctor  himself  "  was  but  a  Grub-street  man,  paid  by  the  sheet, 
when  Goldsmith  entered  Grub-street,  periodical  writer  and  reviewer."  (Forster's  Life 
of  Goldsmith,  p.  73.) 

"  Grub-street  performances  "  had  long  been  applied  to  "  bad  matter  expressed  in  a 
bad  manner,  false  confused  histories,  low  creeping  poetry,  and  grovelling  prose," 
whether  written  in  the  Court  or  in  the  City,  or  elsewhere.  Hence  "  a  Grub-street 
author  "  became  a  term  of  common  reproach,  and  we  remember  it  in  frequent  use ;  this 
however,  has  passed  away  with  the  change  in  the  social  position  of  men  of  letters,  who 
no  longer  resemble  the  literary  hacks  of  the  reign  of  George  II. :  but  literature  takes 
rank  with  other  learned  professions  ;  and  those  authors  who  neglect  it  as  a  means  of 
subsistence  are,  in  a  twofold  sense,  foremost  in  their  abuse  of  it. 

However,  Grub-street  was  not  always  tenanted  exclusively  by  low  pretenders  to 
learning ;  for  we  read  that  James  Whitelocke  (Justice  of  the  King's  Bench),  who  was  a 
Merchant-tailors'  boy,  and  won  honour  at  Oxford,  went  through  a  course  of  Hebrew 
with  a  professor  of  that  ancient  tongue,  one  Hopkinson,  who  lived  in  Grub-street 
"an  obscure  and  simple  man  for  worldly  affayres,  but  expert  in  all  the  left-hand  tongs." 
"  Great  learned  men,"  we  are  told,  came  to  consult  Hopkinson  in  these  languages,  and 
"  among  them  no  less  a  person  than  Lancelot  Andrews."  (See  notice  of  Whitelocke's 
Liber  Famelicus,  edited  by  Bruce ;  Athenaeum,  No.  1612.) 

Grub-street,  now  Milton-street,  is  noted  for  its  great  number  of  alleys,  courts,  and 
backways,  and  old  inn-yards :  in  Hanover-court  was  a  house,  temp.  Charles  I.,  tradi- 
tionally the  residence  of  General  Monk.  Opposite  Hanover-conrt  is  a  large  building, 
once  the  City  Chapel ;  in  1831  opened  as  a  theatre,  but  with  poor  success.  It  next 
became  the  City  Baths  ;  facing  which,  in  odd  contiguity,  were  the  City  Soap  Works, 
established  in  1712;  the  premises  were  burntdown  in  August,  1855, but  have  been  rebuilt. 

In  one  of  the  columns  of  Town  and  Table  Talk,  with  which  Mr.  Peter  Cunningham, 
in  years  past,  used  to  regale  the  readers  of  the  Illustrated  London  News,  we  find, 
Jan.  27, 1855,  the  following  piquant  parallel  of  Grub-street  with  our  day  : — 

"  This  week  has  produced  a  remarkable  proof  that  our  Newgate  Last  Dying  Words  and  Confession 
Poetry  has  not  improved,  or  altered,  indeed,  in  any  way,  since  the  times  of  Dick  Turpin  and  Governor 
Wall.  We  have  before  us,  while  we  write,  the  penny  broadside  which  Grub-street  has  given  us  on  the 
execution  of  Barth£16my,  on  Monday  last.  We  have  the  same  artless  way  of  telling  a  6tory,  with  the 
same  rough  lines,  and  still  rougher  rhymes,  common  to  the  Catnach  school  of  Old  Bailey  poetry.  What 
is  still  more  remarkable,  the  very  cuts  are  the  identical  blocks  of  bygone  times.  The  view  of  the 
dangling  murderer,  of  St.  Sepulchre's  Church,  and  Newgate  itself,  is  one  that  has  done  like  duty 
on  many  other  hanging  occasions.  The  female  costume  or  the  cut  is  that  in  vogue  long  T)efore  (to 
use  Mr.  Thackeray's  expression)  Plancus  was  consul.  Stranger  still,  the  cut  which  represents  the 
murderer  shooting  Mr.  Moore,  is  the  actual  ballad-block  of  Bellingham  shooting  Mr.  Perceval  in  the 
lobby  of  the  House  of  Commons  !  We  may  yet  see  it  reproduced  on  an  occasion  of  the  same  kind.  The 
identical  wood-cut  of  Tarlton,  the  famous  clown,  who  drew  tears  of  delight  from  the  eves  of  Queen 
Elizabeth,  was  in  use  in  Grub-street  between  1580  and  1820,  or  nearly  two  centuries  and  a  half." 

One  of  the  most  noted  Grub-street  traffickers  was  Curll,  for  whom  the  notorious  Mrs. 
Thomas  (Corinna  of  the  Dunciad)  got  up  the  absurd  story  of  young  Jeffreys  and  the 
funeral  of  the  poet  Dryden,  the  groundlessness  of  which  was  fully  exposed  by  Malone 
some  sixty  years  since ;  and  Sir  Walter  Scott  alludes  to  it  in  Life  of  Dryden  as  "  a 
memorable  romance."     It  formed  one  of  Curll's  "  Grub-street  pamphlets." 

The  first  use  of  the  term  Grub  street  in  its  offensive  sense,  was  made  by  Andrew 
Marvell,  in  The  Rehearsal  Transposed :  "  He,  honest  man,  was  deep  gone  in  Grub- 
street  and  polemized  divinity."  "  Oh,  these  are  your  Nonconformist  tricks ;  oh,  you 
have  learnt  this  of  the  Puritans  in  Grub-street."  "  I  am  told  that  preparatory  to 
that,  they  had  frequent  meetings  in  the  City ;  I  know  not  whether  in  Grub-street, 
with  the  divines  of  the  other  party."    Pope  calls  its  versifiers  "  the  Grub-street  Choir." 

*  Father  of  the  Rev.  Samuel  Hoole,  who  was  born  in  a  hackney-coach,  which  was  conveying  his 
mother  to  Drury-lane  Theatre  to  witness  the  performance  of  the  tragedy  of  Timanthet,  written  by  her 
husband.  Mr.  Samuel  Hoole  prayed  with  Johnson  in  his  last  illness :  he  long  kept  as  memorials  the 
chair  in  which  the  Doctor  usually  sat,  and  the  desk  upon  which  he  mostly  wrote  his  Rambler.  Mr.  Hoole 
died  in  March,  1839. 

0  0 


386  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


GUILDHALL  {TEE). 

AT  the  north  end  of  King-street,  Cheapside,  is  the  "Town-hall"  of  the  City  of 
London,  where  the  principal  Corporation  business  is  transacted,  and  its  magnificent 
hospitality  exercised.  The  first  Alderman's  Bery  or  Court-hall  was  a  low  and  mean 
building,  in  the  street  named  therefrom,  Aldermanbury,  which  occurs  in  a  deed  of  the 
year  1189  :  "  the  Courts  of  Maior  and  Aldermen  were  held  here  until  the  new  Guildhall 
was  built.  I  myself  (says  Stow)  have  seen  the  ruines  of  the  old  court-hall  in  Alder- 
manbery-streete."  The  first  entry  which  Mr.  Horace  Jones,  the  City  architect,  was 
able  to  find,  is  in  the  year  1212,  the  14th  of  John.  It  is  in  a  roll  of  the  Hustings 
Court,  which  was  held  here.  The  edifice  must  have  been  a  very  large  building, 
from  the  number  of  persons  stated  to  have  been  present.  "  This  was,  undoubtedly, 
the  original  Guildhall  spoken  of  by  Fabyan,  Grafton,  and  Stow :  the  old  Berry  Court, 
or  Hal  continued,  and  the  Courts  of  the  Mair  and  Aldermen  were  continually  holden 
there.     They  had  an  entrance  in  Aldermanbury.     This  we  will  call  the  first  Guildhall." 

The  second  Guildhall,  according  to  the  Corporation  records,  was  built  in  1326,  the 
20th  Edward  II.  Part  of  the  crypt  of  this  building  exists,  though  much  defaced  by 
fire ;  it  extends  beneath  half  the  present  hall,  and  adjoins  the  present  crypt,  being  divided 
by  a  stout  brick  wall.  We  might  reasonably  infer  from  this  evidence  that  the  second 
building  was  a  part,  or  occupied  a  part,  of  the  present  site.  In  Aggas's  map,  15G0, 
there  is  a  representation  of  the  old  entry  from  Aldermanbury.  There  was  no  entry 
for  carriages,  or  even  an  opening  into  Gresham-street,  as  now. 

We  now  come  to  the  present,  or  third  Guildhall,  "  begun  to  be  builded  new,"  says 
Fabyan,  in  the  year  1411,  the  12th  of  Henry  IV.,  "by  Thomas  Knoles,  then 
Maior,  and  by  his  brethren  the  Aldermen ;  and  the  same  was  made  of  a  little  cottage 
and  a  large  great  house,  as  it  now  standeth."  The  cost  was  defrayed  by  benevolences, 
fees,  fines,  and  amercements  for  ten  years.  The  Mayor's  Court  and  Chambers  were 
added,  and  a  stately  entrance-porch,  "  beautified  with  images  of  stone."  Divers  alder- 
men glazed  the  windows,  as  appeared  by  their  arms  painted  on  each.  Among  the 
individual  contributions  was  the  making  and  glazing  of  "  two  louvers,"  for  which  Sir 
W.  Harryot,  Mayor,  gave  40Z.  The  hall  was  twenty  years  in  building ;  the  kitchen 
was  built  "  by  procurement"  from  the  companies,  of  Sir  John  Shaw,  goldsmith,  Mayor, 
knighted  on  Bosvvorth  Field;  the  kitchen  was  first  used  for  dressing  Sir  John's 
mayoralty  banquet,  in  1501 ;  and  he  "  was  the  first  that  kept  his  feast  there;"  "  since 
which  time  the  Mayor's  feasts  have  been  yearly  kept  there,  which  before  time  were 
kept  in  the  Taylors'  Hall  and  the  Grocers'  Hall."  "Nicholas  Alwin,  grocer,  Mayor, 
1499,  deceased  1505,  gave  by  his  testament  for  a  hanging  of  tapestrie  to  serve  for  the 
principal  daies  in  the  Guildhall,  seventy-three  pounds  6*.  8d." •  In  1614-15  was 
erected  a  new  Council  Chamber,  and  Record-room  over.  Among  the  early  enter- 
tainments given  in  the  Guildhall,  was  that  of  1357,  when  John,  King  of  France, 
and  Edward  the  Black  Prince,  were  received  and  entertained  most  sumptuously  by  the 
Mayor  and  citizens,  May  24.  Again,  in  1419,  King  Henry  V.  was  entertained  by  the 
Corporation  at  the  Guildhall,  when,  it  is  reported,  the  Mayor,  Sir  Richard  Whittington, 
burnt  the  bonds  for  money  lent  to  King  Henry,  to  the  value  of  60,000Z.  Here,  1483, 
June  24,  the  Duke  of  Buckingham  attended  with  the  Mayor  and  Sheriffs,  by  command 
of  Richard  Duke  of  Gloster,  and  addressing  a  great  multitude  of  Liverymen  assembled 
in  the  Common  Hall,  pointed  out  to  them  the  bastardy  of  King  Edward  V.,  and 
urged  the  superior  claim  of  Richard  Plantagenet,  as  depicted  in  Shakspeare's 
Richard  III.,  act  hi.  scene  5. 

Olo.  Go  after,  after,  Cousin  Buckingham, 
The  Mayor  towards  Guild  Hall  hies  him  in  all  post; 
There,  at  the  modest  vantage  of  the  time, 
Infer  the  bastardy  of  Edward's  children  : 
Tell  them,  how  Edward  put  to  death  a  citizen, 
Only  for  saying — he  would  make  his  son 
"  Heir  to  the  Crown."    Meaning,  indeed,  his  House, 
Which,  by  the  sign  thereof,  was  termed  so. 


And  again  : — 


Bitch.  I  go ;  and  towards  three  or  four  o'clock 
Look  for  the  news  that  the  Guild  Hall  affords. 


GUILDHALL.  387 


1843.  Here  took  place  the  trial  and  condemnation  of  Anne  Askew  for  heresy,  before  Bishop  Bonner ; 
she  was  burnt  at  the  stake,  in  Smithfield.  1547. — Trial  of  the  Earl  of  Surrey,  and  his  conviction  of  high 
treason.  1553,  Nov.  13. — Trial  and  condemnation  of  Lady  Jane  Grey  and  her  husband.  1554,  April  17. 
— Trial  and  acquittal  of  Sir  Nicholas  Throgmortou,  for  participation  in  Thomas  Wyatt's  rebellion  against 
Queen  Mary.  1606,  March  28.— Trial  and  conviction  of  the  Jesuit  Garnet.  (Gunpowder  Plot.)  1642, 
Jan.  5. — Charles  I.  attended  at  a  Common  Council,  and  claimed  their  assistance  in  apprehending 
Hampden  and  other  patriots,  who  had  taken  shelter  in  the  City  to  avoid  arrest.  During  the  Civil  War 
and  the  Commonwealth,  the  Guildhall  was  the  arena  of  many  a  patriotic  movement.  InPepys's  Diary, 
11th  Feb.  1659-60,  he  records  the  reception  of  Gen.  Monk  at  the  Guildhall.  After  the  abdication  of 
James  II.  the  Lords  Parliament  assembled  here,  and  declared  for  the  Prince  of  Orange. 

In  the  Great  Fire  the  oak  roof  was  entirely  destroyed,  and  the  principal  front 
much  injured.  "  That  night  (Tuesday  Sept.  4,  1666),  the  sight  of  Guildhall  was  a 
fearfull  spectacle,  which  stood  the  whole  hody  of  it  together  in  view  for  several  hours 
together,  after  the  fire  had  taken  it,  without  flames  (I  suppose  because  the  timber  was 
of  such  solid  oake),  in  a  bright  shining  coale,  as  if  it  had  been  a  pallace  of  gold  or  a 
great  building  of  burnished  brasse."  The  roof  was  an  open  timber  one,  springing 
from  the  capitals  of  the  clustered  columns,  which  subsequently  bore  guideron  shields  with 
the  arms  of  the  twelve  Great  Companies.  After  the  Fire  an  additional  story  was  raised 
to  the  lofty  pitch  of  the  original  roof,  the  ceiling  covering  this  being  flat  and  square 
panelled :  eight  circular-headed  windows  on  each  side  were  added.  These  reparations 
have  been  attributed  to  Sir  Christopher  Wren.  Elmes  acknowledges  "  the  modern 
roof  and  ceiling  of  Guildhall"  to  be  Wren's,  but  "built  over  it  in  haste  and  for  imme- 
diate use,  and  evidently  a  temporary  covering."  (See  Wren  and  his  Times,  p.  266.) 
The  present  mongrel  front  of  Guildhall  was  erected  by  Mr.  George  Dance,  the  City 
architect,  in  1789. 

The  chief  approach  to  the  Hall  was  by  a  two-storied  porch,  far  in  advance  of  the  main 
building.  It  had  been  much  altered  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth  or  James  I.  It  had,  on 
each  side  of  the  entrance,  two  ornamented  niches,  and  two  figures  in  other  niches,  with 
figures  in  the  upper  story.  These  figures  were  taken  down  by  Dance  in  1789,  and  they 
lay  in  a  cellar  until  Alderman  Boydell  induced  the  Corporation,  in  1794,  to  permit 
them  to  pass  into  the  hands  of  Thomas  Banks,  the  eminent  sculptor,  who  held  them  in 
great  estimation  as  works  of  art ;  and  after  his  death,  in  1809,  they  were  purchased  by 
Mr.  Bankes,  M.P.  These  figures  have  been  placed  in  the  screen  at  the  east  end  of  the 
hall.  The  crypt  beneath  is  the  finest  and  most  extensive  now  remaining  in  London. 
Its  height  is  13  feet  from  the  ground  to  the  crown  of  the  arches.  In  1851  the  stone- 
work was  rubbed  down  and  cleaned,  and  the  clustered  shafts  and  capitals  were  re- 
paired ;  and,  on  the  visit  of  her  present  Majesty  to  the  City,  July  9,  1851,  a  banquet 
was  served  to  the  Queen  and  suite  in  this  crypt,  which  was  characteristically  decorated 
for  the  occasion.  In  the  chambers  and  offices  all  sorts  of  styles  and  decorations  of  all 
periods  prevail — poor  Gothic  and  painted  ceiling,  and  marble  sculpture,  and  mean 
wall-decoration ;  and  the  floors  are  of  various  levels.  The  interior  of  the  Great  HalL 
in  coarse  imitation  of  the  nave  of  Winchester  Cathedral,  was  also  poor  and  mean.  For 
more  than  150  years  did  the  citizens  bear  the  reproach  of  having  their  noble  hall  dis- 
figured by  the  incongruous  upper  story  and  flat  roof.  A  pointed  roof  was  modelled, 
but  was  proceeded  with  no  further.  With  increasing  public  taste  the  anomaly  became 
more  and  more  condemned.  The  covering  was  dilapidated  and  unsightly,  and  its 
removal  was  long  pressed  upon  the  Court  of  Common  Council,  chiefly  by  Mr.  Deputy 
Lott,  F.S.A.,  as  offensive  to  architectural  and  archaeological  taste.  At  length,  a 
committee  of  the  Court  of  Common  Council,  to  whom  the  subject  had  been  referred, 
reported  in  favour  of  a  series  of  extensive  improvements,  involving  the  entire  recon- 
struction, on  a  new  plan,  of  most,  if  not  all,  the  offices  of  the  Corporation.  First, 
however,  it  was  resolved  to  proceed  with  a  new  roof  for  the  Great  Hall ;  and  the 
committee  of  the  Corporation  set  about  this  great  work,  and  determined  upon  an  open 
oaken  roof,  with  a  central  louvre  and  a  tapering  metal  spire. 

The  roof  and  other  restorations  were  confided  to  Mr.  Horace  Jones,  the  City  archi- 
tect, with  the  assistance  of  Mr.  Digby  Wyatt,  F.S.A.,  and  Mr.  Edward  Roberts,  F.S.A. 
The  new  internal  cornice  of  the  roof  was  commenced,  with  some  ceremony,  on  the 
22nd  day  of  June,  1864,  when  the  members  of  the  Improvement  Committee,  the 
chaplain  to  the  Lord  Mayor,  and  the  principal  officers  of  the  Corporation,  assembled  on 
the  rcof,  and  laid  the  first  stone. 

C  0  2 


388  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  new  roof  and  its  general  construction  is  as  nearly  as  possible  in  accordance  with 
the  period  in  which  the  Hall  was  originally  built ;  and  with  a  drawing,  still  extant,  of 
the  ohl  roof  as  it  existed  before  its  destruction  in  the  Great  Fire ;  a  number  of  windows 
by  which  the  interior  of  the  building  was  lighted  from  both  sides,  and  which  had  been 
closed  for  generations,  have  been  reopened  with  excellent  effect ;  and,  by  the  removal 
of  an  unsightly  coating  of  plaster  and  cement,  all  the  characteristic  outlines  of  the 
internal  architectural  embellishments  have  been  brought  prominently  out.  One  of  the 
southern  windows  has  been  filled  with  stained  glass,  designed  by  Mr.  F.  Halliday,  and 
executed  by  Lavers  and  Barraud  :  the  subjects  refer  to  the  granting  of  charter,  coining 
money,  Wat  Tyler,  and  a  Royal  tournament.  The  new  roof  is  of  oak,  with  rather  a 
high  pitch :  it  is  lighted  by  sixteen  dormers,  eight  on  each  side,  and  from  the  centre 
springs  a  louvre  for  the  purposes  of  light  and  ventilation,  as  well  as  ornament,  and  it 
will  have  a  lofty  spire.  The  following  are  the  dimensions  : — The  fair  average  width 
of  the  Hall  is  49  feet  6  inches.  The  cluster  of  shafts  project  about  2  feet  on  each  side, 
and  their  height  to  the  springing  of  the  arch  ribs  is  34  feet.  The  height  from  the  present 
pavement  to  the  underside  of  the  ridge  is  89  feet.  The  total  length  is  152  feet,  and 
there  are  eight  bays  and  seven  principals.  The  length  of  the  collar  between  the  queen 
post  is  29  feet,  and  was  cut  out  of  timber  about  2  feet  8  inches  square.  One  pecu- 
liarity of  the  construction  of  the  roof  is  that  there  is  a  double  lining,  one  of  2-inch  oak 
and  another  of  1^-inch  deal :  on  this  latter  the  slates  are  laid. 

In  a  History  of  London  by  Allen  and  Wright,  is  a  note  stating  that  a  Col.  Smith, 
formerly  Deputy-Governor  of  the  Tower,  had  a  painting,  representing  London  after 
the  Great  Fire,  in  which  about  one-third  of  the  roof  of  Guildhall  appeared  standing, 
showing  a  gable-roof ;  and  that  in  Hollar's  View  of  London,  circa  1647,  the  roof 
appears  with  two  lanterns  arising  from  it. 

At  each  end  of  the  Hall  is  a  large  Gothic  window  occupying  the  whole  width,  the 
arches  resting  on  short  columns,  and  retaining  perfect  their  rich  tracery.  The  upper 
compartments  are  filled  with  painted  glass  (restored  and  modern)  of  the  royal  arms, 
and  stars  and  jewels  of  the  Garter,  Bath,  Thistle,  and  St.  Patrick,  in  the  east  window  ; 
and  the  City  arms,  supporters,  &c.  in  the  west  window.  Beneath  the  eastern  window, 
under  canopies,  and  at  the  back  of  the  spot  where  the  ancient  Court  of  Hustings  wa3 
holden,  are  statues  of  Edward  VI.,  Queen  Elizabeth,  and  King  Charles  I.  from  the 
Guildball  chapel.  By  an  entry  in  the  City  records,  the  figure  of  Charles  I.  originally 
occupied  a  place  in  the  Royal  Exchange. 

In  the  angles  at  the  opposite  end  of  the  hall,  on  lofty  octagonal  pedestals,  are  the 
celebrated  colossal  figures  of  the  giants  Gog  and  Magog,  sometimes  called  Gogmagog 
and  Corinseus.  (See  p.  380.)  They  were  placed  in  their  present  position  during  tho 
alterations  of  1815,  having  formerly  stood  on  each  side  of  the  steps  leading  to  the 
upper  rooms,  these  steps  being  where  now  is  placed  Beckford's  monument,  which  then 
stood  against  the  great  western  window. 

This  old  entrance  was  very  picturesque :  on  each  side  of  the  steps  was  an  octangular 
turreted  gallery,  balustraded,  for  the  hall-keeper ;  each  surrounded  by  iron-work  palm- 
trees,  supporting  a  balcony  and  ornamented  three-dial  clock,  and  a  resplendent  gilt 
sun  underneath.  The  flanking  giants,  in  their  singular  costume,  gave  the  whole  an 
unique  character.  At  the  sides  of  the  steps,  under  the  .hall-keeper's  offices,  were  two 
dark  cells,  or  cages,  in  which  unruly  apprentices  were  occasionally  confined,  by  order 
of  the  City  Chamberlain :  these  were  called  Little  Ease,  for  a  boy  could  not  stand  up- 
right in  them.  In  1706,  Queen  Anne  made  a  present  to  the  City,  to  be  hung  in  the 
hall,  of  26  standards,  63  colours,  and  a  kettledrum,  a  part  of  the  spoil  from  the  field  of 
Ramifies ;  these  have  been  long  removed.  There  are  several  sculptured  monuments 
erected  at  the  expense  of  the  Corporation — to  Admiral  Lord  Nelson,  by  J.  Smith,  1810, 
inscription  by  Sheridan;  Alderman  Beckford,  Lord  Mayor  in  1762  and  1769,  by 
Moore  j  the  Earl  of  Chatham,  by  Bacon,  1782,  inscription  by  Burke  j  the  Right  Hon.  W. 
Pitt,  by  Bubb,  1813,  inscription  by  Canning.  Upon  Beckford's  monument  is  the  speech 
which  was  long  believed  to  have  been  addressed  by  him  to  George  III.  on  his  throne. 

Gifforcl  {Ben  Jonson,  vol.  vi.  p.  481)  denies  this ;  and  Isaac  Reed  asserts  that  "Beckford  did  not  utter 
one  syllable  of  this  speech.  It  was  penned  by  Home  Tooke,  and  by  his  art  put  on  the  records  of  tho 
City  and  on  Beckford's  statue,  as  he  told  me,  Mr.  Braithwaite,  Mr.  Seyers,  &c.,  at  the  Athenian  Club." 


GUILDHALL.  389 


The  style  of  these  monuments  (which  cost  3000  and  4000  guineas  each)  is  ill  adapted  for  a  Tudor 
hall,  and  they  rank  low  as  works  of  art :  for  example,  in  that  to  Xelson,  the  only  indication  of  irs  object 
is  a  small  medallion  oi  the  hero ;  in  lieckford's,  the  decline  of  the  City  and  Commerce  is  represented  by 
figures  in  a  drooping  state  ! — a  literal  allegory. 

The  memorial  group  of  the  great  Duke  of  Wellington,  by  John  Bell;  central  statue 
of  the  hero,  and  two  emblematic  figures ;  is  in  better  taste. 

The  Guildhall  will  contain  between  6000  and  7000  persons.  Here  have  been  held 
the  Inauguration  Dinners  of  the  Lord  Mayors  since  1501.  Charles  I.  was  feasted 
here,  in  1641,  with  a  political  object,  which  failed.  Charles  II.  was  nine  times  enter- 
tained here  at  dinner. 

Charles  II.  dined  with  the  citizens  the  year  that  Sir  Robert  Viner  was  mayor,  who  getting  elated 
with  continually  toasting  the  royal  family,  grew  a  little  fond  of  his  maje-ty.  "  The  king  understood 
very  well  how  to  extricate  himself  in  all  kinds  of  difficulties,  and,  with  an  hint  to  the  company  to  avoid 
ceremony,  stole  off,  and  made  towards  his  coach,  which  stood  ready  for  him  in  Guildhall-yard.  But  the 
mayor  liked  his  company  so  well,  and  was  grown  so  intimate,  that  he  pursued  him  hastily,  and  catching 
him  fast  by  the  hand,  cried  out  with  a  vehement  oath  and  accent,  '  Sir,  you  shall  stay  and  take  t'other 
bottle !'  The  airy  monarch  looked  kindly  at  him  over  his  shoulder,  and  with  a  smile  and  graceful  air 
(for  I  saw  him  at  the  time,  and  do  now)  repeated  this  line  of  the  old  song: — 

'  He  that  is  drunk  is  as  great  as  a  king,' 
and  immediately  returned  back  and  complied  with  his  landlord." — Spectator.  No.  462. 

From  1660,  with  only  three  exceptions,  our  sovereign  has  dined  at  Guildhall  on  Lord 
Mayor's  Day,  after  his  or  her  accession  or  coronation.  The  exceptions  were  James  II., 
who  held  the  City  Charter  upon  a  writ  of  quo  warranto  at  his  accession  ;  George  IV., 
who  was  rendered  unpopular  by  his  quarrel  with  his  Queen;  and  William  IV.,  who 
apprehended  political  tumult.  But  George  IV.  (when  Regent)  was  entertained  here, 
June  18,  1814,  with  Alexander,  Emperor  of  Russia,  and  Frederick- William  III.,  King 
of  Prussia,  when  the  banquet  cost  25,000Z„  and  the  value  of  the  plate  used  was 
200,000Z. :  [on  that  day  year  was  fought  the  Battle  of  Waterloo.]  On  July  9,  1814, 
the  Duke  of  Wellington  was  entertained  at  dinner  in  Guildhall.  The  banquet  to 
George  III.  cost  6898Z.,  when  1200  guests  dined  in  the  Hall;  that  to  Queen  Victoria, 
Nov.  9,  1837,  cost  6870Z. ;  and  an  evening  entertainment  to  her  Majesty,  July  9,  1851, 
to  celebrate  the  Great  Exhibition,  cost  5120Z.  14*.  9d.,  being  129Z.  5s.  3d.  less  than  the 
sum  voted :  invitations,  1452.  Here,  in  1831,  were  entertained  the  members  of  the 
Legislature,  and  others  who  promoted  and  supported  Parliamentary  Reform ;  in  1837, 
her  present  Majesty  the  Queen,  on  her  accession  to  the  throne:  in  1838,  the  foreign 
Ambassadors  and  other  distinguished  personages,  in  celebration  of  her  Majesty's  coro- 
nation ;  in  1855,  the  Emperor  and  Empress  of  the  French  were  feted  here  (the  Lord 
Mayor  raised  to  the  baronetcy  as  Sir  Francis  Graham  Moon) ;  in  1863,  the  Prince 
and  Princess  of  Wales,  shortly  after  their  marriage. 

The  Guildhall  is  magnificently  decorated  for  royal  entertainments,  when  the  sovereign 
is  seated  beneath  a  state  canopy  at  the  east  end.  The  lighting  of  the  vast  Hall  with 
gas  is  by  stars,  mottoes,  and  devices  of  6000  or  7000  jets  in  the  large  windows,  filled 
with  planking  and  sheet-iron,  to  prevent  accident  by  fire :  a  stupendous  crystal  star,  and 
a  Prince  of  Wales's  plume  in  spun  glass,  nine  feet  high,  are  superb  insignia  ;  the  archi- 
tectural lines  of  the  edifice  were  marked  out  with  5000  gas-jets ;  and  from  the  roof  hung 
two  painted  chandeliers,  each  12  feet  diameter ;  the  whole  flood  of  gaslight  exceeding 
that  of  45,000  wax-candles  ;  this  being  the  former  mode  of  lighting  :  the  present  is 
by  gas  chandeliers,  of  appropriate  design. 

The  Dinner  on  Lord  Mayor's  Day  is  a  magnificent  spectacle :  the  Lord  Mayor  and 
his  distinguished  guests  advance  to  the  banquet  by  sound  of  trumpet ;  and  the  superb 
dresses  and  official  costumes  of  the  company,  about  1200  in  number,  with  the  display  of 
costly  plate,  is  very  striking.  The  Hall  is  divided :  at  the  upper,  or  hustings  tables,  the 
courses  are  served  hot ;  at  the  lower  tables  the  turtle  only  is  hot.  The  baron  of  beef 
is  brought  in  procession  from  the  kitchen  into  the  Hall  in  the  morning,  and  being  placed 
upon  a  pedestal,  at  night  is  cut  up  by  "  the  City  carver."  The  old  Kitchen,  wherein 
the  dinner  was  dressed,  was  a  vast  apartment ;  the  principal  range  was  16  feet  long 
and  7  feet  high,  and  a  baron  of  beef  (3  cwt.)  upon  the  gigantic  spit  was  turned  by 
hand.  There  were  20  cooks,  besides  helpers ;  14  tons  of  coals  were  consumed.  Some  40 
turtles  are  slaughtered  for  250  tureens  of  soup ;  and  the  serving  of  the  dinner  requires 
about  200  persons  and  8000  plate- changes.  Next  morning  the  fragments  of  the  Great 
Feast  are  doled  out  to  the  poor. 


390  CUBIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  following,  from  Pepys's  Diary,  is  the  earliest  account  we  have  of  the  Lord 
Mayor's  Inauguration  Dinner  : — 

"  29th  Oct.  1663. — To  Guildhall,  and  up  and  down  to  see  the  tables  ;  where  under  every  salt  there 
was  a  bill  of  fare,  and  at  the  end  of  the  table  the  persons  proper  for  the  table.  Many  were  the  tables, 
but  none  in  the  Hall  but  the  Mayor's  and  Lords  of  the  Privy  Council  that  had  napkins  or  knives,  which 
was  very  strange.  I  sat  at  the  Merchant  Strangers'  table,  where  ten  good  dishes  to  a  messe,  with  plenty  of 
wine  of  all  sorts  ;  but  it  was  very  unpleasing  that  we  had  no  napkins  nor  change  of  trenchers,  and  drank 
out  of  earthen  pitchers  and  wooden  dishes." 

The  Guildhall  Inauguration  Dinner,  including  wines,  usually  costs  about  15001., 
which  is  supposed  to  be  paid  out  of  the  public  money ;  but  the  City  contribute  only 
200/.,  the  remainder  being  paid  half  by  the  Lord  Mayor  and  half  by  the  two  Sheriffs. 
The  procession  costs  about  300Z.,  and  the  decoration  of  the  hall  800Z.,  which  is  similarly 
apportioned. 

The  Court  of  Hustings  held  in  the  Guildhall,  was  the  Saxon  Folkmote :  the  word 
Hustings  in  Saxon  signifies  the  House  of  Causes,  a  general  Council  or  Court.  The 
Court  is  considered  the  highest  Court  of  Judicature ;  the  presiding  judges,  the  Lord 
Mayor  and  Sheriffs.  The  proceedings  are  similar  to  the  County  Courts,  with  the 
addition,  anciently,  of  the  enrolment  of  deeds  and  wills,  &c.  The  following  entries 
are  from  the  English  Chronicle,  and  show  the  uses  the  Hall  was  put  to  in  the  holding 
of  this  Court  in  past  ages  : — 

In  1441  Maister  Roger  and  Master  Thomas  were  tried  in  the  Guildhalle  of  Londoun  for  tresons  and 
sorcery.  On  the  18th  of  November,  in  the  same  year,  Maister  Roger  Bollyngbrooke  was  arreymed  for 
tresonn  agens  the  Kyngis  persone,  and  thereof,  by  XII  men  of  Londoun,  he  was  founde  guilty.  Lord 
Say  (Saye)  was  brought  out  of  the  Tour  unto  Guyldehalle  to  be  tried,  Saturday,  July  4,  1450. 

The  following  entries  are  from  the  Diary  of  Henry  Machyn,  Citizen  and  Merchant  Taylor  of  London : — 
"  In  1550-1,  the  xiiij  day  of  Marche  was  rayned  at  the  Yeld-halle  a  C  (hundred)  mareners  for  robyng 
on  the  see,  and  the  Captayne,  belying  a  Skott,  was  cared  to  Nugate  the  same  day,  and  certen  cast  (con- 
demned). In  1552,  the  vij  day  of  June,  the  Duke  of  Northumberland  and  dyvers  of  the  Kynges  Consell  sat 
at  Yeld-hall  to  hear  certain  causys,  and  toke  up  my  Lord  Mayre  and  his  brodurne  for  vetell,  because  he 
lokyd  not  to  it,  and  for  sellyng  of  the  same,  and  oder  causys.  In  1559,  the  furst  day  of  December,  was 
raynyd  at  the  Yeld-hall,  Master  Grymston,  Captayn." 

The  Entrance. — The  Hall  is  approached  by  a  porch  consisting  of  two  divisions,  formed 
by  an  arch  and  columns  crossing  in  the  centre ;  the  wall  on  either  side  is  subdivided  into 
smaller  compartments,  with  tracery  and  quatrefoil  turns.  The  groined  roof,  with 
stone  ribs  springing  from  the  sides,  are  intersected  in  the  centre  with  sculptured  bosses 
with  various  devices  of  the  arms  and  bearings  of  Edward  the  Confessor. 

The  Crypt,  already  described  on  page  301,  has,  at  each  intersection  of  the  groins,  a 
boss,  bearing  shields  with  the  arms  of  Edward  the  Confessor,  the  City  arms,  well- 
sculptured  roses,  &c. 

The  Chapel. — This  ancient  appendage  to  the  Guildhall  was  founded  by  Peter  Fan- 
love,  Adam  Francis,  and  Henry  Frowick,  citizens,  and  dedicated  to  St.  Mary  Magdalen 
and  all  Saints,  and  called  London  College,  in  1299.  In  the  records  of  the  Corporation 
of  the  date  of  1326,  there  is  an  account  of  timber  and  lead  granted  for  the  building, 
and  in  1379,  the  surplus  materials  not  used  in  the  building  of  the  Guildhall  were  given 
for  the  same  purpose. 

1413.— In  Holinshed's  Chronicle,  vol.  iii.  p.  56,  there  is  the  following  entry :— "  He  (Richard  '\Vhit- 
tington)  also  builded  for  the  ease  of  the  Maior  of  London,  his  brethren,  and  the  worshipful  citizens,  on 
the  solemne  days  of  their  assemblie,  a  Chapell  adjoining  to  the  Guildhall,  to  the  intent  that  before  they 
entered  into  any  of  their  worldlie  affaires,  they  should  begin  with  prayer  and  invocation  to  God  for  hia 
assistance." 

In  the  mayoralty  of  John  Welles,  grocer,  the  Chapel  was  rebuilt,  1431. 

From  Maohyn's  Diary.— "The  vj  day  of  May  (1554)  was  a  goodly  evyngsong  at  Yeldhall  Colege,  by 
the  Masters  of  the  Clarkes  and  ther  felowshyppe  of  Clarkes,  with  syngyng  and  playing,  as  youe  have 
hard.  [The  morrow  after  was  a  great  Mass  at  the  same  place,  by  the  same  fraternity,  when  every  Clerk 
offered  a  halfpenny.  The  Mass  was  sung  by  divers  of  the  Queen's  Chapel  and  children.]  The  xxvij  day 
of  May  (1555)  was  the  Clarkes  Prossessyon  from  Yeldhall  College,  and  a  goodly  Masse  lie  hard  (or  has 
been  heard),  and  evere  Clarke  havying  acrosse  and  garland,  with  C.  (hundred)  shewers  borne,  and  the 
whettcs  (waitsi  playing  round  Chepe,  and  so  to  Ledynhall  (unto  St.  Albro  Chyrche)  (Ethelburga),  and 
there  they  putt  off  their  gayre  (gear),  and  there  was  the  blessyd  Sacrament  borne  with  torche  light 
abowt,  and  from  thens  unto  Barbur-hall  to  doner.  The  tomb  of  Sir  Thomas  Kneesworth,  late  Mare  of 
London,  repaired  by  John  Bullok,  xvij  of  June,  1562." 

This  Chapel  was  not  so  much  injured  by  the  Great  Fire  as  to  lose  its  architectural 
features.  It  consisted  of  a  main  and  side  aisle ;  the  latter,  to  the  north,  not  having  had 
any  regular  communication  with  the  former.  The  west  had  a  large  window  with  tracery 
entire,  and  beneath  it  a  handsome  pointed  arch  entrance,  under  a  square  architrave,, 
having  sculptured  capitals  with  quatrefoils  and  shields  with  arms  in  the  spandrels  r 


GUILDHALL.  3D1 


against  the  windows  were  three  niches,  large  and  heavy.  They  contained  good  figures 
of  King  Edward  VI. ;  Queen  Elizabeth,  with  a  Phoenix  under  her ;  and  of  Charles  I., 
treading  upon  a  globe,  sculptured  by  Stone;  the  spaces  of  wall  on  each  side,  and  under 
the  window,  were  ornamented  with  panels.  At  the  Dissolution  of  the  religious  houses 
the  Chapel  was  purchased  by  the  Mayor  and  Commonalty,  and  used  as  the  Court  of 
Requests.  It  was  taken  down  in  1822  to  make  way  for  the  present  Courts  of  Law : 
the  window  is  preserved  in  the  Chamberlain's  office;  there  are  remains  of  the  crypt, 
with  the  stairs  leading  to  the  Chapel. 

North  of  the  Hall  is  the  Court  of  Exchequer,  formerly  the  King's  Bencb  Court.  It 
was  built  immediately  after  the  Great  Hall  {temp.  Henry  VI.)  for  the  Mayor's  Court, 
still  held  here.  Some  of  the  windows  were  glazed  by  the  executora  of  Whittington, 
and  emblazoned  with  his  arms  :  Stow  describes  among  the  glass,  "  the  Mayor  pictured 
sitting  in  habite,  party-coloured,  and  a  hood  on  his  head;  his  sword  before  him,  with 
an  hatte  or  cap  of  maintenance ;  the  common  clearke  and  other  officers  bare-headed, 
their  hoodes  on  their  shoulders."  This  Court  had  at  the  back  of  the  judges'  seats 
paintings  of  Prudence,  Justice,  Religion  and  Fortitude.  Here  is  a  large  picture  by 
Alaux  of  Paris,  presented  by  Louis-Philippe,  representing  his  reception  of  an  address 
from  the  City  on  his  visit  to  England  in  1844 ;  Humphery,  mayor,  and  many  other 
portraits.  Here  also  are  portraits  of  George  III.  and  Queen  Charlotte,  by  Ramsay; 
and  William  III.  and  Queen  Mary,  by  Van  der  Voort. 

The  Common- Council  Chamber  contains,  in  a  niche  behind  the  Mayor's  chair,  a 
marble  statue  of  George  III.,  by  Chantrey,  the  inscription  by  Alderman  Birch,  in 
whose  mayoralty,  1815,  the  statue  was  erected.  On  the  right  is  a  whole-length  portrait 
of  Queen  Victoria,  by  Hayter;  and  left  are  half-lengths  of  Caroline,  queen  of 
George  IV.,  and  her  daughter  the  Princess  Charlotte,  both  by  Lonsdale.  Here  are  the 
following  busts :  Queen  Victoria  and  the  Prince  Consort,  J.  Durham,  sculptor ;  Prince 
of  Wales,  by  Marshall  Wood;  H.  B.  Beaufoy,  F.R.S.,  by  Calder  Marshall;  Thomas 
Clarkson,  R.  L.  Jones,  and  Major-General  Sir  H.  Havelock,  by  W.  Behnes;  T.  H. 
Hall,  by  J.  Durham;  Lord  Nelson,  by  the  Hon.  Mrs.  Darner;  Granville  Sharp,  by 
Chantrey;  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  by  Turnerelli. 

North  side:  Portraits — Chamberlain  Clarke,  by  Lawrence;  Aldermen  Waithman  and  Wood,  by 
Patten;  Nelson,  by  Beechey;  Lord  Denman,  by  Mrs.  Pearson.  Paintings — Defence  of  Gibraltar  and 
burning  of  gun-boats,  1782,  by  Paton ;  Rodney's  Victory,  1782,  by  Dodd ;  and  Sir  William  Walworth 
killing  Wat  Tyler,  in  Smithtield,  by  Northcote.  East  side :  Siege  of  Gibraltar,  by  Copley,  father  of  Lord 
Lyndhurst :  it  covers  the  entire  side,  and  was  painted  by  the  artist  raised  on  a  platform.  South  side: 
Aiderman  Boydell,  by  Beechey;  Lord  Heathfield,  by  Reynolds;  Murder  of  Rizzio  by  Opie;  Lord  Corn- 
wallis,  by  Copley;  Defence  and  Relief  of  Gibraltar,  by  Paton;  Rodney  breaking  the  French  line,  1782, 
by  Dodd. 

Here  are  also  three  pictures  of  municipal  ceremonies  and  festivities :  the  Civic  Oath  administered  to 
Alderman  Newnham,  as  Lord  Mayor,  on  the  Hustings  iu  the  Guildhall,  Nov.  8, 1782,  with  140  portraits; 
the  Lord  Mayor's  Show  by  Water — boats  by  Paton,  figures  by  Wheatley ;  and  the  Royal  Entertainment 
in  Guildhall,  June  18, 1814,  by  Daniell,  R.A. 

The  Court  of  Aldermen  is  profusely  gilded,  and  painted  with  allegorical  figures  of 
the  City  of  London,  Prudence,  Justice,  Temperance,  and  Fortitude,  by  Sir  Jame3 
Thornhill,  who  was  presented  by  the  Corporation  with  a  gold  cup,  value  225£.  7*. 

The  Chamberlain's  Office  is  on  the  north-east :  he  is  keeper  of  the  City  cash, 
regalia,  and  trust-money;  admits,  on  oath,  persons  to  the  freedom  of  London,  and 
registers  and  enrols  all  apprentices,  adjudicates  between  them  and  their  masters,  and 
lias  power  to  commit  either  to  Bridewell.  The  Chamberlain  bears  on  state  occasions 
an  ancient  staff,  surmounted  with  a  jewelled  crown :  this  sceptre  is  presented  with  the 
City  keys,  mace,  and  sword,  on  the  entry  of  the  sovereign  by  Temple  Bar ;  and  is 
formally  surrendered  on  the  yearly  re-election  of  the  Chamberlain,  November  18. 
There  is  neither  record  nor  tradition  of  a  defalcation  in  his  office  in  upwards  of  700 
years.  The  Chamberlain's  ancient  seal  is  a  royal  crown,  lion  passant,  the  City  sword, 
and  two  keys :  legend,  Sigillum  Cameras  Londinu*  In  the  office  hangs  the  picture  of 
the  Battle  of  Towton,  painted  by  Alderman  Boydell ;  and  here,  where  the  City  appren- 
tices sign  their  indentures,  suggestively  hangs  a  fine  set  of  Hogarth's  prints  of  tb.9 

*  Wilkes  was  Chamberlain  from  1779  until  his  death  in  1797:  he  was  succeded  by  Alderman  Richard 
Clark,  who,  when  sheriff,  took  Dr.  Johnson  to  a  judges'  dinner  at  the  Old  Bailey ;  the  judges  being  Black- 
stone  and  Eyre.  Mr.  Clark,  when  15,  was  introduced  to  Johnson,  whom  he  last  met  at  the  Essex  Head 
Club.    Chamberlain  Clark  died  in  "  Cowley's  House,"  at  Chertsey,  in  1831,  aged  92. 


392  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Industrious  and  Idle  Apprentices.  In  the  Chamberlain's  Parlour  are  duplicate 
copies  of  the  freedoms  and  thanks  voted  to  distinguished  personages  hy  the  City ;  they 
are  fine  specimens  of  penmanship,  mostly  by  Mr.  Tomkins,  whose  portrait,  by  Rey- 
nolds (and  said  to  be  his  latest  picture),  hangs  here.  In  the  Waiting  Room,  among 
the  pictures  are  Reynolds's  portrait  of  the  great  Lord  Camden,  and  Opie's  Murder  of 
James  I.  of  Scotland. 

A  large  folding  screen,  painted,  it  is  said,  by  Copley,  represents  the  Lord  Mayor  Heckford  delivering 
the  City  sword  to  King  George  III.  at  Temple  liar;  interesting  for  its  portraits  and  record  of  the  cos- 
tumes of  the  period ;  presented  by  Alderman  Salomons  to  tbe  City  in  1850.  Here,  too,  is  a  large  picture 
of  the  battle  of  Agincourt,  painted  by  Sir  Robert  Ker  Porter,  when  19  years  of  age,  assisted  by  Mr.  Mul- 
ready,  subsequently  K.A.,  aud  presented  to  the  City  in  1808.  , 

In  the  Library,  rich  in  books,  tracts,  and  MSS.  relating  to  the  City,  and  first  opened 
in  1828,  are  portraits  of  several  aldermen  ;  and  a  Museum  of  relics  discovered  at  Old 
London  Bridge,  the  Royal  Exchange,  and  elsewhere  in  the  City.     (See  Museums.) 

In  the  Courts  of  Common  Pleas  and  Queen's  Bench,  built  upon  the  site  of  Guildhall 
Chapel,  by  Montague,  in  1823,  are  portraits  of  the  judges  who  justly  adjudicated  the 
disputed  properties  of  the  citizens  after  the  Great  Fire.  These  and  other  pictures  were  for- 
merly hung  in  the  Guildhall-:  in  stormy  political  times  they  were  occasionally  injured ;  for, 
in  the  London  Gazette  of  1681,  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Court  of  Aldermen  advertised  a 
reward  of  500/.  for  the  discovery  of  the  person  who  offered  an  indignity  to  the  portrait 
of  the  Duke  of  York  (James  II.)  in  the  Guildhall,  to  show  their  deep  resentment  at 
that  "  insolent  and  villanous  act." 

In  the  portraits  of  Sir  Matthew  Hale,  and  other  judges  of  his  time,  hung  up  in  the  Courts  at  Guildhall, 
they  are  represented  with  beards  and  skull-caps ;  but  these  portraits  are  not  much  better  painted  than 
the  portraits  of  the  Scottish  Kings  at  Holyrood,  and  may  not  be  entitled  to  rank  higher  as  authorities. 
The  powdered  wig  gradually  degenerated  into  an  ordinary  flaxen  one;  even  that  began  to  be  left  off 
about  1825;  and  since  the  death  of  Mr.  Justice  Littledale,  not  a  single  judge  is  distinguishable  in  a 
drawing-room  from  the  ordinary  mob  of  gentlemen  by  his  dress.  Bishops  are  degenerating  in  the 
same  manner. 

Two  new  Law  Courts  have  been  added  to  the  Guildhall ;  and  a  portion  of  the 
ancient  crypt  has  been  appropriated  as  a  kitchen;  the  site  of  the  old  kitchen  being 
that  of  the  north  court.  There  being  no  external  elevations  to  these  new  courts,  the 
roof  is  of  thick  glass  in  ironwork  frames. 

Guildhall  and  the  offices  and  buildings  connected  therewith,  the  Mansion  House,  the 
Sessions  House,  and  other  Corporation  property  are  insured  against  fire  in  amounts  not 
exceeding  in  the  whole  the  sum  of  200,000/.  The  several  amounts  expended  upon  the 
Guildhall  and  the  buildings  connected  therewith,  from  the  year  1800  to  1865, 
distinguishing  the  cost  incurred  in  temporary  buildings  and  erections  upon  special 
public  occasions,  were  as  follow :  72,101/.  7*.  5d.  expended  on  repairs  and  alterations ; 
32,928/.  19s.  lid.  upon  fittings  upon  Lord  Mayor's-day  ;  42,382/.  8*.  Id.  for  special 
entertainments ;  and  for  law  courts  the  sum  of  25,911/.  5s.  6c/.,  making  a  total  of 
173,323/.  14s.  hd.  expended  upon  the  Guildhall  during  the  above  period. 

HA  CKNET-  CO  A  CRES. 

COACHES  were  first  let  for  hire  in  London  in  1625,  and  were  hence  called  hackney- 
coaches  ;  that  they  were  named  from  being  first  employed  in  conveying  the 
citizens  to  their  villas  at  Hackney,  is  a  popular  error,  though  supported  by  Maitland. 
The  term  is  said  to  be  from  the  French  haquenee,  a  slow-paced  or  ambling  nag ;  as, 
"he  had  in  his  stable  an  hackenay."  (Chaucer's  Romaunt  of  the  Rose.)  But 
haquenee  "  does  not  include  the  idea  of  hiring.  To  hack  is  to  offer  a  thing  for  common 
sale  or  hire;  and  a  coach  (along  with  the  horses)  kept  for  hire  is  a  hackney-coach." 
(David  Booth's  Analytical  Dictionary,  p.  304.)  Hackney-coaches  were  first  kept  at 
inns,  but  soon  got  into  the  streets,  as  appears  in  Strafford's  Letters,  April,  1634 : — 

'' One  Captain  Bailey  hath  erected  some  four  Hackney-coaches,  put  his  men  in  livery,  and  appointed 
them  to  stand  at  the  May-Pole  in  the  Strand  (where  St.  Mary's  Church  now  is),  giving  them  instructions 
at  what  rates  to  carry  men  into  several  parts  of  the  town,  where  all  the  day  they  may  be  had.  Other 
hackney-men  seeing  this  way,  they  flocked  to  the  same  place,  and  perform  their  journeys  at  the  same 
rate.  So  that  sometimes  there  is  twenty  of  them  together,  which  disperse  up  and  down  ;  that  they 
and  others  are  to  be  had  everywhere,  as  watermen  are  tu  be  had  by  the  water-side." 

A  successful  rival,  however,  soon  appeared ;  when  Sir  Saunders  Duncombe,  upon 
petition  to  Charles  I.,  stated  the  streets  to  be  greatly  encumbered  with  the  coaches 


BALLS   OF  TBE   CITY  COMPANIES.  393 


and  that  in  many  parts  beyond  sea  people  were  much  carried  in  chairs  that  are  covered, 
whereby  few  coaches  were  used  among  them ;  and  the  king  granted  Buncombe  "the 
sole  privilege  to  use,  let,  or  hire  a  number  of  the  said  covered  chairs  for  fourteen  years ;" 
the  fare  being  1*.  per  mile.  Yet  the  hackney-coaches  had  so  increased  in  1635,  as  to 
be  considered  a  nuisance  by  the  Court,  and  to  be  limited  by  Star-chamber.  In  1637, 
however,  Charles  granted  a  special  commission  to  his  master  of  the  horse  to  license 
fifty  hackney -coachmen  in  London  and  Westminster,  each  to  keep  twelve  horses,  for 
about  200  coaches,  which  Sir  William  Davenant  describes  as  "  uneasily  hung,  and  so 
narrow  that  he  took  them  for  sedans  on  wheels."  Their  rates  were  fixed  by  Act  14 
Charles  II.     In  1694  they  were  limited  to  700. 

Hackney-coaches  were  first  excluded  from  Hyfte  Park  in  1695,  when  "several  persons  of  quality 
havintr  been  aft'rontid  at  the  Ring  by  some  of  the  persons  that  rode  in  hackney-coaches  with  masks,  and 
complaint  thereof  being  made  to  the  Lord  Justices,  an  order  is  made  that  no  hackney-coaches  be  per- 
mitted to  go  into  the  said  Park,  and  that  none  presume  to  appear  there  in  masks."  (Post-Boy,  June  8, 
1695.)    And  the  exclusion  continues  to  this  day. 

By  coach  was  the  usual  mode  of  sight-seeing  : — "  I  took  {Tatler,  June  18, 1709)  three 

lads,  who  were  under  my  guardianship,  a-rambling  in  a  hackney-coach,  to  shew  them 

the  town ;  as  the  lions,  the  tombs,  Bedlam,"  &c.     Gay's  Trivia  glances  at  this  period  :— 

"  When  on  his  box  the  nodding  coachman  snores, 
And  dreams  of  fancy' d  fares." 

In  1771  the  number  of  coaches  was  fixed  at  1000,  and  their  fares  were  raised ; 
again  increased  in  1799,  and  the  office  removed  to  Somerset  House  1782 ;  since  1833, 
their  number  has  not  been  limited.  In  1814  hackney-chariots  were  introduced ;  and 
in  1820  cabriolets,  or  cabs.  The  double-seated  hackney-coach  was  usually  a  cast-off 
carriage,  often  to  be  seen  covered  with  the  emblazoned  arms  of  its  former  noble  owner ; 
and  the  driver  was  notoriously  "  rude,  exacting,  and  quarrelsome."  Both  coaches  and 
chariots  were  drawn  by  a  pair  of  horses ;  but  the  cab  dispenses  with  one  horse,  and  the 
fare  is  thus  reduced  half.  The  cab  (from  Paris)  was  at  first  open  and  chaise-like, 
with  a  pair  of  wheels,  but  very  liable  to  accidents,  which  soon  begat  a  host  of  "  safety" 
improvements.  The  cab,  or  sedan-like  coach-body  upon  four  wheels,  often  reminds  one 
of  a  seventeenth-century-coach,  such  as  we  see  sculptured  on  Thynne's  tomb  in  West- 
minster Abbey. 

HALLS  OF  THE  CITY  COMPANIES. 

I^OREMOST  in  vastness  and  antiquity  is  the  Guildhall  of  the  City  of  London,  just 
described.  The  latter  affords  the  best  idea  of  the  Companies'  ancient  halls,  the 
majority  of  which  were  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire.  They  were  the  guild-halls,  from 
the  gild-hallas  of  the  Anglo-Saxons,  wherein  wares  were  exposed  for  sale,  as  in  most 
towns  of  the  Middle  Ages. 

The  ancient  Hall  mostly  had  an  open  timber  roof ;  whence  the  Fishmongers',  and 
probably  other  Companies,  suspended  the  properties  of  their  pageants.  In  the  centre 
of  the  roof  was  a  louvre,  or  lantern ;  at  the  sides  were  Gothic  windows,  filled  with 
painted  glass ;  and  beneath  hung  gorgeous  tapestry,  which,  in  the  Merchant-Tailors' 
Hall,  contained  the  history  of  their  patron,  St.  John  the  Baptist.  The  floor  was 
strewed  with  rushes ;  the  tables  were  planks  placed  on  tressels ;  a  reredos,  or  grand 
screen,  crossed  the  apartment,  hiding  the  entrances  to  the  buttery,  larder,  and  kitchen ; 
"the  minstrailes"  were  in  a  gallery  aloft :  and  there  were  temporary  platforms  and 
stages  for  players.  Other  passages  branched  to  the  wine  and  ale  cellars,  and  to 
the  chambers.  Annexed  to  the  buttery  were  the  bakehouse  and  brewhouse;  the 
kitchen  passage  was  guarded  by  a  spiked  hatch,  and  was  well  stored  with  "  spittes, 
rakkes,  and  rollars."  There  is  also  named  in  Brewers'  Hall,  temp.  Henry  VI.  "  the 
tresaunce,"  or  cloister  between  the  great  kitchen  and  the  hall ;  and  an  "  almarie  cup- 
board," for  the  Company's  alms  (apparently  broken  provisions),  in  the  great  kitchen. 

The  Companies  possessed  halls  from  the  date  of  their  first  charters,  under  Edward 
III.  The  Merchant-tailors,  however,  had  a  hall  at  the  back  of  the  Red  Lion,  in 
Basing-lane,  long  before  they  bought  their  Hall  in  Threadneedle-street,  in  1331.  The 
Weavers,  Bakers,  Butchers,  and  other  ancient  guilds,  must  also  have  had  halls  in  very 
remote  times :  these,  and  other  meeting-places,  particularly  of  the  Minor  Companies, 
were  probably,  at  first,  but  mean  buildings,  as  the  original  Guildhall  in  Aldermanbury  j 


394  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

and  before  the  founding  of  their  halls,  the  Companies  met  at  various  great  mansions  in 
the  City,  lent  for  the  purpose. 

In  their  Halls  the  Twelve  Great  Companies  gave  grand  feasts  to  various  monarchs, 
who  enrolled  themselves  as  members.  In  the  Interregnum  they  were  the  meeting- 
places  of  the  Government  Commissioners;  by  the  Parliamentary  commanders  they 
were  converted  into  barracks ;  by  the  puritanical  clergy  into  preaching-places ;  and  by 
successive  Lord  Mayors  into  temporary  mansion-houses.  In  Elizabeth's  and  the 
Stuarts'  reigns,  every  Hall  was  obliged  to  have  also  a  granary  and  an  armoury ;  and 
the  Company's  almshouses  adjoined  the  Hall,  that  the  alms-folk  might  be  ready  to  join 
in  processions  and  pageants. 

The  donations  of  plate  to  the  Companies  included  drinking-cups,  gallon-pots,  fasins 
and  ewers,  large  silver  salvers,  goblets  and  salts  of  "  sylver,  sylver-guylte,  parcel-gylte,  or 
sylver-white  :"  and  to  the  entry  of  the  name  and  gift  was  usually  attached  an  ejaculatory 
prayer  for  the  donor,  as  "  Ih'u  be  mercyfull  unto  his  soul  ;"  "  God  send  him  long  life 
and  welfare,"  &c. 

Liveries  are  not  mentioned  to  have  been  worn  by  any  of  the  Companies  before  temp. 
Edward  I. ;  the  hood,  evidently  copied  from  the  monk's  cowl,  was  an  indispensable 
appendage;  and  the  Company's  "trade  conizances"  were  embroidered  conspicuously  on 
the  dress. 

The  Companies  were,  at  first,  half-ecclesiastical  bodies.  "This  demi-religious  character  evidenced 
itself  in  the  mode  of  their  foundation :  in  their  choosing  patron-saints  and  chaplains ;  founding  altars 
to  such  saints  in  the  churches  they  held  the  advowson  of,  and  in  various  other  ways.  None  of  the  trades 
assembled  to  form  fraternities,  without  ranging  themselves  under  the  banner  of  some  saint ;  and,  if  pos- 
sible, they  chose  a  saint  who  either  bore  a  relation  to  their  trade,  or  to  some  other  analogous  circum- 
stance. The  Fishmongers  adopted  St.  Peter,  and  met  at  St.  Peter's  Church ;  the  Drapers  chose  the 
Virgin  Mary,  mother  of  the  '  Holy  Lamb,'  or  fleece,  as  the  emblem  of  that  trade,  and  appropriately 
assembled,  in  like  manner  at  St.  Mary  Bethlem  church,  Bishopsgate;  the  Goldsmiths'  patron  was  St. 
Dunstan,  reported  to  have  been  a  brother  artisan ;  the  Merchant-Tailors,  another  branch  of  the  draping 
business,  marked  their  connexion  with  it  by  selecting  St.  John  Baptist,  who  was  the  harbinger  of  the 
holy  Lamb,  so  adopted  by  the  Drapers ;  and  which,  as  being  anciently  cloth-dealers,  still  constitutes  the 
crest  of  that  Society. 

"  In  other  cases,  the  Companies  denominated  themselves  fraternities  of  the  particular  saint  in  whose 
church  or  chapel  they  assembled,  and  had  their  altar.  Thus,  the  Grocers  called  themselves  the  fraternity 
of  St.  Anthony,  because  they  had  their  altar  in  St.  Anthony's  church;  the  Vintners,  'the  fraternity  of 
St.  Martin,'  from  the  like  connexion  with  St.  Martin's  Vintry  church ;  and  the  Skinners  and  the  Salters, 
both  societies  of  Corpus  Christi,  from  meeting,  the  one  at  the  altar  of  that  name  in  St.  Laurence  Poultry 
church  ;  and  the  other  at  Corpus  Christi  chapel,  in  All  Saints,  Bread-street." — (Herbert's  Hist,  of  the 
Twelve  Great  Livery  Companies,  vol.  i.  pp.  6(50-7.)  Nor  until  after  the  Reformation  could  the  fraterni- 
ties be  regarded  as  strictly  secular. 

In  their  processions  to  church  the  Companies  were  joined  by  the  religious  orders  in 
there  rich  costumes,  bearing  wax  torches  and  singing,  and  frequently  attended  by  the 
Lord  Mayor  and  great  civic  authorities  in  state.  Funerals  were  as  religiously  observed 
by  them  ;  and  to  celebrate  with  becoming  grandeur  the  obsequies  of  deceased  members, 
almost  the  whole  of  these  fraternities  kept  a  state-pall,  or  hearse-cloth,  a  few  of  which 
are  preserved  to  this  day ;  members  of  superior  rank  were  followed  to  interment  by  the 
Lord  Mayor  and  civic  authorities ;  and  it  was  customary  to  provide  funeral  dinners,  with 
sums  left  by  the  deceased,  or  sent  after  death  by  the  relatives  to  their  Halls  :  such  sums, 
temp.  Elizabeth  and  James,  were  generally  not  less  than  201. 

"The  great  Sir  Philip  Sidney,  who  was  publicly  buried  at  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  in  1587,  was  a  brother 
of  the  Grocers'  Company,  and  was  attended  by  that  livery  in  all  their  formalities,  who  were  preceded  by 
the  Lord  Mayor,  aldermen,  and  sheriffs, '  rydinge  in  purple.'  The  number  of  the  Grocers'  livery  amounted 
to  120,  and  are  represented  in  a  print  of  the  procession  by  De  Brie." — Nichols's  Progresses  of  Queen 
Elizabeth,  ii.  pp.  19-26. 

At  the  funeral  of  Sir  Thomas  Lovell  (of  Shakspeare  memory,  at  Holywell  Nunnery,  Shoreditch), 
"  the  gentlemen  of  the  inns  of  court  (Sir  Thomas  built  Lincoln's  Inn  fine  gateway),  with  certeyn  crafts 
of  Tendon,"  received  the  corpse  at  the  convent  gate,  accompanied  by  the  Mayor  and  aldermen,  who,  on 
the  uody  being  placed  under  the  hearse,  or  canopy,  encircled  the  rails,  and  repeated  the  De  profundi*. 
Meanwhile,  "  there  was  a  drynkynge  in  all  the  cloister,  the  nones,  halls  and  parlors  of  the  said  place." 

The  Election  Feasts  in  the  Halls,  temp.  Henry  IV.,  were  partaken  of  by  the  first 
nobility,  and  even  princes,  besides  the  City  dignitaries ;  when  the  luxuries  included 
the  mighty  "baron"  or  "ribbes  of  beef,"  "frumentie  with  venison,"  brawn,  fat  swan, 
boar,  conger,  sea-hog,  and  other  delicacies  stored  above  the  salt;*  whilst  "sotilties"  of 

*  The  salt,  or  salt-cellar,  was  a  magnificent  piece  of  plate,  forming,  in  the  Middle  Ages,  a  division 
between  the  upper  and  lower  part  of  the  table.  Mr.  Fosbroke  believed  one,  in  the  Tower  of  London, 
and  of  silver-gill,  to  belong  to  the  Mercers'  Company.  To  be  seated  above  the  salt  was  a  mark  of 
honour ;  and  our  ancestors  seem  often  to  have  placed  persons  below  it  in  order  to  mortify  them. 


HALLS  OF  TEE  CITY  COMPANIES.  395 

the  Company's  patron,  trade,  or  saint,  recalled  the  origin  of  the  fraternity ;  and  there 
were  "voyds  of  spice-bread,  ypocras,  and  comfits,"  to  the  renewed  "noise"  (music)  of 
the  minstrels,  or  waits,  or  the  higher  merriment  of  the  London  clerks  "  playing 
some  holy  play." 

Thus,  5th  September,  1419, 17  Henry  V.,  we  have  the  following  Election-dinner  of  the  Brewers'  Com- 
pany, the  "Ordinaire  de  la  Peste,"  in  Norman-French. 

First  Course. — Brawn  with  mustard;  cabbages  to  the  pottage ;  swan  standard ;  capons  roasted ;  great 
custards.     (For  the  "  fat  swan"  and  the  cygnet,  the  citizens  had  their  annual  swan  uppings.) 

Second  Course. — Venison  in  broth,  with  white  mottreids;  cony  standard;  partridges  with  cocks 
roasted ;  leohe  lumbard,  doueetts  with  little  parneuse. 

Third  Course. — Pears  in  syrop;  great  birds  with  little  ones  together;  fritters,  paynpuffs  with  a  cold 
bajied  meat. 

The  cost  of  another  Election  Feast  of  the  Brewers,  a.d.  1425,  was  38J.  4s.  2d.,  a  very  large  sum,  con- 
sidering that  money  was  then  of  live  times  its  present  value.  Melted  fat,  or  lard,  was  then  used  where 
we  now  use  butter,  then  a  great  dainty,  as  was  also  sugar,  the  place  of  which  was  supplied  by  honey. 
Furmenty,  thefurmentaria  of  Ducange,  was  wheat  boiled  in  milk,  such  as  is  eaten  to  this  day.  "  Aroma- 
tising"  the  Hall  with  the  precious  Indian  wood,  sanders,  and  Brazil  wood,  by  fumigation,  greatly 
enlivened  the  table.  Not  only  did  widows,  wives,  and  single  women,  who  were  members  of  the  Company 
join  the  feast ;  but  from  the  Grocers'  ordinances  of  1343,  "bretherene"  could  introduce  their  wives  or 
companions,  and  damsels;  indeed,  a  wife  was  not  to  be  excused,  unless  "  malade,  ou  groste  danfant,  ef 
pres  sa  deliverance." 

The  Election  Ceremonies  took  place  after  the  feast,  when  the  newly-elected  principals 
were  crowned  "  with  garlondes  on  their  hedes."  Then  followed  the  "  loving  cup," 
as  is  still  the  custom  ;*  and  next  the  minstrels  and  players ;  the  minstrels  including 
harpers,  who  played  and  sang  in  the  intervals  of  the  others  sounding  their  cornets, 
shalms,  flutes,  horns,  and  pipes.  The  dramas  then  in  fashion  often  consisted  of  single 
subjects ;  and  this  taste  continued  till  long  after  the  establishment  of  the  regular 
theatres.  In  the  Guildhall  library  is  an  original  licence  from  the  Master  of  the  Revels, 
in  1662,  authorizing  "  George  Bailey,  musitioner,  and  eight  servants,  his  company,  to 
play  for  one  year  a  play  called  Noah's  Flood;"  these  eight  persons  personating  the 
patriarch  and  his  family. 

The  Companies'  Barges  also  formed  stately  pageants.  Thus,  at  the  coronation  of 
the  queen  of  Henry  VII.,  she  was  attended  "from  Greenwich"  by  water,  by  "the 
Maior,  shrifes,  and  alderman  of  the  citie,  and  divers  and  many  worshipful  commoners, 
chosen  out  of  every  crafte,  in  their  liverays,  in  barges  freshly  furnished  with  banners 
and  stremers  of  silk,  rechely  beaton  with  the  armes  and  bagges  of  their  craftes."  In 
the  same  reign,  among  "  a  great  and  goodly  nombre  of  barges,"  either  fastened  up,  or 
"roweing  and  skym'ying  in  the  riv'  and  Thamys,"  was,  "  first  for  the  cittie  of  London, 
the  Mayer's  barge,  the  sherevys'  barge,  aldermens  dyrrs  bargs ;  and  then  the  crafts  of 
the  cytie,  having  their  standards  and  stremers,  wl  ther  conizances  right  weel  dekkyd, 
and  replenyshid  w'  wrshipfull  company  of  the  citizens." 

The  earliest  Triumph,  Pageant,  or  "  Riding,"  connected  with  the  trades,  occurred  in  1298,  on  the 
return  of  Edward  I.  from  his  victory  over  the  Scots,  when  "every  citizen,  according  to  their  severall 
trades,  made  their  several  shew."  'I  hey  also  joined  in  coronation  processions,  as  that  of  Henry  IV.  hi 
1399,  when  Froissart  states  Cheapside  to  have  had  seven  fountains  running  with  red  and  white  wine ; 
the  different  Companies  of  London,  led  by  their  wardens,  were  clothed  in  their  proper  liveries,  and  bore 
banners  of  their  trades.    Chaucer  describes  an  idle  City  apprentice  of  his  day : — 

"  When  there  any  ridings  were  in  Chepe, 
Out  of  the  shoppe  thider  would  he  lepe ; 
And  till  that  he  had  all  the  sight  ysein, 
And  danced  wel,  he  would  not  come  again." 

From  this  sketch  of  the  early  Halls  of  the  Companies,  and  their  ancient  state  and 
observances,  we  proceed  to  the  City  Halls  of  the  present  day,  commencing  with  the 

*  "  The  Loving  Cup"  is  a  splendid  feature  of  the  Hall-feasts  of  the  City  and  Inns  of  Court.  The 
Cup  is  of  silver,  or  silver-gilt,  and  is  filled  with  spiced  wine,  immemorially  termed  "sack."  Imme- 
diately after  the  dinner  and  grace,  the  Masters  and  Wardens  drink  to  their  visitors  a  hearty  welcome; 
the  cup  is  then  passed  round  the  table,  and  each  guest,  after  he  has  drunk,  applies  his  napkin  to  the 
mouth  ol  the  cup  before  he  passes  it  to  his  neighbour.  The  more  formal  practice  is  for  "  the  person 
who  pledges  with  the  loving  cup  to  stand  up  and  bow  to  his  neighbour,  who,  also  standing,  removes  the 
cover  with  his  right  hand,  and  holds  it  while  the  other  drinks ;  a  custom  said  to  have  originated  in  the 
precaution  to  keep  the  right,  or  '  dagger-hand,'  employed,  that  the  person  who  drinks  may  be  assured 
of  no  treachery,  like  that  practised  by  Ellrida  on  the  unsuspecting  King  Edward  the  Martyr,  at  Corfe 
Castle,  who  was  slain  while  drinking.  This  was  why  the  loving  cup  possessed  a  cover." — F,  W. 
Fairholt,  F.S.A. 


Charter 
Order  of  Precedence.  granted. 

No.  19.  Bakers 1307 

No.  25.  Saddlers 1280 

No.  26.  Carpenters 1319 

No.  42.  Weavers 1161 

No.  88.  Parish  Clerks 1233 


396  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

HALLS     OP     THE     GREAT     COMPANIES, 
IN   THEIB    OEDEE   OF   PEECEDENCY. 

1.  Meecees'  Hall. — The  Mercers  is  generally  referred  to  as  "  the  most  ancient 
of  all  the  great  leading  companies."  But  several  are  of  greater  antiquity,  although 
the  Mercers  Company  takes  precedence  of  rank. 

Charter 
Order  of  Precedence.  granted. 

No.  1.  Mercers 1393 

No.  2.  Grocers 1345 

No.  4.  Fishmongers 1384 

No.  5.  Goldsmiths  >  ,„„_ 

No.  6.  Skinners     j laz' 

Mercers'  Hall,  Cheapside,  between  Ironmonger-lane  and  Old  Jewry,  occupies  the 
site  of  the  ancient  hospital  of  St.  Thomas  Aeon's,  whereon  the  Mercers  first  settled  in 
London,  hence  called  "  the  Mercery."  On  the  site  of  the  present  entrance  to  the 
Hall  from  Cheapside  stood  the  house  of  Gilhert  Becket,  father  of  Becket,  Archbishop 
of  Canterbury ;  after  whose  murder  his  sister  Agnes  and  ber  husband  built 
here  a  chapel  and  hospital,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire.  Soon  after  were  built  upon 
the  same  site  the  present  Hall  and  Chapel ;  the  front  of  the  latter,  by  Wren,  now 
only  remains :  above  the  ornamented  doorway  are  cherubim  mantling  the  Virgin's 
head,  the  cognisance  of  the  Company ;  the  front  has  also  figures  of  Faith,  Hope,  and 
Charity ;  the  whole  in  stone  kept  in  handsome  repair.*  The  chapel  is  at  the  extremity 
of  the  ante-chapel ;  over  which,  upon  Doric  columns,  is  the  hall,  handsomely  wains- 
coted and  carved  :  here  are  held  the  Gresham  Committees.  Among  the  paintings  are 
original  portraits  of  Sir  Thomas  Gresham  and  Dean  Colet ;  and  a  fanciful  portrait  of 
Whittington.     Among  the  Mercers'  Trust-estates  are  St.  Paul's  and  Mercers'  Schools. 

Of  the  Mercers'  Company  there  have  been  several  kings,  princes,  and  nobility ;  and  to  1708,  ninety- 
eight  had  been  lord  mayors,  and  one  as  early  as  1214;  Richard  II.,  who  granted  the  first  charter  in 
1393,  was  a  mercer;  as  were  also  Whittington  and  the  illustrious  Gresham.  Among  the  Company's 
documents  are  a  curious  illustration  of  Whittington  dying  (ordinances  of  his  college),  and  portraits  of 
the  lirst  three  wardens.  In  1513,  the  Mercers  possessed  Conduit  Mead,  now  covered  by  New  Iiond- 
strcet,  which,  had  they  retained,  it  would  more  than  quadruple  the  value  of  all  their  present  estates. 
(Herbert.)  Among  their  property  is  the  north  side  of  Long  Acre  (about  8$  acres),  and  the  adjacent 
streets,  including  Mercer-street;  in  1650,  "part  of  the  possessions  of  Charles  Stuart,  late  King  of  Eng- 
land, for  which  the  warden  and  company  then  paid  to  the  Crown  13s.  4d.  per  annum.  There  is  scarcely 
a  single  mercer  in  the  Company  at  the  present  day."  (Herbert.)  Sir  Baptist  Hicks  (founder  of  the 
Campden  family)  was  a  great  mercer  in  Cheapside,  who  supplied  the  Court  when  James  I.  and  "  his 
bare  Scotch  nobility  and  gentry  came  in :"  he  built  the  first  Hicks's  Hall,  and  was  one  of  the  first  citizens 
that  after  knighthood  kept  their  shops. 

The  Mercers'  Company  lend  money  to  livery-men,  or  freemen,  without  interest,  upon  approved 
security.  The  Company  also  established  the  first  insurance  office  for  lives,  in  1698.  (Ilatton.)  The 
Golden  Lectureship  is  in  their  gift.  William  Caxton,  England's  first  printer,  was  a  liveryman  of  this 
Company. 

The  Mercers'  Election-Cup,  of  early  sixteenth-century  work,  is  silver-gilt,  decorated 
with  fretwork  and  female  busts ;  the  feet,  flasks ;  and  on  the  cover  is  the  popular 
legend  of  an  unicorn  yielding  its  horn  to  a  maiden.  The  whole  is  enamelled  with  coats 
of  arms  and  these  lines  : — 

"  To  elect  the  master  of  the  mercerie  hither  am  I  sent, 
And  by  Sir  Thomas  Leigh  for  the  same  intent." 

The  Company  also  possess  a  silver-gilt  Wagon  and  Tun,  covered  with  arabesques  and 
enamels,  of  sixteenth-century  work.  The  Hall  was  originally  decorated  with  carvings; 
the  main  stem  of  deal,  the  fruit,  flowers,  &c.,  of  lime,  pear,  and  beech  ;  these  becoming 
worm-eaten,  were,  long  since,  removed  from  the  panelling,  and  put  aside,  but  they 
have  been  restored  by  Mr.  Henry  Crace,  who  thus  describes  the  process : 

"  The  carving  is  of  the  same  colour  as  when  taken  down.  I  merely  washed  it,  and  with  a  gimlet 
bored  a  number  of  holes  in  the  back,  and  into  every  projecting  piece  of  fruit  and  leaves,  on  the  face,  and 
placing  the  whole  in  a  long  trough,  15  inches  deep,  I  covered  it  with  a  solution  prepared  in  the  following 
manner :— 1  took  16  gallons  of  linseed  oil,  with  2  lbs.  of  litharge,  finely  ground,  1  lb.  of  camphor,  and 
2  lbs.  of  red  lead,  which  I  boiled  for  six  hours,  keeping  it  stirred,  that  every  ingredient  might  be  per- 
fectly incorporated.  I  then  dissolved  6  lbs.  of  beeswax  in  a  gallon  of  spirits  of  turpentine,  and  mixed 
the  whole  while  warm,  thoroughly  together. 

"  In  this  solution  the  carving  remained  for  twenty-four  hours.    When  taken  out,  I  kept  the  face 

*  In  a  shop  in  the  porch  of  Mercers*  Chapel,  Guy  (founder  of  Guy's  Hospital)  was  apprenticed  to  a 
bookseller  in  1060;  and  the  house,  rebuilt  after  the  Great  Eire,  was  rented  by  Guy,  then  a  master- 
bookseller. 


hall-grocers:  397 


downwards,  that  the  oil  in  the  hole  might  soak  down  to  the  face  of  the  carving,  and  on  cutting  some  of 
the  wood  nearly  9  inches  deep,  I  found  it  had  soaked  through ;  for  not  any  of  the  dust  was  blown  out, 
as  I  considered  it  a  valuable  medium  to  form  a  substance  for  the  future  support  of  the  wood ;  this  lias 
been  accomplished,  and  as  the  dust  became  saturated  with  the  oil,  it  increased  in  bulk,  and  rendered  the 
carving  perfectly  solid." 

2.  Grocers'  Hall,  Grocers'  Hall-court,  Poultry — anciently,  "  Conningshop-lane," 
i.e.  cony-shop-lane,  from  the  sign  of  three  conies  (rahbits),  hanging  over  a  poulterer's 
stall  at  the  lane  end — is  the  third  edifice  built  for  the  Company,  upon  "  voide  grounds 
sum  tyme  the  Lord  Fitzwalter's  halle :"  the  first  was  completed  in  1428,  in  a  large 
garden,  and  had  an  ancient  turret,  probably  part  of  the  Fitzwalter  mansion,  and  one  of 
the  oldest  buildings  within  the  City  walls.  This  Hall  was  let  "  for  dinners,  funerals, 
county  feasts,  and  weddings ;" in  1641,  "the  Grand  Committee  of  Safety"  removed  its 
sittings  from  Guildhall  here;  Cromwell  and  Fairfax  were  feasted  here  by  the  Grocers; 
and  at  the  Restoration,  Gen.  Monk.  In  the  Great  Fire,  the  roof  and  woodwork  of  the. 
Hall  only  were  destroyed ;  the  old  walls  were  then  newly  roofed,  and  in  1668-9,  the 
parlour  and  dining-room  were  rebuilt  by  Sir  John  Cutler,  four  times  master  of  the 
Company,  who  passed  him  "  a  strong  vote  of  thanks,"  and  his  statue  and  picture,  thus 
proving  Cutler  to  have  been  the  reverse  of  the  miser  described  by  Pope,  whose  satire, 
however,  has  reached  far  beyond  the  Grocers'  gratitude.  The  old  Hall,  which  had 
"  a  Gothic  front  and  bow-windows,"  was  renovated,  in  1681,  by  Sir  John  Moore,  who 
kept  his  mayoralty  at  Grocers'  Hall,  and  paid  the  Company  2001.  rent ;  and  it  was  let 
for  the  same  object  till  1735.  The  Bank  of  England  held  their  courts  here  from  1694 
to  1734.  The  present  Hall  was  built  upon  the  ancient  site  between  1798  and  1802* 
(T.  Leverton,  architect),  and  thoroughly  repaired  in  1827,  when  the  statue  of  Sir  John 
Cutler,  weather-beaten  in  the  garden,  was  renovated,  and  removed  into  the  Hall;  and 
the  garden-front  was  enriched  with  the  arms  of  the  Company  on  each  side  their  crest, 
and  a  loaded  camel,  emblematic  of  the  ancient  conveyance  of  the  grocer's  commodities. 
The  Hall  is  spacious,  and  lias  a  music-gallery  :  here  are  Cutler's  portrait,  a  fine  picture; 
portraits  of  Sir  John  Moore  and  Sir  John  Fleet :  and  on  the  staircase  are  the  Com- 
pany's arms,  painted  on  glass  by  Willement.  The  Grocers  munificently  support  various 
free  schools,  almshouses,  exhibitions,  &c. ;  and  the  gifts  for  loans  to  poor  members 
amount  to  46701. 

The  Grocers'  Company,  originally  Pepperers,  next  united  with  the  Apothecaries,  was  incorporated 
by  Edward  III.,  in  1435,  as  "  the  Mystery  of  Grocers :"  among  other  privileges,  they  possessed  the 
management  of  the  Kings'  Beam,  at  the  Weighing-house.  Charles  II.  and  William  III.  were  masters  of 
the  Company;  and  among  the  eminent  Grocers  were  the  Duke  of  York,  afterwards  James  II.;  George 
Jlonk,  Duke  of  Albemarle;  and  Sir  Philip  Sidney,  at  whose  funeral  the  Company  rode  in  procession.  In 
the  reign  of  Henry  IV.,  twelve  aldermen  were  of  the  Grocers'  Company  at  the  same  time.  The  frater- 
nity also  boasts  of  the  patriotic  Sir  John  Philpot;  John  Churchman,  who  founded  the  Custom  House; 
Thomas  Knoles,  who  began  the  Guildhall;  Sir  John  Crosby,  of  Crosby  House;  Sir  William  Laxton, 
founder  of  Oundle  School ;  and  Laurence  Shireff,  of  Rugby;  besides  the  vilified  Sir  John  Cutler.  The 
Company  sold  their  plate  in  aid  of  the  defence  of  the  City  in  the  Civil  Wars,  and  were  famed  for  their 
loyal  and  costly  pageants.  In  the  Great  Fire,  they  lost  nearly  all  their  property,  except  a  few  tenements 
in  Grub-street,  when  they  assembled  in  the  turret-house  in  their  garden:  their  Hall  was  once  seized  for 
debt,  in  part  from  loans  made  to  the  City ;  but  the  Grocers,  like  the  rest  of  the  Companies,  recovered 
their  position  before  the  Revolution  of  1688 ;  and  in  the  year  after,  William  became  sovereign  master  of 
the  Grocers.  By  a  charter  of  Henry  VI.,  confirmed  by  Charles  I.,  the  wardens  of  the  Company,  or  their 
deputies,  could,  like  modern  excisemen,  enter  druggists',  apothecaries',  and  confectioners',  as  well  as 
grocers'  shops,  and  impose  fines,  and  even  imprisonment,  for  deceits ;  always  seizing  the  spurious  articles. 

The  statutes  of  the  ancient  Pepperers  (mentioned  temp.  Henry  II.,  and  probably  a  guild  long  before) 
exist  among  the  City  archives.  The  Grocers  first  existed  as  a  sort  of  club.  Twenty-two  Pepperers  in 
Sopcrs-lane,  Cheapside  (now  a  part  of  Queen-street),  on  the  12th  of  June,  1345,  after  dinner,  elected  two 
of  their  number  wardens,  and  appointed  a  chaplain  to  celebrate  divine  offices  for  their  souls.  Every 
member  at  the  feast  subscribed  1».  to  pay  for  it,  and  contributions  were  then  made  towards  the 
chaplain's  salary. 

The  Grocers  met  in  1345  and  1346,  at  the  town-mansion  of  the  Abbot  of  Bury,  in 
St.  Mary  Axe,  now  Bevis  Marks;  in  1347,  "at  the  abbot's  place  of  St.  Edmund;"  in 
1348,  "at  the  house  of  one  Fulgeman,  called  the  Ryngdehall,"  near  Garlickhythe ; 
where,  and  at  the  hotel  of  the  abbot  of  St.  Cross,  they  continued  till  1383,  when  they 
took  up  their  temporary  residence  in  Bucklersbury,  at  the  Cornets'  Tower,  used  by 
Edward  III.  as  his  exchange  of  money  and  exchequer.  The  hall  is  spacious,  and  has  a 
music  gallery  ;  the  feasts  of  the  Company  being  noted  for  their  orchestra. 

*  The  garden  was  then  nearly  severed  in  half  for  enlarging  Prince's-strcet.  For  this  latter  slice, 
which  cost  the  Grocers  311. 17s.  8d.  in  1433,  the  Company  received  from  the  Bank  of  England  more  than 
20,000Z.     {Herbert.) 


398  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Mr.  John  Gough  Nichols,  in  a  communication  to  Notes  and  Queries,  Second  S.,  xi. 
p.  352,  notes  Grocers'  Hall  heingused  for  the  Lord  Mayor's  Feast  in  1682 : — 

"  This  was  the  first  time,  as  far  as  I  have  seen,  that  the  City  feasters  deserted  Guildhall  on  Lord 
Mayor's  day.  It  appears  to  be  attributable  to  the  perturbed  state  of  politics.  It  is  remarkable  that 
Grocers'  Hall  should  bepreferred  to  that  of  the  Merchant-Taylors,  although  the  Lord  Mayor  [Sir  William 
PritchardJ  belonged  to  the  latter  Company,  and  the  spaciousness  of  their  hall  is  well  known.  The 
choice  of  Grocers'  Hall  was  probably  directed  by  its  convenient  situation.  It  was  used  annually  for  the 
feast  from  this  time  [1682]  till  1695,  with  a  few  exceptions,  when  the  King  came  or  was  expected.  In 
1695,  and  two  following  years,  Skinners'  Hall  was  employed.  Then  Guildhall  till  1703 ;  in  which,  and 
the  two  following  years,  and  perhaps  more,  Drapers'  Hall  was  adopted." — London  Pageant),  8vo, 
1831,  p.  118. 

"1  have  not  means  readily  at  hand  to  trace  further  the  locality  of  the  Lord  Mayor's  feast  after  1705; 
but  at  the  period  previously  in  question,  in  the  reigns  of  Charles  II.,  James  II.,  and  William,  Grocers' 
Hall  was  in  fact  the  mansion-house,  or  residence  of  the  Lord  Mayor  during  his  year  of  office.  In  Some 
Account  of  the  Grocers'  Company,  privately  printed  by  John  Benj.  Heath,  Esq.,  P.E.S.  and  S.A.,  it  is 
distinctly  stated  at  p.  31  (second  edition,  1854),  that  after  the  Hall  had  been  repaired  and  considerably 
enlarged,  subsequently  to  the  Great  Fire,  Sir  John  Moore,  who  had  contributed  the  sum  of  500?. 
towards  the  cost,  "  was  the  first  Chief  Magistrate  who  [in  1681J  kept  his  Mayoralty  at  Grocers'  Hall 
[but  his  feast  at  Guildhall],  and  he  paid  the  Company  a  nett  rent  of  200Z.  for  the  use  of  it.  It  continued 
to  be  let  for  the  same  object  for  many  years ;  and  in  1735,  as  the  Company's  circumstances  had  much 
improved,  it  was  ordered  by  the  Court  of  Assistants  that  the  hall  should  not,  for  the  future,  be  let  but 
to  a  Lord  Mayor  attached  to  the  Company." 

"  But  the  year  1735  is  not  the  date  of  the  cessation  of  the  occupancy  of  Grocers'  Hall  as  the 
mansion-house;  for  it  had  been  converted  forty  years  before  to  a  purpose  which  some  will  esteem  still 
important.  On  the  4th  Oct.  1694,  it  was  demised  for  eleven  years  to  the  Bank  of  England,  then  first 
established ;  and  it  continued  to  be  so  employed  during  forty  years,  until  the  Bank  removed  to  Thread- 
needle-street  in  1734 :  so  that  the  resolution  of  the  Court  of  the  Grocers  in  1735,  above  quoted  from 
Mr.  Heath,  was  consequent  upon  the  repairs  of  their  hall  which  ensued  after  it  was  vacated  by  the 
Bank  of  England,  not  by  the  Lord  Mayors." 

John  Dunton,  the  famous  hookseller,  of  the  Poultry,  dined  at  the  Lord  Mayor's 
Feast  at  Grocers'  Hall,  in  1693,  when  his  Lordship  sent  "  a  noble  spoon"  to 
each  guest's  wife.  It  is  still  usual,  in  some  Companies,  for  a  spoon  and  fork  of 
bone  to  accompany  the  service  of  dried  fruit  and  confectionery  provided  for  the  same 
purpose. 

3.  Drapers'  Hall  is  in  Throgmorton-street,  where  the  Company  settled  in  1541,  in 
a  large  mansion  built  temp.  Henry  VIII.,  "  in  the  place  of  clde  and  small  tenements, 
by  Thomas  Cromwell,  Mayster  of  the  King's  Jewel-house,"  and  afterwards  Earl  of 
Essex ;  upon  whose  attainder,  the  property  was  purchased  by  the  Drapers  and  made 
their  "  Common  Hall,"  till  about  the  period  of  the  Great  Fire,  which  was  here  stopped 
in  its  progress  northward. 

Stow  relates  that  his  father  had  a  garden  adjoining  Cromwell's,  and  close  to  his  south  pale  a  house, 
which,  by  the  Mayster's  order,  was  removed  upon  rollers,  so  as  to  gain  a  strip  of  ground,  as  Cromwell 
had  taken  from  other  neighbours.  "  No  man,"  says  Stow,  "  durst  go  to  argue  the  matter,  but  each  man 
lost  his  land,  and  my  father  payed  his  whole  rent,  which  was  vjs.  vijd.  the  yeare,  for  that  halfe  which 
was  left.  Thus  much  of  mine  owne  knowledge  have  I  thought  good  to  note,  that  the  sodaine  rising  of 
some  men  causeth  them  to  forget  themselves." 

Cromwell's  House  is  figured  on  Aggas's  plan  with  four  embattled  turrets.  The 
garden,  which  is  well  kept  up  to  this  day,  became  celebrated  in  1551,  when  the  pleasant 
country  lay  open  in  its  rear  nearly  all  the  way  to  Hampstead  and  Highgate.  (See 
Gardens,  p.  366.) 

Although  the  Fire  of  London  stopped  at  Drapers'  Hall,  it  was  "  all  consumed  to 
ashes ;"  but  the  Company's  property  was  saved  by  removing  it  into  the  garden,  and 
"  watching  it  ther  for  seaven  days  and  nights."  The  Hall  was  rebuilt  by  Jarman,  but 
nearly  destroyed  by  fire  in  1774,  after  which  it  was  partly  rebuilt  (as  we  now  see  it) 
by  the  brothers  Adam.  It  consists  of  a  quadrangle  surrounded  by  an  ambulatory  of 
arches  and  columns;  the  front  in  Throgmorton-street  is  highly  enriched  with  stone- 
work; the  Drapers'  arms  over  the  gateway  have  for  supporters  lions  instead  of 
leopards.  On  the  noble  stone  staircase  is  a  marble  bust  of  King  George  IV.  The  Hall 
ceiling  is  embellished  with  Phaeton  and  the  signs  of  the  zodiac ;  the  screen  is  curiously 
carved,  and  above  it  is  a  fine  portrait  of  Lord  Nelson  by  Beechey :  over  the  master's 
chair  is  a  half-length  portrait  on  panel  (in  oil,  and  therefore  not  contemporary)  of  Fitz- 
Alwin,  the  first  Mayor  of  London,  whom  the  Drapers  claim  as  of  their  Company,  whereas 
Stow  and  other  writers  describe  him  of  the  Goldsmiths'.  In  the  wainscoted  gallery 
are  full-length  portraits  of  the  English  sovereigns  from  William  III.  to  George  IV., 
the  last  by  Lawrence;  with  the  celebrated  whole-length  of  Mary  Queen  of  Scots  and 
her  son  James  I.,  ascribed  to  Zucchero,  traditionally  said  to  have  been  thrown  over  the 


HALL-DRAPERS'.  399 


wall  into  the  Drapers'  garden  during  the  Fire  of  London,  and  never  afterwards  owned : 
it  has  been  copied  by  Spiridione  Roma,  and  engraved  by  Bartolozzi. 

"  There  is  another  tradition  of  this  picture :  that  Sir  Anthony  Babington,  confidential  Secretary  to 
Queen  Mary,  had  her  portrait,  which  he  deposited  for  safety  either  at  Merchant-Tailors'  Hall  or  Drapers' 
Hall,  and  that  it  had  never  come  back  to  Sir  Anthony  or  his  family.  It  has  been  insinuated  that  Sir 
William  Boreman,  clerk  to  the  Board  of  Green  Cloth  in  the  reign  of  Charles  II.,  purloined  this  picture 
from  one  of  the  royal  palaces.  Some  have  suggested  that  it  is  the  portrait  of  Lady  Dulcibella  Boreman, 
the  wife  of  Sir  William ;  but  the  style  and  costume  are  much  older." — The  Crypt,  No.  4, 1827. 

In  the  Court-room  is  a  marble  bas-relief  ot  the  Company  receiving  their  charter.  In 
the  ladies'  chamber,  balls  are  given.  In  the  Livery-room,  among  other  portraits,  is  a 
three-quarter  length  of  Sir  Robert  Clayton,  by  Kneller,  1680 ;  and  a  small  portrait  of 
Thomas  Bagshaw  (d.  1794),  beadle  to  the  Company  forty  years.  The  windows  of  this 
room  look  into  the  private  garden,  where  are  a  fountain  and  statue. 

The  Drapers'  Company  was  founded  in  1332,  and  incorporated  in  1364 ;  they  possess  seven  original 
charters,  finely  written,  and  claim  to  reckon  more  lord  mayors  than  any  other  Company, — Strype  states 
87  years'.  Their  grant  of  arms,  in  1439,  is  the  only  document  of  its  kind  of  so  early  a  date ;  the 
Heralds'  College  possessing  none  of  the  arms  of  the  London  Livery  Companies.  The  Drapers'  grant  is 
kept  at  the  British  Museum,  and  contains  illustrative  historical  notices  of  the  Company  ;  and  the  books 
continue  its  history  for  above  two  centuries.  In  the  Wardens'  accounts  are  apprentice-fees,  called  "  Spoon 
Silver ; "  "  potacions  at  our  Lady  Fair  in  Southwark,"  &c.  In  an  entry  of  1485,  pippins  are  first  men- 
tioned; 1491,  "the  aldermen  of  the  taylo's  were  treated  with  brede  and  wine  at  Drapers'  halle:" 
1494,  "for  cresset-stan's  and  banners,  and  bread,  ale,  and  candell,  in  keeping  xij.  days'  watch  after  the 
riot  at  the  Steel-yard,"  11*.  9d. ;  "  for  a  barge  two  times  to  the  Shene  (Richmond),  to  speak  w">  the 
King;"  1496,  the  Drapers  "riding  to  the  king  at  Woodstock,"  accompanied  by  "Mr.  Recorder,  Mr. 
Fabyan,"  and  other  eminent  persons ;  1509,  114«.  "  for  xij.  torches  for  the  beryall  of  King  Henry  the 
VHth,  weighing  ccxx't»  and  1  quart' ;  1521,  the  Drapers  took  the  lead  in  settling  the  contribution 
required  by  the  Government  from  the  Great  Companies  towards  furnishing  ships  of  discovery  under 
the  command  of  Sebastian  Cabot. 

The  Company  had  "  the  Drapers'  Ell"  granted  to  them  by  Edward  III.,  for  measuring  the  cloth  sold 
at  St.  Bartholomew's  and  Southwark  fairs ;  it  bore  the  name  of  "  the  Yard,"  "  the  Company's  standard," 
&c.  In  the  entries  for  relief  "  to  those  fallen  in  poverty,"  1526,  is  ijs.  and  ihjd.  to  Sir  Laurence  Aylmer, 
one  of  the  Drapers,  two  or  three  times  Master  of  the  Company,  Sheriff  1501,  and  Lord  Mayor  1507-8. 

The  Dress  or  Livery  of  this  Company  varied  more  than  that  of  any  other,  and  the  colours  were 
changed  at  almost  every  election  until  temp.  James  I.,  when  a  uniform  livery  was  adopted ;  their  ob- 
servances consisting  of  election  ceremonies,  funerals,  obits,  and  pageantries  at  state  and  civic  triumphs. 
At  their  last  public  procession  in  1751,  their  poor  carried  a  pair  of  shoes  and  stockings,  and  a  suit  of 
clothes,  an  annual  legacy. 

The  Drapers  had  a  Hall  in  St.  Swithin's-lane,  Cannon-street,  whither  they  removed 
from  Cornhill.  The  St.  Swithin's-lane  Hall  is  first  mentioned  in  1405;  when  we  find 
entered  "  a  hammer  to  knock  upon  the  table,"  the  great  parlour,  the  "  high  table"  of 
the  dining-hall  (then  strewed  with  rushes),  the  ladies'  chamber,  and  the  chekker  cham- 
ber, all  which  at  feasts  were  hung  with  tapestry ;  the  kitchen  had  three  fire-places. 
The  ladies'  chamber  (an  apartment  which  the  Drapers  still  retain)  was  solely  for  the 
sisters  of  the  fraternity,  and  in  which  they  occasionally  had  separate  dinners,  instead 
of  mixing  with  the  company  in  the  hall.  The  married  ladies  only,  and  those  of  the 
highest  class,  were  the  guests,  "  the  chekker  chamber  being  for  maydens."  A  ladies' 
feast  in  1515  included  brawn  and  mustard,  capon  boiled,  swan  roasted,  pyke,  venison 
baked  and  roast,  jellies,  pastry,  quails,  sturgeon,  salmon,  and  wafers  and  ipocras. 

The  Drapers  thus  early  gave  more  splendid  feasts  than  any  other  Company,  their 
guests  usually  being  the  dignified  and  conventual  clergy ;  including  the  abbot  of  Tower 
Hill,  the  prior  of  St.  Mary  Overy,  Christchurch,  and  St.  Bai-tholomew ;  the  provincial 
and  the  prior  of  "  Freres  Austyn's,"  the  masters  of  St.  Thomas  Aeon's  and  St.  Law- 
rence Pulteney.  The  sisters  formed  part  of  ihe  usual  guests,  as  did  also  the  wives  of 
members,  whether  enrolled  amongst  them  or  not :  and  visitors  of  high  rank  were  per- 
sonally waited  on  by  the  heads  of  the  Company.  Among  the  items  of  the  Midsummer 
Feast,  1514-15,  is  perhaps  the  earliest  mention  of  players  as  companies  :  "  To  Johan 
Slye  and  his  company,  for  ij.  plays  on  Monday  and  Tewsday,"  including  "  Robert 
Williams,  the  Harp,  and  Henry  Colet,  the  Lut,  iiij8."  Among  the  rules  "  for  the  syt- 
tyng  in  ye  halle"  was,  "  No  brother  of  the  fratrnite  to  presume  to  sytte  at  any  table  in 
the  halle  tyll  the  mayr  and  the  states  have  wasshed  and  be  sett  at  the  hygh  table,  on 
peyne  of  iijs.  iiijd." 

The  Drapers'  Company  have  very  large  estates,  and  are  trustees  of  numerous  bene- 
ficent bequests,  besides  Almshouses.  There  are  many  females  free  of  the  Company, 
who  invariably  come  on  the  list  to  participate  in  the  charities.     The  Earls  of  Bath  and 


400  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Essex,  the  Barons  Wotton,  and  the  Dukes  of  Chandos,  derive  their  descent  from  mem- 
bers of  the  Drapers'  Company. 

Drapers'  Hall  had  long  been  the  usual  rendezvous  on  Lord  Mayor's  day,  according 
to  the  poetical  programme  of  the  show  repeated  in  many  of  Jordan's  Pageants: — 

"Selected  Citizens  i'  th'  morning  all 
At  seven  o'clock  do  meet  at  Drapers'  Hall." 

And  in  much  earlier  times  the  feast  had  heen  held  there,  until  some  new  kitchens  were 
completed  at  Guildhall  in  1501. 

4.  Fishmongees'  Hall,  at  the  north-west  foot  of  London  Bridge,  was  rebuilt  by 
Roberts  in  1830-3,  and  is  the  third  of  the  Company's  Halls  nearly  on  this  site,  part  of 
which  was  then  purchased  at  the  rate  of  630,000?.  per  acre.  It  is  raised  upon  a  lofty 
basement  cased  with  granite,  and  containing  fireproof  warehouses,  which  yield  a  large 
rental.  The  river  front  has  a  balustraded  terrace,  and  a  Grecian-Ionic  hexastyle  and 
pediment.  The  east  or  entrance  front  is  enriched  with  pilasters  and  columns,  and  has 
in  the  attic  the  arms  of  the  Company,  and  two  bas-reliefs  of  sea-horses.  The  entrance- 
hall  is  separated  from  the  great  staircase  by  a  screen  of  polished  Aberdeen  granite 
columns ;  and  at  the  head  of  the  stairs  is  a  statue,  carved  in  wood  by  E.  Pierce,  of  Sir 
William  Walworth,  a  Fishmonger,  who  carries  a  dagger. 

In  his  hand  was  formerly  a  dagger,  said  to  be  the  identical  weapon  with  which  he  stabbed  Wat 
Tyler,  though  in  1731  a  publican  of  Islington  pretended  to  possess  the  actual  poniard.  Beneath  the 
statue  is  the  inscription : 

"  Brave  Walworth,  knight,  lord-mayor,  yt  slew 
Rebellious  Tyler  in  his  alarmes ; 
The  King,  therefore,  did  give  in  licw 
The  dagger  to  the  City  armes. 
In  the  4th  year  of  Richard  II.  anno  Domini  1381." 

A  common  but  erroneous  belief  was  thus  propagated :  for  the  dagger  was  in  the  City  arms  long 
before  the  time  of  Sir  William  Walworth,  and  was  intended  to  represent  the  sword  of  St.  Paul,  the 
patron  saint  of  the  Corporation, 

The  reputed  dagger  of  Walworth,  which  has  lost  its  guard,  is  preserved  by  the  Company:  the 
workmanship  is  of  Walworth's  period.  The  weapon  now  in  the  hand  of  the  statue  (which  is  somewhat 
picturesque,  and  in  our  recollection  was  coloured  en  costume)  is  modern. 

The  Company  has  numbered  about  fifty  lord  mayors,  among  whom  was  Sir  William 
Walworth,  who,  in  his  second  mayoralty,  slew  Wat  Tyler,  commemorated  in  a  pageant 
in  1740  by  a  personation  of  Walworth,  dagger  in  hand,  and  the  head  of  Wat  Tyler 
carried  on  a  pole.  Next  among  the  lord  mayors  was  Sir  Stephen  Foster,  who  rebuilt 
Ludgate  prison ;  also,  Sir  Thomas  Abney,  the  friend  of  Dr.  Isaac  Watts.  Dogget,  the 
comedian,  was  a  Fishmonger ;  and  his  bequest  of  a  coat  and  a  silver  badge  is  in  the 
direction  of  this  Company,  who  have  added  four  money-prizes. 

Thomas  Dogget,  who  wrote  The  Country  Wake,  a  comedy,  1696,  was  born  in  Castle-street,  Dublin. 
He  first  appeared  on  the  Dublin  stage ;  and  subsequently,  with  Robert  Wilks  and  Colley  Cibber,  became 
joint-manager  of  Drury-lane  Theatre.  He  was  a  friend  of  Congreve,  who  wrote  for  him  the  characters 
of  Fondlewifc  in  the  Old  Bachelor,  and  Ben  in  Love  for  Love.  Dogget's  style  of  acting  was  very  origi- 
nal, and  he  was  an  excellent  dresser.  He  died  in  1721,  and  being  a  staunch  Whig,  bequeathed  a  sum 
of  money  to  purchase  a  coat  and  silver  badge,  to  be  rowed  for  on  the  Thames  on  the  1st  of  August 
annually,  to  commemorate  the  accession  of  the  House  of  Hanover  to  the  throne  of  Great  Britain : 

"  Tom  Dogget,  the  greatest  sly  drole  in  his  parts, 
In  acting  was  certain  a  master  of  arts  ; 
A  monument  left — no  herald  is  fuller, 
His  praise  is  sung  yearly  by  many  a  sculler  ; 
Ten  thousand  years  hence,  if  the  world  lasts  so  long, 
Tom  Dogget  will  still  be  the  theme  of  their  song; 
When  old  Noll,  with  great  Lewis  and  Bourbon,  are  forgot, 
And  when  numberless  kings  in  oblivion  shall  rot." 

Written  on  a  window-pane  at  Lambeth,  August  1,  1736. 
The  Garriek  Club  possess  an  original  portrait  of  Dogget.    {See  p.  249.) 

The  Court  dining  and  drawing  rooms  face  the  river,  of  which  they  have  a  fine  view* 
with  the  Kent  and  Surrey  hills.  The  banqueting-hall  is  73  feet  by  38  feet,  and  33 
feet  high,  and  has  Sienna  scagliola  Corinthian  pilasters,  between  which  are  suspended 
the  arms  of  the  benefactors  and  past  prime-wardens  of  the  Company ;  at  one  end  of 
the  hall  are  the  royal  arms,  and  opposite,  those  of  the  Fishmongers,  in  stained  glass : 
on  the  front  of  the  music-gallery  are  emblazoned  the  arms  of  the  City  and  Twelve 
Great  Companies  :  this  introduction  of  heraldic  insignia  in  a  Grecian  hall,  being  novel 
but  very  striking,  and  especially  when  lighted  up  by  eight  chandeliers.     Among  the 


HALL— FISHMONGERS'.  401 

Curiosities,  besides  Sir  W.  Walworth's  dagger,  is  his  funeral-pall,  of  cloth-of-gold ;  the 
sides  embroidered  with  the  Saviour  giving  the  Keys  to  St.  Peter,  and  the  Fishmongers' 
Arms;  and  the  ends  with  the  Deity  and  ministering  Angels:  here,  too,  is  a  plan  of  the 
show  at  Walworth's  installation  as  mayor,  probably  the  oldest  representation  of  a  lord 
mayor's  show  extant.  Here  also  are  eight  curious  pictures  of  fish,  by  Spiridione  Roma, 
skilfully  grouped  and  correctly  coloured.  Among  the  portraits  are  William  III.  and 
Queen,  by  Murray ;  George  II.  and  Queen,  by  Shackleton  j  the  Duke  of  Kent  and 
Admiral  Earl  St.  Vincent,  by  Beechey ;  and  Queen  Victoria,  by  Herbert  Smith.  Here 
also  is  preserved  the  old  flag  presented  to  Earl  St.  Vincent  by  the  crew  of  the  Ville  de 
Paris,  in  which  the  shot-holes  have  been  carefully  darned  over  and  repaired.  In  the 
Court  dining-room  is  a  splendid  silver  chandelier,  made  in  the  year  1754,  weight 
1350  oz.  14  dwts. 

The  several  apartments  were  re-decorated  by  Mr.  Owen  Jones,  in  1865. 

The  presidential  chair  of  the  Prime  Warden  (the  Fishmongers  have  not  a  Master)  is  a  relic  of  Old 
London  Bridge,  and  commemorative  of  the  new  one;  bridge  piers  form  the  angles,  arches  support  the 
seats,  and  across  the  back  are  carved  the  old  and  present  London  Bridges  and  other  Thames  bridges. 
On  a  silver  plate  in  the  back  is  inscribed :  "  This  chair  was  made  by  J.  Ovenston,  72,  Great  Titchfield- 
street,  London,  from  a  design  given  by  the  Rev.  William  Jolliffe,  Curate  of  Colmer,  in  Hampshire ; 
and  it  was  made  entirely  from  the  wood  and  stone  taken  up  from  the  foundation  of  Old  London 
Bridge,  in  July  1832,  having  remained  there  656  years,  being  put  down,  in  June  1176,  by  the  builder, 
Peter,  a  priest,  who  wa3  Vicar  of  Colechurch ;  and  'tis  rather  curious  that  a  priest  should  begin  the 
bridge,  and,  after  so  long  a  period,  that  a  parson  should  clear  it  entirely  away."  Upon  the  seat  of  the  chair 
is  incised:  "  I  am  part  of  the  first  stone  that  was  put  down  for  the  foundation  of  Old  London  Bridge,  in 
June  1176,  by  a  priest  named  Peter,  who  was  Vicar  of  Colechurch,  in  London ;  and  I  remained  there 
undisturbed,  safe  on  the  same  oakpilesthis  chair  is  made  from,  till  the  Kev.  William  John  Jolliffe,  Curate 
of  Colmer,  Hampshire,  took  me  up  in  July,  1832,  when  clearing  away  the  old  bridge,  after  New  London 
Bridge  was  completed." 

The  Fishmongers  were  incorporated  500  years  since,  and  they  existed  as  a  guild  two  centuries  earlier,  t 
By  letters  patent  10th  of  July,  37  Edward  III.  (1364),  the  fraternity  was  incorporated  anew,  by  the  name 
of  the  Mystery  of  the  Fishmongers  of  London.  They  were  among  the  earliest  of  the  metropolitan  ' 
guilds,  and  were  amerced  in  the  reign  of  Henry  II.  The  earliest  Parliamentary  enactment  on  our 
statute-books  relative  to  fish  is  that  of  1  Edward  I.,  who  was  glorified,  on  his  return  from  his  Scottish 
victory,  in  1298,  with  a  most  splendid  pageant  by  the  Fishmongers,  in  which  figured  gilt  sturgeons  and 
silver  salmon,  and  a  thousand  horsemen.  In  the  year  before  their  incorporation  the  Company  had  made 
Edward  III.  a  present  of  money  towards  carrying  on  his  French  wars,  the  sum  being  40i.,  only  one 
pound  less  than  the  Mercers,  the  highest  Company.  In  1382,  Parliament  enacted  that  "  no  Fishmonger 
should  for  the  future  be  admitted  Mayor  of  the  City,"  which  prohibition  was,  however,  removed  next 
year.  Before  the  union  of  the  Salt  and  Stock  Fishmongers,  they  had  "  six  several  Halls :  in  Thames-street, 
twain  ;  in  New  Fish-street,  twain ;  and  in  Old  Fish-street,  twain."  (Stow.)  Next,  the  Fishmongers'  Com- 
pany was  formed  by  the  junction  of  the  two  Companies  of  Salt  Fishmongers  and  Stock  Fishmongers,  and 
was  incorporated  by  Henry  VIII.,  in  1536. 

The  first  Hall  of  the  joint  Company  in  Thames-street,  in  Hollar's  view,  1647,  has  a 
dining-hall  across  the  original  quadrangle :  the  whole  pile  was  of  stone,  embattled,  and 
reaching  to  the  water's  edge ;  it  had  Tudor-shaped  windows  and  square  wing-towers, 
and  altogether  resembled  a  castle.     In  the  Great  Fire, 

"  A  key  of  fire  ran  all  along  the  shore, 
And  frighten'd  all  the  river  with  a  blaze." — Dryden's  Annut  Mirabilis. 

The  Hall  was  entirely  destroyed,  but  was  rebuilt  in  1674,  not  by  Wren,  as  generally 
stated,  but  by  Jarman,  as  proved  by  the  Company's  books :  this  edifice  had  a  stately 
river-front,  with  an  entrance  from  Thames-street,  and  was  taken  down  in  1831,  the 
Company  having  sold  a  portion  of  the  land  to  the  City  for  the  new  London  Bridge 
approach.  The  cellars  had  been  let  as  "  Wine  Shades,"  from  the  year  1697,  the  entrance 
being  from  the  quay :  here  "  the  citizens  drank  their  genuine  old  port  and  sherry, 
drawn  from  the  casks,  and  viewed  the  bridge-shooters  and  boat-racers."  The  "  Shades" 
were  subsequently  removed  to  the  house  of  Alderman  Garratt,  who,  as  Lord  Mayor,  laid 
the  first  stone  of  the  present  London  Bridge. 

Among  the  Trust-estates  and  Charities  of  the  Company  is  St.  Peter's  Hospital,  origin- 
ally erected  at  Newington,  but  taken  down  in  1851,  and  rebuilt  on  Wandsworth  Common. 
{See  Almshouses,  p.  8.) 

The  Stock  Fishmongers,  from  the  earliest  times,  adopted  St.  Michael's  Church,  Crooked- 
lane  (rebuilt  and  enlarged  by  their  two  eminent  members,  John  Lovekyn  and  William 
Walworth),  as  their  general  burial-place,  to  which  they  added  "the  Fishmongers' 
Chapel."  St.  Michael's  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  was  rebuilt  by  Wren,  but 
was  taken  down  in  1831  for  the  new  London  Bridge  approach. 

The  history  of  the  Fishmongers  abounds  with  curious  details  of  their  trade  and 

D  1) 


402  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


mystery ;  and  their  regulations,  even  to  the  crying  of  fish,  are  very  minute.  The  ancient 
market  can  be  traced.  The  Fishmongers'  statutes  have  not  entirely  fallen  into  desue- 
tude :  they  had  power  in  early  times  "  to  enter  and  seize  bad  fish  ;"  and  to  this  day  two 
inspectors  are  employed  by  the  Company,  and  report  to  the  Court  the  number  of  unwhole- 
some fish  destroyed.  The  Charter  by  which  the  Company  is  now  governed  was  granted 
in  the  reign  of  James  I.  The  property  of  the  Fishmongers  has  greatly  increased  in 
value ;  and  the  Charity  Commissioners,  at  their  latest  visitation,  bore  testimony  to  the 
excellent  administration  of  the  funds  of  the  Company.  Curious  it  is  to  look  back  at 
the  empty  enactment  of  500  years  since,  "  that  no  Fishmonger  be  Lord  Mayor  of  this 
City,"  and  contrast  it  with  the  records  which  show  that  more  than  fifty  of  the  Company 
have  been  Lord  Mayors.  Stow  tells  us  of  "  these  Fishmongers  having  been  jolly 
citizens,  and  six  Mayors  of  their  Company  in  the  space  of  twenty-four  years ;"  and  in 
our  time  Aldermen  Sir  Matthew  Wood  and  Mr.  William  Cubitt,  Fishmongers,  each 
filled  the  civic  chair  twice,  in  successive  years. 

On  Feb.  12, 1863,  the  Prince  of  Wales  took  the  first  step  towards  becoming  a  member 
of  the  Corporation  of  the  City  of  London,  by  taking  up  his  freedom  of  the  Company  of 
Fishmongers,  of  which  his  Royal  Highness's  father  and  grandfather  were  also  freemen. 
On  July  10,  1864,  the  Company  had  been  incorporated  500  years :  the  day  was  Sun- 
day ;  and,  on  Tuesday  following,  the  event  was  celebrated  by  a  festival  at  Fishmongers' 
Hall,  the  Prime  Warden,  Mr.  James  Spicer,  presiding,  and  prefacing  the  toast  of  the 
evening  with  a  precis  of  the  history  of  the  Company. 

5.  Goxdsmiths'  Hail,  Foster-lane,  Cheapside,  back  of  the  General  Post  Office, 
built  by  Philip  Hardwick,  R.A.,  1832-35,  is  the  most  magnificent  City  Hall,  and  the 
third  erected  for  the  Company  on  this  site ;  its  cost  being  defrayed  without  trenching 
on  their  funds  for  charitable  purposes.  The  architecture  is  Italian,  seventeenth  and 
eighteenth  centuries ;  the  building  is  180  feet  in  front  and  100  feet  in  depth,  com- 
pletely insulated ;  the  basement  is  Haytor  granite,  and  the  superstructure  fine  Portland 
stone.  The  west  or  principal  facade  has  six  attached  Corinthian  columns,  the  whole 
height  of  the  front,  supporting  a  rich  Corinthian  entablature  and  bold  cornice  of  extra- 
ordinary beauty,  continued  all  round  the  building.  The  east,  north,  and  south  fronts 
are  decorated  with  pilasters,  which  also  terminate  the  angles.  The  plinth  is  6  feet 
high,  and  some  of  the  blocks  in  the  column-shafts  and  entablature  weigh  from  10  to 
12  tons  each.  The  windows  of  the  principal  story  have  enriched  and  bold  pediments, 
supported  by  handsome  trusses,  and  the  centre  windows  have  massive  balustraded 
balconies :  the  echinus  moulding  in  this  story  is  much  admired.  The  intercolumnia- 
tions  of  the  centre  above  the  first  floor,  in  place  of  the  continuation  of  the  windows  of 
the  second  story,  have  the  Company's  arms,  festal  emblems,  and  naval  and  military 
trophies,  floridly  sculptured.  The  entrance-door  is  a  rich  specimen  of  cast-work ;  the 
Hall  roof  is  entirely  covered  with  lead. 

This  noble  Hall  is  disadvantageously  placed,  but  its  sumptuous  architecture  is  best 
appreciated  when  seen  from  the  rear  of  the  Post  Office.  The  interior  is  correspondingly 
superb :  from  the  vestibule  branches  right  and  left  a  grand  staircase,  on  the  balustrade 
of  which  are  four  marble  statuettes  of  the  Seasons  by  Nixon ;  in  the  central  niche  is  a 
marble  bust  of  William  IV.  by  Chantrey  j  and  above  are  portraits — of  George  IV.  by 
Northcote ;  and  George  III.  and  his  Queen,  by  Ramsay.  The  ascent  is  to  a  gallery, 
with  screens  of  scagliola  verde  antique  columns,  between  which  are  statues  of  Apollo 
Belvidere  and  Diana  and  the  hart ;  from  the  dome  hangs  a  magnificent  chandelier :  the 
effect  of  the  whole  is  fascinating  and  scenic,  particularly  when  viewed  through  the  four 
piles  of  columns.  The  banqueting-hall,  80  by  40  feet,  and  35  feet  high,  has  a  range  of 
Corinthian  columns  along  its  sides,  which  are  raised  on  pedestals  and  insulated.  The  five 
lofty  and  arched  windows  are  filled  with  armorial  bearings ;  and  at  the  north  end  is  a 
spacious  alcove  for  the  display  of  plate,  lighted  from  above.  On  the  sides  is  a  large 
mirror,  with  busts  of  George  III.  and  IV.  by  Chantrey.  Between  the  columns  are 
lofty  portraits  of  Queen  Adelaide,  by  M.  A.  Shee;  and  William  IV.  and  Queen 
Victoria,  by  Hayter.  The  Court-room  has  an  elaborate  stucco  ceiling ;  and  here,  be- 
neath glass,  is  preserved  a  Roman  altar  (sculptured  with  figures  of  Apollo  and  a  dog, 
and  a  lyre),  which  was  found  in  digging  the  foundations  of  the  present  Hall.  In  the 
Court-room  is  Janssen's  portrait  of  Sir  Hugh  Myddelton  (a  Goldsmith),  who  brought 


HALL— GOLDSMITHS'.  403 


the  New  River  to  London :  the  picture  is  in  the  style  of  Vandyck ;  'Sir  Hugh  wears  a 
hlack  hahit,  his  hand  rests  upon  a  shell,  and  near  him  is  inscribed  "  Foutes  Fodinse." 
Next  is  a  portrait  (said  by  Holbein),  of  Sir  Martin  Bowes,  Lord  Mayor  1545,  intro- 
ducing the  cup  he  bequeathed  to  the  Goldsmiths'  Company  :  here  also  hangs  a  large 
painting  of  St.  Dunstan  (patron  of  the  Goldsmiths),  in  rich  robe,  and  crozier  in  hand; 
in  the  background  the  saint  is  taking  the  devil  by  the  nose,  and  the  heavenly  host  ap- 
pears above :  the  marble  chimney-piece  of  this  room  was  brought  from  Canons,  and  its 
two  large  terminal  busts  are  attributed  to  Roubiliac.  The  drawing-room  (crimson, 
white,  and  gold),  has  immense  mirrors,  and  a  ceiling  exquisitely  wrought  with  flowers, 
fruits,  birds,  quadrupeds,  and  scroll-work,  relieved  with  gay  coats  of  arms.  The  Court 
dining-room  has  in  the  marble  chimney-piece  two  boys  holding  a  wreath,  encircling  the 
head  of  Richard  II.,  by  whom  the  Goldsmiths'  incorporation  was  confirmed. 

In  the  Livery  tea-room  is  a  conversation-picture  by  Hudson  (Reynolds's  master), 
containing  portraits  of  six  Lord  Mayors,  all  Goldsmiths :  Sir  H.  Marshall,  1745 ;  W. 
Benn,  1747;  J.  Blachford,  1750;  R.  Allsop,  1752;  Edmund  Ironside  and  Sir  Thomas 
Rawlinson,  both  in  1754,  the  former  having  died  during  his  mayoralty. 

The  Goldsmiths'  Company,  anciently  the  "  Gilda  Aurifabrornm,"  was  probably  of 
foreign  origin,  and  was  fined  as  Adulterine,  by  Henry  II.  in  1180 :  incorporated  in 
1327,  1st  of  Edward  III. ;  the  grant  being  confirmed'  by  Richard  II.,  in  1392.  The 
Company  have  altogether  fifteen  charters.  They  purchased  the  site  of  their  present 
Hall,  with  tenements,  in  1323 ;  their  second  Hall  was  built  by  Sir  Drew  Barentyne, 
Goldsmith,  and  Lord  Mayor  in  1398  :  it  was  hung  with  Flemish  tapestry,  representing 
the  history  of  St.  Dunstan,  whose  silver-gilt  statue  stood  on  the  reredos,  or  screen : 
Sir  B.  Rede,  when  mayor,  gave  in  this  hall  a  feast,  with  "a  paled  park,  furnished  with 
fruitfull  trees  and  beasts  of  venery."  The  Hall,  from  1641  till  the  Restoration,  was 
the  Exchequer  of  the  Parliamentarians,  wherein  was  stored  up  the  money  accumulated 
by  sequestrations,  or  forfeitures  of  the  Royalists'  estates,  as  we  read  in  the  news- 
papers of  that  day.  The  Hall  was  nearly  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  after  which 
it  was  repaired  and  partly  rebuilt.  This  hall  was  taken  down  in  1829  :  it  was  very 
large,  and  the  interior  was  sumptuously  decorated. 

Chcapside,  Old  'Change,  Foster-lane,  St.  Martin's-le-Grand,  and  the  avenues  near  Goldsmiths'  Hall, 
were  the  oldest  localities  of  the  goldsmiths'  trade;  there  were  also  Gutter-lane,  Seynt  Marten's,  May- 
denyng-lane,  Westminster,  Southwark,  Bush-lane,  Lombard-street,  Silver-street,  and  other  places.  The 
moneyers,  or  sheremoniers  (such  as  cut  out  the  plates  to  be  stamped),  occupied  the  Old  'Change  and 
Sermon-lane.  The  shopkeepers,  or  sellers  of  plate,  "  sat  in  the  High-street  of  Chepe."  The  Goldsmiths, 
always  strove  to  prevent  foreign  workmen  from  settling  in  London,  the  best  artists  being  Italians,— 
from  Cavalini,  who  made  the  shrine  of  Edward  the  Confessor,  to  Torregiano,  the  maker  of  the  superb 
brazen  monument  of  Henry  VII. ;  and  in  the  fourth  year  of  Edward  IV.  a  trial  of  skill  between  English 
goldsmiths  and  foreign  ones  took  place  at  the  Pope's-Head  Tavern,  Cornhill  (now  Pope's-Head-alley),. 
which  was  adjudged  in  favour  of  our  workmen.  Various  entries  show  the  Company  to  have  been  both 
operative  goldsmiths  and  at  the  same  time  bankers. 

Among  the  mayors  of  the  Goldsmiths'  Company  were,  Gregory  de  Rokesley  (six  times  mayor) ; 
Nicholas  de  Faringdon,  appointed  mayor  in  1308  by  Edward  II.,  "as  long  as  it  pleased  him;"  Sir 
John  Chace,  M.P.,  and  Bartholomew  Rede;  Sir  Martin  Bowes,  who  lent  Henry  VIII.  3001. :  Sir 
Robert  Vyner ;  Sir  John  Shorter ;  Sir  Francis  Child,  banker ;  and  Sir  Charles  Duncombe. 

The  Goldsmiths'  Pageants  were  of  old  very  costly;  they  formerly  maintained  a 
splendid  barge,  and  they  possess  a  rich  pall  or  hearse-cloth.  St.  Dunstan's  image,  of 
silver-gilt,  set  with  gems,  once  adorned  their  Hall;  and  they  drank  his  memory 
from  "  St.  Dunstan's  Cup." 

The  Company's  plate  is  very  magnificent,  and  comprises  a  chandelier  of  chased  gold, 
weighing  1000  ounces ;  two  superb  old  plates  of  gold,  having  on  them  the  arms  of 
France  quartered  with  those  of  England,  but  without  those  of  Hanover ;  the  cup  be- 
queathed by  Sir  Martin  Bowes,  and  out  of  which  Queen  Elizabeth  is  said  to  have  drunk 
at  her  coronation.  At  the  Great  Exhibition  of  1851,  the  Company  awarded  1000£.  to 
the  best  artists  in  gold  and  silver  plate ;  and,  as  a  further  commemoration,  resolved  to 
add  to  their  treasures  5000Z.  worth  of  plate  of  British  manufacture. 

The  Assay  possessed  by  the  Goldsmiths'  Company  compels  every  article  of  manufacture  in  gold  or 
silver  to  be  marked  with  the  "  Hall  mark  "  before  it  leaves  the  workman's  hands,  and  authorizes  the 
Wardens  to  break  whatever  article  is  below  standard.  The  Assay,  anciently  "  the  touch,"  with  the 
marking  or  stamping  and  proving  of  the  coin  at  "  the  Trial  of  the  Pix,"  were  privileges  conferred  on 
the  Goldsmiths'  Company  before  the  statute  28th  Edward  I. ;  and  they  had  an  assay-office  more  than 
600  years  ago.  "  The  same  Act  orders  all  goldsmiths'  work  to  be  stamped  with  the  leopard's  head, — 
that  animal,  before  the  adoption  of  the  lion,  being  the  armorial  cognisance  of  England."  (Herbert.) 
"  The  touch-wardens  and  assay-master  have  large  steel  puncheons  and  marks  of  different  sizes."    The 

P9l 


401  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

manner  of  making  ttie  assay  is  thus :  "  The  assay-master  puts  a  small  quantity  of  silver  upon  trial  in 
the  lire ;  and  then  taking  it  out  again,  he,  with  his  exact  scales,  that  will  turn  with  the  weight  of  the 
hundredth  part  of  a  grain,  computes  and  reports  the  goodness  or  badness  of  the  gold  and  silver." — 
Touchstone  for  Goldsmiths'  Waret. 

The  Sail  mark  shows  where  manufactured,  as  the  leopard's  head  for  London.  Duty  mark  is  the 
head  of  the  sovereign,  showing  the  duty  is  paid.  Date  mark  is  a  letter  of  the  alphabet,  which  varies 
every  year :  thus,  the  Goldsmiths's  Company  have  used,  from  1716  to  1755,  Roman  capital  letters ; 
1756  to  1775,  small  Roman  letters;  1776  to  1795,  Old  English  letters;  1796  to  1815,  Roman  capital  letters, 
from  A  to  U,  omitting  J ;  1816  to  1835,  small  Roman  letters,  a  to  u,  omitting  j ;  from  1836,  Old  English 
letters.  There  are  two  qualities  of  gold  and  silver ;  the  inferior  is  mostly  in  use :  the  quality  marks 
for  silver  are  Britannia,  or  the  head  of  the  reigning  monarch  ;  for  gold,  the  lion  passant,  22  or  18, 
which  denotes  that  fine  gold  is  24-carat,  18  only  75  per  cent,  gold ;  sometimes  rings  are  marked  22. 
The  Manufacturer's  mark  is  the  initials  of  the  maker. 

The  Company  are  allowed  2$  per  cent.,  and  the  fees  for  stamping  are  paid  in  to  the  Inland  Revenue 
Office.  At  Goldsmiths'  Hall,  in  the  years  1850  to  1863  inclusive,  i  here  were  assayed  and  marked  85 
22-carat  watch  cases,  316,347  18-carat,  493  15-carat,  1550  12-carat,  448  9-carat,  making  a  total  of  318,923 
cases,  weighing  467,250  ounces,  6  dwts.,  18  grains.  The  Goldsmiths'  Company  append  a  note  to  this 
return,  statingthat  they  have  no  knowledge  ofthe  value  of  the  cases  assayed,  except  of  the  intrinsic  value 
as  indicated  by  the  weight  and  quality  of  the  gold  given  in  the  return.  The  silver  watch  cases  assayed 
at  the  same  establishment  in  the  fourteen  years  numbered  1,139,704,  the  total  weight  being  2,302,192 
ounces,  19  dwts.  In  the  year  1857,  the  largest  number  of  cases  were  assayed  out  of  the  fourteen.  The 
precise  number  in  that  year  was  106,860,  this  being  more  than  10,000  above  any  year  in  the  period  named. 
In  a  subsequent  year  the  number  was  only  77,608.  A  similar  note  with  regard  to  value  is  appended  to 
the  return  of  silver  cases  as  to  the  gold. 

6.  Skinners'  Hail,  Dowgate-hill,  rebuilt  after  the  Great  Fire,  was  refronted  by 
Jupp  about  1790 :  in  the  pediment  are  the  Company's  arms,  and  the  frieze  is  orna- 
mented with  festoons  and  leopards'  heads.  The  drawing-room  is  lined  with  odorife- 
rous cedar,  carved  and  enriched,  and  has  been  restored  by  George  Moore,  F.R.S.,  who 
has  also  rebuilt  the  dining-hall,  in  Italian  style  with  an  enriched  ceiling,  and  an  Ionic 
gallery  for  minstrels.  The  pediment  bears  the  Company's  arms.  The  staircase  still 
displays  some  of  the  many  ornaments  in  fashion  after  the  Great  Fire.  On  the  walls 
above  the  wainscot  are  panels  for  frescoes.  Here  is  the  portrait  of  Sir  Andrew  Judd, 
Skinner,  Lord  Mayor  1551,  and  founder  of  the  Tunbridge  School,  the  affairs  of 
which  are  managed  by  the  Company. 

Among  Judd's  bequests  was  his  "  croft  of  pasture,  called  the  Sandhills,  on  the  backside  of  Holborn," 
in  the  parish  of  St.  Pancras,  which  probably  let  for  a  few  pounds  at  the  time  ofthe  testator's  decease, 
but  is  now  covered  with  houses,  the  ground-rents  of  which  amount  to  several  hundreds  a  year.  At 
the  expiration  ofthe  present  leases  in  1906,  the  rental  of  this  estate  alone  will  exceed  20,000i.  a-year — 
a  vast  income  for  a  public  school." — Britton's  Tunbridge  Wells,  1832. 

The  Company  also  possess  much  property,  especially  in  Clerkenwell,  where,  near  the 
Clerks'  Well,  was  Skinners'  Well,  around  which  the  skinners  of  London  acted  Holy 
plays ;  one  of  which,  in  1408,  lasted  eight  days,  and  was  "  of  matter  from  the  Creation 
of  the  World." 

The  Skinners  were  incorporated  in  the  first  year  of  Edward  III.,  1327,  and  became 
a  brotherhood  in  the  reign  of  Richard  II.  Twenty-nine  Lord  Mayors  have  been  chosen 
from  this  Company.  They  have  been  honoured  by  the  membership  of  six  kings,  five 
queens,  one  prince,  nine  dukes,  two  earls,  and  a  baron.  The  existing  charter  was 
granted  by  James  I. :  few  of  the  members  are  now  furriers. 

Gradually  the  use  of  furs  by  male  persons  ceased,  except  in  the  case  of  peers  and 
magistrates  for  their  state  robes,  ermine  for  kings,  and  fur  trimmings  for  liverymen. 
The  Skinners  were  proud  of  the  antiquity  of  their  guild,  and  in  1339  disputed  with  the 
Fishmongers  for  precedence,  and  a  skirmish  ensued.  The  municipal  authorities  seized 
some  of  the  ringleaders ;  they  were  rescued,  and  the  Mayor  with  his  officers  mal- 
treated, when  "  these  desperate  fellows  were  apprehended,  tried,  and  condemned  at 
Guildhall,  and  executed  in  Cheapside,  the  king  granting  an  indemnification  to  the 
Mayor."  In  1395  they  seem  to  have  carried  on  their  business  operations  in  the  parish  of 
St.  Mary  Axe.  Strype  says  that  "  in  his  days  they  removed  to  Budge-row  and  Walworth." 
Choosing  officers  of  the  Company  was  thus  described  to  Mr.  Herbert : — "  The  principals 
being  assembled  on  the  day  of  election,  ten  blue-coat  boys,  with  the  almsmen  and 
trumpeters,  enter  the  hall.  Three  large  silver  cocks  or  fowls,  so  named,  are  then 
brought  in  and  delivered  to  the  Master  and  Wardens.  On  unscrewing  these  pieces  of 
plate,  they  are  found  to  form  drinking-cups,  filled  with  wine,  and  from  which  they 
drink.  Three  caps  of  maintenance  are  then  brought;  the  old  Master  tries  on  the 
first,  and  finding  it  will  not  fit,  gives  it  for  trial  to  those  next  to  him  j  failing  to  fit 
any  of  them,  it  is  then  given  to  the  intended  new  Master,  and  on  its  duly  fitting,  he  is 


HALL— MERCHANT-TAILORS'.  405 

then  announced  with  acclamations  as  the  Master-elect.     Like  ceremonies  are  repeated 
with  the  other  caps  on  the  Wardens." 

At  a  dinner  at  Fishmongers'  Hall,  December  9,  1858,  the  toast  of  "  the  City  Companies  "  was  ac- 
knowledged by  Mr.  Locke,  Si. P.,  Master  of  the  Skinners'  Company,  in  virtue  of  an  old  award  by  which 
the  Skinners'  Company  and  the  Company  of  Merchant  Tailors  took  precedence  of  each  other  in  alter- 
nate years.  Both  these  companies  were  established  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  and  for  a  long  period 
were  at  deadly  feud  on  the  point  of  precedence,  their  processions  never  meeting  in  the  streets  of  the 
city  without  a  fight.  In  the  reign  of  Richard  III.  one  of  these  conflicts  was  so  violent  that  several 
persons  were  killed  on  both  sides ;  in  consequence  of  this  event  the  point  at  issue  was  decided  by  the 
Lord  Mayor  of  the  time,  who  made  an  award  by  which  the  two  companies  were  given  precedence  of 
each  other  alternately,  and  this  old  regulation  is  still  observed ;  according  to  it  Mr.  Locke  spoke  to 
the  toast,  though  the  representative  of  the  Merchant  Tailors'  Company  was  present.  Mr.  Locke  also 
stated  that  the  Prime  Warden  of  the  Fishmongers'Company  then  presiding  was  lineal  descendant  of 
the  Lord  Mayor  Boddington,  who  so  long  ago  made  the  peace-preserving  decision. 

7.  Meechant-Tailoes'  Hall,  Threadneedle-street,  was  built  by  Jarman  soon  after 
the  Great  Fire.  The  banqueting-room  is  the  most  spacious  of  the  City  Companies'  Halls, 
and  has  a  stately  screen  and  music-gallery.  Upon  the  walls  are  shields  emblazoned 
with  the  Masters'  arms,  and  whole-length  portraits  of  King  William  and  Queen  Mary, 
and  other  sovereigns.  The  Hall  has,  from  an  early  period,  been  frequently  lent  to  public 
corporations :  the  "  Sons  of  the  Clergy"  anniversary  meeting  is  held  here ;  a  splendid 
banquet  was  given  here  in  1815  to  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  when  he  was  invested 
with  the  freedom  of  the  Company.  Among  the  great  political  feasts  held  here  was 
the  dinner  to  Sir  Robert  Peel,  May  11,  1835,  at  which  the  Duke  of  Wellington  and 
many  Conservative  members  of  the  House  of  Commons  were  present. 

Among  the  pictures  in  the  hall,  court-room,  &c,  is  a  head  of  Henry  VIII.  by  Paris  Bordone ;  head 
of  Charles  I. ;  three-quarter  and  full-length  of  Charles  II.;  full-lengths  of  James  II.  and  Queen  Anne; 
George  III.  and  his  Queen,  by  Ramsay;  the  Duke  of  York,  by  Lawrence;  Lord  Chancellor  Eldon, 
by  Briggs ;  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  by  Wilkie :  Mr.  Pitt,  by  Hoppner.  Here  too  are  portraits  of  Sir 
Thomas  White,  Master  of  the  Company  1561,  founder  of  St.  John's  College,  Oxford ;  portraits  of  other 
lord  mayors,  Merchant-Tailors ;  and  a  modern  picture  of  Henry  VII.  presenting  his  Charter  of  Incor- 
poration, attended  by  Archbishop  Warham,  Fox  Bishop  of  Winchester,  and  Willoughby  Lord  Brooke. 

The  Merchant-Tailors,  anciently  "  Taylors  and  Linen  Armourers,"  arose  from  a  guild  dedicated  to 
St.  John  Baptist,  originally  incorporated  by  Edward  IV.  in  1466,  but  re-incorporated  in  1503  by 
Henry  VII.,  one  of  its  members. 

Their  first  hall,  in  Threadneedle-street,  was  the  mansion  of  E.  Crepin,  and  was  called  the  "  New 
Hal,  or  Taylers'  Inne,"  to  distinguish  it  from  their  old  hall  in  Basing-lane.  This  Hall  was  rebuilt,  was 
hung  with  tapestry  of  St.  John  Baptist,  and  had  on  the  screen  a  silver  image  of  St.  John  in  a  tabernacle ; 
the  windows  were  painted  with  armorial  bearings  ;  the  floor  strewed  with  rushes ;  from  the  ceiling  hung 
silk  flags  and  streamers :  and  on  feast-days  the  tables  on  tressels  were  covered  with  the  richest  damask 
linen  and  glittering  plate.  Among  the  other  Hall  buildings  was  the  Treasury,  in  the  garden,  for  plate, 
money,  securities,  &c. :  the  King's  Chamber,  for  the  reception  of  the  royal  personages,  who  visited  the 
Merchant-Tailors  oftener  than  any  other  Company ;  and  the  Summer  banqueting-room,  in  the  garden. 
The  Company's  armoury  is  first  mentioned  in  1600,  when  there  were  state-palls  and  eighteen  banners, 
besides  pavises  and  pennons.  After  the  Great  Fire,  from  among  the  Hall  ruins  was  collected  the 
Company's  melted  plate  (200  lbs.  weight  of  metal),  which  they  sold  to  begin  a  fund  to  rebuild. 

One  of  the  most  splendid  festivals  in  the  old  Hall  was  that  given  to  James  I.  and 
Prince  Henry  in  1607,  when  a  child  "  delivered  a  short  speech  containing  xviii.  verses, 
devised  by  Mr.  Ben  Johnson;"  and  "in  the  Ship  which  did  hang  aloft  in  the  Hall  were 
three  rare  men  and  very  skilful,  who  song  to  his  Majesty."  James  dined  in  the  King's 
chamber,  where  Mr.  John  Bull,  doctor  of  music,  and  a  brother  of  the  Company,  played 
a  pair  of  organs  all  the  dinner-time.  Then  his  Majesty  came  down  to  the  Great  Hall, 
where  "  the  three  rare  men  in  the  shippe"  sang  a  song  of  farewell,  which  so  pleased 
the  King,  that  he  caused  the  same  to  be  sung  three  times  over. 

The  Company  are  possessed  of,  and  are  Trustees  to,  great  estates  for  noble  pur- 
poses, besides  the  eminent  School  which  bears  their  name.  (See  Meechant-Tailobs' 
School.)  In  1664,  the  scholars  acted  in  the  old  Hall  Beaumont  and  Fletcher's  comedy 
of  "  Love's  Pilgrimage." 

In  the  list  of  the  distinguished  freemen  of  the  Company  are  eleven  sovereigns,  about 
as  many  princes  of  the  blood-royal,  thirteen  dukes,  two  duchesses,  nearly  thirty  arch- 
bishops and  bishops,  fifteen  abbots  and  priors,  and  a  long  list  of  the  nobility. 

One  of  the  most  eminent  tailors  (professionally  so)  was  Sir  John  Hawkwood, 
"  Johannes  Acutus,"  who  "  twined  his  needle  into  a  sword,  and  his  thimble  into  a 
shield,"  and  became  "  the  first  general  of  modern  times ;  the  earliest  master,  however 
imperfect,  in  the  science  of  Turenne  and  Wellington."  (Hallam's  Middle  Ages.)  Sir 
Ralph  Black  well,  stated  to  have  been  a  fellow-apprentice  of  Hawkwood,  and,  like  him, 
knighted  for  his  valour  by  Edward  III.,  was  also  a  Merchant-Tailor ;  as  were  Speed 


406  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

and  Stow,  the  historians,  hoth  tailors  by  trade.  Stow  enjoyed  an  annuity  from 
the  Company,  who  keep  in  repair  his  monument  in  the  church  of  St.  Andrew,  Under- 
shaft.     (See  Chueches,  p.  150.) 

In  the  Merchant-Tailors'  records,  we  find  this  gratifying  entry :  "  1654, 131.  6s.  Sd.  given  to  Ogilby 
the  poet,  free  of  this  Company,  on  his  petition  that  he  had,  at  much  study  and  expense,  translated 
Virgil  into  English  metre,  with  annotations,  and  likewise  iEsop's  Fables,  both  which  he  had  presented 
to  them  fairly  bound."    Herbert's  Twelve  Great  Livery  Companies,  vol.ii.  p.  406. 

Edward  I.  granted  a  licence  which  recognised  the  Merchant-Tailors  as  a  guild; 
Edward  III.  granted  their  first  charter,  and  testified  his  regard  for  the  Company  by 
becoming  the  first  of  its  Royal  members.  His  grandson  and  successor,  Richard  II., 
and  all  the  sovereigns  of  the  House3  of  Lancaster  and  York  (excepting  Edward  V.), 
became  honorary  freemen  of  the  Company.  They  also  confirmed  its  charter  and  ex- 
tended its  privileges.  Henry  VII.  re-incorporated  the  Company  under  its  present 
title,  and  presented  the  new  charter  to  the  Master  and  Wardens  from  the  throne.  He 
afterwards  conferred  upon  them  the  great  honour  of  presiding  as  Master  at  a  festival 
held  in  their  Hall.  At  a  subsequent  date  James  I.  was  entertained  here  by  this 
Company  on  his  accession  to  the  English  throne ;  and  his  Majesty's  two  sons,  Henry 
Prince  of  Wales  and  Charles  Duke  of  York  (afterwards  King  Charles  I.),  were  en- 
rolled as  honorary  members.  King  James  II.  and  Prince  George  of  Denmark  were 
also  honorary  members  of  this  ancient  fraternity.  At  a  much  more  recent  date,  the 
Dukes  of  York  and  Cambridge,  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  Sir  Robert  Peel,  the  Duke 
■of  Kent,  and  Prince  Albert,  were  admitted  to  the  honourable  freedom  of  this  Company ; 
and  on  St.  Barnabas  Day,  June  11,  1863,  the  Prince  of  Wales  was  enrolled  a  Merchant- 
Tailor.  The  representatives  of  the  old  English  houses  of  Stanley,  Percy,  and  Cecil  are 
honorary  members  of  this  Company ;  as  are  Sir  John  Lawrence  and  Sir  George  Pollock ; 
while  death  only  deprived  the  Company  of  the  honour  of  such  names  as  Dalhousie  and 
the  brave  and  good  Havelock  being  added  to  the  roll. 

8.  Habebdashees'  II  all,  No.  8,  Gresham-street  West,  is  built  upon  ground  be- 
queathed to  the  Company  in  the  reign  of  Edward  IV.  by  a  worthy  citizen  and  haber- 
dasher, with  houses  and  premises,  in  the  whole  about  half  an  acre  of  ground,  of  which 
there  is  a  plan  among  the  Company's  documents  j  it  is  now  part  of  Gresham-street 
West,  nearly  opposite  Goldsmiths'  Hall.  The  ancient  Hall  of  the  Haberdashers,  with 
many  of  the  Company's  records  and  property  of  much  value,  were  destroyed  in  the 
Great  Fire.  This  must  have  been  a  structure  of  some  magnitude,  from  the  Parliament 
Commissioners  having  held  their  meetings  in  it  during  the  Interregnum.  The 
Hall  was  destroyed  as  above,  except  the  strong-room,  in  which  the  ancient  muni- 
ments and  plate  of  the  Company  were  deposited ;  these  were  saved  intact  on  that 
occasion,  the  intensity  of  the  ordeal  to  which  they  were  exposed  being  shown  to  this 
day  in  the  molten  wax  attached  to  the  deeds,  though  they  were  inclosed  in  a  place  with 
walls  seven  feet  thick  during  the  fire.  In  the  year  after  the  Fire,  1667,  the  rebuild- 
ing of  the  Hall  was  commenced  by  Wren.  Herbert  says : — "  It  has  nothing  to  merit 
description ;  indeed,  it  much  needs  rebuilding."  The  hall  was  lofty  and  spacious,  had 
a  screen  and  music- gallery,  and  several  large  glass  chandeliers;  it  was  let  in  winter 
for  City  balls  and  assemblies.  However,  Wren's  poor  work  was  redeemed  by  a  fine 
foliaged  ceiling,  which  was  destroyed  some  years  since.  There  were,  besides  the 
banqueting-room,  houses,  and  offices,  and  a  chapel.  In  some  Corporation  improvements 
a  portion  of  the  front  premises  of  the  Hall  in  Gresham-street  was  removed  to  widen 
the  thoroughfare.  A  new  entrance  was  then  constructed,  with  two  richly-carved  oak 
staircases ;  besides  a  kitchen,  with  gas  and  other  cooking-stoves,  ovens,  &c. 

In  a  great  conflagration,  September  19,  1864,  in  which  nearly  half  a  million's  worth 
of  property  was  destroyed,  Haberdashers'  Hall  was  damaged  to  the  extent  of  10,000Z., 
besides  the  loss  of  historical  relics :  it  had  just  been  restored  at  4G00L  cost.  Of  the 
banqueting-hall  remained  only  the  four  walls,  of  fine  proportions,  being  about  60  feet 
long  by  30  feet  in  width.  It  was  ornamented  with  portraits  by  eminent  painters,  oi 
benefactors  of  the  Company,  and  the  arms  of  other  distinguished  members  of  the 
Guild  were  emblazoned  on  the  windows.  The  Hall  has  been  restored.  Among  the 
pictures,  which  were  saved,  are  portraits  of  George  I.,  George  II.,  and  Queen  Caroline, 
Prince  Frederick,  when  a  youth  (father  of  George  III.),  and  Augusta,  his  consort ;  also 


HALLS— S ALTERS9,  IRONMONGERS'.  407 

portraits  of  benefactors,  including  Robert  Aske,  who  left  the  Company  30,000£.  to  build 
and  endow  almshouses  at  Hoxton  ;  and  William  Jones,  merchant-adventurer,  who  also 
bequeathed  18,000£.  for  benevolent  purposes.  Here  are  a  small  statue  of  Henry  VIII. ; 
a  painting  of  the  Wise  Men's  Offering ;  also  a  portrait  of  Sir  George  Whitmore,  Lord 
Mayor  in  1631,  who  entertained  Charles  I.  and  his  Queen  in  his  noble  mansion  and  gar- 
dens of  Baumes,  or  Balmes,  Kingsland-road,  Hoxton.     The  wrought-iron  gates  are  fine. 

The  Company's  Court  books  extend  only  to  the  reign  of  Charles  I. ;  but  they  possess  a 
small  vellum  book  of  ordinances,  which  has  a  good  illumination  of  St.  Katherine,  the 
Haberdashers'  patron  saint. 

The  Haberdashers,  or  Hurrers  of  old,  date  their  ordinances  from  1372,  and  were  incorporated  by 
Henry  VI.  in  1447.  They  were  also  called  Milliners,  from  dealing  in  merchandize  from  Milan.  They 
were  originally  a  branch  of  the  Mercers,  and  Lydgate  places  their  stalls  together  in  the  Mercery  at 
Chepe.  Here  were  also  haberdashers  of  hats,  as  well  as  of  small  wares.  In  the  reign  of  Edward  VI. 
there  were  only  twelve  milliners'  shops  in  all  London,  but  in  1580  the  town  became  full  of  them;  and 
this  encouragement  of  foreign  manufacture  doubtless  led  to  the  sumptuary  regulations  anciently  issued 
to  the  Companies  and  City. 

The  location  of  the  Company's  Charities  is  denoted  in  Haberdashers'  Place,  Street, 
and  Walk,  at  Hoxton ;  Haberdashers'  Square,  Cripplegate ;  and  Court,  Snow-hill. 
The  original  Hospital,  built  and  endowed  with  Aske's  princely  bequest,  was  a  truly 
Palladian  design,  by  Dr.  Robert  Hooke,  the  fellow  student  of  Sir  Christopher  Wren. 
The  present  Hospital,  by  Roper,  has  in  the  centre  a  Doric  tetrastyle  portico  leading 
to  the  Hall  and  Chapel.  The  lodging-rooms  of  the  almsmen,  at  Hoxton,  are  on  each 
side  of  a  quadrangle,  in  which  is  a  statue  of  Aske,  whose  bequest  also  includes  a 
School,  in  Bunhill-row.    The  Charities  amount  to  between  30001.  and  4000£.  annually. 

9.  Salters'  Hale,  St.  Swithin's-lane,  Cannon-street,  the  fifth  hall  of  the  Salters' 
Company,  was  rebuilt  by  Henry  Carr,  architect,  1823-27 :  it  has  a  handsome  Ionic 
portico,  surmounted  by  the  Company's  arms.  The  Great  Hall  has  a  music-gallery,  and 
is  hung  with  banners  from  the  ceiling.  Over  the  doorways  are  busts  of  George  III. 
and  IV.,  the  Duke  of  York,  and  Nelson,  and  Wellington.  In  the  Election  Hall  are  por- 
traits of  Charles  I. ;  Adrian  Charpentier,  painted  by  himself,  1760 ;  and  William  III. 
on  horseback.  In  the  waiting-room  is  preserved  the  bill  of  a  feast  to  fifty  Salters  in  1506 
— 11.  13*.  2\d.  Their  old  plate  includes  a  massive  silver  punchbowl,  more  than  two 
hundred  years  old ;  and  several  loving-cups,  one  of  which  has  been  in  the  possession  of 
the  Company  since  the  year  before  the  Great  Fire. 

In  the  Company's  books  is  a  receipt  "  For  to  make  a  moost  choyce  Paaste  of  Gamys  to  be  eten  at  ye 
Feste  of  Chrystemasse  "  (17th  Richard  II.  a.d.  1394).  A  pie  so  made  by  the  Companys  cook  in  1836 
was  found  excellent.  It  consisted  of  a  pheasant,  hare,  and  capon  ;  two  partridges,  two  pigeons,  and 
two  rabbits :  all  boned  and  put  into  paste  in  the  shape  of  a  bird,  with  the  livers  and  hearts,  two 
mutton  kidneys,  forced-meats,  and  egg-balls,  seasoning,  spice,  catsup,  and  pickled  mushrooms,  filled  up 
with  gravy  made  from  the  various  bones. 

The  Salters'  (Dry  Salters)  Company  was  not  regularly  incorporated  till  1558;  a 
Salter  attended  the  Mayor  as  chief-butler  at  the  coronation  of  Richard  III.,  1483,  and 
was  represented  at  the  coronation  of  George  IV.  The  original  of  the  Salters'  only 
printed  pageant  was  sold  in  Bindley's  sale,  in  1818,  for  twenty  guineas. 

The  Salters'  first  Hall  was  in  Bread-street,  next  their  kindred  tradesmen  the  Fish- 
mongers, in  the  Old  Fish-market,  Knight-rider-street.  This  Hall  was  rebuilt.  The 
Company's  third  Hall  was  the  town  inn  or  mansion  of  the  Priors  of  Tortington,  pur- 
chased in  1641,  and  afterwards  "  Oxford-place,"  from  John  de  Vere,  16th  Earl  of 
Oxford.  It  adjoined  the  dwellings  of  the  infamous  Empson  and  Dudley,  temp. 
Henry  VII.,  who  met  in  the  garden  of  Oxford-place,  now  Salters'  Garden.  The  fourth 
Hall  succeeded  the  Great  Fire,  and  had  an  arcade  opening  into  the  garden;  adjoining 
it  was  Salters'-Hall  Meetinghouse,  rented  of  the  Company,  but  taken  down  in  1821. 
In  the  garden,  the  growth  of  shrubs  and  flowers  is  marvellous,  amidst  the  bricks-and- 
mortar  and  smoke,  in  the  centre  of  the  City  :  here  rhododendrons  bloom  the  second 
year ;  ferns  and  ivy  flourish ;  the  medlar  and  fig  fruit  well ;  dahlias  and  geraniums 
abound ;  and  bulfinches  and  sparrows  congregate. 

10.  Ironmongers'  Hale,  Fenchurch-street,  nearly  opposite  Mark-lane,  built  by 
T.  Holden,  in  1748,  has  a  handsome  stone  front,  of  Italian  architecture,  with  Ionic 
pilasters,  and  a  well-proportioned  pediment,  in  which  are  sculptured  the  Company's 
arms,  &c.      From  the  vestibule,  divided  by  Tuscan  columns,  a  large  staircase  leads  to 


408  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  banqueting-hall ;  the  decorations  of  which  are  in  Louis  Quatorze  taste,  in  Jack- 
son's papier-mache  and  carton-jpierre  imitative  oak,  aided  by  old  carvings,  and  thus 
economically  effective.  The  Company's  pictures  consist  chiefly  of  portraits  of  benefac- 
tors, including  Mr.  Thomas  Betton,  a  Turkey  merchant,  who,  in  1723-24,  left  26,000£., 
half  the  interest  of  which  was  to  be  expended  in  ransoming  British  subjects,  captives 
in  Barbary  or  Turkey.  Here  also  is  a  fine  portrait  of  Admiral  Lord  Viscount  Hood,  by 
Gainsborough,  presented  by  his  lordship,  in  1783,  when  he  was  admitted  to  the  free- 
dom of  the  Company,  in  testimony  of  his  distinguished  naval  services.  One  of  the 
hall  windows  contains  a  very  curious  whole-length  portrait,  in  painted  glass,  of  Sir 
Christopher  Draper,  date  1639. 

The  Ironmongers*  were  first  incorporated  by  Edward  IV.  in  1464 :  their  first  "  House,"  built  upon 
the  site  of  the  present  hall,  had  a  gate-house,  the  refectory  strewed  with  rushes,  court-chamber  hung 
with  tapestry ;  and  an  armoury  containing,  in  1556,  17  back  and  breast  plates,  17  pair  of  splints,  12 
gorgets,  12  swords,  and  11  daggers ;  to  which  were  afterwards  added  corslets,  skull-caps  and  red  caps, 
black  bills,  and  morris  pikes,  white  coats  with  red  crosses,  14  sheaves  of  arrows,  &c.  At  the  raising  of 
the  army  of  the  Earl  of  Essex,  in  1642,  the  Company  lent,  "  to  be  returned  or  paied  for,"  10  russet 
armours,  10  pikes,  10  swords  with  belts,  10  hpad-pieces,  10  musquets  with  bandelores  and  rests,  and  10 
murrions.  In  1523,  the  Company  lent  Henry  VIII.  a  large  sum  of  money,  by  selling  some  of  their  plate 
and  pawning  the  rest ;  and  Elizabeth  compelled  the  Company  to  lend  her  money,  which  forced  the 
citizens  to  borrow  of  her  at  7  per  cent,  on  pledges  of  gold  and  silver  plate,  &c. 

In  the  list  of  Masters  and  Wardens  is  John  London,  Esq.,  1727,  who  gave  name  to 
London-street,  nearly  opposite  Ironmongers'  Hall.  New  Wardens  are  chosen  at  the 
end  of  the  Election  dinner,  when  the  wafers  are  brought  in : — 

1671,  Sept.  21.  "  I  din'd  in  the  city  at  the  Fraternity  Feast  in  Ironmongers'  Hall,  where  the  four 
stewards  chose  their  successors  for  the  next  yeare,  with  a  solemn  procession,  garlands  about  their  heads, 
and  music  playing  before  them ;  so  coming  up  to  the  upper  tables  where  the  gentlemen  sate,  they  drank 
to  the  new  stewards,  and  so  we  parted." — Evelyn's  Diary. 

The  Company's  pageants  were  very  costly  and  characteristic ;  one  having  Vulcan 
and  his  forge,  with  smiths  at  work ;  and  an  "  estridge"  (ostrich),  ridden  by  an  Indian 
boy,  from  the  common  belief  that  this  bird  could  eat  and  digest  iron ;  the  supporters  of 
the  Company's  arms  are  salamanders,  supposed,  like  iron,  to  be  unhurt  by  fire.  A  feast 
item  of  1719  is  "for  playing  on  the  tongs,  10*.;"  and  a  meat  breakfast  in  1542  is 
charged  "  for  the  cook,  turnspit,  and  woman,  for  dressing,  viijd."  Funeral  feasts  were 
also  celebrated  in  the  Hail. 

Among  the  Company's  charities  are  the  handsome  almshouses  in  the  Kingsland-road, 
originally  founded  by  the  will  of  Sir  Robert  Geffery,  Lord  Mayor  in  1686. 

The  Company  possess— the  Richmond  Cup,  date  1460,  and  regarded  as  unique ;  Mazer  Bowl,  about 
six  inches  in  diameter,  the  silver-gilt  rim  inscribed :  "  Ave  Maria  gratia  plena,  Dominus  tecum,  bene- 
dicta  tu  in  mulieribus  :  et  benedictus  fructus  ventris  tui ;"  the  Ironmongers'  Arms  :  Pair  of  Hour-glass 
Salt-cellars,  early  sixteenth  century.  Also  the  following : — Grant  of  Arms  by  Lancaster,  King  of  Arms, 
to  the  Company,  dated  24  Henry  VI. ;  Confirmation  of  Arms,  by  William  Hervy,  Clarencieux,  to  the 
Ironmongers' Company,  May  28,  1560:  Charter  of  Incorporation  to  the  Guild  or  Fraternity  of  Iron- 
mongers, March  20,  3  Edward  IV.;  the  Pall  given  to  the  Company  by  "  John  Gyva,  late  ironmonger  of 
London,  and  Elizabeth,  his  wyft'e;"  the  Master's  Garland,  of  velvet,  and  ornamented  with  the  arms  and 
crest  of  the  Company,  engraved  on  silver;  Grant  from  the  Prior  of  Rochester  to  Matthew  de  la  Wyke, 
of  the  Manor  of  Norwood,  in  Middlesex,  a.d.  1241.  To  this  charter  is  appended  the  very  beautiful 
seal  (in  green  wax)  of  the  Church  of  Rochester ;  two  Volumes  of  the  manuscript  collections  for  a  his- 
tory of  the  Ironmongers'  Company,  compiled  by  the  present  Master,  John  Nichols,  Esq.,  F.S.A. 

In  the  banqueting-hall  is  a  marble  statue  of  Alderman  Beckford,  by  Moore ;  for- 
merly at  Fontbill,  and  presented  to  the  Company  by  the  Alderman's  son,  the  author 
of  VatheJc,  when  residing  at  Bath. 

11.  Vintkeks'  Hall,  Upper  Thames-street,  near  Southwark-bridge,  was  rebuilt 
by  Wren,  after  the  Great  Fire  j  when  were  destroyed  the  first  Hall,  in  a  quadrant, 
given  by  Sir  John  Stodie,  vintner,  and  Lord  Mayor  in  1357  (Stow) ;  and  the  adjoining 
almshouses  devised  to  the  Company  by  Guy  Shuldham,  in  1446.  The  present  Hall 
has  been  refronted,  and  is  wainscoted  and  richly  carved.  In  the  Court-room  are  whole- 
length  portraits  of  Charles  II.,  James  II.  and  his  queen,  George  Prince  of  Denmark ; 
and  a  picture,  attributed  to  Vandyck,  of  St.  Martin  (tutelar  Saint  of  the  Company) 
dividing  his  cloak  with  the  beggar. 

*  In  Tronmonger-lane,  Cheapside,  the  trade  first  congregated ;  and  many  eminent  ironmongers  were 
buried  in  the  church  of  the  adjacent  parishes  of  St.  Olave,  Jewry,  and  St.  Martin,  Ironmonger-lane, 
strype  subsequently  speaks  of  the  removal  of  "the  ironmongers  of  Ironmonger-lane"  into  Thames- 
street,  where  the  iron-masters  have  extensive  wharfs. 


HALL—CLOTHWORKERS'.  409 

The  Vintners  were  incorporated  as  Wine-Tunners  by  Henry  VI.  in  1437;  Edward  III.  having  granted 
them,  in  1365,  a  charter  for  the  exclusive  importation  of  wines  from  Gascony :  the  freemen,  or  "  free 
vintners"  of  the  Company  have  the  privilege  of  retailing  wine  without  a  licence.  Stow  tells  us  the 
Vintners  were  of  old  called  "Marchants  Vintners  ofGascoyne,"  and  "great  Bourdeous  merchants  ofGas- 
coyne  and  French  wines."  In  the  reign  of  Edward  III.  Gascoyne  wines  were  sold  in  London  at  id., 
and  Rhenish  at  6</.,  the  gallon. 

The  Vintry,  which  gives  name  to  the  Ward,  was  part  of  the  north  hank  of  the 
Thames,  where  Vintners'  Hall  and  Qucen-street-place  are  now  built;  it  was  at  the 
south  end  of  Three  Cranes-lane,  so  called  from  the  implements  with  which  the  mer- 
chants "  craned  their  wines  out  of  lighters  and  other  vessels,"  and  landed  them  :  it  was 
so  magnificent  a  huilding,  that  Henry  Picard,  vintner  and  Mayor  in  1356,  entertained 
therein  the  kings  of  England,  Scotland,  France,  and  Cyprus,  in  1363.  After  the  Great 
Fire,  the  Vintners'  Almshouses  were  rebuilt  in  the  Mile-End-road.  This  Company, 
as  well  as  the  Dyers,  continues  to  keep  swans  on  the  Thames  (see  p.  415). 

12.  Clothworkers'  Hall  (which  just  escaped  destruction  by  the  Great  Fire),  on 
the  east  side  of  Mincing-lane,  Fenchurch -street,  was  an  edifice  of  red  brick,  adorned  with 
fluted  brick  pilasters.  The  Hall  was  richly  wainscoted,  and  had  life-sized  carved  figures 
of  James  I.  and  Charles  I.  In  the  windows  were  painted  arms  of  benefactors,  including 
Samuel  Pepys,  Master  of  the  Company  in  1677,  who  presented  them  with  a  silver 
election-cup  and  cover,  embossed  and  parcel-gilt ;  the  foot  inscribed  "  Samuel  Pepys, 
Adrniraliti  Anglia3  Secretes  et  Societ. :  Pannif :  Lond.  Mr.  (Master)  An.  1677." 

The  Clothworkers  were  originally  incorporated  by  Edward  IV.  in  1482  as  Shermen  (Shearers),  and 
were  united  with  the  Fullers  in  1528  by  Henry  VIII.,  the  conjoined  fraternity  being  then  named  Cloth- 
workers.  James  I.  incorporated  himself  into  the  Clothworkers,  "as  men  dealing  with  the  principal 
and  noblest  staple  wares  of  all  these  islands,  woollen  cloths."  Among  their  pageants  was  that  of  Sir 
John  Robinson,  Lord  Mayor  1662-63,  reviving  "  the  true  English  and  manlike  exercise  of  wrestling, 
archery,  sword,  and  dagger ;"  when  at  his  mayoralty  feast  in  Clothworkers'  Hall,  he  entertained  the 
Kiner,  Queen,  and  Queen-mother,  the  Duke  and  Duchess  of  York.  In  the  Great  Fire  "  strange,"  says 
Pepys,  "  it  is  to  see  Clothworkers'  Hall  on  fire  these  three  days  and  nights  in  one  body  of  flame,  it 
having  the  cellars  full  of  oyle."  The  Gazette  of  Sept.  8, 1666,  announces  the  Fire  to  have  stopped  near 
Clothworkers'  Hall.  The  list  of  the  Company's  Charities  is  remarkable  for  its  number  of  anniversary 
sermons  and  lectures,  and  for  its  bequests  for  blind  persons.  The  Clothworkers'  Almshouses  (now  at 
Islington)  were  originally  in  Whitefriars,  on  part  of  a  garden  belonging  to  Margaret  Countess  of  Kent, 
held  by  her  of  the  prior  of  that  friary. 

Howes  relates  that  James  I.,  being  in  the  open  Hall,  inquired  who  was  Master  of  the  Company ;  and 
the  Lord  Mayor  answering  "  Sir  William  Stone,"  to  him  the  King  said, "  Wilt  thou  make  me  free  of  the 
Clothworkers  ?"  "  Yea,"  quoth  the  Master,  "  and  think  myself  a  happy  man  that  I  live  to  see  this  day." 
Then  the  King  said,  "Stone,  give  me  thy  hand;  and  now  1  am  a Clothworker." 

Clothworkers'  Hall  has  been  rebuilt  upon  an  enlarged  plan,  Samuel  Angell,  archi- 
tect, and  was  completed  in  1860.  The  facade  is  of  Portland  stone,  and  the  style  florid 
Italian,  rich  in  ornamentation.  The  main  building  includes  a  grand  hall,  or  banquet- 
ing-room,  and  a  staircase-hall,  to  both  which  there  is  nothing  equal  in  effect  in  other 
City  Halls.  The  Livery  and  Court  drawing-rooms,  on  the  first  floor,  are  highly 
enriched.     The  banqueting-room  is  thus  described : — 

The  Great  Hall  is  80  feet  by  40  feet,  length  and  breadth,  and  40  feet  high  in  the  centre.  An  order  of 
Corinthian  three-quarter  columns,  with  polished  red  granite  shafts,  and  the  pedestals  and  podium  of 
coloured  marbles  and  granite,  surrounds  the  walls ;  the  intercolumns  being  filled  in  with  windows  on 
one  side,  and  arch-headed  recesses,  chiefly  for  mirrors,  on  the  other,  the  archi volts  springing  from  richly- 
ornamented  pilasters.  Two  recesses  at  the  principal  end  of  the  hall  contain  statues  of  honoured 
members  of  the  Company ;  and  the  centre  recess  behind  the  president's  chair  encloses  a  buffet  to  exhibit  the 
cup  of  Samuel  Pepys,  and  other  plate.  At  the  opposite  end  of  the  hall,  behind  the  columns,  is  a  gallery 
for  musicians,  appearing  as  three  separate  balconies,  in  the  intercolumns,  supported  by  ornamented 
shafts,  forming  a  framework  to  mirrors.  The  mirrors  can  be  raised  sufficiently  to  pass  in  what  is 
required  from  the  serving-rooms.  Above  the  entablature  of  the  order  is  a  series  of  lunettes  filled  with 
stained  glass ;  and  the  arches  over  these  groin  into  a  deep  cove  to  the  ceiling,  which  last  is  formed  in 
one  deep  panel,  divided  into  coffers  ornamented  with  rosettes.  The  whole  of  the  upper  part  of  the  Hall 
is  profusely  enriched.  The  spandrel  spaces  of  the  cove  have  alto-rilievos  personifying  the  principal  cities 
of  Great  Britain  and  Ireland :  on  the  soffits  of  the  arches,  over  the  lunettes  in  which  the  stained  glass 
displays  the  arms  of  the  Twelve  Companies,  are  the  names  in  each  case  of  a  founder  of  the  company  in  gilt 
letters  in  an  ornamented  panel ;  and  the  cove  is  separated  from  the  cornice  by  a  roll  moulding  enriched  with, 
fruit  and  flowers.  The  chandeliers  hang  from  the  points  of  the  groining  at  the  summit  of  the  cove.  The 
decorative  features  of  the  upper  part  of  the  staircase  are  clustered  Ionic  pilasters  and  archivolts  with 
enriched  mouldings,  and  the  architraves  and  cornices  of  the  doors,  which  open  on  to  the  landings.  The 
angles  of  the  square  plan,  pendentives,  or  spandrels,  joining  the  square  with  the  octagon,  are  orna- 
mented with  shields  and  branches  of  foliage.  The  octagon  dome,  27  feet  in  span,  starts  from  a  bold 
cornice  with  trusses ;  it  is  divided  into  variously-formed  compartments  by  enriched  bands,  all  the  prin- 
cipal compartments  being  glazed  with  ground  glass,  with  a  pattern  in  light  blue  thereon.  At  the  top  is 
a  small  open  lantern.  The  effect  of  the  dome,  with  the  method  of  lighting,  is  novel  and  good.  The 
doors  and  jambs  throughout  the  building  are  of  polished  wainscot.  The  architrave  mouldings  and 
cornices  are  of  painted  wood,  with  enrichments  in  carton-pierre.— Abridged  from  the  Builder,  1859. 


410  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Among  the  charities  of  the  Clothworkers  are  :  the  "  St.  Thomas's  Eve  gift,"  dis- 
tributed to  one  hundred  and  fifty  poor  freemen  and  widows,  who  are  yearly  clothed  by 
the  Company,  and  regaled  with  a  Christmas  dinner.  On  St.  Stephen's  Day,  is  dis- 
tributed the  gift  of  Kobert  Hitchin,  a  former  member  of  the  Court,  by  which  forty 
poor  men  and  women,  twelve  of  the  parish  of  St.  Giles's,  Cripplegate,  and  the  rest 
free  of  the  Company,  are  clothed  yearly.  On  St.  Luke's  Day,  the  Master  and  Wardens 
of  the  Company,  attended  by  twenty  aged  freemen,  clothed  at  the  expense  of  the 
Company,  agreeably  to  the  will  of  Sir  William  Lamb,  walk  in  procession  to  St. 
Michael's  church,  where  a  sermon  is  preached  suitable  to  the  occasion. 

HALLS  OF  THE  MINOR  CITY  COMPANIES. 

Of  the  sixty -nine  Minor  Companies,  nearly  half  possess  Halls.  Each  Company  has  its 
position  in  the  order  of  precedence,  commencing  with  the  Dyers'  and  ending  with 
the  Carmen ;  but  here  the  arrangement  is  alphabetical. 

Apothecaries'  Hall,  in  Water-lane,  Blackfriars,  at  the  east  end  of  Union-street, 
Bridge-street,  was  built  for  the  Company  of  Apothecaries,  in  1670.  Here  are  several 
portraits,  including  James  L,  Charles  I.,  William  and  Mary  j  and  a  bust  of  Gideon 
Delanne,  who  brought  about  the  separation  of  the  Company  from  the  Grocers'.  Ad- 
joining the  Hall  are  laboratories,  warehouses,  drug-mills,  and  a  retail  shop  for  the  sale  of 
medicines  to  the  public.     Here  are  prepared  medicines  for  the  army  and  navy. 

On  June  4,  1842,  Mr.  H.  Hennell,  the  principal  chemical  operator  to  the  Apothe- 
caries' Company,  met  a  terrible  death  in  the  laboratory-yard,  by  the  explosion  of  be- 
tween five  and  six  pounds  of  fulminating  mercury,  which  he  was  manufacturing  for  the 
East  India  Company. 

The  Apothecaries  rank  as  the  fifty -eighth  in  the  list  of  City  Companies.  Their  arms 
are  azure,  Apollo  in  his  glory,  holding  in  his  left  hand  a  bow,  and  in  his  right  an 
arrow,  bestriding  the  serpent  Python ;  supporters,  two  unicorns ;  crest,  a  rhinoceros, 
all  or ;  motto,  Opiferque  per  orbem  dicor. 

Armourers'  and  Braziers'  Hale,  Coleman-street,  is  a  modern  building,  with  a 
Doric  portico,  on  the  site  of  the  Armourers'  old  Hall  of  the  Company,  incorporated  in 
1422  by  Henry  VI.,  who  also  became  a  member.  They  forirerly  made  coats  of  mail ;  and 
made  and  presented  a  gilt  suit  of  armour  to  Charles  I.  when  Prince  of  Wales.  In  the 
banqueting-ball  is  Northcote's  picture  of  the  Entry  of  Richard  II.  and  BolingbroJce 
into  London,  purchased  by  the  Company  from  Boydell's  Shakespeare  Gallery  in  1825. 
The  Hall  is  characteristically  decorated  with  armour. 

The  Company  possess  ancient  Grants,  with  curious  seals,  some  dating  500  years  back.  Also  MS. 
Volume,  containing  the  marks  allowed  to  the  workmen  Armourers'  freemen  of  the  Company,  dated  1619; 
the  Richmond  Cup  and  Cover,  gilt,  about  1460,  an  invaluable  example  of  early  art ;  the  large  Mazer 
Bowl,  given  between  1460  and  1483,  by  Everard  Frere  (the  first  Master,  after  incorporation  of  the  Com- 
pany ;  an  Owl  Pot  of  stone,  with  silver  mountings,  temp.  15th  century ;  a  parcel-gilt  Pot,  1574 :  a  Salt 
and  Cover,  with  initials,  1604 — a  fine  specimen  of  early  plate ;  three  elegant  Wine  Cups;  a  unique  collec- 
tion of  ancient  Spoons,  ranging  from  1580  to  the  middle  of  the  17th  century.  Here  is  likewise  a 
collection  of  six  dozen  Apostles'  Spoons,  dating  from  1560  to  1630,  showing  the  changes  in  fashion ; 
also  the  Forbidden  Gauntlet  (of  great  rarity)  and  other  Cups. 

Bakers'  Hale,  No.  16,  Harp-lane,  Great  Tower-street,  is  on  the  site  of  the  ancient 
mansion  of  John  Chicheley,  Chamberlain  of  London,  and  nephew  of  Archbishop 
Chicheley.  Among  the  pictures  in  the  wainscoted  banqueting-hall  is  one  of  St. 
Clement,  patron  of  the  Company,  incorporated  by  Edward  II.  in  1307.  The  Hall  was 
last  repaired  by  James  Elmes,  who  wrote  the  Memoirs  of  Sir  Christopher  Wren. 

Barber-Surgeons'  Hall,  Monkwell-street,  has  its  semicircular  end  supported  on  a 
bastion  of  the  City  Wall,  and  was  built  a  few  years  after  the  Great  Fire,  which 
destroyed  the  original  Hall :  the  street  entrance  had  a  shell  canopy,  enriched  with  the 
Company's  arms,  and  festoons  of  fruits  and  flowers  :  this  picturesque  entrance  has  been 
removed.  The  Theatre  of  Anatomy,  built  by  Inigo  Jones,  in  1636,  escaped  the  Great 
Eire,  through  being  detached. 

The  room  contained  four  degrees  of  cedar  seats,  one  above  another,  in  elliptical  form,  adorned 


BALL— BARBER-SURGEONS?.  411 

with  figures  of  the  seven  Liberal  Sciences,  the  twelve  signs  of  the  Zodiac,  and  a  bust  of  King  Charles  I. 
The  roof  was  an  elliptical  cupola.  This,  as  Walpole  calls  it,  'one  of  the  best  of  Jones's  works,' was 
repaired  in  the  reign  of  George  I.  by  the  Earl  of  Burlington,  and  was  pulled  down  in  the  latter  end  of 
the  last  century,  and  sold  for  the  value  of  the  materials.  '  The  designe  of  the  Chirurgeous*  Theatre,* 
an  oval,  dated  1636,  is  preserved  in  the  portfolio  of  Jones's  drawings  at  Worcester  College,  Oxford."-* 
IAfe,  by  P.  Cunningham ;  printed  for  the  Shakspeare  Society. 

The  United  Company  of  barbers  and  surgeons  were  first  incorporated  by  Edward  IV.,  in  1461-2;  and 
it  would  even  seem  that,  of  the  two  professions,  that  of  barber  was,  at  this  period,  considered  the  most 
respectable ;  at,  least,  if  we  may  judge  from  their  adopting,  and  petitioning  to  be  distinguished  by, 
the  style  and  title  of  the  Mystery  of  Barbers.  The  barber-surgeons,  through  whose  immediate  in- 
fluence the  charter  was  obtained  from  the  king,  were  Thomas  Monestede,  sheriff  of  London  in  1436, 
and  chirurgeon  to  Kings  Henry  IV.,  V.,  and  VI.;  Jaques  Fries,  physician  to  Edward  IV.;  and 
William  Hobbs,  "physician  and  chirurgeon  for  the  same  king's  body." — Jesse's  London  and  it* 
Celebrities. 

In  1512,  an  Act  was  passed  to  prevent  any  besides  barbers  practising  surgery  within 
the  City  and  seven  miles  round,  excepting  such  as  were  examined  by  the  Bisbop  of 
London  or  Dean  of  St.  Paul's,  or  their  assistants.  In  1540  they  were  united  into  one 
corporate  body ;  but  all  persons  practising  shaving  were  forbidden  to  intermeddle  with 
surgery,  except  to  draw  teeth  and  let  blood ;  whence  Barber-Surgeons. 

The  Rev.  John  Ward,  vicar  of  Stratford-upon-Avon  1662  to  1681,  relates  that  when 
he  came  to  London,  he  lodged  at  the  Bell,  in  Aldersgate-street,  "  to  be  near  Barber- 
Chirurgeons'  Hall,"  then  the  only  place  in  the  metropolis  where  anatomical  lectures 
were  publicly  delivered. 

In  the  Court-room,  which  has  an  enriched  ceiling,  is  Holbein's  celebrated  picture  of  King  Henry 
"VIII.  presenting  the  Charter  to  the  Company.  This  painting  is  10  feet  6  inches  long  and  7  feet  high, 
contains  18  figures,  nearly  life-size,  and  represents  a  room  in  the  palace  hung  with  tapestry.  In  the 
centre,  on  a  throne,  sits  the  King,  seemingly  thrusting  the  Charter  into  the  hands  of  Master  Thomas 
Vicay,  who  receives  it  kneeling;  the  King's  costume  and  ornaments  are  as  fine  as  miniature-painting. 
Around  him  are  the  members  of  the  Court  kneeling:  Sir  John  Chambre,  in  a  cap  and  furred  gown; 
the  famous  Dr.  Butts,  whose  conduct  in  the  scene  in  the  play  of  Henry  VIII.  of  the  degradation  of 
Cranmer,  while  waiting  at  the  door  of  the  council-chamber,  is  so  well  drawn  by  Shakspeare.  All  the 
heads  are  finely  executed ;  the  flowered  and  embroidered  robes,  gold  chains,  jewels,  and  rings  of  the 
chirurgeons,  their  moustaches  and  beards,  are  most  carefully  painted.  Seven  of  the  figures  are  livery- 
men of  the  Company.  Every  part  of  the  picture  is  most  elaborately  and  delicately  finished ;  the  colour- 
ing is  chaste,  and  the  care  and  style  of  the  whole  admirable.  Pepys  tried,  after  the  Great  Fire,  to  buy 
this  picture,  "by  the  help  of  Mr.  Pierce  (a  surgeon),  for  a  little  money.  I  did  think,"  he  adds,  "to 
give  200Z.  for  it,  it  being  said  to  be  worth  KXXM.  i  but  it  is  so  spoiled  that  I  have  no  mind  to  it,  and  is 
not  a  pleasant  though  a  good  picture."— Diary,  29th  Aug.  1668. 

Next  is  a  whole-length  of  Sir  Charles  Scarborough,  by  Walker,  chief  physician  to  Charles  II., 
James  II.,  and  William  III. :  he  is  lecturing  in  the  doctor's  scarlet  cap,  hood,  and  gown ;  on  the  left 
is  the  demonstrating  surgeon,  Anthony  Bligh,  in  the  livery-gown,  holding  up  the  arm  of  a  dead  sub- 
ject, which  lies  on  a  table  partly  covered  with  a  sheet.  Next  are  portraits  of  Dr.  Arris  and  Dr.  Thomas 
Arris,  and  Dr.  Nehemiah  Grew.  Here,  too,  is  a  curious  portrait  of  Mr.  Lisle,  barber  to_  Charles  II. ; 
and  of  John  Paterson,  clerk  to  the  Company,  and  the  projector  of  several  improvements  in  the  City  of 
London  after  the  Great  Fire. — Abridgedfrom  the  Art-Union,  1839. 

Holbein's  picture  was  painted  in  the  32nd  of  Henry  VIIL,  when  were  united  the 
Barbers  and  Surgeons,  formerly  separate  companies,  which  they  again  became  in  1745  ; 
the  Surgeons  then  removed  to  their  Hall  in  the  Old  Bailey,  and  subsequently  into 
the  Royal  College  in  Lincoln's-inn-fields.  (See  Colleges,  p.  279.)  Holbein's  picture 
has  been  engraved  by  Baron,  and  the  minutes  of  the  Company  have  the  following  entry 
concerning  the  print : — 

"  27th  August,  1734. — Copper  plate  of  Holbein's  picture  ordered  of  Mr.  Baron,  for 
150  guineas, — 50  guineas  on  finishing  the  drawing,  50  guineas  on  delivery  of  the  plate, 
and  50  guineas  on  100  prints." 

As  an  evidence  of  the  estimation  in  which  the  picture  was  held  by  contemporaries, 

Mr.  Pettigrew  quotes  a  letter  from  King  James  to  the  Company  which  runs  thus  :— 

"James  R. — Trusty  and  wellbeloved,  we  greet  you  well.  Whereas  we  are  informed  of  a  table  of 
painting  in  your  Hall,  wherein  is  the  picture  of  our  predecessor  of  famous  memory,  King  Henry  VIIL, 
together  with  divers  of  your  Company,  which  being  very  like  him,  and  well  done,  we  are  desirous  to  have 
copied :  wherefore  our  pleasure  is  that  you  presently  deliver  it  unto  this  bearer,  our  wellbeloved  ser- 
vant Sir  Lionel  Cranfield  Knight,  one  of  our  masters  of  requests,  whom  we  have  commanded  to  receive 
it  of  you,  and  to  see  it  with  all  expedition  copied,  and  redelivered  safely ;  and  so  we  bid  you  farewell. — 
Given  at  our  court  at  Newmarket  the  13th  day  of  January,  1617." 

The  original  cartoons  from  which  this  picture  was  painted  are  in  existence.  The 
portraits  were  taken  on  four  portions  of  paper,  which  are  now  in  the  possession  of  the 
Royal  College  of  Surgeons,  and  have  been  put  together  and  made  to  form  a  picture. 

Among  the  Barber-Surgeons'  Plate  is :  1.  A  Silver-gilt  Cup,  given  by  Henry  VTII.  in  1540 :  it  is 
richly  embossed  with  the  rose,  fleur-de-lys,  and  portcullis,  and  lions'  masks,  in  the  style  of  Holbein 


412  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

from  the  bowl  hang  bells,  and  inside  are  the  Company's  arms.  2.  A  Silver  Cup,  with  Cover,  given  in 
1678  by  Charles  II.;  the  stem  and  bowl  an  oak-tree,  with  four  pendent  acorns,  and  the  lid  the  Royal 
crown ;  royal  badges,  the  Company's  arms,  &c.  3.  Two  Chapluts,  with  perforated  silver  oak-foliage 
borders,  the  Company's  arms,  &c;  besides  a  large  chased  silver  Punch-bowl,  presented  by  Queen 
Anne ;  several  tankards,  &c. 

Pepys  wrote  of  the  Silver-gilt  Cup,  1622-23 :— "  To  Chyrurgeons'  Hall,  where  we  had  a  fine  dinner 
and  good  learned  company,  many  doctors  of  physique,  and  we  used  with  extraordinary  great  respect. 
Among  other  observables,  we  drank  the  King's  health  out  of  a  gilt  cup  given  by  Henry  VIII.  to  this 
Company,  with  bells  hanging  at  it,  which  every  man  is  to  ring  by  shaking  after  he  hath  drank  up  the 
whole  cup."  The  Company  sold  this  cup  with  other  plate  in  the  17th  century  to  build  their  hall,  but, 
as  Mr.  Pettigrew  pointed  out,  it  was  purchased  by  Edward  Arris  (Master  of  the  Company  in  1651),  and 
presented  by  him  again  to  the  Company. 

The  Barber- Surgeons  are  exempt,  as  formerly,  from  serving  as  constables  or  on  the 
nightly  watch,  on  juries,  inquests,  attaints,  or  recognisances.  After  the  separation  of 
the  two  professions,  the  barbers  continued  to  let  blood  (whence  the  pole)  and  draw 
teeth  until  our  time :  the  latest  we  remember  of  this  class,  and  with  pain,  was  one 
Middleditch,  in  Great  Suffolk-street,  Southwark,  in  whose  window  were  displayed  heaps 
of  drawn  teeth. 

Blacksmiths'  Hall,  Lambeth-hill,  Doctors'  Commons,  is  now  let  as  a  warehouse ; 
the  Company's  business  being  transacted  at  Cutlers'  Hall. 

Bbewebs'  Hall,  No.  19,  Addle-street,  Wood-street,  Cheapside,  is  a  modern  edifice, 
and  contains  among  other  pictures  a  portrait  of  Dame  Alice  Owen,  who  narrowly 
escaped  braining  by  an  archer's  stray  arrow  from  Islington  Fields,  in  gratitude  for 
which  she  founded  a  hospital.  (See  Almshouses,  p.  8.)  In  the  Hall  windows  is 
some  old  painted  glass.  The  Brewers  were  incorporated  in  1438.  The  quarterage  in 
this  Company  is  paid  on  the  quantity  of  malt  consumed  by  its  members.  In  1851,  a 
handsome  schoolhouse  was  built  for  the  Company,  in  Trinity-square,  Tower-hill. 

In  1422,  Whittington  laid  an  information  before  his  successor  in  the  Mayoralty,  Robert  Childe, 
against  the  Brewers'  Company,  for  selling  dear  ale,  when  they  were  convicted  in  the  penalty  of  2QI. ; 
and  the  Masters  were  ordered  to  be  kept  in  prison  in  the  Chamberlain's  custody,  until  they  paid  it. 

Among  the  records  of  the  Brewers'  Company  is  one  relative  to  the  introduction  of  pewter  pots  as 
measures  for  ale,  and  the  "  sealing"  (or  stamping)  of  them  by  the  City  magistrates.  There  is  an  entry 
in  one  of  them  made  on  the  authority  of  Robert  Chicheley,  Mayor,  in  1423,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VI. : — 
"  That  retailers  of  ale  should  sell  the  same  in  their  houses  in  pots  of  peutre,  sealed  and  open ;  and  that 
whoever  carried  ale  to  the  purchaser  should  hold  the  pot  in  one  hand  and  a  cup  in  the  other,  and  that 
all  who  had  pots  unsealed  should  be  fined. 

Beicklayees'  Hall,  behind  No.  53,  Leadenhall-street,  is  now  let  as  a  Synagogue 
for  Dutch  Jews.  The  Tilers  and  Bricklayers  were  incorporated  by  Queen  Elizabeth, 
in  1568.  There  are  preserved  by  the  Company  two  chests  full  of  papers,  descriptive 
of  their  craft.  They  appear  to  have  been  at  various  periods  embroiled  with  the  Car- 
penters as  to  the  respective  merits  of  brick  and  timber  buildings. 

"  In  1647,  the  Carpenters  sent  a  remonstrance  to  the  Court  of  Aldermen  concerning  the  Bricklayers, 
and  in  1650  they  conveyed  '  their  reasons  that  tymber  buildings  were  more  commodious  for  this  citie 
than  brick  buildings  were.'  In  the  following  year,  on  18th  of  February,  they  spent  2«.  9<J.  at  the  Three 
Tuns  in  Gratious-street,  with  the  Masters  and  Wardens  of  the  Bricklayers'  Company,  to  settle  some 
of  their  differences.  After  the  Great  Fire,  instead  of  further  squabbling,  the  two  Companies  united 
against "  fforreyne  "  workmen  being  allowed  to  work  in  the  City  as  masters :  all  who  were  not  freemen 
were  "  fforreyners."  By  an  Act  of  the  Common  Council,  in  Nov.  1667,  the  Bricklayers'  Company  (as 
well  as  others)  were  bound  to  elect  yearly  a  certain  number  of  men  to  be  ready  on  all  occasions  of  fire 
to  attend  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Sheriffs  for  quenching  the  same. 

_"  In  the  earliest  minute-book,  1580,  nearly  all  the  members  of  the  Court  made  their  'mark,'  instead  of 
writing  their  name ;  and  these  marks  are  not  simply  a  cross  or  an  initial,  but  are  similar  to  those  to  be 
seen  on  the  face  of  stones  in  old  buildings  in  England,  France,  Germany,  and  Belgium.  One  Order, 
passed  on  St.  Lawrence's  day,  1591,  decrees  'that  noe  man  shall  reveale  words  spoken  in  the  house.' 
In  the  charter  and  oaths,  dated  1684,  it  is  ordered  that  no  person  shall  be  a  liveryman  who  holds  not 
communion  with  the  Church  of  England,  or  who  '  frequents  conventicles  or  any  other  unlawful  meet- 
ings !'  There  is  one  deed  addressed  to  Sir  Nicholas  Bacon  and  others,  containing  stipulations  as  to 
the  trade,  which  gives  them  the  right  of  claiming  a  farthing  per  thousand  on  all  bricks  made  within 
a  certain  distance.  In  the  reign  of  George  I.  (1723)  power  was  given  to  the  company  to  fine  those  who 
made  bricks  or  tiles  of  bad  earth.  In  one  of  the  chests  there  is  the  early  French  edition  of  Serlio, 
1551,  and  a  black-letter  Bible  and  chain.— Note,  in  Builder,  No.  595. 

Btttchees'  Hall,  Pudding-lane,  Eastcheap,  was  rebuilt  after  a  fire  in  1829,  which 
destroyed  the  old  Hall.  The  Butchers  were  fined  by  Henry  II.,  in  1180,  for  setting 
up  an  unlicensed  guild;  but  they  were  not  incorporated  till  1605,  by  James  I. 

Caepentees'  Hall,  on  the  southern  side  of  Loudon  Wall,  is  one  of  the  few  City 


HALL— CARPENTERS'.  413 

Halls  which  escaped  the  Great  Fire,  which  surrounded  it.*  The  Hall  was  originally 
built  in  1429 :  the  walls  of  old  London  faced  it,  and  beyond  were  Moorfields,  Finsbury, 
and  open  ground.  The  exterior  possesses  no  traces  of  antiquity.  The  Court-rooms 
were  built  in  1664,  and  the  principal  staircase  and  entrance-hall  by  W.  Jupp  about 
1780 :  the  latter  is  richly  decorated  with  bas-reliefs  of  carpentry  figures  and  imple- 
ments ;  with  heads  of  Vitruvius,  Palladio,  Inigo  Jones,  and  Wren,  designed  by  Bacon ; 
and  the  street  archway  has  also  a  fine  bust  of  Inigo  Jones,  by  Bacon. 

The  Great  Hall  has  a  rich  and  beautiful  ceiling,  put  up  in  1716,  the  supporting 
pillars  springing  irom  the  corbels  of  the  old  arched  timber  roof.  On  the  western  side, 
surmounted  by  an  embattled  oak  beam,  is  a  series  of  four  fresco  paintings,  which  were 
discovered  in  1815  by  a  workman  in  repairing  the  Hall.  The  subjects  are  divided  by 
columns  painted  in  distemper  :  the  groundwork  is  laths,  with  a  thick  layer  of  brown 
earth  and  clay  held  together  with  straw,  and  a  layer  of  lime,  upon  which  the  paintings 
are  executed. 

The  subjects  are:  1.  Noah  receiving  the  commands  from  the  Almighty  for  the  construction  of  the 
Ark ;  in  another  portion  of  the  picture  are  Noah's  three  sons  at  work.  2.  King  Josiah  ordering  the 
repair  of  the  Temple.  (2  Kings  chap,  xxii.,  mentioning  carpenters  and  builders  and  masons  as  having 
no  reckoning  of  money  made  with  them,  "  because  they  dealt  faithfully.")  3.  Joseph  at  work  as  a  car- 
penter, the  Saviour  as  a  boy  gathering  the  chips ;  Mary  spinning  with  the  distaff:t  the  figure  of  Joseph 
represents  that  in  Albert  Durer's  woodcut  of  the  same  incident,  executed  in  1511.  4.  Christ  teaching  in 
the  Synagogue :  "  Is  not  this  the  carpenter's  son  ?"  Each  painting  has  a  black-letter  inscrij  tion,  more  or 
less  perfect.  The  figures  are  of  the  school  of  Holbein ;  the  costumes  are  temp.  Henry  VIII.  Above  the 
pictures  in  the  spandrel  of  the  arch,  are  painted  the  Company's  arms,  and  "  shreeves"  and  "  Kobard"  of  an 
inscription  remain,  intimating  it  to  commemorate  the  benefit  of  some  sheriffs.  The  southern  wall  has 
some  decorative  Elizabethan  work.  The  eastern  window  has  carved  oak  mullions  and  Renaissance  bases, 
and  has  some  armorial  painted  glass,  date  1596.  There  are  a  few  carved  wooden  panels,  besides  the  series 
of  corbels,  some  of  good  workmanship. — F.  W.  Fairholt,  F.8.A. 

The  east  window  is  painted  with  the  Royal  arms ;  the  City  arms,  1586 ;  and  the  names 
of  the  Masters  and  Wardens  of  the  Company,  from  1627  to  1684. 

After  the  Great  Fire,  the  Hall  was  let  to  the  Drapers',  Goldsmiths',  Felt-makers'", 
and  Weavers'  Companies ;  and  next,  the  Lord  Mayors,  Sir  W.  Bolton,  Sir  W.  Peeke, 
Sir  W.  Turner,  and  Sir  S.  Sterling,  rented  the  Hall  during  their  mayoralties. 

The  books  of  the  Company  contain  many  entries  connected  with  the  impressment  of 
workmen  for  the  service  of  the  Crown.  Amongst  the  latest  instances  is  this  : — "  1668, 
22nd  July — Spent  with  Sir  John  Deuham,  the  King's  surveyor,  and  others,  about  the 
twelve  carpenters  charged  to  be  impressed  for  the  King's  work  at  Whitehall,  35*.  6d." 

The  Carpenters'  Company's  earliest  charter  is  dated  1174;  their  common  seal  and 
grant  of  arms  1466;  but  a  guild  of  carpentry  is  noticed  in  1421-2.  The  earliest 
entry  in  the  Company's  books  is  dated  1438 :  they  contain  many  proofs  of  their  power 
over  the  trade.  Among  the  pictures  are  portraits  of  William  Portington,  master  car- 
penter to  the  Crown  temp.  Elizabeth  and  James  I. ;  and  John  Scott,  ordnance  carpen- 
ter and  carriage-maker  temp.  Charles  II.  The  company  also  possess  four  very  curious 
caps  or  crowns  (the  oldest  1561),  still  used  by  the  Master  and  Wardens.  Among  their 
plate  are  three  silver-gilt  hanaps  (1611,  12,  28),  which  are  borne  in  procession  round 
the  Hall  on  Election-day.  Cakes  are  presented  to  the  members  of  the  Court  on 
Twelfth  Day,  and  ribbon-money  to  them  on  Lord  Mayor's  Day.  (See  An  Historical 
Account  of  the  Company,  by  E.  Basill  Jupp,  Clerk.     1849.) 

The  custom  of  crowning  the  new  Master  and  Wardens  still  exists  in  the  Company, 
and  the  crowns  or  garlands  used  for  the  purpose  are  the  same  which  were  in  their 
possession  nearly  three  centuries  ago.  It  was  customary  at  one  time  for  the  Company 
to  invite  certain  official  personages  to  the  entertainment  on  the  election  day.  The 
King's  Carpenter  was  a  constant  guest  on  that  occasion  and  on  others.  The  King's 
Surveyor  also  frequently  honoured  the  Company  with  his  presence,  and  in  this  capacity 
the  books  show  that  Sir  Christopher  Wren  received  an  invitation  to  dinner  together 
with  his  wife. 

*  Carpenters'  Hall  was  also  nearly  destroyed  in  a  great  fire,  Oct.  6,  1849,  when  the  end  walls  and 
windows  were  burned  out,  and  the  staircase  and  roof  much  damaged ;  while  the  burning  building  was 
only  separated  from  Drapers'  Hall  by  the  garden  and  forecourt. 

t  Nash,  the  Elizabethan  satirist,  mentions  the  chips  "  which  Christ  in  Carpenters'  Hall  is  paynted 
gathering  up,  as  Joseph  his  father  strewes,  having  a  piece  of  timber,  and  Mary  bis  mother  sitts  spin- 
ning by." 


414  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Among  the  Curiosities  possessed  by  the  Carpenters  are : — Grant  of  Arms  to  the  Company,  by  William 
Hawkeslowe,  Clarencieux,  dated  Nov.  24,  6  Edward  IV.  Book  of  Ordinances,  16th  century ;  containing, 
also,  the  marks  or  devices  used  by  the  various  Masters  and  Wardens  of  the  Company.  The  Crowns  of 
the  Master  and  three  Wardens  (date  1661).  The  Master's  cap  is  of  crimson  silk,  embroidered  with 
gold  and  silver  lace.  On  it  are  represented,  in  silver  shields,  the  arms  of  the  City  of  London  (with 
date  1561)  and  the  Carpenters'  Company,  enamelled  in  proper  colours ;  the  Merchants'  mark,  and 
initials  of  John  Tryll,  Master  in  1561,  are  also  on  the  cap.  The  Crowns  of  the  Three  Wardens  are 
very  similar  to  the  Master's,  and  are  of  the  same  date.  Three  Wardens'  Cups,  of  similar  design ; 
these  cups  show  the  change  in  covers  to  plate  drinking  vessels,  being  no  longer  essential  as  a  means 
for  avoiding  poison.  The  Masters'  Cup  (date  1611),  is  silver-gilt,  and  of  elegant  workmanship  and 
design.  The  Beadle's  Staff,  which  is  said  to  be  the  handsomest  possessed  by  any  of  the  City  companies, 
is  of  silver,  and  consists  of  a  square  pillar  and  four  shields,  with  the  Company's  arms  and  motto  ;  it 
is  dated  1 725.  Here  also  is  a  Possett  or  Caudle  Cup,  supposed  to  have  been  used  in  the  families  of 
the  Company  on  interesting  occasions. 

Coachmakebs'  Hall,  Noble-street,  Foster-lane,  was  originally  bnilfc  for  the 
Scriveners'  Company,  who,  falling  into  poverty,  sold  it  to  the  Coachmakers,  originally 
incorporated  by  Charles  II.,  in  1669,  as  the  Coach  and  Coach-Harness  Makers.  The 
Company  hold  Industrial  Exhibitions  to  encourage  the  workmen  in  the  almost  endless 
branches  of  the  coach  trade  to  exhibit  the  best  specimens  of  manufacturing  skill,  the 
best  working  drawings  of  the  vehicles  now  most  in  vogue,  and  the  best  designs  for 
improving  their  general  convenience  and  simplifying  their  mechanical  contrivances. 

Coachmakers'  Hall  was  noted  in  the  last  century  as  the  resort  of  "  a  kind  of  religious  Robin  Hood 
Society,  which  met  every  Sunday  evening  for  free  debate."  (Boswell's  Johnson.)  But  the  most 
memorable  meeting  ever  held  in  the  Hall  was  on  May  27,  1780,  when  the  whole  body  of  the  Protestant 
Association,  by  formal  resolution,  undertook  to  attend  in  St.  George's  Fields,  on  June  2nd,  to  accom- 
pany Lord  George  Gordon  to  the  House  of  Commons  on  the  delivery  of  the  Protestant  petition."  The 
association  accordingly  met;  the  result  was  "the  Riots  of  1780,"  and  a  week's  defiance  of  all  govern- 
ment. The  flowers  of  rhetoric,  however,  continued  long  to  bloom  in  Coachmakers'  Hall.  John 
Britton,  in  his  early  days  (1798),  joined  a  debating  society  held  here. 

Coopers'  Hall,  Basinghall-street,  was  handsomely  built,  and  had  a  large  wains- 
coted banqueting-room.  The  Coopers'  Company  was  incorporated  by  Henry  VII.  in 
1501 ;  and  Henry  VIII.  empowered  them  to  search  and  gauge  beer,  ale,  and  soap 
vessels  in  the  City  and  two  miles  round,  at  a  farthing  for  each  cask.  At  Coopers' 
Hall  were  formerly  drawn  State  Lotteries;  the  drawing  of  the  last  Lottery,  on 
October  18,  1826,  is  described  in  Hone's  Every-day  Book,  vol.  ii.  Coopers'  Hall  was 
taken  down  in  1866  for  the  enlargement  of  the  site  for  the  Guildhall  offices. 

Coedwainees'  Hall,  Great  DistafF-lane,  Friday-street,  is  the  third  of  the  same 
Company's  halls  on  this  site,  and  was  built  in  1788  by  Sylvanus  Hall :  the  stone  front, 
by  Adam,  has  a  sculptured  medallion  of  a  country  girl  spinning  with  a  distaff,  emble- 
matic of  the  name  of  the  lane,  and  of  the  thread  of  cordwainers  or  shoemakers ;  in 
the  pediment  are  their  arms.  In  the  hall  are  portraits  of  King  William  and  Queen 
Mary ;  and  here  is  a  sepulchral  urn  and  tablet,  by  Nollekens,  to  John  Came,  a  munifi- 
cent benefactor  to  the  Company. 

The  Cordwainers  were  originally  incorporated  by  Henry  IV.  in  1410,  as  the  "  Cordwainers  and  Cob- 
blers," the  latter  then  signifying  dealers  in  shoes  and  shoemakers.  In  the  reign  of  Richard  II., 
"  every  cordwainer  that  shod  any  man  or  woman  on  the  Sunday,  to  pay  thirtie  shillings."  Among  the 
Company's  plate  is  a  piece  for  which  Camden  the  antiquary  left  162.  Their  charities  include  Came's 
bequests  for  blind,  deaf,  and  dumb  persons,  and  •clergymen's  widows,  lOtXM.  yearly ;  and,  in  1662,  the 
Bell  Inn  at  Edmonton  was  bequeathed  for  poor  freemen  of  the  Company. 

The  Cordwainers  possess  some  curious  old  plate,  and  a  charter,  in  which  the  name  of  Shakspeare, 
as  a  party  interested,  occurs. 

Cuebiebs'  Hall,  London  Wall,  was  originally  built  in  1670 :  the  banqueting-room 
had  a  Corinthian  wainscot  screen,  with  carvings,  and  paintings  of  Plenty,  Justice,  and 
Temperance.  Here  Calamy's  son,  in  the  reign  of  Charles  I.,  preached  every  Sunday, 
to  a  little  flock  of  Dissenters.  This  Hall,  which  stood  among  goodly  trees,  was  taken 
down  in  1820,  and  a  smaller  edifice  erected  upon  part  of  the  site,  the  remainder  being 
covered  with  private  dwellings.  The  Curriers  serve  their  wine  after  dinner  in  mag- 
nums, upon  carved  vine-leaf  stands ;  and  the  toasts  are  preceded  by  a  prolonged  whistle 
on  a  small  instrument,  not  emitting  more  than  one  note.  The  Curriers  combined  as  a 
Guild  so  early  as  1363.     Sir  Matthew  Wood,  twice  Lord  Mayor,  was  of  this  Company. 

Cutlers'  Hall  is  in  Cloak-lane,  Dowgate-hill.  The  Cutlers  maintained  a  dispute 
with  the  Goldsmiths  before  Parliament  in  1405.  They  were  originally  forgers  of 
blades,  or  bladers,  makers  of  hafts,  and  sheath-makers,  united  as  cutlers  by  Henry  IV. 
in  1425.     In  the  Hall  is  a  portrait  of  Mrs.  Craythorne,  who,  in  1568,  bequeathed  the 


HALLS— DYERS',  FOUNDERS',   GIRDLERS',  JOINERS'.     415 

Belle  Sauvage  Inn,  on  Ludgate-hill,  to  the  Cutlers,  for  charitable  purposes.  Here  an 
old  house  bears  the  Company's  crest,  sculptured  in  stone,  and  placed  within  a  niche — 
an  elephant  bearing  a  castle  on  its  back.  Cutlers'  Hall  was  taken  down  in  1854,  and 
rebuilt. 

Dyers'  Hall,  College-street,  Upper  Thames-street,  was  built  about  1776,  and  re- 
built 1857.  The  Dyers  were  incorporated  in  1472 ;  their  ancient  Hall,  in  Upper  Thames- 
street  (upon  the  site  of  Dyers'  Hall  Wharf),  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire. 

The  Dyers  and  Vintners  are  the  only  Companies  who  have  the  privilege  of  keeping  Swan*  on  the 
Thames:  to  catch  and  take  up  which,  "Swan-voyages,"  termed  Swan-upping,  are  made  in  August, 
when  the  cygnets  are  marked,  and  the  marks  on  the  old  bird  renewed.  The  marks  are  cut  upon  the 
tipper  mandible,  in  the  presence  of  the  Royal  Swanherd.  Thus,  the  swan-mark  of  the  Vintners'  is  two 
nicks,  probably  intended  for  a  demi-lozenge  on  each  side,  and  V  for  a  chevron  reversed.  Besides  being 
heraldic,  that  these  swan-marks  have  the  initial  of  the  word  "  Vintner"  and  form  also  the  Roman 
numeral  V,  is  supported  by  one  of  the  regular  stand-up  toasts  of  the  day  being,  "  The  Worshipful 
Company  of  Vintners, with  Five!"  The  swans  are  not  so  numerous  as  formerly;  atone  period  the 
Vintners  alone  possessed  500  birds;  the  male  is  called  a  Cob,  the  female  a  Flu.  (A.  J.  Kempe,  F.S.A.) 
The  swanherds  wear  swan-feathers  in  their  caps,  and  the  tipping*  are  still  held ;  they  were  formerly 
made  by  the  Companies  in  their  state-barges,  with  much  festivity. 

Embroiderers'  Hall,  Gutter-lane,  Cheapside.     Company^incorporated  in  1561. 

Founders'  Hall,  Founders'-court,  Lothbury,  is  now  a  Dissenters'  meeting-house, 
Stow  tells  us  that  "  Lothburne,  Lathberrie,  or  Loadberrie,  is  possessed  for  the  most 
part  by  founders,  that  cast  candlesticks,  chafing-dishes,  spice  mortars,  and  such  like 
copper  and  laten  works,  and  do  afterwards  turn  them  with  the  foot  and  not  with  the 
wheel,  to  make  them  smooth  and  bright  with  turning  and  scrating  (as  some  do  term 
it),  making  a  loathsome  noise  to  the  by-passers,  that  have  not  been  used  to  the  like, 
and  therefore  by  them  disdainfully  called  Loth-berie."  The  Company  of  Founders 
was  incorporated  by  letters  patent  of  the  12th  of  King  James  I.,  a.d.  1614.  *  All 
makers  of  brass  weights  are  to  have  each  weight  marked  by  the  Company's  standard, 
and  such  of  these  weights  as  are  of  avoirdupois  weight  to  be  sealed  at  the  Guildhall  of 
this  City,  and  those  of  troy  weight  at  Goldsmiths'  Hall."  Chamberlain  (1770)  says,  "  Ifc 
is  not  only  used  for  transacting  the  business  of  the  Company,  but  likewise  let  out  to  a 
congregation  of  Scotch  Kirk,  of  which  denomination  there  is  but  one  other  in  England." 
Founders'  Hall  was,  in  1792,  nicknamed  "  the  cauldron  of  sedition."  Here  Waithman 
made  his  first  political  speech,  and,  with  his  fellow-orators,  was  routed  by  constables  sent 
by  the  Lord  Mayor,  Sir  James  Sanderson,  to  disperse  the  meeting.  The  Company's 
motto  is  "  God  the  only  Founder."  They  possess  a  beautiful  glass  cup  on  a 
silver-gilt  stem,  taken  at  the  siege  of  Boulogne,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.,  and  be- 
queathed to  the  Company  by  Richard  Wesley,  Master  in  1631. 

Girdlers'  Hall,  No.  39,  Basinghall-street,  was  rebuilt  after  the  Great  Fire,  on  the 
site  of  the  Company's  ancient  Hall.  The  Girdlers'  or  Girdle-makers'  Company  was 
incorporated  by  Henry  VI.  in  1449,  confirmed  by  Elizabeth,  in  1658,  and  then  united 
with  the  Pinners  and  Wire-drawers.  The  gridiron  or  girdle-iron  in  their  arms  is 
thought  to  be  a  rebus  on  the  Company's  name.  (See  Thoms's  Stow,  p.  107.)  The 
Company  possess  a  document,  dated  1464,  by  which  Edward  IV.  confirmed  the  privi- 
leges granted  to  them  by  Richard  II.  and  Edward  III.,  among  which  was  the  follow- 
ing : — In  the  girdles  then  worn,  silver  and  copper  were  used  in  their  fabrication  and 
embroidery,  and  power  was  given  to  the  Company  to  seize  all  girdles  found  within  the 
City  walls  with  spurious  metals.  At  the  annual  Election,  the  Clerk  of  the  Company 
crowns  the  Master  with  a  crown  embroidered  in  gold  on  silk  with  the  Girdlers'  devices  ; 
and  the  Masters  with  three  ancient  caps;  whereupon  they  pledge  their  subjects  in  a 
loving  cup  of  Rhenish  wine — a  picturesque  ancient  ceremonial. 

Innholders'  Hall,  College-street,  Upper  Thames-street,  was  rebuilt  after  the 
Great  Fire :  the  Company  incorporated  1515. 

Joiners'  Hall,  between  Nos.  79  and  80,  Upper  Thames-street,  has  entrance  gate- 
way piers  of  good  workmanship,  with  leaden  statues  of  river  gods  on  them.  There  is 
also  a  handsome  cornice,  with  neat  window  frames  and  pediment  enriched  ;  while  the 
Company's  crest  (a  demi-savage,  life-size,  wreathed  about  the  head  and  waist  with  oak- 
leaves)  surmounts  the  entrance  to  the  Hall.     In  1771,  the  building  was  described  as 


416  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

"remarkably  curious,  for  a  magnificent  screen  at  the  entering  into  the  hall-room 
having  demi-savages,  and  a  variety  of  other  enrichments  carved  in  the  right  wainscot. 
The  great  parlour  is  wainscoted  with  cedar."  It  is  recorded  that,  in  1827,  "the 
Joiners'  Company  have  a  capital  painting  over  the  chimney  of  their  Court  of  Assistants' 
parlour,  of  a  former  court  of  assistants,  small  whole-lengths." 

Leatheesellees'  Hall,  St.  Helen's-place.  Bishopsgate-street,  was  rebuilt  about 
1815,  upon  the  site  of  the  Company's  old  Hall,  a  portion  of  the  hall  of  St.  Helen's 
Priory,  taken  down  in  1799;  it  was  wainscoted,  had  a  curiously -carved  Elizabethan 
screen,  and  an  enriched  ceiling  with  pendants.  Beneath  the  present  Hall  is  the  priory 
crypt.  (See  p.  303.)  In  the  Hall  yard  is  a  pump  sculptured  by  Caius  Gabriel 
Cibber  in  1679,  in  payment  to  the  Company  of  his  livery  fine  of  25Z. :  the  design,  a 
mermaid  pressing  her  breasts,  is  very  characteristic.  The  crypt,  kitchen,  and  pump, 
are  engraved  by  J.  T.  Smith.  The  Leathersellers  were  incorporated  by  Richard  II.  in 
1442 ;  and  by  a  grant  from  Henry  VII.,  the  Wardens  were  empowered  to  inspect  sheep, 
lamb,  and  calf-leather  throughout  the  kingdom. 

Masojts'  Hall  is  in  Masons'-alley,  between  Basinghall-street  and  Coleman-street. 
The  Masons,  with  whom  are  united  the  Marblers,  were  incorporated  about  1410  as  "  the 
Free  Masons,"  and  received  their  arms  in  1474;  incorporated  1677., 

Painteb-stainees'  Hall,  Little  Trinity-lane,  Upper  Thames-street,  occupies  the 
site  of  the  old  Hall,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire.  The  Painters,  otherwise  Painter- 
stainers'  Company,  had  its  origin  in  a  fraternity  of  artists  formed  in  the  reign  of 
Edward  III.,  and  styled  a  company,  though  not  then  incorporated.  They  called  them- 
selves Fumter-stainers,  from  their  chief  employment,  which,  in  the  words  of  Pennant, 
was  "  the  staining  or  painting  of  glass,  illuminating  missals,  or  painting  of  portatif  or 
other  altars,  and  now  and  then  a  portrait ;  witness  that  of  Richard  II.,  and  the  por- 
traits of  the  great  John  Talbot  and  his  wife,  preserved  at  Castle  Ashby."  In  the  year 
1575,  continues  Pennant,  "they  found  that  plaisterers,  and  all  sorts  of  unskilful 
persons,  intermeddled  in  their  business,  and  brought  their  art  into  disrepute  by  the 
badness  and  slightness  of  their  work."  They,  therefore,  determined  "to  keep  their 
mystery  pure  from  all  pretenders,"  and  were  incorporated  by  Queen  Elizabeth  in  1582, 
but  existed  long  before  as  a  guild.  Hatton  describes  them  as  Face-Painters,  History- 
Painters,  Arms- Painters,  and  House -Painters,  and  of  the  panels  of  the  wainscot  and 
ceiling  of  their  Hall,  as  "  imbellished  with  great  variety  of  History  and  other  Painture 
exquisitely  performed,"  &c.  Stow,  writing  before  the  Great  Fire,  identifies  them  on 
their  present  site  of  habitation,  or  in  1598,  saying, — "  In  Trinity-lane,  on  the  west  side 
thereof,  is  the  Painter-stainers'  Hall,  for  so,  of  old  time,  were  they  called,  but  now  that 
workmanship  of  staining  is  departed  out  of  use  in  England." 

In  Painters'  Hall  the  Relief  Commission  of  the  Plague  met,  in  the  days  of  Charles  II.,  recorded  in 
John  Evelyn's  Diary,  under  dates  Nov.  16,  1664,  and  July  3,  1665 ;  while  on  July  4,  in  the  latter  year, 
he  says  he  went  to  the  Lord  Chancellor  "  to  desire  ye  use  of  ye  Star  Chamber  for  our  Commissioners  to 
meete  in,  Painters'  Hall  not  being  so  convenient."  Evelyn's  letter  to  Sir  Thomas  Clifford  is  dated 
•'Paynters'  Hall,  Lond.,  16  June,  1665." 

Among  their  minutes  are  orders  to  compel  foreign  painters  resident  in  London  to  pay 
fines  for  practising  their  art  without  being  free  of  the  Painter-stainers'  Company.  Inigo 
Jones  and  Vandyck  were  asked  together  to  their  dinners,  as  appears  by  an  entry  in  the 
Company's  books.  (Life,  by  P.  Cunningham :  Shakspeare  Society.)  Camden,  whose  father 
was  a  Painter-stainer  in  the  Old  Bailey,  bequeathed  the  Company  16£.  to  buy  a  silver  cup, 
to  be  inscribed :  "  Gul.  Camdenus,  Clarencieux,  filius  Sampsonis,  Pictoris  Londinensis, 
dono  dedit ; "  which  cup  is  used  at  every  Election-feast  on  St.  Luke's  day.  Verrio  and 
Sir  Godfrey  Kneller  belonged  to  the  Company,  as  did  Sir  James  Thornhill,  Sir  Joshua 
Reynolds ;  and  Charles  Catton  was  master  of  the  Painter-stainers'  Company  in  1784;  he 
was  known  for  his  heraldic  painting,  more  especially  for  his  emblazonment  of  the  Lord 
Mayor's  state  coach. 

Amongst  the  Company's  pictures  are — St.  Luke  writing  his  Gospel,  by  Van  Somer;  Reason  governing 
Strength,  C.  Catton,  E.  A. ;  Landscape  by  Lambert,  with  figures  by  Hogarth ;  Queen  Anne  (medallion),  by 
Peilot ;  the  Fire  of  Loudon,  by  Waggoner ;  Charles  I.,  copied  from  Vandyke,  by  Stone ;  Charles  II.  and  his 
Queen,  by  Huysman ;  Queen  Anne,  by  Dahl ;  William  III.,  by  Kneller ;  Camden,  in  his  tabard,  as  Claren- 
cieux. Architecture  by  Trivett,  or  Trevit,  Master  in  1713 ;  and  some  works  of  Hondius,  Baptist,  Sebas- 
tian Eicei,  Smirke,  E.A.,  Houseman,  Hals,  and  others.    There  is  a  portrait  of  Camden  in  the  Hall,  from 


HALL— PARISH  CLERKS'.  417 

which  an  enamel  was  copied  by  the  late  H.  Bone,  B.A.,  for  his  Elizabeth  Gallery.  A  card  of  invitation 
to  "  accompany  the  Society  of  Painters,  at  St.  Luke's  Feast,  kept  on  Thursday,  ye  24th  November,  16S7, 
at  12  of  the  clock,  in  Paynter  Stayners'  Hall,  where  you  shall  be  entertained  by  us,"  and  signed  "  An- 
thony Verrio,  Nicholas  Shepherd,  Godfrey  Kneller,"  and  "  Ed.  Polehampton,  Stewards,"  was  designed 
by  Sir  Godfrey  Kneller;  and  of  this  an  engraving  is  in  the  Hall.  The  Painters' Company  gave  the  first 
idea  for  a  Royal  Academy,  and  in  the  present  century  they  have  set  the  laudable  example  of  reviving  the 
"  art  and  mystery,"  so  long  laid  aside  by  the  other  City  guilds.  In  I860,  they  gave  the  first  of  a  series 
of  annual  exhibitions  of  Works  of  Decorative  Art,  by  bestowing  prizes  on  skilful  artisans. 

The  Charities  of  the  Company  are  chiefly  to  the  blind ;  amongst  them  is  Mr.  John  Stock's  "  Charity  of 
Poor  Lame  Painters,  more  or  less  incapacitated  from  illness  arising  from  the  injurious  effects  of  Painters' 
colours,  who  receive  pensions  of  lOi.  per  annum."  The  Company  also  assist  diseased  and  paralysed 
Painters  in  going  to  Bath  to  drink  the  waters. 

Parish-clerks'  Hall,  No.  24,  Silver-street,  Wood-street,  is  the  third  hall  of  the 
Company.  In  the  seventeenth  year  of  Henry  III.,  a.d.  1233,  the  Parish  Clerks 
became  an  incorporated  guild  as  "  The  Fraternity  of  St.  Nicholas,"  and  "  so  excelled 
in  church  music,  that  ladies  and  men  of  quality  on  this  account  became  members." 
In  1391,  the  Parish  Clerks  performed  miracle  plays  at  Skinners'  Well.  Henry  VI. 
was  the  head  of  the  Parish  Clerks'  patrons,  as  appears  by  a  MS.  vellum  roll  in  their 
possession,  dating  from  1410  to  1525.  From  this  MS.  there  was  one  leaf  missing, 
which  has  fortunately  been  recovered :  it  contains  about  400  names,  and  has  an  illumi- 
nated initial ;  date  of  first  entry  1523. 

The  Camden  Society  have  published  the  curious  Diary  of  Henry  Macliin,  who 
appears  to  have  been  in  that  department  of  the  trade  of  a  Merchant-Tailor,  which 
we  should  now  call  an  undertaker  or  furnisher  of  funerals.  The  banners,  &c,  which 
he  provided  were  probably  painted  by  men  who  worked  as  his  journeymen. 

Under  date  1555,  there  is  a  curious  entry : — "  The  xxvij.  day  of  May  was  the  clarke's  prossessyon  from 
Yerdhall  College,  and  ther  was  a  goodly  masse  be  hard,  evere  clarke  having  a  cope  and  a  garlande 
with  C  stremers  borne  and  the  whettes  playinge  rounde  Chepe,  and  60  to  Ledynhall  unto  St.  Albro* 
(Ethelburga),  churche,  and  ther  they  put  otf  ther  gayre,  and  ther  was  the  blessyd  sacrament,  borne  with 
torchlight  abowt,  and  from  thens  unto  the  Barbur  Hall  to  dener."  "  In  the  Catholic  times  they  were  an 
important  society,  and  many  ecclesiastics,  and  other  persons  of  the  first  quality,  both  male  and  female, 
were  of  the  number  of  their  members.  They  attended  all  great  funerals,  at  which  their  office  was  im- 
mediately to  precede  the  hearse,  with  their  surplices  hanging  on  their  arms,  and  singing  solemn  dirges 
all  the  way  till  they  came  to  the  church  door.  Their  fraternity  had  the  sole  direction  of  the  music  em- 
ployed in  public  worship." — Cromwell's  Clerkentoell. 

Previous  to  the  year  1560,  the  Parish  Clerks  met  in  the  Chapel  at  Guildhall,  for 
even-song,  and  on  the  next  day  to  dinner  at  Carpenters'  Hall ;  but  two  years  after 
this,  they  met  in  their  own  Hall,  receiving  seven  persons  into  their  brotherhood,  and 
attending  "a  goodly  play  of  the  children  of  Westminster,  with  waits,  regals,  and 
singing."  The  Parish  Clerks  commenced  the  "  Bills  of  Mortality,"  in  1592 ;  and  in 
January,  1611,  James  I.  re-incorporated  them,  in  consequence  of  their  brotherhood 
having  been  dissolved,  and  their  hall  and  property  seized.  Besides  this  re-incorpora- 
tion, they  were,  about  1625,  licensed  by  the  Star  Chamber  to  keep  a  printing-press  in 
their  hall,  for  the  printing  of  the  "  Bills,"  which  they  were  bound  to  make  up  each 
week,  consisting  of  the  births  and  burials,  with  some  account  of  the  diseases,  age,  &c., 
of  the  persons  dying.  During  the  Great  Plague,  these  "  Bills"  were  very  important ; 
they  are  still  to  be  seen  in  the  Guildhall  Library,  as  well  as  others,  dating  from  1657 
to  1758.  The  "  Weekly  Bill"  has  long  ceased  to  be  issued  from  Parish  Clerks'  Hall, 
and  in  its  place  (since  July  1,  1837),  the  "  Table  of  Mortality  in  the  Metropolis" 
has  been  issued  from  the  office  of  the  Registrar-General,  at  Somerset  House.  The 
first  Hall  was  at  the  sign  of  the  Angel,  in  Bishopsgate-street,  with  seven  almshouses 
for  poor  widows  adjoining ;  the  second  stood  in  Broad-lane,  Vintry ;  and  the  present 
Hall  was  erected  after  the  Great  Fire.  Their  organ,  purchased  in  1737,  is  placed  in 
the  Court-room.  They  have  a  few  portraits  of  benefactors,  among  which  appears  that 
of  William  Roper,  son-in-law  of  the  celebrated  Sir  Thomas  More.  The  east  window 
is  emblazoned  with  the  arms  of  Charles  II. ;  and  here  are  two  small  portraits :  David 
performing  on  the  harp ;  and  St.  Cecilia  at  the  organ,  accompanied  by  angels. 

The  Company  have  a  coat-of-arms,  with  a  motto,  "  Uniias  Societatis  Stabilitas"  (Unity  the  Stability 
of  Society).  They  have  a  row  of  neat  almshouses  for  the  widows  or  daughters  of  their  deceased 
brethren,  situated  on  the  south  side  of  Denmark-road,  Camberwell. 

Their  privileges  exempt  the  Clerks  from  all  parish  offices,  except  that  of  their  official  duty  as  Clerk : 
their  Charter  allows  them  to  administer  admission-oaths,  to  have  a  printer  and  printing-press  in  their 
hall,  and  to  frame  all  rules  necessary  for  their  government ;  to  elect  a  Master,  two  Wardens,  and  seven- 
teen Assistants ;  but  it  does  not  confer  upon  them  a  Livery,  nor  hereditary  nor  City  Freedom. 

E  B 


418  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

There  was  formerly  published  a  very  useful  sort  of  Clerical  Guide  to  the  Parishes 
within  the  Bills  of  Mortality,  "  collected  by  the  Company  of  Parish  Clerks,"  whose 
arms  the  volume  bears. 

Pewtebees'  Hale,  No.  17,  Lime-street,  contains  a  portrait  of  Sir  William  Small- 
wood,  Master  of  the  Company  in  the  second  year  of  Henry  VII.,  and  who  gave  them 
their  Hall,  &c.  The  Pewterers  were  incorporated  in  1474 :  they  assay  pewter- ware, 
and  use  a  mark,  or  touch,  registered  on  a  pewter-plate.  The  Hall  was  formerly  let  for 
lectures;  and  here  Macklin,  the  actor,  commenced  his  "school  of  oratory  and 
criticism,"  lecturing  in  full-dress,  but  to  be  laughed  at  by  Foote  and  other  wits. 

From  the  records  of  the  Pewterers'  Company  (much  older  than  the  Brewers'  record  as  dated),  we 
find  that  the  name  of  that  guild  was  spelt  Peutr's  Co.,  so  that  the  authorized  pots  originated  in  Henry 
VI.'s  time  were  made  of  pewter  metal.  (See  ante,  p.  412.)  Up  to  the  present  day,  the  name  of  the  officer 
appointed  by  the  City  Lands  Committee  to  stamp  the  publicans'  pots  and  brand  the  wooden  measures 
is  "  Sealer  and  Stamper  in  "Weights  and  Measures." 

Pinmakees'  Hale,  Pinners' -court,  Old  Broad-street,  is  on  the  site  of  part  of  the 
Priory  of  St.  Augustine,  or  Austin  Friars.  The  Hall  has  been,  since  the  reign  of 
Charles  II.,  let  as  a  Dissenters'  meeting-house,  and  is  now  so  occupied.  The  Pinners' 
Company  as  an  unincorporated  guild  is  mentioned  in  the  year  1376.  In  the  11th 
Charles  I.,  1636,  it  was  incorporated;  motto,  "  Virginitas  et  Unitas  Nostra  Fraternitas." 
Pinmakers'  Hall,  according  to  Chamberlain,  was  formerly  situated  in  Addle-street, 
Wood-street  (now  Plasterers'  Hall),  but  after  the  dissolution  of  Austinfriars  (Nov.  12, 
1539),  according  to  Pennant,  part  of  the  priory  was  converted  into  a  Venetian 
glass  manufactory,  with  James  Howel  as  steward.  Afterwards  this  manufactory 
became  the  property  of  the  Pinmakers'  Company,  "  who,"  says  Herbert,  "  occupied 
the  Austinfriars  Hall,  afterwards  called  'Pinners'  Hall  Meeting-house.'"  In  1771,  it 
was  "  the  only  meeting-house  in  London  where  the  audience  were  not  Calvinists,  the 
Independents  meeting  on  the  Sunday  morning,  and  the  Anabaptists  on  the  Sunday 
afternoon." 

By  more  than  one  authority  the  Pinmakers'  Company  have  been  said  to  be  "  defunct,"  but  upon  a 
reference  to  the  Corporation  Commissioners'  second  Report,  it  will  there  be  found  stated,  that  though  no 
returns  appear  in  the  Chamberlain's  books  for  forty  years  past,  yet  "it is  supposed  that  one  or  two  indi- 
viduals belonging  to  the  Company  are  yet  living." 

Plasteeees'  Hael,  Addle-street,  Wood-street,  Cheapside,  is  now  occupied  as  a 
warehouse ;  some  of  the  rich  ceilings  remain.  Malcolm  has  engraved  a  curious  coat-of- 
arms,  which  he  saved  from  the  east  window.  The  Company  was  incorporated  by 
Henry  VII.  in  1501,  motto,  "  Let  brotherly  love  continue."  Among  the  curiosities  is 
an  inscribed  silver  bell,  the  gift  of  Captain  Abraham  Stanyan,  Master,  1647-48 ;  a 
silver  cup  or  vase,  with  two  handles,  the  arms  of  the  Company  on  the  bowl,  and  dated 
1706 ;  and  the  head  of  an  ancient  beadle's  staff. 

A  statute  was  passed  in  the  first  year  of  the  reign  of  James  I.,  1603,  c.  20,  which  enacted  that  no 
Plasterer  should  exercise  the  "  art"  of  a  painter  in  the  City  or  suburbs  of  London :  but  an  apprentice 
was  exempt  from  the  meaning  of  the  Act.  The  penalty  was  51.,  but  a  proviso  allowed  the  Plasterer  to 
use  whiting,  blacking,  and  red  ochre  mixed  with  size,  without  oil."  This  was  a  very  important  statute 
indeed,  for  it  at  once  cleared  up  the  several  disagreements  existing  in  1575,  between  the  Plasterers  and 
the  Painters,  the  latter  retaining  their  privileges  by  becoming  incorporated  in  1581. 

Pltjmeees'  Haee,  Great  Bush-lane,  Cannon-street,  is  a  modern  brick  building  :  the 
Company  was  incorporated  by  James  I.  in  1611. 

Poetees'  Hall  is  on  St.  Marys-hill,  Billingsgate.  The  Fellowship  was  incor- 
porated in  1646,  and  consists  of  tackle  and  ticket  porters ;  with  the  City  arms  for 
their  armorial  badge,  and  the  Alderman  of  Billingsgate  ward  for  their  governor.  They 
claim  the  exclusive  privilege,  under  the  appointment  and  control  of  the  Common 
Council,  of  unloading  all  vessels  that  come  to  the  port  of  London  laden  with  corn, 
malt,  seeds,  potatoes,  fruit,  salt,  fish,  &c,  at  a  fixed  rate  of  prices ;  which,  being  high 
in  comparison  with  the  rates  in  the  Docks  and  at  the  various  outports  of  the  kingdom, 
were  greatly  reduced  in  1852,  to  meet  the  Free-trade  exigencies. 

The  Ticket-porter  of  our  times, "  Toby  Veck  who  waited  for  jobs  outside  the  church-door,  with  wind, 
and  frost,  and  snow,  and  a  good  storm  of  hail,  his  red-letter  days,  and  was  called  Trotty  from  his 
pace,  which  meant  speed  if  it  didn't  make  it"— is  the  best  character  in  Charles  Dickens's  Christmas 
story,  The  Chimes. 


BALLS— SADDLERS',   SCRIVENERS'.  419 

Saddlers'  Hail,  No.  143,  Cheapside,  has  an  elegant  stone  entrance  front,  built  in 
1865,  in  place  of  a  brick  and  stone  frontage,  surmounted  by  a  large  coat  of  the  Com- 
pany's  arms  (azure,  a  chevron,  between  three  saddles,  or  ;  crest,  a  horse  bridled  and 
saddled ;  supporters,  two  horses  bridled),  with  the  motto,  "  Our  Trust  is  in  God."  The 
Hall  was  rebuilt  in  1823 ;  Hatton,  in  1708,  described  the  former  Hall  "  adorned  with 
fretwork  and  wainscot." 

"The  Saddlers'  Company  claims  to  be  the  oldest  civic  guild,  dating  its  descent  from  the  Anglo-Saxon 
times.  In  the  reign  of  Richard  C«ur  de  Lion,  a  convention  was  made  between  the  Canons  of  St.  Martin's- 
le-Grand  and  the  gruild  and  fraternity  of  the  Saddlers.  According  to  ancient  statutes  existing  between 
their  church  and  this  fraternity,  the  Saddlers  were  brothers  and  partakers  of  all  benefits  arising  by  day  or 
by  night  in  all  masses,  psalms,  prayers,  and  vigils,  performed  in  the  said  church.  Two  especial  masses  were 
granted  them  weekly ;  one  for  the  living,  another  lor  the  dead,  and  freely  and  honourably  the  bells  of  the 
church  should  toll,  and  a  procession  formed  to  convey  the  departed  brother  to  his  last  resting-place  on 
earth.  The  Canons  of  St.  Martin's  were  also  to  assist  in  the  house  of  the  Saddlers;  and  the  latter, 
according  to  ancient  statutes,  were,  on  the  fast  of  St.  Martin,  accustomed  to  be  present  with  wax-tapers, 
and  to  offer  alms  to  the  saint.  And  lastly,  when  St.  Martin's  bell  tolled  forth  the  funeral  knell,  the 
Saddlers'  guild  paid  eightpence  to  the  church." — Kempe's  Hist.  St.  Martin' s-le-  Grand. 

We  have  already  seen  that  the  Company  conducted  funerals  700  years  ago :  they 
possess  a  rich  pall  of  crimson  velvet,  the  centre  yellow  silk.  On  one  side  is  embroi- 
dered, in  raised  gold  work,  "  In  te,  Domine,  speravi,"  in  old  English  characters ;  on 
the  other  side  is  worked,  "  Ne  me  eonfunde  in  ceternum."  The  head  and  foot  of  the 
pall  have  the  Company's  arms,  four  kneeling  angels  surrounding  the  letters  "  I.H.S.," 
encircled  by  a  glory,  and  bordered  by  a  broad  gold  fringe. 

In  the  Hall  is  Frye's  whole-length  portrait  of  Frederiqk  Prince  of  Wales  (father  of 
George  III.),  who  became  Master  of  the  Company  from  having  accepted  an  invitation 
to  witness  the  Lord  Mayor's  Show  from  their  stand. 

Sir  Richard  Blackmore,  schoolmaster,  physician,  and  small  poet,  "the  Cheapside  Knight"  and  "the 
City  Bard,"  and  the  general  butt  of  the  wits  of  his  day,  probably  wrote  some  poems  recited  at  Saddlers' 
Hall ;  whence  Sir  Samuel  Garth  addressed  these  lines :  "  To  the  merry  Poetaster  at  Saddlers'  Hall,  in 
Cheapside. 

"  Unwieldy  Pedant,  let  thy  awkward  Muse 

With  Censures  praise,  with  Flatteries  abuse, 

To  lash,  and  not  be  felt,  in  Thee's  an  Art ; 

Thou  ne'er  mad'st  any  but  thy  School-boys  smart. 

Then  be  advis'd,  and  scribble  not  agen ; 

Thou'rt  fashion'd  for  a  Flail,  and  not  a  Pen. 

If  B l's  immortal  Wit  thou  would'st  descry, 

Pretend  'tis  he  that  writ  thy  Poetry. 

Thy  feeble  Satire  ne'er  can  do  him  wrong; 

Thy  Poems  and  thy  Patients  live  not  long."  , 

"  To  Sir  R Bl ,  on  the  two  Wooden  Horses  before  Saddlers'  Hall : 

"'Twas  kindly  done  of  the  good-natured  Cits, 
To  place  before  thy  door  a  brace  of  tits." — Tom  Brown. 

Charles  II.,  by  charter,  dated  December  24th,  in  the  thirty-sixth  year  of  his  reign, 
granted  several  privileges;  and  this  the  Company  consider  their  governing  charter. 
It  is  a  very  wealthy  guild,  and  on  August  30,  1859,  was  laid  the  first  stone  of 
•'  Honnor's  Home,"  for  poor  Freemen  and  widows,  at  Spring  Grove,  near  Isleworth. 

Sceitenees'  Hall. — The  Scriveners  are  an  ancient  guild,  evident  from  the  fact 
that,  in  1483,  they  sent  four  members,  in  murry-coloured  coats,  to  attend,  with  other 
Companies,  the  entry  of  Richard  III.  into  London.  In  1485,  they  sent  twenty  men  to 
attend  the  marching  watch  of  the  City ;  while  on  August  31,  in  the  same  year,  they 
sent  four  members  (among  other  guilds)  to  welcome  Henry  VII,  on  his  entering 
London  ;  and  in  1487,  on  his  return  from  Kenilworth. 

The  Scriveners  were  anciently  denominated  "  The  Writers  of  the  Court  Letter  of 
the  City  of  London,"  but  in  the  reign  of  James  I.,  1616,  they  were  incorporated. 
Being  at  one  period  a  very  wealthy  guild,  they  built  themselves  a  fine  Hall  in  Noble- 
street,  near  St.  Martin's-le-Grand ;  but  becoming  in  time  much  reduced,  they  were 
compelled  to  sell  the  building  to  the  Company  of  Coachmakers,  in  whose  hands  it  now 
remains. 

Mr.  Hyde  Clarke  has  thrown  much  light  on  the  connexion  of  Milton  with  the 
Scriveners'  Company.  Their  records  tell  us,  that  on  Feb.  27,  1599,  John  Milton,  son 
of  Richard  Milton,  of  Stanston,  co.  Oxon,  and  late  apprentice  to  James  Colbron,  citizen 
and  writer  of  the  Court  Letter  of  London  (Scrivener),  was  admitted  to  the  freedom  of 

Hi 


420  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  Company.  The  grandfather  and  father  of  the  poet  are  the  two  personages  here 
alluded  to.  The  Latter,  who  appears  to  have  only  served  four  years'  apprenticeship, 
instead  of  seven,*  commenced  business  in  1599,  and  married  about  a  twelvemonth  after. 

Sir  Robert  Clayton,  Knight,  Lord  Mayor  in  the  year  1680,  was  also  a  Scrivener. 
He  is  often  alluded  to  in  the  Diary  of  Evelyn,  and  appears  to  have  been  a  wealthy  and 
worthy  man,  "  there  never  having  been  any  who,  for  ye  stateliness  of  his  palace,  pro- 
digious feasting,  and  magnificence  exceeded  him." 

Of  another  Scrivener,  John  Ellis,  who  died  Dec.  31,  1791,  at  the  venerable  age  of 
ninety-four, 

Johnson  once  remarked  to  Boswell,  "  It  is  wonderful,  sir,  what  is  to  be  found  in  London.  The  most 
literary  conversation  that  I  ever  enjoyed  was  at  the  table  of  Jack  Ellis,  a  money-scrivener,  behind  the 
Royal  Exchange,  with  whom  I,  at  one  period,  used  to  dine  generally  once  a  week."  Boswell  adds, 
"There  is  a  good  engraved  portrait  of  him  by  Pettier,  from  a  picture  by  Frye,  which  hangs  in  the  hall  of 
the  Scriveners'  Company." 

The  business  of  a  Scrivener  was  the  making  of  leases,  writings,  assignments,  and 
money  securities,  by  which  he  became,  as  it  were,  a  banker  and  a  conveyancer ;  but  the 
designation  money-scrivener  having  expired  with  the  above  Ellis,  the  business  is  now 
transacted  by  attorneys  and  others.     The  Company,  however,  still  retain  the  title. 

Stationebs'  Hall,  Stationers'  Hall-court,  Ludgate-hill,  occupies  the  site  of  Bur- 
gaveny  House,  whither  the  Stationers'  Company  removed  in  1611 :  it  was  destroyed  in 
the  Great  Fire  ;f  after  which  the  present  Hall  was  erected ;  the  eastern  front  was 
cased  with  stone  about  the  year  1800. 

The  Company  of  Stationers  retain  their  original  character  intact,  and  is  the  only 
London  Company  restricted  to  the  members  of  its  own  craft  ;  or  members  of  the 
bookselling,  stationery,  printing,  bookbinding,  printselling,  or  engraving  trades;  while 
it  practises  "  the  mystery  or  art"  to  which  its  ancient  title  nominally  refers. 

The  Company  existed  as  a  fraternity  long  previous  to  the  introduction  of  Printing.  Their 
first  Hall  was  in  Milk-street.  They  were  first  incorporated  May  4,  1657  (3rd  and  4th  Philip  and 
Mary):  this  charter  was  renewed  by  Elizabeth  in  1588;  amplified  by  Charles  II.  1681;  and  con- 
firmed by  William  and  Mary,  1690,  which  is  the  existing  charter  of  the  Company.  These  charters 
gave  them  inquisitorial  privileges  of  search  and  seizure  of  obnoxious  books ;  printers  were  compelled  to 
serve  their  time  to  a  member  of  the  Company ;  and  every  publication,  from  a  Bible  to  a  ballad,  was 
required  to  be  "Entered  at  Stationers'  Hall."  The  first  entry  on  the  books  is  1558:  "To  William 
Pekerynge,  a  ballad,  called  A  Kyse  and  Wake,  4d."  The  Registers  of  the  Stationers'  Company  are  valu- 
able authorities.  Mr.  Payne  Collier  has  given  many  quotations  from  them  in  the  two  volumes  which 
he  edited  for  the  Shakspeare  Society  in  1848  and  1849 ;  and  has  continued  the  extracts,  with  illustrations 
and  anecdotes  (from  1687),  in  Notes  and  Queries,  2nd  s.,  vol.  xii.;  3rd  s.,  vol.  i.  &  ii.,  et  sea. 

The  Company  likewise  had  granted  to  them  by  James  I.,  in  1603,  the  privilege 
of  the  sole  printing  of  Frymers,  Psalters,  and  Psalms ;  as  well  as  "  almanacks  and 
prognostications,  and  the  Latin  books  used  in  the  grammar-schools."  Under  the 
Copyright  Act,  the  proprietor  of  every  published  work  is  required  to  register  his  claim 
for  his  own  protection,  in  the  books  of  the  Stationers'  Company,  before  any  legal  pro- 
ceedings can  take  place ;  the  fee  is  5*.  To  each  apprentice  bound  at  the  Hall  is  given 
a  Bible,  which  excellent  custom  originated  in  the  bequest  of  Thomas  Parkhurst,  Master 
of  the  Company  in  1683;  he  likewise  left  37£.  to  purchase  annually  Bibles  with 
Psalms,  to  be  given  to  the  poor.  In  corrupt  times,  the  Company  aided  the  Star- 
chamber,  and  hence  they  became  stigmatized  as  its  "literary  constables."  Their 
authority  has  been  disputed ;  for,  in  the  last  century,  Thomas  Carnan,  the  bookseller, 
of  St.  Paul's  Churchyard,  contested  with  the  Company  the  exclusive  right  to  publish 
almanacks :  Lord  North  sided  with  the  Stationers,  but  the  eloquence  of  Erskine 
strongly  controverted  their  claim. 

Their  almanacks,  to  this  day,  maintain  their  superior  accuracy  and  trustworthiness, 
and  adaptation  to  the  requirements  of  the  day.     Thus,  we  have  Francis  Moore's 

*  In  confirmation  of  this,  an  entry  in  the  Scriveners'  records  tells  us  that  James  Colbron  was  ad- 
mitted into  the  Company,  April  1, 1595.  The  question  remains  whether  Milton  was  a  "  turnover,"  from 
some  other  Scrivener  to  Colbron.  Mr.  Clarke  adds,  that  he  discovered  that  the  Scriveners  "had  no 
especial  custom  or  exemption  of  a  shorter  apprenticeship  than  seven  years,  and  that  Milton  must  have 
served  seven  years  with  one  master  or  another."  He  was  born  in  1578,  and  died  in  March,  1646-7.  Sarah, 
his  wife,  died  April  3, 1637.    The  poet  was  born  December  9, 1608. 

_  +  Hansard's  Typographia  contains  a  view  of  Burgaveny  House  as  altered  for  the  Hall  of  the  Sta- 
tioners, printed  from  the  original  block  engraved  for  the  Company. 


HALL— STATIONERS'.  421 


Almanack,  with  the  fullest  account  of  Eclipses  and  Astronomical  Phenomena;  the  Lady's 
and  Gentleman's  Diary,  commenced  in  the  last  century,  contains  Papers  and  Questions 
contributed  by  some  of  the  first  mathematicians  of  the  day,  as  well  as  Enigmas  and 
Charades;  John  Partridge's  Almanack,  which  Swift  thought  to  extinguish  in  1709,  is 
still  published ;  as  is  the  Sheet  Almanack  commenced  by  Vincent  Wing,  the  astronomer, 
who  published  for  the  Company,  also,  a  book  almanack :  his  portrait  hangs  iu  the 
Hall.  Among  the  more  popular  of  the  late  additions  to  the  Company's  list  are 
almanacks  for  clergymen,  parochial  officers,  and  parish  clerks;  and  a  Gardener's 
Almanack,  the  first  of  which  class  was  published  by  John  Evelyn,  the  diarist. 

In  the  Hall,  on  Almanack-day,  in  November,  are  published  the  Almanacks  printed 
for  the  Company.  The  Stationers  employed  Lilly,  Partridge,  and  Moore :  Lilly's 
hieroglyphics  were  stolen  from  old  monkish  manuscripts  :  Moore  it  is  stated  has  stolen 
them  from  him.  The  Company's  astrological  and  other  predictions  in  their  almanacks 
continued,  though  modified,  to  our  times ;  one  year  they  experimentally  omitted  from 
Moore's  Almanack  the  column  on  the  moon's  influence  on  the  parts  of  the  human 
body,  when  most  of  the  copies  were  returned  upon  their  hands.  (Baily,  on  the  Nau- 
tical Almanac.)  The  invested  capital  of  the  Company  is  upwards  of  40,000£.,  divided 
into  shares ;  but  their  only  publications  are  almanacks  and  a  Latin  Gradus. 

The  Court-room  has  some  fine  carvings,  attributed  to  Gibbons  ;  and  at  the  extremity 
is  West's  touching  picture  of  King  Alfred  dividing  a  loaf  with  St.  Cuthbert  the 
pilgrim,  presented  by  Alderman  Boydell,  Master  of  the  Company ;  and  of  whom  here 
is  a  portrait  as  lord  mayor,  with  allegorical  absurdities,  by  Graham.  In  the  Stock-room 
and  Hall  are  excellent  portraits  of  Prior  and  Steele,  presented  by  John  Nichols;  of 
Samuel  Richardson,  the  novelist,  and  his  wife,  by  Highmore  (Richardson  was  Master 
of  the  Company  in  1754);  of  Vincent  Wing;  of  John  Bunyan,  presented  by  Mr. 
Hobbs,  the  singer ;  a  half-length  of  Bishop  Hoadley ;  Robert  Nelson,  by  Kneller ; 
Andrew  Strahan,  and  his  father,  William  Strahan ;  and  a  bust  of  William  Bowyer, 
"  last  of  the  learned  printers,"  with  a  grateful  inscription  written  by  himself.  The 
Hall  has  also  a  large  window  filled  with  painted  armorial  glass.  Here  was  held  for 
nearly  twenty  years,  the  Music  Eeast.  on  St.  Cecilia's  day,  22nd  of  November,  for  which 
Dryden  wrote  his  celebrated  Ode,  last  performed  here  in  1703. 

The  Company's  Charities  consist  chiefly  of  pensions ;  and  foremost  among  the  bene- 
factors are  the  respected  names  of  Guy,  Bowyer,  Boydell,  and  Strahan.  Over  the 
gate  in  Stationers'  Hall-court  are  the  arms,  the  Bible,  the  glory,  and  the  dove,  and  the 
motto,  "  Verbum  Domini  manet  in  seternum,"  bespeaking  the  holier  labours  of  the  Com- 
pany ;  and  the  notice-boards  below,  the  benevolence  of  its  wealthier  members. 

From  early  times,  the  Stationers'  Company  has  been  celebrated  for  its  sumptuous 
state,  and  its  attendance  upon  the  Lord  Mayor's  Shows,  &c. ;  "the  comeliest  per- 
sonages of  the  Company"  attended  the  lord  mayor  on  horseback,  in  velvet  coats,  chains 
of  gold,  and  with  staff  torches,  to  escort  Queen  Elizabeth  from  Chelsea  to  Whitehall. 
They  kept,  until  within  a  few  years,  a  superbly -gilt  barge,  in  which,  on  the  morning  of 
Lord  Mayor's-day,  they  visited  Lambeth  Palace ;  when  the  household  of  the  Arch- 
bishop of  Canterbury  brought  on  board  the  barge  hot  spiced  ale,  buns  and  cakes,  and 
wine ;  the  latter  being  served  to  the  Stationers  in  small  wooden  "  sack-cups,"  or  bowls, 
with  two  handles,  which  were  provided  by  the  beadle  of  the  Company.  This  custom 
is  stated  to  have  originated  as  follows :  when  Tenison  possessed  the  See,  a  near  relation 
of  his,  who  was  Master  of  the  Stationers'  Company,  thought  it  a  compliment  to  call  at 
the  Palace  in  his  stately  barge  on  the  morning  of  Lord  Mayor's-day,  when  the  Arch- 
bishop sent  out  a  pint  of  wine  for  each  liveryman,  with  bread  and  cheese  and  ale  for 
the  watermen  and  attendants ;  and  this  grew  into  a  settled  custom.  Certain  fees 
amounting  to  21.  12s.  6d.  were  paid  to  the  Archbishop's  servants  on  this  occasion ;  the 
Bargemaster's  bill  was  20  guineas,  the  charge  for  music,  121.,  besides  other  expenses, 
to  enable  the  Company  to  "  attend  my  lord  mayor  with  fitting  state."  On  the  dis- 
continuance of  the  aquatic  civic  pageant,  the  Stationers'  Company  sold  their  barge, 
and  the  regale  at  Lambeth  was  thenceforth  discontinued.  The  Company  formerly  sub- 
mitted their  several  almanacks  to  the  Archbishop  of  Canterbury,  for  his  Grace's 
approval ;  this  is  no  longer  observed,  but  the  Stationers  continue  to  present  annually 
to  the  Archbishop  an  entire  set  of  their  almanacks. 


422  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  Stationers'  Company  ^  have  erected  in  Bolt-court,  Fleet-street,  a  School-house, 
at  a  cost  of  ahout  9000L  The  School  is  noi  confined  to  the  sons  of  liverymen  and 
freemen  of  the  Company :  it  will  accommodate  upwards  of  300  boys,  and  affords  an 
education  similar  to  that  of  the  City  of  London  School.  The  speeches  and  awards  of 
prizes  take  place  at  Midsummer  before  the  Master,  Wardens,  and  Court  of  Assistants, 
in  the  Stationers'  Hall.  The  buildings  were  repaired  and  re-decorated  in  1866-7  :  the 
Court-room  is  a  noble  and  picturesque  apartment. 

The  funeral  feast  of  Thomas  Sutton,  of  the  Charter-house,  was  driven  May  28, 1612,  in  the  former 
Stationers'  Hall ;  the  procession  having  started  from  Dr.  Law's,  in  Paternoster-row.  For  this  repast 
were  provided  32  neats'  tongues,  40  stone  of  beef,  24  marrow-bones,  1  lamb,  46  capons,  32  geese,  4 
pheasants,  12  pheasants'  pullets,  12  godwits,  24  rabbits,  6  hearnshaws,  48  turkey-chickens,  48  roast 
chickens,  18  house-pigeons,  72  field-pigeons,  36  quails,  48  ducklings,  160  eggs,  3  salmons,  4  congers,  10 
turbots,  2  dories,  24  lobsters,  4  mullets,  a  firkin  and  keg  of  sturgeon,  3  barrels  of  pickled  oysters,  6 
gammons  of  bacon,  4  Westphalia  gammons,  16  fried  tongues,  16  chicken-pies,  16  pasties,  16  made 
dishes  of  rice,  16  neats'-tongue  pics,  16  custards,  16  dishes  of  bait,  16  mince-pies,  16  orange-pies,  16 
forst  back-meats,  16  gooseberry-tarte,  8  redcare-pies,  6  dishes  of  whitebait,  and  6  grand  salads. — 
Malcolm. 

Stocking- weaveks'  Hall,  Redcross-street,  Cripplegate,  long  since  taken  down,  was 
noted  for  containing  a  curious  picture,  illustrative  of  the  history  of  the  stocking-loom. 

In  this  old  picture  William  Lee  or  Lea  is  pointing  out  his  stocking-loom  to  a  female  knitter ; 
beneath  which  is  this  inscription :  "In  the  year  1589,  the  ingenious  William  Lee,  Master  of  Arts  of  St. 
John's  College,  Cambridge,  devised  this  profitable  art  for  stockings  (but  being  despised,  went  to 
Prance,)  yet  of  iron  to  himself,  but  to  us  and  others  of  gold :  in  memory  of  whom  this  is  here  painted." 
By  some  the  picture  is  thought  to  have  suggested  the  story  of-  Lee's  having  invented  the  machine  to 
expedite  knitting,  and  thus  allow  the  girl,  of  whom  he  was  enamoured,  more  time  to  listen  to  his  love- 
making;  or  the  picture  may  be  an  illustration  of  the  story.  Aaron  Hill  gives  the  invention  to  a  poor 
student  of  Oxford,  to  supersede  his  wife's  knitting  for  their  family's  support ;  but  Hill  wrote  this  in 
1715  upon  hearsay;  and  Lee  is  named  as  the  inventor  in  a  petition  of  the  Framework-knitters,  or 
Stocking-makers,  to  Cromwell  for  a  charter,  subsequently  granted  by  Charles  II.  in  1663.  Hill's  ver- 
sion has,  however,  been  adopted  by  Elmore  in  his  very  clever  picture  of  "  the  Invention  of  the 
Stocking-loom,"  painted  in  1847. 

The  painting  of  Lee  and  his  wife,  however,  was  parted  with  by  the  Company  at  a 
period  of  pecuniary  embarrassment.  Mr.  Bennet  Woodcraft  has  collected  some  par- 
ticulars of  the  disposal  of  the  picture,  in  the  hope  that  they  may  lead  to  its  restoration. 
In  a  list,  dated  1687,  of  plate,  paintings,  &c.  belonging  to  the  Company,  is  an  item : 
"  Mr.  Lee's  picture,  by  Balderston :"  it  is  also  described  in  Hatton's  London,  1708. 
From  1732,  the  Company's  books  show  no  more  meetings  at  their  Hall,  or  any  further 
entry  of  the  picture.  The  Stocking  Weavers  subsequently  let  their  Hall,  and  met  afc 
various  taverns.  The  head  of  the  Court  Summons,  dated  1777,  is  engraved  from  Lee's 
picture ;  and  from  this  plate  is  copied  an  engraving  in  the  Gallery  of  Portraits  of  In- 
ventors in  the  Great- Seal  Patent  Office.  Tbe  picture  is  thought  to  have  passed,  about 
1773,  into  the  bands  of  an  influential  member  of  the  Court  of  Framework  Knitters, 
who,  from  time  to  time,  lent  the  Company  money,  as  their  books  testify. 

Tallow-chandlees'  Hall,  Dowgate-hill,  is  built  in  the  style  of  Wren,  with  a 
colonnade  of  Tuscan  arches.     The  Company  was  incorporated  by  Edward  IV.  in  1460. 

Watermen's  Hall,  St.  Mary -at- Hill,  Billingsgate,  was  built  in  1786.  The  Com- 
pany's old  Hall  was  in  Cold-harbour,  and  faced  the  Thames. 

The  fares  of  the  Thames  Watermen  and  Wherrymen  were  regulated  by  Henry  VIII.  in  1514.  Taylor 
the  Water-poet,  temp.  Elizabeth,  states  the  Watermen  between  Windsor  and  Gravesend  at  40,000.  They 
were  made  a  Company  by  Philip  and  Mary  in  1555,  with  eight  overseers  and  rulers,  "  the  most  wise, 
discreet,  and  best  sort  of  watermen,"  selected  by  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Court  of  Aldermen.  This 
statute  regulates  the  dimensions  of  the  boats  and  wherries,  then  dangerously  "shallow  and  tickle;" 
the  Lord  Mayor  and  Aldermen  to  limit  the  watermen's  fares,  to  be  confirmed  by  the  Privy  Council. 
Strype  was  told  by  one  of  the  Company  that  there  were  40,000  watermen  upon  their  rolls ;  that  they 
could  furnish  20,000  men  for  the  fleet ;  and  8000  men  were  then  in  the  service.  Taylor  the  Water-poet, 
with  his  fellow-watermen,  violently  opposed  the  introduction  of  coaches  as  trade-spillers.  The  Company 
condemned  the  buT'ding  of  Westminster  and  Ulackfriars  Bridges,  for  their  injury  to  the  ferries  between 
Vauxhall  and  the  Temple,  the  profits  of  which  were  given  to  the  poor,  aged,  decayed,  and  maimed 
Watermen  and  their  widows ;  and  in  both  cases  the  Company  were  compensated  for  their  losses.  The 
substitution  of  steam-boats  for  wherrit  s  has,  however,  been  as  fatal  to  the  watermen  as  railways  have 
proved  to  stage-coachmen.    The  above  statement  of  the  number  of  Watermen  is  very  questionable. 

In  1633,  Taylor,  the  Water-poet,  sent  in  a  petition  to  Lord  Cottington,  on  behalf  of 

his  Majesty's  watermen.     It  is  in  rhyme  : — 

*•  Shows  that  your  Lordship  is  so  well  inclined 
To  pay  us,  that  our  order  you  have  signed, 
For  which  we  humbly  thank  you,  though  as  yet, 
We  sue,  and  seek,  and  can  no  payment  get. 


BALLS— -WAX-CHANDLERS' ',   WEAVERS'.  423 

We  live  in  debt,  we  coin  and  credit  lack, 

And  we  do  fear  Sir  Robert  Pye  is  slack, 

Or  else  unwilling ;  therefore  we  implore 

Your  Lordship  to  remember  him  once  more ; 
And  we  shall  pray  unto  the  power  supernal 
To  bless  your  Lordship,  temporal  and  eternal. 

Wax-chandleks'  Hall,  No.  13,  Gresham-street  West,  nearly  opposite  Haber- 
dashers' Hall,  was  taken  down  in  1852,  and  has  been  rebuilt.  The  Wax- Chandlers' 
Company  was  incorporated  by  Richard  III.  in  1483.  The  chandler  of  old  set  his  mark 
to  the  several  articles  which  he  made ;  lent  out  wax-tapers  for  hire ;  and  in  Roman 
Catholic  times  wax  was  brought  to  the  chandlers,  to  be  made  into  "  torches,  torchettes, 
prykettes  or  perchers,  chaundelle  or  tapers  for  women  ayenst  Candelmas." 

Among  the  Company's  Curiosities  are  a  Grant  of  Arms  to  the  Company,  temp.  Richard  Til.,  a  most 
magnificent  document,  the  Company's  Charter  of  Incorporation,  beautifully  illuminated.  The  Wax- 
chandlers  also  have  several  very  interesting  examples  of  the  17th  century  silver  plate.  The  late  Mr. 
Gregory,  of  Wax-chandlers'  Hall,  left  a  very  interesting  collection  of  civic  antiquities. 

Weatebs'  Hall,  Basinghallstreet.  The  Weavers  enjoy  the  privilege  of  being  the 
first  to  whom  a  charter  was  granted,  of  any  of  the  City  Guilds.  That  Guilds  were 
originated  for  the  purposes  of  trade  is  borne  out  by  the  fact  that  the  Weavers'  Guild 
is  older  than  the  charter  of  the  City  itself;  and  persons  belonging  to  that  Guild  are 
entitled  to  trade  in  the  City,  though  they  are  not  free  of  the  City.  The  Company, 
originally  cloth  and  tapestry  weavers,  was  first  incorporated  in  the  reign  of  Henry  I., 
and  paid  16Z.  a  year  to  the  Crown  for  their  immunities.  Their  privileges  were  con- 
firmed to  them  at  Winchester  by  Henry  II.  in  1184,  the  charter  being  sealed  by 
Thomas  a  Becket,  the  celebrated  Chancellor  of  that  reign.  The  chief  officers  of  the 
Company  retain  the  distinctive  titles  of  Upper  Bailiff  and  Renter  Bailiff.  The  motto 
is  "  Weave  Truth  with  Trust."  Hatton  (1708)  describes  the  Hall  as  greatly  adorned 
with  hangings,  fretwork,  and  a  screen  of  the  Ionic  order.     Their  arms  are  curious : 

Azure,  on  a  chevron,  argent,  between  three  leopards'  heads,  having  each  a  shuttle  in  his  mouth,  or,  as 
many  roses,  gules,  seeded  proper :  crest,  a  Leopard's  Head  crowned  with  a  ducal  coronet,  and  a  shuttle 
as  before ;  supporters,  two  Weeverns,  ermine,  winged  or,  membered  gules. 

The  old  Hall,  which  had  a  decorative  ceiling,  and  a  staircase  with  carvings,  was  taken 

down  in  1856,  and  has  been  rebuilt  in  handsome  style. 

The  existing  Companies  are  so  many  trusteeships  for  "charitable  purposes"  and 
"chartered  festivals;"  and  their  earliest  object  was  the  formation  of  a  common  stock 
for  the  relief  of  poor  or  decayed  members.  Stow  devotes  some  twenty-five  folio  pages 
of  his  Survey  to  charities  for  this  purpose,  and  which  he  characterizes  as  "  the  Honour 
of  Citizens  and  Worthiness  of  Men."  These  charities  comprise  pensions  to  decayed 
members,  almshouses,  gifts  of  money  to  the  poor ;  funds  for  the  support  of  hospitals, 
schools,  exhibitions  at  the  universities;  prisoners  in  the  City  gaols;  for  lectures  and  ser- 
mons, and  donations  to  distressed  clergymen  ;  loans  to  young  beginners  in  business,  &c. 

Of  the  eighty-nine  Companies,  eight  are  practically  extinct ;  and  a  ninth,  the  Parish 
Clerks,  has  no  connexion  with  the  municipality  of  London.  The  others  are  divided  by 
the  Parliamentary  Commissioners  into  three  classes:  1.  Companies  still  controlling 
their  trade,  namely,  the  Goldsmiths  and  the  Apothecaries  :  both  these  also  belong  to 
Class  2.  2.  Companies  exercising  the  right  of  search,  or  making  wares,  &c,  including 
the  Stationers',  at  whose  Hall  all  copyright  books  must  be  "  entered ;"  the  Gun-makers, 
who  prove  all  the  guns  made  in  the  City;  the  Founders,  who  test  and  mark  weights; 
the  Saddlers,  who  examine  the  workmanship  of  saddles;  the  Painters,  who  issue  a 
trade  price-list  of  some  authority ;  and  the  Pewterers  and  Plumbers,  who  make  assays. 
3.  Companies  into  which  persons  carrying  on  certain  occupations  in  the  City  are  com- 
pelled to  enter:  such  are  the  Apothecaries,  Brewers,  Pewterers,  Builders,  Barbers, 
Bakers,  Saddlers,  Painter- stainers,  Plumbers,  Innholders,  Founders,*  Poulterers,  Cooks,  f 

*  The  Fruiterers'  Company  have  no  Hall :  they  present  the  Lord  Mayor  yearly  with  fruit,  formerly 
twelve  bushels  of  apples,  and  are  entertained  by  his  Lordship. 

t  The  Cooks'  Company  have  no  Hall.  By  their  Charter  of  Charles  II.  they  claim  to  serve  the  sove- 
reign on  all  civic  occasions,  as  well  as  exemption  from  serving  on  juries.  They  also  claim  the  right  of 
Belling  beer  without  a  license ;  but  the  Court  of  Excise  have  decided  against  this  privilege  by  an  Act 
of  Parliament  which  exempts  only  members  of  the  Vintners'  Company  from  the  wine  license.  The 
Cooks'  Company  are,  however,  exempted  from  serving  on  juries  in  the  City  courts. 


425  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Weavers,  Scriveners,  Farriers,  Spectacle-makers,  Clockmakers,*  Silk-throwers,  Dis- 
tillers, Tobacco-pipe-makers,  and  Carmen ;  the  last  mentioned  exclusively  consisting  of 
persons  belonging  to  the  trade.  Admission  to  the  body  of  freemen  is  obtained  by 
birth,  apprenticeship,  purchase,  or  gift ;  and  thence  into  the  livery  by  fees. 

The  Needlemakers'  is  the  only  City  Company  not  incorporated  by  a  crowned  head,  they  having 
received  their  Charter  from  Cromwell  in  1656.  They  have  no  Hall,  but  these  characteristic  arms :  vert, 
three  needles  in  Jess  argent,  each  ducally  crowned  or :  crest,  a  Moor's  head,  couped  at  the  shoulders  in 
profile  proper,  wreathed  about  the  temples  argent,  and  in  his  ear  a  pearl  (the  crest  originally  was  an 
apple-tree  and  serpent) ;  supporters,  a  man  and  woman  (termed  Adam  and  Eve),  wreathed  round  the 
waist  with  leaves,  all  proper,  in  the  woman's  dexter  hand  a  needle  argent ;  motto,  "  they  sewed  fig- 
leaves  together  and  made  themselves  aprons."  Stow  tells  us  that  needles  were  sold  in  Cheapside  in 
the  reign  of  Queen  Mary,  and  were  then  made  by  a  Spanish  negro,  by  a  secret  art ;  they  are  also  said 
to  have  been  made  in  London  by  a  native  of  India,  in  1545;  and  by  one  Elias  Krause,  a  German,  in 
1566.  Needles  were  first  made,  or  rather  finished,  in  Whitechapel,  by  one  Mackenzie :  hence  the  cry 
of  "  Whitechapel  needles,  twenty-five  for  a  penny."  The  trade  then  removed  to  the  borders  of  War- 
wickshire and  Worcestershire;  but  Whitechapel  labels  are  still  used,  and  the  fame  of  "Whitechapel 
sharps"  has  reached  the  interior  of  Africa. 

The  arms  of  the  several  Companies  (some  very  curious)  are  correctly  given  in  Moule's 
English  Counties  :  Middlesex.  Their  records  are  ancient ;  for  the  Great  Companies' 
title-deeds  mostly  extend  to  the  thirteenth  century. 

HALLS,  MISCELLANEOUS. 

Ageicttittjeal  Hail,  Islington,  was  built  in  1862,  and  opened  with  the  Smithfield 
Club  Cattle  Show,  in  December.  The  principal  entrance  is  in  Liverpool-road,  beneath 
a  lofty  arch,  flanked  by  towers,  with  cupolas,  95  feet  high.  The  capital  was  raised 
by  a  Joint-Stock  Company,  Limited,  composed  of  agriculturists,  agricultural  implement 
makers,  and  cattle  salesmen.  The  whole  sum  expended  in  the  building,  fittings,  &c., 
was  53,O00Z.  The  first  chairman  of  the  Company  was  the  late  Mr.  Jonas  Webb,  of 
Babraham,  the  celebrated  breeder  of  South-down  sheep  and  short-horned  cattle.  The 
ground-plan  and  cattle  fittings  were  designed  by  Mr.  John  Giblett,  the  eminent  cattle- 
salesman,  of  the  Metropolitan  Market.  The  vice-chairman  is  Mr.  Shuttleworth,  the 
agricultural  implement  maker,  of  Lincoln.  The  main  hall  is  384  feet  in  length,  by 
217  feet  in  breadth,  and  has  galleries  on  the  four  sides,  30  feet  wide.  There  is  also  a 
minor  hall,  100  feet  square ;  and  an  entrance-arcade  150  feet  long  from  Islington 
Green.  The  great  hall  has  an  iron  arched  roof,  glazed,  130  feet  span.  Mr.  F.  Peck 
was  the  architect.     The  first  stone  was  laid  by  Lord  Berners,  as  President  of  the  Club. 

The  Hall  was  originally  established  by  members  of  the  Smithfield  Club,  after  an 
existence  of  more  than  sixty-two  years.  The  Club  has,  since  its  first  institution,  had 
at  least  five  different  places  of  exhibition.  In  1799  and  1800,  the  Club  exhibited  in 
Wootton's  Livery  Stables  (Dolphin  Yard),  Smithfield ;  in  1804,  the  Show  was  held  in 
Swan-yard ;  in  1805,  the  next  selected  spot  was  Dixon's  Repository,  in  Barbican ;  the 
display  for  1808  took  place  in  Sadleris-yard,  Goswell -street;  and  in  1839,  the  Club, 
moving  westward,  gave  its  first  exhibition  in  Baker-street.  From  Mr.  Brandreth 
Gibbs's  History  of  the  Origin  and  Progress  of  the  Smithfield  Club,  we  learn  that,  at 
the  first  exhibition,  the  Club  only  received  from  the  public  40£.  3s.  The  receipts  of 
the  first  Baker-street  Show  were  300Z. 

At  the  first  Cattle-show  in  the  Agricultural  Hall,  in  five  days,  134,669  persons  paid  one 
shilling  each  for  admission.  Since  that  date,  besides  the  annual  Show  of  cattle,  sheep, 
pigs,  and  agricultural  implements,  there  have  been  held  here  four  Dog-shows,  at  one  of 
which  2000  dogs  were  entered  :  that  held  in  1863  brought  60,800  paying  visitors.  The 
first  Horse-show  was  held  in  1864.  The  Hall  Company  have  the  credit  of  originating  a 
Show  of  this  description  under  cover,  with  horses  exhibited,  saddled  and  harnessed, 
in  an  arena  sufficiently  large  to  display  their  paces,  and  accommodations  which  have 
never  been  excelled.  A  Horse-show  is  now  held  here  every  year  in  the  week  between 
Epsom  and  Ascot  Races,  and  attracts  the  most  fashionable  company  in  London.  The 
judges  are  invariably  selected  from  noblemen  and  gentlemen ;  as  for  instance,  the  Earls 
of  Chesterfield  and  Portsmouth,  Lords  Suffieldand  Combermere. 

•  *  The^loekmakers*  ComPal»y  have  a  lending  library,  rich  in  treatises  on  Horology  and  the  allied 
sciences ;  besides  a  cabinet  of  specimen  watches,  &c.  The  Company  have  no  hall,  but  an  office,  6,  Cowper's- 
court :  Cornhill;  whence  the  Master,  AVardens,  and  Court  of  Assistants,  May  10,  1852,  memorialized 
Her  Majesty  s  Commissioners  of  Works  and  Buildings  against  the  order  given  direct  to  Mr.  Dent  to 
make  the  great  Clock  for  the  New  Palace  at  Westminster,  instead  of  submitting  it,  as  originally 
intended,  to  competition. 


HALLS,  MISCELLANEOUS.  425 

There  are  also  at  Christmas,  Equestrian  Performances,  with  chariot-races,  &c., 
reminding  one  of  the  sports  of  Old  Rome.  There  have  likewise  been  several  Industrial 
and  Musical  Exhibitions  :  the  Metropolitan  Working  Men's  Exhibition  held  here  ten 
weeks  in  the  autumn  of  1866,  was  visited  by  more  than  half  a  million  persons.  One 
evening,  when  the  Messiah  oratorio  was  sung  by  the  Tonic  Sol-fa  Association,  upwards 
of  23,000  persons  paid  twopence  each  for  admission  in  little  more  than  two  hours. 
The  Company,  up  to  January,  1865,  when  the  Cattle-show  was  seriously  affected  by 
the  cattle  plague,  had  paid  four  dividends,  averaging  eight  pounds  per  cent.  Mr.  John 
Clayden  of  Littlebury,  Essex,  is  the  present  chairman.  The  Secretary  and  Manager  of 
the  Hall  is  Mr.  Samuel  Sidney,  a  well-known  writer  on  colonization,  civil  engineering, 
and  agriculture. 

Bakewell  Hall  formerly  stood  in  front  of  the  Guildhall,  over  the  ground  now 
occupied  by  the  Law  Courts,  and  extending  almost  to  Basinghall-street.  ((See  the  Plan 
of  Bassishaw  Ward,  Strype's  Stow,  vol.  i. ;  also  Maitland's  History  of  London ; 
edition  1760,  vol.  ii. ;  Aggas's  Plan  of  London,  1560.  For  a  view  of  the  first  hall, 
in  the  time  of  Henry  VIII.,  see  Newton's  Plan  of  London.)  Stow  says  it  was 
first  called  Basing's  Hall,  after  its  owners,  the  noble  family  of  the  Basings,  who,  in  the 
reign  of  King  John,  were  appointed  chief  magistrates,  and  many  served  the  office  of 
mayor  and  sheriff.  Subsequently,  this  large  building,  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  was 
inhabited  by  Thomas  Bakewell.  In  the  twentieth  year  of  Richard  II.  the  King,  for 
the  sum  of  50Z.  which  the  mayor  and  commonalty  had  paid  into  the  Hanaper,  assigned 
to  them  the  Hall,  gardens,  &c.,  for  the  use  of  the  Corporation  j  and  Bakewell  Hall, 
from  that  time,  was  chiefly  employed  as  a  weekly  market-place  for  woollen  cloths, 
broad  and  narrow,  brought  from  all  parts  of  this  realm  to  be  sold  there.  The  first 
hall  was  taken  down  and  rebuilt  in  the  space  of  ten  months,  in  1558,  at  the  charge  of 
2500£.  300J.  was  a  legacy  of  Mr.  Richard  May,  merchant-tailor ;  but  this  building 
did  not  escape  the  Great  Fire ;  it  was  again  rebuilt  in  1672.  The  Corporation  gave  to 
Christ's  Hospital  the  profit  arising  from  the  lodging  and  pitching  of  the  cloth  in  the 
several  warehouses  or  halls — for  it  was  divided  into  several.  This  last  building  was 
taken  down  to  make  room  for  the  new  Law  Courts.  Bakewell  Hall,  or  Blakewell  Hall, 
as  it  was  subsequently  called  up  to  the  last  century,  was  the  great  cloth-market  of 
London,  and  the  neighbourhood  is  still  noted  for  the  warehouses  of  wholesale  woollen- 
drapers. — W.  H.  Overall,  Guildhall  Libarian :  City  Press. 

Commercial  Hall,  Mincing-lane,  for  the  public  sale  of  colonial  produce,  was  built 
in  1811,  from  the  designs  of  Joseph  Wood,  F.S.A.,  author  of  Letters  from  an  Archi- 
tect j  it  has  some  characteristic  bas-reliefs,  by  J.  G.  Bubb. 

Flaxman  Hall,  University  College,  Gower-street,  is  the  central  apartment  beneath 
the  cupola,  designed  by  Cockerell  and  Donaldson,  for  the  receipt  of  Flaxman's  models, 
presented  by  his  sister-in-law,  Miss  Maria  Denman.  The  collection  consists  of  about 
140  casts  in  plaster  from  the  original  models,  statues  and  groups  of  figures,  and  reliefs, 
some  retouched  by  the  great  sculptor.  Immediately  beneath  the  lantern  is  the  group 
of  Michael  and  Satan ;  and  around  and  above  are  his  monumental  and  other  reliefs, 
arranged  in  compartments.  In  the  niche  in  the  vestibule  is  the  large  group  of 
Hercules  and  Omphale ;  in  adjoining  rooms  are  the  Pastoral  Apollo,  the  Shield  of 
Achilles,  small  models  of  Raphael  and  Michael  Angelo,  and  other  of  Flaxman's  works  j 
and  on  the  landing  is  a  fine  statue  of  the  sculptor  by  M.  L.  Watson. 

Floral  Hall,  at  the  south-east  corner  of  the  Piazza,  Covent  Garden,  was  built  in 
1863,  by  taking  down  a  portion  of  Inigo  Jones's  Arcade;  E.  M.  Barry,  architect.  It 
is  of  iron  and  glass,  and  has  a  large  dome.  It  is  an  adjunct  to  Covent-garden  opera- 
house,  and  occasionally  used  for  concerts,  flower-shows,  &c. 

Hall  of  Commerce,  No.  52,  Threadneedle-street,  was  designed  and  built  in  1840-43 
by  Mr.  Moxhay,  formerly  a  biscuit-baker  in  the  same  street :  it  occupies  the  site  of  the 
French  Protestant  Church,  in  clearing  away  which  a  fine  Roman  tesselated  pavement 
was  discovered,  and  is  now  in  the  British  Museum. 

The  Hall  facade  has  a  bas-relief  73  feet  in  length,  with  life-size  figures,  by  M.  L.  Watson  :  the  cen- 
tral figure  is  Commerce,  with  outspread  wings  and  hands,  encouraging  the  Fine  Arts ;  the  groups 


426  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

symbolizing  the  intellectual  and  physical  advantages  of  Commerce.  Thus,  sinister  are  Peace ;  Industry, 
agricultural  and  mechanical  figures  bringing  fruits  and  produce,  and  others  spinning;  next  is  Naviga- 
tion, guided  by  Astronomy  and  Geography ;  and  Education  and  Civilization,  with  Liberty  freeing  the 
Slave.  Dexter  is  History  ;  next  is  a  group  of  the  Arts  and  Sciences ;  Enterprise  guided  by  Genius, 
and  awaiting  their  arrival  is  a  group  of  aborigines.    The  sculptor  died  young,  in  18-17. 

The  building  was  opened  as  a  mercantile  club-house;  right  and  left  were  two 
superb  halls,  with  Corinthian  columns  and  pilasters,  picturesque  friezes,  and  elegantly 
coved  ceilings.  In  the  larger  hall,  130  feet  long,  44  wide,  and  50  feet  high,  March  1, 
1851,  was  given  the  dinner  to  Mr.  Macready  on  his  retirement  from  the  stage; 
upwards  of  500  guests.  The  Hall  of  Commerce,  after  Mr.  Moxhay's  death  in  1849, 
was  sold  for  44,000£. ;  the  site  alone  is  stated  to  have  cost  him  35,000£.  The  building 
was  next  altered  for  the  Bank  of  London. 

Hicks's  Hail,  whence  the  miles  on  the  Great  North  Road  were  formerly  measured 
(or,  "  from  the  spot  where  Hicks's  Hall  formerly  stood"),  merits  record.  In  the  wide 
part  of  St.  John- street,  Clerkenwell,  some  two  hundred  yards  from  Smithfield,  an 
inscription  on  a  public-house  states  that  Hicks's  Hall  there  formerly  stood.  It  was 
erected  some  two  hundred  and  fifty  years  since — the  year  in  which  the  New  River  was 
brought  into  London.  It  was  built  by  and  named  after  Sir  Baptist  Hicks,  of  Ken- 
sington, one  of  the  justices,  who,  "out  of  his  worthy  disposition,"  gave  it  to  the 
justices  of  the  county  for  ever.  It  got  out  of  repair,  and  much  impeded  the  traffic. 
Another  Sessions- House  was  commenced  building  on  Clerkenwell-green;  this  was  finished 
in  1782  (Rogers,  architect)  :  it  contains  a  carved  chimney-piece,  of  Jacobean  character, 
with  an  inscription  recording  Hicks's  gift,  removed  from  the  old  Sessions- House. 
Strype  says  the  Hall  cost  about  900Z.,  or  thereabouts;  elsewhere,  he  states  600Z. 
Howes  thus  describes  the  building,  and  the  naming  of  it : 

Sir  Baptist  Hicks,  Knight,  one  of  the  justices  of  the  county,  builded  a  very  stately  Session  House 
of  brick  and  stone,  with  all  offices  thereunto  belonging,  at  his  own  proper  charge ;  and  upon  Wednes- 
day, the  13th  of  January,  this  yere,  1612,  by  which  time  this  house  was  fully  finished,  there  assembled 
twenty-six  justices  of  the  county,  being  the  first  day  of  their  meeting  in  that  place,  when  they  were  all 
feasted  by  Sir  Baptist  Hicks;  and  then  they  all,  with  one  consent,  gave  it  a  proper  name,  and  called  it 
Hicks'  Hall,  after  the  name  of  the  founder,  who  then  freely  gave  the  same  house  to  them  and  their  suc- 
cessors for  ever.  Until  this  time,  the  Justices  of  Middlesex  held  their  usual  meeting  in  a  common  inn, 
called  the  Castle  (near  Smithfield  Bars). 

Hicks's  Hall  had  other  celebrity  besides  its  milestone  distinction.  It  occurs  in 
Hudibras,  part  iii.  canto  3  : — 

"  An  old  dull  sot,  who  told  the  clock, 
For  many  years,  at  Bridewell  Dock, 
At  Westminster  and  Hicks's  Hall, 
And  hiccius-doctius  played  in  all." 

In  Hicks's  Hall,  William  Lord  Russell,  the  patriot,  was  sentenced  to  death  for  high 
treason,  July  14,  1683 ;  here,  too,  Count  Koningsmarck  was  tried  for  the  murder  of 
Mr.  Thynne,  and  acquitted ;  and  in  March,  1765,  a  bill  of  indictment  was  found  at 
the  sessions  here  against  Count  de  Guerchy,  for  the  absurd  charge  of  a  conspiracy  to 
murder  the  Chevalier  d'Eon.  Hicks's  Hall,  we  gather  from  a  drawing  in  Mr.  Holbert 
Wilson's  collection,  scarcely  reaches  Howes's  description :  it  was  not  large,  had  a  bay- 
window  in  the  upper  floor,  and  above  it  a  gable. 

Hudson's  Bay  Company's  Hall,  Fenchurch-street,  is  a  handsome  edifice,  with  an 
interesting  collection  of  Curiosities  from  the  countries  to  which  the  Company  trade 
by  barter  and  otherwise,  for  rich  furs,  skins,  &c.,  sold  here  in  spring  and  autumn. 
The  Company  was  incorporated  by  Charles  II.  in  1670.  Their  hunting-ground  extends 
from  Hudson's  Bay  to  the  Pacific,  and  from  the  United  States'  frontier  to  the  Arctic 
Sea.  In  the  Hall  is  a  vast  pair  of  horns  of  the  Moose  Deer,  weighing  56  lbs. ;  and  in 
another  room,  the  picture  of  an  Elk,  the  European  Moose,  killed  in  the  presence  of 
Charles  XI.  of  Sweden:  it  weighed  1229  lbs. 

St.  James's  Hall  and  its  appurtenances  (originated  by  Mr.  Willert  Beale)  are 
situated  between  the  Quadrant  in  Regent-street  and  Piccadilly,  and  Vine-street  and 
George-court.  There  is  a  frontage  in  Regent-street,  and  another  in  Piccadilly;  the 
latter  is  characteristically  embellished  with  a  sculptured  figure  of  Music,  supported  by 
two  Cupids,  in  the  tympanum  over  the  upper  windows ;  and  between  the  upper  and 
lower  window  is  a,  frieze  of  children  playing  various  musical  instruments.     The  interior 


HALLS,  MISCELLANEOUS.  427 

consists  of  a  great  hall  and  two  smaller  halls.  The  dimensions  of  the  great  hall  are 
139  feet  by  60,  and  60  feet  in  height;  and  it  will  seat  ahout  2500  persons.  It  has 
a  semicircular-headed  ceiling,  and  a  recessed  orchestral  gallery  at  one  end,  and  an 
alcove  at  the  other  end,  containing  a  large  organ  hy  Gray  and  Davidson.  The  walls 
and  ceiling  have  heen  decorated  by  Mr.  Owen  Jones.  The  ceiling  is  divided  into 
lozenge-shaped  panels,  by  principal  ribs  that  traverse  the  roof  diagonally,  and  intersect 
each  other  j  within  these  panels  are  others  formed  by  lesser  ribs.  The  semicircular- 
headed  windows  are  surrounded  with  flowing  scroll  ornaments,  on  a  ground  of  orange- 
chrome  yellow  j  and  the  windows  have  groups  of  figures  in  bold  relief,  holding  scrolls, 
on  which  are  inscribed  the  names  of  Mozart,  Handel,  Beethoven,  Haydn,  Auber, 
Meyerbeer,  Spohr,  Weber,  Gluck,  Purcell,  Eossini,  Cherubini,  and  other  eminent  com- 
posers. The  ceiling  is  rich  in  colour  and  gilding ;  the  smaller  panels  are  Alhambran 
gold  on  a  red  ground.  The  Hall  is  not  lighted  at  night  by  a  central  chandelier,  but 
by  gas  stars  of  seven  jets  each,  suspended  from  the  ceiling.  The  figures  in  the  various 
designs  were  modelled  by  Monti ;  the  other  enrichments,  by  De  Sarchy,  are  of  plaster 
and  canvas  run  into  moulds.  The  floor  of  the  Hall  is  of  marqueterie.  Ifc  was  opened 
with  a  musical  performance  for  the  benefit  of  the  Middlesex  Hospital  on  the  25th  of 
March,  1856.     The  Hall  is  not,  however,  appropriated  exclusively  to  music. 

Public  Dinners  are  given  in  this  Hall.  The  first  took  place  June  2, 1858,  Mr.  Robert  Stephenson, 
M.P.,  presiding,  when  handsome  plate  and  2678/.  were  presented  to  Mr.  F.  Pettit  Smith,  in  testimony 
of  his  bringing  into  general  use  the  system  of  Screw  Propulsion  in  ships.  The  subscribers  to  the 
Testimonial  were  138,  chiefly  eminent  naval  officers,  engineers,  ship-builders,  ship-owners,  and  men  of 
science ;  and  the  Festival  intellectually  commemorated  "  one  of  those  bloodless  triumphs  of  civilization, 
of  which  this  age  and  country  have  reason  to  be  proud." 

St.  Martin's  Mtjsic  Hall,  No.  89,  Long  Acre,  was  originally  designed  by  R. 
Westmacott,  for  Mr.  Hullah's  Singing  Classes  :  the  style  Elizabethan,  with  iron  arches 
and  panelled  wood  roof,  of  immense  span ;  the  Hall  was  first  opened  Feb.  11,  1850. 
It  was  partly  destroyed  by  fire,  but  was  restored  and  lengthened  in  1853,  and  is  now 
121  feet  6  inches  long ;  an  entrance-hall  was  then  added. 

Union  Hall,  Union-street,  South wark,  was  built  by  subscription,  upon  the  site  of 
the  Greyhound  inn,  in  1781,  for  the  use  of  the  justices  of  the  peace,  before  which  they 
sat  at  the  Swan  Inn.  They  attended  at  Union  Hall  daily  till  the  passing  of  the  Police 
Act  in  1 793,  when  it  was  made  one  of  the  ofiices ;  the  business  was  next  removed  to  a 
new  oflke  at  Stones'  End ;  Union  Hall  was  then  let  as  warehouses ;  it  was  destroyed  by 
fire  Dec.  6,  1851. 

Wesleyan  Centenary    Hall  and    Mission  House,   Bishopsgate-street,  faces 

Threadneedle-street.     The  Centenary  Hall  was  formerly  the  City  of  London  Tavern. 

The  great  Hall  for  Wesleyan  meetings  will  hold  1200  persons.     In  the  rear  is  the 

Mission  House,  built  in  1842 :  here  is  the  picture  by  Parker  of  the  rescue  of  John 

Wesley  from  the  flames,  when  a  boy.     The  arrangement  of  the  warehouses,  for  books, 

clothes,  implements,  and  other  outfittings  of  the  missionaries,  illustrates  the  extent  of 

the  Society's  transactions  geographically :  here  Ashantee,  there  Tonga ;  there  Caffraria, 

Gambia,  &c. 

An  interesting  Sale  of  Thank-offerings  from  the  Friendly  and  Fejee  Islands  to  the  Wesleyan  Mis- 
sionary Society  was  held  in  their  Hall,  June  19  and  20,1851;  including  temples,  cloths,  and  mats: 
spears  and  clubs,  shells  and  bowls ;  elephants'  and  whales'  teeth ;  costumes,  idols,  and  musical  instru- 
ments ; — all  picturesquely  grouped,  and  touching  as  a  lesson  of  gratitude  exemplary  to  the  silken  baron 
of  civilization. 

Westminster  Guildhall,  on  the  south  side  of  the  Sanctuary,  near  the  Abbey,  was 

built  in  1805,  by  Cockerell,  upon  the  site  of  the  market -house,  erected  by  subscription 

in  1568.     The  Guildhall  is  octagonal  in  plan,  and  has  a  Doric  entrance-portico :  here 

are  held  the  sessions. 

Town  Halls  and  Vestry  Halls  have  been  erected  within  the  last  twenty  yeara 
in  most  of  the  large  parishes  of  the  metropolis  and  its  environs :  some  are  good  specimens 
of  Gothic  and  classic  architecture. 

See  also,  Beidewell,  Chaetee-Hotjse,  Cheist's  Hospital,  Ceosby  Hall, 
Egyptian  Hall,  Exeter  Hall,  Freemasons'  Lodges,  Gresham  Hall,  Lambeth 
Palace.  Halls  are  likewise  attached  to  the  Inns  of  Court  and  Chancery,  which 
see.    Also,  Westminster  Hall. 


428  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

HAYMARKET  {THE). 

"  A  VERY  spacious  and  public  street,  length  340  yards,  where  is  a  great  market  for 
-£*-  hay  and  straw."  {Hatton,  1708).  Hay  was  sold  here  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth; 
and  Aggas's  plan  has  "the  Haymarket,"  with  hedgerows  and  a  few  straggling  houses; 
and  washerwomen  then  dried  their  linen  on  the  grass  of  the  site  of  the  present  Opera- 
house.  A  Token  in  the  British  Museum  denotes  one  of  the  earliest  vendors  of  sea-coal 
to  have  lived  here :  "  Nathaniel  Robins,  at  the  Sea-coal  seller,  1666."  (Reverse.) 
"  Hay  Markett  in  Pickadilla,  his  halfpenny."  Charles  II.  granted  the  right  of  holding 
a  cattle-market  in  the  street  twice  a  week,  opened  1664;  it  was  paved  1697,  by  fines 
on  the  carts;  3d.  for  each  load  of  hay,  and  2d.  for  straw.  The  market  for  Hay  was 
removed  by  Act  of  Parliament,  in  1830,  to  Cumberland  Market,  Regent's  Park. 

The  acclivity  of  the  Haymarket  at  490  feet  from  Piccadilly  was,  in  1812,  1  foot  in 
22 :  this  has  been  ingeniously  overcome  in  building  the  front  of  Her  Majesty's  Theatre, 
the  divisions  of  which  have  been  taken  advantage  of  to  lower  the  lines,  whilst  the  great 
length  of  the  facade  has  rendered  the  rise  unnoticeable :  it  was  designed  by  Novosielski, 
but  re-fronted  by  Nash  and  Repton,  1818.  Nearly  opposite  is  the  Haymarket  Theatre, 
built  by  Nash,  in  1821,  with  a  fine  Corinthian  portico:  the  site  of  Potter's  "Little 
Theatre  "  is  occupied  by  the  Cafe  de  l'Europe. 

Opposite  Her  Majesty's  Theatre  is  Suffolk -place,  leading  to  Suffolk-street,  the  site 
of  a  mansion  of  the  Earls  of  Suffolk.  In  Strype's  time  the  houses  were  handsome : 
Moll  Davies  lived  here  from  1667  to  1673,  in  a  mansion  richly  furnished  for  her  by 
Charles  II„  which  Pepys  thought  "a  most  infinite  shame:"  she  kept  also  "a  mighty 
pretty  fine  coach."  Here  lived  Sir  John  Coventry,  who,  on  his  way  home,  when  at  the 
corner  of  the  street,  had  his  nose  cut  to  the  bone,  "  for  reflecting  on  the  king,"  in  1669 ; 
whence  dates  the  Coventry  Act  against  cutting  and  maiming. 

Suffolk-street  has  some  classic  house-fronts :  No.  2  has  four  characteristic  oil-jars ; 
No.  6,  next  the  Society  of  British  Artists'  Gallery,  is  from  Andrea  Palladio's  house  at 
Vicenza.  The  Gallery,  No.  6^,  has  a  Roman-Doric  tetrastyle  portico  on  three  semi- 
circular arches,  by  Nash :  the  suite  of  five  rooms,  planned  by  James  Elmes,  were  lit  by 
large  ceiling  lanterns,  inclined  from  the  perpendicular,  and  diffusing  even  light.  No. 
19  is  the  stage-door  of  the  Haymarket  Theatre. 

On  the  east  side  of  the  Haymarket  is  James-street,  dated  1673;  where  was  the 
Tennis-court  of  Shavers'  Hall  {see  Tennis,  p.  18),  the  last  house  in  Faithorne's  plan  of 
1658.  Above  is  Panton-street,  which,  with  Panton -square,  Coventry-street,  was 
named  from  Colonel  Panton,  the  ground-landlord :  he  was  a  noted  and  successful 
gamester,  of  the  time  of  the  Restoration,  and  the  last  proprietor  of  Piccadilly  Hall,  which 
stood  at  the  corner  of  Great  Windmill-street  and  Coventry-street :  the  Tennis-court 
remained  to  our  time  in  Great  Windmill-street. 

Colonel  Panton,  it  is  said,  in  one  night  won  as  many  thousands  as  purchased  him  an 
estate  of  above  1500£.  a  year.  After  this  good  fortune  he  would  never  handle  cards  or 
dice  again ;  but  lived  handsomely  on  his  winnings  to  his  dying  day,  which  was  in  the 
year  1681.  He  was  in  possession  of  land,  the  site  of  streets  which  bear  his  name,  as 
Panton-street  and  Panton-square,  as  early  as  the  year  1664.  Yet  we  remember  to 
have  seen  it  stated  that  Panton  street  was  named  from  a  particular  kind  of  horse-shoe 
called  a. panton;  and  from  its  contiguity  to  the  Haymarket,  this  origin  was  long  credited. 

In  1772,  .Puppets  were  exhibited  in  Panton-street,  and  were  visited  by  Burke  and  Goldsmith. 
"Burke  praised  the  dexterity  of  one  puppet  in  particular,  who  tossed  a  pike  with  military  precision. 
'  Psha !'  remarked  Goldsmith,  with  some  warmth,  '  I  can  do  it  better  myself.'  "  (Forster's  Goldsmith.) 
Boswell  relates  that  Goldsmith  "went  home  with  Mr.  B'irke  to  supper,  and  broke  his  shin  by  attempt- 
ing to  exhibit  to  the  company  how  much  better  he  could  jump  over  a  stick  than  the  puppets." 

On  the  west  is  Norris-street,  leading  to  St.  James's  Market,  once  the  great  western 
butchers'  and  poulterers'  market,  noted  by  Pepys  in  J.t>t!t>  as  just  built  by  my  Lord 
St.  Albans :  in  a  room  over  the  market-house  Richard  Baxter  used  to  preach.  Here, 
too,  is  Jermyn- street,  named  after  Henry  Jermyn,  Earl  of  St.  Albans. 

At  the  corner  of  Market-street,  extending  into  Jermyn-street,  lived  Wheeler,  the 
linen-draper,  and  uncle  of  Hannah  Lightfoot,  "the  fair  Quakeress,"  who,  while 
serving  in  her  uncle's  shop,  caught  the  eye  of  Prince  George  (afterwards  King 
George  III.),  in  his  walks  and  rides  from  Leicester  House  to  St.  James's  Palace. 


HOLBORb.  429 


Facing  Piccadilly  Hall,  occupying  the  whole  south  side  of  the  present  Coveutry- 
street,  between  the  Haymarket  and  Hedge-lane,  stood  the  Gaming-house  built  by  the 
barber  of  the  Earl  of  Pembroke,  and  hence  called  Shavers'  Hall :  it  is  described  by 
Garrard,  in  a  letter  to  Lord  Stratford  in  1635  as  "  a  new  Spring  Gardens  erected  in 
the  fields  beyond  the  Mews." 

From  a  survey  of  the  premises,  made  in  1650,  we  gather  that  Shavers'  Hall  was  strongly  built  of 
briek,  and  covered  with  lead :  its  large  "  seller"  was  divided  into  six  rooms :  above  these  four  rooms, 
and  the  same  in  the  first  storey,  to  which  was  a  balcony,  with  a  prospect  southward  to  the  bowling- 
alleys.  In  the  second  storey  were  six  rooms;  and  over  the  same  a  walk,  leaded,  and  enclosed  with 
rails,  "  very  curiously  carved  and  wrought,"  as  was  also  the  staircase,  throughout  the  house.  On  the 
west  were  large  kitchens  and  coal-house,  with  lofts  over,  "  as  also  one  faire  Tennis  Court,"  of  brick, 
tiled,  "  well  accommodated  with  all  things  fitting  for  the  same ;"  with  upper  rooms ;  and  at  the  entrance- 
gate  to  the  upper  bowling-green,  a  parlour-lodge ;  and  a  double  flight  of  steps  descending  to  the  lower 
bowling-alley ;  there  was  still  another  bowling-alley,  and  an  orchard-wall,  planted  with  choice  fruit- 
trees;  -'as  also  one  pleasant  banqueting-house,  and  one  other  faire  and  pleasant  Roome,  called  the 
Greene  Roome,  and  one  other  Conduit-house,  and  2  other  Turrets  auioininge  to  the  walls." 

HOLBORX, 

A  THOROUGHFARE  of  varying  widths,  extends  froni  the  *iorth  end  of  Farringdon- 
street  to  Broad-street,  Bloomsbury.  It  was  anciently  'called  Old-bourne,  from 
being  built  upon  the  side  of  a  brook  or  bourne,  which  "  brqk-e  out  of  the  ground  about 
the  place  where  now  the  bars  do  stand,  and  ran  down  the  whole  street  till  Old-bourne 
Bridge,  and  into  the  River  of  the  Wells,  or  Turnemill  Brook.  W  (Stow.)  1502.  "  The 
deche  from  the  Temse  to  Holborne-brygge  new  cast."  {Grey  Friars'  Chronicle.)  The 
stream  now  runs  the  same  course  along  the  common  sewer ;  and  Che  arch  o£-  Holborn- 
bridge  was  uncovered  in  1811.  Holborn  was  first  paved  in  1417,  at  the  expense  of 
Henry  V.,  when  the  highway  "  was  so  deep  and  miry  that  many  perils  and  hazards 
were  thereby  occasioned,  as  well  to  the  king's  carriages  passing  that  way,  as  to  those 
of  his  subjects."  (Rymer's  Fosdera,  vol.  ix.  p.  447.)  By  this  road  criminals  were  con- 
veyed from  Newgate  and  the  Tower  to  the  gallows  at  St.  Giles's  and  Tyburn ; 
whither  a  ride  in  the  cart  "  up  the  Heavy  Hill"  implied  going  to  be  hung,  in  Ben 
Jonson's  time. 

"  As  clever  Tom  Clinch,  while  the  rabble  was  bawling, 
Rode  stately  through  Holborn  to  die  of  his  calling, 
He  stopt  at  the  George  for  a  bottle  of  sack, 
And  promised  to  pay  for  it  when  he  came  back." — Swift,  1727. 
"An  old  Counsellor  in  Holborn  used  every  execution-day  to  turn  out  his  clerks  with  this  compli- 
ment :  Go,  ye  young  rogues ;  go  to  school  and  improve." — Tom  Brown. 

To  remedy  the  declivities  of  Holborn  and  Snow  Hill,  various  plans  have  been  proposed, 
by  viaducts  crossing  the  valley  of  the  Fleet,  and  otherwise.  Alderman  Skinner,  who 
built  Skinner-street,  proposed  to  construct  a  bridge  from  Snow-hill  across  the  valley 
io  Holborn-hill ;  and  to  lift  the  valley  17  feet  forms  part  of  Mr.  Charles  Pearson's 
plan.  The  traffic  is  much  larger  than  is  generally  believed :  for  example,  of  9950 
vehicles  passing  over  Holborn-hill,  1013,  or  about  one-tenth,  go  up  and  down  from  the 
low  levels ;  and  of  10,723  passing  through  Skinner-street  and  Snow-hill,  3219,  or  about 
three-tenths,  go  up  and  down  from  the  low  levels. 

The  Corporation  plan  provides  that  the  line  of  improvement  from  east  to  west  shall 
commence  at  or  near  the  Old  Bailey,  and  terminate  at  a  point  55  feet  beyond  the 
western  side  of  Hatton-garden  by  a  high-level  roadway  formed  80  feet  wide,  with  an 
almost  imperceptible  gradient.  Farringdon-street  is  to  be  crossed  by  a  bridge  with 
a  minimum  central  headway  of  21  feet.  Two  new  streets  are  to  be  laid  down,  both 
starting  from  Farringdqn-road,  to  afford  communication  for  vehicles  between  the  upper 
and  lower  levels. 

No.  91,  Holborn-hill,  opposite  Shoe-lane,  the  well-known  house  of  Messrs.  Pearon,  was  established  at 
the  beginning  of  the  present  century.    The  amount  of  the  wines  and  spirits  sold  there  was  much 
controverted  in  the  Times  newspaper,  in  1829 :  a  Correspondent,  December  14,  stated  that  he  had 
"  watched  one  shop  in  Holborn,  and  saw,  on  an  average,  six  individuals  enter  per  minute,  being  equal  to 
.    360  in  an  hour."    At  this  time  liquors  were  consumed  upon  the  premises,  but  this  has  long  been  discon- 
tinued.   The  general  business  is  still  very  extensive  at  this  establishment,  and  in  twelve  months  reaches 
a  quarter  of  a  million  customers.    Messrs.  Fearon  have  been  celebrated  in  the  verse  of  Thomas  Hood, 
who,  writing  home  to  his  wife,  in  1835,  from  Rotterdam,  implied  that  he  had  taken  some  English  gin 
with  him  as  a  travelling  companion,  perhaps  a  parting  present  from  Mrs.  Hood;  for  he  says : — 
"  The  flavour  now  of  Fearon's, 
That  mingles  in  my  dram, 
Reminds  me  you're  in  England, 
And  I'm  in  Rotterdam." 
0* 


430  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

And  he  concludes  with — 

"The  girl  I  love  in  England 
I  drink  at  Rotterdam." 

The  founder  of  the  house  was  Mr.  Henry  Bradshaw  Fcaron,  who  visited  America  in  1818,  and  on 
his  return  published  "  A  Narrative  of  a  Journey  of  Five  Thousand  Miles  through  the  Eastern  and 
Western  States." 

On  the  north  side  is  Ely-place,  built  upon  part  of  the  site  of  the  palace  of  the 
Bishops  of  Ely.   (See  Ely  House,  p.  321.) 

In  Holborn  are  Thavie's,  Barnard's,  Furnival's,  Staple's,  and  Gray's  Inns.  (See  Ixns 
op  Court.)  At  the  corner  of  Furnival's  Inn,  and  in  Queen-street,  Cheapside,  Mr. 
Edward  Kidder,  the  famous  pastry-cook  (who  died  April,  1739,  aged  73  years),  had  two 
schools,  in  which  he  taught  nearly  six  thousand  ladies  the  art  of  making  pastry. 
Kidder  published  his  receipts,  engraved  on  copper,  in  a  thin  8vo,  with  his  portrait 
as  a  frontispiece. 

At  No.  39,  Brooke-street,  died  Chatterton.  Of  the  house,  occupied  by  Mr.  Jefford, 
a  plumber,  Mr.  Hotten,  in  his  Adversaria,  gives  these  very  interesting  reminiscences : — 

"  We  know,  from  the  account  of  Sir  Herbert  Croft,  that  Chatterton  occupied  the  garret — a  room  look- 
ing out  into  the  street,  as  the  only  garret  in  this  house  does.  I  remember  this  room  very  well,  as  it  was 
twenty-six  years  ago,  soon  after  which  the  occupier  made  some  alterations  in  it.  It  must  then  have 
been  substantially  in  the  same  condition  as  in  1770 ;  for  the  walls  were  old  and  dilapidated,  and  the 
flooring  decayed.  It  was  a  square  and  rather  large  room  for  an  attic.  It  had  two  windows  in  it — 
lattice-windows  or  casements — built  in  a  style  which  I  think  is  called  "  Dormer."  Outside  ran  the 
gutter,  with  a  low  parapet-wall,  over  which  you  could  look  into  the  street  below.  The  roof  was  very 
low,  so  low,  that  I,  who  am  not  a  tall  man,  could  hardly  stand  upright  in  it  with  my  hat  on ;  and  it  had 
a  very  long  slope  extending  from  the  middle  of  the  room  down  to  the  windows.  It  is  a  curious  fact, 
that  in  the  well-known  picture  (The  Death  of  Chatterton,  by  Wallis)  exhibited  at  Manchester,  St.  Paul's 
is  /visible  through  the  window :  I  say  a  singular  fact,  because,  although  this  is  strictly  in  accordance 
with  the  truth,  as  now  known,  the  story  previously  believed  was,  that  the  house  was  opposite,  where  no 
room  looking  into  the  street  could  have  commanded  a  view  of  St.  Paul's.  This,  however,  could  only 
have  been  a  lucky  accident  of  the  painter's.  About  the  period  I  have  mentioned,  the  tenant  divided  the 
garret  into  two  with  a  partition,  carried  the  roof  up,  making  it  horizontal,  and  made  some  other  altera- 
tions, which  have  gone  far  to  destroy  the  identity  of  the  room.  It  is  a  singular  coincidence,  seeing  the 
connexion  between  the  names  of  Walpole  and  Chatterton,  that  my  friend,  Mrs.  Jefford,  the  wife  of  the 
now  occupier,  who  has  resided  there  more  than  twenty  years,  was  for  some  years  in  the  service  of  Horace 
Walpole,  afterwards  Lord  Orford.  She  is  a  very  old  lady,  and  remembers  Lord  Orford  well,  having 
entered  his  family  as  a  girl,  and  continued  in  it  till  he  died,  near  the  end  of  the  last  century." 

Gerarde,  the  herbalist,  had  a  large  physic-garden  in  Holborn.  Howel  dates  one  of 
his  Familiar  Letters,  Holborn,  3  Jan.  1641,  "to  Sir  Kenelm  Digby,  at  his  house  in 
Saint  Martin's-lane."  Sir  Kenelm  lived,  before  the  Civil  Wars,  between  King-street 
and  Southampton-street ;  Milton  in  Holborn-row,  in  -a  house  opening  into  Lincoln's- 
inn-fields ;  and  Dr.  Johnson,  in  1748,  at  the  Golden  Anchor,  Holborn-bars.  These 
were  the  City  boundaries,  now  marked  by  two  granite  obelisks  near  Middle-row,  at 
the  south-east  corner  of  which  Sir  James  Branscomb  kept  a  lottery-office  forty  years  : 
he  had  been  footman  to  the  Earl  of  Gainsborough,  and  was  knighted  when  sheriff  of 
London  and  Middlesex  in  1806. 

Next  is  Middle-row,  which  has,  for  two  centuries,  been  considered  an  obstruction. 
Howel,  in  his  Perlustration  of  London,  1657,  p.  344,  observes : — "  Southward  of 
Gray's-inn-lane  there  is  a  row  of  small  bouses,  which  is  a  mighty  hindrance  to  Holborn 
in  point  of  prospect,  which,  if  they  were  taken  down,  there  would  be  from  Holborn 
Conduit  to  St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields  one  of  the  fairest  rising  streets  in  the  world." 
These  obstructive  buildings  have  been  condemned  for  removal.  The  old  row  is  shown 
in  Faithorne's  Iclmographical  Delineation  of  London  in  the  reign  of  Charles  I.,  a  fac- 
simile of  which,  engraved  on  copper,  has  lately  been  executed. 

Southampton-buildings,  Holborn,  denotes  the  site  of  the  mansion  of  the  Wriothesleys, 
Earls  of  Southampton ;  and  Brooke-street  that  of  the  residence  of  Sir  Fulke  Greville, 
Lord  Brooke,  the  friend  of  Sir  Philip  Sidney.  Gate-street,  and  Great,  Little,  and  New 
Turnstiles,  lead  into  Lincoln's-Inn-fields ;  between  the  north  side  of  which  and  the 
south  side  of  Holborn  is  Whetstone's  Park,  a  profligate  resort  of  two  centuries  since, 
commemorated  in  the  plays  of  Dryden,  Shadwell,  and  Wycherley. 

Paul  Whitehead  was  born  in  Castle-yard,  Holborn,  on  6th  February,  1710,  o.s.,  being  St.  Paul's-day, 
from  which  circumstance  he  is  said  to  have  derived  his  Christian  name,  ludicrously  unsuitable  to  his 
character,  and  made  more  memorably  ridiculous  by  his  brother  satirist  Churchill's  well-known 
lines : — 

"  May  I  (can  worse  disgrace  o'er  manhood  fall  ?) 
Be  born  a  Whitehead,  and  inspired  a  Paul." 


HOLLAND  SOUSE,  KENSINGTON.  431 

On  the  north  side  of  High  Holborn,  between  Nos.  110  and  77  (see  boundary-marks 
in  the  pavement),  is  the  Holborn  Charity  Estate  of  St.  Clement  Danes  parish, 
which  plot  of  ground  and  some  old  buildings  were  purchased  in  1552,  for  160Z.,  when 
Holborn  was  almost  a  country  road  from  the  City  to  the  village  of  St.  Giles.  The  pro- 
perty now  produces  40001.  a  year,  expended  in  schools,  almshouses,  and  other  charities. 
The  almshouses  were  first  built  at  the  east  end  of  St.  Clement's  Church,  Strand ;  next, 
about  1790,  at  the  back  of  Clement's  Inn  Hall ;  and  in  1848-9  the  Charity  was  removed 
to  forty  almshouses  built  in  Garratt-lane,  Streatham :  infant-schools  were  erected  in  Mil- 
ford-lane,  Strand,  in  1852.  Upon  the  Holborn  Estate  is  Day  and  Martin's  Blacking 
Factory,  No.  97,  built  at  a  cost  of  12,0O0Z. :  here  Mr.  Day  amassed  great  wealth,  and, 
dying  in  1836,  left  100,000Z.  for  the  benefit  of  persons,  like  himself,  deprived  of  sight. 

In  Endell-street  (formerly  Old  Belton-street),  High  Holborn,  leading  to  Long-acre, 
on  the  east  side,  is  the  Early  English  Christ  Church,  erected  in  1845 ;  next  is  the 
British  Lying-in  Hospital,  a  picturesque  Elizabethan  structure,  built  in  1849 ;  and  a 
handsome  Italianized  edifice  for  Baths  and  Wash-houses,  built  in  1852,  not  far  from 
the  site  of  "  Queen  Anne's  Bath ;"  whilst,  nearly  in  a  line  with  Endell-street,  are 
the  Industrial  Schools,  opened  in  1852 ;  and  in  Bloomsbury-street,  northward,  side 
by  side,  are  three  chapels  in  Early  Pointed,  Lombardic,  and  rococo  styles :  six  of  these 
seven  edifices  of  religion  and  philanthropy  were  erected  within  eight  years. 

Kingsgate-street,  between  116  and  117  High  Holborn,  is  named  from  the  King's- 
gate,  this  being  the  royal  road  to  Newmarket  j  and  Pepys  records,  3  March,  1668-9, 
the  King  and  the  Duke  of  York,  and  the  Duke  of  Moumouth,  leaving  Whitehall  at 
three  in  the  morning,  in  their  coach,  which  was  overset  at  the  King's-gate :  "  it  was 
dark,  and  the  torches  did  not,  they  say,  light  the  coach  as  they  should  do."  Here,  in 
1852,  was  an  old  public-house,  sign  the  Red  Gate. 

In  Holborn  also  are  Field-lane,  Ely-place,  Fettee-lane,  Fulwood's-bents, 
Chanceey-lane,  and  Deuby-lane,  which  names  see.  From  Farringdon-street  to 
Fetter-lane  is  "  Holborn  Hill  f  Fetter-lane  to  Brooke-street,  "  Holborn  •"  and  from 
Brooke-street  to  Drury-lane,  "  High  Holborn." 

On  the  soutb  side,  nearly  upon  the  site  of  Warwick  House,  is  the  Holborn  Theatre, 

built  in  1866,  and  opened  Oct.  6. 

In  the  reign  of  Edward  the  Sixth,  the  authorities  ordered  the  removal  of  all  the  King's  revels  and 
masques  from  Warwick  House,  Holborn,  to  "the  late  dissolved  house  of  Blackfriars,  London."  The 
players  who  removed  from  Holborn  to  Blackfriars  opened  the  latter  theatre  with  scenery  and  machinery, 
long  before  the  period  at  which  those  adjuncts  are  said  to  have  been  introduced  by  Davenant.  When 
the  Puritans  closed  the  theatres,  the  ejected  actors  complained  that  they  were  not  allowed  to  act  at  all, 
while  the  drama  of  "  Bel  and  the  Dragon,"  performed  by  puppets,  was  creating  an  uproar  at  the  foot 
of  Holborn-bridge. — Athenceum,  No.  2033. 

On  the  north  side  was  the  old  historic  inn,  the  George  and  Blue  Boar,  upon  the  site 
of  which  has  been  erected  the  Inns  of  Court  Hotel. 

HOLLAND  SOUSE,  KENSINGTON, 

A  LITTLE  west  of  the  town,  and  about  two  miles  from  the  metropolis,  is  a  pic- 
turesque Elizabethan  pile,  placed  in  a  beautiful  park  about  midway  between  the 
Kensington  and  Uxbridge  roads.  This  mansion,  which  is  the  manor-house  of  Abbots 
Kensington,  was  built  in  1607  for  Sir  Walter  Cope,  and  descended  to  his  son-in-law, 
Henry  Rich,  first  Earl  of  Holland  ;  whence  it  was  named  Holland  House.  The  Earl 
was  twice  made  prisoner  here — by  Charles  I.  in  1633,  for  his  challenging  Lord  Weston ; 
and  by  command  of  the  Parliament,  after  his  attempt  to  restore  the  king,  for  which 
he  was  beheaded  in  1649.  Holland  House  was  next  occupied  by  Sir  Thomas  Fairfax, 
afterwards  Lord,  the  Parliamentary  General,  as  his  head-quarters. 

"  The  Lord-General  (Fairfax)  is  removed  from  Queen-street  to  the  late  Earl  of  Holland's  house  at 
Kensington,  where  he  intends  to  reside." — Perfect  Diurnal,  9th  to  16th  July,  1649. 

The  mansion  was,  however,  soon  restored  to  the  Countess  of  Holland.  During  the 
Protectorate,  "  in  Oliver's  time,"  plays  were  privately  performed  here.  In  1716  the 
estate  passed  to  Addison  the  Essayist,  by  his  marriage  with  Charlotte,  Countess 
Dowager  of  Holland  and  Warwick ;  and  here  Addison  died  June  17,  1719 :  having 


432  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

addressed  to  the  dissolute  Earl  of  Warwick  these  solemn  words  :  "  I  have  sent  for  you 
that  you  may  see  how  a  Christian  can  die  !"  he  shortly  after  expired  : 

"  There  taught  us  how  to  live,  and — oh,  too  high 
The  price  of  knowledge  ! — taught  us  how  to  die." 

The  young  Earl  himself  died  in  1721.  Ahout  the  year  1762,  the  estate  was  sold  to 
Henry  Fox,  the  first  Baron  Holland  of  that  name,  whose  second  son,  Charles  James 
Fox,  passed  his  early  years  at  Holland  House ;  and  here  lived  his  nephew,  the  accom- 
plished peer,  at  whose  death,  in  1840,  the  estate  descended  to  his  only  son,  the  last- 
Lord  Holland,  by  whom  the  olden  character  of  the  mansion  and  its  appurtenances 
was  studiously  maintained  :  the  latest  restorations  are  by  Barry,  B.A. 

Thorpe's  drawings  of  Holland  House  are  preserved  in  the  Soanean  Museum.  Its 
plan  is  that  of  half  the  letter  H ;  it  first  consisted  of  the  centre  and  turrets  only,  to 
which  Henry  Rich,  Earl  of  Holland,  added  the  wings,  and  their  connecting  arcades  : 
the  materials  are  deep-red  brick,  with  stone  finishings ;  but  the  exterior  has  lost  many 
of  its  original  features.  Eastward  is  a  stone  gateway,  designed  by  Inigo  Jones,  and 
carved  by  N.  Stone ;  the  lodges  and  enriched  metal  gates  in  the  Kensington-road  were 
added  in  1838.  The  raised  terrace,  with  an  open  parapet  and  vases  of  plants,  was 
added  to  the  south  front  in  1848,  when  also  the  public  footpath  was  diverted  to  the 
east  side  of  the  Park.  In  the  Hall  is  the  model  of  Westmacott's  statue  of  Fox,  erected 
in  Bloomsbury-square.  In  the  Journal-room  (which  contains  a  complete  set  of  the 
Journals  of  the  Lords  and  Commons)  is  a  large  collection  of  preserved  birds,  reptiles, 
insects,  shells,  minerals,  &c.  The  Great  Staircase  and  the  Gilt  Boom  are  of  the  time 
of  James  I. ;  the  former  has  massive  balustrades,  carved  into  arches,  &c.  The  Gilt 
Boom  is  mostly  by  Francis  Cleyn,  who  was  much  employed  by  James  I.  and 
Charles  I. :  the  ceiling  "  in  grotesque,"  by  Cleyn,  fell  down  during  the  minority  of  the 
third  Lord  Holland ;  the  wainscot  panels  have  alternately  gold  fleurs-de-lis  on  blue, 
within  palm-branches ;  and  gold  crosslets  on  red,  encircled  with  laurel ;  with  the  arms 
of  the  Rich  and  Cope  families,  and  the  punning  motto,  Ditior  est  qui  se? — Who  more 
rich  than  he  ?  The  entablature  has  a  painted  leaf  enrichment,  with  gilt  acorns  be- 
tween ;  the  compartments  of  the  two  fire-places  are  painted  with  female  figures  and 
bas-reliefs  from  the  antique  fresco  of  the  Aldobrandini  Marriage,  executed  by  Cleyn, 
and  not  unworthy  of  Parmegiano  :  among  the  furniture  are  carved  and  gilt  shell-back 
chairs,  also  by  Cleyn,  and  a  table  from  the  Charter-house  hall.  Here  are  marble  busts 
of  George  IV.  when  Regent;  William  IV.;  Henry  IV.  of  France;  the  Duke  of 
Sussex ;  the  Duke  of  Cumberland  of  Culloden,  by  Rysbrack ;  the  third  Lord  Holland ; 
C.  J.  Fox,  by  Nollekens,  a  duplicate  made  for  the  Empress  Catherine  of  Russia ; 
Napoleon,  by  Milne;  Ariosto,  copied  from  his  tomb;  and  Henry  Fox,  first  Lord 
Holland,  often  declared  by  Bartolozzi  to  be  "  one  of  the  finest  specimens  of  sculpture 
since  the  days  of  Phidias  or  Praxiteles."  In  the  bow  recess  are  models  of  Henry 
Earl  of  Pembroke  and  Thomas  Winnington,  Esq.  (See  Bichardson's  Architectural 
Remains  of  the  Reigns  of  Elizabeth  and  James  I.) 

In  the  breakfast-room  are  family  portraits  by  Lely,  Kneller,  Beynolds,  Hoppner, 
&c. ;  and  in  the  Great  Drawing-room  (40  feet  by  18  feet)  are  some  very  fine  pictures, 
including  a  scene  by  Hogarth  from  Drydeu's  Indian  Emperor,  acted  by  children,  all 
portraits ;  a  Sea-port,  by  Velasquez ;  a  Holy  Family,  on  copper,  by  Murillo ;  a  Man 
and  Boy  eating  Fruit,  by  Velasquez ;  Hope  nourishing  Love ;  and  half-lengths  of 
Garrick  and  Sterne,  by  Beynolds.  The  Library,  or  Long  Gallery,  102  feet  by  17  feet 
4  inches,  forms  the  eastern  wing  of  the  mansion :  the  collection  exceeds  18,000,  besides 
MSS.  and  autographs,  including  three  plays  of  Lope  de  Vega.  In  the  other  apartments 
are  valuable  pictures,  miniatures,  drawings,  sculptures ;  with  enriched  cabinets,  vases, 
carvings  in  ivory,  china,  filagree-work,  time-pieces,  &c.  In  the  Ante-room  is  the 
famous  collection  of  miniatures.  Here,  too,  is  Beynolds's  celebrated  picture  of  Lady 
Susan  Lennox  leaning  from  a  bay-window  on  the  north  side  of  Holland  House,  to 
receive  a  dove  from  Lady  Susan  Strangways,  near  whom  is  Charles  James  Fox, 
when  a  boy  of  fourteen. 

This  "  brave  old  house"  is  charmingly  placed  upon  high  ground  : 

"  Thou  hill,  whose  brow  the  antique  structures  grace." 

Tickell,  On  the  Death  of  Addison 


HORSE-FERRY  (THE).  433 


the  upper  apartments  are  stated  to  be  on  a  level  with  the  stone  gallery  of  St.  Paul's 
Cathedral.  The  southern  park  is  enclosed  with  noble  elms.  Against  the  house  grow 
some  curious  old  exotic  plants.  The  gardens  abound  with  architectural  quaintness : 
of  parterres  in  Italian  scrolls  and  devices,  and  box  and  dwarf  oaks  clipped  into  globes ; 
flower  beds  in  the  forms  of  a  fox  (in  allusion  to  the  family  name),  and  the  old  Eng- 
lish 1§  ;  the  effect  of  the  flowers  aided  by  coloured  sand,  and  the  outlines  of  box-edging. 
In  a  parterre  near  the  house,  upon  a  granite  column,  is  a  bronze  bust  of  Buonaparte, 
by  Canova,  the  pillar  inscribed  with  a  verse  from  Homer's  Odyssey  ,•  and  in  the  north 
garden-wall  is  an  arbour  with  this  distich  by  Vassall  Lord  Holland : 

"  Here  Rogebs  sat — and  here  for  ever  dwell 
With  me  those  '  Pleasures'  which  he  sang  so  well." — VI'.  Hd. 

Beneath  are  some  lines  added  in  1818  by  Henry  Luttrel. 

In  the  French  garden,  in  1804,  was  first  raised  in  England  the  Dahlia,  from  seeds 

sent  to  Vassall  Lord  Holland  from  Spain.     The  grounds  westward,  with  their  stately 

oaks  and  cedars,  were  laid  out  and  planted  in  1769  by  the  Hon.  Charles  Hamilton,  of 

Pains  Hill,  in  Surrey. 

Auhrey  relates  two  supernatural  appearances  at  Holland  House :  the  first  to  "  the  beautiful  Lady 
Diana  Rich,  daughter  to  the  Earl  of  Holland,  as  she  was  walking  in  her  father's  garden  at  Kensing- 
ton," when  she  "met  with  her  own  apparition,  habit  and  every  thing,  as  in  a  looking-glass.  About  a 
month  after  she  died  of  the  small-pox."  Aubrey's  second  story  is  that  the  third  daughter  of  Lord 
Holland,  not  long  after  her  marriage  with  the  first  Earl  of  Breadalbane,  "  had  some  such  warning  of 
approaching  dissolution." 

In  a  meadow  west  of  Holland  House  was  fought,  March  7,  1804,  a  fatal  duel 
between  the  late  Lord  Camelford  and  Captain  Best,  RJJ. :  upon  the  spot  where  Lord 
Camelford  fell  is  an  antique  Roman  altar,  placed  there  and  thus  inscribed  by  Vassall 
Lord  Holland :  "  Hoc  dIs  man  .  voto  discobdiam  depbecamttb." 

The  Highland  and  Scottish  Societies'  gatherings,  with  their  characteristic  sports  and 
pastimes,  have  been  frequently  held  in  Holland  Park  north,  since  1849. 

There  is  a  traditional  story  that  Addison,  to  escape  from  his  termagant  countess, 
often  walked  from  Holland  House  to  the  White  Horse  Inn,  at  the  corner  of  "  Lord 
Holland's  Lane"  (no  longer  a  thoroughfare),  on  the  site  of  the  present  Holland  Arms 
Inn  j  and  there  enjoyed  "  his  favourite  dish,  a  fillet  of  veal,  his  bottle,  and  perhaps  a 
friend."     (Spence.)     Before  his  marriage,  Addison  lived  in  Kensington-square. 

Holland  House  is  associated  "  with  the  courtly  magnificence  of  Rich,  with  the  loves  of  Ormond,  the 
councils  of  Cromwell,  with  the  death  of  Addison."  It  has  been  for  nearly  two  centuries  and  a  half  the 
favourite  resort  of  wits  and  beauties,  of  painters  and  poets,  of  scholars,  philosophers,  and  statesmen. 
In  the  lifetime  of  Vassall  Lord  Holland  it  was  the  meeting-place  of  "  the  Whig  Party ;"  and  his  liberal 
hospitality  made  it  "  the  resort  not  only  of  the  most  interesting  persons  composing  English  society, 
literary,  philosophical,  and  political,  but  also  to  all  belonging  to  those  classes  who  ever  visited  this 
country  from  abroad."  (Lord  Brougham.)  In  this  delightful  circle,  "  every  talent  and  every  accomplish- 
ment, every  art  and  science,  had  its  place.  .  .  The  last  debate  was  discussed  in  one  corner,  and  the 
last  comedy  of  Scribe  in  another;  while  Wilkie  gazed  with  admiration  on  Reynolds's  Baretti;  while 
Mackintosh  turned  over  Thomas  Aquinas  to  verify  a  quotation;  while  Talleyrand  related  his  conversa- 
tion with  Barras  at  the  Luxembourg,  or  his  ride  with  Lannes  over  the  fields  of  Austerlitz."  (Murray's 
Environs  of  London.)  "  Holland  House "  (says  Macaulay)  "  can  boast  of  a  greater  number  of 
inmates  distinguished  in  political  and  literary  history  than  any  other  private  dwelling  in  England." 

HORSE-FERRY  {THE), 

BETWEEN  Westminster  and  Lambeth,  was  the  only  Horse-ferry  permitted  on  the 
Thames  at  London,  and  was  grantee?  by  patent  to  the  Archbishop  of  Canterbury  j 
the  ferry-boat  station  being  near  the  palace-gate.  Here  were  two  inns  for  the  recep- 
tion of  travellers,  who  arriving  at  night,  did  not  choose  to  cross  the  water  at  such  an 
hour,  or  in  case  of  bad  weather,  might  prefer  waiting  for  better.  On  opening  West- 
minster Bridge,  1750,  the  ferry  ceased,  and  compensation  was  granted  to  the  See. 
(Bbidges,  p.  69.) 

The  rates  were,  for  a  man  and  horse,  2s. ;  horse  and  chaise,  Is. ;  coach  and  two 
horses,  Is.  6d. ;  coach  and  four  horses,  2*. ;  coach  and  six  horses,  2s.  Qd. ;  cart  loaded, 
2s.  Qd.;  cart  or  wagon,  each  2s. 

At  the  time  of  the  Usurpation,  a  wooden  house  was  built  for  a  small  guard  posted  here.  M.  de 
Lauzun  mentions  the  ferry  in  his  account  of  the  escape  of  the  Queen  of  James  II.,  Dec.  9,  1688 :  Sir 
Edward  Hales  being  in  attendance  with  a  hackney-coach,  "  we  drove  from  Whitehall  to  Westminster, 
and  arrived  safely  at  the  place  called  the  Horse-ferry,  where  I  had  engaged  a  boat  to  wait  for  me." 

The  same  author  adds :  "  The  King,  attended  by  Sir  Edward  Hales,  who  was  waiting  for  him, 


434  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

descended  the  back  stairs,  and  crossing  Privy  Gardens,  as  the  Queen  had  done  two  nights  before,  pro- 
ceeded to  the  Horse-ferry,  and  crossed  the  Thames  in  a  little  boat  with  a  single  pair  of  oars  to  Vauxhall. 
He  threw  the  Great  Seal  into  the  river  by  the  way ;  but  it  was  afterwards  recovered,  in  a  net  cast  at 
random,  by  some  fishermen." 

"  Very  early  one  morning,  the  Duke  of  Marlborough,  with  his  hounds,  desired  to  cross  by  the  Terry ; 
one  Wharton,  the  waterman  at  hand,  was  subsequently  rewarded  by  the  Duke  obtaining  for  him  a 
grant  of  the  Ferry-house,  the  present  owner  of  which  is  a  descendant  of  Wharton." — Walcott's  West- 
minster,  1849,  p.  333. 

HORSE-GUARDS  (THE), 

AT  Whitehall,  is  named  from  a  troop  of  Horse-Guards  being  constantly  on  duty 
here :  the  buildings  comprise  the  offices  of  the  Secretary -at- War,  the  Commander- 
in-Chief,  the  Adjutant-General,  and  Quartermaster-General.  The  Horse-Guards  were 
originally  raised  by  Charles  II.,  who  had  built  fon  them  stables  and  barracks  in  the 
Tilt-yard  of  Whitehall,  which  Pennant  has  engraved,  with  "  the  Banqueting-house, 
orje  of  the  gates,  the  Treasury  in  its  ancient  state,  and  the  top  of  the  Cock-pit  in  the 
back  view."  These  stables  and  barracks  were  removed  in  1751,  and  the  present 
Horse-Guards  was  built  of  stone  from  a  design  commenced  by  Vardy,  and  completed 
by  Kent,  "  broken  into  complex  forms,  much  in  the  picturesque  style  of  Vanbrugh." 
(Weale's  London.)  It  consists  of  a  centre  and  two  pavilion  wings,  with  a  turret  and 
clock;  the  west  front  opening  into  St.  James's  Park,  by  alow  and  mean  archway; 
the  entree  for  carriages  is  only  for  royal  and  other  privileged  personages.  In 
the  rear  is  the  parade-ground,  part  of  the  ancient  Tilt-yard,  with  a  guard  station  for 
infantry;  and  here  inspections  of  the  troops  take  place.  In  the  vestibule  of  the 
building  is  the  boundary-line  of  the  parishes  of  St.  Martin's  and  St.  Margaret's,  West- 
minster, denoted  by  inscriptions.  In  the  Audience-room,  facing  the  Park,  the  Military 
Secretary  and  the  Commander  of  the  Forces  hold  their  levees  :  here  are  portraits,  by 
Gainsborough,  of  George  III.  and  his  Consort;  and  a  bust  of  Field  Marshal  the  Duke  of 
York.  Attached  to  the  Quartermaster-General's  office  is  a  Board  of  Topography,  with  a 
depot  of  maps,  plans,  and  a  library  of  military  works.  In  the  Guards'  Mess-room  is  a 
portrait  of  Aubrey  de  Vere,  Earl  of  Oxford,  in  armour,  commander  of  Charles  II.'s 
"  Kegiment  of  Horse,"  and  after  whom  were  named  the  "  Oxford  Blues,"  now  the 
Royal  Horse-Guards  Blue. 

In  two  stone  alcoves,  flanking  the  gates,  facing  Whitehall,  is  stationed  a  guard  of  two  mounted 
cavalry  soldiers  from  ten  to  four  o'clock,  relieved  every  two  hours ;  when  the  doors  in  the  rear  are 
thrown  open,  and  the  two  relieving  guards  enter ;  whilst  those  relieved  ride  out  in  front,  describe  a 
semicircle,  meet,  and  ride  side  by  side  through  the  central  gate,  and  so  back  to  their  stable.  Orders 
concerning  all  the  the  Guards  in  London  are  given  out  by  the  field  officer  on  duty  at  the  Horse-Guards. 
The  marching  and  countermarching  of  the  Guards  drawn  from  the  cavalry  barracks  at  Knightsbridge 
and  the  Regent's  Park,  is  a  picturesque  scene,  as  the  troop  passes  through  the  Parks,  on  the  march 
line  of  Portland-place,  Regent-street,  and  Waterloo-place:  their  stately  cuirassed  and  helmeted 
figures,  and  the  splendour  of  their  accoutrements,  rendering  them  the  most  magnificent  "  Household 
troops  "  in  Europe. 

The  Horse-Guards'  Clock  has  about  the  same  popular  reputation  for  correct  time  at 
the  west  end  of  the  town,  that  St.  Paul's  clock  holds  in  the  City.  The  Horse-Guards' 
Clock  was  originally  made  by  Thwaites,  in  1756.  The  Clock  was  repaired,  and  im- 
provements added  by  Vulliamy  and  Sons,  1815-16 :  it  has  since  measured  time  with 
sufficient  accuracy  for  any  practical  purpose  not  connected  with  astronomical  observa- 
tions ;  but  much  of  its  reputation  may  be  conventional — from  the  rigid  punctuality  with 
which  the  slightest  military  movement  is  executed.  The  dials  are  each  7  feet  5  inches 
diameter,  and  painted  white,  with  black  numerals  and  hands ;  the  Whitehall  dial  is 
very  effectively  illuminated  at  night  by  a  strong  light  thrown  from  a  lamp,  with  a 
reflector,  placed  on  the  projecting  roof  in  front  of  the  clock-tower. 

On  the  night  before  the  Funeral  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  Nov.  18, 1852,  the  remains  were  removed 
from  Chelsea  Hospital  to  the  Audience  Room  in  the  Horse-Guards.  Upon  the  parade-ground  was 
erected  a  gigantic  pavilion, beneath  which  was  the  car  of  state,  upon  which,  next  mornintr,  was  placed  the 
coffin.  At  the  word  of  command,  "  Present  a?ms !"  every  musket  and  sword  were  raised,  the  muffled 
drums  gave  a  long  and  heavy  roll,  minute-guns  fired  a  funeral  salute,  the  troops  were  ordered  to 
"  Reverse  arms  1"  and  there,  in  the  attitude  of  mourners,  and  in  view  of  the  body  of  the  illustrious 
deceased,  the  military  awaited  the  signal  to  move  off.  The  word  of  command  was  given;  every  band 
played  "the  Dead  March  in  Saul;"  a  tremendous  roll  of  drums  denoted  that  the  Coldstreams  were 
in  motion,  and  the  procession  moved  on.  The  twelve  horses  attached  to  the  funeral  car  drew  it  from 
under  the  tent ;  the  colonels  carrying  the  bannerols  surrounded  the  car,  and  their  gaily-painted  flags, 
the  rich  bronze  of  the  car,  the  gilt  bier,  the  trophies  of  modern  arms,  the  canopy  of  silver  tissue  and 
the  crimson  and  gold  of  the  coffin,  the  pall  powdered  with  silver  heraldic  collars ;  with  such  pomp 
and  statcliness,  the  mortal  remains  of  Wellington  left  the  scene  consecrated  by  his  labours  no  less  than 
by  hi3  victories. 


HOSPITALS.  435 


HOSPITALS. 

OF  the  Charitable  Institutions  of  the  Metropolis,  one  quarter  consists  of  General 
Hospitals,  Medical  Charities  for  special  purposes,  Dispensaries,  and  Societies  for 
the  preservation  of  life  and  public  morals,  mostly  supported  by  donations  and  annual 
subscriptions.  We  can  only  describe  a  few  of  such  of  these  establishments  as  have 
remarkable  histories. 

Of  the  Five  ancient  Royal  Hospitals  of  the  City  of  London,  three  are  Medical :  two 
of  these  have  been  described  as  follows: — St.  Bartholomew's,  p.  36  ;  Bethlehem, 
p.  t>6.  The  third,  St.  Thomas's  Hospital,  Southwark,  was  originally  a  house  of 
alms,  founded  by  the  Prior  of  Bermondseye,  in  1213,  adjoining  the  wall  of  that 
monastery.  After  the  Surrender  in  1539,  it  was  purchased  by  the  City  of  London, 
chartered,  in  1551,  as  one  of  the  five  royal  foundations,  and  opened  in  1552.  In  1569, 
the  funds  were  so  low  that  a  lease  was  pawned  for  50Z.  Strange  mutations  have  come 
over  this  spot,  which  for  six  centuries  and  a  half  had  been  the  site  of  a  Hospital,  or 
nearly  three  centuries  and  a  half  before  it  was  refounded  and  endowed  by  the  pious 
King  Edward  VI.,  who  confirmed  the  gift  only  ten  days  before  his  death  j  and  it  was 
delivered  over  by  charter  (the  5th  and  7th  of  Edward  VI.)  to  the  mayor,  commonalty, 
and  citizens  of  London,  and  was  named  the  London  House  of  the  Poor  in  Southwark, 
to  be  situated  in  London  or  Southwark,  for  poor,  sick,  infirm,  wayfaring  people.  Much 
injury  was  done  to  the  property  belonging  to  the  establishment  by  the  fires  which  took 
place  in  Southwark  in  1676,  1681,  and  1689,  although  the  Hospital  itself  suffered  no 
damage  on  either  occasion.  The  Fire  of  1676  consumed  five  hundred  houses  in  Southwark, 
"  yet,"  says  Hatton,  "  as  by  the  particular  will  of  Heaven,  was  extinguished  at  this  Hos- 
pital." However,  at  the  close  of  the  seventeenth  century  the  buildings  had  become  so 
much  decayed  that  there  was  founded  a  subscription  fund,  to  which  Robert  Clayton, 
the  President,  contributed  600Z. ;  he  also  bequeathed  to  the  sick  poor  2300Z.  The 
Hospital  was  enlarged  in  1732  :  the  wards  Frederick  and  Guy  were  named  from  their 
founders,  the  latter  of  whom  built  a  pair  of  large  iron  gates ;  on  the  two  piers  were 
statues  of  cripples.  The  Hospital  was,  in  part,  reconstructed  in  1835,  by  Sir  Robert 
Smirke  and  Mr.  Field.  The  site  of  the  new  north  wing  of  the  Hospital,  at  the  south 
end  of  London-bridge,  was  purchased  of  the  City  of  London  for  the  sum  of  40,8502., 
which  was  not  considered  an  extravagant  price,  though  at  the  rate  of  54,8852.  per  acre. 
The  site  of  two  houses  adjoining  the  above  spot  was  sold  by  the  Hospital  to  the  City 
at  the  enormous  rate  of  69,9351.  per  acre  !  The  Hospital  consisted  of  three  courts,  and 
colonnades :  in  the  first  court  was  a  bronze  statue  of  Edward  VI.,  by  Scheemakers,  set  up 
by  Charles  Joyce,  Esq.,  in  1737.  Tn  the  second  court  was  the  chapel  for  patients — 
service  daily ;  St.  Thomas's  church,  described  at  p.  208 ;  the  hall,  and  kitchen  ;  and  over 
the  Doric  colonnade  was  the  Court-room,  with  portraits  of  Edward  VI.,  William  III. 
and  Queen  Mary,  Sir  Robert  Clayton,  and  other  of  the  Hospital  presidents.  In  the 
third  court  was  the  statue  of  Sir  Robert  Clayton,  robed  as  Lord  Mayor,  erected  in  his 
life-time  by  the  Hospital  governors.  In  a  smaller  court  were  the  cutting-ward, 
surgery,  bathing-rooms,  theatre,  and  dead-house.  There  were  twenty  wards  for 
patients,  each  superintended  by  a  Sister.  The  Hospital,  of  four  acres,  and  buildings 
were  on  the  east  side  of  High-street,  Southwark,  and  the  site  was  sold  to  the  Charing- 
cross  Railway  Company ;  the  Governors  claiming  as  compensation  750,0002.  The 
Railway  Company  offered  them  terms  equivalent  to  400,0002. ;  and,  after  a  litiga- 
tion which  absorbed  little  less  than  25,0002.,  296,0002.  were  awarded  by  the  arbi- 
trator. The  patients  were  then  removed  to  a  temporary  hospital,  late  a  Music-hall, 
Surrey  Zoological  Gardens.  It  was  next  proposed  to  rebuild  the  Hospital  in  the 
country ;  but  the  choice  of  a  site  in  the  metropolis  prevailed.  It  was  contended  that  in 
1631  the  Lord  Mayor  counted  16,880  persons  in  Southwark,  and  that  now  Southwark 
and  the  neighbouring  parishes,  all  of  which  are  obliged  to  avail  themselves  largely  of 
the  aid  of  this  Hospital,  contain  more  than  half  a  million  persons,  the  great  majority  of 
whom  are  poor  hardworking  people.  The  site  was  definitively  settled  in  Stangate, 
facing  the  Thames,  immediately  west  of  the  southern  end  of  Westminster  Bridge. 
The  income  of  the  Hospital  has  increased  from  12,0002.  to  35,0002.  since  the  beginning 
of  the  century.     Among  the  expenditure  for  1861  is  59422.  for  provisions,  26342.  for 

*  r  2 


436  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

drugs,  932Z.  for  wine  and  spirits,  353Z.  for  porter,  11*11.  for  washing,  3156Z.  for  salaries 
to  medical  officers,  22511.  for  wages  to  sisters  and  nurses,  1511.  for  hospital  dinners, 
and  747/.  for  insurance  against  fire.  The  in-patients  of  the  year  were  3948  in  num- 
ber, the  out-patients  41,814. 

In  November,  1866,  was  decided  in  the  Court  of  Queen's  Bench,  the  case  relating  to  the  right  of  the 
Corporation  of  London  as  to  the  election  of  presidents  of  the  four  great  City  Hospitals.  The  question 
was  whether  it  was  necessary  that  the  president  should  be  an  alderman  who  had  arrived  at  the  dignity 
of  Lord  Mayor;  or,  at  all  events,  an  alderman.  There  were  two  candidates,  of  whom  Mr.  Cubitt  (since 
deceased),  who  had  the  majority  of  votes,  having  resigned  his  gown — although  he  had  "passed  the 
chair" — was  not  an  alderman ;  and  his  opponent,  Alderman  Kose,  was  at  the  time  Lord  Mayor,  so  that 
he  was  both  alderman  and  "  Grey  cloake" — the  term  used  in  the  ordinances  to  denote  those  aldermen 
who  had  passed  the  chair.  Judgment  was  given  for  the  defendants — that  is,  for  the  Hospital.  The 
result  of  the  decision  is  that  the  Governors  of  the  great  Hospitals  have  free  choice  in  the  election  of 
their  Presidents. 

Chaeing-cboss  Hospital,  Agar-street,  was  commenced  by  Decimus  Burton,  as  a 
portion  of  the  West- Strand  Improvements,  in  1831;  when  the  first  stone  was  laid, 
Sept.  1 5,  with  Masonic  solemnity,  by  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  Grand  Master  of  the  Free- 
masons. The  Charity,  founded  in  1818,  comprises  a  Dispensary  and  Casualty  Hospital, 
being  the  eighth  established  in  the  metropolis,  the  population  of  which  had  doubled 
since  the  seventh  Hospital  was  instituted.  The  architecture  is  Grecian,  and  the  circular 
termination  of  the  plan  well  accords  with  the  form  of  the  site.  Although  upwards  of 
1000  in-patients  and  17,000  out  have  been  treated  in  one  year,  the  annual  average  ex- 
penditure of  the  establishment  is  stated  at  only  2506£. 

One  day  a  gentleman  called  at  the  Charing-cross  Hospital  and  inquired  of  the  porter  whether  some 
money  he  had  just  put  into  one  of  the  collecting-boxes  would  be  safe.  Having  been  assured  it  would, 
he  immediately  went  away.  The  same  day  a  friend  of  the  institution,  walking  past  the  above-men- 
tioned box,  saw,  or  fancied  that  he  saw,  something  in  it.  On  applying  his  penknife  carefully,  he  suc- 
ceeded in  extracting  twenty-two  l(M.-notes.  Having  taken  these  into  the  Hospital  and  informed  the 
resident  officers  of  the  circumstance,  the  box  was  examined,  and  three  more  notes  found,  making  a  total 
of  2501.  thus  freely  and  anonymously  contributed  to  the  funds  of  this  deserving  charity. 

Consumption  Hospital,  Brompton,  fronting  the  Fulham-road,  %vas  commenced  in 
1844,  June  11,  when  Prince  Albert  laid  the  first  stone ;  the  site  was  formerly  a  nursery 
garden,  and  the  genial,  moist  air  of  Brompton  has  long  been  recommended  for  con- 
sumptive patients.  The  Hospital  is  in  the  Tudor  style,  of  red  brick,  with  stone  finish- 
ings ;  Francis,  architect ;  it  was  opened  in  1846.  In  1850  was  attached  an  elegant 
memorial  chapel  (see  Chapels,  p.  213) ;  and  in  1852  was  added  the  western  wing  of 
he  Hospital,  towards  which  Mdlle.  Jenny  Lind,  when  residing  at  Old  Brompton,  in 
July,  1848,  munificently  presented  1606Z.  16*.,  the  proceeds  of  a  concert  held  by  her 
for  its  aid.  This  noble  act  is  gracefully  commemorated  by  Mdlle.  Lind's  bust  being 
placed  upon  the  Hospital  staircase :  here  also  is  a  painted  window,  of  characteristic 
design,  presented  by  a  governor.  The  Hospital  is  ventilated  by  machinery,  worked  by 
a  steam-engine ;  and  is  warmed  by  water  heated  by  two  large  Arnott  stoves.  In  the 
kitchen,  steam  is  used  for  boiling  caldrons  of  beef-tea,  mutton-broth,  arrow-root,  coffee, 
chocolate,  &c. ;  and  the  provisions  are  wound  up  a  shaft  to  the  respective  wards.  The 
patients  take  exercise  in  the  well-ventilated  passages :  and  the  wards  are  tempered  by 
warm  fresh  air,  which  enters  at  the  floor,  and  escapes  by  valves  in  the  ceiling.  There 
are  a  library  for  the  in-patients,  and  the  Rose  Charity  Fund  for  convalescents.  The 
deaths  in  this  new  Hospital  have  never  exceeded  one  in  every  five  in-patients,  whereas 
in  the  former  Hospital  they  were  one  in  four. 

French  Protestant  Hospital,  Victoria  Park,  South  Hackney,  was  built  in  1866, 
in  the  pure  French  domestic  style  of  the  early  part  of  the  sixteenth  century,  corre- 
sponding to  our  Tudor ;  R.  L.  Roumieu,  architect.  It  is  200  feet  long,  and  stands  on 
three  acres  of  pleasure-ground  j  it  has  60  inmates,  and  a  chapel  for  120  persons.  The 
hospice  owes  its  origin  to  a  bequest  of  M.  Gastigny,  who  held  an  appointment  under 
William  III.,  and  dying  in  1708,  left  1000Z.  towards  founding  a  permanent  home  and 
place  of  temporary  relief  for  poor  French  Protestants  and  their  descendants  resident 
in  England.  To  this  fund  the  wealthier  French  Protestants  contributed  liberally,  and 
premises  were  built  in  a  bye-lane  leading  from  Old-street,  St.  Luke's,  to  Islington,  now 
Bath-street,  City-road.  Here  the  hospital  remained  until  the  removal  to  Victoria  Park. 
The  old  buildings  in  Bath-street  are  now  the  City  of  London  Middle-Class  School. 

St.  Geoege's  Hospital,  Hyde-Park  Corner,  originated  with  a  party  of  dissentient 


HOSPITAL— GUTS.  437 


Governors  of  Westminster  Hospital,  who,  in  1733,  converted  Lanesborough  House, 
Grosvenor-place,  into  an  Infirmary.  Pennant  describes  the  old  mansion  as  the  country- 
house  of 

"  The  sober  Lanesborow  dancing,  in  the  gout :" 

hence  also  the  quaint  distich  inscribed  on  the  house-front : — 

"It  is  my  delight  to  be 
Both  in  town  and  country." 

The  Hospital  has  been  rebuilt;  architect,  Wilkins,  R.A.,  1831;  the  grand  front, 
facing  the  Green  Park,  is  very  elegant.  William  Hunter  was  a  surgical  pupil  at  St. 
George's  in  17  11,  when  he  resided  with  the  eminent  Smellie,  at  that  time  an  apothe- 
cary in  Pall  Mall.  William's  brother,  John  Hunter,  was  appointed  surgeon  to  St. 
George's  in  1768 ;  and  here,  in  1793,  he  died  of  disease  of  the  heart. 

Guy's  Hospital,  Southwark,  on  the  south  side  of  St.  Thomas's-street,  was  built  by 
Dance,  the  City  architect,  in  1722—4,  at  the  sole  expense  of  Thomas  Guy,  the  book- 
seller in  Lombard-street,  who  by  printing  and  selling  Bibles  made  a  fortune  :  this  he 
greatly  increased  by  purchasing  seamen's  tickets  at  a  large  discount,  and  afterwards 
investing  them  in  the  South-Sea  Company. 

Guy  was  the  son  of  a  lighterman  at  Horselydown,  where  he  was  born  in  1644.  He  was  apprenticed 
to  John  Clarke,  bookseller  and  binder,  in  a  house  in  the  porch  of  Mercers'  Hall,  Cheapside,  in  1660.  In 
this  house,  rebuilt  after  the  Great  Fire,  Guy  commenced  business  for  himself ;  and  he  subsequently  re- 
moved to  the  house  between  Cornhill  and  Lombard-street,  subsequently  known  as  "  the  Lucky  Corner," 
and  Pidding's  Lottery  Office,  nearly  on  the  site  of  the  Globe  Insurance  Company's  offices.  Guy  had 
agreed  to  marry  his  housekeeper,  who,  however,  displeased  him,  and  thenceforth  he  devoted  his  immense 
fortune  to  works  of  charity.  In  1707,  he  built  and  furnished  three  wards  of  St.  Thomas's  Hospital ;  the 
stately  iron  gate,  with  the  large  houses  flanking  it  in  High-street,  Guy  also  built  at  the  expense  of  30002. 
He  was  a  liberal  benefactor  to  the  Stationers'  Company ;  built  and  endowed  almshouses  and  a  library 
at  Tam worth,  in  Staffordshire,  the  place  of  his  mother's  birth,  and  which  he  represented  in  Parliament. 
In  his  76th  year,  he  took  of  the  president  and  governors  of  St.  Thomas's  Hospital  a  piece  of  ground 
opposite  the  south  side  of  their  Hospital  for  999  years,  at  a  ground-rent  of  30Z.  a  year ;  thereon,  in  the 
spring  of  1722,  Guy  laid  the  first  stone  of  a  Hospital  for  the  cure  of  sick  and  impotent  persons ;  and  yie 
building  was  roofed  in  before  his  death,  Dec.  27, 1724.  The  expense  of  erecting  and  finishing  the  Hos- 
pital was  18,7922.  16*.,  and  the  sum  left  to  endow  it  was  219,4992. 0».  4<2. ;  the  largest  sum  ever  left  by  an 
individual  for  charitable  purposes.  His  noble  example  was  followed  by  Mr.  Hunt  of  Petersham, 
who,  in  1829,  bequeathed  to  the  Hospital  196,1152.,  stipulating  for  the  addition  of  accommodation  for 
100  patients.    About  10,0002.  was  also  received  from  other  benefactors. 

"  The  annual  income  is  now  between  25,0002.  and  30,0002.,  arising  chiefly  from  estates  purchnsed  with 
the  valuable  bequests  of  Guy  and  Hunt,  in  the  counties  of  Essex,  Hereford,  and  Lincoln.  The  usual 
number  of  governors  is  60,  who  are  self-elective.  The  office  cannot  be  constituted  by  any  contribution, 
and  there  is  no  published  list  of  benefactors." — Low's  Charities  of London,  1850. 

Guy's  Hospital  consists  of  a  centre  and  two  wings;  behind  is  a  quadrangle,  and 
beyond  is  a  lunatic  house  for  twenty-four  insane  patients,  with  a  garden  and  airing- 
ground  for  their  recreation  ;  in  1839,  one  of  these  patients  had  been  in  the  Hospital 
fifty-three  years.  In  the  wings  are  the  officers'  apartments,  a  surgery,  apothecary's 
shop,  laboratories,  medical  and  operating  theatres,  and  a  room  for  the  application  of 
electricity  and  galvanism.  Here,  too,  are  a  museum,  library,  a  very  fine  anatomical 
collection,  models  in  wax  by  Towne,  &c.  Westward  is  the  Chapel ;  and  eastward,  the 
Court-room.  Attached  to  the  Hospital  is  a  botanic  garden  for  the  students.  In  1852 
were  added  two  handsome  wings,  heated  by  Sylvester,  and  ventilated  by  a  shaft  200 
feet  high,  with  an  open  cupola,  and  a  wind-vane  which  sends  down  the  shaft  fresh 
air  into  the  wards ;  while  two  lower  shafts  carry  off  the  effiuvia.  In  the  front  court 
is  a  metal  statue  of  Guy,  in  his  livery-gown,  by  Scheemakers ;  the  pedestal  bears 
representations  in  relief  of  Christ  healing  an  impotent  man;  the  Good  Samaritan; 
Guy's  arms,  and  an  inscription.  In  the  centre  of  the  front  are  two  characteristic 
statues  by  John  Bacon,  a  native  of  Southwark. 

In  the  Chapel  is  a  fine  marble  statue  of  Guy,  by  Bacon,  which  cost  1000Z. :  he  stands 
in  his  livery-gown,  with  one  hand  raising  an  emaciated  figure  from  the  ground,  and 
with  the  other  pointing  to  a  second  sufferer,  as  he  is  borne  on  a  bier  into  the  Hospital, 
at  the  back :  on  the  pedestal  are  emblematic  medallions  and  a  glowing  inscription, 
asserting  that  Guy  "rivalled  the  endowment  of  kings."  Here  is  buried  Sir  Astley 
Cooper,  the  distinguished  surgeon,  to  whom  there  is  a  marble  monument.  In  the 
Court-room,  over  the  president's  chair,  is  a  portrait  by  Dahl,  a  Danish  painter,  of  Guy, 
in  the  black  gown  and  long  flowing  wig  of  his  time :  on  the  ceiling  is  painted  his 
apotheosis. 


438  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

King's  College  Hospital,  Carey-street,  Lincoln's-inn-fields,  was  established  in 
1839  for  tlie  sick  poor,  for  affording  practical  instruction  to  the  medical  students  of 
King's  College,  under  their  own  professors.  The  building  of  a  new  Hospital,  by  sub- 
scription, was  commenced  June  18,  1852,  when  the  first  stone  was  laid  by  the  Arch- 
bishop of  Canterbury  :  the  wards  are  very  spacious,  light,  and  airy ;  with  ventilation 
by  opposite  windows  and  open  fire-places,  without  artificial  aid ;  and  the  arrangements  for 
teaching  include  an  operating  theatre  and  chapel,  dispensary,  laboratory,  &c. 

Lock  Hospital,  Harrow-road ;  Chapel  and  Asylum,  Westbourne-green :  the 
Hospital  established  1746,  for  the  treatment  of  the  peculiar  disease  incident  to  profli- 
gate women ;  the  Asylum  founded  1787  by  the  Bible  commentator,  the  Rev.  Thomas 
Scott,  for  the  reclamation  of  the  cured  inmates  to  virtuous  habits ;  and  the  Chapel 
in  1764,  for  the  ministration  to  the  unfortunate  patients  and  inmates.  The  establish- 
ment was  originally  formed  in  Grosvenor-place,  where  the  Chapel,  by  its  popular 
preachers,  became  a  source  of  income  to  the  institution.  This  is  the  only  Asylum  ex- 
isting in  connexion  with  a  hospital ;  all  penitentiaries  are  necessarily  shut  against  the 
sick  and  dying  outcasts ;  and  for  such  there  is  no  complete  refuge  save  "  the  Lock 
Hospital."  (See  Low's  Charities,  p.  99.)  In  1842,  the  Institution  was  removed  to 
its  present  site;  in  1849,  the  success  of  an  autograph  appeal  by  the  Duke  of 
Cambridge  provided  for  the  admission  of  double  the  number  of  patients. 

The  Lock  Hospital  is  so  called  from  the  Loke  or  Lock,  in  Kent-street,  Southwark,  a  spittal  for 
leprous  persons  of  early  date.  The  name  has  been  referred  to  the  old  French  toques,  rags,  from  the 
linen  applied  to  sores;  "but  otherwise,  and  with  more  probability,  from  the  Saxon  log,  shut,  closed,  in 
reference  to  the  necessary  seclusion  of  the  leper  on  account  of  the  infectious  nature  of  his  disease." 
(Archer's  Vestiges,  Part  I.)  We  find  Lock  "  an  infirmary"  in  Bailey's  Dictionary.  Others  trace  the 
Southwark  Hospital  to  the  stream,  or  open  sewer,  called  "  the  Lock,"  which  divided  the  parishes  of  St. 
George  and  St.  Mary,  Newington,  and  is  shown  in  Eoeque's  large  map  of  Surrey.  The  Hospital  known 
to  have  existed  temp.  Edward  II.,  had  a  chapel  dedicated  to  St.  Leonard.  (Tanner.)  It  came  into  the 
possession  of  St.  Bartholomew's  Hospital,  whence  it  received  patients  :  falling  into  decay,  it  was  let  in 
tenements,  was  taken  down  in  1809,  and  its  site  laid  into  the  Dover-road;  a  portion  of  the  site  was, 
however,  consecrated  as  the  parish  burial-ground  more  than  a  century  since,  and  so  continues. 

There  were  other  "  Locks :" — 2.  Between  Mile  End  and  Stratford-Ie-Bow.  3.  At  Kingsland.  between, 
Shoreditch  and  Stoke  Newington,  the  chapel  of  which,  St.  Bartholomew's,  remained  till  1840.  (See 
Chapels,  p.  209.)  A  sun-dial  on  the  premises  formerly  bore  this  inscription,  significant  of  sin  and 
sorrow : — 

"  Post  voluptatem  misericordia." 

Prior  to  its  alienation  from  the  mother  hospital,  the  house  had  a  communication  with  the  chapel  so  con- 
trived that  the  patients  might  take  part  in  the  service  without  seeing  or  being  seen  by  the  rest  of  the 
congregation:  and  there  was  a  similar  arrangement  in  the  Lock-chapel  in  Grosvenor-place.  4.  At 
Knightsbridge,  east  of  Albert-gate,  was  a  lazar-house  under  the  patronage  of  the  Abbot  and  Convent 
of  Westminster :  the  Hospital  chapel  (Holy  Trinity)  remains:  it  was  rebuilt  in  1627,  by  a  licence  from 
Dr.  Laud,  then  Bishop  of  London,  as  a  chapel  of  ease  to  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields,  within  the  precincts 
of  which  it  was  situated ;  but  it  was  subsequently  assigned  to  the  parish  of  St.  George,  Hanover-square, 
and  now  forms  part  of  Kensington. — Notes  and  Queries,  No.  114. 

The  two  largest  Leper  Hospitals  were,  however,  St.  James's,  Westminster,  founded  before  the  Con- 
quest (Stow),  and  made  a  royal  palace  by  Henry  VIII.;  the  original  gateway  remains.  Next  was 
St.  Giles' s-in-the-Fields,  founded  about  1117.    (See  St.  Giles's,  p.  376.) 

London  Hospital,  Whitechapel-road,  originally  "the  London  Infirmary,"  was 
instituted  1740,  in  a  large  old  mansion  in  Prescott-street,  Goodman's  Fields ;  it  was 
incorporated  in  1758,  and  the  present  Hospital  built  on  "  the  Mount,"  Whitechapel- 
road.  The  Charity  was  established  for  the  poor  sick,  particularly  manufacturers,  sea- 
men, watermen,  coal-heavers,  shipwrights,  labourers  on  the  river,  and  children.  In 
1791,  a  Samaritan  Society,  at  the  suggestion  of  Sir  W.  Blizard  (the  first  established), 
was  appended  to  this  Hospital,  for  the  benefit  of  homeless  convalescents,  sending  them 
to  the  sea-side,  &c. 

A  new  west  wing  to  the  Hospital  was  founded,  July  4,  1864,  by  the  Prince  of 
Wales,  when  nearly  32,000?.  was  subscribed,  of  which  3000?.  was  given  in  one  dona- 
tion by  Mr.  T.  Powell  Buxton ;  Mr.  J.  Gurney  Barclay,  3000?. ;  and  the  Hon.  Jamsetjee 
Jejeebhoy,  2000?.  One  ward  is  set  apart  for  the  exclusive  use  of  members  of  the 
Hebrew  persuasion,  of  whom  large  numbers  reside  in  the  neighbourhood.  The  Lon- 
don Hospital  has  been  in  active  operation  more  than  one  hundred  and  twenty  years, 
during  which  period  it  has  afforded  medical  and  surgical  assistance  to  one  million  three 
hundred  thousand  persons. 

St.  Luke's  Hospital  for  Lunatics  was  first  established  1751,  in  a  house  upon 
Windmill-hill,  on  the  north  side  of  Moorfields,  nearly  opposite  the  present  Worship- 


HOSPITALS— ST.  LUKE'S,  MABYLEBONE,  MIDDLESEX.     439 

street.  In  1753,  pupils  were  admitted  to  the  Hospital ;  and  Dr.  Battie,  the  original 
physician,  allowed  medical  men  to  observe  his  practice.  This  practice  fell  into  disuse, 
but  was  revived  in  1843,  and  an  annual  course  of  chemical  lectures  established,  at 
which  pupils  selected  by  the  physicians  of  the  different  metropolitan  hospitals  are 
allowed  to  attend  gratuitously.  In  1754,  incurable  patients  were  admitted  on  payment 
to  the  Hospital  on  Windmill-hill.  In  1782,  was  commenced  the  present  St.  Luke's,  in 
Old- street-road,  when  green  fields  could  be  seen  in  every  direction ;  the  foundation- 
stone  was  laid  by  the  Duke  of  Montague,  July  30 ;  the  cost,  about  5.0,0002.,  was  de- 
frayed by  subscription ;  George  Dance,  jun.,  architect. 

"  There  are  few  buildings  in  the  metropolis,  perhaps  in  Europe,  that,  considering  the  poverty  of  the 
material,  common  English  clamp-bricks,  possess  such  harmony  of  proportion,  with  unity  and  appro- 
priateness of  style,  as  this  buiiding.  It  is  as  characteristic  of  its  uses  as  that  of  Newgate,  by  the  same 
architect." — Elmes. 

The  Hospital  was  incorporated  1838 ;  the  end  infirmaries  added  in  1841 ;  a  chapel 
in  1842,  and  open  fire-places  set  in  the  galleries;  when  also  coercion  was  abolished, 
padded  rooms  were  provided  for  violent  patients,  and  an  airing-ground  set  apart  for 
them  ;  wooden  doors  were  substituted  for  iron  gates,  and  unnecessary  guards  and  bars 
removed  from  the  windows.  In  1843  were  added  reading-rooms  and  a  library  for  the 
patients,  with  bagatelle  and  backgammon-boards,  &c.  By  Act  9  and  10  Vict.,  c.  100, 
the  Commissioners  of  Lunacy  were  added  to  the  Hospital  direction.  In  1848,  Sir 
Charles  Knightley  presented  an  organ  to  the  chapel,  and  daily  service  was  first  per- 
formed. The  Hospital  was  next  lit  with  gas ;  the  drainage,  ventilation,  and  supply  of 
water  improved,  by  subscription  at  the  centenary  festival,  June  25,  1851. 

On  St.  Luke's  Day  (October  18),  a  large  number  of  the  Hospital  patients  are  enter- 
tained with  dancing  and  singing  in  the  great  hall  in  the  centre  of  the  Hospital,  when 
the  officers,  nurses,  and  attendants  join  the  festival.     Balls  are  also  given  fortnightly. 

The  mode  of  treatment  at  St.  Luke's  has  undergone  so  complete  a  metamorphosis 
within  the  last  few  years,  by  the  institution  of  kindness  for  severity,  and  indulgence 
for  restrictions,  that  the  maladies  of  the  brain  have  been  rendered  as  subservient  to 
medical  science  as  the  afflictions  of  the  body.  Modern  experience  shows  that  the  old 
terrors  of  the  prison,  brutal  execrations  and  violence,  and  those  even  worse  scenes  which 
were  exhibited  for  a  small  money  payment  to  the  curious,  in  the  madhouses  of  the 
metropolis  and  elsewhere,  were  errors.  The  per-centage  of  recoveries  was,  from  1821 
to  1830  47|  per  cent. ;  1831  to  1840,  56J  ditto ;  1841  to  1850,  60f  ditto  j  showing 
the  results  of  the  improved  treatment.  But  the  largest  per-centage  of  recoveries,  with 
one  exception,  was  69^,  in  1851. 

Mabylebone  and  Paddistgton  Hospitai,  Cambridge-place,  was  commenced  in 
1845,  when,  June  28  (Coronation-day),  the  first  stone  was  laid  by  Prince  Albert ;  the 
site  was  originally  a  reservoir  of  the  Grand  Junction  Water-works.  The  Hospital, 
opened  in  1850,  is  of  red  brick,  similar  to  Chelsea  Hospital :  it  is  warmed  and  venti- 
lated by  the  circulation  of  tempered  atmospheric  air,  and  the  withdrawal  of  the  foul 
air  from  the  wards ;  there  are  shafts  for  conveying  the  food  from  the  kitchen  and  medi- 
cines from  the  laboratory,  besides  other  novel  mechanical  applications.  Hon.  architect, 
Mr.  Hopper.     The  present  foundation  comprehends  three-fourths  of  the  whole  plan. 

Middlesex  Hospital,  Charles-street,  facing  Berners-street,  was  established  1745 : 
the  present  building  was  commenced  in  1755,  then  in  Marylebone-fields ;  and  much 
enlarged  and  improved  in  1848;  the  baths,  cooking  apparatus,  laboratory  works, 
ventilating  shaft,  and  laundry,  are  supplied  with  steam-power.  The  Cancer-ward,  a 
special  addition  in  this  Hospital,  was  made  in  1792,  upon  a  plan  by  the  benevolent 
John  Howard,  at  the  sole  expense  of  Mr.  Whitbread,  M.P.,  who  endowed  the  ward 
with  4000Z.,  that  cancer-patients  might,  if  necessary,  remain  here  for  life. 

In  the  Council-room  is  a  large  vellum  Benefaction-book,  wherein  are  beautifully  written  the  names  of 
the  Benefactors  to  the  Hospital,  from  its  foundation.  The  binding  is  elaborately  carved  oak,  by  W.  G. 
Kogers;  and  the  clasps,  corners,  and  bosses  are  rich  ormolu.  This  sumptuous  volume  is  protected  by 
an  ornamental  iron  stand ;  it  is  intended  to  supersede  the  large  black  benefaction-boards  which  cover 
the  hospital  walls. 

One  day  a  lady,  being  permitted  to  visit  the  wards,  went  from  bed  to  bed,  and  in  the  most  quiet 
and  gracious  manner  presented  half-a-sovereign  to  almost  every  one  of  the  patients  as  a  New  Year's 
gift,  and  as  a  thanks-offering  for  her  recovery  from  a  dangerous  illness.  The  number  of  patients  so 
relieved  amounted  to  nearly  300. 


440  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Ophthalmic  (ophthalmos,  Gr.,  the  eye)  Hospitals,  were  established  in  1804;  that 

in  Moorfields  being  the  first. 

It  was  founded  in  1804;  it  has  afforded  relief  to  upwards  of  half  a  million  persons  suffering  from 
diseases  of  the  eye.  The  number  of  attendances  annually  at  this  hospital  is  about  80,000.  In  one  year 
the  new  eases  alone  amounted  to  17,000 ;  among  these  above  350  persons  afflicted  with  blindness  from 
cataract  and  other  analogous  affections  were  restored  to  light.  The  average  attendance  daily  is  from 
300  to  400.  An  amount  of  relief  is  confidently  stated  to  be  thus  obtained  far  greater  than  that 
alforded  by  any  similar  establishment  in  Europe.  The  explanation  may  be  found  in  the  dense  popula- 
tion by  which  it  is  surrounded,  and  the  high  reputation  it  has  so  long  enjoyed,  bringing  patients  from 
India,  America,  Australia,  and  our  remotest  colonies. 

The  Royal  Infirmary,  Cork-street,  was  founded  in  1804,  by  Sir  Walter  Waller 
(originally  Phipps,  the  celebrated  oculist),  submitting  to  their  Majesties  a  plan  suggested 
by  the  sufferings  he  was  then  endeavouring  to  relieve  among  the  soldiers  and  sailors 
who  had  returned  from  the  Egyptian  Expedition.  The  late  Duke  of  Wellington  was 
president  of  the  Royal  Westminster  Ophthalmic  Hospital,  Chandos- street,  Charing- 
cross,  where  patients  are  admitted  without  letters. 

Orthopedic  (orthos,  Gr.,  straight,  and  paidos,  of  a  child)  Hospital,  Royal,  6, 
Bloomsbury- square,  established  1838  for  the  cure  of  club-foot  and  other  contractions, 
by  dividing  the  tendons,  &c.,  was  founded  by  Dr.  Little,  who  introduced  the  Stromey- 
erian  operation  of  subcutaneous  tenotomy  into  the  metropolis.  The  Hospital  has  been 
removed  to  315,  Oxtord-street. 

Queen  Charlotte's  Lying-in  Hospital  was  originally  established  in  1752  in 
St.  George's-row,  near  Tyburn  turnpike,  whence  it  was  removed  to  Bayswater  in  1791 ; 
and  in  1810,  to  Lisson-green ;  the  Hospital  was  rebuilt  in  1857.  This  excellent 
charity  has  been  patronized  by  Queen  Charlotte,  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  Queen  Adelaide, 
and  every  member  of  the  Royal  family.  It  affords  an  asylum  for  indigent  females 
during  childbirth,  as  well  as  to  out-patients,  especially  to  the  wives  of  soldiers  or 
sailors ;  penitent  patients  are  admitted  once,  but  in  no  instance  a  second  time. 

Royal  Free  Hospital,  Gray's-inn-road,  affording  free  and  instant  relief  to  the 
destitute  sick,  was  originally  founded  1828,  in  Greville-street,  ■  Hatton-garden  :  in 
1832  700  cholera  patients  were  admitted  here,  when  other  hospitals  were  closed  against 
them ;  a  demonstration  of  the  free  principle  which  led  to  the  removal  of  the  Hospital, 
in  1843,  to  the  present  premises,  formerly  the  barracks  of  the  Light-Horse  Volun- 
teers. The  establishment  of  this  Hospital  was  prompted  by  its  founder,  Mr.  Marsden, 
a  surgeon,  having  seen  in  the  winter  of  1827  a  wretched  young  woman  lying  on  the 
steps  of  St.  Andrew's  Churchyard,  Holborn-hill,  after  midnight,  perishing  through  dis- 
ease and  famine :  she  was  a  stranger  in  London,  without  a  friend,  and  died  two  days 
afterwards  unrecognised  !  The  "  Sussex  Ward"  was  built  as  a  memorial  of  the  Duke 
of  Sussex,  of  whom  here  is  a  portrait-statue  in  a  niche  in  the  front. 

At  the  Hospital-gate,  in  Gray's-inn-road,  is  a  subscription-box,  wherein  have  been  found  the  following 
donations  by  stealth  :  Dec.  27,  1843,  a  bank-note  for  100i.,  labelled  "  A  Passer-by ;"  June  14,  1844,  1001., 
"Another  Passer-by;"  Nov.  2,  1844,  1001.,  with  "  Winter  is  coming  on — Bis  dat  qui  cito  dat ;"  Oct.  9, 
1850,  50Z. ;  June  21, 1851,  201. ;  and  frequently  bank-notes  of  101.  and  51. 

Royal  Maternity  Charity  (Office,  17,  Little  Knightrider-street,  Doctors'  Com- 
mons) provides  advice  and  good  nurses  for  delivering  poor  married  women  at  their 
own  homes  in  Eastern  London ;  and  the  cases  annually  average  nearly  3500. 

This  institution  was  originally  founded  as  "  the  Lying-in  Charity,"  in  1768.  The  Prince  of  Wales, 
when  but  five  years  old,  being  nominated  president,  a  donation  of  5001.  was  made  in  his  name ;  thence- 
forth he  contributed  annually  201.  George  IV.  became  president  in  1818;  and  from  the  time  of  his 
Regency  to  his  death,  contributed  to  the  Hospital  fund  180ol. 

Small-pox  and  Vaccination  Hospital,  instituted  1746,  for  those  attacked  with 
natural  small-pox,  and  for  preventing  it  by  vaccination,  was  first  opened  at  Battle 
Bridge,  St.  Pancras,  1767 ;  but  this  Hospital  and  site  being  required  for  the  terminus 
of  the  Great  Northern  Railway  Company,  the  Hospital  was  rebuilt  in  a  healthy  and 
picturesque  situation  at  the  foot  of  Highgate-hill,  at  a  cost  of  20,000Z.,  paid  out  of  the 
Railway  Company's  compensation. 

University  College  Hospital,  Upper  Gower-street,  was  founded  1833,  under  the 
presidency  of  Lord  Brougham,  in  connexion  with  University  College,  which  the  Hospital 
building  faces :  it  is  attended  by  the  medical  officers  and  students  of  the  College. 

Westminster  Hospital  originated  from  an  infirmary  "  for  relieving  the  sick  and 


HOTELS.  441 

needy,"  and  is  the  oldest  subscription  hospital  in  the  metropolis.  It  was  first 
established  in  Petty  France,  next  in  Chapel-street,  then  in  James-street  ;  and  the  pre- 
sent noble  Hospital  was  built  in  the  Broad  Sanctuary,  opposite  Westminster  Abbey, 
upon  a  piece  of  ground  purchased  of  the  Government  for  6000Z.,  originally  part  of  the 
site  of  the  ancient  Sanctuary  cruciform  church,  and  subsequently  of  Westminster 
Market.  The  Hospital  foundation  is  six  feet  depth  of  concrete ;  the  design,  by  the 
Inwoods,  is  Elizabethan,  with  windows  temp.  Henry  VII. ;  the  central  and  end  oriels, 
and  the  embattled  porch,  are  fine ;  the  whole  frontage  is  200  feet,  and  the  windows 
number  two  hundred  and  sixty;  the  roof,  nearly  half  an  acre,  is  an  airing- walk  for 
the  patients.  The  building  is  embattled  throughout ;  the  materials  are  white  Suflblk 
bricks,  with  stone  finishings;  and  among  the  enrichments  are  bosses  of  the  West- 
minster portcullis  arms. 

The  Medical  Students  of  the  various  Hospitals  have  long  heen  noted  for  their  irregularities;  and  in 
2851,  Mr.  Henry,  a  Bow-street  magistrate,  described  them  as  "  the  most  disorderly  class  with  whom  the 
police  and  magistrates  have  to  deal."  To  this  unqualified  stigma  has  however  been  opposed  the  assertion, 
that  "  almost  every  idle  dissolute  young  man,  who  in  a  fit  of  drunken  folly  is  guilty  of  some  crime,  will,  if 
he  wears  a  decent  garb,  arrogate  to  himself  a  respectability  to  which  he  has  no"  right,  by  claiming  the 
title  of  a  Medical  Student."  Mr.  Albert  Smith,  himself  a  "  Middlesex  man,"  was  the  first  to  sketch  the 
Medical  Student's  life  in  London." — (See  Punch,  vol.  ii.)  • 

Dispensaries  were  first  established  in  1770,  when  the  Royal  Dispensary  was 

founded  in  Shaftesbury  House,  Aldersgate-street.     There  are  now  upwards  of  forty 

Dispensaries  in  the  metropolis. 

"Medicine  and  every  other  relief  under  the  calamity  of  bodily  diseases,  no  less  than  the  daily  neces- 
saries of  life,  are  natural  provisions  which  God  has  made  for  our  present  indigent  state,  and  which  He 
has  granted  in  common  to  the  children  of  men,  whether  they  be  rich  or  poor :  to  the  rich  by  inheritance 
and  acquisition ;  and  by  their  hands,  to  the  disabled  poor.  Nor  can  there  be  any  doubt  that  Public  Dis- 
pensaries are  the  most  effectual  means  of  administering  sick  relief." — Bishop  Butler. 

HOTELS. 

THERE  is  no  capital  in  Europe,  always  saving  Constantinople,  which,  until  recently, 
was  not  better  provided  with  good  average  comfortable  upper  and  middle-class 
Hotels,  than  London.  A  few  private  houses  knocked  somehow  into  one  have  been 
thought  a  large  and  grand  hotel,  for  it  is  only  within  the  last  few  years  that  the 
obvious  necessity  which  existed  for  constructing  a  building  specially  for  Hotel  purposes  has 
been  slowly  recognised  in  this  country.  This  new  class  of  Hotels  originated  with  the  great 
Railway  Companies. 

Thus,  we  have  the  Euston,  adjoining  the  terminus  of  the  North -Western  Railway; 
but  this  edifice  is  not  remarkable  for  its  architectural  embellishment. 

The  Great-Western  Hotel,  adjoining  the  Great- Western  Railway  Terminus,  at 
Paddington,  is  of  more  ornate  character ;  it  was  designed  in  1852,  P.  Hardwick,  R.A., 
architect,  in  the  style  of  Louis  XIV.,  or  later;  the  curved-roof  forms  were  then  a 
striking  novelty ;  four  colossal  termini,  finely  modelled,  support  the  central  balcony, 
and  over  them  are  casts  of  the  Warwick  vase  ;  and  in  the  pediment  above  is  a  group  of 
Britannia,  surrounded  by  personations  of  the  six  parts  of  the  world,  and  of  their  arts 
and  commerce.  The  exterior  is  of  stucco ;  and  the  ornaments  and  projections  are  in  rich 
and  bold  style,  the  figures  by  Thomas.  The  number  of  bed,  dressing,  and  sitting- 
rooms,  about  150 ;  the  passages  and  staircases  are  fire-proof.  The  chief  coffee-room, 
and  the  saloon  above  it,  are  magnificent. 

The  Geeat  Northern,  adjoining  the  terminus  of  the  Great  Northern  Railway, 
King's  Cross,  has,  architecturally,  little  to  claim  notice. 

The  Palace  Hotel,  Buckingham-gate,  Murray,  architect,  is  a  standard  model  of 
what  the  highest  class  of  Family  Hotel  should  be.  Outside  it  is  only  a  handsome 
range  of  buildings ;  inside  it  has  costly  and  luxurious  suites  of  rooms.  The  ventilation 
is  perfectly  arranged,  and,  though  there  is  a  constant  current  of  air  through  all  the 
building  from  basement  to  roof,  the  Hotel  is  always  kept  at  a  mild  and  equal  tempera- 
ture by  hot-air  pipes  along  each  corridor,  and  leading  into  every  apartment.  Lifts 
communicate  with  each  floor,  so  as  to  render  every  story  complete  in  itself,  with  its 
service-room  and  heating  apparatus,  for  serving  dinners  on  the  various  landings.  The 
entire  structure  is  as  perfectly  fire-proof  as  the  use  of  stone  and  brick  along  all  the 
various  stairwavs  and  corridors  can  make  it. 


442  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  Westminster  Palace  Hotel,  facing  the  Abbey,  has  one  of  the  best  situations 
in  London,  and  is  a  very  good  example  of  French  Renaissance  architecture.  It 
realizes  the  expectations  even  of  the  luxurious  of  the  commercial  classes.  One-half  of 
the  hotel  is  let  to  the  India  Board,  else  this  building  alone  would  contain  three 
hundred  rooms.  It  has  thirteen  sitting-rooms,  gentlemen's  and  ladies'  coffee-rooms 
(the  latter  an  exceedingly  fine  apartment),  several  committee  and  dining-rooms,  with 
one  hundred  and  thirty  bedrooms,  besides  servants'  apartments. 

The  London  Bridge  Hotel,  Curry,  architect,  exactly  adjoins  the  terminus  on  the 
side  of  the  Brighton  and  South  Coast  Railway.  As  a  building,  it  is  inferior  only  to 
the  Grosvenor  in  size  and  external  appearance.  It  contains,  in  all,  about  two  hundred 
and  fifty  rooms.  There  is  an  exceedingly  magnificent  coffee-room,  with  a  smaller  one, 
decorated  in  the  same  style,  for  the  use  of  ladies  only.  There  are  spacious  bed  and 
dressing-rooms,  with  suites  of  apartments  for  families ;  reading,  billiard,  and  smoking- 
rooms.  This  is  the  only  Hotel  of  the  new  class  which  has  a  billiard-room.  Like  the 
other  Hotels,  the  London  Bridge  is  fire-proof,  and  is  further  provided  with  a  powerful 
water  supply,  and  fire-mains,  with  hoses,  on  each  floor.  An  air-shaft  passing  up  the 
building  gives  the  most  perfect  ventilation  to  every  floor,  of  which  there  are  seven. 
The  exterior  has  a  heavy  cornice,  and  terminates  in  a  Mansard  roof. 

The  Grosvenor  Hotel,  Victoria  Station,  Pimlico,  J.  T.  Knowles,  architect,  is  of  vast 
extent — 262  feet  long,  75  deep,  and  150  high  to  the  top  of  the  roof.  The  exterior  is 
elaborately  decorated.  The  spandrels  on  the  first  floor  are  in  Portland  stone,  and 
represent  her  Majesty  the  Queen,  the  Prince  Consort,  Humboldt,  Lord  Palmerston, 
Lord  Derby,  Lord  John  Russell,  and  others.  At  the  side  facades  are  representations 
of  the  four  quarters  of  the  globe ;  and  colossal  festoons  of  flowers  are  suspended  be- 
tween the  ground- floor  windows.  The  enriched  string,  the  trusses,  and  the  leafage, 
are  of  Portland  cement,  coloured  while  "  green,"  to  match  the  stone ;  the  carving  by 
Dayman.  On  the  ground-floor  are  a  spacious  hall,  enriched  with  scagliola  columns, 
arid  reaching  to  the  second-floor  corridor  ;  dining,  drawing,  and  sitting-rooms — the 
principal  coftee-room,  69  feet  by  36,  and  18  in  height ;  a  smoking-room,  &c.  The  first 
and  second  floors  are  chiefly  suites  of  rooms  for  families ;  the  upper  rooms  are  bed- 
rooms, the  top  story  for  servants  only.  On  the  first  floor  is  a  wide  gallery  entirely 
round  the  central  hall.  The  whole  building  contains  upwards  of  300  rooms,  many 
superb  suites,  including  suites  for  wedding-breakfasts.  The  smoking-room,  with  its 
light,  handsome  columns,  its  groined  arch  roof,  and  ample  windows,  looks  into  the 
Station.  The  principal  staircase  is  one  of  the  finest  features  in  the  building :  after 
the  first  floor  the  stairs  diverge  right  and  left ;  1500  feet  of  stone  corridors  traverse 
the  centre  of  the  building  on  its  various  floors  from  end  to  end.  There  is  one  staircase 
for  servants  in  the  northern  end  of  the  building ;  the  corresponding  space  in  the 
southern  wing  being  occupied  by  a  lift,  the  cage  of  which  is  8  feet  square.  This  is 
worked  by  a  very  simple  hydraulic  apparatus,  Easton  and  Amos,  engineers,  and  passes 
up  a  shaft  along  the  various  floors  of  the  building  from  top  to  bottom ;  it  is  equal  to 
raising  ten  persons  at  one  time.  There  are  bath-rooms  in  all  the  landings,  with  ser- 
vices of  hot  and  cold  water  and  speaking-tubes  to  every  floor.  The  cost  of  this  splendid 
building  is  stated  at  considerably  more  than  100,000£. 

The  Langham  Hotel,  Portland-place,  Giles  and  Murray,  architects,  is  a  sumptuous 
pile,  and  contains  forty  drawing  and  private  sitting-rooms,  and  300  bedrooms.  The 
Agricultural  Hotel,  Salisbury-square,  Giles,  architect,  is  of  much  less  architectural 
pretension.  The  Inns  op  CoxtrI  Hotel,  Lockwood  and  Mawson,  architects,  has  an 
Italian  front,  with  polished  granite  and  serpentine  shafts,  in  Holborn ;  the  original 
design  includes  a  large  central  covered  court,  and  a  front  in  Lincoln's-inn-fields. 

The  Charing  Cross  Hotel  and  Railway  Station  is  in  the  Italian  style,  order 
Corinthian,  E.  M.  Barry,  architect.  The  principal  entrances  have  polished  granite 
columns,  and  carving  above,  and  the  chimney-stocks  have  red  terra-cotta  shafts.  The 
railway  offices  are  in  the  basement.  The  suites  of  apartments  are  superb ;  there  are 
250  bedrooms ;  the  building  extends  nearly  as  far  down  Villiers-street  as  along  the 
Strand.     In  the  court-yard  is  a  reproduction  of  the  Eleanor  Cross,  at  Charing  Cross. 


HOUNDSDITCH.  443 


The  City  Termixus  Hotel,  Cannon-street,  is  by  the  architect  of  the  Charing  Cross 
Hotel.  Both  buildings  have  pavilions  at  the  ends  of  the  principal  front,  with  high 
truncated  roofs,  ornamented  in  zinc ;  they  have  each  a  Mansard  roof  to  the  portion 
between  these  wings,  and  chimneys  having  small  columns  at  their  ends ;  in  each  case 
there  are  enclosed  porches  to  the  wings,  and  a  pent-roof  for  the  whole  length  between ; 
in  each  there  are  balconies  with  flower-vases  on  the  pedestals,  and  with  the  supporting 
cantilevers  of  the  same  character  of  profile. 

The  City  Terminus  Hotel  has  provision  for  public  meetings  and  banquets,  a  noble 
coffee-room,  a  great  hall  for  public  dinners  and  balls,  and  a  large  meeting-room  ;  and 
it  has  a  restaurant,  as  well  as  a  chop-room  and  a  luncheon-bar,  besides  the  refresh- 
ment-bar and  the  dining-room  immediately  attached  to  the  station.  Including  the 
ground-story,  chiefly  appropriated  to  the  railway  booking-offices,  there  are  four  ordinary 
stories  in  the  principal  front  of  the  building,  above  ground,  and  two  stories  in  the 
roof.  In  the  Charing  Cross  Hotel  there  are  five  stories  of  ordinary  windows,  including 
a  mezzanine :  whilst  each  pavilion  has  an  additional  story ;  and  there  are  two  ranges 
of  dormers  in  the  centre-portion  of  the  front,  and  three  ranges  of  dormers  and  lucarnes 
in  the  pavilions.  The  frontage  of  the  Cannon-street  building  is  about  213  ft.  in  length : 
that  of  the  Charing  Cross  Hotel  is  227  ft. — the  railing  in  the  Strand  being  11  ft. 
longer.  The  Cannon-street  front  comprises  eleven  bays;  the  porches  project  14  ft. 
The  height  of  the  main  portion  of  the  building,  comprising  the  four  ordinary  stories, 
is  76  ft.  3  in.,  to  the  top  of  the  cornice.  Above  this,  to  the  highest  part  of 
the  main  roof  is  about  23  ft.,  and  to  the  highest  part  of  the  pavilion-roofs 
32  ft.  A  tower  at  the  south-east  angle,  containing  a  ventilating-shaft  and  the 
kitchen-flue,  rises  higher;  whilst  the  highest  points  of  all  are  reached  by  the  gilded 
metal-work  finials  of  the  spire-cappings  of  the  two  turrets,  which  are  grouped  with 
the  pavilions  in  the  principal  front.  Much  of  the  space  in  the  building  being 
devoted  to  rooms  for  dinners  and  meetings,  there  are  few  bedrooms  in  proportion  to 
the  size  of  the  structure,  or  as  compared  with  the  provision  in  the  Charing  Cross 
Hotel.  There  appear  to  be  eighty-four  bed  and  dressing-rooms.  Amongst  the  lead- 
ing features  of  the  Cannon-street  exterior  are  the  spire-capped  turrets  and  the  con- 
tinuous balconies.  The  pilasters  on  the  piers  between  the  windows  of  the  first-floor, 
are  enriched  somewhat  in  the  manner  of  the  Renaissance.  The  pedestals  of  the  crown- 
ing balustrade  have  rusticated  obelisk-formed  terminals,  of  Elizabethan  character, 
in  terra  cotta ;  each  one  having  a  small  gilt  ball  at  the  top.  The  dormer  windows  have 
two  arch-headed  lights,  with  pilasters  and  trusses,  carrying  a  pediment  whose  tympanum 
is  enriched.  In  the  upper  part  of  the  pavilion-roofs  there  are  lucarne-lights.  The 
roofs  are  ornamented  at  the  angles,  and  at  the  edges  round  the  flat  top  of  each  pavilion, 
by  very  bold  ornament  in  stamped  zinc,  executed,  like  that  of  the  other  Hotel,  by 
French  workmen.  Each  turret  terminates  in  a  belvidere-story,  open,  above  the  cor- 
nice ;  and  with  a  domical  covering,  ending  in  a  spire.  The  front  of  the  Hotel  looking 
into  the  station  has  three  lofty  and  bold  arches,  having  coffers  in  the  soffits  enriched 
with  rosettes.     The  Hotel  building  is  stated  to  have  cost  about  100,000£. 

HOUNDSDITCH 

EXTENDS  from  opposite  St.  Botolph's  Church,  Bishopsgate-street,  to  St.  Botolph's, 
Aldgate.     Beaumont  and  Fletcher  call  it  Dogsditch. 

"  From  Aldgate  north-west  to  Bishopsgate  lieth  the  ditch  of  the  City  called  Houndsditch,  for  that 
in  old  time,  when  the  same  lay  open,  much  filth  (conveyed  from  the  City),  especially  dead  dogs,  were 
there  laid  or  cast." — Stow. 

Into  this  filthy  ditch,  by  command  of  King  Canute,  was  thrown  Edie,  the  Saxon,  the  murderer  of  his 
master,  Edmund  Ironside,  after  having  been  drawn  by  his  heels  from  Baynard's  Castle,  and  tormented 
to  death  by  burning  torches.  The  ditch  was  subsequently  enclosed  with  a  mud  wall,  against  which  was 
a  "fair  field,"  with  cottages  for  poor  bed-rid  people,  and  where  devout  people  walked  (especially  ou  Fri- 
days) to  relieve  the  bed-ridden,  who  lay  on  the  ground-floor,  at  the  window,  with  a  clean  linen  cloth,  and 
a  pair  of  beads,  to  show  to  charitable  passengers  that  "  there  lay  a  bed-rid  body,  unable  but  to  pray  only." 

Houndsditch  was  first  paved  1503.  Late  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.  a  foundry 
for  casting  brass  ordnance  was  established  here,  which  drove  the  poor  bed-rid 
people  out  of  their  cottages ;  and  upon  their  site  were  built  houses  and  shops  for 
"brokers,  joyners,  braziers,  and  such  as  deal  in  old  clothes,  linen,  and  upholstery." 
(Strgpe.)     Braziers  abound  here  to  the  present  day.     Here  lived  Tench,  the  joiner,  to 


444  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

whom  it  was  sworn  on  the  trial  of  Hugh  Peters,  1660,  that  his  orders  were  given  on 
the  scaffold  to  prepare  the  block  for  the  beheading  of  Charles  I. ;  and  in  Rosemary- 
lane  lived  Ralph  Jones,  the  ragman,  who  assisted  Brandon,  the  common  hangman,  in 
the  execution.  Anthony  Munday  speaks  indignantly  of  the  unconscionable  broking 
usurers,  a  base  kind  of  vermin,  who  had  crept  into  Houndsditch ;  which,  with  Long- 
lane,  were  the  Rag  Fairs  of  two  centuries  since;  and  Houndsditch  is  to  this  day  the 
centre  of  the  Jews'  quarter. 

Houndsditch  was  also  the  general  name  of  the  different  parts  of  the  City  ditch.  In  a 
chartulary  of  St.  Giles's  Hospital,  beginning  of  fifteenth  century,  Houndesdic  and 
Jloundesdich  are  part  of  the  ditch  in  the  parish  of  St.  Sepulchre.  Howell's  Londino- 
polis  shows,  by  the  same  name,  parts  of  the  fosse  between  Ludgate  and  Newgate; 
and  by  Barbican. 

SOUSES  OF  OLD  LONDON. 

ANTERIOR  to  the  reign  of  Stephen,  Houses  in  London  were  built  much  as  they 
had  been  in  the  earlier  Saxon  times,  almost  wholly  of  wood,  roofed  with  straw  and 
reeds :  thus  a  carpenter  is  described  as  "  making  houses  and  bowls."  Hence  the 
frequent  fires ;  and  especially  the  great  conflagration  of  1097,  which  spread  from 
London  Bridge  to  the  church  of  St.  Clement  Danes,  in  the  Strand.  By  an  assize  (1st 
year  of  Richard  I.)  all  houses  in  London  were  hereafter  to  be  built  of  stone,  with 
party-walls  of  the  same  :  but  this  mandate  was  rarely  complied  with ;  and  it  was  not 
until  the  reign  of  Edward  IV.,  when  brick  was  made  from  the  clay  of  Moorfields,  that 
it  occasionally  took  the  place  of  the  timber  which  had  hitherto  been  used  for  houses ; 
reeds  were  then  replaced  by  tiles  and  slates.  In  two  centuries,  to  gain  ground,  many 
stone  houses  were  taken  down,  and  others  of  timber  built  in  their  place;  and  it  is  dis- 
tinctly stated  that  London,  to  the  period  of  the  Great  Fire  1666,  was  chiefly  built  of 
chestnut,  filled  up  with  plaster.  After  the  Great  Fire,  the  houses  were  rebuilt  with 
brick ;  but  between  1618  and  1636  several  fine  brick  houses  were  erected  in  Alders- 
gate-street,  Great  Queen-street,  Lincoln's-inn-fields,  and  Covent  Garden.  Still,  the 
general  form  of  roof  was  the  high-pitched  gable,  whole  rows  of  which  have  disappeared 
in  our  time,  with  several  specimens  of  florid  plaster  and  carved  wood  fronts.  Very  few 
specimens,  however,  remain.* 

Alder sgate-street  has  several  house-fronts  writh  remains  of  sixteenth  and  seventeenth 
century  carving  and  other  ornaments.     (See  also  p.  449.) 

Aldgate  High-street,  No.  76,  with  central  bay-windows,  enriched  brackets,  and  a 
projecting  penthouse-shop,  has  panels  decorated  with  the  Prince  of  Wales'  feathers,  the 
fleur-de-lis  of  France,  the  Thistle  of  Scotland,  portcullis  of  Westminster,  &c. 

Ashburnham  House,  Little  Dean's-yard,  and  Cloisters,  Westminster  Abbey,  was  origi- 
nally built  by  Inigo  Jones,  on  chapter  land,  for  the  Ashburnham  family ;  it  was  purchased 
by  the  Crown  of  John  Earl  of  Ashburnham,  in  1730.  Here  the  Cotton  Library  of 
MSS.  was  deposited.  On  October  23,  1731,  a  fire  broke  out  here,  when  of  the  948 
volumes,  114  were  lost  or  spoiled,  and  98  much  damaged.  All  that  remains  in  the 
western  portion  of  the  house,  are  an  exquisitely  proportioned  drawing-room;  the 
dining-room,  once  a  state  bed-room,  with  a  graceful  alcove ;  and  a  staircase,  one  of  the 
finest  of  Inigo  Jones's  interior  works.  Sir  John  Soane  had  careful  drawipgs  made  of 
the  house.  In  the  cellars,  it  is  said,  were  some  remains  of  the  conventual  buildings ; 
and  a  capital  of  the  time  of  King  Edward  the  Confessor,  which  was  built  into  the 
modern  wall. 

Bagnio,  the,  in  Bath-street,  Newgate-street,  was  built  by  Turkey  merchants,  and 
first  opened  in  1679  (Aubrey),  for  sweating,  rubbing,  shaving,  hot-bathing,  and  cup- 
ping, after  the  Turkish  model.  The  cupola-roof  and  walls  neatly  set  with  Dutch  tiles, 
described  by  Hatton  in  1708,  exist  to  this  day :  it  is  now  a  cold  bath. 

*  The  remains  of  Roman  London  consist  chiefly  of  portions  of  the  City  wall,  foundations  of  build- 
ings; tesselatcd  pavements,  often  of  so  much  beauty  as  to  denote  a  corresponding  style  in  the  super- 
structure ;  baths,  sewers,  bronzes,  and  various  ornaments  admirable  as  works  of  art.  A  Roman  bath 
nearly  complete  still  exists  in  Strand-lane ;  and  a  Roman  hypocaust  is  preserved  beneath  the  Coal  Ex- 
change (see  p.  329).  The  remains  of  the  superstructures  of  Roman  London  which  have  yet  been  dis- 
covered, are,  however,  unimportant. 


HOUSES  OF  OLD  LONDON.  445 

Bangor  Souse,  Shoe-lane,  south  of  St.  Andrew's  Church,  is  described  as  the  palace 
of  the  Bishops  of  Bangor  in  a  roll  of  48  Edward  III.  Being  deserted  as  an  episcopal 
residence,  some  mean  dwellings  were  built  upon  the  grounds ;  yet  a  garden  with  lime- 
trees,  and  a  rookery,  long  remained.  The  last  of  the  mansion,  octangular  and  two- 
storied,  was  removed  in  1828;  hut  is  kept  in  memory  by  "Bangor  House;"  and  by 
Bangor-court,  opposite  which  are  some  remains  of  "  Oldborne  Hall,"  in  Stow's  time 
"  letten  out  in  divers  tenements." 

Baumes,  or  Balmes  (from  two  Spanish  merchants  so  named),  stood  west  of  the 
Kingsland-road,  Hoxton,  and  was  taken  down  in  1852.  It  was  built  by  the  Balmeses, 
about  1440 ;  Sir  George  Whitmore  resided  here  occasionally  when  lord  mayor,  1631  j 
and  on  this  spot  Sir  W.  Acton,  lord  mayor,  with  the  aldermen,  &c.,  waited  the  arrival 
of  Charles  I.  on  his  return  from  Scotland,  Nov.  25, 1641 ;  when  the  royal  coaches  were 
conducted,  by  a  road  formed  for  the  occasion,  through  Balmes's  grounds  to  Hoxton, 
and  thence  to  Moorgate,  into  the  City,  the  road  between  Kingsland  and  Shoreditch 
being  then  impassable  by  "  the  depth  and  foulness  of  it."  Baumes-march  was  long  a 
favourite  archery  and  artillery  exercise  ;*  but  the  ground  attached  to  the  house  is  now 
the  site  of  De  Beauvoir  Town,  named  from  the  Be  Beauvoir  family,  its  owners  since 
1696.  A  print  of  1580  shows  Baumes,  with  its  gate-house,  farmery,  spacious  gardens 
and  grounds,  avenues  of  fruit-trees  and  stately  elms ;  and  the  Italianized  brick  mansion 
with  its  two-storied  roof,  moated  and  approached  by  a  drawbridge  j  the  house  and  moat 
were  supplied  from  the  ancient  well  in  Canonbury  Field.  The  interior  of  Balmes  was 
rich  in  carved  ceilings,  panelling  and  staircase,  armorial  glass  and  tapestry. 

Brook's  Menagerie  (subsequently  Herring's),  an  old  wooden  house  at  the  western 
corner  of  Brook-street,  New-road,  was  standing  when  Tottenhall  Fair  was  in  its  glory ; 
and  almost  the  only  house  between  St.  Giles's  Pound  and  Primrose-hill  was  Tottenhall, 
a  house  of  entertainment  in  1645,  on  the  site  of  which  is  the  "  Adam  and  Eve  tavern." 

Bulk  Shops  have  only  disappeared  in  our  time.  In  1846  was  taken  down  an  old 
house  south-west  of  Temple  Bar,  which  is  engraved  in  Archer's  Vestiges,  part  i.  A 
view  in  1795,  in  the  Crowle  Pennant,  presents  one  tall  gable  to  the  street ;  but  the 
pitch  of  the  roof  had  been  diminished  by  adding  two  imperfect  side  gables.  The  heavy 
pents  originally  traversed  over  each  of  the  three  courses  of  windows ;  it  was  a  mere 
timber  frame  filled  up  with  lath  and  plaster,  the  beams  being  of  deal  with  short  oak 
joints :  it  presented  a  capital  example  of  the  old  London  bulk-shop  (sixteenth  century), 
with  a  heavy  canopy  projecting  over  the  pathway,  and  turned  up  at  the  rim  to  carry 
off  the  rain  endwise.  This  shop  had  long  been  held  X>y  a  succession  of  fishmongers, 
among  whom  was  the  noted  Crockford,  who  quitted  it  for  "  play"  in  St.  James's  {see 
Clt/b-hot/ses,  pp.  216, 247).  Crockford  would  not  permit  this  house-front  to  be  altered 
in  his  lifetime. 

Burnet's  {Bishop)  House,  St.  John's-square,  Clerkenwell,  is  now  let  in  tenements, 
and  has  an  arched  thoroughfare  to  a  court  of  houses  built  on  the  site  of  the  garden. 
In  this  house  Burnet  died  1715,  and  was  buried  in  St.  James's  Church,  when  the 
rabble  threw  dirt  and  stones  at  his  funeral  procession.  The  Bishop's  house  and  tomb 
are  engraved  from  original  drawings  in  the  Mirror,  1837,  No.  836. 

Campden  Souse,  Kensington,  originally  approached  from  the  town  by  an  avenue  of 
elms,  was  built  about  1612  by  Sir  Baptist  Hicks,  afterwards  Viscount  Campden,  who 
purchased  the  property  of  Sir  Walter  Cope ;  or,  traditionally,  won  it  of  him  "  at  some 
sort  of  game."  The  house  was  of  red  brick,  with  stone  finishings,  and  had  a  centre 
porch,  bay-window  once  fitted  with  armorial  glass,  and  flanking  turrets  with  cupolas. 
The  great  dining-room,  in  which  Charles  II.  supped  with  Lord  Campden,  had  a  rich 
armorial  ceiling  in  stucco,  floridly  carved  wainscot,  and  a  tabernacle  mantelpiece,  with 
Corinthian  columns  and  caryatidal  figures,  finely  sculptured.  The  State  apartments  on 
the  first  floor  included  Queen  Anne's  bedchamber ;  and  the  Globe  room,  originally  a 
chapel,  and  communicating  with  the  garden  terrace :  the  other  rooms  had  richly  stuc- 
coed ceilings  and  marble  mantelpieces.      During  the  Protectorate,  the  Sequestration 

*  The  Robin  Hood  public-house  (now  refronted)  originally  looked  over  Finabury-flelds,  and  was 
much  frequented  by  the  metropolitan  archers ;  the  sign,  Kobin  Hood  and  Little  John,  in  Lincoln-green, 
formerly  swuns  from  a  tree  before  the  door.  A  few  dealers  in  archery  implements,  and  preservers  of 
animals,  have  lingered  in  the  City-road  to  our  day — the  last  relics  of  the  chivalry  of  Hogsden,  Finsbury, 
and  Moorfields. 


446  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Committee  sat  here.  Queen  Anne,  when  Princess  of  Denmark,  resided  five  years  at 
Campden  House,  with  her  son  the  Duke  of  Gloucester,  who  kept  a  regiment  of  hoy- 
soldiers  here,  and  had  a  puppet-theatre  built.  Lord  Lechmere,  the  lawyer  and  staunch 
Whig,  lived  here  when  he  had  his  quarrel  with  Sir  John  Guise,  ridiculed  in  Swift's 
ballad  of  "  Duke  upon  Duke :" 

■  Back  in  the  dark,  by  Brompton  Park, 

He  turn'd  up  thro'  the  Gore, 
And  slunk  to  Campden-house  so  high, 

All  in  his  coach  and  four. 
The  Duke  in  wrath  called  for  his  steeds, 

And  fiercely  drove  them  on : 
Lord  !  Lord  !  .how  rattled  then  thy  stones, 

O  kingly  Kensington  1" 

Swift  had  lodged  at  Kensington,  and  well  knew  the  locality.  The  gardens,  in  which 
the  wild  olive  and  the  caper-tree  once  flourished,  had  been  much  reduced  ;  but  the 
house  retained  its  original  front.  In  the  spring  of  1862,  by  a  conflagration  of  remarkable 
rapidity,  Campden  House  was  reduced  to  blackened  and  windowless  walls  :  it  has  been 
rebuilt  in  the  same  style.  The  historic  interest  of  the  place  had  ceased  some  sixty  years 
before.  Among  the  relics  are  two  dogs  (supporters  of  the  Campden  arms),  which  for- 
merly surmounted  the  gateway-piers,  and  are  cleverly  sculptured.  Westward  is  Little 
Campden  House,  built  during  the  Princess  Anne's  residence  at  Campden  House :  it  has 
an  outer  arcaded  gallery ;  and  was  once  occupied  by  the  Right  Hon.  William  Pitt. 

Canonbury  Place,  Islington,  was  originally  the  country-house  of  the  Priors  of  St. 
Bartholomew.     {See  Canonbuey  Towee,  p.  78.) 

"  Canonbury  House  internally  is  one  of  the  richest  specimens  of  the  architecture  of  James  I.  in  the 
neighbourhood  of  London.  The  house,  or  rather  the  remains,  form  at  the  present  time  several  large 
dwelling-houses;  including  a  portion  of  the  old  great  chamber,  with  a  rich  ceiling,  date  1599,  a  quaintly 
carved  oak  fireplace,  with  statuettes  of  Mars  and  Venus  draped,  and  a  doorway  with  bust  of  an  old 
English  gentleman  and  dame,  the  Roman  mouldings  and  enriched  frieze  very  fine;  several  other  rooms 
are  sumptuously  carved,  and  the  parlour  retains  its  original  decoration." — C.J.  Eichardson,  F.S.A. 

Carlisle  Souse,  Carlisle-street,  Soho-square,  formerly  the  mansion  of  the  Dowager 
Lady  Carlisle,  was  built  temp.  James  II. :  it  has  a  marble-floored  hall  and  grand  deco- 
rated staircase;  the  rooms  are  large  and  lofty,  and  have  enriched  ceilings.  The 
mansion  originally  stood  in  the  midst  of  a  garden,  a  portion  of  which  remains  in  the 
rear ;  the  "  cherry-garden"  is  built  upon.  The  lower  walls  of  Carlisle  House  are  of 
old  English  bond,  of  brilliant  red  brick ;  the  leadwork  of  the  cistern  is  dated  1669,  the 
year  of  the  creation  of  the  Earldom  of  Carlisle.  The  mansion  was  long  tenanted  by 
Angelo,  the  fencing-master ;  also  by  W.  Gibbs  Rogers,  the  carver :  and  in  the  ball- 
room the  College  of  the  Freemasons  of  the  Church  held  their  monthly  meetings. 

"  Caxton's  Souse,"  Westminster,  and  other  old  houses  in  the  Almonry,  are  described 
at  p.  6.     The  identification  of  the  old  Printer's  house  is  very  doubtful. 

Crosby  Sail,  Bishopsgate-street,  the  finest  specimen  of  olden  domestic  architecture 
in  the  metropolis,  is  described  at  p.  297. 

Drury-lane  has  the  Cock  and  Magpie,  a  low  public-house  of  the  seventeenth  century, 
with  a  panelled  house  next  door,  and  a  range  of  tenements  in  Drury-court  of  the 
same  date.  These  were  then  the  only  houses  in  the  eastern  part  of  Drury-lane, 
except  the  mansion  of  the  Drurys.  Hither  the  youths  and  maidens  who  on  May-day 
danced  round  the  May-pole  in  the  Strand,  were  accustomed  to  resort  for  cakes  and 
ale :  Pope  has  named  it  the  scene  of  "  the  high  heroic  games  devised  by  dulness  to 
gladden  her  sons."     The  old  public-house  is  now  otherwise  occupied. 

"  Lyotfs  Souse,"  Dyott-street,  now  George-street,  St.  Giles's,  was  the  mansion  of 
Richard  Dyott,  Esq.,  a  vestryman  of  St.  Giles's  parish  temp.  Charles  II.,  and  was  in- 
habited till  our  time  by  his  descendant,  Philip  Dyott,  Esq. 

Elizabethan  Souses.  Among  the  earliest  examples  of  the  Elizabethan  period  was  a 
house  in  Grub-street,  engraved  in  Smith's  Antiquities,  in  which  the  mouldings,  quatre- 
foil,  and  other  Gothic  ornaments,  were  combined  with  the  Italianized  panels  and 
brackets  of  a  later  date.  Malcolm  in  his  Anecdotes,  has  engraved  two  Elizabethan 
houses  in  Goswell-road,  built  about  1550,  and  standing  in  1807;  with  bay-windows, 
over-hanging  upper  story,  and  gable :  next  door,  for  contrast,  is  a  house  built  about 
1800,  three  floors  of  the  former  being  scarcely  equal  to  two  of  the  latter. 


HOUSES  OF  OLD  LONDON.  447 

"  The  roofs  (ceilings)  of  your  houses  are  so  low,  that  I  presume  your  ancestors  were  very  mannerly, 
and  stood  bare  to  their  wives,  for  I  cannot  discern  how  they  could  wear  their  high-crowned  hats." — Sir 
William  Davenant. 

Fowler's  House,  Islington,  fronts  Cross-street :  a  ceiling  bears  the  date  1595 :  at  the 
extremity  of  the  garden  is  a  lodge,  probably  built  as  a  summer-house  by  Sir  Thomas 
Fowler  the  younger,  whose  arms  and  the  date  1655  are  in  the  wall.  Sir  Thomas 
Fowler  the  elder,  who  died  1624,  was  a  juryman  on  Sir  Walter  Kaleigh's  trial. 

Fulwood's  Rents,  Holborn,  has  a  house  temp.  James  I.     {See  p.  363.) 

Gray 's-Inn-lane,  east  side,  north  end,  has  three  Elizabethan  houses,  originally  one, 
and  probably  a  hostelry  on  the  road  to  Theobalds :  its  three  stories  project  over  each 
other  upward,  the  top  one  being  of  weather-board  plastered  inside,  and  the  roof 
having  four  pointed  gables :  at  the  ends  of  the  first  and  second  stories  are  carved 
brackets,  one  dated  1559. 

Grub-street.  In  Sweedon's  passage,  Grub-street,  was  an  ancient  timber-built  house, 
traditionally  the  residence  of  Sir  Richard  Whittington,  temp.  Henry  IV. ;  and  of  Sir 
Thomas  Gresham,  temp.  Elizabeth.  The  massive  timbers  were  oak  and  chestnut,  the 
ground-floor  chimneys  being  of  stone  :  it  had  a  boldly  projecting  staircase,  which,  with 
the  house,  was  taken  down  in  1805,  and  three  small  houses  were  built  upon  its  site, 
one  inscribed  "  Gresham  House,  once  the  residence  of  Sir  Richard  Whittington,  Lord 
Mayor  1406,  rebuilt  1805."     (See  Smith's  Ancient  Topography.) 

Holborn.  In  the  volume  of  MS.  drawings  by  John  Thorpe,  preserved  in  Sir  John 
Soane's  Museum,  is  a  sketch  of  a  wooden  house  described  as  standing  in  Thorpe's  time 
at  the  "  water  end  of  Holborn." 

"  From  the  garden  you  ascend  by  five  steps  the  enclosed  terrace  in  front  of  the  building;  this  has, 
as  Thorpe  expresses  it,  a  '  terrace  overhead :'  a  small  porch  leads  into  the  great  hall.  The  kitchen  is 
on  the  right ;  the  larder  is  the  small  square  room  leading  out  of  it.  The  small  room  in  front  on  the 
same  side  as  the  kitchen,  is  the  buttery,  with  cellar  under,  the  small  steps  conducting  down  to  it. 
Above  the  hall  is  '  the  great  chamber,'  the  staircase  leading  to  which  opens  into  a  gallery  communicat- 
ing to  the  rooms  of  the  rest  of  the  building.  The  square  compartments  at  the  back  of  the  house, 
represented  in  plan  as  staircase  and  larder,  are  carried  up  above  the  roof  as  turrets;  a  small  prospect 
tower  is  placed  in  front  of  the  building." — C.  J.  Richardson,  F.S.A. 

Holland  House,  Kensington,  is  described  at  pp.  431-433. 

Hoxton.  A  few  years  since  there  stood  in  Hoxton  Old  Town  the  reputed  "  oldest 
house  in  the  metropolis,"  in  taking  down  which  was  found  a  brick  dated  above  150  years 
back ;  but  most  of  the  bricks  were  of  a  much  earlier  period,  being  deep-red  and  highly 
glazed  :  the  door  was  beautifully  carved  with  the  oak  and  vine,  &c.  The  Parliamen- 
tary Survey,  No.  78,  as  reported  in  Sir  H.  Ellis's  History  of  Shoreditch,  of  which 
Hoxton  is  one  of  the  divisions,  states  that  about  this  spot,  during  the  Interregnum,  a 
house  was  in  the  possession  of  Charles  Stuart,  some  time  King  of  England,  in  1653, 
which  was  valued  at  41.  per  annum. 

Kennington  Manor-house,  a  portion  of  the  royal  lodging  built  of  brick  upon  part  of 
the  site  of  the  old  palace  near  Kennington-cross,  exists  to  this  day.  Its  last  royal 
tenant  was  Charles  I.,  when  Prince  of  Wales,  Kennington  having  been  an  occasional 
residence  of  the  Kings  of  England  prior  to  the  Conquest.  The  manor  was  annexed  to 
the  Duchy  of  Cornwall,  temp.  Edward  III.,  and  was  tenanted  by  the  Black  Prince. 
John  of  Gaunt  took  refuge  here  in  1377  from  the  exasperated  Londoners.  Henry  VII. 
and  Katherine  of  Arragon  resided  here ;  and  James  I.  settled  the  manor  on  Henry 
Prince  of  Wales,  his  eldest  son ;  and  upon  his  decease,  1612,  on  Prince  Charles,  after- 
wards Charles  I.  The  stables  of  the  earlier  palace,  built  of  flint  and  stone,  and  known 
as  the  Long  Barn,  remained  till  1795 ;  and  fragments  of  flint,  chalk,  and  rubble-stone 
walls  of  the  ancient  palaces  are  traceable  in  houses  in  Park-place. 

Kensington  House,  nearly  opposite  the  palace-gates,  was  the  residence  of  the  Duchess 
of  Portsmouth,  the  French  mistress  of  Charles  II.  Here  Elphinstone,  the  friend  of 
Jortin,  Franklin,  and  Johnson,  kept  a  school  from  1776  till  1788  :  he  is  unsparingly 
ridiculed  in  Smollett's  Roderick  Random.  The  mansion  was  next  a  Roman  Catholic 
boarding-house,  where  Mrs.  Inchbald,  the  player  and  novelist,  died  in  1821.  Colby 
House,  facing  the  Palace-road  gates,  was  built  about  1720,  for  Sir  Thomas  Colby :  it 
has  a  painted  grand  staircase  with  Herculaneum  ceiling,  and  a  small  chapel.  Kensing- 
ton National  Schools,  a  stately  pile  of  brickwork,  west  of  the  church,  were  built  by  Sir 
John  Vanbrugh,  who  "  is  singularly  fortunate  in  this  design,  his  lines  presenting  a  re- 


448  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

strained  degree  of  civil  architecture,  in  the  middle  class  of  uprights"  (John  Carter). 
Here  are  costumed  figures  of  a  charity  boy  and  girl  of  the  last  century. 

Sale  Souse,  Earl's-court,  traditionally  tbe  residence  of  Oliver  Cromwell,  long  re- 
mained dilapidated  and  desolate;  but  retained  a  few  seventeenth-century  decorations. 
Near  the  West  London  Cemetery  is  Coleherne  Souse,  temp.  Charles  I.,  the  property  of 
Sir  William  Lister ;  next  of  Gen.  Lambert,  the  first  President  of  Cromwell's  Council  j 
and  in  1820,  of  the  widow  of  Major-Gen.  Sir  W.  Ponsonby,  who  fell  at  Waterloo. 

Lindsey  Souse,  Chelsea,  west  of  the  old  church,  was  built  by  Bertie,  Earl  of  Lindsey, 
upon  the  site  of  the  mansion  of  Sir  Theodore  Mayerne,  physician  to  James  I.  and 
Charles  I.  In  1751  Lindsey  House  was  purchased  by  the  United  Brethren,  or  Moravians, 
whose  Bishop,  Count  Zinzendorf,  died  here  in  1760 :  in  the  rear  of  the  house  is  a 
burial-ground  for  the  Brethren,  with  a  small  chapel ;  but  their  only  place  of  worship 
in  London  is  the  chapel  in  Fetter-lane  (see  p.  220).  Lindsey  House  is  now  five 
residences :  the  central  one  was  tenanted  by  Sir  I.  K.  Brunei  and  Son,  and  Bramah, 
the  engineers ;  and  next  inhabited  by  John  Martin,  the  epic  painter,  who  in  a  summer- 
house  in  tbe  garden  executed  a  fine  fresco. 

Lindsey  Souse,  on  the  centre  of  the  west  side  of  Lincoln's-inn-fields,.  was  built  by 
Inigo  Jones  for  the  above  Bertie,  Earl  of  Lindsey,  and  was  for  some  time  the  residence 
of  the  proud  Duke  of  Somerset :  it  has  a  handsome  stone  facade,  and  had  formerly 
vases  upon  the  open  balustrade.  At  the  south-west  angle  of  Lincoln's-inn-fields  is 
Portsmouth  Souse,  built  in  Inigo  Jones's  rich  style  for  the  Earl  of  Portsmouth,  but 
now  let  in  chambers.  It  gives  name  to  Portsmouth- street,  where  is  the  Black-Jack 
public-house,  frequented  by  Joe  Miller,  and  long  known  as  "  the  Jump,"  from  Jack 
Sheppard's  leaping  from  one  of  its  first-floor  windows,  to  escape  his  pursuers. 

Little  Moorfields,  No.  23,  was  formerly  the  King's  Arms  public-house,  with  a  plaster 
front  richly  wrought  with  flowers,  and  a  pair  of  large  scrolls  surmounted  with  the 
Ionic  volute.  In  London  Wall  was  a  house-front,  temp.  Charles  I.,  enriched  with 
groups  of  foliage  and  figures,  and  engraved  in  Lester's  Illustrations,  1818. 

Long-lane,  Smithfield,  has  a  few  houses  remaining  of  Elizabethan  date ;  and  Cloth 
Fair  has  relics  of  this  and  a  later  period. 

Marylebone  Manor-house,  attached  to  the  Royal  Park,  was  built  temp.  Henry  VIII., 
and  was  a  palace  of  Mary  and  Elizabeth.  Here,  about  1703,  was  established  a  school 
of  great  repute ;  the  interior  had  a  beautiful  saloon  and  gallery,  in  which  private  con- 
certs were  given.  The  house,  which  stood  at  the  top  of  High-street,  nearly  opposite 
the  old  church,  was  taken  down  in  1791.  South  of  the  Manor-house  site  was  Oxford 
Souse,  built  especially  for  the  Library  and  MSS.  (Harleian)  of  the  Earl  of  Oxford,  now 
in  the  British  Museum. 

llilbom's  Almshouses,  Crutched  Friars,  were  built  of  brick  and  timber,  in  1535,  by 
Sir  John  Milborn,  lord  mayor  in  1521,  for  thirteen  aged  poor  men  and  their  wives,  of 
the  Drapers'  Company.  Over  the  Tudor  gateway  was  sculptured  in  stone  the  Assump- 
tion, the  Virgin  supported  by  six  angels.     The  Almshouses  were  taken  down  in  1862. 

Newcastle  Souse,  at  the  north-west  angle  of  Lincoln's-inn-fields,  has  beneath  its 
south  wing  an  arcade  over  the  southern  footway  of  Great  Queen-street.  It  was 
originally  Powis  House,  built  for  the  Marquis  of  Powis,  about  1686,  by  Captain  Wil- 
liam Winde,  a  scholar  of  Webbe,  a  pupil  of  Inigo  Jones.  It  was  bought  by  Holies, 
Duke  of  Newcastle,  and  inherited  by  his  nephew,  who  led  the  Pelham  administration 
under  George  II. 

"  Old  City  of  London  WorTchouse,"  Bishopsgate-street  Without,  the  first  workhouse 
built  in  London,  dates  from  1680  :  in  the  court-room  is  a  portrait  of  Sir  Robert  Clay- 
ton, the  first  governor.  The  house  was  originally  partitioned  into  the  steward's  side, 
for  poor  children  ;  and  the  keeper's  side,  for  "  vogues  and  vagabonds." 

Post-office,  Lombard-street,  formerly  the  General  Post-office,  was  originally  built  by 
"  the  great  banquer,"  Sir  Robert  Viner,  on  the  site  of  a  noted  tavern  destroyed  in  the 
Great  Fire.  Here  Sir  Robert  kept  his  mayoralty  in  1675.  Strype  describes  it  as  a 
very  large  and  curious  dwelling,  with  a  handsome  paved  court,  and  behind  it  "  a  yard 
for  stabling  and  coaches." 

Queen-street,  Lincoln's-inn-fields,  has  on  the  south  side  some  early  brick  houses, 
built  by  Inigo  Jones  and  his  pupil  Webbe ;  those  on  the  south  being  charged  with  the 


HOUSES  OF  OLD  LONDON.  449 

fleur-de-lis,  in  compliment  to  Queen  Henrietta-Maria,  daughter  of  Henry  IV.  of  France, 
after  whom  the  street  was  named :  it  was  said  to  have  been  designed  for  a  square,  and 
built  at  the  charge  of  the  Jesuits  on  the  site  of  the  common  path  which  anciently 
separated  Aldewych  Close  from  the  northern  division  of  Aldewych,  extending  to 
Holborn.  The  street  was  originally  entered  from  the  west  by  "  the  Devil's  Gap,"  a 
narrow  passage ;  altered  1765. 

"  In  the  last  century  Queen-street  was  the  residence  of  many  people  of  rank.  Among1  others  was 
Conway  House,  the  residence  of  the  noble  family  of  that  name;  Paulet  House,  belonging  to  the  Marquis 
of  Winchester;  and  the  house  in  which  Lord  Herbert  of  Cherbury  finished  his  romantic  career.  The 
fronts  of  certain  houses,  possibly  of  those  of  others  of  the  nobility,  are  distinguished  by  brick  pilasters 
and  rich  capitals." — Pennant. 

Howel  writes  to  Lord  Herbert,  13th  July,  1646 :  "  God  send  you  joy  of  your  new  habitation,  for  I 
understand  your  Lordship  is  removed  from  the  King' s-street  to  the  Queen's."— Familiar  Letters. 

Here  lived  Sir  Thomas  Fairfax,  the  Parliamentary  general,  when  he  took  possession  of 
Holland  House,  Kensington.  Also,  Sir  Godfrey  Kneller;  Hudson,  Sir  Joshua  Rey- 
nolds's master ;  and  Sir  Robert  Strange,  the  engraver.  Lord  Herbert's  house  is  near 
the  east  corner  of  Great  Wild-street.  Another  of  Howel's  Familiar  Letters  is  addressed 
"  To  the  R.  H.  the  Earl  Rivers,  at  his  house  in  Queen-street." 

"  May  26th,  1671.  The  Earl  of  Bristol's  House,  in  Queen-street,  Lincoln's-inn-fields,  was  taken  for 
the  Commissioners  of  Trade  and  Plantations,  and  furnished  with  rich  hangings  of  the  King's.  It  con- 
sisted of  seven  rooms  on  a  floor,  with  a  long  gallery,  gardens,  &c." — Evefy-n's  Diary. 

Schomberg  House,  Pall  Mall,  Nos.  81  and  82,  south  side,  was  built  about  1650,  when 
Pall  Mall  was  planted  with  140  elm-trees,  "  standing  in  a  very  regular  and  decent 
manner  on  both  sides  of  the  walk  ;"  and  the  above  house  is  described  as  "  a  fair  mansion 
enclosed  with  a  garden."  In  1660,  at  the  Restoration,  it  was  occupied  by  several  Court 
favourites;  and  subsequently  by  Edward  Griffin,  Treasurer  of  the  Chamber,  and 
ancestor  of  the  present  Lord  Braybrooke.  In  1670  Schomberg  House  and  the  ad- 
joining mansions  had  gardens  which  extended  to  St.  James's  Park,  and  had  earthen  r>  XX 
mounds  or  terraces,  from  which  was  a  view  over  the  green  walks  to  the  Palace.  \M/" 

Next  door,  on  the  site  of  the  present  No.  79  (tenanted  by  the  Society  for  the  Propagation  of  the    !.y*^ 
Gospel  in  Foreign  Parts),  lived  Nell  Gwyn,  after  her  removal  from  a  house  at  the  east  end  of  the  north     ^  n 
side  of  Pall  Mall.    Evelyn  records  a  walk  made  March  2, 1671,  in  which  he  attended  Charles  II.  through  IvJL' 

St.  James's  Park,  where  he  both  saw  and  heard  "a  familiar  discourse  between  the  King  and  Mrs. 
Nellie,  as  they  called  an  impudent  comedian,  she  looking  out  of  her  garden  on  a  terrace  at  the  top  of  the 
wall,  and  the  King  standing  on  the  green  walk  under  it."  Part  of  the  terrace  or  mound  on  which 
Nelly  stood  may  still  be  seen  under  the  park  wall  of  Marlborough  House ;  and  among  Mr.  Robert  Cole's 
Nell  Gwyn  papers,  now  dispersed  (bills  sent  to  Nelly  for  payment),  there  is  a  charge  for  this  very 
mound.  (Cunningham's  Story  of  Nell  Qwyn,  p.  119.)  Tliis  scene  has  been  admirably  painted  by 
E.  M.  AYard,  R.A. 

Here  lived  the  Duke  of  Schomberg,  who  was  killed  at  the  Battle  of  the  Boyne,  1690, 
and  after  whom  the  house  is  named.  It  was  beautified  for  Frederick,  third  and  last 
Duke  of  Schomberg,  for  whom  Peter  Berchett  painted  the  grand  staircase  with  land- 
scapes in  lunettes.  In  1699,  the  house  had  nigh  been  demolished  by  a  mob  of  disbanded 
soldiers ;  and  in  the  Gordon  riots  of  1780,  attempts  were  made  to  sack  and  burn  it. 
William,  Duke  of  Cumberland,  the  hero  of  Culloden,  took  the  house  in  1760.  John 
Astley,  the  painter  and  "  the  Beau,"  who  lived  here  many  years,  partitioned  the  man- 
sion into  three,  and  placed  the  bas-relief  of  Painting  above  tbe  middle  doorway.  Astley 
also  built  on  the  roof  a  large  painting-room,  his  "  country-house,"  looking  over  the  Park, 
to  which  and  some  other  apartments  he  had  a  private  staircase.  After  Astley's  death, 
Cosway  the  portrait-painter  tenanted  the  centre.  Gainsborough  occupied  the  west 
wing  from  1777  to  1788,  when  he  died  in  a  second-floor  room  :  he  sent  for  Sir  Joshua 
Reynolds,  and  was  reconciled  to  him ;  and  then  exclaiming,  "  We  are  all  going  to 
heaven,  and  Vandyke  is  of  the  company,"  he  immediately  expired.  Part  of  the  house 
was  subsequently  occupied  by  Robert  Bowyer  for  his  "  Historic  Gallery ;"  and  by 
Dr.  Graham,  the  empiric,  for  his  "  Celestial  Bed"  and  other  impostures,  advertised  by 
two  gigantic  porters  stationed  at  the  entrance,  in  gold-laced  cocked  hats  and  liveries. 
The  house  was  a  good  specimen  of  the  red-brick  seventeenth- century  mansion.  It  was 
partly  occupied  by  Payne  and  Foss,  with  their  valuable  stock  of  old  books,  until  1850. 
The  eastern  wing  of  the  old  mansion  has  been  taken  down,  and  rebuilt  in  Italian  style, 
but  incongruously,  for  the  War  Department. 

Shaftesbury  House,  originally  Thanet  House,  on  the  east  side  of  Aldersgate-street, 
was  built  by  Inigo  Jones  for  the  Tuftons,  Earls  of  Thanet;  whence  it  passed  into  the 

GO 


450  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

family  of  Anthony  Ashley  Cooper,  Earl  of  Shafteshury.  In  1708  it  returned  to  the 
Thanet  family;  in  1720,  hecame  an  inn;  in  1734,  a  tavern;  1750,  a  Lying-in-Hos- 
pital :  and  in  1849,  a  Dispensary.  The  facade  is  of  red  hrick,  decorated  with  eight 
pilasters,  hut  painted  stone  colour.  Nearly  opposite  was  London  Souse,  originally 
Peter  House,  of  handsome  hrick :  it  was  the  town-mansion  of  the  Bishop  of  London 
after  the  Great  Fire  of  1666. 

Southward  retained  in  High-street  some  of  its  olden  house-fronts,  almost  to  the  re- 
building of  London  Bridge.  Tn  1830  were  removed  two  houses  with  enriched  pilaster 
decoration  and  armorial  ensigns  of  the  sixteenth  century ;  and  the  writer  witnessed 
about  1809,  the  demolition  of  a  long  range  of  wood  and  plaster  and  gable-fronted 
houses  on  the  west  side  of  High-street. 

"  The  Spanish  Ambassador's  House,"  eastward  of  Houndsditch,  in  Gravel-lane,  was 
taken  down  in  1844.  This  was  one  of  the  "  garden-houses,"  which  Stow  describes  as 
built  amidst  "  fair  hedgerows  of  elm-trees,  with  bridges  and  easie  stiles  to  pass  over 
into  the  pleasant  fields."  More  than  a  century  later  Strype  adds  :  "  There  was  a  house 
on  the  west  side,  a  good  way  in  the  lane,  which,  when  I  was  a  boy,  was  commonly 
called  The  Spanish  Ambassador's  House,  who,  in  King  James's  reign,  dwelt  here;  and 
he,  I  think,  was  the  famous  Count  Gondomar."  The  house  was  built  temp.  James  I., 
in  a  courtyard,  with  a  fine  gateway,  upon  a  flight  of  steps,  approached  by  "  Seven-Step 
Alley :"  it  had  three  stories,  with  pilasters  between  the  windows,  the  lower  rooms  were 
oak-panelled,  and  had  richly-carved  fireplaces  and  stucco  ceilings ;  and  on  the  first  floor 
was  a  large  chamber,  with  an  elaborately -traceried  ceiling  in  Italian  taste,  charged  with 
Latin  mottoes,  and  the  arms  of  the  founder,  Bobert  Shaw,  and  those  of  the  Vintners' 
Company,  of  which  he  was  master :  here,  too,  was  a  superb  fireplace,  of  coloured 
marbles  and  carved  oak  {see  Archer's  Vestiges,  part  v.). 

Staple  Inn,  Holborn,  has  three  overhanging  stories,  the  upper  one  with  four  pointed 
gables ;  the  ground-floor  has  modern  shop-fronts,  but  the  central  arched  entrance  to 
the  Inn  has  the  original  term  pilasters  of  the  Jacobean  style. 

Star  Chamber  and  Exchequer -buildings,  the,  stood  on  the  eastern  side  of  New 
Palace-yard ;  and  adjoining  northward  was  an  arched  gateway  (Henry  III.),  communi- 
cating by  stairs  with  the  Thames.  These  buildings,  bay-windowed  and  gabled,  were 
taken  down  between  1807  and  1836;  the  last  remaining  were  the  oflices  for  trials  of 
the  Pix,  and  printing  Exchequer  bills.  In  an  apartment  here  the  Court  of  Star 
Chamber  sat  from  temp.  Elizabeth  until  its  abolition,  1641 :  over  the  doorway  was  the 
date  1602,  E.  K.  and  an  open  rose  on  a  star.  It  had  a  richly-carved  Tudor-Gothic 
oak  ceiling,  with  moulded  compartments,  roses,  pomegranates,  portcullises,  and  fleurs- 
de-lis  ;  and  it  had  been  guilt  and  coloured,  though  it  had  not  a  trace  of  gilt  stars.  The 
mantelpiece  was  decorated  with  fluted  columns,  and  the  chimney-opening  was  a  Tudor 
arch.  Drawings  of  the  whole  were  made  in  1836.  Behind  the  Elizabethan  panelling 
were  found  three  Tudor-arched  doorways,  and  under  the  staircase  a  Gothic  wood-hole 
entrance,  its  spandrels  ornamented  with  roses ;  proving  this  to  have  been  the  original 
Camera  Stellata,  newly  fitted  temp.  Elizabeth.  The  panelling  of  the  Chamber  has  been 
removed  to  a  room  at  Leasowe  Castle,  Shropshire,  the  seat  of  the  Hon.  Sir  Edward 
Cust ;  here,  too,  is  "  the  Dosel,  a  screen  of  ornamental  woodwork,  at  the  back  of  the 
chair  of  state." — Sir  Bernard  Burke's  Visitation  of  Seats  and  Arms,  vol.  ii.  p.  126, 1853. 

St.  Mary  Axe. — A  four-storied  Tudor  house,  opposite  the  church  of  St.  Andrew's 
Undershaft,  was  taken  down  in  1864 :  it  had  three  overhanging  floors,  the  front  was 
entirely  of  wood  and  plaster,  not  unpicturesque ;  and  it  had  some  finely-panelled  oak 
apartments.  Nearly  opposite  this  house  was  erected  on  May  morning  "the  great 
Shaft  of  Cornhill,"  as  the  street  was  then  called. 

The  Strand  retains  a  few  old  house-fronts :  as  west  of  the  Adelphi  Theatre ;  and 
immediately  east  of  Strand-lane  are  three  houses  of  the  reign  of  Charles  I.,  retaining  a 
few  of  their  classic  mouldings,  cornices,  and  window  pediments. 

Tradescant's  House,  South  Lambeth-road,  a  large  brick  edifice,  nearly  opposite 
Spring-lane,  was  the  residence  of  the  Tradescants,  father  and  son;  and  of  Elias 
Ashmole,  who  "  added  a  noble  room  to  it,  and  adorned  the  chimney  with  his  arms, 
impaling  those  of  Sir  William  Dugdale,  whose  daughter  was  his  third  wife."  The 
house,  with  its  museum,  was  called  "  Tradescant's  Ark."     (See  Gaedens,  p.  368.) 


INNS  OF  OLD  LONDON.  451 

Warivick  House,  Cloth  Fair,  Smithfield,  built  temp.  Elizabeth,  was  bought  with  the 
Priory  of  St.  Bartholomew,  and  the  right  to  hold  the  Fair,  by  Sir  Robert  Rich,  in 
1544,  and  devolved  to  his  descendants,  the  Earls  of  Warwick  and  Holland ;  whence 
that  "  uproarious  rabblement,"  called  Lady  Holland's  Mob,  which  assembled  on  the 
eve  of  St.  Bartholomew  in  mock  proclamation  of  the  Fair. 

Weather-boarded  house-fronts,  in  part  plastered,  are  of  old  date :  there  was,  until 
1853,  a  row  of  these  wood  tenements  on  the  east  side  of  Milford-lane,  Strand;  and  up 
a  passage  in  Bell-yard,  Fleet-street,  a  little  north-west  of  a  house  temp.  Charles  I.,  is 
a  square  court  entirely  of  weather-board  and  plaster,  bespeaking  the  inflammable 
nature  of  London  before  the  Great  Fire. 

Winchester  street,  Old  Broad-street,  the  most  curious  specimen  of  ancient  domestic 
architecture  to  be  found  in  the  City,  disappeared  in  1865.  It  occupied  the  site  of  the 
gardens  of  the  Priory  of  St.  Augustine.  Part  of  the  house  which  the  Marquis  of  Win- 
chester built  here  still  remains.  Pinners'  Hall,  an  old  building  at  the  upper  end  of 
Princes'-court,  in  Winchester-street,  was  also  part  of  the  Augustine  Priory ;  and  was 
converted  into  a  glasshouse  before  it  became  the  property  of  the  Pinmakers'  Company, 
and,  with  its  gabled  house-fronts  and  ancient  air,  was  rendered  still  more  curious  in 
contrast  with  the  magnificent  edifices  and  the  great  railway  works  around  it.  Some 
of  the  old  shops,  without  fronts,  in  this  street  were  very  remarkable.  During  the 
removal  were  dug  up  some  remains  which  carry  us  far  beyond  the  Priory  occupancy— 
as  a  piece  of  Samian  ware  and  part  of  a  well-wrought  bone  stylus ;  and  an  iron  knife, 
or  perhaps  a  Roman  razor,  almost  exactly  like  that  engraved  in  Mr.  Roach  Smith's 
Catalogue,  p.  12. 

Several  examples  of  Old  London  Houses  are  engraved  and  described  in  the  Builder, 
Nos.  486,  489,  494,  and  515. 

INNS  OF  OLD  LONDON. 

OF  Olden  Inns,  up  gateways,  and  consisting  of  rooms  for  refection  below,  and  long 
projecting  balustraded  galleries  above,  leading  to  the  chambers — time  and  change 
have  spared  a  few  interesting  specimens. 

Angel,  Islington  (actually  in  St.  James's,  Clerkenwell),  once  a  busy  resort  of  travel- 
lers on  the  Great  North  Road,  is  reputed  to  have  been  established  upwards  of  200 
years :  it  was  rebuilt  in  1819.  The  old  inn-yard  was  nearly  quadrangular,  with  double 
galleries,  supported  by  plain  columns,  and  pilasters  carved  with  caryatid  and  other 
figures.  (See  Pugin's  Views  in  Islington  and  Pentonville,  1819.)  A  coloured  drawing 
of  this  old  inn-yard  is  preserved  here.  The  Peacock,  another  inn  hard  by,  was  of  equal 
if  not  greater  antiquity. 

Angel,  St.  Clement's,  Strand,  retained  to  the  last  its  gables  and  portions  of  covered  gal- 
leries, with  an  old  lattice-fronted  attic  passage.  Data  of  three  centuries  since  also  attest  its 
antiquity :  Bishop  Hooper,  the  venerated  martyr  of  the  Reformation,  upon  his  second 
committal  to  the  Fleet  Prison  in  1553,  refusing  to  recant  his  opinions,  was  condemned 
to  be  burnt,  in  January,  1555.  It  was  expected  that  he  would  have  accompanied 
Rogers,  a  prebendary  of  St.  Paul's,  to  the  stake ;  but  Hooper  was  led  back  to  his  cell, 
to  be  carried  down  to  Gloucester,  to  suffer  among  his  own  people.  Next  morning 
he  was  roused  at  four  o'clock,  and  being  committed  to  the  care  of  six  of  Queen  Mary's 
Guard,  they  took  him,  before  it  was  light,  to  the  Angel  Inn,  St.  Clement's,  then 
standing  in  the  fields ;  and  thence  he  was  taken  to  Gloucester,  and  there  burnt  with 
dreadful  torments  on  the  9th  of  February. 

In  the  Public  Advertiser,  March  28, 1769,  is  the  following  advertisement : — 

*'  To  be  sold,  a  Black  Girl,  the  property  of  J.  B ,  eleven  years  of  age,  who  is  extremely  handy, 

works  at  her  needle  tolerably,  and  speaks  English  perfectly  well;  is  of  an  excellent  temper  and  willing 
disposition.    Inquire  of  Mr.  Owen,  at  the  Angel  Inn,  behind  St.  Clement's  Church,  in  the  Strand." 

The  Angel  Inn  has  been  taken  down ;  and  upon  its  site  is  built  the  cul-de-sac  of 

Chambers  called  "  Danes'  Inn." 

Ape,  Philip-lane,  London  Wall :  here  were  formerly  two  galleried  inns,  the  Ape  and 
the  Cock,  of  great  antiquity :  the  sign  of  the  former  is  preserved  on  the  house  No.  14. 

Baptist's  Head  public-house,  east  side  of  St.  John's-lane,  Clerkenwell,  just  without 
the  Priory-gate,  is  a  fragment  of  an  Elizabethan  mansion,  and  until  its  renovation  had 
an  overhanging  front  grotesquely  carved,  and  lit  by  large  bay  windows,  with  painted 

G  G  2 


452  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

glass  :  some  of  the  interior  scroll-panelling  remains.  This  house  was  the  residence  of 
Sir  Thomas  Forster,  Knt.,  one  of  the  judges  of  the  Court  of  Common  Pleas;  he  died 
in  1612,  and  his  arms,  sculptured  upon  the  chimney-piece  of  the  present  tap-room, 
have  been  collated  in  Cromwell's  Clerkenwell.  The  sign  may  have  been  chosen  in 
compliment  to  Sir  Baptist  Hicks ;  and  the  public-house  is  said  to  have  been  frequented 
by  Samuel  Johnson  and  Oliver  Goldsmith  in  connexion  with  their  transactions  at 
Cave's  printing-office  over  St.  John's  Gate. 

Bell,  Great  Carter-lane,  Doctors'  Commons :  hence,  Oct.  25,  1598,  Richard  Quiney 
addressed  to  his  "  loveing  good  ffrend  and  countryman,  Mr.  Wm.  Schackespere  "  (then 
living  in  Southwark,  near  the  Bear-garden),  for  a  loan  of  thirty  pounds;  which  letter 
we  have  seen  in  the  possession  of  Mr.  R.  Bell  Wheler,  at  Stratford  upon- Avon  :  it  is 
believed  to  be  the  only  existing  letter  addressed  to  Shakspeare.  The  Bell  inn  has 
disappeared,  but  has  given  name  to  Bell-yard. 

Bell,  Warwick-lane,  Newgate-street :  here  Archbishop  Leighton,  the  steady  advocate 
of  peace  and  forbearance,  died  1684 ;  little  of  the  old  inn  remains. 

"  He  often  used  to  say,  that  if  he  were  to  choose  a  place  to  die  in,  it  should  be  an  inn ;  it  lookin  g  like  a 
pilgrim's  going  home,  to  whom  this  world  was  all  an  inn,  and  who  was  weary  of  the  noise  and  confusion 
in  it And  he  obtained  what  he  desired." — Burnet's  Ovon  Timet. 

Bell  Savage,  or  Belle  Sauvage,  Ludgate-hill,  is  a  specimen  of  the  players'  inn-yard 
before  our  regular  theatres  were  built.  The  landlord's  token,  issued  between  1648 
and  1672,  bears  an  Indian  woman  holding  a  bow  and  arrow.     The  sign  is  thus  traced: 

"As  for  the  Bell  Savage,  which  is  the  sign  of  a  savage  man  standing  by  a  bell,  I  was  formerly  very 
much  puzzled  upon  the  conceit  of  it,  till  I  accidentally  fell  into  the  reading  of  an  old  romance  translated 
out  of  the  French,  which  gives  an  account  of  a  very  beautiful  woman  who  was  found  in  a  wilderness, 
and  is  called  in  the  French  '  la  Belle  Sauvage,'  and  is  everywhere  translated  by  our  countrymen  the  Bell 
Savage."— Spectator,  No.  28. 

The  sign,  however,  was  originally  a  bell  hung  within  a  hoop,  as  proved  by  a  grant 
temp.  Henry  VI.,  wherein  John  French  gives  to  Joan  French,  widow,  his  mother, 
"all  that  tenement  or  inn  called  Savage's  Inn,  otherwise  called  the  Bell  on  the  Hoop." 
In  the  London  Gazette,  1676,  it  is  termed  "an  antient  inn."  Stow  affirms  it  to  have 
been  given  to  the  Cutlers'  Company  by  one  Isabella  Savage :  but  their  records  state  by 
Mrs.  Craythorne.  {See  Ctttlebs'  Hail,  p.  414.)  Here  Sir  Thomas  Wyat's  rebellion 
was  stopped. 

"And  he  (Wyet)  himself  came  in  at  Te(mple  Bar,  and)  soodown  alle  Flet-strete,  and  soo  un-to  the 
Belle  Savage.  And  then  was  his  trayne  (attacked  at)  the  commandment  of  the  erle  of  Pembroke,  and 
sartayne  of  hys  men  slayne.  And  whau  (he  saw)  that  Ludgatte  was  shutt  agayne  hym,  he  departed 
saynge, '  I  have  kepte  towche,'  and  soo  went  (back)  agayne ;  and  by  the  Tempulle  barre  he  was  tane, 
and  soo  brought  by  watter  unto  the  (Tower)  of  London." — Chronicle  of  the  Grey  Friars  of  London. 

Fuller,  in  his  Church  History,  states  that  after  Wyat's  adherents  had  forsaken  him,  he  flung  himself 
on  a  bench  opposite  the  Bell  Savage,  and  began  to  repent  the  rashness  of  his  enterprise,  and  lament  his 
folly.  He  was  summoned  by  an  herald  to  submit,  which  he  agreed  to  do,  but  would  yield  only  to  a  gen- 
tleman ;— and  afterwards  surrendered  to  Sir  Maurice  Berkeley. 

In  Bell  Savage-yard  lived  Grinling  Gibbons,  "  where  he  carved  a  pot  of  flowers 
which  shook  surprisingly  with  the  motion  of  the  coaches  that  passed  by." —  Walpole. 

This  was  one  of  the  inns  at  which  Bankes  exhibited  his  wonderful  horse,  Marocco,  whose  accomplish- 
ment was  dancing.  One  of  his  exploits  was  going  up  to  the  top  of  St.  Paul's  Church.  The  horse  is 
first  mentioned  about  1590.  He  was  exhibited  not  only  in  England  but  abroad,  where  it  became  sus- 
pected that  the  horse  was  a  demon,  and  his  exhibitor  was  a  sorcerer;  and  both  were  burnt  at  Eome  by 
the  Inquisition.  There  is  an  extremely  rare  tract,  Maroccut  Extaticus :  or,  Banlcet's  Say  Horse  in  a 
Trance,  1595,  a  fine  copy  of  which  at  Mr.  Daniel's  Canonbury  sale,  in  1864,  fetched  812. 

The  old  inn  has  been  taken  down,  and  upon  its  site  and  that  of  the  inn-yard  have 
been  erected  the  extensive  printing  works  of  Cassell,  Petter,  and  Galpin.  An  old 
house,  bearing  the  crest  of  the  Cutlers'  Company,  cut  in  stone,  remains. 

Blossoms,  Lawrence-lane,  Cbeapside,  "  corruptly  Bosoms  Inn,  hath  to  sign  '  St. 
Laurence  the  Deacon,'  in  a  border  of  blossoms  or  flowers,"  which,  says  the  legend, 
sprung  up  "  on  the  spot  of  his  cruel  martyrdom."  This  was  one  of  the  inns  hired  for 
the  retinue  of  Charles  V.  on  his  visit  to  London  in  1522,  when  "  xx.  beddes  and  a 
stable  for  ix.  horses"  were  ordered  here. 

Bolt-in-Tun,  Fleet-street,  No.  64,  in  a  grant  to  the  White  Friars  in  1443,  is  termed 
"  Hospitium  vocatum  Le  Boltenton."  In  Whitefriars-street,  No.  10  is  the  Black  Lion, 
a  small  inn-yard  with  exterior  wooden  balustraded  gallery,  &c.  Among  the  lands  and 
tenements  in  St.  Dunstan's  occur  the  Bore's  Rede,  rented  at  4Z. ;  le  Bolte  and  Tonne, 
4.1. ;  and  le  Blake  Svoanne,  4,1. ;  all  in  Fleet-street. 


INNS  OF  OLD  LONDON.  453 

Bull,  Bishopsgate,  in  its  galleried  yard,  accommodated  audiences  for  our  early  actors, 
before  the  building  of  licensed  theatres.     Richard  Tarlton  frequently  played  here. 

Bull  and  Mouth,  St.  Martin's-le-Grand,  and  the  Bull  and  Gate,  Holborn,  had 
probably  the  same  origin,  the  Bullogne  Gate,  one  of  the  Gates  of  Bullogne,  designed, 
perhaps,  as  a  compliment  to  Henry  VIII.,  who  took  that  place  in  1544.  This  G.  A. 
Steevens  learned  from  the  title-page  of  an  old  play.  Tom  Jones,  it  will  be  recollected, 
alighted  at  the  Bull  and  Gate,  Holborn,  when  he  first  came  to  London.  Strype  tells 
us  that  the  Bull  and  Mouth  was  the  great  resort  of  those  who  bring  bone-lace 
for  sale ;  and  the  house  was  much  frequented  by  the  Quakers  before  the  Great  Fire. 
This  continued  to  be  a  great  coach  -office  to  all  parts  of  England  and  Scotland,  until  the 
railways  rose  up.  About  this  time  the  house  was  rebuilt  in  handsome  style  by  Mr. 
Sherman :  in  the  centre  between  the  second-floor  windows  is  a  sculptured  group  of 
great  absurdity  :  a  Bull,  and  beneath  it,  a  gigantic  open  mouth  ;*  above  is  a  bust  of 
Edward  VI.,  the  founder  of  Christ's  Hospital,  to  which  foundation  the  site  belongs. 

Clerlcenwell.  In  St.  John-street  is  the  Cross  Keys,  where  the  carrier  of  Daintree 
lodged  in  1637 ;  Hatton  mentions  the  Three  Cups,  near  Hicks's  Hall.  .  Here  also  are 
the  Golden  Lion  and  the  Windmill ;  and  in  Woodbridge-street  was  the  Red  Bull 
inn,  the  yard  once  the  pit  of  the  Red  Bull  Theatre.     (See  Clerkenwell,  p.  236.) 

Coach  and  Morses,  at  the  entrance  to  Bartholomew  Close,  is  a  portion  of  the  ancient 
priory,  probably  the  hospitium,  at  the  end  of  the  north  cloister :  the  first  floor  has  an 
arched  roof  and  16th-century  cornice ;  the  tap-room  has  an  Early-English  window :  and 
the  beer-cellar,  a  crypt,  has  a  12th-century  clustered  column.  Of  St.  Bartholomew's, 
also,  exist  the  prior's  house,  and  the  hall,  with  an  ancient  timbered  roof,  now  used  as  a 
tobacco-manufactory.  Close  by  is  the  monastery  kitchen,  from  which  a  subterranean 
passage,  in  our  time,  communicated  with  the  church  :  it  has  two  panelled  rooms,  one  with 
a  vaulted  roof  and  carved  mantel-piece.    (See  Archer's  Vestiges  of  Old  London,  part  v.) 

Cock,  in  Tothill-street,  was  probably  the  most  ancient  domestic  edifice  in  West- 
minster :  it  was  built  entirely  of  timber,  and  at  the  back  was  a  long  inn-yard,  with 
heavy  timber  sheds.  The  upper  part  of  the  house  consisted  of  one  story,  in  which 
were  several  rooms  on  different  levels,  one  of  which  remained  in  its  original  state,  a 
curious  specimen  of  an  early  timbered  room,  being  entirely  of  chestnut- wood.  The 
exterior  was  very  picturesque,  although  plastered  and  painted.  The.  house  was 
entered  by  a  descent  of  three  steps  :  in  the  parlour  was  a  massive  oak  carving  of  the 
Adoration  of  the  Magi,  of  Flemish  work,  well  executed  and  painted  to  the  life. 
Another  piece  of  carved  work,  more  in  the  High  German  manner,  an  alto-relievo  of 
Abraham  offering  up  Isaac,  was  preserved  in  an  adjoining  room.  The  Cock  is  said  to 
have  been  frequented  by  the  builders  of  Henry  VIl.'s  Chapel;  and  there  is  a  further 
tradition  that  here  was  the  pay-table  of  the  workmen  at  the  building  of  the  Abbey,  temp. 
Henry  III.  In  1845,  Mr.  Archer  found  in  the  kitchen  the  old  sign  of  the  Royal 
Arms,  which,  with  the  Flemish  carving  and  ancient  bedchamber,  are  engraved  in  the 
Vestiges  of  Old  London,  part  vi.  From  this  house  started  the  first  Oxford  coach ;  and 
a  portrait  of  its  original  driver  was  shown  here.  The  old  house  has  some  time  disappeared. 

Cross  Kegs,  Gracechurch-street,  was  one  of  the  old  galleried  inns  at  which  Bankes 
exhibited  the  extraordinary  feats  of  his  horse  Marocco ;  the  better  class  of  spectators 
being  in  the  galleries.  Richard  Tarlton,  the  clown,  kept  a  tavern  here.  He  was 
chosen  scavenger,  "  and  often  the  ward  complained  of  his  slacknesse  in  keeping  the 
streets  cleane."  The  first  stage-coach  travelling  between  Clapham  and  Gracechurch- 
street,  once  daily,  was  established  in  the  year  1690,  by  John  Day  and  John  Bundy. 
The  Cross  Kegs,  Wood -street,  Cheapside,  was  taken  down  in  1865 :  this  sign,  and  that 
in  Gracechurch-street,  taken  down  in  1866,  were  derived  from  adjoining  churches 
being  dedicated  to  St.  Peter,  whose  emblem  is  two  keys  crossed. 

Elephant  and  Castle,  Newington  Butts,  was  a  noted  stage-coach  house  until  the 
railway  times ;  and  was  originally  a  low- built  roadside  inn,  with  outer  gallery,  a  draw- 
ing of  which  hangs  in  the  present  tavern.  Adjoining  was  a  large  sectarian  chapel, 
inscribed  in  gigantic  capitals  "The  House  of  God!"  held  by  the  dupes  of  Joanna 
Southcott,  whose  dreams  and  visions  were  painted  upon  the  walls.      There  is  an  odd 

*  This  is  referred  by  some  to  the  story  of  Milo,  who,  after  killing  a  bullock  with  a  blow  of  his  fist, 
ate  it  up  in  a  meal ! 


454  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

notion  that  this  Elephant  and  Castle  sign  was  founded  upon  the  finding  of  elephant 
bones  near  the  inn  site ;  but  an  elephant  and  castle  is  the  crest  of  the  Cutlers'  Company. 
Four  Swans,  Bishopsgate-street  Without,  is  perhaps  the  most  perfect  old  London 
inn,  its  galleries  being  entire.     Hobson,  the  noted  Cambridge  carrier,  put  up  here. 

"  This  memorable  man  stands  drawn  in  fresco  at  an  inn  (which  he  used)  in  Bishopsgate-street,  with 
an  hundred-pound  bag  under  his  arm,  with  this  inscription  upon  the  said  bag : 

'  The  fruitful  mother  of  a  hundred  more.' " — Spectator,  No.  509. 
George  and  Slue  Boar,  Holborn,  was  associated  with  a  great  event  in  our  history : 
here  is  said  to  have  been  intercepted  Charles  I.'s  letter,  by  which  Ireton  discovered 
it  to  be  the  King's  intention  to  destroy  him  and  Cromwell,  which  discovery  brought 
about  Charles's  execution ;  but  the  story  is  disbelieved.  Nearly  opposite  the  George 
and  Blue  Boar  was  the  Bed  Lion,  the  largest  inn  in  Holborn ;  and  where  the  bodies 
of  Cromwell,  Ireton,  and  Bradshawe  were  carried  from  Westminster  Abbey,  and  next 
day  dragged  on  sledges  to  Tyburn — a  retributive  coincidence  worthy  of  note.  In  old 
St.  Giles's  Church  was  "  a  red  lyon  painted  in  glasse,  given  by  the  inneholder  of  the 
Red  Lyon."     {Aubrey.) 

George,  Snowhill,  is  a  relic  of  the  time  when  this  hill  was  the  only  highway  from 
Holborn-bridge  eastward ;  the  house  appears  to  have  been  an  extensive  inn  for  carriers 
t  a  very  early  date,  and 

"  St.  George  that  swiug'd  the  dragon, 
And  sits  on  his  horseback  at  mine  hoste's  door," 

though  much  dilapidated,  is  a  good  specimen  of  a  carved  sign-stone. 

Gerard's  Sail,  Basing-lane  and  Bread-street,  Cheapside,  replaced  the  ancient  Hall  of 
the  Gisors,  the  fine  Norman  crypt  of  which  remained  for  a  wine-cellar ;  but,  with  the 
superstructure,  was  removed  in  1852,  in  forming  New  Cannon-street. 

Giles's,  St.,  was  formerly  noted  for  its  large  inns.     (See  St.  Giles's,  pp.  376-377.) 
Green  Man,  on  the  site  of  the  commencement  of  the  present  Osnaburg-street,  was 
originally  the  Farthing  Pye-house,  kept  by   Price,  the  noted   rolling-pin  and  salt- 
box  player ;  here  were  sold  bits  of  mutton,  put  into  a  crust,  and  shaped  like  a  pie, 
for  a  farthing  ! 

Half-way  Souse,  Kensington-road,  opposite  the  site  of  the  building  for  the  Great 
Exhibition  of  1851,  and  near  the  Prince  of  Wales's  Gate,  Hyde  Park,  was  removed  in 
1846  at  an  expense  of  3050?.,  in  addition  to  the  purchase  of  the  fee. 

Solborn  Sill.  The  Rose  has  disappeared  within  our  recollection :  from  this  inn 
Taylor  the  Water-poet  started  in  the  Southampton  coach  for  the  Isle  of  Wight,  19th 
October,  1647,  while  Charles  I.  was  there : 

"  We  took  one  coach,  two  coachmen,  and  four  horses, 
And  merrily  from  London  made  our  courses, 
We  wheel'd  the  top  of  the  heavy  hill  call'd  Holborn, 
(Up  which  hath  been  full  many  a  sinful  soul  borne,) 
And  so  along  we  jolted  past  St.  Giles's, 
Which  place  from  Brentford  six  or  seven  miles  is." 

Taylor's  Travel* from  London  to  the  Isle  of  Wight,  1647. 

The  Old  Bell,  Holborn,  bears  the  arms  of  Fowler,  of  Islington,  viz.,  azure,  on  a 
chevron,  argent,  between  three  herons,  as  many  crosses  formee,  gules.  These  arms  also 
occur  on  a  building  supposed  to  have  been  the  lodge  of  Fowler's  house  in  Islington. 

King's  Arms,  Leadenhall-street,  No.  122 :  in  the  reign  of  William  III.,  Sir  John 
Fenwick  and  others  met  here  to  plan  the  restoration  of  James  II. 

Oxford  Arms,  situate  at  the  end  of  a  narrow  street  out  of  the  west  side  of  Warwick- 
lane,  and  southward  of  Warwick-square  and  the  old  College  of  Physicians,  has  a  red 
brick  pedimented  facade  of  the  period  of  Charles  II.  surmounting  a  gateway  leading  into 
the  inn-yard,  which  has  on  three  of  its  sides  two  rows  of  wooden  galleries,  with 
exterior  staircases  leading  to  the  chambers  on  each  floor,  the  fourth  side  being  occupied 
by  stabling  built  against  part  of  old  London-wall.  This  house,  known  as  the  Oxford 
Arms  before  the  Great  Fire,  must  have  been  then  consumed,  but  was  rebuilt  on  the 
plan  of  the  former  inn.  The  Oxford  Arms  was  not,  as  supposed,  part  of  the  Earl  of 
Warwick's  house ;  as  it  belongs,  and  has  belonged  of  old  time,  to  the  Dean  and  Chapter 
of  St.  Paul's.  The  houses  of  the  Canons  Residentiary  of  St.  Paul's  adjoin  the  Oxford 
Arms  on  the  south,  and  part  of  London  Wall  is  still  remaining  in  the  court-yard  of 
those  houses.     There  is  a  door  from  the  old  inn  leading  into  one  of  the  back  yards  of 


INNS  OF  OLD  LONDON.  455 

the  residentiary  houses,  which  is  said  to  have  been  found  useful  during  the  Riots  of 

1780,  for  facilitating  the  escape  of  Roman  Catholics,  who  then  frequented  the  Oxford 

Arms,  from  the  fury  of  the  mob,  by  enabling  them  to  pass  into  the  residentiary 

houses ;  for  which  reason,  as  is  said,  by  a  clause  always  inserted  in  the  leases  of  the 

inn,  that  door  is  forbidden  to  be  closed  up.     (Communication  to  the  Builder.)     The 

London  Gazette,  1762-3,  No.  762,  has  this  advertisement : 

"  These  are  to  give  notice  that  Edward  Bartlet,  Oxford  Carrier,  hath  removed  his  inn  in  London 
from  the  Swan  at  Holborn  Bridge  to  the  Oxford  Arms  in  Warwick  Lane,  where  he  did  Inn  before  the 
1'ire.  His  coaches  and  waggons  going  forth  on  their  usual  days,  Mondays,  Wednesdays,  and  Fridays. 
He  hath  also  a  Hearse  with  all  things  convenient  to  carry  a  corps  to  any  part  of  England." 

At  the  Oxford  Arms,  in  Warwick-lane,  lived  John  Roberts,  the  bookseller,  from 
whose  shop  issued  the  majority  of  the  squibs  and  libels  on  Pope. 

Paul  Pindar's  Head,  corner  of  Half-moon-alley,  No.  160,  Bishopsgate-street 
Without,  was  the  mansion  of  Sir  Paul  Pindar,  the  wealthy  merchant,  contemporary 
with  Sir  Thomas  Gresham.  The  house  was  built  towards  the  end  of  the  16th  century, 
with  a  wood-framed  front  and  caryatid  brackets,  the  principal  windows  bayed,  and 
their  lower  fronts  enriched  with  panels  of  carved  work.  In  the  first-floor  front  room 
is  a  fine  original  ceiling  in  stucco,  in  which  are  the  arms  of  Sir  Paul  Pindar.  In  the 
rear  of  these  premises,  within  a  garden,  was  formerly  a  lodge,  of  corresponding  date, 
decorated  with  four  medallions  of  figures  in  Italian  taste. 

Piccadilly  Inns.  At  the  east  end  were  formerly  the  Slack  Sear  and  White  Sear 
(originally  the  Fleece),  nearly  opposite  each  other.  The  Slack  Sear  was  taken  down 
in  1820.  The  White  Sear  occurs  in  St.  Martin's  parish-books  in  1685  :  here  Chatelain 
and  Sullivan,  the  engravers,  died ;  and  Benjamin  West,  the  painter,  lodged  the  first 
night  after  his  arrival  from  America.  Strype  mentions  the  White  Horse  Cellar  in 
1720 ;  and  the  booking  office  of  the  New  White  Horse  Cellar  is  to  this  day  in  "  the 
cellar."  The  Three  Kings  stables'  gateway,  No.  75,  had  two  Corinthian  pilasters, 
stated  by  D'Israeli  to  have  belonged  to  Clarendon  House :  "the  stable-yard  at  the  back 
presents  the  features  of  an  old  galleried  inn-yard,  and  it  is  noted  as  the  place  from 
which  General  Palmer  started  the  first  Bath  mail  coach."  (J.  W.  Archer :  Vestiges, 
part  vi.)  The  Hercules'  Pillars  (a  sign  which  meant  that  no  habitation  was  to  be 
found  beyond  it)  stood  a  few  yards  west  of  Hamilton-place,  and  is  mentioned  as  one 
extremity  of  London  by  Wycherley,  in  1676.  Here  Squire  Western  "placed  his 
horses"  when  he  arrived  in  London  with  the  fair  Sophia  (see  Tom  Jones) ;  here  "  the 
horses  of  many  of  the  quality  stood ;"  and  it  became  the  scene  of  fashionable  dinner- 
parties of  the  officers  of  the  army,  often  headed  by  the  Marquis  of  Granby.  The  Hercules' 
Pillars,  and  another  roadside  inn,  the  Triumphant  Car,  were  standing  about  1797,  and 
were  mostly  frequented  by  soldiers.  Two  other  Piccadilly  inns,  the  White  Horse  and 
Half-moon,  have  given  names  to  streets. 

Pied  Bull,  Church-row,  Islington,  traditionally  the  residence  of  Sir  Walter  Raleigh, 
and  in  the  Elizabethan  style,  was  taken  down  in  1826-7.  The  late  front  was  modern; 
but  the  parlour  (the  original  dining-room)  had  an  elaborately-carved  chimney-piece, 
with  figures  of  Faith,  Hope,  and  Charity ;  and  a  stuccoed  ceiling,  with  personifications 
of  the  Five  Senses.  In  a  window  were  painted  the  arms  of  Sir  John  Miller,  who  lived 
there  in  1634 ;  and  a  bunch  of  green  leaves  above  the  shield  was  popularly  regarded 
as  the  tobacco-plant  introduced  by  Raleigh. 

Queen's  Head,  Lower-street,  Islington,  was  a  still  more  perfect  Elizabethan  house 
than  the  above.  The  walls  were  strong  timber  framework,  filled  in  with  lath  and 
plaster;  the  three  stories  projected,  and  the  windows  were  supported  by  carved 
brackets ;  the  entrance  porch  being  ornamented  by  caryatides  and  Ionic  scrolls.  The 
interior  had  panelled  wainscot,  and  stuccoed  ceilings  of  rich  design.  The  house  has 
been  rebuilt,  and  portions  of  the  old  woodwork  are  preserved. 

Pindar  of  Wakefield,  GrayVinn-road,  was  a  roadside  inn  in  Aubrey's  time,  1685, 
who  mentions  the  yellow-flowered  Neapolitan  bank-cresses,  the  London  rocket,  grow- 
ing there,  as  well  as  on  the  ruins  of  London,  after  the  Great  Fire. ' 

Rose  of  Normandy,  on  the  east  side  of  High-street,  Marylebone,  built  in  the  17th 
century,  was  the  oldest  house  in  the  parish,  and  had  the  original  exterior,  staircase,  and 
balusters.  In  the  rear  was  a  bowling-green,  enclosed  with  walls  set  with  fruit-trees 
and  quickset  hedges,  "  indented  like  town-walls." 


il 


456  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Saracen's  Head,  Snow-hill  (actually  in  Skinner-street),  and  of  old  "  without  New- 
gate," was  in  Stow's  time  "  a  fair  and  large  inn  for  the  receipt  of  travellers." 

Saracen's  Head,  Friday-street,  Cheapside,  adjoined  St.  Matthew's  Church,  and 
No.  5,  said  to  have  heen  the  dwelling-house  of  Sir  Christopher  Wren.  The  inn  con- 
sisted of  three  floors  with  open  galleried  fronts,  besides  the  ground-floor :  it  was  taken 
down  in  1844 ;  and  upon  its  site,  extending  nearly  to  Old  Change,  large  Manchester 
warehouses  were  erected.  There  was  also  a  Saracen's  Head,  No.  5,  Aldgate :  it  was 
once  a  common  London  sign,  which  Selden  thus  illustrates : — 

"  When  our  countrymen  came  home  from  fighting  with  the  Saracens,  and  were  beaten  by  them,  they 
pictured  them  with  huge,  big,  terrible  faces  (as  you  still  sec  the  sign  of  the  Saracen's  head  is),  when  in 
truth  they  were  like  other  men.    But  this  they  did  to  save  their  own  credit." — Table  Talk. 

Southwaek  Inns. — Stow  enumerates  here  "  many  fair  inns  for  receipt  of  travellers, 
by  these  signs :  the  Spurr,  Christopher,  Bull,  Queene's  Head,  Tabard,  George,  Hart, 
King's  Head,"  &c.  Of  these  the  most  ancient  is  the  Tabard  (now  Talbot),  No.  75, 
High-street,  opposite  the  Town-hall  site.  The  tabard  is  a  jacket  or  sleeveless  coat, 
worn  in  times  past  by  noblemen,  with  their  arms  embroidered  on  it,  but  now  only  by 
heralds,  as  their  coat  of  arms  in  service.  "  This  was  the  hostelry  where  Chaucer  and  the 
other  pilgrims  met  together,  and  with  Henry  Bailly,  their  hoste,  accorded  about  the 
manner  of  their  journey  to  Canterbury."  {Speght,  1598.) 
"  Befell  that  in  that  season,  on  a  day 

At  Southwark  at  the  Tabard  as  I  lay, 

Beadie  to  wander  on  my  Pilgrimage 

To  Canterburie  with  devout  courage, 

At  night  was  come  into  that  hostelrie 

Well  nine-and-twenty  in  a  companie 

Of  sundrie  folke,  by  adventure  yfall 

In  fellowship,  and  pilgrimes  were  they  all, 

That  toward  Canterburie  wouden  ride  : 

The  chambers  and  the  stables  weren  wide, 

And  well  we  weren  eased  at  the  best,"  &c. — Chaucer. 

The  Register  of  Hyde  Abbey,  and  the  Escheat  Rolls  of  King  Edward  I.,  show  the 
acquisition  by  the  Abbey  of  Hyde  of  the  Tabard  and  the  Abbot's  House,  in  South- 
wark, by  purchase  from  William  de  Lategareshall,  in  1304.  Henry  Bailly,  Chaucer's 
host  of  the  Tabard,  is  identified  as  one  of  the  representatives  of  the  borough  of  South- 
wark in  Parliament,  in  the  50th  of  Edward  III.  and  2nd  of  Richard  II. ;  and  in  the 
4th  of  Richard  II.  "  Henry  Bayliff,  ostvler,  and  Christian  his  wife,  were  assessed  to 
the  subsidy  (in  Southwark)  at  2s."  After  the  Dissolution  of  the  monasteries,  the 
Tabard  and  the  Abbot's  House  were  sold  by  King  Henry  VIII.  to  John  Master  and 
Thomas  Master ;  and  the  particulars  for  the  grant  in  the  Augmentation  Office  afford 
descriptions  of  the  hostelry  called  the  Tabard,  parcel  of  the  possessions  of  the  monas- 
tery of  Hyde,  and  the  Abbot's  Place,  with  the  [stable  and  garden  belonging  thereto. 
The  Tabard  is  mentioned  to  have  been  late  in  the  occupation  of  one  Robert  Patty,  but 
the  Abbot's  Place,  with  the  garden  and  stable,  were  reserved  to  the  late  Bishop  Com- 
mendator,  John  Saltcote,  alias  Capon,  who  had  been  last  abbot  of  Hyde,  and  who 
surrendered  it  to  King  Henry  VIII. ;  and  after  being  made  Bishop  of  Bangor,  in  com- 
mendam  with  the  Abbey  of  Hyde,  subsequent  to  the  Surrender  of  the  abbey  he  was  pre- 
ferred to  the  see  of  Salisbury,  in  1539,  which  he  retained  till  his  death  in  1557.  Upon 
the  brestsummer  beam  of  the  gateway  facing  the  street  was  formerly  inscribed :  "This  is 
the  inne  where  Sir  Jeffry  Chaucer  and  the  nine-and-twenty  pilgrims  lay  in  their  jour- 
ney to  Canterbury,  anno  1383."  This  was  painted  out  in  1831 :  this  was  originally 
inscribed  upon  a  beam  across  the  road,  whence  swung  the  sign,  removed  in  1763,  when 
the  inscription  was  transferred  to  the  gateway.  The  sign  was  changed  about  1676, 
when,  says  Aubrey,  "  the  ignorant  landlord  or  tenant,  instead  of  the  ancient  sign  of  the 
Tabard,  put  up  the  Talbot,  or  dog !"  The  buildings  of  Chaucer's  time  have  disap- 
peared, but  were  standing  in  1602  :  the  oldest  remaining  is  of  the  age  of  Elizabeth ; 
and  the  most  interesting  portion  is  a  stone-coloured  wooden  gallery,  in  front  of  which  is 
a  picture  of  the  Canterbury  Pilgrimage,  said  to  have  been  painted  by  Blake :  immediately 
behind  is  the  Pilgrims'  Room  of  tradition,  but  only  a  portion  of  the  ancient  hall. 
The  gallery  formerly  extended  throughout  the  inn  buildings.  The  inn  facing  the  street 
was  burnt  in  the  Great  Fire  of  Southward  :  "  this  house,"  says  Aubrey,  "  remaining 
before  the  fire  of  1676,  was  an  old  timber  house,  probably  coeval  with  Chaucer's  time  j" 


INNS  OF  OLD  LONDON.  457 

it  is  shown  in  the  oldest  view  of  the  Tabard  extant,  in  Urry's  Chaucer,  1720,  repro- 
duced in  The  Mirror,  vol.  xxii.  1833.  Mr.  G.  R.  Corner,  F.S.A.,  who  has  left  us  the 
fullest  and  best  account  of  the  ancient  Inns  of  Southwark  (see  Collections  of  the  Surrey 
Archceological  Society,  vol.  ii.  part,  ii.),  was  of  opinion,  from  personal  examination 
of  the  premises  (at  some  risk),  that  there  was  nothing  in  the  existing  remains  of  the 
Tabard  earlier  than  the  Fire  of  1676,  after  which  was  built  the  supposed  "Pilgrims' 
Hall,"  the  fireplaces  in  which  are  of  this  date.  [The  date  of  the  Canterbury  Pil- 
grimage is  generally  supposed  to  have  been  the  year  1383.  The  MS.,  almost  perfect, 
well  written,  and  richly  illuminated,  was  exhibited  to  the  British  Association,  in  1865,  by 
Archdeacon  Moore,  at  Lichfield  Cathedral.]  Taylor  the  Water-poet  mentions  another 
Tabard  inn,  "  neere  the  Conduit,"  in  Gracechurch-street. 

The  George  is  described  by  Stow  as  existing  in  his  time ;  and  it  is  mentioned  at  an 
earlier  period,  viz.,  in  1554,  35th  Henry  VIII.,  by  the  name  of  the  St.  George,  as 
being  situate  on  the  north  side  of  the  Tabard.  In  the  seventeenth  century,  two 
tokens  were  issued  from  The  George,  which  are  in  the  Beaufoy  collection  at  Guild- 
hall, and  described  in  Mr.  Burn's  ably  compiled  Catalogue.  The  first  is  a  token  of 
"  Anthony  Blake,  Tapster,  ye  George  in  Southwarke •"  and  on  the  reverse  are  three 
tobacco-pipes ;  above  them,  four  beer-measures.  The  other  token  is  inscribed,  "  James 
Gunter  16  .  ."  ? — St.  George  and  Dragon,  in  field.  Reverse,  "  In  Southwarke  :"  in 
the  field,  "  i.a.g."  Mr.  Burn  quotes  some  lines  from  the  Musarum  Delicice,  1656, 
upon  a  surfeit  by  drinking  bad  sack  at  The  George  tavern  in  Southwark : 

"  Oh,  would  I  might  turne  poet  for  an  houre, 
To  satirize  with  a  vindictive  power 
Against  the  drawer !  or  I  could,  desire 
Old  Jonson's  head  had  scalded  in  this  fire : 
How  would  he  rage  and  bring  Apollo  down 
To  scold  with  Bacchus,  and  depose  the  clown 
For  his  ill-government,  and  so  confute 
Our  poet-apes,  that  do  so  much  impute 
Unto  the  grape's  inspirement !" 

In  the  year  1670  The  George  was,  in  great  part,  burnt  and  demolished  by  fire ;  and 
it  was  totally  burnt  down  in  the  Great  Fire  of  Southwark,  in  1676.  The  following  is 
from  the  Diary  of  the  Rev.  John  Ward,  written  a  few  years  later  : — 

"Goverandhis  Irish  ruffians  burnt  Southwark,  and  had  1000  pounds  for  their  pains,  said  the  Narra- 
tive of  Bedloe.  Gifford,  a  Jesuit,  had  the  management  of  thelire.  The  26th  of  May,  1676,  was  the  dismal 
fire  of  Southwark.  The  fire  begunne  at  one  Mr.  Welsh,  an  oilman,  near  St.  Margaret's  Hill,  betwixt  the 
'  George'  and  '  Talbot'  innes,  as  Bedloe  in  his  Narration  relates." — Diary  of  the  Rev.  John  Ward,  p.  155. 

The  Fire  was  stopped  by  the  substantial  building  of  St.  Thomas's  Hospital,  then 
recently  erected ;  and,  in  commemoration  of  the  event,  there  was  a  tablet  placed  on 
the  staircase,  over  the  door  of  the  hall  or  court-room,  with  an  inscription.  Although 
the  present  building  of  The  George  Inn  is  not  older  than  the  end  of  the  seventeenth 
century,  it  seems  to  have  been  rebuilt,  after  the  Fire,  upon  the  old  plan ;  and  it  still 
preserves  the  character  of  the  ancient  English  inns,  having  open  wooden  galleries 
leading  to  the  chambers  on  each  side  of  the  inn-yard. 

The  White  Hart,  the  head-quarters  of  Jack  Cade  and  his  rebel  rout  in  1450  (and  a 
dozen  doors  nearer  London  Bridge  than  the  Tabard),  has  been  demolished.  The  back 
part  of  this  inn  was  burnt  in  1699,  and  the  remainder  was  destroyed  in  the  great  Fire 
in  Southwark  in  1676 ;  it  was  rebuilt  upon  the  plan  of  the  older  edifice,  and  is  well 
engraved  from  a  drawing  by  Mr.  Fairholt,  in  the  Archaeological  Collections  just  quoted. 
Shakspeare  makes  Cade  say,  "  Hath  my  sword  therefore  broke  through  London  gates, 
that  you  should  leave  me  at  the  White  Hart  in  Southwark."  At  the  Mart  lodged 
Jack  Cade  on  his  arrival  in  Southwark,  July  1, 1450  ;  "  for,"  says  Fabyan, "  he  might 
not  be  suffered  to  enter  the  Citie."  Again,  of  Cade's  rebels,  "  at  the  Whyi  Harte  in 
Southwarke  one  Hawaydine  of  Sent  Martyns  was  beheddyd."  {Chronicles  of  the  Grey 
Friars  of  London.)  Hatton  (1708)  describes  the  White  Hart  as  "the  largest  size 
about  London,  except  the  Castle  Tavern,  in  Fleet-street."  Mr.  Corner  brought  to- 
gether some  curious  notices  of  this  inn  from  the  Paston  Letters,  vol.  i.  p.  61.  The 
White  Hart  of  our  time  is  well  described  in  the  Picktcick  Papers,  by  Charles  Dickens. 

The  other  Southwark  inns  named  by  Stow  remain,  except  the  Christopher ;  but  they 


458  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

have  mostly  lost  their  galleries  and  other  olden  features.  The  King's  Head  sign  was 
within  our  recollection  a  well-painted  half-length  of  Henry  VIII.  The  Catherine 
Wheel  remains ;  hut  we  miss  the  Dog  and  Bear,  which  sign,  as  well  as  Maypole-alley, 
hard  by,  points  to  olden  sport  and  pastime. 

The  White  Lion,  formerly  a  prison  for  the  county  of  Surrey,  as  wrell  as  an  inn,  is 
mentioned  in  records  in  the  reign  of  King  Henry  VIII.,  having  belonged  to  the  Priory 
of  St.  Mary  Overey.  It  is  also  mentioned  by  Stow,  and  it  continued  to  be  the  county 
prison  till  1695.  The  rabble  apprentices  of  the  year  1640,  as  Laud  relates  in  his 
Troubles,  released  the  whole  of  the  prisoners  in  The  White  Lion.  It  has  been  supposed 
that  the  White  Lion  was  the  same  house  that,  before  the  building  of  New  London 
Bridge,  was  called  Baxter's  Chophouse,  No,  19,  High-street;  and  in  old  deeds,  The 
Crown,  or  The  Crown  and  Chequers,  an  old  plaster-fronted  house.  The  bouse  which 
stood  in  the  court  beside  it,  and  was  formerly  called  The  Three  Brushes,  or  "  Holy  Water 
Sprinklers,"  was  of  the  time  of  Elizabeth ;  and  some  drawings  exist  of  the  interior,  as 
a  panelled  room,  with  an  ornamental  plaster  ceiling,  having  in  the  centre  the  arms  of 
Queen  Elizabeth,  with  E.  R.  in  support  of  this  opinion.  This  room  is  supposed  to  have 
been  the  court  or  justice-room  in  which  her  Majesty's  justices  sat  and  held  their  sessions. 
The  house  was  pulled  down  about  1832,  for  making  the  new  street  to  London  Bridge. 

Bear  at  the  Bridge-foot  was  a  noted  house  during  the  sixteenth  and  seventeenth 
centuries,  and  it  remained  until  the  houses  on  the  old  bridge  were  pulled  down,  in  or 
about  the  year  1760.  This  house  was  situate  in  the  parish  of  St.  Olave,  on  the  west  side 
of  High-street,  between  Pepper-alley  and  the  foot  of  London  Bridge.  It  is  mentioned  in 
a  deed  of  conveyance  (dated  Dec.  12,  1554,  in  the  first  and  second  years  of  Philip  and 
Mary) ;  and  in  the  parish-books,  of  the  same  date,  there  is  still  earlier  mention  of  this 
house,  for  among  the  entries  of  the  disbursements  of  Sir  John  Howard,  in  his  steward's 
accounts,  are  recorded : — "  March  6th,  1463-4.  Item  payd  for  the  red  wyn  at  the 
Bere  in  Southewerke,  \\\d."  And  again,  "  March  14th  (same  year).  Item  payd  at 
dinner  at  the  Bere  in  Southewerke,  in  Costys,  iiis.  md.  Item,  that  my  mastyr  lost  at 
shotynge,  xxd." 

Cornelius  Cooke,  mentioned  in  the  parish  accounts  of  St.  Olave's  as  overseer  of  the  land  side  as  early 
as  1630,  became  a  soldier,  and  ultimately  was  made  captain  of  the  Trained  Bands.  He  rose  to  the  rank 
of  colonel  in  Cromwell's  time,  and  was  appointed  one  of  the  Commissioners  for  the  sale  of  the  king's 
lands.  After  the  Restoration,  he  settled  down  as  landlord  of  this  inn.  Gerrard,  in  a  letter  to  Lord 
Strafford,  dated  January,  1633,  intimates  that  all  back  doors  to  taverns  on  the  Thames  were  commanded 
to  be  shut  up,  excepting  only  the  Bear  at  the  Bridge-foot,  exempted  by  reason  of  the  passage  to  Green- 
wich. The  "  Cavaliers'  Ballad"  on  the  magnificent  funeral  honours  rendered  to  Admiral  Dean  (killed 
June  2, 1653)  has  the  following  allusion : — 

"  From  Greenwich  towards  the  Bear  at  Bridge  foot, 
He  was  wafted  with  wind  that  had  water  to't ; 
But  I  think  they  brought  the  devil  to  boot, 
Which  nobody  can  deny." 

There  is  also  another  allusion  in  the  following  lines  from  a  ballad  "  On  banishing  the  Ladies  out  of 
Town  :"— 

"  Farewell  Bridge  foot  and  Bear  thereby, 

And  those  bald  pates  that  stand  so  high; 

We  wish  it  from  our  very  souls 

That  other  heads  were  on  those  poles, 

Pepys,  on  the  24th  February,  1666-7,  mentions  the  mistress  of  the  Bear  drowning  herself,  and  again 
alludes  to  the  inn  on  the  3rd  of  April  following. 

In.  the  year  1761  the  Bear  was  pulled  down,  on  the  bridge  being  widened.  In  the 
Public  Advertiser,  of  Saturday,  Dec.  26,  1761,  is  the  following  announcement: — 
"  Thursday  last,  the  workmen  employed  in  pulling  down  the  Bear  tavern,  at  the  foot 
of  London  Bridge,  found  several  pieces  of  gold  and  silver  coin  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  and 
other  monies  to  a  considerable  extent." 

Boar's  Head. — Southwark  had  its  Boar's  Head,  as  well  as  the  City  of  London  its 
Boar's  Head  in  East  Cheap,  immortalized  by  Shakspeare;  and  while  the  one  is  celebrated 
as  the  resort  of  Jack  Falstaff,  the  other  was  the  property  of  another  of  Shakspere's 
characters,  who  has  often  been  erroneously  confounded  with  lean  Jack.  Sir  John  Fastolf, 
of  Caistor,  Norfolk,  and  of  Southwark,  where  (in  Stoney-lane)  he  had  his  town  house, 
was  a  man  of  military  renown,  having  been  in  the  French  wars  of  Henry  VI.;  and  was 
governor  of  Normandy :  he  was  also  a  man  of  letters  and  learning,  and  the  Boar's 
Head  formed  part  of  the  endowment  of  Magdalen  College,  Oxford,  founded  by  his 


INNS  OF  OLD  LONDON.  459 

friend,  William  Waynfleet,  Bishop  of  Winchester,  at  whose  instance  Sir  John  Fastolf  gave 
large  possessions  in  Southwark  and  elsewhere  towards  the  foundation.  In  the  Reliquice 
HearniancB,  edited  by  Dr.  Bliss,  is  the  following  entry  relative  to  this  bequest : — 

1721.  June  2. — The  reason  why  they  cannot  give  so  good  an  account  of  the  benefaction  of  Sir  John 
Fastolf  to  Magd.  Coll.  is,  because  he  gave  it  to  the  founder,  and  left  it  to  his  management,  so  that 
'tis  suppos'd  'twas  swallow'd  up  in  his  own  estate  that  he  settled  upon  the  college.  However,  the 
college  knows  this,  that  the  Soar's  Head,  in  Southwark,  which  was  then  an  inn,  and  still  retains  the 
name,  tho'  divided  into  several  tenements  (which  brings  the  college  1501.  per  annum),  was  part  of 
Sir  John's  gift. 

The  property  above-mentioned  was,  for  many  years,  leased  to  the  father  of  the 
author  of  the  present  work,  and  was  by  him  principally  sub-let  to  weekly  tenants.  The 
premises  were  named  "  Boar's  Head-court,"  and  consisted  of  two  rows  of  tenements, 
vis-a-vis,  and  two  houses  at  the  east-end,  with  a  gallery  outside  the  first  floors :  the  tene- 
ments were  fronted  with  strong  weather-board,  and  the  balusters  of  the  staircases  were 
of  great  age.  The  Court  entrance  was  between  the  houses  Nos.  25  and  26,  east  side  of 
High-street,  and  that  number  of  houses  from  old  London  Bridge ;  and  beneath  the 
whole  extent  of  the  Court  was  a  finely-vaulted  cellar,  doubtless  the  wine-cellar  of  the 
Boar's  Head.  The  property  was  cleared  away  in  making  the  approach  to  the  new 
bridge.  (See  Notes  and  Queries,  2nd  s.,  No.  109.)  In  the  Beaufoy  Collection,  at 
Guildhall,  is  a  token  of  the  Boar's  Mead  (a  boar's  head,  lemon  in  mouth,  1649). 
There  were  at  St.  Margaret's-hill,  a  Boar's  Head-alley,  and  Boar's  Head  Livery  Stables. 

Spread  Eagle,  Gracechurch-street,  was  rebuilt  after  the  Great  Fire.  Of  this  inn  we 
find  Taylor,  the  Water-poet,  in  his  Carrier's  Cosmographie,  4to,  1637,  mentioning  "  The 
Tabard  near  the  Conduit,"  and  "  the  Spread  Eagle,"  both  in  "  Gracious-street." 
The  latter  was  taken  down  in  1865,  but  remained  to  the  last  nearly  entire,  with 
its  outer  galleries  to  the  two  floors.  The  plot  of  ground  which  it  occupied  contained 
in  all  12,600  feet,  5600  feet  of  which  were  leasehold  for  a  long  term,  and  the  rest 
freehold.  It  was  sold  for  95,OOOZ.  The  ground  is  surrounded  on  three  sides  by 
Leadenhall  Market.  There  is  a  good  view  of  the  old  inn  in  the  Illustrated  London 
News,  Dec.  23,  1865. 

The  Spread  Eagle,  besides  being  an  early  carriers'  inn,  became  famous  as  a  coaching-house ;  the 
mails  and  principal  stage-coaches  tor  Kent  and  other  southern  counties  arriving  and  departing  from 
here.  It  was  long  the  property  of  John  Chaplin,  cousin  of  William  Chaplin  (Chaplin  and  Home),  who 
began  life  as  a  coachman  at  Rochester,  served  as  Sheriff  of  London  and  Middlesex,  and  sat  in  Parlia- 
ment for  Salisbury.  He  died  chairman  of  the  London  and  South-Western  Railway,  and  worth  a 
quarter  of  a  million  of  money.  He  was  occupier,  at  one  period,  of  five  inn-yards  in  London,  possessed 
2400  horses,  and  his  receipts  for  booking  parcels  amounted  to  8000Z.  a  year. 

The  Grasse-street  of  old  was  a  memorable  place.  To  this  market  for  grass  or  herbs,  in  the  reign  of 
Edward  III.,  it  was  customary  for  every  cart  (not  belonging  to  a  citizen)  laden  with  corn  or  malt  going 
there  to  be  sold,  to  pay  one]  halfpenny;  if  laden  with  cheese,  twopence.  The  cart  of  the  franchise 
of  the  Temple  and  St.  Martin*s-le-Grand  paid  a  farthing;  the  cart  of  the  Hospital  of  St.  John  of 
Jerusalem  paid  nothing  for  their  proper  goods.  In  Aggas's  plan  is  shown  an  open  place  upon  which 
"White  Hart-court  was  built  after  the  Great  Fire.  Ben  Jonson,  in  one  of  his  masques,  alludes  to  the 
poulterer's  wife  in  Grace's-street.  Pepys  calls  the  street  "  Gracious-street."  Nov.  28, 1662,  he  records 
the  death  of  "a  poulterer  in  Gracious-street,  which  was  thought  rich  ;"  and,  on  the  24th  of  the  same 
month,  Pepys  speaks  of  the  conduit  in  the  quarre  four  at  the  end  of  Gracious-street;  "the  spouts 
whereof  running  very  near  me  upon  all  the  people  that  were  under  it."  And  on  Sept.  14, 1665  (the  time 
of  the  Plague),  he  was  horrified  "to  see  a  person  sick  of  the  sores  carried  close  by  me  by  G-racechurch, 
in  a  hackney-coach."  He  afterwards  calls  the  street  "  Gracious-street ;"  for  he  says,  Nov.  25, 1668,  "  So 
home,  buying  a  barrel  of  oysters,  at  my  old  oysterwoman's  in  Gracious-street,  but  over  the  way  to  where 
she  kept  her  shop  before  (the  Fire)."  Sir  John  Fielding,  in  his  Description  of  London  and  West- 
minster,  1776,  calls  the  street  "  Grasschurch-street,  Cornhill." 

Swan  with  Two  NecJcs,  Lad-lane,  now  Gresham-street,  was  long  the  head  coach-inn 
and  booking-office  for  the  North.  The  sign  has  been  referred  to  a  corruption  of  two 
nicks,  or  the  Vintners'  Company's  swan-marks  on  the  bill ;  but  this  popular  notion  is 
discountenanced  by  Mr.  Kempe,  F.S.A. :  are  the  two  necks  an  heraldic  monstrosity  ? 

"The  carriers  of  Manchester  doe  lodge  at  the  Two-Neck'd  Swan  in  Lad-lane"  (Taylor's  Carrier'* 
Cosmographie,  1637),  originally  Lady*s-lane. 

Three  Cups,  Aldersgate-street,  is.mentioned  by  Hatton ;  with  the  same  sign  in  St. 
John-street,  near  Hicks's  Hall;  and  in  Bread-street,  near  the  middle.  Beaumont  and 
Fletcher  have  "  the  Three  Cups  in  St.  Giles's ;"  and  Winstanley  mentions  Richard 
Head  at  the  same  sign  in  Holborn,  making  verses  over  a  glass  of  Rhenish. 

White  Hart,  Bishopsgate-street,  taken  down  in  1829,  bore  on  the  front  the  date 
1480  :  it  was  three-storied,  with  overhanging  upper  floor,  and  occupied  the  site  of  "  a 


460  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

faire  inne  for  receipt  of  travellours,  next  unto  the  parish  church  of  St.  Buttolph," 
thus  described  by  Stow. 

White  Hart,  Covent- garden,  gave  name  to  Hart-street,  and  is  mentioned  in 
a  lease  to  Sir  William  Cecil  (Lord  Burghley)  of  Sept.  7th,  1570.  Weever  has  pre- 
served this  epitaph  in  the  Savoy  Church  on  an  old  vintner  of  the  White  Hart,  who 
died  1586:— 

"Here  lieth  Humphrey  Gosling,  of  London,  vintner, 

Of  the  Whyt  Hart  of  this  parish  a  neghbor, 

Of  vertuous  behaviour,  a  very  good  archer, 

And  of  honest  mirth,  a  very  good  company  keeper. 

So  well  inclyned  to  poore  and  rich, 

God  send  more  Goslings  to  be  sich." 

White  Hart,  corner  of  Welbeck-street,  was  long  a  detached  public-house,  where 
travellers  customarily  stopped  for  refreshment,  and  to  examine  their  fire-arms,  before 
crossing  the  fields  to  Lisson-green.  The  land  westward  of  the  bourn  (whence  the 
parish,  now  Marylebone,  was  named)  was  a  deep  marshy  valley  :  here  was  Fenning's 
Folly,  upon  the  top  of  which  was  built  a  fishmonger's ;  the  shop,  level  with  the  street, 
having  been  the  Folly  upper  story. 

White  Horse,  Fetter- lane,  was  formerly  the  great  Oxford  house,  as  already  mentioned 
under  Fetter-lane,  p.  336. 

Yorkshire  Stingo,  New-road,  was  celebrated  for  a  century  and  a  quarter,  and 
appears  in  a  plan  dated  1757  :  here  was  held  annually,  on  May  1,  a  Fair,  until  sup- 
pressed as  a  nuisance. 

INNS  OF  COURT  AND  CHANCFET. 

THE  hostels  or  abodes  of  the  practisers  and  students  of  the  law  before  the  reign  of 
Edward  II.  were  called  Inns  of  Court,  because  their  inhabitants  belonged  to  the 
King's  Court,  first  noticed  on  the  Placita  Rolls,  10th  Richard  I.  One  of  these,  John- 
son's Inn,  is  said  to  have  been  at  Dowgate;  another  in  Fewter's  (Fetter)  lane;  and  a 
third  in  Paternoster-row.  The  Serjeants  and  Apprentices  (of  the  Law)  then  each  had 
his  pillar  in  St.  Paul's  Church,  where  he  heard  his  client's  case : 

"A  Serjeant  of  the  law  both  ware  and  wise, 
That  often  had  yben  at  the  Perwyie," — Chaucer's  Canterbury  Tale*. 

And  in  the  reign  of  Charles  I.,  upon  the  making  of  Serjeants,  they  went  to  St.  Paul's 
in  their  formalities,  and  chose  their  pillars. 

Sir  John  Fortescue,  Chief  Justice  to  Henry  VI.,  enumerates  four  Inns  of  Court — 
the  Inner  Temple,  the  Middle  Temple,  Lincoln's  Inn,  and  Gray's  Inn — and  ten  Inns 
of  Chancery :  the  former  frequented  by  the  sons  of  nobility  and  wealthy  gentry ;  and 
the  latter  by  merchants  and  others,  who  had  not  the  means  of  paying  the  greater  ex- 
penses (about  20  marks  per  annum)  of  the  Inns  of  Court.  The  first  were  called 
apprenticii  nobiliores,  the  latter  apprenticii  only.  On  the  working  days  they  applied 
themselves  to  the  study  of  law ;  on  the  holydays  to  holy  Scripture.  They  also  learned 
singing  and  all  kinds  of  harmony,  dancing,  and  other  noblemen's  pastimes.  The 
only  punishment  for  misdeeds  was  expulsion  (as  is  the  case  now),  which  was  greatly 
dreaded.     They  were  famous  for  their  revels  and  other  gaieties. 

In  1635,  the  four  Inns  of  Court  gave  a  grand  masque  to  Charles  I.  and  Queen 
Henrietta-Maria  at  Whitehall. 

The  Court  of  Star  Chamber,  however,  took  care  of  their  morals  by  desiring  the 
principals  of  the  Inns  of  Court  and  Chancery  not  to  suffer  the  students  to  be  out  of 
their  houses  after  six  o'clock  at  night,  "  without  very  great  and  necessary  -causes,  nor 
to  wear  any  kind  of  weapon ;"  and  the  Court  records  prove  the  Star  Chamber  to  have 
committed  to  the  Tower  the  Earl  of  Surrey,  Sir  Thomas  Wyat,  and  young  Pickering, 
for  breaking  windows,  and  eating  flesh  in  Lent. 

In  the  reign  of  Philip  and  Mary  it  was  ordained  by  all  the  four  Inns  of  Court,  "that  none  except 
knights  and  benchers  should  wear  in  their  doublets  or  hose  any  light  colours,  6ave  scarlet  and  crimson; 
nor  wear  any  upper  velvet  cap,  or  any  scarf  or  wings  in  their  gowns,  white  jerkins,  buskins,  or  velvet 
shoos,  double  cutis  in  their  shirts,  feathers  or  ribbons  in  their  caps ;  and  that  none  should  wear  their 
study  gowns  in  the  City  any  farther  than  Fleet-bridge  or  Holborn-bridge ;  nor,  while  in  Commons,  wear 
Spanish  cloak,  sword  and  buckler,  or  rapier,  or  gowns  and  hats,  or  gowns  girded  with  a  dagger  on  the 
baek." — Dugdale's  Origines  Juridicialeg. 


INNS  OF  COURT  AND   CHANCERY.  461 

The  students  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VI.  were :  4  Inns  of  Court,  each  200  =  800; 
10  Inns  of  Chancery,  each  100  =  1000;  total,  1800.  In  1850  there  were  in  the  four 
Inns  of  Court  upwards  of  4000. 

On  Ascension-day,  or  Holy  Thursday,  when  the  custom  of  beating  the  bounds  of  most 
of  the  City  and  other  parishes  takes  place  by  the  children  of  the  parish  schools,  headed 
by  the  clergy,  parochial  officers,  and  many  inhabitants,  the  Temple  and  other  Inns 
of  Court  and  extra-parochial  places  are  shut  up  and  guarded,  to  prevent  the  pro- 
cessions passing  through,  which  might  possibly  affect  the  privileges  of  the  different 
places.  The  two  Temples  and  Gray's  Inn  are  extra-parochial,  i.e.,  pay  no  poor-rates 
and  maintain  their  own  poor ;  but  Lincoln's  Inn  has  not  entirely  that  exemption. 

The  Inns  of  Court  are  interesting  to  others  besides  lawyers,  for  they  are  the  last  working  institutions 
in  the  nature  of  the  old  trade  guilds.  It  is  no  longer  necessary  that  a  shoemaker  should  be  approved  by 
the  company  of  the  craft  before  he  can  apply  himself  to  making  shoes  for  his  customers,  and  a  man  may 
keep  an  oyster-stall  without  being  forced  to  serve  an  apprenticeship  and  be  admitted  to  the  Livery  of 
the  great  Whig  Company ;  but  the  lawyers'  guilds  guard  the  entrance  to  the  law,  and  prescribe  the  rules 
under  which  it  shall  be  practised.  There  are  obvious  advantages  in  having  some  authority  to  govern 
sueli  a  profession  aa  the  Bar,  but  it  is  sufficiently  remarkable  that  voluntary  societies  of  barristers  them- 
selves should  have  managed  to  engross  and  preserve  it. — Times  journal. 

The  Temple  lies  between  Fleet-street  and  the  Thames,  north  and  south;  and 
Whitefriars  and  Essex-street,  east  and  west ;  divided  by  Middle  Temple-lane  into  the 
Inner  and  Middle  Temple,  each  having  its  hall,  library,  and  garden,  quadrangles, 
courts,  &c.  Originally  there  was  also  the  Outer  Temple,  comprising  Essex  House  and 
gardens  :  a  portion  of  the  old  Water-gate  remains  at  the  foot  of  Essex-street, 

The  ancient  hostels  existed  until  1346  (20th  Edward  III.),  when  the  Knights 
Hospitallers  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem  (to  whom  the  forfeited  estates  of  the  rival 
brotherhood  of  the  Templars  had  been  granted  by  the  Pope)  demised  the  magnificent 
buildings,  church,  gardens,  "  and  all  the  appurtenances  that  belonged  to  the  Templars 
in  London,"  to  certain  students  said  to  have  removed  thither  from  Thavies  Inn,  Hol- 
born,  in  which  part  of  the  town  the  Knights  Templars  themselves  had  resided  before 
the  erection  of  their  superb  palaces  on  the  Thames.  In  this  New  Temple,  "out  of  the 
City  and  the  noise  thereof,  and  in  the  suburbs,"  between  the  King's  Court  at  West- 
minster and  the  City  of  London,  the  studious  lawyers  lived  in  quiet,  increasing  iA 
number  and  importance ;  so  that,  although  the  mob  of  Wat  Tyler's  rebellion  plundered 
the  students,  and  destroyed  almost  all  their  books  and  records  ("  To  the  Inns  of  Court ! 
down  with  them  all !" — Jack  Cade),  it  became  necessary  to  divide  the  Inn  into  two 
separate  bodies,  the  Hon.  Societies  of  the  Inner  and  Middle  Temple;  having  separate 
halls,  but  using  the  same  church,  and  holding  their  houses  as  tenants  of  the  Knights 
Hospitallers  until  the  Dissolution  by  Henry  VIII.,  and  thenceforth  of  the  Crown  by 
lease.  In  the  sixth  year  of  James  I.  the  two  Temples  were  granted  by  letters  patent 
to  the  then  Chancellor  of  the  Exchequer,  the  Recorder  of  London,  and  others,  the 
bankers  and  treasurers  of  the  Inner  and  Middle  Temple,  which,  by  virtue  of  this 
grant,  are  held  to  this  day  by  an  incorporated  society  of  the  "  students  and  practisers 
of  the  laws  of  England." 

The  Inner  Temple  is  entered  from  Fleet-street  by  a  gateway,  built  5th  James  I., 
beneath  No,  17,  Fleet-street,  through  Inner  Temple-lane :  at  No.  1  lived  Dr.  Johnson 
from  1760  to  1765.  Upon  the  east  side  of  the  lane,  the  old  chambers  of  Churchyard- 
court  have  been  taken  down,  and  a  noble  stone-fronted  structure  erected  in  their 
place;  to  this  and  the  opposite  new  hues  have  been  given  the  honoured  names  of 
Johnson's  and  Goldsmith's  Buildings.  At  the  foot  of  the  lane  is  the  magnificent 
western  doorway  of  the  church  (described  at  pp.  205-207) ;  and  westward  are  the 
cloisters,  which  were  built  by  Wren  after  the  fire  of  1678,  which  fire  Titus  Oates 
pretended  to  the  Council  was  "a  contrivance."  Crown  Office-row,  facing  the  garden, 
has  also  been  rebuilt  with  a  handsome  stone  facade.  In  the  former  row  was  the 
birthplace  of  Charles  Lamb. 

■  Some  gentlemen  of  the  Inner  Temple  would  not  endeavour  to  preserve  the  goods  which  were  in  the 
lodgings  of  absent  persons,  nor  suffer  others  to  do  it,  '  because,'  they  said,  '  it  was  against  the  law  to 
break  up  any  man's  chamber !'  " — Lord  Clarendon's  Own  Life,  p.  355. 

Upon  the  broad  terrace  facing  the  garden  are  the  Library  (containing  Bacon's 
Mstori/  of  the  Alienation  Office,  in  MS.),  and  the  Parliament  Chamber  in  the  Tudor 


462  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

style,  completed  by  Smirke,  E.A.  in  1835 ;  adjoining  is  the  Hall,  built  upon  the  site  of 
a  structure  of  the  age  of  Edward  III.  Here  are  full-length  portraits  of  Coke  and 
Littleton;  and  an  emblematic  Pegasus,  by  Sir  James  Thornhill.  Here  dinner  is 
served  to  the  members  of  the  Inn  daily  during  term-time  ;  the  masters  of  the  bench 
dining  on  the  state  or  dais,  and  the  barristers  and  students  at  long  tables  extending 
down  the  hall  to  the  carved  screen  at  the  western  end.  On  grand  days  are  present 
the  judges,  who  dine  in  succession  with  each  of  the  four  Inns  of  Court. 

"  At  the  Inner  Temple,  on  certain  grand  occasions,  it  is  customary  to  pass  huge  silver  goblets  (loving 
cups)  down  the  table,  filled  with  a  delicious  composition,  immemorially  termed  '  sack,'  consisting  of 
sweetened  and  exquisitely  flavoured  white  wine :  the  butler  attends  its  progress  to  replenish  it,  and 
each  student  is  restricted  to  a  tip.  Yet  it  chanced  not  long  since  at  the  Temple,  that,  though  the 
number  present  fell  short  of  seventy,  thirty-six  quarts  of  the  liquid  were  consumed !" — Quarterly 
'Review,  1836,  No.  110. 

The  gentlemen  of  the  Inner  Temple  were  of  old  famed  for  their  plays,  masques, 
revels,  and  other  sumptuous  entertainments.  Christmas,  Halloween,  Candlemas,  and 
Ascension-day,  were  anciently  kept  with  great  splendour  in  the  Hall.  In  1661  Charles 
II.  dined  here,  and  was  received  with  twenty  violins,  dinner  being  served  by  fifty 
gentlemen  of  the  society  in  their  gowns.  Next  year,  the  Duke  of  York  and  Prince 
Rupert  were  admitted  members.  For  these  feasts,  the  master  of  the  revels  arranged 
the  dancing  and  music;  after  the  play,  a  barrister  sang  a  song  to  the  judges  and 
Serjeants ;  and  dancing  was  commenced  by  the  judges  and  benchers  round  the  sea-coal 
fire.  This  dance  is  satirized  in  Buckingham's  witty  play  of  the  Rehearsal ;  and  the 
revels  have  been  ridiculed  by  Dr.  Donne  in  his  Satires,  and  Prior  in  his  Alma.  Pope 
in  the  Dunciad  has : 

"  The  judge  to  dance,  his  brother  seijeant  calls." 

Sir  Christopher  Hatton,  with  four  other  students  of  the  Inner  Temple,  wrote  the  play  of  Tancred 
and  Gismund,  which,  in  1568,  was  acted  by  that  Society  before  the  Queen.  Sir  Christopher  wrote  the 
fourth  act,  signed  "  Composuit  Chr.  Hatton :"  it  was  first  printed  in  1592,  and  there  is  a  copy  among  the 
Garrick  Plays  in  the  British  Museum. 

The  last  revel  in  any  of  the  Inns  of  Court  was  that  held  Feb.  2, 1733,  in  the  Inner  Temple  Hall,  in 
honour  of  Mr.  Talbot,  a  bencher,  having  the  Great  Seal  delivered  to  him.  A  large  gallery  built  over  the 
screen  was  filled  with  ladies;  and  music  in  the  little  gallery  at  the  upper  end  of  the  Hall  played  all 
dinner-time.  After  dinner,  began  the  play  Love  for  Love,  and  the  farce  of  The  Devil  to  Pay,  by  actors 
from  the  Haymarket.  After  the  play,  the  Lord  Chancellor,  the  Masters,  Judges,  and  Benchers  retired 
into  their  Parliament  Chamber ;  in  half  an  hour  they  returned  to  the  Hall,  and  led  by  the  Master  of  the 
Bevels,  formed  a  ring,  and  danced,  or  rather  walked,  round  the  fire-place,  according  to  the  old  ceremony, 
three  times ;  the  ancient  song,  accompanied  with  music,  being  sung  by  one  Tony  Aston,  dressed  in  a 
bar-gown.  This  was  followed  by  dancing,  in  which  the  ladies  from  the  gallery  joined ;  then  a  collation 
was  served,  and  the  company  returned  to  dancing.    The  Prince  of  Wales  was  present. 

Among  the  eminent  members  were  Audley,  Lord  Chancellor  to  Henry  VIII.; 
Nicholas  Hare  (who  built  Hare-court),  Master  of  the  Rolls  to  Queen  Mary ;  Littleton 
and  Coke  (in  the  reign  of  James  I.  the  Temple  was  nicknamed  "my  Lord  Coke's 
shop ") ;  Sir  Christopher  Hatton,  Selden,  Heneage  Finch,  Judge  Jeffreys,  and  Sir 
William  Follett;  and  the  poets  Beaumont  and  Cowper.  Speght's  statement  that 
Chaucer  studied  here  is  much  disputed.  Among  the  Readers  was  "  the  judicious 
Hooker,"  of  whom,  in  1851,  a  memorial  bust  was  placed  at  the  south-west  angle  of  the 
choir  of  the  Temple  Church. 

"  The  view  from  the  Temple  Gardens,  when,  on  the  opposite  side  of  the  river,  the 
eye  ranged  over  the  green  marshes  and  gradually  rising  ground  to  the  Surrey  hills,  and 
the  rich  oak  and  beech  woods  that  clothed  them,  must  have  been  beautiful."  (Pearce's 
Inns  of  Court.)  The  public  are  admitted  to  the  Inner  Temple  Garden,  about  three  acres, 
on  summer  evenings  from  6  to  9 :  it  is  already  described  at  p.  365.  Towards  its 
south-eastern  corner  are  the  New  Paper  Buildings,  of  red  brick  and  stone,  erected 
1848,  by  Sydney  Smirke,  A.R.A.,  with  overhanging  oriels  and  angle  turrets,  assimi- 
lating to  Continental  examples  of  the  Tudor  style. 

The  Middle  Temple,  west  of  the  lane,  is  entered  from  Fleet- street  by  a  red-brick 
and  stone-fronted  gate-house,  built  by  Wren,  in  1684,  "  in  the  style  of  Inigo  Jones,  and 
very  far  from  inelegant "  {Ralph).  It  occupies  the  site  of  the  gate-house  erected  by 
Sir  Amias  Paulet,  as  a  fine  imposed  by  Wolsey,  whose  prisoner  he  was ;  and  which  he 
garnished  with  cardinal's  hats  and  arms  to  appease  "his  old  unkind  displeasure." 
Abutting  on  the  garden  is  Middle  Temple  Hall,  built  1562-72,  in  the  treasurership  of 
Plowden,  the  jurist.     This  Grand  Hall  is  100  feet  long,  40  feet  wide,  and  upwards  of 


mHT8  OF  COURT  AND  CHANCERY.  463 

60  feet  in  height,  and  has  a  fine  open  timber  roof,  which  omits  the  principal  arched 
rib,  and  multiplies  the  pendants  and  smaller  curves ;  it  is  very  scientifically  constructed, 
and  contains  a  vast  quantity  of  timber.  There  is  also  a  Renaissance  carved  screen  and 
music-gallery,  dight  with  Elizabethan  armour  and  weapons ;  on  the  side  windows  are 
emblazoned  the  arms  of  eminent  members,  as  also  on  the  great  bay-windows,  on  the 
dais  or  state  j  "  besides  the  Queen's  and  the  3  Lyons  of  England." 

The  fine  collection  of  State  pictures  embraces  the  sovereigns  from  Charles  I.  to  George  I.  inclusive. 
The  most  striking  of  these  is  the  noble  equestrian  portrait  of  Charles  I.  by  Vandyck  (one  of  the  three 
known  to  be  by  his  hand),  which  has  hung  in  the  Middle  Temple  hall  since  1684,  when  it  was  acquired 
by  the  Society.  Charles  II.'s  portrait  is  reputed  to  be  the  work  of  Sir  Godfrey  Kneller :  it  represents 
the  King  in  coronation  robes,  wearing  the  Garter ;  it  is  a  grandly  studied  work,  though  the  flesh  tints 
have  deepened ;  the  draperies  are  unrivalled,  so  finely  are  they  cast  and  so  brilliantly  coloured.  The 
portrait  of  Queen  Anne  was  painted  from  life  for  the  Society.  It  appears  from  their  records  that  on  the 
27th  of  November,  1702,  the  benchers  directed  the  treasurer  "  to  put  up  her  Majesty's  picture  at  the 
west  end  of  the  hall  over  the  bench,  and  to  have  it  drawn  by  Mr.  Dahl,  unless  the  treasurer  thinks  fit  to 
make  use  of  another  hand."  Dahl  was  a  native  of  Sweden,  and  a  rival  of  Kneller.  But  the  treasurer  of 
the  day  selected  a  Scottish  artist,  Thomas  Murray,  for  the  work,  who  also  painted  the  portrait  of  King 
William  III.  Cunningham  says :  "the  portraits  are  chiefly  copies,  and  not  good."  Around  the  HaU 
are  imitative  bronze  busts  of  the  twelve  Caesars;  and  on  the  dais,  marble  busts  of  Lords  Eldon  and 
Stowell,  by  Behnes. 

The  oaken  tables  extend  from  end  to  end  :  "  they  cut  their  meat  on  wooden  trenchers, 
and  drink  out  of  green  earthen  pots."  (Hatton,  1708.)  Dugdale  tells  us  that  "  until 
tbe  second  year  of  Queen  Elizabeth's  reign,  this  Society  did  use  to  drink  in  cups  of 
aspen-wood  (such  as  are  still  in  use  in  the  King's  Court),  but  then  those  were  laid  aside, 
and  green  earthen  pots  introduced,  which  have  ever  since  been  continued."  Speci- 
mens of  these  green  cups  have  been  found  in  the  Inner  Temple,  in  Gray's  Inn,  and 
Lincoln's  Inn ;  they  hold  half  a  pint,  are  tall,  have  a  lip,  and  are  surmised  to  have  held 
the  portions  assigned  to  each  student,  who  was  also  supplied  with  a  drinking-horn. 

The  item  "  To  Calves'-head,  &c."  in  the  old  "  battles"  of  thhe  Middle  Temple,  refers  to  ancient  times, 
when  the  chief  cook  of  the  Society  gave  every  Easter  Term  a  calves'-head  breakfast  to  the  whole  fra- 
ternity, for  which  every  gentleman  paid  at  least  one  shilling.  In  the  eleventh  year  of  James  I.,  how- 
ever, this  breakfast  was  turned  into  a  dinner,  and  appointed  to  be  on  the  first  and  second  Monday  in 
every  Easter  Term.  The  price  per  head  was  regularly  fixed,  and  to  be  paid  by  the  whole  Society,  as  well 
absent  as  present — a  fact  which  will  account  for  the  appearance  of  the  item  in  the  Trinity  bills.  The 
sum  thus  collected,  instead  of  belonging  solely  to  the  cooks,  was  divided  among  all  the  domestics 
of  the  house  (see  Herbert's  Antiquities  of  the  Inns  of  Court  and  Chancery). — B.  Blundell,  F.S.A. 

In  this  noble  Hall  was  performed  Shakspeare's  Twelfth  Night,  as  recorded  in  the 
table-book  of  John  Manningham,  a  student  of  the  Middle  Temple :  "  Feb.  2,  1601(2). 
At  our  feast  we  had  a  play  called  'Twelfth  Night,  or  What  you  will.'" — "It  is  yet 
pleasant  to  know  that  there  is  one  locality  remaining  where  a  play  of  Shakspeare  was 
listened  to  by  his  contemporaries,  and  that  play  Twelfth  Night."  (Charles  Knight : 
Pictorial  Edit.  Shakspeare)  The  Middle  Temple  feasts  were  sumptuous :  Evelyn 
describes  that  of  1688  "  so  very  extravagant  and  great,  as  the  like  had  not  been  seen 
at  any  time  j"  he  condemns  the  revels  as  "  an  old  but  riotous  custom."  Aubrey  was 
admitted  1646;  here  and  at  Trinity  College,  Oxford,  he  "enjoyed  the  greatest  felicity" 
of  his  life.  Among  his  "  Accidents"  we  find: — "  St.  John's  Night,  1673  :  In  danger  of 
being  run  through  with  a  sword  by  a  young  templar,  at  Burges'  chamber  in  the  Middle 
Temple."  (Britton's  Memoir  of  Aubrey,  pp.  14,  19.)  Elias  Ashmole  was  called  to 
the  bar  at  the  Middle  Temple,  in  1660 :  he  had  chambers  in  Middle  Temple  Lane. 

The  Reader  at  the  Middle  Temple  appointed  for  the  Lent  Season,  1861  (Dr.  Philli- 
more),  inaugurated  his  election  to  the  office  by  reading,  in  the  ancient  hall  of  the  Inn, 
a  paper  on  "Minority  and  Majority  in  England  and  Abroad."  The  Readers  are 
elected  in  rotation  from  the  Benchers,  and  in  the  olden  time  their  duty  was  to  read 
law  twice  in  the  year — viz.,  in  Hilary  and  Trinity  Terms  :  but  since  the  year  1680, 
these  public  readings  had  been  discontinued. 

The  New  Library,  built  at  the  river  end  of  Garden-court,  and  upon  additional  ground 
purchased  at  the  cost  of  13,000Z.,  was  commenced  in  August,  1858 ;  H.  R.  Abraham, 
architect.  It  is  a  beautiful  edifice,  in  the  collegiate  style  of  the  fifteenth  century. 
The  lower  portion  is  occupied  by  chambers ;  the  material  is  Bath  stone.  The  Library, 
which  is  a  room  of  handsome  proportions,  96  feet  long,  42  wide,  and  70  feet  high, 
occupies  the  upper  portion,  and  is  approached  by  a  winding  staircase  in  an  octagonal 
tower  at  the  side.     The  roof,  which  reminds  one  of  Westminster  Hall,  except  that  it 


464  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

is  two-centred,  is  of  American  pitch-pine — the  first  time  this  wood  has  heen  used  for 
the  purpose  in  England.  The  floor  is  of  Portland  stone,  in  panels,  with  Portland 
cement  in  the  centre  compartments.  There  is  a  stained  glass  window  at  each  end  :  the 
oriel  at  the  south  is  illuminated  with  the  arms  of  the  Royal  Princes,  from  the  time  of 
Richard  Coeur  de  Lion  down  to  the  present  Prince  of  Wales ;  and  the  window  at  the 
north  represents  the  shields  of  all  who  have  heen  Benchers  during  the  time  of  its 
erection.  There  are  five  windows  at  each  side,  which  cast  a  dim  studious  light  through 
silvered  glass.  Over  the  door  is  fitly  hung  the  portrait  of  the  founder  of  the  Library, 
Robert  Ashley.  The  Library  was  opened  with  due  ceremony,  October  30,  1861,  by  the 
Prince  of  Wales,  his  Royal  Highness  having  previously  heen  enrolled  a  Member  of  the 
Middle  Temple,  in  form  as  follows : 

The  Master  Treasurer  moved,  and  the  Lord  Chancellor  seconded,  first,  "that  his  Royal  Highness 
be  admitted  a  member  of  the  Middle  Temple  j"  and  next,  "  that  his  Eoyal  Highness  be  called  to  the 
degree  of  the  outer  Bar,  and  that  the  oath,  on  publication  of  the  Call,  be  dispensed  with."  There  being 
no  opposition,  both  motions  were  carried  unanimously,  and  the  Prince  was  invested  with  the  Bar  gown 
and  subscribed  the  Call-book.  The  next  motion,  also  by  the  Treasurer,  and  seconded  by  the  Lord 
Chancellor,  was  "  that  his  Royal  Highness  be  invited  to  the  Bench."  This  motion  was  also  agreed  to, 
and  the  Prince  assumed  the  Bencher's  gown,  and  took  his  seat  as  a  Master  of  the  Bench,  at  the  right 
hand  of  the  Treasurer.  The  new  Master  next  moved  "that  the  Parliament  do  adjourn,  and  proceed  to 
open  the  Library." 

The  event  was  commemorated  by  a  sumptuous  dejeuner  and  an  evening  fete  to 
nearly  1000  guests.  The  portrait  of  the  Prince  of  Wales  has  been  painted  for  the 
Society ;  and  His  Royal  Highness's  bust  has  been  placed  in  the  Library. 

There  formerly  stood  in  a  plot  of  ground  which  has  since  been  purchased  by  the  Society  of  the 
Middle  Temple,  a  Turkish  (turban)  tombstone,  which  was  placed  in  the  earth  near  a  slab  in  the  wall 
which  marked'the  boundary  of  the  Duchy  of  Lancaster.  The  stone  is  thought  to  have  been  abstracted 
from  some  Turkish  cemetery,  brought  to  England,  perhaps  as  ballast,  and  thus  placed  as  a  curiosity  in 
the  little  garden.  A  paper  was  written  concerning  this  stone  by  W.  H.  Marley :  it  has  disappeared. — 
Holes  and  Queries,  3rd  s.  ix.  109. 

Among  the  eminent  members  of  the  Middle  Temple  were  Plowden,  the  jurist ;  Sir 
Walter  Raleigh ;  Sir  Thomas  Overbury;  John  Ford,  the  dramatist ;  Sir  Edward 
Bramston,  who  had  for  his  chamber-fellow  Mr.  Edward  Hyde  (afterwards  Lord  Chan- 
cellor Clarendon) ;  Bulstrode  Wbitelocke ;  Lord  Keeper  Guildford ;  Lord  Chancellor 
Somers ;  Wycherley  and  Congreve ;  Shadwell  and  Southerne ;  Sir  William  Blackstone ; 
Dunning,  Lord  Ashburton  j  Lord  Chancellor  Eldon  and  Lord  Stowell ;  Edmund 
Burke ;  Richard  Brinsley  Sheridan  ;  and  the  poets  Cowper  and  Moore.  Oliver  Gold- 
smith had  chambers  in  Brick-court,  at  the  window  of  which  he  loved  to  sib  and  watch 
the  rooks  in  Middle  Temple  Garden;  Goldsmith  died  hereon  the  4th  of  April,  1774,  in 
his  46th  year ;  his  rooms  were  at  No.  2,  second  floor,  over  the  chambers  of  Blackstone, 
who  was  then  finishing  the  fourth  volume  of  his  Commentaries. 

Middle  Temple  Garden  is  well  kept,  and  has  an  air  of  seclusion ;  here  is  a  catalpa 
syringifolia,  related  to  have  been  planted  by  Sir  Matthew  Hale.  The  Fountain  in  the 
adjoining  Court  is  described  at  pp.  356-7. 

Sun-dials. — There  remain  three  dials,  with  mottoes  :  Temple-lane,  "Pereuntet  imputantur:"  Essex- 
court,  "Vestigia  nulla  retrorsum ;"  Brick-court,  "  Time  and  tide  tarry  for  no  man:"  in  Pump-court  and 
Garden-court  are  two  dials  without  mottoes ;  and  in  each  Temple  Garden  is  a  pillar  dial,  dated  1770 ; 
that  in  Middle  Temple  is  elaborately  gilt.  Upon  the  old  brick  house  at  the  east  end  of  Inner  Temple- 
terrace,  removed  in  1828,  was  another  dial,  with  this  quaint  inscription :  "  Begone  about  your  business." 

In  Middle  Temple-lane  are  some  of  the  oldest  chambers  in  the  Temple,  and  within 
the  gate  are  shops.  It  was  between  the  Temple  Gate  and  the  Bar  that,  in  1583, 
Francis  Bacon  stood  among  his  brother  barristers  to  welcome  Queen  Elizabeth  into  the 
City.  And  in  one  of  the  shops  within  the  Gate  lived  Benj.  Motte,  the  publisher  of  the 
works  of  Pope  and  Swift ;  his  imprint  being  "  at  the  Middle  Temple  Gate." 

Lincoln's  Inn,  on  the  west  side  of  Chancery-lane,  occupies  the  site  of  the  palace  of 
Ralph  Neville,  Bishop  of  Chichester,  and  Lord  High  Chancellor  to  Henry  III.  j  and 
of  the  ancient  monastery  of  Black  Friars  in  Holborn,  granted  to  Henry  de  Lacy,  Earl 
of  Lincoln,  who  built  thereon  his  town-house  or  inn  :  soon  after  whose  death,  in  1312, 
it  became  an  Inn  of  Court,  named  from  him  Lincoln's  Inn ;  when  also  the  greater  part 
of  the  estate  of  the  see  of  Chichester  was  leased  to  students  of  the  law.  The  Earl  of 
Lincoln's  garden,  with  a  pond  or  vivary  for  pike,  is  noticed  at  p.  365. 


iU     SUAVJ 

'a  SRfJ   UOCiTl  ©OUBA 

r.'iv  eq-}   •jnq 

qfl  ino  jj.toM  pjtioo 

'qoiqM 

Oqj  iro  r<?noowc>q,, 

In  -jes  sor]T.ioqiTiB 

sifltiour  '  autosj 

0I1NV11V 

S9tim5?B  '?su<iaioo 

3Bd  ui  'pite  S3AJ0A 

noqs  'jo  noi\j-Erpr.T 

p^TUiaaou'oo  ojs 

£9J  10  Sn-BOOT  Ag 
■optuojq£)  X[re(j  ., 

f    SaHIAi    *?S3[0XpVi 

•3  jo  aq  A^ao 
>j  paaSrsap  n  ^ 

•osnoq-jq^Tj  ssai 
r  ?BqA\  tfjtM  opBtir 
3  'qvroj  jo  qntj 
pire^I  sq-;  no 


SdlHS 

aiiw  ooi 
LHDH 

xsau 


\LVOh 
1J01S3M01  Ah 


•onq  aq;  < 
-Sis  «£q  paddojs  $v;&  uiv..i\ 
'nix  d 
spjBA"  Aiaj  b  urq^i-tt  £iqj  b 
dn  ii  ppq  'ssoidxa  Smtuo 
•ooiip  eqj  up  Stnuuru   "p 
^£-a.TB3u  oip  pagpoa  Ajej 
•uibjj  SutqotjGjdde  oq 
i  Je8tn?pu©  p[rio.u  qarq/tt  s[i 
tpajop  b  pajaAoosip  &2u 
-□aoH  ??63  pne  tioptqirj 
b  ssBd  o;  onp  ;?ouqB  s 
*p9Aid)B| 
qB  qoop.o  6  ^noqtf  |e©j|s 

'B9S-U0-gt[0'}39\^    OAB3J    S 

jo  uorpas  puoq;nog  piiB 
seffS3Jdx9  uopuoq  oj  a^: 
b  pa-jaaAaad  ssatqnjqojBi 


a  SuuapuoAv  dpq 
it  sk.u  i  ^qgnoifi 
tttggip  'uibsb  ?no 
um\-\  p?;q  uj  tt 
aq  {stltu  j[  qotq.u 
q  f  -ss^jp  putj 
fl!l  G  'JfB.A  o;  noA" 

3  uaqA\  „ 
morsuani  ouios  O} 

*139J'}S-?Ur!01S   JJO 
piBS  Oq   ,,'S9AI[ 


H3DNVD    V 
OVId   V    HUM 

HH3d 

ni  ssa^dxa  * 


-U3  'uotjsjisoq  jo  sjuamot 
'Apsi  aq*  'psiapipwaq  a'jo. 
•qoirup  oi^  jajuo  • 
epstn  'paqsiuojsc  ait«oj3  ' 
'aaofc  9bav  oqy  "apuq  u  j 
pua  j3A|is  oq;  j[tj  m  pa.ii 
auutua  ub  ui  passaap  'Api 
B  qBO  aq;  jo  <jno  paddoif? 
uocp  qojod  aq- 
trappns  b  o;  u[3noaq  pue 

SUI>}00[-^.IBUI3  v,  A\Bsjpan 


ishionablo  wedding  was 
m  at  the  Church  of  the 
Bryanston-street,  Marble 
y,  a  second  "bride" 
i  ;ccne  and,  looking  round 
oner,  said,  "I  appear  to 

Las  that  of  Canon  Hamil- 
-Hamilton  and  the  Hon. 
Iteman  Hanbury  Wh*n 
[the  second  "bride  was 
happy  couple  alter  uie 
were  verv  much  amused. 
-  o'clock*  the  bystanders 


tered  the  chui 
again  almost 
by  an  inspect* 
nate  "  bride  " 

After  a  goo 

inspector    stH 

address.    He 

which  the  "  b: 

test,  and  was 

There  was  a 
first  taxi-driv 
belated  "  bnd 
half-huraorou 
to  pay  him. 

"  But  ripvAt 


INNS  OF  COUET— LINCOLN'S  INN.  465 

The  precincts  of  Lincoln's  Inn  comprise  the  old  buildings,  ahout  500  feet  frontage 
in  Chancery-lane,  erected  between  the  reigns  of  Henry  VII.  and  James  I.  The  Gate- 
house, a  fine  specimen  of  Tudor  brickwork,  was  built  mostly  at  the  expense  of  Sir 
Thomas  Lovell,  "  double  reader"  and  treasurer  of  the  Society.  The  entrance  is  an 
obtusely -pointed  arch,  originally  vaulted,  between  two  four-storied  square  towers.  The 
bricks  and  tiles  used  in  the  Gatehouse  and  Hall  were  made  from  clay  dug  from  a  piece 
of  ground  on  the  west  side  of  the  Inn,  and  called  the  Coneygarth,  "  well  stocked  with 
rabbits  and  game." 

Over  the  Gatehouse  arch  are  painted  and  gilt  the  royal  arms  of  King  Henry  VIII.  within  the  garter 
and  crowned,  having  on  the  dexter  side  the  arms  of  Henry  Lacy,  Earl  of  Lincoln ;  and  on  the  sinister 
side  the  arms  and  quarterings  of  Sir  Thomas  Lovell,  K.G. ;  beneath,  on  a  riband,  ^nno  DoiVt. 
1518.  Lower  down  is  a  tablet  denoting  an  early  repair,  inscribed :  "  Insignia  hsc  refecta  et  decorata 
Johanne  Hawles  Armig.  Solicitat.  General.  Thesaurario  1695."  The  original  doors  of  oak,  put  up  6  Eliz. 
1564,  still  remain.  In  the  court  on  the  west  is  the  ancient  Hall  (the  oldest  structure  in  the  Inn),  and  the 
old  kitchen,  now  chambers ;  on  the  north  is  the  Chapel  (described  at  p.  213) ;  and  in  the  centre  are  the 
two  Vice-Chancellors'  Courts,  built  1841.— Spilsbury's  Lincoln's  Inn. 

This  and  the  three  other  courts  of  chambers  were  chiefly  built  temp.  James  I.     At 

No.  13,  from  1645  to  1650,  lived  John  Thurloe,  Secretary  of  Oliver  Cromwell.     In 

these  chambers,  it  is  said,  was  discussed  early  in  1649,  by  Cromwell  and  Thurloe,  Sir 

Richard  Willis's  plot  for  seizing  Charles  II. ;  in  the  same  room  sat  Thurloe's  assistant, 

young  Morland,  at  his  desk,   apparently  asleep,  and  whom  Cromwell   would   have 

dispatched  with  his  sword,  had  not  Thurloe  assured  him  that  Morland  had  sat  up  two 

nights,  and  was  certainly  fast  asleep  :  he,  however,  divulged  the  plot  to  the  king,  and 

thus  saved  Charles's  life.     This  narrative  is  given  by  Birch  in  his  Life  of  Thurloe, 

but  rests  upon  questionable  evidence.    Here  was  discovered  in  the  reign  of,  William  III. 

a  collection  of  papers,  concealed  in  a  false  ceiling  of  the  apartment :  they  form  the 

principal  part  of  Dr.  Birch's  Thurloe  State  Papers.    There  is  a  tradition  that  Cromwell 

had  chambers  in  or  near  the  Gatehouse,  but  his  name  is  not  in  the  registers  of  the 

Society :  his  son  Richard  was  admitted  a  student  23  Charles  I. 

Sun-dials. — On  two  of  the  old  gables  are,  1.  A  southern  dial,  restored  in  1840,  which  shows  the  hours 
by  its  gnomon  from  6  a.m.  to  4  p.m.,  and  is  inscribed  "  Ex  hoc  momento  pendet  seternitas."  2.  A  western 
dial,  restored  in  1794,  the  Eight  Hon.  William  Pitt,  Treasurer,  and  again  restored  in  1848,  from  the 
different  situation  of  its  plane,  only  shows  the  hours  from  noon  till  night :  inscription,  "  Qua  redit, 
nescitis  horam." 

The  Old  Hall,  rebuilt  22  Henry  VII.,  1506,  occupies  the  site  of  the  original  Hall, 
and  has  a  louvre  on  the  roof,  date  1552,  and  an  embattled  parapet ;  opposite  the 
entrance,  at  the  south  end,  is  the  old  kitchen.  The  "  goodly  hall"  is  about  71  feet  in 
length  and  32  in  breadth  ;  height  about  equal  to  the  breadth.  It  has  on  each  side 
three  large  three-light  windows,  with  arched  and  cusped  heads;  and  a  great  oriel, 
transomed,  with  arched  head  and  cusps :  at  each  end  the  room  was  lengthened  ten  feet 
in  1819,  when  the  open  oak  roof  was  removed,  and  the  present  incongruous  coved 
plaster  ceiling  substituted.  At  the  lower  end  is  a  massive  screen,  erected  in  1565, 
grotesquely  carved,  and  emblazoned  with  the  full  achievements  of  King  Charles  II., 
James  Duke  of  York,  Prince  Rupert,  the  Earl  of  Manchester,  Lord  Henry  Howard,  and 
Lord  Newport,  date  Feb.  29, 1671 :  at  the  end  of  the  Hall,  in  panels,  are  the  arms  of 
distinguished  members  of  the  Society,  including  Lords  Mansfield,  Loughborough,  Ellen- 
borough,  Brougham,  &c.  On  the  dais  is  the  seat  of  the  Lord  Chancellor.  The  com- 
mons of  the  Society  were  held  here  until  the  building  of  the  New  Hall. 

Among  the  earliest  distinguished  members  of  Lincoln's  Inn  were,  Sir  John  Fortescue, 
temp.  Henry  "VI.;  Sir  Thomas  More,  who  removed  here  from  New  Inn;*  Lambard  and 
Spelman,  the  antiquaries;  the  learned  John  Selden;  Noy,  Attorney-General  to  Charles  I. ; 
Lenthall,  the  Cromwellian  Speaker ;  and  the  great  Lord  Chancellor  Egerton. 

In  this  ancient  Hall  were  held  all  the  revels  of  the  Society,  their  masques  and  Christmasings ;  when 
the  benchers  laid  aside  their  dignity,  and  dancing  was  enjoined  for  the  students,  as  conducive  "  to  the 

*  "  After  a  careful  comparison  of  the  facts  and  dates  connected  with  both  John  Mores,  the  only  rea- 
sonable conclusion  that  can  be  formed  seems  to  be  that  John  More,  first  the  butler,  afterwards  the 
steward,  and  finally  the  reader,  of  Lincoln's  Inn,  was  the  Chancellor's  grandfather ;  and  that  John 
More,  junior,  who  was  also  at  one  time  the  butler  there,  was  the  Chancellor's  father  and  afterwards  the 
Judge.  Not  only  does  this  descent  suit  precisely  the '  non  celebri  sed  honestanatus'  in  Sir  Thomas  More'a 
epitaph,  but  it  explains  the  silence  of  his  biographers,  and  accounts  for  the  Judge  and  the  Chancellor 
attending  the  readings  of  a  society  with  which  their  family  had  been  so  closely  connected." — Edward 
Foss,  F.SA. :  Archceologia,  vol.  xxxv.  p.  33. 

H  H 


466  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

making  of  gentlemen  more  fit  for  their  books  at  other  times"  (Dugdale's  Originee) ;  and  by  an  order  7th 
of  James  I.  "  the  under-barristers  were,  by  decimation,  put  out  of  commons,  for  example's  sake,  because 
they  had  not  danced  on  the  Candlemas-day  preceding,  when  the  judges  were  present."  Of  Christmas, 
1661,  Pepys  writes :  "  The  King  (Charles  II.)  visited  Lincoln's  Inn  to  see  the  revels  there;  there  being, 
according  to  an  old  custome,  a  prince  and  all  his  nobles,  and  other  matters  of  sport  and  charge."  Here 
were  present,  Clarendon,  Ormond,  and  Shaftesbury,  at  the  revels  of  Hale ;  Ley,  and  Denham  the  poet ; 
and  the  gloomy  Prynne  standing,  by.  At  these  entertainments  the  Hall  cupboard  was  set  out  with 
the  Society's  olden  plate,  which  includes  silver  basins  and  ewers,  silver  cups  and  covers,  a  silver  college- 
pot  for  festivals,  and  a  large  silver  punch-bowl  with  two  handles. 

In  1671  Charles  II.  made  a  second  visit,  with  his  brother  the  Duke  of  York,  Prince  Eupert,  and  the 
Duke  of  Monmouth,  who  were  entertained  in  the  Hall,  and  admitted  members  of  the  Society,  and 
entered  their  names  in  the  admittance-book,  which  contains  also  the  signatures  of  all  members  from  the 
reign  of  Elizabeth  to  the  present  time.  Sir  Matthew  Hale  entered  here  student  in  1639 :  he  bequeathed 
a  large  collection  of  MSS.  to  the  Library. 

Not  many  years  ago  it  was  the  custom  at  Lincoln's  Inn  for  one  of  the  servants,  attired  in  his  usual 
robes,  to  go  to  the  threshold  of  the  outer  door  about  twelve  or  one  o'clock,  and  exclaim  three  times, 
"  Venez  manger  I"  when  neither  bread  nor  salt  was  upon  the  table. 

New  Square,  southward  of  the  ancient  buildings,  was  completed  in  1697,  by  Mr. 
Henry  Serle,  a  bencher  of  the  Inn :  in  the  centre  was  formerly  a  Corinthian  column, 
with  a  vertical  sun-dial ;  and  at  the  base  were  four  Triton  jets  d'eau :  the  ai'ea  was 
enclosed  and  planted  in  1845.  In  the  reign  of  Charles  II.  this  was  open  ground, 
known  as  Little  Lincoln's  Inn  Fields,  or  Fickett's  Fields  :  it  is  not  part  of  the  Inn. 

The  Stone  Buildings,  at  the  north-east  extremity  of  the  Inn,  were  designed  by  Sir 
Eobert  Taylor,  and  completed  by  Hardwick,  in  1845 :  the  architecture  is  beautiful 
Corinthian.     This  is  only  part  of  a  design,  in  1780,  for  rebuilding  the  whole  Inn. 

"  The  working  drawings  were  made  by  a  young  man  of  the  name  of  Leech,  then  a  clerk  in  Taylor's 
office,  who  afterwards  became  a  student  of  Lincoln's  Inn,  and  died  filling  the  high  and  lucrative  office 
in  the  law  of  Master  of  the  Bolls.  Leech's  drawings  are  preserved  in  the  library  of  Lincoln's  Inn. — 
Cunningham's  Handbook,  p.  473. 

The  garden  was  enlarged,  and  the  terrace-walk  on  the  west  was  made,  in  1663  :— 

"To  Lincoln's  Inn,  to  see  the  new  garden  which  they  are  making,  which  will  be  very  pretty,— and 
to  the  walk  under  the  chapel  by  agreement." — Pepys's  Diary. 

Into  Lincoln's  Inn  walks  Isaac  Bickerstaff  sometimes  went  instead  of  the  tavern  (Tatler,  No.  13) ; 
and  a  solitary  walk  in  the  garden  of  Lincoln's  Inn  was  a  favour  indulged  in  by  several  of  the  benchers, 
Isaac's  intimate  friends,  and  grown  old  with  him  in  this  neighbourhood  (Tatter,  No.  100). 

The  ruined  gamester  (Tatler,  No.  13)  in  the  morning  borrows  half-a-crown  of  the  maid  who  cleans 
his  shoes,  "  and  is  now  gaming  in  Lincoln's-inn  Fields  among  the  boys  for  farthings  and  oranges,  until 
he  has  made  up  three  pieces ;  and  then  he  returns  to  White's,  into  the  best  company  in  town." 

The  Gardens  were  much  curtailed  by  the  building  of  the  New  Hall  and  Library; 
when  disappeared  "  the  walks  under  the  elms,"  celebrated  by  Ben  Jonson.  Among 
the  officers  of  the  Society  is  a  "  Master  of  the  Walks."  (See  Gaedens,  p.  365.) 
And,  in  1662,  was  revived  the  ancient  custom  of  electing  a  Lord-Lieutenant,  and  Prince 
of  the  Grange. 

On  the  western  side  of  the  garden,  almost  on  the  site  of  the  Coneygarth,  are  the 
New  Hall  and  Library,  a  picturesque  group,  finely  situated  for  architectural  effect,  in 
the  late  Tudor  style  (temp.  Henry  VIII.),  having  a  corresponding  entrance-gate  from 
Lincoln's-inn-fields ;  architect,  Philip  Hardwick,  R. A.  The  foundation-stone  was  laid 
April  20,  1843 :  the  hall  is  arranged  north  and  south,  and  the  library  east  and  west  j 
the  two  buildings  being  connected  by  a  vestibule,  flanked  by  a  drawing-room  and 
council-room.  The  materials  are  red  bricks,  intersected  with  black  bricks  in  patterns, 
and  stone  dressings.  The  south  end  has  a  lofty  gable, inscribed,  in  dark  bricks,  "P.  H." 
(Philip  Hardwick),  and  the  date  1843 ;  flanked  on  each  side  by  a  square  tower,  battle- 
mented ;  beneath  are  shields,  charged  with  lions  and  milrines,  the  badges  of  the  Society : 
between  the  towers  is  the  great  window  of  the  Hall,  of  seven  lights,  transomed,  and  the 
four-central  arch  filled  with  beautiful  tracery.  On  the  apex  of  the  gable,  beneath  a 
canopied  pinnacle,  is  a  statue  of  Queen  Victoria ;  Thomas,  sculptor.  The  side  buttresses 
are  surmounted  by  octagonal  pinnacles.  The  roof  is  leaded,  and  in  its  centre  is  an 
elegant  louvre,  surrounded  by  slender  pinnacles  bearing  vanes ;  the  capping  has  crockets 
and  gurgoyles,  and  is  surmounted  by  a  vane  with  direction-points  in  gilded  metal- work— 
the  whole  very  tasteful.  The  entrance  to  the  Hall  is  at  the  south-east  tower,  by  a 
double  flight  of  steps  to  the  porch,  above  which  are  the  arms  of  the  Inn.  Above  is  the 
clock,  of  novel  and  beautiful  design,  with  an  enriched  pedimental  canopy  in  metal- 
work. 

The  central  building,  the  entrance  to  the  Library  and  Great  Hall,  has  end  oriels, 
and  an  octagonal  embattled  crown  or  lantern,  filled  with  painted  glass,  and  reminding 


INNS  OF  COURT-LINCOLN'S  INN.  467 

one  of  the  octagon  of  Ely  Cathedral.  From  the  esplanade  is  the  entrance  by  flights  of 
steps  to  a  porch,  the  gable  bearing  the  lion  of  the  Earl  of  Lincoln  holding  a  banner ; 
and  at  the  apex  of  the  great  gable  of  the  library  roof  is  a  circular  shaft,  surmounted 
by  an  heraldic  animal  supporting  a  staff  and  banner.  The  Library  has  large  end 
oriels,  of  beautiful  design,  and  five  bay-windows  on  the  north  side ;  the  lights  being 
separated  by  stone  compartments,  each  boldly  sculptured  with  heraldic  achievements 
of  King  Charles  II.,  James  Duke  of  York,  K.G.,  Queen  Victoria,  Prince  Albert,  K.G. 
(all  visitors  of  the  Society),  and  Albert  Edward  Prince  of  Wales.  The  buttresses 
dividing  the  bays  are  terminated  by  pillars,  surmounted  by  heraldic  animals.  At  the 
north-west  angle  of  this  front  is  an  octagonal  bell-turret.  On  the  western  front 
towards  Lincoln's-inn  Fields,  the  clustered  chimneys  have  a  beautiful  effect :  they  are 
of  moulded  red  brick,  resembling  those  at  Eton  College  and  Hampton  Court  Palace. 
The  bosses,  gurgoyles,  and  armorial,  grotesque,  and  foliated  ornaments  throughout  the 
building  are  finely  sculptured. 

Entering  by  the  southern  tower,  the  corridor  is  arranged  on  the  plan  of  the  college 
halls  of  the  Universities,  and  has  a  buttery-hatch,  and  stairs  leading  to  the  vaulted 
kitchen,  45  feet  square  and  25  feet  high,  with  one  of  the  largest  fire-places  in  England ; 
adjoining  are  cellars  for  one  hundred  pipes  of  wine. 

From  the  corridor,  through  a  carved  oak  screen,  you  enter  the  Hall :  length,  120 
feet ;  width,  45  feet ;  height  to  the  apex  of  roof,  62  feet.  In  size  it  exceeds  the  halls 
of  the  Middle  Temple,  Hampton  Court  Palace,  and  Christ-church,  Oxford ;  but  is  ex- 
ceeded in  length  by  the  hall  of  Christ's  Hospital,  which  is  187  feet.  The  upper  part 
of  the  screen  serves  as  the  front  of  the  gallery,  between  the  arches  of  which,  upon 
pedestals,  in  canopied  niches,  are  costumed  life-size  figures  of  these  eminent  members  of 
the  Society :  Lord  Chief- Justice  Sir  Matthew  Hale ;  Archbishop  Tillotson,  one  of  the 
preachers  of  Lincoln's-inn;  Lord  Chief-Justice  Mansfield;  Lord  Chancellor  Hard- 
wicke ;  Bishop  Warburton,  one  of  the  preachers ;  and  Sir  William  Grant,  Master  of 
the  Rolls.  The  sides  of  the  Hall  are  panelled  with  oak,  and  the  cornice  is  enriched 
with  gilding  and  colour.  The  five  large  stained-glass  windows  on  either  side  contain, 
in  the  upper  lights,  the  arms,  crests,  and  mottoes  of  distinguished  members  of  the 
Society,  chronologically  arranged,  from  1450  to  1843 ;  and  the  lower  divisions  are 
diapered  with  the  initials  "  L.  I."  and  the  milrine.  Above  the  windows  is  a  cornice 
enriched  with  colour  and  gilding. 

The  roof  is  wholly  of  oak,  and  is  divided  into  seven  compartments  by  trusses,  each 
large  arch  springing  from  stone  corbels,  and  having  two  carved  pendants  (as  in  Wolsey's 
'Hall  at  Hampton  Court),  at  the  termination  of  an  inner  arch,  that  springs  from 
hammer-beams  projecting  from  the  walls.  These  pendants  are  illuminated  blue  and 
red,  and  gilt,  and  they  each  carry  a  chandelier  to  correspond.  Between  the  wall 
trusses  is'  a  machicolated  cornice,  panelled  and  coloured. 

Here  is  a  nobly-designed  fresco  by  G.  F.  Watts — "  The  Origin  of  Legislation." 
This  great  work  was  the  gift  of  Mr.  Watts,  the  artist ;  commenced  in  1854,  but  soon 
after  discontinued  through  illness,  and  not  renewed  till  1857 — finished  Oct.  1859. 

On  April  25,  I860,  Mr.  Watts  was  entertained  in  the  Hall — an  honour  before  conferred  on  no  painter 
except  Hogarth,  who  dined  there  in  1750 — was  presented  by  this  Society  with  a  silver-gilt  cup,  value  1501., 
and  purse  of  5001. ;  the  testimonial  being  "  not  in  the  character  of  compensation,  but  as  a  testimony  of 
the  friendly  feeling  of  the  Society  for  the  man  who  had  selected  it  as  the  recipient  of  so  valued  a  gift, 
and  of  its  appreciation  of  his  genius  as  an  artist." 

On  the  northern  wall,  above  the  dais  panelling,  is  the  picture  of  Paul  before  Felix, 
painted  in  1750  by  Hogarth,  and  removed  from  a  similar  position  in  the  Old  Hall. 
The  composition  is  good ;  but  the  conception  of  character  commonplace. 

By  the  will  of  Lord  Wyndham,  Baron  of  Finglass,  and  Lord  High  Chancellor  of  Ireland,  the  sum 
of  2001.  was  bequeathed  to  the  Society,  to  be  expended  in  adorning  the  Chapel  or  Hall,  as  the  benchers 
should  think  fit.  At  the  recommendation  of  Lord  Mansfield,  Hogarth  "was  engaged  to  paint  the  pic- 
ture, which  was  at  first  designed  for  the  chapel.— Spilsbury's  Idneoln'alnn,  p.  103. 

At  the  opposite  end  of  the  Hall  is  a  noble  marble  statue,  by  Westmacott,  of  Lord 
Erskine,  Chancellor  in  1806. 

On  either  side  of  the  dais,  in  the  oriel,  is  a  sideboard  for  the  upper  or  benchers' 
table ;  the  other  tables,  ranged  in  gradation,  two  crosswise  and  five  along  the  hall,  are 
for  the  barristers  and  students,  who  dine  here  every  day  during  term :  the  average 

EH  2 


468  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

number  is  200 ;  and  of  those  who  dine  on  one  day  or  other  during  the  term,  "  keeping 
commons,"  is  about  500. 

The  western  oriel  window  contains,  in  the  upper  light,  the  armorial  bearings  of  Ralph  Neville,  Bishop 
of  Chichester :  Henry  Lacy,  Earl  of  Lincoln:  William  de  Haverhyll,  Treasurer  to  King  Henry  III. , 
Edward  Sulyard,  Esq.,  by  whom  the  inheritance  of  the  premises  of  Lincoln's  Inn  was  transferred  to  the 
Society  in  1580 :  whose  arms  are  also  here — motto :  "  Longa  professio  est  pads  jus."  In  the  middle  of 
the  window  are  the  arms  of  King  Charles  II.  within  the  garter,  and  surmounted  by  the  crown,  with  the 
supporters  and  motto;  also  the  arms  of  James  Duke  of  York  and  of  Prince  Rupert.  On  the  other  side, 
the  quarrels  of  the  whole  windows  are  diapered,  like  the  other  windows  of  the  hall,  with  the  milrine 
and  L.  I.  The  oriel  window,  on  the  eastern  side,  contains  all  the  stained  glass  removed  from  the  old 
hall,  consisting  of  the  armorial  insignia  of  noblemen,  legal  disnitaries,  &c.  All  the  heraldic  decora- 
tions, with  the  exception  of  the  eastern  oriel,  are  by  Mr.  Willement. — Spilsbury's  Lincoln's  Inn, 
pp.  104-5. 

From  the  dais  of  the  Hall  large  folding-doors  open  into  the  vestibule,  east  of  which 
is  the  Council-chamber ;  and  west,  the  Drawing-room :  the  stone  chimney-pieces  are 
finely  sculptured.  In  the  Drawing-room  are  portraits  of  Justice  Glanville,  1598 ;  Sir 
John  Granville,  Speaker  of  the  House  of  Commons,  1640 ;  Sir  Matthew  Hale,  1671, 
by  M.  Wright  (acquired  by  the  Society,  with  bis  collection  of  MSS.) ;  Sir  Eichard 
Kainsford,  Lord  Chief-Justice  K.B.,  1676,  by  Gerard  Soest ;  Lord  Chancellor  Hard- 
wicke,  1737,  after  Ramsay ;  Lord  Chancellor  Bathurst,  1771,  by  Sir  N.  Dance ;  Sir 
John  Skynner,  Lord  Chief  Baron,  1771,  by  Gainsborough;  Sir  William  Grant,  Master 
of  the  Rolls,  by  Harlow ;  Francis  Hargreave,  Treasurer  in  1813,  by  Sir  Joshua  Rey- 
nolds ;  and  Sir  H.  Haddington,  Speaker  of  the  House  of  Commons. 

In  the  Council-room  is  a  portrait  of  Sir  John  Franklin,  of  Mavourn,  Beds,  Knight, 
a  master  in  chancery  thirty -three  years ;  ob.  1707.  Here  are  also  several  copies  from 
the  old  masters ;  and  a  Lady  with  a  Guitar,  by  William  Etty,  R.A.  The  walls  of  both 
Council  and  Drawing-rooms  are  also  hung  with  a  valuable  collection  of  engraved  por- 
traits of  legal  dignitaries,  eminent  prelates,  &c. 

The  Library,  80  feet  long,  40  feet  wide,  and  44  feet  high,  has  an  open  oak  roof,  of 
much  originality.  The  projecting  book-cases  form  separate  apartments  for  study,  and 
have  an  iron  balcony  running  round  them  about  midway,  and  another  gallery  over 
them  against  each  wall.  Each  of  the  oriel  windows  displays  arms  of  the  present 
benchers ;  as  also  the  five  northern  windows,  except  the  lower  lights  of  the  central  one, 
which  are  filled  with  the  arms  of  Queen  Victoria,  of  brilliant  colour  and  broad 
treatment.  The  glass  of  the  windows  consists  of  small  circular  panes,  termed  beryl 
glazing,  of  remarkable  brilliancy. 

The  Society's  valuable  collection  of  MSS.,  mostly  bequeathed  by  Sir  Matthew  Hale, 
are  deposited  in  two  rooms  opening  from  the  Library.  The  books  and  MSS.  exceed 
25,000 :  the  collection  of  law-books  is  the  most  complete  in  this  country,  and  here  are 
many  important  works  on  history  and  antiquities.  The  Library,  founded  in  1497,  is 
older  than  any  now  existing  in  the  metropolis ;  and  many  of  the  volumes  still  retain 
iron  rings,  by  which  they  were  secured  by  rods  to  the  shelves.  The  early  Year-books 
are  chiefly  in  their  original  oak  binding ;  and  four  of  them  belonged  to  William 
Rastell,  nephew  of  Sir  Thomas  More.  Among  the  other  rarities  are,  Le  Mirror  a 
Justices,  per  Andrew  Home,  in  a  hand  of  the  reign  of  James  I. ;  Placita  of  the  whole 
reign  of  Edward  II.  on  vellum,  written  in  the  fourteenth  century ;  two  volumes  of 
Statutes  on  vellum,  Edward  III.  and  Henry  V. ;  a  MS.  Year-book,  Edward  III.;  the 
fourth  volume  of  Prynne's  Records,  bought  for  335Z.  by  the  Society  at  the  Stowe  sale, 
in  1849  (it  was  published  in  the  year  of  the  Great  Fire,  when  most  of  the  copies  were 
burnt);  several  MSS.  in  the  handwriting  of  Sir  Matthew  Hale,  Archbishop  Usher, 
and  the  learned  Selden ;  a  beautiful  copy  of  the  works  of  King  Charles  I.,  which  had 
belonged  to  King  Charles  II. ;  Baron  Maseres's  copy  of  his  Scriptores  Logarithmici, 
six  vols.  4to;  Charles  Butler's  fine  copy  of  Tractatus  Universi  Juris,  with  index, 
twenty-eight  vols,  folio,  &c.  (See  Spilsbury's  Lincoln's  Inn,  specially  devoted  to  the 
Library ;  to  which  carefully-written  work  we  are  much  indebted.) 

The  New  Hall  and  Library  were  inaugurated  October  30,  1845,  by  Queen  Victoria 
and  Prince  Albert,  when  Her  Majesty  held  a  levee  in  the  Library,  at  which  the 
Treasurer  of  the  Inn,  J.  A.  F.  Simpkinson,  was  knighted;  the  Prince  became  a 
member  of  the  Society,  and  with  the  Queen  signed  his  name  in  the  Admittance-book. 
Her  Majesty  and  Prince  Albert  then  partook  of  an  early  banquet  in  the  Great  Hall  j 
this  being  the  first  visit  of  a  sovereign  to  the  Inn  for  nearly  two  centuries. 


INNS  OF  COURT— GRAY'S  INN.  469 

Lincoln's  Inn  is  exempted  from  poor-rates  as  extra-parochial.  The  ground  on  which 
the  New  Hall  is  built  belonged,  at  the  time  of  building,  to  the  parish  of  St.  Giles  in 
the  Fields ;  but  was,  by  agreement,  subsequently  severed  from  that  parish,  and 
annexed  to  the  vill  or  township  of  Lincoln's  Inn,  the  Society  paying  annually  a  com- 
pensation to  the  parish  for  the  rates. 

The  Old-buildings  are  continued  to  New-square,  where  may  be  noted  some  vine  and 
fig  trees.  There  are  some  very  old  houses  and  shops  near  the  Carey -street  gate  :  some 
shops  are  stuck  up  against  the  main  building :  these  in  former  days  had  been  book-stalls. 

At  Lincoln's  Inn  and  at  Gray's  Inn  the  Curfew-bell  is  rung  every  night  at  nine 
o'clock ;  though,  in  this  respect,  the  societies  do  not  stand  alone,  for  curfew-ringing  is  a 
practice  still  preserved  in  many  towns  scattered  about  England. 

Gray's  Ink,  on  the  north  side  of  Holborn,  and  west  of  Gray's-Inn-lane,  appears  to 
have  been  "  a  goodly  house  since  Edward  III.'s  time."  (Stow.)  It  was  originally  the 
residence  of  the  noble  family  of  Grey  of  Wilton,  who,  in  1505,  sold  to  Hugh  Denny, 
Esq.,  "  the  manor  of  Portpoole  (one  of  the  prebends  belonging  to  St.  Paul's  Cathedral), 
otherwise  called  Gray's  Inn,  four  messuages,  four  gardens,  the  site  of  a  windmill,  eight 
acres  of  land,  ten  shillings  of  free  rent,  and  the  advowson  of  the  chantry  of  Portpoole." 
The  manor  was  next  sold  to  the  prior  and  convent  of  East  Sheen,  in  Surrey,  who 
leased  "the  mansion  of  Portpoole"  to  "certain  students  of  the  law,"  at  the  annual 
rent  of  61.  13s.  4d. ;  and  after  the  Dissolution  by  Henry  VIII.  the  benchers  of  Gray's 
Inn  were  entered  in  the  King's  books  as  the  fee-farm  tenants  of  the  Crown,  at  the  same 
rent  as  paid  to  the  monks  of  Sheen. 

The  principal  entrance  to  Gray's  Inn  is  from  Holborn,  by  a  gateway  erected  1592, 
a  good  specimen  of  early  brickwork,  leading  to  South-square  (formerly  Holborn-court), 
separated  by  the  hall,  chapel,  and  library  from  Gray's-inn-square.  Westward  is 
Field-court,  with  a  gate,  now  blocked  up,  to  Fulwood's  Rents  (see  p.  363) ;  and 
opposite  is  the  lofty  gate  of  the  gardens ;  Verulam-buildings  east ;  Raymond-buildings 
west;  the  northern  boundary-wall  being  in  King's- road.  The  old  name  of  Gray's-inn- 
square  was  Corner-court,  an  evident  relic  of  the  Manor  of  Portpoole. 

The  Hall  was  completed  in  1560.  It  has  an  open  oak  roof,  divided  into  seven  bays 
by  Gothic  arched  ribs,  the  spandrels  and  pendants  richly  carved ;  in  the  centre  is  an 
open  louvre,  pinnacled  externally.  The  interior  is  wainscoted,  and  has  an  oaken  screen, 
decorated  with  Tuscan  columns,  caryatides,  &c.  The  windows  are  richly  emblazoned 
with  arms.  The  men  of  Gray's  Inn  had  their  masques  and  revels,  and  were  "  prac- 
tises" of  gorgeous  interludes  and  plenteous  Christmasings :  a  comedy  acted  here 
Christmas,  1527,  written  by  John  Roos,  a  student  of  the  Inn,  and  afterwards  serjeant- 
at-law,  so  offended  Wolsey,  that  its  author  was  degraded  and  imprisoned.  Adjoining 
is  the  Chapel,  probably  on  the  site  of  the  "chantry  of  Portpoole,"  wherein  masses 
were  daily  sung  for  the  soul  of  John,  the  son  of  Reginald  de  Gray,  for  which  lands 
were  granted  to  the  prior  and  convent  of  St.  Bartholomew,  Smithfield :  at  their  ex- 
pense divine  service  was  subsequently  performed  here  on  behalf  of  the  Society ;  and 
after  the  Dissolution,  the  chaplain's  salary  was  paid  out  of  the  Augmentation  Court. 
At  the  Reformation,  the  Popish  utensils,  with  a  pair  of  organs,  were  sold,  but  were 
restored  by  Mary ;  and  by  command  of  Henry  VIII.  was  taken  out  a  window, "  wherein 
the  image  of  St.  Thomas  a-  Becket  was  gloriously  painted."  Richard  Sibbs,  author  of 
The  Bruised  Reed,  was  one  of  the  preachers. 

In  29  Elizabeth,  for  the  better  relief  of  the  poor  in  Gray's-inn-lane,  alms  were  distributed  thrice  by 
the  week  at  Gray's  Inn  gate. 

James  1.  signified  by  the  .judges  that  none  but  gentlemen  of  descent  should  be  admitted  of  Gray's  Inn. 
The  Headers  had  liberal  allowances  of  wine  and  veniso:i;  vi*.  viiirf.  was  paid  for  each  mess;  cgsfs 
and  green  sauce  were  the  breakfast  on  Lenten-days  ;  and  beer  did  not  exceed  6s.  per  barrel.  Caps 
were  compulsorily  worn  at  dinner  and  supper ;  and  hats,  boots,  and  spurs,  and  standing  with  the  back 
to  the  fire,  in  the  hall,  were  forbidden  under  penalty.  Dice  and  cards  were  only  allowed  at  Christmas. 
Lodging  double  was  customary  in  the  old  inn ;  and  at  a  pension,  9  July,  21  Henry  VIII.,  Sir  Thomas 
NcviJe  accepted  Mr.  Attorney-General  (Sir  Christopher  Hales)  to  be  his  bedfellow  in  his  chamber  here. 

Gray's  Inn  has  been  noted  for  its  exercises,  called  by  Stow  "  Boltas  Mootes,  and  putting  of  case3." 
Bailey  defines  "Bolting  (in  Gray's  Inn),  a  kind  of  exercise,  or  arguing  cases  among  the  students."  (Vict., 
3rd  edit.  1737.)  "  Bolting  is  a  term  of  art  used  in  Gray's  Inn,  and  applied  to  the  bolting  or  arguing  of 
moot  cases"  (Cowell's  Law  Diet.) ;  and  he  argues  the  bolting  of  cases  to  be  analogous  to  the  bouliing 
or  sifting  of  meal  through  a  bag.  Judge  Hale  has  "  beats  and  bolts  out  the  truth."  Danby  Pickering, 
Esq.,  of  Gray's  Inn,  was  the  last  who  voluntarily  resumed  these  mootings. 

The  Garden  (Gray's-inn-walks)  was  first  planted  about  1600,  when  Mr.  Francis 


470  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Bacon,  after  Lord  Verulam,  was  treasurer.  (See  Gardens,  p.  366.)  Howell,  in  a  letter 
from  Venice,  June  5,  1621,  speaks  of  Gray's-inn-walks  as  the  pleasantest  place  about 
London,  with  the  choicest  society ;  and  they  were  in  high  fashion  as  a  promenade  and 
place  of  assignation  in  Charles  II.'s  time,  when  from  Bacon's  summer-house,  on  a 
mount,  there  was  a  charming  view  towards  Highgate  and  Hampstead.  The  Garden 
was  formerly  open  to  the  public,  like  those  of  the  Inner  Temple  and  Lincoln's  Inn. 

Hall  the  chronicler,  and  Gascoigne  the  poet,  studied  at  Gray's  Inn :  Gascoigne  and 
his  fellow-student  Kinwelmersh  translated  the  Jocasta  of  Euripides,  which  was 
acted  in  Gray's-inn-hall  1566.  Bradshaw,  president  at  the  trial  of  Charles  I.,  was  a 
bencher.  Sir  Thomas  Holt  was  treasurer  of  Gray's  Inn ;  and  his  son,  Lord  Chief- 
Justice  Holt,  was  entered  upon  the  Society's  books  before  he  was  ten  years  old :  he  is 
Verus  the  magistrate,  in  the  Tatler,  No.  14. 

Lord  Burghley  entered  at  Gray's  Inn  in  1541,  and  made  genealogy  his  special 
study.  Sir  Nicholas  Bacon  kept  his  terms  here,  was  called  to  the  bar  of  the  Society, 
and  was  elected  Treasurer  1552 ;  and  his  son  Francis,  Lord  Verulam,  was  admitted 
here,  and  made  an  ancient  in  1576 :  here  he  sketched  his  great  work  the  Organum, 
though  law  was  his  principal  study.  In  1582,  he  was  called  to  the  Bar ;  in  1586, 
made  a  Bencher;  in  1588,  appointed  Reader  to  the  Inn ;  and  in  1600,  the  Lent  double 
Reader  :  in  the  interval  he  wrote  his  Essays,  dedicated  "  from  my  chamber  at  Graie's 
Inn,  this  30  of  Januarie,  1597."  In  1583,  he  stood  among  the  barristers  at  Temple 
Bar  to  welcome  Queen  Elizabeth  into  the  City.  Bacon  had  chambers  in  Gray's  Inn 
when  Lord  Chancellor ;  and  here  he  received  the  suitors'  bribes,  by  which  his  name 
became  tarnished  with  infamy.  After  his  downfall  and  distress,  when  he  had  parted 
with  York  House,  he  resided,  during  his  visits  to  London,  at  his  old  chambers  in 
Gray's  Inn ;  whence,  in  1626,  on  a  severe  day,  he  went  in  his  coach  to  Highgate,  took 
cold  in  stuffing  a  fowl  with  snow  as  an  anti-putrescent,  became  too  ill  to  return  to 
Gray's  Inn,  and  was  carried  to  the  Earl  of  Arundel's  house  at  Highgate,  where  he  died 
within  a  week.  Bacon  is  traditionally  said  to  have  lived  in  the  large  house  facing 
Gray's  Inn  garden-gates,  where  Fulke  Greville,  Lord  Brooke,  frequently  sent  him 
home-brewed  beer  from  his  house  in  Holborn.  Basil  Montagu,*  however,  fixes  Bacon's 
chambers  on  the  site  of  No.  1,  Gray's-inn-square,  first  floor;  the  house  was  burnt 
Feb.  17,  1679,  with  60  other  chambers.  (Historian's  Guide,  3rd  edit.  1688.)  Lord 
Campbell  speculatively  states  that  Bacon's  chambers  "  remain  in  the  same  state  as  when 
he  occupied  them,  and  are  still  visited  by  those  who  worship  his  memory."  (Lives  of 
the  Lord  Chancellors,  vol.  ii.  p.  274.)  The  association  with  Bacon  is  recorded  in 
"  Verulam-buildings." 

David  Jones,  the  patriotic  Welsh  judge,  temp.  Charles  I.,  was  of  Gray's  Inn; 
Romilly  was  also  a  member;  and  Southey  was  entered  here  on  leaving  Oxford.  The 
students  were  formerly  often  refractory.  Pepys  writes  in  May,  1667 :  "  Great  talk  of 
how  the  Barristers  and  Students  of  Gray's  Inn  rose  in  rebellion  against  the  Benchers 
the  other  day,  who  outlawed  them,  and  a  great  deal  to  do ;  now  they  are  at  peace  again." 

Within  Gray's-inn-gate,  next  Gray's-inn-lane,  lived  Jacob  Tonson,  who  published 
here  Dryden's  Spanish  Friar,  1681,  said  to  be  the  first  work  published  by  the  Tonsons : 
Jacob  was  the  second  son  of  a  barber- chirurgeon  in  Holborn.  At  Gray's-inn-gate,  also, 
lived  Thomas  Osborne,  the  bookseller,  who  gave  13,000Z.  for  the  boolcs  from  the  Har- 
leian  Library,  for  the  binding  of  a  portion  of  which  Lord  Oxford  is  stated  by  Dibdin 
to  have  paid  18,000?. 

The  Gray's  Inn  Journal,  in  the  style  of  the  Spectator,  was  started  by  Arthur 
Murphy,  in  1752,  and  continued  weekly  two  years.  Murphy  studied  the  law,  was 
refused  admission  to  the  Societies  of  the  Temple  and  of  Gray's  Inn  because  he  had 
been  an  actor  as  well  as  author,  but  was  admitted  of  Lincoln's  Inn.  He  was  of  a 
high  family.  He  died  a  Commissioner  of  Bankrupts,  1805.  Clergymen  are  admitted 
to  Inns  of  Court  and  to  the  Bar,  though  they  were  not  so  until  very  lately. 

In  Gray's  Inn  lived  Dr.  Rawlinson  ("  Tom  Folio"  of  the  Tatler,  No.  158),  who 
stuffed  four  chambers  so  full  with  books,  that  he  slept  in  the  passage.     In  Holborn- 

*  Mr.  Montagu,  who  died  in  1852,  possessed  a  glass  and  silver-handled  fork,  with  a  shifting  silver 
spoon-bowl,  which  once  belonged  to  Lord  Verulam,  whose  crest,  a  boar,  modelled  in  gold,  surmounts 
the  fork-handle. 


INNS  OF  CHANCERY.  471 

court  (now  South-square)  were  the  chambers  of  Joseph  Ritson,  the  literary  antiquary 
and  rigid  Pythagorean :  the  site  is  now  occupied  by  the  libraries,  between  the  ball  and 
chapel,  built  by  Wigg  and  Pownall  in  1841 ;  style,  elegant  Italian. 

Admission  to  the  Inns,  and  Call  to  the  Bar. — The  four  Inns  of  Court,  viz.  the  two  Temples,  Lincoln's 
Inn,  and  Gray's  Inn,  have  exclusively  (through  their  board  of  Benchers,  usually  their  Queen's  Counsel) 
the  power  of  conferring  the  degree  of  Barrister-at-Law,  requisite  for  practising  as  an  advocate  or 
counsel  in  the  Superior  Courts.  Lincoln's  Inn  is  generally  preferred  for  students  who  contemplate  the 
Equity  Bar ;  it  being  the  locality  of  Equity  Counsel  and  Conveyancers,  and  of  Equity  Courts  or  Courts 
of  Chancery.  If  the  student  design  to  practise  the  common  law,  either  immediately  as  an  advocate  at 
"Westminster,  the  assizes,  and  sessions,  or  as  a  special  pleader  (a  learned  person  who,  having  kept  his 
terms,  is  allowed  to  draw  legal  forms  and  pleadings,  though  not  actually  at  the  bar),  his  choice  lies 
usually  between  the  Inner  Temple,  the  Middle  Temple,  and  Gray's  Inn,  though  he  may  adopt  Lincoln's 
Inn.  The  Inner  Temple,  from  its  formerly  insisting  on  a  classical  examination  before  admission,  be- 
came more  exclusive  than  the  Middle  Temple  or  Gray's  Inn.  Gray's  Inn  has  been  numerously  attended 
by  Irish  students,  and  has  produced  some  of  the  greatest  luminaries  at  the  Irish  Bar,  including  Daniel 
O'Connell.  In  the  present  day,  Mr.  Justice  Lush,  Serjeant  Payne,  Lord  Romilly,  M.B.,  and  Mr. 
Huddleston,  Q.C.,  have  been  students  of  Gray's  Inn,  and  the  two  latter  are  still  among  its  benchers. 

To  procure  admission  to  either  of  these  Inns,  the  student  must  obtain  the  certificate  of  two  bar- 
risters, coupled  in  the  Middle  Temple  with  that  of  a  bencher,  to  the  effect  that  the  applicant  is  a  fit 
person  to  be  received  into  the  Inn  for  the  purpose  of  being  called  to  the  Bar.  Once  admitted,  the 
student  has  the  use  of  the  Library,  and  is  entitled  to  a  seat  in  the  church  or  chapel  of  the  Inn,  and  to  have 
his  name  set  down  for  chambers.  He  is  then  required  to  keep  commons,  by  dining  in  the  hall  for  twelve 
terms  (four  terms  occur  in  each  year) ;  on  commencing  which,  he  must  deposit  with  the  treasurer  1002., 
to  be  retained  with  interest  until  he  is  called;  but  resident  members  of  the  Universities  are  exempt  from 
this  deposit.  The  student  must  also  sign  a  bond  with  sureties  for  the  payment  of  his  commons  and 
term  fees.  In  all  the  Inns  no  person  can  be  called  unless  he  is  above  twenty-one  years  of  age  and  three 
years'  standing  as  a  student.  The  call  is  made  by  the  benchers  in  council ;  after  which  the  student  be- 
comes a  barrister,  and  takes  the  usual  oath  at  Westminster.  A  Council  of  Legal  Education  has,  how- 
ever, of  late  years  been  established  by  the  four  Inns  of  Court,  to  superintend  the  subject  of  the  educa- 
tion of  students  for  the  Bar ;  and,  by  order  of  this  council,  law  lectures  are  given  by  learned  professors 
at  the  four  Inns,  all  of  which  any  student  of  any  of  the  Inns  can  attend.  Examinations  also  take  place, 
and  scholarships,  certificates,  and  other  marks  of  approbation  are  the  rewards  of  the  successful  students. 
Nevertheless  persons  may  still  be  called  to  the  Bar,  regardless  of  the  lectures  and  examinations ;  but 
in  all  cases  keeping  commons  by  dining  in  the  hall  is  still  absolutely  necessary. 

A  Hall  Dinner  is  a  formal  scene.  At  five  or  half-past  five  o'clock,  the  barristers,  students,  and  other 
members  in  their  gowns,  having  assembled  in  the  hall,  the  benchers  enter  in  procession  to  the  dais; 
the  steward  strikes  the  table  three  times,  grace  is  said  by  the  treasurer  or  senior  bencher  present,  and 
the  dinner  commences :  the  benchers  observe  somewhat  more  style  at  their  table  than  the  other  mem- 
bers Jo  at  theirs :  the  general  repast  is  a  tureen  of  soup,  a  joint  of  meat,  a  tart,  and  cheese,  to  each 
mess  consisting  of  four  persons ;  each  mess  is  also  allowed  a  bottle  of  port-wine.  The  dinner  over,  the 
benchers,  after  grace,  retire  to  their  own  apartment.  At  the  Inner  Temple,  on  May  29,  a  gold  cup  of 
"  sack  "  is  handed  to  each  member,  who  drinks  to  the  happy  restoration  of  Charles  II.  At  Gray's  Inn 
a  similar  custom  prevails,  but  the  toast  is  the  memory  of  Queen  Elizabeth.  The  Inner  Temple  Hall 
waiters  are  called  panniers,  from  the  panarii  who  attended  the  Knights  Templars.  At  both  Temples 
the  form  of  the  dinner  resembles  the  repast  of  the  military  monks :  the  benchers  on  the  dais  represent- 
ing the  Knights ;  the  barristers,  the  Freres,  or  Brethren ;  and  the  students,  the  Novices.  The  Middle 
Temple  still  bears  the  arms  of  the  Knights  Templars,  viz.  the  figure  of  the  Holy  Lamb. 

The  entrance  expenses  at  the  Inner  Temple  (the  average  of  the  costs  at  other  Inns)  are  401. 11*.  5d., 
of  which  251.  Is.  3d.  is  for  the  stamp ;  on  call,  821.  12s.,  of  which  621.  2s.  6d.  is  for  the  stamp  :  total 
1232.  3*.    The  commons  bill  is  about  122.  annually, 

Arms  of  Temple,  Inner :  Az.  a  pegasus  salient,  or.  Temple,  Middle :  Arg.  on  a  cross  gu.  a  paschal 
lamb  or,  carrying  a  banner  of  the  first,  charged  with  a  cross  of  the  second.  Lincoln's  Inn:  Or,  a  lion 
rampant  purp.    These  were  the  arms  of  Lacy,  Earl  of  Lincoln.    Gray's  Inn :  Sa.  a  griffin  segreant,  or. 

INNS  OF  CHAN  CERT. 

THESE  Inns  were  formerly  the  nurseries  of  our  great  lawyers ;  but  they  are  at  pre- 
sent attached  only  by  name  to  the  parent  Inns  of  Court :  the  Inner  Temple  had 
three,  Clemen? s,  Clifford's,  and  Lyon's  Inns;  the  Middle  Temple  one,  New  Inn; 
Lincoln's  Inn  one,  Thavie's ;  and  Gray's  Inn  two,  Barnard's  and  Staple  Inns. 

Baenakd's  Inn,  Holborn,  anciently  Mackworth's,  from  having  belonged  to  Dr. 
John  Mackworth,  Dean  of  Lincoln,  temp.  Henry  VI.,  was  next  occupied  by  one  Bar- 
nard, when  it  was  converted  into  an  Inn  of  Chancery ;  the  arms  of  the  house  are  those 
of  Mackworth,  viz.  party  per  pale,  indented  ermine  and  sables,  a  chevron,  gules,  fretted 
or.  The  ancient  Hall,  maintained  in  the  olden  taste,  is  the  smallest  in  the  London 
Inns :  it  is  36  feet  long,  22  feet  wide,  and  30  feet  high. 

In  Barnard's  Inn,  No.  2,  second-floor  chambers,  lived  the  chemist,  Mr.  Peter  Woulfe,  F.B.S., 
a  believer  in  alchemy.    (See  Alchemists,  p.  3.) 

Westward,  in  Holborn,  in  DyerVbuildings  (the  site  of  some  almshouses  of  the  Dyers' 
Company),  lived  William  Roscoe  when  he  published  his  edition  of  Pope's  Works,  with 
notes  and  a  life  of  the  poet,  10  vols.  8vo,  1824. 


472  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Clement's  Tnn,  Strand,  is  named  from  being  near  the  church  of  St.  Clement  Danes, 
and  St.  Clement's  Well.  It  was  a  house  for  students  of  the  law  in  the  reign  of 
Edward  IV.  The  Elizabethan  iron  gate,  erected  in  1852,  bears  the  device  of  St. 
Clement,  an  anchor  without  a  stock,  with  a  C  couchant  upon  it;  as  also  does  the 
Hall,  built  in  1715.  In  the  small  garden  is  a  kneeling  figure  supporting  a  sun-dial; 
it  is  painted  black,  and  has  hence  been  called  a  blackamoor. 

Shakspeare  has  left  us  a  picture  from  this  Inn  at  his  period : 

"  Shallow.    I  was  once  of  Clement's  Inn  where  I  think  they  will  talk  of  mad  Shallow  yet. 

"  Silence.    You  were  called  lusty  Shallow  then,  cousin. 

"  Shallow.  By  the  mass,  I  was  called  any  tiling ;  and  I  would  have  done  any  thing  indeed,  and  roundly 
too.  There  was  I  and  little  John  Doit  of  Staffordshire,  and  Black  George  Barnes  of  Staffordshire,  and 
Francis  Pickbone  and  Will  Squele,  a  Cotswold  man ;  you  had  not  four  such  swinge-bucklers  in  all  the 
Inns  of  Court  again." 

Then  Shallow  tells  of  Sir  John  Falstaff  breaking  "Skogan's  head  at  the  court-gate,  when  he  was 
a  crack  not  thus  high ;  and  the  very  same  day  did  I  fight  with  one  Sampson  Stockfish,  a  fruiterer,  be- 
hind Gray's  Inn." 

"  Shallow.  Oh,  Sir  John,  do  you  remember  since  we  lay  all  night  in  the  Windmill  in  St.  George's 
Fields? 

"  Falstaff".    We  have  heard  the  chimes  at  midnight,  Master  Shallow. 

"  Shallow.  I  remember  at  Mile-End  Green  (when  I  lay  at  Clement's  Inn),  I  was  then  "  Sir  Dagonett" 
in  Arthur's  Show." 

Then  Falstaff  says  of  Shallow :  "  I  do  remember  him  at  Clement's  Inn,  like  a  man  made  after  supper 
of  a  cheese-paring." — Henry  IV.  Part  II.  act  iii.  sc.  2. 

Sir  Edmund  Sanders,  Lord  Chief-Justice  of  the  Court  of  King's  Bench  from  1681 
to  1683,  was  originally  a  poor  boy,  who  used  to  beg  scraps  at  Clement's  Inn,  where  an 
attorney's  clerk  taught  him  to  earn  some  pence  by  hackney-writing.  St.  Clement's 
Well,  on  the  east  of  the  Inn,  and  lower  end  of  Clement's-lane,  is  mentioned  by  Fitz- 
stephen :  it  is  now  covered,  and  has  a  pump  placed  in  it. 

Cliffoed's  Inn,  behind  St.  Dunstan's  Church,  Eleet-street,  is  named  from  Robert 
Clifford,  to  whom  the  property  was  granted  by  Edward  II.,  and  by  his  widow  was 
let  to  students  of  the  law.  The  arms  are  those  of  Clifford,  viz.  cheeky,  or  and 
azure,  a  fesse  and  bordure  gules,  bezante.  Sir  Edward  Coke  was  admitted  of  this 
Inn,  1571 ;  and  Selden,  1602.  Harrison,  the  regicide,  was  an  attorney's  clerk  here : 
in  the  same  office  with  him  was  John  Bramston,  cousin  of  Sir  John  Bramston,  who 
records:  "When  the  warr  begann,  his  fellow-clerke,  Harrison,  perswaded  him  to 
take  armes  (this  is  that  famous  rogue  Harrison,  one  of  the  King's  judges),  which  he 
did,  that  he  might  get  to  the  King,  which  he  soon  did." — Autobiography. 

The  Hall  is  modern  Gothic,  but  has  some  old  armorial  glass.  Here  is  an  oaken  case, 
in  which  are  the  Society's  rules  written  on  vellum,  with  illuminated  initials  and  the 
arms  of  England,  temp.  Henry  VIII.  In  this  Hall  Sir  Matthew  Hale  and  the  judges 
sat  after  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  to  adjudicate  in  disputes  between  landlords  and 
tenants,  &c.  The  most  authentic  record  of  any  settling  of  the  Law  Societies  in  the 
reign  of  Edward  III.  is  a  demise,  in  the  18th  year,  from  Lady  Clifford  apprenticiis  de 
Banco,  "  of  that  house  near  Fleet-street  called  Clifford's  Inn." 

A  very  peculiar  dinner-custom  is  observed  in  the  Hall,  which  is  believed  to  be  unique.  The  Society 
consists  of  two  distinct  bodies — "  the  Principal  and  Rules,"  and  the  junior  members,  or  "  Kentish  Mess." 
Each  body  has  its  own  table  :  at  the  conclusion  of  the  dinner,  the  chairman  of  the  Kentish  Mess,  first 
bowing  to  the  Principal  of  the  Inn,  takes  from  the  hands  of  the  servitor  four  small  rolls,  or  loaves  of  bread, 
and,  without  saying  a  word,  he  dashes  them  three  several  times  on  the  table ;  he  then  discharges  them 
to  the  other  end  of  the  table,  from  whence  the  bread  is  removed  by  a  servant  in  attendance.  Solemn 
silence — broken  only  by  three  impressive  thumps  upon  the  table — prevails  during  this  strange  ceremony, 
which  takes  the  place  of  grace  after  meat  in  Clifford's  Inn  Hall;  and  concerning  which,  not  even  the 
oldest  member  of  the  Society  is  able  to  give  any  explanation. — Notes  and  Queries,  2nd  S.,  No.  4.  In 
No.  7,  31  r.  Buckton,  of  Lichfield,  say s :  "  Cakes,  sacred  to  Ceres,  usually  terminated  the  ancients'  feasts ; 
and  the  rolls  at  Clifford's  Inn  may  be  thrown  down  as  an  offering  to  Ceres,  legifera,  as  she  first  taught 
mankind  the  use  of  laws" — a  remote  probability. 

In  Clifford's  Inn  "  lived  Robert  Pultock,  author  of  Peter  Wilkins,  with  its  Flying 
Women.  Who  he  was  is  not  known — probably  a  barrister  without  practice ;  but  he 
wrote  an  amiable  and  interesting  book." — Leigh  Hunt. 

Clifford's  Inn  has  a  terrace  and  raised  garden,  rearward  of  which  is  the  new  Record 
Office,  of  late  Gothic  or  Tudoresque  style,  somewhat  of  a  German  character,  with 
massive  buttresses  and  Decorated  windows. 

Ftjenival's  Inn,  between  Brook-street  and  Leather-lane,  was  originally  the  town 
mansion  of  the  Lords  Furnival,  and  was  an  Inn  of  Chancery  in  the  9th  of  Henry  IV.; 
was  held  under  lease  temp.  Edward  VI.,  and  the  inheritance  in  the  then  Lord  Shrews- 


INNS  OF  CHANCERY.  473 

bury  was  sold  early  in  Elizabeth's  reign  to  the  Benchers  of  Lincoln's  Inn,  who  leased 
the  property  to  the  Society  of  Furnival's  Inn.  Sir  Thomas  More  was  Reader  here  for 
three  years.  The  original  buildings  were  mostly  taken  down  in  Charles  I.'s  time,  and 
then  re-edified  with  a  lofty  street-front  of  fine  brickwork,  decorated  with  pilasters. 
The  old  Gothic  Hall  remained  until  1818,  when  the  entire  Inn  was  taken  down,  and 
rebuilt  of  brick  by  Peto  in  modern  style,  with  stone  columns  and  other  accessories.  In 
the  square  is  a  statue  of  Peto.  Thomas  Fiddall,  attorney  of  this  Inn,  in  1654  wrote  a 
Conveyancing  Guide,  published  with  his  portrait.  Furnival's  Inn  is  let  in  chambers, 
but  is  no  longer  an  Inn  of  Court  or  Chancery.  Part  of  its  interior  is  occupied  by  a 
well-appointed  hotel. 

"  In  the  32d  of  Henry  VI.,  a  tumult  betwixt  the  gentlemen  of  innes  of  court  and  chancery  and  the 
citizens  of  London  happening  in  Fleet-street,  in  which  some  mischief  was  done,  the  principals  of  Clif- 
foord's  Inne,  Furnivalle's  lane,  and  Barnard's  Inne,  were  sent  prisoners  to  Hartford  Castle." — Stow's 
Annuls. 

Lyon's  Ins,  Strand,  between  Holywell-street  and  Wych-street,  was  originally  a 
guest-inn  or  hostelry,  held  at  the  sign  of  the  Lyon,  and  purchased  by  gentlemen,  pro- 
fessors and  students  in  the  law,  in  the  reign  of  King  Henry  VI II.,  and  converted 
to  an  Inn  of  Chancery.     Hatton  describes  the  Inn,  in  1708,  as  follows : — 

Lyon's  Inn,  an  Inn  of  Chancery,  situate  on  the  Sh.  side  of  Witch  Str.  It  has  been  such  an  Inn 
since  Anno  1420,  or  sooner.  It  is  governed  by  a  Treasurer  and  12  Ancients;  those  of  this  House  are  3 
weeks  in  Michaelmas  Term,  other  Terms  2  in  Commons ;  and  pay  5».  for  the  Reading  Weeks,  for  others 
2s.  &d.  Here  are  Mootings  once  in  i  terms,  and  they  sell  their  chambers  for  1  or  2  Lives.  Their 
Armorial  Ensigns  are  Chequy  Or  and  Azure,  a  Lyon  Rampant  Sable.  They  have  a  handsome  Hall, 
built  in  the  year  1700. 

Herbert,  in  his  Antiquities  of  the  Inns  of  Court  and  Chancery,  the  materials  for 
which  he  mostly  derived  from  Dugdale's  Origines  Juridiciales,  says : — "  It  (Lyon's 
Inn)  is  known  to  be  a  place  of  considerable  antiquity  from  the  old  books  of  the 
stewards'  accounts,  which  contain  entries  made  in  the  time  of  King  Henry  V.  How 
long  before  that  period  it  was  an  Inn  of  Chancery  is  uncertain."  Sir  Edward  Coke, 
the  year  after  his  call  to  the  Bar  in  1579,  was  appointed  Reader  at  Lyon's  Inn,  where 
his  learned  lectures  brought  him  crowds  of  clients ;  this  bsing  the  start  of  our  great 
constitutional  lawyer. 

The  whole  of  the  Inn  was  taken  down  in  1863 ;  and  a  sketch  of  certain  of  its  late 
tenants  will  be  found  in  Walks  and  Talks  about  London,  1865.  In  chambers  at  the 
south-east  corner  of  the  Inn  lived  the  gambler,  William  Weare,  who  was  murdered  by 
John  Thurtell  and  others,  at  Elstree,  in  Hertfordshire,  as  commemorated  in  a  ballad 
of  the  time,  attributed  to  Theodore  Hook  : — 

"  They  cut  his  throat  from  ear  to  ear, 
His  brains  they  battered  in : 
His  name  was  Mr.  William  Weare, 
He  dwelt  in  Lyon's  Inn." 

He  left  his  chambers  on  the  afternoon  of  October  24,  1823,  for  Elstree,  whence  he 
never  returned  alive.  Lyon's  Inn  Hall  bore  the  date  1700,  and  a  lion  sculptured  in  its 
pediments.  The  Inn  formerly  had  its  sun-dial,  and  a  few  trees.  Here  lived  Philip 
Absolon,  who,  in  conjunction  with  E.  W.  Brayley,  wrote  a  History  of  Westminster 
Abbey.     The  place  had  long  ceased  to  be  exclusively  tenanted  by  lawyers. 

New  Inn,  Wych-street,  adjoins  Clement's  Inn  :  the  Hall  and  other  buildings  are 
modern.  On  the  site,  about  1485,  was  a  guest  inn,  or  hostelry,  with  the  sign  of  the 
Virgin  Mary,  and  thence  called  Our  Lady's  Inn.  It  was  purchased  or  hired  by  Sir 
John  Fineux,  Chief  Justice  of  the  King's  Bench,  in  the  reign  of  Edward  IV.,  at  Gl. 
per  annum,  for  the  law-students  of  St.  George's  Inn,  in  St.  George's-lane,  Little  Old 
Bailey ;  here  also  the  students  of  the  Strand  Inn  nestled,  after  they  were  routed  from 
thence  in  the  reign  of  Edward  VI.  by  the  Duke  of  Somerset.  The  armorial  ensigns 
of  New  Inn  are,  vert,  a  flower-pot  argent.  Sir  Thomas  More  studied  here  in  the 
reign  of  Henry  VII.,  before  he  entered  himself  of  Lincoln's  Inn ;  and  in  after-life  he 
spoke  of  "  New  Inn  fare,  wherewith  many  an  honest  man  is  well  contented."  Against 
the  Hall  is  a  large  vertical  sun-dial ;  motto,  "  Time  and  tide  tarry  for  no  man." 

Serjeants'  Inn,  Chanceby-lane. — There  were  originally  three  Inns  provided  for 
the  reception  of  the  Judges  and  such  as  had  attained  to  the  dignity  of  the  coif — viz., 


474  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

first,  Scroop's  Inn  or  Serjeants'  Place,  opposite  St.  Andrew's  Church,  Holborn,  now  long 
deserted  by  the  Serjeants ;  secondly,  Serjeants'  Inn,  Fleet-street,  which  was  held  by  lease 
under  the  Dean  and  Chapter  of  York,  and  is  now  deserted  as  an  inn  for  Serjeants ;  and 
thirdly,  Serjeants'  Inn,  Chancery -lane,  the  only  place  that  can  with  propriety  be  at  present 
called  Serjeants'  Inn.  Scroop's  Inn  belonged  to  John  Lord  Scroop,  and  was  afterwards 
known  as  Scroop's-court.  After  his  death  it  was  let  out  to  some  Serjeants,  who  adopted  it 
as  their  place,  whence  it  was  called  Serjeants'  Inn  in  Holborn.  After  they  disused  it, 
the  site  was  used  for  tenements  and  gardens.  The  Serjeants  about  the  beginning  of 
the  reign  of  Henry  VI.,  and  not  before,  resorted  to  the  Fleet-street  Inn,  which  bad  a 
very  fine  chapel  and  hall  and  a  stately  court  of  tall  brick  buildings.  It  likewise 
retained  a  steward,  a  master  cook,  a  chief  butler,  with  other  attendants  and  servants, 
and  a  porter.  The  old  Inn  in  Holborn  having  been  sold,  and  the  Fleet-street  Inn 
having  become  dilapidated,  the  Serjeants  were  quite  ready  to  entirely  emigrate  to  Chan- 
cery-lane, the  third  and  chief  Inn  to  which  one  need  invite  attention.  It  bore  once 
the  name  of  "  Faryndon  Inn,"  and  it  was  known  as  early  as  the  17  Eichard  II.,  when 
the  inheritance  belonged  (and  has  done  since)  to  the  Eishop  of  Ely  and  his  suc- 
cessors. In  the  "  accompt"  of  the  Bishop's  bailiff  12  Henry  IV.,  it  was  called  "  Faryn- 
don Inne,"  and  it  was  stated  "  that  the  serjeants-at-law  had  lodgings  there."  In  1416, 
7  Henry  V.,  the  whole  house  was  demised  to  the  judges  and  others  learned  in  the  law. 
The  freehold,  after  having  passed  through  various  hands,  came  to  be  held  for  three 
lives  by  Sir  Anthony  Ashley,  Knight,  under  whom  the  judges  and  Serjeants  continued 
to  rent  it.  Eventually  the  Serjeants  negotiated  with  the  Bishop  of  Ely  for  the  purchase 
of  the  fee  simple  of  the  property,  and  the  same  was  ultimately  vested  in  the  Society  by 
an  Act  of  Parliament,  creating  the  Society  of  Serjeants'  Inn,  Chancery-lane,  for  the 
purpose,  a  Corporation,  upon  the  annual  payment  for  ever  of  a  fee  farm  rent  to  the 
Bishop  and  his  successors.  The  officers  belonging  to  this  Inn  are  similar  to  those  in 
Fleet-street — namely,  a  steward,  a  master  cook,  a  chief  butler,  and  their  servants,  and  a 
porter.  In  1837-8  the  Inn  was  rebuilt  (under  the  auspices  of  Serjeant  Adams,  the 
then  treasurer)  by  Sir  Eobert  Smirke,  R.A.,  except  the  old  dining-hall  of  the  Society, 
which  was  then  fitted  up  as  a  court  for  Exchequer  equity  sittings,  but  is  now  used  as 
the  state  dining-room  of  the  Serjeants,  including  the  common  law  judges,  who  are 
always  serjeants-at-law.  The  handsomest  room  is,  however,  the  private  dining-room, 
which  contains  one  of  the  finest  collections  of  legal  portraits  in  the  kingdom,  including 
those  of  Sir  Edward  Coke,  by  Cornelius  Jansen ;  of  Lord  Mansfield,  Lord  King,  Sir 
Francis  Buller,  Chief  Justice  Tindal,  Lords  Eldon,  Denman,  and  Lyndhurst,  all  by 
painters  of  note.  The  windows  (containing  the  armorial  ensigns  of  judges  and 
Serjeants)  are  finely  executed.  The  chambers  where  the  judges  of  the  common  law  sit 
to  hear  summonses  and  other  private  matters  are  in  this  Inn.  The  arms  of  Serjeants' 
Inn  are,  or,  a  stork  ppr. 

This  Serjeants'  Inn  is  the  exclusive  property  of  the  serjeants-at-law,  or  Servientes  ad 
Legem,  who  are  the  highest  degree  in  the  common  law.  The  serjeantcy-at-law,  more- 
over, is  somewhat  of  a  title  or  dignity  as  well  as  a  degree,  being  created  by  the  Queen's 
writ.  In  his  armorial  ensigns,  the  serjeant  bears  a  helmet  open  and  front  face,  like 
that  of  a  knight,  and  not  with  the  vizor  down  as  an  esquire's  is.  He,  in  a  knightly 
way,  gives,  on  his  appointment,  gold  rings  to  the  Queen,  the  Lord  Chancellor,  and  to 
his  own  legal  friends.  The  serjeants-at-law  form  a  brotherhood  to  which  the  judges  of 
the  Common  Law  Courts  at  Westminster  must  belong.  For  this  reason,  as  being  of 
the  same  body,  the  judges  of  the  Common  Law  Courts  at  Westminster  invariably 
address  a  serjeant  as  "  Brother ;"  and  they  never  apply  the  term  to  any  other  counsel. 
The  serjeants  are  a  body  incorporated  by  Act  of  Parliament.  The  robes  of  the  ser- 
jeant vary  in  colour  on  particular  days ;  and  peculiar  to  him  is  "  the  coif,"  or  circular 
black  patch  on  the  top  of  his  wig.  By  that  mark,  peculiar  to  his  order,  the  serjeant- 
at-law  may  always  be  recognised  in  court.  The  serjeant,  on  joining  Serjeants' 
Inn,  quits  entirely  the  Inn  of  Court  to  which  he,  as  a  student  and  barrister,  be- 
longed. 

At  some  of  the  Inns  of  Court,  if  the  new-made  serjeant  leaves  the  Inn  in  term-time, 
the  following  ceremony  occurs :  after  giving  a  breakfast  to  the  benchers  of  the  Inn  in  their 
council  chamber,  the  new  serjeant  proceeds  to  the  banqueting-hall,  and  is  there  presented 


ISLE  OF  BOGS.  471 


by  the  treasurer  with  a  silver  pnrse  containing  ten  guineas,  as  a  retaining  fee  for  any 
occasion  on  which  the  Society  may  in  future  require  his  services.  A  hell  is  then  rung 
as  a  warning  that  he  has  ceased  to  be  a  member  of  the  Inn.* 

Serjeants'  Inn,  Fleet-street. — This  other,  but  obsolete  Inn,  in  Fleet-street, 
already  described,  still  bears  the  name  of  Serjeants'  Inn,  and  this  is  liable  to 
be  mistaken  for  the  now  only  real  Serjeants'  Inn,  in  Chancery-lane.  The  Fleet-street 
Inn  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  was  rebuilt  in  1670,  and  again  rebuilt,  as  we 
now  see  it,  with  a  handsome  stone-fronted  edifice,  designed  by  Adam,  the  architect. 
This  Inn  is  now  let  in  private  chambers  to  any  one  who  likes  to  rent  them. 

Staple  Inn,  Holborn,  nearly  opposite  Gray's-inn-lane,  is  traditionally  named  from 
having  been  the  inn  or  hostel  of  the  Merchants  of  the  (Wool)  Staple,  whither  it  was 
removed  from  Westminster  by  Richard  II.  in  1378.  It  became  an  Inn  of  Chancery 
temp.  Henry  V. ;  and  the  inheritance  of  it  was  granted  20th  Henry  VIII.  to  the 
Society  of  Gray's  Inn.  The  Holborn  front  is  of  the  time  of  James  I.,  and  one  of  the 
oldest  existing  specimens  of  our  metropolitan  street-architecture.  The  Hall  is  of  a  later 
date,  has  a  clock-turret,  and  had  originally  an  open  timber  roof :  some  of  the  armorial 
window-glass  is  of  date  1500  ;  there  are  a  few  portraits,  and  at  the  upper  end  is  the 
wool-sack,  the  arms  of  the  Inn ;  and  upon  brackets  are  casts  of  the  twelve  Caasars.  In 
the  garden  adjoining  was  a  luxuriant  fig-tree  which  nearly  covered  the  south  side  of 
the  Hall.  Upon  a  terrace  opposite  are  the  offices  of  the  Taxing  Masters  in  Chancery, 
completed  in  1843,  Wigg  and  Pownall,  architects ;  in  the  purest  style  of  the  reign  of 
James  I.,  with  frontispiece,  arched  entrances,  and  semicircular  oriels,  finely  effective : 
the  open-work  parapet  of  the  terrace,  and  the  lodge  and  gate  leading  to  Southampton- 
buildings,  are  very  picturesque. 

Dr.  Johnson  lived  in  Staple  Inn  in  1759 :  in  a  note  to  Miss  Porter,  dated  March  23,  he  informs  her 
that  "  he  had  on  that  day  removed  from  Gough-square,  where  he  had  resided  ten  years,  into  chambers 
at  Staple  Inn ;"  here  he  wrote  his  Idler,  seated  in  a  three-legged  chair,  so  scantily  were  his  chambers 
furnished.    In  1760,  Johnson  removed  to  Gray's  Inn.    Isaac  Heed  lived  at  No.  11,  Staple  Inn. 

Strand  Inn,  or  Chester  Inn  from  its  being  near  the  Bishop  of  Chester's  house, 
was  taken  down  temp.  Edward  VI.,  by  the  Duke  of  Somerset  for  building  his  palace ; 
it  occupied  part  of  the  site  of  the  present  Somerset  House.  Occleve,  the  pupil  of 
Chaucer,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  V.,  is  said  to  have  studied  the  law  at  "  Chestre's 
Inn." 

Symond's  Inn,  Chancery-lane,  though  named  from  a  gentleman  of  the  parish  who 
died  in  1621,  is  stated  to  be  the  only  portion  retained  by  the  Bishops  of  Chichester  of 
their  property  in  Chancery -lane,  where  they  formerly  had  a  palace ;  and  here  are 
Bishop's-court  and  Chichester-rents. 

Thatie's  Inn,  between  JSTos.  56  and  57,  Holborn-hill,  was  originally  the  dwelling  of 
John  Thavie,  of  the  Armourers'  Company,  who  let  the  house  temp.  Edward  III.  to 
apprentices  to  the  law  :  it  was  subsequently  purchased  as  an  Inn  of  Chancery  by  the 
benchers  of  Lincoln's  Inn,  by  whom  it  was  sold  in  1771 ;  destroyed  by  fire,  and  re- 
built as  a  private  court.  In  the  adjoining  church  of  St.  Andrew  is  a  monument  to 
John  Thavie,  who,  in  1348,  "  left  a  considerable  estate  towards  the  support  of  this  fabrick 
for  ever,"  from  which  property  the  parish  now  derive  an  annual  income  of  1300Z. 

ISLE  OF  BOGS  (TEE), 

APART  of  Poplar  Marsh,  lying  within  the  bold  curve  of  the  Thames  between 
Blackwall  and  Limehouse,  was  originally  a  peninsula ;  in  a  Map  drawn  in  1588 
by  Robert  Adams,  engraved  in  1738,  this  name  is  applied  to  an  islet  in  the  Thames, 
still  in  part  existing,  at  the  south-west  corner  of  the  peninsula,  and  from  this  spot  the 
name  appears  to  have  extended  to  the  entire  marsh.  (Notes  and  Queries,  No.  203.) 
In  1799-1800,  a  canal  was  cut  through  the  isthmus  by  the  Corporation  of  London,  to 

*  Nearly  opposite  Serjeants'  Inn,  Chancery-lane,  were  two  houses,  date  1611,  taken  down  in  1853. 
The  richly-carved  and  picturesque  house  at  the  south-west  corner,  in  Fleet-street  (often  engraved),  was 
taken  down  for  widening  the  lane  in  1799. 


476  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

save  ships  the  long  passage  round  the  Isle ;  but  since  sold  to  the  West  India  Dock 
Company,  and  now  a  timber-dock.  Here  Togodumnus,  brother  of  Caractacus,  is  said 
to  have  been  killed  in  a  battle  with  the  Romans  under  Plautius,  a.d.  46.  Traditionally, 
it  was  named  from  the  hounds  of  Edward  III.  b-ing  kept  tbere,  for  contiguity  to 
Waltham  and  other  royal  forests  in  Essex.  Again,  Isle  of  Dogs  is  held  to  be  cor- 
rupted from  Isle  of  Ducks,  from  the  wildfowl  u^on  it.  Here  (says  Lysons)  stood  the 
chapel  of  St.  Mary,  mentioned  in  a  will  of  the  fifteenth  century,  "  perhaps  an  hermitage 
founded  for  saying  masses  for  the  souls  of  mariners."  The  remains  of  the  chapel 
existed  to  a  very  late  date.  Pepys  speaks  of  it  as  "  the  unlucky  Isle  of  Doggs."  He 
also  speaks  of  a  ferry  in  the  Isle  of  Dogs,  which  is  named  as  a  horse-ferry  by  Norden 
in  the  Speculum  Britannia,  1592  (MS.).  This  ferry  is  still  used.  The  ground  is 
very  rich,  and  in  Strype's  time  oxen  fed  here  sold  for  347.  apiece :  the  grass  was  long 
prized  for  distempered  cattle.  The  island  is  a  pleistocene  drift  or  diluvial  deposit,  in 
which  has  been  found  a  subterranean  forest  of  elm,  oak,  and  fir  trees,  eight  feet  below 
the  grass,  and  lying  from  south-east  to  north-west;  some  of  the  elms  were  three  feet  four 
inches  in  diameter,  accompanied  by  human  bones  and  recent  shells,  but  no  metals  or 
traces  of  civilization :  the  marsh  is  now  enclosed  by  a  pile  and  brick  embankment. 
Here  Captain  Brown,  R.N.,  established  his  works  for  the  manufacture  of  iron  suspen- 
sion-bridges and  iron  cables :  in  1813,  he  built  here  a  suspension-bridge  for  foot- 
passengers,  weighing  only  38  cwt.,  but  carts  and  carriages  passed  safely  over  it;  the 
span  was  100  feet.  Captain  Brown  also  constructed  the  chain-pier  at  Brighton,  in 
1822-3.  About  this  time  the  Isle  of  Dogs  began  to  be  thickly  inhabited :  here  is 
St.  Edmund's  Roman  Catholic  Chapel.  The  late  Alderman  Cubitt  built  here  a  large 
number  of  houses,  named  Cubitt-town,  and  a  Gothic  church.  The  Isle  is  partly  covered 
with  stone-wharves,  iron  ship-building  and  chemical  works,  &c.  Adjoining  are  the 
dockyards  of  the  Wigrams  and  Greens,  formerly  Perry's,  mentioned  by  Pepys  in 
1660-G1 :  the  picturesque  old  masting-house  is  120  feet  high.  Near  the  principal 
entrance  to  the  West  India  Docks  is  a  bronze  statue  (by  Westmacott)  of  Mr.  Milligan, 
by  whom  the  Docks  were  begun  and  principally  completed.  (See  Millwai/l.) 

The  working  men  of  the  Isle  of  Dogs  number  some  15,000,  engaged  in  the  numerous 
factories  and  shipyards ;  for  whose  recreation  has  been  formed  a  Free  Library,  to 
provide  them  with  amusement  for  evenings  too  often  spent  in  dissipation. 

ISLINGTON, 

CALLED  also  Iseldon,  Yseldon,  Eyseldon,  Isendune,  and  Isondon,  and  of  all  the  vil- 
lages near  London  alone  bearing  a  British  name,  was  originally  two  miles  distant 
north  of  the  town,  to  which  it  is  now  united.  Iseldon  is  conjectured  to  signify  the 
lower  fort,  or  station ;  and  as  there  was  undoubtedly  a  Roman  camp  at  Highbury,  this 
name  may  have  been  given  to  the  camp  which  a  few  years  since  was  visible  in  the  field 
beside  Barnsbury  Park.  Iseldon,  in  Domesday  Book,  possesses  nearly  1000  acres  of 
arable  land  alone;  and  so  well  cleared  was  the  property,  that  there  only  remained 
"pannage  for  60  hogs"  (woodlands)  adjoining  Hornsey. 

The  great  benefactor  of  Islington  was  Richard  de  Cloudesley,  who  by  will,  dated  1517,  among  other 
bequests  to  the  parish,  iett  to  poor  men  gowns  with  the  names  oiJesu  and  Maria  upon  them ;  also  40». 
for  repairing  and  amending  the  causeway  between  his  house  and  Islington  Church ;  and  a  load  of 
straw  to  be  laid  upon  his  grave :  but  superstition  would  not  let  Cloudesley's  "  bodie  rest  until  certain 
exorcises,  at  dede  of  night,"  had  quieted  him,  with  "  diuers  diuinc  exorcises  at  torchlight."  The  name 
of  this  benefactor  is  preserved  in  Cloudesley  Square  and  Terrace.  Algernon  Percy,  Earl  of  Northum- 
berland, is  said  to  have  resided  at  Newington  Green,  where  Henry  VIII.  was  a  frequent  visitor,  pro- 
bably on  his  hawking  excursions ;  and  one  of  his  proclamations,  in  1516,  commands  that  "  the  ga:  ics  of 
hare,  partridge,  pheasant,  and  heron,  be  preserved  for  his  owne  disport  and  pastime ;  that  is  to  saye, 
from  his  palace  of  Westminster  to  St.  Gyles  in  the  Fields,  and  from  thence  to  Islington,  to  our  Lady  of 
the  Oke,  to  Highgate,  to  Hornsey  Parke,  to  Hamstcd  Heath,"  &c. 

Islington  retained  a  few  of  its  Elizabethan  houses  to  our  time,  and  its  rich  dairies 
are  of  like  antiquity  :  in  the  entertainment  given  to  Queen  Elizabeth  at  Kenilworth 
Castle,  in  1575,  the  Squier  Minstrel  of  Middlesex  glorifies  Islington  with  the  motto, 
"  Lac  caseus  infans  j"  and  it  is  still  noted  for  its  cow-keepers.  It  was  once  as  famous 
for  its  cheese-cakes  as  Chelsea  for  its  buns ;  and  among  its  other  notabilities  were  cus- 
tards and  stewed  "  pruans,"  its  mineral  spa,  and  its  ducking-ponds — Ball's  Pond  dating 


ISLINGTON.  477 


from  the  time  of  Charles  I.  At  the  lower  end  of  Islington,  in  1611,  were  eight  inns, 
principally  supported  by  summer  visitors  : — 

"  Hogsdone,  Islington,  and  Tothnam  Court, 
For  cakes  and  creame  had  then  no  small  resort." 

Wiiher's  Britain's  'Remembrancer,  1628. 

Cowley,  in  his  poem  "  Of  Solitude,"  points  to  Islington  of  the  seventeenth  century, 
in  thus  apostrophizing  "  the  monster  London"  : — 

"  Let  but  thy  wicked  men  from  out  thee  go, 
And  all  the  fools  that  crowd  thee  so, 
Ev'n  thou,  who  dost  thy  millions  boast, 
A  village  less  than  Islington  will  grow, 
A  solitude  almost." 

Lord  Macaulay,  in  like  vein,  says,  "  Islington  was  {temp.  Charles  I.)  almost  a  solitude, 
and  poets  loved  to  contrast  its  silence  and  repose  with  the  din  and  turmoil  of  the  mon- 
ster London." — History  of  England,  vol.  i.  pp.  349-350. 

Islington  parish  includes  Upper  and  Lower  Holloway,  three  sides  of  Newington- 
green,  and  part  of  Kingsland;  the  southern  portion  of  the  village  being  in  the  parish 
of  St.  James,  Clerkenwell.  Besides  St.  Mary's,  the  mother-church,  here  are  a  large 
church  in  Lower  Holloway ;  St.  John's,  Upper  Holloway ;  St.  Paul's,  Ball's  Pond  j 
and  Trinity,  Cloudesley -square — all  three  designed  by  Barry,  R.A.,  1828-9,  architect, 
also  of  St.  Peter's,  in  1835 ;  Christchurch,  Highbury,  designed  by  Allom,  in  1849,  has 
a  picturesque  tower  and  spire,  and  interior  of  novel  plan.  There  are  also  other  district 
churches  ;  St.  John  the  Evangelist's  (Roman  Catholic),  with  lofty  gable  and  flanking 
towers ;  besides  numerous  chapels  for  every  shade  of  dissent :  Claremont  Chapel,  built 
in  1820,  was  named  in  memory  of  the  lamented  Princess  Charlotte. 

Canonbury,  about  half  a  mile  north-east  of  the  old  church,  was  once  the  country- 
house  of  the  Prior  of  the  Canons  of  St.  Bartholomew  :  the  tower  is  described  at  p.  78. 

An  old  Islingtonian  has  favoured  us  with  these  details  of  the  New  Eiver :  Act  of  Parliament  passed 
1606 ;  begun  Feb.  20, 1608 ;  the  labourers  received  2s.  6d.  per  day ;  stopped  at  Enfield  for  want  of 
funds;  completed  in  five  years;  opened  with  great  ceremony  at  the  Head,  Sadler's  Wells,  Michaelmas 
Day,  1613,  before  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Lord  Mayor  Elect,  Sir  Thomas  Myddelton,  brother  of  Sir  Hugh ; 
King  James,  and  Sir  Hugh  Myddelton. 

The  Neio  River  entere  Islington  by  Stoke  Newington,  and  passing  onward,  beneath 
Highbury,  to  the  east  of  Islington,  ingulfs  itself  under  the  road,  in  a  subterraneous 
channel  of  300  yards ;  again  rises  in  Colebrook-row,  and  still  coasting  the  southern 
side  of  Islington,  reaches  its  termination  at  the  New  River  Head,  Sadler's  Wells. 
Prom  this  vast  circular  basin  the  water  is  conveyed  by  sluices  into  large  brick  cisterns, 
and  hence  by  mains  and  riders  to  all  parts  of  London.  (See  New  Ritee.)  Upon  the 
Green,  now  planted  and  inclosed  as  a  garden,  is  a  portrait-statue  in  stone  of  Sir  Hugh 
Myddelton,  with  a  drinking  fountain,  presented  by  Sir  Morton  Peto,  Bart.,  M.P. 

The  centre  of  Islington  is  perforated  by  the  Regenfs  Canal  brick  tunnel,  com- 
mencing westward  of  White  Conduit  House,  and  terminating  below  Colebrook-row. 
This  tunnel  is  17  feet  wide,  900  yards  long,  and  18  feet  high,  including  7  feet  6  inches 
depth  of  water. 

Highbury  was  originally  a  summer  camp  of  the  Romans,  and  adjoined  the  Er- 
mine-street. The  manor  was  given  to  the  Priory  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem  between 
1271  and  1286,  and  was  the  Lord  Prior's  country  residence,  destroyed  by  Jack  Straw 
in  1371.  The  site  is  now  occupied  by  Highbury  House,  where  is  a  lofty  observatory, 
partly  built  by  John  Smeaton,  F.R.S. 

Among  the  more  eminent  inhabitants  of  Islington  were  John  Bagford,  the  antiquary  and  book  and 
print  collector ;  William  Collins,  whilst  under  mental  infirmity,  was  visited  here  by  Dr.  Johnson; 
Alexander  Cruden,  compiler  of  the  Concordance,  died  here  in  1770;  Oliver  Goldsmith,  and  Ephraim 
Chambers  the  cyclopaedist,  lodged  in  Canonbury  tower;  Quick,  the  comedian,  in  Hornsey-row;  John 
Nichols,  E.S.A.,  editor  of  the  Gentleman's  Magazine,  lived  in  Highbury-place;  where  Kit-hard  Percival, 
F.S.A.,  formed  a  matchless  collection  of  drawings  and  prints  of  Islington ;  William  Knight,  F.S.A.,  of 
Canonbury,  a  collection  of  angling-books  and  missals.  William  Upcott,  F.S.A.,  the  bibliographer  and 
autograph-collector,  died  here  in  1845;  and  Charles  Lamb  retired  from  his  clerkship  in  the  India  House 
to  a  cottage  in  Colebrook-row,  in  1825 :  "  the  New  River  (rather  elderly  by  this  time)  runs  (if  a  mode- 
rate walking  pace  can  be  so  termed)  close  to  the  foot  of  the  house."  (C.  Lamb.)  The  house  remains,  but 
has  been  much  altered ;  and  the  New  River  has  been  covered  over.  Hard  by  was  "  Starvation  Farm," 
where  the  owner,  a  foreign  baron,  kept  his  emaciated  stock. 

In  July,  1864,  was  dispersed  by  auction  the  valuable  Library  of  the  late  Mr.  George  Daniel,  of  18, 
Canonbury-square,  together  with  his  collection  of  Original  Drawings  and  Engraved  Portraits  of  Actors 
and  Actresses,  Water-colour  Drawings,  Pottery  and  Porcelain,  &c.    The  Library  included  the  First 


478  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


Four  Folios  of  Shakspeare's  Works,  the  First  Folio  producing  682  guineas :  the  Quarto  Plays  com- 
prised several  first  editions,  300Z.  each  and  upwards ;  Sonnets,  one  of  the  only  two  pertect  copies  known, 
with  the  same  imprint,  215  guineas ;  and  a  choice  edition  of  the  Poems ;  also,  a  collection  of  Black-letter 
Ballads,  1559-1597,  750?.  A  great  number  of  the  Books  were  unique,  or  nearly  so,  and  included  Garlands, 
Jests,  Drolleries,  and  Songs  \  two  Missals  of  high  class;  Autograph  Letters,  Drawings,  and  Engravings, 
illustrative  of  the  lives  and  times  of  Burns,  Chatterton,  Cowper,  Goldsmith,  Gray,  Johnson,  Kemble, 
Pope,  &c.    The  sale  occupied  ten  days. 

Among  the  old  inns  and  public-houses  were — near  the  church,  the  Pied  Bull, 
popularly  a  villa  of  Sir  Walter  Raleigh's ;  in  Lower-street,  the  Crown,  apparently  of 
the  reign  of  Henry  VII.,  and  the  Queen's  Head,  a  half-timbered  Elizabethan  house ; 
near  the  Green,  the  Duke's  Head,  kept  by  Topham,  "  the  Strong  Man  of  Islington  ;" 
•in  Frog-lane,  the  Barley-mow,  where  George  Morland  painted;  at  the  Old  Parr's 
Head,  in  Upper-street,  Henderson  the  tragedian  first  acted;  White  Conduit  House 
has  been  twice  rebuilt  within  our  recollection;  and  Highbury  Barn,  though  now  a 
showy  tavern,  nominally  recals  its  rural  origin;  the  Three  Hats,  near  the  turnpike, 
was  taken  down  in  1839 ;  and  the  Angel  was  originally  a  galleried  inn.  Timber 
gables  and  rudely-carved  brackets  are  occasionally  to  be  seen  on  Islington  house-fronts 
bearing  old  dates ;  also  here  and  there  an  old  "  house  of  entertainment,"  which,  with 
the  little  remaining  of  "  the  Green,"  reminds  one  of  Islington  village. 

Islington  abounds  with  chalybeate  springs,  resembling  the  Tunbridge  Wells  water ; 
one  of  which  was  rediscovered  in  1683,  in  the  garden  of  Sadler's  music-house,  subse- 
quently Sadler's  Wells  Theatre;  at  the  Sir  Hugh  Myddelton's  Head  tavern  was 
formerly  a  conversation-picture  with  twenty-eight  portraits  of  the  Sadler's  Wells  Club. 
In  Spa-Fields,  about  sixty  years  ago,  was  held  "  Gooseberry  Fair,"  where  the  stalls  of 
Gooseberry -fool  vied  with  the  "  threepenny  tea-booths  "  and  the  beer  at  "  my  Lord 
Cobham's  Head." 

The  following  amusing  Curiosities  of  Islington  Taverns  are  selected  and  abridged 
from  Pinks's  History  of  Clerkenwell,  1865 : — 

Less  than  half  a  century  ago,  the  Old  Red  Lion  Tavern,  in  St.  John-street-road,  the  existence  cf 
which  dates  as  far  back  as  1415,  stood  almost  alone;  it  is  shown  in  the  centre  distance  of  Hogarth's 
print  of  Evening.  Several  eminent  persons  frequented  this  house :  among  others,  Thomson,  the  author 
of  The  Seasons ;  Dr.  Johnson,  and  Oliver  Goldsmith.  In  a  room  here  Thomas  Paine  wrote  his  infamous 
book,  The  Eights  of  Man,  which  Burke  and  Bishop  Watson  demolished.  The  parlour  is  hung  with 
choice  impressions  of  Hogarth's  plates.    The  house  has  been  almost  rebuilt. 

Opposite  the  Red  Lion,  and  surrounded  by  pens  for  holding  cattle  on  their  way  to  Smithfield,  was 
an  old  building  called  "  Goose  Farm ;"  it  was  let  in  suites  of  rooms:  here  lived  Cawse,  the  painter; 
and  in  another  suite,  the  mother  and  sister  of  Charles  and  Thomas  Dibdin— the  mother,  a  short,  squab 
figure,  came  on  among  villagers  and  mobs  at  Sadler's  Wells  Theatre,  but,  failing  to  get  engaged,  she 
died  in  Clerkenwell  Poorhouse.  Vincent  de  Cleve,  nicknamed  Polly  de  Cleve,  for  his  prying  qualities, 
who  was  treasurer  of  Sadler's  Wells  for  many  years,  occupied  the  second-floor  rooms  above  the  Dibdins. 
"  Goose  Yard,"  on  the  west  of  the  road,  serves  to  determine  the  site  of  the  old  farmhouse. 

The  public-house  facing  the  iron  gates  leading  to  the  Sadler's  Wells  Theatre,  with  the  sign  of  The 
Clown,  in  honour  of  Grimaldi,  who  frequented  the  house,  was,  in  his  day,  known  as  the  King  of 
Prussia,  prior  to  which  its  sign  had  been  that  of  the  Queen  of  Hungary.  It  is  to  this  tavern,  or  rather 
to  an  older  one  upon  the  same  site,  that  Goldsmith  alludes  in  his  Essay  on  the  Versatility  of  Popular 
Favour.  "  An  alehouse-keeper,"  says  he,  "  near  Islington,  who  had  long  lived  at  the  sign  of  The 
French  King,  upon  the  commencement  of  the  late  war  with  France,  pulled  down  his  own  sign,  and  put 
up  that  of  the  Queen  of  Hungary .  Under  the  influence  of  her  red  face  and  golden  sceptre,  he  con- 
tinued to  sell  ale  till  she  was  no  longer  the  favourite  of  his  customers;  he  changed  her,  therefore,  some 
time  ago  for  the  King  of  Prussia,  which  may  probably  be  changed  in  turn  for  the  man  that  shall  be  set 
up  for  vulgar  admiration."  The  oldest  sign  by  which  this  house  was  distinguished  was  that  of  The 
Turk's  Head. 

At  The  Golden  Ball,  near  Sadler's  Wells,  was  sold  by  auction,  in  1732,  "the  valuable  curiosities, 
living  creatures,  &c,  collected  by  the  ingenious  Mons.  Boyle,  of  Islington,"  including  "  a  most  strange 
living  creature,  bearing  a  near  resemblance  of  the  human  shape;  he_  can  utter  some  few  sentences  and 
give  pertinent  answers  to  many  questions.  Here  is  likewise  an  Oriental  oyster-shell  of  a  prodigious 
weight  and  size ;  it  measures  from  one  extreme  part  to  the  other  above  three  feet  two  inches  over.  The 
other  curiosity  is  called  the  Philosopher's  Stone,  and  is  about  the  size  of  a  pullet's  egg,  the  colour  of  it 
is  blue,  and  more  beautiful  than  that  of  the  Ultramarine,  which,  together  with  being  finely  polished,  is 
a  most  delightful  entertainment  to  the  eye.  This  unparalleled  curiosity  was  clandestinely  stolen  out  of 
the  late  Great  Mogul's  closet;  this  irreparable  loss  had  so  great  an  effect  upon  him,  that  in  a  few 
months  after  he  pined  himself  to  death :  there  is  a  peculiar  virtue  in  this  precious  stone,  that  princi- 
pally relates  to  the  Fair  Sex,  and  will  effectually  signify,  in  the  variation  of  its  colour,  by  touching  it, 
whether  any  of  them  have  lost  their  virginity." 

At  the  Rising  Sun,  in  the  Islington-road," in  Mist's  Journal,  Feb.  9, 1726,  we  read  that  for  the  ensu- 
ing Shrove  Tuesday  "will  be  a  fine  hog  barbygu'd — i.e.,  roasted  whole — with  spice,  and  basted  with 
Madeira  wine,  at  the  house  where  the  ox  was  roasted  whole  at  Christmas  last." 

In  the  Islington-road,  too,  near  to  Sadler's  Wells,  was  Stokes's  Amphitheatre,  a  low  place,  though 
resorted  to  by  the  nobility  and  gentry.  It  was  devoted  to  bull  and  bear  baiting,  dog-fighting,  boxing, 
and  sword-fighting;  and  in  these  terrible  encounters,  with  naked  swords,  not  blunted,  women  engaged 
each  other  to  "  a  trial  of  skill :"  they  fought  a  la  mode,  in  close-fitting  jackets,  short  petticoats,  Hoi- 


JAMES-STREET,   WESTMINSTER.  479 

land  drawers,  white  thread  stockings,  and  pumps ;  the  stakes  were  from  101.  to  201.  Here  we  read  of  a 
day's  diversion — a  mad  bull,  dressed  up  with  fireworks,  to  be  baited;  cudgel-playing  for  a  silver  cup, 
wrestling  for  a  pair  of  leather  breeches,  &c. ;  a  noble,  large,  and  savage  incomparable  Russian  bear, 
baited  to  death  by  dogs;  a  bull,  illuminated  with  fireworks,  turned  loose;  eating  farthing  pies,  and 
drinking  hali'-a-gallon  of  October  beer  in  less  than  eight  minutes,  &c 

The  increase  of  population  in  Islington  has  heen  enormous.  By  the  census  of  1851 
it  stood  at  95,154  :  by  that  of  1861  it  is  seen  to  be  156,000,  showing  an  increase  in 
ten  years  of  60,846  persons.  This  is  not  entirely  owing  to  the  new  buildings  which 
have  been  erected  there,  great  as  the  number  of  them  is :  the  decadence  of  some  of  the 
streets  must  also  be  taken  into  account,  many  houses  in  which,  formerly  occupied  by  one 
family  in  each,  now  contain  several.  To  meet  these  requirements  at  Islington  have 
been  erected,  with  a  portion  of  the  funds  munificently  presented  by  an  American 
merchant,  Mr.  Peabody,  to  trustees  for  the  poor  of  London,  four  blocks  of  buildings,  to 
comprise  in  all  155  tenements,  with  ample  accommodation  for  upwards  of  650  persons. 
The  whole  cost  of  these  buildings,  exclusive  of  the  sum  paid  for  the  land,  will  amount, 
when  the  accounts  shall  have  been  closed,  to  31,690?.  They  are  appropriately  named 
Peabody-square. 

Holloioay  was  once  famous  for  its  cheese-cakes,  which,  within  recollection,  were 
cried  through  London  streets  by  men  on  horseback.  Du  Val's-lane  was  tradition- 
ally the  scene  of  the  exploits  of  Du  Val,  the  highwayman,  executed  at  Tyburn  Jan.  21, 
1690,  "  to  the  great  grief  of  the  women."  Within  memory,  the  lane  was  so  infested 
with  highwaymen,  that  few  people  would  venture  to  peep  into  it,  even  at  mid-day  :  in 
1831  it  was  lighted  with  gas.  (J.  T.  Smith  j  At  Lower  Holloway,  Mrs.  Foster, 
grand-daughter  of  Milton,  kept  a  chandler's-shop  for  several  years ;  she  died  in  poverty 
at  Islington,  May  9,  1754,  when  the  family  of  Milton  became  extinct. 

Between  Islington  and  Hoxton  was  built  in  1786,  a  curious  windmill  for  grinding 
white-lead,  worked  by  five  flyers,  at  right  angles  to  which  projected  a  beam  with 
smaller  shafts.  In  1853  was  built  at  the  Rosemary  Branch  Gardens  a  Circus,  to  seat 
five  thousand  persons.  At  Hoxton  were  the  "  Ivy  Gardens"  of  Fairchild,  who,  dying 
rich,  left  to  the  parish  of  St.  Leonard,  Shoreditch,  50?.  (increased  to  100?.  by  the 
parishioners),  the  interest  to  be  devoted  to  a  lecture  on  Whit-Tuesday  in  the  parish- 
church,  "  On  the  goodness  of  God  as  displayed  in  the  Vegetable  Creation."  In  Fairchild's 
employ  was  William  Bartlett,  "  a  simpler,"  who  died  at  the  age  of  102  years ;  and  his 
son  James,  "  a  simpler,"  aged  80. 

In  the  Lower-road  was  "  the  Islington  Cattle  Market,"  originated  with  a  view  to  the 
removal  of  the  cattle-market  from  Smithfield,  and  established  by  Act  of  Parliament 
in  1835 ;  but  it  failed  as  a  market,  and  has  since  been  only  used  for  the  lairage  of 
cattle;  it  occupied  fifteen  acres  of  land,  walled  in.     (See  Markets.) 

JAMES-STREET,   WESTMINSTER, 

FACING  St.  James's  Park  and  Buckingham-gate,  has  been  the  abode  of  two  dis- 
tinguished literati.  At  No.  11  lived  the  poet  Glover,  whose  song  of  "  Hosier's 
Ghost"  roused  the  nation  to  a  Spanish  war,  and  will  be  read  and  remembered  long 
after  his  Leonidas  is  forgotten.  At  No.  6  died,  December  31,  1826,  William  Gifford, 
editor  of  the  Quarterly  Review  from  its  commencement  in  1809  to  1824 ;  and  working 
editor  of  the  Anti-Jacobin  Review,  writing  the  refutations  and  corrections  of  "  the  Lies," 
"  Mistakes,"  and  "  Corrections."  Gifford  also  translated  Juvenal,  wrote  the  satires  of 
the  Baviad  and  Maviad ;  and  edited  Massinger,  Ben  Jonson,  Ford,  and  Shirley. 

On  the  west  side  of  James-street  stood  Tart  Hall,  partly  built  in  1638,  by  N.  Stone, 
for  Alathsea  Countess  of  Arundel ;  after  whose  death  it  became  the  property  of  her 
second  son  William,  the  amiable  Viscount  Stafford,  beheaded  on  Tower-hill,  Dec.  29, 
1680,  upon  "  the  perjured  suborned  evidence  of  the  ever-infamous  Oates,  Dugdale,  and 
Tuberville."  The  gateway  of  Tart  Hall  was  not  opened  after  Lord  Stafford  had  passed 
under  it  for  the  last  time.  The  second  share  of  the  Arundel  Marbles  was  deposited 
here,  and  produced  at  a  sale  in  1720,  8851?.  19s.  life?.  {Minutes,  Soc.  Antiquaries^) 
Dr.  Mead  bought  a  bronze  head  of  Homer  for  136?. ;  it  is  now  in  the  British  Museum, 
catalogued  as  a  head  of  Pindar.  The  Hall  was  taken  down  soon  after  the  sale: 
Walpole  told  Pennant  it  was  very  large  and  venerable.     According  to  Strype,  it  was 


480  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

part  in  the  parish  of  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields,  and  part  in  St.  James's;  on  the  garden- 
wall,  a  hoy  was  whipt  annually  to  rememher  the  parish  bounds ;  upon  the  site  of  the 
wall  was  built  Stafford-row  :  in  one  of  the  adjoining  passages,  Mrs.  Abington,  the 
actress,  had  an  incognito  lodging,  for  card-parties.  Sir  Richard  Phillips,  in  his  Morning's 
Walk  from  London  to  Kew,  1817,  writes — 

At  Pimlico  the  name  of  Stafford-row  reminded  me  of  the  ancient  distinction  of  Tart  Hall,  once  the 
rival  in  size  and  splendour  of  its  more  fortunate  neighbour,  Buckingham  House,  and  long  the  deposi- 
tory of  the  Arundelian  Tablets  and  Statues.  It  faced  the  Park,  on  the  present  site  of  James-street;  its 
garden-wall  standing  where  Stafford-row  is  now  built,  and  the  extensive  livery-stables  being  once  the 
stables  of  its  residents." 

Dr.  Rimbault  believes  Tart  Hall  was  called  so  from  its  proximity  to  the  Mulberry 
Garden,  which  was  famous  for  its  t arts.  It  is  so  called  in  the  inventory  of  "  household 
stuffs,"  &c,  taken  in  1641.  (Sari  MS.,  No.  6272) ;  in  Algernon  Sydney's  Letters  to 
Henry  Savile ;  in  several  documents  in  the  State  Paper  Office,  &c.  (Notes  and  Queries, 
2nd  S. ;  ix.  p.  407.) 

In  the  Harleian  MS.  we  read  of  four  pictures :  1.  A  Goundelowe.  2.  A  Mountcbanke.  3.  A  Brave. 
4.  "  King  Henry  7.  his  wife  and  children."  "  The  Great  Roome,  or  Hall,"  was  situated  "  next  to  the 
Banketing  House."  "My  Lord's  Room"  was  hanged  with  yellow  and  green  taffetas.  A  closet  had  the 
floor  covered  with  a  carpet  of  yellow  leather.  The  roof  of  one  of  the  rooms  was  decorated  with  a 
"  picture  of  the  Fall  of  Phaeton."  Mr.  Arden's  room  was  "  hanged  with  Scotch  plad."  Among  the 
pictures  named  are — Diana  and  Actseon,  by  Titian  (now  in  the  Bridgewater  Gallery  ?) ;  Jacob's  Travel- 
ling, by  Bassano  (now  at  Hampton  Court  ?) ;  A  Martyrdom,  by  Tintoret ;  The  Nativity  of  Our  Saviour, 
by  Honthorst.  No  statues  are  mentioned.  The  site  is  marked  in  Faithorne's  Map  of  London,  1658. — 
Cunningham. 

In  James-street  was  the  residence  of  Lord  Milford,  facing  St.  James's  Park,  and 
first  fitted  up  as  the  Stationery  Office  in  1820  :  it  was  taken  down  on  the  removal  of  the 
office  to  the  new  buildings  in  Prince's-street,  Westminster. 

ST.  JAMES'S. 

ALTHOUGH  the  Hospital  dedicated  to  St.  James  is  believed  to  have  been  founded 
prior  to  the  Norman  Conquest,  and  was  rebuilt  as  a  palace  in  1532,  not  two 
centuries  have  elapsed  since  St.  James's  formed  part  of  the  parish  of  St.  Martin's-in- 
the-Fields,  and  occupied  the  furthest  extremity  of  the  western  boundaries  of  West- 
minster. "  The  Court  of  St.  James's "  dates  from  after  the  burning  of  Whitehall  in 
the  reign  of  William  III.,  when  St.  James's  became  the  royal  residence;  the  church 
was  consecrated  in  1685,  in  honour  of  the  reigning  monarch,  to  St.  James. 

Hatton  (1708)  describes  the  parish  as  "all  the  houses  and  grounds  comprehended 
in  a  place  heretofore  called  St.  James's  Fields,  and  the  confines  thereof,  containing 
about  3000  houses,  and  divided  into  seven  wards."  In  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne  it 
had  acquired  the  distinction  of  the  Court  quarter. 

"The  inhabitants  of  St.  James's,  notwithstanding  they  live  under  the  same  laws  and  speak  the 
same  language,  are  a  distinct  people  from  those  of  Cheapside ;  who  are  likewise  removed  from  those  of 
the  Temple  on  the  one  side,  and  those  of  Smithfield  on  the  other,  by  several  climates  and  degrees  in 
their  way  of  thinking  and  conversing  together." — Addison,  Spectator,  No.  403, 1712. 

St.  James's-street,  in  1670,  was  called  "  the  Long  Street,"  and  is  described  by 
Strype  as  beginning  at  the  Palace  of  St.  James's,  and  running  up  to  the  road  against 
Albemarle-buildings ;  the  best  houses,  at  the  upper  end,  having  a  terrace-walk  before 
them.  Waller,  the  poet,  lived  on  the  west  side  from  1660  till  1687,  when  he  died  at 
Beaconsfield ;  Pope  lodged  "  next  door  to  ye  Golden  Ball,  on  ye  second  terras." 
Gibbon,  the  historian,  died  Jan.  16,  1794,  at  No.  76,  then  Elmsley,  the  bookseller's, 
who  would  not  enter  upon  "  the  perilous  adventure"  of  publishing  the  Decline  and 
Fall,  by  which  the  publishers  have  profited  ten  times  the  amount  paid  to  the  author 
for  his  copyright. 

Horace  Walpole  relates :  "  I  was  told  a  droll  story  of  Gibbon  the  other  day.  One  of  those  book- 
sellers in  Paternoster-row,  who  publish  things  in  numbers,  went  to  Gibbon's  lodgings  in  St.  James's- 
strcet,  sent  up  his  name,  and  was  admitted.  ■  Sir,'  said  he,  '  I  am  now  publishing  a  History  of  England, 
done  by  several  good  hands  ;  I  understand  you  have  a  knack  at  them  there  things,  and  should  be  glad 
to  give  you  every  reasonable  encouragement.'  As  soon  as  Gibbon  had  recovered  the  use  of  his  legs  and 
tongue,  which  were  petrified  with  surprise,  he  ran  to  the  bell,  and  desired  his  servant  to  show  this 
encourager  of  learning  downstairs." 

Here  was  the  Thatched  House  Tavern,  originally  a  thatched  house  in  St.  James's 


ST.  JAMES'S.  481 


Fields.  It  was  taken  down  in  1814  and  1863,  having  been  for  nearly  two  centuries 
celebrated  for  its  club  meetings;  and  its  large  public  room,  wherein  were  hung  the 
Dilettanti  pictures.  Beneath  the  tavern  front  was  a  range  of  low-built  shops,  including 
that  of  Rowland,  or  Rouland,  the  fashionable  coiffeur  of  huile  Macassar  fame. 
Through  the  tavern  was  a  passage  to  the  rear,  where,  in  Catharine  Wheel-alley,  in 
the  last  century,  lived  the  widow  Delany,  some  of  whose  fashionable  friends  then 
resided  in  Dean-street,  Soho.  Upon  part  of  the  site  has  been  built  the  Civil  Service 
Club-house,  described  at  pp.  244,  245.  Sheridan  called  St.  James's-street  the  Campus 
Martius  of  the  beaux.'  cavalry. 

Facing  St.  James's-street,  upon  the  site  of  Albemarle-street,  was  Clarendon  House,  on  the  road 
whither,  on  Dee.  6, 1670,  between  six  and  seven  in  the  evening,  the  great  Duke  of  Ormond  was  dragged 
from  his  carriage  by  Blood  and  his  accomplices,  tied  to  one  of  them  on  horseback,  and  carried  along 
Piccadilly  towards  Tyburn,  there  to  be  hanged ;  but  the  alarm  being  given  at  Clarendon  House,  the 
servants  followed  and  recovered  his  grace  from  a  struggle  in  the  mud  with  the  man  he  was  tied  to, 
and  who,  on  regaining  his  horse,  fired  a  pistol  at  the  duke  and  escaped.  In  the  Historian's  Quide, 
third  edit.  1688,  are  stated  to  have  been  "six  ruffians  mounted  and  armed;"  the  duke's  six  footmen, 
who  usually  walked  beside  his  carriage,  were  absent  when  the  attack  was  made. 

Bcey  (properly  Beeby)  steeet,  on  the  east,  is  named  from  the  ground-landlord 
a  half-pay  officer  temp.  Charles  I. :  he  died  Nov.  1733,  aged  above  100  years.  Swift 
and  Steele,  Crabbe  and  Thomas  Moore,  occasionally  lodged  in  Bury-street.  Swift  paid 
for  a  first  floor — a  dining-room  and  bed-chamber, — eight  shillings  a  week, "  plaguy  dear." 

Jeemyx-stbeet,  on  the  east  side  of  St.  James's-street,  was  named  from  Henry 
Jermyn,  Earl  of  St.  Albans.  Here,  in  1665-81,  lived  the  Duke  of  Marlborough,  when 
Colonel  Churchill,  at  the  west  end,  south  side.  Gray,  the  poet,  lodged  here,  at  the 
east  end.  Sir  Isaac  Newton  lived  in  this  street  before  he  removed  to  St.  Martin's- 
street,  Leicester-square ;  as  did  also  William  and  John  Hunter.  East  of  St.  James's 
Church  is  the  entrance-front  of  the  Museum  of  Practical  Geology,  a  lofty  Italian 
building  by  Pennethorne ;  completed  in  1850.     (See  Museums.) 

In  Jermyn-street,  near  St.  James's  Church,  about  1713,  lived  Mrs.  Howe  and  her  husband,  who  was 
absent  from  her  seventeen  years,  as  she  supposed  in  Holland ;  though,  in  fact,  living  disguised  in  a 
mean  lodging  in  Westminster.  From  Jermyn-street,  Mrs.  Howe  removed  to  Brewer-street,  Golden- 
square  ;  Mr.  Howe  often  visited  at  an  opposite  house,  whence  he  saw  his  wife  in  her  dining-room  re- 
ceiving company ;  and  for  seven  years  he  went  every  Sunday  to  St.  James's  Church,  and  there  had  a 
view  of  his  wife,  but  was  not  recognised  by  her.    (See  Dr.  King's  Anecdotes  of  his  own  time.) 

Krvo-STEEET,  leading  to  St.  James's-square,  has  at  the  south-east  corner  the  St. 
James's  Bazaar,  described  at  p.  41.  Here  is  the  St.  James's  Theatre,  designed  by 
Beazley  for  Braham  the  singer  (it  occupies  the  site  of  Nerot's  Hotel,  No.  19),  which 
cost  Braham  8000/.  (See  Theatbes.)  Nerot's  was  of  the  time  of  Charles  II.,  and 
had  a  carved  staircase,  and  panels  painted  with  the  story  of  Apollo  and  Daphne.  Next 
are  Willis's  Rooms  (see  Almack's,  p.  4) ;  and  opposite  are  Christie  and  Manson's 
(late  Christie's)  auction-rooms,  celebrated  for  sales  of  pictures  and  articles  of  vertu. 
(See  an  account  of  these  sales  in  the  Shilling  Magazine,  vol.  i.)  At  No.  16,  in 
King-street,  lodged  Louis  Napoleon,  in  a  house  which  he  pointed  out  to  his  Empress, 
as  he  rode  up  St.  James's-street,  on  their  visit  to  Queen  Victoria  in  1855.  There  are 
four  streets  in  this  neighbourhood  named  from  King,  Charles,  and  the  Duke  of  York. 

In  King-street,  St.  James's,  was  born,  May  4, 1749,  Charlotte  Smith,  the  poet  and  novelist ;  and  here 
she  mostly  resided  with  her  father,  Mr.  N.  Turner,  from  her  twelfth  to  her  fifteenth  year,  when  she 
married  Mr.  Richard  Smith, a  West  India  merchant,  aged  21. 

In  St.  James's-street  (west  side)  Thomas  Wirgman,  goldsmith  and  silversmith,  kept 
shop,  and  after  making  a  large  fortune,  squandered  it  as  a  regenerating  philosopher — a 
Kantesian.  He  had  tinted  papers  made  especially  for  his  books,  one  cf  which,  400  pages, 
cost  him  2276L  printing.  He  published  a  grammar  of  the  five  senses,  and  metaphysics 
for  children,  and  maintained  that  when  his  system  was  universally  adopted  in  schools, 
peace  and  harmony  would  be  restored  to  the  earth,  and  virtue  would  everywhere 
replace  crime.  Sir  Christopher  Wren  had  a  house  in  St.  James's-street,  where  he 
died,  Feb.  25,  1723.  Lord  Byron  lodged  at  No.  8,  in  1811 ;  Gillray,  the  caricaturist, 
lodged  at  No.  24,  Humphrey  the  printseller's,  when,  in  1815,  he  threw  himself  from 
an  upstairs  window,  and  died  in  consequence. 

Humphrey  was  the  publisher  of  Gillray's  caricatures,  the  copperplates  of  which  were  estimated,  in 
1815,  to  be  worth  700W.  After  Humphrey's  death  his  widow  could  raise  only  10001.  upon  the  plates; 
subsequently,  when  offered  by  auction,  they  were  bought  in  at  5C0Z. ;  and  upon  the  widow's  death,  her 

I  I 


482  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

executors,  unable  to  dispose  of  the  plates  as  engravings,  sold  them  to  Mr.  H.  G.  Bohn,  the  publisher 
as  old  copper,  for  as  many  pence  as  they  were  originally  said  to  be  worth  pounds ;  and  sets  are  now  to 
be  bought  at  one-fifth  of  the  first  cost.     (See  the  Account,  &c.  by  Wright  and  Evans,  1851.) 

About  1708,  Peyrault's,  or  Pero's  "  Bagnio,"  now  Fenton's  Hotel,  was  in  high  fashion. 
At  the  south-west  end  was  the  St.  James's  Coffee-house  (Whig),  taken  down  in  1806: 
it  was  the  Foreign  and  Domestic  News-house  of  the  Tatler,  and  the  "  fountain  head" 
of  the  Spectator.  Here,  too,  was  the  Tory  house,  Ozinda'sj  and  the  Cocoa-tree,  to 
which  belonged  Gibbon  and  Lord  Byron. 

In  St.  James's-street  are  several  Club-houses,  already  described  {see  pp.  241-260). 
At  White's  is  a  pair  of  views  by  Canaletti :  one,  London  Bridge,  with  the  houses,  from 
Old  Somerset  House  Gardens  j  and  Westminster  Bridge  (just  built),  taken  from  the 
water,  off  Cuper's  Garden. 

Next  to  Brooks's  Club,  in  1781,  lived  C.  J.  Fox.  At  No.  62  was  Betty's  fruit-shop, 
famous  in  Horace  Walpole's  time.     Mason  has,  in  his  Heroic  Epistles — 

"  And  patriot  Betty  fix  her  fruit-shop  here." 

It  was  a  famous  place  for  gossip.  Walpole  says  of  a  story  much  about,  "  I  should 
scruple  repeating  it,  if  Betty  and  the  waiters  at  Arthur's  did  not  talk  of  it  publicly." 
Again  :  "  Would  you  know  what  officer's  on  guard  in  Betty's  fruit-shop  ?" 

In  Cleveland-row,  extending1  from  St.  James's-street  to  the  Stable-yard  of  the  Palace,  Theodore 
Hook  took  a  handsome  house  in  1827,  which  he  furnished  at  the  cost  of  2000?.  or  3000Z.  Then  came 
heavy  embarrassments,  in  which  he  was  assisted  by  the  liberality  of  his  publishers,  Bentley  and  Col- 
burn,  and  the  sale  of  his  share  in  the  John  Bull  for  4000Z.  While  residing  in  Cleveland-row,  Hook  fell 
in  with  the  Rev.  Mr.  Barham  (Ingoldsby),  who  called  one  day.  Haynes  Bayly  was  then  discussing  a 
devilled  kidney.  Hook  introduced  him,  saying,  "  Barham — Mr.  Bayly — there  are  several  of  the  name : 
this  is  not '  Old  Bailey,'  with  whom  you  may  one  day  become  intimate,  but  the  gentleman  whom  we  call 
'Butterfly  Bayly'  (in  allusion  to  his  song, 'I'd  be  a  butterfly"').  "A  misnomer,  Hook,"  replied  Bar- 
ham ;  "  Mr.  Bayly  is  not  yet  out  of  the  Qruh." 

St.  James's-place,  west  side  of  St.  James's-street,  was  built  about  1694.  Addison 
lodged  here  in  1712.  Here  also  lived  Parnell,  the  poet;  Mr.  Secretary  Craggs; 
Bishop  Kennett,  the  antiquary,  who  died  here  1728 ;  John  Wilkes  lived  here  in  1756 
"  in  very  elegant  lodgings  j"  and  Mrs.  Robinson,  the  charming  actress,  lodged  at 
No.  13.  Lady  Hervey  lived  in  a  house  built  for  her  by  Flitcroft,  afterwards  occupied  by 
the  Earl  of  Moira  (Marquis  of  Hastings).  Spencer  House,  facing  the  Green  Park, 
was  designed  by  Vardy ;  the  figures  on  the  pediment  are  by  M.  H.  Spong,  a  Dane.  At 
No.  25  lived  Lord  Guildford,  who  had  his  library  lined  with  snake-wood  from  Ceylon, 
of  which  island  he  was  Governor :  the  next  tenant  was  Sir  Francis  Burdett,  who 
expired  here  Jan.  23,  1844,  of  grief  for  the  loss  of  his  wife,  who  died  thirteen  dayg 
previously.  At  No.  22,  built  by  James  Wyatt,  R.A.,  lived,  from  1808,  until  his  death 
in  1855,  Samuel  Rogers,  the  poet :  here  Sheridan,  Lord  Byron,  Sir  James  Mackintosh, 
"  Conversation"  Sharp,  and  Thomas  Moore,  were  often  guests. 

Mr.  Rogers'  choice  collection  of  pictures,  sculpture,  Etruscan  vases,  antique  bronzes,  and  literary 
curiosities,  were  to  be  seen  through  the  introduction  of  any  accredited  artist  or  connoisseur.  The 
paintings  included  these  gems  from  the  Orleans  Gallery :  Christ  bearing  the  Cross  (A.  Sacchi) ;  "  Noli 
me  tangere"  ("  mellow  and  glorious  union  of  landscape  and  poetry"),  (Titian) ;  Holy  Family  (Cor- 
reggio) ;  large  Landscape  (Claude) ;  Christ  on  the  Mount  of  Olives  (Raphael).  Also,  Christ  disputing 
with  the  Doctors  (Mazzolina  di  Ferrara),  and  the  Coronation  of  the  Virgin  (A.  Caracci),  from  the  Aldo- 
brandini  Palace ;  Triumphal  Procession  (Rubens),  after  Andrea  Mantegna;  St.  Joseph  and  the  Infaut 
Saviour  (Murillo) ;  Landscapes  by  Rubens  and  Domenichino,  Gainsborough,  and  R.Wilson;  Virgin 
and  Child  (Raphael) ;  Knight  in  Armour  (Giorgione) ;  Allegory,  and  Forest  Scene,  sunset  (Rembrandt) ; 
Virgin  and  Child,  with  six  Saints  (L.  Caracci);  a  Mill,  a  small  octagon  (Claude);  Head  of  Christ 
erowned  with  thorns  (Guido) ;  Virgin  and  Child  (Van  Eyck) ;  two  large  compositions  (N.  Poussin) ; 
Sketch  for  Mary  Magdalen  anointing  the  feet  of  the  Saviour  (P.  Veronese) ;  Sketch  for  the  Miracle  of 
St.  Mark  (Tintoretto) ;  Study  for  the  Apotheosis  of  Charles  V.  (Titian) ;  Portrait  of  Himself  (Rem- 
brandt) ;  Infant  Don  Balthazar  on  horseback  (Velasquez) ;  the  Evils  of  War  (Rubens) ;  Virgin  and 
Child,  a  small  miniature  (Hemmelinck) ;  three  original  Drawings  (Raphael) ;  black  chalk  Study 
(Michael  Angelo) ;  Puck,  the  Strawberry  Girl,  the  Sleeping  Girl,  Girl  with  Bird,  Cupid  and  Psyche,  and 
the  Painter's  House  at  Richmond  (Sir  Joshua  Reynolds);  Napoleon  upon  a  rock  at  St.  Helena  (Hay- 
don)  ;  and  twelve  Elizabethan  miniatures.  The  paintings  were  lighted  by  lamps  with  reflectors.  Among 
the  sculptures  were :  Cupid  pouting  and  Psyche  couching,  and  Michael  Angelo  and  Raphael,  statuettes 
by  Flaxman.  Here  also  were  seven  pictures  by  Stothard  (including  a  copy  of  the  Canterbury  Pilgrims), 
and  a  cabinet  with  his  designs.  Among  the  autographs  was  the  original  assignment  of  Dryden's  Virgil 
to  Tonson,  witnessed  by  Congreve.  Milton's  agreement  with  Symons  for  Paradise  Lott,  long  possessed 
by  Mr.  Rogers,  was  presented  by  him  to  the  British  Museum  in  1852. 

This  collection  was  dispersed  by  auction,  after  the  death  of  Mr.  Rogers,  18th  of 


JEWS  IN  LONDON.  483 


December,  1855,  in  his  93rd  year,  afc  his  house  in  St.  James's-place,  surrounded  by  the 
works  of  art  which  his  fine  taste  had  brought  about  him. 

(See  also  Palaces,  St.  James's  ;  and  Sqttaees,  St.  James's.) 

JEWS  IN  LONDON. 

THE  Jews  were  settled  in  England  in  the  Saxon  period,  a.d.  750.  In  1189,  great 
numbers  were  massacred  on  the  coronation-day  of  Eichard  I.,  when  they  lived  in 
the  Jewries,  extending  along  both  sides  of  the  present  Gresham-street  to  Basinghall- 
street,  and  Old  Jewry  on  the  east ;  the  first  synagogue  in  the  metropolis  being  at  the 
north-west  corner  of  Old  Jewry,  which  Stow  describes  as  "  a  street  so  called  of  Jews 
some  time  dwelling  there  and  near  adjoining."  The  only  burial-place  appointed  them 
in  all  England  was  the  Jews'  Garden,  Redcross-street,  Cripplegate ;  until  1177,  the 
24th  Henry  II.,  when  a  special  place  was  assigned  to  them  in  every  quarter  where 
they  dwelt.  (Stow.)  The  site  of  the  present  Jewin-street,  Aldersgate-street,  anciently 
"  Leyrestowe,"  was  granted  them  as  a  burial-place  by  Edward  I.  Capital  punishment 
was  inflicted  for  comparatively  small  offences,  and  scarcely  a  day  passed  without  an 
execution  in  the  Cheap.  To  some  extent,  this  universal  bloodthirstiness  may  explain, 
if  it  does  not  extenuate,  the  cruelties  practised  on  the  unfortunate  Jews.  For  the 
king  to  take  "  a  moiety  of  their  moveables,"  whenever  he  wanted  money,  was  bad 
enough ;  but  on  the  doubtful  charge  of  the  wilful  murder  of  a  Christian  child  at  Lincoln, 
ninety-two  Jews  were  apprehended,  and  eighteen  of  them  "  were  on  the  same  day 
drawn,  and  after  the  hour  of  dinner,  and  towards  the  close  of  the  day,  hanged."  In 
the  week  before  Palm  Sunday,  in  the  year  1263,  the  Jewry  in  Loudon  was  wantonly 
destroyed,  and  more  than  five  hundred  Jews  "  murdered  by  night  in  sections" — none 
escaping,  seemingly,  except  those  whom  the  mayor  and  the  justiciars  had  sent  to  the 
Tower  before  the  massacre  began.  The  ground  for  this  outrage  (according  to  Fabyan) 
was,  that  a  Jew  had  exacted  more  than  legal  interest  from  a  Christian.  Fifteen  years 
later  no  less  than  293  Jews  were  "  drawn  and  hanged  for  clipping  the  coin."  In  1285, 
more  compendiously  still,  "  all  the  Jews  of  England  were  taken  and  imprisoned,  and 
put  to  ransom  on  the  morrow  of  St.  Philip  and  James."  Finally,  a  few  years  after- 
wards "  it  was  provided  by  the  King  and  his  Council,  upon  prayer  of  the  Pope,  that 
all  the  Jews  in  England  were  sent  into  exile  between  the  Gule  of  August  and  the 
Feast  of  All  Saints,  under  pain  of  decapitation,  if  after  such  feast  any  one  of  them 
should  be  found  in  England." 

The  Jews  made  no  effort  to  return  to  England  till  the  protectorship  of  Oliver 
Cromwell,  when  they  proposed  to  pay  500,000Z.  for  certain  privileges,  including  the 
use  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  as  a  synagogue ;  but  800,000Z.  was  demanded,  and  the 
negotiation  was  unsuccessful.  They  next  applied  to  Charles  II.,  then  in  exile  at 
Bruges,  when  the  king  proposed  they  should  assist  him  with  money,  arms,  or  ammuni' 
tion,  to  be  repaid ;  and  Dean  Tucker  remarks,  that  the  restoration  of  the  Stuarts  was 
attended  with  the  return  of  the  Jews  into  Great  Britain.  The  Jews  themselves  aver 
that  they  received  a  private  assent  to  their  re-admission  ;  and  Bishop  Burnet  assert? 
that  Cromwell  brought  a  company  of  Jews  over  to  England,  and  gave  them  leave  to 
build  a  synagogue.  Dr.  Tovey,  however,  in  the  Jewish  registers,  finds  that,  by  their 
own  account,  until  the  year  1663  the  whole  number  of  Jews  in  England  did  not  exceed 
twelve ;  so  that  the  date  of  their  return  must  be  referred  to  the  reign  of  Charles  II. 
The  first  synagogue  was  built  by  Portuguese  Jews,  in  King-street,  Duke's-place,  in 
1656 ;  and  a  school  was  founded  by  them  in  1664,  called  "  the  Tree  of  Life."  The 
first  German  synagogue  was  built  in  Duke's-place  in  1691,  and  occupied  till  1790, 
when  the  present  edifice  was  erected. 

The  principal  Jewish  Cemeteries  are  two  on  the  north  side  of  the  Mile-End-road 
belonging  to  the  Portuguese  Jews,  and  a  third  to  the  German  Jews.  The  old 
Portuguese  ground  was  first  used  1657 :  some  of  the  tombs  bear  bas-reliefs  from 
Scripture ;  as  the  story  of  Joseph  and  his  brethren,  Jacob  wrestling  with  the  angel, 
&c.  Near  Queen's  Elm,  Fulham-road,  is  also  "the  burying-ground  of  the  Westminster 
Congregation  of  Jews,"  established  1816. 

The  Jewish  quarter  of  the  metropolis  is  bounded  north  by  High-street,  Spitalfields ; 

I  I  2 


484  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

east  by  Middlesex-street  (Petticoat-lane);  south  by  Leadenhall-street,  Aldgate,  and 
Whitechapel ;  and  west  by  Bishopsgate-street. 

The  Clothes'  Exchange  of  Cutler-street,  Houndsditch,  is  popularly  known  as  Sag 
Fair;  through  which  must  pass,  at  one  stage  or  another,  half  the  second-hand  habili- 
ments of  the  empire.  The  trade  in  renovated  clothes,  too,  is  very  great,  so  as  to  make 
the  epithet  "  worn-out"  a  popular  error.  Factitious  arts  make  up  the  mighty 
business  of  Rag  Fair ;  and  Bevis  Marks  has  long  been  the  Oporto  of  London,  noted 
for  its  manufacture  of  "  cheap  port-wine." 

Saturday  in  the  Hebrew  quarter  is  a  day  of  devotion  and  rest :  every  shop  is  shut ; 
and  striking  is  the  contrast  between  the  almost  conventual  silence  on  that  day  of  Bevis 
Marks,  Houndsditch,  and  St.  Mary  Axe,  and  the  bustle  of  Whitechapel,  Bishopsgate, 
and  Leadenhall.  How  the  Christian  Sabbath  is  kept  is  denoted  by  such  a  notice  as 
this :  "  Business  will  commence  at  this  Exchange  on  Sunday  morning  at  10  o'clock. 
By  order  of  the  managers,  Moses  Abrahams."  Again,  from  8  to  12  o'clock  on  Sunday 
morning,  Duke's-place  is  the  great  market  for  the  supply  of  oranges  to  the  itinerant 
Jewish  retailers. 

The  wealth  of  the  leading  Jews  in  London  is  very  great,  and  their  influence  on  the 
money-market  is  overwhelming.  Their  shipping  trade  is  very  extensive.  The  largest 
clothing-establishments  are  carried  on  by  Jews.  The  trade  in  old  silver  goods,  pictures, 
old  furniture,  china,  and  curiosities,  is  chiefly  carried  on  by  Hebrew  dealers. 

Jews  are  admissible  to  all  public  offices  and  dignities,  even  to  a  seat  in  Parliament. 
In  1828  baptized  Jews  were  allowed  to  purchase  the  freedom  of  the  City  of  London,  a 
privilege  forbidden  by  the  Court  of  Aldermen  in  1785.  Mr.  David  Salomons  (1835) 
and  Sir  Moses  Montefiore  (1837)  served  as  Sheriffs  of  London,  these  being  the 
first  Jews  who  filled  that  office;  and  Sir  Moses  is  the  first  Jew  who  received  a 
baronetcy  in  Britain.  Mr.  Salomons  was  elected  Alderman  for  Cordwainers'  Ward  in 
1847,  and  is  the  first  Jew  who  ever  sat  in  the  Court;  he  served  as  Lord  Mayor  in 
1857-8.  Alderman  Sir  Benjamin  S.  Phillips,  Lord  Mayor,  1865-6,  received  knighthood 
for  his  very  able  discharge  of  his  duties,  and  the  dignity  he  imparted  to  the  office. 

The  Jews  take  care  of  their  own  poor ;  and  their  schools,  hospitals,  and  asylums  are 
numerous.  You  may  see  many  poor  Jews,  but  never  a  Jewish  beggar.  In  1S52,  the 
amount  of  offerings  during  the  sacred  festivals  of  the  New  Year,  Day  of  Atonement, 
&c,  for  the  relief  of  the  poor  at  the  principal  metropolitan  Synagogues,  were  : — Great 
Synagogue,  Duke's-place,  8001. ;  Sephardim,  ditto ;  Bevis  Marks,  5001. ;  New,  ditto ; 
Great  St.  Helen's,  6001. ;  Hamburgh,  ditto ;  Fenchurch-street,  150Z. ;  West  London 
ditto;  Margaret-street,  70J. — total,  2120Z.  The  Western  Synagogue,  St.  Alban's- 
place,  has  abolished  offerings,  substituting  in  lieu  thereof  a  charge  on  the  seats.  In 
1852  there  were  distributed  in  Passover  week  to  the  poor  of  the  Synagogues  and  the 
itinerant  poor,  55,000  pounds  of  Passover  cakes,  costing  9161.  13*.  Ad. 

The  Rabbinical  College,  or  Beth  Hamedrash,  Smith's-buildings,  Leadenhall-street, 
contains  one  of  the  most  splendid  Jewish  libraries  in  Europe,  and  is  open  to  the 
public  by  tickets :  here  lectures  are  delivered  gratuitously  to  the  public,  on  Friday 
evenings,  by  learned  Jews. 

The  Jews'  Free  School,  founded  in  1817,  is  a  good  specimen  of  the  zealous  care  with  which  the  Jews 
organize  their  institutions.  This  School  originated  in  the  general  feeling  then  entertained  of  the 
necessity  of  diffusing  knowledge  among  the  poor.  Its  founders  adopted  those  parts  of  the  various 
systems  of  education  then  in  general  use  which  appeared  to  them  best  calculated  to  advance  that  object, 
and  the  school  has  all  along  been  conducted  on  a  plan  combining  their  advantages,  mutual  instruction 
on  the  monitorial  plan  being  fully  recognised.  Many  children,  they  state,  who  would  have  wandered 
idly  about  the  streets,  devoid  alike  of  religion  and  knowledge,  and  who  might  easily  have  been  ensnared 
into  courses  of  vice  and  infamy,  have  by  means  of  this  institution  been  instructed  in  their  religious 
duties  and  the  elementary  branches  of  knowledge,  and  been  thus  trained  to  become  respectable  and 
useful  members  of  society.  The  School,  greatly  enlarged,  is  now  established  in  Bell-lane,  Spitalfields, 
and  for  nearly  half  a  century  has  diffused  the  blessings  of  knowledge  and  morality  among  the  poor 
Jews  of  the  metropolis,  according  to  the  design  of  its  founders  and  supporters,  though  of  late  years 
the  system  of  education  pursued  in  it  has  been  somewhat  modified  and  enlarged.  The  Revised  Code 
insists  that  every  child  presented  shall  satisfy  the  inspector  in  reading,  writing,  and  arithmetic  accord- 
ing to  a  classification  under  six  standards.  In  this  department  of  the  school  the  highest  class  was 
examined  in  the  highest  standard,  a  degree  of  proficiency  which  had  not  been  attained  in  the  first  year 
ot  the  operation  of  the  Revised  Code  by  any  other  school  in  the  country :  making  a  small  allowance  for 
unavoidable  absences,  about  99  per  cent,  of  those  children  presented  passed  successfully. 

Je'R's'-eow,  at  Chelsea,  has  been  made  by  Wilkie  the  background  of  his  picture  of 


ST.  JOHN'S  GATE,   CLERKENWELL.  485 

"  the  Chelsea  Pensioners  reading  the  Gazette  of  the  Battle  of  Waterloo,"  now  in  the 
Duke  of  Wellington's  Gallery,  at  Apsley  House. 

■  Jews'-row  has  a  Teniers-like  line  of  mean  public-houses,  lodging-houses,  rag-shops,  and  huckster- 
shops,  on  the  right-hand,  as  you  approach  Chelsea  College.  It  is  the  Pall  Mall  of  the  pensioners ;  and 
its  projecting  gables,  breaks,  and  other  picturesque  attributes  were  admirably  suited,  in  the  artist's 
opinion,  for  the  localities  of  the  picture." — Mrs.  A.  T.  Thomson. 

ST.  JOHN'S   GATE,   CLERKENWELL, 

IS  nearly  all  that  remains  of  the  magnificent  monastery  of  the  Knights  of  St.  John 
of  Jerusalem,  that  chivalrous  order  which  for  seven  centuries  "  was  the  sword  and 
buckler  of  Christendom  in  the  Paynim  war."  The  priory  was  founded  in  1100,  and 
was  almost  of  palatial  extent.  King  John  resided  here  in  1212  ;  and  our  sovereigns 
occasionally  held  councils  here.  Three  acres  of  ground  lying  without  the  walls,  between 
the  land  of  the  Abbot  of  Westminster  and  of  the  Prior  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem,  was 
called  No-man's  Land.  In  November,  1326,  Anthony  d'Espagne,  a  wealthy  merchant, 
who  collected  a  burdensome  duty  of  2s.  a  tun  on  wine,  was  dragged  barefoot  out  of  the 
City,  and  heheaded  by  the  populace  on  No-man's  Land — a  fitting  name  for  the  site  of 
such  an  atrocity  !  In  1382  the  whole  commandery  was  burnt  by  Wat  Tyler's  mob ; 
and  the  grand  prior  was  beheaded  in  the  courtyard,  the  site  of  St.  John's-square,  at 
the  southern  entrance  of  which  stands  the  gateway.  Late  in  the  fifteenth  century,  the 
rebuilding  of  the  monastery  was  commenced  by  Prior  Docwra,  who,  according  to 
Camden,  "  increased  it  to  the  size  of  a  palace,"  and  completed  this  entrance  about 
1501,  "  as  appeareth  by  the  inscription  over  the  gatehouse  yet  remaining"  (Stow). 

In  a  Chapter  held  here  11  Jan.  1514,  Sir  T.  Docwra  prior,  a  lease  was  granted  to  Cardinal  Wolsey 
of  the  manor  of  Hampton,  which  the  most  eminent  physicians  of  England  and  learned  doctors  from 
Padua  had  selected  as  the  healthiest  spot  within  twenty  miles  of  London  for  the  site  of  a  palace  for 
the  cardinal.  In  this  curious  document  (Cotton.  MSS.  British  Museum)  is  a  grant  of  four  loads  of 
timber  annually  for  piles  for  the  Hampton  Weir,  to  be  cut  "in  and  fro  Seynt  John's  Woode,  Midd." 
This  grant  is  printed  in  the  Gentleman's  Magazine,  January,  1834. 

Docwra  was  grand-prior  from  1502  to  1520,  and  was  the  immediate  predecessor  of 
the  last  superior  of  the  house,  who  died  of  grief  on  Ascension-day,  1510,  when  the 
priory  was  suppressed.  Five  years  subsequently,  the  site  and  precinct  were  granted  to 
John  Lord  Lisle,  for  his  service  as  high-admiral ;  the  church  becoming  a  kind  of  store- 
house "  for  the  king's  toyles  and  tents  for  hunting,  and  for  the  warres."  It  was, 
however,  undermined  and  blown  up  with  gunpowder,  and  the  materials  were  employed 
by  the  Lord  Protector  to  King  Edward  VI.  in  building  Somerset-place  j  the  Gate  would 
probably  have  been  destroyed,  but  from  its  serving  to  define  the  property.  The  Priory 
was  partly  restored  upon  the  accession  of  Mary,  but  again  suppressed  by  Elizabeth.  In 
1604  the  Gate  was  granted  to  Sir  Roger  Wilbraham  for  his  life.  Hollar's  very  scarce 
etchings  show  the  castellated  hospital,  with  the  old  front,  eastern  side,  towards  St.  John- 
street,  about  1640 ;  also  the  western  side,  and  Gatehouse. 

At  this  time  Clerkenwell  was  inhabited  by  people  of  condition.  Forty  years  later 
fashion  had  travelled  westward ;  and  the  Gate  became  the  printing-office  of  Edward 
Cave,  who,  in  1731,  published  here  the  first  number  of  the  Gentleman's  Magazine, 
which  to  this  day  bears  the  Gate  for  its  vignette.  Dr.  Johnson  was  first  engaged  upon 
the  magazine  here  by  Cave  in  1737 :  "  his  practice  was  to  shut  himself  up  in  a  room 
assigned  to  him  at  St.  John's  Gate,  to  which  he  would  not  suffer  any  one  to  approach, 
except  the  compositor  or  Cave's  boy  for  matter,  which,  as  fast  as  he  composed,  he 
tumbled  out  at  the  door."  (Hawkins.)  At  the  Gate  Johnson  first  met  Richard 
Savage ;  and  here  in  Cave's  room,  when  visitors  called,  Johnson  ate  his  plate  of  victuals 
behind  the  screen,  his  dress  being  "  so  shabby  that  he  durst  not  make  his  appearance." 
One  day,  while  thus  concealed,  Johnson  heard  Walter  Harte,  the  poet  and  historian, 
highly  praise  the  Life  of  Savage.  Garrick,  when  he  first  came  to  London,  frequently 
called  upon  Johnson  at  the  Gate ;  and  at  Cave's  request,  in  the  room  over  the  great 
arch,  and  with  the  assistance  of  a  few  journeyman-printers  to  read  the  other  parts, 
Garrick  represented  the  principal  character  in  Fielding's  farce  of  the  Mock  Doctor. 
Goldsmith  was  also  a  visitor  here.  When  Cave  grew  rich,  he  had  St.  John's  Gate 
painted,  instead  of  his  arms,  on  his  carriage,  and  engraved  on  his  plate.     After  Cave's 


CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


death  in  1754,  the  premises  became  the  "  Jerusalem"  public-house,  and  the  "  Jerusalem 
Tavern." 

The  latter  name  was  assumed  from  the  Jerusalem  Tavern,  Eed  Lion-street,  in  whose  dank  and  eob- 
webbed  vaults  John  Britton  served  an  apprenticeship  to  a  wine-merchant ;  and  in  reading  at  intervals 
by  candle-light,  first  evinced  that  love  of  literature  which  characterized  his  long  life  of  industry  and 
integrity.  He  remembered  Clerkenwell  in  1787,  with  St.  John's  Priory-church  and  cloisters ;  when 
Spa-fields  were  pasturage  for  cows;  the  old  garden-mansions  of  the  aristocracy  remained  in  Clerken- 
well-close;  and  Sadler's  Wells,  Islington  Spa,  Merlin's  Cave,  and  Bagnigge  Wells,  were  nightly  crowded 
with  gay  company. 

In  1845,  under  the  new  Metropolitan  Buildings'  Act,  a  survey  of  St.  John's  Gate 
was  made,  and  a  notice  given  to  the  then  owner  to  repair  it :  and  by  the  aid  of  "  the 
Freemasons  of  the  Church,"  and  Mr.  W.  P.  Griffith,  architect,  the  north  and  south 
fronts  were  restored. 

The  gateway  is  a  good  specimen  of  groining  of  the  fifteenth  century,  with  moulded 
ribs,  and  bosses  ornamented  with  shields  of  the  arms  of  the  Priory,  Prior  Docwra,  &c 
The  south  or  principal  front  has  a  double  projection ;  has  numerous  small  windows ; 
and  a  principal  window  over  the  crown  of  the  arch  in  each  front,  in  the  wide  and 
obtusely -pointed  style.  The  south  front  bears  the  arms  of  France  and  England,  and 
the  north  or  inner  front  those  of  the  Priory  and  Docwra.  In  the  west  side  of  the 
gateway  is  an  ancient  carved  oak  doorhead,  discovered  in  1813,  when  that  part  of  the 
building  (afterwards  a  coal-shed)  was  converted  into  a  watch-house  for  St.  John's  parish. 
In  the  spandrels  are  the  monastery  arms,  as  also  in  a  low  door-case  of  the  west  tower 
from  the  north  side  of  the  Gate;  these  spandrels  also  bear  a  cock  and  a  hawk,  and  a 
hen  and  a  lion.  This  was  the  entrance  to  Cave's  printing-office.  The  east  basement 
is  the  tavern-bar,  with  a  beautifully  moulded  ceiling.  The  stairs  are  Elizabethan.  The 
principal  room  over  the  arch  has  been  despoiled  of  its  window-mullions  and  groined 
roof.  The  foundation-wall  of  the  Gate  is  10  feet  7  inches  thick,  and  the  upper  walls 
are  nearly  4  feet,  hard  red  brick,  stone  cased :  the  view  from  the  top  of  the  staircase- 
turret  is  extensive.  In  excavating  there  have  been  discovered  the  original  pavement, 
3  feet  below  the  Gate ;  and  the  Priory  walls,  north,  south,  and  west.  Other  repairs 
were  commenced  in  1866. 

St.  John's  Church,  in  St.  John's-square,  is  built  upon  the  chancel  and  side  aisles  of 
the  old  Priory-church,  and  upon  its  crypt ;  the  capitals  of  the  columns,  ribbed  mouldings, 
lancet  windows,  are  fine ;  from  the  key-stone  of  each  arch  hangs  an  iron  lamp-ring : 
in  1849,  the  crypt  was  found  by  excavation  to  have  extended  much  further  westward. 
The  turret-clock  belonged  to  old  St.  James's  Church,  as  did  also  the  silver  head  of  the 
beadle's  staff  (James  II.  1685).  Here,  too,  is  a  portable  baptismal  bowl,  with  a 
scriptural  inscription,  and  "  Deo  est  sacris :"  it  was  formerly  used  as  the  church  font. 
(See  Ye  History  of  ye  Priory  and  Gate  of  St.  John.     By  B.  Foster.     1851.) 

The  Gate  is  minutely  described  in  Chapter  X.  of  Pinks's  History  of  Clerkenwell, 
pp.  241-257,  with  eleven  engravings,  wherein  it  is  stated:  "to  Mr.  W.  P.  Griffith, 
F.S.A.,  the  inhabitants  of  Clerkenwell  are  deeply  indebted  for  saving  from  positive 
defacement,  if  not  from  absolute  removal,  the  Gate  of  the  Priory  of  St.  John." 

KENNINGTON, 

A  MANOR  of  Lambeth,  is  named  from  Saxon  words  signifying  the  place  or  town 
of  the  king.  Here,  at  a  Danish  marriage,  died  Hardiknute,  in  1041.  Here 
Harold,  son  of  Earl  Godwin,  seized  the  Crown  the  day  after  the  death  of  the  Confessor, 
and  is  said  to  have  placed  it  on  his  own  head.  Here,  in  1231,  King  Henry  III.  held 
his  court,  and  passed  a  solemn  and  stately  Christmas ;  and  here,  says  Matthew  Paris, 
was  held  a  Parliament  in  the  succeeding  year.  Hither,  says  Stow,  in  1376, 
came  the  Duke  of  Lancaster,  to  escape  the  fury  of  the  populace  of  London,  on 
Friday,  February  20,  the  day  following  that  on  which  Wickliffe  had  been  brought 
before  the  bishops  at  St.  Paul's.  Hither  also  came  a  deputation  of  the  chiefest 
citizens  to  Richard  II.,  June  21,  1377,  "before  the  old  king  was  departed,"  "to 
accept  him  for  their  true  and  lawfull  king  and  gouernor."  Kennington  was  the  occa- 
sional residence  of  Henry  IV.  and  VI.  Henry  VII.  was  here  shortly  previous  to  his 
coronation.     Leland  tells  us  that  Katharine  of  Aragon  was  here  for  a  few  days ;  after 


KENNINGTOK  487 


which  the  palace  probably  fell  into  decay :  Camden,  late  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth, 
says,  though  erroneously,  that  "  of  this  retreat  of  our  ancient  Kings,  neither  the  name 
nor  the  ruins  are  now  to  be  found."  The  early  celebrity  of  the  manor  of  Kennington 
as  a  "  Royal  property "  is  attested  to  this  day  in  the  names  of  Prince's-road  and 
Chester-place,  which  refer  to  the  annexation  of  the  manor  to  the  Duchy  of  Cornwall,  in 
the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  who  was  here  in  1339,  from  a  document  printed  in  the 
Fcedera,  tested  by  the  Black  Prince,  then  only  ten  years  of  age.  James  I.  settled  the 
manor,  with  other  estates,  on  his  eldest  son,  Henry,  Prince  of  Wales :  and  after  his 
decease,  in  1612,  on  Prince  Charles  (afterwards  Charles  I.),  and  they  have  ever  since 
been  held  as  part  of  the  estate  of  the  Prince  of  Wales,  as  Duke  of  Cornwall.  Charles 
was  the  last  tenant  of  the  palace,  which  was  then  taken  down,  and  there  was  built  on 
the  site  a  manor-house,  described  in  1656  as  an  old,  low,  timber  building ;  but  of  the 
palace  offices  there  remained  the  stable,  a  long  building  of  flint  and  stone,  used  as  a 
barn:  this  was  taken  down  in  1795.  The  palace,  there  is  no  doubt,  stood  within  the 
triangular  plot  of  ground  near  Kennington  Cross,  now .  bounded  by  Park-place,  Devon- 
shire-street, and  Park-street ;  thick  fragments  of  walls  of  flint,  chalk,  and  rubble  stone 
intermixed,  may  yet  be  seen  in  the  cellars  of  some  houses  in  Park-place. 

Kennington  Common  (about  twenty  acres)  was  formerly  noted  for  its  cricket-matches, 
pugilism,  and  itinerant  preachers,  and  as  the  exercise-ground  of  volunteer  regiments. 
It  was  the  common  place  of  execution  for  Surrey,  before  the  erection  of  the  County 
Gaol,  Horsemonger-lane ;  and  on  the  site  of  St.  Mark's  Church,  south  of  the  Common, 
some  of  the  rebels  of  1745,  tried  by  special  commission  in  Southwark,  were  hanged, 
drawn,  and  quartered :  among  them  was  "  Jemmy  Dawson,"  the  hero  of  Shenstone's 
touching  ballad  :  and  of  another  ditty,  set  to  music  by  Dr.  Arne,  and  sung  about  the 
streets.  On  the  Common  was  a  bridge,  called  Merton  Bridge,  which  was  formerly 
repaired  by  the  Canons  of  Merton  Abbey,  who  had  lands  for  that  purpose. — (Lysons.) 
Here  was  a  theatre;  for,  Baker,  in  his  Biographia  Dramatica,  edit.  1732,  vol.  ii. 
p.  239,  says,  "  the  satyrical,  comical,  allegorical  farce,"  the  Mock  Doctor,  published  in 
8vo,  in  1739,  was  "  acted  to  a  crowded  audience  at  Kennington  Common,  and  many 
other  theatres,  with  the  humour  of  the  mob."  Here  George  Whitefield  preached  to 
audiences  of  ten,  twenty,  and  thirty  thousand  persons,  as  we  learn  from  his  published 
diary,  which  is  now  scarce : 

"  Sunday,  April  29, 1731.  At  five  in  the  evening  went  and  preached  at  Kennington  Common,  about 
two  miles  from  London,  where  upwards  of  20,000  people  were  supposed  to  be  present.  The  wind  being 
for  me,  it  carried  the  voice  to  the  extremest  part  of  the  audience.  All  stood  attentive  and  joined  in  the 
Psalm  and  the  Lord's  Prayer  so  regularly,  that  I  scarce  ever  preached  with  more  quietness  in  any 
church.    Many  were  much  affected. 

"  Sunday,  May  6, 1731.  At  six  in  the  evening  went  and  preached  at  Kennington  ;  but  such  a  sight 
I  never  saw  before.  Some  supposed  there  were  above  30,000  or  40,000  people,  and  near  four  score  coaches, 
besides  great  numbers  of  horses;  and  there  was  such  an  awful  silence  amongst  them,  and  the  Word  of 
God  came  with  such  power,  that  all  seemed  pleasingly  surprised.  I  continued  my  discourse  for  an  hour 
and  a  half. 

"  Friday,  August  3, 1739.  Having  spent  the  day  in  completing  my  affairs  (about  to  embark  for 
America),  and  taking  leave  of  my  dear  friends,  I  preached  in  the  evening  to  near  20,000  people  at  Ken- 
nington Common.  I  chose  to  discourse  on  St.  Paul's  parting  speech  to  the  elders  of  Ephesus,  at  which 
the  people  were  exceedingly  affected,  and  almost  prevented  my  making  any  application.  Many  tears 
were  shed  when  I  talked  of  leaving  them.  I  concluded  with  a  suitable  hymn,  but  could  scarce  get  to 
the  coach  for  the  people  thronging  me,  to  take  me  by  the  hand,  and  give  me  a  parting  blessing." 

On  Kennington  Common  was  held,  April  10,  1848,  the  great  revolutionary  meeting  of 
"  Chartists,"  brought  to  a  ridiculous  issue  by  the  unity  and  resolution  of  the  metropolis, 
backed  by  the  judicious  measures  of  the  Government,  and  the  masterly  military  pre- 
cautions of  the  late  Duke  of  Wellington.  In  1852,  the  Common,  with  the  site  of  the 
Pound  of  the  manor  of  Kennington,  were  granted  by  Act  of  Parliament,  on  behalf  of 
the  Prince  of  Wales,  as  part  of  the  Duchy  of  Cornwall  estate,  to  be  inclosed  and  laid 
out  as  "  pleasure-grounds  for  the  recreation  of  the  public ;  but  if  it  cease  to  be  so  main- 
tained, it  shall  revert  to  the  duchy."  They  comprise  twelve  acres,  disposed  in  grass- 
plots,  and  planted  with  shrubs  and  evergreens ;  and  at  the  main  entrance  have  been 
reconstructed  the  model  cottages  originally  erected  at  the  expense  of  Prince  Albert  for 
the  Great  Exhibition  of  1851 :  the  walls  are  built  with  hollow  and  glazed  brick,  and 
the  floors  are  brick  and  stucco ;  the  whole  being  fireproof.  At  Kennington-green,  in 
1852,  was  built  a  large  Vestry  Hall,  in  semi-classic  style,  for  the  district  of  Lambeth. 
In  Kenningtou-lane  is  the  School  of  the  Friendly  Society  of  Licensed  Victuallers,  built 
1S36;  the  first  stone  laid  by  Viscount  Melbourne,  in  the  name  of  King  WiUiam  IV. 


4SS  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


KENSINGTON,  £  ROMP  TON,  AND  KNIGHTSBEIDGE. 

KENSINGTON,  a  mile  and  a  half  west  of  Hyde  Park-corner,  contains  the  hamlets 
of  Brompton,  Earl's-court,  the  Gravelpits,  and  part  of  Little  Chelsea,  now  West 
Brompton ;  hut  the  royal  palace,  and  ahout  twenty  other  houses  north  of  the  road,  are 
in  the  parish  of  St.  Margaret,  Westminster.  On  the  south  side,  the  parish  of  Ken- 
sington extends  heyond  the  Gore,  anciently  Kyng's  Gore,  the  principal  houses  hetween 
which  and  Knightshridge  are  also  in  St.  Margaret's.  The  old  church  (St.  Mary 
Abbot's)  Bishop  Blomfield  used  to  designate  the  ugliest  in  his  diocese. 

The  resolution  to  build  this  church  was  adopted  by  the  vestry  in  1696,  and  among  the  con- 
tributors were  King  'William  III.  and  Queen  Mary,  as  well  as  the  Princess  Anne.  The  King 
and  Queen  not  only  subscribed  to  the  building  fund,  but  presented  the  reading-desk  and  pulpit, 
which  have  crowns  carved  upon  them,  with  the  initials  W.  and  M.  E.  A  curtained  pew  was 
in  consequence  set  apart  for  the  Royal  family,  and  long  continued  to  be  occupied  by  residents 
in  Kensington  Palace,  among  whom  the  Duke  and  Duchess  of  Kent  and  the  late  Duke  of  Cam- 
bridge are  still  remembered.  It  was  in  this  church  that  the  Duchess  of  Kent  returned  thanks 
after  the  birth  of  her  present  Majesty.  In  the  parish  books  there  are  entries  of  the  expenses  incurred 
for  ringing  the  church  bells  on  all  public  occasions  since  the  Revolution.  Mr.  Wilberforce,  who  resided 
at  Kensington-gore,  is  still  remembered  sitting  in  the  pew  appropriated  to  the  Holland-house  family. 
George  Canning  might  often  be  seen  seated  in  the  Eoyal  pew.  Coke,  of  Norfolk,  had  a  pew  here,  which 
he  regularly  occupied.  Nassau  Senior,  the  political  economist,  resided  at  Hyde-park-gate,  and  W.  M. 
Thackeray  occupied  a  house  which  he  had  planned  and  built  for  himself  in  Palace-green,  where  he  died 
December,  1863.  These  eminent  writers  both  attended  the  early  service  at  half-past  nine.  When  Lord 
Macau'.ay  came  to  reside  at  Holly-lodge,  Campden-hill,  he  desired  to  have  a  list  of  the  parochial  chari- 
ties and  a  seat  in  the  parish  church.  Although  confined  to  the  house  by  asthma  during  the  winter,  he  was 
regular  in  his  attendance  during  the  summer ;  he  died  at  Holly  Lodge,  December  20, 1859.  The  church, 
condemned  as  incapable  of  being  long  used  for  public  worship,  contains  114  monuments.    (See  p.  181.) 

The  extension  of  Kensington  mostly  dates  from  the  enlargement  of  the  royal  palace ; 
though  the  mineral  spring  which  it  once  possessed  may  have  contributed  to  the  celebrity 
of  the  place.  Holland  House  is  described  at  p.  431.  Nearly  opposite,  in  tbe  Kensing- 
ton-road, was  the  Adam  and  Eve  public-house,  where  Sheridan,  on  his  way  to  or  from 
Holland  House,  regularly  stopped  for  a  dram ;  and  there  he  ran  up  a  long  bill,  which 
Lord  Holland  had  to  pay.  {Moore's  Diary.)  Kensington  Palace  Gardens  lead  from 
the  High-street  of  Kensington  to  the  Bayswater-road,  and  contain  several  costly 
mansions,  including  one  of  German  Gothic  design,  built  for  the  Earl  of  Harrington  in 
1S52.  On  Campden  Hill  is  the  observatory  of  Sir  James  South,  one  of  the  founders 
of  the  Royal  Astronomical  Society :  among  the  working  instruments  are  a  7-feet  transit 
instrument,  a  4-feet  transit  circle,  and  one  of  the  equatorials  with  which,  between 
1821  and  1823,  Sir  James  South  (at  Blackman- street,  Southwark)  and  Sir  John 
Herschel  made  a  catalogue  of  380  double  stars.  In  Little  Chelsea  was  born,  in  1674, 
Charles  Boyle,  fourth  Earl  of  Orrery,  patron  of  Graham,  who  constructed  for  the  Earl 
an  orrery,  which  was  named  after  his  lordship. 

In  Orbell's-buildings,  Kensington,  lodged  Sir  Isaac  Newton  from  January,  1725,  until  his  death, 
March  20, 1727,  in  his  85th  year.  His  body,  on  March  28,  lay  in  state  in  the  Jerusalem  Chamber,  and 
was  thence  buried  in  Westminster  Abbey. 

Leigh  Hunt  has  written  a  remarkably  pleasant  account  of  Kensington,  under  the  title 
of  The  Old  Court  Suburb.  Here  are  the  old  mansions,  Kensington  Souse  and  Colby 
Jfonse,  described  at  p.  447.     Campden  House  is  described  at  p.  445. 

Here  was  the  Kintfs  Arms  Tavern,  the  last  place  in  or  about  London  where  the  old  coffee-house  style 
of  society  was  still  preserved,  and  where  members  of  the  legislature  and  a  high  class  of  gentry  were  to  be 
met  with  in  rooms  open  to  "  the  town."  It  was  patronized  for  many  years  by  the  family  at  Holland 
House,  and  Moore,  in  his  Diary,  alludes  to  it.  It  was  much  frequenred  by  members  of  tin  London 
Clubs.  Among  them  was  "  Vesey  junior"  (Lord  Eldon's  Law  Reporter),  who  preserved  his  forensic 
name  to  his  eightieth  year.  Flaxman,  the  sculptor,  was  fond  of  retiring  thither,  and  always  dined  in 
one  of  the  small  rooms  looking  over  the  gardens  ;  and  it  was  there  also  that  "the  Doctor"  (William 
Jlaginn)  was  to  be  found  in  his  best  conversational  mood. — Press  Neicspaper. 

At  Gore  House,  Kensington  Gore,  Mr.  Wilberforce  resided  from  1808  to  1821. 
He  writes  : — "  We  are  just  one  mile  from  the  turnpike  at  Hyde  Park  Corner,  having 
about  three  acres  of  pleasure-ground  around  our  house,  or  rather  behind  it;  and  several 
old  trees,  walnut  and  mulberry,  of  thick  foliage.  I  can  sit  and  read  under  their  shade 
with  as  much  admiration  of  the  beauties  of  nature"  as  if  1  were  200  miles  from  the 
great   city."     Thither  came  Clarkson,  Zachary  Macaulay,  Komilly,  and   others,  to 


KENSINGTON,  BROMPTON,  AND  KNIGHTSBRIBGE.      489 

commune  with  Wilherforce  on  measures  for  the  aholition  of  slavery.  He  often  alludes 
to  liis  "  Kensington  Gore  breakfasts."  He  was  much  attached  to  the  place,  hut  its 
costliness  made  him  uneasy  lest  it  should  compel  him  to  curtail  his  charities.  The 
Countess  of  Blessington  resided  at  Gore  House  for  the  same  period  as  Mr.  Wilherforce 
— thirteen  years.  In  her  time  the  place  retained  much  of  its  picturesqueness,  of 
which  there  is  an  interesting  memorial — a  large  view  in  the  grounds,  with  portraits 
of  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  Lady  Blessington,  and  other  celebrities,  including  Count 
D'Orsay,  the  painter  of  the  picture.  Lady  Blessington's  Curiosities  were  sold  here  in 
18 19.  The  house  was  opened  by  Soyer  as  a  restaurant  ("  Symposium  ")  during  the 
Exhibition  of  1851.  In  the  Temple  Bar  Magazine,  Mr.  Sala  has  described,  in  his 
very  clever  manner,  what  he  saw  and  thought,  whilst  for  "  many  moons  he  slept,  and 
ate,  and  drank,  and  walked,  and  talked,  in  Gore  House,  surrounded  by  the  very 
strangest  of  company."  In  1852,  the  Gore  House  estate,  twenty-one  and  a  half  acres, 
was  purchased  for  60,000?.,  and  the  Baron  de  Villars's  estate,  adjoining,  forty-eight 
seres,  fronting  the  Brompton-road,  was  bought  for  153,500?.,  by  the  Commissioners  of 
the  Great  Exhibition  of  1851. 

The  yellow  gravel  of  Hyde  Park  and  Kensington,  so  often  found  covering  the  London  clay,  is,  com- 
paratively speaking,  of  very  modern  date,  and  consists  of  slightly  rolled,  and,  for  the  most  part,  angular 
fragments,  in  which  portions  of  the  white  opaque  coating  of  the  original  chalk-flint  remain  uncovered. 
—8kr  Charles  Lyell,  F.  6.S. 

The  eastern  extremity  of  the  Gore,  now  the  site  of  Ennismore  Gardens,  is  the 
highest  point  of  ground  between  Hyde  Park-corner  and  Windsor  Castle.  (Faulkner's 
Kensington.)  Kingston,  next  Ennismore,  and  now  Listowel,  House,  was  the  residence 
of  the  Duchess  of  Kingston,  "  the  notified  Bet  Cheatley,  Duchess  of  Kuightsbridge," 
who  died  here  in  1788.  Here  in  1842  died  the  Marquis  Wellesley ;  in  the  corridor 
is  a  large  window,  a  garden-scene,  painted  by  John  Martin  when  he  was  a  pupil  of 
Muss.  At  Old  Brompton,  upon  the  site  of  the  Florida  Tea  Gardens,  was  Orford 
Lodge,  built  for  the  Duchess  of  Gloucester,  and  subsequently  tenanted  by  the  Princess 
Sophia  of  Gloucester,  and  the  Bight  Hon.  George  Canning,  who  was  here  visited 
by  Queen  Caroline.  The  house  was  afterwards  called  "  Gloucester  Lodge,"  and  was 
taken  down  in  1852.  Here  also  was  Hale  or  "  Cromwell "  House  taken  down  in 
1853,  The  large  space  of  ground  between  the  Kensington  and  Brompton  roads  in- 
cluded the  Brompton  Park  nursery  j  and  here  (in  1853)  were  remains  of  the  wall  of 
Brompton  Park.  Brompton  Hall,  mostly  modern,  has  a  noble  Elizabethan  room, 
wherein  Lord  Burghley  is  said  to  have  received  Queen  Elizabeth.  In  the  hamlet  of 
Earl's  Court,  about  1761,  John  Hunter,  the  eminent  surgeon,  built  a  house,  in  which 
he  lived  for  nearly  thirty  years.  The  house  and  grounds  (where  Baird  was  "  surprised 
to  find  so  many  living  animals  in  one  herd  from  the  most  opposite  parts  of  the 
habitable  globe  ")  remain  to  this  day. 

South  Kensington  is  the  district  lying  south  of  the  main  Kensington-road,  the 
nucleus  being  the  Gore  House  estate  above  mentioned ;  added  to  which  were  Gray's 
Nursery  Grounds,  Park  House,  Grove  House,  and  various  market-gardens ;  the  grounds 
of  Cromwell  House  and  other  lands  belonging  to  the  Earl  of  Harrington  and  the  Baron 
de  Villars,  in  all  eighty-six  acres,  for  280,000?.,  at  an  average  of  3250Z.  an  acre.  Old 
footpaths,  &c.,  were  stopped,  and  houses  removed,  and  nearly  two  miles  of  new  road- 
way formed  the  chief  lines  surrounding  the  best  part  of  the  Estate — namely,  the 
Cromwell-road,  the  Exhibition-road,  and  the  Prince  Albert-road,  forming  with  the 
main  Kensington-road,  four  sides  of  a  square.  Thereon  is  now  in  progress  of  erection, 
"  the  South  Kensington  Museum,"  to  be  described  under  Museums.  About  twelve 
acres  have  been  let  on  building  leases,  and  are  covered  with  lines  of  lofty  and  handsome 
houses,  the  Commissioners  nearly  doubling  their  original  capital  by  the  above  specula- 
tion. They  next  let  the  upper  part  of  the  great  centre  square,  about  twenty-two 
acres,  to  the  Horticultural  Society.  {See  Gabuens,  p.  370).  Next  was  erected,  south 
of  the  Horticultural  Society's  Gardens,  the  buildings  for  the  International  Exhibition 
of  the  year  1862. 

The  main  building,  designed  by  Captain  Fowke,  R.E.,  occupied  about  sixteen  acres  of  ground :  it 
measured  about  1200  feel  from  east  to  west,  by  560  feet  from  north  to  south.  The  whole  of  this  ground 
was  covered  by  buildings  of  brick,  iron,  and  glass ;  and  two  long  strips  of  ground,  east  and  west,  were 


490  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

roofed  in  by  the  temporary  sheds,  or  annexh,  in  which  were  shown  machinery,  and  large  and  heavy 
objects,  this  additional  area  extending  to  seven  acres.  The  interior  space,  covered  by  roofs  of  various 
heights,  was  divided  into  nave,  transepts,  aisles,  and  open  courts ;  the  latter  were  roofed  with  glass,  but 
the  other  parts  had  opaque  roofs,  and  were  lighted  by  clerestory  windows.  The  south  front,  in  Cromwell- 
road,  1150  feet  long,  and  55  feet  high,  was  of  brick,  had  two  projecting  towers  at  each  end,  and  a  larger 
centre  tower,  in  which  was  the  main  entrance  to  the  Picture  Galleries,  being  about  as  long  as  the  Gallery 
of  the  Louvre,  in  Paris.  In  the  east  and  west  fronts  rose  a  dome  to  a  height  of  260  feet.  Under  each 
noble  arched  recess  was  the  entrance  to  the  Industrial  Courts,  and  in  each  tympan  was  a  great  rose- 
window.  At  the  extreme  north  and  south  were  two  auxiliary  Picture  Galleries.  The  only  portions  of 
the  building  which  resembled  the  Crystal  Palace  of  1851,  were  the  six  courts  north  and  south  of  the 
nave ;  they  had  glass  roofs  on  the  ridge-and- valley  plan,  supported  by  square  iron  columns  and  wrought- 
iron  trellis-girders.  Each  dome  was  at  the  intersection  of  the  nave  and  transepts,  and  was  of  glass, 
with  an  outer  and  inner  gallery.  The  interior  was  variously  coloured,  and  relieved  with  gold,  medal- 
lions and  inscriptions ;  the  decorations  beneath  the  dome  were  grand,  harmonious,  and  rich;  and  the 
view  beneath  the  nave,  800  feet  in  length,  remarkably  effective.  The  Exhibition,  based  upon  that  of 
1851,  embraced  thirty-six  classes,  besides  those  of  the  Fine  Arts.  It  was  opened  with  befitting  cere- 
mony, May  1, 1862,  by  the  Duke  of  Cambridge,  by  command  of  the  Queen,  whose  absence — through 
the  death  of  the  great  originator,  Prince  Albert— greatly  dimmed  the  state  pageant.  About  22,000  ex- 
hibitors were  here  represented,  of  whom  about  17,000  were  subjects  of  Her  Majesty,  and  5000  of  foreign 
States.  The  absence  of  artistic  treatment  in  the  plan  of  the  building,  the  general  elevation,  and  the 
exterior  ornamental  details,  were  very  objectionable.  Still,  under  many  depressing  influences,  the 
Exhibition  proved  numerically  and  practically  a  success ;  the  manufactures  of  the  United  Kingdom 
showed  not  merely  a  gratifying  advance  upon  those  of  1851,  but  a  still  greater  improvement  as  com- 
pared with  those  of  other  countries ;  commercially,  the  exhibitors  largely  benefited  by  the  sale  of 
works  of  industrial  and  fine  art,  home  and  foreign.  A  compact  account  of  the  International  Exhibition, 
1862,  will  be  found  in  the  extra  volume  of  the  Year-book  of  Facts,  pp.  362. 

In  the  construction  of  the  building  4000  persons  were  employed ;  the  buildings  were  insured  for 
400,000/.,  at  a  cost  of  3300J. ;  the  prizes  to  exhibitors  were  declared  July  11 ;  the  Exhibition  was  closed 
Nov.  1 ;  Great  Exhibition  Memorial  to  Prince  Albert,  inaugurated  June  10",  1863.  The  buildings  have  since 
been  taken  down,  except  the  Picture  Galleries,  in  which  has  been  held  the  National  Portrait  Exhibition. 

Beompton  has  long  been  frequented  by  invalids  for  its  genial  air.  (See  Con- 
sumption Hospital,  p.  43,  and  Holt  Trinity  Church,  p.  208.)  At  No.  7, 
Amelia-place,  died,  in  1817,  the  Right  Hon.  J.  P.  Curran.  In  Brompton-square,  at 
No.  13,  died  Charles  Incledon,  the  singer,  1826 ;  and  in  the  same  year,  at  No.  22, 
George  Colman  the  younger.  At  the  Grange,  taken  down  in  1842,  lived  Braham, 
the  singer.  At  No.  45,  Brompton-row,  Count  Rumford,  the  heat-philosopher ;  Rev.  W. 
Beloe,  the  "  Sexagenarian  ;"  and  Sir  Richard  Phillips,  when  writing  his  Million  of 
Facts.  At  No.  14,  Queen's-row,  Arthur  Murphy  died  in  1805,  aged  77.  The 
National  School-house  attached  to  Brompton  Church  was  built  in  1841,  in  the  Tudor 
style,  by  George  Godwin,  F.R.S.,  architect.  Brompton  was  once  famous  for  its 
taverns  j  southward,  among  "  the  Groves,"  were  the  Hoop  and  Toy,  the  Florida,  and 
other  tea-gardens ;  at  Old  Brompton  there  remains  the  Swan,  with  its  bowling-green. 
In  a  retired  and  well-appointed  house,  eastward,  Mademoiselle  Jenny  Lind  resided, 
during  the  zenith  of  her  well-earned  fame  as  a  songstress. 

Knightsbetdge,  or  Kingsbridge,  which  is  the  more  ancient  name  is  doubtful.  In 
a  charter  of  Edward  the  Confessor,  the  wood  at  Kyngesbyrig  is  referred  to.  In  a 
charter,  not  royal,  namely  one  of  Abbot  Herbert,  of  Westminster,  less  than  a  century 
thereafter,  occurs  the  name  of  Knyghtsbrigg.  In  Domesday  it  formed  part  of  three 
manors — Neyte,  Hyde  (whence  the  name  of  Hyde  Park),  and  Eybury,  now  spelt 
Ebury,  which  came  by  marriage  to  the  Grosvenor  family,  and  has  been  chosen  as  a 
title  by  one  of  its  members.  There  is  a  tradition  as  to  "  Knightsbridge,"  namely, 
that  two  knights,  on  the  way  to  Fulham,  to  be  blessed  by  the  Bishop  of  London, 
quarrelled  and  fought  at  the  Westbourn  Bridge,  and  killed  each  other  on  the  spot.  A 
commentator  of  Norden,  the  topographer,  too,  gives  the  following  anecdote  :  "  Kinges- 
bridge,  commonly  called  Stonebridge,  near  Hyde  Park-corner,  where  I  wish  no  true 
man  to  walk  too  late  without  good  guard,  as  did  Sir  H.  Knyvett,  knight,  who  valiantly 
defended  liimself,  there  being  assaulted,  and  slew  the  master-thief  with  his  own 
hands."  Still,  we  have  the  fact  that  the  place  was  called  "  Knyghtsbrigg "  in  a 
formal  charter  (that  of  Abbot  Herbert),  long  before  the  time  to  which  either  of  these 
traditions  could  apply. 

The  bridge  whence  the  place  partly  derived  its  name  was  one  thrown  across  the  Westbourn,  which, 
rising  at  West-End  in  Hampstead,  and  giving  its  name  to  a  district  of  Bayswater,  flowed  through  the 
(artificially  widened)  Serpentine  to  the  Thames.  Its  course  may  yet  be  traced  on  any  map  of  London 
by  the  irregularities  it  has  caused  in  laying  out  Belgravia.  Part  of  it  was  an  open  brook  so  lately  as 
185-1,  but  it  is  now  wholly  covered  in ;  and  is,  we  need  not  say,  a  common  sewer,  like  the  Oldbourne  or 
the  Fleet.  Pont-street,  which  opens  Belgravia  to  Sloane-street,  must  derive  its  name  from  the  fact 
that  it  was  at  one  time  one  of  the  few  bridges  over  the  Westbourne.    This  brook  used  formerly  to  over- 


KNIGHT 8BEIBGE.  491 


flow  after  heavy  rains.    One  such  flood  is  remembered  in  1S09,  when  for  several  days  passengers  had  to 
be  rowed  from  Chelsea  to  Westminster  by  the  Thames  boatmen. 

The  Knightsbridge  road  was  infested  by  footpads,  so  that  even  so  late  as  1799  a 
party  of  light  horse  patrolled  nightly  from  Hyde  Park-corner  to  Kensington ;  and  it  is 
within  the  memory  of  some  still  alive  that  pedestrians  walked  to  and  from  Kensington 
in  bands  sufficient  to  ensure  mutual  protection,  starting  at  known  intervals,  when  a 
bell  was  rung  to  announce  the  proper  time.  It  was  not  even  safe  to  sojourn  at  the 
change-houses  or  inns  which  stood  by  the  way,  for  these  were  the  haunts  of  the  high- 
waymen. The  water  supply  of  the  hamlet  was  anciently  by  means  of  springs  and 
wells,  which  were  very  numerous,  pure,  and  valuable.  Donbtless,  the  Westbourn  was 
also  of  great  use  to  the  inhabitants.  In  the  beginning  of  the  eighteenth  century,  a 
conduit  was  formed  within  Hyde  Park,  by  permission  of  the  Crown,  for  the  supply  of 
Park-side ;  and  in  the  fields  on  each  side  of  Rotten-row  there  was  a  row  of  conduits, 
the  waters  of  which  were  received  by  one  at  the  end  of  Park-side,  known  as  St.  James's 
or  the  Receiving  Conduit :  these  supplied  the  royal  residences  and  the  Abbey.  A 
spring  in  Hyde  Park,  in  the  time  of  James  I.,  was  allowed  to  supply  the  Lazar-house 
(now  Trinity  Chapel,  described  at  p.  216)  by  "  a  pipe  of  lead  bringinge  the  sayde 
springe  of  water  to  the  sayde  house." — Builder. 

West  of  St.  George's  Hospital,  at  No.  14,  John  Liston,  the  comedian,  lived  several  years,  and  here 
he  died,  March  22, 18  46.  Liston  was  born  in  Norris-street,  Haymarket,  in  1776,  and  was  educated  in 
Archbishop  Tenison's  school :  he  first  appeared  on  the  stage,  at  the  Haymarket  Theatre,  in  1805;  and 
retired  at  the  Olympic  Theatre  in  1837 :  he  died  worth  40,(KKM. 

In  1842,  opposite  the  Conduit  in  Hyde  Park,  was  built  the  St.  George's  Gallery, 
for  the  exhibition  of  Mr.  Dunn's  Chinese  Collection;  subsequently  occupied  by  Mr. 
Gordon  Cumming's  African  Exhibition,  and  Bartlett  and  Beverley's  Diorama  of  the 
Holy  Land.     The  Gallery  was  then  taken  down. 

The  original  entrance  was  copied  from  a  Chinese  summer-house,  inscribed  "  Ten  thousand  Chinese 
things."  This  Collection,  formed  by  Mr.  Nathaniel  Dunn,  in  twelve  years,  and  first  exhibited  in  Phila- 
delphia, consisted  of  a  vast  assemblage  from  China  of  its  idols,  temples,  pagodas,  and  bridges;  arts  and 
sciences,  manufactures  and  trades;  parlours  and  drawing-rooms;  clothes,  finery,  and  ornaments; 
weapons  of  war,  vessels,  dwellings,  &c.  Here  were  life-size  groups  of  a  temple  of  idols,  a  council  of 
mandarins,  and  Chinese  priests,  soldiers,  men  of  letters,  ladies  of  rank,  tragedians,  barbers,  shoemakers, 
blacksmiths,  boat-women,  servants,  &c,  amidst  set  scenes  and  furnished  dwellings.  Here  was  a  two- 
storied  house  from  Canton,  besides  shops  from  its  streets ;  here  were  persons  of  rank  in  sumptuous 
costumes,  artisans  in  their  working-clothes,  and  altogether  such  a  picture  of  Chinese  social  life  as  the 
European  world  had  never  before  seen.  Part  of  the  collection  was  subsequently  .exhibited  in  1851,  in  a 
gay  pavilion  built  for  the  occasion  west  of  Albert  Gate;  the  site  of  which  is  now  occupied  by  a  band- 
some  five-storied  mansion. 

Westward  is  Albert-gate,  Hyde  Park,  opened  1846  :  the  stags  upon  the  piers  were 
formerly  at  the  Ranger's  Lodge,  Green  Park,  and  were  modelled  from  a  pair  of  prints 
by  Bartolozzi.  The  ground,  with  the  site  of  the  large  and  lofty  houses  east  and  west, 
was  purchased  by  the  Crown  from  the  Dean  and  Chapter  of  Westminster,  when  the 
Cannon  Brewery  was  removed :  the  house  east  was  bought  for  15,000£.  by  Mr.  Hudson, 
then  "  the  Railway  King."     It  is  now  the  residence  of  the  French  Embassy. 

Knightsbridge  Green  is  identified  as  the  burial-pit  of  the  victims  of  the  plague  in 
the  lazar-house  and  the  hamlet  generally.  On  the  Green  was  erected,  in  1864,  the 
New  Tattersall's  removed  from  "  the  Corner,"  for  the  increased  accommodation  and 
comfort  of  the  Jockey  Club,  its  subscribers,  and  the  general  public. 

The  plot  of  ground  upon  which  it  stands  is  nearly  two  acres  in  extent.  It  is  approached  from  the 
east  by  Knightsbridge-green,  and  the  fagade  consists  of  two  square  wing-blooks,  divided  by  a  pedimented 
gateway,  carved,  and  two  side  entrances.  The  subscription-room  is  a  saloon  60  ft.  by  30  ft.,  with  a 
clear  height  of  26  ft.  6  in. :  lighted  by  day  by  two  large  domes  18  ft.  high,  covered  with  lunettes. 
A  third  dome  is  in  the  centre  of  the  ceiling,  in  which  an  enormous  sun-burner  is  placed  by  night. 
These  domes  are  bordered  by  a  beautiful  guillocke  pattern,  and  enriched  with  coloured  devices.  The 
walls  are  decorated  in  the  same  pattern.  The  spacious  floor  is  paved,  in  a  tasteful  geometric  pattern. 
A  raised  dais,  about  6  in.  in  height,  surrounds  this  apartment.  It  is  skirted  and  edged  with  marble. 
Under  each  of  the  two  extreme  domes  a  large  octagon  slab  of  marble  supports  the  desks  used  for  re- 
cording wagers  or  writing  letters.  At  the  south-west  corner  is  an  area  of  about  70  ft.  by  40  ft.  for  open- 
air  betting,  with  a  telegraph  office.  The  grand  or  central  entrance  leads  into  the  principal  public  yard, 
appropriated  to  sales  by  auction.  In  the  centre  of  this  area  is  the  old  and  familiar  temple  of  the  other 
premises  at  Hyde  Park-corner,  covering  the  aqueduct  with  its  fox  and  the  bust  of  George  IV.  when  in 
early  life ;  and  in  the  north-west  corner,  is  the  well-known  pulpit  of  the  auctioneer.  The  whole  yard  is 
covered  by  a  gigantic  roof  of  Hartley's  patent  glass. 

At  Rutland  Gate  (on  the  site  of  a  mansion  of  the  Dukes  of  Rutland)  is  the  house  where  John  Sheep- 
shanks, Ksq.,  formed  his  collection  of  228  pictures  (with  two  exceptions),  by  modern  British  artists: 
including  6  works  by  A.  Callcott,  B.A. ;  W.  Collins,  R.A.,  7;  John  Constable,  R.A.,  5;  C.  W.  Cope, 


492  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

B.A.,  7;  W.  Etty,  R.A.,  2;  Edwin  Landseer,  R.A.,  9;  C.  Leslie,  R.A.,  9  ;  W.  Mulready,  R.A.,  15;  W.  Red- 
prave,  R.A.,  6;  C.  Stanfield,  R.A.,  3;  J.  M.  W.  Turner,  R.A.,  5;  T.  Uwins,  R.A.,  4;  T.  Webster,  R.A.,  5. 
The  collection  was  bequeathed  by  Mr.  Sheepshanks  to  the  National  Gallery. 

In  High-road,  between  the  Green  and  Rutland-gate,  are  the  oldest  houses  in  the 
hamlet.  Chatham  House  is  dated  1688.  Three  doors  heyond  it  is  The  Rose  and  Crown 
inn,  formerly  Oliver  Cromwell,  the  front  of  which  is  emblazoned  with  the  great  Pro- 
tector's arms.  There  is  a  tradition  that  his  body-guard  was  once  quartered  here ;  as  well 
as  of  its  having  sheltered  Wyat,  while  his  unfortunate  Kentish  followers  rioted  on  the 
adjacent  green.  At  the  corner  of  South-place  is  the  Phoenix  Floorcloth  Manufactory,  the 
earliest  established,  founded  by  Nathan  Smith,  1754 ;  burnt  down  1794 ;  rebuilt  182 1 : 
at  the  north  end  is  a  clock,  with  a  figure  of  Time,  cut  in  stone.  At  Kent  House 
resided  for  a  few  years  the  Duke  of  Kent,  who  largely  added  to  the  original  house. 
Stratheden  House  was  the  town  residence  of  Lord  Campbell  and  Lady  Stratheden : 
Lord  Campbell  died  here,  June  23,  1861,  aged  eighty-one :  the  first  volume  of  his  Lives 
of  the  Chancellors  is  dated  from  this  house. 

In  Sigh-row  stood  the  noted  Fox  and  Bull  Tavern,  of  the  time  of  Queen  Elizabeth, 
and  noted  for  its  gay  company  to  our  time.  The  house  is  referred  to  in  the  Tatler, 
No.  259.  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds,  Sir  W.  Wynn,  the  patron  of  Ryland,  and  George 
Morland,  were  visitors  here  j  and  Sir  Joshua  painted  the  sign,  which  hung  till  1807, 
when  it  was  destroyed  in  a  storm.  The  Elizabethan  house  was  panelled  and  carved 
and  had  enriched  ceilings ;  and  its  immense  fire-dogs  were  not  disused  till  1799.  In  a 
house  westward  lived  Lady  Anne  Hamilton ;  then  Mr.  Chalon  and  Mr.  Davies,  both 
artists  of  repute  ;  and  next  Mr.  White  the  naturalist,  who  had  here  a  menagerie.  Mr. 
Woodburn,  the  connoisseur  in  ancient  art,  once  lived  here;  and  the  staircases  still  bear 
evidence  of  the  artistic  tenancy. 

Ozias  Humphry,  R.A.,  resided  many  years  at  Knightsbridge  ;  he  died  at  13,  High- 
row,  in  1810.  At  the  west  end  of  the  row  is  the  Horse  Guards'  Barracks,  built  in 
1795,  and  capable  of  accommodating  600  men  and  500  horses.  Bensley,  the  actor, 
who  in  early  life  had  been  in  the  army,  was  appointed  barrack-master,  which  appoint- 
ment he  held  till  his  death,  in  1817.  Hard  by  are  the  stables  built  for  the  Duke  of 
Wellington :  Hardwick,  architect.  In  Park-row  resided,  about  1828,  Olive,  the  soi- 
disant  Princess  of  Cumberland,  and  next  door,  Sir  Richard  Phillips.  (Abridged  chiefly 
from  Davis's  Memorials  of  Knightsbridge,  1859.) 

Lowndes-square  occupies  the  site  of  a  famous  place  of  amusement — Spring  Gardens, 
so  called  after  the  still  more  celebrated  Spring  Gardens  at  Charing-cross :  the 
World's  End,  at  Knightsbridge,  mentioned  by  Pepys  and  Congreve,  is  supposed  to 
have  been  a  synonym  of  this  fashionable  house  of  entertainment.  The  building  itself 
survived  till  1826.  There  was  another  famous  place  of  entertainment  in  the  same 
neighbourhood,  called  Jenny's  Whim.  Its  site  is  now  occupied  by  St.  George's-row, 
near  the  Chelsea  Water- works;  and  the  house,  distinguishable  by  its  red-brick  and  lat- 
tice-work, was  not  removed  until  November,  1865.  Angelo  says  it  was  established  by 
a  firework -maker,  in  the  reign  of  George  I. ;  here  were  a  large  breakfast-room,  bowling- 
green,  alcoves,  and  arbours ;  a  fish-pond,  a  cock -pit,  and  duck-hunting  pond ;  a  grotto, 
and  a  decanter  of  Dorchester  for  sixpence ;  a  large  garden  with  amusing  spring 
deceptions ;  and  a  piece  of  water  with  large  fish  or  mermaids. 

Knightsbridge-grove,  approached  through  a  stately  avenue  of  trees  from  the  road, 
was  a  sporting  house,  where  the  notorious  Mrs.  Cornelyus  endeavoured  to  retrieve  her 
fortunes  after  her  failure  at  Carlisle  House ;  but  she  again  failed  in  1785.  Ten  years 
after,  she  reappeared  at  Knightsbridge  as  Mrs.  Smith,  a  retailer  of  asses' -milk,  in  a 
suite  of  breakfast-rooms — but  in  vain. 

The  existence  of  Belgravia  only  dates  from  1825.  Before  that,  the  district  was  a 
marshy  tract,  bounded  by  mud-banks,  and  partly  occupied  by  market- gardens.  The 
sites  of  Belgrave  and  Grosvenor  Squares  were  nursery-grounds.  Grosvenor  Bridge, 
where  the  King's-road  crosses  the  VVestbourne,  was  not  built  till  the  time  of  Charles  II. ; 
and  it  was  long  called  Bloody  Bridge,  from  the  number  of  murderous  robberies  there 
committed.  It  is  curious  that  the  whole  of  this  district  was  built  over,  not  gradually, 
but  in  two  distinct  movements — one  from  1770  to  1780,  and  the  other,  after  a  pause 
of  nearly  fifty  years,  beginning  in  1825,  and  still  in  operation. 


KENSINGTON  GARDENS.  493 


KENSINGTON  GARDENS. 

THESE  delightful  gardens,  which,  in  our  time,  included  an  area  of  ahove  350  acres, 
did  not,  when  purchased  by  William  III.,  soon  after  his  accession,  exceed  26  acres, 
which  he  added  to  Hyde  Park.  In  1691  they  were  described  by  the  Rev.  Dr. 
Hamilton,  to  the  Society  of  Antiquaries,  as  "  not  great,  nor  abounding  with  fine  plants. 
The  orange,  lemon,  myrtle,  and  what  other  trees  they  had  there  in  summer,  were  all 
removed  to  London  or  Mr.  Wise's  greenhouse  at  Brompton  Park,  a  little  mile  from 
there."  Queen  Anne  added  30  acres,  and  planted  the  design  as  we  now  have  it. 
Evelyn  notes :  "  Sept.  2nd,  1701. — I  went  to  Kensington  and  saw  the  houses,  plan- 
tations, and  gardens,  the  work  of  Mr.  Wise,  who  was  there  to  receive  me."  {Diary, 
vol.  ii.  p.  75.)  Bowack,  in  1705,  described  the  gardens  as  "beautified  with  all  the 
elegances  of  art  (statues  and  fountains  excepted).  There  is  a  noble  collection  of 
foreign  plants,  and  fine  neat  greens,  which  makes  it  pleasant  all  the  year ;  the  whole, 
with  the  house,  not  being  above  26  acres.  Her  Majesty  has  pleased  lately  to  plant 
near  30  acres  more  towards  the  north,  separated  from  the  rest  only  by  a  stately  green- 
house, not  yet  finished."  Thus,  previous  to  1705,  Kensington  Gardens  did  not  extend 
farther  north  than  the  conservatory;  and  the  eastern  boundary  was  nearly  in  the  fine 
of  the  broad  walk  which  crosses  before  the  east  front  of  the  palace.  The  kitchen 
gardens,  which  formerly  extended  northward  towards  the  gravel-pits,  and  the  30  acres 
north  of  the  conservatory,  added  by  Queen  Anne  to  the  pleasure-gardens,  may  have 
been  the  55  acres  "detached  and  severed  from  the  park,  lying  in  the  north-west 
corner  thereof,"  granted  in  the  16th  of  Charles  II.  to  Hamilton,  Ranger  of  the  Park, 
and  Birch,  Auditor  of  Excise ;  the  same  to  be  walled  and  planted  with  "  pippins  and 
red-streaks,"  on  condition  of  their  furnishing  apples  or  cider  for  the  King's  use.  At 
the  end  of  the  avenue  leading  from  the  south  front  of  the  palace  to  the  wall  on  the 
Kensington-road,  is  a  large  and  lofty  architectural  alcove,  built  by  Queen  Anne's 
orders ;  so  that  Kensington  Palace,  in  her  reign,  seems  to  have  stood  in  the  midst  of 
fruit  and  pleasure  gardens,  between  the  Kensington  and  Uxbridge  roads.  Addison,  in 
the  Spectator,  No  477,  dignifies  Wise  and  London  as  the  heroic  poets  of  gardening, 
and  is  enraptured  with  their  treatment  of  the  upper  garden  at  Kensington,  which  was 
at  first  nothing  but  a  gravel-pit ;  the  hollow  basin  and  its  little  plantations,  and  a 
circular  mount  of  trees,  as  if  scooped  out  of  the  hollow,  greatly  delighting  the  essayist. 
Tickell  opens  his  elegant  eclogue  with  the  oft-quoted  glance  at  the  morning  promenade 
of  his  day;  where— 

"  The  dames  of  Britain  oft  in  crowds  repair 

To  gravel  walks  and  unpolluted  air : 

Here,  while  the  town  in  damps  and  darkness  lies, 

They  breathe  in  sunshine,  and  see  azure  skies ; 

Each  walks  with  robes  of  various  dyes  bespread, 

Seems  from  afar  a  moving  tulip-bed, 

Where  rich  brocades  and  glossy  damasks  glow, 

And  chintz,  the  rival  of  the  showery  bow." 

Queen  Anne's  Banqueting-house,  north  of  the  palace,  completed  in  1705,  is  a  fine 
specimen  of  brickwork:  the  south  front  has  rusticated  columns  supporting  a  Doric 
pediment,  and  the  ends  have  semicircular  recesses.  The  interior,  decorated  with 
Corinthian  columns,  was  fitted  up  as  a  drawing-room,  music-room,  and  ball-room ;  and 
thither  the  Queen  was  conveyed  in  her  chair  from  the  western  end  of  the  palace. 
Here  were  given  full-dress  fetes  a  la  Watteau,  with  a  profusion  of  "brocaded  robes, 
hoops,  fly-caps,  and  fans,"  songs  by  the  court  lyrist,  &c.  But  when  the  Court  left 
Kensington,  Queen  Anne's  building  was  converted  into  an  orangery  and  greenhouse. 
(See  Palaces.) 

Caroline,  queen  of  George  II.,  formed  the  Serpentine,  dividing  the  Palace  grounds 
from  the  open  Hyde  Park  by  a  sunken  fosse  and  wall,  thus  adding  300  acres  to  the 
gardens  or  private  grounds;  the  ha  ha,  now  extending  from  the  Bayswater-road  to  the 
powder  magazine,  remaining  identically  as  it  was  then  formed.  With  the  soil  dug 
was  raised  a  mount  to  the  south-east,  with  a  revolving  prospect-house.  The  Gardens 
were  planted  and  laid  out  by  Bridgeman,  who  banished  verdant  sculpture,  but  adhered 
to  straight  walks  and  clipped  hedge,  varied  with  a  wilderness  and  open  groves. 


494  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. ^__ 

A  plan  of  1762  shows  the  formal  Dutch  style  on  the  north  of  the  palace.  On  the 
north-east,  a  fosse  and  low  wall  reaching  from  the  Uxbridge-road  to  the  Serpentine  at 
once  shut  in  the  Gardens,  and  conducted  the  eye  along  their  central  vista,  over  the 
Serpentine  (formed  between  1730  and  1733),  to  its  extremity ;  and  across  the  Park  to 
the  east  of  Queen  Anne's  gardens,  immediately  in  front  of  the  palace,  a  reservoir  was 
formed  into  "  the  round  pond ;"  thence  long  vistas  were  carried  through  the  wood  that 
encircled  it,  to  the  head  of  the  Serpentine,  to  the  fosse  and  Bridgeman's  ha-ha  wall, 
affording  a  view  of  the  Park ;  and  to  the  mount  already  mentioned,  which,  with  its 
evergreens  and  temple,  has  disappeared  within  recollection.  Bridgeman,  "  Surveyor  of 
the  Royal  Gardens,"  died  in  1738 ;  and  was  succeeded  by  Samuel  Milward  and  John 
Kent.  Kensington  Gardens  long  maintained  its  rural  character ;  for,  in  a  minute  of 
the  Board  of  Green  Cloth,  1798,  we  read  of  a  pension  granted  to  a  widow,  whose  hus- 
band was  accidentally  shot  while  the  keepers  were  hunting  foxes  in  Kensington 
Gardens. 

After  King  William  took  up  his  abode  in  the  palace,  a  court  end  of  the  town 
gathered  round  it.  The  large  gardens  laid  out  by  Queen  Caroline  were  opened  to  the 
public  on  Saturdays,  when  the  King  and  Court  went  to  Richmond;  all  visitors  were 
then  required  to  appear  in  full-dress.  When  the  Court  ceased  to  reside  at  Kensington, 
the  Gardens  were  thrown  open  in  the  spring  and  summer ;  and  next  open  throughout 
the  year,  as  at  present.  On  stated  days  in  the  London  season,  military  bands  per- 
form. Here  is  a  refreshment-room :  "  Gentlemen  are  requested  not  to  smoke  in  the 
vicinity  of  the  music  platform  and  refreshment  room,  as  much  complaint  has  been 
made  by  visitors  to  the  gardens  in  consequence  of  this  practice. — Office  of  Works, 
August  20,  1855." 

Of  late  years  Kensington  Gardens  have  been  greatly  improved  by  drainage,  re-laying 
out,  and  the  removal  of  walls  and  substitution  of  open  iron  railing.  Viewed  from 
near  the  palace,  eastward  are  three  avenues  through  dense  masses  of  ancient  trees. 
Immediately  in  front  of  the  palace  is  a  quaintly-designed  flower-garden,  between 
which  and  Kensington  are  some  stately  old  elm-trees.  The  broad  walk,  50  feet  in 
breadth,  was  once  the  fashionable  promenade.  On  the  southern  margin  of  the  Gar- 
dens is  a  walk,  bordered  by  the  newer  and  rarer  kind  of  shrubs,  each  labelled  with  its 
Latin  and  English  name,  and  its  country.  The  most  picturesque  portion  of  the  Gar- 
dens, however,  is  at  the  entrance  from  near  the  bridge  over  the  Serpentine,  where  is  a 
delightful  walk  east  of  the  water,  beneath  some  noble  old  Spanish  chestnut-trees.  The 
elegant  stone  bridge  across  the  west  end  of  the  Serpentine  was  designed  by  Sir  John 
Rennie  in  1826,  and  cost  36,500^.  A  pair  of  magnificent  Coalbrook-dale  iron  gates  // 
(from  the  Great  Exhibition  of  1851)  has  been  erected  adjoining  the  southern  lodge.       r 

An  unornamented  gate  has  been  opened  in  the  Bayswater-road.  In  1860,  a  ride 
was  formed  in  the  Gardens,  which  had  hitherto  (except  during  the  Exhibition  year 
1851)  been  kept  from  equestrian  intrusion.  In  1861  was  formed  another  ride,  adapted 
only  for  summer,  and  entering  Kensington  Gardens  from  Hyde  Park,  through  the 
gateway  in  the  south-western  arch  of  the  bridge;  proceeding  along  the  edge  of  the 
Serpentine  between  a  bank  of  rhododendrons  and  fine  trees ;  then  through  a  broad 
and  shady  avenue,  and  returning  along  an  open  space  to  the  entrance-gate. 

On  this  side  of  the  Gardens  are  the  Ornamental  Water-works,  completed  in  1861. 
They  consist  of  a  small  Italian  garden,  with  an  engine-house,  48  feet  high,  Italian  in 
style,  and  an  engine  to  pump  the  water  in  to  large  reservoirs,  with  a  jet  in  the  centre 
of  each ;  the  tower  end  separated  from  the  Serpentine  by  a  screen,  with  vases ;  and  in 
the  centre  a  large  octagonal  fountain ;  the  whole  supplying  the  Serpentine.  The 
sculpture  here  is  by  John  Thomas ;  and  the  engineer  of  the  water-works,  Hawksley. 

A  large  portion  on  the  west  side  of  the  Gardens,  including  the  extensive  kitchen- 
gardens  (which  date  from  1738),  pursuant  to  5  Vict.,  c.  1.,  has  been  appropriated  to  a 
fine  public  road  from  Kensington  to  Notting-hill :  here  are  several  handsome  man- 
sions, the  gardens  of  those  on  the  west  side  extending  to  the  old  red-brick  wall  of  the 
Palace  kitchen-gardens,  which  remains.  By  the  formation  of  this  road,  Kensington 
Palace  Gardens,  the  royal  gardens  were  reduced  to  261  acres,  their  present  extent. 
Their  effect  is  not  exhilarating,  but  a  relief  to  the  in-dwellers  of  London. 


KENT-STREET,  SOUTHWABK— KENTISH  TOWN.         495 


KENT-STREET,  SOUTHWARK, 

ORIGINALLY  "  Kentish-street,"  is  a  wretched  and  profligate  part  of  St.  George's 
parish.  In  1633  it  was  described  as  "very  long  and  ill-built,  chiefly  inhabited 
by  broom-men  and  mumpers ;"  and  for  ages  it  has  been  noted  for  its  turners'  shops, 
and  broom  and  heath  yards.  Evelyn  tells  of  one  Burton,  a  broom-man,  and  his 
wife,  who  sold  kitchen-stuff  in  Kent-street,  whom  God  so  blessed  that  Burton  became 
a  very  rich  and  a  very  honest  man,  and  Sheriff  of  Surrey.  At  the  east  end  of  Kent- 
street,  in  1847,  was  unearthed  a  pointed  arched  bridge  of  the  15th  century,  probably 
erected  by  the  monks  of  Bermondsey  Abbey,  lords  of  the  manor.  In  Rocque's  Map, 
1750  (when  the  Kent-road  was  lined  with  hedge-rows),  this  arch,  called  Lock's- bridge, 
from  being  near  the  Lock  Hospital,  carries  the  road  over  a  stream  which  runs  from 
Newington-fields  to  Bermondsey.  Yet,  what  long  lines  of  conquest  and  devotion,  of 
turmoil  and  rebellion,  of  victory,  gorgeous  pageantry,  and  grim  death,  have  poured 
through  this  narrow  inlet  of  old  London!  The  Roman  invader  came  along  the 
rich  marshy  ground  now  supporting  Kent-street  (says  Bagford,  in  a  letter  to  his 
brother-antiquary,  Hearne)  j  thousands  of  pious  and  weary  pilgrims  have  passed  along 
this  causeway  to  St.  Thomas's  of  Canterbury ;  here  the  Black  Prince  rode  with  hi3 
royal  captive  from  Poictiers,  and  the  victor  of  Agincourt  was  carried  in  kingly  state  to 
his  last  earthly  bourne.  By  this  route  Cade  advanced  with  his  20,000  insurgents 
from  Blackheath  to  Southwark ;  and  the  ill-fated  Wyat  marched  to  discomfiture  and 
death.  To  the  formation  of  the  Dover-road,  in  our  time,  Kent-street  continued 
part  of  the  great  way  from  Dover  and  the  Continent  to  the  Metropolis, 

Smollett,  in  his  Travels,  1766,  describes  "the  avenue  to  London  by  the  way  of  Kent-street,  which  is 
a  most  disgraceful  entrance  to  such  an  opulent  city.  A  foreigner,  in  passing  through  this  beggarly 
and  ruinous  suburb,  conceives  such  an  idea  of  misery  and  meanness,  as  all  the  wealth  and  magnificence 
of  London  and  Westminster  are  afterwards  unable  to  destroy.  A  friend  of  mine,  who  brought  a  Parisian 
from  Dover  in  his  own  post-chaise,  contrived  to  enter  Southwark  after  it  was  dark,  that  his  friend 
might  not  perceive  the  nakedness  of  this  quarter." 

KENTISH  TOWN, 

A  HAMLET  of  St.  Pancras,  and  a  prebendal  manor  of  St.  Paul's,  was  formerly 
written  Kaunteloe,  and  is  the  property  of  the  Camden  family.  Here  was  the 
Castle  tavern,  which  had  a  Perpendicular  stone  chimney-piece ;  the  house  was  taken 
down  in  1849  :  close  to  its  southern  wall  was  a  sycamore  planted  by  Lord  Nelson,  when 
a  boy,  at  the  entrance  to  his  uncle's  cottage;  the  tree  was  spared.  Opposite  were 
the  old  Assembly-rooms,  taken  down  in  1852 :  here  was  a  table,  with  an  inscription  by 
an  invalid,  who  recovered  his  health  by  walking  to  this  spot  every  morning  to  take 
his  breakfast  in  front  of  the  house.  Kentish  Town  Chapel,  originally  built  by  Wyatt 
in  1784,  has  been  enlarged  and  altered  to  the  Early  Decorated  style  :  here  is  buried 
Grignon,  the  engraver.  (See  p.  212.)  In  1848,  was  built  here  a  large  Congregational 
Nonconformist  Chapel,  in  ecclesiastical  style.  In  Gospel-terrace  is  the  Roman  Catholic 
Chapel  of  St.  Alexis,  established  1847.  In  1848  were  erected  the  National  Infant  and 
Sunday  Schools,  by  Hakewill,  upon  the  plan  of  the  Committee  of  Privy  Council  on 
Education ;  the  site  is  part  of  an  estate  bequeathed  by  the  witty  divine,  Dr.  South,  to 
Christ  Church,  Oxford.  Near  Highgate  Rise  is  the  Grove,  where  Charles  Mathews 
the  elder  made  his  •  collection  of  paintings,  prints,  and  other  memorials  of  theatrical 
history,  now  at  the  Garrick  Club-house.  Nearly  opposite  (at  the  corner  of  Swain's- 
lane,  leading  to  the  Highgate  and  Kentish  Town  Cemetery — see  p.  82),  was  "a  minia- 
ture Wanstead  House"  (the  design  copied  from  Wanstead  House,  Essex),  the  villa  of 
Mr.  Philip  Hurd,  of  the  Inner  Temple,  who  collected  here  a  costly  library,  including 
the  celebrated  Breviarium  Romanum,  purchased  by  him,  in  1827,  from  Mr.  Dent's 
library,  for  378Z. :  it  consists  of  more  than  500  leaves  of  vellum,  illuminated  by  Flemish 
painters  in  Spain,  of  the  fifteenth  century,  with  miniatures  and  borders  of  flowers,  fruit, 
and  grotesque  figures,  upon  a  gold  ground.  (See  Dibdin's  Bibliographical  Decameron, 
vol.  i.  pp.  163-7.)  The  villa  was  taken  down  in  1851,  and  upon  the  site  are  built 
handsome  houses.      From  the  rear  of  Mr.  Hurd's  house,  some  twenty-five  years  since, 


496  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

not  a  house  could  be  seen,  so  rural  was  this  neighbourhood ;  now  little  can  be  seen  but 
bricks  and  mortar.  The  river  Fleet,  which  runs  in  the  rear  of  the  hamlet,  has  its 
source  from  springs  on  the  south  side  of  the  hill  between  Hampstead  and  Highgate.  In 
July,  1846,  were  sold  27  acres  of  building-ground  in  Gospel-Oak  and  Five- Acre  Fields, 
between  Kentish  Town  and  Hampstead,  for  nearly  400Z.  an  acre.  Beneath  the  Gospel 
Oak  preached  some  of  our  earliest  Reformers,  and  Whitefield  the  Methodist. 

In  the  last  century,  the  road  between  the  metropolis  and  Kentish  Town  was  beset  with  highwaymen. 
In  the  Morning  Chronicle  and  London  Advertiser,  Jan.  9,  1773,  appears :  "  Thursday  night  some  villains 
robbed  the  Kentish  Town  stage,  and  stripped  the  passengers  of  their  money,  watches,  and  buckles. 
In  the  hurry  they  spared  the  pockets  of  Mr.  Corbyn,  the  druggist ;  but  he,  content  to  have  neighbour's 
fare,  called  out  to  one  of  the  rogues,  '  Stop,  friend,  you  have  forgot  to  take  my  money  !'  " — Note*  and 
Queries,  No.  62. 

The  original  "Mother  Bed  Cap,"  Kentish  Town,  was  a  place  of  terror  to  travellers,  and  is  believed 
to  have  been  the  "  Mother  Damnable  "  of  Kentish  Town  in  early  days ;  at  this  house  "  Moll  Cutpurse," 
the  highwayman  of  the  time  of  Oliver  Cromwell,  dismounted  and  frequently  lodged. — Smith's  Book  for 
a  Saint/  Day,  p.  20. 

Camden  Town,  begun  1791,  built  on  the  estate  of  the  Marquis  Camden ;  and  Somers 
Town,  begun  1786,  on  the  estate  of  Earl  Somers — are  also  hamlets  of  Pancras  parish, 
and  both  are  now  united  with  London,  and  are  portions  of  the  metropolis. 

Walpole  writes,  June  8, 1791 :  "  There  will  soon  be  one  street  from  London  to  Brentford ;  ay,  and  from 
London  to  every  village  ten  miles  round !  Lord  Camden  has  just  let  ground  at  Kentish  Town  for 
building  fourteen  hundred  houses — nor  do  I  wonder ;  London  is,  I  am  certain,  much  fuller  than  ever 
I  saw  it.  I  have  twice  this  spring  been  going  to  stop  my  coach  in  Piccadilly,  to  inquire  what  was  the 
matter,  thinking  there  was  a  mob— not  at  all ;  it  was  only  passengers."  . 

KILBURN, 

A  HAMLET  about  two  and  a  half  miles  north-west  from  London,  at  the  south- 
western extremity  of  the  parish  of  Hampstead,  is  named  from  Cold-bourne,  a 
stream  which  rises  near  West  End,  and  passes  through  Kilburn  to  Bayswater ;  and 
after  supplying  the  Serpentine  reservoir  in  Hyde  Park,  flows  into  the  Thames  at 
Hanelagh.  Kilburn  has  its  station  upon  the  London  and  North- Western  Railway.  In 
the  last  century,  the  place  was  famed  for  its  mineral  spring  (Kilburn  Wells),  which 
rises  about  12  feet  below  the  surface,  and  is  enclosed  in  a  brick  reservoir,  the  door-arch 
of  which  bears  on  its  keystone  1714.  The  water  is  more  strongly  impregnated  with 
carbonic  acid  gas  than  any  other  known  spring  in  England.  In  1837  was  taken  down 
a  cottage  at  Kilburn  in  which  Oliver  Goldsmith  had  resided. 

Kilburn  originated  from  Godwyn,  a  hermit,  who,  temp.  Henry  II,  built  a  cell  near  the  little  rivulet 
called  Cuneburna,  Keelebourne,  Coldbourne,  and  Kilbourne,  on  a  site  surrounded  with  wood.  Between 
1128  and  1134,  Godwyn  granted  his  hermitage  and  adjoining  lands  to  the  conventual  church  of  St.  Peter 
at  Westminster,  who  soon  after  assigned  the  property  to  Emma,  Gunilda,  and  Cristina,  maids-of-honour 
to  Maud  (queen  of  Henry  I.),  herself  a  Benedictine  nun;  and  hence  the  cell  of  the  anchorite  became  a 
nunnery;  Godwyn  being  appointed  its  master  or  warden,  and  guardian  of  the  maidens,  for  his  life. 
Certain  estates  were  granted  to  the  nuns  in  South wark  and  Knightsbridge  (which  manor  still  belongs 
to  Westminster),  the  latter  property  in  the  place  called  Gara,  probably  Kensington  Gore.  Provisions, 
kitchen-fare,  wine,  mead,  and  beer  were  also  assigned;  and  in  return  the  vestals  prayed  for  St,  Edward 
the  Confessor,  and  the  church  at  Westminster. 

At  the  Dissolution,  in  1536,  the  "Nonre  of  Kilbourne"  was  surrendered;  when  the  inventory  shows 
the  chamber  furniture  to  have  included  "  bedsteddes,  standing  bedd  wt  4  postes,  fetherbedds,  matteres, 
cov'lettes,  wollen  blankettes,  bolsters,  pillowes  of  downe,  sheetes,"  &c.  The  name  of  the  last  prioress 
was  Anne  Browne.  Soon  after  the  King  assigned  the  priory  estate,  with  other  lands,  to  Weston,  prior  of 
the  Hospital  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem,  in  exchange  for  Paris  Garden  in  Surrey,  &c.  The  church  was 
dedicated  to  St.  Mary  and  St.  John  the  Baptist ;  the  latter,  in  his  camel-hair  garment,  is  portrayed  on 
the  priory  seal.  The  Abbey  Farm  at  Kilburn  includes  the  site  of  the  priory:  the  only  view  known  of 
the  conventual  buildings  is  an  etching,  date  1722. 

Several  relics,  including  pieces  of  pottery,  a  few  coins,  and  a  bronze  vessel,  all 
mediaeval,  were  found  on  the  Priory  site  in  the  autumn  of  1852,  and  shown  to  the 
Archaeological  Institute.  In  the  Graphic  and  Historical  Illustrator,  pp.  336-340,  is 
a  good  account  of  Kilburn  Priory,  mostly  derived  from  Park's  Hampstead. 

LAMBETH, 

ALSO  called  Lambhith,  Lambhyde,  and  Lambhei,  is  probably  derived  from  lam,  dirt, 
and  hyd  or  hythe,  a  haven  j  or  from  lamb  and  Tiythe.  It  was  anciently  a  village 
of  Surrey,  but  is  now  united  with  Southwark  ;  and  is  one  of  the  metropolitan  boroughs, 
returning  two  members  to  Parliament  under  the  llcibrin  Act  of  1832.     The  parish 


LAMBETH.  '      497 


ranges  along  the  south  bank  of  the  Thames  from  Vauxhall  towards  Southwark,  and 
extends  to  Norwood,  Streatham,  and  Croydon;  in  Aubrey's  time  it  included  part  of  the 
forest  of  oaks  called  Norwood,  belonging  to  the  see  of  Canterbury,  wherein  was  the 
Vicar's  Oak  (cut  down  in  1679),  at  which  point  four  parishes  meet. 

In  the  earliest  historical  times,  the  greater  part  of  modern  Lambeth  must  have  been 
a  swamp,  overflowed  by  every  tide,  and  forming  a  vast  lake  at  high  water.  The  Romans 
have  the  credit  of  having  embanked  the  Thames  on  the  south  side,  and  of  having  done 
something  towards  draining  the  marsh.  Roman  remains  have  been  discovered  at  St. 
George's  Fields  and  at  Kennington ;  and  some  antiquaries  have  thought  that  it  was 
among  the  Lambeth  marshes  that  Plautius  got  entangled  after  his  victory  over  the 
Britons,  and  that  he  retired  thence  to  the  strong  entrenchment  still  to  be  traced  in  the 
picturesque  upland  of  Keston,  near  Bromley.  The  great  Roman  road  from  the  south 
coast  at  Newhaven,  through  East  Griusted  to  London,  entered  Lambeth  at  Brixton 
(Brixii  lapidem),  crossed  Kennington  Common  to  Newington,  and  there  divided ;  the 
eastern  branch  going  to  Southwark,  and  the  western  across  St. George's  Fields  toStangate, 
where  was  a  ferry.  In  1016,  Canute  laid  siege  to  London,  and  finding  the  east  side  of  the 
bridge  impregnable,  conveyed  his  ships  through  a  channel  ("  Canute's  Trench")  dug  in 
the  marshes  south  of  the  Thames,  so  as  to  attack  it  from  the  west.  Maitland,  writing 
in  1739,  imagined  that  he  had  succeeded  in  tracing  this  canal  from  Rotherhithe  to 
Newington  Butts,  and  thence  to  the  river  at  Vauxhall.  But  two  more  probable  and 
far  shorter  courses  have  been  indicated  for  this  channel,  neither  of  which  would  reach 
Lambeth  at  all.  Is  it  not  possible,  we  ask,  that  the  draining  works  executed  by 
the  Romans  left  certain  water-courses  which  might  have  been  made  available  for  the 
purpose  of  this  stratagem  by  the  invading  fleet  ?  A  few  years  later,  in  1041,  Kenning- 
ton— the  "  King's  Town"  —  was  the  scene  of  the  sudden  death  of  Hardicanute.  There 
was  a  royal  palace  there,  in  which  the  nuptials  of  two  scions  of  noble  Danish  families 
were  celebrated.  The  King  expired  (says  the  Saxon  Chronicle)  "  with  a  tremendous 
struggle"  "  as  he  stood  drinking" — not  without  suspicion  of  poison.  A  popular  holiday 
commemorated  this  event  for  many  generations ;  and  we  have  records  of  "  Hog's  Tide" 
or  "  Hock  Tide"  being  kept  as  late  as  1618.  In  Lambeth  parish,  the  Churchwardens' 
Accounts  show  entries,  till  1566,  of  sums  gathered  at  these  festivals  and  applied  to  the 
repairs  of  the  church.  Harold,  in  1062,  granted  the  manor  of  Lambehythe  to  Waltham 
Abbey ;  and  in  Domesday  there  are  mentioned  twelve  villans,  twenty-seven  bordars,  a 
church,  and  nineteen  burgesses  in  London,  and  wood  for  three  hogs ;  and  the  value  of 
the  manor  is  stated  at  \ll.  It  passed,  after  sundry  changes,  to  Bishop  Gundulph,  of 
Rochester,  who  taxed  it  with  an  annual  supply  of  500  lampreys ;  and  his  successor 
demanded,  in  addition,  a  yearly  salmon — to  be  caught  of  course  off  the  river  boundary. 
In  1197  the  manor  came  by  exchange  into  the  hands  of  the  Archbishops  of  Canterbury, 
with  whom  it  has  remained  ever  since.  King  John  gave  leave  for  the  establishment 
within  it  of  a  weekly  market  and  a  Fair  of  fifteen  days,  on  condition  that  it  would  not 
be  prejudicial  to  the  City  of  London.  This  Fair  was  suppressed  by  Archbishop  Herring  in 
1757.  A  strange  attempt  was  made,  at  the  close  of  the  twelfth  century,  by  Archbishop 
Baldwin,  to  found  somewhere  in  Lambeth  a  collegiate  church  of  secular  canons  which 
should  humble  the  refractory  monks  of  Canterbury  by  superseding  them  in  their  right 
of  election  to  the  metropolitan  see.  The  scheme  was  vehemently  opposed,  and  fope 
Celestine  being  prevailed  upon  to  withdraw  the  sanction  granted  by  his  predecessor 
Urban,  the  buildings  were  razed  by  the  mob.  After  many  intrigues,  the  design  was 
finally  abandoned.  We  derive  this  precis  of  the  early  history  of  Lambeth  from  a 
paper  in  the  Saturday  Review. 

Lambeth  mother-church  (St.  Mary's)  adjoins  the  Palace,  and  is  described  at  p.  185. 
Beneath  its  walls,  Mary,  queen  of  James  II.,  found  shelter  with  her  infant  son,  having 
crossed  the  river  by  the  horse-ferry  from  Westminster :  here  the  Queen  remained  a 
whole  hour  in  the  rain  on  the  night  of  December  9,  1688,  until  a  coach  arrived  from 
the  next  inn,  and  conveyed  her  to  Gravesend,  whence  she  sailed  for  France.  St. 
Mary's  Church  was  rebuilt  in  1851-2,  save  the  tower,  in  the  same  style  as  formerly, 
except  the  open  timber  roof.  Memorial  and  other  windows  are  filled  with  stained 
glass ;  "  the  Pedlar  and  his  Dog  "  has  been  replaced,  and  the  tombs  and  monumental 
brasses  have  been  restored.     The  district  churches  have  little  that  is  noteworthy. 

£  K 


498  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  site  of  St.  John's,  Waterloo-road,  was  a  swamp  and  horse-pond :  the  church  (built  1823-4)  has  a 
peal  of  eight  bells,  tenor  1900  lbs.  weight :  in  a  vault  is  buried  Robert  William  Elliston,  the  comedian 
(d.  1831).  The  district  commences  at  the  middle  of  Westminster  Bridge,  whence  an  imaginary  boun- 
dary-line passes  through  the  middle  of  the  river  Thames  to  Waterloo  Bridge. 

On  the  south  side  of  Church-street  was  Norfolk  House,  the  mansion  of  the  Earl  of 
Norfolk  temp.  Edward  I. :  here  resided  the  celebrated  Earl  of  Surrey  when  under  the 
tuition  of  John  Leland,  the  antiquary.  The  house  has  long  been  demolished,  and  its  site 
and  grounds  occupied  by  Norfolk-row  and  Hodges's  distillery.  The  Dukes  of  Norfolk 
also  had  in  Lambeth,  on  the  banks  of  the  Thames,  a  garden,  which  was  let  to  Boydell 
Cupcr,  who  opened  it  as  Cuper's  Gardens,  and  decorated  it  with  some  fragments  of  the 
Arundeb'an  marbles,  given  him  by  the  Earl  of  Arundel,  whose  gardener  he  had  been. 
Other  fragments  of  the  sculptures  were  set  up  in  a  piece  of  ground  adjoining,  and 
afterwards  were  buried  with  rubbish  from  the  ruins  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  then  re- 
building by  Wren ;  but  the  sculptures  were  subsequently  disinterred,  and  the  site  was 
let  to  Messrs.  Beaufoy  for  their  Vinegar-works — removed  to  South  Lambeth  on  the 
erection  of  Waterloo  Bridge. 

Carlisle  Street,  Lane,  and  Chapel,  keep  in  memory  Carlisle  House,  the  palace 
of  the  Bishops  of  Rochester  from  the  thirteenth  to  the  sixteenth  century,  when 
Henry  VIII.  granted  it  to  the  see  of  Carlisle.  Here,  in  1531,  Richard  Roose  or  Rose, 
a  cook,  poisoned  seventeen  persons  ;  for  which  he  was  attainted  of  treason  and  boiled  to 
death  in  Smithfield,  by  an  ex  post  facto  law  passed  for  the  purpose,  but  repealed  in  the 
next  reign.  On  the  grounds  of  Carlisle  House  was  subsequently  built  a  pottery, 
which  existed  temp.  George  II.  The  house  then  became  a  tavern,  brothel,  dancing- 
school,  and  academy ;  and  was  taken  down  in  the  year  1827. 

Lambeth  has  long  been  celebrated  for  its  places  of  public  amusement.  Vauxhall 
Gardens  are  mentioned  by  Evelyn,  in  his  Diary,  July  2,  1661 :  "  I  went  to  see  the 
New  Spring  Garden,  at  Lambeth,  a  pretty  contrived  plantation;"  and  the  place  was 
to  the  last  licensed  annually  as  "  the  Spring  Garden,  Vauxhall."  It  was  finally  closed 
in  1859 ;  and  upon  the  site  have  been  built  the  beautiful  church  of  St.  Peter ;  a  School 
of  Art,  and  streets  of  houses.  Belvedere  House  and  Gardens*  adjoined  Cuper's 
Gardens  in  Queen  Anne's  reign ;  and  still  further  west  were  Cumberland  Tea-  Gardens 
(named  after  the  great  Duke),  which  existed  until  1813 ;  their  site  is  now  crossed 
by  Vauxhall  Bridge-road.  The  Log  and  Lucie  dates  from  1617,  the  year  upon  the 
sign-stone  in  the  garden-wall  of  Bethlem  Hospital  (see  pp.  51-54)  :  here  is  preserved 
a  drawing  of  the  old  tavern  and  its  grounds.  The  Hercules  Inn  and  Gardens  occu- 
pied the  site  of  the  Asylum  for  Female  Orphans,  opened  in  1758 ;  and  opposite  were 
the  Apollo  Gardens  and  the  Temple  of  Flora,  Mount-row,  opened  1788.  A  century 
earlier  there  existed,  in  King  William's  reign,  Lambeth  Wells,  in  Three  Coney  Walk, 
now  Lambeth  Walk ;  it  was  reputed  for  its  mineral  waters,  sold  at  a  penny  a  quart, 
"  the  same  price  paid  by  St.  Thomas's  Hospital."  About  1750  a  musical  society  was 
held  here,  and  lectures  and  experiments  were  given  on  natural  philosophy  by  Erasmus 
King,  who  had  been  coachman  to  Dr.  Desaguliers.  In  Stangate  are  the  Bower 
Saloon,  with  its  theatre  and  music-room  ;  and  the  Canterbury  (Music)  Hall. 

Astley' s  Amphitheatre  originated  with  Philip  Astley,  who  in  1763  commenced 
horsemanship  in  an  open  field  near  Glover's  "Halfpenny  Hatch"  at  Lambeth. 
Thence  Astley  removed  to  the  site  of  the  present  theatre,  Westminster  Bridge-road, 
when  his  ground-landlord  had  a  preserve  or  breed  of  pheasants  near  the  spot :  the 
theatre  was  burnt  in  1794,  1803,  and  1841.  The  Victoria  Theatre,  formerly  the 
Coburg,  opened  in  1818,  is  built  on  ground  held  of  the  manor  of  Lambeth :  the  site 
was  a  swampy  open  field ;  and  part  of  the  stone  materials  of  the  old  Savoy  Palace, 
Strand,  then  being  cleared  away,  was  used  for  the  theatre  foundation.  The  Royal 
Circus,  St.  George's  Fields,  was  built  in  1781,  by  Dibdin  and  Hughes,  to  compete  with 
Astley ;  the  Circus  was  burnt  in  1805,  and  rebuilt  as  the  Surrey  Theatre  in  1806 ; 
burnt  in  1865,  and  rebuilt  in  the  same  year. 

The  Asylum  for  Female  Orphans,  just  mentioned,  was  established  chiefly  through 
Sir  John  Fielding,  the  police-magistrate,  whose  portrait,  attributed  to  Hogarth,  was 

*  Dr.  Rawlinson,  in  his  additions  to  Aubrey's  Surrey  (written  in  1719),  imagines  Belvedere  Gardens 
to  have  been  the  site  of  a  tarn-mill  erected  in  Cromwell's  time,  and  which  he  protected  by  Act  of 
Parliament. 


LAMBETH.  499 


preserved  there ;  with  a  head  of  George  III.  and  his  youngest  son,  the  Duke  of  Cam- 
bridge, who  was  long  president  of  the  institution  :  in  the  chapel  is  a  tablet  to  his  memory* 
The  site  cost  the  charity  16,O00Z.;  premises  rebuilt  1826;  removed  to  Beddington  in  1866\ 

In  Oakley-street,  at  the  Oakley  Arms,  November  16,  1802,  Colonel  Edward  Marcus  Despard  and 
thirty-two  other  persons  were  apprehended  on  a  charge  of  high  treason :  and  in  February  following,  th» 
Colonel,  with  nine  associates,  were  tried  by  a  special  commission  at  the  Surrey  Sessions  House ;  and 
being  all  found  guilty,  seven,  including  Despard,  were  executed,  February  21,  on  the  top  of  Horse- 
monger-lane  Gaol. 

Lambeth  was  long  noted  as  the  residence  of  astrologers.  At  Tradescant's  house,  in 
South  Lambeth-road,  lived  Elias  Ashmole,  who  won  Aubrey  over  to  astrology  (sea 
pp.  309  and  396).  Simon  Forman's  burial  is  entered  in  the  Lambeth  parish -register ; 
he  died  on  the  day  he  had  prognosticated.  Lilly  says,  Forman  wrote  in  a  book  left 
behind  him :  "  This  I  made  the  devil  write  with  his  own  hand  in  Lambeth  Fields, 
1569,  in  June  or  July,  as  I  now  remember."  Captain  Bubb,  contemporary  with 
Forman,  dwelt  in  Lambeth  Marsh,  and  "  resolved  horary  questions  astrologically,"  a 
ladder  which  raised  him  to  the  pillory.  At  the  north  corner  of  Oalcot-alley  lived 
Francis  Moore,  astrologer,  physician,  and  schoolmaster,  and  the  original  author  of 
"  Moore's  Almanack."  Next  to  Tradescant's  house  lived  the  learned  Dr.  Ducarel,  one 
of  the  earliest  Fellows  of  the  Society  of  Antiquaries,  and  librarian  at  Lambeth  Palace. 

Lambeth  Marsh,  by  Hollar's  map,  extended  from  near  Stangate  to  Broadwall  ;  and 
was  bounded  by  the  river  on  the  north-west,  and  the  ancient  way  or  road  called  Lam- 
beth Marsh  on  the  south-east.  The  names  of  Narrow-wall  and  Broad- wall  were 
derived  from  the  embankments  subsequently  made. 

In  cutting  for  the  railway  and  lines  of  sewerage  at  the  great  terminus  near  York-road  (a  space  in  size 
equal  to  Grosvenor-square),  there  was  found  a  large  deposit  from  the  inundations  of  the  Thames,  con- 
taining gravel-stones  and  dark  wet  clay,  or  pressed  river-mud,  imbedding  fragments  of  twigs,  bones, 
pieces  of  Roman  tile,  &c. 

Narrow-wall,  Vine-street,  and  Cornwall-road  are  delineated  in  views  of  these 
suburbs  in  Queen  Elizabeth's  reign :  Vine-street  is  from  eight  to  ten  feet  below  the  level 
of  the  adjacent  streets.  In  the  Marsh  stood,  until  1823,  an  old  house,  called  Bonner's 
house,  which  was  traditionally  known  as  the  residence  of  Bishop  Bonner.  Near  the 
Marsh  resided  Thomas  Bushell,  a  man  of  scientific  attainments,  who  was  a  friend  of 
Lord  Chancellor  Bacon.  He  obtained  from  Charles  1.  a  grant  to  coin  silver  money 
for  the  purposes  of  the  king,  when  the  use  of  his  Mint  at  the  Tower  was  denied  to  the 
king.  When  Oliver  Cromwell  assumed  the  protectorate,  Thomas  Bushell  hid  himself  in 
this  house,  which  it  seems  had  a  turret  upon  it.  A  large  garret  extended  the  length 
of  the  premises  ;  in  this  the  philosopher  lay  hid  for  upwards  of  a  year.  This  apart- 
ment he  had  hung  with  black  ;  at  one  end  was  a  skeleton  extended  on  a  mattress :  at 
the  other  was  a  low  bed,  on  which  he  slept ;  and  on  the  dismal  hangings  of  the  wall 
were  depicted  several  emblems  of  mortality.  At  the  Restoration,  Charles  II.  supported 
Bushell  in  some  of  his  speculations.  He  died  in  1674,  eighty  years  of  age,  and  was 
buried  in  the  little  cloisters  of  Westminster  Abbey. 

At  South  Lambeth,  upon  the  site  of  Sir  Noel  Caron's  mansion  and  deer-park,  are 
Leaufoy's  Vinegar  and  Wine  Works.  Here  were  a  vessel  of  sweet  wine  containing 
59,109  gallons,  and  another  of  vinegar  of  56,799  gallons ;  the  lesser  of  which  exceeded 
the  famous  Heidelberg  tun  by  40  barrels.  Mr.  Beaufoy,  F.R.S.,  was  an  eminent 
mathematician,  and  a  munificent  patron  of  education;  his  bust  is  placed  in  the 
Council  Chamber,  Guildhall.  In  Lambeth  Walk,  close  upon  the  South- Western  Rail- 
way, are  the  Lambeth  Ragged  Schools,  founded  in  1851  by  Mr.  Beaufoy,  at  the 
expense  of  10,000Z.,  and  4000Z.  endowment,  as  a  memorial  of  the  benevolent  Mrs. 
Beaufoy,  the  wife  of  the  founder. 

On  part  of  the  site  of  Belvedere  House  and  Gardens  were  established,  in  1785,  the 
Lambeth  Water-works,  first  taking  their  water  from  the  borders  of  the  Thames,  then 
from  its  centre,  near  Hungerford  Bridge,  by  a  cast-iron  conduit-pipe  42  inches  in 
diameter ;  whence,  in  1852,  the  works  were  removed  to  Seething  Wells,  Ditton,  23 
miles  by  the  river-course  from  London  Bridge.  Thence  the  water  is  supplied  to  the 
Company's  reservoirs  at  Brixton,  lOf  miles,  by  steam  pumping-engines,  at  the  rate  of 
10,000,000  gallons  daily ;  from  these  reservoirs,  100  feet  above  the  Thames,  the  water 
flows  by  its  own  gravity  through  the  mains;  but  at  Norwood  it  is  lifted  by  steam- 
power  350  feet,  or  the  height  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  above  the  supplying  river. 

K  K  2 


500  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

In  Belvedere-road  is  Goding's  Ale  Brewery,  built  in  1836  :  the  upper  floor  is  an 
immense  tank  for  water,  supplying  the  floor  below,  where  the  boiled  liquor  is  cooled ; 
it  then  descends  into  fermenting  tuns  in  the  story  beneatb,  next  to  the  floor  for  fining, 
and  lastly  to  the  cellar  or  store-vats. 

Plate-glass  for  mirrors  and  coach-windows  was  first  made,  in  1670,  by  Venetian 
artists,  with  Eosetti  at  their  head,  under  the  patronage  of  the  second  Duke  of  Buck- 
ingham, at  Fox-hall  (Vauxhall),  with  great  success,  "  so  as  to  excel  the  Venetians,  or 
any  other  nation,  in  blown  plate-glass."  But  about  1780  the  establishment  was 
broken  up,  and  a  descendant  of  Rosetti's  left  in  extreme  poverty.  {Hist,  of  Lambeth, 
1786.)  The  works  stood  on  the  site  of  Vauxhall-square.  Some  of  the  finest  "  Vaux- 
hall plates "  are  to  be  seen  in  the  Speaker's  state-coach.  The  Falcon  Glass-house, 
Holland- street,  Blackfriars-road,  occupies  the  site  of  the  tide-mill  of  the  old  manor  of 
Paris  Garden,  and  has  existed  more  than  a  century ;  here  is  made  about  a  fortieth  part 
of  the  flint-glass  manufactured  in  England.* 

Lambeth  has  long  been  famed  for  its  stone-ware.  The  Vauxhall  Pottery,  esta- 
blished two  centuries  since,  by  two  Dutchmen,  for  the  manufacture  of  old  Delft  ware,  is 
probably  the  origin  of  all  our  existing  potteries.  Two  other  Potteries  at  Lambeth 
were  commenced  in  1730  and  1741.  The  potters  procure  the  clay  from  Devon  and 
Dorset ;  and  the  flint,  already  ground,  from  Staffordshire.  Salt-glazed  stoneware  is 
made  in  Lambeth  of  the  yearly  value  of  100,0002.,  of  which  more  than  one-half  is  paid 
for  labour ;  at  Green's  manufactory  are  made  chemical  vessels  for  holding  from  300 
to  400  gallons. 

In  Hunt's  Chemical  Works,  High-street,  are  combined  the  crushing  of  bones  and 
the  grinding  of  mustard,  with  the  manufacture  of  colours,  soap,  and  bone  brushes ;  and 
stearine,  glue,  hartshorn,  and  phosphate  of  lime  are  obtained  by  steam-power  from  the 
refuse  of  slaughtered  cattle.  Hawes's  Soap  and  Candle  Works,  at  the  Old  Royal 
Barge  House,  have  existed  for  90  years. 

Above  Vauxhall  Bridge  are  Price's  Stearine  Candle  Company's  Works  (established  1842) :  where 
candles  are  made  from  cocoa-nut  oil  brought  from  the  Company's  plantations  in  Ceylon,  and  palm-oil 
from  the  coast  of  Africa,  landed  from  barges  at  the  wharf  at  Vauxhall.  The  oil  being  converted  by 
chemical  processes  into  stearine,  is  freed  from  oleic  acid  by  enormous  pressure ;  is  liquefied  by  steam, 
and  then  conveyed  into  the  moulding  machinery,  by  which  800  miles  of  wicks  are  continually  being 
converted  into  candles.  The  buildings  are  of  corrugated  iron,  and  include  the  auxiliaries  of  a  laboratory, 
engineers',  carpenters',  tinmen's,  coppersmiths',  and  weavers'  shops ;  forges,  a  cooperage,  a  sealing-wax 
manufactory,  and  steam  printing-machine ;  the  several  furnaces  consuming  their  own  smoke.  This  is 
the  most  colossal  establishment  in  the  world  in  this  branch  of  chemical  manufacture. 

Shot  is  made  in  the  lofty  towers  immediately  above  and  below  Waterloo  Bridge. 
The  height  of  the  quadrangular  tower  is  150  feet:  the  upper  floor  is  a  room 
wherein  the  alloy  of  arsenic  and  lead  is  melted  by  a  furnace;  the  fluid  metal  is  then 
ladled  into  a  kind  of  cullender,  through  the  holes  of  which  it  falls  like  rain  for  about 
130  feet  into  water  at  the  lower  floor  of  the  building.  An  iron  staircase  leads  from 
the  bottom  to  the  top  of  the  tower :  on  Jan.  5,  1826,  the  upper  floor  was  destroyed  by 
fire,  which  happening  at  night,  presented  a  magnificent  effect.  The  circular  shot- 
tower,  100  feet  high,  is  strikingly  beautiful.  Mr.  Hosking,  the  architect,  considers 
this  structure  to  rival  the  Monument :  "  They  are  both,"  he  observes,  "  of  cylindrical 
form ;  but  the  one  is  crowned  by  a  square  abacus,  and  the  other  by  a  bold  cornice, 
which  follows  its  own  outline  (i.e.  of  the  tower) :  the  greater  simplicity  and  conse- 
quent beauty  of  the  latter  is  such  as  to  strike  the  most  unobservant." 

Maudslay  and  Field's  Marine  Steam  Engine  Works,  in  the  Westminster-road,  were 
commenced  in  1810,  and  employ  from  1300  to  1400  workmen,  besides  steam-power 
for  the  heavy  labour.  Here  are  fashioned  immense  metal  screws,  like  the  double  tail 
of  a  whale  ;  parts  of  engines,  several  tons  weight,  are  lifted  by  cranes,  to  be  adjusted 
and  joined  together ;  immense  cylinders  are  bored  and  polished,  of  such  diameter  that 
a  man  might  almost  walk  upright  through  them.  Engines  cut  and  shave  hard  iron,  as 
if  it  were  soft  as  wax  ;  cutting  instruments  have  a  force  of  thirty  tons ;  steam-hammers 
are  of  ten,  twenty,  and  thirty  cwt. ;  thick  metal  plates  are  pierced  by  rolling  mills  and 
machinery  to  be  fastened  with  red-hot  rivets. 

*  Mr.  .Apsley  Pellatt,  the  proprietor  of  the  Falcon  Works,  elected  M.P.  for  Southwark  in  1852, 
published  Curiosities  of  Qlass-making  (1849);  the  experiences  of  a  lifetime  unceasingly  devoted  to  the 
studj  and  practice  of  the  art. 


LAMBETH  PALACE.  501 


In  Duke-street,  Stamford-street,  are  Clowes's  Printing  Works  and  Foundry,  the 
largest  in  the  world,  commenced  by  Augustus  Applegath,  the  eminent  engineer,  and 
greatly  extended  by  his  successors,  Messrs.  Clowes. 

The  "  New  Cut,"  from  Westminster  to  Blackfriars-road,  has  become  a  street  within 
the  recollection  of  the  writer,  who  remembers  low-lying-fields,  with  a  large  windmill, 
east  of  the  raised  roadway.  Pedlar's  Acre  (for  the  name  see  p.  185),  a  portion  of 
the  Marsh,  by  old  admeasurement  contains  1  acre  17  poles,  with  a  frontage  on  the 
Thames.  In  150-1,  by  the  churchwardens'  accounts,  it  was  an  osier-bed,  and  in  1623, 
Church  Osiers;  the  name  of  Pedlar's  Acre  does  not  occur  until  1690,  probably  from 
its  being  the  squatting-place  of  pedlars,  as  were  the  New  Cut  fields  within  memory. 

In  1504-5,  the  annual  rent  of  this  estate  was  2s.  8d. ;  in  1506,  4s. ;  1520,  6s. ;  in  1556,  6s.  8d. ;  in  1564, 
13s.  id. ;  in  1581,  11.  6s.  8d. ;  and  in  1651,  41.,  at  about  which  sum  it  continued  until  the  commencement 
of  the  last  century.  After  the  draining  of  Lambeth  Marsh,  and  the  erection  of  Westminster  and  Black- 
friars  Bridges,  Pedlar's  Acre,  in  1752,  was  held  on  a  long  lease  at  a  yearly  rent  of  1001.  and  8001.  fine. 
In  1813,  when  it  had  been  much  built  upon,  it  was  let  by  auction  for  twenty-one  years,  in  three  lots,  at 
781.  per  annum,  and  60O0J.  premium.  The  rents  and  proceeds  are  applied  to  parochial  purposes,  under 
the  Act  7  Geo.  IV.  cap.  46. 

At  Narrow  Wall  flourished  for  nearly  60  years  Coade's  Manufactory  of  burnt  Artifi- 
cial Stone  (a  revival  of  terra-cotta),  invented  by  the  elder  Bacon,  the  sculptor  ;  and 
first  established  by  Mrs.  Coade,  from  Lyme  Regis,  in  1769.  Of  this  material  are  the 
bas-relief  in  the  pediment  over  the  western  portico  at  Greenwich  Hospital,  represent- 
ing the  Death  of  Nelson,  designed  by  West,  and  executed  by  Bacon  and  Panzetta ; 
and  the  rood-screen  or  loft  at  St.  George's  Chapel,  Windsor.  The  manufacture  (now 
Austin  and  Seeley's)  has  been  removed  to  the  New-road. 

Lambeth,  a  few  years  since  a  feverish  marsh,  has  been  greatly  improved  by 
drainage:  Maudslay's  Foundry  was  raised  on  pillars  from  the  swamp,  where  at 
times  a  boat  might  have  floated ;  it  is  now,  by  drainage,  firm  and  dry  at  all  seasons. 
Lett's  Timber  Wharf,  from  the  time  of  Queen  Elizabeth  until  the  beginning  of  this 
century,  lay  amidst  ponds  and  marsh-streams,  but  is  now  dry  and  healthy.  Here  are 
the  timber- wharves  of  Messrs.  Gabriel;  Alderman  Gabriel,  Lord  Mayor  1S66-7. 

Across  this  thickly-peopled  district  extends  the  South-Western  Railway  from  its 
terminus  in  the  Waterloo-road  to  Nine  Elms,  2  miles  50  yards,  executed  at  a  cost  of 
800,000/. ;  and  along  the  river-bank,  anaconda-like,  upon  arches,  trends  the  extension 
of  the  London,  Chatham,  and  Dover  Railway,  and  the  South  Eastern  Railway,  from 
London  Bridge. 

LAMBETH  PALACE, 

TAMBETR  HOUSE  of  old,  has  been  for  six  and  a  half  centuries  the  mansion  of 
-"  the  Archbishops  of  Canterbury,  who  had  resided  at  Lambeth  seventy  years  pre- 
viously; and  in  1197  obtained  the  entire  manor,  by  exchange  with  the  Bishop  of 
Rochester  for  certain  lands  in  Kent.  Hence  the  present  palace  is  the  manor-house; 
and,  with  the  gardens  and  grounds,  forms  an  extra-parochial  district. 

The  oldest  part  of  Lambeth  Palace  is  the  Chapel,  and  a  Crypt,  supposed  to  be  a 
portion  of  the  ancient  manor-house,  built  by  Archbishop  Hubert  Walter  about  1190. 
Archbishops  Langton,  Boniface,  Arundel,  Chicheley,  Stafford,  Morton,  Warham, 
Cranmer,  Pole,  Parker,  and  Bancroft,  expended  great  sums  on  the  palace,  as  have 
succeeding  archbishops.  Cranmer's  additions  included  "  the  Steward's  Parlour,"  and 
"a  summer-house  in  the  garden  of  exquisite  workmanship;"  both  which  have  disap- 
peared. In  Wat  Tyler's  rebellion,  "  the  commons  from  Essex"  plundered  the  palace, 
and  beheaded  the  archbishop,  Sudbury,  on  Tower  Hill.  In  1642,  the  Parliamentary 
soldiers  dismantled  the  Chapel,  broke  the  painted  windows,  which  it  was  alleged 
Archbishop  Laud  had  restored  "by  their  like  in  the  mass-book;"  while  Laud's 
"  books  and  goods  were  seized  on,  and  even  his>  very  diary  taken  by  force  out  of  his 
pocket."  The  palace  was  then  used  as  a  prison  for  the  Royalists ;  and  after  its  sale 
by  the  Parliament  for  7073/.,  the  Chapel  was  converted  into  a  dancing-room,  and 
the  Great  Hall  demolished.  The  latter  was  rebuilt  by  Archbishop  Juxon,  at  the 
charge  of  10,500/.  The  palace  was  attacked  by  the  rioters  of  1780,  when  it  was 
protected  by  a  detachment  of  Guards,  and  subsequently  by  a  militia  regiment  as  a 


502  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

garrison  for  some  weeks.  Between  1828  and  1848  Archbishop  Howley  rebuilt  the 
habitable  portion  of  the  palace,  and  restored  other  parts,  at  a  cost  of  60,000Z.  The 
garden-front  is  of  Tudor  character ;  and  with  its  bays  and  enriched  windows,  battle- 
ments, gables,  towers,  and  clustered  chimney-shafts,  is  very  picturesque. 

The  Gate-house,  built  by  Archbishop  Morton  about  1490,  consists  of  an  embattled 
centre  and  two  immense  square  towers,  of  fine  red  brick  with  stone  dressings,  and  a 
spacious  Tudor  arched  gateway  and  postern.  The  towers  are  ascended  by  spiral  stone 
staircases,  leading  to  the  Record-room  containing  many  of  the  archives  of  the  see  of 
Canterbury.  Adjoining  the  archway  is  a  small  prison-room,  with  high  and  narrow 
windows,  and  thick  stone  walls  to  which  are  fastened  three  strong  iron  rings ;  and  in 
the  wall  are  cuttings,  including  %a\ti  (Srafton,  and  a  cross  and  other  figures  near  it. 
The  walls  and  towers  of  the  gate-house,  and  the  ancient  brick  wall  on  the  Thames 
side,  are  chequered  with  crosses  in  glazed  bricks. 

At  this  gate  the  dole  immemorially  given  to  the  poor  by  the  Archbishops  of  Canterbury  is  constantly 
distributed.  It  consists  of  fifteen  quartern  loaves,  nine  stone  of  beef,  and  five  shillings  worth  of  half- 
pence, divided  into  three  equal  portions,  and  distributed  every  Sunday,  Tuesday,  and  Thursday,  among 
thirty  poor  parishioners  of  Lambeth ;  the  beef  being  made  into  broth  and  served  in  pitchers. 

The  Lollards'  Tower,  on  the  left  of  the  outer  court,  is  embattled,  and  chiefly  of 
dark-red  brick,  faced  with  stone  on  its  outer  sides.  It  was  built  (1434-5)  by  Arch- 
bishop Chicheley,  whose  arms  are  sculptured  on  the  outer  wall  on  the  Thames  side; 
beneath  them  is  a  Gothic  niche,  wherein  formerly  stood  the  image  of  St.  Thomas  k 
Becket.  In  this  tower  is  the  Post-room,  with  a  flat  and  panelled  ceiling,  carved  with 
angels  and  scrolls,  and  a  head  resembling  that  of  Henry  VIII.  On  the  east  side  is  an 
entrance  to  the  Chapel ;  and  through  a  small  door  you  ascend  by  a  steep  spiral  stair- 
case to  the  Lollards'  Prison  (in  an  adjoining  square  tower  on  the  north  side),  entering 
by  a  narrow,  low,  pointed  archway  of  stone,  with  an  oaken  inner  and  outer  door,  each 
3^  inches  thick,  closely  studded  with  iron  rivets  and  fastenings.  This  chamber  is 
nearly  15  feet  in  length,  by  11  feet  in  width,  and  8  feet  high;  and  has  two  narrow 
windows,  and  a  small  fireplace  and  chimney.  About  breast-high  are  fixed  in  the  walls 
eight  large  iron  rings ;  and  upon  the  oaken  wainscoting  are  incisions  of  initials,  names, 
short  sentences,  crosses,  cubes,  &c,  cut  by  the  unhappy  captives.     It  is  no  longer  con- 

(Incisions  upon  the  wall  of  Lollards'  Tower.) 

sidered  that  they  were  exclusively  Lollards,  nor  is  there  positive  evidence  that  these 
followers  of  Wicliffe  were  imprisoned  here ;  although  the  registers  of  the  see  of  Can- 
terbury record  several  proceedings  against  the  sect,  and  Wicliffe  himself  is  said  to  have 
been  examined  in  the  Chapel  at  Lambeth.  Archbishop  Arundel  was  the  fiercest  per- 
secutor of  the  Lollards,  and  his  successor,  Chicheley,  built  "  the  Lollards'  Tower,"  pos- 
sibly on  the  site  of  other  prisons  here,  which  the  registers  of  the  see  prove  the  arch- 
bishops to  have  possessed.  To  Lambeth  House  the  Popish  prelates,  Tunstall  and 
Thirlby,  were  committed  by  Queen  Elizabeth :  and  here  were  confined  the  Earl  of 
Essex ;  the  Earls  of  Chesterfield  and  Derby ;  Sir  Thomas  Armstrong,  afterwards 
executed  for  participation  in  the  Duke  of  Monmouth's  rebellion ;  Dr.  Allestry,  the 
eminent  divine;  and  Richard  Lovelace,  the  poet.  In  the  three  stories  above  the  Post- 
room  are  apartments  for  the  archbishop's  chaplains  and  librarian. 

The  Chapel,  entered  from  the  Post-room,  is  divided  by  an  elaborately  carved  screen ; 
but  the  arched  roof  is  concealed  by  flat  panelling,  bearing  the  arms  of  Laud,  Juxon, 
and  Cornwallis.  At  the  east  end  are  five  long  lancet-shaped  lights,  filled  with 
diapered  modern  glass;  and  at  each  side  are  three  triplicated  windows,  resembling 
those  of  the  Temple  Church.  Here  are  the  archbishop's  stall,  seats  for  the  officers  of 
his  household,  and  below  for  the  male  servants ;  the  females  being  seated  in  the  outer 
chapel,  in  a  small  gallery,  where  was  formerly  an  organ.  In  front  of  the  altar  is 
buried  Archbishop  Parker,  beneath  a  marble  slab,  inscribed,  "  Corpus  Matthaei  archi- 


LAMBETH  PALACE,  503 


episcopi  tandem  hie  qviescit."*  The  tomh,  which  Parker  **  erected  while  he  was  yet 
alive,"  near  the  spot  where  he  "  used  to  pray,"  was  demolished  by  Col.  Scot  in  1642, 
and  the  Archbishop's  corpse  thrown  into  a  dung-heap ;  but  it  was  recovered  and  re- 
interred  after  the  Restoration.  Archbishop  Bancroft  has  narrated  these  facts  in  an 
epitaph  of  elegant  Latin,  inscribed  on  a  tomb  raised  by  him  to  Parker's  memory.  In 
the  Chapel  have  been  consecrated  upwards  of  150  bishops  :  Dr.  Howley's  consecration 
as  Bishop  of  London  (1813)  was  witnessed  by  Queen  Charlotte,  when  seventy  years  of 
age  :  as  Archbishop  of  Canterbury  he  crowned  three  sovereigns.  The  Crypt  beneath 
the  chapel  has  been  already  noticed  at  p.  302. 

The  Library  ( Juxon's  Hall)  and  the  Great  Dining-room  (on  the  site  of  the  Guard- 
chamber)  form  the  west  side  of  the  inner  court.  On  the  north  are  the  new  buildings 
of  the  palace,  by  E.  Blore ;  the  entrance  is  between  two  octagonal  towers,  84  feet 
high.  In  the  Private  Library  is  a  portrait  on  board  of  Archbishop  Warham,  con- 
secrated 1504 ;  this  was  painted  by  Holbein,  and  presented  by  him  to  the  Archbishop, 
with  a  head  of  his  friend  Erasmus :  the  latter  is  missing.  In  the  Ante-room  is  a 
whole-length  portrait  of  Charles  I.,  copied  from  Vandyke ;  and  a  picture  on  panel  of 
St.  Ambrose,  St.  Jerome,  St.  Augustine,  and  St.  Gregory,  with  the  Holy  Spirit.  (See 
a  List  of  the  Pictures,  in  Brayley's  History  of  Surrey,  vol.  iii.) 

The  Guard-chamber  is  mentioned  in  1424  as  the  "  Camera  Armigerorum,"  from  the 
arms  being  kept  here  for  the  defence  of  the  palace ;  but  they  were  carried  off  in  the 
plunder  of  1642,  and  were  never  replaced.  In  this  chamber  Archbishop  Laud  kept  his 
state,  Sept.  19,  1633,  the  day  of  his  consecration.  The  apartment  is  58  feet  long  and 
27  feet  6  inches  wide ;  it  has  a  very  elegant  oak  roof,  with  the  lofty  two-centred  and 
bold  tracery  of  Early  Perpendicular  work ;  it  was  long  plastered  over,  but  was  restored 
by  Blore  about  1832,  when  it  was  under-propped,  and  the  walls  were  rebuilt.  The 
roof  is  panelled,  and  supported  by  bold  arches  springing  from  octangular  corbels ;  the 
spandrels  of  the  arches  being  filled  by  quatrefoils  in  circles,  and  trefoil  mouldings.  On 
the  gabled  sides  of  the  roof  similarly  enriched  arches  stretch  between  the  great  roof 
arches ;  on  the  walls  also  arches  span  from  corbel  to  corbel,  and  support  an  embattled 
frieze  ;  and  the  fireplace  is  turreted. 

In  this  room,  besides  smaller  portraits,  is  a  series  of  half  and  three-quarter  lengths  of  all  the  Arch- 
bishops of  Canterbury  since  1633 :  including  Laud,  by  Vandyke ;  Juxon  (who  attended  Charles  I.  on  the 
8caflbld),  from  an  original  at  Longleat ;  Herring,  by  Hogarth ;  Seeker,  by  Reynolds ;  Sutton,  by  Beechey  ; 
Howley,  by  Shee.  These  portraits  show  the  gradual  change  in  the  clerical  dress,  in  bands  and  wiga, 
and  the  large  ruff  in  place  of  the  band  :  Tillotson's  being  the  first  wig,  unpowdered,  and  not  unlike  the 
natural  hair.  Here  also  are  smaller  heads  of  the  earlier  archbishops  :  Arundel,  from  a  curious  portrait 
at  Penshurst;  Chicheley,  Cranmer,  and  Grindal ;  and  Cardinal  Pole,  from  an  original  in  the  Barberini 
Palace  at  Borne.  Pole  maintained  great  hospitality  at  Lambeth:  in  the  MS.  Library  is  his  patent  (4 
Philip  and  Mary)  for  retaining  one  hundred  servants.  The  body  of  the  Cardinal  lay  in  great  state  at 
Lambeth  during  forty  days,  prior  to  its  interment  at  Canterbury. 

In  the  hall  are  given  annually,  on  "  public  days,"  a  certain  number  of  state  entertainments,  termed 
"Lambeth  Palace  dinners,"  to  the  bishops  and  leading  clergy.  The  Eev.  Sydney  Smith  facetiously 
asks  :  "Is  it  necessary  that  the  Archbishop  of  Canterbury  should  give  feasts  to  aristocratic  London; 
and  that  the  domestics  of  the  Prelacy  should  stand  with  swords  and  bag-wigs,  round  pig  and  turkey  and 
venison,  to  defend,  as  it  were,  the  orthodox  gastronomer  from  the  fierce  Unitarian,  the  fell  Baptist,  and 
the  famished  children  of  Dissent  ?" — Second  Letter  on  Church  Reform. 

In  the  Picture  Gallery,  built  by  Pole,  among  other  paintings  are:  Archbishop  Potter  when  six  years 
old  (1680),  holding  a  Greek  Testament,  which  he  is  said  then  nearly  to  have  read ;  Martin  Luther,  from 
Nuremburg ;  Cardinal  Pole  (curious,  on  board,  and  probably  a  genuine  likeness) ;  Queen  Catherine 
Parr,  original,  on  board;  Luther  and  his  Wife  (?),  attributed  to  Holbein,  and  copied  on  enamel  by  Bone ; 
Henry  Prince  of  Wales,  eldest  son  of  James  I.  (full-length,  curious  costume) ;  Bishop  Burnet,  as  Chan- 
cellor of  the  Garter ;  an  old  view  of  Canterbury  Cathedral ;  Archbishop  Juxon,  after  his  decease ; 
Bishop  Hoadly,  painted  by  his  second  wife ;  Archbishop  Parker.t  painted  in  1572  by  Richard  Lyue,  who 
practised  painting  and  engraving  in  the  palace ;  Archbishop  TUlotson,  by  Mrs.  Bcale. 

The  Great  Hall  is  built  of  dark-red  brick,  with  strong  buttresses  and  stone  finish- 
ings. In  the  centre  of  the  roof  is  a  two-storied  hexagonal  lantern,  surmounted  by  a 
large  vane,  in  which  are  the  arms  of  the  see  of  Canterbury,  impaled  with  those  of 
Juxon  (a  cross  between  four  negroes'  heads),  surmounted  by  the  archiepiscopal  mitre. 

*  In  this  Chapel  Archbishop  Parker  was  consecrated,  Dec.  5, 1559, according  to  the  "duly  appointed 
ordinal  of  the  Church  of  England,"  as  recorded  in  Parker's  Register  at  Lambeth,  and  in  the  Library  of 
Corpus  Christi  College  at  Cambridge;  thus  falsifying  the  absurd  calumny  promulgated  by  the  Romanists, 
of  Archbishop  Parker  having  been  irregularly  consecrated  at  the  Nag't  Head  Tavern,  at  the  east  end  of 
Friday-street,  Cheapside,  by  one  bishop  only. 

t  This  portrait  strongly  resembles  the  small  print  of  the  Archbishop  engraved  by  R.  Berg  (Remigius 
Hogenberg),  which  Vertue  considered  to  be  the  first  portrait  engraved  in  England. 


504  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  interior  was  converted  into  a  library  for  the  printed  books  belonging  to  the  see, 
between  1830  and  1834  ;  when  a  new  entrance-gateway  to  the  inner  court  was  built, 
with  a  fireproof  room  over  it,  in  which  are  kept  the  MSS.  The  library  has  a  large 
north-west  bay-window  of  richly  ornamented  stained  and  painted  glass ;  in  the  top 
division  is  a  very  large  coat  of  the  arms  of  the  see  and  Archbishop  Juxon;  and 
underneath  are  the  arms  of  the  see  and  Archbishop  Howley,  1829.  Around  are  smaller 
coats  of  the  arms  of  about  twenty-four  archbishops,  each  impaled  with  the  arms  of  the 
see.  Here  are  also  the  arms  of  Philip  II.  King  of  Spain ;  but  the  most  curious  piece  of 
painted  glass  is  an  ancient  portrait  of  Archbishop  Chicheley. 

The  roof  is  of  oak,  and  a  fine  specimen  of  olden  carpentry :  it  consists  of  eight  main 
ribs,  with  longitudinal  braces,  springing  from  corbel  brackets,  and  enriched  with 
carved  spandrels,  pendants,  enwreathed  mitres,  and  the  arms  of  Juxon  and  the  see  of 
Canterbury  several  times  repeated.  Above  the  two  fireplaces  are  painted  the  arms  of 
the  see,  impaling  those  of  Bancroft,  the  founder  of  the  library ;  and  of  Seeker,  a 
liberal  contributor.  The  books,  over-estimated  by  Ducarel  at  25,000  volumes,  are  kept 
in  wall  and  projecting  oak  cases ;  the  earliest  printed  works  being  in  the  south-west 
bay-window  recess.  Until  Bancroft  bequeathed  his  books  in  1610,  each  archbishop 
brought  his  own  private  collection.  Bancroft's  books  remained  at  Lambeth  till  1646, 
two  years  after  the  execution  of  Laud,  when  being  seized  by  the  Parliament,  the  use  of 
them  was  granted  to  Dr.  Wincocke.  They  were  subsequently  given  to  Sion  College, 
and  many  began  to  get  into  private  hands  ;  when  Selden  suggested  to  the  University 
of  Cambridge  a  right  to  them,  and  they  were  delivered,  pursuant  to  an  ordinance  of 
Parliament,  dated  Feb.  1647,  into  their  possession.  After  the  Restoration,  and  re- 
peated demands  by  Juxon  and  Sheldon,  the  books  were  collected,  including  those  in 
private  hands,  and  in  the  possession  of  John  Thurloe  and  Hugh  Peters.  Evelyn  writes 
to  Pepys,  in  1 6S9,  that  the  library  was  then  "  replenished  with  excellent  books,  but 
that  it  ebbs  and  flows,  like  the  Thames  running  by  it,  at  every  prelate's  accession  or 
translation."  The  books  left  by  Archbishops  Bancroft,  Abbot,  Laud,  Sheldon,  and 
Tenison,  bear  their  arms.  There  is  only  one  volume  in  the  collection  known  to  have  be- 
longed to  Archbishop  Parker,  which  is  a  volume  of  Calvin's  writing :  his  arms  are  on  the 
outside,  and  within  is  written  in  red  lead,  "  J.  Parker,"  who  was  the  archbishop's  son. 

The  first  complete  Catalogue  made  of  the  printed  books  was  drawn  up  by  Bishop  Gibson  when 
librarian.  In  1718  it  was  fairly  copied  by  Dr.  Wilkins,  in  three  volumes  folio ;  and  it  has  been  continued 
by  his  successors  to  the  present  time.  The  library  consists  of  rare  and  curious  editions  of  the  Scriptures, 
commentaries  of  the  early  fathers,  scarce  controversial  divinity,  records  of  ecclesiastical  affairs,  English 
history  and  topography ;  many  fine  copies,  splendidly  embellished. 

The  early  printed  books  (see  the  Eev.  Dr.  Maitland's  two  Catalogues)  include,  Caxton's  Chronicles  of 
England  and  Description  of  Britain,  both  "fynsshed"  in  1480,  the  finest  copies  extant;  Lyndwode*s 
Constitutiones  Provinciates,  printed  by  Wynkin  de  Worde  in  1499 ;  The  Golden  Legend,  emprynted  at 
London  in  Fletestrete,  in  the  Sygne  of  the  George,  by  Richard  Pynson,  in  1507,  and  another  edition  of 
the  same  work  by  Wynkin  de  Worde,  in  1527 ;  Gower's  Confessio  Amantis,  a  splendid  copy  by  Caxton, 
1483;  Dives  and  Pauper,  by  Pynson,  1493;  Chaucer's  Works,  folio,  by  John  Revues,  in  1452,  and  Islip, 
in  1598.  Here,  too,  is  a  small  folio,  executed  at  Paris,  on  vellum,  about  1500,  intituled,  La  Dance 
Macabre  (the  Dance  of  Death),  printed  with  old  Gothic  types  and  beautifully  illuminated.  Here,  also, 
in  volumes,  is  Bancroft's  collection  of  black-letter  tracts,  pamphlets,  and  sermons;  remarkable  for  St. 
Paul's  Cross  sermons,  Mar-Prelate  tracts,  and  the  writings  of  the  Brownists  and  other  Elizabethan 
separatists.  Here,  too,  is  a  copy  of  Archbishop  Parker's  Antiquities  printed,  by  Daycs  in  1572  (only 
two  complete  copies  extant) ;  it  contains  the  very  rare  portrait  of  Parker,  taken  just  before  his  death, 
by  Berg. 

Among  the  Manuscripts  are,  the  ancient  Freneh  version  and  exposition  of  the  Apocalypse,  with 
miniature  paintings,  No.  75;  the  Latin  copy  of  the  Apocalypse,  No.  209  (thirteenth  century),  with  78 
brilliant  illuminations;  and  No.  200,  a  copy  of  the  treatise  De  Virginitate,  in  praise  of  celibacy,  by 
Aldhelm,  Abbot  of  Malraesbury,  eighth  century.  Among  the  sacred  MSS.  are  Greek  Testaments; 
the  Old  Testament  in  Armenian;  the  whole  Bible,  Wicliffe's  translation;  and  Latin  Psalters, 
beautifully  written  and  illuminated.  Here,  too,  are  Scripture  expositions  of  Bede;  Anglo-Saxon  ser- 
mons (tenth  century)  and  Saxon  homilies  (twelfth  century).  Among  the  Missals  is  a~ very  beautiful 
Salisbury  missal,  folio,  on  vellum,  emblazoned  with  Archbishop  Chicheley's  arms.  The  MSS.  of  Greek 
and  Latin  classics  are  extremely  valuable.  Here  are  the  Lambeth  Registers,  40  vols,  folio,  on  vellum; 
eontaininjr  homages,  popes'  bulls ;  letters  to  and  from  popes,  cardinals,  kings,  and  princes;  commissions 
and  proxies,  marriages  and  divorces,  &e.  1279  to  1747  (except  1644  to  1660) :  the  registers  of  the  primates 
subsequent  to  Potter,  1747,  are  kept  at  Doctors'  Commons.  Also  two  large  folio  volumes  of  papal  bulls ; 
ancient  charters  of  the  see,  13  vols. ;  accurate  transcripts  of  the  parliamentary  surveys  of  the  property 
of  bishops,  deans,  and  chapters,  made  during  the  Commonwealth,  21  vols. 

The  collection  is  stored  with  MSS.  of  English  history,  civil  and  ecclesiastical,  including  chronicles 
and  collections  of  histories;  and  important  documents,  particularly  of  the  relations  of  France  and  Eng- 
land (temp.  Hen.  V.  and  VI.).  Among  the  MSS.  on  Heraldry  and  Genealogy  are  many  written  or 
corrected  by  Lord  Burghley.  Here  are  stores  of  old  English  poetry  and  romances :  including  Lydgate's 
Works,  and  Gawan  Douglas's  Translation  of  Virgil's-<£M<?K/,-  and  the  metrical  legend  of  Lybeaus  Disconus. 


LAW  COURTS. 


Among  the  Letters  are  those  of  Lord  Verulam,  published  by  Dr.  Birch ;  those  of 
his  brother,  Anthony  Bacon,  sixteen  vols. ;  the  letters  of  the  Earl  of  Shrewsbury,  and 
of  other  persons,  temp.  Henry  VIII.  to  James  I.  But  the  most  curious  and  beautifully 
written  of  the  miscellaneous  MSS.  (between  1200  and  1300  in  number)  is  Lord  Rivera's 
translation  from  the  French  of  "the  Notable  Wise  Sayings  of  Philosophers,"  with 
a  very  fine  illumination  of  Earl  Rivers  presenting  Caxton  the  printer  to  King 
Edward  IV.,  in  presence  of  his  queen  and  infant  son,  afterwards  Edward  V.  (Lon- 
diniana,  vol.  iii.  p.  316.) 

Here  is  an  original  copy  of  Aggas's  Map  of  London,  temp.  Elizabeth ;  and  here  are 
laid  up  the  service-books  which  have  been  used  at  the  coronations  of  different  sove- 
reigns. The  coronation- chairs  claimed  by  the  archbishops  have  descended  to  their 
respective  families. 

Among  the  Curiosities  is  the  habit  of  a  priest,  consisting  of  a  stole,  maniple, 
chasuble,  cord,  two  bands  marked  P.,  and  the  corporal ;  also,  a  crucifix  of  base  metal, 
a  string  of  beads,  and  a  box  of  relics.  Here  is  kept  the  shell  of  the  tortoise,  believed 
to  have  lived  in  the  palace-garden  from  the  time  of  Laud  (1633)  to  1753,  when  ifc 
perished  by  the  negligence  of  the  gardener :  the  shell  is  10  inches  in  length,  and  6 \ 
inches  in  breadth. 

The  Gardens  and  grounds  extend  to  eighteen  acres.  Here  were  formerly  two  fine 
white  Marseilles  fig-trees,  traditionally  planted  by  Cardinal  Pole  against  that  part  of 
the  palace  which  he  founded :  these  trees  were  more  than  50  feet  in  height  and  40  in 
breadth  ;  their  circumferences  28  and  21  inches.  They  were  removed  during  the  late 
rebuilding,  but  some  cuttings  from  the  trees  are  growing  between  the  buttresses  of 
the  Library.  The  Terrace  is  named  Clarendon  Walk,  from  having  been  the  scene  of 
the  conference  between  the  great  and  wise  Earl  of  Clarendon  and  the  ill-fated  Laud. 

A  superb  feature  in  the  archbishop's  state  was  formerly  a  river  barge,  in  which  he 
went  to  Parliament ;  but  this  custom  has  been  discontinued  a  century,  or  since  Arch- 
bishop Wake's  primacy.  The  Stationers'  Company's  Barge,  formerly  called  at  Lam- 
beth Palace  on  Lord  Mayor's  Day,  to  present  copies  of  their  Almanacks;  the  origin  of 
which  custom  is  described  under  the  account  of  the  Stationers'  Company,  p.  421. 

Lambeth  House  has  at  various  times  proved  an  asylum  for  learned  foreigners  who 
have  been  compelled  to  flee  from  the  intolerant  spirit  of  their  own  countrymen.  Here 
the  early  reformers,  Martyr  and  Bucer,  found  a  safe  retreat ;  and  the  learned  Antonio, 
Archbishop  of  Spalatro,  was  entertained  by  Archbishop  Abbot.  The  archbishops  have 
frequently  been  honoured  by  visits  from  their  respective  sovereigns.  Henry  VIL,  just 
before  his  coronation,  visited  Archbishop  Bourchier.  Henry  VIII.  was  a  guest  of 
Warham,  in  1513;  and  one  evening  in  1543  he  crossed  the  Thames  to  Lambeth, 
to  acquaint  Cranmer  (whom  he  called  into  his  barge)  of  the  plot  against  him 
instigated  by  Bishop  Gardiner.  Queen  Mary  is  said  to  have  refurnished  Lambeth 
House,  at  her  own  expense,  for  the  reception  of  Cardinal  Pole,  whom  she  several 
times  visited  here  during  his  short  primacy.  Elizabeth  often  visited  Archbishop 
Parker;  his  successor,  Grindal,  was  out  of  favour;  but  Whitgift,  the  next  archbishop, 
was  visited  fifteen  times  by  Elizabeth,  who  occasionally  stayed  two  or  three  days. 
James  also  visited  Whitgift.  Mary,  Queen  of  William  III.,  had  a  conference  here  in 
1694  with  Archbishop  Tillotsou,  who  received  here  Peter  the  Great,  to  witness  the 
ceremony  of  an  ordination. 

LAW  COURTS. 

FOR  nearly  eight  centuries,  existing  record  proves  Law  Courts  to  have  been  held  at 
Westminster,  within  the  palace  of  the  sovereign  :  one  of  the  earliest  notices  being  in 
the  Annals  of  Waverley,  1069,  when  Elfric,  Abbot  of  Peterborough,  was  tried  before 
the  king  in  curia.  But  it  was  not  until  1225  (9  Hen.  III.)  that  the  Law  Courts, 
hitherto  held  wherever  the  king  was  temporarily  resident,  were  permanently  fixed  at 
Westminster.  Here  the  Courts  were  frequently  held  before  the  monarch  in  person  j 
and  the  phrase  of  summons,  "  in  banco  regina,"  still  is,  "  before  the  queen  herself." 

The  old  Law  Courts  in  Westminster  Hall  were  thus  arranged.  At  the  entry,  on  the  right  hand, 
were  settled  the  Common  Pleas,  for  civil  matters ;  at  the  upper  end,  in  the  south-east  corner,  was  the 


506  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

King's  Bench,  for  pleas  of  the  Crown ;  and  in  the  south-west  angle  sat  the  Lord  Chancellor,  the  Master 
of  the  Rolls,  and  eleven  men  learned  in  the  civil  law,  called  Masters  of  the  Chancery,  deriving  its  name 
from  the  lattice-work,  "  cancelli,"  which  separated  this  Court  (in  the  last  century  shutting  it  out  of 
sight)  from  the  lower  part  of  the  Hall.  (The  screen  was  removed  before  the  coronation  of  King  George 
IV.)  Near  the  King's  Bench,  going  to  the  large  chamber  (White  Hall)  was  the  Court  of  Wards  and 
Liveries,  instituted  by  Henry  VIII. ;  in  this  chamber,  then  called  the  Treasury,  were  kept  valuable 
state-papers.  Adjoining,  but  inferior  to  the  Chancery,  was  the  Equity  Court  of  Requests,  or  Conscience, 
for  trying  suits  made  by  way  of  petition  to  the  sovereign ;  and  sometimes  called  the  Poor  Man's  Court, 
because  he  could  there  have  right  without  paying  money.  It  began  its  sittings  in  1493,  and  was  remodelled 
in  1517 ;  the  Lord  Privy  Seal  sitting  as  judge. — Walcott's  Westminster,  p.  252,  abridged. 

The  Old  Court  of  Requests,  just  mentioned,  was,  at  the  Union,  fitted  up  as  the 
King's  Robing-room  and  the  House  of  Lords;  and  after  the  great  fire  in  1834,  this 
Court  was  newly  roofed,  and  fitted  up  as  the  House  of  Commons ;  the  old  Painted 
Chamber  being  similarly  provided  as  the  House  of  Lords. 

Of  certain  of  the  present  Courts  we  subjoin  a  few  details  of  popular  interest. 

Central  Criminal  Court  (the)  forms  part  of  the  Sessions  House,  formerly  "  the 
Justice  Hall,"  divided  by  a  broad  yard  from  the  prison  of  Newgate,  in  the  Old  Bailey. 
The  Court,  established  1834,  sits  monthly;  so  that  a  prisoner  has  been  apprehended  one 
day,  committed  by  a  magistrate  on  the  second,  and  tried,  convicted,  and  sentenced  on  the 
third  or  fourth  day.  The  judges  are,  the  Lord  Mayor  (who  opens  the  Court),  the 
Sheriffs,  the  Lord  Chancellor  (such  is  the  order  of  the  Act),  the  Judges,  the  Aldermen, 
Recorder,  Common  Serjeant  of  London,  judge  of  the  Sheriffs'  Court,  or  City  Com- 
missioner, and  any  others  whom  the  Crown  may  appoint  as  assistants.  Of  these,  the 
Recorder  and  Common  Serjeant  are  in  reality  the  presiding  judges ;  a  judge  of  the  law 
only  assisting  when  unusual  points  of  the  law  are  involved,  or  when  conviction  affects 
the  life  of  the  prisoner.  Here  are  tried  crimes  of  every  kind,  from  treason  to  the 
pettiest  larceny,  and  even  offences  committed  on  the  high  seas.  The  jurisdiction  com- 
prises the  whole  of  the  metropolis  as  now  defined;  with  the  remainder  of  Middlesex; 
the  parishes  of  Richmond  and  Mortlake  in  Surrey  ;  and  great  part  of  Essex. 

The  Court-house,  built  in  1773,  was  destroyed  in  the  Riots  of  1780,  but  was  rebuilt 
and  enlarged  1809,  by  the  addition  of  the  site  of  Surgeons'  Hall.  The  Old  Court  is  a 
square  hall,  with  a  gallery  for  visitors ;  below  is  a  dock  for  the  prisoners,  with  stairs 
descending  to  the  covered  passage  by  which  they  are  conveyed  to  and  from  Newgate ; 
opposite  is  the  bench,  with  the  chief  seat,  above  it  a  gilded  sheathed  sword  upon  the 
crimson  wall ;  and  a  canopy  overhead,  surmounted  with  the  royal  arms.  To  the  left  of 
the  dock  is  the  witness-box,  and  further  left  is  the  jury-box ;  which  arrangement 
enables  the  jury  to  see,  without  turning,  the  faces  of  the  witnesses  and  prisoners; 
the  witnesses  to  identify  the  prisoner ;  and  lastly,  the  judges  on  the  bench,  and  the 
counsel  in  the  centre  of  the  Court  below;  keeping  jury,  witnesses,  and  prisoners  all  at 
once  within  nearly  the  same  line  of  view.  The  Court  formerly  sat  at  7  A.M. ;  the 
present  hour  is  10.  Upon  the  front  of  the  dock  is  placed  rue,  to  prevent  infection. 
In  1750,  when  the  jail-fever  raged  in  Newgate,  the  effluvia  entering  the  Court,  caused 
the  death  of  Baron  Clarke,  Sir  Thomas  Abney,  the  judge  of  the  Common  Pleas ;  and 
Pennant's  "  respected  kinsman,"  Sir  Samuel  Pennant,  Lord  Mayor ;  besides  members 
of  the  bar  and  of  the  jury,  and  other  persons :  this  disease  was  also  fatal  to  several 
persons  in  1772.     In  the  New  Court,  adjoining,  are  tried  the  lighter  offences. 

In  1841,  both  courts  were  ventilated  upon  Dr.  Reid's  plan,  from  chambers  beneath  the  floors,  filled 
with  air  filtered  from  an  apartment  outside  the  building ;  the  air  being  drawn  into  them  by  an  enormous 
discharge  upon  the  highest  part  of  the  edifice,  or  propelled  into  them  by  a  fanner.  From  the  entire  build- 
ing the  vitiated  air  is  received  in  a  large  chamber  in  the  roof  of  the  Old  Court,  whence  it  is  discharged 
by  a  gigantic  iron  cowl,  15  feet  in  diameter,  weighing  two  tons,  and  the  point  of  the  arrow  of  the 
guiding-vane  150  lbs.    The  subterranean  air-tunnels  pass  through  a  portion  of  the  old  City  walL 

Above  the  Old  Court  is  a  stately  dining-room,  wherein,  during  the  Old  Bailey 
sittings,  the  dinners  are  given  by  the  Sheriffs  to  the  judges  and  aldermen,  the  Recorder, 
Common  Serjeant,  City  pleaders,  and  a  few  visitors.  Marrow-puddings  and  rump- 
steaks  are  invariably  provided.  Two  dinners,  exact  duplicates,  are  served  each  day,  at  three 
and  five  o'clock ;  the  judges  relieve  each  other,  but  aldermen  have  eaten  both  dinners ; 
and  a  chaplain,  who  invariably  presided  at  the  lower  end  of  the  table,  thus  ate  two 
dinners  a  day  for  ten  years.  Theodore  Hook  admirably  describes  a  Judges'  Dinner  in 
his  Gilbert  Gurney.  In  1807-8,  the  dinners  for  three  sessions,  nineteen  days,  cost 
Sheriff  Phillips  and  his  colleague  35Z.  per  day=665£. ;  145  dozen  of  wine,  consumed 


LAW  COURTS.  507 


at  the  above  dinners,  4501. :  total  1115Z.     The  amount  is  now  considerably  greater,  as 
the  sessions  are  held  monthly. 

"  The  Press  Yard,"  between  the  Court-house  and  Newgate,  recals  the  horrors  of 
the  old  criminal  law,  in  the  peine  forte  et  dure  (the  strong  and  hard  pain) :  a  torture 
applied  to  persons  refusing  to  plead,  who  were  stripped  and  put  in  low  dark  chambers, 
with  as  much  weight  of  iron  placed  upon  them  as  they  could  bear,  and  more,  there  to 
lie  until  they  were  dead ;  which  barbarous  custom  of  pressing  to  death  continued 
until  the  year  1734. 

Memorable  Trials  at  the  Old  Bailey  and  Central  Criminal  Courts ;  Major  Strangwayes,  the  assassin, 
1657 ;  Col.  Turner  and  his  family,  for  burglary  in  Lime-street,  1663 ;  the  Regicides,  1660 ;  Green,  Berry, 
and  Hill,  for  the  murder  of  Sir  Edmund  Berrv  Godfrey,  1678;  Count  Koningsmark,  and  three  others,  for 
the  assassination  of  Mr.  Thynne,  1681 ;  William  Lord  Russell,  William  Hone,  and  two  other?,  for  high 
treason,  1683 ;  Rowland  Walters  and  others,  for  the  murder  of  Sir  Charles  Pym,  bart.,  1688 ;  Harrison, 
for  the  murder  of  Dr.  Clenehe,  1692;  Beau  Fielding,  for  bigamy,  1706;  Richard  Thornhill,  Esq.,  for 
killing  Sir  Cholmeley  Deering  in  a  duel,  1711 ;  the  Marquis  di  Paieotti,  for  the  murder  of  his  servant 
in  Lisle-street,  1718;  Major  Oneby,  for  killing  in  a  duel,  1718  and  1726;  Jack  Sheppard,  the  house- 
breaker, 1721;  Jonathan  Wild,  the  thief-taker  (who  lived  nearly  opposite  the  Court-house),  1725;* 
Catherine  Hayes,  murder  of  her  husband,  1726;  Richard  Savage,  the  poet,  for  murder,  1727;  the 
infamous  Col.  Charteris,  1730;  Sarah  Malcolm,  for  murder,  1733;  Elizabeth  Canning,  an  inexplicable 
mystery,  1753 ;  Ann  Brownrigg,  for  murder,  1767 ;  Baretti,  for  stabbing,  1769 ;  the  two  Perraus,  for 
forgery,  1776;  the  Rev.  Dr.  Dodd,  for  forgery,  1777;  the  Rev.  Mr.  Hackman,  for  shooting  Miss  Reay, 
1779;  Ryl  nd,  the  engraver,  for  forgery,  1783;  Barrington,  the  pickpocket,  1790;  Renwick  Williams, 
for  stabbing,  1790;  Theodore  Gardelle,  for  murder,  1790:  Hadfield,  for  shooting  at  George  III.,  1800; 
Capt.  Macnamara,  for  killing  Col.  Montgomery  in  a  duel,  1803 ;  Aslett,  the  Bank  clerk  (forgery  on 
the  Bank,  320,0002. ),  1803;  old  Patch,  for  murder,  1806;  Holloway  and  Haggerty,  for  murder,  1807; 
Governor  Wall,  for  murder  by  flogging,  1812 ;  Bellingham.  the  assassin  of  Perceval,  1812 ;  Eliza  Fenning, 
for  poisoning,  1815;  Cashman,  the  seaman,  for  riot  on  Snow-hill  (where  he  was  hanged),  1817;  Richard 
Carlile,  for  blasphemy,  1819  and  1831;  Cato-street  conspirators,  1820;  Fauntleroy,  for  forgery,  1824; 
St.  John  Long,  the  "  counter-irritation"  surgeon,  for  manslaughter,  1830  and  1831;  Bishop  and  Williams, 
for  murder  by  "burking,"  1831;  Greenacre,  for  murder,  1837;  E.  Oxford,  for  shooting  at  the  Queen, 
1840;  Courvoisier,  for  the  murder  of  Lord  William  Russell,  1840;  Blakesley,  for  murder  in  Eastcheap, 
1841 ;  Beaumont  Smith,  for  forgery  of  Exchequer  Bills,  1841 ;  J.  Francis,  for  attempt  to  shoot  the 
Queen,  1843;  Mae  Naughten,  for  assassination,  1834;  Dalmas,  for  murder  on  Battersea  Bridge,  1844; 
Barber,  Fletcher,  &c,  for  Will-forgeries,  1844;  Manning  and  his  wife,  for  murder,  1849;  Seven  Pirates 
convicted  of  murder  on  the  high  seas,  within  the  jurisdiction  of  the  Admiralty  of  England,  1863. 

.  Clebkenwell  Session  House  (see  p.  237). 

Court  of  Aeches  (see  Doctoes'  Commons,  p.  312). 

Cotjbts  of  Equity  (the) — namely,  those  of  the  Lord  Chancellor,  the  Master  of  the 
Rolls,  and  the  Vice-Chancellor  of  England — sit  at  Westminster  in  term-time ;  but  in 
the  intervals  the  Lord  Chancellor  and  Vice-Chancellor  sit  at  Lincoln's  Inn ;  and  the 
Master  of  the  Rolls  at  the  Rolls  House,  in  Chancery-lane :  the  two  additional  Vice- 
Chancellors,  appointed  in  1841,  also  sit  at  Lincoln's  Inn.  The  Lord  High  Chancellor 
was  originally  a  sort  of  confidential  chaplain,  or,  before  the  Reformation,  confessor  to 
the  king,  and  keeper  of  the  king's  conscience.  As  chief  secretary,  he  advised  his 
master  in  matters  temporal;  prepared  royal  mandates,  grants,  and  charters;  and  when 
seals  came  in,  affixed  the  same :  hence  the  appointment  to  the  office  takes  place  by  the 
delivery  of  the  Great  Seal.  His  Court  has  exclusive  cognisance  of  trusts,  and  the 
suitors'  property  exceeds  40,000,0007. 

Couet  of  Chancery. — The  present  Law  Courts,  on  the  west  side  of  the  Great 
Hall  at  Westminster,  were  built  by  Soane,  1820-25,  upon  the  site  of  the  old  Exchequer 
Chamber,  &c.  There  is  little  to  interest  the  visitor,  except  in  the  Lord  Chancellor's 
Court,  where  his  lordship  sits  in  state,  with  the  mace  and  an  embroidered  bag  before  him ; 
in  this  bag  the  seal  is  deposited  when  the  Chancellor  receives  it  from  the  Sovereign, 
and  when,  upon  his  retirement  from  office,  he  delivers  it  into  the  royal  hands :  formerly, 
the  Great  Seal  was  worn  by  the  Chancellor  on  his  left  side. 

The  Great  Seal  itself  is  a  silver  pair  of  dies,  which  are  closed  to  receive  the  melted 
wax,  poured,  when  an  impression  is  to  be  taken,  through  an  orifice  left  in  the  top.  As 
each  impression  is  attached  to  a  document  by  a  ribbon  or  slip  of  parchment,  its  ends 
are  put  into  the  seal  before  the  wax  is  poured  in ;  so  that  when  the  hard  wax  is  taken 
from  the  dies,  the  ribbon  or  parchment  is  affixed  to  it.     The  impression  of  the  seal  is 

*  Amongst  the  old  manuscript  documents  in  the  Town  Clerk's  Office  at  Guildhall  is  a  petition  from 
Jonathan  Wild  to  the  Court  of  Aldermen,  dated  1724,  praying  to  be  free  of  the  City,  for  apprehending 
and  convicting  divers  felons  returned  from  transportation,  since  October  1720.  In  1839,  the  skeleton  of 
Jonathan  was  in  the  possession  of  a  surgeon  at  Windsor. 


508  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

six  inches  in  diameter,  and  three-quarters  of  an  inch  thick.  On  every  accession  to  the 
throne,  a  new  seal  is  struck,  and  the  old  one  is  cut  into  four  pieces  and  deposited  in 
the  Tower  of  London.  Formerly,  the  seal  was  broken  "  by  the  king's  command,"  and 
the  fragments  were  given  to  the  poor  of  religious  bouses. 

The  present  Great  Seal  was  executed  by  Benjamin  Wyon,  R.A.,  in  1839.  Obverse :  The  Queen  wear- 
ing a  flowing  and  sumptuous  robe  and  regal  diadem,  bearing  a  sceptre,  and  riding  a  charger  richly 
caparisoned  with  plumes  and  trappings,  while  a  pasre,  bonnet  in  hand,  gracefully  restrains  the  steed. 
The  legend  in  the  exergue, "  Victoria  Dei  Gratia  Britanniarum  Regina,  Fidei  Defensor,"  is  engraved  in 
Gothic  letters ;  the  interspaces  of  the  words  being  filled  with  heraldic  roses ;  a  crown  above,  and  a 
trident-head  and  oak  branches  beneath.  Hecerse :  The  Queen  royally  robed  and  crowned,  holding  the 
sceptre  and  orb,  and  seated  upon  a  throne  beneath  a  Gothic  canopy  :  on  either  side  is  a  figure  of  Jus- 
tice and  Religion ;  and  beneath  are  the  royal  arms  and  crown ;  the  whole  encircled  by  a  border  of  oak 
and  roses. 

The  Seal-bag  is  about  twelve  inche3  square,  of  crimson  silk  embroidered  in  gold, 
with  the  royal  arms  on  each  side,  fringed  with  gold  bullion ;  to  the  bag  is  attached  a 
stout  silken  cord,  by  whicb  it  is  carried ;  within  is  placed  the  Seal,  in  a  leathern  pouch, 
enclosed  in  a  silk  purse. 

The  Chancellor's  Mace  is  silver-gilt,  and  about  five  feet  long.  The  staff  and  its 
massive  bands  are  deeply  chased  with  the  rose,  shamrock,  and  thistle ;  the  upper  por- 
tion consists  of  a  large  and  richly  chased  crown,  surmounted  with  the  orb  and  cross, 
and  encircled  with  crosses-patees  and  fleurs-de-lis ;  and  supported  on  a  hold  circlet, 
ornamented  in  high  relief  with  the  emblems  of  the  United  Kingdom.  The  mace  and 
seal-bag  are  laid  before  the  Chancellor  when  seated  upon  the  woolsack  as  Speaker  of 
the  House  of  Lords ;  and  they  are  placed  upon  the  table  in  the  Court  of  Chancery, 
accompanied  by  a  large  nosegay  of  flowers,  conjectured  to  be  the  representative  of  the 
judge's  bough  or  wand. 

Court  of  Exchequer  (the)  was  formed  by  William  I.  in  1079,  as  a  superior  Court 
of  Record,  in  the  place  of  a  similar  court  in  his  Duchy  of  Normandy :  it  included  the 
Common  Pleas  until  16  John,  1215;  it  was  remodelled  into  its  present  form  by 
Edward  I.  The  name  of  Exchequer  is  from  the  parti -coloured  carpet  of  a  table  before 
the  Barons,  on  which  the  sums  of  certain  of  the  king's  accounts  were  reckoned  by 
counters :  the  Chancellor  of  the  Exchequer  is  the  treasurer ;  he  presides  only  when  the 
Court  sits  as  a  Court  of  Equity. 

The  Great  Moll  of  the  Exchequer  ("  the  Pipe  Roll ")  contains  an  account  of  the 
Crown  revenue  from  5  Stephen  to  the  present  time.  To  this  document  nearly  every 
ancient  pedigree  is  indebted;  it  has  a  perfect  list  of  the  Sheriffs  of  the  different 
counties,  and  almost  every  name  in  English  history. 

The  Court  of  Exchequer  regulates  the  election  of  Sheriffs.  Thus,  on  the  morrow  of 
St.  Martin,  November  12,  a  Privy  Council  is  held  in  the  Exchequer  Court,  to  receive 
the  report  of  the  Judges  of  the  persons  eligible  in  the  several  counties  to  serve  as 
Sheriff.  On  the  bench  sits  the  Chancellor  of  the  Exchequer,  in  his  figured  silk  gown, 
trimmed  with  gold;  next  are  Members  of  the  Privy  Council,  the  Lord  Chancellor,  and 
Judges  of  the  Queen's  Bench  and  Common  Pleas;  below  sit  the  Judges  and  Chief 
Baron  of  the  Exchequer,  and  on  the  left  the  Remembrancer  of  the  Court.  At  this 
meeting  the  Judges  report  the  names  of  three  persons  eligible  for  Sheriff  in  each 
county,  when  excuses  for  exemption  are  pleaded.  The  list  is  again  considered  by  the 
Privy  Council,  and  the  names  finally  determined  on  the  approval  of  Her  Majesty  in. 
Council,  which  is  done  by  the  Sovereign  pricking  through  the  name  approved  on  a  long 
sheet  of  paper  called  the  Sheriffs'  Roll. 

The  Sheriffs  of  London  and  Middlesex  are,  however,  chosen  by  the  Livery  ;  but  are  presented,  on 
the  morrow  of  the  Feast  of  St.  Michael,  in  the  Court  of  Exchequer,  accompanied  by  the  Lord  Mayor 
and  aldermen,  when  the  Recorder  introduces  the  Sheriffs  and  details  their  family  history,  and  the  Cursi- 
tor  Baron  signifies  the  sovereign's  approval ;  the  writs  and  appearances  are  read,  recorded,  and  tiled,  and 
the  Sheriffs  and  senior  under-sheriff  take  the  oaths ;  and  the  late  Sheriffs  present  their  accounts.  For- 
merly, the  following  ancient  tenure  ceremony  was  performed  in  the  Court.  The  Crier  of  the  court  made 
proclamation  for  one  who  did  homage  for  the  Sheriffs  of  London  to  "stand  forth  and  do  his  duty:" 
when  the  senior  Alderman  below  the  chair  rose,  the  usher  of  the  court  handed  him  a  bill-hook,  and  held 
in  both  hands  a  small  bundle  of  sticks,  which  the  Alderman  cut  asunder,  and  then  cut  another  bundle 
with  a  hatchet.  Similar  proclamation  was  then  made  for  the  Sheriff  of  Middlesex,  when  the  Alderman 
counted  six  horse-shoes  lying  upon  the  table,  and  sixty-one  hob-nails  handed  in  a  tray ;  and  the  num- 
bers were  declared  twice.  The  sticks  were  thin  peeled  twigs,  tied  in  a  bundle  at  each  end  with  red 
tape;  the  horse-shoes  were  of  large  size,  and  very  old;  the  hob-nails  were  supplied  fresh  every  year. 
By  the  first  ceremony  the  Alderman  did  suit  and  service  for  the  tenants  of  a  manor  in  Shropshire,  the 


LAW  COURTS.  509 


chopping  of  sticks  betokening  the  custom  of  the  tenants  supplying  their  lord  with  fuel.  The  counting 
of  the  horse-shoes  and  nails  was  another  suit  and  service  of  the  owners  of  a  forge  in  St.  Clement 
Danes,  Strand,  which  formerly  belonged  to  the  City,  but  no  longer  exists.  Sheriff  Hoare,  in  his  MS. 
journal  of  his  shrievalty,  1740-41,  says,  where  the  tenements  and  lands  are  situated  "  no  one  knows, 
nor  doth  the  City  receive  any  rents  or  profits  thereby." 

This  ancient  ceremony  is  now  observed  before  the  Queen's  Remembrancer,  at  his 
office,  where  the  City  Solicitor,  the  Secondary  of  London,  and  one  of  the  late  Under- 
sheriffs,  attend  "  to  account  as  to  rent  services  due  to  the  Crown  to  be  rendered  on 
behalf  of  the  Corporation ;"  when  the  City  Solicitor  cuts  the  fagot  and  counts  the 
horse-shoes  and  nails,  and  the  Remembrancer  says,  "  Good  number,"  according  to 
custom . 

On  Nov.  9  the  oath  is  administered  in  the  Court  of  Exchequer  to  the  [Lord  Mayor  elect ;  the  late 
Lord  Mayor  renders  his  accounts ;  and  the  Recorder  invites  the  barons  to  the  inauguration-banquet  at 
Guildhall. 

The  Court  of  Exchequer  has  two  seals:  the  Cheat  Seal,  used  not  more  than  ten  or  twelve  times  a 
year,  except  on  Seal  Days,  in  passing  the  accounts  in  court.  The  other,  a  small  Initial  Seal,  which 
formerly  contained  the  Chancellor's  initials,  but  now  bears  the  letters  C.  E.,  is  affixed  to  writs,  "  is  in. 
daily  use,  and  seldom  idle  during  official  hours." — Notes,  by  F.  S.  Thomas,  Record  Office. 

The  Receipt  of  Exchequer  at  Westminster,  the  most  ancient  revenue  department  of  the  State,  with 
all  its  antiquated  machinery  of  tallies  and  checks,  was  not  abolished  until  the  year  1834;  when  a  new 
office  for  the  payment  of  pensions  and  public  moneys,  and  the  receipt  of  revenue,  was  opened  at  the 
Bank  of  England.  By  the  statute  of  23  Geo.  II C.  cap.  82,  however,  indented  check  receipts  were  issued 
from  the  Tally  Court  instead  of  tallies,  which,  as  instruments  of  loan,  declined  with  the  growth  of 
Exchequer  Bills.  An  Exchequer  Tally,  date  1810,  is  22\  inches  long,  and  J  of  an  inch  extreme  width : 
notches  are  cut  in  its  edge  to  denote  the  reckoning,  and  from  the  cross-line  in  the  lower  part  has  been 
stripped  off  the  counter-tally,  cutting  the  date-line  of  the  transaction  written  on  the  edge ;  so  that 
identity  consisted  not  only  in  the  wood  fitting,  but  in  the  halved  date  and  notches  corresponding, 
like  a  halved  bank-note. 

"  From  his  rug  the  skew'r  he  takes, 
And  on  the  stick  ten  equal  notches  makes ; 
With  just  resentment  flings  it  on  the  ground, 
There,  take  my  tally  of  ten  thousand  pound."— Swift. 

As  one  of  the  Exchequer  apartments  at  Westminster  was  filled  with  the  old  tallies  in  1834,  it  became 
advisable  to  destroy  them ;  and  an  order  was  issued  from  the  Board  of  Works  to  burn  these  ancient 
relics,  although  persons  curious  in  such  matters  would  have  purchased  bundles  of  them  for  museums 
and  collections.  The  tallies  were,  accordingly,  burnt  in  the  principal  stove  of  the  House  of  Lords ;  and 
to  the  consequent  overheating  of  the  flues  proceeding  in  every  direction  from  the  stove  through  the 
wood-work  of  the  House,  on  October  16, 1834,  nearly  the  whole  of  both  Houses  of  Parliament  was  con- 
sumed by  fire. 

Insolvent  Debtobs'  Cottbt,  Portugal-street,  Lincoln's-Inn-fields,  abolished  1861. 

Mr.  Dickens  has  thus  vividly  sketched  its  characteristics : — 

"  A  temple  dedicated  to  the  genius  of  seediness,"  and  "  the  place  of  daily  refuge  of  all  the  shabby- 
genteel  people  in  London.  There  are  more  suits  of  old  clothes  in  it  at  one  time  than  will  be  offered  for 
sale  in  all  Houndsditch  in  a  twelvemonth ;  and  more  unwashed  skins  and  grisly  beards  than  all  the 
pumps  and  shaving-shops  between  Tyburn  and  Whitechapel  could  render  decent  between  sunrise  and 
sunset.  There  is  not  a  messenger  or  process-server  attached  to  the  Court  who  wears  a  coat  that  was 
made  for  him ;  the  very  barristers'  wigs  are  ill-powdered,  and  their  curls  lack  crispness.  But  the 
attorneys,  who  sit  below  the  commissioners,  are,  after  all,  the  greatest  curiosities.  The  professional 
establishment  of  the  more  opulent  of  these  gentlemen  consists  of  a  blue  bag  and  a  boy.  They  have 
no  fixed  offices,  their  legal  business  being  transacted  in  the  parlours  of  public-houses  or  the  yards  of 
prisons,  whither  they  repair  in  crowds,  and  canvas  for  customers  after  the  manner  of  omnibus-cads. 
They  are  of  a  greasy  and  mildewed  appearance ;  and  if  they  can  be  said  to  have  any  vices,  perhaps 
drinking  and  cheating  are  most  conspicuous  among  them." — Pickwick  Papers. 

Mabshalsea  and  Palace  Coubt  was  an  appendage  to  the  royal  house  at  West- 
minster :  anciently  it  had  exclusive  jurisdiction  in  matters  connected  with  the  royal 
household,  and  was  presided  over  by  the  Earl  Marshal.  It  next  became  a  minor  court 
of  record  for  actions  for  debt,  &c.,  within  Westminster  and  twelve  miles  round  it,  except 
the  City  of  London;  its  prison  being  in  High-street,  Southwark,  until  consolidated 
with  the  Queen's  Bench  and  Fleet  in  1842.  The  Court,  with  the  Knight-Marshal  for 
judge,  existed  until  December  28,  1849,  when  it  was  formally  adjourned  for  the  last 
time,  and  rose  never  to  resume  its  sittings;  the  suits  being  transferred  to  the  Common 
Pleas  and  County  Courts,  and  the  records  to  the  charge  of  the  Master  of  the  Rolls. 
The  Marshalsea  Court  sat  in  Southwark  until  1801,  and  subsequently  in  Great  Scotland- 
yard,  Whitehall ;  but  it  was  probably  first  held  in  the  "  Court  of  Requests,"  part  of 
the  Norman  Palace  at  Westminster.  Littleton,  the  eminent  lawyer,  was  appointed  by 
Henry  VI.  Steward  or  Judge  of  the  Marshalsea  Court. 

There  were  formerly  local  courts  in  the  metropolis  outside  the  privileged  boundary  of  the  "  City :" 
the  various  Courts  of  Request,  and  the  celebrated  Palace  Court,  with  a  jurisdiction  in  some  respects 
resembling  the  Lord  Mayor's  Court,  and  like  that  Court,  under  its  original  constitution,  having  only  a 
limited  number  of  privileged  counsel  and  attorneys.    The  old  Courts"  of  Request  were  swept  away  by 


510  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  County  Courts'  Acts.  The  Talace  Court  survived,  and  owed  its  subsequent  downfall  to  the  accident 
of  an  energetic  writer  for  the  public  press  having  been  sued  there,  and  in  consequence  brought  about  a 
clamour  for  its  abatement  as  a  nuisance. — Alexander  Pulling. 

Lord  Matoe's  Court  (the)  has  jurisdiction  over  all  personal  and  mixed  actions 
within  the  City,  and  is  held  at  Guildhall,  nominally  before  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Alder- 
men, hut  really  before  the  Recorder.  The  office  of  the  Court  was  formerly  in  a  long 
gallery  at  the  west  end  of  the  Royal  Exchange.  The  records  of  the  Court  were  saved 
from  the  great  fire  at  the  Exchange  in  1838,  and  have  been  arranged  in  a  strong  fire- 
proof closet  in  a  record-room  at  Guildhall  hy  the  town-clerk ;  with  other  records  of  the 
reigns  of  Edward  I.,  Edward  III.,  Richard  II.,  Henry  IV.,  V.,  and  VI.;  hooks  of  pre- 
cedents, James  I.;  records  from  Elizabeth  to  George  I.  Francis  Bancroft  was  an 
officer  of  this  Court,  and  despised  for  his  mercenary  conduct,  which  he  atoned  for  by 
bequeathing  his  ill-gotten  wealth  to  build  almshouses  and  a  school.  The  Court  was, 
after  1838,  held  in  Old  Jewry ;  and  next  removed  to  the  Guildhall. 

The  Lord  Mayor's  Court  is  presided  over  by  the  Recorder,  with  an  unlimited  jurisdiction,  both  legal 
and  equitable,  for  cases  which  are  within  the  City  boundaries,  and  peculiar  modes  of  procedure,  in  part 
derived  from  the  ancient  customs  of  the  City  of  London,  and  in  part  from  recent  Acts  of  Parliament, 
and  possessing  the  very  peculiar  power  of  proceeding  by  what  is  calledforeign  attachment. 

Rolls  Court. — In  vacation  the  Master  sits  at  the  Rolls  House,  in  the  Liberty  of 
the  Rolls,  between  Chancery-lane  and  Fetter-lane :  it  is  exempt  from  the  power  of  the 
Sheriff  of  Middlesex,  and  of  every  other  officer,  except  with  leave  of  the  Master.  The 
Court  adjoins  the  Master's  House  and  the  Chapel,  described  at  p.  215.  The  House, 
designed  by  Colin  Campbell,  was  built  1717,  when  Sir  Joseph  Jekyll  was  Master.  A 
great  portion  of  the  estate  was  formerly  laid  out  in  gardens,  upon  which  has  been  built 
the  central  portion  of  a  new  Record  Office.  Opposite  the  Rolls  Chapel  was  Herfiet 
Inn,  belonging  to  the  priors  of  Nocton  Park,  and  occupied  by  the  Six  Clerks  in  the 
Court  of  Chancery,  who  subsequently  removed  to  the  west  side  of  the  north  end  of 
Chancery-lane :  they  were  abolished  1842. 

When  Sir  William  Grant  was  Master  of  the  Rolls,  the  court  sat  in  the  evening  from  six  to  ten,  and 
Sir  William  dined  after  the  court  rose :  his  servant,  when  he  went  to  bed,  left  two  bottles  of  wine  on 
the  table,  which  he  always  found  empty  in  the  morning.  Sir  William  lived  on  the  ground-floor  of  the 
Rolls  House,  and  when  showing  it  to  his  successor  in  the  Mastership,  he  said :  "  Here  are  two  or  three 
good  rooms;  this  is  my  dining-room;  my  library  and  bed-room  are  beyond;  and  I  am  told  there  are 
some  good  rooms  upstairs,  but  1  was  never  there." 

Sheriff's  Courts  (the)  are  held  by  each  of  the  Sheriffs  of  London,  near  Guildhall, 
before  a  judge  appointed  by  him. 

Star  Chamber  (the)  was  the  ancient  council-chamber  of  the  palace  at  Westminster, 
wherein  the  king  sat  in  extraordinary  causes.  The  last-existing  Star-Chamber  build- 
ings are  described  at  p.  450. 

Our  chief  metropolitan  tribunals  are,  at  this  day,  held  in  the  same  place,  and  with 
hardly  better  accommodation,  than  was  accorded  to  them  at  the  date  of  Magna  Charta, 
when  the  Common  Pleas  was  permanently  fixed  at  Westminster  Hall.  The  demand 
for  a  fitting  Palace  of  Justice  for  the  metropolis,  which  has  been  so  long  pressed  on 
the  attention  of  the  Legislature,  is  now  about  to  be  complied  with ;  the  chosen  site 
being  the  district  (7\  acres)  bounded  on  the  north  by  Horseshoe-court,  Yeates- 
court,  Carey-street,  and  Lincoln's-inn ;  on  the  south  by  the  Strand,  and  the  Temple ; 
on  the  east  by  Bell-yard  and  Temple-bar;  and  on  the  west  by  New  Inn  and 
Clement's  Inn.  The  competitive  designs  for  the  New  Law  Courts  were  exhibited  to 
the  public  in  a  temporary  building  in  Old-square,  Lincoln's-inn,  in  February,  1867. 
A  paper,  descriptive  of  the  older  occupation  of  the  site,  entitled,  "  Old  Houses  on  the 
site  of  the  New  Law  Courts,"  by  the  author  of  Curiosities  of  London,  with  eight 
engraved  views,  appeared  in  the  Illustrated  London  News,  December  15,  1866 :  it  is 
a  piece  of  London  topography  of  considerable  historic  interest. 

LEADENHALL  STREET, 

T^XTENDING  from  Cornhill  to  Aldgate,  and  the  adjoining  Market,  are  named 
•U  from  the  manor-house  of  Leadeuhall,  which  belonged  to  Sir  Hugh  Neville  in  1309; 


LEICESTER  SQUARE.  511 

in  1419  Simon  Eyre  erected  upon  its  site  a  granary,  which  he  gave  to  the  Corporation;  and 
adjoining  he  built  a  chapel  in  the  Perpendicular  style,  for  the  market-people,  Leadenhall 
having  then  become  a  market.  In  this  Hall  were  kept  the  artillery  and  other  arms  of 
the  City  ;  doles  were  distributed  from  here ;  in  Stow's  boyhood,  the  common  beams  for 
weighing  wool,  and  the  scales  to  weigh  meal,  were  kept  here ;  and  in  the  lofts  above  were 
painted  devices  for  pageants.  Chamberlayne  describes  it,  in  1726,  as  "  a  noble  ancient 
building,  where  are  great  markets  for  hides  and  leather,  for  flesh,  poultry,  and  other 
sorts  of  edibles."  In  1730  the  market-place  was  partly  rebuilt ;  and  the  leather-market 
in  1814,  when  the  Chapel  and  other  ancient  portions  were  removed.  The  "  Green 
Yard"  was  a  portion  of  the  garden  of  the  Nevilles ;  and  the  Chapel,  in  Ram-alley,  was 
inscribed  "  Dextra  Domini  exaltavit  me." 

Leadenhall  was  formerly  the  great  meat-market.  Don  Pedro  de  Ronquillo,  on  visit- 
ing it,  said  to  Charles  II.,  that  he  believed  there  to  be  more  meat  sold  in  that  market 
alone,  than  in  all  the  kingdom  of  Spain  in  a  year ;  and  "  he  was  a  very  good  judge." 

Beneath  No.  71,  Leadenhall-street  is  the  ancient  chapel  of  St.  Michael,  Aldgate  (see 
Crypts,  p.  303).  No.  153  has  an  Early  English  crypt.  Here,  too,  at  "  the  Two 
Fans,"  Peter  Motteux,  the  translator  of  Rabelais  and  Don  Quixote,  kept  an  India 
House  for  "  China  and  Japan  wares,  fans,  tea,  muslins,  pictures,  arreck,  and  other 
Indian  goods  f*  rich  brocades,  Dutch  atlases,  and  other  foreign  silks,  fine  Flanders  lace 
and  linens.  (Spectator,  Nos.  288  and  552,  by  Steele).  Motteux  wrote  a  poem  upon 
Tea:  he  was  found  dead  (murdered)  on  his  birthday,  Feb.  19,  1717-18,  in  a  house  of 
ill-fame  in  Star-court,  Butcher-row,  Temple  Bar. 

In  Leadenhall-street  are  the  churches  of  St.  Andrew  Undershaft  (see  p.  150)  and 
St.  Catherine  Cree  (p.  156).  On  the  wall  of  the  latter  is  a  large  sun-dial  ;  and  at 
the  east  end  a  curious  gateway,  built  1631.  The  churchyard  was  noted  for  perfor- 
mances of  miracle-plays,  the  earliest  known  of  which  relates  to  St.  Catherine.  (See  also 
East  India  House,  pp.  318,  319). 

Nearly  opposite  the  site  of  the  East  India  House,  now  occupied  by  handsome  stone- 
fronted  buildings,  is  St.  Mary  Axe,  a  street  named  from  the  church  of  St.  Mary  Axe, 
which  was  "suppressed  and  lettec  to  be  a  warehouse"  about  the  year  1565;  and  the 
church  derived  its  particular  designation  from  a  holy  relic  it  possessed :  "  an  axe,  oon 
of  the  iij  that  the  xjmd  Virgins  were  behedyd  wV — (Signed  Bill,  5  Henry  VIII.) 
This  church  was  united  to  St.  Andrew  Undershaft,  in  the  above  year.  Nearly 
opposite,  in  1864,  was  taken  down  a  four-storied  Tudor  house,  with  three  over- 
hanging floors,  the  front  entirely  of  wood  and  plaster ;  and  some  fine  oak-panelled 
interiors. 

At  No.  16,  St.  Mary  Axe,  lived  Joseph  Denison,  the  wealthy  banker :  here  were 
born  his  eldest  daughter,  afterwards  Marchioness  Conyngham ;  and  his  son,  William 
Joseph  Denison,  M.P.,  who,  dying  in  1849,  bequeathed  two  millions  and  a  half  of  moDey, 
settled  on  his  nephew,  Lord  Albert  Denison,  afterwards  Baron  Londesborough. 

LEICESTER  SQUARE, 

WITHIN  memory,  was  called  Leicester  Fields,  from  the  mansion  at  its  north-east 
corner,  built  for  Robert  Sydney,  Earl  of  Leicester,  who  died  1677.  It  was  let  to 
Elizabeth  Queen  of  Bohemia,  daughter  of  James  I. :  she  died  here  1661.  Colbert  and 
Prince  Eugene  resided  here.  But  the  fame  of  Leicester  House  chiefly  rests  upon 
its  having  been  bought  by  the  Prince  of  Wales,  afterwards  George  II„  when  he  had 
quarrelled  with  his  father  and  received  the  royal  command  to  quit  St.  James's.  When 
George  II.  had  a  similar  quarrel  with  his  son  Frederick,  the  Prince  of  Wales  took  up  his 
residence,  as  his  father  had  done  before  him,  at  Leicester  House,  which  Pennant  happily 
describes  as  "  successively  the  pouting-place  of  Princes."  Walpole  tells  us  that 
Frederick,  Prince  of  Wales  added  to  Leicester  House  the  mansion  westward — Savile 
House — for  his  children ;  a  communication  being  made  between  the  two  houses,  as  Sir 
John  Fielding  phrased  it,  in  1777,  "  for  the  more  immediate  intercourse  of  the  royal 
family."  Hence,  much  of  the  celebrity  of  Leicester  House  became  extended  to  Savile 
House,  wherein,  probably,  was  performed  Addison's  play  of  Cato  by  the  junior 
branches  of  the  Prince  of  Wales's  household,  Prince  George  playing  Portius.     The 


512  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Prince  resided  here  until  his  accession  to  the  throne  as  George  III.,  when,  in  front  of 
the  mansion,  he  was  first  hailed  as  King.  The  last  Royal  tenant  of  Leicester  House 
was  the  Duke  of  Gloucester,  grandson  of  George  TI.  The  mansion  was  next  let  to  Sir 
Ashton  Lever  for  his  museum,  which  was  removed  in  1788.  Leicester  House  was  then 
taken  down :  Savile  House  being  left  standing.  It  had,  however,  been  proposed 
to  build  here  a  theatre ;  for,  in  the  Ladies'  Magazine,  1790,  we  read,  "The  site  of  the 
new  opera-house  is  settled :  Leicester-square— the  mound  occupied  by  Leicester  House." 
On  the  site  of  its  gardens  was  built  New  Lisle-street,  in  1791.  Eastward  was  the  door 
which  was  unceremoniously  cut  through  the  wall  of  the  garden  of  Home,  the  poulterer, 
to  make  an  outlet  towards  Newport  Market  for  the  convenience  of  the  Prince  of  Wales's 
domestics.  How  the  poulterer  resisted  the  encroachment,  and  triumphed  over  the 
heir-apparent  of  the  English  crown,  and  the  obnoxious  door  was  removed,  will  be  re- 
membered, as  well  as  its  influence  on  the  political  aspirations  of  the  poulterer's  son, 
John  Home  Tooke.  Westward  was  built  Leicester-street,  where,  in  1796,  Charles 
Dibdin,  the  song-writer,  built  his  theatre,  the  "  Sans  Souci." 

Savile  House  was  sometimes  called  Aylesbury  House,  from  the  Earl  of  Aylesbury 
residing  here.  It  was  let  as  a  town-house  for  people  of  fashion  :  here  the  Earl  of  Car- 
marthen entertained  Peter  the  Great.  It  belonged  to  the  Savile  family,  and  here  re- 
sided Sir  George  Savile,  M.P.,  in  1780,  when,  in  the  Riots,  his  house  was  stripped  of  its 
valuable  furniture,  books,  and  paintings,  which  the  rioters  burnt  in  the  Fields.  The 
Rev.  W.  Mason,  in  a  letter  to  Walpole,  1778,  speaks  of  the  political  wisdom  of  Sir 
George  Savile,  "who  chooses  this  very  moment  to  indispose  the  whole  body  of  Dissen- 
ters towards  him  and  his  party  by  rising  up  the  champion  of  the  Papists."  Naturally, 
this  patron  of  toleration  suffered,  and  in  the  Riots  "  the  rails  torn  from  Sir  George's  house 
were  the  chief  weapons  and  instruments  of  the  mob."  Their  conduct  was  ferocious ; 
for  the  accounts  state  Sir  George's  life  to  have  been  shortened  by  their  threats.  How- 
ever, he  must  have  been  a  strong  partisan,  for  Wilberforce  notes :  "  Sir  George 
Savile  was  chosen  member  for  Yorkshire  by  the  Whig  grandees  in  the  Marquis  of 
Rockingham's  dining-room."  The  attack  upon  Savile  House  by  the  Rioters  of  1780  is 
referred  to  in  a  letter  to  Richard  Shackletou  from  Edmund  Burke,  who  then  lived  in 
Charles-street,  St.  James's ;  telling  how  he  spent  his  nights  with  other  volunteer 
friends  of  rank  in  guarding  Sir  George  Savile's  house : — "  For  four  nights,"  he 
says,  "  I  kept  watch  at  Lord  Rockingham's,  or  Sir  George  Savile's,  whose  houses 
were  garrisoned  by  a  strong  body  of  soldiers,  together  with  numbers  of  true  friends 
of  rank." 

At  the  commencement  of  the  present  century,  Savile  House  was  rebuilt  by  the 
late  Mr.  Samuel  Page,  of  Dulwich,  an  architect  of  some  eminence  at  the  time. 
The  famous  Chancery  suit  of  "  Page  v.  Linwood  and  others,"  which  lasted  forty 
years,  related  to  this  property.  Lord  Chancellor  Cottenham,  when  Mr.  Pepys,  was 
counsel  for  the  plaintiff;  and  Mr.  Sugden,  now  Lord  St.  Leonards,  was  counsel  for 
Miss  Linwood. 

Miss  Linwood's  Needlework  was  exhibited  at  Savile  House  from  the  commencement 
of  the  present  century  until  the  year  after  her  death  in  1845,  in  her  90th  year.  She 
worked  her  first  picture  when  thirteen  years  old,  and  the  last  piece  when  seventy-eight 
years.  The  designs  were  executed  with  fine  crewels  dyed  expressly  for  her,  on  a  thick 
tammy,  and  were  entirely  drawn  and  embroidered  by  herself.  In  1785,  the  pictures 
were  exhibited  to  the  Royal  Family  at  Windsor ;  next  at  the  Pantheon,  Oxford-street; 
removed  in  1798  to  the  Hanover-square  Rooms;  and  then  to  Leicester-square.  The 
collection  consisted  of  sixty-four  pictures,  including  a  portrait  of  Miss  Linwood,  at  19, 
from  a  crayon  painting  by  Russell ;  her  first  piece,  Head  of  St.  Peter  (Guido) ;  Salvator 
Mundi  (Carlo  Dolci),  for  which  3000  guineas  had  been  refused  (this  picture  was  be- 
queathed by  Miss  Linwood  to  her  Majesty) ;  Woodman  in  a  Storm  (Gainsborough)  ; 
Jephtha's  Rash  Vow  (Opie).  The  pictures  were  sold  by  auction,  by  Christie  and 
Manson,  at  Savile  House,  April  23,  1846,  when  the  Judgment  upon  Cain,  which  occu- 
pied ten  years  working,  brought  64/.  1*. ;  the  price  of  neither  of  the  other  pictures  ex- 
ceeding 40/.  The  original  Hubert  and  Arthur,  by  Northcote,  sold  for  38/.  17*.  The 
entire  sale  did  not  realize  1000/. 

At  Savile  House  the  National  Political  Union  held  its  Reform  meetings ;  and  here 


LEICESTER-SQUARE.  513 

was  exhibited,  in  1849,  an  extensive  moving  Panorama  of  the  Mississippi  River,  &c. 
The  place  has  since  been  a  very  Noah's  Ark  of  exhibitions,  of  greater  variety  than  deli- 
cacy. The  large  building,  Savile  House,  was  destroyed  by  fire  in  less  than  two  hours, 
on  the  night  of  February  28,  1865. 

Leicester-square  was  built  between  1630  and  1671.  In  1677,  rows  of  elm-trees 
extended  in  the  Fields  nearly  half  the  width  of  the  present  Square,  which  was  enclosed 
about  1738.  In  1720,  it  was  described  as  "  ordinarily  built  and  inhabited,  except  the 
west  side,  towards  the  fields,  where  there  is  a  very  good  house  and  curious  garden 
which  fronts  the  fields."  In  the  centre,  upon  a  sculptured  stone  pedestal,  is  an  equestrian 
metal  statue  of  George  I.,  modelled  by  C.  Buchard  for  the  Duke  of  Chandos,  and  brought 
from  Canons  in  1747,  when  it  was  purchased  by  the  inhabitants  of  the  Square :  it  was 
"finely  gilt,"  and  within  memory  was  regilt;  but  its  history  is  much  disputed.* 
Over  this  statue  was  built  a  colossal  Model  of  the  Earth,  which  became  one  of  the 
most  intellectual  exhibitions  of  the  metropolis. 

The  ground  was  leased,  in  1851,  for  ten  years,  for  30002.,  to  Mr.  Wyld,  the  geographer,  for  whom  was 
erected  here  (H.  R.  Abraham,  architect),  a  circular  building  90  feet  across,  enclosing  a  Globe  60  feet 
4  inches  in  diameter,  and  lighted  by  day  from  the  centre  of  the  dome  (as  at  the  Pantheon  at  Rome),  and 
by  gas  at  night.  The  frame  of  the  Globe  consisted  of  horizontal  ribs,  battened  to  receive  the  plaster 
modelling,  thus  to  figure  the  earth's  surface  on  the  inside  instead  of  the  outside  of  a  sphere,  and  to 
show  at  one  view  the  physical  features  of  the  world.  The  visitor  passed  into  the  interior  of  the  Globe, 
and  by  a  winding  staircase  proceeded  round  it,  viewing  every  part  of  the  model  at  four  feet  distance  from 
the  eye.  The  scale  was  ten  miles  to  an  inch  horizontal,  and  one  mile  to  an  inch  vertical,  so  as  effectively 
to  exhibit  the  details  of  hill  and  valley,  lake  and  river :  the  great  oceans  occupying  nearly  150,000,000 
square  miles ;  and  the  old  and  new  continents,  and  all  the  islands,  only  60,000,000  square  miles;  the 
gigantic  model  being  made  up  of  some  thousand  castings  in  plaster.  The  Circumpolar  Regions  were 
similarly  illustrated.    At  the  termination  of  the  lease  the  building  and  Globe  were  remoi  el. 

At  No.  47,  Leicester-square,  west  side,  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds  lived  from  1761  till  his 
death  in  1792.  Here  he  built  a  gallery  for  his  works,  and  set  up  a  gay  coach,  upon  the 
panels  of  which  he  painted  the  Four  Seasons. 

Here  were  given  those  famous  dinner-parties,  the  first  great  example  in  this  country  "of  a  cordial 
intercourse  between  persons  of  distinguished  pretensions  of  all  kinds :  poets,  physicians,  lawyers,  deans, 
historians,  actors,  temporal  and  spiritual  peers,  House  of  Commons  men,  men  of  science,  men  of  letters, 
painters,  philosophers,  and  lovers  of  the  arts,  meeting  on  a  ground  of  hearty  ease,  good  humour,  and 
pleasantry,  which  exalt  my  respect  for  the  memory  of  Reynolds.  It  was  no  prim  fine  table  he  set  them 
down  to.  Often  was  the  dinner-board  prepared  for  seven  or  eight  required  to  accommodate  itself  to  fifteen 
or  sixteen ;  for  often,  on  the  very  eve  of  dinner,  would  Sir  Joshua  tempt  afternoon  visitors  with  intima- 
tion that  Johnson,  or  Garriek,  or  Goldsmith,  was  to  dine  there." — Forster's  Life  of  Goldsmith,  p.  253. 

Sir  Joshua  painted  in  an  octagonal  room ;  the  sticks  of  his  brushes  were  18  inches 
long ;  he  held  his  palettes  by  handle ;  one  of  mahogany,  11  by  7  inches,  is  possessed 
by  Mr.  Cribb,  King-street,  Covent-garden,  whose  father  received  it  from  Sir  Joshua's 
niece,  the  Marchioness  of  Thomond.  Here,  in  1790,  the  good-natured  bachelor  P.R.A. 
painted  for  two  schoolboys  a  flag  bearing  the  Royal  arms,  which  was  borne  at  the  next 
breaking-up  of  King's  Academy,  Chapel-street,  Soho. 

Reynolds  came  to  town  in  1740,  and,  probably,  lived  during  his  apprenticeship  of  two  years  at 
Hudson's  house,  now  Nos.  55  and  56,  Great  Queen-street,  Lincoln's-inn-fields ;  on  returning  from  Italy 
he  had  rooms  at  104,  St.  Martin's-lane,  Thornhill's  and  Hayman's  house,  in  front  of  the  first  studio  of 
Roubiliac  j  the  site  of  the  latter  is  now  occupied  by  a  Friends'  Meeting-house,  but,  intermediately,  was 
the  subscription  drawing-academy  under  Moser.  From  St.  Maitin's-lane,  in  1753,  Reynolds  removed  to 
a  whole  house,  No.  5,  Great  Newport-street.  In  1760  he  removed,  for  the  last  time,  to  No.  47,  Leicester- 
square.  On  going  to  Great  Newport-street,  he  raised  his  price  for  heads  to  twelve  guineas,  and,  in  a 
few  years,  to  fifteen  guineas.  In  1758  he  had  no  fewer  than  150  sitters,  and  worked  prodigiously  hard ; 
the  number  of  sittings  for  each  portrait  varies  from  five  to  sixteen.  In  1759  he  got  twenty  guineas 
for  a  head ;  the  following  year  twenty-five  guineas ;  soon  after  this  he  was  earning  60001.  a  year.  He 
left  his  residuary  legatee,  the  Marchioness  of  Thomond,  nearly,  one  of  the  editors  thinks,  100,0002.;  and 
to  others  what  was,  probably,  worth  nearly  20,0002. 

The  house  was  afterwards  the  Western  Literary  and  Scientific  Institution,  when  was 
added  a  theatre,  designed  by  George  Godwin,  F.R.S.,  for  lectures.  The  premises  are 
now  occupied  by  Puttick  and  Simpson,  the  book-auctioneers :  the  noble  staircase 
remains,  and  the  wine-cellar  is  now  used  as  a  strong-room. 

On  the  opposite  side  of  the  Square,  in  the  house  subsequently  the  northern  wing  of 
the  Sabloniere  Hotel,  lived  William  Hogarth  from  1733 ;  his  name  upon  a  brass-plate 
on  the  door,  and  the  sign  of  the  Golden  Head  over  it :  this  head,  of  pieces  of 
cork  glued  together,  Smith  (in  his  Life  of  Nollehens)  tells  us  was  cut  by  Hogarth's 

*  This  statue  has  also  been  described  as  that  of  the  Duke  of  Cumberland,  the  hero  of  Culldden, 
which  may  have  arisen  from  the  Duke's  birth  at  Leicester  House  in  1721.  The  Earl  of  Aylesbury,  one 
of  the  trustees  of  the  Canons  estate,  and  who  resided  in  Leicester-square,  may  have  influenced  the 
statue  being  placed  here. 


514  CURIOSITIES  OF  L02W0N. 

own  hand.  In  the  European  Magazine  for  1801,  it  is  stated  that  the  apart- 
ment which  Hogarth  had  erected  for  painting  was  still  in  existence  as  the  billiard- 
room  of  the  Sabloniere,  for  which  its  top  lighting  would  peculiarly  adapt  it. 
Hogarth  usually  took  his  evening  walk  within  the  enclosure  of  the  square,  in  a  scarlet 
roquelaure  and  cocked  hat.  Hogarth  published,  by  subscription,  the  Harlot's  and  Rake's 
Progresses,  and  other  prints :  he  died  here  suddenly,  Oct.  25,  1764.  Next  door  lived 
John  Hunter  from  1783  :  in  the  rear  he  built  rooms  for  his  anatomical  collection,  lectures, 
dissection,  Sunday-evening  medical  levees,  &c. ;  and  from  here,  in  1793,  Hunter  was 
buried  in  St.'  Martin's  Church.  To  No.  28,  also  east,  was  removed  the  National  Repository 
(on  the  plan  of  the  Arts  et  Metiers  at  Paris)  from  the  King's  Mews,  taken  down  in  1830 ; 
and  here  was  temporarily  housed,  in  1836,  the  Museum  of  the  Zoological  Society. 

In  the  centre  of  the  east  side  of  the  Square  the  Panopticon  of  Science  and  Art  was 
erected  1852-3,  by  a  chartered  company  for  a  polytechnic  exhibition :  it  has  a  pair 
of  minarets  nearly  100  feet  high,  a  domed  roof,  and  other  eastern  features.  The 
interior  had  a  hall  97  feet  in  diameter,  lecture-theatres,  laboratory,  colossal  machinery 
for  experiments ;  an  electrifying  machine,  plate  eight  feet  diameter,  &c.  The  building 
is  now  the  Alhambra  Palace,  a  gigantic  music  hall. 

Burford's  Panorama,  at  the  north-east  angle  of  Leicester-square,  was  erected  in 
1783,  by  a  number  of  patrons  of  the  arts,  who  were  repaid  their  capital  by  Robert 
Barker,  the  inventor  of  the  Panorama,  succeeded  by  Henry  Aston  Barker,  and  John 
and  Robert  Burford.     The  building  is  now  a  French  Chapel. 

In  Leicester-place,  Charles  Dibdin,  the  song-writer,  built  in  1796  the  Sans  Souci 
theatre  for  his  musical  entertainment :  the  premises,  No.  2,  now  an  hotel,  occupy  the 
site  of  The  Feathers  public-house,  frequented  by  "  Athenian  Stuart ;"  Scott,  the 
marine  painter ;  Luke  Sullivan,  the  miniature  painter,  who  engraved  Hogarth's  March 
to  Finchley ;  Capt.  Grose  and  Mr.  Hearne,  the  antiquaries ;  Henderson,  the  actor ; 
John  Ireland,  editor  of  Hogarth  Moralised,  &c. 

In  Lisle-street  is  the  Royal  Society  of  Musicians,  founded  in  1738  for  the  benefit  of 
the  families  of  indigent  musicians :  it  originated  in  the  two  orphan  sons  of  Kaitch,  the 
oboist,  being  seen  driving  milch-asses  down  the  Haymarket.  In  Lisle-street  lived 
Henry  Bone,  R.A.,  the  enamel-painter,  who  received  for  an  enamel,  18  by  16  inches, 
2200  guineas :  he  died  1834,  aged  80,  leaving  a  long  series  of  Elizabethan  portraits. 
His  collection  of  beautiful  enamels  was  dispersed  by  auction,  in  March,  1856. 

In  Cranbourne-alley  (named  from  the  second  title  of  the  Marquis  of  Salisbury,  the 
ground-landlord),  lived  Ellis  Gamble,  silversmith,  to  whom  Hogarth  was  apprenticed 
to  learn  silver-plate  engraving,  and  engraving  on  copper ;  and  from  1718  till  1724  he 
earned  his  livelihood  by  engraving  arms,  crests,  ciphers,  shop-bills,  &c.  An  impression 
of  Hogarth's  allegorical  shop-card,  dated  1720,  has  been  sold  for  25Z.  The  fame  of  the 
place  had  dwindled  to  a  "  Cranbourne-alley  bonnet,"  ere.  Cranbourne-street  was  built. 

In  St.  Martin' s-street,  next  the  chapel,  is  the  last  town  residence  of  Sir  Isaac  Newton, 

who  removed  here,  in  1710,  from  Jenny n -street :  upon  thereof  is  a  small  observatory, 

built  by  a  subsequent  tenant,  a  Frenchman,  but  long  shown  as  Newton's.     In  a  scarce 

pamphlet,  A  List  of  the  Royal  Society,  fyc,  in  1718,  we  find :  "  Sir  Isaac  Newton, 

St.  Martin's-street,  Leicester-fields."      The  house  was  subsequently  tenanted  by  Dr. 

Burney,  when  writing  his  History  of  Music :  and  his  daughter,  Fanny,  wrote  here  her 

novel  of  Evelina.     Mr.  Bewley,  "  the  philosopher  of  Massingham,"  died  here,  during 

a  visit  to   Dr.  Burney,  who,  in  an  anecdote  related  to  Boswell  (Life  of  Johnson), 

erroneously  states  Newton  to  have  died  here :  he  died  at  Kensington  (see  p.  488). 

Fanny  Eurney  (Madame  D'Arblay),  writes  from  here  in  1779  and  1780  (Diary  and  Letters,  vol.  i.); 
and  Mr.  Thrale,  writing  to  Miss  Burney,  styles  the  inmates  of  the  house  in  St.  Martin's-street,  "  dear 
Newtonians." 

In  Green-street,  at  now  No.  11,  lived  William  Woollett,  the  landscape  and  historical 
engraver,  known  by  his  masterly  plates  of  Wilson's  pictures  and  his  battle-pieces :  when 
he  had  finished  a  plate,  he  used  to  fire  a  cannon  on  the  roof  of  his  house  :  his  portrait, 
by  Stuart,  hangs  in  the  Vernon  Collection.  He  died  1785,  and  is  buried  at  Old  St. 
Pancras;  his  grave-stones  were  restored  by  the  Graphic  Society  in  1846. 

In  Orange-court,  Leicester-fields,  lodged  Opie,  the  painter ;  and  here  was  born 
Dec.  10,  1745,  Thomas  Holcroft,  his  father,  a  shoemaker. 

"  Cradled  in  poverty,  with  no  education  save  what  he  could  pick  up  for  himself,  amid  incessant 
struggles  for  bare  existence— by  turns  a  pedlar,  a  stable-boy,  a  shoemaker,  and  a  strolling-player— he 


LEVELS. 


515 


yet  contrived  to  surmount  the  most  untoward  circumstances,  and  at  last  took  his  place  among  the  most 
distinguished  writers  of  his  age  as  a  novelist,  a  dramatist,  and  a  translator." — Preface  to  Holcrqft't 
Life,  by  William  Hazlitt. 

Leicester-square  has  long  been  the  resort  and  habitat  of  foreigners ;  and  Maitland 
(1739)  describes  the  parish  (St.  Anne's)  so  greatly  abounding  with  French,  "  that  it  is 
an  easy  matter  for  a  stranger  to  imagine  himself  in  France."  Of  the  Hotels  in  the 
Square,  the  principal  were  Huntley's  and  Brunet's ;  and  La  Sabloniere,  named  from  the 
famous  Parisian  cook. 

LEVELS. 

THE  data  for  the  following  Levels,   from  actual  surveys  and  private  documents, 
adopting  the  standard  of  Trinity  High  Water  Mark  at  London  Bridge,  have 
been  communicated  through  the  courtesy  of  Mr.  Wyld,  the  geographer. 


Feet, 

Berkeley-square 67 

British  Museum 72 

Brompton-square 12 

Caledonian-road:  Great  Northern  Railway  112 

Camden  Town  :  Brecknock  Arms  ....  150 
Camden  Town:  London  and  North- Western 

Railway  Station 100 

Clapham  Common  (S.W.) 93 

Drury-lane,  opposite  Great  Queen-street     .  66 

Farringdon-street 11 

Gloucester-road,  Kensington 18 

Guildhall,  King-street 37 

Uampstead  Heath 424 

(84  feet  higher  than  the  cross  of  St.  Paul's 
Cathedral.) 

Hampstead  Vale  (Waterworks)      ....  207 
(5  feet  higher  than  the  top  of  the  Monu- 
ment.) 

Haverstock  Hill :  Orphan  School  ....  258 
(28  feet  higher  than  the  steeple  of  St. 
Bride's  Church,  Fleet-street.) 

Highbury  Barn 132 

(12  feet  higher  than  the  towers  of  St. 
Michael's  Church,  Cornhill,  and  St. 
Dunstau's,  Fleet-street.) 

Highgate  Archway  (top) 317 

„              „       Tavern 179 

Highgate  Chapel  (removed) 412 

Holloway :  New  City  Prison  (surface)    .    .  112 
Horasey  Wood  House  and  Tavern  (site)     .  147 
Hyde-park :  site  of  Great  Exhibition  Build- 
ing    52 

Islington :  Angel  Inn 99 

„          Ball's  Pond-road 59 

„          Green 115 

Mansion  House 32 

New  Oxford-street,  opposite  Charlotte-st. 

Bloomsbury 72 

New  River :  Stoke  Newington  Reservoir    .  87 

New-road:  Gower-street 76 

Notting-hill  (by  St.  John's  Wood)      ...  85 

Notting-hill  Reservoir 123 

Nunhead  Cemetery  Hill 189 

(14  feet  higher  than  the  spire  of  St.  Giles's 
Church.) 

Park-lane,  halfway 69 


Feet. 

Pentonville  Prison  (surface) 120 

Rearent's-park :  York  and  Albany  ....      99 
(The  houses  in  Circus-road,  St.  John's 
Wood,  are  level  with  the  summit  of 
Primrose  Hill.) 

Serpentine  (surface) 38 

Shooter'ft-hill 412 

Shoreditch  Workhouse,  Kingsland-road     .      61 
Smithfield :  St.  Bartholomew's  Hospital     .     45 

Stamford-hill 97 

Strand,  average 20 

Westbourne  -  terrace,  Hyde-park  -  gardens 
(ground-floor) ;  70  feet  above  high-water 
mark,  and  on  a  level  with  the  attics  of 
Eaton  and  Belgrave-squares. 
Westminster:  the  further  we  proceed  from 
the  river,  the  lower  the  ground  becomes, 
thus: — 

Above 
high-water 
mark. 
St.  Margaret's-street,    near    Canning's 

statue        5    2\ 

Millbank-strcct 4     tj 

West-end  of  Tothill-street 9 

Broad-way 9 

New-way       t'<\ 

Old  Pye-street 6i 

Below 
high-water. 

New  Tothill-street 3* 

Road  in  front  of  Mr.  Elliot's  dwelling- 
house    11J 

Palmer's  Village 12J 

Mr.  Bardtcell,  the  Architect. 

The  architect  of  the  New  Prison  was  com- 
pelled to  raise  the  ground  7  feet ;  the  ground 
has  also  been  much  raised  around  the  New 
Palace,  over  and  above  that  which  was  made 
when  the  Birdcage  Walk  was  carried  over  the 
site  of  Rosamond's  Pond. 

Again,  the  sill  of  a  door  in  Park-street  is 
somewhat  more  than  8  feet  higher  than  the  sill 
of  a  door  in  Tothill-street,  Dartmouth-street 
only  intervening. 


From  the  Report  of  the  Commissioners  for  the  Improvement  of  the  Metropolis,  1843. 


Ft.  in. 


Chatham-place  (pavement  at  the  top  of 

the  Bridge  Stairs) 16 

Fleet-street  (east  end  of),  centre  of  road- 
way ...  15 
„  Opposite  St.  Bride's  Church  21 
„  „  Crown-court  .  .  27 
„  „  Water-lane  ...  30 
„  „  St.Dunstan's-court  34 
„  „  Fetter-lane  ...  38 
„  „  St.Dunstan'sChur.  38 
„               „         Chancery-lane  .    .  36 

At  Temple  Bar 35 

The  Strand.  St.  Clement's  Church  (east 

end) 30 

„         Opposite  Arundel-street  .    .  34 


Ft.  in. 

The  Strand.  Opposite  Norfolk-street    .    .    36  7 

„              „       Surrey  street     .    .    37  2 

„              „       Somerset  House     .    39  2 

„              „       Wellington -street  .    37  3 

„              „       Exeter-street     .    .    36  7 

„               „        Southampton-st.    .    35  1 

„              „       Agar-street   ...    35  0 

„              „       Hungerford  Market    28  11 
„              „       Morley'sHotel(west 

angle)    ....    19  9 

Statue  of  Charles  1 13  0 

Whitehall.    Opposite  Craig's-court     ..62 
„  „        Scotland-yard   ..45 

Whitehall-place  (west  end) 4  8 

Whitehall-place  (east  end) 5  10 

11.2 


516  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  highest  ground  in  London  is  about  the  middle  of  Panyer-alley,  between  New- 
gate-street and  Paternoster-row ;  the  spot  being  denoted  by  a  boy  sitting  upon  a 
pannier,  upon  a  pedestal,  all  of  stone  ;  the  latter  inscribed,  "  When  ye  hate  sovght 

THE  ClTTY  ROVND,  YET  STILL  THIS  IS  THE  HIGH*-  GROVND.      AVGVST  THE  27,  1688." 

The  made  ground  and  accumulated  debris  occurring  in  the  City,  and  anciently 
populated  parts  adjacent,  varies  from  8  to  18  feet  in  thickness;  in  Westminster,  from 
6  to  12  feet. 

LIBRARIES. 

"  fTlHE  greatest  city  in  the  world  is  destitute  of  a  public  library,"  wrote  Gibbon 
-L      towards  the  close  of  the  last  century;  since  which  period  much  has  been  done 
to  afford  the  masses  facilities  for  mental  culture  by  an  open  public  library  from  which 
books  may  be  taken  out. 

Agricultural  Society  OF  England  (Royal),  12,  Hanover-square ;  library  of  the 
Board  of  Agriculture,  increased  by  purchases,  &c. 

Antiquaries,  Society  of,  Somerset  House :  valuable  collections  of  red  Broadsides 
and  Ballads;  rare  Prints,  illustrating  Ancient  London;  the  Book  of  St.  Albans,  fol. 
St.  Albans,  1486,  finest  state.  Among  the  MSS.'  are,  1.  Cartulary  of  the  Abbey  of 
Peterborough.  2.  Original  MS.  of  Weever's  Funeral  Monuments.  3.  Indentures  for 
Coining  Money  in  England  and  Ireland,  from  Edward  I.  to  Elizabeth.  4.  The 
"  Winton  Domesday,"  on  33  leaves  of  vellum,  and  in  the  original  stamped  cuirbouilli 
covers:  this  MS.  (temp.  Edward  I.)  contains  an  exact  account  of  every  tenement  in 
Winchester  at  that  period.  5.  Original  Letters  of  Antiquaries  and  Literary  men 
(18th  century).  6.  Letters  of  Eminent  Englishmen  (17th  century).  Autograph  of 
John  Bunyan,  doubtful.  The  Society's  Transactions,  ArchcBologia,  commenced  1710. 
The  library  consists  of  nearly  10,000  volumes,  and  is  richest  in  topography,  its 
collection  of  county  histories,  &c. 

Aech^oeogicai  Societies,  the  several,  have  libraries  and  museums. 

Artillery  Geotjnd,  or  Military  Yard,  behind  Leicester  House. 

Near  Leicester-fields,  upon  the  site  of  Gerrard-street,  was  a  piece  of  ground  walled  in  by  Prince 
Henry,  eldest  son  of  James  I.,  for  the  exercise  of  arms;  where,  were,  an  armoury,  and  a  well-furnished 
library  of  books  relating  to  feats  of  arms,  chivalry,  military  affairs,  encamping,  fortification,  in  all 
languages,  and  kept  by  a  learned  librarian.  It  was  called  the  Artillery  Ground;  and  after  the  Restora- 
tion of  Charles  II.  it  was  bought  by  Lord  Gerard,  and  let  for  building,  about  1677. 

Asiatic  Society  (Royal),  5,  New  Burlington-street :  scarce  books  and  MSS., 
including  a  collection  of  Sanscrit  MSS.,  formed  by  Colonel  Tod  in  Rajasthan.  Here 
is  a  Chinese  Library,  of  which  see  the  catalogue,  by  the  Rev.  S.  Kidd,  1838. 

Astronomical  Society  (Royal),  Somerset  House:  valuable  collection  of  astro- 
nomical works,  including  Peter  Apian's  Opus  Casareum,  printed  at  Ingolstadt  in  1540; 
and  the  library  of  the  Mathematical  Society,  from  Spitalfields. 

Bank  of  England  Library,  instituted  by  the  Directors  for  the  use  of  the  clerks, 
was  opened  May,  1850 ;  the  Court  having  voted  500Z.  for  the  purchase  of  books. 

Barber-Surgeons'  Hall,  Monkwell-street :  a  curious  collection  of  rare  books  on 
olden  Anatomy. 

Beaumont  Institution,  Mile- end,  built  and  endowed  with  13,000Z.  by  Mr.  Barber 
Beaumont,  has  a  library  of  4000  volumes,  a  music-hall,  and  museum  of  natural  history. 

Bible  Society,  British  and  Foreign,  10  Earl-street,  Blackfriars :  collection  of 
versions  of  the  Scriptures,  in  various  languages  or  dialects.  The  bulk  of  this  invaluable 
biblical  library  consists  of  copies  of  the  Scriptures,  including,  in  addition  to  those  in 
which  the  Bible  Society  has  been  immediately  concerned,  rare  copies  of  the  first  or 
early  editions  of  the  Bible  in  varions  languages;  and  no  national,  collegiate,  or  private 
biblical  library  can  approach  that  of  the  Society.  In  addition  to  the  printed  Bibles, 
there  are  also  valuable  copies  of  more  or  less  of  the  Scriptures  in  manuscript,  in  about 
fifty  different  languages,  some  of  which  have  never  yet  appeared  in  print.  A. consider- 
able portion  of  this  curious  collection  consists  of  lexicons,  grammars,  and  other  philo- 
logic  treatises,  which  refer  to  the  business  of  translation.     This  library  contains  also  a 


LIBRARIES.  517 


large  assortment  of  commentaries,  liturgies,  catechisms,  books  of  topography  and  travels, 
and  the  reports  of  all  the  Bible  Societies  in  the  world.  Next  in  attraction  to  the  Bibles 
in  all  languages,  and  the  MSS.  above  referred  to,  is  a  collection  of  twelve  folio  volumes 
in  manuscript,  containing  the  history  of  the  translations  in  94  languages,  in  which  the 
Society  had  been  concerned  down  to  1829  j  and  similar  materials  are  preserved  for 
continuing  these  historic  records  to  the  present  time.  Here  also  are  early  versions  of 
the  Scriptures  in  such  tongues  as  Welsh  and  Bohemian ;  and  invaluable  Ethiopic  and 
Mexican  manuscripts.  Some  of  its  rarest  curiosities  it  owes  to  the  liberality  of  Prince 
Louis  Lucien  Bonaparte,  who  presented  it  witli  copies  of  the  translations  of  the 
versions  of  St.  Matthew  he  has  recently  caused  to  be  executed  in  Basque,  and  in  the 
lowland  Scotch  dialect.  Of  the  former  of  these  only  twelve,  of  the  latter  only  eighteen 
copies  have  been  printed. 

Botanical  Society,  20,  Bedford-street,  Covent-garden,  has  a  library  of  works  on 
botany  for  reference  and  circulation;  besides  British  and  general  herbaria  for  the 
exchange  of  specimens. 

British  Museum.     (See  Museums.) 

Charter-House,  Aldersgate :  a  collection  presented  by  booksellers  and  others  for 
the  reading  of  the  Brotherhood.  In  1851  Queen  Victoria  presented  the  Quarterly 
Revieio,  86  vols. 

Chelsea  Hospital  :  History,  Voyages,  and  Travels,  and  Military  Memoirs,  News- 
papers, and  Periodicals  for  the  pensioners'  reading. 

Christ's  Hospital,  Newgate-street,  "  formerly  the  Grey  Friars,  hath  a  neat  library 
for  the  use  of  the  masters  and  scholars ;  besides  a  collection  of  mathematical  instru- 
ments, globes,  ships,  with  all  their  rigging,  for  the  instruction  of  the  lads  designed  for 
the  sea."  (S.  Lemoine,  1790.)  To  the  library  of  MSS.,  Whittington  was  a  great 
benefactor.  The  most  considerable  Franciscan  collection  of  books  seems  to  have  been 
at  the  London  monastery,  on  the  site  of  Christ's  Hospital,  Newgate-street,  for  which 
the  first  stone  of  a  new  building  was  laid  by  Sir  Richard  'Whittington,  on  the  21st  of 
October,  1421.  After  it  was  completed,  100  marks  were  expended  on  a  transcript  of 
the  Works  of  Nicholas  de  Lira,  to  be  chained  in  the  library.  (Stow's  Survey,  by 
Strype.)  Whittington's  Library  was  a  handsome  room,  129  feet  long,  and  31  feet 
broad,  wainscoted  throughout,  and  fitted  with  shelves  neatly  carved,  with  desks  and 
settles :  it  formed  the  northern  side  of  the  quadrangle. 

Church  Missionary  Society,  Salisbury-square,  Fleet-street :  miscellaneous  col- 
lection, rich  in  voyages  and  travels. 

City  of  London  Institution,  Aldersgate- street,  commenced  in  1825,  contained 
upwards  of  7000  volumes  for  reference  and  circulation ;  dispersed  in  1852,  when  the 
Institution  was  dissolved. 

Civil  Engineers  (Institution  of),  25,  Great  George-street,  Westminster :  up- 
wards of  3000  volumes,  and  1500  tracts,  upon  bridges,  canals,  railways,  roads,  docks, 
navigation,  ports,  rivers,  and  water ;  Transactions  of  Societies,  Parliamentary  Reports, 
&c.  Here  are  some  volumes  of  MS.  observations  by  Telford  in  his  early  engineering 
career.  This  library  has  the  advantage  of  a  printed  catalogue,  admirably  arranged  by 
C.  Manby,  Secretary  to  the  Institution. 

Clockmakees'  Company,  London  Tavern,  Bishopsgate-street :  a  lending  library  of 
valuable  English  and  foreign  works  on  Horology  and  the  allied  sciences,  with  a  printed 
catalogue. 

Club-Houses  (The)  have  extensive  general  libraries. 

College  of  Physicians,  Pall  Mall  East.  (See  p.  277.)  In  this  collection  are  the 
libraries  of  Selden  and  the  Marquis  of  Dorchester ;  and  Sir  Theodore  Mayerne,  physician 
to  James  I. 

College  of  Surgeons,  Lincoln's-inn-fields  :  library  commenced  by  John  Hunter's 
donation  of  his  published  works  on  Anatomy  and  Surgery  in  1786,  the  unique  auto- 
graph letter  accompanying  which  is  possessed  by  Mr.  Stone,  the  present  Librarian. 
Sir  Charles  Blicke  bequeathed  his  medical  library,  and  300Z.  j  and  the  collection  now 


518  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

numbers  30,000  volumes  (cost  23,000Z.) ;  mostly  works  on  the  history,  science,  and 
practice  of  medicine  and  the  collateral  sciences:  its  collection  of  Transactions  and 
Journals  is  very  perfect. 

Among  the  Curiosities  is  "  Approved  Medicines  and  Cordiall  Receipts,"  dated  1580 :  it  bears  in 
several  places  the  signature  and  initials  of  Shakspeare ;  but  it  was  bought  at  the  sale  of  forger  Ireland's 
effects.  Among  the  early  books  are  a  Compendium  Medicines  nondum  Medicis  sed  Cyrurgis  utilissimum, 
1510,  by  Gilbertus  Anglicus,  circ.  1230:  the  works  of  John  of  Oaddesden,  or  Johannes  Anglicus,  circ. 
1320.  Herbarium  Germanice,  1485,  beautifully  illuminated,  and  bound  in  oak,  brass  ornaments,  dated 
1549;  a  collection  of  engraved  portraits  of  medical  men,  formerly  possessed  by  Fauntleroy,  the  banker, 
and  presented  by  him  to  William  Wadd,  the  facete  surgeon.  The  library,  designed  by  Barry,  extends  the 
entire  length  of  the  College  facade;  above  the  bookcases  are  a  gallery  and  portraits  of  Harvey,  Chesel- 
den,  Nesbitt,  Nourse,  Blizard,  Hunter,  Pott,  &c. ;  and  adjoining  is  a  room  with  a  collection  of  Voyages 
and  Travels,  works  on  Natural  History  and  Science.    Members  of  the  College  can  introduce  a  visitor. 

Corpobation  op  London  Library,  Guildhall.  It  appears  that  in  1411  the 
Guildhall  College  was  furnished  with  a  library  founded  by  the  executors  of  Richard 
Whittington,  and  that  to  this  was  added  a  portion  of  the  library  of  John  Carpenter, 
the  Town  Clerk  of  the  City,  and  the  founder  of  the  City  of  London  School.  The  will 
of  Carpenter  says  : — "  I  direct,  that  if  any  good  or  rare  books  shall  be  found  among 
the  residue  of  my  goods  which,  by  the  discretion  of  Masters  William  Lichfield  and 
Reginald  Pocock,  may  seem  necessary  for  the  common  library  at  Guildhall,  for  the 
profit  of  the  students  there  and  those  discoursing  to  the  common  people,  then  I  will 
and  bequeath  that  those  books  be  placed  by  my  executors  and  chained  in  that  library, 
under  such  form  that  the  visitors  and  students  thereof  may  be  the  sooner  admonished 
to  pray  for  my  soul."  It  appears  that  in  1457  John  Clipstone,  priest  and  bedeman, 
was  appointed  librarian.  He  was  succeeded,  in  1510,  by  Edmund  Alison,  also  a  priest ; 
and  at  this  date,  according  to  Stow,  the  books  constituted  "  a  fayre  and  large  librarie." 
According  to  this  chronicler,  the  whole  of  these  books,  four  carts  full,  were  borrowed 
by  Edward  Duke  of  Somerset,  the  Lord  Protector,  with  a  promise  of  their  speedy 
return,  which,  however,  never  took  place.  The  citizens,  thus  deprived  of  their  library, 
formed  a  new  collection,  of  which  but  little  is  known,  except  that  it  was  entirely 
destroyed  in  the  Fire  of  1666.  From  that  period  it  does  not  appear  that  any  fresh 
library  was  formed  to  the  present  one,  founded  in  1824,  and  which  now  numbers  about 
25,000  volumes.  In  1828  was  published  A  Catalogue  of  the  books,  to  which  have  since 
been  made  valuable  additions.  It  is  enriched  with  a  choice  collection  of  950  original  Royal 
proclamations,  published  by  King  Charles  I.,  the  Parliament,  the  Protector,  Charles  II., 
James  II.,  and  William  III. ;  also  400  volumes  of  Hebrew  and  Rabbinical  literature, 
presented  by  Mr.  Philip  Salamons.  The  present  Catalogue  contains  a  valuable  Index 
of  names,  ably  compiled  by  the  librarian,  Mr.  W.  H.  Overall. 

The  Library  is  rich  in  works  relating  to  the  Cities  of  London  and  Westminster,  and 
the  Borough  of  Southwark ;  rare  tracts  preceding,  accompanying,  and  following  the 
Commonwealth ;  and  several  volumes  of  original  proclamations,  temp.  1638  to  1698. 
Here  are  Domesday  Survey  and  the  Monasticon ;  in  history,  Ven.  Bede,  Matthew 
Paris,  Decern  Scripfores,  and  other  old  English  chroniclers ;  in  foreign  history, 
Kajmpfer,  Pontoppidan,  Wormius,  Duhalde,  D'Herbelot,  Mezeray,  &c. ;  Hakluyt's 
Voyages,  first  edit,  black  letter,  and  Evans's  very  brilliant  edit.  5  vols.  4to ;  Lysons's 
Environs  of  London,  with  drawings,  prints,  and  armorial  bearings,  13  thick  volumes, 
perhaps  the  most  elaborately  illustrated  work  extant.  Among  the  recent  additions  are : 
the  great  French  work  on  Egypt,  14  vols,  atlas  folio,  and  9  vols,  folio  letterpress ; 
II  Vaticano,  by  Erasmus  Pistolesi,  8  vols,  folio ;  M'Kenney's  History  of  the  Indian 
Tribes  of  North  America  (superb  coloured  engravings),  3  vols,  folio.  Portfolios  of 
Maps,  Views,  and  Plans  of  London,  of  various  dates  from  Aggas  to  Stanford.  The 
library  of  the  Dutch  Church,  Austinfriars,  has  been  deposited  here  with  the  MSS. 
and  letters  of  the  early  Reformers  and  men  of  science. 

Boole  Rarities : — Nuremburg  Chronicle,  1493,  with  MS.  Notes,  sixteenth  century,  and  Lists  of  Bailiffs, 
Mayors,  and  Sheriffs  of  London,  1st  Rich.  I.  to  4  Hen.  VIII.,  with  marginal  notes  of  events :  woodcuts, 
mostly  coloured.  Complaint  of  Roderick  Mars,  sometime  a  Gray  Fryare  (Geneva),  said  by  Kennet  to 
have  been  written  by  Henry  Brincklow,  a  London  merchant.  Bonner's  Profitable  and  Necessary  Doc- 
trine, bl.  1.  1555.  Declaration  of  Bonner's  Article,  bl.  1.  1561.  A  Boke  made  by  John  Fryth,  Prysoner 
in  the  Tower  of  London,  bl.  1.  1546.  The  Actes  of  English  Votaryes,  by  John  Bale.bl.l.  1546.  The  Castel 
ofSelth  (by  Sir  Jo.  Elyot,  bl.  1.  1541.  The  Burnynge  of  Paule's  Church,  &c.  (written  against  Popery, 
by  Pilkington,  Bishop  of  Durham),  bl.  1.  1591.  Legenda  Sanctorum,  fol.  bl.  1.  n.  d.  Codex  Sinaiticus* 
presented  by  the  Emperor  of  Russia.    A  collection  of  early  printed  Plays  and  Pageants. 


LIBRARIES.  519 


Among  the  autographic  Curiosities  is  the  Charter  granted  by  William  the  Con- 
queror to  the  City  of  London  in  1067.  It  is  beautifully  written  in  Saxon  characters, 
in  about  four  lines,  upon  a  slip  of  parchment  six  inches  long  and  one  broad. 

Also,  in  a  glass-case,  is  the  signature  of  Shakspeare,  purchased  in  1843,  by  the  Cor- 
poration of  London  for  145£. :  it  is  affixed  to  a  deed  of  bargain  and  sale  of  "  all  that 
messuage  or  tente  with  the  app'tennes  lyeing  and  being  in  the  blackfryers  in  London, 
neare  the  Wardrobe,"  by  Henry  Walker  to  William  Shakspeare,  dated  March  10, 
1612-13,  and  has  the  seals  attached,  and  the  names  of  the  attesting  witnesses  on  the 
back.  The  house  is  described  as  "  abutting  upon  a  streete  leading  down  to  Pudle 
wharffe"  (now  St.  Andrew's  Hill),  and  was  in  Ireland-yard,  named  after  the  tenant, 
William  Ireland,  about  the  time  of  the  above  sale :  it  was  bequeathed  by  Shakspeare  in 
his  will  to  his  daughter,  Susannah  Hall.  Here,  too,  is  the  sign-stone  of  the  Boar's 
Head  Tavern.  The  Museum  attached  to  the  Library  is  particularly  rich  in  antiqui- 
ties discovered  in  the  City  of  London  during  numerous  excavations. 

Cottonian  Libbaby  (The),  now  in  the  British  Museum,  was  collected  by  Sir  Robert 
Bruce  Cotton,  the  learned  antiquary,  who  greatly  profited  by  the  dissolution  of  monas- 
teries half  a  century  before,  by  which  the  records,  charters,  and  instruments  were 
thrown  into  private  hands.  Sir  Robert  Cotton  was  the  friend  of  Camden,  and  greatly 
assisted  him  in  his  Britannia.  The  library  was  kept  at  Cotton  House,  at  the  west  end 
of  Westminster  Hall,  and  was  greatly  increased  by  Sir  Robert's  son  and  grandson ;  in 
1700  it  was  purchased  by  Act  of  Parliament,  and  in  1706  Cotton  House  was  sold  to 
the  Crown  for  4500Z. ;  but  the  mansion  falling  into  decay,  in  1712  the  library  was  re- 
moved to  Essex  House,  Strand ;  and  thence,  in  1730,  to  Ashburnham  House,  West- 
minster. Here,  October  23, 1731,  a  destructive  fire  broke  out,  by  which  111  MSS.  were 
lost,  burnt,  or  entirely  defaced,  and  99  rendered  imperfect.  What  remained  were  re- 
moved into  the  new  dormitory  of  Westminster  School.  In  1738  was  bequeathed  to  the 
collection  Major  Arthur  Edwards's  library  of  2000  printed  volumes;  and  in  1757  the 
whole  were  transferred  to  the  British  Museum.  The  Cottonian  collection  originally 
contained  958  volumes  of  original  Charters,  Royal  Letters,  Foreign  State  Correspon- 
dence, Ancient  Registers :  it  was  kept  in  cases,  upon  which  were  the  heads  of  the  twelve 
Caesars;  and  the  MSS.  are  distinguished  by  the  press-marks  of  the  Csesars.  Humphrey 
Wanley  published  a  catalogue  of  the  Cottonian  Library,  which  is  minutely  noticed  by 
Chamberlayne,  Magna  Britannia  Notitia,  1726.  Above  the  bookcases  were  portraits 
of  the  three  Cottons,  Judge  Doddridge,  Spelman,  Camden,  Dugdale,  Lambard,  Speed, 
&c.     An  extended  catalogue  was  printed  in  1802. 

Besides  MSS.,  the  Cottonian  collection  contained  Saxon  and  old  English  coins,  and  Roman  and 
English  antiquities,  all  now  in  the  British  Museum.  Sir  Robert  Cotton  aided  Speed  in  his  History  of 
England,  and  Knolles  in  his  Turkish  History.  Sir  Walter  Raleigh,  Selden,  and  Bacon  drew  materials 
from  the  Cottonian  Library ;  and,  in  our  time,  Lingard's  and  Sharon  Turner's  Histories  of  England,  and 
numerous  other  works,  have  proved  its  treasures  unexhausted.  Daniel's,  G.,  Libbakt,  Canonbury 
(See  Museums.) 

Depaetment  ov  Practical  Aet,  South  Kensington:  a  collection  of  works  of 
reference  for  Manufactures  and  Ornamental  Art,  originally  formed  for  the  Schools  of 
Design.  About  1500  volumes  on  architecture,  sculpture,  painted  glass,  general  antiqui- 
ties, and  decoration ;  prints  and  drawings,  including  Raphael's  Arabesques,  coloured ; 
original  Sketches  of  the  Cathedral  of  Messina,  and  the  Church  of  St.  Ambrose,  Milan ; 
and  many  elementary  and  practical  works  on  art  and  ornamental  design. 

Doctors'  Commons  (College  of  Advocates).    {See  p.  313.) 

Dtjlwich  College  Libeaet.     {See  p.  274.) 

Dutch  Chttech,  Austin  Friars :  for  the  use  of  foreign  Protestants  and  their  clergy : 
containing  MSS.  and  Letters  of  Calvin,  Peter  Martyr,  and  others,  foreign  Reformers  : 
the  Ten  Commandments,  believed  to  be  in  the  handwriting  of  Rubens.  This  collection 
of  books  and  MSS.  was  made  by  Maria  Dubois,  a  pious  lady,  and  was  placed  at  the 
west  end  of  the  church,  over  the  screen,  in  an  apartment  inscribed  thus : — "  Ecclesias 
Londino-Belgiae  Bibliotheca,  extructa  sumptibus  Maria?  Dubois,  1659."  Additions  to 
the  collection  were  made  from  time  to  time  by  the  Dntch  Ambassadors,  the  Dutch  East 
India  Company,  and  the  wealthy  members  of  the  congregation.  Its  autographic  trea- 
sures include  a  very  interesting  collection  of  letters  of  the  early  ecclesiastical  Re- 


520  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

formers — among  others,  of  Erasmus,  Calvin,  and  Beza,  Bucer,  Peter  Martyr ;  Grindal, 
Archbishop  of  Canterbury ;  Vizet ;  John  &  Lasco,  the  first  Minister  of  the  Dutch 
Church  in  London ;  Bullinger,  and  of  John  Fox,  the  martyrologist ;  likewise  letters  of 
the  principal  founders  of  the  Dutch  Republic,  including  the  Prince  of  Orange,  after- 
wards William  I. ;  Sir  Philip  de  Marinix,  Count  d'Albegonde,  the  Admiral  of  the 
Dutch  fleet.  One  collection  also  contains  272  original  letters  to  Abraham  Ortelius, 
geographer  to  Philip  II.  of  Spain,  from  the  chief  learned  and  scientific  men  of  the  age. 
Here  likewise  are  portrait-etchings  of  Albert  Durer,  by  himself;  Olertius  Christopher 
Plantin,  printer  of  the  polyglot  Hible ;  of  Cardinal  Ximenes,  Gerard  Mercator,  William 
Camden,  Dr.  John  Dee,  the  great  Lord  Burghley ;  the  Earls  of  Leicester,  Sussex,  and 
Lincoln ;  several  of  the  English  Bishops  of  those  times,  and  of  the  Lord  Mayors  of 
London ;  also  the  Ten  Commandments,  believed  to  be  in  the  handwriting  of  Rubens. 
The  library  principally  consists  of  early  theological  works  in  Latin,  German,  Dutch,  and 
English;  good  editions  of  the  classics;  illuminated  Bibles;  Blaeuw's  View  of  the 
different  Continental  States,  in  1649,  and  the  Embassy  to  China,  1670 — in  all  about 
2000  volumes,  and  with  the  old  fittings  complete.  In  the  conflagration  at  the  Dutch 
Church,  in  1862,  this  fine  library  was  fortunately  saved ;  and  upon  the  restoration  of 
the  church,  the  Library  was  added  to  that  of  the  Corporation  at  Guildhall. 

East  India  Company's  Libeaby :  printed  books  and  tracts  relating  to  the  history 
and  geography  of  the  Eastern  hemisphere  ;  the  history,  commerce,  and  administration  of 
the  East  India  Company,  printed  in  Europe  or  India ;  books,  drawings,  and  prints  of  the 
people,  scenery,  and  antiquities  of  Asiatic  countries ;  MSS.  on  palm-leaves  in  Sanscrit, 
Burmese,  and  other  languages  of  the  Archipelago,  and  Sanscrit  MSS.  in  3000  bound 
volumes ;  Chinese  printed  works ;  Tibetan  Cyclopaedia,  in  300  large  oblong  volumes, 
printed  with  wooden  blocks ;  Arabic  and  Persian  MSS. ;  miniature  copies  of  the  Koran ; 
another  Koran,  in  old  Cufic  characters,  written  out  by  the  Khalif  Othman  (d.  a.d.  655), 
and  other  volumes  of  the  library  of  Tippoo  Sultan ;  his  autograph  "  Register  of  Dreams," 
&c.  Open  to  students  recommended.  When  the  East  India  House  was  taken  down, 
the  Library  and  Museum  were  removed  to  Fife  House,  Whitehall.     (See  Museums.) 

Ellesmeee  Libeaby,  Bridgewater  House,  Green  Park,  contains  many  hundred 
manuscript  plays,  by  all  the  dramatists  who  have  written  for  the  stage  from  the  year 
1737  to  the  year  1824.  These  are  the  copies  which  were  from  time  to  time  sent 
officially  to  the  Licenser  of  Dramatic  Compositions :  and  in  many  instances  they  bear 
his  marks  and  remarks  for  regulating  the  performance,  and  contain  passages  omitted 
not  only  in  the  representation  but  in  the  editions  afterwards  printed  from  the  acting 
copies.  The  whole  collection  illustrates  the  history  of  our  stage  during  nearly  a  cen- 
tury— since  it  proves  at  once  with  respect  to  revived  dramas,  who  was  or  was  not  the 
author  of  the  additions  and  alterations — a  matter  of  doubt  even  within  our  own  memory. 

Geogeaphical  Society  (Royal),  3,  Waterloo-place,  Pall  Mall :  upwards  of  4000 
volumes,  mostly  geographical;  150  Atlases;  more  than  1000  pamphlets;  10,000  maps 
and  charts  :  available  as  a  circulating  library  by  the  Fellows. 

Geological  Society's  Libeaby,  Somerset  House,  contains  several  rare  and  curious 
treatises,  &c,  chiefly  of  the  seventeenth  century,  and  relating  to  the  cosmogonical  and 
hypothetical  notions  about  the  earth  and  its  structure,  the  origin  and  nature  of  minerals 
and  fossils,  natural  history,  early  chemistry,  &c. 

Geesham  College,  Basinghall- street,  has  a  small  library  of  modern  books  for  the 
use  of  the  lecturers.  The  College  does  not  appear  to  have  originally  possessed  a 
library,  but  to  have  used  that  of  the  Royal  Society,  the  removal  of  which  to  Crane- 
court  in  1710  proved  a  great  disadvantage  to  the  Gresham  Professors.  (Ward's  Lives, 
p.  175.)  (See  Geesham  College,  p.  274.)  The  books  subsequently  possessed  by  the 
College  were  burnt  in  the  Royal  Exchange,  Jan.  10,  1838. 

Halls  op  the  City  Companies  (The),  often  contain  collections  of  early  treatises 
upon  their  arts  and  mysteries. 

Haeleian  Libeaby  and  MSS.     (See  Museums  :  British). 

Hebeew  Libeaby,  Duke's-place,  Aldgate. 


LIBRARIES.  521 


The  Jews,  in  Bevis  Marks,  had  a  valuable  library  in  their  Synagogue,  relating  to  their  ceremonials 
and  Talmudical  worship ;  but  some  narrow  minds  among  them  conceiving  that  if  they  should  get  into 
the  hands  of  Christians,  they  would  be  disgraced  by  shameful  translations,  agreed  among  themselves  to 
cause  them  to  be  burnt;  for  which  purpose  they  employed  some  of  their  scribes,  or  tephilim  writers,  to 
examine  into  the  correctness  of  the  copies ;  and  receiving  a  report  agreeable  to  their  wishes,  they  had 
them  conveyed  to  Mile  End,  where  they  were  all  destroyed  in  a  kiln ;  for  it  is  contrary  to  their  maxim 
ever  to  make  waste  paper  of  the  sacred  language. — H.  Lemoine:  Gentleman's  Magazine,  July,  1790. 

Heralds'  College  (College  of  Arms),  see  p.  275.  Here  is  a  curious  collection  of 
works  on  Heraldry,  Arms,  Ceremonies,  Coronations,  Marriages,  Funerals,  Christenings, 
and  Visitations ;  an  ancient  Nennius  on  vellum,  and  Robert  of  Gloucester's  Chronicle. 

Horticultural  Societt,  South  Kensington  :  the  largest  collection  of  horticultural 
works  in  the  kingdom,  and  an  assemblage  of  drawings  of  fruits  and  ornamental  plants. 

Hospitals,  the  several,  possess  medical  libraries. 

Incorporated  Law  Society,  Chancery  -lane :  the  law  and  literature  connected 
with  the  profession;  Votes,  Reports,  Acts,  Journals,  and  other  proceedings  of  Parlia- 
ment ;  County  and  Local  Histories :  topographical,  genealogical,  and  antiquarian 
works,  &c. 

Inns  of  Court. — The  Inner  and  Middle  Temple  each  possesses  a  good  library, 
with  valuable  MSS.  The  Inner  Temple  MSS.,  principally  collected  by  William 
Petyt,  Esq.,  Keeper  of  the  Tower  Records,  were  presented  by  his  trustees  in  1707  : 
they  exceed  400  MSS.,  parliamentary  statutes  and  common  law,  ecclesiastical  records, 
year-books,  Hoveden,  Higden,  and  other  English  historians,  letters,  and  papers,  with 
signs-manual  of  kings  and  queens  of  England.  Middle  Temple  Library,  the 
new  building  for  which  is  described  at  p.  463,  dates  from  1641,  when  its  founder, 
Robert  Ashley,  a  collateral  ancestor  of  the  Earl  of  Shaftesbury,  left  his  whole 
library,  together  with  a  large  sum  of  money,  to  the  Inn  where  he  had  received 
his  legal  education.  His  example  was  followed  by  other  distinguished  Templars 
of  the  time,  and  thus  the  Library  was  first  established.  The  Irish  Lord*  Chief 
Justice  Pepys  was  a  large  benefactor  to  it.  Ashmole,  Bartholomew  Shower,  and 
William  Petyt  were  among  its  most  liberal  supporters.  Lord  Stowell  also  left  a 
handsome  legacy  to  it,  which  was  expended  chiefly  on  the  purchase  of  books  on 
civil,  canon,  and  international  law.  During  the  latter  part  of  the  last  century  many 
volumes,  in  some  way  or  other,  disappeared  from  the  shelves  altogether,  among  them 
some  of  the  most  scarce  and  valuable  tracts,  and  30  folio  volumes  of  Votes  of  Parlia- 
ment. In  civil,  canon,  and  international  law  books,  and  in  the  English,  Scotch,  Irish, 
and  American  reports  it  is  said  to  be  very  strong,  and  there  is  also  a  large  collection 
of  books  on  divinity  and  ecclesiastical  history.  There  is  likewise  an  ample  collection 
of  proclamations  and  other  official  documents  relating  to  the  times  of  the  Civil  War. 
Lincoln's  Inn  Library  is  described  at  p.  468;  also  in  Spilsbury's  Lincoln's  Inn  and 
its  Library ;  Gray's  Inn,  law  and  history  p.  469.  Most  of  the  Inns  op  Chancery 
have  also  libraries. 

King's  College,  Somerset  House,  has  large  medical  and  general  libraries ;  including 
the  Marsden  Library,  3000  volumes  on  Philosophy  and  Oriental  Literature,  presented 
in  1835  by  William  Marsden,  F.R.S.   The  Medical  Library  contains  about  2000  volumes. 

Lambeth  Palace  Library.     (See  p.  501.) 

Linnean  Society,  Burlington  House :  the  Library  and  Herbarium  of  Linnams, 
purchased  by  Sir  James  Smith  for  1000Z.  In  the  Society's  house,  32,  Soho-square,  Sir 
Joseph  Banks  collected  his  valuable  library  of  works  on  Natural  History,  now  in  the 
Banksian  department  of  the  British  Museum  :  the  catalogue  fills  five  octavo  volumes, 
and  is  very  rare. 

Literary  Fund  (Royal),  4,  Adelphi-terrace :  this  is  a  collection  of  books, 
mostly  modern,  and  presents.  Here  is  also  the  MS.  of  Thorlaksson's  Icelandic 
version  of  Paradise  Lost,  sent  to  the  Institution  by  himself,  through  the  Danish 
Government.  Here  is  the  dagger  with  which  Colonel  Blood  stabbed  Edwards,  keeper 
of  the  Regalia  in  the  Tower  of  London,  when  Blood  attempted  to  carry  off  the  crown ; 
also  a  dagger  taken  from  Parrot,  Blood's  accomplice.  Both  weapons  are  of  French 
manufacture,  and  very  curious :  they  were  beoueathed  to  the  Institution  by  Mr.  Thomas 


522  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Newton,  who  believing  himself  to  be  the  hist  descendant  of  Sir  Isaac  Newton,  left  his 
entire  estate  to  the  Literary  Fund. 

London  Institution,  Finsbury-circus,  commenced  in  1806  with  part  of  the  library 
of  the  first  Marquis  of  Lansdowne,  contains  about  30,000  volumes :  rich  in  English 
Antiquities  and  Topography;  scarce  collection  of  Foreign  Laws;  several  thousand 
Tracts  ;  Bibliography,  including  rare  editions  from  the  early  presses  of  Germany,  Italy, 
and  France ;  and  fine  specimens  of  the  printing  of  the  celebrated  Antoine  Verard,  the 
Wechels,  the  Stephani,  Claude  Morel,  Christopher  Plantin,  Johann  Froben,  Guarinus, 
Hieronymus  Commelin,  Henricus  Petrus,  the  Aldi,  the  Sessae,  Gabriel  Giolito,  and  the 
Giunti ;  with  some  from  the  English  printers,  Julian  Notary,  Peter  Treveris,  Richard 
Grafton,  Thomas  Marshe,  John  Cawood,  &c.  Professor  Porson,  William  Upcott,  and 
Richard  Thomson,  author  of  the  Chronicles  of  London  Bridge,  1827,  were  successively 
librarians.     This  collection  is  valued  at  40,000Z. 

London  Libeaey,  12,  St.  James's-square  (the  house  tenanted  by  Lord  Amherst 
when  Commander-in-chief),  was  established  in  May,  1841,  at  57,  Pall  Mall,  and  removed 
to  St.  James's-square  in  1844.  It  is  upon  the  subscription  and  lending  plan,  and  the 
collection  admirable. 

Mathematical  Society,  Crispin- street,  Spitalfields,  established  in  1717,  had  a 
library,  of  which  a  catalogue  was  published  in  1821 ;  but  the  books  and  archives  were 
removed  to  Somerset  House  in  1845,  when  the  Mathematical  Society  merged  into  the 
Royal  Astronomical  Society.     (See  p.  516.) 

Mechanics'  Institute,  Southampton-buildings,  Holborn,  founded  by  the  philan- 
thropic Dr.  Birkbeck  in  1823 ;  who  also,  in  1825,  advanced  a  large  sum  for  building 
the  fine  theatre  of  the  Institution.     The  library  has  6000  vols. 

Medical  and  Chieubgical  Society,  53,  Berners-street,  Oxford-street :  about 
20,000  volumes  on  Medicine,  Surgery,  &c. 

Medical  Society  of  London,  32a,  George-street,  Hanover-square,  has  a  collection 
of  books,  including  tbe  library  bequeathed  by  Dr.  Lettsom,  with  a  house  in  Bolt-court, 
Fleet-street.     (See  p.  350.) 

Mebchant-Taylobs'  School  Libeaby,  Suffolk-lane,  Cannon-street,  contains  a  fair 
collection  of  Hebrew  and  other  Oriental  works  of  reference ;  some  good  copies  of  the 
Fathers ;  nearly  all  the  standard  classical  and  other  Lexicons ;  and  the  best  writers  in 
English  Theology.  The  Merchant-Taylors'  Company  devote  thirty  guineas  per  annum 
to  the  increase  and  keeping  up  of  this  library ;  and  frequent  presents  have  been  made 
to  it  by  Members  of  the  Court. 

Miceoscopical  Society,  21,  Regent-street :  a  library  of  standard  works  on  the 
Microscope;  the  perfection  of  which  valuable  instrument  is  the  object  of  the 
Institution. 

Museum  of  Pbactical  Geology,  Jermyn-street,  St.  James's :  rare  edition  of  the 
works  of  Aldrovandus ;  collection  of  alchemical  treatises  and  histories ;  Kircher's 
works;  olden  Topography,  Voyages  and  Travels;  collection  of  Surveys,  &c. 

New  College,  St.  John's  "Wood  (see  p.  277),  possesses  a  library  of  20,000  volumes, 
including  the  theological  collections  from  Coward,  Homerton,  and  Highbury  Colleges; 
and  is  otherwise  rich  in  works  for  the  Congregational  denomination. 

Paeliament  (Houses  of)  possess  large  and  valuable  libraries. 

Patent  Seal  Office  Libeaey. — This  free  scientific  library  consists  of  more  than 
25,000  volumes,  well  selected,  and  of  a  class  character,  and  there  is  a  conveniently- 
arranged  catalogue.  In  days  of  old  the  inventive  faculty  of  man  was  taxed  and  made 
profit  of  to  Chancellors  and  Chaff-waxers.  The  records  of  patents  were  lodged  in  the 
Rolls  Chapel  and  other  places,  and  the  expense  of  inquiry  was  great;  the  specifications 
of  patents  were  not  printed,  and  the  cost  of  obtaining  even  a  specification  amounted  to 
sums  which  varied  from  twelve  guineas  up  to500Z.;  the  legal  expenses  of  an  old  patent 
amounted  to  350Z.  and  upwards.  Now,  all  the  specifications  of  patents  have  been 
printed,  and  they  can  be  had  at  the  rate  of  from  2d.  to  lOd.  each  copy.     Of  the  patents 


LIBRARIES.  523 


tinder  the  old  patent  law,  the  most  ancient  is  the  following :  "  a.d.  1617. — No.  1. 
Engraving  and  printing  maps,  plans,  &c. ;  Kathburne  &  Burges'  patent."  This  is  the 
first  patent  which  has  been  printed.  No.  2  patent  is  by  Nicholas  Hilliard,  for  draw- 
ing, engraving,  and  printing  portraits  of  the  royal  family.  No.  3  is  for  constructing 
locks,  sluices,  bridges,  cranes,  and  obtaining  or  applying  water-power.  No.  4  (1617) — 
Protecting  arms  and  armour  from  rust.  No.  5 — Manufacture  of  swords  and  rapier 
blades,  &c.  No.  6 — Patent  to  David  Ramsey  and  Thomas  Wildgoose.  Ramsey  seems 
to  have  been  one  of  the  pages  of  the  bedchamber.  This  invention  is  described  as 
follows : — 

"  Newe,  apte,  or  comodius  formes  or  kinde  of  engines  or  instruments,  and  other  profitable  invencions, 
wayes,  and  means  for  the  good  of  our  commonwealth,  as  well  to  plough  grounde  without  horse  or  oxen, 
and  enrich  and  make  better  and  more  fertile,  as  well  barren  bent,  salt,  and  sea  sand,  as  in  land  and 
upper  land  grounde  within  our  kingdoms  of  England  and  Ireland,  and  our  domynon  of  Wales ;  as  also 
to  rayse  waters  from  ante  loive  place  to  high  places, for  well  watering  of  cittyes,  towns,  noblemen's  and 
gentlemen's  houses,  and  other  places  now  much  wanting  water,  with  lesse  charges  than  ever  hath  been 
heretofore,  and  to  make  boats  for  the  carriage  of  burthens  and  passengers  run  upon  the  water,  as  swift  in 
calm,  and  more  safe  in  storms,  than  boats  full-say  led  in  great  wayes." 

The  inventions  for  the  cure  of  smoke  are  numerous,  and  of  several  dates,  notwith- 
standing many  of  her  Majesty's  subjects  are  as  smoke-dried  as  formerly.  Mops,  egg- 
boilers,  self-adjusting  gloves,  frying-pans,  and  other  such  manufactures  have  been 
patented.  There  are  also  beverages  and  such  like  made  patent;  one  of  these  is  called 
"  A  new  beverage — Gibson's  Pinerium ;  or,  Aerated  Sarsaparilla." 

From  1617  to  1852,  when  the  change  in  the  law  took  place,  we  find,  in  this 
library,  the  record  of  14,359  patents :  of  these  the  payment  for  extension  to  fourteen 
years  only  seems  to  apply  to  7529.  Since  the  new  law  has  made  patents  more  easy  of 
obtainment,  the  specifications  were  more  numerous  than  those  which  in  the  Chaff- 
wax  days  were  recorded  during  more  than  two  centuries.  On  an  average  about 
3000  petitions  for  provisional  protection  are  presented  in  each  year :  only  1950 
inventions  reach  the  patented  state ;  and  but  550  patents  pay  the  stamp  duty  re- 
quired at  the  expiration  of  each  year :  probably  not  more  than  100  of  these  550 
patents  will  pay  the  additional  stamp  duty  required  at  the  end  of  the  seventh  year. 
Among  the  printed  records,  we  see  the  dawnings  of  steam-power,  the  electric  tele- 
graph, and  gas-lighting.  In  1652,  262  patents  were  taken  out  for  fire-arms.  One 
Puckle  puts  his  specification  in  rhyme,  and  says  :— 

•'  Defending  King  George,  your  country  and  laws, 
In  defending  yourself  and  country's  cause, 
For  bridges,  trenches,  lines  and  passes, 
Ships,  boats,  houses,  and  other  places." 

St.  Patjl's  Cathedral  Library,  in  the  gallery  over  the  southern  aisle,  was  col- 
lected by  Bishop  Compton  :  7000  volumes,  with  MSS.  relating  to  Old  St.  Paul's. 
(See  p.  111.) 

St.  Paul's  School,  St.  Paul's  Churchyard,  formerly  contained  the  library  of  Dean 
Colet,  the  founder ;  but  the  books  were  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  with  Mr.  Crom- 
lehome,  the  upper  Master's  curious  stock,  the  best  private  collection  then  about 
London  :  he  was  a  great  lover  of  his  books,  and  the  loss  of  them  hastened  the  loss  of 
his  life.  They  have  been  supplied  by  lexicons,  dictionaries,  and  grammars,  in  Hebrew, 
Chaldee,  Greek,  and  Latin,  for  the  use  of  the  upper  scholars.  Here  is  the  reputed 
copy  of  Vegetius  de  re  Militari,  which  Marlborough  used  when  a  pupil  at  the  school. 
The  original  statutes  of  this  school  were  accidentally  picked  up  at  a  bookseller's  by  the 
late  Mr.  Hamper,  of  Birmingham,  and  by  him  presented  to  the  British  Museum. 

Pharmaceutical  Society  (The),  17,  Bloomsbury-square,  has  a  library,  museum, 
and  laboratory. 

Royal  Academy  of  Aets,  Trafalgar-square :  all  the  best  works  on  art ;  besides 
prints,  including  a  valuable  collection  of  engravings  from  the  Italian  School,  from  the 
earliest  period,  collected  by  George  Cumberland.  The  former  library  room,  at 
Somerset-house,  has  a  ceiling  painted  by  Angelica  Kauflmann,  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds, 
and  other  Academicians.  The  office  of  Librarian  is  usually  given  to  an  Academician : 
Wilson,  Fuseli,  and  Stothard  were  librarians. 


524  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Royal  Academy  of  Music,  4,  Tenterden-street,  Hanover-square,  has  a  library  of 
music,  practical,  for  the  use  of  the  students.  Here  is  preserved  the  original  deed, 
dated  1719,  signed  by  several  noblemen,  subscribers  to  a  Royal  Academy  of  Music, 
from  which  was  formed  the  first  Italian  Opera  in  England. 

Royal  Institute  of  Aechitects,  Conduit-street,  Hanover-square :  about  2000 
volumes  on  Architecture  and  its  attendant  sciences;  including  the  Prussian  Government's 
educational  works ;  that  by  Lepsius  on  Egypt ;  and  large  and  expensive  books  of  curiosity 
and  reference,  such  as  Piranesi  and  Canina.  The  MSS.  and  original  Drawings  comprise 
Stuart's  commencement  of  a  Dictionary  of  Architecture ;  Weennick's  Lives  of  Flemish 
Architects ;  and  about  2000  drawings  of  antiquities,  modern  edifices,  and  designs  by 
English,  French,  Italian,  and  German  architects  of  the  seventeenth,  eighteenth,  and 
nineteenth  centuries. 

Royal  Institution,  Albemarle-street :  about  27,000  volumes,  including  the 
curious  library  of  Astle,  the  antiquary ;  topographical,  antiquarian,  classical,  and 
scientific  works ;  parliamentary  history,  &c. 

Royal  Library  (The)  St.  James's  Palace,  was  originally  founded  by  Edward  VI., 
who  appointed  Bartholomew  Trahuon,  keeper,  with  a  salary  of  201. :  the  first  books 
mostly  collected  by  Leland,  at  the  Dissolution ;  and  here  were  deposited  his  "  Collec- 
tions," presented  by  him  to  King  Edward,  but  subsequently  dispersed.  James  I. 
ref'ounded  the  library,  and  added  the  collection  of  the  learned  Isaac  Casaubon.  The 
entire  collection  was  presented  to  the  British  Museum,  in  1757,  by  George  II.;  aud 
to  the  gift  was  annexed  the  privilege,  which  the  Royal  Library  had  acquired  in  the 
reign  of  Queen  Anne,  of*  being  supplied  with  a  copy  of  every  new  publication  entered 
at  Stationers'  Hall.  In  St.  James's  Palace  was  also  the  Queen's  Library,  built  by  Kent, 
for  Caroline,  consort  of  George  II.,  in  the  Stable-yard:  here  were  two  fine  marble 
busts  of  George  II.  and  Queen  Caroline,  by  Rysbraeck,  both  now  in  Windsor  Castle. 

Royal  Society,  Burlington  House :  the  Library,  in  the  upper  floor,  is  extremely  rich 
in  the  best  editions  of  scientific  treatises,  besides  rare  and  valuable  theological  historical 
works,  which  are  lent  to  Fellows  of  the  Society.  The  catalogue  of  books,  MSS.,  and 
letters,  1841,  fills  two  volumes  8vo.  ("The  collection  is  very  poor  in  some  depart- 
ments."— A.  De  Morgan.)  The  Society  also  possess  upwards  of  5000  maps,  charts, 
engravings,  drawings,  &c.  The  library  of  Arundel  House,  presented  to  the  Royal 
Society  by  Mr.  Henry  Howard,  1666-7,  forms  the  nucleus  of  the  present  collection, 
each  book  being  inscribed  Fx  dono  Henrici  Howard,  Norfolciensis :  "  it  consists  of 
3287  printed  books,  chiefly  first  editions,  soon  after  the  invention  of  printing;  and 
Hebrew,  Greek,  Latin,  Turkish,  and  other  rare  MSS.,  544  volumes."  (Maitland.)  In 
1830,  the  Arundel  MSS.  (excepting  the  Hebrew  and  Oriental)  were  sold  to  the  British 
Museum  for  3559Z.,  which  was  expended  in  purchasing  scientific  works  for  the  Royal 
Society's  Library,  now  exceeding  42,000  volumes. 

Here  are  Chaucer's  Canterburie  Tales,  fol.  1480  (Caxton) ;  Copernicus's  History  of  Astronomy,  first 
edition ;  original  M  S.  of  the  Principia,  written  by  Sir  Isaac  Newton ;  and  documents  in  the  Commercium 
Epistolicum  (invention  of  Fluxions) ;  MS.  of  Aubrey's  Natural  History  of  Wiltshire. 

Royal  Society  of  Liteeatuee,  4,  St.  Martin's-place,  Trafalgar-square :  a  valuable 
library,  greatly  enriched  by  the  lexicographical  and  antiquarian  works  presented  by  the 
Rev.  H.  J.  Todd,  editor  and  enlarger  of  Johnson's  Dictionary ;  also  papers  by  the 
most  eminent  writers  on  history,  philology,  poetry,  philosophy,  and  the  arts.  The 
Society's  House  was  built  by  the  leading  members  upon  Crown  land  granted  in  1826 
by  George  IV.,  who  contributed  1100  guineas  a  year. 

It  is  true  that  George  IV.  was  committed  to  this  large  annual  subscription  by  a  misconception  of  Dr. 
Burgess,  Bishop  of  Salisbury;  the  king  intending  a  donation  of  1000  guineas,  and  an  annual  subscrip- 
tion of  100  guineas :  his  Majesty  not  only  cheerfully  acquiesced,  but  amused  himself  with  the  incident. 

Russell  Institution,  Great  Coram-street.  This  Institution  was  founded  in  the 
year  1808,  and  amongst  its  earliest  members  were  Sir  Samuel  Romilly,  Francis  Horner, 
Mason  Good,  Henry  Hallam,  and  Lord  Abinger.  The  number  of  volumes  exceeds 
16,000.    Here  is  Haydon's  grand  heroic  picture  of  "  Xenophon  and  the  Ten  Thousand." 


LIBRARIES.  525 

It  was  disposed  of  by  lottery  for  800  guineas,  in  1836,  when  it  was  won  by  John,  Duke 
of  Bedford,  and  presented  by  him  to  the  Institution. 

Sion  College  Libeaey,  London  Wall  (see  p.  279),  though  founded  for  the  clergy 
of  the  City  and  suburbs  of  London,  is  now  accessible  daily  upon  the  same  conditions  as 
the  British  Museum  Library.  The  Sion  collection  was  increased  by  the  bequest  of  the 
library  of  Dr.  William  Harris :  here  are  many  curious  black-letter  theological  works 
and  scarce  tracts  of  the  Puritan  times. 

Sir  John  Soane's  Museum  :  Architecture  and  the  Fine  Arts  generally,  by  English, 
Italian,  French,  German,  and  Russian  artists  and  literati;  original  Drawings  and  MSS. 
by  Thorpe,  Jones,  Vanbrugh,  Wren,  and  Chambers;  Pennant's  London,  illustrated 
with  2000  drawings,  prints,  &c.  (Fauntleroy's);  Tasso's  MS.  Oerusalemme  Liber ata; 
first,  second,  third,  and  fourth  folio  editions  of  Shakspeare,  from  J.  P.  Kemble's  library. 
(See  Museums  :  Sir  John  Soane's.) 

Societies,  Liteeaey  and  Scientific,  in  Islington,  Marylebone,  Soutbwark,  and 
Westminster,  contain  modern  libraries. 

Society  of  Aets,  John-street,  Adelphi,  has  a  collection  of  technical  works,  which 
is  very  far  from  complete,  but  was  intended  to  contain  copies  of  all  special  treatises  on 
the  arts  and  manufactures.  The  most  interesting  and  important  part  of  the  library  is 
the  MS.  correspondence  and  journal-books.  Amongst  the  rejected  communications  and 
condemned  inventions  are  many  since  the  subjects  of  patents ;  and  these  volumes  are 
the  most  remarkable  registers  in  the  country  of  the  inventions  of  the  last  century. 
The  books  are  lent  to  the  members. 

Statistical  Society,  12,  St.  James's-square :  a  large  collection  of  Statistical 
Returns,  imperfectly  catalogued. 

Tenison's  Libeaey,  in  Castle-street,  St.  Martin's-lane,  immediately  behind  the 
National  Gallery,  was  built  by  Sir  Christopher  Wren.  It  is  "a  noble  structure, 
extremely  well  contrived  for  the  placing  of  the  books  and  lights,  and  furnished 
with  the  best  modern  books  in  most  faculties :  the  best  of  its  kind  in  England." — 
(H.  Lemoine,  1790.)  The  Library,  about  4000  volumes,  was  formed  by  the  Archbishop 
during  the  reigns  of  Kings  Charles  II.,  James  II.,  William  III.,  and  Queen  Anne,  and 
was  established  by  Tenison  in  1685,  then  Rector  of  St.  Martin's  parish.  It  contained 
all  the  rare  books  formerly  belonging  to  Father  Le  Courayer,  canon  and  chief  librarian  of 
St.  Genevieve,  and  author  of  the  celebrated  Dissertation  on  the  Validity  of  the  Ordi- 
nations and  the  Succession  of  the  Bishops  of  the  Church  of  England.  Some  years 
before  his  death  the  Canon  gave  all  his  rare  and  valuable  books  to  Archbishop  Tenison's 
Library.  The  entire  collection  was  dispersed  by  auction  by  order  of  the  Charity  Com- 
missioners, in  June,  1864,  when  some  of  the  MSS.  were  disposed  of  as  follows : —  * 

The  Original  Note-Book  of  Francis  Bacon,  entirely  in  his  autograph  and  unpublished,  full  of  curious 
and  interesting  details  illustrative  of  the  personal  history  of  this  great  reformer  of  philosophy,  69/.  The 
Holy  Bible,  translated  by  Wickliffe,  a  manuscript  of  the  fourteenth  century,  upon  vellum,  comprising 
a  portion  of  the  Old  Testament  Scriptures,  150/.  Venantii  Honorii  Clementiani  Fortunati,  Presbyteri 
Italici,  Versarium  et  Prosaicae  Expositiones  Orationis  Dominica?  et  Symboli,  a  fine  manuscript,  Saec.  X. 
or  XL,  78/.  Higden's  Polychronicon,  translated  into  English  by  John  de  Trevisa,  being  the  version 
used  by  Caxton,  a  noble  manuscript,  wanting  a  few  leaves.  It  is  preceded  by  two  treatises,  one 
entitled,  Dialogus  inter  Militem  et  Clericum,  and  the  other,  The  Defence,  before  the  Pope  at  Rome,  by 
Biehard  Fitz- Ralph,  Archbishop  of  Armagh,  which  latter  has  not  been  printed,  189/.  Historical  Mis- 
cellanies, containing  three  pages  in  the  autograph  of  Francis  Bacon,  30/.  lOg.  A  charming  volume, 
entitled,  All  the  King's  Short  Poesis  that  are  not  Printed,  with  numerous  alterations  in  the  handwritings 
of  King  James  the  First  and  Prince  Charles  (afterwards  Charles  the  First),  68?.  5s.  Keating's  Three 
Shafts  of  Death,  composed  in  the  year  1631,  and  History  of  Ireland,  in  the  Irish  character,  201.  A 
chronicle,  called  Mores  Historiarum,  by  that  eminent  English  historian  Matthew  of  Westminster,  a 
manuscript  of  the  fourteenth  century,  63/.  Missale  secundum  Vsum  Sarum,s.  fine  manuscript  of  the 
fifteenth  century,  with  musical  notes,  70/.  Prudentii  Liber  de  Pugnd  Vitiorum  et  Vvrtutum,  cum  Qlossis, 
a  wonderful  manuscript  of  the  tenth  century,  with  eighty  illustrations  of  a  highly  spirited  character, 
executed  in  outline,  and  exhibiting  great  artistic  skill  in  the  powerful  treatment  of  the  various  subjects, 
273/.  Psalterium,  cum  Precibus,  a  most  beautiful  manuscript  of  the  thirteenth  century,  by  an  English 
artist,  with  many  thousand  capital  letters,  various  figures,  devices  and  grotesque  subjects,  executed  in 
gold  and  colours  in  the  richest  manner,  200/.  A  curious  collection  of  Theological  Treatises  in  English, 
one  of  them  being  a  discourse  against  miracle  plays,  the  most  singular  relic  of  the  kind  known  to  exist, 
and  said  to  be  the  only  mediaeval  English  treatise  on  such  plays  yet  discovered,  35/.  Divers  Treatises  in 
English,  by  Dr.  Wickliffe,  37/.  10*. 

The  Grammar-school,  including  the  Library -rooms,  with  St.  Martin's  Workhouse, 


526  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

have  been  purchased  of  the  parish  of  St.  Martin's  for  86,000Z.  j  the  site  being  required 
for  the  enlargement  of  the  National  Gallery. 

Toweb  of  London. — At  the  commencement  of  the  last  century,  according  to 
Bagford  and  Oldys,  the  Eecords  in  the  Wakefield  Tower  were  very  curious,  and  were 
then  "  modeled  and  digested,  and  reposited  in  cases."  In  the  White  Tower  were  a 
vast  number  of  records  relating  to  monasteries,  &c,  several  letters  of  kings,  princes, 
dukes,  &c,  from  several  parts  of  the  world,  as  Tartary,  Barbary,  Spain,  France,  Italy, 
&c.,  to  our  kings  in  England.     (See  Records,  Public.) 

United  Seevice  Institution,  Middle  Scotland-yard,  Whitehall:  an  admirable 
library  of  reference  (10,000  volumes),  especially  valuable  in  its  practical  utility  to 
soldiers  ;  pamphlets  oh  the  services ;  engineering  papers :  rich  in  old  Italian  military 
literature  j  a  French  plan  of  fortification  in  MS.,  corrected  in  the  handwriting  of 
Vauban. 

Univeesitt  Coiiege,  Gower-street :  about  43,000  volumes,  and  8000  pamphlets, 
general,  legal,  and  medical ;  including  the  Chinese  library,  10,000  volumes,  left  by  Dr. 
Morrison ;  the  Ricardo  library  (political  economy),  left  by  David  Ricardo ;  and  a  large 
collection  bequeathed  by  Dr.  Holmes  of  Manchester.  The  marble  statue  of  Locke  in 
the  principal  library,  is  by  Sir  Richard  Westmacott,  R.A.     (See  p.  280.) 

Westminster  Abbey  :  (Chapter  House). — The  Chapter  House  was  once  the  monks' 
**  parlour,"  or  "  parleying"  place,  but  made  a  public  library  by  Lord  Keeper  Williams, 
whilst  Dean  of  Westminster.  The  books  were  burnt  in  1664,  and  but  one  MS.  saved 
out  of  320 :  they  are  catalogued  in  the  Harleian  MSS.  Chamberlayne  (1726)  de- 
scribes "  a  fair  publick  library,  free  for  all  strangers  in  term  time :"  about  11,000 
volumes.  Among  the  treasures  here  are  collections  of  music  and  classics  and  early 
Bibles;  an  early  vellum  book,  printed  at  Oxford,  1482  ;  ceremonials  of  consecrations  ; 
an  Lditio  Princeps  of  Plato;  St.  Ambrose  on  vellum;  the  Pupilla  Oculi,  and 
Litlington's  Missal,  1362. 

Domesday  Booh,  Rymer's  Foedera,  and  other  ancient  records,  kept  here,  have 
been  transferred  to  the  Rolls  Office,  Chancery-lane.  The  Chapter  House  formerly  con- 
tained the  most  valuable  muniments,  of  which,  in  1807,  an  inventory  was  made ;  three 
copies  only  were  taken ;  one,  with  coloured  drawings  of  the  building,  is  in  the  British 
Museum.  Addit.  MS.  8977.  The  Parliament  Rolls  were,  at  the  above  date,  in  an  old 
stone  tower,  in  the  Old  Palace  Yard,  Westminster ;  and  the  Papers  of  State  from  the 
beginning  of  Henry  VIII.  were  kept  in  Holbein's  Cockpit  Gate. 

In  the  room  called  the  Museum,  at  Westminster  School,  is  a  collection  of  books 
given  by  Dr.  Busby  for  the  use  of  the  scholars. 

Williams's  Libbabt,  "the  Dissenters'  Library,"  Redcross-street,  Cripplegate: 
20,000  volumes,  collected  by  the  Rev.  Dr.  Daniel  Williams,  the  Nonconformist,  and  Dr. 
Bates;  and  bequeathed  by  the  former,  with  provisions  for  a  building;  opened  1729. 
This  library  has  been  increased  by  gifts,  and  by  a  small  income  from  estates  left  by  Dr. 
Williams :  it  is  rich  in  controversial  divinity,  is  open  to  the  public  by  a  trustee's  order, 
and  books  are  allowed  to  be  taken  out.  Here  are  some  manuscripts  of  the  early 
history  of  the  Reformation.  Dr.  Williams  purchased  most  of  the  books  of  the  heirs  of 
one  Baker,  of  Highgate :  by  negligence  many  of  the  MSS.  were  burnt,  including  the 
pompous  and  rare  book  of  the  Rules  and  Ceremonies  of  the  Coronation  of  the  Kings  of 
England.  (H.  Lemoine,  1790.)  Also,  The  Salisbury  Liturgy,  finely  illuminated ;  The 
Hours  of  the  Virgin,  Paris,  1498 ;  Illuminated  Bible ;  miniature  copy  of  the  Head  of 
Christ,  from  a  painting  in  the  Vatican ;  the  glass  baptismal  basin  of  Queen  Elizabeth. 
Here  was  a  very  interesting  collection  of  portraits  of  Dissenting  Ministers. 

Before  the  system  of  the  registration  of  births,  marriages,  and  deaths  had  been 
established  at  Somerset  House,  three  denominations  of  Protestant  dissenters,  forming  a 
congregation  within  twelve  miles  of  London,  established  a  registry  of  births  here,  which 
was  continued  from  1742  to  1837,  when  these  records  were  placed  in  the  care  of  the 
Registrar- General.  In  these  books  are  entered  nearly  50,000  births,  attested  by 
witnesses.  The  library  buildings  were  taken  down  in  1864,  for  the  extension  of  the 
Metropolitan  Railway ;  and  the  collection  has  been  removed  to  Lincoln's-inn-fields. 


LINCOLN'S  INN  FIELDS.  527 

Zoological  Society,  11,  Hanover-square :  Transactions  of  learned  societies,  and 
scientific  zoological  works  of  modern  date. 

Circulating  Libeaeies  date  from  1740,  when  one  Wright,  at  No.  132,  Strand, 
established  the  first.  Dr.  Franklin  writes  in  1725,  lodging  in  Little  Britain :  "  Cir- 
culating libraries  were  not  then  in  use."  Among  Wright's  earliest  rivals  were  the 
Nobles,  in  Holborn  and  St.  Martin's-court ;  Samuel  Bathoe,  Strand;  and  Thomas 
Lowndes,  Fleet-street.  Another  early  Circulating  Library  was  in  Crane-court,  Fleet- 
street,  where  the  Society  of  Arts  met  in  1754  and  1755.  In  1770  there  were  but  four 
Circulating  Libraries  in  the  metropolis. 

Feee  Libeaeies  :  the  first  established  in  Marylebone,  1853. 

Mttdie's  Select  Libeaet,  New  Oxford-street,  has  about  120,000  volumes  actually 
in  circulation,  in  addition  to  a  reserve  of  nearly  a  million  volumes.  Bather  more  than 
half  of  these  are  works  of  History,  Biography,  Eeligion,  Philosophy,  and  Travels ;  the 
rest  being  works  of  Fiction,  chiefly  of  the  higher  and  standard  class.  The  Library 
was  formed  into  a  Company,  in  1864,  under  Mr.  Mudie's  superintendence,  and  with 
increasing  success ;  number  of  subscribers,  nearly  20,000.  The  books  are  kept  in  a  large 
and  handsome  Hall,  decorated  with  Ionic  columns ;  light  iron  galleries  give  access  to 
the  upper  shelves,  and  an  iron  staircase  descends  to  vaults,  filled  with  solid  stacks  of 
books ;  and  light  trucks  circulate  laden  with  books.  More  than  1000  exchanges  are 
usually  effected  in  one  day.  Of  the  more  popular  works  thousands  of  copies  are 
provided :  of  Livingstone's  Travels  in  Africa,  3250  copies  were  in  circulation  at  one 
time ;  of  Essays  and  Reviews,  2000  copies ;  and  of  the  Quarterly  Review,  in  which 
the  Essays  were  answered,  1000  copies ;  M'Clintock's  Voyage  in  Search  of  Franklin, 
3000  volumes  j  of  some  novels,  3000.  The  books  are  distributed  throughout  the  three 
Kingdoms  to  private  individuals,  country  book-clubs,  and  literary  societies.  The  sys- 
tem was  commenced  by  Mr.  Mudie  in  1842,  with  the  object  of  providing  a  supply  of 
works  of  a  higher  class  than  were  usually  to  be  found  in  circulating  libraries.  This 
is  altogether  a  liberal  enterprise,  the  benefits  of  which  have  been  rightly  appreciated 
by  the  reading  public. 

LINCOLN'S  INN  FIELDS. 

THIS  fine  square  west  of  Lincoln's  Inn  dates  from  1618,  when  "  the  grounds  were 
much  planted  round  with  dwellings  and  lodgings  of  noblemen  and  gentlemen  of 
quality,  but  at  the  same  time  were  deformed  by  cottages  and  mean  buildings — en- 
croachments on  the  fields,  and  nuisances  to  the  neighbourhood."  To  reform  these 
grievances,  a  commission  was  appointed  by  the  Crown  "  to  plant  and  reduce  to  unifor- 
mity Lincoln's  Inn  Fields,  as  it  shall  be  drawn  by  way  of  map  or  ground-plot  by  lnigo 
Jones."  A  view,  painted  in  oil,  of  Inigo's  plan  is  preserved  at  Wilton  House :  it  is 
taken  from  the  south,  and  the  principal  feature  is  Lindsey  House,  on  the  centre  of  the 
west  side  (see  p.  448).  It  still  remains,  but  has  lost  the  handsome  vases  which 
originally  surmounted  the  open  balustrade  at  the  top.  {Life  of  lnigo  Jones,  by  Peter 
Cunningham.     Shakspeare  Society,  1848.) 

The  proportions  of  the  square  were  long  stated  to  be  those  of  the  Great  Pyramid  of 
Egypt ;  which,  says  Walpole,  "  would  have  been  admired  in  those  ages  when  the  keep 
of  Kenihvorth  Castle  was  erected  in  the  form  of  a  horse-fetter,  and  the  Escurial  in  the 
shape  of  St.  Lawrence's  gridiron."  But  the  fact  is  otherwise ;  the  base  of  the  Great 
Pyramid  measures  764  feet  on  each  side,  whereas  Lincoln's-inn-fields,  although  821 
feet  on  one  side,  is  only  625  feet  6  inches  on  the  other,  and  the  area  of  the  Pyramid 
is  greater  by  many  thousand  square  feet.  (Colonel  Howard  Vyse,  On  the  Pyramids.') 
The  west  side  only  was  completed  by  lnigo  Jones. 

Lincoln's  Inn  Fields  have  been  used  as  a  place  of  execution.  Here,  September  20 
and  21,  1586,  Babington  and  his  accomplices  were  "hanged,  bowelled,  and  quartered, 
on  a  stage  or  scaffold  of  timber  strongly  made  for  that  purpose,  even  in  the  place  where 
they  used  to  meet  and  to  conferre  of  their  traitorous  purposes."  And  here  in  the 
middle  of  the  square,  July  21,  1683,  was  beheaded  the  patriotic  William  Lord 
RusselL 


52S  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Burnet  thus  describes  the  sad  scene :  "  Tillotson  and  I  went  with  him  in  the  coach  to  the  place  of 
execution.  Some  of  the  crowd  that  filled  the  streets  wept,  while  others  insulted.  He  was  singing 
psalms  a  great  part  of  the  way,  and  said  he  hoped  to  sing  better  soon.  As  he  observed  the  great  crowd 
of  people  all  the  way,  he  said  to  us,  '  I  hope  I  shall  quickly  see  a  much  better  assembly.'  When  he 
came  to  the  scaffold,  he  walked  about  it  four  or  five  times.  Then  he  turned  to  the  sheriffs  and  delivered 
his  paper.  ...  He  prayed  by  himself,  then  Tillotson  prayed  with  him.  After  that  he  prayed  again  by 
himself,  and  then  undressed  himself,  and  laid  his  head  on  the  block  without  the  least  change  of  coun- 
tenance, and  it  was  cut  off  at  two  strokes." 

The  Fields  were  long  the  resort  of  troops  of  idle  and  vicious  vagrants :  such  were 
" Lincoln's-inn-fields  Mumpers;"  and  "Scarecrow,  the  beggar  in  Lincoln's-inn-fields, 
who  disabled  himself  in  his  right  leg,  and  asks  alms  all  day,  to  get  himself  a  warm 
supper  and  a  trull  at  night."  (Spectator,  No.  6.)  Boys  gambled  for  farthings  and 
oranges ;  and  a  favourite  game  here  was  "  the  Wheel  of  Fortune,"  played  with  a  move- 
able hand  pointing  to  a  circle  of  figures,  such  as  we  remember  in  Moorfields,  the 
prizes  being  gingerbread-nuts  the  size  of  farthings.  Gay,  in  his  Trivia,  cautions  the 
pedestrian : — 

"  Where  Lincoln  Inn's  wide  space  is  rail'd  around, 

Cross  not  with  vent'rous  step ;  there  oft  is  found 

The  lurking  thief,  who,  while  the  daylight  shone, 

Made  the  walls  echo  with  his  begging  tone : 

That  wretch,  which  late  compassion  moved,  shall  wound 

Thy  bleeding  head,  and  fell  thee  to  the  ground." 
Lincoln's-inn-fields  Hufflers  were  wretches  who  assumed  the  characters  of  maimed  soldiers,  and 
begged  from  the  claims  of  Naseby,  Edgehill,  Newbury,  and  Marston  Moor;  their  prey  was  people  of 
fashion,  whose  coaches  they  attacked,  and  if  refused  relief,  they  told  their  owners,  '"Tis  a  sad  thing 
that  an  old  crippled  cavalier  should  be  suffered  to  beg  for  a  maintenance,  and  a  young  cavalier,  that 
never  heard  the  whistle  of  a  bullet,  should  ride  in  his  coach." 

The  Fields  were  inclosed  with  iron  railing  after  1735,  in  consequence  of  Sir  Joseph 
Jekyll,  then  Master  of  the  Kolls,  being  ridden  over;  "before  which  time  the 
Square  was  a  receptacle  for  rude  fellows  to  air  horses,  and  many  robberies  were 
committed  in  it."  (Gentleman's  Magazine,  August,  1773.)  But  Ireland  states  that 
Jekyll  was  attacked  and  thrown  down  by  the  mob,  in  consequence  of  his  aid  in  the 
passing  of  the  Act  of  Parliament  to  raise  the  price  of  gin.  In  the  Fields  was  often 
set  up,  until  its  final  abolition,  the  Pillory,  handy  for  the  rabble  of  Clare  Market.  At 
the  north-west  angle  of  the  inclosure  is  a  picturesque  Gothic  drinking  fountain.  On 
the  north  side  are  Sir  John  Soane's  Museum  and  the  Inns  of  Court  Hotel ;  south,  the 
College  of  Surgeons  (see  p.  279);  east,  Lincoln's-inn  New  Hall  (see  p.  466);  west, 
through  Inigo  Jones's  archway,  in  Duke-street,  is  the  Sardinian  Roman  Catholic  Cbapel 
(see  p.  232) ;  opposite  which,  over  an  Italian  warehouse,  lodged  Dr.  Franklin,  when  a 
compositor  in  Watts's  printing  office. 

At  No.  12,  Duke-street,  in  1845,  was  completed  by  Mr.  Smith,  a  magnificent  Silver  Fountain,  of 
extraordinary  magnitude  and  exquisite  workmanship,  as  a  present  from  the  East  India  Company  to 
Mohammed  Ali,  Pasha  of  Egypt.  This  fountain  is  upwards  of  ten  feet  in  height,  and  contains  10,000 
ounces  (7|  cwt.)  of  silver.  It  consists  of  a  massive  and  enriched  pedestal,  whence  springs  a  shaft,  sup- 
porting a  tier  of  three  basins ;  and  at  each  angle  of  the  pedestal  are  a  large  vase  of  flowers,  and  groups 
of  fruit  at  the  base.  The  likeness  of  beast,  bird,  or  fish  is  scrupulously  avoided  throughout  the  orna- 
ments, in  deference  to  Mahomedan  scruples.  The  style  of  ornament  is  that  of  Louis  Quatorze;  and  the 
base  bears  an  inscription  in  English,  Turkish,  Arabic,  and  Latin.  This  fountain  cost  7000J. ;  it  occu- 
pied more  than  seven  months  in  the  actual  manufacture;  and  is,  we  believe,  the  largest  silver  work  ever 
executed  in  England. 

Great  and  Little  Turnstile  are  named  from  the  turning  stiles  which,  two  centuries 
since,  stood  at  their  ends  next  Lincoln's-inn-fields,  to  prevent  the  straying  of  cattle 
therefrom ;  and  Gate-street,  north-west,  has  a  similar  origin.  Sir  Edwin  Sandys's 
curious  Europa  Speculum,  4to,  1637,  was  "  sold  by  George  Hutton,  at  the  Turning 
Stile  in  Holborne."  The  English  translation  of  Bishop  Peter  Camus's  Admirable 
Events,  4to,  1639,  was  also  "  sold  in  Holborne,  in  Turnstile  Lane."  In  1685  was 
built  New  Turnstile. 

Turnstile-alley,  leading  to  Holborn,  was  first  designed  as  a  change  for  selling  Welsh 
friezes,  flannels,  &c.  Here  Cartwright,  the  bookseller,  kept  shop :  he  was  an  excellent 
player,  and  bequeathed  his  plays  and  pictures  to  Dulwich  College. 

On  the  north  side  of  the  Fields  is  Whetstone's  Park,  a  row  of  tenements  named 
after  William  Whetstone,  a  vestryman  of  the  parish  of  St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields  in  the 
time  of  Charles  I.  and  the  Protectorate.  It  was  long  a  place  of  ill  repute,  and  was 
attacked  by  the  London  apprentices  in  1682.  Since  1708,  however,  it  has  chiefly 
consisted  of  stables.     (Hatton's  London,  p.  88.) 


LITERARY  FUND  (THE  ROYAL).  529 

"  And  makes  a  brothel  of  a  palace, 
Where  harlots  ply,  as  many  tell  us, 
Like  brimstones  in  a  Whetstone  alehouse." — Butler. 

The  vile  place  and  its  loose  characters  also  occur  in  the  plays  of  Shadwell  and 

Dryden,  and  in  Ned  Ward's  London  Spy. 

The  concentration  of  the  Law  Courts  in  Lincoln's  Inn  Fields  was  once  proposed ;  and  in  1841  Sir. 
Barry  designed  a  large  building,  of  Grecian  character,  containing  a  Great  Hall  (nearly  equal  to  the  area 
of  Westminster  Hall),  surrounded  by  12  courts;  the  whole  occupying  one-third  of  the  area  within  the 
rails,  to  be  belted  with  plantations.  Funds  were  wanting,  and  the  blocking  up  of  the  open  space  was 
objected  to:  persons  had  considered  this  area  as  their  "  country  walk,"  and  that  "they  had  been  in  tlie 
country  when  they  had  been  round  Lincoln's  Inn  Fields."    (Eoidence  before  Parliament.) 

LITERARY  FUND  (THE  ROYAL), 

ADMINISTERS  assistance  to  authors  of  published  works  of  approved  literary 
merit,  and  to  authors  of  important  contributions  to  periodical  literature  who  may 
be  in  distressed  circumstances;  such  assistance  being  extended,  at  the  death  of  an 
author,  to  his  widow  and  children.     Of  this  institution  it  has  been  well  said : 

"With  equal  promptitude  and  delicacy,  its  committee  are  ever  ready  to  administer  to  the  necessi- 
ties of  the  unfortunate  scholar,  who  can  satisfy  them  that  his  misery  is  not  the  just  punishment  of 
immoral  habits.  Some  of  the  brightest  names  in  contemporary  literature  have  been  beholden  to  the 
bounty  of  this  Institution,  and  in  numerous  instances  its  interference  has  shielded  friendless  merit  from 
utter  ruin."—  Quarterly  Meciew. 

The  Society  was  established  by  subscription,  in  1790,  by  Mr,  David  Williams,  who 
has  detailed  its  objects  in  a  work  entitled  The  Claims  of  Literature.  It  was  first  pro- 
posed by  Williams  in  1773,  to  a  club  which  met  at  the  Prince  of  Wales's  Tavern, 
Conduit- street,  Hanover-square;  Dr.  Franklin  presided,  but  discouraged  Williams  by 
observing,  "  the  event  will  require  so  much  time,  perseverance,  and  patience,  that  the 
anvil  may  wear  out  the  hammer."  The  first  anniversary  dinner  was  held  in  1793  :  in 
1794  an  ode  was  recited ;  and  this  practice  was  continued  until  1830.  Among  the 
writers  of  these  odes  were  Captain  Morris,  Mr.  Fitzgerald,  Mr.  Disraeli,  Mr.  George 
Dyer,  Mr.  Boscawen,  the  Rev.  Henry  Kett,  the  Rev.  Dr.  Charles  Symmons,  the  Rev. 
George  Crabbe,  the  Rev.  Thomas  Maurice,  Mr.  Henry  Neele,  and  Mr.  Allan  Cunning- 
ham. The  first  patron  of  the  Fund,  the  Prince  Regent,  contributed  5455£. ;  the 
Dukes  of  Kent,  Sussex,  York,  and  Cambridge  presided  at  its  dinners;  Prince  Albert 
presided  in  1842,  and  the  Prince  of  Wales  in  1864.  In  the  Society's  armorial  bear- 
ings are  the  imperial  crown  and  the  Prince  of  Wales's  plume.  The  first  house  of  the 
Fund  was  36,  Gerard-street,  Soho,  where  Williams  died  in  1816 :  he  was  buried  in 
St.  Anne's  Church,  and  his  gravestone  bears,  "  David  Williams,  Esq.,  aged  seventy- 
eight  years,  Founder  of  the  Literary  Fund."  Yet  Canning,  in  political  spite, 
once  classed  Williams  amongst  "  creeping  creatures,  venomous  and  low  !"  The  Fund 
was  incorporated  1818:  the  average  annual  number  of  authors  relieved  during  the 
last  ten  years  has  been  52,  classified  under  the  heads  of  History  and  Biography ; 
Science  and  Art ;  Periodical  Literature ;  Topography  and  Travels ;  Classical  Literature 
and  Education ;  Poetry ;  Essays  and  Tales ;  Drama ;  Law  ;  Medicine ;  and  Miscel- 
laneous. The  average  amount  of  the  annual  grants  during  the  last  ten  years  has  been 
1577J.  The  Reserve  Fund  at  the  end  of  1866  was  26,000^.  The  stock  of  the  pro- 
perty  bequeathed  to  the  Fund  by  Mr.  Thomas  Newton,  who  believed  himself  to  be  the 
last  descendant  of  Sir  Isaac  Newton,  amounts  to  8167Z.  15s.  lOd. ;  and  the  Newton 
estate  at  Whitechapel  produces  at  present  2031.  a  year  in  rents.  The  present  Cham- 
bers of  the  Fund  are  at  No.  4,  Adelphi -terrace,  described  at  page  1.  (See  also 
Libraries,  p.  521.) 

LITTLE  BRITAIN, 

ANCIENTLY  Bretagne  or  Britain-street,  west  of  Aldersgate-street,  is  named  from 
the  Duke  of  Bretagne,  who  had  here  his  magnificent  town-mansion.  • 

Little  Britain  was  as  remarkable  for  its  booksellers  through  the  reigns  of  Charles  I. 
and  II.,  James  II.,  and  William  and  Mary,  as  Paternoster-row  is  at  present.  This 
location  of  booksellers  may  have  been  influenced  by  John  Day,  the  eminent  printer, 
living  over  Aldersgate;  and  from  Grub-street  being  the  abode  of  authors.  (See  Grub- 
street,  pp.  383-385.)     "  Bartholomew-close  printers"  are  also  mentioned  by  Dryden. 


530  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Roger  North,  in  his  Life  of  the  Hon.  and  Rev.  Dr.  John  North,  speaking  of  the  booksellers  in  tho 
reign  of  Charles  II.,  says :  "  Little  Britain  was  a  plentiful  and  perpetual  emporium  of  learned  authors, 
and  men  went  thither  as  to  a  market.  This  drew  to  the  place  a  mighty  trade,  the  rather  because  the 
shops  were  spacious  and  the  learned  gladly  resorted  to  them,  where  they  seldom  failed  to  meet  with 
agreeable  conversation  ;  and  the  booksellers  themselves  were  knowing  and  conversible  men,  with  whom, 
for  the  sake  of  bookish  knowledge,  the  greatest  wits  were  pleased  to  converse ;  and  we  may  judge  the 
time  as  well  spent  there  as  (in  latter  days)  either  in  tavern  or  coffee-house.  But  now  this  emporium 
has  vanished,  and  the  trade  contracted  into  the  hands  of  two  or  three  persons." 

Robert  Scott  appears  to  have  been  a  principal  dealer  in  Little  Britain.  A  news- 
paper of  1644  states  460  pamphlets  to  have  been  published  here  in  four  years. 
Richard  Chiswell,  of  Little  Britain,  buried  in  St.  Botolph's  Church,  Aldersgate,  in 
1711,  is  described  as  "  the  metropolitan  bookseller  of  England."  At  the  Dolphin,  in 
Little  Britain,  lived  Samuel  Buckley,  publisher  of  the  Spectator,  commenced  March  1, 
1711.  In  1725,  Benjamin  Franklin,  when  working  at  Palmer's  printing-office  in 
Bartholomew-close,  lodged  in  Little  Britain,  next  door  to  Wilcox  the  bookseller,  who 
lent  Franklin  books  "  for  a  reasonable  retribution." 

Milton,  after  he  had  left  Jewin-street,  lodged  for  a  time  in  Little  Britain  with  Millington,  the  book- 
anctioneer,  who  was  accustomed  to  lead  his  venerable  inmate  by  the  hand  when  he  walked  in  the 
street,  as  mentioned  by  Richardson,  on  the  testimony  of  the  acquaintance  of  Milton.  (Symmons's  Life 
of  Milton,  2nd  edition,  p.  501.)  Richardson  also  relates,  that,  in  Little  Britain,  the  Earl  of  Dorset,  when 
heating  about  for  books  to  his  taste,  "  met  with  Paradise  Lost,  and  was  so  struck  with  some  of  its 
passages  that  he  bought  it,  the  bookseller  begging  him  to  speak  in  its  favour  if  he  liked  it,  for  that  they 
(the  copies  in  his  shop,  not  the  impression,  as  Malone  states)  lay  on  his  hands  as  waste-paper.  The 
Earl  read  the  poem,  and  sent  it  to  Dryden,  who  returned  it  with  the  memorable  opinion :  ■  This  man  cuts 
us  all  out,  and  the  ancients  too.*  " 

"  The  race  of  booksellers  in  Little  Britain  is  now  almost  extinct ;  honest  Ballard, 
well  known  for  his  curious  divinity  catalogues,  being  their  only  genuine  representative  " 
(Gentleman's  Magazine,  No.  1,  1731).  He  died  Jan.  2,  1796,  aged  88,  in  the  house 
wherein  he  was  born. 

Duke-street,  formerly  Duck-lane,  leading  into  Smithfield,  was  once  celebrated  for 
refuse  book-shops : 

"And  so  may'st  thou,  perchance,  pass  up  and  down, 
And  please  awhile  th'  admiring  court  and  town, 
Who  after  all  shall  in  Duck-lane  shops  be  thrown." 

Oldham's  Satires,  circa  1680. 

Washington  Irving  describes  the  locality  as  "  a  cluster  of  narrow  streets  and  courts 
of  very  venerable  and  debilitated  houses,  several  ready  to  tumble  down,  the  fronts  of 
which  are  magnificently  enriched  with  old  oaken  carvings  of  hideous  faces,  unknown  birds, 
beasts,  and  fishes,  and  fruits  and  flowers,  which  it  would  perplex  a  naturalist  to 
classify "  (Sketch-look).  Most  of  this  grotesque  ornamentation  has,  however,  long 
disappeared. 

LOMBARD  STREET, 

"  \  CERTAIN  street  of  the  greatest  credit  in  Europe,"  (Addison,)  is  proved  by 
-£*•  Stow  to  have  borne  that  name  before  the  reign  of  Edward  II. ;  and  is  so  called 
of  the  Longobards,  the  first  of  whom  were  the  Caursini  family,  a  rich  race  of  bankers 
who  settled  here,  and  their  countrymen  soon  grouped  around  them.  They  were  also 
the  goldsmiths,  who  took  pledges  in  plate,  jewels,  &c. ;  and  the  badge  of  the  Lom- 
bards (the  three  golden  pills  of  the  Medici  family)  has  descended  as  the  sign  of  the 
pawnbrokers.*  The  black-letter  ballad  in  the  Pepys  collection  makes  the  husband  of 
Jane  Shore  a  goldsmith  here  : 

"  In  Lombard-street  I  once  did  dwelle, 

As  London  yet  can  witnesse  welle ; 

Where  many  gallants  did  beholde 

My  beauty  in  a  shop  of  golde. 

*  *  *  * 

I  penance  did  in  Lombard-streete 
In  shameful  manner  in  a  sheete." 

In  the  parish  of  St.  Edmund,  in  Lombard-street,  was  the  hostel  of  Isabella,  Queen 
of  Edward  the  Second,  whom,  with  the  Prince  of  Wales,  the  Queen  entertained  here, 
October  26, 1357.  The  rent  of  her  house,  which  belonged  to  the  prioress  of  St.  Helen's, 
was  twenty-five  shillings  and  twopence  half-yearly. — Archceologia,  vol.  xxxv. 
pp.  453-469. 

*  The  sign  is  also  traceable  to  the  three  pieces  of  gold,  which  are  the  emblem  of  the  charitable 
Bt.  Nicholas.    (See  Mrs.  Jameson's  Sacred  and  Legendary  Art.) 


LOMBARD  STREET.  531 

Here  the  merchants  assembled  twice  daily  in  all  weathers.  In  1537,  Sir  Richard 
Gresham  proposed  to  Cromwell  (then  Lord  Privy  Seal)  "  to  make  a  goodely  Bursse  in 
Lombert-strette,  for  marchaunts  to  repayer  unto."  Hence  originated  the  Exchange 
built  by  Sir  Richard's  son,  Sir  Thomas  Gresham,  who  was  then  living  in  Lombard- 
street,  described  by  Hentzner  as  the  handsomest  street  in  London. 

Here,  like  other  bankers,  Gresham  kept  a  shop  on  the  site  of  the  banking-house 
(No.  68)  of  Martin,  Stone,  and  Martins,  who  in  Pennant's  time  possessed  the  large  gilt 
grasshopper  (Gresham's  crest)  which  was  placed  over  his  door  as  a  sign.  It  existed 
entire  until  1795,  when  the  present  house  was  built,  and  the  sign  disappeared. 

Hentzner,  in  1593,  saw  in  Lombard-street  "  all  sorts  of  gold  and  silver  vessels  exposed  to  sale,  as  well 
as  ancient  and  modern  coins,  in  such  quantities  as  must  surprise  a  man  the  first  time  he  sees  and  con- 
siders them."  At  Gresham's  death,  much  of  his  wealth  consisted  of  gold  chains.  Lombard-street  has 
retained  its  character  as  well  as  its  name  for  at  least  five  centuries  and  a  half;  and  within  the  last  thirty 
years  several  gold  and  silver  lacemen  lived  there. — Burgon's  Life  and  Times  of  Sir  Thomas  Gresham, 
vol.  i.  p.  281 :  1839. 

The  Pope's  merchants  also  chaffered  here  for  their  wafer-cakes  and  pardons.  Sir 
Simon  Eye  built  here  a  large  tavern,  The  Cardinal's  Hat ;  and  Pope's  Head  Alley, 
leading  from  Txmibard- street  to  Cornhill,  is  named  from  The  Pope's  Head  Tavern,  which 
existed  in  1464 :  it  had  a  finely  painted  room  in  Pepys's  time.  The  Alley  was  once 
famous  for  its  print-sellers,  for  toys,  turnery,  and  cutlery ;  and  stalls  of  fine  fruit. 

It  was  long  believed  that  the  poet  Pope  was  born  in  Plough-court,  Lombard-street,  May  22, 1688, 
"at  the  house  which  is  now  Mr.  Morgan's,  an  apothecary"  (Spence's  Anecdotes);  a  name  long  since  for- 
gotten, although  J.  T.  Smith  took  much  pains  to  discover  it.  It  was  added  that  Pope's  father  was  a 
linendraper.  But,  in  1857,  it  was  ascertained  from  a  London  Directory,  in  the  Manchester  Free  Library, 
1677,  that  Alexander  Pope,  the  poet's  father,  was  then  living  in  Broad-street,  and  was  a  merchant,  not 
a  linendraper.  Mr.  Hotten,  of  Piccadilly,  was  the  first  to  discover  the  above,  as  well  as  a  broadside, 
which  shows  that  the  poet's  family  were  living  in  Broad-street  three  years  later  than  the  appearance  of 
the  Directory.  At  what  date  Pope's  father  retired  is  not  clearly  ascertained,  but  all  accounts  agree  that 
Pope  was  born  in  1688,  in  the  City  of  London.  Looking  to  the  facts,  therefore,  that  the  father  appears 
to  have  been  firmly  established  in  Broad-street  as  a  merchant,  and  that  the  tradition  of  Plough-court, 
Lombard-street,  is  extremely  vague,  may  we  not  assume  it  as  most  probable  that  Pope  was  born  in 
Broad-street,  in  the  parish  of  St.  Bennet  Fink?  In  the  Athenaeum,  May  30,  1857,  we  find:— 
"  1679,  12  August,  Buried,  Magdalen,  the  wife  of  Alexander  Pope.  Here,  then,  we  have  for  the  first 
time  evidence  that  the  elder  Pope  resided  in  Broad-street  in  1677-79,  and  there  died  and  was  buried  in 
1679,  Magdalen,  wife  of  Alexander  Pope  the  elder.  There  can  be  no  doubt  that  this  Magdalen  Pope  was 
the  wife  of  the  poet's  father,  and  the  mother  of  Magdalen  Rackett,  who,  on  the  evidence  of  the  poet 
himself,  was  the  daughter  of  Pope's  father  by  a  first  wife ;  and  thus  the  question  of  relationship  between, 
Mrs.  Rackett  and  Pope  will  be  decided  after  a  century  of  discussion,  and  against  the  recorded  judgment 
of  his  biographers." 

In  Alchurch-lane,  named  from  the  parish  of  St.  Mary  Abchurch,  or  Upchurch,  as 

Stow  says  he  had  seen  it  written,  lived  Mr.  John  Moore,  author  of  the  celebrated 

worm-powder : 

■  0  learned  friend  of  Abchurch-lane, 
Who  sett'st  our  entrails  free ! 
Vain  is  thy  art,  thy  powder  vain, 
Since  worms  shall  eat  e'en  thee." — Pope. 

Lombard-street  had  also  its  booksellers.  The  imprint  to  Howel's  Familiar  Letters, 
5th  edition,  is:  "London,  printed  for  Thomas  Guy,  at  the  Corner-shop  of  Little 
Lombard-street  and  Cornhill,  near  Wool-church  Market,  1 678."  And  1696,  Sept.  17, 
Lloyd's  News  was  first  "  printed  for  Edward  Lloyd  (Coffee-man)  in  Lombard-street." 
Towards  Birchin  (anciently  Birchover's)  lane  stood  the  house  of  William  de  la  Pole, 
created  in  France,  by  Edward  III.,  Knight  Banneret;  he  was  King's  Merchant,  and 
from  him  sprang  a  numerous  race  of  nobility. 

In  George-yard  was  the  George  hostel,  the  London  lodging  of  Earl  Ferrers,  whose 

brother  in  1175,  was  slain  here  in  the  night,  and  thrown  into  the  dirty  street,  which 

foul  deed  led  to  the  setting  of  the  night  watches. 

Lombard-street  highway  passes  over  the  site  of  Roman  houses,  and  has  been  the  field  of  three  great 
finds  of  Roman  remains,  in  1730, 1774,  and  1785-6;  the  latter,  in  its  stratum  of  wood  ashes,  supposed 
to  indicate  the  burning  of  London  by  Boadicea.  Ten  feet  below  the  street-level  was  found  a  wall  of  the 
smaller-sized  Roman  bricks,  pierced  by  flues  or  chimneys;  likewise  tile  and  brick  pavements;  in  Birchin- 
lane,  a  tesselated  pavement  of  elegant  design,  heaps  of  Roman  coins,  glass  bottles,  keys,  and  beads; 
vessels  and  fragments  of  earthenware ;  and  a  large  vessel  of  red  Samian  ware,  richly  embellished,  and 
reminding  us  that  "  Rome  did  not  want  its  Wedgwood."  The  causeway,  which  Wren  considered  the 
northern  boundary  of  the  Roman  station,  was  then  also  discovered  in  Birchin-lane. 

By  the  London  Directory,  1677,  above  quoted,  of  the  forty -four  names  or  firms  of 

M  si  2 


532  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"  goldsmiths  who  kept  running  cashes  "  in  London  "  twenty-seven  were  (then)  located 
in  Lombard  street."  Sir  Martin  Bowes,  the  wealthy  goldsmith,  lived  upon  the  site  of 
No.  67,  now  Glyn's  banking-house,  which  Sir  Martin  bequeathed  to  the  Goldsmiths' 
Company,  of  which  he  was  a  distinguished  member. 

The  banking-house  of  Messrs.  Barclay  and  Co.,  No.  54,  on  the  north  side  of  Lombard- 
street,  originally  extended  backwards  to  George-court,  and  is  supposed  to  have  been 
derived  from  the  gift  of  Richard  Mervayle  to  the  Vintners'  Company  in  1437,  who 
leased  the  premises  for  seventy  years,  from  Michaelmas,  1778,  at  the  yearly  rent  of 
Ihl.  (Herbert's  History  of  the  Twelve  Great  Livery  Companies,  vol.  ii.  p.  629.) 
The  staff  of  Barclay's  firm  originally  consisted  of  three  clerks ;  and  we  are  told  that, 
on  the  third  clerk  coming  to  the  office  for  the  first  time,  he  was  thus  dressed  : — 

He  wore  a  long:,  flapped  coat,  with  large  pockets.  The  sleeves  had  long  cuffs,  with  three  large 
buttons,  something  like  the  coats  worn  by  the  Greenwich  pensioners  of  the  present  day;  an  embroidered 
waistcoat,  reaching  nearly  down  to  his  knees,  with  an  enormous  bouquet  in  the  button-hole :  a  cocked 
hat ;  powdered  hair,  with  pigtail  and  bagwig ;  and  gold-headed  eane,  similar  to  those  of  the  present  day 
carried  by  footmen  of  ladies  of  rank. — See  Reminiscences,  by  Morris  Charles  Jones.  Privately  printed. 
Welshpool,  1864. 

The  banking-house  was  rebuilt  in  1864,  P.  C.  Hardwick,  architect :  it  has  four 
storeys,  reaching  60  feet  in  height,  and  85  feet  in  width.  Lombard- street  as  the  centre 
of  "the  banking  world"  has  realized  large  sums  for  building  sites,  of  which  the 
following  are  remarkable  quotations  :— 

The  banking  premises  of  Heywood,  Kennard,  and  Co.,  in  Lombard-street,  were  purchased  by  the 
Mercantile  and  Exchange  Bank  for  20,000/. ;  the  directors  of  which  let  the  first  floor  of  the  house  to  the 
Asiatic  Banking  Corporation  for  1000/.  a  year.  The  amalgamation  of  the  London  Bank  of  Scotland 
with  the  Mercantile  and  Exchange  Bank,  having  made  it  necessary  to  value  the  premises  in  Lombard- 
street,  the  Directors  of  the  Bank  of  Scotland  paid  10,000/.  to  the  shareholders  in  the  Mercantile  and 
Exchange  Bank,  as  their  proportion  of  the  increased  value  of  the  premises,  which  arc  now  estimated  as 
worth  40,000/. !     The  value  was  thus  doubled  within  the  year. 

Again,  a  piece  of  ground  at  the  corner  of  Lombard-street,  formerly  the  site  of  Messrs.  Spooner  and 
Co.'s  banking-house,  was  let  to  the  Agra  and  Masterman's  Bank  for  ninety-nine  years,  at  6600/.  a  year. 
Owing  to  a  change  in  the  arrangements  of  that  bank,  it  was  next  sold  to  the  City  Offices  Company  at  a 
premium  of  70,000/.,  and  a  building  is  now  to  be  erected  upon  it,  at  a  cost  of  upwards  of  70,000/.,  the 
gross  rental  of  which  is  estimated  at  22,000/.,  the  London  and  County  Bank  paying  12,000/.  for  the 
ground  floor  and  basement. 

One  of  the  best  edifices  in  Lombard-street  is  the  bank  of  Robarts,  Lubbock,  and  Co. 
The  basement  is  suited  to  the  idea  of  a  bank ;  it  makes  no  use  of  columns,  but  is  the 
most  decorated  feature  of  the  design ;  P.  C.  Hardwick,  architect.  Here  is  one  of  Sir 
Robert  Taylor's  best  works,  the  Pelican  Fire  Office,  with  its  elegant  Doric  and  rusticated 
basement,  carrying  the  emblematic  group  designed  by  Lady  Diana  Beauclerk,  executed 
by  Coade,  at  Lambeth,  but  now  coated  with  paint.  In  the  London  and  County  Bank, 
the  whole  of  the  Portland  stone  used  was  that  of  old  Westminster  Bridge. 

The  General  Post-Office  was  removed  to  Lombard-street  early  in  the  last  century 
(see  p.  394),  and  the  Chief  Office  to  St.  Martin's  le-Grand  in  1829. 

Here  are  the  churches  of  Allhallows  (see  p.  146);  St.  Edmund  (p.  161);  and  St. 
Mary  Woolnoth  (p.  188.) 

LONDON  LNSTITUTION,  THE, 

"HlNSBURY  CIRCUS,  was  established  by  a  proprietary,  1805,  "for  the  advancement 
-L  of  literature,  and  the  diffusion  of  useful  knowledge  :"  upon  its  first  committee  were 
Mr.  Angerstein  and  Mr.  Richard  Sharp  ("  Conversation  Sharp  ").  The  Institution  was 
temporarily  located  at  8,  Old  Jewry  (the  fine  brick  mansion  of  Sir  Robert  Clayton, 
temp.  Charles  II.),  and  opened  with  a  library  of  10,000  volumes ;  incorporated  in  1807  : 
the  sun  in  splendour,  a  terrestrial  globe,  open  book,  and  air-pump,  among  the  armorial 
ensigns  of  the  common  seal,  characterizing  the  objects  of  the  Institution.  In  1812  it 
was  removed  to  King's  Arms-yard,  Coleman-street ;  and  thence,  in  1819,  to  the  pre- 
sent mansion,  built  on  the  north  side  of  Moorfields ;  it  is  a  very  characteristic  design 
.  (Brooks,  architect ;  the  father  of  Mr.  Shirley  Brooks,  the  popular  litterateur) ;  the  first 
stone  laid  November  4,  1815,  by  the  Lord  Mayor,  Birch :  the  fagade  is  of  Portland 
stone,  and  has  a  Corinthian  portico,  modified  from  the  temple  of  Vesta  at  Tivoli ;  cost 
of  the  building,  31,124^.  The  library  is  97  by  42  feet,  and  28  in  height,  and  has  a 
gallery  throughout  ■  the  collection  of  books  is  "  one  of  the  most  useful  and  accessible  in 


LONDON  STONE.  533 


Britain  "  (see  Libraries,  p.  522).  In  the  rear  of  the  mansion  is  the  Lecture-room, 
or  Theatre,  for  700  auditors;  and  adjoining  are  the  Apparatus-room  and  Laboratory; 
the  latter  designed  by  W.  H.  Pepys,  F.R.S.,  and  engraved  in  Parkes's  Chemical 
Catechism,  13th  edition,  1834.  The  apparatus  in  pneumatics,  hydrostatics,  electricity 
and  magnetism,  is  very  perfect ;  but  the  great  battery  of  2000  double  plates,  and  an- 
other with  a  pair  of  plates  200  feet  square,  with  which  Sir  Humphry  Davy  experi- 
mented, have  long  been  destroyed. 

LONDON  STONE, 

CANNON  STREET,  is  a  fragment  of  the  milliarium  (mile-stone)  of  the  Romans, 
"  a  pillar  set  up  by  them  in  the  centre  of  the  forum  of  Agricola's  station,  the 
gnoma  or  umbilicus  castri  Londinensis."  (A.  J.  Kempe,  F.S.A.)  Stow  describes  it 
on  the  south  side  of  the  street,  near  the  channel  of  Walbrook,  "  pitched  upright,  a 
great  stone,  called  London  Stone,  fixed  in  the  ground  very  deep,  fastened  with  bars  of 
iron,  and  so  strongly  set,  that  if  carts  do  run  against  it  through  negligence,  the  wheels 
be  broken,  and  the  stone  itself  be  unshaken."  There  is  evidence  to  the  belief  that  it 
was  placed  here  a  thousand  years  ago ;  and  Camden  considers  it  to  have  been  the  great 
central  mile-stone,  from  which  the  British  high-roads  radiated,  and  the  distances  on 
them  were  reckoned,  similar  to  that  in  the  Forum  at  Rome.* 

The  traditional  history  of  the  stone  is  as  follows  : — It  was  the  altar  of  the  Temple 
of  Diana,  on  which  the  old  British  kings  took  their  oaths  on  their  accession,  laying 
their  hands  on  it.  Until  they  had  done  so,  they  were  only  kings  presumptive.  The 
tradition  of  the  usage  survived  as  late,  at  least,  as  Jack  Cade's  time ;  for  it  is  not  be- 
fore he  rushes  forth  and  strikes  the  stone,  that  he  thinks  himself  entitled  to  exclaim — 

"  Now  is  Mortimer  lord  of  this  city  !" 
Tradition  also  declares  that  the  stone  was  brought  from  Troy  by  Brutus,  and  laid  by 
his  own  hand  as  the  altar-stone  of  the  Diana  Temple,  the  foundation-stone  of  London, 
and  its  palladium — 

"  Tra  maen  Prydain 
Tra  lied  Llyndain  " — 
("  So  long  as  the  stone  of  Brutus  is  safe,  so  long  will  London  flourish,") 

which  infers  also,  it  is  to  be  supposed,  that  if  it  disappears,  London  will  wane.  It  has 
been,  from  the  earliest  ages,  jealously  guarded  and  imbedded,  perhaps  from  a  super- 
stitious belief  in  the  identity  of  the  fate  of  London  with  its  palladium. — Notes  and 
Queries,  3rd  S.,  No.  1. 

London  Stone  is  referred  to  as  a  local  mark  of  immemorial  antiquity  in  Saxon 
charters.  Stow  found  it  mentioned  as  a  landmark  in  a  list  of  rents  belonging  to 
Christ's  Church,  in  Canterbury,  at  the  end  of  "  a  fair-written  gospel-book,"  given  to 
that  foundation  by  the  West-Saxon  King  Athelstane,  who  reigned  from  925  to  941. 
Of  later  time  we  read,  that  in  the  year  1135,  the  1st  of  King  Stephen,  a  fire,  which  began 
in  the  house  of  one  Ailward,  near  unto  London  Stone,  consumed  all  east  to  Aldgate. 
Henry  Fitz-Alwyn,  "  the  draper  of  London  Stone,"  was  the  first  Mayor  of  London, 
1189.     Lydgate,  about  1430,  sings  : 

■  Then  I  went  forth  hy  London  Stone 
Throughout  all  Canwick  Street." — London  LacTcpenny. 

Holinshed  mentions  the  striking  of  the  Stone  in  describing  the  insurrection  of 

Jack  Cade ;  and  Shakspeare  has  introduced  this  dramatic  incident  in  the  Second  Part 

of  Henry  VI.  act  iv.  sc.  6.     In  Pasquill  and  Marforius,  1589,  we  read  :  "  Set  up  this 

bill  at  London  Stone.     Let  it  be  doone  solemnly,  with  drom  and  trumpet ;  and  looke 

you  advance  my  cullour  on  the  top  of  the  steeple  right  over  against  it."     Also,  "  if  it 

please  them  these  dark  winter  nights,  to  sticke  uppe  their  papers  uppon  London 

Stone."     Here  it  is  presumed  to  have  been  customary  to  affix  official  papers.     Dryden 

{The  Cock  and  the  Fox,)  has : 

"  Jack  Straw  at  London  Stone  with  all  his  rout 
Struck  not  the  city  with  so  loud  a  shout." 

*  A  like  stone,  of  the  time  of  Hadrian  (2nd  century),  was  found  on  the  side  of  the  Roman  Foss-way 
near  Leicester,  in  1771 ;  and  is  preserved  in  the  Museum  of  the  Leicester  Literary  and  Philosophical 
Society. 


534  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Watling-street,  of  which  Cannon-street  is  a  continuation,  is  supposed  to  have  heen 
the  principal  street  of  Roman  London ;  hut  it  may  have  been  a  British  road  before  the 
arrival  of  the  Romans,  to  which  earlier  period  Strype  refers  London  Stone.  After  the 
Great  Fire  of  1666,  the  ground  in  Cannon-street  was  much  disturbed,  and  the  "  large 
foundations  "  of  London  Stone  led  Wren  to  consider  this  to  have  been  some  more  con- 
siderable monument  than  even  the  Roman  milliarium  ;  for  adjoining  "  were  discovered 
some  tessellated  pavements,  and  other  extensive  remains  of  Roman  workmanship  and 
buildings.  Probably  this  might  in  some  degree  have  imitated  the  Milliarium  Aureum 
at  Constantinople,  which  was  not  in  the  form  of  a  pillar,  as  at  Rome,  but  an  eminent 
building,"  containing  many  statues.  The  Stone,  before  the  Great  Fire,  was  "  much 
worn  away,  and  as  it  were  but  a  stump  remaining."  (Strgpe.)  It  was  then  cased 
over  by  Wren  with  a  new  stone,  handsomely  wrought  and  cut  hollow,  something  like 
a  Roman  altar  or  pedestal,  admitting  the  ancient  fragment,  "now  not  much  larger 
than  a  bomb-shell,"  to  be  seen  through  a  large  aperture  near  the  top.  The  Stone,  in 
its  old  position  on  the  south  side  of  the  street,  being  complained  of  as  a  nuisance,  was 
removed  to  the  north  side  in  1742,  close  to  the  kerb :  here  again  it  proved  an  obstruc- 
tion ;  and  in  1798,  when  St.  Swithin's  church  was  about  to  be  repaired,  the  venerable 
Stone  was  by  some  of  the  parishioners  doomed  to  destruction  ;  but  Mr.  Thomas  Maiden, 
of  Sherborne-lane,  printer,,  prevailed  on  the  parish-officers  to  have  it  placed  against 
the  south  wall  of  the  church,  where  it  now  remains. 

In  Cannon-street  is  the  spacious  City  Terminus  of  the  South-Eastern  Railway. 

Luther's  Table-Talk,  English  translation,  was  first  "printed  by  William  Du  Gard, 
dwelling  in  Suffolk-lane,  near  London-stone,  1652." 

LONDON  WALL, 

MOORFIELDS,  is  a  slreet  named  from  its  north  side  occupying  the  site  of  that  portion 
of  the  City  Wall  which  divided  the  City  Liberty  from  the  Manor  of  Finsbury,  and 
against  which  was  built  Bethlem  Hospital,  taken  down  1817-8 ;  when  also  the  Wall 
was  removed  :  "  found  uncommonly  thick,  and  the  bricks  double  the  size  of  those  now 
used;  the  centre  filled  in  with  large  loose  stones,  &c."  (Hughson's  Walks,  1817.) 
The  level  of  the  street  has  been  in  parts  raised  two  feet  within  the  last  40  years.  Over 
Helmet  Court  entrance  is  a  helmet,  boldly  sculptured  in  stone.  Here  is  Sion  College, 
described  at  page  214. 

The  Wall,  believed  to  be  the  work  of  the  later  Roman  period,  when  London  was 
often  exposed  to  hostile  attacks,  extended  from  the  Tower,  through  the  Minories  to 
Aldgate,  Houndsditch,  Bishopsgate,  along  London  Wall  to  Fore-street,  through 
Cripplegate  and  Castle-street  to  Aldersgate,  and  so  through  Christ's  Hospital  by  New- 
gate and  Ludgate  towards  the  Thames.     (See  City  Wall  and  Gates,  pp.  233-236.) 

In  October,  1866,  excavations  at  London-wall  led  to  the  discovery  of  a  large 
quantity  of  bones  of  horses,  oxen,  and  deer,  the  horns  in  high  preservation ;  also 
goat-horns,  attached  to  portions  of  skulls ;  spear-handles,  decayed,  and  tipped  with 
horn.  Till  old  Bethlem  Hospital  was  taken  down  (1817-18),  the  greatest  part  of  the 
ancient  wall  of  London,  partly  Roman,  was  to  be  seen  here;  and  the  Hospital  itself 
was  built  partly  upon  the  City  ditch,  filled  with  rubbish,  so  that  it  was  requisite  to 
shore  up  and  underpin  the  walls. 

LONG  ACRE, 

THE  main  street  between  Covent  Garden  and  St.  Giles's,  and  extending  from 
Drury-lane  west  to  St.  Martin's-lane,  was  (temp.  Henry  VIII.)  an  open  field, 
called  the  Elms,  from  a  line  of  those  trees  growing  upon  it,  as  shown  in  Aggas's  plan. 
It  was  next  called  Seven  Acres ;  and  temp.  Charles  I.,  when  it  was  first  laid  out,  it 
was  changed  to  Long  Acre,  from  the  length  of  the  slip  of  ground  first  made  a  path- 
way. In  Phoenix-alley,  now  Hanover-court,  on  the  south,  John  Taylor,  the  water- 
poet,  and  a  contemporary  of  Shakspeare,  kept  an  ale-house,  first  with  the  sign  of 
The  Mourning  Crown,  for  which,  at  the  Commonwealth,  he  substituted  his  own  head, 
with  this  motto : 


LONG  ACRE.  535 


"  There's  many  a  head  stands  for  a  sign ; 
Then,  gentle  reader,  why  not  mine  ?" 

Taylor,  as  a  Thames  waterman,  stoutly  assailed  coaches,  among  the  builders  of  which 
he  died,  in  Phoenix- alley,  in  1653. 

It  is  related  of  Prior,  the  poet,  that  after  spending  the  evening  with  Oxford, 
Bolinghroke,  Pope,  and  Swift,  he  would  go  and  smoke  a  pipe,  and  drink  a  bottle  of 
ale  with  a  common  soldier  and  his  wife  in  Long  Acre,  before  he  went  to  bed.  This 
woman  (also  said  to  have  been  a  cobbler's  and  an  alehouse-keeper's  wife)  wa3  the 
beautiful  Chloe  of  Prior's  poems  :  "  he  used  to  bury  himself  for  whole  days  and  nights 
together  with  this  poor  mean  creature  "  (Pope). 

The  Journey  through  England,  1722,  describes  "the  Mug-house  Club,  in  Long  Acre,  where,  every 
Wednesday  and  Saturday,  a  mixture  of  gentlemen,  lawyers,  and  tradesmen,  meet  in  a  great  room, 
and  are  seldom  under  a  hundred.  They  have  a  grave  old  gentleman,  in  his  own  grey  hairs,  now  within 
a  few  months  of  ninety  years  old,  who  is  their  president,  and  sits  in  an  arm'd  chair  some  steps  higher 
than  the  rest  of  the  company,  to  keep  the  whole  room  in  order.  A  harp  plays  all  the  time  at  the  lower 
end  of  the  room,  and  every  now  and  then  one  or  other  of  the  company  rises  and  entertains  the  rest  with 
a  song,  and  (by  the  by)  some  are  good  masters.  Here  is  nothing  drunk  but  ale,  and  every  gentleman 
hath  his  separate  mug,  which  he  chalks  on  the  table  where  he  sits  as  it  is  brought  in :  and  every  one 
retires  as  he  pleases,  as  from  a  coffee-house.  The  room  is  always  so  diverted  with  songs,  and  drinking 
from  one  table  to  another  to  one  another's  healths,  that  there  is  no  room  for  politicks,  or  anything  that 
can  sour  conversation.  One  must  be  there  by  seven  to  get  room,  and  after  ten  the  company  are  for  the 
most  part  gone." 

Long  Acre  was  at  first  inhabited  by  persons  of  note,  and  some  of  the  houses  are 
handsomely  built ;  but  coachmakers,  and  the  subordinate  trades  of  coach-trimmers, 
colourmen,  and  varnish-makers,  have  probably  lived  in  Long  Acre  since  the  general 
introduction  of  coaches,  circ.  1630.  John  Locke  (in  his  Diary,  1679),  recommends 
"  Mr.  Cox,  of  Long  Acre,  for  all  sorts  of  dioptrical  glasses."  A  few  old  signs,  in- 
cluding the  goldbeater's  gilded  arm  and  hammer,  remained  to  our  time,  upon  the 
house-fronts ;  but  the  coachmakers  have  of  late  years  followed  fashion  westward.  The 
chapel  on  the  north  side  of  Long  Acre  was  the  private  property  of  the  Kev.  John 
Warner,  D.D.,  an  eloquent  preacher  (d.  1800).  In  conjunction  with  Dr.  Lettsom  and 
Mr.  Nichols,  Dr.  Warner  originated  the  erection  of  the  statue  of  John  Howard  in  St. 
Paul's  Cathedral.  Among  the  nostrums  of  Long  Acre  were  Dr.  Gardner's  Worm- 
destroying  Medicines,  &c. :  also,  Burchell's  Anodyne  Necklaces,  strongly  recommended 
for  teeth-cutting,  by  Dr.  Turner,  the  inventor ;  and  by  Dr.  Chamberlain,  who  is  said 
to  have  possessed  the  secret. 

The  removal  of  part  of  a  labyrinth  of  alleys  at  the  west  end  of  King-street,  Covent- 
garden,  has  been  followed  by  the  partial  demolition  of  Rose-street,  a  dirty  thoroughfare 
into  Long  Acre,  with  a  curious  literary  history.  Mr.  Cunningham  thus  carefully  narrates : 

"  It  was  in  this  street  (Dec.  18th,  1679)  that  Dryden,  returning  to  his  house  in  Long  Acre,  over  against 
Rose-street,  was  barbarously  assaulted  and  wounded  by  three  persons,  hired  for  the  purpose,  as  is  now 
known,  by  Wilmot,  Earl  of  Rochester.  Fifty  pounds  were  offered  by  the  King  for  the  discovery  of  the 
offenders,  and  a  pardon  in  addition  if  a  principal  or  accessory  would  come  forward.  But  Rochester's 
■  Black  Will  with  a  cudgel'  (the  name  he  gives  his  bully)  was  bribed  to  silence,  it  is  thought,  by  a  better 
reward.  Rochester  took  offence  at  a  passage  in  Lord  Mulgrave's  Essay  on  Satire;  an  essay  in  which 
his  lordship  received  assistance  from  Dryden.  There  are  many  allusions  to  this  Rose-alley  Ambuscade, 
as  it  is  called,  in  our  old  State  poems.  So  famous,  indeed,  was  the  assault,  that  Mulgrave's  poem  was 
commonly  called  the  Rose-alley  Satire." 

Samuel  Butler,  author  of  Hudibras,  lived  the  latter  part  of  his  life  in  Rose-street, 
"  in  a  studious,  retired  manner,"  and  died  there  in  1680 :  he  is  said  to  have  been 
buried  at  the  expense  of  Mr.  Longueville,  though  he  did  not  die  in  debt.  The  house 
in  which  he  died  was  not  taken  down  until  the  street  disappeared.  In  the  same 
street,  Edmund  Curll  was  living  when  he  published  Mr.  Pope's  Literary  Corre- 
spondence. At  the  corner  of  Rose-street,  in  King-street,  lived  Mr.  Setchel,  the  book- 
seller, whose  daughter  painted  that  very  clever  and  popular  picture,  "  The  Momentous 
Question."     Mr.  Setchel  and  his  father  had  kept  shop  here  for  seventy  years. 

JEndell-street,  on  the  north  side,  leads  to  Holborn  {see  p.  431).  St.  Martin's  Sail 
was  built  in  1849,  between  Charles  and  Hanover  streets  (see  p.  427) ;  and  in  Castle- 
street,  in  1850,  the  St.  Martin's  Northern  Schools,  Wyld,  architect.  The  style  is 
Byzantine,  with  two  tiers  of  pointed  arches;  the  top  story  being  a  covered  play- 
ground, 100  feet  long,  opening  to  the  front  by  a  colonnade, — a  novel  contrivance  for 
keeping  the  children  from  the  evil  ways  of  the  street. 


536  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

LORD  MAYOR'S  STATE. 

THE  salary  and  allowances  paid  to  the  Lord  Mayor  from  the  City  funds  during  his 
year  of  office,  with  sums  from  other  sources,  amount  to  about  7900/.  He  resides 
in  the  Mansion  House,  which  is  sumptuously  furnished,  and  provided  with  plate  and 
jewelled  ornaments  said  to  be  worth  from  20,000/.  to  30,000/. :  his  household  consists  of 
twenty  gentlemen,  including  the  Sword-bearer,  the  Common  Hunt,  the  Common  Crier, 
and  the  Water-bailiff,  all  of  whom  have  the  title  of  esquires.  He  has  a  splendid  retinue 
of  servants,  and  keeps  three  tables ;  he  is  provided  with  a  gorgeous  state- coach,  but 
not  with  horses ;  and  he  finds  the  dress-carriage  and  horses  for  the  Lady  Mayoress. 
(See  State  Coaches.)  He  is  expected  to  give  a  certain  number  of  state  banquets 
during  the  year,  in  addition  to  bearing  half  of  the  expense  of  the  inauguration- dinner  at 
Guildhall  on  the  9th  of  November.  The  Lord  Mayor's  dinners  are  provided  by  con- 
tract, but  the  wines  are  supplied  from  the  Mansion-House  cellars.  The  mayoralty  ex- 
penses, unless  "  cool  was  his  kitchen,"  generally  exceed  by  4000/.  the  City  allowance. 
The  state  liveries  usually  cost  500/. 

The  Fool  was  formerly  one  of  the  Lord  Mayor's  household ;  and  he  was  bound  by 
his  office  to  leap,  clothes  and  all,  into  a  large  bowl  of  custard,  at  the  Lord  Mayor's 
inauguration  dinner  :— 

"He  may,  perchance,  in  tail  of  a  Sheriff's  dinner, 
Skip  with  a  rime  o'  the  table,  from  new  nothing1, 
And  take  his  almain  leap  into  a  custard, 
Shall  make  my  Lady  Mayoress  and  her  sisters 
Laugh  all  their  hoods  over  their  shoulders." — Sen  Jonion. 

Custard  was  a  "  food  much  used  in  City  feasts."  (Johnson's  Dictionary.) 

"Now  may'rs  and  shrieves  all  hush'd  and  satiate  lay; 
Yet  eat,  in  dreams,  the  custard  of  the  day." — Pope. 

Costume  and  Jewels. — On  ordinary  state  occasions  the  Lord  Mayor  wears  a 
massive  black  silk  robe  richly  embroidered,  and  his  collar  and  jewel.  In  the  courts 
and  civic  meetings  he  has  a  violet  silk  robe,  furred,  and  barred  with  black  velvet ;  and 
on  the  bench  at  the  Mansion  House,  and  in  the  Central  Criminal  Court,  he  wears  a 
scarlet  robe,  furred,  and  bordered  with  black  velvet.  In  conducting  the  Sovereign 
through  the  City,  the  Lord  Mayor  wears  a  rich  crimson  velvet  robe,  and  a  court 
suit,  with  point  lace ;  the  velvet  hood  of  old  has  been  superseded  by  a  three-cornered 
dress  hat,  trimmed  with  black  ostrich-feathers.  At  state  banquets,  the  Lord  Mayor 
wears  an  "entertaining  robe,  richly  embroidered  with  gold:"  a  new  robe,  in  1867,  cost 
160  guineas. 

The  wear  of  robes  of  various  colours  upon  certain  days  was  fixed  by  a  regulation  in  1562,  and,  with 
the  customs  and  orders  for  meeting,  was  printed  in  a  tract  by  John  Day,  now  very  scarce.  But  the 
present  authority  for  the  customs  is  a  pamphlet  printed  by  direction  of  the  Common  Council  in  1789. 

The  Collar  is  of  pure  gold,  composed  of  a  series  of  links,  each  formed  of  a  letter  S ;  a 
united  York  and  Lancaster,  or  Henry  VII.  rose;  and  a  massive  knolt.  The  ends  of 
the  chain  are  joined  by  the  portcullis,  from  the  points  of  which,  suspended  by  a  ring 
of  diamonds,  hangs  the  Jewel.  The  entire  Collar  contains  28  SS,  14  roses,  and  13 
knolts,  and  measures  64  inches.  The  Jewel  contains  in  the  centre  the  City  arms,  cut 
in  cameo,  of  a  delicate  blue,  on  an  olive  ground.  Surrounding  this,  a  garter,  of  bright 
blue,  edged  with  white  and  gold,  bearing  the  City  motto,  "  Domine  dirige  nos,"  in  gold 
letters.  The  whole  is  encircled  with  a  costly  border  of  gold  SS,  alternating  with  rosettes 
of  diamonds,  set  in  silver.  The  Jewel  is  suspended  from  the  collar  by  a  portcullis ; 
but  when  worn  without  the  Collar,  is  suspended  by  a  broad  blue  ribbon.  The  investi- 
ture is  by  a  massive  gold  chain ;  and  when  the  Mayor  is  re-elected,  by  two  chains. 

Mace  and  Sicords. — The  Mace  is  silver-gilt,  is  5  feet  3  inches  in  length,  and  bears 
on  the  lower  part  W.  R.j  it  is  surmounted  with  a  regal  crown  and  the  imperial  arms, 
and  has  the  handle  and  staff  richly  chased.  The  "  Pearl  Sword,"  presented  by  Queen 
Elizabeth  upon  opening  the  Royal  Exchange,  has  a  crimson  velvet  sheath  thickly  set 
with  pearls ;  and  the  handle,  of  gold,  is  richly  chased  in  devices  of  Justice  and  Mercy. 
There  are  a  Sunday  sword  for  church ;  a  common  sword  for  the  Sessions ;  and  a  black 
sword  for  the  30th  of  January ;  and  Sept.  2nd,  the  anniversary  of  the  Great  Fire  of  1666. v 

SeaU. — The  Corporate  Seal  is  circular.  Obverse :  St.  Paul,  bearing  a  sword,  and  a  flag  ensigned  with 


LORD  MAYOR'S  STATE.  537 

three  lions  passant-gardant,  standing  in  a  city,  over  the  gate  of  which  is  a  key;  legend,  sigillvm  : 
babonvm  :  londoniabvm.  Eeverse :  the  City  Arms,  with  mantlings,  &c;  legend,  iondohi: 
defend  e  :  tvos:  devs  optime  :  cives.  The  second  Seal,  made  4  Richard  II.,  bears  the  effigies  of 
SS.  Peter  and  Paul,  canopied.  Beneath  are  the  present  arms  of  the  City :  a  cross  with  a  dagger  in  the 
dexter  quarter,  supported  by  two  lions.  It  appears  to  have  been  surmounted  with  a  low-pointed  arch. 
The  centre  compartment  is  flanked  with  two  canopied  niches ;  in  each  a  demi-flgure,  a  serjeant-at-arms, 
bearing  a  mace,  and  wearing  a  triangular  cap.  The  pedestals  of  the  canopies  sustain  kneeling  figures 
paying  adoration  to  the  Virgin  Mary,  whose  effigy  (much  effaced)  appears  in  the  centre  niche  at  the  top 
of  the  seal.  Legend,  sigillvm  officii  :  majobatvs  :  civitatis  :  lohdik  i  :  very  indistinct 
from  wear. 

The  Mayor  has  heen  chief  hutler  to  the  Sovereign  at  coronation  feasts  since  the  reign 
of  Richard  III.,  receiving  for  his  fee  a  gold  cup  and  cover.* 

The  most  memorable  name  in  the  civic  annals  is  that  of  Sir  Richard  Whittington, 

four  times  Mayor,  1397,  1398,  1406,  1419. 

Whittington  was  the  son  of  Sir  William  Whittington,  Knight,  and  his  early  destitution  rests  but  upon 
the  nursery  tale.  His  prosperity  is  referred  to  the  coal-carrying  Cat  of  Newcastle ;  but  a  scarce  print, 
by  Elstrake,  of  Whittington  in  his  mayoralty  robes,  has  a  cat  beside  the  figure,  showing  the  version  of 
the  nursery  tale  to  have  beep  then  popular :  in  the  early  impressions  of  this  plate  a  skull  appears  in  place 
of  the  cat,  which  has  rendered  the  original  print  a  rarity  of  great  price  among  collectors.  Whittington's 
wealth  rebuilt  Newgate,  and  St.  Michael's  Church,  Paternoster  Royal;  built  part  of  St.  Bartholomew's 
Hospital,  and  the  library  of  Christ's  Hospital,  and  added  to  the  Guildhall.  He  also  bequeathed  his  house 
at  "  College-hill"  for  a  college  and  almshouse,  which  have  been  taken  down,  and  the  institution  removed 
to  a  handsome  collegiate  building  near  Highgate  Archway,  not  far  from  the  stone  marking  the  spot 
whereon  tradition  states  Whittington  to  have  rested  when  a  poor  boy  and  listened  to  the  bells  of  Bow ; 
the  original  stone  (removed  in  1821)  is  said  to  have  been  set  up  by  desire  of  Whittington,  to  assist  horse- 
men to  mount  at  the  foot  of  the  hill.  Whittington  was  buried  in  St.  Michael's  Church,  beneath  a  costly 
marble  tomb;  but  his  remains  were  twice  disturbed  before  the  church  was  destroyed  by  fire,  and  now 
there  is  no  olden  memorial  of  Whittington  to  be  traced;  his  statue  has  been  placed  in  the  Royal  Exchange. 
Whittington  was  of  the  Mercers'  Company,  "  flos  mercatorum  :"  his  will  at  Mercers'  Hall  bears  a  curious 
illumination  of  Whittington  on  his  death-bed,  his  three  executors,  a  priest,  &c.  Whittington  is  also  said 
to  have  lived  in  Sweedon's-passage,  Grub-street;  and  in  a  court  in  Hart-street,  Mark-lane,  was  formerly 
a  building  termed  in  old  leases  "  Whittington's  Palace." 

Sir  Geoffry  Bullen,  Lord  Mayor  in  1453,  was  grandfather  to  Thomas  Earl  of  Wilt- 
shire, father  to  Anne  Bullen,  and  grandfather  to  Queen  Elizabeth;  the  highest  genea- 
logical honour  the  City  can  boast  of. 

"The  ennobled  families  of  Cornwallis,  Capel,  Coventry,  Legge,  Cowper,  Thynne,  Ward,  Craven, 
Marsham,  Pulteney,  Hill,  Holies,  Osborne,  Cavendish,  Bennet,  and  others,  have  sprung  either  directly  or 
collaterally  from  those  who  have  been  either  Mayors,  Sheriff*,  or  Aldermen  of  London ;  and  a  very  large 
portion  of  the  peerage  of  the  United  Kingdom  is  related  either  by  descent  or  intermarriage,  to  the  citizens 
of  the  metropolis." — Thomas  Moule. 

In  1858  the  services  of  the  Watermen  in  the  Lord  Mayor's  State  Barge  being  no 
longer  required,  the  sum  of  51.  each,  equivalent  to  one's  year's  emolument,  was  paid, 
on  the  badge,  cap,  and  clothing  being  delivered  up. 

In  1865  an  old  custom  was  revived  at  the  Mansion  House,  which  had  fallen  into 
disuse  since  1857, — that  of  an  officer  of  the  Corporation,  wearing  an  official  robe  and 
carrying  a  staff  of  office,  escorting  the  Lord  Mayor  daily  from  the  Mansion  House  to 
the  Court,  and  announcing  him  on  his  taking  his  seat  on  the  bench.  The  staff  used  in 
the  ceremony  is  a  very  ancient  symbol  of  dignity,  and  is  scarcely  less  part  of  the  in- 
signia of  the  Corporation  than  the  sword  and  mace.  It  is  about  seven  feet  high,  and 
is  surmounted  with  a  massive  representation  of  the  City  arms  in  silver-gilt,  and  the 
official  robe  of  the  usher  is  in  keeping. 

The  table  plate  is  very  valuable.  Formerly  it  was  always  customary  for  a  Lord 
Mayor  to  contribute  1001.  towards  keeping  up  the  Corporation  plate,  but  this  has 
not  been  observed  for  about  the  last  30  years. 

The  total  expenses  of  the  Banquet  and  Procession  on  Lord  Mayor's-day,  1865,  amounted  to 
3102J.  lis.  id.  Of  this,  one-half  was  paid  by  the  Lord  Mayor  (Mr.  Alderman  Phillips)  and  the  other 
half  by  the  two  Sheriffs  (Mr.  Alderman  Gibbons  and  Mr.  J.  Piggins).  The  contract  for  the  dinner  and 
wine  amounted  to  1639J.  14*.  \0d.  The  decorations  cost  1361.  8*.  id.,  including  301.  12*.  for  loan  of  deco- 
rations, flags,  armour,  &c,  from  War  and  Store  Office;  ill.  for  repairing  and  arranging  flags;  4/01.  for 
hire  of  looking-glasses;  601.  for  hire  of  flowering  plants  and  shrubs;  251.  for  hire  of  awning;  1051.  for 
gas-fitting;  1001.  for  gas;  213Z.  for  upholstery;  and  331.  for  plumbing  and  painting.  The  procession 
cost  2762.  8s.  10d.,  and  included  10U.  7*.  for  five  bands  of  music ;  321. 11*.  for  banners  and  banner- 
bearers  ;  301. 17*.  for  rosettes  and  scarfs ;  641.  3s.  lOd.  for  refreshment  of  troops  and  police ;  11. 10*.  for 
gravelling  the  streets ;  and  401.  for  decorating  Ludgate-hill  and  Fleet-street.  The  music  in  Guildhall  cost 
601.  19*.;  the  printing  and  stationery,  143Z.  13*.  2d.    The  general  expenses  are  put  down  at  2551.  6*.  1d^ 

*  There  is  current  a  piece  of  City  gossip,  of  a  Silver  Cradle  being  customarily  presented  at  the 
accouchement  of  a  Lady  Mayoress;  but  in  1735  and  1813,  such  an  event  was  merely  signalized  by  a  con- 
gratulatory vote  of  the  Court  of  Common  Council. 


538  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

and  include  some  of  the  most  curious  items,  such  as  men  on  the  roof,  41.  4s. ;  men  bringing  up  provisions 
for  distribution  to  the  poor,  11.  Is.;  bell-ringers  at  ten  churches,  201.;  Hatley,  drummer,  Royal  London 
Militia,  donation  in  consideration  of  an  accident  to  him  in  the  procession,  51. ;  wands  and  decorations  for 
Committee,  701.  7s.  6d.;  gold  pens  and  pencil-cases,  for  Chairman  and  Secretary,  91.  15s.;  seal  for  the 
Chairman,  61. 14s. ;  gloves,  101.  18s. ;  toilet  articles  for  ladies'  rooms,  291.  lis. ;  padlocks,  51.,  &c.  &c. 
Total,  3102J.  lis.  id. 

The  bill  of  the  feast  of  the  Mayor  of  Norwich,  in  the  time  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  when  he  entertained 
the  Queen  and  her  court,  was — Total  charge,  12. 12s.  9d.  Three  of  the  items  were— Eight  stone  of  beef 
at  8d.  per  stone,  and  a  sirloin,  5s.  8d. ;  a  hind-quarter  of  veal,  lOd. ;  bushel  of  flour,  Gd. ;  two  gallons  of 
white  wine  and  canary,  2s. 

LUDGATE,  LUDGATE  SILL  AND  STREET. 

LUDGATE,  one  of  the  principal  gates  of  the  City,  was  situated  at  the  western  ex- 
tremity of  Bowyer's-row,  now  Ludgate-hill,  between  the  London  Coffee-house  and 
St.  Martin's  Church.  Geoffrey  of  Monmouth  states  the  gate  to  have  been  built  by  the 
British  King  Lud,  66  B.C. :  hence  its  traditional  name ;  but  more  probably  from  the 
Flood,  or  Flud,  which  ran  into  Fleet-river.  We  find  no  further  mention  of  it  until 
1215,  when  it  was  fortified  or  rebuilt  by  the  barons  leagued  against  King  John,  and 
who  employed  as  materials  the  remains  of  the  stone  houses  of  opulent  Jews,  which  had 
been  destroyed,  as  proved  by  a  stone  discovered  in  1586,  inscribed  in  Hebrew,  "  This 
is  the  ward  of  Rabbi  Moses,  the  son  of  the  honourable  Rabbi  Isaac."  In  1260  the 
gate  was  again  repaired,  and  ornamented  on  the  east  side  with  statues  of  Lud  and  his 
two  sons ;  and  subsequently  the  statue  of  Queen  Elizabeth  was  placed  in  the  west  front. 
Ludgate  was  much  injured  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  and  is  shown  in  Greffier's  picture, 
engraved  by  Birch.  The  gate  is  described  by  Chamberlayne  (1726)  as  a  prison  "  only 
for  debtors  who  are  freemen  of  London."  In  the  Spectator,  No.  82,  is  "  a  voice  bawl- 
ing for  charity  at  the  grate ;"  just  as  in  our  time  the  prisoners  of  the  Fleet  loudly 
called  upon  those  who  passed  the  grate,  "  Tray  remember  the  poor  debtors,"  as 
the  board  above  stated,  "  having  no  allowance."  Pennant  describes  Ludgate,  within 
his  memory,  "  a  wretched  prison  for  debtors."  It  was  taken  down,  1760-62,  when 
the  statue  of  Elizabeth  was  placed  at  the  east  end  of  St.  Dunstan's  Church,  Fleet-street, 
and  the  other  statues  were  disposed  of  as  described  at  p.  235.  By  a  plan  preserved 
in  St.  Martin's  vestry-room,  the  great  arch  and  postern  of  Ludgate  was  37  ft.  6  in. 
wide  in  front,  and  39  ft.  deep.  Ludgate  was  made  a  free  prison  in  1378  (1st  Richard 
II.) ;  but  its  privileges  were  soon  violated,  and  it  became  a  place  of  great  oppression. 
Rowley's  comedy  of  A  Woman  never  vext,  or  the  Widow  of  Cornhill,  is  founded  upon 
the  tradition  of  the  handsome  Stephen  Foster,  Lord  Mayor  in  1454,  begging  at  the 
grate  of  Ludgate,  and  attracting  the  sympathy  of  a  rich  widow,  who  paid  the  debt  for 
which  he  was  confined,  and  afterwards  married  him  : — 

"  Mrs.  S.  Foster.  But  why  remove  the  prisoners  from  Ludgate  ? 

Stephen  Foster.  To  take  the  prison  down  and  build  it  new, 
With  leads  to  walk  on,  chambers  large  and  fair; 
For  when  myself  lay  there,  the  noxious  air 
Choked  up  my  spirits.    None  but  captives,  wife, 
Can  know  what  captives  feel." — Act  v.  sc.  1. 

Between  1454  and  1463  the  prison  was  much  enlarged,  and  a  chapel  built  by  Dame 
Agnes  Foster  and  the  executors  of  Stephen  her  husband,  as  thus  recorded  on  a  copper- 
plate upon  the  walls  : 

"Deout  soules  that  passe  this  way, 

for  Stephen  Foster,  late  Maior,  heartily  pray, 
And  Dame  Agnes,  his  spouse,  to  God  consecrate, 

that  of  pitie  this  house  made  of  Londoners  in  Ludgate, 
So  that  for  lodging  and  water  prisoners  here  nought  pay, 
as  their  keepers  shall  all  answere  at  dreadful  doomes  day." 

At  the  rebuilding  of  Ludgate  in  1566,  "the  verse  being  unhappily  turned  inward  to  the  wall,"  Stow 
tells  us  he  had  the  like  "  graven  outward  in  prose,  declaring  him  (Foster)  to  be  a  fishmonger,  because 
some  upon  a  light  occasion  (as  a  maiden's  head  in  a  glass  window)  had  fabled  him  to  be  a  mercer,  and 
to  have  begged  there  at  Ludgate,"  &c. 

A  quarto  tract,  Prison  Thoughts,  by  Thomas  Browning,  a  prisoner  in  Ludgate, 
"  where  poore  citizens  are  confined  and  starved  amidst  copies  of  their  freedom,"  was 
published  in  that  prison  by  the  author  in  1682,  and  is  supposed  to  have  suggested  Dr. 
Dodd's  Prison  Thoughts. 


MAGDALEN  HOSPITAL.  539 

Ludgate-hill  formerly  extended  from  Fleet-street  to  St.  Martin's  Church  (see  p. 
180) ;  and  Ludgate-street  from  thence  to  St.  Paul's.  On  the  hill,  opposite  the  gate, 
stopped  the  rebellion  of  Sir  Thomas  Wyat ;  and  below  is  the  Bell  Savage  Inn, 
described  at  p.  452.  Near  this  spot  lived  the  famous  cobbler  whom  Steele  mentions 
as  a  curious  instance  of  pride ;  he  had  a  wooden  figure  of  a  beau  of  the  time,  who 
stood  before  him  in  a  bending  posture,  humbly  presenting  him  with  his  awl,  or  bristle, 
or  whatever  else  his  employer  chose  to  put  in  his  hand,  after  the  manner  of  an  obse- 
quious servant.  Ludgate-street  and  hill  were  famous  for  mercers  in  Stow's  time.  At 
the  north-east  corner  (St.  Paul's  Churchyard),  No.  65,  lived  John  Newbery,  for  whom 
Goldsmith  wrote  Goody  Two-shoes,  a  pamphlet  on  the  Cock-lane  Ghost,  a  History 
of  England,  and  edited  the  Public  Ledger  newspaper.  To  Newbery  succeeded  John 
Harris,  and  next  Grant  and  Griffith,  now  Griffith  and  Farran,  worthy  successors  of 
Newbery.  At  "  the  Dunciad,"  in  Ludgate-street,  Dr.  Griffiths  published  the  Monthly 
Review,  No.  1,  May  1749. 

On  the  north  is  Ave-Maria-lane,  leading  to  Amen-corner  and  Paternoster-row ;  and 
Stationers'  Hall-court,  leading  to  the  hall  of  the  Stationers'  Company  {see  pp. 
420-422.)     On  the  south  is  Creed-lane,  with  another  ecclesiastical  name. 

In  1792  was  discovered  a  barbican,  or  watch-tower,  between  Ludgate  and  the  Fleet-ditch,  forming 
part  of  the  extension  of  the  City  wall  in  1276 ;  a  fine  fragment  of  which  exists  in  St.  Martin's-court 
opposite  the  Old  Bailey.  In  a  bastion  of  the  wall,  in  1800,  was  found  a  sepulchral  monument,  in  the 
rear  of  No.  21,  the  London  Coffee-house,  where  it  is  now  preserved :  it  is  dedicated  to  Claudina  Martina, 
by  her  husband  Anencletus,  a  provincial  Roman  soldier.  Here  are  also  a  fragment  of  a  statue  of  Hercules, 
and  a  female  head. 

At  No.  32,  north  side,  was  the  picturesque  old  shop-front  of  Rundell  and  Bridge, 
goldsmiths  and  diamond-jewellers  to  the  Crown,  with  the  sign  of  the  Golden  Salmon. 
Here  was  executed  Flaxman's  Shield  of  Achilles,  in  silver-gilt :  and  here  was  fitted  up 
the  imperial  Crown  for  the  coronation  of  George  IV.  in  1821 ;  and  a  silver  wine-cooler 
which  occupied  two  years  in  chasing.  Mrs.  Rundell  wrote  The  Art  of  Cookery  (Domestic 
Cookery),  for  which  she  ultimately  received  2000  guineas.  At  No.  45,  William  Hone 
published  his  political  satires,  with  woodcuts  by  Cruikshank ;  and  his  Every-day  Book, 
Ancient  Mysteries,  Sfc.  In  the  house  No.  7,  opposite  Hone's,  was  published  another  suc- 
cessful venture,  the  Percy  Anecdotes,  contemporary  with  the  Every-day  Book. 

The  lower  portion  of  Ludgate-hill  is  crossed  by  the  London,  Chatham,  and  Dover 
Railway  viaduct,  which  has  been  much  objected  to ;  yet  the  inhabitants  gave  evidence 
in  its  favour ;  and  the  design  is  identical  with  that  exhibited  by  the  Company,  in  1860, 
before  Parliament.  The  objections  are  too  numerous  to  detail  here :  one  is,  inter- 
ference with  one  of  the  finest  architectural  views  in  the  metropolis.     Coleridge,  many 

years  since,  remarked :  "  A  Mr.  H ,  a  friend  of  Fox's,  who  always  put  himself 

forward  to  interpret  the  great  orator's  sentiments,  and  almost  took  the  words  out  of 
his  mouth,  put  him  in  mind  of  the  steeple  of  St.  Martin,  on  Ludgate-hill,  which  is 
constantly  getting  in  the  way  when  you  wish  to  see  the  dome  of  St.  Paul's."  How- 
ever, Coleridge's  remark  is  here  mal-apropos ;  for  St.  Martin's  Church  spire  improves 
the  view  of  St.  Paul's.  It  is  true  that  the  level  of  the  bridge  is  low,  but  it  has  unques- 
tionably spoiled  the  view,  and  its  small  elevation  above  the  street  (18  feet)  traffic  is  an 
objection  of  another  class.  The  street  of  Ludgate-hill  is  here  only  42  feet  wide ; 
but,  as  the  Corporation  intend,  at  some  future  time,  to  enlarge  the  thoroughfare,  the 
span  is  18  feet  wider  than  the  street,  or  60  feet.  The  bridge  is  composed  of  five 
girders  of  wrought  iron,  screened  from  sight  by  ornamental  iron-work,  and  relieved 
with  decorative  brackets,  bronze  armorial  medallions,  and  handsome  gas-lanterns 
and  standards.  It  carries  four  lines  of  rails.  Through  Ludgate-hill  there  have  passed, 
in  twelve  hours,  8752  vehicles,  13,025  horses,  and  105,352  persons.  The  entire  line 
from  Bridge-street  to  St.  Paul's  is  now  Ludgate-M£. 


MAGDALEN   HOSPITAL, 

ST.  GEORGE'S  FIELDS,  for  the  relief  and  reformation  of  unfortunate  women  andpeni- 
tent  prostitutes,  was  projected  by  Robert  Dingley,  Jonas  Hanway,  and  a  few  others, 


540  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

in  1758  j*  and  opened  at  a  house  in  Prescot-street,  Goodman's-fields,  when  eight  un- 
happy objects  were  admitted ;  and  from  thence  to  Feb.  26,  1761,  there  were  received 
into  "Magdalen-house"  281:  of  a  hundred  inmates,  not  a  seventh  were  15 
years  old. 

Among  the  names  of  the  earliest  benefactors  occurs  that  of  Omychund,  the  black  merchant  of  Cal- 
cutta. He  bequeathed  between  this  and  the  Foundling  Hospital  37,500  current  rupees,  to  be  equally 
divided.    Unfortunately,  however,  "  a  portion  only  of  this  munificent  legacy  could  be  extracted  from  the 

frasp  of  Hurzorimal,  his  executor,  notwithstanding  the  zealous  interference  of  the  Governor-general 
Warren  Hastings)  and  other  eminent  functionaries." — Brownlow. 

Another  early  promoter  was  the  Rev.  William  Dodd,  "  the  unfortunate,"  who,  in 
1759,  preached  a  sermon  for  the  benefit  of  the  charity ;  and  again  in  1760,  before 
Prince  Edward,  Duke  of  York :  both  sermons  are  eloquent  compositions,  were  printed, 
and  large  editions  sold.f  The  Magdalens  wore  a  grey  uniform  dress,  high  in  the  neck, 
long  black  mittens,  mob-cap,  and  a  broad  black  chip  hat.  In  the  list  of  contributors 
we  find  "  A  Lady  unknown,  a  Lottery.  Ticket,  No.  34987,  in  the  Lottery  1758,  a 
Prize  of  5002. ;"  Lord  Chesterfield,  212.  per  annum ;  "  Will's  Coffee-house,  Lincoln's 
Inn,  162.  16*. ;"  the  "  Charity  Boxes,"  in  one  year,  received  4582.  10*. ;  and  the 
women's  needlework  produced  2822.  11*.  3d. :   there  being  about  100  in  the  house. 

Among  their  employments  was  making  their  own  clothes,  spinning  the  thread  and  making  the  cloth; 
to  knit  their  stockings  :  to  make  bone-lace,  black  lace,  artificial  flowers,  children's  toys,  winding  silk, 
embroidery,  millinery,  making  women's  and  children's  shoes,  mantuas,  stays,  coats,  cauls  for  wigs, 
weaving  hair  for  perukes,  making  leathern  and  silken  gloves  and  garters,  drawing  patterns,  making 
soldiers'  clothes  and  seamen's  slops,  making  carpets  after  the  Turkey  manner,  &c. 

In  1769,  the  charity  was  incorporated  and  the  institution  declared  extra-parochial : 
the  present  Hospital  was  commenced,  6|  acres  of  St.  George's  common  fields  having 
been  purchased  by  the  governors.  Attached  to  the  Hospital  is  a  chapel,  rendered 
attractive  by  the  singing  of  the  Magdalens,  screened  from  the  congregation ;  and  the 
donations  at  the  chapel  doors  are  very  productive  to  the  Hospital  funds :  formerly,  the 
admission  on  Sunday  evenings  was  by  ticket.  Queen  Charlotte  patronized  this  charity 
56  years.     Queen  Victoria  became  patroness  in  1841. 

Fit  objects  for  the  Magdalen  charity  are  admitted  without  any  recommendation,  on  their  own  appli- 
cation and  petition,  on  the  first  Thursday  in  every  month.  More  than  8000  have  been  received  since  the 
Hospital  was  established ;  more  than  two-thirds  have  been  permanently  reclaimed,  and  many  have 
married  and  become  respectable  members  of  society :  all  who  have  behaved  well  are  discharged  with 
some  provision  for  their  future  maintenance. 

MANSION  SOUSE,    TEE, 

OF  the  Lord  Mayor,  and  his  residence  during  his  year  of  office,  occupies  the  site  of 
Stocks'-market,  nearly  facing  the  area  of  the  Royal  Exchange.  The  foundation 
of  the  Mansion-house  was  laid  in  1739  by  Lord  Mayor  Perry ;  but  the  building  was 
not  finished  until  1753,  in  the  mayoralty  of  Sir  Crisp  Gascoigne,  the  first  Lord  Mayor 
who  resided  in  it.  The  architect  was  the  elder  Mr.  Dance  j  the  style  is  that  of 
Palladio ;  and  the  building,  which  is  entirely  insulated,  is  of  Portland-stone,  and  re- 
sembles a  massive  Italian  palace.  The  principal  front  has  a  very  fine  Corinthian 
portico,  with  six  fluted  columns,  supporting  a  pediment,  in  the  tympanum  of  which  is 
a  group  of  allegorical  sculpture  by  Sir  Robert  Taylor.  In  the  centre  is  a  female  im- 
personation of  the  City  of  London,  trampling  on  her  enemies ;  on  her  right  is  the 
Roman  lictor,  and  a  boy  bearing  the  cap  of  liberty ;  and  beyond  them  is  Neptune  and 
nautical  insignia.  To  the  left  of  the  centre  is  another  female  attended  by  two  boys, 
and  bearing  an  olive-branch  and  cornucopia;  the  extreme  angles  being  filled  with  casks, 
bales,  and  other  emblems  of  commerce.  On  each  side  a  flight  of  steps,  balustraded, 
ascends  to  the  entrance  beneath  the  portico ;  and  in  the  rusticated  basement  is  the  en- 
trance to  the  offices.  On  the  west  side  is  a  Roman-Doric  porch.  A  long  narrow  attic, 
called  the  Mare's  (Mayor's)  Nest,  has  been  removed  from  the  roof. 

The  interior  of  the  block  of  buildings  was  an  open  court  of  elaborate  character, 

*  A  plan  of  the  kind  was  suggested  in  the  Gentleman's  Magazine  for  April  1751;  and  the  Rambler, 
No.  107. 

t  Account  of  the  Magdalen  Charity;  with  the  above  Sermons,  Advice  to  the  Magdalens,  Prayers, 
Eules,  &e.    Printed  in  1761. 


MANSIONS.  641 


similar  to  that  part  of  an  Italian  palace ;  but  the  central  area  is  now  filled  with  the 
saloon,  which  is  of  wood.  This  grand  banquet-room  was  designed  by  the  Earl  of 
Burlington,  and  is  called  the  Egyptian  Hall,  from  its  accordance  with  the  Egyptian 
Hall  described  by  Vitruvius.  It  has  two  side  screens  of  lofty  columns,  supporting  a 
vaulted  roof,  and  lit  by  a  large  western  window ;  it  can  dine  400  guests,  and  here  the 
Lord  Mayor  gives  his  State-banquets.  In  the  side  walls  are  sixteen  niches,  filled  with 
sculptured  groups  or  figures.     (See  Statues.) 

There  are  other  dining-rooms ;  as  the  Venetian  Parlour,  Wilkes's  Parlour,  &c.  The 
drawing-rooms  and  ball-room  are  superbly  decorated ;  above  the  latter  is  the  Justice- 
room  (constructed  in  1849),  where  the  Lord  Mayor  sits  daily.  In  a  contiguous  apart 
ment  was  the  State  Bed.  There  are  a  few  gallery  portraits  and  other  pictures.  The 
kitchen  is  a  large  hall,  provided  with  ranges,  each  of  them  large  enough  to  roast  an 
entire  ox.  Tiie  vessels  for  boiling  meat  and  vegetables  are  not  pots  but  tanks.  The 
stewing  range  is  a  long  broad  iron  pavement  laid  down  over  a  series  of  furnaces ;  the 
gpits  are  huge  cages  formed  of  iron  bars,  and  turned  by  machinery. 

At  one  time  the  Household  of  the  Lord  Mayor  was  about  twenty-four  in  number,  who  held  their 
offices  by  purchase,  and  with  a  power  of  alienation.  At  the  head  of  them  were  the  four  esquires  of  the 
Lord  Mayor,  of  whom  the  Swordbearer  was  the  senior;  and  among  the  rank  and  file  were  the  Lord 
Mayor's  Clerk,  the  Common  Crier,  the  Common  Hunt,  three  Serjeant  Carvers,  three  Serjeants  of  the 
Chamber,  the  Serjeant  of  the  Channel,  the  two  Marshals,  the  Attorneys  of  the  Mayor's  Court  (four  in 
number),  the  Water  Bailiff,  and  several  more.  When  on  duty  they  had  all  the  right  to  dine  at  the 
Swordbearer's  table,  and  as  the  services  of  many  of  them  were  in  daily  requisition,  a  dinner  was  provided 
daily  throughout  the  year  at  the  cost  of  the  Chief  Magistrate  for  the  time  being.  About  the  year  1822 
the  household  dinners  were  limited,  by  a  resolution  of  the  Court  of  Common  Council,  to  thirteen  in  the 
year,  on  so  many  civic  state  occasions ;  and  in  still  more  modern  times  the  number  has  been  gradually 
curtailed,  until  the  entertainment  given  annually  on  Plough  Monday  is  the  only  one  that  survives.  On 
the  abolition  of  the  daily  table  many  of  the  household  compounded  for  the  lost  privilege  by  the  receipt 
of  100Z.  a  year  each,  for  the  rest  of  their  lives,  upon  the  basis  of  7».  6i.  a  day ;  and  the  official  income  of 
the  Lord  Mayor  was  diminished  by  1000Z.  a  year  in  consideration  of  his  being  relieved  from  the  obliga- 
tion of  providing  it.  All  the  members  of  the  household  now  hold  their  offices  by  election,  and  no  longer 
by  purchase. 

MANSIONS. 

APSLEY  HOUSE  (Duke  of  Wellington),  Hyde-park-corner,  Piccadilly,  and  happily 
called  by  a  foreigner  "  No.  1,  London,"  was  built  about  1785-6,  by  the  Adams,   | 
for  Charles  Bathurst  Baron  Apsley,  Earl  Bathurst  and  Lord  Chancellor,  who  died  in 
1794.      Here  resided  the  Marquis  Wellesley,  elder  brother  of  the  great   Duke   of   1 
Wellington,  who  purchased  the  house  in  1820.     It  was  then  a  plain  brick  mansion,  but 
was  cased  with  Bath-stone  in  1828,  by  B.  Wyatt,  who  designed  the  tetrastyle  Corinthian    — '    -' 
portico  and  pediment  upon  a  rusticated  entrance  arcade ;  built  a  gallery  and  suite  of 
rooms  on  the  west  or  Hyde-park  side,  and  enlarged  the  garden  by  a  strip  of  ground 
from  the  Park.     These  additions  and  repairs  are  stated  to  have  cost  130,000Z. 

The  bullet-proof  iron  Venetian  blinds  (the  first  of  the  kind)  were  put  up  by  the  late  Duke  of  Wel- 
lington, after  his  windows  had  been  broken  by  the  Reform  Bill  mobs ;  and  these  blinds  were  not  removed 
during  the  Duke's  life-time.  "They  shall  stay  where  they  are,"  was  his  remark,  "  as  a  monument  of 
the  gullibility  of  a  mob,  and  the  worthlessness  of  that  sort  of  popularity  for  which  they  who  give  it  can 
assign  no  good  reason.  1  don't  blame  the  men  that  broke  my  windows ;  they  only  did  what  they  were 
instigated  to  do  by  others  who  ought  to  have  known  better.  But  if  any  one  be  disposed  to  grow  giddy 
■with  popular  applause,  I  think  that  a  glance  towards  these  iron  shutters  will  soon  sober  him."  The 
blinds  have  long  been  removed. 

The  court-yard  is  enclosed  by  richly  bronzed  metal  gates  (in  which  the  Grecian  honey- 
suckle is  finely  cast) ;  and  the  stone  piers  have  curious  chapiters.  The  hall-door  and 
knocker  belong  to  the  original  house.  In  the  waiting-room  is  Steell's  bust  of  "  the 
Duke ;"  Castlereagh,  by  Chantrey ;  Pitt,  by  Nollekens  j  and  a  reduced  copy  of  ltauch's 
statue  of  Blucher;  busts  of  Mr.  Perceval,  Colonel  Gurwood,  Mr.  Ponsonby,  &c.  At 
the  foot  of  the  grand  staircase  is  Canova's  colossal  marble  statue  of  Napoleon,  holding 
a  bronze  figure  of  Victory  in  his  right  hand  :  it  is  Canova's  noblest  and  most  antique- 
looking  work  j  it  is  11  feet  high,  and,  except  the  left  arm,  was  cut  from  one  block  of 
marble. 

The  pictures  in  the  first  Drawing-room  include  the  Card-players,  by  Caravaggio,  fine 
in  expression,  and  marvellous  in  colour,  light,  and  shade ;  the  great  Duke  of  Marlborough 
on  horseback  (from  White  Knights), probably  by  Vandermeulen j  "Chelsea  Pensioner 
reading  the  Gazette  of  the  Battle  of  Waterloo,"  a  commission  to  Wilkie  from  the 


542  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON 

Duke,  for  which  he  paid  1200  guineas  in  hank  notes ;  and  the  companion-picture, 
"  Greenwich  Pensioners,"  hy  Burnet,  and  bought  from  him  by  the  Duke  for  500 
guineas;  Van  Amburg  in  the  Den  with  Lions  and  Tigers,  painted  by  Sir  E.  Landseer,  R.A., 
after  the  instructions  of  the  Duke,  who  with  the  Bible  in  his  hand,  pointed  out  the 
passage  (Gen.  i.  26)  in  which  dominion  is  given  to  Adam  over  the  earth  and 
animals :  "  he  caused  the  text  to  be  inscribed  on  the  frame  as  an  authority  which  con- 
ferred on  him  a  privilege  of  power,  and  gave  to  himself  '  the  great  commission  '  which 
he  carried  out  on  the  fields  of  battle  and  chase."  {Quarterly  Review,  No.  clxxxiv.) 
Next  are  large  copies  by  Bonnemaison,  after  the  four  celebrated  pictures  by  Raphael 
at  Madrid ;  the  Melton  Hunt,  by  Grant,  R.A. ;  Napoleon  studying  the  map  of  Europe,  a 
small  full-length ;  Mr.  Pitt,  by  Hoppner;  the  Highland  Whisky-still,  by  Landseer,  R.A. ; 
and  portraits  of  Marshal  Soult,  Lord  Beresford,  Lord  Lynedoch,  and  Lord  Anglesey,  by 
Sir  Thomas  Lawrence  ;  Lord  Nelson,  by  Sir  William  Beechey ;  Sir  George  Murray, 
Sir  Thomas  Picton ;  and  Sarah,  the  first  Lady  Lyndhurst,  by  Wilkie :  the  canvas  was 
pierced  by  a  stone  during  a  Reform  Bill  riot,  but  it  has  been  cleverly  repaired.  Here 
are  portraits  of  the  Emperor  Nicholas,  of  the  Wellesley  family,  and,  by  Winterhalter,  of 
the  Duke's  godson,  Prince  Arthur.  Here  also  are  George  IV.  and  William  IV.  (whole- 
lengths),  by  Sir  D.  Wilkie.  There  are  at  least  six  portraits  of  Napoleon ;  and  full- 
lengths  of  the  Emperor  Alexander ;  and  Kings  of  Prussia,  France,  and  the  Netherlands. 
Still,  there  is  no  faithful  or  worthy  representation  of  the  Duke  in  the  collection ;  nor 
of  statesmen  of  his -generation — not  even  Peel.  There  is  but  one  battle-scene— 
Waterloo,  taken  from  Napoleon's  head-quarters  by  Sir  W.  Allan ;  of  this  picture  the 
Duke  observed,  "  Good,  very  good — not  too  much  smoke." 

Among  the  furniture  are  two  magnificent  Roman  mosaic  tables ;  a  splendid  pair  of 
Sevres  vases,  the  gift  of  Louis  XVIII. ;  a  malachite  vase,  from  Alexander  Emperor  of 
Russia  ;  a  service  of  Sevres  china,  from  Louis  XVIIL,  &c. 

In  the  Picture-gallery,  in  the  western  wing,  the  Waterloo  Banquet  was  held  annually 
on  June  18,  until  1852.  Over  the  fireplace  hangs  a  copy  of  the  "  Windsor  "  Charles  I. 
on  horseback.  Here  is  the  gem  of  the  collection,  "  Christ  on  the  Mount  of  Olives," 
by  Correggio,  on  panel,  the  most  celebrated  specimen  of  the  master  in  this  country  :  the 
light  proceeds  from  the  Saviour.  This  picture  was  captured  in  Spain,  in  the  carriage 
of  Joseph  Bonaparte,  and  restored  by  the  captor  to  Ferdinand  VIL,  but  was  presented 
to  the  Duke  by  that  Sovereign.  Next  in  excellence  are  the  examples  of  Velasquez, 
chiefly  portraits,  and  "the  Water-seller;"  a  Female  holding  a  wreath,  by  Titian; 
specimens  of  Claude,  Teniers,  and  Jan  Steen ;  the  Signing  of  the  Peace  of  Westphalia,  by 
Terburg,  from  the  Talleyrand  collection.  Here  is  also  a  repetition  of  the  Madonna  della 
Sedia  of  Raphael,  by  Giulio  Romano;  and  a  marble  bust  of  Pauline  Bonaparte, by  Canova. 
In  the  centre  are  two  majestic  candelabra  of  Russian  porphyry,  12  feet  high,  pre- 
sented by  Alexander  Emperor  of  Russia;  and  two  fine  vases  of  Swedish  porphyry, 
from  the  King  of  Sweden.  The  Gallery  and  the  Waterloo  Banquet  are  well  seen  in 
Salter's  large  picture,  engraved  by  Greatbatch ;  and  the  Duke  receiving  his  Guests  has 
been  painted  by  J.  P.  Knight,  R.A. 

In  the  China-room,  on  the  ground-floor,  are  a  magnificent  Dresden  dessert-service,  presented  by  the 
King  of  Saxony,  painted  with  the  Duke's  victories  in  India,  the  Peninsula,  and  at  Waterloo;  other  ser- 
vices of  china  presented  by  the  Emperor  of  Austria,  the  King  of  Prussia,  and  Louis  XVIII. :  the  silver 
plateau,  30  feet  long  and  30  feet  wide,  and  lighted  by  106  wax  tapers,  the  gift  of  the  King  of  Portugal; 
three  silver-gilt  candelabra  (a  foot-soldier,  life-size),  presented  by  the  Corporation  of  London :  the 
superb  Waterloo  Vase,  from  the  City  merchants  and  bankers;  and  the  Wellington  Shield,  designed  by 
T.  Stothard,  R.A.,  and  in  general  treatment  resembling  Flaxman's  Shield  of  Achilles.  It  is  silver-gilt, 
circular,  about  3  ft.  8  in.  diameter.  In  the  centre  is  the  Duke  of  Wellington  on  horseback,  the  head  of 
his  charger  forming  the  boss  of  the  shield :  around  him  are  his  illustrious  officers;  above  is  Fame 
crowning  the  Duke  with  a  wreath  of  laurel :  and  at  his  feet  are  prostrate  figures  of  Anarchy,  Discord, 
and  Tyranny.  The  wonder  of  this  central  group  is  the  management  of  the  horses  within  the  circle  (of 
oak-branches),  the  evolutions  of  the  chargers  emanating  from  the  centre, — in  itself  a  most  original  con- 
ception. The  border  of  the  shield  is  in  ten  compartments,  each  bearing  a  bas-relief  of  the  principal 
events  in  the  Duke's  military  life,  to  the  Peace  of  1814,  and  are  as  follows :  Assaye,  Vimiera,  the  Douro, 
Torres  Vedras,  Badajoz,  Salamanca,  Vittoria,  the  Pyrenees,  Toulouse,  and  the  Duke  receiving  his  coronet 
from  the  Prince  Regent.  Stothard's  designs  are  large  drawings  in  sepia:  he  made  his  own  models  for 
the  chaser,  etched  the  designs  the  same  size  as  the  originals,  and  received  his  own  demands,  150  guineas. 
The  columns,  by  Smirke,  stand  one  on  each  side  of  the  shield,  about  4  ft.  3  in.  high,  surmounted  with 
figures  of  Fame  and  Victory :  each  column  consists  of  a  palm-tree,  with  a  capital  of  leaves ;  around  the 
base  are  emblematic  figures,  and  military  trophies  and  weapons  at  the  angles.  The  cost  of  this  superb 
national  gift,  completed  in  1822,  was  700W. 


MANSIONS.  543 


In  the  China-rooni,  also,  are  bronze  busts,  of  great  spirit  and  finish,  of  Henri 
Quatre,  the  Prince  of  Conde,  Louis  XIV.,  Marshal  Turenne,  and  the  Marquis 
Wellesley.  Beyond  is  the  Secretary's-room,  the  Great  Duke's  private  room,  and  lastly  |( 
his  bed-room,  which,  early  in  1853,  the  public  were  permitted  to  inspect,  precisely  ar- 
ranged as  they  were  last  used  by  his  Grace,  in  September,  1852:  the  library  he  con- 
sulted, the  books  he  kept  beside  him  for  reference,  the  mass  of  papers,  maps,  and 
documents,  even  to  the  latest  magazine,  were  undisturbed.  The  Duke's  room  was 
lined  with  bookcases  and  despatch -boxes,  and  had  a  red  morocco  reading-chair,  a  second 
chair,  a  desk  to  stand  and  write  at ;  a  circular-topped  writing-table ;  two  engravings 
of  the  Duke,  one  when  young,  the  other  (by  Count  D'Orsay)  when  old ;  a  small 
drawing  of  the  Countess  of  Jersey,  by  Cosway,  between  medallions  of  the  present 
Duchess  of  Wellington  and  Jenny  Lind.  In  the  Secretary's-room  was  a  rough  un- 
painted  box,  which  accompanied  the  Duke  through  all  his  wars;  in  which  be  stowed 
away  his  private  documents,  and  whereon  he  wrote  many  of  his  despatches,  and  traced 
the  orders  for  military  manoeuvres. 

A  short  passage  to  the  east  leads  to  "  the  Duke's  bed-room,"  which  is  narrow,  |i 
shapeless,  and  ill-lighted;  the  bedstead  small,  provided  with  only  a  mattress  and  ' 
bolster,  and  scantily  curtained  with  green  silk ;  the  only  ornaments  of  the  room  being 
an  unfinished  sketch  of  the  present  Duchess  of  Wellington,  two  cheap  prints  of 
military  men,  and  a  small  portrait  in  oil.  Yet  here  slept  the  Great  Duke,  whose 
"  eightieth  year  was  by."  In  the  grounds  and  shrubbery  he  took  dady  walking  exer- 
cise ;  where,  with  the  garden-engine,  he  was  wont  to  enjoy  exertion.*  Lastly,  "  in 
fine  afternoons,  the  sun  casts  the  shadow  of  the  Duke's  equestrian  statue  full  upon 
Apsley  House,  and  the  sombre  image  may  be  seen  gliding  spirit-like  over  the  front." 
(Quarterly  Review,  No.  clxxxiv.)  The  house  and  pictures  can  only  be  seen  by  special 
permission.     A  Catalogue  raisonnee  is  published  by  Mitchell,  Old  Bond-street. 

Part  of  the  site  of  Apsley  House  was  a  piece  of  ground  given  by  George  II.  to  an  old  soldier,  Allen, 
whom  the  king  recognised  as  having  served  in  the  battle  of  Dettingen.  Upon  this  spot  Allen  built  a 
Email  tenement,  in  place  of  the  apple-stall  kept  by  his  wife;  and  on  the  erection  of  Apsley  House,  in 
1784,  the  ground  was  sold  for  a  considerable  sum  by  Allen's  successors  to  Apsley,  Lord  Bathurst.  The 
apple-stall  is  shown  in  a  print  dated  1766. 

Argyll  House,  Argyll-street,  centre  of  the  east  side,  was  a  plain  mansion,  with  a  \  . 
front  court-yard,  and  was  formerly  the  residence  of  the  Duke  of  Argyll,  by  whom  it   \  i^14 
was  sold,  about  1820,  to  the  Earl  of  Aberdeen  :  here  "  the  Aberdeen  Ministry  "  was 
formed  in  1852.  "*f 

Soon  after  the  succession  of  the  present  Earl  to  the  title,  in  1864,  his  lordship  had  part  of  the  firJJ-1* 
premises  fitted  up  as  an  industrial  school  for  about  sixty  boys ;  there  were  a  class-room,  in  which  the  ' 
boys  were  instructed ;  a  dining  or  mess  room ;  work  rooms,  in  which  useful  trades,  such  as  shoemaking, 
tailoring,  &c,  were  taught ;  and  a  lecture-room,  in  which  lectures  were  given  to  the  poor  of  the  neigh- 
bourhood. The  coach-house,  in  Marlborough-mews,  was  changed  into  baths  and  lavatories,  and  accom- 
modation for  some  of  the  boys  to  sleep  on  the  premises.  The  whole  were  carried  out  on  a  similar 
principle  to  the  schools  of  Dr.  Guthrie  in  Edinburgh.  The  boys  were  also  clothed  and  fed  by  the  noble 
earl;  the  most  destitute  in  the  neighbourhood  were  admitted. 

The  mansion  was  sold  July  5,  1862,  for  18,500?.,  and  was  taken  down :  it  com- 
prised  a  paved  hall,  30  feet  by  21  feet;  a  great  drawing-room,  27  feet  by  21  feet;  a 
banqueting-room,  43  feet  by  31  feet ;  a  library,  24  feet  by  19  feet,  &c,  all  fitted  with 
statuary,  &c.  The  rooms  were  stately,  but  sombre.  On  August  24th  was  sold  here 
the  late  Earl's  valuable  parliamentary  and  miscellaneous  library,  together  with  Eng- 
lish and  foreign  works  in  connexion  with  architecture  and  the  fine  arts;  a  col- 
lection of  manuscripts  in  Arabic,  Persian,  Turkish,  Greek,  and  Latin,  on  vellum,  and 
illuminated  in  gold  and  colours.     The  site  is  now  occupied  by  a  new  Bazaar..   \fcu^    {Vt**.y^*-* 

Baeing,  Mr.  T.,  No.  41,  Upper  Grosvenor-street,  has  a  fine  collection  of  pictures ; 
Dutch  and  Flemish,  from  the  cabinet  of  the  Baron  Verstolk,  at  the  Hague;  Italian, 
formerly  Sir  Thomas  Baring's ;  English  pictures,  mostly  from  the  exhibitions  of  the 
Boyal  Academy.  Among  the  Spanish  pictures  are  four  specimens  by  Murillo,  in- 
cluding the  Madonna  on  the  Crescent.  Here,  also,  is  St.  Jerome  in  his  Study,  an 
authentic  picture  by  J.  Van  Eyck ;  with  works  of  N.  and  G.  Poussin,  Parmegiano, 

*  Jan.  2, 1820.  General  Bonaparte  was  "amusing  himself  with  the  pipe  of  the  fire-engine,  spouting 
water  on  the  trees  and  flowers  in  his  favourite  garden." — Journal  of  Capt.  Nicholls:  Captivity  of  Na- 
poleon at  St.  Helena ;  Sir  Hudson  Lowe's  Letters  and  Journals,  1853. 


|fc 


544  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

L.  Caracci,  C.  Dolci,  Salvator  Rosa,  Morales,  &c.     The  collection  can  be  seen  only 
through  introduction  of  Mr.  Baring's  friends. 

Bath  House  (Lord  Ashburton),  No.  82,  Piccadilly,  built  by  the  first  Lord  Ash- 
burton  upon  the  site  of  the  old  mansion  of  Sir  William  Pulteney,  Bart.  The  entranco 
is  from  Bolton-street :  the  hall  occupies  the  centre  of  the'  mansion  to  the  roof,  of  em- 
bossed glass ;  and  the  principal  apartments  open  into  its  gallery,  which  has  a  richly- 
gilt  balustrade.  This  hall  has  a  parqueted  oak  floor,  and  the  walls  are  painted  with 
Pompeian  subjects :  here  are  antique  busts  and  modern  statues ;  including  Thor- 
waldsen's  Hebe,  and  Mercury  as  the  Slayer  of  Argus.  The  principal  apartments 
command  a  view  over  the  Green  Park  and  St.  James's  Park,  with  Buckingham  Palace ; 
Piccadilly  being  masked  by  the  terrace- wall :  the  floors  are  oak,  and  doors  mahogany. 

The  Ashburton  collection  is  pre-eminent  for  its  Dutch  and  Flemish  pictures,  from  the  cabinet  of 
Talleyrand.  Here  are :  Portraits  of  Jansen,  and  the  writing-master  Lieven  van  Coppenhol,  by  Rem- 
brandt :  Moses  before  the  Burning  Bush,  Domenichino ;  Alehouse,  and  Playing  at  Nine  Pins,  Jan 
Steen ;  La  Ferme  au  Colombier,  Wouvermans ;  Rape  of  the  Sabines,  and  Reconciliation  of  Romans  and 
Sabines,  small,  but  cost  1000?.;  St.  Thomas  of  Villaneuva  dividing  his  Cloak  with  Beggar-boys,  and  the 
Virgin  attended  by  Angels,  Murillo ;  Water-mill,  Karl  du  Jardin ;  fine  specimens  of  Cuyp,  Wouvermans, 
Teniers,  Ostade,  and  Paul  Potter;  Hay-harvest,  A.  Vandervelde;  Lobster-catchers,  and  Le  Fagot,  N. 
Berghem;  the  Infant  Christ  asleep  in  the  arms  of  the  Virgin,  an  Angel  lifting  the  Quilt,  Leonardo  da 
Vinci  (belonged  to  the  Prior  of  the  Escurial) :  St.  Peter,  St.  Margaret,  St.  Mary  Magdalene,  and  Andrew 
of  Padua,  Correggio ;  Daughter  of  Herodias  with  the  head  of  St.  John,  Titian ;  Christ  on  the  Mount  of 
Olives,  P.Veronese;  Stag-hunt,  Velasquez;  Wolf-hunt,  Rubens;  Virgin  and  Child,  and  Charles  I.  and 
Henrietta-Maria  (full-lengths),  Vandyke;  Hermit  Praying,  G.  Douw;  Boy  blowing  Bubbles,  Netscher; 
Street  in  Utrecht  (sunshine),  De  Hooghe ;  Head  of  Ariadne,  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds ;  Head,  Holbein ;  works 
of  Wynants,  Ruysdael,  Hobbema,  &c. 

In  the  dining-room  of  Bath  House  were  wont  to  meet  Thomas  Moore,  J.  W.  Croker, 
Sydney  Smith,  and  J.  G.  Lockhart;  Dr.  Coplestone,  Bishop  of  Llandaff;  Rogers, 
Hallam,  Chantrey,  Wilkie,  and  Theodore  Hook. 

Bedford,  Duke  of,  No.  6,  Belgrave-square  :  the  mansion  contains  a  small  but  very 
choice  collection  of  Dutch  pictures,  &c. 

Here  are :  Herodias  with  the  Head  of  John  the  Baptist,  by  Giorgione ;  study  of  Two  Dogs,  by  Titian ; 
Twelfth  Night,  by  Jan  Steen ;  Interior,  by  Bassen  and  Bolemberg ;  the  Nativity,  by  A.  Werf ;  Travellers 
by  I.  Ostade ;  Landscape,  by  Ruysdael ;  Moses  treading  on  Pharaoh's  Crown,  by  N.  Poussin ;  Gulliver 
amongst  the  Houyhnhnms,  by  Gilpin;  Four  Cuyps,  small  but  excellent;  Dutch  Courtship,  by  A. 
Brouwer ;  Little  Girl,  by  Rembrandt ;  the  Pont  Neuf  at  Paris,  by  P.  Wouvermans  ;  Pair  of  Landscapes, 
by  Salvator  Rosa ;  the  Death  of  Hippolytus,  study  by  Rubens ;  River  View,  by  Van  der  Capella ;  Sabine 
Mountain  City,  by  G.  Poussin ;  the  Tribute  Money,  by  Sir  G.  Hayter ;  Village  Fete,  by  Teniers  (por- 
traits) ;  Going  out  Hawking,  and  Landscape  and  Cattle,  by  Paul  Potter ;  Landscape,  by  A.  and  S. 
Both;  Heads  in grUaille,  by  Vandyke;  Dead  Christ,  by  Guercino ;  Sunset,  Claude. 

Beenal,  Ralph,  Esq.,  No.  93,  Eaton-square.  Here  Mr.  Bernal  assembled  his  rare- 
collection  of  Works  of  Art,  including  ancient  Jewellery,  Armour  and  Arms,  Seals  and 
Rings,  Medals,  Bronzes,  Carvings,  Clocks  and  Watches,  Enamels,  Pottery  and  Porce- 
lain, Glass,  Pictures,  Plate  and  Furniture,  the  sale  of  which  by  auction  at  the  house 
occupied  32  days,  and  realized  61,964/.  11*.  3d.  The  books  and  prints,  seven  days, 
6587/.  2s.  6d.     Thirty-nine  days,  68,551Z.  13*.  9d. 

Beedgewater  House  (Earl  of  Ellesmere),  on  the  east  side  of  the  Green  Park,  adjoins 
Spencer  House,  and  has  its  south  or  entrance  front  in  Cleveland-row,  named  from  that 
"  beautiful  fury,"  Barbara  Duchess  of  Cleveland,  to  whom  Charles  II.  presented  Berk- 
shire House,  which  formerly  stood  here.  The  new  mansion,  designed  by  Sir  Charles 
Barry,  R.A.,  is  almost  a  square:  south  front  142  feet  6  inches;  west  122  feet.  The 
elevations  and  details  are  mostly  from  palaces  of  Rome  and  Venice ;  the  chimney -shafts 
form  architectural  features ;  the  main  cornice  is  richly  carved  with  flowers,  and  the 
second-floor  string-course,  a  folded  ribbon,  is  very  picturesque.  The  fenestration  is 
very  characteristic :  the  principal  windows  have  arched  pediments,  each  filled  with 
arabesque  foliage,  and  a  shield  with  the  monogram  of  E  E  entwined,  dos-a-dos ;  in  the 
panel  beneath  is  the  Bridgewater  motto  "  Sic  donee  f  the  first-floor  window-dressings 
have  elegant  festoons  of  fruit  and  foliage;  and  the  balustrade  is  surmounted  with 
sculpture.  The  entrance-porch  on  the  south  is  inscribed,  "  Restauratum  1849 ;"  and 
the  keystone  of  the  arched  doorway  bears  a  lion  rampant,  the  crest  of  the  Earl  of 
Ellesmere.  The  picture-gallery,  on  the  north  side,  is  the  height  of  the  two  floors,  110 
feet  long,  and  has  a  separate  entrance  for  the  public  :  it  is  lighted  by  glazed  panels  in 
the  coved  ceiling,  at  night,  from  burners  outside. 


MANSIONS.  545 


This  renowned  Collection  was  formed  principally  from  the  gallery  of  the  Duke  of  Orleans,  by  the 
Duke  of  Bridgewater;  whence  it  is  called  the  L'ridgewater  Gallery;  and  being  left  by  the  duke  to  his 
nephew,  the  Marquis  of  Stafford,  it  is  likewise  frequently  called  the  Stafford  Gallery.  It  was  much 
enlarged  by  the  next  possessor,  the  Marquis's  second  son,  Francis,  Karl  of  Ellesmere.  It  is  the  finest 
private  collection  in  England :  from  the  time  of  Raphael,  the  series  is  unequalled ;  and  in  the  Caracci 
school  it  is  without  rival.  Among  the  305  pictures  are  4  by  Raphael,  6  Titian,  7  A.  Caracci,  5  L. 
Caracci,  5  Domenichino,  4  Claude,  8  N.  Poussin,  8  Teniers,  5  Berghem,  6  Cuyp,  6  A.  Ostade,  5  Rem- 
brandt, 7  Vandervelde,  2  Paul  Veronese,  3  Velasquez,  2  Guido,  3  Rubens,  1  Vandyke,  3  G.  Douw,  3  Hob- 
bema,  &c.  The  great  Assumption  of  the  Virgin,  by  Guido,  has  the  chief  honour  of  the  gallery.;  the 
Vierge  au  Palmier  is  one  of  the  purest  Raphaels  iu  England ;  the  Seven  Sacraments  of  N.  Poussin,  and 
Moses  striking  the  Rock,  are  very  fine ;  Cuyp's  Landing  of  Prince  Mauriue  looks  as  if  the  painter  had 
dipped  his  pencil  in  sunlight.  Here,  also,  are  Turner's  Gale  at  Sea,  nearly  equal  to  the  finest  Vander- 
velde in  the  collection;  De  la  Roche's  large  picture  of  Charles  I.  in  the  Guard-room;  a  Wilson  equal  to 
Niobe ;  and  the  Chandos  Portrait  of  Shakspeare,  purchased  by  Lord  Ellesmere  at  Stowe,  in  1848,  for 
355  guineas :  it  is  presumed  to  have  been  painted  by  Burbage,  the  actor;  was  left  by  Taylor,  the  Poet's 
Hamlet,  to  Sir  W.  Davenant ;  was  possessed  by  Betterton  the  actor,  and  Mrs.  Barry  the  actress :  and 
must  be  regarded  as  the  most  authentic  likeness  of  Shakspeare.  The  collection  is  valued  at  nearly 
250,0002. :  it  vies  with  the  Esterhazy  and  Lichteustein  galleries,  at  Vienna ;  the  Manfrini  gallery,  at 
Venice ;  the  Zambeccari  collection,  at  Bologna :  and  the  Borghese,  Colonna,  Sciarra,  and  Doria  collec- 
tions, at  Rome. 

Buckingham  House,  Pall  Mall,  built  by  Soane,  R.A.,  for  the  Duke  of  Buckingham,  ,  it4  *^\ 
has  been  purchased  by  the  Government  for  the  office  of  the  Minister-at- War,  thus  placing  i  ^X 
the  War-office  very  near  to  the  Ordnance-office.  Q*\  **      i 

Burlington  House,  No.  49,  Piccadilly,  was  originally  built  for  Richard  Boyle,  IA^ 
second  Earl  of  Burlington,  by  Sir  John  Denham,  Surveyor  of  the  Works  to  Charles  II. 
Horace  Walpole  has  given  currency  to  the  story  that  Lord  Burlington,  "  when  asked 
why  he  built  his  house  so  far  out  of  town,  replied,  because  he  was  determined  to  have 
no  building  beyond  him."  A  similar  anecdote,  however,  is  told  of  Peterborough  House, 
Alilbank ;  Northumberland  House ;  and  of  other  houses  on  the  verge  of  the  spreading 
town;  and  it  could  not  have  been  said  with  truth  of  Burlington  House,  because 
Clarendon  House  and  Berkeley  House  were  being  built  to  the  west  of  it  at  the  very 
same  time.     The  three  houses  just  named  are  thus  mentioned  by  Pepys : — 

20th  Feb.  1664-5.— Next  that  (Lord  Clarendon's)  is  my  Lord  Barkeley  beginning  another  on  one 
side,  and  Sir  J.  Denham  on  the  other. 

23th  Sept.  1668. — Thence  to  my  Lord  Burlington's  house,  the  first  time  I  ever  was  there,  it  being 
the  house  built  by  Sir  John  Denham,  next  to  Clarendon-house. 

The  site  was  previously  occupied  by  a  farmstead.  The  house  built  by  Denham  was 
plain  and  well-proportioned,  without  any  architectural  display.  A  print  by  Kipp  shows 
this  house  in  the  year  1700,  with  its  quaint  gardens,  and  beyond  them  the  country, 
now  covered  by  Regent-street  and  Portland-place ;  the  court-yard  is  enclosed  by  a  wall 
of  moderate  height,  in  front  of  which  are  planted  large  trees ;  and  the  carriage  entrance 
is  through  two  plain  piers.  Lord  Burlington,  the  architect,  added  a  new  Portland 
stone  front  to  the  mansion ;  and  a  grand  colonnade,  borrowed  from  a  palace  by  Palladio, 
at  Vicenza.  In  the  centre  of  the  wall  was  built,  in  place  of  Denham's  plain  gateway, 
an  archway  of  triumphal  design ;  and  there  are  two  semicircular  side  entrances.  Horace 
Walpole  was  in  Italy  when  these  embellishments  were  completed,  and  he  thus  tells 
their  impression  upon  him  after  his  return : — "  As  we  have  few  samples  of  architecture 
more  antique  and  imposing  than  that  colonnade,  I  cannot  help  mentioning  the  effect  it 
had  upoH  myself.  I  had  not  only  never  seen  it,  but  had  never  heard  of  it,  at  least 
with  any  attention,  when  soon  after  my  return  from  Italy,  I  was  invited  to  a  ball  at 
Burlington-house.  As  I  passed  under  the  gate  by  night,  it  could  not  strike  me.  At 
daybreak,  looking  out  of  the  window  to  see  the  sun  rise,  I  was  surprised  with  the 
vision  of  the  colonnade  that  fronted  me.  It  seemed  one  of  those  edifices  in  fairy  tales 
that  are  raised  by  genii  in  a  night-time." 

The  Doric  colonnade  and  gateway  are  attributed  to  Colin  Campbell,  an  architect  of 
some  skill,  employed  by  Lord  Burlington,  who,  when  the  designs  were  made,  was  but 
twenty -three  years  of  age :  still  they  were  claimed  for  his  Lordship,  though  he  is  not 
known  to  have  urged  his  own  right.  Later  in  life  he  designed  many  architectural 
works  which  render  the  eulogy  of  Pope  in  his  fourth  "  Moral  Essay  " — the  Epistle  on 
the  Use  of  Ricbes — which  he  had  addressed  to  the  Earl  of  Burlington,  by  no  means 
exaggerated : — 

"  You,  too,  proceed !  make  falling  arts  your  care ; 

Erect  new  wonders,  and  the  old  repair ; 

Jones  and  Palladio  to  themselves  restore, 

And  be  whate'er  Vitruvius  was  beLre." 


546  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

In  Burlington  House  the  Earl  delighted  to  assemble  the  leading  artists  and  men  of 
taste  of  his  time ;  poets  and  philosophers — the  learned,  the  witty,  and  the  wise.  Kent, 
the  architect  and  landscape-gardener,  had  apartments  in  the  mansion,  where  he  re- 
mained until  his  death,  in  1748.  Here  Handel  resided  with  the  Earl  for  three  years ; 
and  here  Pope,  Arbuthnot,  and  Gay,  often  met.  The  latter  poet,  in  his  Trivia,  after 
lamenting  the  disappearance  of  the  famed  structures  and  stately  piles  in  the  Strand, 
thus  refers  to  the  Piccadilly  mansion  : — 

"  Yet  Burlington's  fair  palace  still  remains: 
Beauty  within,  without  proportion  reigns. 
Beneath  his  eye  declining  art  revives, 
The  wall  with  animated  pictures  lives; 
Here  Handel  strikes  the  string — the  melting  strain 
Transports  the  soul,  and  thrills  through  every  vein ; 
There  oft  I  enter  (but  with  cleaner  shoes), 
For  Burlington's  beloved  by  every  Muse." 

Sir  William  Chambers  has  described  the  mansion  as  one  of  the  finest  pieces  of  archi- 
tecture in  Europe,  "  behind  an  old  brick  wall  in  Piccadilly." 

"  The  interior,"  says  Pennant,  "  built  on  the  models  of  Palladio,  and  adapted  more 
to  the  climate  of  Lombardy,  and  to  the  banks  of  the  Adige  or  the  Brenta,  than  to  the 
Thames,  is  gloomy  and  destitute  of  gaiety  and  cheerfulness."  Lord  Burlington  con- 
verted "  Ten- Acres  Field,"  at  the  back  of  his  gardens,  into  a  little  town,  bounded  by 
Bond-street  and  Swallow-street;  and  in  1719  he  sold  a  piece  of  ground  in  Boyle-street 
for  a  school-house,  which  he  designed  for  the  trustees. 

Lord  Burlington  died  in  1753,  when  the  title  became  extinct,  and  Burlington  House 
passed  to  the  Duke  of  Devonshire.  Several  alterations  were  made  in  the  interior  by 
Ware.  The  Duke  of  Portland,  Prime  Minister  to  George  III.,  died  in  this  mansion 
in  1809,  a  few  days  after  he  had  resigned  the  seals  of  office.  In  the  western  wing 
were  tetnporarily  deposited  the  Elgin  Marbles,  before  they  were  removed  to  the  British 
Museum.  In  1814,  White's  Club  gave  here  to  the  Allied  Sovereigns,  then  in  England, 
a  grand  ball,  which  cost  9849Z. 

The  lease  expired  in  1809,  and  there  was  some  talk  of  taking  the  mansion  down, 
when  a  renewal  was  obtained  by  Lord  George  Cavendish  (afterwards  Earl  of  Burling- 
ton), son  of  William,  fourth  Duke  of  Devonshire,  and  grandson  of  the  architect. 
Lord  George  Cavendish  repaired  all  those  portions  of  the  edifice  erected  by  Lord 
Burlington ,-  and  by  raising  the  Venetian  windows  of  the  south  front,  completed  the 
Earl's  design  for  this  facade.  Lord  George  Cavendish  converted  the  riding-house  and 
stables  on  the  east  side  of  the  court-yard  into  a  dwelling,  as  an  appendage  to  the 
mansion,  and  built  other  stables  behind  the  screen-wall.  His  Lordship  also  restored  the 
terrace  and  terrace-steps  in  the  garden ;  and  converted  a  narrow  slip  of  ground  on  the 
west  side  of  the  house  and  garden  into  the  "  Burlington  Arcade,"  built  by  Ware,  in 
1819 :  from  the  rental  of  which  the  Cavendish  family  are  said  to  have  derived  but 
4000J.  a  year,  although  the  actual  produce  (from  sub-leases)  is  stated  to  amount  to  8640/. 
On  the  east  side  of  the  gardens  is  the  high  range  of  buildings  called  "  The  Albany  j" 
but  all  its  windows  are  shut  out  from  view  of  the  gardens. 

The  state  apartments  of  Burlington  House  are  on  the  first  floor.     Proceeding  east- 

0*f\  ward  from  the  great  staircase,  they  form  a  suite  of  six  rooms,  richly  ornamented  and 
|  gilt.     The  ceiling  of  the  saloon  was  painted  by  Sir  James  Thornhill.     The  great  stair- 
case was  painted  for  the  Earl  of  Burlington  by  Marco  Rico  and  his  uncle  Sebastian ; 
V\      •  the  same  artists  painted  the  ceilings  of  the  state  dining-room,  and  the  south-east  ante- 
{  room  to  the  great  drawing-room.    Altogether,  Burlington  House  merited  much  of  the 
*^        praise  applied  to  it  in  1826 — that  it  was  "  the  only  town  residence  really  fit  for  a 
r\         '  British  nobleman  j"  but  since  that  period  some  costly  additions  have  been  made  to  the 
mansions  of  the  metropolis.     The  edifice  and  grounds  are  said  to  occupy  about  eight 
acres.     The  south  front  of  the  house  is  130  feet  in  extent,  and  the  height  is  48  feet. 
A  ground-plan  is  given  in  Britton's  Public  Buildings  of  London. 

The  entrance  archway  may  be  said  to  have  considerable  pretensions  to  grandeur.  It 
has  a  lofty  pediment,  flanked  by  the  supporters  of  the  Burlington  arms,  and  supported 
by  four  rusticated  columns,  coupled.  It  is  commemorated  by  Hogarth  in  a  caricatura 
print  (1731),  inscribed  "  The  Man  of  Taste,"  containing  a  view  of  Burlington  Gate : 


MANSIONS.  547 


on  the  summit  is  Kent  (served  by  Lord  Burlington  as  a  labourer),  flourishing  his 
palette  and  pencils  over  Michael  Angelo  and  Raphael :  lower  down  is  Pope  white- 
washing the  front,  and  bespattering  the  Duke  of  Chandos  in  the  street.  Ralph  refers 
to  the  front  as  "  the  most  expensive  wall  in  England :  the  height  wonderfully  pro- 
portioned to  the  length,  and  the  decorations  both  simple  and  magnificent :  the  grand 
entrance  is  elegant  and  beautiful :  and,  by  covering  the  house  entirely  from  the  eye, 
gives  pleasure  and  surprise,  at  the  opening  of  the  whole  front  with  the  area  before  it 
at  once."  Any  passenger  who  has  seen  the  mansion  through  the  great  gateway  from 
the  footpath  may  appreciate  the  above  effect. 

Burlington  House,  with  its  gardens,  was  purchased  by  Government,  in  1854,  for 
140,000?.  The  extent  of  the  grounds  is  about  3|  acres.  The  building  is  now  occu- 
pied by  the  Royal  Society,  the  Senate  of  the  University  of  London,  the  Geographical 
Society,  the  Linnean  Society,  and  the  Chemical  Society.  No  income  is  derived  from 
the  property ;  the  annual  outgoings  and  cost  of  maintaining  it  average  470£. 

On  the  north  side  of  the  gardens  was  commenced  in  1866,  a  building  for  the  Uni- 
versity of  London,  with  an  entrance  from  the  street  we  call  Burlington  Gardens. 

Cambeidge  House,  94,  Piccadilly — the  site  once  occupied  by  an  inn — has  been 
known  by  the  names  of  Egremont,  Cholmondeley,  and  Cambridge  House,  from  the 
names  of  its  various  tenants.  Here  died  July  8th,  1850,  Adolphus,  Duke  of  Cam- 
bridge, youngest  son  of  George  III.,  born  1774.  During  the  Cambridge  occupation, 
Her  Majesty  was  leaving  the  house,  when  she  was  assaulted  by  the  last  of  the  imbeciles 
who  hoped  to  become  celebrated  by  such  a  guilty  proceeding. 

One  of  its  early  noble  tenants  used  to  take  his  chop  and  spend  his  evening  at  "  the  Glo'ster  Coffee 
House,"  when  his  lady  had  a  rout.  "  He  didn't  care  for  such  things,"  he  said,  "  and  liked  to  be  quiet." 
The  third  Earl  Cholmondeley  acquired  Houghton  by  marrying  Sir  Robert  Walpole's  only  legitimate 
daughter.  The  son  of  the  first  Marquis  Cholmondeley  (Lord  Malpas)  embraced  the  Roman  Catholic 
faith,  was  converted  from  his  conversion  by  the  mother  of  the  lady  whom  he  afterwards  married,  and 
subsequently  left  the  Established  Church  for  the  Wesleyan  connexion. — AthentEitm. 

After  the  death  of  the  Duke  of  Cambridge,  this  mansion  was  the  town  residence  of 
Viscount  Palmerston ;  from  hence  his  Lordship  was  buried  in  Westminster  Abbey, 
October  27,  1865.     Cambridge  House  is  now  the  Naval  and  Military  Club  House. 

Chesterfield  House  (the  Earl  of  Chesterfield),  South  Audley-street,  was  built  by 
Ware,  1749,  for  Philip,  fourth  Earl,  who  describes  the  boudoir  as  "  the  gayest  and 
most  cheerful  room  in  England,"  and  the  library  "the  finest  room  in  London  f  and 
they  remain  unsurpassed.  The  columns  of  the  screen  facing  the  court-yard,  and  the 
superb  marble  staircase  (each  step  a  single  block  twenty  feet  long),  are  from  Canons 
(Duke  of  Chandos's) ;  and  the  gilt  hall-lantern,  for  eighteen  candles,  from  Houghton 
(Sir  Robert  Walpole's).  In  the  library,  above  the  bookcases,  are  portraits  cf  eminent 
authors  contemporary  with  the  fourth  Earl  of  Chesterfield,  who  wrote  here  his  cele- 
brated Letters  to  his  Son.  Under  the  cornice  of  the  room,  extending  all  round  in 
capitals  twelve  inches  high,  are  these  lines  from  Horace  : 

NUNC-VKTBEtIM-LIBBIS,injirC-S0MH'O,KT-IlfEKTIBtIS-HOBIS. 
DUCEBB-SOI,ICII^'JnCrirDA.*OBLlVIA"VII2B. 

Throughout  the  room  are  busts  of  ancient  orators,  besides  vases  and  bronzes  and 
modern  statuettes.  The  windows  look  upon  the  finest  private  garden  in  London,  and 
in  the  lofty  trees  are  a  few  rooks. 

In  that  very  pleasant  table-book,  Host  and  Ouest,  by  Mr.  Kirwan,  we  are  reminded  that  the  great 
Lord  Chesterfield  was  the  first  nobleman  who  made  the  most  strenuous  efforts  to  introduce  French 
cookery.  He  engaged  as  his  cook  La  Chapelle,  a  descendant  of  the  famous  cook  of  Louis  XIV.  La 
Chapclle  published,  in  1733,  a  treatise  on  Cookery,  in  three  volumes,  which  is  now  rarely  met  with, 
like  Alexis  Soyer's  books,  La  Chapelle's  Modern  Cook  was  printed  for  the  author :  it  was  sold  by  Nicho- 
las Prevost,  a  Frenchman,  over  against  Southampton-street,  in  the  Strand.  About  this  period  Chester- 
field was  Lord  Steward  of  the  Household  to  George  II.  His  dinners  and  suppers  were  deemed  perfec- 
tion ;  and  these  entertainments  were  among  the  few  items  in  which  his  expenditure  was  liberal.  Lord 
Chesterfield  lived  till  1773;  and,  says  Mr.  Kirwan,  "  I  more  than  once  heard  the  late  Earl  of  Essex  say, 
more  than  thirty  years  ago,  at  Brooks's  Club,  that  he  remembered,  as  a  boy  of  fourteen  or  fifteen,  seeing 
the  Earl  seated  on  a  rustic  seat  outside  the  courtyard  of  his  house  in  May  Fair.  Chesterfield  House  was, 
ninety-one  years  ago,  at  the  very  extremity  of  London,  and  all  beyond  it  was  an  expanse  of  green 
fields." 

Clarence  House,  on  the  east  side  of  Stable-yard,  St.  James's  Palace,  was  built  for 

V  V  2 


\<\\Q 


548  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

the  Duke  of  Clarence,  afterwards  King  William  IV. :  it  has  a  handsome  portico  in  two  ' 
stories,  the  lower  Doric,  and  the  upper  Corinthian.    Here  resided  the  Duchess  of  Kent. 
The  mansion  is  now  the  town  residence  of  Prince  Alfred. 

De  Grey,  Earl,  No.  4,  St.  James's-square,  possesses  a  choice  gallery  of  pictures, 
including  portraits,  mostly  whole-lengths,  by  Vandyke  ;  "  Titian's  Daughter  "  holding 
a  casket  ;  a  pair  of  landscapes  by  Claude ;  a  fine  picture  by  Salvator  Rosa ;  and  a  few 
examples  of  the  Dutch  school. 

Devonshire  House  (Duke  of  Devonshire),  Piccadilly,  occupies  the  site  of  Berkeley 
House,  formerly  "  Hay  Hill  Farm :"  it  was  built  by  William  Kent  for  the  third 
Duke  of  Devonshire,  at  the  cost  of  20,000Z.,  including  1000Z.  for  the  design.  It  was 
also  called  Stratton  House. 

Berkeley  House  was  built  about  1665  for  John,  Lord  Berkeley  and  Stratton,  and  is  stated  by  Evelyn 
to  have  cost  "  neere  30,0002. :"  it  was  remarkable  for  its  great  number  of  chimneys,  noble  state-rooms, 
cedar  staircase,  the  walls  painted  by  Laguerre,  and  gardens  "  incomparable  by  reason  of  the  inequalities 
of  the  ground,  and  a  pretty  piscina,"  and  holly-hedges  on  the  terrace,  advised  by  Evelyn.  The  Princess 
Anne,  afterwards  Queen  Anne,  resided  here,  from  her  leaving  Whitehall,  until  1697 :  in  the  Postman, 
No.  94  (1695),  is  advertised  a  silver  cistern,  valued  at  7501.,  stolen  out  of  Berkeley  House.  The  first 
Duke  of  Devonshire  purchased  the  mansion  in  1697;  and  March  31,  he  entertained  King  William  HI. 
at  dinner  there.  The  duke  died  here  in  1701 :  it  was  destroyed,  October  16, 1733,  by  fire,  through  the 
boiling  over  of  a  glue-pot  while  the  workmen  were  at  breakfast ;  the  house  was  entirely  consumed,  but 
the  library,  pictures,  medals,  and  other  curiosities  were  saved. 

"  Lord  Pembroke  (Shakspeare's  Lord  Pembroke),  Donne,  Waller,  Denham,  and  Dryden  read  their 
verses  here.  Devonshire  House,  towards  the  close  of  the  last  century,  was  famous  as  the  head-quarters 
of  Whig  politics,  and  for  the  fascinations  of  its  beautiful  Duchess,  whose  verses  on  William  Tell  pro- 
duced a  burst  of  admiration  from  Coleridge : — 

'Oh,  lady,  nurs'd  in  pomp  and  pleasure, 
Where  learnt  you  that  heroic  measure  ?* 
She  learnt  it  from  her  race  (the  Spencers);  from  their  family  tutor,  Sir  William  Jones;  and  from  her 
own  cordial  nature." — Leigh  Sunt. 

Devonshire  House  has  an  unpretending  exterior,  with  an  ill-matched  portico :  the 
old  entrance,  by  a  double  flight  of  steps,  was  removed  in  1840  j  and  in  the  rear  of  the 
house  has  been  erected  a  state  staircase,  with  white  scagliola  walls,  marble  stair,  gilt- 
brass  balustrades,  and  glass  hand-rail.  The  whole  interior  was  re-decorated  for  William 
Spencer,  sixth  Duke  of  Devonshire,  except  a  small  room,  blue  and  silver,  designed  by 
the  celebrated  Duchess.  The  Grand  Saloon,  originally  the  vestibule,  is  superbly  deco- 
rated and  painted  in  the  rich  style  of  Le  Brun,  and  hung  with  Lyons  brocade-silk ; 
portraits  over  the  doors,  &c.  The  Ball-room,  white  and  gold,  is  hung  with  French  silk 
brocatelle,  blue  and  gold,  and  a  few  magnificent  pictures.  In  this  superb  room  took 
place  the  first  amateur  performance  of  Sir  Edward  Bulwer  Lytton's  comedy  of  Not  so 
Bad  as  we  Seem,  for  the  benefit  of  the  Guild  of  Literature  and  Art,  before  Her  Majesty 
and  Prince  Albert,  May  16,  1851.  The  grounds  of  Devonshire  House  are  a  fine 
specimen  of  town  landscape-gardening.  Upon  the  gate-piers  in  Piccadilly  are  gar- 
landed vases,  gracefully  sculptured.  Among  the  pictures  are  Dobson's  portrait  of  Sir 
Thomas  Browne ;  Lord  Burlington,  the  architect,  by  Kneller ;  and  Lord  Richard 
Cavendish,  by  Reynolds.  In  a  glass-case  are  "  the  Devonshire  Gems,"  564  cut  stones 
and  medals.  Here  is  the  renowned  Libro  di  Verita,  in  which  Claude  Lorraine  made 
drawings  of  all  the  pictures  he  ever  executed :  they  number  about  200,  and  on  the 
back  of  each  is  Claude's  monogram,  the  place  for  which  the  picture  was  painted,  usually 
the  person  ordering  it,  and  the  year,  the  "  Claudio  fecit"  never  wanting.  By  reference  to 
this  volume,  the  authenticity  of  reputed  Claudes  may  be  tested;  hence  it  is  called  "  the 
Book  of  Truth ;"  it  is  well  known  by  Earlom's  engravings.  Upon  the  back  of  the  first 
drawing  is  inscribed,  in  Claude's  own  handwriting. 

"  Audi  10  dagosto  1677.  Ce  livre  Aupartien  a  moy  que  je  faict  durant  rria  vie.  Claudio  Gillee,  dit  le 
Loraine.    A  Roma  ce  23  Aos.  1680." 

Among  the  bibliographical  rarities  are  "the  Kemble  Plays,"  and  other  old  English 
plays,  the  richest  collection  in  the  world,  annotated  by  the  Duke  of  Devonshire ;  also,  a 
large  collection  of  playbills ;  early  editions  of  Shakspeare ;  designs,  by  Inigo  Jones,  for 
buildings,  sketches  from  pictures,  costumes  for  characters  in  masques,  scenery,  &c.  Tho 
exquisite  taste  and  knowledge  displayed  by  the  late  Duke  of  Devonshire  in  collecting 
these  valuable  treasures  in  art  and  literature  have  been  respected  by  the  present  Duke 
in  preserving  so  valuable  a  collection  intact. 


MANSIONS.  549 


Dohchester  House  (Mr.  R.  S.  Hertford),  Park-lane,  built  by  Lewis  Vulliamy, 
1851-3  :  a  parallelogram,  nearly  as  large  as  Bridgewater  House,  faced  with  Portland- 
stone  ;  the  principal  cornice  and  frieze  richly  carved  by  C.  H.  Smith ;  the  chief  pro- 
jecting stones  are  each  8  feet  4  inches  square ;  the  external  walls  are  3  feet  10  inches 
thick.  The  grand  staircase  is  of  marble.  The  mansion  occupies  the  site  of  old  Dor- 
chester House,  in  which  diedtfie  Marquis  of  Hertford,  1842. 

■ory.                                                        ^  r.  Hertford's  fine  collection  of  pictures  was  temporarily  placed  in 

*  jk  j£  /        &  i  Lawrence's),  in  Russell-square.  The  collection  includes  portraits 

/  ^  AA/fafrf  lellini,  S.  del  Piombo,  Titian,  and  Tintoretto;  two  of  the  famous 

Ronnrl    r-Jrmc  i  /4#  ^  .ico),  from  the  Giustiniani  Palace;  among  the  Dutch  pictures  is  a 

nOUSC  JO%9*  ;ma;  here  are  exquisite  small  pictures  by  Murillo,  Greuze,  and 

iver  House,  Whiiehan  The  nfflrelvermans' Pau^otter' ^•du^ar^m' W-^an<^erve^e;  ^iorgione' 

1  c  it.  '  _,  ily  and  Saints,  by  Andrea  del  Sarto;  Holy  Family  and  St.  John, 
fie    ftCOUlSn    becrelaiy,     Which    js' Claude;  Rubens'  masterly  sketches  of  his  Entry  of  Henry  IV. 

now  having  the  domed  roof  of  its f  the  Virgin  (Antwerp)-  *he  coUection  may  be  seen  bv recom- 

ble     circular    entrsnce-hall     re-  N  w,  •«.  i  n  •<-    «,    n         u.     a        ^ 

pri    wac  iho  „,„.:„„  „,      .  l),  Whitehall,  opposite  the   Banqueting  House,  has  a 

uu,  was  me  occasion  of  a  famous        i         ,   .5,     „        e     ?,.   ,,".,.       »    ., 
Icism  of  Lord  North's  in  the  davs;'  and  was  buiIfc  by  Payne  for  feir  Matthew  *eather- 
S  Windness  ■      ^^  *°  Viscount  Melbourne,  who  sold  it  to  the  Duke  of 

i  was   told   that   Ihp      P  •'  picturesque  Ionic  portico  and  the  domed  circular  hall  ; 

JS  was  having  a-  colonnade  of idenceofthePrinceot 'Wales,  being  distinguished  for  its 
rs  ei'ected  at  Carlton  House  and  witfcicism  thus  told  by  Southey  '^Espriella's  Letters. 
the  Duke  of  York  had  added  this3  Lord  North  after  he  had  become  blind' in  the  latter 
d   hall     to    York    Housp     wh  Then  the  Duke  of  York,  it  should  seem,  has  been  sent 

he  professed  concern  that  7nemce  of  Wales  is  put  ^  the  Pilloi>" 
2  was  put  in   the  round  house  'e.v)>  Park-lane,  contains  a  fine  collection  of  130  pictures, 
the  Other  in  the  pillory.  schools  to  their  source. 

lui_|L      ,_„_  iphael's  earliest  works,  and  the  Last  Judgment,  by  Fiesole,  both 

ivieioourne.  figures  of  Saints,  by  Raphael,  in  tempera;  the  Virgin  and  Child, 

2  Duke  Of  York  <;nh<u«Tii omh,    „„    scPb>  byFraneia;  Sta.  Caterina,  by  Lo  Spagna;  two  figures  of 

urK  SUDSequeiltJy  ex-  perugino;  Virgin  and  Child,  enthroned,  by  A.  Dasisi;  altar-piece 
gea  nouses  With  the  first  Lord  del  Vaga;  al  tar-piece,  Adoration  of  the  Shepherds,  by  B.Peruzzi; 
OUme  (father  Of  Olieen  ViC  ^tne  Magdalen,  by  Carlo  Dolce;  four  Illuminations  by  Andrea 
'c  promi.i,\    „  v.     v.    j  .        »v  L.  Caracci;  a  seated  Cardinal,  by  Guercino;  curious  specimens 

riemier;,  WHO  naa  a  mansion  lli;  two  Colossal  Heads,  by  Correggio,  and  a  reputed  replica  of  his 
SCadilly  On  the  present  Site  Of  the  '  tm*ist>  °y  Albert  Durer;  Celebration  of  the  Mass,  by  Van  Eyck; 
iv         "i'ho        hnncoc        «^^k«^~„^  aaster,  by  Rembrandt  (half-length),  fron  the  Stowe  Collection: 
HUUbes        eXCnanKea  jndscape,  by  Caspar  Poussin ;  Venetian  *%nr,  very  fine,  by  Cana- 
IS,   anu      lOrk     House     was     for  lire  also  several  pieces  of  antique  Sculptv.ro;  and  a  seated  Venus, 

r  years    known    as    Melbourne  ^k  Slave> by  Hiram  Powers- 

6-  'r  Cambridge),  Piccadilly,  corner  of  Park -lane,  was  pre- 

'e  the  brilliant     and     attractive  -re  were  deposited  the  Elgin  Marbles.     Lord  Byron 

of  the  first  Lord  held  her  gay  i" a  stone-shop,"  and 

is.    and    received    her    distin-  'nerai  mart 

Cd    admirers.        Her   SOn'S    Wife     ^  blocks  of  art."— English  Bardt  and  Scotch  Reviewers. 

rayward    Lady  Caroline    Lamb,'  >  to  Burlington  House,  and  to  the  British  Museum  in 

here,    and   Lord    Byron   was   a  archased  by  the  late  Duke  of  Gloucester,  on  his  mar- 

Mtf  Visitor.       Both  these  ladies  In  the  state  drawing-room  is  a  needlework  carpet, 

in  the  house.  ucester  upon  her  birth-day,  by  84  ladies  of  the  aristo- 

sequently  the  Second  Lord  Mel-  nnpartment.     The  Duchess  died  here  April  30,  1857, 

:e  parted  With  the  house  to  Lord  hew,  the  Duke  of  Cambridge,  the  unexpired  lease  of 

,  better  known  as  the  Whig  pol! 

,  Welbore  Ellis,  and  its  name     *w   i.   ■    <-   \  tt        n  i     ,.  i 

,„,,„   ,,,„,,«     „\>n\>~~A     *~       "        ■  of  \Y  estmmster),  Upper  Grosvenor-street,  has  a  mag- 

mce  more    changed,  to  Dover >  r>         4\    •     •».•   -tin*  it  *\     j. 

(screen,  lloman-Donc:  it  is  110  feet  long,  and  has  two 

culptured  with  the  Grosvenor  arms,  and  panels  of  the 
•  '  "lour  reasons  aboVU  tut!  root-entrances ;  between  the  columns  are  massive  candelabra, 
which,  with  the  metal  gates,  are  composed  of  demi- figures,  rich  foliage,  fruit  and  flowers, 
and  armorial  designs.  The  whole  screen  is  picturesque  and  elegant,  and  was  completed 
in  1842  by  T.  Cundy,  the  architect  of  the  western  wing  of  the  mansion  (the  Picture- 
gallery)  in  Park-lane :  the  latter  consists  of  a  Corinthian  colonnade,  with  six  statues 
and  an  attic,  after  the  manner  of  Trajan's  Forum  at  Rome ;  on  the  acroteria  are 
vases  and  a  balustrade,  and  between  the  columns  are  rich  festoons  of  fruit  and  flowers ; 


!/o.     House.    • 

ssing   by  Lord   Derby's 


juatfAftfaiPS   OF  LONDON. 


new    bouse    ii 


E 


Villi:. 


illiam  IV.  :  it  has  a  handsome  portico  in  two 
ford  Place  I  noticed  yesterday  that  the  -j.  thian.    Here  res;ded  the  Duchess  of  Kent. 
white   hoarding 


*re),  Piccadil 
•was  huilt  1 
)l.,  including 


^ord  Berkeley 

jbr  its  great  ni 

gardens  "  incc 

«res  on  the  ten 

Sier  leaving  W 

i  at  7501.,  stol 

fl  and  March 

as  destroyed, 

it  breakfast; 

'ere  saved. 

,  Donne,  Wal 

if  the  last  cen 

'  utit'ul  Duche. 

^omt>  and  plei 
$.t  heroic  mea 
■eir  family  tul 


which  has  entirely 
ned  it  from  view  during  the  past  six  or 
i  months  is  down  at  last.  They  say  the 
i  will  be  renamed,  and  will  be  known  in 
rutttre  as  Derby  House.  *  This  does  not 
er  much,  as^We  name  of  the  builder 
be  kept  green  in  Stratford  Place  itself. 
itas  Edward  Stratford,  the  second  Earl  of 
orough,  who  built  this  fine  house  in  1775, 
who  with  others  was  responsible  for 
building  of  ^lv    cvl    de    sac    of 

h  it  forms  theUerMi nation.  The  Duke 
it.  Albaas*r^r»e  Estcrhazy,  and  many 
distin^iV^d/  personl  have  lived  in 
„.ice  thatVdate.  The  last 
rd  Colebrooke.  So  soon  as 
She  builders  took  chargeyfi  the 
began  to  destroy  its  olJL  Adonic 
'it  is  a  \ryW  lwuse.^fSl  is  now 
r  than  it  ^sXlyfcXftfrobably  be 
ly  for  occupation  V^fV^  Ve  ^ason  is  in 
swing.  There  once V»4d  &  pillar  in  Strat- 
l  Place  commemorating  the  nava/ victories 

M  exterior,  wi 
7  inappropriately  in  the  year  of  Trafalgar.  \s  removed  i 
•re  are  still  two  fascinating  little  watch-  th  white  scj 
a'B  boxes  on  either  side  of  the  entrance  in  whole  intern 

urd-street.  Ft  ^  T 

c*u^  ....... ai,  originally 

rafecTand  painted  in  the  rich  style  of  Le  Brun,  and 

portraits  over  the  doors,  &c.    The  Ball-room,  white  and 

brocatelle,  hlue  and  gold,  and  a  few  magnificent  pictui 

place  the  first  amateur  performance  of  Sir  Edward  Bu 

Bad  as  we  Seem,  for  the  benefit  of  the  Guild  of  Literate 

and  Prince  Albert,  May  16,  1851.     The  grounds  of 

specimen  of  town  landscape-gardening.     Upon  the  gs 

landed  vases,  gracefully  sculptured.     Among  the  pictur 

Thomas  Browne;   Lord  Burlington,  the  architect,  b; 

Cavendish,  by  Reynolds.     In  a  glass-case  are  "  the  Dc 

and  medals.     Here  is  the  renowned  IAbro  di  Verita,  ii 

drawings  of  all  the  pictures  he  ever  executed :  they  n 

back  of  each  is  Claude's  monogram,  the  place  for  which  t 

the  person  ordering  it,  and  the  year,  the  "  Claudio  fecit"  r 

this  volume,  the  authenticity  of  reputed  Claudes  may  be 

Book  of  Truth;"  it  is  well  known  by  Earlom's  engraving 

drawing  is  inscribed,  in  Claude's  own  handwriting. 

"  Audi  10  dagosto  1677.    Ce  livre  Aupartien  a  moy  que  je  faict  | 
Loraine.    A  Roma  ce  23  Aos.  1680." 


Cf  rince  Alfred 

I  are,  possesses  a  choice  gallery  of  pictures, 

1  y  Vandyke  ;  "  Titian's  Daughter  "  holding 

i  fine  picture  by  Salvator  Rosa ;  and  a  few 


"HUMILIATED 


BRIG 


n 


All  sorts  of  people  are  trying 
their  views  incorporated  in  tl 
Prayer-book.  Among  them 
League  of  the  Church  W 
which,  if  it  succeeds  in  its*< 
will  make  drastic  alterations 
Marriage  Service. 

The  President    is    Miss  A. 
Royden.     Briefly,  the  League 
to  a  bridegroom  undertaking 
dow"  his  wife  with  ali  his  ; 
goods,  a  bride's  promise  to  * 
her  husband,  and  the  cerem 
"  giving  away  "  the  bride. 
"  Untrue  "  Words. 
A    determined    attempt    to 
recognition  of  these  "  reforms 
be  made  when  the  proposals 
revision  of  the  Piayer-book  i 
cussed  in  the  National  Assei 
July. 

Why  these  alterations  i 
manded  was  explained  to  a 
reporter  to-day  by  the  Secr< 
the  League,  Miss  E.  M  Chanc 
The  marriage  service  in  its 
form,  she  said,  "compels  bo 
and  bridegroom  to  take  wor 
their  lips  which  are  not  true.' 
"  It  is  appalling  that  at  on 
most  solemn  moments  of  hi 
woman  should  be  obliged  to 
vow  which  she  has  no  intei 
keeping  " 

"  Obeying"  Quite  Mode 

There  was  no  v^w  of    ol 

until   the   fourteenth  centurj 


Among  the  bibliographical  rarities  are  "the  Kemble 
plays,  the  richest  collection  in  the  world,  annotated  by  the  Duke  of  Devonshire ;  also,  a 
large  collection  of  playbills ;  early  editions  of  Shakspeare ;  designs,  by  Inigo  Jones,  for 
buildings,  sketches  from  pictures,  costumes  for  characters  in  masques,  scenery,  &c.  Tho 
exquisite  taste  and  knowledge  displayed  by  the  late  Duke  of  Devonshire  in  collecting 
these  valuable  treasures  in  art  and  literature  have  been  respected  by  the  present  Duke 
in  preserving  so  valuable  a  collection  intact. 


HANSIOXS.  549 


Dorchester  House  (Mr.  R.  S.  Holford),  Park-lane,  built  by  Lewis  Vulliamy, 
1851—3  :  a  parallelogram,  nearly  as  large  as  Bridgewater  House,  faced  with  Portland- 
stone  ;  the  principal  cornice  and  frieze  richly  carved  by  C.  H.  Smith ;  the  chief  pro- 
jecting stones  are  each  8  feet  4  inches  square ;  the  external  walls  are  3  feet  10  inches 
thick.  The  grand  staircase  is  of  marble.  The  mansion  occupies  the  site  of  old  Dor- 
chester House,  in  which  died  the  Marquis  of  Hertford,  1842. 

While  this  mansion  was  building,  Mr.  Holford's  fine  collection  of  pictures  was  temporarily  placed  in 
the  house  No.  fc'5  (formerly  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence's),  in  Russell-square.  The  collection  includes  portraits 
by  Velasquez,  Vandyke,  Dosso  Dossi,  Bellini,  S.  del  Piombo,  Titian,  and  Tintoretto;  two  of  the  famous 
Caracci  series  (by  Agostino  and  Ludovico),  from  the  Giustiniani  Palace;  among  the  Dutch  pictures  is  a 
long  view  of  Dort,  and  a  large  Hobbema;  here  are  exquisite  small  pictures  by  Murillo,  Greuze,  and 
others;  and  fine  works  by  Teniers,  Wouvermans,  Paul  Potter,  C.  du  Jardin,  VV.  Vandervelde;  Giorgione, 
Bonifazio,  Fra  Bartolomeo;  Holy  Family  and  Saints,  by  Andrea  del  Sarto;  Holy  Family  and  St.  John, 
by  Gaudenzio  di  Ferrara ;  Evening,  by  Claude ;  Rubens'  masterly  sketches  of  his  Entry  of  Henry  IV. 
(Luxembourg) ;  and  the  Assumption  of  the  Virgin  (Antwerp).  The  collection  may  be  seen  by  recom- 
mendation of  known  artists  or  amateurs. 

Dover  House  (Lady  Clifden),  Whitehall,  opposite  the  Banqueting  House,  has  a 
very  tasteful  and  classical  facade,  and  was  built  by  Payne  for  Sir  Matthew  Feather- 
stonhaugh.  It  was  subsequently  sold  to  Viscount  Melbourne,  who  sold  it  to  the  Duke  of 
York,  for  whom  Holland  added  a  picturesque  Ionic  portico  and  the  domed  circular  hall  ; 
which,  and  Carlton  House,  the  residence  of  the  Prince  of  Wales,  being  distinguished  for  its 
screen  of  columns,  gave  rise  to  a  witticism  thus  told  by  Southey  in  Espriella's  Letters. 
The  buildings  being  described  to  Lord  North  after  he  had  become  blind,  in  the  latter 
part  of  his  life,  he  remarked,  "  Then  the  Duke  of  York,  it  should  seem,  has  been  sent 
to  the  Round  House,  and  the  Prince  of  Wales  is  put  in  the  pillory." 

Dudley  House  (Earl  of  Dudley),  Park-lane,  contains  a  fine  collection  of  130  pictures, 
tracing  the  Italian  and  Flemish  schools  to  their  source. 

Here  are  the  Crucifixion,  one  of  Raphael's  earliest  works,  and  the  Last  Judgment,  by  Fiesole,  both 
from  Cardinal  Fesch's  Gallery ;  small  figures  of  Saints,  by  Raphael,  in  tempera ;  the  Virgin  and  Child, 
and  the  Virgin,  Infant  Christ,  and  Joseph,  by  Franeia;  Sta.  Caterina,  by  Lo  Spagna;  two  figures  of 
Saints,  in  pen-and-ink  and  tempera,  byPerugino;  Virgin  and  Child,  enthroned,  byA.Dasisi;  altar-piece 
of  Saints  and  Infant  Christ,  by  Pierino  del  Vaga;  altar-piece,  Adoration  of  the  Shepherds,  by  B.  Peruzzi ; 
the  Death  of  Abel,  by  Guido;  Head  of  the  Magdalen,  by  Carlo  Dolce;  four  Illuminations  by  Andrea 
Hantegna;  Christ  bearing  his  Cross,  by  L.  Caracci;  a  seated  Cardinal,  by  Guercino ;  curious  specimens 
of  the  Venetian  School,  by  Carlo  Crivelli ;  two  Colossal  Heads,  by  Correggio,  and  a  reputed  replica  of  his 
Magdalen  ;  the  three  Marys,  and  Dead  Christ,  by  Albert  Durer;  Celebration  of  the  Mass,  by  Van  Eyck; 
St.  Peter,  by  Spagnoletto  ;  the  Burgomaster,  by  Rembrandt  (half-length),  frori  the  Stowe  Collection ; 
the  Mocking  of  Christ,  by  Teniers ;  Landscape,  by  Gaspar  Poussin ;  Venetian  ^ew,  very  fine,  by  Cana- 
letti;  Shipwreck,  by  Vernet,  &c.  Here  are  also  several  pieces  of  antique  Sculpum;  and  a  seated  Venus, 
by  Canova;  and  a  duplicate  of  the  Greek  Slave,  by  Hiram  Powers. 

Gloucester  House  (Duke  of  Cambridge),  Piccadilly,  corner  of  Park -lane,  was  pre- 
viously the  Earl  of  Elgin's.  Here  were  deposited  the  Elgin  Marble3.  Lord  Byron 
sarcastically  called  Elgin  House  "  a  stone-shop,"  and 

"  General  mart 
For  all  the  mutilated  blocks  of  art." — "English  Bard*  and  Scotch  Reviewer/. 

The  Marbles  were  next  removed  to  Burlington  House,  and  to  the  British  Museum  in 
1816.  Gloucester  House  was  purchased  by  the  late  Duke  of  Gloucester,  on  his  mar- 
riage with  the  Princess  Mary.  In  the  state  drawing-room  is  a  needlework  carpet, 
presented  to  the  Duchess  of  Gloucester  upon  her  birth-day,  by  84  ladies  of  the  aristo- 
cracy, each  having  worked  a  compartment.  The  Duchess  died  here  April  30,  1857, 
having  bequeathed  to  her  nephew,  the  Duke  of  Cambridge,  the  unexpired  lease  of 
Gloucester  House. 

Grosve>"OR  House  (Marquis  of  Westminster),  Upper  Grosvenor-street,  has  a  mag- 
nificent open  stone  colonnade  or  screen,  Roman-Doric :  it  is  110  feet  long,  and  has  two 
carriage-ways,  with  pediments  sculptured  with  the  Grosvenor  arms,  and  panels  of  the 
four  Seasons  above  the  foot-entrances;  between  the  columns  are  massive  candelabra, 
which,  with  the  metal  gates,  are  composed  of  demi-figures,  rich  foliage,  fruit  and  flowers, 
and  armorial  designs.  The  whole  screen  is  picturesque  and  elegant,  and  was  completed 
in  1842  by  T.  Cundy,  the  architect  of  the  western  wing  of  the  mansion  (the  Picture- 
gallery)  in  Park-lane :  the  latter  consists  of  a  Corinthian  colonnade,  with  six  statues 
and  an  attic,  after  the  manner  of  Trajan's  Forum  at  Rome ;  on  the  acroteria  are 
vases  and  a  balustrade,  and  between  the  columns  are  rich  festoons  of  fruit  and  flowers; 


550  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  whole  is  grand  and  architectural.  Here  is  the  celebrated  "  Grosvenor  Gallery," 
commenced  by  Richard,  first  Earl  Grosvenor,  by  the  purchase  of  Mr.  A  gar's  pictures 
for  30,000  guineas ;  increased  by  his  son,  and  grandson,  the  present  noble  owner,  to 
200  paintings,  including : 

Raphael,  5;  Murillo,  3;  Velasquez,  2;  Titian,  3;  Paul  Veronese,  3 ;  Guido,  5;  Salvator  Rosa,  4; 
Claude,  JO;  N.  and  G.  Poussin,  7;  Rembrandt,  7;  Rubens,  11;  Vandyke,  2;  Hobbema,  2;  Cuyp,  4; 
Snyders,  2;  Teniers,  3;  West,  5;  Hogarth,  3;  Gainsborough,  3 ;  with  specimens  of  Lebrun,  Paul  Potter, 
Gerard  Douw,  Van  Huysum,  Vandervelde,  Wouvermans,  Sir  Joshua  Keynolds,  and  Wilson ;  Perugino, 
Bellini,  Giulio  Romano,  and  Sasso  Ferrato :  Correggio,  Parmegiano,  L.  da  Vinci,  &c. 

Among  the  most  celebrated  are  the  four  colossal  pictures  by  Rubens,  painted  in  Spain  in  1629, — the 
Israelites  gathering  Manna,  Abraham  and  Melchisedek,  the  Four  Evangelists,  and  the  Fathers  of  the 
Church, — from  the  convent  of  Loeches,  near  Madrid,  purchased  for  10,000?. ;  Cattle  and  Landscape,  by 
Paul  Potter,  a  miracle  of  art :  Gentleman  holding  a  Hawk,  and  Lady  with  Fan,  by  Rembrandt,  two  of 
the  finest  portraits  ever  painted ;  Mrs.  Siddons  as  the  Tragic  Muse,  Sir  Joshua  Heynolds's  masterpiece, 
cost  1760?.  In  the  ante-room  is  a  very  large  painting,  by  Canaletti,  of  a  grand  Bull-fight  in  St.  Mark's 
Place,  Venice,  in  1740,  with  many  thousand  figures. 

Among  the  rarities  is  a  triptych  panel-picture  by  Memmelinck,  15th  century :  the  central  compart- 
ment contains  our  Saviour,  the  Virgin  Mary,  and  St.  John  the  Evangelist;  the  volets,  St.  John  the 
Baptist,  and  Mary,  the  sister  of  Martha  and  Lazarus,  with  the  pot  of  ointment :  of  most  elaborate  exe- 
cution; bought  by  the  Marquis  of  Westminster  in  1845. 

No  private  gallery  in  this  country  exceeds  the  Grosvenor  Gallery  in  point  of  variety.  The  number 
of  pictures  in  the  Bridgewater  collection  is  more  than  double,  the  series  more  complete,  and  some  of 
them  exceed  any  here  in  value  and  variety ;  but  the  fascination  of  the  Claudes,  the  imposing  splendour 
of  the  Rubenses,  and  the  interest  attached  to  a  number  of  the  English  pictures  ('  Mrs.  Siddons,'  'the 
Blue  Boy,'  and  '  General  Wolfe,'  for  instance),  long  contributed  to  render  the  Grosvenor  Gallery  quite  as 
popular  as  a  resort  for  the  mere  amateur,  and  not  less  attractive  and  improving  to  the  student  and 
enthusiast.— Mrs.  Jameson's  Private  Qallerie*  of  Art. 

Among  the  sculpture  is  Susanna,  life-size,  by  Pozzi ;  Cupid  and  Psyche,  by  Sir  R. 
Westmacott,  R.A. ;  a  Faun  (antique) ;  and  busts  of  Mercury,  Apollo,  Homer,  Paris 
and  Helen,  Charles  I.  and  Cromwell,  &c.  The  vases  are  fine ;  and  the  superb  plate 
includes  antique  salvers,  and  a  profusion  of  race-cups,  won  by  the  Marquis  of  Westmin- 
ster's celebrated  stud.  The  pictures  are  to  be  seen  only,  on  a  specific  day,  by  admis- 
sions obtainable  by  personal  acquaintances  of,  or  introduction  to,  the  Marquis  of 
Westminster. 

Haecouet  House  (Duke  of  Portland),  on  the  west  side  of  Cavendish-square,  origi- 
nally built  for  Benson,  Lord  Bingley,  and  altered  from  Archer's  design,  is  described  by 
Ralph,  in  1734,  as  '•'  one  of  the  most  singular  pieces  of  architecture  about  town ;  rather 
like  a  convent  than  the  residence  of  a  man  of  quality,"  resembling  a  copy  of  some  of 
Poussin's  landscape  ornaments :  and  so  it  remains  to  this  day.  It  was  originally  called 
Bingley  House.     The  handsome  offices  in  the  rear  were  designed  by  Ware. 

Heeteobd  House  (Marquis  of  Hertford),  No.  105,  Piccadilly,  was  formerly  the 
Pulteney  Hotel,  where  Alexander,  Emperor  of  Russia,  and  his  sister  the  Duchess  of 
Oldenburg,  sojourned  in  1814,  and  where  the  Duchess  of  Oldenburg  (the  Emperor 
Alexander's  sister)  introduced  Prince  Leopold  to  the  Princess  Charlotte.  The  original 
facade,  rich  Italian,  was  by  Novosielski,  with  a  Grecian-Doric  porch  added  by  Sir 
Robert  Smirke.  The  mansion  was  designed  for  the  Earl  of  Barrymore,  but  was  un- 
finished at  his  death ;  was  first  let  as  an  hotel,  and  then  to  the  late  Marquis  of  Hertford, 
It  was  taken  down  and  rebuilt  mostly  with  the  same  Portland  stone,  in  1851,  when  the 
house  was  heightened  from  57  to  71  feet.  The  drawing-rooms  have  a  vista  of  114  feet, 
and  the  picture-gallery  50  feet,  but  the  mansion  remained  some  years  untenanted  after 
its  rebuilding. 

The  Hertford  collection  contains  chef-d' ceuvres  from  the  gallery  of  the  King  of  Holland :  Water-mill, 
Hobbema;  Holy  Family,  Rubens  (cost  2478?.);  Alchemist,  Teniers;  la  Vierge  de  Pade,  A.  del  Sarto; 
Vandyke,  by  himself;  Oxen  in  a  Meadow,  Paul  Potter;  several  pictures  by  Cuyp;  the  Annunciation,  by 
Murillo;  Landscape  with  Herdsman,  Claude;  his  own  Portrait,  by  Rembrandt;  Christ  giving  the  Keys 
to  St.  Peter,  Rubens :  and,  from  the  Stowe  collection,  the  Sibyl,  by  Domenichino ;  and  the  Unmerciful 
Servant,  by  Rembrandt  (sold  for  2300?.)  The  Marquis  also  possesses  a  fine  collection  of  china,  and  costly 
objects  of  art  and  vertu. 

Holdeenesse  House  (Marquis  of  Londonderry),  No.  16  Park-lane,  contains  a 
magnificent  Sculpture-gallery,  wherein  are  several  works  by  Canova  and  other  great 
sculptors ;  Theseus  and  the  Minotaur,  from  the  Fries  Gallery  at  Florence ;  the  Kneel- 
ing Cupid,  &c. ;  full-length  portraits  of  British  and  Foreign  Monarchs  of  the  present 
century,  by  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence ;  life-size  model  of  Thomas's  Statue  of  Lord  Castle- 
reagh,  the  celebrated  minister,  placed  in  Westminster  Abbey ;  and  presented  to  the 


ANSIONS. 


551 


TCOVEMBER   22,    1022. 


OWN. 


e  of  Chequers  : —  An 
•fifth    Birthday. 

VESDAY,    NOVEMBER  22,    r$32> 

hpden  House. 

•    liuildij  ■ 
bti     so        ■  doned 

a  House, 
teen-street,  v/hpre  the  Duchess  of 
fcrland  is  giving  her  party  fco- 
)  "  to  n  tfiniste'r." 

is  oni;-  ears  ago  ths 

;    oi    Sutherland    acquired    this 
listing   property   from   the    ; 

orn. 
'self,  I  would  far  rather  live 
in  Stafford  House— or  Lancaster 
>e,   as   it   is   called  to-day.     h    is 
[y,  big  and   rambling,   and  uno)>- 

Kalser's  Bust. 

hat  I  best    recall    of    Hampden 
se  in  vecent  years  is  the  co!< 

of    the    ex-Kaiser— -with   a    Der 
E>uch  all  over  it— which  was  pre- 
H    by    Wiihelm    to   the   Duke   oi 
•corn  on  the  occasion  of  Jiis  • 
feflin   •  to    announce    ihe 

h  oi  Queen  Victoria, 
used  to  stand  in  the  entrance  hall 

tere  near  by.     it  would  l>e 
•fctt-ing  to  know  it  is  now. 

the  rest,  Hampden  House  ia  oi  e 

:.(   London  mansions  vvhoee 

em  to  haT  e  been  lost. 

I  to  have  a  definite  relafcion- 
with  the  Hampden  family.  Of 
it  will  have  been  all  Scotch,  what- 
i  the  Hamilton s,  the  Leveson- 
rers--and  Mr.  Bonar  Law,  from 
sgow,  tb-nlorrow. 


;  XVIII.,  and  a  valuable  diamond-hilted  sword; 
trophies,  captured  by  the  soldier-Marquis  in  the 

Lst  corner  of  Down-street,  Piccadilly,  was  built 
under  the  joint  superintendence  of  M.  Dusillion, 
>n.     The  fronts  are  Caen  stone,  and  have  panels 

■  2en  the  windows ;  the  arrangement  of  which  is 
le  total  height  from  the  street-level  to  the  balus- 
ed  vases)  is  62  feet.  The  entrance-porch  in 
pal  window-pediments  are  sculptured  the  armo- 
h  the  initial  H  in  the  very  handsome  iron  railing, 
iroughout  show  very  careful  and  elegant  draw- 
ih  artists,  is  beautifully  executed.     The  grand 

. :'  the  building ;  the  upper  hall  is  paved  with 
lis  are  plaster-of- Paris  polished,  scagliola  panels, 
of,  are  of  cast-iron  girders  and  tile  arches.  The 
e  principal  doors  are  of  oak,  carved  with  the 
ey-pieces  are  of  pierre-de-tonnerre,  panelled  with 

1  metal,  with  caryatid  figures.  The  stables  (for 
the  rear  of  the  mansion.  W.  Cubitt  and  Co., 
doors,  ceilings,  stone  carvings,  mahogany  case- 
30,000£.  There  are  few  pictures  here,  the  col- 
pdene,  in  Surrey.  Among  the  antiques  is  Sir 
made  at  Naples.  The  mansion  may  be  seen  by 
!  owner. 

d  mansion  in  Duchess-street,  Portland-place,  in  the  deco- 
tatius,  exemplified  the  classic  principles  illustrated  in  his 
•mal  Decorations,  1805.  Thus  the  suite  of  apartments 
•naments  from  scrolls  of  papyrus  and  mummy-cases ;  the 
bluish-green,  relieved  by  masses  of  black  and  gold.  The 
The  Star  Room :  emblems  of  Night  below :  and  above, 
laxman ;  furniture,  wreathed  figures  of  the  Hours.  The 
>ery;  the  mantel-piece  an  Egyptian  portico;  Egyptian, 
icture  Gallery :  Ionic  columns,  entablature,  and  pediment 
of  Apollo,  cfassic  tables,  pedestals,  &c.  In  four  separate 
:luding  two  copies  of  the  Barberini  or  Portland  Vase ;  the 
:e  New  Gallery,  for  100  pictures  of  the  Flemish  school, 
at  Grecian  design.  Mr.  Hope  died  at  Duchess-street  in 
e  and  munificence  as  the  early  patron  of  Chantrey,  Flax- 

msdowne),  which,  with  its  garden,  occupies  the 
mmenced  by  Robert  Adam  for  the  Marquis  of 
'd  Shelburne,  created  Marquis  of  Lansdowne  in 
)Ql„  but  the  mansion  cost  Lord  Bute  25,0007. 

ssession  of  the  secret  of  the  authorship  of  Junius's  Letters, 
p  died  in  the  following  week.  The  "  Letters"  are  believed 
Lord  Shelburne,  Colonel  Barre1,  and  Dunning,  Lord  Ash- 
ne  picture  by  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds,  in  1784-5,  have  been 
'"  >.  Possibly,  therefore,  Junius's  Letters  were  written  in 
ter  established,,  that  oxygen  was  discovered  here,  Aug.  1, 
'.helburne. 

collection  of  sculpture,  including  about  fifty 

ilievi :  it  was  commenced  by  Gavin  Hamilton, 

s  Villa.     At  the  foot  of  the  staircase  is  a  noble 

the  great  dining-room  are  nine  antique  statues 

dius,  Trajan,   and   Cicero;    also   the  Sleeping 

he  front  drawing-room  his  Venus  quitting  the 

lin,  of  a  Child  holding  an  alms-dish.     In  the 

I    end  are  life-size  statues  of  Hercules,  Marcus 

I  Juno,   an  Amazon,  Juno  standing,   Hercules 

I    e  two  Egyptian  black  marble  statues,  found  at 

j  the  busts,  reliefs,  &c. 


550 


CURIOSITIES  OF 


November  22,  1922. 

AMERICA 
WET 


START    OF 


VIGOROUS 
OF    PROl 


FIRST    MAN 


AC 


Thai 


From   Oar  Nev 

American    public    opinion 
against    prohibition      in 


the  whole  is  grand  and  architectural.     Here  is- 
commenced  by  Richard,  first  Earl  Grosvenor,  h 
for  30,000  guineas ;  increased  by  his  son,  and 
200  paintings,  including : 

Raphael,  5;  Murillo,  3;  Velasquez,  2;  Titian,  3;  P 
Claude,  10;  N.  and  G.  Poussin,  7;   Rembrandt,  7;  Rub 
Snyders,2;  Teniers,  3;  West,  5;  Hogarth,  3;  Gainsboroiy 
Gerard  Douw,  Van  Huysum,  Vandervelde,  Wouvermans,  I 
Bellini,  Giulio  Romano,  and  Sasso  Ferrato :  Correggio,  P 

Among  the  most  celebrated  are  the  four  colossal  pict 
Israelites  gathering  Manna,  Abraham  and  Melchisedek, 
Church,— from  the  convent  of  Loeches,  near  Madrid,  pu 
Paul  Potter,  a  miracle  of  art :  Gentleman  holding  a  Hav 
the  finest  portraits  ever  painted ;  Mrs.  Siddons  as  the  Ti 
cost  1760Z.  In  the  ante-room  is  a  very  large  painting,  bi 
Place,  Venice,  in  1740,  with  many  thousand  figures. 

Among  the  rarities  is  a  triptych  panel-picture  by  Mi 
ment  contains  our  Saviour,  the  Virgin  Mary,  and  St.  i 
Baptist,  and  Mary,  the  sister  of  Martha  and  Lazarus,  wit 
cution ;  bought  by  the  Marquis  of  Westminster  in  1845. 

No  private  gallery  in  this  country  exceeds  the  Grosve 
of  pictures  in  the  Bridgewater  collection  is  more  than  d 
them  exceed  any  here  in  value  and  variety ;  but  the  fascii. 
of  the  Rubenses,  and  the  interest  attached  to  a  number  i 
Blue  Boy,'  and  'General  Wolfe,'  for  instance),  long  contri 
popular  as  a  resort  for  the  mere  amateur,  and  not  less  i 
enthusiast. — Mrs.  Jameson's  Private  Galleriet  of  Art. 

Among  the  sculpture  is  Susanna,  life-size,  I 
Westmacott,  R.A. ;  a  Faun  (antique) ;  and  busl' 
and  Helen,  Charles  I.  and  Cromwell,  &c.     The 
includes  antique  salvers,  and  a  profusion  of  race-  °  -v 

ster's  celebrated  stud.     The  pictures  are  to  be     present  form  was  clearly  indicated 
sions  obtainable  by  personal  acquaintances  of,  the  results  of  the  recent  elections, 
Westminster.  "  \yet  "    candidates  having   been 

Harcourt  House  (Duke  of  Portland),  on  tl  torious    in     all    parts  of  the  coum 
nally  built  for  Benson,  Lord  Bingley,  and  altei   while  even   Representative     Yolste 
Ralph,  in  1734,  as '-one  of  the  most  singular  p    aut;  ,)r   of    tije   Prohibition    Lav/,    l 
like  a  convent  than  the  residence  of  a  man  of  •    j   £      •     j 
Poussin's  landscape  ornaments :  and  so  it  remai 
Bingley  House.     The  handsome  offices  in  the  r    Independent   Candidates. 

Hertford  House  (Marquis  of  Hertford),         Although  there  is  little  hop 
Pulteney  Hotel,  where  Alexander,  Emperor  of    Act  being  modified  during  the  com 
Oldenburg,  sojourned  in  1814,  and  where  the  session      of     Congress,  the      Natio 

Alexander's  sister)  introduced  Prince  Leopold  t    >«    , •«.*:.*        a       i  4.1        t»     u-t 

n     ,      •  ,    Ti  v  u   -vr      •  1  1  •      •«    Association    Against    the    Prohibit 

facade,  rich  Itahan,  was  by  Novosielski,  with  _    • 

Robert  Smirke.     The  mansion  was  designed  fo  ^aw  expects  to  make  such 

finished  at  his  death ;  was  first  let  as  an  hotel,  a  campaign  that  majorities  in  favour 

It  was  taken  down  and  rebuilt  mostly  with  the  its  repeal  will  be  elected  in  1924,  wl 

house  was  heightened  from  57  to  71  feet.     The  the  Presidential  Election  takes  pla 

and  the  picture-gallery  50  feet,  but  the  mansio  if   the   old  partieg   do   not  meet    ( 

its  rebuilding.  k^   thp  ^^^^  ^jj  place  hl( 

The  Hertford  collection  contains  chef-d'oeuvres  from 
Hobbema;  Holy  Family,  Rubens  (cost  24781.) ;  Alchei 
Vandyke,  by  himself;  Oxen  in  a  Meadow,  Paul  Potter; 
Murillo;  Landscape  with  Herdsman,  Claude;  his  own 
to  St.  Peter,  Rubens :  and,  from  the  Stowe  collection,  t 
Servant,  by  Rembrandt  (sold  for  2300J.)  The  Marquis  1 
objects  of  art  and  vertu. 

Holdernesse  House  (Marquis  of  Lond< 
magnificent  Sculpture-gallery,  wherein  are  s 
sculptors  ;  Theseus  and  the  Minotaur,  from  tl 
ing  Cupid,  &c. ;  full-length  portraits  of  Briti 
century,  by  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence;  life-size  n 


pendent      candidates      in     the 
pledged  to  modify  the  law. 

Tax  to  Pind  Bonuses. 

A     tax    on     wine    and     beer,    it 
pointed  out,  would  enable  the  Govei 
ment  to  raise  funds  for    a     soldie 
bonus.        This    argument,    widely    - 
ployed  in  bhe  recent   election,   gain 


reagh,  the  celebrated  minister,  placed  in  West.  ~ 


the 


votes   of 

fllr. 


thousands   of   men   v>\ 
Avmv  during  the  worl 


MANSIONS.  551 


same,  a  colossal  Sevres  Vase,  by  Louis  XVIII.,  and  a  valuable  diamond-hilted  sword; 
besides  cuirasses,  helmets,  and  other  trophies,  captured  by  the  soldier-Marquis  in  the 
Peninsular  War. 

Hope  House  (Mrs.  Hope),  south-east  corner  of  Down-street,  Piccadilly,  was  built 
in  1S49,  for  the  late  H.  T.  Hope,  Esq.,  under  the  joint  superintendence  of  M.  Dusillion, 
a  French  artist,  and  Professor  Donaldson.  The  fronts  are  Caen  stone,  and  have  panels 
of  decorative  marbles  in  the  piers  between  the  windows ;  the  arrangement  of  which  is 
novel,  especially  in  the  attic-story.  The  total  height  from  the  street-level  to  the  balus- 
trade (surmounted  with  superbly-carved  vases)  is  62  feet.  The  entrance-porch  in 
Down-street  is  very  rich ;  in  the  principal  window-pediments  are  sculptured  the  armo- 
rial bearings  of  Mr.  Hope,  repeated  with  the  initial  H  in  the  very  handsome  iron  railing, 
cast  by  Andre  in  Paris.  The  details  throughout  show  very  careful  and  elegant  draw- 
ing; and  the  carving,  wholly  by  French  artists,  is  beautifully  executed.  The  grand 
staircase  and  hall  occupy  the  centre  of  the  building ;  the  upper  hall  is  paved  with 
coloured  marbles  in  patterns.  The  walls  are  plaster-of- Paris  polished,  scagliola  panels, 
and  marble  plinths ;  the  floors,  fire-proof,  are  of  cast-iron  girders  and  tile  arches.  The 
ceilings  are  panelled  and  enriched ;  the  principal  doors  are  of  oak,  carved  with  the 
initial  H  in  shields ;  some  of  the  chimney-pieces  are  of  pierre-de-tonnerre,  panelled  with 
French  marbles ;  others  are  of  bronzed  metal,  with  caryatid  figures.  The  stables  (for 
12  horses)  and  coach-houses  are  in  the  rear  of  the  mansion.  W.  Cubitt  and  Co., 
builders ;  ornamental  work  (wainscot  doors,  ceilings,  stone  carvings,  mahogany  case- 
ments) by  French  artists ;  cost  about  30,000?.  There  are  few  pictures  here,  the  col- 
lections having  been  removed  to  Deepdene,  in  Surrey.  Among  the  antiques  is  Sir 
William  Hamilton's  second  collection,  made  at  Naples.  The  mansion  may  be  seen  by 
cards  obtainable  by  introduction  to  the  owner. 

The  collection  was  formed  at  the  celebrated  mansion  in  Duchess-street,  Portland-place,  in  the  deco- 
ration of  which  Mr.  Hope,  the  author  of  Anastasius,  exemplified  the  classic  principles  illustrated  in  his 
large  work  on  Household  Furniture  and  Internal  Decorations,  1805.  Thus  the  suite  of  apartments 
included  the  Egyptian  or  Slack  Room,  with  ornaments  from  scrolls  of  papyrus  and  mummy-cases ;  the 
furniture  and  ornaments  were  pale  yellow  and  bluish-green,  relieved  by  masses  of  black  and  gold.  The 
Blue  or  Indian  Boom,  in  costly  Oriental  style.  The  Star  Boom :  emblems  of  Night  below :  and  above, 
Aurora  visiting  Cephalus  on  Mount  Ida,  by  Flaxman;  furniture,  wreathed  figures  of  the  Hours.  The 
Closet  or  Boudoir,  hung  with  tent-like  drapery;  the  mantel-piece  an  Egyptian  portico;  Egyptian, 
Hindoo,  and  Chinese  idols  and  curiosities.  Picture  Oallery:  Ionic  columns,  entablature,  and  pediment 
from  the  Temple  of  Erectheus  at  Athens;  car  of  Apollo,  classic  tables,  pedestals,  &c.  In  four  separate 
apartments  were  arranged  200  Greek  vases,  including  two  copies  of  the  Barberini  or  Portland  Vase ;  the 
furniture  partly  from  Pompeian  models.  The  New  Gallery,  for  100  pictures  of  the  Flemish  school, 
antique  bronzes  and  vases ;  furniture  of  elegant  Grecian  design.  Mr.  Hope  died  at  Duchess-street  in 
1831 :  he  will  ever  be  remembered  for  his  taste  and  munificence  as  the  early  patron  of  Chantrey,  Flax- 
man,  Canova,  and  Thorwaldsen. 

Lansdowne  House  (Marquis  of  Lansdowne),  which,  with  its  garden,  occupies  the 
south  side  of  Berkeley-square,  was  commenced  by  Robert  Adam  for  the  Marquis  of 
Bute,  but  was  sold  unfinished  to  Lord  Shelburne,  created  Marquis  of  Lansdowne  in 
1784.     The  purchase-money  was  22,000Z.,  but  the  mansion  cost  Lord  Bute  25,000?. 

The  Marquis,  in  1804,  acknowledged  the  possession  of  the  secret  of  the  authorship  of  Junius's  Letters, 
which  he  promised  to  publish ;  but  his  lordship  died  in  the  following  week.  The  "  Letters"  are  believed 
by  some  to  have  been  the  joint  production  of  Lord  Shelburne,  Colonel  Barr£,  and  Dunning,  Lord  Ash- 
burton;  and  their  three  portraits,  painted  in  one  picture  by  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds,  in  1784-5,  have  been 
regarded  as  evidence  of  the  joint  authorship.  Possibly,  therefore,  Junius's  Letters  were  written  in 
Lansdowne,  then  Shelburne,  House.  It  is  better  established,  that  oxygen  was  discovered  here,  Aug.  1, 
\T!i,  by  Dr.  Priestley,  then  librarian  to  Lord  Shelburne. 

The  reception-room  contains  a  fine  collection  of  sculpture,  including  about  fifty 
statues,  as  many  busts,  besides  bassi  relievi :  it  was  commenced  by  Gavin  Hamilton, 
who  first  excavated  the  site  of  Adrian's  Villa.  At  the  foot  of  the  staircase  is  a  noble 
statue  of  Diana  launching  an  arrow ;  in  the  great  dining-room  are  nine  antique  statues 
in  niches,  including  Germanicus,  Claudius,  Trajan,  and  Cicero;  also  the  Sleeping 
Nymph,  the  last  work  of  Canova ;  in  the  front  drawing-room  his  Venus  quitting  the 
Bath ;  and  a  statue  by  Rauch,  of  Berlin,  of  a  Child  holding  an  alms-dish.  In  the 
gallery,  100  feet  in  length,  at  the  east  end  are  life-size  statues  of  Hercules,  Marcus 
Aurelius,  Mercury,  Diomede,  Theseus,  Juno,  an  Amazon,  Juno  standing,  Hercules 
when  a  youth,  Jason,  &c. ;  and  here  are  two  Egyptian  black  marble  statues,  found  at 
Tivoli.     On  the  sides  of  the  gallery  are  the  busts,  reliefs,  &c. 


552  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  collection  of  pictures,  formed  by  Henry,  third  Marquis  of  Lansdowne,  since  1809,  is  famed  for 
its  portraits,  including  Kembrandt  holding  a  palette,  by  himself;  a  Lady  (1642),  Rembrandt;  Velasquez, 
by  himself;  Pope  Innocent  X.,  Velasquez;  A.  del  Sarto,  by  himself;  a  Gentleman,  by  Titian;  Count 
Frederigo  Bozzola,  by  Seb.  del  Piombo;  Queen  Henrietta-Maria,  by  Vandyke;  Sansovino,  the  Venetian 
architect,  by  Giorgione ;  a  Cardinal  and  Andrea  Doria,  by  Tintoretto;  a  Burgomaster  and  Lady  in  a  Ruff, 
by  Rembrandt ;  Charles  V.  in  his  cradle,  by  Velasquez;  Kitty  Fisher  and  Laurence  Sterne,  by  Sir  Joshua 
Reynolds;  Alexander  Pope,  by  Jervas;  Dr.  Franklin,  by  Gainsborough;  Sir  Humphry  Davy,  by  Linnell; 
Francis  Horner,  by  Raeburn ;  the  Marquis  of  Lansdowne,  by  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence ;  Ladies  Ilchester, 
Mary  Cole,  and  Elizabeth  Feilding,  by  Reynolds ;  Peg  Wofflngton,  by  Hogarth ;  Flaxman  the  sculptor, 
by  John  Jackson;  Sir  Robert  Walpole  and  his  first  Wife,  Catherine  Shorter,  by  Eckhart,  (elaborate 
black  and  gold  frame  by  Gibbons),  from  the  blue  bedchamber  of  Strawberry  Hill.  Also,  here  are  twelve 
pictures  by  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds,  including  the  Strawberry  Girl  and  the  Sleeping  Girl. 

Lansdowne  House  was  long  the  political  meeting-place  of  the  great  Whig  party : 
the  first  Cabinet  Council  of  Lord  Grey's  administration  was  held  in  this  house ;  and 
here,  at  the  same  meeting,  it  was  resolved  that  Brougham  should  be  Lord  Chancellor. 
Lord  Lansdowne,  the  acknowledged  head  of  the  party,  died  at  his  seat,  Bowood,  Jan.  31, 
1863  :  he  was  distinguished  by  his  friendship  for  artists  and  men  of  letters. 

Ltndhtjest  (Loed),  Nos.  25  and  26,  George-street,  Hanover-square,  was  the  resi- 
dence of  John  Singleton  Copley,  R.A.,  and  was  for  more  than  three-quarters  of  a 
century  the  dwelling-house  of  his  son,  Lord  Lyndhurst,  who  retired  from  the  Chancellor- 
ship in  1846.  His  Lordship  died  in  the  house  No.  25,  Oct.  12,  1863,  aged  91.  Here 
were  most  of  fhe  important  works  of  his  father,  including — 

Portrait  of  Admiral  Viscount  Duncan;  Sketch  of  the  Princesses  Mary,  Sophia,  and  Amelia;  Samuel 
and  Eli ;  portrait  of  Lord  Mansfield;  the  Boy  with  a  Squirrel,  painted  in  1760;  the  celebrated  original 
picture,  exhibited  anonymously  at  the  Royal  Academy,  and  which  was  the  cause  of  Mr.  Copley's  coming 
to  England  in  1 764 ;  he  went  to  Rome  in  the  same  year.  Portraits  of  John  Singleton  Copley,  R.A .,  with 
his  wile  caressing  the  infant  (the  future  Lord  Lyndhurst),  and  his  three  other  infant  children.  Portrait 
of  Archbishop  Laud  in  his  robes;  and  portrait  of  Lady  Middleton  in  ablack  dress  lined  with  pink  satin, 
pearl  necklace  and  earrings,  holding  flowers,  by  Vandyke ;  Death  of  Major  Peirson,  the  celebrated  chef- 
d'eeuvre  of  the  artist,  engraved  by  Heath — painted  originally  for  Alderman  Boydell,  and  afterwards 
repurchased  by  Mr.  Copley. 

Lord  Lyndhurst's  pictures  realized  51472. ;  the  two  freehold  houses,  sold  for  ]  8,0(XM., 
have  been  taken  down,  and  a  club-house  is  built  upon  the  site. 

Manchester  Hotjse,  Manchester-square,  was  commenced  for  the  Duke  of  Man- 
chester in  1776,  but  was  not  completed  until  1788.  At  the  Duke's  death  the  house 
became  the  residence  of  the  Spanish  Ambassador,  who  built  the  Roman  Catholic  chapel 
in  Spanish-place.  Manchester  House  was  next  the  town  mansion  of  the  Marquis  of 
Hertford,  a  bon-vivant  companion  of  the  Prince  Regent.  The  French  Embassy  was 
next  located  here ;  with  Talleyrand,  Guizot,  and  Sebastiani,  successive  representatives. 

Maklborotjgh  House,  Pall  Mall,  was  built  by  Wren,  in  1709-10,  for  the  great 
Duke  of  Marlborough,  upon  part  of  the  site  of  the  pheasantry  of  St.  James's  Palace, 
and  of  the  garden  of  Mr.  Secretary  Boyle,  the  latter  taken  out  of  St.  James's  Park. 
The  ground  was  leased  by  Queen  Anne  to  Sarah  Duchess  of  Marlborough,  who  states 
the  Duke  to  have  paid  for  the  building  between  40,OOOZ.  and  50,000Z.,  "  though  many 
people  have  been  made  to  believe  otherwise."  The  house  is  a  fine  specimen  of  red 
brickwork,  Wren  being  employed  as  architect,  to  mortify  Vanbrugh.  The  great  Duke 
died  here  in  1722.  The  Duchess  loved  to  talk  of  "  neighbour  George,"  the  King,  at 
St.  James's  Palace ;  and  here,  Jan.  1,  1741,  she  received  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Sheriffs, 
to  thank  her  for  a  present  of  venison :  "  she  received  us,"  says  Sheriff  Hoare,  "  in  her 
usual  manner,  sitting  up  in  her  bed  j  .  .  .  .  and  after  an  hour's  conversation  upon 
indifferent  matters,  we  retired."  The  Duchess  intended  to  have  improved  the  entrance 
to  the  court-yard :  an  archway  was  opened  in  the  wall,  but  was  blocked  up  ;  for  her 
Grace  was  frustrated  by  Sir  Robert  Walpole,  who,  to  annoy  her,  bought  the  requisite 
houses  in  Pall  Mall.  The  court-yard  is  dull,  but  the  front  towards  St.  James's  Park 
has  a  cheerful  aspect,  and  a  garden.  In  1817,  Marlborough  House  was  purchased  by 
the  Crown  for  the  Princess  Charlotte  and  Prince  Leopold ;  it  was  the  Prince's  town- 
house  for  several  years :  and  after  the  death  of  William  IV.  the  residence  of  the 
Dowager-Queen  Adelaide,  whose  personal  effects  were  disposed  of  here,  at  the  price 
affixed  to  each  article.  In  1850,  the  mansion  was  settled  upon  the  Prince  of  Wales, 
on  his  attaining  his  eighteenth  year.  In  the  meantime,  the  Vernon  collection  of 
pictures,  and  others  of  the  English  school,  were  removed  to  the  lower  apartments  of 
Marlborough  House  :  and  the  upper  rooms  were  granted  to  the  Department  of  Practical 
Art,  for  a  library,  museum  of  manufactures,  the  ornamental  casts  of  the  School  of 


MANSIONS.  553 


Design,  a  lecture-room,  &c.  Here  was  designed,  in  1852,  the  Duke  of  Wellington's 
Funeral  Car,  which  was  subsequently  exhibited  to  the  public  in  a  temporary  building 
in  the  court-yard,  1853  :  it  is  now  in  the  Crypt  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral. 

George  IV.  (while  Regent)  proposed  to  connect  Carlton  House  with  Marlborough  House  and  St. 
James's  Palace  by  a  gallery  of  the  Portraits  of  the  Sovereigns  and  other  historic  personages  of  England  ; 
but,  unfortunately,  Mr.  Nash's  speculation  of  buying  Carlton  House  and  Gardens,  and  overlaying  St! 
James's  Park  with  terraces,  prevailed,  and  the  design  of  a  truly  National  Gallery  was  abandoned : 
although  the  Crown  of  England  possesses  materials  for  an  Historical  Collection  which  would  be  infinitely 
superior  to  that  of  Versailles. 

Marlborough  House  has  been  enlarged  and  re-embellished  to  adapt  it  for  the  town 
residence  of  the  Prince  and  Princess  of  Wales. 

An  entrance-hall  has  been  added  to  the  north  front  of  the  house ;  the  old  entrance-hall  has  been  con- 
verted into  a  noble  saloon  about  40  ft.  in  length  by  30  ft.  in  width,  two  stories  in  height.  On  the  ceiling  and 
upper  part  of  the  walls,  on  three  of  the  sides,  are  large  oil  paintings  of  the  great  victories  of  Marlborough, 
the  battles  of  Hochstet  and  Blenheim,  and  the  taking  of  Marshal  Tallard  prisoner ;  upon  the  ceiling  are 
allegories  of  the  Arts  and  Sciences.  These  paintings,  the  work  of  Laguerre,  had  been  hidden  for  many 
years  beneath  successive  layers  of  whitewash  and  colour,  and  were  boarded  and  canvassed  over.  They 
have  been  restored,  and  in  several  of  them  may  be  recognised  the  originals  of  some  old  engravings  of 
the  battles  of  Eamillies  and  Blenheim,  in  which  Marlborough  on  horseback,  leading  on  the  troops,  is  a 
very  prominent  figure.  On  the  lower  part  of  the  hall  is  hung  tapestry,  apparently  of  the  date  of  Louis 
Quatorze,  the  subjects  represented  being  the  adventures  of  Sancho  Panza  and  Don  Quixote.  In  the 
centre  of  the  principal  side  is  magnificent  Gobelins  tapestry,  the  "  Destruction  of  the  Mamelukes."  The 
sofas  and  settees  are  covered  with  tapestry  of  the  date  of  Louis  Quatorze ;  and  the  furniture  includes  a 
magnificent  ebony  and  gold  cabinet,  and  ebony  and  ormolu  terras  for  busts.  The  library  is  on  the  west 
side  of  the  mansion.  In  the  furnishing  and  decoration  of  the  State  apartments  of  Marlborough  House, 
English  art  and  English  manufactures  have  been  duly  patronized :  Spitalfields  and  Manchester  have 
supplied  the  silk  and  damask,  and  Wilton  the  Axmiuster  carpets,  while  the  furniture  has  been  made 
entirely  in  London  workshops. 

One  of  the  rooms  on  the  first  floor  of  Marlborough  House  has  been  converted  into  a  characteristic 
representation  of  a  Turkish  mandar'ah  or  reception-room.  The  room  is  hung  round  with  souvenirs  of 
the  Prince's  travels :  one  of  the  most  interesting  articles  is  a  fragment  of  Egyptian  hieroglyphic.  Here*, 
also,  are  amber  mouthpieces,  embroidered  tobacco-bags,  a  coat  of  chain  armour  and  a  helmet,  daggers, 
swords,  &c,  artistically  arranged ;  also,  specimens  of  Eastern  dress — waist  scarfs,  abbas,  keffiehs ;  and 
in  the  centre,  over  the  deewan,  is  another  group  of  Eastern  weapons — daggers  and  swords  of  rare  temper, 
armour  and  helmets. 

The  new  stables  have  the  form  of  a  block  with  two  wings.  In  the  centre  of  the 
block  is  the  Royal  entrance,  leading  into  the  garden  skirting  the  Mall  of  St.  James's 
Park.  On  either  side  of  the  Royal  entrance  are  two  coach-houses :  the  quadrangle  in 
front,  together  with  the  Royal  entrance,  is  covered  by  an  enormous  skylight,  supported 
by  light  iron  columns ;  while  the  quadrangle  itself  is  lighted  with  gas,  provided  with 
clock,  manure-pits,  water-tanks,  and  trapped  drains.  The  stables  include  forty-five 
stalls  and  twelve  loose  boxes. 

Montague  House,  Bloomsbury.     (See  Museum,  Beitish.) 

Montague  House  (Duke  of  Buccleuch),  Whitehall,  was  built  for  Ralph,  third 
Lord  Montague,  created  in  1689  Duke  of  Montague  and  Viscount  Monthermer.  It 
had  a  spacious  marble  floored  and  pillared  hall ;  and  a  large  collection  of  full-length 
portraits  of  the  Montagues  and  their  connexions,  by  Vandyke,  Lely,  and  Reynolds ; 
sketches  en  grisaille  by  Vandyke ;  a  fine  assemblage  of  English  Miniatures ;  and 
View  of  Whitehall,  by  Canaletti.  The  furniture  was  in  the  old  French  style,  richly 
carved  and  gilt ;  and  cabinets  in  buhl  or  ebony ;  tables  of  marble,  mosaic,  or  inlaid 
wood ;  hangings  of  dark  velvet,  damask,  or  satin.  In  the  dining-room  and  library 
were  portraits  of  the  British  school;  a  few  Gainsboroughs  and  Wilsons  in  the  boudoir; 
and  both  drawing-rooms  were  hung  with  fine  old  tapestry,  representing  hunting 
scenes  in  the  forest  of  Fontainebleau.  The  mansion  was  screened  from  the  street  by 
trees  and  a  garden ;  and  between  it  and  the  Thames  was  a  terraced  garden,  with 
venerable  trees,  fountains,  and  statues,  and  an  open  pavilion  commanding  a  fine  view 
of  the  river. 

Montague  House  was  one  of  the  mansions  built  after  the  Court  had  abandoned  Whitehall,  when 
various  noble  families  obtained  leases  of  parts  of  the  Privy  Gardens.  The  Dukes  of  Richmond  for  a 
hundred  years  occupied  here  a  stately  mansion  surrounded  with  pleasure-grounds,  on  part  of  which  is 
built  Richmond-terrace.  Pembroke  House  was  erected  under  like  circumstances ;  between  which  and 
the  site  of  Richmond  House  stood  the  mansion  inherited  from  the  Montague  family  by  the  Duke  of 
Buccleuch. 

The  lease  of  the  site  of  old  Montague  House  was  renewed  by  the  Government, 
thus  securing  to  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch  an  acre  and  a  quarter  of  land,  with  a  river 


554  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

frontage  for  ninety -nine  years,  from  1856.  The  old  mansion  was  then  taken  down, 
and  a  new  house  erected  in  the  French  style,  with  lofty  Mansard  roofs.  All  the 
old  materials  were  ground  down  and  made  into  a  sort  of  concrete  to  form  the  founda- 
tion of  the  new  building,  and  every  possible  precaution  taken  to  make  the  new 
mansion  water-tight  in  its  lower  floors.  The  new  house  is  substantially  fire-proof. 
Iron  has  been  substituted  for  wood  in  all  the  most  important  parts  of  the  construction, 
and  every  possible  precaution  has  been  taken  to  prevent  fire  spreading  beyond  the 
apartment  in  which  it  should  arise.  In  front  of  the  Crown  property  on  the  bank  of 
the  river,  the  operation  of  the  Thames  Embankment  Bill  will  reclaim  no  less  than  five 
acres  and  a  half  of  land  which  would  have  been  admirably  adapted  for  the  erection  of 
public  offices,  had  not  the  lease  of  Montague  House  been  renewed.  These  circum- 
stances led  to  much  discussion ;  but  the  mansion  was  completed  for  the  Duke  of 
Buccleuch,  and  is  now  His  Grace's  town  residence. 

Montague  Hotjse,  the  elegant  detached  mansion  at  the  north-west  angle  of 
Portman-square,  was  built  for  the  celebrated  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Montague,  who  resided 
here  many  years ;  and  who  annually,  on  the  1st  of  May,  on  the  front  lawn,  regaled 
the  chimney-sweepers  of  the  metropolis,  "  so  that  they  might  enjoy  one  happy  day  in 
the  year."*     The  house  is  now  the  residence  of  Lord  Rokeby. 

Horace  Walpole  tells  us  that  in  February,  1782,  he  "  dined  at  Mrs.  Montague's  new  palace,  and  was 
much  surprised.  Instead  of  vagaries,  it  is  a  noble,  simple  edifice."  "  When  I  came  home,"  he  auds,  "  I 
recollected  that  although  I  thought  it  so  magnificent  a  house,  there  was  not  a  morsel  ot  gilding.  It  is 
grand,  not  tawdry,  nor  larded  and  embroidered  and  pomponned  with  shreds  and  remnants,  and  clin- 
quant like  all  the  harlequinades  of  Adam,  which  never  let  the  eye  repose  for  a  moment." 

Nobfolk  House  (Duke  of  Norfolk),  No.  21,  St.  James's-square,  occupies  the  site 
Of  the  residence  cf  Henry  Jermyn,  Earl  of  St.  Albans  (temp.  Charles  II.) ;  the  first  tenant 
of  the  Norfolk  family  being  the  seventh  Duke,  who  died  here  1701.  The  old  mansion 
extended  to  the  site  of  Waterloo-place  eastward.  In  old  Norfolk  House  George  III. 
was  born,  May  24,  1738  (0.  S.) ;  and  Edward  Augustus  Duke  of  York,  March  24, 
1739 :  the  room  remains,  with  a  ceiling  painted  by  Sir  James  Thornhill ;  the  state- 
bed  is  preserved  at  Worksop.  The  present  Norfolk  House  was  commenced  by  Bret- 
tingham,  in  1742,  for  Thomas  Duke  of  Norfolk,  and  completed  for  his  brother  Edward 
in  1762 :  the  portico  was  added  in  1842.  The  rooms  are  gorgeously  carved  and  gilt  in 
the  Queen  Anne  style,  and  contain  a  collection  of  pictures  of  the  Italian,  Spanish,  and 
Flemish  schools ;  and  conspicuous  among  the  plate  displayed  at  state-banquets,  are  the 
coronation-cups  received  in  various  reigns  by  the  Dukes  of  Norfolk  as  hereditary  Earls 
Marshal :  here  Queen  Victoria  and  Prince  Albert  were  sumptuously  entertained, 
June  19,  1849. 

In  the  old  mansion  are  deposited  the  records  of  the  Howard,  Fitzalan,  and  Mowbray  families. 
Among  the  pictures  is  a  portrait  of  the  first  Duke  of  Norfolk,  by  Holbein ;  shield  presented  to  the  chi- 
valrous soldier-poet,  Henry  Howard,  Earl  of  Surrey,  at  a  tournament  in  1537;  portraits  of  the  family 
of  Thomas  Earl  of  Arundel,  who  collected  the  "  Marbles;"  portrait  of  his  wife,  by  Rubens. 

Here  expired,  Dec.  16, 1815,  Charles,  eleventh  Duke  of  Norfolk :  a  few  hours  before  he  died,  by  his 
desire,  a  servant  was  sent  to  a  bookseller's  in  Pall  Mall  to  procure  Drelincourt's  Book  of  Consolation* 
against  the  Fear  of  Death,  wliich  was  read  to  the  penitent  Duke  in  his  last  moments. 

Noemanton,  Lobd,  No.  3,  Seamore-place,  May  Fair:  here  are  some  important 

pictures  by  Holbein ;  Holy  Family,  by  Parmegiano ;  and  works  of  the  English  school. 

Noethtjmbeeland  Hotjse  (Duke  of  Northumberland),  Strand,  occupies  the  site  of 
the  Hospital  of  St.  Mary  Eounceval,  founded  temp.  Henry  III.  j  its  large  conventual 
chapel  reaching  to  the  Thames  in  the  Sutherland  View  of  London,  1543.  The  present 
mansion  was  built,  about  1605,  for  Henry  Howard,  Earl  of  Northampton,  son  of  the 
poet,  Lord  Surrey.  The  architects  were  Bernard  Jansen  and  Gerard  Christmas ;  and 
it  was  then  called  Northampton  Souse.  The  Earl  of  Northampton  died  here  in  1614, 
having  bequeathed  the  mansion  to  his  nephew,  Thomas  Howard,  Earl  of  Suffolk,  when 
the  name  was  changed  to  Suffolk  Souse :  a  drawing  by  Hollar  shows  it  to  have  been 
quadrangular  in  plan,  with  a  lofty  dome- crowned  tower  at  each  angle,  in  the  Dutch 
style.  It  originally  bad  three  sides,  the  fourth  remaining  open  to  the  gardens  and  the 
Thames;  when  the  quadrangle  was  completed  by  the  addition  of  the  state-rooms, 

♦There  was  a  fourth  Montague  House — viz.  the  mansion  built  by  Viscount  Montague,  or  his  son,  upon 
part  of  the  site  of  the  priory  of  St.  Mary  Overey,  in  Southwark  close,  15±5 ;  the  precinct  being  named 
Montague  Close. 


MANSIONS.  555 


attributed,  but  erroneously,  to  Inigo  Jones.  After  tbe  marriage  of  Elizabeth,  daughter 
of  Theophilus,  second  Earl  of  Suffolk,  with  Algernon  Percy,  tenth  Earl  of  Northumber- 
land, in  1642,  the  mansion  was  called  Northumberland  Souse.  In  1660  General 
Monk  was  invited  to  this  house  by  Earl  Algernon ;  and  here,  with  other  leading  men 
of  the  nation,  he  proposed  and  planned  the  restoration  of  Charles  II.  On  the  death 
of  Joscelyne  Percy,  the  son  of  Algernon,  in  1670,  without  male  issue,  his  only  daughter, 
Elizabeth,  became  heiress  of  the  Percy  estates.  She  married,  in  1682,  Charles  Sey- 
mour, "  the  proud  Duke  of  Somerset,"  who  resided  at  Northumberland  House  in  great 
state.  On  the  death  of  the  Duke  in  1748,  he  was  succeeded  by  his  eldest  son,  Alger- 
non Earl  of  Hertford,  and  seventh  Duke  of  Somerset,  created  Earl  of  Northumberland 
in  1749,  with  remainder,  failing  issue  male,  to  his  son-in-law,  Sir  Hugh  Smithson,  who 
assumed  the  name  and  arms  of  Percy,  and  was  created  Duke  of  Northumberland  in 
]  766 :  he  was  the  grandfather  of  the  fourth  Duke,  and  the  immediate  predecessor  of 
his  cousin,  the  Earl  of  Beverley,  the  late  Duke.  Of  the  old  mansion,  little  more 
than  the  central  stone  gateway,  facing  the  Strand,  remains ;  this  being  part  of  the 
original  work  of  Gerard  Christmas,  and,  with  its  characteristic  sculpture,  a  curious 
example  of  the  Jacobean  style.  It  is  surmounted  by  a  lion  passant,  the  crest  of  the 
Percys,  cast  in  lead :  it  is  inscribed  with  the  family  motto,  "  Esperance  en  Dieu." 
Along  the  facade  was  a  border  of  capital  letters,  in  place  of  the  present  ugly  parapet : 
One  of  these  letters  (S)  fell  down  at  the  funeral  of  Anne  of  Denmark,  1619,  and  killed 
a  spectator.  The  date  1749  denotes  a  year  of  repairs,  and  the  initials  A.  S.  P.  N., 
Algernon  Somerset,  Princeps  Northumbrian.  In  1766,  great  part  of  the  northern 
front  was  rebuilt;  as  also  after  the  fire  in  1780,  which  consumed  most  of  the  upper 
rooms.  The  court-yard  is  of  plain  Italian  character ;  and  the  living  apartments  are 
the  southern  or  garden  side  of  the  quadrangle.  The  boast  of  the  interior  is  the  double 
state-staircase,  with  marble  steps ;  rich  ormolu  balustrade,  chandelier,  and  lamps ;  and 
carved  marble  podium.  The  principal  drawing-room  has  medallions  by  Angelica 
Kaufimann,  and  a  Raphaelesque  ceiling.  Beyond  is  a  small  room  hung  with  tapestry, 
designed  by  Zuccarelli,  and  worked  in  Soho-square,  in  1758.  The  state-gallery,  or 
ball-room,  is  106  feet  long,  and  27  wide ;  it  is  gorgeously  gilt  with  groups  in  relief,  of 
eagles,  boys,  and  foliage,  and  is  decorated  in  compartments  with  paintings  after  the 
Roman  school ;  the  chimney-pieces  are  supported  by  Phrygian  captives  in  marble :  this 
noble  room  will  accommodate  800  guests.  Upon  the  walls  are  admirable  copies,  original 
size,  of  the  School  of  Athens,  of  Raphael,  by  Mengs ;  the  Presentation,  and  Marriage 
of  Cupid  and  Psyche,  both  also  after  Raphael,  by  Pompeio  Battoni ;  and  copies  of  A. 
Caracci's  Bacchus  and  Ariadne,  by  Constansi;  and  Guido's  Aurora,  by  Masaccio. 
Here  are  two  cabinets  of  marbles  and  gems,  once  the  property  of  Louis  XIV.,  and 
valued  at  lOOOJ.  each.  In  the  centre  is  a  Sevres  china  vase,  nine  feet  high,  exquisitely 
painted  with  Diana  and  her  Nymphs  disarming  Cupid :  this  was  presented  by  Charles  X. 
to  Hugh,  second  Duke  of  Northumberland,  when  Ambassador  to  France, 

The  most  important  original  picture  in  the  Northumberland  collection  (principally  at  Alnwick 
Castle),  is  the  portrait-group  of  the  "  Cornaro  Family  "  (Evelyn  called  it  "  ye  Venetian  Senators  "),  by 
Titian,  which  was  bought  by  Algernon  Earl  of  Northumberland,  temp.  Charles  I.  from  Vandyke,  for  100O 
guineas.  Among  the  other  pictures  are  San  Sebastian,  bound  on  the  ground,  and  two  angels  in  the  air, 
by  Guercino,  with  figures  life-size ;  a  small  "  Adoration  of  the  Shepherds,"  by  G.  Bassano;  "a  pretty 
Girl  with  a  Candle,  before  which  she  holds  her  hands,  by  G.  Schalcken,  of  remarkable  clearness,  and 
good  impasto"  (Waagen) ;  Alnwick  Castle,  and  Westminster  Bridge,  building  and  completed,  by  Cana- 
letti ;  a  curious  portrait  of  Edward  VI.,  with  a  long  inscription,  by  Mabuse ;  a  Fox-hunt  and  Deer-hunt 
by  F.  Snyders ;  Christ  crowned  with  Thorns,  by  Caravaggio ;  portrait  of  Napoleon  when  First  Consul, 
by  Phillips  (a  fine  likeness) ;  several  family  portraits,  including  Percy  Ear]  of  Northumberland,  one  of 
Vandyke's  finest  portraits.  Also,  carvings  in  ivory,  after  pictures  by  Teniers  and  others ;  and  sump- 
tuous* ormolu  articles.    The  mansion  can  only  be  seen  by  special  permission. 

In  the  Strand  front,  west  of  the  central  gateway,  by  an  ingenious  contrivance,  a  portion  of  the  wall 
is  opened  for  the  egress  of  carriages  upon  state  occasions. 

Hugh,  third  duke,  who  died  at  Alnwick  Castle,  was  interred  from  Northumberland  House,  with 
great  state,  in  Westminster  Abbey,  Feb.  22, 1847;  the  funeral  pageant  reaching  from  Charing  Cross  to 
the  western  door  of  the  Abbey  :  and  his  successor,  Algernon,  4th  Duke,  who  also  died  at  Alnwick  Castle, 
was  interred  from  Northumberland  House,  with  like  state,  Feb.  25, 1865. 

Oveestone,  Loed,  No.  22,  Norfolk -street,  Park-lane :  a  valuable  collection  of 
Italian,  Flemish,  and  Dutch  masters,  the  latter  including  examples  from  the  cabinet  of 
Baron  Verstolk,  at  the  Hague. 

Peel,  Sib  Robebt,  Baet.,  M.P.,  No.  4,  Privy  Gardens,  Whitehall :  the  mansion 


556  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

contains  a  portion  of  the  choice  collection  of  pictures  formed  hy  the  late  Sir  Robert 
Peel ;  including  Rubens's  celebrated  Chapeau  de  Paille,  for  which  Sir  Robert  gave 
3500  guineas :  also,  3  by  Cuyp ;  4  Coast-scenes,  by  Collins ;  the  Poulterer's  Shop,  by 
G.  Douw ;  4  by  Hobbema ;  2  by  Isaac  Ostade  ;  Landscape  and  Cattle,  by  Paul  Potter, 
1654;  2  by  Ruysdael ;  7  by  D.  Teniers;  Genoese  Senator  and  his  Wife,  by  Vandyke; 
4  by  A.  Vandervelde;  7  by  W.  Vandervelde;  6  by  Wouvermans;  2  by  Wynants. 
The  Portraits,  by  Reynolds  and  Lawrence,  have  been  removed  to  Drayton  Manor.  In 
the  dining-room  of  the  above  mansion  Sir  Robert  Peel  was  placed  immediately  after  his 
fatal  accident ;  and  in  this  room  he  expired,  July  2,  1850.  Between  the  doors  hangs 
Wilkie's  fine  picture  of  John  Knox  preaching. 

Rothschild's,  Baron,  Mansion,  147,  Piccadilly,  occupies  a  site  of  67ft.  frontage 
by  90ft.  in  depth,  and  is  built  on  a  bed  of  concrete  extending  over  the  whole 
surface  of  the  basement  story.  The  front  walls  are  of  Portland  stone.  The  principal 
staircase  is  of  marble  :  its  centre  flight,  opposite  the  entrance-hall  door,  is  8ft.  wide. 
The  main  landing,  as  well  as  the  stairs,  is  of  marble,  and  connects  the  two  ante-rooms, 
which  are  divided  from  the  staircase  by  marble  screens  of  columns  and  arches.  These 
ante-rooms  communicate  with  the  first-floor  reception-rooms,  one  of  which  occupies  the 
whole  of  the  Piccadilly  front. 

Rutland  House,  No.  16,  Arlington-street,  Piccadilly :  here,  January  5th,  1827, 
died  the  Duke  of  York,  second  son  of  George  III. 

Sibthoep,  Colonel,  46,  Eaton-square. — Here  was  assembled  the  rare  and  costly 
collection  of  articles  of  vertu  :  Oriental  curiosities,  ancient  ornamental  silver,  carvings 
in  ivory  and  wood,  bronzes,  Oriental  and  Limoges  enamel,  Raphael  and  Palissy  ware ; 
ornamental  glass,  German,  Bohemian,  and  Venetian ;  Dresden,  Sevres,  old  Worcester, 
and  Chelsea  porcelain,  silver,  silver- gilt,  and  plated  articles. 

Spencee  House  (Earl  Spencer),  St.  James's-place,  was  built  by  Vardy,  a  pupil  of 
Kent,  for  the  first  Earl  Spencer,  father  of  the  collector  of  the  Bibliotheca  Spenceriana. 
The  mansion  fronts  the  Green  Park,  and  has  a  pediment,  upon  which  are  three  graceful 
figures  by  Spong,  a  Danish  sculptor. 

Stafford  House  (Duke  of  Sutherland),  on  the  west  side  of  Stable-yard,  St.  James's 
Palace,  occupies  part  of  the  site  of  the  Queen's  Library,  built  by  Kent  for  Caroline, 
consort  of  George  II. :  in  Pennant's  time  it  was  a  lumber-room.  The  Stafford  mansion 
was  commenced  in  1825,  by  B.  Wyatt,  for  the  Duke  of  York,  second  son  of  George  III. 
In  1827,  it  was  proposed  to  appropriate  part  of  the  mansion  to  the  use  of  the  Royal 
Society ;  the  offer  was  accepted  subject  to  future  arrangements,  but  was  not  taken 
advantage  of,  on  account  of  the  increased  expenditure  which  the  change  would  have 
involved;  whilst  the  apartments  were  unsuitable  for  the  purposes  of  the  Society. 
The  Duke  of  York  died  before  the  building  was  completed.  The  Crown  lease  was 
then  sold  to  the  first  Duke  of  Sutherland,  for  72,0002.,  subject  to  an  annual  ground- 
rent  of  758Z.  The  mansion  is  entirely  of  hewn  stone ;  the  north  front  in  Stable-yard 
has  a  Corinthian  portico  of  eight  columns,  beneath  which  is  the  entrance.  The  garden- 
fence  is  curiously  made  of  slate. 

The  interior  was  planned  by  Barry,  by  whom  were  added  the  second  and  third 
stories,  the  latter  concealed  by  a  balustrade.  The  grandest  feature  is  the  hall,  or 
tribune,  and  state-staircase,  opening  through  all  the  stories,  and  lighted  by  a  lantern 
filled  with  engraved  glass,  and  supported  by  eighteen  palm-trees ;  the  ceiling  contains 
Guercino's  celebrated  apotheosis  of  St.  Grisogno ;  and  beside  the  fireplace  are  Murillo's 
Prodigal  Son's  Return,  and  Abraham  and  the  Angels,  from  the  Soult  Gallery.  The 
walls  are  imitative  Giallo  antico,  divided  by  white  marble  Corinthian  columns  and 
pilasters ;  and  in  compartments  are  copies,  by  Lorenzi,  of  Paul  Veronese's  colossal  pic- 
tures. The  whole  interior  strikingly  reminded  Dr.  Waageu  of  many  of  the  palaces  of 
Genoa :  it  is  a  square  of  80  feet,  rising  in  the  centre  to  120,  the  roof  richly  painted 
and  gilt,  the  floor  a  sea  of  red  and  white  marble ;  and  when  lighted  by  scores  of  can- 
delabra, the  effect  is  truly  gorgeous.  On  the  first  landing  is  a  marble  statue  of  a  Sibyl, 
by  Ronaldi.     Thence  two  flights  of  stairs  diverge  upwards  to  a  corridor,  decorated  with 


MARKETS.  557 


marble  columns  and  balustrades,  round  three  sides  of  tbe  hall ;  the  fourth  being  the 
gallery,  120  feet  long,  with  a  fretted  gold  roof,  and  lighted  by  Roman  candelabra  in 
gilt-bronze;  the  walls  are  hung  with  paintings  of  the  Italian,  Flemish,  Spanish,  and 
modern  English  schools. 

Among  the  pictures  in  the  gallery  are,  Vandyke's  portrait  of  Thomas  Howard,  Earl  of  Arundel; 
Morone's  portrait  of  a  Jesuit  (Titian's  Schoolmaster);  Correggio's  Mule-driver,  reputed  to  have  been 
painted  for  a  tavern-sign ;  Christ  before  Pilate,  Honthorst's  finest  work,  from  the  Lucca  collection ; 
Christ  at  Emmaus,  by  Paul  Veronese;  Christ  bearing  his  Cross,  by  Raphael;  Don  Francis  Borgia 
entering  the  Jesuits'  College,  several  life-size  figures,  by  Velasquez;  and  three  works  of  Zurbaran,  from 
the  Soult  collection;  Lord  Strafford  on  his  way  to  the  Scaffold  receiving  Laud's  blessing,  by  Delaroche; 
and  Winterhalter's  portrait  of  the  Duchess  Dowager  of  Sutherland. 

The  other  three  sides  consist  of  eight  state-rooms :  three  towards  the  Green  Park  are 
drawing-rooms  hung  with  Gobelins  tapestry,  designed  by  Delaroche.  Northward  is  the 
great  dining-room,  70  feet  by  30  feet,  where  is  a  statue  of  Ganymede,  by  Thorwaldsen ; 
and  on  the  third  side  are  two  saloons  hung  with  a  long  series  of  paintings  of  the  old 
Italian  schools  above  the  bookshelves. 

In  the  dining-room,  on  the  ground-floor,  are  assembled  all  the  portraits  of  the  Orleans 
Gallery ;  the  royal  and  historical  personages  during  the  reign  of  Louis  XIV.,  the  Orleans 
regency,  the  reign  of  Louis  XV.,  and  the  happy  part  of  the  life  of  Louis  XVI.  and  Marie 
Antoinette.  The  adjoining  rooms  are  dedicated  solely  to  modern  British  art ;  including 
chef-d'osuvres  of  Reynolds,  Lawrence,  Opie,  Wilkie,  Turner,  Landseer,  Callcott,  &c.  j 
busts  by  Chantrey,  and  elegant  groups  by  Westmacott,  senior  and  junior;  and  in  her 
Grace's  drawing-room  the  chimney-piece  supports  are  statues  of  her  two  lovely  daughters, 
exquisitely  sculptured  by  the  younger  Westmacott.  Other  marble  chimney-pieces  are 
adorned  with  small  bronzes  and  elegant  vessels,  after  the  antique ;  busts,  and  bas-relief. 

Among  the  pictures  on  the  ground-floor  are,  Winterhalter's  Scene  from  the  Decameron ;  a  Eiver 
Scene,  by  J.  Van  Goyen,  his  finest  work ;  St.  Justina  and  St.  Kufina,  half-lengths,  by  Murillo,  very  fine ; 
the  Marriage  of  St.  Catherine,  by  Rubens;  Festival  before  the  Flood  (17  figures),  by  W.  Etty,  R.A.; 
Scene  from  the  Spectator,  by  T.  Stothard,  R.A. ;  the  Breakfast  Table,  by  Wilkie,  R.A. ;  Cassandra 
foretelling  Hector's  Death,  by  B.  R.  Haydon ;  the  Passage  of  the  Red  Sea  by  the  Israelites,  by  F.  Danby, 
A. R.A. ;  the  Assuaging  of  the  Waters,  by  John  Martin ;  Death  of  the  Virgin,  by  Albert  Durer ;  Head  of  a 
Young  Man,  by  Parmegiano :  Lady  Gower  (now  Duchess  Dowager  of  Sutherland)  and  her  Daughter  (now 
Duchess  of  Argyle),  by  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence;  the  Day  after  the  Battle  of  Chevy  Chase,  by  E.  Bird, 
R.A.  Also  a  drawing,  by  Prince  Albert,  of  his  son,  the  Prince  of  Wales;  and  a  life-size  bronze  statue 
of  the  Marquis  of  Stafford,  by  Feucheres.  Among  the  historic  memorials  is  a  bronze  cast  taken  from 
the  face  of  Napoleon,  after  death. 

The  collection  of  pictures  can  only  be  seen  by  special  invitation  or  permission  of  the 
family. 

Tomldte's  (Mr.  G.),  No.  1,  Carlton  House-terrace,  contains  a  few  first-class  pictures ; 
including  the  Pool  of  Bethesda,  or  Christ  healing  the  Paralytic,  by  Murillo,  purchased 
by  Mr.  Tomline  from  the  Soult  collection  for  75O0Z.  Here  also  is  the  picture  of  Christ 
and  the  Woman  of  Samaria,  by  Annibal  Caracci;  and  the  identical  portrait  of 
Charles  V.,  to  paint  which  Titian  journeyed  to  Bologna. 

Uxbbidge  House  (Marquis  of  Anglesey),  Burlington  Gardens,  built  by  Joseph 
Bonomi,  in  1792,  occupies  the  site  of  Queensbury  House  (Leoni,  architect,  1726),  where 
died  the  poet  Gay,  December  4,  1732. 


•tfoUivfJ   H^n**-^  fd- 


MARKETS. 


FEW  of  the  Market-buildings  of  the  metropolis  are  of  tasteful  design,  such  as  we  are 
accustomed  to  admire  in  the  ancient  and  modern  market-places  of  the  Continent. 
Tbe  early  history  and  location  of  the  London  Markets,  are,  however,  curious. 

"  Shall  the  large  mutton  smoke  upon  your  boards  ? 
Such  Newgate's  copious  market  best  affords. 
Wouldst  thou  wish  mighty  beet  augment  thy  meal  ? 
See".  Leadenhall ;  St.  James's  sends  thee  veal ; 
Thames-street  gives  cheeses  Covent  Garden  fruits ; 
Moorfields  old  books,  and  Monmouth-street  old  suits." 

Gay's  Trivia,  book  ii. 

Billingsgate  is  described  at  pp.  54  and  55.  It  was  once  a  landing-place  for 
other  merchandise  than  fish  :  "  1550. — There  came  a  sheppe  ot  egges  and  shurtes  and 
smockes  out  ot  France  to  Byllyngesgatte."     {Grey  Friars'  Ckron.) 


558  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Borough  Market,  Southwark,  for  provisions,  occupies  the  site  of  a  mansion  of  the 
see  of  Rochester ;  and  the  ground  is  held  of  the  Sishop  by  the  parish  of  St.  Saviour,  at 
an  annual  rent  of  14Z.  13s.  6d. 

Clare  Market,  at  the  south-west  angle  of  Lincoln's-inn-fields,  for  butcher's-meat, 
fish,  and  vegetables,  was  built  by  William  Holies,  Baron  Houghton  and  Earl  of  Clare, 
in  Clement's-inn-fields,  about  the  year  1660,  and  was  first  called  New  Market. 

The  City  and  Lord  Clare  had  a  long  lawsuit  concerning  this  estate :  the  City  yielded;  "and  from  the 
success  of  this  noble  lord,  they  have  got  several  charters  for  the  erecting  of  several  other  markets  since 
the  year  1660 :  as  that  of  St.  James,  by  the  Earl  of  St.  Albans ;  Bloomsbury,  by  the  Earl  of  South- 
ampton; Brook  Market,  by  the  Lord  Brook;  Hungerford  Market;  Newport  Market;  besides  the  Hay- 
market,  New  Charing  Cross,  and  that  at  Petty  France  at  Westminster,  with  their  Mayfair  in  the  fields 
behind  Piccadilly."— Sari.  MS.  5900. 

Here  was  a  chapel  for  the  use  of  the  butchers,  whither  Orator  Henley  removed 
from  Newport  Market,  and  preached  in  a  tub  covered  with  velvet  and  gold;  the  altar 
being  inscribed  "  The  Primitive  Eucharist."  Henley,  "  preacher  at  once,  and  zany  of 
the  age,"  lectured  "  at  the  Oratory  "  upon  theology,  "  skits  of  the  fashions,"  "  the 
beau  monde  from  before  Noah's  flood,"  and  "bobs  at  the  times;"  but  straying  into 
sedition,  he  was  cited  before  the  Privy  Council,  who  dismissed  him  as  an  impudent 
fellow.  He  lectured  here  for  nearly  20  years ;  the  admission  was  1*.,  and  he  had 
medals  struck  as  tickets.  In  Gibbon's-court,  Clare  Market,  was  a  theatre,  where 
Killigrew's  company  performed  some  time.  "  Nov.  20,  1660. — Mr.  Sbepley  and  I  to 
the  new  playhouse  near  Lincoln's-inn-fields  (which  was  formerly  Gibbon's  Tennis- 
court)  where  the  play  of  *  Beggar's  Bush '  was  newly  begun  :  .  .  it  is  the  finest  play- 
house, I  believe,  that  ever  was  in  England."  (Pepys.)  Its  remains  were  long  used 
as  a  carpenter's  shop,  slaughter-houses,  &c.  Clare  Market  lying  between  the  two  great 
theatres,  its  butchers  were  the  arbiters  of  the  galleries,  the  leaders  of  theatrical  rows, 
the  musicians  at  actresses'  marriages,  the  chief  mourners  at  players'  funerals.  In  and 
around  the  Market  were  the  signs  of  the  Sun ;  Bull  and  Butcher,  afterwards  Spiller's 
Head ;  The  Grange;  The  Bull's  Head,  where  met  the  "  Shepherd  and  his  Flock 
Club,"  and  where  Dr.  Radcliffe  was  carousing  when  he  received  the  news  of  the  loss  of 
his  5000Z.  venture.  Hogarth,  when  an  apprentice,  was  here  an  early  boon  companion  of 
Joe  Miller.  Next  is  the  Black  Jack,  in  Portsmouth-street,  the  haunt  of  Joe  Miller, 
the  comedian,  and  where  he  uttered  his  time-honoured  "jests ;"  the  house  remains,  but 
the  sign  has  disappeared.  Miller  died  in  1738,  and  was  buried  in  St.  Clement's  upper 
ground,  in  Portugal-street,  where  his  grave-stone  was  inscribed  with  the  following 
epitaph,  written  by  Stephen  Duck  :  "  Here  lie  the  remains  of  honest  Joe  Miller,  who 
was  a  tender  husband,  a  sincere  friend,  a  facetious  companion,  and  an  excellent  come- 
dian.    He  departed  this  fife,  the  15th  day  of  August,  1738,  aged  54  years. 

M  If  humour,  wit,  and  honesty  could  Bave 
The  humourous,  witty,  honest,  from  the  grave, 
This  grave  had  not  so  soon  its  tenant  found, 
With  honesty,  and  wit,  and  humour  crown'd. 
Or  could  esteem  and  love  preserve  our  health, 
And  guard  us  longer  from  the  stroke  of  Death, 
The  stroke  of  Death  on  him  had  later  fell, 
Whom  all  mankind  esteem'd  and  loved  so  well." 

The'  stone  was  restored  by  the  parish  grave-digger  at  the  close  of  the  last  century ; 
and  in  1816  a  new  stone  was  set  up  by  Mr.  Jarvis  Buck,  churchwarden,  who  added 
"  S.  Duck"  to  the  epitaph.  At  the  Black  Jack  (also  called  the  Jump),  a  club  known 
as  "the  Honourable  Society  of  J  ackers"  met  until  1816.  (See"Jo:  Miller,  a  biography," 
by  W.  H.  Wills,  prefixed  to  The  Family  Jo:  Miller,  1848.) 

Clare  Market,  which  had  long  been  one  of  the  poorest  and  most  squalid  neighbourhoods  in  the  me- 
tropolis, has  of  late  years  been  greatly  improved  by  the  establishment  of  a  Mission,  with  a  chapel  in  the 
centre ;  also,  an  orphan  refuge,  a  needlewoman's  home,  a  working  man's  club,  soup-kitchen,  Bible-class, 
&c.,  to  all  which  the  recipients  themselves  contribute. 

Colombia  Market,  Bethnal  Green  (Darbishire,  architect),  has  been  built  at  the  cost 
of  Miss  Burdett  Coutts,  for  providing  good  supplies,  with  great  attention  to  cleanliness 
and  sanitary  regulation;  the  shops  surrounding  the  market  to  be  let  for  various  trades. 
The  design  is  old  English,  and  the  plan  quadrangular,  of  fine  brick  and  stone,  and 
terra-cotta ;  in  a  lofty  central  tower  is  the  machinery  for  the  water  supply.  Altogether 
this  is  the  most  picturesque  market-place  in  the  metropolis. 


MARKETS.  559 


Corn  Market,  Mark-lane.     (See  Corn  Exchange,  p.  329.) 

Covent-Garden  Market  was  established  towards  the  end  of  Charles  II.'s  reign 
(see  p.  293),  on  the  site  of  the  garden  of  the  Convent  at  Westminster ;  and  in 
Chamberlayne's  Notitia,  1726,  it  is  printed  Cowvent  Garden.  Strype  describes  it,  in 
1698,  as  held  for  fruits,  herbs,  roots,  and  flowers,  "  beneath  a  small  grotto  of  trees,"  on 
Tuesdays,  Thursdays,  and  Saturdays,  the  present  market-days.  In  1704,  when  Tavi- 
stock-row  was  built,  the  market-people  were  compelled  to  assemble  in  the  square,  and 
here  their  stalls  increased  to  dwellings. 

Steele  (Tatter,  No.  454,  Aug.  11, 1712),  in  his  boat-voyage  from  Richmond,  "soon  fell  in  with  a  fleet 
of  gardeners,  bound  for  the  several  market-ports  of  London.  ...  It  was  very  easy  to  observe  by  their 
sailing,  and  the  countenances  of  the  ruddy  virgins  who  were  supercargoes,  the  part  of  the  town  to  which 
they  were  bound.  There  was  an  air  in  the  purveyors  for  Covent  Garden,  who  frequently  converse  with 
morning  rakes,  very  unlike  the  seeming  sobriety  of  those  bound  for  Stocks  Market.  .  .  .  I  landed, 
with  ten  sail  of  apricot  boats,  at  Strand  Bridge,  after  having  put  in  at  Nine  Elms  and  taken  in  melons, 
consigned  by  Mr.  Cuffe,  of  that  place,  to  Sarah  Sewell  and  Co.,  at  their  stall  in  Covent  Garden." 

Still  the  market  was  a  strange  assemblage  of  shed  and  penthouse,  rude  stall,  and 
crazy  tenement,  coffee-house  and  gin-shop,  intersected  by  narrow  and  ill-lit  footways, 
until  the  site  was  cleared  for  a  new  market  in  1829.  The  present  market-buildings 
were  designed  by  Fowler,  and  are  perfectly  fitted  for  their  various  uses  ;  evince  con- 
siderable architectural  skill,  and  are  so  characteristic  of  the  purpose  for  which  the 
market  has  been  erected,  that  it  cannot  be  mistaken  for  anything  else  but  what  it  is ; 
unless  the  inscription,  "  John  Duke  of  Bedford,  erected  mdcccxxx.,"  over  the  east 
end,  lead  posterity  to  regard  this  as  a  patriotic  act ;  whereas  the  Bedford  family  derive 
a  large  rental  from  the  market,  stated  at  5000Z.  per  annum.  The  area  is  3  acres.  The 
rent  of  some  of  the  shops  is  from  400Z.  to  500Z.  per  annum. 

The  plan  consists  of  a  quadrangle,  with  two  exterior  colonnades  on  the  north  and 
south  sides,  in  front  of  shops;  and  in  the  central  building  an  avenue  open  to  the 
roof,  with  shops  on  each  side  for  forced  articles,  the  choice  fruits,  vegetables,  &c.  At 
the  east  end  is  a  quadruple  colonnade,  with  a  terrace  over,  and  two  large  conserva- 
tories, a  roofed  fountain  of  Devonshire  marble,  and  an  emblematical  group  of  figures 
on  the  pediment  of  a  screen  between  the  conservatories.  At  the  west  end  is  a  colon- 
nade, and  below  is  the  iron-roofed  Flower  Market.  There  are  store-cellars  almost 
throughout  the  area ;  and  water  is  supplied  from  an  Artesian  well  sunk  beneath  the 
central  path,  280  feet  deep,  and  affording  1600  gallons  per  hour,  distributed  throughout 
the  market  by  a  steam-engine. 

The  supplies  of  fruit  and  vegetables  sent  to  this  market,  in  variety,  excellence,  and 
quantity,  surpass  those  of  all  other  countries.  There  is  more  certainty  of  being  able 
to  purchase  a  pine-apple  here,  every  day  in  the  year,  than  in  Jamaica  and  Calcutta, 
where  pines  are  indigenous.  Forced  asparagus,  potatoes,  sea-kale,  rhubarb-stalks, 
mushrooms,  French  beans,  and  early  cucumbers,  are  to  be  had  in  January  and 
February ;  in  March,  forced  cherries,  strawberries,  and  spring  spinach ;  in  April,  grapes, 
peaches,  and  melons,  with  early  peas;  in  May,  all  forced  articles  in  abundance.  The 
supply  of  forced  flowers,  of  greenhouse  plants,  and  in  summer  of  hardy  flowers  and 
shrubs,  is  equally  varied  and  abundant ;  and  of  curious  herbs  for  domestic  medicines, 
distilleries,  &c.,  upwards  of  500  species  may  be  procured  at  the  shop  of  one  herbalist. 

From  distant  counties  are  sent  up  the  products  of  acres  of  turnip-tops,  cabbages,  and  peas ;  while 
hundreds  of  acres  in  Cornwall  and  Devon  grow  early  potatoes,  broccoli,  peas,  &c.,  which  reach  London 
by  railway.  Green  peas  have  been  sold  here  at  Christmas  at  21.  the  quart,  and  asparagus  and  rhubarb 
at  15*.  the  bundle.    Peaches  are  sold  at  60*.  a  dozen,  and  cherries  at  40*.  a  pound. 

The  foreign  green-fruit  trade  of  Covent  Garden  is  very  extensive  in  pine-apples, 

melons,  cherries,  apples  and  pears.    The  cheap  West  India  pine-apple  trade  dates  from 

1844,  when  pines  were  first  cried  in  the  streets  "  a  penny  a  slice." 

Farringdon  Market,  between  the  west  end  of  Shoe-lane  and  Farringdon-street, 
covers  l£  acres  of  ground,  and  was  built  by  William  Montague,  the  City  architect ;  it 
was  opened  in  1829,  on  the  removal  of  Fleet  Market.  It  is  well  placed  for  drainage, 
parallel  with  Holborn-hill ;  the  site  and  buildings  (including  a  clock-tower  of  Italian 
design)  cost  about  250,000^. ;  but  the  Market  is  little  frequented. 

Hungerford  Market,  West  Strand,  occupied  the  site  of  a  market-place  built  in 
1680  by  Sir  Edward  Hungerford,  from  his  town-house  and  grounds,  extending  to  the 


560  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Thames.  In  1685,  Sir  Stephen  Fox  and  Sir  Christopher  Wren  were  proprietors  of 
the  market-estate ;  in  the  centre  was  a  lofty  hall,  with  a  oust  of  one  of  the  Hunger- 
fords,  and  an  inscription  stating  the  market-place  to  have  heen  erected  "  utilitati 
publicm ;"  hut  Strype,  in  1720,  describes  it  as  "  baulk'd  at  first,"  and  turned  to  little 
account.  The  old  hall  and  a  colonnade  remained  until  1830,  when  premises  adapted 
from  a  Roman  market,  were  commenced  for  a  company  by  Fowler,  architect  of  Covent 
Garden  Market.  The  lower  quadrangle  was  the  fish-market,  and  the  upper  for  vege- 
tables, fruit,  meat,  &c.  The  market  was  publicly  opened  July  2,  1833 ;  but  proved 
alike  unprofitable  with  the  original  Hungerford  scheme.  The  market-place  has  been 
removed  for  the  Charing  Cross  Eailway  Terminus  and  Hotel. 

Leadenhall  Maeket,  Gracechurch-street,  is  the  great  poultry  and  game  market, 
where  4,000,000  birds,  &c.,  have  been  sold  in  one  year.  Tn  1533  the  beef  sold  here 
was  not  to  exceed  a  halfpenny  a  pound,  and  mutton  a  halfpenny  half-farthing. 

In  severe  winters  here  are  large  supplies  of  wild  ducks,  principally  from  Holland ;  woodcocks,  &c. ; 
snipes  from  Ireland  ;  pigeons  from  France;  rabbits  from  Ostend;  blackcocks  from  Scotland.  "  Some- 
times, after  a  grand  battue,  there  is  a  glut  of  hares  and  pheasants  in  Leadenhall  Market."  (M  acculloch.) 
The  returns  for  poultry,  game,  and  rabbits  in  one  year  equal  half  a  million  of  money.  A  few  years  since 
Ostend  rabbits  were  hardly  saleable  in  London;  now,  from  50  to  100  tons  are  imported  weekly  by 
steamers,  and  1000  persons  are  employed  in  this  rabbit  trade.  On  Christmas  Eve  here  are  displayed 
100,000  geese  and  turkeys,  including  importations  from  France,  Belgium,  Holland,  and  Ireland.  Here, 
also,  is  a  market  for  live  animals, — fancy  dogs  and  rabbits,  cage-birds,  &c. 

Meteopolitan  Cattle  Maeket,  the,  erected  to  supply  the  place  of  Smithfield, 
where  the  last  market  was  held  June  11,  1855,  occupies  75  acres  of  ground.  The 
Market-place  is  an  irregular  quadrangle,  with  a  lofty  clock-tower  in  the  centre,  and 
four  taverns  at  the  four  corners ;  the  open  area  being  set  off  into  divisions  for  the 
different  kinds  of  live  stock.  No  less  than  400,000£.  have  been  expended  upon  the 
land  and  buildings.  In  the  parts  of  the  market  appropriated  for  the  reception  of  the 
different  cattle,  each  central  rail  is  decorated  with  characteristic  casts  of  heads  of  oxen, 
sheep,  pigs,  &c. :  these  were  designed  and  modelled  by  Bell,  the  sculptor.  The  open 
space  of  the  market  will  accommodate  at  one  time  about  7000  cattle  and  42,000  sheep, 
with  a  proportionate  number  of  calves  and  pigs.  The  calf  and  pig-markets  are  covered, 
the  roofs  being  supported  by  iron  columns,  which  act  at  the  same  time  a3  water-drains. 
In  the  centre  of  the  whole  area  is  a  twelve-sided  structure,  called  "  Bank  Buildings," 
surmounted  by  an  elegant  campanile,  or  bell-tower.  The  twelve  sides  give  entrance  to 
twelve  sets  of  offices  occupied  by  bankers,  salesmen,  railway  companies,  and  electric 
telegraph  companies. 

In  one  year,  1862,  the  returns  have  been  304,741  bullocks,  1,498,500  sheep,  27,951 
calves,  and  29,470  pigs.  The  great  Christmas  sale  in  the  closing  year  of  old  Smithfield 
ranged  from  6000  to  7000  bullocks,  and  between  20,000  and  25,000  sheep.  On 
December  15,  1862,  the  bullocks  were  8340,  being  a  greater  number  than  ever  before 
known  at  any  metropolitan  market.  The  market-days  for  cattle,  sheep,  and  pigs  are 
Mondays  and  Thursdays ;  there  is  a  miscellaneous  market  for  horses,  asses,  and  goats 
on  Fridays. 

Newgate  Maeket,  between  Paternoster-row  and  Newgate-street,  was  formerly 
kept  in  the  latter  street,  and  was  a  market  for  meal.  "  1548.  This  yere  before 
Alhalloutyd  was  sett  up  the  bowse  for  the  markyt  folke  in  Newgate  Market  for  to 
waye  melle  in."  {Grey  Friars'  Chron.)  It  is  now  the  great  Meat  Market.  Upon 
the  site  of  the  old  College  of  Physicians,  Warwick -lane,  is  held  another  meat  market. 

Butcher-Hall-lane  (now  King  Edward-street),  Newgate-street,  was  originally  named  from  the  gTeat 
number  of  butchers  living  here ;  and  there  is  extant  a  petition  to  Parliament,  dated  1380,  praying  that 
they  might  be  restrained  from  throwing  the  blood  and  entrails  of  slaughtered  animals  into  the  river 
Fleet,  and  that  they  might  be  compelled  to  "  kill"  at  "  Knyghtsbrigg,"  or  elsewhere  out  of  London ;  and 
this  seems  to  have  been  done  for  several  reigns. 

The  City  poulterers  were  strictly  prohibited  from  standing  for  sale  at  the  Carfeux  of  Leadenhall,  a 
place  with  "  four  faces,"  which  was  expressly  reserved  for  foreigners ;  and  were  compelled,  under  pain  of 
forfeiture,  to  stand  towards  the  west  of  the  church  of  St.  Michael,  on  Comhill.  Similar  regulations 
were  in  force  at  Newgate  Market,  the  object  being  to  prevent  "  denizens"  from  meddling  with  the 
foreigners  in  sale  or  purchase.  Foreigners  were  prohibited  from  carrying  their  poultry  to  the  houses  of 
denizen  poulterers,  or  lodging  in  their  houses,  and  were  liable  to  forfeiture  and  imprisonment  if  they 
did  not  go  direct  to  the  market.  Any  poulterer  who  sold  above  the  price  fixed  by  the  regulations  was 
liable  to  penalties ;  and  any  person  who  bought  above  the  price  was  liable  to  forfeit  what  he  so  bcught, 
and  to  be  further  punished  by  the  local  authorities. 


MARK-LAKE.  561 


Newport  Market,  Soho,  named  from  the  town-house  of  the  Earl  of  Newport  in 
the  neighbourhood,  is  a  meat-market,  with  its  butchers,  slaughtermen,  and  drovers. 
Here  Orator  Henley  held  his  mock  preaching.  The  father  of  John  Home  Tooke  was 
a  poulterer  in  Newport  market, — as  he  told  his  schoolfellows,  "  a  Turkey  merchant." 

Oxford  Market,  north  of  Oxford-street,  was  built  for  Edward,  Earl  of  Oxford,  in 
1731.  Barry,  the  painter,  who  lived  in  Castle-street,  describes  it  ironically  as  "the 
most  classic  London  market — that  of  Oxford." 

Smithfield,  or  West  Smithfield  (so  called  to  distinguish  it  from  East  Smithfield, 
east  of  Tower-hill),  was  the  only  "  live "  market,  and  the  oldest  in  the  metropolis. 
The  name  signifies  a  smooth  plain ;  "  smith "  being  corrupted  from  the  Saxon  tmeth, 
smooth.  Fitzstephen  calls  it  "  a  certain  plain,  field  {planus  campus),  both  in  reality 
and  name,  situated  without  one  of  the  •  City  gates,  even  in  the  very  suburbs  :"  horses 
and  cattle  were  sold  here  in  1150,  horse-racing  was  common,  and  the  horse-market  was 
to  our  day  called  "  Smithfield  races."  The  original  extent  of  Smithfield  was  about 
three  acres ;  the  niarket-place  was  paved,  drained,  and  railed  in,  1685 ;  subsequently 
enlarged  to  4^  acres,  and  since  1834  to  Q\  acres.  Yet  this  enlargement  proved  dis- 
proportionate to  the  requirements :  in  1731  there  were  only  8304  head  of  cattle  sold  in 
Smithfield ;  in  1846,  210,757  head  of  cattle,  and  1,518,510  sheep.  The  old  City  laws 
for  its  regulation  were  called  the  "  Statutes  of  Smithfield."  Here  might  be  shown 
4000  beasts  and  about  30,000  sheep,  the  latter  in  1509  pens :  and  there  were  50  pens 
for  pigs.  Altogether  Smithfield  was  the  largest  live  market  in  the  world,  and  its  sales 
amounted  to  7,000,OOOZ.  annually.     It  is  tbus  sketched  by  Charles  Dickens : — 

*'  It  was  market  morning.  The  ground  was  covered  nearly  ankle-deep  with  filth  and  mire ;  and  a  thick 
eteam  perpetually  rising  from  the  reeking  bodies  of  the  cattle,  and  mingling  with  the  fog,  which  seemed 
to  rest  upon  the  chimney-tops,  hung  heavily  above.  All  the  pens  in  the  centre  of  the  large  area,  and  as 
many  temporary  ones  as  could  be  crowded  into  the  vacant  space,  were  filled  with  sheep;  and  tied  up  to 
posts  by  the  gutter-side  were  long  lines  of  beasts  and  oxen  three  or  four  deep.  Countrymen, 
butchers,  drovers,  hawkers,  boys,  thieves,  idlers,  and  vagabonds  of  every  low  grade,  were  mingled  toge- 
ther in  a  dense  mass :  the  whistling  of  drovers,  the  barking  of  dogs,  the  bellowing  and  plunging  of 
beasts,  the  bleating  of  sheep,  and  grunting  and  squeaking  of  pigs ;  the  cries  of  hawkers,  the  shouts, 
oaths,  and  quarrelling  on  all  sides,  the  ringing  of  bells,  and  the  roar  of  voices  that  issued  from  every 
public-house;  the  crowding,  pushing,  driving, beating,  whooping,  and  yelling:  the  hideous  and  discor- 
dant din  that  resounded  from  every  corner  of  the  market;  and  the  unwashed,  unshaven,  squalid,  and 
dirty  figures  constantly  running  to  and  fro,  and  burstins  in  and  out  of  the  throng,  rendered  it  a  stunning 
and  bewildering  scene  which  quite  confused  the  senses." — Oliver  Tatit. 

The  market,  with  its  attendant  nuisances  of  knackers'  yards,  tainted-sausage  makers, 
slaughter-houses,  tripe-dressers,  cat's-meat  boilers,  catgut-spinners,  bone-houses,  and 
other  noxious  trades,  in  the  very  heart  of  London,  was,  however,  in  1852,  condemned 
by  law  to  be  removed  into  Copenhagen  Fields,  Islington. 

The  posts  and  rails  of  the  old  cattle  pens  were  turned  into  printing  materials,  reglet 
chiefly.  Upon  the  site  of  Smithfield  and  additional  ground,  is  to  be  erected  a  Meat 
and  Poultry  Market,  of  elegant  design. 

Stocks  Market,  for  fish  and  flesh,  was  established  in  1282,  on  the  site  of  the 
present  Mansion  House,  and  was  named  from  a  pair  of  stocks  placed  there  for  punish- 
ing offenders.  In  the  reign  of  Edward  II.  it  was  decreed  one  of  the  City  Flesh  and 
Fish  Markets.  After  the  Great  Fire  it  became  a  fine  market  for  fruit,  roots,  and 
herbs,  "  surpassing  all  the  other  fruit-markets  in  London  "  (Strype)  :  "  where  is  such 
a  garden  in  Europe  as  the  Stocks  Market  ?"  (Shadwell,  1689).  At  the  north  end 
was  the  Conduit ;  and  the  equestrian  statue  of  John  Sobieski,  set  up  by  Sir  Robert 
Viner,  with  a  new  head,  as  Charles  II.  The  market  was  removed  for  the  Mansion 
House  site  in  1779.     A  few  dealers  in  costly  fruit  kept  shops  hard  by  until  our  time. 

MARK-LANE, 

BETWEEN  Fenchurch-street  and  Great  Tower-street,  is  now  the  site  of  our  great 
Metropolitan  Corn  Market,  which  originated  as  follows.  There  exists  a  token — 
"  Joseph  Taylor,  in  Blanch  Appleton-court,  at  the  end  of  Marke-lane," — referring  us  to  a 
spot  which  now,  amid  modern  alterations  and  improvements,  is  somewhat  difficult  to 
trace.  There  is  no  mention  of  it  in  the  list  of  streets,  courts,  &c,  in  the  city  of  London, 
published  in  1722 ;  nor  is  it  in  Maitland's  list  or  plans  (edit.  1756),  although  it  is  men- 
tioned in  the  text  (p.  778)  as  being  "  a  large  open  square  place  with  a  passage  for  carts, 

o  o 


562  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

and  corruptly  called  Blind  Chapel-court."  It  appears  from  Stow  that  the  north-east 
corner  of  Mark -lane  (now  occupied  by  the  premises  of  Sharp  and  Son,  tea-dealers),  was, 
as  far  back  as  13  Edward  I.,  the  site  of  a  manor-house  called  Blanch  Appleton ;  and 
that  a  lane  at  the  back  of  it  was  granted  by  the  king  to  be  enclosed  and  shut  up. 
Attached  to  the  manor  was  the  privilege  of  holding  a  market,  or  mart,  but  of  which, 
Stow  observes,  "  nothing  remaineth  for  memory  but  the  name  of  Mart-lane,  and  that 
corruptly  termed  Marke-lane."  In  the  reign  of  Richard  II.  the  manor  was  possessed 
by  Sir  Thomas  Roos.  Stow  further  informs  us,  that  in  3  Edward  IV.,  "  all  basket- 
makers,  wyer-drawers,  and  other  forrainers,  were  permitted  to  have  shops  in  this  mannour 
of  Blanch  Appleton,  and  not  elsewhere  in  this  citie,  or  suburbs  thereof."  In  a  commu- 
nication to  the  Society  of  Antiquaries  from  Mr.  T.  Lott,  relating  to  the  arrangements 
made  by  the  city  of  London  for  the  funeral  procession  of  the  body  of  Elizabeth,  Queen 
of  Henry  VII.,  some  curious  particulars  are  given  concerning  this  place,  together  with 
the  amount  in  which  the  city  assessed  its  inhabitants  towards  the  expense  of  the  pro- 
cession, &c.  Mr.  Lott  states  that  this  district,  which  appears  to  have  been  a  sort  of 
sanctuary  for  non-freemen,  is  to  this  day  called  in  the  City  Chamberlain's  books  the 
"  Blanch  Appleton  lands."  Milton's  friend,  Cyriac  Skinner,  was  a  merchant  in  this 
lane ;  and  here  Dr.  Isaac  Watts  was  minister  of  a  Dissenters'  meeting  house. 

MARTIN'S  (ST.),  LANE, 

EXTENDING  northward  from  Charing  Cross  and  the  east  side  of  Trafalgar-square, 
to  the  junction  of  Long  Acre  with  Cranbourn-street,  appears  in  Aggas's  plan 
(early  in  Elizabeth's  reign)  as  a  green  lane,  with  only  a  few  houses  beyond  St.  Martin's 
Church,  abutting  into  Covent  Garden,  which  extended  into  Drury-lane.  St.  Martin's- 
lane  was  mostly  built  about  1613,  and  was  first  named  "  West  Church-lane."  A 
few  of  the  houses  are  spacious  and  have  noble  staircases,  those  on  the  west  side  being 
the  largest ;  some  exteriors  on  the  east  side  are  good  specimens  of  brickwork.  Among 
the  early  tenants  was  Sir  Theodore  Mayerne,  phygieian  to  James  I. ;  Daniel  Mytens, 
the  painter ;  Sir  John  Suckling,  the  poet.  Sir  Hugh  Piatt,  the  most  ingenious  hus- 
bandman of  his  age,  had  a  garden  in  St.  Martin's-lane  in  1606.  Howell  sends  a 
maiden  copy  of  his  poem  "  to  Sir  Kenelm  Digby,  at  his  house  in  St.  Martin's-lane," 
in  1641.  (Familiar  Letters,  5th  edit.  1678,  p.  393.)  Here  also  lived  the  great  Earl 
of  Shaftesbury ;  Dr.  Tenison,  when  vicar  of  St.  Martin's ;  and  Ambrose  Philips,  the 
Whig  poet.  Here  too  dwelt,  nearly  opposite  May's-buildings,  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds, 
when  he  first  came  to  London ;  Sir  James  Thornhill,  who,  at  the  back  of  his  house, 
established  an  artists'  school,  from  which  arose  the  Royal  Academy ;  Roubiliac,  who 
commenced  practice  in  St.  Peter's-court,  a  favourite  haunt  of  artists ;  Fuseli,  at  No. 
100  (first  floor  and  staircase  good).  Old  Slaughter's  Coffee-house  was  once  the  great 
evening  resort  of  artists,  and  Hogarth  was  a  constant  visitor.  At  No.  101  was  built 
and  exhibited  the  Apollonicon.  No.  112  was  the  picture  premises  of  Mr.  Samuel 
Woodburn,  the  eminent  English  dealer  in  art,  who  died  in  1853,  leaving  a  valuable 
collection  of  the  Italian,  German,  and  Flemish  old  masters  :  among  the  English  pictures 
was  Hogarth's  Midnight  Modern  Conversation,  painted  for  Rich,  of  Covent  Garden 
Theatre.  No.  31  has  a  classically  decorated  exterior,  in  the  style  of  Inigo  Jones,  and 
is  engraved  in  Hakewell's  Architecture  of  the  Seventeenth  Century,  1853.  The  first 
floor  has  an  enriched  ceiling. 

A  labyrinth  of  courts  and  alleys  about  St.  Martin's  church  was  removed  in  1829 
including  the  Bermudas,  Caribbee  or  Cribbe  Islands;  and  Porridge  Island,  noted  for 
its  cook-shops.  Another  knot,  on  the  west  side  of  St.  Martin's-lane,  was  cleared  away 
for  Trafalgar-square,  including  Duke's-court.  Hereabout  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  in 
conjunction  with  his  friend,  John  Evelyn,  in  1685,  arranged  the  building  of  Archbishop 
Tenison's  Library. 

MARTIN'S  (ST.)  LB  GRAND. 

A  COLLEGE  founded  by  Withred  King  of  Kent,  in  700,  and  rebuilt  and  endowed 
about  1056  by  the    Saxon  brothers  Ingelric  and  Girard,   was  dedicated  to   St. 
Martin,  to  which  was  added  le   Grand,  from  its  privileges,  granted  by  monarchs  who 


MABYLEBONE.  563 


occasionally  resided  here.  The  church  and  collegiate  buildings  covered  the  insulated 
ground  now  occupied  by  the  General  Post-Office ;  and  the  Sutherland  View,  1543,  shows 
the  lofty  spire  and  tower,  wherein  curfew  was  rung.  Among  the  deans  was  William 
of  Wykeham,  who  rebuilt  the  church :  the  advowsons  were  given  by  Henry  VI.  to 
the  Abbots  of  Westminster.  St.  Martin's-le-Grand  was  a  noted  sanctuary ;  and  after 
the  demolition  of  the  College,  the  site  was  built  upon  and  occupied  by  non-freemen, 
to  avoid  the  City  jurisdiction.  French,  Germans,  Dutch,  and  Scotch  abounded  here  j 
their  trades  being  shoemakers,  tailors,  makers  of  buttons  and  button-moulds,  gold- 
smiths, &c. ;  and  here  are  said  to  have  first  settled  in  England  silk-throwsters.  Among 
its  counterfeit  finery  was  the  copper  "  St.  Martin's-lace."  Each  trade  had  its  quarter  j 
hence  Mould-maker's-row,  removed  in  our  time ;  and  Shoemaker's-row,  now  the  west 
side  of  St.  Martin's-le-Grand;  while  Dean's,  Bell,  and  Angel  alleys  denote  the  old 
ecclesiastical  locality.  In  1828,  when  the  site  was  cleared  for  the  Post-Office,  a  crypt 
by  William  of  Wykeham  was  destroyed.  (See  Cbypts,  page  303.)  Lower  down 
were  found  remains  of  the  Koman  times :  coins,  beads,  glass,  and  pottery ;  amphorae, 
Samian  ware,  funeral  urns,  lachrymatories,  &c. :  denoting  this  to  have  been  an  im- 
portant site  of  Roman  London.     (See  Kempe's  St.  Martin's-le-Grand.) 

Anions  the  distinguished  residents  of  Aldersgate-street,  in  a  line  with  St.  Martin's-le-Grand,  was 
Mr.,  afterwards  Sir  William,  Watson ;  at  whose  house,  in  1746,  were  exhibited  the  effects  of  the  Leyden 
phials,  then  newly  invented ;  and  here  the  Duke  of  Cumberland,  recently  returned  from  Scotland,  took 
the  shock  with  the  point  of  the  sword  with  which  he  had  fought  the  battle  of  Culloden. — The  Gold- 
headed  Cane,  p.  115. 

In  St.  Martin's-le-Grand  was  the  Taborer's  Inn,  of  the  time  of  Edward  II.;  and  the  Crown  Tavern, 
at  the  end  of  Duck-lane,  which,  in  1709,  had  a  noble  room  painted  with  classical  subjects.  Between 
Aldersgate  and  St.  Anne's-lane  end,  was  the  Mourning  Bush,  the  owner  having  painted  black  his  carved 
sign  (a  bush),  after  the  beheading  of  Charles  I.  ;  its  vaulted  cellars,  with  regular  courses  of  Roman 
brick,  form  the  foundation  of  the  present  2Ve»  Post-office  Coffee  House.  Adjoining  these  massive  re- 
mains runs  a  portion  of  the  City  wall.  .. 

<<C   _ 

_.  1 1  \~_  Ok*/    "^ 

MABYLEBONE,  {V-*  ^      ' 

A  MANOR  of  the  hundred  of  Ossulton,  in  Middlesex,  and  the  largest  parish  of 
London  (more  than  twice  the  extent  of  the  City,  and  population  greater),  was,  at 
the  commencement  of  the  last  century^  small  village  about  a  mile  N.W.  from  the 
nearest  part  of  the  metropolis.  It  was  originally  called  Tyburn,  or  Tybourne,  from 
its  being  on  the  bourne,  or  brook,  which  runs  from  Hampstead  into  the  Thames ;  and 
its  church  being  dedicated  to  St.  Mary,  the  parish  was  named  St.  Mary-at-the-bourne, 
Mary-le-bone,  or  Marybone.  In  a  record  of  Henry  VIII.  it  is  called  Tyborne,  alias 
Maryborne,  alias  Marybourne  (Lysons).  It  extends  northward  to  Primrose  Hill,  west 
to  Kilburn  turnpike,  and  south  to  Oxford-street,  inclusive :  it  is  8y  miles  in  circum- 
ference, and  contains  about  1700  acres  of  land ;  of  which,  till  about  1760,  two-thirds 
were  chiefly  pasture-fields. 

The  Manor  of  Tybourn,  valued  at  52  shillings  in  Domesday  book,  and  in  Kino- 
Edward's  time  at  100  shillings,  was  exchanged  by  the  then  lord,  in  1544,  with  Henry 
VIII.  for  certain  church  lands;  it  was  leased  by  Queen  Elizabeth,  in  1583  and  1595, 
at  the  yearly  rent  of  16Z.  lis.  8e7. ;  in  1611  it  was  sold  by  James  I.  (excepting  the 
park)  for  829Z.  3s.  Ad. ;  in  1710  it  was  sold  for  17,500Z.,  the  rental  being  then  9001. 
per  annum ;  and  about  1813  the  manor  passed  from  the  second  Duke  of  Portland  to 
the  Crown,  by  an  exchange  of  land  valued  at  40,000£.  The  manor-house,  a  large 
gabled  building,  not  unpicturesque,  was  taken  down  in  1791. 

Marylebone  Park  was  a  hunting-ground  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth :  in  160O 
the  ambassadors  from  Russia  and  their  retinue  rode  through  the  City  to  hunt  in 
Marylebone  Park ;  and  here  Sir  Charles  Blount  (afterwards  Earl  of  Devonshire),  one 
of  the  challengers  in  the  Field  of  Cloth-of-Gold,  had  a  tilt  with  the  Earl  of  Essex,  and 
wounded  him.  The  park,  reserved  by  James  I.,  was  assigned  by  Charles  I.  as  a 
security  for  debt ;  but  was  sold  by  Cromwell  for  13,215 J.  6*.  8d.,  including  deer,  and 
timber,  except  that  marked  for  the  navy.  At  the  Restoration  the  park  was  re-assigned, 
till  the  debt  was  discharged.  The  site  had  been  previously  disparked,  and  was  never 
afterwards  stocked ;  but  was  let  on  leases,  upon  the  expiry  of  which  the  ground  was. 
relaid  out,  by  Nash,  and  named  Regent's  Park. 

0  0  2 


'564  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Bowling-greens  were  also  among  the  celebrities  of  Marylebone ;  where,  says  the 
grave  John  Locke  {Diary,  1679),  a  curious  stranger  "  may  see  several  persons  of  quality 
bowling,  two  or  three  times  a  week,  all  the  summer."  Tbe  bowling-green  of  the 
Hose  Tavern  and  gaming-house  in  High-street  is  referred  to  in  Lady  Mary  Wortley 
Montague's  memorable  line  (see  p.  8) ;  and  it  is  one  of  the  scenes  of  Capt.  Macheath's 
debaucheries,  in  Gay's  Beggars'  Opera.  This  and  an  adjoining  bowling-green  were 
incorporated  in  Marylebone  Gardens,  open  gratis  to  all  classes  ;  but  the  company  be- 
coming more  select,  one  shilling  entrance-money  was  charged,  an  equivalent  being 
allowed  in  viands.  Here  were  given  balls  and  concerts ;  Handel's  music  was  played, 
under  Dr.  Arne's  direction,  followed  by  fireworks,  and  in  1772,  a  model  picture  of 
Mount  Etna  in  eruption.  Burlettas  after  Shakspeare  were  recited  in  the  theatre 
here  in  1774;  and  in  1776  was  exhibited  a  representation  of  the  Boulevards  at  Paris, 
Egyptian  Pyramids,  &c. :  the  gardens  were  suppressed  in  1777-8,  and  the  site  built 
upon. 

A  deed  of  assignment  made  by  Thomas  Lowe,  the  singer,  conveying'  his  property  in  Marylebone 
Gardens,  to  trustees,  for  the  benefit  of  his  creditors,  in  1769,  was  in  the  possession  of  the  late  Mr.  Samp- 
son Horigkinson,  who  was  familiar  with  the  parochial  history  of  Marylebone.  From  this  deed  we  learn 
that  the  premises  of  Eysbraeck,  the  statuary,  were  formerly  part  of  the  Great  (Marylebone)  Garden. 
(See  Smith's  St.  Marylebone,  1833.) 

The  orchestra  of  the  Gardens  stood  upon  the  site  of  No.  17,  Devonshire-place,  nearly 
opposite  the  old  church  described  at  page  183. 

Chattcrton  wrote  a  burletta,  entitled  The  Revenge,  to  be  performed  at  Marylebone  Gardens ;  and  that 
fortunate  collector,  Mr.  Upcott,  then  librarian  of  the  London  Institution,  found  upon  the  counter  of  a 
cheesemonger's  shop  in  the  City,  the  above  drama,  in  the  handwriting  of  Chatterton,  with  his  receipt 
given  to  llenslow,  the  proprietor  of  the  Gardens,  for  the  copy-money  paid  for  the  piece.  It  was  pub- 
lished by  Tom  King,  the  bookseller  and  book-auctioneer;  but  its  authenticity  was  doubted. 

Prize-fighting  was  a  pastime  of  this  period,  and  Marylebone  a  place  at  which  "  to 
learn  valour  "  {Beggars'  Opera).  Here  was  the  boarded  house  of  Figg,  "  the  Atlas 
of  the  Sword,"  whose  portrait  is  in  the  second  plate  of  Hogarth's  Rake's  Progress. 
Near  Figg's  was  Broughton's  Amphitheatre,  often  crowded  with  amateurs  of  high 
rank.  In  the  Evening  Post,  March  16,  1715  we  find :  "  On  Wednesday  last,  four 
gentlemen  were  robbed  and  stripped  in  the  fields  between  London  and  Mary-le-bon." 

Between  1718  and  1729  was  built  the  north  side  of  Tyburn-road,  now  Oxford-street; 
and  the  squares  and  streets  northward  were  then  commenced :  still,  much  of  the 
ground  between  the  new  buildings  and  the  village  of  Marylebone  was  pasture-fields ; 
and  Maitland,  in  his  BZistory  of  London,  1739,  states  there  to  have  been  then  only 
577  houses  in  the  parish,  and  35  persons  who  kept  coaches.  In  1795  there  were  6200 
houses ;  in  1861,  houses  16,370. 

In  1S41  the  Vestry  of  St.  Marylebone  accepted  tenders  from  certain  contractors  to  the  amount  of 
41502.  for  permission  to  cart  away  the  ashes  (breeze)  from  the  several  houses  in  this  vast  parish. 

Marylebone  is  a  parliamentary  borough,  containing  the  three  parishes  of  St.  Maryle- 
bone, Paddington,  and  St.  Pancras.  (See  Chtjbches,  St.  Marylebone,  p.  183.)  In 
the  Parish  Register  is  the  following  entry  :  "  Georgiana  Augusta  Frederica  Elliott, 
daughter  of  H.R.H.  George,  Prince  of  Wales,  and  Grace  Elliott;  born  30  March,  and 
baptized  30  July,  1782." 

MAY  FAIR, 

^FHE  district  north  of  Piccadilly,  and  between  Park-lane  and  Berkeley-square,  was 
-*-  originally  Brookfield ;  but  received  its  present  name  from  a  fair  being  held  there 
by  grant  of  James  II.,  after  the  suppression  of  St.  James's  Fair,  to  commence  on 
May  1,  and  continue  fifteen  days ;  where  multitudes  of  the  booths  were  "  not  for  trade 
and  merchandize,  but  for  inusick,  showes,  drinking,  gaming,  raffling,  lotteries,  stage- 
plays,  and  drolls."  It  was  frequented  "by  all  the  nobility  in  town;"  but  was  sup- 
pressed in  1708,  when  the  downfall  of  May  Fair  quite  sunk  the  price  of  Pinkethman's 
tame  elephant,  and  sent  his  ingenious  company  of  strollers  to  Greenwich.  (See 
Taller,  Nos.  4  and  20).  The  Fair  was,  however,  revived ;  and  John  Carter  describes 
its  "booths  for  jugglers;  prize-fighters,  both  at  cudgels  and  back-sword;  boxing- 
matches,  and  wild  beasts.  The  sports  not  under  cover  were  mountebanks,  fire-eaters, 
2.ss-racing,  sausage-tables,    dice  ditto,    up-and-downs,  merry-go-rounds,  bull-baiting, 


MEWS,  ROYAL.  565 


grinning  for  a  hat,  running  for  a  shift,  hasty-pudding-eaters,  eel-divers,"  &e.  The  site 
of  the  Fair  is  now  occupied  by  Hertford-street,  Curzon-street,  Shepherd's  Market, 
&c.j  but  the  old  wooden  public-house,  The  Dog  and  Duck,  with  its  willow-shaded 
pond  for  duck -hunting,  is  remembered  :  at  fair-time,  the  second  story  of  the  market- 
house  was  let  for  the  playhouse.  The  Fair  was  not  finally  abolished  until  late  in  the 
reign  of  George  III.  In  Curzon-street  was  "  the  Rev.  Alexander  Keith's  Chapel," 
with  an  entrance  like  a  country  church-porch,  where  marriages  at  a  minute's  notice 
were  almost  as  notorious  as  at  the  Fleet — 6000  in  one  year.  Keith's  charge  was  one 
guinea,  with  a  licence  on  a  five-shilling  stamp  and  certificate.  The  chapel  was  much 
frequented  during  May  Fair  :  here  the  Duke  of  Kingston  was  married  to  Miss  Chud- 
leigh ;  the  Baroness  Clinton  to  the  Hon.  Mr.  Shirley ;  and  James,  fourth  Duke  of 
Hamilton,  in  1752,  to  the  youngest  of  the  two  beautiful  Miss  Gunnings,  with  a  bed- 
curtain  ring,  half  an  hour  after  midnight.  The  registers  of  the  May-Fair  marriages, 
in  three  folio  volumes,  closely  and  clearly  written,  are  kept  with  the  parish-books  of 
St.  George's,  Hanover-square.  A  minute  description  of  the  above  district,  entitled, 
"The  Fair  of  May  Fair,"  will  be  found  in  Walks  and  Talks  about  London;  and  in 
London  Society,  No.  24,  with  an  engraving  of  the  Fair  one  hundred  years  ago,  from 
an  original  drawing. 

MEWS,  ROYAL. 

UPON  the  site  of  the  National  Gallery,  on  the  north  side  of  Charing  Cross,  when 
falconry  was  a  royal  pastime,  were  kept  the  King's  hawks,  in  a  building  called 
the  Mews.  In  1319  (13  Edward  II.)  John  De  la  Becke  had  the  custody  of  the  King's 
Mews  ("de  mutis  apud  Charryng  juxta  Westmonasterium").  In  the  reign  of 
Richard  II.,  Sir  Simon  Burley  was  Keeper  of  the  King's  Falcons;  and  Chaucer  was 
Clerk  of  the  King's  Works,  and  of  the  Mews  at  Charing.  In  1534,  the  royal  stables 
at  Lomsbery  (since  Bloomsbury)  were  burnt ;  after  which  the  hawks  were  removed 
from  Charing  Cross,  and  the  premises  rebuilt  for  the  stabling  of  the  King's  horses,  in 
the  reigns  of  Edward  VI.  and  Queen  Mary ;  the  building  retaining  the  name  of 
Meivs,  and  public  stables  assuming  the  same.  Here  Colonel  Joyce  was  imprisoned  by 
order  of  Oliver  Cromwell  j  beipg  carried  away  by  musqueteers  and  put  into  the  Dutch 
prison,  and  removed  thence  to  another  chamber  in  the  Mews.  It  was  a  gamblers'  re- 
sort :  Gay,  in  his  Trivia,  says  of  "  careful  observers"  : 

"  Untempted,  they  contemn  the  juggler's  feats, 
Pass  by  the  Meuse,  nor  try  the  thimble's  cheats." 

In  1732  the  facade  was  rebuilt  from  the  design  of  Kent,  with  three  stone  cupolas. 
Mac  Owen  Swiney  was  made  Keeper  of  the  Mews ;  he  had  been  manager  of  Drury 
Lane  and  the  Queen's  Theatres,  and  died  in  1754,  leaving  his  fortune  to  Peg  Wot- 
fington.  At  the  Mews  were  kept  the  royal  stud,  the  gilt  state-coach,  and  the  other 
royal  carriages,  until  their  removal  to  the  new  Mews  at  Pimlico,  in  1824.  The  build- 
ing at  Charing  Cross  was  occupied,  in  1828,  as  the  exhibition-rooms  of  the  National 
Repository,  and  by  Cross'  Menagerie  from  Exeter  Change ;  and  here  was  temporarily 
housed  a  portion  of  the  Public  Records.  The  premises  were  taken  down  in  1830,  for 
the  site  of  the  National  Gallery.  The  last  of  the  original  Mews  was  occupied  as  a 
barrack :  it  was  built  of  red  Tudor  brick,  with  buttresses,  and  crenellated ;  stone 
window-cases  and  dressings. 

At  the  Mews-gate  lived  for  more  than  forty  years  "honest  Tom  Payne"  (d.  1799),  the  bookseller; 
■whose  little  shop,  in  the  shape  of  an  L,  was  the  first  named  a  literary  coffee-house,  from  its  knot  of 
literary  frequenters. 

The  Queen's  Mews,  at  the  rear  of  Buckingham  Palace,  Queen's-row,  Pimlico, 

was  built  in  1824,  and  consists  of  two  quadrangles,  entered  by  a  Doric  archway  beneath 

a  clock-tower.     Visitors  are  admitted  by  a  ticket  from  the  Master  of  the  Horse.     In 

the  first  quadrangle   are  the  coach-houses,  and  in  the  second  the  horses.     Here  are 

usually  forty  carriages,  besides  Her  Majesty's  state-coach  :  the  dress-carriages  are  fine 

specimens  of  coach-building.     The  horses  include  road-teams,  saddle-horses,  and  backs ; 

and  the  dun  and  black  Hanoverian  state-horses  (generally  from  twelve  to  fourteen 

of  each)  for  the  state-coach  j  and  here  are  usually  kept  the  foreign  horses  presented  to 

the  sovereign.     In  the  harness-room  is  the  red  morocco  state-harness  for  eight  horses, 


566  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

with  massive  silver-gilt  furniture,  the  harness  for  each  horse  weighing  1  cwt. ;  hesides 
the  purple  morocco  state-harness  made  when  George  IV.  was  Regent. 

The  Mews  dock  has  stone  dials  (6  feet  10  inches  in  diameter),  with  the  figures  sunk  (as  in  the  Egyp- 
tian monuments),  and  a  sunk  centre  for  the  hour-hand  to  traverse,  so  as  to  bring  the  minute-hand  close 
to  the  figures,  and  thus  avoid  nearly  all  error  from  parallax — an  improvement  by  Vulliamy. 

The  Riding-House  belonged  to  Buckingham  House :  here,  in  1771,  were  publicly  exhibited  the 
Queen's  elephants,  from  one  of  which  Lindley  Murray,  the  grammarian,  had  a  narrow  escape. 

Royal  Mews,  Prince's-street,  Westminster,  was  huilt  hy  Decimus  Burton,  for  stables 
to  the  House  of  Commons,  upon  a  space  formerly  occupied  hy  a  nursery  of  200  trees, 
planted  upon  the  site  of  the  markets  and  narrow  streets  on  the  north  side  of  West- 
minster Ahhey,  and  removed  between  1804  and  1808.  Here  was  kept  the  Speaker's 
State  Coach  (See  State  Coaches).  In  1854,  the  Mews  was  taken  down,  and  upon 
its  foundations  was  built  the  present  Stationery  Office,  by  Pennethorne ;  the  old  office, 
Lord  Milford's  house,  being  taken  down,  and  the  site  added  to  Birdcage  Walk,  in  1855. 

MINORIES,   THE, 

LEADING  from  Aldgate  High-street  to  Tower-hill,  is  named  from  the  "  Sorores 
Minores,"  "  Minoresses,"  or  nuns  of  the  order  of  St.  Clare,  founded  1293,  whose 
convent  stood  in  this  street:  upon  its  site  on  the  east  side,  is  built  the  church  of  the 
Holy  Trinity.  The  parish  was  formerly  the  convent  close,  and  is  without  the  walls  of 
London,  although  in  the  Liberty  of  the  Tower  of  London ;  therefore  its  inhabitants 
have  no  vote  in  the  Common  Council.  In  Haydon-square  is  a  spring  of  pure  water, 
which  was  the  convent  fountain;  and  here  lived  Sir  Isaac  Newton  when  warden  and 
master-worker  of  the  Mint:  the  house  was  taken  down  in  1852.  On  May  24,  1853, 
during  excavations  on  the  west  side  of  Haydon-square,  was  found  a  stone  sarcophagus 
of  the  late  Roman  period,  sculptured  with  a  basket  of  fruit,  a  medallic  bust,  and  foliage, 
and  containing  a  leaden  coffin  with  the  remains  of  a  child :  the  sarcophagus  is  now 
in  the  British  Museum.  In  the  Minories  neighbourhood  have  been  found  sculptured 
sepulchral  stones  and  urns,  and  a  third  brass  coin  of  Valens.  In  the  churchyard  are 
deposited  some  bones  taken  from  the  field  of  Culloden  in  1745  j  and  in  the  church  is 
preserved  a  head,  though  from  what  body  is  unknown. 

The  parish  of  Holy  Trinity  is  minutely  described  in  the  Archceologia,  in  1803,  by 
the  Rev.  Dr.  Fly,  F.S.A.,  63  years  incumbent  of  the  parish ;  and  the  account  was  re- 
printed in  1851  (with  additions),  by  the  Rev.  T.  Hill,  incumbent.  After  the  dissolu- 
tion of  the  convent,  there  were  built  here  "  storehouses  for  armour  and  habiliments  of 
war,  with  divers  workhouses  serving  to  the  same  purpose  "  (Stow) : 
•  The  Mulcibers  who  in  the  Minories  sweat." — Congreve. 
The  street  has  been  noted  for  its  gunsmiths  to  our  time :  and  in  1816  their  shops 
were  plundered  by  the  Spa  Fields  rioters  on  their  way  to  "  summon  the  Tower  \" 
From  the  Minories  station  the  Blackwall  Railway  crosses  the  street  by  an  unsightly 
enclosed  viaduct. 

MINT,  THE  ROYAL, 

LONDON,  has  been  the  chief  seat  of  the  Mint  from  the  remotest  period.  Some  of 
the  Roman  emperors  are  presumed  to  have  coined  money  here;  but  "the  silver 
penny  of  Alfred,"  says  Ruding,  "is  the  first  authentic  coin  yet  discovered  which  can 
with  certainty  be  appropriated  to  the  London  Mint."  The  Mint  in  the  Tower  dates 
from  the  erection  of  that  fortress ;  and  it  has  been  worked  in  almost  every  reign  from 
the  Conquest  to  our  own  times.  The  Mint  buildings — "  houses,  mills,  and  engines  "— 
used  for  coining  were  between  the  outer  and  inner  ward  or  ballium,  thence  named 
Mint-street. 

The  Roman  Mint  of  London  has  heen  ably  illustrated  in  a  paper  read  by  Mr.  De  Salis  to  the  Archaeo- 
logical Institute,  "  on  the  coins  issued  from  a.b.  287  to  a.d.  330."  He  commenced  with  a  description 
of  the  early  coins  of  Carausius,  which  are  of  inferior  workmanship  and  without  mint-marks.  These 
were  succeeded  during  the  later  part  of  his  reign  and  that  of  Aliectus,  by  coins  of  better  fabric,  bearing 
the  mint-marks  of  London  and  Camulodunum,  copper  only  being  found  of  the  latter.  The  coins  of 
Carausius  and  Aliectus  were  struck  between  287  and  296,  and  all  the  remaining  coins  with  the  mint- 
marks  l,  ln,  or  lon  belong  to  the  reign  of  Constantine.  After  the  restoration  in  296,  we  have,  instead 
of  the  copper  denarius  issued  by  the  two  usurpers,  a  larger  coin  called  the  follit,  which  gradually  de- 
creases in  size  from,  say  a  penny,  to  a  farthing.  No  gold  was  issued  in  London  during  this  period,  but 
there  are  billon  coins  with  the  exergual  mark,  put,  of  Constantine  and  his  sons.    Having  described  the 


MINT,   THE  ROYAL.  567 


coins  in  issue  from  296  to  333,  Mr.  De  Salis  remarked  that  the  suppression  of  the  Mint  of  London  was 
one  of  the  many  administrative  changes  which  attended  the  transfer  to  the  east  of  the  imperial  residence. 
It  had  become  an  establishment  of  little  importance,  not  having  coined  anything  but  copper  and  billon 
since  the  downfall  of  Allectus.  A  temporary  revival  of  this  Mint  took  place  under  Magnus  Maximus, 
who  rebelled  in  Britain  in  383.  There  are  very  rare  gold  solidi  with  the  mint-mark  avgob,  which  are 
much  more  likely  to  belong  to  Londinium  Augusta  than  to  Augusta  Trevirorum,  of  which  we  have 
similar  coins  of  the  same  usurper,  marked  tbob  and  smtb.  No  coins  with  the  mint-mark  avgob  have 
been  found  of  the  successors  of  Magnus  Maximus,  and  it  is  probable  that  the  Mint  of  London,  which  he 
was  obliged  to  revive  after  his  successful  rebellion,  was  agaiu  closed  when  he  found  himself  in  posses- 
sion of  the  Western  Empire  after  the  overthrow  of  Gratian. 

In  the  35th  Henry  III.  the  Mint  warden's  salary  was  2s.  a  day.  The  constitution  of 
superior  officers  established  in  the  reign  of  Edward  II.,  continued  with  few  alterations 
until  1815.  In  1287,  600  Jews  were  confined  within  the  Tower  at  one  time  for 
clipping  and  adulterating  the  coin  of  the  realm.  In  1546,  one  William  Foxley,  a 
pot-maker  for  the  Mint,  fell  asleep  in  the  Tower,  and  could  not  be  waked  for  four- 
teen days  and  fifteen  nights.  Some  of  the  Mint  officers  are  buried  in  the  church  of 
St.  Peter  in  the  Tower,  the  chaplain  and  rector  of  which,  by  grant  of  Edward  III., 
received  10*.  from  the  clerk  of  the  Mint,  13*.  4d.  from  the  master  of  the  Mint,  and 
Id.  per  week  from  the  wages  of  each  workman  and  teller  of  coins. 

Lully,  the  alchemist,  worked  "  in  the  chamber  of  St.  Katherine "  in  the  Tower, 
and  was  believed  to  supply  the  Mint  with  gold;  and  Edward* III.,  Henry  VI.,  and 
Edward  IV.  had  faith  in  being  able  by  alchemy  to  furnish  the  Mint  with  cheap  gold 
and  silver.  In  the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  the  masters  of  the  Mint  were  empowered 
by  letters  patent  to  take  goldsmiths,  smiths,  and  others,  for  the  works  of  the  Mint  in 
the  Tower;  and  to  imprison  any  rebellious  within  the  said  Tower,  until  the  King 
should  determine  their  punishment ;  and  this  power  was  not  discontinued  in  the  reign 
of  Elizabeth.  Before  the  Reformation,  ecclesiastics  were  sometimes  comptrollers : 
*  Should  we,"  says  Latimer,  "  have  ministers  of  the  Church  to  be  comptrollers  of  the 
Mint  ?  ....  I  would  fain  know  who  comptrolleth  the  devil  at  home  at  his  parish, 
while  he  comptrolleth  the  Mint  ?"  (Sermon,  1548.)  During  the  re-casting  of  the 
corrupt  coin  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  the  queen  publicly  coined  at  the  Tower  several 
pieces  with  her  own  hand,  and  distributed  them  among  her  suite. 

In  1695,  Mr.,  afterwards  Sir  Isaac  Newton,  was  appointed  warden  of  the  Mint ;  and 
in  1699  he  was  promoted  to  the  mastership,  which  post  he  held  till  his  death :  his 
mathematical  and  chemical  knowledge  was  of  great  service  in  this  office ;  he  wrote  an 
official  Report  on  the  coinage,  and  drew  up  a  table  of  assays  of  foreign  coins.  Newton 
lived  some  time  in  Haydon-square,  Minories.  In  1851  were  sold  several  Mint  Curiosi- 
ties, once  possessed  by  Stanesby  Alchorne,  king's  assay-master :  including  the  standard 
troy  pound,  determined  by  the  Mint  officers  in  1758 ;  also  Crocker's  Register-book  of 
Drawings  for  Medals,  certified  by  officers  of  the  Mint,  and  containing  thirty  autographs 
of  Sir  Isaac  Newton, — purchased  by  the  British  Museum. 

The  old  Royal  Mint — disused  after  the  year  1810 — occupied  but  a  very  small  space 
within  the  walls  of  the  Tower  of  London,  and  was  situated  at  the  north-east  corner  of 
the  fortress.  "  The  whole  of  the  mechanical  appliances — which  were  of  the  rudest 
character — and  apparatus  for  executing  the  coinage  of  the  realm  filled  but  one  room, 
and  that  not  a  particularly  large  one.  The  melting  department  was  ridiculously  small, 
and  the  crucibles  used  therein  were  easily  moved  by  hand-power,  even  when  charged 
with  metal.  The  rolling-mills,  of  comparatively  miniature  size,  were  driven  by  four 
horses,  ever  going  their  '  weary  rounds.'  The  cutting-out  presses,  of  the  most  primi- 
tive kind,  and  some  of  which  are  retained  in  the  new  Royal  Mint  as  curiosities,  were 
worked  by  means  of  levers  and  by  hand.  An  implement  of  a  peculiar  description 
called  from  its  shape  a  '  cow,'  was  used  for  raising  the  protecting  edges  on  the  coins, 
whilst  the  stamping-presses  were  put  in  motion  by  the  muscular  strength  of  gangs  of 
brawny  labourers.  In  the  year  1810  the  New  Mint  superseded  the  Tower  Money 
Factory,  and  to-day  an  area  of  ground  as  large  as  that  covered  by  the  entire  Tower 
of  London  itself — within  its  moat  boundary — is  occupied  by  the  workshops,  coining- 
rooms,  and  offices  of  the  British  Mint." — Abridged  from  the  Mechanics'  Magazine. 

The  establishment  formerly  consisted  of  a  master  and  worker,  deputy-master,  comptroller,  king's 
assay  master,  king's  clerk,  and  superintendent  of  machinery  and  dies ;  the  master  assayer,  probationer 
assayer,  weigher  and  teller,  surveyor  of  meltings,  surveyor  ofmoney-pressers,  chief  and  second  engraver, 
medallist,  &c. ;  besides  the  company  of  moneyers,  who  had  coined  the  public  money  from  a  very  early 


568  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

period,  with  exclusive  corporate  rights.  The  office  of  Warden  was  abolished  in  1S17.  A  new  constitu- 
tion was  introduced  in  1815,  and  was  changed  in  1851 :  it  is  now  vested  in  the  master  and  his  deputy, 
subject  to  the  Treasury.  The  mastership  was  formerly  a  political  office :  it  was  last  so  filled  by  Richard 
Lalor  Sheil;  in  1851  was  appointed  a  Master  and  Worker,  Sir  John  F.  W.  Herschel,  Bart.,  the  astro- 
nomer, a  worthy  successor  to  the  office  once  filled  by  the  illustrious  Newton.  The  operative  branch  of 
the  Mint  consists  of  the  assayer,  the  melter,  and  refiner.  The  moneyers  have  been  abolished,  and  Go- 
vernment now  coins  for  the  public  on  its  own  account ;  the  Master  being  the  executive  head  of  the 
establishment.    The  present  Master  is  Professor  Graham,  F.E.S.,  the  eminent  chemist. 

The  present  Mint,  upon  Little  Tower-hill,  is  a  handsome  stone  structure  of  mixed 
Grecian  and  Roman  architecture,  commenced  hy  Mr.  Johnson,  and  completed  by  Sir 
Robert  Smirke,  between  1806  and  1811 :  the  cost,  including  the  machinery,  was  a 
quarter  of  a  million  of  money.  It  was  formerly  supplied  with  water  through  a  tunnel 
from  the  Tower  ditch ;  and  it  was  one  of  the  earliest  public  offices  lighted  with  gas. 
Upon  the  site  was  "sometime  a  monastery,  called  New  Abbey,  founded  by  King 
Edward  III.  in  1359."  (Stow.)  After  the  Suppression,  was  built  here  the  Victualling 
Office,  subsequently  tobacco-warehouses. 

At  the  Mint  is  executed  the  coinage  of  the  three  kingdoms,  and  of  many  of  our 
colonies ;  and  such  is  the  completeness  of  the  steam  machinery  by  Boulton  and  Watt, 
Maudslay  and  Co.,  and  John  and  George  Rennie,  that  fifty  thousand  pounds  worth  of 
gold  received  one  morning  in  bullion  may  be  returned  the  next  in  coin,  strangely  con- 
trasting with  the  old  method  of  striking  every  piece  by  hand,  and  carrying  on  the 
whole  process  in  a  single  room.  The  present  stupendous  machinery  is  unequalled  in 
the  mint  of  any  other  country.  The  furnaces  have  long  been  supplied  with  smoke- 
consuming  apparatus.  The  gold  and  silver  being  alloyed,  are  cast  into  small  bars,  are 
passed  through  powerful  rollers,  and  by  the  draw-bench  brought  to  the  exact  thickness 
required.  The  circular  disks  or  blanks  are  then  punched  out  of  the  sheets  of  metal 
by  other  machines ;  and  are  then  separately  weighed,  sounded,  have  the  protecting  rim 
raised,  and  are  blanched  and  annealed.  The  blanks  are  then  taken  to  the  coining-room, 
and  placed  in  the  screw-presses,  each  of  which  by  the  same  stroke  stamps  on  both  sides, 
and  mills  at  the  edge,  thus  making  a  perfect  coin :  each  press  will  coin  between  four 
and  five  thousand  pieces  per  hour,  and  feeds  itself  with  the  blanks.  For  the  dies  a 
matrix  is  cut  by  the  Mint  engraver  in  soft  steel,  which,  being  hardened,  furnishes  many 
dies.  In  the  coining-room  are  eight  presses,  which,  by  the  force  of  a  blow  of  40  tons 
weight,  impress  the  face  of  the  Queen,  the  reverse  of  the  coin,  and,  at  the  same  time, 
mill  the  edge  of  the  coin  in  the  way  previously  described.  From  each  press,  the  per- 
fect sovereigns  are  thrown  off  at  the  rate  of  sixty-four  per  minute.  At  this  rate,  sup- 
posing that  all  the  presses  could  be  kept  working,  a  stream  of  30,720  sovereigns  would 
run  out  in  an  hour.  The  newly-coined  money  is  now  ready  for  the  Trial  of  the  Pix,  when 
one  of  each  coin  is  placed  in  a  pix  or  casket,  sealed  with  three  seals,  and  secured  with 
three  locks;  and  the  coins  are  then  compared  with  the  trial -plates  at  Westminster  by  a 
jury  from  the  Goldsmiths'  Company,  the  Lord  Chancellor,  or  the  Chancellor  of  the 
Exchequer,  presiding.  The  early  matrices,  and  the  collection  of  coins  and  medals,  at 
the  Mint,  are  among  its  Curiosities. 

The  following  are  the  best  Mint  engravers  from  the  reign  of  Charles  I.  to  the  present  time  :  Briot, 
Simon,  Rawlins,  Roettier  (3),  Croker  or  Crocker,  Tanner,  Dassier,  Yeo,  Natter,  Pingo  (2),  Pistrucci,  and 
the  Wyons  (3). 

Applications  to  view  the  Mint  must  be  made  in  writing  to  the  Master  or  Deputy -master ;  the  party 
of  visitors  not  to  exceed  six,  for  whom  the  applicant  is  responsible;  the  order  available  only  for  the  day 
specified,  and  not  transferable. 

MINT  (THE),  SOUTRWAEK, 

A  LARGE  section  of  the  parish  of  St.  George  the  Martyr,  and  so  called  from  "  a 
mint  of  coinage"  having  been  kept  here  by  Henry  VIII.  It  was  originally 
named  Suffolk  Manor ;  and  opposite  St.  George's  church,  upon  the  site  of  the  premises 
of  Messrs.  Pigeon,  the  distillers,  was  Suffolk  Place,  the  magnificent  mansion  of  Charles 
Brandon,  Duke  of  Suffolk,  brother-in-law  of  Henry  VIII.  This  house  the  Duke  gave 
to  the  King  in  exchange  for  a  palace  of  the  Bishop  of  Norwich  in  the  parish  of  St. 
Martin's-in-the- Fields:  it  was  then  called  Southwark  Place  and  Duke's  Place.  In 
the  Sutherland  View  of  London,  1543,  it  is  shown  as  "ye  Mint." 

In  the  fourth  year  of  Edward  VI.  (1550)  Sir  Edward  Peckham,  Knight  was  appointed  high-treasurer 


MINT  (THE),  SOUTHWABK.  569 

and  Sir  John  Yorke  under-treasurer,  of  this  Mint;  and  in  1551  were  issued  crowns,  half-crowns, 
shilling's,  and  sixpences,  with  the  mint-mark  Y  for  Sir  John  Yorke. 

In  1549  Edward  VI.  came  from  Hampton  Court  to  visit  the  Mint,  when  it  was 
spoken  of  as  "  the  capital  messuage,  gardens,  and  park  in  Southwark."  Southwark 
had  also  its  Saxon  and  Norman  Mint,  a.d.  978  to  1135;  and  coins  of  Ethelred  II., 
Canute,  Harold,  Edward  the  Confessor,  William  I.  and  II.,  Henry  I.  and  Stephen, 
with  the  Southwark  mint-mark,  are  known  to  collectors.  The  old  Saxon  spelling  of 
Southwark  was  ZVDLIDEEE,  Suthgwere  ;  and  on  Saxon  coins  we  find  it  abbreviated 
ZVD,  ZVDE,  ZVDLE,  ZVDEEU).  With  the  reign  of  Stephen  ceased  the  power  of 
coining  money,  granted  by  the  Tower  Mint  to  smaller  mints  near  London,  as  South- 
wark, Stepney,  &c.  The  precise  site  of  the  original  Mint  in  Southwaik  is  unknown  ;  but 
it  was,  probably,  within  the  ancient  town  of  Southwark  (now  the  Guildable  Manor) 
which  extended  only  from  St.  Mary  Overie's  Dock,  by  St.  Saviour's  Church,  to  Hay's- 
lane,  and  southward  to  the  back  of  the  modern  Town  Hall.  It  is  conjectured  that 
the  Saxon  Mint  may  have  been  attached  to  the  original  Town  Hall,  nearly  opposite 
the  church  of  St.  Olave ;  or,  the  Southwark  Mint  may  have  been  under  the  direction 
of  the  early  Bishops  of  Winchester,  at  or  near  their  manor  of  the  Clink,  and  who  may 
have  been  moneyers  here,  as  well  as  at  the  Winchester  Mint.  Of  Henry,  Bishop  of 
Winton,  and  the  illegitimate  brother  of  King  Stephen,  there  exists  a  silver  penny 
(the  only  specimen  known),  which  was  bought  at  the  Pembroke  sale  for  2M.  10*.,  and 
is  now  in  the  British  Museum.  We  cannot  suppose  the  original  Southwark  Mint  to 
have  occupied  the  site  of  the  Mint  in  St.  George's  parish,  which  was  not  within 
the  ancient  town,  and  was  not  "  the  King's  Manor"  until  after  Henry  VIII.  had  ob- 
tained it  from  Cranmer,  Archbishop  of  Canterbury. 

Queen  Mary  gave  the  Mint  property  to  Nicholas  Heath,  Archbishop  of  York,  in 
recompense  for  York  House,  Whitehall,  which  had  been  taken  from  Cardinal  Wolsey 
by  Henry  VIII.  Archbishop  Heath  sold  the  Mint  in  1557,  when  a  great  number  of 
mean  dwellings  were  erected  upon  the  estate ;  but  the  mansion  was  not  entirely  taken 
down,  or  it  must  have  been  rebuilt,  before  1637,  when  Aldeiman  Bromfield,  Lord 
Mayor  of  London,  resided  at  Suffolk  Place,  which  he  possessed  until  1650. 

The  Mint  is  described  by  Strype  as  consisting  of  several  streets  and  alleys ;  the 
chief  entrance  being  from  opposite  St.  George's  church  by  Mint-street,  "  running  into 
Lombart-street,  thence  into  Suffolk-street,  and  so  into  George-street ;"  .each  entrance 
having  its  gate.  It  became  early  an  asylum  fcr  debtors,  coiners,  and  vagabonds  ;  and 
of  the  "  traitors,  felons,  fugitives,  outlaws,  condemned  persons,  convict  persons,  felons 
defamed,  those  put  in  exigent  of  outlawry,  felons  of  themselves,  and  such  as  refuse  the 
law  of  the  land,"  who  in  the  time  of  Edward  VI.  herded  in  St.  George's  parish.  The 
Mint  at  length  became  such  a  pest,  that  statutes  8  &  9  William  III.,  and  9  &  11 
Geo.  L,  ordered  the  abolition  of  its  privileges.  One  of  these  statutes  (9  Geo.  I., 
1723)  relieved  all  those  debtors  under  50Z.  who  had  taken  sanctuary  in  the  Mint  from 
their  creditors  :  and  the  Weekly  Journal  of  Saturday,  July  20,  1723,  thus  describes 
their  exodus : 

"On  Tuesday  last,  some  thousands  of  the  Minlers  went  out  of  the  land  of  bondage,  alias  the  Mint, 
to  bo  cleared  at  the  quarter  session'*  at  Guildford,  accord! jg  to  the  late  Act  of  Parliament.  The  road 
was  covered  with  them,  insomuch  that  they  looked  like  one  of  the  Jewish  tribes  going  out  of  Egypt ; 
the  cavalcade  consisting  of  caravans,  carts,  and  wagons,  besides  numbers  on  horses,  asses,  and  on  foot. 
The  drawer  of  the  Two  Fighting-cocks  was  seen  to  lead  an  ass  loaded  with  geneva,  to  support  the  spirits 
of  the  ladies  upon  the  journey.  'Tis  said  that  several  heathen  bailiffs  lay  in  ambuscade  in  ditches  upon 
the  road,  to  surprise  some  of  them,  if  possible,  on  their  march,  if  they  should  straggle  from  the  main 
body ;  but  they  proceeded  with  so  much  order  and  discipline,  that  they  did  not  lose  a  man  upon  this 
expedition." 

The  Mint  was  the  retreat  of  poor  poets : 

"  Then  from  the  Mint  walks  forth  the  man  of  rhyme." — Pope. 
And  one  of  the  offences  with  which  Pope  reproached  his  needy  antagonists  was  their 
"  habitation  in  the  Mint."  "  Poor  Nahum  Tate"  (once  poet  laureate)  died  in  the 
Mint  in  1716,  where  he  had  sought  shelter  from  his  rapacious  creditors.  The  place  is 
a  scene  of  Gay's  Beggars'  Opera;  and  "Mat  of  the  Mint"  figures  in  Macheath's 
gang.  It  was  also  one  of  the  haunts  of  Jack  Sheppard;  and  Jonathan  Wild  kept 
his  horses  at  the  Duke's  Head  in  Red-Cross-street,  within  the  precincts  of  the  Mint. 
Ulicit  marriages  were  also  performed  here,  as  in  the  Fleet  Prison,  May  Fair  Chapel,  &c 


570  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Officers  of  justice  sent  here  to  serve  processes  were  commonly  pumped  upon 
almost  to  suffocation,  and  even  thrown  into  "the  Black  Ditch"  of  mud  and  filth. 
Here  is  said  to  have  occurred  the  first  case  of  Asiatic  cholera  in  London  in  1832. 
Much  of  the  district  still  consists  of  streets  and  alleys,  of  wretched  tenements  in- 
habited by  an  indigent  and  profligate  population;  also  "lodgings  for  travellers;" 
but  very  few  of  the  old  houses  remain. 

MONUMENT,  TEH, 

ON  the  east  side  of  Fish-street-hill,  occupies  part  of  the  site  of  St.  Margaret's  Church, 
destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666.  It  was  erected  by  Sir  Christopher  Wren, 
between  1671  and  1677  (pursuant  to  19  Charles  II.  c.  3,  s.  29),  to  commemorate  the 
Great  Fire  and  rebuilding  of  the  City  :  the  expense  was  about  14,500£.,  defrayed  out 
of  the  Orphans'  Fund.  The  Monument  is  of  the  Italo-Vitruvian-Doric  order,  and  is 
of  Portland  stone,  of  which  it  contains  21,126  solid  feet.  It  consists  of  a  pedestal 
about  21  feet  square,  with  a  plinth  27  feet,  and  a  fluted  shaft  15  feet  at  the  base  ;  on 
the  abacus  is  a  balcony  encompassing  a  moulded  cylinder,  which  supports  a  flaming 
vase  of  gilt  bronze,  indicative  of  its  commemoration  of  the  Great  Fire ;  though  some 
repudiating  Roman  Catholics  assert  this  termination  to  be  intended  for  the  civic  cap  of 
maintenance !  Defoe  quaintly  describes  the  Monument  as  "  built  in  the  form  of  a 
candle,"  the  top  making  "  handsome  gilt  flame  like  that  of  a  candle."  Its  entire 
height  is  202  feet,  stated  in  one  of  the  inscriptions  to  be  equal  to  its  distance  eastward 
from  the  house  where  the  fire  broke  out,  at  the  king's  baker's,  in  Pudding-lane. 

On  the  front  of  the  house,  on  the  east  side  of  Pudding-lane,  was  a  stone  with  this  inscription : 
"Here,  by  the  permission  of  Heaven,  Hell  broke  loose  upon  this  Protestant  City,  from  the  malicious 
Hearts  of  barbarous  Papists  by  the  Hand  of  their  agent  Hubert,  who  confessed,  and  on  the  Ruins  of 
this  Place  declared  the  Fact,  for  which  he  was  hanged,  viz.  That  here  begun  that  dreadful  Fire  which 
is  described  and  perpetuated  on  and  by  the  Neighbouring  Pillar.  Erected  Anno  1681,  in  the  Mayoralty 
of  Sir  Patience  Ward,  Kt."— Hatton,  1708. 

The  Monument  is  loftier  than  the  pillars  of  Trajan  and  Antoninus  at  Rome,  or  that  of 
Theodosius  at  Constantinople ;  and  it  is  not  only  the  loftiest,  but  also  the  finest  isolated 
column  in  the  world.  Within  is  a  staircase  of  345  black  marble  steps,  opening  to  the 
balcony,  whence  the  view  of  the  metropolis,  especially  of  its  Port,  is  very  interesting. 
It  was  at  first  used  by  the  members  of  the  Royal  Society  for  astronomical  purposes, 
but  was  abandoned  on  account  of  its  vibration  being  too  great  for  the  nicety  required 
in  their  observations.  Hence  the  report  that  the  Monument  is  unsafe,  which  has  been 
revived  in  our  time ;  "  but,"  says  Elmes,  "  its  scientific  construction  may  bid  defiance 
to  the  attacks  of  all  but  earthquakes  for  centuries  to  come."  Wren  proposed  a  more 
characteristic  pillar,  with  flames  blazing  from  the  loopholes  of  the  shaft,  and  figured  in 
brass-work  gilt ;  a  phoenix  was  on  the  top  rising  from  her  ashes,  in  brass-gilt  likewise. 
This,  however,  was  rejected;  and  Wren  then  designed  a  statue  of  Charles  II.,  15  feet 
high  ;*  but  the  king  preferred  a  large  ball  of  metal,  gilt ;  and  the  present  vase  of  flames, 
42  feet  high,  was  adopted:  when  last  triple  regilt,  it  cost  1201.  On  June  15th,  1825, 
the  Monument  was  illuminated  with  portable  gas,  in  commemoration  of  the  laying  of 
the  first  stone  of  London  Bridge :  a  lamp  was  placed  at  each  of  the  loopholes  of  the 
column,  to  give  the  idea  of  its  being  wreathed  with  flame ;  whilst  two  other  series  were 
placed  on  the  edges  of  the  gallery,  to  which  the  public  were  admitted  during  the  evening. 
The  west  face  or  front  of  the  pedestal  is  rudely  sculptured  by  Caius  Gabriel  Cibber,  in 
alto  and  bas-relief:  Charles  II.,  be-wigged  and  be-Romanised,  is  attended  by  Liberty, 
Genius,  and  Science ;  in  the  background  are  labourers  at  work  and  newly-built  houses : 
and  at  the  King's  feet  is  Envy  peering  from  an  arched  cell,  and  blowing  flames  to  re- 
kindle the  mischief.  The  scaffolding,  ladders,  and  hodmen  are  more  admired  for  their 
fidelity  than  the  monarch  and  his  architect.    The  north  and  south  sides  bear  Latin 

*  A  large  print  of  the  Monument  represents  the  statue  of  Charles  so  placed,  for  comparative  effect, 
beside  a  sectional  view  of  the  apex,  as  constructed.  Wren's  autograph  report  on  the  designs  for  the 
summit  was  added  to  the  mss.  in  the  British  Museum  in  1852.  A  model,  scale  £  inch  to  the  foot,  of  the 
scaffolding  used  in  building  the  Monument,  is  preserved.  It  formerly  belonged  to  Sir  William  Cham- 
bers, and  was  presented  by  Heathcote  Russell,  C.E.,  to  the  late  Sir  Isambard  Brunei,  who  left  it  to  his 
son,  Mr.  I.  K.  Brunei :  the  ladders  were  cf  the  rude  construction  of  Wren's  time,  two  uprights,  with 
nailed  treads  or  rounds  on  the  face. 


MOORFIELDS.  571 


inscriptions  by  Dr.  Thomas  Gale,  afterwards  Dean  of  York ;  that  on  the  north  record- 
ing the  desolation  of  the  city ;  the  south  its  restoration  and  improvement,  and  the  means 
employed ;  while  the  east  is  inscribed  with  the  years  in  which  it  was  begun  and  finished, 
and  the  names  of  the  Lord  Mayors  during  its  erection.  Around  the  base  of  the 
pedestal  was  also  the  following  inscription,  beginning  at  the  west : — 

(W.)  "  THIS  PILLAR  WAS  SET  VP  IN  PERPETVAL  REMEMBRANCE  OF  THAT  MOST  DREADFUL 
BURNING  OF  THIS  PROTESTANT  (S.)  CITY,  BEGUN  AND  CARRYED  ON  BY  YE  TREACHERY  AND 
MALICE  OF  YE  POPISH  FACTIO,  IN  YE  BEGINNING  OF  SEPTEM  IN  YE  YEAR  OF  (E )  OUR  LORD 
1666,  IN  ORDER  TO  YE  CARRYING  ON  THEIR  HORRID  PLOTT  FOR  EXTIRPATING  (N.)  THE  PRO- 
TESTANT RELIGION  AND  OLD  ENGLISH  LIBERTY,  AND  THE  INTRODUCING  POPERY  AND 
SLAVERY." 

And  the  north  inscription  concluded  with  : 

"  SED  FUROR  PAPISTICUS  QVI  TAMDIU  PATRAVIT  NONDUM  RESTINGVITVR." 

These  offensive  legends  are  not  mentioned  by  Wren,  but  were  added  in  1681,  by  order 
of  the  Court  of  Aldermen,  amid  the  horror  of  the  Papists  spread  by  the  Titus  Oates 
plot.  They  were  obliterated  in  the  reign  of  James  II.,  but  recut  deeper  still  in  the 
reign  of  William  III.,  and  excited  Pope's  indignant  couplet : 

"  Where  London's  column,  pointing  at  the  skies, 
Like  a  tall  bully,  lifts  the  head  and  lies." 

The  legends  were  ultimately  erased  (by  an  Act  of  Common  Council)  Jan.  26,  1831. 
On  the  cap  of  the  pedestal,  at  the  angles,  are  four  dragons,  the  supporters  of  the  City 
arms :  these  cost  200L,  and  were  the  work  of  Edward  Pierce,  jun.  Six  persons  have 
committed  suicide  by  throwing  themselves  from  the  Monument  gallery :  1.  John 
Cradock,  a  baker,  July  7,  1788;  2.  Lyon  Levi,  a  Jew  diamond-merchant,  Jan.  18, 
1810 ;  3.  same  year,  Leander,  a  baker ;  4.  Margaret  Moyes,  daughter  of  a  baker  in 
Hemming's-row,  Sept.  11,  1839 ;  5.  Hawes,  a  boy,  Oct.  18,  1839 ;  6.  Jane  Cooper,  a 
servant-girl,  Aug.  19,  1842.  To  prevent  similar  deaths,  the  gallery  has  been  encaged 
with  iron-work,  as  we  now  see  it.  William  Green,  a  weaver,  is  erroneously  recorded 
as  a  suicide,  June  25,  1750;  for,  on  reaching  over  the  railing,  to  look  at  a  live  eagle 
kept  there  in  a  wooden  cage,  he  accidentally  lost  his  balance,  and  fell  over  against  the 
top  of  the  pedestal,  thence  into  the  street,  and  was  dashed  to  pieces.  The  fall  is 
exactly  175  feet.  In  1732,  a  sailor  slid  down  a  rope  from  the  gallery  to  the  Three- 
Tuns  Tavern,  Gracechurch-street ;  as  did  also,  next  day,  a  waterman's  boy.  In  the 
Times  newspaper  of  August  22,  1827,  there  appeared  the  following  burlesque 
advertisement : 

"  Incredible  as  it  may  appear,  a  person  will  attend  at  the  Monument,  and  will,  for  the  sum  of  2500?., 
undertake  to  jump  clear  off  the  said  Monument,  and  in  coming  down  will  drink  some  beer  and  eat  a 
cake,  act  some  trades,  shorten  and  make  sail,  and  bring  ship  safe  to  anchor.  As  soon  as  the  sum 
stated  is  collected,  the  performance  will  take  place ;  and  if  not  performed,  the  money  subscribed  to  be 
returned  to  the  subscribers." 

Admittance  to  the  gallery  of  the  Monument  from  9  till  dusk ;  charge  reduced,  in 
1851,  from  6d.  to  3d.  each  person.  In  the  reign  of  George  I.  the  charge  was  2d.  The 
office  of  Keeper  of  the  Monument  is  in  the  gift  of  the  Corporation  of  London. 

MOORFIELDS 

IS  first  mentioned  by  Fitzstephen  (temp.  Henry  II.)  as  "  the  great  fen  or  moor  which 
watereth  the  walls  of  the  City  on  the  north  side,"  and  stretched  "  from  the  wall 
betwixt  Bishopsgate  and  Cripplegate  to  Fensbury  and  to  Holywell"  (Stoic).  When 
the  Moor  was  frozen,  Fitzstephen  tells  us  the  young  Londoners,  by  placing  the  leg-bones 
of  animals  under  their  feet,  and  tying  them  round  their  ankles,  by  aid  of  an  iron-shod 
pole,  pushed  themselves  with  great  velocity  along  the  ice ;  and  one  of  these  bone-skates, 
found  in  digging  Moorfields,  was  in  the  Museum  of  Mr.  C.  Roach  Smith,  F.S.A.,  5, 
Liverpool-street.  In  the  reign  of  Edward  II.,  Moorfields  was  let  for  four  marks  a  year ; 
in  1415,  the  Mayor  made  a  breach  in  the  wall,  and  built  the  Moorgate  postern.  Bricks 
are  stated  to  have  been  made  here,  before  any  other  part  of  London,  in  the  17th 
Edward  IV.,  for  repairing  the  City  wall  between  Aldgate  and  Aldersgate;  when 
*'  Moorfields  was  searched  for  clay,  and  bricks  were  made  and  burnt  there."  Facing 
the  wall  was  a  black  ditch ;  hence  "  the  melancholy  of  Moorditch,"   (Shakspeare,  Henri/ 


572  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

IV.  Part  1.)  In  1497,  the  gardens  in  Moorfields  were  made  plain;  the  Moor  was 
drained  in  1527,  and  laid  out  in  walks  and  planted  in  1606. 

Moorfields  and  Finsbury  were  the  great  places  for  recreative  walks ;  while  all  beyond 
was  open  ground,  stretching  right  and  left  to  the  nearest  villages.  Moorfields,  in  the 
ancient  maps,  is  covered  with  linen ;  and  in  Thomas  Deloney's  Crown  Garland  of 
Golden  Roses,  may  be  seen  the  ballad  history  of  "  the  two  ladies  of  Finsbury  that  gave 
Moorfields  to  the  City,  for  the  maidens  of  London  to  dry  clothes  in,"  and  where  he  says : 

"  Now  are  made  most  pleasant  walks 
That  great  contentment  yield :" 

while  Finsbury  fields  was  the  great  school  of  archery,  from  the  time  when  every  man 
was  enjoined  by  law  to  "  draw  a  good  bow  and  shoot  a  good  shot,"  until  the  entire 
decay  of  the  science. 

There  is  a  curious  tract  on  Moorfields,  published  by  Henry  Gosson,  in  1607,  entitled 
"  The  Pleasant  Walks  of  Moorfields :  being  the  gift  of  two  sisters,  now  beautified  to 
the  continuing  fame  of  this  worthy  city,"  and  is  the  work  of  Richard  Johnson,  author 
of  "  Look  on  me,  London."  The  laying  out  and  planting  the  fields  are  here  minutely 
described.     This  tract  has  been  reprinted  by  Mr.  Payne  Collier. 

Evelyn,  recording  the  Great  Fire,  says  the  houseless  people  took  refuge  about  Moor- 
fields, under  tents  and  miserable  huts  and  hovels ;  and  Pepys  found  Moorfields  full  of 
people,  and  "  poor  wretches  carrying  their  goods  there ;"  next  year  the  fields  were  built 
upon  and  paved.  On  the  south  side  was  erected  -Bethlehem  Hospital  in  1675—6  (see 
pp.  51-54),  whichhas  disappeared  in  our  time,  with  the  long  fine  of  furniture-dealers' 
shops  from  the  north  side. 

"  Through  fam'd  Moorfields  extends  a  spacious  seat, 
Where  mortals  of  exalted  wit  retreat ; 
Where,  wrapp'd  in  contemplation  and  in  straw, 
The  wiser  few  from  the  mad  world  withdraw." 

Gay  to  Mr.  Thomas  Snow,  Goldsmith,  near  Temple  Bar. 

Under  Bethlehem  wall,  in  1753-4,  Elizabeth  Canning,  by  her  own  testimony,  was 
seized,  robbed,  and  gagged;  thence  dragged  to  Mother  Wells's  at  Enfield  Wash,  and 
there  nearly  starved  to  death ;  but  the  whole  story  was  a  hoax. 

The  Moor  reached  from  London  Wall  to  Hoxton ;  and  a  thousand  cartloads  of  human 
bones  brought  from  St.  Paul's  charnel-house  in  1549,  and  soon  after  covered  with 
street-dirt,  became  so  elevated,  that  three  windmills  were  built  upon  it.  (Aggas's 
plan  shows  three  windmills  on  the  site  of  Finsbury-square :  hence  Windmill-hill,  now 
street.)  The  ground  on  the  south  side  being  also  much  raised,  it  was  named  Upper 
Moorfields.  On  the  north  of  the  fields  stood  the  Dogge-house,  where  the  Lord  Mayor's 
hounds  were  kept  by  the  Common  Hunt :  hence  "  Dog-house  Bar,"  City -road.  East- 
ward the  Moor  was  bounded  by  the  ancient  hospital  and  priory  of  Bethlehem,  separated 
by  a  deep  ditch,  now  covered  by  Blomfield-street.  The  lower  part  of  the  fields  was 
paled  into  four  squares,  each  planted  with  elm-trees,  round  a  grass-plat,  and  intersected 
by  broad  gravel-walks ;  a  favourite  promenade  in  evenings  and  fine  weather,  and  called 
"  the  City  Mall ;"  where  beaux  wore  their  hats  diagonally  over  their  left  or  right  eye, 
hence  called  "  the  Moorfields  cock."  Here  was  the  Foundry  at  which,  previous  to  the 
year  1706,  the  brass  ordnance  for  the  British  Government  was  cast.  Near  the  Foundry 
Whitefield  built  his  Tabernacle  (see  p.  223).     It  was  roofed  with  pan-tiles. 

Moorfields  was,  till  near  Pennant's  time,  the  haunt  of  low  gamblers,  the  great 
gymnasium  of  our  capital,  the  resort  of  wrestlers,  boxers,  and  football  players.  Here 
mountebanks  erected  their  stages,  and  dispensed  infallible  medicines  to  the  gaping  gulls. 
Here,  too,  field-preachers  set  up  their  itinerant  pulpits,  beneath  the  shade  of  the  trees; 
and  here  the  pious,  well-meaning  Whitefield  preached  so  winningly,  as  to  gain  from  a 
neighbouring  charlatan  the  greater  number  of  his  admirers. 

Moorgate  was  erected  opposite  the  site  of  Albion  Chapel,  at  the  sotith-west  angle  of 
the  fields,  and  was  rebuilt  in  1672 ;  the  central  gateway  higher  than  usual,  for  the 
City  Trained  Bands  to  march  through  it  with  their  pikes  erected.  The  fields  are  now 
covered  by  Finsbury-square  and  Circus,  and  adjoining  streets :  the  name  survives  in 
"  Little  Moorfields,"  and  it  has  been  revived  in  Moorgate-street.  Until  comparatively 
modern  times,  Moorfields  was  an  open  space,  uniting  with  the  Artillery-ground  (see 
p.  21)  and  Bunhill-fields  (see  p.  75). 


MUSEUM,  THE  BRITISH.  573 


In  Finsbury-plaee  was  "  the  Temple  of  the  Muses,"  built  by  James  Lackington,  the  celebrated  book- 
seller, who  came  to  London  in  1773  with  only  half-a-crown  in  his  pocket.  In  1792  he  cleared  50001.  by 
his  business;  and  in  1798  retired  with  a  large  fortune,  amassed  by  dealing  in  old  books,  and  reprinting 
them  at  a  cheap  rate.  He  was  succeeded  by  his  cousin  George  Lackington,  Allen,  Hughes,  Mavor  (a 
son  of  the  Rev.  Dr.  Mavor),  Harding,  and  Co. ;  and  next  by  Jones  and  Co.,  the  publishers  of  London  in 
the  Nineteenth  Century.  Lackington's  "  Temple,"  which  was  a  vast  building,  was  destroyed  by  fire  in 
1841. 

Moorfields  has  a  sort  of  ideal  association  with  the  notorious  "  Calves'-Head  Club." 

In  a  blind  alley  about  Moorfields  met  the  Calves'-Head  Club,  where  an  axe  hung  up  in  the  Club- 
room,  and  was  reverenced  as  a  principal  symbol  in  this  diabolical  sacrament.  Their  great  feast  of 
Calves'  heads  was  held  the  30th  of  January  (the  anniversary  of  the  martyrdom  of  King  Charles  I.),  the 
Club  being  erected  "  by  an  impudent  set  of  people,  in  derision  of  the  day,  and  defiance  of  monarchy." 
Their  bill  of  fare  was  a  large  dish  of  calves'  heads,  dressed  several  ways;  a  large  pike,  with  a  small  one 
in  his  mouth,  as  an  emblem  of  tyranny;  and  a  large  cod's  head,  to  represent  the  person  of  the  King 
(Charles  I.)  singly,  as  by  the  calves'  heads  before  they  had  done  him  together  with  all  them  that  suffered 
in  his  cause ;  and  a  boar's  head,  with  an  apple  in  its  mouth,  to  represent  the  king  by  this  as  bestial,  as 
by  the  others  they  had  done  foolish  and  tyrannical.  After  the  repast  the  Eikon  Basilike  was  burnt, 
anthems  were  sung,  and  the  oath  was  sworn  upon  Milton's  Defensio  Populi  Anglicani.  The  company 
consisted  of  Independents  and  Anabaptists ;  Jerry  White,  formerly  chaplain  to  Oliver  Cromwell,  said 
grace;  and  the  table-cloth  being  removed,  the  Anniversary  Anthem,  as  they  impiously  called  it,  was 
sung,  and  a  calf's  skull  filled  with  wine  or  other  liquor,  and  then  a  brimmer  went  about  to  the  pious 
memory  of  those  worthy  patriots  that  had  killed  the  tyrant,  &c.  (See  the  Secret  History  of  the  Caloes'' 
Head  Club,  6th  edit.  1706.) 

But  the  whole  affair  of  the  Calves'-Head  Club  was  a  hoax,  kept  alive  by  the  pre- 
tended Secret  History.  An  accidental  riot,  following  a  debauch  on  one  30th  of  January, 
has  been  distributed  between  two  successive  years,  owing  to  a  misapprehension  of  the 
mode  of  reckoning  prevalent  in  the  early  part  of  the  last  century ;  and  there  is  no  more 
reason  for  believing  in  the  existence  of  a  Calves'-Head  Club  in  1734-5  than  there  is  for 
believing  that  it  exists  in  1867. — (See  Club  Life  of  London,  vol.  i.  pp.  25-34.    18G6.) 

Coleman-street,  named  from  its  builder,  was  originally  part  of  the  "  Lower  Walks  of 
Moorfields :"  it  gives  name  to  the  Ward.  In  a  house  in  this  street  were  received  and 
harboured  the  Five  Members  accused  of  treason  by  Charles  I.  At  the  Star  tavern,  in 
Coleman-street,  Oliver  Cromwell  and  several  of  his  party  occasionally  met,  as  given  in 
evidence  on  the  trial  of  Hugh  Peters.  In  a  conventicle  in  Swan-alley,  Venner,  a  wine- 
cooper  and  Millenarian,  preached  to  the  soldiers  of  King  Jesus :  an  insurreotion  followed, 
and  Venner  was  hanged  and  quartered  in  Coleman-street,  Jan.  19,  1660-61.  The 
Cambridge  carrier  put  up  at  the  Bell,  in  Coleman-street,  1637 ;  and  in  Great  Bell  Yard, 
Bloomfield,  author  of  the  Farmer's  Boy,  worked  as  a  shoemaker.  Justice  Clement,  in 
Ben  Jonson's  Every  Man  in  his  Rumour,  lived  in  Colernan-street ;  and  Cowley  wrote 
a  comedy  called  Cutter  of  Coleman-street,  1721. 


MUSEUM,  THE  BRITISH, 

GREAT  Russell-street,  Bloomsbury,  occupies  the  site  of  Montague  House,  built  for 
Ralph  Montague,  first  Baron  Montague,  of  Boughton,  by  Robert  Hooke,  the  cele- 
brated mathematician  and  horologist.  Evelyn  describes  it,  in  1679,  as  "  Mr.  Montague's 
new  palace  neere  Bloomsberry,  built  somewhat  after  the  French  pavilion  way,"  with 
ceilings  painted  by  Verrio.  On  Jan.  19, 1686,  it  was  burnt  to  the  ground,  through  the 
carelessness  of  a  servant  "airing  some  goods  by  the  fire;"  the  house  being  at  the  time 
let  by  Lord  Montague  to  the  Earl  of  Devonshire.  Lady  Rachel  Russell,  in  one  of  her 
letters,  describes  the  sparks  and  flames  covering  Southampton  House  and  filling  the 
court.  The  loss  is  stated  at  40,000^.,  besides  6000J.  in  plate;  and  Lord  Devonshire's 
pictures,  hangings,  and  furniture.  The  mansion  was  rebuilt  upon  the  foundations  and 
burnt  walls  of  the  former  one,  the  architect  being  Peter  Puget.  La  Fosse  painted  the 
ceilings,  Rousseau  the  landscapes  and  architecture,  and  Jean  Baptiste  Monnoyer  the 
flowers.  Lord  Montague,  who  in  1705  was  created  Marquis  of  Monthermer  and  Duke 
of  Montague,  died  here  in  1709 ;  his  son  resided  here  until  his  mansion  was  completed 
at  Whitehall.  Montague  House  was  built  on  the  plan  of  a  first-class  French  hotel,  of 
red  brick,  with  stone  dressings,  lofty  domed  centre,  and  pavilion-like  wings.  In  front 
was  a  spacious  court,  inclosed  with  a  high  wall,  within  which  was  an  Ionic  colonnade, 
the  principal  entrance  being  in  the  centre,  by  the  "  Montague  Great  Gate,"  beneath  a 
picturesque  octangular  lantern,  with  clock  and  cupola ;  and  at  each  extremity  of  the 
wall  was  a  square  lantern.     The  old  mansion  was  removed  between  1845  and  1852, 


574  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

when  portions  of  the  painted  walls  and  ceilings,  La  Fosse's  deities,   and  Baptiste's 
flowers,  were  preserved,  and  sold  with  the  materials. 

Montague  House  and  gardens  occupied  seven  acres.  In  the  latter,  in  1780,  were  encamped  the 
troops  stationed  to  quell  the  Gordon  Riots  ;  and  a  print  of  the  period  shows  the  gardens  in  the  rear  of 
the  mansion,  laid  out  in  grass  terraces,  flower-borders,  grass-plots,  and  gravel-walks,  where  the  gay 
world  resorted  on  a  summer's  evening :  the  back  being  open  to  the  fields,  extending  west  to  Lisson- 
green  and  Paddington ;  north  to  Primrose  Hill,  Chalk  Farm,  Hampstead,  and  Highgate ;  and  east  to 
Battlebridge,  Islington,  St.  Pancras,  &c.  On  the  side  of  the  garden  next  Bedford-square  was  a  fine 
grove  of  elm-trees;  and  the  gardens  of  Bedford  House,  in  Bloomsbury-square,  reached  to  those  of  the 
British  Museum,  before  that  house  was  taken  down,  and  Russell-square  and  the  adjacent  streets  were 
built  on  its  site.    (See  Fibld  ov  Foety  Footsteps,  page  337.) 

The  British  Museum  has  been  the  growth  of  a  century,  between  the  first  purchase 
for  the  collection  in  1753,  and  the  near  completion  of  the  new  buildings  in  1853.  The 
Museum  originated  in  a  suggestion  in  the  will  of  Sir  Hans  Sloane  (d.  1753),  offering 
his  collection  to  parliament  for  20,0007.,  it  having  cost  him  50,000Z.  The  offer  was 
accepted;  and  by  an  Act  (26th  George  II.)  were  purchased  all  Sir  Hans  Sloane's 
"  library  of  books,  drawings,  manuscripts,  prints,  medals,  seals,  cameos  and  intaglios, 
precious  stones,  agates,  jaspers,  vessels  of  agate  and  jasper,  crystals,  mathematical 
instruments,  pictures,"  &c.  By  the  same  Act  was  bought,  for  10,000Z.,  the  Harleian 
Library  of  MSS.  (about  7600  volumes  of  rolls,  charters,  &c.) ;  to  which  were  added  the 
Cottonian  Library  of  MSS.,  and  the  library  of  Major  Arthur  Edwards.  (See  Libraries, 
page  519.)  By  the  same  Act  also  was  raised  by  lottery  100,000?.,  out  of  which  the 
Sloane  and  Harleian  collections  were  paid  for ;  10,250?.  to  Lord  Halifax  for  Montague 
House,  and  12,873?.  for  its  repairs ;  a  fund  being  set  apart  for  the  payment  of  taxes 
and  salaries  of  officers.  Trustees  were  elected  from  persons  of  rank,  station,  and  literary 
attainments;  and  the  institution  was  named  the  British  Mitsetjm.  There  had  also 
been  offered  Buckingham  House,  with  the  gardens  and  field,  for  30,000?. ;  and  at  one 
time  it  was  proposed  to  deposit  the  Museum  in  Old  Palace-yard,  in  the  place  designed 
by  Kent  for  new  Houses  of  Parliament.  To  Montague  House  were  removed  the 
Harleian  collection  of  MSS.  in  1755 ;  other  collections  in  1756 ;  and  the  Museum  was 
opened  to  the  public  January  15,  1759.  At  first  the  Museum  was  divided  into  three 
departments,  viz. — Printed  Books,  Manuscripts,  and  Natural  History ;  the  increase  of 
collections  soon  rendered  it  necessary  to  provide  additional  accommodation  for  them, 
Montague  House  proving  insufficient.  The  present  by  George  III.  of  Egyptian 
Antiquities,  and  the  purchase  of  the  Hamilton  and  Townley  Antiquities,  made  it  more 
imperative  to  create  an  additional  department — that  of  Antiquities  and  Art — to  which 
were  united  the  Prints  and  Drawings,  as  well  as  the  Medals  and  Coins  previously 
attached  to  the  Library  of  Printed  Books  and  Manuscripts.  Next,  in  1816,  was 
provided  temporary  shelter  for  the  Elgin  Marbles,  this  being  the  last  addition  to 
Montague  House. 

When,  in  1823,  the  Library  collected  by  George  III.  was  presented  to  the  nation 
by  George  IV.,  it  became  necessary  to  erect  a  building  to  receive  it.  It  was  then 
decided  to  have  an  entirely  new  edifice  to  contain  the  whole  of  the  Museum  collections, 
including  the  recently  acquired  Library.  Sir  Robert  Smirke,  R.A.,  tne  architect, 
accordingly  prepared  plans.  The  eastern  side  of  the  present  structure  was  completed  in 
1828,  and  the  Royal  Library  was  then  deposited  in  it.  The  northern,  southern,  and 
western  sides  of  the  building  were  subsequently  erected,  Montague  House  being  re* 
moved  piecemeal  as  the  new  buildings  progressed,  so  that  the  Museum  was  not  closed 
for  the  rebuilding.  Mr.  Sydney  Smirke,  in  1846,  succeeded  his  brother,  Sir  Robert, 
as  architect  to  the  Museum.  The  plan  consists  of  a  courtyard,  flanked  east  and  west 
with  the  official  apartments.  The  main  buildings  form  a  quadrangle,  upon  the  ground 
of  the  gardens  of  Montague  House.  The  architecture  throughout  the  exterior  is 
Grecian- Ionic.  The  southern  facade  consists  of  the  great  entrance  portico,  eight 
columns  in  width,  and  two  intercolumniations  in  projection ;  on  either  side  is  an  ad- 
vancing wing :  entire  front  370  feet,  surrounded  by  a  colonnade  of  44  columns,  5  feet  at 
their  lower  diameter,  and  45  feet  high ;  height  of  colonnade  from  the  pavement  64^ 
feet.  At  the  foot  of  the  portico  are  12  stone  steps,  120  feet  in  width,  terminating 
Avith  pedestals  for  colossal  groups  of  sculpture.  "  Since  the  days  of  Trajan  or  Hadrian, 
no  such  stones  have  been  used  as  those  recently  employed  at  the  British  Museum,  where 
800  stones,  from  5  to  9  tons  weight,  form  the  front.     Even  St.  Paul's  contains  no  ap- 


ITUSETJM,  TEE  BRITISH.  575 


proach  to  these  magnitudes."  (Prof.  Cockerell's  Lectures,  1850.)  The  tympanum  of 
the  pediment  is  enriched  with  a  group  allegorical  of  the  "  Progress  of  Civilization," 
and  thus  described  by  the  sculptor,  Sir  Eichard  Westmacott,  R.A. : 

Commencing  at  the  western  end  or  angle  of  the  pediment,  Man  is  represented  emerging  from  a 
rutie  savage  stage  through  the  influence  of  Religion.  He  is  next  personified  as  a  hunter  and  tiller  of  the 
earth,  and  labouring  for  his  subsistence.  Patriarchal  simplicity  then  becomes  invaded,  and  the  worship 
or  trie  true  bod  defiled.  Paganism  prevails,  and  becomes  diffused  by  means  of  the  Arts.  The  worship 
or  tne  heavenly  bodies,  and  their  supposed  influence,  led  the  Egyptians,  Chaldeans,  and  other  nations 
to  study  astronomy,  typified  by  the  centre  statue— the  key-stone  to  the  composition.  Civilization  is  now 
^m"?!.  +•  aV-e  made  consitJerable  progress.  Descending  towards  the  eastern  angle  of  the  pediment 
is  Mathematics,  in  allusion  to  Science  being  now  pursued  on  known  sound  principles.  The  Drama, 
.Poetry,  and  Music  balance  the  group  of  the  Fine  Arts  on  the  western  side,  the  whole  composition  ter- 
minating with  Natural  History,  in  which  such  subjects  or  specimens  only  are  represented  as  could  be 
made  most  effective  in  sculpture."  The  crocodile  is  emblematic  of  the  cruelty  of  man  in  savage  life  the 
tortoise  of  his  slow  progress  to  civilization.  The  figure  of  Astronomy  is  12  feet  high,  and  weighs  between 
7  and  8  tons.  The  several  figures  are  executed  in  Portland-stone,  and  the  decorative  accessories  are  gilt. 

The  ornamental  gates  and  railing  inclosing  the  courtyard  were  commenced  in  model 
by  Lovati,  who  died  before  he  had  made  much  progress ;  they  were  completed  by  Mr. 
Thomas  and  Messrs.  Collmann  and  Davis.  The  railing — spears  painted  dark  copper, 
with  the  beads  gilt,  and  with  an  ornamented  band — is  raised  upon  a  granite  curb.  In 
the  centre  of  the  railing  is  a  grand  set  of  carriage-gates  and  foot-entrances,  strengthened 
by  fluted  columns  with  composite  capitals,  richly  gilt,  surmounted  by  vases.  The  frieze 
is  wholly  of  hammered  iron  :  the  remainder  of  the  iron-work  is  cast  from  metal  moulds, 
and  was  chiefly  piece-moulded,  in  order  to  obtain  relief.  The  carriage-gates  are  moved 
by  a  windlass,  both  sides  opening  simultaneously.  Each  half  of  these  gates  weighs  up- 
wards of  five  tons.  The  height  of  the  iron-work  is  9  feet  to  the  top  rail :  the  length 
of  the  whole  palisade  is  about  800  feet.  The  metal-work  was  contracted  for  by  Walker, 
of  York,  and  cost  nearly  8000?.  Upon  the  granite  gate-piers  are  to  be  placed  sitting 
statues  of  Bacon  and  Newton,  and  upon  the  two  end  piers  Milton  and  Shakspeare. 
The  buildings  have  altogether  cost  upwards  of  800,000Z. 

As  you  stand  beneath  the  portico,  the  effect  is  truly  majestic,  and  you  are  impressed 
with  the  feeling  that  this  is  a  noble  institution  of  a  great  country.  The  principal  en- 
trance is  by  a  carved  oak  door,  9  feet  6  inches  in  width,  and  24  feet  in  height.  The 
hall  is  Grecian-Doric.  The  ceiling,  trabeated  and  deeply  coffered,  is  enriched  with 
Greek  frets  and  other  ornaments  in  various  colours,  painted  in  encaustic.  Here  are 
three  marble  statues  :  the  Hon.  Mrs.  Damer,  holding  a  small  figure  of  the  Genius  of 
the  Thames ;  Shakspeare,  by  Roubiliac ;  and  Sir  Joseph  Banks,  Bart.,  by  Chantrey. 
The  statue  of  Shakspeare  was  bequeathed  by  Garrick  to  the  Museum  after  the  death  of 
his  widow ;  the  statue  of  Sir  Joseph  Banks  was  presented  by  his  personal  friends.  Be- 
tween these  statues  is  the  doorway  to  the  Grenville  Library.  East  of  the  hall  is 
the  Manuscripts  Department  j  west,  the  principal  staircase  (with  carved  vases  of 
Huddlestone  stone),  and  a  gallery  which  forms  the  approach  to  the  Collection  of 
Antiquities. 

To  inspect  the  several  collections  in  the  order  in  which  they  are  described  in  the"  official  Guide,  the 
visitor  will  ascend  to  the  upper  floor  by  the  principal  staircase,  and  enter  the  exhibition  rooms  of  the 
Zoological  Department.  These-rooms  form  part  of  the  southern,  the  whole  of  the  eastern,  and  part  of 
the  northern  sides  of  the  upper  floor.  The  Minerals  and  Fossils  which  are  next  described,  are  contained 
in  the  remaining  part  of  the  northern  side.  The  Botanical  exhibition  is  displayed  in  two  rooms  in  the 
southern  front  of  the  building,  which  are  entered  by  a  doorway  on  the  eastern  side  of  the  Central  Saloon 
in  the  Zoological  Department.  Following  still  the  order  of  the  Guide,  the  visitor  will  descend  the  prin- 
cipal stairs  to  the  hall,  and  enter  the  Department  of  Antiquities  by  the  doorway  near  the  south-western 
angle.  The  Antiquities  occupy  the  whole  of  the  western  parts  of  the  ground  floor,  several  rooms  con- 
nected therewith  on  the  basement,  and  the  western  side  of  the  upper  floor.  On  the  lower  floor,  the  eastern 
portion  of  the  south  front,  and  part  of  the  east  wing,  is  the  Library  of  Manuscripts.  The  remainder  of 
the  east  side,  and  the  whole  of  the  northern  side  of  the  quadrangle,  are  occupied  by  the  Printed  Books. 

The  entrance  to  the  Grenville  room  is  on  the  eastern  side  of  the  hall,  under  the  clock.  In  this  room 
is  deposited  the  splendid  library  bequeathed  to  the  nation  in  1847  by  the  Right  Hon.  Thomas  Grenville, 
a  marble  bust  of  whom,  by  Comolli,  stands  in  a  recess  on  the  southern  side.  Here,  as  well  as  in  the  Royal 
library,  are  exhibited  various  printed  books,  selected  to  show  the  progress  of  the  art  of  printing,  with 
specimens  of  ornamental  and  curious  binding.  From  the  Grenville  library  the  visitor  proceeds  to  the 
Manuscript  Saloon,  where  selections  of  manuscripts,  charters,  autographs,  and  seals  are  arranged  for 
inspection.  The  visitor  next  enters  the  Royal  library,  and  here,  besides  the  printed  books  already 
mentioned,  are  exhibited  some  interesting  and  valuable  specimens  from  the  department  of  prints  and 
drawings. 

The  Zoological  Collections. — Specimens  from  the  existing  classes  of  Animals 
are  contained  in  three  Galleries  j  and  are  arranged  in  two  series.     The  Beasts,  Birds, 


576  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Reptiles,  and  Fishes  are  exhibited  in  the  Wall  Cases.  The  hard  parts  of  the  Radiated, 
Molluscous,  and  Annulose  Animals,  (as  Shells,  Corals,  Sea  Eggs,  Starfish,  Crustacea,) 
and  Insects,  and  the  Eggs  of  Eirds,  are  arranged  in  a  series  in  the  Table-Cases  of  the 
several  Rooms. 

The  General  Collection  of  Mammals,  or  Beasts  which  suckle  their  young,  is  arranged 
in  three  Rooms,  the  Hoofed  Beasts  (Ungulata)  being  contained  in  the  Central  Saloon 
and  Southern  Zoological  gallery,  and  the  Beasts  with  claws  (  Unguiculata)  in  the  Mam- 
malia Saloon. 

Central  Saloon. — In  the  Cases  the  specimens  of  the  Antelopes,  Goats,  and  Sheep ; 
and  the  Bats,  or  Cheiroptera.  Some  of  the  larger  Mammalia  are  placed  on  the  floor, 
such  as  the  Giraffes,  and  the  Morse  or  Walrus.  Also,  the  full-grown  male  Gorilla,  of 
the  female,  and  of  a  young  male,  from  the  Gaboon,  Equatorial  Africa ;  horns  of  Oxen. 

Southern  Zoological  Gallery. — In  Cases,  the  continuation  of  the  collection  of  the 
Hoofed  Quadrupeds,  as  the  Oxen,  Elands,  Deer,  Camels,  Llamas,  Horses,  and  the  va- 
rious species  of  Swine.  Here  also  are  placed  the  species  of  Armadillo,  Manis,  and  Sloth. 
On  the  Wall  Cases  are  the  horns  of  Antelopes,  and  on  the  floor  are  arranged  the  dif- 
ferent Rhinoceros,  Indian  Elephant ;  a  very  young  African  Elephant,  remarkable  for 
the  large  size  of  its  ears  ;  specimens  of  the  young,  half-grown,  and  adult  Hippopotamus, 
and  the  wild  Oxen  from  India  and  Java.  Here  is  the  aurochs,  or  shaggy-maned 
Lithuanian  Bison,  presented  by  Nicholas,  Emperor  of  Russia,  and  said  to  be  the  finest 
specimen  of  stuffing  in  the  Museum.  Above  the  bison  of  the  prairies  is  the  ornitho- 
rhyncus, with  a  bird-like  bill, — the  water-mole  of  Australia. 

Mammalia  Saloon. — In  the  Cases  are  the  specimens  of  Handed,  Rapacious,  Glirine, 
and  Pouched  Beasts ;  over  the  Cases  are  the  different  kinds  of  Seals,  Manatees,  and 
Porpoises ;  and  arranged  in  Table  Cases  are  the  general  collections  of  Corals. 

Eastern  Zoological  Gallery,  300  feet  long  and  50  feet  wide. — The  general  collection 
of  Birds ;  the  collection  of  Shells  of  Molluscous  animals,  and  a  series  of  horns  of  Deer 
and  Rhinoceros.  Here  is  a  Reeves's  Chinese  pheasant  (tail-feathers  5  feet  6  inches 
long)  ;  and  next  the  ostriches  are  a  Dutch  painting  of  the  extinct  dodo,  a  foot  of  the 
bird  supposed  to  be  more  than  two  and  a  half  centuries  old,  and  a  cast  of  the  head ; 
also,  a  specimen  of  the  rare  apteryx,  or  wingless  bird  of  New  Zealand. 

Above  the  Wall  Cases  are  116  portraits  of  sovereigns,  statesmen,  heroes,  travellers,  and  men  of  science, 
— a  few  from  the  Sloanean  and  Cottonian  collections :  including  two  portraits  of  Oliver  Cromwell  (one 
a  copy  from  an  original  possessed  by  a  great-grandson  of  Cromwell;  the  other  an  original  presented  by 
Cromwell  himself  to  Nath.  ltich,  a  colonel  in  the  parliamentary  army,  and  bequeathed  to  the  Museum, 
in  1784,  by  Sir  Robert  Rich,  Bart.) ;  three  portraits  of  Mary  Queen  of  Scots,  Richard  II.,  Edward  111., 
Henry  V.,  Edward  VI.,  Queen  Elizabeth,  James  I.,  Charles  I.  and  II.,  &c. ;  three  portraits  of  Sir  Hans 
Sloane ;  Peter  I.  of  Russia,  Stanislaus  Augustus  I.  of  Poland,  Charles  XII.  of  Sweden,  and  Louis  XIV.  of 
France ;  Lord  Bacon ;  the  poets  Pope  and  Prior ;  Dr.  John  Ray,  the  first  great  English  naturalist ; 
Gecjrge  Buchanan,  1581,  on  panel;  Sir  Francis  Drake  and  Captain  Dampier;  Martin  Luther,  1546,  on 
panel ;  Gutenberg,  the  inventor  of  printing ;  Richard  Baxter,  the  Nonconformist ;  Vesalius,  by  Sir 
Antonio  More ;  Mary  Davis,  1688,  "  artatis  74,"  with  a  horn-like  wen  on  her  head;  Sir  Robert  Cotton, 
Dr.  Birch,  Humphrey  Wanley,  Sir  H.  Spelman,  and  Sir  W.  Dugdale ;  Camden,  on  panel ;  Thomas  Britton, 
the  musical  small-coal-man ;  Andrew  Marvell,  said  to  be  the  only  portrait  extant  of  hira ;  &c.  This  is, 
probably,  the  largest  collection  of  portraits  in  the  kingdom:  many  are  ill-painted,  others  very  curious, 
and  some  unique;  the  majority  of  them  had  long  lain  in  the  lumber-lofts  of  the  old  Museum,  when  they 
were  hung  up,  chiefly  at  the  suggestion  of  the  late  Mr.  William  Smith,  of  Lisle-street.  A  very  interesting 
catalogue  raisonnee  of  these  pictures  appeared  in  the  Times,  Nov.  27  and  Dec.  8, 1838. 

Northern  Zoological  Gallery — five  rooms :  1.  Nests  of  Birds  and  Insects ;  larger  Rep- 
tiles ;  rarest  small  Quadrupeds ;  the  Aye-aye  of  Madagascar ;  3.  British  Zoological  Col- 
lection— the  Vertebrated  Animals  ;  the  larger  species,  such  as  the  Whales,  Sharks,  Tunny, 
&c.,  are  suspended  on  the  Walls,  or  placed  on  the  Cases ;  the  eggs  of  the  Birds ;  a  series  of 
British  Annulose  Animals ;  the  stuffed  exotic  Reptiles  and  Batrachia;  the  hard  parts  of 
the  Radiated  Animals,  including  the  Sea-Eggs,  Sea-Stars,  and  Encrinites;  4.  The  stuffed 
collection  of  exotic  bony  Fish;  select  specimens  of  Annulose  Animals;  Insects — Beetles, 
Praying  Mantis,  Walking  Stick,  and  Leaf  Insects,  White  Ants,  Wasps  and  Bees, 
Butterflies,  Spiders,  Crustacea;  5.  The  exotic  Cartilaginous  Fish,  such  as  the  voracious 
Sharks ;  the  Rays ;  the  Torpedo  or  Numb-fish ;  Sturgeons ;  the  saws  of  various  Saw-fish, 
and  larger  Sponges. 

North  Gallery. — Fossil  Remains  in  six  rooms,  partly  in  Zoological  order  and  partly 


MUSEUM,   THE  BRITISH. 


577 


X'P 


578  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

in  Geological  sequence.  1.  Plants.  2.  Fishes,  arranged  chiefly  after  Agassiz.  3. 
Reptilian  Remains :  Frog,  Tortoise,  and  Crocodile ;  the  Iguanodon  and  Megalosaurus ; 
gigantic  Salamander,  mistaken  for  a  human  skeleton;  remains  of  Iguanodon,  70 
feet  long,  from  Tilgate  Forest,  Sussex ;  of  the  Hylseosaurus,  or  Wealden  lizard ;  and  the 
Plesiosaurus  ;  the  Epyornis,  extinct  wingless  bird  from  Madagascar,  remains  referred 
by  Professor  Owen  to  distinct  genera,  some  of  which  are  still  living  in  New  Zealand, 
whilst  others  are,  most  probably,  extinct.  Amongst  the  living  species  may  be  noticed 
the  Notornis  Mantelli,  a  very  large  species  of  the  Rail  family.  The  Dinornis,  wing- 
less, and  gigantic,  from  10  to  11  feet  in  height,  IQicynodon  from  South  Africa,  with  two 
large  descending  tusks ;  enormous  Tortoise  from  India.  4.  Reptilian  Remains;  birds 
and  Marsupials.  5.  Mammalian  Remains :  corals,  mollusca,  nummulites,  stone  lilies, 
sea  urchins,  worms,  insects,  Crustacea,  trilobites,  fossil  shells.  6.  Edentata  and 
Pachydermata  :  skeleton  of  the  Megatherium ;  Elephant,  and  Mastodon ;  cast  of  the 
skeleton  of  the  Megatherium  Americanum,  found  in  Buenos  Ayres;  fossil  human 
skeleton  from  Guadaloupe,  &c.  In  Saurian  Fossils  the  Museum  is  eminently  rich ;  as 
well  as  in  gigantic  osseous  remains ;  and  impressions  of  vegetables,  fruit,  and  fish. 

Mineral  Collection,  mostly  on  Berzelius's  system,  in  four  rooms :  mass  of  Meteoric 
Iron  (14001bs.)  from  Buenos  Ayres  ;  native  Silver  from  Konsberg ;  trunk  of  a  tree  con- 
verted into  semi-opal ;  large  mass  of  Websterite  from  Newhaven  ;  Tortoise  scidptured 
in  Nephrite,  or  Jade,  from  the  banks  of  the  Jumna ;  Esquimaux  knife  and  harpoon,  of 
meteoric  iron ;  a  large  collection  of  Meteoric  Stones  chronologically  arranged.  Here, 
also,  are  Diamonds  of  various  forms,  and  models  of  celebrated  diamonds.  The  collection 
is  superior  to  any  in  Europe,  and  includes  a  splendid  cabinet  of  minerals  from  the  Harz 
Mountains. 

The  Botanical  op.  Banksian  Department  contains  the  Herbaria  of  Sir  Hans 
Sloane  (336  vtl  imes  bound  in  262) ;  the  Herbaria  of  Plukenet  and  Petiver ;  collections 
from  those  of  Merret,  Cunningham,  Hermann,  Robart,  Bernard  de  Jussieu,  Tournefort, 
Scheuchzer,  Kamel,  Vaillant,  Kaenapfer,  Catesby,  Houston,  and  Boerhaave ;  the  Plants 
presented  to  the  Royal  Society  by  the  Company  of  Apothecaries  from  1722  to  1796,  as 
rent  paid  by  the  Company  for  the  Botanic  Garden  at  Chelsea.  Also  the  Herbarium 
of  the  Baron  de  Moll ;  the  Herbarium  of  Sir  Joseph  Banks,  mostly  in  cabinets,  nearly 
30,000  species,  including  Sir  Joseph's  collections  upon  his  voyage  with  Captain  Cook, 
and  the  Plants  collected  in  subsequent  voyages  of  discovery ;  Loureiro's  Plants  from 
Cochin  China ;  an  extensive  series  presented  by  the  East  India  Company ;  Egyptian 
Plants,  presented  by  Wilkinson,  &c.  The  Flowers  and  Fruits  preserved  in  spirits,  and 
the  dried  Seeds  and  Fruits,  are  fine ;  as  are  also  the  various  specimens  of  Woods. 

Departments  op  Antiquities. — The  collections  are  divided  into  two  series.  The 
first,  consisting  of  Sculpture,  including  Inscription  and  Architectural  remains,  occupies  the 
Ground  Floor  of  the  South-western  and  Western  portions  of  the  building ;  and  to  this 
division  have  been  added  some  rooms  in  the  basement — Assyria  and  other  countries. 
The  second  series,  placed  in  a  suite  of  rooms  on  the  Upper  Floor,  comprehends  all  the 
smaller  remains,  of  whatever  nation  or  period,  such  as  Vases  and  Terra-cottas,  Bronzes, 
Coins,  and  Medals,  and  articles  of  personal  or  domestic  use.  To  the  latter  division  are 
attached  the  Ethnographical  specimens.  The  four  principal  series  of  Sculptures  are  the 
Roman,  including  the  mixed  class  termed  Grseco-Roman,  the  Hellenic,  the  Assyrian,  and 
the  Egyptian  at  right  angles  to  the  Roman.  To  the  left  of  the  Hall,  on  entering  the 
building,  is  the  Roman  Gallery.  On  the  South  side  are  miscellaneous  Roman  anti- 
quities discovered  in  this  country,  belonging  to  British  Antiquities.  On  the  opposite 
side  is  the  series  of  Roman  Iconographical  or  portrait  Sculptures,  whether  statues  or  busts. 

In  1864  were  added  nine  statues  from  the  Farnese  Palace  at  Rome,  purchased  from  the  ex-king  of 
Naples,  for  40002.  These  statues  are :  1.  A  Mercury,  nearly  identical  in  pose  and  scale  with  the  cele- 
brated statue  in  the  Belvedere  of  the  Vatican.  2.  An  equestrian  statue  of  a  Eoman  Emperor  of  heroic 
size.  The  head  is  that  of  a  Caligula,  but  doubts  have  been  entertained  whether  it  belongs  to  the  body : 
this  group  is  in  very  fine  condition,  and  especially  interesting,  as  being  one  of  the  very  lew  equestrian 
statues  which  have  been  preserved  to  us  from  antiquity.  3.  The  celebrated  and  unique  copy  of  the 
Diadumenos  of  Polycletus.  This  figure,  engraved  in  K.  O.  Miiller's  Denkmaler  d.  a.  Kumt,  taf.  xxxi. 
No.  136,  represents  a  Greek  athlete  binding  a  diadem  round  his  head,  whence  the  name  Diadumenos : 
used  as  a  canon  of  proportions  in  the  ancient  schools,  and  which,  at  a  later  period,  sold  for  the  enormous 
sum  of  100  talents,  equal  to  25,0002.  4.  An  Apollo  playing  on  the  lyre,  in  the  same  attitude  as  the 
beautiful  statue  from  Cyrene,  in  the  British  Museum,  but  naked.  6.  An  heroic  figure,  possibly  a  King 
of  the  Macedonian  period  in  the  character  of  a  Deity.    7.  A  Satyr  holding  up  a  basket  in  which  is  an 


MUSEUM,   THE  BRITISH.  579 


Amorino.  The  two  remaining  statues  are  a  group  of  Mercury  and  Herse\  An  interesting  notice  of 
these  statues,  from  the  pen  of  Professor  Gerhard,  of  Berlin,  is  to  be  found  in  Bunsen's  great  work  on 
the  Topography  of  Rome. 

Also,  a  bronze  lamp  found  on  the  site  of  Julian's  palace,  probably  of  adate  prior  to  the  Christian  era, 
and  considered  to  be  Greek — a  most  beautiful  work. 

British  and  Anglo-Roman  Remains — Tessellated  pavements,  Roman  altars,  sarco- 
phagi, Roman  pigs  of  lead;  tessellated  pavements  from  the  Bank  of  England  and 
Threadneedle-street  and  other  parts ;  Roman  mill  fragments  from  Trinity  House-square, 
and  a  sarcophagus  from  Haydon-square. 

In  1864,  were  added  2000  objects,  connected  with  the  first  or  early  appearance  of 
man  on  this  earth,  as  flint  implements,  or  weapons  found  in  the  drift,  a  section  of  a 
Danish  Kjokkenmodding,  relics  from  caves  of  the  South  of  France,  implements  of  bone, 
engraving  and  sculpture  on  bone  and  horn,  remains  of  the  Stone  Period,  bronze  im- 
plements, celts  and  arrow-heads,  bronze  figures  of  animals,  Roman  remains — all  ex- 
tremely interesting  to  the  antiquary  and  geologist,  &c.  Also,  the  Collection  of  Remains 
found  in  the  cavern  at  Abbeville,  with  specimens  of  the  cave  bones  and  stones,  illus- 
trating the  Antiquity  of  Man. 

Greco-Roman  Rooms. — Statues  and  bas-reliefs  by  Greek  artists,  or  from  Greek 
originals ;  busts  of  mythological,  poetical,  and  historical  personages ;  statues  and  busts 
of  Roman  emperors ;  architectural  and  decorative  sculptures  and  bas-reliefs ;  sepulchral 
monumeuts,  Etruscan,  Greek,  and  Roman;  Roman  altars;  pavement  from  Carthage; 
bas-relief  of  Jupiter  and  Leda;  the  group  of  Mithra;  the  Rondini  Faun;  torso  of 
Venus,  from  Richmond  House ;  bas-relief  of  the  Apotheosis  of  Homer,  cost  1000£. ; 
Persepolitan  marbles,  presented  by  Sir  Gore  Ouseley  and  the  Earl  of  Aberdeen ;  a  Venus 
of  the  Capitol ;  and  other  high-class  marbles  from  the  collections  of  Sir  W.  Hamilton, 
R.  Payne  Knight,  and  Edmund  Burke ;  including,  from  the  latter,  the  copy  of  the 
Cupid  of  Praxiteles,  presented  by  the  painter  Barry  to  Burke.  Here  also  are  a  sarco- 
phagus from  Sidon,  sculptured  with  combats  of  Greeks,  Amazons,  and  Centaurs ;  and  a 
magnificent  marble  tazza  4  feet  3^  inches  high,  and  3  feet  7  inches  diameter. 

The  Townley  Collection  of  bas-reliefs,  vases,  statues,  and  groups,  heads  and  busts, 
includes  83  terra-cottas :  the  famed  Discobolus,  or  Quoit-thrower,  in  marble,  from  the 
bronze  of  the  sculptor  Myron ;  Venus,  or  Dione,  the  finest  Greek  statue  seen  by  Canova 
in  England;  Venus  Victrix,  of  the  highest  style  of  art;  busts  of  Pallas,  Hercules, 
Minerva,  and  Homer ;  bust  of  "  Clytie  rising  from  a  sunflower ;"  and  busts  of  Greek 
poets  and  philosophers.  The  Bacchus  is  finest — so  beautiful,  self-possessed,  and  severe ; 
Bacchus,  the  mighty  conqueror  of  India — not  a  drunken  boy — but  the  power,  not  the 
victim  of  wine. 

These  stores  of  Greek  and  Roman  art  were  collected  by  Mr.  Charles  Townley,  chiefly  at  Rome,  be- 
tween 1765  and  1772 ;  and  were  arranged  by  him  at  No.  7,  Park-street,  Westminster,  with  accompani- 
ments  so  classically  correct,  that  the  house  resembled  the  interior  of  a  Roman  villa.  The  dining-room 
had  walls  of  scagliola  porphyry ;  and  here  were  placed  the  largest  and  most  valuable  statues,  lighted  by 
lamps  almost  to  animation.  Mr.  Townley  died  in  1805 ;  and  his  collection  of  marbles  and  terra-cottas 
was  purchased  by  the  British  Museum  for  2O,0O0Z.,  and  first  exhibited  in  a  gallery  built  for  their  recep- 
tion in  1808.  Mr.  Townley^  bronzes,  coins,  gems,  drawings,  &c.,  chiefly  illustrating  the  sculptures, 
were  subsequently  purchased  by  the  Museum  for  82002.  A  bust  of  Mr.  Townley,  by  Nollekens,  is  placed 
near  the  entrance  to  the  Central  Saloon.  Subsequent  acquisitions  have  been  made  by  the  bequest  of  the 
collection  of  R.  Payne  Knight,  Esq.,  in  1824,  and  by  various  individual  purchases  and  donations. 

Lycian  Gallery. — Reliefs,  tombs,  and  sarcophagi  discovered  and  brought  to  England 
by  Sir  Charles  Fellows,  principally  from  the  ruins  of  Xanthus,  S.  W.  Asia  Minor ; 
dating  from  the  earliest  Greek  period  to  that  of  the  Byzantine  empire,  and  earlier  than 
the  Parthenon.  Model  of  the  Harpy  Tomb,  with  its  actual  white  marble  reliefs,  pre- 
sumed to  represesent  the  daughters  of  Pandarus  carried  off  by  Harpies :  the  tomb  itself 
was  a  square  shaft,  80  tons  weight.  Model  of  an  Ionic  peristyle  building,  with  14 
columns  and  statues ;  the  friezes  representing  the  conquest  of  Lycia  by  the  Persians, 
and  the  siege  of  Xanthus.  Tomb  of  Paiafa  :  roof  resembling  an  inverted  boat,  and  an 
early  Gothic  arch ;  the  sides  sculptured  with  combats  of  warriors  on  horseback  and 
foot ;  a  chariot,  sphinxes,  &c.  Casts  from  the  sculptured  Rock-tomb  at  Myra,  with 
bilingual  (Greek  and  Lycian)  inscription. 

Elgin  Rooms. — The  Elgin  marbles,  brought  from  the  Parthenon  at  Athens  by  the 
Earl  of  Elgin :  some  are  the  work  of  Phidias  himself.  (See  in  this  room  two  models  of 
the  Parthenon,  each  12  feet  long,  made  by  R.  C.  Lucas,  described  in  Remarks  on  the 

P  P  2 


580  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Parthenon  by  R.  C.  Lucas,  Sculptor;  Salisbury,  1844 :  1.  The  temple  after  the  bom- 
bardment in  1687 ;  2.  The  Parthenon  restored.)  The  Metopes  from  the  Frieze  (15 
originals  and  1  cast),  representing  the  battle  of  the  Centaurs  and  Lapitha?,  in  alto- 
relievo:  for  the  original  the  English  Government  agent  bid  1000Z.  at  the  sale  of  the  collec- 
tion of  the  Count  de  Choiseul  Gouffier ;  but  he  was  outbid  by  the  Director  of  the  French 
Museum,  where  the  metope  now  is.  The  Panathenaic  Frieze,  524  feet  in  length,  is 
probably  the  largest  piece  of  sculpture  ever  attempted  in  Greece :  its  men,  women,  and 
children,  in  all  costumes  and  attitudes ;  horsemen,  charioteers ;  oxen  and  other  victims 
for  sacrifice ;  images  of  the  gods ;  sacred  flagons,  baskets,  &c., — have  an  astonishing 
air  of  reality.  Of  the  110  horses,  no  two  are  in  the  same  attitude  :  "  they  appear," 
says  Flaxman,  "  to  live  and  move,  to  roll  their  eyes,  to  gallop,  to  prance,  and  curvet; 
the  veins  of  their  faces  and  legs  seem  distended  with  circulation."  Here  are  about  326 
feet  of  the  Frieze,  76  feet  casts,  and  about  250  feet  of  the  genuine  marble  which 
Phidias  put  up. 

"  The  British  Museum,"  says  Professor  Welcker,  "  possesses  in  the  works  of  Phidias  a  treasure  with 
which  nothing  can  be  compared  in  the  whole  range  of  ancient  art."  Flaxman  said  that  these  sculptures 
were  "  as  perfect  representations  of  nature  as  it  is  possible  to  put  into  the  compass  of  the  marble  in 
which  they  are  executed— and  nature,  too,  in  its  most  beautiful  form."  Chantrey  spoke  enthusiastically 
of  "  the  exquisite  judgment  with  which  the  artists  of  these  sculptures  had  modified  the  style  of  working 
the  marble,  according  to  the  kind  and  degree  of  light  which  would  fall  on  them  when  in  their  places." 
Lawrence  said  that,  "  after  looking  at  the  finest  sculptures  in  Italy,  he  found  the  Elgin  marbles  superior 
to  any  of  them."  Canovasaid,  in  reply  to  an  application  made  to  him  respecting  their  repair  or  restora- 
tion, that  "  it  would  be  sacrilege  in  him  or  any  man,  to  presume  to  touch  them  with  a  chisel." 

Pedimental  sculptures,  placed  upon  raised  stages :  East,  the  birth  of  Minerva,  Hype- 
rion, and  heads  of  two  of  his  horses :  Theseus,  ideal  beauty  of  the  first  order,  the  finest 
figure  in  the  collection,  of  which  more  drawings  have  been  made  than  all  the  other 
Athenian  marbles  put  together :  "  the  back  of  the  Theseus  is  the  finest  thing  in  the 
world."  Head  of  a  horse  from  the  chariot  of  Night,  valued  at  250Z.,  the  finest  possible 
workmanship.  West  pediment :  Contest  between  Athena  and  Poseidon  for  the  naming 
of  Athens ;  the  recumbent  statue  of  the  river  god  Ilissus,  pronounced  by  Canova  and 
Visconti  equal  to  the  Theseus :  torso,  supposed  of  Cecrops,  grand  in  outline  :  fragment 
of  the  head  and  statue  of  Minerva.  Also,  a  capital  and  part  of  a  shaft  of  a  Doric 
column  of  the  Parthenon,  piece  of  the  ceiling,  and  Ionic  shaft,  from  the  Temple  of 
Erechtheus  at  Athens,  imperfect  statue  of  a  youth,  piece  of  a  frieze  from  the  tomb  of 
Agamemnon,  exceedingly  ancient :  circular  altars  from  Delos,  bronze  sepulchral  urn, 
very  richly  wrought :  casts  from  the  Temple  of  Theseus,  the  best  presei-ved  of  all  the 
ancient  Athenian  monuments ;  the  Wingless  Victory  and  the  Choragic  monument  of 
Lysicrates  ;  from  the  Choragic  monument  of  Thrasyllus,  a  colossal  statue  of  Bacchus, 
inferior  only  to  the  Phidian  sculptures  ;  Eros  (Cupid),  discovered  by  Lord  Elgin  within 
the  Acropolis  (headless),  has  in  the  limbs  the  grace  and  elegance  of  the  age  of  Praxi- 
teles ;  the  Sigean  inscription,  most  ancient  Grecian,  in  the  Boustrophedon  style : — i.e. 
the  lines  read  as  an  ox  passes  from  one  furrow  to  another. 

To  Haydon  must  be  conceded  the  genius  of  instantly  appreciating  the  beauty  of  the  Elgin  Marbles ; 
yet  they  were  utterly  neglected  until  Canova,  on  seeing  them,  declared,  "  Sans  doute,  la  verity  est  telle, 
les  accidents  de  la  chair  et  les  formes  sont  si  vraies  et  si  belles,  que  ces  statues  produiront  un  grand 
changement  dans  les  arts.  lis  renverseront  le  systerae  matheinatique  des  autres  antiques."  Haydon 
soon  roused  the  public  interest  in  the  sculptures,  and  they  were  purchased  by  Parliament  for  35,0OM. 
"  You  have  saved  the  marbles,"  Lawrence  said  to  Haydon,  "  but  it  will  ruin  you."— Haydon's  Autobio- 
graphy, 1853. 

Tuesdays  and  Thursdays  in  every  week,  and  the  whole  month  of  September  in  every  year  (when  day- 
light is  usually  the  steadiest  and  strongest),  are  exclusively  devoted  to  artists  and  students  in  the  Elgin 
and  Townley  Galleries. 

Hellenic  Room. — The  Marbles  have  been  brought  from  Greece  and  its  colonies, 
exclusive  of  Athens  and  Attica.  Bas-reliefs  of  the  battle  of  the  Centaurs  and  Lapithse, 
and  the  combat  of  the  Greeks  and  Amazons,  from  among  the  ruins  of  the  Temple  of 
Apollo  Epicurius,  near  Phigaleia ;  built  by  Ictinus,  contemporary  with  Phidias,  and 
architect  of  the  Parthenon  (Pausanias).  Their  historical  value,  representing  the  art 
of  the  Praxitelian  period,  is  scarcely  less  than  that  of  the  Parthenon  marbles.  In  two 
model  pediments  from  the  eastern  and  western  ends  of  the  Temple  of  Jupiter  Par- 
bellenius,  in  the  Island  of  .Sgina,  are,  west,  10  original  statues,  representing  Greeks 
and  Trojans  contesting  for  the  body  of  Patroclus ;  east,  5  figures,  expedition  of  Hercu- 
les and  Telamon  against  Troy,  these  statues  being  the  only  illustration  extant  of  the 


MUSEUM,   THE  BRITISH.  581 

armour  of  the  heroic  ages.  In  this  saloon,  also,  are  the  Canning  Marlles,  or  Bodroum 
Sculptures,  from  Bodroum,  in  Asia  Minor,  the  site  of  Halicarnassus ;  11  has-reliefs 
(combat  of  Amazons  and  Greek  warriors),  formerly  part  of  the  celebrated  Mausoleum 
erected  in  honour  of  Mausolus,  King  of  Caria,  by  his  wife  Artemisia,  B.C.  353  :  it  was 
one  of  the  Seven  Wonders  of  the  World.  These,  and  other  sculptures  from  Bodroum, 
were  presented  by  the  Sultan  to  Sir  Stratford  Canning  (whence  their  name),  and  by 
him  to  the  British  Museum. 

Assyrian  Galleries. — Assyrian  Sculptures,  collected  by  Layard  :  fragments  of  the 
disinterred  Assyrian  palaces  of  Nimroud  (Nineveh)  and  Kouyunjik  ;  cuneiform  (arrow- 
headed)  and  other  writing  •  gypsum  or  alabaster  bas-reliefs  that  lined  the  interior  walls ; 
detached  sculptures ;  ivories  and  other  ornaments  ;  winged  lions,  weighing  15  tons  each ; 
winged  bulls,  each  14  feet  high ;  sculptured  slabs  of  battle-pieces  and  sieges,  combats, 
treaties,  and  triumphs,  lion  and  bull  hunts,  armies  crossing  rivers ;  winged  and  eagle- 
headed  human  figures ;  religious  ceremonies,  sculptured  obelisks,  incription  on  a  bull, 
connecting  the  Assyrian  dynasty  of  Sennacherib  with  Hezekiah  of  the  Bible  ;  fragments 
of  a  temple  built  by  Sardanapalus,  and  a  basalt  Assyrian  statue,  closely  resembling  the 
Egyptian  style ;  costumes,  field-sports,  and  domestic  life  of  2000  years  since.  Here 
also  are  a  few  stones  with  cuneiform  inscriptions,  excavated  by  Mr.  Rich  from  the  pre- 
sumed site  of  Nineveh,  near  Mosul,  but  previous  to  Mr.  Layard's  researches,  "  a  case 
scarcely  three  feet  square  enclosed  all  that  remained  not  only  of  the  great  city  of 
Nineveh,  but  of  Babylon  itself \"  (See  Layard's  ^Nineveh  and  its  Remains,  Monu- 
ments, Sfc.)  To  these  has  been  added  a  further  collection  from  the  same  region,  exca- 
vated in  1853-55,  bv  Mr.  Hormuzd  Rassam  and  Mr.  W.  K.  Loftus,  under  the  direc- 
tion of  Sir  H.  C.  Rawlinson,  K.C.B. 

Egyptian  Galleries. — The  monuments  in  this  collection  constitute  on  the  whole  the 
most  widely  extended  series  in  the  range  of  Antiquity,  ascending  to  at  least  2000  years 
before  the  Christian  sera,  and  closing  with  the  Mohammadan  invasion  of  Egypt,  a.d. 
640.  The  Sculptures  (from  Thebes,  Karnac,  Luxor,  and  Memphis,  and  800  in  number) 
are  placed  in  chronological  order,  from  north  to  south :  in  the  vestibule,  early  period ; 
northern  gallery,  18th  dynasty;  central  saloon,  monuments  of  Rameses  II. ;  and  in 
the  southern  gallery,  those  posterior  to  that  monarch,  descending  to  the  latest  times 
of  the  Roman  empire.  The  Egyptian,  Assyrian,  and  Greek  Antiquities  are  thus  ex- 
hibited in  three  parallel  lines ;  a  fourth,  or  transverse  line,  along  the  southern  extremity 
of  the  others,  being  appropriated  to  Roman  remains.  Among  the  sculptures  from 
Egypt  are,  the  celebrated  head  of  Memnon,  from  Thebes,  of  first-class  Egyptian  art. 
The  head  and  arm  of  a  king,  a  statue  originally  26  feet  high.  Amenoph  III.  seated 
on  his  throne — the  great  Memnon  in  miniature.  Two  colossal  red  granite  lions,  couchant, 
from  Upper  Nubia ;  fine  specimens  of  Early  Egyptian  art  in  animal  forms.  Breccia 
sarcophagus,  supposed  tomb  of  Alexander  the  Great,  carved  with  21,700  characters. 
The  Rosetta  Stone,  black  basalt,  the  most  valuable  existing  relic  of  Egyptian  history, 
inscribed  in  hieroglyphics,  the  ancient  spoken  language  of  Egypt,  and  in  Greek,  with 
the  services  of  Ptolemy  V.  Epiphanes :  the  deciphering  of  which  has  afforded  a  key  to 
Champollion,  Wilkinson,  &c.  The  Tablet  of  Abydos,  giving  a  chronological  succession 
of  the  monarchy.  Sepulchral  tablets  and  fragments  of  tombs ;  Egyptian  frescoes,  painted 
perhaps  3000  years  ago,  yet  fresh  in  colour.  Arragonite  vases  from  the  fourth  dynasty. 
Plaster  casts  taken  in  Egypt,  and  coloured  after  the  originals.  Here  is  a  statue 
of  the  son  of  Rameses  the  Second,  about  four  feet  high.  He  bears  a  standard  on  each 
side ;  it  is  of  most  beautiful  workmanship,  placed  near  the  head  of  Memnon.  It  is  in  a 
very  good  state  of  preservation,  and  is  a  beautiful  specimen  of  Egyptian  Art.  It  is 
curious  as  a  lithological  specimen,  the  breccia  being  formed  of  the  consolidated  sand  of 
the  desert,  inclosing  jasper,  chert,  and  other  siliceous  pebbles. 

Egyptian  Rooms  (two),  upstairs,  contain  divinities,  and  royal  personages,  and  sacred 
animals;  sepulchral  remains;  and  miscellaneous  objects,  specially  illustrative  of  the 
domestic  manners  of  the  Egyptians;  mostly  from  the  collections  of  Salt,  Sams,  and 
Wilkinson.  Here  are  mummies  and  mummy-cases,  wooden  figures  from  tombs,  bronze 
offerings,  and  porcelain  figures;  painted,  gilt,  stone,  bronze,  silver,  and  porcelain  deities; 
figures  of  the  jackal,  hippopotamus,  baboon,  lion,  cat,  ram,  &c. ;  a  coffin  and  body  from 


582  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  third  Pyramid;  model  of  an  Egyptian  house,  granary,  and  yard;  furniture,  as 
tables,  stools,  chairs,  and  head-rests,  couches  and  pillows,  keys,  locks,  hinges,  holts,  and 
handles;  from  the  toilet,  the  black  wig  and  box,  caps,  aprons,  tunics,  sandals,  shoes, 
combs,  pins,  studs,  and  cases  for  eye-lid  paint ;  vases  and  lamps,  bowls  and  cups,  agri- 
cultural implements,  warlike  weapons,  writing  and  painting  implements,  working  tools, 
and  weaving  looms,  toys,  and  musical  instruments.  A  stand,  with  a  cooked  duck  and 
bread-cakes,  from  a  tomb ;  sepulchral  tablets,  scaraba?i,  and  amulets ;  rings,  necklaces, 
and  bracelets,  and  mummy  ornaments.  Above  the  Wall-cases  are  casts  of  battle-scenes, 
triumphs,  and  court  ceremonies,  coloured  after  the  originals,  from  temples  in  Nubia. 

The  Temple  Collection,  of  antiquities,  bequeathed  to  the  British  Museum  in  1856 
by  the  Hon.  Sir  William  Temple,  K.C.B.  The  majority  of  the  specimens  belong  to 
that  large  region  of  Lower  Italy  which,  prior  to  the  Roman  dominion,  was  extensively 
colonized  and  highly  cultivated  by  the  Greeks,  and  thence  received  the  name  of  Magna 
Grsecia.  They  comprehend,  therefore,  specimens  of  the  arts  of  three  different  races — 
the  Etruscans,  Greeks,  and  Romans. 

Vase  Rooms  (two)  contain  Etruscan  and  Graeco-Italian  vases,  painted  from  the 

myths  or  popular  poetry  of  the  day :  classified  into  Early  Italian,  Black  Etruscan,  and 

Red  Etruscan  ware;  varnished  ware,  mostly  early ;  Italian  vases,  of  Archaic  Greek 

style ;  vases  of  Transition  style,  finest  Greek,  and  the  Basilicata  and  latest  period. 

(Vaux's   Handbook.)     Here  are  the  ancient  fictile  vases  purchased  of  Sir  William 

Hamilton  in  1772,  and  then  the  largest  collection  known. 

The  Hamilton  Vase,  on  being  examined  in  1839  by  M.  Gerhard,  was  found  to  bear  the  name  of  each 
personage  depicted  on  it ;  from  which  it  appears  that  the  myth,  or  story,  is  totally  distinct  from  that 
assigned  to  it  by  M.  D'Hancarville,  in  his  schedules  of  the  Vases  of  the  Hamilton  collection ;  thus  over- 
turning his  theory,  and  reading  a  strange  lesson  to  virtuosi  and  antiquaries. 

Here  also  are  Greek  and  Roman  terra-cottas,  of  various  epochs  and  styles.     Above  the 

Wall-cases  are  painted  fac-similes,  by  Campanari,  of  entertainments  from  Etruscan  tombs. 

The  Barberini  or  Portland  Vase,  the  property  of  the  Duke  of  Portland,  has  been 
deposited  in  the  Museum  since  1810. 

The  Portland  Vote  was  found  about  1560,  in  a  sarcophagus  in  a  sepulchre  under  the  Monte  del  Grano, 
Z\  miles  from  Rome.  It  was  deposited  in  the  palace  of  the  Barberini  family  until  1770,  when  it  was 
purchased  by  Byres,  the  antiquary ;  and  sold  by  him  to  Sir  William  Hamilton,  of  whom  it  was  bought, 
for  1800  guineas,  by  the  Duchess  of  Portland,  at  the  sale  of  whose  property  it  was  bought  in  by  the 
family  for  1029Z.  The  vase  is  9f  inches  high  and  7i  inches  in  diameter,  and  has  two  handles.  It  is  of 
glass:  yet  Breval  considered  it  calcedony;  Bartoli,  sardonyx;  Count  Tetzi,  amethyst;  and  De  la 
Chausse,  agate.  It  is  ornamented  with  white  opaque  figures  upon  a  dark-blue  semi-transparent  ground ; 
the  whole  having  been  originally  covered  with  white  enamel,  out  of  which  the  figures  have  been  cut, 
like  a  cameo.  The  glass  foot  is  distinct,  and  is  thought  to  have  been  cemented  on  after  bones  or  ashes 
had  been  placed  in  the  vase.  The  seven  figures,  each  5  inches  high,  are  said  by  some  to  illustrate  the 
fable  of  Thaddeus  and  Theseus ;  by  Bertoli,  Proserpine  and  Pluto ;  by  Winckelmann,  the  nuptials  of 
Thetis  and  Peleus ;  Darwin,  an  allegory  of  Life  and  Immortality ;  others,  Orpheus  and  Eurydice ;  Fos- 
broke,  a  marriage,  death,  and  second  marriage ;  Tetzi,  the  birth  of  Alexander  Severus,  whose  cinerary 
urn  the  vase  is  thought  to  be;  while  Mr.  Windus,  F.S.A.,  in  a  work  published  1845,  considers  the  scene 
as  a  love-sick  lady  consulting  Galen.  The  vase  was  engraved  by  Cipriani  and  Bartolozzi  in  1786 :  copies 
of  it  were  executed  by  Wedgwood,  and  sold  at  50  guineas  each,  the  model  for  which  cost  500  guineas : 
there  is  a  copy  in  the  British  and  Mediaeval  Boom. 

The  Portland  Vase  was  exhibited  in  a  small  room  of  the  old  Museum  buildings  until 
February  7,  1845,  when  it  was  wantonly  dashed  to  pieces  with  a  stone  by  one  AVilliam 
Lloyd ;  but  the  pieces  being  gathered  up,  the  Vase  has  been  restored  by  Mr.  Doubleday 
so  beautifully,  that  a  blemish  can  scarcely  be  detected.  The  Vase  is  now  kept  in  the 
Medal  Room.     A  drawing  of  the  fractured  pieces  is  preserved. 

Bronze  Boom. — Figures  of  divinities,  furniture,  mirrors,  tripods,  candelabra,  lamps 
and  vases,  armour,  personal  ornaments,  &c. ;  including  copper-bronze  lions,  bronze 
remains  of  a  throne,  fragments  of  glass  vessels  and  of  armour,  discovered  by  Layard 
in  Assyria.  A  large  collection  of  bronze  objects  from  Greece  Proper,  from  Rome  and 
of  the  Roman  period :  and  from  the  sepulchres  of  ancient  Etruria,  and  the  excavations 
at  Pompeii  and  Herculaneum.  These  include  fragments  of  statues;  spear-heads, 
daggers,  helmets,  and  Roman  eagles ;  steelyards,  amphorae,  and  tripods ;  candelabra, 
vases,  votive  figures,  and  statuettes ;  mirrors  and  their  cases ;  the  exquisite  798  bronzes 
bequeathed  by  R.  Payne  Knight;  and  the  celebrated  bronzes  of  Siris,  from  the  south  of 
Italy.  Miscellaneous  Greek  and  Roman  objects,  including  astragali  of  crystal,  cornelian, 
and  ivory ;  dice,  anciently  loaded ;  tickets  for  the  games ;  hair-pins  and  ivory  busts ; 
ancient  glass  vases  and  paterae ;  fragments  of  cornelian,  onyx,  and  jasper  cups,  and  a 


MUSEUM,   TEE  BRITISH.  583 

crystal  vessel  holding  gold ;  animals  in  bronze ;  styli  for  writing ;  keys,  plates,  enamel- 
work  ;  Etruscan  and  Koman  fibulse  and  finger-rings.  Above  the  Wall-cases  are  fac- 
simile paintings  of  Games,  from  tombs  at  Vida. 

British  and  Mediceval  Room,  containing  antiquities  found  in  Great  Britain  and 
Ireland,  and  extending  from  the  earliest  period  to  the  Norman  Conquest ;  also,  Mediaeval 
objects,  English  and  foreign ;  including 

Celts ;  stone  knives,  arrow-heads,  and  hammers:  models  of  Celtic  cromlechs,  or  sepulchres;  paint- 
ings of  Plas  Newydd  and  Stonehenge;  bronze  celts,  swords, daggers,  spear-heads,  helmet,  and  buckler; 
half-baked  pottery  from  British  barrows;  fragments  of  Roman  buildings;  Kimmeridge  coal-money;  a 
Coway  stake  from  the  Thames ;  Roman  service  of  plate;  Roman  glass;  Saxon  brooches.  Mediaeval: 
personal  ornaments  and  weapons ;  ivory  chessmen  and  draughtsmen ;  paintings  from  St.  Stephen's 
Chapel,  Westminster;  Dr.  Dee's  crystal  ball  and  wax  cakes ;  and  (from  Strawberry  Hill)  the  Show-stone 
(cannel  coal)  into  which  Dee  "  used  to  call  his  spirits."  Here  also  are  tenure  and  state  swords ;  Limoges 
enamels ;  Venetian  glass ;  Alhambra  tiles ;  Bow  porcelain ;  Wedgwood  copy  of  the  Portland  Vase,  and 
two  superb  Chelsea  porcelain  vases,  valued  at  300  guineas,  presented  by  Wedgwood. 

The  Early  Christian  Collection  contains  a  number  of  pieces  of  glass  vases  with  orna- 
ments in  gold  leaf,  all  discovered  in  the  Catacombs  of  Rome.  The  subjects  on  these 
are  chiefly  from  the  life  of  our  Lord,  or  antitypes  from  the  Old  Testament,  such  as 
Jonah,  Moses  striking  the  rock.  There  are  also  figures  of  St.  Peter  and  St.  Paul,  and 
other  saints  connected  with  the  Early  Roman  Church.  Here  is  the  famous  Blacas 
Collection  of  gems  and  coins,  Greek  and  Roman  bronzes,  mural  painting  from  Pompeii 
and  Herculaneum,  sepulchral  inscriptions  and  manuscripts,  Greek  vases,  silver  toilet 
service  of  a  Roman  bride,  &c,  purchased  in  1866,  for  48,0002. 

The  Mediceval  Collection  contains  Sculpture  and  Carving,  chiefly  in  ivory ;  Paintings, 
Metal-work,  Matrices  of  Seals,  Enamels,  English  Pottery,  Venetian  and  German  glass, 
Italian  Majolica,  German  Stoneware,  &c. 

The  Ethnographical  Room  contains  objects  illustrating  the  religion,  arts,  and  in- 
dustry of  various  countries ;  including  the  model  of  a  moveable  Indian  temple ;  a  Chinese 
bell,  captured  from  a  Buddhist  temple  near  Ningpo  in  1844 ;  a  model  of  Nelson's  ship, 
the  Victory,  and  a  piece  of  its  actual  timber  with  a  401b.  shot  in  it  from  the  battle  of 
Trafalgar ;  a  plaster  cast  of  the  Shield  of  Achilles,  modelled  by  Flaxman  from  the  17th 
book  of  Homer's  Iliad  ,•  a  colossal  gilt  figure  of  the  Burmese  idol  Gaudama ;  Chinese 
figures  of  deities,  beggars,  mandarins,  and  trinkets ;  Hindoo  deities,  measures,  vessels, 
and  arms ;  Chinese  and  Japanese  matchlocks,  bows  and  arrows,  shoes,  mirrors,  screens, 
and  musical  instruments ;  richly-decorated  cloth  from  Central  Africa :  a  Foulah  cloak 
from  Sierra  Leone ;  an  Ashantee  loom,  umbrellas,  tobacco-pipes,  fly -flappers,  and  sandals  j 
terra-cotta  Mexican  figures  (mostly  from  Bullock's  Museum) ;  Aztec  vases,  idols,  and 
armaments ;  Peruvian  mummies  and  silver  images ;  musical  instruments,  weapons,  tools, 
ornaments,  and  costumes,  from  Guiana,  the  Marquesas  and  Sandwich  Islands,  Tahiti 
and  the  Friendly  Isles,  New  Zealand  and  Australia,  Borneo,  New  Guinea,  the  Pelew 
Islands,  Siam,  &c. ;  and  a  tortoise-shell  bonnet  from  the  Navigators'  Islands. 

The  Medal  Room  contains  a  collection  of  Coins  and  Medals  superior  to  that  of 
Vienna  and  Florence,  if  not  Paris.  The  nucleus  of  the  British  Museum  collection  was 
Sir  Hans  Sloane's  coins,  worth  7000Z.  as  bullion,  to  which  were  added  Sir  Robert  Cot- 
ton's coins;  6000  medals  from  the  Hamilton  collection;  the  Cracherode  coins  and 
medals,  valued  at  60002. ;  coins  from  the  Conquest  to  George  III.  (Roberts's),  pur- 
chased for  4000  guineas ;  a  series  of  Papal  medals,  and  a  collection  of  Greek  coins  ; 
the  Townley  Greek  and  Roman  coins ;  a  vast  collection  of  foreign  coins,  presented  by 
Miss  Banks ;  Payne  Knight's  Greek  coins ;  Rich's  early  Arabian,  Parthian,  and  Sas- 
sanian  coins ;  medals  and  coins  attached  to  the  library  of  George  III. ;  Marsden's- 
Oriental  coins ;  Burnes's  Bactrian  coins ;  and  contributions  and  purchases  of  finds  of 
Anglo-Saxon,  Anglo-Gallic,  and  early  English  coins.  The  collection  is  arranged  in, 
1.  Ancient  coins — Greek  in  Geographical  order,  and  Roman  chronologically.  2.  Modern 
coins — Anglo-Saxon,  English,  Anglo-Gallic,  Scotch,  and  Irish,  and  the  coins  of  foreign 
nations,  arranged  according  to  countries :  the  Anglo-Saxon  and  English  series  is 
complete  from  Ethelbert  I.  The  great  collection,  with  medals,  7700  specimens, 
formerly  in  the  Bank  of  England.  Of  Queen  Anne's  farthings  here  are  seven  varieties, 
one  only  of  which  circulated,  the  others  being  pattern- pieces.  3.  Medals,  including  an 
almost  perfect  series  of  British  medals,  besides  the  Papal  and  Napoleonic  medals.  Here 
is  kept  a  gold  snuff-box  set  with  diamonds,  and  a  miniature  portrait  of  Napoleon,  who* 


5S4  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

presented  it  to  the  Hon.  Mrs.  Damer,  by  whom  it  was  bequeathed  to  the  Museum, 
on  condition  that  the  portrait  should  never  be  copied.  Also  a  gold  snuff-box  with  a 
cameo  lid,  presented  by  Pope  Pius  VI.  to  Napo>.on,  and  by  him  bequeathed  to  Lady 
Holland,  with  a  card  in  Napoleon's  handwriting.  Here  are  the  engraved  gems,  antique 
paste  and  glass,  and  gold  trinkets,  including  the  breastplate  of  a  British  chieftain. 

"  The  coins  are  a  noble  collection :  here,  as  in  the  other  departments  of  the  Museum,  the  solid  value 
of  the  collection  consists  in  the  equal  and  complete  manner  in  which  it  covers  the  whole  area  of  the 
subject-matter ;  and  in  this  respect  it  stands  the  highest  among  collections." — Times,  1S63. 

Libraries. — The  Royal  Library  and  general  collection  of  Printed  Books  occupy  the 
east  and  north  sides  of  the  ground-floor  and  the  internal  quadrangle.  The  King's  Li- 
brary is  deposited  in  a  magnificent  hall  300  feet  long  and  65  feet  wide  in  the  centre, 
where  are  four  Corinthian  columns  of  polished  Peterhead  granite  25  feet  high,  with 
Derbyshire  alabaster  capitals  :  the  door-cases  are  marble,  and  the  doors  oak  inlaid  with 
bronze.  This  library,  the  finest  and  most  complete  ever  formed  by  a  single  individual, 
is  exceedingly  rich  in  early  editions  of  the  classics,  books  from  Caxton's  press,  history 
of  the  States  of  Europe  in  their  respective  languages,  in  Transactions  of  Academies, 
and  grand  geographical  collections, — 80,000  volumes,  exclusive  of  pamphlets :  among 
the  Jesuits'  books,  purchased  in  1768,  was  the  Florence  Homer  of  1488.  Here  is  one 
of  the  most  extensive  and  interesting  collections  of  maps  in  Europe.  The  entire  col- 
lection cost  130,000?.;  catalogue,  5  vols,  folio. 

An  interesting  Department  is  that  devoted  to  Books  inscribed  with  Autographs.  The  rarest  of  all 
these  is  a  copy  of  Florio's  Montaigne's  Essays,  printed  in  1603,  and  bearing  the  autograph  of  William 
Shakspeare.  Here,  too,  is  the  autograph  of  Ben  Jonson,  in  a  presentation  copy  to  John  Florio  of  the 
first  edition  of  his  Volpone,  printed  in  1607.  In  other  books  we  find  the  autographs  of  Bacon,  Michael 
Angelo,  Calvin,  Martin  Luther,  Philip  Melancthon,  Milton,  Sir  Isaac  Newton,  Sir  Walter  Scott,  Voltaire, 
&c.  In  this  department  are  also  some  curious  Proclamations.  There  is  one  issued  in  1714,  offering 
100,000/.  for  the  apprehension  of  the  Pretender,  Prince  James,  should  he  attempt  to  land  in  England. 
Another  is  a  Proclamation  of  Prince  Charles  Edward,  styling  himself  Prince  of  Wales,  and  offering 
30,000£.  for  the  apprehension  of  George  II.,  who  is  therein  coolly  styled  the  Elector  of  Hanover,  dated 
August  22nd,  1745. 

The  Grenville  Library,  20,240  volumes,  cost  54,GO07.,  was  bequeathed  to  the  Mu- 
seum by  the  Right  Hon.  Thomas  Grenville,  whose  bust  is  placed  here.  Among  its 
rarities  are  a  Mazarine  Latin  Bible  on  vellum,  the  earliest  printed  Bible,  and  the 
earliest  printed  book  known  (supposed  Gutenberg  and  Fust,  Mentz,  1455)  ;  also  the 
first  Psalter,  the  first  book  with  a  date,  and  earliest  printed  in  colours. 

The  General  Library  ranks  with  the  public  libraries  of  Vienna  and  Berlin,  and  is 

inferior  only  to  those  of  Munich  and  Paris.     Among  the  rarities  is  Coverdale's  Bible, 

1535,  the  first  complete  edition  of  the  Scriptures  in  English ;  The  Game  and  Playe 

of  the  Chesse,  the  first  book  printed  in  English,  from  Caxton's  press,  1474  j  the  first 

edition  of  Chaucer's  Tales  of  Canterburye,  only   two  perfect   copies   known,  &c. ; 

pamphlets  and  periodicals  of  the  Civil  Wars  of  Charles  I. ;  the  musical  libraries  of  Sir 

John  Hawkins  and  Dr.  Burney ;  Garrick's  old  Plays  ;*  Tracts  of  the  Revolutionary 

History  of  France.    The  Library  is  very  rich  in  early  folios  and  quartos  of  Shakspeare : 

there  are  the  folios  of  1623,  1632,  1664,  and  1695.     The  quartos  comprise  the  unique 

Venus  and  Adonis  of  1602 ;  the  rare  second  edition  of  the  same  poem  of  1594 ;  the 

Homeo  and  Juliet  of  1597 ;  and  many  others  of  fabulous  value.     Books  of  Divinity 

are  bound  in  blue,  History  in  red,  Poetry  in  yellow,  and  Biography  in  olive-coloured, 

leather.     The  catalogues  of  the  several  collections  are  in  themselves  a  library.     The 

catalogue,  7  vols.  1813-19,  has  been  expanded,  by  interleaving  and  manuscript  entries, 

into  67  folio  volumes.     About  2000?.  is  expended  annually  in  adding  old  and  foreign 

works  to  the  library ;  and,  under  the  Copyright  Act,  5  and  6  Vic.  cap.  48,  a  copy  of 

every  book,  pamphlet,  sheet  of  letterpress,  sheet  of  music,  chart,  or  plan,  published 

within  her  Majesty's  dominions,  must  be  delivered  to  the  British  Museum. 

"  The  printed  book  Library  is  rich  in  early  and  rare  editions.  It  boasts  that  it  can  challenge  the  best 
library  of  any  nation  in  the  world  to  show  a  series  of  the  books  of  any  foreign  nation  that  can  compare 

*  The  collection  of  Shakspeare's  Plays  are  for  the  most  part  from  the  collection  of  David  Garrick;  and 
it  is  not.  generally  known  that  he  obtained  these  precious  pamphlets — for  such  they  are  in  form — from 
the  trustees  of  the  Dulwich  Gallery,  who,  as  recorded  in  the  Gentleman's  Magazine  of  that  period, 
exchanged  Alleyne's  collection  of  stage  plays  for  what  they  thought,  in  true  churchwarden's  phrase, 
something  more  useful — viz.,  some  encyclopaedias  of  the  period,  and  a  collection  of  voyages  and  travels, 
then  modern.  This  fact  gives  a  threefold  value  to  the  British  Museum  collection,  as,  besides  Shaksp°are's 
plays,  the  collection  exchanged  comprised  several  acting  copies  of  older  dramatists  belonging  to  Alleyne 
himself,  and  used  by  him  in  performance. 


MUSEUM,   THE  BRITISH.  5S5 

•with  those  on  the  shelves  in  London.  Out  of  Russia,  Hungary,  Germany,  and  France,  respectively,  there 
are  no  such  Kussian,  Magyar.  German,  or  French  libraries  as  those  of  the  British  Museum."— Timet. 
1S63. 

The  Xetcspapers  are  the  largest  collection  in  England.  It  was  commenced  by  Sir 
Hans  Sloane ;  and  to  it,  in  1813,  was  added  Dr.  Burney's  collection,  purchased  for 
10002. ;  since  which  the  Commissioners  of  Stamps  have  transferred  to  the  Museum 
copies  of  all  the  stamped  newspapers.  The  oldest  in  the  collection  is  a  Venetian  Ga- 
zette of  the  year  1570.  Dr.  Birch's  Historical  Collections,  No.  4106,  contain  The 
English  Mercurie  of  July  23,  1588,  long  believed  "the  earliest  English  Newspaper," 
now  proved  to  be  a  forgery.  In  Dr.  Burney's  library  is  Newes  out  of  Holland, 
May  16,  1619,  the  earliest  newspaper  printed  in  England;  and  The  Neios  of  the 
Present  Week,  May  23,  1622,  the  first  weekly  newspaper  in  England. 

The  Reading  Room,  in  the  internal  quadrangle  of  the  Museum,  occupies  an  area  of 
48,000  superficial  feet.  It  originated  with  Mr.  Panizzi,  who  suggested  building  a  flat, 
low,  circular  Reading-room  in  the  quadrangle ;  the  architect  of  the  Trustees,  Mr. 
Sydney  Smirke,  approved  of  Mr.  Panizzi's  suggestion,  but  proposed  a  dome  and  glazed 
vaulting,  to  give  more  air  to  the  readers  and  a  more  architectural  character  to  the 
interior.  This  grew,  on  maturer  consideration,  into  the  much  larger  dome  as  erected 
from  Mr.  Smirke's  drawings,  and  under  his  direction  as  architect.  It  occupied  three 
years  in  construction,  and  cost  about  150,0002. 

The  Reading-room  is  circular.  The  entire  building  does  not  occupy  the  whole  quad- 
rangle, there  being  a  clear  interval  of  from  27  to  30  feet  all  round,  to  give  light  and 
air  to  the  surrounding  buildings,  and  as  a  guard  against  possible  destruction  by  fire 
from  the  outer  parts  of  the  Museum.  The  dome  of  this  reading-room  is  140  feet  in 
diameter,  its  height  being  106  feet.  In  this  dimension  of  diameter  it  is  only  in- 
ferior to  the  Pantheon  of  Rome  by  2  feet ;  St.  Peter's  being  only  139 ;  Sta.  Maria, 
in  Florence,  139 ;  the  tomb  of  Mahomet,  Bejapore,  135 ;  St.  Paul's,  112 ;  St.  Sophia, 
Constantinople,  107,  and  the  Church  at  Darmstadt,  105.  The  new  reading-room 
contains  1,250,000  cubic  feet  of  space;  its  "suburbs,"  or  surrounding  libraries, 
750,000.  The  building  is  constructed  principally  of  iron,  with  brick  arches  be- 
tween the  main  ribs,  supported  by  20  iron  piers,  having  a  sectional  area  of  10  super- 
ficial feet  to  each,  including  the  brick  casing,  or  200  feet  in  all.  This  saving  of  space 
by  the  use  of  iron  is  remarkable,  the  piers  of  support  on  which  our  dome  rests  only 
thus  occupying  200  feet,  whereas  the  piers  of  the  Pantheon  of  Rome  fill  7477  feet 
of  area,  and  those  of  the  tomb  of  Mahomet  5593.  Upwards  of  2000  tons  of  iron 
were  employed  in  the  construction.  The  roof  is  formed  into  two  separate  spherical 
and  concentric  air-chambers,  extending  over  the  whole  surface;  one  between  the 
external  covering  and  brick  vaulting,  the  object  being  the  equalization  of  tempera- 
ture during  extremes  of  heat  and  cold  out-of-doors ;  the  other  chamber,  between 
the  brick  vaulting  and  the  internal  visible  surface,  being  intended  to  carry  ofF  the 
vitiated  air  from  the  reading-room.  This  ventilation  is  effected  through  apertures 
in  the  soffites  of  the  windows,  and  at  the  top  of  the  dome;  the  bad  air  passing 
through  outlets  around  the  lantern. 

The  Reading-Room  is  world  famous,  and  does  not  need  description  or  praise,  though  the  ingenious 
fire-proof  library  that  surrounds  it  may  be  less  known,  and  is,  in  fact,  part  of  the  vast  improvement 
created  by  Mr.  Panizzi  when  his  Reading-Room  was  raised.  That  Reading- Room,  with  its  light  and 
cheerful  dome,  is  the  type  of  the  modern  and  the  comfortable,  not  to  say  social,  as  the  venerable  chamber 
of  the  Bodleian  is  of  the  older,  more  severe,  and  more  secluded  form  of  public  study.  The  new  library 
is  the  most  ingenious  application  of  glass  and  iron  to  the  purposes  of  economizing  space  and  providing 
effective  accommodation  for  and  sufficient  light  to  an  enormous  number  of  books  that  was  ever  invented. 
The  space  between  the  dome  of  the  reading-room  and  the  walls  of  the  Museum  quadrangle  is  occupied 
by  a  series  of  parallel  wrought-iron  bookcases,  with  passages  between  them,  and  a  few  square  courts  left 
in  places.  The  floors  of  the  passages  are  formed  of  iron  gratings,  and  each  passage  and  the  adjacent 
bookcases  are  lit  from  the  roof.  This  vertical  light  penetrates  to  the  base  of  the  building,  through  the 
successive  galleries  or  passages,  that  in  some  places  are  in  tiers  one  over  the  other  up  to  three  or  four 
stories.  This  most  ingenious  library  is  calculated  to  hold  from  800,000  to  1,000,000  volumes,  and  by  its 
method  of  construction  solves  the  problem  of  future  extension  for  the  library,  even  at  its  present  rapid 
growth  of  20,000  volumes  in  the  year.  Calculated  to  hold  the  books  that  may  be  added  for  the  next  forty 
years,  this  new  library  thus  shows  how  another  million  of  books  may  after  that  be  accommodated  on  a 
space  of  about  three-quarters  of  an  aore. — Times,  1863.    There  are  twenty-five  miles  of  book-shelves. 

The  Reading- Room  is  open  everyday,  except  on  Sundays,  on  Ash  Wednesdays,  Good  Fridays,  Christ- 
mas-day, and  on  any  Fast  or  Thanksgiving  days  ordered  by  authority;  except  also  between  the  1st  and 
7th  of  Al  ay,  the  1st  and  7th  of  September,  and  the  1st  and  7th  of  January,  inclusive.  The  hours  are  from 
9  till  7  during  May,  June,  July,  and  August  (except  on  Saturdays,  at  5),  and  from  9  till  4  during  the  rest 


586  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  the  year.  To  obtain  admission,  persons  are  to  send  their  applications  in  writing,  specifying  their 
Christian  and  surnames,  rank  or  profession,  and  places  of  abode,  to  the  principal  Librarian ;  or,  in  his 
absence,  to  the  Secretary ;  or,  in  his  absence,  to  the  senior  under-librarian ;  who  will  either  immediately 
admit  such  persons,  or  lay  their  applications  before  the  next  meeting  of  the  Trustees.  Every  person 
applying  is  to  produce  a  recommendation  satisfactory  to  a  Trustee  or  an  officer  of  the  establishment. 
Applications  defective  in  this  respect  will  not  be  attended  to.  Permission  will  in  general  be  granted  for 
six  months,  and  at  the  expiration  of  this  term  fresh  application  is  to  be  made  for  a  renewal.  The  tickets 
given  to  readers  are  not  transferable,  and  no  person  can  be  admitted  without  a  ticket.  Persons  under 
18  years  of  age  are  not  admissible. 

The  persons  whose  recommendations  are  accepted  are  Peers  of  the  realm,  Members  of  Parliament, 
Judges,  Queen's  Counsel,  Masters  in  Chancery  or  any  of  the  great  law-officers  of  the  Crown,  any  one  of 
the  48  Trustees  of  the  British  Museum,  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Aldermen  of  London,  rectors  of  parishes  in 
the  metropolis,  principals  or  heads  of  colleges,  eminent  physicians  and  surgeons,  and  Royal  Academicians, 
or  any  gentleman  in  superior  post  to  an  ordinary  clerk  in  any  of  the  public  offices. 

Nichols's  Handbook  for  Headers,  published  in  1866,  details  the  regulations  and  arrangements  affect- 
ing the  use  of  the  room,  and  describes  the  plans  and  scopes  of  the  various  catalogues  of  the  printed  books 
and  manuscripts  in  the  National  Library. 

Manttsckipts. — The  Manuscript  Library  is  the  largest,  and  hoth  in  respect  to  the 
intrinsic  value  of  the  documents  it  contains,  and  to  the  order  in  which  they  are  ar- 
ranged and  kept,  is  inferior  to  none  in  the  world  :  the  Cottonian  Collection  is  espe- 
cially rich  in  historical  documents  from  the  Saxons  to  James  I.  ;  registries  of  English 
monasteries  ;  the  charters  of  the  Saxon  Edgar  and  King  Henry  I.  to  Hyde  Abbey, 
near  Winchester,  written  in  golden  letters ;  and  "  the  Durham  Book,"  a  copy  of  the 
Gospels  in  Latin,  written  about  800,  splendidly  illuminated  in  the  style  of  the  Anglo- 
Saxons  by  the  monks  of  Lindisfarne,  and  believed  once  to  have  belonged  to  the  Vene- 
rable Bede.  The  collection  is  rich  also  in  royal  and  other  original  letters.  The 
Harleian  Collection  abounds  in  geographical  and  heraldic  MSS.;  in  visitations  of 
counties,  and  English  topography ;  legal  and  parliamentary  proceedings ;  abbey 
registers;  MSS.  of  the  classics,  including  one  of  the  earliest  known  of  the  Odyssey  of 
Homer ;  in  missals,  antiphonaries,  and  other  service-books  of  the  Romish  Church ;  and 
in  old  English  poetry.  Also  two  very  early  copies  of  the  Latin  Gospels,  written  in 
golden  letters ;  splendidly  illuminated  MSS.;  an  extensive  mass  of  Correspondence; 
nearly  300  Bibles  and  biblical  books,  in  the  Chaldaic,  Hebrew,  Greek,  Arabic,  and 
Latin,  in  Manuscript;  nearly  200  volumes  of  the  writings  of  the  Fathers  of  the 
Church ;  and  works  on  the  arts  and  sciences.  Here  is  the  oldest  specimen  of  a  Miracle- 
Play  in  English,  of  the  earlier  part  of  the  reign  of  Edward  III.  The  Sloanean  Col- 
lection consists  chiefly  of  MSS.  on  natural  history,  voyages,  travels,  and  the  arts,  and 
also  on  medicine.  It  comprises  the  chief  of  Kaempfer's  MSS.,  with  the  voluminous 
medical  collection  of  Sir  Theodore  Mayerne,  and  the  annals  of  his  practice  at  the  Court 
of  England  from  1611  to  1649  ;  also  scientific  and  medical  Correspondence,  and  his- 
torical MSS. ;  the  drawings  of  animals  are  beautifully  rich  and  accurate  :  two  volumes 
on  vellum,  by  Madame  Merian,  contain  the  insects  of  Surinam.  The  Royal  MSS. 
contain  the  collection  by  our  kings,  from  Richard  II.  to  George  II. ;  including  the 
Codex  Alexandrinus,  in  4  quarto  volumes  of  fine  vellum,  written,  probably,  between 
a.d.  300  and  a.d.  500,  and  presumed  to  be  the  most  ancient  MS.  of  the  Greek  Bible 
now  extant  in  uncial  character :  it  was  a  present  from  Cyril,  patriarch  of  Constanti- 
nople to  King  Charles  I.  Other  MSS.  came  into  the  royal  possession  at  the  dis- 
solution of  the  monasteries.  Old  scholastic  divinity  abounds  in  the  collection ;  and 
many  of  the  volumes  are  superbly  illuminated  in  a  succession  of  periods  to  the  16th 
century.  Here  also  are  several  of  the  domestic  music-books  of  Henry  VIII. ;  and  the 
Basilicon  Doron  of  James  I.  in  his  own  handwriting.  The  Lansdowne  Collection, 
purchased  in  1807  for  4925Z.,  consists  of  the  Burghley  and  Caesar  papers ;  the  MSS.  of 
Bishop  Kennet ;  numerous  valuable  historical  documents ;  and  about  200  Chinese 
drawings.  Here  are  Hardyng's  Chronicle,  presented  by  the  chronicler  to  King  Henry 
VI. ;  a  copy  of  the  very  rare  French  version  of  the  Bible,  upon  vellum,  translated  by 
Raoul  de  Prede  for  Charles  V.  of  France ;  also  five  volumes  of  Saxon  homilies,  tran- 
scribed by  Mr.  Elstob  and  his  sister ;  and  a  fac-simile  of  the  Vatican  Virgil,  made  by 
Bartoli  in  1642.  The  Sargreave  MSS.,  added  in  1813,  contain,  besides  early  Law 
Reports,  an  abridgment  of  equity  practice,  in  45  volumes,  by  Sir  Thomas  Sewell, 
Master  of  the  Rolls.  The  Burney  MSS.,  collected  by  the  Rev.  Charles  Burney,  and 
purchased  in  1818,  consist  chiefly  of  the  Greek  and  Latin  classics,  including  the 
Tovvnley  Homer,  a  MS.  of  the  Iliad  similar  to  that  of  the  Odyssey  in  the  Harleian 


MUSEUM,   THE  BRITISH.  587 

collection  (cost  600  guineas);  also  two  early  MSS.  of  Greek  rhetoricians;  a  volume  of 
the  mathematical  tracts  of  Pappas;  and  a  magnificent  Greek  MS.  of  Ptolemy's  Geo- 
graphy, enriched  with  maps  of  the  15th  century.  The  Oriental  MSS.  include  the 
valuable  collection  made  by  Mr.  Rich  while  Consul  at  Bagdad,  and  comprising  several 
Syriac  copies  of  the  Scriptures ;  also  Arabic  and  Peruvian  MSS.  of  great  value,  be- 
queathed by  Mr.  J.  P.  Hull  in  1827.  Here  also  are  MSS.  of  French  History  and 
Literature,  bequeathed  by  the  Earl  of  Bridgewater  in  1829.  The  Howard-Arundel 
MSS.,  acquired  from  the  Royal  Society  in  1831,  more  than  500  volumes  in  every  branch 
of  learning.  In  illuminated  works,  the  Collection  in  the  British  Museum  is  not  sur- 
passed, in  the  art  of  almost  every  age  from  the  4th,  or  certainly  the  8th  century  to  the 
16th.  Even  the  collection  of  Paris,  or  the  Vatican  itself,  is  not  superior  to  that  in  our 
Museum,  which  is  the  most  comprehensive  in  existence.  The  Oriental  manuscripts  are 
of  inestimable  value. 

The  Ancient  Rolls  and  Charters  of  the  Museum,  many  thousands  in  numher,  partly 
from  the  Cottonian,  Harleian,  and  Sloanean  collections,  illustrative  of  English  history, 
monastic  and  other  property,  are  separately  catalogued. 

Magna  Charta,  if  not  the  original,  a  copy  made  when  King  John's  seal  was  affixed 
to  it,  was  acquired  by  the  British  Museum  with  the  Cottonian  Library.  It  was  nearly 
destroyed  in  the  fire  at  Westminster  in  1731 ;  the  parchment  is  much  shrivelled  and 
mutilated,  and  the  seal  is  reduced  to  an  almost  shapeless  mass  of  wax.  The  MS.  was 
carefully  lined  and  mounted ;  and  in  1733  an  excellent  facsimile  of  it  was  published 
hy  John  Pine,  surrounded  hy  inaccurate  representations  of  the  armorial  ensigns  of  the 
25  barons  appointed  as  securities  for  the  due  performance  of  Magna  Charta.  An  im- 
pression of  this  facsimile,  printed  on  vellum,  with  the  arms  carved  and  gilded,  is  placed 
opposite  the  Cottonian  original  of  the  Great  Charter,  which  is  now  secured  under  glass. 
It  is  about  2  feet  square,  is  written  in  Latin,  and  is  quite  illegible.  It  is  traditionally 
stated  to  have  heen  bought  for  fourpence,  by  Sir  Robert  Cotton,  of  a  tailor,  who  was 
about  to  cut  up  the  parchment  into  measures  !  But  this  anecdote,  if  true,  may  refer 
to  another  copy  of  the  Charter  preserved  at  the  British  Museum,  in  a  portfolio  of  royal 
and  ecclesiastical  instruments,  marked  Augustus  II.  art.  106 ;  the  original  Charter 
is  believed  to  have  been  presented  to  Sir  Robert  Cotton  by  Sir  Edward  Dering,  Lieut.- 
Governor  of  Dover  Castle ;  and  to  be  that  referred  to  in  a  letter  dated  May  10,  1630, 
extant  in  the  Museum  Library,  in  the  volume  of  Correspondence,  Julius  C.  III.  fol.  191. 

The  Commissioners  on  the  Public  Kecords  regarded  the  original  of  Magna  Charta  preserved  at 
Lincoln  to  be  of  superior  authority  to  either  of  those  in  the  British  Mnsenm,  on  account  of  several 
words  and  sentences  being  inserted  in  the  body  of  that  Charter,  which  in  the  latter  are  added  at  the 
foot,  with  reference-marks  to  the  four  places  where  they  were  to  be  added.  These  notes,  however,  pos- 
sibly may  prove  that  one  of  the  Museum  Charters  was  really  the  first  written,  to  which  those  important 
additions  were  made  immediately  previous  to  the  sealing  on  Runnemede,  and  therefore  the  actual 
original  whence  the  more  perfect  transcripts  were  taken. — Richard  Thomson,  Author  of  An  Historical 
Essay  on  the  Magna  Charta  of  King  John,  tyc.    1829. 

In  the  Museum,  also,  is  the  original  Bull,  in  Latin,  of  Pope  Innocent  III.  receiving 
the  kingdoms  of  England  and  Ireland  under  his  protection,  and  granting  them  in  fee 
to  King  John  and  his  successors,  dated  1214,  and  reciting  King  John's  charter  of 
fealty  to  the  Church  of  Rome,  dated  1213.  Also,  the  original  Bull,  in  Latin,  of  Pope 
Leo  X.  conferring  the  title  of  Defender  of  the  Faith  upon  Henry  VIII. 

The  Donation  Manuscripts  include  Madox's  collection  for  his  History  of  the  Ex- 
chequer ;  Rymer's  materials  for  his  Foedera,  used  and  unused ;  the  historical  and  bio- 
graphical MSS.  of  Dr.  Birch ;  the  Decisions  of  the  Judges  upon  the  Claims  after  the 
Great  Fire  of  London  in  1666 ;  also  Sir  William  Musgrave's  Obituary ;  Cole's  collec- 
tion for  a  history  of  Cambridge  and  Cambridgeshire,  and  an  Athena  Cantabrigienses  : 
hesides  many  Coptic  and  other  ancient  MSS.  taken  from  the  French  in  Egypt ; 
Ducarel's  abstract  of  the  Archiepiscopal  Registers  at  Lambeth  Palace  j  and  a  long 
series  of  Calendars  of  the  original  rolls  from  the  1st  of  Henry  VIII.  to  the  2nd  of 
James  I.  Also  Linacre's  translation  of  Galen's  Methodus  Medendi,  on  spotless 
vellum ;  the  presentation  copies  of  Henry  VIII.  and  Cardinal  Wolsey :  the  former 
illuminated  with  the  royal  arms,  the  latter  with  the  Cardinal's  hat. 

Here  are — the  Bible  written  by  Alcuin  for  Charlemagne,  large  folio,  449  leaves  of 
vellum,  said  to  have  occupied  20  years  -in  transcribing,  and  illuminated.  Psalters  of 
Henry  VI.  and  Henry  VIII. ;  and  Prayer-books  of  Lady  Jane  Grey  and  Queen  Eliza- 


588  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

beth.  The  Breviary  of  Isabella  of  Castile,  1496-97 ;  a  profusely  adorned  specimen  of 
Flemish  and  Spanish  art.  The  Bedford  Missal,  a  Book  of  Hours,  written  and  sump- 
tuously illuminated  in  France  for  the  Begent,  John  Duke  of  Bedford,  and  his  Duchess, 
Anne  of  Burgundy,  between  1423  and  1430.  MS.  of  Valerius  Maximus,  splendidly 
illuminated.  Original  Letters  of  all  the  great  Reformers;  the  English  Kings;  and 
Poets  and  Philosophers.  The  MS.  of  "  paper-sparing  "  Pope's  Homer,  written  on  the 
backs  and  covers  of  letters.  Three  original  assignments :  Milton's  Paradise  Lost  to 
Simmons ;  Dryden's  Virgil  to  Tonson ;  and  Goldsmith's  History  of  Eminent  Persons 
to  Dodsley.  Selections  from  the  Rupert  and  Fairfax  correspondence,  1640-49,  includ- 
ing letters  of  Charles  I.,  Charles  II.,  Fairfax,  and  Hyde  (Lord  Clarendon).  The  original 
marriage-contract  of  Charles  I.  when  Prince  of  Wales.  The  pocket-hook  taken  from  the 
Duke  of  Monmouth  after  the  battle  of  Sedgmoor,  certified  in  the  handwriting  of  James  II. 
Papyri. — In  the  Egyptian  Room  is  a  framed  specimen  of  this  style  of  writing;  and 
among  the  MSS.  is  a  Greek  papyrus,  prohably  of  B.C.  135,  containing  the  translation 
of  a  deed  of  sale ;  and  a  book  of  sheets  of  papyrus  sewn  together,  brought  from  Egypt, 
and  bearing  a  copy  in  Greek  of  part  of  the  Psalms  of  David.  Several  Egyptian  papyri, 
written  in  the  hieroglyphical,  hieratical,  enchorial,  or  demotic  character,  framed  and 
glazed,  are  arranged  in  the  staircase  leading  to  the  Print-Room. 

The  Print-Room  has  only  been  an  independent  department  since  1837.  Tn  1836 
was  purchased  from  the  Messrs.  Smith,  the  Dutch  and  Flemish  portions  of  Mr.  Sheep- 
shanks' collection  for  5000L  Valuable  additions  have  since  been  made,  and  the  Print- 
Room  now  contains  the  most  perfect  collection  known  of  the  works  of  the  Engravers  of 
the  early  Italian,  German,  Dutch,  and  Flemish  Schools.  Among  the  Curiosities  are, 
in  the  Early  Italian  School,  an  engraved  silver  plate  (a  Roman  Catholic  Pax),  by 
Maso  Finiguerra,  3£  inches  high  by  2\  inches  wide,  sold  in  1824  for  300  guineas.  An 
impression  in  sulphur,  a  similar  subject,  the  first  step  in  the  discovery  in  this  branch 
of  printing,  cost  250  guineas.  Another  similar  subject,  printed  on  paper,  probably  the 
earliest  exemplar  known,  cost  300  guineas.  Specimens  of  this  description  are  much 
more  numerous  in  the  British  Museum  than  in  all  other  collections  combined.  Early 
German  School :  works  of  F.  Van  Bocholt  (1466),  Martin  Schoengauer,  Israel  van 
Meeken,  Albert  Durer  (a  beautiful  series,  including  some  unfinished  plates),  Lucas  van 
Leyden,  &c.  Dutch  and  Flemish  Schools  :  works  of  Rembrandt,  worth  probably  from 
15,000Z.  to  20,000?.;  the  large  portrait  of  the  Dutch  writing-master  Coppenal  is 
valued  at  500  guineas.  French  School :  an  admirable  series  of  etchings  by  the  hand 
of  Claude.  English  School:  works  of  Sir  Robert  Strange  and  Woollett;  prints  after 
the  pictures  of  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds,  West,  and  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence ;  4000  prints 
after  Stothard. 

The  Print-Room  also  contains  an  excellent  representative  series  illustrative  of  Mez- 
zotint Engraving  :  specimens  by  the  inventor,  Count  Siegen,  and  by  its  earliest  prac- 
tisers,  Prince  Rupert,  the  Canon  Furstemberg,  &c.,  are  remarkably  fine  and  numerous. 
Also,  an  extensive  series  of  British  Portraits  and  British  Topography.  Some  thousand 
drawings  and  prints  collected  and  bequeathed  by  Mr.  Crowle,  cost  upwards  of  7000£., 
including  some  of  Turner's  earliest  drawings.  Original  Drawings  by  Raphael,  Albert 
Durer,  Holbein,  Rubens,  Rembrandt,  Vandyke ;  and  some  beautiful  designs  by  Claude, 
a  portion  of  his  Liber  Veritatis.  Here  are  the  finest  specimens  in  the  world  of  Ostade 
and  Backhuysen ;  cost  200  guineas  each.  In  an  adjoining  room  is  a  small  selection  of 
the  most  capital  drawings,  framed  and  glazed.  In  the  Print-Room,  also,  is  a  carving 
in  hone-stone  (Birth  of  John  the  Baptist)  by  Albert  Durer,  dated  1510,  a  wonderful 
cutting  in  high  relief,  which  cost  500  guineas;  also,  a  beautifully  chased  silver  Cup, 
attributed  to  Benvenuto  Cellini.  The  whole  contents  of  the  Print-Room  are  worth 
considerably  more  than  100,0002.  They  can  only  be  seen  by  very  few  persons  at  a 
time,  and  by  particular  permission. 

The  first  Keeper  of  the  Prints  was  Mr.  Alexander,  so  well  known  for  his  Views  and  Costumes  of 
China.  He  was  succeeded  by  Mr.  J.  T.  Smith,  the  topographer,  and  author  of  the  amusing  Life  and 
Times  of  Nollekens.  Mr.  Young  Ottley,  the  eminent  collector,  and  author  of  the  Early  History  of  En- 
graving, was  his  successor ;  and  he  was  followed  by  Mr.  Henry  Jozi,  to  whose  energy  a  large  amount 
of  the  present  prosperity  of  this  department  is  due.  On  his  decease  in  1845,  the  post  wa3  given  to  Mr. 
Carpenter,  F.S.A.,  Keeper,  to  whose  attainments  and  kindness  all  visitors  to  the  Print-Boom  will  bear 
ample  testimony.    Mr.  Carpenter  died  in  1S65.    The  present  keeper  is  Mr.  G.  Keid. 


MUSEUMS.  589 


Here  are  a  few  small  portraits — viz.,  Geoffrey  Chaucer,  1400,  a  small  whole-length 
on  panel ;  a  limning  of  Frederic  III.  of  Saxony,  by  L.  Cranach,  Moliere,  Corneille, 
an  unknown  head  by  Dobson, — all  on  panel ;  with  the  portrait  of  a  Pope  or  Cardinal. 

The  public  are  admitted  to  the  collections  of  Zoology,  Minerals,  and  Antiquities  on  Monday,  Wed- 
nesday, Friday  (and  Saturday  from  12  to  5  during  May,  June,  and  July),  and  the  whole  of  Christmas, 
Easter,  and  Whitsun  weeks;  November,  December,  January,  and  February,  10  to  4;  September, 
October,  March,  April,  10  to  5 ;  May,  June,  July,  and  August,  10  to  6 ;  closed  the  first  week  in  January, 
May,  and  September ;  and  on  Christmas  Day,  Good  Friday,  and  Ash  Wednesday ;  and  on  any  special 
Fast  or  Thanksgiving  Days.    The  Visitors'  Book  is  in  the  Hall. 

A  list  of  Descriptive  Catalogues,  &c,  published  by  the  British  Museum  is  appended  to  the  Synopsis; 
with  a  list  of  the  prices  of  casts  and  photographs  from  ancient  marbles,  bronzes,  &c.  in  the  Museum. 

A  list  of  objects  added  to  the  several  collections  in  each  year  is  printed  in  the  Parliamentary  Eeturn, 
usually  in  April  or  May. 

Beneath  the  portico  of  the  Museum  have  been  set  up  casts  from  portions  of  the 
famous  Lion,  which  was  erected  on  the  sepulchre  of  the  Boeotians  who  fell  in  the  Battle 
of  Chseronea,  B.C.  338 :  a  mound  was  raised,  and  a  gigantic  lion  set  up  on  its 
summit :  the  mound  was  excavated,  and  the  fragments  found  are  in  almost  the  finest 
style  of  Greek  art.  This  lion  is  placed  close  by  that  Lion  of  Cnidus,  which  is  thought 
to  be  of  earlier  date. 

Principal  Librarian  and  Secretary,  Mr.  J.  Winter  Jones,  who  succeeded  Mr.  Panizz 
in  1866.     Superintendent  of  Natural  History,  Professor  Richard  Owen. 

MUSEUMS. 

ADELAIDE  GALLERY  op  Practical  Science  (the),  Adelaide-street,  Strand,  was 
built  by  Jacob  Perkins,  the  engineer,  and  opened  by  a  Society  in  1832,  for  the 
exhibition  of  Models  of  Inventions,  works  of  Art,  and  specimens  of  Novel  Manufacture. 
Here,  in  a  canal,  70  feet  long,  and  containing  6000  gallons  of  water,  were  shown 
steamboat  models,  with  clock-work  machinery ;  experimental  steam-paddles  ;  lighthouse 
models,  &c.  Next  were  exhibited  the  combustion  of  the  hardest  steel ;  the  compression 
of  water;  a  mouse  in  a  diving-bell;  steam  sugar-mill  and  gas-cooking  apparatus;  a 
model  of  the  Liverpool  and  Manchester  Railway;  electro-magnets;  a  mechanical 
trumpet ;  a  magic  bust ;  models,  from  the  Temples  of  Egypt  to  the  Thames  Tunnel ; 
looms  at  work;  mummy-cloth  2000  years  old;  and  Carey's  Oxy-hydrogen  Microscope, 
shown  on  a  disc  17  feet  diameter ;  automatic  ship  and  sea,  &c. 

Here  Perkins's  Steam-Gun  was  exhibited,  propelling  balls  with  four  times  greater  force  than  that  of 
gunpowder,  the  steam  being  raised  to  from  300  to  500  lbs.  to  the  square  inch ;  and  the  balls,  on  reaching 
the  cast-iron  target,  fired  at  a  distance  of  100  feet,  were  reduced  to  the  substance  of  tin-foil.  It  was 
possible  to  propel  420  balls  in  a  minute,  or  25,200  balls  in  an  hour;  and  the  gun  was  promised  to  mow 
down  a  regiment  in  less  than  ten  minutes !    The  Duke  of  Wellington  predicted  its  failure  in  warfare. 

A  living  Electrical  Eel  (Gymnotus)  was  brought  here  from  South  America  in  1838 ;  its  length  was 
40  inches,  and  it  resembled  in  appearance  dark  puce  and  brown  plush.  Professor  Faraday  obtained 
from  it  a  most  intense  electric  spark ;  and  by  one  shock  not  only  was  the  needle  of  a  galvanometer  de- 
flected, but  chemical  action  and  magnetic  induction  were  obtained.  The  eel  died  March  14, 1842.  In 
1776,  a  living  Gymnotus  was  exhibited  in  London,  5g.  each  visitor. 

Anatomical  Museums,  mostly  from  the  Continent,  are  often  exhibited  in  London; 
and  Anatomical  Collections  are  attached  to  the  Hospitals. 

Antiquaries,  Society's,  Museum,  Somerset  House,  contains  Egyptian,  Greek,  and 
Etruscan  antiquities ;  Roman  antiquities,  mostly  found  in  Britain ;  British  and  Anglo- 
Roman  remains ;  hair  of  Edward  IV.,  and  fragment  of  his  queen's  (Elizabeth)  coffin ; 
dagger,  &c,  found  near  the  site  of  Sir  W.  Walworth's  residence ;  stone-shot  from  the 
Tower  moat;  brass-gilt  spur  from  Towton  battle-field;  reputed  sword  of  Cromwell; 
Bohemian  astronomical  clock,  1525 ;  presumed  Caxton  woodcut-block ;  matrices  of  me- 
diaeval seals ;  decorative  tiles  found  in  London ;  coins,  medals,  and  provincial  tokens ; 
Worcester  Clothiers'  Company's  pall,  and  human  skin  from  the  doors  of  Worcester 
Cathedral;  West  Indian  antiquities  and  curiosities;  geological  specimens  (elephant's 
fossil  teeth  from  Pall  Mall) ;  Porter's  map  of  London  (Charles  I.).  A  synopsis  of  the 
contents  of  the  Museum  is  presented  to  the  Fellows  of  the  Society. 

Among  the  old  pictures  area  "  Greek  paynting  on  wood;"  folding  Picture  of  Preaching  at  Paul's 
Cross,  and  Procession  of  James  I.,  1616 ;  the  Fire  of  London,  from  near  the  Temple ;  26  ancient  pictures 
(Kerrick's).  Portraits  of  Philip  the  Good  of  Burgundy,  Henry  V.  of  England,  Henry  VI.,  Edward  VI., 
Margaret  of  York,  Richard  III.,  Henry  VII.  (four  portraits),  Mary  of  Austria,  Ferdinand  the  Catholic, 
Louis  XII.,  Francis  I.,  Queen  Mary,  William  Powlett,  Marquis  of  Winchester  (see  Catalogue,  by  G. 


590  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Scharf).  Drawings  of  ancient  mural  paintings  in  St.  Stephen's  Chapel,  Westminster  (see  Catalogue, 
by  A.  Way,  F.S.A.) ;  portraits  of  distinguished  Antiquaries;  the  very  curious  prescriptions  ordered  for 
Charles  II.  on  his  deathbed,  signed  by  16  doctors  (Medicorum  Chorus),  the  names,  according  to  court 
etiquette,  being  written  at  full  length;  and  not,  as  ordinarily  indicated,  by  initials  only.  Among  "  the 
Milton  Papers"  preserved  here  is  the  signature  of  John  Bunyan  to  a  memorial  to  Cromwell  and  the 
Council  of  the  Army,  dated  1653. 

Antiquities,  London. — This  extensive  collection  of  Roman  and  Mediaeval  relics, 
was  formed  by  Mr.  Charles  Roach  Smith,  at  5,  Liverpool- street,  City.  It  consists 
chiefly  of  objects  illustrative  of  the  domestic  and  social  life  and  customs  of  the  inhabi- 
tants of  London  in  the  time  of  the  Romans  and  during  the  Middle  Ages.  In  the  first 
of  these  divisions  are  a  bronze  shield  and  weapons  from  the  Thames ;  remarkably  fine 
bronze  statuettes  of  Apollo  and  Mercury;  a  bronze  hand  of  colossal  size;  a  pair  of 
forceps  elaborately  decorated  with  busts  of  gods  and  goddesses,  and  with  heads  of 
animals ;  an  extensive  series  of  fictile  vessels,  among  which  are  embossed  red  bowls  and 
vases  of  great  beauty  and  rarity ;  wall-paintings  from  houses,  and  tiles  for  conducting 
the  heated  air  to  the  apartments ;  flat  glass,  such  as  the  Romans,  or  their  predecessors, 
used  for  windows ;  also  other  Roman  glass.  Some  of  the  tiles  used  in  the  buildings  are 
stamped  pe.  beit.  ion.,  and  are  remarkable  as  presenting,  perhaps,  the  earliest  example 
extant  of  an  abbreviation  of  the  word  Londinium,  now  London.  The  leather  sandals  are 
rare  and  curious  specimens  of  Roman  costume.  Steel  styli  for  writing,  personal  orna- 
ments, and  many  examples  of  coloured  and  ornamented  glass,  are  also  worthy  of 
reference ;  while  the  coins,  chiefly  from  the  Thames,  include  rare  types.  Of  the  later 
antiquities,  the  Saxon  knives,  swords,  and  spears  present  some  uncommon  examples. 
There  is  also  a  rival  to  the  celebrated  Alfred  Jewel  in  the  Ashmolean  Museum  at 
Oxford,  in  an  ouche,  or  brooch,  of  gold  filigree  work,  set  with  pearls  and  enclosing  a 
portrait  of  a  regal  personage,  or  possibly  a  saint,  exquisitely  worked  in  opaque,  coloured, 
vitreous  pastes.  This  valuable  relic,  and  some  Norman  bowls  in  bronze,  preserved  in 
this  collection,  have  been  engraved  in  the  Archceologia.  Bone  skates  curiously  illustrate 
Fitzstephen's  account  of  an  old  City  pastime,  as  practised  on  the  ice  on  the  site  of 
Moorfields  ;  and  the  cuir  bouilli,  or  stamped  leather,  shows  how  artistically  this  useful 
material  was  worked  in  the  Middle  Ages.  The  shoes  of  the  time  of  Edward  III.  and 
Richard  II.  are  elegant  in  their  ornamentation  j  and  one  is  covered  with  mottoes  in 
Latin  and  in  Norman  French,  and  with  designs  of  groups  of  figures.  The  Pilgrims' 
Signs,  in  lead,  form  an  almost  unique  series,  illustrative  of  an  old  religious  observance ; 
and  there  are  some  fine  early  leaden  Tokens  of  London  tradesmen.  A  few  of  the 
objects  have  been  engraved  in  the  Collectanea  Antiqua;  and  an  illustrated  Catalogue 
of  the  whole  has  been  printed,  for  subscribers.  The  Collection  is  now  in  the  British 
Museum. 

Aech-eoiogical  Association  and  Institute. — Neither  of  these  Societies  possesses 
a  Museum  of  noteworthy  specimens.  The  Institute  has  presented  its  principal  articles 
to  the  British  Museum,  for  the  room  of  British  Antiquities.  Each  Society,  however, 
usually  assembles  a  Museum  in  the  city  or  town  wherein  is  held  its  annual  meeting. 

At  the  Rooms  of  the  Archaeological  Institute,  26,  Suffolk-street,  in  1853,  was  exhibited  the  Fejeveray 
Museum,  illustrative  of  the  history  of  Art,  and  consisting  of  Egyptian  remains,  purely  artistic ;  Etruscan 
remains,  principally  in  bronze ;  engraved  gems ;  Egyptian,  Assyrian,  Babylonian,  ancient  Persian, 
Etruscan,  Greek,  and  Roman  remains.  The  collection  comprises  also  a  noble  set  of  Majolica  ware,  twenty- 
five  pieces  in  number,  two  painted  by  Giorgio,  two  others  by  Santi,  and  several  after  designs  by 
P.  Prancia ;  a  very  curious  case  of  niello-work,  one  piece  of  which  belonged  to  Luigi  Sforza,  Duke  of 
Milan;  many  curious  terra-cottas ;  some  striking  Byzantine  objects;  artistic  antiquities  illustrative  of 
art  in  Hindostan,  China,  Persia,  &c.  &c.j  a  mass  of  Celtic  objects;  and  a  rare  assemblage  of  Hun- 
garian, Transylvanian,  and  Sclavic  coins. 

The  British  Archceological  Association,  32,  Sackville-street,  Piccadilly,  was  estab- 
lished in  1843 ;  and  in  the  same  year  The  Archceological  Institute  of  Great  Britain  and 
Ireland,  1,  Burlington  Gardens.  Each  Society  publishes  its  journal  quarterly.  The 
Surrey  Archceological  Society,  8,  Danes  Inn,  Strand,  was  established  in  1853 ;  and 
The  London  and  Middlesex  Archceological  Society  in  1856,  22,  Hart-street,  Blooms- 
bury.  The  objects  of  these  several  societies  are  cognate ;  each  paying  special  attention 
to  the  locality  specified  in  the  title. 

Aechitects,  Beitish,  Royal  Institute  Museum,  No.  9,  Conduit-street,  con- 
tains a  series  of  busts  and  portraits  of  architects ;  an  original  statuette  in  terra-cotta 


MUSEUMS.  591 


of  Inigo  Jones,  by  Rysbraeck ;  medals,  &c,  of  Schadow  and  Perrier ;  examples  of  Con- 
tinental marbles ;  two  flutes  of  the  Parthenon ;  "  growing  stone"  from  Hieropolis ; 
auriferous  quartz  from  California ;  building-stones,  including  117  specimens  whence  was 
chosen  the  stone  for  the  New  Palace  at  Westminster ;  casts  of  ornaments  from  ancient 
and  mediaeval  buildings ;  models  of  public  buildings,  roofs,  and  scaffoldings ;  apparatus 
for  painting  the  dome  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  &c. 

Aechitectueal  Museum  (the),  South  Kensington,  originated  by  Mr.  G.  G.  Scott, 
F.S.A.,  was  opened  in  1853,  as  an  exhibition  and  study  for  workmen  sketching  and 
modelling,  in  connexion  with  a  School  of  Art  for  Architectural  Workmen.  The  leading 
objects  of  this  Museum  are  plaster  casts  of  foliage,  figures,  &c. ;  casts  or  impressions  of 
ancient  seals  or  gems;  tracings  of  stained  glass,  wall  decorations,  ornamental  pave- 
ments, &c. ;  rubbings  of  brasses  and  incised  stones ;  specimens  or  casts  of  ancient  metal- 
work  and  pottery;  photographs,  or  other  faithful  drawings;  architectural  books,  prints, 
&c.  Here  are  casts  from  effigies  in  our  Cathedrals,  Westminster  Abbey,  and  a  beauti- 
ful selection  from  the  Chapter  House ;  panels  from  the  Baptistery  gates  at  Florence ; 
figures  and  details  from  the  French  Cathedrals,  casts  from  Venice,  &c.  The  Museum 
is  supported  by  architects,  builders,  and  sculptors;  and  small  subscriptions  from 
students,  carvers,  and  other  artist-workmen. 

Aemoubies  : — 1 .  At  the  Hall  of  the  Armourers  and  Braziers'  Company,  Coleman-street, 
where  is  Northcote's  well-known  picture  of  the  Entry  into  London  of  Richard  II.  and 
Bolingbroke ;  2.  Artillery  Company's  Museum  (see  p.  25). 

Asiatic  Society  (Royal),  5,  New  Burlington-street.  This  Museum  contains 
oriental  coins  and  medals,  marbles  and  inscriptions;  armour  and  weapons,  including 
Malay  and  Ceylonese  spears,  and  an  entire  suit  of  Persian  armour;  Ceylonese  jingals, 
and  Hindoo  statues.  The  public  are  admitted  on  Tuesday,  Wednesday,  or  Thursday, 
by  Members'  tickets. 

Atjtogeaphs. — The  collections  in  the  metropolis  are  too  numerous  for  us  to  detail. 
The  late  Mr.  Robert  Cole,  F.S.A.,  assembled  nearly  200  volumes  of  MSS.  and  Original 
Letters,  including  Queen  Caroline's  :  Her  Letters  to  Lady  Anne  Hamilton;  the  draft 
of  the  Queen's  Letter  to  George  IV.,  claiming  the  right  to  be  crowned  with  him  :  the 
Narrative  of  her  sojourn  on  the  Continent,  from  her  leaving  England  to  her  return  as 
Queen,  the  whole  autograph,  continued  by  Lady  Anne  Hamilton  to  the  Queen's  death 
in  1821.  Also,  a  mass  of  Letters  and  Poetry  inscribed  to  the  Queen ;  and  many  of 
the  original  Addresses  presented  at  Brandenburgh  House,  with  drafts  of  the  replies, 
in  Dr.  Robert  Fellowes's  handwriting.  Several  hundred  Letters  from  "  the  Princess 
Olive  of  Cumberland."  Nell  Gwyn  :  Treasury  order  for  payment  of  Annuity  to  Nell ; 
her  signature  E.  G.  to  receipts ;  her  power  of  attorney  to  Fraser,  signed  E.  G.,  and 
witnessed  by  Thomas  Otway,  the  poet.  Nell's  apothecary's  bill,  and  many  accounts 
for  silks  and  satins,  hay  and  corn,  ale,  spirits,  &c.,  supplied  to  her.  Lewis  Paul :  his 
papers  and  Cotton-manufacture  Patents,  granted  many  years  before  Arkwright's, 
proving  that  Paul  was  the  original  inventor  of  Cotton-spinning  Machinery.  Regalia 
of  Charles  II. :  Papers  relating  to  those  made  for  his  coronation.  Flora  Macdonald : 
her  only  known  letter.  Nelson :  the  introduction  letter ;  the  gunner's  expense-book 
at  the  battle  of  St.  Vincent,  signed  by  Nelson.  The  original  Jubilee  Address  of  the 
Royal  Academy  to  George  III.,  signed  by  all  the  Members.  Also,  Letters,  &c.  of 
James  Watt  and  John  Rennie,  James  Barry,  &c.  This  collection  has  been  dispersed 
by  auction.* 

Botanical  Society,  20,  Bedford-street,  Covent  Garden,  has  an  extensive  herba- 
rium, open  to  members  and  other  botanists,  to  facilitate  the  exchange  of  British  and 
foreign  specimens  in  forming  herbaria. 

Beookes's  Museum,  Blenheim-street,  in  the  rear  of  13,  Great  Marlborough-street 
(subsequently  Colburn,  the  publisher's),  was  a  fine  anatomical  collection  of  more  than 
6000  preparations,  models,  and  casts,  made  by  Joshua  Brookes,  F.R.S.,  during  thirty 

*  Among  the  Dealers  in  Autographs  is  Waller,  Fleet-street. 


592  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

years.  The  greater  part  was  sold  in  1828.  Brookes  was  for  more  than  forty  years 
a  distinguished  teacher  of  anatomy,  and  had  7000  pupils ;  yet  he  died  in  comparative 
poverty,  and  in  despondency  at  the  dispersion  of  his  Museum. 

Bullock's  Museum.     (See  Egyptian  Hall,  p.  320.) 

Civil  Engineers,  Institution  of  (the),  25,  Great  George- street,  "Westminster, 
formerly  possessed  a  Museum  of  models  and  specimens,  which,  on  the  extension  of  the 
library  and  theatre,  were  distributed  among  other  scientific  societies.  At  the 
annual  Conversazione  of  the  President  of  the  Institution  is  assembled  a  large  collection 
of  working  models  of  new  machinery,  works  of  art,  and  specimens  of  manufacture. 
In  the  theatre  are  portraits  of  Thomas  Telford,  and  of  succeeding  Presidents  of  the 
Institution.     (See  Libeaeies,  p.  517.) 

The  Institution  of  Civil  Engineers  first  met  at  the  Zing's  Head  Tavern,  Poultry,  Jan.  2, 1818 ;  and 
was  incorporated  1828.  Telford  bequeathed  to  the  Society  a  large  portion  of  his  library,  professional 
papers,  and  drawings;  and  a  considerable  sum  of  money,  the  interest  to  be  expended  in  annual  pre- 
miums.   Mr.  Charles  Manby,  F.R.S.,  Hon.  Secretary. 

College  oe  Physicians'  (Royal)  Museum,  Pall  Mall  East,  contains  the  very 
curious  preparations  which  Harvey  either  made  at  Padua,  or  procured  from  that  cele- 
brated school  of  medicine.  They  consist  of  six  tables  or  boards,  upon  which  are 
spread  the  different  nerves  and  blood-vessels,  carefully  dissected  out  of  the  body :  in 
one  of  them  are  the  semilunar  valves  of  the  aorta,  which,  placed  at  the  origin  of  the 
arteries,  must,  together  with  the  valves  of  the  veins,  have  furnished  Harvey  with  the 
most  conclusive  arguments  in  support  of  his  novel  doctrines  of  the  Circulation  of  the 
Blood.  Of  the  Lectures  which  he  read  to  the  College  in  1616,  the  original  MSS.  are 
preserved  in  the  British  Museum.  The  above  preparations  were  presented  to  the 
College,  in  1823,  by  the  late  Earl  of  Winchilsea,  the  direct  descendant  of  Lord 
Chancellor  Nottingham,  who  married  Harvey's  niece,  and  possessed  his  property. 
Here  also  is  Dr.  Matthew  Baillie's  entire  collection  of  anatomical  preparations,  mostly 
put  up  by  his  own  hands,  and  from  which  his  great  work  on  anatomy  is  illustrated. 
Like  Harvey,  Baillie  gave  this  collection  in  his  lifetime  (1819).  The  preparations  were 
restored  in  1851,  by  Mr.  G.  E.  Blenkins,  whom  the  College  presented  with  a  silver  ink- 
stand and  a  purse  of  fifty  guineas.  Here  also  is  a  gold-headed  cane,  which  had  been 
successively  carried  by  Drs.  Badcliffe,  Mead,  Askew,  Pitcairn,  and  Baillie,  whose  arms 
are  engraved  on  the  head :  presented  by  Mrs.  Baillie.  Among  the  MSS.  is  Bustorum 
aliquot  Reliquiae,  Baldwin  Harvey's  account  of  his  contemporaries,  and  the  amount  of 
their  fees ;  and  in  the  library  are  Harvey's  MS.  notes  and  criticisms  upon  Aristophanes. 
Admission  by  a  Physician's  order. 

College  op  Suegeons'  (Boyal)  Museum,  Lincoln's  Inn  Fields,  was  commenced 
with  the  collection  of  John  Hunter,  of  specimens  in  natural  history,  comparative 
anatomy,  physiology,  and  pathology,  purchased  by  the  Corporation  of  Surgeons,  and 
first  opened  in  1813  ;  greatly  enlarged  in  1836,  and  again  in  1853.  The  total  number 
of  specimens  is  23,000,  of  which  10,000  belonged  to  Hunter's  original  Museum,  the 
remainder  having  since  been  added.  There  are  elaborate  catalogues  of  the  whole :  ar- 
ranged in  "  the  Physiological  Department,  or  Normal  Structures;"  and  "  the  Patho- 
logical Department,  or  Abnormal  Structures."  Besides  the  anatomical  preparations 
are  the  following  Curiosities :  fossil  shell  of  a  gigantic  extinct  armadillo ;  fossil  skele- 
ton of  the  mylodon,  a  large  extinct  sloth  from  Buenos  Ayres  ;  skeleton  of  a  hippo- 
potamus ;  bones  of  the  pelvis,  tail,  and  left  hind-leg  of  the  mighty  megatherium ; 
skeleton  (8  ft.  high)  of  Charles  O'Brien,  the  Irish  giant,  who  died  in  1783,  aged 
twenty-two ;  skeleton  (20  in.  high)  of  Caroline  Crachami,  the  Sicilian  dwarf,  who  died 
in  1824,  aged  ten  years ;  plaster  casts  of  hand  of  Patrick  Cotter,  another  Irish  giant, 
8  ft.  7  in.  high ;  and  hand  of  M.  Louis,  a  French  giant,  7  ft.  4  in.  high ;  glove  of 
O'Brien ;  plaster  casts  of  bones  of  the  extinct  bird,  the  dinornis  giganteus  of  New 
Zealand,  which  must  have  stood  10  ft.  high ;  skeleton  of  the  gigantic  extinct  deer,  ex- 
humed from  beneath  a  peat-bog  near  Limerick  (span  of  antlers,  8  ft. ;  length  of  antler, 
7  ft.  3  in. ;  height  of  skull,  7  ft.  6  in.) ;  great  penguin  from  the  southernmost  point 
touched  by  Sir  James  Ross;  skeleton  of  the  giraffe;  skeleton  of  the  Indian  elephant 


MUSEUMS.  593 


Chunee,  purchased  for  900  guineas,  in  1810,  to  appear  in  processions  on  Covent  Garden 
Theatre  stage,  and  subsequently  sold  to  Mr.  Cross  at  Exeter  Change,  where  it  was 
shot  in  1S26,  during  an  annual  paroxysm,  aggravated  by  inflammation  of  one  of  the 
tusks,  but  not  killed  until  it  had  received  more  than  100  bullets  (see  Hone's  Every- 
day Book,  vol.  i.) :  the  skeleton  was  sold  for  100  guineas :  the  head  is  13  ft.  from  the 
ground;  the  bones  weighed  876  lbs.,  the  skin  17  cwt.  Plaster  cast  of  a  young 
negro,  and  a  bust  of  John  Hunter,  by  Flaxinan ;  skeleton  of  a  man  who  died  from 
water  on  the  brain,  skull  48  in.  in  circumference ;  skulls  of  a  double-headed  child, 
born  in  Bengal,  who  lived  to  be  four  years  old,  when  it  was  killed  by  the  bite  of  a 
cobra  di  capello :  the  skulls  are  united  by  their  crowns,  the  upper  head  being  in- 
verted ;  it  had  four  eyes,  which  moved  in  different  directions  at  the  same  time,  and 
the  superior  eyelids  never  thoroughly  closed,  even  when  the  child  was  asleep.  Skeleton, 
whose  joints  are  anchylosed,  or  rendered  immovable,  by  unnatural  splints  of  bone 
growing  out  in  all  directions.  "  The  shaft  case:"  the  chest  of  a  man  impaled  by  the 
shaft  of  a  chaise,  the  first  tug-hook  also  penetrating  the  chest,  and  wounding  the  left 
lung ;  the  patient  recovered,  and  survived  the  injury  eleven  years  :  the  preparation  of 
the  chest  is  side  by  side  with  the  shaft.  Iron  pivot  of  a  try -sail,  which,  in  the  London 
Docks,  Feb.  26,  1831,  was  driven  through  the  body  of  John  Taylor,  a  seaman,  and 
passed  obliquely  through  the  heart  and  left  lung,  pinning  him  to  the  deck  ;  the  try- 
sail mast  39  ft.  long,  and  600  lbs.  weight :  Taylor  was  carried  to  the  London  Hospital, 
where  he  recovered  in  five  months,  so  as  to  walk  from  the  hospital  to  the  College  and 
back  again,  and  he  ultimately  returned  to  his  duties  as  a  seaman.  Wax  cast  of  the 
band  uniting  the  bodies  of  the  Siamese  twins.  Among  the  mummies  is  the  first  wife 
of  the  noted  Martin  van  Butchell ;  and  a  female  who  died  of  consumption  in  1775,  the 
vessels  and  viscera  injected  with  camphor  and  turpentine.  Also  a  sitting  mummy, 
supposed  of  a  Peruvian  nobleman,  who  immolated  himself  with  his  wife  and  child 
some  centuries  ago.  Since  1835,  Professor  Owen,  F.R.S.,  has  been  Conservator  of 
the  Museum,  and  the  catalogues  have  been  prepared  by  him.     Here  are  : 

Twelve  wax  models  of  the  anatomy  of  the  Cramp-fish  ( Torpedo  galvanii),  presented  by  Professor  Owen. 

Fossil  Bones  of  the  Dinornis,  or  extinct  gigantic  wingless  Bird  of  New  Zealand  (tibia3  feet  in  length) . 

Coloured  casts  of  the  Eggs  of  the  gigantic  extinct  Bird  of  Madagascar  (Epyornis),  supposed  the 
original  Roc  of  Arabian  romance.  One  egg  contains  the  matter  of  12  ostrich-eggs,  140  hen's-eggs,  and 
10,000  humming-bird's  eggs. 

Skeleton  of  the  Skulls  of  the  great  Chimpanzee  {Troglodytes  gorilla).  This  animal  is  upwards  of 
6  feet  high,  of  prodigious  muscular  strength,  and  much  dreaded  by  the  Negroes  of  the  West  coast  of 
Tropical  Africa. 

A  series  of  prepared  Skulls  of  different  classes  of  Animals,  illustrative  of  Professor  Owen's  "Arche- 
type of  the  Vertebrate  Skeleton." 

Skeleton  of  male  Boschman  (diminutive  Hottentot) ;  and  plaster  casts  of  the  male  and  female, 
from  life. 

Here,  too,  are  some  preparations  similar  to  those  of  Harvey  in  the  College  of 

Physicians ;  they  originally  belonged  to  the  Museum  of  the  Royal  Society,  kept  at 

Gresham  College,  and  were  the  gift  of  John  Evelyn,  who  bought  them  at  Padua, 

where  he   saw   them   taken  out  of  the  body  of  a  man,  and  very  curiously  spread 

upon  four  large  tables :    they  were  the  work  of  Fabritius  Bartoletus,  then   Veslin- 

gius's  assistant.      The  Council  of  the  College  of  Surgeons  has  presented  to  all  the 

recognised   provincial  hospitals   possessing  libraries  sets    of  the  valuable  illustrated 

catalogues  of  the  Museum,  of  the  collective  value  of  690Z.     The  metropolitan  Hospitals, 

and  many  learned  and  scientific  societies  both  at  home  and  abroad,  had  previously 

experienced  a  similar  act  of  collegiate  liberality. 

The  Museum  is  open  to  Fellows  and  Members  of  the  College,  and  to  visitors  introduced  by  them, 
or  by  written  orders  (not  transferable),  on  Mondays,  Tuesdays,  Wednesdays,  and  Thursdays,  from  twelve 
to  four  o'clock;  on  Fridays  it  is  open  only  for  the  purposes  of  study.  The  arrangements  for  the  ad- 
mission of  learned  and  scientific  foreigners,  state-officers,  church  and  law  dignitaries,  and  members  of 
scientific  bodies,  are  liberal  and  judicious. 

Coeporation  Museum,  Guildhall,  contains  the  relics  of  Roman  London  discovered 
in  excavating  for  the  foundation  of  the  Royal  Exchange,  arranged  by  Mr.  Tite, 
F.R.S. :  1.  Pottery  and  glass :  moulded  articles,  bricks  and  tiles ;  jars,  urns,  vases, 
amphora? ;  terra-cotta  lamps ;  Samian  ware ;  potters'  marks  j  glass.  2.  Writing 
materials :  tablets,  and  styles  in  iron,  brass,  bone,  and  wood.  3.  Miscellaneous :  do- 
mestic articles ;  artificers'  tools ;  leather  manufactures.  4.  Coins,  of  copper,  yellow 
brass,  silver,  and  silver-plated  brass,  of  Augustus,  Tiberius,  Claudius,  Nero,  Vespasian, 

Q  Q 


594  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Domitian,  &c. ;  Henry  IV.  of  England,  Elizabeth,  &c.  ;  foreign,  Flemish,  German, 
Prussian,  Danish,  Dutch.  5.  Horns,  shells,  bones,  and  vegetable  remains.  6.  An- 
tiquities and  articles  of  later  date.  The  Catalogue,  printed  for  the  Corporation  in 
1846,  is  scarce.  Here,  also,  is  the  City  charter  (William  I.)  :  the  Shakspeare  deed  of 
sale,*  &c.     (See  Libbabies,  pp.  518,  519.) 

Here  is  a  Cabinet  of  the  London  Traders',  Tavern,  and  Coffeehouse  Tokens  current 
in  the  17th  century,  presented  to  the  Corporation  Library  by  Henry  Benjamin 
Hanbury  Beaufoy,  citizen  and  distiller.  They  consist  of  Tokens  of  iron,  lead,  tin,  brass, 
copper,  and  leather,  and  9  Eoyal  (Copper)  Farthing  Tokens ;  in  all  1174.  The  Leaden 
Tokens  were  issued  anterior  to  1649,  and  the  others  from  1649  till  1672,  by  traders  of 
the  City,  as  small  change  and  advertisement ;  each  Token  generally  bearing  the  name, 
residence,  and  sign  of  the  house ;  the  index  of  them  being  a  record  of  the  olden  topo- 
graphy and  history  of  London,  and  a  Key  to  streets  and  localities  long  lost.  Here  is 
the  Token  struck  by  Farr,  of  the  Rainbow  Coffee-house,  Fleet-street,  which  escaped  the 
Great  Fire  of  1666 ;  and  the  Tokens  of  the  Turk's  Head,  in  Change-alley ;  and  the 
Soar's  Head  Tavern,  Eastcheap.  A  Descriptive  Catalogue  of  these  Tokens,  with 
historical  notes,  ably  edited  by  Jacob  Henry  Burn,  was  printed  for  the  Corporation 
in  1853  ;  and  enlarged  and  reprinted  in  1855. 

Cottingham  Museum,  43,  Waterloo-road,  Lambeth,  collected  by  the  late  S.  N. 
Cottingham,  F.S.A.,  architect,  contained  about  31,000  specimens  of  Domestic  and 
Ecclesiastical  Architecture,  Sculpture,  and  Furniture ;  a  complete  series  of  studies 
from  the  Norman  period  to  the  close  of  the  reign  of  Elizabeth.  Here  was  an  Eliza- 
bethan ante-room  and  parlour,  with  a  pair  of  enamelled  fire-dogs,  once  Sir  Thomas 
More's  ;  a  ceiling  from  Bishop  Bonner's  Palace,  Lambeth ;  busts  of  Elizabeth,  Mary 
Queen  of  Scots,  Baleigh,  and  Burghley ;  ebony  table  from  Norwich ;  Queen  Anne 
Boleyn's  sofa,  from  the  Tower ;  a  gallery  and  a  ceiling  from  the  council-chamber  of 
Crosby  Place,  temp.  Richard  II.  (see  p.  298);  perforated  Spanish  brass  lantern- 
chandelier,  temp.  Henry  VII. ;  Spanish  pattern  lantern,  date  1600 ;  fireplace  from  the 
Star-chamber,  Westminster  ;  figures  of  saints  and  bishops,  and  busts  of  English 
monarchs;  Flemish  oak  screen  (1490),  carved  with  the  history  of  our  Lord,  and 
figures  in  niches,  richly  painted  and  gilt ;  a  reliquary,  sixteenth  century,  painted  and 
carved;  cabinet  with  ceiling  (Henry  VII.),  and  Decorated  window  painted  with 
Henry  VII.  and  his  queen ;  models  and  casts  of  tombs  of  the  children  of  Edward  III., 
William  of  Windsor,  and  Blanche  de  la  Tour ;  a  gallery  with  ceiling,  Henry  VI. ;  oak 
panelling  from  the  palace  of  Layer  Marney,  Essex ;  fac-simile  of  doorway,  Rochester 
Cathedral ;  altar  and  altar-piece,  with  canopied  figures ;  ancient  stall-seats  (thirteenth 
century) ;  throne,  and  figures ;  grand  figures  of  the  Virgin,  Mary  Magdalen,  &c. ; 
splendid  fac-similes  of  lofty  tombs,  with  recumbent  effigies ;  seven  rooms  filled  with 
models  and  casts;  branches,  with  prickets  for  candles,  temp.  Henry  V.;  supposed 
canopy  of  Chaucer's  tomb ;  marble  keystone  mask  from  Pompeii ;  cast  from  the  Strat- 
ford bust  of  Shakspeare;  fragments  from  Hever  castle,  St.  Katherine's-at-the-Tower, 
the  palace  and  abbey  at  Westminster,  &c. ;  processional  cross  from  Glastonbury  Abbey, 
&c.  The  collection,  sold  by  auction  in  2205  lots,  Nov.  1851,  produced  but  2009Z.  13s.  6A, 
being  depreciated  at  least  fifty  per  cent,  by  this  dispersion.  The  collection  is  well 
described  in  an  illustrated  Catalogue,  by  Henry  Shaw,  F.S.A. 

Cox's  Museum,  Spring  Gardens,  formed  by  James  Cox,  jeweller,  consisted 
of  several  magnificent  pieces  of  mechanism  and  jewelled  ornaments  :  the  tickets  were 
a  quarter-guinea  each :  the   collection  was  disposed  of  by  lottery,  by  Act  of  Parlia- 

*  The  most  important  fact  of  the  town  property  of  Shakspeare  is  that  first  pointed  out  by  Mr. 
Halliwell  in  his  8vo  Life  of  the  Poet — viz.  that  the  house  purchased  by  him  of  Henry  Walker,  in  March, 
1612-13,  and  the  counterpart  of  the  conveyance  of  which  is  preserved  in  the  Guildhall  Library,  with. 
Shakspeare's  signature  attached,  and  which  is  described  there  as  "abutting  upon  a  streete  leading 
doune  to  Pudle  Wharfe  (Blackfriers)  in  the  east  part  right  against  the  Kinges  Majesties  Wardrobe, 
is  still  identified,  or  rather  sheltered,  in  the  churchyard  of  St.  Andrew's  there.  The  eery  house  was, 
most  probably,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666 ;  but  the  house  stands  on  its  proper  spot ;  and  until 
within  these  few  years,  it  had  been  tenanted  by  the  Robinson  family,  to  whom  Shakspeare  leased  it. 
Close  behind  this  house,  in  Great  Carter-lane,  stood  the  Old  Bell  Inn,  mentioned  in  a  letter  addressed 
to  Shakspeare  (see  p.  452) ;  and  the  poet  was  probably  often  in  this  house,  the  site  of  which  was 
noted,  after  the  destruction  of  the  original  building,  by  a  richly-sculptured  bell,  dated  1687,  and  sub- 
sequently affixed  to  the  front  of  a  house  in  Great  Carter-lane,  on  the  north  side. 


MUSEUMS.  595 


ment,  in  1774 ;  the  schedule  contains  a  descriptive  inventory.  Walpole  mentions- 
"  the  immortal  lines  on  Cox's  Museum ;"  and  Sheridan,  in  the  Rivals,  "  the  bull  in 
Cox's  Museum."  At  its  dispersion,  some  articles  were  added  to  Weeks's  Museum 
(See  p.  606.) 

Cumingian  Museum,  80,  Gower-street,  Bedford-square,  collected  by  Mr.  Hugh 
Cuming,  contains  upwards  of  124,000  species  and  varieties,  including  68,000  specimens- 
of  Shells  j  besides  Genera  in  spirits,  with  the  animals  carefully  preserved  ;  from  Pata- 
gonia, Chili,  Peru,  Columbia,  Central  America,  the  Gallapagos  Islands,  Sumatra,  the 
Malayan  Peninsula,  Java,  the  Philippines,  and  the  South  Pacific  Islands. 

In  the  luxuriant  forests,  on  the  arid  plains,  the  mountain-sides,  the  sheltered  bays  and  rocky  shores 
of  these  countries,  and  by  exploring  the  floor  of  the  ocean,  species  of  Mollusca,  hitherto  imperfectly 
known,  were  found  in  abundance,  and  numerous  forms  were  discovered  entirely  new  to  science ;  entitling 
Mr.  Cuming  to  rank  with  Sloane,  Hunter,  and  Montague.  The  collection  has  been  sold  to  the  British 
Museum. 

Daniel,  Geoege,  Museum  and  Libeaey  of,  Canonbury-square,  dispersed  by 
auction  in  July,  1864,  the  sale  occupying  ten  days. 

Among  the  gems  was  a  collection  of  70  black-letter  ballads,  1559-1597,  which  brought  75(K.  Mun- 
day's  Banquet  of  Dainiie  Conceits,  1588,  the  only  known  copy,  2501.  Joe  Miller's  Jests,  1st  edition,  ex- 
tremely rare.  On  the  Shakspeare  day,  a  copy  of  Shakspeare' s  Sonnets,  one  of  only  two  perfect  copies 
known  with  the  same  imprint,  which  cost  Narcissus  Luttrell  one  shilling,  was  knocked  down  for 
215  guineas !  Separate  plays  of  Shakspeare,  original  editions,  produced  more  than  300  guineas  each : 
the  "  first  folio,"  bought  for  Miss  Burdett  Coutts  at  682  guineas.  Among  the  Tokens  was  that  of  tha 
Boar's  Head,  said  to  be  unique;  and  the  Mermaid  Tavern,  rare.  There  were  many  original  drawings, 
engraved  portraits,  and  curious  examples  of  art  and  virtu.  Among  the  portraits  were  Betterton, 
Bullock,  and  Barton  Booth ;  the  very  rare  mezzotint  of  George  Harris  as  Cardinal  Wolsey ;  Miss  Norsa, 
painted  and  engraved  by  Bernard  Lens,  exceedingly  rare ;  and  Shuter,  as  he  spoke  Joe  Haynes's  epilogue, 
mounted  on  an  ass.  Among  the  oil-paintings  were  an  old  portrait  of  Shakspeare,  bought  at  the  sale  of 
Mr.  Symes's  effects,  at  old  Canonbury  Tower,  and  a  whole  length  of  Napoleon  I.,  taken  from  life  by 
Barlow  while  on  board  the  Bellerophon.  Among  the  memorials  was  an  octagonal  casket,  with  conical 
lid,  surmounted  by  the  bust  of  Shakspeare,  carved  by  Sharp  from  the  famed  mulberry-tree,  with  vine- 
leaves  and  grapes  within  ornamented  arches,  formerly  in  the  possession  of  Garrick.  With  this  relie  was 
allotted  Garrick's  cane,  malacca,  gold-mounted,  presented  by  Garrick  to  King  the  actor,  and  which  he 
used  as  a  stage  dress  cane  in  Lord  Ogleby,  &c.  King  gave  this  cane  to  John  Bannister,  who  gave  it  to 
John  Pritt  Harley,  at  the  sale  of  whose  effects,  in  1858,  it  was  purchased  by  Mr.  Daniel.  A  crucifix  in 
hard  wood,  exquisitely  carved,  it  was  said,  by  Cellini,  and  the  plinth  by  Gibbons,  brought  thirty  guineas ; 
and  the  double  cup,  in  silver,  from  the  Strawberry  Hill  Collection,  was  sold  for  601. 

Entomological  Society's  Museum,  12,  Bedford-row,  Holborn:  a  collection  of 
insects,  commenced  with  Mr.  Kirby's  specimens,  from  which  the  first  of  monographs 
ever  published  was  formed.  (Kirby  and  Spence's  Introduction.)  Here  is  also  a  library 
of  reference  on  Entomology. 

Geology,  Peactical,  Museum  op,  Nos.  28  to  32,  Jermyn-street,  originated  in  a 
suggestion  by  Sir  H.  De  la  Beche,  C.B.,  in  1835,  for  the  collection  of  geological  and 
mineralogical  specimens  during  the  progress  of  the  Geological  Survey  of  the  United 
Kingdom.  The  collections  were  first  exhibited  in  a  house  in  Craig's-court,  Charing 
Cross;  but  becoming  too  extensive  for  this  accommodation,  the  present  handsome 
edifice  was  erected,  with  entrance  in  Jermyn-street,  and  frontage  in  Piccadilly :  Penne- 
thorne,  architect ;  style,  Italian  palaazo. 

In  the  lower  hall  is  a  collection  of  British  building  and  ornamental  stones — sand- 
stones, oolites,  limestones,  granites,  and  porphyries,  in  six-inch  cubes.  The  entrance  is 
lined  with  Derbyshire  alabaster ;  and  the  hall  has  pilasters  of  granite  from  Scotland, 
serpentine  from  Ireland,  and  limestones  from  Devonshire,  Derbyshire,  &c.  On  one  side  is 
an  elaborate  screen,  with  Cornish  serpentine  pilasters  and  cornice;  and  Irish  serpentine 
panels,  framed  with  Derbyshire  productions.  Here  is  a  large  copy  of  an  Etruscan 
vase  cut  in  Aberdeen  granite ;  and  on  the  floors  are  a  very  fine  tessellated  pavement  of 
Cornish  clay,  and  examples  of  encaustic  tiles ;  pedestals  of  British  marbles  support 
vases  and  statuettes  of  artificial  stone,  cement,  &c. 

The  principal  floor  has  an  apartment  95  feet  by  55  feet,  with  an  iron  roof,  glazed 
with  rough  plate-glass.  Around  run  two  light  galleries.  Here  are  specimens  of  iron, 
copper,  tin,  lead,  manganese,  antimony,  cobalt,  &c,  of  the  United  Kingdom  and  the 
colonies ;  also  a  good  collection  of  similar  ores  from  the  most  important  metalliferous 
countries  of  the  world.  The  processes  of  raising  these  from  the  mines  are  illustrated 
by  an  extensive  series  of  models,  with  the  modes  of  dressing  the  ores  for  the  market,  and 
the  final  production  of  the  metal ;  mining  tools,  safety-lamps,  &c. ;  including  models 
of  Taylor's  Cornish  pumping-engine,  the  water-pressure  engine,  the  turbine  and  other 


596  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

wheels,  and  a  beautiful  set  of  valves.  The  models  of  mines  can  he  dissected,  and  the 
mode  of  working  shown ;  with  the  machines  for  lowering  and  raising  the  miners, 
models  of  stamping  and  crushing  engines,  and  iron-smelting  by  the  hot  and  cold  blast. 
Here,  also,  are  tools  of  the  Cornish,  German,  Russian,  and  Mexican  miners. 

The  history  of  the  metals  may  also  be  read  in  a  collection  of  bronzes  and  brasses,  and 
gold  and  silver  ornaments ;  examples  of  metal  casting  and  steel  manufacture  are  shown ; 
as  are  also  metal  statuettes,  electrotype  deposits,  and  illustrations  of  electro-plating  and 
gilding,  and  photographic  processes.  Here  is  also  a  large  and  valuable  collection  of 
ancient  glass,  in  beads,  bottles,  jugs,  &c.,  historically  arranged :  the  old  Venetian  glass 
is  exceedingly  curious.  The  processes  of  enamelling  are  illustrated;  and  here  are 
specimens  of  fine  Limoges,  modern  works,  and  Chinese  enamels.  Next  is  a  collection 
of  Roman  pottery.  The  China  clays,  China  stone,  and  other  raw  materials  of  earthen- 
ware and  porcelain,  are  shown ;  and  here  is  a  complete  series  of  the  wares  of  the 
Staffordshire  potteries;  also,  specimens  of  those  of  Derby,  Worcester,  Swansea,  Chelsea, 
Bow,  and  other  districts,  in  comparison  with  the  earthenware  of  the  ancients,  the 
ceramic  manufactures  of  Italy,  Germany,  France,  and  the  Orientals. 

In  the  galleries  round  the  large  room  is  a  very  complete  collection  of  British  fossils, 
arranged  in  the  order  of  their  occurrence  and  labelled,  so  that  a  collector  may  compare 
and  identify  any  specimen  he  may  find. 

Attached  to  the  Museum  is  the  Mining  Records  Office,  in  which  are  collected  plans 
and  sections  of  existing  and  abandoned  mines.  Here  also  are  a  Library,  and  a  Lecture- 
theatre  with  580  sittings.  Lastly  are  well-fitted  Laboratories,  communicating  by  a 
hydraulic  lift  with  a  fire-proof  room  in  the  basement-story,  containing  an  assay -furnace. 
The  collections  are  open  to  the  public  gratuitously  on  the  first  three  days  of  the  week ; 
and  on  the  other  three  days  to  the  students  of  the  Royal  School  of  Mines,  &c. 

Geological  Society's  Museum:,  Somerset  House,  is  rich  in  the  original  types  of 
fossils  described  in  the  Geological  Transactions.  The  collection  contains  a  series  of 
British  fossils  and  rocks,  arranged  stratigraphically ;  likewise,  an  assemblage  of  selected 
minerals,  and  a  foreign  collection  geographically  arranged.  The  Society  possesses  also 
a  fine  library  of  works  upon  geological  science. 

Geological  :  Me.  J.  S.  Bowebbank's  Collection,  3,  Highbury-grove,  Islington, 
consisting  more  especially  of  British  fossils  stratigraphically  arranged ;  and  particularly 
ricli  in  the  crag,  London  clay,  and  chalk  formations ;  the  whole  occupying  400  drawers. 
Also  the  most  extensive  collection  of  British  and  foreign  Sponges  in  Europe,  consisting 
of  many  hundred  species  from  Australia,  Africa,  the  West  Indies,  &c. 

Guiana  Exhibition,  209,  Regent-street  (Cosmorama),  was  a  Museum  of  objects 
illustrative  of  the  ethnography  and  natural  history  of  British  Guiana,  collected  by  Mr. 
(afterwards  Sir)  H.  Robert  Schomburgk,  and  exhibited  in  1840.  The  saloon  was  fitted 
up  as  a  Guianese  hut ;  and  here  were  three  living  natives,  part  of  Schomburgk's  boat's 
crew,  in  their  picturesque  costumes.  Besides  collections  of  mammalia,  birds,  reptiles, 
fishes,  mollusca,  and  insects,  specimens  in  osteology,  geology,  &c,  here  was  a  painting 
of  the  Victoria  Regia  lily ;  Guianese  furniture,  clothing,  and  other  manufactures ; 
poisoned  arrows  and  blowpipe ;  a  native  hammock  and  bark  shirt ;  the  boa,  puma,  and 
ant-eater ;  splendid  rock  manakins  and  humming-birds,  &c.  The  three  natives,  wearing 
only  waistcloths,  and  jaguar-skin  cloaks,  and  teeth  necklaces,  and  feather-caps,  and 
their  skins  painted  and  tattooed,  exhibited  their  blowpipe  shooting  and  dances,  which 
were  very  attractive. 

At  the  Cosmorama  was  revived,  in  1839,  the  "Invisible  Girl"  of  some  thirty  years  previously,  the 
invention  of  M.  Charles,  and  detailed  by  Sir  David  Brewster  in  his  Natural  Magic.  The  poet  Moore 
inscribed,  with  exquisite  fancy,  "  Lines  to  the  Invisible  Girl."  The  invention  "  consisted  of  an  appa- 
ratus with  trumpets,  communicating  by  a  pipe  beneath  the  floor  of  the  room  to  an  apartment  in  which 
sat  a  lady,  who,  through  a  small  hole  in  the  partition,  saw  what  was  going  on  in  the  exhibition-room, 
and  answered  through  the  tube  accordingly;  the  sound  losing  so  much  of  its  force  in  its  passage,  as  to 
appear  like  the  voice  of  a  girl." 

Hospitals,  the  principal,  possess  Anatomical  Museums. 

Hudson's  Bat  Company's  House,  Fenchurch- street,  possessed  many  years  since  a 
Museum  of  stuffed  Birds,  and  other  objects  of  natural  history  from  Rupert's  Land ;  the 


MUSEUMS.  597 


greater  portion  of  which  has  been  presented  to  the  British  Museum  and  the  Zoological 
Society. 

Hunteb's  (William)  Museum  was  collected  at  his  large  house  on  the  east  side  of 
Great  Windmill-street,  Haymarket.  Hunter  employed  many  years  in  the  anatomical 
preparations  and  in  the  dissections;  besides  making  additions  by  purchase  from  the 
museums  of  Sandys,  Falconer,  Blackall,  and  others.  Here  was  a  sumptuous  library 
of  Greek  and  Latin  classics ;  and  a  very  rare  cabinet  of  ancient  medals,  besides  coins, 
purchased  at  20,000Z.  expense.  Minerals,  shells,  and  other  specimens  of  natural  history 
were  gradually  added  to  this  Museum,  which  hence  became  one  of  the  Curiosities  of 
Europe.  The  cost  of  the  whole  exceeded  70,000?. ;  it  was  bequeathed  by  Hunter  to 
the  University  of  Glasgow,  with  8000£.  to  support  and  augment  the  whole. 

India  Museum^.  Fife  House,  Whitehall-yard,  formerly  the  residence  of  the  Earl 
of  Liverpool.  This  collection  was  re-arranged  in  1858,  and  has  been  removed  from 
the  East  India  House,  as  above.  In  the  old  Museum,  so  long  one  of  the  sights  of 
London,  trophies  of  war  were  the  most  conspicuous  objects,  and  the  specimens  of 
natural  history  and  rare  literary  treasures  were  secondary  attractions  compared  with 
the  silver  elephant-howdah  and  the  tiger-organ  of  Tippoo  Sahib.  The  new  collection 
contains  some  monumental  and  artistic  records  of  the  progress  of  British  empire  in  the 
East,  but  its  principal  object  is  to  illustrate  the  productive  resources  of  India,  and  to 
give  information  about  the  life  and  manners,  the  arts  and  industry,  of  its  inhabitants. 

Here  are  models  and  groups  of  figures  representing  the  varieties  of  race,  caste,  dress,  occupation, 
worship,  and  everything  belonging  to  the  public  or  the  domestic  life  of  the  people  of  India:  specimens 
of  their  agricultural  implements,  manufacturing  tools,  and  rude  machinery;  of  their  conveyances  by 
land  and  water,  of  their  household  furniture  and  their  musical  instruments.  There  is  a  model  of  a 
Sepoy  encampment,  the  huts  with  their  bamboo  framework  supporting  the  walls  of  Durmah  matting, 
topped  by  a  heavy  roof  of  straw  thatch  ;  a  model,  also,  of  a  kutcherrie,  or  law-court.  In  the  industrial 
portion  are  shown  Calcutta  and  Madras  leather ;  specimens  of  paper  made  from  jute  fibre  and  plantain 
leaf;  matwork;  metal  work,  as — bangles,  rings,  bracelets,  brooches,  tassel  knots  for  dresses,  hookah 
mouthpieces ;  Trichinopoly  filigree  work ;  from  the  Bengal  presidency  a  superb  necklace  of  gold  set 
with  pearls  and  emeralds ;  a  gold  bracelet  thickly  set  with  pearls  and  diamonds ;  a  necklace  of  emeralds, 
pearls,  and  rubies;  a  bracelet  of  three  rows  of  large  diamonds,  about  90  in  number;  and  a  number  of 
curiously  formed  gold  and  silver  spice  boxes.  Portrait  of  Runjeet  Singh,  sitting  at  his  Durbar:  round 
his  neck  is  a  string  of  280  pearls,  said  to  be  the  largest  and  most  valuable  in  the  world ;  (now  in  the 
possession  of  her  Majesty).  His  head-dress  is  a  perfect  mass  of  rubies  and  emeralds,  while  on  his  arms 
is  a  cluster  of  armlets  of  jewels,  one  a  noble  emerald.  Here  are  enormous  silver  chains  of  great  weight 
and  such  strength  as  to  carry  the  heavy  arms  and  accoutrements  of  the  hill  tribes  of  Thibet,  with  native 
charm  rings  and  rough-looking  bracelets.  Also,  turquoises  of  the  largest  size  and  purest  water,  imcut 
and  unpolished,  found  amid  the  mountains  of  Thibet.  Specimens  of  carved  woodwork,  the  inlaid  work 
of  wood,  metal,  and  ivory,  and  the  lackered  work  of  Lahore,  Bareilly,  and  Scinde ;  metal  works  and 
brass  wares  from  Madras,  Travancore,  Darjheeling,  Delhi,  and  Benares.  The  formidable  knives  of 
the  Ghoorkas,  the  long  matchlocks  of  the  men  of  Oude,  the  shields  and  spears  of  the  Santals,  the  keen- 
edged  swords  of  the  Rajpoots,  and  the  camel  guns  of  the  old  Mahrattas.  Here,  too,  is  actually  a  re- 
volver musket  at  least  60  years  old,  which  at  once  disposes  of  the  claims  of  both  Colt  and  Adams  to 
originality  even  of  construction.  This  revolver,  we  believe,  was  taken  by  Sir  David  Baird  at  the  storm- 
ing of  Seringapatam.  Among  the  costumes  are  dresses  embroidered  with  beetles,  &c.  Here  are  marble 
statues  of  Wellington,  Clive,  and  Hastings;  pictures;  models  of  Indian  craft;  antelopes,  stags,  leopards, 
and  other  large  stuffed  animals.  A  fine  collection  of  the  Elliot  marbles,  from  the  ruins  of  Amrawutti. 
The  Museum  is  open  Monday,  Wednesday,  and  Friday,  10  to  4,  free. 

King's  College  Museum,  Strand,  consists  of  the  collection  formed  at  the  Kew 
Observatory  by  King  George  III.,  and  of  a  cabinet  of  natural  history  specimens  from 
Kew  Palace ;  presented  to  the  College  in  1843,  and  known  as  "  George  the  Third's 
Museum."  Here  are  the  celebrated  "  Boyle  models,"  and  "  forty-one  brass  plates, 
engraved  with  astronomical,  astrological,  and  mathematical  delineations;"  a  large 
orrery,  date  1733  ;  an  armillary  sphere,  1731 ;  apparatus  made  for  Desaguliers'  lectures  j 
a  rude  model  of  Watt's  steam-engine ;  Attwood's  large  arch  of  polished  brass  voussoirs, 
&c.  There  have  been  added  Wheatstone's  speaking-machine ;  a  model,  fifteen  feet 
long,  of  the  celebrated  Schaff hausen  timber  bridge ;  a  bust  of  Queen  Victoria,  by 
Weekes ;  and  a  statuette  of  George  III.,  by  Turnerelli.  The  collection  also  includes 
small  philosophical  apparatus,  entomological  specimens,  fossils,  minerals,  &c.  Here 
also  is  a  portion  of  Mr.  Babbage's  Calculating  Machine,  which  has  succeeded  in  printing 
mathematical  and  astronomical  tables.  At  the  College  is  likewise  an  Anatomical 
Museum,  a  Cabinet  of  Natural  History ;  and  a  Chemical  Theatre,  with  a  Daniell  constant 
battery  of  great  power. 

The  College  possesses  a  beautifully-illuminated  MS.  containing  the  Statutes  of  the  Order  of  the 
Garter ;  a  drawing  of  the  House  of  Lords,  temp.  Edward  I.:  and  the  Statutes  in  more  elegant  Latin. 


S98  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

corrected  in  the  handwriting  of  King  Edward  VI.,  superbly  emblazoned  with  arms,  &c.    The  Museum 
can  be  seen  by  the  Curator's  order. 

Leverian  Museum  :  (See  Leicester-square,  p.  512.) 

Linnean  Society,  32,  Soho-square  (the  house  of  Sir  Joseph  Banks,  and  bequeathed 
by  him  to  the  Society),  formerly  contained  in  its  Museum  the  herbarium  of  Linnaeus, 
purchased,  with  the  library,  by  Sir  J.  E.  Smith,  for  1000?.  The  herbarium  was  kept  in 
three  small  cases,  and  was  a  curious  botanical  antiquity,  of  great  value  in  ascertaining 
with  certainty  the  synonyms  of  the  writings  of  Linnaeus.  The  museum  is  very  rich 
in  the  botanical  department,  containing  the  herbaria  of  Linnaeus,  Smith,  Pulteney, 
Woodward,  Winch,  &c. ;  besides  a  valuable  herbarium  presented  by  the  East 
India  Company  in  1833.  The  entomological  collections  are  extensive  ;  the  zoology  is 
rich  in  Australian  marsupials,  birds,  and  reptiles  ;  and  the  shells  are  fine.  Here  also 
was  a  collection  of  paintings,  including  a  portrait  of  Linnaeus,  frbm  the  original  by 
Roslin  at  Stockholm,  described  as  the  most  striking  likeness  ever  executed.  This  copy 
was  painted  for  Archbishop  Von  Troil,  by  whom  it  was  presented  to  Sir  Joseph  Banks. 
In  this  house  Sir  Joseph  Banks  gave  public  breakfasts  on  Thursdays,  and  conver- 
sazioni on  Sunday  evenings,  to  the  Fellows  of  the  Royal  Society,  during  his  long  pre- 
sidency. He  left  an  annuity  of  200Z.,  his  library,  and  botanical  collections,  for  life,  to 
his  librarian,  M r.  Robert  Brown,  F.R.S.,  afterwards  to  come  to  the  British  Museum ;  but 
by  arrangement  the  library  and  collections  were  at  once  transferred  to  the  Museum. 

Manufactures  anp  Ornamental  Art  Museum,  Marlborough  House,  Pall  Mall 
was  opened  temporarily  in  1852,  with  purchases  from  the  Great  Exhibition,  with 
5000?.  voted  by  Parliament :  including  gorgeous  scarfs  and  shawls  from  Cashmere  and 
Lahore  ;  the  French  shawl  of  Duche  aine  et  Cie,  the  most  perfect  specimen  of  shawl- 
weaving  ever  produced ;  glittering  swords,  yataghans,  and  pistols  from  Tunis  and  Con- 
stantinople ;  the  famous  "  La  Gloire "  vase  from  the  Sevres  manufacture ;  Marcel 
Freres'  hunting-knife  of  St.  Hubert;  Changarnier's  sword,  from  the  workshop  ot 
Froment  Meurice ;  Vecte's  splendid  shield ;  a  facsimile  of  the  celebrated  Cellini  cup ; 
and  other  art-illustrations  of  the  highest  order.  To  these  were  added  purchases ;  and 
the  articles  were  grouped  into  six  classes :  woven  fabrics,  metal  works,  pottery, 
furniture,  and  miscellanies.  The  metal-work  department  consisted  also  of  the  rich  and 
splendid  manufacture  of  the  East,  with  a  few  rude  specimens  illustrative  of  the  innate 
taste  of  their  workmen ;  the  silver  and  bronze  materials  of  France,  cups  of  English 
and  brooches  of  Irish  manufacture,  and  Elkington's  electrotypes.  The  division  of 
pottery  was  enriched  by  the  Queen's  Sevres  collection,  and  by  valuable  works  from 
Baring,  Minton,  Copeland,  Webb,  and  Farrar  :  the  royal  collection,  though  of  forty- 
two  pieces  only,  being  worth  12,000?.  The  casts  of  ornamental  art  were  re- 
moved here  from  Somerset  House;  and  the  collection  included  ancient  Greek  and 
Roman,  mediaeval  or  Romanesque,  Saracenic  or  Gothic,  Renaissance,  figures,  busts, 
masks,  animals,  &c. ;  the  Renaissance  (a.d.  1400  to  1600)  arranged  chronologically. 

There  was  a  collection  of  3489  specimens  of  enrichment,  British  and  foreign  examples,  for  the 
guidance  as  to  style  of  the  carvers  employed  in  the  New  Houses  of  Parliament ;  and  another  collection 
of  3283  casts,  from  models  prepared  for  stone  and  wood  carvings,  deposited  in  the  Government  Works  at 
Thames  Bank,  and  at  the  New  Houses  of  Parliament.  These  examples  cost  700W.,  and  are  intended  to 
iorm  part  of  a  National  Museum  of  Mediaeval  Art. — First  Report  Hep.  Practical  Art,  1853. 

The  Car  for  the  Funeral  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  in  1852,  modelled  by 
Pupils  of  the  Department,  was  subsequently  exhibited  here.  The  collection  was  re- 
moved to  South  Kensington,  upon  Marlborough  House  being  prepared  for  the  recep- 
tion of  the  Prince  and  Princess  of  Wales ;  the  Car  being  removed  to  St.  Paul's  Cathedral. 

Mead's  (Dr.)  Museum  was  in  the  garden  of  No.  49,  Great  Ormond-street,  where 
was  also  a  library  of  10,000  volumes.  The  collection  included  prints  and  drawings, 
coins  and  medals ;  marble  statues  of  Greek  philosophers  and  Roman  emperors ;  bronzes, 
gems,  intaglios,  Etruscan  vases,  &c. ;  marble  busts  of  Shakspeare,  Milton,  and  Pope, 
by  Scheemakers;  statues  of  Hygeia  and  Antinous;  a  celebrated  bronze  head  of 
Homer  j  and  an  iron  cabinet  (once  Queen  Elizabeth's)  full  of  coins,  among  which  was  a 
medal  with  Oliver  Cromwell's  head  in  profile,  legend,  "  the  Lord  of  Hosts,  the  word  at 
Dunbar,  Sept.  1650 ;"  on  the  reverse,  the  parliament  sitting.  After  Dr.  Mead's  death, 
in  1754,  the  sale  of  his  library,  pictures,  statues,  &c.  realized  between  15,000?.  and  16,000/. 


MUSEUMS.  599 


Mead,  when  not  engaged  at  home,  generally  spent  his  evenings  at  Batson's  coffee- 
house, Cornhill ;  and  in  the  forenoons,  apothecaries  came  to  him  at  Tom's,  Covent 
Garden,  with  written  or  verhal  reports  of  cases,  for  which  he  prescribed  without  seeing 
the  patient,  and  took  half-guinea  fees.  Dr.  Mead's  gay  conversazioni,  in  Ormond- 
street,  were  the  first  meetings  of  the  kind. 

Missionary  Museum,  The,  8,  Bloomfield-street,  Finsbury,  contributed  chiefly  by 
the  missionaries  of  the  London  Missionary  Society,  and  travellers  generally,  is  remark- 
able for  its  great  number  of  idols  and  objects  of  superstitious  regard,  costumes,  do- 
mestic utensils,  implements  of  war,  music,  &c.  from  islands  in  the  Pacific  Ocean,  China, 
and  ultra-Ganges ;  India,  including  the  three  Presidencies ;  Africa  and  Madagascar  j 
North  and  South  America ;  "  especially  the  idols  given  up  by  their  former  worshippers, 
from  a  full  conviction  of  the  folly  and  sin  of  idolatry."  Here  also  is  an  assemblage  of 
natural  history  specimens,  principally  Polynesian :  its  Tahitian  collection  rivals  Capt. 
Cook's,  in  the  British  Museum. 

Some  of  the  idols  are  12  feet  high.  Among  the  rarities  are  18  model  pictures  of  Japanese  costumes 
obtained  at  great  risk ;  and  six  coloured  etchings  by  a  Chinese  artist,  the  Progress  of  the  Opium-smoker, 
a  counterpart  to  Hogarth's  "Rake's  Progress."    Admission  by  Director's  or  officer's  tickets. 

National  Repository,  The,  was  formed  in  1828,  in  the  upper  gallery  of  the  south- 
west side  of  the  King's  Mews,  Charing  Cross ;  and  35  adjoining  rooms  were  reserved 
for  the  reception  of  products  from  the  chief  manufacturing  towns.  Here  were  silk- 
looms  to  work  at  certain  hours,  English  Mechlin  lace,  crystallo-ceramic  ornamental 
glass  j  models  of  steam-engines,  steam-boat  paddles,  suspension-bridges,  and  public 
buildings;  new  kaleidoscopes,  rain-gauges,  musical  glasses,  Indian  corn-mills,  life- 
buoys, &c.  The  exhibition  proved  unattractive,  notwithstanding  the  King  (George  IV.) 
and  his  Ministers  took  much  interest  in  the  project.  The  collection  was  removed 
to  a  house  on  the  east  side  of  Leicester-square,  and  there  merged  into  the  "  Museum 
of  National  Manufactures  and  the  Mechanical  Arts."  It  was  soon  dispersed;  but, 
doubtless,  suggested  the  Polytechnic  Exhibitions  at  the  Adelaide  Gallery,  and  in 
Regent-street  and  elsewhere. 

Naval  Museum  ("  The  Model  Room"),  Somerset  House.  Here  were  models  of  the 
science  and  trade  of  ship-building,  with  sections  of  interior  and  exterior  construction, 
from  the  Cheat  Harry  and  the  Sovereign  of  the  Seas  ,to  our  own  time.  In  the 
central  room  was  a  large  model  of  the  Victoria,  110  guns,  laid  down  in  1839 ;  and 
above  hangs  a  model  of  the  Victory,  built  1735,  and  lost  in  1744,  with  an  admiral  and 
its  entire  crew.  Here  also  were  models  of  the  JBucentaur  ;  a  Chinese  Junk ;  a  Bur- 
mese War-boat ;  the  Queen,  110  guns ;  and  the  Agamemnon  steam-screw  war- 
ship, 91  guns.  This  collection  was  removed  to  the  Naval  Court  of  the  South  Kensing- 
ton Museum,  in  1864. 

Pharmaceutical  Society,  THE,l7,Bloomsbury-square,  incorporated  1842,  possesses 
the  most  extensive  and  complete  Museum  of  the  kind  in  existence  ;  comprising  rare 
specimens  of  the  animal,  vegetable,  and  mineral  kingdoms ;  and  substances  and  pro- 
ducts used  in  Medicine  and  Pharmacy.  Also,  groups  and  series  of  authenticated 
specimens,  valuable  for  identifying,  comparing,  and  tracing,  the  origin  and  natural 
history  of  products.  Here  is  the  valuable  Museum  of  the  late  Dr.  Pereira,  including 
collections  of  Cinchona  barks  by  eminent  foreign  naturalists.  The  collection  may  be 
seen  daily,  except  Saturdays,  by  Member's  order,  or  on  application  to  the  curator. 

Rackstrow's  Museum,  at  No.  197,  was  a  Fleet-street  sight  of  the  last  century. 
Rackstrow  was  a  statuary,  and  had  Sir  Isaac  Newton's  Head  for  a  sign :  his  museum 
consisted  of  natural  and  artificial  curiosities  and  anatomical  figures ;  and  "  the  circula- 
tion of  the  blood,  shown  by  a  red  liquor  conveyed  through  glass  tubes,  made  in  imita- 
tion of  the  principal  veins  and  arteries  of  the  human  body ;  the  heart  and  its  auricles, 
and  likewise  the  lungs,  are  put  in  their  proper  motions."  Rackstrow  died  at  his  house 
in  Fleet-street,  in  1772 ;  and  in  seven  years  after,  the  collection  was  dispersed  by 
auction.  One  of  the  prodigies  of  the  collection  was  the  skeleton  of  a  whale,  more  than 
70  feet  long.  Donovan,  the  naturalist,  subsequently  exhibited  here  his  London  Museum, 
which  was  soon  after  dispersed. 


600  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Royal  Society's  Museum,  Burlington  House,  was  commenced  in  1665,  with  "  the 
collecting  of  a  repository,  the  setting  up  a  chemical  laboratory,  a  mechanical  operatory, 
an  astronomical  observatory,  and  an  optick  chamber  :"  next  year  Evelyn  presented  "  the 
table  of  veins,  arteries,  and  nerves,  which  he  had  made  out  of  the  natural  human 
bodies,  in  Italy."  Sir  R.  Moray  presented  "  the  stories  taken  out  of  Lord  Balcarras's 
heart,  in  a  silver  box  ;"  and  "  a  bottle  full  of  stag's  tears."  Hooke  gave  "  a  petrified 
fish,  the  skin  of  an  antelope  which  died  in  St.  James's  Park,  a  petrified  foetus,"  and 
other  rarities.  In  1681,  when  Dr.  Grew  published  his  curious  catalogue,  the  Museum 
contained  several  thousand  specimens  of  zoological  subjects  and  foreign  curiosities ; 
among  the  eighty-three  contributors  are  Prince  Rupert,  the  Duke  of  Norfolk,  Boyle, 
Evelyn,  Hooke,  Pepys,  &c.  (Weld's  History  of  the  Royal  Society,  vol.  ii.  p.  278.) 
Ned  Ward  {London  Spy,  part  iii.)  satirically  describes  this  Museum  of  Wiseacres'  Hall, 
or  Gresham  College.  The  account  of  its  rarities  in  Hatton's  London,  1708,  fills  20 
pages ;  and  it  is  curious  to  observe  how  much  it  must  have  propagated  error.  Thus 
we  find  among  Dr.  Grew's  rarities : — 

"  The  Quills  of  a  Porcupine,  which,  on  certain  occasions,  the  creature  can  shoot  at  the  pursuing  enemy 
and  erect  at  pleasure. 

"  The  Flying  Squirrel,  which,  for  a  good  nut-tree,  will  pass  a  river  on  the  bark  of  a  tree,  erecting  his 
tail  for  a  sail. 

"  The  Leg-bone  of  an  Elephant,  brought  out  of  Syria  for  the  thigh-bone  of  a  giant.  In  winter,  when 
it  begins  to  rain,  elephants  are  mad,  and  so  continue  from  April  to  September,  chained  to  some  tree,  and 
then  become  tame  again. 

"  Tortoises,  when  turned  on  their  backs,  will  sometimes  fetch  deep  sighs,  and  shed  abundance  of  tears. 

"  A  Humming-bird  and  Nest,  said  to  weigh  but  12  grains;  his  feathers  are  set  in  gold,  and  sell  at  a 
great  rate. 

"  A  Bone,  said  to  be  taken  out  of  a  Mermaid's  head. 

"  The  Largest  Whale,  liker  an  island  than  an  animal. 

"  The  White  Shark,  which  sometimes  swallows  men  whole. 

"  A  Siphalter,  said  with  its  sucker  to  fasten  on  a  ship,  and  stop  it  under  sail. 

"  A  Stag-beetle,  whose  horns  worn  in  a  ring  are  good  against  the  cramp. 

"A  Mountain  Cabbage :  one  reported  300  feet  high." 

Of  the  Society's  pictures  there  is  a  good  catalogue  by  Mr.  Weld,  Assistant  Secretary, 
who  has  also,  from  the  Charter-book,  collected  into  a  volume  fac-similes  of  300  of  the 
Fellows  (from  the  period  of  the  institution  of  the  Royal  Society  to  the  present  time), 
an  illustrious  set  of  autographs. 

Relics  of  Sir  Isaac  Newton. — An  autograph  note  from  the  Mint  Office ;  one  of  the 
solar  dials  made  by  Newton#when  a  boy ;  his  richly-chased  gold  watch,  with  a  medal- 
lion of  Newton,  and  inscribed :  "  Mrs.  Catherine  Conduitt  to  Sir  Isaac  Newton.  Jan.  4, 
1708."  "  The  first  reflecting  telescope,  invented  by  Sir  Isaac  Newton,  and  made  with 
his  own  hands,"  1761 ;  the  mask  of  his  face,  from  the  cast  taken  after  death,  which 
belonged  to  Roubiliac ;  a  small  lock  of  Newton's  silver-white  hair :  and  three  portraits 
of  him  in  oil,  painted  by  Jervas,  Marchand,  and  Vanderbank.  Here  likewise  is  the 
original  model  of  the  Safety-lamp,  made  by  Sir  Humphry  Davy's  own  hands  in  1815. 

Salteeo's  (Don)  Museum  was  first  established  at  a  coffee-house,  afterwards  the  Swan 
Tavern,  in  Cheyne-walk,  Chelsea,  in  1695,  by  one  Salter,  a  barber,  who  assembled  there 
a  collection  of  Curiosities :  they  remained  in  the  coffee-room  till  August,  1799,  when 
they  were  dispersed  by  public  auction ;  previous  to  which  printed  Catalogues  were 
sold,  with  the  names  of  the  principal  benefactors  to  the  collection.  In  Dr.  Franklin's 
Life  we  read :  "  Some  gentlemen  from  the  country  went  by  water  to  see  the  College, 
and  Don  Saltero's  Curiosities,"  at  Chelsea.     The  collection  is  also  noticed  at  p.  90. 

Saull's  Museum,  15,  Aldersgate-street,  was  a  private  collection,  which  the  proprietor 
liberally  allowed  to  be  inspected.  The  Antiquities,  principally  excavated  in  the  metro- 
polis, consisted  of  early  British  vases,  Roman  lamps  and  urns,  amphora?,  and  dishes,  tiles, 
bricks,  and  pavements,  and  fragments  of  Samian  ware ;  also,  a  few  Egyptian  antiquities  ; 
and  a  cabinet  of  Greek,  Roman,  and  early  British  coins.  The  Geological  Department 
contained  the  collection  of  the  late  Mr.  Sowerby,  with  additions  by  Mr.  Saull ;  together 
exceeding  20,000  specimens,  arranged  according  to  the  probable  order  of  the  earth's 
structure.  Every  article  bore  a  descriptive  label ;  and  the  localization  of  the  antiquities, 
some  of  which  were  dug  up  almost  on  the  spot,  rendered  these  relics  so  many  medals  of 
our  metropolitan  civilization.  Mr.  Saull,  F.G.S.,  died  in  1855,  when  the  collection  was 
distributed  to  the  British  Museum  and  other  institutions. 


MUSEUMS.  601 


Seoane  Museum,  The,  collected  by  Sir  Hans  Sloane,  at  Chelsea,  consisted  of 
natural  and  artificial  Curiosities,  which  cost  Sir  Hans  50,000£. :  after  his  death  in  1753, 
they  were  sold  to  Parliament  for  20,000£.,  and  formed  the  nucleus  of  the  British 
Museum.  The  collection  consisted  of  a  library  of  50,000  volumes;  MSS.  upon  natural 
history,  voyages  and  travels,  and  the  arts,  especially  medicine;  23,000  medals  and 
coins ;  anatomical  preparations ;  natural  history  specimens ;  and  an  herbarium  of  336 
volumes.  The  Catalogue  of  the  collection  extended  to  38  vols,  folio,  and  8  vols.  4to. 
(See  Beitish  Museum,  p.  574.) 

Soane  Museum,  The,  13,  Lincoln's  Inn  Fields  (north  side),  was  founded  and  endowed 
by  Sir  John  Soane,  the  architect,  with  30,000Z.  3  per  cents,  and  a  house  in  Lincoln's 
Inn  Fields,  to  support  the  Museum.  At  Soane's  death,  in  1837,  the  Trustees  appointed 
by  Parliament  took  charge  of  the  "  Museum,  Library,  Books,  Prints,  Manuscripts, 
Drawings,  Maps,  Models,  Plans,  and  Works  of  Art,  and  the  House  and  offices ;" 
providing  for  the  free  admission  of  amateurs  and  students  in  painting,  sculpture,  and 
architecture ;  and  general  visitors. 

The  Museum  is  open  to  general  visitors  on  any  Wednesday,  Thursday,  or  Friday  in  April,  May,  and 
June ;  and  likewise  on  the  Wednesdays  in  February,  March,  July,  and  August. 

Admission  is  obtained  by  cards,  to  be  applied  for  either  to  a  Trustee,  by  letter  to  the  Curator,  or  per- 
sonally at  the  Museum. 

Access  to  the  books,  drawings,  MSS.,  or  permission  to  copy  pictures  or  other  works  of  art,  is  granted 
on  special  application  to  the  Trustees  or  the  very  obliging  Curator,  Mr.  Joseph  Bonomi,  who  resides  at 
the  Museum. 

A  general  description  of  the  Collection,  abridged  from  that  printed  by  Sir  John  Soane  in  1835,  may 
be  had  at  the  Museum.  The  larger  work  (only  150  copies  printed)  is  interspersed  with  poetical  illustra- 
tions by  Mrs.  Holland. 

The  house,  built  by  Mr.  Soane  in  1792,  was  in  1812  faced  with  a  stone  screen,  in  which 
are  introduced  Gothic  corbels,  12th  century ;  and  terra-cotta  canephorae,  copied  from 
the  caryatides  of  the  Temple  of  Pandrosus  at  Athens.  The  entrance-hall  is  decorated 
with  medallion  reliefs  after  the  antique.  The  dining-room  and  library  ceiling  are 
painted  by  H.  Howard,  R.A.  Here  are  a  large  collection  of  drawings  of  buildings  by 
Sir  John  Soane  ;*  plaster  models  of  ancient  Greek  and  Eoman  edifices,  restored ;  a  cork 
model  of  Pompeii ;  fictile  vases,  alabaster  urns,  and  antique  bronzes ;  windows  filled 
with  old  stained  glass ;  busts  of  Homer,  Shakspeare,  Ben  Jonson,  Camden,  and  Inigo 
Jones ;  Greek  and  Etruscan  vases,  and  Wedgwood's  imitations ;  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds' 
Snake  in  the  Grass,  purchased  for  510  guineas  by  Soafie,  at  the  Marchioness  of 
Thomond's  sale ;  and  a  portrait  of  Soane,  almost  the  last  picture  painted  by  Lawrence, 
1829.  Here  also  is  a  walnut-tree  and  marble  table,  formerly  Sir  Robert  Walpole's : 
on  this  table  is  exhibited  the  celebrated  Julio  Clovis'  MS.  The  Little  Study  contains 
marble  fragments  of  Greek  and  Roman  sculpture,  antique  bronzes,  and  some  natural 
Curiosities.  In  the  Monk's  Yard  are  Gothic  fragments  of  the  ancient  palace  at  West- 
minster, picturesquely  arranged  to  resemble  a  ruined  cloister.  In  the  Corridor  are 
casts  from  Westminster  Hall ;  and  Banks's  model  of  a  Sleeping  Girl,  at  Ashbourne ; 
also  two  engravings,  the  Laughing  Audience,  and  the  Chorus,  by  Hogarth;  and  a 
drawing  by  Canaletti.  The  Monk's  Parlour  has  its  walls  covered  with  fragments  and 
casts  of  mediaeval  buildings.  The  Monument  Court  contains  architectural  groups  of 
various  nations.  The  Picture-room  has  moveable  planes,  which  serve  as  double  walls, 
on  each  side  of  which  are  hung  the  pictures :  here  are  Hogarth's  Rake's  Progress, 
eight  paintings,  purchased  for  570  guineas ;  and  Hogarth's  Election,  four  paintings,  for 
1650  guineas ;  also,  three  pictures  by  Canaletti,  one,  the  Grand  Canal  of  Venice,  his 
chef-d'oeuvre ;  Van  Tromp's  Barges  entering  the  Texel,  by  J.  M.  W.  Turner,  R.A. ; 
the  Study  of  a  Head,  from  one  of  Raphael's  Cartoons, — a  relic  saved  from  the  wreck 
of  the  lost  Cartoon,  which  remained  in  the  possession  of  the  family  of  the  weaver 
who  originally  worked  the  Cartoons  in  tapestry ;  also  copies  of  two  other  heads  from 
the  same,  by  Flaxman ;  pictures  by  Watteau,  Fuseli,  Bird,  Westall,  Turner,  Callcott, 
Hilton,  &c.     The  fifteen  Indian-ink  Drawings  of  Psestum,  by  Piranesi,  are  very  fine. 

*  Sir  John  Soane,  the  son  of  a  Berkshire  bricklayer,  designed  a  greater  number  of  public  edifices 
than  any  contemporary ;  from  the  Bank  of  England  in  the  City,  to  Chelsea  Hospital  at  the  western 
extremity;  from  Walworth  in  the  southern  to  the  Regent's  Park  in  the  north-western  suburbs.  His 
last  work  (1833),  the  State  Paper  Office,  in  St.  James's  Park,  was  very  unlike  any  other  of  his  designs. 
He  died  at  his  house  in  Lincoln's  Inn  Fields,  Jan.  20, 1837. 


602  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Upon  tables  are  displayed  several  illuminated  MSS.,  a  MS.  Tasso,  the  first  three 
editions  of  Shakspeare,  sketch-books  of  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds,  and  other  curious  works. 

In  the  Catacombs  are  ancient  marble  cinerary  urns  and  vases.  In  the  Sepulchral  Cham- 
ber is  the  Sarcophagus  discovered  in  1817,  by  Belzoni,  in  a  royal  tomb  near  Gournou, 
Thebes.  It  was  bought  by  Sir  John  Soane  of  Mr.  Salt,  the  traveller,  in  1824,  for  the 
sum  of  2000Z.  When  first  discovered,  this  Sarcophagus  was  considered  by  Dr.  Young  to 
be  the  tomb  of  Psamnis ;  and  the  hieroglyphics  in  the  cartouche  to  indicate  Osiezi- 
menephtha,  the  father  of  Ramos  II. ;  although  Sir  Gardner  Wilkinson  considers  it  was 
not  that  monarch's  sarcophagus,  but  his  cenotaph.  Mr.  Bonomi  has  illustrated  to  the 
Syro-Egyptian  Society  Belzoni's  very  animated  description  of  this  Sarcophagus  by  a 
section  and  plan  of  the  catacomb,  which  is  excavated  to  a  depth  of  one  hundred  yards 
into  the  solid  rock.  The  sarcophagus  is  completely  covered  with  hieroglyphics  and 
659  figures  (each  2  inches  high),  all  of  which  were  originally  filled  in  with  a  blue 
paste.  The  subjects  on  both  sides  are  of  a  religious  character,  while  that  on  the  floor 
of  the  sarcophagus  is  personal.  Two  subjects  of  particular  interest  are  pointed  out, 
one  as  representing  the  ancient  Cosmical  philosophy,  and  the  other  as  exhibiting  in  a 
very  perfect  manner  the  doctrine  of  the  Metempsychosis.  Mr.  Bonomi  also  considers 
that  the  sarcophagus  reveals  two  remarkable  features  which  have  not  been  seen  in 
any  other  example :  the  first  in  the  existence  of  two  holes  at  each  end  of  the  lid,  for 
the  admission  of  ropes  to  ensure  the  gradual  adjustment  of  the  cover  into  its  proper 
place ;  and  the  next  the  evidence  of  a  means  of  preserving  the  edges  of  the  sarco- 
phagus from  fracture  during  the  process  of  lowering,  and  affording  the  means  of  her- 
metically closing  it.  It  is  formed  of  a  large  mass  of  arragonite,  or  alabaster :  it  is 
9  feet  4  inches  long,  and  2  feet  8  inches  deep.  The  seventeen  fragments  which  formed 
part  of  the  cover  have  been  put  together :  and  19  plates  of  the  whole  have  been 
carefully  drawn  by  Mr.  Bonomi,  and  described  by  Mr.  S.  Sharpe. 

In  the  Crypt  are  several  cork  models  of  ancient  tombs  and  sepulchral  chambers 
discovered  in  Sicily,  the  walls  decorated  with  painting  and  sculpture ;  and  in  the 
centre  the  remains  of  the  deceased,  amidst  vases  and  other  funereal  accompaniments. 

In  various  apartments  are  a  plaster  cast  of  the  Apollo  Belvedere,  taken  by  Lord 
Burlington  about  1718 ;  a  marble  bust  of  Sir  John  Soane,  presented  by  the  sculptor, 
Chantrey ;  a  richly-mounted  pistol,  taken  by  Peter  the  Great  from  the  Turkish  Bey  at 
Azof,  1696,  presented  by  Alexander  Emperor  of  Russia  to  the  Emperor  Napoleon 
at  Tilsit  in  1807,  and  given  by  him  to  a  French  officer  at  St.  Helena ;  also,  a  portrait 
of  Napoleon  in  his  28th  year,  by  a  Venetian  artist ;  and  a  miniature  of  Napoleon, 
painted  at  Elba,  in  1814,  by  Isabey ;  statuettes  of  Michael  Angelo  and  Raphael,  cast 
from  the  model,  by  Flaxman,  in  Mr.  Rogers's  collection;  marble  bust  of  Sir  William 
Chambers;  bust  of  R.  B.  Sheridan,  by  Garrard;  carved  and  gilt  ivory  table  and 
chairs,  formerly  Tippoo  Saib's ;  the  watch,  measuring-rods,  and  compasses  used  by  Sir 
Christopher  Wren ;  a  large  collection  of  ancient  gems  and  intaglios ;  and  a  set  of  the 
Napoleon  Medals,  once  the  Empress  Josephine's.     (See  Libraries,  p.  525.) 

The  Sculpture,  Marbles,  Casts,  and  Models,  contain  40  specimens  of  Flaxman,  including  a  plaster 
cast  of  his  "  Shield  of  Achilles ;"  10  works  of  Banks ;  and  specimens  of  Michael  Angelo,  John  de  Bologna, 
Donatello,  Rysbraeck,  Westmacott,  Chantrey,  Gibson,  Baily,  Rossi,  &c. 

The  Architectural  department  includes  drawings,  models  of  buildings,  and  details.  Among  the 
drawings  are  those  of  all  Sir  John  Soane's  works,  and  others  by  Piranesi,  Zucchi,  Bibiena,  Campanella, 
Thornhill,  Chambers,  Kent,  and  Smirke;  and  a  volume  of  drawings  by  Thorpe,  the  Elizabethan  archi- 
tect.   There  are  busts  of  Palladio,  Wren,  Chambers,  Dance,  &c. 

The  nine  Etruscan  Vases  exhibit  the  variety  of  shapes  to  be  found  in  much  larger  collections :  one 
(the  Englefield)  is  of  extreme  rarity ;  and  the  Cawdor  vase  is  of  extraordinary  size  and  elegantly  enriched. 
Among  the  Roman  antiquities  are  real  specimens  and  casts  from  the  temple  of  Jupiter  Stator  at  Rome, 
and  of  the  8ibyl  or  Vesta  at  Tivoli,  &c. 

The  Antiquities  and  Curiosities  are  as  useful  to  artists  and  pattern-drawers  as  the  new  rooms  in  the 
Louvre  at  Paris.    The  entire  collection  cost  Sir  John  Soane  upwards  of  50,0002. 

The  Museum  is  not  merely  interesting  as  a  sight  or  show-house,  but  of  great  service  for  artistic 
study  in  architecture,  sculpture,  painting,  and  house  decoration.  The  number  of  visitors  in  a  year  are 
from  2000  to  3000  persons.  The  removal  of  the  contents  of  the  Museum  has  been  proposed,  to  extend 
its  beneficial  effects;  but  it  is  urged,  and  we  think  with  success,  that  the  donor  intended  the  Collection 
should  never  be  removed  from  its  present  location,  as  he  fitted  up  the  house  for  its  reception  in  the  most 
elaborate  and  peculiar  manner. — (See  "  A  Morning  in  Sir  John  Soane's  Museum,"  in  Walks  and  Talks 
about  London;  and  a  paper,  with  four  large  engravings  in  the  Illustrated  London  News,  May,  1864). 

Society  of  Aets,  18,  John-street,  Adelphi  (the  house  built  by  the  brothers  Adam,  in 


MUSEUMS.  603 


1772-74),  has  Barry's  celebrated  pictures  upon  the  walls  of  the  Council-room,  and  a 
few  portraits,  &c. ;  to  he  seen  gratis,  between  10  and  4  daily,  except  Wednesday  and 
Sunday.     The  collection  is  constantly  receiving  interesting  additions. 

The  Model  Repository,  42  feet  by  35  feet,  on  the  ground-floor,  contains  one  of  the 
most  extensive  collections  of  models  in  Europe. 

Here  are  "  hands  for  the  one-handed,  and  other  instruments  for  those  who  have  lost  both;  clothes  of 
all  sorts  of  materials  from  all  countries ;  medals  of  Charles  I.'s  reign,  and  the  last  new  stc  ve  of  Victoria's; 
fire-escape  ladders  to  run  down  from  windows  aud  scaffolds,  rising  telescope  fashion  out  of  a  box,  to 
mount  roofs;  beehives  and  turnip-slicers,  ploughs  and  instruments  CO  restrain  vicious  bulls,  pans  to  pre- 
serve butter  in  hot  countries,  safety-lamps;  models  of  massive  cranes  and  of  little  tips  for  umbrellas; 
life-buoys  and  maroon-locks;  diving-bells  and  expanding  keys;  safety-coaches  and  traps;  clocks,  and 
tail-pieces  for  violoncellos ;  instruments  to  draw  spirits  and  to  draw  teeth ;  samples  of  tea,  sugar,  cin- 
namon, and  nutmegs,  in  different  stages  of  growth;  models  of  Tuscan  pavement;  beds  for  invalids; 
methods  to  teach  the  blind  how  to  write"  (Knight's  London) ;  also,  the  first  piece  of  gutta  percha  seen 
in  Europe,  and  presented  to  the  Society  1843. 

In  the  Ante-room,  upstairs,  are  Nollekens's  medallion  of  Jephtha's  Vow,  Barry's 
picture  of  Eve  tempting  Adam,  &c.  The  large  pictures  in  the  Council-room  were 
presented  gratuitously  by  Barry,  between  1777  and  1783,  and  were  commenced  when 
he  had  but  sixteen  shillings  in  his  pocket !  They  are — 1.  Orpheus  Civilizing  the  In- 
habitants of  Thrace.  2.  A  Grecian  Harvest-home.  3.  Crowning  the  Victors  at 
Olympia.  4.  Commerce,  or  the  Triumph  of  the  Thames.  5.  The  Distribution  of 
Premiums  in  the  Society  of  Arts.  6.  Elysium,  or  the  State  of  Final  Retribution. 
Barry  has  published  etchings  of  these  pictures,  and  has  minutely  described  the  subjects 
in  his  published  Works,  vol.  ii.  p.  323,  edit.  1809.  They  were  exhibited,  and  pro- 
duced Barry  500Z.,  to  which  the  Society  added  2001.  The  Victors  at  Olympia  is  the 
finest  work  of  the  series :  Canova  declared  the  sight  of  it  to  be  worth  a  voyage  to 
England.  In  the  Distribution  picture  are  introduced  portraits  of  Shipley,  Arthur 
Young,  the  Prince  of  Wales,  Mrs.  Montagu,  Sir  George  Savile,  Bishop  Hurd,  Soame 
Jenyns,  the  two  beautiful  Duchesses  of  Rutland  and  Devonshire,  the  Duke  of  Rich- 
mond, Lord  Folkestone,  William  Lock,  Edmund  Burke,  and  Dr.  Johnson.  The 
Retribution  contains  great  and  good  men  of  all  ages  and  times.  Each  of  the  latter 
pictures  is  42  feet  long.  Barry  died  in  1806,  and  his  remains  lay  in  state  in  the 
room  which  the  grandeur  of  his  genius  had  so  magnificently  adorned.  In  the 
ante-room  is  a  portrait  of  Barry ;  and  in  the  large  room  are  portraits  of  Lord 
Folkestone,  by  Gainsborough :  Lord  Romney,  by  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds ;  a  marble 
statue  of  Dr.  Ward,  by  Carlini ;  busts  of  Dr.  Franklin  and  Barry ;  and  casts  of  Venus, 
Mars,  and  Narcissus,  by  John  Bacon. 

The  Society  have  held  in  the  Great  Room  annual  Exhibitions  of  Decorative  Manu- 
factures, and  ancient  and  Mediaeval  Art ;  and  the  collected  works  of  Mulready,  Etty, 
and  other  artists  of  note.  But  the  benefits  which  the  country  has  derived  from  the 
Society  of  Arts  culminate  in  their  initiative  services  in  the  origin  and  organization  of 
the  Great  Exhibitions  of  1851  and  1862,  under  the  wisdom-tempered  zeal  of  the  Royal 
President  of  the  Society,  Prince  Albert,  the  beneficial  effects  of  whose  sagacity,  fore- 
sight, and  integrity  in  contributing  to  the  true  glory  of  the  nation  become,  year  by 
year,  the  more  fully  appreciated. 

South  Kensington  Mtjsetjm  commenced  with  the  erection  in  1856  of  an  iron 
structure  under  the  superintendence  of  Sir  W.  Cubitt  (which,  from  its  engineering 
unsightliness,  got  the  sobriquet  of  "  the  Boilers"),  and  when  completed  was  given  by 
the  Commissioners  of  the  Exhibition  of  1851,  into  the  possession  of  the  Science  and 
Art  Department.  Since  that  date  a  permanent  brick  and  iron  structure,  with  terra- 
cotta decorations,  has  been  erected.  The  building  was  planned,  and  its  construction 
superintended  up  to  the  year  1865,  by  Captain  Fowke,  R.E.  Its  decorations,  external 
and  internal,  were  designed  by  Mr.  Godfrey  Sykes,  originally  a  student  of  the  Sheffield 
School  of  Art.  The  site  is  of  irregular  form,  bounded  on  three  sides  by  straight  lines, 
and  with  three  slightly  acute  angles,  the  narrowed  portion  being  towards  the  north  or 
rear.  The  two  longer  boundaries  abut  on  the  Cromwell  and  Exhibition  Roads ;  the 
former  measuring  about  740  feet,  the  latter  about  600  feet ;  the  principal  front  and  the 
entrances  towards  the  south — that  is,  Cromwell-road.  It  would  occupy  more  space 
than  is  at  our  disposal  to  describe  the  plan  of  the  several  Museum  buildings,  to  be  erected 
from  time  to  time,  as  the  requisite  funds  are  voted  bv  Parliament.     The  central  portion 


604  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

is  Italian  in  general  effect.  The  most  novel  characteristics  are  due  to  the  employment 
of  coloured  materials — namely,  for  the  construction,  bright  red  bricks,  in  two  tints; 
and  for  the  ornament,  terra-cottas  of  deep  red,  and  a  pale,  but  not  harshly  white,  hue ; 
tile  tesserae  in  chocolate  and  warm  grey  for  mosaics,  inserted  in  panels  on  the  front, 
and  for  a  large  one  in  the  pediment ;  and  majolica  with  white  ground,  relieved  with 
yellow  and  blue,  for  the  soffits  of  the  arches  of  the  columnar  recess  in  front,  for  the 
arcades,  &c.  The  great  central  columns  are  modelled  with  figures  testifying  the  three 
divisions  of  Man's  Life,  Childhood,  Manhood,  and  Old  Age,  alternating  with  a  bough 
modelled  from  nature,  and  laid  over  fluting.  The  figures  are  mediaeval  in  character, 
in  the  style  of  Michael  Angelo  and  Raphael.  The  subject  for  the  tile-mosaic  of  the 
pediment  is  an  allegorical  representation  of  the  Queen  opening  the  great  Exhibition  of 
1851.  The  columns  above  described  stand  before  the  new  Lecture  Theatre,  a  handsome 
hall,  calculated  to  seat  about  600  persons. 

The  contents  of  the  South  Kensington  Museum  may  be  classified  as  follows :  — 

1.  The  Art  Collections,  which  now  number  12,530  objects,  illustrative  of  the  history,  principles,  and 
processes  of  decorative  art  in  sculpture,  carvings  in  wood  and  ivory,  decorative  furniture,  metal  work, 
goldsmiths'  work,  jewellery  and  lapidaries'  work,  engraved  gems,  niello  work,  arms,  armour,  pottery, 
glass,  enamels,  ancient  lac  work,  textile  fabrics,  miniatures,  &c.  &c.  An  important  feature  in  these  col- 
lections is  the  reproduction  by  means  of  casting,  and  electrotypy,  of  rare  and  costly  works  of  art  in 
other  countries,  with  which  the  Department  of  Science  and  Art  is  desirous  of  effecting  exchanges  of 
such  reproductions.  Another  feature  is  the  permanent  Loan  Exhibition  of  valuable  objects  of  art  be- 
longing to  private  owners.  The  Museum  also  contains  a  large  and  valuable  number  of  modem  English 
paintings  mainly  presented  by  the  late  Mr.  Sheepshanks,  and  water-colour  drawings,  principally 
bequeathed  by  Mr.  Ellison,  as  well  as  the  Cartoons  of  Raphael  lent  by  her  Majesty ;  and  it  affords 
temporary  accommodation  for  the  exhibition  of  many  paintings  of  the  British  School  which  belong 
to  the  National  Gallery. 

2.  The  Art  Library,  containing  about  15,000  volumes  relating  to  art,  and  a  great  number  of  original 
drawing-s,  illuminations,  and  engravings. 

3.  The  Educational  Museum  and  Library,  containing  many  educational  works  in  various  European 
languages,  and  scientific  apparatus  and  diagrams,  chiefly  lent  by  the  inventors  and  publishers. 

4.  The  Museum  of  Construction  and  Building  Materials,  containing  examples  of  materials  and  ap- 
paratus of  use  in  building,  draining,  and  decorating  houses;  and  many  architectural  models. 

5.  The  Museum  of  Animal  Products  and  Pood  Collection,  principally  formed  by  the  transference  by 
English  and  Foreign  commissions  of  collections  exhibited  in  the  International  Exhibitions  of  London 
in  1851  and  1862,  and  of  Paris  in  1855. 

6.  The  Naval  Models,  belonging  to  the  Admiralty,  supplemented  by  loans  from  private  builders  and 
owners.  The  Admiralty  Collection  shows  the  various  changes  "in  the  construction  of  men-of-war  from 
1416  down  to  the  present  time. 

The  following  are  the  terms  on  which  the  Museum  is  open  to  the  public : — 

The  Museum  is  open  daily,  Sundays  excepted,  free,  on  Mondays,  Tuesdays,  and  Saturdays,  from 
10  a.m.  till  10  p.m.  The  Students'  days  are  Wednesdays,  Thursdays,  and  Fridays,  when  the  public  are 
admitted  on  payment  of  6d.  each  person,  from  10  a.m.  till  4  p.m.  Tickets  of  admission  to  the  Museum, 
including  the  Art-library  and  Educational  Reading-room,  are  issued. 

Here,  also,  is  the  Museum  of  Patents,  mainly  founded  by  Mr.  Benet  Woodcroft,  and 
greatly  extended  by  the  zeal  of  the  present  curator,  F.  Petit  Smith.  The  collection 
includes  "  patriarchal  models,"  from  the  parent  engine  of  Steam  Navigation  to  the 
model  of  the  engine  of  the  Great  Eastern ;  historical  locomotives,  and  machines  of 
endless  ingenuity ;  with  a  collection  of  portraits  of  inventors,  scientific  library,  &c. 
(See  Patent  Seal  Office  Library,  p.  522.) 

The  authorities  at  the  South  Kensington  have  considerably  encouraged  mosaic  decoration.  Their 
first  proposition  was  to  decorate  with  mosaics  the  facade  of  the  picture-galleries  of  the  1862  Exhibition, 
building.  Subsequently  they  caused  a  number  of  mosaics  of  divers  kinds  to  be  inserted  in  various 
parts  of  the  new  and  permanent  buildings  of  the  South  Kensington  Museum.  The  most  important  of 
these  is  the  series  of  figures  which  are  inserted  in  compartments  of  the  wall-arcade  of  the  south  court 
of  the  Museum.  Of  these  the  most  important  are  Apelles,  Mr.  Poynter;  Cimabue,  Mr.  P.  Leighton, 
A.R.A. ;  the  Raphael,  Godfrey  Sykes ;  the  Giorgione,  Mr.  Prinsep. 

The  Sheepshanks'  valuable  collection  of  Pictures  by  modern  British  artists  is  fully  equal,  and  is  in 
seme  respects  superior,  to  the  Vernon  Collection.  The  works  of  Leslie,  R.A.,  and  Mulready,  R.A.,  can 
nowhere  be  studied  to  greater  advantage.  Observe :  Highland  Drovers,  The  Shepherd's  Chief  Mourner, 
Jack  in  Office,  the  Breakfast,  all  by  E.  Landseer,  R.A. ;  Duncan  Gray  and  the  Broken  Jar,  by  Sir  D. 
Wilkie;  Choosing  the  Wedding  Gown,  The  Ball,  Giving  a  Bite,  First  Love,  all  by  W.  Mulready,  R.A.; 
Scene  from  the  Merry  Wives  of  Windsor,  Uncle  Toby  and  Widow  Wadman,  both  by  C.  R.  Leslie,  R.A. 
Paintings  in  oil,  233  specimens ;  Drawings  and  Sketches,  103  specimens. 

On  May  20,  1867,  here  was  laid  with  great  State,  by  Queen  Victoria,  the  first  stone 
of  "  the  Royal  Albert  Hall  of  Arts  and  Sciences,"  a  vast  elliptical  building,  of  red 
brick,  with  terra-cotta  decorations,  estimated  to  cost  200,000^. 

Tradescants'  Museum,  at  South  Lambeth  (see  p.  185),  contained  not  only 
stuffed  animals  and  dried  plants,  but  also  minerals  ;  implements  of  war  and  domestic 
use,  of  various  nations ;  and  a  collection  of  coins  and  medals.     In  the  Catalogue  en- 


MUSEUMS.  005 


titled  Museum  Tradescantium,  1656,  we  find,  "  Two  feathers  of  the  phoenix  tayle •" 
"  a  natural  dragon  f  and  a  stuffed  specimen  of  the  Dodo,  believed  to  have  been  ex- 
hibited alive  in  London  in  1638 ;  its  head  and  foot  are  preserved  in  the  Askmolean 
Museum  at  Oxford,  of  which  the  Tradescants'  collection  formed  the  nucleus. 

Tbinity  House  Museum,  Tower  Hill,  contains  various  models  of  lighthouses, 
floating-lights,  life-boats,  and  a  noble  model  of  the  "  Royal  William,"  150  years  old. 
Among  the  naval  Curiosities  is  the  flag  taken  by  Sir  Francis  Drake,  in  1588,  from  the 
Spaniards;  pen-and-ink  plans  of  sea-fights,  temp.  Charles  II. ;  Chinese  map;  pair  of 
colossal  globes,  &c. ;  besides  a  large  picture,  by  Gainsborough,  of  the  Elder  Trinity 
Brethren,  and  numerous  portraits  and  busts.     To  be  seen  by  Secretary's  order. 

United  Sebyice  Institution  Museum,  Whitehall-yard,  contains  an  Armoury, 
Chinese  cabinet  and  model  gallery,  antiquities,  and  an  ethnological  collection  ;  a  lecture- 
theatre  and  library.  This  institution,  which  was  founded  in  1830,  under  the  patronage 
of  King  William  IV.  and  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  has  the  support  of  most  of  the 
officers  of  rank  in  both  services,  and  has  received  from  her  Majesty  a  Royal  charter  of 
incorporation. 

The  visitor  first  passes  through  rooms  containing  the  arms  and  armour  of  the  Esquimaux, 
New  Zealander,  inhabitants  of  the  Polynesian  Islands,  Australia,  and  of  Africa,  and  then  enters 
the  European  armoury.  Bound  this  room  are  displayed  firearms  from  the  time  of  Henry  VIII. 
to  Victoria;  in  the  windows  are  cases  containing  swords  of  heroes,  amongst  them  the  sword  of 
Cromwell  which  he  carried  at  the  siege  of  Drogheda;  a  small  sword  of  Nelson;  and  dirks  and 
yataghans  from  the  Greek  Islands.  In  a  spacious  room  are  arranged  a  scries  of  models  of  steam- 
engines  from  the  first  appliance  of  steam  to  the  screw-engines  of  the  present  time;  here  also  are  models 
of  tents  by  Major  Rhodes  and  Mr.  Turner.  The  next  room  contains  a  collection  of  the  arms,  accoutre- 
ments, clothing,  and  field  equipment  of  a  soldier  of  the  Line  and  rifleman  of  our  own  and  of  the  Prussian, 
Austrian,  Belgian,  and  Sardinian  armies,  with  the  addition  in  the  case  of  Sardinia  of  those  of  a  cavalry 
and  artillery  soldier.  These  have  been  presented  to  the  institution  by  the  respective  Governments.  The 
grand  staircase  is  guarded,  as  it  were,  by  two  men-at-arms  of  the  time  of  Charles  I.  On  the  walls  are 
pikes,  spears,  helmets,  and  long  two-handed  swords,  and  on  either  side  shirts  of  ringed  mail  of  the  time 
of  the  Crusaders;  a  genuine  English  longbow  of  the  time  of  Henry  VIII.;  and  arrows  taken  out  of  the 
citadel  of  Aleppo,  supposed  to  be  of  the  time  of  the  Crusaders.  The  Asiatic  Armoury  has  its  walls 
covered  with  spears,  sabres,  shields,  matchlocks,  and  other  descriptions  of  arms  and  armour  from  Borneo, 
Java,  and  Ceylon,  to  the  Punjaub  and  AiTghanistan.  In  this  room  are  also  to  be  seen  the  dress  worn  by 
Tippoo  Sahib  at  the  capture  of  Seringapatam,  and  the  pistols  taken  from  his  body  after  his  fall.  Next 
is  the  Enfield  Rifle  Boom,  where  is  exhibited  the  Enfieid  rifle  in  all  stages  of  manufacture,  from  speci- 
mens of  the  raw  material  to  the  finished  rifle.  In  the  naval  departments  are  models  of  vessels,  from  the 
most  perfect  model  of  a  line-of-battle  ship,  put  together  in  a  bottle  by  one  of  the  French  prisoners  of 
war  in  Norman  Cross  Prison,  to  a  large  one  of  the  Comicallis,  74,  built  in  Bombay ;  and  from  the  heavy, 
cumbrous  build  of  the  Dutch  man-of-war  of  1650  to  the  beautiful  lines  of  the  modern  frigate ;  also,  models 
of  guns  and  anchors,  Cuningham's  plan  for  reefing  topsails  from  the  deck,  Clifford's  boat-lowering 
apparatus,  life-boats,  and  gun-rafts.  Next  are  curiosities :  from  Drake's  walking-stick  to  Cook's  punch- 
bowl and  chronometer ;  models  of  foreign  craft,  from  the  Maltese  galley  to  the  Malayproa  and  the  birch- 
bark  canoe  of  the  Indian.  Here,  also,  is  the  table  made  from  the  wood  of  the  Victory  when  under 
repair,  on  which  are  the  relics  of  the  various  expeditions  in  search  of  Sir  J.  Franklin.  Also,  an 
Australian  Boomerang  •.  the  stone  upon  which  Capt.  Cook  fell  dead  at  Owhyee ;  war  implements  from  all 
parts  of  the  world ;  a  piece  of  the  deck  of  the  Victory,  from  the  spot  on  which  NeUon  fell ;  Napoleon 
Bonaparte's  fusil,  razor  and  shaving-brush,  and  fragment  of  his  coffin  ;  articles  found  on  the  field  of 
Waterloo ;  relics  of  the  Royal  George,  sunk  1782,  and  the  Mary  Rose,  1545 ;  chronological  series  of  fire- 
arms (James  II.  to  William  IV.) ;  skeleton  of  the  horse  Marengo,  rode  by  Napoleon  at  Waterloo ;  Chinese 
trophies  and  chain-shot ;  Polar  bear  and  wolf  shot  by  Sir  George  Back ;  wooden  Chinese  cage  for  human 
prisoner  ;  first  uniform  worn  in  the  British  navy;  hat  of  Lord  Nelson;  Chinese  magic  mirror ;  models 
of  ships  of  all  nations;  fortification  models;  great  model  of  Linz  and  its  camp ;  and  pictures  of  battles. 
Also,  Capt.  Siborne's  Model  of  the  Battle  of  Waterloo;  scale,  9  feet  to  a  mile,  area  440  square  feet ; 
showing  the  entire  field,  and  the  British,  French,  and  Prussian  armies,  by  190,000  metal  figures ;  with 
the  villages,  houses,  farmyards,  and  clumps  of  trees :  cost  Captain  Siborne  4000£. ;  purchased  for  the 
Institution  by  subscription.  Here,  also,  are  Colonel  Hamilton's  model  of  the  South  of  the  Crimea ; 
models  of  the  different  systems  of  fortification,  with  relics  commemorative  of  the  Peninsular,  Waterloo, 
and  the  Crimean  campaigns.  The  Library  contains  between  11,000  and  12,000  volumes  of  works  on  naval 
and  military  history,  biography,  improvements  in  arms,  and  general  science.  The  topographical  depart- 
ment contains  the  naval  charts,  and  maps,  and  plans,  supplied  by  the  Admiralty  and  War  Departments ; 
here  on  maps  are  marked  out,  by  pins  and  coloured  cards,  warlike  operations  or  peaceful  movements 
over  the  world.  The  reading-room  is  well  supplied  with  the  military  periodicals  of  the  day.  During  the 
season  lectures  on  subjects  of  passing  interest,  or  bearing  on  the  naval  or  military  services,  are  delivered. 
The  United  Service  Institution  is  supported  by  entrance-fees,  11. ;  annual  subscription,  10».  The 
public  are  admitted  daily,  free,  by  members'  orders. 

Untvebsity  College,  Gower-street.  The  Anatomical  Museum,  based  upon  the 
collection  of  Sir  Charles  Bell,  consists  of  4-066  specimens  in  catalogue,  and  large  addi- 
tions. Also,  the  models  in  wax  by  Tuson,  including  the  celebrated  case  of  Ichthyosis 
cornea ;  700  coloured  drawings  by  Sir  R.  Carswell,  and  200  by  Armstrong ;  the  heart 
and  throat  of  Ramo  Samee  (the  sword-swallowing  Indian  juggler),  ob.  24  July,  1849 ; 
a  Skull  from  the  Wreck  of  the  Royal  George  ,•  bones  and  a  Skull  from  ancient  Greek 


606  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

graves;  a  Head  from  the  Catacombs  in  Paris;  an  Elephant's  Heart ;  reputed  fragments 
of  bones  of  the  Good  Duke  Humphrey  and  Kobert  Bruce ;  and  a  cast  from  Hervey 
Leach  (Hervio  Nano),  ob.  March,  1847.  Here,  also,  is  the  skeleton  of  Jeremy  Bentham, 
dressed  in  the  clothes  which  he  usually  wore,  and  with  a  wax  face  modelled  by  Dr. 
Talrych  :  also  a  portion  of  skin  from  the  body  of  the  first  person  obtained  under  the 
New  Anatomical  Act  (Lady  Barrington).  A  Museum  of  Comparative  Anatomy,  and  a 
fine  Materia  Medica  collection.  The  Natural  Philosophy  Models  are  good.  In  the 
Drawing  School  are  three  marble  figures  in  relief  of  the  Hindoo  Trinity,  Brahma, 
Vishnu,  and  Siva,  dug  up  from  the  ruins  of  a  city  in  a  forest  50  miles  east  of  Baroda. 
In  the  School,  also,  is  a  collection  of  Casts,  including  the  Apollo  made  in  Rome  for 
Plaxman,  the  Laocoon,  &c. 

Waterloo  Museum:,  Pall  Mall,  was  a  collection  of  portraits,  battle-scenes,  costumes, 
and  trophies,  cuirasses,  helmets,  sabres,  and  fire-arms,  from  the  field  of  Waterloo, 
exhibited  1815. 

Weeks's  Museum,  3,  Tichborne-street,  established  about  1810,  was  famed  for  its 
mechanical  Curiosities.  The  grand  room,  by  Wyatt,  had  a  ceiling  painted  by  Rebecca 
and  Singleton.  Here  were  two  temples,  7  feet  high,  supported  by  16  elephants,  and 
embellished  with  1700  pieces  of  jewellery.  Among  the  automata  were  the  tarantula 
spider  and  bird  of  paradise.  Weeks's  Museum  has  long  been  dispersed;  after  his 
death,  March  23,  1864,  were  sold  many  of  the  large  mechanical  pieces  originally  exhi- 
bited at  his  museum,  comprising  the  large  swan  of  chased  silver ;  also^temples,  birdcages, 
clocks,  and  automaton  figures,  several  with  musical  movements ;  also  a  great  variety  of 
clocks  and  candelabra,  miniatures,  musical  birdboxes,  watches,  &c.  The  chased  silver 
swan  was  in  the  Great  Paris  Exhibition  of  1867.  Weeks's  Gallery  was  subsequently 
the  show-rooms  of  the  Rockingham  Works,  where,  in  1837,  was  exhibited  a  splendid 
porcelain  dessert-service,  made  for  William  IV. :  200  pieces,  painted  with  760  subjects, 
occupied  5  years,  and  cost  3000?.     In  1851  the  place  was  refitted  by  Robin,  the  conjuror. 

Zoological  Society's  Museum,  The,  was  originally  commenced  in  Bruton-street, 
then  removed  to  No.  26,  Leicester-square ;  and  is  now  contained  in  a  building  erected 
for  it  in  the  Society's  Garden,  Regent's  Park,  about  1843.  This  Museum  was  pro- 
jected upon  an  extensive  scale :  during  the  earlier  years  of  its  formation,  it  was, 
scientifically,  the  great  collection  of  this  country ;  but  it  soon  became  eclipsed  by  the 
rapid  accumulation  with  which  Dr.  Gray  enriched  the  galleries  of  the  British  Museum ; 
and  as  the  national  collection  gradually  assumed  the  important  place  which  it  now 
occupies  among  the  great  public  institutions  of  Europe,  the  Council  of  the  Zoological 
Society  withdrew  from  the  competition,  and  concentrated  their  efforts  towards  their 
Vivarium.  Their  Museum  is  arranged  to  convey  an  idea  of  the  Generic  Forms  of  the 
Vertebrate  Division  of  the  Animal  Kingdom.  By  this  method,  most  of  the  essential 
differences  of  form  are  well  illustrated  in  a  reduced  number  of  specimens,  so  as  to  im- 
press a  casual  observer  with  the  distinctive  features  of  each  family,  Among  the  animals 
preserved  are  many  of  the  rarest  and  most  curious  known  to  exist,  and  selected  from 
the  original  collection,  commenced  with  the  gifts  of  Sir  Thomas  Stamford  Raffles,  the 
first  President  of  the  Zoological  Society :  and  Mr.  N.  A.  Vigors,  its  first  Secretary. 

Private  Collections. — The  following  have  been  mostly  dispersed ;  or  when  they 
exist  can  only  be  seen  by  private  introduction  to  the  proprietors. 

Auldjo,  Mr.  John,  Noel  Souse,  Kensington :  an  extensive  assemblage  of  Antique 
and  Mediaeval  Articles  of  Vertu;  including  a  portion  of  a  Greek  glass  vase,  of  similar 
execution  to  the  Portland  Vase :"  it  is  ornamented  with  foliage  and  birds,  and  was 
found  at  Pompeii  in  1833.     This  collection  has  been  dispersed. 

Gwilt,  Mr.  George,  8,  Union-street,  SouthwarJc ;  and  Gwilt,  Mr.  Joseph,  20, 
Abing 'don-street,  Westminster:  Collections  of  Architectural  Antiquities;  the  former 
especially  rich  in  Southwark  relics  (some  Roman),  old  London  Bridge,  &c. 

Londesborough,  the  late  Lord,  8,  Carlton  House-terrace,  formed  a  collection  of 
Antiquities  ranging  from  the  earliest  English  period.  Saxon  remains,  urns,  arms,  and 
articles  of  personal  decoration,  principally  excavated  by  his  lordship  from  tumuli  in 
Kent.     Also  Irish  gold  antiques,  valuable  and  curious ;  and  mediaeval  gold  and  silver 


MUSIC  HALLS. 


607 


work  in  jewels,  cups,  &c,  and  a  very  fine  collection  of  Anglo-Saxon  relics,  principally 
ornaments,  from  the  Isle  of  Wight.  Arms  and  armour,  artistically  wrought  and  richly 
decorated  (hut  chiefly  preserved  at  Grimstone,  in  Yorkshire).  Lady  Londeshorough 
also  collected  a  series  of  many  hundred  antique  rings,  ranging  from  the  early  Egyptian 
times  to  the  seventeenth  century.  These  collections  were  shown  at  conversazioni 
given  hy  Lord  and  Lady  Londeshorough  during  the  London  season.  There  is  a 
privately  printed  Catalogue,  hy  Mr.  T.  Crofton  Croker,  F.S.A. 

Magniac,  Mr.  H,  87,  Jermyn-street,  St.  James's :  a  collection  chiefly  remark- 
able for  its  fine  Ecclesiastical  Works — crosiers,  reliquaries,  pyxes,  &c.  Also  fine  ex- 
amples of  Ancient  Carved  Furniture,  and  other  specimens  of  mediaeval  art. 

Marryat,  Mr.  Joseph,  author  of  a  History  of  Pottery,  until  1866  possessed  a  large 
collection  of  Ceramic  Works,  particularly  Flemish  and  German,  but  exhibiting  gene- 
rally the  varied  forms  and  peculiarities  of  the  entire  manufacture :  formerly  at  Rich- 
mond-terrace, Whitehall ;  removed  to  the  Ynescedwyn  Iron-works,  Swansea. 

Morgan,  Mr.  Octavius,  F.  S.A.,  9,  Pall  Mall,  possesses  a  very  valuable  series  of 
Ancient  Clocks  and  Watches ;  particularly  remarkable  for  its  historic  illustration  of  the 
gradual  improvement  in  Watches,  from  the  earliest  period  to  that  of  Quare  and 
Tompion. 

Rothschild,  the  Baron  Lionel  de,  148,  Piccadilly,  has  a  costly  collection  of 
Mediawal  Art.  Also  Antique  Pottery,  including  a  candlestick  formed  of  white  clay, 
rare  Henry  II.  ware  (French),  which  cost  the  Baron  2201. :  not  more  than  27  articles 
of  this  ware  are  known  to  exist. 

Sainsbury,  Mr.,  13,  Upper  Panelagh-street,  Pimlico :  Historical  MSS.  and 
Autographs,  1473  to  1848;  enamels,  miniatures,  medals,  and  coins;  books,  drawings, 
and  prints;  Shakspeare  relics  (including  the  Garrick  cup);  Napoleon  Collection 
exhibited  at  the  "  Napoleon  Museum,"  at  the  Egyptian  Hall,  Piccadilly.  This 
collection  has  been  dispersed. 

Slade,  Mr.  Felix,  Walcot-place,  Lambeth,  possesses  a  collection  of  Pottery  and 
Glass  of  the  Middle  Ages :  the  latter  unmatched  in  examples  of  Venetian  workmanship. 

Windus,  the  late  Mr.  T.,  Stamford  Hill,  collected,  in  a  building  of  style  1550, 
carvings  in  ivory,  mother-of-pearl,  and  wood ;  crystals,  antique  gems,  and  rings ; 
mosaics,  cameos,  medals,  and  coins ;  Grecian  pottery ;  drawings  by  Rubens,  Rembrandt, 
and  Vandyke  j  fac-simile  of  the  sarcophagus  in  which  the  Portland  Vase  was  found. 

MUSIC  HALLS. 

THE  following  list  of  these  places  of  entertainment,  licensed  by  the  Magistrates  under 
the  Act  of  George  II.  for  "  music  and  dancing,"  together  with  the  cost  of  building 
and  fittings,  and  the  number  of  persons  accommodated,  is  thus  given  in  a  statement 
laid  before  Parliament : — 


Crystal  Palace 
Agricultural-hall  .. 

St.  James's-hall    

St.  Martin's-hall 

Exeter-hall  

Gallery  of  Illustration     ... 

Egyptian-hall       

Polygraphie-hall 

Polytechnic  

Alhambra,  Leicester-sq. ... 
Oxford,  Oxford-street 
Strand,  Strand    ... 
Canterbury-hall,  Lambeth 
Metropolitan,  Edgware-rd. 
Regent,  Westminster 
Wilton's,  Wellclose-sq.    ... 
Evans's,  Covent-garden  ... 
Weston's,  Holborn 
Philharmonic,  Islington... 
Highbury  Barn,  Highbury 
Cambridge,  Shoreditch  ... 
Winchester,  Southwark  ... 


Cost  of 
Buildings 

and 

Fittings. 

.£1,000,000 

50,000 

50,000 

50,000 

50,000 

5,000 

5,000 

5,000 

20,000 

50,000 

40,000 

30,000 

25,000 

25,000 

25,000 

20,000 

20,000 

20,000 

20,000 

20,000 

16,000 

15,000 


No.  of 
Persons  Ac- 
commodated 

Daily. 

...    100,000 

...      20,000 

5,000 

4,000 

6,000 

500 

500 

500 

1,000 

5,000 

2,000 

1,500 

1,500 

2,000 

1,500 

1,500 

1,000 

1,500 

1,500 

2,000 

2,000 

2,000 


Cost  of 

No.  of 

Buildings 

Persons  Ac- 

and       < 

:ommodated 

Fittings. 

Daily. 

Lord  Eaglan,  Theobald's 

•rd.   £12,000 

1,500 

Middlesex,  Drury-lane 

...       12,000 

1,200 

London     Pavilion,     Tich- 

borne-street 

...      12,000 

2,000 

South  London,  London-rd.        8,000 

1,200 

Marylebone 

8,000 

800 

Oriental,  Poplar 

7,000 

800 

Borough       

6,000 

1,000 

Bedford,  Camden-town 

6,000 

800 

Deacon's,  Clerkenwell 

5,000 

800 

Trevor,  Knightsbridge 

5,000 

800 

Sun,  Knightsbridge 

5,000 

800 

Lansdowne,  Islington 

4,000 

600 

Rodney,  Whitechapel 

3,000 

600 

Apollo,  Bethnal-green 

3,000 

600 

Westminster,  Pimlico 

3,000 

800 

Nag's  Head,  Lambeth 

2,000 

500 

Woodman,  Hoxton 

2,000 

500 

Eastern  Alhambra  ... 

2,000 

1,000 

Swallow-street 

2,000 
£1,667,000 

500 

Totals,  41  places    .. 

...    179,300 

608  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

From  this  list  a  number  of  small  tavern-concert  rooms  are  excluded.  It  should  be 
further  diminished  by  the  removal  of  the  "  Gallery  of  Illustration,"  which  has  been 
licensed  by  the  Chamberlain  for  theatrical  entertainments.  The  first  of  these  places 
opened  was  Canteebuky.  Hail,  Lambeth,  with  its  expensive  decorations,  its  large 
marble  reliefs  by  Geefs;  and  its  handsome  Picture  Gallery,  and  really  good  col- 
lection of  modern  paintings.  The  new  enterprise  proved  very  successful,  and  there 
sprang  up  in  different  quarters  of  the  metropolis,  Music-halls,  the  great  majority  of 
which  were  successful  speculations,  and  they  are  now  more  numerous  than  the  regular 
theatres.  The  second  Music  Hall  was  Weston's,  High  Holborn,  of  splendid,  if  not 
tasteful  ornamentation. 

The  Oxeobd,  Oxford-street,  is  decorated  in  the  Italian  style,  and  is  94  feet  in 
length,  44  feet  in  width,  between  Corinthian  columns  which  support  the  roof,  with  a  pro- 
menade beyond  on  each  side.  The  ceiling  is  coved  on  to  the  walls,  and  springs  from  the 
top  of  an  ornamental  entablature.  The  columns  are  arranged  in  pairs.  A  large  glass 
chandelier  here  has  a  very  pretty  effect  from  below, — a  tree  of  light.  The  hall  is 
lighted  with  star  burners. 

The  Alhambea  Palace,  Leicester-square,  formerly  the  Panopticon,  according  to 
a  statement  laid  before  Parliament,  represents  a  capital  of  100,000£,  and  employs  320 
persons  of  both  sexes,  paying  wages  at  the  rate  of  nearly  450Z.  per  week.  It  has 
increased  the  wages  of  ballet-girls  at  least  20  per  cent.  It  receives  on  an  average 
3000  visitors  every  night,  at  an  average  admission  price  of  1*.  per  head ;  and  the 
expenditure  of  each  person  in  drink,  eatables,  and  cigars,  averages  about  7d.  The 
working  classes,  for  whom  an  upper  gallery  capable  of  holding  1000  persons  is  pro- 
vided, attend  in  large  numbers.  The  item  in  the  statement  relative  to  the  consump- 
tion of  refreshments  shows  that  the  money  expended  by  the  visitors  on  eating  and 
drinking  amounts  to  little  more  than  half  the  money  received  for  admission. 

Philharmonic  Hall,  Islington,  is  an  Italian  Eenaissance  saloon,  of  large  size,  with 
a  classic  entrance,  Ionic  distyle  in  antis. 

St.  James's  Hall  is  described  at  p.  426  j  and  St.  Martin's  Hall  at  p.  427. 

Etans's,  Covent  Garden,  is  mentioned  at  p.  294.  This  noble  room,  designed  by 
Finch  Hill,  was  built  in  1855,  upon  the  garden  in  the  rear  of  Evans's  Hotel.  It  is  in 
a  bold,  handsome  style,  with  a  coved  ceiling,  richly  ornamented.  It  is  divided  by 
fluted  columns  into  nave  and  aisles,  and  embellished  with  figures  of  Poetry,  the  Drama, 
Music,  &c. ;  and  it  is  brilliantly  lighted  by  gas  in  ten  richly-cut  lustres.  Here  are  sung 
glees,  madrigals,  and  other  fine  old  melodies ;  besides  pieces  from  foreign  operas,  and 
songs  and  ballads  by  living  composers. 

Steand  Music  Hall,  Strand,  in  the  main  building  covers  what  was  the  site  of 
new  Exeter  Change,  and  the  area  and  promenade  is  stated  to  contain  about  6000  square 
feet.  The  roof  is  of  wrought  iron  and  zinc,  and  here  is  the  large  lighting  chamber, 
with  its  350  ventilating  tubes,  conducted  into  enormous  shafts,  to  convey  the  vitiated 
air  out  of  the  building.  The  gas-light  from  several  thousand  burners  passes  through 
the  coloured  glass  of  the  roof  or  ceiling,  supported  by  cast-iron  columns,  with  wrought- 
copper  foliated  capitals.  The  Strand  front  (Keeling,  architect),  is  partly  of  stone,  five 
stories,  elaborately  sculptured  by  Tolmie,  with  capitals,  marble  shafts,  and  medallion 
heads  of  composers  (Handel,  Mozart,  Rossini,  Bishop,  Mendelssohn,  &c),  and  metal 
work.  The  porch  has  scarcely  an  inch  of  surface  that  is  not  carved :  yet,  notwith- 
standing its  sculptured  heads,  the  building  does  not  speak  its  purpose.  Continental 
Gothic  is  the  basis  of  this  eclectic  design. 

Agbicttltural  Hall,  Islington,  is  described  at  p.  424.  Its  exhibitions  and 
performances  are  miscellaneous.  In  1865,  the  profits  of  the  Horse  show  exceeded  those 
of  1865  by  more  than  1000?.,  and  those  of  the  Cattle  show  by  more  than  900Z.  The 
Metropolitan  and  Provincial  Working  Men's  Exhibition  in  1865  was  visited  by  nearly 
half  a  million  persons,  and  produced  to  the  Company  a  net  rent  of  nearly  a  thousand 
pounds. 

Highbtjey  Baen,  Islington,  has  one  of  the  few  remaining  old  assembly-rooms  of 
the  last  century ;  and  in  addition,  a  very  elegant  theatre  for  dramatic  performances. 


NEW  RIVER.  609 


Geecian,  City -road,  has  a  large  and  elegant  Hall  for  dancing,  and  out-door  orchestra, 
and  platform,  in  addition  to  a  commodious  Theatre. 

Haxover  Squabe  Rooms,  on  the  east  side  of  Hanover-square,  were  huilt  for  con- 
certs and  balls,  by  Sir  John  Gallini,  formerly  one  of  the  managers  of  the  Italian  Opera 
in  this  country.     They  have  lately  been  re-decorated  in  elegant  style. 

The  ceiling:  of  the  large  room  (the  only  decorations  of  which  previously  to  these  alterations  were  the 
old  pictures  by  Cipriani)  has  been  ornamented  with  enrichments  in  composition  and  "  carton  pierre;" 
a  trellis  pattern  being  placed  in  the  bands  across  the  ceiling,  and  a  laurel  in  the  longitudinal  bands, 
with  a  crest  ornament  on  the  ceiling  round  each  panel.  The  fluted  pilasters  on  the  walls  have  been  re- 
tained ;  but  the  cornice  over  them  has  been  deepened  about  7  in.,  and  has  been  enriched  by  the  addition 
of  mouldings,  and  with  festoons  of  fruit  and  flowers  to  the  frieze  all  round.  The  old  Royal  box  has  been 
re-constructed  in  wood  and  "  carton  pierre,"  surmounted  by  an  arched  top,  having  a  lozenge  with  the 
Boyal  cipher  supported  by  the  figures  of  two  boys,  the  top  being  supported  by  two  pilasters  and  the 
figures  of  two  female  Caryatides,  terminating  in  scroll-work,  with  fruit  and  flowers  running  down  the 
panels  of  the  pilasters.  The  Iront  of  the  orchestra  has  been  ornamented  with  musical  trophies  and 
festoons  of  fruit  and  flowers,  with  medallions  placed  over  the  two  doorways  at  the  sides.  The  panels 
over  the  looking-glasses  are  each  filled  with  a  medallion,  painted  in  bas-relief,  of  some  of  the  most  cele- 
brated composers — Bach,  Beethoven,  Handel,  Haydn,  Weber,  Rossini,  Purcell,  and  others,  with  their 
names,  and  the  century  in  which  they  flourished.  In  the  two  wide  panels  in  the  orchestra  are  painted 
medallions  of  Ca'.lcott  and  Bishop.  The  plinth  round  the  room  under  the  pilasters  is  decorated  in  imita- 
tion of  various  coloured  marbles.  The  Royal  box  is  finished  in  white,  buff,  and  gold,  with  paintings  re- 
presenting Peace  and  Plenty,  and  the  four  Seasons,  and  erimson  and  gold  damask  hangings.  The  old 
method  of  lighting  by  means  of  sunlights  has  been  dispensed  with,  and  a  novel  mode  of  lighting  has 
been  introduced  by  suspending  from  the  ceiling,  along  each  side,  hemispheres  of  silvered  glass,  with  the 
flat  sides  upwards,  having  twelve  jets  to  each,  radiating  to  the  centre,  in  a  star-like  form  underneath. — 
Abridged  from  the  Builder. 

Surrey  Music  Hall,  Walworth,  was  erected  in  1856,  upon  the  site  of  the  Surrey 
Zoological  Gardens,  Horace  Jones,  architect.  The  hall  was  oblong,  with  semi-octa- 
gonal ends,  and  three  tiers  of  galleries  round  three  sides,  the  orchestra  occupying  one 
end.  There  were  four  octagonal  staircases,  one  at  each  corner ;  and  on  the  side 
next  the  lake  were  two  external  galleries.  The  hall  had  an  arched  roof,  and  externally 
cappings,  partaking  of  the  Chinese  pagoda  and  the  Turkish  minaret.  The  vast 
apartment  was  153  feet  long,  68  wide,  and  77  high  in  the  centre,  and  would  hold 
12,000  persons  besides  1000  in  the  orchestra ;  it  was  20  feet  longer  and  30  feet  wider 
than  Exeter  Hall,  and  cost  about  18,2002.  Its  acoustic  properties  were  perfect.  It 
was  opened  in  July,  1856.  On  October  19th,  following,  during  a  religious  service  here, 
by  the  Rev.  C.  H.  Spurgeon,  eight  persons  were  killed,  and  thirty  seriously  injured, 
in  consequence  of  a  false  alarm  of  fire  raised  in  the  hall;  Its  success  as  a  musical 
speculation  was  short-lived ;  and  the  premises  were  subsequently  let  for  the  temporary 
St.  Thomas's  Hospital,  removed  here  from  Southwark.     {See  p.  435.) 

NEW  RIVER, 

A  FINE  artificial  stream,  yielding  almost  half  the  water-supply  of  London,  or  nearly 
the  whole  of  the  City,  and  a  large  portion  of  the  metropolis  northward  of  the 
Thames.  The  New  River  rises  from  Chadwell  Springs,  and  springs  at  Amwell,  between 
Hertford  and  Ware,  21  miles  from  London,  and  is  fed  by  the  river  Lea  and  wells  sunk 
in  the  chalk.  One  of  these  ancient  springs — the  old  Amwell  spring — oozed  away 
silently  about  1830  into  the  bed  of  the  Lea.  The  Chadwell  spring,  that  mysterious, 
circular,  chalky  pool  in  the  Hertfordshire  valley,  which  has  been  the  drinking 
fountain  for  centuries  of  countless  thirsty  millions,  no  longer  gives  forth  drink  with 
its  accustomed  liberality. 

The  New  River  was  projected  by  Hugh  Myddelton,  a  native  of  Denbigh,  and 
"  citizen  and  goldsmith,''  who  proposed  to  the  City  tc  bring  to  London  a  supply  of  water 
at  his  own  cost.  His  offer  was  accepted  j  and  April  20,  1608,  was  commenced  the 
work,  with  very  imperfect  mechanical  resources.  Myddelton  embarked  the  whole  of 
his  fortune  in  the  undertaking ;  the  original  number  of  shares  was  only  36 ;  the 
labourers  received  half-a-crown  a  day.  The  works  were  stopped  at  Enfield  for  want 
of  funds ;  Myddelton  applied  to  the  citizens  for  aid,  which  they  refused ;  he  then  solicited 
James  I.,  who,  on  May  2,  1612,  stood  by  his  side  and  shared  his  venture.  From 
the  Calendar  of  State  Papers  it  appears  that  the  total  payments  out  of  the  Treasury 
on  account  of  the  New  River  works  amount  to  86092. 14s.  6d.  The  King  obtained 
thereby  36  shares  for  the  Crown,  of  each  of  which  the  value  is  now  about  17,000/., 
and  all  of  which  the  necessities  of  Charles  I.  compelled  him  to  alienate  for  a  fee-farm 

B  Ji 


610  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

rent  of  500Z.  a  year !  The  assertions  that  half-a-million  was  spent  in  the  construction 
of  the  New  River,  that  Myddelton  made  it  out  of  the  profits  of  a  Welsh  silver  mine, 
that  he  died  in  poverty,  &c,  are  without  foundation.  The  river  was  constructed  for 
about  17,000Z.,  and  Myddelton  himself  lived  long  enough  to  derive  a  large  profit  from 
its  financial  prosperity.  King  James,  by  the  way,  tumbled  into  it ;  and  when  he  was 
pulled  out  "  there  came  much  water  out  of  his  mouth  and  body ;"  and  much  choler 
thereupon  when  he  afterwards  encountered  Myddelton,  and  complained  of  his  omitting 
to  put  up  a  fence.  Sir  Hugh  was  obliged  to  part  with  his  36  shares,  when  they  were 
divided  among  various  persons ;  these  are  called  "  adventurers'  "  shares.  The  72  parts 
into  which  the  property  is  now  divided  are  still  counted  as  36  "  adventurers' "  and  36 
"  King's  "  shares,  and  the  Royal  annuity  is  still  paid  out  of  the  profits  apportioned  to  the 
latter.  It  is  a  curious  fact  that  Sir  Hugh  precluded  James  from  taking  any  part  in 
the  management  of  the  company,  although  he  allowed  a  person  to  be  present  at  the 
meetings,  to  prevent  injustice  to  his  Royal  principal.  This  preclusion  still  extends 
to  the  holders  of  the  Royal  shares.  The  works  were  now  resumed ;  and  on  the  29th 
Sept.  1613,  five  years  and  five  months  from  the  commencement  of  the  undertaking, 
and  the  day  on  which  Sir  Thomas  Myddelton,  Hugh's  brother,  was  elected  Lord  Mayor, 
the  water  was  let  into  the  basin  at  Clerkenwell  (which  had  been  previously  a  ducking- 
pond — "  an  open,  idoll  pool ")  with  great  ceremony,  before  the  Lord  Mayor,  aldermen, 
and  principal  citizens:  a  troop  of  labourers  "wearing  green  Monmouth  caps,  and 
carrying  spades,  shovels,  and  pickaxes,"  marched  after  drums  round  the  cistern ;  and 
one  man  delivered  forty-eight  lines  in  verse,  ending  with : — 

"  Now  for  the  fruits,  then.    Flow  forth,  precious  spring1, 
So  long  and  dearly  sought  for,  and  now  bring 
Comfort  to  all  that  love  thee ;  loudly  sing, 
And  with  thy  crystal  murmurs  struck  together, 
Bid  all  thy  true  well-wishers  welcome  hither." 

"  When  the  floodgates  flew  open,  the  stream  ran  gallantly  into  the  cisterne,  drummes 
and  trumpets  sounding  in  triumphall  manner,  and  a  brave  peal  of  chambers  (guns) 
gave  full  issue  to  the  intended  entertainment."  There  is  an  engraving  by  George 
Bickham  of  this  animated  ceremony.  It  shows  the  water  flowing  into  a  round 
reservoir,  around  which  are  grouped  various  persons,  conspicuous  among  whom 
is  the  Lord  Mayor,  upon  a  white  horse.  On  his  left  is  Sir  Hugh  Myddelton, 
on  the  right  is  his  brother,  between  Sir  Thomas  and  Sir  Henry  Montague,  the 
Recorder.  Bishop  Parker  speaks  of  "the  greate  distruction  of  cheese-cakes  at  the 
opening  of  the  New  River;"  Islington  having  long  been  celebrated  for  its  cakes  and 
cream. 

Then  came  the  difficulty  of  distributing  the  water  "by  pipes  of  stone  and  lead."  In 
Hughson's  London,  vol.  vi.  p.  358,  is  the  copy  of  a  lease  granted  in  1616  by  Hugh 
Myddelton  to  a  citizen  and  his  wife  "of  a  pipe  or  quill  of  half-inch  bore,  for  the  service 
of  their  yarde  and  kitchene  by  means  of  two  swan-necked  cockes,"  for  26s.  8d.  yearly. 
And  we  read  of  the  governor  of  Christ's  Hospital,  in  1631,  paying  for  "  New  River 
water  41."  the  year.  And  in  14th  Report  of  Commissioners  of  Charities,  up  to  1825 : 
Stafford's  Almshouses  in  Gray's-inn-lane,  for  10  persons,  in  1651,  stood  upon  half  an 
acre  taken  out  of  Liquorpond-field ;  30s.  per  annum  paid  to  the  New  River  Company 
for  water  taken  there.  Such  as  lived  at  a  distance  from  the  main  were  supplied  by  the 
water-carriers,  who  carried  the  water  in  wooden  pails  slung  from  a  yoke  across  their 
shoulders,  and  cried,  "Any  New  River  water  here?"  In  Tempest's  Cryes  of  London, 
1711,  is  engraved  one  of  these  old  water-bearers.  Hone,  in  1827,  said  the  cry  was 
scarcely  extinct;  and  we  recollect  water  thus  cried  at  Hampstead,  about  1851. 

Myddelton  was  created  a  baronet  in  1 622.  The  proprietors  were  incorporated  in 
1619  as  the  New  River  Company,  Sir  Hugh  being  appointed  the  first  governor,  and 
this  being  the  first  water  company;  although  Ben  Jonson,  in  1598,  says,  "We  have 
water-companies  now,  instead  of  water-carriers."  {livery  Man  in  his  Eutnovr.) 
The  Charter  makes  it  a  penal  offence  to  cast  into  the  river  earth,  rubbish,  soil, 
gravel,  stones,  dogs,  cats,  cattle,  carrion,  &c. ;  prohibits,  "under  penalty  of  the 
King's  displeasure,"  persons  from  washing  clothes,  wool,  &c.,  in  it,  and  from  conveying 
thereto  any  sink,  sewer,  ditch,  &c. ;  and  forbids  the  planting  of  sallows,  willows,  or 


NEW  RIVER.  611 


elms  within  five  yards  of  it.  In  the  Calendar  of  State  Papers  of  this  period  are  many- 
entries  of  grants  of  rents  and  profits,  and  places  of  emolument;  hut  when,  in  1665, 
the  King  recommended  Simon,  son  of  Sir  Hugh  Myddelton,  as  clerk  of  the  Company, 
this  appointment  was  refused.  No  dividend  was  made  by  the  Company  till  1633, 
when  11/.  9s.  Id.  was  divided  upon  each  share.  The  second  dividend  amounted  to 
only  3/.  4s.  2d. 

Sir  Hugh  died  December  10,  1631,  and  was  buried  in  the  churchyard  of  St. 
Matthew,  Friday-street,  London.  He  died,  holding  shares  in  the  Company,  and 
others  in  miues  in  Wales.  He  bequeathed  to  the  Goldsmiths'  Company  one  New 
River  Share,  which  formerly  produced  314/.  per  annum,  but  does  not  now  reach  200/. ; 
the  produce  is  distributed  half-yearly  among  the  poor  of  the  Company,  especially  to 
men  of  Myddelton's  name  or  kindred.  There  is  a  fine  portrait  of  Sir  Hugh,  by 
Janssen,  at  Goldsmiths'  Hall. 

Lady  Myddelton,  the  mother  of  the  last  Baronet,  "  received  a  pension  of  20/.  per 
annum  from  the  Goldsmiths'  Company,  which,  after  her  death,  was  continued  to  her 
son  Hugh,  though  he  possessed  other  property :  he  was  a  person  of  dissipated  habits, 
and  with  him  the  baronetcy  became  extinct.  In  July,  1808,  the  Corporation  of  London 
ordered  an  annuity  of  50/.  to  be  paid  to  a  male  descendant  of  the  Myddelton  family, 
then  in  great  distress.  Another  lineal  descendant,  Jabez  Myddelton,  received  a  pension 
of  52/.  per  annum  from  the  Corporation  until  his  death,  27th  March,  1828 ;  and  in 
July  of  that  year,  Mrs.  Jane  Myddelton  Bowyer  had  30/.  a  year  allowed  her.  This 
annuity  was  reduced  to  7*.  a  week  in  September,  when  Mrs.  Plummer,  another  of  the 
family  (since  dead)  was  permitted  to  receive  the  same  weekly  stipend.  The  Cor- 
poration have  since  passed  a  resolution  to  the  effect  that  they  will  grant  no  more  re- 
lief to  Myddelton's  family."  —  Pinks's  History  of  Clerlcenwell,  p.  468. 

The  River,  in  its  devious  course  from  the  fountain-head  at  Chadwell,  meanders 
through  the  towns  and  villages  of  Hoddesden,  Cheshunt,  Enfield,  Hornsey,  Stoke 
Newington,  and  Islington;  enters  the  parish  of  Clerkenwell  at  the  bridge  under 
the  Goswell-road,  and  flowing  through  Owen's-row,  submerges  beneath  St.  John-street- 
road ;  thence  it  proceeds  between  Myddelton-place  and  Sadler's  Wells,  and  passing 
beneath  a  third  bridge,  enters  the  Company's  grounds,  where  its  waters  are  received 
into  the  great  reservoir  called  its  Head.  By  the  formation,  since  the  year  1852,  of 
more  direct  channels  at  Warmley,  Theobalds,  Forty  Hill,  Enfield,  Southgate,  Wood 
Green,  and  Hornsey,  the  river  has  been  shortened  by  about  ten  miles.  The  river, 
between  the  Thatched  House,  Islington,  and  Colebrook-row,  has,  from  the  first,  passed 
through  an  underground  arch  or  tunnel.  The  stream  between  Bird's-buildings  and  the 
Head  was  covered  by  iron  pipes  in  the  year  1861.  The  Company  obtained  two  Acts 
of  Parliament — 1852,  15  &  16  Vict.,  cap.  cix. ;  and  1854,  17  Vict.,  cap.  lxxii. — to 
empower  them  to  shorten  the  river,  to  filter  the  water,  to  cover  their  filtered  water 
reservoirs,  and  otherwise  to  improve  and  greatly  enlarge  their  Works,  at  a  cost  of 
nearly  a  million  sterling.  About  where  the  New  River  enters  Islington  parish,  it  was 
formerly  conducted  over  the  valley  by  an  enormous  wooden  trough,  462  feet  in  length, 
and  17  feet  high,  lined  with  lead,  and  supported  on  brick  piers,  and  it  then  went  by 
the  name  of  "  the  Boarded  River ;"  but  in  1776,  a  passage  for  the  stream  was  made 
in  a  bank  of  earth  nearly  along  the  old  track.  There  was  a  similarly  boarded  aque- 
duct constructed  at  Bush-hill,  Edmonton,  in  1608.  Myddelton's  house  here  gave, 
perhaps,  the  first  occasion  to  the  project ;  and  the  great  addition  this  stream  m;ide  to 
the  pleasures  of  Theobalds,  encouraged  James  I.,  who  resided  there,  to  have  the  design 
completed,  as  it  ran  through  his  park  and  gardens.  As  a  specimen  of  early  engineer- 
ing, this  great  work  has  an  interesting  and  instructive  history. 

The  New  River  Head  is  a  vast  circular  basin  enclosed  by  a  brick  wall,  whence  the 
water  is  conveyed  by  sluices  into  large  brick  cisterns,  and  thence  by  mains  and  riders, 
named  according  to  the  districts  which  they  supply.  Here  is  the  Company's  house, 
•originally  built  in  1613 :  the  board-room,  over  one  of  the  cisterns,  is  wainscoted,  and 
has  a  fine  specimen  of  Gibbons's  carving;  on  the  ceiling  are  a  portrait  of  William  III., 
and  the  arms  of  Myddelton  and  Green. 

North  of  the  New  River  Head,  the  stream  was  formerly  let  into  a  tank  or  reservoir 
under  the  stage  of  Sadler's  Wells  Theatre,  which   was  drawn  up  by  machinery  for 


612  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"  real  water"  scenes,  the  water  being  sufficiently  deep  for  men  to  swim  in.  Formerly, 
in  the  fields  behind  the  British  Museum,  the  New  River  pipes  were  propped  up  six  or 
eight  feet,  so  that  persons  walked  under  them  to  gather  water-cresses. 

The  entire  works  have  cost  upwards  of  a  million  and  a  half  of  money.  The  main  source 
of  supply  is  now  the  River  Lea.  The  water  has  only  been  filtered  since  1852  :  the  filter- 
ing-beds, gravel  and  Harwich  sand,  have  cost  upwards  of  35,000Z.  The  water  having 
reached  the  Works  at  Islington,  is  there  filtered,  and  delivered  into  a  tunnel  800  feet 
long,  and  8ft.  by  6ft.  Gin.  diameter,  whence  it  is  passed  by  steam-engines  of  300  horse 
power,  into  the  service  reservoir  and  distributing  mains :  the  channels  at  Islington, 
by  Mylne,  contain  two  millions  and  a  half  of  bricks.  The  east  service  reservoir  at 
Pentonville,  built  in  hydraulic  lime,  contains  4  millions  of  bricks,  of  which  nearly 
40,000  were  laid  in  one  day ;  and  the  covering  of  this  reservoir  cost  21,000Z.  The 
Stoke  Newington  Works  comprise  five  filter-beds,  each  exceeding  one  acre,  fed  from  a 
reservoir,  which  covers  nearly  40  acres;  and  the  engine-house  contains  six  steam- 
engines — 1000  horses — which  convey  the  water  to  service  reservoirs,  near  Highgate, 
each  of  which  will  contain  1\  million  gallons  of  filtered  water.  Notwithstanding 
this  is  the  oldest  metropolitan  water  supply,  it  is  still  called  New  River.  The 
Company  have  removed  their  old  aqueducts  and  reservoirs  in  different  parts  of  the 
metropolis,  and  have  built  on  the  sites  they  occupied.  The  well-known  canal  which 
used  to  supply  the  real  water  to  Sadler's  Wells  Theatre  has  been  drained  dry,  and 
filled  in,  and  large  iron  water-pipes  have  been  placed  in  its  bed.  The  reservoir  in 
Coppice-row  has  also  been  removed.  The  name  of  Myddelton  is  honoured  in  Clerkenwell 
and  Islington :  street  and  square  and  hall  bear  his  name,  as  well  as  Chadwell  and 
Ainwell;  and  of  Mylne,  the  engineer  of  the  Company.  Upon  Islington-green  is  a 
portrait  statue  of  Sir  Hugh  Myddelton,  presented  by  Sir  Morton  Peto,  Bart.,  M.P. ; 
it  is  the  work  of  John  Thomas,  and  is  of  Sicilian  marble,  8  feet  6  inches  high,  the 
figure  being  in  the  costume  of  the  period.  It  is  on  a  pedestal  sculptured  with  dolphins 
and  nautilus-shells,  fountains,  festoons  of  shells,  water-flowers,  &c. ;  the  group  in  the 
centre  of  a  basin  for  water,  with  a  bold  ornamental  curb,  in  the  Italian  style. 

The  marketable  value  of  the  Company's  shares  has  varied  considerably  at  different  periods.  In  1727, 
a  King's  share  was  valued  at  5000  guineas ;  in  1766,  the  clear  annual  value  of  a  King's  share  was  154/. ; 
in  August,  1770,  a  similar  share,  said  to  yield  240/.  per  annum,  was  advertised  for  sale,  and  fetched 
7000/. ;  in  1805,  one  was  sold  at  the  Senegal  Coffee  House  for  4400/. ;  at  Garraway's,  in  1813,  an  adven- 
turer's share  produced  8000/.,  and  in  1814,  7450/. ;  in  August,  1822,  a  moiety  of  one  of  the  same  shares 
sold  lor  4725/.  In  1838,  an  original  share  sold  for  18,000  guineas  ;  in  1837,  two  quarter  shares  were  sold 
at  the  rate  of  18,900/.  per  share ;  and  in  the  beginning  of  1839,  two  whole  shares  were  sold,  one  for 
17,000/.,  the  other  for  17,500/.  On  Jan.  28, 1852,  three-sevenths  of  a  quarter  of  a  King's  share  sold  for 
ltOO/.,  the  dividend  on  this  portion  producing  90/.  per  annum.  The  value  of  a  share  at  the  present  time 
is  about  20,000/.  Sir  Henry  Ncvill,  Knt.,  who  was  one  of  the  original  adventurers  with  Myddelton, 
mentioned  among  the  grantees  of  the  Company's  Charter,  June  21,  1619,  and  who  died  in  1629,  pos- 
sessed two  parts  in  thirty-six  parts  of  the  Water-course  and  New  River  running  from  Chadwell  and 
Amwell,  then  valued  at  13/.  0«.  4d.  per  annum.  The  annual  rental  of  the  Company  in  1851  was  135,794/., 
and  it  is  now  204,750/.  About  112,000  houses  are  now  supplied  with  water  by  the  New  River.  The 
daily  supply  is  25  millions  of  gallons.  The  Company  have  nearly  600  miles  of  pipes,  &c,  valued  at 
about  600,000/. 

NEW-BO  AD. 

THE  New-road  was  formed  by  Act  of  Parliament  of  the  29th  of  Geo.  II.,  in  the 
year  1756,  but  not  without  much  petty  opposition  thereto  from  the  landholders 
whose  property  lay  in  the  line  of  the  proposed  new  route  to  the  west-end.  Horace 
Walpole  notices,  in  one  of  his  letters,  the  objection  of  the  Duke  of  Bedford  to  it  on 
account  of  the  "  dust  it  would  make  in  the  rear  of  Bedford-house ;"  and  adds,  that  "  the 
duke  is  too  short-sighted  to  see  the  prospect."  A  complaint  was  made  by  one  of  the 
Duke's  tcnantSj  who  held  from  him  a  large  cow-farm  in  the  intended  route,  at  a  rental 
of  3?.  an  acre,  "  that  the  dust  and  the  number  of  people  must  entirely  spoil  her  fields, 
and  make  them  no  better  than  common-land ;  she  intreats  his  Grace  to  prevent  such 
an  evil,  as  it  would  be  impossible  for  her  to  hold  his  estate  without  a  large  abatement 
of  rent." 

On  such  frivolous  opposition  the  Public  Advertizer,  of  Feb.  20,  1756,  remarks  that 
"  all  objections  to  new  roads,  which  arise  merely  from  partial  and  separate  interests, 
that  happen  in  this  respect  to  be  opposite  to  the  interests  of  the  public,  should  have  no 


NEW-ROAD.  613 


weight."  The  journalist  then  proceeds  to  notice  the  advantages  to  the  public  in  general 
of  the  proposed  thoroughfare.  "  How  much  the  communication  with  almost  every 
part  of  the  metropolis  will  be  facilitated.  Drovers  from  the  west  will  pass  from  the 
extremity  of  the  city  to  the  centre  in  one  continued  straight  line.  Persons  that  have 
business  in  other  parts  may  reach  them  by  cross-roads  communicating  with  the  main 
line ;  and  persons  of  fashion,  who  live  in  the  great  squares  and  buildings  about  Oxford- 
road,  may  come  into  the  city  without  being  jolted  three  miles  over  the  stones,  or 
perhaps  detained  three  hours  by  a  stop  in  a  narrow  street.  It  must  also  be  remem- 
bered that  those  who  shall  find  it  necessary  to  pass  through  the  streets  will  pass  much 
more  commodiously,  as  the  number  of  carriages  will  be  lessened  and  the  pavement 
preserved." 

In  the  preamble  of  the  Act  of  29th  Geo.  II.,  it  is  stated, "  that  in  times  of  threatened 
invasion,  the  New  Road  will  form  a  complete  line  of  circumvallation,  and  his  Majesty's 
forces  may  easily  and  expeditiously  inarch  their  way  into  Essex  to  defend  our  coasts, 
without  passing  through  the  cities  of  London  and  Westminster." 

When  this  great  trunk-line  of  road  was  in  course  of  construction,  the  progress  made 
upon  it  was  from  time  to  time  noticed  in  the  public  journals.  Thus,  under  date  May  8, 
1756,  we  are  apprised  of  its  early  commencement  by  being  informed  that  on  the 
Wednesday  following,  the  trustees  would  meet,  and  that  on  the  next  day  the  men  were 
to  work  upon  it.  At  this  period  the  expense  of  making  the  road  was  computed  at 
8000Z.  After  the  lapse  of  a  few  months,  during  the  interval  of  which  the  road-makers 
must  have  worked  industriously,  the  following  appeared  in  print  on  the  13th  of 
September,  1756  : — "  It  is  with  pleasure  we  assure  the  public  that  great  numbers  of 
coaches,  carriages,  and  horsemen  daily  pass  over  the  New-road,  from  Islington  to  Battle- 
bridge."  Five  days  later,  September  17th,  we  are  informed  that  the  banks  and  fences 
of  the  land  between  Paddington  and  Islington  were  levelled,  and  the  New  Road  across 
the  fields  opened  to  the  public.  In  the  December  of  1756,  the  expensiveness  of  the 
road  was  adverted  to,  and  100,000  cart-loads  of  gravel  estimated  to  be  required  for  its 
completion. 

Within  half  a  century,  Bedford  House  was  levelled  to  the  ground,  and  the  fields 
beyond  it  are  now  covered  with  houses,  enlarging  by  many  thousands  the  income  of  the 
Bedford  family,  with  a  reversionary  interest  in  a  city  of  itself.  The  New-road  is  the  great 
omnibus  route  from  Paddington  to  the  City ;  whereas  in  1798  only  one  coach  ran  from 
Paddington  to  the  Bank,  and  the  proprietor  was  nearly  ruined  by  the  speculation! 
Shillibeer,  the  first  omnibus-proprietor,  fared  no  better  in  1829. 

The  pleasant  aspect  of  this  grand  thoroughfare  during  several  months  of  the  year, 
which  the  trees  and  the  gardens  in  front  of  most  of  the  houses  contribute  chiefly  to 
impart,  is  owing  to  a  clause  in  the  original  Act  for  making  the  road,  prohibiting  the 
erection  of  any  building  within  50  feet  of  it ;  whilst  at  the  same  time  it  empowers  the 
authorities  of  parishes  through  which  the  road  passes  to  pull  down  any  such  erection, 
and  levy  the  expenses  on  the  offender's  goods  and  chattels.  The  lapse  of  a  century, 
however,  seems  to  have  materially  modified  this  penal  enactment,  for  numerous  are  the 
instances  in  which  the  50-feet  plot  is  built  upon. 

The  New-road  is  now  variously  named  as  follows : — Between  the  Angel  at  Islington 
and  King's-cross,  the  Pentonville-road ;  from  King's-cross  to  Osnaburgh-street, 
Enston-road ;  and  from  Osnaburgh-street  to  Edgware-road,  the  Marylebone-road. 
J.  T.  Smith  has  left  this  reminiscence  of  the  New -road : — 

Wilson  was  fond  of  playing  at  skittles,  and  frequented  the  Green  Man  public-house  in  the  New-road, 
at  the  end  of  Norton-street,  originally  known  as  "  The  Farthing  Pye  House ;"  where  bits  of  mutton 
were  put  into  a  crust  shaped  like  a  pie,  and  actually  sold  for  a  farthing.  This  house  was  kept  in  my 
boyish  days  bv  a  vary  facetious  man  named  Price,  of  whom  there  is  a  mezzotinto  portrait.  He  was  an 
excellent  salt-box  player,  and  frequently  accompanied  the  famous  Abel  when  playing  on  the  violoncello. 
Wilkes  was  a  frequenter  of  this  house,  to  procure  votes  for  Middlesex,  as  it  was  resorted  to  by  many 
opulent  freeholders. 

In  1856,  Harley  House,  in  the  New-road,  was  the  residence  of  the  ex-Royal  Family 
of  Oude,  with  their  retinue,  110  persons.  Here  were  the  young  Prince,  the  heir-ap- 
parent, and  his  uncle,  brother  to  the  deposed  King ;  and  the  Queen  Mother,  with  her 
female  attendants,  some  thirty  in  number. 


614  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

NE  WGA  TE-  STREET, 

NAMED  from  the  City-gate  at  its  east  end,  has  on  the  south  side  the  end  of  New- 
gate Prison,  and  extends  eastward  to  Cheapside,  with  lanes  and  courts  on  the  south 
leading  to  Paternoster-row.  On  the  north  side  is  the  front  of  the  great  hall  of  Christ's 
Hospital,  huilt  upon  the  site  of  Grey  Friars'  monastery;  the  principal  gates  have  cha- 
racteristic casts  and  sculpture.  Nearly'  opposite  is  Warwick-lane,  with  a  has-relief  of 
Guy  Earl  of  Warwick,  dated  1668.  In  the  Lane  was  the  old  College  of  Physicians, 
taken  down  in  1866.  Here  are  the  old  inns,  the  Bell  and  Oxford  Arms.  Next  is 
Ivy-lane,  "  so  called  of  ivy  growing  on  the  walls  of  the  Prebend- house."  (Stow.) 
Dr.  Johnson,  in  1748,  with  Hawkesworth  and  Hawkins,  formed  a  Club  for  literary 
discussion.     Here  also  have  lived  publishers  for  two  centuries. 

"  I  was  at  Eayston's  shop,  in  Ivie  Lane,  Pebr.  the  8, 1661.  Hee  printed  the  Marquis  of  Winchester's 
conference  with  the  King;  hee  printed  most  of  the  Royalists'  Works,  as  Hamonds",  Taylor's  pieces,  and 
others." — Diary  qfthe  Ilev.  John  Ward. 

On  the  north  side,  up  a  passage,  is  Christ  Church,  described  at  p.  157.  Next  is 
King  Edward-street,  so  named  in  1843;  formerly  Blowbladder-street,  Butcher-hall- 
lane,  Chick-lane,  and  Stinking-lane.  Above  Bull-head-court  is  a  stone  bas-relief  of 
William  Evans,  7  feet  6  inches  high,  porter  to  Charles  I. ;  and  Jeffrey  Hudson,  the 
King's  Dwarf,  3  feet  9  inches  high.  Bath-street,  first  Pincock  or  Pentecost-lane,  and 
next  Bagnio-court,  was  named  from  there  being  here  the  first  bagnio  in  town,  after  the 
Turkish  manner.     (See  Baths,  p.  38.) 

In  Newgate-street,  nearly  opposite,  is  Banyer-alley,  where  is  the  sculptured  stone 
described  at  p.  516 :  it  is  stated  by  Stow  to  have  been  a  sign.  In  Ben  Jonson's 
Bartholomew  Fair  we  read  of  the  stinking  tripe  of  Panyer-alley.  In  Queen's  Head- 
passage  is  a  Queen  Anne  tavern,  now  Dolly's  Chop-house :  Gainsborough  is  said  to- 
have  painted  Dolly.  The  Passage  is  named  from  the  Queen's  Head  Tavern,  which 
occupied  the  site  of  the  premises  of  Alderman  Sir  B.  S.  Phillips,  Lord  Mayor,  1865-6. 

NEWINGTON,  OB  NEWINGTON  BUTTS, 

A  LARGE  parish  in  Surrey,  adjoining  St.  George,  Southwark,  north  and  east; 
Camberwell,  south;  and  Lambeth,  west.  In  Domesday  Book  (11th  century),  the 
only  inhabited  part  of  this  parish  was  Walworth,  where,  according  to  the  Norman 
survey,  was  a  church,  upon  the  rebuilding  of  which  on  a  new  site  it  probably  became 
"  surrounded  with  houses,  which  obtained  the  name  of  Neweton,  as  it  is  called  in  the 
most  ancient  records ;  it  was  afterwards  spelt  Newenton  and  Newington."  (Lysons's 
Environs,  vol.  i.  p.  389.)  Here  were  butts  for  archery  practice :  the  earliest  record  of 
Newington  Butts  is  in  the  register  of  Archbishop  Pole  at  Lambeth,  date  1558.  In  the 
reign  of  Henry  VIII.  (1546),  three  men  were  condemned  as  Anabaptists,  and  "  brent 
in  the  highway  beyond  Southwark,  towards  Newenton."  (Stow's  Chronicle,  p.  964.) 
The  only  manor  in  the  parish  is  Walworth,  given  by  King  Edmund  Ironside  to  Hitard, 
his  jester,  who,  in  the  reign  of  Edward  the  Confessor,  gave  the  vill  of  Walworth  to 
the  monks  of  Christ  Church  at  Canterbury.  They  received  from  Edward  II.  a  grant 
of  free-warren  here;  and  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III.  and  Richard  II.,  and  subse- 
quently, the  manor  is  said  to  have  been  held  by  persons  of  a  family  named  from  this 
place :  thus,  Margaret  de  Walworth,  lady  of  the  manor  in  1396,  was  the  widow  of  the 
famous  Sir  William  Walworth ;  and  at  Walworth  is  a  modern  sign  of  his  killing  Wat 
Tyler  in  Smithfield.  In  the  museum  of  the  Society  of  Antiquaries  is  a  dagger  which 
was  found  on  the  supposed  site  of  Sir  William's  house  at  Walworth.  (See  Fish- 
mongers' Hall,  p.  401.)  Sir  George  Walworth  died  seized  of  the  manor  in  1474. 
In  the  valuation  of  Church  property,  26  Henry  VIII.,  it  is  rated  at  37£.  8s.  In  the 
reign  of  Henry  III.,  the  queen's  goldsmith  held  of  the  king,  in  capite,  one  acre  of 
land  in  Neweton,  by  the  service  of  rendering  one  gallon  of  honey.  The  old  church 
(St.  Mary's)  is  described  at  p.  187.  There  are  district  churches  and  various  sectarian 
chapels.  South  of  Newington  Causeway  (the  first  road  across  the  swampy  fields)  is 
Horsemonger-lane,  opposite  which  was  formerly  a  hay-market.  In  the  lane  are  the 
County  Gaol  and  Surrey  Sessions-house,  built  upon  the  site  of  a  market-garden,  three 
and  a  half  acres,  by  George  Gwilt,  1798-9.     At    Walworth,  upon  a  demesne  once 


NEWSPAPERS.  G15 

attached  to  the  manor-house,  were  the  Surrey  Zoological  Gardens,  whither  Cross  re- 
moved his  menagerie  from  the  King's  Mews  in  1831 ;  and  where,  in  1856,  was 
huilt  a  large  Music  Hall,  described  at  p.  609,  subsequently  occupied  as  St.  Thomas's 
Hospital.  In  Walworth-road  is  a  handsome  Vestry-hall,  Lombardic  in  style,  red  brick, 
with  dressings  of  Portland  stone,  and  shafts  of  polished  red  granite. 

Maitland  notes :  west  of  the  Fishmongers'  Almshouses  (see  p.  8)  "  is  a  moorish  ground,  with  a 
small  watercourse  denominated  the  river  Tygris,  which  is  part  of  Cnut's  trench ;  the  outflux  of  which  is 
on  the  east  side  of  Eotherhithe  parish,  where  the  Great  Wet  Dock  is  situate."  In  1823,  when  the  road 
between  the  almshouses  and  Newington  Church  was  dug  up  for  a  new  sewer,  some  piles  and  posts  were 
discovered,  with  rings  for  mooring  barges;  also  a  pot  of  coins  of  Charles  II.  and  William  III.  A 
parishioner  named  Farns,  who  died,  aged  109  years,  early  in  the  present  century,  remembered  when 
boats  came  up  this  "  river  "  as  far  as  the  church  at  Newington.  (Brayley's  Surrey,  vol.  iii.  p.  405.)  The 
old  Elephant  and  Cattle  is  noticed  at  p.  453. 

NEWINGTON,  OR  STOKE  NEWINGTON, 

IN  Domesday,  Newtone,  and  Stoke  Neweton  as  early  as  1391,  is  named  from  the 
Saxon  stoc,  wood,  it  having  been  part  of  the  ancient  forest  of  Middlesex  ;  and  in 
1649  here  were  upwards  of  77  acres  of  woodland  in  demesne.  It  is  separated  from 
Hackney  and  Ossulston  by  the  great  road,  anciently  the  Ermen-street.  Tradesmen's 
tokens  were  issued  from  here  in  the  17th  century  :  one  exists  with  "  Laurence  Short, 
Adam  and  Eve"  (in  the  field  between  Islington  church  and  the  City-road) ;  and 
another,  "  John  Ball,  at  the  Boarded  House,  neere  Newington  Greene,"  who  kept  a 
low  house  for  bull-baiting,  duck-hunting,  &c.  at  Ball's  Pond,  long  since  filled  up,  but  it 
gives  name  to  a  little  hamlet.  At  Stoke  Newington  Daniel  Defoe  (whence  Defoe- 
road)  and  Thomas  Day  (Sandford  and  Merton)  were  educated;  John  Howard 
the  philanthropist  lodged  here,  and  married  his  landlady ;  Hannah  Snell,  the 
soldier,  lived  in  Church-street;  here  died  Mrs.  Barbauld,  in  1825,  in  her  82nd 
year.  The  mansion  of  Sir  Thomas  Abney,  where  Dr.  Watts  resided  with  his  pious 
friend,  existed  until  1844,  when  the  fine  grounds  were  converted  into  the  Abney  Park 
Cemetery.  Mrs.  Abney,  the  daughter  of  Sir  Thomas,  ordered  by  her  will  that  this 
estate  should  be  sold,  and  the  produce  distributed  in  charitable  donations,  which  was 
accordingly  done :  it  amounted  to  many  thousand  pounds. 

Newington  Green,  in  the  parishes  of  Stoke  Newington  and  Islington,  had,  within  the 
present  century,  several  ancient  houses,  one  of  which,  on  the  south  side,  was  tra- 
ditionally a  palace  of  Henry  VIII. ;  and  a  path  leading  from  the  Green  to  Ball's  Pond  ' 
turnpike  has  been,  time  out  of  mind,  called  King  Henry's  Walk :  the  house  was,  how- 
ever, evidently  built  in  the  reign  of  James  I.  At  the  north-west  corner  of  the  Green 
was  "  Bishop's  Place,"  where  Henry  Algernon,  Earl  Percy,  is  said  to  have  written 
his  memorable  letter  disclaiming  matrimonial  contract  with  Queen  Anne  Boleyn,  dated 
"at  Newington  Greene,"  the  13th  of  May,  28th  Henry  VIII.  Thomas  Sutton, 
founder  of  the  Charterhouse,  was  once  an  occupant  of  the  Manor  House ;  one  of  its 
ancient  hostelries,  the  Three  Crowns,  was  the  place  of  refreshment  for  James  VI.  of 
Scotland  when  he  was  met  on  Stamford-hill  by  the  Lord  Mayor,  on  his  way  from  Holy- 
rood  to  London ;  and  the  Earls  of  Bath  and  Oxford  had  mansions  here.  Here  lived 
several  of  the  ejected  ministers,  towards  the  close  of  the  17th  century :  Colonel  Popham 
and  Charles  Fleetwood,  two  of  Cromwell's  best  men ;  and  many  of  the  heroes  of  the 
Revolution  of  1688  found  shelter  here.  Adjoining  Bishop's  Place  was  a  porch-house, 
wherein  was  born,  in  1762,  Samuel  Bogers,  the  poet. 

Stoke  Newington  is  one  of  the  few  rural  villages  in  the  immediate  environs. 
Though,  as  the  crow  flies,  but  three  miles  from  the  General  Post  Office,  it  is  still  rich  in 
parks,  and  gardens,  and  old  trees.  Here  is  a  cedar  which  dates  from  the  first  intro- 
duction of  this  noble  tree  into  England ;  mulberry,  oak,  walnut,  and  elm  trees  abound  j 
gardens  where  horticulture  is  practised  according  to  the  latest  lights  j  and  here  was 
established  the  first  Chrysanthemum  Society. 

NEWSPAPERS. 

THE  earliest  printed  London  newspapers  are  preserved  in  the  British  Museum,  and 
described  at  p.  585.     The  News  of  the  Present  Week,  edited  by  Nathaniel  Butler, 
was  ridiculed  in  Ben  Jonson's  Staple  of  News,  1625;  and  a  few  months  after,  in  Fletcher's 


616  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Fair  Maid  of  the  Inn :  it  was  sold  "  at  the  Exchange,  and  in  Pope's-bead  Pallace." 
In  1G96  there  were  nine  newspapers  published  in  London,  all  weekly.  In  1709  the 
newspapers  had  increased  to  eighteen  :  in  this  year  appeared  the  Daily  Courant,  the 
first  morning  paper ;  and  to  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne  the  first  publication  of  "  regular 
newspapers "  must  be  referred.  In  1724  there  were  three  daily,  six  weekly,  seven 
three  times  a  week,  three  halfpenny  posts,  and  the  London  Gazette  twice  a  week;  in 
1792,  thirteen  daily,  and  20  semi-weekly  and  weekly  papers. 

The  English  Chronicle,  or  Whitehall  Evening  Post,  was  started  1747  ;*  the 
Public  Ledger  was  commenced  Jan.  12,  1760,  by  Newbery,  the  bookseller,  and  in  it 
appeared  Goldsmith's  Citizen  of  the  World;  the  St.  James's  Chronicle,  1761 ;  and  the 
Morning  Chronicle,  1769. 

The  Morning  Chronicle  was  conducted  by  William  Woodfall  till  1789,  when  he  was  suc- 
ceeded by  James  Perry,  who  introduced  the  present  system  of  reporting  the  debates  in 
Parliament.  Mr.  (Serjeant)  Spankie  was  long  editor  of  the  Chronicle;  Lord  Campbell  com- 
menced on  it  his  London  career,  and  was  its  theatrical  critic  in  1810.  Coleridge  and 
Campbell  were  contributors.  Sheridan  names  the  Chronicle  in  his  Critic :  Canning  in 
a  poem ;  Byron  addressed  to  it  a  familiar  letter :  Hazlitt  was  its  theatrical  critic ; 
and  here  first  appeared  Sketches  by  Boz  (Charles  Dickens).  After  Perry's  death 
(1821),  the  Chronicle  was  purchased  for  42,0002.  by  Mr.  Clement,  who,  in  1834,  sold 
it  to  Sir  John  Easthope,  Bart.,  who  was  connected  with  it  until  1847.  The  Chronicle 
was  discontinued  March  20, 1862.  Until  1822,  it  was  printed  at  143,  Strand:  and  in  the 
same  office  was  subsequently  printed,  by  John  Limbird,  the  Mirror,  the  first  of  the 
cheap  illustrated  periodicals. 

The  Morning  Post,  established  in  1772,  circulated  in  1795  only  350  a-day.  Coleridge,  in 
his  Table-Talk,  states  that  he  raised  the  sale  in  one  year  tc  7000;  in  1803  it  was  4500: 

"  Coleridge,  long  before  his  flighty  pen 
Let  to  the  Morning  Post  its  aristocracy." — Byron's  Don  Juan. 

Sir  James  Mackintosh  and  Charles  Lamb  were  also  contributors;  and  Mackworth 
Praed,  the  poet,  was  some  time  editor. 

The  Morning  Herald  was  commenced  November  1,  1780,  by  Mr.  Bate,  afterwards 
Sir  Henry  Bate  Dudley,  who  seceded  from  the  Morning  Post. 

The  Times  was  commenced  by  John  Walter,  in  Printing-house-square,  Blackfriars, 
previously  the  site  of  the  King's  Printing-House. f  The  first  number,  January  1, 
1788  (that  in  the  British  Museum  has  no  stamp),  was  a  continuation  of  the  Daily 
Universal  Register,  No.  939,  which,  with  the  Times,  was  "  printed  logographically," 
i.  e.  with  stereotyped  words  and  metal  letters.  In  1803,  the  late  John  Walter,  son 
of  the  above,  became  joint-proprietor  and  exclusive  manager  of  the  Times,  whence  by 
priority  of  its  intelligence,  it  has  risen  to  be  the  "  leading  journal  of  Europe."  The 
Times  of  November  29,  1814,  was  the  first  newspaper  printed  by  steam,  from  two 
machines  made  by  Kcenig,  which  produced  1800  per  hour,  until  1827,  when  they  were 
superseded  by  Applegath  and  Cowper's  four-cylindered  machine,  yielding  5000  im- 
pressions per  hour;  and  in  1848  was  erected  Applegath's  vertical  machine, 
producing  8000  copies  in  an  hour.  Mr.  Walter  died  in  Printing-house-square  in  1847, 
bequeathing  a  large  personal  estate,  and  having  erected  and  endowed  a  handsome 
church  at  Bearwood,  Berks.  He  devised  his  interest  in  the  Times  to  his  son,  John 
Walter,  M.P.  for  Nottingham,  the  present  proprietor ;  the  journal  being  thus  still  in  the 
hands  of  the  family  of  its  founder,  and  in  this  respect  standing  alone  amongst  the 
morning  papers.  (Hunt's  Fourth  Estate,  vol.  ii.  p.  153.)  Amongst  the  many  valuable 
services  rendered  by  the  Times  to  the  commercial  world,  was  the  detection  and  ex- 
posure of  the  Bogle  conspiracy  in  1841 ;  in  indemnification  of  which,  26252. — the  Times 
Testimonial — was  subscribed  by  the  London  merchants  and  bankers,  but  was  declined ; 
and  the  amount  was  invested  in  scholarships  at  Christ's  Hospital  and  the  City  of 
London  School,  where  and  in  the  Royal  Exchange  are  commemorative  tablets,  as  also 
upon  the  facade  of  the  Times  Office. 

The  Times  Printing  Machinery  may  be  inspected  by  previously  obtaining  cards,  at 

*  There  had  previously  been  a  London  Chronicle,  which  was  regularly  read  by  George  III.,  whose 
copy  of  it  may  be  seen  in  the  British  Museum. — Hunt's  Fourth  Estate,  vol.  ii.  p.  99. 

f  Beneath  the  Times  Office  is  a  fragment  of  the  Roman  wall,  upon  which  is  a  Norman  or  Early  Eng- 
lish reparation ;  and  upon  that  are  the  remains  of  a  passage  and  window,  which  probably  belonged  to 
the  Blackfriars  monastery. — National  Miscellany,  October,  1853. 


NEWSPAPERS.  617 


11  a.m.,  when  the  second  edition  of  the  paper  is  being  printed.  We  can  only  describe 
generally  this  great  improvement  in  newspaper  printing — a  machine  in  which  the  type 
is  placed  on  the  surface  of  a  cylinder  of  large  dimensions,  which  revolves  on  a  vertical 
axis,  with  a  continuous  rotary  motion.  The  cylinder  is  a  drum  of  cast  iron ;  the  form, 
or  pages  of  type,  are  made  segments  of  its  surface,  just  as  a  tower  of  brick  might  be 
faced  with  stone.  Eight  printing  cylinders  are  arranged  round  the  drum,  and  eight 
sheets  are  printed  in  every  revolution.  The  type  only  covers  a  small  portion  of  the 
circumference  of  the  drum,  and  in  the  interval  there  is  a  large  inking  jtable,  fixed  like 
the  type  on  its  circular  face.  This  table  communicates  the  ink  to  eight  upright  inking 
rollers,  placed  between  the  several  printing  cylinders — the  rollers,  in  their  turn,  com- 
municating the  ink  to  the  type.  So  far  the  arrangement  is  perfectly  simple,  the 
machine  being,  in  fact,  composed  of  the  parts  in  ordinary  use,  only  made  circular  and 
placed  in  a  vertical  instead  of  a  horizontal  position.  The  great  problem  of  the  inventor 
was  the  right  mode  of  "  feeding,"  or  supplying  the  sheets  of  paper  to  their  printing 
cylinders  in  their  new  position — or  changing  the  sheet  of  paper  (the  Times  newspaper) 
in  less  than  four  seconds,  from  a  horizontal  to  a  vertical  position  and  back  again ;  and 
through  still  more  changes  of  direction;  which  is  done  by  passing  through  endless 
tapes  and  vertical  rollers  in  rapid  motion,  which  convey  it  round  the  printing  cylinders, 
each  of  which  always  touches  the  type  at  the  same  corresponding  point,  the  surfaces 
moving  with  a  great  velocity.  The  Times  machines  are  also  well  described  in  Weale's 
London,  p.  76. 

"No  description,"  says  Hansard  (Ency.  Brit.,  8th  edit.),  "  can  give  any  adequate 
idea  of  the  scene  presented  by  one  of  these  machines  in  full  work, — the  maze  of  wheels 
and  rollers,  the  intricate  lines  of  swift- moving  tapes,  the  flight  of  sheets,  and  the  din  of 
machinery.  The  central  drum  moves  at  the  rate  of  six  feet  per  second,  or  one  revolu- 
tion in  three  seconds ;  the  impression  cylinder  makes  five  revolutions  in  the  same  time. 
The  layer-on  delivers  two  sheets  every  five  seconds,  consequently  fifteen  sheets  are 
printed  in  that  brief  space.  The  Times  employs  two  of  these  eight-cylinder  machines, 
each  of  which  averages  12,000  impressions  per  hour ;  and  one  nine-cylinder,  which 
prints  16,000."  Also,  Hoe's  American  machine,  with  ten  horizontal  cylinders,  for 
working  20,000  impressions  in  an  hour. 

The  Times  has  nearly  quadrupled  its  circulation  since  1838.  Its  daily  number  in 
1853  was  between  42  and  43,000.  The  Paper  and  Supplement,  72  columns,  is  made 
up  of  more  than  a  million  of  pieces  of  type.  In  1846,  the  profit  on  each  paper  was 
stated  to  be  three-eighths  of  a  penny,  out  of  which  were  to  be  defrayed  all  the  expenses 
of  the  journal,  except  paper  and  stamp.  The  annual  amount  of  stamp  duty  was  60,000/. 
Among  the  largest  issues  of  the  Times  were,  Oct.  29,  1844  (opening  of  the  New  Royal 
Exchange),  50,000.  Jan.  28,  1846,  (Sir  R.  Peel's  speech  on  the  Corn  Laws  and  the 
Tariff),  52,000,  when  the  usual  number  was  between  27  and  28,000.  March  1,  1848 
(French  Revolution),  48,000.  April  11, 1848  (Chartist  Meeting),  46,000.  May  2, 1851 
(opening  of  the  Great  Exhibition),  55,000.  Sept.  15  and  16,  1852  (Death  of  the  Duke 
of  Wellington),  2  days,  each  53,000.  Nov.  19,  1852  (Funeral  of  the  Duke),  70,000. 
The  advertisements  during  June  1853  averaged  1500  each  day ;  and  in  one  day  in 
June  there  were  2250  inserted !  then  the  greatest  number  that  had  ever  appeared  in 
one  paper.  It  has  been  stated,  that  in  printing  one  of  the  above  large  issues  were 
used  7  tons  of  paper;  surface  printed,  30  acres;  weight  of  type,  7  tons. 

Among  the  literary  coliaborateurs  of  the  Times,  the  names  of  Barnes,  Sterling,  and 
Twiss  are  prominent.  Mr.  Justice  Talfourd  and  Baron  Alderson  were  once  upon  its 
staff;  as  were  also  Mr.  Gilbert  h  Beckett,  and  Mr.  Thackeray.  The  editorship  was 
offered  to  Southey,  with  a  salary  of  2000/.  per  annum,  but  was  declined ;  and  a  similar 
offer  was  made  to  the  poet  Moore,  with  a  like  result. 

The  Morning  Advertiser  was  established  in  1795,  as  the  organ  of  the  interests  and 
charities  of  Licensed  Victuallers. 

The  Daily  News  dates  from  1846. 

The  Star,  the  first  daily  evening  newspaper,  established  in  1788  by  Peter  Stuart, 
was  long  conducted  by  Dr.  Tilloch,  editor  of  the  Philosophical  Magazine. 

Johnson's  Sunday  Monitor,  the  first  newspaper  published  on  the  Sabbath,  appeared 
in  1778.  The  oldest  weekly  newspaper  is  the  Observer,  established  1792.  Bell's 
Weekly  Messenger  dates  from  1796. 


618  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  Illustrated  London  News,  projected  by  Herbert  Ingram,  and  commenced  by 
him  May  14,  1842,  enjoys  the  largest  sale  of  the  high-priced  weekly  papers.  Iu  1852 
there  were  sold  230,000,  double  number  (Funeral  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington).  The 
issues  have  since  far  exceeded  this  number — as  at  Christmas,  double  sheet.  The  sale 
throughout  the  Crimean  war  approached  200,000  each  week. 

The  City  Press  is  entitled  to  commendable  mention  here  for  its  special  attention  to 
London  antiquities,  as  well  as  its  weekly  chronicle  of  current  events. 

After  the  remission  of  the  stamp  duty,  the  number  of  daily  newspapers  considerably 

increased,  so  that  there  are  now  published  in  the  metropolis  25  daily  papers. 

On  Monday,  March  9, 1863  (Marriage  of  the  Prince  of  Wales  and  the  Princess  Alexandra  of  Den- 
mark), the  circulation  of  the  Times  was  135,000;  of  these  three  papers,  at  one  penny,  Daily  Telegraph, 
230,000;  Morning  Star  and  Standard  between  80,000  and  100,000  each.  The  day  of  the  Wedding  was 
Tuesday,  the  10th,  and  on  Wednesday,  the  11th,  the  circulation  was  sustained  and  increased.  The 
Illustrated  London  News'  orders  were  for  315,000,  but  only  200,000  could  be  executed.  The  value  of  the 
Times'  edition  amounts  to  1687?.  10*. :  the  Daily  Telegraph  to  953?.  68.  Sd. ;  the  Illustrated  London 
News,  at  lOi.,  to  8333?.  6*.  8d.    The  daily  circulation  of  the  Daily  Telegraph  in  1866  was  138,704. 

OLD  BAILEY, 

THE  street  extending  from  Ludgate-hill  to  Newgate-street ;  "outside  of  Ludgate, 
parallel  with  the  walls  as  far  as  Newgate."  Hence  the  name — from  the  ballium, 
or  outer  space,  near  Ludgate,*  its  relative  position  iii  regard  to  the  ancient  wall  of  the 
City ;  the  remains  of  which  might  be  traced  in  some  massive  stone-work  in  Seacoal- 
lane,  at  the  bottom  of  Breakneck-steps,  west  of  the  Old  Bailey ;  and  opposite  it3 
entrance  from  Ludgate-hill,  in  St.  Martin's-court.  (See  p.  539.)  Maitland,  how- 
ever, refers  Old  Bailey  to  Bail-hill ;  an  eminence  whereon  was  situated  the  bail,  or 
bailiff's  house,  wherein  he  held  a  court  for  the  trial  of  malefactors  :  and  the  place  of 
security  where  the  Sheriff  keeps  the  prisoners  during  the  session  is  still  named  the 
Hail-dock.  Stow  states  the  Chamberlain  of  London  to  have  kept  his  court  here  in 
the  reign  of  Edward  III.  In  Pennant's  time,  here  stood  Sydney  House  (then  occupied 
by  a  coachmaker),  the  mansion  of  the  Sydneys  till  they  removed  to  Leicester-fields 
(see  p.  511).     The  Old  Bailey  Sessions-house  is  described  at  pp.  506-507. 

"  By  a  sort  of  second-sight,  the  Surgeons'  Theatre  was  built  near  this  court  of  conviction  and  New- 
gate, the  concluding  stage  of  the  lives  forfeited  to  the  justice  of  their  country,  several  years  before  the 
fatal  tree  was  removed  from  Tyburn  to  its  present  site.  It  is  a  handsome  building,  ornamented  with 
Ionic  pilasters,  and  with  a  double  flight  of  steps  to  the  first  floor.  Beneath  is  a  door  for  the  admission 
of  the  bodies  of  murderers  and  other  felons,  who,  noxious  in  their  lives,  make  a  sort  of  reparation  to 
their  fellow-creatures  by  becoming  useful  after  death." — Pennant. 

After  the  execution  of  Lord  Ferrers,  at  Tyburn,  in  1V60,  the  body  was  conveyed 
in  his  own  landau  and  six  to  Surgeons'  Hall,  to  undergo  the  remainder  of  the  sentence. 
A  large  incision  having  been  made  from  the  neck  to  the  bottom  of  the  breast,  and 
another  across  the  throat,  the  lower  part  of  the  belly  was  laid  open,  and  the  bowels 
were  taken  away.  The  body  was  afterwards  publicly  exposed  to  view  in  a  first-floor 
room ;  and  a  print  of  the  time  shows  the  corpse  "  as  it  lay  in  the  Surgeons'  Hall." 
Here  sat  the  Court  of  Examiners,  by  whom  Oliver  Goldsmith  was  rejected  21st  De- 
cember, 1758 ;  and  in  the  books  of  the  College  of  Surgeons,  amidst  a  long  list  of  can- 
didates who  passed,  occur :  "  James  Bernard,  mate  to  an  hospital.  Oliver  Goldsmith, 
found  not  qualified  for  ditto."  "A  rumour  of  this  rejection  long  existed;  and  on  a 
hint  from  Maton,  the  king's  physician,  Mr.  Pryor  succeeded  in  discovering  it." 
(Forster's  Life  and  Adventures  of  Oliver  Goldsmith,  p.  140.)  Surgeons'  Hall  was 
taken  down  in  1809,  and  upon  its  site  was  built  the  New  Sessions-house;  whence 
the  prison  of  Newgate  extends  on  the  east  side  of  the  street,  widened  at  the  north  end 
by  the  removal  of  the  houses  of  the  Little  Old  Bailey.  Here  the  place  of  execution  was 
changed  from  Tyburn  in  1783,  and  the  first  culprit  executed  Dec.  9.  The  gallows  was 
built  with  three  cross-beams,  for  as  many  rows  of  sufferers ;  and  between  February  and 
December,  1785,  ninety-six  persons  suffered  by  "  the  new  drop,"  substituted  for  the  cart. 
About  1786,  here  was  the  last  execution  followed  by  burning  the  body ;  when  a  woman 
was  hung  upon  a  low  gibbet,  and  life  being  extinct,  fagots  were  heaped  around  her  and 
over  her  head,  fire  was  set  to  the  pile,  and  the  corpse  burnt  to  ashes.  On  one  occasion 
the  old  mode  of  execution  was  renewed :  a  triangular  gallows  was  set  up  in  the  road 
opposite  Green  Arbour-court,  and  the  cart  was  drawn  from  under  the  criminals'  feet. 

*  The  church  of  St.  Peter  in  the  Bailey,  at  Oxford,  derives  its  appellation  from  having  formerly- 
stood  within  the  outer  ballium  of  Oxford  Castle. 


OLD  JEWRY.  619 


Memorable  Executions  in  the  Old  Bailey. — Mrs.  Phepoe,  murderess,  Dec.  11, 1797.  Governor  Wall, 
murder,  Jan.  28,  1802.  Holloway  and  Haggerty, murder,  Feb.  22, 1807  (30 spectators  trodden  to  death). 
Bellingham,  assassin  of  Mr.  Perceval,  May  18, 1812.  Eliza  Fenning,  poisoning,  July  26,  1815.  Arthur 
Thistlewood  and  four  others  (Cato-street  gang),  murder  and  treason,  May  1,  1820  (their  bodies  were 
decapitated  by  a  surgeon  on  the  scaffold).  Fauntleroy,  the  banker,  forgery.  Nov.  30,1824.  Joseph 
Hunton  (Quaker),  forgery,  Dec.  8,  1828.  Bishop  and  William's,  murder  (burkers),  Dec.  5,  1831.  John 
Pegsworth,  murder,  March  7,  1837.  James  Greenacre,  murder,  May  2,  1837.  Courvoisier,  murder  of 
Lord  William  Russell,  July  6, 1840.  Francis  Miiller,  murder  in  a  railway  carriage,  1864.  Seven  pirates 
for  murder  on  the  high  seas,  Feb.  23,  1S64. 

It  was  formerly  the  usage  to  execute  the  criminal  near  the  scene  of  his  guilt.  Those  who  were  punished 
capitally  for  the  Riots  of  17S0  suffered  in  those  parts  of  the  town  in  which  their  crimes  were  committed ; 
and  in  1790  two  incendiaries  were  hanged  in  Aldersgate-street,  at  the  eastern  end  of  Long-lane,  opposite 
the  site  of  the  house  they  had  set  fire  to.  Since  that  period  there  have  been  few  executions  in  London, 
except  in  front  of  Newgate.  The  last  deviation  from  the  regular  course  was  in  the  case  of  the  sailor 
Cashman,  who  was  hung,  in  1817,  in  Skinner-street,  opposite  the  shop  of  Mr.  Beckwith,  the  gunsmith, 
which  he  had  plundered. 

In  Green  Arbbur-court,  No.  12,  at  the  corner  of  Breakneck-steps,  in  Seacoal-lane. 
leading  from  Farringdon-street,  lodged  Oliver  Goldsmith  from  1758  to  1760,  when  he 
wrote  for  the  Monthly  Review ;  and  the  editor,  Griffiths,  became  security  for  the  suit  of 
clothes  in  which  Goldsmith  offered  himself  for  examination  at  Surgeons'  Hall.  In  this 
miserable  lodging  he  was  writing  his  Polite  Learning  Enquiry,  when  Dr.  Percy  called 
upon  him,  and  the  fellow-lodger's  poor  ragged  girl  came  to  borrow  "  a  chamberpotful 
of  coals."     The  house  was  taken  down  thirty  years  since. 

Peter  Bales,  the  celebrated  penman,  in  Queen  Elizabeth's  reign,  kept  a  writing- 
school,  in  1590,  at  the  upper  end  of  the  Old  Bailey,  and  published  here  his  Writing 
Schoolmaster :  in  a  writing  trial  he  won  a  golden  pen,  value  201. ;  and  the  "  arms  of 
caligraphy,  viz.  azure,  a  pen  or,  were  given  to  Bales  as  a  prize."  {Sir  George  Buck.) 
Prynne's  Histriomastix  was  printed  "  for  Michael  Sparke,  and  sold  at  the  Blue  Bible, 
in  Little  Old  Bayly,  1633." 

William  Camden,  "  the  nourrice  of  antiquitie,"  was  born  in  the  Old  Bailey,  where 
his  father  was  a  painter-stainer.  In  Ship-court,  on  the  west  side,  was  bom  William 
Hogarth,  the  painter;  and  at  the  corner  of  Ship-court,  No.  67,  three  doors  from 
Ludgate-hill,  William  Hone  kept  a  little  shop,  where  he  published  his  noted  Parodies* 
in  1817,  for  which  he  was  three  times  tried  and  acquitted.  Next  door,  at  No.  68, 
lived  the  infamous  Jonathan  Wild. 

OLD  JEWRY, 

A  STREET  leading  from  the  Poultry  to  Cateaton-street ;  and  "so  called  of  Jews- 
some  time  dwelling  there  and  near  adjoining"  (Stow),  first  brought  here  by  William 
Duke  of  Normandy.  They  had  here,  at  the  north-west  corner,  a  synagogue,  suppressed 
in  1291 ;  it  was  next  the  church  of  the  Friars  of  the  Sack :  here  Robert  Large  kept  his 
mayoralty  in  1439;  Hugh  Clopton  in  1492;  and  in  Stew's  time  it  was  the  Windmill 
Tavern,  mentioned  in  Ben  Jonson's  Every  Man  in  his  Humour :  its  site  is  denoted  by 
Windmill- court.  "In  the  reign  of  Henry  VI.,  at  the  north  end  was  one  of  the  king's 
palaces"  {Ration);  in  the  reign  of  Richard  III.  it  was  called  the  Prince's  Wardrobe; 
and  in  1548,  Edward  VI.,  it  was  sold  to  Sir  Anthony  Cope.  On  the  west  side, 
about  40  yards  from  Cheapside,  was  built  in  1670  the  Mercers'  Chapel  Grammar  School, 
removed  in  1787,  when  Old  Jewry  was  widened. 

In  a  courtyard  here  was  the  stately  mansion  built  by  Sir  Robert  Clayton  for  keeping 
his  shrievalty  in  1671-2.  It  was  nobly  placed  upon  a  stone  balustraded  terrace,  in  a 
courtyard,  and  was  of  fine  red  brick,  richly  ornamented.  John  Evelyn,  who  was  a  guest 
at  a  great  feast  here,  describes,  in  his  Diary,  Sept.  26,  1672,  the  mansion  as  "built 
indeede  for  a  greate  magistrate  at  excessive  cost.  The  cedar  dining-room  is  painted 
with  the  history  of  the  Gyants'  War,  incomparably  done  by  Mr.  Streeter ;  but  the 
figures  are  too  near  the  eye."  Mr.  Bray,  the  editor  of  the  Diary,  adds  (1818),  "these 
paintings  have  long  since  been  removed  to  the  seat  of  the  Clayton  family,  at  Marden 
Park,  near  Godstone,  in  Surrey;"  in  the  possession  of  the  present  baronet.  In  1679-80 
Charles  II.  and  the  Duke  of  York  supped  at  the  mansion  in  the  Old  Jewry,  with  Sir 
Robert  Clayton,  then  Lord  Mayor.  The  balconies  of  the  houses  in  the  streets  were 
illuminated  with  flambeaux;  and  the  King  and  the  Duke  had  a  passage  made  for  them 
by  the  Trained  Bands  upon  the  guard  from  Cheapside.     Sir  Robert  represented  the 


620  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

metropolis  nearly  thirty  years  in  Parliament,  and  was  Father  of  the  City  at  his  decease. 
His  son  was  created  a  baronet  in  1731-2.  Sir  James  Thornhill  painted  the  staircase  of 
the  Old  Jewry  mansion  with  the  story  of  Hercules  and  Omphale,  besides  a  copy  of  the 
"  Rape  of  Deianira,"  after  Guido.  The  house  had  several  tenants  before  it  was  occupied 
by  Samuel  Sharp,  the  celebrated  surgeon.  In  1806  it  was  opened  as  the  temporary 
home  of  the  London  Institution,  with  a  library  of  10,000  volumes.  Here,  in  the  rooms 
he  occupied  as  librarian  of  the  Institution,  died  Professor  Porson,  on  the  night  of 
Sunday,  Sept.  25,  1808,  "  with  a  deep  groan,  exactly  as  the  clock  struck  twelve."  Dr. 
Adam  Clarke  has  left  a  most  interesting  account  of  his  visits  to  Porson  here.  The 
Institution  removed  from  the  house  in  1810,  and  it  was  next  occupied  as  the  Museum 
of  the  London  Missionary  Society,  and  subsequently  divided  into  offices.  The  Lord 
Mayor's  Court  was  latterly  held  here.  The  mansion  was  taken  down  in  the  autumn 
of  1863.  Although  it  had  been  built  scarcely  two  centuries,  this  mansion  was  a  very 
handsome  specimen  of  the  palace  of  a  merchant-prince,  carrying  us  back  to  the  sump- 
tuous civic  life  of  the  seventeenth  and  eighteenth  centuries,  when  our  rich  citizens  lived 
in  splendour  upon  the  sites  whereon  they  had  accumulated  their  well-earned  wealth. 

In  Ben  Jonson's  Every  Man  in  his  Humour,  Master  Stephen  dwells  at  Hogsden,  the  dwellers  of 
which  have  a  long  suburb  to  pass  before  they  reach  London.  "  I  am  sent  for  this  morning  by  a  friend 
in  the  Old  Jewry  to  come  to  him  :  it  is  but  crossing  over  the  fields  to  Moorgate."  In  the  Old  Jewry 
dwelt  Cob  the  waterman,  by  the  wall  at  the  bottom  of  Coleman-street,  "at  the  sign  of  the  Water  Tan- 
kard, hard  by  the  Green  Lattice" — C.  Knight's  London,  vol.  i.  p.  368. 

OLD  STREET, 

OR  Eald-street,  is  part  of  a  Roman  military  way,  which  anciently  led  from  the  eastern 
to  the  western  parts  of  the  kingdom.  Old-street  extends  from  opposite  the 
north-eastern  corner  of  Charter-house  garden  to  St.  Luke's  Church  (see  p.  176) ;  whence 
to  Shoreditch  Church  (see  p.  173)  the  continuation  is  Old-street-road,  where  are  St.. 
Luke's  (see  p.  438)  and  the  London  Lying-in  Hospitals.  St.  Leonard's,  Shoreditch, 
was  anciently  a  village  upon  the  Eald-street,  at  some  distance  north  of  London  ;  Hox- 
ton,  or  Hocheston,  was  originally  a  small  village,  and  had  a  market ;  and  the  manor  of 
Finsbury,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIIL,  consisted  chiefly  of  fields,  orchards,  and  gar- 
dens. Old-street  was  also  famous  for  its  nursery- grounds ;  and  here  were  several  alms- 
houses, mostly  built  when  this  suburb  was  open,  healthful  ground.  Pest-house-lane 
(now  Bath-street)  was  named  from  a  pest-house  established  here  during  the  Great  Plague 
of  1665,  and  removed  in  1737.  In  Brick-lane  is  one  of  the  three  earliest  stations  es- 
tablished by  the  first  Gas  Light  Company  in  the  metropolis,  incorporated  in  1812. 

Picthatch,  a  profligate  resort,  named  in  the  plays  of  Shakspeare,  Ben  Jonson,  and 
Middleton,  was  supposed  to  have  been  in  Turnmill-street,  Clerkenwell,  until  Mr.  Cun- 
ningham identified  Picthatch  with  "  Pickaxe-yard,"  in  Old-street,  near  the  Charter- 
house.    (See  Handbook,  2nd  edit.  p.  400.) 

At  the  corner  of  Old-street-road,  in  the  City-road,  are  Vinegar-works,  formerly  the  property  of  Mr. 
James  Calvert,  who  won  the  first  10,0001.  prize  ever  drawn  in  an  English  lottery,  and  in  a  subsequent 
lottery  gained  5000Z.;  yet  he  died  in  extreme  poverty,  Feb.  26, 1799. 

OMNIBUS,  THE, 

A  HACKNEY  carriage  for  12  or  more  passengers  inside,  is  stated  to  have  been  tried 
about  the  year  1800,  with  four  horses  and  six  wheels,  but  unsuccessfully.  We  re- 
member a  long -bodied  East  Grinstead  coach  in  1808  ;  and  a  like  conveyance  between 
Hemel  Hempstead,  Herts,  and  the  metropolis.  The  Greenwich  stages  were  mostly  of 
this  build;  and  a  character  in  the  farce  of  Too  Late  for  Dinner,  produced  in  1820, 
talks  of  "  the  great  green  Greenwich  coach,"  the  omnibus  of  that  period.  Still,  its 
invention  is  claimed  for  M.  Baudry,  of  Nantes.  It  has  been  extended  to  all  parts 
of  the  world :  even  in  the  sandy  environs  of  Cairo  you  are  whisked  to  your  hotel  in  an 
Oriental  omnibus. 

Mr.  Shillibeer,  in  his  evidence  before  the  Board  of  Health,  states  that  on  July  4, 
1829,  he  started  the  first  pair  of  omnibuses  in  the  metropolis — from  the  Bank  to  the 
Yorkshire  Stingo,  New-road;  copied  from  Paris,  where  M.  Lafitte,  the  banker,  had 


OXFORD  STREET.  621 


previously  established  omnibuses  in  1819.  Each  of  Shiliibeer's  vehicles  carried  22 
passengers  inside,  but  only  the  driver  outside  ;  and  each  omnibus  was  drawn  by  three 
horses  abreast ;  the  fare  was  1*.  for  the  whole  journey,  and  6d.  for  half  the  distance ; 
and  for  some  time  the  passengers  were  provided  with  periodicals  to  read  on  the  journey. 
Shiliibeer's  first  "  conductors "  were  the  two  sons  of  British  naval  officers,  who  were 
succeeded  by  young  men  in  velvet  liveries.  The  first  omnibuses  were  called 
"  Shillibeers,"  and  the  name  is  common  to  this  day  in  New  York.  Omnibuses 
ruined  the  elder  branch  of  the  Bourbons  in  1830 :  the  accidental  upset  of  an 
omnibus  suggested  the  first  idea  of  a  barricade  and  thus  changed  the  whole  science 
of  revolutions.  Nevertheless,  a  barricade  of  vehicles  was  one  of  the  strategies  em- 
ployed three  centuries  before,  in  England.  There  are  numerous  private  speculators  in 
omnibuses,  who,  no  doubt,  convey  a  large  amount  of  passengers ;  but  the  London 
General  Omnibus  Company  alone  earns  from  10,000?.  to  15,000?.  a  week,  and  must 
employ  several  thousand  servants.  In  Exhibition  weeks,  the  receipts  have  reached 
17,000?.     (Hackney-Coaches  and  Cabs,  see  pp.  392-393.) 

OXFORD- STREET, 

ORIGINALLY  Tyburn-road,  and  next  Oxford-road  (the  highway  to  Oxford),  ex- 
tends from  the  site  of  the  village  pound  of  St.  Giles's  (where  High-street  and 
Tottenham-court-road  meet),  westward  to  Hyde  Park  Corner,  1^  mile  in  length,  con- 
taining upwards  of  400  houses.  Hatton,  in  1708,  described  it  "between  St.  Giles's 
Pound  east,  and  the  lane  leading  to  the  gallows  west."  It  follows  the  ancient  military 
road  {Via  Trinovantica,  Stukeley),  which  crossed  the  Watling-street  at  Hyde  Park 
Corner,  and  was  continued  thence  to  Old-street  (Eald-street),  north  of  London.  During 
the  Civil  War,  in  1643,  a  redoubt  was  erected  near  St.  Giles's  Pound,  and  a  large  fort 
with  half  bulwarks  across  the  road  opposite  Wardour-street.  In  a  map  of  1707,  on  the 
south  side,  King-street,  Golden-square,  is  perfect  to  Oxford-road,  between  which  and 
Berwick-street  are  fields;  hence  to  St.  Giles's  is  covered  with  buildings,  but  westward 
not  a  house  is  seen ;  the  north  side  contains  a  few  scattered  buildings,  but  no  semblance 
of  streets  west  of  Tottenham-court-road.  A  plan  of  1708  shows,  at  the  south  end  of 
Mill-hill  Field,  the  Lord  Mayor's  Banqueting-house,  at  the  north-east  corner  of  the 
bridge  across  Tyburn  brook,  over  which  is  built  the  west  side  of  Stratford-place.  In 
the  above  plan  is  also  shown  the  Adam  and  Eve,  a  detached  roadside  public-house  in 
the  "Dung-field,"  near  the  present  Adam-and-Eve-court,  almost  opposite  Poland- 
street  ;  and  in  an  adjoining  field  is  represented  the  boarded  house  of  Figg,  the  prize- 
fighter. "  The  row  of  houses  on  the  north  side  of  Tyburn-road  was  completed  in  1729, 
and  it  was  then  called  Oxford-s?ree£"  (Lysons's  Environs) ;  a  stone  upon  a  house  on  the 
north  side  is  inscribed,  "  Rathbone-place,  Oxford-street,  1718 :"  it  was  built  by  Captain 
Rathbone.  In  this  year  were  commenced  Hanover-square,  and  "  round  about,  so  many 
other  edifices,  that  a  whole  magnificent  city  seems  to  be  risen  out  of  the  ground.  On 
the  opposite  side  of  the  way,  towards  Marylebone,  is  marked  out  a  square,  and  many 
streets  to  form  avenues  to  it."  (Weekly  Medley,  1718.)  Vere-street  Chapel  and  Oxford 
Market  were  built  about  1724 ;  five  years  later  were  begun  most  of  the  streets  leading 
to  Cavendish-square. 

A  map  of  1742  shows  the  little  church  of  St.  Marylehone,  in  the  fields,  with  two  zigzag  ways  leading 
to  it :  one  near  Vere-street,  then  the  western  limit  of  the  new  buildings ;  and  the  second  from  Totten- 
ham-court-road. Kows  of  houses,  with  their  backs  to  the  fields,  extend  from  St.  Giles's  Pound  to 
Oxford  Market ;  but  Tottenham-court-road  has  only  one  cluster  on  the  west  side,  and  the  spring-water 
house.  Thus,  Oxford-street,  from  Oxford  Market  to  Vere-street,  south  and  west,  Marylebone-street, 
north,  and  the  site  of  Great  Titchfield-street  east,  form  the  limit  of  the  new  buildings :  the  zigzag  way 
from  Vere-street  (now  Marylebone-lane)  leading  from  the  high-road  to  the  village. 

Pennant  (born  in  1726)  remembered  Oxford-street  "  a  deep  hollow  road,  and  full  of 
sloughs ;  with  here  and  there  a  ragged  house,  the  lurking-place  of  cut-throats :"  inso- 
much that  he  "  never  was  taken  that  way  by  night,"  in  a  hackney-coach,  to  his  uncle's 
in  George-street,  but  he  "  went  in  dread  the  whole  way." 

Yet  this  main  arterial  thoroughfare  was  called  Oxford-*?ree?  in  the  reign  of 
Charles  II.,  as  attested  in  the  following  passage  from  the  Statute  of  1678,  enacting  the 
boundaries  of  the  parish  of  St.  Anne,  then  just  taken  out  of  St.  Martin's : — 


622  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  houses  beginning  at  the  sign  of  the  Crooked  Billet,  near  St.  Giles's  Pound,  and  bounded  by  the 
way  leading  from  the  said  sign  to  the  end  of  Cock-lane  near  Long-acre,  with  the  south  side  of  the  lane 
and  all  the  ground  called  the  Military-ground,  and  all  the  houses  and  ground  leading  thence  to  Cran- 
bourne-street  and  Little  Leicester-street,  alias  Bear-street,  including  Leicester-house  and  garden,  as  it 
is  abutting  upon  Leicester-square,  with  all  the  houses  on  the  west  side  of  the  square  from  Leicester- 
garden  wall  to  the  Sun  Tavern,  &e.,  including  the  wall  abutting  on  the  highway  leading  from  Piccadilly 
to  the  west  side  of  the  Military-ground,  and  abutting  on  the  highway  leading  to  the  field  called  Kemp's- 
field,  including  all  the  fields  to  the  sign  of  the  Blue  Anchor,  being  the  corner  house  at  the  south  end  of 
the  east  side  of  Soho-street,  abutting  upon  Kemp' s-fields,  with  all  the  easi  side  of  Soho-street  to  the 
sign  of  the  Bed  Cow,  being  the  corner  house  at  the  north  end  of  Soho-street,  abutting  upon  the  King's 
highway,  or  Great-road  (that  is,  what  is  now  called  Oxford-street),  with  all  the  house?  and  grounds 
abutting  on  and  upon  the  said  road  leading  from  the  sign  of  the  Bed  Cow  to  the  Crooked  Billet ;  and 
all  the  houses,  &c.,  included  in  these  boundaries  were  erected  into  the  new  parish  of  St.  Anne. 

Cumberland-place,  begun  about  1774,  was  named  from  the  hero  of  Culloden,  of 
whom  there  is  a  portrait-sign  at  a  public-house  in  Great  Cumberland-street.  No.  58, 
Cumberland-street  has  an  elegant  portico  of  terra-cotta,  designed  by  A.  H.  Morant, 
for  Lord  Strangford.  At  the  western  extremity  of  Oxford-street,  in  the  first  house  in 
Edgware-road,  immediately  opposite  to  Tyburn  turnpike,  lived  for  many  years  the 
Corsican  General  Paoli,  who  was  godfather  to  the  Emperor  Napoleon.  (Notes  and 
Queries.)     Strfltford-jplace  was  built  1787-90,  upon  the  site  of  Conduit-Mead.     At 

'  the  north  end  is  Aldborough  House  (erected  for  Edward  Stratford,  Earl  of  Aldborough), 
with  a  handsome  Ionic  stone  front  and  a  Doric  colonnade.  Here,  until  1805,  stood  a 
naval  trophied  Corinthian  column  with  a  statue  of  George  III.,  set  up  in  1797  by 
Lieut.-Gen.  Strode.  No.  315,  Oxford-street  is  the  facade  of  the  Laboratories  of  the 
College  of  Chemistet  (see  p.  273).  The  view  through  the  gate  of  Hanover- 
square,  the  massive  church  and  the  lofty  and  handsome   houses,  presents  a  very  fine 

I  architectural  coup-d'ceil. 

Portland-place  was  built  by  the  architects  Adam,  about  1778 :  it  is  126  feet  wide, 
and  in  1817  was  terminated  at  the  north  end  by  an  open  railing  looking  over  the 
fields  towards  the  New-road;  when  "the  ample  width  of  the  foot-pavement,  the  purity 
of  the  air,  and  the  prospect  of  the  rich  and  elevated  villages  of  Hampstead  and  High- 
gate,  rendered  Portland-place  a  most  agreeable  summer  promenade."  (Hughson's 
London.)  At  No.  43,  lived  Sir  Felix  Booth,  Bart.,  from  whom  Sir  John  Ross  named 
Boothia  Felix ;  Lord  Chief-Justice  Denman  at  No.  38.  In  Park-crescent  long  resided 
the  Count  de  Survilliers  (Joseph  Bonaparte);  and  in  the  garden,  facing  Portland- 
place,  is  a  well-modelled  bronze  statue  (height  7  feet  2  inches),  by  Gahagan,  of  the 
Duke  of  Kent,  father  of  Queen  Victoria. 

The  Crystal  Palace  in  Hyde  Park  was  nearly  the  length  of  Portland-place.  "I  walked  out  one 
evening,"  says  Sir  Charles  Fox,  "  and  there  setting  out  the  1848  feet  upon  the  pavement,  found  it  the 
same  length  within  a  few  yards;  and  then  considered  that  the  Great  Exhibition  Building  would  be 
three  times  the  width  of  that  fine  street,  and  the  nave  as  high  as  the  houses  on  either  side." 

Newman-street  and  Berners-slreet,  built  between  1750  and  1770,  were  from  the 
first  inhabited  by  artists  of  celebrity.  In  the  former  lived  Banks  and  Bacon,  the 
sculptors ;  and  West  and  Stothard,  the  painters  :  in  the  latter,  Sir  William  Chambers, 
the  architect ;  and  Fuseli  and  Opie,  the  painters.  Facing  is  the  Middlesex  Hospital, 
described  at  p.  439.  The  Pantheon,  on  the  south  side  of  Oxford-street,  was  origi- 
nally built  by  James  Wyatt,  in  1768-71 ;  was  burnt  down  in  1792,  but  was  rebuilt ; 
taken  down  in  1812,  and  again  reconstructed.  (See  Pantheon.)  Nearly  opposite  is 
the  Princess's  Theatre,  No.  73,  formerly  the  Queen's  Bazaar,  opened  in  1840.  (See 
Theatres.)  Wardour-slreet,  built  1686,  and  named  from  Lord  Arundel  of  Wardour, 
is  noted  for  its  curiosity-shops.  (See  Casting,  pp.  78-81.)  Hamcay-street  bears  a 
stone  dated  1721,  and  was  originally  a  zigzag  lane  to  Tottenham-court-road  :  it  was 
called  Hanway-yard  to  our  time,  and  is  noted  for  its  china-dealers  and  curiosity- 
shops,  as  it  was  in  the  reign  of  hoops,  high-heeled  shoes,  and  stiff  brocade.  No. 
54,  corner  of  Berners-street,  has  a  Renaissance  or  Elizabethan  shop-front  and 
mezzanine  floor ;  a  picturesque  composition  of  pedestals,  consoles,  and  semi-caryatid 
figures.  No.  76  has  a  Byzantine  facade.  No.  86  has  a  front  of  studied  design.  At 
No.  15  was  exhibited,  in  1830-32,  a  large  painted  window  of  the  Tournament  of  the 
Field  of  Cloth-of-Gold,  by  Wilmshurst ;  destroyed  by  fire  in  1832.  At  the  east  end  of 
Oxford-street,  in  1838,  were  laid  experimental  specimens  of  the  various  roadway  Wood 
Pavements 

Nollc'.iens,  the  sculptor,  one  day,  in  a  walk  with  J.  T.  Smith,  stopped  at  the  corner  of  Eathbone- 


Want;   and     n      l8   ilt   maki        §7 

stake,    for  once  bis  hero  is  a  little 
»red  in  outline  by  the  intruSo m  of 
But  only  a  little.      FU1  the 
«*  par    «he  book  holds  |i,/lJ! 
-<^ed  from  first  to  last     ind  h 

;ant  Wlfcn  ^agic    hiacorr     behind 
I  sombre   manner,    Mr.    Locke   has 
E^S?  "»  ^ding'to  the  gallerv  o 
Et^ettable  portraits  he  hS  5  a  Jn 


VGTON. 


623 


NEW    NOVELS. 

'vington's    Bank."       8y     Stanley     j. 
John  Murray.)  7s.  6d. 


'man.     (London; 


his  mother  often  took  him  to  the  top  of  that  street 
which  then  stood  on  the  site  of  the  chapel  in  Char- 
Ire  person  at  a  hatch  belonging  to  the  miller,  for 
old  me  (continues  Smith),  that  his  mother  took  him 
1  Bween  Oxford-road  and  Grosvenor-square,  the  north 
Iche  brewhouse  between  Rathbone-place  and  the  end 
firteen  large  and  fine  walnut-trees  standing  on  the 
I  vulgarly  called  Hanover-yard,  afterwards  Hanway- 
fnn,  beyond  the  Star  Brewery. — Nollekens  and  hi* 

several  houses  of  lofty  and  ornamental  design 
which  reminded  one  of  Oxford-road.  Here 
d  by  the  Princess  Charlotte  and  her  husband, 

houses  from  441  to  552,  and  occupying  part 
fas  opened  in  1847  :  the  house-fronts  are  of 
jouis  XIV.  character,  including  a  glass-roofed 


oula  there  be  a  better  introd-c- 
i  to  modern  English  fc*tory  «* 
'do.-,  than  the  four  novels  in  which 
btarney  Weymaji  hae  depicted 
^rloo,  the  Reform  Bill,  the  Wee 
dc  crisis  and  now  the  railway 
ia  i  Each  of  them  is  a 
|  of  broad-scale   action 

«  feupexbly  to  its  crisis,  and  hand 
groat    events    with    an    art   fully 
-by  of  their  significance.     ''Ovin" 
'<      is  certainly  not  the  le  " 


master- 
brilliant 


\INGTON, 

nd  tun,  the  town  of  the  Psedings  (Kemble's 

last  century,  a  pleasant  little  rural  village, 

,  upon  the  Harrow-road.     Paddington  is  not 

"^charters  professedly  granting  lands  here  by 

discredited  as  forgeries.     The  district  would 

#i  after  the  Norman  Conquest,  from  the  vast 

he  cattle  of  the  villagers,  and  the  fruits  of 

lain  between    the   two   Roman   roads  (now 

dnd    the   West  bourn,  or  brook,  the  ancient 

eaent  (31   Hen.  II.),  Richard  and  William  of 

(,to  the  Abbot  and  Convent  of  Westminster ; 

r;ury,  the  whole  of  the  temporalities  of  Pad- 

;as-  j  •  mals,  valued  at  SI.  16s.  Ad.),  were  devoted  to 


charity.  Tanner  speaks  of  Paddington  as  a  parish,  temp.  Richard  II. ;  and  by  the 
Valor  Ecclesiasticus  of  Henry  VIII.,  the  rectory  yielded,  like  the  manor,  a  separate 
revenue  to  the  Abbey.  Upon  the  dissolution  of  the  Bishopric  of  Westminster,  the 
manor  and  rectory  were  given  by  Edward  VI.  to  Ridley,  Bishop  of  London,  and  his 
successors  for  ever ;  they  were  then  let  at  41/.  6s.  8d.,  besides  20s.  for  the  farm  of 
"  Paddington  Wood,"  30  acres. 

The  population  of  Paddington,  by  the  Subsidy  Roll  of  Henry  VIII.  scarcely  exceeded 
100;  in  Charles  II.'s  reign  it  was  about  300;  in  1811,  the  population  was  4609 ;  from 
1831  to  1841,  it  increased  1000  per  annum ;  from  1841  to  1851,  above  2000  annually  ; 
and  in  1861,  it  had  75,807.  Thus,  from  the  forest  village  has  risen  a  large  town, 
and  one  of  the  three   parishes  forming  the  Parliamentary  borough  of  Marylebone. 

"A  city  of  palaces  has  sprung  up  within  twenty  years.  A  road  of  iron,  with  steeds  of  steam,  brings 
into  the  centre  of  this  city,  and  takes  from  it  in  one  year,  a  greater  number  of  living  beings  than  could 
be  found  in  all  England  a  few  years  ago ;  while  the  whole  or  London  can  be  traversed  in  half  the  time 
it  took  to  reach  Holborn  Bars  at  the  beginning  of  this  century,  when  the  road  was  in  the  hands  of  Mr. 
Miles,  his  pair-horse  coach,  and  his  redoubtable  Boy,"*  long  the  only  appointed  agents  of  communica- 
tion between  Paddington  and  the  City.  The  fares  were  2s.  and  3s. ;  the  journey  took  more  than  three 
hours ;  and  to  beguile  the  time  at  resting  places,  "  Miles's  Boy  "  told  tales  and  played  upon  the  fiddle. 
A  portion  of  Paddington  is  called  Tyburnia;  but  the  distinction  has  not  been  so  readily  adopted  as  in 
the  case  of  Belgravia. 

In  the  middle  of  the  last  century,  nearly  the  whole  of  Paddington  had  become 
grazing-land,  upwards  of  1100  acres ;  and  the  occupiers  of  the  Bishop's  Estate  kept 
here  hundreds  of  cows.  At  the  beginning  of  the  last  century,  next  to  the  rurality  of 
Paddington,  the  gallows  and  the  gibbet  were  its  principal  attractions.  About  1790 
were  built  nearly  100  small  wooden  cottages,  tenanted  by  a  colony  of  600  journeyman 
artificers ;  but  these  dwellings  have  given  way  to  Connaught-terrace. 


tories. 


Paddington,  Past  and  Present,  by  William  Eobins,  18C3 ;  an  able  contribution  to  our  local  his- 


Derby  House  Activity. 

Politics  can  bring  liy< 


622                             CURIOSITIES     'V^  spote,      Passing  that  state 
\   i    ,»n   Rtrft+,ford-t)lace.  yesterday, 

The  houses  beginning  at  the  sign  of  the  Crooked  J  CUl   ue   bat,    01     owl 
way  leading  from  the  said  sign  to  the  end  of  Cock-Ian.  t  notketl  it  was  lull  Ot  iilolu 
and  all  the  ground  called  tlie  Military-ground,  and  a!  .  .■■  frvot-v.'m    between    SIX 

bourne-street  and  Little  Leicester-street,  alias  Bear-s,  foustle,    Willi e    a    hh 
is  abutting  upon  Leicester-square,  with  all  the  houses  ,       ,Trori   fppt  lli '"^ll  stOOQ  at    i^ne 

garden  wall  to  the  Sun  Tavern,  &c,  including  the  wab  alia  &e\  L-ii  At.^  ^e  ,        •    ,,' 

to  the  west  side  ofthe  Military-ground,  and  abutting  c  f(,r(b, street  end   calling  lOq 
field,  including  all  the  fields  to  the  sign  of  the  Blue  At,  .  n    _,„.,,11    iV>f>  crowd 

the  east  side  of  Soho-street,  abutting  upon  Kemp' s-fielQ.:oniC   in   aim  SWCU    i 
sign  of  the  Red  Cote,  being  the  corner  house  at  the  nor  .-,        _    „+■    llio   pnd    of  til©   pi 

highway,  or  Great-road  (that  is,  what  is  now  called        b  OV   tlierC    ««    w«=  „  • 

abutting  on  and  upon  the  said  road  leading  from  the  si,  VlnVinff  at  the  busy  street  01  Dol^ 
all  the  houses,  &c,  included  in  these  boundaries  were  ert0lllui-lllfc>  \        '      ,        VTmi°P     the   Lond°" 

Cumberland-place,  begun  about  1774,  was  hunters,  U>  J  ^.^    Minister 

whom  there  is  a  portrait-sign  at  a  public-honseie-udence  ^    .  . 

Cumberland-street  hns  an  elegant  portico  of  land  a  lot  of  general 
for  Lord  Strangford.     At  the  western  extremit -transacted  there. 
Edgware-road,  immediately  opposite  to  Tybur  TWhv's  hciJfiC  was,  until 

Corsican  General  Paoli,  who  was  godfather  tc      LfOrii  xJ^ii->y  ,  Slrai 

Queries.)     Stratford-place  was  built  1787-9C  when  be  acquired  ] 
the  north  end  is  Aldborough  House  (erected  for  for<J  House,   for  it  was   built 
with  a  handsome  Ionic  stone  front  and  a  Dori  aJonw  -with  Stratford-place,  by 
naval  trophied  Corinthian  column  with  a  staj   „,      ,  e .     i      ^e     geCOlld     Earl    Of    Alt 
Lieut.-Gen.  Strode.     No.  315,  Oxford-street  \\  Dwauoi    ,  ^     dpsisna     by     Robe: 

College   of  Chemistey  (see  p.  273).     The)  borougn,  J"^*  ■    "  v  B  £     g^     Alball 
square,  the  massive  church  and  the  loftv  and  l!  Adam.        J-"6     ■'-'ll 
-architectural coup-d'ceil.  !  prince  Esterha-zy,  and  mar 

Portland-place  was  built  by  the  architects  I   (ingllisbed     persons   have 
and  in  1817  was  terminated  at  the  north  encj   J'     ,       TJp  to  1010  it  was  OOCUpie 
fields  towards  the  New-road ;  when  "  the  am  phi  I        ""'  p   lP\vooke  Lord    Derby   1 

ofthe  air,  and  the  prospect  ofthe  rich  and  elev!  ■•>01*(A  .  ,  irauiv_  ^.Jq-   \g  it  W 

gate,  rendered  Portland-place  a  most  agreea'.    enlarged  it  consul 
London.)     At  No.  43,  lived  Sir  Felix  Booth,  B   —and  spoiled  to   son 
Boothia  Felix ;  Lord  Chief-Justice  Denman  at    Adamic  character.    ^ 
the  Count  de  Survilliers  (Joseph  Bonaparte);! 

place,  is  a  well-modelled  bronze  statue  (height  7  lecTTSTrnches),  by  Gahagan,  of  the 
Duke  of  Kent,  father  of  Queen  Victoria. 

The  Crystal  Palace  in  Hyde  Park  was  nearly  the  length  of  Portland-place.  "I  walked  out  one 
evening,"  says  Sir  Charles  Fox,  "and  there  setting  out  the  1848  feet  upon  the  pavement,  found  it  the 
same  length  within  a  few  yards ;  and  then  considered  that  the  Great  Exhibition  Building  would  be 
three  times  the  width  of  that  fine  street,  and  the  nave  as  high  as  the  houses  on  either  side." 

Newman-street  and  Berners-slreet,  built  between  1750  and  1770,  were  from  the 
first  inhabited  by  artists  of  celebrity.  In  the  former  lived  Banks  and  Bacon,  the 
sculptors ;  and  West  and  Stothard,  the  painters  :  in  the  latter,  Sir  William  Chambers, 
the  architect ;  and  Fuseli  and  Opie,  the  painters.  Facing  is  the  Middlesex  Hospital, 
described  at  p.  439.  The  Pantheon,  on  the  south  side  of  Oxford-street,  was  origi- 
nally built  by  James  Wyatt,  in  1768-71 ;  was  burnt  down  in  1792,  but  was  rebuilt ; 
taken  down  in  1812,  and  again  reconstructed.  (See  Pantheon.)  Nearly  opposite  is 
the  Princess's  Theatre,  No.  73,  formerly  the  Queen's  Bazaar,  opened  in  1840.  (See 
Theatres.)  War  dour- street,  built  1686,  and  named  from  Lord  Arundel  of  Wardour, 
is  noted  for  its  curiosity-shops.  (See  Cabving,  pp.  78-81.)  Hamv  ay -street  bears  a 
stone  dated  1721,  and  was  originally  a  zigzag  lane  to  Tottenham- court-road :  it  was 
called  Hanway-yard  to  our  time,  and  is  noted  for  its  china-dealers  and  curiosity- 
shops,  as  it  was  in  the  reign  of  hoops,  high-heeled  shoes,  and  stiff  brocade.  No. 
54,  corner  of  Berners-street,  has  a  Renaissance  or  Elizabethan  shop-front  and 
mezzanine  floor ;  a  picturesque  composition  of  pedestals,  consoles,  and  semi-caryatid 
figures.  No.  76  has  a  Byzantine  facade.  No.  86  has  a  front  of  studied  design.  At 
No.  15  was  exhibited,  in  1830-32,  a  large  painted  window  of  the  Tournament  of  the 
Field  of  Cloth-of-Gold,  by  Wilmshurst ;  destroyed  by  fire  in  1832.  At  the  east  end  of 
Oxford-street,  in  1838,  were  laid  experimental  specimens  of  the  various  roadway  Wood 
Pavements. 

Nollckens,  the  sculptor,  one  day,  in  a  walk  with  J.  T.  Smith,  stopped  at  the  corner  of  Eathbone- 


PADDINGTON.  623 


place,  and  observed  that  when  he  was  a  little  boy,  his  mother  often  took  him  to  the  top  of  that  street 
to  walk  by  the  side  of  a  long  pond,  near  a  windmill,  which  then  stood  on  the  site  of  the  chapel  in  Char- 
lotte-street ;  and  that  a  halfpenny  was  paid  by  every  person  at  a  hatch  belonging  to  the  miller,  for 
the  privilege  of  walking  in  his  grounds.  He  also  told  me  (continues  Smith),  that  his  mother  took  him 
through  another  halfpenny  hatch  in  the  fields,  between  Oxford-road  and  Grosvenor-square,  the  north 
side  of  which  was  then  building.  When  we  got  to  the  brewhouse  between  Eathbone-place  and  the  end 
of  Tottenham-court-road,  he  said  he  recollected  thirteen  large  and  fine  walnut-trees  standing  on  the 
north  side  of  the  highway,  between  what  was  then  vulgarly  called  Hanover-yard,  afterwards  Hanway- 
yard,  and  now  Hanway-strect,  and  the  Cattle  inn,  beyond  the  Star  Brewery. — Nollekens  and  hit 
Times,  i.  37. 

Towards  the  west  end  of  Oxford-street  several  houses  of  lofty  and  ornamental  design 
have  replaced  the  incongruous  dwellings  which  reminded  one  of  Oxford-road.  Here 
was  Cavnelford  House,  sometime  inhabited  by  the  Princess  Charlotte  and  her  husband, 
Prince  Leopold. 

Xew  Oxfobd-steeet,  extending  the  houses  from  441  to  552,  and  occupying  part 
of  the  site  of  St.  Giles's  "  Rookery,"  was  opened  in  1847  :  the  house-fronts  are  of 
Ionic,  Corinthian,  domestic  Tudor,  and  Louis  XIV.  character,  including  a  glass-roofed 
Arcade  of  shops. 

PADDINGTON, 

NAMED  from  the  Saxon  Fcedingas  and  tun,  the  town  of  the  Psedings  (Kemble's 
Saxons  in  England),  was,  in  the  last  century,  a  pleasant  little  rural  village, 
scarcely  a  mile  north  of  Tyburn  turnpike,  upon  the  Harrow-road.  Paddington  is  not 
mentioned  in  Domesday  Book ;  and  the  charters  professedly  granting  lands  here  by 
Edgar  to  the  monks  of  Westminster  are  discredited  as  forgeries.  The  district  would 
rather  appear  to  have  been  cleared,  soon  after  the  Norman  Conquest,  from  the  vast 
forest  of  Middlesex  (with  pasture  for  the  cattle  of  the  villagers,  and  the  fruits  of 
the  wood  for  their  hogs),  and  to  have  lain  between  the  two  Roman  roads  (now 
the  Edgware  and  Uxbridge  roads)  and  the  West  bourn,  or  brook,  the  ancient 
Tybourn.  In  the  first  authentic  document  (31  Hen.  II.),  Richard  and  William  of 
Paddington  transfer  their  "  tenement "  to  the  Abbot  and  Convent  of  Westminster ; 
and  from  the  close  of  the  thirteenth  century,  the  whole  of  the  temporalities  of  Pad- 
dington (rent  of  land,  and  young  of  animals,  valued  at  81.  16s.  Ad.),  were  devoted  to 
charity.  Tanner  speaks  of  Paddington  as  a  parish,  temp.  Richard  II. ;  and  by  the 
Valor  Ecclesiasticus  of  Henry  VIII.,  the  rectory  yielded,  like  the  manor,  a  separate 
revenue  to  the  Abbey.  Upon  the  dissolution  of  the  Bishopric  of  Westminster,  the 
manor  and  rectory  were  given  by  Edward  VI.  to  Ridley,  Bishop  of  London,  and  his 
successors  for  ever ;  they  were  then  let  at  All.  6s.  8d.,  besides  20s.  for  the  farm  of 
"  Paddington  Wood,"  30  acres. 

The  population  of  Paddington,  by  the  Subsidy  Roll  of  Henry  VIII.  scarcely  exceeded 
100;  in  Charles  II.'s  reign  it  was  about  300;  in  1811,  the  population  was  4609;  from 
1831  to  1841,  it  increased  1000  per  annum ;  from  1841  to  1851,  above  2000  annually  ; 
and  in  1861,  it  had  75,807.  Thus,  from  the  forest  village  has  risen  a  large  town, 
and  one  of  the  three   parishes  forming  the  Parliamentary  borough  of  Marylebone. 

"A  city  of  palaces  has  sprung  up  within  twenty  years.  A  road  of  iron,  with  steeds  of  steam,  brings 
into  the  centre  of  this  city,  and  takes  from  it  in  one  year,  a  greater  number  of  living  beings  than  could 
be  found  in  all  England  a"  few  years  ago ;  while  the  whole  of  London  can  be  traversed  in  half  the  time 
it  took  to  reach  Holborn  Bars  at  the  beginning  of  this  century,  when  the  road  was  in  the  hands  of  Mr. 
Miles,  his  pair-horse  coach,  and  his  redoubtable  Boy,"*  long  the  only  appointed  agents  of  communica- 
tion between  Paddington  and  the  City.  The  fares  were  2s.  and  3s. ;  the  journey  took  more  than  three 
hours;  and  to  beguile  the  time  at  resting  places,  "  Miles's  Boy"  told  tales  and  played  upon  the  fiddle. 
A  portion  of  Paddington  is  called  Tyburnia;  but  the  distinction  has  not  been  so  readily  adopted  as  in 
the  case  of  Belgravia. 

In  the  middle  of  the  last  century,  nearly  the  whole  of  Paddington  had  become 
grazing-land,  upwards  of  1100  acres ;  and  the  occupiers  of  the  Bishop's  Estate  kept 
here  hundreds  of  cows.  At  the  beginning  of  the  last  century,  next  to  the  rurality  of 
Paddington,  the  gallows  and  the  gibbet  were  its  principal  attractions.  About  1790 
were  built  nearly  100  small  wooden  cottages,  tenanted  by  a  colony  of  600  journeyman 
artificers;  but  these  dwellings  have  given  way  to  Connaught-terrace. 

*  Paddington,  Past  and  Tresent,  by  'William  Bobins,  1853 ;  an  able  contribution  to  our  local  his« 
tories. 


624  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Paddington  consists  chiefly  of  two  hills,  Maida-hill  and  Craven-hill ;  the  north- 
eastern slope  of  Notting-hill ;  and  a  valley  through  which  runs  the  Tybourn,  a  favou- 
rite resort  of  anglers  early  in  the  present  century,  but  now  a  covered  sewer.  From 
this  brook,  the  newly-built  district,  mostly  of  palatial  mansions,  is  named  Tyburnia. 

Baddington  Green,  now  inclosed  and  iron-bound,  was  the  green  of  the  villagers, 
shown  in  all  its  rural  beauty  in  prints  of  1750  and  1783.  Upon  a  portion  of  it  were 
built  the  Almshouses,  in  1714;  their  neat  little  flower-gardens  have  disappeared.  South 
of  the  green  is  the  new  Vestry -hall.  At  Dudley  Grove  was  modelled  and  cast,  by 
Matthew  Cotes  Wyatt,  the  colossal  bronze  statue  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  now 
upon  the  Green  Park  Arch :  it  is  thirty  feet  high,  and  was  conveyed  from  the  foundry, 
upon  a  car,  drawn  by  29  horses,  Sept.  29,  1846,  to  Hyde  Park  Corner. 

Westbourne  Green  has  been  cut  up  by  the  Great  Western  Railway;  and  West- 
bourne-place,  built  by  Ware,  with  the  materials  of  old  Chesterfield  House,  May  Fair, 
has  disappeared.  Close  by  is  the  terminus  of  the  Great  Western  Bailivay,  with  a 
magnificent  Hotel,  designed  in  the  Louis  Quatorze  taste,  by  P.  Hardwick,  R.A. :  the 
allegorical  sculpture  of  the  pediment  is  by  Thomas :  the  rooms  exceed  130. 

At  Craven  Sill  was  the  Pest-house  Field,  exchanged  for  the  ground  in  Carnaby- 
street,  given  by  Lord  Craven  as  a  burial-place,  if  London  should  ever  be  again  visited 
by  the  Plague :  but  the  field  is  now  the  site  of  a  handsome  square  of  houses  named 
Craven  Gardens.  Bayswater  is  a  hamlet  of  Paddington.  Knotting,  or  Notting  Kill 
seems  but  to  have  been  a  corruption  of  Nutting ;  the  wood  on  and  around  the  hill  of 
that  name  having  for  centuries  been  appropriately  so  named.  Kensell,  or  Kensale,  is 
"the  Green-lane"  and  Kingsfelde  Green  in  a  Harleian  MS.  of  Mary's  reign.  (See 
p.  81 .)  Maida  Sill  and  Maida  Vale  were  named  from  the  famous  battle  of  Maida, 
in  Calabria,  fought  between  the  French  and  British,  in  1806. 

The  Grand  Junction  Waterworks  were  established  in  1812;  and  on  Camden-hill  is  a 
storing  reservoir  containing  6,000,000  gallons.  At  Paddington  the  basin  of  the  Grand 
Junction  Canal  joins  the  Regent's  Canal,  which  passes  under  Maida-hill  by  a  tunnel 
370  yards  long.  On  the  banks  of  the  canal,  the  immense  heaps  of  dust  and  ashes, 
once  towering  above  the  house-tops,  are  said  to  have  been  worth  fabulous  thousands. 

"  The  Bishop's  Estate"  (Bishop's- road,  Blomfield-terrace,  &c.)  produces  30.000Z.  a 
year  to  the  Bishop  of  London  and  the  lay  lessees.  Among  the  parochial  Charities, 
the  anniversary  festival  of  an  Abbot  of  Westminster  is  thought  to  explain  "  the  Bread 
and  Cheese  Lands;"  and  until  1838,  in  accordance  with  a  bequest,  bread  and  cheese 
were  thrown  from  the  steeple  of  St.  Mary's  Church,  to  be  scrambled  for  in  the  church- 
yard.   (See  Lock  Hospital,  p.  438;  St.  Mahy's,  p.  439.) 

Oxford  and  Cambridge  Squares  and  Terraces  will  long  keep  in  grateful  memory  the 
munificence  of  the  Lady  Margaret,  Countess  of  Richmond,  to  the  Universities  of  Oxford 
and  Cambridge. 

Paddington  possessed  a  church  before  the  district  was  assigned  to  the  monks  of  West- 
minster, in  1222.  An  "old  and  ruinous  church"  was  taken  down  about  1678,  and  was 
thought,  from  its  painted  window,  to  have  been  dedicated  to  St.  Katharine.  Next,  St. 
James's  Church  was  built  by  the  Sheldons,  temp.  Charles  I. :  here  Hogarth  was  married 
to  Sir  James  Thornhill's  daughter,  in  1729.  This  church  was  taken  down,  and  St. 
Mary's  built  upon  the  Green,  1788-91,  "  finely  embosomed  in  venerable  elms :"  near 
it  were  the  village  stocks,  and  in  the  churchyard  were  an  ancient  yew-tree  and  a 
double-leaved  elder.  Here  is  the  tombstone  of  John  Hubbard,  who  died  in  1665,  "  aged 
111  years."  Near  the  grave  of  Mrs.  Siddons  lies  Haydon,  the  ill-fated  painter,  who 
devoted  "  forty-two  years  to  the  improvement  of  the  taste  of  the  English  people  in  high 
art:"  he  lived  many  years  at  1,  Burwood-place,  Edgware-road ;  and  here,  June  22, 
1846,  with  his  own  hand,  he  terminated  the  fitful  fever  of  his  existence.  St.  Mary's 
Church  is  described  at  p.  187.  Next  was  built  Bayswater  Chapel,  by  Mr.  Orme,  the 
printseller,  in  1818;  Connaught  Chapel,  in  1826,  now  St.  John's;  and  at  the  western 
extremity  of  the  Grand  Junction-road,  St.  James's,  which  in  1845  became  the  parish 
church.  In  1844-6  was  built  Soly  Trinity  Church,  Bishop's-road  (see  p.  208) :  cost 
18.458Z.,  towards  which  the  Rev.  Mr.  Miles  gave  4000Z.  In  1847  was  erected,  in 
Cambridge-place,  All  Saints  Church,  upon  a  portion  of  the  site  of  the  old  Grand 
Junction  Waterworks'  reservoir,  at  the  end  of  Star-street.     St.  John's,  in  Southwick- 


PAINTED  CHAMBER,  THE.  625 

crescent,  has  a  fine  stained  window.  The  erection  of  Dissenters'  places  of  worship  was 
long  restricted  in  Paddington  by  the  Bishops  of  London ;  hut  there  are  several  chapels, 
including  one  for  the  Canal  hoatmen,  constructed  out  of  a  stable  and  coach-house.  At 
the  western  extremity  of  the  parish  is  a  large  Roman  Catholic  church. 

Padd\ngton  has  long  been  noted  for  its  old  public-houses.  The  White  Lion,  Edgware-road,  dates 
1521,  the  year  when  hops  were  first  imported.  At  the  Red  Lion,  near  the  Harrow-road,  tradition  says, 
Shakspeare  acted  ;  and  another  Bed  Lion,  formerly  near  the  Harrow-road  bridge  over  the  bourn,  is  de- 
scribed in  an  inquisition  of  Edward  VI.  In  this  road  is  also  an  ancient  Pack-horse ;  and  the  Wheat- 
aheaf,  Edgware-road,  was  a  favourite  resort  of  Ben  Jonson.    (See  Robins's  Paddington.) 

Paddington  and  Marylebone  appear  to  have  been  favoured  by  religious  enthusiasts. 
At  Xo.  26,  Manchester-street,  died,  in  1814,  the  notorious  Joanna  Southcott,  after  having 
imposed  upon  six  medical  men  with  the  absurd  story  of  her  being  about  to  give  birth 
to  the  young  "  Shiloh."  Richard  Brothers,  the  self-styled  "  Nephew  of  God,"  lodged 
at  No.  58,  Paddington-street,  and  died  in  Upper  Baker-street,  in  1824.  Spence,  the 
disciple  of  Emanuel  Swedenborg,  lived  in  Great  Marylebone-street :  he  was  known  as 
"  Dr.  Spence,"  when  he  was  the  only  surgeon  in  the  village  of  Marylebone.  Paddington, 
with  all  its  antique  fame,  does  not  make  us  forget  two  odd  things  that  have  been  said 
of  the  district : — 

"  Pitt  is  to  Addington, 
As  London  is  to  Paddington." — Canning. 

And  Lord  Byron  remarks :  "  Here  would  be  nothing  to  make  the  Canal  of  Venice  more 
poetical  than  that  of  Paddington,  were  it  not  for  its  artificial  adjuncts." 


PAINTED  CHAMBER,  THE, 

REPRESENTED  to  have  been  the  bed-chamber  and  death-place  of  Edward  the  Con- 
fessor, in  the  old  Palace  at  Westminster,  existed  in  its  fonndation-walls  until  the 
Great  Fire  in  1834.  It  was  also  called  St.  Edward's  Chamber;  and  assumed  its  second 
name  after  it  had  been  painted  by  order  of  Henry  III.  In  the  ceremonial  of  the  mar- 
riage of  Richard  Duke  of  York,  in  1477,  the  Painted  Chamber  is  called  St.  Edward's 
Chamber;  and  Sir  Edward  Coke,  in  his  Fourth  Institute,  states  that  the  causes  of 
Parliament  were  in  ancient  time  shown  in  La  Chambre  Depeint,  or  St.  Edward's 
Chamber.  This  interesting  historical  apartment  had  two  floors,  one  tessellated,  and 
the  other  boarded :  it  was  80  feet  6  in.  in  length,  26  feet  wide,  and  its  height  from 
the  upper  floor  was  31  feet.  The  ceiling,  temp.  Henry  III.,  was  dight  with  gilded  and 
painted  tracery,  including  small  wainscot  paterae,  variously  ornamented.  It  was  hung 
with  tapestries,  chiefly  representing  the  Siege  of  Troy,  probably  put  up  temp.  Charles 
II.  Sandford,  in  his  Coronation  of  James  II,  mentions  these  tapestries  as  "  Five 
pieces  of  the  Siege  of  Troy,  and  one  piece  of  Gardens  and  Fountains."  In  1800,  these 
hangings  and  the  wainscoting  were  removed,*  when  the  walls  and  window-jambs  were 
found  covered  with  paintings  of  the  battles  of  Maccabees ;  the  Seven  Brethren ;  St. 
John,  habited  as  a  pilgrim,  presenting  a  ring  to  King  Edward  the  Confessor ;  the 
canonization  of  King  Edward,  with  seraphim,  &c. ;  and  black-letter  Scripture  texts. 
The  paintings  are  noticed  in  the  MS.  Itinerary  of  Simon  Simeon  and  Hugo  the  Illu- 
minator (Franciscan  friars),  in  1322 ;  who  name  "  that  well-known  chamber,  on  whose 
walls  all  the  histories  of  the  wars  of  the  whole  Bible  are  painted  beyond  description  :" 
and  an  Exchequer  Roll,  20  Edw.  I.  anno  1292,  headed,  "p'ma  op'ac'o  picture,"  or  first 
work  of  Painting,  contains  an  account  of  the  disbursements  of  Master  Walter,  the 
painter,  for  the  emendation  of  the  pictures  in  the  King's  G-reat  Chamber,  as  the 
Painted  Chamber  was  then  called.^  Specimens  of  these  paintings  are  given  by  J.  T. 
Smith  in  his  Antiquities  of  Westminster ;  and  in  the  Vetusta  Monumenta,  vol.  vi. ;  and 
in  1835,  drawings  of  the  pictures  were  exhibited  to  the  Society  of  Antiquaries. 

In  the  Painted  Chamber,  Parliaments  were  opened,  before  the  Lords  sat  in  the 
Court  of  Requests.     Here  Conferences  of  both  Houses  were  held ;  here  sat  in  private 

*  About  the  year  1820,  the  tapestry  was  sold  to  Mr.  Charles  Yamold,  of  Great  St.  Helen's,  for  \0l. 

t  There  are  also  entries  in  the  Close  Rolls,  12  Hen.  III.  (1228),  for  painting  the  Great  Exchequer 
Chamber ;  and  1236,  for  the  King's  Great  Chamber ;  proving  that  oil-painting  was  practised  in  England 
nearly  two  centuries  before  its  presumed  discovery  by  John  van  Eyck,  in  1410. 

S  8 


626  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  High  Court  of  Justice  for  bringing  Charles  I.  to  trial ;  and  here  the  death-warrant 
of  the  unhappy  King  was  signed  by  the  Ilegicides.  The  body  of  Lord  Chatham  lay  in 
State  here.  After  the  Fire  of  1834,  the  walls  of  the  Chamber  were  roofed,  and  the  in- 
terior was  fitted  up  as  a  temporary  House  of  Lords.  Tlie  building  was  taken  down 
in  1852,  when  the  brick  and  stone  work  of  the  north  side,  and  the  ends  of  the 
Chamber,  including  several  Gothic  stone  window-cases,  were  sold  for  501. 

PAINTED  GLASS. 
THHE  finest  specimens  will  be  described  under  Windows,  Painted. 

PALACES,  ROYAL. 

THE  three  royal  metropolitan  palaces  are,  Buckingham  Palace,  the  residence  of  the 
Sovereign  and  the  Court ;  St.  James's  Palace,  used  exclusively  for  State  purposes ; 
and  Kensington  Palace,  the  birthplace  of  Her  Majesty,  1819 ;  and  where  she  held  her 
First  Council,  1837. 

Hatton  (in  1708)  says :  "  Of  Courts  of  our  Kings  and  Queens  there  were  heretofore  many  in  London 
and  Westminster  :  as  the  Tower  of  London,  where  some  believe  Julius  Ca?sar  lodged,  and  William  the 
Conqueror;  in  the  Old  Jewry,  where  Henry  VI. ;  Baynard's  Castle,  where  Henry  VII.;  Bridewell, 
where  King  John  and  Henry  VIII. ;  Tower  Moyal,  where  Richard  II.  and  King  Stephen ;  Wardrobe, 
in  Great  Carter-lane,  where  Richard  III. ;  also  at  Somerset  House,  kept  by  Queen  Elizabeth ;  and  at 
Westminster,  near  the  Hall,  where  Edward  the  Confessor  and  several  other  kings  kept  their  Courts. 
But  of  later  times,  the  place  for  the  Court,  when  in  town,  was  mostly  Whitehall;  a  very  pleasant  and 
commodious  situation,  looking  into  St.  James's  Park,  the  canal,  &c.  west,  and  the  noble  river  of  Thames 
east :  Privy  Gardens,  with  fountains,  statues,  &c,  and  an  open  prospect  to  the  statue  at  Charing  Cross, 
north.  This  palace  being,  in  January,  1697,  demolished  by  fire,  except  the  Banqueting  House  (built  by 
Inigo  Jones,  temp.  James  I.),  there  has  since  been  no  reception  for  the  Court  in  town  but  St.  James's 
Palace,  which  is  pleasantly  situated  by  the  Park ;  and  Whitehall  will  doubtless  be  rebuilt  in  a  short 
time,  being  designed  one  of  the  most  famous  palaces  in  Christendom. 

"  Her  Majesty  has  also  these  noble  palaces  for  the  Court  to  reside  in  at  pleasure :  Kensington  House 
(so  near,  that  it  may  be  said  to  be  in  town),  Campden  House,  Windsor  Castle,  Hampton  Court,  Win- 
chester House  ;  all  which  palaces,  for  pleasant  situation,  nobleness  of  building,  delightful  gardens  and 
walks,  externally ;  and  for  commodious,  magnificent  rooms,  rich  furniture,  and  curious  painting,  inter- 
nally,— cannot  be  matched  in  number  and  quality  by  any  one  prince  on  earth." 

Btjckinoham  Palace,  the  town  residence  of  the  Sovereign,  on  the  west  side  of  St. 
James's  Park,  was  built  by  Nash  and  Blore,  between  1825  and  1837,  upon  the  site  of 
Buckingham  House,  of  which  the  ground-floor  alone  remains.  The  northern  side  of 
the  site  was  a  portion  of  the  Mulberry -garden,  planted  by  James  I.  in  1609,  which  in 
the  next  two  reigns  became  a  public  garden.  Evelyn  describes  it  in  1654  as  "  ye  only 
place  of  refreshment  about  ye  towne  for  persons  of  ye  best  quality  to  be  exceedingly 
cheated  at ;"  and  Pepys  refers  to  it  as  "  a  silly  place,"  but  with  "  a  wilderness  some- 
what pretty."     It  is  a  favourite  locality  in  the  gay  comedies  of  Charles  II.'s  reign. 

Dryden  frequented  the  Mulberry  Gardens ;  and  according  to  a  contemporary,  the  poet  ate  tarts  there 
with  Mrs.  Anift  Reeve,  hit  mistress.  The  company  sat  in  arbours,  and  were  regaled  with  cheesecakes, 
syllabubs,  and  sweetened  wine,  wine-and-water  at  dinner,  and  a  dish  of  tea  afterwards.  Sometimes  the 
ladies  wore  masks.  "  The  country  ladys,  for  the  first  month,  take  up  their  places  in  the  Mulberry  Gar- 
dens as  early  as  a  citizen's  wife  at  anew.play." — Sir  C.  Sedley's  Mulberry  Garden,  1668. 
"  A  princely  palace  on  that  space  does  rise 
Where  Sedley's  noble  muse  found  mulberries." — Br.  King. 

Upon  the  above  part  of  the  garden  site  was  built  Goring  Souse,  let  to  the  Earl  of 
Arlington  in  1666,  and  thence  named  Arlington  Souse :  in  this  year  the  Earl  brought 
from  Holland,  for  60*.,  the  first  pound  of  tea  received  in  England ;  so  that,  in  all 
probability,  the  first  cup  of  tea  made  in  England  was  drunk  upon  the  site  of  Bucking- 
ham Palace.  There  is  a  rare  print  of  Arlington  House,  by  Sutton  Nichols,  and  a  copy 
by  John  Seago.  In  1698  the  property  was  sold  to  Sheffield,  Duke  of  Buckingham, 
for  whom  the  house  was  rebuilt  in  1703,  in  the  heavy  Dutch  style,  of  red  brick,  with 
stone  finishings.  Some  vignettes  of  the  mansion,  then  Buckingham  Souse,  are  en- 
graved at  the  heads  of  chapters,  and  in  illuminated  capitals,  of  the  second  volume  of 
the  collected  poems  of  Buckingham,  "  the  Muses'  friend,  himself  a  Muse."  On  the  four 
sides  he  inscribed,  in  gold,  four  pedantic  mottoes :  "  Sic  siti  laetantur  Lares ;"  "  Rus  in 
urbe ;"  "  Spectator  fastidiosus  sibi  molestus ;"  and  "  Lente  inccepit,  cito  perfecit."  The 
house  was  surmounted  with  lead  figures  of  Mercury,  Secrecy,  Equity,  Liberty,  Truth, 
and  Apollo ;  and  the  Four  Seasons.  Defoe  describes  it  as  "  one  of  the  great  beauties 
of  London,  both  by  reason  of  its  situation  and  its  building :"  its  fine  garden,  noble 


PALACE,  BUCKINGHAM.  627 

terrace  (with  prospect  of  open  country),  a  little  park  with  a  pretty  canal ;  and  the 
hasin  of  water,  and  Neptune  and  Tritons'  fountain  in  the  front  court.  The  Duke  of 
Buckingham,  in  a  letter  to  the  Duke  of  Shrewsbury,  minutely  describes  the  mansion : 
its  hall  painted  in  the  school  of  Raphael ;  its  parlour  by  Rieci ;  its  staircase  with  the 
story  of  Dido  ;  its  ceiling  with  gods  and  goddesses ;  and  its  grand  saloon  by  Gentileschi. 
The  flat  leaded  roof  was  balustraded  for  a  promenade  ,•  and  here  was  a  cistern  holding 
50  tons  of  water,  driven  up  by  an  engine  from  the  Thames. 

To  his  third  wife,  a  natural  daughter  of  James  II.  by  Catherine  Sedley,  the  Duke  was  tenderly 
attached,  and  studied  her  convenience  in  planning  Buckingham  House:  "the  highest  story  of  the  pri- 
vate apartments,"  he  tells  us,  "  is  fitted  for  the  women  and  children,  with  the  floors  so  contrived  as  to 
prevent  all  noise  over  my  wife's  head  during  the  mysteries  of  Lucina." 

Buckingham  House  was  purchased  by  George  III.  for  21,000£.  in  1762,  shortly 
after  the  birth  of  the  Prince  of  Wales  at  St.  James's  Palace  :  their  Majesties  soon 
removed  here,  and  all  their  succeeding  children  were  born  here.  In  1775  the  property 
was  settled  on  Queen  Charlotte  (in  exchange  for  Somerset  House),  and  thenceforth 
Buckingham  House  was  called  "  the  Queen's  House."  Here  the  King  collected  his 
magnificent  library,  now  in  the  British  Museum  (see  p.  584).  Dr.  Johnson,  by  per- 
mission of  the  librarian,  frequently  consulted  books ;  and  here  he  held  his  memorable 
conversation  with  George  III. 

"  It  is  curious  that  the  royal  collector  (George  III.)  and  his  venerable  librarian  (Mr.  Barnard)  should 
have  survived  almost  sixty  years  after  commencing  the  formation  of  this,  the  most  complete  private 
library  in  Europe,  steadily  appropriating  2000Z.  per  annum  to  this  object,  and  adhering  with  scrupulous 
attention  to  the  instructions  of  Dr.  Johnson,  contained  in  the  admirable  letter  printed  by  order  of  the 
House  of  Commons." — Quarterly  Review,  June,  1826. 

In  1766  the  Cartoons  of  Raphael  were  removed  here,  to  an  octagonal  apartment 
at  the  south-east  angle :  thence  they  were  transferred  to  Windsor  Castle  in  1788.  The 
Saloon  was  superbly  fitted  as  the  Throne-room,  and  here  Queen  Charlotte  held  her 
public  drawing-rooms;  in  the  Crimson,  Blue  Velvet,  and  other  rooms,  was  a  fine 
collection  of  pictures.  Thus  the  mansion  remained  until  1825,  externally  •*  dull, 
dowdy,  and  decent ;  nothing  more  than  a  large,  substantial,  and  respectable-looking 
red  brick  house." 

The  Palace,  as  reconstructed  by  Nash,  consisted  of  three  sides  of  a  square,  Roman- 
Corinthian,  raised  upon  a  Doric  basement,  with  pediments  at  the  ends ;  the  fourth 
side,  enclosed  by  iron  palisades,  with  a  central  entrance  arch  of  white  marble,  adapted 
from  that  of  Constantine  at  Rome.  Mr.  Nash  was  succeeded  by  Mr.  Blore,  who 
raised  the  building  a  story ;  and  the  palace  was  opened  for  public  inspection  in  1831; 
when  appeared,  in  Fraser's  Magazine,  an  architectural  description  of  the  Palace, 
written  by  Allan  Cunningham.  William  IV.  and  Queen  Adelaide  did  not  remove 
here ;  but  on  July  13,  1837,  Queen  Victoria  took  up  her  residence  here.  In  1846- 
the  erection  of  the  east  side  was  commenced ;  and  in  1851  the  Marble  Arch  was  re- 
moved to  the  north-east  corner  of  Hyde  Park.  There  have  since  been  added  a  spacious 
Ball-room,  &c,  on  the  south  side  of  the  Palace. 

The  East  Front  of  Buckingham  Palace  is  German,  of  the  last  century :  its  extent 
is  360  feet,  height  77  feet ;  extreme  height  of  centre  90  feet ;  frontage  70  feet  in 
advance  of  the  former  wings.  The  four  central  gate-piers  are  capped  by  an  heraldic 
lion  and  unicorn,  and  dolphins ;  and  the  state  entrances  have  golden  grilles  of  rich 
design.  The  wings  are  surmounted  by  statues  of  Morning,  Noon  (Apollo),  and 
Night ;  the  Hours,  and  the  Seasons ;  and  upon  turrets  flanking  the  central  shield 
(bearing  "V.  R.  1847")  are  colossal  figures  of  Britannia  and  St.  George;  besides 
groups  of  trophies,  festoons  of  flowers,  &c.  The  Royal  Standard  is  hoisted  on  the  west 
front  when  her  Majesty  is  resident  at  the  Palace.  The  inner  front  has  a  central 
double  portico;  the  tympanum  is  filled  with  sculpture,  and  the  pediment  crowned 
with  statues  of  Neptune,  Commerce,  and  Navigation  in  the  centre.  Around  the 
entire  building  is  a  scroll  frieze  of  the  rose,  shamrock,  and  thistle.  The  Garden  or 
Western  Front,  architecturally  the  principal  one,  has  five  Corinthian  towers,  and  a 
balustraded  terrace;  the  upper  portion  having  statues,  trophies,  and  bas-reliefs,  by 
Flaxman  and  other  sculptors.     The  materials  are  Portland-stone  and  cement. 

The  Marble  Sail  and  Sculpture  Gallery  have  mosaic  bordered  floors,  and  ranges 
of  Carrara  columns  with  mosaic  gold  bases   and   capitals.      The  sculptures  consist 

3  3   2 


628  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

chiefly  of  busts  of  the  Royal  Family  and  eminent  statesmen.  Beyond  the  Sculpture 
Gallery  is  the  Library.  The  Grand  Staircase  is  marble,  with  ormolu  acanthus 
balustrades :  the  ceiling  has  frescoes  by  Townsend,  of  Morning,  Evening,  Noon,  and 
Night,  on  a  gold  ground ;  besides  wreaths  of  flowers,  imitative  marbles,  &c,  in  the 
Italian  manner.  The  brief  pageant  of  the  Queen  leaving  the  Palace  to  proceed  in 
state  to  open  Parliament  may  be  witnessed  by  Tickets  of  admission  to  the  Hall, 
issued  by  the  Lord  Great  Chamberlain.  Upon  such  occasions,  the  Yeomen  of  the 
Guard,  Yeomen  Porters,  and  other  official  persons,  in  their  rich  costumes,  while  the 
Sovereign  proceeds  to  the  State-carriage,  present  a  magnificent  scene.  The  Vesti- 
bule is  richly  decorated  with  vermilion  and  gold :  here  are  a  marble  statue  of  the 
Queen,  by  Gibson,  R.A. ;  and  of  Prince  Albert,  by  Wyatt ;  also  bas-reliefs  of  Peace 
and  War,  by  John  Thomas.  The  looking-glass  and  ormolu  doors  cost  300  guineas  a-pair, 
and  each  mosaic  gold  capital  and  base  30  guineas. 

The  principal  State  Apartments  are  :  the  Green  Drawing-room,  in  the  centre  of  the 
east  front,  and  opening  upon  the  upper  portico :  for  state  balls,  Tippoo  Sahib's  Tent  is 
added  to  this  room,  upon  the  portico,  and  is  lighted  by  a  gorgeous  '*  Indian  sun," 
8  feet  in  diameter.  Next  is  the  Throne  Boom,  which  is  64  feet  in  length  :  the  walls 
are  hung  with  crimson  satin ;  and  the  coved  ceiling  is  emblazoned  with  arms,  and 
gilded  in  the  boldest  Italian  style  of  the  fifteenth  century.  Beneath  is  a  white 
marble  frieze,  sculptured  by  Baily,  with  the  Wars  of  the  Roses,  Stothard's  last 
great  design.*  On  the  north  side  of  the  apartment  is  an  alcove,  with  crimson 
velvet  hangings,  gilding,  and  emblazonry,  and  a  fascia  of  massive  gilt  wreaths 
and  figures.  In  this  recess  is  placed  the  Royal  throne,  or  chair  of  state ; 
seated  in  which,  surrounded  by  her  Ministers,  great  officers  of  State,  and  the 
Court,  her  Majesty  receives  addresses.  In  this  room  also  are  held  Privy  Councils. 
The  Picture  Gallery,  in  the  centre  of  the  palace,  is  about  180  feet  in  length  by  26  feet 
in  breadth,  and  has  a  semi-Gothic  roof,  with  a  triple  row  of  ground-glass  lights, 
hearing  the  stars  of  all  the  orders  of  knighthood  in  Europe;  but  Yon  Raumer  con- 
siders the  light  false  and  insufficient,  and  broken  by  the  architectural  decorations. 
Occasionally,  this  gallery  has  been  used  as  a  ball-room,  and  for  state  banquets. 

The  door-cases  have  colossal  caryatidal  figures,  and  are  gorgeously  gilt ;  and  the 
marble  chimney-pieces  are  sculptured  with  medallion  portraits  of  great  painters. 

The  collection  of  pictures  formed  by  George  IV.  is  pre-eminently  rich  in  Dutch  and  Flemish  art. 
The  chief  exceptions  are  Reynolds's  Death  of  Dido, his  Cymon  and  Iphigenia,  and  Sir  Joshua's  portrait 
in  spectacles ;  the  Penny  Wedding,  and  Blind  Man's  Buff,  by  Wilkie ;  a  Landscape  by  Gainsborough, 
and  a  few  recent  English  works ;  and  4  pictures  by  Watteau.  In  the  collection  are  an  Altar-piece  by 
Albert  Durcr;  7  pictures  by  Rembrandt,  including  the  Shipbuilder  and  his  Wife,  for  which  George  IV., 
when  Prince  of  Wales,  gave  6000  guineas ;  Rubens,  7 ;  Marriage  of  St.  Catherine,  and  4  others,  by  Van- 
dyke; Vandervelde,  7;  younger  Vandervelde,  4;  G.  Dow,  8;  Paul  Potter,  4;  A.  Ostade,  9;  younger 
Teniers,  14 ;  Vandcrmeulen,  13 ;  Wouvermans,  9 ;  Cuyp,  9. 

In  the  State  Rooms  are  royal  portraits,  by  Kneller,  Lely,  A.  Ramsay,  N.  Dance,  Copley,  Gainsborough, 
Wright,  Lawrence,  Wilkie,  Winterhalter,  &c. 

In  the  Western  Front  is  the  Grand  (central)  Saloon,  north  of  which  is  the  Yellow 
Dratcing-room,  communicating  with  the  Private  Apartments  of  her  Majesty,  which 
extend  along  the  north  front  of  the  palace.  The  Grand  Saloon  has  a  semicircular 
bay,  and  scagliola  lapis-lazuli  columns  with  mosaic  gold  capitals,  supporting  a  rich 
architrave,  and  bas-relief  of  children  with  emblems  of  music ;  the  domed  ceilings  are 
richly  gilt  with  roses,  shamrocks,  and  thistles,  acanthus-leaves,  and  the  royal  arms 
in  the  spandrels.  The  large  apartment,  formerly  the  State  Ball-room,  north  of  the 
Grand  Saloon,  has  scagliola  porphyry  Corinthian  columns,  with  gilded  capitals,  carrying 
an  entablature  and  coved  ceiling,  elaborately  gilt :  here  are  Winterhalter's  portraits  of 
the  Queen  and  Prince  Albert ;  and  Vandyke's  Charles  I.  and  Henrietta- Maria.  South 
of  the  Ball-room  is  the  State  Dining-room,  which  has  an  elegantly  wrought  ceiling, 
and  circular  panels  bearing  the  regal  crown  and  the  monogram  V.  R. ;  the  whole  in 
stone  tint :  here  are  Lawrence's  whole  length  of  George  IV.  in  his  coronation  robes, 
and  other  royal  portraits. 

The  South  Wing,  added  since  1850,  contains  the  kitchen  and  other  domestic  offices, 

*  The  venerable  Stothard  was  between  seventy  and  eisrhty  years  old  when  he  designed  this  frieze; 
yet  it  possesses  all  the  vigour  and  imagination  which  had  distinguished  his  best  days.  The  drawings 
were  sold  at  Christie's,  on  the  decease  ol  the  painter;  Mr.  Samuel  Rogers  became  the  purchaser. 


PALACE,  BUCKINGHAM.  629 


on  the  two  lower  stories;  and  above  them,  a  Ball-room,  139  feet  long;  Supper-room,  76 
feet ;  and  Promenade-gallery,  109  feet ;  the  wing  harmonizing  with  the  Palace,  as 
built  for  George  IV.  The  Ball-room  was  designed  to  be  used  for  State-balls,  State 
concerts,  and,  on  special  occasions,  as  a  State  reception-room  and  banqueting  room. 
Tbe  ceiling  is  divided  by  broad  and  deep  bands  into  twenty-one  square  compartments, 
resting  on  a  bold  and  highly-enriched  cove,  which  runs  round  the  whole  room.  The 
enrichments  are  all  executed  in  plaster,  carefully  modelled  and  highly  finished.  The 
walls  on  each  side  of  the  room  are  divided  into  thirteen  compartments.  Fourteen  of 
the  twenty-six  are  windows,  the  others  being  filled  in  with  paintings,  representing  the 
twelve  hours,  copied  from  the  small  originals  by  Raphael,  existing  in  Rome.  The  j 
silk  hangings  of  the  walls  were  woven  in  Lyons,  from  a  design  made  to  suit  the  room.    | 

The  lighting  of  the  room  is  peculiar,  and  very  effective.  In  each  compartment  of  the  ceiling  there 
is  a  large  sunlight  gas-burner  (21  in  all),  each  enclosed  in  a  chandelier  or  lustre  of  richly-cut  glass, 
executed  by  Osier,  and  forming  a  brilliant  pendant  in  the  centre  of  each  compartment.  A  great  portion 
of  the  light  is,  however,  obtained,  and  a  most  brilliant  effect  is  produced,  by  the  novel  method  of  illumi- 
nating the  fourteen  windows,  which  in  most  rooms  are  left  either  as  dark  blots,  or  are  concealed  by 
draperies.  Next  the  room  these  windows  are  glazed  with  deeply-cut  glass  stars  of  large  size,  surrounded 
by  borders  similarly  cut,  and  lighted  by  gas-burners,  arranged  between  the  outer  and  inner  sashes  in 
such  manner  as  to  bring  out  the  full  brilliancy  of  the  cut-glass  in  all  its  detail.  Great  attention  has 
been  paid  to  the  ventilation  of  the  room.  There  are  also  ten  magnificent  candelabra  of  gilt  bronze, 
each  holding  43  wax  candles,  and  standing  upon  the  raised  platform. 

At  the  west  end  a  kind  of  throne  or  recess  has  been  formed  for  the  Queen,  with  Corinthian  columns 
carrying  an  entablature  and  a  bold  detached  archivolt,  on  which  rests  a  medallion,  containing  the  pro- 
files of  her  Majesty  and  the  Prince  Consort,  supported  by  emblematic  figures  of  History  and  Fame; 
these,  and  all  other  sculptures,  around  the  doors,  above  the  large  mirrors  placed  opposite  the  doors,  and 
throughout  the  whole  suite  of  apartments,  were  executed  by  Mr.  Theed.  The  recess  formed  at  the  east 
end,  above  the  attendants'  rooms,  is  appropriated  to  the  organ  and  the  orchestra;  the  latter,  for  70  per- 
formers, can  be  enlarged  for  120. 

The  merit  of  the  architectural  sculptures  is  their  nationality.  The  friezes  and  re- 
liefs of  scenes  in  British  history  are  mostly  by  Baily,  R.A. :  those  of  Alfred  expelling 
the  Danes,  and  delivering  the  Laws,  on  the  garden-front,  and  the  Progress  of  Naviga- 
tion, on  the  main  front,  are  fine  compositions ;  as  are  also  Stothard's  Wars  of  the 
Roses,  in  the  Throne-room ;  and  the  eastern  frieze  of  the  rose,  shamrock,  and  thistle. 
But  the  marble  chimney-pieces  and  door-cases,  sculptured  with  caryatides,  fruit  and 
flowers,  and  architectural  ornament,  often  present  a  strange  mixture  of  fragments  of 
Egypt,  Greece,  Etruria,  Rome,  and  the  Middle  Ages,  in  the  same  apartment. 

In  the  garden  were  formerly  two  Ionic  Conservatories ;  the  southernmost  of  which 
is  now  the  Palace  Chapel,  consecrated  by  the  Archbishop  of  Canterbury,  March  25, 
1813.  The  aisles  are  formed  by  rows  of  Composite  cast-iron  columns ;  and  at  the  west 
end,  facing  the  altar,  is  the  Queen's  closet,  supported  upon  Ionic  columns  from  the 
screen  of  Carlton  House.  In  the  garden  is  the  western  boundary-stone  of  the  parish  of 
St.  Martin's-in-the- Fields,  where,  on  Holy  Thursday  is  performed  the  ceremony  of 
"  striking  the  stone." 

The  Pleasure-grounds  comprise  about  40  acres,  including  the  lake  of  5  acres ;  at  the 
verge  of  which,  upon  a  lofty  artificial  mound,  is  a  picturesque  pavilion,  or  garden-house, 
with  a  minaret  roof.  In  the  centre  is  an  octagonal  room,  with  figures  of  Midnight  and 
Dawn ;  and  8  lunettes,  painted  in  fresco,  from  Milton's  Comus,  by  Eastlake,  Maclise, 
Landseer,  Dyce,  Stanfield,  Uwins,  Leslie,  and  Ross;  besides  relief  arabesques,  medallions, 
figures  and  groups,  from  Milton's  poems.  On  the  right  is  a  room  decorated  in  the 
Pompeian  style,  copied  from  existing  remains.  The  apartment  on  the  left  is  embel- 
lished in  the  romantic  style,  from  the  novels  and  poems  of  Sir  Walter  Scott.  (See 
Gruner's  Illustrations,  described  by  Mrs.  Jameson.) 

Buckingham  Palace  has  been  the  scene  of  two  superb  Costume  Balls — in  1842 
and  1845  :  the  first  in  the  style  of  the  reign  of  Edward  III. ;  and  the  fete  in  1845  in 
the  taste  of  George  II.'s  reign. 

The  Royal  Mews  is  described  at  p.  565.  The  Riding-house  has  been  covered 
with  cement  ornamentation ;  in  the  pediment  is  a  large  equestrian  group,  sculptured 
by  Theed,  and  upon  the  walls  have  been  placed  several  large  circular  vases;  the  bank 
has  here  been  raised  and  planted  with  trees,  to  screen  the  palace-garden. 

Immediately  under  the  Palace  passes  "  The  King's  Scholars'  Pond  Sewer,"  the  main  drain  of  one  of 
the  principal  divisions  of  the  Westminster  connexion  of  sewers,  occupying  the  whole  channel  of  a 
rivulet  formerly  known  as  Tye  Brook,  having  its  source  at  Hampstead,  and  draining  an  area  of  20C0 


630  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

acres,  1500  of  whi'ch  are  covered  with  houses.  A  large  portion  of  the  sewer  arches  was  reconstructed, 
under  densely-populated  neighbourhoods,  without  any  suspicion  on  the  part  of  the  inhabitants  of  what 
was  going  on  a  few  feet  below  the  foundations  of  their  houses.  In  its  present  complete  state,  this  is, 
perhaps,  one  of  the  most  remarkable  and  extensive  pieces  of  sewerage  ever  executed  in  this  or  any 
other  country. 

St.  James's  Palace,  Westminster,  on  the  north  side  of  St.  James's  Park,  and  at 
the  western  end  of  Pall  Mall,  occupies  the  site  of  a  hospital,  founded  hy  some  pious 
citizens  prior  to  the  Norman  Conquest,  for  fourteen  leprous  females,  to  whom  eight 
brethren  were  added  to  perform  divine  service.  The  good  work  was  dedicated  to  St. 
James,  and  was  endowed  hy  the  citizens  with  lands ;  and  in  1290,  Edward  I.  granted 
to  the  foundation  the  privilege  of  an  annual  Fair,  to  he  held  on  the  eve  of  St.  James 
and  six  following  days.  The  house  was  rebuilt  hy  Berkynge,  abbot  of  Westminster, 
in  Henry  III.'s  reign;  and  in  1450  its  perpetual  custody  was  granted  by  Henry  VI. 
to  Eton  College.  In  1532,  Henry  VIII.  obtained  the  hospital  in  exchange  for  Chat- 
tisham  and  other  lands  in  Suffolk :  he  then  dismissed  the  inmates,  pensioned  the  sister- 
hood ;  and  having  pulled  down  the  ancient  structure,  he  "  purchased  all  the  meadows 
about  St.  James's,  and  there  made  a  faire  mansion  and  a  parke  for  his  greater  com- 
moditie  and  pleasure"  (Solinshed) :  the  Sutherland  View  of  1543  shows  the  palace  far 
away  in  the  fields.  "  The  Manor  House,"  as  it  was  then  called,  is  believed  to  have 
been  planned  by  Holbein,  and  built  under  the  direction  of  Cromwell,  Earl  of  Essex. 
Henry's  gatehouse  and  turrets  face  St.  James's-street :  the  original  hospital,  to  judge 
from  certain  remains  of  stone  mullions,  labels,  and  other  masonry,  found  in  1838,  on 
taking  down  some  parts  of  the  Chapel  Royal,  was  of  the  Norman  period.  It  was 
occasionally  occupied  by  Henry  as  a  semi-rural  residence,  down  to  the  period  when 
Wolsey  surrendered  Whitehall  to  the  Crown.  Edward  and  Elizabeth  rarely  resided  at 
St.  James's :  but  Mary  made  it  the  place  of  her  gloomy  retirement  during  the  absence 
-of  her  husband,  Philip  of  Spain :  here  she  expired.  The  Manor  House,  with  all  its 
appurtenances,  except  the  park  and  the  stables  or  the  mews,  were  granted  by  James  I. 
to  his  son  Henry  in  1610;  at  whose  death,  in  1612,  they  reverted  to  the  Crown. 
Charles  I.  enlarged  the  palace,  and  most  of  his  children  (including  Charles  II.)  were 
born  in  it :  here  he  deposited  the  gallery  of  antique  statues  principally  collected  for 
him  by  Sir  Kenelm  Digby.  In  this  reign  was  fitted  up  the  chapel  of  the  hospital, 
on  the  west  side,  as  the  Chapel  Royal,  described  at  pp.  140-1.  Here  Charles  I.  attended 
divine  service  on  the  morning  of  his  execution ;  "  from  hence  the  king  walked  through 
the  Park,  guarded  with  a  regiment  of  foot  and  partisans,  to  Whitehall."  (Whitelock's 
Memorials,  p.  374.)  The  Queen's  Chapel,  now  the  German  Chapel,  was  built  for 
Catherine  of  Braganza,  in  the  friary  of  the  conventual  establishment  founded  here  by 
her  Majesty,  under  the  direction  of  Cardinal  Howard. 

The  Queen  first  heard  mass  there  on  Sunday,  September  21,  1662,  when  Lady  Castlemaine,  though 
a  Protestant,  and  the  King's  avowed  mistress,  attended  her  as  one  of  her  maids  of  honour.  Pepys 
describes  "  the  fine  altar  ornaments,  the  fryers  in  their  habits,  and  the  priests  with  their  fine  crosses, 
and  many  other  fine  things." — Diary,  vol.  i.  p.  312. 

At  "  St.  James's  House"  Monk  resided  while  planning  the  Restoration.  In  the  old 
bed-chamber,  now  the  ante-chamber  to  the  levee-room,  was  born  James  (the  old  Pre- 
tender), the  son  of  James  II.  by  Mary  of  Modena  :  the  bed  stood  close  to  the  back 
stairs,  and  favoured  the  scandal  of  the  child  being  conveyed  in  a  warming-pan  to  the 
Queen's  bed.  In  this  reign  Verrio,  the  painter,  was  keeper  of  the  palace- gardens. 
During  the  Civil  Wars,  St.  James's  became  the  prison-house,  for  nearly  three  years, 
of  the  Duke  of  York  and  Duke  of  Gloucester,  and  the  Princess  Elizabeth :  on  April  20, 
1648,  the  Duke  of  York  escaped  from  the  palace-garden  into  the  Park,  through  the 
Spring  Garden,  to  a  hackney-coach  in  waiting  for  him ;  and,  in  female  disguise,  he 
reached  a  Dutch  vessel  below  Gravesend.  After  the  Restoration,  the  Duke  occupied 
St.  James's ;  and  one  of  its  rooms  was  hung  with  portraits  of  the  Court  Beauties,  by 
Sir  Peter  Lely.  Here  the  Duke  slept  the  night  before  his  coronation  as  James  II.,  and 
next  morning  proceeded  to  Whitehall. 

On  December  18,  1688,  William  Prince  of  Orange  came  to  St.  James's,  where,  three 
days  afterwards,  the  peers  assembled,  and  the  household  and  other  officers  of  the 
abdicated  sovereign  laid  down  their  badges.  Evelyn  says :  "  All  the  world  goes  to  see 
the  Prince  at  St.  James's,  where  there  is  a  greate  court.     There  I  saw  him :  he  is 


PALACE,  ST.  JAMES'S.  631 

very  stately,  serious,  and  reserved."  {Diary,  vol.  i.  p.  680.)  King  William  occasionally 
held  councils  here :  but  it  was  not  until  alter  the  burning  of  Whitehall,  in  1697,  that 
this  Palace  became  used  for  state  ceremonies,  whence  dates  the  Court  of  St.  James's. 
William  and  Mary,  however,  resided  chiefly  at  Kensington ;  and  St.  James's  was  next 
fitted  up  for  George  Prince  of  Denmark,  and  the  Princess  Anne,  who,  on  her  accession 
to  the  throne,  considerably  enlarged  the  edifice.  George  I.  lived  here  like  a  private 
gentleman ;  in  1727  he  gave  a  banquet  here  to  the  entire  Court  of  Common  Council. 
The  fourth  plate  of  Hogarth's  "  Rake's  Progress"  shows  St.  James's  Palace  gateway 
in  1735,  with  the  quaint  carriages  and  chairs  arriving  on  the  birthday  of  Caroline, 
George  II.'s  consort :  her  Majesty  died  at  St.  James's  in  1737.  The  wing  facing 
Cleveland-row  was  built  for  Frederick  Prince  of  Wales,  on  his  marriage  in  1736. 
The  State  Rooms  were  enlarged  on  the  accession  Of  George  III.,  whose  marriage  was 
celebrated  here  September  6,  1761.  George  IV.  was  born  here  August  12,  1762 ; 
and  shortly  afterwards  the  Queen's  bed  was  removed  to  the  Great  Drawing-room,  and 
company  were  admitted  to  see  the  infant  prince  on  drawing-room  days.  The  court 
■was  held  here  during  the  reign  of  George  III.,  though  his  domestic  residence  was  at 
Buckingham  House.  St.  James's  was  refitted  on  the  marriage  of  the  Prince  of  Wales, 
April  8,  1795,  in  the  Chapel  Royal.  On  January  21,  1809,  the  east  wing  of  the 
palace,  including  their  majesties'  private  apartments  and  those  of  the  Duke  of  Cam- 
bridge, was  destroyed  by  fire,  and  has  not  been  rebuilt.  In  1814  the  State  Apartments 
were  fitted  up  for  the  Emperor  of  Russia  and  the  King  of  Prussia,  when  also  Marshal 
Bluchcr  was  an  inmate  of  the  palace.  In  1822  a  magnificent  banqueting-hall  was 
added  to  the  state-rooms.  In  January,  1827,  the  remains  of  the  Duke  of  York  lay 
in  state  in  the  palace.  William  IV.  and  Queen  Adelaide  resided  here ;  but  since  the 
accession  of  her  present  Majesty,  St.  James's  has  only  been  used  for  courts,  levees  and 
drawing-rooms,  and  occasionally  for  State-balls. 

The  lofty  brick  gatehouse  bears  upon  its  roof  the  bell  of  the  Great  Clock,  dated 
A.D.  1731,  and  inscribed  with  the  name  of  Clay,  clockmaker  to  George  II.  It  strikes 
the  hours  and  quarters  upon  three  bells,  requires  to  be  wound  every  day,  and  originally 
had  only  one  hand.  A  print  of  the  court-yard,  with  the  meeting  of  Mary  de  Medicis 
and  her  daughter  Henrietta-Maria,  in  1638,  shows  a  dial  which  must  have  belonged 
to  a  previous  clock.  The  present  clock  was  under  the  care  of  the  Vulliamys,  the  Royal 
clockmakers,  from  1743,  until  the  death  of  B.  L.  Vulliamy. 

When  the  gatehouse  was  repaired  in  1831,  the  clock  was  removed,  and  not  put  up  again,  on  account 
of  the  roof  being  reported  unsafe  to  carry  the  weight.  The  inhabitants  of  the  neighbourhood  then  me- 
morialized William  IV.  for  the  replacement  of  the  timekeeper:  the  King,  having  ascertained  its  weight, 
shrewdly  inquired  how,  if  the  palace  roof  was  not  strong  enough  to  carry  the  clock,  it  was  safe  for  the 
number  of  persons  occasionally  seen  upon  it  to  witness  processions,  &c.  The  clock  was  forthwith  re- 
placed, and  a  minute-hand  was  added,  with  new  dials :  the  original  dials  were  of  wainscot,  in  a  great 
number  of  very  small  pieces,  curiously  dovetailed  together. 

The  gatehouse  enters  the  quadrangle,  named  the  Colour  Court,  from  the  colours  of 
the  military  guard  of  honour  being  placed  here :  in  this  court  one  of  the  three  regiments 
of  Foot  Guards  is  relieved  alternately  every  morning  at  eleven  o'clock,  when  the  keys 
of  the  garrison  are  delivered  and  the  regimental  standard  exchanged,  during  the  per- 
formance of  the  bands  of  music.  Westward  is  the  Ambassadors'  Court,  where  are  the 
apartments  of  certain  branches  of  the  Royal  Family ;  and  beyond  it  the  Stable-  Yard, 
anciently  the  stable-yard  of  the  palace,  and  where  was  the  Queen's  Library,  upon  the 
site  of  Stafford  House.  Here  is  Clarence  House,  described  at  p.  547.  On  the  east 
side  is  the  Lord  Chamberlain's  office,  where  permission  may  be  obtained  to  view  the 
palace.  Eastward  of  the  gatehouse  is  the  Office  of  the  Board  of  Green  Cloth  ,•  and 
still  further,  the  office  of  the  Lord  Steward  of  Her  Majesty's  Household.  Beyond  are 
the  gates  leading  to  the  quadrangle,  known  of  old  as  "  the  Chair  Court."  The  State 
Apartments,  in  the  south  front  of  the  palace,  front  the  garden  and  St.  James's  Park. 
The  Sovereign  enters  by  the  garden  gate ;  and  it  was  here,  on  the  2nd  of  August,  1796, 
that  Margaret  Nicholson  attempted  to  assassinate  George  III.  as  he  was  alighting 
from  his  carriage.  The  State  Apartments  are  reached  by  the  Great  Staircase,  the 
Entree  Gallery,  the  Guard  Chamber  (its  walls  covered  with  weapons  in  fanciful 
devices),  and  a  similar  apartment.  Here  are  stationed  the  Yeomen  of  the  Queen's 
Guard;  and  tbe  honours  of  the  Guard-Chamber  are  paid  to  distinguished  personages 


632  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

on  levee  and  drawing-room  days.  George  III.  held  Drawing-rooms  much  more  fre- 
quently than  they  are  held  at  present.  To  quote  the  Court  Guide  of  1792,  "  the 
King's  Levee  days  are  Wednesday  and  Friday,  and  likewise  Monday  during  the  sitting 
of  Parliament ;  his  Drawing-room  days  every  Sunday  and  Thursday." 

Yeomen  of  the  Guard  were  first  instituted  in  1485,  by  Henry  VII.,  upon  the  model  of  a  somewhat 
similar  band  retained  by  Louis  XI.  of  France.  They  were  at  first  archers;  but  on  the  death  of 
William  III.  all  took  the  partisan,  as  now  carried.  The  dress  has  continued  almost  unaltered  since 
the  reign  of  Charles  II. 

The  Corps  of  Oentlemen-at-Arms  (changed  from  Pensioners  by  William  IV.)  was  instituted  by 
Henry  VIII.,  disbanded  during  the  Civil  Wars,  but  reconstructed  at  the  Restoration,  and  at  the  Revo- 
lution of  1688.  In  1745,  when  George  II.  raised  his  standard  on  Finchley  Common,  these  "  Gentlemen" 
were  ordered  to  provide  themselves  with  horses  and  equipment  to  attend  his  Majesty  to  the  field. 
Their  present  uniform  is  scarlet  and  gold :  and  the  corps  carry  on  parade  small  battle-axes  covered 
with  crimson  velvet.  On  April  10, 1848,  on  the  apprehension  of  a  Chartist  outbreak,  St.  James's  Palace 
was  garrisoned  and  guarded  by  these  ancient  bodies. 

Beyond  the  Guard-Chamber  is  the  Tapestry  Room,  hung  with  gorgeous  tapestry 
made  for  Charles  II.,  and  representing  the  amours  of  Venus  and  Mars.  The  stone 
Tudor  arch  of  the  fireplace  is  sculptured  with  the  letters  H.  A.  (Henry  and  Anne 
Boleyn),  united  by  a  true-lover's  knot,  surmounted  by  a  regal  crown ;  also  the  lily  of 
France,  the  portcullis  of  Westminster,  and  the  rose  of  Lancaster.  Here  the  sovereigns 
of  the  House  of  Brunswick,  on  the  death  of  their  predecessors,  are  received  by  the 
Privy  Council,  and  from  the  capacious  bay  window  proclaimed  and  presented  to  the 
people  assembled  in  the  outer  court,  where  are  the  sergeants-at-arms  and  band  of 
household  trumpeters.  The  proclamation  of  her  present  Majesty,  on  June  21,  1837, 
was  a  touching  spectacle.  Next  the  Tapestry-Room  is  Queen  Anne's  Room,  the  first 
of  the  four  great  state  apartments.  In  this  room  the  remains  of  Frederick  Duke  of 
York  lay  in  State  in  January  1827.  This  apartment  opens  to  the  Ante-Drawing- 
Room,  leading  by  three  doors  into  the  Presence  Chamber  or  Throne  Room,  beyond 
which  is  the  Queen's  Closet.  The  throne,  at  the  upper  end  of  the  Presence  Chamber, 
is  large  and  stately,  and  emblazoned  with  arms :  the  window-draperies  here  and  in 
the  Queen's  Closet  are  of  splendid  tissu-de-verre.  The  entire  suite  is  gorgeously  gilt, 
hung  with  crimson  Spitalfields  damasks,  brocades,  and  velvets,  embroidered  with  gold ; 
and  the  Wilton  carpets  bear  the  royal  arms. 

The  public  are  admitted  to  the  corridor  by  tickets  to  see  the  company  upon  Draw- 
ing-room days ;  and  upon  certain  occasions,  when  bulletins  of  the  health  of  the  sove- 
reign are  issued,  they  are  shown  to  the  public  as  they  pass  through  the  state-rooms. 

Pictures  in  the  State  Apartments. — Large  paintings  of  the  Siege  of  Tournay,  and  the  Siege  of  Lisle 
by  the  Duke  of  Marlborough.  Portraits  of  Charles  II.,  George  I.,  George  II.,  and  Queen  Anne; 
George  III.,  the  Prince  of  Wales,  and  the  Duke  of  York,  by  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds ;  George  IV.  and  the 
Duke  of  York,  by  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence.  Count  La  Lippe,  and  the  Marquis  of  Granby,  by  Sir  Joshua 
Reynolds.  Beauties  of  the  Court  of  Charles  II.,  copied  from  Hampton  Court.  Lord  Nelson,  Earl  St. 
Vincent,  and  Lord  Rodney,  by  Hoppner.  The  Battles  of  Vittoria  and  Waterloo,  by  G.  Jones,  R.A.  In 
the  Entree  Gallery  are  whole-length  portraits  of  Henry  VIII.,  reputed  by  Holbein;  Queen  Mary; 
Queen  Elizabeth,  by  Zucchero ;  James  I.,  Charles  I.,  after  Vandyke ;  Charles  II.,  James  II.,  and  William 
and  Mary. 

The  curious  pictures  which  were  here  in  Pennant's  time  have  been  removed :  including  a  Child, 
three  years  six  months  old,  in  the  robes  of  a  Knight  of  the  Garter,  the  second  son  of  James  I. ;  also 
Geoffrey  Hudson,  the  Dwarf;  and  Mabuse's  Adam  and  Eve,  painted  with  navels. 

Here  George  IV.  formed  a  fine  collection  of  pictures,  to  which  was  added,  in  1828,  Haydon's  "Mock 
Election,"  which  the  King  purchased  of  the  painter  for  500  guineas. 

Kensington  Palace,  about  two  miles  west  of  the  metropolis,  is  named  from  the 
adjoining  town,  although  it  is  situated  in  the  parish  of  St.  Margaret,  Westminster : 

"  High  o'er  the  neighbouring  lands, 
'Midst  greens  and  sweets,  a  regal  fabric  stands." — Ticlcell. 

The  original  mansion  was  purchased  (with  the  grounds,  six  acres)  by  King  William 
III.,  in  1691,  of  Daniel  Finch,  second  Earl  of  Nottingham.     Evelyn  notes  : 

"Feb.  25, 1690-1. — I  went  to  Kensington,  which  King  William  had  bought  of  Lord  Nottingham 
and  altered,  but  was  yet  a  patched-up  building ;  but  with  the  gardens,  however,  it  is  a  very  neat  villa." 
— Memoirs,  vol.  ii. 

In  the  following  November  the  house  was  nearly  destroyed  by  fire,  and  the  king 
narrowly  escaped  being  burned  in  his  bed.  The  premises  had  been  possessed  by  the 
Finch  family  about  half  a  century ;  and  after  Sir  Heneage  Finch's  advancement  to  the 
peerage,  the  mansion  was  called  "  Nottingham  House."  William  III.  employed  Wren 
and  Hawksmoor,  who  built  the  King's  Gallery  and  the  south  front ;  the  eastern  front 


PALACE,  KENSINGTON.  633 

was  added  by  George  I.,  from  the  designs  of  Kent ;  the  north  wing  is  part  of  old 
Nottingham  House.  The  entire  palace  is  of  crimson  brick,  with  stone  finishings;  and 
consists  of  the  Clock  Court,  Prince's  Court,  and  Princess'  Court.  King  William  held 
councils  in  this  palace  ;  its  decoration  was  the  favourite  amusement  of  Queen  Mary ; 
and  it  was  next  fitted  up  as  the  residence  of  Queen  Anne  and  Prince  George  of  Den- 
mark :  for  her  luxurious  Majesty  was  built  the  Banqueting-House,  described  at  page 
493.  The  principal  additions  made  by  Kent,  for  George  I.,  were  the  Cupola  Room 
and  the  Great  Staircase ;  the  latter  painted  with  groups  of  portraits  from  the  Court, 
Yeomen  of  the  Guard,  pages,  a  Quaker,  two  Turks  in  the  suite  of  George  I.,  and  Peter 
the  Wild  Boy.  George  II.  and  Queen  Caroline  passed  most  of  their  time  here;  and 
during  the  King's  absence  on  the  Continent,  the  Queen  held  at  Kensington  a  court 
every  Sunday.  In  this  palace  died  Queen  Mary  and  King  William ;  Queen  Anne  and 
the  Prince  Consort ;  and  George  II. 

The  Great  Staircase,  of  black  and  white  marble,  and  graceful  ironwork  (the  walls 
painted  by  Kent  with  mythological  subjects  in  chiaroscuro,  and  architectural  and 
sculptural  decoration),  leads  to  the  suite  of  twelve  State  Apartments,  some  of  which 
are  hung  with  tapestry  and  have  painted  ceilings.  The  Presence  Chamber  has  a 
chimney-piece  richly  sculptured  by  Gibbons  with  flowers,  fruits,  and  heads ;  the  ceiling 
is  diapered  red,  blue,  and  gold  upon  a  white  field,  copied  by  Kent  from  Herculaneum ; 
the  pier-glass  is  wreathed  with  flowers  by  Jean  Baptiste  Monnoyer.  The  King's 
Gallery,  in  the  south  front,  has  an  elaborately  painted  allegorical  ceiling;  and  a  cir- 
cular fresco  of  a  Madonna,  after  Raphael.  The  Cube  Room  is  forty  feet  in  height, 
and  contains  gilded  statues  and  busts ;  and  a  marble  bas-relief  of  a  Roman  marriage, 
by  Rysbraeck.  The  King's  Great  Drawing-room  was  hung  with  the  then  new  paper, 
in  imitation  of  the  old  velvet  flock.  The  Queen's  Gallery  in  the  rear  of  the  eastern 
front,  continued  northwards,  has  above  the  doorway  the  monogram  of  William  and 
Mary  •  and  the  pediment  is  enriched  with  fruits  and  flowers  in  high  relief  and  wholly 
detached,  probably  carved  by  Gibbons.  The  Green  Closet  was  the  private  closet  of 
William  III.,  and  contained  his  writing-table  and  escritoire ;  and  the  Patchwork  Closet 
had  its  walls  and  chairs  covered  with  tapestry  worked  by  Queen  Mary. 

During  the  reign  of  George  III.  the  palace  was  forsaken  by  the  sovereign  ;  towards 
its  close,  a  suite  of  rooms  was  fitted  up  for  the  Princess  of  Wales,  and  her  aged  mother 
the  Duchess  of  Brunswick.  The  lower  south-eastern  apartments  beneath  the  King's 
Gallery  were  occupied  by  the  late  Duke  of  Kent :  here,  May  24,  1819,  was  born 
Queen  Victoria ;  christened  here  on  June  24th  following ;  and  on  June  20,  1837,  her 
Majesty  held  here  her  first  Council,  which  has  been  admirably  painted  by  Wilkie. 

At  Kensington  Palace  the  Princess  Victoria  received  the  intelligence  of  the  death  of  William  IV.,  as 
described  in  the  Diaries  of  a  Lady  qf  Quality :  "  June,  1837.  On  the  20th,  at  2  a.m.,  the  scene  closed, 
and  in  a  very  short  time,  the  Archbishop  of  Canterbury  and  Lord  Conyngham,  the  Chamberlain,  set  out 
to  announce  the  event  to  their  young  Sovereign.  They  reached  Kensington  Palace  at  about  five;  they 
knocked,  they  rang,  they  thumped  lor  a  considerable  time  before  they  could  rouse  the  porter  at  the 
gates ;  they  were  again  kept  waiting  in  the  courtyard,  then  turned  into  one  of  the  lower  rooms,  where 
they  seemed  forgotten  by  everybody.  They  rang  the  bell,  desired  that  the  attendant  of  the  Princess 
Victoria  might  be  sent  to  inform  H.R.H.  that  they  requested  an  audience  on  business  of  importance. 
After  another  delay,  and  another  ringing  to  inquire  the  cause,  the  attendant  was  summoned,  who  stated 
that  the  Princess  was  in  such  a  sweet  sleep  she  could  not  venture  to  disturb  her.  Then  they  said, '  We 
are  come  to  the  Queen  on  business  of  State,  and  even  her  sleep  must  give  way  to  that.'  It  did :  and  to 
prove  that  she  did  not  keep  them  waiting,  in  a  few  minutes  she  came  into  the  room  in  a  loose  white 
nightgown  and  shawl,  her  nightcap  thrown  off,  and  her  hair  falling  upon  her  shoulders — her  feet  in 
slippers,  tears  in  her  eyes,  but  perfectly  collected  and  dignified. 

"  The  first  act  of  the  reign  was  of  course  the  summoning  of  the  Council,  and  most  of  the  summonses 
were  not  received  till  after  the  early  hour  fixed  for  its  meeting.  The  Queen  was,  upon  the  opening  of 
the  doors,  found  sitting  at  the  head  of  the  table.  She  received  first  the  homage  of  the  Duke  of  Cum- 
berland, who,  I  suppose,  was  not  King  of  Hanover  when  he  knelt  to  her;  the  Duke  of  Sussex  rose  to 
perform  the  same  ceremony,  but  the  Queen,  with  admirable  grace,  stood  up,  and,  preventing  him  from 
kneeling,  kissed  him  on  the  forehead.  The  crowd  was  so  great,  the  arrangements  were  so  ill-made, 
that  my  brothers  told  me  the  scene  of  swearing  allegiance  to  their  young  Sovereign  was  more  like  that 
of  the  bidding  at  an  auction  than  anything  else."  \fivc  David  Wilkie  has  painted  the  scene — but  with  a 
difference.] 

The  south  wing  of  the  older  part  of  the  palace  was  occupied  by  the  late  Duke  of 
Sussex,  who  died  here  April  21,  1843. 

Here  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  during  25  years,  collected  the  celebrated  Mbliotheca  Sussexiana,  number- 
ing nearly  50,000  printed  books  and  MSS.,  purchased  volume  by  volume,  at  the  sacrifice  of  many 
an  object  of  princely  luxury  and  indulgence.  The  collection  included  nearly  300  Theological  MSS.  of 
the  tenth,  twelfth,  thirteenth,  fourteenth,  and  fifteenth  centuries ;  besides  about  500  early  printed  books 


€34  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

relating  to  the  Holy  Scriptures.  Among  the  rarities  were  48  Hebrew  MSS.,  some  rolled ;  a  richly 
illuminated  Hebrew  and  Chaldaic  Pentateuch,  thirteenth  century  ;  a  Greek  New  Testament,  thirteenth, 
century,  illuminated  ;  16  copies  of  the  Vulgate,  on  vellum,  two  with  100  miniatures  in  gold  and  colours ; 
a  splendidly  illuminated  Psalter,  tenth  century ;  missals,  breviaries,  hours,  offices,  See. ;  La  Bible 
Moralisee  (fifteenth  century) ;  Historia  del  Vecchio  Testamento,  with  519  miniatures  of  the  school  of 
Giotto ;  several  copies  of  the  Koran,  including  that  found  by  the  conquerors  of  Seringapatam  in  the 
library  of  Tippoo  Sultan,  with  his  spectacles  between  the  leaves,  as  if  the  perusal  of  it  had  been  one  of 
the  latest  acts  of  Tippoo's  life;  Armenian  copy  of  the  Gospels,  thirteenth  century ;  MSS.  in  the  Pali, 
Burman,  Cingalese,  &e.  In  the  printed  books  were  all  the  celebrated  Polyglots,  in  fine  condition ;  74 
editions  of  the  Hebrew  Bible ;  17  Hebrew-Samaritan  and  Hebrew  Pentateuchs  (Bomberg  editions),  and 
the  Great  Rabbinical  Bible,  magnificent  specimens  of  Hebrew  printing ;  Greek  Bibles,  of  precious 
value;  Latin  Bibles,  200  editions;  Bibles  in  other  languages,  1200  editions.  In  the  Divinity  classes 
were,  the  first  Armenian,  the  first  Irish,  the  first  Sclavonic,  the  first  German,  and  the  first  Reformed 
editions  of  Luther;  the  first  English  Bible,  by  Coverdale;  the  first  Greek  Bible^  or  Cranmer's,  &c. ; 
besides  Classics,  Lexicography,  Chronicles,  Law,  and  Parliamentary  Histories,  of  immense  extent.  The 
theological  collection  filled  an  apartment  100  feet  in  length;  and  here,  seated  in  a  curtained  chair,  the 
Duke  passed  the  life  of  a  toil-worn  student.  In  these  rooms  His  Royal  Highness  gave  his  conversa- 
sioni  as  President  of  the  Royal  Society. 

In  Kensington  Palace  was  formerly  deposited  the  greater  part  of  the  royal  collection 
of  paintings,  commenced  by  Henry  VIII. ;  and  removed  here  by  William  III.,  as  ap- 
pears from  a  catalogue  flaken  in  1700,  and  now  in  the  British  Museum.  The  collection 
was  much  augmented  by  Queen  Caroline,  but  after  the  death  of  George  II.,  several  of~ 
the  finest  pictures  were  removed  to  Windsor  and  elsewhere.  In  1818,  however,  here 
were  more  than  600  pictures,  which  were  catalogued  by  B.  West,  P.R.A.  Few  now 
remain :  but  in  the  southern  apartments  is  a  collection  of  Byzantine,  early  Italian, 
German,  and  Flemish  paintings,  formerly  the  property  of  Prince  Louis  D'Ottingen 
Wallerstein,  and  purchased  by  the  late  Prince  Consort.  The  majority  of  these  102 
pictures  are  curious  specimens  of  sacred  art, — triptychs,  altar-pieces,  and  other  works 
of  primitive  design  and  elaborate  antiquity. 

The  Green,  westward  of  the  Palace,  and  called  in  ancient  records  "  the  Moor,"  was 
the  military  parade  when  the  Court  resided  here,  and  the  royal  standard  was  hoisted 
daily.  Here  are  barracks  for  foot-soldiers,  who  mount  guard  at  the  Palace.  North- 
ward of  the  Palace  were  the  kitchen-gardens,  about  20  acres,  now  Queen's-road,  with 
two  lines  of  elegant  villas.    (See  Kensington  Gardens,*  pp.  493,  494). 

Carlton  House  occupied  that  portion  of  Waterloo-place  which  is  south  of  Pall 
Mall.  It  was  originally  built  for  Lord  Carlton,  in  1709  :  bequeathed  by  him  to  his 
nephew,  Lord  Burl  igton,  the  architect,  and  purchased,  in  1732,  by  Frederick  Prince  of 
Wales,  father  of  G«x>rge  III. :  here  the  Princess  of  Wales  died  in  1772.  The  house 
was  of  red  brick.  The  name  of  the  original  architect,  in  the  time  of  Queen  Anne,  is 
not  known,  but  the  celebrated  landscape  gardener-architect  Kent  laid  out  the  grounds 
when  the  property  was  in  Lord  Burlington's  hands,  between  1725  and  1732.  These 
gardens  extended  along  the  south  side  of  Pall-mall,  and  are  said  to  have  been  in  imita- 
tion of  Pope's  garden  at  Twickenham,  with  numerous  bowers,  grottoes,  and  terminal 
busts.  Mr.  Cunningham  speaks  of  an  engraving  of  them  by  Woollett.  When  the 
property  was  assigned  in  1783  as  the  residence  of  the  Prince  of  Wales — afterwards 
George  IV. — great  alterations  were  made  in  Carlton  House,  under  Holland,  the 
Prince's  architect. 

Horace  Walpole  writes,  Sept.  17, 1785  :  "We  went  to  see  the  Prince's  new  palace  in  Pall  Mall,  and 
were  charmed.  It  will  be  the  most  perfect  in  Europe.  There  is  an  august  simplicity  that  astonished 
me.  You  cannot  call  it  magnificent ;  it  is  the  taste  and  propriety  that  strike.  Every  ornament  is  at  a 
proper  distance,  and  not  one  too  large,  but  all  delicate  and  new,  with  more  freedom  and  variety  than 
Greek  ornaments  [designed  by  Gobert]  .  .  .  and  there  are  three  most  spacious  apartments,  all  looking 
on  the  lovely  garden,  a  terreno,  a  state  apartment,  and  an  attic.  The  portico,  vestibule,  hall,  and  stair- 
case will  be  superb,  and,  to  my  taste,  full  of  perspectives  :  the  jewel  ot  all  is  a  small  music-room,  that 
opens  into  a  green  recess,  and  winding  walk  of  the  gardens.  In  all  the  fairy  tales  you  have  been,  you 
never  was  in  so  pretty  a  scene,  Madam  [Countess  of  Ossory.)  I  forgot  to  tell  you  how  admirably  all  the 
carving,  stucco,  and  ornaments,  are  executed ;  but  whence  the  money  is  to  come,  I  conceive  not ;  all  the 
tin  mines  in  Cornwall  could  not  pay  a  quarter.  How  sick  one  shall  be  after  this  chaste  palace  of  Mr. 
Adam's  gingerbread  and  sippets  of  embroidery  !" — Letters;  Cunningham's  edit.  vol.  ix.  p.  13. 

The  main  front  of  the  house  had  a  central  portico,  was  hexastyle,  and  of  the  Corin- 
thian order.  The  hall  was  square  on  the  plan,  and  on  each  side  was  an  opening,  or  a 
recess,  with  a  segmental  coffered  arch,  enclosing  two  Ionic  columns  and  entablature,  the 
last  supporting  vases  and  chimeras.     A  landing  of  the  staircase  was  octagonal  in  plan, 

*  "  The  gravel  of  Kensington  is  of  European  repute.  At  the  gardens  of  Versailles,  and  Caserta, 
rfear  Naples,  the  walks  have  been  supplied  from  the  Kensington  gravel-pits." — Quarterly  Review,  No. 
exxxix.  p.  237. 


PALL  MALL.  635 


with  well-hole  and  lantern-light ;  and  the  angles  of  the  ceiling  there,  were  formed  hy 
fan-shaped  springers.  One  of  the  dining-rooms  was  circular,  with  columns  and  re- 
cesses, somewhat  after  the  arrangement  of  those  features  in  the  Pantheon  at  Rome. 
At  the  opposite  sides  of  this  room  were  large  mirrors.  The  general  decoration  of  the 
house  was  of  pseudo-classical  character.  Trophies  were  freely  introduced ;  and  panels, 
even  those  of  doors,  were  enriched  with  lyres,  wreaths,  and  festoons.  One  common 
introduction  was  that  of  terminal  figures.  Generally,  the  ceilings  were  painted  to 
represent  the  sky  and  clouds.  In  the  furniture  gilding  was  used  to  a  great  extent.  In 
many  of  the  rooms,  the  furniture  was  entirely  gilt,  with  crimson  or  crimson  and  hlack 
cushions.  The  jnost  important  point  for  notice  as  to  the  interior  of  Carlton  House,  is 
the  absence  of  the  Louis  Quinze  style.  The  Carlton  House  chair  and  table  are  re- 
membered. Among  the  rooms  were  the  Crimson  Drawing-room ;  the  Blue  Velvet- 
room  ;  the  Golden  Drawing-room,  or  Corinthian-room :  the  Gothic  Dining-room.  The 
conservatory,  said  to  be  in  "  imitation  of  a  cathedral,  or  Henry  VII.'s  chapel,"  hut 
equally  suggestive  of  Eoslyn  Chapel :  the  ribs  of  the  fan-tracery  were  filled  in  with 
stained  glass. 

Here  was  a  remarkably  fine  collection  of  arms  and  costumes,  including  two  swords 
of  Charles  I. ;  swords  of  Columbus  and  Marlborough,  and  a  couteau-de-ehasse  used  by 
Charles  XII.  of  Sweden,  which  relics  are  now  in  the  North  Corridor  at  Windsor 
Castle.  Carlton  House  was  sumptuously  furnished  for  the  Prince's  ill-starred  marriage 
in  1795  :  here,  Jan.  7, 1796,  was  born  the  Princess,  baptized  Feb.  11,  Charlotte-Augusta ; 
and  on  May  2,  1816,  married  here  to  Leopold,  subsequently  King  of  the  Belgians. 
The  ceremonial  of  conferring  the  Kegency  was  enacted  at  Carlton  House  with  great 
pomp,  Feb.  5,  1811,  and  on  June  19  following,  the  Prince  Regent  gave  here  a  superb 
supper  to  2000  guests ;  a  stream  with  gold  and  silver  fish  flowing  through  a  marble 
canal  down  the  centre  table. 

Upon  the  screen  of  Ionic  columns  fronting  Pall  Mall,  Bonomi  wrote  the  following  epigram : 
"  Care  colonne,  che  fatti  qua  ? 
Non  sapiamo,  in  verita : " 
Thus  anglicized  by  Prince  Hoare: 

"  Dear  little  columns,  all  in  a  row, 
What  do  you  do  there? 
Indeed  we  don't  know." 
Sheridan's  allusion  to  these  columns  was  not  much  more  complimentary.    About  the  time  that  the 
Duke  of  York  took  possession  of  Melbourne  House,  now  Dover  House,  near  the  Horse-Guards,  of  which 
the  most  remarkable  feature  is  the  cupola  in  front,  some  discussions  were  raised  in  Parliament  about 
the  debts  of  the  Duke  and  his  royal  brother  at  Carlton  House.    The  virtuous  indignation  of  the  Oppo- 
sition was  tremendous :  and  some  of  their  remarks  having  been  reported  to  Sheridan  when  he  entered 
the  House  of  Commons,  "  I  wonder,"  said  he,  "  what  amount  of  punishment  would  satisfy  some  people ! 
Has  not  the  one  got  into  the  Eoundhouse,  and  the  other  into  the  Pillory  ?"    This  is  another  version 
of  the  anecdote  related  at  page  549. 

In  1827,  Carlton  House  was  removed :  the  columns  of  the  portico  (adapted  from  the 
Temple  of  Jupiter  Stator  at  Rome)  being  subsequently  used  in  the  portico  of  the 
National  Gallery,  and  the  ornamental  interior  details  (as  marble  mantel-pieces,  friezes, 
columns,  &c.)  transferred  to  Buckingham  Palace.  The  colonnade  pillars  are  employed  in 
one  of  the  orangeries  in  Kew  Gardens.  Thus  disappeared  Carlton  House.  Upon  the  site  of 
the  gardens  have  been  built  the  York  Column  and  Carlton  House-terrace:  the  balustrades 
of  the  latter  originally  extended  between  the  two  ranges  of  houses ;  but  were  removed 
to  form  the  present  entrance  into  St.  James's  Park,  by  command  of  William  IV.,  very 
soon  after  his  accession.  Upon  the  site  of  the  courtyard  and  part  of  Carlton  House 
are  the  United  Service  and  Athenaeum  Clubhouses,  and  the  intervening  area  facing 
Waterloo-place.  The  Riding-house  and  Stables  had  a  semicircular  conch-headed  recess, 
intersected  by  an  entablature ;  the  Doric  columns  supporting  the  latter,  being  without 
bases,  and  fluted,  but  Roman  in  character. 

PALL  MALL. 

*  A  FINE  spacious  street  between  the  Haymarket  N.E.,  and  St.  James's-street  S.W." 
-L\-  (Hatton,  1708),  and  one-third  of  a  mile  in  length,  is  named  from  the  French 
game  of  paille-rnaille  having  been  played  there.  The  space  between  St.  James's 
House  and  Charing  Cross,  about  1560,  appears  to  have  been  fields,  with  three  or  four 
houses  at  the  east  end  of  the  present  Pall  Mall,  and  opposite  a  small  church,  the  name   / 

/y 


636  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  which  Pennant  could  not  discover.  Down  this  road  came  Sir  Thomas  Wyat,  "  on 
foot,  hard  by  the  Court-gate  of  St.  James's,  with  four  or  five  auncients,  his  men 
inarching  in  good  way,"  and  thus  proceeded  to  Charing  Cross  and  Whitehall. 

At  the  east  end  of  Pall  Mall,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VI.,  stood  a  group  of  monastic  buildings  called 
"the  Rookery,"  belonging  to  the  monks  of  Westminster  :  here  resided  Erasmus,  by  favour  of  Henry  VIII. 
and  the  interest  of  Anne  Boleyn.  When  these  buildings  were  demolished  at  the  Reformation,  tradition 
relates  there  was  found  a  secret  smithy,  which  had  been  erected  by  order  of  Henry  VI.  for  the  practice 
of  alchemy.  The  premises  were  subsequently  used  as  an  inn,  and  upon  the  site  was  built  the  first 
Carlton  House. 

"  The  Mall,"  in  St.  James's-park,  not  many  years  since,  was  commonly  regarded  as 
the  place  where  the  game  of  "  Paille-maille  "  was  first  played  in  England,  and  whence 
the  Park-avenue  was  said  to  have  taken  its  name.  Strutt  calls  it  "  the  game  of  Mall," 
and  thus  favours  the  above  notion  j  but,  in  Hatton's  "  spacious  street"  we  have  preserved 
the  entire  name  of  the  game.  Charles  II.  caused  the  Mall  in  the  Park  to  be  made  for 
playing  the  game,  which  was  a  fashionable  amusement  in  his  reign ;  but  it  Was  intro- 
duced into  England  much  earlier,  and  was  not  played  in  the  Park  until  the  original  alley 
had  grown  into  a  street,  and  taken  the  name  of  the  game  itself.  Blount,  in  his  Glosso- 
graphy,  edit.  1670,  says,  "  this  game  was  heretofore  used  in  the  long  alley  near  St.  James's, 
and  vulgarly  called  Pall  Mall."  The  name,  however,  occurs  much  earlier ;  for  King 
James  I.,  in  his  JBasilicon  Doron,  recommends  "Palle  Malle"  as  a  field-game  for  the 
use  of  his  eldest  son,  Prince  Henry  j  proving  the  Mall  in  the  present  street  to  have 
existed  as  early  as  the  reign  of  the  above  King.  In  a  crown  survey,  referred  to  by 
Mr.  Cunningham,  we  find  "Pell  Mell  Close,"  partly  planted  with  apple-trees  (Appletree- 
yard,  St.  James's-square,  still  exists) :  and  in  the  above  document  are  also  named  140 
elm-trees,  standing  on  both  sides  of  Pall  Mall  walk ;  Faithorne's  plan,  1658,  shows 
a  row  of  trees  on  the  north  side ;  and  the  name  of  Pall  Mall,  as  a  street,  occurs  in  the 
rate-books  of  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields  under  the  year  1656.  The  name  is  derived 
from  Pallet,  a  ball ;  and  Maglia,  a  mallet ;  the  implements  with  which  the  game  was 
played.  In  1854  were  found  in  the  roof  of  the  house  of  Mr.  B.  L.  Vulliamy,  No.  68, 
Pall  Mall,  a  box  containing  four  pairs  of  the  mailes,  or  mallets,  and  one  ball,  such  as 
were  formerly  used  for  playing  the  game  upon  the  site  of  the  above  house.  Each 
maile  is  4  feet  in  length,  and  is  made  of  lance-wood ;  the  head  is  slightly  curved,  and 
measures  outwardly  5^  inches,  the  inner  curve  being  4^  inches,  the  diameter  of  the 
maile-ends  is  2\  inches,  each  shod  with  a  thin  iron  hoop  :  the  handle,  which  is  very 
elastic,  is  bound  with  white  leather  to  the  breadth  of  two  hands,  and  terminated  with 
a  collar  of  jagged  leather.  The  ball,  is  of  box  wood,  2\  inches  in  diameter.  A  pair 
of  mailes  and  a  ball  are  now  in  the  British  Museum.  Mr.  Vulliamy  was  born  in  the 
above  house,  and  died  here  in  January,  1854,  aged  74  years ;  and  here  his  family  lived 
before  him  for  130  years,  thus  carrying  us  beyond  the  date  of  Pepys  seeing  Paille 
Maille  first  played.  The  Vulliamys  were  clockmakers  to  the  Sovereign  in  five  reigns. 
B.  L.  Vulliamy,  the  scientific  horologist,  who  died  as  above,  bequeathed  his  large  and 
very  valuable  collection  of  works  on  Horology  to  the  Institution  of  Civil  Engineers. 
At  the  house  of  his  very  old  friend,  Mr.  Vulliamy,  died  Professor  Bigaud,  the  astro- 
nomer, March  16,  1839. 

In  the  reign  of  Charles  II.  Pall  Mall  was  occasionally  called  Catharine-street. 
Faithorne's  Plan,  1658,  shows  a  row  of  trees  on  the  north  side.  Pepys  mentions,  in 
1660,  an  old  tavern,  "  Wood's  at  the  Pell  Mell."  In  1662  was  fought  here  the  duel 
between  Mr.  Jermyn  and  Capt.  Thomas  Howard,  the  latter  wearing  mail  under  his 
dress.  The  London  Gazette  of  1685  has  an  advertisement  address,  "  the  Sugar-loaf  in 
the  Pall  Mall."  Dr.  Sydenham  died  here,  in  1689,  at  his  house  next  The  Golden 
Pestle  and  Mortar ;  which  sign  remained  to  our  day,  on  the  north  side  of  the  street. 
Another  olden  sign,  The  Golden  Ball,  lasted  to  our  time;  but  The  Golden  Door  and 
The  Barber's  Pole  disappeared.  Of  Sydenham's  residence  here,  Cunningham  relates 
an  anecdote  told  by  Mr.  Fox  to  Mr.  Bogers — that  Sydenham  was  sitting  at  his  window, 
looking  on  the  Mall,  with  his  pipe  in  his  mouth,  and  a  silver  tankard  before  him,  when 
a  fellow  made  a  snatch  at  the  tankard  and  ran  off  with  it.  Nor  was  he  overtaken 
(said  Fox)  before  he  got  among  the  bushes  in  Bond-street,  where  they  lost  him. 

At  the  corner  of  St.  Alban's-street  bved  Gilray,  the  caricaturist,  when  assistant  to 


PALL  MALL.  637 


Holland,  the  printseller.  In  a  house  opposite  Market-lane,  the  "  Royal  Academy  of 
Art"  met,  from  the  time  of  their  obtaining  the  patronage  of  George  III.  until  their 
removal  to  Somerset  House,  in  1771. 

Among  the  coffee-houses  of  Pall  Mall  was  the  Smyrna,  of  the  days  of  the  Tatler  and 
Spectator ;  where  subscriptions  were  taken  in  by  Thomson  for  publishing  his  Seasons, 
&c.  At  the  Star  and  Garter  Tavern,  at  a  meeting  of  the  Nottinghamshire  Club, 
Jan.  26,  1765,  arose  the  dispute  between  Lord  Byron  and  his  relation  and  neighbour 
Mr.  Chaworth,  as  to  which  had  the  most  game  on  his  estates :  they  fought  with  swords 
across  the  dining-table,  by  the  light  of  one  tallow  candle,  when  Mr.  Chaworth  was  run 
through  the  body,  anddied  next  day.  Lord  Byron  was  tried  before  his  peers  in  Westminster 
Hall,  and  found  guilty  of  manslaughter;  but  claiming  the  benefit  of  the  statute  of 
Edward  VI.,  he  was  discharged  on  payment  of  his  fees.  In  the  same  house  (the  Star 
and  Garter),  Winsor  made  his  gas-lighting  experiments ;  he  lighted  the  street  wall  in 
1807.  (See  Gas-iighting,  p.  371.)  In  the  old  Star  and  Garter  house  was  exhibited, 
in  1815,  the  Waterloo  Museum  of  portraits,  battle-scenes,  and  arms.  At  the  Queen's 
Arms  Tavern,  Lord  Mohun  supped  with  his  second  on  the  two  nights  preceding  his  fatal 
duel  with  the  Duke  of  Hamilton,  in  Hyde  Park.  At  the  King's  Arms  met  the  Liberty 
or  Rump-steak  Club  of  Peers,  in  opposition  to  Sir  Robert  Walpole.  Almack's 
Gaming  Club  was  on  the  site  of  No.  50,  and  is  described  at  page  240. 

Nearly  opposite  the  south-west  corner  of  the  Opera-house,  "  Thomas  Thynne,  Esq., 
on  Sunday  (Feb.  12,  1681),  was  barbarously  shot  with  a  muskatoon  in  his  coach,  and 
died  next  day."  The  instigator  was  Count  Konigsmarck,  in  hopes  of  gaining  Lady 
Elizabeth  Ogle,  the  rich  heiress,  to  whom  Thynne  was  either  married  or  contracted. 
Three  of  Thynne's  ruffians  were  tried  at  the  Old  Bailey,  found  guilty,  and  hanged  at 
the  spot  whereon  the  murder  was  committed.  Borosky,  "  who  did  the  murther,"  was 
hung  in  chains  beyond  Mile  End  Town :  the  Count  was  tried  as  an  accessory,  but  was 
acquitted.  The  assassination  is  sculptured  upon  Thynne's  monument  in  Westminster 
Abbey.  Pall  Mall  had  early  its  notable  sights  and  amusements.  In  1701  were  shown 
here  models  of  William  the  Third's  Palaces  at  Loo  and  Hundstaerdike,  "  brought  over 
by  outlandish  men,"  with  Curiosities  disposed  of  "  on  public  raffling-days."  In  1733, 
"  a  holland  smock,  a  cap,  checked  stockings,  and  laced  shoes,"  were  run  for  by  four 
women  in  the  afternoon,  in  Pall  Mall ;  and  one  of  its  residents,  the  High  Constable  of 
Westminster,  gave  a  prize  laced  hat  to  be  run  for  by  five  men,  which  created  so  much 
riot  and  mischief  that  the  magistrates  "  issued  precepts  to  prevent  future  runs  to  the 
very  man  most  active  in  promoting  them."  Here  lodged  George  Psalmanazer,  when 
he  passed  for  an  islander  of  Formosa,  and  invented  a  language  which  baffled  the 
philologists  of  Europe.  Here  lived  Joseph  Clark,  the  posture-master,  celebrated  for  per- 
sonating deformities :  now  deceiving,  by  feigned  dislocated  vertebrae,  the  great  surgeon, 
Moulins ;  then  perplexing  a  tailor's  measure  with  counterfeit  humps  and  high  shoulders. 
At  the  Chinese  Gallery  was  exhibited,  in  1825,  "the  Living  Skeleton"  (Anatomie 
Vivante),  Claude  Ambroise  Seurat,  a  native  of  Troyes,  in  Champagne,  28  years  old. 
His  health  was  good,  but  his  skin  resembled  parchment,  and  his  ribs  could  be  counted, 
and  handled  like  pieces  of  cane :  he  was  shown  nude,  except  about  the  loins ;  the  arm, 
from  the  shoulder  to  the  elbow,  was  like  an  ivory  German  flute ;  the  legs  were  straight, 
and  the  feet  well  formed.  (See  Hone's  Every-day  Boole.)  At  No.  59,  Salter  spent 
five  years  in  painting  his  great  picture  of  the  Waterloo  Banquet  at  Apsley  House, 
engraved  for  Alderman  Moon.  At  No.  121,  Campanari  exhibited  his  Etruscan  and 
Greek  Antiquities,  in  rooms  fitted  up  as  the  Chambers  of  Tombs.  In  apartments  at 
No.  120,  Captain  Marryat  wrote  his  Poor  Jack. 

Nell  Gwyn  lived  in  1670,  "on  the  east  end,  north  side;"  and  from  1671  to  her 
death,  in  1687,  in  a  house  on  the  south  side,  with  a  garden  towards  the  Park;  and 
it  was  upon  a  mount  in  this  garden  that  "  the  impudent  comedian  "  stood,  to  hold 
her  familiar  discourse  with  Charles  II.,  who  stood  "  on  ye  green  walk "  under  the 
wall.  The  scene,  as  described  by  Evelyn,  has  been  cleverly  painted  by  Mr.  E.  M. 
Ward,  R.A.  The  site  of  Nell's  house  is  now  occupied  by  No.  79,  Society  for  the 
Propagation  of  the  Gospel  in  Foreign  Parts. 

"  Nelly  at  first  had  only  a  lease  of  the  house,  which  as  soon  as  she  discovered,  she  returned  the  con- 
veyance to  the  King,  with  a  remark  characteristic  of  her  wit,  and  of  the  monarch  to  whom  it  was  ad» 


638  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

dressed.  The  King  enjoyed  the  joke,  and  perhaps  admitted  its  truth  ;  so  the  house  in  Pall  Mall  was 
conveyed  free  to  Nell  and  her  representatives  for  ever.  The  truth  of  the  story  is  confirmed  by  the 
fact,  that  the  house  which  occupies  the  site  of  the  one  in  which  she  lived,  now  No.  79,  is  the  only  free- 
hold on  the  south  or  Park  side  of  Pall  Mall."  (Cunning-ham's  Nell  Gtcyn,  p.  115.)  Mr.  Cunningham 
adds :  "  No  entry  of  the  grant  is  to  be  found  in  the  Land  Revenue  Record  Office." 

A  relic  of  Nell  Gwyn,  her  looking-glass,  is  preserved  in  the  Visitors'  Dining-room  of  the  Army  and 
Navy  Club-house,  in"  Pall  Mall.  The  glass  was  bought  with  Lord  De  Mauley's  house,  which  was 
taken  down  for  the  Club-house  site. 

Eastward  of  Nell  Gwyn's  lived  Sir  William  Temple,  and  the  Hon.  Robert  Boyle,  and 
Bubb  Dodington;  and  on  the  south  side,  Doctor  Barrow,  and  Lady  Southesk,  the 
celebrated  Countess  of  De  Grammont's  Memoirs.  In  Marlborough  House  lived  the 
great  Duke  of  Marborough  (see  p.  552) ;  and  in  a  house  in  front  of  the  mansion 
Sir  Robert  Walpole.  Of  Schomberg  House,  Nos.  81  and  82,  built  for  the  great  Duke 
of  Schomberg,  the  centre  and  the  west  wing  remain.     (See  p.  449.) 

Dr.  Graham's  "  Goddess  of  Health,"  who  figured  here,  was  a  lady  named  Prescott. 
Mr.  Cosway,  R.A.,  the  next  tenant  of  Schomberg  House,  was  the  fashionable  miniature- 
painter  of  his  day ;  and  here  his  accomplished  wife,  Maria  Cosway  (also  a  painter),  gave 
her  musical  parties,  the  Prince  of  Wales  being  a  frequent  visitor.  Mrs.  Cosway  made 
a  pilgrimage  to  Loretto,  which  she  had  vowed  to  do  if  blessed  with  a  living  child. 
(Notes  and  Queries,  No.  147.)  At  Schomberg  House  was  first  concocted  the  dramatic 
scheme  of  "  The  Beggars'  Opera." 

In  the  Mall,  in  1689,  resided  "  the  Lady  Griffin,  who  was  seized  for  having  treason- 
able  letters  put  into  false  bottoms  of  two  large  brandy-bottles,  in  the  first  year  of  his 
majesty's  reign."  De  Foe  characterizes  Pall  Mall,  in  1703,  as  "  the  ordinary  residence 
of  all  strangers,  because  of  its  vicinity  to  the  Queen's  palace,  the  Park,  the  Parliament- 
house,  the  theatres,  and  the  chocolate  and  coffee  bouses,  where  the  best  company  fre- 
quent."    Gay  thus  celebrates  the  modish  street  in  his  time : 

"  0  bear  me  to  the  paths  of  fair  Pall  Mall ! 
Safe  are  thy  pavements,  grateful  is  thy  smell ! 
At  distance  rolls  the  gilded  coach, 
Nor  sturdy  carmen  on  thy  walks  encroach ; 
No  lets  would  bar  thy  ways  were  chairs  deny'd, 
The  soft  supports  of  laziness  and  pride ; 
Shops  breathe  perfumes,  through  sashes  ribbons  glow, 
The  mutual  arms  of  ladies  and  the  beau." — Trieia,  book  ii. 

Strype  describes  Pall  Mall  as  "  a  fine  long  street,"  with  garden-houses  on  the 
south  side,  many  with  raised  mounts,  and  prospects  of  the  King's  garden  and  St. 
James's  Park.  In  gay  bachelor's  chambers  in  Pall  Mall  lived  Beau  Fielding,  Steele's 
"  Orlando  the  Fair ;"  here  he  was  married  to  a  supposed  lady  of  fortune,  brought  to 
him  in  a  mourning-coach  and  widow's  weeds,  which  led  to  his  trial  for  bigamy.  Field- 
ing's namesake  places  Nightingale  and  Tom  Jones  in  Pall  Mall,  when  they  leave  the 
lodgings  of  Mrs.  Miller  in  Bond-street.  Laetitia  Pilkington,  for  a  short  time,  kept 
here  a  pamphlet  and  print  shop.  At  the  sign  of  "  Tulip's  Head,"  Robert  Dodsley, 
formerly  a  footman,  with  the  profits  of  a  volume  of  his  poems  and  a  comedy  (published 
through  the  kindness  of  Pope),  opened  a  shop  in  1735 ;  and  here  he  published  his 
Annual  Register,  Economy  of  Human  Life,  and  Sterne's  Tristram  Shandy.  Dodsley 
retired  in  1759 ;  but  his  brother  James,  his  partner,  continued  the  business  until  his 
death  in  1797;  he  is  buried  in  St.  James's  Church,  Piccadilly.  "  Tully's  Head  "  was 
the  resort  of  Pope,  Chesterfield,  Lyttleton,  Shenstone,  Johnson,  and  Glover ;  Horace 
Walpole,  the  Wartons,  and  Edmund  Burke.  Walpole  writes  of  1786,  a  period  when 
robberies  in  capitals  appear  to  have  been  a  sort  of  fashion — "  on  Jan.  7,  half  an  hour 
after  eight,  the  mail  from  France  was  robbed  in  Pall  Mall — yes,  in  the  great  thorough- 
fare of  London,  and  within  call  of  the  guard  at  the  palace.  The  chaise  had  stopped, 
the  harness  was  cut,  and  the  portmanteau  was  taken  out  of  the  chaise  itself.  What 
think  you  of  banditti  in  the  heart  of  such  a  capital  ?" 

At  No.  90  died,  in  1849,  Mr.  W.  J.  Denison,  in  his  80th  year,  bequeathing  2|  mil- 
lions sterling  :  he  sat  in  Parliament  31  years  for  Surrey.  No.  91,  Buckingham  House, 
was  built  by  Soane  for  the  Marquis  of  Buckingham,  1790-4.  At  No.  100  lived  Mr. 
Angerstein,  whose  pictures  were  bought  for  the  nation,  and  were  shown  here  before 
their  removal  to  the  National  Gallery ;  and  at  No.  50  died  Mr.  Robert  Vernon,  who 


CHANGES. 


(fyU 


RV  OF  THE  FLIGHT  OF 
PRINCESS. 


A 


OXFORD-STREET. 


639 


(By  a  Correspondent.) 


of  the  English  School,  which  were  for  a  short 


^TyS  I    J  *^  "*        ell  as  the  Shakspeare  Gallery,  for  his  pictures 

West,  Reynolds,  Northcote,  and  others,  and 

•eing  engraved.     In  1806  the  gallery  was  pur- 

1  gentlemen,  by  whom  was  established  here  the 

are  important   alterations  going  on  in  '  the  works  of  Living  Artists  in  the  spring,  and 

light  Place,  by  Marble  Arch,  just    now.  i  exhibited  West's  large  picture  (9  ft.  by  14  ft.) 

■eat  house  with  the  Tuscan  portico,  which  le ;  bought  by  the  British  Institution  for  300O 

ivn  as  No.  13,  and  which  is  at  the  bottom  Gallery.     Upon  the  house-front  is  a  large  bas- 

e.ntered   from    the    Edgware-  V  and  Pamtin?>  for  wnich  Alderman  Boydell 

and  in  the  hall  is  Banks's  colossal  Mourning 


is,  together  with  its  neighbour.  No.  14, 
Bntirely  gutted,  with  the  idea  that  it  shall 
ned  into  elaborate  flats.  The  backs  of 
:wo  houses  are  in  Stanhope  Place,  where 
entrance  will  be  made.  They  have  been 
a  very  long  time.  At  No.  13  the  Duke 
■thumberland  once  lived.  The  house  at 
a-rble  Arch  end  of  this  row  of  stately 
ns  has  for"  some  time  been  the  head  office 
sll- known  firm  of  aerated  water  manufac- 
It  looks  rather  like  a  beginning  of 
1—  at  both  extremities. 


roic  beauty.     No.  53  is  the  House  of  the  New 

ly  built  for  Edward  Duke  of  York,  brother  of 
bscription  Club-house,  called  the  Albion  Hotel; 
;ion  in  Pall  Mall,  which  had  its  "  houses  for 
t-yard  of  the  War  Office  is  the  bronze  statue  of 
te  for  War  :  sculptor,  Foley,  R.A. ;  erected  by 
?ee  Statues.)  After  the  removal  of  Carlton 
ent  splendid  club-houses  in  Pall  Mall  was  com- 
nd  the  Athenaeum.  (See  Club  Houses,  pp.  241 
Warwick  House,  whence  the  Princess  Charlotte, 
the  house  of  her  mother,  as  vividly  described 
f  Review.     In  Warwick-street  is  a  public-house 

r  fascination  in  Connaught  Place,  partly,  n'  iecalll»g  the  sedans  of  Pal1  Mal1 : 
s,   because  of  its  age  and  the  great  size  s  arrogance  can  quell, 
houses,    with  their   unaffected, *p.ii*rf,£ffi^,^,U'  - 
fronts,    and    quaint   old    iron-work     and.isits  ofthedame."<r-Gay's2,n'cia,  bookiii. 

But  there  is  more  than  t*iis.  for;ng  the  great  sewer  of  Pall  Mall,  the  fossil  teeth 
ds   unchanged   the   scene    of    that  they  are  preserved  in  the  Museum  of  the  Society 
>  escapade  of  the  lovable  Princess  Char- 
R-hen  she  fled  from  Warwick  House  and 

ath  of  the  Prince  Regent  to  the  house  of  side  of  Cockspur-street,  contains  the  University 
ither,  the  Princess  of  Wales,  who  then  the  College  of  Physicians,  described  at  p.  277. 
n  Connaught  Place,  separated  from  the,n  statue  of  George  III.  (see  Statues).  At 
The  circumstances  of  the  flight  caused  e  exhibited,  in  1831,  the  exquisite  water-colour 
fc  sensation  at  the  time.  The  Princess  )r  Locws  Portraits  of  Illustrious  Personages, 
Ue,    a   girl  of  eighteen      was    living    at „     d  £  M    fc  Gerard    Zucch        j  Retd 

ck  House,   a  small  building  standing  in        f  .  \r        ,,  ±        xr    n      t>        n     r»  ui 
t  •♦    „„„  of  +1,^  ^„A \  „r  w„. ...?„i,    V.  Ant.  More,  Mytens,  Kneller,  Reynolds,  Dahl, 
tyard  of  its  own  at  the  end  ot  Warwick-  ■>'  '     J    ..'      ,  „  ™-  -vt     e  • 

eading  out  of  Cockspur-street.  It  was  <le  Pantoxa,  Mirevelt,  and  P  Oliver.  No.  5  is- 
I  only  by  a  low  wall  from  the  gardens  lters  m  Water-colours.  At  No.  1,  Dorset-place, 
Ron  House,  and  has  long  since  disap-  ionist  and  dramatic  lecturer,  who  late  in  life  left 
The  Princess,  determined  not  to  leave  ts  of  literature.  He  was  worthily  characterized 
«i  had  just  definitely  broken  off  her  and  honest ;  perhaps  the  only  acting  democrat 
iment  with  the  hereditary  Prince  of  -street  and  Charing  Cross  was  formerly  Hedge- 
i.  ys  of  Charles  I.  a  lane  through  the  fields,  and 

■rnoon  o?  July    12,    1814,  n  in  Suffolk-street,  on  January  30,  1735,  sprung 
ie  infuriated  Regent  suddenly  appeared     „  the  Calveg,  Heffld  Club»  ,see      573)< 
the    Bisliop    of   Salisbury,    at    Warwick 
'and  announced  to  his  daughter  that  all  .  p 

tendants  would  be  turned  out  that  even-  '   OX±OKU-SlliJ^l.l, 

d  be  replaced  by  strangers.  The  imme-  ie  left  from  St.  Giles's,  was  originally  built  by 
result  was  that  the  Princess  slapped  a  enades,  and  was  opened  January  27,  1772,  when 
;  on  her  head,  ran  into  the  street,  hailed  present.  It  contained  fourteen  rooms,  exclusive 
cney  coach  at  Charing  Cross,  and  drove  e  colonnades,  ornamented  with  Grecian  reliefs ; 
her  mother's  at  Connaught  Place.  There  ,  were  gtatues  of  the  heathen  deitiegj  Britannia, 
Bd    processions     of     envoys    coming    and  described  it  as  "the  new  winter 

and   hours    of    persuasions,    entreaties,    ,,  l        ■,..,.,.  ■,         ,       ■  *  a 

sfusals.  until,  at  two  in  the  morning,  the  all°  antlC0>  and  Wlth  ceihnSs  and  Pa»els  Pamted 
sss.   "kicking  and  bouncing"    (according 


wnw.iuLtu  <i»  <i  jjiqudiiL  contrast  to  I 

ow  tones  of   tlio   faces  and   ra 

The     characterisation     is     invariably 

(  I  I,  JO^IIIhS    Oh    LUhxed   expression   as  though   they   we* 
— —  fortably    conscious    of    sitting   "for    tl 

fact,  that  the  house  which  occupies  the  site  of  the  one  in  which0.1   ms 

hold  on  the  south  or  Park  side  of  Pall  Mall."    (Cunningham's  John,    with    whom    he    has   otherwise 

adds:  "No  entry  of  the  grant  is  to  be  found  in  the  Land  Reven'jn    common.      But    this    verv    heavinps 

A  relic  of  Nell  Gwvn,  her  looking-glass,  is  preserved  in  the  •  vi;,  .      t    t  ,J 

Navy  Club-house,  in"  Pall  Mall.  The  glass  was  bought  with1"  .a  soi.clity  ol  lorm  and  a  sense  0 
taken  down  for  the  Club-house  site.  which  is  of   inestimable   value   in    the 

up  of  his  pictures.     For  sheer  beauty 

Eastward  of  Nell  Gwyn's  lived  Sir  William  Temple,  nothing  in  this  exhibition  can  come  t 
Bubb  Dodington;  and  on  the  south  side,  Doctor  I"  George  and    Albert"  »(No.    40)". 
celebrated  Countess  of  De  Grammont's  Memoirs.     'Aryes  "  (No.  15)  and  "  Betsy  Aryes  " 
great  Duke  of  Marborough  (see  p.  552) ;  and  in    recall   Frans   Hals  in  freshness   and 
Sir  Robert  Walpole.     Of  Schomberg  House,  Nos.  81eiPressiveness  of  brushwork. 
of  Schomberg,  the  centre  and  the  west  wing  remain. 

Dr.  Graham's  "  Goddess  of  Health,"  who  figured 
Mr.  Cosway,  R.A.,thenext  tenant  of  Schomberg  Hou  THE      LEICESTER      GALLI 
painter  of  his  day ;  and  here  his  accomplished  wife,  3 
her  musical  parties,  the  Prince  of  "Wales  being  a  fre 

a  pilgrimage  to  Loretto,  which  she  had  vowed  to  |  Mr-  Oliver  Hall  and  Mr.  Ambrose 
(Notes  and  Queries,  No.  147.)  At  Schomberg  Hou!  are  strange  stable-companions  at  the  ] 
scheme  of  "The  Beggars'  Opera."  i  Galleries.     Fortunately  each  of  them  i 

In  the  Mall,  in  1689,  resided  "  the  Lady  Griffin,  ^  away  in  his  own  stall,  with  a  divid 
able  letters  put  into  false  bottoms  of  two  large  brar  between  them,  so  that  there  is  no  dai 
majesty's  reign."  De  Foe  characterizes  Pall  Mall,  in  clash.  Mr.  Hall's  landscapes  should 
of  all  strangers,  because  of  its  vicinity  to  the  Queen's  before  Mr.  McEvoy's  portrait  studies  i 

house,  the  theatres,  and  the  chocolate  and  coffee  hoiPfkimir „n  j    +v.a„  „i,_„ij   i  „ 

. „     n      ,,  ,  ,     ,     ,,  n.  ,     ,      ,  .        colour — ana   tliey  enould  be  examinee 

quent.       Gay  thus  celebrates  the  modish  street  m  hiono  by  one    forj  ag  a  co,mplete  group 

-  O  bear  me  to  the  paths  of  fair  Pall  f.  deP[essingly    monotonous 
Safe  are  thy  pavements,  grateful  is  ?eler  tne  visitor  to  the  gallery  from  < 
At  distance  rolls  the  gilded  coach,    aspect  ion  which  they  so  fullv  deservi 
Nor  sturdy  carmen  on  thy  walks  en(,ne  who  has  j)ad  oceasion   t     protect 
No  lets  would  bar  thy  ways  were  ch       -      ,     , ,  . 

The  soft  supports  of  laziness  and  pr1«ainst  tile  glare  of  the  sun  by  pui 
Shops  breathe  perfumes,  through  samoked  glass  spectacles  must  have  exD 
The  mutual  arms  of  ladies  and  the  l,OWj  at.  the  first  moment',   all   colour  « 

Strvne  describes  Pall  Mall  as  "a  fine  Ion*-   stre^  gone  onf    of  the  landscape 
btrjpe  describes  rail  Mail  as      a  line  long  stre?.efcg  accustomed  to  the  smoke-toned  fi 
south  side,  many  with  raised  mounts,  and  prospec-ipo-inq   r~   ,i -■„<.,•.,_„•  u    ±i.        i-» 
t        >   r.    i       t  i    .   ,    ,     .      .        •    r>  ii  t,  s    '!     °  "-stingmsli    the     different 

James  s  Park.     In  gay  bachelor  s  chambers  in  Pall  though    they    are    modified    i 
"Orlando  the  Fair;"  here  he  was  married  to  a  sup-strength.     Mr.    Hall    sees    the 
him  in  a  mourning-coach  and  widow's  weeds,  which  smoked  glass,  and  to  the  first  a 
ing's  namesake  places  Nightingale  and  Tom  Jones  cures    yield  nothing   but  their   s 
lodgings  of  Mrs.  Miller  in  Bond-street.     La?titia  Ibrowns.     After  a  while  the  greer 
here  a  pamphlet  and  print  shop.     At  the  sign  of  *nd    other    notes    disclose    themse 
formerly  a  footman,  with  the  profits  of  a  volume  of  their  exqu:siteness  and  delicate  torn 
through  the  kindness  of  Pope),  opened  a  shop  inan"  the  picture  ceases  to  be  dingy  or  ] 
Annual  Register,  Economy  of  Human  Life,  and  Stff*0115,     Collectively  these  landscapes  a 
retired  in  1759 ;  but  his  brother  James,  his  partneib?cause    t!iey   are   all   painted    with    th 
death  in  1797;  he  is  buried  in  St.  James's  Church,mggar,'-V    Pa]ette.       Mr.   Hall   either 
the  resort  of  Pope,  Chesterfield,  Lyttleton,  Shenst<Pf 

Walpole,  the  VVartons,  and  Edmund  Burke.     Walp^J^J?"  houra  of  th«  dav  and  of 
robberies  in  capitals  appear  to  have  been  a  sort  of  DOS     -  ".  '  '  or    1€ 
after  eight,  the  mail  from  France  was  robbed  in  T?aCa  beautiful  C° 

fare  of  London,  and  within  call  of  the  guard  at  tbt00  rougn      Ev rZ\  •       nfl  t0°  ' 
the  harness  was  cut,  and  the  portmanteau  was  takestructure   of  tl >e  «' r         i   ■      ,apperta:ri: 
think  you  of  banditti  in  the  heart  of  such  a  capital  Ping  soreness  of  dranXte^ifc-      ?¥** 
At  No.  90  died,  in  1849,  Mr.  W.  J.  Denison,  in  Ithen  Mr.  M^SSm^^  ± 
lions  sterling:  he  sat  in  Parliament  31  years  for  Suinto  the  skv  and   gives  his  < 
was  built  by  Soane  for  the  Marquis  of  Buckingham  an ce  of  solid  rocks. 
Angerstein,  whose  pictures  were  bought  for  the  nr     The  first  thing  that  strikes  one   ah 
their  removal  to  the  National  Gallery;  and  at  No.  McEvoy's     water-colours     in      t„B 

room  is  that  artist's  incredible  faXlitvl 
lower  of  saying  all  that  is  eLntiaft. 


w 


PANTHEON,  OXFORD- STREET.  639 

. 

bequeathed  to  the  country  his  pictures  of  the  English  School,  which  were  for  a  short 
time  exhibited  here. 

No.  50  was  built  by  Alderman  Boydell  as  the  Shakspeare  Gallery,  for  his  pictures 
illustrative  of  Shakspeare,  painted  by  West,  Reynolds,  Northcote,  and  others,  and 
which  were  dispersed  by  lottery  after  being  engraved.  In  1806  the  gallery  was  pur- 
chased by  a  committee  of  noblemen  and  gentlemen,  by  whom  was  established  here  the 
British  Institution,  for  the  exhibition  of  the  works  of  Living  Artists  in  the  spring,  and 
Old  Masters  in  the  autumn.  Here  was  exhibited  West's  large  picture  (9  ft.  by  14  ft.) 
of  Christ  healing  the  Sick  in  the  Temple  ;  bought  by  the  British  Institution  for  300O 
guineas,  and  presented  to  the  National  Gallery.  Upon  the  house-front  is  a  large  bas- 
relief  of  Shakspeare  attended  by  Poetry  and  Painting,  for  which  Alderman  Boydell 
paid  Banks,  the  sculptor,  500  guineas ;  and  in  the  hall  is  Banks's  colossal  Mourning 
Achilles,  a  noble  work  of  pathos  and  heroic  beauty.  No.  53  is  the  House  of  the  New 
Society  of  Painters  in  Water-colours. 

No.  86,  the  War  Office,  was  originally  built  for  Edward  Duke  of  York,  brother  of 
George  III., and  was  subsequently  a  Subscription  Club-house,  called  the  Albion  Hotel; 
this  being  the  first  modern  club-mansion  in  Pall  Mall,  which  had  its  "houses  for 
clubbing"  in  Pepys's  time.  In  the  court-yard  of  the  War  Office  is  the  bronze  statue  of 
Lord  Herbert  of  Lea,  Secretary  of  State  for  War :  sculptor,  Foley,  R.  A. ;  erected  by 
public  subscription,  June  1,  1867.  (See  Statues.)  After  the  removal  of  Carlton 
House,  in  1827,  the  erection  of  the  present  splendid  club-houses  in  Pall  Mall  was  com- 
menced with  the  Senior  United  Service  and  the  Athenaeum.  (See  Club  Houses,  pp.  241 
and  258.)  Near  Warwick-street  stood  Warwick  House,  whence  the  Princess  Charlotte, 
in  1814,  escaped  in  a  hackney-coach  to  the  house  of  her  mother,  as  vividly  described 
by  Lord  Brougham  in  the  Edinburgh  Bevieio.  In  Warwick-street  is  a  public-house 
with  the  old  sign  of  The  Two  Chairmen,  recalling  the  sedans  of  Pall  Mall : 

"  Who  the  footman's  arrogance  can  quell, 
Whose  flambeau  gilds  the  sashes  of  Pall  Mall, 
When  in  long  rank  a  train  of  torches  flame,      ' ' 
To  light  the  midnight  visits  of  the  dame."— Gay's  Trivia,  book  iii. 

Here,  in  1731,  were  found,  in  digging  the  great  sewer  of  Pall  Mall,  the  fossil  teeth 

of  an  elephant,  28  feet  underground :  they  are  preserved  in  the  Museum  of  the  Society 

of  Antiquaries,  Somerset  House. 

Pali  Mall  East,  on  the  north  side  of  Cockspur-street,  contains  the  University 
Club-house,  described  at  p.  259 ;  and  the  College  of  Physicians,  described  at  p.  277. 
Here  also  is  M.  C.  Wyatt's  equestrian  statue  of  George  III.  (see  Statues).  At 
No.  4  (Harding,  Lepard,  and  Co.)  were  exhibited,  in  1831,  the  exquisite  water-colour 
copies  made  by  Hilton  and  Derby  for  Lodge's  Portraits  of  Illustrious  Personages, 
from  pictures  by  Titian,  Holbein,  Vandyke,  Mark  Gerard,  Zucchero,  Jansen,  Retel,. 
Walker,  Van  Somer,  Honthorst,  Lely,  Ant.  More,  Mytens,  Kneller,  Reynolds,  Dahl, 
Jarvis,  R.iley,  Rubens,  Fleck,  Juan  de  Pantoxa,  Mirevelt,  and  P.  Oliver.  No.  5  is- 
the  Gallery  of  the  Society  of  Painters  in  Water-colours.  At  No.  1,  Dorset-place, 
lived  John  Thelwall,  the  classic  elocutionist  and  dramatic  lecturer,  who  late  in  life  left 
political  agitation  for  the  calm  pursuits  of  literature.  He  was  worthily  characterized 
by  Coleridge  as  "  intrepid,  eloquent,  and  honest ;  perhaps  the  only  acting  democrat 
that  is  honest."  Between  Whitcomb-street  and  Charing  Cross  was  formerly  Hedge- 
lane,  300  yards  in  length ;  in  the  days  of  Charles  I.  a  lane  through  the  fields,  and 
bordered  with  hedges.  At  a  low  tavern  in  Suffolk-street,  on  January  30,  1735,  sprung 
the  drunken  frolic,  out  of  which  arose  "  the  Calves'  Head  Club"  (see  p.  573). 

PANTHEON,  OXFORD- STREET, 

ABOUT  one-third  of  a  mile  on  the  left  from  St.  Giles's,  was  originally  built  by 
James  Wyatt  for  musical  promenades,  and  was  opened  January  27,  1772,  when 
2000  persons  of  rank  and  fashion  were  present.  It  contained  fourteen  rooms,  exclusive 
of  the  rotunda :  the  latter  had  double  colonnades,  ornamented  with  Grecian  reliefs ; 
and  in  niches  at  the  base  of  the  dome  were  statues  of  the  heathen  deities,  Britannia, 
and  George  III.  and  Queen  Charlotte.  Walpole  described  it  as  "  the  new  winter 
Ranelagh,"  with  pillars  of  artificial  giallo  antico,  and  with  ceilings  and  panels  painted 


640  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

from  Raphael's  loggias  in  the  Vatican.  In  the  first  winter  here  were  assemblies  with- 
out music  or  dancing ;  and  the  building  was  exhibited  at  5*.  each  person  !  In  1783, 
Delpini,  the  clown,  got  up  a  masquerade  here,  to  celebrate  the  Prince  of  Wales's  attain- 
ing his  majority ;  tickets  three  guineas  each.  Next  year  Garrick  was  present  at  a 
masquerade  here  as  King  of  the  Gipsies.  Gibbon  was  also  a  frequenter  of  its  gay 
bachelors'  masque  fetes.  In  1784,  also,  the  "  Commemoration  of  Handel"  was  per- 
formed here,  when  the  King,  Queen,  and  Royal  Family  were  present.  The  Pantheon 
was  next  converted  into  a  theatre  for  the  Italian  Opera  company  in  1791,  the  or- 
chestra including  Giardini,  La  Motte,  Cramer,  Fischer,  Crosdil,  and  Cervetto. 

The  Pantheon  was  burnt  down  January  14,  1792 :  Turner  painted  the  conflagra- 
tion, which  he  exhibited  at  the  Royal  Academy  two  years  after  he  became  an  exhibitor. 
The  loss  by  the  fire  was  stated  at  80,00(M.  The  Pantheon  was  rebuilt  in  1795, 
|  Wyatt's  entrance-front  in  Oxford-street  and  in  Poland-street  being  retained.  It  was 
then  let  as  a  theatre,  and  for  exhibitions,  lectures,  and  music.  The  theatre  was  re- 
constructed in  1812,  when  Miss  Stephens  (subsequently  Countess  of  Essex),  first  ap- 
peared in  London  here  as  a  concert-singer ;  and  first  appeared  on  the  stage,  at  Covent 
Garden  Theatre,  in  1813.  In  1814  a  patent  was  sought  from  Parliament  to  open  the 
Pantheon  with  the  regular  drama ;  but  the  application  failed.  In  1832  the  property 
was  sold  for  16,O0(M. :  the  premises  are  freehold,  except  the  Oxford-street  front,  which 
is  leasehold.  In  1835  the  premises  were  remodelled  by  Sydney  Smirke,  A.R.A.,  and 
opened  as  a  Bazaar.  (See  p.  41.)  The  building  was,  in  1867,  closed,  to  be  converted 
into  a  Wine  Dep&t.  Spa  Fields  Chapel,  in  Clerkenwell,  was  originally  built  in 
imitation  of  the  West-end  Pantheon. 

PANCRAS,  ST., 

ORIGINALLY  a  solitary  village  "  in  the  fields,"  north  of  London,  and  one  mile  from 
Holborn  Bars,  is  the  most  extensive  parish  in  Middlesex,  being  18  miles  in  circum- 
ference. It  is  a  prebendal  manor,  and  was  included  in  the  land  granted  by  Ethelbert 
to  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  about  603 ;  it  was  a  parish  before  the  Conquest,  and  is  called 
St.  Pancras  in  Domesday.  The  history  of  its  church,  which  Norden  thought  *  not  to 
yield  in  antiquitie  to  Paules  in  London,"  is  narrated  at  pp.  193-4.  The  prebendary  of 
St.  Pancras  was  anciently  confessor  to  the  Bishop  of  London :  in  the  list  are  Lancelot 
Andrewes,  Bishop  of  Winchester;  Dr.  Sherlock,  and  Archdeacon  Paley.  Lysons  sup- 
poses it  to  have  included  the  prebendal  manor  of  Kentish  Town,  or  Cantelows,*  which 
now  constitutes  a  stall  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral.  The  church  has  about  70  acres  of 
land  attached  to  it,  which  were  demised  in  1641  at  101.  reserved  rent ;  and  being 
subsequently  leased  to  Mr.  William  Agar,  are  now  the  site  of  Agar  Town.  In  Domes- 
day, Walter,  a  canon  of  St.  Paul's,  holds  one  hide  at  Pancras,  which  is  supposed  to 
form  the  freehold  estate  of  Lord  Sotners,  on  which  Somers  Town  is  built. 

St.  Pancras'  parish  contained,  in  1251,  only  40  houses;  in  1503  the  church  stood 
"  all  alone,"  and  in  1745  only  3  houses  had  been  built  near  it.  In  1766  the  population 
was  not  600;  in  1801,  36,000; 

Houses.  Inhabitants. 

1821  9,405  71,838 

1841  15,658  129,969 

1851  18,584  166,596 

1861  21,928  198,882 

A  return  shows  that  the  single  parish  of  St.  Pancras  was  assessed  in  1862,  to  the  pro- 
perty tax  under  Schedule  A,  the  schedule  for  the  annual  value  of  land  (including  the 
houses  built  upon  it,  the  railways,  &c),  at  3,798,521£.  This  is  the  most  populous  pa- 
rish in  the  metropolis  :  it  includes  one-third  of  the  hamlet  of  Highgate,  with  the  ham- 
lets of  Kentish-town,  Battle-bridge,  Camden  Town,  Somers  Town,  to  the  foot  of 
Gray's-Inn-lane :  also  part  of  a  house  in  Queen-square "  (Lysons),  all  Tottenham- 
court-road,  and  the  rtreets  west  of  Cleveland-street  and  Rathbone-place. 

Stukeley  affirmed  tLe  site  of  the  old  church  to  have  been  occupied  by  a  Roman 
encampment  (Caesar's),  of  which  he  has  published  a  plan  (Itinerarium  Curiosutn,  1758) ; 
and  the  neighbouring  Brill  of  Somers  Town  Stukeley  traces  to  a  contraction  of  Bury 

*  Anciently  Kentcsstoune,  where  William  Bruges,  Garter  King-at-arms  in  the  reign  of  Henry  V.,  had 
a  country-house,  at  which  he  entertained  the  Emperor  Sigismund. 


PARIS  GARDEN.  641 


or  Burgh  Hill,  a  Saxon  name  for  a  fortified  place  on  an  elevated  site ;  following  Camden 
in  his  illustration  of  the  village  of  Brill  in  Buckinghamshire. 

At  Battle-bridge,  in  1842,  was  discovered  a  Roman  inscription  attesting  the  great 
battle  between  the  Britons  under  Boadicea,  and  the  Romans  under  Suetonius  Paulinus, 
to  have  been  fought  on  this  spot. 

The  inscription  hears  distinctly  the  letters  leg.  xx.  (the  twentieth  legion),  one  of  the  four  which 
came  into  Britain  in  the  reign  of  Claudius ;  and  the  vexillation  of  which  was  in  the  army  of  Suetonius 
Paulinus,  when  he  made  that  victorious  stand  in  a  fortified  pass,  with  a  forest  in  his  rear,  against  the 
insurgent  Britons.  The  position  is  described  by  Tacitus.  On  the  high  ground  above  Battle-bridge  are 
vestiges  of  Roman  works ;  and  the  tract  of  land  to  the  north  was  formerly  a  forest.  The  veracity  of  the 
following  passage  of  the  historian  is  therefore  fully  confirmed . — "Deligitque  locum  artis  faucibus,  et  a 
tergo  silva  clausnm ;  satis  cognito,  nihil  hostium  nisi  in  fronte,  et  apertam  planitiem  esse  sine  mctu 
insidiarum."  He  further  tells  us,  that  the  force  of  Suetonius  was  composed  of  "  quartadecima  legio, 
cum  VPxillariis  vicetimanis,  et  e  proximis  auxiliares."  {Tacit.  Annal.  lib.  xiv.)  So  that,  almost  to  the 
letter,  the  place  of  this  memorable  engagement  seems,  by  the  discovery  of  the  above  inscription  to  be 
ascertained. 

In  Ben  Jonson's  play,  the  Tale  of  a  Tub,  the  characters  move  about  in  the  fields 
near  Pancridge  (St.  Pancras) ;  Totten-court  is  a  mansion  in  the  fields ;  a  robbery  is  pre- 
tended to  be  committed  "  in  the  ways  over  the  country  "  between  Kentish  Town  and 
Hampstead  Heath;  and  a  warrant  is  granted  by  a  "  Marribone"  justice. 

St.  Pancras  had  formerly  its  mineral  springs,  which  were  much  resorted  to. 
Near  the  old  churchyard,  in  the  yard  of  a  house,  is  the  once  celebrated  St.  Pancras' 
Well,  slightly  cathartic.  St.  Chad's  Well,  in  Gray's-Inn-road,  has  a  similar  property ; 
and  the  Hampstead  Wells  and  Walks  were  given  in  1698  to  trustees  for  the  benefit  of 
the  poor.     The  Hampstead  Water  was  formerly  sold  in  flasks  in  London. 

In  St.  Pancras  are  the  Termini  of  the  two  largest  Railways  in  England :  the  North- 
western, Euston-squarej  and  the  Great  Northern  at  King's  Cross,  45  acres.  The  name  of 
King's  Cross  dates  from  the  accession  of  George  IV.,  when  the  streets  were  commenced 
building  on  the  ground  known  as  Battle-bridge,  then  in  ill  repute,  and  subsequently 
changed  to  the  royal  designation.  In  a  house  in  Montgomery's  nursery-gardens,  the 
site  of  the  north  side  of  Euston-square,  lived  Dr.  Wolcot  {Peter  Pindar),  the  satirist. 

The  vicarage  was  valued  at  28£.  in  1650 ;  it  is  rated  in  the  King's  books  at  91. ;  and 
at  this  time  is  stated  at  1700Z.  St.  Pancras  Churches,  Old  and  New,  are  described  at 
pp.  193-194.  Under  the  belfry  of  the  old  church  was  interred  privately,  in  a  grave 
14  feet  deep,  the  body  of  Earl  Ferrers,  executed  at  Tyburn  in  1760. 

The  Cemetery  for  St.  Pancras,  87  acres  (being  the  first  extra-mural  burial-ground 
for  the  metropolis,  by  Act  15  and  16  Victoria,  cap.  85),  was  commenced  in  1853,  on 
"  Horse-shoe  Farm,"  in  the  Finchley-road,  about  4J  miles  from  St.  Pancras  Work- 
house, and  2  miles  from  the  extreme  northern  boundary  of  the  parish.  St.  Pancras 
Workhouse  often  contains  upwards  of  1200  persons,  equal  to  the  population  of  a  large 
village.   The  excellent  Female  Charity  School  in  the  Hampstead-road  dates  from  1776. 

In  the  northern  part  of  the  parish,  between  Kentish  Town  and  Haverstock  Hill,  is  Gospel  Oak  Field, 
traditionally  said  to  be  the  spot  where  the  Gospel  was  first  preached  in  this  kingdom ;  the  site  is  inclosed 
by  a  wooden  railing  containing  the  boundary  stone  of  St.  Pancras  and  the  adjoining  parish  of  St.  John's, 
Hampstead.  When  Wickliffe  attended  the  citation  at  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  he  is  said  to  have  frequently 
preached  under  this  tree;  at  the  Reformation,  from  under  its  branches  were  promulgated  the  doc- 
trines of  Protestantism;  and  here  Whitefield  preached  nearly  three  centuries  later.  Some  thirty  years 
after,  the  tree  died ;  and  when  a  young  tree  was  planted  in  its  place,  it  as  often  was  killed.  However, 
the  site  was  marked;  and  within  memory,  it  was  the  practice,  when  beating  the  bounds  of  the  parish,  to 
regale  the  children,  when  the  Vicar  of  the  parish  attended,  and  offered  up  prayer.  There  are  seven 
churches  of  St.  Pancras  in  England,  another  in  France,  another  in  Giessen  in  Hesse  Darmstadt ;  another, 
indeed  many,  in  Italy,  one  celebrated  church  in  Rome  itself. — See  The  Life  and  Times  of  St.  Panerat. 
By  Edward  White.    2nd  edit.    1856. 

Although  the  Midland  Railway  has  cut  through  Gospel  Oak  Field,  here  are  edifices 
in  keeping  with  the  ancient  religious  associations  of  the  place.  Here  is  St.  Martin's, 
a  carefully  finished  specimen  of  the  Third  Pointed,  or  Perpendicular  style ;  St.  Andrew's, 
in  the  First  Pointed,  and  somewhat  Byzantine  ;  a  Congregational  Chapel,  of  some  archi- 
tectural character ;  and  a  large  Roman  Catholic  Convent.  Here,  too,  is  the  Birkbeck 
School,  built  in  place  of  the  School  removed  for  the  Railway. 

PARIS   GARDEN, 

A  PORTION  of  the  manor  of  that  name  on  the  Bankside,  and  so  called  from  Robert  de 
Paris,  who  had  a  house  and  grounds  there,  in  the  reign  of  Richard  II.,  and  "  who, 

T  T 


642  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

by  proclamation  ordained  that  the  butchers  of  London  should  buy  that  garden  for  re- 
ceipt of  the  garbage  and  entrails  of  beasts ;  to  the  end  the  City  might  not  be  annoyed 
thereby." — Blount's  GlossograpMa,  edit.  1681. 

This  manor  was  given  to  the  monastery  of  Bermondsey  in  1113,  and  Robert  de 
Paris  must  have  been  a  lessee  under  the  Abbot  of  Bermondsey.  In  1537,  the  manor 
was  conveyed  to  Henry  VIII.  j  and  Queen  Elizabeth,  in  the  twentieth  year  of  her 
reign,  granted  the  manor  in  exchange,  to  Henry  Carey,  Lord  Hunsdon.  It  was  sub- 
sequently held  by  Thomas  Cure,  saddler  to  the  Queen,  and  founder  of  the  Almshouses 
in  Southwark  which  bear  his  name  ;  and  lastly  by  Richard  Taverner  and  William 
Angell,  citizens.  The  moated  manor-house  was  called  Holland's  Leaguer,  from 
Shakerly  Marmion's  satirical  tract  on  this  house  and  its  inmates,  entitled  "  Holland's 
Leaguer,  or  a  Discourse  on  the  life  and  actions  of  Donna  Brittannia  Hollandia,  the 
Arch-mistress  of  the  wicked  Women  of  Utopia  "  (4to,  1632).  It  had  succeeded  the 
stews  of  Bankside  as  a  public  brothel,  and  in  the  reigns  of  James  I.  and  Charles  I. 
was  a  fashionable  resort.  A  rude  wood-cut  of  the  house,  with  a  draw-bridge  crossing 
the  moat,  is  prefixed  to  the  tract.  The  site  of  the  house  and  garden  is  partly  occupied 
by  the  present  Holland  street,  and  Pellatt's  Glass-house  occupies  part  of  the  site  of 
the  Falcon  theatre,  and  is  named  therefrom.  In  1670,  the  manor  of  Paris  Garden  was 
constituted  the  parish  of  Christchurch,  and  a  church  built  thereon,  rebuilt  1738.  In 
1867,  the  Metropolitan  Board  of  Works  took  a  portion  of  the  manor,  for  which  they 
paid  500Z.     Paris  Garden  had  its  theatre,  to  be  described  under  Theatres. 

"  There  is,  or  used  to  be,  a  ditch  or  dyke  running  across  Great  Surrey-street,  Blackfriars-road,  but  for 
some  few  years  past  it  has  been  covered  or  built  upon.  All  buildings  thereon  are  subject  to  a  ground- 
rent,  payable  to  the  Steward  of  the  Manor  of '  Old  Paris  Garden,'  and  collected  half-yearly." — Note*  and 
Queries,  No.  265, 1854. 

PARKS. 

THE  Parks  have  been  well  denominated  by  an  amiable  statesman  (Windham),  "  the 
lungs  of  London ;"  for  they  are  essential  to  the  healthful  respiration  of  its  inha- 
bitants. There  are  fourteen  Royal  Parks  and  Pleasure-grounds  in  or  about  London ;  the 
parks  being  those  of  Battersea,  Bushy,  Greenwich,  Hampton  Court,  Kennington, 
Kensington,  Regent's,  Richmond,  St.  James's,  Green,  Hyde,  and  Victoria;  and  the 
pleasure-grounds  of  Hampton  Court  and  Kew.  The  grounds  of  the  Hospital  and 
Military  Asylum  at  Chelsea,  with  Holyrood  Park  and  Longford  River,  are  also  included 
under  the  above  heading,  the  total  estimate  of  charges  connected  with  which  amounts, 
for  the  financial  year  1867-8,  to  125.326Z.  Of  this  sum,  5095Z.  are  paid  to  the 
Ranger's  departments  of  Greenwich,  Richmond,  St.  James's,  Green,  and  Hyde  Parks  ; 
the  grounds  of  the  Hospital  and  Military  Asylum  at  Chelsea  costing  1704J.  Tho 
income  derived  from  the  Royal  Parks  is  about  5000J.  per  annum,  and  is  paid  to  the 
Consolidated  Fund. 

Albert,  or  Finsbtjey  Park,  equidistant  from  Regent  and  Victoria  Parks,  is  to 
commence  at  Highbury  Crescent,  passing  along  the  right  side  of  Holloway  and  Hornsey 
roads  to  the  Seven  Sisters'-road,  and  including  all  the  space  of  fields  to  the  west  of 
Newington  Green ;  afterwards  inclining  towards  the  New  River,  which  it  is  proposed  to 
cross  north  of  the  Horse-shoe,  excluding  the  Junction  Railway,  and  extending  to  the 
bottom  of  Highbury  Grove,  completing  the  enclosure  of  300  acres. 

Battersea  Park  consisted,  prior  to  its  formation,  of  small  Lammas  Lands,  in  lieu  of 
which  a  Lammas  Hall  has  been  erected  in  Battersea.  In  1846,  its  conversion  into  a 
park  was  decided  by  Act  of  Parliament.  Before  it  was  fit  even  to  walk  upon  it  was 
necessary  to  raise  the  entire  surface.  Fortunately,  about  this  time  the  London  Docks 
(Victoria)  Extension  were  commenced.  It  was  requisite  to  excavate  and  remove 
thence  to  a  distance  immense  quantities  of  earth,  which  were  gladly  received  at 
Battersea-fields ;  and  from  this  and  other  sources  not  less  than  1,000,000  cubic  yards 
of  earth  have  been  deposited  on  this  site.  This  occupied  several  years,  and  the  actual 
formation  of  the  park  could  not  be  commenced  till  1856 :  the  drives,  walks,  and  orna- 
mental lake  were  then  laid  out  and  formed;  the  planting  began  in  1857.  Large 
quantities  of  earth  were  deposited  and  formed  into  undulating  mounds  and  banks,  and 


PARKS.  643 

several  acres  were  thus  reclaimed  along  the  banks  of  the  river.  These  deposits  of  earth 
were  well  adapted  to  the  growth  of  trees  and  shrubs,  which  consist  of  the  choicest  kinds 
of  both,  and  this  park  contains  one  of  the  richest  collections  in  or  near  London.  About 
200  acres  are  here  appropriated  to  ornamental  and  recreative  purposes — viz.,  grass 
surface,  100  acres;  water,  20;  and  shrubberies,  plantations,  drives,  and  walks,  80. 
About  34  acres  have  been  prepared  for  cricket,  in  match-grounds  and  practice-ground 
for  schools,  and  for  organized  clubs.  Other  large  open  spaces  are  used  for  the  drill 
and  exercises  of  the  troops  stationed  at  Chelsea  New  Barracks,  as  also  of  various 
Volunteer  corps,  and  the  district  Police.  Portions  are  set  apart  for  trap-ball,  rounders, 
and  other  games;  and  when  the  cricket  season  terminates  football  is  commenced. 
The  lake  is  an  artificial  one,  and  is  fed  partly  from  the  river  Thames  and  partly  by  a 
steam-engine,  fixed  for  the  purpose  of  supplying  the  park  with  water  for  the  lodges, 
drinking  fountains,  roads,  flower-beds,  &c.  The  depth  of  the  water  is  too  shallow  for 
bathing,  being  only  2^  feet  deep.  The  lake,  however,  is  extensively  used  for  boating. 
The  peninsula,  comprising  an  area  of  5f  acres,  is  laid  out  in  the  English  landscape 
style,  combining  a  series  of  mounds  with  gentle  slopes,  between  which  are  pic- 
turesque vistas.  Nearly  at  its  centre  there  is  a  reservoir,  which  is  excavated  below 
the  level  of  the  neighbouring  springs.  The  water  from  this  self-supplied  source  is  as 
clear  as  crystal ;  it  is  pumped  into  an  elevated  tank  which  holds  20,000  gallons,  from 
which  arc  laid  service  pipes  for  the  supply  of  the  park.  A  horse-ride  has  been  formed 
about  40ft.  wide;  and  the  South-eastern  portion  of  the  park  is  appropriated  as  a 
gymnasium  and  playground. 

Here  is  the  Sub-Tropical  Garden,  nearly  4  acres  In  extent.  Here  is  a  bed  of  caladimn  esculentum, 
from  the  West  Indies,  with  big  leaves  not  to  be  matched  in  England.  Australian  tree  ferns  throw  out 
their  graceful  leaves  as  luxuriantly  as  though  they  were  still  under  glass.  The  India-rubber  plant  is 
growing  in  great  profusion.  So  is  the  Banana  and  the  curious  Indian  shot  plant.  Further  on  we  come 
to  the  variegated  Croton,  and  the  beautiful  scarlet  foliage  of  the  Dragon's-blood  tree  from  South  America. 
Here  is  a  tropical  plant,  the  Canna  limbata,  which  bravely  contends  with  the  rigours  of  an  English  winter. 
Among  many  others  are — the  large-leaved  tobacco  plant;  a  new  variety  of  the  sugar-cane  from  Japan; 
the  coral  tree,  with  its  beautiful  and  suggestive  flower;  the  Dracaena  nutans,  drooping,  combined  with 
upright  leaves;  a  Southern  emblem, the  Palmetto  palm ;  the  Date  palm;  the  Rice-paper  plant  of  China; 
the  Papyrus  plant  of  Egypt,  and  the  veritable  Bulrush  of  the  Nile.  In  another  part  of  the  park  is  a 
rosary,  the  soil  of  which  is  well  suited  to  the  production  of  the  queen  of  the  English  garden. 

Chelsea  Hospital  Grounds,  on  the  northern  bank  of  the  Thames,  have  been  relaid 
out :  the  surface  has  been  raised  on  the  south  4£  feet,  and  elsewhere  from  10  to  24  feet, 
in  which  work,  some  100,000  cubic  yards  of  stuff  have  been  deposited;  an  avenue  of  old 
pollard  lime-trees,  planted  some  150  years  ago  in  the  centre  of  the  grounds,  has  been 
removed  by  powerful  machines,  four  or  five  tons  of  earth  being  taken  with  each  tree ;  and 
the  whole  of  the  trees  have  been  formed  into  two  avenues,  and  the  grounds  planted  with 
flowering  shrubs.  A  portion  of  the  grounds  occupying  the  site  on  which  Ranelagh  House 
formerly  stood  is  devoted  to  the  private  use  of  the  inmates  of  the  Hospital,  and  has  been 
re-formed  and  laid  out.  Here  allotments  are  set  apart  for  the  pensioners,  consisting  of  a 
square  rod  each ;  and  they  are  so  successfully  cultivated  by  some  of  these  men,  that  as 
much  as  101.  or  111.  has  been  realized  on  one  allotment.  This  is  done  chiefly  by  the 
cultivation  of  the  musk  plant,  of  which  two  and  three  crops  are  obtained  in  a  season, 
and  for  which  there  is  an  easy  sale  to  hawkers. 

Green  Park,  The,  60  acres  in  extent,  adjoins  St.  James's  Park  on  the  north,  and 
extends  westward  to  Hyde  Park  Corner,  the  line  of  communication  being  by  the  fine 
road  Constitution  Sill.  It  was  formerly  called  Little  St.  James's  Park,  and  was  reduced 
in  1767,  by  George  III.,  to  add  to  the  gardens  of  Buckingham  House.  At  the  Peace 
Commemoration,  in  1814,  here  was  erected  a  vast  Temple  of  Concord,  with  allegorical 
paintings  and  illuminations  and  fireworks.  In  1840-41  the  entire  Park  was  drained, 
and  the  surface  relaid  and  planted;  and  the  Deputy-Ranger's  Lodge,  towards  the 
north-west  corner,  was  then  taken  down.  At  the  north-east  corner  was  formerly  the 
Chelsea  Waterworks  Reservoir,  reconstructed  in  1829,  44  feet  above  Trinity  high- 
water  mark  of  the  Thames,  and  containing  1,500,000  gallons.  The  Reservoir  has 
been  filled  up.  This  high  ground  commands  fine  views  of  the  Norwood  and  Wimbledon 
hills,  and  of  the  roof  of  the  Crystal  Palace  at  Sydenham. 

On  the  cast  side  of  the  Park  is  a  line  of  noble  mansions,  including  Stafford  House, 

X  T  2 


644  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Bridgewater  House;  and  Spencer  House,  with  its  finial  statues,  commended  by  Sir 
William  Chambers.     The  gardens  of  the  several  houses  are  leased  of  the  Crown. 

Br.  King  relates,  that  Charles  II.  having  taken  two  or  three  turns  one  morning  in  St.  James's  Park, 
attended  only  by  the  Duke  of  Leeds  and  Lord  Cromarty,  walked  up  Constitution  Hill ;  and  as  the  king 
was  crossing  the  road  into  Hyde  Park,  met  the  Duke  of  York  in  his  coach,  returning  from  hunting.  The 
duke  alighted  to  pay  his  respects  to  the  king,  and  expressed  his  surprise  to  meet  his  majesty  with  such 
a  small  attendance,  adding  that  he  thought  the  king  exposed  himself  to  some  danger.  "  No  kind  of 
danger,  James;  for  I  am  sure  no  man  in  England  will  take  away  my  life  to  make  you  king,"  was 
Charles's  reply. 

In  Constitution-hill-road,  near  the  Palace,  three  diabolical  attempts  have  been  made 
to  shoot  Queen  Victoria :  by  a  lunatic,  named  Oxford,  June  10,  1840 ;  by  Francis, 
another  lunatic,  May  30,  1842;  and  by  an  idiot,  named  Hamilton,  May  19,  1849.  On 
June  29,  1850,  at  the  upper  end  of  the  road,  Sir  Robert  Peel  was  thrown  from  his 
horse ;  he  died  at  his  house  in  Whitehall  Gardens,  on  July  2. 

The  Arch  at  the  entrance  of  the  road  from  Hyde  Park  Corner  is  a  poor  adaptation 
from  the  Arch  of  Titus  at  Rome,  and  was  originally  designed  as  an  entrance  to  Buckingham 
Palace  Gardens.  It  bears  the  colossal  equestrian  statue  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington. 

The  Green  Park  has  been  greatly  improved,  from  almost  a  bare  field  to  a  resort  of 
some  picturesqueness  and  variety.  A  new  horse-ride  has  been  made,  from  Buckingham 
Palace  to  Stable-yard  Gate,  St.  James's. 

Hyde  Park  extends  from  Piccadilly  westward  to  Kensington  Gardens,  and  lies 
between  the  great  western  and  Bayswater  roads.  It  is  the  site  of  the  ancient  manor 
of  Hyde,  which  belonged  to  the  monastery  of  St.  Peter,  Westminster,  until  it  was  con- 
veyed to  Henry  VIII.  in  1536,  soon  after  which  a  keeper  of  the  park  is  mentioned. 
In  1550  the  French  Ambassador  hunted  here;  and  in  1578  the  Duke  Casimir  shot  a 
doe  from  amongst  300  other  deer  in  Hyde  Park.  In  1652  the  Park  was  sold  by  order 
of  Parliament,  for  17,000Z.;  the  deer  being  valued,  in  addition,  at  1651.  6s.  2d. 
The  park  then  contained  620  acres,  and  extended  eastward  to  Park-lane,  and  on  the 
west  almost  to  the  front  of  Kensington  Palace :  it  is  described  in  the  indenture  of  sale 
as  "that  impaled  ground  called  Hyde  Park;"  but,  with  the  exception  of  Tyburn 
meadow,  the  enclosure  for  the  deer,  the  old  lodge  at  Hyde  Park  Corner,  and  the 
Banqueting  House,  the  park  was  left  in  a  state  of  nature ;  and  De  Grammont  describes  it 
as  a  barn-field  in  the  time  of  Charles  II.  Ben  Jonson  mentions  its  great  spring  show 
of  coaches;  Brome  names  its  races,  horse  and  foot;  and  in  Shirley's  play  of  Hyde 
Park,  1637,  is  the  scene  of  a  race  in  the  park  between  an  Irish  and  English  footman. 
After  the  sale  by  Parliament,  tolls  were  levied. 

"  llth  April,  1653. — I  went  to  take  the  aire  in  Hide  Park,  when  every  coach  was  made  to  pay  a 
shilling,  and  every  horse  sixpence,  by  the  sordid  fellow  (Anthony  Deane,  of  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields, 
Esq.)  who  had  purchas'd  it  of  the  State,  as  they  were  call'd." — Evelyn. 

The  park  does  not  appear  to  have  been  thrown  open  to  the  public  until  the  time  of 
Charles  I.,  and  then  not  indiscriminately. 

In  the  Character  of  England,  1659,  it  is  described  as  "  a  field  near  the  town,  which  they  call  Hyde 
Park ;  the  place  not  unpleasant,  and  which  they  use  as  our  course ;  but  with  nothing  of  that  order, 
equipage,  and  splendour;  being  such  an  assembly  of  wretched  jades  and  hackney-coaches,  as,  next  a 
regiment  of  carrmen,  there  is  nothing  approaches  the  resemblance.  This  parke  was,  it  seems,  used  by 
the  late  king  and  nobility  for  the  freshness  of  the  air  and  the  goodly  prospect;  but  it  is  that  which  now 
(besides  all  other  exercises)  they  pay  for  here  in  England,  though  to  be  free  in  all  the  world  besides; 
every  coach  and  horse  which  enters  buying  his  mouthful  and  permission  of  the  publicane  who  has  pur- 
chased it,  for  which  the  entrance  is  guarded  with  porters  and  long  staves." 

At  the  Restoration,  Mr.  Hamilton  was  appoined  Ranger  of  the  park,  which  he  let 
in  farms  until  1670,  when  it  was  enclosed  with  a  wall,  and  re-stocked  with  deer. 
Refreshments  were  thus  early  sold;  for  25th  April,  1669,  Pepys  carried  his  pretty 
wife  to  the  lodge,  and  there  in  their  coach  ate  a  cheesecake,  and  drank  a  tankard  of 
milk.  De  Grammont  describes  the  promenade  as  "  the  rendezvous  of  fashion  and 
beauty.  Every  one,  therefore,  who  bad  either  sparkling  eyes  or  a  splendid  equipage, 
constantly  repaired  thither;  and  the  king  (Charles  II.)  seemed  pleased  with  the  place." 
Maying  was  a  favourite  custom  here :  May  1,  1661,  Evelyn  "  went  to  Hyde  Park  to 
take  the  air ;  where  was  his  Majesty  and  an  innumerable  appearance  of  gallants  and 
rich  coaches,  being  now  the  time  of  universal  festivity  and  joy."  Even  in  the  Puritan 
times,  May  (1654)  "  was  more  observed  by  people  going  a-maying  than  for  divers  years 
past ;  and,  indeed,  much  sin  committed  by  wicked  meetings,  with  fiddlers,  drunkenness, 


PARKS.  645 

ribaldry,  and  the  like.  Great  resort  came  to  Hyde  Park,  many  hundreds  of  coaches, 
and  gallants  in  attire:  hut  most  shameful  powdered-hair  men,  and  painted  and 
spotted  women."  A  few  days  after,  the  Lord  Protector  and  many  of  his  Privy 
Council  witnessed  in  Hyde  Park  "a  howling  of  a  great  ball  by  fifty  Cornish 
gentlemen  of  one  side,  and  fifty  of  the  other ;  one  party  playing  in  red  caps,  and  the 
other  in  white.  The  ball  they  played  withal  was  silver,  and  designed  for  that  party 
which  did  win  the  goal."  Evelyn,  in  May,  1658,  "  went  to  see  a  coach-race  in  Hyde 
Park  ;"  and  Pepys,  August,  1660,  "  To  Hyde  Park  by  coach,  and  saw  a  fine  foot-race 
three  times  round  the  park."     Here  a  strange  accident  happened  to  Cromwell  in  1654 : 

"The  Duke  of  Holslein  made  him  (Cromwell)  a  present  of  a  set  of  gay  Friesland  coach-horses;  with 
which,  taking  the  air  in  the  park,  attended  only  with  his  secretary,  Thurloe,  and  a  guard  of  Janizaries, 
he  would  needs  take  the  place  of  the  coachman,  and  not  content  with  their  ordinary  pace,  he  lashed 
them  very  furiously.  But  they,  unaccustomed  to  such  a  rough  driver,  ran  away  in  a  rage,  and  stopped 
not  till  they  had  thrown  him  out  of  the  box,  with  which  fall  his  pistol  fired  in  his  pocket,  though  with- 
out any  hurt  to  himself;  by  which  he  might  have  been  instructed  how  dangerous  it  was  to  meddle  with 
those  things  wherein  he  had  no  experience." — Ludlow. 

Cromwell  was  partial  to  Hyde  Park  here  Syndercombe  and  Cecill  lay  wait  to 
assassinate  him,  when  "  the  hinges  of  Hyde  Park  gate  were  filed  off,  in  order  to  their 
escape."  The  Ring  was,  from  all  time  previous  to  the  Restoration  till  far  in  the  reigns 
of  the  Georges,  the  fashionable  haunt.  It  was  situated  to  the  north  of  the  present 
Serpentine,  and  part  of  the  Ranger's  grounds  cover  its  sitej  some  of  the  old  trees 
remain,  with  a  few  of  the  oaks  traditionally  said  to  have  been  planted  by  Charles  II. 
Near  the  ring  was  the  lodge  called  the  "  Grave  Prince  Maurice's  Head,"  and  in  later 
times  the  "  Cake  house ;"  a  slight  stream  ran  before  it ;  and  the  house,  approached  by 
planks,  presented  a  very  picturesque  appearance :  it  is  engraved  in  the  Gentleman's 
Magazine  for  1801. 

Reviews  have,  for  nearly  two  centuries,  been  favourite  spectacles  in  Hyde  Park.  At 
the  Restoration,  during  a  splendid  show,  the  Lord  Mayor  received  notice  that "  Colonel 
John  Lambert  was  carried  by  the  park  a  prisoner  into  Whitehall." 

Pepys  "did  stand"  at  another  review  in  1661,  when  Charles  II.  was  present,  while  "the  horse  and 
foot  march  by  and  discharge  their  guns,  to  show  a  French  marquisse  (for  whom  this  muster  was  caused) 
the  goodnesse  of  our  firemen ;  which,  indeed,  was  very  good,  though  not  without  a  slip  now  and  then  ; 
and  one  broadside  close  to  our  coach  as  we  had  going  out  of  the  parke,  even  to  the  nearenesse  to  be  ready 
to  burn  our  hairs.  Yet  methought  all  these  gay  men  are  not  the  soldiers  that  must  do  the  king's  business, 
it  being  such  as  these  that  lost  the  old  king  all  he  had,  and  were  beat  by  the  most  ordinary  fellows  that 
could  be." 

The  Militia  review  by  George  II.  in  1759,  the  Volunteers  by  George  III.,  and  the 
encampment  of  the  troops  after  Lord  George  Gordon's  Riots  in  1780,  also  belong  to 
the  military  shows  of  Hyde  Park.  Here  George  III.  inspected  the  Volunteers  on  his 
birth-day,  June  4th,  for  several  years :  in  1800  the  troops  numbered  15,000.  In  August, 
1814,  were  held  in  this  park  the  Regent's  Fete  and  Fair,  when  a  mimic  sea-fight  was 
exhibited  on  the  Serpentine,  and  fireworks  from  the  wall  of  Kensington  Gardens ;  and 
here  have  been  held  in  the  present  century  three  "  Coronation  Fairs,"  and  firework 
displays.  Of  sterner  quality  was  the  rendezvous  of  the  Commonwealth  troops  in  the 
park  during  the  Civil  War.  Essex  and  Lambert  encamped  their  forces  here ;  and 
Cromwell  reviewed  his  terrible  Ironsides.  In  1643  the  citizens  threw  up  the  line  of 
fortification  drawn  round  the  City  and  suburbs,  drawn  by  order  of  Parliament ;  and  one 
of  its  strongest  works,  "  Oliver's  Mount,"  faced  Mount-street,  in  Park-lane.  (See  Fob- 
tipications,  p.  354.)     Here  was  the  celebrated  "  Mount"  Coffee-house. 

Hyde  Park  continued  with  little  alteration,  till,  in  1705,  nearly  30  acres  were 
added  to  Kensington  Gardens,  by  Queen  Anne ;  and  nearly  300  acres  by  Caroline, 
Queen  of  George  II.  (see  Kensington  Gaedens,  p.  493),  by  whose  order  also,  in 
1730-3,  was  formed  the  Serpentine  River.  The  Park  has  also  been  reduced  by  grants 
of  land,  between  Hyde  Park  Corner  and  Park-lane,  for  building ;  and  according  to  a 
survey  taken  in  1790,  its  extent  was  394  acres  2  roods  38  poles.  In  1766,  John 
Gwynne,  the  architect,  proposed  to  build  in  Hyde  Park  a  royal  palace  for  George  III. ; 
and  in  1825,  a  Member  of  Parliament  published  a  magnificent  design  for  a  palace 
near  Stanhope  Gate. 

Permission  to  "  vend  victuals  "  in  Hyde  Park  was  granted  by  George  II.  to  a  pilot 
who  saved  him  from  wreck  in  one  of  his  voyages  from  visiting  his  Hanoverian  domi- 
nions; and  it  is  stated  that  the  pilot's  descendants  to  this  day  exercise  the  privilege. 


646  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

At  the  same  time  the  King  gave  his  deliverer  a  silver-gilt  ring,  which  bears  the  arras 
of  Poland  impaled  with  those  of  Lithuania,  surmounted  by  a  regal  crown.  This  ring 
was  exhibited  to  the  British  Archaeological  Association,  Feb.  9,  1853. 

The  Conduits  of  Hyde  Park  are  described  at  p.  289.  Upon  the  east  side,  70  feet 
above  Trinity  high-water  mark  of  the  Thames,  was  the  Chelsea  Waterworks  Reservoir, 
which  contained  about  1,500,000  gallons :  the  iron  railing  and  dwarf  wall  were  added 
to  prevent  suicides,  which  were  formerly  frequent  here.  The  reservoir  has  been 
emptied,  and  the  site  laid  out  as  a  sunk  garden,  with  much  taste ;  here  is  a  classic 
drinking  fountain  ;  A.  Munro,  sculptor.  Upon  the  east  side  was  Walnut-tree  Walk, 
shaded  by  two  rows  of  noble  walnut-trees,  extended  to  a  large  circle ;  these  trees 
were  cut  down  about  1800,  and  the  wood  was  used  by  Government  for  the  stocks  of 
soldiers'  muskets. 

The  colossal  statue  near  the  south-east  corner  of  the  park,  cast  by  Sir  R.  Westma- 
cott,  K.A.,  from  twelve  24-pounders,  weighing  upwards  of  30  tons,  is  about  18  feet 
high,  and  occupies  a  granite  pedestal,  bearing  this  inscription  :  "  To  Arthur  Duke  of 
Wellington,  and  his  brave  companions  in  arms,  this  statue  of  Achilles,  cast  from 
cannon  taken  in  the  battles  of  Salamanca,  Vittoria,  Toulouse,  and  Waterloo,  is  in- 
scribed by  their  country  women."  On  the  base  is  inscribed:  " Placed  on  this  spot  on 
the  18th  day  of  June,  1S22,  by  command  of  his  Majesty  George  IV."  The  figure  is 
copied  from  one  of  the  antique  statues  on  the  Monte  Cavallo  at  Rome,  and  is  most 
improperly  called  Achilles  !  it  has  never  received  its  sword !  The  cost  of  this  monument, 
10,000?.,  was  subscribed  by  ladies. 

Gates. — The  principal  entrance  is  at  Hyde  Park  Corner,  through  a  triple-arched 
and  colonnaded  screen,  designed  by  Decimus  Burton :  eastward  is  Apsley  House,  nearly 
upon  the  site  of  which  stood  the  old  lodge  of  the  park.  In  Park-lane  is  Stanhope- 
gate,  opened  about  1750;  and  Grosvenor-gate,  in  1724,  by  subscription  of  the  neigh- 
bouring inhabitants.  Cumberland-gate,  at  the  west  end  of  Oxford-street,  was  opened 
about  1744-5,  at  the  expense  of  the  inhabitants  of  Cumberland-place  and  the  neigh- 
bourhood :  it  was  a  mean  brick  arch,  with  side  entrances  :  here  took  place  a  disgraceful 
contest  between  the  people  and  the  soldiery  at  the  funeral  of  Queen  Caroline,  August 
15,  1821,  when  two  persons  were  killed  by  shots  from  the  Horse-guards  on  duty.  In 
1822,  the  unsightly  brick  and  wooden  gate  was  removed ;  and  handsome  iron  gates 
were  substituted,  at  the  cost  of  nearly  2000Z.,  by  Mr.  Henry  Philip  Hope,  of  Norfolk- 
street,  Park-lane.  In  1851  these  gates  were  removed  for  the  marble  arch  from  Buck- 
ingham Palace,  and  placed  on  each  side  of  it  j  the  cost  of  removing  the  arch  and  re- 
building it  being  4340?.  (See  Aeches,  p.  21.)  In  the  Bayswater-road  is  Victoria- 
gate  :  nearly  opposite  is  the  handsome  terrace,  Hyde- Park-gardens.  Upon  the  south 
side  of  the  park  are  the  Kensington-gate ;  the  Prince  of  Wales's-gate,  near  the  site  of 
the  Half-way  House  ;  and  Albert-gate,  Knightsbridge. 

Rotten  Mow,  on  the  south  side  of  the  park,  extends  about  1^  mile  from  the  lodge 
at  Hyde  Park  Corner  to  the  Kensington-gate :  it  is  for  saddle-horses,  who  can  gallop 
over  its  fine  loose  gravel  without  danger  from  falling ;  and  it  is  crowded  with  eques- 
trians between  5  and  7  p.m.,  during  the  high  London  season.  The  name  Rotten  is 
traced  to  rotteran,  to  muster ;  which  military  origin  may  refer  to  the  park  during  the 
Civil  War ;  but  the  derivation  is  disputed.  Between  Rotten-row  and  the  Queen's 
Drive  was  erected  the  Building  for  the  Great  Exhibition  of  1851 : 
"But  yesterday  a  naked  sod, 

The  dandies  sneered  from  Rotten-row, 
And  sauntered  o'er  it  to  and  fro, 
And  see  'tis  done  ! 
As  though  'twere  by  a  wizard's  rod, 
A  blazing  arch  ot  lucid  glass 
Leaps  like  a  fountain  from  the  grass, 
To  meet  the  sun ! 
A  quiet  green  but  few  days  since, 
With  cattle  browsing  in  the  shade, 
And  lo  !  long  lines  of  bright  arcade 
In  order  raised; 
A  palace  as  for  fairy  Prince, 
A  rare  pavilion,  such  as  man 
Saw  never  since  mankind  began, 
And  built  and  glazed !" 

May-day  Ode,  by  W.  M.  Thackeray :  Times,  May  1, 1851. 


PARKS.  647 

The  Crystal  Palace,  as  the  building  was  appropriately  so  named,  we  believe,  by- 
Douglas  Jerrold,  its  roof  and  sides  being  of  glass,  was  designed  by  Mr.  (subsequently 
Sir  Joseph)  Paxton ;  and  was  constructed  by  Mr.  (subsequently  Sir  Charles)  Fox,  and 
Mr.  Henderson.  The  ground  was  broken  July  30,  1850 ;  the  first  column  was  placed 
Sept.  26  j  and  the  building  was  opened  May  1,  1851. 

It  was  a  vast  expansion  of  a  conservatory  design,  built  at  Chatsworth  by  Mr.  Paxton,  for  the  flower- 
ing of  the  Victoria  Lily.  The  Crystal  Palace  was  cruciform  in  plan,  with  a  transept,  nave,  and  side 
aisles ;  consisting  of  a  framework  of  wrought  and  cast-iron,  firmly  braced  together,  and  based  upon  a 
foundation  of  concrete.  It  was  built  without  a  single  scaffold-pole,  a  pair  of  shears  and  the  Derrick  crane 
being  the  only  machinery  used  in  hoisting  the  materials.  In  the  plan,  every  measurement  was  a  mul- 
tiple of  8.  Thus  the  columns  were  all  24  feet  high,  and  24  feet  apart ;  and  the  centre  aisle  or  nave  was 
72  feet,  or  9  times  8.  Again,  one  single  area,  bounded  by  4  columns  and  their  crowning  girders,  was  the 
type  of  the  whole  building,  which  was  a  simple  aggregation  of  so  many  cubes,  in  extreme  length  1851 
feet,  corresponding  with  the  year  of  the  Exhibition ;  width  408  feet ;  with  an  additional  projection  on  the 
north  side,  936  feet  long  by  48  wide.  The  great  avenues  ran  east  and  west ;  very  near  the  centre  crossed 
the  transept,  72  feet  high,  and  108  wide.  Its  roof  was  semicircular,  designed  by  Mr.  (subsequently  Sir 
Charles)  Barry,  so  as  to  preserve  three  fine  old  elms.   The  other  roofs,  designed  by  Mr.  Paxton,  were  flat. 

The  entire  area  of  the  buildingwas  772,784  square  feet,  or  about  19  acres,  nearly  seven  times  as  much  as 
St.  Paul's  Cathedral.  "  The  Alhambra  and  the  Tuileries  would  not  have  filled  up  the  eastern  and  western 
nave;  the  National  Gallery  would  have  stood  beneath  the  transept;  the  palace  of  Versailles  (the  largest 
in  the  world)  would  have  extended  but  a  little  way  beyond  the  transept;  and  a  dozen  metropolitan 
churches  would  have  stood  erect  under  its  roof  of  glass."  (AthencBum,  No.  1227.)  The  ground  area  was 
divided  into  a  central  nave,  four  side  aisles,  and  several  courts  and  avenues;  and  a  gallery  ran  through- 
out the  building.  There  were  about  3000  columns,  nearly  3500  girders,  and  altogether  about  4000  tons 
of  iron  built  into  the  structure.  The  iron  skeleton  progressed  with  the  framing  and  glazing,  requiring  200 
miles  of  wooden  sash-bars,  and  20  miles  of  Paxton  gutters  for  the  roof,  which  required  17  acres  of  glass ; 
besides  which,  there  were  1500  vertical  glazed  sashes.  Flooring  1,000,000 square  feet;  total  wood-work, 
600,000  cubic  feet.  The  hollow  cast-iron  columns  conveyed  the  rain-fall  from  the  roof.  The  effective 
ventilation  was  by  louvre-boards. 

The  decoration  of  the  interior,  devised  by  Owen  Jones,  consisted  of  the  application  of  the  primitive 
colours,  red,  blue,  and  yellow,  upon  narrow  surfaces :  it  was  charmingly  artistic,  and  was  rapidly  exe- 
cuted by  500  painters.  During  the  months  of  December  and  January,  upwards  of  2000  workmen  were 
employed  throughout  the  building. 

The  vast  Palace  was  filled  with  the  World's  Industry :  in  the  western  portion  were  the  productions 
of  the  United  Kingdom,  India,  and  the  Colonies ;  and  the  eastern,  those  of  Foreign  Countries.  The 
value  of  the  whole  (except  the  Koh-i-noor  diamond)  was  1,781,9292.  11».  4i. 

The  opening  of  the  Exhibition,  on  May  1, 1851,  was  proclaimed  by  Queen  Victoria,  accompanied  by 
Prince  Albert,  the  Prince  of  Wales,  and  the  Princess  Royal.  Between  May  1  and  Oct.  11  the  number  of 
visits  paid  was  6,063,986 ;  mean  daily  average  43,536.  On  three  successive  days  there  entered  107,815, 
109,915,  109,760  persons,  who  paid  respectively  51752.,  52312.,  and  52832.  There  were  counted  in  the 
Palace  93,000  persons  at  one  time.  Cost  of  the  building,  176,0302. 13*.  8d.  Oct.  15,  Jury  Awards  and 
closing  ceremonial.  The  whole  building  was  removed  before  the  close  of  1852;  and,  on  Nov.  7, 1853,  it 
was  proposed  to  place  upon  the  site  a  memorial  of  the  Exhibition,  to  include  a  statue  of  Prince  Albert, 
the  originator  of  this  display  of  the  Industry  of  all  Nations. 

This  splendid  National  Memorial  is  now  (1867)  being  erected  in  Hyde  Park,  as 
nearly  as  may  be,  at  the  intersecting  point  of  central  lines  of  the  two  Great  Inter- 
national Exhibitions  (Hyde  Park  and  South  Kensington),  originated  by  the  Prince 
Consort. 

The  design  by  Gilbert  Scott,  R.A.,  though  in  some  sense  a  "  Memorial  Cross," 
differs  widely  in  type  from  the  form  usually  described  by  that  term.  It  is,  in  fact,  a 
vast  canopy  or  shrine,  overshadowing  a  colossal  statue  of  the  personage  to  be  comme- 
morated, and  itself  throughout  enriched  with  artistic  illustrations  of  or  allusions  to 
the  arts  and  sciences  fostered  by  the  Prince,  and  the  virtues  which  adorned  his  cha- 
racter. The  canopy  or  shrine  which  forms  the  main  feature  of  the  Memorial  is  raised 
upon  a  platform  approached  on  all  sides  by  a  vast  double  flight  of  steps,  and  stands 
upon  a  basement  or  podium  rising  from  this  elevated  platform  to  a  level  of  about  12 
feet.  Upon  the  angles  of  this  podium  stand  the  four  great  clusters  of  granite  shafts 
that  support  the  canopy,  which  is  itself  arched  on  each  side  from  these  massive  pillars, 
each  face  being  terminated  by  a  gable,  and  each  angle  by  a  lofty  pinnacle  j  while  over 
all  rises  &fleche  or  enriched  spire  of  metal  work,  surmounted  by  a  gemmed  and  floriated 
cross.  Beneath  the  canopy,  and  raised  upon  a  pedestal,  will  be  placed  the  quasi- 
enthroned  statue  of  the  Prince  Consort. 

The  idea  of  the  architect  in  his  design  of  the  canopy,  was  this  :^The  first  concep- 
tion was  a  shrine.  The  exquisite  metal  and  jewelled  shrines  of  the  12th  and  13th 
centuries  are  nearly  always  ideal  models  of  larger  structures,  but  of  structures  of 
which  the  original  type  never  existed.  Their  pillars  were  of  gold  or  silver-gilt,  en- 
riched with  wreaths  of  exquisite  pattern-work  in  many-coloured  enamel.  Their  arches, 
gables,  and  other  architectural  features  were  either  chased  in  beautiful  foliage  cut  in 
gold  or  silver,  or  enriched  with  alternate  plaques  of  enamel  pattern  work  and  of  filigree 


648  CUBIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

studded  with  gems.  Their  roofs  were  covered  with  patterns  of  repousse  work  or 
enamel,  and  enriched  with  sculptured  medallions ;  the  crestings  of  roofs  and  gables 
were  grilled  with  exquisite  open  foliage  in  gold  or  silver,  while  every  part  was  replete  with 
sculpture,  enamel  paintings,  and  jewellery.  The  architect's  aim,  then,  was  to  reproduce 
in  some  degree  at  full  size  the  ideal  structure  which  these  wonderful  old  jewellers 
represented  in  model.  This  idea  could  not,  of  course,  be  literally  carried  out ;  but  it 
has  determined  the  leading  characteristics  of  the  monument,  and  at  least  so  far  as  the 
metal-work  is  concerned,  is  being  faithfully  acted  on,  while  in  the  more  massive  parts 
of  the  structure  it  cannot  be  carried  further  than  to  give  its  tone  to  the  decorations. 

Hyde  Park  being  for  the  most  part  high  and  dry,  is  perhaps  the  most  airy  and 
healthy  spot  in  London.  The  north-west  or  deer-park,  verging  upon  Kensington 
Gardens,  is  even  of  a  rural  character :  the  trees  are  picturesque,  and  deer  are  occa- 
sionally here.  The  Serpentine  has  upon  its  margin  some  lofty  elms  :  but  from  other 
positions  of  the  park  many  fine  old  timber-trees  have  disappeared,  and  the  famous 
Ring  of  Charles  II.'s  days  can  be  but  imperfectly  traced.  The  drives  and  walks 
have  been  greatly  extended  and  improved :  for  the  brick  wall  has  been  substituted  iron 
railing ;  and  the  opening  of  three  gates  (Victoria,  Albert,  and  Prince  of  Wales),  and 
the  Queen's  Drive  south  of  the  Serpentine,  denominate  the  improvements  in  the 
present  reign.  From  this  high  ground  the  artistic  eye  enjoys  the  sylvan  scenery  of 
the  park ;  the  old  trees  fringing  the  Serpentine,  and  its  water  gleaming  through  their 
branches  :  backed  by  the  rich  woods  of  Kensington  Gardens ;  and  the  bold  beauty  of 
the  Surrey  hills. 

Among  the  floral  improvements  in  Hyde  Park  is  the  promenade  along  the 
east  side,  from  Apsley  House  to  the  Marble  Arch,  where  the  beds  of  massed  flowers 
are  beautifully  effective  j  and  they  are  continued  from  the  gates  by  Apsley  House 
down  to  the  Serpentine.  Plantations  of  ornamental  trees  are  extended  along  the 
south  side,  in  pleasure  grounds  tastefully  planted  with  shrubs  and  flowers.  Finally, 
horse-rides  have  been  made  to  extend  from  Victoria  Gate  to  the  Magazine  Barracks. 

Flowers  are  now  grown  in  Hyde  Park,  with  great  success.  The  first  attempt  was  made  by  Sir 
Benjamin  Hall,  in  1856,  when  Chief  Commissioner  of  Works ;  but  Mr.  Cowper,  in  1860,  made  a  regular 
garden  of  the  space  between  Stanhope-gate  and  the  Marble  Arch,  where  the  massing  of  colours  is  very 
successful ;  between  the  Marble  Arch  and  Kensington  Gardens,  the  flowers  are  in  patches  among  the 
trees.  The  flower-beds  were  so  successful  in  Hyde  Park  that  they  were  adopted  by  the  side  of  Rotten- 
row,  and  in  other  parks.  Pipes  are  laid  under  ground  for  the  water-mains,  and" the  Parisian  plan  of 
hose  is  adopted  for  watering  the  flowers  and  the  grass  borders. 

Tlie  Serpentine  (so  called  in  distinction  from  the  previous  straight  canals)  is  a 
pool  of  water  covering  fifty  acres,  formed  from  natural  springs,  and  originally  fed  at 
the  Bayswater  extremity  by  a  stream  from  West-End,  near  Hampstead,  and  the  over- 
plus of  certain  reservoirs,  one  of  which  occupied  the  site  of  Trinity  Church.  In  1834 
the  stream,  or  rather  sewer,  at  Bayswater  was  cut  off,  and  the  deficiency  was  made  up 
from  the  Chelsea  Waterworks.  At  the  eastern  end  the  Serpentine  imperfectly  sup- 
plies an  artificial  cascade,  formed  in  1817  ;  and  descending  into  the  "  leg  of  mutton" 
pond,  the  stream  leaves  Hyde  Park  at  Albert  Gate,  divides  the  parish  of  Chelsea  from 
that  of  St.  George's,  Hanover-square,  and  falls  into  the  Thames  at  Chelsea.  The  Ser- 
pentine supplies  the  Knightsbridge  Barracks  and  the  Horse-guards,  the  lake  in 
Buckingham  Palace  Gardens,  and  the  ornamental  water  in  St.  James's  Park.  The 
depth  in  Hyde  Park  varies  from  1  to  40  feet,  of  which  Sir  John  Rennie  found,  in 
1849,  in  the  deepest  parts,  from  10  to  15  feet  of  inky,  putrid  mud — "  a  laboratory  of 
epidemic  miasma."  The  Serpentine  is  deepest  near  the  bridge :  the  whole  sheet  was 
deepened,  at  a  cost  of  from  10,000Z.  to  20,000Z.  Here  200,000  persons,  on  an  average, 
bathe  annually,  sometimes  12,000  on  a  Sunday  morning ;  and  in  severe  winters  the 
ice  is  the  greatest  metropolitan  skating-field.  In  1847,  pleasure-boats  for  hire  were 
introduced  upon  the  Serpentine  :  the  boat-houses  are  picturesque. 

On  the  north  margin  The  Royal  Humane  Society,  in  1794,  built  their  principal 
receiving-house,  upon  ground  presented  by  George  II  I.  In  1834  the  house  was  re- 
built, from  the  design  of  J.  B.  Bunning  j  the  first  stone  being  laid  by  the  late  Duke  of 
Wellington :  over  the  Ionic  entrance  is  sculptured  the  obverse  of  the  Society's  medal, 
—a  boy  striving  to  rekindle  an  almost  extinct  torch  by  blowing  it ;  legend,  Lateai 
scintillvla  forsan — "  Perchance  a  spark  may  be  concealed."     In  the  rear  are  kept 


PARKS.  649 

boats,  ladders,  ropes  and  poles,  wicker-boats,  life-preserving  apparatus,  &e.  The  Royal 
Humane  Society  was  founded  in  1774,  by  Drs.  Goldsmith,  Heberden,  Towers,  Lettsom, 
Hawes,  and  Cogan.  Its  receiving-houses  in  the  parks  cost  3000Z.  a  year.  In  odd 
contiguity  to  the  Society's  House  in  Hyde  Park  is  the  Government  Magazine,  con- 
taining stores  of  ammunition  and  gunpowder. 

Duels  fought  in  Hyde  Park. — Temp.  Henry  VIII.,  the  Duke  of  B.  and  Lord  B.,  "near  the  first  tree 
behind  the  Lodge ;"  both  killed.— 1712.  The  Duke  of  Hamilton  and  Lord  Mohun;  both  killed. — 
1763.  Wilkes  and  Mr.  S.  Martin,  the  hero  of  Churchill's  Duellist. — 1770.  Baddeley,  the  comedian,  and 
George  Garrick.— 1773.  Mr.  Whately  and  Mr.  Temple.— 1780.  The  Earl  of  Shelburne  and  Col.  Fullarton. 
—1780.  Rev.  Mr.  Bate  and  Mr.  K.,  both  of  the  Morning  Post.— 1782.  Rev.  Mr.  Allen  and  Mr.  Dulany.— 
1783.  Lieut.-Col.  Thomas  and  Col.  Gordon,  the  former  killed. — 1787.  Sir  John  Macpherson  and  Major 
Browne. — 1792.  Messrs.  Frizell  and  Clarke,  law-students,  the  former  killed. — 1796.  Mr.  Carpenter  and 
Mr.  Pride  (Americans),  the  former  killed. — 1797.  Col.  King  and  Col.  Fitzgerald,  the  latter  killed. — 
Lieut.  W.  and  Capt.  I.,  the  latter  killed.— 1822.    The  Duke  of  Bedford  and  the  Duke  of  Buckingham. 

Near  the  site  of  the  Humane  Society's  Receiving-house  formerly  stood  a  cottage, 
presented  by  George  III.  to  Mrs.  Sims,  in  consideration  of  her  having  lost  six  sons  in 
war ;  the  last  fell  with  Abercrombie  at  Alexandria,  March  21,  1801.  This  cottage  has 
been  painted  by  Nasmyth,  and  engraved  in  the  Art  Journal,  No.  59,  N.S. 

The  Law,  with  regard  to  the  Parks,  according  to  the  opinion  of  the  law-advisers  of 
the  Crown,  November,  1856,  is  in  effect  that — 

There  is  a  right  to  close  the  gates  and  -exclude  the  public ;  or,  the  gates  being  open,  to  exclude  per- 
sons ;  but  that  persons  who  have  once  entered  cannot  be  turned  out  without  notice  that  the  license  is 
•withdrawn.  No  force,  therefore,  can  be  brought  to  bear  against  bodies  or  masses,  which  might  contain 
many  who  have  not  had  notice.  They  also  say  that  it  would  not  be  practicable  to  remove  any  number 
individually  and  prevent  them  from  returning,  and  remark  on  the  probability  of  disorder  if  even  an 
individual  were  turned  out.  The  effect  is  that  the  Government  have  nothing  but  the  common  law  of 
trespass  to  rely  upon  with  its  incidents,  which  are  most  important.  In  July,  1866,  the  above-mentioned 
opinion  was  submitted  to  Sir  W.  Bovill  and  Sir  Hugh  Cairns,  who  were  particularly  requested  to  say 
whether  there  was  any  legal  authority  to  disperse  by  force  any  meeting  for  political  purposes  in  the  Park. 
Their  answer  was  that  there  is  no  such  authority  for  any  practical  purpose.  They  state  that  when  per- 
sons have  once  entered  the  Park  they  can  only  be  ejected  after  notice  served  on  or  brought  home  to 
each  individually.  If  the  assembly  remain  peaceable  the  police  can  do  nothing  but  hand  out  man  after 
man.  In  no  case  can  they  legally  clear  the  Park  by  a  charge,  and  it  is  most  important  that  this  should 
be  known.  The  Commissioners  of  Works,  spending  public  money,  represent  the  public.  The  Rangers 
more  properly  represent  the  Crown.  All  these  things  are  important  when  we  are  thrown  back  upon  the 
technical  law  of  trespass. 

On  July  23,  1866,  a  political  meeting  in  Hyde  Park  having  been  forbidden  by  the 
Home  Secretary  of  State,  and  the  gates  being  closed,  under  the  direction  of  Sir 
Richard  Mayne,  Chief  Commissioner  of  Police,  the  railings  were  torn  down,  and  the 
mob  entered,  and  committed  wanton  damage  to  the  flower-beds  and  shrubberies.  The 
cost  of  the  erection  of  new  iron  railings  and  foot-gates  round  Hyde  Park,  in  the  main 
rendered  necessary  by  the  above  riot,  is  stated  at  upwards  of  10,000/. 

Kenningtok  Park,  formerly  Kennington  Common,  which  is  described  at  p.  487, 
was  completed  1852-3.  Tn  laying  out  this  little  park,  of  34  acres,  an  amalgamation 
of  the  plan  geometrical  and  the  English  styles  has  been  adopted.  It  is  furnished  with 
a  gymnasium  and  a  playground,  which,  in  that  populous  neighbourhood,  are  in  constant 
use.  There  is  likewise  a  handsome  drinking-fountain,  presented  by  Mr.  Felix  Slade, 
of  Lambeth,  and  designed  by  Mr.  Driver.  It  is  constructed  of  polished  granite,  sur- 
mounted by  a  bronze  casting,  which  represents  Hagar  and  Ishmael  at  the  well.  There 
are  two  large  grass  enclosures  in  the  centre  of  these  grounds,  in  which  a  very  good 
plan,  and  one  worthy  of  adoption  elsewhere,  is  pursued  to  preserve  the  turf  from  utter 
destruction.  Different  portions"  of  the  Park  are  closed  and  opened  alternately  to  the 
public.  Were  it  not  for  this  precaution,  there  would  not  be  a  living  blade  of  grass  to 
be  seen  by  the  end  of  July ;  every  vestige  of  turf  would  be  trampled  to  death.  The 
Park  is  surrounded  by  a  wrought-iron  fence,  backed  by  a  privet-hedge.  The  area  thus 
encircled  is  only  about  twelve  acres ;  and  around  the  lodge — which  will  be  recognised 
as  the  model  lodging-house  of  the  Exhibition  of  1851 — there  is  an  effective  arrange- 
ment of  common  garden  flowers  in  sunk  panels  of  turf.  Most  of  the  flowers  are  raised 
on  the  spot. 

Poplar  Recreation  Grounds,  situated  between  the  High-street  and  East  India 
Dock-road  have  been  completed,  by  the  Metropolitan  Board  of  Works,  and  were 
opened  in  May,  1867.  The  grounds  occupy  about  five  acres  in  extent,  and  adjoin  the 
churchyard  of  St.  Matthias,  which  occupies  nearly  the  same  area.      The  site  was 


650  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

purchased  at  a  cost  of  12,000£.,  towards  which  the  Metropolitan  Board  of  Works  con- 
tributed 6000/.,  and  1500Z.  has  been  realized  by  the  sale  of  old  materials.  The  re- 
mainder is  borrowed,  and  20  years  allowed  for  its  repayment. 

Peimeose  Hill  Pake,  about  50  acres  at  the  foot  of  Primrose  Hill,  is  enclosed  and 
laid  out  for  cricket,  and  planted  with  trees  and  shrubs,  by  the  Commissioners  of  Woods 
and  Forests.  On  the  south  side  of  the  hill  is  a  fine  open-air  gymnasium,  which  is 
more  frequented  than  any  other  in  London. 

Regent's  Paee,  of  403  acres,  lies  between  the  south  foot  of  Primrose  Hill  and  the 
New-road,  and  includes  "  Marylebone  Farm  and  Fields."  The  relaying  out  of  the  estate 
was  proposed  in  1793,  and  a  large  premium  offered  for  the  best  design ;  but  it  was  nob 
until  1812  that  any  plan  was  adopted — the  plan  of  John  Nash,  architect,  who  built  most 
of  the  fine  terraces  by  which  it  is  surrounded,  and  proposed  to  connect  this  new  part  of 
the  town  with  Carlton  House  and  St.  James's :  this  has  been  effected  in  Regent-street, 
which,  with  the  Park,  is  named  from  their  having  been  projected  and  laid  out  during 
the  Regency  of  George  IV.  The  Park  is  nearly  circular  in  plan,  and  is  comprised 
within  a  ride,  or  drive  of  about  two  miles.  The  south  side  is  parallel  to  the  Marylebone- 
road  ;  the  east  side  extends  northward  to  Gloucester-gate ;  the  west  side  to  Hanover- 
gate;  and  the  northern  curve  nearly  corresponds  with  the  sweep  of  the  Regent's 
Canal,  at  the  north-western  side  of  which  are  Macclesfield-bridge  and  gate.  In  the 
south-west  portion  of  the  Park  is  a  sheet  of  water,  in  outline  resembling  the  three 
legs  on  an  Isle-of-Man  halfpenny :  it  is  crossed  by  wire  suspension-bridges,  and  has 
some  picturesque  islets,  large  weeping- willows,  shrubs,  &c.  There  are  18  or  20  acres 
of  water  on  which  boats  are  to  be  had  for  hire,  and  where  angling  from  the  banks  is 
permitted  at  all  times  while  the  gates  are  open.  Near  the  southernmost  point  is  the 
rustic  cottage  of  the  Toxopholite  Society.  In  the  southern  half  of  the  Park  are  two 
circles :  the  Inner  Circle,  formerly  Jenkins's  nursery-ground,  was  reserved  by  Nash  as 
the  site  for  a  palace  for  George  IV. :  it  is  now  the  garden  of  the  Botanic  Society  (see 
p.  369).  On  the  eastern  slope,  at  the  north  end  of  the  Park,  is  the  garden  of  the 
Zoological  Society.  On  the  east  side,  a  little  south  of  Gloucester-gate,  are  the  enclosed 
villa  and  grounds  of  the  Master  of  St.  Katharine's  Hospital ;  the  church  and  domestic 
buildings  are  opposite.  (See  pp.  166-7.)  Among  the  detached  villas  in  the  Park  are  the 
Holme,  in  the  centre,  built  by  William  Burton,  architect ;  St.  John's  Lodge  (Sir  Francis 
Henry  Goldsmid's),  adjoining  the  Inner  Circle ;  St.  Dunstan's  Villa,  and  Holford  House, 
on  the  Outer  Road;  and  near  Hanover-gate  is  Hanover  Lodge,  formerly  the  Earl  of 
Dundonald's.  The  portico  of  St.  Dunstan's  Villa  is  adapted  from  the  Temple  of  the 
Winds  at  Athens :  the  roof  is  Venetian ;  and  in  a  recess  near  the  entrance  are  the  two 
gigantic  wooden  figures,  with  clubs  and  bells,  from  old  St.  Dunstan's  Church,  Fleet- 
street  (see  p.  160)  :  they  were  purchased  by  the  late  Marquis  of  Hertford  for  2001. 
At  the  south-east  corner  of  the  Park  is  the  Diorama  building,  converted  into  a  Baptist 
chapel  in  1854 ;  beyond  is  the  Colosseum,  described  at  pp.  280-3.  On  the  south,  east, 
and  north-west  sides  of  the  Park  are  highly-embellished  terraces  of  houses,  in  which 
the  Doric  and  Ionic,  the  Corinthian,  and  even  the  Tuscan,  orders  have  been  employed 
with  ornate  effect,  aided  by  architectural  sculpture.  In  the  Inner  Circle,  adjoining 
South  Villa,  is  the  Observatory,  erected  in  1837  by  Mr.  George  Bishop,  F.R.S., 
F.R.A.S.  It  consists  of  a  circular  equatorial  room,  with  a  dome  roof;  and  an  arm 
containing  the  altitude  and  azimuth  instrument,  micrometers,  &c. 

The  Avenue,  an  area  of  four  acres,  at  the  south  end  of  the  Broad  Walk,  has  been  laid  out  in  flower 
gardens.  Here  the  flowers  are  grouped  in  ribands,  arranged  with  an  artist's  eye  to  colour,  the  gra- 
dations of  silver-white,  orange,  purple,  and  scarlet  seem  designed  to  produce  a  prismatic  effect. 
Instead  of  being  mixed  with  other  colours,  the  yellow  calceolaria  is  massed  here  and  there.  The  shrubs 
and  foliage  plants  grow  in  great  luxuriance.  Nearly  all  the  former  are  flowering  shrubs.  The  spe- 
cimens of  yucca  recurva  and  the  standard  hollies — green,  golden,  and  silver,  on  straight  stems— are 
especially  noticeable.  The  point  d'appui  of  the  garden  is  a  large  tazza  filled  with  flowers,  and  supported 
by  four  griffins.  This  is  placed  in  the  centre  of  a  large  curbed  bed,  and  thirty  smaller  tazzas  and  vases 
are  grouped  in  different  parts  of  the  garden.  There  are  fine  beds  of  foliage  plants,  such  as  the  castor- 
oil  plant,  the  Ferdinandia  eminens,  Cannae,  and  Centaurea.  The  flowering  shrubs  are  enclosed  by  a 
hornbeam  hedge,  trained  as  a  trellis.  A  few  Lombardy  poplars,  with  their  silvery  flickers,  break  the 
monotony,  and  add  greatly  to  the  apparent  extent  of  the  narrow  strip  of  ground.  In  the  summer  the 
flowers  and  shrubs,  flanked  by  the  horse-chestnuts  in  full  blossom  and  the  fine  elms,  make  a  glorious 
show.  Here  is  a  not  unpicturesque  red-brick  gardener's  cottage ;  and  there  have  been  added  two 
fountains— one  near  Gloucester-gate,  and  the  other  in  the  middle  of  the  Broad  Walk,  the  space  round 
the  latter  beautifully  laid  out  with  exotics.— Abridged  from  the  Timet. 


PARKS.  651 

Unlike  the  other  parks,  this  contains  within  its  boundaries  several  handsome  private 
residences,  surrounded  by  picturesque  pleasure  grounds.  Each  of  the  two  elder  parks 
is  completely  surrounded  by  houses,  so  that  in  one  case  we  have  1000,  and  in  another 
nearly  500  acres  of  trees,  grass,  and  flowers  in  the  interior  of  our  immense  metropolis, 
just  as  are  the  squares  in  other  cities  and  towns. 

Southwark  Pake:. — The  Metropolitan  Board,  after  eight  years'  deliberation,  pur- 
chased the  land  for  this  new  Park,  at  about  911Z.  per  acre.  The  site  consists  of  65 
acres  of  land  in  the  parish  of  Rotherhithe,  bounded  by  Jamaica  Level,  Union-road,  the 
Rotherhithe  New-road,  and  the  South-Eastern  Railway.  Of  the  65  acres,  only  45 
are  devoted  to  the  purposes  of  the  Park  :  the  remainder  being  appropriated  to 
building  plots,  and  a  road  to  encircle  the  Park. 

St.  James's  Park  is  in  plan  an  irregular  triangle,  in  form  resembling  a  boy's 
kite,  eighty-three  acres  in  extent.  It  was  originally  a  swampy  field  attached  to 
St.  James's  Hospital :  the  ground  was  drained  and  enclosed  by  Henry  VIII.,  who 
thus  made  it  the  pleasure-ground  both  of  the  Hospital — which  he  had  converted  into 
St.  James's  Palace — and  of  Whitehall,  whose  tilt-yard,  cockpit,  tennis-court,  and  bowling- 
green  were  on  the  eastern  verge  of  the  Park ;  but  during  the  reigns  of  Elizabeth  and 
the  first  two  Stuarts  it  was  little  more  than  a  nursery  for  deer,  and  an  appendage  to 
the  tilt-yard.  A  procession  of  15,000  citizens,  "  besides  wifflers  and  other  awayters," 
on  May  8,  1539,  passed  "  rounde  about  the  Parke  of  St.  James."  In  the  reign  of 
Charles  I.  a  sort  of  royal  menagerie  took  the  place  of  the  deer  with  which  the 
"inward  park"  was  stocked  in  the  days  of  Henry  and  Elizabeth.  Charles,  as  he 
walked  through  the  Park  to  Whitehall  on  the  fatal  January  30,  1648-9,  is  said  to 
have  pointed  to  a  tree  which  had  been  planted  by  his  brother,  Prince  Henry,  near 
Spring  Gardens.  Here  Cromwell,  as  he  walked  with  Whitelock,  asked  him,  "  What  if  a 
man  should  take  upon  him  to  be  king  ?"  to  which  the  memorialist  replied :  "  I  think 
that  remedy  would  be  worse  than  the  disease."  Evelyn,  in  his  Sylva,  mentions  the 
branchy  walk  of  elms  in  the  Park,  "  intermingling  their  reverend  tresses." 

Charles  II.  added  thirty-six  acres  to  the  Park,  extended  the  wall  towards  Pall 
Mall,  had  it  planted  by  Le  Notre,  and,  it  is  believed,  by  Dr.  Morison,  formerly 
employed  by  the  Duke  of  Orleans.  The  original  account  for  "  workes  and  services"  is 
signed  by  Charles  himself.     Pepys  and  Evelyn  record  the  progress  of  the  works : — 

"  16  Sept.  1660.  To  the  Park,  where  I  saw  how  far  they  had  proceeded  in  the  Pell  Mell,  and  in 
making  a  river  through  the  Park."  "  11  Oct.  1660.  To  walk  in  St.  James's  Park,  where  we  observed 
the  several  engines  at  work  to  draw  up  water."  "  4  Aug.  1661.  Walked  into  St.  James's  Park,  and 
there  found  great  and  very  noble  alterations."  "  27  July,  1662.  1  to  walke  in  the  Parke,  which  is  now 
every  day  more  and  more  pleasant  by  the  new  works  upon  it."  "  1  Dec.  1662.  Over  the  Parke,  where 
I  first  in  my  life,  it  being  a  great  frost,  did  see  people  sliding  with  their  skeates,  which  is  a  very  pretty 
art."  "  15  Dec.  1662.  To  the  Duke  (of  York),  and  followed  him  into  the  Parke,  where,  though  the  ice 
was  broken  and  dangerous,  yet  he  would  go  slide  upon  his  scates,  which  I  did  not  like ;  but  he  slides 
very  well."  "  11  Aug.  1664.  This  day,  for  a  wager,  before  the  king,  my  lords  of  Castlehaven  and  Arran, 
a  son  of  my  Lord  of  Ormond's,  they  two  alone  did  run  down  and  kill  a  stout  buck  in  St.  James's  Park."— 
Pepys.  "  19  Feb.  1666-7.  In  the  afternoon  I  saw  a  wrestling  match  for  1000Z.  in  St.  James's  Park, 
before  his  Maty,  a  world  of  lords,  and  other  spectators,  'twixt  the  Western  and  Noithern  men.  Mr. 
Secretary  Morice  and  Le  Gerard  being  the  judges.  The  Western  men  won.  Many  greate  sums  were 
betted." — Evelyn. 

The  courtly  Waller  commemorates  the  Park,  "as  lately  improved  by  his  Majesty," 
1661.  Faithorne's  plan,  taken  soon  after  the  Restoration,  shows  the  north  half  of 
the  parade  occupied  by  a  square  enclosure,  surrounded  by  twenty-one  trees,  with  one 
tree  in  the  centre  ;  and  in  the  lower  part  of  the  parade  broad  running  water,  with  a 
bridge  of  two  arches  in  the  middle.  Later  views  show  the  Park  with  long  rows  of 
young  elm  and  lime  trees,  fenced  with  palings,  and  occasionally  relieved  by  some  fine 
picturesque  old  trees. 

The  Mall,  on  the  north  side,  a  vista  half  a  mile  in  length,  wfcs  named  from  the 
game  of  "  pale  maille"  played  here :  it  was  a  smooth  hollow  walk  planted  on  each 
side,  and  having  an  iron  hoop  suspended  from  the  arm  of  a  high  pole,  through  which. 
ring  the  ball  was  struck  by  a  maille,  or  mallet.  (See  a  drawing,  temp.  Charles  IL, 
engraved  in  Smith's  Antiquities  of  Westminster,  and  a  plate  in  Carter's  Westminster.) 
Here  Charles  and  his  courtiers  often  played :  the  earth  was  mixed  with  powdered 
cockle-shells  to  make  it  bind ;  '*  which,  however,"  says  Pepys,  "  in  dry  weather  turns 
to  dust,  and  deads  the  ball."     (See  the  account  of  the  game,  at  p.  636.) 


652  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"2  April,  1661.  To  St.  James's  Park,  where  I  saw  the  Duke  of  York  playing  at  pall-mall,  the  first 
time  that  I  ever  saw  the  sport." — Pepys. 

Cibber    tells    us   tbat   here    he   had    often  seen  Charles  playing  with  his  clogs  and 
feeding  his  ducks,  which  made  the  common  people  adore  him. 

The  Bird-cage  Walk,  on  the  south  side  of  the  Park,  nearly  in  the  same  line  as 
the  road  which  still  retains  the  name,  had  in  Charles  II.'s  time  the  cages  of  an 
aviary  disposed  among  the  trees  which  bordered  it.  The  keeper  of  the  Volary,  or 
Aviary,  was  Edward  Storey,  from  whom  or  his  house  is  named  Storey's  Gate.  The 
carriage-road  between  this  and  Buckingham  Gate  was,  until  1828,  only  open  to  the 
Royal  Family,  and  the  Hereditary  Grand  Falconer,  the  Duke  of  St.  Albans. 

In  the  "  inward  park"  was  made  a  formal  Canal,  2800  feet  in  length  and  1Q0 
feet  broad,  running  from  the  Parade  to  Buckingham  House.  On„the  south  of  this 
canal,  near  its  east  end,  was  the  Decoy,  a  triangular  nexus  of  smaller  canals,  where 
water-fowl  were  kept.  Within  the  channels  of  the  Decoy  was  Duck  Island,  of 
which  Sir  John  Flock  and  St.  Evremond  were,  in  succession,  appointed  governors 
(with  a  salary)  by  Charles  II. ;  and  Queen  Caroline  is  said  to  have  given  the  sinecure 
to  the  thresher-poet,  Stephen  Duck:  "the  island  itself,"  says  Pennant,  "is  lost  in  the 
late  improvements." 

The  Park,  as  well  as  the  Palace,  sheltered  persons  from  arrest ;  for,  in  1632,  John 
Perkins,  a  constable,  was  imprisoned  for  serving  the  Lord  Chief-Justice's  warrant  upon 
John  Beard  in  St.  James's  Park.  To  draw  a  sword  in  the  Park  was  also  a  very  serious 
offence.  Congreve,  in  his  Old  Bachelor,  makes  Bluffe  say,  "  My  blood  rises  at  that 
fellow.  I  can't  stay  where  he  is ;  and  I  must  not  draw  in  the  Park."  Traitorous 
expressions,  when  uttered  in  St.  James's  Park,  were  punished  more  severely.  Francis 
Heat  was  whipped,  in  1717,  from  Charing  Cross  to  the  upper  end  of  the  Haymarket, 
fined  ten  groats,  and  ordered  a  month's  imprisonment,  for  saying  aloud  in  St.  James's 
Park,  "  God  save  King  James  III.,  and  send  him  a  long  and  properous  reign  !"  and,  in 
1718,  a  soldier  was  whipped  in  the  Park  for  drinking  a  health  to  the  Duke  of  Ormond 
and  Dr.  Sacheverell,  and  for  saying  "  he  hoped  soon  to  wear  his  right  master's  cloth." 
The  Duke  of  Wharton,  too,  was  seized  by  the  guard  in  St.  James's  Park  for  singing 
the  Jacobite  air,  "  The  king  shall  have  his  own  again."  See  Cunningham's  Handbook, 
p.  260 ;  where  are  printed,  from  the  Letter-book  of  the  Lord  Steward's  Office,  two 
letters,  dated  1677,  sent  with  two  lunatics  to  Bethlehem  :  Deborah  Lyddal,  for  offering 
to  throw  a  stone  at  the  queen ;  and  Richard  Harris,  for  throwing  an  orange  at  the 
king,  in  St.  James's  Park. 

Evelyn  thus  records  the  introduction  of  skating: — "Dec.  1,1662.  Having  seene 
the  strange  aDd  wonderful  dexterity  of  the  sliders  on  the  new  canal  in  St.  James's 
Park,  performed  before  their  Majesties  by  divers  gentlemen  and  others,  with  scheets 
after  the  manner  of  the  Hollanders,  with  what  swiftness  as  they  pass,  how  suddainly 
they  stop  in  full  career  upon  the  ice,  I  went  home."  Some  of  the  cavaliers  had,  pro- 
bably, acquired  the  art  when  seeking  to  while  away  a  Dutch  winter ;  and  but  for  the 
temporary  overthrow  of  the  monarchy,  we  should  not  thus  early  have  had  skating  in 
England.  The  Park  soon  became  a  resort  for  all  classes,  since,  in  1683,  the  Duke  of 
York  records,  Dec.  4  (a  very  hard  frost),  "  This  morning  the  boys  began  to  slide  upon 
the  canal  in  the  Park." 

Evelyn,  in  1664,  went  to  "  the  Physique  Garden  in  St.  James's,"  where  he  first  saw 
"  orange-trees  and  other  fine  trees."  He  enumerates  in  the  menagerie,  "  an  ornocra- 
tylus,  or  pelican ;  a  fowle  between  a  storke  and  a  swan ;  a  melancholy  water-fowl, 
brought  from  Astracan  by  the  Russian  ambassador ;  a  milk-white  raven ;  two  Baiearian 
cranes,"  one  of  which  had  a  wooden  leg  "  made  by  a  soulder :"  there  were  also  "  deere 
of  severall  countries^  white,  spotted  like  leopards ;  antelopes,  an  elk,  red  deer,  roebucks, 
staggs,  Guinea  goates,  Arabian  sheepe,  &c."  There  were  "  withy-potts,  or  nests,  for 
the  wild  fowle  to  lay  their  eggs  in,  a  little  above  ye  surface  of  ye  water." 

"  25  Feb.  1664.  This  night  I  walk'd  into  St.  James  his  Parke,  where  1  saw  many  strange  creatures,  as 
divers  sorts  of  outlandish  deer,  Guiny  sheep,  a  white  raven,  a  great  parrot,  a  storke.  .  .  .  Here  are 
very  stately  walkes  set  with  lime  trees  on  both  sides,  and  a  fine  pallmall."— Journal  of  Mr.  S.  Browne, 
ton  of  Sir  Thomas  Browne. 

Evelyn,  on  March  2,  1671,  attended  Charles  through  St.  James's  Park,  where  he 

saw  and  heard  "  a  familiar  discourse  between  the  King  and  Mrs.  Nelly,  as  they  called 

an  impudent  comedian  j  she  looking  out  of  her  garden  on  a  terrace  at  the  top,  and  the 


PARKS.  653 

King  standing  on  the  green  walk  under  it."  "  Of  the  mount,  or  raised  terrace,  on 
•which  Nelly  stood,  a  portion  may  still  be  seen  under  the  park-wall  of  Marlborough 
House."  (Cunningham's  Nell  Gwyn,  p.  118.)  In  the  royal  garden  where  Charles 
stood,  and  which  was  then  the  northern  boundary  of  the  Park,  we  find  Master  Pepys, 
in  his  Diary,  stealing  apples  like  a  schoolboy.  Pepys  also  portrays  a  court  cavalcade 
in  the  Park,  all  flaunting  with  feathers,  in  which  Charles  appears  between  the  Countess 
of  Castlemaine  and  the  Queen,  and  Mrs.  Stewart. 

Succeeding  kings  allowed  the  people  the  privilege  of  walking  in  the  Mall ;  and  the 
passage  from  Spring  Gardens  was  opened  in  1699  by  permission  of  King  William. 
Queen  Caroline,  however,  talked  of  shutting  up  the  Park,  and  converting  it  into  a 
noble  garden  for  St.  James's  Palace :  she  asked  Walpole  what  it  might  probably  cost ; 
who  replied,  "  Only  three  crowns."  Dean  Swift,  who  often  walked  here  with  the 
poets  Prior  and  Rowe,  writes  of  skating  as  a  novelty  to  Stella,  in  1711 :  "Delicious 
walking  weather,"  says  he ;  "  and  the  Canal  and  Rosamond's  Pond  full  of  rabble 
sliding,  and  with  skaitts,  if  you  know  what  it  is."  The  gloomy  Rosamond's  Pond,  of 
oblong  shape,  and  overhung  by  the  trees  of  the  Long  Avenue,  is  mentioned  in  a  grant 
of  Henry  VIII.  It  occurs  as  a  place  of  assignation  in  the  comedies  of  Otway,  Con- 
greve,  Farquhar,  Southern,  and  Colley  Cibber ;  and  Pope  calls  it  "  Rosamonda's  Lake." 
Its  name  is  referred  to  the  frequency  of  love-suicides  committed  here.  The  pond  was 
filled  up  in  1770,  when  the  gate  into  Petty  France  was  opened  for  bringing  in  the  soil 
to  fill  up  the  pond  and  the  upper  part  of  the  canal.  Hogarth  painted  a  large  view  and 
a  cabinet  view  of  Rosamond's  Pond :  for  the  latter  he  received  but  1 1. 7s.,  the  receipt  in 
the  handwriting  of  Mrs.  Hogarth.  In  a  house  belonging  to  the  Crown,  at  the  south- 
east corner  of  Rosamond's  Pond,  was  born  George  Colman  the  Younger,  who  describes 
the  snow-white  tents  of  the  Guards,  who  were  encamped  in  the  Park  during  the  Riots 
of  1780.  The  Wellington  Barracks,  built  near  the  site  of  Rosamond's  Pond,  were 
first  occupied  by  troops  on  March  1,  1814 ;  the  Military  Chapel  was  opened  May  1,  1838. 

The  trees  have  been  thinned  by  various  means.  Dryden  records,  by  a  violent  wind, 
February  7,  1698-9  :  "  The  graat  trees  in  St.  James's  Park  are  many  of  them  torn  up 
from  the  roots,  as  they  were  before  Oliver  Cromwell's  death,  and  the  late  Queen's." 
The  uniformity  of  Bird-cage  Walk  has  been  spoiled  by  the  new  road.  Samouelle,  in  his 
Compendium  of  Entomology,  figures  a  destructive  moth  "  found  in  July,  in  St.  James's 
Park,  against  trees." 

St.  James's  Park  was  a  favourite  resort  of  Goldsmith,  and  is  thus  characterized  by 
him: — 

"If  a  man  be  splenetic,  he  may  every  day  meet  companions  on  the  seats  in  St.  James's  Park,  with 
whose  groaus  he  may  mix  his  own,  and  pathetically  talk  of  the  weather."  (Essays.)  The  strolling 
player  takes  a  walk  in  St.  James's  Park,  "about  the  hour  at  which  company  leave  it  to  go  to  dinner. 
There  were  but  few  in  the  walks;  and  those  who  stayed,  seemed  by  their  looks  rather  more  willing  to 
forget  that  they  had  an  appetite,  than  gain  one."  (Essays.)  And  dinnerless,  Jack  Spindle  mends  his 
appetite  by  a  walk  in  the  Park. 

After  the  death  of  Charles  II.,  St.  James's  Park  ceased  to  be  the  favourite  haunt  of 
the  Sovereign,  but  it  continued  to  be  the  promenade  of  the  people ;  and  here,  in  the 
summer,  till  early  in  the  present  century,  gay  company  walked  for  one  or  two  hours 
after  dinner ;  but  the  evening  dinner  robbed  the  Park  of  this  charm,  and  the  Mall 
became  principally  a  thoroughfare  for  busy  passengers. 

"  My  spirits  sunk,  and  a  tear  started  into  my  eyes,  as  I  brought  to  mind  those  crowds  of  beauty,  rank, 
and  fashion,  which,  till  within  these  few  years,  used  to  be  displayed  in  the  centre  Mall  of  this  Park  on 
Sunday  evenings  during  the  spring  and  summer.  How  often  in  my  youth  had  I  been  a  delighted  spec- 
tator of  the  enchanted  and  enchanting  assemblage  !  Here  used  to  promenade,  for  one  or  two  hours 
after  dinner,  the  whole  British  world  of  gaiety,  beauty,  and  splendour.  Here  could  be  seen  in  one 
moving  mass,  extending  the  whole  length  of  the  Mall,  5000  of  the  most  lovely  women  in  this  country  of 
female  beauty,  all  splendidly  attired,  and  accompanied  by  as  many  well-dressed  men.  What  a  change, 
I  exclaimed,  has  a  few  years  wrought  in  these  once  happy  and  cheerful  personages.  How  many  of  those 
who  on  this  very  spot  then  delighted  my  eyes,  are  now  mouldering  in  the  silent  grave !" — Sir  Richard 
Phillips's  Mornirufs  Walk  from  London  to  Kew,  1817. 

For  the  Peace  Commemoration  Fete,  on  August  1,  1814,  the  Mall  and  Bird-cage 
•  Walk  were  lighted  with  Chinese  lanterns ;  a  Chinese  bridge  and  seven-storied  pagoda 
were  erected  across  the  canal :  they  were  illuminated  with  lamps,  and  fireworks  were 
discharged  from  them,  which  set  fire  to  the  pagoda,  and  burnt  its  three  upper  stories, 
when  two  persons  lost  their  lives.  Canova,  when  asked  what  struck  him  most  forcibly 
during  his  visit  to  England,  is  said  to  have  replied,  "  that  the  trumpery  Chinese  bridge 


654  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

in  St.  James's  Park  should  be  the  production  of  the  government,  whilst  that  of  Water- 
loo was  the  work  of  a  private  company." — Quarterly  Review. 

The  State-Paper  Office,  further  south,  occupying  part  of  the  site  of  the  house  of 
Lord  Chancellor  Jeffreys,  was  built  by  Sir  John  Soane  in  1833 :  it  was  his  latest  work, 
and  resembled  an  Italian  palazzo :  it  was  taken  down  for  the  site  of  the  new  Foreign 
and  India  Offices.  At  No.  17,  Duke-street,  died  in  1849,  aged  81,  Sir  Marc  Isam- 
bard  Brunei,  the  engineer  of  the  Thames  Tunnel. 

Upon  the  south  side  of  the  Park,  too,  is  Milton's  garden-house,  in  Petty  France. 
Hazlitt  lived  in  this  house  in  1813,  when  Haydon  was  one  of  a  christening-party  of 
"  Charles  Lamb  and  his  poor  sister,  and  all  sorts  of  odd  clever  people,  in  a  large  room, 
wainscoted  and  ancient,  where  Milton  had  meditated."  (Haydon's  Autobiography, 
vol.  i.  p.  211.)  In  the  garden-wall  is  a  doorway,  now  blocked  up,  but  which  once 
opened  into  the  Park,  and  was  probably  that  used  by  Milton  in  passing  from  his  house 
to  Whitehall.  In  Queen-square-place,  and  looking  upon  the  garden-ground  of  Milton's 
house,  was  the  house  of  Jeremy  Bentham,  who  died  here  in  1832. 

The  hints  for  supplanting  the  forest-trees  which  skirt  the  Park,  by  flowering  shrubs, 
and  dressing  the  ground  in  a  gayer  style,  so  as  to  convert  even  the  gloomy  alleys  of 
St.  James's  Park  into  a  lively  and  agreeable  promenade,  were  first  published  in  "  A 
Letter  to  the  Rt.  Hon.  Sir  Charles  Long,"  &c,  1825. 

In  1827  was  commenced  the  relaying  out  of  the  inner  Park.  The  straight  canal  was 
altered  and  extended  to  a  winding  lake,  with  islands  of  evergreens  :  at  the  west  end  was 
a  fountain.  The  borders  of  the  principal  walk  are  planted  with  evergreens,  which  are 
scientifically  labelled ;  some  of  the  fine  old  elms  remain.  The  glimpses  of  grand  archi- 
tectural objects  from  this  Park  are  very  striking,  and  include  the  towers  of  Westminster 
Abbey  and  the  new  Houses  of  Parliament ;  the  extensive  front  of  Buckingham  Palace ; 
the  York  Column,  rising  from  between  terraces  of  mansions ;  and  the  Horse-Guards, 
terminating  the  picturesque  vista  of  the  lake ;  although  the  ornamental  effect  is  spoiled 
by  an  ugly  engineering  bridge.  Upon  the  eastern  island  is  the  Swiss  cottage  of  the 
Ornithological  Society,  built  in  1841  with  a  grant  of  300£.  from  the  Lords  of  the  Trea- 
sury :  the  design  is  by  J.  B.  Watson,  and  contains  a  council-room,  keeper's  apartments, 
steam-hatching  apparatus ;  contiguous  are  feeding-places  and  decoys ;  and  the  aquatic 
fowl  breed  on  the  island,  making  their  own  nests  among  the  shrubs  and  grasses.  In 
1849  an  experimental  crop  of  Forty-day  Maize  (from  the  Pyrenees)  was  successfully 
grown  and  ripened  in  this  Park.  For  the  privilego  of  farming  the  chairs,  25£.  is  paid 
annually  to  the  office  of  Woods  and  Forests. 

The  fine  old  trees  of  the  grounds  of  Carlton  House  formerly  overhung  the  road  by 
the  park-wall,  now  the  site  of  the  Psestum-Doric  substructure  of  Carlton-house-terrace ; 
the  opening  in  which  to  the  York  Column  was  formed  by  command  of  William  IV.,  as 
had  been  the  Spring  Garden  gate  by  William  III.  Milk  Fair,  leftward  of  this  gate, 
commemorated  by  Tom  Brown,  in  1700,  has  disappeared.  The  vista  of  tho  Mall, 
which  consists  of  elms,  limes,  and  planes,  is  terminated  by  the  grand  front  of  Buck- 
ingham Palace. 

On  the  Parade  is  the  immense  mortar  cast  at  Seville  by  order  of  Napoleon,  employed 
by  Marshal  Soult  at  the  siege  of  Cadiz  in  1812,  and  abandoned  by  the  French  army  in 
their  retreat  from  Salamanca :  it  was  presented  by  the  Spanish  Cortes  to  the  Prince 
Regent.  The  gun-metal  bed  and  carriage  were  cast  at  Woolwich  in  1814,  and  consist 
of  a  crouching  dragon,  with  upraised  wings  and  scorpion-tail,  involving  the  trunnions ; 
it  is  allegorical  of  the  monster  Geryon,  destroyed  by  Hercules.  The  mortar  itself  is  8 
feet  long,  12  inches  diameter  in  bore,  and  has  thrown  shells  3^  miles :  it  weighs 
about  5  tons.  On  the  pedestal  are  inscriptions  in  Latin  and  English.  When  Soult  was 
in  England,  in  1838,  he  good-humouredly  recognised  his  lost  gun.  Here  was  also  for- 
merly a  small  piece  of  artillery  which  had  been  taken  from  Bonaparte  at  Waterloo. 

Upon  the  Parade  was  marshalled  the  State  Funeral  Procession  of  the  great  Duke  of 
Wellington,  November  18,  1852.  The  body  was  removed  from  Chelsea  Hospital  on 
the  previous  midnight,  and  deposited  in  the  Audience-Chamber  at  the  Horse-Guards. 
Beneath  a  tent  upon  the  Parade-ground  was  stationed  the  Funeral  Car,  whereon  tho 
coffin  being  placed,  and  the  command  given,  tho  cortege,  in  slow  and  solemn  splcudour, 
moved  down  the  Mall  past  Buckingham  Palace,  whence  the  procession  was  seen  by 
Her  Majesty  and  the  Royal  Family. 


PARLIAMENT  HOUSES.  655 


Victobia  Pake,  Bethnal-green,  equal  to  the  entire  area  of  Kensington  Gardens, 
originated  as  follows  : — In  the  4th  and  5th  years  of  Her  present  Majesty's  reign,  an 
Act  was  passed  to  enable  the  Commissioners  of  Woods  and  Forests  to  complete  the  sale 
of  York  House,  and  to  purchase  with  the  proceeds  a  Royal  Park.  The  Duke  of  Suther- 
land paid  72,000£.  for  the  remainder  of  the  lease  of  York  House,  and  this  money  was 
applied  to  the  purchase  of  about  290  acres  of  land,  situated  in  the  parishes  of  St.  John, 
Hackney ;  St.  Matthew,  Bethnal-green ;  and  St.  Mary,  Stratford-le-Bow,  county  of 
Middlesex.  Nearly  one-third  of  tbe  acreage  mentioned  is  taken  for  building  ground; 
the  rest  is  Victoria  Park.  Its  site  had  been  previously  market-gardens  and  brickfields. 
The  ornamental  lake  is  made  over  the  rough  brickfield,  near  to  which  stood  Bishop 
Bonner's  famous  hall.  The  Park  is  bounded  on  the  north  side  by  Hackney ;  on  the 
south  by  Sir  G.  Duckett's  Canal,  running  nearly  east  and  west ;  and  on  the  west  by  the 
Regent's  Canal.  It  is  divided  into  two  portions — the  Ornamental  or  "West  Park,  and 
the  East  Park.  In  the  former  there  is  an  ornamental  lake  about  ten  acres  of  surface, 
with  three  islands.  Here  boats  are  hired  out ;  and  there  are  waterfowl  of  various 
kinds.  On  the  south-west  side  of  the  lake  there  is  a  fine  avenue  of  elm  trees,  with  a 
carriage-drive  and  shady  walks  ,•  and  an  arcade,  furnished  with  seats.  On  the  north- 
west end  of  the  lake  is  a  walk  called  "  The  Vale,"  which  is  planted  with  choice  trees, 
shrubs,  and  flowers.  Close  adjacent  are  the  greenhouses  and  pits  for  raising  and 
wintering  the  plants.  In  this  portion  of  the  Park  there  are  several  separate  flower- 
gardens,  riband  borders  300  yards  long,  and  mixed  flower-beds.  The  East  Park  is  used 
for  games,  and  contains  two  bathing  lakes,  which  are  well  supplied  with  water.  These 
are  much  frequented ;  as  many  as  7000  persons  often  bathe  here  in  one  morning.  The 
extent  of  these  two  lakes  is  about  six  acres.  At  the  extreme  end  of  the  Park  is  the 
cricket-ground,  of  35  or  40  acres.  Here  60  or  80  wickets  are  often  pitched  on 
Saturdays.  About  one-third  of  the  way  through  tbe  Park  is  the  superb  Victoria 
Drinking-fountain,  presented  by  Miss  Burdett  Coutts,  described  at  page  358 ;  and,  to 
add  to  the  means  afforded  for  public  exercise  and  recreation,  there  is  a  gymnasium,  as 
there  are  also  swings  and  merry-go-rounds.  The  Park  has  often  30,000  visitors  in  a 
single  day.  Wednesday  afternoon  is  the  children's  day.  In  the  neighbourhood  has 
been  swept  away  a  wretched  village  of  hovels,  once  known  as  Botany  Bay,  from  so 
many  of  its  inhabitants  being  sent  to  the  real  place.  Formerly  this  Park  was  on 
Sundays  the  great  resort  of  controversialists,  especially  such  as  believe  in  all  manner  of 
unbelief,  and  who  attracted  here  congregations  of  different  persuasions ;  but  the  preach- 
ing of  so  many  of  them  being  language  of  the  most  blasphemous  description,  in  1856, 
all  preaching  here  was  forbidden  by  authority. 

In  fine  weather,  when  the  band  plays,  over  100,000  persons  are  frequently  collected  In  this  Park. 
The  people  are  orderly,  most  of  them  being  of  the  humbler  classes,  and  their  appreciation  of  the  flowers 
is  quite  as  keen  as  that  of  frequenters  of  the  West-end  parks.  Some  of  the  Spitalfields  weavers  have  a 
great  fondness  for  flowers,  and  contrive  somehow  or  other  in  the  most  unlikely  places  to  rear  very 
choice  varieties.  In  small,  wretched-looking  yards,  where  little  air  and  only  the  mid-day  sun  can 
penetrate,  you  may  see  patches  of  garden,  evidently  tended  with  uncommon  care,  and  yielding  to  their 
cultivators  a  fair  reward  in  fragrance  and  in  blossom.  Some  of  the  weavers  even  manage  by  bits  of 
broken  glass  and  a  framework  which  just  holds  together,  to  put  up  something  which  does  duty  as  a 
greenhouse ;  and  in  this  triumph  of  patience  and  ingenuity  they  spend  much  of  their  leisure,  happy 
when  they  can  make  up  a  birthday  bouquet  for  some  friend  or  relation.  The  flowers  in  the  neighbouring 
park,  with  their  novel  grouping  and  striking  contrasts  of  colour,  are,  of  course,  a  continual  fund  of 
pleasure  to  these  poor  artisans,  and  gladden  many  a  moment  when  perhaps  work  is  not  too  plentiful 
and  home  thoughts  are  not  very  happy.  In  Victoria  Park  the  plants  and  flowers  are  labelled  in  letters 
which  he  who  walks  may  read,  without  need  of  getting  over  fence  or  bordering.  A  smaller  lake  than 
that  in  which  the  boating  and  the  bathing  go  on  is  devoted  to  yacht-sailing.  This  amusement  seems 
almost  confined  to  East  London;  and  here  on  a  summer  evening,  when  a  cap-full  of  wind  is  to  be  had, 
you  may  see  the  lake  whitened  by  forty  or  fifty  toy  boats  and  yachts,  of  all  rigs  and  sizes,  while  here  and 
there  a  miniature  steamboat  is  puffing  and  panting.  There  is  even  a  yacht-club  whose  members  com- 
pete with  their  toy-yachts  for  silver  cups  and  other  prizes.  The  expense  of  keeping  up  a  yacht  here  is 
not  considerable,  and  the  whole  squadron  may  be  laid  up  until  wanted  in  a  boathouse  provided  for  the 
purpose.  But  the  matches  and  trials  of  these  tiny  craft  are  a  special  attraction  of  the  Park,  and  draw 
together  every  evening  hundreds  of  people.  Ample  space  is  available  for  cricket ;  and  in  the  two  gym- 
nasia candidates  for  swinging,  jumping,  and  climbing  appear  to  be  never  wanting. — Times,  September, 
1864 

PARLIAMENT  SOUSES,  TEE, 

STYLED  also  "  New  Westminster  Palace,"  occupy  the  site  of  the  Royal  Palace  of 
the  monarchs  of  England,  from  Edward  the  Confessor  to  Queen  Elizabeth. 


656  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Westminster  Palace  is  first  named  in  a  charter  of  Edward  the  Confessor,  "  made" 
eoon  after  1052 :  here  the  Confessor  died,  Jan.  14,  1066.  On  the  Easter  succeeding, 
King  Harold  came  here  from  York.  William  the  Norman  held  councils  here ;  and  in 
1069  Alfric,  Abbot  of  Peterborough,  was  tried  before  the  king  in  curia,  at  West- 
minster,— this  being  one  of  the  first  records  of  the  holding  of  a  law-court  on  this 
spot.  William  Rufus  added  the  Great  Sail,  wherein  he  held  his  court  in  1099 ;  as 
did  also  Henry  I.  Stephen  founded  the  palace  chapel,  which  was  dedicated  to  St. 
Stephen.  In  the  reign  of  Henry  II.,  Fitzstephen  records:  "on  the  west,  and  on  the 
bank  of  the  river,  the  Royal  Palace  exalts  its  head,  and  stretches  wide,  an  incom- 
parable structure,  furnished  with  bastions  and  a  breastwork,  at  the  distance  of  two 
miles  from  the  City."  The  Close  Rolls,  in  the  Tower  of  London,  contain  many 
curious  entries  concerning  the  palace  in  the  time  of  John  and  Henry  III.  :  here, 
in  a  great  council,  Henry  confirmed  the  Magna  Charta  and  the  Charta  de  Foresta :  in 
his  reign,  also,  the  gibbet  was  removed  from  the  palace.  In  1238  the  whole  palace 
was  flooded  by  the  Thames,  and  boats  were  afloat  in  the  Great  Hall.  There  are 
numerous  records  in  this  reign  of  painting  and  decorating  the  palace,  storing  its 
cellars  with  wine,  &c.  (See  Painted  Chamber,  p.  625.)  Of  the  repairs  of  the 
mews,  the  new  buttery  and  kitchen,  and  the  rebuilding  and  painting  of  St.  Stephen's 
Chapel,  in  the  reign  of  Edward  I.,  there  are  minute  accounts.  In  1298  the  palace 
was  nearly  destroyed  by  fire,  but  was  restored  by  Edward  II.  St.  Stephen's  Chapel 
was  completed  by  Edward  III.  The  poet  Chaucer  was  clerk  of  the  palace  works  in 
the  reign  of  Richard  II.,  who  rebuilt  Westminster  Hall  nearly  as  we  now  see  it.  In 
1512  a  great  part  of  the  palace  was  "once  again  burnt,  since  which  time  it  has  not 
been  re-edified :  only  the  Great  Hall,  with  the  offices  near  adjoining,  are  kept  in  good 
repairs ;  and  it  serveth,  as  before  it  did,  for  feasts  at  coronations,  arraignments  of 
great  persons  charged  with  treasons,  keeping  of  the  courts  of  justice,  &c.j  but  the 
princes  have  been  lodged  in  other  palaces  about  the  City,  as  at  Baynard's  Castle,  at 
Bridewell,  and  Whitehall  (sometimes  called  York  Place),  and  sometimes  at  St.  James's." 
(Strype's  Stow's  London,  vol.  ii.  p.  628,  edit.  1755.)  Some  buildings  were  added  by 
Henry  VIII.,  who  is  supposed  to  have  built  the  Star  Chamber ;  a  portion  of  which, 
however,  bore  the  date  1602.  Parliaments  were  held  in  Westminster  Hall  temp. 
Henry  III.,  and  thenceforth  in  the  Painted  Chamber  and  White  Chamber.  After  the 
Suppression,  the  Commons  sat  in  St.  Stephen's  Chapel,  until  its  destruction  by  fire 
Oct.  16,  1834,  with  the  House  of  Lords,  and  the  surrounding  Parliamentary  buildings. 
The  scene  of  the  conflagration  was  painted  by  J.  M.  W.  Turner,  R.A. 

The  demesne  of  the  Old  Palace  was  bounded  on  the  east  by  the  river  Thames ;  on 
the  north  by  the  Woolstaple,  now  Bridge-street ;  on  the  west  by  the  precincts  of  St. 
Margaret's  Churcb  and  Westminster  Abbey,  behind  Abingdon-street ;  and  on  the 
south  by  the  line  of  the  present  College-street,  where  formerly  ran  a  stream,  called 
the  Great  Ditch  (now  a  sewer),  outside  the  palace  garden-wall. 

Among  the  more  ancient  buildings  which  existed  to  our  time,  was  the  Painted 
Chamber.  Next  was  the  Old  Souse  of  Lords  (the  old  Parliament  Chamber),  rebuilt 
by  Henry  II.  on  the  foundations  of  Edward  the  Confessor's  reign ;  the  walls  were 
nearly  seven  feet  thick,  and  the  vaults  (Guy  Fawkes'  cellar)  had  been  the  kitchen  of 
the  Old  Palace :  this  building  was  taken  down  about  1823,  prior  to  the  erection  of 
the  Royal  Gallery  and  Entrance,  by  Soane,  R.A.  Southward  was  the  Prince's  Chamber 
(then  also  demolished),  with  foundations  of  Edward  the  Confessor's  time,  and  a  super- 
structure with  lancet-windows,  temp.  Henry  III. :  the  walls  were  painted  in  oil  with 
scriptural  figures,  and  hung  with  tapestry  representing  the  birth  of  Queen  Elizabeth. 
Next  was  the  Old  Court  of  Requests,  supposed  to  have  been  the  Great  Hall  of  the 
Confessor's  palace :  this  was,  until  1834,  the  House  of  Lords,  and  was  hung  with 
tapestry  representing  the  defeat  of  the  Spanish  Armada  in  1588 :  it  was  destroyed  in 
the  Great  Fire,  after  which  the  interior  was  refitted  for  the  House  of  Commons. 

The  Armada  Tapestry  was  woven  by  Spiering,  from  the  designs  of  Henry  Cornelius  Vroom,  at 
Haarlem,  for  Lord  Howard  of  Effingham,  Lord  High  Admiral  of  the  English  fleet  which  engaged  the 
Armada.  It  was  sold  by  him  to  James  I.,  and  consisted  originally  of  ten  compartments,  with  borders 
containing  portraits  of  the  officers  of  the  English  fleet.  These  hangings  were  engraved  by  Pine  in  1739. 

St.  Stephen's  Chapel  had  its  beautiful  architecture  and  sumptuous  decoration  hidden 


PARLIAMENT  HOUSES. 


65? 


NOETH. 


fit  Eli:    WhIhiI 

Ho--  otj  x-„  8  8  2 
2.""       fcS  S3  2« 

B-2  2  oOMSnfi      blMh 
Ooo  I  g  o  9&  &£  JH  5  8  o 


r> 


F»s»**gag 


»— i 

psi 

O 

□Q 

W 

E 

o 

H 

H 


a, 
P 

I 

o 
H 

a 


SOUTH. 


658  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

until  the  enlargement  of  the  interior  in  "1800,  when  its  painting,  gilding,  and  sculp- 
ture, its  traceried  and  brilliant  windows,  were  discovered.  Among  the  mural  paintings 
were  the  histories  of  Jonah,  Daniel,  Jeremiah,  Job,  Tobit,  Judith,  Susannah,  and  of 
Bel  and  the  Dragon  ;  the  Ascension  of  Christ,  and  the  Miracles  and  Martyrdom  of 
the  Apostles  ;  and  in  the  windows  were  the  stories  of  Adam  and  Eve,  and  of  Noah  and 
his  family,  of  Abraham,  Joseph,  and  the  Israelites ;  and  of  the  Life  of  the  Saviour, 
from  his  baptism  to  his  crucifixion  and  death.  Among  the  decorations  were  figures  of 
angels  and  armed  knights,  Edward  III.  and  his  family,  and  heraldic  shields.  The 
jewels,  vestments,  and  furniture  of  the  chapel  were  very  superb.  The  Cloisters  were 
first  built  in  1356,  south  of  the  chapel,  on  the  spot  subsequently  called  Cotton  Garden.* 
The  Crypt,  or  under-chapel  of  St.  Stephen  is  described  at  p.  304. 

On  the  south  side,  probably,  was  the  small  chapel  of  St.  Mary  de  la  Pewe,  or  Our 
Lady  of  the  Pew ;  wherein  Richard  II.  offered  to  the  Virgin,  previously  to  meeting 
the  insurgents  under  Wat  Tyler  in  Smithfield,  in  1381.  Westminster  Hall  will  be 
described  hereafter.  Upon  its  western  side  were  built  the  Law  Courts,  by  Soane, 
R.A.,  upon  the  site  of  the  old  Exchequer  Court,  &c.  On  the  east  side  of  New  Palace- 
yard  was  an  arch,  temp.  Henry  III.,  leading  to  the  Thames  ;  and  the  old  Exchequer 
buildings  and  the  Star  Chamber,  described  at  p.  450.  On  the  northern  side  of  New 
Palace-yard,  directly  fronting  the  entrance-porch  of  the  Great  Hall,  on  a  spot  sub- 
sequently hidden  by  the  houses  on  the  terrace,  stood  the  famous  Clock-tower,  built  and 
furnished  with  a  clock,  temp.  Edward  I.,  with  a  fine  of  800  marks  levied  on  Chief- 
Justice  Sir  Ralph  de  Hingham  for  altering  a  record  :  the  keepers  of  this  clock- tower 
were  appointed  by  the  Sovereign,  and  were  paid  6d.  a  day  at  the  Exchequer.  The 
tower  was  taken  down  about  1707 ;  and  its  bell,  "  Great  Tom  of  Westminster,"  was 
subsequently  re-cast  (with  additional  metal)  for  the  great  bell  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral. 

Hatton  describes  the  House  of  Commons,  altered  by  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  in  1706, 
as  "a  commodious  building,  accommodated  with  several  ranks  of  seats,  covered  with 
green  cloth  (baize  ?),  and  matted  under  foot,  for  513  gentlemen.  On  three  sides  of 
this  house  are  beautiful  wainscot  galleries,  sustained  by  cantaleevers,  enriched  with 
fruit  and  other  carved  curiosities." 

Of  the  House  of  Lords,  in  1778,  we  have  a  portion  in  Copley's  fine  picture  of  the 
fall  of  the  great  Earl  of  Chatham.  Of  the  several  Gates  to  the  old  palace,  the  only 
one  of  which  we  have  any  record  is  that  begun  by  Richard  III.  in  1484,  at  the  east 
end  of  Union-street,  and  taken  down  in  1706 ;  and  a  century  later,  in  a  fragment  of 
this  gate  built  into  a  partition-wall,  was  found  a  capital,  sculptured  with  William  Rufus 
granting  a  charter  to  Gislebertus,  Abbot  of  Westminster  :  this  capital  was  sold  by  Mr. 
Capon  to  Sir  Gregory  Page  Turner,  Bart.,  for  100  guineas.  A  plan  of  the  old  palace, 
measured  1793-1823,  is  engraved  in  Vetusta  Montmenta,  vol.  v.;  in  J.  T.  Smith's 
Antiquities  of  Westminster;  and  in  Brayley  and  Britton's  Westminster  Palace,  1836, 
admirably  illustrated,  from  drawings  by  R.  W.  Billings. 

For  rebuilding,  in  1836  was  selected  from  97  sets  the  design  of  Charles  Barry,  R.A. 
The  coffer-dam  for  the  river-front  was  commenced  1837;  the  river-wall  1839; 
and,  on  April  27,  1840,  was  laid  the  first  stone,  at  the  north  end  of  the  Speaker's 
house.  The  exterior  material  is  fine  magnesian  limestone,  from  Anston,  in  Yorkshire ; 
and  Caen  stone  for  the  interior ;  the  river-terrace  is  of  Aberdeen  granite ;  the  whole 
building  stands  on  a  bed  of  concrete  12  feet  thick.  The  vast  pile  covers  about  eight 
acres,  and  has  four  principal  fronts,  the  eastern  or  river  being  940  feet  in  length. 
The  plan  contains  11  open  quadrangles  or  courts,  which,  besides  500  apartments 
and  18  official  residences,  flank  the  royal  state-apartments,  the  Houses  of  Lords 
and  Commons,  and  the  great  Central  Hall.  The  interior  walls  are  fine  brick;  the 
bearers  of  the  floors  are  cast-iron,  with  brick  arches  turned  from  girder  to  girder; 
the  entire  roofs  are  of  wrought-iron  covered  with  cast-iron  plates  galvanized ;  so  that 
timber  has  not  been  used  in  the  carcases  of  the  entire  building ;  and  the  principle  of 
making  the  Palace  as  nearly  fire-proof  as  possible  in  the  roofs  has  been  thoroughly 
carried  out. 

*  Sir  Robert  Cotton  had  a  house  and  garden  abutting  against  the  Painted  Chamber ;  and  it  was 
there  that  his  collection  of  MSS.,  now  in  the  British  Museum,  was  originally  stored.  In  Cotton  House 
in  1820,  were  lodged  the  Italian  witnesses  against  Queen  Caroline  on  her  Trial. 


PARLIAMENT  HOUSES.  659 

The  New  Palace  is  the  largest  public  edifice  which  has  been  erected  for  several 
centuries  in  England ;  and  in  the  arrangement  of  its  apartments  for  the  transaction 
of  public  business,  in  its  lighting,  ventilation,  lire-proof  construction,  supply  of  water, 
&c,  it  is  the  most  perfect  building  in  Europe.  The  style  is  Tudor  (Henry  VIII.), 
with  picturesque  portions  of  the  town-halls  of  the  Low  Countries,  and  three  grand 
features:  a  Clock  Tower  at  the  northern  extremity,  resembling  that  of  the  Town- 
house at  Brussels;  a  great  Central  Mall,  with  an  open  stone  lantern  and  spire; 
and  the  Royal  or  Victoria  Tower,  at  the  south-west  angle. 

In  1841  was  issued  the  Fine  Arts  Commission  for  rebuilding  the  Houses  of  Parliament ;  and  in  1848 
the  Commission  to  superintend  the  completion  of  the  New  Palace.  Certain  portions  of  the  external 
stonework  having  decayed,  a  Commission  was  issued  to  investigate  the  cause;  competing  chemical 
processes  were  adopted  as  remedies  by  hardening  or  indurating  the  stone,  which  had  been  injudiciously 
selected :  time  can  only  decide  the  merits  of  these  processes.  For  details,  see  Year-Book  of  Facts.  1861 
and  1862. 

The  vast  edifice  covers  at  least  twice  the  site  of  the  old  Palace  of  Westminster, 
about  half  the  new  ground  occupied  being  taken  from  the  Thames.  The  East  or 
River  Front  has  at  the  ends  projecting  wings,  each  120  feet  in  length,  with  towers 
of  beautiful  design,  leaving  between  them  a  terrace  700  feet  long,  and  33  feet  wide. 
The  entire  length  is  910  feet.  The  wing-towers  have  crested  roofs,  and  open-work 
pinnacles,  which,  with  those  of  the  bays,  carry  gilded  vanes.  Between  the  principal 
and  one-pair  floors  is  a  rich  band  of  sculpture,  composed  of  the  royal  arms  of  England 
in  each  reign,  from  William  I.  to  Queen  Victoria.  The  band  below  the  principal  floor 
is  inscribed  with  the  date  of  each  Sovereign's  accession  and  decease;  and  the  panels 
on  each  side  of  the  coat-of-arms  have  sceptres  and  labels,  with  badges  and  inscriptions. 
In  the  parapet  of  each  bay  is  a  niched  figure  of  an  angel  bearing  a  shield.  The 
carved  panels  of  the  six  oriel  windows  have  the  arms  of  Queen  Victoria,  to  indicate 
that  the  building  was  erected  in  her  reign.  The  wing-towers,  with  their  octagonal 
stone  pinnacles  and  perforated  iron  ornaments  at  their  angles  and  crests,  remind 
one  of  the  picturesque  roofs  of  the  chateaux  and  belfry-towers  of  the  Low  Countries. 

The  North  Front  has  bays  and  buttresses  similar  to  those  of  the  River  Front;  the 
bands  are  sculptured  with  the  quarterings  of  the  kings  of  England  between  the 
Heptarchy  and  the  Conquest,  inscriptions  and  dates  of  accession,  &c. ;  while  the 
niches  between  the  windows  in  each  bay  contain  effigies  of  the  Sovereigns  whose  arms 
are  below.  This  front  terminates  at  the  west  with  the  Clock  Tower  and  turreted 
lantern  spire.  The  height  of  this  tower  is  316  feet  from  high-water  mark  (Trinity 
standard)  to  the  top  of  the  sceptre  on  its  roof.  The  clock  has  the  largest  dials  in  the 
world — that  is,  where  the  clock  is  an  integral  portion  of  the  design ;  the  only  larger 
one  being  that  of  Mechlin,  the  dial  of  which  is  of  open  metal-work,  applied  over,  but 
unconnected  with  the  architecture.  The  roof  is  fully  ornamented  and  finished  with 
gilding  and  colour  to  an  extent  not  elsewhere  to  be  seen  in  this  country.  For  this 
tower  two  great  hour-bells  were  provided ;  both  of  which  were  broken,  as  described  at 
p.  44.  The  weight  of  gold-leaf  used  in  decorating  the  clock-tower  up  to  June  30, 
1857,  was  about  95^  ounces;  cost  of  gold-leaf  890£.  6s.  3d.;  wages  of  artificers, 
2291.  11*.  3d. ;  completion  of  the  work,  about  4001.  The  gold  is  pure,  and  treble 
the  thickness  of  ordinary  gold-leaf. 

The  Clock  was  made  by  Mr.  Dent,  junior,  from  the  designs  of  Mr.  B.  Benison,  about  1855.  The  four 
dials  are  22  feet  in  diameter,  and  are  considered  to  be  the  largest  in  the  world,  with  a  minute-hand, 
which,  on  account  of  its  great  length,  velocity,  weight,  friction,  and  the  action  of  the  wind  upon  it, 
requires  at  least  twenty  times  more  force  to  drive  it  than  the  hour-hand.  This  clock  goes  for  8  days. 
The  great  wheel  of  the  going  part  is  27  inches  in  diameter;  the  pendulum  is  15  feet  long,  and  weighs 
680  pounds ;  and  the  scape-wheel,  which  is  driven  by  the  musical-box  spring,  weighs  about  half  an 
ounce.  All  the  wheels,  except  the  scape-wheel,  are  of  cast-iron.  The  barrel  is  23  inches  in  diameter, 
but  only  14  inches  long,  as  it  does  not  require  a  rope  above  a  quarter  of  an  inch  thick.  The  second 
wheel  is  12  inches  in  diameter.  The  great  wheels  have  all  180  teeth,  the  second  wheel  of  the  hour 
striking  part  has  105,  and  a  pinion  of  fifteen.  The  great  wheels  in  the  chiming  part  of  the  clock  are 
38i  inches  in  diameter.  The  clock  is  said  to  be  at  least  eight  times  as  large  as  a  full-sized  cathedral 
clock.  It  occupies  its  keepers  two  hours  a  week  in  winding  it  up.  It  goes  with  a  rate  of  under  one  second 
a  week,  in  spite  of  any  atmospheric  changes.  (Curiosities  of  Clocks  and  Watches,  p.  205.)  It  reports 
its  own  time  to  Greenwich  by  electrical  connexion,  and  the  clockmaker  who  takes  care  of  it  receives 
Greenwich  time  by  electricity,  and  sets  the  clock  right  whenever  its  error  becomes  sensible,  which 
seldom  has  to  be  done  more  than  once  a  month.  It  may  be  relied  oa  within  less  than  one  second  a 
week,  which  is  seven  times  greater  accuracy  than  was  required  in  the  original  conditions.  The  entire 
machinery  of  the  clock  occupies  a  space  16  feet  long,  by  5  feet  in  width,  and  its  weight  is  over  four  tons. 
An  arrangement  is  also  made  which  will  admit  of  the  wheels  being  taken  out  of  the  frame  singly  witu- 

U  TJ  2 


660  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

out  disturbing  the  others,  and  the  clock  is  fitted  with  the  patent  gravity  escapement  of  Mr.  Dent.  The 
barrel  is  so  constructed  as  that  the  hands  will  keep  going  while  the  clock  is  being  wound  up.  The  lines 
of  the  clock  are  of  patent  wire  rope,  and  the  pallets  of  the  escapement  are  jewelled  with  sapphires,  and 
not  with  agate,  as  is  usually  the  case.  The  minute-hand  is  16  feet  long,  and,  notwithstanding  that  it  is 
made  of  copper  and  beaten  out  as  thin  as  is  consistent  with  its  length  and  strength,  it  still  weighs  2  cwt. 
The  hour  hand  is  nine  feet  long,  and  is  fastened  with  the  minute-hand  to  the  centre  of  the  dial  by  a 
huge  gilt  rose  (part  of  the  arms  of  Westminster),  which  is  about  the  size  of  a  small  dining-table.  All 
the  interstices  between  the  figures  and  work  on  the  clock  face  are  glazed  in  with  enamelled  glass,  so  as 
to  present  the  appearance  of  a  white  dial  in  the  day  and  allow  it  to  be  illuminated  during  the  night. 
Each  dial  is  lit  with  60  gas  jets,  which  are  turned  on  and  off  by  a  peculiar  adaptation  of  the  clock-work. 
The  light  in  the  dial  thus  wanes  as  day  dawns  and  increases  with  the  fading  twilight.  The  cost  of  the 
gas  for  this  is  5001.  per  annum.    The  clock,  altogether,  cost  more  than  22,0CKM. 

Tlie  South  Front  resembles  the  north,  has  similar  decorations  chronologically  arranged, 
and  terminates  westward  with  the  Victoria  Tower. 

Saxon  Kings  and  Queens  at  the  South  Front,  commencing  at  the  wing  tower,  and  proceeding  from 
base  to  summit  in  each  bay: — Agatha,  Harold  II.,  Editha,  Edward  III.,  Hardicanute,  Harold,  Emma, 
Canute,  Elgiva,  Edmund,  Emma,  Etheired,  Edward  II.,  Elfleda,  Edgar,  Edwin,  Edred,  Elgina,  Edmund, 
Athelstan,  Elfleda,  Edward  L,  Elwitha,  Alfred,  Etheired,  Ethelbert,  Ethelbald,  Judith,  Egbert,  Ethel- 
wolf;  two  kings  of  Mercia,  Northumberland,  East  Anglia,  Wessex,  Essex,  Kent,  and  Sussex;  the  whole 
sculptured  in  stone  by  John  Thomas. 

The  Victoria  Tower  is  the  largest  and  highest  square  tower  in  the  world,  being  75 
feet  square,  and  336  feet  high  to  the  top  of  the  pinnacle,  and  over  400  feet  to  the  top 
of  the  flag-staff.  The  foundation  is  of  solid  concrete,  9  feet  6  inches  deep,  with  solid 
brickwork  over  that,  the  whole  inclosed  and  strengthened  by  piling.  The  building 
was  commenced  April  2, 1842,  and  grew  at  the  rate  of  23  feet  per  year  until  completed  j 
it  presses  upon  the  foundation  with  a  weight  little  short  of  30,000  tons.  The  walls 
are  12  feet  thick  up  to  the  base  of  the  first  tier  of  windows,  and  thence  6  feet.  The 
storied  windows  are  44  feet  high  by  32  feet  wide,  and  5  feet  deep.  The  figures, 
which  look  so  small  and  infantine  in  the  niches  on  the  sides,  are  colossal  masses,  nearly 
10  feet  high,  and  weighing  many  tons.  The  supporters  of  the  coats  of  arms  of  our 
kings  are  as  large  as  horses  j  and  a  well  staircase  of  iron  winds  up  in  apparently  endless 
spirals,  till  the  circling  balustrade  is  merged  together  in  the  long  perspective,  termi- 
nating at  a  dim  bluish  spot  no  bigger  than  your  hand,  which  marks  the  outlet  on  to 
the  tower-roof.  A  person  standing  on  the  ground  under  the  centre  of  the  tower  can 
see  up  at  a  glance,  as  through  a  telescope,  from  the  bottom  to  the  top.  The  tower 
is  fireproof,  and  was  intended  to  be  used  as  a  grand  repository  for  the  State  papers, 
records,  and  muniments  of  the  nation ;  and  for  this  purpose  it  is  divided  into  eleven 
stories,  each  of  which,  with  the  exception  of  the  basement  story  and  the  first  floor 
immediately  over  it,  contains  sixteen  fireproof  rooms.  The  roof,  though  made  as  light 
as  is  consistent  with  its  safety  from  the  wind,  nevertheless  weighs  upwards  of  400 
tons.  That  little  pierced  parapet,  which  from  the  street  looks  scarce  sufficient  to 
prevent  a  man  from  falling  over,  is  actually  sixteen  feet  high.  The  lions  and  crowns 
on  its  battlemented  top  are  more  than  six  feet  high,  while  even  the  gilt  tops  to  the 
four  turrets,  which  from  the  ground  are  hardly  distinguishable,  are  wrought-iron 
crowns  5  feet  2  inches  in  diameter,  and  weighing  one  ton  each.  The  roof,  sixteen  feet 
above  the  parapet,  is  surrounded  with  a  gilt  railing  six  feet  high,  the  four  corners  are 
guarded  by  four  stone  lions  twenty  feet  high ;  and  from  the  base  of  the  corners  spring  four 
cast-iron  flying  arched  buttresses,  formed  in  the  centre  in  a  kind  of  crown  about  thirty 
feet  above  the  roof.  Here  is  the  colossal  flagstaff,  of  rolled  sheet  iron  bolted  together, 
110  feet  long,  3  feet  in  diameter  at  the  base,  and  weighing  between  sixteen  and 
eighteen  tons.  The  flag,  60  feet  long  by  45  feet  broad,  required  upwards  of  400  yards 
of  bunting  to  make  it ;  it  has  to  be  hauled  up  by  machinery.  The  little  turrets  at 
the  corners  reach  ninety  feet  above  the  roof.  They  are  divided  into  two  stories,  the 
first  or  lower  being  about  sixty  feet  above  the  roof;  and  here  a  low  balcony,  with  stone 
work  breast-high,  allows  the  visitor  to  come  right  out  upon  the  outside  of  the  turret  and 
walk  around  it.  The  view  almost  repays  the  effort  made  to  reach  it.  All  London 
lies  beneath  you,  looking  like  a  diminished  and  smoky  model  of  itself,  in  which  some- 
how the  streets  seem  broader  and  more  empty,  and  the  houses  lower  and  more  regular, 
than  they  ever  appear  to  those  on  terra  firma.  On  a  clear  day  not  only  all  London 
can  be  seen  from  the  summit  of  these  pinnacles,  but  even  all  its  suburbs,  from  Hounslow 
to  Shooter's-hill  on  one  side,  and  from  Harrow  to  the  red  bleak-looking  downs  beyond 
Addington  on  the  other.     The  portal  is  of  sufficient  capacity  to  admit  the  Royal  Stato 


PARLIAMENT  HOUSES.  661 

coach  to  be  driven  to  the  foot  of  the  staircase  within  the  tower.  Colossal  statues  of 
the  Lion  of  England,  bearing  the  National  Standard,  flank  the  portal ;  while  carving, 
rich  and  emblematical,  adorns  the  walls  and  groined  roof  of  the  interior.  High 
above  a  rich  quatrefoil  band,  differing  in  design,  and  containing  heraldic  badges, 
foliage,  and  initials,  comes  the  first  tier  of  windows,  with  their  rich  tracery  and  lofty 
two-centred  arches.  Above  these  windows  are  strange  devices  in  the  way  of  shields 
and  supporters,  which  here  and  there  show  the  three  lions  passant  guardant,  supported 
by  such  animals  as  are  unknown  to  modern  English  heraldry.  Nevertheless,  these 
are  the  Royal  arms  of  England's  former  kings.  Within  the  porch  and  over  the  arch- 
way on  the  east  side  are  niches,  containing  statues  of  the  Guardian  Saints  of  the  United 
Kingdom — St.  George  of  England,  St.  Andrew  of  Scotland,  and  St.  Patrick  of  Ireland ; 
while  the  similar  archway  on  the  north  side,  which  forms  the  access  to  the  Royal  stair- 
case has  niches  of  accordant  design,  one  containing  a  large  statue  of  her  Majesty  Queen 
Victoria  in  the  centre,  while  those  on  either  side  contain  allegorical  figures  of  Justice 
and  Mercy.  Recurring  to  the  exterior  of  the  Tower,  immediately  over  the  above  great 
entrance,  as  well  as  on  the  south  side,  is  a  row  of  rich  niches,  the  centre  one  higher 
than  the  rest,  and  containing  a  statue  of  the  Queen ;  while  the  others  are  occupied  by 
her  Majesty's  father  and  mother,  the  late  Duke  and  Duchess  of  Kent,  and  other  mem- 
bers of  the  Royal  Family.     (Abridged  chiefly  from  The  Times  journal.) 

The  West  Front,  towards  New  Palace-yard,  is  composed  of  bays  divided  by  bold 
buttresses,  terminating  in  rich  pinnacles.  This  land-front  will  hereafter  embrace 
the  area  of  the  present  Law  Courts.  The  niches  of  the  buttresses  will  contain  statues 
of  eminent  commoners.  The  portion  of  this  front  complete,  is  that  opposite  Henry  the 
Seventh's  Chapel,  called  St.  Margaret's  Porch ;  and  the  gable  of  Westminster  Hall, 
which  has  been  advanced  southward,  the  great  window  being  replaced,  thus  forms  St. 
Stephen's  Porch,  with  much  of  the  varied  and  piquant  character  of  the  Town-hall  of 
Louvain.  The  turrets  contain  statuettes  of  Edward  III.  and  Queen  Philippa,  St.  George 
and  St.  Andrew,  Henry  VII.  and  Elizabeth  of  York,  St.  Patrick  and  St.  Stephen.  In 
the  gable  are  statuettes  of  Edward  the  Confessor  and  William  Rnfus,  William  IV.  and 
Queen  Victoria ;  and  this  facade  is  richly  sculptured  with  the  Royal  arms,  the  separate 
insignia  of  England,  Ireland,  and  Scotland,  badges,  &c.  The  whole  composition  should 
be  seen  from  Poet's  Corner,  and  it  combines  well  with  Henry  the  Seventh's  Chapel. 

Between  the  Victoria  Tower  and  St.  Stephen's  Porch  is  a  range  of  buildings  four 
stories  in  height,  with  a  central  clock-tower  120  feet  high.  Besides  the  great  towers 
already  named,  oriels  and  turrets  add  effect  to  the  sky-line  of  the  building,  whether 
viewed  from  the  exterior  or  from  the  courts. 

The  whole  front  from  St.  Stephen's  Porch  to  Victoria  Tower  is  appropriated  for  offices 
of  the  House  of  Peers,  including  peers'  private  entrance  and  staircase,  committee-rooms, 
waiting-rooms,  and  the  numerous  other  apartments  required.  It  also  includes  a  large 
room  to  be  called  the  Peers'  Robing- Room,  which  is  to  be  decorated  in  fresco  by  Mr. 
Herbert,  R.A.  This  is  lighted  from  the  top,  and  fitted  up  in  oak,  as  is  the  case  with 
the  other  apartments.  The  frescoes  will  be  eight  in  number,  of  large  size, — the 
subjects  Scriptural. 

"The  Palace  of  Westminster  stands  alone  and  matchless  in  Europe  among  the 
architectural  monuments  of  this  busy  age.  From  the  border  of  the  Thames,  from 
St.  James's  Park  or  Waterloo-place,  from  Piccadilly,  or  the  bridge  across  the  Ser- 
pentine, the  spectacle  of  that  large  square  tower,  of  the  central  needle,  and  far  away 
of  the  more  fantastic  Beffroi — all  grouping  at  every  step  in  some  different  combi- 
nation— stamp  the  whole  building  as  the  massive  conception  of  a  master  mind." — 
{Saturday  Semeto.) 

One  of  the  Public  Entrances  to  the  Houses  of  Parliament  is  by  St.  Stephen's  Stair- 
case, ascending  from  St.  Margaret's  Porch :  the  bosses,  panels,  and  decorative  work  of 
the  ceiling  and  the  supporting  arches  are  very  elaborate ;  the  walls  will  be  embellished 
with  frescoes.  Westminster  Hall  forms  the  grand  vestibule  of  approach  from  the 
north.  About  midway,  on  the  east  side  of  the  Hall,  is  the  Members'  Entrance  to  the 
House  of  Commons,  through  the  restored  Cloisters  of  St.  Stephen's :  the  fan-tracery 
of  the  roof,  and  a  small  projecting  chapel  or  oratory,  are  very  beautiful.  A  cloister 
built  by  Henry  VIII.  has  been  restored,  as  a  relic  of  English  mediaeval  art.     An  upper 


662  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

cloister  has  been  added,  by  which  is  a  staircase  to  the  House  of  Commons.  Eeturning 
to  Westminster  Hall,  at  the  south  end  is  a  flight  of  steps  to  St.  Stephen's  Porch, 
65  feet  in  height :  the  great  central  window  is  48  feet  high  and  25  feet  wide,  and  is 
filled  with  stained  glass,  by  Hardman,  charged  with  the  insignia  of  the  Sovereigns  of 
England.  On  the  right  is  the  entrance  from  St.  Stephen's  Staircase,  and  on  the  left 
is  a  superb  doorway  leading  into  St.  Stephens's  Hall,  95  feet  long  by  30  feet  wide, 
and  56  feet  high,  reared  upon  the  ancient  Crypt  of  St.  Stephen's,  which  has  been 
restored  for  use  as  the  Palace  Chapel.  From  the  floor  of  St.  Stephen's  Hall  there 
is  no  one  step  throughout  the  whole  extent, — all  is  of  one  level.     Next  is 

The  Central  Sail,  an  octagon  70  feet  square,  with  the  largest  span  of  stone  Gothic 
roof,  of  similar  form,  in  Europe :  the  height  from  the  floor  to  the  key-stone  is  75  feet, 
and  the  bosses  measure  4  feet  in  diameter.  The  eight  sides  contain  alternately  great 
doorways  and  windows,  the  latter  to  be  filled  with  stained  glass;  and  the  niches 
between  the  arches  contain  portrait  and  costume  statues  of  the  English  Sovereigns  and 
their  Queens,  sculptured  in  Caen  stone  by  John  Thomas.  Among  the  most  striking 
are  William  I. ;  Henry  I. ;  Richard  I.  and  his  Queen ;  King  John ;  Eleanor  Queen  of 
Edward  I. ;  Edward  III.  and  his  Queen  Philippa ;  Henry  V.  and  his  Queen  Katherine ; 
Richard  III.  ;  Henry  VII.  and  his  Queen  Elizabeth.  The  encaustic-tile  pavement  is 
very  fine.  Thence  a  corridor  leads  north  to  the  Commons'  Lobby  and  House  of 
Commons,  and  south  to  the  Peers'  Lobby  and  House  of  Peers.  The  archway  west 
communicates  with  St.  Stephen's  Hall :  and  the  east  leads  to  the  Lower  Waiting  Sail ; 
the  Conference  Sail,  in  the  River  Front ;  and  the  Upper  Waiting  Sail,  embellished 
with  frescoes,  including  the  Patience  of  Griselda  (from  Chaucer),  by  Cope ;  Disinheritance 
of  Cordelia  by  King  Lear  (from  Shakspeare),  by  Herbert,  R.A.  ;  the  Temptation  of 
Adam  and  Eve  (from  Milton),  by  Horsley ;  and  St.  Cecilia  (from  Dryden),  by  Tenniel. 

The  Electric  Telegraph  Office  (opened  April  1,  1853)  is  in  the  Central  Hall; 
whence  wires  are  laid  to  the  Company's  Office  and  the  metropolitan  stations.  The 
north  gable  of  Westminster  Hall  and  the  adjoining  Law  Courts,  Sir  Charles  Barry* 
proposed  to  make  accord  with  this  beautiful  front ;  New  Palace  Yard  being  inclosed 
by  parliamentary  buildings,  thus  making  it,  by  means  of  an  important  gateway  looking 
towards  Whitehall,  the  entrance  courtyard  of  the  new  Palace,  as  it  was  originally  of 
the  old  Palace  of  the  time  of  Richard  ll.f 

The  Royal  Entrance  is  by  the  Victoria  Tower,  already  described.  At  the  summit 
of  the  Royal  Staircase  is  the  Norman  Porch,  named  from  its  statues  of  kings  of  the 
Norman  line,  and  frescoes  of  scenes  from  Anglo-Norman  history ;  its  beautifully  groined 
roof  and  clustered  columns,  rich  bosses  and  ribs,  are  of  the  same  period.  To  the  right 
is  the  Queen's  Robing-room,  painted  by  Dyce,  R.A.,  with  frescoes  allegorical  of  chivalry 
fostering  generous  and  religious  feelings.  Here  are  two  frescoes  in  large  panels,  by 
Maclise,  R.A. :  the  Meeting  of  Wellington  and  Blucher  after  Waterloo ;  the  Death  of 
Nelson — one  side  only  is  completed ;  Mr.  Dyce  died  February  14,  1864.  Next  is  the 
Victoria  or  Royal  Gallery,  110  feet  in  length  by  45  feet  in  width,  and  45  feet  high ; 
to  be  decorated  with  frescoes  from  English  history,  an  armorial  band  beneath  the 
stained-glass  windows,  and  a  panelled  and  superbly  enriched  ceiling.  To  this  gallery 
the  public  are  admitted,  by  tickets  (to  be  obtained  of  the  Lord  Great  Chamberlain),  to 
view  the  procession  of  her  Majesty  to  open  and  prorogue  Parliament. 

The  Prince's  Chamber,  a  kind  of  ante-room  to  the  House  of  Lords,  has  the  entrance- 

*  A  very  beautiful  memorial  tablet  to  perpetuate  the  memory  of  the  late  Sir  Charles  Barry  has  been 
erected  in  the  nave  of  Westminster  Abbey,  over  the  spot  where  the  distinguished  architect  of  the  Houses 
of  Parliament  lies  buried ;  and  nearly  adjoining  the  grave  of  the  late  Mr.  Robert  Stephenson,  to  whom, 
it  will  be  remembered,  a  monumental  brass,  representing  a  full-length  figure  of  the  eminent  engineer, 
was  inscribed  a  few  years  since.  The  memorial,  which  has  been  placed  in  the  Abbey  by  the  family  of 
the  late  Sir  C.  Barry,  consists  of  a  large  cross  let  into  a  massive  slab  of  black  marble  about  12  feet  in 
length  by  5  feet  in  width,  and  the  inscription  on  the  cross  is  as  follows : — "  Sacred  to  the  memory  of  the 
late  Sir  C.  Barry,  B.A.,  F.B.S.,  architect  of  the  New  Palace  at  Westminster  and  other  buildings,  who 
died  on  the  12th  of  May,  1860,  aged  64  years,  and  lies  buried  beneath  this  brass."  The  following  text 
is  also  inscribed  round  the  outside  of  the  marble  slab : — "  Whatsoever  ye  do,  do  it  heartily,  as  to  the 
Lord  and  not  unto  men,  for  ye  serve  the  Lord  Christ."    Colossiam  iii.  23, 24. 

t  "  The  new  Palace  Yard  being  anciently  enclosed  by  a  wall,  there  were  four  gates  therein,  the  only 
one  at  present  remaining  is  that  on  the  east  side  leading  to  Westminster  Stairs— the  three  others  which 
were  demolished  were  that  on  the  north  which  led  to  Woolstaple,  that  on  the  west  called  Highgate,  a 
very  beautiful  and  stately  edifice,  situate  at  the  east  end  of  Union-street :  it  was  taken  down  in  the  year 
1706,  as  was  also  the  third  at  the  north  end  of  St.  Margaret's-lane,  anno  1731."— Maitland        1739. 


PARLIAMENT  HOUSES.  663 

doorway  richly  decorated  with  the  national  arms,  armorial  roses  and  quatrefoils;  and 
opposite,  on  the  north  side,  in  a  corresponding  arch,  is  the  statue  of  Queen  Victoria, 
■with  figures  of  Justice  and  Mercy,  and  bas-reliefs,  by  Gibson,  R.A.  Upon  the  walls 
are  twelve  bas-reliefs,  by  Theed,  carved  in  oak,  of  memorable  events  in  Tudor  history ; 
and  over  these  panels,  are  twenty -eight  portraits  of  the  same  period,  painted  on  a  gold 
ground.  The  frieze  is  enriched  with  oak-leaves  and  acorns,  and  armorial  shields  and 
labels ;  the  windows  are  painted  with  the  rose,  thistle,  and  shamrock,  and  regal  crowns ; 
and  the  armorial  ceiling  and  Tudor  fire-places  are  dight  with  colour,  gilding,  and 
sculpture.     From  the  Prince's  chamber  we  enter 

The  HotrsE  of  Lords,  extremely  rich  in  gilding,  polychromy,  wrought  metal,  and 
carved  work.  Its  dimensions  arc,  length  in  the  clear,  91  feet,  breadth  45  feet,  and 
height  45  feet,  so  that  it  is  a  double  cube.  The  walls  are  3  feet  1  inch  thick.  East 
and  west  are  twelve  lofty  windows,  six  on  either  side,  filled  with  painted-glass  whole- 
length  portraits  of  the  kings  and  queens,  consort  and  regnant,  of  the  United  Kingdom : 
six  containing  figures  of  the  royal  line  of  England  before  the  union  of  the  crowns ; 
three,  of  the  royal  line  of  Scotland  from  Bruce  to  James  VI.;  and  three,  of  the 
Sovereigns  of  Great  Britain  from  the  reign  of  Charles  I.  The  style  of  colouring  in 
these  windows  is  that  of  1450-1500. 

At  each  end  of  the  House  are  three  archways,  within  which  are  these  wall-frescoes : — 

Over  the  Throne :  Edward  III.  conferring  the  Order  of  the  Garter  on  the  Black  Prince;  C.  W.  Cope, 
R.A.  The  Baptism  of  St.  Ethelbert;  W.  Dyee,  E.A.  Prince  Henry  acknowledging  the  authority  of 
Judge  Gascoigne;  C.  W.  Cope,  R.A. 

Over  the  Strangers'  Gallery:  The  Spirit  of  Justice;  D.  Maclise,  E.A.  The  Spirit  of  Religion;  J.  C. 
Horsley.    The  Spirit  of  Chivalry;  D.  Maclise,  R.A. 

Between  the  windows,  archways,  and  in  the  corners,  are  canopied  niches,  with  pedestals 
supported  by  angels  bearing  shields  charged  with  the  arms  of  the  eighteen  barons  who 
obtained  Magna  Charta  from  King  John,  and  whose  bronze  effigies  occupy  the  niches. 
Above  these  niches  are  segments  of  arches,  which,  as  trusses,  support  the  main  arches 
of  the  ceiling,  and  are  elaborately  pierced  and  carved. 

The  ceiling  is  flat,  and  divided  into  compartments  containing  lozenges  charged  with 
devices  and  symbols :  the  royal  monogram,  the  monograms  of  the  Prince  of  Wales  and 
Prince  Consort ;  the  cognisances  of  the  white  hart  of  Richard  II. ;  the  sun  of  the 
House  of  Yoi-k;  the  crown  in  a  bush,  Henry  VII.;  the  falcon,  dragon,  and  greyhound; 
the  lion  passant  of  England,  the  lion  rampant  of  Scotland,  and  the  harp  of  Ireland ; 
sceptres,  orbs,  and  crowns;  the  scales  of  Justice;  mitres  and  crosiers,  and  swords  of 
mercy ;  coronets,  and  the  triple  plume  of  the  Prince  of  Wales.  Among  the  devices 
are  the  rose  of  England  and  the  pomegranate  of  Castile;  the  portcullis  of  Beaufort, 
the  lily  of  France,  and  the  lion  of  England ;  and  the  armorial  shields  of  the  Saxon 
Heptarchy.  The  massive  beams  appear  like  solid  gold :  they  are  inscribed  on  the  sides 
with  religious  and  loyal  mottoes. 

Beneath  the  windows,  the  walls  are  covered  with  oak  panelling  and  carved  busts  of 
the  Sovereigns  of  England ;  and  above  is  the  inscription  "  God  save  the  Queen,"  in 
Tudor  characters.  Thence  springs  a  coving,  in  the  southern  division  emblazoned  with 
the  arms  of  lord  chancellors  and  their  Sovereigns,  and  northward  with  the  bishops' 
arms.  This  coving  supports  a  gallery  with  wrought-metal  railing,  richly-carved  panel- 
ling, and  pillars  which  support,  a  brattishing. 

The  centre  of  the  southern  end  of  the  House  is  occupied  by  the  Throne,  on  either 
side  of  which  is  a  doorway  leading  to  the  Prince's  Chamber.  At  the  northern  end  of 
the  House,  over  the  principal  doorway,  is  the  Strangers'  Gallery,  behind  the  Reporters' 
Gallery,  upon  the  front  of  which  are  painted  the  badges  of  the  sovereigns  of  England ; 
and  over  the  archways  are  painted  on  shields  the  coat-armour  of  the  Saxon,  Norman, 
Plantagenet,  Tudor,  Stuart,  and  Hanoverian  Houses;  the  arms  of  the  archiepiscopal 
sees,  and  some  of  the  bishoprics ;  and  in  front  of  the  gallery  is  a  clock  with  an  exqui- 
sitely carved  case  and  dial  enamelled  in  colours.  On  the  right  of  the  Bar  is  the  seat  of 
the  Usher  of  the  Black  Rod.  The  Peers'  seats  (accommodating  235)  are  ranged 
longitudinally  from  north  to  south.  At  the  south  end  is  the  clerks'  table ;  and  beyond 
it  are  the  woolsacks,  covered  with  crimson  cloth.  At  the  north  end  is  The  Bar,  a 
dwarf  screen,  at  which  appear  the  Members  of  the  House  of  Commons,  and  at  which 


664  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

counsel  plead.     At   the   four  angles  of  the  area  is  a  superb  brass  candelabrum,  by 
Hardman,  17  feet  high,  and  weighing  11-|  cwt. 

The  Kotai  Theone,  at  the  south  end,  is  elevated  on  steps  (the  centre  three,  and 
the  sides  two),  which  are  covered  with  a  carpet  of  bright  scarlet,  powdered  with  white 
roses  and  lions,  and  fringed  with  gold-colour.  The  canopy  to  the  throne  is  in  three 
compartments :  the  central  one,  much  loftier  than  the  others,  for  her  Majesty ;  that  on 
the  right  hand  for  the  Prince  of  Wales,  and  that  on  the  left  for  the  Prince  Consort. 
The  back  of  the  central  compartment  is  panelled  with  lions  passant,  carved  and  gilded, 
on  a  red  ground ;  and  above  are  the  royal  arms  of  England,  elaborately  emblazoned, 
surmounted  by  the  royal  monogram  and  "Dieu  et  mon  droit,"  in  perforated  letters; 
and  a  brattishing  of  Greek  crosses  and  fleur-de-lis  crests.  Above  are  the  crests  of 
England,  Scotland,  Ireland,  and  Wales,  richly  carved ;  the  ceiling  bears  the  monogram 
V.  R.  within  an  exquisite  border,  and  the  flat  surfaces  painted  with  stars.  The  span- 
drels of  the  canopy,  and  the  octagonal  pillars  with  coronal  capitals,  are  exquisitely 
carved.  In  front  of  the  canopy,  above  a  brattishing  of  perforated  Tudor  flowers,  are 
five  traceried  ogee  arches :  in  the  central  one  is  the  figure  of  St.  George  and  the 
Dragon ;  and  in  the  two  sides  are  knights  of  the  Garter  and  Bath,  the  Thistle  and  St. 
Patrick.  The  angle-buttresses  of  this  canopy  have  coronal  pendants ;  on  the  fronts 
and  sides  are  animals,  on  the  summits  open-worked  royal  crowns.  On  the  sides  like- 
wise are  shields  of  the  arms  of  England,  Scotland,  Ireland,  and  Wales,  beautifully 
carved,  painted,  and  gilded ;  and  upon  pedestals  are  sitting  figures  of  winged  angels 
holding  shields  enamelled  with  the  arms  of  England.  The  side  compartments  of  the 
canopy  have,  the  one  the  heraldic  symbols  of  the  Prince  of  Wales,  and  the  other  those 
of  Prince  Albert,  blended  with  the  architectural  features :  they  have  covings,  gilded, 
and  pedestals  supporting  a  lion  and  unicorn  holding  shields  of  arms ;  the  angle-but- 
tresses have  coronal  pendants,  and  the  shafts  are  surmounted  by  crowns.  On  either 
hand  is  a  dwarf  wing  with  pedestal,  on  which  are  seated  the  royal  supporters,  the  lion 
and  unicorn,  holding  standards  enamelled  with  the  arms  of  England. 

The  Queen's  Chair  of  State,  or  Throne,  in  general  outline  resembles  "  the  coronation 
chair :"  the  legs  rest  upon  four  lions  couchant ;  the  base  has  quatrefoil  panels,  with 
crowns  and  V.  R.;  sprays  of  roses,  shamrocks,  and  thistles;  and  a  broad  bar  of  roses 
and  leaves :  in  the  panels  beneath  the  arms  of  the  chair  are  lions  passant  and  treillage ; 
upon  the  back  pinnacles  are  a  lion  and  unicorn,  seated,  holding  scrolls  and  flanking  the 
gable,  within  which  is  a  circle  of  exquisitely  quatre-foiled  ornament,  inclosing  the 
monogram  V.  R. ;  the  exterior  ridge  is  carved  with  roses,  and  the  apex  surmounted 
with  a  richly  decorated  crown.  The  back  of  the  chair  is  bordered  with  large  egg- 
shaped  pieces  of  crystal,  within  which  are  the  royal  arms  of  England,  embroidered  on 
velvet.  The  Footstool  has  carved  sides,  and  a  crimson  velvet  top,  gorgeously  embroi- 
dered with  roses  in  a  border  of  fleurs-de-lis. 

The  State  Chairs  for  the  Prince  of  Wales  and  Prince  Consort  are  curule-shaped, 
have  circular-headed  backs,  embroidered  on  velvet  with  the  ostrich  triple-plume  and 
the  shield  of  arms.  The  throne  and  footstool,  and  the  two  princes'  chairs,  are  gilded 
throughout. 

The  House  of  Peers  was  first  occupied  by  their  lordships  April  15,  1847. 

The  Peers'  Lobby  is  38  feet  square  and  33  feet  high,  and  has  on  either  side  a  lofty 
arch,  above  which  are  painted,  within  arches,  the  arms  of  the  Saxon,  Norman,  Plan- 
tagenet,  Tudor,  Stuart,  and  Hanoverian  royal  lines,  each  surmounted  by  a  royal  crown. 
The  north  doorway  opens  into  the  House  of  Commons  Corridor,  the  south  doorway 
opens  into  the  House  of  Lords :  the  arch  is  boldly  sculptured  with  Tudor  roses,  royally 
crowned ;  the  inner  arch  is  enriched  with  gilded  oak-leaves.  The  space  over  is  filled 
with  the  royal  arms,  roses,  thistles,  and  shamrocks,  coloured  and  gilded.  The  gates 
are  of  massive  brass,  by  Hardman,  and  of  richly  floriated  design,  the  frames  studded 
with  Norman  roses.  These  gates  weigh  l£  tons,  are  11  feet  high,  and  6  feet  wide; 
and  are  of  a  material  not  used  in  England  for  such  a  purpose  for  nearly  400  years. 
The  side-wall  compartments  of  the  Lobby  are  filled  with  ogee  arches ;  and  the  upper 
stories  are  windows,  painted  by  Hardman,  and  Ballantyne,  and  Allan,  with  the  arms  of 
the  early  families  of  the  aristocracy  of  England.     The  roof  is  painted  with  roses, 


PARLIAMENT  HOUSES.  665 

thistles,  and  shamrocks,  in  squares,  on  a  blue  ground,  and  relieved  with  gilding.  The 
pavement  is  encaustic  tiles,  by  Minton  ;  alleys  of  black  marble,  including  "  Dieu  et 
mon  droit"  in  tiles,  V.  R.,  the  lions  of  England,  &c. ;  and  in  the  centre  is  a  Tudor  rose 
of  Derbyshire  marble,  bordered  with  engraved  brass.  At  each  corner  of  the  lobby  is  a 
magnificent  gas-standard,  about  12  feet  high. 

The  Peers'  Libraries  are  a  magnificent  suite  of  rooms ;  above  the  oak  book-shelves 
is  a  frieze,  with  panels  of  the  arms  of  the  Chief  Justices  of  Englaud.  The  Peers' 
Robing-room  it  is  proposed  to  decorate  with  frescoes  illustrating  Human  Justice  and 
its  development  in  Law  and  Judgment,  by  Herbert,  E.A.  The  one  executed  is  in 
water-glass;  the  subject,  Moses  bringing  down  the  Second  Tables  of  the  Law,  oc- 
cupied the  painter  three  years  :  size  22  feet  by  10  feet  6  inches ;  figures  life-size. 

Returning  to  the  Peers'  Lobby,  the  archway  on  the  north  side  gives  access  to  the 
Peers'  Corridor,  corresponding  with  the  Commons'  Corridor  immediately  opposite  in 
the  Central  Hall,  the  walls  of  which  are  panelled  for  frescoes,  some  of  which  have 
been  completed.  The  decorations  of  the  Corridors  leading  from  the  Central  Hall, 
to  the  Houses  of  Lords  and  Commons,  are  as  follows  : — 

The  Peer*'  Corridor.— C.  W.  Cope,  E.A.,  The  Burial  of  Charles  I. ;  The  Parting  of  Lord  and  Lady 
Bussell ;  Expulsion  of  the  Fellows  of  a  College  at  Oxford  for  refusinsr  to  sign  the  Covenant ;  The  Em- 
barkation of  the  Pilgrim  Fathers  for  New  England ;  The  Defence  of  Basing  House;  The  setting  out  of 
the  Train  Bands  from  London  to  relieve  Gloucester ;  Charles  I.  erecting  his  standard  at  Nottingham. 

The  Common)'  Corridor. — E.  M.  Ward,  E.A.,  Alice  Lisle  assisting  the  Fugitives  to  Escape  after  the 
Battle  of  Sedgmoor;  Jane  Lane  assisting  Charles  II.  to  Escape  after  the  Battle  of  Worcester;  The 
Last  Sleep  of  Argyle;  The  Execution  of  Montrose;  The  Landing  of  Charles  II.  at  Dover. 

The  Central  Hall  has  been  already  described.  Leaving  this  through  an  arched 
doorway  on  the  west  side,  we  enter  St.  Stephen's  Hall,  which  occupies  the  site 
of  the  old  St.  Stephen's  Chapel.  The  Hall  has  a  beautiful  stone  vaulting,  the 
bosses  of  which  have  subjects  from  the  life  of  St.  Stephen ;  its  windows  are  filled  with 
appropriate  glass,  and  on  pedestals  are  marble  statues  of  Selden,  Foley,  R.A. ; 
Hampden,  Foley,  R.A. ;  Lord  Falkland,  Bell ;  Lord  Clarendon,  Marshall,  R.A. ;  Lord 
Somers,  Marshall,  R.A. ;  Sir  Robert  Walpole,  Bell ;  Lord  Chatham,  M'Dowell,  R.A. ; 
Lord  Mansfield,  Baily,  R.A. ;  Burke,  Theed;  Fox,  Baily,  R.A.;  Pitt,  M'Dowell,  R.A  j 
Grantham,  Carew.  A  small  staircase  at  one  end  leads  to  St.  Stephen's  Crypt,  de- 
scribed at  p.  304.  In  the  niches  of  the  doorway  to  St.  Stephen's  Hall  are  twelve 
statues  of  early  Kings  and  Queens.  We  leave  the  Hall  for  St.  Stephen's  Porch, 
whence  a  fine  view  is  obtained  of  Westminster  Hall,  which  it  was  proposed  by  Sir 
Charles  Barry  to  make  an  antechamber  to  the  House  of  Legislature.  By  a  beautiful 
new  doorway  on  the  east  side  we  enter  the  Cloisters  of  St.  Stephen's,  which  have  been 
restored  and  enlarged.     From  the  upper  Cloister  by  the  Lobby  we  enter 

The  House  of  Commons,  75  feet  long,  45  feet  wide,  and  41  feet  high ;  the  size 
being  as  small  as  possible  for  speaking  and  hearing  without  effort  during  the  average 
attendance  of  Members,  about  300.  The  twelve  side  windows  are  painted  with  the 
arms  of  boroughs,  by  Hardman ;  and  at  each  end  is  a  stone  screen  filled  with  brass 
tracery.  The  ceiling  has  the  sides  and  ends  inclined,  and  the  centre  flat :  it  is  divided 
by  massive  ribs  into  compartments,  which  are  filled  with  ground-glass  tinted  with  the 
rose,  portcullis,  and  floriated  circles;  behind  were  originally  placed  the  gas-lights, 
with  Faraday's  patent  ventilation,  cutting  off  connexion  between  the  gas  and  the  air 
of  the  apartment,  the  vitiated  air  being  conveyed  away  by  tubes  into  a  chamber  above 
the  ceiling.  The  artificial  light  is  now  supplied  from  the  chamber  above  the  ceilings, 
in  which  about  1000  feet  of  gas  are  consumed  per  hour  in  the  evening  sittings ;  none 
of  the  products  of  combustion  escape  into  the  House.  The  floor  of  the  House  is  of 
perforated  cast  iron,  covered  with  matting,  through  which  hot  and  cold  air  are  admitted. 

The  Ventilation  at  present  adopted  in  the  two  Houses  is  that  of  exhaustion,  the  air  being  put  in 
motion  by  means  of  heat  applied  by  coke-fires  in  great  upcast  shafts,  the  two  chief  being  in  the  Victoria 
Tower  and  the  Clock  Tower.  Under  as  well  as  above  ground  are  hundreds  of  air-courses ;  some  for 
supplying  cold  air,  others  for  warm  air,  others  for  carrying  off  vitiated  air.  There  are  in  this  great 
palace  steam-pipes,  of  which  the  aggregate  length  is  about  15  miles,  and  1200  stop-cocks  and  valves 
connected  with  these  pipes.  Taking  the  House  that  sits  longest,  we  learn  from  Dr.  Percy's  able  Report, 
that  the  air  for  the  House  of  Commons  is  admitted  from  the  Star  Court  and  the  Commons  Court;  it  is 
strained  through  gauze,  and  then  warmed  when  necessary  by  Gurney's  batteries ;  after  which  it  ascends 
through  the  floor  of  the  House.    Dr.  Percy  tells  us  that,  although  a  great  number  of  minor  details  are 


666  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

defective  and  need  completion,  yet  all  appliances  for  effective  ventilation  exist;  experiments  have 
demonstrated  that  the  supply  of  fresh  air  passing  through  the  Houses  under  varying  conditions  has 
generally  exceeded  the  proportion  declared  by  the  highest  authorities  to  be  amply  sufficient.  Satisfactory 
as  this  may  be,  Dr.  Percy  reminds  us  that  too  much  fresh  air  cannot  be  supplied,  provided  its  tempera- 
ture and  its  state  as  to  moisture  be  suitable,  and  no  draught  be  perceptible — a  condition  which  should 
be  regarded  as  a  fundamental  principle  in  every  so-called  system  of  ventilation.  While  in  some  instances 
the  complaints  made  may  be  well  founded,  it  is  pretty  certain  that  in  other  instances  they  resulted  from 
the  special  bodily  conditions  of  the  individuals  making  them;  as  the  state  of  the  stomach  as  to  the 
quantity  of  food  which  it  contains,  the  amount  of  alcoholic  liquor  circulating  through  the  system,  the 
muscular  exertion  which  the  body  may  have  recently  undergone,  as  well  as  the  condition  of  mental 
exertion  or  excitement,  will  greatly  modify  our  impressions  as  to  the  agreeableness  of  the  temperature 
and  the  perfection  of  the  ventilation. 

It  is  impossible  to  burn  the  House  down :  you  might  set  fire  to  and  destroy  the  furni- 
ture and  fittings;  but  the  flooring,  walls,  and  roof  would  remain  intact.  The  walls 
are  panelled  with  oak  two-thirds  up,  carved  with  the  linen-pattern,  armorial  shields, 
pendants,  foliated  mouldings,  and  brattishings.  Upon  three  sides  are  galleries  for 
Members  and  Strangers ;  the  Reporters'  Gallery  being  at  the  north  end,  over  the 
Speaker's  Chair,  a  sort  of  canopied  throne  elaborately  carved  with  the  royal  arms,  &c. 
Behind  the  brass  tracery  above  the  Reporters'  Gallery  is  a  gallery  for  ladies.  At  the 
northern  end  of  the  House  is  The  Bar,  temporarily  formed  by  sliding  rods  of  brass ; 
and  here  is  the  special  seat  of  the  Serjeant-at-arms.  The  Ministerial  seats  are  on  the 
front  bench  to  the  right  of  the  Speaker,  the  leaders  of  the  Opposition  occupying  the 
front  bench  opposite.  Below  the  Speaker's  Chair  is  the  Clerks'  Table,  whereon,  during 
the  business  of  the  House,  is  placed  the  Speaker's  Mace  ;  not,  as  generally  supposed, 
"  the  fool's  bauble"  which  Cromwell  ordered  to  be  taken  away,  but  the  mace  made  at 
the  Restoration.  Along  both  sides  of  the  House  are  the  Division  Lobbies,  "  Ayes" 
west,  and  "  Noes"  east;  these  being  oak-panelled  corridors,  with  stained-glass  windows: 
the  chandeliers  are  of  chased  brass. 

The  Commons  first  assembled  in  their  new  House  February  3,  1852  ;  eight  days 
after  which  (February  11),  Mr.  Barry  received  knighthood. 

The  Commons  Lobby  is  a  rich  apartment  45  feet  square,  and  has  on  each  side  an 
archway ;  carved  open  screens  inscribed  "  Domine  salvam  fac  Reginam ;"  and  windows 
painted  with  the  arms  of  parliamentary  boroughs  :  the  brass  gas-standards,  by  Hard- 
man,  are  elaborately  chased.  The  doorways  lead  to  the  Library,  the  Post-office, 
Vote-paper  Office,  Central  Hall,  &c.  The  Libraries  are  fitted  with  dark  oak.  The 
'Refreshment  Rooms  for  the  Peers  and  Commons  are  similarly  arranged,  and  respec- 
tively are  divided  by  a  carved  oak  screen. 

The  public  are  admitted  to  view  both  Houses  of  Parliament,  and  all  the  public 
portion  of  the  New  Palace  of  Westminster,  every  Saturday  between  10  and  4  o'clock, 
during  the  session,  by  tickets  ;  which  are  obtainable  on  Saturdays,  between  11  and  4 
o'clock,  at  the  Office  of  the  Lord  Great  Chamberlain,  in  the  Royal  Court. 

Admission  to  hear  the  Debates :  Lords — A  Peer's  order ;  Commons — Any  Mem- 
ber's, or  the  Speaker's,  order.  The  House  of  Lords  is  open  to  the  public,  without 
ticket,  during  the  hearing  of  Appeals. 

The  Speaker's  Souse  occupies  part  of  the  two  pavilions,  forming  the  end  of  the 
river  front  of  the  Palace,  next  Westminster  Bridge,  and  is  approached  by  archways 
from  Palace-yard.  It  comprises  from  sixty  to  seventy  rooms,  and  is  finished 
throughout  in  the  style  of  the  structure  generally.  The  staircase,  with  its  carvings, 
tile-paving,  and  brass-work,  is  exceedingly  effective  and  elegant,  and  everywhere  there 
is  a  large  amount  of  painted  and  gilded  decoration.  Cloisters,  approached  from  the 
House,  surround  a  court  about  20  feet  square  :  the  window  openings  in  the  cloisters 
are  filled  with  stained  glass,  containing  the  arms  of  all  the  Speakers,  with  the  date  of 
election.  The  principal  floor  includes  the  State  dining-room ;  the  drawing-room, 
37  feet  3  inches  by  28  feet  9  inches;  morning-room,  34  feet  6  inches  by  23  feet  9  inches; 
and  a  smaller  dining-room,  34  feet  by  24  feet  6  inches.  The  State  dining-room  is 
45  feet  by  23  feet  6  inches.  Frames  are  set  in  the  walls  to  receive  a  collection  of  portraits 
of  past  Speakers.  The  rooms  are  lighted  at  night  by  wax-candles  in  corona? ;  to  light 
the  four  rooms  requires  400  wax-candles. 

A  Descriptive  Handbook  for  the  Pictures  in  the  Souses  of  Parliament,  by  T.  J. 
Gullick,  Painter  (published  by  authority),  will  at  once  satisfy  the  requirements  of 
artists  and  the  general  public :  the  accounts  of  the  Pictures  are  written  with  care 


PATERNOSTER-ROW.  667 

and  discrimination.     And  a  Guide  to  the  Palace  is  printed  by  permission  of  the  Lord 
Great  Chamberlain,  and  published  by  Warrington  and  Co. 


PATERNOSTER-ROW, 

BETWEEN  the  north  side  of  St.  Paul's  Churchyard,  and  the  south  of  Newgate- 
street,  is  one  of  a  knot  of  monastic  localities ;  and  is  named  from  the  turners  of 
rosaries,  or  Pater  Nosters  (tenth  beads),  dwelling  there,  with  stationers  or  text-writers, 
who  wrote  and  sold  ABC,  with  the  Pater  Noster,  Ave,  Creed,  Graces,  &c,  in  the  reign 
of  Henry  IV.  Hatton  describes  it  1708  "  between  Cheapside  Conduit  east,  and  Amen- 
corner  west;  and  the  name,  as  also  those  of  Ave-Maria-lane  (at  its  west  end),  Creed-lane 
(in  Ludgate-street,  opposite),  and  Amen-corner,  given  by  reason  of  the  religious  houses 
formerly  of  Black  and  Gray  Friars,  between  which  these  streets  are  situated."  Pater- 
noster-row was  next  "taken  up"  by  mercers,  silkmen,  and  lacemen :  we  read  of  Pepys, 
in  1660  buying  here  "  moyre  for  a  morning  waistcoat ;"  and  the  street  was  ofttimes 
blocked  up  with  the  coaches  of  the  nobility  and  gentry.  But  few  names  of  publishers 
are  met  with  as  carrying  on  business  in  Paternoster-row  before  the  Great  Fire :  one  of 
these  is  "R.  Harford,  in  Queen's-head-alley,  Paternoster-row,  1642,"  and  another, 
"Christopher  Meredith,  Crane-alley,  Paternoster-row."  After  the  Great  Fire,  the 
mercers  mostly  migrated  westward,  as  to  Holywell-street  and  Covent  Garden ;  but 
in  a  periodical  of  1707  we  read  of  "  the  sempstresses  of  Paternoster-row :"  and  Strype, 
in  1720,  enumerates  among  its  inhabitants  tire-women,  mercers,  and  silkmen.  Here 
lived  Alderman  Thomas,  the  mercer,  whose  shop  bore  the  motto  of  Sir  William  Turner, 
"  Keep  your  shop,  and  your  shop  will  keep  you."  {Spectator,  No.  509.)  Strype  also 
mentions  "  at  the  upper  end,  some  stationers  and  large  warehouses  for  booksellers ;" 
but  we  find,  as  early  as  1564,  that  Henry  Denham,  bookseller,  lived  at  the  Star,  in 
Paternoster-row,  with  the  motto,  Os  homini  sublime  dedit.  In  the  reign  of  Queen 
Anne  the  booksellers  removed  here  from  Little  Britain ;  and,  from  about  1774,  the 
trade  became  changed  to  publishing  books  in  "  Paternoster-row  numbers."  Among 
their  publishers  were  Harrison,  Cook,  and  the  Hoggs ;  to  the  latter  succeeded  their 
shopman,  Thomas  Kelly,  Alderman  of  Farringdon  Within,  and  Lord  Mayor,  1836-7. 

Here  was  the  printing-office  of  Henry  Sampson  Woodfall,  the  printer  of  the  Public 
Advertiser,  wherein  originally  appeared  Junius's  Letters. 

At  "  the  Bible  and  Crown  "  (the  sign  boldly  carved  in  wood,  coloured  and  gilt,  in  the 
string-course  above  the  window),  lived  the  Rivingtons,  the  High-Church  publishers,  from 
1710  to  1853:  here  they  continued  the  Annual  Register,  originally  Dodsley's,  with  Edmund 
Burke  as  a  contributor;  and  here,  in  1791,  the  Rivingtons  commenced  the  British  Critic  : 
but  "  the  old  shop,"  where  Horsley  and  Tomline,  Warburton  and  Hurd,  used  to  meet, 
was,  in  1854,  altered  to  a  "  shawl  emporium."  At  No.  47  lived  Robert  Baldwin,  pub- 
lisher of  the  London  Magazine,  commenced  1732.  The  premises  are  now  the  publishing- 
house  of  Messrs.  William  and  Robert  Chambers,  of  Edinburgh :  the  former  Lord 
Provost,  1866.  Here  the  Robinsons  established  themselves  1763,  the  head  of  the  firm 
being  "  King  of  the  Booksellers :"  here  they  published  the  Annual  Register,  with  a 
sale  of  7000  copies  each  volume ;  and  the  unsatisfactory  Biographical  Dictionary,  by 
Alexander  Chalmers.  At  No.  39  have  lived  nearly  a  century  and  a  half  the  Long- 
mans; the  imprint  of  Thomas  Longman,  with  Thomas  and  John  Osborne,  at  the  sign  of 
"  the  Ship  and  Black  Swan,"  is  dated  1725 ;  and  the  same  year  we  find  a  book  of 
Whiston's  bearing  the  same  names,  although  an  edition  of  Rowe's  Dramatic  Works, 
2  vols.,  1725,  is  stated  to  be  the  earliest  book  with  Longman's  imprint.  Here  was 
commenced  the  original  Cyclopedia,  by  Ephraim  Chambers,  upon  which  was  based  the 
New  Cyclopaedia  of  Dr.  Rees.  For  several  years  the  firm  gave  here  dinners  and  soirees 
to  authors  and  artists ;  and  they  have  acquired  world-wide  repute  as  the  publishers  of 
the  works  of  Scott,  Mackintosh,  Southey,  Sydney  Smith,  Moore,  and  Macaulay. 
Messrs.  Longman's  own  sale  of  books  has  amounted  to  five  millions  of  volumes  in  the 
year.     They  possess  some  portraits  of  eminent  literary  persons. 

The  premises  were  rebuilt  in  handsome  Renaissance  style  in  1863 ;  the  design  in- 
cluding the  rebuilding  of  the  adjoining  house  of  Messrs.  Blackwood  and  Sons,  of  Edin- 


663  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

burgh,  at  the  extreme  north-west  corner.  The  facade  is  executed  in  Portland  stone.  The 
character  of  the  carving,  especially  of  the  lower  stories,  is  somewhat  symbolical  natural 
foliage.  On  the  key-stone  of  the  central  arch  is  represented  Literature  supported  by 
the  Arts,  Sciences,  and  Education.  In  the  spandrels  of  the  same  are  the  "  Ship"  and 
the  "  Swan,"  being  half-size  copies  of  two  medallions,  saved  from  the  old  buildings, 
and  which  had  been  trade  signs  or  parts  of  these  premises  since  the  Great  Fire. 

No.  33,  Hamilton,  Adams,  and  Co.,  has  been  rebuilt  in  handsome  style ;  also  No. 
23,  Kent  and  Co.  No.  56,  the  Depot  of  the  Religious  Tract  Society,  was  erected 
in  1844,  at  a  cost  of  12,000£. :  the  handsome  stone  frontage,  of  120  feet,  is  in  the 
Italian  style.  The  Society  commenced  operations,  in  1799,  with  a  small  handbill ;  its 
annual  distribution  of  books  and  tracts  in  1853  was  nearly  26  millions,  and  its  gross 
income  9497£. ;  in  1866,  circulation  46,000,000.  The  Society  issues  five  illustrated 
periodicals,  including  the  Leisure  Sour  and  the  Sunday  at  Some. 

No.  50,  long  the  Chapter  Coffee-house,  described  at  pp.  263-4,  was  closed  as  a  coffee- 
house, in  December,  1853 ;  having  been  for  a  century  and  more  the  resort  of  authors, 
booksellers,  and  politicians  :  the  bouse  is  referred  to  in  the  correspondence  of  Chatterton. 

"  A  contemporary  anecdote  exhibits  Goldsmith  paymaster,  at  the  Chapter  Coffee-house,  for  Churchill's 
friend,  Charles  Lloyd,  who,  in  his  careless  way,  without  a  shilling  to  pay  for  the  entertainment,  had 
invited  him  to  sup  with  some  friends  of  Grub-street." — Forster's  Life  of  Goldsmith,  p.  232. 

Between  Paternoster-row  and  Newgate-street  is  Newgate  Market :  here,  in  1709 
(Tatler,  No.  44),  was  exhibited  the  Groaning  Board  : 

"At  the  sign  of  the  Woolsack,  in  Newgate  Market,  is  to  be  seen  a  strange  and  wonderful  elm-board ; 
wbkhbeing  touched  with  a  hot  iron,  doth  express  itself  as  if  it  were  a  man  dying  with  groans,  &c.    It 
been  presented  to  the  king  and  his  nobles,  and  hath  given  great  satisfaction." — Advertisement. 

Panyer-alley,  conjectured  to  have  been  named  from  its  having  been  the  standing  of 
bakers  with  their  paniers,  when  bread  was  only  sold  in  markets,  and  not  in  shops  or 
houses,  is  described  at  pp.  416  and  614. 

At  "  the  sign  of  the  Castle,"  in  Paternoster-row,  Tarlton,  Queen  Elizabeth's  favourite 
stage-clown,  kept  an  ordinary,  stated  to  have  been  on  the  site  of  Dolly's  chop-house. 
"  The  Castle,"  of  which  a  token  exists,  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  but  was  re- 
built ;  and  here  "  the  Castle  Society  of  Music  "  performed.  The  premises  were  sub- 
sequently the  Oxford  Bible  Warehouse,  destroyed  by  fire  in  1822,  and  rebuilt. 

Warwick-lane  and  Ivy-lane  are  noticed  at  p.  614. 

There  are  likewise  a  Paternoster-row  and  Little  Paternoster-row  in  Spitalfields, 
where  was  formerly  the  Priory  of  St.  Mary  Spittle. 


PENTONVILLE, 

A  DISTRICT  of  St.  James's  parish,  was  originally  a  field  of  the  Clerkenwell 
Nunnery.  It  was  in  part  the  estate  of  Henry  Peuton,  Esq. ;  and  when  the  New- 
road  was  formed  through  it,  White  Conduit  House,  and  the  house  attached  to  Dobney's 
Bowling-green,  were  almost  the  only  buildings  here.  One  of  the  earliest  was  Hermes 
House  (in  Hermes-street),  built  by  Dr.  de  Valangin  (a  pupil  of  Boerhaave),  who  lived 
to  see  Penton's  mile  or  town  rising  around  him.  Here  lived  the  noted  William  Hunt- 
ington, S.S.,  when  he  married  the  widow  of  Sir  James  Sanderson,  Bart.,  ex-Lord 
Mayor.  Upon  the  north  side  of  the  New-road  (Pentonville-hill)  is  St.  James's 
Chapel,  built  1788 :  it  has  a  clever  altar-picture  of  Christ  raising  the  damsel  Tabitha. 
Below  the  Chapel  is  the  London  Female'  Penitentiary,  established  1807.  In  Regent- 
terrace  died  the  popular  sporting  writer,  Pierce  Egan,  in  1849,  at  the  full  age  of  77 : 
and  in  Penton-place  lived  Grimaldi,  "  Old  Joe,"  born  in  Stanhope-street,  Clare-market, 
in  1778,  the  year  preceding  that  in  which  Garrick  died. 

Gerard,  in  his  Serial,  edit.  1633,  describes  certain  kinds  of  orchis  growing  in  dry 
pastures  and  heaths,  and  upon  chalky  hills,  and  "  plentifully  in  sundry  places,  as  in  the 
field  by  Islington,  near  London,  where  there  is  a  bowling-green,  under  a  few  old 
shrubby  oaks."  The  spot  alluded  to  seems  to  have  been  Winchester-place,  now  the 
Pentonville-road.     Thomas  Cooke,  the  notorious  miser,  lived  here. 


PICCADILLY.  669 


PICCADILLY, 

A  LEADING  street,  110  yards  less  than  a  mile  in  length,  extends,  in  a  line  with 
Coventry-street,  from  the  north  end  of  the  Haymarket  westward  to  Hyde  Park 
Corner.  The  name  is  derived  from  the  run's,  called  "  pickadils "  or  "  peccadilloes," 
worn  by  the  gallants  of  James  I.  and  Charles  I. ;  and  the  stiffened  points  of  which  re- 
sembled spear-heads,  or  picardills,  a  diminutive  of  pica,  spear,  Spanish  and  Italian. 
Blount,  in  his  Glossographia  (1656),  interprets  it  as  the  round  hem  about  the  edge  or 
skirt  of  a  garment,  and  a  stiff  collar  or  band  for  the  neck  and  shoulders ;  whence  the 
wooden  peccadilloes  (the  pillory)  in  Hudibras.  Hence  the  first  house  built  in  the  road 
may  have  been  named  "  from  its  being  the  utmost  or  skirt  house  of  the  suburbs  that 
way;"  and  may  not  the  name  have  originated  from  the  pillory  having  been  often  set 
up  in  this  suburb  or  open  ground  ?  Mr.  Peter  Cunningham  took  considerable  pains  to 
unravel  this  question.  Pennant  traces  the  name  to  Piccadillas,  turnovers  or  cakes, 
which  may  have  been  sold  in  the  suburban  fields.  Others  say  it  took  name  from  this  : 
"  that  one  Higgins,  a  tailor,  who  built  it,  got  most  of  his  estate  by  piccadillas."  But 
the  name  occurs  many  years  earlier  than  the  mention  of  the  first  house,  or  Piccadilly 
House :  thus  Gerard,  in  his  Herbal  (1596),  states  that  "  the  small  wild  bu-glosse 
growes  upon  the  drie  ditch-bankes  about  Pickadilla."  The  road  is  referred  to,  in 
Stow's  narrative  of  Sir  Thomas  Wyat's  rebellion  in  1554,  as  "  the  highway  on  the  hill 
over  gainst  St.  James's ;"  and  in  Aggas's  Map  (1560)  it  is  lettered,  "  The  Waye  to 
Redinge."  The  upper  part  of  the  Haymarket,  and  the  fields  adjoining  north  and 
west,  were  the  Pickadilly  of  the  Restoration.  Evelyn  quotes  the  Commissioners' 
orders,  July  13,  1662,  to  pave  "  the  Haymarket  about  Pigudello;"  and  tradesmen's 
tokens  of  this  date  bear  "  Pickadilla  "  and  "  Pickadilly." 

Piccadilly  Hall  appears  to  have  been  built  by  one  Robert  Baker,  "  in  the  fields 
behind  the  Mews,"  leased  to  him  by  St.  Martin's  parish,  and  sold  by  his  widow  to 
Colonel  Panton,  who  built  Panton-square,  and  Panton-street.  Lord  Clarendon,  in  his 
History  of  the  Rebellion,  speaks  of  "  Mr.  Hyde  going  to  a  house  called  Piccadilly  for 
entertainment  and  gaming :"  this  house,  with  its  gravel  walks  and  bowling-greens,  ex- 
tended from  the  corner  of  Windmill-street  and  the  site  of  Panton-square,  as  shown  in 
Porter  and  Faithorne's  Map,  1658.  Mr.  Cunningham  found  (see  Handbook,  2nd  edit, 
p.  396),  in  the  parish  accounts  of  St.  Martin's,  Robte  Backer,  of  Pickadilley  Halle ;" 
and  the  receipts  for  Lammas  money  paid  for  the  premises  as  late  as  1670.  Sir  John 
Suckling,  the  poet,  was  one  of  the  frequenters ;  and  Aubrey  remembered  Suckling's 
"  sisters  coming  to  the  Peccadillo  bowling-green,  crying,  for  the  feare  he  should  lose  all 
their  portions."  The  house  was  taken  down  about  1685  :  a  tennis-court  in  the  rear 
remained  to  our  time,  upon  the  site  of  the  Argyll  Rooms,  Great  Windmill-street.  The 
Society  of  Antiquaries  possess  a  printed  proclamation  (temp.  Charles  II.  1671)  against 
the  increase  of  buildings  in  Windmill-fields  and  the  fields  adjoining  Soho ;  and  in  tho 
Plan  of  1658,  Great  Windmill-street  consists  of  straggling  houses,  and  a  windmill  in  a 
field  on  the  west  side.  The  spacious  house  upon  the  east  side  was  built  for  Dr.  William 
Hunter  in  1770 :  it  had  an  amphitheatre  and  a  magnificent  museum  (see  p.  597).  He 
died  here  March  30,  1783.  At  the  north-east  end  of  the  Haymarket  stood  the 
gaming-house  built  by  the  barber  of  the  Earl  of  Pembroke,  and  hence  called  Shaver's 
Hall :  it  is  described  by  Gerard,  in  a  letter  to  Lord  Strafford  in  1635,  as  "  a  new 
Spring  Gardens,  erected  in  the  fields  beyond  the  Mews :"  its  tennis-court  remained  in 
James-street,  until  1867,  when  it  was  altered  for  another  occupation. 

From  Piccadilly  being  applied  to  the  Hall  and  the  buildings  in  the  fields  north 
and  west  of  the  Haymarket  (in  "  Dogs-fields,  Windmill-fields,  and  the  fields  adjoining 
Soho"),  early  maps  show  the  name  to  have  been  extended  to  the  line  of  street  to 
Swallow-street,  where  begins  Portugal-street,  named  after  Catherine  of  Braganza, 
queen  of  Charles  II. :  in  an  Act  3  James  II.  is  named  "  the  mansion-house  of  the  Earl 
of  Burlington,  fronting  Portugal-street ;"  but  that  it  was  considered  a  subordinate 
street,  is  shown  by  Wren  having  made  the  principal  front  of  St.  James's  Church  face 
Jermyn-street,  with  its  handsome  Ionic  door.  The  name  of  Piccadilly,  however,  be- 
came gradually  extended  to  the   whole  line.     Hatton,  1708,  describes  Piccadilly  as 


670  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

between  Coventry-street  and  the  end  of  the  Haymarket,  and  Portugal-street.  Until 
1721  the  road  was  mostly  unpaved,  and  coaches  were  often  overturned  in  the  hollow. 
The  line  from  Devonshire  House  westward  was,  until  the  year  1740,  chiefly  occupied 
by  the  figure-yards  of  statuaries,  where  also  "  numberless  wretched  figures  were 
manufactured  in  lead  for  gardens."*  About  this  time  an  adjoining  field  was  bought  by 
a  brewer  for  his  empty  butts  at  301.,  and  sold  in  1764.  for  2500Z.  (Malcolm.)  In  1757 
a  tract  of  ground  was  leased  to  James  Hamilton,  Esq.,  who  built  thereon  Hamilton- 
place. 

Hamilton-place  is  called  after  James  Hamilton,  Esq.,  Banger  of  Hyde  Park  in  the  reign  of 
Charles  II.,  and  the  elder  Hamilton  of  De  Grammont's  Memoirs.  No.  1,  in  1813,  was  inhabited  by 
Lady  Catherine  Tylney  Long : — 

"  Long  may  Long  Tylney  Wellesley  Long  Pole  live." 

In  1818,  this  house  passed  to  Lord  Chancellor  Eldon.  No.  4,  in  1814,  passed  to  the  great  Duke  of 
"Wellington,  whose  London  house  it  was  when  the  Battle  of  Waterloo  was  won  by  this  fine  genius  for 
war.  In  this  house,  the  bibliopole,  Mr.  Grenville,  collected  the  fine  Library  bequeathed  by  him  to  the 
British  Museum.  (See  page  584!)  No.  5  was  bought  by  Mr.  Joseph  Denison,  M.P.,  for  10,000  guineas,  and 
presented  to  his  sister,  Marchioness  of  Conyngham,  who  assembled  here  a  fine  collection  of  china;  she 
died  in  1861,  aged  92.  At  No.  7,  Mr.  John  Philip  Miles,  of  Leigh  Court,  made  his  collection  of  pictures  of 
the  Italian  school.  This  same  No.  7  was  afterwards  inhabited  by  the  late  Mr.  H.  A.  J.  Munro,  of  Novar, 
and  the  rooms  refitted  with  another  fine  collection  of  pictures.  Here  were  to  be  seen  the  celebrated 
"  Madonna  dei  Candelabri,"  of  Raffaelle,  some  noble  landscapes  by  Turner,  and  a  View  of  Venice,  by 
Bonington.  No  one  house  that  I  can  call  to  mind,  has  held  two  private  collections  of  pictures  equally 
famous  as  were  once  to  be  seen  at  No.  7. — Peter  Cunningham;  Builder,  March  4, 1865. 

Westward  was  The  Hercules  Pillars,  which,  with  other  noted  Piccadilly  inns,  is 
described  at  p.  455.  In  one  of  these  petty  taverns  at  Hyde  Park  Corner,  Sir  Richard 
Steele  and  the  poet  Savage  dined  together,  after  having  written  a  pamphlet,  which 
Savage  sold  for  two  guineas,  to  enable  them  to  pay  the  reckoning.  Among  the  strag- 
gling houses  here  was  the  school  kept  by  a  Roman  Catholic  convert  named  Deane, 
where  Pope  spent  nearly  two  years  of  his  boyhood ;  and  got  up  a  play  out  of  Homer, 
the  part  of  Ajax  being  performed  by  the  gardener. 

"Towards  Hide  Park"  was  Winstanley's  mathematical  water-theatre,  mentioned 
in  the  Tatler,  No.  74  (Sept.  29,  1709)  :  it  had  a  windmill  at  the  top ;  and  the  quantity 
of  water  used  in  the  exhibition  was  from  200  to  300  tuns,  "  with  which  curious  effects 
produced  by  hydraulic  pressure  were  exhibited  in  the  evening."  Evelyn  speaks  of 
Winstanley,  who  built  the  first  Eddystone  Lighthouse;  and  of  another  mechanical 
genius,  Sir  Samuel  Morland,  who  writes  from  his  "  hut  near  Hyde  Park  Gate." 

Nobth  Side. — Apsley  House,  east  of  Hyde  Park  Gate,  is  described  at  pp.  541-543. 
No.  142,  Lord  Willoughby  de  Eresby's  mansion,  was  sold  in  1866  for  25,250Z.,  crown 
lease,  forty  years  ;  in  the  same  year  its  works  of  art  realized  upwards  of  9000?. 
At  No.  145,  the  Marquis  of  Northampton,  as  President  of  the  Royal  Society,  gave  his 
conversazioni.  No.  147,  the  Baron  Lionel  de  Rothschild's  (see  p.  547),  is  partly  built 
upon  the  site  of  the  mansion  of  William  Beckford,  the  author  of  Vathek.  At 
Nos.  138  and  139,  Piccadilly,  lived  the  Duke  of  Queensbury,  "  Old  Q.,"  the  voluptuous 
millionaire,  who  died  at  the  age  of  eighty-six.  At  No.  138,  in  1865,  was  dispersed 
the  valuable  collection  formed  by  the  late  Earl  of  Cadogan  of  plate ;  Sevres,  Chelsea, 
Dresden,  and  other  porcelain;  antiquities,  and  objects  of  art  and  virtu,  many  of 
historic  interest ;  the  old  silver  plate  brought  from  one  to  three  guineas  per  or,. 

No.  137,  Gloucester  House,  is  described  at  p.  549.  Next  is  Park  Lane,  formerly 
Tyburn-lane.  Twenty  years  since,  or  thereabout,  the  Duke  of  Wellington  was 
walking  up  the  narrow  roadway  of  Park-lane,  when,  opposite  Gloucester  House,  a 
carter  came  along  with  a  country  wagon  and  team  of  horses  :  he  called  to  the  Duke, 
who,  being  very  deaf,  did  not  hear  the  man,  who  had  very  nearly,  with  his  wain, 
thrown  down  and  driven  over  the  hero  of  a  hundred  fights.  Opposite,  in  the  Green 
Park,  was  the  Deputy- Ranger's  Lodge,  built  by  Robert  Adam,  1768,  taken  down, 
1841 ;  the  pair  of  graceful  stags  upon  the  gate-piers,  placed  there  by  Lord  William 
Gordon,  when  Deputy-Ranger,  was  removed  to  the  piers  of  Albert  Gate,  Hyde  Park. 

*  East  of  Hertford  House,  "  near  the  Queen's  Mead  House,  in  Hyde-park-road,"  was  the  leaden 
figure-yard  established  by  John  Van  Nost,  who  came  to  England  with  King  William  III.  _  A  favourite 
garden  figure  was  an  African  kneeling  witli  a  sun-dial  on  his  head,  such  as  we  see  to  this  day  in  the 
garden  of  Clement's  Inn,  and  commonly  said  to  have  been  brought  from  Italy  by  Lord  Clare ! 


PICCADILLY.  671 


At  the  corner  of  Down-street  (leading  to  May  Fair,  see  p.  564),  is  the  mansion  of 
Mrs.  Hope,  described  at  p.  551 ;  and  further  east,  No.  106,  Coventry  Hoitsb 
(see  p.  246),  closed  as  a  club,  March,  1854;  No.  105,  Hertford  House,  p.  550; 
No.  94,  Cambridge  House,  p.  547;  No.  82,  Bath  House,  p.  544;  Devonshire 
House,  p.  548.* 

Mr.  Hope  died  at  his  mansion,  in  Piccadilly.  He  was  the  eldest  son  of  the  wealthy  capitalist  of 
Amsterdam  (the  author  oiAnastasius),  by  Miss  Beresford,  youngest  daughter  of  Lord  Decies,  Archbishop 
of  Tuam,  who  married  secondly  the  late  Marshal  Viscount  Beresford.  He  was  consequently  brother  of 
Mr.  Adrian  Hope,  of  the  banking  firm  at  Amsterdam,  and  of  Mr.  Alexander  Beresford  Hope.  He  sat  in 
Parliament  for  East  Looe  and  Gloucester,  and  was  a  Conservative  in  politics.  His  only  child  married, 
in  1861,  the  Earl  of  Lincoln,  now  Duke  of  Newcastle.  Mr.  Hope  was  one  of  the  earliest  promoters 
of  the  London  and  Westminster  Joint-Stock  Bank ;  and  the  first  Chairman  of  the  Great  Eastern  Steam- 
ship Company. 

Half-moon-street  was  built  in  1730,  and  was  named  from  the  Half-moon  Ale-house 
at  the  corner.  Clarges-street  was  built  1717-18,  and  named  from  Sir  Walter  Clarges. 
At  the  south-west  corner  is  the  mansion  of  the  Duke  of  Grafton,  designed  by  Sir 
Kobert  Taylor  :  here  is  the  magnificent  Louvre  portrait  of  Charles  I.  on  his  horse,  by 
Vandyke.  At  No.  12,  Clarges-street,  lived  for  eight  years  Edmund  Kean,  the  tragedian, 
who  kept  in  the  house  a  tame  puma.  Next  door,  at  No.  11,  lived  Lady  Hamilton  at 
the  time  of  Lord  Nelson's  death.f  Bolton-street  was  in  1708  "the  most  westerly 
street  in  London,  between  the  road  to  Knightsbridge  south,  and  the  fields  north" 
(Hatton).  Here  lived  the  Earl  of  Peterborough,  who,  in  his  autobiography  (for- 
tunately never  printed),  confesses  having  committed  three  capital  crimes  before  he  was 
twenty  years  of  age. 

No.  80,  Piccadilly,  was  the  house  from  which  Sir  Francis  Burdett  was  taken  into 
custody,  April  6,  1810,  by  the  Serjeant-at-Arms,  after  a  resistance  of  four  days: 

"  The  lady  she  sate  and  she  played  on  her  lute, 

And  she  sung, '  Will  you  come  to  the  bower?' 
The  serjeant-at-arms  had  stood  hitherto  mute, 
And  now  he  advanced,  like  an  impudent  brute, 

And  said, '  Will  you  come  to  the  Tower?'  '* 

In  the  riot  which  ensued,  the  Life  Guards  charged  the  mob,  whence  they  got  the  flash 
sobriquet  "  Piccadilly  Butchers." 

Stratton-street  was  named  from  the  Stratton  line  of  the  Berkeleys,  on  whose  estate 
it  was  bnilt.  No.  1  was  the  mansion  of  Mrs.  Coutts,  the  widow  of  the  rich  banker, 
and  afterwards  Duchess  of  St.  Albans,  "  who  brought  back  the  dukedom  to  the  point 
from  which  it  set  out — the  stage "  (Leigh  Hunt).  By  her  grace  the  mansion  was 
bequeathed,  with  the  greater  portion  of  her  immense  wealth,  to  Miss  Angela  Burdett 
Coutts,  youngest  daughter  of  Sir  Francis  Burdett,  Bart. 

Berkeley-street,  built  in  1642,  and  then  the  extremity  of  Piccadilly,  was  named  from 
Berkeley  House,  on  the  site  of  Devonshire  House.  Dover-street  was  built  about  1688, 
upon  the  estate  of  Henry  Jermyn,  Lord  Dover,  who  resided  on  the  east  side ;  as  did 
John  Evelyn,  who  had  been  "  oftentimes  so  cheerful,  and  sometimes  so  sad,  with 
Chancellor  Hyde  "  on  that  very  ground.  On  the  west  side  lived  Dr.  John  Arbuthnot, 
physician  to  Queen  Anne,  "  Martinus  Scriblerus,"  and  the  friend  of  Pope,  Swift,  Gay, 
and  Prior.  No.  37,  sculptured  with  a  mitre,  is  the  town-house  of  the  Bishop  of  Ely. 
At  No?  38  lived  Lord  King,  who  wrote  a  life  of  his  profound  kinsman,  John  Locke ; 
published  1829.  Albemarle-street  was  built  by  Sir  Thomas  Bond,  of  Peckham,  on 
part  of  the  site  of  Clarendon  House.  In  1708  it  was  "  a  street  of  excellent  new 
buildings,  inhabited  by  persons  of  quality,  between  the  fields  and  Portugal-street." 

"The  earliest  date  now  to  be  found  upon  the  site  of  Clarendon  House  is  cut  in  stone,  and  let  into 
the  south  wall  of  a  public-house,  the  sign  of  The  Duke  of  Albemarle  in  Dover-street,  thus :  *  This  is 

*  The  ticket  of  admission  to  the  performances  of  the  Build  of  Literature  and  Art  (first  given  at 
Devonshire  House,  1851),  was  designed  by  E.  M.  Ward,  A.R.A.  On  the  left  is  Richard  Wilson,  the 
painter,  with  a  picture  under  his  arm,  entering  a  pawnbroker's  shop.  On  the  right  is  Daniel  Defoe 
coming  out  of  Edmund  Curll's  shop,  with  the  manuscript  of  Bobinton  Crusoe  in  his  hand :  his  wife  is 
inquiring  as  to  his  success  in  selling  the  manuscript,  and  her  little  girl  is  standing  in  front.  In  the 
centre  foreground  are  grouped  a  palette,  brushes,  and  books ;  and  at  the  top  is  a  kneeling  child  smelling 
a  rose,  and  another  pouring  water  into  a  rose-bud. 

t  In  1853  were  added  to  the  MSS.  in  the  British  Museum  63  autograph  letters  of  Lord  Nelson, 
addressed  to  Lady  Hamilton,  from  1798  to  1305 ;  including  the  last  letter  Nelson  ever  wrote,  found  in 
his  cabin,  after  the  battle  of  Trafalgar,  October  21st,  1805. 


672  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Stafford-street,  1686.'    In  a  plan  of  London  etched  by  Hollar,  in  1686,  it  is  evident  that  the  centre  of 
Clarendon  House  must  have  occupied  the  whole  of  the  site  of  Stafford-street." — Smith's  Streets. 

Clarendon  Souse  was  commenced  by  Lord  Chancellor  Clarendon  in  1664,  "  encou- 
raged thereto  by  the  royal  grant  of  land,  by  the  opportunity  of  purchasing  the  stones 
which  had  been  designed  for  the  repairs  of  St.  Paul's,  and  by  that  passion  for  building 
to  which  he  was  naturally  too  much  inclined."  (Evelyn.)  About  the  same  time, 
Lord  Berkeley  began  to  build  Berkeley  House  on  the  west;  and  Sir  John  Denham, 
Burlington  House  on  the  east.  During  the  war  and  the  plague  year,  Clarendon 
employed  about  300  workmen,  which  raised  a  great  outcry  against  him :  "  some  called 
it  '  Dunkirk  House,'  intimating  that  it  was  built  by  his  share  of  the  price  of  Dunkirk : 
others  called  it  '  Holland  House,'  because  he  was  believed  to  be  no  friend  to  the  war ; 
so  it  was  given  out  that  he  had  the  money  from  the  Dutch.  It  was  visible  that  in  a 
time  of  public  calamity  he  was  building  a  very  noble  palace."  (Burnet.)  Pepys 
records  that  some  rude  people,  in  1667,  "  had  been  at  my  Lord  Chancellor's,  where 
they  cut  down  the  trees  before  his  house  and  broke  his  windows ;  and  a  gibbet  either 
set  up  before  or  painted  upon  his  gate,  and  these  words  writ :  '  Three  sights  to  be 
seen — Dunkirk,  Tangier,  and  a  barren  queen.' "  He  was  lampooned  also  in  one  of  the 
State  Poems,  entitled  "  Clarendon's  House-warming."  The  day  before  his  lordship's 
flight,  Evelyn  "  found  him  in  his  garden  at  his  new-built  palace,  sitting  in  his  gowt 
wheele-chayre,  and  seeing  the  gates  setting  up  towards  the  north  and  the  fields.  He 
looked  and  spake  very  disconsolately.  Next  morning  I  heard  he  was  gone."  Evelyn, 
dining  at  Clarendon  House  with  the  Lord  Chancellor's  eldest  son,  Lord  Cornbury, 
after  his  father's  flight,  describes  the  mansion  as  "  now  bravely  furnished,  especially 
with  the  pictures  of  most  of  our  English  and  modern  wits,  poets,  philosophers,  famous 
and  learned  Englishmen ;"  most  of  these  pictures  have  been  brought  from  Cornbury, 
a  seat  of  the  Earls  of  Clarendon,  Oxon,  to  the  Grove,  Watford,  Herts. 

Clarendon  House  was  subsequently  let  to  the  great  Duke  of  Ormond.  After  Lord 
Clarendon's  death  in  exile,  it  was  sold,  in  1675,  for  26,000Z.  to  the  young  Duke  of 
Albemarle,  who  soon  parted  with  it  to  Sir  Thomas  Bond,  by  whom  the  mansion  was 
taken  down,  and  Bond-street  and  Albemarle-buildings  (now  street)  and  Stafford-street 
were  built  upon  the  site.  A  map  in  the  Crowle  Pennant  shows  the  entrance-gate  to 
the  court-yard  to  have  been  in  Piccadilly,  directly  opposite  St.  James' s-street ;  and  the 
grounds  to  have  extended  to  the  site  of  Bruton-street.  Two  Corinthian  pilasters, 
long  preserved,  at  the  Three  Kings'  Inn  gateway,  No.  75,  in  Piccadilly,  are  believed  to 
have  belonged  to  Clarendon  House ;  the  name  is  preserved  in  the  Clarendon  Hotel, 
built  upon  a  portion  of  the  gardens  between  Albemarle  and  Bond-streets. 

"  All  the  waste  ground  at  the  upper  end  of  Albemarle  and  Dover-streets  is  purchased  by  the  Duke 
of  Grafton  and  the  Earl  of  Grantham,  for  gardening ;  and  the  road  there  leading  to  May  Fair  is  ordered 
to  be  turned." — The  British  Journal,  March  30, 1723.  (This  purchase  is  commemorated  in  Grqfton- 
street.) 

In  Albemarle-street,  at  an  apothecary's,  lodged  Dr.  Berkeley  when  he  was  made 
Dean  of  Derry.  Richard  Glover,  the  merchant-poet,  who  wrote  "  Leonidas "  and 
"Admiral  Hosier's  Ghost,"  died  here  in  1785.  On  the  east  side  is  the  Moyal 
Institution ;  the  columnar  facade  by  L.  Vulliamy,  1838,  adapted  from  the  remains  of 
Mars  Ultor  and  Jupiter  Stator,  and  the  Pantheon  at  Rome.  No.  23  is  the  Alfred 
Club-house  (see  p.  240).  At  No.  50,  since  1812,  have  lived  John  Murray,  father 
and  son,  publishers  j  the  former,  "  the  friend  and  publisher  of  Lord  Byron,"  died 
1813.  Opposite  is  Grillion's  Hotel,  where  Louis  XVIII.  sojourned  in  1814 :  here  and 
at  the  Clarendon  were  held  the  Roxburghe  Club  Dinners. 

Bond-street  was  commenced  in  1686  by  Sir  Thomas  Bond,  Bart.,  Comptroller  of 
the  Household  to  Queen  Henrietta-Maria.  "  Bond-street  loungers,  who  pass  from 
2  till  5  o'clock,"  are  mentioned  in  the  Weekly  Journal,  June  1,  1717.  At  No.  41, 
"at  the  Silk-Bag  Shop,"  died,  March  18,  1768,  Laurence  Sterne,  broken-hearted, 
neglected,  and  in  debt :  some  of  the  most  touching  scenes  in  Tom  Jones  are  laid  at 
Mr.  Allworthy's  lodgings  in  Bond-street.  Here  lodged  James  Boswell  when  he  gave  a 
dinner  to  Johnson,  Goldsmith,  Reynolds,  and  Garrick.  No.  27  was  the  library  of  Ebers, 
who  in  seven  years  lost  44,080?.  by  the  Italian  Opera-house,  Haymarket.  No.  10  has 
a  large  billiard-room,  painted  1850  in  encaustic  by  E.  P.  Lambert,  with  panels  bordered 
with  arabesques ;  the  principal  subjects  being  Bacchus  and  Ariadne,  Hebe,  "  Willie 


PICCADILLY. 


673 


brew'd  a  peck  o'  inaut,"  "  Let  me  the  cannikin  clink,"  and  the  "  Wassail  bowl."  The 
tasteful  house-front,  No.  21,  was  designed  by  the  Inwoods,  architects  of  St.  Pancras* 
Church,  Euston-road. 

In  1766,  the  mansion,  now  the  Clarendon  Hotel,  was  let  by  the  Duke  of  Grafton  to  Mr.  Pitt  (Earl  of 
Chatham),  for  his  town  house.  M.  Grillion,  proprietor  of  the  Clarendon  Hotel,  was  once  rather  unex- 
pectedly honoured  by  the  visit  of  two  guests,  the  French  ex-Queen  Amelie  and  Prince  Napoleon  Jerome. 
To  eacli  the  presence  of  the  other  was  made  known,  but  the  ex-Queen  acknowledged  the  right  of  the 
Pr>-  U,  "~w  ;«  :he  hotel.  The  Prince,  like  a  gentleman,  offered  to  withdraw  if  his  presence  gave  the 
venerable  lady  any  displeasure;  but  the  ex-Queen  would  not  hear  of  his  being  put  to  any  inconvenience. 
The  delicacy  and  courtesy  of  M.  Grillion  were  taxed,  but  stood  the  test.  The  Clarendon  has  more  issues 
than  one,  and  the  worthy  host  contrived  that  the  two  illustrious  personages  should  never  find  them- 
selves on  the  same  staircase. — Athenceum,  Ho,  2001. 

Burlington  Gardens,  originally  "  Ten- Acres  Fields,"  extended  from  Bond-street  to 
Uxbeidge  House,  noticed  at  p.  557:  here  died,  April  29, 


iticulous  correspondent  renimua 
.t  there  is  no  such  institution  in 
l  as  "  The  Albany."    Zvlr.  G.  S. 

in  his  "  Ghosts  of  Piccadilly," 
)wn  clearly  the  curious  status  of 
amous  building.  "  Not  '  The 
'";  the  definite  article,  though 
universal,  was  not  used  by  the 
I  tenants  of  the  cbjfnbers,  and  it 
2s  a  writer  wlifc  jbossips  about 
o  respect  their  ■nflbm." 
i  Mr.  Stragt  is  ijlt  quite  accurate, 
'he  AlbEV^I 
^akas  heSugges 

w\  b9*"f0und 
a  of 
liar 

of  whom  Mr 
ly,  we  may 
s  further  ^.h 

were  oriAn 
e,  one  of 
)liopbile,  L 
id  library 


Anglesey,  K.G.,  aged  86.  In  Cork-street  the 
Marshal  Wade  a  house  with  a  beautiful  front,  ill- 
i  by  Rubens,  but  in  vain  :  Lord  Chesterfield  said 
;ld  not  live  in  it,  but  intended  to  take  the  house 
le).  At  the  south-east  corner  of  Grafton-street 
rt,  who  published  so  many  pretty  picture-books 
d-street  was  the  Clifford-street  Club  (see  p.  245). 
an  open  field  called  Conduit-mead  (now  street), 
which  were  found  in  1867,  in  excavating  large 
Jos.  34  and  35,  New  Bond-street :  these  cellars 
re,  and  will  contain  upwards  of  half  a  million 
elson  lodged  in  1797.  At  No.  21  was  exhibited, 
y  Haydon  for  Sir  Robert  Peel,  and  upon  which 
let. 

3t,  are  the  Burlington  Aecade  (see  p.  20),  and 

o.  52,  adjoining,  are  the  Albany  Chambers,  let  in 

ere  the    :Cj  designed  by  Sir  William  Cnambers,  was  sold 

rites.  Inci-    st  Viscount  Melbourne,  who  exchanged  it  with 

the  ante-     Dover,  House,  Whitehall.     In  1804  the  mansion 

rjjfe  House.   ]j  and  first  let  in  chambers,  named  Albany  from 

ouses  on        The  ceilings  of  the  mansion  were  painted  for 

upied  by  ey,  and  Rebecca.     In  chambers  here  have  lived 

and,  whose  iSj  Lord  Byron,  Lord  Lytton,  Lord  Macaulay, 

site  were  originally  the  houses  of  the  Earl  of 


y  no  means  as 
in  these  days, 
the  modern 
hambers  therrf'afce  quite  as 
this  resist 


to  Blen- 


H\ 


Stephen  Fox,  brother  of  Charles.  dy  stanhope,  with  large  gardens, 

;here  too,  sold  it  to  the  first  Lord  et  in  London  without  a  turning :  at  the  corner 

urne,  and     by  Melbourne  it  was  rcn>  died  Sir  William  Petty,  the  earliest  writer 

t.  England,  and  ancestor  of  the  Lansdowne  family  : 

a  letter  from  Sir  William  Tetty  to  Pepys  is  dated  Piccadilly,  September,  1687.     The 

Dilettanti  Club  met  at  The  Prince,  in  this  street,  in  1783. 

Swallow-street  is  named  from  "  Swallow  Close,"  part  of  the  crown  lands  granted  to 
Lord  Chancellor  Clarendon :  here  was  the  oldest  Scottish  Presbyterian  church  in  the 
metropolis,  and  rebuilt  (see  p.  222).  a  Swallow-street  originally  extended  northward  to 
Tyburn-road,  from  the  centre  of  the  present  Regent-street.  St.  James's  Hall  is 
described  at  pp.  426-427.     Ayr  or  Air-street  was  in  1659  the  most  westerly  street. 

South  Side. — Hyde  Park  Corner  turnpike-gate  was  removed  in  1825.  The  long 
dead  wall  of  the  Park  (now  open  railing)  was  hung  with  ballads ;  here  robberies  after 
dark  were  frequent. 

Arlington-street,  "a  very  graceful  and  pleasant  street"  (Ration,  1708),  was  built 
upon  the  property  of  Henry  Bennet,  Earl  of  Arlington,  about  1689:  hence,  also, 
JBennet-street.  In  Arlington-street  lived  the  Duchess  of  Cleveland,  after  the  death  of 
Charles  II.;  Lady  Mary  Wortley  Montague,  before  her  marriage;  William  Pulteney, 
Earl  of  Bath,  on  the  west  side,  next  door  to  Sir  Robert  Walpole,  where  was  born 
Horace  Walpole,  who  wrote  in  1768,  "From  my  earliest  memory,  Arlington-street 
has  been  the  ministerial  street ;"  in  1750  he  records  a  highwayman  attacking  a  post- 
chaise  in  Piccadilly,  at  11  o'clock  on  a  Sunday  night,  and  escaping.     Upon  the  site 

X  X 


672  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Stafford-street,  1686.'    In  a  plan  of  London  etched  by  Hollar,  in  1686,  it  is  evident  that  the  centre  of 
Clarendon  House  must  have  occupied  the  whole  of  the  site  of  Stafford-street."— Smith's  Streets, 

Clarendon  Souse  was  commenced  by  Lord  Chancellor  Clarendon  in  1664,  "  encou- 
raged thereto  by  the  royal  grant  of  land,  by  the  opportunity  of  purchasing  the  stones 
which  had  been  designed  for  the  repairs  of  St.  Paul's,  and  by  that  passion  for  building 
to  which  he  was  naturally  too  much  inclined."     (Evelyn.)     About  the  same  time, 
Lord  Berkeley  began  to  build  Berkeley  House  on  the  west ;  and  Sir  John  Denham, 
Burlington  House  on  the  east.     During  the  war  and   the  plague  year,  Clarendon 
employed  about  300  workmen,  which  raised  a  great  outcry  against  him :  "  some  called 
it  '  Dunkirk  House,'  intimating  that  it  was  built  by  his  share  of  the  price  of  Dunkirk : 
others  called  it  '  Holland  House,'  because  he  was  believed  to  be  no  friend  to  the  war ; 
so  it  was  given  out  that  he  had  the  money  from  the  Dutch.     It  was  visible  that  in  a 
time  of  public  calamity  he  was  building  a  very  noble  palace  "•   -fiTe  return   of  the  In? B 
records  that  some  rude  people,  in  1667,  "had  been  at  my  Loi  thenfoil°r  *Jlt  w        hiding* 
they  cut  down  the  trees  before  bis  house  and  broke  his  windows  previous  stateine! 
set  up  before  or  painted  upon  his  gate,  and  these  words  writ 

seen — Dunkirk,  Tangier,  and  a  barren  queen.' "     He  was  lampc  / 

State  Poems,  entitled  "Clarendon's  House-warming."     The  da    TotaJ  Gold  and  Bullior 

flight,  Evelyn  "found  him  in  his  garden  at  his  new-built  pal       Of     tfrh"'i 

wheele-chayre,  and  seeing  the  gates  setting  up  towards  the  noi  in  Bank  of  ISiM^i 

looked  and  spake  very  disconsolately.     Next  morning  I  heard  1       ^f_afurv   and    Darlebus- 

dining  at  Clarendon  House  with  the  Lord  Chancellor's  eldes   Nates  of  Othfe*  B. 

after  his  father's  flight,  describes  the  mansion  as  "now  brave  ^il.Vj  °t  Exchange" and 

with  the  pictures  of  most  of  our  English  and  modern  wits,  poe  Discount     j"t  '" 

and  learned  Englishmen;"  most  of  these  pictures  have  been  1      Bills  Ty«?*q  - 

a  seat  of  the  Earls  of  Clarendon,  Oxon,  to  the  Grove,  Watford,   felr^tmeftt* '•••*•'••••"•*< 

Clarendon  House  was  subsequently  let  to  the  great  Duke  ol  Other  Assets    1 

Clarendon's  death  in  exile,  it  was  sold,  in  1675,  for  26,000Z.  ^ital     V.'.*.::.";, 

Albemarle,  who  soon  parted  with  it  to  Sir  Thomas  Bond,  by  Notes    in    C' Y"r 

taken  down,  and  Bond-street  and  Albemarle-buildings  (now  sP,  State  Deposits 

were  built  upon  the  site.     A  map  in  the  Crowle  Pennant  sho  Other  J  '  *rnvs**8    ' 

the  court-yard  to  have  been  in  Piccadilly,  directly  opposite  St.      Clearing     Hotfse    Met    S 

grounds  to  have  extended  to  the  site  of  Bruton-street.     T  fa*^*?  „3^^55,fi84,   against  M 

long  preserved,  at  the  Three  Kings'  Inn  gateway,  No.  75,  in  P  er- 

have  belonged  to  Clarendon  House  ;  the  name  is  preserved  i 

built  upon  a  portion  of  the  gardens  between  Albemarle  and  Be  OIL     XKM'S 

"  All  the  waste  ground  at  the  upper  end  of  Albemarle  and  Dover-stre      ,. . 
of  Grafton  and  the  Earl  of  Grantham,  for  gardening ;  and  the  road  there  1  rn-A y-X '  [E  D       B  RITTSH       Of  T 
to  be  turned."— The  British  Journal,  March  30, 1723.    (This  purchase  \\±*\ hV  *?AD.— Combined  nrni„ 
street.)  **zF(&lW}DTr>r!!% 

In  Albemarle-street,  at  an  apothecary's,  lodged  Dr.  BerlfiTude  oil  f»r  m~Jiu  ; 
Dean  of  Derry.  Richard  Glover,  the  merchant-poet,  who  wrote  "  Leonidas "  and 
"Admiral  Hosier's  Ghost,"  died  here  in  1785.  On  the  east  side  is  the  Royal 
Institution ;  the  columnar  facade  by  L.  Vulliamy,  1838,  adapted  from  the  remains  of 
Mars  Ultor  and  Jupiter  Stator,  and  the  Pantheon  at  Borne.  No.  23  is  the  Aifeed 
Club-house  (see  p.  240).  At  No.  50,  since  1812,  have  lived  John  Murray,  father 
and  son,  publishers;  the  former,  "the  friend  and  publisher  of  Lord  Byron,"  died 
1843.  Opposite  is  Grillion's  Hotel,  where  Louis  XVIII.  sojourned  in  1814 :  here  and 
at  the  Clarendon  were  held  the  Roxburghe  Club  Dinners. 

Bond-street  was  commenced  in  1686  by  Sir  Thomas  Bond,  Bart.,  Comptroller  of 
the  Household  to  Queen  Henrietta-Maria.  "  Bond-street  loungers,  who  pass  from 
2  till  5  o'clock,"  are  mentioned  in  the  Weekly  Journal,  June  1,  1717.  At  No.  41, 
"at  the  Silk-Bag  Shop,"  died,  March  18,  1768,  Laurence  Sterne,  broken-hearted, 
neglected,  and  in  debt :  some  of  the  most  touching  scenes  in  Tom  Jones  are  laid  at 
Mr.  Allworthy's  lodgings  in  Bond-street.  Here  lodged  James  Boswell  when  he  gave  a 
dinner  to  Johnson,  Goldsmith,  Reynolds,  and  Garrick.  No.  27  was  the  library  of  Ebers, 
who  in  seven  years  lost  44,080Z.  by  the  Italian  Opera-house,  Haymarket.  No.  10  has 
a  large  billiard-room,  painted  1850  in  encaustic  by  E.  F.  Lambert,  with  panels  bordered 
with  arabesques;  the  principal  subjects  being  Bacchus  and  Ariadne,  Hebe,  "Willie 


PICCADILLY.  673 

brew'd  a  peck  o'  rnaut,"  "  Let  me  the  cannikin  clink,"  and  the  "  Wassail  bowl."  The 
tasteful  house-front,  No.  21,  was  designed  by  the  Inwoods,  architects  of  St.  Pancras' 
Church,  Euston-road. 

In  1766,  the  mansion,  now  the  Clarendon  Hotel,  was  let  by  the  Duke  of  Grafton  to  Mr.  Pitt  (Earl  of 
Chatham),  for  his  town  house.  M.  Grillion,  proprietor  of  the  Clarendon  Hotel,  was  once  rather  unex- 
pectedly honoured  by  the  visit  of  two  guests,  the  French  ex-Queen  Amelie  and  Prince  Napoleon  Jerome. 
To  each  the  n^sence  of  the  other  was  made  known,  but  the  ex -Queen  acknowledged  the  right  of  the 
P"*—©  to  De  in  the  hotel.  The  Prince,  like  a  gentleman,  offered  to  withdraw  if  his  presence  gave  the 
venerable  lady  any  displeasure;  but  the  ex-Queen  would  not  hear  of  his  being  put  to  any  inconvenience. 
The  delicacy  and  courtesy  of  M.  Grillion  were  taxed,  but  stood  the  test.  The  Clarendon  has  more  issues 
than  one,  and  the  worthy  host  contrived  that  the  two  illustrious  personages  should  never  find  them- 
selves on  the  same  staircase. — Atheiueum,  Xo.  2001. 

Burlington  Gardens,  originally  "  Ten- Acres  Fields,"  extended  from  Bond-street  to 
Swallow-street :  here  is  Uxbridge  House,  noticed  at  p.  557 :  here  died,  April  29, 
1854,  Field-Marshal  the  Marquis  of  Anglesey,  K.G.,  aged  86.  In  Cork-street  the 
Earl  of  Burlington  designed  for  Field-Marshal  Wade  a  house  with  a  beautiful  front,  ill- 
contrived  inside  to  suit  a  large  cartoon  by  Rubens,  but  in  vain  :  Lord  Chesterfield  said 
that  "  to  be  sure  he  (the  Marshal)  could  not  live  in  it,  but  intended  to  take  the  house 
over  against  it,  to  look  at  it "  ( Walpole).  At  the  south-east  corner  of  Grafton-street 
was  the  book-shop  of  Benjamin  Tabart,  who  published  so  many  pretty  picture-books 
for  children.     At  the  corner  of  Clifford-street  was  the  Clifford-street  Club  (see  p.  245). 

New  Bond-street  site  was  in  1700  an  open  field  called  Conduit-mead  (now  street), 
from  the  Conduit  there,  remains  of  which  were  found  in  1867,  in  excavating  large 
wine-cellars  for  Mr.  Basil  Woodd,  at  Nos.  34  and  35,  New  Bond-street :  these  cellars 
cover  more  than  one-third  of  an  acre,  and  will  contain  upwards  of  half  a  million 
bottles  of  wine.  At  No.  141,  Lord  Nelson  lodged  in  1797.  At  No.  21  was  exhibited, 
"  Napoleon  at  St.  Helena,"  painted  by  Haydon  for  Sir  Robert  Peel,  and  upon  which 
Wordsworth  wrote  his  memorable  sonnet. 

In  Piccadilly,  east  of  Old  Bond-street,  are  the  Burlington  Arcade  (see  p.  20),  and 
Burlington  House  (see  p.  545).  No.  52,  adjoining,  are  the  Albany  Chambers,  let  in 
suites  to  single  gentlemen.  The  centre,  designed  by  Sir  William  Chambers,  was  sold 
in  1770,  by  Lord  Holland,  to  the  first  Viscount  Melbourne,  who  exchanged  it  with 
the  Duke  of  York  for  Melbourne,  now  Dover,  House,  Whitehall.  In  1804  the  mansion 
in  Piccadilly  was  altered  and  enlarged,  and  first  let  in  chambers,  named  Albany  from 
the  second  title  of  the  Duke  of  York.  The  ceilings  of  the  mansion  were  painted  for 
Lord  Melbourne  by  Cipriani,  Wheatley,  and  Rebecca.  In  chambers  here  have  lived 
George  Canning,  M.  G.  (Monk)  Lewis,  Lord  Byron,  Lord  Lytton,  Lord  Macaulay, 
and  Lord  John  Manners.  Upon  the  site  were  originally  the  houses  of  the  Earl  of 
Sunderland,  Sir  John  Clarges,  and  Lady  Stanhope,  with  large  gardens. 

Sackville-street  is  the  longest  street  in  London  without  a  turning :  at  the  corner 
house,  east,  opposite  St.  James's  Church,  died  Sir  William  Petty,  the  earliest  writer 
on  the  science  of  political  economy  in  England,  and  ancestor  of  the  Lansdowne  family  : 
a  letter  from  Sir  William  Petty  to  Pepys  is  dated  Piccadilly,  September,  1687.  The 
Dilettanti  Club  met  at  The  Prince,  in  this  street,  in  1783. 

Swallow-street  is  named  from  "  Swallow  Close,"  part  of  the  crown  lands  granted  to 
Lord  Chancellor  Clarendon :  here  was  the  oldest  Scottish  Presbyterian  church  in  the 
metropolis,  and  rebuilt  (see  p.  222).  i  Swallow-street  originally  extended  northward  to 
Tyburn-road,  from  the  centre  of  the  present  Regent-street.  St.  James's  Hall  is 
described  at  pp.  426-427.     Ayr  or  Air-street  was  in  1659  the  most  westerly  street. 

South  Side. — Hyde  Park  Corner  turnpike-gate  was  removed  in  1825.  The  long 
dead  wall  of  the  Park  (now  open  railing)  was  hung  with  ballads ;  here  robberies  after 
dark  were  frequent. 

Arlington-street,  "a  very  graceful  and  pleasant  street"  (Ratton,  1708),  was  built 
upon  the  property  of  Henry  Bennet,  Earl  of  Arlington,  about  1689:  hence,  also, 
Bennet-street.  In  Arlington-street  lived  the  Duchess  of  Cleveland,  after  the  death  of 
Charles  II.;  Lady  Mary  Wortley  Montague,  before  her  marriage;  William  Pulteney, 
Earl  of  Bath,  on  the  west  side,  next  door  to  Sir  Robert  Walpole,  where  was  born 
Horace  Walpole,  who  wrote  in  1768,  "From  my  earliest  memory,  Arlington-street 
has  been  the  ministerial  street ;"  in  1750  he  records  a  highwayman  attacking  a  post- 
chaise  in  Piccadilly,  at  11  o'clock  on  a  Sunday  night,  and  escaping.     Upon  the  site 

X  X 


Ih 


674  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  Walpole's  house  Kent  built  No.  17,  for  Pelham  the  Minister,  the  house  now  the 
Earl  of  Yarborough's.  Lord  Nelson  lodged  in  this  street  in  1800-1,  when  Lady 
Nelson  separated  from  him.  At  No.  16  (the  Duke  of  Rutland's),  the  Duke  of  York, 
second  son  of  George  III.,  lay  sick,  from  August  26,  1826,  to  his  death,  Jan.  5,  1827, 
as  touchingly  narrated  by  Sir  Herbert  Taylor.  No.  26,  Beaufort  House,  was  in 
1854  sold  to  the  Duke  of  Hamilton.  The  houses  on  the  west  side  of  the  street  com- 
mand a  charming  view  of  the  Green  Park. 

St.  James's-street,  Bury-street,  Jermyn-street,  King-street,  and  St.  James' s-place, 
are  described  at  pp.  480-483. 

No.  160,  Piccadilly,  is  the  entrance  to  the  Wellington  Dining -House  (formerly  Crock- 
ford's  Club).     The  Egyptian  Hale  is  described  at  p.  319. 

At  No.  169,  Wright,  the  publisher  of  the  Anti-Jacobin,  kept  shop,  which  was  the 
resort  of  the  friends  of  the  Ministry,  as  Debrett's  was  of  the  Opposition.  In  a  first- 
floor  met  the  editors  of  the  Anti-Jacobin,  including  Canning,  Frere,  and  Pitt ;  with 
Gifford  as  working  editor,  and  Upcott  (Wright's  assistant)  as  amanuensis.  (See  Notes 
and  Queries ;  and  Poetry  of  the  Anti-Jacobin,  new  edition,  1854.)  In  Wright's  shop, 
Peter  Pindar  (Wolcot)  was  castigated  by  Gifford.  No.  177  was  the  shop  of  William 
Pickering,  the  eminent  publisher,  whose  title-pages  bear  the  Aldine  anchor:  his 
valuable  stock  of  old  books,  rare  works  on  angling,  modern  copyrights  and  reprints, 
was  dispersed  in  1854.  No.  182  (Fortnura  and  Mason's)  is  designed  from  a  mansion 
at  Padua,  renovated  and  altered.  The  Museum  of  Practical  Geology  is  described 
at  p.  595.  In  the  Inventory  of  Rich's  Theatrical  Properties  (Tatler,  July  16,  1709) 
is  "  Aurungzebe's  scymitar,  made  by  Will.  Brown  in  Piccadilly."  Megent  Circus  (see 
Regent- street). 

No.  201,  Piccadilly,  is  the  St.  James's  Gallery  of  Art,  where  is  exhibited  a  most  remarkable  collec- 
tion of  pictures  principally  in  Water-Colours,  painted  by  E.  Facon  Watson,  from  nature;  mostly  scenes 
of  rural  life,  one  hundred  in  number :  they  unite  solidity  with  brilliancy  of  colour,  and  are  distinguished 
by  the  most  elaborate  care  and  delicacy  of  manipulation ;  the  foliage,  flowers,  and  grasses  (especially 
the  ferns),  are  of  microscopic  accuracy,  and  the  atmosphere  of  remarkable  transparency  and  charac- 
teristic beauty.  Many  of  them  are  executed  in  a  new  style  in  the  practice  of  the  art,  which  is  the  artist's 
secret."  They  were  painted  in  the  leisure  of  a  life-time,  and  are  unquestionably  exquisite  works  of  art. 

St.  James's  Chuech  is  described  at  p.  169 :  in  1867  the  interior  was  renovated  and 

altered  according  to  Wren's  original  intention :  it  has  two  large  sunlights  in  the  ceiling. 

Nollekens,  the  sculptor,  when  a  boy,  with  Scheemakers,  the  sculptor,  in  Vine-street,  "  had  an  idle 
propensity  for  bell-tolling,  and  in  that  art,  for  which  many  allowed  him  to  have  a  superior  talent,  he 
would  frequently  indulge  by  running  down  George-court  to  St.  James's  Church,  to  know  how  funerals 
went  on.  Whenever  his  master  missed  him,  and  the  dead-bell  was  tolling,  he  knew  perfectly  well  what 
Joey  was  at." — Smith's  Life  of  NoUekens. 

PICTURE  GALLERIES  (PUBLIC). 

NATIONAL  GALLERY  (The),  on  the  north  side  of  Trafalgar-square,  was  built 
between  1832  and  1838,  from  the  design  of  Professor  Wilkins,  R.A.,  and  was 
his  latest  work.  Its  length  is  461  feet,  and  the  greatest  width  56  feet ;  and  it  is 
built  partly  with  the  materials  of  the  King's  Mews,  the  site  of  which  it  occupies.  The 
best  feature  is  the  centre,  the  Corinthian  columns  of  which  are  from  the  portico  of 
Carlton  House,  and  are  adapted  from  the  Temple  of  Jupiter  Stator  at  Rome.*  This 
portico  has  interior  columns,  the  only  example  in  the  metropolis ;  and  the  view  com- 
mands the  broad  vista  of  Parliament-street  and  Whitehall,  and  the  picturesque  towers 
of  the  Palace  at  Westminster.  But  the  Gallery  central  dome  is  ill-proportioned  and 
puny;  and  the  corresponding  cupolas  upon  the  wings  are  poor  imitations  of  Vanbrugh's 
embellishment  of  private  mansions.  Through  the  eastern  wing  is  a  thoroughfare  to 
Duke's-court,  claimed  by  the  inhabitants  as  a  right  of  way  long  enjoyed  by  them 
through  the  King's  Mews.  The  vestibule  is  divided,  by  screens  of  scagliola  columns 
(with  scenic  effect),  into  two  halls ;  and  from  each  is  a  staircase  leading  to  the  upper 
floors,  each  a  suite  of  five  rooms.  The  eastern  wing  is  appropriated  to  the  Royal 
Academy  of  Aets,  which  see.  The  western  wing  is  occupied  by  the  national  col- 
lection of  pictures.  The  ground-floor  is  mostly  official  apartments,  but  was  originally 
intended  as  a  depository  for  public  records. 

In  the  hall  are  S.  Joseph's  marble  statue  of  Sir  David  Wilkie,  R.A.,  with  his  palette 

*  A  complete  set  of  casts  from  these  fine  specimens  of  ancient  art  exists  in  the  Museum  of  Mr.  Joseph 
Gwilt,  F.S.A.,  Abingdon-street,  Westminster. 


PICTURE  GALLERIES  {PUBLIC).  675 

inserted  beneath  glass  in  the  pedestal ;  a  fine  alto-relievo,  in  marble,  by  T.  Banks,  E.A., 
of  Thetis  and  her  Nymphs  rising  from  the  Sea  to  condole  with  Achilles  on  the  loss  of 
Patroclus ;  a  bronze  bust  of  the  Emperor  Napoleon;  and  a  marble  bust  of  William 
Mulready,  R.A.,  by  H.  Weekes,  R.A. 

The  National  Gallery  was  founded  in  1824,  by  the  purchase  of  Mr.  Angerstein's 
collection  of  pictures  for  57,000£. :  it  is  said,  upon  the  suggestion  of  George  IV. ;  but 
it  originated  equally  in  Sir  George  Beaumont's  offer,  in  1823,  to  the  Trustees  of  the 
British  Museum,  to  present  his  collection  to  the  public.  The  Angerstein  pictures  (38) 
were  first  exhibited  in  the  house  of  Mr.  Angerstein,  100,  Pall  Mall,  May  10,  1824; 
whither  Sir  George  Beaumont's  16  pictures  were  transferred  in  1826.  In  1831, 
35  pictures  were  bequeathed  by  the  Rev.  W.  Holwell  Carr ;  in  1836,  6  pictures  were 
presented  by  William  IV. ;  17  bequeathed  in  1837  by  Lieut.-Col.  Ollney ;  15  be- 
queathed in  1838  by  Lord  Farnborough ;  14  bequeathed  in  1846  by  R.  Simmons : 
and  the  Gallery  has  since  been  increased,  by  donations,  bequests,  and  comparatively 
few  Government  purchases,  to  about  495  pictures ;  independently  of  the  Vernon  and 
Turner  collections. 

The  current  expenses  connected  with  the  National  Gallery  amount  to  an  annual 
sum  of  15,894£.,  of  which  the  Director  receives  1000Z.,  and  the  Keeper  and  Secretary 
750Z.  The  establishment  at  Trafalgar-square  costs  1523£,  of  which  327£.  is  given  to 
curators,  and  7861.  to  police.  A  sum  of  621?.  is  spent  at  South  Kensington,  2000£.  is 
allowed  for  travelling  expenses,  agency,  &c.,  and  10,000£.  for  the  purchase  of  pictures. 

The  first  Catalogue  of  the  National  Gallery,  by  W.  Young  Ottley,  has  long  been  out  of  print :  the 
fullest  extant  is  by  B.  N.  Wornum.  Among  the  more  notable  pictures  are  two  Groups  of  Saints  and  the 
Baptism  of  Christ,  (eleven  pictures,)  by  Taddeo  Gad  Ji,  painted  in  tempera,  bright  colour  upon  a  gold 
background ;  curious  specimens  of  middle-age  art. 

Italian  School:  The  Virgin  and  Child,  with  Saints  and  a  Dead  Christ  (lunette)  from  an  altar-piece, 
by  Francesco  Francia,  early  Bolognese  School.  Virgin  and  Child,  with  St.  John,  by  P.  Perugino;  divinely 
holy  in  character  and  expression.  The  Baising  of  Lazarus,  by  Sebastian  del  Piombo :  the  figure  of 
Lazarus  by  Michael  Angelo.  St.  Catherine  of  Alexandria,  the  Vision  of  a  Knight,  portrait  of  Pope 
Julius  II.,  and  fragment  of  a  Cartoon  of  the  Murder. of  the  Innocents,  by  Eaphael;  and  the  Madonna, 
Infant  Christ,  and  John,  (Garvagh  Eaphael,  90001.)  Three  of  Correggio's  greatest  works :  Mercury  in- 
structing Cupid  in  the  presence  of  Venus ;  the  Ecce  Homo ;  and  the  Holy  Family  (La  Vierge  au  Panier)  : 
the  three  pictures  cost  14,400/.  A  Holy  Family,  Noli  me  tangere,  and  Bacchus  and  Ariadne,  by  Titian. 
Susannah  and  the  Elders,  by  Ludovico  Caracci.  Eight  works  of  Annibale  Caracci :  Silenus  gathering 
Grapes ;  Pan  (or  Silenus)  teaching  Apollo  to  play  on  the  Beed ;  and  Christ  appearing  to  St.  Peter.  Nine 
works  of  Guido,  including  Susannah  and  the  Elders;  Andromeda  and  the  "  Ecce  Homo."  Ten  works  of 
Claude  (Landscapes  and  Seaports),  including  the  Chigi  and  Bouillon  Claudes,  the  latter  the  Embarkation 
of  the  Queen  of  Sheba.  A  fine  Landscape  (Mercury  and  the  Woodman)  by  Salvator  Rosa.  Gaston  de 
Foix,  by  Giorgione.  The  Madonna  and  Child  enthroned,  with  Saints  John  and  Christopher,  with  the 
Doge  Giovanni  Mocenigo,  in  adoration,  by  Vittore  Carpaccio.  St.  Bock  with  the  Angel,  by  Paolo 
Moraudo.  Venetian  Senator,  by  Francesco  Bonsignori.  The  Madonna,  Infant  Christ,  and  St.  Anne,  by 
Libri.  Madonna  in  Prayer,  and  Madonna  and  Child,  by  Sasso  Ferrato.  Christ  and  his  Disciples  going 
to  Emmaus,  by  Melone.    Milanese  Nobleman,  by  Solario.    "  Ecce  Homo,"  by  La  Spagna. 

Spanish  School :  Philip  IV.  of  Spain  hunting  the  Wild  Boar,  Portrait  of  Philip,  the  Nativity,  (in  the 
Manger,)  and  the  Dead  Warrior,  by  Velasquez.  The  Holy  Family,  St.  John  with  the  Lamb,  and  the 
Spanish  Peasant-boy,  by  Murillo. 

Flemish  School:  Portraits  of  a  Flemish  Gentleman  and  Lady,  in  a  bedchamber;  under  the  mirror  is 
written  "Johannes  de  Eyck  fait  hie,  1434."  Nine  works  of  Bubens:  including  the  Sabine  Women; 
Peace  and  War,  presented  to  Charles  I.  by  Bubens,  in  1630 ;  the  Brazen  Serpent ;  St.  Bavon,  harmonious 
and  picturesque ;  Bubens's  own  Chateau ;  the  Judgment  of  Paris,  from  the  Orleans  Collection ;  and  tho 
Apotheosis  of  James  I.,  sketched  for  the  Whitehall  ceiling.  Vandyke's  magnificent  St.  Ambrosius  and 
the  Emperor  Theodosius ;  and  the  same  painter's  "  Gevartius,"  or  Vander  Geest,  a  portrait  scarcely 
equalled  in  the  world, — but  by  some  attributed  to  Bubens.  The  Woman  taken  in  Adultery,  one  of 
Bembrandfs  finest  early  works;  Christ  taken  down  from  the  Cross;  Christ  blessing  little  Children; 
his  Adoration  of  the  Shepherds;  a  Woman  Bathing;  and  three  of  his  marvellous  portraits.  A  sunny 
Landscape,  with  cattle  and  figures,  by  Cuyp.    The  Misers,  or  Money-changers,  by  David  Teniers. 

French  School:  Eight  works  of  Nicholas  Poussin,  including  two  Bacchanalian  Festivals,  and  the 
Plague  of  Ashdod,  very  fine.  Also,  six  works  of  Gaspar  Poussin,  including  his  masterpiece,  a  Landscape 
with  Abraham  and  Isaac ;  and  his  fine  classical  picture  of  Dido  and  ./Eneas  in  a  Storm. 

Mnglish  School :  Sun  rising  in  a  Mist,  and  Dido  building  Carthage,  by  J.  M.  W.  Turner.  Mr.  Lewis, 
the  comedian,  "  Gentleman  Lewis,"  by  M.  A.  Shee,  bequeathed  by  the  son  of  Mr.  Lewis,  with  10,000/.  in 
money,  the  proceeds,  about  300/.  a  year,  to  be  laid  out  in  the  improvement  of  the  Fine  Art*. 

The  Ttjenee  Pictures  are  arranged  chronologically,  and  comprehend  three 
distinct  styles,  mostly  corresponding  with  Turner's  three  visits  to  Italy  in  1819, 1829,  and 
1840.  The  first  period  reaches  to  his  27th  year,  when  he  was  forming  a  style,  by 
studying  his  English  predecessors,  Wilson,  Loutherbourg,  and  Gainsborough ;  his 
earliest  oil-pictures  resemble  those  of  Wilson  in  style.  In  the  second  period,  1802  to 
1830,  Turner  is  seen  at  first  as  a  follower  of  Claude  and  Gaspar  Poussin,  and  then 
striking  out  a  style  of  landscape-painting,  entirely  original,  and  wholly  unrivalled  for 
brilliancy  of  colouring  and  effect ;  the  majority  of  his  greatest  works  belong  to  that 

x  x  2 


676  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

period,  from  his  Calais  Pier,  1803,  to  the  Ulysses  deriding  Polyphemus,  1829.  In  his 
third  period,  dated  from  1830,  during  the  last  twenty  years  of  his  life,  everything  else 
was  sacrificed  to  the  splendour  of  light  and  colour ;  yet  some  of  Turner's  finest  works 
belong  to  this  period — as  his  Childe  Harold's  Pilgrimage,  1832,  and  the  Temeraire, 
1839.  The  Turner  pictures,  as  arranged  by  Mr.  Wornum,  have  been  hung  in  the  west 
room  of  the  National  Gallery. 

RoyaIi  Academy  ov  Arts  (the)  occupies  the  east  wing  of  the  National  Gallery, 
already  described.  The  Academy  originated  in  a  Society  of  Artists  in  Peter's-court, 
St.  Martin's-lane.*  With  its  apparatus  Hogarth  established  the  Society  of  Incorpo- 
rated Artists,  who  held  their  first  Exhibition  at  the  house  of  the  Society  of  Arts,  in 
the  Adelphi,  April  21,  1760 ;  next  in  Spring  Gardens.  In  1768  certain  artists  seceded 
from  the  Society,  were  constituted  a  "  Royal  Academy,"  removed  to  Pall  Mall,  and 
elected  Reynolds  president  (at  the  first  Exhibition,  in  1769,  there  were  136  pictures, 
and  only  three  sold) ;  and  George  III.  granted  them,  in  1771,  apartments  in  Old 
Somerset  House. 

The  Foundation  consists  of  40  Royal  Academicians ;  20  Associates,  from  whom  the 
members  are  chosen  to  fill  up  vacancies;  and  six  Associate  Engravers.  The  Academi- 
cians elect  from  among  themselves  annually  the  President  j  they  also  appoint  a  Secre- 
tary and  Keeper.  The  Council  of  eight  members  elect  among  the  body  Professors  of 
Painting,  Sculpture,  and  Architecture ;  and  appoint  a  Professor  of  Anatomy,  who  must 
be  a  surgeon.  Dr.  Johnson  was  first  President  of  Ancient  Literature;  and  Dr.  Gold- 
smith, Professor  in  Ancient  History,  was  succeeded  by  Edward  Gibbon.  Lectures  are 
delivered  to  the  students  and  exhibiting  artists,  free  of  expense :  and  prize  medals  are 
awarded  biennially  and  annually.  Students  are  also  sent  to  Rome  at  the  expense  of 
the  Academy.  The  members  are  under  the  superintendence  and  control  of  the  Queen, 
who  confirms  and  signs  all  appointments. 

Among  the  Foundation  Members  of  the  Academy  were  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds  {President) ;  Sir  William 
Chambers,  the  architect  of  Somerset  House ;  Gainsborough  and  Wilson,  the  eminent  landscape-painters ; 
Benjamin  AVest  (the  second  President);  Joseph  Wilton,  the  sculptor;  P.  Bartolozzi,  the  engraver; 
Charles  Catton,  Master  of  the  Painter-Stainers'  Company;  and  Angelica  Kauffmann  and  Mary  Moser. — 
(See  Zoffany's  Picture  of  the  Royal  Academicians,  1773.) 

Upon  the  rebuilding  of  Somerset  House,  apartments  in  the  western  wing  were  given 
to  the  Academicians ;  and  the  first  Exhibition  here  was  opened  May,  1780. 

The  Library  ceiling  was  painted  by  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds  and  Cipriani :  the  centre,  by  Reynolds, 
represents  "  the  Theory  of  Painting,"  a  majestic  female,  holding  compasses  and  a  label  inscribed, 
"  Theory  is  the  knowledge  of  what  is  truly  nature."  The  four  compartments,  by  Cipriani,  were  per- 
sonifications of  Nature,  History,  Allegory,  and  Fable.  The  Council-room  was  painted  by  West :  centre, 
the  Graces  unveiling  Nature,  surrounded  by  figures  of  the  Four  Elements ;  oval  pictures  of  Invention, 
Composition,  Design,  and  Colouring,  by  Angelica  Kauffmann;  medallions  of  Apelles,  Phidias,  Apollodorus, 
and  Archimedes;  and  a  circle  of  chiaroscuro  medallions  of  Palladio,  Bernini,  Michael  Angelo,  Fiammingo, 
Raffaelle,  Domenichino,  Titian,  and  Rubens,  painted  by  Rebecca. 

Horace  Walpole  writes  to  Mason :— "  You  know,  I  suppose,  that  the  Royal  Academy  at  Somerset 
House  is  opened.  It  is  quite  a  Roman  palace,  and  finished  in  perfect  taste,  as  well  as  boundless  expense. 

Gainsborough  has  five  landscapes  there,  of  which  one  especially  is  worthy  of  any  collection  and 

of  any  painter  that  ever  existed."  Walpole's  copy  of  "the  Exhibition  Catalogue"  for  1780  exhibits 
against  the  landscapes  by  Gainsborough  MS.  expressions  of  "  charming,"  "  very  spirited,"  "  as  admirable 
as  the  great  masters." 

In  1838  the  Academy  removed  to  the  National  Gallery.  They  possess  a  library  of 
prints,  and  books  on  art  (see  p.  464),  which  is  open  to  students.  Here  are  also  several 
pictures  by  old  masters.  The  School  for  Drawing  from  the  Antique  is  held  in  the 
Sculpture-room  ;  the  School  for  Painting  in  the  West-room ;  and  the  School  for  Draw- 
ing from  the  Life-model  is  held  in  the  interior  of  the  dome  of  the  edifice.  In  the  Hall 
of  Casts  (mostly  presented  by  George  IV.,  and  procured  through  the  intervention  of 
Canova)  are  a  beautiful  group  of  Niobe  and  her  Daughters ;  the  graceful  Mercury  of 
the  Vatican ;  Fauns  with  their  Cymbals ;  the  Egyptian  Jupiter,  and  the  Olympian ; 
Apollo  and  the  Muses ;  the  Laocoon ;  the  Fighting  and  Dying  Warrior  j  a  mutilated 
remnant  of  a  statue  of  Theseus,  &c.  Upon  the  ceiling  of  the  Council-room  are  the 
paintings,  by  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds  and  other  Academicians,  transferred  from  the  Library 
and  Council-room  at  Somerset  House. 

*  This  Society  (according  to  Edwards)  was  formed  from  a  "  Life  School,"  or  Living  Model  Academy, 
which  was  established  in  the  house  of  Peter  Hyde,  a  painter,  in  Greyhound-court,  between  MiK'ord-lane 
and  Arundel-street,  Strand,  under  the  direction  of  Mr.  Moser,  afterwards  the  first  Keeper  of  the  Royal 
Academy.  The  School  removed  to  Peter's-court  about  1739.  The  houses  in  Greyhound-court  were 
taken  down  between  1851  and  1854. 


PICTURE  GALLERIES  (PUBLIC).  677 

The  Diploma  Pictures  and  Sculptures  (each  member  presenting  a  work  of  art  upon 
his  election)  are  placed  in  the  Council-room,  and  include  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds'  full- 
length  portrait  of  George  III. ;  Fuseli's  "  Thor  battering  the  Serpent  of  Midgard  in 
the  boat  of  Hymer  the  Giant;"  a  Rustic  Girl,  by  Lawrence ;  the  Tribute- Money,  by 
Copley ;  Charity,  by  Stothard ;  Jael  and  Sisera,  by  Northcote ;  the  Falling  Giant,  by- 
Banks  ;  and  Apollo  and  Marpessa,  and  a  cast  of  the  Shield  of  Achilles,  by  Flaxman ; 
Christ  blessing  little  Children,  by  West ;  Boys  digging  for  a  Rat,  by  Wilkie ;  Opie's 
Infancy  and  Age;  portrait  of  Gainsborough,  by  himself;  Sir  William  Chambers,  by 
Reynolds;  and  Sir  Joshua  in  his  doctor's  robes,  by  himself.  Cupid  and  Psyche,  by 
Nollekens ;  bust  of  Flaxman,  by  Baily ;  West,  by  Chantrey,  &c. 

There  are,  also,  a  celebrated  copy,  size  of  the  original,  of  the  Last  Supper,  by 
Leonardo  da  Vinci,  made  by  his  pupil,  Marco  d'Oggioue;  copies  of  the  Descent  from 
the  Cross,  and  the  two  Volets,  by  Rubens,  made  by  Guy  Head ;  and  copies  of  the 
Cartoons  of  RafTaelle,  by  Thornhill, — the  size  of  the  originals,  Also,  small  copies  in 
oil  of  the  frescoes  by  Raffaelle  in  the  Vatican ;  two  fine  Cartoons  (the  Holy  Family 
and  St.  Anna,  and  Leda)  by  L.  da  Vinci ;  bas-relief  in  marble  of  the  Holy  Family,  by 
Michael  Angelo,  presented  by  Sir  George  Beaumont,  &c.  Among  the  memorials  pre- 
served by  the  Academy  are  two  palettes  of  Reynolds  and  Hogarth.  The  Diploma 
Pictures,  &c,  may  be  seen  by  application  in  writing  to  the  Keeper  of  the  Gallery. 

The  Exhibition  is  opened  annually  on  the  first  Monday  in  May  ;  admission  1*.,  cata- 
logue Is. :  it  closes  the  last  week  in  July  ;  but  there  is  an  after-exhibition.  All  works 
sent  for  exhibition  are  submitted  to  the  Council,  whose  decision  is  final.  The  receipts 
at  the  door  have  reached,  in  one  season,  11,6002. 

The  qualifications  for  becoming  a  Student  of  the  Royal  Academy  are,  an  approved  drawing  or  mode 
by  the  applicant,  and  testimony  of  his  moral  character ;  and  next,  an  approved  drawing  or  model  of  an 
antique  figure  in  the  Academy,  accompanied  by  outline  drawings  of  an  anatomical  figure  and  skeleton, 
not  less  than  two  feet  high,  with  list,  references,  &c.    A  similar  rule  applies  to  Architectural  Students. 

The  Annual  Dinner  is  given  by  the  Academicians  on  Saturday  previous  to  the  open- 
ing of  the  Exhibition,  in  the  West  Room,  where  hangs  the  massive  chandelier  presented 
to  the  Academy  by  George  IV. 

In  less  than  a  ninety-nine  years  "crown  and  public"  tenure  of  existence  [1769-1866]  The  "  Royal 
Academy  of  Arts"  in  London  has  had  ./ice  presidents: — 1.  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds ;  2.  Benjamin  West, 
■who  declined  knighthood ;  3.  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence;  4.  Sir  Martin  Archer  Shee;  5.  Sir  Charles  Lock 
Eastlake. 

Total  sum3  received  from  the  Annual  Exhibition,  from  1769  to  1859  (inclusive),  less  the  expenses 
attending  the  same,  267,583£.  15».  5d., — sums  received  by  dividends  on  stock,  &c.,  91.567J.  8s.  9d., — sums 
received  from  his  Majesty's  Privy  Purse,  from  1769  to  1780,  6116Z.  2*.,— Turner  bequest,  20.000Z.,— sums 
expended  by  the  Royal  Academy,  from  the  commencement  of  the  institution,  in  the  gratuitous  instruc- 
tion of  the  students,  general  management,  &c.,  218,4692.  5*., — paid  in  pensions  to  distressed  and  super- 
annuated members  and  their  widows,  from  1802  to  1859,  28,7392.  0».  Id.,  donations  to  distressed  and 
superannuated  artists  and  their  families,  from  1769  to  1859, 32,7722.  58.  lOi.  The  balance  in  favour  of 
the  Academy  in  1867  was  104,4992. 19».  8d. 

A  new  Gallery  for  the  Academy  is  in  course  of  erection  in  the  rear  of  Burlington 
House,  Piccadilly,  which  is  to  form  the  frontage  of  the  Academy. 

The  Sheepshanks'  Pictures,  were,  in  1857,  by  a  deed  of  gift  presented  to  the  nation 
by  Mr.  Sheepshanks  of  Rutland-gate,  and  are  deposited  in  a  building  erected  for  the 
purpose  at  South  Kensington. 

It  comprises  233  oil  paintings,  cabinet  size,  ranging  over  a  period  of  fifty  years,  and  embracing  very 
choice  examples  of  many  of  the  most  eminent  painters  of  the  time.  The  collection  is  incidentally  noticed 
at  page  604.  A  complete  list  appeared  in  the  Athenceum,  No.  1530.  It  is  especially  rich  in  the  works  of 
Mulready,  Leslie,  Landseer,  Wilkie,  Stothard,  and  Webster.  Of  Mulready  there  are  34  examples— 
the  earliest  painted  in  1806,  the  latest  in  1848 :  among  them  is  the  famous  Choosing  the  Wedding  Gown. 
By  Leslie  there  are  24  paintings,  the  best  illustrations  from  Shakspeare,  Moliere,  and  Sterne.  By 
Landseer  there  are  16  paintings,  besides  drawings  and  sketches ;  the  largest  picture  is  the  Drover's 
Departure — scene  in  the  Grampians ;  also  the  Old  Shepherd's  Chief  Mourner.  The  five  pictures  by 
Turner  include,  the  vessel  in  distress  off  Yarmouth ;  and  Venice.  The  only  fine  picture  by  Wilkie  is 
The  Refusal— Duncan  Gray.  The  six  by  Webster  are  all  good  examples.  Stothard's  10  pictures  include 
several  of  his  Shakspeare  pieces.  Further,  here  are  9  examples  by  Collins;  6  by  Constable;  as  many  by 
Redgrave;  3  each  by  Stanfield,  Roberts,  Lee,  and  Danby;  2  each  by  Etty,  Eastlake,  and  Creswick;  9  by 
Callcott ;  11  by  Cooke ;  9  by  Cope  :  4  by  Uwins,  &c. ;  besides  drawings  by  Turner,  Prout,  &c. 

The  Vernon  Collection  of  the  English  School,  162  pictures,  temporarily  ex- 
hibited at  South  Kensington,  was  presented  to  the  nation  in  1847,  by  Mr.  Robert  Vernon, 
who  died  at  his  house,  No.  50,  Pall  Mall,  May  22,  1849,  in  the  75th  year  of  his  age. 

Among  the  pictures  are :  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds — the  Age  of  Innocence  (very  fine),  cost  Mr.  Vernon 
1450  guineas.  Gainsborough — Landscape  :  Sunset  (fine).  Richard  Wilson — lour  small  pictures  (fine). 
Sir  A.  W.  Callcott— Littlehampton  Pier  (fine).  Wilkie— The  Newsmongers  (fine);  The  Bagpiper  (fine). 


678  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Collins,  R.A.— Happy  as  a  King.  J.  M.  W.  Turner,  R.A.— William  III.  landing  at  Torbay ;  Composition 
Landscape  (fine) ;  Two  Views  in  Venice  (fine).  Clarkson  Stanfleld,  R.A.— The  Entrance  to  the  Zuyder 
Zee  (fine).  David  Roberts,  R. A.— Interior  of  St.  Paul's  at  Antwerp  (fine).  Sir  Edwin  Landseer,  R.A. 
— Peace  and  War  (Peace  very  fine) ;  Highland  Piper  and  Dogs ;  Spaniels  of  King  Charles's  breed  ;  the 
Dying  Stag;  High  Life  and  Low  Life  Dogs.  W.  Mulready,  R.A.— The  Last  In ;  the  Ford.  T.  Webster 
R.A.— The  Dame  School  (fine).  D.  Maclise,  R.A.— Play  Scene  in  Hamlet.  E.  M.  Ward,  R.A.— South 
Sea  Bubble ;  Disgrace  of  Clarendon. 

Both  the  above  collections  are  open  on  Mondays,  Tuesdays,  and  Saturdays,  free ;  and 
on  Wednesdays,  Thursdays,  and  Fridays  (students'  days)  on  payment  of  6d.  each. 

The  National  Poeteait  Galleey,  29,  Great  George-street,  Westminster,  was 
established  in  1856,  with  a  Government  grant  for  2000?.,  when  the  Earl  of  Ellesmere 
presented  the  famous  Chandos  Shakspeare,  which  he  had  purchased  at  the  Stowe  sale 
in  1848,  for  355  guineas ;  the  Gallery  has  since  been  supported  by  an  annual  grant  of 
2000?.  for  purchases,  and  by  donations  of  portraits  of  unquestionable  importance, 
subject  to  the  approbation  of  the  trustees,  without  partisan  or  sectarian  exclusiveness. 
Admission  free  on  Wednesdays  and  Saturdays. 

The  National  Poeteait  Exhibition  of  Pictures,  obtained  by  loan,  originated  by 
the  Earl  of  Derby,  was  held  in  the  new  building  at  the  South  Kensington  Museum,  in 
the  year  1866-7 ;  the  historic  periods  "of  the  paintings  extending  from  the  twelfth 
century  to  1688;  and  in  1867,  from  1688  to  1800. 

Duxwicn  Galleey,  founded  by  Sir  Francis  Bourgeois,  R.A.,  who  left  to  the  College 
354  pictures,  10,000Z.  to  erect  and  keep  in  repair  a  building,  and  2000?.  to  provide  for 
the  care  of  the  pictures  :  built  by  the  suggestion  of  John  Philip  Kemble,  the  actor, 
at  Alleyn's  College,  Dulwich.  (See  p.  274.)  The  Murillos  and  Cuyps  (19)  are 
especially  fine.  Teniers,  21  in  all.  Mrs.  Sheridan  and  Mrs.  Tickell,  by  Gainsborough, 
full-lengths,  very  fine.  Mrs.  Siddons,  and  his  own  portrait,  by  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds, 
are  indifferent  duplicates.  This  is  the  only  Collection  free  to  the  public  which  affords 
an  opportunity  for  studying  the  Dutch  masters.  Open  each  week  free,  except  Thursday 
and  Friday,  charge  6d. 

Among  the  private  Picture  Galleries  of  London  are  several  to  which  access  can  be 
obtained  by  accredited  application,  by  letter,  to  the  proprietor.  Such  are — the  collec- 
tion in  Devonshire  House  (see  p.  548),  rich  in  Italian  pictures,  and  more  particularly 
cf  the  Venetian  school ;  Sir  Robert  Peel's,  of  which  Waagen  speaks  so  highly  as  "  a 
series  of  faultless  pearls  of  the  Flemish  and  Dutch  schools ;"  the  Bridgewater,  formerly 
the  Stafford  Gallery  (p.  545),  to  which  a  great  work  in  four  folio  volumes  has  been 
specially  dedicated,  and  which  holds  the  first  rank  among  English  collections,  being  rich 
in  all  schools — pre-eminently  so  in  the  highest,  and  containing  above  300  pictures ;  the 
collection  in  Stafford  House  (p.  557),  belonging  to  the  Duke  of  Sutherland;  Lord 
Ashburton's  (p.  544) ;  the  Duke  of  Wellington's  (p.  542)  ;  Mrs.  Hope's  (p.  551) ;  and 
the  Marquis  of  Westminster's,  better  known  as  the  Grosvenor  Gallery  (p.  550),  one  of 
the  wealthiest  in  the  country  in  the  works  of  Rembrandt,  and  the  Dutch  and  Flemish 
painters,  and  containing  many  and  valuable  works  in  all  the  other  chief  schools. 

PIML1CO, 

A  NAME  of  gardens  of  public  entertainment,  often  mentioned  by  our  early  dramatists, 
and  in  this  respect  resembling  "  Spring  Garden."  In  a  rare  tract,  Newes  from 
Mogadon,  1598 :  "  Have  at  thee,  then,  my  merrie  boys,  and  hey  for  old  Ben  Pimlico's 
nut-browne '."  and  the  place,  in  or  near  Hoxton,  was  afterwards  named  from  him.  Ben 
Jonson  has, 

"A  second  Hogsden, 
In  days  of  Pimlico  and  eye-bright." — The  Alchemist. 

"  Pimlico  path  "  is  a  gay  resort  of  his  Bartholomew  Fair ;  and  Meercraft  in  The  Devil 
is  an  A.ss,  says : — 

"I'll  have  thee,  Captain  Gilthead,  and  march  up 

And  take  in  Pimlico,  and  kill  the  bush 

At  every  tavern." 

In  1609  was  printed  a  tract  entitled  Pimlico,  or  Prince  Red  Cap,  'tis  a  Mad  World  at 
Hogsden.  The  name  is  still  preserved  in  "  Pimlico  Walk,"  from  opposite  St.  John's 
church  to  High-street,  Hoxton,  a  "  near  cut "  to  the  Britannia  Theatre.     Sir  Lionel 


PLAGUE,  TEE  GREAT.  679 

Eash,  in  Greene's  Tu  Quoque,  sends  his  daughter  "as  far  as  Pimlico  for  a  draught  of 
Derby  ale,  that  it  may  bring  colour  into  her  cheeks."     Massinger  mentions, 

"  Eating1  pudding-pies  on  a  Sunday, 
At  Pimlico  or  Islington." —  City  Madam. 

Aubrey,  in  his  Swrrey,  speaks  of  "  a  Pimlico  Garden  on  Bankside." 

Pimlico,  the  district  between  Knightsbridge  and  the  Thames,  and  St.  James's  Park 
and  Chelsea,  was  noted  for  its  public  gardens :  as  the  Mulberry  Garden,  now  part  of  the 
site  of  Buckingham  Palace;  the  Dwarf  Tavern  and  Gardens,  afterwards  Spring  Gardens, 
between  Ebury -street  and  Belgrave-terrace ;  the  Star  and  Garter,  at  the  end  of  Five- 
Fields-row,  famous  for  its  equestrianism,  fireworks,  and  dancing ;  and  the  Orange,  upon 
the  site  of  St.  Barnabas'  church.  Here,  too,  were  Banelagh  and  New  Ranelagh.  But 
the  largest  garden  in  Pimlico  was  Jenny's  Whim,  to  the  left  of  the  road  over  Ebury 
(late  the  Wooden)  Bridge,  formerly  Jenny's  Whim  Bridge.  The  site  is  now  covered 
by  St.  George's-row.  The  tavern  was  opened  temp.  George  I.  for  fireworks,  and  in  it3 
grounds  were  a  pond  for  duck-hunting,  garden-plots,  alcoves,  and  grotesque  figures : 
it  was  a  summer  resort  of  the  upper  classes;  and  a  tract  of  1755  is  entitled  "Jenny's 
Whim,  or  a  sure  Guide  to  the  Nobility  and  Gentry,"  &c.  In  later  years  it  was  fre- 
quented by  crowds  from  bull-baiting  in  the  adjoining  fields.  Among  the  old  signs  were 
the  Bag  o'  Nails,  Arabella-row,  from  Ben  Jonson's  "  Bacchanals ;"  the  Compasses,  of 
Cromwell's  time  (near  Grosvenor-row) ;  and  the  Gun  Tavern  and  Tea-gardens,  Queen's- 
row,  with  its  arbours,  and  costume  figures,  the  last  to  disappear.  Pimlico  is  still  noted 
for  its  ale-breweries. 

Upon  the  verge  of  St.  James's  Park  were  Tart  Hall,  and  Arlington,  subsequently 
Buckingham,  House,  architect,  Captain  Wynde  or  Wynne,  a  native  of  Bergen-op-Zoom. 

So  late  as  1763,  Buckingham  House  enjoyed  an  uninterrupted  prospect  south  and  west  to  the  river, 
there  being  only  a  few  scattered  cottages,  and  the  Stag  Brewery,"  between  it  and  the  Thames.— 
W.  Bardwell. 

Pimlico  contains  the  Belgrave  district,  including  Belgrave,  Eaton,  and  Chester 
Squares,  and  the  Grosvenor-road  ;  beyond  which  the  Eccleston  sub-district  of  new 
squares,  terraces,  and  streets,  extends  to  the  Thames.  Here  are  two  churches  in  the 
Early  Decorated  style :  Holy  Trinity,  close  to  Vauxhall  Bridge ;  and  St.  Gabriel's, 
Warwick-square,  with  a  spire  160  feet  high. 

Ebury  Street  and  Square  are  named  from  Ebury  Farm,  430  acres  (lammas  land), 
leased  by  Queen  Elizabeth  at  2\l.  per  annum. 

In  Lower  Belgrave-place,  corner  of  Eccleston-street,  Sir  Francis  Chantrey,  R.A., 
lived  27  years,  and  executed  his  finest  busts,  statues,  and  monuments :  he  died  here 
Nov.  25,  1841.  Next  door  but  one,  at  No.  27,  lived  Allan  Cunningham,  the  poet,  and 
foreman  to  Chantrey. 

In  Stafford-row  died,  in  1796,  Bichard  Yates,  the  celebrated  comedian,  and  teacher  of  acting,  aged  89. 
He  was  found  dead  through  disappointment  of  a  dinner  of  eels,  which  he  ordered  of  his  housekeeper, 
but  which  she  failed  to  provide. 

At  Pimlico,  facing  the  south  wing  of  Buckingham  Palace,  is  the  office  of  the  Duchy 
of  Cornwall,  formerly  at  Somerset  House.  The  site  was  purchased  by  the  public  from 
the  land  revenues,  at  4300Z.,  and  the  building  cost  about  10,000Z.  The  fronts  are 
mostly  formed  in  cement,  painted  stone-colour.  Here  are  managed  the  affairs  of  the 
Duchy  of  Cornwall,  from  the  revenues  of  which  is  derived  more  than  half  the  income 
of  the  Prince  of  Wales. 

Pimlico  is  also  the  name  of  a  place  near  Clitheroe,  in  Lancashire ;  Lord  Orrery  (in 
his  Letters)  mentions  "  Pimlicoe,  Dublin ;"  and  "  Pemlico "  is  the  name  of  a  bird  of 
Barbadoes,  "  which  presageth  storms." — Notes  and  Queries,  Nos.  29,  31,  and  125. 

PLAGUE,  TEE  GREAT. 

LONDON  has  frequently  suffered  from  the  ravages  of  pestilence ;  and  thousands  and 
tens  of  thousands  of  the  inhabitants  have  been  swept  by  its  virulence  into  one 
common  grave.  But  at  no  period  of  its  history  was  the  mortality  so  devastating  as  in 
the  year  1665,  the  "  last  great  visitation,"  as  it  is  emphatically  entitled  by  Defoe  in 
his  Journal  of  the  Plague  Year.  This  work  was  originally  published  in  1722 :  now, 
as  Defoe  was  only  two  years  of  age  when  the  Great  Pestilence  occurred,  his  Journal 


680  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

was  long  considered  as  much  a  work  of  imagination  as  his  Robinson  Crusoe ;  but  there 
is  abundant  evidence  of  his  having  compiled  the  Journal  from  contemporary  sources ; 
as  the  Collection  of  all  the  Bills  of  Mortality  for  1665,  published  as  London's  Dread- 
ful Visitation ;  the  Loimologia  of  Dr.  Hodges ;  and  God's  Terrible  Voice  in  the  City, 
by  the  Rev.  Thomas  Vincent,  1667 ;  and  many  of  the  events  which  De  Foe  records 
derive  collateral  support  from  the  respective  Diaries  of  Pepys,  Evelyn,  and  Lord  Claren- 
don— works  which  were  not  published  until  very  long  after  Defoe's  decease,  and  the 
manuscripts  of  which  he  could  never  have  perused.  Defoe  is  believed  to  have  been 
familiar  with  the  manuscript  Account  of  the  Great  Plague  by  William  Boghurst,  a 
medical  practitioner,  formerly  in  the  Sloane  Collection,  and  now  preserved  in  the  British 
Museum :  it  is  a  thin  quarto  manuscript  of  170  pages,  from  which  only  a  few  extracts 
have  been  published.  Boghurst  was  an  apothecary  in  St.  Giles's-in-the-Fields ;  and  he 
states  that  he  was  the  only  person  who  had  then  (1666)  written  on  the  late  Plague 
from  experience  and  observation.  Kapin  and  Hume  have  recorded  the  event  in  little 
more  than  a  single  sentence ;  but  Dr.  Lingard  has  grouped  the  details  of  De  Foe's 
Journal  into  a  terrific  picture,  which  has  been  compared  to  the  celebrated  delineation 
of  the  Plague  of  Athens  by  Thucydides. 

"No  one  can  take  up  the  book  (Defoe's)  without  believing  that  it  is  the  saddler  of  Whitechapel  who 
is  telling  his  own  story ;  that  he  was  an  eye-witness  to  all  he  relates :  that  he  actually  saw  the  blazing 
star  which  portended  the  calamity ;  that  he  witnessed  the  grass  growing  in  the  streets,  read  the  inscrip- 
tions upon  the  doors  of  the  infected  houses;  heard  the  bellman  crying,  'Bring  out  your  dead. '*  saw  the 
dead-carts  conveying  people  to  their  graves,  and  was  present  at  the  digging  of  the  pits  in  which  they 
were  deposited." — Wilson's  Life  and  Timet  of  Defoe. 

The  Great  Plague  was  imported,  in  December,  1664,  by  goods  from  Holland,  where, 
in  Amsterdam  alone,  20,000  persons  had  been  carried  off  by  the  same  infection  within 
a  short  time.  The  infected  goods  were  opened  at  a  house  in  St.  Giles's  parish,  near 
the  upper  end  of  Drury-lane,  wherein  died  four  persons ;  and  the  parish  books  record 
of  this  period  the  appointment  of  searchers,  shutting  up  of  infected  houses,  and  contri- 
butions by  assessment  and  subscription.  A  Frenchman,  who  lived  near  the  infected 
house  in  Drury-lane,  removed  into  Bear-binder-lane  (leading  to  St.  Swithin's-lane), 
where  he  died,  and  thus  spread  the  distemper  in  the  City.  Between  December  and 
the  ensuing  April  the  deaths  without  the  walls  of  the  City  greatly  increased,  and  in 
May  every  street  in  St.  Giles's  was  infected.  In  July,  in  August,  and  September  the 
deaths  ranged  from  1000  to  7000  per  week ;  and  4000  are  stated  to  have  died  in  one 
fatal  night !  In  the  latter  month  fires  were  burnt  in  the  streets  three  nights  and  days, 
"  to  purge  and  purify  the  air." 

"  St.  James's  Park  was  quite  locked  up ; "  and,  July  22 :  "I  by  coach  home,  not  meeting  with  but  two 
coaches  and  but  two  carts,  from  White  Hall  to  my  own  house,  that  1  could  observe ;  and  the  streets 
mighty  thin  of  people." — Pepys. 

"  June  7th.— The  hottest  day  that  ever  1  felt  in  my  life.  This  day,  much  against  my  will,  I  did  in 
Drury-lane  see  two  or  three  houses  marked  with  a  red  cross  upon  the  doors,  and '  Lord  have  mercy  upon 
us !'  writ  there." — Pepys. 

"  Sept.  7. — I  went  all  along  the  City  and  suburbs,  from  Kent-street  to  St.  James's, — a  dismal  pas- 
sage, and  dangerous,  to  see  so  many  coffins  exposed  in  the  streets,  now  thin  of  people ;  the  shops  shut 
up,  and  all  in  mournful  silence,  as  not  knowing  whose  turn  it  might  be  next." — Evelyn. 

"  Within  the  walls, 
The  most  frequented  once  and  noisy  parts 
Of  town,  now  midnight  silence  reigns  e'en  there : 
A  midnight  silence  at  the  noon  of  day ! 
And  grass,  untrodden,  springs  beneath  the  feet." — Dryden. 

The  Court  removed  from  Whitehall  to  Hampton  Court,  and  thence  to  Salisbury  and 
Oxford;  and  the  Londoners,  leaving  their  city,  carried  the  infection  into  the  country; 
so  that  it  spread,  towards  the  end  of  this  and  the  following  year,  over  a  great  part 
of  England.  The  Plague  gradually  abated  in  the  metropolis ;  but  it  was  not  until 
Nov.  20,  1666,  that  public  thanksgivings  were  offered  up  to  God  for  assuaging  the 
pestilence  in  London,  Westminster,  and  within  the  bills  of  mortality.  There  were  reported 
dead  of  the  Plague  in  1664-5, 68,596;  probably  less  by  one-third  than  the  actual  number. 
Among  the  Plague  medicines  were  Pill  Rufus  and  Venice  treacle.  Another  antidote  was 
sack.  Tobacco  was  used  as  a  prophylactic ;  and  amulets  were  worn  against  infection. 
Among  many  touching  episodes  of  the  Plague,  is  that  of  a  blind  Highland  bagpiper, 
who,  having  fallen  asleep  upon  the  steps  of  St.  Andrew's  Church,  Holborn-hill,  was 
conveyed  away  in  the  dead-cart ;  and  but  for  the  howling  of  his  faithful  dog,  which 
waked  him  from  his  trance,  he  would  have  been  buried  as  a  corpse.     Of  the  piper  and 


POLICE.  681 

his  dog  a  group  was  sculptured  by  Caius  Gabriel  Cibber :  it  was  long  after  purchased 
by  John  the  great  Duke  of  Argyll,  subsequently  to  whose  death  it  for  many  years 
occupied  a  site  in  a  garden  in  the  front  of  No.  178,  Tottenham-court-road,  whence  it 
disappeared  about  1825.     (See  London  Magazine,  April,  1820.) 

Another  episode  is  that  of  a  grocer  in  Wood-street,  Cheapside,  who  shut  himself  up 
with  his  family,  with  a  store  of  provisions,  his  only  communication  being  by  a  wicket 
made  in  the  door,  and  a  rope  and  pulley  to  draw  up  or  let  anything  down  into  the 
street;  and  thus  they  escaped  infection. 

In  the  Intelligencer,  for  the  year  1665,  No.  51,  appeared  the  following  advertise- 
ment : — 

"  This  is  to  notify  that  the  master  of  the  Cock  and  Bottle,  commonly  called  the 
Cock  Alehouse,  at  Temple  Bar,  hath  dismissed  his  servants  and  shut  up  his  house  for 
this  long  vacation,  intending  (God  willing)  to  return  at  Michaelmas  next ;  so  that  all 
persons  whatsoever  who  have  any  accompts  with  the  said  master,  or  farthings  belonging 
to  the  said  house,  are  desired  to  repair  thither  before  the  8th  of  this  instant  July,  and 
they  shall  receive  satisfaction."  One  of  these  farthings  is  still  preserved  at  the  Cock 
Tavern. 

Forty  years  before,  Evelyn  records  1625  as  "  the  year  in  which  the  pestilence  was 
so  epidemical,  that  there  dy'd  in  London  5000  a  week." 

In  another  great  Plague  year,  1603,  there  died  30,561 : — 

"  London  now  smokes  with  vapors  that  arise 

From  his  foule  sweat,  himselfe  he  so  bestirres : 
'  Cast  out  your  dead !'  the  carcase-carrier  cries, 
Which  he  by  heapes  in  groundlesse  graves  interres. 

*  «  •  » 

"  The  London  lanes  (thereby  themselves  to  save) 
Did  vomit  out  their  undigested  dead, 
Who  by  cart-loads  are  carried  to  the  grave : 
For  all  these  lanes  with  folke  were  overfed. 

*  *  *  * 

"  Time  never  knew,  since  he  bcgunne  his  houres 
(For  aught  we  reade),  a  plague  so  long  remaine 
In  any  citie  as  this  plague  of  ours ; 
For  now  six  yeares  in  London  it  hath  laine." 

The  Triumph  of  Death,  by  John  Davies,  1609. 

It  will  be  recollected,  from  the  several  accounts  of  the  Plague  in  London,  that  a 
cross  was  affixed  by  the  authorities  to  the  door  of  the  house  where  there  was  infection. 
In  the  Guildhall  Library,  not  long  since,  among  some  broadsides,  was  found  one  of 
these  "  Plague  Crosses."  It  was  the  ordinary  size  of  a  broadside,  and  bore  a  cross 
extending  to  the  edges  of  the  paper,  on  which  were  printed  the  words,  "  Lord  have 
mercy  upon  us."  In  the  four  quarters  formed  by  the  limbs  of  the  cross  were  printed 
directions  for  managing  the  patient,  regulations  for  visits,  medicines,  food,  and  water. 
This  "  Cross"  unfortunately,  is  not  now  to  be  found. 

POLICE. 

THE  original  Police  of  the  metropolis  (which  until  the  commencement  of  the  last 
century,  comprised  only  the  "  City  and  liberties,"  with  Westminster)  consisted  of 
the  aldermen,  deputy-aldermen,  common-councilmen,  ward-clerk,  ward-bedell,  inquest- 
men  or  leet  jury,  and  constables  of  the  several  wards,  who  were  formerly  themselves 
the  night-watchmen  by  rotation,  of  Englishmen, — for  no  stranger  was  allowed  to 
discharge  so  responsible  an  office:  the  ward,  with  its  precincts,  being  no  other  than  the 
highest  development  of  the  Anglo-Saxon  hundred  with  its  tithings.  We  find  this 
form  of  Police  to  have  existed  from  the  earliest  settlement  of  the  valley  of  the  Thames 
by  a  northern  nation ;  and  to  have  continued  in  use,  as  the  type  and  model  for  the  rest 
of  the  realm,  until  the  institution  of  the  present  Police. 

The  few  officers  of  the  central  Police  in  the  City, — the  upper-marshal,  the  under- 
marshal,  and  the  marshalmen, — under  whom  was  organized,  at  a  very  modern  date, 
a  subordinate  force  of  sixty-eight  men,  were  in  like  manner  the  type  of  the  Bow-street 
and  other  police  attached  to  the  several  magistrates'  offices  established  in  the  outlying 
portions  of  the  metropolis  so  recently  as  the  close  of  the  last  century. 


682  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

In  the  metropolitan  parishes  without  the  City,  the  watch  was  chiefly  under  local 
acts ;  the  establishment  in  each  consisting  of  a  beadle,  constables,  and  generally  head- 
boroughs,  street-keepers,  and  watchmen,  as  in  the  several  wards  of  the  City,  but 
working  to  a  result  much  worse :  the  petty  constables  being  served  by  deputies,  in 
many  instances  characters  of  the  worst  and  lowest  description ;  having  no  salary,  but 
living  by  extortion,  and  countenancing  all  species  of  vice. 

To  abolish  such  a  system,  Sir  Robert  Peel's  Metropolitan  Police  Act  of  the  10th  of 
George  IV.  c.  44,  was  passed,  superseding  the  Bow-street  foot-patrol,  and  the  whole 
of  the  parochial  police  and  watch  outside  the  City,  by  one  force  both  for  day  and  night 
duty;  in  the  sole  appointment,  order,  and  superintendence  of  two  Commissioners, 
acting  under  the  responsibility  of  the  Secretary  of  State  for  the  Home  Department.* 

The  Metropolitan  Police  force  consisted  at  the  beginning  of  1867,  of  7548  men — 
namely,  27  superintendents,  221  inspectors,  818  sergeants,  and  6482  constables, 
a  small  increase  over  the  return  of  the  previous  year.  The  highest  salary  of  a  constable 
was  78/.,  the  lowest  49/.  8s.,  exclusive  of  clothing  and  coals.  The  cost  of  the  police  for 
the  year  1866,  including  the  dockyard  police  and  all  incidental  expenses,  such  as  for 
refreshments  supplied  to  destitute  prisoners  and  medical  aid  for  poor  persons  in  cases  of 
accident  in  the  public  throughfares,  amounted  to  621,819/.  The  Metropolitan  Police- 
rate  of  1866  produced  383,133/. ;  the  Treasury  contributed  117,519/.,  besides  large 
special  payments  for  the  dockyard  police  and  services  at  military  stations  and  public 
offices.  Private  individuals  or  companies  paid  6204/.,  and  the  theatres  258/.  for  the 
services  of  the  police.  The  cost  of  the  police  courts  in  1866  amounted  to  49,535/.  j 
it  falls  upon  the  public  purse.  There  is  one  chief  magistrate  receiving  1500/.  a  year, 
and  22  magistrates  with  1200/.  The  fees  and  penalties  levied  at  the  police-courts  of 
these  magistrates,  and  of  other  justices  within  the  district,  amounted  to  15,186/. ;  these 
fees  and  penalties  are  paid  over  to  the  Exchequer. 

The  first  chief  magistrate  (and,  indeed,  the  first  stipendiary  magistrate,  in  the  sense  of  being  paid  by 
stipend  only,  to  the  exclusion  of  fees)  was  Sir  J.  Fielding,  the  half-brother  of  Henry  Fielding,  the 
novelist.  The  following  is  a  list  of  the  chief  magistrates  from  the  institution  of  the  office  to  the  present 
day: — Sir  John  Fielding,  Sir  W.  Addington,  Sir  Richard  Ford,  Mr.  Bead,  Sir  Nathaniel  Conant,  Sir 
Eobert  Baker,  Sir  Richard  Birnie,  Sir  Frederic  A.  Roe,  Mr.  Hall,  Sir  Thomas  Henry.  Sir  Robert  Baker 
resigned  his  office  in  1821,  in  consequence  of  a  complaint  that  had  been  made  of  his  conduct  in 
allowing  the  funeral  procession  of  Queen  Caroline  to  be  diverted  from  the  appointed  course.  Sir 
Frederic  A.  Roe,  who  was  knighted  in  1832,  received  a  baronetcy  in  1836,  upon  succeeding  to  the 
estates  of  his  uncle,  Mr.  Adair  Roe.  Sir  Richard  Birnie  was  the  only  chief  magistrate  who  had  not  been 
a  junior  magistrate. 

The  great  living  machine  keeps  guard  over  our  metropolis,  with  its  millions  of 
rateable  property,  and  watches  at  night,  in  order  that  its  resident  population  may 
sleep  in  safety;  although  six  thousand  professional  thieves  are  constantly  on  the 
watch  for  opportunities  to  plunder.  During  the  night  the  Police  never  cease  pa- 
trolling the  whole  time  they  are  on  duty,  being  forbidden  even  to  sit  down.  The 
Police  District  is  mapped  out  into  divisions,  the  divisions  into  subdivisions,  the  sub- 
divisions into  sections,  and  the  sections  into  beats,  all  being  numbered,  and  the  limit* 
carefully  defined.  To  every  beat  certain  constables  are  specifically  assigned ;  and  they 
are  provided  with  little  maps  called  beat-cards.  So  thoroughly  has  this  arrangement 
been  carried  into  effect,  that  every  street,  road,  lane,  alley,  and  court  within  the  me- 
tropolitan district — that  is,  the  whole  of  the  metropolis — is  visited  constantly  day  and 
night  by  some  of  the  police.  Within  a  circle  of  six  miles  from  St.  Paul's,  the  beats 
are  ordinarily  traversed  in  periods  varying  from  70  to  25  minutes  j  and  there  are 
points  which,  in  fact,  are  never  free  from  inspection.  Nor  must  it  be  supposed  that 
this  system  places  the  wealthier  localities  at  a  disadvantage ;  for  it  is  an  axiom  in 
police,  that  you  guard  St.  James's  by  watching  St  Giles's. 

"  Intelligence  is  conveyed  from  one  constable  to  the  other  till  it  reaches  the  station- 
house  j  thence,  by  an  admirable  arrangement  of  routes  and  messengers,  it  passes  to 
the  Central  Office  at  Whitehall,  thence  along  radiating  lines  to  each  division,  and  from 
the  divisional  station-house  to  every  constable  in  the  district.     In  a  case  of  emergency, 

*  The  late  Vincent  George  Dowling  claimed  to  be  the  originator  of  the  plan  on  which  this  new  police 
system  was  organized:  even  the  names  of  the  officers— inspector,  sergeant,  &e. — were  published  in  Bell's 
Life  in  London  (of  which  newspaper  Dowling  was  editor)  nearly  two  years  before  the  system  was  pro- 
posed by  Sir  Robert  Peel.  Mr.  T.  Duffus  Hardy  contributed,  from  documents  in  the  Record  Office,  im- 
portant information  to  Sir  Robert  Peel  on  the  ancient  police  arrangements  of  London. 


POPULATION.  683 


the  Commissioner  could  communicate  intelligence  to  every  man  in  the  force,  and 
collect  the  whole  of  the  men  in  one  place,  in  two  hours.  The  power  of  rapid  con- 
centration has  worked  so  effectually,  that  since  the  establishment  of  the  Metropolitan 
Police,  it  has  never  been  found  necessary  to  call  the  military  into  actual  operation 
in  aid  of  the  civil  force.  Nor  can  clearer  proof  be  given  of  perfect  discipline,  than 
the  fact  that  5000  men  in  the  prime  and  vigour  of  life,  with  moderate  wages,— 
2*.  5d.  to  3*.  per  day, — exposed  in  an  unusual  degree  to  the  worst  temptations  of 
London,  and  discharging,  for  the  most  part  during  the  night,  a  very  laborious  duty, 
always  irksome  and  often  dangerous,  are  kept  in  complete  control  without  any  ex- 
traordinary coercive  power." — Edinburgh  Review. 

The  Corporation  have  their  own  Police ;  the  ordering  of  the  force  being  vested  in 
the  Commissioner,  subject  to  the  approbation  of  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Aldermen,  or 
any  three  of  them ;  and  also  of  the  Secretary  of  State  for  the  Home  Department. 
In  addition  to  a  Commissioner,  chief  superintendent,  surgeon,  receiver,  and  four 
clerks,  the  force  consists  of  1  superintendent,  14  inspectors,  14  station-sergeants,  12 
detective-sergeants,  56  sergeants,  and  590  constables.  The  entire  annual  cost  is  about 
65,000/.  The  clothing,  helmets,  stocks,  and  armlets  cost,  for  the  year,  2951/.  Os.  2d. ; 
lanterns  and  oil,  310/.  The  estimated  income  for  the  year  is  67,161/.  9*.  2d. ;  de- 
rived from  the  following  sources : — Produce  of  8d.  in  the  pound  on  the  assessable 
rental  of  the  City  (1,518,332/.),  after  deducting  6  per  cent,  for  poundage  and  defi- 
ciencies, 47,575/. ;  proportion  of  expenses  from  City's  cash,  15,175/.  16s.  6d. ;  estimated 
fines  and  penalties,  550/. ;  payment  out  of  Bridge-house  estate  for  watching  London 
and  Blackfriars  Bridges,  668/.  4*. ;  rents  from  constables,  1078/.  4s. ;  payment  for 
men  on  private  service  at  the  Bank,  Post-office,  Blackwall  Railway,  City  of  London 
Union,  Inland  Revenue-office,  Tmes-office,  Guildhall  justice-room,  as  assistant-gaoler, 
omnibus  time-keepers,  Messrs.  Gooch  and  Cousens,  Messrs.  Pawson  and  Co.,  and 
Messrs.  Kearns,  Major,  and  Field,  2114/.  4s.  8d.  These  accounts  show  an  estimated 
surplus  of  receipts  over  expenditure  amounting  to  2597/.  10s.  8d. 

The  Horse  Patrol  was  added  in  1836 ;  and  the  Thames  Police,  with  the  West- 
minster Constabulary  and  the  Police-office  Agency,  in  1838,  when  the  old  detective 
force  was  superseded. 

Before  the  establishment  of  the  Thames  Police,  by  Mr.  R.  Colquhoun,  the  annual  loss  by  robberies 
alone  upon  the  river  was  half  a  million  sterling ;  the  depredators  being  termed  river-pirates,  light  and 
heavy  horsemen,  mud-larks,  cope-men,  scuffle-hunters.  They  were  frequently  known  to  weigh  a  ship's 
anchor,  hoist  it  with  the  cable  into  a  boat,  and  when  discovered,  to  hail  the  captain,  tell  him  of  his  loss, 
and  row  away.  They  also  cut  craft  and  lighters  adrift,  ran  them  ashore,  and  cleared  them.  Many  of 
the  light-horsemen  cleared  five  guineas  a  night ;  and  an  apprentice  to  a  game-waterman  often  kept  his 
country-house  and  saddle-horse.  In  1797,  the  first  year  of  the  Police,  the  saving  to  the  West  India 
merchants  alone  was  computed  at  100,0002. ;  and  2200  culprits  were  convicted  of  misdemeanours  on  the 
river  during  the  same  period. 

POPULATION. 

TAPERELL  and  Innes's  Map  of  London  and  Westminster  in  the  early  part  of  the  reign 
of  Queen  Elizabeth  (1560),  based  upon  Vertue's  Map,  1737,  shows  on  the  east  the 
Tower,  standing  separated  from  London,  and  Finsbury  and  Spitalfields  with  their 
trees  and  hedge-rows;  while  on  the  west  of  Temple  Bar,  the  villages  of  Charing, 
St.  Giles's,  and  other  scattered  hamlets  are  aggregated,  and  Westminster  is  a  distinct 
city.  The  intervening  north  bank  of  the  river  Thames,  or  the  Strand,  has  a  line  of 
seats  and  gardens  of  the  nobility.  At  the  date  of  this  map  London  contained  about 
145,000  inhabitants.  In  the  narrative  of  the  visit  of  the  Duke  de  Nayera  to  the 
Court  of  Henry  VIII.  in  1513,  London  is  described  as  one  of  the  largest  cities  in 
Christendom,  "  its  extent  being  near  a  league."  "  There  were  150,000  houses  in 
London  before  the  Fire.  About  15,000  or  16,000  die  yearly  in  London  when  no 
plague,  which  is  thrice  more  than  in  Amsterdam.  The  excise  in  London  comes  to 
about  12,000/.  a  year.  London  stands  on  460  acres  of  ground.  Lost  in  books  150,000/. 
at  the  Fire  of  London.  London  Bridge  is  800  feet  long,  60  feet  high,  and  30  broad ; 
it  hath  a  drawbridge  in  the  middle,  and  20  feet  between  each  arch." — Diary  of  the 
Eev.  John  Ward,  1648  to  1673. 

Sir  William  Petty,  in  his  Political  Arithmetic,  printed  in  1683,  after  much  study  of 


684  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

statistical  returns  and  bills  of  mortality,  demonstrates  that  the  growth  of  the 
metropolis  must  stop  of  its  own  accord  before  the  year  of  grace  1800;  at  which 
period  the  population  would,  by  his  computation,  have  arrived  at  exactly  5,359,000. 
Nay  more,  were  it  not  for  this  halt,  he  shows  that  the  increase  would  double  in  forty 
years,  with  a  slightly  accelerating  increment,  as  he  gives  the  amount  of  human  beings 
in  the  city  for  1840  at  10,718,880 !  The  identical  year  1800,  the  commencement  of  a 
truly  important  century,  found  London  still  enlarging:  brick-fields  and  scaffolding 
were  invading  all  its  outskirts ;  but  the  inhabitants,  who  had  increased  in  a  reasonably 
rapid  ratio,  numbered  only  830,000. 

"  There  are  no  accurate  accounts  of  the  population  of  London  previously  to  the  Census  of  1801.  The 
population  of  the  City  was  estimated  by  Graunt,  in  his  famous  Treatise  on  Bills  of  Mortality,  at  384,000 
in  1661;  and  adding  one-fifth  to  this  for  the  population  of  Westminster,  Lambeth,  Stepney,  and  other 
outlying  parishes,  he  estimated  the  entire  population  at  about  460,000.  (Observations,  &?.,  5th  ed. 
pp.  82, 105.)  In  1696  the  population  of  the  City  and  the  out-parishes  was  carefully  estimated,  by  the 
celebrated  Gregory  King,  at  527,560 ;  and  considering  the  great  additions  that  had  been  made  to  the 
metropolis  between  the  Restoration  and  the  Revolution,  this  increase  does  not  seem  to  be  greater  than 
we  should  have  been  led  to  infer  from  Graunt's  estimate.  The  p  pulation  advanced  slowly  during  the 
first  half  of  the  last  century;  indeed,  it  fell  off  between  1740  and  1750.  In  his  tract  on  the  population  of 
England,  published  in  1782,  Dr.  Price  estimated  the  population  of  London  in  1777  at  only  543,420  (p.  5). 
But  there  can  be  no  doubt  that  this  estimate,  like  that  which  he  gave  of  the  population  of  the  kingdom, 
was  very  decidedly  under  the  mark;  and  the  probability  seems  to  be,  that  in  1777  London  had  from 
640,000  to  650,000  inhabitants." — Macculloeh  s  Qeographical  Dictionary. 

A  return  made  in  1867  from  the  metropolitan  police-office  states  that  within  a 
radius  of  six  miles  from  Charing-cross  there  are  2637  miles  of  streets.  Since  1849 
the  number  of  houses  has  increased  by  upwards  of  60,000,  and  the  length  of  streets  by 
nearly  900  miles. 

The  Registrar-General,  in  hi3  Report  for  1866,  says : — London  is  growing  greater 
every  day,  and  within  its  present  bounds,  extending  over  122  square  miles  of  territory, 
the  population  amounted  last  year  by  computation  to  3,037,991  souls.  In  its  midst  is 
the  ancient  City,  inhabited  at  night  by  about  100,000  people ;  while  around  it,  as 
far  as  a  radius  of  15  miles  stretches  from  Charing-cross,  an  ever-thickening  ring  of 
people  extend  within  the  area  which  the  metropolitan  police  watches  over,  making  the 
whole  number  on  an  area  of  687  square  miles  around  St.  Paul's  and  Westminster 
Abbey  3,521,267  souls. 

The  "London"  of  the  Registrar-General,  which  is  identical  with  the  Poor  Law 
Union  London,  and  is  the  London  of  the  Census,  stretching  from  Hampstead  to 
Norwood,  and  from  Hammersmith  to  Woolwich,  is  returned  as  comprising  194 
parishes,  77,997  statute  acres,  and  2,803,989  people,  with  property  assessed  for  the 
county-rate  at  more  than  12,000,000^.  Of  its  area  2778  acres  are  covered  with 
water,  being  part  of  the  river  Thames.  Of  its  population  in  1861,  2,030,814  were  in 
the  county  of  Middlesex,  579,748  in  the  county  of  Surrey,  and  193,427  in  the  county 
of  Kent.  Since  the  Census  of  1851  the  Middlesex  portion  of  the  population,  nearly 
three-fourths  of  the  whole,  had  increased  16  per  cent.,  the  Surrey  portion  20  per 
cent.,  and  the  small  portion  in  Kent  (not  much  larger  than  Sheffield)  no  less  than 
44  per  cent. ;  the  entire  population  increased  18*7  per  cent.,  or  441,753 — a  number 
which  would  people  all  Liverpool  or  Manchester.  This  is  more  than  a  fifth  of  the 
increase  in  all  England  and  Wales,  though  the  metropolis,  even  in  1861,  did  not 
contain  quite  a  seventh  of  the  population.  In  the  ten  years,  1851-60,  528,306  persons 
were  married  in  the  metropolis,  864,563  children  were  born  there,  and  610,473  persons 
died  there.  Among  its  vai-ieties  it  has  eight  parishes,  none  of  which  has  100  in- 
habitants ;  and  it  has  six  parishes,  each  of  which  has  above  100,000.  At  the  census  it 
had  5625  in-patients  in  its  hospitals,  and  10,658  inmates  of  its  orphan  asylums,  and 
other  principal  charitable  institutions.  It  has  more  than  its  share  of  women ;  in  1851 
there  were  113*47  females  to  every  100  males,  and  in  1861  there  was  one  female  more 
(11440)  to  every  100  males  •  but  the  births  within  the  metropolis  in  the  ten  years, 
1851-60,  produced  only  96*18  females  to  every  100  males;  such  are  the  changes 
wrought  by  death  and  emigration.  The  returns  state  that  at  the  date  of  the  census, 
in  districts  at  the  west-end  containing  284,000  persons,  6120  residents  were  out  of 
town,  and  2460  visitors  were  temporarily  staying  there;  it  was  not  the  London 
season,  and  it  was  but  a  week  after  Easter-day. 

The  revised  Census  returns  show  that  on  the  8th  of  April,  1861,  the  number  of 


PORT  OF  LONDON.  685 


houses  inhabited  by  the  population  of  England  and  Wales  was  3,739,506.  There  was, 
therefore,  one  house  to  every  5*36  persons,  or  536  persons  to  100  houses.  In  1851 
there  were  547  persons  to  100  houses,  so  that  notwithstanding  increased  numbers 
there  is  rather  more  house-room  than  there  was.  In  the  metropolis,  however,  taken 
as  a  whole,  these  returns  show  that  the  crowding  is  rather  greater  than  less  than  it 
was ;  in  1851  there  were  772  persons  to  100  houses,  in  1861  780  persons.  Mr.  Scott, 
the  City  Chamberlain,  shows  by  curious  statistics,  that,  taking  the  area  of  the  metro- 
polis at  sixteen  miles  from  Charing  Cross — which  is  the  Metropolitan  Police  district— 
the  population  of  London,  in  1801,  ranged  at  equal  distances,  would  stand  each  man 
twenty-one  yards  from  his  neighbour.  In  1851  each  person  would  have  stood  fourteen 
yards  apart.  In  1866,  there  would  have  been  only  nine  yards  between  each  person : 
and  in  fifty  years  hence,  supposing  the  population  to  go  on  increasing  at  its  present  rate, 
to  keep  within  the  sixteen  miles  area,  there  will  only  be  standing-room  for  each  person. 
A  Census  of  the  City  shows  the  night  population  of  the  City  and  liberties  numbered 
113,387  :  the  mercantile  and  commercial  population  engaged  in  the  City  daily  amounted 
to  170,133;  the  total  day  population  residing  in  the  City  to  283,520;  and  the  number 
of  persons  resorting  to  the  City  daily  in  sixteen  hours,  not  included  in  the  above,  being 
customers,  clients,  and  others,  to  509,611.  The  persons  frequenting  the  City  daily  in 
twelve  hours,  from  6  a.m.  to  6  P.M.,  were  549,613 ;  in  sixteen  hours,  from  5  A.M.  to 
9  p.m.,  they  were  679,744;  and  in  twenty-four  hours  they  were  728,986. 

Taken  as  a  whole,  the  more  crowded  part  of  London  contained  1,150,000  persons  in 
1851,  and  about  the  same  number  were  found  there  in  1861 ;  but  it  is  something  to 
have  thrown  into  the  suburbs  the  increase  of  the  ten  years — in  the  whole  metropolis 
440,000,  almost  precisely  the  population  of  Liverpool. 

The  present  population  of  London  is  supposed  to  represent  the  number  of  inhabitants 
living  in  England  and  Wales  four  centuries  and  a  half  ago,  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III. 

A  late  return  shows  the  number  of  passengers  and  vehicles  passing  over  London  Bridge  in  twenty- 
four  hours.  The  total  number  of  passengers  in  carriages  and  on  foot  amounted,  in  the  twenty-four 
hours,  to  167,910,  or  at  the  average  rate  of  about  6996  per  hour,  night  and  day.  The  largest  number 
passed  between  ten  and  eleven  in  the  morning,  and  eight  and  nine  in  the  evening,  averaging  at  those 
hours  22-1  per  minute.  Between  three  and  four  in  the  morning  is  the  quietest  time  in  the  streets  of 
London,  and  then  as  many  as  111  persons  passed  over  the  bridge  in  an  hour.  If  we  take  the  above 
167,910  as  an  average  of  the  number  of  passengers  who  cross  London  Bridge  during  the  working  days, 
and  only  half  that  number  on  the  Sundays,  the  number  will  amount  in  the  year  to  fifty-six  millions. 
This  is  nearly  as  many  as  twice  the  population  of  the  United  Kingdom.  At  times,  during  the  throng 
of  business,  there  are  2000  persons  on  London  Bridge.  During  the  twenty-four  hours  the  number  of  car- 
riages amounted  to  20,498,  or  an  average  of  about  854  an  hour.  The  greatest  number  of  carriages  in  any 
hour  was  between  ten  and  eleven  o'clock  in  the  forenoon,  when  1764  carriages  passed  over  the  bridge. 


POST  OF  LONDON. 

SIR  JOHN  HERSCHEL  felicitously  observes :  "  It  is  a  fact  not  a  little  interesting 
to  Englishmen,  and,  combined  with  our  insular  situation  in  the  great  highway  of 
nations,  the  Atlantic,  not  a  little  explanatory  of  our  commercial  eminence,  that  London 
occupies  nearly  the  centre  of  the  terrestrial  hemisphere." — (Treatise  on  Astronomy). 
On  the  other  hand  it  is  held  that  the  great  distance  of  London  from  the  mouth  of  the 
river,  and  also  from  the  coal  country  and  the  centre  of  manufacturing  districts,  are 
serious  drawbacks,  in  spite  of  which  London  has  become  the  immense  port  she  un- 
doubtedly is. 

Tacitus  describes  London,  in  the  year  61,  as  not  dignified  with  the  name  of  a  colony, 
but  very  celebrated  for  the  number  of  its  merchants  and  commerce.  In  211  it  was 
styled  "  a  great  and  wealthy  city  ;"  and  in  359  there  were  engaged  800  vessels  in  the 
import  and  export  of  corn  to  and  from  Londinum  alone. 

An  edict  of  King  Ethelred  (a.d.  978)  refers  to  the  fact  that  "  the  Emperor's  men, 
or  Easterlings,  come  with  their  ships  to  Billingsgate."  The  Easterlings  were  the 
merchants  of  the  Steelyard,  and  paid  a  duty  to  the  port.  William  the  Norman  fortified 
London  ;  but  in  the  charter  which  he  granted  to  the  inhabitants,  he  made  no  mention 
of  commerce.  Henry  I.  and  other  sovereigns,  however,  granted  them  privileges ;  and 
Fitz-Stephen,  in  his  Life  of  St.  Thomas  a  Beeket,  thus  describes  the  merchandize  of 
London : — 


686  CURIOSITIES    OF  LONDON. 

"Arabia's  gold,  Sabaea's  spice  and  incense, 
Scythia's  keen  weapons,  and  the  oil  of  palms 
From  Babylon's  deep  soil ;  Nile's  precious  gems ; 
China's  bright,  shiniug  silks;  and  Gallic  wines ; 
Norway's  warm  peltry,  and  the  Russian  sables ; 
All  here  abound." 

Edward  I.  expelled  the  Jews,  but  offered  some  special  advantages  to  other  foreign 
traders.  Edward  III.  founded  three  of  the  great  guilds  which  at  one  time  held  the 
commerce  of  London  in  their  hands — the  Goldsmiths,  the  Merchant  Taylors,  and  the 
Skinners ;  being  the  oldest  of  the  now  existing  companies,  with  the  single  exception  of 
the  Fishmongers,  which  was  founded  in  the  reign  of  Edward  I.  Before  the  close  of 
Edward  IIL's  reign  the  Grocers,  Salters,  Drapers,  and  Vintners  were  founded.  The 
Mercers  belong  to  the  reign  of  Richard  II. ;  the  Haberdashers  to  that  of  Henry  VI. ; 
and  the  Ironmongers  and  Clothworkers  to  that  of  Edward  IV. 

Under  an  Act  of  Charles  II.,  the  Port  of  London  is  held  to  extend  as  far  as  the 
North  Foreland.  It,  however,  practically  extends  6^  miles  below  London  Bridge,  to 
Bugsby's  Hole,  beyond  Blackwall.  The  actual  Port  reaches  to  Limehouse,  and  consists 
of  the  Upper  Pool,  the  first  bend  or  reach  of  the  river,  from  London  Bridge  to  near  the 
Thames  Tunnel  and  Execution  Dock ;  and  the  Lower  Pool,  thence  to  Cuckold's  Point. 
In  the  latter  space  colliers  mostly  lie  in  tiers  ;  a  fair  way  of  300  feet  being  left  for 
shipping  and  steamers  passing  up  and  down.  The  depth  of  the  river  insures  London 
considerable  advantage  as  a  shipping  port.  Even  at  ebb-tide  there  are  12  or  13  feet 
of  water  in  the  fair  way  of  the  river  above  Greenwich ;  the  mean  range  of  the  tide  at 
London  Bridge  is  about  17  feet  j  of  the  highest  spring-tides  about  22  feet.  To 
Woolwich  the  river  is  navigable  for  ships  of  any  burden ;  to  Blackwall  for  those  of 
1400  tons ;  and  to  St.  Katherine's  Docks  for  vessels  of  800  tons. 

The  several  Docks  are  described  at  pp.  309-312 ;  the  Custom  House  at  p.  305 ; 
and  Billingsgate  at  p.  54. 

"  In  one  day  (Sept.  17, 1849)  there  arrived  in  the  Port  121  ships,  navigated  by  1387  seamen,  with  a 
registered  tonnage  of  29,699  tons :  106  British,  15  foreign :  52  cargoes  from  our  colonies,  69  from  foreign 
states— from  the  inhabitants  of  the  whole  circuit  of  the  globe.  The  day's  cargoes  included  32,280 
packages  of  sugar,  from  the  West  Indies,  Brazil,  the  East  Indies,  Penang,  Manilla,  and  Rotterdam ; 
317  oxen  and  calves,  and  2734  sheep,  principally  from  Belgium  and  Holland ;  3967  quarters  of  wheat, 
13,314  quarters  of  oats  from  Archangel  or  the  Baltic ;  potatoes  from  Rotterdam ;  1200  packages  of  onions, 
from  Oporto ;  16,000  chests  of  tea,  from  China ;  7400  packages  of  coffee,  from  Ceylon,  Brazil,  and  India; 
532  bags.of  cocoa  from  Grenada ;  1460  bags  of  rice  from  India,  and  350  bags  of  tapioca  from  Brazil ;  bacon 
and  pork  from  Hamburg,  and  8000  packages  of  butter  and  50,000  cheeses  from  Holland ;  767  packages 
of  eggs  (900,000) ;  of  wool,  4458  bales,  from  the  Cape  and  Australia;  15,000  hides,  100,000  horns,  and 
3600  packages  of  tallow,  from  South  America  and  India ;  hoofs  of  animals,  13  tons,  from  Port  Philip, 
and  140  elephants'  teeth  from  the  Cape ;  1250  tons  of  granite  from  Guernsey,  copper  ore  from  Adelaide, 
and  cork  from  Spain ;  40,000  mats  from  Archangel,  and  400  tons  of  brimstone  from  Sicily ;  cod-liver  oil, 
and  3800  sealskins,  from  Newfoundland;  110  bales  of  bark  from  Arica,  and  1100  casks  of  oil  from  the 
Mediterranean;  lard,  oil-cake,  and  turpentine,  from  America;  hemp  from  Russia,  and  potash  from 
Canada;  246  bales  of  rags,  from  Italy;  staves  for  casks,  timber  for  our  houses,  deals  for  packing-cases ; 
rosewood,  876  pieces ;  teak  for  ships,  logwood  for  dye,  lignum  vita?  for  ships'  blocks,  and  ebony  for 
cabinets ;  cotton  from  Bombay,  zinc  from  Stettin,  1000  bundles  of  whisks  from  Trieste,  yeast  from 
Rotterdam,  and  apples  from  Belgium ;  of  silk,  900  bales  from  China,  finer  sorts  from  Piedmont  and 
Tuscany,  and  200  packages  from  China,  Germany,  and  France  :  Cashmere  shawls  from  Bombay;  wine, 
1800  packages,  from  France  and  Portugal ;  rum  from  the  East  and  West  Indies,  and  scheidam  from 
Holland;  nutmegs  and  cloves  from  Penang,  cinnamon  from  Ceylon,  840  packages  of  pepper  from 
Bombay,  and  1790  of  ginger  from  Calcutta ;  100  barrels  of  anchovies  from  Leghorn,  a  cargo  of  pine- 
apples from  Nassau,  and  50  fine  live  turtles;  54  blocks  of  marble  from  Leghorn;  tobacco  from  America; 
219  packages  of  treasure — Spanish  dollars,  Sycee  silver  from  China,  rupees  from  Hindostan,  and  English 
sovereigns." — A  Day's  Business  in  the  Port  of  London,  by  T.  Howell,  Esq. 

"  Again,  in  one  day's  consumption,  we  find  corahs,  or  silk  handkerchiefs,  from  India ;  whale-fins  and 
sperm-oil  from  our  deep-sea  fisheries ;  from  India  shell-lac,  indigo,  and  lac-dye ;  saltpetre  for  gunpowder, 
and  hemp  and  jute  for  cordage ;  quicksilver  from  the  mines  in  Spain ;  isinglass  and  bristles  from  Russia ; 
Iceland  moss,  honey,  and  leeches  from  Hamburg;  manna  from  Palermo,  camphor  from  Calcutta,  mac- 
caroni  from  Naples,  sugar-candy  from  Holland,  and  lemon-oil  from  Messina ;  81,0001bs.  of  currants  from 
the  Ionian  Islands,  5760  bars  of  iron  from  Sweden,  and  bees'-wax  from  the  coast  of  Africa ;  tea,  sugar, 
coffee,  pepper,  tobacco,  spirits,  and  wine;  watches,  clocks,  gloves,  and  glass-ware;  needlework,  ladies* 
shoes,  bonnets,  and  feathers ;  toys,  lace,  and  slate-pencils;  zaffery  and  stavesacre  from  Hamburg;  and 
inkle  from  France."— Ibid. 

The  river  is  protected  by  an  admirable  system  of  Police,  established  in  1798,  and 
merged  into  the  Metropolitan  Police  in  1839.  Execution  Bock,  at  Wapping,  the 
name  of  one  of  the  outlets  of  the  river,  preserves  the  memory  of  many  a  tale  of  murder 
and  piracy  on  the  high  seas ;  for  here  used  to  be  executed  all  pirates  and  sailors  found 
guilty  of  any  of  the  greater  crimes  committed  on  ship-board.  Opposite  Blackwall  we 
remember  to  have  seen  the  gibbets,  on  which  the  bodies  were  left  to  decay.     The  loss 


PORTUGAL-STREET.  687 


of  life  upon  the  Thames,  by  collision  of  vessels  and  other  accidents,  is  of  frightful 
amount;  500  persons  heing  annually  drowned  in  the  river,  and  one-third  of  the  number 
in  the  Pool. 

PORTUGAL-STREET, 

IN  the  rear  of  the  south  side  of  Lincoln's-Inn-fields  (formerly  Portugal-row)  has  been 
the  site  of  three  theatres,  upon  the  north  side  of  the  street.  The  first  theatre 
(named  the  Duke's  Theatre,  from  the  Duke  of  York,  its  great  patron ;  and  the  Opera, 
from  its  musical  performances),  was  originally  a  tennis-court ;  it  was  altered  for  Sir 
William  Davenant,  and  opened  in  1662  with  his  operatic  Siege  of  Rhodes,  when 
regular  scenery  was  first  introduced  upon  our  stage.  In  the  same  year  was  produced 
here  Cowley's  Cutter  of  Coleman-street.  Here  Pepys  saw,  March  1st,  1662,  Romeo 
and  Juliet,  "  the  first  time  it  was  ever  acted  f  and  May  28,  "  Hamlett  done, 
giving  us  fresh  reason  never  to  think  enough  of  Betterton."  "  Nov.  5.  To  the  Duke's 
house  to  see  Macbeth,  a  pretty  good  play,  but  admirably  acted."  Pepys  describes 
"a  mighty  company  of  citizens,  ordinary  prentices,  and  mean  people  in  the  pit;" 
where  he  first  saw  Nell  Gwyn,  April  3,  1665,  during  the  performance  of  Lord  Orrery's 
Muslapha,  when  the  king  and  my  Lady  Castlemaine  were  there;  Pepys  sat  in  the 
pit  next  to  "  pretty  witty  Nell "  and  Rebecca  Marshall,  of  the  King's  house.  Etherege's 
Love  in  a  Tub  was  so  attractive  here,  that  1000Z.  was  received  in  one  month,  then  a 
great  sum.  Here  female  characters  were  first  sustained  by  women ;  for  which  purpose 
Davenant  engaged  Elizabeth  Davenport,  the  first  Roxalana  in  the  Siege  of  Rhodes ; 
Mary  Saunderson,  famous  as  Queen  Katherine  and  Juliet,  and  afterwards  the  wife  of 
Betterton;  Mary  or  Moll  Davis,*  excellent  in  singing  and  dancing,  afterwards  the 
mistress  of  Charles  II. ;  Mrs.  Long,  the  mistress  of  the  Duke  of  Richmond,  celebrated 
in  male  characters ;  Mrs.  Norris,  mother  of  Jubilee  Dicky ;  Mrs.  Johnson,  noted  as  a 
dancer,  and  as  Carolina  in  Shadwell's  comedy  of  Epsom  Wells.  The  famous 
Mrs.  Barry  was  brought  out  here  after  Davenant's  death. 

Among  the  actors  at  the  Duke's  were  Thomas  Betterton,  the  rival  of  Burbage  and  Garrick,  and  the 
last  survivor  of  the  old  school  of  actors :  Joseph  Harris,  famous  for  acting  Romeo,  Wolsey,  and  Sir 
Andrew  Aguecheek ;  William  Smith,  a  barrister  of  Gray's  Inn,  celebrated  as  Zanga  in  Lord  Orrery's 
Mustapha;  Samuel  Sandford,  called  by  King  Charles  II.  the  best  representative  of  a  villain  in  the 
world ;  James  Nokes,  famous  for  his  bawling  fops ;  and  Cave  Underhill,  clever  as  Cutter  in  Cowley's 
comedy,  and  as  the  grave-digger  in  Hamlet. — Abridged  from  Cunningham's  Story  of  Nell  Gwyn. 

From  1665  (the  Plague)  until  after  the  Great  Fire,  the  theatre  was  closed.     Davenant 

usually  resided  here. 

"April  9th,  1668.  I  up  and  down  to  the  Duke  of  York's  playhouse,  there  to  see,  which  I  did,  Sir  "W. 
Davenant's  corpse  carried  out  towards  Westminster,  there  to  be  buried.  Here  were  many  coaches  and 
six  horses,  and  many  hacknies,  that  made  it  look,  methought,  as  if  it  were  the  buriall  of  a  poor  poet." — 
Pepys. 

In  1671-2,  in  Lord  Orrery's  play  of  Henry  V.,  at  the  Duke's  Theatre,  the  actors 
Harris,  Betterton,  and  Smith  wore  the  coronation  suits  of  King  Charles,  the  Duke  of 
York,  and  Lord  Oxford.  This  year  the  company  removed  to  Dorset  Gardens ;  and 
the  King's  company,  burnt  out  from  Drury-lane,  played  at  the  Duke's  Theatre  till 
1673-4,  when  they  left  it,  and  it  again  became  a  tennis-court.  It  was  refitted  and  re- 
opened in  1695,  with  (first  time)  Congreve's  comedy  of  Love  for  Love.  This  second 
theatre  was  taken  down,  and  a  new  house  built  for  Christopher  Rich,  and  opened  by 
John  Bich,  in  1714,  with  Farquhar's  comedy  of  the  Recruiting  Officer ;  when  also 
Rich  introduced  the  first  pantomime,  Rich  himself  playing  harlequin.  Here  Quin 
played  his  best  parts ;  and  from  a  fracas  in  which  he  was  embroiled,  originated  the 
sergeant's  guard  at  the  Theatres  Royal.  The  first  English  opera  was  performed  here 
in  1717-18  ;  here  was  originally  used  the  stage  motto,  Veluti  in  speculum  ;  and  here 
in  1727-8  the  Beggar's  Opera  was  produced,  and  played  sixty -two  nights  the  first 
season,  making  "  Gay  rich  and  Rich  gay."  In  1732,  Rich  having  built  a  theatre  in 
Covent  Garden,  removed  there ;  and  the  Portugal-street  house  was  by  turns  let  for 

*  In  the  part  of  Celania,  in  the  Rivals,  altered  by  Davenant  from  Beaumont  and  Fletcher's  Two 
Noble  Kinsmen,  Moll  Davis  sang  "My  lodging  is  on  the  cold  ground"  " so  charmingly,  that  not  long 
after  it  raised  her  from  her  bed  on  the  cold  ground  to  a  bed  royal." — Downes's  Soscius  Anglieanus, 
p.  24,  ed.  1703. 


688  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Italian  operas,  oratorios,  for  balls,  concerts,  and  exhibitions ;  to  Giffard,  of  Goodman's- 
fields,  in  1756 ;  next  as  a  barrack  and  auction-room ;  and  Spode  and  Copeland's  China 
Repository,  until  1848,  when  the  premises  were  sold  to  the  College  of  Surgeons, 
August  28,  and  were  taken  down  for  enlarging  their  museum.  Of  the  theatre  little 
remained,  save  the  outer  walls,  built  upon  an  arched  cellar  :  there  was  a  large  Queen 
Anne  staircase,  a  saloon  upon  the  first  floor ;  and  the  attic,  lighted  by  windows  in  the 
roof,  had  been  probably  the  scene-painting  loft.  Upon  this  site  the  College  of  Surgeons 
completed  in  1854  a  third  Hall  for  their  Museum,  by  aid  of  a  Parliamentary  grant  of 
15,000?. 

In  Carey-street,  nearly  opposite,  was  a  public-house  and  stable-yard,  described  in 
Sir  William  Davenant's  Playhouse  to  be  Let  as  "  our  house  inn,  the  Grange."  It  was 
taken  down  in  1853  for  the  site  of  King's  College  Hospital,  see  p.  438.  At  the 
north-east  corner  of  Portugal-street  was  one  of  its  olden  resorts,  Will's  Coffee-house. 
Portugal-street  was  the  last  locality  in  London  where  stocks  lingered;  those  of 
St.  Clement  Danes'  parish  being  removed  from  here  about  1820 :  they  faced  the 
burial-ground,  where  lay  Joe  Miller.  Portugal-street  acquired  a  sort  of  cant  notoriety 
from  the  Court  for  the  Relief  of  Insolvent  Debtors  being  here.     (See  p.  509.) 

POST-OFFICE. 

THE  General  Post-office  has  had  five  locations  since  the  Postmaster  to  Charles  I. 
fixed  his  receiving-house  in  Sherborne-lane,  in  1635,  whence  dates  "  the  settling 
of  the  letter-office  of  England  and  Scotland."  The  office  was  next  removed  to  Cloak-lane, 
Dowgate ;  and  then  to  the  Black  Swan,  Bishopsgate-street.  After  the  Great  Fire,  the 
office  was  shifted  to  the  Black  Pillars,  in  Brydges-street,  Covent-garden ;  thence,  early 
in  the  last  century,  to  the  mansion  of  Sir  Robert  Viner  (close  to  Sherborne-lane),  in 
Lombard-street  (see  pp.  394, 592) ;  and  the  chief  office  to  St.  Martin's-le-Grand  in  1829. 
The  General  Post-office  occupies  the  site  of  the  College  of  St.  Martin's-le-Grand,  at 
the  junction  with  Newgate-street.  It  was  designed  by  Sir  R.  Smirke,  R.A.,  and  was 
built  between  1825  and  1829 :  it  is  insulated,  and  is  externally  of  Portland  stone ; 
400  feet  long,  130  wide,  and  64  high.  It  stands  in  the  three  parishes  of  St.  Anne  and 
St.  Agnes,  St.  Leonard,  and  St.  Michael-le-quern ;  and  131  houses  and  nearly  1000 
inhabitants  were  displaced  to  make  room  for  this  single  edifice.  Several  Roman 
remains  were  found  during  the  progress  of  the  work).  The  St.  Martin's-le- 
Grand  facade  has  three  Ionic  porticoes :  one  at  each  end,  tetrastyle,  of  four  fluted 
columns  j  and  one  in  the  centre,  hexastyle,  of  six  columns  (from  the  temple  of  Minerva 
Polias,  at  Athens) :  it  is  surmounted  by  a  pediment,  in  the  tympanum  of  which  are 
sculptured  the  imperial  arms  of  the  United  Kingdom  j  and  on  the  frieze  is  inscribed, 
"  Geoegio  qtjaeto  eege,  mdcccxxix."  Beneath  are  entrances  to  the  Grand  Public 
Hall,  80  feet  long  by  about  60  wide,  divided  by  Ionic  columns  into  a  centre  and  two 
aisles  j  and  in  the  vaulted  basement  are  the  warm-air  apparatus  and  gasometers. 
North  of  the  Hall  are  the  offices  for  newspapers,  inland  letters,  and  foreign  letters ; 
south  are  the  offices  of  the  London  local  post ;  the  communication  being  by  a  tunnel 
and  railway  under  the  Hall  floor.  In  the  middle  story  north  are  the  offices  for  dead, 
mis-sent,  and  returned  letters  j  south,  secretary's  offices,  board-rooms,  &c.  The  clock, 
over  the  principal  entrance,  was  made  by  Vulliamy ;  the  bob  of  the  pendulum  weighs 
448  lbs.,  the  object  being  to  counteract  the  effect  of  wind  on  the  hands  of  the  dial.  In 
the  eastern  front,  facing  Foster-lane,  the  letter-bags  are  received.  The  mechanical 
contrivances  for  the  despatch  of  the  business  of  the  office  display  great  ingenuity ;  steam- 
power  is  variously  employed  :  two  endless  chains,  worked  by  a  steam-engine,  carry,  in 
rapid  succession,  a  series  of  shelves,  each  holding  four  or  five  men  and  their  letter-bags, 
which  are  thus  raised  to  various  parts  of  the  building. 

King  James  II.  has  the  credit  of  having  established  something  like  an  organized  foreign  post :  when 
a  man  could  more  speedily  receive  a  reply  to  a  letter  sent  to  Madrid  than  he  could  to  one  despatched  to 
Ireland  or  Scotland.  The  home  post  was  in  the  hands  of  carriers,  and  also  of  pedestrian  wayfarers : 
and  the  former  even  could  not  convey  a  note  to  the  North,  and  bring  an  answerback,  under  two  months 
at  the  very  earliest.  Witherings,  one  of  the  chief  postmasters  of  Charles  I.'s  days,  reformed  this  abuse. 
He  established  a  running-post,  as  it  was  called,  between  England  and  Scotland,  the  riders  pushing 
forward  night  and  day;  and  it  was  hoped,  if  the  thing  was  not  actually  accomplished  at  the  time,  that 
the  writer  of  a  letter  from  London  to  Edinburgh  would  receive  a  reply  within  a  week!    When  this 


POST-OFFICE.  689 


running1,  or  rather  riding,  post  was  established,  very  sanguine  was  Witherings.  "  If  the  post,"  he  said, 
"  be  punctually  paid,  the  news  will  come  sooner  than  thought."  He  considered  that  news  which  passed 
from  Edinburgh  to  London  in  three  days  and  nights,  by  relays  of  horses,  whose  swinging  trot  never 
ceased,  was  outstripping  thought. — Athenaeum. 

The  arrangements  for  the  Foreign  Mails  in  the  present  day  show,  in  a  forcible  man- 
ner, the  wonderful  extent  of  British  commerce  and  relationships.  Here  are  depart- 
ments for  Austria,  Baden,  Bavaria,  France,  Norway,  Denmark,  and  the  most  northern 
latitudes ;  the  Brazils,  Chili,  the  Equator,  Spain,  Sardinia,  Switzerland,  United  States 
of  America,  North  America,  the  various  districts  of  India,  Australia,  &c.  Here  arrange- 
ments are  made  for  the  overland  Indian  and  other  mails.  The  letters,  newspapers,  and 
books  are  secured  in  cases  of  sheet-iron,  which,  when  full,  are  carefully  soldered  up  and 
inclosed  in  wooden  chests,  which  are  branded  with  crosses  of  red  or  black,  and  marked 
with  the  name  of  the  district,  city,  &c,  at  which  its  arrival  is  awaited.  Each  of  the 
boxes  referred  to  weighs,  when  filled  with  letters  and  papers,  about  86  lbs.,  and  the 
ordinary  Australian  mail,  exclusive  of  the  portion  sent  overland,  generally  consists  of 
480  boxes  of  books  and  newspapers,  and  100  boxes  of  letters — in  all  580  boxes.  These 
would  weigh  altogether  49,880  lbs.,  equal  to  nearly  twenty-two  tons  and  a  half. 

The  Mails  were  originally  conveyed  on  horseback  and  in  light  carts,  until  1784, 
when  mail-coaches  were  substituted  by  Mr.  Palmer.  The  first  mail-coach  left  the 
Three  Kings  yard,  Piccadilly,  for  Bristol,  Aug.  24th,  1784.  The  speed  of  the  mails 
was  at  once  increased  from  three  and  a  half  to  more  than  six  miles  an  hour,  and  sub- 
sequently still  greater  acceleration  was  effected.  About  the  year  1818,  Mr.  Macadam's 
improved  system  of  road-making  began  to  be  of  great  survice  to  the  Post-office,  by 
enabling  the  mails  to  be  much  accelerated.  Their  speed  was  gradually  increased  to 
ten  miles  an  hour,  and  even  more ;  until,  in  the  case  of  the  Devonport  mail,  the  journey 
of  216  miles,  including  stoppages,  was  punctually  performed  in  twenty-one  hours  and 
fourteen  minutes.  In  1830,  upon  the  opening  of  the  line  between  Liverpool  and 
Manchester,  the  mails  were  for  the  first  time  conveyed  by  railway.  In  1835  Lieu- 
tenant Waghorn  commenced  transmission  to  India,  by  the  direct  route  through  the 
Mediterranean  and  over  the  Isthmus  of  Suez,  a  line  of  communication  subsequently 
extended  to  China  and  Australia.  In  1859  the  distance  over  which  mails  were  con- 
veyed by  mail-coaches,  railways,  foot-messengers,  and  steam-packets  was  about  133,000 
miles  per  day,  this  being  about  3000  miles  more  than  in  the  year  ending  1857.  In 
the  year  1859  the  whole  distance  traversed  by  the  various  mails  was  thirty-seven 
millions,  five  hundred  and  forty -five  thousand  miles!  The  annual  procession  of  the 
mail-coaches  on  the  birthday  of  George  III.  (June  4)  was  once  a  metropolitan  sight 
which  the  king  loved  to  see  from  the  windows  of  Buckingham  House.  The  letters  are 
now  conveyed  to  the  railways  in  omnibuses,  nine  of  which  are  sometimes  filled  by  one 
n'ght's  mail  at  one  railway.  In  1839  was  invented  the  travelling  post-office,  in  which 
clerks  sort  the  letters  during  the  railway  journey,  and  the  guard  ties  in  and  exchanges 
the  letter-bags,  without  stopping  the  train.  Four  miles  an  hour  was  the  common  rate 
of  the  first  mail-carts;  a  railway  mail-train  now  averages  twenty -four  miles  an  hour; 
while,  between  certain  stations  on  certain  lines,  a  speed  of  fifty  miles  an  hour  is  attained. 
By  the  Pneumatic  Despatch  the  mail-bags  are  blown  through  the  tube  in  iron  cars  in 
about  one  minute,  the  usual  time  occupied  by  the  mail  carts  being  about  ten  minutes. 
Persons  have  been  conveyed  through  the  tube,  and  returned  by  vacuum,  without  having 
experienced  the  slightest  discomfort. 

The  Rates  of  Postage  varied  according  to  distance  until  December  5th,  1839,  when 
the  uniform  rate  of  4d.  was  tried ;  and  January  10th,  1840,  was  commenced  the  uniform 
rate  of  Id.  per  letter  of  half  an  ounce  weight,  &c.  The  Government  received  2000 
plans  for  a  new  system,  and  adopted  that  of  Mr.  Kowland  Hill ;  but  not  until  the 
change  had  been  some  years  agitated  by  a  Post  Magazine  established  for  the  purpose. 
Among  the  opponents  of  the  uniform  penny  stamp  was  the  Secretary  of  the  Post-office, 
who  maintained  that  the  revenue  would  not  recover  itself  for  half  a  century,  and 
that  the  poor  would  not  write.  Lord  Lichfield  pointed  to  the  absurdity  of  supposing 
that  letters,  the  conveyance  of  which  cost  on  an  average  twopence-halfpenny  each, 
could  ever  be  carried  for  a  penny  and  leave  a  profit  on  the  transaction  !  The  uniform 
rate  was  pronounced  by  Colonel  Maberly  to  be  "  impracticable ;"  and  as  to  pre-payment, 
he  was  sure  the  public  would  object  to  it,  however  low  the  rate  might  be  !     And  a  Scotch 

X  Y 


690  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

journalist  ridiculed  the  idea  of  persons  having  to  stick  pieces  of  paper  upon  their  letters ! 
The  stamped  postage-covers  came  into  use  May  6,  1840  ;*  hut  the  idea  of  a  prepaid 
envelope  is  as  old  as  the  time  of  Louis  XIV.  A  pictorial  envelope  was  designed  by  W. 
Mulready,  R.A.,  but  little  used.  A  fancied  value  is  attached  to  this  envelope ;  for  we 
have  seen  advertised  in  the  Times : — "  The  Mulready  Postage  Envelope — For  sale,  an 
Indian-proof  impression.  One  of  six,  from  the  original  block  engraved  by  John  Thomp- 
son in  the  year  1840,  price  20  guineas."  The  postage  label-stamps  were  first  used  iu 
1841 ;  perforated,  1854. 

Number  of  Letters.— The  greatest  number  of  letters,  under  the  old  system,  ever 
known  to  pass  through  the  General  Post-office  in  one  day,  was  received  there  on  July 
15,  1839,  viz.  90,000 ;  the  amount  of  postage  being  40504\,  a  sum  greater  by  5304\ 
than  any  hitherto  collected  in  one  day.  In  the  third  week  of  February  the  number  of 
letters  is  usually  highest.  The  ordinary  daily  average  is  400,000  letters ;  on  19th 
August,  1 853,  it  reached  630,000.  The  number  of  letters  which  pass  through  the 
Post-office  in  a  year  is  nearly  400,000,000.  In  1864,  679,084,822  letters  passed  through 
the  post,  being  an  increase  of  37,000,000  over  the  previous  year ;  and  in  the  same 
period  the  number  of  book-packets  and  newspapers  which  were  transmitted  rose  to 
over  50,000,000,  or  7,000,000  more  than  in  1863. 

"  It  is  estimated  that  there  lies,  from  time  to  time,  in  the  Dead-Letter  Office,  undergoing  the  process 
of  finding  owners,  some  11,0004.  annually,  in  cash  alone.  In  July,  1847,  for  instance — only  a  two  months* 
accumulation — the  post-haste  of  4658  letters,  all  containing  property,  was  arrested  by  the  bad  super- 
scriptions of  the  writers.  They  were  consigned — after  a  searching  inquest  upon  each  by  that  efficient 
coroner,  the  "  blind  clerk" — to  the  post-office  Morgue.  There  were  bank-notes  of  the  value  of  10104., 
and  money-orders  for  4074.  12s.  But  most  of  these  ill-directed  letters  contained  coin  in  small  sums, 
amounting  to  3104.  9».  5d.  On  the  17th  of  July,  1847,  there  were  lying  in  the  Dead-Letter  Office  bills  of 
exchange  for  the  immense  sum  of  40,4104.  5».  Id."  (Dickens's  Household  Words,  No.  1.)  The  value  of 
property  contained  in  missing  letters,  during  twelve  months,  is  about  200,0004. 

There  are  employed  in  the  General  Post-office,  including  the  London  District  letter- 
carriers,  but  exclusive  of  the  receivers,  2500  persons,  in  different  offices : — Secretary's, 
Accountant's,  Receiver's,  Dead-Letter,  Money- Order,  Inland,  and  London  District 
Offices.  For  more  than  half  a  century  there  were  only  two  secretaries  to  the  Post- 
office,  Sir  Francis  Freeling  and  Colonel  Maberly.  Sir  Francis  was  brought  up  in  the 
Post-office,  had  performed  the  humblest  as  well  as  the  highest  duties  of  the  department, 
and  was  a  protege  of  Mr.  Palmer,  the  great  Post-office  reformer.  He  was  succeeded 
by  Lieut.-Col.  Maberly,  M.P.,  who  retired  in  1854,  when  Mr.  Rowland  Hill,  the  origi- 
nator of  the  penny-post,  was  appointed  secretary  j  his  services  were  rewarded  in  1846 
by  a  public  testimonial  of  13,3604". ;  Knighthood  and  grant.  It  is  singular  that  all  postal 
reformers  have  been  unacquainted  with  the  department  which  they  have  revolutionized. 

The  net  Revenue  of  the  Post  Office  to  the  end  of  the  year  1865  was  1,482,522?.  The  number  of  effec- 
tive persons  employed  was  25,082;  of  pensioners,  1274;  salaries,  wages,  allowances,  &c,  1,295,1534.; 
postage  stamps,  22,0644. ;  stationery,  32,3964. ;  buildings,  repairs,  &c,  75,3314. ;  conveyance  by  coaches, 
carts,  &c,  140,5174. ;  by  railways,  528,2204. ;  of  mails  by  private  ships  and  by  packets,  &c.,  796,3974. ;  over 
the  isthmuses  of  Suez  and  Panama,  with  salaries  of  Admiralty  agents,  &c.,  28,7864. ;  and  for  mail-bags 
and  boxes,  tolls,  &c,  22,2204. ;  a  total  for  conveyance  of  1,516,4424. 

The  Penny  Post  was  originally  projected  by  Robert  Murray,  a  milliner,  of  the 
Company  of  Clothworkers ;  and  William  Dockwra,  a  sub-searcher  in  the  Customs.  It 
was  commenced  as  a  foot-post,  in  1680,  with  four  deliveries  a  day.  These  projectors, 
however,  quarrelled :  Murray  set  up  his  office  at  Hall's  Coffee-house,  in  Wood-street ; 

*  But  a  Stockholm  paper,  The  FrysHHen,  says,  that  so  far  back  as  1823,  a  Swedish  officer,  Lieutenant 
Trekenber,  petitioned  the  Chamber  of  Nobles  to  propose  to  the  Government  to  issue  stamped  paper 
specially  destined  to  serve  for  envelopes  for  prepaid  letters ;  but  the  proposition,  though  warmly  sup- 
ported as  likely  to  be  convenient  to  the  public  and  the  post-office,  was  rejected  by  a  large  majority. 
For  ten  years  England  alone  made  use  of  the  postage  stamp.  Prance  adopted  ic  on  the  1st  of  January, 
1849 ;  the  Tour  and  Taxis  Office  introduced  it  into  Germany  in  the  year  1850;  and  it  is  now  in  use  in 
69  countries  in  Europe,  9  in  Africa,  5  in  Asia,  36  in  America,  and  10  in  Oceania.  About  50  postage 
stamps  may  be  counted  in  the  United  States  alone.  Van  Diemen's  Land  possesses  its  own;  also  Hayti, 
Natal,  Honolulu,  and  Liberia.  A  very  curious  little  book  gives  an  account,  in  the  form  of  a  catalogue, 
of  the  postage  stamps  of  all  nations.  Of  these  there  are  more  than  1200  varieties.  Not  only  have  the 
colonies  of  this  and  other  countries,  as  the  Bahamas  and  Iceland,  their  separate  stamps,  but  in  America 
many  cities  also,  such  as  New  Orleans  and  Nashville.  No  effigy  is  so  frequently  on  postage  stamps  as 
that  of  Queen  Victoria.  Some  of  the  colonies,  however,  have  indulged  in  a  little  variety.  The  New 
Brunswick  17  cents  stamp  bears  on  it  the  figure  of  the  Prince  of  Wales  in  a  Scotch  dress.  In  the  same 
colony  a  stamp  was  prepared  having  on  it  the  effigy  of  Mr.  O'Connell,  the  local  postmaster-general, 
but  this  appears  not  to  have  been  issued. 


POULTRY.  691 


and  Dockwra,  at  the  Penny  Post-house  in  Lime-street,  formerly  the  mansion  of  Sir 
Robert  Abdy.  But  this  was  considered  an  infringement  on  the  right  of  the  Duke  of 
York,  on  whom  the  Post-office  revenue  had  been  settled  j  and  in  a  suit  to  try  the 
question,  a  verdict  was  given  against  Dockwra.  He  was  compensated  by  a  pension, 
and  appointed  Comptroller  of  the  Penny  Post,  but  was  dismissed  in  1698.  The  first 
office  was  in  Cornhill,  near  the  'Change  :  parcels  were  received.  In  1708,  one  Povey 
set  up  the  "  Halfpenny  Carriage"  private  post,  which  was  soon  suppressed  by  the  Post- 
office  authorities.  They  continued  to  convey  parcels  down  to  1765,  when  the  weight 
was  limited  to  four  ounces.  The  postage  was  paid  in  advance  down  to  1794.  In  1801 
the  Penny  Post  became  a  Twopenny  Post ;  and  the  postage  was  advanced  to  three- 
pence beyond  the  limits  of  London,  Southwark,  and  Westminster ;  but  in  1840  they 
were  consolidated  with  the  Penny  General  Post. 

The  Money-Order  Office,  a  distinct  branch  of  the  Post-office,  is  a  handsome  new 
edifice  on  the  west  side  of  St.  Martin's-le-Grand.  Money-orders  are  issued  by  millions 
during  the  year,  in  numbers  and  amount,  and  have  considerably  added  by  commission 
to  the  Post-office  revenue. 


POULTBT. 

THE  street  extending  from  the  east  end  of  Cheapside  to  Mansion-house-street  was 
anciently  occupied  by  the  poulterers'  stalls  of  Stocks  Market,  who  in  Stow's 
time  had  "but  lately  departed  from  thence  into  other  streets"  (Gracechurch-street 
and  Newgate-market).  In  Scalding-alley  (now  St.  Mildred's-court)  was  a  large  house 
where  the  poulterers  scalded  their  poultry  for  sale.  It  was  also  called  Coneyhope,  or 
Conning-shop,  or  Cony-shop,  lane,  from  the  sign  of  three  conies  (rabbits)  hanging 
over  a  poulterer's  stall  at  the  lane  end.  Here  was  built  the  chapel  of  St.  Mildred, 
called  in  old  records,  Ecclesia  Mildredce  super  WalbrooTce,  vel  in  Pulletria ;  una  cum 
capella  heatee  MaricB  de  Conyhop  eidem  annexa :  the  site  is  now  occupied  by  the 
church  of  St.  Mildred  in  the  Poultry,  described  at  p.  192. 

On  the  same  side,  between  Nos.  31  and  32,  was  the  oultry  Compter,  a  Sheriff's 
prison,  taken  down  in  1817,  and  Poultry  Chapel  built  upon  the  site.  To  the  Compter 
were  sent  persons  committed  by  the  Lord  Mayor;  and  to  the  prisoners  was  given  the 
broken  victuals  from  the  Mansion-house  tables.  "  Doctor  Lamb,"  the  conjuror,  died 
in  this  prison,  Jan.  13,  1628,  after  being  chased  and  pelted  by  the  mob  across  Moor- 
fields  ;  for  which  outrage  the  City  was  fined  6000£.  Here  died  six  Separatists  who  had 
been  committed  by  Bishop  Bonner  for  hearing  the  Scriptures  read  in  their  own  houses. 
John  Dunton,  the  bookseller,  in  1688,  on  the  day  the  Prince  of  Orange  entered 
London,  transferred  himself  and  his  sign  of  the  Black  Baven  opposite  the  Poultry 
Compter,  where  he  prospered  for  ten  years.  The  prison  was,  in  1806,  in  a  ruinous 
condition ;  but  the  court  was  cheerful,  "  having  water  continually  running :"  it  was 
the  only  prison  in  England  that  had  a  ward  exclusively  for  Jews ;  there  were  "  the 
Bell,"  and  two  other  rooms,  "very  strong,  studded  with  nails,"  for  felons.  The 
debtors  were  allowed  to  walk  upon  the  leads  with  the  gaoler. 

Hatton  (1708)  calls  the  Poultry  "  a  broad  street  of  very  tall  buildings."  At  No.  22 
lived  the  booksellers  Dilly,  famed  for  their  hospitality  to  literary  men:  here  Dr. 
Johnson  first  met  Wilkes;  and  Boswell,  Cumberland,  Knox,  and  Isaac  Reed  often 
met.  Dilly  was  the  first  publisher  of  Boswell's  Life  of  Johnson;  the  firm  was  also 
noted  for  the  works  of  Doddridge,  Watts,  Lardner,  &c.  At  No.  31  lived  Vernor  and 
Hood,  the  publishers  of  Bloomfield's  poems ;  and  the  Beauties  of  England  and  Wales, 
an  unequal  and  unsatisfactory  work.  Hood  was  the  father  of  Thomas  Hood,  the  wit 
and  humorist,  who  was  born  in  the  Poultry  in  1798 :  "  there  was  a  dash  of  ink  in 
my  blood  (writes  Tom)  ;  my  father  wrote  two  novels,  and  my  brother  was  decidedly  of 
a,  literary  turn." 

No.  25,  Poultry,  was  the  old  King's  Head  Tavern,  where  Charles  II.  stopped,  on 
the  day  of  his  restoration,  to  salute  the  landlady.  It  was,  to  the  last,  noticed  for  its 
"  lively  turtle."  In  the  Beaufoy  Collection,  in  the  Corporation  Library,  are  Tokens  of 
the  Bose  Tavern,  in  the  Poultry,  mentioned  by  Ned  Ward  (London  Spy,  1709)  as 

y  r  2 


692  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

famous  for  its  wine ;  the  Three  Cranes,  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  hut  rehuilt  j  and 
the  Exchange  Tavern,  1671,  with,  on  the  ohverse,  a  view  of  the  Royal  Exchange 
quadrangle.  At  the  Three  Cranes  met  "the  Mendicants'  Convivial  Club,"  sub- 
sequently removed  to  Dyot-street,  St.  Giles's. 

FEIMIt  OSS-SILL 

WAS  named  from  the  primroses  that  formerly  grew  here  in  great  plenty,  when  it 
was  comparatively  an  untrodden  hillock,  in  the  fields  between  Tottenham  Court 
and  Hampstead.  It  has  also  been  called  Green  Berry-Hill,  from  the  names  of  three 
persons  executed  for  the  murder  of  Sir  Edmund  Berry  Godfrey,  whose  body  was  found 
here,  Oct.  17,  1678.  On  the  south  side  of  the  hill,  during  a  summer  drought,  may  be 
traced  a  green  line,  which  was  once  a  ditch,  extending  from  east  to  the  ground  west- 
ward now  occupied  by  the  New-River  Reservoir.  In  that  ditch,  near  the  site  of  the 
Waterworks  steam-engine  chimney-shaft,  was  found  Godfrey's  body,  as  thus  described 
in  a  letter  written  in  1681  :— 

"  As  to  the  place,  it  was  in  a  ditch  on  the  south  side  of  Primrose  Hill,  surrounded  with  divers  closes, 
fenced  in  with  high  mounds  and  ditches ;  no  roads  near,  only  some  deep,  dirtyl|anes,  made  only  for  the 
convcniency  of  driving  cows  in  and  out  of  the  ground ;  and  those  very  lanes  not  coming  near  five  hun- 
dred yards  of  the  place,  and  impossible  for  any  man  on  horseback  with  a  dead  corpse  before  him  at 
midnight  to  approach,  unless  gaps  were  made  in  the  mounds,  as  the  constable  and  his  assistants  found 
by  experience  when  they  came  on  horseback  thither." 

At  the  trial,  before  the  Lord  Chief- Justice  Scroggs,  Feb.  10,  1679,  the  infamous  wit- 
nesses, Oates,  Prance,  and  Bedloe,  declared  that  the  unfortunate  magistrate,  Godfrey, 
"  was  waylaid  and  inveigled  into  the  Palace  (Somerset  House),  under  the  pretence  of 
keeping  the  peace  between  two  servants  who  were  fighting  in  the  yard;  that  he  was 
there  strangled,  his  neck  broke,  and  his  own  sword  run  through  his  body ;  that  he  was 
kept  four  days  before  they  ventured  to  remove  him ;  at  length  his  corpse  was  first 
carried  in  a  sedan-chair  to  Soho,  and  then  on  a  horse  to  Primrose  Hill,"  as  represented 
on  one  of  the  several  medals  struck  as  memorials  of  the  mysterious  murder.  The  body 
was  carried  to  "  the  White  House,"  then  the  farm-house  of  the  estate  of  Chalcott's, 
abbreviated  to  Chalc's,  and  then  corrupted  to  Chalk  Farm,  which  was  long  a  tavern 
noted  for  duels  fought  here.  The  summit  of  the  hill  is  206  feet  above  the  Trinity 
high-water  mark  of  the  Thames.     (See  Pbimbose-hill  Paek,  p.  650.) 

Primrose  Hill  is  a  portion  of  the  land  bequeathed  by  "  sundry  devout  men  of  London" 
to  St.  James's  Hospital,  but  granted  by  Henry  VI.  to  Eton  College,  surrendered  to 
Henry  VIII.,  but  again  returned  to  the  College,  who,  a  few  years  since,  transferred  it 
to  the  Government  in  exchange  for  a  piece  of  crown-land  near  Windsor;  which  was 
done  principally  through  the  exertions  of  Mr.  Hume,  M.P.,  and  an  Association  of  per- 
sons formed  for  securing  the  ground  to  the  public.  In  the  ridge  adjoining  is  the  Prim- 
rose Hill  Tunnel  of  the  London  and  North- Western  Railway ;  its  extent  is  3493  feet, 
or  more  than  five-eighths  of  a  mile :  in  tunnelling  near  the  base  of  the  hill,  fossil 
nautili  were  discovered. 

The  View  from  Primrose  Sill  comprises  not  only  London,  with  its  masses  of  houses  and  hundreds 
of  spires,  but  also  the  once  rural  retreats  of  Hampstead  and  Highgate,  now  almost  become  portions  of 
the  great  town  itself.  Opposite  is  St.  John's  Wood,  and  in  the  rear  of  St.  John's  Wood  the  graceful 
spire  of  Harrow-on-the-Hill;  nearer  the  spectator  are  the  close  streets  of  Portland  Town,  and  the 
elegant  domain  of  Regent's  Park.  The  eye,  after  resting  upon  St.  Paul's  as  the  nucleus  oi  the  vast 
city,  glances  over  Islington  and  Holloway  to  the  undulating  hills  of  Kent  and  Surrey  j  and  upon  a  clear 
day  may  be  descried  the  bright  roofs  of  fie  Crystal  Palace  at  Sydenham. 

PRISONS. 

UPWARDS  of  30,000  criminals  and  other  persons  (exclusive  of  debtors)  are  stated  to 
pass  through  the  metropolitan  gaols,  houses  of  correction,  bridewells,  and  peni- 
tentiaries, every  year.  The  number  of  prisons  is  smaller  than  half  a  century  since ; 
but  the  prisons  themselves  are  of  much  larger  extent.  In  1796  there  were  eighteen 
prisons  in  London,  which  in  1854  had  been  reduced  one-third.  About  the  year  1849 
Mr.  Dixon  wrote  in  the  Daily  News  an  account  of  the  chief  prisons,  which  was  re- 
printed in  1850 ;  and  Mr.  Henry  Mayhew's  work  on  the  Criminal  Prisons,  1855,  was 


PEISONS.  693 


completed  in  1863.  Mr.  Dixon  tells  us  that,  "  All  the  great  London  gaols  are  pro- 
vided with  stands  of  arms,  by  which  men  could  be  armed  in  a  few  minutes ;  beside  s 
signal- rockets,  which  would  instantly  convey  intelligence  to  the  Horse  Guards,  and  to 
the  barracks  in  St.  James's  and  Hyde  Parks,  of  any  attack  ;  so  that  2000  or  3000 
men  could  be  concentrated  at  any  prison  in  half  an  hour." 

Bobough  Cosiptee,  Mill-lane,  Tooley-street  (solely  for  debtors  from  the  Borough 
of  Southwark),  was  originally  part  of  the  church  of  St.  Margaret,  at  St.  Margaret's 
Hill,  where  the  prison  site  is  denoted  by  Counter  (Compter)  street. 

Bridewell,  Bridge-street,  Blackfriars,  the  prison  taken  down  in  1S62,  is  described 
at  pp.  62-65. 

Beixton  County  House  of  Coeeection,  Surrey,  was  built  in  1820,  for  prisoners 
sentenced  to  hard-labour.  The  plan  of  the  prison  is  octagonal,  with  a  chapel  in  the 
centre.  The  prisoners  are  separated  into  classes;  here  have  been  imprisoned  at  one 
time  340.  The  treadmill,  adapted  from  an  old  contrivance,  by  Cubitt,  an  engineer, 
of  Lowestoft,  was  first  set  up  at  Brixton  Prison  in  1817;  from  its  severity  of  applica- 
tion it  became  very  unpopular,  and  "  Brixton"  became  a  low  cant  word. 

City  Peison,  Camden-road,  Holloway,  is  built  upon  land  originally  purchased  by 
the  Corporation  for  a  cemetery,  during  the  raging  of  the  cholera  in  1832.  The  extent 
is  10  acres  within  the  boundary-wall,  18  feet  high.  The  prison,  designed  by  Bunning, 
is  built  in  the  castellated  style,  has  fortified  gateways,  and  is  embattled  throughout  the 
six  radiating  wings;  the  number  of  cells  is  436;  the  building  is  fire-proof;  the  venti- 
lation is  by  a  shaft  146  feet  high ;  the  water-supply  from  an  Artesian  well,  319  feet 
deep.  The  prisoners  are  variously  employed ;  and  the  discipline  is  neither  entire  sepa- 
ration nor  association,  but  the  middle  course.  The  prison  was  first  opened  Oct.  6, 
1852.     Cost,  about  100,000/. 

Cleekenwell  Beidewell. — There  were  formerly  two  gaols  in  Clerkenwcll,  adjoining 
each  other ;  the  oldest  was  the  New  Prison,  or  Bridewell,  built  by  the  Justices  in  1615, 
upon  the  site  of  "  the  Cage,"  for  the  punishment  and  employment  of  rogues  and  vaga- 
bonds of  Middlesex.  On  Shrove  Tuesday,  1617,  the  turbulent  London  'prentices  "  had 
a  cast  at  the  New  Bridewell."  Between  1622  and  1626,  many  popish  priests  were 
imprisoned  here,  among  whom  was  Collington,  whose  release  was  granted  at  the  in- 
stance of  Count  Gondomar.  A  friend  of  the  wife  of  Pepys  was  imprisoned  here  in  1661 ; 
and  the  Diary  tells  us  that  he  went,  December  11,  with  his  "wife  by  coach  to  Clerk- 
enwcll to  see  Mrs.  Margaret  Penny,  who  is  at  school  there,"  undergoing  correction,  of 
course.  On  Shrove  Tuesday,  1668,  a  mob  of  the  London  'prentices  again  assailed  the 
New  Prison,  and  released  a  number  of  their  riotous  associates  imprisoned  there.  In 
1679  the  greatest  part  of  the  prison  was  burnt  down,  suspected  to  be  the  wicked 
work  of  a  papist  prisoner.     About  1630,  Taylor,  the  water  poet,  noticed  the  prison  as 

"  A  jayle  for  hereticks, 
For  Brownists,  Familists,  and  Schismaticks." 

In  1651  several  enthusiasts  were  committed  here  for  blasphemy.  In  1669,  Richard 
Baxter,  the  Nonconformist,  was  confined  here  for  preaching  in  his  own  house  at  Acton. 
The  honest  jailor  allowed  him  to  walk  in  the  garden  at  Clerkenwell,  and  while  here  he 
published  the  second  part  of  his  Directions  to  the  Converted.  Here,  1775,  was  com- 
mitted the  first  person  convicted  of  dog-stealing.  This  bridewell  was  taken  down 
about  1804.  .  (-See  New  Peison,  p.  699.) 

Clink,  The,  Bankside,  was  named  from  being  the  prison  of  the  "  Clink  Liberty," 
in  Southwark,  belonging  to  the  Bishops  of  Winchester ;  and  was  used  in  old  time  "  for 
such  as  would  brabble,  frey,  or  break  the  peace  on  the  said  bank,  or  in  the  brothel- 
houses."  (Stow.)  About  1745,  the  old  prison,  at  the  corner  of  Maid-lane,  was 
abandoned,  and  a  dwelling  on  the  Bankside  appropriated  in  its  stead ;  this  was  burnt 
in  the  riots  of  1780,  and  no  other  prison  has  since  been  established  for  the  liberty. 

The  palace  of  the  Bishops  of  Winchester,  at  Bankside,  was  made  a  prison  during 
the  Civil  Wars :  Sir  Kenehn  Digby,  while  confined  here  as  a  Royalist,  wrote  his  refu- 
tation of  Browne's  Religio  Medici. 

Coldbath  Fields  Peison,  ob  House  of  Coeeection,  is  for  criminals  sentenced 


694  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

to  short  terms  of  imprisonment,  and  is  supported  out  of  the  county  (Middlesex)  rates. 
The  prisoners  are  compelled  to  labour  as  a  punishment  and  towards  their  support. 
The  prison  is  named  from  the  Coldbath  well,  the  site  of  which  is  now  occupied  by  the 
treadwheel.  The  original  House  of  Correction  was  built  in  the  reign  of  James  I., 
the  City  authorities  giving  5001.  towards  it,  for  keeping  their  poor  employed.  The 
present  gaol  was  erected  by  the  county,  in  1794,  on  the  eastern  slope  of  the  Fleet, 
on  Gardner's  Farm,  or  Field,  the  ground  being  considerably  raised ;  architect,  Charles 
Middleton ;  cost,  65,656£.,  providing  for  only  232  prisoners,  in  separate  cells,  upon  the 
plan  of  John  Howard.  It  was  opened  in  1794,  but  soon  got  into  disrepute ;  "  men, 
women,  and  boys  were  indiscriminately  herded  together  in  this  chief  county  prison, 
without  employment  or  wholesome  control ;  while  smoking,  gaming,  singing,  and  every 
species  of  brutalizing  conversation,  tended  to  the  unlimited  advancement  of  crime  and 
pollution."  (Chesterton's  Revelations  of  Prison  Life).  The  dungeons  were  composed 
of  bricks  and  stones,  without  fire  or  any  furniture  but  straw,  and  no  other  barrier 
against  the  weather  but  iron  grates.  The  Minister  Pitt,  in  the  year  1799,  visited 
the  prison,  and  found  the  prisoners  without  fire  or  candles,  denied  all  society, 
exposed  to  the  cold  and  rain,  allowed  to  breathe  the  air  out  of  their  cells  only  for  an  hour, 
&c. ;  Pitt  ironically  supposing  that  those  who  managed  the  prison  "  kindly  subjected 
the  prisoners  to  so  much  pain  in  this  world,  that  less  punishment  might  be  inflicted  on 
them  in  the  next."     Coleridge  and  Southey,  in  the  Devil's  Walk,  sung : 

"As  he  pass'd  through  Coldbath  Fields  he  looked 

At  a  solitary  cell, 
And  he  was  well  pleased,  for  it  gave  him  a  hint 

For  improving  his  prisons  in  hell ; 
He  saw  a  turnkey  tie  a  thief  s  hands, 

With  a  cordial  tug  and  a  jerk; 
*  Nimbly,'  quoth  he, '  a  man's  fingers  can  move 

When  his  heart  is  in  his  work.' " 

Much  scandalous  mismanagement  continued  so  late  as  1829.  Captain  Chesterton,  in  his  Evidence 
before  the  Magistrates,  stated  that  "  on  becoming  Governor  of  the  House  of  Correction  he  found  it  usual 
to  fleece  the  prisoners  of  every  farthing  they  possessed  or  could  procure  from  their  friends — all  the  officers 
having  paid  for  their  posts,  and  being  eager  to  indemnify  themselves.  If  a  prisoner  had  no  money  he 
was  kicked  and  buffeted  in  the  most  merciless  manner.  The  visit  of  a  magistrate  was  always  known 
and  prepared  for  beforehand.  Every  cell  was  a  depot  for  contraband  articles,  especially  for  wine  and 
spirits.    The  prisoners  slept  three  in  a  cell." 

The  mixed  system  means  silence  by  day  and  sleep  at  night  in  separate  cells.  The  mark  system  means 
substitution  of  a  labour  sentence  for  time  sentences;  instead  of  a  sentence  to  fourteen  years'  imprison- 
ment, the  culprit  would  be  sentenced  to  perform  a  certain  quantity  of  labour,  represented  by  marks 
instead  of  money;  the  criminal  to  be  liberated  when  the  prescribed  task  was  accomplished,  whether  he 
occupied  one  year  or  twenty  about  it.  Here  272  persons  were  employed  to  superintend  682  prisoners; 
yet  even  this  large  staff  were  found  insufficient  to  prevent  all  intercourse  among  the.  criminals.  The 
necessity  for  punishment  perpetually  arose.  There  were  no  less  than  6794  punishments  inflicted  for 
talking  in  a  single  year. 

The  governor  Aris,  formerly  a  baker  in  Clerkenwell,  was  denounced  as  "  a  reputed 
tyrant  and  torturer  j"  and  in  1800,  a  riot  took  place  in  the  prison,  which  the  Clerken- 
well volunteers  suppressed.  Volunteers  from  the  adjacent  parishes  then  watched  the 
prison,  and  the  Clerkenwell  cavalry  paraded  round  the  outer  gates  for  several  nights 
to  keep  the  mob  off.  Aris  was  dismissed  from  his  office,  and  he  died  in  poverty.  In 
1830,  several  persons  were  confined  here  for  selling  unstamped  newspapers,  when  an 
attack  being  meditated  to  liberate  the  "  political  martyrs,"  the  prison  was  put  in  a 
state  of  defence  :  "  we  received,"  says  the  late  governor,  Colonel  Chesterton,  "  in  addi- 
tion to  what  we  already  possessed,  from  the  Tower,  25  carbines,  2000  rounds  of  ball- 
cartridge,  and  1500  hand-grenades;"  scaling  ladders  were  manufactured,  and  the 
governor's  house  was  fortified,  but  no  attack  was  made.  In  1834  the  silent  system 
was  introduced,  and  914  prisoners  were  suddenly  apprised  that  "  all  intercommunica- 
tion by  word,  gesture,  or  sign  was  prohibited."  The  treadwheel  had  been  previously 
introduced,  12,000  feet  of  ascent  being  the  amount  of  the  daily  "  hard  labour"  sentence, 
which  being  injurious  to  health,  was  limited  to  1200  feet.  The  picking  of  oakum  or 
coir  is  enforced  here,  the  silent  associated  system  is  continued,  and  the  prison  "  has 
the  thorough  aspect  of  an  old  English  jail." 

The  prison  uniform  is  coarse  woollen  blue  cloth  for  misdemeanants,  and  dark  grey  for  felons :  each 
prisoner  is  known  only  by  the  number  on  his  back ;  and  a  star  upon  the  arm  denotes  good  conduct. 
The  workshop  is  an  interesting  scene ;  but  the  oakum-picking-room,  with  its  felon  faces,  is  a  painful 
sight :  and  the  treadwheel,  employing  320  prisoners  at  a  time,  is  another  repulsive  feature.    Carpenters, 


PRISONS.  695 


tinmen,  blacksmiths,  and  other  handicraftsmen  work  here;  and  in  the  ground  is  the  upper  part  of  a 
vessel,  with  masts  and  rigging',  for  teaching  boys  the  sea-service ;  there  are  also  schools  and  reforma- 
tory visits.    (See  Dixon's  London  Prisons,  1850.) 

Large  additions  have  been  made  to  this  prison.  In  1830,  a  vagrants'  ward  for  150 
was  added,  then  a  female  ward  for  300 ;  the  gaol  has  proper  accommodation  for 
upwards  of  1500  prisoners,  males  only.  There  were  formerly  six  distinct  treadwheels, 
there  is  now  treadwheel  labour  for  160  prisoners  :  the  mill  grinds  wheat,  and  from  the 
flour  which  it  yields  (about  30  cwt.  daily)  bread  for  the  three  county  prisons  is  made. 
In  1862,  there  were  here  upwards  of  1700  felons,  misdemeanants,  and  vagrants,  and 
sometimes  are  700  or  800  in  excess  of  the  number  of  cells.  The  annual  ordinary 
charge  per  prisoner  has  been  estimated  at  211.  19s.  4d.  Money  received  in  the  year 
for  products  of  the  prisoners'  labour,  1901Z.  3*.  5d. ;  prisoners'  earnings  in  work  for 
the  county,  43001.  18s.  3d. — viz.,  shoemaking,  bricklaying,  and  other  repairs,  tailoring, 
washing,  needlework,  and  painting.  There  are  two  chapels  and  two  chaplains,  two 
schoolmasters,  and  abundance  of  books  of  religious  and  secular  instruction.  The  prison 
is  well  described  in  Pinks's  History  of  Clerkenwell,  1865. 

In  1820  the  Cato-street  conspirators  were  lodged  here  before  being  sent  to  the  Tower.  John  Hunt 
was  imprisoned  here  for  a  libel  on  George  IV.  "  I  sometimes,"  says  Mr.  Bedding,  "  beguiled  an  hour 
with  him  at  chess.  He  had  a  lofty  and  comfortable,  though  small  apartment,  at  the  top  of  the  prison, 
where  the  air  was  excellent.  Towusend,  one  of  the  Bow-street  officers,  was  governor  of  the  prison,  and 
an  excellent  governor  he  made.  John  Hunt  had  the  privilege  of  walking  for  a  couple  of  hours  daily  in 
the  governor's  garden,  for  which  he  alone  was  indebted  to  the  governor  himself."— -Cyrus  Bedding's 
Jiecol  lections. 

In  1863,  the  prison  was  enlarged  by  the  addition  of  326  cells  on  the  separate  system, 
heated,  lighted,  and  ventilated,  and  each  furnished  with  a  bed  or  hammock ;  previously, 
about  250  slept  every  night  on  the  floor  of  a  work-room.  The  wall  circuit  has  also 
been  extended,  so  as  to  inclose  the  piece  of  vacant  ground  facing  the  governor's  house, 
and  this  has  been  rebuilt,  as  well  as  the  lofty  prison  gateway,  with  the  three  sabres 
and  the  conventional  fetters,  a  pair  of  gigantic  knockers,  &c.  The  warders  wear  blue 
uniforms  instead  of  the  gaolers'  habit  as  of  old. 

Fleet  Pbison  is  described  at  pp.  344-346. 

Giltsptjb-stbeet  Compteb,  or  the  City  House  of  Correction,  was  built  by  George 
Dance,  in  1791,  to  supersede  the  wretched  prison  in  Wood-street,  whence  the  prisoners 
were  removed  in  1791 :  it  was  then  only  used  for  debtors,  but  subsequently  for  remands 
and  committals  for  trial,  and  minor  offenders.  The  rear  of  the  prison  abntted  on 
Christ's  Hospital,  and  its  towers  are  visible  from  the  yard :  the  happy  shouts  of  the 
boys  at  play  were  heard  by  the  prisoners,  and  the  balls  often  fell  within  the  prison- 
yards,  as  if  to  remind  the  fallen  inmates  how  much  innocence  they  had  outlived  !  In 
1808  Sheriff  Phillips  described  Giltspur-street,  with  its  corner,  entitled  "  Ludgate" 
(for  citizen  debtors,  clergymen,  proctors,  and  attorneys),  and  the  whole  prison,  as 
greatly  overcrowded  by  the  removal  to  it  of  the  Poultry  Compter  debtors.  The  soli- 
tary confinement  was  in  front  of  the  building,  where,  however,  the  prisoners  could  see 
the  busy  street,  and  the  crowds  to  witness  executions  in  front  of  Newgate.  About  6000 
prisoners  were  annually  committed  to  Giltspur-street ;  but  it  was  one  of  the  worst 
managed  and  least  secure  of  the  metropolitan  prisons,  and  the  escapes  from  it  were  the 
most  frequent.  As  a  proof  of  the  lenity  of  its  management,  it  is  related  that,  on  the 
death  of  Mr.  Teague,  the  humane  governor  of  Giltspur-street  Compter,  in  1841,  nearly 
every  prisoner  wore  a  black  crape  hat-band !  The  prison  was  closed  in  1854,  when 
the  keeper  had  a  retiring  allowance  of  300Z.  a  year  :  it  has  since  been  taken  down. 

HoESEMONGEB-lANE  Gaol,  on  the  south  side  of  Newington  Causeway,  was  built 
upon  the  plan  of  John  Howard,  in  1791-9  (George  Gwilt,  architect),  upon  the  site  of 
a  market-garden.  It  is  a  common  gaol  for  the  county  of  Surrey,  under  the  Sheriff, 
Court  of  Quarter  Sessions,  and  Magistrates,  and  is  for  debtors  and  criminals.  Three 
sides  of  the  prison  quadrangle  are  for  the  confinement  of  felons,  and  one  side  for  debtors, 
the  latter  arranged  in  classes.  Among  several  small  benefactions  to  the  debtors  is  a 
donation  made  to  the  old  White  Lion  Prison  in  Southwark  (mentioned  by  Stow),  by 
Mrs.  Margaret  Symcott,  or  Eleanor  Gwynne,  of  65  penny-loaves,  every  eight  weeks, 
issuing  from  the  Chamberlain's  office.     (Manning  and  Bray's  Surrey,  vol.  iii.  App.— 


696  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

See  I>"NS,  page  458).     The  employments  are  knitting,  netting,  oakum-picking,  lime- 
washing,  and  cleansing  the  gaol :  it  will  contain  about  400  prisoners. 

Upon  the  roof  of  the  north  lodge  were  executed,  on  Feb.  21,  1803,  Colonel  Edward 
Marcus  Despard  and  six  associates,  who  had  been  tried  and  found  guilty,  by  a  special 
commission,  of  high  treason ;  Richard  Patch  for  murder,  April  8,  1806 ;  and  Nov.  13, 
1849,  the  Mannings,  husband  and  wife,  for  murder.  Leigh  Hunt  was  imprisoned  here 
for  a  libel  on  the  Prince  Regent,  in  1813;  and  here  he  was  first  introduced  to  Lord 
Byron.  (See  Leigh  Hunt's  Autobiography,  vol.  ii.)  In  June,  1849,  three  burglars 
escaped  from  their  cells  in  this  prison  by  means  of  a  key  which  they  made  from  a 
pewter  pot ;  but  they  were  recaptured  in  scaling  the  20-feet  wall. 

Lttdgate  Pbison  is  described  at  page  538,  where  the  romantic  story  of  Sir  Stephen 
Forster  is  narrated.  This  ancient  City  gate  was  made  a  prison  in  1373,  for  poor  debtors 
who  were  free  of  the  City,  who,  however,  had  to  pay  lodgings,  chamber-rent,  and  for 
water,  since  Forster's  provisions  were  neglected.  When  the  gate  was  taken  down,  the 
prisoners  were  removed  to  the  London  Workhouse,  in  Bishopsgate-street. 

This  prison  had  some  curious  regulations.  To  preserve  order  the  master,  keeper,  and  prisoners 
chose  from  among  themselves  a  reader  of  divine  service;  an  upper  steward,  called  the  master  of  the 
box;  an  under  steward,  and  seven  assistants  by  turns  daily;  a  running  assistant,  two  churchwardens, 
a  scavenger,  a  chamberlain,  a  running  post;  and  the  criers  or  beggars  at  the  gate  (such  as  we  remem- 
ber at  the  Fleet),  who  were  generally  six  in  number.  The  reader,  besides  attending  to  prayers,  had  to 
ring  the  bell  twice  a  day,  and  for  a  quarter  of  an  hour  before  nine  at  night,  to  warn  strangers  to 
depart  the  prison :  besides  his  salary  and  fees,  he  had  a  dish  of  meat  out  of  the  Lord  Mayor's  basket. 
The  master  of  the  box,  with  the  under  steward,  assistants,  and  churchwardens  were  elected  monthly  by 
the  prisoners;  and  the  election  of  other  officers  was  conducted  in  the  most  orderly  manner.  The  offi- 
ciating assistant  could  commit  a  prisoner  to  the  stocks,  or  shackles,  for  abusing  any  person,  and  he  had 
to  see  the  cellar  cleared  out  at  ten  o'clock ;  he  had  also  to  set  up  candles,  look  after  the  dock,  &c.  The 
churchwardens  had  to  call  to  prayers,  after  the  bell  had  done  ringing.  The  scavenger  had  to  keep  the 
prison  clean,  to  fetter  offenders,  and  put  them  in  the  stocks.  The  chamberlain  took  care  of  all  the 
prison  bedding  and  linen,  and  appointed  lodgings  for  new  comers,  and  gave  notice  to  strangers  to  leave 
at  ten  o'clock.  The  running  post  had  to  fetch  in  a  basket  the  broken  meat  from  the  Lord  Mayor's 
table,  provisions  from  the  clerk  of  the  market,  from  private  families,  and  the  charities  given  in  the 
streets.  Two  of  the  criers  begged  daily  at  the  gates ;  he  at  Ludgate-street  was  allowed  a  fourth  of  what 
was  given,  and  he  on  the  Blackf'riars'  side  one-half.  Notwithstanding  this  complex  machinery  corrup- 
tion crept  in  :  the  keeper  and  turnkey  of  the  prison  claimed  fees  without  either  right  or  reason.  The 
prisoners  had  to  pay  8d.  a  month  for  clean  sheets,  and  not  above  two  were  to  lie  in  a  bed ;  for  a  couch, 
Id.  a  week ;  for  chamber-room,  &c,  Id.  a  week  for  lamps  and  candles.  A  freeman  of  the  City,  on  being 
arrested  for  debt,  could  insist  upon  being  carried  to  the  Ludgate  Prison ;  bailiffs'  fees,  4s.  or  5«.,  due 
2d.  If  new  comers  could  not  pay  the  demands,  the  clothes  of  the  poor  prisoner  were  privately  taken 
from  him,  and  not  returned  until  the  money  was  paid.  He  was,  however,  allowed  to  go  abroad,  ou 
giving  good  security  to  return  at  night,  for  the  charge  of  h  keeper's  fee,  1*.  6rf.;  head  turnkey,  2s.  Gd. 
Often  the  discharge  fees  came  to  more  than  the  debt.  Hungry,  and  at  times  almost  naked,  the  poor 
prisoners  lay  in  these  unsanitary  dens  until  death.  There  was  a  gift  to  this  prison,  called  Nell  G  Wynne's 
dole,  distributed  to  prisoners  every  ninth  week.  Some  of  the  old  statues  from  Ludgate  remain,  but 
railway  trains  now  rattle  over  the  prison  site. 

As  early  as  1218,  Ludgate  was  a  common  gaol  for  felons  taken  in  London  City;  and 
so  lately  as  1457,  Newgate,  and  not  the  Tower,  was  the  prison  for  the  nobility  and 
great  officers  of  State.  In  1252,  one  John  OfFrem,  committed  to  this  prison  for  having 
killed  a  prior,  escaped,  which  so  displeased  King  Henry  III.  with  the  City,  that  the 
sheriff's  were  sent  to  the  Tower,  and  there  remained  a  month.  In  1431,  in  consequence 
of  a  false  complaint  made  by  the  keeper  of  Newgate,  eighteen  freemen  were  taken  to 
the  compters,  and  chained  as  if  they  had  been  felons. 

Maeshalsea  Pbison,  "so  called  as  pertaining  to  the  Marshalles  of  England" 
(Stow),  stood  in  High-street,  Southwark.  Here  were  confined  persons  guilty  of 
piracies  and  other  offences  on  the  high  seas.  (See  page  509).  In  1377  it  was  broken 
into  by  a  mob  of  sailors,  who  murdered  a  gentleman  confined  in  it  for  killing  one  of 
their  comrades,  but  had  been  pardoned.  During  the  rebellion  of  Wat  Tyler,  in  1381, 
the  marshal  of  this  prison,  and  the  governor  of  the  King's  Bench,  Sir  John  Imworth, 
was  seized  and  beheaded. 

•  "  To  the  Marshalsea  Bishop  Bonner  was  sent,  on  losing  his  see  of  London  for  adherence  to  Rome. 
A  man  meeting  him  cried, '  Good  morrow,  bishop  quondam-;'  to  which  Bonner  replied, '  Farewell,  knave 
semper.'  He  lived  ten  years  in  the  Marshalsea,  and  died  there  Sept.  5,  1569;  he  was  buried  at  mid- 
night, with  other  prisoners,  in  St.  George's,  Southwark.  In  the  reigns  of  Henry  VIII.,  Mary,  and 
Elizabeth,  the  Marshalsea  was  the  second  prison  in  importance  in  London,  being  inferior  only  to  the 
Tower.  Christopher  Brooke,  the  poet,  was  confined  in  the  Marshalsea  for  being  concerned  in  the 
wedding  of  Dr.  Donne.  George  Wither  was  committed  here  for  writing  the  satire,  Abuses  Stript  and 
Whipt;  but  he  procured  his  release  by  his  Satire  to  the  King." — Dixon,  London  Prisons,  abridged. 
Garrick  played  for  the  benefit  of  the  prisoners,  at  Drury-lane,  "  being  the  first  application  of  this 


PRISONS.  697 


kind,"  the  Provoked  Wife,  Sir  John  Brute,  Garrick;  Lady  Fanciful,  Mrs.  Give;  Lady  Brute,  Mrs. 
Pritchard.  Farce  of  Duke  and  No  Duke,  Trappolin,  Mr.  Woodward.  Tickets  to  be  had  at  the  Marshal- 
sea  Prison,  South wark. 

The  Marshalsea  escaped  the  riots  of  1780.  The  old  prison,  which  contained  ahout 
sixty  rooms  and  a  chapel,  occupied  the  site  of  the  house,  No.  119,  High-street ;  it  was 
then  removed  to  other  premises  nearer  St.  George's  Church ;  and  these  were  taken 
down  in  1812,  when  the  prisoners  were  drafted  to  the  Queen's  Bench.  (See  Mab- 
shalsea  and  Palace  Couet,  page  509.) 

Millbank  Pbison,  Westminster,  near  the  foot  of  Vauxhall  Bridge,  is  the  largest 
penal  establishment  in  England.  The  site  was  purchased,  in  1799,  of  the  Marquis  of 
Salisbury,  for  12,000/. ;  but  the  building  was  not  commenced  until  1812,  when  a  con- 
tract was  entered  into  by  the  Government  with  Jeremy  Bentham ;  and  the  edifice  is  a 
modification  of  his  "  Panopticon,  or  Inspection  House."  It  was  next  changed  into  a 
regular  Government  prison  for  criminals,  adult  and  juvenile,  and  became  the  general 
depot  for  transports  waiting"  to  be  drafted  to  other  prisons,  or  placed  on  shipboard  for 
dockyard  labour ;  and  here  are  sent  the  most  reckless  and  hardened  criminals  from  all 
parts  of  the  country.  The  soil  of  the  site  is  a  deep  peat,  and  the  buildings  are  laid  on 
a  solid  and  expensive  concrete  j  but  the  situation  is  low  and  unhealthy.  The  prison 
cost  half  a  million  of  money,  or  about  500/.  for  each  cell !  The  only  entrance  is  in  the 
Thames  front.  The  ground-plan  consists  of  six  pentagonal  buildings,  radiating  from 
a  circle,  wherein  is  the  governor's  house ;  and  each  line  terminates  in  a  tower  in  the 
outer  octagonal  wall,  which  incloses  about  16  acres;  7  covered  with  buildings,  in- 
cluding 12  chapels  and  airing-yards,  and  9  laid  out  as  gardens.  The  corridors  are 
upwards  of  3  miles  long  ;  there  are  about  1550  cells ;  and  from  4000  to  5000  persons 
pass  through  the  prison  yearly.  There  are  40  staircases,  making  in  all  3  miles  distance. 
In  1843  the  name  of  the  Penitentiary  was  changed,  by  Act  of  Parliament,  to  the 
Millbank  Prison.  From  the  general  resemblance  of  its  conical-roofed  towers  to  those 
of  the  Bastile  du  Temple  at  Paris,  as  well  as  from  the  severity  of  its  system,  the  Peni- 
tentiary has  been  stigmatized  as  "  the  English  Bastile." 

"  The  dark  cells,  20  steps  below  the  ground-floor,  are  small,  ill-ventilated,  and  doubly  barred ;  and  no 
glimpse  of  day  ever  enters  this  fearful  place,  where  the  offender  is  locked  up  for  three  days,  fed  upon 
bread  and  water,  and  has  only  a  board  to  sleep  on." — Dixon,  1850. 

Newgate,  on  the  east  side  of  the  Old  Bailey,  is  now  used  as  a  gaol  of  detention  for 
persons  about  to  be  tried  at  the  adjacent  Central  Criminal  Court ;  here  are  also  con- 
fined prisoners  convicted  of  assaults  or  offences  on  the  high  seas,  and  those  who  are 
under  sentence  of  death.  Until  1815,  when  Whitecross-street  prison  was  built,  New- 
gate was  used  for  debtors  as  well  as  felons :  hence  its  ■  Debtors'  Door." 

Sheriff  Hoare,  1740-1,  tells  us  how  the  names  of  the  prisoners  in  each  gaol  were  read  over  to  him 
and  his  colleague;  the  keepers  acknowledged  them,  one  by  one,  to  be  in  their  custody;  and  then  ten- 
dered the  keys,  which  were  delivered  back  to  them  again;  and  after  having  executed  the  indentures,  the 
Sheriffs  partook  of  sack  and  walnuts,  provided  by  the  keepers  of  the  prison,  at  a  tavern  adjoining  Guild- 
hall. Formerly  the  Sheriffs  attended  the  Lord  Mayor,  on  Easter-eve,  "  through  the  streets,  to  collect 
charity  for  the  prisoners  in  the  City  prisons." 

Old  Newgate  prison  was  over  and  about  the  City  gate  "  so  called,  as  built  after  the 
four  principal  gates  were  reckoned  old."  It  was  merely  a  tower  or  appendage  to  the 
gate,  which  stretched  across  the  west  end  of  Newgate-street ;  still,  from  the  time  of 
King  John  to  that  of  Charles  II.,  it  was  sufficient  prison-room  for  the  City  and  county. 
It  was  originally  "  Chamberlain  Gate,"  and  was  rebuilt  by  the  executors  of  Sir  Richard 
Whittington,  whose  statue,  with  the  traditional  cat,  was  placed  in  a  niche  upon  the 
wall.  Here  were  also  statues  of  Concord,  Mercy,  Justice  and  Truth,  Peace  and 
Plenty,  &c. 

"  In  the  Beaufoy  Collection,  at  Guildhall,  is  a  Newgate  Prison  Token,  No.  715.    Obv.  Belonging  to 

ye  cellor  on  the  masters  side  at 1669.     'Rev.  Newgate — View  of  Newgate  and  the  Debtors'  Prison. 

This  token  was  struck  as  a  monetary  medium  among  the  prisoners,  and  is  of  the  utmost  rarity  and 
interest,  from  the  delineation  of  the  prison  it  affords." — Burn's  Descriptive  Catalogue,  p.  138. 

Newgate  was  restored  by  Wren  in  1672,  after  the  Great  Fire ;  but  it  was  burnt  to 
the  ground  in  the  riots  of  1780,  when  the  rioters  stole  the  keys,  which  were  found 
some  time  after  in  the  basin  of  water  in  St.  James's-square.  Dr.  Johnson  and  Dr. 
Scott  (Lord  Stowell)  saw  Newgate  in  ruins,  "  with  the  fire  yet  glowing :"  the  iron  bars 
were  eaten  through,  and  the  stones  vitrified  by  the  intense  heat. 


698  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

On  the  top  of  Old  Newgate,  as  shown  in  prints,  was  a  windmill,  an  early  attempt  at  ventilation. 
"  For,"  says  Chamberlain,  in  1770,  "  a  contagious  disease,  called  the  gaol  distemper,  has  frequently 
destroyed  great  numbers  of  prisoners,  and  even  carried  its  contagion  into  courts  of  justice,  when  trials 
were  held.  To  prevent  as  much  as  possible  these  dreadful  effects,  a  ventilator  has  been  placed  on  the 
top  of  Newgate,  to  expel  the  foul  air,  and  make  way  for  the  admission  of  such  as  is  fresh;  and  during 
the  time  that  the  sessions  are  held  herbs  are  also  strewed  in  the  court  of  justice,  and  in  the  passages 
leading  thereto,  to  prevent  infection,"  which  practice  is  continued  to  this  day. 

Memorable  Imprisonments. — Newgate  was  used  as  a  state-prison  long  before  the  Tower.  Robert 
Baldock,  chancellor  to  Edward  III.,  died  here.  Here  were  imprisoned  John  Bradford,  of  Manchester, 
the  friend  of  Kidley ;  the  intrepid  John  Bough;  John  Field  and  Thomas  Wilcox,  in  1572,  for  writing 
the  celebrated  Admonition  to  Parliament  for  the  Reformation  of  Church  Discipline ;  and  here,  in  prison, 
they  maintained  the  Whitgift  controversy.  Dr.  Leighton  (ten  years),  for  writing  his  Appeal  to  Par- 
liament. George  Wither,  the  poet,  for  writing  the  Vox  Vulgi.  George  Sackville,  poet,  rake,  and  Earl 
of  Dorset,  occupied  a  cell  in  Newgate.  In  1672,  Penn,  the  founder  of  Pennsylvania,  was  confined  here 
six  months,  for  street-preaching ;  Titus  Oates  and  Dangerfield  were  sent  here,  and  Dangerfield  died  in 
the  prison.  At  the  Bevolution,  Bishops  Ellis  and  Leyburn  were  confined  here,  and  were  visited  by 
Burnet.  Defoe  was  committed  to  Newgate  for  writing  his  Shortest  Way  with  Dissenters ;  and  here  he 
wrote  An  Ode  to  the  Pillory,  and  commenced  his  Review.  Major  Bernardi,  suspected  of  plotting  with 
Bookwood  against  King  William,  died  in  Newgate,  after  seven  years'  confinement.  Richard  Akerman, 
Boswell's  friend,  was  gaoler.  (Abridged  from  Dixon  on  the  London  Prisons.)  Dr.  Dodd,  while  impri- 
soned here,  finished  a  comedy  (Sir  Soger  de  Coverley) :  and  after  conviction,  wrote  his  Prison  Thoughts. 
Jack  Sheppard  escaped  from  "the  Castle  in  Newgate;"  and  from  "the  Middle  Stone  Room,"  after  his 
being  retaken  in  Drury-lane.  His  portrait  was  painted  in  the  prison  by  Sir  James  Thornhill.  The 
Beggar's  Opera  was  first  called  A  Newgate  Pastoral.  The  trials  are  reported  in  the  Newgate  Calendar  ; 
and  in  the  Annals  of  Newgate,  by  the  Rev.  Mr.  Vilette,  Ordinary. 

The  present  "  prison  of  Newgate"  was  designed,  in  1770,  by  George  Dance,  R.A., 
and  is  one  of  his  finest  works  :  the  architecture  bespeaks  the  purposes  of  the  structure, 
and  its  solidity  and  security  at  once  impress  the  spectator.  The  first  stone  was  laid, 
23rd  May,  1770,  by  Lord  Mayor  Beckford,  this  being  his  last  public  act.  John 
Howard  objected  to  the  plan,  but  was  overruled.  While  yet  unfinished,  in  1780, 
Newgate  was  attacked  by  Lord  George  Gordon's  rioters,  who  broke  open  the  doors  of 
the  tenanted  portion,  and  set  300  prisoners  at  large ;  they  then  set  fire  to  the  building, 
which  was  reduced  to  a  shell :  it  was  repaired  and  completed  in  1782.  The  plan  con- 
sists of  a  centre  (the  keeper's  house) ;  two  lodges,  stamped  with  gloomy  grandeur  and 
severity ;  and  two  wings  of  yards  right  and  left,  but  not  suited  for  the  classification  or 
reformation  of  the  prisoners.  The  facades  are  297  feet  and  115  feet  long,  and  are 
externally  a  good  specimen  of  prison  architecture.  The  outer  walls  are  three  feet 
thick.  Early  in  the  present  century  nearly  800  prisoners  were  confined  here  at  one 
time,  when  a  contagious  fever  raged.  In  1808,  Sheriff  Phillips  states,  the  women  in 
Newgate  usually  numbered  from  100  to  130 ;  and  each  had  only  18  inches  breadth 
of  sleeping-room,  packed  like  slaves  in  the  hold  of  a  slave-ship  !  In  this  shrievalty,  the 
cells  were  first  ordered  to  be  whitewashed  twice  a  year.  Mrs.  Fry  describes  the  women 
as  "  swearing,  gaming,  fighting,  singing,  dancing,  drinking,  and  dressing  up  in  men's 
clothes  j"  and  in  1838,  gambling,  card-playing,  and  draughts  were  common  among  the 
male  prisoners.  The  chapel  has  galleries  for  the  male  and  female  prisoners :  below, 
and  in  the  centre  of  the  floor,  is  placed  a  chair  for  the  condemned  culprit ;  but  the 
public  are  no  longer  admitted  to  hear  the  "  condemned  sermons"  on  Sundays  before 
executions :  the  criminal's  coffin  was  also  placed  at  his  feet  during  the  service  !  For- 
merly sixty  persons  have  been  seen  on  one  Sunday  in  "  the  condemned  pew,"  the  wood- 
work of  which  was  cut  with  the  name  of  many  a  hardened  wretch.  Here  the  Rev. 
W.  Dodd,  D.D.,  preached  his  own  funeral  sermon  from  Acts  xv.  23,  on  Friday,  June  6, 
1777,  before  he  was  hanged  for  forgery.  The  custom  practised  for  many  years  in 
Newgate  of  having  a  small  portion  of  scripture  read  daily  and  explained,  for  the  pri- 
soners to  meditate  upon,  was  always  attended  with  good  results,  but  since  the  prisoners 
have  been  kept  separately  the  influence  of  it  has  been  far  greater. 

In  the  lower  room,  on  the  south  side  of  the  prison,  died  Lord  George  Gordon,  of 
the  gaol  distemper,  after  several  years'  imprisonment,  for  libelling  the  Queen  of  France. 
The  culprit  in  the  furthest  cell  on  the  ground-floor  is  within  a  yard  of  the  busy 
passers-by  in  the  street.  In  the  hall  is  a  collection  of  ropes  j  also  casts  taken  from  the 
beads  of  the  principal  criminals  who  have  been  executed  in  the  front  of  the  prison. 

The  kitchen  was  formerly  the  hall  in  which  debtors  were  received :  it  opens  by  "  the 
Debtors'  Door,"  through  which  criminals  pass  to  the  scaffold  in  the  street,  a  passage 
being  made  through  the  kitchen  by  black  curtains.  The  place  of  execution  was  changed 
to  this  spot  in  December,  1783,  at  the  suggestion  of  John  Howard 


PRISONS.  699 


Within  the  walls  is  a  cemetery,  where,  since  1820,  have  been  buried  the  bodies  of  executed  criminals : 
the  first  deposited  there  were  Thistlewood  and  the  other  Cato-street  conspirators.  The  bodies  are 
buried,  without  service,  at  eight  in  the  evening  of  the  day  of  their  execution,  and  at  each  grave  is  a  tali 
stone  with  the  rudely-inscribed  name. 

The  Press-yard,  between  Newgate  and  the  Old  Bailey  Courts,  is  described  at  page 
556.  It  was  formerly  customary  for  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Sheriffs,  when  proceeding 
to  proclaim  Bartholomew  Fair,  on  Sept.  2,  to  stop  at  Newgate,  and  drink  "  a  cool 
tankard"  to  the  health  of  the  Governor  of  Newgate  ;  but  this  practice  was  discontinued 
in  the  second  mayoralty  of  Alderman  Matthew  Wood  in  1821.  Two  watchmen  are 
stationed  on  the  roof  of  the  prison  during  the  night. 

One  of  the  last  persons  confined  in  Newgate  for  apolitical  offence  was  Mr.  Hobhouse  (now  Lord 
Broughton),  for  publishing  his  pamphlet,  The  Trifling  Mistake;  when  Lord  Byron's  prediction,  that 
Hobhouse  "  having  foamed  himself  into  a  reformer,  would  subside  into  Newgate,"  literally  came  to 
pass:  and  great  was  the  enthusiasm  of  the  people  in  the  street  at  seeing  Mr.  Hobhouse' s  hat  above  the 
prison  parapet,  as  he  walked  upon  the  roof  for  exercise ! 

The  cost  of  maintaining  the  prisoners  in  Newgate  is  371.  a  head  annually.  The  old 
associated  system  is  pursued  here ;  the  silent  system  at  Millbank,  in  Coldbath-fields, 
and  Tothill-fields ;  and  the  separate  system  at  Pentonville,  Millbank,  and  the  House  of 
Detention ;  yet  Newgate  has  the  advantage,  as  seven  out  of  eight  of  its  prisoners  never 
return  to  it.     Nevertheless,  says  an  official  authority  : 

"  Newgate  prison  is  a  complete  quarry  of  stone,  without  any  order  or  possibility  of  order  in  it.  There 
are  a  vast  number  of  rooms  in  it,  over  which  there  is  no  inspection  whatever ;  and  nothing  as  a  prison 
can  remedy  it.  It  has  a  most  imposing  exterior,  which  is  perhaps  its  greatest  use  as  a  deterrer  from 
crime,  and  the  worst  possible  interior." — Captain  Williams,  Prisons  Inspector. 

The  interior  of  the  prison  has  been  reconstructed  upon  the  cellular  system,  similar  to  that  of  the 
City  Prison,  Holloway.  The  front  portion  of  Newgate  was  completed  in  1858.  In  the  middle  is  a  large 
central  corridor  that  occupies  the  entire  length  of  the  structure.  On  each  side  of  it  are  four  galleries, 
which  communicate  with  the  cells  of  the  prisoners  There  are  no  fireplaces  in  the  cells,  but  warming 
and  ventilation  is  provided  for  by  the  admission  of  fresh  air  from  an  altitude  of  40  feet,  conveyed  down- 
wards, and  which,  passing  through  a  tunnel  under  the  building,  comes  in  contact  with  a  series  of  pipes 
heated  by  steam.  This  heated  air  then  passes  through  flues  that  have  an  area  of  60  inches,  and  are 
inserted  in  the  middle  of  the  walls,  one  flue  passing  to  each  cell,  on  the  opposite  side  of  which  is  a  large 
chamber  common  to  all,  by  which  the  air  is  conveyed  to  a  ventilating  shaft,  that  is  highly  rarified  by 
coils  of  steam-pipes  that  generate  the  circulation.  For  the  purposes  of  warming  and  ventilation,  two 
steam  boilers  have  been  provided,  each  18  feet  long  by  5  feet  6  inches  diameter.  The  basement  of  the 
structure  contains  the  reception  and  punishment  cells,  bath-rooms,  boiler-house,  and  stores.  The 
building  is  so  isolated  all  round  that  if  a  prisoner,  in  his  attempt  to  escape,  even  gained  the  roof,  he 
could  not  possibly  escape  without  running  the  risk  of  losing  his  life.  The  greatest  improvements  that 
appear  to  have  been  effected  by  the  system  adopted  in  the  new  building,  are  separating  the  pri- 
soners, affording  adequate  accommodation  for  the  officers  in  charge  of  the  inmates,  and  the  provision  of 
airing-yards  to  admit  of  external  exercise. 

New  Pbison  was  erected  towards  the  close  of  the  seventeenth  century,  south  of 
Clerkenwell  Bridewell,  intended  "  as  an  ease  for  Newgate,"  for  such  as  were  charged 
with  misdemeanours.  Jack  Sheppard  was  committed  here,  with  Edgeworth  Bess,  on  a 
charge  of  felony,  when  they  marvellously  escaped.  In  1774-5,  the  New  Prison  was 
rebuilt :  on  the  rusticated  stone  gate  was  sculptured  a  large  head  expressive  of  criminal 
despair  and  anguish,  chains  with  handcuffs,  fetters,  &c.  In  Howard's  time,  1776,  there 
were  83  felons  confined  here,  with  the  county  allowance  of  a  penny -loaf  a  day,  and  each 
new  comer  had  to  pay  1*.  4d.  for  "  garnish."  Near  the  outer  gate  was  a  trap,  whence 
the  prisoners  were  supplied  with  liquors  at  a  wicket  made  for  the  purpose  in  the  wall. 
In  the  Biots  of  1780,  the  rioters  with  pickaxes  broke  open  the  gates  and  let  the  pri- 
soners out.  In  1812,  the  prisoners  here  were  not  even  provided  with  straw,  but  slept 
in  their  rugs  on  the  boarded  floor,  and  the  county  allowance  was  but  one  pound  of 
bread  a  day.  In  1818,  this  prison  was  almost  entirely  rebuilt  on  a  more  extensive 
plan,  and  cost  upwards  of  35,0001.  to  provide  for  240  prisoners  in  separate  cells.  In 
1845  the  prison  was  taken  down,  and  upon  its  site  was  built  the  House  of  Deten- 
tion for  the  reception  of  prisoners  before  trial,  the  accused  only :  the  first  built  upon 
that  plan,  modified  from  the  separate  system  at  Pentonville ;  there  are  286  cells. 
Here  are  shown  Jack  Sheppard's  fetters,  double  the  usual  weight ;  and  the  boundary- 
wall  of  New  Prison  remains. 

Pentonville  Pbison,  in  the  road  from  the  foot  of  Pentonville-hill  to  Holloway,  and 
over  against  Barnsbury,  was  commenced  April  10,  1840,  during  the  administration  of 
Lord  John  Russell,  and  completed  in  1842,  at  a  cost  of  nearly  100,000^.,  upon  the  plan 
of  Lieut.-Col.  Jebb,  E.E.     The  area  within  the  lofty  walls  is  6 %  acres,  besides  a  cur- 


700  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

tain-wall,  with  massive  posterns  in  front,  where  is  a  frowning  entrance-gateway,  its 
arched  head  filled  with  portcullis-work,  and  not  altogether  unpicturesque ;  from 
the  main  huilding  rises  a  lofty  Italian  clock-tower.  From  the  inspection  or  central  hall 
radiate  five  wings  or  galleries,  on  the  sides  of  four  of  which  are  the  cells,  in  three 
stories. 

Each  cell  is  13|  feet  long  by  7$  feet  broad,  and  9  feet  high :  it  has  an  iron  water-closet,  pail,  and  wash- 
basin supplied  with  water;  a  three-legged  stool,  table,  and  shaded  gas-burner,  and  a  slung  hammock, 
with  mattress  and  blankets ;  in  the  door  is  an  eyelet  hole,  that  the  officer  may  inspect  from  outside ; 
and  the  meals  are  conveyed  through  a  spring  trap-door. 

The  heating  is  from  stoves  in  the  basement ;  and  the  ventilation  is  by  an  immense 
shaft  from  the  roof  of  each  wing.  The  chapel  is  fitted  up  with  separate  stalls  or 
sittings  for  the  prisoners,  of  whom  the  officers  have  the  entire  surveillance.  The  organ 
is  by  Gray.  The  exercising-yards,  between  and  in  front  of  the  wings,  are  radiated, 
so  that  an  officer  may  watch  the  prisoners,  each  in  a  walled  yard.  The  discipline  is 
the  separate  system  and  the  silent  system  modified;  and  here  were  formerly  sent  con- 
victs for  probation,  prior  to  transportation  to  the  penal  colonies,  the  plan  being  an 
adaptation  from  the  Philadelphian  system.  Each  cell  cost  180Z. ;  victualling  and 
management  nearly  361.  a  head;  and  the  prisoners'  labour  is  unproductive.  The 
building  was  first  named  "  the  Model  Prison,"  as  the  plan  was  proposed  for  the  several 
gaols  in  the  kingdom ;  but,  from  its  partial  success,  the  name  has  been  changed  to  the 
Pentonville  Prison,  although  it  is  in  the  parish  of  Islington.  The  prison  has  been  a 
costly  experiment,  and  was  planned  so  as  to  be  easily  altered  in  case  of  failure.  A  set  of 
views  of  the  Model  Prison  appeared  in  the  Illustrated  London  News,  1843. 

Poultry  Compter  is  described  at  page  628. 

Queen's  Prison,  Southwark,  formerly  the  King's  Bench  and  Queen's  Bench,  was 
situated  here  in  the  reign  of  Richard  II.,  when  the  Kentish  Rebels,  under  Wat  Tyler, 
"  brake  down  the  houses  of  the  Marshalsey  and  King's  Bench,  in  Southwarke." 
(Stow.)  To  this  prison  the  Prince  of  Wales,  afterwards  Henry  V.,  was  committed  by 
Chief  Justice  Gascoigne,  for  endeavouring  to  rescue  a  convicted  prisoner,  one  of  his 
personal  attendants  (Stow's  Chronicle) ;  and  the  room  in  which  he  was  confined  was 
known  as  the  Prince  of  Wales's  Chamber  down  to  the  time  of  Oldys.  In  1579  the 
prisoners  daily  dined  and  supped  in  a  little  low  parlour  adjoining  the  street.  In  this 
year,  through  "  the  sickness  of  the  house,"  the  prisoners  petitioned  the  Queen's  Privy 
Council  for  the  enlargement  of  the  prison  and  the  erection  of  a  chapel.  During  the 
Commonwealth  it  was  called  the  Upper  Bench  Prison.  Rushworth,  author  of  the 
Historical  Collections,  was  confined  here  for  six  years;  and  Baxter,  the  Nonconformist, 
was  imprisoned  here  eighteen  months,  under  a  sentence  passed  by  the  infamous 
Judge  Jeffreys.  The  original  King's  Bench  was  built  on  the  east  side  of  the  High- 
street,  on  the  site  of  Layton's-buildings,  adjoining  the  Marshalsea  and  White  Lion 
prisons.  Defoe  describes  the  prison-house  "  not  near  so  good  as  the  Fleet."  The 
present  prison  is  situated  at  the  lower  end  of  the  Borough-road :  Wilkes  was  one  of 
the  early  prisoners  here. 

After  his  return  to  Parliament  for  Middlesex,  in  176S,  Wilkes  was  arrested  on  a  writ  of  capias 
utlegatum,  when  he  was  rescued  by  the  mob  as  the  officers  were  conveying  him  to  the  King's  Bench 
Prison,  to  which  he  afterwards  went  privately.  He  was  still  under  confinement  upon  the  meeting  of 
Parliament,  when  a  mob  assembled  before  the  prison  to  convey  him  in  triumph  to  the  House  of  Com- 
mons. A  riot  ensued — the  military  fired,  and  killed  and  wounded  several  rioters.  Judgment  was  then 
pronounced  on  Wilkes  for  two  libels,  and  he  was  heavily  fined,  and  sentenced  to  imprisonment  for  the 
two  terms  often  and  twelve  months ;  during  which  upwards  of  20,0OM.  was  raised  for  the  payment  of 
his  fines  and  debts,  and  presents  of  all  kinds  were  heaped  upon  him — plate,  jewels,  wine,  furniture,  and 
embroidered  purses  of  gold ! 

The  building  was  set  on  fire,  and  the  prisoners  were  liberated,  by  the  mob  in  the 
Riots  of  1780.  (See  St.  George's  Fields,  p.  376).  By  the  Act  5  Victoria,  c.  22,  the 
Queen's  Bench,  Fleet,  and  Marshalsea  were  consolidated  as  the  Queen's  Prison,  for 
debtors,  prisoners  committed  for  libel,  assault,  courts-martial,  &c.,  under  the  control 
of  the  Home  Secretary  of  State.  The  dietary  and  other  expenses,  15001,  a  year,  were 
paid  by  the  English  and  Welsh  counties. 

"  On  the  propriety  of  styling  the  especial  Eoyal  Court  of  Judicature — at  which  the  sovereign 
anciently  presided  in  person— the  Court  of  Queen's  Bench,  some  hesitation  may  arise,  determinable, 
however,  by  former  practice.  Does  the  Saxon  derivation  of  Queen  extend  further  in  strict  meaning 
than  a  royal  consort ;  and  is  not  the  Queen  regnant  dc  facto  King,  as  exercising  the  kingly  office  ?" — 
A.  J.  K.,  Gentleman's  Magazine,  June,  1839 


PRISONS.  701 


"  All  that  is  squalid  and  miserable  might  now  be  summed  up  in  the  one  word— Poet.  That  word 
denoted  a  creature  dressed  like  a  scare-crow,  familiar  with  compters  and  sponging-houses,  and  per- 
fectly qualified  to  decide  on  the  comparative  merits  of  the  Common  Side  in  the  King's  Bench  Prison, 
and  of  Mount  Scoundrel  in  the  Fleet." — Edinburgh  Review,  No.  107 ;  Macaulay  on  Croker's  Botwell. 

The  prison  is  inclosed  by  a  wall  35  feet  high,  surmounted  by  chevaux-de-frise ;  it 
contains  224  rooms  and  a  cbapel.  The  wall  is  well  adapted  for  rackets,  once  much 
played  here.  Defoe  said,  "  to  a  man  who  had  money,  the  Bench  was  only  the  name 
of  a  prison  f  but  the  classification  of  the  prisoners  abated  its  licence  and  riotous  living. 

In  1820  was  published  a  humorous  volume  in  verse,  entitled  Sketches  of  St.  George's 
Fields.  By  Q-iorgione  di  Castelchiuso.  The  author  portrays  the  characters  and  inci- 
dents of  the  King's  Bench  at  the  above  period  in  some  170  pages  ;  and  in  his  Preface 
humorously  describes  the  Bench  as  "  a  certain  spring  of  great  repute,"  and  compares 
temporary  imprisonment  here  to  drinking  the  waters  (?  of  oblivion).  "  I  was  only," 
he  says,  "  required  to  drink  for  some  time  at  the  very  spring  of  a  certain  fountain 
in  St.  George's-fields,  over  which  a  pump  is  placed,  and  by  which  a  vast  casino  is  built, 
capable  of  containing  many  hundreds  of  patients,  and  surrounded  by  a  lofty  wall. 
These  waters  are  in  infinitely  greater  repute  than  those  of  Aix,  of  Pyrmont,  or 
Bareges;  and  I  have  in  one  morning  met  with  inhabitants  of  remotely-distant 
countries  gathered  together  before  this  famous  spring."  "  It  was  during  the  time  in 
which  I  partook  of  the  salubrious  potations  of  that  spring,  which,  for  I  know  not  what 
reason,  is  called  Number  Sixteen  " — the  number  of  the  staircase  in  the  prison. 

Remarkable  persons  confined  in  the  King's  Bench. — Robert  Recorde,  physician, 
"  the  first  useful  English  writer,"  his  family  Welsh,  and  he  himself  a  Fellow  of  All 
Souls'  College,  Oxford,  in  1531,  died  in  1558,  in  the  King's  Bench,  where  he  was 
confined  for  debt :  some  have  said  he  was  physician  to  Edward  VI.  and  Mary. 

Sir  William  Reresby,  Bart.,  son  and  heir  of  the  celebrated  author,  Le  Neve  states, 
in  his  MSS.  preserved  in  the  Heralds'  College,  became  a  tapster  in  the  King's  Bench 
Prison,  and  was  tried  and  imprisoned  for  cheating  in  1711.  He  was  addicted  to  the 
fights  of  game-cocks,  and  the  fine  estate  of  Dennaby  is  said  to  have  been  staked  and 
lost  by  Sir  William  on  a  single  main. — (Burke's  Anecdotes  of  the  Aristocracy,  2nd  S.) 

The  original  prison  was  in  that  part  of  the  Borough  wbere  was  held  Southwark 
Fair ;  for  we  read  of  Joe  Miller  mourning  his  departed  master,  Dogget,  at  the  Angel 
Tavern,  which  then  stood  next  door  to  the  King's  Bench;  and  among  the  Burney  play- 
bills for  the  year  1722,  is  this  newspaper  cutting :  "  Miller  is  not  with  Pinkethman, 
but  by  himself !  At  the  Angel  Tavern,  next  door  to  the  King's  Bench,  who  acts  a  new 
droll  called  the  Faithful  Couple  ;  or,  the  Royal  Shepherdess." — (W.  H.  Wills.) 

Chatterton  was  here  in  1770 :  he  writes :  "  A  gentleman,  who  knows  me  at  the 
Chapter  as  an  author,  would  have  introduced  me  as  a  companion  to  the  young  Duke  of 
Northumberland,  in  his  intended  general  tour.  But  alas !  I  spoke  no  language  but 
my  own.     King's  Bench  for  the  present,  May  14,  1770." — (Dix,  p.  267.) 

Colonel  Hanger,  the  youngest  son  of  Gabriel,  first  Lord  Coleraine,  was  by  turns  a 
successful  gamester,  a  prisoner  in  the  King's  Bench,  a  gallant  soldier  in  King  George's 
army,  fighting  against  the  Americans,  and  a  favourite  guest  at  the  Prince  of  Wales's 
table,  at  Carlton  House. 

The  amiable  Valentine  Morris,  when  Governor  of  the  Isle  of  St.  Vincent,  and  the 
colony  fell  into  the  hands  of  the  French,  was  refused  reimbursement  by  the  British 
Government :  thus  sinned  against,  he  was  thrown  into  the  King's  Bench  Prison  by  his 
creditors,  on  his  return  to  England ;  and  during  the  space  of  seven  years,  endured  all 
the  hardships  of  extreme  poverty.  Thus  reduced,  bis  wife,  who  was  niece  to  Lord 
Peterborough,  and  who  sold  her  clothes  to  purchase  bread  for  her  husband,  became 
insane.     Morris  was  at  length  released,  after  long  years  of  suffering. 

George  Morland,  the  painter,  was  long  in  the  Bench  and  the  Rules,  and  usually 
spent  his  evenings  at  a  tavern  in  the  latter ;  there  it  was  that  he  astounded  an  old 
gentleman  by  telling  him  he  knew  what  would  hang  him,  and  then  produced — a  rope. 

Jethro  Tull,  "  the  father  of*  the  drill  and  horse-hoeing  husbandry,"  died  in  the 
Bench  Prison,  where  he  had  been  thrown  by  some  merciless  creditor. 

Lord  Cochrane  was  imprisoned  here  in  1815,  for  his  Stock  Exchange  affair;  he 
escaped,  and  went  immediately  to  the  House  of  Commons,  whence  the  Marshal  of  the 
King's  Bench  conducted  him  back  to  prison. 


702  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Henry  Constantine  Jennings,  of  Shiplake,  Oxon,  descended  from  the  Nevils,  and  who 
reckoned,  the  celebrated  Sarah,  Duchess  of  Marlborough,  among  his  progenitors,  is 
supposed  to  have  died  in  the  King's  Bench,  about  1818;  his  inveterate  love  of  the  fine 
arts  was,  no  doubt,  the  cause  of  it.  In  1815  he  was  living  in  Lindsey-row,  Chelsea; 
and  in  or  about  the  same  time  he  preferred  a  claim  to  an  abeyant  peerage. 

About  the  year  1820,  one  Winch,  a  printer's  joiner,  while  confined  here  for  debt, 
constructed  the  working  model  of  a  printing  machine,  which  resembled  a  mangle. 

In  1821,  Messrs.  Weaver,  Arrowsmith,  and  Shackell,  proprietors  of  the  John  Bull 
newspaper,  were  heavily  fined,  and  imprisoned  here  nine  months,  for  a  libel  upon  the 
memory  of  Lady  Caroline  Wrottesley. 

William  Hone,  while  writing  his  Every-day  Book,  was  arrested  by  a  creditor,  and 
thrown  into  the  King's  Bench.  Here  he  remained  for  about  three  years,  during  which 
time  he  finished  his  Every-day  Book,  in  two  volumes ;  and  began  and  finished  his 
Table-book  and  Year-book,  two  volumes.  These  three  works  will  probably  preserve  the 
name  of  the  compiler  after  everything  else  that  he  did  shall  be  forgotten. 

Dr.  Mackay,  who  had  lost  40,000Z. — which  he  had  amassed  in  Mexico  by  a  long  life 
of  labour — on  the  Stock  Exchange,  was  found  by  Haydon  in  the  King's  Bench  in 
1827,  planning  steam- coaches,  and  to  set  off  for  Mexico  as  soon  as  he  was  free. 

A  friend  finding  a  poor  author  in  the  Queen's  Bench  for  the  third  time,  and  in  good 
spirits,  said,  "  Why,  you  must  like  it."  So — of  Haydon — to  what  humorous  account 
he  turned  his  difficulties.  In  1834  he  notes  :  "  Directly  after  the  Duke's  (Wellington) 
letter  came  with  its  enclosed  cheque,  an  execution  was  put  in  for  the  taxes.  I  made 
the  man  sit  for  Cassandra's  hand,  and  put  on  a  Persian  bracelet.  When  the  broker 
came  for  his  money,  he  burst  out  a  laughing.  There  was  the  fellow,  an  old  soldier, 
pointing  in  the  attitude  of  Cassandra — upright  and  steady,  as  if  on  guard.  Lazarus's 
head  was  painted  just  after  an  arrest :  Eucles  finished  from  a  man  in  possession  ;  the 
beautiful  face  in  Xenophon  in  the  afternoon,  after  a  morning  spent  in  begging  mercy 
of  lawyers ;  and  now  Cassandra's  head  was  finished  in  agony  not  to  be  described,  and 
her  hand  completed  from  a  broker's  man."  Haydon  painted  his  "  Mock  Election  "  and 
"  Chairing  Members "  from  a  burlesque  election  in  the  prison  when  he  was  confined 
there;  and  thence  he  petitioned  Government,  and  trumpeted  his  own  distresses. 
The  best  account  of  the  King's  Bench  of  our  time  will  be  found  in  Haydon's  Auto- 
liography  ;  and  its  motley  life  is  the  staple  of  three  volumes  of  Scenes  and  Stories  of 
a  Clergyman  in  Debt,  written  by  F.  W.  N.  Bayley. 

In  September,  1860,  Sir  Francis  Desanges,  who  had  been  Sheriff  of  London  and 
Middlesex  in  1818,  and  also  Sheriff  of  Oxfordshire,  expired  in  the  Queen's  Prison,  of 
which  he  had  been  an  inmate  upwards  of  four  years,  at  the  suit  of  a  solicitor ;  he  was 
75  years  old,  and  had  long  bitterly  complained  of  his  imprisonment. 

The  Rules  (privileges  for  prisoners  to  live  within  three  miles  round  the  Prison,  and 
to  go  out  on  "  day  rules  ")  are  said  to  have  been  first  granted  in  time  of  plague.  For 
these  Eules  large  sums  were  paid  to  the  Marshal,  who,  in  1813,  received  2823Z.  from 
the  rules  and  "  liberty  tickets,"  and  872Z.  from  the  sale  of  beer !  These  malversations 
were,  however,  abolished.  KitSmart,  the  translator  of  Horace,  died  within  theRules;  here 
Smollett  wrote  his  Sir  Launcelot  Greaves.  Smollett  has  minutely  described  the  King's 
Bench  Prison  in  his  Roderick  Random,  as  quarters  which  Hatchway  and  Tom  Pipes 
coveted  earnestly.  Shadwell,  in  his  comedy  of  Epsom  Wells,  1676,  says  the  Rules 
extend  to  the  East  Indies ;  which  Lord  Ellenborough  quoted  when  he  was  applied  to 
to  extend  the  Rules. 

Public  Advertiser,  Oct.  4, 1764:  "  A  gentleman,  a  prisoner  in  the  Eules  of  the  King's  Bench,  a  branch 
of  the  family  of  the  Hydes,  Earls  of  Clarendon  and  Rochester,  has  a  most  remarkable  coffin  by  him, 
against  his  interment.  It  was  made  out  of  a  fine  solid  oak  which  grew  on  his  estate  in  Kent,  and 
hollowed  out  with  a  chisel.  The  said  gentleman  often  lies  down  and  sleeps  in  his  coffin,  with  the 
greatest  composure  and  serenity."  Oct.  6  it  was  added :  the  coffin  "  weighs  600  lbs.,  and  was  not  long 
since  filled  with  punch,  when  it  held  41  gallons  2  quarts  1£  pint." 

John  Palmer,  the  actor,  was  living  within  the  Rules  of  the  King's  Bench  when  he 
was  committed  to  the  Surrey  Gaol  under  the  "  Rogue  and  Vagrant  Act,"  for  illegal 
performances  at  the  Royal  Circus,  in  1789.  Palmer's  engagement  at  this  theatre  (of 
which  he  was  acting-manager,  at  a  weekly  salary  of  201.)  led  to  the  abridgment  by 


PRISONS.  703 


Lord  Chief  Justice  Kenyon,  of  the  general  privileges  which  dehtors  had  possessed  in 
Surrey,  by  excluding  public-houses  and  places  of  amusement  from  the  Rules. 

William  Combe  was  confined  here  when  he  received  Rowlandson's  drawings,  upon 
which  Combe  wrote  Dr.  Syntax.  He  lived  a  reckless  life,  by  turns  in  the  King's 
Bench  Prison  and  the  Rules,  the  limits  of  which  do  not  appear  to  have  been  to  him 
much  punishment.  Horace  Smith,  who  knew  Combe,  refers  to  the  strange  adventures 
and  the  freaks  of  fortune  of  which  he  had  been  a  participator  and  a  victim  :  "  a  ready 
writer  of  all-work  for  the  booksellers,  he  passed  all  the  latter  portion  of  his  time 
within  the  Rules,  to  which  suburban  retreat  the  present  writer  was  occasionally  invited, 
and  never  left  without  admiring  his  various  acquirements,  and  the  philosophical 
equanimity  with  which  he  endured  his  reverses."  We  remember  him  in  the  Rules,  in 
St.  George's-place,  where  we  learnt  that  he  had  written  a  memoir  of  his  chequered  life. 
Campbell,  in  his  Life  of  Mrs.  Siddons,  states  that  Combe  lived  nearly  20  years  in  the 
King's  Bench,  which  is  not  correct. 

Theodore  Hook,  in  April,  1824,  was  removed  from  a  spunging  house  in  Shire-lane, 
to  the  Rules  (Temple-place),  where  he  worked  hard,  in  addition  to  the  editorship  of 
the  John  Bull,  in  founding  his  most  profitable  fame. 

The  King's  Bench  Gazette,  and  other  papers  published  from  time  to  time,  have  portrayed  the 
recreant  life  of  the  prisoners.  When  Abbot  Lord  Tenterden  was  the  Lord  Chief  Justice,  the  King's 
Bench  was  nicknamed  "Abbot's  Priory,"  and  "  Tenterden  Priory."  A  Bolter  is  one  who,  having  the 
privilege  of  a  day  rule,  runs  off  and  leaves  his  bondsmen,  or  the  marshal,  to  pay  his  debt;  or  who 
decamps  from  the  Rules.  The  Brace  Tavern  was  originally  kept  by  two  brothers  named  Partridge,  from 
whence  it  obtained  its  punning  name,  they  being  a  brace  of  partridges.  The  delicate  address  of  the 
Bench  was  65,  Belvedere-place  ;  as  that  of  the  Fleet  Prison  was  No.  9,  Fleet-market. 

Latterly,  the  Prison  was  governed  by  Orders  appointed  by  one  of  the  Secretaries  of 
State ;  the  Rules  were  abolished,  and  the  prisoners  classified,  which  changes  broke  up 
the  licentious  life  of  the  place.     It  is  now  used  as  a  military  prison. 

About  the  year  1843,  the  case  of  a  Mr.  Miller,  who  had  been  imprisoned  47  years  for  a  debt  which  it  is 
doubtful  if  he  ever  owed,  and  who  still  remained  in  custody  in  the  Queen's  Bench,  excited  great  sym- 
pathy. A  subscription  was  made  to  place  in  a  position  above  penury  this  poor  man,  who  had  reached 
his  77th  year,  and  who,  without  some  such  assistance,  would,  by  the  operation  of  the  new  Bank- 
ruptcy Act,  have  been  thrown  penniless  on  the  world. 

Lord  Chancellor  Westbury,  in  submitting  to  the  House  of  Lords  a  Bill  for  shutting 
up  this  prison,  June  28,  1862,  gave  the  following  precis  of  its  history :  — 

"  The  prison,  of  which  the  present  building  was  the  representative,  originated  in  very  early  times ;  it 
was  probably  coeval  with  the  Court  of  Queen's  Bench  itself.  At  a  very  early  period  there  were  three 
principal  prisons  in  London — the  Queen's  Bench  Prison,  the  Fleet  Prison,  and  the  Marshalsea.  The 
Queen's  Prison  was  appropriated  to  prisoners  committed  by  the  Court  of  Queen's  Bench,  the 
Court  of  Exchequer,  and  Court  of  Common  Pleas.  The  Fleet  prison  received  prisoners  from  the 
Court  of  Chancery ;  and  the  Marshalsea  from  the  Lord  Steward's  Court,  the  Palace  Court,  and  the 
Admiralty.  The  first  fruits  of  the  measure  passed  in  1842  for  the  abolition  of  arrest  for  debt  on  mesne 
process  was  to  enable  Parliament  to  reduce  the  three  prisons  to  one,  the  Queen's  Prison  being  substituted 
for  the  Marshalsea  and  the  Fleet.  The  present  Queen's  Bench  Prison  was  formed  in  1759 ;  it  had 
accommodation  for  300  prisoners,  and  occupied  an  area  of  ground  between  two  and  three  acres  in  extent. 
He  understood  that  the  value  of  this  space  of  ground  was  between  200,0002.  and  300,0002.  The  sum 
hitherto  voted  by  Parliament  for  maintaining  this  prison  was  between  3000J.  and  40002.  a  year,  which 
would  be  saved  to  the  country,  witli  the  exception  of  the  allowances  and  continuous  payments  to  which 

an  Act  of  this  kind  would  necessarily  give  rise Their  lordships  would,  therefore,  see  that  the 

necessity  for  continuing  the  Queen's  Bench  had  entirely  ceased.  The  object  of  the  present  Bill  was 
to  transfer  the  few  prisoners  therein  confined  to  Whitecross-street  Prison,  where  there  was  admirable 
accommodation  for  a  much  greater  number  of  persons  than  in  all  human  probability  would  ever 
be  confined  there  for  debt.  Their  lordships  were  probably  aware  that  even  the  present  number 
of  persons  in  the  Queen's  Bench  would  not  have  been  so  large  but  for  the  practice  which  had 
been  introduced — he  could  hardly  tell  why — under  which  any  debtor  in  any  prison  throughout  the 
country  might  be  removed  by  writ  of  habeas  to  the  Queen's  Bench.  Prisoners  often  availed  themselves 
of  this  privilege,  because  in  the  Queen's  Bench  they  had  amusements — such  as  playing  at  ball  and  other 
games,  by  which  time  was  whiled  away." 

At  an  early  clearance  by  Mr.  Hazlitt,  one  of  the  Registrars  in  Bankruptcy,  there  came  before 
him  the  case  of  Mr.  Whittington,  who  very  reluctantly  presented  himself.  In  the  course  of  his 
examination  he  stated  that  he  was  not  in  custody  for  debt,  but  for  costs  in  an  action  which 
he  had  brought  against  Mr.  Roupell,  M.P.,  for  trespass  on  some  lands.  He  alleged  that  the  costs 
were  really  costs  in  the  cause,  and  that  besides,  as  the  proceedings  were  still  pending,  his  incarceration 
was  wholly  illegal.  He  stated  that  he  had  no  debts,  and  that  his  assets  amounted  to  over  1,000,0002. 
in  value;  that  they  consisted  for  the  most  part  of  lands  in  England,  America,  Australia,  and  the  Falk- 
land Islands.  In  the  Falkland  Islands  he  said  he  was  possessed  of  100  square  miles  of  territory,  and 
he  had  6pent  43,0002.  in  endeavouring  to  establish  a  colony  there.  He  held  also  mortgages  of  property 
of  various  kinds  to  the  amount  of  20,0002.  He  was  adjudged  a  bankrupt,  with  instant  discharge,  a 
course  against  which  he  protested. 

Savoy  Peison,  the  west  end  of  the  ancient  Palace  of  the  Savoy,  on  the  south  side 


704  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  the  Strand,  was  used  as  a  military  prison  for  deserters,  impressed  men,  convict 
soldiers,  and  offenders  from  the  Guards ;  at  one  period  their  allowance  was  only  four- 
pence  a  day.  The  gateway  hore  the  arms  of  Henry  VII.,  and  the  hadges  of  the  rose, 
fleur-de-lis,  and  portcullis.  The  premises  were  tat  en  down  in  1819,  to  form  the 
approach  to  Waterloo  Bridge,  after  which  deserters  were  imprisoned  on  board  a  vessel 
moored  off  Somerset  House ;  but  the  Savoy  may  be  said  to  have  been  first  used  as  a 
prison  when  John  King  of  France  was  confined  here  after  the  battle  of  Poictiers,  in  1356. 

Tothill- fields'  Bbideweli  was  first  built,  in  1618,  as  a  House  of  Correction. 

"Over  the  gate  is  this  inscription  :  'Here  is  several  sorts  of  work  for  the  poor  of  this  parish  of  St. 
Margaret's,  Westminster;  as  also  correction  according  to  law  for  such  as  will  beg  and  live  idly  in  this 
City  of  Westminster.    Anno  1655.'" — Hatton. 

In  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne  it  was  converted  into  a  gaol  for  criminals.  "  Howard 
describes  it  as  being  remarkably  well  managed  in  his  day ;  and  holds  up  its  enlightened 
and  careful  keeper,  one  George  Smith,  as  a  model  to  other  governors."  (Dixon's  Lon- 
don Prisons.)     Here  Colonel  Despard,  the  traitor,  was  imprisoned  in  1803. 

Upon  a  site  adjoining  was  commenced,  in  1830,  the  erection  of  a  new  prison,  from 
the  design  of  Robert  Abraham :  it  was  first  occupied  in  June,  1834,  when  the  old 
Bridewell  was  deserted  and  taken  down,  and  the  stone  bearing  the  above  inscription 
was  built  into  the  present  garden-wall.  The  new  prison,  seen  from  Victoria-street, 
resembles  a  substantial  fortress :  the  entrance-porch,  on  the  Vauxhall  side,  is  formed 
of  massive  granite  blocks,  iron  gates,  portcullis,  &c.  It  is  built  on  the  panopticon  pton, 
and  contains  a  gaol  for  untried  male  prisoners,  a  house  of  correction  for  male  convicts, 
and  a  prison  for  women ;  8  wards,  2  schools,  and  8  airing-yards ;  42  day-rooms  and 
348  sleeping-apartments ;  besides  120  dark  cells  in  the  basement,  all  ranged  round  a 
well-kept  garden ;  while  in  front  is  the  governor's  house,  over  which  is  built  the  chapel  j 
these  forming  the  keep-like  mass  which  is  seen  from  Pimlico  and  Piccadilly,  and  is  one 
of  the  finest  specimens  of  brickwork  in  the  metropolis.  The  prison  will  hold  upwards 
of  800  prisoners :  the  only  labour  is  oakum-picking  and  the  treadwheel. 

Towee,  The,  used  as  a  state-prison  from  about  1457  to  our  own  time,  is  described 
with  the  general  history  of  that  palace,  prison,  arsenal,  and  fortress. 

Westmikstee  Gatehouse,  used  as  a  prison  for  State,  ecclesiastical,  and  parlia- 
mentary offenders,  as  well  as  for  debtors  and  felons,  is  described  at  page  373. 

Whiteceoss-steeet  Peison,  in  the  street  of  that  name,  Cripplegate,  is  entirely  a 
Debtors'  Prison :  the  first  stone  was  laid  by  Alderman  Matthew  Wood,  in  July,  1813. 

The  prisoners  were  classified  as  Sheriffs'  prisoners,  Queen's  Bench  prisoners,  prisoners 
committed  from  the  Bankruptcy  Court  and  the  County  Courts.  The  prison  is  built  to 
accommodate  365  prisoners.  Those  who  are  able  to  sustain  themselves  are  allowed  to 
do  so,  and  are  kept  distinct  from  those  who  cannot  do  so :  the  latter  class  are  called 
dietary  prisoners,  and  have  the  following  diet : — one  and  a  half  pound  of  bread  daily, 
cocoa  twice  a  day,  three  ounces  of  meat  (without  bone)  daily,  half-pound  of  potatoes  four 
days  a  week,  and  so  upon  the  other  two  days.  The  twenty-five  dormitories  have  the 
beds  separated  by  corrugated  iron  partitions.  In  the  yard  adjoining  the  female  wards 
are  two  strong  rooms  or  refractory  cells,  for  turbulent  prisoners.  The  doors  of  the 
building  are  massive,  and  loaded  with  iron.  The  cost  for  the  year  ending  September 
29th,  1862,  amounted  to  no  less  a  sum  than  4663?.  13*.  8d.,  and  that  for  the  main- 
tenance of  an  average  number  of  about  seventy  prisoners.  Here  are  no  private  apart- 
ments, but  a  modern  instance  of  the  wise  saw,  "  Misery  acquaints  a  man  with  strange 
bedfellows."  Opposite  the  Debtors'  Door,  in  Whitecross-street,  is  the  City  Green- 
yard, established  in  1771 :  here  is  kept  the  Lord  Mayor's  State-Coach. 

Wood-steeet  (Cheapside)  Comptee  was  first  established  in  1555,  when  the  pri- 
soners were  removed  here  from  Bread-street  Compter.  The  first  Wood-street  Compter 
was  burnt  down  in  the  Great  Fire,  but  was  rebuilt :  its  hall  was  hung  with  the  story  of 
the  Prodigal  Son ;  the  prisoners  were  removed  from  here  to  Giltspur-street  in  1791. 

QUEENHITEE, 

UPPER  Thames-street,  was  originally  the  Mthe  (wharf  or  landing-place)  of  Edred 
the  Saxon,  and  thence  called  Edred' s-hithej  but  falling  into  the  hands  of  King 


RAILWAY  TERMINI.  705 


Stephen,  it  was  given  by  him  to  Will,  de  Ypre,  who  gave  it  to  the  Convent  of  the 
Holy  Trinity  within  Aldgate :  however,  it  came  again  to  the  Crown,  and  it  is  said  to 
have  been  given  by  King  John  to  his  mother,  Eleanor,  queen  of  Henry  II. ;  whence  it 
was  called  Ripa  Regince,  the  queen's  bank,  or  queen's  hithe,  it  being  a  portion  of  her 
majesty's  dowry.  It  is  described  by  Stow  as  "  the  very  chief  and  principal  Watergate 
of  this  city,"  "  equal  with,  and  of  old  time  far  exceeding,  Belinsgate."  In  the  reign 
of  Henry  III.,  ships  and  boats  laden  with  corn  and  fish  for  sale  were  compelled  to  pass 
beyond  London  Bridge,  "  to  the  Queen's-hithe  only,"  a  drawbridge  being  pulled  up  to 
admit  the  passage  of  large  vessels.  In  1463,  the  market  at  Queen-hithe  was  "  hindered 
by  reason  of  the  slackness  of  drawing  up  London  Bridge."  Stow  enumerates  the  cus- 
toms and  dues  exacted  from  the  ships  and  boats,  and  specifies  *■  salt,  wheat,  rye,  or  other 
corn,  from  beyond  the  seas ;  or  other  grains,  garlic,  onions,  herrings,  sprats,  eels,  whit- 
ing, plaice,  cod,  mackerel,  &c. :"  but  corn  was  the  principal  trade,  whence  the  quay 
was  sometimes  called  Cornhithe.  Stow  describes  here  a  corn-mill  placed  between  two 
barges  or  lighters,  which  "  ground  corn,  as  water-mills  in  other  places,  to  the  wonder 
of  many  that  had  not  seen  the  like."  The  charge  of  Queenbithe  was  subsequently 
delivered  to  the  sheriffs ;  but  Fabyan  states,  that  in  his  time  it  was  not  worth  above 
twenty  marks  a  year.  Its  trade  in  fish  must,  however,  have  been  considerable  when 
Old  Fish-street  northward  was  the  great  fish-market  of  London,  before  Billingsgate,  in 
1699,  became  "  a  free  and  open  market."  Beaumont  and  Fletcher  speak  of  "  a  Queen- 
hithe  cold  f  and  the  locality  is  often  mentioned  by  our  old  dramatists.  It  is  now 
frequented  by  West-country  barges  laden  with  corn  and  flour ;  the  adjoining  ware- 
houses, with  high-pitched  gables,  were  built  long  since  for  stowage  of  corn ;  and  the 
opposite  church  of  St.  Michael,  with  its  vane  in  the  form  of  a  ship,  the  hidl  of  which 
will  contain  a  bushel  of  grain,  is  emblematic  of  the  olden  traffic  in  corn  at  the  Hithe. 

Tom  Hill  was  originally  a  drysalter  at  Queenhithe ;  and  here  he  assembled  a  fine 
library,  described  by  Southey  as  one  of  the  most  copious  collections  of  English  poetry 
in  existence  :  it  was  valued  at  60001.,  when,  through  a  ruinous  speculation  in  indigo, 
Hill  retired  upon  the  remains  of  his  property  to  the  Adelphi.  (See  p.  1.)  Hill  was 
the  patron  of  the  almost  friendless  poets,  Bloomfield  and  Kirke  White. 

At  Queenhithe,  No.  17,  lived  Alderman  Venables,  lord  mayor  1826-7;  at  Nos. 
20-21,  Alderman  Hooper,  lord  mayor  1847-8;  and  at  No.  23,  Alderman  Rose,  lord 
mayor  1863-4. 

Queenhithe  gives  name  to  the  ward,  wherein  were  seven  churches  in  Stow's  time. 
Westward  is  Broken  Wharf,  "  so  called  of  being  broken  and  fallen  down  into  the 
Thames."  Here  was  the  mansion  of  the  Bigods  and  Mowbrays,  Earls  and  Dukes  of 
Norfolk;  sold  in  1540  to  Sir  Richard  Gresham,  father  of  Sir  Thomas  Gresham. 
Within  the  gate  of  this  house  was  built,  in  1594-5,  an  engine,  by  Bevis  Bulmer,  for 
supplying  the  middle  and  west  of  the  City  with  Thames  water. 

In  1809  or  1810  was  found  in  the  bed  of  the  river,  opposite  Queenhithe,  a  massive 
silver  seal,  with  a  motto  denoting  it  to  have  been  the  official  seal  of  the  port  of  London, 
temp.  Edward  I.     It  is  engraved  with  Laing's  Plan  of  the  Custom  House. 

RAILWAY  TERMINI. 

LONDON  is  girdled  with  Railways,  and  has  an  inner  and  outer  circle ;  but  few  of  the 
Termini  present  grand  or  noticeable  features.  The  Blackwall  line  has  a  terminus 
of  elegant  design,  by  W.  Tite,  F.R.S.,  at  Brunswick  Wharf.  The  Great  Northern 
Terminus,  King's  Cross,  occupies  45  acres  of  land.  For  the  site  of  the  Passenger 
Station,  the  Small-pox  Hospital  and  Fever  Hospital  were  cleared  away.  The  front 
towards  St.  Pancras-road  has  two  main  arches,  each  71  feet  span,  separated  by  a  clock- 
tower  120  feet  high ;  the  clock  has  dials  nine  feet  in  diameter,  and  the  principal  bell 
weighs  29  cwt.  The  Great  Western  Terminus,  at  Paddington,  has  few  artistic 
features;  the  handsome  Hotel  adjoining  is  described  at  p.  441.  The  North-Western 
Terminus,  at  Euston-square,  has  a  propylcBum,  or  architectural  gateway,  pure  Grecian 
Doric :  its  length  exceeds  300  feet ;  its  cost  was  35,OOOZ. ;  and  it  contains  80,000  cubic 
feet  of  Bramley  Fall  stone.  The  columns  are  higher  than  those  of  any  other  building 
in  London,  and  measure  44  feet  2  inches,  and  8  feet  6  inches  diameter  at  the  base,  or 

z  z 


706  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

only  3  feet  1  inch  less  than  that  of  the  York  column.  The  height,  to  tbe  summit  of 
the  acroterium,  is  72  feet ;  a  winding  staircase  in  one  angle  leads  to  an  apartment 
within  the  roof,  used  as  the  Company's  printing-office ;  the  rich  bronze  gates  are  by 
Eramah. 

This  propylseum  is  unprecedented  in  our  modern  Greek  architecture,  and  "  exhibits  itself  to  most 
advantage  when  viewed  obliquely,  so  as  to  show  its  line  of  roof  and  depth,  especially  as  the  cornice  is  of 
unusually  bold  and  new  design,  being  not  only  ornamented  with  projecting  lion-heads,  but  crowned  by 
a  series  of  deep  antefixse ;  while,  when  beheld  from  a  greater  distance,  the  large  stone  slabs  are  also 
Been  that  cover  the  roof." — Companion  to  the  Almanack,  1839. 

The  paved  platforms  within  the  gateway  contain  nearly  16,000  superficial  feet  of 
Yorkshire  stone,  some  of  the  stones  70  to  80  square  feet  each ;  and  each  shaft  of  the 
granite  Doric  colonnade  is  a  single  stone.  The  Great  Hall,  designed  by  P.  C.  Hard- 
wick,  has  the  ceiling  panelled,  deeply  recessed,  and  enriched,  and  is  connected  with  the 
walls  by  large  ornamented  consoles.  The  walls  are  splashed  as  granite ;  and  the  Ionic 
columns  are  painted  like  red  granite,  with  white  caps  and  bases.  The  sculpture,  by 
John  Thomas,  are  a  group,  Britannia  supported  by  Science  and  Industry ;  and  beneath 
the  ceiling,  8  panels,  in  alto-relievo,  symbolic  figures  of  London,  Birmingham,  Man- 
chester, Chester,  Northampton,  Carlisle,  Lancaster,  and  Liverpool.  The  hall  is  warmed 
by  some  miles  of  hot-water  pipes,  on  Perkins's  system.  Here  was  placed,  April  10, 
1854,  Baily's  colossal  marble  statue  of  George  Stephenson,  the  originator  of  the  rail- 
way system  :  this  statue  was  purchased  by  the  subscriptions  of  3150  working-men,  at 
2s. ;  and  178  private  friends,  at  14£.  each.*  The  South-eastern  station,  London  Bridge, 
is  of  great  extent,  and  provides  for  the  Greenwich  Railway,  opened  December  14, 1836, 
the  first  completed  line  from  the  metropolis.  The  large  Hotel  is  described  at  p.  442. 
The  South-Western,  Waterloo-road,  is  noticed  at  p.  501.  The  Charing  Cross  line  from 
London  Bridge,  through  Southwark,  has  a  station  at  Cannon-street,  terminus  at 
Charing  Cross,  and  two  stupendous  bridges  across  the  Thames.  The  Hotels  are 
described  at  pp.  442-443.  The  Metropolitan,  beneath  the  crowded  streets  of 
London,  Fowler,  engineer-in-chief,  extends  from  Paddington  to  Finsbury,  4|  miles; 
the  difficulties  of  construction — through  a  labyrinth  of  sewers,  gas  and  water  mains, 
churches  to  be  avoided,  and  houses  left  secure — proved  an  herculean  labour ;  but 
one  of  the  greatest  difficulties  was  to  construct  an  engine  of  great  power  and  speed, 
capable  of  consuming  its  own  smoke,  and  to  give  off"  no  steam.  This  Mr.  Fowler  sur- 
mounted by  inventing  an  engine  which,  in  the  open  air,  works  like  a  common  locomo- 
tive, but  when  in  the  tunnel,  consumes  its  own  smoke,  or  rather  makes  no  smoke,  and 
by  condensing  its  own  steam,  gives  off  not  a  particle  of  vapour.  It  is  proposed,  by 
extensions  at  either  end  of  the  underground  line,  and  by  a  new  line,  to  be  called  the 
"  Metropolitan  District  Railway,"  to  complete  what  will  form  pretty  nearly  an  inner 
circle,  and  will  also  throw  out  branches  to  connect  itself  with  the  suburban  systems 
north  and  south  of  the  Thames  ;  so  that  when  the  entire  scheme  is  in  working  order 
we  shall  have  something  like  a  combination  of  two  circles — the  inner  and  the  outer — as 
a  thorough  railway  system  for  the  metropolis.  Of  the  progress  of  the  works  a  specimen  is 
afforded  in  2000  men,  200  horses,  and  58  engines  many  months  working ;  and  whole 
terraces,  streets,  and  squares  in  south-west  London  being  tunnelled  under  almost  without 
the  knowledge  of  the  inhabitants.  The  London,  Chatham,  and  Lover  extension  line 
has  a  massive  bridge  at  Blackfriars,  and  Byzantine  terminus  at  Ludgate.  The  North- 
London  line  has  few  noticeable  works. 

The  Pneumatic  Hallway,  Rammell,  engineer,  is  an  extension  of  the  Atmospheric 
principle :  it  had  already  been  tested  in  a  Despatch  tube,  through  which  parcels  were 
propelled  on  ledges  or  rails,  in  cars,  on  the  signal  being  given,  by  the  exhaustion  and 
pressure  of  the  air  in  the  tube  by  a  high-pressure  engine ;  this  motive  power,  in  the 
Pneumatic  Railway,  being  applied  to  passengers  in  an  enlarged  tube.  The  propulsion 
is  likened  to  the  action  of  a  pea-shooter,  the  train  to  the  pea,  which  is  driven  along  in 
one  direction  by  a  blast  of  air,  and  drawn  back  again  in  the  opposite  direction  by  the 
exhaustion  of  the  air  in  front  of  it ;  the  motion  being  modified  by  mechanical  arrange- 
ments.    The  air  is  exhausted  from  near  one  end  of  the  tube  by  means  of  an  apparatus, 

*  More  than  2000  parcels  per  day  are  booked  at  the  North-Western  Railway  Station.  In  Christmas 
week,  5000  barrels  of  oysters  have  been  sent  off  within  twenty-four  hours,  each  barrel  containing  10O 
oysters =half  a  million.— Lardner's  Railway  Economy,  p.  130. 


RANELAGH.  707 


from  which  the  air  is  discharged  by  centrifugal  force.  The  contrivance  may  be  com- 
pared to  an  ordinary  exhausting  fan.  The  rails  are  cast  in  the  bottom  of  the  tubes ;  a 
few  strips  of  vulcanized  India-rubber  screwed  round  the  fore-end  of  the  carriage  consti- 
tute the  piston,  leaving  three-eighths  of  an  inch  clear  between  the  exterior  of  the 
piston  and  interior  of  the  tube  j  there  is  no  friction,  and  the  leakage  of  air  does 
not  interfere  with  the  speed  of  transit.  The  Whitehall  and  Waterloo  Pneumatic 
Railway  will  extend  from  the  station  in  Scotland-yard,  carried  in  brickwork  beneath  the 
tunnel  of  the  Underground  District  Eailway,  and  then  under  the  Low  Level  Sewer  to 
the  northern  abutment,  from  which  iron  tubes  of  sixteen  feet  diameter  are  to  be  laid 
on  the  clay  beneath  the  Thames. 

We  shall  not  be  expected  to  detail  the  various  lines  now  in  course  of  construction,  or 
projected,  in  and  around  the  metropolis ;  to  attempt  this  might  lead  us  to  record  the 
construction  of  works  never  to  be  executed,  and  anticipations  never  to  be  realized.  The 
number  of  metropolitan  lines  and  branches  proposed  in  1865  was  148,  and  the  extent  of 
the  whole  in  miles  about  370.  "  A  New  Map  of  Metropolitan  Railways"  is,  from  time 
to  time,  published  by  Stanford,  Charing  Cross. 

Sir  Joseph  Paxton  proposed  a  magnificent  railway  extension,  for  the  better  communication  between 
different  parts  of  the  metropolis,  so  as  to  avoid  all  underground  work.  For  this  purpose  he  designed 
an  immense  boulevard,  or  girdle  railway,  to  run  in  an  extended  crystal  palace  of  about  11 J  miles ;  to  be 
built  of  iron,  and  roofed  with  glass,  72  feet  broad  and  180  feet  high.  On  either  side  were  to  be  erected 
houses  and  shops,  with  an  ordinary  roadway  between  them ;  at  the  rear  of  these  there  were  to  be  two 
lines  of  railway,  equal  to  eight  sets  of  rails.  The  railways  were  to  be  constructed  on  the  top  of  a  raised 
corridor,  at  the  average  height  of  26  feet,  so  as  to  enable  the  line  to  pass  over,  without  obstruction,  the 
present  streets  and  thoroughfares ;  and  the  premises  under  to  be  used  as  shops  or  tenements,  were  to 
have  double  walls,  with  a  current  of  air  passing  between  them,  which  it  was  said  would  prevent  annoy- 
ance from  the  vibration  and  noise  of  the  railway.  The  girdle  was  to  commence  at  the  Royal  Exchange, 
to  cross  Cheapside  opposite  the  Old  Jewry ;  then  to  cross  the  river  by  a  bridge  of  sufficient  dimensions 
to  have  houses  built  upon  it,  at  Queenhitfie ;  the  road  then  to  pass  through  the  Borough,  and  next  a 
portion  of  Lambeth  to  the  South- Western  Railway ;  from  which  a  loop  was  to  be  constructed,  to  pass 
over  a  bridge  to  be  built  near  Hungerford,  to  terminate  at  the  Regent-circus.  The  main  line  to  cross 
the  South-Western  Railway,  carried  direct  over  a  bridge  at  Westminster,  and  thence,  by  Victoria- 
street,  through  Belgravia,  Brompton,  Gore  House,  Kensington  Gardens,  Notting  Hill,  to  the  Great 
Western  station  at  Paddington.  The  line  then  to  be  carried  on  the  north  side  to  the  London  and  North- 
western and  the  Great  Northern  Railways ;  and  then  through  Islington  to  the  starting-point  at  the 
Royal  Exchange.  The  railways  were  to  be  worked  on  the  atmospheric  principle.  The  total  cost  was 
set  down  at  about  34,000,0002.,  to  be  provided  by  a  Government  guarantee,  at  4  per  cent.  Among  the 
receipts,  the  houses  upon  the  three  bridges,  it  was  computed,  would  let  each  at  6001.  a  year;  and  this, 
with  other  revenues,  it  was  estimated,  would  leave  a  profit  of  nearly  400,0002.  The  drawings  of  this 
great  project  were  beautifully  executed;  but  the  scheme  was  altogether  too  gigantic  and  costly  for 
execution. 

RANELAGH, 

A  PUBLIC  garden,  opened  in  1742,  on  the  site  of  the  gardens  of  Ranelagh  House, 
eastward  of  Chelsea  Hospital,  was  originally  projected  by  Lacy,  the  patentee  of 
Drury-lane  Theatre,  as  a  sort  of  winter  Vauxhall.  The  Rotunda,  185  feet  in  diameter, 
had  a  Doric  portico,  an  arcade,  and  gallery  outside.  There  was  also  a  Venetian 
pavilion  in  the  centre  of  a  lake,  upon  which  the  company  were  rowed  in  boats ;  and  a 
print  of  1751  shows  the  grounds  planted  with  trees  and  allies  verts.  The  several 
buildings  were  designed  by  Capon,  the  eminent  scene-painter.  The  interior  was  fitted 
with  boxes  for  refreshments,  and  in  each  was  a  painting :  in  the  centre  was  an  ingenious 
heating  apparatus,  concealed  by  arches,  porticoes,  and  niches,  paintings,  &c. ;  and  sup- 
porting the  ceiling,  which  was  decorated  with  celestial  figures,  festoons  of  flowers,  and 
arabesques,  and  lighted  by  circles  of  chandeliers.  The  Rotunda  was  opened  with  a 
public  breakfast,  April  5,  1742.  Walpole  describes  the  high  fashion  of  Ranelagh : 
"The  prince,  princess,  duke,  much  nobility,  and  much  mob  besides,  were  there." 
"  My  Lord  Chesterfield  is  so  fond  of  it,  that  he  says  he  has  ordered  all  his  letters  to  be 
directed  thither."  The  admission  was  one  shilling ;  but  the  ridottos,  with  supper  and 
music,  were  one  guinea.  Concerts  were  also  given  here :  Dr.  Arne  composed  the  music, 
Tenducci  and  Mara  sang ;  and  here  were  first  publicly  performed  the  compositions  of  the 
Catch  Club.  Fireworks  and  a  mimic  Etna  were  next  introduced ;  and  lastly,  masque- 
rades, described  in  Fielding's  Amelia,  and  satirized  in  the  Connoisseur,  No.  66,  May  1, 
1755 ;  wherein  the  Sunday-evening's  tea-drinkings  at  Ranelagh  being  laid  aside,  it  is 
proposed  to  exhibit  the  story  of  the  Fall  of  Man  in  a  masquerade !  Dr.  Johnson  said 
there  was  more  of  Ranelagh  than  of  the  Pantheon;  or  rather,  indeed,  the  whole 

III 


708  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Rotunda  appeared  at  once,  and  it  was  better  lighted:  "the  coup  d'ceil  was  the  finest 
thing  he  had  ever  seen." — Boswell's  Life  of  Johnson,  vols.  ii.  and  iii. 

But  the  promenade  of  the  Rotunda  to  the  music  of  the  orchestra  and  organ  soon 
declined :  "  There's  your  famous  Bauelagh,  that  you  make  such  a  fuss  about ;  why 
what  a  dull  place  is  that !"  (Miss  Burney's  Evelina.)  In  1802,  the  Installation  Ball 
of  the  Knights  of  the  Bath  was  given  here ;  and  the  Picnic  Society  gave  here  a  break- 
fast to  2000  persons,  when  Garnerin  ascended  in  his  balloon.  Of  the  Peace  Fete  which 
took  place  here  in  1803,  and  for  which  allegorical  scenes  were  painted  by  Capon, 
Bloomfield  sings  in  homely  rhyme : 

"  A  thousand  feet  rustled  on  mats, 

A  carpet  that  once  had  been  green ; 
Men  bow'd  with  their  outlandish  hats, 

With  corners  so  fearfully  keen. 
Fair  maids,  who  at  home,  in  their  haste, 

Had  left  all  clothing  else  but  a  train, 
Swept  the  floor  clean,  as  slowly  they  paced, 
Aud  then — walk'd  round  and  swept  it  again." 

Ranelagh  was  now  deserted,  and  in  1804  the  buildings  were  taken  down.  In  1813,  the 
foundation-walls  of  the  Rotunda,  the  arches  of  some  cellars,  and  the  site  of  the 
orchestra,  could  be  traced :  part  of  the  ground  was  next  included  in  "  the  Old  Men's 
Gardens"  of  Chelsea  Hospital ;  and  the  name  is  attached  to  the  Sewers  District,  and 
to  a  long  street  leading  from  Pimlico  to  the  site  of  Ranelagh. 

Ranelagh  House  was  built  about  1691,  by  Jones,  first  Earl  of  Ranelagh  and  third 
Viscount,  who  was  a  great  favourite  of  Charles  II.  The  ground  was  granted  to  the 
Earl  by  William  III. ;  and  the  mansion  is  shown  in  a  view  of  the  Thames-bank  painted 
by  Canaletti  in  1752. 

In  1854,  a  large  house  built  upon  part  of  the  site  of  Eanelagh,  with  some  of  its  materials,  and  another 
mansion,  Clarence  House,  were  cleared  away,  to  form  the  new  road  from  Sloane-street  to  the  Suspension- 
bridge  and  Battersea  Park. 

BE  CORDS,  PUBLIC. 

"  rilHE  Records  of  this  country  have  no  equal  in  the  civilized  world,  in  antiquity, 
-L  continuity,  variety,  extent,  or  amplitude  of  facts  and  details.*  From  Domesday 
they  contain  the  whole  materials  for  the  history  of  this  country,  civil,  religious,  political, 
social,  moral,  or  material,  from  the  Norman  Conquest  to  the  present  day.  (Of  the 
decisions  of  the  Law  Courts  a  series  is  extant  from  the  beginning  of  the  reign  of 
Richard  I.)  With  the  Public  Records  are  now  united  the  State  Papers  and  Government 
Archives,  and  by  their  aid  may  be  written  the  real  history  of  the  Courts  of  Common 
Law  and  Equity ;  the  statistics  of  the  kingdom  in  revenue,  expenditure,  population, 
trade,  commerce,  or  agriculture,  can  from  the  above  sources  be  accurately  investigated. 
The  Admiralty  documents  are  important  to  naval  history ;  and  others  afford  untouched 
mines  of  information  relating  to  the  private  history  of  families." — Sir  Francis  Palgrave, 
Deputy-Tceeper  of  the  Records. 

They  include  the  official  Records  of  the  Courts  of  Common  Law,  of  Parliament,  of 
Chancery,  of  the  Admiralty,  the  Audit  Office,  the  Registrar-General's  Office,  the  Com- 
missariat, the  Treasury  Books,  the  Customs'  Books,  the  Privy  Signet  Office,  the  Welsh 
and  County  Palatinate  Courts,  &c.  These  were  deposited  in  more  than  sixty  places, 
until  the  passing  of  the  Public  Records  Act,  1  &  2  Victoria,  cap.  94,  the  great  object 
of  which  was  the  consolidation  of  all  the  Records  in  one  depository ;  which  has  been 
attained  by  the  erection  of  a  building  on  the  Rolls  Estate,  between  Fetter-lane  and 
Chancery -lane.  The  architect  is  Mr.  Pennethorne ;  and  the  plan  is  to  provide  suf- 
ficient space  not  merely  for  all  the  Records  now  in  the  custody  of  the  Master  of  the 
Rolls,  but  for  all  such  as  may  be  expected  to  accrue  for  fifty  years  to  come.  The 
building  consists  of  a  north  front  and  two  wings ;  the  three  portions  to  contain  228 
rooms,  200  of  which  would  receive  nearly  half  a  million  cubic  feet  of  Records.  The  front 
faces  the  north  :  the  style  is  late  Gothic,  or  Tudoresque,  somewhat  of  German  character ; 
the  outer  walls  are  supported  by  massive  buttresses,  between  which  are  the  windows, 
which  are  Decorated.     The  materials  are  Kentish  rag-stone,  with  dressings  of  Anstone- 

*  William  Lambarde.the  eminent  lawyer  and  antiquary,  was,  in  1597,  appointed  Keeper  of  the  Rolls 
and  House  of  Bolls,  in  Chancery-lane;  and  in  1600,  Keeper  of  the  Becords  in  the  Tower. 


RECORDS,  PUBLIC.  709 


stone.  The  floors  are  formed  with  wrought-iron  girders  and  flat  brick  arches,  laid  ou 
the  top  with  white  Suffolk  tiles.  The  sashes  and  door-frames  are  of  metal,  the  doors 
of  slate,  the  roof  iron.  The  hall,  entered  from  the  south  side  of  the  building,  has  a 
panelled  ceiling,  formed  in  zinc  and  emblazoned.  Two  windows  are  provided  for  each 
room,  which  is  fifteen  feet  high,  divided  by  a  gallery  or  iron  floor :  hence  the  windows 
are  unusually  lofty,  to  light  both  floors,  and  to  throw  the  light  twenty-five  feet  down 
the  passages  between  the  Records ;  accordingly  the  front  is  a  mass  of  window.  As  in  the 
same  architect's  Museum  of  Practical  Geology,  in  Piccadilly,  there  is  no  entrance  in  the 
principal  facade.  Upon  the  front  tower  is  a  statue  of  Queen  Victoria ;  Durham,  sculptor. 
In  the  first  consignment  of  documents  to  the  New  Repository  were,  among  the  papers 
of  the  Solicitor  to  the  Treasury,  the  Solicitor's  proceedings  against  Bishop  Atterbury 
and  others ;  with  an  important  mass  of  papers  respecting  the  rebellion  of  1745-6 ;  and 
"very  numerous  documents  relating  to  prosecutions  brought  by  the  Crown  against 
authors  or  publishers  of  pamphlets  or  newspapers."  The  charge  and  superintendence 
of  the  Public  Records  is  vested  in  the  Master  of  the  Rolls,  to  whose  custody  the  accu- 
mulating Records  above  twenty  years  old  are  delivered.  Searches  may  be  made  at  any 
of  the  departments  of  the  Record  Office  by  payment  of  the  fees,  and  extracts  taken ; 
but  the  Deputy -keeper  is  authorized  to  grant  any  literary  inquirer  permission  to  search 
and  make  notes,  extracts,  or  copies,  in  pencil,  without  payment  of  fees,  on  the  Deputy- 
keeper  being  satisfied  that  the  application  is  for  a  bond  fide  literary  purpose.  To  show 
the  value  of  this  privilege  to  literary  inquirers,  it  may  be  stated  that  in  1852  one  ap- 
plicant consulted  nearly  7000  documents,  principally  at  the  Rolls  Chapel,  for  compiling 
the  history  of  a  single  township. 

To  Lord  Romilly,  Master  of  the  Rolls,  the  nation  is  specially  indebted  for  the  able  and  efficient 
manner  in  which  has  been  carried  out  the  recommendations  of  the  Record  Commission  and  the  Par- 
liamentary Committees  of  1800  and  1836.  In  the  latter  Report  the  object  first  specified  is,  "  to  provide 
for  the  better  arrangement  and  preservation  of  the  Records  of  the  Kingdom."  This  is  more  fully 
expressed  in  the  executory  clause  of  every  Commission,  which  enjoins  the  Commissioners  "to  metho- 
dize, regulate,  and  digest  the  records,  rolls,  instruments,  books  and  papers  in  any  of  our  public  offices 
and  repositories,  and  to  cause  such  of  the  said  records,  rolls,  instruments,  books  and  papers,  as  are 
decayed  and  in  danger  of  being  destroyed,  to  be  bound  and  secured."  The  next  object  is,  with  a  view  to 
providing  for  "  their  more  convenient  use,  to  make  Calendars  and  Indexes  of  any  of  the  said  records, 
rolls,  instruments,  books  and  papers."  Sir  John  Romilly  at  once  directed  that  the  Calendars  of  the 
diplomatic  documents,  then  preserved  in  the  Record  Office  in  the  Tower  of  London,  which  had  been 
some  time  in  hand,  should  be  prepared  for  publication.  He  gave  directions  for  printing  the  Calendars 
of  documents  in  the  Queen's  Remembrancer's  Office  and  Augmentation  Office,  upon  which  officers  had 
also  been  engaged  for  fifteen  years.  This  was  the  true  beginning  of  his  task.  It  was  not  until  the 
incorporation  of  the  State  Paper  Department  with  the  Public  Record  Office,  in  the  year  1854,  that  the 
Master  of  the  Rolls  was  enabled  to  accomplish  his  design.  He  applied  to  the  Lords  of  Her  Majesty's 
Treasury  for  assistance.  He  proposed  that  a  certain  number  of  competent  persons,  unconnected  with 
the  office,  should  be  employed  to  co-operate  with  the  officers  of  the  establishment  in  the  compilation  of 
Calendars  of  the  Diplomatic  Papers,  commencing  with  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.,  the  period  at  which 
the  modern  history  of  Europe  may  be  said  to  commence ;  and  to  leave  the  portion  anterior  to  that  reign 
in  the  Record  Repository  to  be  calendared  by  the  officers  of  the  establishment,  whenever  they  could  be 
•spared  from  the  performance  of  the  current  business  of  the  office. 

The  proposition  was  readily  approved  by  the  Lords  Commissioners  of  the  Treasury,  and  a  number  of 
persons,  including  one  lady,  were  appointed  to  the  work.  Every  calendar  which  comes  out  has  its  own 
interest,  its  own  revelations.  Every  department  of  history  and  biography  is  enriched  from  day  to  day 
by  new  discoveries.  The  life  of  this  nation  is  being  re-written  for  us,  not  at  third  hand,  from  the 
guesses  of  those  who  knew  little  and  invented  much,  but  from  the  original  vouchers  of  all  true  history. 
These  Calendars  give  us  not  only  a  new  history  of  England,  but  the  best  history  of  England  that  has 
ever  been  written.— (AtheruBum.)  In  graceful  recognition  of  these  eminent  services,  a  marble  bust  of  the 
Master  of  the  Rolls  has  been  placed  by  subscription  in  the  Record  Office. 

The  several  Records  have  been  removed  from  the  Branch  Offices  to  the  Repository. 
The  Chapter  House  has  been  entirely  cleared  of  the  remaining  portion  of  its  contents. 
The  Records  brought  from  it  have  beeu  incorporated  in  the  Repository  with  the  Com- 
mon Law  and  other  Records  to  which  they  respectively  belong.  In  consequence  of  the 
proposed  destruction  of  the  State  Paper  Office  to  make  room  for  the  erection  of 
new  Government  Offices,  it  was  found  necessary  to  remove  the  Records  from  the  State 
Paper  Branch  Office  into  the  Repository.  Here,  also,  have  been  removed  the  Home 
Office  Papers ;  and  the  Records  of  the  Colonial  Office  have  been  united  with  the  other 
Colonial  Documents  already  to  be  found  in  the  Repository,  which  contained  about 
4000  volumes  of  Colonial  Papers ;  together  with  the  Foreign  Papers  to  the  end  of  the 
reign  of  George  II.  Consequently,  the  whole  of  the  Home,  Foreign  and  Colonial  Papers, 
and  all  other  Records,  Printed  Books,  Maps,  &c.,  have  been  removed  to  the  Repository; 
■with  the  exception  of  the  Foreign  Correspondence  commencing  with  the  reign  ot 


710  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

George  TIL,  and  Ratifications  of  Treaties,  intended  to  be  removed  to  two  houses  in 
Whitehall-yard.  In  the  Record  Office  are  some  very  fine  examples  of  bookbinding  ; 
there  are  also  several  curiously  wrought  cases  for  rolls  and  books,  and  coffers,  in  which 
they  have  been  kept  for  centuries.  Amongst  the  most  remarkable  of  these  is  an  ancient 
iron  chest,  which  is  called  of  Anglo-Norman  date.  The  strength  and  massiveness  of 
this  piece  of  smithwork  is  remarkable :  it  seems  as  solid  as  a  sarcophagus.  In  this 
coffer,  in  the  Chapter-house  of  Westminster  Abbey,  the  famous  Domesday  Book  of 
William  was  for  many  centuries  kept  with  the  greatest  care. 

In  1860  her  Majesty's  Government,  with  the  concurrence  of  the  Master  of  the  Rolls 
(Lord  Romilly),  determined  to  apply  the  art  of  photozincography  to  the  production  of 
a  facsimile  of  the  whole  of  the  Domesday  Survey,  under  the  superintendence  of  Colonel 
Sir  Henry  James,  R.E.,  Director  of  the  Ordnance  Survey  at  Southampton,  who  had 
devoted  himself  to  the  improvement  of  that  scientific  process,  completed  in  1863. 

The  Reports  of  the  Deputy  Keeper  are  annually  made  and  laid  before  Parliament. 
They  usually  include,  in  addition  to  the  statement  of  proceedings  in  the  Public  Record 
Office,  appendices  containing  inventories  and  calendars  of  records  made  during  each 
year  to  which  they  relate,  and  refer  to  documents  interesting  and  useful  to  the  public 
generally.  They  have  been  found  especially  valuable  in  assisting  persons  engaged  in 
genealogical,  topographical,  and  antiquarian  pursuits,  and  are  of  great  practical  use  to 
Government  departments  having  papers  deposited  in  the  Public  Record  Office. 

The  Victoria  Tower  of  the  Houses  of  Parliament  was  originally  intended  to  be  used  as  a  Record 
repository ;  but  the  only  means  of  access  to  this  tower  is  by  a  narrow  winding  staircase  of  170  iron 
steps  up  to  the  first  floor ;  and  to  the  eighth  floor  (sixty-four  rooms  in  all)  there  are  266  steps,  which, 
added  to  the  170  from  the  ground  to  the  first  landing,  make  a  total  of  436  steps.  There  are  no  fire- 
places. 

REGENT  STREET, 

IN  length  1730  yards  (30  yards  less  than  a  mile),  was  designed  by  John  Nash,  in 
1813,  and  named  from  his  patron  the  Prince  Regent ;  although  in  1766  Gwynne  had 
proposed  a  great  street  to  lead  nearly  in  the  same  line.  It  commences  at  Waterloo- 
place,  opposite  the  site  of  Carlton  House,  and  proceeds  northward,  crossing  Piccadilly, 
by  a  Circus,  to  the  County  Fire-Office,  designed  by  Abraham,  with  a  rustic  arcade,  like 
that  at  Somerset  House.  The  roadway  is  probably  the  finest  specimen  of  macadamization 
in  the  metropolis.  On  the  East  side  are  the  Junior  United  Service  Club  (see  p.  254)  j 
Gallery  of  Illustration  (p.  308)  ;  the  Parthenon  Club  (p.  254).  On  the  West  are  St. 
Philip's  Chapel  (p.  215) ;  and  Club  Chambers  (p.  245). 

At  No.  5,  Waterloo-place,  in  the  collection  of  Thomas  Walesby,  in  1854,  was  George  TV.  and  the  Duke 
of  Wellington  on  the  field  of  Waterloo,  painted  by  B.  E.  Haydon ;  Gore  House,  Kensington,  with  por- 
traits of  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  Lady  Blessington,  Count  D'Orsay  (the  painter  of  the  picture),  &c; 
also,  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds'  sitters'  chair,  after  his  decease  in  the  possession  of  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence 
and  Sir  M.  A.  Shee". 

From  the  County  Fire-Office,  the  street  trends  north-west  by  a  Quadrant,  so  as  to 
avoid  a  commonplace  elbow :  it  exhibits  Nash's  genius  in  overcoming  difficulties,  for 
by  no  other  contrivance  could  this  sweep  of  the  street  have  been  made  so  ornamentid ; 
its  geometrical  fitness  can  only  be  fully  appreciated  in  the  view  from  the  balcony  of  the 
York  Column.  The  Quadrant  had  originally  two  Doric  Colonnades,  projecting  tbe  ex- 
tent of  the  foot-pavement;  the  columns  of  cast-iron,  from  the  Carron  Foundry,  each  16 
feet  2  inches  high,  exclusive  of  the  granite  plinth,  supported  a  balustraded  roof.  This 
was  a  most  scenic  piece  of  street  architecture ;  the  continuous  rows  of  columns  swept 
in  charming  perspective,  and  the  effect  was  very  picturesque.  The  colonnades  were 
removed  in  November,  1848,  and  a  balcony  was  added  to  the  principal  floor.  The 
property  has  been  much  improved  by  this  change ;  but  the  tasteful  public  unwillingly 
parted  with  this  grand  street  ornamentation,  which  reminded  them  of  a  classic  city  of 
antiquity.     The  270  columns  were  sold  at  11.  5s.  and  71.  10s.  each. 

No.  45,  the  junction  of  Regent  Circus  with  the  Quadrant,  has  a  superb  shop-front,  designed,  in 
1839,  by  F.  Hering,  in  the  Revival  style ;  with  fluted  Ionic  columns,  Italianized  arches,  enriched  pedi- 
ment-heads, spandrels,  escocheons,  cognisances,  and  panels ;  the  ornaments  being  of  composition  laid 
upon  wood.  Each  plate  of  glass  in  the  windows,  140  inches  by  82  inches,  cost  1602. ;  the  plate-glass  in 
the  facade  and  interior  10002. ;  and  the  entire  execution  nearly  40002. 


BOMAN  LONDON.  711 


From  the  Quadrant  the  vista  is  very  fine  :  the  blocks  or  groups  of  houses,  &c.  are 
by  Nash,  Soane,  Cockerell,  Repton,  Abraham,  Decimus  Burton,  &c. 

East — Archbishop  Tenison's  Chapel,  between  Nos.  172  and  174,  is  described  at 
p.  215.  Foubert's  Place,  between  Nos.  206  and  208,  is  named  from  Monsieur  or 
Major  Faubert,  who,  in  16S1,  established  here  a  riding-academy,  on  premises  formerly 
the  mansion  of  the  Countess  of  Bristol.  Evelyn,  in  his  Diary,  mentions  that  Faubert's 
project  was  recommended  by  the  Council  of  the  Royal  Society. 

"  ISth  Dec.  1681. — I  went  with  Lord  Cornwallis  to  see  the  young  gallants  do  their  exercise,  M. 
Faubert  having  newly  railed  in  a  menage,  and  fitted  it  for  the  academy.  Here  were  the  Duke  of  Nor- 
folk and  Northumberland,  Lord  Newburgh,  and  a  nephew  of  (Duras)  Earle  of  Faversham.  The  exer- 
cises were:  1.  Running  at  the  ring;  2.  Flinging  a  javelin  at  a  Moor's  head;  3.  Discharging  a  pistol 
at  a  mark;  and  lastly,  taking  up  a  gauntlet  with  the  point  of  a  sword;  all  these  perform'd  in  full 
Bpeede." 

When  Swallow-street  was  removed,  the  riding-school  premises,  then  livery -stables,  were 
taken  down,  except  one  house.  The  Argyll  Rooms,  built  for  musical  entertainments, 
at  the  corner  of  Little  Argyll-street,  were  destroyed  by  fire  in  1830.     (See  p.  22.) 

If  est — Nos.  207  and  209,  the  Cosmorama  (see  p.  308).  Hanover  Chapel,  built 
1823,  by  Cockerell  (see  p.  211).  The  line  crosses  Oxford-street  by  Regent  Circus,  and 
extends  thence  to  the  tower  and  spire  of  All  Souls'  Church  (see  p.  147).  The  street 
then  sweeps  past  the  Langham  Hotel  (see  p.  442),  built  upon  the  site  of  the  gardens  and 
houses  of  Sir  James  Langham,  and  part  of  the  site  of  Foley  House,  which  was  bought 
by  Nash,  with  the  grounds,  for  70,000/. :  hence  the  crookedness  of  Regent-street. 

No.  309,  Regent-street,  the  Polytechnic  Institution,  erected  by  Thompson  in  1838, 
and  enlarged  in  1848,  contains  a  Hall  of  Manufactures,  with  machines  worked  by 
steam-power,  and  several  other  apartments  filled  with  models,  &c;  Cosmoramic  Rooms; 
and  Theatres  for  lectures  and  optical  exhibitions.  The  Divmg-Bell,  long  the  paramount 
attraction,  is  of  cast-iron,  and  weighs  3  tons ;  5  feet  in  height,  and  4  feet  8  inches 
in  diameter  at  the  mouth.  The  Bell  is  about  one-third  open  at  the  bottom,  has  a  seat 
all  round  for  the  divers,  and  is  lit  by  12  openings  of  thick  plate-glass.  It  is  suspended 
by  a  massive  chain  to  a  large  swing-crane,  with  a  powerful  crab;  the  chain  having 
compensation  weights,  and  working  into  a  well  beneath.  The  air  is  supplied  from  two 
powerfid  air-pumps,  of  8-inch  cylinder,  conveyed  by  the  leather  hose  to  any  depth :  the 
divers  being  seated  in  the  Bell,  it  is  moved  over  the  water,  and  directly  let  down  within 
two  feet  of  the  bottom  of  the  tank,  and  then  drawn  up ;  the  whole  occupying  only 
two  minutes  and  a  half.  Each  person  paid  a  fee  for  the  descent,  which  produced 
1000/.  in  one  year.     The  cost  of  the  Bell  was  about  400Z. 

In  the  rear  of  the  premises,  at  No.  5,  Cavendish-square,  then  the  St.  George's  Chess 
Club,  was  played,  27th  May,  1851,  the  Chess  Tournament,  by  the  first  general  meeting 
of  players  from  different  parts  of  the  world ;  among  whom  were,  Szen,  Horwitz, 
Kieseritzky,  Lowenthal,  Staunton,  and  Anderssen. — See  the  Games,  with  notes,  by  H. 
Staunton. 

ROMAN  LONDON. 

ALTHOUGH  Londinium  was  in  the  power  of  Rome  for  more  than  400  years,  or 
nearly  one-fourth  of  its  existence  in  history,  the  aspect  of  Roman  London  is  but 
matter  of  conjecture;  and  tessellated  pavements,  incised  stones,  and  sepulchral  urns, 
found  upon  its  site,  are  but  fragmentary  evidences  that  wherever  the  Roman  conquers 
he  inhabits.  London  was,  however,  previously  a  settlement  of  some  importance,  and  of 
British  origin,  as  we  read  in  Llyn-dun,  the  hill-fortress  on  the  lake;  or  Llong-dinas, 
the  city  of  ships,  from  its  maritime  character ;  whence  the  Roman  designation  Lon- 
dinium. It  is  not  mentioned  by  Caesar,  though  he  entered  the  Thames;  nor  was  it 
occupied  as  a  Roman  station  so  early  as  Colchester  and  Verulam.  The  Romans  are 
supposed  to  have  possessed  themselves  of  London  in  the  reign  of  Claudius,  about  105 
years  after  Caesar's  invasion.  Londinium  is  first  mentioned  by  Tacitus  (Ann.  xix.  33) 
as  not  then  dignified  with  the  name  of  a  colonia,  but  still  as  a  place  much  frequented 
by  merchants,  and  as  a  great  depot  of  merchandize.  It  was  subsequently  made  a 
colonia  under  the  name  of  Augusta  (Amm.  Marcell.  xxvii.  8). 

Londinium,  as  we  know, was  a  place  of  commercial  activity  before  the  Roman  Conquest. 


712  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

It  was  the  principal  mart  of  exchange  between  Britain  and  the  Continent,  and  received 
for  the  corn,  the  cattle,  the  minerals,  the  slaves,  and  the  dogs  of  native  production, 
every  article  of  southern  luxury  for  which  a  market  was  to  be  found  among  our  rude 
ancestors.  The  site  of  London  was,  no  doubt,  peculiarly  advantageous  for  commerce. 
It  was  the  only  great  maritime  port  on  a  tidal  river  known  to  the  Romans ;  and  while 
it  was  supplied  by  a  very  fertile  tract  of  country  behind  it,  its  position  on  a  gentle 
declivity,  with  dense  forests  in  the  rear,  and  a  broad  expanse  of  swamp  before  it,  ren- 
dered it  from  the  first  a  place  of  considerable  strength.  London  probably  remained 
British,  or  rather  Cosmopolitan  j  while  such  places  as  Colchester,  Chester,  and  Caerleon, 
the  stations  of  legions  and  seats  of  government,  became  merely  bastard  Italian. 

Ptolemy  the  geographer,  who  lived  in  the  reigns  of  Trajan,  Hadrian,  and  Antoninus 
Pius,  places  Londinium  in  the  region  of  the  Cantii,  and  some  recent  discoveries  have 
proved  that  the  Roman  city  or  its  suburbs  did  actually  extend  over  what  is  now  known 
as  Southwark.  The  Itinerary  of  Antoninus  shows  that  a  large  proportion  of  the  British 
routes  are  regulated  and  arranged  with  reference  to  Londinium,  either  as  a  starting- 
point  or  a  terminus.  This  city  is  made  the  central  or  chief  station  to  which  the  main 
military  roads  converge :  a  map  of  Roman  Britain  based  on  this  Itinerary  strikingly 
resembles  one  of  modern  England ;  so  close  is  the  analogy  by  which  we  may  assign  a 
metropolitan  importance  to  Roman  London.  When  in  the  reign  of  Diocletian  and 
Maximian  it  was  sacked  by  the  Franks,  it  is  termed  by  Eumenius  the  orator,  oppidum 
Londiniense ;  and  under  the  dominion  of  Carausius  and  Allectus  it  became  a  place  of 
mintage.  "  P.  Lon."  (Pecunia  Londiniensis)  appears  on  coins  of  Constantine,  Helena, 
Fausta,  Crispus,  Constantine  the  Younger,  and  Constantius  the  Younger ;  and  in  the 
Notitia  Londinium  takes  a  place  among  the  capitals  of  the  provinces  under  the  title  of 
Augusta,  as  the  seat  of  the  Treasury  of  Britain,  controlled  by  a  special  officer, — Pro- 
positus thesaurorum  Augustensium  in  Britannis.  "  Vetus  oppidum,"  says  Ammianus 
Marcellinus,  who  wrote  about  a.d.  380,  "  quod  Augustam  posteritas  appellavit." 

The  site  of  Roman  London  has  been  densely  built  on  and  inhabited,  without  inter- 
ruption, from  the  first  century  of  our  era  to  the  present  time.  It  has  been  buried 
beneath  the  foundations  of  the  modern  city,  or  rather  beneath  the  ruins  of  a  city  several 
times  destroyed  and  as  often  rebuilt;  and  it  is  only  at  rare  intervals  that  the  excavators 
of  drains  and  other  subterranean  works  strike  down  upon  the  venerable  remains  of  the 
earliest  occupation.  The  Romans  found  the  place  a  narrow  strip  of  firm  ground  lying 
between  the  great  fen  (Moorfields)  almost  parallel  to  the  river.  At  right  angles  to 
both  ran  the  Walbrook,  and  on  the  east  the  Langbourne ;  habitations  ranged  closely 
from  Finsbury  to  Dowgate,  whence  to  the  Tower  site,  villas  studded  the  bank  of  the 
Thames.  The  finding  of  sepulchral  remains  outside  these  natural  boundaries  proves  the 
Romans  to  have  there  had  their  burial-grounds,  as  it  was  their  custom  always  to  inter 
their  dead  without  their  cities.  That  Southwark,  on  the  opposite  bank  of  the  Thames, 
was  also  a  Roman  settlement,  is  proved  by  relics  of  the  reign  of  Nero ;  outside  which 
are  likewise  evidences  of  Roman  interment. 

"Roman  London  thus  enlarged  itself  from  the  Thames  towards  Moorfields,  and  the  line  of  wall  east 
and  south.  The  sepulchral  deposits  confirm  its  growth ;  others,  at  more  remote  distances,  indicate 
subsequent  enlargements ;  while  interments  discovered  at  Holborn,  Finsbury,  Whitechapel,  and  the 
extensive  burial-places  in  Spitalfields  and  Goodman's-fields,  denote  that  those  localities  were  fixed  on 
when  Londinium,  in  process  of  time,  had  spread  over  the  extensive  space  inclosed  by  the  wall." — 
C.  Roach  Smith,  F.S.A. 

After  the  Great  Fire,  the  excavations  brought  to  light  much  of  the  antiquarian 
wealth  of  "  the  Roman  stratum"  of  tessellated  pavements,  foundations  of  buildings,  and 
sculptural  remains ;  coins,  urns,  pottery,  and  utensils,  tools,  and  ornaments.  Whenever 
excavations  are  made  within  the  limits  of  the  City  of  London,  the  workmen  come  to 
the  floors  of  Roman  houses  at  a  depth  of  from  12  to  18  or  20  feet  under  the  present 
level.  (T.  Wright,  F.S.A.:  The  Celt,  the  Roman,  and  the  Saxon,  p.  123.)  These  floors 
are  often  covered  with  fragments  of  the  broken  fresco-paintings  of  the  walls,  of  which 
Mr.  Roach  Smith  has  a  large  variety  of  patterns,  such  as  foliage,  animals,  arabesque, 
&c. ;  and  pieces  of  window-glass  have  often  been  found  among  these  remains. — T. 
Wright,  F.S.A.,  Archceological  Album. 

London  was  inwalled  a.d.  306.   (See  City  Wall  and  Gates,  pp.  233-246.) 


ROMAN  LONDON.  713 


The  following  are  the  principal  localities  in  which  remains  of  Roman  London  have 
been,  from  time  to  time,  discovered : — 

Aldgate,  1753. — Stone  and  brick  tower  of  the  Roman  wall,  discovered  by  Maitland, 
south  of  Aldgate ;  the  bricks  sound,  as  newly  laid. 

Barbican. — A  roman  specula,  or  watch-tower  (the  Castrum  lExploratum  of  Stukeley's 
Itinerary),  stood  without  London,  near  the  north-west  angle  of  the  walls,  and  was 
called  in  the  Saxon  times  the  Burghkenning  or  Barbican,  which  gave  name  to  the 
present  steet  leading  from  Aldersgate-street  to  Whitecross-street. — (Brayley's  Lon- 
diniana,  vol.  i.  p.  40.)     See,  also,  Babbican,  p.  32. 

Bevis  Marks. — A  fine  statue  of  a  youth  found,  and  rescued  from  the  employes  of  the 
Commissioners  of  Sewers  by  Mr.  Roach  Smith. 

Billingsgate,  1774. — In  the  parish  of  St.  Mary-at-Hill  were  found  human  bones, 
fragments  of  Roman  bricks,  and  coins  of  Domitian  of  the  middle  brass ;  and,  in  1824, 
urns  and  pavements  were  discovered  near  St.  Dunstan's  church,  north  of  Billingsgate. 
In  1848,  portions  of  an  apartment  and  a  hypocaust  were  laid  open  in  digging  the  foun- 
dation of  the  new  Coal  Exchange,  nearly  opposite  Billingsgate.  The  apartment  is 
paved  with  common  red  tesserse ;  the  outer  wall,  3  feet  thick,  is  built  of  tile-like  bricks 
and  Kentish  rag-stone,  the  mortar  containing  pounded  brick,  an  unfailing  evidence  of 
Roman  wrork.  The  hypocaust,  or  hollow  floor  for  receiving  heated  air  when  wood  was 
burnt  in  the  furnace,  and  thus  to  warm  the  apartment  above  (probably  a  bath),  agrees 
to  half  an  inch  in  the  dimensions  with  those  given  by  Vitruvius  in  his  instructions  for 
the  hypocaustum.  The  bottom  is  formed  of  concrete ;  and  piers  support  the  covering 
tiles,  also  covered  with  concrete.  Pipes  were  also  found,  which,  opening  into  the 
hypocaust,  were  inserted  in  the  walls,  and  conducted  the  warm  air  throughout  the 
building.  The  whole  has  been  preserved.  1859. — In  excavating  for  a  house  on  the 
east  side  of  the  Coal  Exchange,  an  additional  portion  of  the  Roman  building,  including 
part  of  a  hypocaust,  was  thrown  open.  It  was  found  at  a  depth  of  about  11  feet  from  the 
present  surface.  The  hypocaust  is  nearly  square,  with  a  semicircle  added  towards  the 
east :  the  covering  has  been  broken  down,  and  exposes  the  piers  formed  of  square  tiles 
as  in  other  cases :  some  of  these  are  also  broken  down.  Bones  of  various  descriptions, 
Roman  tiles  and  portions  of  flues,  fragments  of  pottery  and  glass,  portions  of  tessera} 
about  an  inch  square,  and  pieces  of  vessels  of  mediseval  date,  were  discovered.  To  the 
west  of  the  hypocaust,  against  the  Coal  Exchange,  is  an  ancient  wall,  built  upon  a 
foundation  of  Roman  materials :  in  one  part  formed  of  stones  of  large  size :  this  may 
have  been  a  portion  of  the  old  wall  of  the  Thames.     {See  Billingsgate,  p.  54.) 

Bishopsgate,  1707. — A  tessellated  pavement,  urns  with  ashes  and  burnt  bones,  a  blue 
glass  lachrymatory,  and  remains  of  the  Roman  wall,  found  at  the  west  end  of  Camomile- 
street,  Bishopsgate,  by  Dr.  Woodward.  In  rebuilding  Bishopsgate  Church  iq  1725, 
several  urns,  patera?,  and  other  remains  were  discovered,  with  a  vault  arched  with 
equilateral  Roman  bricks,  and  Dr.  Stukeley  saw  there,  in  1726,  a  Roman  grave,  con- 
structed with  large  tiles,  which  kept  the  earth  from  the  body.  In  1836  a  pavement  of 
red,  white,  and  grey  tesserse,  in  a  guilloche  pattern,  was  discovered  under  a  house  at 
the  south-west  angle  of  Crosby-square,  Bishopsgate;  supposed  very  early  Anglo-Roman. 
(Archceologia,  vol.  xxvii.  p.  397.)  Maitland  describes  a  similar  pavement  found  on  the 
north  side  of  Little  St.  Helen's  gateway  in  1712 ;  the  site  of  St.  Helen's  Priory  was 
probably  occupied  by  an  extensive  Roman  building ;  and  remains  of  floors  prove  Crosby 
Hall  to  be  on  the  site  of  a  magnificent  Roman  edifice. 

Blackfriars. — A  fragment  of  the  old  wall,  and  parts  of  the  monastic  buildings  erected 
upon  it,  are  still  preserved  below  the  offices  of  the  Times  newspaper.  One  part  of  this 
interesting  relic  is  evidently  much  older  than  the  other,  and  the  most  ancient  was  fouud 
to  be  so  hard,  as  to  set  at  defiance  the  tools  of  the  workmen.  During  alterations,  seve- 
ral encaustic  tiles,  the  finials  of  the  fleur-de-lis  shape,  a  Roman  tile,  and  in  the  neigh- 
bourhood of  the  printing-office,  several  melting-pots  and  pieces  of  glass,  mostly  in  a 
half-manufactured  state,  were  found  :  they  are  carefully  preserved  at  the  Times  office. 
(See  Blackfriaks,  p.  56.) 

Broad-street,  Old,  1854. — On  taking  down  the  Excise  Office,  at  about  15  feet  lower 
than  the  foundations  of  Gresham  House  (on  the  site  of  which  the  Excise  Office  was 
built),  was  found  a  pavement,  28  feet  square. 


714  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

It  is  a  geometrical  pattern  of  broad  blue  lines,  forming  intersections  of  octagon  and  lozenge  com- 
partments. The  octagon  figures  are  bordered  with  a  cable  pattern,  shaded  with  grey,  and  interlaced 
■with  a  square  border,  shaded  with  red  and  yellow.  In  the  centres,  within  a  ring,  are  expanded  flowers, 
shaded  in  red,  yellow,  and  grey ;  the  double  row  of  leaves  radiating  from  a  figure  called  a  true  love- 
knot,  alternately  with  a  figure  something  like  the  tiger-lily.  Between  the  octagon  figures  are  square 
compartments  bearing  various  devices :  in  the  centre  of  the  pavement  is  Ariadne,  or  a  Bacchante, 
reclining  on  the  back  of  a  panther;  but  only  the  fore-paws,  one  of  the  hind-paws,  and  the  tail  remain. 
Over  the  head  of  the  figure  floats  a  light  drapery,  forming  an  arch.  Another  square  contains  a  two- 
handled  vase.  In  the  demi-octagons,  at  the  sides  of  the  pattern,  are  lunettes :  one  contains  a  fan  orna- 
ment; another,  a  bowl  crowned  with  flowers.  The  lozenge  intersections  are  variously  embellished 
with  leaves,  shells,  truelove-knots,  chequers,  and  an  ornament  shaped  like  a  dice-box.  At  the  corners 
of  the  pattern  are  truelove-knots.  Surrounding  this  pattern  is  a  broad  cable-like  border,  broad  bands 
of  blue  and  white  alternately ;  then  a  floral  scroll ;  and  beyond  this  an  edge  of  demi-lozenges,  in  alter- 
nate blue  and  white.  An  outer  border,  composed  of  plain  red  tesserae,  surrounds  the  whole.  The 
ground  of  the  pavement  is  white,  and  the  other  colours  are  a  scale  of  full  red,  yellow,  and  a  bluish  grey. 
This  pavement  is  of  late  workmanship.  Various  Roman  and  mediaeval  articles  were  turned  up  in  the 
same  excavation :  among  these  are  a  silver  denarius  of  Hadrian,  several  copper  coins  of  Constantine, 
and  a  small  copper  coin  bearing  on  the  reverse  the  figures  of  Romulus  and  Remus  suckled  by  the  tra- 
ditionary wolf;  several  Roman  and  mediaeval  tiles  and  fragments  of  pottery;  a  small  glass  of  a  fine 
blue  colour,  and  coins  and  tradesmen's  tokens. 

Cannon-street,  1852. — Tessellated  pavement,  fragments  of  Samian  ware,  earthen 
•urns  and  lamp,  and  other  Roman  vessels,  found  from  12  to  20  feet  deep,  near  Basin'g- 
lane,  New  Cannon-street,  upon  the  supposed  site  of  Tower  Royal.  1850. — Among 
the  ruins  of  a  Roman  edifice,  at  11  feet  deep,  was  found  in  Nicholas-lane,  near  Cannou- 
street,  a  large  slab,  inscribed,  "  nvm  peot  bbita"  (Numini  Caesaris  Provincia 
Britannia). 

There  was  every  reason  to  believe  the  residue  was  at  hand,  but  neither  the  contractor 
nor  the  civic  authorities  would  countenance  a  search.  With  some  little  difficulty  the 
stone,  apparently  the  dedicatory  inscription  of  a  temple,  almost  unique  of  its  class  in 
this  country,  was  received  into  the  Guildhall,  and  deposited  at  the  foot  of  the  staircase 
leading  into  the  library ;  but  it  has  since  disappeared. 

Cheapside,  1595. — A  vault  and  pavement  found  at  the  depth  of  17  feet,  at  the 
north-west  corner  of  Bread-street ;  and  near  it  a  tree  cut  into  steps,  on  the  supposed 
edge  of  a  brook  that  had  run  towards  Walbrook.  In  1671  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  in 
digging  for  the  foundation  of  the  church  of  St.  Mary-le-Bow,  at  18  feet  deep,  reached 
a  Roman  causeway,  of  bricks  and  rubble  firmly  cemented,  which,  it  is  supposed,  formed, 
at  the  time  it  was  constructed,  the  northern  boundary  of  the  colony ;  and  upon  this  was 
laid  the  foundation  of  the  church-tower.  Wren  mistook  the  crypt  of  the  ancient 
Norman  church  for  Roman,  from  a  number  of  Roman  bricks  being  used  in  the  arches. 
(See  Godwin's  Churches  of  London,  1839.) 

Crutched  Friars,  1842. — A  group  of  the  Lece  Matres  discovered  in  excavating  a 
sewer  in  Hart-street,  Crutched  Friars,  at  a  considerable  depth,  among  the  ruins  of  Roman 
buildings ;  these  sculptured  remains  are  in  the  Guildhall  Library. 

Lowgate. — The  discovery  of  a  large  building  and  tessellated  pavement  here  has 
suggested  that  Dowgate  was  the  palace  of  the  Roman  prefect,  and  the  basilica  or  court 
of  justice. 

Finshury. — Opposite  the  Circus,  at  19  feet  deep,  has  been  discovered  a  well-turned 
Roman  arch,  at  the  entrance  of  which,  on  the  Finsbury  side,  were  iron  bars,  apparently 
to  restrain  sedge  and  weeds  from  choking  the  water-passage. 

Foster-lane,  1830. — In  excavating  for  the  New  Goldsmith's  Hall,  was  found,  15  feet 
below  the  level  of  the  street,  in  a  stratum  of  clay,  a  stone  altar  of  Diana,  23  inches 
high,  sculptured  in  front  with  a  figure  closely  resembling  the  Diana  Venatrix  of  the 
Louvre.  The  sides  each  contain  the  type  of  a  tree ;  on  the  back  are  the  remains  of  an 
inscription,  below  which  are  a  tripod,  a  sacrificial  vessel,  and  a  hare.  The  finding  of 
this  altar  supports  the  inference  that  the  ground  was  the  site  of  the  Temple  of  Diana, 
referred  by  some  antiquaries  to  the  spot  where  St.  Paul's  now  stands.  The  altar  is 
preserved  in  Goldsmith's  Hall.     (See  Archceologia,  vol.  xxix.  p.  145.) 

Grey  Friars,  1836. — A  fluted  pillar,  supposed  Roman,  found  in  the  fragment  of  a 
wall  of  the  Grey  Friars'  Monastery :  it  is  almost  the  only  specimen  of  the  kind 
noticed. 

Soundsditch,  .1845. — The  torso  of  a  white  marble  statue  of  a  slinger,  discovered  17 
feet  deep,  in  Petticoat-lane. 


ROMAN  LONDON.  715 


Islington. — In  the  fields,  about  midway  between  White  Conduit  House  and  Copen- 
hagen House,  near  Islington,  were,  until  built  over,  considerable  remains  of  Reedmont 
(or  Redmont)  Field ;  a  camp  said  to  have  been  occupied  by  Suetonius  Paulinus,  a.d.  61, 
whose  contest  with  Boadicea  at  Battle-bridge  has  been  confirmed  by  a  Roman  inscrip- 
tion discovered  in  1842.  Highbury,  the  summer  camp  of  the  Romans,  is  noticed  at 
p.  420.  In  1825,  arrow  heads  and  figured  pavement  were  found  at  Reedmont.— 
(Hone's  Lvery-day  Book,  vol.  ii.  p.  1566.) 

King -William-street,  Lothbury,  and  Princes-street,  1834,  1835,  1836. — Various 
remains  found  in  forming  the  new  thoroughfare  across  the  heart  of  the  City,  from 
London  Bridge  to  the  line  of  the  old  wall  at  Moorgate.  Evidences  of  Roman  habita- 
tions, at  the  depth  of  14  and  20  feet,  on  either  side  of  the  line  of  King  William -street. 
Near  St.  Clement's  Church,  pavement,  earthenware  lamps,  Samian  ware,  and  coins. 
Along  the  line  of  Princes-street,  brass  scales,  fibulae,  styli,  needles  in  brass  and  bone, 
coins,  a  sharpening  steel,  several  knives,  and  vessels  of  Samian  ware.  In  Lothbury,  at 
10  or  12  feet  deep,  chisels,  crowbars,  hammers,  &c. ;  a  leathern  sandal,  red  and  black 
pottery,  &c.  j  a  coin  of  Antoninus  Pius,  with  Britannia  on  the  reverse.  From  Lothbury 
to  London  Wall,  brass  coins  of  Claudius,  Vespasian,  and  Trajan  j  spatula?,  styli,  needles, 
a  gold  ring,  brass  tweezers,  a  hair-pin,  and  pottery.  Near  the  Swan's  Nest  in  Coleman- 
street,  a  pit  of  earthen  vessels,  a  coin  of  Ailectus  (296),  a  boat-hook,  and  a  bucket- 
handle.  At  Honey -lane,  under  some  Saxon  remains,  a  few  Roman  coins.  In  Bread* 
street,  richly  figured  Samian  vases,  circular  earthen  cooking-pans ;  and  wall  designs, 
fresh  in  colour,  and  resembling  those  of  modern  paper-hangings.  (C.  R.  Smith,  F.S.A. 
ArchcBologia,  vol.  xxvii.)  At  the  corner  of  St.  Swithin's-lane  have  been  found  several 
skeletons,  fragments  of  pottery ;  and  coins,  in  second-brass,  of  Antonia,  Claudius,  Nero, 
and  Vespasian. 

Leadenhall-street,  1576. — A  pavement  found  at  the  Leadenhall-street  end  of  Lime- 
street,  at  12  feet  deep ;  and  between  Billiter-lane  and  Lime-street,  a  stone  wall  and 
arched  gate,  which  Stow  supposes  to  have  belonged  to  a  Roman  house  destroyed  by  fire 
in  the  reign  of  Stephen.  1803. — A  magnificent  pavement  discovered  in  front  of  the 
India  House,  Leadenhall-street,  described  at  p.  319.  1863. — A  pavement  found  near 
the  site  of  the  portico  of  the  India  House  in  Leadenhall-street.  It  forms  a  square  oi 
about  five  feet,  set  in  a  floor  of  common  red  tesserae.  The  pattern  is  ingenious.  Under 
the  pavement  were  found  broken  portions  of  plaster,  with  red,  black,  and  grey  stripes, 
rery  perfect  as  to  colour. 

Lombard-street,  1786. — At  about  13  feet  deep  were  found  brick  ruins,  upon  three 
inches  thick  of  wood  ashes,  beneath  which  was  Roman  pavement,  common  and  tessellated 
(Sir  John  Henniker ;  Archceologia,  vol.  viii.).  Also,  near  Sherborne-lane,  at  12  feet 
deep,  a  pavement  running  across  Lombard-street,  between  which  and  the  Post-office,  but 
along  the  north  side,  ran  a  wall  10  feet  below  the  street-level,  built  of  ■  the  smaller- 
sized  Roman  bricks,"  and  pierced  by  perpendicular  flues,  the  chimneys  of  a  mansion. 
Other  fragments  of  walls  and  pavements  were  found;  and  in  Birchin-lane  was  un- 
covered a  tessellated  pavement  of  elegant  design ;  with  great  quantities  of  Roman  coins, 
fragments  of  pottery  and  glass  bottles,  keys  and  beads,  a  large  vessel  of  figured  Samian 
ware,  &c.     {See  Lombabd-stbeet,  p.  531.) 

London  Stone,  Cannon-street,  is  described  at  pp.  533-534. 

Lothbury,  1805. — Tessellated  pavement :  now  in  the  British  Museum. 

Ludgate. — Upon  the  site  of  the  present  church  of  St.  Martin,  Wren  found  a  small 
sepulchral  stone  monument  to  Vivianus  Marcianus,  a  soldier  of  the  second  legion,  erected 
by  his  wife,  and  sculptured  with  his  effigies  and  a  dedicatory  inscription :  this  monu- 
ment is  now  among  the  Arundel  Marbles  at  Oxford.  1792. — Barbican  or  watch-tower 
of  the  City  Wall  discovered  between  Ludgate  and  the  Fleet-ditch.  1800. — Sepulchral 
monument  found  in  the  rear  of  the  London  Coffee-house,  Ludgate-hill  (see  p.  539.) 
This  relic  has  been  removed  to  the  Corporation  Museum,  Guildhall. 

Moorfields. — An  inscribed  stone,  in  memory  of  Grata,  the  daughter  of  Dagobitus, 
has  been  discovered  at  London  Wall.  Mr.  Roach  Smith  is  of  opinion  that  the  London 
of  the  Britons  was  situated  in  Moorfields ;  and  on  this  aboriginal  establishment  the 
Romans  afterwards  enlarged.  In  1818  a  large  portion  of  the  wall  on  both  sides  of 
Moorgate  was  demolished. 


716  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Pavements  discovered  in  Bush-lane,  Cannon-street,  in  1666 ;  near  St.  Andrew's  Church, 
Holborn,  in  1681 ;  at  Crutched  Friars  in  1787 ;  behind  the  Old  Navy  Pay-Office  in 
Broad-street;  in  Northumberland-alley,  Fenchurch-street ;  and  in  Long- lane,  Smith- 
field, — about  the  commencement  of  the  present  century;  near  the  church  of  St. 
Dunstan's-in-the-East,  in  1824;  in  East  Cheap  in  1831 ;  at  St.  Clement's  Church,  and 
in  Lothbury,  opposite  Founders'-court,  in  1834 ;  in  Crosby-square  in  1836 ;  behind 
Winchester  House,  Bankside,  in  1850 ;  and  in  various  places  on  both  sides  of  High- 
street,  Southwark,  between  1818  and  1831.  (G.  L.  Craik,  in  Knight's  London,  vol.  i.) 
Some  stamped  tiles  bear  the  earliest  abbreviation  of  the  name  of  Londinium  :  they  read 
PBR  LON  and  P-B-LON,  supposed  Probatum  Londinii  proved  of  the  proper  quality 
at  London;  or  Frima  (cohors)  BRitonum  LON dinii,  the  first  (cohort)  of  the  Britons 
at  London.  (C.  R.  Smith,  F.S.A.)  Or,  Mr.  Wright  interprets  P.  PR.  BR.  upon 
another  tile,  as  Propraetor  Britannice  Londinii,  the  Propraetor  of  Britain  at  Londinium ; 
showing  that  Roman  London  was  the  seat  of  the  government  of  the  province.  See  a 
list  of  potter's  stamps  on  pottery  found  in  different  metropolitan  localities  in  the  Anti- 
quarian and  Architectural  Year-book  for  1844. 

Royal  Exchange,  1841. — In  excavating  for  the  foundations  was  opened  an  ancient 
gravel-pit,  filled  with  various  Roman  relics,  described  at  p.  326 ;  many  of  which  are 
preserved  in  the  Corporation  Museum.  Remains  of  buildings  covered  the  whole  site  of 
the  present  Exchange,  denoting  this  to  have  been  one  of  the  most  magnificent  portions 
of  Roman  London. 

Shadwell,  1615. — Two  coffins  (stone  and  lead),  with  bones,  lachrymatories,  and  two 
ivory  sceptres,  found  in  Sun  Tavern  Fields. 

Southwark. — Discoveries  of  tessellated  pavements  on  and  about  the  site  of  St.  Saviour's 
Church,  and  other  remains  of  buildings,  pottery,  lamps,  glass  vessels,  &c,  throughout 
the  line  of  High-street,  denote  this  to  have  been  within  Roman  London ;  and  a  burial- 
ground  of  the  period  has  been  discovered  on  the  site  of  that  now  attached  to  the  Dis- 
senters' Chapel,  Deverill-street,  New  Kent-road. 

Spitalfields. — Urns,  with  ashes  and  burnt  human  bones,  coins  (Claudius,  Nero,  Ves- 
pasian, and  Antoninus  Pius),  lachrymatories,  lamps,  and  Samian  ware,  found  in  the 
Lottesworth  or  Spitalfield. 

Strand. — "  The  Old  Roman  Spring  Bath"  in  Strand-lane,  between  Nos.  162  and 
163,  is  of  accredited  antiquity.  The  bath  itself  is  Roman  :  the  walls  being  layers  of 
brick  and  thin  layers  of  stucco ;  and  the  pavement  of  similar  brick  covered  with  stucco, 
and  resting  upon  a  mass  of  stucco  and  rubble :  the  bricks  are  9^  inches  long,  4^  inches 
broad,  and  If  inches  thick,  and  resemble  the  bricks  in  the  City  Wall.  The  property 
can  be  traced  to  the  Danvers  (or  D'Anvers)  family,  of  Swithland  Hall,  Leicestershire, 
whose  mansion  stood  upon  the  spot. 

St.  George '  s-in-the-East,  1715. — Many  sepulchral  remains  found  in  digging  the 
foundations  of  St.  George's  Church,  near  Goodman's  Fields ;  and  in  1787,  fragments  of 
urns  and  lachrymatories,  and  an  inscribed  Roman  stone,  were  dug  up  in  the  Tenter- 
ground. 

St.  Martin' s-lane,  1772. — In  digging  the  foundations  of  the  new  church  of  St.  Martin- 
in-the-Fields,  were  found,  at  14  feet  deep,  a  Roman  brick  arch ;  and  "  buffalo-heads," 
according  to  Gibbs,  the  architect.  In  Sir  Hans  Sloane's  Museum  was  a  glass  vase  con- 
taining ashes,  which  was  found  in  a  stone  coffin  upon  the  site  of  St.  Martin's  portico. 

St.  Martin' s-le- Grand,  1819. — Roman  vaultings,  discovered  in  digging  for  the  foun- 
dations of  the  General  Post-office. 

St.  Pancras,  1758. — "  Caesar's  Camp,"  near  St.  Pancras  Church,  discovered  by  Dr. 
Stukeley  (see  p.  641). 

St.  Paul's  Churchyard. — In  1675,  Wren,  in  excavating  for  the  foundations  of  the 
present  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  discovered  many  Saxon  and  British  graves ;  and  18  feet 
or  more  deep,  Roman  urns  intermixed, 

"  belonging  to  the  colony,  when  the  Romans  and  Britons  lived  and  died  together.  The  more  remark- 
able Roman  urns,  lamps,  and  lachrymatories,  fragments  of  sacrificing  vessels,  &c.  were  found  deep  in 
the  ground,  about  a  claypit  (under  the  north-east  angle  of  the  present  choir)  which  had  been  dug  by 
the  Koman  potters,  'in  a  stratum  of  close  and  hard  pot-earth,  that  extends  beneath  the  whole  site  of 
St.  Paul's  ;'  here  '  the  urns,  broken  vessels,  and  pottery-ware*  were  met  with  in  great  abundance." — 
■Wren's  Parentalia. 


ROMAN  LONDON.  717 


Wren  "  rummaged"  the  ground,  but  failed  to  discover  any  traces  of  the  Roman  Temple 
of  Diana  or  Apollo  reputed  to  have  been  built  here.  Dr.  Woodward,  however,  possessed 
sacrificing  vessels,  bearing  representations  of  Diana,  said  to  have  been  dug  up  at  St.  Paul's ; 
besides  a  brass  figure  of  Diana,  found  between  the  Deanery  and  Blackfriars  and  believed 
Roman.*  As  Londinium  was  the  great  centre  of  the  commerce  of  Britain  it  might  be  ex- 
pected that  it  would  supply  specimens  of  the  pottery  of  antiquity:  accordingly  notohere  in 

~"*~  ~*  ™™nna  kinds  been  discovered.    John  Conyers, 

•ought  to 
1  pottery 
ed  glazed 
rs'  stamps 

ames,  and 
e  Thames, 
penates  of 
t«yii-)  Brass 
ar  on  the 
ay  bridge : 

h  the  old 
deep :  they 
;  of  Roman 
f  of  Roman 
c.  Various 
stone  coffin 
t  stood  here 

>f  Ordnance, 
buildings;  a 
.onorius  and 
the  Romans 

hern  portion 
hed  remains ; 
Also,  inscrip- 
by  his  heir; 
on  of  greater 

i  the  surface, 

the  middle  of 

ed  pavement. 

e,"  from  some 

gments  of  the 

Steelyard,  in- 

,  together  with 

rived  from  the 

iteen  centuries. 

fine  hypocaust; 

«x^..  ,.---- vail,  &c. 

WalbrooTc,  1774  -fflnw?r,?w"^-*'— t -ft -"«. -■«__  »  ,  rer  from  Dow- 

gate  through  Walbrook.  *  L 

WMtechapel,  1776. — Monumental  stone  to  a  soldier  of  the  24th  legion,  found  in  a 
burial-ground  at  the  lower  end  of  Whitechapel-lane. 

*  In  excavating,  in  1853,  for  Cook's  colossal  warehouse  (built  in  90  days),  on  the  south  side  of  St. 
Paul's  Churchyard,  there  was  found  at  twenty  feet  deep  a  Danish  gravestone,  inscribed  in  Runic — Kin  a 
caused  this  stone  to  be  laid  over,  or  in  memory  of,  Tuki.  The  date  of  this  relic  is  about  a.d.  1000; 
and  it  is  said  to  be  the  only  Runic  monument  known  to  have  been  discovered  in  London. — Proc.  Moyal 
Society  of  Northern  Antiquaries. 


716  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Pavements  discovered  in  Bush-lane,  Cannon-street,  in  1666 ;  near  St.  Andrew's  Church, 

Holborn,  in  1681 ;  at  Crutched  Friars  in  1787 ;  behind  the  Old  Navy  Pay-Office  in 

Broad-street;  in  Northumberland-alley,  Fenchurch -street ;  and  in  Long- lane,  Smith- 
field, —  about   the   commencement  of  the  present  century;  near  the  church  of   St. 

Dunstan's-in-the-East,  in  1824;  in  East  Cheap  in  1831 ;  at  St.  Clement's  Church,  and 

in  Lothbury,  opposite  Founders'-court,  in  1834;  in  Crosby-square  in  1836:  behind 

Wincheste- "—  n.    i   "     «     — 

street,  Soi 

Some  stan 

PBRLO 

at  London 

at  Londor 

another  til 

showing  tl 

list  of  pott 

quartan  at 
Royal  2 

gravel-pit, 

preserved  i 

the  present 

of  Roman  1 
Shadwel 

ivory  scept: 
Southwa 

Church,  an 

the  line  of  1 

ground  of  t 

senters'  Ch: 
Spitalfie 

pasian,  and 

Lotteswortl 
Strand.— 

163,  is  of  ac 

brick  and  tl 

and  resting 

broad,  and  '. 

can  be  trace 

whose  mans 
St.  Oeori 

foundations 
urns  and  lac 

ground. 

St.  Marti 
in-the-Fields 
according  to 
tabling  ashei 
St.  Marti 
dations  of  th 

St.  Pancr  ,   >-»v-«.  *y  •*-*• 

Stukeley  (sec  r.  _>•*.■.;. 

St.  Paul's  Churchyard. — In  1675,  Wren,  in  excavating  for  the  foundations  of  the 
present  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  discovered  many  Saxon  and  British  graves ;  and  18  feet 
or  more  deep,  Roman  urns  intermixed, 

"  belonging  to  the  colony,  when  the  Romans  and  Britons  lived  and  died  together.  The  more  remark- 
able Roman  urns,  lamps,  and  lachrymatories,  fragments  of  sacrificing  vessels,  &c.  were  found  deep  in 
the  ground,  about  a  claypit  (under  the  north-east  angle  of  the  present  choir)  which  had  been  dug  by 
the  Roman  potters,  'in  a  stratum  of  close  and  hard  pot-earth,  that  extends  beneath  the  whole  siteof 
St.  Paul's ;'  here  '  the  urns,  broken  vessels,  and  pottery-ware'  were  met  with  in  great  abundance." — 
Wren's  Parentalia. 


ROMAN  LONDON.  717 


Wren  "  rummaged"  the  ground,  but  failed  to  discover  any  traces  of  the  Roman  Temple 
of  Diana  or  Apollo  reputed  to  have  been  built  here.  Dr.  Woodward,  however,  possessed 
sacrificing  vessels,  bearing  representations  of  Diana,  said  to  have  been  dug  up  at  St.  Paul's ; 
besides  a  brass  figure  of  Diana,  found  between  the  Deanery  and  Blackfriars  and  believed 
Roman.*  As  Londinium  was  the  great  centre  of  the  commerce  of  Britain  it  might  be  ex- 
pected that  it  would  supply  specimens  of  the  pottery  of  antiquity:  accordingly  nowhere  in 
England  has  such  an  immense  quantity  of  various  kinds  been  discovered.  John  Conyers, 
the  antiquary,  in  1677,  observed  the  remains  of  Roman  kilns,  which  were  brought  to 
light  in  digging  the  foundations  of  St.  Paul's.  Specimens  of  the  ornamented  pottery 
made  in  the  Castor  district  have  been  also  found  here,  and  nowhere  has  the  red  glazed 
pottery  known  as  "Samian"  ware,  been  found  more  plentifully;  the  potters'  stamps 
present  upwards  of  300  varieties. 

Thames  River. — A  silver  Harpocrates  found  in  1825  in  the  bed  of  the  Thames,  and 
now  in  the  British  Museum.  1837. — Bronzes  found  in  ballast-heaving  in  the  Thames, 
near  London  Bridge,  including  Mercury,  Apollo,  and  Atys;  probably  the  penates  of 
some  opulent  Roman  family. —  (C.  Roach  Smith,  F.S.A.,  Archaologia,  vol.  xxvii.)  Brass 
pins  of  various  lengths,  stated  to  have  been  found  on  the  paper,  in  a  cellar  on  the 
northern  bank  of  the  Thames  in  excavating  for  the  South-Eastern  Railway  bridge : 
they  have  solid  globose  heads. 

Threadneedle- street,  1840-1841. — Tessellated  pavements  found  beneath  the  old 
French  Protestant  Church  in  Threadneedle-street,  at  about  12  or  14  feet  deep :  they 
are  preserved  in  the  British  Museum.  In  1854  was  found  a  large  deposit  of  Roman 
debris,  in  excavating  the  site  of  the  church  of  St.  Bennet  Fink ;  consisting  of  Roman 
tiles,  flue-tiles,  fragments  of  black,  pale,  and  red  Samian  pottery  ;  glass,  &c.  Various 
fragments  of  Roman  vases  found,  together  with  the  lid  of  an  Early-English  stone  coffin 
and  part  of  the  tracery  of  a  Gothic  window,  probably  part  of  the  church  that  stood  here 
before  the  Great  Fire. 

Tower,  1777. — In  digging  the  foundations  of  a  new  office  for  the  Board  of  Ordnance, 
within  the  Tower,  at  a  great  depth,  were  discovered  remains  of  ancient  buildings ;  a 
silver  ingot  impressed  "  Ex  optic.  Honoeii,"  and  three  gold  coins  of  Honorius  and 
Arcadius ;  a  small  glass  crown,  and  an  inscribed  stone ;  thus  indicating  that  the  Romans 
had  a  fortress  upon  the  Tower  site. 

Tower  Hill,  1852. — Fragments  of  a  Roman  building  found  at  the  northern  portion 
of  the  City  Wall,  including  the  supposed  volute  of  a  capital,  and  other  enriched  remains ; 
besides  a  Roman  sarcophagus  nearly  entire :  now  in  the  British  Museum.  Also,  inscrip- 
tion in  memory  of  Alfidius  Pompus,  set  up  in  compliance  with  his  will  by  his  heir ; 
another  at  the  same  time,  in  the  same  place,  commemorating  some  person  of  greater 
distinction. 

Upper  Thames-street,  1839. — Opposite  Vintners'  Hall,  at  10  feet  from  the  surface, 
were  found  remains  of  the  Wall  parallel  writh  the  Thames ;  and  about  the  middle  of 
Queen-street,  19  feet  from  the  surface,  was  unearthed  a  fine  tessellated  pavement. 
1865. — At  the  corner  of  Suffolk-lane,  on  part  of  "  the  Manor  of  the  Rose,"  from  some 
15  or  16  feet  deep,  a  large  quantity  of  Roman  foundation-tiles  and  fragments  of  the 
embankment-wall  for  the  river.  1866.— Several  articles  from  the  old  Steelyard,  in- 
cluding bone  pins,  styli,  spatulae,  and  other  Roman  antiquities  in  bronze,  together  with 
some  iron  keys.  The  bronze  objects  were  of  a  brilliant  golden  hue,  derived  from  the 
damp  soil  in  which  they  had  been  buried  for,  probably,  not  less  than  eighteen  centuries. 

Lower  Thames-street. — Bricks  and  coins,  urns  and  pavements ;  a  very  fine  hypocaust ; 
and  a  portion  of  a  Roman  building  and  another  hypocaust,  remains  of  wall,  &c. 

Walbrook,  1774. — Wood-ashes  found,  22  feet  deep,  in  making  a  sewer  from  Dow- 
gate  through  Walbrook. 

Whitechapel,  1776. — Monumental  stone  to  a  soldier  of  the  24th  legion,  found  in  a 
burial-ground  at  the  lower  end  of  Whitechapel-lane. 

*  In  excavating,  in  1853,  for  Cook's  colossal  warehouse  (built  in  90  days),  on  the  south  side  of  St. 
Paul's  Churchyard,  there  was  found  at  twenty  feet  deep  a  Danish  gravestone,  inscribed  in  Runic — Kixa 
caused  this  stone  to  be  laid  over,  or  in  memory  of,  Tuki.  The  date  of  this  relic  is  about  a.d.  1000; 
and  it  is  said  to  be  the  only  Runic  monument  known  to  have  been  discovered  in  London. — Proc.  Royal 
Society  of  Northern  Antiquaries. 


718  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

In  Mr.  Charles  Roach  Smith's  Museum  of  London  Antiquities,  described  at  p.  590,  are  528  Roman 
items,  collected  in  the  metropolis  during  street-improvements,  sewerage,  and  the  deepening  of  the  bed 
of  the  Thames.  These  objects  include  Roman  sculpture,  bronzes,  pottery,  terra-cotta  lamps,  red  glazed 
pottery,  potters' stamps,  glass ;  tiles,  pavements,  and  wall-paintings;  personal  ornaments,  sandals  in 
leather,  utensils  and  implements,  and  coins.  The  Museum  contains  the  same  number  of  Anglo-Saxon 
and  Norman,  and  Mediaeval  remains.  {See  the  Catalogue,  with  illustrations  by  F.  W.  Fairholt,  F.S.A., 
printed  for  the  Subscribers  only,  1854) 

The  list  of  Koman  coins  found  in  London  and  enumerated  in  the  above  catalogue 
amounts  to  upwards  of  2000 ;  yet  this  list  contains  those  only  which,  for  about  the 
last  30  years,  have  passed  under  the  eye  of  Mr.  Roach  Smith,  chiefly  from  the  bed  of 
the  Thames. 

"  A  much  larger  number  within  that  period  of  time  must  have  been  found.  Six  hundred,  or  more, 
picked  up  from  gravel  dredged  from  the  Thames,  and  strewed  along  the  bank  of  the  Surrey  Canal,  were 
collected  by  the  late  Mr.  R.  Pimm,  of  Deptford.  It  is  well  to  record  this  fact,  because  the  gravel  taken 
from  the  bed  of  the  Thames  below  London-bridge  has  been  extensively  used  for  repairing  the  banks  of 
the  river  at  Barnes  and  other  places,  and  this  gravel  contained  large  quantities  of  coins,  the  finding  of 
which  in  some  future  day  may  puzzle  and  deceive  persons  ignorant  of  their  history.  A  hoard  of  denarii 
of  the  Higher  Empire  was  found  in  the  City,  which,  the  corporation  having  declined  purchasing,  was 
bought  by  Mr.  Mark  Boyd.  Vast  quantities  are  said  to  have  been  found  in  removing  the  piers  of  old 
London-bridge  and  in  excavating  the  approaches  to  the  new  bridge.  Of  these,  and  of  those  exhumed 
in  the  City  in  former  times,  scarcely  a  record  has  been  preserved.  The  list  here  presented  will  not  give 
more  than  an  imperfect  notion  of  the  number  actually  brought  to  light,  but  it  will  serve  to  convey  a 
faint  idea  of  the  incalculable  quantity  which  must  have  been  met  with,  both  in  modern  times  and  in 
past  ages."— C.  Roach  Smith,  F.S.A. 

I 
ROTKERHITKE, 

A  MANOR  and  parish  between  Deptford  and  Bermondsey,  on  the  Surrey  bank  of 
the  Thames,  was  anciently  called  Retherhith,  probably  from  the  Saxon  redhra,  a 
mariner,  and  hyth,  a  haven — i.e.  the  sailor's  harbour.  (Bray ley's  Surrey.)  It  is  vul- 
garly Medriff.  At  the  time  of  Domesday,  it  was  included  in  the  royal  manor  of 
Bermondsey ;  but  it  was  not  surrendered  until  the  reign  of  Charles  I.  A  fleet  was 
fitted  out  at  Rotherhithe  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III.,  by  order  of  the  Black  Prince 
and  John  of  Gaunt.  Lambarde  states  that  Henry  IV.  lodged  in  an  "  old  stone  house 
here  whiles  he  was  cured  of  a  leprosie ;"  and  two  of  Henry's  charters  are  dated  here, 
July,  1412.  The  mother-church  of  St.  Mary  is  described  at  p.  187  :  Gataker,  the 
erudite  Latin  critic,  was  rector  from  1611  to  1654 ;  he  was  imprisoned  in  the  Fleet  by 
Laud,  and  is  buried  here.  In  the  churchyard  lies  Prince  Le  Boo.  The  registers,  com- 
mencing 1556,  contain  many  entries  of  ages  from  90  to  99  years,  and  one  of  120  years. 
Admiral  Sir  Charles  Wager  possessed  the  manor  between  1740  and  1750.  The  brave 
Admiral  Sir  John  Leake  was  born  here  June,  1656 ;  but  Admiral  Benbow,  stated  by 
Manning  and  Bray  to  have  been  born  at  Rotherhithe,  was  a  native  of  Coton-hill, 
Shrewsbury.  (See  Gent.  Mag.  Dec.  1809.)  George  Lillo,  the  dramatist,  who  wrote 
the  plays  of  George  Barnwell,  Arden  of  Feversham,  and  Fatal  Curiosity,  was  a  jeweller 
living  at  Rotherhithe  in  1735. 

Swift's  Captain  Gulliver,  he  tells  us,  was  long  an  inhabitant  of  Rotherhithe.  There  is  such  a 
reality  given  to  this  person  by  Swift  that  one  seaman  is  said  to  have  sworn  that  he  knew  Captain 
Gulliver  very  well,  but  he  lived  at  Wapping,  not  at  Rotherhithe.  Lord  Scarborough  fell  in  company 
with  a  master  of  a  ship  who  told  him  he  was  very  well  acquainted  with  Gulliver,  but  that  the  printer 
had  mistaken ;  that  he  lived  in  Wapping,  not  in  Rotherhithe.  "  It  is  as  true  as  if  Mr.  Gulliver  had 
spoken  it,"  was  a  sort  of  proverb  among  his  neighbours  at  Redriff.  Rogers,  the  poet,  remarked  in  the 
churchyard  at  Banbury  several  inscriptions  to  persons  named  Gulliver,  and  on  his  return  home,  looking 
into  Oulliuer's  Travel*,  Mr.  Rogers  found  to  his  surprise  that  the  said  inscriptions  are  mentioned  there 
as  a  confirmation  of  Mr.  Gulliver's  statement,  that  "his  family  came  from  Oxfordshire;"  so  completely 
is  the  joke  kept  up. 

"  In  five  long  years  I  took  no  second  spouse ; 
What  Redriff  wife  so  long  hath  kept  her  vows?" 

Gay's  Epistle — Mary  Gulliver  to  the  Captain. 

A  fire,  June  1,  1765,  destroyed  here  206  houses,  and  property  worth  100,000^.  In 
1804,  a  tunnel  from  Rotherhithe,  beneath  the  Thames,  to  Limehouse,  was  commenced 
by  Vasey  and  Trevethick,  but  failed.  The  "  Thames  Tunnel,"  by  Brunei,  commences 
at  a  short  distance  east  of  St.  Mary's  Church.  The  Commercial  Docks  at  Rotherhithe 
are  described  at  p.  309. 

Gerard  mentions  the  Water  Gladiole  as  growing  "  by  the  famous  river  Thamesis,  not  far  from  a 
peece  of  ground  called  the  Divel's  neckerchiefe  neere  Redriffe  by  London,"    The  Devil's  Neckerchief 


ROYAL  SOCIETY.  719 


was  a  zigzag  piece  of  swampy  ground,  which  became  perverted  to  Neckinger,  as  the  vulgar  phrase  Muck- 
inner  is  applied  to  a  pocket-handkerchief.  The  ground  is  now  "  the  Neckinger-road,"  with  Neckinger 
Mills,  &c. :  it  is  in  the  parish  of  Bermondsey,  not  far  from  the  boundary  of  Rotherhithe.  It  has  been 
called  "  the  devil's  neck  in  danger,"  from  the  dangerous  course  of  the  road  between  two  ditches,  as 
shown  in  Sayer's  Map  of  London,  1768,  in  which  the  name  is  spelled  "Neckincher."  In  Phillips's  Ber- 
mondsey, 1841,  it  is  stated  that  the  Neckinger  Ditch  is  an  ancient  water-course,  and  was  formerly  navi- 
gable to  Bermondsey  Abbey. — See  Notes  and  Queries,  2nd  s.  Nos.  71  and  73. 

BOYAL  ACADEMY  OF  ARTS.— See  Picttjee  Galleeies,  p.  676. 

BOYAL  EXCHANGE.— See  Exchanges,  pp.  322-329. 

ROYAL  INSTITUTION,  THE, 

NO.  21,  Albemarle-street,  Piccadilly,  was  founded  in  1799,  "  for  diffusing  the  know- 
ledge, and  facilitating  the  general  introduction,  of  useful  mechanical  inventions  and 
improvements ;  and  for  teaching,  by  courses  of  philosophical  lectures  and  experiments, 
the  application  of  science  to  the  common  purposes  of  life :"  hence  the  motto  of  the 
Institution,  Illustrans  commoda  vitce.  It  was  incorporated  in  1800.  The  Institution 
has  been  worthily  designated  as  "  the  workshop  of  the  Royal  Society ;"  for  within  its 
laboratory  Sir  Humphry  Davy  made  those  brilliant  discoveries  which  were  published 
through  the  medium  of  the  Transactions  of  the  Royal  Society ;  and  the  example  of 
Davy  has  been  followed  by  Faraday.  Sir  Joseph  Banks,  Count  Rumford,  and  Mr. 
Cavendish  were  among  the  founders  of  the  Royal  Institution.  In  the  basement  was  an 
experimental  kitchen,  with  Rumford  stoves,  roasters,  and  boilers ;  apparatus  for  heating 
water  by  steam,  &c. ;  a  workshop  for  coppersmiths  and  braziers.  Above  are  a  labora- 
tory, lecture-theatre,  museum,  library  (see  p.  464),  and  model  repository.  Here 
Davy  gave  his  first  lecture,  April  25,  1801 ;  and  in  1807  discovered  by  galvanism  the 
composition  of  the  fixed  alkalis,  and  their  metallic  bases,  potassium  and  sodium :  his 
great  voltaic  battery  consisted  of  2000  double  plates  of  copper  and  zinc,  of  4  inches 
square,  the  whole  surface  being  128,000  square  inches.  Davy  was  succeeded  by  Brande ; 
and  Faraday  was,  in  1833,  chosen  for  a  second  chair  of  Chemistry,  the  Fullerian, 
founded  by  John  Fuller,  Esq.,  whose  bequests  have  amounted  to  10,0002.  The  mine- 
ralogical  collection  in  the  museum  was  commenced  by  Davy. 

The  history  of  chemical  science  dates  one  of  its  principal  epochs  from  the  foundation  of  the  labora- 
tory of  the  Boyal  Institution.  Here  the  researches  of  Davy  and  Faraday  extended  over  nearly  half  a 
century :  including  the  laws  of  electro-chemical  decomposition,  the  decomposition  of  the  fixed  alkalis, 
the  establishment  of  the  nature  of  chlorine,  the  philosophy  of  flame,  the  condensibility  of  many 
gases,  the  science  of  magneto-electricity,  the  twofold  magnetism  of  matter,  and  the  magnetism  of  gases. 
Here  Coleridge  gave  his  celebrated  Lectures  on  Poetry.  Among  the  MSS.  in  the  Library  are  fifty-six 
volumes  of  Letters,  &c,  respecting  the  American  War ;  Papers  of  Lord  Stanhope ;  and  the  Laboratory 
Note-Books  of  Sir  Humphry  Davy. 

The  Institution  building,  originally  five  houses,  received  its  present  architectural 
front,  by  L.  Vulliamy,  in  1839. 

The  institution  owes  much  to  the  talent  of  Faraday,  who,  in  the  words  of  the  Honorary  Secre- 
tary, "  has  worked  long  and  much  for  the  love  of  the  Institution,  and  little  for  its  money.  For  forty 
years,  from  1813  to  1853,  his  fixed  income  from  the  Institution  was  not  more  than  200J.  per  annum.  In 
1853,  Professor  Tyndall  was  elected  to  lecture  on  Natural  Philosophy  for  2001.  per  annum.  In  1859,  he 
received  300?.  per  annum."  Mr.  Brande  succeeded  Sir  Humphry  Davy  as  Professor  of  Chemistry,  and 
was  from  1820  associated  with  Mr.  Faraday ;  he  died  in  1866,  at  the  age  of  81. 

ROYAL  SOCIETY. 

THIS  is  the  oldest  Society  of  its  kind  in  Europe,  except  the  Lyncean  Academy  at 
Rome,  of  which  Galileo  was  a  member.  The  Royal  Society  originated  in  London, 
about  1645,  in  the  weekly  meetings  of  "  divers  worthy  persons  inquisitive  into  natural 
philosophy,  and  other  parts  of  human  learning ;  and  particularly  the  new  philosophy,  or 
experimental  philosophy •"  these  meetings  being  first  suggested  by  Theodore  Haak,  a 
German  of  the  Palatinate,  then  resident  in  the  metropolis.  This  is  supposed  to  be  the 
club  which  Mr.  Boyle,  in  1646,  designated  "  the  Invisible  or  Philosophical  Society." 
They  met  at  Dr.  Goddard's  lodgings  in  Wood-street ;  at  the  Bull's  Head  Tavern,  Cheap- 


720  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

side;  and  at  Gresham  College.  About  1648-9,  some  of  the  members,  including  Dr. 
(afterwards  Bishop)  VVilkins,  removed  to  Oxford,  and  were  joined  by  Seth  Smith, 
Ralph  Bathurst,  Sir  William  Petty,  and  the  Hon.  Robert  Boyle,  who  met  at  Petty's 
lodgings  in  an  apothecary's  house,  "  because  of  the  convenience  of  inspecting  drugs." 
The  members  in  London  continued  also  to  meet,  until,  in  1658,  they  were  ejected  from 
Gresham  College,  which  was  required  for  barracks.  Evelyn,  Cowley,  and  Sir  William 
Petty  proposed  separate  plans  for  a  "  philosophical  college :"  Sprat  says  that  Cowley's 
proposition  accelerated  the  foundation  of  the  Royal  Society,  in  praise  of  which  he  sub- 
sequently wrote  an  ode.  At  the  Restoration,  in  1660,  the  meetings  were  revived ;  and 
April  22,  1662,  the  Society  was  incorporated  by  royal  charter,  by  Charles  II.  This 
charter  is  on  four  sheets  of  vellum,  and  has  on  the  first  sheet  ornamental  initials  and 
flowers,  and  a  finely  executed  portrait  of  Charles  in  Indian  ink;  appended  is  the 
Great  Seal  in  green  wax.  The  Charter  empowers  the  President  to  wear  his  hat  while 
in  the  chair,  and  the  fellows  addressed  the  President  bareheaded  till  he  made  a  sign  for 
them  to  put  on  their  hats ;  customs  now  obsolete.  Next  year  the  King  granted  a 
second  charter,  which  is  of  greater  importance  than  the  first ;  and  his  Majesty  presented 
the  Society  with  the  silver-gilt  mace. 

The  Mace  is  about  4  feet  in  length,  and  weighs  190  oz.  avoirdupois :  its  stem  is  chased  with  the 
thistle,  and  has  an  urn-shaped  head,  surmounted  by  a  crown,  ball,  and  cross.  Upon  the  head  are 
embossed  figures  of  a  rose,  harp,  thistle,  and  fleur-de-lis,  and  the  initials  C.R.  four  times  repeated. 
Under  the  crown  are  chased  the  royal  arms ;  and  at  the  other  extremity  of  the  stem  are  two  shields, 
one  bearing  the  Society's  arms,  the  other  a  Latin  inscription  denoting  the  mace  to  have  been  presented 
to  the  Society  by  Charles  II.  in  1663.  It  was  long  believed  by  numberless  visitors  to  be  the  "  bauble" 
mace  turned  out  of  the  House  of  Commons  by  Cromwell  when  he  dissolved  the  Long  Parliament ;  but 
Mr.  Weld,  the  assistant-secretary  and  librarian,  in  a  communication  to  the  Society,  April  30,  1846, 
proved  this  to  be  a  popular  error,  by  showing  the  warrant  for  making  this  mace  and  delivering  it  to 
Lord  Brouncker,  the  first  President  of  the  Society.  Again,  the  "  bauble"  was  altogether  different  in 
form  from  the  Society's  mace,  and  was  nearly  destitute  of  ornament,  and  without  the  crown  and  cross, 
as  described  in  Whitelock's  Memorials,  and  represented  accordingly  in  West's  picture  of  the  Dissolu- 
tion of  the  Long  Parliament. 

From  this  session,  1663,  date  the  Philosophical  Transactions,  wherein  the  proceed- 
ings and  discoveries  of  the  Society  are  registered.  This  year  the  Society  exercised  their 
privilege  of  claiming  the  bodies  of  criminals  executed  at  Tyburn,  which  were  to  be 
dissected  in  Gresham  College.  In  1664,  the  king  signed  himself  in  the  charter-book 
as  the  founder ;  and  his  brother,  the  Duke  of  York,  signed  as  a  fellow.  In  1667 
Chelsea  College  was  granted  to  the  Society,  for  their  meetings,  laboratory,  repository, 
and  library ;  but  the  building  was  too  dilapidated,  "  the  annoyance  of  Prince  Rupert's 
glass-house"  adjoined  it,  and  the  property  was  purchased  back  for  the  king's  use  for 
1Z001.  The  Society  then  resumed  their  meetings  in  Gresham  College,  until  they  were 
dispersed  by  the  Great  Plague  and  Fire,  after  which  they  met  in  Arundel  House  in  the 
Strand.  The  Fellows  now  (1667)  numbered  200,  and  their  subscription  Is.  per  week ; 
from  the  payment  of  which  Newton,  who  joined  the  Society  in  1674,  was  excused,  on 
account  of  his  narrow  finances. 

In  1674  the  Society  returned  to  Gresham  College.  They  were  fiercely  attacked :  a 
Warwick  physician  accused  them  of  attempting  to  undermine  the  Universities,  to  bring 
in  popery  and  absurd  novelties  ;  but  a  severer  satire  was  The  Elephant  in  the  Moon, 
by  Butler.  Among  their  early  practices  was  the  fellows  gathering  May-dew,  and  ex- 
perimenting with  the  divining-rod;  and  the  Hon.  Robert  Boyle  believed  in  the  efficacy 
of  the  touch  of  Greatrakes  the  Stroker  for  the  evil.  In  1686  Newton  presented  his 
Principia  to  the  Society,  whose  clerk,  Halley,  the  astronomer,  printed  the  work.  The 
MS.,  entirely  in  Newton's  hand,  is  preserved  in  the  library. 

In  1703  Sir  Isaac  Newton  was  elected  president.  In  1710  the  society  purchased  the 
house  of  Dr.  Brown,  at  the  top  of  Crane-court,  Fleet-street,  "  being  in  the  middle  of 
the  town  and  out  of  noise."  This  house  was  built  by  Wren,  after  the  Great  Fire 
of  1666,  upon  the  site  of  the  mansion  of  Dr.  Nicholas  Barbon.  This  new  purchase  was 
considered  unfortunate  for  the  society.  The  house  required  several  hundred  pounds' 
repairs ;  the  rooms  were  small  and  inconvenient  compared  with  those  of  Gresham  Col- 
lege ;  and  the  removal  led  to  the  separation  of  the  Society  from  the  College  Professors, 
after  being  associated  for  nearly  fifty  years.  The  house  in  Crane-court  fronted  a 
garden,  where  was  a  fishpond.  There  is  a  small  hall  on  the  ground  floor,  and  a  passage 
from  the  staircase  into  the  garden,  fronting  which  are  the  meeting-room,  25|  feet  by 


SAVOY  (THE).  721 


16  feet,  and  a  smaller  room.  In  the  former  apartment,  the  Society  met  from  1710  till 
1782.  It  is  intact,  and  is  very  interesting  as  the  room  in  which  Newton  sat  in  the 
presidential  chair,  which  is  preserved.  The  Library  and  Museum  were  removed  here  : 
the  latter  numbered  several  thousand  specimens,  the  list  of  which  fills  twenty  pages  of 
Hatton's  London,  1708.  The  house  formerly  included  the  present  No.  8,  in  which  was 
kept  the  Society's  library,  in  cedar-wood  cases.  In  1782  the  Society  removed  to 
Somerset  House,  and  sold  the  Crane-court  house  to  the  Scottish  Hospital. 

The  Royal  Society  then  transferred  most  of  their  older  curiosities  to  the  British 
Museum.  For  their  meeting-room  they  had  a  noble  apartment  in  the  east  wing  of 
Somerset  House ;  it  has  an  enriched  ceiling  by  Sir  William  Chambers,  and  here  were 
given  the  conversazioni  of  the  Presidents,  Sir  Joseph  Banks,  Dr.  Wollaston,  Sir 
Humphry  Davy,  Mr.  Davies  Gilbert,  the  Earl  of  Rosse,  and  Lord  Wrottesley.  The 
Duke  of  Sussex  received  the  Fellows  at  Kensington  Palace;  and  the  Marquis  of 
Northampton  at  his  mansion  on  the  Terrace,  Piccadilly.  In  1857  the  Society  removed 
to  Burlington  House,  which  had  recently  been  purchased  by  the  Government,  their 
meeting-room  at  Somerset  House  being  then  given  to  the  Society  of  Antiquaries,  who 
had  hitherto  occupied  the  adjoining  rooms. 

In  "  Burlington's  fair  palace"  a  large  apartment  in  the  western  wing  of  the  man- 
sion is  fitted  up  as  the  Royal  Society's  meeting-room.  In  the  elegant  suite  of  rooms, 
with  ceilings  painted  by  Ricci,  is  the  library ;  and  in  these  apartments  the  President 
holds  his  annual  conversazioni,  at  which  novelties  in  science  and  art  are  shown. 

The  meeting-room  at  Burlington  House  is  hung  round  with  the  Society's  pictures, 
of  which  Mr.  Weld  has  prepared  an  interesting  catalogue  raisonnee,  privately  printed : 
they  include  three  portraits  of  Newton,  by  Jervas,  Marchand,  and  Vanderbank  ;  Vis- 
count Brouncker  (first  president),  by  Lely  ;  Sir  Humphry  Davy,  by  Lawrence ;  Davies 
Gilbert  and  the  Marquis  of  Northampton,  by  Phillips ;  Sir  John  Pringle,  by  Reynolds  ; 
Sir  Hans  Sloane,  Lord  Somers,  Sir  J.  Williamson,  and  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  by 
Kneller;  Dr.  Wollaston,  by  Jackson;  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  by  Phillips,  &c.  The 
Society  also  possess  marble  busts  of  Charles  II.  and  George  III.,  by  Nollekens ;  Sir 
Joseph  Banks,  by  Chantrey ;  John  Dollond,  by  Garland ;  Davies  Gilbert,  by  Westma- 
cott;  Sir  Isaac  Newton, by  Roubiliac ;  Laplace;  Mrs. Somerville,  by  Chantrey  ;  James 
Watt,  after  Chantrey ;  and  Cuvier,  in  bronze.     The  Museum  is  described  at  page  600. 

Here  also  are  the  Exchequer  standard  yard  set  off  upon  the  Society's  yard :  it  is  of 
brass,  and  is  of  great  value  since  the  destruction  of  the  parliamentary  standard ;  the 
Society's  standard  barometer ;  also  the  water-barometer,  made  by  Professor  Daniell, 
whose  last  official  service  was  the  refilling  of  this  instrument,  in  1844. 

The  Royal  Society  distribute  four  gold  medals  annually — the  Rumford,  two  Royal 
(value  50  guineas  each),  and  the  Copley ;  and  from  the  donation-fund  men  of  science 
are  assisted  in  special  researches. 

The  Charter-look  is  bound  in  crimson  velvet,  with  gold  clasps  and  corners,  and  inscription-plates — 
1.  The  Shield  of  the  Society ;  2.  Crest :  an  eagle  or,  holding  a  shield  with  the  arms  of  England.  The 
leaves  are  fine  vellum,  and  bear,  superbly  blazoned,  the  arms  of  England  and  the  Society ;  next,  the 
third  charter  and  statutes  (60  pages).  Autographs  (1st  page) :  ornamented  scroll-border  and  Royal 
shield,  above  the  signatures,  "  Chabi.es  E.,  Founder"  (written  Jan.  9th,  1664-5) ;  "  James,  Fellow  ;'* 
and  "  George  Rupert,  Fellow."  In  the  next  page  are  the  autographs  of  various  foreign  ambassadors  ; 
and  the  third  and  succeeding  pages  contain  the  signatures  of  the  fellows  beneath  the  obligation  which 
holds  each  leaf:  Clarendon,  Boyle,  Wallis,  Wren,  Hooke,  Evelyn,  Pepys,  Norfolk,  Flamsteed,  and  New- 
ton, are  here  (the  name  beneath  that  of  Newton  is  nearly  obliterated  by  the  sad  habit  of  touching). 
Seventy-one  pages  are  occupied  by  the  autographs  of  the  fellows  (including  those  on  the  foreign  list). 
Here  are  the  autographs  of  the  successive  kings  and  queens  of  England,  and  many  sovereigns  of  foreign 
countries  who  have  visited  England.  Queen  Victoria  has  signed  her  name  as  patron  of  the  Society ;  and 
on  the  same  richly  illuminated  page  are  the  signatures  of  Prince  Albert  and  the  kings  of  Prussia  and 
Saxony. — Weld's  Rittory  of  the  Royal  Society,  vol.  i.  p.  177  (abridged). 

See,  also,  Crane-couet,  p.  296;  Royal  Society  Club,  p.  256. 

SAVOY  {THE). 

ON  the  spot,  south  side  of  the  Strand,  and  which  still  bears  the  name  of  Savoy,  but 
is  now  mostly  occupied  by  Wellington-street  and  Lancaster-place,  was  anciently  a 
noble  palace,  magnificently  rebuilt  by  Henry,  first  Duke  of  Lancaster.  Here  was  con- 
fined John  King  of  France,  taken  prisoner  by  Edward  the  Black  Prince,  at  Poictiers, 

3  A 


722  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

in  1356 ;  "  and  thyder  came  to  se  hym  the  kyng  and  the  quene  often  tymes,  and  made 
hym  gret  feest  and  cheere :"  he  was  released  in  1360 ;  but  returning  to  captivity,  died 
in  the  Savoy,  "  his  antient  prison,"  in  1364.  The  demesnes  descended  to  John  of 
Gaunt :  here  the  poet  Chaucer  was  his  frequent  guest ;  some  of  his  poems  were  written 
in  the  Savoy ;  and  Chaucer's  Dream  allegorises  his  own  marriage  with  Philippa,  a 
lady  of  the  duchess'  household.  But  Gaunt,  a  staunch  Wickliffite,  had  his  palace  attacked 
by  the  Londoners  in  1377.  In  1381  it  was  burnt  by  Wat  Tyler's  rebels  :  the  costly 
plate  and  furniture  were  destroyed  or  thrown  into  the  Thames,  and  the  great  hall  and 
several  houses  were  blown  up.  Shakspeare  lays  a  scene  of  his  Richard  II.  in  a  room 
of  the  Savoy,  which,  however,  was  then  in  rums.  Thus  it  lay  until  1505,  when  was 
commenced  building  the  Hospital  of  St.  John  the  Baptist,  the  history  of  which,  and  its 
celebrated  Chapel  Eoyal,  is  narrated  at  pp.  142-144.  Here  Charles  II.  established 
"the  French  Church  in  the  Savoy;"*  and  here  were  churches  for  the  Dutch,  High 
Germans,  and  Lutherans;  the  German- Lutheran  church  has  been  rebuilt.  (Savox 
Pbison,  see  p.  703.) 

SCHOOLS,  PUBLIC. 

THE  great  Schools  of  London  are  as  follow  :  Chaeterhottse,  described  at  pp.  86-88; 
Christ's  Hospital  (Blue-coat  School),  described  at  pp.  95-101.  The  City 
OF  London  School  occupies  the  site  of  Honey-lane  Market,  in  the  rear  of  the 
houses  facing  Bow  Church,  and  was  designed  by  J.  B.  Bunning ;  the  first  stone  laid 
by  Lord  Brougham,  Oct.  21,  1835.  The  style  is  Elizabethan,  with  earlier  and  more 
enriched  principal  windows  and  entrance;  the  latter,  a  rich  arched  doorway,  sur- 
mounted by  a  lofty  gable  pediment,  and  above,  an  open  gallery  of  five  trefoiled  pointed 
arches  on  lofty  pillars,  flanked  by  buttress-turrets  76^  feet  high,  is  novel  and 
picturesque.  The  cost  of  the  edifice,  about  12,000/.,  was  defrayed  by  the  Corporation 
of  London,  who  gave  the  site,  which  produced  a  yearly  rental  of  300/.  The  school, 
for  400  scholars,  is  partly  supported  with  900/.  a-year  derived  from  certain  lands  and 
tenements  bequeathed  by  John  Carpenter,  Town-Clerk  and  "  Secretary"  of  London  in 
the  reign  of  Henry  VI. ;  and  who  several  times  represented  the  City  in  Parliament, 
and  was  "  executor  of  the  will  of  Bichard  Whityngton."  Carpenter's  bequest, 
originally  but  19/.  10*.  per  annum,  was  "for  the  finding  and  bringing  up  of  four 
poor  men's  children  with  meat,  drink,  apparel,  learning  at  the  schools,  in  the  univer- 
sities, &c,  until  they  be  preferred,  and  then  others  in  their  places  for  ever."  (Stow.) 
The  bequest  was  thus  appropriated  in  1633,  when  the  boys  wore  "  coats  of  London 
russet,"  with  buttons;  and  they  were  accustomed  from  time  to  time  to  show  their 
copy-books  to  the  Chamberlain,  in  proof  of  the  application  of  the  Charity.  In  1827  it 
was  extended  to  the  education  of  four  boys,  sons  of  freemen,  and  nominated  by  the 
Lord  Mayor,  at  the  Tonbridge  Grammar  School ;  each  boy,  on  quitting,  received  100/., 
thus  increasing  the  annual  expense  to  about  420/.  In  the  lapse  of  nearly  four 
centuries,  the  value  of  Carpenter's  estates  had  augmented  from  19/.  10s.  to  900/.,  or 
nearly  five-and-forty  fold,  when  the  school  was  re-established  as  above.  The  form  of 
admission  must  be  signed  by  a  member  of  the  Corporation  of  London ;  the  general 
course  of  instruction  includes  the  English,  French,  German,  Latin,  and  Greek 
languages.  The  school  is  mainly  indebted  to  Mr.  Alderman  Hale  (Lord  Mayor  1864-5), 
for  its  re- establishment  and  great  extension. 

*  The  first  five  churches  in  London  appropriated  to  the  Protestants  of  France  were  the  old  Temple 
in  Threadneedle-street,  and  those  of  the  Savoy,  Marylebone,  and  Castle-street ;  and  a  church  in  Spital- 
fields,  added  upon  the  application  of  the  consistory  to  James  II.  To  these  were  successively  added 
twenty-six  others,  mostly  founded  during  the  reigns  of  William  III.,  Queen  Anne,  and  George  I. :— That 
of  Leicester-fields,  founded  in  1688,  of  which  Saurin  was  minister;  that  of  Spring-gardens,  whose  first 
pastor  was  Francis  Flahaut ;  that  of  Glasshouse-square,  formed  in  1688 ;  Swallow-street,  Piccadilly, 
1692 ;  Berwick-street,  1689 ;  Charenton,  in  Newport-market,  1701 ;  West-street,  Seven  Dials,  which  the 
refugees  called  the  Pyramid,  or  the  Tremblade;  the  Carre,  Westminster,  1689;  the  Tabernacle,  1696; 
Hungerford.  1689,  which  subsisted  until  1832 ;  the  Temple  of  Soho,  or  the  Patent,  erected  in  1689  ; 
Eyder's-couro,  1700;  Martin's-lane,  City,  1686;  St.  James's,  1701;  the  Artillery,  Bishopsgate,  1691; 
Hoxton,  1748;  St.  John,  Shoreditch,  1687 ;  the  Patent,  in  Spitalfields,  or  the  New  Patent,  1689;  Cris- 
pin-street, 1693;  Peart-street,  1697;  Bell-lane,  Spitalfields,  1718;  Swanfields,  1721;  Wheeler-street, 
Spitalfields,  1703;  Petticoat-lane,  Spitalfields,  1694;  Wapping,  1711;  Blackfriars,  1716.  Several  of 
these  churches  ultimately  adopted  the  Anglican  ritual.— Weiss'  Hist.  French   Protestant  Refugees, 


SCHOOLS,  PUBLIC.  723 


There  are  eight  free  foundation  scholarships  available  as  exhibitions  to  the  Universities,  in  addition 
to  the  following:  the  Times'  scholarship  {see  Cheist's  Hospital, p.  99),  three  Beaufoy  scholarships, the 
Salomons  scholarship,  and  the  Travers'  scholarship,  and  the  Tegg  scholarship  ("Sheriff's  Fine"),  varying- 
from  35/.  to  501.  a  year  each ;  and  there  are  other  valuable  prizes  determinable  by  examination  at 
Midsummer. 

Upon  the  great  staircase  of  the  school  is  a  statue,  by  Nixon,  of  John  Carpenter, 
in  the  costume  of  his  period ;  he  bears  in  his  left  hand  his  Liber  Alius,  a  collection  of 
the  City  laws,  customs,  and  privileges,  compiled  in  1419,  and  still  preserved  in  the 
Corporation  archives;  translated  1861.  The  statue  is  placed  upon  a  pedestal  inscribed 
with  a  compendious  history  of  the  founder,  and  his  many  benevolent  acts.* 

Mercers'  School,  College-hill,  Dowgate,  was  founded  and  endowed  by  the 
Mercers'  Company,  for  seventy  scholars  of  any  age  or  place.  It  is  mentioned  as  early 
as  1447,  and  was  then  kept  at  the  Hospital  of  St.  Thomas  of  Aeon ;  but  was  removed 
to  St.  Mary  Colechurch,  next  the  Mercers'  Chapel.  After  the  Great  Fire  of  1666, 
the  school-house  was  rebuilt  on  the  west  side  of  the  Old  Jewry.  In  1787  it  was 
removed  to  13,  Budge-row ;  in  1804,  to  20,  Eed  Lion-court,  Watling-street ;  and  from 
thence,  in  1808,  to  premises  on  College-hill.  The  present  school,  designed  by  George 
Smith,  is  an  elegant  stone  structure  (adjoining  St.  Michael's  Church),  on  the  site  of 
Whittington's  Almshouses,  removed  to  Highgate  to  make  room  for  it.  The  education, 
classical  and  general,  is  free ;  the  boys  being  selected  in  turn  by  the  Master  and  three 
Wardens  of  the  Mercers'  Company.  Among  the  early  scholars  were  Dr.  Colet,  Sir 
Thomas  Gresham,  and  Bishop  Wren. 

Merchant  Taylors'  School,  Suffolk -lane,  Cannon-street,  was  founded  in  1561  by 
the  Merchant  Taylors'  Company,  principally  by  the  gift  of  500Z.,  and  other  sub- 
scriptions by  members  of  the  Court  of  Assistants,  among  whom  was  Sir  Thomas  White, 
sometime  Master  of  the  Company,  and  who  had  recently  founded  St.  John's  College, 
Oxford.  With  these  funds  was  purchased  part  of  "  the  Manor  of  the  Rose,"  a  palace 
originally  built  by  Sir  John  Poultney,  Knt.,  five  times  Lord  Mayor  of  London,  in  the 
reign  of  Edward  III.;  the  estate  successively  belonged  to  the  De  la  Pole  or  Suffolk 
family  (whence  Suffolk-lane),  and  the  Staffords,  Dukes  of  Buckingham : 

"  The  Duke  being  at  the  Kose,  within  the  parish 
Saint  Lawrence  Poultney." — Shakspeare,  Henry  VIII,  act  i.  sc.  2. 

Hence,  also,  "  Duck's-Foot-lane"  (the  Duke's  foot-lane,  or  private  way  from  the 
garden  to  the  Thames),  which  is  hard  by.  These  ancient  premises  were  destroyed  in 
the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  and  the  present  building  was  erected  on  the  same  site,  in 
1675,  by  Wren  :  it  is  a  large  brick  edifice,  with  pilasters ;  the  upper  school-room,  and 
library  adjoining,  supported  by  stone  pillars,  forming  a  cloister ;  there  are  also  other 
rooms,  and  the  head  master's  residence.  The  boys  are  admitted  at  any  age,  on  the 
nomination  of  the  forty  members  of  the  Court  of  the  Company  in  rotation ;  and  the 
scholars  may  remain  until  the  Monday  after  St.  John  the  Baptist's  Day  preceding 
their  nineteenth  birth.  Hebrew,  Greek,  and  Latin  have  been  taught  since  the 
foundation  of  the  school ;  mathematics,  writing,  and  arithmetic  were  added  in  1829, 
and  French  and  modern  history  in  1846.  The  boys  are  entitled  to  thirty-seven  out  of 
the  fifty  fellowships  at  St.  John's  College,  Oxford,  and  several  other  exhibitions  at  both 
the  Universities;  the  election  to  which  takes  place  annually  on  St.  Barnabas'  Day, 
June  11,  when  the  school  prizes  are  also  distributed:  there  is  another  speech-day, 
"Doctors'  Day,"  in  December.  Plays  were  formerly  performed  by  the  Merchant 
Taylors'  boys,  who,  in  1664,  acted  Beaumont  and  Fletcher's  Love's  Pilgrimage  in  the 
Company's  Hall,  but  under  order  that  this  "  should  bee  noe  precident  for  the  future.'* 

Amongst  the  eminent  scholars  educated  at  Merchant  Taylors'  were,  Bishops  Andrewes,  Dove,  and 
Tomson,  three  of  the  translators  of  the  Bible ;  Archbishop  Juxon,  who  attended  Charles  I.  to  the  scaf- 
fold ;  Bishop  Hopkins  (of  Londonderry) ;  Archbishops  Sir  William  Dawes,  Gilbert,  and  Boulter ;  Bishop 
Van  Mildert,  and  eleven  other  prelates;  Titus  Oates,  who  contrived  the  "Popish  Plot;"  James 

*  At  the  expense  of  John  Carpenter  was  "  artificially  and  richly  painted"  the  Dance  of  Death  upon 
the  north  cloister  of  St.  Paul's,  and  thence  called  the  "  Dance  at  Paul's."  It  consisted  of  a  long  train 
of  all  orders  of  mankind;  each  figure  having  for  a  partner  the  spectral  Death  leading  the  sepulchral 
dance,  and  shaking  the  last  sands  from  his  hour-glass :  intended  as  a  moral  memorial  of  the  Plague  and 
Famine  of  1438.  Among  Carpenter's  property  is  a  lease  of  premises  in  Cornhill,  granted  by  the  City,  for 
eighty  years,  at  the  annual  service  of  a  red  rose  for  the  first  thirty  years,  and  a  yearly  rent  of  208.  for 
the  remainder  of  the  term. 

3a2 


724  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Whitelock,  Justice  of  the  King's  Bench;  Bulstrode  Whitelock,  who  wrote  his  Memorials;  Shirley, 
the  dramatic  poet,  contemporary  with  Massinger;  Charles  VVheatley,  the  ritualist;  Neal,  the  historian 
of  the  Puritans;  Edmund  Calamy,  and  his  grandson  Edmund,  the  Nonconformists— the  former  died  in 
1666,  from  seeing  London  in  ashes  after  the  Great  Fire;  the  great  Lord  Clive;  Dr.  Vicesimus  Knox,  one 
of  the  "  British  Essayists;"  Dr.  William  Lowth,  the  learned  classic  and  theologian;  Nicholas  Amhurst, 
associated  with  Bolingbroke  and  Pulteney  in  the  Craftsman ;  Charles  Mathews,  the  elder,  come.lian ; 
Lieut.-Col.  Denham,  the  explorer  of  central  Africa;  and  J.  L.  Adolphus.  the  barrister,  who  wrote  a 
History  of  the  Reign  of  George  III.  Also,  Sir  John  Dodson,  Queen's  Advocate ;  Sir  Henry  Ellis,  and 
Samuel  Birch,  of  the  British  Museum;  John  Gough  Nichols,  F.S.A.;  Albert  Smith,  litterateur. 

St.  Olave's  and  St.  John's  Feee  Gbammab- School  (originally  St.  Olave's)  was 
founded  by  the  inhabitants  in  (1561 ;  and  endowed,  among  otber  property,  with  the 
"  Horseydowne"  field,  at  the  yearly  rent  of  a  red  rose,  which  is  paid  by  the  Church- 
wardens and  Overseers  previously  to  the  annual  commemoration  sermon  on  Nov.  17, 
by  presenting  to  each  of  the  School  Governors  a  nosegay  of  fiowcrs  with  a  rose  in  it. 
The  School  originated  in  the  bequest  of  a  wealthy  brewer  named  Leeke,  who  in  1561 
left  81.  a-year  for  a  free  school  in  St.  Savyor's,  which  bequest,  however,  was  to  go  to 
St.  Olave's,  if  within  two  years  of  his  death  a  school  should  be  built  and  established 
there.  St.  Olave's  contrived  to  secure  the  legacy ;  and  in  1 567  the  school  was  made 
free,  and  incorporated  by  Queen  Elizabeth  ;  charter  extended  by  Charles  II.,  1674. 

In  1579,  Horseydowne  (now  Horselydown;,  was  passed  over  by  the  parish  to  the  use 
of  the  School.  It  was  originally  a  large  grazing  field,  down,  or  pasture,  for  horses  and 
cattle,  containing  about  sixteen  acres ;  but  having  long  since  been  covered  with  houses 
erected  on  building  leases,  which  have  fallen  in,  the  yearly  income  of  the  School  from 
this  source  is  upwards  of  20001.  The  old  school,  in  Churchyard-alley,  was  taken  down 
about  1830,  for  making  the  approaches  to  the  new  London  Bridge,  when  a  piece  of 
ground  in  Duke-street  was  granted  by  the  City  of  London  as  a  site  for  a  new  school ; 
but  this  ground  was  exchanged  with  the  London  and  Greenwich  Railway  Company  for 
a  site  in  Bermondsey-street,  where  the  school  was  rebuilt,  and  opened  Nov.  17,  1835. 
It  was  in  the  latest  Tudor  or  Elizabethan  style,  of  red  brick,  with  an  octangular 
embattled  tower,  lantern-roofed  j  James  Field,  architect.  In  1849,  this  new  building 
being  required  for  the  enlargement  of  the  terminus  of  the  London,  Brighton,  and 
South-Coast  Railway  Company,  they  paid  a  considerable  sum  of  money  for  it,  the 
Governors  undertaking  to  find  another  site  for  the  school,  and  rebuild  the  same ;  the 
tuition  being  in  the  meantime  carried  on  in  a  temporary  building  in  Maze  Pond. 

The  School  is  free  to  "  children  and  younglings,"  rich  or  poor,  inhabitants  of  St.  Olave's  and  St. 
John's  parishes,  admitted  by  presentation  from  the  Governors.  The  Classical  School  consists  of  about 
220  boys ;  and  the  branch  or  English  School,  in  Magdalen-street,  and  built  in  1824,  contains  about  260 
boys.  The  Governors  also  award  annually  four  exhibitions  at  Oxford  or  Cambridge  University,  besides 
apprentice-fees  for  poor  scholars,  and  funds  for  other  benevolent  purposes.  Commemoration-day, 
Nov.  17  (accession  of  Elizabeth). 

"The  seal  of  the  corporation,  dated  1576,  and  distinguished  by  a  rose  displayed,  the  ancient  cog- 
nizance of  Southwark,  represents  the  master  sitting  in  a  high-backed  chair  at  his  desk,  on  which  is  a 
book,  and  the  rod  is  conspicuously  displayed,  to  the  terror  of  five  scholars  standing  before  him." — G.  B. 
Corner,  F.  S.  A. 

St.  Paul's  School,  east  end  of  St.  Paul's  Churchyard,  was  founded  in  1512,  by  Dr. 
John  Colet,  son  of  Sir  Henry  Colet,  mercer,  and  lord  mayor  in  1486  and  1495  ;  and  it 
is  "  hard  to  say  whether  he  left  better  lands  for  the  maintenance  of  his  school,  or  wiser 
laws  for  the  government  thereof"  (Fuller).  The  school  is  for  153  boys  of  "every 
nation,  country,  and  class;"  the  153  alluding  to  the  number  of  fishes  taken  by  St. 
Peter  (John  xxi.  2).  The  education  is  entirely  classical ;  the  presentations  to  the 
school  are  in  the  gift  of  the  Master  of  the  Mercers'  Company;  and  scholars  are 
admitted  at  fifteen,  but  eligible  at  any  age.  The  original  school-house  was  built 
1508-12  :  this  was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  but  was  rebuilt  by  Wren ;  this 
second  school  was  taken  down  in  1824,  and  the  present  school  built  of  stone  from  the 
designs  of  George  Smith :  it  has  a  handsome  central  portico  upon  a  rusticated  base, 
projecting  over  the  street  pavement.  The  original  endowment,  and  for  several  years 
the  only  endowment  of  the  school,  was  551.  14?.  10^d.,  the  value  of  estates  in  Bucking- 
hamshire, which  now  produce  1858Z.  16*.  10^d.  a-year ;  and  with  other  property  make 
the  present  income  of  the  school  upwards  of  50001.  Lilly,  the  eminent  grammarian, 
the  friend  of  Erasmus  and  Sir  Thomas  More,  was  the  first  schoolmaster  of  St.  Paul's, 
and  "  Lilly's  Grammar"  is  used  to  this  day  in  the  school :  the  English  rudiments  were 
written  by  Colet,  the  preface  to  the  first  edition  by  Cardinal  Wolsey  j  the  Latin  syntax 


SCHOOLS,  PUBLIC.  725 


chiefly  by  Erasmus,  and  the  remainder  by  Lilly.  Colet  directed  that  the  children  should 
not  use  tallow  but  wax  candles  in  the  school ;  4d.  entrance-money  for  each  was  to  be  given 
to  the  poor  scholar  who  swept  the  school  j  and  the  masters  were  to  have  livery-gowns 
"  delivered  in  clothe."  The  present  teachers  consist  of  a  high-master,  salary  618/.  per 
annum,  with  spacious  house  j  sur-master,  307/. ;  under-master,  or  ancient  chaplain, 
227/. ;  assistant-master,  257/. :  the  last  master  only  having  no  house.  The  scholars' 
only  expense  is  for  books  and  wax  tapers.  There  are  several  very  valuable  exhibitions, 
decided  at  the  Apposition,  held  in  the  first  three  days  of  the  fourth  week  after  Easter, 
when  a  commemorative  oration  is  delivered  by  the  senior  boy,  and  prizes  are  presented 
from  the  governors.  In  the  time  of  the  founder,  the  "  Apposition  dinner"  was  "  an 
assembly  and  a  litell  dinner,  ordayned  by  the  surveyor,  not  exceedynge  the  pryce  of  four 
nobles." 

In  the  list  of  eminent  Paulines  are — Sir  Anthony  Denny  and  Sir  William  Paget,  privy  councillors 
to  Henry  VIII.;  John  Leland,  the  antiquary;  John  Milton,  our  great  epic  poet ;  Samuel  Pepys,  the 
diarist;  John  Strype,  the  ecclesiastical  historian;  Dr.  Calamy,  the  High  Churchman;  the  great  Duke 
of  Marlborough :  It.  W.  Ellistou,  the  comedian :  Sir  C.  Mansfield  Clarke,  Bart. ;  Lord  Chancellor 
Truro,  &c. 

On  Apposition  Day,  June  4, 1851,  were  announced  these  three  additional  prizes :  1.  "  The  Chancellor's 
Prize,"  by  Lord  Truro,  1000£.;  the  interest  to  be  applied  in  awarding  a  gold  medal,  value  ten  guineas, 
and  a  purse  of  twenty  guineas,  or  books  to  that  amount,  each  yearly  Apposition,  to  the  author  of  the 
best  English  Essay.  2.  "  The  Milton  Prize,"  by  Sir  C.  M.  Clarke,  Bart.,  for  English  Verses  on  a  sacred 
subject,  annually.  3.  "The  Thurston  Memorial,"  an  annuai  prize  for  a  copy  of  Latin  Lyrics,  given  by 
the  parent  of  a  student  named  Thurston,  recently  deceased ;  the  High  Master  to  apply  a  portion  of  the 
endowment  to  keeping  up  the  youth's  gravestone  in  the  Highgate  Cemetery. 

St.  Saviour's  Grammar-School,  Sumner-street,  Southwark-Bridge-road,  was  re- 
built 1830-9,  nearly  adjoining  St.  Peter's  Church.  The  school  was  founded  by 
parishioners  in  1562,  and  chartered  by  Queen  Elizabeth ;  the  original  endowment  being 
40/.  a-year.  The  scheme,  approved  by  the  Court  of  Chancery  in  1850,  provides  six 
governors  to  manage  the  school  property  ;  the  instruction  to  comprise  religion,  classical 
learning,  English  composition,  grammar,  arithmetic,  history,  geography,  mathematics, 
&c,  subject  to  the  approval  of  the  Bishop  of  Winchester ;  the  head  master  to  be  a  Master 
of  Arts,  and  to  be  appointed  in  conformity  with  the  statutes  of  1614.  Small  prizes  are 
adjudged  yearly,  and  there  are  two  University  exhibitions.  Among  the  olden  rules  for 
the  choice  of  a  master  are  the  following : 

The  master  to  be  "  a  man  of  a  wise,  sociable,  loving  disposition,  not  hasty  or  furious,  or  of  any  ill 
example ;  he  shall  be  wise  and  of  good  experience,  to  discern  the  nature  of  every  several  child ;  to  work 
upon  the  disposition  for  the  greatest  advantage,  benefit,  and  comfort  of  the  child ;  to  learn  with  the 
love  of  his  book."  It  was  necessary  then,  as  now,  to  add,  "  if  such  an  one  may  be  got." — The  corpora- 
tion seal  represents  a  pedagogue  seated  in  a  chair,  with  a  group  of  thickly-trussed  pupils  before  him  ; 
date,  1573. 

The  original  school-house,  on  the  south  side  of  St.  Saviour's  churchyard,  was  burned  in 
1676,  but  was  immediately  rebuilt :  it  had  a  richly-carved  doorway-head.  This  build- 
ing was  taken  down  after  the  erection  of  the  new  school  in  Sumner-street.  Among  the 
donations  is  500/.  by  Dr.  W.  Heberden,  the  celebrated  physician,  who  is  said  to  have 
been  partly  educated  in  the  school. 

Westminster  School  (St.  Peter's  College),  Dean's-yard,  was  originally  founded 
by  Henry  VIII.,  on  the  remodelling  of  the  Abbey  establishment ;  but  inadequately 
supported  until  1560,  when  Elizabeth  restored  its  revenues,  and  the  foundation  of  an 
Upper  and  Lower  Master,  and  40  scholars,  and  gave  the  present  statutes.  The 
College  consists  of  a  Dean,  12  Prebendaries,  12  Almsmen,  and  the  above  40 
■  Queen's  Scholars,"  with  a  Master  and  Usher ;  maintained,  since  the  Restoration,  by 
the  common  revenues  of  St.  Peter's  Collegiate  Church  (the  Abbey),  at  12,000/.  a  year. 
These  scholars  wear  a  cap  and  gown ;  and  there  are  four  "  Bishop's  boys,"  educated 
free,  who  wear  a  purple  gown,  and  have  60/.  annually  amongst  them.  Besides  this 
foundation,  a  great  number  of  sons  of  the  nobility  and  gentry  are  educated  here.  Of 
the  Queen's  Scholars,  an  examination  takes  place  on  the  first  Tuesday  after  Rogation 
Sunday,  when  four  are  elected  to  Trinity  College,  Cambridge,  and  four  to  Christ 
Church,  Oxford ;  scholarships  about  60/.  a  year.  The  scholars  from  the  4th,  5th,  and 
Shell  Forms  "  stand  out"  in  Latin,  Greek,  and  grammatical  questionings,  to  fill  up  the 
vacancies  on  the  Wednesday  before  Ascension  Dayj  when  the  "  Captain  of  the  Election" 
is  chaired  round  Dean's-yard.     There  are  other  funds  available  to   needy  scholars. 


726  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Any  boy  may  enter  at  Westminster  School ;  the  entire  annual  charges  (including  board  and  lodging) 
are  from  76  to  '83  guineas ;  or  if  he  board  and  lodge  at  home,  25  guineas.  From  the  boarders  are  elected 
the  Queen's  Scholars,  who,  after  four  years'  residence,  have  the  chance  of  obtaining  good  scholarships; 
they  are  charged  about  401.  a  year. 

The  entrance  to  the  school-court,  Little  Dean's-yard,  is  under  a  low  groined  gate- 
way  :  the  school-porch  is  said  to  have  been  designed  by  Inigo  Jones ;  and  adjoining  is 
the  paved  racket-court.  The  venerable  School  was  once  the  dormitory  of  the  monks  : 
it  is  96  feet  long  and  34  feet  in  breadth,  and  has  a  massive  open  chestnut  roof;  at  one 
end  is  the  Head  Master's  table,  and  four  tiers  of  forms  are  ranged  along  the  east  and 
western  walls.*  The  Upper  and  Lower  Schools  are  divided  by  a  bar,  which  formerly 
bore  a  curtain :  over  this  bar  on  Shrove  Tuesday,  at  11  o'clock,  the  College  cook, 
attended  by  a  verger,  having  made  his  obeisance  to  the  Masters,  proceeds  to  toss  a 
pancake  into  the  upper  school,  once  a  warning  to  proceed  to  dinner  in  the  Hall. 
Upon  the  walls  are  inscribed  many  great  names  ;  in  the  library  is  preserved  part  of  the 
form  on  which  Dryden  once  sat,  and  on  which  his  autograph  is  cut. 

In  the  Census  Alumnorum,  or  list  of  foundation  scholars,  are  Bishops  Overall  and  Ravis,  translators 
of  the  Bible  ;  Hakluyt,  collector  of  Voyages ;  Gunter,  inventor  of  the  Scale ;  "  Master  George  Herbert  ;'* 
the  poets  Cowley  and  Dryden ;  South ;  Locke ;  Bishops  Atterbury,  Sprat,  and  Pearce ;  Prior  and 
Stepney,  poets  and  statesmen ;  Rowe  and  "  Sweet  Vinny  Bourne,"  the  poets ;  Churchill,  the  satirist ; 
Warren  Hastings;  Colman  the  Elder;  Everard  Home,  surgeon;  Dr.  Drury,  of  Harrow  School,  &c. 

Among  the  other  eminent  persons  educated  here  were  Lord  Burghley;  Ben  Jonson  ;  Nat  Lee;  Sir 
Christopher  Wren;  Jasper  Mayne,  the  poet;  Barton  Booth,  the  actor,  Blackmore,  Browne,  Dyer,  Ham- 
mond, Aaron  Hill,  Cowper,  and  Southey,  the  poets ;  Home  Tooke;  Gibbon,  the  historian ;  Cumberland, 
the  dramatist;  Colman  the  Younger;  Sir  Francis  Burdett;  Harcourt,  Archbishop  of  York;  the  third 
Marquis  of  Lansdowne ;  Lord  John  Russell ;  the  Marquis  of  Anglesey ;  Sir  John  Cam  Hobhouse  (Lord 
Broughton),  &c. 

Among  the  eminent  Masters  are  Camden,  "  the  Pausanias  of  England,"  who  had  Ben  Jonson  for  a 
scholar;  and  Dr.  Busby,  who  had  Dryden,  and  who,  out  of  the  bench  of  Bishops,  taught  sixteen. 
Between  the  years  1810  and  1856  only  seven  officers  of  the  British  army  (royalty  excepted)  rose  to  the  rank 
of  Field  Marshal.  Of  these  seven,  five  were  brought  up  at  Westminster,  one  at  Eton,  and  one  at  a  private 
school.  The  five  Westminster  boys  were — Thomas  Grosvenor,  Henry  Paget,  John  Byng,  Stapleton 
Cotton,  and  Fitzroy  Somerset;  the  Etonian  was  Arthur  Wellesley;  and  the  seventh,  Henry  Hardin ge. 

The  College  Hall,  originally  the  Abbot's  refectory,  was  built  by  Abbot  Litlington, 
temp.  Edward  III. :  its  dimensions  are  47  feet  by  27^  feet  in  width ;  the  floor  is  paved 
with  chequered  Turkish  marble ;  at  the  south  end  is  a  musicians'  gallery,  now  used  as 
a  pantry,  and  behind  are  butteries  and  hatches ;  upon  the  north  side,  upon  a  dais,  is 
the  high  table  ;  those  below,  of  chestnut- wood,  are  said  to  have  been  formed  out  of  the 
wreck  of  the  Armada;  and  the  roof- timbers  spring  from  carved  corbels,  with  angels 
bearing  shields  of  the  Confessor's  and  Abbot's  arms.  A  small  louvre  l-ises  above  the 
central  hearth,  upon  which,  in  winter,  a  charcoal  fire  used  to  burn  until  1850.  The 
Library  is  a  modern  Italian  room,  and  contains  memorials  of  the  attachment  of  "  West- 
minsters." The  old  dormitory,  built  in  1380,  was  the  granary  of  the  monastery ;  and 
was  replaced  by  the  present  dormitory  in  1722,  from  the  designs  of  the  Earl  of  Bur- 
lington :  it  is  161  feet  long  by  25  feet  broad,  and  its  walls  are  inscribed  with  names. 
Here  Latin  plays  are  represented  upon  the  second  Thursday  in  December,  and  the 
Monday  before  and  after  that  day ;  those  acted  of  late  years  were  the  Andria,  Phor- 
mio,  Uunuchus,  and  Adeljphi,  of  Terence,  with  Latin  prologue  and  epilogue/f  Warton 
mentions,  "  this  liberal  exercise  is  yet  preserved,  and  in  the  spirit  of  true  classical 
purity,  at  the  College  of  Westminster."  The  scenery  was  designed  by  Garrick ;  the 
modern  dresses  formerly  used  were  exchanged  for  Greek  costume  in  1839.  Boating  is 
a  favourite  recreation  of  the  Westminsters,  who  have  often  contested  the  championship 
of  the  Thames  with  Eton.     On  May  4,  1837,  the  Westminsters  won  a  match  at  Eton. 

There  exists  to  this  day,  at  Chiswick,  the  house  which  was  purchased  as  a  retiring-place  for  the 
Master  and  scholars  of  Westminster :  it  was  for  many  years  well  known  as  "  The  Chiswick  Press," 
having  been  long  occupied  by  Mr.  Whittingham,  and  previously  by  his  uncle,  who  there  executed 
many  works  of  remarkable  typographical  beauty.    The  present  tenant  is  bound,  as  were  Messrs.  Wbifc- 

*  The  basement  story  beneath  the  school  serves  as  an  undercroft,  has  semicircular  groined  Saxon 
arches,  considered  to  be  of  the  time  of  Edward  the  Confessor,  whose  steward,  Hugolin,  was  buried 
here.  Here  is  deposited  the  standard  money,  which,  when  there  is  a  new  Master  of  the  Mint,  is  taken 
out  to  be  carried  to  the  Exchequer,  for  a  Trial  of  the  Pix.  The  outer  doors  have  seven  locks,  each  lock 
a  different  key,  and  each  key  a  different  possessor ;  so  that  the  seven  holders  assemble  on  the  above 
occasion.  The  last  trial  of  the  Pix  was  in  1851,  on  the  admission  of  Sir  John  F.  W.  Herschel,  Bart.,  to 
the  Mastership  of  the  Mint,  which  office  was  held  by  Sir  Isaac  Newton  from  1699  until  1728. 

t  These  performances  superseded  the  old  Mysteries  and  Moralities  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Mary, 
when  the  boy-actors  were  chiefly  the  acolytes  who  served  at  mass. 


SEWAGE  OB  DRAINAGE.  727 


tingham,  to  vacate  it  at  a  day's  notice  in  the  event  of  its  being  required  for  the  "  Sick  scholars  of 
Westminster."  A  large  field  at  the  back  of  the  house,  known  as  "  The  Home  Field,"  is  held  upon  the 
same  condition. 

(See  The  Great  Schools  of  England,  by  Howard  Staunton,  1865.) 

SEWAGE  OR  DRAINAGE. 

A  SEWER  is,  according  to  Lord  Coke,  a  place  where  water  issues ;  or  as  is  said 
vulgarly,  "  suer,"  whence  the  word  suera  or  sewer.  Callis  derives  it  from  the 
Saxon  sai-wceer,  that  is — a  sea  fence,  a  protection  against  sea-tides ;  but  this  derivation 
is  ill-founded.  The  subject  is  too  large  for  treatment  here ;  but  we  may  note  that 
the  Institution  of  Civil  Engineers  recognise  the  Commissioners  of  Sewers  as  first  in- 
stituted in  the  reign  of  Henry  VI.,  when  they  acted  in  every  part  of  the  country, 
having  jurisdiction  on  the  borders  of  tidal  rivers.  Their  duties  were  to  repair  sea  or 
river  banks,  and  to  keep  the  main  drains  and  outfalls  of  level  districts  in  repair,  and 
keep  them  clear  for  the  passage  of  water. 

The  first  general  measure  was  the  "  Bill  of  Sewers,"  in  1531 ;  superseded,  in 
1848,  by  the  "Metropolitan  Commission  of  Sewers,"  whose  jurisdiction  extended  12 
miles  round  St.  Paul's,  and  for  whom  a  new  block  plan  of  the  metropolis  was  prepared 
by  the  Ordnance  Office.  By  this  map,  the  sewerage  amounted  to  upwards  of  7  millions 
of  cubic  feet  on  the  north  side  of  the  Thames,  and  nearly  2\  millions  on  the  south  side. 
The  great  receptacle  was  the  Thames ;  and  of  the  new  system,  from  1848  to  1854, 
there  were  constructed  80  miles  of  brick  sewers,  and  346  miles  of  pipe-drainage.  The 
oldest  and  largest  sewer  is  the  Fleet  Sewer,  which  drains,  or  drained,  by  collateral 
sewers,  an  area  six  or  seven  times  the  size  of  the  City  of  London.     (See  p.  348.) 

The  new  Main  Drainage,  by  Mr.  Bazalgette,  engineer,  has  been  executed  by  the 
Metropolitan  Board  of  Works.  As  much  as  possible  of  the  sewage  is  removed  by 
gravitation ;  and  for  this  purpose  there  are  three  lines  of  sewers  at  each  side  of  the 
Thames,  termed  respectively  High,  Middle,  and  Low  Level.  The  two  former  dis- 
charge by  gravitation ;  but  pumping  is  required  for  the  third ;  and  for  this  purpose 
double-acting  rotative  beam  engines,  with  plunger  and  ram-pumps,  have  been  adopted. 

The  intercepting  plan,  as  its  name  implies,  consists  in  cutting  three  great  main  drains  on  both  sides 
of  the  river,  and  which,  instead  of  running  due  north  and  south  like  the  former  system,  run  from  west 
to  east.  These  great  main  lines  intercept  and  cut  oif  all  the  existing  lines  of  drains  from  the  river, 
carry  their  contents  away  down  below  Barking  Creek  and  Erith  Marshes,  where  they  are  poured  into 
gigantic  reservoirs,  and  afterwards,  when  deodorized,  turned  into  the  river  at  high  tide,  and  swept  away 
by  the  ebb  almost  to  sea.  Thus,  the  sewage  is  not  only  turned  out  free  from  smell,  but  turned  out  into 
a  body  of  water  nearly  thirty  times  as  great  as  that  into  which  it  used  to  be  poured,  and  becomes  lost 
in  the  volume  of  water  which  rolls  down  between  the  marshes  on  each  side  of  the  river  to  far  below 
Gravesend.  The  maximum  quantity  of  sewage  to  be  lifted  by  the  engines  at  Crossness  Point  will  ordi- 
narily be  about  10,000  cubic  feet  per  minute :  but  during  the  night  that  quantity  will  be  considerably 
reduced,  while,  on  the  other  hand,  it  will  be  nearly  double  on  occasions  of  heavy  rainfall.  These 
works  were  publicly  opened  by  the  Prince  of  Wales  April  4,  1867.  The  Sigh  Level,  on  the 
north  side,  is  about  eight  miles  in  length,  and  runs  from  Hampstead  to  Bow,  being  at  its  rise 
4  ft.  6  in.  in  diameter,  and  thence  increasing  in  circumference  as  the  waters  ot  the  sewers  it  inter- 
cepts require  a  wider  course,  to  5  feet,  6  feet,  7  feet,  10  feet  8  inches,  11  feet  6  inches;  and  at  its  termi- 
nation, near. Lea  Biver,  to  12  ft.  6 in.  in  diameter.  Its  minimum  fall  is  2  feet  in  the  mile;  its  maximum 
at  the  beginning,  nearly  50  feet  in  the  mile.  It  is  laid  at  the  depth  of  from  20  feet  to  26  feet  below  the 
ground,  and  drains  an  area  of  fourteen  square  miles.  The  Middle  Level,  as  being  lower  in  the  valley 
on  the  slope  of  which  Loudon  is  built,  is  laid  at  a  greater  depth,  varying  from  30  feet  to  36  feet,  and 
even  more,  below  the  surface.  This  extends  from  Kensal  Green  to  Bow.  The  Low  Level  will  extend 
from  Cremorne  to  Abbey  Mills,  on  the  marshes  near  Stratford,  and  one  portion  of  it  will  pass  through 
the  Thames  Embankment.  At  Bow,  the  Low  Level  waters  of  the  sewer  will  be  raised  by  engines  at  a 
pumping  station  to  the  junction  of  the  High  and  Middle  Level  ducts,  thence  descending  by  their  own 
gravity  through  these  tunnels  to  the  main  reservoir  and  final  outfall  at  Barking.  On  the  south  side  of 
the  Thames  the  three  great  sewer  arteries  are  constructed  on  similar  plans — the  High  Level  from  Dul- 
wich  to  Deptford;  the  Middle  from  Clapham  to  Deptford;  and  the  Low  Level  from  Putney  to  Deptford. 
At  this  point  is  a  pumping  station,  \\  Inch  raises  the  water  from  the  low  to  the  high  level,  whence  it 
flows  away  through  a  10  feet  tunnel  to  Crossness  Point.  One  part  of  this  tunnel,  passing  under 
Woolwich,  is  a  mile  and  a  half  in  length,  without  a  break,  and  driven  at  a  depth  of  80  feet  from  the 
surface.  At  the  outfall  another  pumping  station  lifts  the  water  to  the  reservoir.  The  southern  reservoir 
is  only  five  acres  in  extent ;  that  on  the  north  is  fourteen.  In  the  reservoir  takes  place  the  deodorisatkm. 
The  two  culverts  which  carry  the  sewage  to  the  east  and  west  pumping  stations  are  as  large  almost  as 
railway  tunnels,  Before  the  entrance  to  the  pumps  are  massive  iron  strainers,  which  keep  out  all 
the  coarse  refuse  brought  down  the  sewer,  and  which  is  afterwards  dredged  up  by  the  filth  hoist  into 
the  filth  chamber,  which  is  flushed  into  the  river  at  low  water. 

There  are  now  about  1 300  miles  of  sewers  in  London,  and  82  miles  of  main  inter- 
cepting sewers.     Three  hundred  and  eighteen  millions  of  bricks  and  880,000  cubic 


728  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

yards  of  concrete  have  been  consumed,  and  three  and  a  half  million  cubic  yards  of 
earth  have  been  excavated  in  the  execution  of  these  main  drainage  works.  The  total 
pumping  power  employed  is  2380  nominal  horse-power ;  and  if  at  full  work  night 
and  day  44,000  tons  of  coal  per  annum  would  be  consumed.  The  sewage,  north 
of  the  Thames,  at  present  (1867)  amounts  to  10,000,000  cubic  feet  a  day,  and  on 
the  south  side  to  4,000,000  cubic  feet  per  day ;  but  provision  is  made  for  an  antici- 
pated increase  up  to  11£  millions  on  the  north  side,  and  5f  millions  on  the  south  side, 
in  addition  to  28|  million  cubic  feet  of  rainfall  per  diem  on  the  north  side,  and  17|- 
million  cubic  feet  per  diem  on  the  south  side,  or  a  total  of  63  million  cubic  feet  per 
diem,  which  is  equal  to  a  lake  of  482  acres,  3  feet  deep,  or  fifteen,  times  as  large  as 
the  Serpentine  in  Hyde  Park.  The  cost  of  these  stupendous  works  had,  in  1867,  only 
amounted  to  little  more  than  4,000,000/. 

SSJEBIFFS. 

THAT  London  had  its  Sheriffs,  or  "  Bailiffs,"  as  they  were  originally  styled  (or 
Shire  Keve,  scygerefa,  from  the  Saxon  reqfan,  "  to  levy,  to  seize")  prior  to  the 
Norman  Conquest,  is  attested  by  William  the  Conqueror's  second  charter  being 
addressed  to  William  the  Bishop  and  Sweyn  the  Sheriff.  The  union  of  the  sheriffwick 
of  London  and  Middlesex  took  place  in  the  reign  of  Henry  I.,  of  whom  the  citizens 
purchased  the  power  of  electing  the  sheriff  of  Middlesex,  "  to  farm  for  300/.  :"*  the 
mayor  and  citizens  now  hold  the  office  in  fee,  and  appoint  two  sheriffs  for  London, 
which  by  charters  is  both  a  city  and  a  county,  though  they  make  but  one  sheriff  jointly 
for  the  county  of  Middlesex.  The  third  charter  of  King  John  and  the  first  charter  of 
Henry  TIL  minutely  describe  the  sheriff's  office  and  duties.  Any  citizen  is  eligible, 
unless  he  swear  himself  not  worth  15,000?. ;  and  no  alderman  can  be  chosen  lord  mayor 
unless  he  has  served  as  sheriff.  A  list  of  citizens  is  nominated  on  Midsummer-day, 
when  two  are  elected  by  the  Livery  in  Common  Hall.  Much  of  the  pomp  and  circum- 
stance of  past  times  incident  to  the  ceremony  are  still  maintained,  and  there  is  a  good 
deal  about  it  that  is  sentimental  and  picturesque.  The  floor  of  the  platform,  as  of  old, 
is  still  strewn  over  with  cut  flowers  and  green  herbs,  mint  and  thyme  prevailing,  and 
each  high  City  functionary,  from  the  chief  magistrate  downwards,  carries  a  bouquet  of 
flowers ;  the  persons  chosen  are  obliged  to  serve,  under  a  penalty  of  400/.  and  20  marks ; 
and  the  fines  paid  within  the  present  century  have  exceeded  70,000/.  In  1734  there 
were  fined  35  persons,  and  11  excused.  The  fine  is  413/.  6s.  8d.,  with  an  additional 
2001.  if  the  lesser  fine  is  not  paid  within  a  certain  time.  In  1806  the  fines  amounted 
to  10,306/.  135.  Ad.,  and  to  9466/.  13s.  Ad.  in  the  year  1815.  But  the  election  is 
sometimes  contested,  as  in  1830,  when  there  were  six  candidates.  The  sheriffs-elect 
were  formerly  presented  for  approbation  to  the  Cursitor  Baron  of  Exchequer,  as  the 
representative  of  the  Sovereign  :  that  being  found  most  inconvenient,  a  short  Act  of 
Parliament  was  passed  to  do  away  with  the  ceremony  of  presentation,  but  reserving 
all  the  other  ancient  ceremonies,  appointing  the  Barons,  or  their  chief  officer,  the 
Queen's  Remembrancer,  to  see  the  ceremony  performed,  on  the  morrow  of  St.  Michael, 
as  described  at  pp.  508-509.  The  numerous  trusts  of  the  sheriffs  are  mostly  performed 
by  the  under-sheriffs,  but  the  State-duties  by  the  sheriffs  themselves.  They  receive 
from  the  City  about  1000/.  during  their  year  of  office ;  but  the  State  and  hospitality 
they  are  expected  to  maintain  usually  cost  each  sheriff  upwards  of  2000  guineas  :  for 
State-chariot,  horses,  and  State-liveries ;  the  inauguration  dinner.  The  mayor's  ban- 
quet, at  Guildhall,  on  the  9th  of  each  November,  throws  on  the  lord  mayor  and  corpo- 
ration but  one-third  of  its  cost;  the  remaining  two-thirds  devolve  on  the  unhappy 
sheriffs,  although  but  eight  of  their  private  friends  can  be  invited  to  the  feast.  The  cost 
of  this  is  generally  800/.  to  each  of  the  sheriffs,  being  200/.  for  each  of  their  guests  : 
the  Old  Bailey  dinners  {see  p.  506)  ;  besides  meat  at  the  City  prisons,  which  the  sheriffs 

*  This  fee-farm  rent  has  lpng  since  been  given  away  by  the  Crown,  is  now  private  property,  and  is 
paid  half-yearly  by  the  sheriff.  In  the  charters  granted  to  the  City  of  London  by  Henry  II.,  Richard  I., 
and  in  the  first  charter  of  King  John,  no  mention  whatever  is  made  of  the  sheriffwick.  There  are 
many  City  ordinances  for  the  office  of  sheriff,  disobedience  to  which  is  in  some  cases  marked  by  dis- 
missal.   A  History  of  the  Sheriffdom  was  published  in  1723. 


SHOREDITCH.  729 


superintend.  The  sheriffs  are  always  sworn  in  on  the  eve  of  Michaelmas-day,  upon 
which  the  Livery-men  meet  at  Guildhall  to  elect  the  Lord  Mayor  for  the  ensuing  year, 
and  their  first  duty  is  to  take  part  in  that  ceremony.  The  first  Jew  sheriff  was  Mr. 
David  (now  Alderman)  Salomons,  1835 ;  and  the  first  Roman  Catholic  sheriff  was  Mr. 
Richard  Swift,  M.P.,  1851 :  the  latter  was  attended  in  State  hy  a  Romish  priest  as  his 
chaplain.  A  factious  sheriff  (Slingsby  Bethel)  is  thus  commemorated,  as  Shimei,  by 
Dryden : 

"  No  Kechabite  more  shunn'd  the  fumes  of  wine ; 

Chaste  were  his  cellars,  and  his  shrieval  board 

The  grossness  of  a  City  feast  abhorr*d ; 

His  cooks,  with  long  disuse,  their  trade  forgot — 

Cool  was  his  kitchen,  though  his  brains  were  hot." 

Absalom  and  Achitophel. 

One  of  the  oldest  shrievalty  customs  was  that  of  the  Lord  Mayor  drinking  to  persons 
for  nomination  to  the  office :  it  was  revived  in  1682,  at  the  request  of  Charles  II., 
with  a  factious  object ;  when  Sheriffs  Shute  and  Pilkington  were  committed  hy  the 
King  to  the  Tower,  upon  a  false  charge  of  riot.  In  1685,  Alderman  and  Sheriff  Cor- 
nish, being  implicated  in  the  Rye-house  Plot,  was  hanged,  drawn,  and  quartered  at 
the  end  of  King-street,  Cheapside,  fronting  his  own  house. 

Sheriff  Hoare  has  left  a  journal  of  his  shrievalty,  in  1740-41,  in  his  own  handwriting : 
describing  his  investiture  in  his  scarlet  gown,  the  gold  chain  taken  off  the  former 
sheriff  and  put  on  him ;  the  delivery  of  the  prisoners  and  prison-keys,  and  the  keeper's 
treat  of  sack  and  walnuts,  Sept.  28th ;  how  the  sheriffs,  April  6tb,  entertained  the 
Exchequer  officers  with  52  calves'-heads,  dressed  in  different  manners ;  how,  Sept.  2nd 
(anniversary  of  the  Fire  of  London),  the  sheriffs  went  to  St.  Paul's,  in  their  "  black 
gowns,  and  no  chains,  and  heard  a  sermon ;"  how,  Sept.  8th,  they  went  with  the  lord 
mayor  to  proclaim  Southwark  Fair ;  the  Christ's  Hospital  treat  of  sweet  cakes  and 
burnt  wine,  on  St.  Matthew's  day  (Sept.  21st) ;  and  sack  and  walnuts  on  Sept.  28th, 
when  the  sheriff  returned  home,  to  his  "  great  consolation  and  comfort."  In  the  per- 
mission granted  to  sheriffs  to  keep  condemned  prisoners  in  the  Sheriffs'  own  houses,  as 
well  as  in  the  gaols,  is  thought  to  be  traceable  the  origin  of  the  "  Sponging-house." 

The  Sheriffs  Fund  was  established  by  Sir  Richard  Phillips,  sheriff  1807-8,  who,  in  his  Letter  to  the 
Livery  of  London,  tells  us  that,  after  a  few  visits  to  Newgate,  he  discovered  so  many  well-founded 
claims  of  a  pecuniary  nature  on  his  charity,  that  it  became  impossible  to  meet  a  tenth  part  of  them. 
A  Sheriffs  Fund  was  therefore  publicly  announced,  and  the  design  was  generally  applauded,  if  not 
generally  aided ;  though  the  Sheriff  collected,  in  the  course  of  the  year,  about  500?.,  and  assisted  and 
relieved  many  thousands  of  distressed  individuals  and  their  families,  a  trifling  balance  was  handed  over 
to  his  successors  in  the  Shrievalty.    The  Sheriffs'  Fund,  in  1867,  amounted  to  nearly  13,000?. 

In  1840,  Sheriffs  Evans  and  Wheelton  were  imprisoned  by  the  House  of  Commons 
at  Westminster,  for  an  alleged  breach  of  privilege. 

SSOBEDITCLT, 

AN  ancient  manor  and  parish,  extending  from  Norton  Folgate  to  Old-street,  and  from 
part  of  Finsbury  to  Bethnal-green.  It  was  originally  a  village  on  the  Roman 
military  highway,  called  by  the  Saxons  Eald  (i.e.,  Old)  Street.  Stow  declares  it  to  have 
been  called  Soersditch  more  than  400  years  before  his  time :  and  Weever  states  it  to 
have  been  named  from  Sir  John  de  Soerdich,  lord  of  the  manor  temp.  Edward  III.,* 
and  who  was  with  that  king  in  his  wars  with  France.  The  legend  of  its  being  called  after 
Jane  Shore  dying  in  a  ditch  in  its  neighbourhood,  is  a  popular  error,  traceable  to  a 
hlack-letter  ballad  in  the  Pepys  Collection,  entitled,  The  Woful  Lamentation  of  Jane 
Shore,  a  Goldsmith's  Wife  in  London,  some  time  King  Edward  IV.  his  Concubine 

"  I  could  not  get  one  bit  of  bread, 
Whereby  my  hunger  might  be  fed; 
Nor  drink,  but  such  as  channels  yield, 
Or  stinking  ditches  in  the  field. 
Thus,  weary  of  my  life  at  lengthe, 
I  yielded  up  my  vital  strength 

*  The  same  family  of  Soerdich,  or  Shordich,  it  is  believed,  possessed  the  manor  of  Ickenham, 
near  Uxbridge,  and  resided  at  Ickenham  Hall,  from  the  reign  of  Edward  III.  to  our  own  time.  The 
last  of  this  family,  Paul  Ricaut  Shordiche,  civil  engineer,  grandson  of  Michael  Shordiche,  of  Ickenham 
Manor,  died  at  Antigua,  July  13, 1865. 


730  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Within  a  ditch  of  loathsome  scent, 
Where  carrion  dogs  did  much  frequent : 
The  which  now,  since  my  dying  daye, 
Is  Shoreditch  call'd,  as  writers  saye." 

But  this  ballad  is  not  older  than  the  middle  of  the  17th  century ;  and  no  mention  is 
made  of  Jane  so  dying  in  a  ballad  by  Th.  Churchyard,  dated  1587.  Dr.  Percy  erro- 
neously refers  Shoreditch  to  "  its  being  a  common  sewer,  vulgarly  shore,  or  drain." 
It  is  sometimes  called  Sorditch,  which  is  the  most  correct,  according  to  the  above 
explanation.  An  archer  of  this  parish,  named  Barlo,  was  styled  "  Duke  of  Shoreditch  ** 
by  Henry  VIII.,  for  having  outshot  his  competitors  in  a  shooting  match  at  Windsor ; 
and  the  Captain  of  the  Company  of  Archers  of  London  was  long  after  styled  "  Duke 
of  Shoreditch."  In  the  Beaufoy  Collection  are  four  Shoreditch  tokens,  one  with  figures 
of  Edward  IV.  and  his  mistress ;  and  the  sign  of  Jane  Shore  is  extant  at  a  public- 
house  in  the  High-street. 

Shoreditch  is  the  scene  of  another  apocryphal  tragedy ;  the  old  ballad  laying  here 
the  locus  in  quo  of  George  Barnwell's  dissipation,  where  lived  Mrs.  Millwood,  who  led 
him  astray  :— 

"  George  Barnwell,  then  quoth  she, 
Do  thou  to  Shoreditch  come, 
And  ask  for  Mrs.  Millwood's  house, 
Next  door  unto  the  Gun." 

Now,  Shoreditch  was  formerly  notorious  for  the  easy  character  of  its  women ;  and  to 
die  in  Shoreditch  was  not  a  mere  metaphorical  term  for  dying  in  a  sewer.  {Cunning' 
ham).  See  the  story  in  Romance  of  London,  vol.  i.  pp.  314 — 324.  James  Smith 
wrote  the  ballad  of  "  George  Barnwell  travestie  ;"  and  Thackeray  a  famous  caricature 
romance,  entitled  "  George  de  Barnwell." 

Holywell  Lane  and  Mount  ("  heightening  of  the  ground  for  garden-plots,"  Stow), 
and  Holywell  Row,  in  Shoreditch,  are  named  from  a  holy  well  there ;  and  a  house  of 
Benedictine  nuns  of  that  name,  founded  by  a  Bishop  of  London,  and  rebuilt,  with  the 
Church  of  St.  John  and  the  chapel,  by  Sir  Thomas  Lovel,  of  Lincoln's  Inn,  Treasurer 
of  the  Household  to  King  Henry  VII.,  K.G.,  &c. 

Sir  Thomas  Lovel  was  buried  there  June  8, 1525,  "  in  a  tombe  of  whyte  marbell,  on  the  southe  syde 
of  the  quyre  of  the  saide  churche." — (Book  of  the  College  of  Arms)  At  his  funeral  there  were  present 
the  Bishop  of  London,  Lord  St.  John,  Sir  Eichard  Wyngfield,  and  many  others,  nobles  and  gentlemen. 
The  Abbot  of  Waltham,  the  Prior  of  St.  Mary  Spital,  four  orders  of  friars,  the  Mayor  and  all  the  alder- 
men of  London,  gentlemen  of  the  Inns  of  Court,  the  Lord  Steward,  and  all  the  clerks  of  London  attended. 
Part  of  the  Chapel  remains  under  the  floor  of  the  Old  King  John,  and  the  stone  doorway  into  the  porter's 
lodge  of  the  Priory  still  exists.  (Notes  and  Queries,  No.  179.)  Shoreditch  Cross  is  believed  to  have 
stood  on  the  west  side  of  Kingsland-road,  and  to  have  been  demolished  in  1642. 

St.  Leonard's  Church,  at  the  north  end  of  Shoreditch,  is  described  at  p.  173.  Near 
the  altar  is  a  tablet  to  the  memory  of  a  descendant  of  the  royal  house  of  Hungary ; 
and  in  the  crypt  is  the  noble  altar-tomb  of  a  descendant  of  the  great  John  Corvinus 
Huniades,  whose  son  was  elected  King  of  Hungary.  In  the  belfry  are  recorded  several 
feats  of  bell-ringing,  including  16  March,  1777,  when  the  "  College  Youths"  performed 
11,000  changes  in  eight  hours,  adding  that  their  names  would  be  handed  down  to 
posterity,  "insaturated  with  glory."  In  the  churchyard  is  buried  Gardner,  the 
worm  destroying  doctor  of  Long  Acre ;  his  tombstone  inscribed,  "  Dr.  John 
Gardner's  (intended)  last  and  best  bed-room."  In  1811,  a  writ  of  arrest  was  served 
by  a  sheriffs  officer  upon  a  dead  body,  as  it  was  being  conveyed  to  this  churchyard ; 
which  occasioned  Lord  Ellenborougb  to  declare  the  process  altogether  illegal.  In  St. 
Leonard's  Church  is  some  painted  glass  from  one  of  the  Priory  windows.  "  Neare 
thereunto  are  builded  two  publique  houses  for  the  acting  and  shewe  of  comedies, 
tragedies,  and  histories,  for  recreation.  Thereof  one  is  called  the  Courtain,  the  other 
the  Theatre,  both  standing  on  the  south-west  toward  the  field."  (Stow,  1st  edit, 
p.  349.)  Hence  the  Curtain  Theatre,  built  in  Holy  well-lane,  and  Curtain-road; 
in  the  latter,  at  the  Blue  Last  public-house,  porter  is  traditionally  said  to  have  been 
first  sold,  about  1730. 

A  Public  Hall  has  been  built  for  St.  Leonard's,  facing  Old-street,  of  Corinthian  and 
Doric  architecture ;  in  the  basement  are  the  parochial  offices ;  and  on  the  first-floor 
the  Great  Hall,  to  hold  1800  persons.  In  1854  were  erected  almshouses  in  Brunswick- 
street,    Hackney-road,    for  twenty  aged  women  of  the   parish;  the  architecture  is 


SMITHFIELD.  731 


Jacobean.  The  Great  Eastern  Railway  crosses  the  main  street,  and  near  the  station 
is  the  first  of  the  buildings  erected  by  the  trustees  to  whom  the  disposal  of  Mr.  Pea- 
body's  munificent  gift  to  the  City  of  London  was  referred.  Hard  by  is  Colombia 
Market,  erected  at  the  expense  of  Miss  Burdett  Coutts  (see  p.  558).  Philanthropy 
has  long  been  at  work  here,  but  much  remains  to  be  done. 

The  people  of  St.  Philip's,  Shoreditch,  are  types  of  a  class  which  is  no  small  one — the  quiet  poor,  the 
people  who  struggle  earnestly  to  obtain  subsistence  out  of  the  workhouse,  who  abstain  from  beggary, 
and  who  arc  not  brought  under  our  notice  by  their  crimes.  This  district  of  Bethnal-green  seems  to 
•consist  almost  wholly  of  such  persons.  A  small  space  of  ground  is  there  covered  with  about  fourteen 
thousand  of  them,  weavers,  costermongers,  and  others,  each  family  lodged  in  a  single  room.  The  mass 
of  this  population  subsist  upon  earnings  that  average  little  more  than  threepence  a-day,  for  the  main- 
tenance of  each  body,  great  and  small,  with  shelter,  food,  and  clothing.  They  are  not  squalid  or 
vicious,  they  will  work  their  hearts  away  for  the  most  miserable  hire,  they  work  and  help  each  other, 
they  work  and  grieve  and  die.  In  this  one  district  of  St.  Philip's,  Shoreditch,  which  is  but  a  little 
island  in  the  world  of  sorrow,  there  is  work  for  thousands  of  warm-hearted  people,  who  with  scanty  aid 
may  do  great  service. — Examiner,  abridged. 

SKINNER- STREET  AND    SNOW-HILL. 

SKINNER-STREET,  extending  from  Newgate-street  to  Holborn-hill,  was  built 
about  1802,  to  avoid  the  circuit  of  Snow-hill,  also  called  Snor,  Snore,  and  Sorr- 
hill;  the  projector  of  the  improvement  was  Alderman  Skinner.  Here  was  a  large 
seven-storied  house,  burnt  down  in  1813,  estimated  loss  25,0O0£.  At  No.  41,  "William 
Godwin,  author  of  Caleb  Williams  kept  a  bookseller's  shop,  and  published  his  juvenile 
works  under  the  name  of  Edward  Baldwin :  over  his  shop-door  is  an  artificial  stone 
relief  of  J2sop  narrating  his  tables  to  children.  Opposite  No.  58,  in  1817,  was  hung 
Cashman  the  sailor,  who  had  joined  a  mob  in  plundering  the  gunsmith's  shop  at  the 
above  house. 

In  a  shop-window  on  Snow-hill,  Vandyke  saw  the  picture  by  Dobson,  which  led  him 
to  seek  out  the  painter  in  a  garret,  and  recommend  him  to  Charles  I.  At  the  sign  of 
the  Star,  on  Snow-hill,  at  the  house  of  his  friend  Mr.  Strudwick,  a  grocer,  died 
12th  August,  1688,  John  Bunyan,  author  of  the  Pilgrim's  Progress,  and  was  buried 
in  that  friend's  vault  in  Bunhill-fields  burial-ground.  At  No.  37,  King-street,  Snow- 
hill,  was  formerly  the  Ladies'  Charity .  School,  which  was  established  in  1702,  and 
remained  in  the  parish  145  years.  Mrs.  Thrale  and  Dr.  Johnson  were  subscribers  to 
this  school ;  and  Johnson  drew  from  it  his  story  of  Betty  Broom,  in  The  Idler.  In 
the  school  minutes,  1763,  the  ladies  of  the  committee  censured  the  schoolmistress  for 
listening  to  the  story  of  the  Cock -lane  Ghost,  and  "  desired  her  to  keep  her  belief  in 
the  article  to  herself."  The  School-house  is  No.  30,  John-street,  Bedford-row.  Great 
part  of  Skinner-street  has  been  taken  down  in  clearances  for  the  Holborn- valley 
and  the  Metropolitan  Railway  works. 

SMITHFIELD, 

ANCIENTLY  just  outside  the  City  wall,  was  the  great  public  walk  of  the  citizens, 
their  race-course,  and  live  market  (see  p.  561;  vulgo,  Smiffel).  It  was  a 
great  field  for  quintain-matches,  and  was  called  "  Ruffians'  Hall,"  for  its  frays  and 
common  fighting  with  sword  and  buckler,  superseded  by  the  deadly  fight  of  rapier  and 
dagger.  Ben  Jonson,  in  his  Bartholomew  Fair,  speaks  of  "  the  sword  and  buckler 
age  in  Smithfield  "  having  but  recently  passed  away ;  and  in  the  Two  Angry  Women 
of  Abingdon,  1599,  complaint  is  made  that  "the  sword  and  buckler  fight  begins  to 
grow  out  of  use."  The  town-green  had  its  clump  of  trees,  "  the  Elms,"  which  was 
the  place  of  public  execution  until  the  middle  of  the  13th  century,  when  it  was 
removed  to  Tyburn.  At  the  Elms  suffered  William  Fitzosbert  (Longbeard) ;  here 
"  Mortimer  was  executed,  and  let  hang  two  days  and  two  nights,  to  be  seen  of  the 
people ;"  and  here  perished  the  patriot  Wallace,  on  St.  Bartholomew's  even,  1305 — 
the  place  of  blood  being  in  Cow-lane,  close  to  the  end  of  St.  John's-court.  At  Smith- 
field,  on  Saturday,  June  15th,  1381,  Richard  II.  met  Wat  Tyler  and  his  "  shoeless 
ribalds,"  the  King  towards  the  east,  near  St.  Bartholomew's  Priory,  and  the  Commons 
towards  the  west ;  when  Tyler,  seizing  the  boy -king's  horse,  was  stabbed  by  Walworth, 


732  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

mayor  of  London ;  and  a  few  days  after,  Jack  Straw,  the  second  rebel  in  command, 
was  hanged  at  the  Elms.  But  Smithfield  has  its  sunnier  epoch  of  jousts,  tournaments, 
and  feats  of  arms.  Here  Edward  III.  commemorated  the  brilliant  realities  of  Cressy 
and  Poictiers ;  and  here  the  doting  monarch  feasted  Alice  Pierce  ("  the  lady  of  the 
sun")  with  seven  days'  chivalric  sports.  Richard  II.  held  "a  great  justing"  here  in 
1390,  when  was  "  given  first  the  badge  of  the  White  Hart,  with  golden  chains  and 
crowns  •"  and  here,  in  1396,  the  king  celebrated  his  marriage  by  three  days'  tourna- 
ment. In  1393  "  certain  lords  of  Scotland  came  into  England,  to  get  worship  by 
force  of  arms  in  Smithfield"  (Froissart).  This  was  likewise  the  scene  of  ordeal  com- 
bats, when  the  place  of  battle  was  strewed  with  rushes :  here  was  fought  the  whimsical 
combat  of  Horner  and  Peter,  as  told  by  Holinshed,  and  dramatized  by  Shakspeare 
{King  Henry  VI.,  Part  II.) 

The  reality  is  thus  recorded  in  the  Grey  Friars'  Chronicle,  Hen.  VI. :  "  xxv°  A0-  Thys  yere  was  a 
fyghtynge  in  Smythfelde  betwene  ane  armerar  of  fletstret  and  his  servant,  for  worddes  agenst  the  kynge, 
whereof  hys  servant  asseld  hym;  and  the  servant  slew  the  master  in  the  felde." 

In  the  play  of  Henry  VI.  is  the  king's  sentence  : 

*'  The  witch  in  Smithfield  shall  be  burn'd  to  ashes." 
The  martyrology  of  Smithfield  forms  a  still  more  terrible  page  of  its  history.  Here 
were  burnt  the  martyrs,  from  John  Rogers,  "  the  protomartyr  of  the  Marian  persecu- 
tion," in  1555,  to  Bartholomew  Leggatt,  in  1611,  the  last  martyr  who  suffered  at  the 
stake  in  England.  Of  the  277  persons  burnt  for  heresy  in  the  reign  of  Mary,  the 
great  majority  suffered  in  Smithfield :  a  large  gas-light  (in  the  middle  of  the  pens) 
denoted  the  reputed  spot ;  but  the  discovery  in  1849  of  some  blackened  stones,  ashes, 
and  charred  human  bones,  at  3  feet  from  the  surface,  opposite  the  gateway  of  St. 
Bartholomew's  Church,  induces  the  belief  that  here  was  the  great  hearth  of  the  bigot 
fires.  Charred  human  bones  and  ashes  were  also  discovered,  at  5  feet  from  the  surface, 
at  the  west  end  of  Long-lane,  in  July,  1854.  In  Smithfield,  likewise,  poisoners  were 
"  boiled  to  death"  by  statute,  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII. 

"  xiij°  A°"  Thys  yere  was  a  man  soddyne  in  a  cautherne  (boiled  in  a  cauldron)  in  Smythfelde,  and 
lett  up  and  downe  dyvers  tymes  tyll  he  was  dede,  for  because  he  wold  a  poyssynd  dyvers  persons." 

"xxij°A°-  This  yere  was  a  coke  boylyd  in  a  cauderne  in  Smythfeld,  for  he  wolde  a  powsynd  the 
bishoppe  of  Rochester,  Fy  cher,  with  dyvers  of  hys  servanttes ;  and  he  was  locky  d  in  a  chayre,  and  pully  d 
up  and  downe  with  a  gybbyt,  at  dyvers  tymes,  till  he  was  dede." 

xxxiij°  A0-  The  x  day  of  March  was  a  mayde  boyllyd  in  Smythfelde,  for  poysyng  of  dyvers  persons." 
— Chronicle  of  the  Orey  Friars  of  London,  edited  by  J.  Gough  Nichols,  F.S.A.  Printed  for  the  Camden 
Society,  1852. 

From  this  Chronicle  we  learn  that  the  gallows  was  "  set  up  at  sent  Bartylmewys  gate." 
The  entries  of  burnings  for  "  errysee  "  are  also  very  numerous.  Burning  for  other 
crimes  was,  however,  continued :  Evelyn  records,  "  1652,  May  10. — Passing  by  Smith- 
field,  I  saw  a  miserable  creature  burning  who  had  murdered  her  husband." 

In  Stow's  time,  the  encroachments  by  "  divers  fair  inns,  and  other  buildings,"  had 
left  but  a  small  portion  of  Smithfield  for  the  old  uses.  After  the  Great  Fire,  the 
houseless  people  were  sheltered  here  in  huts.  Over  against  Pie-corner  is  Cock-lane  : 
Goldsmith's  pamphlet  respecting  the  Cock -lane  ghost  was  first  included  in  his  collected 
Works  edited  by  Peter  Cunningham,  F.S.A.,  1854.  This  ancient  locality  has  been 
much  disturbed  by  the  removal  of  the  old  market,  and  by  railway  encroachments. 

Bartholomew  Faie,  held  in  Smithfield  from  the  reign  of  Henry  I.  to  our  own 
time,  is  described  at  p.  32-36.  The  Fair  was  finally  abolished  in  1853.  The 
Churches  of  St.  Bartholomew  and  St.  Bartholomew-the-Less  are  noticed  at  pp.  152,  153. 

SMITHFIELD,  FAST, 

BETWEEN  Little  Tower-hill  and  Ratcliff-highway,  was,  according  to  Stow,  before 
the  reign  of  King  Stephen,  made  a  vineyard  by  the  Constables  of  the  Tower, 
being  forcibly  taken  by  them  from  the  Priory  of  the  Holy  Trinity,  within  Aldgate. 
Here  Edward  III.  founded  New  Abbey,  in  1359,  called  the  White  Order,  and  named 
Eastminster.  Spenser  the  poet  is  said  to  have  been  born  in  East  Smithfield ;  and  here, 
24th  July,  1629,  Charles  I.  killed  a  stag,  which  he  had  hunted  from  Wanstead,  in 
Essex.  (Stow.)  A  plan  of  East  Smithfield  in  Elizabeth's  reign  shows  the  site  of  an 
ancient  stone  cross,  and  the  stocks  and  cage. 


SOCIETY  OF  ARTS.  733 


SOCIETY  OF  ANTIQUARIES. 

THE  early  history  of  this  Society,  from  1707,  when  the  few  members  first  met, 
"  upon  pain  of  forfeiture  of  sixpence,"  is  noted  at  page  530 :  the  plan  was  drawn 
up  by  Humphrey  Wanley;  and  the  minutes  date  from  Jan.  1,  1718,  when  the 
members  brought  to  the  weekly  meetings,  coins,  medals,  seals,  intaglios,  cameos, 
manuscripts,  records,  rolls,  genealogies,  pictures,  drawings,  &c.  The  first  president 
was  Martin  Folkes,  1751.  The  Society  occupy  apartments  in  Somerset  House,  formerly 
the  Koyal  Society's.  The  president  is  Earl  Stanhope,  the  accomplished  historian. 
Terms  of  admission  reduced  in  1853  from  eight  to  five  guineas  entrance  fee ;  and  from 
four  to  two  guineas  annual  subscription.  The  strict  form  of  admission  is  by  the 
president  or  presiding  officer  placing  upon  his  head  a  cocked-hat ;  in  one  hand  he  holds 
the  Society's  iron  gilt  mace,  and  with  the  other  hand  he  welcomes  the  new  Fellow, 
saying  :  "  By  the  authority  and  in  the  name  of  the  Society  of  Antiquaries  of  London,  I 
admit  you  a  Fellow  thereof."  To  the  names  of  the  members  are  usually  appended 
F.S.A.  The  Obligation  Book  contains  the  signatures  of  the  leading  antiquaries, 
Fellows  of  the  Society.  The  Society  possess  a  Library,  noticed  at  page  516 ;  and  a 
Museum,  see  page  590.  A  synopsis  of  the  contents  of  the  Museum  is  presented  to  the 
Fellows.     The  old  paintings  and  memorials  in  the  Meeting-room  are  curious. 

The  Society's  Transactions  (Archaologia),  published  annually,  date  from  1770.  Among  their  other 
publications  are  Vetusta  Monumenta,  vol.  vi.,  illustrating  the  Baieux  tapestry;  Folkes's  Tables  of 
English  Silver  and  Gold  Coins ;  Wardrobe-book  of  Edward  I. ;  Ordinances  and  Regulations  of  the  Royal 
Households,  from  Edward  III.  to  William  and  Mary ;  Roy's  Military  Antiquities  of  the  Romans  in 
Britain ;  Account  of  the  Collegiate  Chapel  of  St.  Stephen,  at  Westminster ;  Accounts  of  the  Cathedrals 
of  Exeter,  Durham,  and  Gloucester,  and  of  Bath  and  St.  Alban's  Abbey  Churches ;  Csedmon's  Metrical 
Paraphrase  of  the  Holy  Scriptures  in  Anglo-Saxon.  The  Society  have  also  published  large  historical 
prints  of  the  Field  of  the  Cloth-of-Gold,  1520;  Francis  I.'s  attempt  to  invade  England,  1545;  the  Pro- 
cession of  King  Edward  VI.  from  the  Tower  to  Westminster;  Aggas's  Plan  of  London,  &c. 

SOCIETY  OF  ARTS. 

"  HHHE  Society  for  the  Encouragement  of  Arts,  Manufactures,  and  Commerce," 
J-  originated  with  William  Shipley,  a  drawing-master,  and  brother  to  the  Dean  of 
St.  Asaph.  With  the  concurrence  of  Jacob  Viscount  Folkestone,  Robert  Lord  Romney, 
and  Dr.  Maddox,  Bishop  of  Worcester,  the  Society  first  met,  March  29,  1754,  at 
Rawthmell's  Coffee-house,  Henrietta-street,  Covent-garden :  Shipley  acting  as  Secretary ; 
and  the  plan  of  the  Society  being  drawn  up  by  William  Baker,  the  microscopist. 
Oliver  Goldsmith  took  great  interest  in  the  early  proceedings  of  the  Society,  in  a 
magazine  published  by  Newbery ;  and  the  Doctor  was  a  candidate  for  the  secretary- 
ship. Much  attention  was  then  bestowed  upon  "  the  polite  arts :"  among  the  first 
objects  was  the  offer  of  premiums  for  drawings  by  girls  and  boys  under  16  years  of 
age.  The  Society  next  met,  1754-5,  in  apartments  over  a  circulating-library  in  Crane- 
court,  Fleet-street ;  next  in  Craig's-court,  Charing-cross ;  at  the  corner  of  Castle- 
court,  Strand;  in  1759  they  removed  to  a  house  (afterwards  Dibdin's  Sans  Souci) 
opposite  Beaufort-buildings ;  and  next  to  their  new  house  in  John-street,  Adelphi,  in 
1774.  Presidents:  Viscount  Folkestone,  1755-1761;  Lord  Rodney,  1761-1793; 
the  Duke  of  Norfolk,  1793-1815 ;  the  Duke  of  Sussex,  1815-1843 ;  Prince  Albert, 
1843-1861 ;  and  the  present  President,  the  Prince  of  Wales. 

'Early  Award*  of  the  Society. — The  first  prize  to  Richard  Cosway,  then  15.  In  1758,  Bacon,  the 
sculptor,  for  a  small  figure  of  Peace ;  and  he  gained  9  other  high  prizes ;  1761,  Nollekens,  for  an  alto- 
relievo  of  Jephtha's  Vow,  and  in  1771  for  a  more  important  piece  of  sculpture;  in  1768,  Flaxman,  and 
in  1771  the  Society's  Gold  Medal.  Lawrence,  when  13,  received  a  silver-gilt  palette  and  5  guineas  for 
his  crayon-drawing  of  the  Transfiguration.  In  1807,  to  Sir  William  Ross,  then  12,  a  siver-gilt  palette 
for  a  drawing  of  Wat  Tyler ;  in  1810,  a  similar  reward  to  Sir  Edwin  Landseer  for  an  etching ;  and  to 
B.  Wyon,  in  1818,  the  Gold  Medal  for  a  medal  die.  Among  the  other  recipients  of  prizes  may  be  named 
Allan  Cunningham,  Mulready,  and  Millais. 

The  first  public  Exhibition  of  the  works  of  British  Artists  was  held  at  the  Society's 
house  in  the  Strand,  in  1760 :  hence  originated  the  Royal  Academy,  who,  in  1776,  with 
Sir  Joshua  Reynolds  at  their  head,  refusing  to  paint  the  Society's  Great  Council-room 
at  the  Adelphi,  next  year  Barry,  who  had  signed  the  refusal  with  the  rest,  volunteered 


734  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

to  decorate  the  room  without  any  remuneration  at  all :  the  pictures  are  described  at 
page  603  :  the  room  is  47  feet  in  length,  42  feet  in  breadth,  and  40  in  height.  Among 
the  prime  objects  of  the  Society  were  the  application  of  Art  to  the  improvement 
of  Design  in  Manufactures,  now  developed  in  "  Art  Manufactures ;"  the  improvement  of 
Agriculture  and  Horticulture ;  and  in  1783  a  reward  was  offered  for  a  reaping-machine. 
The  Society  has  distributed  more  than  100.000Z.  in  premiums  and  bounties.  The 
growth  of  forest-trees  was  one  of  its  early  objects  of  encouragement ;  and  among  the 
recipients  of  its  Gold  Medal  (designed  by  Flaxman)  were  the  Dukes  of  Bedford  and 
Beaufort,  the  Earls  of  Winterton,  Upper  Ossory,  and  Mansfield;  and  Dr.  Watson, 
Bishop  of  Llandaff.  Then  came  Agriculture,  Chemistry,  Manufactures,  and  Mechanics, 
including  tapestry  and  the  imitation  of  Turkey  carpets,  Marseilles  and  India  quilting, 
spinning  and  lace-making,  improved  paper,  catgut  for  musical  instruments ;  straw  bon- 
nets and  artificial  flowers.  Among  the  Society's  colonial  objects  were  the  manufacture 
of  potash  and  pearlash,  the  culture  of  the  vine,  the  growth  of  silk-worms,  indigo,  and 
vegetable  oils.  Very  many  rewards  have  been  given  by  the  Society  to  poor  Bethnal- 
green  and  Spitalfields  weavers  for  useful  inventions  in  their  manufacture. 

The  Society's  Libeaet  is  described  at  page  525 ;  and  its  Museum  of  Models,  and 
the  Pictures  and  Sculpture,  at  pp.  603.  Dr.  Johnson  says  of  Barry's  paintings,  "  There 
is  a  grasp  of  mind  there  which  you  will  find  nowhere  else."  The  Society  held  the  first 
regular  Exhibition  of  Useful  Inventions  in  1761,  when  a  Mr.  Bailey  explained  the  seve- 
ral articles  to  the  visitors.  The  Premiums  are  annually  presented  in  the  Great  Boom, 
where  have  been  held  Exhibitions  of  Decorative  Art  unequalled  in  this  country.  The 
Society  chiefly  prepared  the  public  mind  for  the  Great  Exhibition  of  1851 ;  and  here 
Mr.  Paxton  first  developed  his  plan  of  its  stupendous  building,  Nov.  13, 1850.  Annual 
Subscription  to  the  Society,  two  guineas.  Among  the  Special  Prizes  is  the  bequest  of 
Dr.  Svviney  of  100  guineas,  in  a  Silver  Cup  of  the  same  value,  to  be  given  every  fifth 
year  for  the  best  treatise  on  Jurisprudence ;  the  Cup,  designed  by  D.  Maclise,  R.A.,  is 
surmounted  by  figures  of  Justice,  Vengeance,  and  Mercy ;  in  the  centre  is  a  niello  of  a 
hall  of  justice;  and  at  the  base  are  four  kneeling  slaves.  The  Centenary  of  the  Society 
of  Arts  was  celebrated  July,  1854,  by  a  banquet  in  the  Crystal  Palace,  Sydenham. 

For  many  years  the  office  of  Secretary  was  filled  by  Arthur  Aikin,  eldest  son  of  Dr.  Aikin,  the  friend 
of  John  Howard,  and  brother  of  Lucy  Aikin ;  and  who  published  a  Manual  of  Mineralogy,  Arts  and 
Manufactures,  and  a  Chemical  Dictionary.  He  died  in  1854,  aged  80.  Among  the  Society's  Vice- 
Presidents  was  Thomas  Hope,  author  of  some  tasteful  works  on  costume,  furniture,  and  decoration; 
and  whose  house  in  Duchess-street  was  a  model  of  artistic  design  (described  at  page  551) :  here  was  a 
piece  of  carved  furniture,  which,  many  years  after  it  was  executed,  was  specially  noticed  by  Sir  Francis 
Chantrey :  on  being  asked  the  reason,  he  replied,  "  That  was  my  first  work." 

soho, 

A  DISTRICT  north-east  of  Piccadily,  extending  to  Oxford-street.  Mr.  Cunningham  has 
found  the  name  "  Soho"  in  the  rate-books  of  St.  Martin's  as  early  as  the  year  1632 ; 
thus  invalidating  the  tradition  by  Pegge  and  Pennant,  that  Soho*  being  the  watchword 
at  the  battle  of  Sedgemoor,  in  1685,  it  was  given  to  King-square,  in  memory  of  the  Duke 
of  Monmouth,  whose  mansion  was  upon  the  south  side.  The  boundaries  of  Soho  are 
Oxford-street,  north ;  Crown-street,  east ;  King-street,  south ;  and  Wardour-street  and 
Princes-street,  west.  Soho-square  and  the  adjoining  fields  passed  by  royal  grants  to 
the  Earl  of  St.  Albans,  the  Duke  and  Duchess  of  Monmouth,  and  the  Earl  of  Portland; 
and  the  streets  are  named  from  this  appropriation,  or  from  their  builders.  The  houses 
in  Soho-square  and  the  streets  adjoining  are  remarkably  well  built,  and  were  tenanted 
by  nobility  and  gentry  until  our  time.  Carlisle  Souse  and  Street,  named  from 
having  been  the  residence  of  the  Earls  of  Carlisle,  are  described  at  p.  446  :  here  lived  Bach 
and  Abel,  the  musical  composers.  Greek-street  and  Church-street  are  named  from  the 
Greek  Church  in  Crown-street.  In  Greek-street  the  elder  Wedgwood  had  warerooms 
before  he  removed  to  St.  James's ;  and  Mr.  (after  Sir  Thomas)  Lawrence,  R.A.,  was 
living  here  in  1806.     In  Wardour-street  (Old  Soho)  French  Protestants  were  early 

*  "  Soho  is  the  same  as  '.pray  stop* "  (Booth's  Analytical  Diet.)  -.  hence  it  may  have  been  appliecl,  in 
the  above  instance,  to  the  extension  of  building  in  this  direction,  more  especially  as  it  was  prohibited 
by  a  proclamation  in  1671. 


SOMERSET  SOUSE,  OLD.  735 

settlers,  and  probably  brought  the  trade  in  foreign  art.  Berwick-street  is  described  by 
Hatton  (1708)  as  "  a  kind  of  row ;  the  fronts  of  the  houses  resting  on  columns,  make  a 
small  piazza."  In  Dean-street  lived  Sir  James  Thornhill,  at  No.  75,  which  has  the 
staircase-walls  of  his  painting;  and  at  No.  33  died  young,  in  1819,  Harlowe,  the 
painter  of  the  Trial  of  Queen  Katharine.  Gerard-street  is  named  from  Gerard,  Earl 
of  Macclesfield,  the  owner  of  the  site,  formerly  "  the  Military  Garden"  of  Henry  Prince 
of  Wales,  eldest  son  of  James  I.  {see  p.  458)  ;  and  Princes-street  is  built  upon  part  of 
the  ground :  here,  in  1718,  lived  Halley  the  astronomer.  The  landlord's  title  is  also 
preserved  in  Macclesfield-street.  In  Gerard  House  lived  the  profligate  Lord  Mohun. 
At  No.  43,  Gerard- street,  John  Dryden  resided  with  his  wife,  Lady  Elizabeth  Howard : 
his  study  was  the  front  parlour ;  Dryden  died  here  in  1700.  In  Gerard-street  lived 
Edmund  Burke  at  the  time  of  Warren  Hastings'  trial;  and  here  at  the  Turk's  Head, 
(removed  from  Greek-street,  where  met  the  Loyal  Association  of  1745),  Johnson,  Sir 
Joshua  Reynolds,  and  Burke  founded  the  Literary  Club  in  1764  {see  p.  251).  Here  a 
Society  of  Artists  met  in  1753 ;  and  another  Society,  including  West,  Wilson,  Wilton, 
Chambers,  Sandby,  &c,  who,  from  the  Turk's  Head,  petitioned  George  III.  to  patronize 
a  Royal  Academy  of  Art.  In  Gerard-street  was  formerly  the  chief  receiving-house  of 
the  Twopenny  Post.  Compton-street  was  built  in  the  reign  of  Charles  II.,  by  Sir 
Francis  Compton;  and  New  Compton-street  was  first  named  Stiddolph-street,  after 
Sir  Richard  Stiddolph,  the  owner  of  the  land. — Dr.  Rimbault,  in  Notes  and  Queries, 
No.  15.     {See  Sqt/abes  :  Soho.) 

The  Lion  Brewery,  in  Soho,  was  formerly  the  property  of  the  uncle  of  Sir  Richard  Phillips,  who  was 
brought  up  in  this  establishment,  to  which  he  was  heir.  This  prospective  fortune  did  not,  however, 
overcome  his  distaste  for  the  business  of  a  brewer ;  and  a  passion  for  literature,  particularly  mathe- 
matics and  natural  philosophy,  led  him,  at  the  age  of  17,  to  detach  himself  from  his  family  connexions, 
and  seek  his  own  chance  of  life. 

SOMERSET  HOUSE,  OLD, 

OR,  SOMERSET-PLACE,  on  the  north  side  of  the  Strand,  was  commenced  building 
about  1547,  by  the  Protector  Somerset,  maternal  uncle  of  Edward  VI.  To 
obtain  space  and  materials,  he  demolished  Strand  or  Chester's  Inn,  and  the  episcopal 
houses  of  Lichfield,  Coventry,  Worcester,  and  Llandaff,  besides  the  church  and  tower 
of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem ;  for  the  stone,  also,  he  pulled  down  the  great  north 
cloister  of  St.  Paul's ;  St.  Mary's  Church  too  was  taken  down,  and  the  site  became 
part  of  the  garden.  The  Duke's  cofferer's  account  shows  the  building,  in  1551,  to  have 
cost  10,091Z.  (present  money,  50.000Z.).  The  architect  was  John  of  Padua,  contempo- 
rary with  Holbein ;  and  there  is  a  plan  of  the  house  among  Thorpe's  drawings  in  the 
Soane  Museum ;  it  was  the  first  building  of  Italian  architecture  erected  in  England. 
Stow  describes  it  in  1603,  as  "  a  large  and  beautiful  house,  but  yet  unfinished."  The 
Protector  did  not  inhabit  the  palace;  for  he  was  imprisoned  in  the  Tower  in  1549,  and 
beheaded  in  1552.  Somerset  Place  then  devolved  to  the  Crown,  and  was  assigned  by 
Edward  VI.  to  his  sister  the  Princess  Elizabeth. 

"  Feb.  1566-7,  Cornelius  de  la  Noyne,  an  alchymist,  wrought  in  Somerset  House,  and  abused  many 
in  promising  to  convert  any  metall  into  gold." — Lord  Burghley's  Notes. 

In  1570,  Queen  Elizabeth  went  to  the  Royal  Exchange,  "  from  her  house  at  the 
Strand,  called  Somerset  House ;"  it  also  occurs  as  "  Somerset  Place,  beyond  Strand 
Bridge."  The  Queen  lent  the  mansion  to  her  kinsman,  Lord  Hunsdon,  whose  guest 
she  occasionally  became.  At  her  death,  the  palace  was  settled  as  a  jointure-house  of 
the  queen-consort;  and  passed  to  Anne  of  Denmark,  queen  of  James  I.,  by  whose 
command  it  was  called  Denmark  House.  Inigo  Jones  erected  here  "  new  buildings  and 
enlargements."  Here  the  remains  of  Anne  and  James  I.  lay  in  State.  For  Henrietta 
Maria,  queen  of  Charles  I.,  Inigo  Jones  built  a  chapel,  with  a  rustic  arcade  and  Corin- 
thian columns,  facing  the  Thames ;  and  here  the  Queen  established  a  convent  of 
Capuchin  friars ;  in  the  passage  leading  from  east  to  west,  under  the  quadrangle  of 
the  present  Somerset  House,  are  five  tombstones  of  the  Queen's  attendants. 

From  a  manuscript  inventory  in  the  library  of  Mr.  Gough,  "  the  chappel  goods  at  Somerset  House" 
were  numerous  and  costly.  Of  the  goods  and  furniture  appraised  in  1649,  the  arras  hangings  and 
tapestry  were  of  great  value;  the  state-beds,  pavilions,  canopies,  cloths-of-state,  carpets,  mantles,  table- 
linen,  &c.,  were  very  rich :  one  of  the  beds  of  embroidered  French  satin  was  valued  at  10CKM.    Among 


736  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  pictures  were  the  Madonna  by  Raphael,  valued  at  2000J. ;  a  Sleeping  Venus  by  Correggio,  at 
10CXK. ;  and  many  by  Titian,  And.  del  Sarto,  Julio  Romano,  Guido,  Correggio,  Giorgione,  Vandyke,  &c. 
Of  the  tenements  "  belonging  unto  Somerset  House"  (20  inns),  the  Bed  Lion,  nearly  opposite,  in 
the  Strand,  is  the  only  remaining  one  among  the  signs  in  the  list :  the  sculptured  sign-stone  is  built 
into  the  house  No.  342,  Strand. 

Inigo  Jones  died  here  in  1652.  During  the  Protectorate,  the  altar  and  chapel  were 
ordered  to  he  burnt ;  and  in  1659  the  palace  was  about  to  be  sold  for  10,000Z. ;  but 
after  the  Restoration,  the  Queen-mother  Henrietta  returned  to  Somerset  House,  which 
she  repaired;  hence  she  is  made  to  exclaim,  in  Cowley's  courtly  verse:— 

"  Before  my  gate  a  street's  broad  channel  goes, 
Which  still  with  waves  of  crowding  people  flows ; 
And  every  day  there  passes  by  my  side, 
Up  to  its  western  reach,  the  London  tide, 
The  spring-tides  of  the  term.    My  front  looks  down 
On  all  the  pride  and  business  of  the  town." 

Waller's  adulatory  incense  rises  still  higher : 

"  But  what  new  mine  this  work  supplies  ? 
Can  such  a  pile  from  ruin  rise  ? 
This  like  the  first  creation  shows, 
As  if  at  your  command  it  rose." 

Upon  her  Majesty's  New  Buildings  at  Somerset  House. 

Here  was  introduced  into  England  the  inlaying  of  floors  with  coloured  woods. 
Pepys  gossips  of  "  the  Queen-mother's  court  at  Somerset  House,  above  our  own  Queen's ; 
mass  in  the  chapel;  the  garden;  and  the  new  buildings,  mighty  magnificent  and 
costly,"  "  stately  and  nobly  furnished ;"  and  "  the  great  stone  stairs  in  the  garden, 
with  the  brave  echo."  The  Queen-mother  died  abroad  in  1669.  In  1669-70  the 
remains  of  Monk,  Duke  of  Albemarle,  "  lay  for  many  weeks  in  royal  state"  at  Somerset 
House ;  and  thence  he  was  buried  with  every  honour  short  of  regality.  Thither  the 
remains  of  Oliver  Cromwell  were  removed  from  Whitehall  in  1658,  and  were  laid  in 
State  in  the  great  hall  of  Somerset  House,  "  and  represented  in  effigy,  standing  on  a 
bed  of  crimson  velvet ;"  he  was  buried  from  thence  with  great  pomp  and  pageantry, 
which  provoked  the  people  to  throw  dirt,  in  the  night,  on  his  escutcheon  that  was 
placed  over  the  great  gate  of  Somerset  Place ;  his  pompous  funeral  cost  28,000£.  On 
the  death  of  Charles  II.,  in  1685,  the  palace  became  the  sole  residence  of  the  Queen 
Dowager,  Catherine  of  Braganza ;  and  in  1678  three  of  her  household  were  charged 
with  the  murder  of  Sir  Edmund  Berry  Godfrey,  by  decoying  him  into  Somerset  House, 
and  there  strangling  him.  (See  Pkimeose  Hill,  p.  692.)  The  Queen  had  here  a  small 
establishment  of  Capuchins,  who  inhabited  "  the  New  Friary,"  as  did  the  Capuchins 
in  Henrietta  Maria's  time,  "  the  Old  Friary ;"  both  are  shown  in  a  plan  1706. 

Strype  describes  the  palace  about  1720 ;  its  front  with  stone  pillars,  its  spacious 
square  court,  great  hall  or  guard-room,  large  staircase  and  rooms  of  State,  larger  courts, 
and  "  most  pleasant  garden ;"  the  water-gate  with  figures  of  Thames  and  Isis ;  and  the 
water-garden,  with  fountain  and  statues.  Early  in  the  last  century,  court  masquerades 
were  given  here  :  Addison,  in  the  Freeholder,  mentions  one  in  1716 ;  and  in  1763  a 
splendid  fete  was  given  here  by  Government  to  the  Venetian  Ambassador.  In  1771, 
the  Royal  Academy  had  apartments  in  the  palace,  granted  by  George  III.  In  1775, 
Parliament  settled  upon  Queen  Charlotte  Buckingham  House,  in  which  she  then  resided, 
in  lieu  of  Old  Somerset  House,  which  was  given  up  to  be  demolished,  for  the  erection  upon 
the  site  of  certain  public  offices ;  the  produce  of  the  sale  of  Ely  House  being  applied 
towards  the  expenses.  The  chapel,  which  had  been  opened  for  the  Protestant  service, 
by  order  of  Queen  Anne,  in  1711,  was  not  closed  until  1777.  The  venerable  court-way 
from  the  Strand,  and  the  dark  and  winding  steps  which  led  down  to  the  garden 
beneath  the  shade  of  ancient  and  lofty  trees,  were  the  last  lingering  features  of 
Somerset  Place,  and  were  characteristic  of  the  gloomy  lives  and  fortunes  of  its  royal 
and  noble  inmates.  "  The  best  view  of  the  ancient  house  is  preserved  in  the  Dulwich 
Gallery."—  Charles  Seed,  F.S.A. 

SOMERSET  SOUSE 

OCCUPIES  the  site  of  the  old  palace,  an  area  of  800  feet  by  500,  or  a  few  feet  less 
than  the  ai  ea  of  Russell-square.     It  is  the  finest  work  of  Sir  William  Chambers: 


SOMERSET  HOUSE.  737 


the  first  stone  was  laid  in  1776 ;  and  the  Strand  front,  7  stories  high,  was  nearly- 
completed  in  1780.*  It  consists  of  a  rustic  arcade  basement  of  9  arches,  supporting 
Corinthian  columns,  and  an  attic  in  the  centre,  with  a  balustrade  at  each  extremity ; 
the  whole  in  Portland  stone.  The  key-stones  of  the  arches  are  colossal  masks  of 
Ocean,  and  the  eight  great  rivers  of  England, — the  Thames,  Humber,  Mersey,  Medway, 
Dee,  Tweed,  Tyne,  and  Severn — sculptured  by  Carlini  and  Wilton.  In  the  frieze  of 
the  three  middle  windows  are  medallions  of  George  III.,  his  queen,  and  the  Prince  of 
Wales.  In  the  attic  are  statue3  of  Justice,  Truth,  Valour,  and  Temperance ;  the 
summit  being  surmounted  by  the  British  Arms,  supported  by  Fame  and  the  Genius  of 
England.  The  vaultings  of  the  vestibule  are  enriched  with  sculptures  from  the 
antique,  and  are  supported  by  two  ranges  of  coupled  Doric  columns.  On  the  east  side 
are  the  entrances  to  the  apartments  of  the  Royal  Society,  the  Society  of  Antiquaries, 
the  Royal  Astronomical  Society,  and  the  Geological  Society ;  and  on  the  west  were 
those  of  the  Royal  Academy,  subsequently  of  the  School  of  Design,  next  of  the  Uni- 
versity of  London  Board.  Over  the  central  doorway,  east,  is  a  bust  of  Newton  j 
west,  of  Michael  Angelo  j  by  Wilton,  R.  A. 

Facing  the  vestibule  is  a  massive  bronze  group  of  George  III.  leaning  upon  a 
rudder,  backed  by  the  prow  of  a  Roman  (!)  vessel,  and  a  couchant  lion  j  and  at  the 
monarch's  feet  is  a  figure  of  the  Thames,  with  an  urn  and  cornucopia :  the  work  of 
John  Bacon,  R.A. ;  cost  200W. 

The  inner  side  of  the  Strand  front  has  in  the  attic  statues  of  the  four  quarters  of 
the  globe ;  and  over  the  centre  are  the  British  Arms,  supported  by  marine  deities 
holding  a  festoon  of  netting  filled  with  fish,  &c.  Ornaments  of  antique  altars  and 
sphinxes  screen  the  chimneys ;  and  on  the  key-stones  are  sculptured  masks  of  tutelar 
deities. 

The  east,  west,  and  south  sides  of  the  edifice  are  Government  Offices,  which  occupy, 
besides  the  superstructure,  two  stories  below  the  general  level  of  the  quadrangle,  the 
passages  to  which  are  skilfully  contrived.  The  centre  of  the  south  side  is  enriched 
with  Corinthian  columns  and  pilasters,  and  a  pediment  with  a  bas-relief  of  the  arms 
of  the  navy  of  Great  Britain,  a  sea-nymph,  sea-horses,  and  tritons ;  trophies,  vases,  &c. 

The  Thames  front,  800  feet  in  length,  is  in  the  Venetian  style,  and  is  enriched  with 
columns,  pilasters,  pediments,  &c. :  at  each  extremity  is  an  archway  opening  to 
Somerset-place  on  the  west,  and  King's  College  on  the  east ;  the  latter  built  by  Sir 
Robert  Smirke,  in  1829,  in  accordance  with  Chambers's  design.  In  each  end  a  portico 
stands  on  the  summit  of  a  semicircular  arch,  the  bases  of  two  out  of  its  four  columns 
resting  on  the  hollow  part,  giving  an  air  of  insecurity  intolerable  in  architecture. 

The  Terrace  is  50  feet  in  width,  and  raised  50  feet  above  the  bed  of  the  river,  upon 
a  massive  rustic  arcade,  which  has  a  central  water-gate  surmounted  with  a  colossal 
mask  of  the  river  Thames.  The  side  arches  are  flanked  by  rustic  columns,  and  sur- 
mounted by  stone  couchant  lions,  between  8  and  9  feet  in  length.  The  terrace  is 
skirted  with  a  balustrade ;  and  here  again  is  a  colossal  figure  of  the  Thames.  The 
walk  was  formerly  opened  to  the  public  on  Sundays  :  the  prospect  includes  the  river, 
with  its  magnificent  bridges  and  picturesque  craft ;  the  city,  with  its  domes,  towers, 
and  spires  j  the  forest  of  masts ;  and  the  Surrey  hills  on  the  south  :  recalling  Cowley's 

lines: 

"  My  other  fair  and  most  majestick  face 
(Who  can  the  fair  to  more  advantage  place  ?) 
For  ever  gazes  on  itself  below, 
In  the  best  mirrour  that  the  world  can  show ; 
And  here  behold,  in  a  long  bending  row, 
How  two  joynt  cities  make  one  glorious  bow ; 
The  midst,  the  noblest  place,  possessed  by  me ; 
Best  to  be  seen  by  all,  and  all  o'ersee. 
Which  way  soe'er  I  turn  my  joyful  eye, 
Here  the  great  Court,  there  the  rich  Town  I  spy. 
On  either  side  dwells  safety  and  delight ; 
Wealth  on  the  left,  and  Power  on  the  right." 

In  the  quadrangle  are  the  Admiralty  Offices,  where  are  the  Model  Room ;  the 
Audit  Office,  the  Legacy  Duty  Office,  and  Inland  Revenue  Office  (Stamps,  Taxes,  and 

*  Upon  a  brick  in  the  wall  of  the  western  terrace,  or  Somerset-place,  is  cut  E.*  S.  1780. 

3  B 


738  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Excise).  The  mechanical  stamping  is  executed  in  the  hasement :  the  presses  for 
stamping  postage  envelopes,  hy  Edwin  Hill,  are  the  perfection  of  automatic  machinery. 
In  Somerset-place,  west,  is  the  office  of  the  Tithe  Commission  and  of  the  Registrar- 
General  :  to  the  latter  are  transmitted  registers  of  a  million  hirths,  deaths,  and  mar- 
riages in  a  year. 

Over  the  entrance  to  the  Stamps  and  Taxes  Office,  on  the  south  side,  is  a  watch-face,  popularly 
believed  to  be  the  watch  of  a  bricklayer,  and  placed  there  as  a  memorial  of  his  life  having  been  saved  in 
his  fall,  when  the  wall  was  building,  by  his  watch-chain  catching  in  some  portion  of  the  scaffold.  Such 
is  the  traditional  story ;  but  the  watch-face  was  really  put  up  some  forty  years  since  as  a  meridian- 
mark  for  a  transit  instrument  in  a  window  of  the  Boyal  Society's  ante-room,  in  the  inner  face  of  the 
north  front. 

Mr.  Cunningham,  in  his  Handbook  of  London,  relates  the  following  interesting  circumstance,  which 
he  was  told  by  an  old  clerk  on  the  establishment  of  the  Audit  Office,  at  Somerset  House  : — "  When  1 
first  came  to  this  building,"  he  said,  "  I  was  in  the  habit  of  seeing,  for  many  mornings,  a  thin,  spare 
naval  officer,  with  only  one  arm,  enter  the  vestibule  at  a  smart  step,  and  make  direct  for  the  Admiralty 
over  the  rough,  round  stones  of  the  quadrangle,  instead  of  taking  what  others  generally  took,  and 
continue  to  take,  the  smooth  pavement  of  the  sides.  His  thin,  frail  figure  shook  at  every  step,  and  I 
often  wondered  why  he  chose  so  rough  a  footway ;  but  I  ceased  to  wonder  when  I  heard  that  the  thin, 
frail  officer  was  no  other  than  Lord  Nelson,  who  always  took,"  continued  my  informant,  "  the  nearest 
way  to  the  place  he  wanted  to  go  to." 

Telford,  the  engineer,  when  he  came  to  London  in  1782,  got  employed  on  the 
quadrangle,  then  erecting  hy  Sir  William  Chambers. 

Somerset  House  is  almost  the  only  public  building  which  distinguishes  the  reign  of 
George  III. :  it  cost  half  a  million  of  money  by  the  extant  accounts.  The  style  is 
Italian,  "  refined  to  a  degree  scarcely  excelled  by  Palladio  himself."  (Elmes.)  The 
exterior  is  the  perfection  of  masonry.  The  Ionic,  Composite,  and  Corinthian  capitals 
throughout  the  building  were  copied  from  models  executed  at  Rome,  by  Chambers, 
from  antique  originals  :  the  sculptors  employed  in  the  decorations  were  Carlini,  Wilton, 
Ceracci,  Nollekens,  Bacon,  Banks,  and  Flaxman. 

The  west  wing,  left  incomplete  by  Sir  W.  Chambers,  was  resumed  in  1852  (for  the 
Inland  Revenue  Office),  Pennethorne  architect :  this  wing,  300  feet  in  length,  will  face 
Wellington-street ;  its  south  end  was  completed  in  1853  :  the  details  are  copied  from 
the  main  building;  but  the  ornamental  sculpture  is  very  inferior.  The  central  mass 
is  composed  of  a  pediment,  the  tympanum  of  which  is  filled  with  the  Royal  arms, 
surrounded  with  foliage,  and  the  national  emblems  of  the  rose,  thistle,  and  shamrock 
in  high  relief.  On  the  apex  of  the  pediment  is  a  sitting  statue  of  Britannia,  7  feet  in 
height  and  4  feet  in  width  at  the  base  ;  at  the  extreme  ends  are  sea-horses.  On  the 
lower  range  of  the  facade,  standing  on  pedestals,  there  are  colossal  statues,  7  feet 
6  inches  high,  emblematic  of  Glasgow,  Edinburgh,  London,  Manchester,  Dublin,  and 
-Belfast;  and  over  the  principal  entrance  a  group,  the  centre  of  which  contains  a 
medallion  of  Queen  Victoria,  surrounded  by  a  wreath  of  laurel,  and  supported  by  re- 
cumbent female  figures  of  Fame  and  History.     Somerset  House  covers  12  acres. 

SOUTH- SEA  ROUSE,  THE, 

THREADNEEDLE-STREET  and  Old  Broad-street,  was  the  office  of  the  South-Sea 
Company,  originated  by  Harley,  Earl  of  Oxford,  and  Sir  John  Blunt  ("  much 
injured  Blunt"),  in  1711,  for  the  discharge  of  nearly  ten  millions  of  public  debt ;  for 
which  they  were  granted,  in  1720,  the  monopoly  of  the  trade  to  the  South  Seas  and 
the  mines  of  Spanish  America.  In  April,  1720,  the  Company's  stock  rose  to  319Z.  per 
cent. ;  and  early  in  June  it  had  risen  to  890Z.  per  cent.  The  Directors  then  opened 
fresh  books  for  a  subscription  of  4,000,000Z.  at  1000Z.  per  cent.  Before  the  expiration 
of  the  month,  the  subscription  was  at  200Z.  per  cent  premium,  and  the  stock  at  nearly 
1100Z.  Newton,  on  being  asked  as  to  the  continuance  of  the  rising  of  the  South-Sea 
Stock,  answered,  that  "  he  could  not  calculate  on  the  madness  of  the  people."  Prior 
writes  :  "  I  am  tired  of  politics,  and  lost  in  the  South  Sea.  The  roaring  of  the  waves 
and  the  madness  of  the  people  were  justly  put  together."  A  journal  of  Aug.  5  says  : 
"  Our  South-Sea  equipage  increases  every  day ;  the  City  ladies  buy  South-Sea  jewels, 
hire  South-Sea  coaches,  and  buy  South-Sea  estates."  With  the  connivance  of  the 
Government,  the  scheme  reached  this  climax,  when  the  frauds  of  the  Directors  tran- 
spired :  within  three  months  the  stock  fell  to  86Z.  per  cent,  and  "  the  South  Sea- 
Bubble"  burst.    (See  Exchange  Alley,  p.  333.) 


SOUTHWARK.  739 


The  South-Sea  scheme  was  lampooned  by  Swift,  and  satirized  by  Pope  : 

"  Statesmen  and  patriots  plied  alike  the  stocks, 
Peeress  and  butler  shared  alike  the  box; 
And  judges  jobbed,  and  bishops  bit  the  town, 
And  mighty  dukes  packed  cards  for  half-a-crown : 
Britain  was  sunk  in  lucre's  sordid  charms." 

Among  the  victims  was  the  poor  maniac,  "Tom  of  Ten  Thousand"  (Eustace  Budgell),  who  lost  his 
whole  fortune  and  his  reason.  The  Duke  of  Chandos  lost  300,0002.  Gay,  the  poet,  possessed  20,0002. 
South-Sea  Stock,  which  he  neglected  to  sell,  and  thus  lost  profit  and  principal.  (See  Mackay's  Popular 
Delusions.) 

The  Company  has  long  ceased  to  be  a  trading  body :  and  in  1853-4  the  South-Sea 
Stock,  to  the  amount  of  ten  millions,  was  converted  or  paid  off.  The  original  office 
(formerly  the  Excise  Office)  was  in  Old  Broad-street,  and  was  known  as  "  the  Old 
South-Sea  House."  The  new  building  in  Threadneedle-street  had  a  Doric  portico,  and 
incloses  a  quadrangle,  with  a  Tuscan  colonnade  and  a  fountain :  but  it  had  latterly 
"  few  or  no  traces  of  goers-in  or  comers-out — a  desolation  something  like  Balclutha's." 
(C.  Lamb.)  The  great  hall  for  sales  and  the  dining-room  were  hung  with  portraits  of 
governors  and  sub-governors,  huge  charts,  &c.  Underneath  are  vaulted  cellars,  wherein 
were  once  deposited  dollars  and  pieces  of  eight.  The  premises,  sold  for  53,0001.,  are 
now  let  in  suites  of  chambers. 

SOUTHWARK. 

OF  the  etymology  of  this  ancient  suburb,  Mr.  Ralph  Lindsay,  F.S.A.,  has  collected 
ninety -seven  authorities,  commencing  with  SuSpepke,  during  the  Saxon  Hep- 
tarchy :  but  there  is  abundant  proof  that  it  was  an  extensive  station  and  cemetery  of 
the  Romans  during  an  early  period  of  their  dominion  in  Britain,  attested  by  the  fictile 
vases  and  pavements  (portions  of  Roman  houses)  found  in  Southwark. 

In  November,  1866,  there  were  found  in  digging  the  foundation  of  a  warehouse,  between  South  wark- 
square  and  Winchester-street,  in  a  space  of  about  100  feet  by  40  feet,  sixteen  pits,  each  disclosing 
Boman  pottery  above  piles  and  puddled  clay ;  and  when  this  was  removed,  shells,  pebbles,  and  refuse, 
such  as  is  always  seen  along  the  water's-edge,  although  the  spot  in  question  is  now  full  300  yards  from 
the  Thames  shore.  The  piles  were  of  oak  and  beech,  with  pointed  bases,  and  masses  of  Kentish  rag, 
which  Mr.  Syer  Cuming  thinks  these  groups  of  piles  once  supported  as  lake  dwellings,  similar  to  those 
formerly  in  Finsbury  and  Moorfields;  each  group  with  a  kitchen-midden;  latest  food  relics,  oyster- 
shells,  may  indicate  the  presence  of  Romans  in  the  neighbourhood;  and  near  the  piles  was  found  a 
pavement  of  red  tessellse,  broken  fictilia,  piece  of  a  Samian  bowl,  &c,  the  remains,  probably,  of  a 
Boman  villa.  The  evidence  of  the  age  of  the  piles  is  questionable;  but  these  discoveries,  made  north 
and  south  of  the  Thames,  manifest  how  appropriate  and  descriptive  was  the  British  name  of  our  ancient 
metropolis,  Lyn  Din,  the  lake-town. — Proc.  British  Archaeological  Association. 

It  was  embanked,  contemporaneously  with  the  three  great  Roman  roads  shown  to 
have  terminated  in  St.  George's  Fields,  and  to  have  communicated  with  the  City  by  a 
trajectus,  or  ferry,  over  the  Thames  to  Dowgate,  from  Stoney-street,  Bankside ;  and 
another  to  the  Tower,  or  Arx  Palatina,  from  Stoney-lane,  Tooley-street.  To  its 
fortification  may  be  traced  the  Saxon  name,  Sudwerche,  the  south  work  of  London. 
It  is  called  Surder-virke  in  a  Danish  account  of  a  battle  fought  here  by  King  Olaf  in 
1008  j  and  Suth-weorce  in  the  narrative  of  Earl  Godwin's  attack  in  1052,  when  here 
was  a  wooden  bridge.  Southwark  was  burnt  by  William  the  Conqueror.  In  Domes- 
day-book the  Bishop  of  Baieux  hath  here  one  monastery  (Bermondsey),  and  one  haven 
(St.  Saviour's  dock).  On  coins  of  William  I.  we  find  Svethewer,  or  Svetherk;  on 
pennies  of  William  II.,  Svthevk,  Svthewi,  and  Svthewr;  and  about  1086,  the  annual 
revenue  derived  from  it  was  only  162".  In  1327,  upon  the  complaint  that  Southwark 
was  the  refuge  of  felons  and  thieves,  Edward  III.  sold  the  vill  or  town  to  the  citizens 
of  London, — the  king  still  being  lord  of  the  manor,  and  appointing  the  bailiff. 
Edward  IV.  granted  the  citizens  an  annual  Fair ;  by  charter  of  Edward  VI.,  the  full 
control  of  Southwark  was  vested  in  the  citizens ;  and  by  Act  of  Common  Council, 
1550,  was  constituted  a  ward  of  the  City,  by  the  name  of  Bridge  Without, — the 
first  alderman  of  which  was  Sir  John  Ayliffe,  1551.  Southwark  has  sent  members  to 
parliament  since  temp.  Edward  I.  It  was  formerly  famous  for  its  artists  in  glass, 
who,  temp.  Henry  VIII.,  glazed  the  windows  of  King's  College  Chapel,  Cambridge. 

On  July  1,  1450,  Jack  Cade  arrived  in  Southwark;  and  on  Feb.  3,  1554,  Sir 
Thomas  Wyat  and  the  "  Kentyshemen"  appeared  here ;  both,  probably,  in  St.  George's 
Fields. 

3  B  2 


740  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"  At  this  time  was  Wyat  entered  into  Kent-street,  and  so  by  Sainct  George's  Church  into  South- 
warke.  Himselfe  and  part  of  his  companye  cam  in  goode  array  down  Barmesey-strete." — The  Chronicle 
of  Queen  Jane,  Queen  Mary,  &c. 

In  1642,  Southwark  was  defended  by  a  fort  with  four  half  bulwarks,  at  the  Log 
and  Duck,  St.  George's  Fields  ;  a  large  fort  with  four  bulwarks,  near  the  end  of 
Blackman-street;  and  a  redoubt  with  four  flanks,  near  the  Lock  Hospital,  Kent- 
street.  The  ancient  town,  however,  was  but  a  small  portion  of  what  we  know  as  the 
Borough,  and  was  the  Guildable  Manor,  extending  from  St.  Mary  Overy's  Dock  west- 
ward to  Hay's-lane ;  Tooley-street,  eastward ;  south  as  far  as  the  Town-hall,  thence  to 
Counter-street  and  St.  Mary  Overy's  Dock.  The  other  portions — viz.,  the  King's 
Manor  and  the  Great  Liberty  Manor,  were  not  part  of  the  Borough  until  they  were 
purchased  by  the  Corporation  of  London  from  King  Edward  VI. ;  the  Corporation 
being  the  Lords. 

Southwark  was  first  called  the  Borough  in  the  eighteenth  century ;  it  occupies  an 
area  nearly  equal  to  that  of  the  City  of  London  itself.  The  principal  street,  from  the 
south  end  of  Old  London  Bridge  to  St.  Margaret's  Hill,  was  formerly  called  Long  South- 
wark (Howell's  Londinopolis),  afterwards  High-street,  but  is  now  Wellington-street ; 
thence  St.  Margaret's  Sill;  and  next  Sigh-street,  Blackman-street,  and  Newington 
Causeway.  The  old  High-street  had  many  picturesque  gabled  houses  in  the  present 
century,  thelast  of  which  were  removed  for  the  approach  to  New  London  Bridge  {see  p.  450) . 
On  the  east  side  remain  several  old  inns  (see  p.  456) ;  one  of  the  taverns  on  the  west  side 
was  the  Tumble-down- Lick,  in  our  time  painted  as  a  drunken  toper,  but  originally  a 
caricature  of  the  downfall  of  Richard  Cromwell,  "  the  new  Protector."  Nearly  opposite 
the  east  end  of  St.  Saviour's  Church  and  tower,  and  the  Lady-chapel,  was  built  in 
1854  a  clock-tower,  resembling  a  market-cross,  of  Gothic  design,  with  a  canopied 
niche  for  a  statue  of  the  great  Duke  of  Wellington.  Adjoining  the  Railway  Station, 
was  St.  Olave's  School,  taken  down  in  1849  (see  p.  726).  Here  also  was  St.  Thomas's 
Hospital,  described  at  p.  435.  Tooley-street  (eastward  of  London  Bridge)  is  corrupted 
from  St.  Olave's,  or  St.  Olaff's,  street.  Here,  were  the  Bridge  Souse  and  Yard,  for 
the  stowage  of  materials  for  the  repairs  of  London  Bridge;  besides  corn  granaries, 
public  ovens,  and  a  public  brew-house;  the  site  is  now  Cotton's  Wharf  and  Hay's 
Wharf.  The  site  of  the  Borough  Compter,  a  prison,  in  Mill-lane,  was  formerly  occupied 
by  the  Inn  of  the  Abbot  of  Battle,  its  mill,  &c. 

Southwark  possessed  two  Mints  for  coinage,  described  at  pages  508  and  509 :  the 
ancient  mint  is  thought  to  have  stood  upon  the  site  of  the  house  of  the  Prior  of  Lewes, 
in  Carter-lane,  nearly  opposite  St.  Olave's  Church,  in  Tooley-street.  (See  Ceypts, 
p.  302.)  Here  too  was  "  the  Abbot's  Inn  of  St.  Augustine"  (deed  1280),  afterwards 
belonging  to  the  St.  Leger  family :  and  thence  called  Sellinger  (i.e.  St.  Leger's),  now 
Chamberlain's,  Wharf.  Next  was  the  Bridge-house ;  and  then,  eastward,  the  Inn  of 
the  Abbot  of  Battle ;  and  Battle-bridge,  over  a  water-course  pertaining  to  the  Abbey. 
The  Manor  of  the  Maze,  Sir  John  Burcettor's,  temp.  Henry  VI.,  is  kept  in  memory 
by  Maze-lane  and  Maze-pond ;  and  upon  the  site  of  "  St.  Thomas's  Tents"  the  Pro- 
testant refugees  of  the  Palatinate  in  Germany  "  pitched  their  tents"  in  the  reign  of 
Queen  Anne.     The  Maze  was  built  upon  in  Aubrey's  time,  17th  century. 

Sorselydown  extends  from  Tooley-street  to  Dockhead  :  it  was  temp.  Elizabeth,  a 
grazing-field  (Horseydowne.)  Here  was  rebuilt,  upon  a  handsome  scale,  St.  Olave's 
Grammar-school  for  600  boys  (see  p.  726.) 

"  This  street,  Horselydown,  (as  I  was  told  by  a  sober  counsellor-at-law,  and  who  said  he  had  it  from 
an  old  record,)  was  so  called,  for  that  the  water,  formerly  overflowing  it,  was  so  effectually  drawn  off, 
that  the  place  became  a  plain  green  field,  where  horses  and  other  cattle  used  to  pasture  and  lye  down, 
before  the  street  was  built." — Hatton,  1708. 

On  May  11, 1854,  Mr.  G.  B.  Corner,  F.S.A.,  communicated  to  the  Society  of  Antiquaries  Notices  of  a 
Drawing  in  the  Society's  possession,  being  a  copy  of  a  picture  at  Hatfield  House,  representing  s.fete  on 
Horselydown ;  and  of  a  plan  of  Horselydown  in  1544,  belonging  to  the  governors  of  St.  Olave's  and  St. 
John's  Grammar-School.  The  picture  shows  a  view  of  the  Tower  of  London  in  the  distance.  The  fore- 
ground is  occupied  by  holiday  groups ;  cooks  are  preparing  a  large  repast  at  a  kitchen ;  and  in  the  mid- 
distance  are  the  stocks  with  a  solitary  tenant.  Underneath  a  tree  are  two  figures,  supposed  to  represent 
Ben  Jonson  and  Shakspeare,  who  are  not  unlikely  to  have  been  present  at  this/e/e.  To  Mr.  Corner  we 
are  indebted  for  many  valuable  illustrations  of  the  antiquities  of  Southwark. 

The  Friory  of  St.  Mary  Overie,  and  Church  of  St.  Saviour,  are  described  at 


SOUTHWARK.  741 


pp.  199-202  :  in  the  Cotton  Collection  is  a  book  which  formerly  belonged  to  a  Prior. 
The  church  was  approached  from  High-street  by  "  Chain  Gate"  (the  Priory  gates). 

The  restoration  of  the  tower  and  choir,  and  the  Lady  Chapel,  by  George  Gwilt,  F.S.A.,  attest  Mr. 
Gwilt's  scrupulous  accuracy  in  following  the  mouldings  and  detail  of  the  former  design,  and  the  care 
and  attention  which  he  has  bestowed  on  the  restoration  of  those  parts  which  had  been  entirely  lost: 
of  this  the  gables  are  instances.  A  beautiful  drawing  of  the  choir,  by  the  architect's  eldest  son,  George 
Gwilt,  hangs  in  the  vestry :  for  which  this  young  and  promising  architect  was  presented  with  100  guineas. 

Suffolk  House,  which  is  prominent  in  the  foreground  of  Wyngrerde's  view,  was 
sumptuously  built,  almost  directly  over  against  St.  George's  Church,  by  Charles  Brandon 
(Duke  of  Suffolk)  early  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII. ;  but  coming  into  the  king's 
hands,  it  became  Southwark  Place,  and  a  Mint  of  Coinage,  as  described  in  p.  569. 
After  the  death  of  King  Henry  VIII.,  Southwark  Place  became  neglected.  Edward 
VI.  occasionally  visited  it,  and  feasted  here  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Sheriffs.  Queen 
Mary  granted  Southwark  Place  to  Nicholas  Heath,  Archbishop  of  York,  as  a  recom- 
pense for  York  House  at  Westminster.  The  Archbishop  disliking  the  situation  of 
Suffolk  Place,  sold  the  buildings,  and  the  estate.  The  purchasers  had  most  of  the 
buildings  taken  down,  sold  the  materials,  and  a  number  of  small  houses  were  erected 
on  the  site.  That  part  of  the  building  left  standing  was  purchased  by  Alderman 
Broomfield,  Lord  Mayor,  whose  son  marrying  the  daughter  of  Thomas  Lant,  Esq., 
the  estate  devolved  to  the  Lant  family.  Thus,  Suffolk -street,  Lant-street,  the 
Mint,  and  other  places  in  Southwark  obtained  their  names  from  the  owners  or  occu- 
piers of  Suffolk-place,  and  its  extensive  park.  "  Brandonne's  Place,  in  Southwerke," 
is  mentioned  in  Sir  John  Howard's  Expenses  under  the  year  1465.  One  of  the  last 
of  the  barbers  who  let  blood,  and  drew  teeth,  was  Middleditch,  of  Great  Suffolk-street, 
Southwark,  in  whose  shop-window  were  displayed  heaps  of  drawn  teeth,  and  at  his 
door  the  barber's  pole. 

Southwark  is  a  Shakspearean  locality.  The  site  of  the  Globe  Theatre  is  believed 
to  be  included  in  that  of  Barclay  and  Perkins's  Brewery.  All  vestiges  of  times  as 
old  as  Shakspeare  and  the  playhouses  there  seem  to  have  vanished,  except  a  house 
which  some  think  may  be  part  of  the  the  original  Falcon  Tavern.  This  is  situated 
not  far  from  Pellatt's  Falcon  Glass-works.  The  register  of  the  burials  in  St.  Mary  Overie's, 
1607,  has  "  Edmund  Shakspeare,  the  Poet's  brother,  player,  in  the  church."  Gerard 
Johnson,  the  sculptor  of  Shakspeare's  bust  on  his  tomb,  in  the  church,  at  Stratford-on- 
Avon,  lived  in  St.  Thomas  Apostle's  parish,  not  far  from  the  Globe,  and  he  must  often 
have  seen  Shakspeare,  as  Dugdale  assures  us.  In  the  Vestry-room  of  St.  Saviour's 
church  long  hung  a  presumed  portrait  of  Shakspeare,  which  is  now  in  the  collection  of 
pictures  at  the  Foundling  Hospital. 

Montague-close,  adjoining  St.  Saviour's  Church,  was  the  cloister  of  the  monastery; 
and,  after  the  Dissolution,  appertained  to  the  mansion  built  by  Sir  Anthony  Browne 
(Viscount  Montague),  who  obtained  a  grant  of  the  site  of  the  Priory  of  St.  Mary  Overie, 
and  the  messuages,  wharfs,  shops,  &c. ;  and  in  St.  Mary  Overy's  Dock  was  situated  the 
Priory  mill. 

Bankside,  "the  Bank"  (Thames-bank  in  Domesday -book),  extends  from  near  St. 
Saviour's  Church  to  Blackfriars-bridge.  Here  were  two  "  Beare-gardens,  places  wherein 
were  kept  beares,  bulls,  and  other  beasts,  to  be  bayted;  as  also  mastives,  in  several 
kenles,  nourished  to  bayt  them"  (Stow).  Here  Edward  Alleyn,  the  founder  of  Dulwich 
College,  kept  the  Bear-garden,  temp.  Elizabeth  and  James  I.;  but  "His  Majesty's 
Bear-garden"  was  removed  to  Hockley -in-the- Hole,  Clerkenwell,  in  1686-7.  Here 
also  were  the  Globe,  the  Rose,  the  Hope,  and  the  Swan  Theatres  (see  Theatees). 
The  Stew-houses  were  put  down  by  sound  of  trumpet,  by  Henry  VIII.  Before  the 
Restoration  the  theatres  had  disappeared,  and  Bankside  became  the  abode  of  dyers,  for 
"  the  conveniency  of  the  water."  Here  are  Rose  Alley  and  Globe  Alley,  from  the  old 
theatres.  Pike  Garden  is  named  in  a  parliamentary  survey  of  1649  as  "  late  parcel 
of  the  possessions  of  Charles  Stuart,  late  king  of  England ;"  and  in  another  survey, 
made  in  1652,  occurs  "  the  late  king's  barge-house  on  the  Bankside."  (See  also  p.  31.) 

Winchester  Souse,  or  Palace,  founded  about  1107,  by  Bishop  Walter  Giffard,  with 
its  court,  offices,  and  water-stairs,  occupied  great  part  of  the  "  Bank ;"  and  had,  on  the 


742  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

south,  gardens,  statues,  fountains,  and  a  spacious  park  :  hence  Park-street.  The  de- 
caying palace  was  let  as  warehouses  and  wharfs ;  and  the  venerable  remains  of  its  great 
hall,  with  a  grand  circular  gable-window,  of  rare  tracery,  were  laid  open  by  a  fire  in 
August,  1814.  The  Vinegar-works  of  Messrs.  Pott  are  upon  a  part  of  the  park  site,  and 
are  held  of  the  see  of  Winchester.  Adjoining  was  Rochester  House,  the  residence  of 
the  Bishops  of  Rochester :  it  stood  on  the  nortb  side  of  the  Borough  Market-place,  part 
of  which  was  Rochester-yard ;  and  Rochester-street  still  exists.  This  estate,  anciently 
called  Grimes  Croft,  was  granted  by  William,  second  Earl  of  Warren,  to  the  monks  of 
Rochester,  by  placing  his  knife  upon  the  altar  of  St.  Andrew.  Rochester  House  was 
taken  down  in  the  year  1604. 

Deadman's-place,  west  of  the  Market,  is  said  to  be  corrupted  from  Desmond -place, 
where  dwelt  the  Earl  of  Desmond :  here  are  the  College  founded  by  Thomas  Cure, 
saddler  to  Edward  VI.,  Mary,  and  Elizabeth ;  almshouses  built  by  Edward  Alleyn,  1616, 
and  other  almshouses. 

Southwark  Tokens. — In  the  Beaufoy  Collection,  at  Guildhall,  are  "the  Bore's  Head,"  1649  (between 
Nos.  25  and  26,  High-street)  :  it  was  leased  to  the  family  of  the  author  of  the  present  volume,  and  was 
sublet  in  tenements,  as  "  Boar's-Head-court,"  taken  down  in  1830.  Next  also  is  a  "Dogg  and  Dvcke" 
token,  1651  (St.  George's  Fields) ;  "the  Greene  Man,"  1651  (which  remains  in  Blackman-street) ;  "ye 
Bull  Head  Taveme,"  1667,  mentioned  by  Edward  Alleyn,  founder  of  Dulwich  College,  as  one  of  his 
resorts;  "Duke  of  Suffolk's  Head,"  1669;  and  the  "Swan  with  Two  Necks." 

Southwark  and  the  adjacent  districts  are  noted  for  their  manufactures :  as  rope- 
walks  and  tan-pits  at  Bermondsey;  barge  and  boat-builders,  sawyers  and  timber- 
merchants,  at  Rotherhithe;  also,  hat  making,  brewing,  vinegar-yards,  and  distilleries, 
glass-houses,  potteries,  and  soap  and  candle  works. 

The  High-street  is  crossed  nearly  opposite  St.  Saviour's  church  by  an  ugly  railway 
bridge,  and  the  line  trends  thence,  anaconda-like,  along  the  south  bank  of  the  Thames, 
which  it  crosses  by  three  bridges.  In  the  railway  works  were  demolished  some  Eliza- 
bethan houses  in  Stoney-street,  close  to  the  palaces  of  the  Bishops  of  Rochester  and 
Winchester,  between  the  bear-gardens  of  Bankside  and  the  Clink  Prison,  chiefly  occu- 
pied by  the  licensed  keepers  of  houses  of  infamous  resort,  from  the  twelfth  till  the  six- 
teenth century,  when  that  nuisance  was  at  length  suppressed  by  law.  Almost  parallel 
extends  SouthwarJc-street,  flanked  with  groups  of  lofty  warehouses,  banking-houses, 
Hop  Exchange,  &c. ;  eastward,  the  street  is  continued  into  Bermondsey  and  Rotlier- 
hithe,  and  is  a  noble  improvement.  A  subway*  is  formed  in  the  centre  of  the  road, 
and  is  thus  described : — 

This  subway  is  an  arched  passage,  12  ft.  wide  and  nearly  7  ft.  high,  from  which  are  side  passages 
leading  to  cellars  built  beneath  the  footwalks.  In  the  subway  the  gas,  water-mains,  and  telegraph- 
wires  are  laid,  the  side  passages  conveying  the  two  former  necessaries  direct  into  the  cellars,  and 
thence  into  the  houses  themselves.  The  object  of  this  new  work  is,  of  course,  to  do  away  with  the  nuisances 
caused  by  the  stoppage  of  thoroughfares  to  repair  a  gas  or  water  main.  This  subway  is  wide  and  high 
enough  to  allow  of  any  repairs  of  this  kind  being  carried  on.  The  drains  from  the  houses  are  formed  of 
strong  stoneware  pipes,  passing  at  a  rather  steep  incline  beneath  the  subway  into  the  main  sewer,  which 
is  placed  below  the  floor  of  the  passage  in  the  centre,  but  not  so  deep  but  that  it  can  instantly  be  opened 
for  repairs  or  removal  of  stoppages.  Every  part  of  the  subway  is  ventilated  in  the  most  perfect  manner. 

The  Southwark  arms  are,  Arg.,  a  rose  displayed.  The  Bridge-house  mark  is  usually, 
but  erroneously,  used  to  designate  Southwark,  because  the  manors  form  part  of  the 
Bridge-house  estates.  That  mark  is,  Azure,  an  annulet  ensigned  with  a  cross  patee,  or, 
interlaced  with  a  saltire  conjoined  in  base,  of  the  second.  The  City  jurisdiction,  ac- 
cording to  the  inscription  upon  the  boundary-stone  at  the  western  extremity  of  Beth- 
lehem Hospital  wall,  and  other  parts  of  the  liberties,  extends  northward  to  the  Thames, 
and  eastward  to  St.  Thomas-a- Watering  in  the  Kent-road  j  comprehending  the  parishes 
of  St.  George,  St.  Saviour  (exclusive  of  the  Clink  Liberty),  St.  Thomas,  St.  Olave,  and 
St.  John.     Southwark  occupies  an  area  of  590  acres ;  the  City  of  London  600  acres. 

At  No.  6,  Blackman-street,  Sir  James  South  (eldest  son  of  a  dispensing  chemist  in 
the  High-street)  made  several  valuable  astronomical  observations.  (See  Kensington, 
p.  488.)  At  No.  104,  High-street,  sign  of  the  Golden  Key  (of  which  a  Token  exists), 
lived  Mr.  Elliotson,  chemist  and  druggist,  father  of  John  Elliotson,  M.D.,  F.R.S. 

The  historic  Inns  of  Southwark  are  described  at  p.  456. 

*  Subways,  or  passages  beneath  the  streets  of  the  metropolis,  were  advocated  in  1828,  by  Mr. 
Williams,  of  Birchin-lane,  in  a  bulky  octavo  volume.  In  1859,  this  great  improvement  was  commenced 
by  the  Board  of  Works  under  the  new  street  leading  from  Cranbourn-street  to  Covent-garden. 


SPITALFIELDS.  743 


SOUTHWARK  FAIR, 

ANCIENTLY  called  "  Our  Lady  Faire  in  Southwark,"  was  granted  by  Edward  VI., 
in  1550,  when  the  sum  of  647Z.  2s.  Id.  was  paid  by  the  Corporation  of  London  for 
the  two  manors  and  divers  lands  and  tenements.  The  Fair,  held  on  September  7th, 
8th,  and  9th,  was  opened  by  the  Lord  Mayor  and  Sheriffs  riding  to  St.  Magnus'  Church 
after  dinner,  at  two  o'clock  in  the  afternoon  :  the  former  vested  with  his  collar  of  SS.f 
without  his  hood ;  and  all  dressed  in  their  scarlet  gowns,  lined,  without  their  cloaks. 
They  were  attended  by  the  Sword-bearer,  wearing  his  embroidered  cap,  and  carrying 
"the  pearl  sword;"  and  at  the  church  were  met  by  the  aldermen,  all  of  whom,  after 
evening  prayer,  rode  over  the  bridge  in  procession,  passed  through  the  Fair,  and  con- 
tinued either  to  St.  George's  Church,  Newington  Bridge,  or  to  the  stones  pointing  out 
the  City  liberties  at  St.  Thomas-a- Watering.  They  then  returned  over  the  bridge,  or 
to  the  Bridge  House,  where  a  banquet  was  provided,  when  the  aldermen  took  leave  of 
the  Lord  Mayor  ;  and  all  parties  being  returned  home,  the  bridge-masters  gave  a  supper 
to  the  Lord  Mayor's  officers.  Sheriff  Hoare  thus  describes  the  ceremony  in  1741 :  On 
the  8th  of  September  the  Sheriffs  waited  on  the  Lord  Mayor  in  procession,  "  the  City 
music  going  before,  to  proclaim  Southwark  Fair,  as  it  is  commonly  called ;  although 
the  ceremony  is  no  more  than  our  going  in  our  coaches  through  the  Borough,  and 
turning  round  by  St.  George's  Church,  back  again  to  the  Bridge  House ;  and  this  is  to 
signify  the  licence  to  begin  the  Fair."  "  On  this  day  the  Sword-bearer  wears  a  fine 
embroidered  cap,  said  to  have  been  worked  and  presented  to  the  City  by  a  monastery." 
Evelyn  and  Pepys  describe  the  Fair.  Jacob  Hall  was  one  of  its  famous  rope-dancers  j 
and  early  in  the  last  century,  Crawley's  puppet-show  of  the  Creation,  "  with  the  addi- 
tion of  Noah's  Flood,"  Squire  and  Sir  John  Spendall;  Dancing  Dogs,  and  "the  Ball  of 
Little  Dogs,"  danced  before  Queen  Anne ;  were  Southwark  Fair  sights.  Hogarth,  in 
his  plate  of  the  Fair,  shows  Figg  the  prize-fighter,  and  Cadman  the  rope-flyer.  In 
1743  the  Fair  continued  fourteen  days,  and  extended  to  the  Mint :  an  attempt  was 
then  made  to  put  down  the  shows,  but  the  Fair  was  not  finally  suppressed  until  1763  i 
the  booth-keepers  used  to  collect  money  here  for  Marshalsea  prisoners. 

SPITALFIELDS 

INCLUDES  large  portions  of  Bethnal-green,  Shoreditch,  Whitechapel,  and  Mile-end 
New- town.  Part  of  the  site  was  anciently  Lolesworth,  a  cemetery  of  Roman  Lon- 
don, in  breaking  up  which,  "for  clay  to  make  brick,"  about  1576,  were  found  several 
urns  full  of  ashes  and  burnt  bones,  and  copper  coins  of  Claudius,  Vespasian,  Nero,  Anto- 
ninus Pius,  Trajan,  &c. ;  also  fragments  of  Roman  Pottery  and  glass.  (See  Stow,  p.  64.) 
At  the  same  time  were  found  some  stone  coffins  (British  or  Saxon),  which  are  preserved 
in  the  vaults  of  Christchurch. 

Spitalfields  is  named  from  its  having  been  the  site  and  property  of  the  Priory  and 
Hospital  of  St.  Mary  Spittle  without  Bishopsgate,  founded  in  1197,  by  Walter  Brune, 
citizen  of  London,  and  Rosia  his  wife,  for  Augustine  canons;  at  the  Dissolution  in 
1534  it  had  130  beds  for  the  receipt  of  the  poor  of  charity.  Bagford,  in  Leland's  Col- 
lectanea, mentions  the  priory,  then  standing,  strongly  built  of  timber,  with  a  turret  at 
one  angle  :  its  ruins  were  discovered  early  in  the  last  century  north  of  Spital-square. 
In  one  of  the  houses  built  here  lived  the  celebrated  Lord  Bolingbroke.  At  the  north- 
east corner  of  Spital-square  was  placed  the  Pulpit-cross,  whence  were  preached,  in  the 
open  air,  the  Spital  Sermons*  (see  p.  157)  :  the  pulpit  was  destroyed  in  the  Civil  Wars. 
In  the  Map  executed  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  the  Spittle  fields  are  at  the  north-east 
extremity  of  London,  with  only  a  few  houses  on  the  site  of  the  Spital.  The  map  of  a 
century  later  shows  a  square  field  bounded  with  houses,  with  the  old  Artillery  Ground 
on  the  west,  which  was  let  by  the  last  prior  to  the  Artillery  Company,  and  is  now 
the  site  of  Artillery-street.   "  A  Faire  in  Spittlefields"  is  described  in  a  scarce  pamphlet 

*  Hatton  relates  of  a  Spital-sermon :— "  In  1632,  three  brothers,  named  Wincope,  were  called  from, 
remote  places,  and  preached  on  the  three  sermon-days,  agreeing  so  nicely  in  their  subject,  that  the 
second  continued  what  the  first  began,  and  the  third  brought  it  to  a  conclusion." 


744  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

in  the  British  Museum,  whereat  William  Lilly  announces  his  astrological  wares  for 
sale ;  and  Nicholas  Culpepper,  the  herbalist,  says  : 

"  Bid  money,  tho'  but  little ; 
For  night  comes  on,  and"  we  must  leave  the  Spittle." 

Culpepper  occupied  a  house  then  in  the  fields,  and  subsequently  a  public-house  at  the 
corner  of  Red-Lion-court.  Hard  by  the  priory  site  is  Paternoster-row,  where,  and  not 
in  Paternoster -row,  St.  Paul's  (see  p.  668),  some  antiquaries  maintain,  Tarlton,  the 
player  at  the  Curtain  Theatre,  "kept  an  ordinary  in  these  pleasant  fields." 

An  Order  in  Council,  5th  March,  1669,  states,  the  inhabitants  of  the  pleasant  locality  of  Spitalflelds 

Eetitioned  the  Council  to  restrain  certain  persons  from  digging  earth,  and  making  and  burning  bricks 
i  these  fields,  which  would  not  only  render  them  "  very  noisome,"  but  "  prejudice  the  cloathes  which 
are  usually  dryed  in  two  large  grounds  adjoyning,  and  the  rich  stuffs  of  divers  colours  which  are  made 
in  the  same  place,  by  altering  and  changing  their  colours,"  &c. 

Bethnal-green  and  Spitalfields  were  grassy  open  spaces  in  the  last  century;  but 
Spital- square,  at  the  south-east  corner,  has  been  the  heart  of  the  silk  district  since  "  the 
poor  Protestant  strangers,  Walloons  and  French,"  driven  from  France  by  the  revocation 
of  the  Edict  of  Nantes,  settled  here,  and  thus  founded  the  silk-manufacture  in  England; 
introducing  the  weaving  of  lustrings,  alamodes,  brocades,  satins,  paduasoys,  ducapes, 
and  black  velvets :  in  1713  it  was  stated  that  silks,  gold  and  silver  stuffs,  and  ribbons, 
were  made  here  as  good  as  those  of  French  fabric ;  and  that  black  silk  for  hoods  and 
scarfs  was  made  annually  worth  300,000£.  Tapestries  and  hangings  of  the  interiors  of 
English  houses  were  manufactured  in  Spitalfields,  even  before  the  settlement  of  the 
French  refugees  in  that  district.  In  the  Queen's  Bedchamber  at  Windsor  Castle  was 
a  bed  of  state,  of  rich  flowered  velvet,  made  at  Spitalfields  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne. 
About  this  time,  bedchambers  were  hung  with  tapestry  made  in  Spitalfields,  where  an 
artist,  named  Boyston,  excelled  in  tapestries  of  harvest-fields  and  other  ruralities.  After 
the  discontinuance  of  the  use  of  tapestry,  the  skill  of  the  weavers  was  confined  mainly  to 
the  manufacture  of  silks  and  velvets.  During  the  reigns  of  Anne,  George  I.  and  II., 
the  Spitalfields  weavers  greatly  increased :  in  1832,  50,000  persons  were  entirely 
dependent  on  the  silk-manufacture ;  and  the  looms  varied  from  14,000  to  17,000.  Of 
these,  great  numbers  are  often  unemployed ;  and  the  distribution  of  funds  raised  for 
their  relief  has  attracted  to  Spitalfields  a  large  number  of  poor  persons,  anil  thus 
pauperized  the  district.  The  earnings  of  weavers  in  1854  did  not  exceed  10s.  per 
week,  working  from  14  to  16  hours  a  day :  the  weaving  is  either  the  richest  or  the 
thinnest  and  poorest.  In  1867,  the  Rev.  Isaac  Taylor,  Incumbent  of  St.  Matthias',  in 
a  terrible  and  touching  picture  of  the  condition  of  his  parish,  stated : 

"The  great  difficulty  which  confronts  us  is  the  dead  level  of  excessive  poverty.  A  skilful  workman, 
making  costly  velvets  or  rich  silks,  and  labouring  from  12  to  16  hours  a  day,  will  only  earn,  on  an  average, 
about  128.  a  week.  There  are  many  who  do  not  earn  above  7s.  or  8*. ;  and  the  labour  required  to  gain 
these  miserable  wages  is  great  and  excessive.  To  make  a  single  inch  of  velvet,  the  shuttle  has  to  be  thrown 
180  times,  180  times  the  treadles  have  to  be  worked,  60  times  the  wire  has  to  be  inserted,  60  times  to 
be  withdrawn,  60  times  the  knife  has  to  be  guided  along  the  whole  breadth  of  the  work,  and  60  times 
the  pressure  of  the  chest  has  to  be  exerted  on  a  heavy  beam,  which  is  used  to  compress  the  work.  600 
distinct  operations  are  thus  required  to  make  one  single  inch  of  velvet,  the  average  payment  for  making 
which  is  Id.  The  women,  whose  strength  does  not  enable  them  to  move  so  heavy  a  beam  with  the 
chest,  are  employed  in  making  velveteens,  chenilles,  silk  and  cotton  trimmings,  and  bead  trimmings. 
They  earn  about  one-third  the  wages  of  the  men.  For  fancy  braid  the  payment  is  one  halfpenny  a  yard. 
Even  at  these  starvation  wages  work  is  very  scarce ;  the  men  are  often  for  weeks  together  out  of  employ, 
or,  as  it  is  termed  by  a  wretched  mockery, '  at  play.'  Yet  these  poor  people,  with  all  the  burden  of  their 
poverty,  are  wonderfully  uncomplaining  and  self-reliant." 

The  weavers  are  principally  English,  and  of  English  origin ;  but  the  manufacturers 
or  masters  are  of  French  extraction ;  and  the  Guillebauds,  the  Desormeaux,  the  Chabots, 
the  Turquands,  the  Mercerons,  and  the  Chauvets,  trace  their  connexion  with  the 
refugees  of  1685.  Many  translated  their  names  into  English,  by  which  the  old 
families  may  still  be  known  :  thus,  the  Lemaitres  called  themselves  Masters ;  the 
Leroys,  King;  the  Tonneliers,  Cooper;  the  Lejeunes,  Young;  the  Leblancs,  White; 
the  Lenoirs,  Black ;  the  Loiseaus,  Bird.  Many  of  the  weavers  still  cherish  proud 
traditions  of  their  ancestry ;  though  now,  perhaps,  only  clad  in  rags,  they  bear  the  old 
historic  names  of  France — names  of  distinguished  generals  and  statesmen;  names 
such  as  Vendome,  Ney,  Racine,  De  Foe,  La  Fontaine,  Dupin,  Bois,  Le  Beau,  Auvache, 
Fontaineau,  and  Montier. 


SPRING  GARDENS.  745 


The  weavers'  houses,  built  in  narrow  streets,  have  wide  latticed  windows  in  the 
upper  stories,  which  light  the  work-room.  Upon  the  roofs  are  bird-traps  and  other 
bird-catching  contrivances;  for  the  weavers  supply  London  with  singing-birds,  as 
linnets,  woodlarks,  goldfinches,  greenfinches,  and  chaffinches ;  and  many,  in  October  and 
March,  get  their  livelihood  by  systematic  bird- catching ;  matches  of  singing  or  "jerk- 
ing "  call-birds  are  determined  by  the  burning  of  an  inch  of  candle. 

Spitalfields  weavers  have  extremely  small  heads,  6|,  6^,  and  6f  inches  being  the 
prevailing  widths;  and  the  same  fact  is  observable  in  Coventry;  the  medium  size  of 
the  male  head  in  England  is  7  inches.  The  weavers'  practice  of  singing  at  their  looms 
was  doubtless  brought  with  them  from  the  Continent,  as  was  the  custom  of  woollen- 
weavers. 

"  I  would  I  were  a  weaver,  I  could  sing  all  manner  of  songs." — Fahtaff,  in  Henry  IV.  Part  I.  act  ii. 
"  He  got  his  cold  with  sitting  up  late,  and  singing  catches  with  clothworkers." — Cublard,  in  Ben 
Jonson's  Silent  Woman,  act  iii.  sc.  4. 

Spitalfields  was  a  hamlet  of  Stepney  until  1729,  when  it  was  made  a  district  parish, 
and  Christchurch  was  consecrated  (see  p.  157).  Among  the  parochial  charities  is  "  cat 
and  dog  money,"  an  eccentric  bequest  to  be  paid  on  the  death  of  certain  pet  cats  and 
dogs :  a  sickening  bequest  in  such  a  locality  of  poverty  and  starvation. 

The  Sisters  of  Charity  have  been  working  in  these  districts  since  the  winter  of 
1854 ;  they  visit  an  extent  of  several  miles  of  habitations  of  the  poor,  tending,  washing 
them,  and  nursing  them,  and  supplying  them  with  warm  food,  clothes,  and  other  things 
necessary  to  sickness ;  and  these  ministering  angels  nurse  the  sick,  who  cannot  be  re- 
moved to  hospitals,  in  their  own  houses. 

In  Crispin-street  is  the  Government  School  of  Design,  where  are  awarded  prizes  for 
designs  for  fabrics,  drawing  and  painting  from  nature,  crayon-drawing,  &c.  Spitalfields 
Market  is  mentioned  by  Hatton,  in  1708,  as  fine  for  "  flesh,  fowl,  and  roots."  In  the 
district  are  Victoria  Park  (see  p.  655),  and  the  City  Consumption  Hospital. 

In  Crispin-street,  until  1845,  the  Mathematical  Society  occupied  large  apartments,  for  their  philo- 
sophical instruments  and  library  of  3000  volumes.  The  Society,  which  also  cultivated  electricity,  was 
established  in  1717,  and  met  at  the  Monmouth's  Head  in  Monmouth-street,  until  1725,  when  they 
removed  to  the  White  Horse  Tavern,  in  Wheeler-street ;  from  thence,  in  1735,  to  Ben  Jonson's  Head,  in 
Pelham-street ;  and  next  to  Crispin-street.  The  members  were  chiefly  tradesmen  and  artisans ;  among 
those  of  higher  rank  were  Canton,  Dollond,  Thomas  Simpson,  and  Crossley.  The  Society  lent  their 
instruments  (air-pumps,  reflecting  telescopes,  reflecting  microscopes,  electrical  machines,  surveying 
instruments,  &c),  with  books  for  the  use  of  them,  on  the  borrowers  giving  a  note  of  hand  for  the  value 
thereof.  The  number  of  members  was  not  to  exceed  the  square  of  seven,  except  such  as  were  abroad  or 
in  the  country ;  but  this  was  increased  to  the  squares  of  eight  and  nine.  The  members  met  on  Saturday 
evenings :  each  present  was  to  employ  himself  in  some  mathematical  exercise,  or  forfeit  one  penny ;  and 
if  he  refused  to  answer  a  question  asked  by  another  in  mathematics,  he  was  to  forfeit  twopence.  The 
Society  long  cherished  a  taste  for  exact  science ;  but  in  1845,  when  on  the  point  of  dissolution,  the  few 
remaining  members  made  over  their  books,  records,  and  memorials  to  the  Royal  Astronomical  Society, 
of  which  these  members  were  elected  fellows. — Abridged  from  Weld's  History  of  the  Soyal  Society, 
vol.  i.  pp.  467-8.  At  Bethnal-green,  in  1648,  Sir  Balthazar  Gerbier  established  "  The  Academy  for 
Foreign  Languages,  and  all  Noble  Sciences  and  Exercises." 

SPRING  GARDEN, 

ORIGINALLY  an  appurtenance  to  the  palace  of  Whitehall,  and  situate  on  the 
north-western  verge  of  St.  James's  Park,  is  named  from  its  water-spring  or 
fountain,  set  playing  by  the  spectator  treading  upon  its  hidden  machinery — an  eccen- 
tricity of  the  Elizabethan  garden.  Spring  Garden,  by  a  patent  which  is  extant,  in 
1630  was  made  a  bowling-green  by  command  of  Charles  I.  "  There  was  kept  in  it  an 
ordinary  of  six  shillings  a  meal  (when  the  King's  proclamation  allows  but  two  else- 
where) ;  continual  bibbing  and  drinking  wine  all  day  under  the  trees ;  two  or  three 
quarrels  every  week.  It  was  grown  scandalous  and  insufferable :  besides,  my  Lord 
Digby  being  reprehended  for  striking  in  the  King's  garden,  he  said  he  took  it  for  a 
common  bowling-place,  where  all  paid  money  for  their  coming  in." — (Mr.  Garrard  to 
Lord  Strafford.) 

In  1634  Spring  Garden  was  put  down  by  the  King's  command,  and  ordered  to  be 
hereafter  no  common  bowling- place.  This  led  to  the  opening  of  "  a  New  Spring  Gar- 
den" (Shaver's  Hall),  by  a  gentleman-barber,  a  servant  of  the  lord  chamberlain's. 
The  old  garden  was,  however,  re-opened ;  for  13th  June,  1649,  says  Evelyn,  "  I  treated 


746  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

divers  ladies  of  my  relations  in  Spring  Gardens :"  but  10th  May,  1654,  he  records  that 
Cromwell  and  his  partisans  had  shut  up  and  seized  on  Spring  Gardens,  "  wch  till  now 
had  been  ye  usual  rendezvous  for  the  ladys  and  gallants  at  this  season." 

Spring  Garden  was,  however,  once  more  re-opened ;  for,  in  A  Character  of  England, 
1659,  it  is  described  as 

"  The  inclosure  not  disagreeable,  for  the  solemnness  of  the  grove,  the  warbling  of  the  birds,  and  as  it 

opens  into  the  spacious  walks  at  St.  James's It  is  usual  to  find  some  of  the  young  company 

here  till  midnight;  and  the  thickets  of  the  garden  seem  to  be  contrived  to  all  advantages  of  gallantry, 
after  they  have  refreshed  with  the  collation,  which  is  here  seldom  omitted,  at  a  certain  cabaret  in  the 
middle  of  this  paradise,  where  the  forbidden  fruits  are  certain  trifling  tarts,  neat's  tongues,  salacious 
meats,  and  bad  Rhenish." 

"  The  New  Spring  Garden"*  at  Lambeth  (afterwards  Vauxhall)  was  nourishing  in 
1661-3  j  when  the  ground  at  Charing  Cross  was  built  upon,  as  "  Inner  Spring  Garden" 
and  "  Outer  Spring  Garden."  Buckingham-court  is  named  from  the  Duke  of  Buck- 
ingham, one  of  the  rakish  frequenters  of  Spring  Garden ;  and  upon  the  site  of  Drum- 
mond's  banking-house  was  "  Locket's  Ordinary,  a  house  of  entertainment  much 
frequented  by  gentry,"  and  a  relic  of  the  Spring  Garden  gaiety : 

"  For  Locket's  stands  where  gardens  once  did  spring." 

Dr.  King's  Art  of  Cookery,  1709. 

In  Outer  Spring  Garden  lived,  1661,  Sir  Philip  Warwick,  author  of  the  Memoirs 
which  bear  his  name :  "  Warwick-street,  adjoining,  was,  I  believe,  named  after  him." 
{Cunningham.)  Here,  too,  lived  Philip,  Earl  of  Chesterfield,  1667-1670.  Prince 
Rupert  resided  here  from  1674  to  his  death : 

"  1682,  Nov.  29. — Died  of  a  fever  and  pleurisy,  at  his  house  in  the  Spring  Garden,  Rupert,  Prince 
Palatine  of  the  Rhine,  &c.,  in  the  63rd  year  of  his  age."— Historian's  Guide,  3rd  edit.  1688. 

Sir  Edward  Hungerford  lived  here  in  1631,  after  he  had  parted  with  his  estate  for 
the  site  of  Hungerford  Market. 

Milton,  when  first  appointed  Latin  secretary,  lodged  at  one  Thomson's,  at  Charing 
Cross,  opening  into  the  Spring  Garden.  Here  the  witty  and  beautiful  dramatist,  Mrs. 
Centlivre,  died,  December  1,  1723,  at  the  house  of  her  third  husband,  Joseph  Centlivre, 
"  Yeoman  of  the  Mouth"  (head  cook)  to  Queen  Anne.  Colley  Cibber  lived  "  near  the 
Bull-head  Tavern,  in  Old  Spring  Garden,"  from  1711  to  1714.  George  Canning,  in 
1800,  resided  at  No.  13,  right-hand  corner  at  Cockspur-street. 

Spring  Garden  was  formerly  noted  for  its  sights :  the  Incorporated  Society  of 
Artists  exhibited  here ;  here,  in  1806,  at  Wigley's  Rooms,  were  shown  Serres's  Pano- 
rama of  Boulogne ;  foreign  cities  and  sea-pieces  j  also  Maillardet's  automatic  figures, 
including  a  harpsichord-player,  a  rope-dancer,  and  a  singing-bird.  Here  also  was 
exhibited  Marshall's  Peristrephic  Panorama  of  the  Battle  of  Waterloo,  which  the 
spectators  viewed  turning  round. 

Berkeley  House,  on  the  right  as  you  enter  by  the  Spring-garden-gate,  St.  James's 
Park,  the  mansion  of  the  Berkeley  family,  was  taken  down  in  1862,  and  upon  its 
site  has  been  erected  the  chief  office  of  the  Metropolitan  Board  of  Works,  of  poor  but 
pretentious  design. 

SQUASH  S. 

THE  garden-spaces  or  planted  Squares  are  the  most  recreative  features  of  our 
metropolis ;  in  comparison  with  which  the  piazze,  plazas,  and  places  of  continental 
cities  are  wayworn  and  dusty  areas,  with  none  of  the  refreshing  beauty  of  a  garden  or 
green  field : 

"Fountains  and  trees  our  wearied  pride  do  please, 
Even  in  the  midst  of  gilded  palaces; 
And  in  our  towns  the  prospect  gives  delight, 
Which  opens  round  the  country  to  our  sight." 

Sprat,  quoted  in  Wren's  Parentalia. 

Yet  the  majority  of  the  London  Squares  are  the  growth  of  the  last  century ;  and  few 

*  Named  from  the  Garden  at  Charing  Cross,  as  we  do  not  trace  any  "water-spring"  at  Vauxhall.  Sir 
John  Hawkins  says : — "  Sir  Samuel  Morland  having  planted  the  large  garden  with  stately  trees,  and 
laid  it  out  in  shady  walks,  it  obtained  the  name  of  Spring  Gardens.  There  was  likewise  a  'New  Spring 
Garden'  at  Pimlico,  the  name  having  been  applied  to  a  public  garden  generally." 


SQUARES.  747 

of  the  western  Squares  existed  before  1 770 ;  their  sites  being  then  mostly  sheep-walks, 
paddocks,  and  kitchen-gardens.  It  was  at  first  attempted  to  name  squares  "  quad- 
rates :"  in  1732  Maitland  wrote,  "  the  stately  quadrate  denominated  King-square,  but 
vulgarly  Soho-square  j"  and  the  phrase  is  retained  in  Maitland's  edition  of  1756. 

Bedford  Square,  which  appears  in  Harwood's  Map,  1799,  was  formerly  "  St. 
Giles's  ruins."  The  centre  house  on  the  east  side  used  to  be  the  official  residence  of 
the  Lord  Chancellor.  Lord  Loughborough  lived  there,  and  at  the  time  of  the  Corn- 
law  Riots  it  was  occupied  by  Lord  Eldon.  The  mob  made  an  attack  on  the  house  at 
night,  when  Lord  and  Lady  Eldon  escaped  over  the  back  wall  into  the  British  Museum 
Gardens,  and  took  refuge  in  the  guard-house.  Here  it  was  that  the  Prince  of  Wales 
called  upon  the  Chancellor,  and  got  from  him,  as  he  lay  in  bed  with  gout,  a  vacant 
Mastership  in  Chancery  for  the  Prince's  friend,  Jekyll.  The  keystone  over  the  en- 
trance doorway  of  some  of  the  houses  displays  a  very  fine  made  head.  (Builder, 
No.  651.)     Some  of  the  houses  were  designed  by  Sir  William  Chambers. 

Belgrave,  Chester,  and  Eaton  Squares,  named  from  their  ground-landlord,  the 
Marquis  of  Westminster,  are  noticed  at  p.  37  :  the  centres  of  the  first  and  third 
were  nursery-grounds.  At  No.  19,  Chester-square  died,  in  1852,  Dr.  Mantell,  F.R.S., 
the  eminent  geologist. 

Berkeley  Square,  built  1698,  is  named  from  Berkeley  House,  which  occupied  the 
site  of  Devonshire  House.  On  the  south  side  of  this  square  is  Lansdowne  House  (see 
p.  551) :  the  beehive  upon  the  gate-piers  is  one  of  the  family  crests.  At  No.  11  died 
Horace  Walpole  in  1797.  No.  44,  built  by  Kent,  has  a  noble  staircase  and  saloon. 
At  No.  45  Lord  Clive  destroyed  himself  in  1774.  A  few  link-extinguishers  remain 
flanking  doorways :  the  trees  in  the  centre  are  old  and  picturesque :  here  was  formerly 
an  equestrian  statue  of  George  III. 

Bloomsburt,  first  named  Southampton,  Square,  from  Southampton  House  upon 
its  north  side,  was  built  by  the  Earl  of  Southampton,  whose  daughter,  Lady  Rachel 
Russell,  dates  her  Letters  from  here.  Evelyn,  in  1665,  notes  it  as  "  a  noble  square  or 
piazza,  a  little  towne,"  with  "  good  aire."  The  site  formerly  constituted  the  manor  of 
Lomesbury,  in  which,  according  to  Hughson,  the  kings  of  England  anciently  had  their 
stables  until  removed  to  the  Mews,  near  Charing-cross.  Coming  into  the  hands  of 
the  Russell  family,  by  marriage  with  the  Earl  of  Southampton,  it  was  called  first 
Southampton-square,  and  then  Bloomsbury-square.  Bedford  House  has  been  ascribed 
to  Inigo  Jones,  but  it  would  seem  erroneously.  It  was  built  a  few  years  after  his 
death.  Thornhill's  copies  of  Raffaelle's  Cartoons  were  in  one  of  the  wings  of  this 
house.  It  was  sold  by  auction  in  the  year  1800,  and  immediately  pulled  down.  Pope 
alludes  to  this  once  fashionable  quarter  of  the  town : — 

"  In  Palace-yard,  at  nine,  you'll  find  me  there, 
At  ten,  for  certain,  sir,  in  Bloomsbury-square." 

The  Grand  Duke  Cosmo  was  taken  to  see  Bloomsbury  as  one  of  the  wonders  of 
England.  Baxter,  the  Nonconformist  divine,  lived  here  when  he  was  persecuted  by 
Judge  Jeffreys.  The  Earls  of  Chesterfield  had  a  mansion  here.  Sir  Hans  Sloane 
lived  on  the  south  side ;  and  here  Dr.  Franklin  came  to  see  Sloane's  Curiosities,  "  for 
which,"  says  Franklin,  "  he  paid  me  handsomely."  Dr.  Radcliffe  lived  here  when  he 
gave  5201.  to  the  poor  Nonjuring  clergy.  Lord  Mansfield's  house  was  at  the  north- 
east corner,  when  it  was  burnt  to  the  walls  by  the  rioters  of  1780  j  and  his  books, 
papers,  and  furniture  made  into  a  bonfire  in  the  square.  Lord  and  Lady  Mansfield 
escaped  by  a  back  door  from  the  mob.  On  the  north  side  is  a  bronze  sitting  statue  of 
Charles  James  Fox,  by  Westmacott.  Ralph  describes  this  side  as  "  one  of  the  finest 
situations  in  Europe  for  a  palace,"  with  gardens  and  view  of  the  country.  Dr.  Aken- 
side,  and  the  elder  Mr.  Disraeli,  resided  in  this  square.  The  latter  compiled  the 
Curiosities  of  Literature  in  No.  6,  which  house  was  built  in  1766,  by  Isaac  Ware,  the 
editor  of  Palladio,  originally  a  chimney-sweep,  and  whose  skin,  it  is  said,  was  so 
engrained  with  soot,  that  he  bore  till  his  dying  day  the  marks  of  his  early  calling. 

Bridgewater  Square,  Barbican,  was  once  the  site  of  the  mansion  and  gardens 
of  the  Earl  of  Bridgewater.  "  The  middle  is  neatly  enclosed  with  palisado  pales 
and  set  round  with  trees,  which  renders  the  place  very  delightful." — Strype. 


74S  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


Bbunswick  and  Mecklenbubgh  Squares,  with  the  Foundling  Hospital  and 
grounds  between  them,  form  an  airy  group ;  northward  is  Toeeington  Squaee  : 
No.  55,  residence  of  Sir  Harris  Nicolas,  the  genealogist. 

Beyanston  and  Montague  Sqtjaees  were  built  on  Ward's  Field,  and  the  sito 
of  Apple  Village,  by  David  Porter,  who  was  once  chimney-sweeper  to  the  village  of 
Marylebone.  At  St.  Mary's  Church,  Bryanston-square,  June  7,  1838,  Miss  London 
(L.  E.  L.)  was  privately  married,  by  her  brother,  to  George  Maclean,  governor  of  Cape 
Coast  Castle.     The  Rev.  Dr.  Dibdin  was  Rector  (see  p.  198). 

Cavendish  Squaee  (between  two  and  three  acres),  named  from  the  Lady  Hen- 
rietta Cavendish  Holies,  the  wife  of  Harley,  Earl  of  Oxford,  was  planned  on  the 
north  side  of  Tyburn-road  in  1715,  when  the  locality  was  infested  by  footpads,  who 
often  robbed  and  stripped  persons  in  the  fields  between  London  and  Marylebone.  Mar- 
garet-street Chapel  about  seventy  years  since  was  an  isolated  building  in  Marylebone- 
fields :  a  shady  "  Lover's  Walk"  passed  close  by  the  chapel  to  Manchester-square ; 
another  walk  led  through  the  fields  to  Paddington.  The  Square  was  laid  out  about 
1717;  the  whole  of  the  north  side  being  taken  by  "the  Grand  Duke"  of  Chandos, 
who  proposed  to  build  here  a  palatial  residence,  and  to  purchase  all  the  property  be- 
tween Cavendish-square  and  his  palace  of  Canons  at  Edgeware,  so  that  he  might 
ride  from  town  to  the  country  through  his  own  estate.  In  the  British  Museum  is  a 
view  of  the  mansion,  designed  by  John  Price :  the  wings  only  were  built ;  one  being 
the  large  mansion  at  the  corner  of  Harley-street,  which  was  occupied  by  the  Princess 
Amelia,  aunt  to  George  III. ;  also  by  the  Earl  of  Hopetoun,  and  the  Hopes  of 
Amsterdam ;  next  by  George  Watson  Taylor,  Esq.,  who  assembled  here  a  very  valu- 
able collection  of  paintings.  The  other  wing  of  the  Duke's  plan  is  the  corresponding 
mansion  at  the  corner  of  Chandos-street.  The  centre  is  principally  occupied  by  two 
splendid  mansions,  with  Corinthian  columns,  designed  by  James  of  Greenwich.  At 
this  period  Harcourt  House  on  the  west  side  was  the  only  other  house  here  :  "  it  pre- 
sents, with  its  high  court-walls  and  porte-cochere,  more  the  appearance  of  a  Parisian 
mansion  than  any  other  house  in  London."  (S.  Angell.)  The  ground  was  first  sold 
at  2s.  6d.  per  foot.  In  the  centre  of  the  Square  is  an  equestrian  metal  statue  of 
William  Duke  of  Cumberland ;  and  on  the  south  side  a  colossal  standing  bronze  statue 
of  Lord  George  Bentinck,  third  son  of  the  Duke  of  Portland.  Southward  is  Holies- 
street,  where,  at  No.  24,  Lord  Eyron  was  born.  Mr.  Coke,  in  1833,  told  Haydon,  the 
painter,  that  he  remembered  a  fox  killed  in  Cavendish-square,  and  that  where  Berke- 
ley-square now  stands  was  an  excellent  place  for  snipes. 

Chaeteehouse  Squaee  is  described  by  Hatton  (1708)  as  "a  pleasant  place  of 
good  (and  many  new)  buildings,  the  whole  in  the  form  of  a  pentagon."  Here  was 
Rutland  House,  in  which  the  Venetian  ambassadors  lodged.  Baxter  the  Nonconformist 
died  in  this  square  in  1691.  It  has  been  partly  taken  down.  On  the  north  side  is 
the  Chaeteehouse,  see  pp.  85-88. 

Cotent  Gaeden,  see  pp.  292-296. 

Devonshiee  Squaee,  Bishopsgate  Without,  "  a  pretty  though  very  small  square 
inhabited  by  gentry  and  other  merchants"  (Hatton,  1708),  was  named  from  the  Earls 
of  Devonshire  having  lived  there  in  a  mansion  previously  possessed  by  the  Earl  of 
Oxford  :  "  the  Queen's  majesty  Elizabeth  hath  lodged  there"  (Stow.)  The  mansion 
was  built  in  the  midst  of  gardens  and  bowling-alleys,  by  Jasper  Fisher,  one  of  the  six 
Clerks  in  Chancery,  who  thereby  outrunning  his  income,  the  house  was  mockingly 
called  "  Fisher's  Folly."  It  next  became  a  conventicle  ;  hence  "  Fisher's  Folly  con- 
gregation" (Hudibras.)  Here  Murray  and  Dockwra  set  up  the  Penny  Post  in  1680. 
Murray  also  introduced  the  Club  of  Commerce  (one  of  a  trade) ;  and  at  Devonshire 
House  he  opened  a  Bank  of  Credit,  where  money-bills  were  advanced  upon  goods  de- 
posited. 

Euston  Squaee,  St.  Pancras,  is  named  from  the  ground-landlords,  the  Dukes  of 
Grafton  and  Earls  of  Euston.  Upon  the  site  of  the  north  side  of  the  square,  then  a 
nursery-garden,  Dr.  Wolcot,  the  political  satirist  (Peter  Pindar),  ended  his  misspent 
life  in  blindness. 


SQUARES.  749 


Finsbury  Square  was  built  in  1789,  by  George  Dance,  R.A.,  on  the  north  side  of 
Moorfields.  At  the  north-east  corner  lived  the  estimable  Dr.  Birkbeck,  the  founder  of 
Mechanics'  Institutions:  he  died  here  December  1,  1811,  the  eighteenth  anniversary  of 
the  establishment  of  the  first  Mechanics'  Institution  in  London. 

Fitzroy  Square  is  named  from  Charles  Fitzroy,  second  Duke  of  Grafton :  the 
E.  and  S.  sides  were  commenced  by  W.  and  J.  Adam  in  1790.  On  the  south  side 
lived  Sir  W.  C.  Ross,  R.A.,  the  celebrated  miniature-painter;  and  at  No.  7,  Sir 
Charles  L.  Eastlake,  President  of  the  Royal  Academy. 

Golden  Square,  Westminster,  "  not  exactly  in  anybody's  way,  to  or  from  any- 
where," was  "  so  called  from  the  first  builder,  a  very  new  and  pleasant  square" 
(Hatton,  1708) ;  contemporary  evidence,  more  reasonable  than  Pennant's  hearsay 
anecdote  that  the  name  was  Gelding,  altered  from  the  sign  of  a  neighbouring  inn. 
One  of  its  earliest  inhabitants  was  Lord  Bolingbroke,  when  secretary -at-war,  1704-8. 
In  the  centre  of  the  square  is  a  statue  of  George  II.,  formerly  at  Canons,  near  Edge- 
ware.  Golden-square  is  a  locality  of  Smollett's  Humphrey  Clinker,  and  of  Dickens's 
Nicholas  Niclcleby. 

Haydon  Square,  Minories,  is  named  from  Alderman  Haydon,  the  ground-landlord. 
Close  by  were  found,  in  1852,  sculptured  gravestones  and  urnsj  and  in  1853  a  sarco- 
phagus ;  all  of  Roman  work.  In  Haydon-square  lived  Sir  Isaac  Newton  when  Master 
of  the  Mint :  the  house  was  taken  down  about  1852.  Here  is  Allsopp's  Burton  Ale 
Dep6t,  occupying  20,000  square  feet ;  cargoes  of  ale  are  sent  here  from  Burton,  by 
railway  (140  miles),  in  an  afternoon ;  and  the  platforms  and  wagons  are  lowered  by 
hydraulic  cranes  into  the  vast  cellars.  Here  also  is  the  spring  of  pure  water,  which 
formerly  supplied  the  priory  of  the  Holy  Trinity  upon  this  spot. 

Gordon  Square,  New-road,  has  at  the  south-west  angle  the  Catholic  Apostolic 
Church :  cathedral-like  Early  English  exterior,  and  Decorated  interior,  with  a  trifo- 
rium  in  the  aisle-roof;  the  ceilings  are  highly  enriched,  and  some  of  the  windows  are 
filled  with  stained  glass ;  the  northern  doorway  and  porch,  and  the  southern  wheel- 
window,  equal  old  examples;  and  gothic  houses,  with  projections  and  gables,  pointed- 
headed  windows,  and  traceried  balconies,  group  around  the  church  :  architects,  Bran- 
don and  Ritchie.  "  Near  the  spot  occupied  by  Gordon-square,  a  circular  enclosure  was 
constructed,  about  the  year  1803,  for  the  exhibition  of  the  "  first  locomotive,"  the  pro- 
duction of  Trevithick.  Its  performance  was  then  so  satisfactory  that  a  bet  was  offered 
by  the  proprietors  to  match  the  engine  to  run  a  greater  number  of  miles  in  twenty- 
four  hours  than  any  horse  that  could  be  produced,  but  there  were  no  takers. — Com- 
municated to  The  Builder. 

Gough  Square,  between  Fetter-lane  and  Shoe-lane,  contains  the  house,  No.  17, 
wherein  Dr.  Johnson  compiled  most  of  his  Dictionary ;  his  amanuenses  working  in 
the  garrets. 

Grosvenor  Square,  six  acres,  is  named  from  Sir  Richard  Grosvenor,  who  died  in 
1732.  The  houses,  some  of  rubbed  bricks  with  stone  finishings,  are  spacious.  The 
centre  landscape-garden  was  laid  out  by  Kent,  and  the  stone  pedestal  in  the  centre 
once  bore  an  equestrian  statue  of  George  I.;  the  line  of  fortification  during  the  Civil 
War  ran  across  the  space  now  the  square.  It  is  a  place  of  high  fashion ;  and  Dr. 
Johnson  once  desired  to  be  "  Grosvenor  of  that  ilk."  Here  lived  Lord  North  and 
John  Wilkes ;  and  at  No.  39  (the  Earl  of  Harrowby's)  his  Majesty's  Ministers  were 
to  have  dined  on  the  evening  the  Cato-street  conspirators  had  planned  to  assassinate 
them,  and  to  bring  away  the  heads  of  Lords  Liverpool  and  Castlereagh  in  two  bags ! 

Hanover  Square,  built  about  1718,  was  named  in  honour  of  George  I.,  when  it 
was  proposed  to  change  the  place  of  execution  from  Tyburn  elsewhere,  lest  the  proces- 
sion of  malefactors  might  annoy  the  inhabitants  of  the  new  square.  Here  lived  Field- 
Marshal  Lord  Cobham,  the  owner  of  princely  Stowe.  Admiral  Lord  Rodney  died  here 
in  1792.  On  the  east  side  are  the  Hanover  Square  Rooms ;  the  great  room  is  90  feet 
by  35  feet,  and  will  hold  800  persons ;  the  ceiling  was  painted  by  Cipriani.  No.  11  is 
the  Zoological  Society ;  No.  12,  the  Royal  Agricultural  Society ;  and  on  the  west 
side  is  the  Oriental  Club  (see  p.  196).     In  Tenterden-street  is  the  Royal  Academy  of 


750  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Music,  founded  in  1823,  incorporated  1830.     Upon  the  south  side  of  Hanover-square 
is  a  colossal  bronze  statue  of  William  Pitt,  by  Chantrey. 

"  This  square,  in  connexion  with  George-street,  has  always  struck  me  as  one  of  the  most  scenic 
architectural  displays  that  London  presents  i  the  street  expanding  towards  the  square,  the  unique  and 
elegant  style  of  the  surrounding  mansions,  the  judicious  mixture  of  red  brick  and  stone,  Chantrey's 
statue,  and  the  successful  ecclesiastical  work  of  James  (St.  George's),  altogether  produce  the  most 
agreeable  effect." — S.  Angell. 

St.  James's  Square,  between  Pall  Mall  and  Jermyn-street,  is  built  on  part  of  St. 
James's  Fields.  Godfrey's  print,  from  a  drawing  by  Hollar,  has  a  stone  conduit  near 
the  centre  of  the  present  square.  Mr.  Cunningham  found  several  of  its  tenants  rated  in 
T  the  parish-books  of  St.  Martin's-in-the-Fields  in  1676  ;  and  among  tbem,  on  the  west 
*  side,  Madame  Churchill,  mistress  of  the  Duke  of  York ;  and  Madame  Davis  (Moll  Davis), 
mistress  of  Charles  II.  On  the  north  side  was  Romney  House,  where,  in  1695  and 
1697,  King  William  III.  visited  the  Earl  of  Romney,  to  witness  fireworks  in  the 
square;  and  in  the  latter  year  the  Dutch  Ambassador  made  before  his  bouse  a 
bonfire  of  140  pitch-barrels,  and  wine  was  "  kept  continually  running  among  the 
common  people."  On  the  north  side  also  was  Ormond  House,  the  mansion  of  the 
great  Duke  of  Ormond ;  the  duchess  died  here  in  1684 ;  in  1698  the  house  was  let  to 
Count  Tallard,  the  French  Ambassador,  for  600Z.  per  annum,  then  a  large  rent.  In  the 
rear  of  the  present  houses  is  Ormond-yard,  now  a  mews.  Appletree-yard,  opposite, 
keeps  in  memory  the  apple-orchards  of  St.  James's  Fields.  Hatton  describes  St. 
James's-square,  in  1708,  "  very  pleasant,  large,  and  beautiful ;  all  very  fine  spacious 
buildings  (except  that  side  towards  Pall  Mall),  mostly  inhabited  by  the  prime  quality." 
Sutton  Nicholls's  print,  1720,  shows  a  fountain  in  the  centre  of  the  square,  with  a  basin, 
"  filled  by  contract,  in  1727,  with  water  from  York-buildings."  (Malcolm.)  A 
pedestal  for  an  equestrian  statue  of  William  III.  was  erected  in  the  centre  of  the 
square  in  1732 ;  but  the  statue,  cast  in  brass  by  the  younger  Bacon,  was  not  set  up 
until  1808,  the  bequest  in  1724  for  the  cost  having  been  forgotten,  until  the  money 
was  found  in  the  list  of  unclaimed  dividends.  The  Earl  of  Radnor  had  on  the  north 
side  a  mansion,  painted  by  Vanson,  over  doors  and  chimney-pieces;  the  staircase  by 
Laguerre;  and  the  apartments  hung  with  pictures  by  Edema,  Wyck,  Roestraten, 
Danckers,  old  Griffier,  young  Vandervelde,  and  Sybricht.  At  No.  7,  lived  Josiah  Wedg- 
wood, and  here  his  stock  of  classic  pottery  was  dispersed  by  auction.  No.  2  is  Lord 
Falmouth's :  the  street-posts  are  cannon  captured  by  his  ancestor,  Admiral  Boscawen, 
off  Cape  Finisterre.  No.  4,  Earl  de  Grey  (see  p.  548) ;  the  late  Earl  received  here  the 
Royal  Institute  of  British  Architects.  No.  6,  Marquis  of  Bristol.  No.  11,  Right  Hon. 
William  Windham;  Lord  Chief  Justice  Ellenborough  in  1814;  John  Duke  of  Rox- 
burghe;  now  the  Wyndham  Club  (see  p.  261).  No.  12,  London  Library  (see  p.  522)  ; 
here  lived  Lord  Amherst  when  Commander-in-Chief.  No.  13,  Liclifield  House,  was 
built  by  Athenian  Stuart  for  Lord  Anson;  from  the  balcony,  on  June  20, 1815,  the  Prince 
Regent  displayed  the  trophies  just  received  from  Waterloo  to  the  delighted  populace. 
No.  15  (Sir  Philip  Francis's)  was  lent  by  Lady  Francis  to  Queen  Caroline,  in  1820,  who 
delighted  to  show  herself  at  the  drawing-room  windows,  and  proceeded  from  thence 
daily,  in  State,  to  her  trial  in  the  House  of  Lords ;  at  this  time  No.  16  was  Lord 
Castlereagh's.  No.  17,  the  Duke  of  Cleveland's :  here  is  Lel/s  fine  whole-length 
portrait  of  the  Duchess  of  Cleveland.  No.  19,  the  Bishop  of  Winchester.  No.  21, 
Norfolk  House  (see  p.  554),  occupies  the  site  of  the  mansion  of  Henry  Jermyn,  Earl 
of  St.  Albans,  who  died  here  in  1683.  No.  22  is  London  House,  rebuilt  in  1820  for 
the  Bishops  of  London.  Upon  the  lower  or  Pall  Mall  side  lived  the  father  of  H.  R. 
Morland,  and  grandfather  of  George  Morland,  all  three  painters. 

Leicester  Square  (see  pp.  511-515.) 

Lincoln's  Inn  Fields  (see  pp.  527-529). 

Lowndes  Square,  Belgravia,  was  built  1837-1839,  and  named  from  the  ground- 
landlord,  W.  Selby  Lowndes,  Esq.  The  seven  houses  at  the  south  end,  by  Lewis 
Cubitt,  resemble  an  Italian  palace,  with  embellished  chimney -shafts,  Tuscan  cornice, 
and  Venetian  balconies.  The  site  of  the  square  was  once  a  coppice,  which  supplied  the 
Abbot  and  Convent  of  Westminster  with  wood  for  fuel. 


SQUARES.  751 

Manchester  Square  was  begun  in  1776,  by  the  building  of  Manchester  House 
upon  the  north  side  (see  p.  552).  At  the  north-west  corner  of  the  square  is  Man- 
chester-street, where  died,  in  1814,  the  impostor,  Joanna  Southcott,  after  imposing 
upon  six  medical  men  with  the  story  of  her  being  enceinte  with  the  young  "  Shiloh." 

Myddelton  Sqetare,  Islington,  near  the  New  River  Head,  is  named  from  its  origi- 
nator, Sir  Hugh  Myddelton,  the  early  engineer. 

Portman  Square,  upon  the  estate  of  W.  H.  Portman,  Esq.,  and  once  the  property 
of  the  Knights  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem,  was  begun  about  1764,  but  not  completed  until 
1784 ;  it  is  500  feet  by  400.  The  centre  is  laid  out  as  a  shrubbery  wilderness ;  and 
here  is  a  moveable  kiosk,  constructed  for  the  Turkish  Ambassador  about  1808,  when  he 
resided  at  No.  18 ;  his  Excellency  customarily  took  the  air  and  smoked  here,  surrounded 
by  a  party  of  his  retinue.  At  the  north-west  angle  is  Montague'  House  (see  p.  554)  : 
here  were  the  feather-hangings  sung  by  Cowper ;  here  Miss  Burney  was  welcomed,  and 
Dr.  Johnson  grew  tame.  No.  15  (Duke  of  Leeds)  :  the  architectural  embellishments 
of  the  staircase  and  principal  rooms  of  this  noble  mansion,  the  rich  mahogany  doors, 
sculptured  marble  chimney-pieces,  and  the  cornices  and  ceilings,  are  all  in  the  fine  taste 
of  Robert  Adam,  who  built  the  Adelphi-terrace. 

Prince's  Square. — "  As  St.  Giles's  parish  contains  the  largest  square  (Lincoln's 
Inn  Fields),  so  it  also  may  boast  of  the  smallest,  which  is  situated  near  it— namely, 
Prince's  Square,  containing  only  one  house  "  (Dobie),  between  Little  Queen-street  and 
Gate-street ;  a  stone  tablet  is  inscribed,  "  Prince's-square,  1736." 

Prince's  Square,  Ratcliffe  Highway. — Here  is  the  Swedish  Church,  in  which  is 
interred  Emanuel  Swedenborg;  in  the  vestry-room  are  a  few  portraits,  including 
that  of  Dr.  Serenius,  Bishop  of  Stregnas.  About  the  year  1816  the  cranium  of 
Swedenborg  was  taken  from  the  coffin  by  a  Swedish  captain,  but  was  replaced  after 
his  death. 

Queen  Square,  Bloomsbury,  built  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne,  has  a  railed  garden 
for  the  north  side.  Jonathan  Richardson,  the  painter,  died  here  in  1745.  At  the 
north-west  corner  Dr.  John  Campbell,  editor  of  the  Biographia  Britannica,  gave  his 
Sunday-evening  conversation-parties,  at  which  Dr.  Johnson  used  to  meet  "  shoals  of 
Scotchmen."  On  the  south-west  side  is  the  church  of  St.  George-the-Martyr,  of  which 
Dr.  Stukeley  was  rector  (see  p.  163) ;  he  lived  in  the  square. 

Queen  Square,  Westminster,  contains  a  statue  of  Queen  Anne,  mentioned  in 
1708.  Here  was  born  in  1684,  Admiral  Vernon,  the  hero  of  Portobello ;  here  lived  the 
Rev.  C.  M.  Cracherode,  who  bequeathed  his  books,  medals,  and  drawings  to  the  British 
Museum.  In  this  square  died,  in  1784,  Dr.  Thomas  Francklin,  the  erudite  Greek 
scholar.  (Queen  Square  Chapel,  see  p.  214).  In  1832  died,  aged  85,  Jeremy 
Bentham,  in  Queen-square-place,  where  he  had  resided  for  nearly  half  a  century. 

Red  Lion  Square,  "  a  pleasant  square  of  good  buildings,  between  High  Holborn 
south,  and  the  fields  north"  (Hatton,  1708),  was  named  from  the  Red  Lion  Inn.  In  1733, 
Lord  Chief  Justice  Raymond  lived  here  j  Sharon  Turner,  the  historian,  lived  many  years 
at  No.  13  ;  the  benevolent  Jonas  Hanway,  the  traveller,  lived  and  died  (1786)  here,  in  a 
house,  the  principal  rooms  of  which  he  had  decorated  with  paintings  and  emblematical 
devices,  "  in  a  style  peculiar  to  himself :"  Hanway  was  honoured  with  a  public  funeral. 
Sir  John  Prestwick,  in  his  Bepublica,  tells  us  "  Cromwell's  remains  were  privately 
interred  in  a  small  paddock  near  Holborn,  on  the  spot  where  the  obelisk  in  Red  Lion- 
square  lately  stood."  Prestwick  does  not  give  his  authority  for  this  statement ;  it 
may  be  a  blunder,  caused  by  the  bodies  of  Cromwell,  Ireton,  and  Bradshaw  being 
carried  from  Westminster  Abbey  to  the  Bed  Lion  Inn,  Holborn,  and  the  next  day 
dragged  on  sledges  to  Tyburn.  (Wood's  Athen.  Oxon.  art.  "  Ireton.")  No.  13  is  the 
Mendicity  Society.  The  author  of  A  Tour  through  Great  Britain  notes :  "  This 
present  year,  1737,  an  Act  was  passed  for  beautifying  Red  Lyon-square,  which  had 
run  much  to  decay,  and  no  doubt  but  Leicester-fields  and  Golden-square  will  soon  follow 
these  good  examples." 

Russell  Square,  north  of  Bedford-square,  occupies  part  of  Southampton  Fields 


r52  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


(1720),  subsequently  Long  Fields.  Its  dimensions  are  665  feet  6  inches  north  side, 
665  feet  3  inches  south  ;  672  feet  7  inches  west ;  and  667  feet  1  inch  east — 2665-1 
feet  square,  or  about  140  feet  less  than  Lincoln's  Inn  Fields.  In  1800  Long  Fields 
lay  waste  and  useless,  with  nursery  grounds  northward ;  the  Toxopholite  Society's 
ground  north-west;  and  Bedford  House,  with  its  lawn  and  magnificent  lime-trees, 
south.  At  the  north-east  end  of  Upper  Montague-street  was  "  the  Field  of  Forty 
Footsteps  "  (see  p.  337).  The  east  side  of  the  square  was  the  house  and  gardens  of 
the  dissolute  Lord  Baltimore ;  the  mansion  is  now  divided. 

Bedford  House  stood  across  the  present  Woburn-place.  At  that  time  Bolton  House,  which  occupied 
the  north  extremity  of  the  single  line  of  houses  forming  Southampton-row,  was  the  extreme  of  London 
in  that  direction,  for  there  was  no  building  in  the  then  clear  open  "  Long-fields"  between  Bolton  House 
and  the  Southampton  Arms  Tea-garden  at  Camden-town,  to  which  there  was  a  footpath  crossing  the 
New-road,  leaving  the  Soot,  immortalized  by  Dickens  in  Barnaby  Budge  at  some  distance  on  the 
right.    The  view  northward  from  Queen-square  was  then  quite  uninterrupted. — Builder. 

Here,  in  No.  21,  Sir  Samuel  Romilly  died  by  his  own  hand.  Lord  Chief  Justice  Tenter- 
den  died  in  No.  28.  Baltimore  House,  at  the  corner  of  Guilford-street,  was  long  the 
residence  of  Wedderburn,  Lord  Chancellor  Loughborough.  Mr.  Justice  Talfourd  was 
resident  at  No.  67.  Sir  Thomas  Lawrence  lived  for  a  quarter  of  a  century  in  No.  65. 
In  the  Gentleman's  Magazine,  the  Rev.  John  Mitford  notes  :  "We  shall  never  forget 
the  Cossacks,  mounted  on  their  small  white  horses,  with  their  long  spears  grounded, 
standing  sentinels  at  the  door  of  this  great  painter,  whilst  he  was  taking  the  portrait  of 
their  general,  Platoff "  (1818).  On  the  north  side  is  the  picturesque  bronze  sitting 
statue  of  Francis,  Duke  of  Bedford,  by  Westmacott. 

Salisbury  Square  (see  Fleet-street,  p.  349) ;  at  the  north-west  corner  was  the 
printing-office  of  Richardson,  the  novelist. 

Soho  Square,  originally  King's-square,  was  begun  in  the  reign  of  Charles  II. ;  the 
south  side  consisting  of  Monmouth  House,  built  by  Wren  for  the  Duke  of  Monmouth, 
and  after  his  death  purchased  by  Lord  Bateman ;  in  1717  it  was  an  auction  room ;  part 
of  the  site  is  now  occupied  by  Bateman's-buildings. 

J.  T.  Smith,  in  Nollelcens  and  Ms  Times,  describes  the  pulling  down  of  Monmouth  Souse,  which  he 
witnessed :  the  gate  entrance  was  of  massive  ironwork,  supported  by  stone  piers,  surmounted  by  the 
crest  of  the  Duke  of  Monmouth ;  and  within  the  gates  was  a  courtyard  for  carriages.  The  hall  was 
ascended  by  steps.  There  were  eight  rooms  on  the  ground-floor :  the  principal  one  was  a  dining-room 
towards  the  south,  the  carved  and  gilt  panels  of  which  had  contained  whole-length  pictures.  At  corners 
of  the  ornamented  ceiling,  which  was  of  plaster,  and  over  the  chimney-piece,  the  Duke  of  Monmouth's 
arms  were  displayed.  The  staircase  was  of  oak,  the  steps  very  low,  and  the  landing-places  were  tessel- 
lated with  woods  of  light  and  dark  colours.  Upon  ornamented  brackets  were  busts  of  Seneca,  Cara- 
calla,  Trajan,  Adrian,  &c.  The  principal  room  on  the  first-floor  was  lined  with  blue  satin,  superbly 
decorated  with  pheasants  and  other  birds  in  gold.  The  chimney-piece  was  richly  ornamented  with 
fruit  and  foliage  :  in  the  centre,  within  a  wreath  of  oak-leaves,  was  a  circular  recess  for  a  bust.  The 
beads  of  the  panels  of  the  brown  window-shutters,  which  were  very  lofty,  were  gilt ;  and  the  piers 
between  the  windows  had  been  filled  with  looking-glasses.  The  paved  yard  was  surrounded  by  a  red 
brick  wall,  with  heavy  stone  copings,  25  feet  in  height. 

Shadwell,  in  his  plays  (1661),  mentions  "  Soho-square ;"  Maitland,  1739,  "  King's- 
square,"  then  a  sort  of  Court  quarter :  Evelyn  wintered  "  at  Soho,  in  the  great  square," 
in  1690.  Bishop  Burnet,  the  historian,  lived  here  before  he  removed  to  Clerkenwell;  his 
Curiosities  included  the  supposed  "  original  Magna  Charta,"  with  part  of  the  Great  Seal 
remaining.  The  shipwrecked  remains  of  Sir  Cloudesly  Shovel  lay  in  state  in  1707.  At  the 
corner  of  Greek-street,  No.  1,  was  the  mansion  of  Alderman  Beckford,  now  the  House  of 
Charity  (see  p.  211) ;  and  thither  came  the  partisan  City  procession,  who  prevailed 
upon  Beckford  to  serve  his  second  mayoralty,  in  commemoration  of  which  he  feasted  the 
poor  of  St.  Anne's,  Soho.  At  the  corner  of  Sutton-street  was  Carlisle  House,  where 
Mrs.  Cornelys  gave  her  concerts,  balls,  and  masquerades ;  the  present  Roman  Catholic 
chapel  in  Sutton-street  having  been  Mrs.  Cornelys's  banquetting-room  (connected  with 
the  house  by  "  the  Chinese  bridge  "),  and  the  gateway  was  the  entrance  for  sedan- 
chairs.  In  1772  the  "  furniture,  decorations,  china,  &c,"  of  Carlisle  House  were  sold 
by  auction ;  but  it  was  re-opened  in  1774 ;  Mrs.  Cornelys  returned  here  in  1776 ;  and 
it  was  next  an  exhibition-place  of  "  monstrosities,"  a  "  School  of  Eloquence,"  and  an 
"  Infant  School  of  Genius;"  it  was  closed  in  1797,  and  taken  down  in  1803  or  1804; 
some  of  its  curious  paintings  were  preserved ;  and  an  account  of  Mrs.  Cornelys's  enter- 
tainments has  been  privately  printed  by  Mr.  T.  Mackinlay.  (Dr.  Rimbault;  Notes  and 
Queries,  No.  28.)  No.  20,  "  D'Almaine's,"  with  a  banqueting-room  ceiling,  said  to  have 


SQUARES.  753 

been  painted  by  Angelica  Kauflinann,  was  built  for  Earl  Tilney  by  Colin  Campbell, 
architect  of  Wanstead  House.  No.  32  was  Sir  Joseph  Banks's,  P.R.S.,  next  the  house 
of  the  Liunean  Society  (see  p.  598),  exempted  from  the  poor-rate  in  1854  on  account 
of  its  being  used  for  the  purposes  of  science.  {Court  of  Queen's  Bench  Rep.  May  30.) 
At  a  house  in  Soho-square,  Richard  Payne  Knight,  the  classic  antiquary  (died  1824), 
assembled  his  collection  of  ancient  bronzes,  and  Greek  coins,  value  50,000/.,  which  he 
bequeathed  to  the  British  Museum.  At  the  corner  of  Bateinan's-buildings,  left,  lived 
George  Colman  the  elder ;  and  right,  Samuel  Beazley,  the  dramatist,  and  architect  of 
the  Lyceum  and  St.  James's  theatres.  The  Soho  Bazaar  (north-west  corner)  is 
described  at  p.  35.  In  the  centre  of  the  square  is  a  pedestrian  statue  of  Charles  II. 
(See  Fountains,  p.  356.)  In  Frith-street,  on  the  south  side  of  the  square,  died  of 
cholera,  in  1830,  William  Hazlitt,  the  eloquent  essayist :  he  was  buried  in  St.  Anne's 
churchyard,  where  is  "  a  stone  raised  by  one  whose  heart  is  with  him  in  his  grave." 
Frith-street  is  named  "  from  Mr.  Fryth,  a  great  (and  once  rich)  builder"  (Ratton) ; 
Maitland  calls  it  "  Thrift-street." 

Tavistock  Square,  Euston-road,  is  named  from  the  ground-landlord,  the  Duke  of 
Bedford,  and  Marquis  of  Tavistock. 

Southward  is  Tavistock-place.  At  Xo.  31  lived  Mary  Ann  Clarke,  mistress  of  the  Duke  of  York ;  at 
No.  32,  Francis  Douce,  the  illustrator  of  Shakspeare,  and  subsequently,  in  the  same  house  John  Gait 
when  editor  of  the  Courier;  at  No.  19,  Sir  Harris  Nicolas,  K.C.M.G.,  the  peerage  antiquary;  and  at 
No.  10,  John  Britton,  before  he  removed  to  No.  17,  Burton-street.  In  Tavistock-place,  at  No.  37, 
Francis  Baily,  F.R.S.,  President  of  the  Boyal  Astronomical  Society,  lived  from  1825  to  1840.  The 
house  stands  isolated  in  a  garden,  so  as  to  be  free  from  any  material  tremor  from  passing  carriages.  A 
small  observatory  was  constructed  in  the  upper  part ;  and  herein  Mr.  Baily  contrived  a  pair  of  scales 
that  enabled  him  approximately  to  vreigh  the  earth.  The  house  and  room  are  engraved  and  described 
in  Things  not  generally  Known,  1856.  "  The  building  in  which  the  earth  was  weighed,  and  its  bulk 
and  figure  calculated,  the  standard  measure  of  the  British  nation  perpetuated,  and  the  Pendulum  ex- 
periments rescued  from  their  chief  source  of  inaccuracy,  can  never  cease  to  be  an  object  of  interest  to 
astronomers  of  future  generations." — Sir  John  Herschel,  Bart. 

Trafalgar  Square,  Charing  Cross,  formed  by  the  removal  of  the  lower  end  of  St. 
Martin's-lane,  a  knot  of  courts  and  alleys,  the  Golden  Cross  inn,*  and  low  buildings 
adjoining,  was  planned  by  Barry,  and  is  named  from  the  last  victory  of  Nelson,  to  whom 
a  column  is  erected  on  the  south  side  (see  p.  283) :  the  four  colossal  bronze  lions  at  the 
base  of  the  pedestal,  modelled  by  Sir  E.  Landseer,  R.A.,  were  added  in  1867.  The 
whole  square  is  paved  with  granite,  has  two  large  tanks  with  fountains  (see  p.  357),  and 
has  on  the  north  side  a  terrace,  which  imparts  elevation  to  the  National  Gallery  facade. 
At  the  north-east  and  north-west  angles  are  granite  pedestals ;  the  former  occupied 
by  Chantrey's  bronze  equestrian  statue  of  George  IV.,  intended  for  the  top  of  the 
marble  arch  at  Buckingham  Palace.  The  granite  capstan  posts  in  the  area  are  charac- 
teristic ;  but  the  square  has  been  condemned  as  "  an  artificial  stone-quarry."  The 
massive  lanterns  at  the  angles  were  originally  designed  by  Barry  for  Bude-lights. 

In  1831,  upon  the  ground  cleared  for  Trafalgar-square,  was  exhibited  in  a  pavilion 
the  entire  skeleton  of  a  Greenland  Whale,  taken  off  the  coast  of  Belgium  in  1827 ; 
total  length,  95  feet;  breadth,  18  feet;  width  of  tail,  22£  feet;  length  of  head,  22 
feet ;  height  of  cranium,  4^  feet ;  length  of  fins,  12  J  feet ;  weight  of  animal,  249  tons, 
or  480,0001b. ;  weight  of  skeleton,  35  tons,  or  70,0001b. ;  oil  extracted,  4000  gallons. 
The  skeleton  was  raised  upon  iron  supports,  and  visitors  ascended  within  the  ribs 
by  a  flight  of  steps.  It  had  been  previously  exhibited  at  Paris,  where  Cuvier  and 
others  estimated  the  age  of  this  whale  at  from  900  to  1000  years.  (See  Mirror, 
August  13,  1831.) 

Vincent  Square,  Westminster,  a  portion  of  Tothill  Fields,  is  named  after  Dr. 
Vincent,  then  Dean  of  Westminster.  Here  is  the  church  of  St.  Mary  the  Virgin,  con- 
secrated 1837  :  style,  Early  Pointed,  with  lancet  windows ;  architect,  E.  Blore. 

Weleclose  Square  was  originally  called  Marine-square,  from  its  being  a  favourite 
residence  of  naval  officers.  "  It  is  very  near  a  geometrical  square,  whose  area  is  about 
2f  acres;  it  is  situated  between  Knockfergus  north  and  Katcliff  Highway  south." 
(Ratton,  1708.)     Here  is  the  Danish  (now    Sailors')  Church.     In  Well-street,  ad- 

*  April  23, 1643,  it  was  ordered  by  Parliament  that  the  sign  of  the  Golden  Cross,  at  Charing-cross 
be  taken  down,  as  superstitious  and  idolatrous ! 

3  c 


754  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

joining,  was  the  Royalty  Theatre,  burnt  down  April  11,  1826  ;  upon  the  site  was  built 
the  Brunswick  Theatre  ;  it  was  performed  in  only  three  nights,  and  fell  to  the  ground 
Feb.  28,  1828 ;  within  six  months  of  which  was  built  upon  the  same  site  the  Sailors' 
Home. 

Wobttrn  Sqtjaee,  St.  Pancras,  named  from  a  seat  of  the  Duke  of  Bedford,  has  in 
the  centre  a  Pointed  church,  by  L.  Vulliamy,  built  in  1834:  the  spire  is  150  feet  high. 

STATE  COACHES. 

THE  "  glistering  coach"  (Shakspeare)  dates  from  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  who, 
April  2,  1571,  at  the  meeting  of  Parliament,  rode  for  the  first  time  in  a  coach, 
drawn  by  two  palfreys,  covered  with  crimson  velvet  housings,  richly  embroidered :  but 
this  was  the  only  carriage  in  the  procession ;  the  Lord  Keeper,  and  the  Lords  spiritual 
and  temporal,  all  attending  on  horseback.  In  1588  the  Queen  went  from  Somerset 
Place  to  St.  Paul's  Cross,  to  return  thanks  after  the  destruction  of  the  Spanish  Armada, 
in  a  coach  presented  to  her  by  Henry  Earl  of  Arundel,  and  called  by  Stow  "  a  chariot- 
throne."  In  a  print  in  the  Crowle  Pennant,  in  the  British  Museum,  representing 
Queen  Henrietta-Maria  doing  penance  beneath  the  gallows  at  Tyburn,  Charles  I.  is 
seated  in  a  large  and  ornamented  coach ;  but  this  print  is  apocryphal. 

The  Coach  of  Queen  Anne  had  its  panels  painted  by  Sir  James  Thornhill ;  and  a 
friend  of  J.  T.  Smith  possessed  a  portion  of  a  panel.  This  coach  was  used  by  George  I. 
and  II.,  and  by  George  III.  when  he  first  opened  Parliament,  and  also  at  his  marriage; 
after  which  it  was  broken  up,  and  the  State  Carriage  now  used  by  the  sovereign  was 
built. 

The  Queen's  State  Coach,  sometimes  called  the  "  Coronation  Coach,"  was  de- 
signed by  Sir  William  Chambers,  R.A.,  who  recommended  Joseph  Wilton,  R.A.,  and 
the  sculptor  Pigalle,  to  conduct  the  building  of  the  carriage.  The  model  was  executed 
from  Chambers's  design  by  Laurence  Anderson  Holme,  a  Dane. 

Wilton  was  appointed  state-coach  carver  to  the  King:,  and  erected  workshops  opposite  Marylebone- 
fields,  on  the  south  side  of  what  was  afterwards  named  Queen  Anne-street  East,  now  called  Foley-place, 
and  occupying  the  large  house  now  remaining  at  the  south-east  corner  of  Portland-street,  adjoining. 
Here  Geo.  III.'s  state-coach  was  built ;  the  small  model  of  which  [in  wax,  by  Capitsoldi  and  Voyers,  the 
panels  painted  in  water-colours  by  Cipriani],  I,  when  a  boy,  was  carried  to  see  by  Mr.  Nollekens  and  my 
father,  it  being  then  preserved  in  a  back  shop,  where  it  remained  for  many  years.— J.  T.  Smith's 
Nollekens  and  Ms  Times,  ii.  172. 

The  carriage  is  composed  of  four  tritons,  who  support  the  body  by  cables :  the  two 
placed  on  the  front  bear  the  driver  on  their  shoulders,  and  are  sounding  shells ;  and 
those  on  the  back  part  carry  the  imperial  fasces,  topped  with  tridents.  The  driver's 
footboard  is  a  large  scallop-shell,  supported  by  marine  plants.  The  pole  resembles  a 
bundle  of  lances ;  and  the  wheels  are  in  imitation  of  those  of  ancient  triumphal  chariots. 
The  body  of  the  coach  is  composed  of  eight  palm-trees,  which,  branching  out  at  the 
top,  sustain  the  roof :  at  each  angle  are  trophies  of  British  victories.  On  the  centre  of 
the  roof  stand  boy-genii  of  England,  Scotland,  and  Ireland,  supporting  the  imperial 
crown,  and  holding  the  sceptre,  the  sword  of  state,  and  ensigns  of  knighthood ;  from 
their  bodies  festoons  of  laurel  fall  thence  to  the  four  corners  of  the  roof.  The  intervals- 
between  the  palm-trees,  which  form  the  body  of  the  coach,  are  filled  in  the  upper  part 
with  plate-glass,  and  the  panels  below  with  paintings  as  follow  : 

Front  Panel. — Britannia  on  a  throne,  holding  a  staff  of  liberty,  attended  by  Eeligion,  Justice, 
Wisdom,  Valour,  Fortitude,  Commerce,  Plenty,  and  Victory,  presenting  her  with  a  garland  of  laurel  j 
background,  St.  Paul's  and  the  Thames. 

Might  Door. — Industry  and  Ingenuity  giving  a  cornucopia  to  the  Genius  of  England.  Side  Panels. — 
History  recording  the  reports  of  Fame,  and  Peace  burning  the  implements  of  War. 

Bach  Panel. — Neptune  and  Amphitrite  in  a  car  drawn  by  sea-horses,  attended  by  the  Winds,  Bivers, 
Tritons,  Naiads,  &e.,  bringing  the  tribute  of  the  world  to  Britain. 

Upper  Part  of  Back  Panel.— The  Eoyal  Arms,  ornamented  with  the  order  of  St.  George,  the  Golden 
Fleece,  the  rose,  shamrock,  and  thistle  entwined. 

Left  Door.— Mars,  Minerva,  and  Mercury  supporting  the  imperial  crown.  Side  Panels. — The  Arts 
and  Sciences  protected. 

The  body  is  lined  with  scarlet  embossed  velvet,  superbly  laced  and  embroidered  with 
the  star,  encircled  by  the  collar  of  the  order  of  the  Garter,  and  surmounted  by  the 
imperial  crown,  pendant  the  George  and  Dragon ;  in  the  corners,  the  rose,  shamrock, 


STATE  COACHES.  751 


and  thistle  entwined.  The  badges  of  St.  Michael,  St.  George,  the  Guelph  and  Bath, 
St.  Andrew,  and  St.  Patrick  are  also  among  the  embroidery.  The  hammercloth  is  of 
scarlet  velvet,  with  gold  badges,  ropes,  and  tassels.  The  length  of  the  carriage  and 
body  is  24  feet ;  width,  8  feet  3  inches ;  height,  12  feet;  length  of  pole,  12  feet  4 
inches ;  weight,  4  tons.  The  carving  was  mostly  executed  by  Nicholas  Collett,  a  little 
man,  whom  Waldron  the  actor  (originally  a  carver  in  wood)  delighted  to  call  "  a 
Garrick  of  a  carver."  The  panels  were  painted  by  Cipriani,  who  received  for  the  same 
800?.  The  chasing  was  executed  by  Coit,  the  coachwork  by  Butler,  the  embroidery 
by  Barrett,  the  gilding  (triple  throughout)  by  Rujolas,  the  varnishing  by  Ansel,  and  the 
harness  by  Ringstead.     The  whole  cost  was  as  follows  : 

Coaehmaker  (including  Wheelwright  and  Smith)      .       .  £1637  15    0 

Carver 2500    0    0 

Gilder 935  14    0 

Painter 315    0    0 

Laceman 737  10    7 

Chaser 665    4    6 

Harnessmaker 385  15    0 

Mercer 202    5  10J 

Beltmaker 99    6    6 

Milliner 31    3    4 

Saddler 10  16    6 

Woollendraper 436 

Covermaker 396 

£7523    4    3| 

The  bill  was  8000?. ;  but  being  taxed,  was  reduced  as  above,  the  odd  pence  arising 

from  the  ribbon-weaver's  bill.     The  superb  hammercloth,  of  scarlet  silk  Genoa  velvet, 

with  gold  badges,  fringes,  ropes,  and  tassels,  was  renewed  in  1838.     The  Royal  State 

Coach  was  first  used  Nov.  16,  1762.     Walpole  writes  to  Sir  Horace  Mann : 

"There  is  come  forth  a  new  state-coach,  which  has  cost  8000Z.  It  is  a  beautiful  object,  though 
crowded  with  improprieties.  Its  supports  are  Tritons,  not  very  well  adapted  to  land  carriage ;  and 
formed  of  palm-trees,  which  are  as  little  aquatic  as  Tritons  are  terrestrial.  The  crowd  to  see  it,  on  the 
opening  of  the  Parliament,  was  greater  than  at  the  coronation,  and  much  more  mischief  done." 

The  Coach  was  kept  in  a  shed  at  the  King's  Mews,  Charing  Cross ;  upon  the  taking 
down  of  which,  it  was  removed  to  the  Royal  Mews,  Pimlico,  where  also  is  kept  the 
State  Harness  for  the  eight  horses  by  which  the  carriage  is  drawn  when  used  by  the 
sovereign.  The  Coach  and  Harness  may  be  inspected  upon  application.  The  new 
hammercloth  in  the  reign  of  William  IV.  cost  500?.     (See  Mews,  Royal,  p.  565.) 

The  Loud  Mayor's  State  Coach  is  kept  at  the  City  Green-yard,  Whitecross- 
street,  Cripplegate,  opposite  the  Debtors'  Door  :  the  coach  may  be  here  inspected.  It 
was  built  in  1757,  by  a  subscription  of  60?.  from  each  of  the  junior  aldermen,  or  such 
as  had  not  passed  the  civic  chair.  Subsequently,  each  alderman,  when  sworn  into  office, 
contributed  60?.  towards  keeping  the  coach  in  repair ;  for  which  purpose  also  each 
Lord  Mayor  gave  1001.  In  a  few  years,  the  whole  expense  fell  upon  the  Lord  Mayor, 
and  in  one  year  it  exceeded  300?.  The  coach  was  then  transferred  to  the  Corporation, 
and  it  has  since  been  kept  in  repair  by  the  Committee  of  General  Purposes.  Twenty 
years  after  its  construction,  the  repairs  in  one  year  cost  335?. ;  and  the  average  of  seven 
years'  repairs  in  the  present  century  was  115?.  The  design  of  the  coach  is  more  mag- 
nificent than  graceful :  the  carriage  consists  of  a  pair  of  grotesque  marine  figures,  who 
support  the  seat  of  the  driver,  with  a  large  scallop-shell  as  a  foot-board ;  at  the  hind- 
standard  are  two  children  bearing  the  City  arms,  beneath  which  is  a  large  pelican ; 
the  perch  is  double,  and  terminates  in  dolphins'  heads;  and  the  four  wheels  are  richly 
carved  and  gilt,  and  resemble  those  of  ancient  triumphal  chariots.  The  body  is  not 
hung  upon  springs,  but  upon  four  thick  red  leather  straps,  fastened  with  large  gilt- 
brass  buckles  of  spirited  design,  each  bearing  the  City  arms.  The  roof  was  originally 
ornamented  with  eight  gilt  vases ;  in  the  centre  is  a  leafy  crown,  bearing  the  City 
arms,  and  from  which  small  gilt  flowers  trail  over  the  remainder  of  the  roof,  painted 
red :  originally,  a  group  of  four  boys  supporting  baskets  of  fruits  and  flowers  occupied 
the  centre.  The  upper  intervals  of  the  body,  save  at  the  back,  are  filled  with  plate- 
glass  ;  and  the  several  lower  panels  are  painted  as  follow  : 

Front  Panel.— Faith  supporting  a  decrepit  figure  beside  a  flaming  altar ;  Hope  pointing  to  St. 
Paul's  Cathedral. 

3  c  2 


756  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Back.— Charity ;  a  wrecked  sailor,  with  a  ship  in  the  offing,  and  two  females  casting  money  and 
fruits  into  his  lap. 

Upper  Back. — The  City,  attended  by  Neptune ;  Commerce  introducing  the  Arab  with  his  horse,  and 
other  traders  with  the  camel,  elephant,  &c. 

Might  Boor. — Fame,  with  her  wreath,  presenting  a  Lord  Mayor  to  the  City,  who  bears  the  sword  and 
sceptre,  the  mace,  &c.,  at  her  feet.  In  the  very  small  panel  beneath  are  fruit  and  flowers.  Side  Panel*. — 
Beauty  with  her  mirror ;  female  with  bridled  horse,  &c. 

Left  Door. — The  City  seated,  and  Britannia  pointing  with  her  spear  to  a  shield  inscribed  with  "  Henri 
Fitz-Alwin,  1189"  (the  first  Mayor).  In  the  very  small  panels  beneath  are  the  scales  of  justice  and 
sword  of  mercy,  grouped.    Side  Panels, — Justice  with  her  scales  and  sword;  Prudence,  &c. 

The  original  heraldic  paintings  were  executed  by  Catton.  one  of  the  foundation  mem- 
bers of  the  Royal  Academy.  In  shields  at  the  lower  angles  of  each  door,  and  of  the 
back  and  front  panels,  are  emblazoned  the  arms  of  the  Lord  Mayor  for  the  time  being. 
The  framework  is  richly  carved  and  gilt :  over  each  door  is  a  scallop-shell ,-  and  at  the 
lower  angles  of  the  body  are  dwarf  figures  emblematic  of  the  four  quarters  of  the  globe. 
The  smaller  enrichments  about  the  panels,  as  shells,  fruits,  and  flowers,  are  admirably 
carved  and  grouped  :  over  the  upper  back  panel  is  an  exquisite  bit — a  serpent  and  dove. 
The  perch  and  wheels  are  painted  red,  picked  out  with  gold ;  and  massive  gilt  bosses 
cover  the  wheel-boxes :  the  wheels  were  renewed  in  1828.  The  coach  is  lined  with 
crimson  corded  silk  and  lace;  and  in  the  centre  is  a  seat  for  the  mace  and  sword 
bearers.     The  hammercloth  is  crimson  cloth,  but  the  original  one  was  of  gold  lace. 

This  coach  was  repaired,  new-lined,  and  regilt  in  1812,  at  an  expense  of  600?.,  when 
also  a  new  seat-cloth  was  furnished  for  90?. ;  and  in  1821  the  re-lining  cost  206?.  In 
1812,  Messrs.  Houlditch  agreed  to  keep  the  coach  in  fair  wear-and-tear  for  ten  years, 
at  48?.  per  annum.  The  total  weight  of  the  coach  is  3  tons  16  cwt. :  it  is  drawn  by 
six  horses,  for  whom  a  superb  state  harness  was  made  in  1833,  that  for  each  horse 
weighing  1061b. 

It  is  not  positively  known  by  whom  this  coach  was  carved,  nor  by  whom  the  panels 
were  painted.  Cipriani  is  stated  by  some  to  be  the  painter ;  but  others  assert  that 
after  the  present  Royal  State  Coach  was  built  in  1762,  the  old  Royal  State  Coach  was 
purchased  by  the  City  of  London,  and  the  panels  re-painted  by  Dance :  such  is  the 
statement  of  Smith,  in  Nollekens  and  his  Times ;  but  in  the  Report  of  the  Municipal 
Corporation  Commissioners,  the  City  Coach  is  stated  to  have  been  built  in  1757.  The 
Lord  Mayor  rode  in  state  upon  horseback  until  1712,  when  a  state  carriage,  drawn  by 
four  horses,  was  first  used.  In  1741  the  horses  were  increased  to  six.  This  State 
Coach  is  represented  in  Hogarth's  print  of  the  Industrious  Apprentice,  date  1747  ;  it 
is  somewhat  plain,  but  has  ornamental  vases  upon  the  roof.  In  1762,  Lord  Mayor 
Beckford  purchased  the  very  fine  set  of  Flanders  mares  of  M.  Boreel,  Ambassador  of  the 
States  General  to  the  Court  of  St.  James's ;  and  they  were  used  in  Beckford's  Mayoral- 
ties. Every  time  the  City  State  Coach  is  used,  it  costs  the  Lord  Mayor  20?. :  Alderman 
Samuel  Wilson  used  the  coach  twelve  times  in  his  Mayoralty,  1839-40.  (See  Loed 
Mayor's  State,  pp.  536-^538.) 

"Our  Lord  Mayor  and  his  golden  coach,  and  his  gold-covered  footmen  and  coachman,  and  his  golden 
chain,  and  his  chaplain,  and  his  great  sword  of  state,  please  the  people,  and  particularly  the  women  and 
girls,  and  when  they  are  pleased  the  men  and  boys  are  pleased ;  and  many  a  young  fellow  has  been  more 
industrious  and  attentive  from  his  hope  of  one  day  riding  in  that  golden  coach." — Cobbett. 

The  Speaker's  State  Coach  is  traditionally  said  to  have  been  Oliver  Cromwell's  ; 
but  it  is  more  probably  of  the  time  of  William  III.  It  is  elaborately  carved  and 
heavily  gilt.  Figures  of  naval  and  military  prowess,  Plenty,  &c.,  support  the  body ; 
the  box  is  held  by  two  larger  figures  of  Plenty ;  the  hammercloth  is  of  crimson  velvet, 
trimmed  with  silver  fringe ;  and  the  footboard  is  borne  by  two  lions,  and  surmounted 
with  a  large  grotesque  mask.  The  hind-standard  is  richly  carved  with  figures  and 
devices  of  antique  and  modern  design.  The  framework  of  the  panels  is  finely  carved ; 
and  the  roof  has  a  pierced  parapet  or  gallery.  The  upper,  side,  and  front  panels  are 
filled  with  splendid  Vauxhall  plates  of  glass.  The  lower  panels  are  painted  with 
emblematic  subjects  :  the  door-panel  has  a  seated  figure  of  Britannia,  to  whom  female 
figures  are  bringing  fruits,  the  horn  of  plenty,  &c.  The  opposite  door  has  also  a  seated 
figure,  and  another  presenting  the  Bill  of  Rights,  with  Liberty,  Fame,  and  Justice. 
Beneath  each  door  and  panel  are  sculptured  maces,  surmounted  with  a  cap,  emblematic 
of  the  Speaker's  authority.  In  the  four  side  panels  are  emblematic  figures  of 
Literature,  Architecture,  Science,  and  Plenty.     The  back  panel  has  a  better  composi- 


STATUES.  757 


tion  of  Britannia,  wearing  a  mural  crown  ;  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  shipping,  &c,  in  the 
distance.  The  front  panel  also  hears  several  allegorical  figures.  In  the  lower  part  of 
the  pictures  in  the  principal  panels  are  emblazoned  the  Speaker's  arms,  and  in  the  side- 
panel  pictures  his  crest.  The  coach  is  lined  and  trimmed  with  dark  crimson  velvet  j 
it  has  two  seats,  and  a  centre  one :  on  the  latter  sit  the  Speaker's  Mace-hearer  and 
Sword-bearer  j  and  his  Chaplain  and  Train-bearer  sit  facing  the  Speaker.  This  coach 
is  used  by  the  Speaker  on  opening  Parliament,  presenting  addresses  to  the  sovereign, 
attending  levees,  &c,  when  it  is  drawn  by  a  pair  of  horses  in  state  harness.  The  coach 
is  kept  at  the  Speaker's  stables,  Millbank. 


T 


STATUES. 
HE  following  are  the  principal  out-door  Statues  in  the  Metropolis  i 


Statues.                                          Sites.  Sculptors. 

"  Achilles"    ......  Hyde  Park Westmacott. 

This  group  is  strangely  miscalled  "Achilles;"  it  being  copied  from  one  of  the  statues  on  Monte 
Cavallo,  at  Rome,  which  are  called  Castor  and  Pollux  by  the  Italian  antiquaries  Venuti  and  Vasi,  and  by 
Flaxman  named  Bellerophon.    The  inscription  bronze  letters  have  been  stolen ! 

Albert,  Prince Lloyd's,  Royal  Exchange  .    .    .  Lough. 

Alfred,  King Trinity-square,  Newington. 

Anne,  Queen  op  James  I.     .  Temple  Bar Bushnell. 

Anne,  Queen Queen-square,  Bloomsbury. 

Anne,  Queen Queen-square,  Westminster. 

Anne,  Queen St.  Paul's  Churchyard  .    .    .    .  F.  Bird. 

Aske,  Robert Hospital,  Hoxton. 

Bedford,  Duke  o*   .     .    .    .  Bedford-square Westmacott. 

Bbntinck,  Lord  George  .    .  Cavendish-square Campbell. 

Canning,  George     ....  New  Palace-yard Westmacott. 

Cariwright,  Major     .    .    .  Burton-crescent Clarke. 

Charles  I Charing  Cross Le  Soeur. 

"This  noble  equestrian  statue,"  says  Walpole,  "in  which  the  commanding  grace  of  the  figure  and 
the  exquisite  form  of  the  horse  are  striking  to  the  most  unpractised  eye,  was  cast  in  1633,  on  a  spot  of 
ground  near  the  church  in  Covent  Garden ;  and  not  being  erected  before  the  commencement  of  the  Civil 
War,  it  was  sold  by  the  Parliament  to  John  Rivet,  a  brazier,  living  at  the  Dial,  near  Holborn  Conduit, 
with  strict  orders  to  break  it  in  pieces.  But  the  man  produced  some  fragments  of  old  brass,  and  con- 
cealed the  statue  and  horse  underground  till  the  Restoration."  M.  d'Archenholz  relates  "that  he  cast  a 
vast  number  of  handles  of  knives  and  forks  in  brass,  which  he  sold  as  made  of  the  broken  statue.  They 
were  bought  with  eagerness  by  the  Royalists,  from  affection  to  their  monarch — by  the  rebels  as  a  mark 
of  triumph  over  their  murdered  sovereign."  Walpole  adds  that  "  they  had  been  made  at  the  expense  of 
the  family  of  Howard-Arundel ;"  but  Mr.  Cunningham  refers  to  a  memorandum  in  the  State- Paper  Office, 
from  which  he  concludes  this  statue  to  have  been  ordered  by  the  Lord  Treasurer  Weston,  afterwards 
Earl  of  Portland,  of  Hubert  Le  Sceur, "  for  the  casting  of  a  horse  in  brasse,  bigger  than  a  great  horse  by 
a  foot;  and  the  figure  of  his  Majesty  King  Charles  proportionable,  full  six  foot;"  to  be  set  up  in  the 
Lord  Treasurer's  gardens  at  Roehampton,  in  Surrey  (see  Hand-Book  of  London,  2nd  edit.  p.  106).  At  the 
Restoration,*  an  order  of  replevin  was  issued  by  the  House  of  Lords,  upon  the  information  of  the  Earl 
of  Portland  (son  of  the  Lord  Treasurer),  for  the  recovery  of  the  statue  from  Rivet;  but  it  was  not  setup 
until  1674,  when  Waller  wrote  his  courtly  lines  "  On  the  Statue  'of  King  Charles  I.  at  Charing  Cross." 
There  is  an  idle  story  that  Le  Sceur,  having  finished  the  statue,  defied  any  one  to  point  out  a  defect  in 
the  work ;  when,  on  a  person  denoting  the  absence  of  the  girth,  the  sculptor,  in  a  fit  of  indignation, 
destroyed  himself.  The  assertion  of  the  horse  not  having  a  girth  is  quoted  by  Malcolm  from  The 
Medley  for  August,  1719 ;  but  there  is  a  girth,  which  passes  over  a  very  strong  rein  on  the  right.  In 
1810,  the  sword,  buckles,  and  straps  fell  from  the  statue ;  and  about  the  coronation  of  Queen  Victoria  in 
1838,  when  seats  were  erected  round  the  group,  the  sword  (a  rapier  of  Charles's  period),  was  stolen. 
The  George  pendent  from  the  ribbon  has  also  been  taken  away,  as  denoted  by  the  vacant  hole  in  the 
metal  where  the  George  should  hang. 

The  stone  pedestal,  sculptured  with  the  royal  arms,  trophies,  &c.,  was  long  admired  as  the  work  of 
Gibbons;  but  a  written  account  proves  it  to  be  by  Joshua  Marshall,  Master  Mason  to  the  Crown.  On 
the  29th  of  May  (Restoration  Day)  this  statue  was  formerly  decorated  with  boughs  of  oak.  In  the  spring 
of  1853  a  cast  of  the  statue  and  pedestal  was  taken  by  Brucciani,  for  the  Crystal  Palace  at  Sydenham : 
for  the  moulds  and  casts,  37  tons  of  plaster  and  15  tons  of  iron  were  used.  The  following  measurements 
weie  also  then  taken :  Pedestal,  13ft.  8  in.  high;  9 ft.  11  in.  long ;  5  ft.  7  in.  wide.  Statue:  height  from 
foot  to  top  of  horse's  head,  7  ft.  8  in. ;  plinth  to  top  of  figure,  9  ft.  2£  in. ;  plinth  to  neck  of  horse,  6  ft. ; 
plinth  to  top  of  hind-quarters,  5  ft.  10  in. ;  length  from  head  to  tail,  7  ft.  9  in. ;  circumference  of  horse 
from  back  of  saddle-cloth,  8  ft.  2  in. ;  round  chest  and  hind-quarters,  16  ft.  The  metal  casting  around 
the  left  fore-foot  of  the  horse  bears  hvber(t)  le  svevb  (fe)cit  1633. 

"  Although  taken  soon  after  Charles's  accession,  and  at  a  time  when  sorrow  could  hardly  have  been 
put  upon  him,  yet  the  character  of  melancholy  is  deeply  impressed  on  the  countenance.  The  horse  is 
superb :  the  action  is  that  which  is  taught  in  the  menage,  the  motion  of  the  legs  showing  the  spirit  of 
the  animal ;  yet  the  action  is  not  that  of  progressing, — it  is  a  movement  that  would  not  communicate 
motion  to  the  body,  but  leaves  the  rider  perfectly  undisturbed;  the  bridle  falls  almost  loose  upon  the 

*  In  this  year  a  statue  of  the  King  was  restored  in  the  City :  "  May  7, 1660.  Charles  the  First  his 
Statue  set  up  again  in  Guildhall-yard." — Histor.  Guide,  1688. 


758  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

neck;  nor  does  the  well-taught  steed  disturb  the  reverie  of  thought  expressed  in  the  countenance  of  its 
master."— Times,  Sept.  1, 1838. 

Statues.  Sites.  Sculptors. 

Charles  I Temple  Bar Bushnell. 

Charles  II Temple  Bar Bushnell. 

Chahlbs  II. ......    .  Soho-square. 

Charles  II Chelsea  Hospital Gibbons. 

Clayton,  Sib  Robert  .    .    .St.  Thomas's  Hospital. 

Coram,  Cam. Foundling  Hospital Calder  Marshall. 

The  worthy  founder  of  this  institution  appears  in  the  same  style  of  dress  that  he  wore  in  life— the 
flowing  wig,  the  long  waistcoat,  and  broad-tailed  open  coat :  in  one  hand  he  holds  the  charter  of  the 
hospital.  The  countenance  is  most  animated  and  expressive,  as  if  talking  to  Hogarth,  or  some  others 
who  worked  with  him  in  establishing  this  foundation.  No  one  will  say  that  the  costume  of  this  statue 
is  un picturesque  as  treated;  and  the  circumstance  ought  to  encourage  us  at  the  present  day  boldly  to 
delineate  our  great  men  in  the  form  in  which  they  appeared  on  the  stage  of  life. 

Crosby,  Sib  John     ....  Crosby  Hall  (front) Nixon. 

Cumberland,  Duke  of     .    .  Cavendish-square Chew. 

Elizabeth,  Queen  .    ...  St.  Dunstan's,  Fleet-street. 
Edwabd  VI.      ......  Christ's  Hospital. 

Edwabd  VI St.  Bartholomew's  Hospital. 

Edward  VI.      .    .    .    .    .    .  St.  Thomas's  Hospital  ....  Scheemakerg. 

Eldon,  Eabl  op School,  Wandsworth-road. 

C.  J.  Fox Bloomsbury-square Westmacott. 

Franklin,  Sir  John    .    .    .  Waterloo-place Noble. 

The  statue,  8ft.  4 in.  high,  bronze;  pedestal,  polished  granite.  The  likeness  has  been  pronounced 
by  Lady  Franklin  and  others  who  knew  her  husband  best,  to  be  characteristic  and  excellent.  The 
moment  selected  for  representation  in  the  statue  is  when  Franklin  was  addressing  his  officers  and  crew, 
and  telling  them  that  the  North-west  Passage  had  at  last  been  discovered. 

The  bas-relief  on  the  front  of  the  pedestal  represents  the  funeral  of  Franklin,  at  which  Captain 
Crozier  reads  the  burial  service.  He  is  surrounded  by  the  other  sorrowing  officers  and  crew  of  the  two 
ships,  the  Erebus  and  Terror.  It  is  well  known  that  not  one  of  the  whole  number  of  these  brave  fellows 
ever  returned.  Their  names,  with;  the  name  of  Franklin  himself,  are  recorded  on  bronze  panels  at 
the  side  of  the  memorial.  In  the  panel  at  the  back  of  the  tribute  there  is  an  embossed  bronze  chart 
of  the  Arctic  regions,  showing  the  position  of  the  two  ships  and  their  crews  at  the  time  of  the  death  of 
Franklin.  The  pedestal  is  further  adorned  with  bronze  cable  cornice  moulding  at  the  plinth,  enriched 
with  oak-leaves  and  acorns. 

George  I St.  George's  Church,  Bloomsbury. 

Geohge  II Golden-square. 

George  II Leicester-square Buchard. 

For  the  strange  history  of  this  statue,  see  Leicester-square,  pp.  511-515. 

George  III.  (equestrian)   .    .  Berkeley-square Beaupre\ 

The  statue  executed  in  lead  under  the  direction  of  Wilton,  B.A. 

Geobge  III Somerset  House Bacon. 

George  III Cockspur-street Wyatt. 

George  IV. Trafalgar-square Chantrey. 

In  modelling  the  horse  standing  still  on  all  four  legs,  Chantrey  has  given  the  sanction  of  his  name  to 
a  bold  and  judicious  innovation  on  the  old  custom  of  representing  horses  in  statues  either  curveting  or 
ambling.    The  horse  was  modelled  for  the  statue  of  Sir  Thomas  Munro. 

Guards  Memorial  ....  Waterloo-place Bell. 

A  granite  pedestal:  three  guardsmen,  bronze;  figure  of  Honour  distributing  coronals,  bronze; 
pyramid  of  cannon;  inscription :  "  To.  the  memory  of  2162  officers  and  men  of  the  Brigade  of  Guards 
who  fell  during  the  war  in  Russia,  1854, 1855, 1856." 

Guy,  Thohas       .    ....  Guy's  Hospital Scheemakers. 

Handel,  G.  F Sacred  Harmonic  Society  .    .    .  Boubiliac. 

Henry  VIII St.  Bartholomew's  Hospital. 

Herbert,  Lord War  Office,  Pall  Mall    ....  Foley. 

A  bronze  statue  9  ft.  in  height,  on  a  carved  granite  pedestal,  the  lower  grey  and  the  upper  portion  a 
beautiful  specimen  of  red  granite.  Let  into  the  granite  on  three  of  its  sides  are  three  bos  reliefs,  also 
in  bronze,  illustrative  of  subjects  to  which  Lord  Herbert  chiefly  devoted  his  attention  whilst  filling  the 
office  of  Secretary  of  State  for  War.  On  the  face  of  the  pedestal,  beneath  the  words  "  Sidney  Herbert " 
cut  deeply  into  the  granite,  are  the  armorial  bearings  of  the  family  in  bronze  (with  the  old  French 
motto,  "  Ung  je  servirai"),  and  on  the  sides  are  the  dates  of  his  birth  and  death — viz.,  "Born  16tb 
Sept.,  1810,"  on  the  east  side,  and  on  the  west,  "  Died  August  2, 1861."  On  the  southern  side  is  a 
bronze  tablet,  inscribed,  "  Erected  by  public  subscription,  1867."  The  tablet  in  front  of  the  statue  or 
northern  side,  facing  Pall-mall,  represents  an  incident  in  the  "  Herbert  Hospital,"  Woolwich,  Miss 
Nightingale  instructing  nurses  in  their  duties  of  tending  wounded  and  sick  soldiers — very  good.  On 
the  east  side  is  a  bas  relief,  representing  the  volunteer  movement,  in  which  a  battalion  of  volunteers 
are  seen  marching ;  whilst  that  on  the  west  side  exhibits  the  process  of  casting  and  testing  the  first 
Armstrong  gun  at  Woolwich,  which  event  occurred  during  the  administration  of  Lord  Herbert  in  the 
post  of  War  Minister. 

Havelock,  Sir  Henby     .    .  Trafalgar-square Behnes. 

Statue  bronze :  inscription  upon  pedestal :  "To  Major-General  Sir  Henry  Haveloek,  K.C.B.,  and  his 
brave  companions  during  the  campaign  in  India.  '  Soldiers, — Your  labours,  your  privations,  your 
sufferings,  and  your  valour  will  not  be  forgotten  by  a  grateful  country ! — H.  Haveloek.' "  The  in- 
scription on  the  back  of  the  pedestal  is  as  follows: — "The  force  commanded  by  Haveloek  consisted  of 
the  Staff,  cavalry,  Volunteers,  12th  and  13th  Irregulars,  3rd  Oude  Irregulars:  Boyal  Artillery— 3rd 


STATUES,  759 

Company,  8th  Battalion;  Bengal  Artillery — 2nd  Company,  3rd  Battalion;  1st  Company,  5th  Battalion; 
6th  Company,  9th  Battalion ;  Bengal  Engineers;  Infantry — 5th  Fusiliers,  84th  Regiment,  Cith  Regi- 
ment, 90th  Light  Infantry,  78th  Highlanders,  1st  Madras  Fusiliers,  Ferozepore  Regiment  of  Sikhs. — 
Behnes,  sculpsit." 

Statues.  Site*.  Sculptors. 

Hunteu,  Jiihx College  of  Surgeons Weekes. 

Hcskissox,  William  .    .    .  Lloyd's,  Royal  Exchange  .    .    .  Lough. 

James  I Temple  Har BushnelL 

JamlsII Whitehall  Gardens Gibbons. 

The  doubt  which  long  prevailed  respecting  the  artist  of  this  statue  has  been  cleared  up  by  the 
following  passage  in  the  Autobiography  of  Sir  John  Sramston,  printed  by  the  Camden  Society.  "On 
New  Year's  day,  1686,  a  statue  in  brass  was  to  be  seen  (placed  the  day  before)  in  the  yard  at  Whitehall, 
made  by  Gibbons,  at  the  charge  of  Toby  Rustick,  of  the  present  king,  James  II."  Thus  Walpole  had  a 
correct  impression  of  the  truth  when  he  wrote,  "  1  am  the  rather  inclined  to  attribute  the  statue  at 
Whitehall  to  Gibbons,  because  I  know  of  no  other  artist  of  that  time  capable  of  it."  The  likeness  is 
extremely  fine,  as  is  the  easy  attitude  of  the  figure.  Many  verses  were  made  on  this  statue  at  the  time 
of  its  erection.  The  figure  looking  towards  the  river,  which  was  then  open,  was  said  to  prognosticate 
the  king's  flight ;  this,  however,  is  not  more  probable  than  that  he  is  pointing  to  the  spot  where  his 
father  was  executed,  which  has  long  been  proved  a  vulgar  error.  At  the  accession  of  William  III.,  the 
stalue  was  not  removed. 

Jexneb,  Db .Kensington  Gardens    ....  Calder  Marshall. 

Kent,  Uukb  op Portland-place Gahagan. 

Millingav,  Robebt     .    .    .  West  India  Docks. 

Moobe,  Sib  John     ....  Christ's  Hospital. 

Myddelton,  Sib  Hugh    .    .  Islington-green Thomas. 

The  figure  of  the  knight  is  8  ft.  6  in.  in  height.  It  is  carved  in  white  Sicilian  marble,  and  represents 
Sir  Hugh  clothed  in  the  costume  of  the  latter  portion  of  the  16th  centurv,  with  badge  and  chain, 
holding  in  his  left  hand  a  scroll  containing  the  plan  of  his  great  and  useful  work,  labelled  with  the 
words  "  New  River."  The  statue  is  placed  upon  a  pedestal  of  gray  Devonshire  granite,  on  the  front  face 
of  which  is  carved  the  following  inscription :  "  Sir  Hugh  Myddelton,  born  1555,  died  1631."  The  base 
beneath  the  pedestal  is  of  Portland  stone,  and  on  the  right  and  left  of  the  pedestal  are  two  figures  of 
boys  partly  draped,  with  hair  entwined  with  bulrushes,  and  seated  on  pitchers,  from  which  latter  the 
water  pours  into  the  basins.  The  figures  and  basins  are  of  carved  Sicilian  marble.  The  statue  itself, 
was  given  by  Sir  S.  M.  Peto,  and  the  rest  provided  for  by  subscription,  the  New  River  Company  having 
given  501.  towards  the  cost.    The  whole  is  21  feet  high,  the  principal  statue  8£  feet. 

Nblson,  Lobd     ...        .  Trafalgar-square Baily. 

Baily's  statue  of  Nelson  has  been  likened  to  a  Greenwich  pensioner.  The  four  bronze  lions,  by  Sir 
Edwin  Landseer,  were  added  to  the  base  of  the  pedestal  in  1867.  Only  one  lion  was  modelled.  A  slight 
variation  In  treatment  enabled  the  artist  to  adapt  this  one  design  to  his  four  pedestals.  The  completed 
statue  is  not  much  above  the  size  of  a  large  full-grown  lion,  as  we  know  the  king  of  beasts  in  confine- 
ment. The  action  is  the  simplest,  but  grandest ;  one  natural  to  the  animal  and  right  royal ;  he  is 
couchant,  with  his  massive  arms  extended  straight  before  him ;  his  huge  head,  calm  in  the  conscious- 
ness of  might,  erect,  and  watchful,  but  with  no  anger  nor  defiance,  except  that  which  is  inseparable 
from  such  strength.  The  modelling  of  the  head  will  at  once  strike  every  one  who  sees  this  noble 
design.  Into  this  Sir  Edwin  has  thrown  all  his  unequalled  power  as  a  master  of  animal  physiognomy, 
and  his  rapid  pencil  never  rendered  the  subtle  curvatures  of  bony  and  muscular  surface,  the  delicacies 
of  light  and  shadow,  and  the  secrets  of  expression  with  more  consummate  skill  on  the  canvas  than  they 
are  here  given  by  modelling  tool  and  hand  together  in  the  clay.  The  difficulties  of  the  mane  and  the 
shaggy  fringe  which  extends  along  the  fore  part  of  the  animal  have  been  managed  with  great  judgment. 
They  are  treated  in  broad  and  simple  masses.  (Times.)  Even  this  memorial  was  not  commenced 
until  three-and-thirty  years  had  elapsed  from  the  day  on  which  were  borne  in  mournful  pomp,  past  this 
very  spot,  all  that  was  mortal  of  him 

"Whose  sacred  splendour,  and  whose  deathless  name, 
Shall  grace  and  guard  his  country's  naval  fame." 

Napieb,  Sib  C.  J Trafalgar-square Adams. 

Peel,  Sib  Robebt    ....  Cheapside Behnes. 

Pitt,  William Hanover-square Chantrey. 

Richabd  Cceub  de  Lion  .    .  Old  Palace-yard Marochetti. 

Midway  between  the  Peers'  entrance  to  the  Houses  of  Parliament  and  the  end  of  Westminster 
Hall,  and  in  a  line  with  the  centre  of  the  great  window  in  the  Hall.  It  is  placed  on  a  pedestal 
of  granite  about  8  feet  6  inches  high ;  in  which  two  panels  are  occupied  by  bronze  relievi.  The 
group  is  picturesque ;  but  the  hind-quarters  of  the  horse  and  the  fatiguing  attitude  of  the  man  un- 
successful— that  the  king  appears  to  be  sitting  on  his  horse  quietly,  just  as  a  groom  does  when  without 
si  saddle ;  whereas,  as  the  attitude  is  supposed  to  be  a  momentary  one,  the  figure  should,  with  uplifted 
arm,  have  been  raised  in  the  stirrups.  This  would  have  given  life  to  the  figure,  and  would  have  con- 
nected it,  as  it  were,  better  with  the  horse.  No  man  on  a  prancing  charger  would  be  lifting  up  hi* 
sword  in  a  supposed  dignified  position  with  his  feet  dangling  carelessly  in  the  stirrups.  Yet  this  work 
has  been  authoritatively  pronounced  by  the  Edinburgh  Bevietc  as  "  by  far  the  noblest  equestrian  statue 
in  England !"    The  pedestal  is  insignificant. 

Shakspeabe,  William     .    .  Drury-lane  Theatre  portico    .    .  Scheemakers. 

Executed  in  lead  by  Cheere,  "  the  leaden  figure-man  at  Hyde-park  Corner."  It  was  presented,  to  the 
.theatre  by  Mr.  Whitbread,  M.P. 

Sloane,  Sib  Hans  ....  Chelsea Rysbraeck. 

Victobia,  Qceen  ....  Ifoyal  Exchange Lough. 

Victobia,  Queen  ....  New  Record  Office Durham. 

"Watts,  Db.  Isaac  ....  Abney  Park  Cemetery   ....  Baily. 


760  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Statues.  Sites.  Sculptors. 

Wellington,  Duke  of     .    .  Green  Park  Arch Wyatts. 

This  stupendous  statue  was  modelled  by  Matthew  Cotes  Wyatt,  and  his  son  James  Wyatt,  at  Dudley- 
grove  House,  Harrow-road ;  it  was  commenced  in  1840,  and  occupied  three  years,  and  took  more  than 
100  tons  of  plaster.  It  represents  the  Duke  of  Wellington  upon  his  horse  "  Copenhagen,"  at  the  field 
of  Waterloo :  the  Duke  sat  for  the  portrait,  and  the  head  and  likeness  are  fine.  The  group  is  cast  in 
about  eight  pieces,  which  are  fastened  with  screws  and  fused  together,  30  men  being  often  employed  at 
one  time  upon  the  bronze.  It  was  conveyed  upon  an  immense  car,  drawn  by  40  horses,  to  the  Green 
Park  Arch,  Sept.  28,  1846 ;  it  was  raised  by  crabs.  The  entire  group  weighs  40  tons  :  is  nearly  30  feet 
high;  and  within  half  of  the  horss  eight  persons  have  dined.  The  girth  of  the  horse  is  22  ft.  8  in.; 
nose  to  tail  26  feet ;  length  of  head  5  feet ;  length  of  each  ear  2  ft.  4  in.  The  erection  of  this  group, 
which  cost  about  30,000?.,  originated  from  the  close  contest  for  the  execution  of  the  Wellington  statue 
in  the  City;  and  the  execution  of  both  statues  emanated  from  a  suggestion  of  Mr.  T.  B.  Simpson,  of 
the  Court  of  Common  Council,  Lime-street  Ward. 

Wellington,  Duke  of     .    .  Woolwich Milnes. 

Wellington,  Duke  of     .    .  Royal  Exchange Chantrey. 

Westminstbbs,  Old     .    .    .  Westminster  Broadway   .    .    •  Scott. 

This  monument  before  the  west  end  of  Westminster  Abbey,  to  the  "  old  Westminsters"  who  perished 
in  the  Crimean  war  is  effective  and  picturesque. 

William  III St.  James's-square Bacon,  jun. 

William  IV King  William-street      ....  Nixon. 

The  several  Statues  in  the  East  India  House,  Guildhall,  British  Museum,  Parliament  Houses,  St. 
Paul's  Cathedral,  Westminster  Abbey,  Boyal  Exchange,  and  other  public  buildings,  are  described  under 
their  respective  names.  •    •    •    ■ 

At  Newgate  Prison,  in  exterior  niches,  are  meritorious  statues.of  Concord  and  Liberty,  Mercy  and 
Truth,  Peace  and  Plenty,— from  the  Old  Gate. 

Yobk,  Duke  of York  Column      Westmacott. 

STOCK  EXCHANGE,  fully  described  at  pp.  331-333. 

STRAND  {TEE) 

EXTENDS  from  Charing  Cross  to  Temple  Bar  (1369  yards,  or  £  of  a  mile  49  yards),  [ 
and  was  "  probably  so  called  as  being  at  the  brink  of  the  Thames,  before  the  space 
now  built  on  was  gained  by  raising  the  ground"  (Hatton),  which  is  in  some  places 
20  feet  deep.  In  early  ages  this  was  the  great  thoroughfare  between  the  Court  and 
City,  and  the  Inns  of  Court  and  Westminster.  The  site  of  St.  Clement's  Danes  is 
recognised  in  tradition  as  "the  Danes'  churchyard,"  the  burial-place  of  the  son  of 
Canute  the  Great,  Harold  Harefoot.  Here,  close  by  the  Thames,  and  outside  the  City 
walls,  dwelt  together  as  fellow-countrymen  the  Danish  merchants  and  mariners ;  and 
their  church,  like  that  at  Aarhuus  in  Jutland,  and  Trondjeun  in  Norway,  was  dedicated 
to  St.  Clement,  the  seaman's  patron-saint.  (J.  J.  A.  Worsaae,  For.  F.S.A.)  Another 
early  building  was  the  Hermitage  of  St.  Catherine  at  Charing,  and  adjoining  or  oppo- 
site, the  Hospital  of  St.  Mary  Rounceval  (temp.  Henry  III.) ;  also,  the  palace  of  the 
Savoy,  and  the  first  church  of  St.  Mary,  were  built  before  the  14th  century.  A  peti- 
tion to  Edward  II.  (1315)  describes  the  footway  interrupted  by  thickets  and  bushes; 
and  in  1383  tolls  were  granted  for  paving  the  Strand  from  the  Savoy  to  Temple  Bar. 
The  south  side  was  occupied  by  the  mansions  of  the  nobility  and  prelates,  with  gardens, 
terraces,  and  water-stairs  down  to  the  Thames ;  but  the  spaces  between  the  mansions 
showed  the  river  :  whilst  on  the  north  side  were  the  gardens  of  the  Convent  of  West- 
minster, bounded  by  lanes  and  open  ground ;  the  village  of  St.  Giles,  and  the  church 
of  St.  Martin  in  the  fields;  and  Charing  Cross,  without  a  house  near  it.  One  of 
Canaletto's  pictures  shows  Charing  Cross,  Northumberland  House,  and  the  Strand, 
with  the  signs  in  front  of  the  houses.  Van  der  Wyngrerde's  View,  1543,  shows 
straggling  lines  of  houses  from  the  bar  (now  Temple  Bar)  to  the  Savoy,  and  beyond  it 
on  the  south  side ;  but  the  north  is  open  to  Convent  Garden ;  and  in  the  roadway  are 
St.  Clement's  and  St.  Mary's  churches,  and  the  Maypole,  near  upon  the  site  of  the 
Strand  Cross,  where  "the  justices  itinerants  sate  without  London"  (Stow).  Of  the 
Thames-bank  palaces  are  shown  Somerset-place,  the  Savoy,  and  Durham  House.  At 
this  time  the  Strand  was  crossed  by  three  water-courses  running  from  the  north  to  the 
Thames,  over  which  were  bridges ;  the  sites  of  two  are  denoted  by  Ivy-bridge-lane 
and  Strand-bridge-lane ;  and  the  remains  of  a  third  bridge  were  unearthed  in  1802,  a 


A  STRAND  MEMORY. 


pT   RELIC    OF   THE  PRE-ALDWYCJH 
BUILDINGS 


iNB. 


761 


he  Ivy-bridge  stream  formed  the  boundary 
er,  and  the  City  of  Westminster. 


<—• """    (By  a  Correspondent.)  '  tend  Mouse  is  described  at  page  554.     Next 

Mien,   some   twenty  years  ago,    the .  London1"  *he  °fficial  residence  of  the  Secretary  of 

iinty  Council  effected  their  great  demolition^' "I*  VT      ^iat  fi^" 
oiy,„     t         ,,        ,,.  ""enants'    Lodgings:"    here   Nelson   lodged. 

for     the     Kingsway      and     Aldwychrnc.,aw..  he^  with  his  mother  and  step- 

?rovements  they  left  a  few  buildings  stand-.hen  he  went  to  "a  private  school  in  St. 

the  loosestrife  and  coltsfoot,  in  a  semi-nster    School,  under  Camden,   then  junior 

nous  condition.  There  was  Matcham's  Hotel,r.  Benjamin  Franklin,  in  1771.     At  No.  27 

proscenium  of  a   theatre    (the   Olympic,  I   authors  of  the  Rejected  Addresses.     At 

e)    a  section  of  New  Inn,  and  so  on.     All  Mathews,  the  comedian :  his  father  was  a 

dually   disappeared,   with  a  solitary   excep-  Dr.  Adam  Clarke,  Rowland  Hill,  and  other 

l.     Ihis  was  the  stark,  untidy-looking  struc- 

L'IhfC,\f0r?'earS  haS  S£°\T0n  ^Strand  Soteh  described  at  pp.  442-3 

ement  almost  opposite  St.  Mary's  Church. 

upper  floors  have  been  hidden  behind  adver"- 

ment  hoardings.     The  ground-floor  shop  has 

n  used  as  a  fountain-pen  depot.     It  stands lbout  100  yards  cast  of  the  site  of  Charing-cross,  the 

lay  on  land  which  is  to  be  used  in  the  set- '0d uction.*  ^y  S.dw^-1i,^arry'  AlE-A-'  ""R  8canty 

•   nr>   nt    tv.„   -R.^i     r>    -ii-  ^u  "l  "'«  »«k  .  Pennant,  in  the  British  Museum ;  a  second  drawing 

tne   tfusli   Building    western   exten-  of  the  Society  of  Antiquaries.   The  height  to  the  top 

I  his  week  it  is  coming  down,  and  with  it  surmounted  is  about  70  feet;  the  materials  Portland 

vanish  the  very  last  of  a  "  auarter  "  which  sculptor,  Thomas  Earp.  In  the  upper  story  are  eight 

A  nn  a  <TTt>*t  *>4o  «*  T~  j  u  n-  ",u  >g  her  as  queen,  with  royal  insignia,  and  the  other 
n  a  great  aiea  of  .London,  breathing  the  the  feet  of  the  statues  are  eight  figures  of  kneeling 

ory  of  the  seventeenth  and  earlv  eighteenth  B  axe  copied  from  those  existing  on  the  crosses  of 

consist  of  three  varieties.  The  first  displays  three 
ms  of  England  by  King  Henry  II.  in  1154,  and  which, 
n  Victoria.  The  second  is  that  of  Ponthieu,  which 
oly  consists  of  three  bendlets  within  a  bordure.  The 
,  arranged  quarterly ;  and  the  representation  of  the 
stile  are  a  castle,  triple  towered;  and  those  of  Leon 
s  accords  with  the  arrangement  at  Northampton, 
tracery  in  the  lowest  stage  of  the  monument  is  com- 
jnting  alternately  the  castle  of  Castile  and  the  lion 
r  have  a  similar  design.  The  carving  generally  of  the 
asrees  with  the  best  remains  of  English  thirteenth- 
effectively  engraved  in  the  Illustrated  London  Newt, 


The  early 

559-560 :  it  was  part  of  the  Hungerford 
ons  and  costly  failure. 


passing  seems    worth    recalling 


unes.     Its 

fly- 

his  building  was  once,  I  believe,  part  of  the 
:h  and  Horses  Inn,  in  the  Strand.  When 
London  County  Council  clearance  began  it 
une  necessary  to  find  temporary  quarters  for 
rfc's  Wine  House,  which  to-day  is  settled 
n  in  the  east  corner  of  what  is  known  as 
coni  House,  but  was  built  as  the  new 
»ty  Restaurant.  Short's  had  originally 
tpied  premises  a  few  yards  west  of  where 
are  to-day.     At  the  time  of  the  clearance 


e  of  York  House,  originally  the  inn  of  the 
exchange  for  Suffolk  House,  Southwark,  by 


were  accommodated  by  the  L.C.C.  in  the  fary,  the  name  was  changed  to  York  House' 
now    at  last,   to  disappear,  t  Seal:  here  lived  Sir  Nicholas  Bacon;  and 

SmZed  flS    Jie^r0n1i  WUh  a  *ha™|n,  22nd  January,  1560-1.  At  York  House  he 
timbered  facade,  and  the  place  suited  its  Li  wflfi  *****  Lm  w™  ,  „i,p„  imnrn+m*A 


)ose  well  enough 
been  allowed  to 
!,  in  its  ruinous  condition. 


The  mystery  is  that  it 


al  was  taken  from  him  :  when  importuned 

, mansion,  Bacon  replied,  "For  this  you  will 

lonS  where  my  father  died,  and  where  I  first 

_'    ,  >reath,  if  so  please  God  and  the  king."     He 


did  not,  however,  return  to  York  House  after  his  release  from  the  Tower,  being 
forbidden  to  come  within  the  verge  of  the  court.  The  house  was  next  lent  to  Villiers, 
Duke  of  Buckingham,  who,  in  1624,  obtained  the  estate  by  grant  from  James  I.  The 
mansion  was  then  taken  down,  and  a  temporary  house  built  for  State  receptions,  and 
sumptuously  fitted  with  "  huge  panes  of  glass  "  (mirrors),  of  the  manufacture  of  which 
in  England  Buckingham  was  an  early  patron.  Near  the  middle  of  a  long  embattled 
wall,  fronting  the  Thames,  he  caused  to  be  erected,  in  1626,  a  rustic  Water-gate. 
After  the  Duke's  death,  in  1628,  York  House  was  leased  to  the  Earl  of  Northumberland. 
Here  was  a  fine  collection  of  pictures,  among  which  is  supposed  to  have  been  the  lost 
portrait  of  Prince  Charles,  by  Velasquez.  Here  also  was  the  collection  of  sculptures 
which  belonged  to  Rubens ;  and  in  the  garden  was  John  de  Bologna's  Cain  and  Abel. 
The  '*  superstitious  pictures "  were  sold  by  order  of  Parliament  in  1645  j  and  the 
house  was  given  by  Cromwell  to  General  Fairfax,  by  the  marriage  of  whose  daughter 
and  heiress  with  George,  second  Duke  of  Buckingham,  it  was  reconveyed  to  the 
Villiers  family.    /The  Duke  resided  here  subsequent  to  the  Restoration  :  but  in  1672 


760 


CUBIOSITIE 


Statues. 
Wellington,  Duke  op 

This  stupendous  statue  was  modelled  by  Matthev 
grove  House,  Harrow-road;  it  was  commenced  in  1" 
100  tons  of  plaster.  It  represents  the  Duke  of  We 
of  Waterloo :  the  Duke  sat  for  the  portrait,  and  th 
about  eight  pieces,  which  are  fastened  with  screws  a: 
one  time  upon  the  bronze.  It  was  conveyed  upon  a: 
Park  Arch,  Sept.  28,  1846 ;  it  was  raised  by  crabs, 
high ;  and  within  half  of  the  horse  eight  persons  hi 
nose  to  tail  26  feet;  length  of  head  5  feet;  length 
which  cost  about  30,000?.,  originated  from  the  close 
in  the  City;  and  the  execution  of  both  statues  em 
the  Court  of  Common  Council,  Lime-street  Ward. 


Wellington,  Duke  of 
Wellington,  Dttke  as 
Westminsters,  Old     . 


.  Woolwicl 
.  Royal  ExjJ 
.  WestminS 


This  monument  before  the  west  end  of  Westminst| 
in  the  Crimean  war  is  effective  and  picturesque. 

William  III St.  James? 

William  IV King  Wil| 

The  several  Statues  in  the  East  India  House,  Gui? 
Paul's  Cathedral,  Westminster  Abbey,  Royal  ExchaD  jSS] 
their  respective  names.  ... 

At  Newgate  Prison,  in  exterior  niches,  are  meritc 
Truth,  Peace  and  Plenty,— from  the  Old  Gate. 

Yobs,  Duke  op    ....    .  York  Col 


STOCK  EXCHANGE,  fullj 


STRAN1 


,  HE  most  exc< 
opportunities  e^ 
is  provided  by 
during  the  lasl 

_  policy  of  this  Houe 
all  Summer  merchandise  ra 
to  the  Autumn.     In  many 
down  to  figures  which  an 

REMARKABLE 
AVAILABLE 

DICKINS  &  JONES  Sale  las 
which  time  greater  bargains  t 
ber  that  even  at  Sale  time  it 
JONES  in  absolute  comfort  j 
always  delightfully  cool.  T 
ground  floor,  and  D1CK1JNS* 
knowledged  to  be  one  of  the  J 

COME  EARL1 

Early  buying  is  essential  to  obta 
personal  inspection  and  comparison 
only  in  this  way  can  the  excef. 
WHY    NOT    PAY    AN    E 


IARGAINSin 


EXTENDS  from  Charing  Cross  to  Tempi 
and  was  "  probably  so  called  as  being  i 
now  built  on  was  gained  by  raising  the  g 
20  feet  deep.  In  early  ages  this  was  the  £ 
City,  and  the  Inns  of  Court  and  Westmins 
recognised  in  tradition  as  "the  Danes'  ch 
Canute  the  Great,  Harold  Harefoot.  Here, 
walls,  dwelt  together  as  fellow-countrymen 
their  church,  like  that  at  Aarhuus  in  Jutland 
to  St.  Clement,  the  seaman's  patron-saint 
early  building  was  the  Hermitage  of  St.  Cat 
site,  the  Hospital  of  St.  Mary  Rounceval  (t 
Savoy,  and  the  first  church  of  St.  Mary,  we 
tion  to  Edward  II.  (1315)  describes  the  foe 
and  in  1383  tolls  were  granted  for  paving  thl 
The  south  side  was  occupied  by  the  mansions  of  the  nobility  and  prelates,  with  garder 
terraces,  and  water-stairs  down  to  the  Thames ;  but  the  spaces  between  the  mansions 
showed  the  river  :  whilst  on  the  north  side  were  the  gardens  of  the  Convent  of  West- 
minster, bounded  by  lanes  and  open  ground ;  the  village  of  St.  Giles,  and  the  church 
of  St.  Martin  in  the  fields;  and  Charing  Cross,  without  a  house  near  it.  One  of 
Canaletto's  pictures  shows  Charing  Cross,  Northumberland  House,  and  the  Strand, 
with  the  signs  in  front  of  the  houses.  Van  der  Wyngrerde's  View,  1543,  shows 
straggling  lines  of  houses  from  the  bar  (now  Temple  Bar)  to  the  Savoy,  and  beyond  it 
on  the  south  side ;  but  the  north  is  open  to  Convent  Garden ;  and  in  the  roadway  are 
St.  Clement's  and  St.  Mary's  churches,  and  the  Maypole,  near  upon  the  site  of  the 
Strand  Cross,  where  "  the  justices  itinerants  sate  without  London "  (Stow).  Of  the 
Thames-bank  palaces  are  shown  Somerset-place,  the  Savoy,  and  Durham  House.  At 
this  time  the  Strand  was  crossed  by  three  water-courses  running  from  the  north  to  the 
Thames,  over  which  were  bridges ;  the  sites  of  two  are  denoted  by  Ivy-bridge-lane 
and  Strand-bridge-lane ;  and  the  remains  of  a  third  bridge  were  unearthed  in  1802,  a 


ILLUSTRATED  BELOW 

103  K.  An  Inexpensive  and 
practical  WOOL  CARDIGAN 
in  Lace  stitch  anJ  with  a  broa  1 
rib  Colours:  White,  Klack. 
Saxe,     Grey,    Tabac,     Natural, 


ill 


STRAND.  761 


little  eastward  of  St.  Clement's  church.     The  Ivy-bridge  stream  formed  the  boundary 
between  the  Liberty  and  Duchy  of  Lancaster,  and  the  City  of  Westminster. 

Steand  :  South  Side. — Northumberland  House  is  described  at  page  554.  Next 
door,  upon  the  site  of  No.  1,  Strand,  was  the  official  residence  of  the  Secretary  of 
State,  where  Sir  Harry  Vane  the  elder  lived,  in  the  reign  of  Charles  I.  Northumber- 
land-court was  once  known  as  "  Lieutenants'  Lodgings :"  here  Nelson  lodged. 
Northumberland-street,  formerly  Hartshorne-lane :  here,  with  his  mother  and  step- 
father, a  bricklayer,  lived  Ben  Jonson  when  he  went  to  "  a  private  school  in  St. 
Martin's  Church ;"  and  next  to  Westminster  School,  under  Camden,  then  junior 
master.  Craven-street :  at  No.  7  lived  Dr.  Benjamin  Franklin,  in  1771.  At  No.  27 
died,  in  1839,  James  Smith,  one  of  the  authors  of  the  Rejected  Addresses.  At 
No.  18,  Strand,  was  born,  1776,  Charles  Mathews,  the  comedian :  his  father  was  a 
bookseller ;  and  his  shop  was  the  resort  of  Dr.  Adam  Clarke,  Rowland  Hill,  and  other 
Dissenting  ministers. 

Charing  Cross  Railway  Terminus  and  Hotel,  described  at  pp.  442-3.  The  early 
history  of  this  spot  is  glanced  at  in  pp.  559-560 :  it  was  part  of  the  Hungerford 
estate  :  it  was  long  a  site  of  sorry  speculations  and  costly  failure. 

The  beautiful  Gothic  cross  in  the  court-yard  is  about  100  yards  east  of  the  site  of  Charing-cross,  the 
Eleanor  memorial,  of  which  the  Dew  cross  is  a  reproduction,  by  Edward  M.  Barry,  A.B.A.,  from  scanty 
authorities,  namely,  a  rough  drawing  in  the  Crowle  Pennant,  in  the  British  Museum ;  a  second  drawing 
in  the  Bodleian  Library ;  and  a  third  in  the  library  of  the  Society  of  Antiquaries.  The  height  to  the  top 
of  the  gilt  copper  cross  by  which  the  memorial  is  surmounted  is  about  70  feet;  the  materials  Portland 
stone,  red  Mansfield  stone,  and  Aberdeen  granite;  sculptor,  Thomas  Earp.  In  the  upper  story  are  eight 
crowned  statues  of  Queen  Eleanor,  four  representing  her  as  queen,  with  royal  insignia,  and  the  other 
four  with  the  attributes  of  a  Christian  woman.  At  the  feet  of  the  statues  are  eight  figures  of  kneeling 
angels  in  prayer.  The  shields  in  the  lower  stage  are  copied  from  those  existing  on  the  crosses  of 
Waltham  and  Northampton,  and  on  the  tomb,  and  consist  of  three  varieties.  The  first  displays  three 
lions  passant  gardant,  first  assumed  as  the  Boyal  arms  of  England  by  King  Henry  II.  in  1154,  and  which 
still  forms  part  of  the  Boyal  arms  as  borne  by  Queen  Victoria.  The  second  is  that  of  Ponthieu,  which 
Queen  Eleanor  bore  in  right  of  her  mother,  and  simply  consists  of  three  bendlets  within  a  bordure.  The 
third  shield  represents  the  arms  of  Castile  and  Leon,  arranged  quarterly;  and  the  representation  of  the 
earliest  known  quartering  of  arms.  The  arms  of  Castile  are  a  castle,  triple  towered ;  and  those  of  Leon 
represents  a  lion  rampant.  The  order  of  the  shields  accords  with  the  arrangement  at  Northampton, 
Waltham,  and  Westminster.  The  diaper  above  the  tracery  in  the  lowest  stage  of  the  monument  is  com- 
posed of  octagonal  panels,  richly  undercut,  representing  alternately  the  castle  of  Castile  and  the  lion 
rampant  of  Leon:  the  pillow  and  couch  of  the  effigy  have  a  similar  design.  The  carving  generally  of  the 
crockets,  capitals,  canopies,  diapers,  gargoyles,  &c.,  agrees  with  the  best  remains  of  English  thirteenth- 
century  art.  The  cost  has  not  exceeded  1800J.  It  is  effectively  engraved  in  the  Illustrated  London  News, 
Dec.  9, 1865. 

No.  31,  Strand,  occupies  part  of  the  site  of  York  House,  originally  the  inn  of  the 
Bishop  of  Norwich ;  and  being  obtained  in  exchange  for  Suffolk  House,  Southwark,  by 
Heath,  Archbishop  of  York,  temp.  Queen  Mary,  the  name  was  changed  to  York  House. 
It  was  let  to  the  Lord  Keepers  of  the  Great  Seal :  here  lived  Sir  Nicholas  Bacon ;  and 
here  was  born  his  son,  Lord  Chancellor  Bacon,  22nd  January,  1560-1.  At  York  House  he 
kept  his  60th  birthday.  Here  the  Great  Seal  was  taken  from  him  :  when  importuned 
by  the  Duke  of  Lennox  to  part  with  the  mansion.  Bacon  replied,  "  For  this  you  will 
pardon  me :  York  House  is  the  House  where  my  father  died,  and  where  I  first 
breathed ;  and  there  will  I  yield  my  last  breath,  if  so  please  God  and  the  king."  He 
did  not,  however,  return  to  York  House  after  his  release  from  the  Tower,  being 
forbidden  to  come  within  the  verge  of  the  court.  The  house  was  next  lent  to  Villiers, 
Duke  of  Buckingham,  who,  in  1624,  obtained  the  estate  by  grant  from  James  I.  The 
mansion  was  then  taken  down,  and  a  temporary  house  built  for  State  receptions,  and 
sumptuously  fitted  with  "  huge  panes  of  glass  "  (mirrors),  of  the  manufacture  of  which 
in  England  Buckingham  was  an  early  patron.  Near  the  middle  of  a  long  embattled 
wall,  fronting  the  Thames,  he  caused  to  be  erected,  in  1626,  a  rustic  Water-gate. 
After  the  Duke's  death,  in  1628,  York  House  was  leased  to  the  Earl  of  Northumberland. 
Here  was  a  fine  collection  of  pictures,  among  which  is  supposed  to  have  been  the  lost 
portrait  of  Prince  Charles,  by  Velasquez.  Here  also  was  the  collection  of  sculptures 
which  belonged  to  Rubens ;  and  in  the  garden  was  John  de  Bologna's  Cain  and  Abel. 
The  "  superstitious  pictures "  were  sold  by  order  of  Parliament  in  1645 ;  and  the 
house  was  given  by  Cromwell  to  General  Fairfax,  by  the  marriage  of  whose  daughter 
and  heiress  with  George,  second  Duke  of  Buckingham,  it  was  reconveyed  to  the 
Villiers  family.    /The  Duke  resided  here  subsequent  to  the  Restoration  :  but  in  1672 


762  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

sold  the  estate  for  30,000?.,  when  the  mansion  was  pulled  down,  and  upon  the  grounds 
and  gardens  were  erected  houses  named  from  the  last  possessor  of  the  mansion : 
George-street  (now  York-buildings),  Villiers-street,  Duke-street,  Of-aMey,  Bucking- 
ham-street.    The  whole  estate  was  also  called  York-buildings. 

The  York  Buildings  Waterworks  Company,  for  supplying  the  West-end  of  London 
with  water,  was  one  of  the  bubbles  of  1720.  For  this  purpose,  however,  a  veritable 
steam-engine  was  constructed,  which  is  thus  described  in  the  Foreigner's  Guide  to 
London,  1720 : 

"  Here  you  see  a  high  wooden  tower  and  a  water-engine  of  a  new  invention,  that  draws  out  of  the 
Thames  above  three  tons  of  water  in  one  minute,  by  means  of  the  steam  arising  from  water  boiling  In  a 
great  copper,  a  continual  fire  being  kept  to  that  purpose ;  the  steam  being  compressed  and  condensed, 
moves,  by  its  evaporation,  and  strikes  a  counterpoise,  which  counterpoise  striking  another,  at  last  moves 
a  great  beam,  which,  by  its  motion  of  going  up  and  down,  draws  the  water  from  the  river,  which  mounts 
"through  great  iron  pipes  to  the  height  of  the  tower,  discharging  itself  there  into  a  deep  leaden  cistern ; 
and  thence  falling  through  other  large  iron  pipes,  fills  them  that  are  laid  along  the  streets,  and  so  con- 
tinuing to  run  through  wooden  pipes  as  far  as  Mar-bone  fields,  falls  there  into  a  large  pond  or  reservoir, 
from  whence  the  new  buildings  near  Hanover-square  and  many  thousand  houses,  are  supplied  with 
water.  This  machine  is  certainly  a  great  curiosity ;  and  though  it  be  not  so  large  as  that  of  Marly  in 
France,  yet,  considering  its  smallness  in  comparison  with  that,  and  the  little  charge  it  was  built  and  is 
kept  with,  and  the  quantity  of  water  it  draws,  its  use  and  benefit  is  much  beyond  that." 

The  Company  ceased  to  work  this  "fire-engine"  in  1731;  but  it  was  shown  for  several 
years  as  a  curiosity.  In  All  Alive  and  Merry,  or  the  London  Daily  Post,  April  18, 
1741,  it  is  stated  that  the  charge  of  working  the  machine,  "  and  some  other  reasons 
concurring,  made  its  proprietors,  the  York  Buildings  Company,  lay  aside  the  design ; 
and  no  doubt  but  the  inhabitants  in  this  neighbourhood  are  very  glad  of  it ;  for  its 
working,  which  was  by  sea-coal,  was  attended  with  so  much  smoke,  that  it  not  only 
must  pollute  the  air  thereabouts,  but  spoil  the  furniture."  The  failure  is  the  subject  of 
an  amusing  jeu  d'esprit,  entitled  "  The  York  Buildings  Dragons,"  reprinted  in 
Wright's  England  under  the  Souse  of  Hanover,  vol.  i.  Appendix.  Many  of  the 
wooden  water-pipes  have  been  taken  up  in  excavations  in  Brook-street,  Grosvenor- 
square,  and  in  other  places  along  the  line.  In  Buckingham-street,  in  1818,  were 
"the  Sea-water  Baths,"  which  were  supplied  by  a  vessel  with  water  from  below 
Southend.  See  James's  View  on  the  Thames,  in  the  Hampton  Court  Picture  Gallery. 
Evelyn  notes :  "  17th  Nov.  16S3. — I  tooke  a  house  in  Villiers-streete,  York-buildings,  for  the  winter, 
having  many  important  concerns  to  dispatch,  and  for  the  education  of  my  daughters." — Diary. 

Buckingham-street :  at  the  last  house  on  the  west  side  (since  rebuilt)  lived  Samuel 
Pepys  from  1684  to  1700  ;  and  No.  15,  on  the  east  side  opposite,  was  hired  for  Peter  the 
Great  in  1698  :  the  house  has  some  noble  rooms  facing  the  river :  here  the  Institution 
of  Civil  Engineers  once  met.  At  No.  14,  in  the  top  chambers,  lived  William  Etty, 
B.A.,  the  painter,  from  1826  to  1849.  At  the  south  end  of  Buckingham-street  remains 
the  Water-gate  built  for  York  House,  which  stood  a  short  distance  westward. 

The  Gate  is  of  Portland-stone :  on  the  northern  or  street  side  are  three  arches,  flanked  with  pilasters, 
supporting  an  entablature  and  four  balls;  above  the  keystones  of  the  arches  are  shields,  those  at  the 
sides  sculptured  with  anchors,  and  that  in  the  centre  with  the  arms  of  Villiers  impaling  those  of  the 
family  of  Manners.  Upon  the  frieze  is  the  Villiers  motto :  pidei  coticdxa  crux  (the  Cross  is  the 
Touchstone  of  Faith).  The  southern  or  river  front  has  a  large  archway,  opening  upon  steps  to  the 
water;  on  each  side  is  an  aperture,  divided  by  a  small  column,  and  partly  closed  by  balustrades.  Four 
rusticated  columns  support  an  entablature,  ornamented  with  scallops,  and  crowned  with  an  arched 
pediment,  and  two  couchant  lions  holding  shields,  on  which  are  sculptured  anchors.  In  the  pediment, 
within  a  scroll,  are  the  arms  of  Villiers,  viz,  on  a  cross,  five  escallops,  encircled  by  a  garter,  and  sur- 
mounted by  a  ducal  coronet;  at  the  sides  are  pendent  festoons.  This  Gate  has  been  ascribed  to  Inigo 
Jones ;  but  in  the  library  of  the  Soane  Museum,  in  an  "  Account  Book  of  Workes  done  by  Nicholas 
Stone,  sen.  Master-mason  to  King  James  I.  and  King  Charles,"  the  ninth  article  in  the  list  is,  "  The 
Water-gate  at  Yorke  House  hee  deesined  and  built,  and  ye  right  hand  Lion  hee  did  fronting  ye  Thames. 
Mr.  Kearne,  a  Jarman,  his  brother  by  marrying  bis  sister,  did  ye  Shce  Lion." 

The  Gate  is  approached  by  an  inclosed  terrace-walk,  planted  with  lime-trees. 

The  Adelphi,  east  of  York-buildings,  is  described  at  page  1.  John-street  occupies  the 
site  of  Durham  House,  which  extended  from  the  river  to  the  Strand.  It  was  built  by 
Thomas  Hatfield,  Bishop  of  Durham,  1345-1381,  and  continued  to  be  inhabited  by  the 
see  until  Bishop  Tunstall  exchanged  the  house  for  Coldharborough,  in  Thames-street. 
Durham  Place  was  used  as  a  mint  by  the  Seymours.  Edward  VI.  granted  the  place 
to  his  sister  Elizabeth.  It  next  became  the  residence  of  Dudley,  Earl  of  Northumber- 
land; and  here  was  celebrated  his  son's  marriage  with  Lady  Jane  Grey,  who,  on 
assuming  the  crown,  was  lodged  in  Durham  Place,  and  thence  escorted  to  the  Tower. 
The  estate  was  restored  by  Queen  Mary  to  Bishop  Tunstall ;  but  Elizabeth,  on  her 


STRAND.  763 

accession,  claimed  Durham  Place  as  one  of  the  royal  palaces,  and  granted  it  to  Sir 
Walter  Raleigh,  who  possessed  it  for  twenty  years,  but  surrendered  it  in  1603  to  the 
then  Bishop  of  Durham.  Aubrey  well  remembered  Raleigh's  "  study,  which  was  on  a 
little  turret  that  looked  into  and  over  the  Thames,  and  had  the  prospect,  which  is  as 
pleasant,  perhaps,  as  any  in  the  world."  The  stables  fronting  the  Strand  were  next 
taken  down,  and  upon  the  ground  was  built  the  New  Exchange  (see  pp.  330-331), 
demolished  in  1737  :  the  site  is  now  occupied  by  the  houses  Nos.  54  to  64  inclusive, 
the  banking-house  of  Coutts  and  Co.  being  the  centre  :  the  name  survives  in  Durham- 
street.  At  Coutts's  (No.  59),  formerly  in  St.  Martin's-lane,  the  sovereign  and  the  royal 
family  have  banked  (kept  cash),  commencing  with  Queen  Anne :  the  series  of  accounts 
is  preserved  entire. 

Beaufort-buildings  occupy  the  site  of  a  mansion  named  from  its  successive  owners, 
Carlisle  House  (Bishops  of  Carlisle) ;  Bedford  and  Russell  House  (Earls  of  Bedford)  ; 
Worcester  House,  from  its  next  occupant,  the  Marquis  of  Worcester,  who  wrote  the 
Century  of  Inventions ;  and  from  the  Marquis's  eldest  son,  created  Duke  of  Beaufort, 
Beaufort  House.  Lord  Clarendon  lived  here  while  his  house  was  building  at  the  top 
of  St.  James's-street ;  and  here,  in  1660,  was  married  Anne  Hyde,  the  Chancellor's 
daughter,  to  the  Duke  of  York,  according  to  the  Protestant  rites.  The  mansion  was 
taken  down,  and  a  smaller  house  built ;  which  being  burnt  down,  with  some  others,  in 
1695,  upon  the  ground  were  erected  the  present  Beaufort-buildings.  In  a  house  on  the 
site  was  born  Aaron  Hill,  the  dramatist,  1685.  At  the  east  corner,  upon  the  site  of 
No.  96,  Strand,  lived  Charles  Lillie,  who  sold  snuffs,  perfumes,  &c. ;  and  took  in  letters 
for  the  Tatler,  Spectator,  &c,  directed  to  him  at  the  desire  of  Steele. 

Mr.Rimmel  has  published  a  clever  book  on  Perfumery,  in  which  he  mentions,  besides  Lillie,  "one  Perry, 
residing  also  in  the  Strand,  at  the  corner  of  Burleigh-street.  He  was,  however,  reduced  to  '  blow  his 
own  trumpet ;'  and  in  a  paper  called  the  Weekly  Packet,  bearing  the  date  of  28th  December,  1718,  he 
vaunts,  besides  his  perfumes,  an  oil  drawn  from  mustard-seed,  which,  at  the  moderate  price  of  6d.  per 
ounce,  is  warranted  to  cure  all  diseases  under  the  sun." 

Nos.  101  and  102,  Strand,  Bies's  Divan,  a  large  decorated  room  for  cigars,  chess, 
and  coffee,  occupies  the  site  of  the  Fountain  Tavern,  noted  for  its  political  club,  and 
described  by  Strype ;  of  a  drawing  academy,  at  which  Conway  and  Wheatley  were 
pupils;  and  of  the  lecture-room  of  John  Thelwall,  the  political  elocutionist.  At 
No.  101,  lived  Rudolph  Ackermann,  the  printseller,  who  introduced  lithography  and 
"  the  Annuals "  from  Germany :  here  he  illuminated  his  gallery  with  Cannel  coal, 
when  gas-lighting  was  a  novelty. 

Adam-street  presents  a  handsome  specimen  of  the  embellished  street-architecture 
introduced  by  the  Brothers  Adam. 

Salisbury-street  and  Cecil-street  are  built  upon  the  site  of  Salisbury  House,  erected  in 
1602  by  Sir  Robert  Cecil,  Lord  High  Treasurer  to  James  L,  and  created  Earl  of  Salis- 
bury in  1605.  His  successor  divided  the  mansion  into  Great  Salisbury  House  and 
Little  Salisbury  House :  part  of  the  latter  was  taken  down,  and  upon  the  site  was 
erected  Salisbury-street,  rebuilt  as  we  now  see  it  by  Paine  the  architect ;  another 
portion  was  converted  into  the  Middle  Exchange,  with  shops  and  stalls,  and  a  flight  of 
steps  to  the  river ;  the  latter  was  taken  down  in  1696,  with  Great  Salisbury  House, 
and  upon  their  site  was  erected  Cecil-street.  In  Little  Salisbury  House  lived  the  third 
Earl  of  Devonshire,  the  pupil  and  patron  of  Hobbes,  who,  when  standing  at  the  gate 
a  few  days  after  Restoration-day,  was  kindly  recognised  by  Charles  II.  as  he  was 
passing  in  his  coach  through  the  Strand.  In  Cecil-street,  and  at  the  Globe  in  Salis- 
bury-street, lived  Partridge,  cobbler,  astrologer,  and  almanack-maker,  whom  Swift 
humorously  killed  in  1708,  though  he  actually  lived  till  1715 ;  but  Partridge's  Alma- 
nack (Merlinus  Liberatus)  continued  to  be  published ;  and  in  1723  advertised  "  Dr. 
Partridge's  night-drops,  night-pills,  &c.,  sold  as  before,  by  his  widow,  at  the  Blue  Ball 
in  Salisbury-street."  Opposite  Southampton-street  lived  the  Vaillants,  foreign  book- 
sellers, from  1686  until  late  in  the  last  century.  Fountain-court  is  named  from  the 
above  tavern ;  at  No.  3  in  this  court  died,  August  27,  1827,  Blake,  the  epic  painter, 
whose  love  of  religion  supported  him  through  a  life  of  uniform  poverty,  and  cheered 
his  death-bed. 

Savoy-steps  and  Savoy-street,  see  Savoy,  pp.  142-144,  722. 


764  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

At  No.  132,  Strand  (site  of  Wellington-street)  was  established  in  1740  the  first 
circulating  library  in  London,  by  Wright,  who  had  for  his  rivals  Samuel  Batlioe  and 
John  Bell.  Upon  the  site  of  No.  141  lived  Jacob  Tonson,  the  bookseller,  "  at  Shak- 
speare's  head,  over  against  Catherine-street,  in  the  Strand."  The  house  was  successively 
occupied  by  the  publishers,  Andrew  Millar,  Alderman  Thomas  Cadell,  and  Cadell  and 
Davies  :  Millar,  being  a  Scotchman,  adopted  the  sign  of  Buchanan's  Head,  a  painting 
of  which  continued  in  one  of  the  window-panes  to  our  day.  No.  142  occupies  the 
site  of  the  Turk's  Head  Coffee-house,  which  Dr.  Johnson  encouraged ;  "for  the 
mistress  of  it  is  a  good  civil  woman,  and  has  not  much  business."  No.  143  (now 
Southgate's  Fine  Arts  Auction  gallery),  site  of  the  first  office  of  the  Morning  Chronicle 
(see  Newspapers,  p.  616).  At  No.  147  was  published  the  Sphinx;  and  Jan.  2,  1828, 
No.  1  of  the  Athentzum,  edited  by  James  Silk  Buckingham,  the  traveller  in  the  East. 

At  No.  149,  long  known  to  the  collectors  of  shells,  minerals  and  fossils,  John  Mawe  kept  shop :  here 
have  been  sold  shells  at  51.,  101.,  and  201.  each,  now  to  be  bought  for  a  few  shillings.  Mr.  Mawe  published 
his  Travels  in  the  Diamond  District  of  Brazil,  1812;  A  Treatise  on  Diamonds;  and  several  elementary 
works  on  Mineralogy,  Conchology,  &c.  His  widow  was  succeeded  by  James  Tennant,  F.G.S.,  Professor 
of  Mineralogy  and  Geology  in  King's  College,  London. 

Somerset  Hottse  (see  pp.  735,  6).  King's  College  Gateway  (see  p.  276).  No. 
162,  Strand,  Somerset  Hotel :  at  the  bar  letters  were  left  for  the  author  of  Junius. 
No.  165,  Inglis's  Warehouse  for  Scots  Pills  until  1865  :  "  Dr.  Anderson's  pills,  sold 
by  J.  Inglis,  now  living  at  the  Golden  Unicorn,  over  against  the  Maypole  in  the 
Strand." — Advertisement \  1699. 

Strand-lane,  leading  to  the  Roman  Bath  (see  pp.  37  and  716),  is  the  site  of  Strand 
Bridge,  "  and  under  is  a  lane  or  way  down  to  the  landing-place  on  the  bank  of  the 
Thames "  (Stow).  Eastward  were  Chester's  Inn,  Strand  Inn,  and  the  Inn  of  the 
Bishop  of  Llandaff. 

No.  169,  Strand  Theatre,  previously  Barker's  Panorama  (see  Theatres). 

Arundel  Souse,  eastward,  originally  the  town-house  of  the  Bishops  of  Bath,  was 
wrested  from  them  in  the  reign  of  Edward  VI.  by  Lord  Thomas  Seymour,  High 
Admiral.  After  his  execution,  the  house,  with  messuages,  tenements,  and  lands  adjoin- 
ing, was  purchased  by  Henry  Fitz-Alan,  Earl  of  Arundel,  according  to  Strype,  for 
411.  6s.  8d.;t  -hence  it  was  called  Arundel  Palace.  Here  died,  25  Feb.,  1603,  the 
Countess  of  Nottingham,  after  her  interview  with  Queen  Elizabeth  to  implore  forgive- 
ness for  having  withheld  from  her  Essex's  ring.  Here  Thomas  Earl  of  Arundel  began 
to  assemble  the  celebrated  Arundelian  Marbles :  the  statues  and  busts  in  the  gallery  of 
the  mansion ;  the  inscribed  marbles  inserted  in  the  garden-walls ;  and  the  statues  placed 
in  the  garden :  altogether,  37  statues,  128  busts,  and  250  inscribed  marbles ;  besides 
sarcophagi,  altars,  and  fragments,  and  the  inestimable  gems.  The  sculpture  and 
picture  galleries  are  seen  in  the  backgrounds  of  Van  Somer's  portraits  of  the  Earl  and 
his  Countess. 

To  the  Earl's  "  liberal  charges  and  magnificence  this  angle  of  the  world  oweth  the  first  sight  of 
Greek  and  Roman  statues,  with  whose  admired  presence  he  began  to  honour  the  gardens  and  galleries 
of  Arundel  House,  and  hath  ever  since  continued  to  transplant  old  Greece  into  England." — Compleat 
Gentleman. 

"  March  1, 1664. — I  went  to  Arundel  House,  where  I  saw  a  great  number  of  old  Roman  and  Grecian 

statues,  many  as  big  again  as  the  life,  and  divers  Greek  inscriptions  upon  stones  in  the  gardens 

March  2. — I  went  to  Mr.  Foxe's  chamber  in  Arundel  House,  where  I  saw  a  great  many  pretty  pictures 
and  things  cast  in  brasse,  some  limnings,  divers  pretious  stones,  and  one  diamond  valued  at  eleven 
hundred  pound."— Journal  of  Mr.  E.  Browne:  MS.  Sloan.  1906. 

To  Arundel  House  the  Earl  brought  Hollar,  who  here  engraved  some  of  his  finest 
plates.  Thomas  Parr  ("  Old  Parr ")  was  conveyed  here  from  Shropshire  by  the  Earl, 
to  be  shown  to  Charles  I. :  becoming  domesticated  in  the  family  of  the  Earl  of  Arundel, 
his  mode  of  living  was  changed ;  he  fed  high,  drank  wine,  and  died  Nov.  14,  1635, 
after  he  had  outlived  nine  sovereigns,  and  during  the  reign  of  the  tenth,  at  the  age  of 
152  years  and  nine  months  :  his  body,  by  the  king's  command,  was  dissected  by  Harvey, 
who  attributed  Parr's  death  to  peripneumony,  brought  on  by  the  impurity  of  a  London 
atmosphere  and  sudden  change  in  diet. — Philosophical  Transactions,  1669. 

The  evidence  of  Parr's  extreme  age  is  not,  however,  documentary ;  and  the  birth  dates  back  to  a 
period  before  Parish  Registers  were  instituted  by  Cromwell. — Census  Report,  1851. 

Arundel  House  and  Marbles  were  given  back  at  the  Restoration,  in  1660,  to  the 


STRAND.  765 

grandson  of  the  earl,  Mr.  Henry  Howard,  who,  at  the  recommendation  of  Selden  and 
Evelyn,  gave  the  inscribed  marbles  to  the  University  of  Oxford ;  and  the  library  to 
the  Royal  Society,  who  met  at  Arundel  House  9  Jan.,  1666-7.  Evelyn  records  "  how 
exceedingly  the  corrosive  air  of  London  impaired"  the  marbles.  The  mansion  was 
taken  down,  1678 ;  and  upon  its  site  were  erected  Arundel,  Surrey,  Howard,  and 
Norfolk  streets.  Hollar's  print*  shows  the  courtyard  of  Arundel  House,  with  the 
great  hall,  and  gabled  buildings  with  dormer  windows,  but  mostly  low  and  mean. 
Sully  was  lodged  here  at  the  accession  of  James  I.  Surrey-street :  here,  on  the  east 
side,  in  a  large  garden-house  fronting  the  Thames,  lived  the  Hon.  Charles  Howard,  the 
eminent  chemist,  who  discovered  the  sugar-refining  process  in  vacuo.  In  Surrey-street 
died  William  Congreve,  the  dramatist,  Jan.  19,  l728-9. 

Norfolk-street :  here,  in  a  house  near  the  water-side,  lodged  Peter  the  Great  in 
1698,  and  was  visited  by  King  William ;  and  thence  he  went  in  a  hackney-coach  to 
dine  with  his  majesty  at  Kensington  Palace.  At  the  south-west  corner  lived  William 
Penn,  the  quaker;  and  subsequently,  in  the  same  house,  Dr.  Birch,  the  historian  of 
the  Royal  Society.  At  No.  8,  Samuel  Ireland,  originally  a  Spitalfields  silk-merchant, 
whose  son,  William  Henry  Ireland,  then  eighteen,  forged  the  Shakspeare  Papers  in 
1795 :  here  Dr.  Parr  and  Dr.  Warton  fell  upon  their  knees  and  kissed  the  Mss.,— 
"  great  and  impudent  forgery,"  as  Parr  subsequently  called  it.  In  Norfolk-street  also 
lived  Mountfort,  the  player  ;  and  in  Howard-street  lodged  Mrs.  Bracegirdle,  the  fasci- 
nating actress,  out  of  an  attempt  to  carry  oif  whom  arose  a  bloody  duel  between 
Mountfort  and  Lord  Mohun,  when  the  former  was  killed. 

Between  Arundel  and  Norfolk  streets,  in  1698,  lived  Sir  Thomas  Lyttleton, 
Speaker  of  the  House  of  Commons ;  and  next  door,  the  father  of  Bishop  Burnet  j  and 
the  house  within  memory  was  Burnet's,  the  bookseller,  a  collateral  descendant  of  the 
bishop. 

Arundel-street,  "  a  pleasant  and  considerable  street "  (Jlatton,  1708) : 

"  Behold  that  narrow  street  which  steep  descends, 
Wjiose  building  to  the  shining  shore  extends ; 
Here  Arundel's  fara'd  structure  rear'd  its  frame, — 
The  street  alone  retains  an  empty  name : 
Where  Titian's  glowing  paint  the  canvas  warm'd, 
And  Raphael's  fair  design  thejudgmentcharm'd, 
Now  hangs  the  bellman's  song,  and  pasted  here, 
The  coloured  prints  of  Overton  appear ; 
Where  statues  breath' d,  the  work  of  Phidias'  hands, 
A  wooden  pump  or  lonely  watch-house  stands." — Gay's  Trivia. 

On  the  east  side  was  the  Crown  and  Anchor  Tavern,  now  the  Whittington  Clttb 
(see  p.  260) ;  the  sign  was,  probably,  in  part  taken  from  the  anchor  of  St.  Clement's, 
opposite.  Strypc  mentions  it  as  "  a  large  and  curious  house."  Here  was  instituted 
the  Academy  of  Ancient  Music,  in  1710.  The  great  room  was  84  ft.  by  35  ft.  6  in. : 
here,  on  Fox's* birthday,  in  1798,  took  place  a  banquet  to  2000  guests.  Dr.  Johnson 
and  Boswell  occasionally  supped  hore ;  and  the  Royal  Society  dinners  were  held  here. 
The  very  handsome  Italian-fronted  houses  at  the  east  and  west  corners  of  Arundel- 
street  were  designed  by  H.  R.  Abraham. 

No.  191 ,  Strand,  was  the  shop  of  William  Godwin,  bookseller,  and  author  of  Caleb 
Williams,  the  Life  of  Chaucer,  &c. :  he  removed  here  from  Snow-hill. 

Milford-lane  is  named  from  -a  ford  over  the  Thames  at  the  extremity,  and  a  wind- 
mill  in  the  Strand,  near  the  site  of  St.  Mary's  Church,  and  shown  in  a  print  temp. 
James  I.  (See  Chron.  London  Bridge,  p.  395)  :  there  is  also  a  token  of  "  the  Wind- 
mill, withovt  Temple  Bar."  Sir  Richard  Baker,  the  chronicler,  lived  in  Milford-lane, 
1632-9.  (Cunningham's  Handbook,  p.  337.)  The  picturesque  tenements  on  the  east 
side,  Strand  end  of  the  lane,  principally  of  wood,  with  bay-windows,  are  described  in  a 
deed,  date  1694 :  they  were  taken  down  in  1852,  and  the  site  is  now  occupied  by 
"  Milford  House,"  the  office  of  The  Illustrated  London  News.  The  site  of  the 
Infants'  Schools  lower  down  in  the  lane  was  that  of  the  old  Rectory -house. 

*  Hollar's  View  of  London  from  the  roof  of  Arundel  House  is  very  rare :  an  impression  at  Sir  Mark 
Masterman  Sykes's  sale,  in  1824,  sold  for  111.  In  a  Household  Hook  of  Lord  William  Howard  (Belted 
Will)  are  "  his  expenses  whilst  living  at  Arundel  House;  and  amongst  them  a  payment  to  Mr. '  Shak- 
speare,' the  parish  scavenger." — Athenaeum,  No.  1403. 


766  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

In  Milford-lanc  is  the  Printing-office  of  H.  D.  Woodfall,  whose  grandfather,  in  Paternoster-row,  first 
printed  Junius'*  Letters.  The  business  was  first  established  about  the  year  1720,  in  Grocers'  Hall-court 
and  in  Angel-court,  Skinner-street,  George  Woodfall  printed  his  edition  of  Junius' 's  Letters,  3  vols.  8vo., 
the  first  book  printed  there.    The  latter  office  was  taken  down  in  1866. 

Essex-street  and  Devereux-court,  formerly  the  Outer  Temple,  are  named  from  Robert 
Devereux,  Earl  of  Essex,  Queen  Elizabeth's  last  favourite.  The  ground  was  leased  by 
the  Knights  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem  to  the  Bishops  of  Exeter,  who  built  here  a  town- 
house,  in  which  they  lived  till  the  Reformation,  when  it  passed  to  William  Lord  Paget ; 
next  to  Thomas  Howard,  Duke  of  Norfolk,  son  of  the  poetic  Earl  of  Surrey;  to  Dudley, 
Earl  of  Leicester ;  and  then  to  his  step-son,  the  Earl  of  Essex :  hence  it  was  successively 
called  Exeter  House,  Paget  House,  Norfolk  House,  Leicester  House,  and  Essex  House. 
But  the  chief  memory  of  the  place  is  associated  with  Essex  and  his  abortive  project 
for  the  overthrow  of  Elizabeth's  government :  he  fortified  the  house,  but  was  hemmed 
in  on  all  sides,  artillery  being  planted  against  the  mansion,  and  a  gun  mounted  upon  the 
tower  of  St.  Clement's,  when  Essex  and  his  followers  surrendered.  Here  was  born  and 
married  his  luckless  son,  whose  infamous  countess  was  implicated  in  the  poisoning  of  Sir 
Thomas  Overbury.  Pepys  describes  Essex  House  as  "  large  but  ugly  :"  it  was  tenanted 
by  persons  of  rank  till  after  the  Restoration,  when  it  was  subdivided  and  let.  The 
Cottonian  Library  was  kept  here  from  1712  to  1730,  in  the  portion  of  the  house  upon 
the  site  of  the  present  Essex-street  Chapel  (see  p.  220).  At  the  Essex  Head  Tavern, 
now  No.  40,  Dr.  Johnson  established,  the  year  before  he  died,  a  club  called  "  Sam's," 
from  the  landlord,  Samuel  Greaves,  who  had  been  servant  to  Mr.  Thrale.  In  this 
street  also  was  held  the  Robin  Hood  Society,  a  debating  club,  the  scene  of  Burke's 
earnest  eloquence ;  Goldsmith  was  also  a  member. 

At  the  bottom  of  the  street  is  the  archway  of  the  water-gate  of  Essex  House.  In  a  view  of  the 
Thames,  showing  the  Frost  Fair,  in  the  reign  of  Charles  II.,  the  King,  Queen,  and  others  of  the  court, 
are  seen  coming  down  the  Temple  Garden  stairs,  to  witness  the  sports  on  the  ice ;  and  in  part  of  the 
background  is  the  archway,  and  beyond  the  archway  are  the  gables  and  other  parts  of  Essex  House.  A 
garden,  with  terraces,  is  between  the  arch  and  the  river. 

No.  213,  Strand,  was  George's  Coffee-house  (see  p.  264).  Devereux-court :  here  was 
the  Grecian  Coffee-house  (see  p.  264).  No.  217,  Strand,  was  the  house  of  Snow,  the 
wealthy  goldsmith : 

"Disdain  not,  Snow,  my  humble  verse  to  hear; 
Stick  thy  black  pen  awhile  behind  thy  ear. 
****** 
0  thou,  whose  penetrative  wisdom  found 
The  South-sea  rocks  and  shelves,  where  thousands  drown'd ! 
When  credit  sunk,  and  commerce  gasping  lay, 
Thou  stood'st,  nor  sent  one  bill  unpaid  away. 
When  not  a  guinea  chink'd  on  Martin's  boards, 
And  Atwell's  self  was  drain'd  of  all  his  hoards, 
Thou  stood'st  (an  Indian  king  in  size  and  hue) : 
Thy  unexhausted  shop  was  our  Peru." — Gay. 

The  firm,  originally  Snow  and  Walton,  was  one  of  the  oldest  banking-houses 
in  London,  second  only  to  Child  and  Co.,  who  date  from  1640.  At  the  period  of  the 
Commonwealth,  Snow  and  Co.  carried  on  the  business  of  pawnbrokers,  under  the  sign 
of  the  "  Golden  Anchor."  The  firm  possessed  a  book,  dated  1672,  showing  that  the  mode 
of  keeping  accounts  was  then  in  decimals.  The  banking-firm,  subsequently  Strahan 
(Sir  John  Dean),  Paul,  and  Bates  suspended  payment  in  1855. 

Palsgrave-place  was  the  site  of  Palsgrave  Head  Tavern,  set  up  in  compliment  to  the 
Palsgrave  Frederic,  afterwards  King  of  Bohemia,  affianced  to  the  Princess  Elizabeth  in 
the  old  banqueting-house  at  Whitehall,  Dec.  27,  1612.  Hard  by  was  Heycock's  Or- 
dinary, much  frequented  by  ParUament-men  and  gallants. 

Temple  Bar  will  be  described  hereafter.  The  west  side,  until  numbered  witb  the 
Strand,  was  called  on  tokens,  "  Without  Temple  Barr." 

Strand  :  Noeth  Side. — No.  238  was  the  last  of  the  "  Bulk  shops,"  and  was  kept 
by  Crockford,  the  fishmonger ;  removed  in  1846  (see  a  sketch  of  him,  at  p.  247). 

Ship-yard  was  the  site  of  the  Ship  Inn,  mentioned  in  a  grant  to  Sir  Christopher 
Hatton  in  1551.  There  is  a  token  of  the  tavern,  date  1649 ;  and  it  was  standing  in 
1756.  John  Reynolds,  a  cook,  issued  a  token  (a  fox  stealing  a  goose)  in  Ship-yard  in 
1666.     An  old  house,  engraved  in  Wilkinson's  Londina  Illustrata,  is  stated  to  have 


STRAND.  767 


been  the  residence  of  Elias  Ashmole,  the  antiquary.  Faithorne  published  his  Art  of 
Graving  and  Etching  "  at  his  shop  next  to  ye  signe  of  the  Drake,  without  Temple  barr, 
1662."  In  the  Strand,  besides  the  Ship,  were  the  Swan,  the  Crown,  the  Robin  Hood, 
the  White  Hart,  the  Hear  and  Harrow,  the  Holy  Lamb,  and  the  Angel.  Sir  John 
Denham,  the  poet,  when  a  student  at  Lincoln's  Inn,  in  1635,  in  a  drunken  frolic,  with 
a  pot  of  ink  and  a  plasterer's  brush,  blotted  out  all  the  signs  between  Temple  Bar  and 
Charing  Cross,  which  cost  Denham  and  his  comrades  "  some  monies." — J.  H.  Burn. 

From  opposite  Ship-yard  extended  an  obtuse-angled  triangle  of  buildings,  the  eastern 
line  formed  by  the  vestry-room  and  almshouses  of  St.  Clement's,  and  the  sides  by  shops; 
the  whole  called  Butcher-row,  from  a  flesh  market  granted  here  21  Edward  I.,  at  first 
shambles,  but  subsequently  houses  of  wood  and  plaster;  one  of  these,  a  five-storied 
house,  temp.  James  L,  was  inhabited  by  Count  Beaumont,  the  French  court  ambassador: 
bere  the  Duke  de  Sully  was  lodged  for  one  night  in  1603,  until  "  the  palace  of  Arundel" 
could  be  prepared  for  him.  Beaumont's  house-front  bore  roses  and  crowns  and  fleurs-de- 
lis,  and  the  date  1581.  From  a  Bear  and  Harrow  orgy,  Nat  Lee,  the  dramatic  poet, 
was  returning  to  Duke-street,  when  he  fell,  "  overtaken  with  wine,"  in  Clare-market, 
and  died.  Here  also  was  Clifton's  eatinghouse,  a  dining-place  of  Dr.  Johnson.  But- 
cher-row was  removed  in  1802,  when  were  built  the  opposite  crescent-like  houses,  named 
Picket-street  from  the  projector  of  the  improvement,  Alderman  Picket.  During  the 
sewers'  works,  eastward  of  the  church,  at  several  feet  depth,  was  discovered  an  ancient 
stone  bridge  of  one  arch.  The  almshouses  were  removed  in  1790 ;  here  is  a  well  190 
feet  deep. 

In  a  house  in  Butcher-row,  east  of  Clement's  Inn,  by  the  confession  of  Winter,  he,  with  Catesby, 
Wright,  and  Guy  Fawkes,  met,  and  there  administered  the  oath  of  secresy  to  the  conspirators,  and  after- 
wards received  the  sacrament  in  the  next  room. — The  Gunpowder  Treason,  reprinted  1679. 

The  Foregate  led  to  Clement's  Inn  and  Clemenfs-lane,  where  lived  Sir  John  Trevor, 
cousin  to  Lord  Chancellor  Jeffreys,  and  twice  Speaker  of  the  House  of  Commons.  Bos- 
well-court  occupied  the  site  of  a  mansion  of  a  Mr.  Boswell ;  here  lived  Lady  Raleigh, 
the  widow  of  Sir  Walter ;  Lord  Chief  Justice  Ly ttleton,  and  Sir  Richard  and  Lady 
Fanshawe.  In  New-court  was  the  Independents'  chapel  of  Burgess,  Bradbury,  and 
Winter.  The  houses  from  Temple  Bar  to  beyond  Clement's  Inn  were  taken  down  in 
1867  for  the  site  of  the  New  Law  Courts  (see  p.  510). 

St.  Clemenfs  Vestry-hall,  Picket-street,  contains  the  altar-piece  (St.  Cecilia)  painted 
by  Kent  for  St.  Clement's  Church,  whence  it  was  removed,  in  1725,  by  order  of  Bishop 
Gibson,  on  the  supposition  that  the  picture  contained  portraits  of  the  Pretender's  wife 
and  children :  it  was  first  removed  to  the  Crown  and  Anchor  tavern,  and  next  to  the 
old  vestry  room  (see  St.  Clement's  Danes,  p.  158.) 

Wych-street,  leading  to  Drury-lane  (see  p.  315) :  the  south  side  retains  some  pic- 
turesque house-fronts.     Opposite  is  New  Inn  (p.  473). 

Holywell-street  is  named  from  one  of  the  holy  springs  which  Fitzstephen  described 
as  "  sweete,  wholesome,  and  cleere ;  and  much  frequented  by  schollars  and  youth  of 
the  citie  in  summer  evenings,  when  they  walk  forth  to  take  the  aire."  The  "  holy  well" 
is  stated  to  be  that  under  the  Old  Dog  tavern,  No.  24.  Here  was  the  old  entrance  to 
Lyon's  Inn.  Holywell-street  was,  in  Strype's  time,  inhabited  by  "  divers  salesmen  and 
piece-brokers,"  who  have  nearly  deserted  it :  two  of  their  signs  long  remained ;  the  Indian 
queen,  said  to  have  been  painted  by  Catton,  R.A. ;  and  a  boldly-carved  and  gilt  crescent 
moon.  The  street  is  now  tenanted  by  dealers  in  old  clothes,  keepers  of  book-stalls,  and 
publishers  and  vendors  of  cheap  and  low  books :  a  few  lofty  gabled  and  bayed  house- 
fronts  remain.  Newcastle-street  (formerly  Magpye-alley)  was  named  from  the  ground- 
landlord,  John  Holies,  Duke  of  Newcastle.  No.  313  Strand,  was  formerly  the  One 
Bell  livery-stables.  The  Tatler,  March  9,  1710,  announced  a  stage-coach  "  twice  a 
week  from  the  One  Bell  in  the  Strand  to  Dorchester,  the  proper  time  for  writing  pas- 
torals now  drawing  near." 

No.  317,  corner  of«Drury-court,  is  thought  to  be  the  locality  of  "  the  Forge  in  St. 
Clement's  Danes,"  referred  to  in  the  account  of  the  Shrievalty  Tenure  custom,  at 
pp.  508-509 ;  namely,  the  site  of  the  forge  of  a  farrier,  the  father  of  Nan  Clarges, 
afterwards  Duchess  of  Albemarle.  Aubrey  (Life  of  Monk,  1680),  says :  "  The  shop  is 
still  of  that  trade ;  the  corner-shop,  the  first  turning  on  ye  right  hand  as  you  come  out 


768  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  the  Strand  into  Drury-lsme  :  the  house  is  now  built  of  brick."  To  this  Mr.  Bray- 
ley,  in  his  Londiniana,  1829,  adds  a  conjectural  MS.  note :  "  the  house  alluded  to  is, 
probably,  that  at  the  right  hand  corner  of  Little  Drury-lane,  now  a  butcher's,  and 
whitened  over."  Curiously  enough,  the  house  in  the  court,  next  the  corner  house, 
No.  317,  has  been  for  very  many  years  that  of  a  whitesmith,  with  its  forge. 

"Where  Drury-lane  descends  into  the  Strand" 

"the  Maypole  in  the  Strand,"  was  raised  by  the  farrier  to  commemorate  his  daughter's 

good  fortune. 

The  Maypole  set  up  at  the  Restoration  was  conveyed  to  this  spot,  April  14, 1661,  with  great  ceremony, 
a  streamer  flourishing  before  it,  and  drums  and  trumpets,  and  the  acclamations  of  the  people.  This 
Maypole,  134  feet  high,  was  in  two  pieces,  which  being  joined  together  and  hooped  with  iron,  the  crown 
and  vane,  and  the  king's  arms,  richly  gilded,  were  placed  on  the  head  of  it;  and  a  large  top,  like  a 
balcony,  about  the  middle  of  it.  It  was  raised  by  twelve  seamen,  "  by  cables,  pullies,  and  other  tacklins, 
with  six  great  anchors ;"  and  "  in  four  hours'  space  it  was  advanced  upright,  as  near  hand  as  they  could 
guess  where  the  former  one  stood ;  but  far  more  glorious,  bigger,  and  higher  than  ever  any  one  that 
stood  before  it."  It  was,  however,  broken  by  a  high  wind  about  1672;  and  the  remaining  portion,  being 
grown  old  and  decayed,  was  taken  down  in  1713. 

Several  traders'  and  tavern  tokens  bear  on  the  reverse  this  Maypole,  with  a  small 
building  at  the  foot.  Where  St.  Mary's  Church  now  is,  was  the  first  stand  for  hackney- 
coaches,  erected  in  1634 ;  after  the  church  was  built,  the  stand  was  removed  a  short 
distance  westward,  and  lasted  until  March,  1853. 

No.  332,  Morning  Chronicle  Office,  was  formerly  the  White  Swan  tavern.  Here, 
in  a  lodging,  to  be  near  his  patron,  the  Earl  of  Clarendon,  in  Somerset  House,  lived 
Dr.  William  King,  who  wrote  the  Art  of  Cookery,  a  poem,  &c.  He  was  the  friend  of 
Swift.  King  was  luxurious  and  improvident,  and  died  in  poverty  in  1712,  in  the 
above  house.  There  is  a  token  of  the  White  Swan  in  the  Beaufoy  collection,  and  the 
sign  post,  with  its  swinging  sign-board,  with  a  decorated  iron  frame,  is  shown  in 
June's  ludicrous,  but  scarce,  print  of  the  Lady's  Disaster,  1746.  At  No.  340,  Strand, 
July  15, 1845,  died  John  Augustine  Wade,  the  popular  lyric  poet  and  musical  composer. 

Catherine-street:  on  the  west  was  New  Exeter  'Change,  designed  by  Sydney 
Smirke,  with  house-fronts  temp.  James  I.  {see  p.  20) ;  now  the  site  of  the  Strand 
Mtrsic  Hail  (see  p.  608).  Brydges-street,  Drury-lane  Theatre.  No.  346  Strand, 
Doily's  Warehouse,  rebuilt  in  fanciful  Italian  style,  by  Beazley,  in  1838,  occupies  the 
site  of  Wimbledon  House,  built  by  Sir  Edward  Cecil,  and  burnt  down  in  1628.  Dry- 
den  names  "  Doily  petticoats;"  Steele  had  "a  Doily  suit"  (Guardian,  No.  102);  and 
Gay  a  "  Doily  habit"  (Trivia,  book  i.) ;  and  Doily  introduced  the  small  wine-glass 
napkin  which  still  bears  his  name. 

Wellington-street  North:  on  the  west  side  is  the  Lyceum  Theatre,  rebuilt  by 
Beazley.  In  Exeter-street,  at  a  staymaker's,  was  the  first  London  lodging  of  Dr. 
Johnson  (1737),  where  he  lived  upon  4|d.  per  day.  When  Dr.  Johnson  first  came  to 
London  with  his  pupil  Garrick,  they  borrowed  five  pounds,  on  their  joint  note,  of  Mr. 
Wilcocks,  the  bookseller,  Strand*  " Near  the  Savoy  in  the  Strand,"  east  of  Exeter 
'Change,  was  the  Canary  House,  probably  also  Cary  House,  noted  for  its  sack  "  with 
abricot  flavour"  (Dryden's  Wild  Gallant,  1669);  and  Pepys  mentions  "Cary  House, 
a  house  of  entertainment."  At  No.  352  Strand  was  born,  Jan.  29,  1798,  Henry  Neele, 
the  poet,  the  son  of  the  able  map  and  heraldic  engraver.  At  No.  355,  John  Liin- 
bird  commenced  publishing  the  Mirror,  No.  1,  Nov.  2, 1822.  Westward  was  Exeteb 
'Change,  described  at  p.  335. 

"  On  the  demolition  of  the  building  in  1830,  the  writer  saw,  cut  in  the  stone  architrave  above  the 
window  at  the  east  end, '  Exkteb  Change.  1670,'  a  date  much  earlier  in  its  adaptation  than  is  generally 
supposed." — J.  3.  Burn. 

In  one  of  the  offices  abutting  on  the  'Change  was  published  the  Literary  Gazette, 
No.  1,  Jan.  25,  1817.     Exeter-street  and  Burleigh-street  are  named  from  their  being 

*  The  following  were  Dr.  Johnson's  places  of  residence  in  and  near  London :  1.  Exeter-street,  off 
Catherine-street,  Strand  (1737).  2.  Greenwich  (1737).  3.  Woodstock-street,  near  Hanover-square 
(1737).  4.  Castle-street,  Cavendish-square,  No.  6  (1738).  5.  Strand.  6.  Boswell-court.  7.  Strand  again. 
8.  Bow-street.  9.  Holborn.  10.  Fetter- lane.  11.  Holborn  a^ain  (at  the  Golden  Anchor,  Holbora  liars, 
1748).  12.  Gouerh-square,  No.  I7'(1748).  13.  Staple  Inn  (1758).  14.  Gray's  Inn.  15.  Inner-Temple- 
lane,  No.  1  (1760).  16.  Johnson's-court,  Fleet-street,  No.  7  (1765).  17.  Bolt-court,  Fleet-street,  No.  8 
(1776).— See  BosweU's  Life. 


TATTERS  ALL'S.  769 


parts  of  the  site  of  Burleigh  and  Exeter  House.     No.  372,  Strand,  Exeteb  Hail, 
is  described  at  p.  334. 

Southampton-street  was  named  in  compliment  to  Lady  Rachel,  daughter  of  Thomas 
Wriothesley,  Earl  of  Southampton,  and  wife  of  William  Lord  Russell.  Near  the  foot 
of  the  street  stood  Bedford  House,  the  town  mansion  of  the  Earl  of  Bedford :  it  was 
principally  built  of  wood,  and  remained  till  1704 ;  the  garden  extended  northward,  its 
wall  bounding  Covent  Garden  Market.  In  Southampton-street  is  a  bar-gate ;  the 
Duke  of  Bedford  having  power  to  erect  walls  and  gates  at  the  end  of  every  thorough- 
fare on  his  estate.  Bedford-street  occupies  part  of  the  site.  Between  these  streets, 
east  and  west,  is  Maiden-lane,  where,  in  a  second  floor,  lodged  Andrew  Marvell,  M.P. 
for  Hull,  when  he  refused  a  treasury-order  for  1000Z.  brought  to  him  by  Lord  Danby 
from  the  King.  At  a  perruquier's,  with  the  sign  of  the  White  Peruke,  lodged  Voltaire 
during  part  of  his  three  years'  residence  in  England.  Some  of  his  correspondence  with 
Swift  is  dated  from  this  house. 

At  No.  26,  Maiden-lane,  corner  of  Hand-court,  was  born,  in  1773,  J.  M.  W.  Turner,  B.A.,  the  land- 
scape-painter. His  lather  was  a  hair-dresser ;  and  the  painter,  when  a  boy,  coloured  prints  lor  John  K. 
Smith,  of  Maiden-lane,  a  mezzotinto  engraver.  Turner  removed  to  apartments  in  Hand-court,  in 
the  Lune,  and  during  his  residence  here  he  exhibited  at  the  Royal  Academy  fifty-nine  pictures. 

Opposite  was  the  Cyder  Cellar,  opened  about  1730 :  a  curious  tract,  Adventures 
Underground,  1750,  contains  strange  notices  of  this  "  midnight  concert-room"  (Notes 
and  Queries,  No.  28) :  it  was  a  haunt  of  Professor  Porson's.  At  No.  367,  Strand,  lived 
Deville,  the  lamp-manufacturer,  and  student  of  phrenology :  when  young  he  was 
employed  by  Nollekens,  the  sculptor,  to  make  for  him  casts  from  moulds ;  which  shows 
the  phrenologist  to  have  early  developed  his  abilities  in  this  direction.  At  No.  485, 
the  Queen's  Head  public-house,  lodged  Thomas  Parr,  when  he  was  brought  to  Lon- 
don to  be  shown  to  Charles  I. ;  as  stated  to  J.  T.  Smith,  in  1814,  by  a  person  then 
aged  90,  to  whom  the  house  was  pointed  out  by  his  grandfather,  then  88. 

No.  411,  Strand,  the  Adelphi  Theatre,  Beazley  architect  (see  Theatbes).  No.  429, 
built  for  the  Westminster  Fire  and  Life  Insurance  Office,  by  Cockerell,  R.A.,  had  a 
facade  of  great  originality :  the  figures  (aquarii)  over  the  principal  windows  beauti- 
fully characteristic.  No.  430,  West  Strand  commences :  King~  William-street  denotes 
the  reign  in  which  the  improvements  were  made  (see  Chabing  Cboss  Hospital, 
p.  436).     No.  437,  Lowtheb  Abcade  (see  p.  20). 

No.  448,  Electric  Telegraph  Office.  Upon  the  roof  is  the  Electric  Time  Signal 
Ball,  completed  in  June,  1S52,  when  the  following  were  its  details : — 

The  signal  consists  of  a  zinc  ball,  6  feet  in  diameter,  supported  by  a  rod,  which  passes  down  the 
centre  of  the  column,  and  carries  at  its  base  a  piston,  which,  in  its  descent,  plunges  into  a  cast-iron  air- 
cylinder;  the  escape  of  the  air  being  regulated  so  as  at  pleasure  to  check  the  momentum  of  the  ball, 
and  prevent  concussion.  The  raising  of  the  ball  half-mast  high  takes  place  daily  at  10  minutes  to  1 ;  at 
6  minutes  to  1  it  is  raised  to  its  full  height ;  and  at  1  precisely,  and  simultaneously  with  the  fall  of  the 
ball  at  Greenwich,  it  is  liberated  by  the  galvanic  current  sent  from  the  Observatory  through  a  wire  laid 
for  that  purpose.  The  same  galvanic  current  which  liberates  the  ball  in  the  Strand,  moves  a  needle 
upon  the  transit-clock  at  the  Observatory :  the  time  occupied  by  the  transmission  being  about  l-3000th 
part  of  a  second ;  and  by  the  unloosing  of  the  machinery  which  supports  the  ball,  less  than  one-fifth 
pirt  of  a  second.  The  true  moment  of  1  o'clock  is,  therefore,  indicated  by  the  first  appearance  of  the 
line  of  light  between  the  dark  cross  over  the  ball  and  the  body  of  the  ball  itself.  In  the  event  of  acci- 
dental failure  at  1  o'clock,  the  ball  is  raised  half-mast  high,  and  dropped  at  2  o'clock.  When  fully  raised 
the  ball  is  129  feet  above  the  level  of  the  Thames,  and  falls  10  feet. 

No.  452,  the  Golden  Cross  Hotel :  the  old  coaching  inn  stood  further  west.  "  I 
often,"  says  Lamb,  "shed  tears  in  the  motley  Strand,  for  fulness  of  joy  at  so  much 
life."     (Letters,  vol.  i.) 

TATTEBSALL'S, 

THE  celebrated  sporting  rendezvous  and  auction  mart  for  horses,  known  as  the 
"  Corner"  (i.e.,  at  Hyde  Park  Corner),  in  the  rear  of  St.  George's  Hospital,  and 
approached  from  Grosvenor-place,  was  established  by  Richard  Tattersall,  in  1766,  who 
leased  the  ground,  then  an  open  place  between  Piccadilly  and  the  hamlet  of  Knights- 
bridge,  from  Earl  Grosvenor.  Tattersall,  who  had  been  stud-groom  to  the  second  and 
last  Duke  of  Kingston,  in  1779,  founded  his  fortune  by  purchasing  from  Lord  Boling- 
broke,  then  in  difficulties,  the  celebrated  stud-horse,  Highflyer.  Tattersall  had  pre- 
viously sold  off  the  Duke  of  Kingston's  stud;  and  an  injunction  was  applied  for 

3  D 


770  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

December  14,  1774,  to  restrain  payment  of  the  money  to  the  Duchess,  then  under 
indictment.  Tattersall  is  alluded  to  in  the  Belle's  Stratagem,  first  performed  1782 : 
"  Flutter  :  Oh,  yes !  1  stopped  at  Tattersall's  as  I  came  by,  and  there  I  found  Lord 
James  Jessamy,  Sir  William  Wilding,"  &c.  The  Prince  of  Wales  was  a  constant 
patron  of  Tattersall's,  where  was  a  bust  of  his  Royal  Highness  in  his  eighteenth  year. 
Here  the  Jockey  Club  erected  their  club-house,  elaborately  decorated  by  Italian  artists : 
the  Duke  of  Queensbury  ("  Old  Q.")  and  Selwyn  were  members  of  the  club.  Richard 
Tattersall,  of  whom  two  portraits  exist,  died  January  20,  1795,  aged  72 ;  he  was  suc- 
ceeded in  his  business  by  his  only  son  Edmund,  who  carried  it  on  until  his  death,  Jan. 
23,  1810 :  his  son,  Edmund,  who  founded  the  foreign  trade,  then  succeeded ;  who, 
dying  Dec.  11,  1851,  the  business  came  to  its  present  proprietor.  In  1852,  Tattersall's 
annual  average  of  horses  brought  to  the  hammer  was  estimated  at  45,000?. ;  there 
were  97  stalls  and  13  loose  boxes,  or  standing  for  110.  In  the  counting-house  hung 
the  regulations,  dated  1780.  The  owner  of  a  Derby  winner  some  few  years  back  had 
to  receive  about  70,000?.  from  the  Ring,  and  on  the  settling-day  it  was  in  the  hands  of 
his  bankers,  with  the  exception  of  very  few  hundreds.  On  show  and  sale  days  the 
display  of  horses  was  often  very  fine.  The  "  Book-making"  before  the  Derby  or  St. 
Leger  was  crowded  with  peers  and  plebeians,  butchers  and  brokers,  betting-list 
keepers,  insurers,  guardsmen  and  prize-fighters,  Manchester  manufacturers,  Yorkshire 
farmers,  sham  captains,  ci-devant  gentlemen,  &c.  In  "  the  Room,"  which  was  regu- 
lated by  the  Jockey  Club,  was  a  cartoon  of  the  race-horse  "  Eclipse."  We  have  seen  a 
clever  painting,  by  Aiken,  of  the  borse-auction  at  Tattersall's.  The  lease  of  the  old 
premises  expired  in  1865  ;  fine  fruit  had  been  grown  in  the  gardens,  whence  were  sup- 
plied, for  many  years,  the  grapes  and  pines  for  the  Waterloo  Banquet,  at  Apsley  House. 
In  1864,  Tattersall's  was  removed  to  newly-erected  premises  between  the  junction 
of  the  Brompton  and  Knightsbridge  roads,  which  is  much  nearer  to  the  great  quarter 
of  fashion  and  wealth  than  Hyde  Park-corner  was  at  the  beginning  of  the  present 
century.     The  New  Tattersall's  is  described  at  p.  491. 

Tattersall's  is  the  greatest  mart  for  horses  in  the  world.  Sales  take  place  here  every  Monday  through- 
out the  year,  and  in  the  height  of  the  season  on  Thursday  also.  As  many  as  150  lots  have  been  offered 
in  one  day ;  the  average  number  100.  The  proprietors,  the  Messrs.  Tattersall's,  also  sell  annually  the 
produce  of  the  Royal  Breeding  Establishment  at  Hampton  Court  Paddocks,  and  other  thoroughbred 
produce ;  also  studs  of  race-horses  at  York,  Doncaster,  and  Newmarket  during  the  racing  season ;  and  to 
them  are  usually  entrusted  the  sale  of  packs  of  hounds.  The  highest  price  ever  paid  for  a  horse  at 
Messrs.  Tattersall's  of  late  years  was  3100  gs.  for  Orlando ;  and  the  highest  price  for  a  pack  of  hounds, 
the  property  of  G.  Osbaldeston,  Esq.,  3000  gs. 

TELEGRAPHS,  ELECTRIC. 

THE  Electrc-telegrapmc  system  in  London  has  been  carried  out  by  the  Electric 
Telegraph  Company,  at  their  Central  Office  in  Lothbury,  which  has  thus  become 
the  metropolis  of  stations.  Here  the  whole  system  was  first  clearly  exhibited ;  the 
Company  having  purchased  all  Cooke  and  Wheatstone's  patents,  and  adopted  their 
peculiar  features, — the  suspended  conducting  wire  and  the  Double  Needle  Telegraph  ; 
and,  in  certain  cases,  Mr.  Bain's  chemical  Printing  Telegraph.  The  Office  is  in 
Founders' -court,  on  the  north  side  of  the  Bank  of  England ;  where  anciently  dwelt 
founders  "  that  cast  candlesticks,  chafing-dishes,  spice-mortars,"  &c,  and  "  turned 
them  bright  with  the  feet,  making  a  loathsome  noise,  whence  the  name  of  hoth-berie, 
or  court "  (Stotv) ;  all  which  is  strikingly  contrasted  with  the  wonder-working  silence 
of  the  Electric  Telegraph  operations. 

The  entrance  to  the  office  is  bold  and  picturesque  :  above  the  doorway  is  a  balcony ; 
and  between  two  enriched  Ionic  pilasters,  carrying  an  arched  pediment,  is  the  large 
transparent  dial  of  an  electric  clock.  You  first  enter  a  hall  42  by  32  feet,  entirely 
lighted  from  the  coved  roof  of  plate-glass  in  panels.  At  the  east  and  west  ends  is  a 
screen  of  two  stories  j  both  communicating  with  the  apartments  in  which  are  the 
electric-telegraph  machines,  and  the  two  ends  are  connected  by  side- galleries,  there 
being  thus  two  railed  stories  or  galleries  throughout  the  hall ;  at  each  end,  below,  are 
counters,  where  clerks,  who  receive  the  messages,  enter  them,  and  pass  them  to 
another  set  of  clerks,  who  transmit  them  to  those  employed  at  the  machines  above  by 
lifts  or  small  trays,  working  by  cords  in  square  tubes, — a  lift  and  bell  to  each  desk. 


TELEGRAPHS,  ELECTRIC.  771 

Behind  the  counter  is  the  "  translating  office,"  where  all  messages  are  transferred  into 
the  abbreviated  code  arranged  by  the  Company.  Such  messages  as  descriptions  of 
persons  suspected  of  dishonesty  are  not  translated,  but  sent  in  full :  only  the  lists  of 
prices  in  corn,  share,  and  other  markets  are  so  abbreviated. 

Several  wires  are  laid  to  each  terminus,  lest  any  of  them  become  defective,  when  the 
connexion  can  be  carried  on  by  other  wires,  as  the  expense  of  taking  up  the  pavement 
would  be  enormous  for  so  slight  a  cause.  The  wires  are  of  copper,  and  are  covered 
with  gutta-percha,  India-rubber,  or  some  resinous  substances,  which,  being  non-con- 
ductors, prevent  the  escape  of  the  electricity.  The  wires  from  the  several  railway 
termini  are  brought  through  iron  pipes  laid  down  under  the  pavement  of  the  streets ; 
and  meeting  in  Founders'-court,  are  continued  through  the  south  wall  of  the  basement 
of  the  station,  and  descending  into  the  "  test-box,"  are  fastened  there  to  pegs  fitted 
into  the  back  of  the  box.  At  the  bottom  run  a  corresponding  number  of  "  house- 
wires,"  and  these  go  to  the  machines  in  the  galleries.  Connexion  is  maintained 
between  the  line  and  house-wires  by  small  wires  running  perpendicularly  from  one  to 
the  other.  All  the  wires  are  numbered  at  the  desks  to  correspond  from  batteries  to 
machines,  and  from  machines  to  the  test-box,  that  the  electric  circle  may  thus  be. 
complete.  In  the  galleries  the  wires  are  carried  along  the  ceilings  from  the  respective 
machines  to  the  battery-chambers  and  the  test-box ;  the  battery-wires  running  east 
and  west,  and  the  house-wires  to  test-box  north  and  south.  Several  long  and  narrow 
chambers  are  devoted  to  the  batteries,  which  are  so  numbered  and  arranged  in 
reference  to  the  wires,  that  any  defect  can  be  immediately  rectified.  Each  railway 
has  a  division  to  itself,  and  thus  all  risk  of  confusion  is  avoided.  The  communications 
are  spelt  through  letter  by  letter,  and  each  word  is  verified  by  the  receiver  to  the 
sender  as  the  message  proceeds. 

In  1851,  the  Admiralty  Semaphores  were  removed,  and  the  Electric  Telegraph  sub- 
stituted for  them.  By  this  means,  despatches  can  be  sent  off  and  received  by  night  or 
day,  and  in  any  kind  of  weather ;  whereas,  the  Semaphores  could  only  work  by  day, 
and  that  in  fine  weather :  this  was  a  great  inconvenience  to  Government,  especially 
the  naval  department,  which  had  only  one  line,  from  the  Admiralty,  Whitehall,  to 
Portsmouth ;  whilst  now,  orders  can  be  transmitted  in  a  moment  to  the  lloyal 
arsenals.  In  1851,  the  Needle  Telegraph  of  Wheatstone  was  carried  round  the  Great 
Exhibition  Building  in  Hyde  Park,  and  thence  to  the  Police  Station,  Great  Scotland- 
yard,  Whitehall.  And  in  1852,  the  exact  Greenwich  time  was  first  conveyed  by  the 
Electric  Telegraph  to  various  parts  of  England. 

Besides  the  private  message  department,  there  is  a  general  intelligence  office,  in  which  the  news 
published  in  the  morning  journals  is  condensed  and  transmitted  to  the  Exchanges  of  Liverpool,  Bristol, 
Manchester,  Glasgow,  and  other  chief  provincial  centres  of  business.  During  the  day  the  London  and 
other  news  is  collected,  condensed,  and  transmitted  to  the  offices  of  upwards  of  400  provincial  papers, 
which  thus  receive,  during  the  night  before  their  publication,  the  most  recent  intelligence  of  every  sort 
received  by  telegraph  from  all  parts  of  Europe,  besides  the  current  news  of  the  United  Kingdom  to  the 
latest  moment. 

There  are  also  curious  special  arrangements :  thus,  a  wire  is  exclusively  appropriated  to  communica- 
tions between  the  Octagon  Hall  of  the  Houses  of  Parliament  and  the  telegraphic  station  in  St.  James's- 
street,  the  centre  of  the  West-end  clubs.  This  is  a  call-wire  for  Members.  The  Company  employ 
reporters  during  the  sitting  of  Parliament  to  make  an  abstract  of  the  business  of  the  two  Houses  as  it 
proceeds;  this  is  forwarded,  at  very  short  intervals,  to  the  office  in  St.  James's-street,  where  it  is  set 
up  and  printed ;  and  this  flying-sheet  is  sent  to  the  principal  clubs  and  to  the  Royal  Italian  Opera.  The 
Government  wires  go  from  Somerset  House  to  the  Admiralty,  and  thence,  in  one  direction,  to  Ports- 
mouth and  Plymouth  by  the  South  Western  and  Great  Western  Railways;  and  in  the  other  to  the  naval 
establishments  at  Deptford,  Woolwich,  Chatham,  Sheerness,  and  to  the  Cinque  Ports  of  Deal  and  Dover. 
They  are  worked  by  a  staff  provided  by  the  telegraph  companies,  and  the  more  important  messages  are 
usually  sent  in  cipher,  the  meaning  of  which  is  unknown  even  to  the  telegraphic  clerks  employed  in 
transmitting  it.  In  addition  to  the  wires  already  spoken  of,  street  branches  run  from  Buckingham 
Palace  to  Scotland-yard  (the  head  police-office),  to  the  station  at  Charing  Cross,  and  thence  to  the  City; 
whilst  the  Post-office,  Lloyd's,  Capel-court,  and  the  Corn  Exchange  communicate  directly  with  the 
central  offices. — Abridged  from  Larduer's  Electric  Telegraph,  by  Bright,  1867. 

"  The  Nerves  of  London"  is  Wheatstone's  system  of  wires  which  may  be  seen  stretching 
across  the  sky-line  of  great  thoroughfares,  and  visibly  triangulating  the  town  in  every 
direction ;  and  along  which,  by  a  simplified  apparatus,  messages  are  sent  at  the  rate  of 
100  letters  a  minute.  The  system  of  fine  copper  is  hung  on  the  iron  wires,  strained 
from  poles  from  the  house-tops.  At  intervals  carefully  selected,  the  area  of  London  is 
divided  by  a  system  of  trianguhition,  the  posts  that  form  the  meeting-points  of  three 
series  of  cables  becoming  the  points  at  which  all  these  wires  have  to  be  distributed. 

3  D  2 


772  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

TEMPLE,  INNER  AND  MIDDLE.     (See  pp.  461-464.) 

TEMPLE  EAR, 

BETWEEN  the  east  end  of  the  Strand  and  the  west  end  of  Fleet-street,  divides  the 
City  of  London  from  the  liberty  of  Westminster ;  or  rather,  "it  opens  not 
immediately  into  the  City  itself  (which  terminated  at  Ludgate),  but  into  the  liberty 
or  freedom  thereof"  (Hatton,  1708).  The  original  division  from  the  county  (hence 
Shire-lane)  was  by  posts  and  rails,  a  chain,  and  a  bar  (as  at  Holborn,  Smithfield,  and 
Whitechapel  bars)  placed  across  the  street,  and  named  from  its  immediate  vicinity  to 
the  Temple.  The  bar  gave  place  to  "  a  house  of  timber "  raised  across  the  street, 
with  a  narrow  gateway  underneath,  and  an  entrance  on  the  south  side  under  the  house 
above.  At  the  coronation  of  Queen  Mary,  "  the  Temple-barre  was  newly  painted  and 
hanged"  (Stow).  This  was  taken  down  after  the  Great  Fire,  and  it  is  shown  in 
Hollar's  seven-sheet  Map  of  London ;  and  in  the  Bird's-eye  View,  about  1601.  After 
the  Great  Fire,  Charles  II.  insisted  upon  the  citizens  taking  down  the  Bar,  when 
they,  pleading  their  "  weak  state  and  inability,"  on  account  of  the  great  expense  of 
rebuilding  public  edifices  consumed  in  the  Great  Fire,  the  King  promised  to  assist  them 
with  funds ;  the  Corporation  undertook  the  work  j  the  old  Bar  was  accordingly  taken 
down,  and  the  present  Bar  erected  by  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  of  Portland-stone,  but 
the  royal  promise  was  not  performed.  The  Bar  basement  is  rusticated ;  it  has  a  large 
flattened  arch  in  the  centre  for  the  carriage-way,  and  a  smaller  semicircular  arch  on 
each  side  for  foot-passengers.  Each  facade  has  four  Corinthian  pilasters,  an  entablature, 
and  arched  pediment.  On  the  west,  in  two  niches,  are  statues  of  Charles  I.  and 
Charles  II.  in  Boman  costume ;  and  over  the  keystone  of  the  centre  arch  were  the 
royal  arms :  on  the  east,  in  similar  niches,  are  statues  of  James  I.  and  his  queen, 
Anne  of  Denmark  (often  described  as  Elizabeth)  j  and  over  the  keystone  were  the  City 
arms.     Inscription : 

"  Erected  in  the  year  1670,  Sir  Samuel  Starling  Mayor;  continued  in  the  year  1671,  Sir  Richard  Ford 
Lord  Mayor ;  and  finished  in  the  year  1672,  Sir  George  Waterman  Lord  Mayor." 

The  upper  portion  has  two  bold  cartouches,  or  scrolls,  as  supporters  j  but  the  fruit 
and  flowers  sculptured  in  the  pediment,  and  the  supporters  of  the  royal  arms,  which 
were  placed  over  the  extremities  of  the  posterns  (now  widened),  have  disappeared ; 
the  inscription  is  scarcely  legible ;  and  the  stone- work  of  the  whole  is  weather-worn : 
in  1852  the  Common  Council  refused  to  spend  1500Z.  to  restore  the  bar  as  Wren  left 
it.  The  statues  are  by  John  Bushnell,  who  died  in  1701 ;  that  of  Charles  I.  has  lost 
the  baton.  A  scarce  print  shows  the  bar,  and  the  adjoining  gabled  houses  at  the  com- 
mencement of  the  18th  century.  In  the  centre  of  each  facade  is  a  semicircular- 
headed  window,  lighting  an  apartment  now  held  of  the  City,  at  the  annual  rent  of 
501.,  by  Messrs.  Child,  the  bankers,  as  a  depository  for  their  account-books.  Above 
the  centre  of  the  pediment,  upon  iron  spikes,  were  formerly  placed  the  heads  and  limbs 
of  persons  executed  for  treason.  The  first  of  these  revolting  displays  was  one  of  the 
quarters  of  Sir  Thomas  Armstrong,  implicated  in  the  Bye-House  Plot ;  and  next  the 
quarters  of  Sir  William  Perkins  and  Sir  John  Friend,  and  Perkins's  head,  who  had 
conspired  to  assassinate  William  III. 

"April  10, 1696.— A  dismal  sight,  which  many  pitied.  I  think  there  never  was  such  a  Temple  Bar 
till  now,  except  in  the  time  of  King  Charles  II.,  viz.  Sir  Thomas  Armstrong." — Evelyn's  Diary. 

After  the  Kebellions  of  1715  and  1745,  the  heads  of  some  of  the  victims  were  placed 
upon  the  Bar ;  and  in  1723,  the  head  of  Counsellor  Layer,  who  had  conspired  for  the 
restoration  of  the  Pretender ;  Layer's  head  remained  here  for  30  years,  till  blown 
down  in  a  gale  of  wind,  when  it  was  picked  up  in  the  street  by  an  attorney.  But  the 
heads  last  set  up  here  were  those  of  Townley  and  Fletcher,  the  rebels,  in  1746.  Walpole 
writes,  August  16,  1746  :  "  I  have  been  this  morning  at  the  Tower,  and  passed  under 
the  new  heads  at  Temple  Bar,  where  people  make  a  trade  of  letting  spying-glasses  at  a 
halfpenny  a  look •"  and  in  1825,  a  person,  aged  87,  remembered  the  above  heads  being 
seen  with  a  telescope  from  Leicester  Fields,  the  ground  between  which  and  Temple  Bar 
was  then  thinly  built  over.     (J.  T.  Smith.)     In  1766  a  man  was  detected  discharging 


THAMES  EMBANKMENT.  773 

musket-balls,  from  a  steel  cross-bow,  at  tbese  two  heads ;  which,  however,  remained 
there  until  March  31,  1772,  when  one  of  the  heads  fell  down ;  and  shortly  after,  the 
remaining  one  was  swept  down  by  the  wind.*  The  Bar  »vas  painted  by  Hooker  in 
1772.  The  last  of  the  iron  poles,  or  spikes,  was  not  removed  from  the  Bar  until  the 
commencement  of  the  present  century.  Mr.  Rogers,  the  banker-poet,  who  died 
December  18,  1855,  remembered  "one  of  the  heads  of  the  rebels  upon  a  pole  at 
Temple  Bar,  a  black,  shapeless  lump.  Another  pole  was  bare,  the  head  having  dropped." 
The  old  gates  of  Temple  Bar  remain :  they  are  of  oak,  panelled,  and  are  surmounted 
by  a  rudely  carved  festoon  of  fruit  and  flowers.  These  gates  were  originally  shut  at 
night,  and  guarded  by  watchmen ;  and  in  our  time  they  have  been  closed  in  cases  of 
apprehended  tumult.  Upon  the  visit  of  the  Sovereign  to  the  City,  and  upon  the  procla- 
mation of  a  new  Sovereign,  or  of  Peace,  it  was  formerly  customary  to  keep  the  gates 
closed,  until  admission  was  formally  demanded;  the  gates  were  then  opened;  and  upon 
the  Royal  visit,  the  Lord  Mayor  surrendered  the  City  sword  to  the  Sovereign,  who 
re-delivered  it  to  his  Lordship. 

At  Temple  Bar  the  above  ceremony  was  observed  when  Queen  Elizabeth  proceeded  to  St.  Paul's  to 
return  thanks  for  the  defeat  of  the  Spanish  Armada;  when  Fairfax  and  Cromwell  and  the  Parliament 
went  in  state  to  dine  with  the  City ;  when  Queen  Anne  went  to  St.  Paul's  to  return  thanks  for  the  Duke 
of  Marlborough's  victories;  when  Queen  Victoria  dined  at  Guildhall  in  the  year  of  her  accession,  1837; 
and  when  her  Majesty  went  to  open  the  New  Royal  Exchange  in  1841;  but  on  the  Queen's  visit  in  1851, 
the  ceremony  at  Temple  Bar  was  entirely  dispensed  with.  The  custom  at  the  Proclamation  of  Peace,  or 
the  Accession  of  the  Sovereign,  had  been  for  a  herald,  attended  by  trumpeters,  to  knock  with  his  baton 
at  the  closed  gate,  when  the  City  Marshal  inquired  "  Who  comes  there  ?"  and  the  herald  having  replied, 
was  admitted,  and  conducted  to  the  Lord  Mayor,  who  directed  that  the  whole  of  the  cavalcade  should  be 
admitted ;  and  the  proclamation  was  read  opposite  Chancery-lane.  Such  was  the  observance  upon  the 
accession  of  George  IV.,  William  IV.,  and  Queen  Victoria.  In  1841  the  ceremony  consisted  merely  of 
closing  the  gates  just  before  the  royal  procession  reached  the  Bar,  and  re-opening  them  upon  the 
announcement  of  the  Queen's  arrival. 

At  the  funeral  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  November  18,  1852,  Temple  Bar  was 
entirely  covered  with  draperies  of  black  cloth  and  velvet,  and  cloth -of-gold ;  decorated 
with  the  armorial  bearings  and  orders  of  the  Duke  in  proper  colours ;  silvered  cor- 
nices, fringe,  urns,  and  a  circle  of  flambeaux  upon  the  pediment ;  the  whole  presenting 
an  impressive  effect  of  solemn  triumph  and  gloomy  grandeur.  The  Bar  was  appro- 
priately decorated  and  illuminated  at  the  marriage  of  the  Prince  of  Wales  and  the 
Princess  Alexandra  of  Denmark,  March,  1863. 

THAMES  EMBANKMENT. 

TO  the  Romans  we  are  indebted  for  the  first  embankment  of  the  Thames;  and, 
according  to  Tacitus,  they  pressed  the  Britons  into  the  work.  The  maintenance 
and  repair  of  these  embankments  have  been  traced  to  the  reign  of  Edward  I. ;  but  the 
encroachments  of  wharfs  and  other  buildings  have  materially  contracted  the  water-way 
immediately  through  the  centre  of  the  metropolis ;  so  that  the  only  relic  of  the  old  line 
is  to  be  seen  adjoining  Waterloo  Bridge.  For  example :  the  distance  of  the  river  front 
from  Westminster  Hall,  in  an  old  plan,  is  100  feet ;  it  is  now  300  feet.  Several  plans 
were  proposed  for  the  embankment  of  the  Thames ;  some  including  railways,  arcades, 
terraces,  promenades,  &c.  Tbe  portions  already  embanked  are  the  terraces  of  the  Custom 
House,  Somerset  House,  the  Adelphi,  the  New  Houses  of  Parliament,  Thames  Bank ; 
although,  more  than  a  century  and  a  half  since,  Wren  designed  "  a  commodious  quay 
on  the  whole  bank  of  the  river,  from  Blackfriars  to  the  Tower."  A  showy  architectural 
plan  was  published  by  Colonel  Trench;  and  in  1845,  John  Martin,  the  painter, 
designed  a  railway  along  both  sides  of  the  Thames,  with  an  open  walk  from  Hunger- 
ford  to  the  Tower,  and  from  Vauxhall  to  Deptford.  The  next  portion  was  the  embank- 
ment above  Vauxhall  Bridge,  to  be  continued  to  Battersea  Bridge. 

The  Embankment,  J.  W.  Bazalgette,  engineer,  is  now  in  course  of  construction  by 
the  Metropolitan  Board  of  Works,  on  the  north  side. 

The  foundations  are  laid  upon  a  connected  line  of  iron  caissons  and  concrete,  upon  which  is  built  the 
brick  granite-faced  embankment-wall ;  behind  which,  and  underneath  the  roadway,  it  is  proposed  to  con- 

*  See  Temple  Bar,  the  City  Golgotha,  by  a  Member  of  the  Middle  Temple,  sm.  4to,  1853,  for  a  narra- 
tive of  these  occurrences,  in  illustration  of  the  revolting  effects  of  capital  punishments  and  public 
executions. 


774  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

struet  the  subways  and  sewers,  an  arrangement  which  will  add  much  to  the  stability  of  the  embankment" 
wall.  The  total  length  of  the  embankment  is  about  7000ft.,  but  it  is  completely  divided  by  the  bridges 
into  three  sections :  the  first  section  from  Westminster  to  Hungerford  bridge,  the  second  from  Hunger- 
ford  bridge  to  Waterloo,  and  the  third  from  Waterloo  to  Blackfriars  bridge. 

At  Westminster-bridge  the  roadway,  which  rises  at  an  inclination  of  1  in  80  to  the  level  of  the  bridge, 
is  set  back  some  30  or  40  feet  from  the  face  of  the  embankment-wall,  and  the  intervening  space  reserved 
as  a  promenade  and  steamboat-pier,  having  access  from  the  bridge  by  a  wide  and  imposing  flight  of  steps 
opposite  the  Houses  of  Parliament.  Between  Westminster  and  Hungerford  bridges  will  be  landing-stairs 
for  smaller  craft,  and  here  it  is  proposed  to  introduce  the  beautiful  water-gate  now  situate  at  the  end  of 
Buckingham-street.  On  either  side  of  Hungerford  and  Waterloo  bridges,  will  be  steam-boat  landing-places, 
massive  granite  piers  with  moulded  pedestals  rising  about  30  ft.  above  the  roadway,  to  be  enriched  with 
bas-reliefs  and  surmounted  by  groups  of  statuary.  Half  way  between  Hungerford  and  Waterloo  bridges, 
will  be  a  flight  of  landing  steps  60  ft.  wide,  projecting  into  the  river,  and  flanked  at  each  end  with  massive 
piers,  rising  to  the  level  of  a  few  feet  above  the  roadway,  and  to  be  surmounted  with  colossal  figures 
of  river  deities,  or  other  appropriate  groups.  The  central  feature  will  be  an  approach  for  foot-passengers 
from  the  high  level  roadway  to  the  river  by  a  second  flight  of  steps,  descending  to  the  level  of  the  lower 
or  embankment  roadway.  On  either  side  of  this  approach  a  line  of  shops  is  to  be  erected  on  the  land  side 
of  the  embankment  roadway,  the  backs  of  which  would  form  a  retaining  wall  to  the  ornamental  crescent 
and  promenade  above  them.  Between  Waterloo  and  Blackfriars  bridges,  and  in  front  of  Arundei-street, 
a  steamboat  pier  will  be  constructed,  in  lieu  of  the  present  Essex-street  pier,  designed  upon  the  same 
principle  as  those  adjoining  the  bridges.  The  embankment-wali  itself  is  to  be  enriched  with  mouldings 
of  a  simple  character  down  to  the  level  of  high-water  mark,  the  continuous  line  of  moulding  being  broken 
by  the  introduction,  at  intervals,  of  massive  blocks  of  granite  to  carry  ornamental  lamps,  and  by  occa- 
Bional  recesses  for  promenade  seats. 

The  section  between  Temple  Gardens  and  Blackfriars  bridge  will  be  constructed  on  arches,  so  as  to 
admit  of  the  passage  under  it  to  docks  between  the  roadway  and  the  shore  of  barges  and  lighters; 
besides  a  subway  for  gas  and  water  pipes  and  electric  telegraphs.  The  embankment  will  pass  by  an  easy 
curve  to  the  level  of  Bridge-street,  Blackfriars,  where  the  line  of  roadway  will  be  continued  by  the  new 
street  to  the  Mansion  House. 

The  Embankment  on  the  south  side,  between  Westminster  bridge  and  Vauxhall,  was  commenced  in 
1865 ;  the  foreshore  of  the  first  section  being  the  site  of  the  new  St.  Thomas's  Hospital ;  the  new  em- 
bankment here  redeeming  six  acres  from  the  Thames.  There  will  also  be  a  new  road,  60  feet  wide,  in 
the  rear  of  the  Hospital,  continuing  Stangate  to  Lambeth  Palace. 

THAMES  BIKER,  TKE. 

THE  metropolis,  extending  about  15  miles  along  the  Thames,  although  occupying 
little  more  than  one-thirtieth  of  its  entire  course,  renders  it  the  most  important 
commercial  river  in  the  world.  The  name  is  inferred  to  be  of  British  origin :  Caesar 
writes  it  Tamesis,  evidently  Tames  or  Thames  with  a  Latin  termination.  The  river 
rises  in  the  south-eastern  slopes  of  the  Coteswold  Hills ;  for  a  short  distance  it  divides 
Gloucestershire  from  Wiltshire;  next  Berkshire  from  Oxfordshire,  and  then  from 
Buckinghamshire  ;  it  then  divides  Surrey  and  Middlesex,  separating  the  cities  of  West- 
minster and  London  from  Lambeth,  Southwark,  Bermondsey,  and  Kotherhithe ;  thence 
to  its  mouth,  it  divides  Kent  and  Essex,  and  falls  into  the  sea  at  the  Nore,  about  110 
miles  nearly  due  east  from  the  source,  and  about  twice  that  distance  measured  along 
the  windings  of  the  river.  From  having  no  sand-bar  at  its  mouth,  it  is  navigable  for 
sea-vessels  to  London  Bridge,  about  45  miles  from  the  Nore,  or  nearly  one-fourth  of  its 
entire  length  !  In  its  course  through  the  metropolis,  it  varies  from  800  to  1500  feet 
in  breadth ;  gradually  expanding,  as  it  approaches  the  Nore,  to  seven  miles  broad. 

Drayton  describes,  as  renowned  for  "  ships  and  swans,  Queen  Thames."  Cowley 
thus  refers  to  Old  London  Bridge  impeding  the  prospect : 

"Stopp'd  by  the  houses  of  that  wondrous  street, 
Which  rides  o'er  the  broad  river  like  a  fleet." 

"London  with  Westminster,  by  reason  of  the  turningof  the  river,  muchresembles  the  shape  (includ- 
ing Southwark)  of  a  great  ickale:  Westminster  being  the  under  jaw;  St.  James's  Park  the  mouth;  the 
Pall  Mall,  &c.,  northward,  the  upper  jaw:  Cock  and  Pye  Fields,  or  the  meeting  of  the  seven  streets,  the 
eye;  the  rest  of  the  City  and  Southwark  to  East  Smkhfield,  the  body;  and  thence  eastward  to  Lime- 
house,  the  tail :  and  'tis,  probably,  in  as  great  a  proportion  the  largest  of  towns,  as  that  is  of  fishes." — 
Hatton,  1708. 

The  very  bold  reach  made  by  the  Thames  adds  greatly  to  the  effect  of  the  prospect ;  and  by  this 
means,  before  the  addition  of  the  present  front  of  Buckingham  Palace,  the  Sovereign,  when  seated  upon 
her  throne,  commanded  a  view  of  the  dome  of  St.  Paul's,  and  the  spires  and  towers  of  the  City  churches. 

The  Tide  ascends  about  15  miles  above  London  Bridge  to  Teddington  (Tide-end- 
town)  :  here  an  immense  volume  of  fresh  water,  derived  from  the  arc  of  the  drainage 
of  the  Thames  (calculated  at  800,000,000  gallons  a  day,  or  about  16  square  miles,  90 
feet  deep),  flows  over  Teddington  Lock,  and  mixes  with  the  water  below.  Even  at 
ebb-tide  there  are  12  or  13  feet  of  water  in  the  fair  way  of  the  river  above  Greenwich  ; 
the  mean  range  of  the  tides  at  London  Bridge  is  about  17  feet ;  of  the  highest  spring- 


THAMES  RIVER.  775 


tides  about  22  feet.  Up  to  Woolwich  the  river  is  navigable  for  ships  of  any  burden ; 
to  Blackwall  for  those  of  1400  tons. 

Thames  Sports  and  Pageants. — Fitzstephen  chronicles  the  water  tournament  and 
quintain.  Richard  II.  was  rowed  in  his  tapestried  barge,  probably  the  first  royal 
barge  upon  the  Thames :  and  here  the  king,  seeing  the  poet  Gower,  called  him  on 
board,  and  commanded  him  "  to  make  a  book  after  his  best,"  which  was  the  origin  of 
the  Confessio  Amantis.  In  the  15th  and  16th  centuries,  and  onward  to  very  recent 
days,  each  palace  on  the  north  bank  of  the  Thames  had  its  water-gate,  and  its  retinue 
of  barge  and  wherries.  The  Thames  was  the  royal  road  from  Westminster  and  White- 
hall to  the  Tower,  and  from  thence  to  Greenwich.  State  prisoners  were  conveyed  by  the 
Thames  to  the  Traitors'  Gate  at  the  Tower,  and  the  Star-Chamber  victims  to  a  similar 
gate  at  the  Fleet.  The  landing-places  on  the  Thames  appear  to  have  been  even  less 
changed  than  the  thoroughfare  itself;  for  in  the  account  of  the  penance  of  Eleanor 
Cobham,  Duchess  of  Gloucester,  in  1440,  we  find  named  Temple-bridge  (stairs),  the 
Old  Swan,  and  Queenhithe ;  and  in  early  maps  of  London,  are  Broken  Wharf,  Paul's 
Wharf,  Essex  Stairs,  and  Whitehall  Stairs;  all  which  exist  by  the  same  names  to  the 
present  day.  Cardinal  Wolsey,  when  he  delivered  up  York  Place,  "  took  his  barge  at 
his  privy  stairs,  and  so  went  by  water  to  Putney,"  on  his  way  to  Esher.  Sir  Thomas 
More  kept  his  great  barge  at  Chelsea,  which  he  gave  to  Sir  Thomas  Audley,  his  suc- 
cessor in  the  chancellorship,  with  whom  he  placed  his  eight  watermen.  In  the  Aqua 
Triumphalis,  in  1662,  the  City  welcomed  Charles  II.  from  Hampton  Court  to  White- 
hall, the  barges  of  the  Twelve  Companies  being  carried  as  far  as  Chelsea ;  and  mostly 
all  ended  with  a  pageant.  James  II.,  1688,  embarked  at  Whitehall :  "  I  saw  him  take 
barge,"  says  Evelyn ;  "  a  sad  sight."  The  last  primate  who  kept  his  state  barge  at 
Lambeth  was  Archbishop  Wake,  who  died  1737.  Early  in  the  17th  century,  Howel 
numbered  among  the  river  glories,  "  forests  of  masts  which  are  perpetually  upon  her ; 
the  variety  of  smaller  wooden  bottoms  playing  up  and  down ;"  and  Stow  computes 
that  there  were  in  his  time  2000.  In  1630,  the  river  had  its  own  laureat,  John 
Taylor  "the  Water-poet,"  who  thus  sings : — 

"  But,  noble  Thames,  whilst  I  can  hold  a  pen, 
I  will  divulge  thy  glory  unto  men ; 
Thou,  in  the  morning,  when  my  coin  is  scant, 
Before  the  evening  doth  supply  my  want." 

Taylor  knew  Ben  Jonson ;  and  the  Water-poet  "  probably  had  the  good  fortune  to 
ferry  Shakspeare  from  Whitehall  to  Paris  Garden." — (C  Knight.) 

The  Folly  on  the  Thames  was  a  floating  "  musical  summer-house"  usually  moored 
between  Somerset-stairs  and  the  Savoy ;  the  Queen  of  William  III.  once  visited  it. 

The  existing  sports  on  the  Thames  consist  of  rowing,  boat-racing,  and  yachting,  or 
sailing,  throughout  the  summer  and  autumn;  by  clubs,  numbering  several  members 
of  the  Universities  of  Oxford,  Cambridge,  and  London ;  the  scholars  of  Westminster, 
St.  Paul's,  and  other  academic  foundations.  The  match  for  Dogget's  coat  and  silver 
badge  is  rowed  for  every  1st  of  August  under  the  direction  of  the  Fishmongers'  Com- 
pany, of  which  Dogget  was  a  member,  as  described  at  page  400. 

The  Thames  Watermen  formerly  had  their  cant  dialect,  of  which  Ned  Ward  and 
Tom  Brown  give  specimens ;  and  the  "  Thames  ribaldry"  (Spectator)  has  lasted  to  our 
time,  in  which  watermen's  disputes  have  been  settled  by  Joe  Hatch,  "  the  Thames 
Chancellor."  Strype  was  told  by  a  member  of  the  Watermen's  Company,  that  there 
were  in  his  day,  about  110  years  ago,  40,000  watermen  on  the  rolls  of  the  Company, 
and  that  upon  occasion  they  could  furnish  28,000  men  for  tbe  fleet,  and  that  there 
were  then  8000  in  service ;  but  these  numbers  are  questionable. 

State  Barges. — The  first  water  pageant  of  the  City  of  London  dates  from  1454, 
when  John  Norman,  the  Mayor,  was  rowed  to  Westminster  in  his  barge ;  but  the  Com- 
panies had  their  barges  for  water  processions  half  a  century  before  this;  and  the 
Grocers'  accounts,  temp.  Henry  VI.,  mention  the  hiring  of  barges  to  attend  the 
Sheriffs'  show  by  water.  Hall  chronicles  the  Mayor  and  citizens  accompanying  Anne 
Boleyn  at  her  coronation,  in  1533,  from  Greenwich  to  the  Tower,  in  their  barges. 
The  barge  was  retained  in  the  Lord  Mayor's  state  until  our  time,  and  included  the 
Water-bailiff,  one  of  his  lordship's  esquires,  with  a  salary  of  500?.  a  year,  a  shallop  and 


776  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

eight  men ;  and  in  the  suite  were  a  barge-master,  and  thirty -two  City  watermen.  The 
Lord  Mayor's  barge  was  richly  carved  and  gilt,  and  cost  in  1807,  2579£.  A  few  of  the 
City  companies  maintained  their  state-barges  "  to  attend  my  Lord  Mayor :"  as  the 
Fishmongers,  Vintners,  and  Dyers,  Stationers,  Skinners,  and  Watermen.  The  Gold- 
smiths' Company  sold  their  barge  in  1850,  and  have  not  replaced  it.  A  capacious 
barge,  built  in  1816,  named  the  "Maria  Wood"  (from  the  then  Lord  Mayor's 
eldest  daughter),  cost  5000£.  The  Queen  long  maintained  her  river  state ;  and  one  of  the 
royal  barges,  built  more  than  a  century  and  a  quarter  since,  is  a  curious  craft :  the 
rowers  wore  scarlet  state-liveries.  The  Lords  of  the  Admiralty  had  likewise  their  state 
barge;  and  in  the  Museum  of  the  Society  of  Antiquaries  is  one  of  their  old  massive 
silver  badges.  This  river-state  has,  however,  been  abolished ;  and  excursions  are  now 
made  in  steamers.     The  Dyers'  and  Vintners'  Companies  still  keep  swans  on  the  river. 

State  Funerals  by  the  Thames  are  rare :  the  remains  of  Anne  of  Bohemia,  and 
Henry  VII.,  who  died  at  Richmond,  were  conveyed  with  great  pomp  by  the  river  to 
Westminster ;  and  the  body  of  Queen  Elizabeth  was  "  brought  by  water  to  Whitehall." 
The  remains  of  Lord  Nelson,  after  lying  in  state  in  the  Painted  Hall  of  Greenwich 
Hospital,  were  conveyed  by  the  Thames*  to  the  Admiralty,  Jan.  8,  1806,  and  next  day 
were  deposited  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral. 

The  Port  of  London  is  described  at  pp.  685-687. 

The  Bridges  across  the  Thames  at  the  metropolis  are  described  at  pp.  65-75. 

The  two  churches  immediately  below  London  bridge  attest  the  occupation  of  London  by  the  Danes 
and  Northmen :  St.  Olave's  Southwark,  originally  dedicated  to  the  Norwegian  king,  Olaf  the  Saint ;  and 
St.  Magnus  the  Martyr,  from  St.  Magnus,  a  Norwegian  jarl,  killed  in  the  12th  century  in  Orkney,  where 
the  cathedral  in  Kirkwall  is  also  dedicated  to  him. 

The  Docks  (which  have  cost  more  than  8,000,000?.  in  the  present  century)  are 
described  at  pp.  309-312. 

The  earliest  Water-supply  was  derived  from  the  Thames,  by  direct  carriage,  or  from 
the  bournes  or  streams  which  flowed  through  the  town,  but  are  now  covered  sewers. 
The  water  was  laid  from  these  springs  in  leaden  pipes,  as  early  as  the  reign  of  Henry  III., 
to  Conduits  in  various  parts  of  the  town  (see  pp.  287-289),  whence  it  was  conveyed 
in  buckets  and  carts  :  from  Tyburn  in  1236  ;  from  Highbury  in  1438 ;  from  Hackney 
in  1535 ;  from  Hampstead  in  1543 ;  and  from  Hoxton  in  1546.  Lilly,  the  astrologer, 
when  a  youth,  went  to  the  Thames,  accompanied  at  times  by  City  apprentices,  to  carry 
water  in  buckets  from  the  river,  for  domestic  purposes.  In  1535,  water  was  brought 
from  six  fountains  in  the  town  of  Tyburn,  this  being  the  first  instance  on  record  of 
water  being  conveyed  to  the  city  by  means  of  pipes.  In  1581,  Peter  Morice  threw 
a  jet  of  the  Thames  over  old  St.  Magnus'  steeple,  before  which  "  no  such  thing  was 
known  in  England  as  this  raising  of  water."  Next  year  were  formed  London  Bridge 
Waterworks,  described  at  p.  67.  In  1613  was  opened  the  New  River  (see  pp.  609-612), 
when  commenced  the  modern  systems  of  supply,  now  executed  by  eight  Companies. 

Fish. — Fitzstephen  describes  the  Thames,  at  London,  as  "  a  fishful  river ;"  and  its 
fishermen  were  accustomed  to  present  their  tithe  of  salmon  at  the  high  altar  of  St. 
Peter,  and  claim  on  that  occasion  the  right  to  sit  at  the  Prior  of  Westminster's  own 
table.  At  this  period  the  river,  even  below  the  site  of  the  present  London  Bridge, 
abounded  with  fish.  In  1376-77,  a  law  was  passed  in  parliament  for  the  saving  of 
salmon  and  other  fry  of  fish ;  and  in  1381-^82,  "  swannes"  that  came  through  the  bridge, 
or  beneath  the  bridge,  were  the  fees  of  the  Constable  of  the  Tower.  Howel  says : — 
"  When  the  idler  was  tired  of  bowls,  he  had  nothing  to  do  but  to  step  down  to  Queen- 
hithe  or  the  Temple,"  and  have  an  afternoon  of  angling.  "  Go  to  the  river :  what  a 
pleasure  it  is  to  go  thereon  in  the  summer  time,  in  boat  or  barge,  or  to  go  a-floundering 
among  the  fishermen !"  In  the  regulations,  too,  of  the  "  Committee  of  Free  Fisher- 
men" is  a  provision  that  fishermen  were  not  to  come  nearer  London  than  the  Old  Swan, 
on  the  north  bank  of  the  river,  and  St.  Mary  Overies,  on  the  south.  Pennant  describes 
the  catch  of  lamprey  of  the  greatest  importance,  immense  quantities  being  exchanged 
with  the  Dutch  fishermen  for  other  descriptions  of  fish.  Formerly  Blackfriars  and 
Westminster  bridges  were  anglers'  stations ;  but  the  fish  disappeared  from  the  Thames 
At  London.  Blackwall  is,  however,  still  famed  for  its  whitebait  (see  pp.  57-58),  and 
fish  are  taken  in  the  docks  below  London  Bridge. 

*  The  Author  of  this  volume,  born  August  17,  1801,  has  a  distinct  recollection  of  having  seen  this 
Funeral  Procession  upon  the  Thames  from  a  back  window  of  a  house  at  the  south  foot  of  London  Bridge. 


THAMES-STREET. 


1749,  June  7. — Two  of  the  greatest  draughts  of  salmon  were  caught  in  the  Thames,  below  Richmond, 
that  have  been  known  for  some  years ;  one  net  having  thirty  fine  large  salmon  in  it,  and  the  other 
twenty-two,  which  lowered  the  price  of  fresh  salmon  at  Billingsgate  from  Is.  to  6d.  per  lb. — Gentle- 
man's Magazine. 

Strange  fish  have  strayed  here.  In  1391,  a  dolphin,  "  ten  feet  in  length,"  played 
himself  in  the  Thames  at  London  to  the  bridge.  Evelyn  tells  of  a  whale,  fifty-eight 
feet  in  length,  killed  between  Deptford  and  Greenwich  in  1658 ;  and  nearer  the  mouth 
of  the  river  (at  Grays)  a  whale  of  the  above  length  was  taken  in  1809,  and  another  in 
1849.  "  In  1783,  a  two-toothed  cachalot,  21  ft.  long,  was  taken  above  London  Bridge." 
— Pennant. 

The  Steam  Navigation  of  the  Thames  exceeds  that  of  any  other  river  in  the  world. 
The  first  steam-boat  left  the  Thames,  for  Richmond,  in  1814 ;  the  next  for  Gravesend, 
in  1815 ;  and  in  the  same  year  for  Margate.  The  Gravesend  steamers  soon  superseded 
the  sailing-boats  with  decks,  which,  in  1737,  had  displaced  the  tilt-boats  mentioned  temp. 
Richard  II.  The  Margate  steamers,  in  like  manner,  superseded  the  sailing  "  hoy." 
The  steam  traffic  attained  vast  numbers.  In  the  year  1861,  3,207,558  passengers 
landed  and  embarked  at  Old  Shades-pier  on  board  the  penny  boats  of  the  London  and 
Westminster  Steamboat  Company.  This  number  has,  however,  been  considerably 
reduced  by  railway  competition. 

Water. — In  1858,  the  water  had  become  very  impure  by  the  sewer- water  emptying 
itself  into  the  Thames,  and  the  sulphate  of  lime  in  it  causing  an  insufferable  stench, 
the  chloride  of  sodium  denoting  its  origin  among  the  human  habitations  on  the 
banks  of  the  river ;  added  to  which  were  the  organic  matters.  Man  pours  into  the 
Thames  the  refuse  of  a  hundred  towns  and  villages,  besides  the  washings  of  manured 
lands,  before  it  gets  to  Teddington  Lock.  The  water,  already  impure,  is  taken  at  the 
rate  of  100,000,000  of  gallons  a  day,  and  after  washing  London  and  its  inhabitants, 
inside  and  out,  is  again  returned  to  the  Thames,  bearing  with  it  the  vegetable  and 
animal  refuse  of  dwelling-houses,  mews,  cow  and  slaughter-houses,  and  all  sorts  of 
manufactories  in  which  organic  matters  are  used. — (Dr.  Lankester).  In  the  following 
year,  1859,  the  cleansing  of  the  Thames  by  disinfectants  was  commenced ;  and  during 
the  season  there  were  employed  about  4281  tons  of  chalk-lime,  478  tons  of  chloride  of 
lime,  and  56  tons  of  carbolic  acid,  at  a  cost  of  17,733/. 

Notwithstanding  the  many  early  measures  to  purify  the  Thames,  we  read  in  the 
London  chronicles  of  frequent  and  terrible  ravages  by  the  Plague,  Sweating  Sick- 
ness, and  other  disorders.  The  Thames  was  then  a  pure  and  pleasant  stream :  still  the 
Plague  raged,  and  carried  off  thousands,  and  that  at  a  time  when  the  population  of 
London  was  probably  under  300,000  persons — not  many  more  than  the  population  of 
St.  Pancras  at  present.  This  shows  that  the  purity  of  the  Thames  alone  did  not 
prevent  the  pestilence. 

The  Conservancy  of  the  Thames  by  the  Corporation  of  London  dates  from  1st 
Edward  IV.  j  the  Mayor  acting  as  bailiff  over  the  waters  (in  preserving  its  fisheries 
and  channels),  and  as  meter  of  marketable  commodities — fruit,  garden-stuff,  salt,  and 
oysters,  corn  and  coal — from  Staines  to  Yantlett  Creek  (80  miles).  The  Admiralty 
also  claimed  a  certain  jurisdiction ;  and  the  Corporation  of  the  Trinity  House  had 
authority  to  remove  shoals,  to  regulate  lastage  and  ballastage,  to  provide  lighthouses 
and  beacons,  to  license  pilots,  mariners,  &c.  The  powers  of  the  Corporation  were 
neither  large  nor  well  defined,  and  the  result  not  being  satisfactory,  a  Board  of  Con- 
servancy was,  in  1857,  created  by  Act  of  Parliament,  consisting  of  12  members,  of  whom 
the  City  nominated  six  in  addition  to  the  Lord  Mayor,  who  was  ex  officio  chairman ;  and 
the  Admiralty,  Board  of  Trade,  and  Trinity  House  nominated  the  other  five  members. 
This  Board  has  greatly  improved  the  river,  and  done  much  to  develope  its  capabilities. 

Feosts  and  Peost  Faies  ox  the  Thames,  see  pp.  360-363. 

The  Isle  of  Dogs,  the  horse-shoe  curve  between  Limehouse  and  Blackwall,  is 
described  at  p.  475. 

THAMES- STREET, 

IN  Stow's  time  called  StocJcfishmonger's  Mow,  extends  from  Puddle  Dock,  Blackfriars, 
to  the  Tower.     The  line  abounds  with  archaeological  interest. 

Uppee  Thames-steeet. — Fuddle  Dock  was  the  wharf  of  one  Puddle,  and  next 


778  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Puddle  Water,  from  horses  watered  there.  Ben  Jonson  calls  it  "  our  Abydos."  Shad- 
well,  in  his  comedy  of  Epsom  Wells,  1676,  has  "  the  Countess  of  Puddle  Dock,"  and 
Hogarth,  in  1732,  met  "  the  Duke  of  Puddle  Dock,"  at  the  Dark-house,  Billingsgate. 
Upon  the  site  of  old  Puddle  Dock  is  built  the  City  Flour  Mill,  by  far  the  largest 
flour-mill  in  the  world,  and  a  gigantic  example  of  mechanical  skill.  It  is  constructed 
entirely  upon  piles,  and  occupies  rather  more  than  an  acre,  or  250  feet  long  by  60  feet 
wide.  The  mill  consists  of  eight  stories ;  two  steam-engines,  of  the  consecutive  power 
of  300  horses,  drive  60  pairs  of  enormous  mill-stones,  and  work  the  Archimedean 
screws  and  buckets,  by  which  the  flour  is  conducted  through  the  different  processes. 
This  mill  has  stowage  for  40,000  quarters  of  grain ;  can  prepare  4000  quarters  per 
week,  and  requires  only  one-sixth  of  the  number  of  hands  which  were  employed  by 
he  old  system. 

Castle  Baynard  Wharf  denotes  the  site  of  Baynard's  Castle,  described  at  p.  40. 
Nearly  opposite  is  Adel  or  Addle  Hill,  where  stood  the  palace  of  the  Anglo-Saxon 
kings,  erected  by  Athelstan.  Boss-court  is  so  called  (says  Stow)  from  a  spring-water 
boss,  or  mouth,  put  up  by  the  executors  of  Sir  Richard  Whittington.  From  Lambeth- 
hill  to  Queenhithe  have  been  excavated  portions  of  the  river-wall  mentioned  by  Fitz- 
stephen.     Queenhithe,  see  p.  704.     Oarlick-hill  was  of  old  the  garlick  hithe. 

Loiogate,  or  Lownegate,  was  named  from  its  steep  descent  to  the  river;  or  from 
its  being  the  Dowr  or  Water  gate  to  Watling-street  (Maitland) ;  near  the  church  of 
St.  Mary  Bothaw  (destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire,  and  not  rebuilt),  was  the  mansion  of 
Sir  Francis  Drake.  Here  is  the  City  Terminus  of  the  South-Eastern  Railway,  de- 
scribed under  Watling  Street. 

The  Steelyard  is  named  from  its  having  been  the  place  where  the  King's  steel- 
yard, or  beam,  was  set  up  for  weighing  goods  imported  into  London  (T.  Hudson 
Turner).  See  a  good  account  of  the  Steelyard,  with  historic  details,  by  T.  C.  Noble, 
in  the  Builder,  September  5,  1863. 

Coldharbour-lane  denotes  the  site  of  Coldharbour,  a  magnificent  mansion,  13 
Edward  II.  (Rymer's  Fcedera).  It  was  next  the  property  of  Sir  John  Poultney; 
in  1397,  John  Holland,  Duke  of  Exeter,  entertained  here  Richard  II.;  Henry  V. 
possessed  it  when  Prince  of  Wales ;  Richard  III.,  in  1485,  granted  it  to  the  College 
of  Heralds ;  Henry  VIII.  exchanged  it  for  Durham  House,  Strand :  it  is  shown  in 
ruins,  in  Holland's  View  of  London  after  the  Great  Fire.  The  etymology  of  Cold- 
harbour  is  a  qucestio  vexata.  Sir  John  Poultney  received  for  his  mansion,  yearly,  a 
rose  at  midsummer,  whence,  or  from  the  wars  of  York  and  Lancaster,  the  estate  was 
named  "  the  Manor  of  the  Rose."  Upon  Laurence  Pountney-hill  are  two  elaborately- 
carved  doorways ;  and  some  of  the  houses  have  stone-groined  vaults.  Upon  Laurence 
Pountney-hill  lived  Dr.  William  Harvey,  with  his  brothers  Daniel  and  Eliab,  mer- 
chants; here  Harvey  made  his  researches  on  the  circulation  of  the  blood. 

In  Suffolk-lane  is  Merchant  Taylors'  School  (see  p.  725). 

Old  Swan  Stairs  was  a  Thames  landing-place  in  the  15th  century.  Here  were  the 
Old  Wine  Shades,  established  in  1697,  beneath  the  terrace  of  the  former  Fish- 
mongers' Hall;  the  present  Shades  is  the  house  built  for  Lord  Mayor  Garratt,  who 
laid  the  first  stone  of  London  Bridge  in  1825. 

At  Old  Swan   House,  facing  the  river,  three  successive  heads  of  the  mercantile 

concern  served  the  offices  of  Sheriff  and  Lord  Mayor ;  and  it  is  stated  that  no  such 

succession  in  the  list  of  magistrates  is  to  be  fouud  in  the  City.  Here  traded  Mr.  Richard 

Thornton,  who  died  June  20,  1865,  leaving  more  than  two  millions  and  three  quarters 

of  money,  which  he  disposed  of  as  follows : 

To  his  nephew,  Mr.  Thomas  Thornton,  the  testator  left  all  his  freehold,  copyhold,  and  leasehold 
property  for  his  absolute  use.  To  his  sister,  100,00(M.;  to  his  nephew,  Mr.  William  Thornton  West, 
300.000J. ;  to  two  of  his  clerks,  20.000Z.  each ;  to  his  nurse,  for  her  faithful  services  and  attention  to  him 
in  his  illness,  10002. ;  to  each  of  his  other  domestic  servants,  5002. ;  to  the  Leathersellers'  Company, 
60001. ;  to  Christ's  Hospital,  50002. ;  and  10,0002.  to  Hetherington's  Charity  for  the  Blind.  To  24  other 
charities  in  London,  20001.  each;  to  the  schools  at  Merton,  10,0002.;  and  to  the  poor  of  Merton,  10002. 
To  the  schools  at  Burton  and  Thornton,  10,0002. ;  and  to  the  poor  of  Merton,  5001.  To  Mr.  E.  N.  Lee, 
one  of  the  executors,  the  munificent  legacy  of  400,0002.,  on  condition  of  his  obtaining  a  licence  within 
twelve  months  to  take  and  use  the  surname  of  "Thornton."  To  the  wife  of  another  executor,  a  life 
interest  is  devised  in  the  sum  of  300,0002.  To  the  Misses  Margaret  and  Eliza  Lee,  of  Ventnor,  Isle  of 
Wight,  there  is  a  life  interest  in  the  sum  of  200,0002.  There  are  also  liberal  bequests  to  others  of  the 
testator's  nephews,  nieces,  and  other  persons. 


THAMES  TUNNEL.  779- 


At  the  upper  end  of  Martin' s-lane,  Cannon-street  East,  lias  been  built  a  Rectory- 
bouse,  with  a  handsome  campanile,  110  feet  high. 

Some  idea  of  the  ancient  commercial  wealth  of  England  may  be  gathered  from  a  glance  at  the  rapid 
increase  of  trade  from  about  the  middle  of  the  14th  century.  Thus,  in  136S,  Picard,  who  had  been  mayor 
some  years  before,  entertained  Edward  III.  and  the  Black  Prince,  the  Kings  of  France,  Scotland,  and 
Cyprus,  at  his  own  house  in  the  Vintry  (Upper  Thames-street),  and  presented  them  with  handsome  gifts. 
Philpot,  an  eminent  citizen  in  the  reign  of  Richard  II.,  when  the  trade  of  England  was  greatly  annoyed 
by  privateers,  hired  1000  armed  men  and  despatched  them  to  sea,  where  they  took  15  Spanish  vessels 
with  their  prizes:  Philpot-Iane,  in  Lower  Thames-street,  is  "so  called  of  Sir  John  Philpot  (one  of  this 
family),  "  that  dwelt  there,  and  was  owner  thereof." — Stow. 

The  south  side  of  Upper  Thames-street  is  mostly  occupied  by  wharfs,  once  the  site  of  river-side 
palaces.  In  the  lanes,  upon  the  north  side,  are  several  merchants' mansions,  "which,  if  not  exactly 
equal  to  the  palaces  of  stately  Venice,  might  at  least  vie  with  many  of  the  hotels  of  old  Paris.  Some  of 
thesp,  though  the  great  majority  have  been  broken  up  into  chambers  and  counting-houses,  still  remain 
intact." — B.  D'Israeli. 

Upper  Thames-street  retains  some  old  signs:  as,  a  bas-relief  of  a  Gardener  with  a  spade,  1670;  the 
Doublet  (upon  iron,  once  gilt),  at  Crawshay's  iron-wharf,  No.  36  (originally  the  "Sir  John  Anvill"  of 
the  Spectator,  No.  299).    Upon  Lambeth- hill,  over  Crane-court,  is  a  crane  carved  in  stone. 

Thames-street  has  long  been  noted  for  its  cheese-factors'  warehouses :  "  Thames- 
street  gives  cheeses." — (Gay's  Trivia.) 

Lower  Thames-street  :  Fish-street  Hill ;  the  Monument  (see  pp.  570-571) 
Here  was  the  entrance  to  Crooked-lane,  noted  for  its  old  fishing-tackle  shops,  handy 
for  the  anglers  at  London  Bridge.  At  Pudding-lane  (from  butchers  scalding  hog's 
puddings  there)  commenced  the  Geeat  Fire  (see  pp.  338-340). 

Next  is  Billingsgate  (p.  54).    Coal  Exchange  (p.  329). 

In  Water-lane  was  the  Old  Trinity  House,  built  by  Wren ;  and  at  the  lower  end 
of  the  lane  was  the  finely-carved  door-headway  of  the  Ship  Tavern.  The  Custom 
House  is  described  at  pp.  305-306. 

At  the  east  end  of  the  street,  in  Stow's  time,  were  the  remains  of  a  stone  mansion, 
Baid  to  have  been  the  lodging  of  the  Princes  of  Wales ;  hence  this  part  of  the  street 
was  called  Petty  Wales.  It  was  also  called  Galley  Quay,  from  the  galleys  formerly 
lading  and  landing  there.  Tradesmen's  tokens  in  the  seventeenth  century  were  struck 
here,  and  were  hence  called,  vulgo,  "  Galley-quay  halfpence." 


A 


THAMES  TUNNEL, 

BRICK   arched  double   roadway,   under  the  Thames,   between   Wapping  and 
Rotherhithe,  is  one  of  the  grandest  achievements  of  engineering  skill. 

In  1799  an  attempt  was  made  to  construct  an  archway  under  the  Thames,  from  Gravesend  to  Tilbury 
by  Ralph  Dodd,  engineer;  and  in  1804  the  "Thames  Archway  Company"  commenced  a  similar  work 
from  Rotherhithe  to  Limehouse,  under  the  direction  of  Vasey  and  Trevethick,  two  Cornish  miners; 
and  the  horizontal  excavation  had  reached  1040  feet,  when  the  ground  broke  in,  under  the  pressure  of 
high  tides,  and  the  work  was  abandoned ;  54  engineers  declaring  it  to  be  impracticable  to  make  a  tunnel 
under  the  Thames  of  any  useful  size  for  commercial  progression. 

The  Thames  Tunnel  was  planned  by  M.  I.  Brunei,  in  1823  :  among  the  earliest  sub- 
scribers to  the  scheme  were  the  late  Duke  of  Wellington  and  Dr.  Wollaston ;  and  in 
1824  the  "  Thames  Tunnel  Company  "  was  formed  to  execute  the  work.  A  brickwork 
cylinder,  50  feet  in  diameter,  42  feet  high,  and  3  feet  thick,  was  first  commenced  by 
Mr.  Brunei  at  150  feet  from  the  Rotherhithe  side  of  the  river;  and  on  March  2, 1825, 
a  stone  with  a  brass  inscription- plate  was  laid  in  the  brickwork.  Upon  this  cylinder, 
computed  to  weigh  1000  tons,  was  set  a  powerful  steam-engine,  by  which  the  earth 
was  raised,  and  the  water  was  drained  from  within  it ;  the  shaft  was  then  sunk  into 
the  ground  en  masse,  and  completed  to  the  depth  of  65  feet ;  and  at  the  depth  of 
63  feet  the  horizontal  roadway  was  commenced,  with  an  excavation  larger  than  the 
interior  of  the  old  House  of  Commons.  The  plan  of  operation  had  been  suggested  to 
Brunei,  in  1814,  by  the  bore  of  the  sea-worm,  Teredo  navalis,  in  the  keel  of  a  ship ; 
showing  how,  when  the  perforation  was  made  by  the  worm,  the  sides  were  secured, 
and  rendered  impervious  to  water,  by  the  insect  lining  the  passage  with  a  calcareous 
secretion.  With  the  auger-formed  head  of  the  worm  in  view,  Brunei  employed  a 
cast-iron  "  Shield,"  containing  36  frames  or  cells,  in  each  of  which  was  a  miner  who 
cut  down  the  earth ;  and  a  bricklayer  simultaneously  built  up  from  the  back  of  the 
cell  the  brick  arch,  which  was  pressed  forward  by  strong  screws.  Thus  were  com- 
pleted, from  Jan.  1,  1826,  to  April  27,  1827,  540  feet  of  the  Tunnel.     On  May  18  the 


780  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

river  burst  into  the  works ;  but  the  opening  was  soon  filled  up  with  bags  of  clay,  the 
water  pumped  out  of  the  Tunnel,  and  the  work  resumed.  At  the  length  of  600  feet, 
the  river  again  broke  in ;  six  men  were  drowned ;  and  the  rush  of  the  water  carried 
Mr.  Brunei,  jun.,  up  the  shaft.  The  Tunnel  was  again  emptied;  but  the  work  was 
now  discontinued,  for  want  of  funds,  for  seven  years. 

Scores  of  plans  were  next  proposed  for  its  completion,  and  above  5000Z.  were  raised 
by  public  subscription.  By  aid  of  a  loan  sanctioned  by  Parliament  (mainly  through 
the  influence  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington),  the  work  was  resumed,  and  a  new  shield 
constructed,  March,  1836,  in  which  year  were  completed  117  feet;  in  1837,  only 
29  feet;  in  1838,  80  feet;  in  1839,  194  feet;  in  1840  (two  months),  76  feet;  and  by 
November,  1841,  the  remaining  60  feet,  reaching  to  the  shaft  which  had  been  sunk  at 
Wapping.  On  March  24, 1843,  Brunei  was  knighted  by  Queen  Victoria ;  on  August  12 
he  passed  through  the  Tunnel  from  shore  to  shore ;  and  March  25,  1843,  it  was  opened 
as  a  public  thoroughfare,  lighted  with  gas,  to  passengers,  day  and  night,  at  one  penny 
toll;  in  each  passage  a  carriage-road  and  footway.  The  opening  was  celebrated 
annually  by  a  Fair  held  in  the  Tunnel. 

The  Tunnel  cost  about  454,000^. ;  to  complete  the  carriage-descents  would  require 
180,000^. ;  total,  634,000£.  The  dangers  of  the  work  were  many  :  sometimes  portions 
of  the  shield  broke  with  the  noise  of  a  cannon-shot ;  then  alarming  cries  told  of  some 
irruption  of  earth  or  water ;  but  the  excavators  were  much  more  inconvenienced  by 
fire  than  water ;  gas  explosions  frequently  wrapping  the  place  in  a  sheet  of  flame, 
strangely  mingling  with  the  water,  and  rendering  the  workmen  insensible.  Yet,  with 
all  these  perils,  but  seven  lives  were  lost  in  making  the  Thames  Tunnel;  whereas 
nearly  forty  men  were  killed  during  the  building  of  New  London  Bridge.  In  1833 
Mr.  Brunei  submitted  to  William  IV.,  at  St.  James's  Palace,  "  An  Exposition  of  the 
Facts  and  Circumstances  relating  to  the  Tunnel;"  and  Brunei  has  left  a  minute 
record  of  his  great  work :  it  is  well  described  and  illustrated  in  Weale's  Quarterly 
Papers  on  Engineering.  A  Visitor's  Book  is  kept  at  the  Tunnel,  wherein  are  the 
signatures  of  the  many  illustrious  persons  who  have  inspected  the  works.  It  was 
visited  by  Queen  Victoria,  July  26,  1843.  In  1838  the  number  of  visitors  was  23,000 ; 
in  1839,  34,000.  A  fine  medal  was  struck  at  the  completion  of  the  work  :  obv.  head 
of  Brunei ;  rev.  interior  and  longitudinal  section  of  the  Tunnel. 

Width  of  the  Tunnel,  35  feet;  height,  20  feet;  each  archway  and  footpath,  clear  width,  about  14 
feet;  thickness  of  earth  between  the  crown  of  the  Tunnel  and  the  bed  of  the  river,  about  15  feet.  At 
full  tide,  the  foot  of  the  Tunnel  is  75  feet  below  the  surface  of  the  water. 

The  Tunnel  has  been  paralleled,  as  an  engineering  triumph,  by  Stephenson's  Tubular 
Eailway-bridge. 

THEATRES. 

A  DELPHI  THEATRE,  No.  411,  Strand,  was  commenced  in  1802  by  John  Scott,  a 
colourman,  and  opened  Nov.  27,  1806,  as  the  Sans  Pareil,  with  musical  enter- 
tainments, and  next  year  with  dramas.  In  1820-1  Scott  sold  the  theatre  to  Rodwell 
and  Jones,  who  named  it  the  Adelphi ;  in  1825  it  was  sold  to  Terry  and  Yates ;  and 
after  Terry's  secession,  Yates  was  joined  by  Charles  Mathews  the  elder,  who  gave  here 
his  later  "  At  Homes."  The  compo  front  of  the  theatre  was  designed  by  Beazley, 
in  1840.  Yates  was  succeeded  by  Webster,  with  Madame  Celeste  as  directress.  One 
of  its  chief  attractions  was  the  comic  humour  of  John  Reeve.  The  theatre  was  rebuilt 
in  1858  upon  an  enlarged  plan,  by  Wyatt  (from  the  Opera  Comique  in  Paris)  for  Mr. 
Webster ;  style,  Italian ;  decoration,  French  Renaissance ;  illuminated  by  a  sunlight. 

Astley's  Amphitheatee,  Bridge-road,  Lambeth,  is  the  fourth  theatre  erected  upon 
this  site.  The  first  was  one  of  the  19  theatres  built  by  Philip  Astley,  and  was  opened 
in  1773,  burnt  in  1794;  rebuilt  1795,  burnt  1803;  rebuilt  1804,  burnt  June  8,  1841, 
within  two  hours,  from  the  house  being  principally  constructed  with  old  ship-timber. 
It  was  rebuilt,  and  opened  April  17, 1S43,  and  has  since  been  enlarged.  The  theatre 
was  built  for  equestrianism ;  and  the  stud  of  trained  horses  usually  numbered  from 
50  to  60.  It  has  since  been  cleverly  remodelled  by  Mr.  Boucicault,  for  performances 
of  the  regular  drama. 


THEATRES.  781 


Philip  Astley,  originally  a  cavalry  soldier,  commenced  horsemanship  in  1763,  in  an  open  field  at 
Lambeth :  he  built  his  first  theatre  partly  with  601.,  the  produce  of  an  unowned  diamond  ring  which  he 
found  on  Westminster  Bridge.  Andrew  Ducrow,  subsequently  proprietor  of  the  Amphitheatre,  was  born  at 
the  "Nag's  Head,"  Borough,  in  1793,  when  his  father,  Peter  Ducrow,  a  native  of  Bruges,  was  "  the  Flemish 
Hercules"  at  Astley's.  The  fire  in  1841  arose  from  ignited  wadding,  such  as  caused  the  destruction  of 
the  old  Globe  Theatre  in  1613,  and  Covent  Garden  Theatre  in  1808.  Andrew  Ducrow  died  Jan.  26, 1842, 
of  mental  derangement  and  paralysis,  produced  by  the  catastrophe  of  the  burning  of  his  theatre  and 
several  favourite  horses. 

Bankside  Theatees.  The  earliest  was  the  Circus  built  for  bull-baiting  and  bear- 
baiting,  about  1520,  in  Paris  Garden.  In  this  theatre,  plays  were  also  performed 
temp.  James  I.,  when  Henslowe  and  Alleyn  were  lessees.  Nash,  in  his  Strange 
Netves,  1590,  mentions  the  performance  of  puppets  there ;  and  Dekker  asserts  that 
Ben  Jonson  had  acted  there  (Satiromastix).  Aggas's  Map,  drawn  about  1560,  shows 
two  circi  lower  down  on  "  the  Bank  ;"  but  still  lower  were  the  Globe,  the  Mope,  and 
the  Rose.  The  Globe  was  built  by  agreement,  dated  Dec.  22,  1593,  for  Richard 
Burbage,  the  famous  actor.  In  1603  James  I.  granted  a  licence  to  Shakspeare  and 
others  to  act  "  at  their  now  usuall  house,  called  the  Globe."  It  was  of  wood,  hexa- 
gonal in  exterior  form,  and  was  occupied  by  Shakspeare  as  a  summer  theatre.  At 
Dulwich  College,  in  a  paper,  occurs  "  Mr.  Shaksper,"  in  a  list  of  "  Inhabitants  of 
Sowtherk,  Jully,  1596 ;"  he  was  assessed  in  the  liberty  of  the  Clink  in  1609,  though 
his  occupation  as  an  actor  at  the  Globe  did  not  continue  after  1604:*  his  brother, 
Edmond  Shakspeare,  was  buried  in  St.  Saviour's  church,  1607.  The  Globe  was  de- 
stroyed by  fire  June  29, 1613,  when  Ben  Jonson  was  present ;  it  was  rebuilt  in  1614,  but 
is  not  mentioned  after  1648  :  it  was  built  on  the  site  of  Globe-alley,  which  led  from 
Maid-lane  to  "  the  Bank,"  and  is  now  included  in  the  premises  of  Barclay  and  Perkins's 
Brewery  (see  the  Map  in  Strype's  Stow,  1720).  The  Hope,  used  both  for  bear-baiting 
and  as  a  playhouse,  was  situated  near  the  Rose :  in  1614  Ben  Jonson's  Bartholomew 
Fair  was  first  acted  here  ;  later  it  was  used  for  prize-fighting,  and  in  1632  again  for 
bear-baiting.  The  Hose,  probably  the  oldest  theatre  upon  Bankside,  except  Paris 
Garden  (Collier),  was  built  long  before  1597:  it  was  held  for  some  years  by  Philip 
Henslowe,  afterwards  Alleyn's  partner ;  it  occupied  the  site  of  Rose-alley,  west  of 
Globe-alley  (see  Strype's  Map).  The  Swan  was  in  repute  anterior  to  1598.  Both  the 
Rose  and  Swan,  after  1620,  were  only  occupied  occasionally  by  gladiators  and  fencers; 
and  about  1648  all  theatres  were  suppressed.     (See  the  Antwerp  View  of  London.) 

Blackfkiaks  Theatee  was  built  in  1575,  upon  part  of  the  site  of  the  monastery 
of  Blackfriars,  between  Apothecaries'  Hall  and  Printing-house-square,  and  upon  Play- 
house-yard. The  first  proprietors  were  James  Burbage  and  his  fellows,  who,  with 
other  players,  had  been  ejected  from  the  City  by  an  act  of  Common  Council :  it  was  a 
winter  theatre,  arranged  like  an  inn-yard  (the  earliest  theatre),  but  with  a  roof  over 
it.  Shakspeare  was  a  sharer  in  the  Blackfriars  playhouse  in  1589 ;  it  was  rebuilt  in 
1596 ;  and  was  leased  by  Edward  Alleyn  in  1618  (see  his  Diary,  at  Dulwich  College). 
It  was  taken  down  in  1655  (Collier's  Life  of  Shakspeare),  and  dwelling-houses  were 
built  upon  the  ground  (see  Blackfriaes,  p.  56.) 

Britannia  Theatee,  High-street,  Hoxton,  was  commenced  building  soon  after  the 
destruction  by  fire,  of  the  Rosemary  Branch  Equestrian  Theatre,  Islington  Pields, 
July  27,  1853y  when  seven  horses  and  eleven  dogs  were  burnt.  The  Britannia  (Finch 
and  Paraire,  architects),  is  provided  with  promenades  and  refreshment  saloons.  The 
auditory  is  very  spacious,  and  elegantly  decorated.  The  pit  is  nearly  80  feet  wide  and 
60  feet  deep.  The  stage  is  76  feet  wide  by  50  feet  deep ;  opening  at  proscenium 
34  feet  wide  by  37  feet  high.  The  house  is  effectively  ventilated  by  openings  left 
in  ornamental  portions  of  the  ceiling,  in  immediate  communication  with  the  internal 
area  of  the  roof,  and  thence  with  the  open  air,  by  means  of  louvres  extending  from 
one  extremity  of  the  building  to  the  other.  The  provisions  against  fire  are  well 
plauned,  and  the  extent  of  the  theatre  is  considerable. 

Brunswick  Theatee  was  built  upon  the  site  of  the  Royalty  Theatre,  within 
seven  months,  by  Stedman  Whitwell,  C.E.     The  facade  resembled  that  of  San  Carlos 

*  The  Globe  Theatre  stood  upon  a  spot  of  ground  now  occupied  by  four  houses  contiguous  to  the 
present  Globe-alley,  Maid-lane.— (Mirror,  March  31, 1832).    We  remember  a  large  tavern,  the  Globe,  ia 
.   Chaingate,  destroyed  by  lire  about  1812.   Pennant,  was  told  that  the  door  of  the  Globe  Theatre  was  very 
lately  (1790)  standing.— See  Knight's  Stratford  Shakspeare,  vol.  i.  1854. 


782  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

at  Naples.  It  was  opened  Feb.  25,  1828  ;  but  witbin  tbree  nigbts,  on  Feb.  28,  during 
a  day  rehearsal,  tbe  wbole  tbeatre  fell  to  the  ground,  and  killed  ten  persons,  among 
whom  was  a  proprietor,  D.  S.  Maurice,  the  tasteful  printer,  of  Fenchurcb-street. 
The  catastrophe  was  caused  by  the  unsafe  iron  roof  and  the  great  weights  attached 
to  it :  the  fall  of  the  theatre  was  well  described  at  the  time  by  one  of  the  company. 

City  of  London  Theatee,  36,  Norton  Folgate,  was  built  1837,  for  Mrs.  Honey, 
the  pretty  actress,  and  first  called  the  Norton  Folgate-street  Theatre. 

City  Theatee,  Milton-street  (Grub-street),  was  opened  about  1830,  with  operatic 
performances.  "  A  new  theatre  has  here  arisen,  where  boards  have  been  graced  with  a 
Tree  and  an  Ayton ;  and  within  these  few  months,  its  boxes  have  been  graced  with 
the  presence  of  my  Lords  Brougham  and  Grey." — (Mirror,  Nov.  19,  1831.)  The 
theatrical  concern  did  not  succeed,  and  the  premises  next  became  a  chapel. 

Cockpit  or  Phcenix  Theatee  (from  its  sign),  Drury-lane,  occupied  the  site  of 
Cockpit-alley,  now  Pitt-place,  opposite  the  Castle  Tavern,  St.  Giles's-in-the-Field3.  It 
was  altered  from  a  cockpit,  and  when  a  theatre  it  was  twice  nearly  destroyed  by  the 
London  apprentices ;  and  was  pulled  down  in  1649  by  soldiers,  instigated  by  sectarian 
bigots.  At  the  Restoration,  Rhodes,  a  bookseller,  rebuilt  the  theatre,  but  soon  vacated 
it ;  and  Sir  W.  Davenant,  with  Betterton  and  Kynaston  in  his  company,  performed 
here  till  1662,  when  they  removed  to  Portugal-row  (see  p.  687).  At  the  Cockpit  was 
performed  the  first  play  in  print,  The  Wedding,  by  Shirley,  printed  in  1629,  and  ex- 
pressly said  to  have  been  acted  at  Drury-lane. 

Covent  Garden  Theatee,  Bow-street,  is  the  third  theatre  built  here.  The  first 
theatre  was  built  upon  part  of  the  Convent  site,  by  Shepherd,  architect  of  Goodman's 
Fields  Theatre.  Covent  Garden  was  opened  Dec.  7,  1732,  by  Rich,  the  celebrated 
harlequin ;  and  Hogarth's  caricature  of  "  Rich's  Glory,  on  his  Triumphant  Entry  into 
Covent  Garden,"  refers  to  his  removal  here  :  it  shows  one  entrance,  a  magnificent  Ionic 
archway,  at  the  end  of  the  eastern  arcade  of  the  Piazza.  Here  the  Beefsteak  Society 
was  formed  in  1735,  by  Rich,  and  Lambert  the  scene-painter.  In  1746  Garrick  played 
here  for  the  season.  In  1803  John  Kemble  became  a  proprietor  and  stage-manager. 
On  Sept.  20,  1808,  the  theatre  was  burned  to  the  ground,  and  twenty  persons  killed 
in  the  ruins.  It  was  rebuilt  by  R.  Smirke,  R.A.  The  first  stone  was  laid  by  the 
Prince  of  "Wales,  Dec.  31,  1808;  and  the  theatre  was  opened  Sept.  18,  1809,  when 
the  "  new  prices  "  caused  the  O.  P.  (old  prices)  riot  of  seventy-seven  nights,  since 
which  "  a  London  audience  has  been  found  more  captious  than  they  previously  had 
been"  (C.  Dibdin).  In  1817  John  Kemble  here  took  leave  of  the  public;  and  in 
1840  retired  his  brother,  Charles  Kemble.  The  theatre  was  subsequently  leased  to 
Mr.  C.  Mathews  and  Madame  Vestris,  and  Mr.  Macready.  In  1843-45  it  was  let  to 
the  Anti-Corn-Law  League,  who  held  a  bazaar  here  in  1845  (see  p.  42).  In  1847 
the  auditory  was  entirely  reconstructed,  at  a  cost  of  40,000£.,  by  Albano,  and  opened 
as  an  Italian  Opera  House  April  6.  The  exterior  retained  Smirke's  Grecian-Doric  por- 
tico, copied  from  the  Temple  of  Minerva  at  Athens ;  statues  of  Tragedy  and  Comedy  ; 
and  two  panels  of  bas-relief  figures,  by  Flaxman. 

The  northern  panel  has  figures  of  JEschylus,  Aristophanes,  and  Mseander;  Thalia,  Polyhymnia, 
Euterpe,  and  Clio ;  Minerva  and  Bacchus ;  Melpomene,  two  Furies,  and  Apollo.  In  the  southern  panel 
arc  figures  of  Shakspeare  summoning  Caliban,  Ferdinand,  Miranda,  Prospero,  and  Ariel ;  Hecate  and 
Lady  Macbeth.    Also  Milton,  with  Urania  and  Samson  Agonistes,  an  incident  from  Comus,  &c. 

This  theatre  was  destroyed  by  fire,  March  5,  1856,  at  the  close  of  a  masked  ball. 
The  ruins  lay  uncleared  for  nearly  fifteen  months.  The  facade  was  saved,  and 
Flaxman's  statues  and  bas-reliefs  were  adapted  in  the  design  for  a  new  theatre,  by 
E.  M.  Barry,  which  was  opened  as  an  Italian  Opera  House,  in  1858.  It  is  externally 
nearly  100  feet  high  by  120  feet  broad,  and  240  feet  long,  has  a  grand  Corinthian 
portico,  facing  Bow-street,  about  one-fifth  larger  than  the  late  theatre,  and  the  same 
size  as  the  celebrated  La  Scala  of  Milan,  hitherto  the  largest  theatre  in  the  world. 
The  interior  decorations  are  white  and  gold,  and  pale  azure.  Adjoining  the  theatre  is 
the  Floral  Hall,  of  "  Crystal  Palace"  design.     (See  Royal  Italian  Opeea,  p.  789.) 

First  Appearances.— Inclcdon,  the  singer,  1790;  Charles  Kemble,  1794;  Mrs.  Glover,  1797;  G.  F. 
Cooke  (Richard  III.),  Oct,  31,  1800;  Miss  Stephens  (Countess  of  Essex),  1812;  Miss  O'Neill  (Lady 
ISeecher),  1814;  Macready,  1816;  W.Farren,  1818;  Fanny  Kemble,  1829;  Adelaide  Kemble,  1841.  Here 
Edmund  Kean  last  acted,  1833. 


THEATRES.  783 


Curtain  Theatre  (The),  Holywell,  is  mentioned  in  1577.  Stow,  speaking  of  the 
priory  of  St.  John  Baptist,  says  :  "  Near  thereunto  are  huilded  two  publique  houses 
for  the  acting  and  showe  of  comedies,  tragedies,  and  histories  for  recreation;  whereof 
the  one  is  called  The  Courtein,  the  other  The  Theatre,  hoth  standing  on  the  south- 
west side,  towards  the  field  "  {Stow,  1st  edit.  1599).  Both  theatres  are  mentioned  in 
Northbrook's  Treatise  against  Diceing,  Dancing,  Vain  Plays  or  Interludes,  1577  ;  by 
Stubbes  in  bis  Anatomie  of  Abuses,  1583 ;  in  a  black-letter  ballad,  in  the  Pepysian 
collection,  occurs  "  the  Curtain  at  Holywell  ;"  and  in  an  epigram  by  Heatb,  1610. 
Sir  H.  Herbert's  office-book  shows  that  in  1622  the  Curtain  was  occupied  by  the 
servants  of  Prince  Charles.  Aubrey  (1678)  describes  it  as  "a  kind  of  nursery  or 
obscure  playhouse,  called  the  Greene  Curtain,  situate  in  the  suburbs  towards  Shore- 
ditch."  After  it  was  abandoned  as  a  playhouse,  prize-fighters  exbibited  here.  Sir 
Henry  Ellis  (Hist.  Shoreditch,  1798)  quotes  from  the  parish  books  several  entries  of 
the  marriage,  burial,  &c,  of  players.  Maitland  (Hist.  London,  1772)  mentions  some 
remains  of  the  Curtain  standing  at  or  near  his  time.  It  is  said  to  have  occupied  the 
site  of  the  curtain  close  of  the  priory,  and  is  conjectured  to  have  been  named  from  its 
being  the  first  theatre  to  adopt  that  necessary  appendage  of  the  stage,  the  curtain. 
The  name  survives  in  Curtain-road. 

Drttry-lane  Theatre,  between  Drury-lane  and  Brydges-street,  forms  the  east 
side  of  Little  Russell-street.  The  first  theatre  here  was  built  precisely  upon  this  site 
for  Thomas  Killigrew,  and  opened  April  8,  1663 ;  the  company  being  called  "  the 
King's  Servants,"  as  Davenant's  were  "  the  Duke's  Servants,"  both  under  patents 
granted  by  Charles  II.  in  1660.  Drury-lane,  "  the  King's  Theatre,"  had  the  chief 
entrance  in  Little  Russell-street.  Pepys's  Diary  records  many  of  his  visits  to  "  the 
King's  House,"  and  other  London  theatres,  from  1660-1670.  "  The  King's  House  " 
was  burnt  down  Jan.  1671-72.  It  was  rebuilt  by  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  and  opened 
March  26,  1674,  with  a  prologue  and  epilogue  by  Dryden.  Mr.  Collier  has  printed  in 
the  Shakspeare  Society's  Papers,  vol.  iv.  p.  147,  an  indenture  showing  Dryden  to 
have  been  joined  with  Killigrew,  Hart,  Mohun,  and  others,  in  the  speculation  of  this 
"  new  playhouse."  In  1682  the  King's  and  Duke's  companies  played  here  together. 
Rich,  Steele,  Dogget,  Wilks,  Cibber,  and  Booth  were  successively  patentees;  and 
Garrick  in  1747,  when  he  opened  the  theatre,  Sept.  15,  with  the  well-known  prologue 
written  by  Dr.  Johnson,  and  commenced  the  revival  of  Shakspeare's  plays.  On 
June  10,  1776,  Garrick  here  took  leave  of  the  stage.  Sheridan  then  became  part- 
proprietor;  and,  in  1788,  John  Kemble  manager.  In  1791  the  old  theatre  was  taken 
down,  rebuilt  by  Holland,  and  the  new  theatre  opened  March  12,  1794. 

It  was  called  by  Mrs.  Siddons  "  The  Wilderness."  The  opening  for  the  curtain  was  43  feet  wide  and 
38  feet  high,  or  nearly  seven  times  the  height  of  the  performers.  There  were  seats  for  3600  persons ;  but 
upwards  of  5000  persons  are  known  to  have  been  squeezed  into  this  theatre. 

It  was  burnt  down  Feb.  24,  1809.  The  present  house,  built  by  B.  Wyatt,  from 
the  plan  of  the  great  Bordeaux  theatre,  was  opened  Oct.  12,  1812,  with  a  prologue  by 
Lord  Byron.  In  1818  the  theatre  was  let,  at  10,200Z.  per  annum,  to  Elliston,  for 
whom  Beazley  reduced  the  auditory,  added  the  Doric  portico  in  Brydges-street,  and 
the  cast-iron  colonnade  in  Little  Russell-street  in  1831.  In  the  hall  is  a  cast  of 
Scheemakers's  statue  of  Shakspeare,  and  a  statue  of  Edmund  Kean  by  S.  Joseph.  The 
staircases  and  rotunda  are  magnificent,  and  the  interior  circular  roof  of  the  auditory  is 
geometrically  fine. 

First  Appearances. — Nell  Gwynne,  at  "the  King's  House,"  1666;  Barton  Booth,  1701 ;  Mrs.  Siddons, 
1775;  John  P.  Kemble,  1783;  Harriet  Mellon  (Duchess  of  St.  Albans),  1795;  Edmund  Kean,  1814.  Here 
Macready  took  leave  of  the  stage,  Feb.  26,  1851. 

The  first  Drury-lane  Theatre  was  sometimes  called  Covent  Garden  Theatre;  and  the  late  Mr. 
Richardson,  the  Coffee-house  keeper,  possessed  a  ticket  inscribed,  "For  the  Music  at  the  Playhouse  in 
Covent  Garden,  Tuesday,  March  6,  1704." — J.  T.  Smith. 

Dorset-gardens  Theatre  was  built  at  the  extremity  of  Salisbury-court,  Fleet- 
street,  and  had  a  handsome  front  and  flight  of  stairs  to  the  Thames.  It  was  opened  in 
1671,  under  the  management  of  Lady  Davenant.  Dryden,  in  his  prologue  to  Marriage 
a-la-lfode,  1672,  leaves  contemptuously  to  the  citizens  "  the  gay  shows  and  gaudy 
scenes  "  of  Dorset-gardens.  Here  Shadwell's  operatic  version  of  Shakspeare's  Tempest 
was  produced  with  great  splendour  in  1673.  After  1697  the  theatre  was  let  to 
wrestlers  and  fencers,  but  was  taken  down  about  1720,  and  the  site  is  now  occupied  by 


7S4  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  City  Gas-works.  The  theatre  was  designed  hy  Wren,  and  the  sculpture  by 
Gibbons,  included  figures  of  Comedy  and  Tragedy  surmounting  the  balustrade. 

Duke's  Theatre,  "the  Opera,"  Lincoln's-inn-fields.  (See  Portugal-street,p.6S7.) 
Here,  May  10,  1735,  Macklin  killed  his  brother-actor  Hallam,  by  accident,  in  a  quarrel. 

Effingham  Theatee  (modern),  in  the  rear  of  the  Earl  of  Effingham  Tavern,  235, 
Whitechapel-road,  was,  in  part,  taken  down  in  1867,  and  rebuilt  to  hold  4000  persons. 

Fortune  Theatre — named  from  its  sign, 

"  The  picture  of  Dame  Fortune 
Before  the  Fortune  playhouse"  (Heywood) — 

was  built  for  Philip  Henslowe  and  William  Alleyn,  in  1599-1600,  on  the  east  side  of 
Golding-lane,  without  Cripplegate.  It  cost  1320?.,  and  was  opened  May,  1601.  It 
was  a  square  timber  and  lath-and-plaster  building,  and  was  burnt  Dec.  9,  1621 
(Alleyn's  Diary) ;  but  was  rebuilt  on  a  circular  plan,  of  brick,  and  tiled.  The  interior 
was  burnt  in  1649 — Prynne  says  by  accident,  but  it  was  fired  by  sectarians.  In  the 
Mercurius  Politicus,  Feb.  14-21,  1661,  the  building,  with  the  ground  belonging,  were 
advertised  "  to  be  lett  to  be  built  upon  •"  and  it  is  described  as  standing  between 
"  Whitecross-street  and  Golen-lane,"  the  avenue  now  Playhouse-yard. 

Garrick  Theatre,  Leman-street,  Goodman's  Fields,  was  built  in  1830,  and  named 
from  its  proximity  to  the  scene  of  Garrick's  early  fame.  The  theatre  was  burnt  down 
November  4,  1846,  when  it  belonged  to  Messrs.  Conquest  and  Gomersall,  the  latter 
remembered  for  his  impersonation  of  Napoleon  Bonaparte.    The  theatre  has  been  rebuilt. 

Gibbon's-court  Theatre,  Clare  Market.     (See  p.  558.) 

Goodman's  Fields  Theatre  was  first  opened  as  a  silk-throwster's  shop,  in  1729, 
by  Thomas  Odell,  and  was  rebuilt  by  Henry  Giflard ;  both  of  whom  were,  however, 
compelled  to  close  the  theatre  by  the  puritanical  clamour  raised  against  it.  Giff.ird 
returned  to  Goodman's  Fields  in  1737 ;  and  here,  Oct.  19,  1741,  David  Garrick  first 
appeared  in  London  as  Kichard  III.  He  drew  an  audience  of  the  nobility  and  gentry, 
whose  carriages  filled  the  whole  space  from  Temple  Bar  to  Whitechapcl.  Gray,  in  a 
letter  to  Chute,  writing  respecting  these  performances,  says,  "  Did  I  tell  you  about 
Mr.  Garrick,  that  the  town  are  horn  mad  after  ?  There  are  a  dozen  dukes  of  a  night 
in  Goodman's  Fields  sometimes."  The  theatre  was  taken  down  about  1746.  Garrick's 
first  appearance  here  arose  from  the  proprietor  being  also  manager  of  the  Ipswich 
company,  in  which  Garrick  first  appeared  on  the  stage. 

Grecian  Theatre,  adjoining  the  garden  of  the  Eagle  Tavern,  City-road,  was 
built  by  Thomas  Rouse  for  regular  dramatic  entertainments.  The  establishment  has 
been  enlarged  and  improved  by  Mr.  Conquest,  the  present  proprietor :  it  has  a  spacious 
ball-room,  elegantly  decorated,  open  without  extra  charge ;  and  the  garden  is  illumi- 
nated in  the  Vauxhall  taste,  with  the  advantages  of  gas-lighting,  open-air  orchestra, 
lights  among  the  shrubs,  &c. 

Haymarket  Theatre,  the  "  Little  Theatre,"  was  originally  built  by  one  Potter, 
and  opened  Dec.  29,  1720,  by  "the  French  comedians:"  it  was  first  called  "the  New 
French  Theatre."  In  1723  it  was  occupied  by  English  actors ;  1726,  Italian  operas, 
rope-dancing,  and  tumblers,  by  subscription ;  in  1727  the  Beggar's  Opera  was  pro- 
duced here ;  1731,  gladiators  and  backswordsmen ;  1732,  English  opera  upon  the 
Italian  model ;  1734-5,  Fielding  opened  the  theatre  with  "  the  Great  Mogul's  Com- 
pany of  Comedians,"  for  whom  he  wrote  his  Pasquin,  the  satire  of  which  upon  the 
Walpole  administration  gave  rise  to  the  Licensing  Act  (10th  of  Geo.  II.  cap.  28).  In 
1738  a  French  company  reopened  the  theatre,  but  were  driven  from  the  stage  the  first 
night.  In  1741,  English  operas  were  played  here ;  1744,  Samuel  Foote  first  appeared 
here  as  Othello;  1747,  Foote  became  manager,  and  continued  so  for  thirty  years, 
commencing  with  his  own  Entertainments.  Jan.  16,  1748-9,  the  Bottle  Conjuror 
hoax  and  riot.  1762,  the  Haymarket  was  established  as  a  regular  summer  theatre. 
1777,  it  became  a  Theatre  Royal,  when  Foote  sold  his  interest  to  George  Colman  for 
a  life  annuity  of  1600?.,  and  Foote  died  in  the  following  October.  In  the  green-room 
is  a  gilt  clock,  which  belonged  to  Foote.  Colman  died  in  1795,  and  was  succeeded  by 
his  son,  George  Colman  the  younger,  licenser  of  plays.     Feb.  3,  1794,  sixteen  persons 


THEATRES.  785 


/ 


were  trodden  to  death,  or  suffocated,  in  attempting  to  gain  admission  on  a  royal  visit. 
The  "  Little  Theatre "  was  taken  down  in  1820 ;  the  present  theatre  was  built,  at  a 
few  feet  distant,  with  a  lofty  Corinthian  portico,  by  Nash,  and  opened  July  14,  1821 : 
here  was  produced  Paul  Pry,  with  Liston,  in  1825.  In  1853,  Mr.  B.  WelJster  con- 
cluded here  a  lesseeship  of  16  years ;  the  theatre  was  then  let  to  Mr.  Buckstone,  who 
has  rendered  the  Haymarket  famous  for  its  excellent  performance  of  the  legitimate 
drama ;  and  this  while  one  of  our  great  national  theatres  was  devoted  to  Italian  opera. 

Fir 'xt  Appearances. — Henderson,  Bannister,  Mathews,  Elliston,  Liston,  and  Young;  Miss  Fenton 
(Duchess  of  Bolton),  Miss  Farren  (Countess  of  Derby) ;  Edmund  Kean,  in  "  little  business,"  1806 ;  Miss 
Paton  (Lady  W.  Lennox).    Here  Macready  gave  his  final  performances. 

Holboen  Amphitheatee  occupies  the  site  of  the  Metropolitan  Horse  Bazaar, 
opposite  the  Inns  of  Court  Hotel.  Its  length  is  130  feet,  width  68  feet  from  box  to 
box.  The  private  boxes  form  a  semicircle  in  front  of  the  house,  a  row  of  stalls,  called 
the  "Grand  Balcony,"  being  ranged  immediately  before  them  on  the  same  tier. 
Above  them  is  a  gallery  called  the  Amphitheatre.  The  performances  are  chiefly 
equestrian,  and  the  ring  is  surrounded  by  pit-stalls. 

Holbokn  Theatre,  built  1866,  nearly  upon  the  site  of  Warwick  House.  (See  p.  431.) 

St.  James's  Theatee,  King-street,  St.  James's,  was  designed  by  Beazley,  for  John 
Brabant,  the  singer,  and  cost  50,000/.,  independently  of  the  site,  which  cost  8000/. 
The  facade  is  Roman,  of  the  Middle  Ages ;  and  the  interior,  by  Crace,  originally  re- 
sembled the  theatre  of  the  Palace  of  Versailles.  The  St.  James's  Theatre  was  opened 
in  1S35 ;  and  next  year  was  produced  here  an  operatic  burletta  written  by  Charles 
Dickens,  the  music  by  John  Hullah.     Here  French  plays  are  occasionally  performed. 

Lyceum  Theatee,  Wellington-street,  Strand,  was  originally  built  by  James 
Payne,  architect,  in  1765,  as  an  academy  (or  lyceum)  for  a  society  of  artists ;  of  whom, 
on  the  re-establishment  of  the  Royal  Academy,  Garrick '  bought  the  lease  of  the  pre- 
mises, to  prevent  their  becoming  a  theatre.  They  were  next  purchased  by  Mr.  Ling- 
ham,  a  breeches  maker,  in  the  Strand,  and  opened  about  1790  for  musical  perform- 
ances j  in  1794  or  1795  Lingham  leased  the  adjoining  ground  to  Dr.  Arnold,  who  built 
here  a  theatre,  the  licence  for  which  was  suppressed,  and  it  was  let  for  music,  dancing, 
and  horsemanship,  exhibition  of  paintings,  &c. :  a  foreigner  gained  a  large  fortune  by 
showing  here  the  first  phantasmagoria  seen  in  England;  and  here,  in  1803-4,  Winsor 
exhibited  his  experimental  gas-lighting.  In  1809,  the  theatre  was  enlarged  by  Mr.  S. 
A.  Arnold,  and  opened  as  the  English  Opera-house :  it  was  rebuilt,  in  1816,  by 
Beazley ;  was  destroyed  by  fire,  Feb.  16,  1830  j  and  again  rebuilt  by  Beazley  somewhat 
further  west,  the  site  of  the  former  theatre  being  included  in  Wellington-street,  then 
formed  from  the  Strand  northward.  The  new  theatre  cost  35,000/. ;  it  has  an 
elegant  Corinthian  portico :  it  was  opened  with  English  opera,  July  14,  1834 ;  and 
was  re-decorated  in  rich  Italian  taste,  for  Madame  Vestris,  in  1847.  Here  were  given 
the  best  performances  of  the  Keeleys;  and  the  admirable  Shakesperean  and  melo- 
dramatic impersonations  of  Mr.  Charles  Fechter. 

Maeionette  Theatee,  Adelaide-street,  Strand,  was  originally  the  Adelaide  Gallery, 
and  was  altered  for  the  clever  performances  of  Marionettes,  or  puppets,  in  1852. 

Mabylebone  Theatee,  Church-street,  Paddington,  was  built  and  opened  in  1842, 
as  "  a  penny  theatre :"  it  was  enlarged  in  1854,  to  hold  1200  persons. 

Milton-steeet  Theatee,  see  Gbub-street,  p.  782. 

Newington  Butts  :  here  was  a  theatre  built  before  the  Globe  at  Bankside :  it  is 
mentioned  in  the  Diary  of  Philip  Henslowe,  which  shows  that  from  June,  1594,  the 
performances  were  jointly  by  the  Lord  Admiral's  men  and  the  Lord  Chamberlain's 
men  :  here  were  acted  Titus  Andronicus,  Samlet,  and  the  Taming  of  a  Shrew. 

Nursery  (the),  in  Golding-lane,  was  built  by  a  patent  of  Charles  II.  as  a  school  for 
the  education  of  children  for  the  stage : 

"Near  these  a  Nursery  erects  its  head, 
Where  queens  are  formed,  and  future  heroes  bred, 
Where  unfledged  actors  learn  to  laugh  and  cry, 
Where  infant  punks  their  tender  voices  try, 
And  little  Maximins  the  gods  defy." — Dryden's  Mac  Flecknoe. 

3  E 


786  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Bayes,  in  the  Rehearsal,  speaks  of  "  the  service  of  the  Nursery  ;"  and  Pepys  first  went 
there  24th  Feh.  1667-8.  The  house,  with  the  royal  arms  and  a  figure  of  Charity,  in 
plaster,  on  the  front,  existed  to  our  time,  and  has  been  erroneously  described  as  the 
Fortune  Theatre.  There  was  a  similar  Nursery  in  Hatton-garden,  at  which  Joe 
Haynes,  the  dancer,  performed. 

Olympic  Theatbe,  Wych-street,  was  originally  erected  by  Philip  Astley,  upon 
the  site  of  old  Craven  House,  and  was  opened  with  horsemanship,  Sept.  18,  1806;  it 
was  principally  built  with  the  timbers  of  La  Ville  de  Paris,  the  ship  in  which  William  IV. 
served  as  midshipman;  these  materials  were  given  to  Astley,  with  a  chandelier,  by 
George  III.  The  theatre  was  leased  in  1813  to  Elliston,  who  removed  thence  to 
Drury-lane ;  and  subsequently  to  Madame  Vestris,  before  she  became  lessee  of  Covent- 
garden ;  both  which  changes  were  ruinous.  The  Olympic  Theatre  was  destroyed  by 
fire,  within  an  hour,  March  29,  1849  :  it  was  rebuilt  the  same  year,  and  opened 
Dec.  26.     Here  William  Farren  was  sometime  lessee. 

First  and  last  at  the  Olympic  Theatre  have  appeared  Elliston  and  Mrs.  Edwin ;  Oxberry  and  Power; 
Keeley  and  Fitzwilliam ;  Charles  Kean  and  Ellen  Tree ;  Madame  Vestris,  Mrs.  Nesbitt  (Lady  Boothby), 
Mrs.  Keeley,  and  William  Farren ;  Charles  Mathews  first  appeared  here ;  and  Miss  Foote  (Countess  of 
Harrington),  Mrs.  Orger,  and  Liston,  last  played  here.  In  Craven-buildings,  adjoining  the  theatre, 
have  resided  "three  favourite  actresses,  from  the  time  of  Dryden  to  our  own — Mrs.  Bracegirdle,  Mrs. 
Pritchard,  and  Madame  Vestris." 

Pantheon  Theatbe,  Oxford-street  (see  p.  639). 

Pavilion  Theatee,  Whitechapel,  one  of  the  largest  theatres  in  the  metropolis, 
covers  nearly  an  acre  of  ground :  it  is  nearly  60  feet  high,  yet  has  but  two  tiers  of 
boxes  and  one  gallery ;  depth  and  width,  nearly  50  feet  each ;  decorations,  dead- white, 
gold,  and  crimson. 

Peincess's  Theatee,  Oxford- street,  originally  built  as  the  Queen's  Bazaar  (see 
p.  41),  was  designed  by  Nelson,  and  opened  Sept.  30,  1841,  with  promenade  concerts. 
It  cost  47,000Z. ;  but  the  unique  character  of  its  Renaissance  decoration,  by  Crace,  has 
been  spoiled :  originally  it  consisted  entirely  of  four  tiers  of  boxes.  This  theatre,  under  the 
management  of  Mr.  Charles  Kean,  became  famous  for  his  reproduction  of  Shakspeare's 
historic  plays,  excellently  acted,  with  scenic  accessories  hitherto  unprecedented. 
For  these  efforts  to  improve  the  tone,  and  elevate  the  character  of  our  stage,  Mr.  Charles 
Kean  was,  in  1862,  presented  with  a  costly  service  of  plate,  by  public  subscription. 

Queen's  Theatee  (now  the  Pkince  of  Wales's)  Tottenham-street,  Totteuham- 
court-road,  was  originally  Francis  Pasquali's  Concert-room,  enlarged  for  the  Concerts 
of  Ancient  Music  by  Novosielski,  who  built  here  a  superb  box  for  George  III.  and 
Queen  Charlotte  (Dr.  Bimbault,  Notes  and  Queries,  No.  10).  In  1802  Colonel 
Greville  fitted  it  up  for  the  performances  of  the  "  Pic-nic  Society,"  a  body  of  distin- 
guished amateurs,  whose  celebrity  rendered  them  objects  of  alarm  to  the  professional 
actors  of  the  day,  and  exposed  them  to  the  attacks  of  the  caricaturist  Gilray.  In  1808 
it  was  an  equestrian  establishment  under  the  management  of  Saunders.  Two  years 
afterwards  it  was  opened  as  a  theatre,  but  Mr.  Paul,  the  first  manager,  proved  unsuc- 
cessful. About  1821,  it  passed  into  the  hands  of  Mr.  Brunton,  whose  daughter,  after- 
wards so  justly  celebrated  as  Mrs.  Yates,  was  one  of  its  chief  attractions.  In  the  first 
bill  issued  by  Mr.  Paul,  the  first  theatrical  lessee,  it  is  simply  called  the  "  New  Theatre, 
King's  Ancient  Concert  Rooms,  Tottenham-street."  Afterwards  it  became  the  Regency, 
the  Theatre  of  Variety,  and  the  West  London ;  and  on  the  accession  of  William  IV. 
was  designated  the  Queen's,  in  compliment  to  Queen  Adelaide.  An  attempt  to  render 
the  theatre  a  sort  of  English  opera-house  was  made  in  1831  by  Mr.  Macfarren  (father 
of  the  popular  composer),  and  in  1833  it  acquired  a  temporary  brilliancy  under  the 
new  name  of  the  Fitzroy.  Here  the  burlesques,  chiefly  written  by  Mr.  Gilbert  a, 
Beckett,  gained  considerable  fame  in  their  day ;  and  still  more  celebrated  were  Mr.  H. 
Mayhew's  Wandering  Minstrel,  and  his  local  drama  of  the  Field  of  Forty  Footsteps. 
Here  French  plays  were  first  performed  after  the  Peace  of  1815.  Frederick  Lemaitre 
appeared ;  Mademoiselle  George  played  in  Voltaire's  tragedy  Merope  ;  and  M.  Laporte, 
afterwards  manager  of  Covent-garden  and  Her  Majesty's  Theatres,  was  a  principal 
comedian.  In  1835  it  was  reopened  by  Mrs.  Nesbitt,  who  formed  a  really  powerful 
company,  comprising  the  most  noted  comic  performers  of  the  time,  and  revived  the 
name  of  the  "  Queen's."     It  received  its  present  designation  under  the  management 


TEEATBES.  787 


of  Miss  Marie  Wilton.     Here  Young,  the  tragedian,  first  appeared  on  the  stage,  in 
1807,  at  a  private  performance. 

Queen's  Theatbe,  formerly  St.  Martin's  Hall,  Long  Acre,  opened  1867. 

Ked  Bull  Theatre  (the),  upon  the  site  of  Red  Bull-yard,  St.  John-street,  Clerken- 

well,  was  originally  an  inn-yard,  but  rebuilt  about  1633 :  here  the  King's  Company, 

under  Killigrew,  acted  until  Drury-lane  was  ready  for  them.  During  the  Interregnum, 

"Drolls"  were  performed  here,  and  afterwards  published  by  Kirkman,  one  of  the 

players,  with  a  frontispiece  of  the  interior  of  the  theatre.  (See  Cleekenwell,  p.  236.) 

There  is  a  well-compiled  account  of  the  Red  Bull  Theatre  in  Pinks's  History  of 

Clerlcenwell,  pp.  190-196. 

Sir  William  Davenant,  to  whom  Charles  I.  granted  a  patent  in  1639,  continued  recreation  and  music, 
after  the  manner  of  the  ancients,  at  Rutland  House,  Bridgewater-square,  and  subsequently  at  the  Cock- 
pit, till  the  Restoration,  when  the  few  players  who  had  not  fallen  in  the  wars  or  died  of  poverty  assembled 
under  Davenant  at  the  Red  Bull :  the  actors'  clothes  were  "  very  poore,  and  the  actors  but  common 
fellows."— Pepys,  1661. 

Royalty  Theatre,  Well-street,  Wellclose-square  (named  from  Goodman's  Field 
Wells,  1735),  was  built  by  subscription,  and  opened  in  1787,  when  John  Braham  first 
appeared  on  the  stage,  as  Cupid,  and  John  Palmer  was  manager ;  Lee  Lewis,  Bates, 
Holland,  and  Mrs.  Gibbs,  were  also  of  the  company.  It  was  purchased  about  1820  by 
Mr.  Peter  Moore,  M.P. ;  was  burnt  down  April  11,  1826  j  and  upon  the  site  was 
erected  the  Brunswick  Theatre,  noticed  at  p.  781. 

Sadler's  Wells,  the  oldest  theatre  in  London,  is  on  the  S.W.  side  of  Islington, 
and  named  in  part  from  a  mineral  spring,  which  was  superstitiously  dispensed  by  the 
monks  of  the  Priory  of  St.  John  of  Jerusalem,  probably  from  the  time  of  Henry  I. 
or  Stephen.  In  the  reign  of  Charles  II.,  one  Sadler  built  here  a  music-house,  and  in 
1683  re-discovered  in  the  garden  the  well  of  "  excellent  steel  waters,"  which  in  1684 
was  visited  and  drunk  by  hundreds  of  persons  every  morning.  Evelyn,  on  June  11, 
1686,  went  to  "  the  New  Spa  Well,  near  Myddelton's  receptacle  of  water  at  the  New 
River."  The  entertainments  were  rope-dancing,  tumbling,  and  gluttonous  feats.  The 
well,  ceasing  to  attract,  was  covered  over ;  and  in  1764  the  old  music-house  (engraved 
in  the  Mirror,  No.  971)  was  taken  down,  and  the  present  theatre  built  by  Rosoman. 
King  (of  Drury-lane)  was  long  a  partner  and  stage-manager  j  and  Charles  Dibdin  and 
his  sons,  Thomas  and  Charles,  were  proprietors.  Grimaldi,  father,  son,  and  grandson, 
were  famous  clowns  at  this  theatre ;  and  Belzoni  was  a  posture-master  here  before  he 
travelled  to  the  East.  In  1804  the  New  River  water  was  introduced  in  a  tank  under 
the  stage,  where  also  is  a  mineral  well ;  but  the  old  well  is  between  the  stage-door  and 
the  New  River.  Wine  was  sold  and  drunk  on  the  premises  until  1807  :  under  the  old 
regulation,  "  for  an  additional  sixpence,  every  spectator  was  allowed  a  pint  of  either 
port,  Lisbon,  mountain,  or  punch."  But  the  more  honourable  distinction  of  Sadler's 
Wells  Theatre  is  its  admirable  representations  of  Elizabethan  plays,  under  the  manage- 
ment of  Mr.  Phelps,  who  has  been  efficiently  succeeded  by  Miss  Marriott. 

Salisbuby-coubt  Theatbe  (see  p.  349). 

Sans  Souci  Theatbe,  Strand,  was  built  by  Dibdin,  the  song-writer,  in  the  rear  of 
his  music-shop,  and  opened  Feb.  16,  1793.  Dibdin  planned,  painted,  and  decorated 
this  theatre ;  wrote  the  recitations  and  songs,  composed  the  music,  and  sang  and  ac- 
companied them  on  an  organized  pianoforte  of  his  own  invention.  He  built  another 
Sans  Souci  theatre  in  Leicester-place. 

Soho  Theatbe,  now  the  New  Royalty,  was  built  for  Frances  Kelly,  in  1840,  as  a 
school  for  acting,  in  the  rear  of  No.  73,  Dean-street.     It  will  hold  600  persons. 

Standard  Theatbe,  Shoreditch,  occupies  the  site  of  the  former  theatre,  burnt 
Oct.  28,  1866,  and  is  larger  than  any  one  in  London,  excepting  the  Italian  Opera- 
house,  Covent  Garden.  The  main  building  is  149  feet  long  and  90  wide.  The  ex- 
treme height  of  the  auditorium  part  is  84  feet,  and  that  of  the  stage  94  feet,  to 
give  room  for  drawing  up  the  scenery,  which  will  not  any  of  it  be  used  from  the 
sides.  The  stage  from  the  footlights  to  the  back  is  61  feet,  and  the  widest  part  of  the 
horseshoe  is  56  feet.  All  the  passages  and  staircases  are  of  stone,  with  iron  rails. 
The  outlets  are  numerous,  and  the  auditorium  is  lighted  by  five  sun  burners  above  a 
grouud-glass  ceiling  painted  in  oil. 

3  E  2 


788  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Stband  Theatee,  No.  169,  Strand,  originally  Barker's  Panorama,  was  altered  in  1831 
for  Rayner,  the  low  comedian,  and  Mrs.  Waylett,  the  singer.  Here  were  produced 
Douglas  Jerrold's  early  plays.     The  theatre  has  since  become  famous  for  its  burlesques. 

Subset  Theatee,  St.  George's-fields,  was  first  built  by  Charles  Hughes  and 
Charles  Dibdin,  the  song-writer,  and  was  opened  Nov.  4,  1782,  as  the  Royal  Circus, 
for  equestrianism.  John  Palmer  was  acting  manager  in  1790,  when  he  was  living 
within  the  Rules  of  the  King's  Bench  .(See  p.  702.)  The  theatre  was  destroyed  by 
fire  Aug.  12,  1805,  but  was  rebuilt  in  1806  by  Cabanel,  in  Blackfriars-road.  Among 
its  lessees  were  Elliston  and  Thomas  Dibdin.  Here  Buckstone  first  appeared.  This 
theatre  was  destroyed  by  fire,  Jan.  30,  1865,  but  was  rebuilt  upon  an  enlarged  plan, 
and  opened  within  eleven  months. 

"  The  Theatee"  was  built,  in  1576,  on  the  site  of  the  Priory  of  St.  John  Baptist, 
at  Holywell,  Shoreditch ;  and  is  conjectured  by  Malone  to  have  been  "  the  first  build- 
ing erected  in  or  near  the  metropolis  purposely  for  scenic  exhibitions :"  it  is  noticed 
in  John  Stockwood's  sermon  at  Paul's  Cross,  in  1578,  as  "the  gorgeous  playing- 
place  erected  in  the  fields."  It  was  a  wooden  building;  and  in  the  Star-Chamber 
records  is  proof  that,  in  1598,  "  the  Theatre"  was  taken  down,  and  the  wood  removed 
to  Bankside  for  rebuilding  or  enlarging  the  Globe  Theatre. 

Victoeia  Theatee,  New  Cut,  Lambeth,  was  originally  named  "the  Cobourg," 
from  the  first  stone  having  been  laid  by  proxy  for  Prince  Leopold  of  Saxe- Cobourg, 
Oct.  15,  1817 :  it  has  in  its  foundation  part  of  the  stone  of  the  old  Savoy  Palace. 
The  theatre  was  designed  by  Cabanel,  a  carpenter  from  Liege,  who  also  constructed 
the  stage  of  old  Drury-lane  Theatre,  and  invented  a  roof  known  by  his  name. 
The  Cobourg  Theatre  was  first  opened  May  13,  1818 :  for  its  repertoire,  Clarkson 
Stanfield,  subsequently  R.A.,  painted  scenery ;  and  here  was  constructed  a  looking-glass 
curtain,  of  large  plates  of  glass,  enclosed  in  a  gilt  frame.  The  house  was  leased  to 
Egerton  and  Abbott  in  1833,  when  the  name  was  changed  to  "  Victoria,"  and  the 
Princess  (her  present  Majesty)  visited  the  theatre. 

Whitefeiaes  Theatee  (the)  was  originally  the  hall  of  Whitefriars  monastery, 
outside  the  garden-wall  of  Dorset  House.  From  a  survey  in  Mr.  Collier's  possession, 
we  learn  that  the  theatre  was  fitted  up  in  1586 ;  it  was  taken  down  in  1613.  Howes, 
in  his  continuation  of  Stoic,  describes,  "  the  erection  of  a  new  fair  playhouse  near  the 
Whitefriars,"  1629 :  this  was  "  the  Private  House  in  Salisburie-court." 

Opeea  Houses,  Italian. — Hee  Majesty's  Theatee. — The  first  theatre  for  the 
performance  of  Italian  operas  in  England  was  built  by  subscription,  by  Sir  John  Van- 
brugh,  at  the  south-west  corner  of  the  Haymarket,  and  was  opened  April  9,  1705  : 
but  operas  were  not  performed  here  wholly  in  Italian  until  1710,  when  Almahide  was 
produced ;  and  next  year  Handel's  Sinaldo,  in  Italian,  and  by  Italian  singers.  On 
June  17,  1789,  the  theatre  was  burnt  down;  and  upon  the  same  site,  enlarged, 
April  3,  1790,  was  laid  the  first  stone  of  the  present  Opera  House,  designed  by  Novo- 
sielski,  who  introduced  the  horse-shoe  form  of  auditory,  from  the  Italian  theatres.  In 
1820  the  exterior  was  altered  by  Nash  and  Repton  in  the  Roman-Doric  style,  as  we 
now  see  it,  fronted  with  arcade  and  colonnade  :  each  of  the  iron  columns  is  a  single 
easting.  The  Haymarket  front  bears  a  basso-relievo,  by  Bubb,  of  lithargolite,  or  arti- 
ficial stone,  illustrating  the  progress  of  Music ;  Apollo  and  the  Muses  occupying  the 
centre.  The  interior,  at  the  time  of  its  erection,  was  larger  than  that  of  La  Scala  at 
Milan,  or  the  Theatre  Italien  at  Paris.  The  audience  and  stage  ground  are  held  on 
two  distinct  leases.  The  whole  theatre  is  lined  with  thin  wood  in  very  long  pieces,  as 
the  best  conductor  of  sound.  It  was  entirely  re-decorated  in  the  Raphaelesque  and 
Roman  style  in  1846.  Hora.ce  Walpole's  box  was  No.  3,  on  the  grand  tier.  There 
are  177  boxes,  the  freehold  of  some  of  which  has  been  sold  for  7000  and  8000  guineas  : 
the  season-rent  is  300  guineas;  a  small  box,  fourth  tier,  has  been  let  for  one  night  at 
12  guineas.  When  Mr.  Lumley  purchased  the  theatre  in  1844,  he  realized  90,000£. 
by  selling  boxes  in  perpetuity.  The  house  will  accommodate  about  3000  persons.  The 
drop-scene  was  painted  by  Stanfield,  R.A.  The  decorations,  after  ancient  masters,  are 
extremely  beautiful.  Here  is  a  model  of  the  theatre,  10  feet  high.  Part  of  the 
scenery  is  deposited  at  "  the  Barn,"  James-street,  Haymarket. 

The  Italian  Opera  House  ia  the  Haymarket  has  ever  been  a  eostly  speculation.    Ill  1720  George  L 


TOKEN'S. 


789 


headed  a  subscription  of  50,0002.  for  its  support.  Ebers  lost  44,0S02.  (see  his  Seven  Years  of  the  King's 
Theatre,  1829).  For  two  seasons  he  paid  15,0002.  rent  per  annum.  One  season's  expenses : — Opera, 
86362. ;  ballet,  10,6782. ;  orchestra,  32612. ;  scene-painting  and  wardrobes  (50,000  dresses),  53722. ;  lighting, 
12812.;  salaries,  25782.;  servants,  4032. ;  military  guard  at  the  doors,  1502.;  fittings  of  the  king's  box,  in 
1821,  3002. ;  nightly  expenses  from  7002.  to  10002.  The  largest  receipts  were  in  the  seasons  when  Jenny 
Lind  sang.  Her  Majesty's  is  stated  to  be  the  only  theatre  which  has  no  lease.  It  claims  the  exclusive 
right  to  produce  foreign  operas,  from  a  deed  made  in  1792,  covenanting  that  "the  patents  of  Drury  Lane 
and  Covent  Garden  shall  never  be  exercised  for  the  purpose  of  Italian  operas."  See  an  able  account  of 
Her  Majesty's  Theatre,  by  Shirley  Brooks,  Morning  Chronicle,  March  20,  1851.  Mr.  Lumley's  greatest 
seasons  were  those  in  which  Mile.  Jenny  Lind  gave  her  matchless  performances  in  opera. 

Royal  Italian  Opeha,  Covent  Garden  Theatre,  was  opened  April  6,  1847,  with 
Semiramide  (Grisi),  and  M.  Costa  as  musical  director.  The  originator  of  this  second 
Italian  Opera  House  was  Mr.  C.  L.  Griineisen,  with  Mr.  T.  F.  Beale  as  director.  In 
the  seasons  of  1848  and  1849  were  expended  60,0002". ;  and  the  salaries  of  Alboni, 
Viardot,  Grisi,  and  Mario,  were  between  4000Z.  and  50002".  each.  (See  p.  782.) 

The  Act  6th  and  7th  of  Victoria,  cap.  68  (1843),  which  is  the  most  important  of  all,  authorizes  the 
Lord  Chamberlain  to  license  houses  for  stage-plays  in  London,  Westminster,  Brighton,  and  New 
Windsor,  and  wherever  the  precincts  of  the  Court  may  for  a  time  be ;  also  authorizes  justices  of  the 
peace  to  license  houses  beyond  the  Lord  Chamberlain's  jurisdiction :  also  authorizes  the  Lord  Chamber- 
lain to  license  stage-plays  throughout  Great  Britain.  This  Act  was  looked  upon  at  the  time  as  a  most 
liberal  measure.  It  abolished  the  privileges  of  the  patents,  and  allowed  the  Lord  Chamberlain  to  license 
within  certain  districts  as  many  theatres  as  he  pleased,  all  endowed  with  equal  rights,  thus  depriving 
the  expression  "minor  theatre"  of  its  distinctive  signification. 

The  number  of  London  Theatres  licensed  by  the  Lord  Chamberlain  for  the  per- 
formance of  any  kind  of  drama  whatever  in  1866  was  23.  Of  these  we  give  a  list, 
together  with  the  number  of  persons  which  each  will  contain,  extracted  from  one  of 
the  statements  laid  before  Parliament : — 


Her  Majesty's 2200 

Drury-lane 2500 

Covent-garden 2500 

Haymarket 1500 

Princess's 2000 

St.  James's       .....  1000 

Adelphi 1800 

Lyceum 1700 

Marylebone 1200 

Olympic 1000 

Strand 700 

Astley's 2200 

Victoria 2000 

Besides  3  theatres  since  opened,  and 


Surrey     2000 

Pavilion 2300 

Grecian 2000 

Britannia 2400 

City  of  London       ....  1400 

Standard 2000 

Garrick 1100 

New  Royalty 600 

Queen's 900 

Sadler's  Wells        ....  1300 

23  theatres,  containing    .  38,300 
the  Standard  and  Effingham  rebuilt. 


THBEABNEEDLE-STREET, 

OR  Three- Needle-street  (Stow),  originally  extended  from  Bishopsgate-street  to  Stocks 
Market,  but  now  terminates  at  the  Bank  of  England.  The  name  is  from  three 
needles,  the  charge  on  the  shield  of  the  Needlemakers'  Company's  arms ;  but  Pennant 
traces  the  final  cause  to  the  Hall  of  the  Merchant-Taylors,  Taylors,  and  Linen-arm  our  era 
in  this  street.  Hatton  refers  it  to  "such  a  sign."  (See  Meechant-Tailoes'  Hall, 
South-Sea  House,  and  Hall  op  Commeece.)  Upon  part  of  the  site  of  the  latter 
lived  Sir  William  Sidney,  one  of  the  heroes  of  Flodden  Field ;  and  his  son,  Sir  Henry 
Sidney,  in  whose  arms  died  Edward  VI.  Sir  Henry  then  retired  to  Penshurst,  where 
was  born,  in  1554,  his  son,  the  famed  Sir  Philip  Sidney.  Upon  the  site  of  the  present 
chief  entrance  to  the  Bank  of  England,  in  Threadneedle-street,  stood  the  Crown  Tavern, 
"  behind  the  'Change  :"  it  was  much  frequented  by  Fellows  of  the  Royal  Society,  when 
they  met  at  Gresham  College,  hard  by.  The  Crown  was  burnt  in  the  Great  Fire,  but 
was  rebuilt ;  and  a  century  since,  at  this  tavern,  "  it  was  not  unusual  to  draw  a  butt 
of  mountain,  containing  120  gallons,  in  gills,  in  a  morning."  (Sir  John  Hawkins.')  At 
No.  20  lived  Alderman  (now  Sir  Francis  Graham)  Moon,  F.S.A.,  the  eminent  print- 
publisher  :  he  was  Lord-Mayor  in  1854-5,  when  he  received  his  patent  of  baronetcy. 


TOKENS. 

IN  the  reign  of  Elizabeth  (1558),  the  great  want  of  halfpence  and  farthings  led  to 
private  Tokens,  or  farthings,  of  lead,  tin,  latten,  and  leather,  being  struck  for  ale- 
house-keepers, chandlers,  grocers,  vintners,  and  other  traders;  the  figure  and  devices 
being  emblematical  of  the  various  trades,  victuallers  especially  adopting  their  signs. 
They  were  made  without  any  form  or  fashion ;  and  some  of  them  (as  the  leaden  tokens 
of  Elizabeth's  reign)  are  now  of  extreme  rarity.     Every  one  issuing  this  useful  specie 


790  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

was  compelled  to  take  it  again  when  offered;  and  this  practice  continued  until  1672, 
when  Charles  II.  struck  halfpence  and  farthings.  Within  the  present  century,  however, 
many  tokens  obtained  general  circulation  in  London,  by  which  means  tradesmen  adver- 
tised their  business :  such  tokens  also  recorded  great  events,  portraits  of  public  men, 
views  of  places  and  of  entertainments,  which  might  otherwise  have  been  lost.  They 
mostly  disappeared  on  Watt's  new  copper  coinage  of  George  III.  The  great  national 
collection  of  tokens  in  the  British  Museum  is  the  finest  we  possess.  Mr.  Roach  Smith's 
collection,  now  in  the  British  Museum,  contains  about  500  mediaeval  leaden  tokens, 
and  many  tradesmen's  tokens  in  brass,  from  about  1648  to  1674.  (See  Catalogue, 
1854.)  The  Beaufoy  Cabinet,  presented  to  the  Corporation  Library,  consists  exclu- 
sively of  London  traders',  tavern,  and  coffee-house  Tokens  current  in  the  17th  century, 
1174  in  number :  they  are  well  described  and  annotated  in  a  Catalogue  by  Jacob 
Henry  Burn,  printed  for  the  Corporation,  1853 ;  and  reprinted  1855.  See  also  the 
work  on  Tradesmen's  Tokens  current  in  London,  1648  to  1672,  by  J.  Y.  Akerman, 
F.S.A.,  4to,  1849. 

ToTcenhouse-yard,  on  the  north  side  of  Lothbury,  is  named  from  the  Mint-house, 
or  office  for  the  issue  and  change  of  these  farthings  or  tokens  :  it  was  built  in  the 
reign  of  Charles  L,  and  occupied  the  site  of  the  house  and  garden  of  the  Earl  of 
Arundel ;  and  from  its  proximity  to  the  brassfounders  of  Lothbury,  they  are  thought 
to  have  minted  the  Tokens. 

TOTTENHAM-  CO  URT-ROAD, 

FROM  Oxford-street  to  the  Hampstead-road,  was  the  old  way  from  the  village  of  St. 
Giles's  to  the  prebendal  manor  of  Totham,  Toten,  or  Totten  Hall  (named  in 
Domesday),  and  temp.  Henry  III.  the  mansion  of  William  de  Totenhall.  It  stood  at  the 
north-west  extremity  of  the  present  road,  and  is  mentioned  as  a  house  of  entertainment 
in  the  parish-books  of  St.  Giles's,  in  1645,  when  Mrs.  Stacye's  maid  and  two  others 
were  fined  "for  drinking  at  Tottenhall  Court,  on  the  Sabbath  daie,  xijrf.  a-piece."  It 
was  then  altered  to  the  Adam  and  Eve  public-house,  which,  with  the  King's  Head  and 
Tottenham  Court  turnpike,  is  shown  in  Hogarth's  "  March  to  Finchley,"  at  the  Found- 
ling Hospital.  At  the  Adam  and  Eve  were  a  music-room  and  tea-gardens;  here 
Lunardi  ascended  in  his  balloon,  May  16,  1785.  A  portion  of  the  old  court-house 
remained  to  our  time ;  the  gardens  were  built  upon  between  1806  and  1810,  and  the 
public-house  has  been  rebuilt.  J.  T.  Smith,  in  his  Book  for  a  Rainy  Lay,  remembers,  in 
1773,  Capper's  Farm,  behind  the  north-west  end  of  Russell-street,  noted  for  its  garden- 
houses  in  Strype's  time.  From  Capper's  Farm  were  straggling  houses,  but  Totten- 
ham-Court-road  was  then  "  unbuilt  upon."  The  first  house  (No.  1)  in  Oxford-street 
bore  on  its  front,  cut  in  stone,  "  Oxford-street,  1725."  The  Blue  Posts,  corner  of 
Hanway-street,  was  once  kept  by  Sturges,  the  famous  draught-player,  author  of  a 
Treatise  on  Lraughts.  The  site  of  Gresse-street  (named  from  Gresse,  the  painter) 
was  then  gardens,  recommended  by  physicians  for  the  salubrity  of  the  air.  Stephen- 
street  was  then  built :  George  Morland  the  painter,  lived  here,  at  No.  14,  in  1780. 
Whitefield's  chapel  was  built  in  1754,  upon  the  site  of  "  the  Little  Sea"  pond;  and  a 
turnstile  opened  into  Crab-tree  Fields,  which  then  extended  to  the  Adam  and  Eve. 

"Totten-Court,  a  mansion  in  the  fields,"  is  a  scene  in  Ben  Jonson's  Tale  of  a  Tub :  and  the  scene  of 
Thomas  Nash's  Tottenham- Court,  a  pleasant  comedy  (1639),  is  laid  in  "Marrowbone  Park." 

TOTTER  HILL 

IS  described  by  Hatton  (1708)  as  "  a  spacious  place  extending  round  the  west  and 
north  parts  of  the  Tower,  where  are  many  good  new  buildings,  mostly  inhabited 
by  gentry  and  merchants.  Upon  this  hill  such  persons  as  are  committed  to  the  Tower 
and  found  guilty  of  high  treason  are  commonly  executed.  And  Stow  says  "  the  scaffolds 
were  built  at  the  charge  of  the  City,  but  in  the  reign  of  Edward  IV.  the  same  was 
erected  at  the  charge  of  the  King's  officers ;  and  that  many  controversies  have  been 
between  the  City  and  Lieutenant  of  the  Tower  touching  their  liberties."  A  century 
nrevious  the  spot  was  noted  for  its  salubrity : 

"  The  Tower  Hill, 
Of  all  the  places  London  can  afford, 
Hath  sweetest  ayre." — Haughton's  Englishmen  for  my  Money,  1616,  4to. 


TO  WEB  OF  LONDON.  791 

The  "  bounds "  of  the  Tower  Liberties  are  perambulated  triennially,  when,  after 
service  in  the  church  of  St.  Peter,  a  procession  is  formed  upon  the  parade :  including 
a  headsman,  bearing  the  axe  of  execution ;  a  painter  to  mark  the  bounds ;  yeomen 
warders,  with  halbards ;  the  Deputy  Lieutenant  and  other  officers  of  the  Tower,  &c. : 
the  boundary-stations  are  painted  with  a  red  "  broad  arrow "  upon  a  white 
ground,  while  the  chaplain  of  St.  Peter's  repeats,  "  Cursed  be  he  who  removeth  his 
neighbour's  landmark."  Another  old  custom  of  lighting  a  bonfire  on  Tower  Hill  on 
Nov.  5th  was  suppressed  in  1854. 

Lady  Raleigh  lived  on  Tower  Hill  after  she  had  been  forbidden  to  lodge  with  her 
husband  in  the  Tower.  William  Penn  was  born  April  14th,  1644,  in  a  court  on  the 
east  side  of  Tower  Hill.  At  the  Bull  public-house  died,  April  14th,  1685,  Otway  the 
poet,  it  is  said  of  hunger.  "  In  a  by  cutler's  shop  of  Tower  Hill,"  says  Sir  Henry 
Wotton,  "  Felton  bought  a  tenpenny  knife  (so  cheap  was  the  instrument  of  this  great 
attempt),"  with  which  he  assassinated  the  Duke  of  Buckingham. 

Postern-row,  with  a  few  posts  set  across  the  footpath  (opposite  about  the  middle 
of  the  Tower  moat),  denotes  the  site  of  the  Postern-gate,  at  the  south-eastern  termi- 
nation of  the  City  Wall.  Here  is  the  rendezvous  for  enlisting  sailors  and  soldiers, 
which  formerly  had  its  press-gangs.  The  shops  display  odd  admixtures  of  marine 
stores,  pea-jackets  and  straw-hats,  "  rope,  hour-glasses,  Guuter's  scales,  and  dog- 
biscuits." 

The  Place  of  Execution,  on  Great  Tower  Hill,  is  shown  in  the  old  plan  of  the  Tower 
at  p.  7 1)3;  the  space  eastward  is  Little  Tower  Hill. 

Notable  Persons  Executed  on  Tower  Sill. — June  22, 1535,  Bishop  Fisher.  July  6, 1535,  Sir  Thomas 
More.  July  28, 1540,  Cromwell,  Earl  of  Essex.  Jan.  21,  1547,  Earl  of  Surrey,  the  poet.  March  20,  1549, 
Thomas  Lord  Seymour  of  Sudeley,  the  Lord  Admiral,  by  order  of  his  brother,  the  Protector  Somerset, 
who  was  beheaded  Jan.  22,  1552.  Feb.  12,  1553-4,  Lord  Guildford  Dudley,  husband  of  Lady 
Jane  Grey.  April  11,  1554,  Sir  Thomas  Wyat.  May  12,  1641,  Earl  of  Strafford.  Jan.  10,  1644-5, 
Archbishop  Laud.  Dec.  29, 1680,  William  Viscount  Stafford,  "  insisting  on  his  innocence  to  the  very 
last."  Dec.  7, 1683,  Algernon  Sidney.  July  15, 1685,  the  Duke  of  Monmouth.  Feb.  24, 1716,  Earl  of 
Derwentwater  and  Lord  Kenmuir.  Aug.  18, 1746,  Lords  Kilmarnock  and  Balmerino.  Dec.  8, 1746, 
Mr.  Radcliffe,  who  had  been,  with  his  brother  Lord  Derwentwater,  convicted  of  treason  in  the  Rebellion 
of  1715,  when  Derwentwater  was  executed ;  but  Radcliffe  escaped,  and  was  identified  by  the  barber  who, 
31  years  before,  had  shaved  him  in  the  Tower.  Chamberlain  Clark,  who  died  in  1831,  aged  92  years, 
well  remembered  (his  father  then  residing  in  the  Minories)  seeing  the  glittering  of  the  executioner's 
axe  in  the  sun  as  it  fell  upon  Mr.  Radcliffe's  neck.  April  9, 1747,  Simon  Lord  Lovat,  the  last  beheading 
in  England,  and  the  last  execution  upon  Tower  Hill,  when  a  scaffolding  built  near  Barking-alley  fell 
with  nearly  1000  persons  on  it,  and  12  were  killed. 

On  the  west  side  of  Tower  Hill  is  Great  Tower-street :  No.  48,  on  the  south  side,  is 
the  Czar's  Head,  built  upon  the  site  of  the  former  tavern,  where  Peter  the  Great  (Czar 
of  Muscovy)  and  his  companions,  after  their  day's  work,  used  to  meet,  to  smoke  pipes 
and  drink  beer  and  brandy.  In  Little  Tower-street,  No.  12,  was  Watts's  Academy, 
where  Thomson  was  tutor  when  he  wrote  his  Summer. 

At  the  south-west  corner  of  the  Hill  is  Tower  Dock,  where  Sir  Walter  Raleigh, 
disguised,  embarked  in  a  boat  for  Tilbury ;  but  being  betrayed,  he  was  arrested  on  the 
Thames,  and  committed  to  the  Tower. 

TOWER  OF  LONDON,  THE, 

"  rpHE  citadel  to  defend  or  command  the  City"  (Stow),  stands  on  the  north  bank  of 
J-  the  Thames,  about  a  mile  below  London  Bridge,  and  in  the  oldest  part  of  the 
metropolis  j  "  between  the  south-east  end  of  the  City  Wall  and  the  river,  though  the 
west  part  is  supposed  within  the  City,*  but  with  some  uncertainty ;  and  in  what 
county  the  whole  stands  is  not  easy  discovered."  (Hatton,  1708.)  It  comprises 
within  the  walls  an  area  of  12  acres  5  roods.  Tradition  has  assigned  its  origin  to 
Julius  Caesar,  and  our  early  poets  have  adopted  this  antiquity : 

"  Prince  Edward.  I  do  not  like  the  Tower  of  any  place. 
Did  Julius  Caesar  build  that  place,  my  lord  ? 

Buckingham.  He  did,  my  gracious  lord,  begin  that  place, 
Which  since  succeeding  ages  have  re-edified. 

Prince  Edward.  Is  it  upon  record,  or  else  reported 

*  "  It  was  proved  in  the  case  of  Sir  Thomas  Overbury,  upon  a  question  as  to  whether  his  murder 
was  committed  within  the  boundaries  of  the  City  or  in  the  county  of  Middlesex,  that  the  City  Wall 
traversed  the  buildings  contained  within  the  Tower;  and  his  apartment  being  on  the  west  of  it,  the 
criminals  came  accordingly  under  the  jurisdiction  of  the  City." — Archer's  Vestiges,  part  iii. 


792  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 


Successive!}'  from  age  to  age,  be  built  it  ? 
Buckingham.  Upon  record,  my  gracious  lord." 

Shakspeare's  Richard  III.,  actiii.  sc.  1. 

This,  however,  is  unsupported  by  records ;  but  that  the  Romans  had  a  fortress  here  in 
a  subsequent  age  is  probable,  from  the  discovery  of  Roman  remains  upon  the  site ; 
and  a  Roman  wall  is  still  visible  near  the  ditch.  The  Saxon  Chronicle  leads  to  the 
belief  of  there  having  been  a  Saxon  fortress  upon  the  spot. 

The  oldest  portion  of  the  present  fortress  is  the  Keep,  or  White  Tower,  so  named 
from  its  having  been  originally  whitewashed,  as  appears  from  a  Latin  document  of  the 
year  1241.  This  tower  was  built  about  1078,  for  William  the  Conqueror,  by  Gundulph, 
bishop  of  Rochester,  who  also  erected  Rochester  Castle;  and  the  two  fortresses  have 
points  of  resemblance.  William  Rufus  greatly  added  to  the  Tower.  At  the  close  of 
his  reign  was  sent  here  the  first  prisoner,  Ralph  Flambard,  or  Firebrand,  who  con- 
trived to  escape  by  a  window  which  is  shown.  Henry  I.  strengthened  the  fortress ; 
and  Stephen,  in  1140,  kept  his  court  here. 

Fitzstephen  describes  it  as  "the  Tower  Palatine,  very  large  and  very  strong,  whose  court  an  1  walls 
rise  up  from  a  deep  foundation.  The  mortar  is  tempered  with  the  blood  of  beasts.  On  the  west  are 
two  castles,  well  fenced." 

About  1190,  the  Regent  Bishop  Longchamp  surrounded  the  fortress  with  an  em- 
battled stone  wall  and  "  a  broade  and  deepe  ditch :"  for  breaking  down  part  of  the 
City  wall  he  was  deposed,  and  besieged  in  the  Tower,  but  surrendered  after  one  night. 
King  John  held  his  court  here.  Henry  III.  strengthened  the  White  Tower,  and 
founded  the  Lion  Tower  and  other  western  bulwarks ;  and  in  this  reign  the  palace- 
fortress  was  alternately  held  by  the  king  and  the  insurgent  barons.  Edward  I.  en- 
larged the  moat,  and  on  the  west  made  the  last  additions  of  military  importance  prior 
to  the  invention  of  cannon.  Edward  II.  retired  here  against  his  subjects ;  and  here 
was  born  his  eldest  daughter,  Joan  of  the  Tower.  Edward  III.  imprisoned  here  many 
illustrious  persons,  including  David  king  of  Scotland,  and  John  king  of  France  with 
Philip  bis  son.*  During  the  insurrection  of  Wat  Tyler,  King  Richard  II.  took  refuge 
here,  with  his  court  and  nobles,  600  persons :  Richard  was  deposed  whilst  imprisoned 
here,  in  1399.  Edward  IV.  kept  a  magnificent  court  here.  In  1460  Lord  Scales  was 
besieged  here  by  the  Yorkists,  and  was  taken  and  slain  in  endeavouring  to  escape  by 
water.  Henry  VI.,  twice  imprisoned  in  the  fortress,  died  here  in  1471 ;  but  the  tra- 
dition that  George  Duke  of  Clarence  was  drowned  here  in  1478,  in  a  butt  of  malmsey- 
wine,  is  of  little  worth.  The  beheading  of  Lord  Hastings,  in  1483,  by  order  of  the 
Protector  Gloucester  (on  a  log  of  timber  in  front  of  the  Chapel) ;  the  seizure  of  the 
crown  by  Richard ;  and  the  supposed  murder  of  his  nephews,  Edward  V.  and  the  Duke 
of  York, — are  the  next  events  in  the  annals  of  the  fortress.  Henry  VII.  frequently 
resided  in  the  Tower,  where  also  his  queen  sought  refuge  from  "  the  society  of  her 
sullen  and  cold-hearted  husband :"  the  king  held  a  splendid  tournament  here  in  1501 
his  queen  died  here  in  1503.  Henry  VIII.  often  held  his  court  in  this  fortress  :  here 
in  great  pomp,  Henry  received  all  his  wives  previous  to  their  espousals ;  here  were  be 
headed  his  queens  Anne  Boleyn  and  Catherine  Howard.  About  this  time  (1548)  oc 
curred  a  great  fire  in  the  Tower : 

"Jj  A°  (Edw.  VI.)  Item  the  xxij  day  of  November  was  in  the  nyghte  a  grete  fyer  in  the  tower  of 
London,  and  a  gret  pesse  burnyd,  by  menes  of  a  Freneheman  that  sette  a  barrelle  of  gonnepoder  a  fyere, 
and  soo  was  burnyd  hymselfe,  and  no  more  persons,  but  moch  hurte  besyde."—  Chron.  Qrey  Friars  of 
London. 

Edward  VI.  kept  his  court  in  the  Tower  prior  to  his  coronation :  here  his  uncle,  the 
Protector  Somerset,  was  twice  imprisoned  before  his  decapitation  on  Tower  Hill,  in 
1552.  Lady  Jane  Grey  entered  the  fortress  as  queen  of  England,  but  in  three  weeks 
became  here  a  captive  with  her  youthful  husband  :  both  were  beheaded.  Queen  Mary, 
at  her  court  in  the  Tower,  first  showed  her  Romish  resolves  :  her  sister,  the  Princess 
Elizabeth,  was  imprisoned  here  on  suspicion  of  favouring  Sir  Thomas  Wyat's  design ; 
she  was  compelled  to  enter  at  the  Traitors'  Gate,  when  she  exclaimed,  "  Here  landeth 
as  true  a  subject,  being  a  prisoner,  as  ever  landed  at  these  stairs  j  and  before  Thee,  O 
God,  I  speak  it."  Queen  Elizabeth  did  not  keep  her  court  in  the  Tower,  but  at  no 
period  was  the  state  prison  more  "  constantly  thronged  with  delinquents."     James  I. 

No  oerson  was  allowed  temp.  Edward  III.  to  bathe  in  the  Tower,  or  in  the  Thames  neai  the 
Tower;  under  penalty  o   death. 


TOWER  OF  LONDON. 


793 


resided  here,  and  delighted  in  combats  of  the  wild  beasts  kept  here.  In  Charles  I.'s 
reign  many  leading  partisans  were  imprisoned  here ;  and  under  the  government  of 
Oliver  Cromwell,  and  in  the  reigns  of  Charles  II.  and  James  II.,  the  Tower  was 
filled  with  prisoners,  the  victims  of  state  policy,  intrigue,  tyranny,  or  crime.  The 
Courts  of  Justice,  the  King's  Bench  and  Common  Pleas  were  held  here ;  the  former  in 
the  Lesser  Hall,  beneath  the  east  turret  of  the  "White  Tower  j  the  latter  in  the  Great 
Hall,  by  the  river.  Almost  from  the  Conquest,  our  sovereigns,  at  their  coronations, 
went  in  great  state  and  procession  from  the  Tower,  through  the  City,  to  Westminster; 
the  last  observance  being  at  the  coronation  of  Charles  II.  All  the  domestic  apart- 
ments of  the  ancient  palace  within  the  Tower  were  taken  down  during  the  reigns  of 
James  II.  and  William  and  Mary.     In  1792  the  garrison  was  increased. 


A.  White  Tower.  B.  Wardrobe  Tower.  C.  St.  John's  Chapel,  in  the  White  Tower.  D.  Cold 
Harbour.  E.  Bloody  Tower.  F.  St.  Thomas's  Tower.  G.  Traitor's  Gate.  H.  Well  Tower.  I.  Cradle 
Tower.  K.  Hall  Tower.  L.  Lantern  Tower.  M.  Salt  Tower.  N.  Tower  above  the  Iron  Gate. 
O.  Tower  leading  to  the  Iron  Gate.  P.  Broad  Arrow  Tower.  Q.  Constable  Tower.  B.  Martin 
Tower.  S.  Brick  Tower.  T.  Bowyer's  Tower.  U.  Flint  Tower.  V.  Bell  Tower.  W.  Devilin  Tower 
X.  Beauchamp  Tower.      Y.  Bayard  Tower.    Z.  Middle  Tower. 

1.  Posts  of  the  Scaffold.  2.  Cage.  3.  Barkin  Church.  4.  The  Bulwark  Gate.  8.  Lyon  Tower. 
6.  Lyons  Gate.  7.  St.  Peter's  Church.  8.  Postern  Gate.  9.  The  Stone  Kitchen.  10.  Lieutenant's 
Lodgings.  11.  Jewel  House.  12.  Hall  decayed.  13.  Queeu's  Gallery.  14.  Private  Gardens.  15.  Iron 
Gate.    16.  Thames-street.    17.  Queen's  Lodgings. 


794  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"Several  hundred  men  were  employed  in  repairing  the  fortifications,  opening  the  embrasures,  and 
mounting  cannon ;  and  on  the  western  side  of  the  fortress  a  strong  barrier  was  formed  with  old  casks 
filled  with  earth  and  rubble ;  the  gates  were  closed  at  an  early  hour,  and  no  one  but  the  military  allowed 
to  go  on  the  ramparts." — Bayley. 

The  Tower  Palace  occupied  the  south-eastern  portion  of  the  inner  ward,  as  shown 
(p.  793)  in  the  plan  of  the  fortress  in  the  reign  of  Elizabeth,  within  a  century  from 
which  period  much  of  its  ancient  character  was  obliterated  by  small  buildings  between 
its  towers  and  courts.  Northward  of  the  White  Tower  was  built,  temp.  James  II.  and 
William  III.,  the  Grand  Storehouse  for  the  Royal  Train  of  Artillery,  and  the  Small 
Armoury  for  150,000  stand  of  arms  :  this  building,  345  feet  in  length,  was  destroyed 
by  fire  October  30,  1841  ;•  since  which  the  Tower  has  been  "  remodelled,"  many 
small  dwelling-houses  have  been  cleared  away,  and  several  towers  and  defences  have 
been  rebuilt.  The  houses  of  Petty  Wales  and  the  outworks  have  been  removed,  with 
the  Menagerie  buildings  at  the  entrance  from  the  west. 

The  Lion  Tower  was  built  by  Henry  III.,  who  commenced  assembling  here  a 
menagerie  with  three  leopards  sent  to  him  by  the  Emperor  Frederic  II.,  "in  token  of 
his  regal  shield  of  arms,  wherein  those  leopards  were  pictured."  Here,  in  1255,  the 
Sheriffs  built  a  house  "  for  the  King's  elephant,"  brought  from  France,  and  the  first 
seen  in  England.      Our  early  sovereigns  had  also  a  mews  in  the  Tower : 

"Merry  Margaret,  as  Midsomer  flowre, 
Gentyll  as  i'aucon  and  hawke  of  the  Towre." — Skelton. 

To  the  Lion  Tower  was  built  a  semicircular  enclosure,  where  lions  and  bears  were 
baited  with  dogs,  in  which  James  I.  and  his  court  much  delighted.  A  lion  was  named 
after  the  reigning  king ;  and  it  was  popularly  believed  that  "  when  the  king  dies,  the 
lion  of  that  name  dies  after  him"  (see  also  Addison's  Freeholder,  No.  47).  "  Washing 
the  Lions  on  the  first  of  April"  was  another  popular  hoax.  The  menagerie  greatly 
declined  until  1822,  when  it  revived  under  the  management  of  Mr.  Cops ;  the  last  of 
the  animals  were,  however,  transferred  to  the  Zoological  Society's  Gardens,  in  the 
Regent's  Park,  in  1834 :  but  the  buildings  were  not  entirely  removed  until  1853 ;  the 
Refreshment-room  and  ticket-  office  occupy  part  of  the  site  of  the  Lion  Tower.  See 
The  Tower  Menagerie,  with  woodcut  portraits  drawn  by  Harvey. 

The  Tower  Moat  or  Litch  was  drained  in  1843,  filled  up,  and  turfed,  for  the  exercise 
of  the  garrison  :  occasionally  sheep  feed  here.  The  banks  are  clothed  with  thriving 
evergreens ;  and  en  the  north-east  is  a  pleasant  shrubbery-garden.f 

"  In  draining  the  moat  were  found  several  stone  shot,  which  had  probably  been  projected  against  tho 
fortress  during  the  siege  of  1460,  when  Lord  Scales  held  the  Tower  for  the  king,  and  the  Yorkists  can- 
nonaded him  from  a  battery  on  the  Southwark  side  of  the  river." — Hewitt 's  Tower  and  its  Armouries. 

The  land  entrance  to  the  fortress  is  by  the  Middle  Tower,  and  a  stone  bridge, 

anciently  a  drawbridge,  crossing  the  Moat,  at  the  south-west  angle,  to  the  Byword 

Tower :  these  towers  were  strongly  fortified,  and  provided  each  with  a  double  portcullis. 

On  the  right,  a  small  drawbridge  crosses  the  Moat,  and  leads  to  the  wharf  fronting  the 

Thames.     Here  is  St.  Thomas's  Tower :   Ings,  the  Cato-street  conspirator,  was  the 

last  person  confined  in  this  Tower.     Beneath  it  is  Traitors'  Gate,  with  a  cut  which 

until  lately  connected  the  ditch  with  the  river :   by  this  entrance  state  prisoners  were 

formerly  brought  into  the  Tower ;  and  through  it 

"  Went  Sidney,  Russell,  Ealeigh,  Cranmer,  More." — Rogers. 

"When  it  was  found  necessary,  from  any  cause,  to  carry  a  prisoner  through  the  streets,  the  Sheriffs 
received  him  from  the  king's  lieutenants  at  the  entrance  to  the  City,  gave  a  receipt  for  him,  and  took 
another  on  delivering  him  up  at  the  gates  of  the  Tower.  The  receipt  of  the  Governor  for  the  body  of 
the  Duke  of  Monmouth— his  living  body— is  still  extant."— Dixon's  Prisons  of  London,  1850. 

Traitors'  Gate  is  now  a  modernized  sham.  Eastward  is  the  basement-story  of  the 
Cradle  Tower,  in  good  condition ;  the   Well  Tower  is  used  as  a  warder's  residence. 

*  There  were  94,500  stands  of  arms,  of  which  4000  were  saved :  loss  by  the  fire,  about  250,000/. 
Among  the  objects  destroyed  and  lost  were  a  cannon  of  wood,  and  the  state  swords  of  Justice  and  Mercy 
carried  before  the  Pretender  when  he  was  proclaimed  in  Scotland  in  1715. 

t  In  1830  the  Tower  Ditch  was  filled  with  water,  and  cleansed,  by  order  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington, 
as  Constable ;  which  measure  was  gravely  described  at  the  time  as  putting  the  fortress  into  a  state  of 
security  against  the  Reform  Bill  agitation  1 


TOWER  OF  LONDON.  795 

The  front  wall  is  embattled,  and  mounted  with  cannon ;  and  on  the  wharf  were  for- 
merly fired  the  "  Tower  Guns."  Hatton  describes  them,  in  1708,  as  "  62  guns,  lying 
in  a  range,  fast  in  the  ground,  always  ready  to  be  discharged  on  any  occasion  of  vic- 
tories, coronations,  festivals,  days  of  thanksgiving,  triumphs,  &c."  The  guns  are  now 
fired  from  a  new  "  Saluting  Battery,"  facing  Tower-hill. 

Between  the  outer  and  inner  wards  extends  a  narrow  street,  in  part  formerly  occu- 
pied by  the  buildings  of  the  Mint,  removed  to  Tower  Hill  in  1810.  The  towers  of 
the  inner  ward  are — commencing  from  the  south-east,  the  Bell  Tower,  containing  the 
alarm-bell  of  the  garrison  ;  it  is  said  to  have  been  the  prison-lodging  of  Fisher,  Bishop 
of  Rochester,  and  subsequently  of  the  Princess  Elizabeth:  "at  this  point,  in  former 
times,  were  other  gates,  to  prevent  an  enemy  getting  possession  of  the  lines,  and  to 
guard  the  approaches  to  the  inner  ballium." — Hewitt. 

Between  the  Bell  Toioer  and  the  Beauchamp  Tower  was  formerly  a  passage  by  the 
leads,  used  as  a  promenade  for  prisoners,  of  whom  the  walls  bear  memorials ;  among 
them  is  "  Respice  Jinem,  W.  _D."  Next,  northward,  is  the  Beauchamp  or  Cobkam 
Toioer,  a  curious  specimen  of  the  military  architecture  of  the  12th  and  13th  centuries. 

This  tower  is  named  from  Thomas  Beauchamp,  Earl  of  Warwick,  being  confined  here  in  1397,  and 
the  Cobhams  in  1551.  It  was  restored  by  Anthony  Salvin  in  1854;  when  lithographed  copies  of  the  In- 
scriptions, Memorials,  and  Devices  cut  on  the  walls  of  the  rooms  and  cells,  were  published  by  W.  R.  Dick. 

It  is  much  to  be  regretted  that  these  records  in  stone  have  been  removed  from 
their  original  places  into  the  large  room. 

Upon  the  wall  is  a  rebus  of  Dr.  Abel,  chaplain  to  Catherine  of  Aragon ;  a  bell  in- 
scribed TA,  and  Thomas  above.  Couplets,  maxims,  allegories,  and  spiritual  truths 
are  sometimes  added :  of  these  we  can  only  select  a  few  : 

"  Thomas  Willyngar,  goldsmithe.  My  hart  is  yours  tel  dethe."  By  the  side  is  a  figure  of  a  bleeding 
""  hart,"  and  another  of  "  dethe ;"  and  "  T.  W."  and  "  P.  A." 

"  Thomas  Rose, 
Within  this  Tower  strong 
Kept  close 
By  those  to  whom  he  did  no  wrong.    May  8th,  1666." 

The  figure  of  a  man,  praying,  underneath  "  Ro.  Bainbridge"  (1587-8). 

"Thomas  Bawdewin,  1584,  Jvly.    As  vertve  maketh  life,  so  sin  cawseth  death." 
■  Walter  Paslew,  dated  1569  &  1570.    My  hope  is  in  Christ."    Devices  of  the  Peverels ;  and  crucifix 
.and  bleeding  heart.    "  J.  C.  1538."    "  Learne  to  feare  God."   *'  Reprcns  .  le  .  sage  .  et .  il .  te  armera. — 
Take  wisdom,  and  he  shall  arm  you." 

Over  the  fireplace  is  inscribed  : 

"  Quanto  plus  afflictionis  pro  Christo  in  hoc  saeculo, 

Tanto  plus  gloria?  cum  Christo  in  futuro. 

Arundell,  June  22, 1587." 
"  Gloria  et  honore  eum  coronasti  Domine : 

In  meraoria  aetemaerit  Justus.    Atuch  ....." 

One  of  the  most  elaborate  devices  is  that  of  John  Dvdle,  Earl  of  Warwick,  tried 
and  condemned  in  1553  for  endeavouring  to  deprive  Mary  of  the  crown  ;  but  being 
reprieved,  he  died  in  his  prison-room,  where  he  had  wrought  upon  the  wall  his  family's 
cognizance,  the  lion,  and  bear  and  ragged  staff,  underneath  which  is  his  name ;  the 
whole  surrounded  by  oak-sprigs,  roses,  geraniums,  honeysuckles,  emblematic  of  the 
Christian  names  of  his  four  brothers,  as  appears  from  this  inscription : 

"Yow  that  these  beasts  do  wel  behold  and  se, 
May  deme  with  ease  wherefore  here  made  they  bo 
Withe  borders  eke  wherein  (there  may  be  found) 
4  brothers'  names,  who  list  to  serche  the  grovnd." 

The  names  of  the  four  brothers  were  Ambrose,  Robert,  Guildford,  and  Henry  :  thus, 
A,  acorn ;  R,  rose ;  G,  geranium ;  H,  honeysuckle :  others  think  the  rose  indicates 
Ambrose,  and  the  oak  Robert  (robur).  In  another  part  is  carved  an  oak-tree  bearing 
acorns,  signed  R.D.  j  the  work  of  Robert  Dudley,  Earl  of  Leicester. 

"  I  h  s  1571,  die  10  Aprilis.  Wise  men  ought  circumspectly  to  see  what  they  do,  to  examine  before 
they  speake,  to  prove  before  they  take  in  hand,  to  beware  whose  company  they  use,  and  above  all  things, 
to  whom  they  truste.  Charles  Bailly."  Another  of  Bailly's  apophthegms  is  :  "  The  most  vnhapy  man 
in  the  world  is  he  that  is  not  paoient  in  adversities;  for  men  are  not  killed  with  the  adversities  they 
.have,  but  with  ye  impacience  which  they  svffer." 


796  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"  O  .  Lord  .  whic  .  art .  of .  heavn  .  King  .  Graunt  .  gras  .  and  .  lyfe  .  evcrlaatig  .  to  .  Miagh  .  thy  . 
servant .  in  .  prison  .  alon  .  with  *  *  *  *  Thomas  Miagh."    Again  : 
"Thomas  Miagh,  whiche  lieth  here  alon, 
That  fayne  wovld  from  hens  be  gon, 
By  tortyre  straunge  mi  troth  was 
tryed,  yet  of  my  libertie  denied.    1581,  Thomas  Myagh." 

(A  prisoner  for  treason,  tortured  with  Skeffington's  irons  and  the  rack.) 

"  Hit  is  the  poynt  of  a  wyse  man  to  try  and  then  trvste,  for  hapy  is  he  whome  fyudeth  one  that  is 
ivst.  T.  C."  Again :  "  T.  C.  I  leve  in  hope  and  I  gave  credit  to  mi  frinde  in  time  did  stande  me  mosto 
in  hande,  so  wovlde  I  never  do  againe,  exeepte  I  hade  him  sver  in  bande,  and  to  al  men  wiche  I  so  vnles, 
ye  svssteine  the  leke  lose  as  I  do.  Vnhappie  is  that  mane  whose  actes  doth  procvre  the  miseri  of  this 
hovs  in  prison  to  indvre.    1576,  Thomas  Clarke." 

In  the  State  Prison  Room  occurs  twice  the  name  of  "  jane"  (Lady  Jane  Grey), 
probably  inscribed  by  one  of  the  Dudleys,  who  were  all  imprisoned  here  in  1553,  and 
one  of  whom,  Guildford,  was  the  lady's  husband  :  this  is  the  only  memorial  preserved 
of  Lady  Jane  in  the  Tower.  Wallace,  the  Scottish  hero,  is  erroneously  named  among 
the  prisoners  here ;  for  Wallace  was  not  confined  in  any  part  of  the  Tower,  as  proved 
in  a  paper  by  Mr.  W.  Sydney  Gibson,  F.S.A.,  Notes  and  Queries,  No.  213,  p.  509. 

The  memorial  of  Thomas  Salmon,  1622,  now  let  into  the  wall  of  the  middle  room, 
was  formerly  in  the  upper  prison-lodging  : 

A  shield  surrounded  by  a  circle ;  above  the  circle  the  name  "T.  Salmon ;"  a  crest  formed  of  three 
salmons,  and  the  date  1622;  underneath  the  circle  the  motto  Nee  temere,  nee  timore — "Neither  rashly 
nor  with  fear."  Also  a  star  containing  the  abbreviation  of  Christ,  in  Greek,  surrounded  by  the  sentence, 
Sic  vive  vt  vivas — "  So  live  that  thou  mayest  live."  In  the  opposite  corner  are  the  words,  Et  morire  ne 
morieris — "And  die  that  thou  mayest  die  not."  Surrounding  a  representation  of  Death's  head,  above 
the  device,  is  the  enumeration  of  Salmon's  confinement :  "  Close  prisoner  8  moneths,  32  wekes,  224  dayes, 
6376  houres." 

On  the  ground-floor  is  incised : 

"The  man  whom  this  house  can  not  mend, 
Hath  evill  becom,  and  worse  will  end." 

"  Round  this  (Beauchamp)  chamber  a  secret  passage  has  recently  been  discovered  in  the  masonry,  in 
which  spies  were,  no  doubt,  set  to  listen,  and  report  the  conversation  or  soliloquies  of  prisoners,  when 
they,  poor  souls,  believed  themselves  alone.  The  men  who  live  in  the  Tower  have  christened  this  pas- 
sage the  Whispering  Gallery." — Dixon's  Prisons,  1850,  p.  70. 

Raleigh  was  thrice  imprisoned  in  the  Tower ;  in  1592  (eight  weeks),  for  winning 
the  heart  of  Elizabeth  Throgmorton,  one  of  Elizabeth's  maids  of  honour ;  "  not  only  a 
moral  sin,  but  in  those  days  a  heinous  political  offence."  In  1604  he  was  again  com- 
mitted to  the  Tower,  and  in  the  frenzy  of  despair  attempted  to  stab  himself  to  the 
heart ;  he  remained  here  a  captive  nearly  thirteen  years,  part  of  the  time  with  Lady 
Raleigh  :  here,  1605,  was  born  Carew,  their  second  son.  Sir  Walter's  prison-lodging 
is  thought  to  have  been  the  second  and  third  stories  of  the  Beauchamp  Tower ;  here 
he  devoted  much  time  to  chemistry  and  pharmaceutical  preparations.  "  He  has  con- 
verted," says  Sir  William  Wade,  Lieutenant  of  the  Tower,  "a  little  hen-house  in  the 
garden  into  a  still-house,  and  here  he  doth  spend  his  time  all  the  day  in  distilla- 
tions ;  ...  he  doth  show  himself  upon  the  wall  in  his  garden  to  the  view  of  the 
people :"  here  Raleigh  prepared  his  "  rare  cordial,"*  wrote  his  political  discourses, 
and  commenced  his  famous  History  of  the  World.  He  was  at  length  liberated, 
but  again  committed  to  the  Tower,  about  two  months  before  his  execution  at 
Westminster. 

Ealeigh's  constant  study  was  in  the  pages  of  that  Divine  book,  by  which,  as  he  told  the  clergyman 
who  rebuked  him  for  his  seeming  lightness,  on  the  eve  of  his  beheadal,  he  had  prepared  himself  to 
look  fearlessly  on-  death.  His  last  hours  were  each  an  episode,  and  his  acts  and  words  have  been 
carefully  recorded.  On  the  morning  of  his  execution,  his  keeper  brought  a  cup  of  sack  to  him,  and 
inquired  how  he  was  pleased  with  it?  "  As  well  as  he  who  drank  of  St.  Giles's  bowl  as  he  rode  to 
Tyburne,"  answered  the  knight,  and  said,  "  it  was  a  good  drink,  if  a  man  might  but  tarry  by  it." 
"  Prithee,  never  fear,  Beeston,"  cried  he  to  his  old  friend  Sir  Hugh,  who  was  repulsed  from  the  scaffold 
by  the  sheriff,  "  I  shall  have  a  place  !"  A  bald  man,  from  extreme  age,  pressed  forward  "to  see  him," 
he  said,  "and  pray  God  for  him."  Raleigh  took  a  richly-embroidered  cap  from  his  own  head,  and 
placing  it  on  that  of  the  old  man,  said,  "  Take  this,  good  friend,  to  remember  me,  for  you  have  more 
need  of  it  than  1."  "  Farewell,  my  lords,"  was  his  cheerful  parting  to  a  courtly  group,  who  affectionately 
took  their  sad  leave  of  him,  "  I  hare  a  long  journey  before  me,  and  I  must  e'en  say  good-bye."  "  Now 
I  am  going  to  God,"  said  that  heroic  spirit,  as  he  trod  the  scaffold ;  and,  gently  touching  the  axe,  added, 
,'  This  is  a  sharp  medicine,  but  it  will  cure  all  diseases."    The  very  headsman  shrank  from  beheading 

♦  Raleigh's  "  Rare  Cordial,"  with  other  ingredients  introduced  by  Sir  Kenelm  Digby  and  Sir  A. 
Frazer,  is  the  Confectio  aromatiea  of  the  present  London  Pharmacopoeia. 


TOWER  OF  LONDON.  797 


one  so  illustrious  and  brave,  until  the  unquailing  soldier  addressed  him,  "  What  dost  thou  fear  ?  Strike, 
man !"    In  another  moment,  the  mighty  soul  had  fled  from  its  mangled  tenement. 

Raleigh's  shifting  imprisonments  must  have  heen  very  irksome.     Thus,  in  1603, 

"  In  the  course  of  a  few  months  Raleigh  was  first  confined  in  his  own  house,  then  conveyed  to  the 
Tower,  next  sent  to  Winchester  Gaol,  returned  from  thence  to  the  Tower,  imprisoned  for  between  two 
and  three  months  in  the  Fleet,  and  again  removed  to  the  Tower,  where  he  remained  until  released 
thirteen  years  afterwards,  to  undertake  his  new  expedition  to  Guiana."  (Mr.  J.  Payne  Collier; 
ArchiBologia,  vol.  xxxv.  p.  218.)  Mr.  Collier  possesses  a  copy  of  that  rare  tract,  "  A  Good  Speed  to 
Virginia,"  4to.  1609,  with  the  autograph  on  the  title-page,  "  VV".  Ralegh,  Turr.  Loud. ;"  showing  that 
at  the  time  this  tract  was  published,  and  read  by  Raleigh,  he  recorded  himself  as  a  prisoner  in  the 
Tower  of  London. 

We  learn  from  the  Memorials  of  the  Tower,  by  Lord  De  Ros,  the  Lieutenant- 
Governor,  that  the  late  Prince  Consort  interested  himself  to  preserve  the  remains  of  the 
original  building,  and  caused  it  to  be  declared  that  "no  edifice  within  the  Tower  walls 
should  be  built,  altered,  or  restored  until  the  plans  and  elevations  should  have  been 
submitted  for  the  Queen's  personal  approval." 

North  of  the  Beauchamp  Tower  is  the  Devereux  Tower,  which  has  been  rebuilt 
tinder  the  direction  of  the  Ordnance.  The  original  tower,  with  walls  11  feet  thick, 
was  the  prison-lodging  of  Robert  Devereux,  Earl  of  Essex ;  in  the  lower  chambers 
were  passages  leading  to  the  adjoining  Chapel  oe  St.  Petee,  described  at  p.  198. 

Eastward  are  the  Flint,  Bowyer,  and  Brick  Towers,  which  have  also  been  rebuilt 
by  the  Ordnance.  In  the  Bowyer  Tower  resided  the  Master  and  Provider  of  the 
King's  Bows  ;  and  in  a  work-room  over  this  tower  originated  the  fire  which  destroyed 
the  Grand  Storehouse  in  1841 :  the  basement,  strongly  groined  and  vaulted,  has  been 
restored.  Beneath  the  floor  is  a  still  more  dreary  vault,  with  a  trap-door  opening 
upon  a  flight  of  steps.  The  Brick  Tower,  the  reputed  prison-house  of  Lady  Jane 
Grey,  had  its  modernized  superstructure  destroyed  in  the  fire  of  1841 ;  but  the  original 
basement  and  a  dungeon  beneath  remained. 

The  Martin  Tower,  at  the  north-east  angle,  was  formerly  a  prison-lodging,  and  next 
the  Jewel  Tower.  Anne  Boleyn  was  imprisoned  here :  on  the  walls  is  a  coat-of-arms 
and  "  Boullen :"  she  slept  in  the  little  upper  room.  Robert  Devereux,  Earl  of  Essex, 
and  Lord  Southampton  (Shakspeare's  friend),  were  also  prisoners  in  the  Martin  Tower ; 
and  here  were  confined,  by  James  II.,  Archbishop  Sancroft  and  the  six  bishops.  The 
Keeper  of  the  Regalia  resides  here.  Thence,  southward,  is  the  Constable  Tower,  rebuilt 
by  the  Ordnance.  Next  is  the  Broad  Arrow  Tower,  in  its  original  condition  :  Lady 
Jane  Grey  was  a  prisoner  here :  the  Latin  couplet  which  Fox  states  Jane  scratched 
with  a  pin  upon  the  walls  of  her  chamber,  can  nowhere  be  found.  The  Salt(petre) 
Tower  is  called  "  Julius  Csesar  Tower  "  in  a  survey  temp.  Henry  VIII.,  and  is  sup- 
posed to  be  actually  of  the  reign  of  William  Rufus.  It  is  circular,  and  has  a  vaulted 
dungeon :  in  the  first-story  chamber,  among  the  devices  and  inscriptions  cut  in  the 
wall,  is  a  sphere  with  the  signs  of  the  zodiac,  and 

"Hew  :  Draper  :  of:  Bristow  :  made  :  thys  :  spheer  :  the  :  30  :  daye  :  of:  Maye  :  anno  1561." 

Draper  was  a  wealthy  tavern-keeper  at  Bristol,  and  was  committed  here  "as  suspect 
of  a  conjuror  or  sorceror,"  practising  against  "Sir  William  St.  Lowe  and  my  ladie;" 
but  he  affirmed  that  "  longe  since  he  soe  misliked  his  science,  that  he  burned  all  his 
books."  A  view  of  the  Salt  Tower,  taken  in  1846,  is  etched  in  Archer's  Vestiges, 
part  iii. :  it  has  been  restored  by  Salvin. 

Next  the  Salt  Tower,  westward,  was  the  Lantern  Tower,  removed  for  the  Ordnance 
Office,  greatly  heightened  in  1854.  Further  west  is  the  Record  Tower,  also  called 
Wakefield,  from  the  imprisonment  of  the  Yorkists  here  after  the  battle  of  Wakefield, 
1460  :  this  was  also  anciently  the  Sail  Tower,  from  its  proximity  to  the  great  hall  of 
the  palace :  the  basement  is  Norman,  probably  of  the  reign  of  William  Rufus ;  the 
walls  are  13  feet  thick.  The  upper  chamber  has  been  a  Record-room  since  the  reign 
of  Henry  VIII. :  here  are  the  carta  antiquce  and  chancery  rolls,  chronologically  ranged 
in  presses.  Opposite  the  chamber  in  which  Henry  VI.  is  supposed  to  have  been 
murdered,  is  the  Record-keeper's  room,  where  hang  some  of  the  Keepers'  portraits : 
William  Lambarde,  the  topographer ;  the  learned  Selden ;  the  Puritan,  William 
Prynne ;  and  William  Petyt,  Samuel  Lysons,  and  Henry  Petrie,  were  distinguished 
Record-keepers.     The  Octagon  is  "  Edward  the  Confessor's  Room." 


798  CURIOSITIES   OF  LONDON. 

Adjoining  the  Record  Tower,  westward,  is  the  Bloody  Tower:  here,  in  a  dark 
windowless  room,  in  which  one  of  the  portcullises  was  worked,  George  Duke  of 
Clarence  is  said  to  have  been  drowned  in  malmsey ;  in  the  adjoining  chamber,  the  two 
princes  are  said  to  have  been  "  smothered  •"  whence  the  name  of  Bloody  Tower.  This 
has  been  much  disputed;  but  in  a  tract  temp.  James  I.  we  read  that  the  above 
"  turret  our  elders  termed  the  Bloody  Tower ;  for  the  bloodshed,  as  they  say,  of  those 
infant  princes  of  Edward  IV.,  whom  Richard  III.,  of  cursed  memory  (I  shudder  to 
mention  it),  savagely  killed,  two  together  at  one  time."  In  the  latter  chamber  was 
imprisoned  Colonel  Hutchinson,  whose  wife,  daughter  of  Sir  Allen  Apsley,  Lieutenant 
of  the  Tower,  where  she  was  born,  related  the  above  traditions.  This  portion  was 
formerly  called  the  Garden,  Tower ;  it  was  built  temp.  Edward  III.,  and  is  the  only 
ancient  place  of  security,  as  a  state  prison,  in  the  Tower  :  it  is  entered  through  a  small 
door  in  the  inner  ballium;  it  consists  of  a  day -room  and  a  bed-room,  and  the  leads  on 
which  the  prisoner  was  sometimes  allowed  to  breathe  the  air.  The  last  person  who 
occupied  these  apartments  was  Arthur  Thistlewood,  the  Cato-street  conspirator. 
Westward  are  the  Lieutenant's  Lodgings  (the  Lieutenant's  residence),  chiefly  timber- 
built,  temp.  Henry  VIII. ;  in  1610  was  added  a  chamber  having  a  prospect  to  all  the 
three  gates  of  the  Tower,  and  enabling  the  lieutenant  to  call  and  look  to  the  warders. 
In  the  "  Council  Chamber "  the  Commissioners  examined  Guy  Fawkes  and  his  accom- 
plices, as  commemorated  in  a  Latin  and  Hebrew  inscription  upon  a  parti-coloured 
marble  monument ;  and  elsewhere  in  the  building  there  was  discovered,  about  1845, 
"  an  inscription  carved  on  an  old  mantelpiece  relating  to  the  Countess  of  Lenox, 
grandmother  of  James  I.,  'commytede  prysner  to  thys  Logynge  for  the  Marige  of  her 
Sonne  my  Lord  Henry  Darnle  and  the  Queen  of  Scotlande.' "  (Hewitt's  Tower,  &c.) 
Here  a  bust  of  James  I.  was  set  up,  in  1608,  by  Sir  William  Wade,  then  Lieutenant ; 
the  walls  are  painted  with  representations  of  men  inflicting  and  suffering  torture ;  and 
the  room  is  reputed  to  be  haunted !  The  last  person  confined  in  the  lodgings  here 
was  Sir  Francis  Burdett,  committed  1810,  for  writing  in  Cobbett's  Weekly  Register. 

"  Besides  the  '  prison  lodgings,'  there  were  other  still  more  terrible  chambers  in  the  Tower ;  chambers 
especially  constructed  with  a  view  to  the  torture  of  their  inmates.  One  of  these  was  called  '  Little  Ease ;' 
a  cell  so  small  in  its  dimensions,  that  it  was  impossible  for  the  prisoner  to  stand  erect  or  to  lie  down 
except  in  a  cramped  position  (Holinshed,  vol.  iii.  p.  825).  Another  was  named  '  The  Pit.'  Others  are 
said  to  have  been  full  of  vermin,  especially  rats,  which  at  high  water  were  driven  up  in  shoals  from  the 
Thames.    The  Devil's  Tower  probably  took  its  name  from  some  contrivance  of  this  kind." — Hewitt. 

"  An  inscription  recently  found  in  an  adjoining  room  tells  us  a  State  secret,  that  Margaret  Douglas, 
Countess  of  Lennox,  mother  of  unhappy  Darnley,  was  confined  in  these  lodgings  by  Elizabeth,  on  sus- 
picion of  being  concerned  in  the  marriage  of  her  son  with  Mary  Queen  of  Scots.  Margaret  lived  in 
London  for  many  years." — Mr.  Mepworth  Dixon's  Paper  read  to  the  Archwological  Institute,  1866. 

The  Place  of  Execution  within  the  Tower  on  the  Green  was  reserved  for  putting  to 
death  privately ;  and  the  precise  spot,  nearly  opposite  the  door  of  St.  Peter's  Chapel,  is 
denoted  by  a  large  oval  of  dark  flints :  hereon  perished  Anne  Boleyn  and  Catherine 
Howard,  Margaret  Countess  of  Salisbury,  and  Lady  Jane  Grey. 

The  Bloody  Tower  gateway,  built  temp.  Edward  III.  (opposite  Traitors'1  Gate),  is 
the  main  entrance  to  the  Inner  Ward  :  it  has  massive  gates  and  portcullis,  complete, 
at  the  southern  end;  but  those  at  the  north  end  have  been  removed. 

"  The  gates  are  genuine,  and  the  portcullis  is  said  to  be  the  only  one  remaining  in  England  fit  for 
use.  The  archway  forms  a  noble  specimen  of  the  Doric  order  of  Gothic.  For  a  prison  entrance  we  know- 
of  no  more  perfect  model." — Weale's  London,  p.  160. 

Westward  of  the  White  Tower,  between  the  Chapel  and  Lieutenant's  Lodgings,  was 
the  "  Tower  Green,"  now  the  parade-ground  of  the  garrison.  Northward,  upon  the 
site  of  the  Grand  Storehouse,*  are  the  Waterloo  Barracks  (to  receive  1000  men),  in 
the  "  modern  castellated  style,"  its  only  ancient  features  being  battlements  and  machi- 
colations :  the  first  stone  was  laid  June  14,  1845,  by  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  of  whom 
here  was  a  pedestrian  stone  statue,  by  Milnes;  upon  a  pedestal,  now  removed  to 
Woolwich  Arsenal. 

North-east  of  the  White  Tower  is  another  "modern  castellated"  range  of  buildings 
for  the  officers  of  the  garrison.  South-eastward  are  the  unsightly  piles  of  the 
Ordnance  Office  and  Store-houses. 

*  The  large  pediment  of  the  Storehouse,  filled  with  bold  sculptures  of  the  royal  arms,  guns,  and 
military  trophies,  was  preserved,  and  has  been  set  up  opposite  the  Martin  Tower. 


TOWEE  OF  LONDON.  799 

The  White  Towek,  citadel,  or  keep  (for  many  years  of  itself  "the  Tower  of 
London,"  the  other  buildings  having  been  added  as  outworks),  was  begun  by  Bishop 
Gundulph,  in  1078,  on  the  site  of  a  work  said  to  have  been  destroyed  by  floods.  The 
external  dimensions  of  the  White  Tower  are  176  feet  north  and  south  by  96  feet  east 
and  west,  with  an  eastern  semicircular  projection,  the  apsis  of  the  chapel.  The  eleva- 
tion is  92  feet ;  it  is  embattled  ;  and  its  angles  are  finished  with  turrets,  the  vanes  of 
which  are  surmounted  with  the  royal  crown.  The  north  and  south-western  turrets 
are  square,  with  a  slight  projection ;  the  south-eastern  turret  is  built  upon  the  summit 
of  the  wall ;  and  that  at  the  north-eastern  angle  is  an  irregular  circle,  and  was  pierced 
to  receive  four  clock-dials  in  1854.  This  tower  was  called  the  Observatory,  and  was 
employed  by  the  "  Astronomical  Observator,  John  Flamsteed,"  who  had  "  an  hundred 
poundes  yearly  payd  him  out  of  this  office  (of  Ordnance) :"  it  contains  a  staircase 
which  communicates  with  each  of  the  floors,  from  the  vaults  to  the  roof,  which  is 
covered  with  lead,  and  was  once  a  promenade  for  the  prisoners.  Traces  of  a  large 
archway  on  the  north  side  indicate  the  original  grand  entrance,  shown  in  the  oldest 
views ;  the  present  entrances,  north  and  south,  are  modern.  The  external  walls  are 
from  10  to  12  feet  thick,  and  the  internal  walls  7  feet ;  of  these  there  are  only  two, 
which  divide  each  floor  into  three  apartments.  The  White  Tower  was  first  considerably 
repaired  about  the  middle  of  the  13th  century;  next,  with  Caen  stone,  in  1532; 
"  it  was  almost  new  erected  in  1637  and  1638,  being  built  of  boulder  and  square  stone" 
(Hatton) ;  and  windows  and  other  ancient  features  were  obliterated  in  the  reign  ot 
William  III.  On  the  eastern  side  is  a  wing  occupied  for  Ordnance  books  and  papers. 
Here,  circ.  1708,  were  "  3000  barrels  of  gunpowder  at  a  time,  with  vast  quantities  of 
match ;  also  swords  and  gin  for  mounting  great  guns ;  and  on  the  east  side  is  a  place 
where  the  powder  is  proved  before  the  surveyor  and  other  officers." 

On  the  first  floor  is  Queen  Elizabeth's  Armoury,  with  a  vaulted  roof:  on  the  north 
side  a  door  opens  to  a  cell,  10  feet  by  8,  in  the  thickness  of  the  wall ;  this  is  said  to 
have  been  the  prison-lodging  of  Sir  Walter  Raleigh;  near  the  cell  entrance  are 
inscribed  Rudstone,  Fane,  and  Culpeper,  all  implicated  in  Sir  Thomas  Wyat's 
rebellion. 

"  He  that  indvreth  to  the  ende  shal  be  savid 
M  :  10  B.  livdston.  Dar.  Kent.  Ano.  1553." 

"  Be  faithfvl  vnto  the  deth  and  I  wil  give  thee  a  erowne  of  Life, 

T  Fane  1554." 

"T  Cvlpeper  of  Ailsford,  Kent." 

On  the  second  floor,  reaching  to  the  roof,  is  the  Chapel  of  St.  John  the  Evangelist,  the 
most  perfect  specimen  of  Norman  architecture  in  the  metropolis ;  it  has  an  apsis,  and 
a  gallery  supported  by  12  massive  round  columns,  united  by  semicircular  arches :  here 
our  early  sovereigns  knelt  before  the  King  of  kings.  Three  stained-glass  windows 
were  added  to  this  chapel  by  Henry  III. :  it  was  long  used  as  a  record  depository. 
In  the  third  floor  is  the  Council  Chamber,  a  state  apartment,  with  a  massive  timber 
roof:  here  the  Protector  Gloucester  ordered  Lord  Hastings  to  be  led  to  instant  execu- 
tion in  front  of  St.  Peter's  Chapel ;  and  commanded  the  arrest  of  the  Archbishop  of 
York,  the  Bishop  of  Ely,  and  Lord  Stanley.  King  John  of  France  was  lodged  in  the 
White  Tower  in  1357.  The  vaults  underneath  were  occupied  as  prisons :  among  their 
inscriptions  is  one  carved  by  Fisher,  Bishop  of  Rochester.  Throughout  the  building 
there  is  no  trace  of  a  fireplace  or  of  a  well.  The  Council  Chamber  and  Banqueting 
Hall  are  now  filled  with  rifles  ready  for  use.  Hitherto,  they  had  been  used  as  store- 
rooms, and  the  present  alteration  was  made  at  the  suggestion  and  from  the  designs  of 
the  late  Prince  Consort.  They  now  form  two  splendid  armouries,  the  Council  Chamber 
containing  20,000  and  the  Banqueting  Hall  31,000  Enfield  and  short  rifles,  ready  at 
any  time  for  immediate  use.  The  passages,  walls,  ceilings,  beams,  &c,  are  richly 
ornamented  with  swords,  bayouets,  lances,  pistols,  and  various  other  weapons,  some  of 
them  now  obsolete. 

A  paper  drawn  up  by  a  yeoman-warder,  in  1641,  shows  the  White  Tower  to  have  then  been  the  Office 
of  Ordnance ;  the  Martin  Tower  was  assigned  to  the  Porter  of  the  Mint ;  the  Byward  and  Water-gate 
Towers  to  the  warders;  and  eleven  other  towers  were  "prison-lodgings." 

Mr.  Hepworth  Dixon's  paper,  elsewhere  quoted,  is  a  very  attractive  precis  of  the 


800  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

history  of  the  Tower,  narrated  with  poetic  verve,  and  archaeological  identification.  Of 
Charles  of  Orleans,  the  brave  soldier  and  poet-prince,  who  was  captured  at  Agincourt, 
and  remained  prisoner  in  the  Tower  five-and-twenty  years,  Mr.  Dixon  tells  us,  there  is 
in  the  MS.  department  of  the  British  Museum  a  copy  of  the  prince's  French  poems, 
nobly  illuminated.  "  One  of  the  drawings  in  this  MS.  is  of  peculiar  interest :  in  the 
first  place,  as  being  the  oldest  view  of  the  Tower  extant ;  in  the  second  place,  in  fixing 
the  exact  chamber  in  the  White  Tower  in  which  the  poet  was  confined,  and  displaying 
dramatically  the  life  which  he  led.  First  we  see  the  prince  at  his  desk,  composing  his 
poems,  with  his  gentlemen  in  attendance,  and  his  guards  on  duty.  Next  we  observe 
him  on  a  window-sill  looking  outwards  into  space.  Then  we  have  him  at  the  foot  of 
the  White  Tower,  embracing  the  messenger  who  brings  him  the  ransom.  Again,  we 
see  him  mounting  his  horse.  Then  we  have  him  and  his  friendly  messenger  riding 
away  from  the  Tower.  Lastly,  he  is  seated  in  a  barge,  which  lusty  rowers  are  pulling 
down  the  stream,  for  the  boat  which  is  to  carry  him  to  France."  Mr.  Dixon's  paper 
is  printed  in  the  Atheneeum,  No.  2021. 

Imprisonments. — Upwards  of  1000  prisoners  have  been  confined  in  the  chambers 
and  cells  of  the  Tower  at  one  time.  Among  the  celebrated  persons  imprisoned  here, 
besides  those  already  named,  were :  A.D.  1100.  Ralph  Flambard,  the  militant  Bishop 
of  Durham.  1296.  Balliol,  King  of  Scotland,  and  Scottish  chieftains.  1307.  Lady 
Badlesmere,  for  refusing  the  queen  of  Edward  II.  lodging  in  her  castle  of  Leeds,  Kent. 
1347.  Charles  of  Blois,  and  the  twelve  citizens  of  Calais  with  the  governor.  1386. 
Geoffrey  Chaucer,  said  to  have  here  written  his  Testament  of  Love.  (Chaucer  was 
appointed  clerk  of  the  works,  July  13,  1389,  13th  Eichard  II.)  1415.  The  Duke  of 
Orleans,  father  of  Louis  XII.,  composed  here  a  volume  of  English  poems,  which  contains 
the  earliest  view  of  the  Tower.  1534.  John  Fisher,  Bishop  of  Rochester ;  and  Sir 
Thomas  More.  1540.  Thomas  Cromwell,  Earl  of  Essex.  1547.  The  Duke  of  Norfolk 
and  his  son,  the  poet  Earl  of  Surrey. 

"xxxviij°A°  (Hen.  VIII.)  Thysyere  the  xijth  day  of  December  the  dewke  of  NorfFoke  and  the  yerle 
of  Sorre"  hys  sonne  ware  comyttyd  unto  the  tower  of  London,  and  the  dewke  went  be  watter  from  the 
lorde  chaunselers  place  in  Holborne  that  was  sometyme  the  byshoppe  of  Ely's,  and  soo  downe  un  to  the 
watter  syde,  and  so  be  watter  un  to  the  tower;  and  hys  sonne  the  yerle  of  Sorre"  went  thorrow  the  cytte 
of  London,  makynge  grete  lnmentacion.  *  *  Item  the  13.  day  of  January  was  the  yerle  of  Sorrey  browte 
from  the  tower  of  London  un  to  the  yelde  halle  of  London,  and  there  he  was  from  ix.  unto  yt  was  v.  at 
nyght,  and  there  had  hys  judgement  to  beheddyd;  and  soo  the  six.  day  of  the  same  month  it  was  done 
at  the  Towre  hylle." — Chron.  Qrey  Friars  of  London. 

1553.  Cranmer,  Latimer,  and  Ridley.  Latimer  was  also  a  prisoner  here  from  1541  to 
1547.  1554.  Sir  Thomas  Wyat.  1562.  The  Earl  of  Southampton,  the  friend  of 
Shakspeare.  1606.'  Guy  Fawkes  and  his  fellow-conspirators.  1622.  Lord  Chancellor 
Bacon,  "a  broken  reed;"  Sir  Edward  Coke,  a  close  prisoner.  1613.  Sir  Thomas 
Overbury,  supposed  to  have  been  poisoned  by  his  gaoler.  1616.  The  Countess  of 
Somerset,*  for  Overbury's  murder.  1626.  "  Mr.  Moor  was  sent  to  the  Tower  for 
speaking  (in  Parliament)  out  of  season ;  and  Sir  William  Widdrington  and  Sir  Herbert 
Price  for  bringing  in  candles  against  the  desire  of  the  House."  (Lwarris,  on  Statutes, 
p.  83.)  1628.  Felton,  the  assassin  of  the  Duke  of  Buckingham ;  Sir  John  Elliot, 
second  imprisonment ;  John  Selden.  1641.  Thomas  Wentworth,  Earl  of  Strafford ; 
Archbishop  Laud,  and  Bishop  Hall.  1648.  The  pious  Jeremy  Taylor.  1651.  Sir 
William  Davenant,  whose  life  was  saved  by  Milton  and  Whitelock.  1656.  Lucy 
Barlow,  mother  of  the  Duke  of  Monmouth :  she  was  liberated  by  Oliver  Cromwell. 
1661.  Harrington,  who  wrote  the  Oceana.  1679.  Viscount  Stafford,  beheaded  1680. 
1679.  Samuel  Pepys,  the  diarist,  suspected  of  connexion  with  the  Popish  Plot ;  liberated 
on  bail  for  30,0002.  1681.  The  Earl  of  Shaftesbury.  1683.  William  Lord  Russell 
and  Algernon  Sidney.  1685.  James  Duke  of  Monmouth.  1688  (the  Revolution). 
The  infamous  Lord  Jeffreys ;  William  Penn,  for  street  preaching ;  the  Seven  Bishops. 
1692.  The  great  Duke  of  Marlborough.  1712.  Sir  Robert  Walpole,  for  receiving 
bribes.  1715.  Harley,  Earl  of  Oxford;  the  Earls  of  Derwentwater  and  Nithsdale. 
1717.  William  Shippen,  "  downright  Shippen"  {Pope).  1722.  Bishop  Atterbury  and 
the  Earl  of  Orrery.     1746.  Lords  Kilmarnock,  Balmerino,  and  Lovat.     1760.     Earl 

*  The  Countess  of  Somerset's  "only  child,  born  in  the  Tower  during  her  imprisonment,  and  named 
Anne,  after  the  name  of  the  Queen,  in  the  hopes  thereby  of  propitiating  her  majesty,  was  afterwards 
married  to  the  Luke  of  Bedford,  and  was  the  mother  of  William  Lord  Kussell."— Amos. 


TOWER  OF  LONDON.  801 

Ferrers,  hanged  for  murder.  1762.  John  Wilkes ;  no  charge  specified.  1780.  Lord 
George  Gordon  (Riots).  1794.  John  Home  Tooke,  Hardy,  Thelwall,  Holcroft,  aDd 
others.     1810.  Sir  Francis  Eurdett.     1820.  Cato-street  conspirators. 

The  Constable  of  the  Tower  was  formerly  styled  the  Constable  of  London,  the 
Constable  of  the  Sea,  and  the  Constable  of  the  Honour  of  the  Tower ;  which  post  was 
conferred  hy  William  I.  upon  Geoffry  de  Mandeville,  in  reward  of  his  services  at  the 
hattle  of  Hastings.  The  Constable,  besides  his  salary,  privileges,  and  perquisites, 
temp.  Edward  II.  received  a  custom  of  2d.  from  each  person  going  and  returning  by 
the  Thames,  on  a  pilgrimage  to  St.  James's  shrine.  In  the  reign  of  Richard  II.  the 
Constable  received  yearly  1001.,  with  fees  from  his  prisoners,  according  to  their  rank, 
"  for  the  suit  of  his  irons :"  of  every  duke  committed,  2,01. :  and  for  irons,  earl,  20 
marks ;  baron,  101. ;  knight,  100  shillings.  The  Constable's  salary  is  now  a  little 
under  950/.,  with  an  official  residence.  The  great  Duke  of  Wellington  was  Constable 
from  1820  to  his  death  in  1852,  and  was  succeeded  by  Viscount  Combermere,  at  whose 
death  Sir  John  Fox  Burgoyne  received  the  appointment.  On  taking  possession,  the 
new  Constable  is  by  the  Lord  Chamberlain  presented  with  the  keys  of  the  fortress,  in 
the  name  and  on  behalf  of  Her  Majesty  the  Queen;  the  Yeomen  Warders,  following 
an  ancient  custom  on  such  occasions,  respond  "  Amen"  in  chorus,  the  troops  give  a 
Royal  salute  and  present  arms,  and  the  band  plays  the  National  Anthem.  The  Con- 
stable is  then  formally  presented  to  the  officers  of  the  garrison,  and  conducted  over 
the  armoury.  The  Lieutenant  of  the  Tower  is  next  in  rank  to  the  Constable ;  but  the 
duties  of  both  offices  are  performed  by  the  Deputy-Lieutenant  and  the  Tower  Major. 
Colonel  Gurwood,  editor  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington's  Despatches,  was  long  Deputy- 
Lieutenant.  The  Gentleman  Gaoler  had  the  custody  and  locking-up  of  the  state 
prisoners.  The  Yeomen  Warders,  of  whom  there  were  forty-five,  originally  kept 
watch  over  the  prisoners:  in  the  reign  of  Edward  VI.,  the  Duke  of  Somerset,  in  re- 
turn for  the  attention  and  respect  they  paid  him  whilst  in  confinement,  procured  them, 
after  his  liberation,  "  to  be  sworne  extraordinary  of  the  guard,  and  to  weare  the  same 
livery  they  doe."  The  old  uniform  is  now  only  worn  on  State  occasions.  The  new 
dress  was  made  in  1858.  The  old  cut  is  retained,  the  alterations  being  in  the  colour 
of  the  cloth  and  the  trimmings.  The  tunic  or  frock  is  of  dark  blue  cloth,  with  a 
crown  in  red  cloth  on  the  breast,  and  V.R.  underneath;  two  bands  of  red  cloth 
round  the  sleeves,  the  same  as  the  skirt.  A  cloak  is  supplied  for  inclement  weather. 
The  Yeomen  at  present  number  forty-eight:  they  are  old  and  deserving  non-com- 
missioned officers. 

Locking-up  the  Tower  is  an  ancient,  curious,  and  stately  ceremony.  A  few  minutes 
before  the  clock  strikes  the  hour  of  eleven — on  Tuesdays  and  Fridays,  twelve — the 
Head  Warder  (Yeoman  Porter),  clothed  in  a  long  red  cloak,  bearing  a  huge  bunch  of 
keys,  and  attended  by  a  brother  warder  carrying  a  lantern,  appears  in  front  of  the 
main  guard-house,  and  loudly  calls  out,  "  Escort  keys !"  The  sergeant  of  the  guard, 
with  five  or  six  men,  then  turns  out  and  follows  him  to  the  "  Spur,"  or  outer  gate ; 
each  sentry  challenging  as  they  pass  his  post,  "  Who  goes  there  ?" — "  Keys."  The 
gates  being  carefully  locked  and  barred,  the  procession  returns,  the  sentries  exacting  the 
same  explanation,  and  receiving  the  same  answer  as  before.  Arrived  once  more  in 
front  of  the  main  guard-house,  the  sentry  there  gives  a  loud  stamp  with  his  foot,  and 
asks,  "  Who  goes  there  ?"— "  Keys."  "  Whose  keys  ?"—"  Queen  Victoria's  keys." 
"  Advance  Queen  Victoria's  keys,  and  all's  well."  The  Yeomau  Porter  then  exclaims, 
"  God  bless  Queen  Victoria  !"  The  main  guard  respond,  "  Amen."  The  officer  on 
duty  gives  the  word,  "  Present  arms  '."  the  firelocks  rattle ;  the  officer  kisses  the  hilt 
of  his  sword ;  the  escort  fall  in  among  their  companions ;  and  the  Yeoman  Porter 
marches  across  the  parade  alone  to  deposit  the  keys  in  the  Lieutenant's  Lodgings. 
The  ceremony  over,  not  only  is  all  egress  and  ingress  totally  precluded,  but  even  within 
the  walls  no  one  can  stir  without  being  furnished  with  the  countersign. 

The  Tower  has  a  separate  coroner ;  and  the  public  have  access  to  the  fortress 
only  by  sufferance.  When  Horwood  made  his  Survey  of  London,  1799,  he  was 
denied  admission  to  the  Tower;  and  the  refusal  is  thus  recorded  upon  the  map:— 
"  The  Tower :  the  internal  parts  not  distinguished,  being  refused  permission  to  take 
the  survey." 

3  » 


802  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  Tower  is  extra-parochial ;  and  in  1851  the  population  was  882,  and  the  military 
in  barracks  606. 

The  Armouries. — The  fortress  has  been  the  depository  of  tbe  national  arms  and 
accoutrements  from  the  earliest  ages  of  our  monarchy ;  and  writs  of  various  dates 
enumerate  warlike  stores  contained  in  or  issued  from  the  Tower  by  "  the  Keeper  of 
the  Arms."  In  an  inventory  temp.  Edward  VI.  are  mentioned  many  of  the  articles 
in  the  present  collection ;  and  Hentzner  describes  the  Armouries  in  the  reign  of  Eliza- 
beth as  one  of  the  sights  of  London. 

The  Horse  Armoury,  150  feet  long,  is  on  the  south  side  of  the  White  Tower,  and 
was  built  in  1826,  when  it  was  arranged  by  Sir  Samuel  Meyrick.  In  the  centre  is  a 
line  of  twenty-two  equestrian  figures,  in  the  armour  of  various  reigns  from  Edward  I. 
to  James  II.  Over  each  figure  is  a  crimson  banner  bearing  the  name  and  time  of  the 
king  or  knight  represented  by  the  effigy  below  j  but  only  a  few  of  the  armours  have 
been  actually  worn  by  the  persons  to  whom  they  are  assigned.  Around  the  room  are 
ranged  other  figures  in  armour,  interspersed  with  military  trophies  and  emblems ;  be- 
sides other  mounted  figures ;  arms  of  different  ages ;  helmets,  cuirasses,  shields,  &c. ; 
and  on  the  ceiling  are  displayed  obsolete  arms  and  accoutrements  in  fanciful  devices. 
The  equestrian  figures  are  of  the  time  of 

Edward  I.  (1272). — Suit  of  a  hauberk,  with  sleeves  and  chaussees,  and  a  hood  with  camail;  square- 
topped  shield ;  prick-spurs ;  surcoat  and  baudric,  modern. 

Henry  VI.  (1450). — Back  and  breast  plates  of  flexible  armour ;  chain-mail  sleeves  and  skirt ;  fluted 
gauntlets;  helmet  a  la  Cade,  with  a  frontlet  and  surmounting  crest;  the  horse  housing  emblazoned 
with  the  arms  of  France  and  England;  fluted  chauffron. 

Edward  IV.  (1465). — Tournament  suit,  with  tilting  lance;  war-saddle,  somewhat  later;  horse 
housings,  black,  powdered  with  the  king's  badges — the  wttite  rose  and  sun;  a  spiked  chauffron  on 
horse'shead. 

Knight,  temp.  Richard  III.  (1483-1485). — Ribbed  German  armour;  tilting  apparel  and  original  tilting 
lance:  this  suit  was  worn  at  the  Eglinton  Tournament  by  the  Marquis  of  Waterford. 

Knight,  temp.  Henry  VII.  (1485-1509).— Fluted  (German)  suit ;  burgonet  helmet.  Suit  of  fluted 
armour  of  the  same  reign;  ancient  sword,  battle-axe,  and  war-saddle;  horse  armour  fluted,  and  only 
wanting  the  flanchards. 

Senry  VIII.  (1520). — Damasked  armour  actually  worn  by  this  king.  Two  suits  of  the  same  reign, 
worn  by  Charles  Brandon,  Duke  of  Suffolk,  and  Edward  Clinton,  Earl  of  Lincoln.  In  a  recess  is  "  one  of 
the  most  curious  suite  of  armour  in  the  world,"  of  German  workmanship,  once  gilt,  and  made  to  comme- 
morate the  marriage  of  Henry  VIII.  and  Katherine  of  Arragon:  it  is  most  elaborately  engraved  with 
the  rose  and  pomegranate^  portcullis,  fleurs-de-lis,  and  red  dragon;  "H.  K.,"  united  by  a  true-lover's- 
knot ;  saintly  legends,  mottoes,  &c. 

Edward  VI.  (1552). — Russet  armour,  covered  with  beautiful  filagree-work ;  burgonet  helmet;  horse 
armour  complete,  embossed  with  the  combined  badges  of  Burgundy  and  Granada. 

Francis  Hastings,  Earl  of  Huntingdon  (1555). — Richly  gilt  suit,  with  indented  slashes;  weight  of 
body  armour  exceeds  100  lbs. 

Tiobert  Dudley,  Earl  of  Leicester  (1560). — Tilting  suit  actually  worn  by  Leicester,  temp.  Elizabeth : 
it  bears  the  initials  "R.  D.,"  and  the  earl's  cognizance  of  the  bear  and  ragged  staff:  this  suit  "  was  kept 
in  the  tilt-yard,  where  it  was  exhibited  on  particular  days"  (Meyrick). 

Sir  Henry  Lea  (1570). — Suit  of  plate. 

Robert  Devereux,  Earl  of  Essex  (1581). — Suit  of  armour,  richly  engraved  and  gilt ;  burgonet  helmet. 
This  armour  was  worn  by  the  King's  Champion  at  the  coronation  of  George  II. 

James  I.  (1605). — Plain  suit  of  tilting  armour.  Of  the  same  period  are  the  suits  of  cap-a-pie  armour 
assigned  to  Sir  Horace  Vere,  and  Thomas  Howard,  Earl  of  Arundel. 

Henry  Prince  of  Wales  (1612). — Richly-gilt  suit  made  for  the  prince;  engraved  with  battles, 
sieges,  &c. 

Qeorge  Villiers,  Duke  of  Buckingham  (1618). — Full  suit  of  plate. 

Charles  Prince  of  Wales  (1620). — Suit  made  for  the  prince  when  about  twelve  years  old. 

Thomas  Wentworth,  Earl  of  Strafford  (1635). — Armour  continued  only  to  the  knees. 

Charles  I.  (1640). — Magnificent  suit  presented  to  Charles,  when  Prince  of  Wales,  by  the  Armourers* 
Company  of  the  City  of  London:  it  is  richly  gilt  aud  arabesqued;  face  is  carved  by  Gibbons.  This  suit 
was  laid  on  the  coflin  of  the  great  Duke  of  Marlborough,  in  his  funeral  procession. 

James  II.  (1685). — Cuirass  over  a  velvet  coat;  casque  and  pierced  visor:  the  head  was  carved  by 
Gibbons,  as  a  portrait  of  Charles  II. 

Here  also  are :  a  swordsman  (Henry  VII.).  A  man-at-arms  and  foot-soldier 
Henry  VIII.).  "  Armour  cap-a-pe,  rough  from  the  hammer,  said  to  be  King  Henry  ye 
8ths."  Suits  belonging  to  the  Princes  Henry  and  Charles,  sons  of  James  I.  Cavaliers 
and  pikemen  (temp.  Charles  I.).  A  fragment  of  "  penny  plate  armour."  Magnifi- 
cent suit  of  Italian  armour,  engraved  and  gilt.  Cuirasses  from  Waterloo.  Ancient 
suits  of  chain-mail.  Halbards,*  shields,  and  helmets.  "  The  Norman  Crusader," 
really  an  Asiatic  suit  of  mixed  chain  and  plate.     Very  curious  helmets.     Pieces  of  a 

*  The  halbard  remained  in  use  among  our  troops  till  within  60  years,  and  may  sttll  be  seen  as  an 
official  weapon  in  our  courts  of  justice.  The  warders  of  the  Tower  are  still  armed  with  the  partisan :  it 
is  still  carried  by  the  watchmen  in  Denmark. 


TOWER  OF  LONDON.  803 

puffed  and  engraved  suit  of  armour  (temp.  Henry  VIII.),  extremely  rare.  Ancient 
German  bone  saddle,  with  Teutonic  inscription.  The  "  Anticke  Headpiece  with  rames 
Homes  and  speckakels  on  it  of  Will  Somers,"  jester  to  Henry  VIII.  Specimens  of 
hand  firearms.  Ancient  warder's  horn,  of  carved  ivory.  Chinese  military  dresses 
from  Chusan.  Helmet,  belt,  straight  sword,  and  scimitars  of  Tippoo  Saib.  Concave 
rondelle  with  spiked  boss,  such  as  is  seen  in  the  picture  of  "Henry  the  Eighth's  Em- 
barcation  at  Dover,"  at  Hampton  Court. 

Part  of  a  horse  armour  of  cuir  houilli,  extremely  rare  and  curious.  On  the  columns 
are  groups  of  arms  now  in  use  among  continental  powers ;  arms  employed  in  England 
from  the  time  of  James  II.  to  the  present  reign  ;  and  projects  for  the  improvement 
of  war  implements. 

Here  are  celts ;  ancient  British  axes,  swords,  and  spears,  of  bronze  (one  axe  found 
near  Hastings,  supposed  temp.  Harold)  ;  a  British  battle-axe  found  in  the  Thames  in 
1829  ;  Roman  spear-head  ;  Saxon  daggers  and  battle-axes. 

At  the  top  of  the  stairs  are  two  rudely-carved  wood  figures,  "  Gin"  and  "  Beer," 
from  over  the  buttery  of  the  old  palace  at  Greenwich.  A  very  curious  Indian  suit  of 
armour,  sent  to  Charles  II.  by  the  Great  Mogul.  Ten  small  cannon,  presented  by  the 
brass-founders  of  London  to  Charles  II.  when  a  boy. 

Queen,  Elizabeth's  Armoury,  cased  with  wood  in  the  Norman  style,  is  entered  at  the 
eastern  side  of  the  White  Tower :  the  windows  are  filled  with  stained  glass,  in  part 
ancient.  Here  is  an  equestrian  figure  of  Elizabeth,  in  a  fac  simile  of  the  robe  worn 
by  her  on  going  to  St.  Paul's  to  return  thanks.  The  weapons  collected  here  were 
brought  originally  from  "  The  Spanish  Weapon  House,"  and  were  long  called  "  The 
Spanish  Armoury,"  misinterpreted  as  the  spoils  of  the  Spanish  Armada.  These 
weapons  were  mostly  used  temp.  Henry  VIII.  and  Elizabeth.  The  collection  of  spears 
is  interesting.  Here  is  the  Morning-star,  or  Holy-water  (blood)  Sprinkle,  a  spiked 
ball  on  a  pole,  used  by  infantry  from  the  Conquest  till  temp.  Henry  VIII.  The  walls 
are  hung  with  early  shields.  Two  bows  of  yew,  from  the  wreck  of  the  Mary  Hose, 
1545  ;  early  kite  shield ;  two  cross-hilted  swords,  temp.  Crusaders,  authentic  and  rare. 
Thumb-screws,  or  thumbikins ;  the  "  Iron  Coller  of  Torment,  taken  from  y'  Spanyard 
in  y"  yeare  1588 ;"  the  iron  Cravat,  "  Scavenger's  or  Skeffington's  Daughter."  Ancient 
Cresset,  with  spear-head.  Mace-cannon,  carried  at  the  saddle-bow.  Long-pikes  and 
boar-spears,  in  the  Tower  temp.  Edward  VI.  Large  pavoise,  or  archer's  shield.  "  Great 
Holly-water  Sprincle,  with  three  gonnes  in  the  top."  Spontoon  of  the  guard  of 
Henry  VIII.  Guisarmes  and  glaives,  partisans,  lances,  pikes,  and  halbards.  On  the 
floor  is  the  heading-axe  with  which  the  Earl  of  Essex  was  executed,  temp.  Elizabeth. 
Heading-block  on  which  Lords  Balmerino,  Kilmarnock,  and  Lovat  were  decapitated 
on  Tower-hill,  in  1746.  The  money  received  for  admission  to  the  Armouries  is  ex- 
pended in  adding  to  the  collection ;  thus,  in  1853,  a  beautiful  suit  of  Greek  armour, 
found  in  a  tomb  at  Cumae,  was  purchased  for  2001. :  it  is  shown  in  the  Horse 
Armoury. 

Among  the  Curiosities  mentioned  by  Hatton,  1708,  is  the  sword  which  Lord 
Kingsale  took  from  a  French  guard,  for  which  he  and  his  posterity  have  the  favour  of 
being  covered  in  the  king's  presence.  On  the  stairs  is  part  of  the  keel  of  the  Moyal 
George,  sunk  in  1782. 

In  the  Ante-room  added  to  Queen  Elizabeth's  Armoury,  fitted  up  in  1581,  from  the 
plan  of  Mr.  Stacey,  Ordnance  Storekeeper,  are  a  group  of  cannon  from  Waterloo,  two 
kettle-drums  from  Blenheim ;  and  specimens,  ancient  and  modern,  of  every  description 
of  weapon  now  in  the  Tower.  Here  are  also  the  sword  and  sash  of  Field  Marshal  the 
Duke  of  York ;  and  General  Wolfe's  cloak,  on  which  he  died  before  Quebec.  In  the 
centre  of  the  room  is  a  beautifully  ornamented  bronze  gun.  Here  are  two  large  brass 
guns  taken  at  Quebec  by  General  Wolfe,  a  stand  of  cross-bows,  and  four  figures  in 
armour.  In  the  western  compartment  are  chiefly  oriental  arms  and  armowr  :  suit  of 
«hain-mail  (reputed  Bajazet,  1401) ;  Asiatic  iron  boot ;  Saracenic  and  Indian  armour ; 
memorials  from  Tippoo  Saib's  armour;  collection  of  Chinese  armour;  brass  gun  taken 
from  the  Chinese  in  1842,  inscribed,  "  Richabd  :  Philips  :  made  :  this  :  Pece  : 
An  :  Dni  :  1601 ;"  arms  from  Kaffraria ;  hempen  armour  from  the  South  Seas ;  New 
Zealand  implements,  and  chiefs  robe ;  rich  Indian  and  Moorish  arms  and  accoutre- 

3  v  2 


804  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

ments,  from  the  Great  Exhibition  of  1851 :  and  a  cabinet  of  oriental  armour, 
weapons,  horse-furniture,  &c.,  presented  by  the  Hon.  East  India  Company.  Here 
is  the  large  anchor  taken  at  Camperdown  by  Admiral  Duncan.  In  1854  were  added 
2000  stands  of  arms  from  Bomarsund,  the  first  spoils  of  the  Russian  war. 

Outside  the  White  Tower,  on  the  south-east,  are  :  an  ancient  gun  for  stone  shot ;  two 
brass  guns,  temp.  Henry  VII.  and  Henry  VIII.  j  French,  Spanish,  and  Chinese  guns  ; 
guns  from  the  wreck  of  the  Royal  George;  and  several  mortars,  including  one  of  18 
inches,  used  at  the  siege  of  Namur  by  William  III. 

Mr.  Hewitt's  work,  already  mentioned,  is  by  far  the  most  accurate  and  illustrative 
Guide-book  to  the  Tower  Armouries. 

The  Regalia,  oe  Ceown  Jewels,  have  been  exhibited  to  the  public  for  a  fee 
since  the  Restoration  of  Charles  II.  They  had  been  previously  kept  sometimes  in  the 
Tower,  in  the  Treasury  of  the  Temple  or  other  religious  house,  and  in  the  Treasury  at 
Westminster.  The  Royal  Jewels  were  several  times  pledged  to  provide  for  the  exi- 
gencies of  our  monarchs :  by  Henry  III.,  Edward  III.,  Henry  V.,  Henry  VI. ;  and 
Richard  II.  offered  them  to  the  merchants  of  London  as  a  guarantee  for  a  loan.  The 
office  of  Keeper  of  the  Regalia,  conferred  by  the  king's  letters  patent,  became  in  the 
reigns  of  the  Tudors  a  post  of  great  emolument  and  dignity,  and  "  the  Master  of  the 
Jewel-house"  took  rank  as  the  first  Knight  Bachelor  of  England  :  the  office  was  some- 
time held  by  Cromwell,  afterwards  Earl  of  Essex.  During  the  civil  war  under  Charles  I. 
the  Regalia  were  sold  and  destroyed.*  On  the  Restoration  of  Charles  II.  new  Regalia 
were  made,  for  which  was  paid  to  the  king's  goldsmith,  Sir  Robert  Vyner,  21,978Z.  9*.  lid. 
(Treasury  Order,  20th  June,  1662.)  The  emoluments  of  the  Master  of  the  Jewel- 
house  were  now  so  reduced,  that  Sir  Gilbert  Talbot  obtained  permission  to  show  the 
Regalia  to  strangers  for  a  fee  j  which  proved  so  profitable,  that  Sir  Gilbert,  upon  the 
death  of  his  servant  who  showed  the  jewels,  was  offered  500  gold  broad-pieces  for  the 
place.  In  this  reign,  May  9,  1671,  Colonel  Blood  made  his  daring  attempt  to  carry 
off  "  the  crown,  globe,  and  sceptre."  The  Regalia  were  then  kept  in  a  strong  vaulted 
chamber  of  the  Martin  Tower,  and  were  shown  behind  strong  iron  bars :  through 
these,  in  1815,  a  woman  forced  her  hands  and  tore  the  royal  crown  to  pieces.  The 
Regalia  were  next  shown  at  one  view  by  the  light  of  six  argand  lamps,  with  powerful 
reflectors. 

In  1842,  a  new  Jewel-house  was  built  in  the  late  Tudor  style,  south  of  the  Martin 
Tower :  where  the  Regalia  are  shown  upon  a  pyramidal  stand,  enclosed  within  plate- 
glass  ;  and  over  the  whole  is  an  open  iron  frame,  or  cage,  of  Tudor  design,  surmounted 
by  a  regal  crown  of  iron. 

The  Regalia  are : — St.  Edward's  Crown,  or  the  ancient  Imperial  Crown,  made 
temp.  Charles  II.,  to  replace  that  said  to  have  been  worn  by  Edward  the  Confessor  : 
and  with  which  the  Sovereign  is  crowned  at  the  altar.  This  is  the  crown  which  Blood 
stole  :  the  arches,  flowers,  and  fillets  are  covered  with  large  multi-coloured  jewels ;  and 
the  purple  velvet  cap  is  faced  with  ermine. 

Prof.  Tennant,  P.G.S.,  thus  describes  her  Majesty's  State  Crown  :— 

"  The  Imperial  State  Crown  of  Her  Majesty  Queen  Victoria  was  made  by  Messrs.  Rundell  and  Bridge 
in  the  year  1838,  with  jewels  taken  from  old  Crowns,  and  others  furnished  by  command  of  her  Majesty. 
It  consists  of  diamonds,  pearls,  rabies,  sapphires,  and  emeralds,  set  in  silver  and  gold ;  it  has  a  crimson 
velvet  cap,  with  ermine  border,  and  is  lined  with  white  silk.  Its  gross  weight  is  39  oz.  5  dwts.  Troy. 
The  lower  part  of  the  band,  above  the  ermine  border,  consists  of  a  row  of  one  hundred  and  twenty-nine 
pearls,  and  the  upper  part  of  the  band  a  row  of  one  hundred  and  twelve  pearls,  between  which,  in  front 
of  the  Crown,  is  a  large  sapphire  (partly  drilled),  purchased  for  the  Crown  by  His  Majesty  King  George 
the  Fourth.  At  the  back  is  a  sapphire  of  smaller  size,  and  six  other  sapphires  (three  on  each  side), 
between  which  are  eight  emeralds.  Above  and  below  the  seven  sapphires  are  fourteen  diamonds,  and 
around  the  eight  emeralds  one  hundred  and  twenty-eight  diamonds.  Between  the  emeralds  and 
sapphires  are  sixteen  trefoil  ornaments,  containing  one  hundred  and  sixty  diamonds.  Above  the  band 
are  eight  sapphires  surmounted  by  eight  diamonds,  between  which  are  eight  festoons  consisting  of  one 
hundred  and  forty-eight  diamonds.  In  the  front  of  the  Crown,  and  in  the  centre  of  a  diamond  Maltese 
cross,  is  the  famous  ruby  said  to  have  been  given  to  Edward  Prince  of  Wales,  son  of  Edward  III., 
called  the  Black  Prince,  by  Don  Pedro,  King  of  Castile,  after  the  battle  of  Najera,  near  Vittoria,  a.d. 
1367.  This  ruby  was  worn  in  the  helmet  of  Henry  V.  at  the  battle  of  Agincourt,  a.d.  1415.  It  is  pierced 
quite  through  after  the  Eastern  custom,  the  upper  part  of  the  piercing  being  filled  up  by  a  small  ruby. 
Around  this  ruby,  to  form  the  cross,  are  seventy-five  brilliant  diamonds.  Three  other  Maltese  crosses, 
forming  the  twb  sides  and  back  of  the  Crown,  have  emerald  centres,  and  contain  respectively  one 

•  The  State  Crown  of  Charles  I.,  found  in  the  upper  Jewel-house,  contained  7  lbs.  7oz.  of  gold:  in 
one  of  thejieurs-ie-lis  was  "  a  picture  of  the  Virgin  Mary." 


TOWER  OF  LONDON.  805 


hundred  and  thirty-two,  one  hundred  and  twenty-four,  and  one  hundred  and  thirty  brilliant  diamonds. 
Between  the  four  Maltese  crosses  are  four  ornaments  in  the  form  of  the  French  fleur-de-lis,  with  four 
rubies  in  the  centres,  and  surrounded  by  rose  diamonds,  containing  respectively  eighty-five,  eighty-six, 
eighty-six,  and  eighty-seven  rose  diamonds.  From  the  Maltese  crosses  issue  four  imperial  arches  com- 
posed of  oak  leaves  and  acorns ;  the  leaves  containing  seven  hundred  and  twenty-eight  rose,  table,  and 
brilliant  diamonds ;  thirty-two  pearls  forming  the  acorns,  set  in  cups  containing  fifty-four  rose  diamonds 
and  one  table  diamond.  The  total  number  of  diamonds  in  the  arches  and  acorns  is  one  hundred  and 
eight  brilliant,  one  hundred  and  sixteen  table,  and  five  hundred  and  fifty-nine  rose  diamonds.  From 
the  upper  part  of  the  arches  are  suspended  four  large  pendant  pear-shaped  pearls,  with  rose  diamond 
caps,  containing  twelve  rose  diamonds,  and  stems  containing  twenty-four  very  small  rose  diamonds. 
Above  the  arch  stands  the  mound,  containing  in  the  lower  hemisphere  three  hundred  and  four  brilliants, 
and  in  the  upper  two  hundred  and  forty-four  brilliants ;  the  zone  and  arc  being  composed  of  thirty-three 
rose  diamonds.  The  cross  on  the  summit  has  a  rose-cut  sapphire  in  the  centre,  surrounded  by  four 
large  brilliants,  and  one  hundred  and  eight  smaller  brilliants. — Summary  of  Jewels  comprised  in  the 
Cro-.vn  :  l  large  ruby  irregularly  polished;  1  large  broad-spread  sapphire;  16  sapphires  ;  11  emeralds; 
4  rubies;  1363  brilliant  diamonds;  1273  rose  diamonds;  147  table  diamonds;  4  drop-shaped  pearls; 
273  pearls." 

There  are  correct  woodcuts  of  the  crown,  by  S.  "Williams,  in  Britton's  Dictionary  of 
Architecture,  and  Sharp's  Peerage.  Haydon,  in  his  Autobiography  (1830),  vol.  ii. 
p.  236,  has  this  odd  entry  as  to  the  crown  of  George  IV. : — 

"  The  Crown  at  the  Coronation  was  not  bought,  but  borrowed.  Rundell's  price  was  70,000?. ;  and 
Lord  Liverpool  told  the  King  he  could  not  sanction  such  an  expenditure.  Eundell  charged  7000?.  for 
the  loan;  and  as  some  time  elapsed  before  it  was  decided  whether  the  crown  should  be  bought  or  not, 
Eundell  charged  3000?.  or  4000?.  more  for  the  interval." 

The  Prince  of  Wales's  Crown,  of  pure  gold,  plain,  without  jewels  :  it  is  placed  upon 
a  velvet  cushion,  in  the  House  of  Lords,  before  the  seat  of  the  Heir  Apparent,  when 
Her  Majesty  opens  or  prorogues  Parliament;  for  which  occasions  it  is  conveyed  with 
the  imperial  crown  of  the  sovereign  from  the  Tower,  by  the  Keeper  of  the  Jewel-office, 
attended  by  warders,  in  a  coach. — The  Queen  Consort's  Crown,  of  gold,  set  with 
diamonds,  pearls,  and  other  jewels;  made  for  the  queen  of  William  III. — The  Queen's 
Diadem,  or  Circlet  of  Gold,  made  for  the  coronation  of  Maria  d'Este,  consort  of 
James  II.,  at  the  cost  of  111,000/.  (Sandford) :  it  is  set  with  diamonds,  and  sur- 
mounted with  a  string  of  pearls. —  St.  Edward's  Staff,  of  beaten  gold,  4  feet  7  inches 
in  length ;  surmounted  by  an  orb  and  cross,  and  shod  with  a  steel  spike ;  the  orb  is 
said  to  contain  a  fragment  of  the  true  Cross.  The  staff  weighs  9  lbs. — The  Royal 
Sceptre,  or  Sceptre  with  the  Cross,  of  gold :  the  pommel  is  set  with  rubies,  emeralds, 
and  diamonds;  the  fleurs-de-lis  have  been  replaced  by  the  rose,  shamrock,  and  thistle, 
in  gold ;  and  the  cross  is  covered  with  jewels,  and  has  a  large  centre  table-diamond.— 
The  Rod  of  Equity,  or  Sceptre  with  the  Dove,  of  gold,  3  feet  7  inches  long,  is  set 
with  diamonds,  &c,  and  is  surmounted  with  an  orb,  banded  with  rare  diamonds,  sup- 
porting a  Jerusalem  cross,  on  which  is  a  gold  dove  with  expanded  wings. — The  Queen's 
Sceptre  and  Cross,  ornamented  with  large  diamonds;  made  for  the  coronation  of 
Mary,  Queen  of  William  III. — The  Queen's  Ivory  Sceptre,  made  for  Maria  d'Este, 
mounted  in  gold,  and  bearing  a  golden  cross,  and  a  dove  of  white  onyx :  it  is  some- 
times miscalled  Queen  Anne  Boleyn's. — An  ancient  Sceptre,  found  behind  the  wains- 
coting of  the  old  Jewel-office  in  1814  :  it  is  set  with  jewels,  and  is  supposed  to  have 
belonged  to  Mary,  Queen  of  William  III. — The  Orb,  of  gold,  6  inches  in  diameter ; 
the  bands  are  set  with  precious  stones  and  roses  of  diamonds,  and  edged  with  pearls ; 
a  very  large  amethyst  supports  the  gold  cross,  set  with  diamonds,  &c. — The  Queen's 
Orb,  resembling  the  former,  but  of  smaller  dimensions. — The  Sword  of  Mercy,  or 
Curtana,  of  steel,  but  pointless;  ornamented  with  gold. — The  Swords  of  Justice, 
Ecclesiastical  and  Temporal. —  The  Armilla,  or  Coronation  Bracelets,  of  gold,  chased 
with  the  rose,  fleur-de-lis,  and  harp,  and  edged  with  pearls. — The  Royal  Spurs,  of 
curiously  wrought  gold :  they  are  used  at  the  coronation  of  king  or  queen. — The 
Ampulla,  of  pure  gold,  in  the  form  of  an  eagle;  is  used  at  coronations  for  the  holy  oil, 
which  is  poured  from  the  beak  into  the  Gold  Anointing  Spoon,  supposed  to  be  the 
only  relic  of  the  ancient  Regalia;  its  date  is  about  the  12th  century.  The  Ampulla  ia 
said  to  have  been  brought  from  Sens  Abbey,  in  France,  by  Thomas  k  Becket. — The 
Gold  Saltcellar  of  State,  set  with  jewels,  and  chased  with  grotesque  figures,  is  in  the 
form  of  a  round  castle,  and  has  been  miscalled  "  a  Model  of  the  White  Tower :"  it  has 
a  central  turret,  and  four  at  the  angles,  the  tops  of  which  are  removed  for  the  salt ; 
around  the  base  are  curious  figures.  It  was  presented  to  the  crown  by  the  City  of 
Exeter,  and  was  last  used  at  the  coronation  banquet  of  George  IV. — The  Baptismal 


806  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Font,  silver-gilt,  elaborately  chased,  and  formerly  used  at  the  christening  of  the  Royal 
Family,  but  superseded  by  a  new  font  of  picturesque  design.  A  large  Silver  Wine 
Fountain,  presented  by  the  Corporation  of  Plymouth  to  Charles  II.  j  12  Golden 
Saltcellars,  chased ;  two  massive  gold  "  Coronation  Tankards ;"  the  Banqueting  Dish, 
Gold  Spoons,  and  other  Coronation  Plate.  Also,  a  Service  of  Sacramental  Plate,  one 
dish  bearing  a  fine  alto  relievo  of  the  Last  Supper ;  used  at  Coronations,  and  in  the 
chapel  of  St.  Peter  in  the  Tower. 

Admission  daily  (Sundays  excepted),  to  the  Armouries,  Gd.  each  person ;  and  to  see 
the  Regalia,  6d.  each ;  in  parties  of  twelve,  conducted  by  a  warder,  every  half-hour, 
from  12  to  4  o'clock  inclusive. 

TOWER  ROYAL, 

A  SHORT  street  or  lane  between  St.  Antholin's  Church,  Watling-street,  and  the 
south  end  of  St.  Thomas  Apostle,  was  removed  in  1853-4,  in  forming  New 
Cannon-street  West.  It  occupied  the  site  of  a  building  stated  by  Stow  to  have 
anciently  belonged  to  the  kings  of  England,  as  early  as  Stephen  ;  but  it  was  sub- 
sequently discastled,  and  held  as  a  tenement  by  one  Simon  of  Beauvais,  surgeon  to 
Edward  I.  Mr.  Hudson  Turner  states  it  to  be  invariably  called  in  early  records 
la  Real,  la  Riole,  or  la  Ryle  or  Ryole,  but  not  a  tower  j  and  he  could  not  find  it 
occupied  by  royalty  until  Edward  III.,  in  1331,  granted  it  to  his  queen  Philippa  as  a 
depository  for  her  wardrobe ;  by  whom  la  Real  was  externally  repaired,  if  not  rebuilt. 
In  1370,  Edward  bestowed  it  upon  the  canons  of  St.  Stephen's,  Westminster ;  but  it 
reverted  to  the  Crown,  and  was  called  "the  Queen's  Wardrobe"  in  the  reign  of 
Richard  II.  It  was  a  place  of  strength ;  and  the  king's  mother  fled  here  for  shelter 
when  Wat  Tyler  had  seized  the  Tower  of  London.  Leon  III.,  King  of  Armenia,  when 
driven  from  his  kingdom  by  the  Turks,  was  lodged  and  entertained  in  Tower  Royal  by 
Richard  II.,  in  1386.  It  was  granted  by  Richard  III.  to  the  first  Duke  of  Norfolk  of 
the  Howard  family,  as  entered  in  that  king's  ledger-book.  In  Stow's  time,  Tower 
Royal  had  become  stabling  for  the  king's  horses,  and  was  let  in  tenements :  the  whole 
was  destroyed  in  the  Great  Fire  of  1666.  In  removing  the  modem  houses  upon  the 
site,  in  1852,  were  found  the  remains  of  a  Roman  villa:  the  earth  was  interspersed 
with  horns,  bones,  teeth  of  goats  and  oxen ;  tusks  of  boars ;  fragments  of  flanged  tiles, 
scored  flue-tiles,  amphorae,  mortaria,  urns,  glass  vessels,  and  Samian  pottery.  Some  of 
these  relics  are  engraved  in  the  Illustrated  London  News,.  No.  554. 

TREASURY  AND  OTHER  GOVERNMENT  OFFICES. 

ON  the  west  side  of  Whitehall  are  the  Government  Offices :  the  Admiralty  {see 
p.  2) ;  Hoese  Guards  (p.  434).  In  1724,  600  planks  of  mahogany  were  brought 
from  Jamaica  for  the  inner  doors  and  tables  of  the  Admiralty ;  and,  judging  by  the  way 
in  which  the  wood  is  mentioned  in  the  public  papers,  it  was  evidently  far  from  well 
known. 

The  Tbeasuby  occupies  a  portion  of  the  site  of  Whitehall  Palace.  To  make  way  for 
the  north  wing,  the  last  portion  of  old  York  House  was  taken  down  in  1846  :  it  had 
been  refronted,  but  the  Tudor  doorway  was  ancient.  The  principal  Treasury  building, 
however,  faces  the  parade-ground,  St.  James's  Park  :  it  was  built  by  Kent,  in  1733, 
and  consists  of  three  stories,  Tuscan,  Doric,  and  Ionic.  The  Whitehall  front  consists  of 
the  Treasury,  Board  of  Trade,  and  Privy  Council  Offices;  designed  by  Barry,  R.A., 
in  1846-8,  partly  in  place  of  Sir  John  Soane's  facade  (the  centre  and  south  wing), 
decorated  with  three-quarter  columns  from  those  of  the  Campo  Vaccino  at  Rome. 
Soane's  exterior,  exposed  to  the  criticism  of  every  passenger,  was  much  censured ; 
"  whilst  the  interior,  in  which  the  skill  and  taste  of  the  architect  are  most  manifest,  and 
particularly  the  Council  Chamber,  is  but  little  seen,  and  known  only  to  a  few  persons." 
(Britton.)  Barry's  design  consists  of  a  long  series  of  attached  Corinthian  columns  on 
rusticated  piers,  and  carrying  a  highly-enriched  entablature  and  frieze  j  the  attics  have 
carved  drops  of  fruit  and  flowers,  and  the  balustrade  carries  urn-shaped  vases :  th& 


TREASURY  AND  OTHER  GOVERNMENT  OFFICES.       807 

whole  facade  is  296  feet  long.  The  Council  Office  occupies  the  site  of  the  old  Tennis- 
court  of  the  Palace. — See  the  print  {temp.  Charles  II.)  in  Pennant's  London,  5th  edit. 
At  the  Cockpit  died  General  Monk,  Duke  of  Albemarle,  4th  Jan.  1670 ;  and  in  the 
same  month  his  duchess,  Nan  Clarges.  Queen  Anne,  when  Princess  of  Denmark,  fled 
down  the  back  stairs,  in  1688,  to  join  her  father's  enemies,  Lord  Dorset  and  Bishop 
Compton  riding  on  each  side  of  the  hackney-coach  as  an  escort.  Hatton,  in  1708,  de- 
scribes the  Treasury  Office  kept  at  the  Cockpit,  "  where  the  Lord  High  Treasurer  sits 
to  receive  petitions,  and  give  orders,  warrants,  &c."  Here,  March  8,  1711,  Guiscard 
attempted  to  stab  with  a  penknife  Harley,  Earl  of  Oxford,  but  was  struck  down  by 
the  swords  of  Lord  Paulet  and  Mr.  St.  John.  The  Cockpit  itself  occupied  nearly  the 
site  of  the  present  Board  of  Trade  Office,  and  it  existed  early  in  the  present  century: 
the  King's  speech  was  read  "  at  the  Cockpit"  on  the  day  before  it  was  delivered  at 
the  opening  of  the  Session  of  Parliament;  and  the  discontinuance  of  this  practice 
was  much  complained  of  by  the  Opposition.  The  term  "  Given  at  the  Cockpit  at 
Westminster"  was  in  use  within  the  writer's  recollection.  The  Lord  High  Treasurer 
formerly  carried  a  staff  of  office  (see  the  portrait  of  the  great  Lord  Burghley) ;  and 
he  sat  in  a  needlework  chair,  which  is  preserved  at  the  Office  of  the  Comptroller  of  the 
Exchequer,  Whitehall-yard.  "  The  sovereign  occasionally  presided  at  the  Board  of 
Treasury  until  the  accession  of  George  III. ;  and  the  royal  throne  still  remains  at  the 
head  of  the  table."  {Notes  by  F.  S.  Thomas,  Record  Office.)  The  Board  of  Treasury 
has  long  ceased  to  manage  the  revenue.  An  interesting  series  of  Treasury  Minutes, 
from  1667  to  1834,  is  appended  to  the  "  Seventh  Report  of  the  Deputy-Keeper  of  the 
Public  Records." 

Some  curious  relics  of  the  ancient  Royal  Treasury  at  Westminster  are  preserved.  Among  these  are 
a  skippet,  or  turned  box,  of  the  time  of  Edward  III.,  and  a  smaller  hamper,  or  hanaper  of  twyggyt,  of 
the  succeeding  reign.  Both  were  used  for  the  preservation  of  title-deeds  of  the  Crown.  The  skippets 
were  packed  away  in  an  outside  chest,  or  forcer,  a  cist,  or  coffer,  of  all  which  specimens  have  been 
found  in  the  Pyx  Chamber,  at  Westminster ;  the  storehouse  of  the  Royal  Treasury,  from  the  period 
when  the  reigning  Sovereign  occupied  the  palace  close  at  hand.  The  forcer  is  nearly  round,  made  of 
stout  leather,  bound  with  small  bars  of  iron ;  the  cist  is  also  iron-bound.  The  Royal  plate  and  jewels 
were  usually  deposited  in  the  former.  In  the  reign  of  Edward  I.  the  Treasury  was  plundered  of  these 
valuables,  in  addition  to  lOO.OCKM.,  upwards  of  2,000,0004.  of  our  present  money. 

Next  is  Downing-street,  "  between  King-street  E.  and  no  thorow  fair  West."  {Hattori). 
It  was  named  from  Sir  George  Downing,  Bart.,  a  political  "  sider  with  all  times  and 
changes,"  who,  after  serving  Cromwell,  became  Secretary  to  the  Treasury  under 
Charles  II.,  1667.  At  the  Revolution,  the  property,  then  belonging  to  Lee,  Lord 
Lichfield,  was  forfeited  to  the  Crown.  The  largest  house  was,  temp.  George  I.,  the 
office  of  the  Hanoverian  minister,  Baron  Bothmar,  at  whose  death  the  mansion  was 
given  by  the  King  to  Sir  Robert  Walpole,  who,  in  1735,  would  only  accept  it  for  his 
office  of  First  Lord  of  the  Treasury,  to  which  post  he  got  it  annexed  for  ever."  {Mdes 
Walpoliance.)  It  has  accordingly  since  been  the  official  residence  of  successive  prime 
ministers :  here  Lady  Hester  Stanhope  received  Mr.  Pitt's  guests  :  but  the  rooms  are 
ill  adapted  for  State  assemblies.  The  adjoining  house  was  purchased  within  the 
present  century,  for  the  Foreign  Office,  Colonial  Office,  and  Office  of  the  Chancellor  of 
the  Exchequer.  To  this  cul-de-sac  a  street  of  smaller  houses  was  added  :  the  south  side 
was  taken  down  in  1828 :  at  the  corner  next  King-street  was  the  noted  Cat  and 
Bagpipes,  used  as  a  chop-house  in  early  life  by  George  Rose,  subsequently  Secretary 
of  the  Treasury,  and  the  originator  of  Savings-banks. — See  "  The  Last  Days  of 
Downing-street,"  in  Walks  and  Talks  about  London,  1865. 

In  one  of  the  above  mansions,  in  1763,  died  Aubrey  de  Vere,  last  Earl  of  Oxford.  In  the  street 
lived,  in  1723,  John  Boyle,  Earl  of  Orrery,  the  friend  of  Swift,  and  contributor  to  The  World  and 
ConTtoiseeur.  Here  resided  Boswell,  the  biographer  of  Johnson;  and  Lord  Sheffield,  the  friend  of 
Gibbon,  the  historian.  In  the  Colonial  Office,  No.  14  in  the  street,  in  a  small  waiting-room  on  the 
right  hand  as  you  entered,  the  Duke  of  Wellington— then  Sir  Arthur  Wellesley — and  Lord  Nelson, 
both  waiting  to  see  the  Secretary  of  State,  met — the  only  time  in  their  lives.  The  Duke  knew  Nelson 
from  his  pictures;  Lord  Nelson  did  not  know  the  Duke,  but  was  so  struck  with  his  conversation,  that 
he  stept  out  of  the  room  to  inquire  who  he  was.  Mr.  Cunningham  relates  this  meeting,  which  has 
been  painted  and  engraved. 

The  new  Government  Offices,  commenced  in  1863,  are  in  course  of  erection, 
and  are  to  include  the  Foreign  Office,  the  India  Office,  the  Colonial  Office,  and  the 
Navy  Office ;  the  whole  to  form  a  large  quadrangle,  fronting  St.  James' -park,  and 
Parliament-street.     The  architecture  will  be  of  Italianized  character;    the   various 


803  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

fronts  will  display  a  large  amount  of  characteristic  sculpture.  The  India  Office  was  so 
far  completed  as  to  have  been  the  site  of  a  magnificent  fete  given  to  the  Sultan  of 
Turkey,  in  the  summer  of  1867. 

TRINITY  SOUSE, 

TRINITY-SQUARE,  on  the  north  side  of  Tower  Hill,  was  built  by  Samuel  Wyatt, 
1793-5,  for  the  ancient  guild  founded  by  Sir  Thomas  Spert,  commander  of  the 
great  ship  Harry  Grace  de  Dieu,  and  Comptroller  of  the  Navy  to  King  Henry  VIII., 
and  incorporated  1515.  It  was  then  a  guild  or  fraternity  of  mariners  of  England  for 
the  encouragement  of  the  science  of  Navigation  ;  and  was  first  empowered  to  build 
lighthouses  and  erect  beacons  by  an  Act  passed  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth. 
Before  the  charter  of  Henry  VIII.  the  society  was  of  a  purely  monastic  character,  and 
had  been  established  for  kindred  but  comparatively  limited  purposes.  The  office  of 
the  Master  of  the  Corporation  at  various  times  has  been  held  by  princes  and  statesmen, 
from  1816,  when  Lord  Liverpool  occupied  the  office  of  Master,  it  was  held  in  suc- 
cession by  the  Marquis  Camden,  the  Duke  of  Clarence,  afterwards  William  IV. ; 
Marquis  Camden  again,  the  Duke  of  Wellington,  the  Prince  Consort,  and  Viscount 
Palmerston;  the  present  Master,  the  Duke  of  Edinburgh — a  period  of  half  a  century. 
The  Corporation  has  in  charge  the  lighthouses  and  sea-marks,  and  the  licensing  of 
pilots,  tonnage,  ballastage,  beaconage,  &c,  producing  about  300,000£.  a  year;  the  net 
revenue,  about  one-fourth,  is  principally  expended  in  maintaining  poor  disabled  seamen 
and  their  widows  and  orphans,  by  pensions,  in  the  Corporation  hospitals  at  Deptf'ord- 
Strond  ;  which  the  Master,  Deputy-Master,  and  Brethren  visit  in  their  state-yacht,  in 
grand  procession,  on  Trinity  Monday.  A  state  banquet  has  been  given  annually  since 
the  Restoration,  when  there  is  a  fine  display  of  the  ancient  plate,  some  more  than  250 
years  old.  The  Trinity  House  is  of  the  Ionic  order;  upon  its  principal  front  are 
sculptured  the  arms  of  the  Corporation,  medallions  of  George  III.  and  Queen 
Charlotte;  genii  with  nautical  instruments;  the  four  principal  lighthouses  on  the 
coast,  &c.  The  interior  has  busts  of  Vincent,  Nelson,  Howe,  and  Duncan ;  W.  Pitt 
and  Capt.  J.  Cotton,  by  Chantrey ;  George  III.,  by  Turnerelli,  &c.  The  Court-room 
is  decorated  with  impersonations  of  the  Thames,  Medway,  Severn,  and  Humber ;  and 
among  the  pictures  is  a  large  painting,  20  feet  long,  by  Gainsborough,  of  the  Elder 
Brethren  of  the  Trinity  House.  In  the  Board-room  are  portraits  of  James  I.  and  II., 
Elizabeth,  Anne  of  Denmark,  Earl  Craven,  Sir  Francis  Drake,  Sir  J.  Leake,  and 
General  Monk ;  King  William  IV.,  the  Prince  Consort,  and  the  Duke  of  Wellington, 
three  of  the  past  Masters ;  and  George  III.,  Queen  Charlotte,  and  Queen  Adelaide. 
The  Museum  is  noticed  at  p.  605.  The  arms  of  the  Corporation  are,  a  cross  between 
four  ships  under  sail. 

The  present  is  the  third  House  built  for  the  Corporation :  the  first  was  destroyed  in 
the  Great  Fire  of  1666.  Pepys  records :  "  Sept.  4, 1  after  supper  walked  in  the  dark 
down  to  Tower-street,  and  there  saw  it  all  on  fire ;  at  the  Trinity  House  on  that  side, 
and  the  Dolphin  Tavern  on  this  side."  The  second  House  was  erected  in  Water-lane 
in  1671,  and  is  described  by  Hatton  as  "a  stately  building  of  brick  and  stone,  and 
adorned  with  ten  Dustos." 


TYBURN  AND  "TYBURN  TREE." 

TYBURN  was  anciently  a  manor  and  village  west  of  London,  on  the  Tybourn  or 
brook,  subsequently  the  West5o«r»,  the  western  boundary  of  the  district,  now 
incorporated  in  the  parish  of  Paddington.  This  stream  (within  memory  a  favourite 
resort  of  anglers)  is  shown  descending  from  the  high  ground  about  Hampstead  in  the 
maps  by  Saxton,  1579;  Speede,  1610;  Seller,  1733;  in  Morden's  and  Seales's,  and  in 
Rocque's  surveys.  Upon  its  bank  was  the  place  of  execution  for  criminals  convicted 
in  London  and  Middlesex  as  early  as  1196,  when  William  Fitzosbert,  or  Longbeard, 
was  executed  at  Tyburn,  as  we  learn  from  Roger  de  Wendover.  In  1330,  Roger  de 
Mortimer  was  "  drawn  and  hanged"  at  "  the  Elms,"  described  by  Holinshed  as  "  now 


TYBURN  AND  "  TYBURN  TREE."  809 

Tiborne ;"  and  Elms-lane,  Bayswater,  is  pointed  out  to  this  day  where  the  fatal  elm 
grew,  and  the  gentle  Tiborne  ran : 

"  Then  fatal  carts  through  Holborn  seldom  went, 
And  Tyburn  with  few  pilgrims  was  content."— Oldham's  Satire,  1682. 

Elms-lane  is  the  first  opening  on  the  right  hand  after  getting  into  the  Uxbridge-road  from  the 
Grand-Junction-road,  opposite  the  head  of  the  Serpentine ;  the  Serpentine  itself  being  formed  in  the 
bed  of  the  ancient  stream,  first  called  Tybourn,  then  Westbourn,  then  Ranelagh  Sewer;  while  the 
stream  which  crossed  Oxford-street,  west  of  Stratford-place,  first  bore  the  name  of  Eyebourn,  then, 
Tybourn,  then  King's  Scholars'  Pond.— Kobins's  Paddington,  1853,  p.  8. 

The  gallows,  "  Tyburn-tree,"  was  a  triangle  upon  three  legs,  and  is  so  described 
in  the  16th  and  17th  centuries.  If  Mr.  Robins's  location  of  the  gibbet  be  correct,  it 
was  subsequently  changed ;  for  in  the  lease  of  the  house  No.  49,  Connaught-sqnare 
(granted  by  the  Bishop  of  London),  the  gallows  is  stated  to  have  stood  upon  that  spot. 

In  1811,  Dr.  Lewis,  of  Half  Moon-street,  Piccadilly,  was  about  to  erect  some  houses  in  Connaught- 
place  (Nos.  6  to  12, 1  think),  and  during  the  excavation  for  foundations  a  quantity  of  human  bones  was 
lound,  with  parts  of  wearing  apparel  attached  thereto.  A  good  many  of  the  bones,  say  a  cart-load, 
were  taken  away  by  order  of  Dr.  Lewis,  and  buried  in  a  pit  dug  for  the  purpose  in  Connaught-mews. — 
Communication,  by  Mr.  Charles  Lane,  to  the  Times,  May  16,  1860. 

Smith  (Hist.  St.  Mary-le-Bone)  states  the  gallows  to  have  been  for  many  years  a 
standing  fixture  on  a  small  eminence  at  the  corner  of  the  Edgvvare-road,  near  the  turn- 
pike, on  the  identical  spot  where  a  tool-house  was  subsequently  erected  by  the  Uxbridge- 
road  Trust.  Beneath  this  place  lie  the  bones  of  Bradshaw,  Ireton,  and  other  regicides, 
which  were  taken  from  their  graves  after  the  Restoration,  and  are  stated  to  have  been 
buried  under  the  gallows. 

On  May  7, 1860,  in  the  course  of  some  excavation  connected  with  the  repair  of  a  pipe  in  the  road- 
way, close  to  the  foot  pavement  along  the  garden  of  Arklow  House,  the  residence  of  Mr.  A.  J.  B. 
Beresford  Hope,  at  the  extreme  south-west  angle  of  the  Edgeware-road,  the  workmen  came  upon, 
numerous  human  bones,  obviously  the  remains  of  the  unhappy  persons  buried  under  the  gallows. — Com- 
municated by  Mr.  Hope  to  the  limes,  May  9, 1860. 

The  gallows  subsequently  consisted  of  two  uprights  and  a  cross-beam,  erected  on  the 
morning  of  execution  across  the  roadway,  opposite  the  house  at  the  corner  of 
Upper  Bryanston-street  and  the  Edgware-road,  wherein  the  gibbet  was  deposited 
after  being  used ;  and  this  house  had  curious  iron  balconies  to  the  windows  of  the 
first  and  second  floors,  where  the  sheriff's  attended  the  executions.  After  the  place 
of  execution  was  changed  to  Newgate  in  1783,  the  gallows  was  bought  by  a  carpenter, 
and  made  into  stands  for  beer-butts  in  the  cellars  of  the  Carpenters'  Arms  public-house, 
hard  by.  Formerly,  when  a  person  prosecuted  for  any  offence,  and  the  prisoner  was 
executed  at  Tyburn,  the  prosecutor  was  presented  with  a  ticket  which  exempted  him 
from  serving  either  on  juries  or  any  parochial  business ;  by  virtue  of  the  Act  10  and  11 
Will.  IK.  This  Act  was  repealed 'by  58  Geo.  III.  Mr.  George  Phillips,  of  Charlotte- 
street,  Bloomsbury,  was  the  last  individual  who  received  the  Tyburn  ticket,  for  a 
burglary  committed  by  two  housebreakers  on  his  premises.  In  the  autumn  of  1856, 
however,  Mr.  Pratt,  armourer,  of  Bond-street,  claimed  and  obtained  exemption  from 
serving  on  an  Old  Bailey  jury  by  reason  of  his  possession  of  a  Tyburn  ticket ;  the 
judge  probably  not  remembering  the  Act  which  repealed  the  privileges  of  the  holders 
of  Tyburn  tickets. 

Around  the  gibbet  ("  the  fatal  retreat  for  the  unfortunate  brave")  were  erected 
open  galleries  like  a  race-course  stand,  wherein  seats  were  let  to  spectators  at 
executions :  the  key  of  one  of  them  was  kept  by  Mammy  Douglas,  "  the  Tyburn  pew- 
opener."  In  1758,  when  Dr.  Henesey  was  to  have  been  executed  for  treason,  the 
prices  of  seats  rose  to  2s.  and  2s.  6d. ;  but  the  doctor  being  "  most  provokingly  re- 
prieved," a  riot  ensued,  and  most  of  the  seats  were  destroyed.  The  criminals  were 
conveyed  thither  from  Newgate  : 

"thief  and  parson  in  a  Tyburn  cart."— Prologue  by  Dry  den,  1682. 

The  oldest  existing  representation  of  the  Tyburn  gallows  is  in  a  German  print  in 
the  Crowle  Pennant,  in  the  British  Museum ;  wherein  Henrietta-Maria,  queen  of 
Charles  I.,  is  kneeling  in  penance  beneath  the  triple  tree :  it  is  moonlight ;  the 
confessor  is  seated  in  the  royal  coach,  drawn  by  six  horses ;  and  at  the  coach-door  is  a 
servant  bearing   a  torch.     The  "pore  queene,"  it  is  stated,  walked  afoot  (some  say 


810  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

barefoot)  from  St.  James's  to  Tyburn,  to  do  homage  to  the  saintship  of  some  recently- 
executed  papists :  but  this  is  denied  by  the  Marshal  de  Bassompierre ;  the  above  print 
is  of  later  date  than  1628,  the  year  of  the  reputed  pilgrimage,  and  its  authenticity  is 
disbelieved. 

Memorable  Executions  at  Tyburn.— 1330  (4th  Edw.  III.),  Roger  de  Mortimer,  for  treason ;  1388 
(12th  Richard  II.),  Judge  Tresilian  and  Sir  N.  Brembre,  treason;  1499  (14th  Hen.  VII.),  Perkin 
Warbeck  was  executed  here  for  plotting  his  escape  from  the  Tower ;  1534  (24th  Hen.  VIII.),  the  Holy 
Maid  of  Kent  and  her  confederates;  1535,  the  last  Prior  of  the  Carthusian  Monastery  (Charter  House) ; 
1595,  Robert  Southwell,  Elizabethan  sacred  poet ;  1615,  Mrs.  Turner,  hanged  in  a  yellow-starched  ruff,  for 
the  poisoning  of  Sir  Thomas  Overbury;  1628,  John  Felton,  assassin  of  Villiers,  Duke  of  Buckingham; 
1660-1  (Jan.  30),  the  first  anniversary  of  the  execution  of  Charles  I.  after  the  Restoration :  the  dis- 
interred bodies  of  Oliver  Cromwell,  Ireton,  and  Bradshaw  hung  in  their  shrouds  and  cerecloths  at  each 
angle  of  Tyburn  gallows  till  sunset,  when  they  were  taken  down  and  beheaded,  and  the  bodies  buried 
under  the  gallows,  the  heads  being  set  on  Westminster  Hall;  1660-62,  five  persons  who  had  signed  the 
death-warrant  of  Charles  I.;  1684,  Sir  Thomas  Armstrong  (Rye  House  Plot);  1705,  John  Smith,  a 
burglar,  having  hung  above  a  quarter  of  an  hour,  when  a  reprieve  arrived,  be  was  cut  down,  and  being 
let  blood,  came  to  himself  (Hatton,  1708).  1724,  Jack  Sheppard,  housebreaker ;  1725,  Jonathan  Wild, 
thief  and  thief-taker;  1726,  Catherine  Hayes,  for  the  murder  of  her  husband  :  she  was  burnt  alive,  for 
the  indignant  mob  would  not  suffer  the  hangman  to  strangle  her,  as  usual,  before  the  fire  was  kindled. 
1760,  Earl  Ferrers,  for  the  murder  of  his  steward :  he  rode  from  the  Tower,  wearing  his  wedding-clothes, 
in  his  landau  drawn  by  six  horses ;  he  was  indulged  with  a  silken  rope,  and  "  the  drop"  was  first  used 
instead  of  the  cart;  the  executioners  fought  for  the  rope,  and  the  mob  tore  the  black  cloth  from  the 
scaffold  as  relics ;  the  landau  stood  in  a  coach-house  at  Acton  until  it  fell  to  pieces ;  and  the  bill  for  the 
silken  rope  has  been  preserved.  1767,  Mrs.  Brownrigg,  for  murder  ;  1774,  John  Rann  (Sixteen-Stringed 
Jack),  highwayman;  1775,  the  two  Perreaus,  for  forgery;  1777,  Rev.  Dr.  Dodd,  forgery;  1779,  Rev. 
James  Hackman,  assassination  of  Miss  Reav:  he  was  taken  from  Newgate  in  a  mourning-coach ;  1783, 
Ryland,  the  engraver,  for  forgery;  1783,  John  Austin,  the  last  person  executed  at  Tyburn. 

The  road  between  St.  Giles's  Pound  and  Tyburn  gallows  was  first  called  Tyburn- 
road,  now  Oxford  -  street ;  the  lane  leading  from  which  to  Piccadilly  was  called 
Tyburn-lane,  now  Park-lane.  The  original  turnpike-gate  stood  close  to  St.  Giles's 
Pound ;  then  at  Tyburn,  removed  in  1825 ;  then  at  Winchester-row  j  next  at  Pine- 
apple-place j  and  next  at  Kilburn.  Strange  have  been  the  mutations  in  which  the 
rural  Tybourn  "welled  forth  away"  through  pleasant  fields  to  the  Town,  there 
became  linked  with  the  crimes  of  centuries,  and  lost  in  a  murky  sewer ;  but  left  its 
name  to  Tybumia,  the  newly-built  city  of  palaces  north-west  of  Hyde  Park.  (See 
Paddington,'  p.  563.) 

In  1785,  William  Capon  made  a  sketch  of  Tyburn  gallows ;  and  at  the  foot  of  a 
drawing  made  by  him  from  this  sketch,  in  1818,  are  the  following  notes : 

"  View  looking  across  Hyde  Park,  taken  from  a  one-pair-of-stairs  window  at  the  last  house  at  the 
end  of  Upper  Seymour-street,  Edgware-road,  facing  where  Tyburn  formerly  was.  The  eastern  end 
of  Connaught-place  is  now  built  on  the  very  plot  of  ground,  then  occupied  by  a  cow-lair,  and  dust 
and  cinder  heaps.  The  shadow  on  the  right  of  the  Edgware-road  is  produced  by  one  of  the  three 
galleries  which  were  then  standing,  from  which  people  used  to  see  criminals  executed.  They  were 
standing  in  1785,  at  which  time  the  original  sketch  was  made  from  which  the  picture  is  done." 

A  portion  of  Tyburn  gate  exists : 

"  The  arch  and  door,  forming  the  centre  portion  of  the  gate,  which  was  removed  about  1825,  with 
the  old  clock,  are  still  standing  at  the  entrance  to  a  wooden  cowshed,  on  the  premises  of  Mr.  Baker,  a 
farmer  at  Cricklewood,  who  bought  them  at  the  time  when  the  gate  was  taken  down." — Curiosities  of 
Clocks  and  Watches,  p.  163.    1866. 


UNIVERSITY  OF  LONDON,    TEE, 

SOMERSET  HOUSE,  was  instituted  Nov.  28,  1836,  for  "  rendering  academical 
honours  accessible,  without  distinction,  to  every  class  and  every  denomination." 
The  University  consists  of  a  chancellor,  vice-chancellor,  and  senate ;  and  graduates.  It 
is  solely  an  examining  body,  and  confers  degrees  on  the  graduates  of  University 
College  and  King's  College,  London ;  and  the  colleges  not  belonging  to  the  other 
universities ;  besides  all  the  medical  schools  in  the  empire,  and  most  of  the  colleges  of 
the  Eoman  Catholics,  Baptists,  Independents,  and  Wesleyans.  The  degrees  are  con- 
ferred, and  the  honours  bestowed,  in  public ;  and  the  senate  first  met  for  this  purpose 
on  May  1,  1850,  in  the  large  hall  of  King's  College,  Somerset  House ;  the  Earl  of 
Burlington,  Chancellor  of  the  University,  presiding.  A  new  edifice  was,  in  1867, 
commenced  building  for  the  University  in  the  rear  of  Burlington  House. 


VAUXHALL  GARDENS.  811 


VAUXSALL    GABDENS, 

FOR,  nearly  two  centuries  a  place  of  public  amusement,  was  named  from  its  site  in  the 
manor  of  "  La  Sale  Faukes,"  mentioned  in  the  charter  of  Isabella  de  Fortibus, 
Countess  of  Aumale  and  Devon,  and  Lady  of  the  Isle  of  Wight,  dated  in  1293,  by 
which  she  sold  her  possessions  to  King  Edward  I.  In  the  Testa  de  Nevill  we  read, 
nnder  Surrey :  "  Baldwin,  son  and  heir  of  the  Earl  of  the  Isle,  is  in  the  custody  of 
Fulke  de  Breaute ;  he  should  be  in  the  ward  of  the  lord  the  king ;  also  his  lands  in 
the  hundred  of  Brixton,  and  they  are  worth  18Z.  per  annum."  Fulke  de  Breaute,  the 
celebrated  mercenary  follower  of  King  John,  married  Margaret,  Earl  Baldwin'* 
mother,  and  thus  obtained  the  wardship  of  her  son.  He  appears  to  have  built  a  hall, 
or  mansion-house,  in  the  manor  of  South  Lambeth,  during  his  tenure  of  it ;  and  from 
this  time  it  was  called  indifferently  Faukeshall,  or  South  Lambeth,  and  is  so  termed 
in  the  tenth  year  of  Edward  I.  The  capital  messuage,  with  its  garden,  named 
"  Faukeshall,"  was  valued  in  the  twentieth  of  the  same  reign  at  2s.  yearly.  We  have 
therefore  satisfactory  evidence  that  Vauxhall  owes  its  origin  and  name  to  an  obscure 
Norman  adventurer,  who  became  suddenly  rich  during  the  turbulent  reign  of  John, 
and  was  ignominiously  driven  from  the  country  in  the  minority  of  Henry  III. 
{Archmological  Journal,  vol.  iv.)  The  land  on  which  Fulke  erected  his  hall  now 
belongs  to  Canterbury  Cathedral.  The  manor  of  Fulkeshall  fell,  by  attainder,  to  the 
Crown.  It  was  successively  held  by  the  Despencers  and  the  Damories ;  but  the  latter 
exchanged  it  with  Edward  III.  for  an  estate  in  Suffolk  j  and  the  manor  was  conferred 
on  Edward  the  Black  Prince,  who  piously  left  it  to  the  Church  of  Canterbury  ;  and 
the  bequest  was  spared  by  Henry  VIII.  to  the  Dean  and  Chapter. 

The  old  manor-house  had  its  name  of  Faukeshall  changed  to  Copped,  or  Copt,  Hall.  Here  Lady- 
Arabella  Stuart  was  held  captive,  under  the  guardianship  of  Sir  Thomas  Barry.  The  tradition  that  it 
ever  belonged  to  Guido  or  Guy  Fawkes  only  rests  upon  the  coincidence  of  names.  The  estate  in  the 
manors  of  Lambeth  and  Kennington  belonged  to  a  family  named  Faucke,  or  Vaux,  in  the  reigns  of 
Elizabeth  and  James  I.;  and,  in  1615,  Jane  Vaux,  widow,  held  property  of  that  description  here,  and 
the  mansion-house  connected  with  it.  Mr.  Nichols,  in  his  History  of  Lambeth  Parish,  mistakenly 
affirms  that  Guy  Vaux  had  a  mansion  here,  and  that  it  was  named  from  him  Vauxhall :  he  then  con- 
jectures that  Jane  Vaux  was  the  relict  of  the  infamous  Guy,  who  was  executed  the  31st  of  January, 
1606;  but,  as  Mr.  Bray,  who  was  a  lawyer  as  well  as  the  county  historian,  remarks,  Guy  Vaux  could  not 
have  been  the  owner  of  the  copyhold  belonging  to  Jane  Vaux  in  1616 ;  for  if  she  had  been  his  widow,  it 
would  have  been  forfeited  as  the  estate  of  a  traitor.  Besides,  his  father's  name  was  Fawkes,  and  had 
long  spent  his  estate;  and  Jane  was  the  widow  of  a  much  better  man — John  Vaux,  an  honest  vintner  of 
Loudon,  who  bequeathed  property  for  the  erection  of  seven  almshouses  in  this  parish.  Nevertheless, 
the  house  in  which  the  conspirators  stored  their  powder  and  other  combustibles,  during  the  digging  of 
the  mine,  was  certainly  at  Lambeth,  and  near  the  river-side ;  but  that  house  did  not  belong  to  any  one 
of  them,  it  being  merely  hired  for  the  purpose  in  the  summer  of  1604.  Neither  history  nor  tradition 
has  recorded  the  exact  site  of  the  conspirators'  storehouse ;  but  we  have  the  following  evidence  of  its 
destruction  by  fire.  In  an  anniversary  sermon,  preached  at  Lambeth  Church  by  Dr.  Featley,  on 
November  5, 1635,  is  this  passage : — "  You  have  heard  the  miracles  of  God's  providence  in  the  discovery 
of  this  powder-plot :  behold  now  the  mirrour  of  His  justice.  The  first  contriver  of  the  fire-workes  first 
feeleth  the  flame ;  his  powder-sin  upbraids  him,  and  fleeth  in  his  face."  It  is  added,  in  a  note : — "  This 
last  yeare,  the  House  where  Catesby  plotted  this  treason  in  Lambeth  was  casually  burnt  downe  to  the 
ground  by  powder."— Featley's  Clavis  Mystica,  p.  824 ;  1636. 

Vauxhall  Gardens  were  first  laid  out  about  1661.  Evelyn  records :  "  2  July,  1661, 
I  went  to  see  the  New  Spring  Gardens*  at  Lambeth,  a  pretty  contrived  plantation ;" 
and  Balthasar  Monconys,  early  in  the  reign  of  Charles  II.,  describes  the  gardens  well 
frequented  in  1663. 

Sir  Samuel  Morland  "  built  a  fine  room  at  Vaux-hall  anno  1667,  the  inside  all  of  looking-glass,  and 
fountains  very  pleasant  to  behold,  which  is  much  visited  by  strangers ;  it  stands  in  the  middle  of  the 
Garden."  (Mr.  Bray  thought  this  room  to  have  been  erected  by  Morland  for  the  entertainment  of 
Charles  II.  when  he  visited  this  place  with  his  ladies.)  "  Without  the  New  Spring  Garden  is  the 
remainder  of  a  kind  of  horn-work,  belonging  to  the  lines  of  communication  made  about  1643-4." 
(Aubrey's  Surrey,  vol.  i.  pp.  12, 13.) 

Morland's  room  is  believed  to  have  stood  where  the  orchestra  was  after- 
wards built ;  and  in  1794  a  leaden  pump  was  removed  bearing  Sir  Samuel's 
mark  as  annexed : 

A  large  mound  of  earth,  said  to  have  been  thrown  up  for  defence,  remained  to  our 
time  near  the  firework-shed.     North  of  the  Gardens  is  believed  to  have  stood  a  Roman 

*  To  distinguish  it  from  Spring  Garden,  Charing  Cross. 


1  S  « 
9IVH 


812  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

1 

fort  or  camp ;  and  Roman  pottery  has  been  found  here.     Canute's  Trench  has  been 
traced  through  the  Gardens  to  its  influx;  into  the  Thames  (Maitland). 

In  a  plan  dated  1681  the  place  is  named  Spring  Garden,  and  "  marked  as  planted 
with  trees  and  laid  out  in  walks."  Pepys's  Diary  has  entries  in  1665-8  of  his  visits 
to  Fox-hall  and  the  Spring  Garden ;  and  of  "  the  humours  of  the  citizens,  pulling  off 
cherries,  and  God  knows  what ;"  "  to  hear  the  nightingale  and  the  birds,  and  here 
fiddlers,  and  there  a  harp,  and  here  a  Jew's  trump ;  and  here  laughing,  and  there  fine 
people  walking,  is  mighty  diverting."  Pepys  also  tells  of  "  supper  in  an  arbour," 
ladies  walking  "  with  their  masks  on,"  &c. ;  and — 

"July  27, 1668.  So  over  the  water,  with  my  wife  and  Deb,  and  Mercer,  to  Spring  Garden,  and  there 
eat  and  walked;  and  observed  how  rude  some  of  the  young  gallants  of  the  town  are  become,  to  go  into 
people's  arbours  where  there  are  not  men,  and  almost  force  the  women,  which  troubled  me  to  see  the 
confidence  of  the  vice  of  the  age ;  and  so  we  away  by  water  with  much  pleasure  home." 

Tom  Brown,  a  dozen  years  later,  speaks  of  the  close  walks  and  little  wildernesses, 
which  "  are  so  intricate  that  the  most  experienced  mothers  have  often  lost  themselves 
in  looking  for  their  daughters." 

Wycherley  refers  to  a  cheesecake  and  a  syllabub  at  New  Spring  Garden.  And  in 
the  Spectator,  No.  383  (May  20,  1712),  Addison  describes  his  going  with  Sir  Roger 
de  Coverley  on  the  water  from  the  Temple  Stairs  to  Spring  Garden,  "  which  is 
exquisitely  pleasant  at  this  time  of  year :"  a  mask  tapped  Sir  Roger  upon  the  shoulder 
and  invited  him  to  drink  a  bottle  of  mead  with  her.  The  usual  supper  of  that  period 
was  "  a  glass  of  Burton  ale,  and  a  slice  of  hung  beef."  Cheesecakes  and  syllabubs 
were  the  earlier  fare  in  Wycherley 's  day ;  and  punch  and  ham  were  not  yet  heard  of. 

In  1728,  Spring  Gardens  were  leased  by  Elizabeth  Masters,  for  30  years,  to 
Jonathan  Tyers,  of  Denbies,  Surrey,  at  the  yearly  rent  of  2501.  Tyers's  lease 
enumerates  the  Dark  Room,  Ham  Room,  Milk-house,  Pantry-room ;  and  among  the 
arbours,  covered  and  paved  with  tiles,  are  the  names  of  Checker,  King's  Head, 
Dragon,  Oak,  Royal  Arbour,  York,  Queen's  Head,  Royal  George,  Ship,  Globe,  Phoenix, 
Swan,  Eagle,  and  the  Barge.     The  hatch  at  the  Water-gate  was  of  Tyers's  time. 

The  Gardens  were  opened  by  Tyers,  Jnne  7,  1732,  with  a  Ridotto  al  fresco. 
Frederick,  Prince  of  Wales,  was  present,  and  the  company  wore  masks,  dominoes,  and 
lawyers'  gowns.  The  admission  was  one  guinea :  400  persons  were  present ;  and  there 
were  100  Foot-Guards  posted  round  the  Gardens  to  keep  order.  The  admission-ticket 
was  designed  by  the  younger  Laguerre. 

The  author  of  A  Touch  at  the  Times,  or  a  Trip  to  Vauxhall,  1737,  sings — 

"  Sail'd  triumphant  on  the  liquid  way, 
To  hear  the  fiddlers  of  Spring  Garden  play." 

Tyers  set  up  an  organ  in  the  orchestra ;  and  in  the  Garden,  in  1738,  a  fine  statue 
of  Handel,  as  Orpheus  playing  a  lyre,  by  Roubiliac,  his  first  work  in  England.* 
Here  was  also  a  statue  of  Milton,  by  Roubiliac,  cast  in  lead,  and  painted  stone-colour. 
The  season  of  1739  was  for  three  months,  and  the  admission  only  by  silver  tickets,  at 
25s.  each,  to  admit  two  persons.  These  silver  tickets  were  struck  after  designs  by 
Hogarth  :  the  obverse  bore  the  number,  name  of  the  holder,  and  date  j  and  the 
reverse  a  figure  of  Euterpe,  Erato,  or  Thalia. 

Hogarth,  who  was  then  lodging  in  Lambeth-terrace,  f  suggested  to  Tyers  the  em- 
bellishment of  the  Gardens  with  paintings  j  in  acknowledgment  of  which  Tyers  pre- 
sented Hogarth  with  a  Gold  Ticket  of  perpetual  admission :  it  bears  on  its  obverse, 
"  Hogarth,"  and  beneath  it,  "  In  perpetuam  beneficii  memoriam  ;"  on  the  reverse  arp 
two  figures  surrounded  with  the  motto,  "  Virtus  voluptas  felices  una."  This  ticket 
(for  the  admission  of  six  persons  or  "  one  coach")  was  last  used  in  the  season  of  1836  ; 
it  was  purchased  for  201.  by  Mr.  Frederick  Gye.  Hogarth  designed  for  the  pavilions 
in  the  Gardens  the  Four  Parts  of  the  Day,  which  Hayman  copied;  besides  other 
pictures.  In  1745,  Tyers  added  vocal  to  his  instrumental  music,  and  Dr.  Arne  com- 
posed ballads,  duets,  &c. ;  Mrs.  Arne,  Lowe,  Beard,  and  the  elder  Reinhold,  were 
singers. 

*  This  statue  was  sold,  in  1854.  to  the  Sacred  Harmonic  Society  for  2007.,  and  is  now  in  their  com- 
mittee-room at  Exeter  Hall,  Strand. 

t  The  house  which  Hogarth  occupied  is  still  shown ;  and  a  vine  is  pointed  out  which  he  planted.— 
Allan  Cunningham,  Lives  of  British  Painters,  fc,  1829. 


VAUXHALL  GARDENS.  813 

Horace  Walpole,  in  June,  1750,  went  with  a  large  party  to  the  Gardens ;  and  their 
visit  is  admirably  described  in  one  of  Walpole's  Letters. 

Fielding,  in  his  Amelia,  1751,  describes  the  Vauxhall  of  that  date:  "the  coaches 
being  come  to  the  water-side,  they  all  alighted,  and  getting  into  one  boat,  proceeded  to 
Vauxhall.  The  extreme  beauty  and  elegance  of  the  place  is  well  known  to  almost 
every  one  of  my  readers ;  and  happy  is  it  for  me  that  it  is  so,  since  to  give  an  adequate 
idea  of  it  would  exceed  my  power  of  description." 

In  England's  Gazetteer,  1751,  the  entertainments  are  described  as  "the  sweet  song 
of  numbers  of  nightingales,  in  concert  with  the  best  band  of  musick  in  England. 
Here  are  fine  pavilions,  shady  groves,  and  most  delightful  walks  illuminated  with 
above  1000  lamps." 

In  1751,  the  walks  are  described  as  illuminated  with  above  1000  lamps ;  but  the 
print  of  this  date  shows  glass  vase-shaped  lamps  on  posts,  and  suspended  in  the 
music-house,  though  in  no  great  profusion.  The  walks  are  wide  and  open;  the 
straggling  groups  of  company  are  in  happy  ease :  the  ladies  in  their  hoops,  sacques, 
and  caps,  as  they  appeared  in  their  own  drawing-rooms  j  and  the  gentlemen  in  their 
grotesque  bats,  and  wearing  swords  and  bags. 

"  At  Vauxhall  the  artificial  ruins  are  repaired :  the  cascade  is  made  to  spout  with  several  additional 
streams  of  block-tin ;  and  they  have  touched  up  all  the  pictures  which  were  damaged  last  season  by  the 
fingering  of  those  curious  connoisseurs  who  could  not  be  satisfied  without  feeling  whether  the  figures 
were  alive." — Connoisseur,  May  15, 1755. 

Then  follows  the  story  of  a  parsimonious  old  citizen  going  there  with  his  wife  and 
daughters,  and  grumbling  at  the  dearness  of  the  provisions  and  the  wafer-like 
thinness  of  the  slices  of  ham.  At  every  mouthful  the  old  fellow  exclaims :  "  There 
goes  twopence !  there  goes  threepence  !  there  goes  a  groat !"  Then  there  is  the  old 
joke  of  the  wafery  slices  of  ham,  and  the  expert  carver  who  undertook  to  cover  the 
Gardens — eleven  acres — with  slices  from  one  ham  ! 

It  is  curious  to  find  Sir  John  Fielding  commending  the  Garden  of  1757  for  "  its 
elegant  eatables  and  drinkables,  in  which  particular  Vauxhall  differs  widely  from  the 
prudent  and  abstemious  Ranelagh,  where  one  is  confined  to  tea  and  coffee." 

In  1752,  Tyers  purchased  a  moiety  of  the  estate  for  3800/. ;  and  a  few  years  after- 
wards, as  Lysons  informs  us  from  the  records  in  the  Duchy  of  Cornwall  Office,  "  he 
bought  the  remainder," — probably  at  the  expiration  of  his  original  lease,  in  1758. 

Goldsmith  thus  describes  the  Vauxhall  of  about  1760 : — 

"  The  lights  everywhere  glimmering  through  scarcely  moving  trees ;  the  full-bodied  concert  bursting 
on  the  stillness  of  night ;  the  natural  concert  of  the  birds  in  the  more  retired  part  of  the  grove,  vieing 
with  that  which  was  formed  by  art ;  the  company  gaily  dressed,  looking  satisfied ;  and  the  tables  spread 
with  various  delicacies, — all  conspired  to  fill  my  imagination  with  the  visionary  happiness  of  the  Arabian 
lawgiver,  and  lifted  me  into  an  ecstasy  of  admiration.  '  Head  of  Confucius,'  cried  I  to  my  friend, '  this 
is  fine!  This  unites  rural  beauty  with  courtly  magnificence.'" — (Citizen  of  the  World,  Letter  lxxi.) 
"  The  last  gay  picture  in  Goldsmith's  life  is  of  himself  and  Sir  Joshua  (Reynolds)  at  Vauxhall.  And  not 
the  least  memorable  figures  in  that  sauntering  crowd,— though  it  numbered  princes  and  ambassadors 
then ;  and  on  its  tide  and  torrent  of  fashion  floated  all  the  beauty  of  the  time :  and  through  its  lighted 
avenues  of  trees  glided  cabinet  ministers  and  their  daughters,  royal  dukes  and  their  wives,  agreeable 
Young  ladies  and  gentlemen  of  eighty-two,'  and  all  the  red-heeled  macaronies,— were  those  of  the 
President  and  the  Ancient  History  Professor  of  the  Royal  Academy."— Forster's  Goldsmith,  p.  676. 

Miss  Burney  also  lays  scenes  of  her  Evelina  and  Cecilia  in  Vauxhall  Gardens. 
Tyers  subsequently  bought  the  property :  he  died  in  1767  :  "  so  great  was  the  delight 
he  took  in  this  place,  that,  possessing  his  faculties  to  the  last,  he  caused  himself  to  be 
carried  into  the  Gardens  a  few  hours  before  his  death,  to  take  a  last  look  at  them." 
They  were  called  Spring  Garden  until  1785 ;  and  the  licence,  every  season,  was  to 
the  last  obtained  for  "  Spring  Garden,  Vauxhall."  The  property  remained  with 
Tyers's  family  until  it  was  sold  in  1822,  for  28,000/.,  to  Bish,  Gye,  and  Hughes  (the 
London  Wine  Company),  who  retained  it  till  1840.  Their  most  profitable  season  was 
in  1823 ;  133,279  visitors,  29,590/.  receipts  :  the  greatest  number  of  persons  in  one 
night  was  Aug.  2,  1833,  the  second  night  of  the  revival  of  the  shilling  admission,  when 
20,137  persons  paid  for  admission.  In  1827,  Charles  Farley,  of  Covent-garden 
Theatre,  produced  in  the  gardens  a  representation  of  the  Battle  of  Waterloo,  with  set- 
scenes  of  La  Belle  Alliance  and  the  wood  and  chateau  of  Hougoniont;  also  horse 
and  foot  soldiers,  artillery,  ammunition-waggons,  &c.  In  July,  1841,  the  estate  (about 
eleven  acres),  with  its  buildings,  timber,  covered  walks,  &c,  was  offered  for  sale  by 


814  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

auction,  but  bought  in  at  20.200J.  The  Gardens  were  open  from  1732  to  1840 
without  intermission ;  in  the  latter  year  they  were  closed,  but  were  re-opened  in  1841. 
At  the  close  of  this  season  there  was  a  sale  of  moveable  property,  when  twenty-four 
pictures  by  Hogarth  and  Hayman  produced  small  sums ;  they  had  mostly  been  upon 
the  premises  since  1742 ;  the  canvas  was  nailed  to  boards,  and  much  obscured  by  dirt. 

Among  these  pictures  were : — By  Hogarth :  Drunken  Man,  41.  4*. ;  a  Woman  pulling  out  an  Old 
Man's  Grey  Hairs,  31.  3s.;  Jobson  and  Nell  in  the  Devil  to  Pay,  41.  4s.;  the  Happy  Family,  31.  log.; 
Children  at  Play,  41.  lis.  6d.  By  Hayman :  Children  Birds'-nesting,  51. 10*.;  Minstrels,  31.;  the  Enraged 
Husband,  41.  4s.;  the  Bridal  Day,  61.  6s. ;  Blindman's  Buff,  31.  8s. ;  Prince  Henry  and  Falstaff,  71.;  Scene 
from  the  Rake's  Progress,  91. 15s. ;  Merry-making,  11.  12s.;  the  Jealous  Husband,  41.;  Card-party,  61.; 
Children's  Party,  41.  15s.;  Battledore  and  Shuttlecock,  11.  10*.;  the  Doctor,  41. 14*.  6d.;  Cherry-bob, 
21.  15*.;  the  Storming  of  Seringapatam,  81.  10*.;  Neptune  and  Britannia,  81.  15*.  Four  busts  of 
Simpson,  the  celebrated  Master  of  the  Ceremonies,  were  sold  for  10*.;  and  a  bust  of  his  royal  shipmate, 
William  IV.,  19*. 

The  Gardens  were  finally  closed  July  25,  1859 ;  and  in  the  following  month  were 
sold  the  theatre,  orchestra,  dancing-platform,  firework-gallery,  fountains,  statues, 
vases,  paintings,  &c,  which  brought  small  sums.  The  most  attractive  lot  was  the 
Gothic  orchestra,  built  by  a  carpenter  named  Maidman,  and  which,  in  1738,  had  re- 
placed Tyers's  music-house.     This  Gothic  orchestra  produced  991. 

The  price  of  admission  to  the  Gardens  was  Is.  until  1792,  except  on  particular 
nights,  as  on  the  celebration  of  the  fiftieth  anniversary,  when  it  was  10s.  6d.  After 
1792  the  admission  was  raised  to  2s.,  including  tea  and  coffee ;  in  1809  to  3s.  6d. ;  in 
1850  reduced  to  Is. ;  and  since  various.  At  the  Vittoria  Fete,  July  1814  (admission 
one  guinea),  1350  visitors  dined  in  the  rotunda,  the  Duke  of  York  presiding ;  there 
were  also  present  the  Dukes  of  Clarence,  Kent,  Sussex,  and  Gloucester ;  the  Princess 
of  Wales,  and  the  Duchess  of  York.     The  fireworks  were  by  Colonel  Congreve. 

The  Gardens  are  well  described  in  the  Ambulator,  12th  edition,  1820 ;  where  the  paintings  in  the 
supper-pavilions,  by  Hogarth  and  Hayman,  are  enumerated.  Very  little  alteration  was  made  in  the 
arrangement  of  the  walks  or  the  position  of  the  buildings  since  they  were  originally  laid  out  or 
constructed  by  the  elder  Tyers,  as  may  be  seen  by  comparing  the  different  views  of  the  Gardens. 
One  of  the  earliest  representations,  dated  1737,  shows  the  seats  and  supper  tables  in  the  quadrangle 
surrounding  the  orchestra,  together  with  a  perspective  of  the  Long  Walk,  and  an  Herculean  statue  at 
its  extremity. 

The  general  plan  of  the  Gardens  was  a  quadrangular  grove,  with  the  orchestra  near  its  centre, 
surrounded  by  broad  covered  walks,  from  the  roofing  of  which  were  suspended,  by  wires,  illumination 
"  bucket-lamps :"  the  earlier  lamps  resembled  the  street-lamps  of  the  last  century.  At  the  head  of  the 
quadrangle  was  the  Prince's  Pavilion,  originally  built  for  the  accommodation  of  Frederick  Prince  of 
Wales.  To  the  right  and  left  of  the  grove  were  semicircular  sweeps  of  supper-boxes.  The  rotunda, 
seventy  feet  in  diameter,  had  part  of  its  area  enclosed  as  a  ride  for  equestrian  performances.  At  some 
distance  northward  of  the  quadrangle  was  the  theatre,  where  for  many  years  were  exhibited  a  mechanical 
cascade,  water-mill,  and  moving  figures ;  but  latterly  this  theatre  had  been  used  for  ballets  and  dramatic 
pieces.  The  number  of  lamps  upon  extra  gala-nights  exceeded  20,000.  The  fireworks  were  discharged 
from  a  lofty  tower,  at  the  end  of  a  long  walk;  whence  Madame  Saqui  descended  along  a  rope  several 
hundred  feet  in  length  in  a  shower  of  fire,  or  II  Diavolo  Antonio  swung  by  one  foot  on  the  slack-rope, 
playing  a  silver  trumpet  as  he  swung. 

"See !  the  large,  silent,  pale  blue-light 
Flares,  to  lead  all  to  where  the  bright, 

Loud  rockets  rush  on  high, 
Like  a  long  comet  roaring  through 
The  night,  then  melting  into  blue, 

And  starring  the  dark  sky ; 
And  Catherine-wheels,  and  crowns,  and  names 
Of  great  men,  whizzing  in  blue  flames ; 

Lights,  like  the  smiles  of  hope; 
And  radiant,  fiery  palaces, 
Showing  the  tops  of  all  the  trees ; 

And  Blackmore  on  the  rope." 

London  Magazine,  1824. 

Balloons  were  celebrated  exhibitions  of  late.  The  first  ascent  was  made  from  the 
Gardens  in  1802.  Green  made  several  ascents  from  here,  the  most  memorable  of 
which  was  his  voyage  from  Vauxhall  to  Weilburg,  in  the  Duchy  of  Nassau,  in  1836, 
in  the  stupendous  balloon  constructed  in  the  Gardens,  at  the  cost  of  2100Z. :  height, 
80  feet ;  circumference,  157  feet.     This  balloon  was  subsequently  sold  to  Green  for  500?. 

Music. — Among  the  Vauxhall  composers  were  Arne,  Boyce,  Carter,  Mountain, 
Signor  Storace,  and  Hook  (organist  upwards  of  40  years,  father  of  Theodore  Hook, 
and  uncle  of  Dr.  Hook,  Dean  of  Chichester).  Male  singers :  Beard,  Lowe,  Webb, 
Dignum,  Vernon,  Incledon,  Braham,  Pyne,  Sinclair,  Tinney,  Bobinson,  Bedford,  and 
Sharp.     Females:    Miss   Brent,    Mrs.   Wrighten,    Mrs.  Weischel   (mother   of  Mrs. 


WALBROOK— WAPPING.  815 

Billington),  Mrs.  Mountain,  Signora  Storace,  Mrs.  Crouch,  Mrs.  Bland,  Miss  Tryrer 
(afterwards  Mrs.  Liston),  Miss  Graddon,  Miss  Love,  Miss  Tunstall,  &c.  Italian  opera* 
were  performed  here  in  1829.  The  band  were  the  last  to  wear  the  semicircular  or 
cocked  hat. 

Fireworks  were  first  occasionally  exhibited  at  Vauxhall  in  1798.  The  late  Mr.  John 
Fillinham,  of  Walworth,  possessed  a  large  collection  of  Vauxhall  bills  of  entertainment, 
engravings,  and  other  interesting  records  of  the  Gardens. 

The  site  was  cleared,  and  a  church,  dedicated  to  St.  Peter,  was  built  upon  a  portion 
of  the  ground ;  this  church  being  memorable  as  the  first  example  in  London,  in  the 
present  revival,  of  a  church  vaulted  throughout.  Here,  too,  have  been  erected  a  School 
of  Art  j  and  roads,  called  Auckland-street,  Burnett-street,  Brunei-street,  Leopold- 
street,  Gye-street,  and  Italian-walk." — See  Walks  and  Talks  about  London,  1865. 

WALBBOOK, 

A  NARROW  street  named  from  the  stream  or  brook  which,  rising  on  the  north  of 
Moorfields,  entered  the  City  through  the  walls,  between  Bishopsgate  and  Moor- 
gate,  and  proceeded  nearly  along  the  line  of  the  new  street  of  that  name;  thence, 
according  to  Stow,  across  Lothbury,  beneath  the  kitchen  of  Grocers'  Hall  and  St. 
Mildred's  Church,  through  Bucklersbury,  past  the  sign  of  the  "  Old  Barge"  (from 
Thames  barges  being  rowed  up  there) ;  and  thence  through  the  present  Walbrook  - 
street,  under  which  it  still  runs  as  a  sewer,  and  discharges  itself,  by  a  part  of  Elbow- 
lane,  down  Greenwich -lane,  into  the  Thames  at  Dowgate.  The  Walbrook  was  crossed 
by  a  bridge  connecting  Budge-row  and  Cannon-street,  and  several  other  bridges,  but 
was  vaulted  over  with  brick,  and  its  banks  built  upon,  long  since  :  so  that  in  Stow's 
time  the  course  of  Walbrook  was  "  hidden  under  ground,  and  thereby  hardly  known." 
The  brook  was  navigable  not  merely  to  Bucklersbury  but  as  far  as  Coleman-street, 
where  a  Roman  boat-hook  has  been  found ;  and  with  it  was  found  a  coin  of  Alectus, 
who  ruled  in  Britain  towards  the  close  of  the  third  century.  In  forming  Prince's- 
street,  the  workmen  came  upon  the  course  of  the  brook,  which  the  Romans  had  em- 
banked with  wooden  piles ;  and  the  bed  was  thickly  strewn  with  coins,  brass  scales, 
styli,  knives,  tools,  pottery,  &c.  In  Walbrook  was  one  of  the  three  taverns  in  London 
licensed  to  sell  sweet  wines  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III.  Walbrook  gives  name  to  the 
ward :  at  its  north-east  corner  is  St.  Stephen's  Church,  described  at  p.  204.  Lower 
down,  upon  the  brook,  at  Dowgate-hill,  was  the  church  of  Allhallows  the  Less,  destroyed 
in  the  Great  Fire,  and  not  rebuilt ;  but  its  burial-ground,  with  a  solitary  altar-tomb, 
remains.  Nearly  opposite  London  Stone,  in  June,  1852,  was  unearthed  part  of  the 
cloister  of  the  church  of  St.  Mary  Bothaw,  which  stood  near  Walbrook  bank  at  Dow- 
gate, and  was  named  Boat-haw  from  being  near  a  yard  where  boat-building  was  car- 
ried on  :  in  the  church  was  interred  Fitzalwin,  first  Mayor  of  London.  The  writer  of 
a  quarto  History  of  London,  1805,  states  that,  in  1803,  he  saw  the  Wallbrook  "  still 
trickling  among  the  foundations  of  the  new  buildings  at  the  Bank." 

WAPPING, 

A  HAMLET  of  Stepney,  is  now  a  long  street  extending  from  Lower  East  Smith- 
field,  on  the  north  bank  of  the  Thames,  to  New  Crane.  It  was  commenced 
building  in  1571,  to  secure  the  manor  from  the  encroachments  of  the  river,  which  made 
the  whole  site  a  great  wash ;  the  Commissioners  of  Sewers  rightly  thinking  that  "  the 
tenants  would  not  fail  being  attentive  to  their  lives  and  property."  Stow  calls  it 
"  Wapping  in  the  Wose,"  or  Wash. 

Here  was  Execution  Sock,  "the  usual  place  for  hanging  of  pirates  and  sea-rovers,  at  the  low-water 
mark,  and  there  to  remain  till  three  tides  had  overflowed  them ;  but  since  the  gallows  being  after 
removed  farther  off,  a  continual  street  or  filthy  strait  passage,  with  alleys  of  small  tenements  or  cottages 
built,  inhabited  by  sailors'  victuallers,  along  by  the  river  of  Thames  almost  to  Eadcliffe,  a  good  mile 
from  the  Tower."— Stow. 

Pennant  notes :  "  Execution  Dock  still  remains  at  Wapping,  and  is  in  use  as  often 
as  a  melancholy  occasion  requires.  The  criminals  are  to  this  day  executed  on  a  tem- 
porary gallows  placed  at  low-water  mark ;  but  the  custom  of  leaving  the  body  to  be 
overflowed  by  the  sea  tides  has  long  been  omitted." — London,  5th  edit. 


816  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

In  1703  a  destructive  fire  took  place  at  Execution  Dock,  by  which  the  sufferers, 
mostly  seamen,  sea-artificers,  and  poor  seamen's  widows,  lost  13,040Z.  And  in  1794, 
a  great  fire  occurred  at  Wapping,  burning  630  houses,  and  an  East  India  warehouse 
containing  35,000  bags  of  saltpetre — the  loss  was  1,000,000£. 

To  Wapping,  in  1688,  Lord  Chancellor  Jeffreys  fled  in  the  disguise  of  a  coal-porter, 
and  was  captured  in  the  Med  Cow  ale-house,  in  Anchor  and  Hope-alley,  near  King 
Edward's  Stairs.  He  was  identified  by  a  scrivener  he  had  formerly  insulted,  lolling  out 
of  window  in  all  the  confidence  of  misplaced  security.  (Cunningham.)  But  at  Leather- 
head,  where  Jeffreys  had  a  mansion,  it  is  traditionally  asserted  that  he  was  betrayed 
by  the  butler  who  accompanied  him  in  his  flight,  for  the  sake  of  the  reward. 

Joseph  Ames,  F.R.S.,  author  of  the  Typographical  Antiquities,  and  Secretary  to 
the  Society  of  Antiquaries,  was  a  ship-chandler  at  Wapping,  where  he  died  in  1758: 
"  he  was  a  person  of  vast  application  and  industry  in  collecting  old  printed  hooks, 
prints,  and  other  curiosities,  both  natural  and  artificial."  (Cole.)  John  Day,  with 
whom  originated  "Fairlop  Fair,"  in  Hainault  Forest,  was  a  block  and  a  pump 
maker  at  Wapping.  Here  the  first  Fuchsia  brought  to  England  from  the  West 
Indies,  being  seen  by  Mr.  Lee,  the  nurseryman,  became,  in  the  next  flowering  season, 
the  parent  of  300  fuchsia-plants,  which  Lee  sold  at  one  guinea  each. 

Wapping  is  noted,  as  in  Stow's  time,  for  its  nautical  signs,  its  ship  and  boat  builders, 
rope-makers,  biscuit-bakers  and  provision-dealers ;  mast,  oar,  and  block  makers ;  ship- 
chandlers  and  sail-makers :  and  the  name  Wapping  was  probably  derived  from  the 
ship's  rope  called  a  veapp  ;  or  from  wapin-schaw,  a  periodical  exhibition  of  arms,  which 
may  formerly  have  been  held  upon  this  open  ground.  In  the  list  of  subscribers  to 
Wren's  Parentalia,  1750,  is  "  The  Mathematical  Society  of  Wapping ;"  and  nautical 
instrument  makers  are  said  to  have  abounded  here. 

Among  the  thirty-six  taverns  and  public-houses  in  Wapping  High-street  and  Wapping  Wall,  we  find 
the  signs-  of  the  Ship  and  Pilot,  Ship  and  Star,  Ship  and  Punch-bowl,  Union  Flag  and  Punch-bowl,  the 
Gun,  North  American  Sailor,  Golden  Anchor,  Anchor  and  Hope,  the  Ship,  Town  of  Bamsgate,  Queen's 
Landing,  Ship  and  Whale,  the  Three  Mariners,  and  the  Prospect  of  Whitby. 

Between  Nos.  288  and  304  are  "  Wapping  Old  Stairs,"  in  Wapping-street,  on  the 
western  side  of  the  church ;  but  the  wood-built  wharf  and  house  fronts  towards  the 
river  are  fast  disappearing. 

Strype  relates  that  "  on  Friday,  the  24th  of  July,  1629,  King  Charles  having 
hunted  a  stag  or  hart  from  Wanstead,  in  Essex,  killed  him  in  Nightingale-lane,  in  the 

hamlet  of  Wapping,  in  a  garden  belonging  to  one ,  who  had  some  damage  among 

his  herbs,  by  reason  of  the  multitude  of  people  there  assembled  suddenly." 

The  village  of  Radcliffe,  to  which  Wapping  joins,  is  of  some  antiquity.  From  hence 
the  gallant  Sir  Hugh  Willoughby,  on  May  the  20th,  1553,  took  his  departure  on  his 
fatal  voyage  for  discovering  the  north-east  passage  to  China.  He  sailed  with  great 
pomp  by  Greenwich,  where  the  Court  then  lay.  Mutual  honours  were  paid  on  both 
sides.  The  council  and  courtiers  appeared  at  the  windows,  the  people  covered  the 
shores.  The  young  King  alone  lost  the  noble  and  novel  sight ;  for  he  then  lay  on  his 
death-bed ;  so  that  the  principal  object  of  the  parade  was  disappointed. — LZakluyt, 
i.  239.     Pennant's  London,  5th  edit. 

WA  TLING-STMEET, 

COMMENCING  at  the  north-east  corner  of  St.  Panl's-churchyard,  and  formerly 
extending  through  Budge-row  and  Cannon-street,  is  considered  to  have  been  the 
principal  street  of  Roman  London,  and  "  one  of  the  four  grand  Roman  ways  in  Bri- 
tain ;"*  as  well  as  a  British  road  before  the  arrival  of  the  Romans  :  "  with  the  Britons 
it  was  a  forest-lane  or  trackway ;  with  the  Romans  it  became  a  stratum,  street,  or 

*  The  Watling-street  Thistle  {Eryngium  eampestre)  is  named  from  this  ancient  road  being  its  only 
known  habitat  in  England. — Baker's  Northamptonshire  Glossary,  ii.  386.  Watling-street,  part  of 
which  remains,  is  one  of  the  narrowest  and  most  inconvenient  streets  in  the  metropolis : 

"Who  would  of  Watling-street  the  dangers  share, 
When  the  broad  pavement  of  Cheapside  is  near?" 

— Gay's  Trivia. 


WATLING-STREET.  817 


raised  road,  constructed  according  to  their  well-known  manner."  (A.  J.  Kempe, 
Archeeologia,  xxvi.  467.)  This  is  corroborated  by  the  discovery  of  British  remains  on 
the  line,  in  Cannon-street.  The  Romans  made  it  part  of  their  grand  route  from  the 
point  of  their  invasion,  through  a  portion  of  Kent  and  the  north-eastern  corner  of 
Surrey,  and  thence  from  Stoney -street  over  the  Thames  to  Dowgate,  north  of  the  river, 
by  tiie  present  Watling-street,  to  Aldersgate ;  where,  quitting  the  City,  it  ran  along 
Goswell-street  to  the  west  of  Islingtou,  through  Hagbush-lane  (the  road  in  part 
remains),  to  Verulamium,  or  St.  Albans.  Dr.  Stukeley,  however,  maintains  that  the 
old  Watling-street  did  not  enter  London,  but,  in  its  course  from  Verulam,  crossed  the 
Oxford-road  at  Tyburn,  and  thence  ran  over  part  of  Hyde  Park,  and  by  May  Fair 
through  St.  James's  Park,  to  the  Wool-staple  at  Westminster,  and  crossed  the 
Thames  by  Stanegate-ferry,  through  St.  George's  Fields,  and  south  of  the  Lock  Hospital, 
Ivent-street,  to  Deptford  and  Blackheath.  Stukeley  adds :  "  as  London  increased, 
passengers  went  through  the  City  by  Cannon-street,  Watling-street,  and  Holborn,  this 
being  a  vicinal  branch  of  Watling-street."  Wren,  however,  considers  it  to  have  been 
the  centre  or  Praetorian  way  of  the  old  Roman  station ;  the  principal  gate  being  at 
Eastcheap.  In  1853,  in  excavating  Budge-row,  there  was  discovered  a  fragment  of 
Roman  wall. 

In  a  folio  Map  of  Middlesex,  by  Bowen,  1709,  a  Roman  road  appears  from  the  corner  of  the 
Tottenham-court-road,  where  the  Hampstead-road  and  the  Euston-road  now  meet,  running  through 
what  must  now  be  the  Regent's  Park,  uniil  it  reaches  Edgware,  and  thence  to  Brockley  Hills,  called 
Sulloniacse,  an  ancient  city  in  Antonine's  Itinerary.  In  this  Map,  or  in  another  with  the  same  route, 
■Watling-street  is  printed  upon  the  highway  that  leads  to  Tyburn  Turnpike,  in  a  manner  to  show  the 
■whole  of  that  distance  is  meant.  The  Roman  road  from  Tottenham  Court,  after  making  its  appearance 
in  c  variety  of  other  maps,  up  to  a  certain  date,  about  1780,  is  nowhere  to  be  found  since  in  any  of  the 
Middlesex  Maps.  It  is,  however,  certain  that  the  part  of  Watling-street  crossing  Oxford-street  at 
Tyburn,  must  have  led  to  Edgware. 

"  Watling-street  crossed  the  Walbrook  by  a  bridge  at  the  junction  of  Cannon-street  and  Budge-row, 
and  then  branching  off  at  London  Stone,  in  Cannon-street,  ran  along  the  Langbourne  to  Aldgate ;  whilst 
a  smaller  road  ran  from  the  ferry  at  Dowgate  towards  Cripplegate,  one  of  the  three  City  gates  during 
the  Roman  rule.  Enough  of  remains  of  houses  have  been  found  in  Budge-row  and  Watling-street  to 
show  that  the  rudiments  of  a  street,  in  continuation  of  the  line  from  Aldgate,  existed  on  the  west  side 
of  the  brcok." — National  Miscellany,  No.  6. 

This  street,  says  Leland,  was  formerly  called  Atheling  (or  Nolle)  street,  from  being 
near  the  Old  Change,  where  the  Mint  formerly  was;  and  afterwards,  corruptly, 
Watheling  and  Waiting  street :  but  from  this  Stow  dissents.  By  another,  Watling ' 
is  traced  to  the  ancient  British  words,  gwaith,  work,  and  lea,  legion,  whence  gwaith- 
lea — i.e.,  legion  work  (Gent.  Mag.  1796).  Dr.  Jamieson  states  it  to  have  been  "called 
by  the  Romans  Via  Laetea  (Milky  Way),  from  its  fancied  resemblance  to  a  broad 
street,  or  causeway,  being  as  it  were  paved  with  stars."  Moxon,  in  his  Tutor  to 
Astronomy,  1670,  describing  the  Milky  Way,  observes  :  "  some,  in  a  sporting  manner, 
call  it  Watling-street ;  but  why  they  call  it  so  I  cannot  tell,  except  it  be  in  regard  to 
the  narrowness  itseemeth  to  have,"  which  narrowness  is  now  contrasted  with  the  fine 
broad  thoroughfare  of  Cannon-street  West.  We  must  make  room  for  a  few  more 
etymons  of  this  much  disputed  word : 

"  The  two  words  Watling  Street  are  compounded  of  three  English  roots,  which  are  identical  with  the 
Anglo-Saxon  roots  waetling-straet.  No  etymology  hitherto  advanced  approximates  so  near,  or  is  so  sig- 
nificant or  appropriate  as  this.  We  have  to  bear  in  mind  that  long  before  embankment  and  drainage 
■were  attended  to  in  this  country,  the  meadows  (ings)  were  flooded  after  rain;  and  the  mode  of  passing 
along  the  streets  (the  straight  or  direct  ways),  where  such  impediment  occurred,  was  by  wattles  or 
hurdles,  called  by  the  French  fascines,  and  which  are  now  used  for  the  same  purpose  in  military  opera- 
tions. With  so  clear  an  etymological  deduction,  we  can  dispense  with  Hoveden's  strata  quamfilii  regis 
Welhlae  straverunt  (Annates,  342),  with  Camden's  Vitellianus,  in  British  Ouetalin,  and  even  with 
Thierry's  Ghwydd-elin-sarn,  Road  of  the  Gaels  or  Irish  (Norman  Conquest,  i.  165),  which  are  the  only 
other  etymologies  deserving  attention.  It  is  to  be  noted  that  Anglo-Saxon  names  were  given  to  works 
already  "ancient,  when  such  names  were  imposed." — T.  J.  Buckton,  Notes  and  Queries,  2nd  S.,  vii. 

The  following  is  considered  a  good  derivation:  the  name  a  Saxon  corruption  of  the  Cymric 
Gwydelinsarn  (the  way  of  the  Gael),  so  called  because  it  led  to  the  country  of  the  Gwyddyl — Ireland. 
It  is  much  more  probable  that  it  was  the  work  of  that  people  during  its  dominancy  in  South  Britain ; 
just  as  were  the  houses  whose  ruins,  two  centuries  ago,  were  called  by  the  Welsh  the  houses  of  the  Gael. 
(Thierry's  Norman  Conquest,  vol.  i.  p.  2,  note.  Notes  and  Queries,  2nd  S.,  No.  40.)  It  is  also  suggested 
to  have  been  called  by  corruption  only  Yitellin,  or  Watling-street,  from  the  name  of  Vitellianus. 

Mr.  T.  Reveley,  of  Kendal,  suggests  that  the  Romans  probably  employed  brushwood  in  forming  the 
foundations  of  their  roads,*  and  may  have  wattled  it  to  give  it  greater  consistency;  and  that  the  name 
had  been  given  to  the  several  roads  so  called  by  the  Anglo-Saxons  from  the  wattling,  the  remains  of 
which  they  had  found.  It  would  thus  be  synonymous  with  the  name  Wicker-street,  which  occurs  in  the 
tenth  Antonine  Itinerary. — Proc.  Soc.  Antiq.,  vol.  iv.  p.  256. 

*  Fagots  are,  to  this  day,  used  in  making  our  roads. 

3   G 


818  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Watling-street  has  been,  since  Stow's  time,  inhabited  by  "  wealthy  drapers,  retailers 
of  woollen  cloths,  both  broad  and  narrow,  of  all  sorts."  Hatton  describes  it  as  "  much 
inhabited  by  wholesale  grocers,  tobacconists,  and  other  great  dealers."  Several  of  the 
new  buildings  in  Cannon-street  are  mansion-like  warehouses.  At  the.  east  end  are 
immense  warehouses  of  the  Manchester  and  silk  trades  j  the  German  bronze  and  Bohe- 
mian glass  trades ;  the  pin  and  needle  trade ;  and  about  the  centre  the  paper  trade. 
Near  St.  Swithin's-lane,  are  the  wholesale  tea  and  grocery  and  spice  trades.  Here,  too, 
are  leading  houses  of  the  shipping-trade,  and  Colonial  Banks  and  Assurance  Companies. 
Messrs.  Lawrence  and  Sons  (Alderman  W.  Lawrence,  Lord  Mayor,  1863-4)  are  the 
builders  of  several  of  these  noble  piles,  and  are  the  ground-landlords.  Here  is  the 
City  station  of  the  South-Eastern  Railway. 

The  water-front  towers  of  the  Station  have  gilded  metal  finials,  with  weather-vanes  and  arms.  The 
edifice,  with  its  vast  arch,  its  spacious  platforms,  its  ten  lines  of  rails,  its  broad  carriage-way,  and,  at 
the  end,  the  handsome  inner  front  of  the  hotel,  and  the  flank  erections,  is  probably  the  finest  station  in 
London.  The  elaborate  apparatus  of  the  Cannon-street  signal-box  stretches  across  nearly  the  entire 
width  of  the  roadway,  and  has  above  the  roof  24  semaphore  arms,  and  16  lamps  showing  red,  green, 
and  white  lights.  The  switches  which  work  the  points  and  signals  are  adjusted  in  a  metal  frame  in  one 
straight  line,  and  are  an  admirable  and  elaborate  piece  of  mechanism.  The  levers,  67  in  number,  are 
coloured  yellow,  white,  black,  blue,  and  red,  and  numbered  progressively  by  circular  brass  plates  on  their 
fronts.  The  yellow  levers  work  the  distance  signals,  and  are  nine  in  number;  the  white,  of  which  there 
are  three,  are  indicators,  and  relate  to  the  station ;  the  black  levers,  of  which  there  are  30,  work  the  points, 
which  appear  very  complicated,  there  being  as  many  as  12  pairs  of  rails  passing  under  the  signal  box. 
The  blue  levers  work  the  semaphore  arms  for  trains  outward;  and  the  red  levers,  16  in  number,  signal 
the  train  inwards. 

London  Stone,  the  famous  Roman  relic  of  Watling-street,  is  described  at  pp.  533-534. 
WAX-  WORK  SHO  WS. 

THE  oldest  Exhibition  of  Wax-work  in  England  of  which  we  have  any  record  was 
that  at  Westminster  Abbey,  called  "  the  Play  of  the  Dead  Volks,"  and  "  the 
Ragged  Regiment,"  shown  by  the  keeper  of  the  tombs.  From  a  passage  in  a  rhyming 
account  of  the  tombs  in  Westminster  Abbey,  in  the  Mysteries  of  Love  and  Eloquence, 
1658,  it  would  appear  that  at  that  time  the  following  were  the  waxen  figures  exhibited 
in  the  presses  :— 

"  Henry  the  Seventh,  and  his  fair  Queen, 

JEdtcard  the  First,  and  his  Queen ; 
Henry  the  Fifth  here  stands  upright, 
And  his  fair  Queen  was  this  Queen. 

"  The  noble  prince,  Prince  Henry, 

King  James's  eldest  son ; 
King  James,  Queen  Anne,  Queen  Elizabeth, 

And  so  this  chapel's  done." 

In  Peacham's  Worth  of  a  Penny,  1667,  we  read :  "  For  a  penny  you  may  hear  a 
most  eloquent  oration  upon  our  English  kings  and  queens,  if,  keeping  your  hands  off, 
you  will  seriously  listen  to  David  Owen,  who  keeps  the  monuments  in  Westminster." 

Of  the  wax-work  (which  is  mentioned  at  p.  128)  we  find  the  following  account  in  a 
description  of  the  Abbey,  "  its  monuments  and  curiosities,"  "  printed  for  J.  Newbery, 
at  the  Bible  and  Sun,  in  St.  Paul's  Churchyard,  1754 :" 

"  Over  this  chapel  (Islip,  otherwise  St.  Erasmus)  is  a  chantry  in  which  are  two  large  wainscot  presses 
full  of  the  effigies  of  princes  and  others  of  high  quality,  buried  in  this  Abbey.  These  effigies  resembled 
the  deceased  as  near  as  possible,  and  were  wont  to  be  exposed  at  the  funerals  of  our  princes  and  other 
great  personages  in  open  chariots,  with  their  proper  ensigns  of  royalty  or  honour  appended.  Those 
that  are  here  laid  up  are  in  a  sad  mangled  condition;  some  stripped,  and  others  in  tattered  robes,  but 
all  maimed  or  broken.  The  most  ancient  are  the  least  injured,  by  which  it  would  seem  as  if  the  costli- 
ness of  their  clothes  had  occasioned  this  ravage;  for  the  robes  of  Edward  VI.,  which  were  once  of 
crimson  velvet,  but  now  appear  like  leather,  are  left  entire ;  but  those  of  Q.  Elizabeth  and  K.  James 
the  First  are  entirely  stript,  as  are  all  the  rest,  of  every  thing  of  value.  In  two  handsome  wainscot 
presses  are  the  effigies  of  K.  William  and  Q.  Mary,  and  Q.  Anne,  in  good  condition,  and  greatly  admired 
by  every  eye  that  beholds  them."  The  figure  of  Cromwell  is  not  here  mentioned ;  but  in  the  account 
of  his  lying-in-state,  the  effigies  is  described  as  made  to  the  life,  in  wax,  apparelled  in  velvet,  gold  lace, 
and  ermine.  This  figure  was  laid  upon  the  bed-of-state,  and  carried  upon  the  hearse  in  the  funeral 
procession ;  both  were  then  deposited  in  Westminster  Abbey  :  but  at  the  Eestoration,  the  hearse  was 
broken  in  pieces,  and  the  effigies  was  destroyed  after  hanging  from  a  window  at  Whitehall. 

Under  date  of  1761,  Horace  Walpole  complains  that  "  the  Chapter  of  Westminster 
sell  their  church  over  and  over  again :  the  ancient  monuments  tumble  upon  one's  head 
through  their  neglect,  as  one  of  them  did,  and  killed  a  man,  at  Lady  Elizabeth  Percy's 
funeral ;  and  they  erect  new  waxen  dolls  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  &c.,  to  draw  visits  and 
money  from  the  mob." 


WAX-WORK  SHOWS.  819 


In  the  Picture  of  London,  1806,  the  collection  is  described  as  "  a  variety  of  figures 
in  wax,  in  cases  with  glass  doors,  which  are  shown  as  curious  to  the  stranger  •"  their 
exhibition  was  continued  until  1839. 

Nollekens,  the  sculptor,  used  to  describe  the  collection  as  "  the  wooden  figures,  with 
wax  masks,  all  in  silk  tatters,  that  the  Westminster  boys  called  '  the  Bagged  Kegiment ;' 
and  carried  before  the  corpse  formerly  ;  kept  in  narrow  closets  between  the  wax  figures 
of  Queen  Elizabeth  and  Lord  Chatham  in  his  robes ;  in  Bishop  Islip's  Chapel,  where 
you  have  seen  the  stained  glass  of  a  boy  slipping  down  a  tree,  a  slip  of  a  tree,  and  the 
eye  slipping  out  of  its  socket." 

New  Exchange,  Strand,  was  also  noted  for  its  Wax-work  shows. 

Mes.  Salmon's  Wax-woek,  in  Fleet-street,  is  described  at  p.  350.  The  minor 
Exhibitions  of  wax-work  are  too  numerous  to  mention  ;  but  we  may  instance  a  collec- 
tion of  figures  shown  at  the  Queen's  Bazaar,  Oxford-street,  in  1830;  and  Dubourg's 
Mechanical  Exhibition,  in  Windmill-street,  Haymarket;  as  admirable  specimens  of 
foreign  ingenuity  in  wax-modelling.  To  these  may  be  added  the  lifelike  and  spirited 
figures  of  costumed  natives  of  Mexico,  and  American  Indians,  modelled  in  wax  with 
surprising  minuteness  and  artistic  feeling  ooth  in  the  position  and  grouping,  varied 
expression,  and  anatomical  development;  cnese  figures,  at  the  Great  Exhibition  of 
1851,  gained  for  their  artist,  N.  Montanari,  a  prize  medal. 

Madame  Tussaud  and  Son's  Collection,  Baker-street,  Portman-square,  is  stated  to 
be  the  oldest  exhibition  in  Europe.  It  was  commenced  on  the  Boulevard  du  Temple 
at  Paris  in  1780,  and  was  first  shown  in  London,  at  the  Lyceum,  Strand,  in  1802.  It 
now  consists  of  upwards  of  300  figures  in  wax,  in  the  costume  of  their  time,  and  several 
in  the  dresses  which  they  actually  wore ;  besides  a  large  collection  of  paintings  and 
sculpture,  arranged  in  superb  saloons. 

Madame  Tussaud  was  born  at  Berne,  in  Switzerland,  in  1760.  When  a  child  she  was  taught  to 
model  figures  in  wax,  by  her  uncle  M.  Curtius,  at  whose  house  she  often  dined  with  Voltaire,  Rousseau, 
Dr.  Franklin,  Mirabeau,  and  La  Fayette,  of  whose  heads  she  took  casts.  She  taught  drawing  and 
modelling  to  the  Princess  Elizabeth,  and  many  of  the  French  noblesse,  just  before  the  Revolution  of 
1789.  She  also  modelled  in  wax  Robespierre,  Marat,  and  Danton ;  and  often  took  models  of  heads 
severed  on  the  scaffold.  Thus  she  commenced  her  collection  of  royalists,  revolutionists,  generals, 
authors  and  men  of  science,  and  distinguished  ladies ;  with  which  she  came  to  London  in  1802.  She 
has  left  her  Memoirs  and  Reminiscences,  published  in  1838 ;  a  very  curious  narrative  of  the  old  French 
Revolution,  and  its  leading  characters  en  costume.  Madame  Tussaud  died  in  London,  15  April,  1850, 
aged  90 ;  her  mother  lived  to  the  same  age,  her  grandmother  to  104,  and  her  great-grandmother  to  111. 

The  Tussaud  Collection  not  only  contains  fine  specimens  of  modelling  in  wax,  but  a 
curious  assemblage  of  costume  and  personal  decoration,  memorials  of  celebrated 
characters,  historical  groups,  &c.  Among  the  most  noteworthy  are  the  costumed 
recumbent  effigies  of  the  Duke  of  Wellington;  a  group  of  Henry  VIII.  and  his  six. 
queens ;  Edward  VI.  and  Henry  VII. ;  Queen  Victoria  and  Prince  Albert ;  the  Prince 
and  Princess  of  Wales ;  the  Prince  and  Princess  of  Hesse  ;  and  the  rest  of  the  Boyal 
Family ;  Alexander  Emperor  of  Russia,  taken  from  life,  in  England,  in  1814 ;  Napoleon 
Bonaparte,  from  life,  in  1815 ;  Louis  XVI.,  his  queen  and  children,  modelled  from 
life,  in  1790,  and  exhibited  at  La  Petite  Trianon ;  Lord  Nelson,  the  cast  taken  from 
his  face ;  the  beautiful  Madame  l'Amaranthe ;  Madame  Tussaud,  taken  by  herself, 
William  Cobbett,  very  like ;  Madame  Grisi  as  Lucrezia  Borgia ;  Richard  III.,  from 
the  portrait  at  Arundel  Castle ;  Voltaire  (taken  from  life  a  few  mouths  before  his 
death),  and  a  Coquette  of  the  same  period,  both  admirably  characteristic ;  Loushkin, 
the  Russian  giant,  8  feet  5  inches  high ;  Jenny  Lind,  very  like ;  Sir  Walter  Scott, 
modelled  by  Madame  Tussaud,  in  Edinburgh,  in  1828 ;  the  Empress  Eugenie  and  the 
Prince  Imperial  of  France ;  Maximilian,  Emperor  of  Mexico ;  Garibaldi,  Count  Cavour, 
Poerio,  Antonelli,  and  Count  Bismarck ;  Presidents  Lincoln  and  Johnson  (United 
States) ;  Queen  Victoria  (recently  added).  The  sovereigns  of  the  world,  heroes  and 
statesmen,  are  well-timed  additions. 

Hall  of  Kings. — Kings  and  Queens  of  England,  since  the  Conquest,  thirty-six  in 
number ;  the  costumes  and  ornaments  worn  at  the  various  periods,  copied  from  historical 
authorities,  by  Mr.  Francis  Tussaud  and  assistants.  This  series  has  proved  an  especially 
attractive  addition.  The  celebrities  of  the  reigns  are  added ;  as  Wicklifie,  Wykeham, 
Chaucer,  Caxton,  Shakspeare,  &c.     The  ceiling  of  the  Hall  of  Kings  is  painted  by  Sir 

3  G  2 


820  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

James  Thornhill.  Here  are  portraits  of  Queen  Victoria  (Hayter);  Prince  Albert 
(Patten);  George  IV.  (Lawrence);  William  IV.  (Simpson);  George  III.  and  Queen 
Charlotte  (Reynolds)  ;  George  II.  (Hudson) ;  Louis  XIV.  (Parosel).  Also  a  group  of 
figures  of  Queen  Victoria  (the  throne  from  Carlton  Palace) ;  the  Queen  Dowager,  the 
Dukes  of  Sussex  and  Cambridge,  and  the  Princess  Augusta,  in  Coronation  robes; 
George  III.  taken  from  life  in  1809 ;  William  IV.  as  Lord  High  Admiral. 

In  the  richly-gilt  chamber  adjoining  is  George  IV.  in  his  Coronation  Robe,  which, 
with  two  other  robes,  contain  567  feet  of  velvet  and  embroidery,  and  cost  18,000£. : 
the  chair  is  the  homage-chair,  used  at  the  Coronation;  and  the  crown  and  sceptre,  orb, 
orders,  &c,  are  copies  from  the  actual  regalia.  Here  is  a  large  picture  of  the  Birth  of 
Venus,  by  Boucher ;  and  of  the  Marriage  of  George  IV.,  with  many  portraits. 

Napoleon  Relics. — The  camp-bedstead  on  which  Napoleon  died ;  the  counterpane 
stained  with  his  blood.  Cloak  worn  at  Marengo.  Three  eagles  taken  at  Waterloo. 
Cradle  of  the  King  of  Rome.  Bronze  posthumous  cast  of  Napoleon,  and  hat  worn  by 
him.  Whole-length  portrait  of  the  Emperor,  from  Fontainebleau ;  Marie  Louise  and 
Josephine,  and  other  portraits  of  the  Bonaparte  family.  Bust  of  Napoleon,  by  Canova. 
Isabey's  portrait  table  of  the  Marshals.  Napoleon's  three  carriages :  two  from 
Waterloo,  and  a  landau  from  St.  Helena.  His  garden  chair  and  drawing-room  chair. 
"  The  flag  of  Elba."  Napoleon's  sword,  diamond,  tooth-brush,  and  table-knife;  dessert 
knife,  fork,  and  spoons ;  coffee-cup ;  a  piece  of  willow-tree  from  St.  Helena ;  shoe-socks 
and  handkerchiefs,  shirt,  &c.  Model  figure  of  Napoleon  in  the  clothes  he  wore  at 
Longwood;  and  porcelain  dessert-service  used  by  him.     Napoleon's  hair  and  tooth,  &c. 

Miscellaneous  Relics. — Nelson's  Order  of  the  Bath,  and  coat  worn  at  the  Nile. 
Snuff-box  of  James  II.  Shirt  worn  by  Henry  IV.  of  France  when  stabbed  by 
Ravaillac  (from  Cardinal  Mazarin's  collection).  Coat  and  waistcoat  of  the  Duke  of 
'Wellington,  given  to  Haydon,  the  painter.     Model  of  Longwood,  St.  Helena. 

The  Chamber  of  Horrors  contains  portrait  figures  of  the  murderers  Rush  and  the 
Mannings,  Good  and  Greenacre,  Courvoisier  and  Gould,  Burke  and  Hare ;  Dumollard 
and  his  wife,  believed  to  have  murdered  seventeen  or  eighteen  persons  ;  Nana  Sahib ; 
George  Townley.  Pierri,  Pianori,  and  Orsini,  who  attempted  to  assassinate  the  Emperor 
of  the  French.  William  Palmer  and  Catherine  Wilson,  the  poisoners.  Oxford  and 
Francis,  who  shot  at  Queen  Victoria.  Franz  Miiller,  murderer ;  Fieschi  and  the 
infernal-machine ;  Marat,  taken  immediately  after  his  assassination ;  heads  of  French 
Revolutionists ;  the  knife  and  lunette  used  in  decapitating  22,000  persons  in  the  first 
French  Revolution,  purchased  from  M.  Sanson,  the  grandson  of  the  original  executioner, 
now  residing  in  Paris.  Also  a  model  of  the  guillotine,  &c. ;  this  being  a  class  of  models 
in  which  Madame  Tussaud  excelled  in  her  youth.  Admission  to  the  general  collec- 
tion, Is. ;  Chamber  of  Horrors,  6d.     Music,  instrumental,  in  the  evening. 

The  Oriental  and  Turkish  Mitsettsi,  Knightsbridge,  opened  1854,  contained 
models  from  Eastern  life,  with  costumes,  arms,  and  implements ;  set  scenes  of  Turkish 
baths,  coffee- shops  and  bazaars,  a  wedding,  repasts,  and  councils;  the  palace,  the 
harem,  and  the  divan ;  street  scenes,  &c. ;  the  figures  were  modelled  in  wax,  by  James 
Boggi,  with  wonderful  variety  of  expression  and  character. 

WESTMINSTER. 

rpHE  general  title  of  the  western  portion  of  the  metropolis,  but  properly  applying 
J-  only  to  the  City  of  Westminster,  or  "  the  parish  of  St.  Margaret,  including  the 
ecclesiastical  district  of  St.  John  the  Evangelist ;  the  other  parishes  constituting  the 
Liberties  of  Westminster."  {Rev.  M.  E.  C.  Walcott.)  It  is  named  from  the  found- 
ing of  St.  Peter's  Minster  on  Thorney  Island  in  the  seventh  century,  which  was  called 
West  Minster  to  distinguish  it  from  St.  Paul's,  the  church  of  the  East  Saxons :  thus 
the  town  grew  up  around  the  monastery  from  which  it  took  its  name.  The  island  site, 
"  formed  by  the  rude  channel  worn  by  the  river  tides,"  in  a  charter  of  King  Offa, 
a.d.  785,  is  called  "  Torneia  in  loco  terribili,  quod  dicitur  set.  Westmunster."  King 
Edgar's  charter  describes  Westminster  to  extend  from  Fleet  Ditch,  next  the  City  of 
London,  to  the  Military  Way,  now   the  Horseferry-road ;    and  from  Ty bourn  and 


WESTMINSTER.  821 


Holbourne  to  the  Thames.     Subsequently,  the  boundary  of  the  City  of  London  was 
extended  from  Fleet  Ditch  to  Temple  Bar. 

Thorney  Island,  470  yards  long  and  370  yards  broad,  was  insulated  by  a  small 
stream,  called  in  modern  times  Long  Ditch,  which  has  been  traced  from  the  Thames  at 
Manchester-buildings,  across  King-street  by  Gardener's-lane,  by  Prince's-street  (where 
it  is  the  common  sewer),  to  Tothill-street,  and  thence  to  the  Thames  at  the  end  of 
Abingdon-street. 

"  This  island  comprised  the  precinct  of  the  Abbey  and  Palace,  which  were  further  defended  by  lofty 
stone  walls :  those  on  the  east  and  south  of  the  College  gardens  being  the  last  remains  of  such  defences 
of  a  later  date.  They  were  pierced  with  four  gateways :  the  first  in  King-street;  the  second  near  New 
Palace-yard,  the  foundations  of  which  were  seen  in  December  a.d.  1838,  in  excavating  for  a  sewer ;  the 
third  opening  into  Tothill-street;  and  the  fourth  near  the  mill  in  College-street.  The  precinct  was 
entered  by  two  bridges :  one  crossed  the  water  of  Long  Ditch,  at  the  east  end  of  Uardener's-lane, 
having  been  built  by  Queen  Matilda,  the  consort  of  King  Henry  I.,  for  foot  passensers ;  the  other  still 
exists  at  the  east  end  of  College-street,  underneath  the  pavement, — it  connected  Millbank  with  Dirty- 
lane." — Walcott's  Westminster,  p.  3. 

Westminster,  like  Chelsea,  Lambeth,  and  all  the  ow-lying  western  districts  of  London,  stands  upon 
gravels  and  sands  of  a  depth  of  25  to  30  feet,  with  a  breadth  of  from  two  to  two  and  a-half  miles,  over- 
lying a  thick  stratum  of  London  clay.  In  the  Westminster  gravels  mammalian  remains  are  frequently 
found.  From  the  sandy  beds  abutting  against  the  abrupt  line  of  London  clay  in  excavations  for  sewers 
in  St.  Jamcs's-square,  and  for  the  foundations  of  the  Junior  United  Service  Club,  Charles-street,  Hay- 
market,  tusks,  teeth,  and  bones  of  the  elephant,  hippopotamus,  rhinoceros,  ox,  &c,  were  obtained, 
specimens  of  some  of  which  are  preserved  carefully  at  the  above-named  club.— S.  W.  Mylne,  F.&.S. 

In  Domesday-Book,  Westminster  is  designated  a  village,  with  about  50  holders  of 
land,  and  "  pannage  for  a  hundred  hogs,"  probably  in  part  of  the  forest  of  Middlesex, 
on  the  north-west ;  so  that  the  Liberty  of  Westminster  thus  early  extended  northward 
to  Tyburn  :  the  whole  of  the  Abbey  and  Palace  precinct,  south  of  Pall  Mall,  was  called 
by  the  Normans,  "  Thorney  Island  and  tout  le  champ."  In  Domesday,  also,  occurs  "  the 
vineyard  lately  made  by  Baynard,"  a  nobleman  that  came  in  with  William  the  Con- 
queror. Westward,  the  parish  of  St.  Margaret's  extends  to  Chelsea,  and  includes 
Kensington  Palace.  In  1174,  Fitzstephen  describes  the  Royal  Palace  as  about  two 
miles  westward  of  the  City  of  London,  with  an  intervening  suburb  of  gardens  and 
orchards.  Around  the  Old  Palace  the  courtiers  and  nobility  fixed  their  town  residences. 
The  establishment  of  the  Woolstaple  at  Westminster  made  it  the  early  resort  of 
merchants ;  the  Law  Courts  were  fixed  here,  and  thenceforth  Parliaments  were  more 
frequently  held ;  and  in  the  reign  of  Henry  VIII.,  Westminster  obtained  the  title  of 
City,  from  its  having  been  for  a  short  time  the  residence  and  see  of  a  bishop.  St. 
Martin's-in-the- Fields  became  a  parish  1353-61. 

Early  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Elizabeth,  about  1560,  a  plan  shows  Westminster  united 
to  London  by  a  double  line  of  buildings,  extending  from  the  palace  of  Whitehall  (built 
by  Henry  III.),  by  Charing  Cross  and  along  the  Strand.  Around  Westminster  Abbey 
and  Hall,  the  buildings  formed  a  town  of  several  streets ;  and  at  the  close  of  Charles 
II.'s  reign  they  had  extended  westward  along  the  south  side  of  St.  James's  Park;  and 
southward  along  Millbank  to  the  Horseferry  opposite  Lambeth  Palace.  In  the  reign 
of  Elizabeth,  Westminster  was  the  abode  of  great  numbers  of  felons,  masterless  men, 
and  cutpurses ;  and  in  the  next  reign,  "  almost  every  fourth  house  was  an  alehouse, 
harbering  all  sorts  of  lewd  and  badde  people."  To  the  church  of  St.  Margaret 
(originally  built  by  Edward  the  Confessor)  was  added,  in  1728,  St.  John's  near  Mill- 
bank  ;  and  in  1747  was  completed  Westminster  Bridge.  The  old  streets  were  so 
narrow,  that  "  opposite  neighbours  might  shake  hands  out  of  the  windows ;"  and  a 
knot  of  wretched  lanes  and  alleys  were  called  "  the  desert  of  Westminster."  Among 
the  old  Westminster  signs,  mentioned  in  the  parish-books,  are  The  Rose  (the  Tudor 
badge) ;  The  Lamb  and  the  Saracen's  Head  (Crusades) ;  and  The  White  Hart  (Richard 
II.),  to  this  day  the  sign  of  Elliot's  Brewery  at  Pimlico.  Westminster  is  governed 
by  a  High-Steward  and  a  High-Bailiff.  The  first  High-Steward  was  the  great  Lord 
Burghley.     The  City  has  returned  two  members  to  Parliament  since  1  Edward  VI. 

Abingdon-street  has  been  built  in  place  of  Dirty-lane.  Almonry,  the  {see  p.  6), 
has  disappeared.  St.  Anne's-lane,  named  from  the  Chapel  of  the  Mother  of  Our 
Lady,  was  part  of  the  orchard  and  fruit-gardens  of  the  Abbey.  Henry  Purcell  and 
Dr.  Heather,  the  famous  musicians,  lived  here.  Artillery-place  was  the  ground  for 
the  men  of  Westminster's  shooting  at  "  the  butts ;"  and  early  in  the  last  century  it 
was  "  made  use  of  by  those  who  delight  in  military  exercises." 


822  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Barton-street  was  built  by  Barton  Booth,  the  celebrated  actor ;  and  Cowley -street 
is  named  from  Cowley,  in  Middlesex,  where  Booth  resided.  Broadway,  west  of 
Tothill-street,  was  granted  as  a  hay-market  by  James  I.  and  Charles  II.  Here  were 
"  the  White  Horse  and  Black  Morse  Inns  j  there  being  none  in  the  parish  of  St. 
Margaret  at  Westminster  for  stage-coaches,  waggons,  or  carriers."  (Survey,  circ. 
1700.)  In  one  of  the  Broadway  courts  lodged  Turpin,  the  highwayman ;  and  from 
his  mare,  Black  Bess,  a  tavern  took  its  sign.  In  the  Broadway  lived  Sir  John  Hill, 
the  empiric,  of  physic-garden  fame.     (See  Cheistchttech,  Broadway,  p.  156.) 

Canon-row  formerly  extended  from  the  Woolstaple  northward  to  the  south  wall  of 

the  orchard  of  Whitehall.     It  is  named  from  the  dean  and  canons  of  St.  Stephen's  Chapel 

lodging  there. 

"'Twas  the  old  way  when  the  King  of  England  had  his  house,  there  were  canons  to  sing  service  in 
his  chapel ;  so  at  Westminster  i3  St.  Stephen's  Chapel  (where  the  House  of  Commons  sits)  from  which 
canons  the  street  called  Canon-row  has  its  name,  because  they  lived  there." — Selden's  Table-talk. 

It  has  been  vulgarly  called  Channel-row,  and  in  our  time  Cannon-row.  Upon  the  site 
of  the  canon's  houses  were  built  several  mansions,  the  gardens  of  which  reached  to  the 
Thames  :  for  one  of  these  the  Comptroller  of  the  Household  of  Edward  VI.  paid  only 
30,?.  annually.  Here  Anne  Duchess  of  Somerset,  sister-in-law  to  Queen  Katherine 
Parr,  built  a  stately  house,  wherein  Anne  Clifford,  Countess  of  Dorset,  Was  born  in 
1590 :  upon  this  site  is  Dorset-court.  In  1618,  William  Earl  of  Derby  built  here  a 
mansion,  which  was  surrendered  to  Parliament  temp.  Charles  I. ;  and  here  died,  in 
1643,  John  Pym,  their  patriotic  leader :  the  house  was  temporarily,  in  the  reign  of 
Charles  II.,  the  Admiralty  Office ;  it  occupied  the  site  of  Derby-court.  In  Canon-row 
lived  Lady  Wheler,  to  whom  Charles  I.,  two  days  before  his  execution,  sent,  by  his 
attendant  Herbert,  a  token-ring :  the  lady  handed  him  a  cabinet,  with  which  he  returned 
to  the  King,  who  opened  it  on  the  morning  of  his  execution  j  it  contained  diamonds  and 
jewels,  most  part  broken  Georges  and  garters:  "You  see,"  said  he,  "all  the  wealth 
now  in  my  power  to  give  my  children."  Here  is  the  Office  of  the  Board  of  Control 
for  the  Affairs  of  India,  originally  built  for  the  Ordnance  Office,  by  William  Atkin- 
son :  "  the  Ionic  portico  of  this  chaste  and  fine  building  is  one  of  the  best  proportioned 
and  best  applied  in  the  metropolis"  (Elmes).  Manchester-buildings  occupy  the  site  of 
a  mansion  of  the  Montagues,  Earls  of  Manchester.  Charles-street :  at  No.  19  lived 
Ignatius  Sancho,  a  negro,  who  had  been  butler  to  the  Duke  of  Montague,  and  gave  his 
last  shilling  to  see  Garrick  play  Richard  III.  Here  Garrick  and  Sterne  visited  him ; 
and  Mortimer,  the  painter,  often  consulted  him. 

Dean's-yard,  south-west  of  the  Abbey,  has  a  green,  or  playground,  for  the  West- 
minster Scholars,  whereon  have  played,  in  "careless  childhood,"  Ben  Jonson,  George 
Herbert,  Cowley,  Dryden,  Nat.  Lee,  Rowe,  Prior,  Churchill,  Dyer,  Cowper,  and 
Southey;  Hakluyt,  the  voyager;  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  Locke,  South,  Atterbury, 
Warren  Hastings,  and  Gibbon.  In  Dean's-yard  lived  Sir  Symonds  d'Ewes,  the  anti- 
quary, who  delighted  in  bell-ringing.  Bishop  Wilcocks,  whom  Pope  Clement  VIII. 
tailed  "  the  blessed  heretic,"  was  born  in  Dean's-yard  in  1673 ;  in  the  cloisters,  in 
1708,  died  the  excellent  Bishop  Beveridgej  Carte,  the  Jacobite  historian,  lived  in 
Dean's-yard,  where  Mrs.  Porter,  Gibbon's  aunt,  built  and  occupied  a  boarding-house. 
In  Little  Dean's-yard  is  Ashbuenham  House,  described  at  p.  444.  Downing- 
street  is  described  at  p.  807.  Duke-street,  "a  spacious  and  pleasant  street  between  St. 
James's  Park  N.,  and  Long  Ditch  S.,  mostly  (especially  the  W.  side)  inhabited  by 
persons  of  quality  "  (Satton,  1708).  In  a  house  facing  Charles-street  lived  the  poet 
Prior.  Bishop  Stillingfleet,  author  of  Origines  Britannica,  died  here  1699 ;  Archbishop 
Hutton,  1758 ;  and  Dr.  Arnold,  the  musical  composer,  1802.  Dtjke-stbeet  Chapel  is 
described  at  p.  210.*  At  the  corner  of  the  south  end  of  Delahay-street  and  Great 
George-street  lived  Lady  Augusta  Murray,  "  Duchess  of  Sussex." 

*  The  chapel  was  a  portion  of  the  magnificent  house  built  for  Lord  Chancellor  Jeffreys,  upon  a  plot 
of  ground  which  he  obtained  by  grant  from  Charles  II.,  on  the  east  side  of  St.  James's  I'ark.  "As 
soon  as  the  building  was  completed,  the  architect,  of  course,  called  upon  him  for  payment,  but  was  put 
off;  he  called  again  and  again,  but  never  could  see  him,  and  was  often  repulsed  from  his  gate  by  the 
porter,  with  rudeness  and  ill  language.  The  general  character  and  despotic  power  of  Jeffreys  pre- 
vented the  architect  from  taking  any  legal  steps  in  the  business,  till  Jeffreys'  power  began  to  wane 


WESTMINSTER.  823 


Fludyer-street,  between  King-street  and  St.  James's  Park,  was  named  from  Sir 
Samuel  Fludyer,  Bart.,  the  ground-landlord,  who,  when  lord-major  in  1761,  enter- 
tained George  III.  and  Queen  Charlotte  at  Guildhall.  Fludyer-street  occupied  the 
site  of  Axe-yard,  from  the  Axe  brewhouse,  named  in  a  document  23  Hen.  VIII.  Pepys 
had  a  house  here.  Fludyer-street  has  been  taken  down  for  the  site  of  the  new  Govern- 
ment offices. 

Gardener' 's-lane  extends  from  Duke-street  to  King-street :  here  died,  in  1677,  Wen- 
ceslaus  Hollar,  the  celebrated  engraver,  aged  70,  at  the  moment  when  he  had  an  execu- 
tion in  his  house ;  he  desired  of  the  sheriffs  officers  "  only  the  liberty  of  dying  in  his  bed, 
and  that  he  might  not  be  removed  to  any  other  prison  but  his  grave"  (Oldys).  He 
was  buried  in  the  New  Chapel  yard,  near  the  place  of  his  death ;  and  no  monument 
was  erected  to  his  memory.  Hollar  engraved  2400  prints,  and  worked  for  the  book- 
sellers at  4d.  per  hour ;  yet  his  finest  prints  bring  rare  prices.  The  Gatehouse  is 
described  at  p.  373.  Great  George-street,  named  from  the  House  of  Hanover,  was 
completed  in  1750 :  the  site  was  an  arm  of  the  Thames,  when  the  tide  flowed  up  from 
Bridge-street  to  the  canal  in  St.  James's  Park.  Here  was  Storey's  Gate,  named  from 
Edward  Storey,  who  constructed  the  decoys  in  St.  James's  Park  for  Charles  II.,  and 
who  lived  upon  the  site :  this  gate  was  taken  down  in  1854.  At  No.  15,  Great 
George-street,  died  Lord  Chancellor  Thurlow,  1806.  At  No.  25  (then  Sir  Edward 
Knatchbull's)  the  body  of  Lord  Byron  lay  in  state  two  days,  before  it  was  removed, 
July  12,  1824,  for  interment  at  Hucknall,  Notts.  No.  25,  Great  George-street, 
has  a  handsome  architectural  front,  and  is  now  the  Institution  of  Civil  Engineers 
(see  Libraries,  p.  517 ;  and  Museums,  p.  592).  At  No.  24  the  Reform  Club  was 
commenced ;  and  here  subsequently  lived  Alderman  Sir  Matthew  Wood,  Bart.,  M.P. 
At  the  corner  of  the  street,  facing  St.  Margaret's  Churchyard,  is  the  magnificent 
Buxton  Memorial  Drinking  Fountain,  described  at  p.  358. 

Horseferry  (the)  is  described  at  p.  433. 

James-street  is  described  at  p.  479.  It  was  partly  taken  down  in  1854  for  the 
Pimlico  improvements,  and  the  offices  of  the  Duchy  of  Cornwall. 

In  1763  there  were  but  few  houses  in  James-street,  and  none  behind  it;  nor  any  filthy  courts 
betwen  Petty  France  and  the  Park ;  nor  any  buildings  in  Palmer's  Village,  or  in  Tothill-uclds,  or  on 
the  Artillery-ground,  or  to  the  south  of  Market-street.— Bardwell. 

King-street  was  the  principal  street  of  Westminster  temp.  Henry  VIII.,  with 
Cockpit-gate  at  the  north  end,  and  High-gate  south.  Here  the  poet  Spenser  died 
"  for  lake  of  bread,"  in  an  obscure  lodging,  Jan.  16,  1599 ;  here  also  died  Sir  Thomas 
Knevett,  who  seized  Guy  Fawkes.  Cromwell  lived  here  when  member  of  Parliament, 
north  of  Blue  Boar's  Head-yard.  Dr.  Sydenham  lived  upon  the  site  of  Barn's  Mews. 
Near  the  south  end,  on  the  west  side,  was  Thieven-  (Thieves)  lane*  the  passage  for 
thieves  to  the  Gatehouse  prison,  so  that  they  might  not  escape  into  the  Sanctuary. 
The  roadway  was  so  bad,  that  faggots  were  thrown  into  the  ruts  to  facilitate  the  passage 
of  the  state-coach  when  the  Sovereign  went  to  Parliament.  Here,  at  the  Bell  Tavern, 
met  the  October  (Queen  Anne)  Club.  Here  lodged  the  poet  Carew,  who  wrote  the 
masque  of  Caelum  Britannicum  for  Charles  I.  Through  King-street,  Elizabeth  and 
James  and  Charles  I.  proceeded  to  the  Houses  of  Parliament  in  their  state-coaches ; 
and  the  republicans  of  Cromwell's  days  on  foot  and  horseback.  After  the  burning  of 
Whitehall  Palace,  a  broader  road  was  made  by  Parliament-street.  Cromwell,  when  he 
went  to  Ireland  in  1649,  took  horse  at  his  house  in  King-street. 

Cromwell  lived  on  the  west  side  of  the  street,  in  a  house,  the  precise  situation  of  which  is  thus  pre- 
served in  a  communication  to  Cunningham's  Handbook  of  London,  1850 : — 

upon  the  first  flight  of  King  James.  He  then  made  his  way  into  Jeffreys'  study,  saw  him,  and  pressed 
for  his  money  in  very  urgent  terms.  Jeffreys  appeared  all  humble  and  much  confused,  made  many 
apolosdes  for  not  settling  the  matter  before,  said  he  had  many  weighty  affairs  pressing  on  his  mind  at 
that  time ;  but  if  he  would  call  the  Tuesday  following  it  should  be  finally  settled.  The  architect  went 
away  after  this  promise:  but  between  that  and  Tuesday,  Jeffreys,  in  endeavouring  to  make  his  escape 
from  England,  was  found  out,  reviled,  and  much  bruised  by  the  populace." — European  Magazine,  1795, 
p.  2A8.  Part  of  the  then  "  magnificent  house"  is  No.  23,  Duke-street,  with  passage  and  steps  leading 
to  the  chapel  and  park.  There,  after  the  terrible  judge's  sudden  fall,  as  Macaulay  tells  us,  the  exultant 
rabble  congregated,  and  read  on  the  door,  with  shouts  of  laughter,  the  bills  which  announced  the  sale 
of  his  property. 

*  Thieven  or  Thieving-lane  was  also  called  Bow-street,  from  its  bowed  line ;  and  Bow-street,  Covcnt 
Garden,  to  this  day  the  terror  of  thieves. 


824  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

"  Shortly  before  the  great  Trial,  in  1838,  between  the  parish  of  St.  Margaret  and  the  inhabitants  of 
Privy-gardens,  a  very  rigid  examination  of  the  old  parochial  rate-books  took  place;  and  in  one  of  them 
Lieutenant-General  Oliver  Cromwell  was  found  rated  for  a  house  in  King-street,  which  was  ascertained, 
with  as  much  certainty  as  the  extensive  alterations  in  the  vicinity  would  admit,  to  be  one  of  two  very 
ancient  tenements  lying  between  the  north  side  of  the  gateway  entrance  to  Blue  Boar's  Head-yard  and 
the  wall  of  Rams'-mews ;  and  there  was  strong  ground  for  believing  that  the  two  ancient  tenements 
had  originally  been  one.  These  tenements,  as  well  as  the  Blue  Soar's  Head  public-house,  situated  on 
the  south  side  of  the  gateway,  and  a  portion  of  the  stable-yard  behind,  for  a  distance  of  about  two  or 
three  hundred  feet  from  King-street,  are  the  property  of  one  of  the  colleges  at  Oxford.  The  public- 
house  (Blue  Boar's  Head),  as  rebuilt  about  1750,  is  now  (1850)  standing." — George  H.  Malone. 

In  the  Cole  MSS.  in  the  British  Museum  is  a  copy  of  a  letter  of  Cromwell  to  his  wife  from  Dunbar, 
Sept.  4, 1650,  addressed  to  her  in  this  street. 

At  the  north  end  of  King-street  was  built,  by  Henry  VIII.,  the  Westminster  or  King's 
Gate,  of  stone,  as  a  communication,  by  a  passage  over  it,  of  Whitehall  Palace  with  the 
Park :  it  was  of  Tudor  design,  with  four  round-capped  turrets :  each  front  was 
enriched  with  Ionic  pilasters  and  an  entablature,  roses,  the  portcullis,  and  the  royal 
arms,  and  glazed  biscuit-ware  busts.  In  this  Gatehouse  lived  the  Earl  of  Rochester 
and  Herr  von  Auls  :  it  was  taken  down  in  1723. 

'  Millbank-street,  in  1745  called  the  High,  street  at  Millbank,  was  named  from  the 
Abbey  water-mill,  built  by  Nicholas  Litlington,  at  the  end  of  the  present  College- 
street,  and  turned  by  the  stream  which  flowed  by  the  Infirmary  garden-wall  eastward 
into  the  Thames  (Walcott).  Upon  the  site  of  the  mill  was  built  Peterborough  House, 
by  the  first  Earl  of  Peterborough,  in  the  reign  of  Charles  I.,  and  shown  in  Hollar's  Map 
of  London,  1708.  Stow  describes  the  mansion  with  a  large  front  court,  and  fine  gardens 
behind ;  "  but  its  situation  was  bleak  in  winter,  and  not  over-heaithful."  The  house 
was  purchased  by  the  Grosvenor  family,  and  rebuilt :  it  was  taken  down  in  1809.  In  the 
middle  of  Millbank  lived  Mr.  Vidler,  the  Government  contractor :  hence  the  mail-coach 
procession  started  annually  on  the  king's  birthday.  The  Penitentiary,  at  Millbank-,  is 
described  at  p.  697.     In  New-way,  adjoining,  was  a  chapel  where  Eomaine  preached. 

Palace-yard,  New,  is  named  from  William  Rufus's  intended  new  palace,  of  which  the 
hall  only  was  built ;  here  was  a  beautiful  Conduit,  removed  temp.  Charles  II.  Opposite 
Westminster  Hall  gate,  temp.  Edward  I.,  Lord  Chief- Justice  Hengham  built  a  large 
stone  clock-tower,  taken  down  1698.  In  this  yard  King  Edward  I.  appealed  to  the 
loyalty  of  his  people,  from  a  platform  erected  against  the  front  ot  Westminster  Hall,  in 
1297;  here  Perkin  Warbeck  was  set  in  the  stocks,  in  1498;  Stubbs,  the  Puritan 
attorney,  and  his  servant,  had  their  hands  cut  off  in  New  Palace-yard,  in  1580,  for  a 
libel  against  Queen  Elizabeth ;  and  William  Parry  was  here  hung  and  quartered  for 
high  treason,  in  1578 ;  here  Lord  Sanquhar  was  hanged  for  murder,  1612 ;  Archbishop 
Leighton's  father  was  pilloried  and  publicly  whipped  for  libel,  1630 ;  William  Prynne 
was  pilloried  here,  and  his  Histrio-Mastix  burned,  1634 ;  here  the  Duke  of  Hamilton, 
the  Earl  of  Holland,  and  Lord  Capel,  were  put  to  death  for  treason,  in  1649 ;  Titus 
Oates  was  pilloried  here  in  1685 ;  and  John  Williams,  in  1765,  for  publishing  No.  45 
of  Wilkes's  North  Briton.  Here  was  the  lurk's  Head,  Miles's  Coffee-house,  where 
the  noted  Rota  Club  met,  whose  republican  opinions  Harrington  has  glorified  in  his 
Oceana.  The  Tudor  buildings  of  the  old  Palace  were  principally  taken  down  in  1793 ; 
but  a  range,  including  the  Star  Chamber,  on  the  eastern  side  of  the  court,  were  not 
removed  until  1836 :  they  are  described  at  p.  450.  At  his  official  residence,  east  of 
Westminster  Hall  porch,  died  William  Godwin,  the  novelist,  April  7,  1836,  aged  81. 
Palace-yard,  Old,  south-west  of  the  Houses  of  Parliament,  had  on  the  west  the  old 
Lady  Chapel  of  the  Abbey,  and  abutting  upon,  it  the  White  Pose  Tavern,  and  the 
house  of  Chaucer,  in  which  he  died  (the  site  is  now  occupied  by  the  mausoleum  of 
Henry  VII.) ;  and  in  a  house  between  the  churchyard  and  the  Old  Palace  died  Ben 
Jonson ;  so  that  two  of  England's  greatest  poets  died  almost  upon  the  same  spot.  At 
the  south-east  corner  of  Old  Palace-yard  stood  the  house  through  which  the  conspirators 
in  the  Gunpowder  Plot  carried  their  barrels  into  the  vault ;  and  in  the  Yard,  Guy 
Eawkes,  Winter,  Rookwood,  and  Keyes,  suffered  death  in  1606.  Here,  29th  Oct.  161S, 
Sir  Walter  Raleigh  was  executed  at  eight  in  the  morning  of  Lord  Mayor's  Day,  "  so  that 
the  pageants  and  fine  shewes  might  draw  away  the  people  from  beholding  the  tragedie 
of  one  of  the  gallantest  worthies  that  ever  England  bred."  In  the  Pepysian  Collection 
at  Cambridge  is  a  Ballad  with  the  following  title :  "  Sir  Walter  Rauleigh  his  Lamenta- 
tion, who  was  beheaded  in  the  Old  Pallace  of  Westminster  the  29  of  October  1618. 
To  the  tune  of  Welladay." 

¥ 


WESTMINSTER.  825 


Palmer's  Village,  west  of  the  Almonry,  was  a  low-lying  district  (12§  inches  below 
high-water  mark),  consisting  of  straggling  cottages  around  the  twelve  almshouses  built 
in  1566  by  the  Rev.  Edward  Palmer,  B.D.,  with  a  chapel  and  school  attached.  Forty 
years  since,  here  was  an  old  wayside  inn  (the  Prince  of  Orange),  rows  of  cottages 
with  gardens,  and  the  village-green,  upon  which  the  Maypole  was  annually  set  up :  this 
rurality  has  now  disappeared,  and  with  it  from  maps  and  plans  the  name  of  "  Palmer's 
Village."  Park-street,  built  circ.  1708,  northward  from  Carteret-street,  making  it 
like  a  T,  contains  the  house  of  Mr.  Charles  Townley,  who,  in  1772,  assembled  here  his 
first  collection  of  marbles,  terra-cottas,  bronzes,  &c,  commenced  in  1768  at  Eome. 
(See  British  Museum,  p.  579.)  Mr.  Townley  died  here  3rd  January,  1805.  The 
house  and  collections  are  well  described  by  J.  T.  Smith,  in  Nollelcens  and  his  Times, 
vol.  i.  pp.  261-266.  "  The  late  Eoyal  Cockpit,  which  afforded  Hogarth  an  excellent 
scene  for  his  humour,  remained  a  next-door  noisy  nuisance  to  Mr.  Townley  for  many 
years."  Petty  France  {Petit  France,  Hatton,  1708),  and  now  York-street,  from 
Frederick  Duke  of  York,  son  of  George  II.,  having  temporarily  resided  here,  extends 
from  Tothill-street  to  James-street.  In  Petty  France  was  Milton's  pleasant  garden- 
house,  described  at  p.  654.  Prince' s-street  was  formerly  Long  Ditch :  here  was  an 
ancient  conduit,  the  site  of  which  is  now  marked  by  a  pump ;  at  the  bottom  of  the 
well  is  a  black  marble  image  of  St.  Peter,  and  some  marble  steps.  The  southern 
extremity  of  this  street  was  called  Broken  Cross:  here,  about  the  middle  of  last 
century,  was  the  most  ancient  house  in  Westminster.  Upon  the  east  side  of  the  street 
was  built  Her  Majesty's  Neio  Stationery  Office,  in  neat  Italian  style,  in  1854,  upon 
the  site  of  the  Westminster  Mews.  In  Prince' s-court,  at  the  south  end  of  the  street, 
lived  the  notorious  politician,  John  Wilkes,  in  1788. 

Queen-square  is  described  at  p.  751.  In  Queen-street  was  born,  in  1642,  James 
Tyrrell  (a  grandson  of  Archbishop  Ussher) ;  he  wrote  a  History  of  England,  3  vols, 
folio,  valuable  for  its  exact  references  to  the  ancient  chronicles. 

Rochester-row  is  named  from  the  Bishops  of  Rochester,  who  were  also  Deans  of 
Westminster.  Here  are  Emery  Hill's  Almshouses;  and  opposite  are  the  Church  of  St. 
Stephen,  and  Schools,  built  and  endowed  by  the  munificence  of  Miss  Angela  Burdett 
Coutts.     (See  p.  203.) 

Sanctuary  (the)  of  Westminster  Abbey  is  described  as  the  space  by  St.  Margaret's 
churchyard,  between  the  old  Gatehouse  S.W.,  and  King-street  N.E.  The  right  of 
sanctuary — i.e.,  protection  to  criminals  and  debtors  from  arrest — was  retained  by  West- 
minster after  the  Dissolution  in  1540;  and  "sanctuary  men"  were  allowed  to  use  a 
whittle  only  at  their  meals,  and  compelled  to  wear  a  badge.  The  privilege  of  sanctuary 
caused  the  houses  within  the  precinct  to  let  for  high  rents ;  but  it  was  totally  abolished 
by  James  I.  in  1623 :  it  is  called  by  Fabyan,  "  the  Seyntwary  before  the  Abbey." 
Here  were  two  cruciform  churches,  built  one  above  the  other,  the  lower  a  double  cross ; 
the  upper,  the  Rev.  Mr.  Walcott  thinks,  for  the  debtors  and  inhabitants  of  the  Broad 
and  the  Little  Sanctuaries;  the  lower  for  criminals.  "They  could  not  leave  the 
precinct  without  the  Dean's  licence,  or  between  sunset  and  sunrise."  In  Little 
Sanctuary  was  the  Three  Tuns  Tavern,  built  upon  part  of  the  church  vaults,  which 
served  as  the  inn-cellar.  The  tower  of  the  church,  rebuilt  by  Edward  II.,  contained 
three  bells,  the  ringing  of  which  "  sowered  all  the  drinke  in  the  town."  The  church 
was  demolished  in  1750.  Fifty  years  later  was  removed  from  Broad  Sanctuary  the 
old  market-house,  built  in  1568 ;  and  .upon  the  site  was  erected,  in  1805,  the  present 
Guildhall,  with  a  Doric  vestibule,  S.  P.  Cockerell  architect.  Here  also  are  the  Office 
and  Central  Schools  of  the  National  Society ,•  the  Westminster  Hospital,  built  1833. 
The  Sanctuary  churches  are  dt  scribed  by  Dr.  Stukeley,  who  remembered  their  standing 
(Archceologia,  i.  p.  39).  There  were  other  sanctuaries  in  London ;  but  the  Westminster 
site  alone  retains  its  ancient  name. 

Here  Judge  Tresilian  (temp.  Richard  II.)  fled,  but  was  dragged  to  Tyburn  and  hanged.  In  1441, 
Eleanor  Cobham,  Duchess  of  Gloucester,  accused  of  witchcraft  and  treason,  was  denied  refuge.  In 
1460,  Lord  Scales,  as  he  was  seeking  sanctuary  here,  was  murdered  on  the  Thames.  Elizabeth 
VVoodville,  queen  of  Edward  IV.,  and  her  family,  escaped  from  the  Tower,  and  registered  themselves 
"sanctuary  women;"  and  here,  "in  great  penury,  ljrsaken  of  all  friends,"  she  gave  birth  to  Edward  V. 
More  describes  her  sitting  "  alow  on  the  rushes,"  in  her  grief.  The  Register  of  the  Sanctuary,  Gough 
states,  was  bought  out  of  Sir  Henry  Spelman's  Collection,  by  Wanley,  the  antiquary,  for  Lord  Wey- 
mouth, and  is  preserved  in  the  library  at  Longleat. 


826  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  vacant  ground  was  let,  in  1821,  to  speculators  in  seats  to  view  the  coronation- 
procession  of  George  IV.,  upon  a  raised  platform,  from  Westminster  Abbey  to  West- 
minster Hall.  In  1854  was  built,  adjoining  the  west  end  of  the  Abbey,  a  block  of 
houses  in  the  Mediaeval  style,  G.  G.  Scott,  R.A.,  architect ;  the  centre  opening  being  the 
entrance  to  Dean's-yard.  Here  is  the  same  architect's  picturesque  Memorial  to 
the  "  Old  Westminsters"  who  perished  in  the  Crimean  War. 

Tothill  Fields,  between  Pimlico  and  the  Thames,  anciently  the  manor  of  Tothill, 
belonged  to  John  Maunsel,  chancellor,  who,  in  1256,  entertained  here  Henry  III.  and 
his  court,  at  a  vast  feast  in  tents  and  pavilions.  The  Normans  called  this  district  tout 
le  champ,  which  is  thought  to  have  been  clipped  into  tout  le,  and  then  corrupted  into 
toutle  and  Tot-hill.  (Bardwell.)  It  occurs,  however,  in  an  ancient  lease  as  Toot-hill 
or  Beacon  Field,*  which  Mr.  Hudson  Turner  suggested  to  Mr.  Cunningham  as  the 
probable  origin.  The  Rev.  Mr.  Walcott  restricts  it  within  the  Sanctuary  of  the  Abbey. 
At  the  Tothill  were  decided  wagers  of  battle  and  appeals  by  combat,  Necromancy, 
sorcery,  and  witchcraft  were  punished  here  j  and  "  royal  solemnities  and  goodly  jousts 
were  held  here."  In  Culpepper's  time  the  fields  were  famous  for  parsley.  In  1642 
a  battery  and  breastwork  were  here  erected.  Here  were  built  the  "  Five  Houses,"  or 
"  Seven  Chimneys,"  as  pest-houses  for  victims  to  the  Plague ;  and  in  1665  the  dead 
were  buried  "  in  the  open  Tuttle  Fields."  The  Fields  are  described  as  of  great  use, 
pleasure,  and  recreation  to  the  king's  scholars  and  neighbours;  and  in  1672  the  parish 
made  here  a  new  Maze,  which  was  "  much  frequented  in  summer  time  in  fair  after- 
noons." (Aubrey.)  In  Queen  Anne's  reign,  here  was  William  Well's  bear-garden, 
upon  the  site  of  Vincent-square.  St.  Edward's  fair  was  removed  from  St.  Margaret's 
churchyard  to  Tothill  Fields,  34  Hen.  III.,  who  granted  the  Abbot  of  Westminster 
"  leave  to  keepe  a  markette  in  the  Tuthill  every  Munday,  and  a  faire  every  yeare  for 
three  days ;"  and  Edward  III.  granted  a  fair  of  thirty-one  days.  Both  fairs  were  sup- 
pressed by  James  I.  Here,  in  1651,  the  Trained  Bands  were  drawn  out ;  and  in  the 
same  year,  Heath's  Chronicle  records  the  Scotch  prisoners  "  driven  like  a  herd  of  swine 
through  Westminster  to  Tuthill  Fields,  and  there  sold  to  several  merchants,  and  sent 
to  the  Barbadoes."  One  of  "  the  Civil  War  Tracts  of  Lancashire,"  printed  by  the 
Chetham  Society,  states  there  were  "  4000  Scots,  Highlands,  or  Redshanks,"  many 
with  their  wives  and  bairns,  of  whom  1200  were  buried  in  Tuttle  Fields.  The  fields  next 
became  a  noted  duel-ground :  here,  in  1711,  Sir  Cholmeley  Dering,  M.P.,  was  killed 
by  the  first  shot  of  Mr.  Richard  Thornhill,  who  was  tried  for  murder  and  acquitted, 
but  found  guilty  of  manslaughter,  and  was  burnt  in  the  hand.  Here  also  was  an 
ancient  Bridewell  (see  p.  704). 

Tothill-street,  extending  from  Broad  Sanctuary  to  York-street,  has  lost  most  of  its 
picturesque  old  houses.  In  Tothill-street  lived  the  Bishop  of  Chester,  1488 ;  William 
Lord  Grey  of  Wilton,  "  the  greatest  soldier  of  the  nobility,"  died  1563  ;  Sir  George 
Carew,  at  Caron  House,  1612  j  and  Lincoln  House  was  the  Office  of  the  Revels,  1664. 
Southerne,  the  dramatic  poet,  lived  ten  years  at  No.  56,  then  as  now,  an  oilman's  :  it 
bears  the  date  1671.  Betterton,  the  actor,  was  born  in  this  street.  In  the  reign  of 
Elizabeth,  the  houses  on  the  north  side  had  gardens  extending  to  the  Park  ;  and  those 
on  the  south  to  Orchard-street,  once  the  orchard-garden  of  the  Abbey.  Here,  in  1789, 
died,  aged  97,  Thomas  Amory,  who  wrote  the  Memoirs  of  John  Buncle.  Of  the 
Fleece  public-house,  No.  70,  a  token  exists,  date  1666.  The  old  Cock  public-house, 
taken  down  in  1853,  is  described  at  p.  453.  Tufton-street  was  built  by  Sir  Richard 
Tufton  (d.  1631) :  here  was  a  cock-pit,  which  existed  long  after  that  in  St.  James's 
Park  was  deserted. 

Victoria-street,  commenced  by  the  Westminster  Improvement  Commission  in  1S45, 
extends  across  the  sites  of  the  Almonry,  Orchard-street,  Duck-lane,  New  Pye-street, 
and  part  of  Old  Pye-street  (named  from  Sir  Robert  Pye,  who  resided  here),  to  Strutton- 
ground,  named  from  Stourton-house,  the  mansion  of  the  Lords  Dacre  of  the  South. 
Thence  the  new  street  crosses  Artillery-place,  through  Palmer's  Village,  on  the  north 
side  of  Westminster  Bridewell,  past  Elliot's  Brewery,  to  Shaftesbury-terrace,  Pimlico. 
Victoria-street  is  above  1000  yards,  or  nearly  five  furlongs  in  length,  and  80  feet  wide : 

*  Others  refer  it  to  Toote  Hill,  shown  in  Kocque's  map  (1746),  just  at  a  bend  in  the  Horseferry-road, 
but  uow  lost  in  the  adjacent  made  ground 


WESTMINSTER  HALL.  827 

the  houses  are  82  feet  in  height ;  Henry  Ashton  architect.  The  ornamentation  of  the 
house-fronts,  worked  in  cement,  is  extremely  artistic :  the  interiors  are  mostly  arranged 
in  flats,  as  in  Edinburgh  and  Paris.'  In  the  line  of  street  are  the  three  churches  of 
St.  Mark,  the  Holy  Trinity,  and  Christchurch ;  and  at  the  north-west  rear  is  St. 
Andrew's  Church,  in  the  Geometrical  style ;  the  nave  aisles  showing  five  gables  on  each 
side,  filled  with  large  and  lofty  windows ;  architect,  G.  G.  Scott,  R.A. 

Vine-street  denotes  the  site  of  a  vineyard,  probably  that  of  the  Abbey.  In  the 
overseer's  book,  1565,  is  rated  "  the  vyne-garden  "  and  "  myll,"  next  to  Bowling-alley ; 
the  vine-garden  called  "  because,  perhaps,  vines  anciently  were  there  nourished,  and 
wine  made."  (Stow.)  In  Edward  VI.'s  time  it  was  inclosed  with  buildings.  Bowling- 
street  and  alley  denote  the  site  of  the  green  where  the  members  of  the  convent  played 
at  bowls.  Opposite  Bowling-alley  is  a  house  where  the  notorious  Colonel  Blood  died, 
Aug.  24,  1680:  upon  the  house-front  was  a  shield  with  a  coat  of  arms.  (Walcott.) 

Wood-street,  described  in  1720  as  "  very  narrow,  being  old  boarded  hovels  ready  to 
fall,"  has  disappeared.  Here  lived  John  Carter,  the  diligent  antiquary.  At  13,  North- 
street,  lived  Elliston,  the  comedian,  who  dearly  loved  his  art :  "  wherever  Elliston  walked, 
sat,  or  stood  still,  there  was  the  theatre."—-  ft  Lamb. 

Woolstaple  (the)  was,  in  1353,  appointed  for  weighing  all  the  wool  brought  to 
London.  The  Long  Staple  (upon  the  site  of  Bridge-street)  consisted  of  a  strong  round 
tower  and  a  water-gate,  which  was  destroyed  to  make  room  for  the  western  abutment 
of  Westminster  Bridge,  in  1741.  Here  was  St.  Stephen's  Hospital,  founded  by  Henry 
VIII.  in  1548,  and  removed  in  1745,  when  eight  almshouses  were  rebuilt  in  St.  Anne's- 
lane,  inscribed  "  Woolstaple  Pensioners,  1741."  In  1628,  in  the  overseers'  books  of 
St.  Margaret's,  is  rated  in  the  Woolstaple,  "  Orlando  Gibbons,  ijd." 

Westminster  Abbey. — In  1867,  a  Parliamentary  return  showed  that  the  Dean  and  Chapter  of 
Westminster  devote  to  the  maintenance  of  the  fabric  of  the  Abbey  one-fifteenth  part  of  the  whole 
divisible  income  of  the  capitular  body,  together  with  the  fees  received  for  monuments  placed  in  the 
Abbey,  and  the  profits  derived  from  the  sale  of  timber  on  the  capitular  estates.  In  the  last  six  years 
the  funds  thus  devoted  to  the  fabric  averaged  34122.  a  year.  In  the  same  six  years  the  money  taken  at 
the  Abbey  for  the  admission  of  persons  to  view  the  Royal  tombs  and  private  chapels  averaged  12922. 
a  year.  This  has  been  applied  first  in  payments  to  the  High  Constable  and  to  the  guides  who  show  the 
tombs  and  chapels,  and  there  has  been  an  average  annual  surplus  of  7252.  a  year,  which  has  been 
applied  to  ornamental  improvements  of  the  Abbey.  The  charge  for  viewing  the  tombs  and  chapels  is 
6rf.  for  each  person.  The  transepts  and  the  great  nave  of  the  Abbey  are  open  free  to  the  public 
all  day. 

Westminstee  Abbey  is  described  at  pp.  117-140. 

WESTMINSTER  HALL 

WAS  originally  added  to  the  ancient  Palace  at  Westminster  by  William  Rufus,  who 
held  his  first  court  herein,  1099.  In  1394-9  Richard  II.  had  its  walls  heightened 
two  feet,  the  windows  altered,  and  a  new  timber  roof  constructed,  from  the  design  of 
Henry  de  Yeveley,  who  was  master-mason  to  three  successive  kings,  and  to  Westmin- 
ster Abbey.  During  the  repairs  of  1835  the  work  of  the  two  kings  (William  II.  and 
Richard  II.)  was  distinguishable,  including  a  Norman  arcade  connecting  the  clerestory 
windows.  The  exterior  is  of  modern  design,  except  the  north  porch  and  window, 
which,  with  the  internal  stone-work  (except  the  south  end),  is  one  of  our  earliest  speci- 
mens of  the  Perpendicular  style,  and  is  thought  to  have  been  the  work  of  William  of 
Wykeham.  The  original  walls  (chiefly  rubble  and  grout-work)  were  then  cased  1  foot 
7  inches  thick  with  stone,  flying  buttresses  were  erected  as  abutments  on  the  east  and 
west  sides,  and  the  embattled  flanking  towers  and  porch  of  the  north  front  added  :  the 
towers  were  restored  1819-22.  The  roof  was  originally  covered  with  lead ;  for  which, 
on  account  of  its  immense  weight,  slates  were  substituted.  The  lantern,  of  cast-iron,  is 
an  exact  copy  of  the  original  one  erected  near  the  end  of  the  14th  century  :  it  is  glazed. 
The  interior  dimensions  of  Westminster  Hall  are  239  feet  by  68,  and  42  feet  high. 
The  immense  timber- framed  roof  is  one  of  the  finest  existing  examples  of  scientific  con- 
struction in  carpentry ;  its  only  bearing  being  at  the  extremities  of  the  great  ribs, 
which  abut  against  the  side  walls,  and  rest  upon  twenty-six  sculptured  stone  corbels. 
At  half  this  height  the  timber  arches  spring  from  the  stone  string-course,  sculptured 
•with  the  white  hart  couchant  under  a  tree,  and  other  devices  of  Richard  II. ;  so  that 


828  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

the  upper  half  of  the  height  of  the  edifice  is  entirely  of  timber  (oak),  unrivalled  for  its 

accurately  moulded  detail. 

A  record  in  St.  Michan's  Church,  verified  by  Hanmer's  Chronicle,  in  the  library  of  Trinity  College, 
Dublin,  states  that  the  roof  over  Westminster  Hall  was  constructed  with  timber  procured  from  the 
site  of  this  church;  and  clumps  of  trees  have  been  found  during  recent  excavations.  The  record 
states  -.  "  The  faire  greene  or  commune,  now  called  Ostomontowne-greene,  was  all  wood,  and  hee  that 
diggeth  at  this  day  to  any  depth  shall  iinde  the  grounde  full  of  great  rootes.  From  thence,  anno  1098, 
King  William  Rufus,  by  license  of  Murehard,  had  that  frame  which  made  up  the  roofes  of  Westminster 
Hall,  where  no  English  spider  webbeth  or  breedeth  to  this  day." — Proc.  Royal  Institute  Irish  Architects. 
Loudon,  however,  states  the  roof  to  be  of  British  oak,  quercus  sessiflora,  which  is  so  deficient  in  grain 
as  not  to  be  distinguishable,  at  first  sight,  from  chestnut. 

The  hammer-beams  are  sculptured  with  angels  bearing  shields  of  the  arms  of  Richard  II. 
or  Edward  the  Confessor,  which  show  the  excellence  that  sculpture  in  wood  had 
attained  in  England  so  early  as  the  fourteenth  century.  From  the  roof  were  formerly 
hung  "  guidons,  colours  and  standards,  ensigns  and  trophies  of  victory  f  in  Hatton's 
time  (1708),  138  colours  and  34  standards,  from  the  battles  of  Naseby  and  Worcester, 
Preston  and  Dunbar,  and  Blenheim :  Hatton  describes  fourteen,  with  their  mottoes 
Englished.  The  roof  was  thoroughly  repaired  in  1820-21,  when  forty  loads  of  oak, 
from  old  ships  broken  up  in  Portsmouth  Dockyard,  were  used  in  renewing  decayed 
parts,  and  completing  the  portion  at  the  north  end,  where  it  had  been  left  unfinished  ; 
the  roof  was  also  greatly  strengthened  by  tension-rods  added  to  the  principals  in  1851. 
Abutting  on  the  southern  end  was  the  Galilee,  finished  by  Edward  III.,  and  adapted 
by  Richard  II.  with  a  flight  of  steps  to  the  approach  from  the  Great  Hall  to  the  Chapel 
of  St.  Stephen  and  the  principal  chambers  of  the  Palace.  Above  the  side  line  of  windows 
are  dormers  (added  in  1820-21),  which  improve  the  chiaroscuro ;  and  above  are  aper- 
tures, opened  in  1843,  to  aid  the  effect  of  an  Exhibition  of  Cartoons.  The  Hall  now 
forms  the  vestibule  to  the  new  Houses  of  Parliament;  which  Sir  Charles  Barry 
effected  by  removing  the  large  window  from  the  south  end  to  form  an  archway  to  St. 
Stephen's  Porch,  wherein  he  fixed  the  Hall  window,  with  an  additional  transom  and 
row  of  lights.     (See  St.  Stephen's  Porch,  p.  662.) 

The  statues  by  John  Thomas,  flanking  the  archway  in  the  Hall,  are : 


Sir  Charles  Barry  contemplated  raising  the  roof  fourteen  feet,  closing  the  doors  of 
the  Law  Courts,  and  decorating  the  walls  with  frescoes,  &c.  The  heraldic  decorations 
of  the  corbels  and  string-course  are  described  by  Mr.  Willement  in  the  Collectanea 
Topogr.  et  Gen.  vol.  iii.  p.  55 ;  and  the  architectural  discoveries  in  1835  are  detailed 
by  Mr.  Sydney  Smirke  in  Archceologia,  vols.  xxvi.  and  xxvii. 

The  floor  of  the  Hall,  from  its  low  level,  was  occasionally  flooded  by  the  Thames. 
Holinshed  mentions  two  floods  in  the  reign  of  Henry  III.,  in  1237,  when  he  says  boats 
might  have  been  rowed  up  and  down  ;  and  in  1242,  when  no  one  could  get  into  the 
Hall  except  they  were  set  on  horseback.  He  records  another,  1555,  when  the  Hall 
was  flooded  "  unto  the  stairfoot,  going  to  the  Chancerie  and  King's  Bench,  so  that 
when  the  Lord  Maior  of  London  should  come  to  present  the  Sheriffs  to  the  Barons 
of  the  Exchequer,  all  Westminster  Hall  was  full  of  water."  Also,  in  1579,  when  the 
water  rose  so  high  in  the  Hall  "  that,  after  the  fall  thereof,  some  fishes  were  found 
there  to  remain." — Stow.  These  visitations  were  repeated  in  the  last  century,  in 
1735  and  1791,  and  to  some  extent  even  so  lately  as  1841. 

The  kings  held  their  courts,  or,  as  it  was  called,  "  wore  their  crowns,"  at  the  time 
of  the  Conquest,  and  long  after,  but  not  in  Westminster  Hall  until  the  reign  of 
Henry  II.  By  a  clause  in  Magna  Charta,  15th  June,  1215,  it  was  declared  that 
"  Common  Pleas  shall  not  follow  the  Court,  but  shall  be  held  in  some  certain  place," 
doubtless  Westminster  Hall;  and  when  the  Aula  Regia  was  abolished,  the  present 
arrangement  of  the  Courts  of  Chanceryr,  King's  Bench,  and  Exchequer,  as  well  as  the 
Common  Pleas,  was  established,  with  separate  Judges  appointed  to  preside  over  each 
Court.     (Foss.) 


WESTMINSTER  HALL.  829 

"  In  the  reign  of  Charles  I.,  the  Kind's  Servants,  by  his  Majestie's  special  order,  went  to  West- 
minster Hall  in  Term-time,  to  invite  gentlemen  to  cat  of  the  King's  Acates  or  Viands ;  and  in  Parlia- 
ment-time, to  invite  the  Parliament  men  thereunto." — Delaune's  Anglias  Metropolis,  1690. 

"  The  Hall  itself  was  also  occasionally  used  as  a  high  court  of  criminal  justice  for  the 
solemn  trials  before  the  peers  of  great  delinquents,  impeached  by  the  House  of  Com- 
mons. One  of  the  earliest,  of  which  there  is  a  particular  account,  is  that  against 
Michael  de  la  Pole,  Earl  of  Suffolk,  Chief  Justice  Tresilian,  and  others,  in  the  reign  of 
Richard  II.,  which  king  himself  was  deposed  by  the  Parliament  in  this  same  Hall.  In 
subsequent  times  these  trials  often  took  place  before  commissioners  appointed  from 
among  the  peers,  assisted  by  some  of  the  judges  and  other  commoners.  Sir  Thomas 
More  and  Bishop  Fisher  were  tried  in  this  manner ;  but  it  is  doubtful  whether  the 
Great  Hall  was  used  on  these  occasions,  or  only  the  Court  of  King's  Bench.  Queen 
Anne  Boleyn's  trial  took  place  in  the  hall  on  a  '  scaffold '  there  erected.  There  is  a 
print  of  Westminster  Hall  as  it  was  prepared  for  the  trial  of  the  Earl  of  Strafford  in 
1640,  in  which  the  Queen  is  portrayed  as  looking  out  of  her  cupboard  upon  a  scene 
in  which  her  royal  consort  was  a  few  years  after  to  appear  as  a  condemned  prisoner." — 
W.  Foss ;  Paper  read  to  the  Archceological  Institute,  1866. 

Memorable  Trials  in  Westminsfer  Sail. — 1S0S,  Sir  William  Wallace  condemned  for  treason  (in 
Rufus's  Hall);  1417,  Sir  John  Oldcastle  the  Wickliffite;  1522,  Stafford,  Duke  of  Buckingham,  for 
treason ;  1535,  Sir  Thomas  More  arraigned  here ;  1551,  the  Protector  Somerset  brought  to  trial,  with 
"  bills,  halberts,  and  pole-axes  attending  him,"  the  clamour  of  the  people  "  heard  to  the  Long  Acre 
beyond  Charing  Crosse;"  1554,  Sir  Thomas  Wyat;  1557,  Lord  Stourton,  for  murder;  1600,  Kobert 
Devereux,  Karl  of  Essex ;  1606,  Guy  Fawkes  and  his  fellow-conspirators ;  1616,  the  profligate  Earl  and 
Countess  of  Somerset,  for  the  murder  of  Sir  Thomas  Ovcrbury;  1640  (18  days'  trial),  Wentworth,  Earl 
of  Strafford,  before  Charles  I.  and  his  queen;  1649,  King  Charles  I.  (in  1661,  the  Act  for  the  King's 
Trial  was  burned  by  the  common  hangman  in  the  Hall  while  the  court  was  sitting) ;  1688,  the  Seven 
Bishops;  1710,  Dr.  Sacheverell;  1716,  Viscount  Kenmure  and  the  Earl  of  Derwentwater ;  1746-47,  the 
rebel  Lords  Kilmarnock,  Balmerino,  and  Lovat;  1760,  Earl  Ferrers,  for  murder;  1776,  the  Duchess  of 
Kingston,  for  bigamy ;  1788  to  1795,  Warren  Hastings's  seven  years'  trial ;  1806,  Lord  Melville. 

Parliaments  assembled  in  this  Hall  as  early  as  1218  (33  Henry  III.)  and  1265 
(49  Henry  III.),  the  latter  being  the  first  representation  of  the  people  in  its  present 
form. 

By  a  curious  conjunction,  one  and  the  same  person  in  the  early  reigns  held  the  two 
offices  of  Warden  of  the  Palace  of  Westminster  and  Warden  of  the  Fleet  Prison.  Two 
records,  of  the  12th  and  21th  Edward  III.,  show  that  there  were  then  stalls  for  mer- 
chandize in,  and  stables  under,  Westminster  Hall ;  and  that  the  holder  of  those  offices 
was  allowed  to  take  for  his  profit  8d.  per  annum  for  each  stall  and  stable,  and  Ad,  for 
each  stall  only.  By  a  "  rental "  of  38  Henry  VI.,  the  rents  of  shops  varied  from  2*. 
to  3s.  Ad.  a  term ;  and  the  "  goers  in  the  Halle,"  as  they  were  called,  were  charged 
from  Ad.  to  12d.  for  the  same  period.  The  shops  or  stalls  (resembling  those  in  Exeter 
Change)  are  shown  in  the  picture  by  Gravelot,  painted  in  the  reign  of  George  II. 

"  Ranged  along  the  left  side,  as  you  enter,  are  shops  of  booksellers,  mathematical  instrument  makers, 
haberdashers,  and  sempstresses.  At  the  further  end  of  the  Hall  are  the  two  Courts  of  King's  Bench 
on  the  left,  and  of  the  Chancery  on  the  right,  divided  by  a  flight  of  steps  which  led  to  the  entrances  of 
both.  In  the  print  these  Courts  are  inclosed  to  a  certain  height,  but  not  covered,  so  that  the  noise  in 
the  Hall,  and  the  flirtations  of  the  barristers  and  attorneys  with  the  sempstresses,  must  have  occa- 
sionally disturbed  the  arguments  of  the  counsel,  and  disarranged  the  gravity  of  the  Judges.  On  the 
right  side  is  the  same  array  of  shops,  except  where  it  is  interrupted  by  the  Court  of  Common  Pleas, 
which  projects  into  the  Hall,  and  is  similarly  inclosed  and  uncovered.  On  both  sides  of  the  Hall,  above 
the  shops  and  the  Court  of  Common  Pleas,  was  a  continuous  display  of  banners,  which  at  the  date  of 
the  picture  were  probably  those  taken  at  the  battle  of  Blenheim,  and  the  other  victories  of  Marlborough. 
The  Court  of  Common  Pleas  was  subsequently  removed  to  the  outside  of  the  Hall,  and  the  inclosure  of 
the  two  other  Courts  was  completed  and  carried  up  to  the  roof,  and  thus  divided  from  the  exterior 
noise  and  racket.  Counters  and  stalls  for  books  (at  one  time  sold  by  poor  scholars  of  Westminster 
between  school-hours),  as  well  as  other  merchandize,  were  to  be  seen  here  in  term-time,  and  during 
the  session  of  Parliament,  even  in  the  beginning  of  the  reign  of  George  III.  The  Courts  of  Chancery 
and  King's  Bench  are  removed,  with  the  other  courts,  to  more  convenient  sites  on  the  western  exterior 
of  the  Hall,  with  entrances  into  it.  Thus,  the  edifice  is  now  little  more  than  a  magnificent  vestibule  to 
them  and  to  the  two  Houses  of  Parliament,  and  a  place  of  congregation  for  lawyers  and  their  clients 
when  attending  the  Courts  during  term  time."— Mr.  Foss,  ut  supra. 

Archbishop  Laud,  in  his  Diary,  records  that  on  Sunday,  February  20,  1630-1,  the 
Hall  was  found  on  fire,  "  by  the  burning  of  the  little  shops  or  stalls  kept  therein.  It 
was  soon  extinguished,  and  the  damage  quickly  repaired."  In  the  Great  Fire  of  1834, 
by  which  the  Parliament  Houses  were  destroyed,  the  noble  hall  was  saved  by  the 
favourable  direction  of  the  wind.  At  the  Great  Fire  of  1666,  the  Hall  was  filled  with 
"  the  people's  goods,"  for  safety. 


830  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

After  great  part  of  the  Palace  was  burnt  in  1512,  only  the  Great  Hall  was  kept  in 
repair ;  "  and  it  serveth,  as  before  it  did,  for  feasts  of  coronations,  arraignments  of 
great  persons  charged  with  treasons,  keeping  of  the  courts  of  justice,  &c."  (Stow.) 
Hither  came  411  of  the  rioters  of  Evil  May-day,  1517,  each  with  a  halter  about  his 
neck,  crying  to  the  king  upon  his  throne  for  mercy  ;  when  "  the  general  pardon  being 
pronounced,  all  the  prisoners  showted  at  once,  and  cast  their  halters  towards  the  roof 
of  the  Hall."     (Stoiv.) 

Here  Cromwell  was  inaugurated  Lord  Protector,  26th  June,  1657,  upon  an  elevated 
platform  at  the  south  end  of  the  Hall,  in  the  ancient  coronation-chair,  "  under  a  prince- 
like canopy  of  state,"  with  the  Bible,  sword,  and  sceptre  of  the  Commonwealth  before 
him  :  the  Protector  entering  the  Hall,  with  the  Lord  Mayor  bearing  the  City  sword 
before  him.  On  May  8th,  1660,  King  Charles  II.  was  proclaimed  at  "  Westminster 
Hall  Gate."  Upon  the  south  gable  were  set  up  the  heads  of  Cromwell,  Ireton,  and 
Bradshaw  :  Cromwell's  head  remained  20  years. 

"  Abutting  on  the  west  side  of  Westminster  Hall,  and  in  part  beneath  it,  were  "  certain  places 
designated  Hell,  Purgatory,  and  Paradise,  names  that  seem  to  indicate  that  they  were  appropriated,  as 
two  of  them  certainly  were,  to  the  confinement  of  delinquents,  according  to  the  varied  degrees  of 
punishment  for  their  respective  offences.  We  see  from  the  illuminations  of  the  Courts  lately  published 
in  the  39th  volume  of  the  Arehaeologia,  which  are  attributed  to  the  reign  of  Henry  VI.,  that  at  the  bars 
of  the  three  Courts  of  King's  Bench,  Common  Plea3,  and  Exchequer,  certain  prisoners  are  represented, 
and  their  place  of  incarceration  might  probably  be  in  one  or  the  other  of  these  cells.  Some  have 
thought  that  these  extraordinary  names  were  suggested  by  the  titles  of  the  three  parts  of  Dante's 
Divina  Commedm ;  but  at  least  one  of  the  names  occurs  in  the  reign  of  Henry  111.,  before  Dante 
was  born.  In  the  original  accounts  of  the  expenses  in  that  reign,  occurs :  '  Door  of  Hell,  in  the 
Exchequer.'  This  is  followed  by  another,  to  which  the  former  probably  applies :  '  House  called  Holle 
under  the  Exchequer.'  A  third  place  named  in  the  list  may  perhaps  be  the  same  which  afterwards 
went  by  the  name  of  Paradise  or  Heaven :  '  Le  Godeshouse,  in  the  receipt  of  the  Exchequer.'  What- 
ever were  the  uses  to  which  these  places  were  originally  applied,  the  custody  of  them  was  made  a 
source  of  emolument,  and  was  granted  to  the  '  squires  of  the  king's  body,'  and  other  favourites." — 
Paper  by  Mr.  Foss,  ut  ante,  abridged. 

Hell,  Purgatory,  and  Paradise,  and  another  building  called  "  Heaven,"  were  subse- 
quently converted  from  cells  of  confinement  into  taverns,  which  were  much  frequented 
by  lawyers'  clerks.  In  Ben  Jonson's  Alchemist,  Dapper  is  forbidden  to  "  break  his 
fast  in  Heaven  and  Hell." 

"  False  Heaven  at  the  end  o'  th*  Hall." — Hudibras. 

Pepys  records  dining  at  Heaven,  and  spending  the  evening  in  one  of  these  taverns  with 
Lock  and  Purcell,  and  hearing  Lock's  new  canon,  Domine  salvum  faa  Tiegem.  "  The 
prison-keys  of  Purgatory,  attached  to  a  leather  girdle,  are  still  preserved."  (Walcott's 
Westminster,  p.  221.)  Here  were  kept  the  "  ducking-stools,"  with  which  the  bur- 
gesses  of  Westminster  (by  statute  27  Elizabeth)  were  empowered  to  punish  common 
scolds,  &c.  Heaven  and  Purgatory  were  taken  down  about  1741,  and  Hell  about 
1793. 

For  the  preparation  of  the  Coronation  banquets,  the  courts,  when  within  the  Hall, 
were  removed,  and  the  shops  and  stalls  boarded  over.  A  petition  of  the  shopkeepers 
in  the  reign  of  George  I.  prays  that,  as  their  shops  are  boarded  up  for  the  ceremony  of 
the  Coronation,  the  leads  and  the  outsides  of  the  windows  of  the  west  side  of  the  Hall 
may  be  granted  for  their  use  and  advantage.  Strype  describes,  at  the  upper  end  of 
the  Hall,  a  long  marble  stone,  12  feet  in  length  and  thi^ee  feet  in  breadth;  also  a 
marble  chair,  where  the  Kings  of  England  formerly  sat  at  their  Coronation  dinners, 
and  at  other  solemn  times  the  Lord  Chancellor ;  but  not  to  be  seen,  being  built  over  by 
the  two  Courts  of  Chancery  and  King's  Bench. 

Edward  I.  held  here  his  Coronation  feast,  for  which  the  Hall  was  whitewashed. 

At  the  Coronation  feast  of  Richard  II.  (July  16,  1377),  Sir  John  Dymock,  as 
successor  of  the  Marmions,  and  in  right  of  his  wife,  Margaret  de  Ludlow,  claiming  the 
privilege  by  his  tenure  of  the  manor  of  Scrivelsby,  in  Lincolnshire,  having  chosen  the 
best  charger  save  one  in  the  king's  stables,  and  the  best  suit  of  armour  save  one  in  the 
royal  armoury,  rode  in,  armed  to  the  teeth,  and  challenged,  as  the  king's  champion,  all 
opposers  of  the  young  monarch's  title  to  the  crown ;  this  picturesque  ceremony  was 
last  performed  at  the  coronation  of  George  IV. 

Haydon,  the  historical  painter,  describes  the  Coronation  Festival  of  George  IV.  (Autobiography, 
vol.  ii.),  which  he  witnessed  from  the  Chamberlain's  box :  "  The  Hall  doors  were  opened,  and  the 


WHITECHAPEL.  831 

flower-girls  entered,  strewing  flowers.  The  distant  trumpets  and  shouts  of  the  people,  the  slow  march, 
and  at  last  the  appearance  of  the  King,  crowned  and  under  a  golden  canopy,  and  the  universal  burst  of 

the  assembly  at  seeing  him,  affected  everybody After  the  banquet  was  over  came  the  most 

imposing  scene  of  all,  the  championship.  Wellington,  in  his  coronet,  walked  down  the  Hall,  cheered 
by  the  officers  of  the  Guards.  He  shortly  returned,  mounted,  with  Lords  Anglesea  and  Howard.  They 
rode  gracefully  to  the  foot  of  the  throne,  and  then  backed  out.  The  Hall  doors  opened  again ;  and 
outside,  in  twiliaht,  a  man  in  dark-shadowed  armour  appeared  against  the  shining  sky.  He  then 
moved,  passed  into  darkness  under  the  arch,  and  suddenly  Wellington,  Howard,  and  the  (hampion 
stood  in  full  view,  with  doors  closed  behind  them.  This  was  certainly  the  finest  sight  of  the  day. 
The  herald  then  read  the  challenge:  the  glove  was  thrown  down.  They  all  then  proceeded  to  the 
throne." 

The  coronation  of  George  IV.,  in  the  Abbey,  is  described  at  p.  133 ;  and  the  cere- 
mony and  the  banquet  in  the  admirable  letter  by  Sir  Walter  Scott.  The  bill  of  fare  of 
the  banquet  in  the  Hall  is  printed  in  Mr.  Kirwan's  very  interesting  Host  and 
Guest,  and  is  as  follows : — 

Sot  Dishes. — 160  tureens  of  soup ;  80  of  turtle;  40  of  rice;  40  of  vermicelli;  80  dishes  of  turbot; 
40  of  trout;  40  of  salmon  ;  80  dishes  of  venison;  40  of  roast  beef;  3  barons  of  beef;  40  dishes  of  mutton 
and  veal;  160  dishes  of  vegetables;  4S0  sauce  boats;  240  lobsters;  120  of  butter;  120  of  mint. — Cold 
Dishes.— 80  of  braised  ham;  80  of  savoury  pies;  80  of  geese,  d  la  daube,  two  in  each  dish;  80  of 
savoury  cakes ;  80  of  braised  beef;  80  of  braised  capons,  two  in  each  dish;  1190  side  dishes  ;  320  of 
mounted  pastry ;  400  of  jellies  and  creams ;  fcO  of  lobsters ;  80  of  cray-fish ;  161  of  roast  fowls  ;  80  of 
house  lamb. 

Total  Quantities. — Beef,  7442  lbs.;  veal,  7133  lbs.;  mutton,  2474  lbs.;  house  lamb,  20  quarters; 
legs  of  ditto,  20 ;  lamb,  5  saddles ;  grass  lamb,  65  quarters;  lamb  sweetbreads,  160;  cow-heels,  389 ; 
calves'  feet,  400;  suet,  250  lbs. ;  geese,  160;  pullets  and  capons,  720;  chickens,  1610;  fowls  for  stock, 
620;  bacon,  1730 lbs. ;  lard,  550  lbs.;  butter,  912  If*. ;  eggs,  8400. 

The  Wines.— Champagne,  100  doz. ;  Burgundy,  20  doz. ;  claret,  more  than  200  doz. ;  hock,  50  doz. ; 
Moselle,  60  doz. ;  Madeira,  50  doz. ;  sherry  and  port,  about  350  doz. ;  iced  punch,  100  gallons. 

Dessert. — The  glut  of  fruit  was  unprecedented  :  a  gentleman  of  Lambeth  cut  60  ripe  pine-apples  on 
the  occasion ;  and  many  hundreds  of  pines,  remarkable  for  size  and  flavour,  were  sent  from  all  parts  of 
the  country;  one  from  Lord  Cawdor's  weighed  10  lbs.,  and  formed  part  of  the  royal  dessert.  The 
expenses  of  the  above  Banquet  and  the  Coronation  together  amounted  to  more  than  268,O00Z.  The 
Coronation  (crowning  only — no  banquet)  of  William  IV.  did  not  cost  50,0002. 

Besides  the  Coronation  Banquets,  we  have  record  of  many  others  from  the  earliest  time.  On  New 
Year's  Day,  1236,  King  Henry  the  Third  feasted  6000  poor  men,  women,  and  children.  In  1241  the 
same  King  sumptuously  entertained  there  the  Pope's  Legate  and  his  nobility;  and  again  in  1243  he 
celebrated  there  the  nuptials  of  his  brother,  Bichard,  Earl  of  Cornwall,  with  a  banquet,  at  which  it  is 
said  there  were  no  less  than  30,000  dishes,  though  where  room  was  found  for  them  it  is  difficult  to 
imagine.  When  the  repairs  of  the  Hall  were  completed  in  1399,  King;  Bichard  the  Second  is  recorded 
to  have  plentifully  entertained  10,000  in  it :  it  is  cautiously  noted,  "  in  other  rooms  of  the  palace  ;'* 
for  it  is  clear  that  the  guests  would  not  otherwise  have  had  elbow-room.  Fabyan  relates  in  his 
Chronicle  that  Henry  the  Seventh,  in  the  ninth  year  of  his  reign,  kept  a  royal  feast  there ;  and  the  same 
King  used  the  Hall  for  certain  entertainments  under  the  name  of  "  disguisyngs,"  which  were  exhibited 
to  the  people  at  Christmas ;  and  we  have  the  following  proof  that  they  were  provided  or  assisted  by 
the  Government.  An  entry  occurs  in  the  Issue  Roll  of  a  payment  of  282.  3».  6f  d.  (a  large  sum  in  those 
days)  to  Bichard  Doland,  "  for  providing  certain  spectacles  or  theatres,  commonly  called  scaffolds," 
for  these  performances. 

Westminster  Hall  is  called  the  Great  Hall,  to  distinguish  it  from  the  Little  or 
Lesser  Sail,  the  House  of  Commons  after  the  fire  of  1834.  The  Great  Hall  is  erro- 
neously stated  to  be  the  widest  in  Europe  without  any  intermediate  support,  for 
there  are  two  roofs  in  Italy  which  surpass  it.  The  next  largest  ancient  apartment  in 
England  is  the  dormitory  attached  to  the  great  monastery  of  Durham. 

In  the  hall  have  been  found,  in  a  crevice  of  the  masonry  of  the  old  walls,  the  leather 
sheath  of  a  knife,  stamped  with  fleurs-de-lis  and  with  lions  passant,  together  with  a 
quantity  of  bones,  &c,  remnants  of  the  royal  feasts  held  in  the  hall,  and  which  had 
probably,  together  with  the  sheath,  been  dragged  into  the  holes  and  crevices  by  rats 
and  mice. 

WHITECHAPEL, 

"  A  VERY  extraordinary  spacious  street,  between  Whitechapel  Bars  (to  which  the 
-^1-  freedom  reaches)  W.,  and  the  road  to  Mile-end  E."  (Halton,  1708).  It  was, 
until  the  construction  of  the  Eastern  Counties  Railway,  the  great  Essex  road  :  hence 
its  numerous  inns,  some  with  old  gallericd  yards.  Upon  the  south  side,  west  end, 
among  the  butchers'  shops,  is  No.  76,  a  picturesque  house-front,  bearing  the  Prince  of 
Wales's  feathers  and  H.  S.  (Henry  Stuart),  the  arms  of  Westminster,  the  fleur-de-lis 
of  France,  and  the  thistle  of  Scotland.  On  the  north  side  was  a  prison  for  debtors,  in 
the  manor  of  Stepney,  under  the  sum  of  51.,  of  which  there  is  in  the  Beaufoy  Collec- 
tion a  Token,  1656 ;  also  a  Whitechapel  pawnbroker's  Token,  thought  to  be  unique 
Defoe  lived  here  in  safety  during  the  Great  Plague  year  j  and  he  describes  the  richer  sort 


832  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

of  people  thronging  out  of  town  from  the  City  hy  this  road,  with  their  families  and  ser- 
vants. Whitechapel  has  been  sanitarily  improved  by  the  furnaces  of  the  factories  con- 
suming their  own  smoke.  In  Wentworth-street  are  the  Model  Baths  and  Wash-houses, 
established  1845.  St.  Mary's  Church,  Whitechapel,  is  described  at  p.  146,  Here 
was  the  offensive  altar-piece,  painted  by  W.  Fellowes,  in  which  Judas  the  traitor 
greatly  resembled  Dean  Kennet  {see  the  print  in  the  Society  of  Antiquaries'  Library) : 
the  picture,  now  in  St.  Albans  Abbey-church,  is  attributed  to  Sir  James  Thornhill. 
In  Colchester-street,  Leman-street,  in  1854,  was  burnt  the  house  No.  1,  built  16S7, 
and  noted  as  the  rendezvous  of  Claude  Duval,  the  highwayman.  Near  the  lower  end 
of  Whitechapel-lane  was  a  Roman  cemetery,  in  which  was  found,  in  1776,  a  monu- 
mental stone  inscribed  to  a  soldier  of  the  24th  legion.  In  1854,  there  was  living  in 
the  Whitechapel-road  a  corn-dealer  aged  107,  active  in  business  as  a  man  of  60.  At 
No.  267,  Whitechapel-road,  is  the  Bell-foundry  of  Chas.  and  Geo.  Mears,  where  have 
been  cast  many  thousands  of  single  bells :  they  have  often  30  tons  of  molten  metal  in 
their  furnaces.  Here  were  cast,  in  1835,  "  the  New  Great  Tom  of  Lincoln,"  5  tons 
8  cwt.;  the  Great  Bell  of  Montreal,  13  tons  10  cwt.;  Great  Peter  of  York,  11  tons; 
the  bells  of  the  New  Royal  Exchange,  &c.  And  here  was  re-cast  the  Gre.it  Bell  for 
Westminster  clock,  "  St.  Stephen,"  described  at  p.  44. 

WHITEFRIARS, 

THE  streets,  lanes,  and  alleys  between  Water-lane  (now  Whitefriars-street)  and  the 
Temple,  and  Fleet-street  and  the  Thames ;  formerly  the  site  of  the  house  and 
gardens  of  a  convent  of  Carmelites,  or  White  Friars,  founded  by  Sir  Richard  Gray  in 
1241,  upon  ground  given  by  King  Edward  I.  The  church  was  rebuilt  by  Hugh 
Courtenay,  Earl  of  Devon,  about  1350 ;  and  Robert  Marshall,  Bishop  of  Hereford, 
about  1420,  added  the  steeple,  as  shown  in  the  Sutherland  View  of  London,  1543. 
Stow  gives  a  long  list  of  benefactors  and  nobles  buried  in  the  church.  At  the  Refor- 
mation, the  chapter-house  was  given  by  Henry  VIII.  to  his  physician,  Dr.  Butts.  In 
the  next  reign,  the  church,  with  its  stately  tombs,  was  demolished ;  and  in  its  place 
were  "  many  fair  houses  built,  lodgings  for  noblemen  and  others"  (Stow).  Here  lived 
Sir  John  Cheke,  Tutor  and  Secretary  of  State  to  Edward  VI.  The  hall  or  refectory 
of  the  dissolved  monastery  was  used  as  the  Whitefriars  Theatre.  The  precinct  had 
long  possessed  the  privileges  of  Sanctuary,  which  were  confirmed  by  charter  of  James  I. 
in  1608  ;  hence  it  became  the  asylum  of  characterless  debtors,  cheats,  and  gamblers, 
here  protected  from  arrest :  it  acquired  the  cant  name  of  "  Alsatia,"  and  is  the  scene 
of  Shadwell's  Squire  of  Alsatia,  the  characters  of  which  "  dare  not  stir  out  of  White- 
fryers  :"  one  of  its  cant-named  portions,  Lombard-street  (its  "  lewd  women"  were 
complained  of  by  the  Friars  in  the  reign  of  E«'ward  III.),  exists  to  this  day ;  as  does 
Lombard-street  in  the  Southwark  Mint.  Poets  and  players  were  attracted  to  White- 
friars by  the  contiguous  theatre  in  Dorset  Gardens:  dancing-masters  and  fencing- 
masters  flocked  here ;  and  here,  in  the  reign  of  James  I.,  Turner  the  fencing -master 
was  assassinated  by  two  ruffians  hired  by  Lord  Sanquhar,  whose  eye  Turner  had  put  out 
during  a  fencing  lesson  several  years  before,  but  he  had  been  forgiven  the  accident. 
The  two  assassins  were  hanged  opposite  Whitefriars  gates  in  Fleet-street ;  and  Lord 
Sanquhar  was  hanged  in  Old  Palace-yard.  In  the  Friary -house,  Selden  lived  with 
Elizabeth,  Countess-dowager  of  Kent,  who  bequeathed  him  the  mansion :  he  died  here, 
Nov.  30,  1654,  and  was  buried  in  the  Temple  Church.  The  finest  edition  of  Selden's 
works,  by  Wilkins,  3  vols,  folio,  was  printed  in  Whitefriars  by  William  Bowyer,  father 
and  son ;  their  printing-office  was  the  Qeorge  Tavern,  Dogwell-court,  a  scene  in  Shad- 
well's  Squire  of  Alsatia ;  in  this  house,  William  Bowyer,  jun.,  was  born  in  1699. 
The  premises  are  now  the  printing-office  of  Bradbury,  Evans,  and  Co.,  who  main- 
tain the  excellence  of  their  predecessors.  Few  other  traces  of  old  Whitefriars  remain. 
Hanging- Sword- Alley,  east  of  Water-lane,  is  named  from  "  a  house  called  the  Hang- 
ing Sword,"  mentioned  by  Stow.  In  Temple-lane  are  the  Whitefriars  Glass-works, 
established  circ.  1700. 

The  White  Friars  spared  no  cost  to  procure  books  for  their  monastery :  no  book  was 
to  be  sold,  but  they  had  their  emissaries  provided  with  money  to  buy  it. 


WHITEHALL.  833 


WHITEHALL, 

THAT  part  of  "Westminster  which  extends  from  near  Charing  Cross  to  Canon-row, 
and  from  the  Thames  to  St.  James's  Park,  was  the  site  of  the  royal  Palace  of 
"Whitehall  from  1530  to  1697.  It  was  formerly  called  York-place,  from  having  heen 
the  town  residence  of  the  Archbishops  of  York :  one  of  whom,  Walter  de  Grey, 
purchased  it  in  1248  from  the  Convent  of  Black  Friars  of  Holborn,  to  which  it  had 
been  bequeathed  by  Hubert  de  Burgh,  the  Justiciary  of  England,  and  famous  minister 
of  Henry  III.,  who  had  bought  the  inheritance  from  the  monks  of  Westminster  for 
140  marks  of  silver.  The  property  was  conveyed  by  Walter  de  Grey  to  his  successors 
in  the  see  of  York.  Cardinal  Wolsey  was  the  last  Archbishop  of  York  by  whom  the 
palace  was  inhabited :  he  built  extensively,  and  "  lived  a  long  season "  here,  in 
sumptuous  state : 

"  Where  fruitful  Thames  salutes  the  learned  shore 
Was  this  grave  prelate  and  the  muses  plac'd, 
And  by  those  waves  he  builded  had  before 
A  royal  house  with  learned  muses  grac'd, 
But  by  his  death  imperfect  and  defac'd." 

Storer's  Metrical  History  of  Wolsey,  1599. 

Upon  the  fall  of  Wolsey,  in  1529,  York  Place  was  taken  from  him  by  Henry  VIII., 
and  the  broken-hearted  prelate  left  in  his  barge  on  the  Thames  for  Esher.  The  name 
of  the  palace  was  then  changed  to  White  Hall,*  possibly  from  some  new  buildings 
having  been  constructed  of  white  stone,  at  a  time  when  bricks  and  timber  were 
generally  used, — 

"  You  must  no  more  call  it  York  Place — that  is  past : 
For  since  the  Cardinal  fell,  that  title's  lost; 
'Tis  now  the  King's,  and  call'd  White  Hall." 

Shakspeare's  King  Henry  VIII.,  act  iv.  sc.  1. 

Here  Henry  and  Anne  Boleyn  were  married  in  a  garret  of  the  palace,  says  Lingard ; 
Stow  says,  in  a  closet.  Henry  built  a  noble  stone  gallery,  from  which,  in  1539,  he 
reviewed  15,000  armed  citizens  :  from  this  gallery  also  the  court  and  nobility  witnessed 
the  jousts  and  tournaments  in  the  Tilt-yard,  now  the  parade-ground  of  the  Horse 
Guards.  The  King  "  most  sumptuously  and  curiously  builded  many  beautiful,  costly, 
and  pleasant  lodgings,  buildings,  and  mansions;"  and  added  a  tennis-court,  bowling- 
alleys,  and  a  cock-pit,  "  for  his  pastime  and  solace." 

Whitehall  was  seven  years  in  building ;  and  in  1536  (the  old  palace  of  Edward  the 
Confessor  having  been  in  utter  ruin  and  decay  since  the  fire  in  1512),  it  was  enacted 
by  Parliament  that  all  the  ground,  mansion  and  buildings,  the  park,  and  the  entire 
space  between  Charing  Cross  and  the  Sanctuary  at  Westminster,  from  the  Thames  on 
the  east  side  to  the  park-wall  westward,  should  be  cleared  and  called  the  King's  Palace 
of  Westminster.  Here  Henry  VIII.  assembled  many  pictures,  which  afterwards 
became  the  nucleus  of  the  splendid  collection  of  Charles  I.  Henry  made  munificent 
proposals  to  Raphael  and  Titian,  and  the  former  painted  for  him  a  "  St.  George."  The 
King  also  took  into  his  service  Hans  Holbein,  and  gave  him  apartments  at  Whitehall, 
with  a  pension,  besides  paying  him  for  his  pictures.  Holbein  built,  opposite  the 
entrance  to  the  Tilt-yard,  a  magnificent  Gate-house,  of  small  squared  stones  and  flint 
boulder,  glazed  and  tessellated :  on  each  front  were  four  terra-cotta  busts,  naturally 
coloured,  and  gilt.  This  gate  was  removed  in  1750,  when  it  was  begged  by  William 
Duke  of  Cumberland,  son  of  George  II.,  with  the  intention  of  rebuilding  it  in  the 
Great  Park  at  Windsor ;  the  stones  were  numbered  for  this  purpose,  which  was  never 
fulfilled.  Three  of  the  busts,  Henry  VII.  and  VIII.  and  Bishop  Fisher,  are  now  at 
Hatfield  Priory,  Essex.  The  Gate-house  was  used  as  a  State-paper  Office  many  years 
before  its  removal,  and  was  known  as  the  Cockpit  Gate.  At  Whitehall,  on  December 
30, 1546,  Henry  signed  his  will,  and  on  January  28  expired.  Edward  VI.  held  a 
Parliament  at  Whitehall : 

1553.  "And  this  y ere  the  furst  day  of  (March  was  the)  parlament,  and  kepte  wythin  the  kyngcs 
pallys  at  Westmyster,  YVhythalle." — Chron.  Grey  Friars  Lond. 

*  The  "  White  Hall "  was  a  name  not  unfrequently  given  by  our  ancestors  to  the  festive  halls  of 
their  habitations :  there  was  a  White  Hall  at  Kenilworth ;  and  the  Hall  formerly  the  House  of  Lords 
was  the  White  Hall  of  the  royal  Palace  of  Westminster,  and  is  so  called  by  Stow. 

3  H 


834  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Bisbop  Latimer  preached  before  the  Court  in  the  Privy  Garden,  the  King  sitting  at 
one  of  the  palace  windows.  Queen  Mary  went  from  Whitehall  by  water  to  her  coro- 
nation at  Westminster,  Elizabeth  bearing  the  crown  before  her.  Whitehall  palace 
was  attacked  by  Sir  Thomas  Wyat's  rebels,  who  "shotte  divers  arrowes  into  the 
courte,  the  gate  beying  open  ;"  and  looking  out  over  the  gate,  the  Queen  pardoned  the 
Kent  men,  with  baiters  about  their  necks.  From  the  palace  the  Princess  Elizabeth 
was  taken  captive  to  the  Tower  on  Palm  Sunday,  1554.  At  Whitehall,  November  13, 
1555,  dkd  Gardiner,  Bishop  of  Winchester  and  Lord  Chancellor  of  England,  at  mid- 
night, exclaiming :  "  I  have  sinned,  I  have  not  wept  with  Peter."  Hentzner  describes, 
in  1598,  Elizabeth's  library  of  Greek,  Latin,  Italian,  and  French  books ;  a  little  one, 
in  her  own  handwriting,  addressed  to  her  father ;  and  a  book  of  prayers  written  by 
Elizubeth  in  five  languages,  with  her  own  miniature  and  that  of  her  suitor,  the  Due 
d'Anjou.  In  her  67th  year,  "  she  appoints  a  Frenchman  to  doe  feates  upon  a  rope  in 
the  conduit  court.  To-morrow  she  hath  commanded  the  bear,  the  bull,  and  the  ape 
to  be  bayted  in  the  tilt-yard.  Upon  Wednesday  she  will  have  solemn  dawncing." 
(Sotvland  White.)  Elizabeth  revived  the  pageants  and  joustings  at  Whitehall ;  and 
here  she  built  "  the  Fortress  or  Castell  of  perfect  Beautie,"  a  large  wooden  banquet  - 
ing-house  on  the  north-west  side  of  the  palace.  In  1561  Sackville  and  Norton's 
tragedy  of  Ferrex  and  Forrex  was  acted  here  by  gentlemen  of  the  Inner  Temple. 
In  the  great  gallery,  Elizabeth  received  the  Speaker  and  Commons  House,  when  they 
came  "  to  move  her  grace  to  marriage."  On  March  24,  1603,  "  then  deceased,"  from 
Bichmond,  "  the  Queen  was  brought  by  water  to  Whitehall." 

In  the  Orchard  of  Whitehall  the  Lords  in  Council  met;  and  in  the  Garden, 
James  I.  knighted  300  or  400  judges,  Serjeants,  doctors-at-law,  &c.  Here  the  Lord 
Monteagle  imparted  to  the  Earl  of  Salisbury  the  warning  letter  of  the  Gunpowder 
Plot;  Guy  Fawkes  was  examined  in  the  King's  bedchamber,  and  carried  hence  to  the 
Tower.  In  1617,  when  James  visited  Scotland,  Lord  Keeper  Bacon  resided  at  White- 
hall. James  L,  in  1608,  had  "the  old,  rotten,  slight-builded  Banqueting  House" 
removed,  and  next  year  rebuilt ;  but  it  was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1619.  In  this  reign 
were  produced  many  "  most  glorious  masques"  by  Inigo  Jones  and  Ben  Jonson ;  and 
Inigo  designed  a  new  palace,  the  drawings  for  which  are  preserved  in  Worcester  Col- 
lege, Oxford. 

In  magnitude,  Inigo  Jones's  plan  would  have  exceeded  that  of  the  palace  of  Diocletian,  and  would 
have  covered  nearly  24  acres.  It  was  to  have  consisted  of  seven  courts,  to  have  extended  874  feet 
fronting  the  Thames,  and  the  same  length  along  the  foot  of  St.  James's  Park :  presenting  one  front 
to  Charing  Cross,  of  1200  feet  long;  and  another,  the  principal,  of  similar  dimensions  towards  West- 
minster Abbey.  (See  Fourdrinier's  large  print.)  A  more  distinct  idea  may  be  formed  of  this  extent 
by  comparing  it  with  that  of  other  palaces :  thus,  Hampton  Court  covers  8  or  9  acres,  St.  James's  4, 
Buckingham  2£  acres. 

Of  Jones's  magnificent  design,  only  the  Banqueting-house  was  completed.  Charles  I. 
commissioned  Kubens  to  paint  the  ceiling,  and  by  his  agency  obtained  the  Cartoons  of 
Kaphael.  In  the  Cabinet- room  of  the  palace,  built  also  by  Inigo  Jones,  fronting  west- 
ward to  Privy  Garden,  Charles  assembled  pictures  of  almost  incalculable  value ;  the 
royal  collection  containing  460  paintings,  including  28  by  Titian,  11  by  Correggio,  16 
by  Julio  Komano,  9  by  Kaphael,  4  by  Guido,  and  7  by  Parmegiano.  Upon  the  Civil 
War  breaking  out,  Whitehall  was  seized  by  the  Parliament,  who,  in  1645,  had  "  the 
boarded  masque-house"  pulled  down,  sold  great  part  of  the  paintings  and  statues,  and 
burnt  the  "  superstitious  pictures."  Here,  Jan.  30,  1649,  in  the  Cabinet-room  Charles 
last  prayed ;  in  the  Horn-chamber  he  was  delivered  to  the  officers,  and  thence  led  out 
to  execution  upon  a  scaffold  in  front  of  the  Banqueting-house. 

The  King  was  taken  on  the  first  morning  of  his  trial,  Jan.  20, 1649,  in  a  sedan-chair,  from  Whitehall 
to  Cotton  House,  where  he  slept  pending  his  trial  in  Westminster  Hall ;  after  whii  h  the  king  returned 
to  Whitehall ;  but  on  the  night  before  his  execution  he  slept  at  St.  James's.  On  Jan.  30  he  was  "  most 
barbarously  murthered  at  his  own  door,  about  two  o'clock  in  the  afternoon."  (Histor.  Guide,  3d  imp., 
1688.)  Lord  Leicester  and  Dugdale  state  that  Charles  was  beheaded  at  Whitehall  gate.  The  scaffold 
was  erected  in  front  of  the  Banqueting-house,  in  the  street  now  Whitehall;  and  Herbert  states  that  the 
king  was  led  out  by  "  a  passage  broken  through  the  wall,"  on  to  the  scaffold  ;  but  Ludlow  states  that 
it  was  out  of  a  window,  according  to  Vertue,  of  a  small  building  north  of  the  Banqueting-house,  whence 
the  king  stepped  upon  the  scaffold.  A  picture  of  the  sad  scene,  painted  by  Weesop,  in  the  manner  of 
Vandyke,  shows  the  platform,  extending  only  in  length,  before  two  of  the  windows,  to  the  commence- 
ment of  the  third  casement.  Weesop  visited  England  from  Holland  in  1641,  and  quitted  England  in 
1650,  saying  "  he  would  never  reside  in  a  country  where  they  cut  off  their  king's  head,  and  were  not 


WHITEHALL.  835 


ashamed  of  the  action." — (See  painful  inquiries  upon  the  identity  of  the  place   of  execution,  in 
Notes  and  Queries,  3rd  s.  iii.  213,  292 ;  iv.  195. 

Cromwell,  by  vote  of  Parliament  in  1650,  had  "  the  use  of  the  lodging  called  the 
Cockpit,  of  the  Spring  Garden,  and  St.  James's  House,  and  the  command  of  St.  James's 
Park,"  for  some  time  before  he  assumed  the  supreme  power.  To  Whitehall,  in  1653, 
April  20th,  he  returned  with  the  keys  in  his  pocket,  after  dissolving  the  Long  Parlia- 
ment, which  he  subsequently  explained  to  the  Little  or  Barebones  Parliament  assembled 
in  the  Council-chamber  of  Whitehall.  Here  the  Parliament  desired  Cromwell  to 
"  magnify  himself  with  the  title  of  King ;"  here  Milton  was  Cromwell's  Latin  Secre- 
tary, Andrew  Marvell  his  frequent  guest,  with  Waller  his  friend  and  kinsman,  and 
sometimes  the  youthful  Dryden.  Cromwell  repurchased  the  Cartoons  and  many  other 
pictures,  and  in  1656  Evelyn  found  the  palace  "  very  glorious  and  well-furnished." 
Here  Cromwell  expired,  Sept.  3,  1658,  "  the  double  day  of  victory  and  death." 
Richard  Cromwell  resided  here.  Charles  II.,  at  the  Restoration,  came  in  grand  pro- 
cession of  seven  hours  from  the  City  to  Whitehall.  To  the  Lords  Commissioners  of  the 
Treasury  Charles  assigned  the  Cockpit ;  and  in  this  locality  their  chambers  have  ever 
since  remained.  Charles  collected  by  proclamation  the  plate,  hangings,  and  paintings, 
which  had  been  pillaged  from  the  palace :  he  also  built  a  stone  gallery  to  flank  Privy 
Garden,  and  below  it  suites  of  apartments  for  his  "  Beauties."  Evelyn  describes  the 
Duchess  of  Portsmouth's  apartment,  "  twice  or  thrice  pulled  down  and  rebuilt  to  satisfy 
her  prodigal  and  expensive  pleasures ;"  its  French  tapestry,  "  Japan  cabinets,  screens, 
pendule  clocks,  great  vases  of  wrought  plate,  table-stands,  chimney-furniture,  sconces, 
branches,  brasenas,  &c.,  all  of  massive  silver,  and  out  of  number."  Evelyn  also  sketches 
a  Sunday  evening  in  the  palace : 

"  The  king  sitting  and  toying  with  his  concubines,  Portsmouth,  Cleveland,  and  Mazarin,  &c. ;  a 
French  boy  singing  love-songs  in  those  glorious  galleries ;  whilst  about  twenty  of  the  great  courtiers 
and  other  dissolute  persons  were  at  Basset  round  a  large  table,  a  bank  of  at  least  2000/.  in  gold  before 
them.    Six  days  after  all  was  in  the  dust." 

In  Vertue's  plan  are  shown  the  buttery,  bakehouse,  wood  and  coal  yards,  charcoal- 
house,  spicery,  cider-house ;  and,  beneath  the  Banqueting-house,  the  king's  privy  cellar. 
Owing  to  its  low  level,  Whitehall  was  liable  to  floods  from  the  Thames.  Pepys,  in 
1663,  records  a  high  tide  having  drowned  the  whole  palace ;  and  Charles  II.,  when  he 
received  the  Lords  and  Commons  in  the  Banqueting-hall  at  the  Restoration,  desires 
them  to  mend  the  ways,  so  that  his  wife  "  may  not  find  Whitehall  under  water." 

At  Whitehall  Charles  collected  about  1000  volumes,  dedicated  or  presented  to  him  : 
including  an  illuminated  Breviary  given  by  Henry  VII.  to  his  daughter,  Margaret 
Queen  of  Scots,  with  his  autograph ;  a  curious  MS.  in  high  Dutch  on  the  Great  Elixir ; 
a  French  MS.  300  years  old,  with  paintings  of  plants  in  miniature ;  and  a  journal,  &c. 
in  the  handwriting  of  Edward  VI.  Charles  II.  died  at  Whitehall,  Feb.  6,  1685;  and 
his  successor  was  immediately  proclaimed  at  the  palace-gate.  James  II.  resided  here : 
he  washed  the  feet  of  the  poor  with  his  own  hands  on  Maundy  Thursday  in  the  Chapel 
Royal :  here  he  admitted  Penn,  the  Quaker,  to  his  private  closet ;  and  he  rebuilt  the 
chapel  for  Romish  worship,  with  marble  statues  by  Gibbons,  and  a  fresco  by  Verrio. 
The  King  also  erected  upon  the  Banqueting-house  a  large  weathercock,  that  he  might 
calculate  by  the  wind  the  probable  arrival  of  the  Dutch  fleet.  (See  Canaletti's  view.) 
On  Dec.  18,  1688,  James  left  Whitehall  in  the  state-barge,  never  to  return.  In  1691 
a  destructive  fire  reduced  the  palace  to  "  nothing  but  walls  and  ruins :"  150  houses 
were  burned  down,  and  twenty  blown  up  with  gunpowder.  In  1697  a  fire  broke  out 
in  the  laundry ;  all  the  pictures  in  the  palace  were  destroyed,  and  twelve  persons 
perished.  The  remaining  portions  of  the  site  of  Whitehall  were  given  away  by  the 
Crown.  Charles  Duke  of  Richmond  had  a  mansion  on  the  south-east  side  of  Privy 
Garden :  it  was  rebuilt  from  a  plan  by  the  Earl  of  Burlington,  and  was  burnt  down  in 
1791 ;  its  site  is  now  occupied  by  Richmond-terrace. 

His  Grace  was  a  liberal  patron  of  the  fine  arts,  and  in  1758  ordered  a  room  to  be  opened  at  his 
house  in  Whitehall,  containing  a  large  collection  of  original  plaster  casts,  from  the  best  antique  busts 
and  statues  at  Rome  and  Florence,  to  which  all  artists,  and  youths  above  twelve  years  of  age,  had 
ready  access :  he  also  bestowed  two  medals  annually  on  those  who  executed  the  two  best  models. 

In  Privy  Garden  was  also  built  Pembroke  House  ;  and  subsequently,  Guoydir  House, 
now  the  Office  of  the  Poor-Law  Board. 

3  H  2 


836  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

Gardens  and  Dials. — Whitehall  gardens  were  laid  out  in  terraces  and  parterres,  and 
ornamented  with  marble  and  bronze  statues,  a  few  of  which  are  now  at  Hampton 
Court  and  Windsor.  In  Privy  Garden  was  a  dial  set  up  by  Edward  Gunter,  professor 
of  astronomy  at  Gresham  College  (and  of  which  he  published  a  description),  by 
command  of  James  I.,  in  1624.  A  large  stone  pedestal  bore  four  dials  at  the  four  corners, 
and  "  the  great  horizontal  concave "  in  the  centre ;  besides  east,  west,  north,  and 
south  dials  at  the  sides.  In  the  reign  of  Charles  II.  this  dial  was  defaced  by  an  intoxi- 
cated nobleman  of  the  Court : 

"  This  place  for  a  dial  was  too  unsecure, 

Since  a  guard  and  a  garden  could  not  defend ; 
For  so  near  to  the  Court  they  will  never  endure 

Any  witness  to  show  how  their  time  they  misspend." — Marvell. 

In  the  court-yard  facing  the  Banqueting-house  was  another  curious  dial,  set  up  in 
1669  by  order  of  Charles  II.  It  was  invented  by  one  Francis  Hall,  alias  Lyne,  a 
Jesuit,  and  professor  of  mathematics  at  Liege.  This  dial  consisted  of  five  stages  rising 
in  a  pyramidal  form,  and  bearing  several  vertical  and  reclining  dials,  globes  cut  into 
planes,  and  glass  bowls ;  showing  "  besides  the  houres  of  all  kinds,"  "  many  things  also 
belonging  to  geography,  astrology,  and  astronomy,  by  the  sun's  shadow  made  visible  to 
the  eye."  Among  the  pictures  were  portraits  of  the  King,  the  two  Queens,  the  Duke 
of  York,  and  Prince  Rupert.  Father  Lyne  published  a  description  of  this  dial,  which 
consisted  of  seventy-three  parts :  it  is  illustrated  with  seventeen  plates.  (The  details 
are  condensed  in  No.  400  of  the  Mirror.)  About  1710,  William  Allingham,  a  mathe- 
matician in  Canon- row,  asked  500Z.  to  repair  this  dial :  it  was  last  seen  by  Vertue  at 
Buckingham  House. 

Remains  of  ancient  Whitehall  have  been  from  time  to  time  discovered.  In  1831, 
Mr.  Sydney  Smirke,  F.S.A.,  in  the  basement  of  "  Cromwell  House,"  Whitehall-yard, 
found  a  stone-built  and  groined  Tudor  apartment — undoubtedly  a  relic  of  Wolsey's 
palace,  and  corresponding  with  the  wine-cellar  in  Vertue's  plan, — which  is  remarkably 
larger  than  the  chapel.  Mr.  Smirke  also  found  a  Tudor  arched  doorway,  with 
remains  of  the  arms  of  Wolsey  and  the  see  of  York  in  the  spandrels;  a  portion  of  the 
river-wall  and  circular  bastions ;  and  two  stone  mullioned  Tudor  windows,  at  the  back  of 
the  Almonry-office,  corresponding  with  the  back  wall  of  the  apartments  of  "  the  Yeomen 
of  the  Wood-yard,"  in  Vertue's  plan.  In  1847  were  removed  the  last  remains  of  York 
House,  a  Tudor  embattled  doorway,  which  had  been  built  into  a  later  facade  of  the 
Treasury.     (Archceologia,  vol.  xxv.) 

Among  the  relics,  comparatively  but  little  known,  is  a  range  of  chambers,  with  groined  roofings  of 
stone,  at  the  Rolls  Offices  in  Whitehall-gardens,  which,  probably,  are  a  portion  of  the  ancient  palace  of 
Wliitehall.  Part  of  the  external  wall  of  these  remains  is  still  visible  opposite  the  statue  of  James  II. — 
H.  Mogford,  F.S.A. 

Upon  the  site  of  the  small-beer  cellar  (engraved  in  No.  4  of  Hollar's  prints  of 
Whitehall)  is  the  house  of  the  Earl  of  Fife.  Here  were  some  fine  Gobelins  tapestry ; 
a  marble  picture  of  Mary  Stuart,  with  her  infant ;  and  in  Pennant's  time  here  was  a 
head  of  Charles  I.  when  Prince  of  Wales,  said  to  have  been  painted  at  Madrid  by 
Velasquez,  in  1625*  The  mansion  was  sold,  in  1809,  for  12,000Z.  to  the  Earl  of 
Liverpool,  who  possessed  it  until  his  death  in  1828.  In  an  adjoining  wall  is  the  Tudor 
arched  eutrance  to  the  palace  water-stairs.  In  Privy  Garden  was  the  celebrated 
Museum  formed  by  the  Duchess  of  Portland :  here  Pennant  was  shown  a  rich  pearl 
surmounted  with  a  crown,  which  was  taken  out  of  the  ear  of  Charles  I.  after  his  head 
was  struck  off:  here  also  was  the  Barberini  or  Portland  Vase,  purchased  by  the  Duchess 
of  Sir  William  Hamilton  for  1800  guineas.  The  museum  was  sold  by  auction,  in  lots, 
April  24,  1786,  when  the  vase  was  bought  by  the  Duke  of  Portland  for  1029  guineas, 
and  deposited  by  his  grace  in  the  British  Museum  in  1810. 

In  Whitehall  Yard  is  the  United  Seetice  Institution  Museum,  described  at 
page  545.  No.  3  is  the  Office  of  the  Comptroller  General  of  the  Exchequer,  where  is 
held  "the  Trial  of  the  Pyx." 

»  In  1845,  Mr.  Snare,  of  Reading,  bought  at  a  sale  of  pictures  at  Radley  Hall  a  painting  which  he 
believed  to  be  "  the  lost  portrait "  of  Prince  Charles  by  Velasquez,  and  so  denoted  by  the  Earl  of 
fife  in  a  catalogue  of  his  pictures  at  Fife  House,  in  1798.  (See  Account  of  the  Picture,  &c. 
Beading,  1847.) 


*«y 


he  Whitehall  Gunner,  ^^i 

Observant  persons  in  Whitehall 
ave  been  puzzled  by  the  quaint 
ind  vane  whifch  has  lately  sur- 
tbunted  the  flagstaff  of  the  Royal 
rnited  Service  Institution.  It  is  an 
importation  from  Ireland,  and  re- 
resents  a  field  gun  being  fired  by  a 
unner  of  the  Royal  Artillery  in  the 
mii'orm  of  1800. 

For  120  years  it  swung  ovei  Ihe 
oof  of  the  Dublin  Ship-street  Bar- 
racks, and,  with  the  passing  of  ihe 
>ld  order  of  things,  was  presented  to 
he  Institution  by  the  G.O.  Com- 
nanding-in-Chief   in   Ireland. 

In  its  present  position  it  will  keep 
company  with  the  vane  on  the  ad- 
joining historic  Banqueting  House, 
which  was  so  anxiously  watched 
bv  James  II.  to  &ce  how  stood  the 
bind  for  the  Prince  of  Orange's  ex- 
pedition. 


)  AND  STAINED  GLASS. 


837 


r>m,  and  takes  place  every  five,  six,  or  seven  years,  at 
■t  of  trial  of  the  Masters  and  Officers  of  the  Mint,  to 

is  pure  and  standard  gold  and  silver,  fair  weights, 
t  goldsmiths  being  sworn,  the  Master  of  the  Mint 
inires  six  men  to  carry  it,  contains  several  thousand 
filings,  sixpenny,  and  threepenny  pieces — the  results 

soon  as  the  chest  is  full  the  trial  must  take  place. 
:  containing  "  the  pyx,"  that  is,  a  plate  of  gold  and 

pyx  is  always  kept  in  the  ancient  chapel  at  West- 
lor  of  the  Exchequer,  and  Treasury,  each  possessing 
t.  After  the  usual  formalities,  the  Lord  Chancellor 
»e  from  the  gold  and  the  other  from  the  silver,  and 
hs,  by  whom  the  assay  is  to  be  made.  After  this  the 
ed  up,  while  the  jury  and  the  chief  clerk,  with  the 
lere  the  coins  from  the  Mint  pix  box  are  assayed  by 
lie  actual  process  are  well  described  in  the  Times, 

called  by  the  old  name,  Privy  Garden)  is 
is  Sib  Robebt  Peel's  (see  p.  555).  No.  7 
Harrington's) :  in  1854,  it  was  fitted  up  for 

d,  named  from  its  having  been  the  site  of 

otland,  when  they  came  to  the  Parliament 
has  been  objected  that  Scotland  has  always 
of  possession  under  the  Edwards  excepted. 

:he  Palace  to  have  been  built  by  Kenneth 
iven  him  by  King  Edgar,  for  his  making 

the  kingdom  of  Scotland :  but  this  account 


"  The  Scottish  Kings  appear  to  have  been  anciently  regarded  as  members  of  the  English  Parlia- 
ment; and  there  are  instances,  among  the  Tower  records,  of  the  issuing  of  writs  to  summon  their 
attendance.  In  Pinkerton's  Iconograpkia  Scotica  is  engraved  Edward  I.  sitting  in  Parliament,  with 
Alexander,  King  of  Scots,  on  his  right,  and  Llewellyn,  Prince  of  Wales,  on  his  left  hand :  this  is  stated 
to  have  been  taken  from  a  copy  of  an  ancient  limning,  formerly  in  the  English  College  of  Arms.  When 
the  Scottish  Sovereigns,  in  later  times,  attended  to  do  homage  for  their  fiefs  of  Cumberland  and  West- 
moreland, they  usually  lodged  in  their  palace,  in  Scotland-yard." — Noib  :  in  Brayley's  Londiniana, 
ii.  277-8. 

Scotland-yard  is  now  the  head-quarters  of  the  Metropolitan  Police.    See  pp.  681 — 683. 

Here  are  Palace-row,  and  a  large  Conduit-house.  Milton,  when  Latin  Secretary  to 
Cromwell,  had  apartments  in  Scotland-yard,  where  died  the  poet's  infant  son.  The 
Crown  Surveyor  had  his  official  residence  in  Scotland-yard;  and  here  lived  Inigo  Jones, 
Sir  John  Denham,  and  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  who  successively  filled  the  above  office. 

Near  his  house  in  Scotland-yard,  Inigo  Jones,  uniting  with  Nicholas  Stone,  the  sculptor,  buried  his 
money  in  a  private  place.  "  The  Parliament  published  an  order  encouraging  servants  to  inform  of 
such  concealments ;  and  as  four  of  the  workmen  were  privy  to  the  deposit,  Jones  and  his  friend 
removed  it  privately,  and  with  their  own  hands  buried  it  in  Lambeth  Marsh." — Life  by  Cunningham. 

Here  Sir  John  Vanbrugh  built  himself  a  house  out  of  the  ruins  of  Whitehall  Palace : 

Swift  has  ridiculed  the  house  of  "  brother  Van"  for  its  resemblance  to  a  goose-pie : 

Vanbrugh  died  here  in  1726. 

WINDOWS  OF  PAINTED  AND  STAINED  GLASS. 

THE  more  noteworthy  specimens  in  the  Metropolis  are  incidentally  noticed  in 
describing  the  edifices  which  contain  them.  The  following  are  recent  additions  : — ■ 
St.  Paul's  Cathedral. — One  of  a  series  of  windows  is  that  presented  by  Mr. 
Thomas  Brown,  late  of  the  house  of  Longman  and  Co. — the  subjects  depicted  being 
from  the  Life  of  St.  Paul.  The  cartoons  were  designed  by  Schnorr,  and  Professor 
Strahuber  is  the  artist,  who  was  asked  by  Schnorr  himself  to  carry  his  designs  into 
effect.  Inspector  von  Ainmiller  was  requested  in  like  manner  to  take  in  hand  the 
architectural  accessories.  The  window  is  divided  into  two  parts.  The  upper  and 
principal  part  represents  the  "  Vision  "  seen  by  the  Apostle,  and  in  the  lower  portion 
Ananias  is  seen  coming  to  St.  Paul  when  blind.  To  the  right  and  left,  the  donor  and 
his  wife  are  represented  in  a  kneeling  posture,  and  beneath  are  their  coats  of  arms  and 
other  decorations.  The  composition  and  the  architectural  portion — chiefly  from 
motifs  by  the  English  architect,  Penrose,  who  superintends  the  works  of  restoration- 
arc  excellent. 


litw 

My    statement    t! 

836                              CURIOSITIES  ?ultl  c 
hon0  C  ompany  for  unl 

Gardens  and  Dials.— Whitehall  gardens  § 
ornamented  with  marble  and  bronze  statuR 
Court  and  Windsor.     In  Privy  Garden  was  r 
of  astronomy  at  Gresham   College  (and  of1* 
command  of  James  L,  in  1624.   A  large  stone^e(-'- 
and  "the  great  horizontal  concave"  in  tl 
south  dials  at  the  sides.     In  the  reign  of  Chs*| 

cated  nobleman  of  the  Court :  °k    the    trouble   to    v,  i,   tela 

"This  place  for  a  dial  was  too  uns?°,.Ue  subscriber  who  B 
Since  a  guard  and  a  garden  ci  -  - 
For  so  near  to  the  Court  they  wi,  i    towns 
Any  witness  to  show  how  thei 

In  the  court-yard  facing  the  Banqueting-}  ,,      rtiaro-*. 

1669  by  order  of  Charles  II.     It  was  inve 

Jesuit,  and  professor  of  mathematics  at  Liegcln    his   reply,    sj  leaking 
in  a  pyramidal  form,  and  bearing  several  veHl  Hull,  I.- 
planes,  and  glass  bowls ;  showing  "  besides  t! "  I  cannot  trace  all  my  re< 
belonging  to  geography,  astrology,  and  astrtflephone    payments,    but, 
the  eye."     Among  the  pictures  were  portrait  payment  was  £lQ  foi 
of  York,  and  Prince  Rupert.     Father  Lyne>r  a  private  wire  to  road.      Aftei 
consisted  of  seventy-three  parts :  it  is  illustre  paid  tho  National  Telephone  r'0 
are  condensed  in  No.  400  of  the  Mirror.)     ;ir.~y   £15  f0l,   ^oth,    at   a  flat  rate— »i 
matician  in  Canon-row,  asked  500Z.  to  repawn  v    ca]i.g    as    we    jj^ed 
Buckingham  House.  .Wiripal  "charge   was    £*5      I 

liemams  ot  ancient  Whitehall  nave  been  ifom  time  to  time  ui^*,.*- 

Mr.  Sydney  Smirke,  F.S.A.,  in  the  basement  of  "  Cromwell  House,"  Whitehall-yard, 
found  a  stone-built  and  groined  Tudor  apartment — undoubtedly  a  relic  of  Wolsey*s 
palace,  and  corresponding  with  the  wine-cellar  in  Vertue's  plan, — which  is  remarkably 
larger  than  the  chapel.  Mr.  Smirke  also  found  a  Tudor  arched  doorway,  with 
remains  of  the  arms  of  Wolsey  and  the  see  of  York  in  the  spandrels;  a  portion  of  the 
river-wall  and  circular  bastions;  and  two  stone  mullioned  Tudor  windows,  at  the  back  of 
the  Almonry -office,  corresponding  with  the  back  wall  of  the  apartments  of  "  the  Yeomen 
of  the  Wood-yard,"  in  Vertue's  plan.  In  1847  were  removed  the  last  remains  of  York 
House,  a  Tudor  embattled  doorway,  which  had  been  built  into  a  later  facade  of  the 
Treasury.     {Archceologia,  vol.  xxv.) 

Among  the  relics,  comparatively  but  little  known,  is  a  range  of  chambers,  with  groined  roofings  of 
stone,  at  the  Rolls  Offices  iu  Whitehall-gardens,  which,  probably,  are  a  portion  of  the  ancient  palace  of 
Whitehall.  Part  of  the  external  wall  of  these  remains  is  still  visible  opposite  the  statue  of  James  II. — 
H.  Mogford,  F.S.A. 

Upon  the  site  of  the  small-beer  cellar  (engraved  in  No.  4  of  Hollar's  prints  of 
Whitehall)  is  the  house  of  the  Earl  of  Fife.  Here  were  some  fine  Gobelins  tapestry ; 
a  marble  picture  of  Mary  Stuart,  with  her  infant ;  and  in  Pennant's  time  here  was  a 
head  of  Charles  I.  when  Prince  of  Wales,  said  to  have  been  painted  at  Madrid  by 
Velasquez,  in  1625*  The  mansion  was  sold,  in  1809,  for  12,000£.  to  the  Earl  of 
Liverpool,  who  possessed  it  until  his  death  in  1828.  In  an  adjoining  wall  is  the  Tudor 
arched  entrance  to  the  palace  water-stairs.  In  Privy  Garden  was  the  celebrated 
Museum  formed  by  the  Duchess  of  Portland :  here  Pennant  was  shown  a  rich  pearl 
surmounted  with  a  crown,  which  was  taken  out  of  the  ear  of  Charles  I.  after  his  head 
was  struck  off:  here  also  was  the  Barberini  or  Portland  Vase,  purchased  by  the  Duchess 
of  Sir  William  Hamilton  for  1800  guineas.  The  museum  was  sold  by  auction,  in  lots, 
April  24,  1786,  when  the  vase  was  bought  by  the  Duke  of  Portland  for  1029  guineas, 
and  deposited  by  his  grace  in  the  British  Museum  in  1810. 

In  Whitehall  Yard  is  the  United  Sekvice  Institution  Musetjm,  described  at 
page  545.  No.  3  is  the  Office  of  the  Comptroller  General  of  the  Exchequer,  where  is 
held  "the  Trial  of  the  Pyx." 

*  In  1845,  Mr.  Snare,  of  Beading,  bought  at  a  sale  of  pictures  at  Badley  Hall  a  painting  which  he 
believed  to  be  "  the  lost  portrait "  of  Prince  Charles  by  Velasquez,  and  so  denoted  by  the  Earl  of 
File  in  a  catalogue  of  his  pictures  at  Fife  House,  in  1798.  (See  Account  of  the  Picture,  &c. 
Beading,  1847.) 


WINDOWS  OF  PAINTED  AND  STAINED  GLASS.  837 

The  ceremony  of  the  Pyx  is  a  very  ancient  custom,  and  takes  place  every  five,  six,  or  seven  years,  at 
the  above  offices,  or  in  Old  Palace-jard.  It  is  a  sort  of  trial  of  the  Masters  and  Officers  of  the  Mint,  to 
ascertain  if  the  coinage  which  they  have  issued  is  pure  and  standard  gold  and  silver,  fair  weights, 
and  proper  quantities  of  alloy.  A  jury  of  eminent  goldsmiths  being  sworn,  the  Master  of  the  Mint 
produces  the  great  pyx  box.  The  chest,  which  requires  six  men  to  carry  it,  contains  several  thousand 
sovereigns  and  some  silver — principally  florins,  shillings,  sixpenny,  and  threepenny  pieces — the  results 
of  the  accumulation  since  the  previous  trial.  As  soon  as  the  chest  is  full  the  trial  must  take  place. 
The  chief  clerk  of  the  Exchequer  produces  the  box  containing  "the  pyx,"  that  is,  a  plate  of  gold  and 
one  of  silver,  made  in  the  time  of  George  III.  The  pyx  is  always  kept  in  the  ancient  chapel  at  West- 
minster; the  Controller  of  the  Exchequer,  Chancellor  of  the  Exchequer,  and  Treasury,  each  possessing 
a  separate  key  of  the  box  in  which  the  pix  is  kept.  After  the  usual  formalities,  the  Lord  Chancellor 
cuts  off  two  strips  of  metal  from  the  pix  plates,  one  from  the  gold  and  the  other  from  the  silver,  and 
hands  them  to  the  foreman  of  the  jury  of  goldsmiths,  by  whom  the  assay  is  to  be  made.  After  this  the 
pix  is  taken  back  to  the  Chapter-house  and  locked  up,  while  the  jury  and  the  chief  clerk,  with  the 
standard  weights,  proceed  to  Goldsmiths'  Hall,  where  the  coins  from  the  Mint  pix  box  are  assayed  by 
the  acid  test  and  weight.  The  ceremony  and  the  actual  process  are  well  described  in  the  Times, 
Jan.  20, 1866. 

In  Whitehall  Gardens  (till  our  time  called  by  the  old  name,  Privy  Garden)  is 
Montague  House  {see  p.  553) ;  No.  4  is  Sib  Robert  Peel's  (see  p.  555).  No.  7 
is  Pembroke  House  (formerly  the  Earl  of  Harrington's) :  in  1854,  it  was  fitted  up  for 
the  War  Minister. 

Whitehall  commences  at  Scotland-yard,  named  from  its  having  been  the  site  of 
tbe  palace  "  for  receipt  of  the  Kings  of  Scotland,  when  they  came  to  the  Parliament 
of  England  :"  to  this  statement  by  Stow,  it  has  been  objected  that  Scotland  has  always 
been  an  independent  nation — a  short  period  of  possession  under  the  Edwards  excepted. 
Strype,  quoting  a  pamphlet  of  1548,  states  the  Palace  to  have  been  built  by  Kenneth 
III.,  King  of  Scotland,  in  959,  on  ground  given  him  by  King  Edgar,  for  his  making 
thither  an  annual  journey  to  do  homage  for  the  kingdom  of  Scotland:  but  this  account 
is  less  credited  than  Stow's. 

"The  Scottish  Kings  appear  to  have  been  anciently  regarded  as  members  of  the  English  Parlia- 
ment; and  there  are  instances,  among  the  Tower  records,  of  the  issuing  of  writs  to  summon  their 
attendance.  In  Pinkerton's  Iconographia  Scotica  is  engraved  Edward  I.  sitting  in  Parliament,  with 
Alexander,  King  of  Scots,  on  his  right,  and  Llewellyn,  Prince  of  Wales,  on  his  left  hand :  this  is  stated 
to  have  been  taken  from  a  copy  of  an  ancient  limning,  formerly  in  the  English  College  of  Arms.  When 
the  Scottish  Sovereigns,  in  later  times,  attended  to  do  homage  for  their  fiefs  of  Cumberland  and  West- 
moreland, they  usually  lodged  in  their  palace,  in  Scotland-yard." — Note  :  in  Brayley's  Londinianu, 
ii.  277-8. 

Scotland-yard  is  now  the  head-quarters  of  the  Metropolitan  Police.    See  pp.  681 — 683. 

Here  are  Palace-row,  and  a  large  Conduit-house.  Milton,  wben  Latin  Secretary  to 
Cromwell,  had  apartments  in  Scotland-yard,  where  died  the  poet's  infant  son.  Tbe 
Crown  Surveyor  had  his  official  residence  in  Scotland-yard ;  and  here  lived  Inigo  Jones, 
Sir  John  Denham,  and  Sir  Christopher  Wren,  who  successively  filled  the  above  office. 

Near  his  house  in  Scotland-yard,  Inigo  Jones,  uniting  with  Nicholas  Stone,  the  sculptor,  buried  his 
money  in  a  private  place.  "  The  Parliament  published  an  order  encouraging  servants  to  inform  of 
such  concealments ;  and  as  four  of  the  workmen  were  privy  to  the  deposit,  Jones  and  his  friend 
removed  it  privately,  and  with  their  own  hands  buried  it  in  Lambeth  Marsh." — Life  by  Cunningham. 

Here  Sir  John  Vanbrugh  built  himself  a  house  out  of  the  ruins  of  Whitehall  Palace : 

Swift  has  ridiculed  the  house  of  "  brother  Van"  for  its  resemblance  to  a  goose-pie : 

Vanbrugh  died  here  in  1726. 

WINDOWS  OF  PAINTED  AND  STAINED  GLASS. 

THE  more  noteworthy  specimens  in  the  Metropolis  are  incidentally  noticed  in 
describing  the  edifices  which  contain  them.  The  following  are  recent  additions  : — 
St.  Paul's  Cathedral. — One  of  a  series  of  windows  is  that  presented  by  Mr. 
Thomas  Brown,  late  of  the  house  of  Longman  and  Co. — the  subjects  depicted  being 
from  the  Life  of  St.  Paul.  The  cartoons  were  designed  by  Schnorr,  and  Professor 
Strahuber  is  the  artist,  who  was  asked  by  Schnorr  himself  to  carry  his  designs  into 
effect.  Inspector  von  Ainmiller  was  requested  in  like  manner  to  take  in  hand  the 
architectural  accessories.  The  window  is  divided  into  two  parts.  The  upper  and 
principal  part  represents  the  "  Vision  "  seen  by  the  Apostle,  and  in  the  lower  portion 
Ananias  is  seen  coming  to  St.  Paul  when  blind.  To  the  right  and  left,  the  donor  and 
his  wife  are  represented  in  a  kneeling  posture,  and  beneath  are  their  coats  of  arms  and 
other  decorations.  The  composition  and  the  architectural  portion — chiefly  from 
motifs  by  the  English  architect,  Penrose,  who  superintends  the  works  of  restoration- 
are  excellent. 


8S8  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

The  Guildhall. —  Amongst  the  enrichments  of  the  Hall  are  several  windows,  one  of 
whir  h,  presented  hy  Mr,  Cornelius  Lea  Wilson,  is  of  fine  historical  design,  hy  Gibbs. 
It  is  in  four  compartments,  the  subjects  being  the  presentation  of  the  four  prin- 
cipal charters  of  the  City ;  the  figures  are  richly  coloured  and  jewelled  on  diapered 
backgrounds,  and  are  surmounted  by  canopies  on  a  rich  ruby  ground;  the  arms  of  the 
City  and  those  of  the  donor  are  introduced  in  the  tracery  lights.  The  first  subject  is 
William  the  Conqueror  holding  in  his  hand  the  first  charter  granted  to  the  City.  The 
second  subject  is  Henry  I.  presenting  the  charter  granting  to  the  City  to  hold  Middle- 
sex with  London,  and  the  right  of  hunting  in  the  forests.  The  third  subject  is 
Richard  I.  granting  the  charter  to  the  City  of  the  conservancy  of  the  river  Thames,  in 
order  that  the  fishery  might  be  nurtured  and  preserved,  and  the  navigation  encouraged 
and  protected.  The  fourth  and  last  subject  is  Edward  VI.  presenting  the  charter  of  the 
four  Royal  Hospitals. 

A  large  specimen  of  Glass-painting  was  exhibited  at  No.  15,  Oxford-street,  in  1830. 

The  subject  was  the  Tournament  oi  the  Field  of  Cloth-of-Gohl,  between  Henry  VIII.  and  Francis  I., 
at  Ardres  ;  the  last  tourney,  June  25, 1520 :  painted  by  Thomas  Wilmshurst  (the  horses  by  Woodward), 
from  a  sketch  by  R.  T.  Bone.  This  window  was  432  square  feet,  or  18  by  24  feet;  and  consisted  of  350 
pieces,  fitted  into  metal  astragals,  falling  with  the  shadows,  so  that  the  whole  picture  appeared  an 
entire  sheet  of  glass;  it  was  exhibited  in  a  first-floor  room,  decorated  in  the  taste  of  the  time  of 
Henry  VIII.  The  picture  was  composed  from  the  details  of  Hall's  Chronicle,  and  contained  upwards 
of  100  life-sized  figures  (40  portraits,  mostly  after  Holbein) :  including  the  two  Queens,  Wolsey,  Anne 
Boleyne,  and  the  Countess  of  Chateaubriant ;  Charles  Brandon,  Duke  of  Suffolk ;  Queen  Mary,  Dowager 
of  France ;  the  ill-fated  Duke  of  Buckingham,  &c.  The  gorgeous  assemblage  of  costume,  gold  and 
jewels,  waving  plumes,  glittering  arms,  velvet,  ermine,  and  cloth-of-gold,  with  heraldic  emblazonry, 
picturesquely  managed.  The  work  cost  the  artist  3000,5.  On  the  night  of  Jan.  31, 1832,  the  house  was 
destroyed  in  an  accidental  fire,  and  with  it  the  picture;  not  even  a  sketch  or  study  was  saved,  and  the 
property  was  wholly  uninsured. 

ZOOLOGICAL   SOCIETY'S   GARDENS, 

UPON  the  north-west  side  of  the  Regent's  Park,  consist  of  a  triangular  garden  south  of 
the  outer  road,  and  a  northern  garden  upon  the  banks  of  the  Regent's  Canal :  they 
are  connected  by  a  tunnel  beneath  the  road,  and  their  extent  is  about  17  acres.  The 
soil  being  originally  the  London  clay  very  near  the  surface,  was  cold  and  damp,  and, 
for  a  time,  caused  great  mortality  among  the  animals  of  the  Menagerie ;  but  the  whole 
has  been  thoroughly  drained  and  tastefully  planted. 

The  Zoological  Society  was  instituted  in  1826,  "for  the  general  advancement  of 
zoological  science."     It  had  been  proposed 

•  "The  great  objects  should  be,  the  introduction  of  new  varieties,  breeds,  and  races  of  animals,  for 
the  purpose  of  domestication  or  for  stocking  our  farm-yards,  woods,  pleasure-grounds,  and  wastes ; 
with  the  establishment  of  a  general  zoological  collection,  consisting  of  prepared  specimens  in  the 
different  classes  and  orders,  so  as  to  afibid  a  correct  view  of  the  Animal  Kingdom  at  large,  in  as  com- 
plete a  series  as  may  be  practicable;  and  at  the  same  time  point  out  the  analogies  between  the  animals 
already  domesticated,  and  those  which  are  similar  in  character,  upon  which  the  first  experiments  may 
be  made.  *  *  *  *  Should  the  Society  flourish  and  succeed,  it  will  not  only  be  useful  in  common 
life,  but  would  likewise  promote  the  best  and  most  extensive  objects  of  the  Scientific  History  of 
Animated  Nature,  and  offer  a  collection  of  living  animals  such  as  never  yet  existed  in  ancient  or  modern 
times." — Prospectus,  privately  circulated,  1824. 

Among  the  founders  of  the  Society  were  Sir  Stamford  Raffles,  Sir  Humphry  Davy, 
Earl  Darnley,  Sir  Everard  Home,  Mr.  Davies  Gilbert,  Dr.  Horsfield,  the  Rev.  W 
Kirby,  Mr.  Sharpe  Macleay,  and  Mr.  N.  A.  Vigors ;  and  into  the  new  Society  merged 
the  Zoological  Club.  At  the  same  time  was  commenced  the  formation  of  a  Museum, 
at  No.  33,  Bruton-street,  with  the  magnificent  collection  of  Sir  S.  Raffles.  A  plot  of 
ground  in  the  Regent's  Park  was  granted  to  the  Society  by  the  government,  and  laid 
out  by  Decimus  Burton,  who  also  built  the  first  houses  and  inclosures  for  the  animals. 
Sir  Francis  Chantrey  took  great  interest  in  the  Society,  and  the  embellishment  of  the 
Gardens.  In  1827,  the  lake  in  the  Park,  with  its  islands  and  water-fowl,  and  a  site 
for  breeding  and  rearing,  were  likewise  granted  to  the  Society.  The  Gardens  were 
first  opened  to  the  public  in  1828,  by  members'  orders,  and  one  shilling  each  person ; 
and  during  seven  months  there  were  upwards  of  30,000  visitors :  there  were  then 
in  the  Menagerie  430  animals ;  and  the  year's  expenses  were  10,000£. 

Among  the  earliest  tenants  of  the  Menagerie  were  a  pair  of  emus  from  New 
Holland;  two  Arctic  bears  and  a  Russian  bear;  a  herd  of  kangaroos;  Cuban  mastiffs 
and  Thibet  watch-dogs ;  two  llamas  from  Peru ;  a  splendid  collection  of  eagles,  falcons, 


ZOOLOGICAL  SOCIETTS  GARDENS,  839 

and  owls  ;  a  pair  of  beavers ;  cranes,  spoonbills,  and  storks;  zebras  and  Indian  cows; 
Esquimaux  dogs ;  armadilloes ;  and  a  collection  of  monkeys.  To  tbe  collection  have 
since  been  added  an  immense  number  of  species  of  Mammalia  and  Birds,  lists  of  which 
are  appended  to  the  several  annual  Reports.  To  these  was  added,  in  1849,  a  collection 
of  Reptiles ;  and  in  1853,  a  collection  of  Fish,  Mollusea,  Zoophytes,  and  other  Aquatic 
Animals.  Among  the  royal  donors  to  the  collection  are  the  Emperor  of  Russia,  the 
late  Queen  of  Portugal,  the  Viceroy  of  Egypt,  and  Queen  Victoria.  In  1830,  the 
menagerie  collected  by  George  IV.  at  Sandpit-gate,  Windsor,  was  removed  to  the 
Society's  Gardens ;  and  1834  the  last  of  the  Tower  Menagerie  was  received  here.  It 
is  now  the  finest  public  Vivarium  in  Europe. 

The  following  are  some  of  the  more  remarkable  animals  which  the  Society  have 
possessed,  or  are  now  in  the  Menagerie : — 

Antelopes,  the  great  family  of,  finely  represented.  The  beautiful  Elands  were  bequeathed  by  the 
late  Earl  of  Derby,  and  have  bred  freely  since  their  arrival  in  1851.  The  Leucoryx  is  the  first  of  her 
race  born  out  of  Africa.  Ant-eater,  Giant,  brought  to  England  from  Brazil  in  1853,  and  was  exhibited 
in  Broad-street,  St.  Giles's,  until  purchased  by  the  Zoological  Society  for  200?.  (See  the  admirable 
paper  by  Professor  Owen.)  Apteryx,  or  Kiv>i  bird,  from  New  Zealand;  the  first  living  specimen 
brought  to  England  of  this  rare  bird.  The  Fish-house,  built  of  iron  and  glass,  in  1853,  consisting  of 
a  series  of  glass  tanks,  in  which  fish  spawn,  zoophytes  produce  young,  and  algaj  luxuriate;  Crustacea 
and  mollusea  live  successfully,  and  ascidian  polypes  are  illustrated,  together  with  sea  anemones,  jelly- 
fishes  and  star-fishes,  rare  shell-fishes,  &c. :  a  new  world  of  animal  life  is  here  seen  as  in  the  depths  of 
the  ocean,  with  masses  of  rock,  sand,  gravel,  corallines,  sea-weed,  and  sea-water;  the  animals  are  in  a 
state  of  natural  restlessness,  now  quiescent,  now  eating  and  being  eaten.  Aurochs,  or  European 
Bisons :  a  pair  presented  by  the  Emperor  of  Russia,  in  1847,  from  the  forest  of  Bialowitzca :  the  male 
died  in  1848,  the  female  in  1849,  from  pleuro-pneumonia.  Bears :  the  collection  is  one  of  the  largest 
ever  made.  Elephants :  including  an  Indian  elephant  calf  and  its  mother.  In  1847  died  here  the 
great  Indian  elephant  Jack,  having  been  in  the  gardens  sixteen  years.  Adjoining  the  stable  is  a  tank 
of  water,  of  a  depth  nearly  equal  to  the  height  of  a  full-grown  elephant.  In  1851  the  Society  possessed 
a  herd  of  four  Elephants,  besides  a  hippopotamus,  a  rhinoceros,  and  both  species  of  tapir ;  being  the 
largest  collection  of  pachydcrmata  ever  exhibited  in  Europe.  Giraffes :  four  received  in  1836  cost  the 
Society  upwards  of  2300/.,  including  1000Z.  for  steamboat  passage :  the  female  produced  six  male  fawns 
here  between  1840  and  1851.  Hippopotamus,  a  young  male  (the  first  living  specimen  seen  in  England), 
received  from  Egypt  in  May,  1850,  when  ten  months  old,  seven  feet  long,  and  six  and  a  half  feet  in 
girth ;  also  a  female  hippopotamus,  received  1854.  Humming-birds :  Mr.  Gould's  matchless  collection 
of  2000  examples  was  exhibited  here  in  1851  and  J852.  Iguanas,  two  from  Cuba  and  Carthagena, 
closely  resembling,  in  everything  but  size,  the  fossil  Iguanodon.  The  Lions  nu.nber  generally  from 
ei-'ht  to  ten,  including  a  pair  of  cubs  born  in  the  gardens  in  1853.  Orang-utan  and  Chimpanzee :  the 
purchase-money  of  the  latter  sometimes  exceeds  3002.  The  orang  "  Darby,"  brought  from  Borneo  in 
1851,  is  the  finest  yet  seen  in  Europe,  very  intelligent,  and  docile  as  a  child.  Parrot-houses,  the,  some- 
times contain  from  sixty  to  seventy  species.  Rapacious  Birds :  so  extensive  a  series  of  eagles  and 
vultures  has  never  yet  been  seen  at  one  view.  The  Reptile-house  was  fitted  up  in  1849 ;  the  creatures 
are  placed  in  large  plate-glass  eases :  here  are  pythons  and  a  rattle-snake,  with  a  young  one  born 
here;  here  is  also  a  case  of  the  tree-frogs  of  Europe:  a  yellow  snake  from  Jamaica  has  produced 
eight  young  in  the  gardens.  Cobra  de  Capello,  from  India:  in  1852,  a  keeper  in  the  gardens  was 
killed  by  the  bite  of  this  serpent.  A  large  Boa  in  1850  swallowed  a  blanket,  and  disgorged  it  in 
thirty-three  days.  A  one-horned  Rhinoceros,  of  continental  India,  was  obtained  in  1834,  when  it  was 
about  four  years  old,  and  weighed  26  cwt.;  it  died  in  1850:  it  was  replaced  by  a  female,  about  five 
years  old.  Satin  Bower-Birds,  horn.  Sydney :  a  pair  have  built  here  a  bower,  or  breeding-place.  Tapir 
of  the  Old  World,  from  Mount  Ophir ;  the  nearest  existing  form  to  the  Paleotherium.  Tigers :  a  pair 
of  magnificent  specimens,  presented  by  the  Guicowar  of  Baroda  in  1851 ;  a  pair  of  clouded  tigers,  1854. 
The  Wapiti  Deer  breeds  every  year  in  the  Menagerie. 

The  animals  in  the  Gardens,  although  reduced  in  number,  are  more  valuable  and 
interesting  than  when  their  number  was  higher.  The  missions  of  the  Society's  head- 
keeper,  to  collect  rare  animals  for  the  Menagerie,  have  been  very  profitable.  The 
additional  houses,  from  time  to  time,  are  very  expensive:  the  new  monkey-house, 
fittings,  and  works  cost  4842?.;  and  in  1864  the  sum  of  6604?.  was  laid  out  in 
permanent  additions  to  the  establishment.  In  1863,  the  income  amounted  to 
20,284?.  12s.  lie?. — a  sum  unexampled,  except  in  the  two  Exhibition  years ;  but  the 
income  of  1864  reached  21,713?.  13*.  10c?.  The  visitors  of  all  classes  to  the  Gardens 
during  the  year  1864  were  507,169 — a  number  falling  little,  if  at  all,  short  of  that  of 
the  visitors  to  the  British  Museum,  which  is  open  to  the  public  gratuitously.  The 
yearly  income  of  the  Society  may  now  be  reckoned,  under  ordinary  circumstances,  to 
reach  the  amount  of  20,000?. ;  and  the  ordinary  expenses  of  the  present  large 
establishment,  17,000?.  The  greater  part  of  the  above  large  sum  is  produced  by  the 
shillings  and  sixpences  taken  at  the  gates  of  the  Society's  Gardens  for  the  admission  of 
visitors.  In  1864,  upwards  of  12,700?.  accrued  to  the  Society's  revenues  in  this  way, 
and  the  corresponding  amount  in  each  year  generally  exceeds  10,000?.  Visitors  on 
Mondays  and  holidays,  who  pay  only  sixpence  a  head,  contribute  by  far  the  larger  pro- 


840  CURIOSITIES  OF  LONDON. 

portion  of  this  sum — their  numbers  being  much  more  than  double  those  of  the  visitors 
on  the  other  days  of  the  week  who  pay  one  shilling  each. 

The  number  of  Fellows  and  Annual  Subscribers  at  the  close  of  1866  was  2459.  Income,  24,379/. 
Visitors,  527,349.  Animals  in  the  Menagerie,  2013;  Quadrupeds,  535;  Birds,  1305;  Keptiles,  173. 
Expenditure,  22,418/.;  cost  and  keep  of  Animals,  1409/.  Menagerie  expenses,  1058/.  Provisions, 
3837/.— New  Buildings  and  Works,  3983/. 

The  Society's  Museum,  which  is  in  the  South  Garden,  is  described  at  p.  606.  An 
excellent  Guide  to  the  Gardens  is  published. 

ZOOLOGICAL    GARDENS,    SURREY, 

"TT7"ERE  established  in  1831,  by  Mr.  Edward  Cross,  upon  the  demesne  which  had 
*  '  been  attached  to  the  manor-house  at  Walworth.  Thither  Cross  removed  his 
menagerie  from  the  King's  Mews,  where  it  had  been  transferred  from  Exeter  Change. 
The  Gardens  were  laid  out  by  Henry  Phillips,  author  of  Sylva  Florifera  ;  when  a  glazed 
circular  building,  100  feet  in  diameter,  was  built  for  the  cages  of  the  carnivorous  animals 
(lions,  tigers,  leopards,  &c.) ;  and  other  houses  for  mammalia,  birds,  &c.  Here,  in 
1834,  was  first  exhibited  a  young  Indian  one-horned  rhinoceros,  for  which  Cross  paid 
800Z. ;  it  was  the  only  specimen  brought  to  England  for  twenty  years :  in  1836  were 
added  three  giraffes,  one  fifteen  feet  high.  To  the  zoological  attraction  was  added  a 
large  picture-model,  upon  the  borders  of  the  lake,  three  acres  in  extent :  the  first 
picture,  Mount  Vesuvius  (with  the  natural  lake  for  the  Bay  of  Naples),  was  produced 
in  1837,  when  fireworks  were  also  first  introduced,  for  the  volcanic  eruption ;  in  1839, 
Iceland  and  its  volcanoes;  1841,  the  City  of  Rome;  1843,  Temple  of  Ellora;  1844, 
London  and  the  Great  Fire  of  1666 ;  1845,  Edinburgh  ;  1846,  Vesuvius,  reproduced ; 
1848,  Rome,  reproduced ;  1849,  Storming  of  Badajoz.  These  picture-models,  mostly 
painted  by  Danson,  were  of  great  extent ;  that  of  Rome  occupying  five  acres,  and  a 
painted  surface  of  260,000  square  feet.  They  probably  originated  in  the  Ranelagh 
spectacles  of  the  last  century  j  for  in  1792  was  exhibited  there  Mount  Etna,  80  feet 
high,  with  the  flowing  lava,  and  altogether  a  triumph  of  machinery  and  pyrotechnics. 
Balloon-ascents,  flower-shows,  and  other  sights,  with  out-door  concerts,  were  added  to 
the  attractions  of  these  Gardens.  In  1856,  the  property  was  sold,  the  Menagerie 
removed,  and  there  was  built  upon  the  site  the  Surrey  Music  Hall,  described  at  p.  609. 


THE  CRYSTAL  PALACE,  SYDENHAM. 

ALTHOUGH  this  stupendous  structure  is  not,  like  its  prototype,  the  1851  Greab 
Exhibition  building  in  Hyde  Park,  placed  within  the  limits  of  the  town,  the 
"  Curiosities  of  London"  would  scarcely  be  complete  without  some  notice  of  the  contents 
of  the  Crystal  Palace  at  Sydenham.  It  occupies  the  summit  of  a  hill  between  the 
Brighton  Railway  and  the  Dulwich  Wood,  the  fall  from  its  site  to  the  railway  being 
200  feet ;  the  main  floor  of  the  Palace  being  on  a  level  with  the  cross  at  the  top  of 
St.  Paul's  Cathedral.  In  its  construction  the  materials  of  the  1851  Exhibition  building 
have  been  employed;  but  it  is  larger  than  its  predecessor  by  1628  feet,  and  by  nearly 
one-half  in  cubic  contents.  It  is  almost  entirely  of  iron  and  glass,  covers  nearly  16  acres 
of  ground;  and  its  height  from  the  garden-front  to  the  top  of  the  louvres  is  208  feet,  or 
6  feet  higher  than  the  Monument.  The  nave  is  covered  with  an  arched  roof,  raising  it 
44  feet  higher  than  the  nave  in  Hyde  Park ;  and  the  centre  and  two  end  transepts 
have  similar  roofs.  From  there  Windsor  Castle  may  be  seen  on  the  one  side, 
Knockholt  beeches  (near  Seven  Oaks)  on  the  other.  Nearly  10,000  tons  of  iron 
have  been  used  in  the  main  building  and  wings ;  and  the  superficial  quantity  of  glass 
is  25  acres. 

The  Nave  is  entered  at  the  south  end,  through  an  ornamental  screen  of  niches  filled 
with  statues  of  kings  and  queens  by  John  Thomas.  In  the  area,  statues  are  pic- 
turesquely grouped  with  stupendous  pines,  palms,  and  other  tropical  plants  of  luxuriant 
beauty,  backed  by  the  brilliant  facades  of  the  various  Industrial  and  Fine  Arts  Courts. 
East  and  west  are  groups  illustrating  the  ethnology,  zoology,  and  botany  of  the  Old 
and  New  Worlds ;  and  at  each  end  is  a  spacious  basin,  for  a  fountain  to  throw  up  water 
from  70  to  200  feet.     In  the  Courts,  and  dispersed  throughout  the  building,  are  the 


TEE  CRYSTAL  PALACE,  SYDENHAM.  841 

works  of  French  and  Italian,  German  and  English,  Roman  and  Greek  sculptors ;  and 
models  of  celebrated  ancient  and  modern  edifices.  Throughout  the  whole  Palace  are 
galleries  devoted  to  the  exhibition  of  pictures,  sculpture,  and  other  objects  of  fine  art 
and  industry.  The  most  beautiful  works  are  the  Courts  representing  the  architecture 
and  sculpture  of  each  nation :  Egyptian,  Greek,  Roman,  Pompeian,  Alhambra,  Assyrian, 
Byzantine,  and  Romanesque ;  German,  English,  French,  and  Italian  mediaeval ;  Renais- 
sance, Elizabethan,  Italian,  &c. 

The  great  Orchestra  in  the  centre  Transept,  erected  for  the  Handel  Festivals,  is 
capable  of  containing  four  thousand  performers.  The  Handel  Festivals  are  held  trien- 
nially.  The  four  festivals  held  in  1857,  1859,  1862,  and  1865,  were  attended  by 
254,231  persons,  the  receipts  being  upwards  of  100,000Z.  The  large  Organ  crowning 
the  great  Orchestra  was  built  expressly  for  these  festivals  by  Messrs.  Gray  and 
Davison.  In  width  this  enormous  Orchestra  is  double  the  diameter  of  the  dome  of 
St.  Paul's. 

Up  to  this  time — a  period  of  between  thirteen  and  fourteen  years — the  Palace  has 
been  visited  by  upwards  of  twenty-one  millions  of  visitors.  On  holiday  and  great  fete 
days  it  is  no  uncommon  occurrence  to  find  from  40,000  to  60,000  persons  attending. 
On  one  occasion  (a  Forester's  fete)  83,721  visitors  passed  the  stiles  in  one  day. 

The  income  of  the  Company  annually  varies  from  120,000Z.  to  140.000Z.  per  annum. 
Of  this  large  sum  about  20,000Z.  arises  from  season  tickets,  a  nearly  similar  amount 
from  royalties  on  refreshments,  and  about  15,000Z.  from  exhibitors'  rental. 

Descending  across  the  terraces,  decorated  with  marble  vases  filled  with  flowers  and 
figures  emblematical  of  all  nations,  to  the  Italian  and  English  Landscape-Garden  and 
the  Park,  we  find  Science  and  Philosophy  teaching  their  sublime  truths  in  a  geological 
illustration  of  the  Wealden  formation,  "  so  well  known  in  Kent,  Surrey,  and  Sussex, 
and  formerly  the  great  metropolis  of  the  Dinosaurian  orders,  or  the  largest  of  gigantic 
lizards :"  the  various  strata  are  here  represented ;  and  here  Mr.  Waterhouse  Hawkins, 
under  the  guiding  eye  of  Professor  Owen,  has  built  up  gigantic  animals  of  a  former 
world,,  and  in  some  instances  restored  them  from  fossil  remains. 

The  series  of  fountains  are  a  great  attraction  and  are  unrivalled  in  extent.  The  two 
largest  jets  throw  water  240  feet  in  height,  being  in  volume  and  extent  equal  to  the 
great  steeple  of  Bow  Church,  Cheapside.*  The  Palace,  Park,  Gardens,  and  Fountains, 
&c.,  were  designed  and  laid  out  by  the  late  Sir  Joseph  Paxton,  M.P. 

The  Palace  is  approached  by  a  branch  from  the  Brighton  Railway,  and  also  by  a 
high  level  railway  connected  with  the  London,  Chatham  and  Dover  Railway  main 
stations,  Victoria  and  Ludgate.  By  the  latter,  the  entire  system  of  the  Metropolitan 
(Underground)  Railway  communicates  with  the  Palace.  Similar  communication  also 
exists  by  Kensington  with  the  North  London  Railway.  On  the  completion  of  the  East 
London  (Tunnel)  Railway,  the  Palace  will  be  in  direct  communication  with  all  the 
great  railways  entering  London,  and  excursions  may  be  run  from  all  parts  of  the 
country  thereto.  The  building  was  opened  by  her  Majesty,  June  10,  1854.  It  has 
cost  nearly  a  million  and  a  half  of  money;  and  in  grandeur  of  purpose  is  a  marvel  of 
enlightened  enterprise. 

The  oontents  of  the  Palace  are  all  that  its  magic-suggestive  name  promises.  For  picturesque  effects 
we  have  fountains  and  fishpools,  flowers  and  plants ;  for  art-teaching  purposes  we  have  statues  and 
paintings,  with  nooks  of  Spain,  Pompeii,  Nineveh,  and  Egypt ;  for  examples  of  industrial  arts,  manu- 
factures from  all  the  civilized  nations.  In  this  building  we  can  again  take  art  from  its  cradle  in  Assyria 
or  Egypt,  and  trace,  after  its  long  sojourn  on  the  banks  of  the  Nile,  its  progress  through  Greece  and 
Borne,  and  during  the  Middle  Ages,  to  the  Renaissance.  No  need  to  draw  upon  the  imagination.  Here 
are  casts  and  faithful  representations  of  the  most  important  objects  that  modern  research  has  discovered. 
The  English  artisan,  with  little  time  for  study,  and  less  hope  of  travel,  is,  by  this  means,  made 
acquainted  with  the  works  of  races  whose  names  were  unknown  to  his  forefathers,  and  familiar  with 
antediluvian  monsters,  whose  pre-Adamite  existence  was  but  faintly  shadowed  out  in  the  griffins  and 
dragons  of  romance/ 

*  A  portion  of  the  north  end  of  the  Palace  was  destroyed  by  fire  caused  by  the  explosion  of  gas  in  the 
flues  heating  the  50  miles  of  hot-water  pipes  within  the  Palace,  on  Sunday,  December  30,  1866 :  a 
considerable  portion  of  the  damaged  part  has,  however,  already  been  reconstructed. 


INDEX. 


A  DELPHI : 

■£*•    Adams,  architects,  1 

Banks,  Sir  Edward,  2 

Becket,  the  bookseller,  2 

Blamire,  George,  death  of,  2 

Embankment  of  Thames,  1 

Garrick's  House  and  Public 
Funeral,  1 

Hill,  Thomas :  Curiosities,  2 

Knox,  Vicesimus,  2 

Literary  Fund  chambers,  2 

Sandwich  Islands,  King  and 
Queen  of,  2 

Terrace  and  View,  1 
Admiralty  Office: 

Clarence,    Duke    of,    Lord 
High  Admiral,  3 

Nelson's  Funeral,  3 

Ripley,  architect,  2 

Screen,  by  Adam,  2 

Semaphore,  and  the  Electric 
Telegraph,  3 

Wallingfbrd  House,  2 
Alchemists  : 

Brande's  account,  3 

Hermetic      Mystery,       sup- 
pressed work,  4 

Last  true  believer  in,  3 

Woulfe,  P.,  Barnard's  Inn,  3 
Aldermen : 

Barber,  printer,  5 

Birch,  Boydell,  and  Wilkes,  5 

Butler's  Character  of,  5 

Court  at  Guildhall,  6 

Election  of,  5 

Farringdon  Ward,  5 

Norton's  Commentaries,  5 

Read,  Richard,  foot  soldier,  5 

Saxon  origin,  4 

Wallace,  William.gaoler  of,5 

Wards  or  Guilds,  5 
Almack's  : 

Decline  of,  4 

First  opened,  4 

Novel  and  Key,  4 

Williams,  Gilly,  describes,  4 
Almonry,  Royal  : 

Almoner,  Q.  Adelaide's,  7 

Coronation  Alms,  7 

High  Almoner,  7 

Maundy    Thursday    distri 
bution,  7 

Whitehall  Chapel,  7 


Almonry : 

Ancient  house,  6 

Caxton's  Printing-press,  6 

Great  and  Little  Almonry,  6 

Harrington,  James,  6 

Westminster  Abbey,  6 
Almshouses  : 

Alleyn's,  8 

Architecture  of,  9 

Bancroft's,  8 

Clock  and  Watchmakers',  9 

Cure's,  8 

Dramatic  College,  9 

Drapers',  8 

East  India,  9 

Emmanuel  Hospital,  8 

Fishmongers',  8 

French  Protestant,  9 

Goldsmiths',  9 

Haberdashers',  9 

King  William's,  9 

London,  9 

London  Companies',  7 

Marylebone,  9 

Morden  College,  9 

Norfolk,  9 

Owen's,  8 

Palmer's,  9 

Salters',  8 

Societies,  various,  9 

Surrey  Chapel,  9 

Trinity,  8 

Van  Dun's,  8 

Westminster,  7,  8 

Whittington's,  8 
Amusements  : 

Archery,  10 

Ballad -singing,  10 

Bear  and  Bull-baiting,  11 

Bowls,  11 

Card-playing,  10 

Cock-fighting,  12 

Cricket,  12 

Duck-hunting,  13 

Equestrianism,  13 

Fairs,  13 

Fireworks,  14 

Football,  14 

Hunting  and  Poaching,  14 

Masquerades,  14 

Mayings  and  May-games,  15 

Parks,  Sports  and  Pastimes 
in,  15 


Amusements — continued. 

Punch's  Street  Show,  16 

Prison  Bars,  or  Base,  16 

Puppet  shows,  16 

Racket  and  Tennis,  17 

Salt-box  Music,  17 

Skittles,  17 

Tea-gardens,  17 

Thames  Sports,  19 

Theatres,  19 
Apollonicon  : 

Construction     and    Perfor- 
mances, 19 
Arcades  : 

Burlington,  Covent  Garden, 
Exeter  'Change,  Lowther, 
20 
Arches  : 

Buckingham  Palace,  Green 
Park,  and  Hyde  Park,  21 
Argyll  Rooms: 

Braithwaite's    Steam    Fire 
Engine;    Chabert,  "Fire 
King ;"  and  Velluti,  22 
Art  Union  of  London: 

Pictures  in  demand,  22 

Prizes  drawn,  22 
Artesian  Wells: 

Breweries',  various,  23 

Buckland,  Dr.,  on,  23 

Covent  Garden,  23 

Hampstead-road,  23 

Origin  of,  23 

Prestwick  on,  24 

Supply  of,  23 

Tottenham,  23 

Various,  23 
Artillery  Company  : 

Archers  of  Finsbury,  24 

Armorial  Ensigns,  26 

Armoury  House,  25 

Captain-General,  and  Colo- 
nels, 25 

Musters  and  Marchings,  25 

Trained  Band,  24,  25 

BALLOON  ASCENTS : 
Cox  well's  Ascents,  27 
Glaisher's      Scientific     As- 
cents, 27 
Green's  Ascents,  26 
London,  from  a  balloon,  27 
Memorable,  26,  27 


INDEX. 


843 


Balloon  Ascents — contd. 

Baths — contin  ued. 

Bethlem — continued. 

Montgolfier,  26 

Hummums.or  Warm  Baths, 

Cibber's  Raving  and  Melan- 

Nassau, Great,  27 

Covent  Garden,  39 

choly  Madness,  51,  52 

Parachutes,  26 

Peerless  Pool,  37 

Criminal  Lunatics,  53 

Smith,  Albert,  ascent  of,  27 

Queen  Anne's,  39 

Curable  Patients,  53 

Bank  of  England: 

Queen  Elizabeth's,  39 

History  of  the  word,  51 

Area  of,  27 

Roman,  37 

Horrors  of  old  Bethlem,  52 

Bank-note  Machinery,  29 

Turkish,  39 

House  of  Occupation,  52 

Building-  and  Architects,  28 

Bazaars  i 

Improved  Management,  52 

Bullion  Office,  28 

Anti-Corn-Law  League,  42 

Old  Bethlem  described,  51 

Clock,  29 

Baker- street,  41 

Origin  of  the  name,  51 

Coins  and  Curiosities,  30 

Corinthian,  543 

Rebuilt     on     St.    George's 

Forgeries,  30 

Cosmorama,  42 

Fields,  52 

Garden  Court  and  Fountain, 

St.  James's,  41 

Second  Bethlem,  51 

30 

Lowther,  41 

Tom  o'  Bedlam,  52 

Grocers'  Hall  and  Mercers' 

Pantechnicon,  41 

Bethnal  Green: 

Hall,  28 

Pantheon,  41 

Blind  Beggar,  50 

Newland,  Abraham,  30 

Portland,  42 

Bishop  Bonner's  Palace,  50 

Notes  and  amounts,  31 

Principle  of  the  Bazaar,  40 

Habits  of  the  people,  50 

Panics  and  Runs,  29 

Soho,  40 

Billingsgate  : 

Rifles,  Company  of,  31 

Western  Exchange,  41 

Billingsgate  discourse,  54 

Weighing  Office,  29 

Baynard's  Castle  : 

Fish  consumed  inLondon,55 

Bankside  : 

Bainiardus,  founder,  40 

Fishfag  and  Origin  of  the 

Bear  and  Bull-baiting,  31 

Baynard's     Watering     and 

name,  54 

Stews  and  Theatres,  31 

Bays  water,  40 

Fish-trade,  55 

Baebican  : 

Humphrey     and     Richard, 

Market  Rebuilt,  55 

Ancient  Watch-tower,  32 

Dukes  of  Gloucester,  40 

Blackfriars  : 

Milton's  House,  32 

Beggars  : 

Bedstead, curious  ancient,  57 

Origin  of  Barbican,  32 

Frauds,  42 

Bible  translators,  57 

Bartholomew  Fair  : 

Mendicity  Society,  42 

Charles  V.  lodged,  55 

Ben     Jonson,  Dogget,  and 

Sky  Farmers,  42 

Henry  VIII.  and  Katherine 

Pepys,  33 

Belgravia  : 

of  Arragon,  56 

Celebrities,  33,  34 

Belgrave-square  built,  43 

Hunsdon  House  and  "  Fatal 

City  Rights,  33 

Five  Fields,  43 

Vespers,"  56 

Cloth  Fair,  33 

Cubitt.Thomas,  sketch  of,  43 

Monastery,  55,  56 

Discontinuance  of,  36 

Bells  and  Chimes  : 

Mylne,  the  architect,  57 

Fielding,  Shuter.and  Wood- 

Bride's, S.,  47 

Painters  resident,  56 

ward,  35 

Charterhouse,  44 

Parliaments  held,  55 

Hentzner  at,  33 

Christchurch,  47 

Phillips,  Sir  Richard,  57 

Hone's  account  of  the  Fair 

Clochard,  Westminster,  44 

Playhouse,  56 

of  1825,  36 

College    and    Cumberland 

Shakspeare's  house,  56 

Lady  Holland's  Mob,  35 

Youths,  45 

Railway  Station,  57 

Kensington,  Lord,  33 

Curfew,  or  Couvre-feu,  43 

Vandyck  resided,  56 

Morley's  Memoirs,  33 

Historical  bells,  46 

BLACKWALL : 

Origin  of  the  Fair,  32 

S.  Leonard's,  47 

Cabinet  Fish  Dinner,  58 

Pie  Poudre  Court,  32 

London  Scholars,  46 

Chinese  junk  exhibited,  58 

Priory  Fair,  32 

S.  Martin's,  47 

Iron  Ship-building,  5S 

Proclamations     and      Cool 

S.  Mary-le-Bow,  46 

Whitebait  fishing,  57 

Tankard,  35 

S.  Michael's,  43 

Blind  School: 

Punchinello    and     Puppet 

Rector  tolling  in,  46 

Day's  Charity  for  Blind,  59 

shows,  34 

Royal  Exchange  chimes,  48 

Origin  of,  58 

Rahere,  or  Rayer,  32 

S.  Paul's  Cathedral,  45 

Tudor  School-house  built,  53 

Bartholomew's,  S.  Hospital: 

S.  Saviour's,  48 

Work  by  the  Blind,  5S 

Corporation    Management, 

S.  Sepulchre's,  48 

Breweries  : 

36,  37 

S.  Stephen's,  48 

Barclay  &  Perkins's,  GO 

Henry  VIII.  founded,  37 

Societies  of  Ringers,  45 

Globe  Theatre  site,  fit) 

Hogarth's    Painted     Stair- 

Westminster Palace  Bells,  44 

Johnson,  Dr.,  and  Tin-ale, GO 

case,  36 

Bermondset  : 

Meux  &  Co.,  61 

Origin  of  the  Hospital,  86 

Beormund's  Eye,  or  Island, 

Lion  Brewery,  61 

Rebuilt,  36 

49 

Porter,  origin  of,  59 

Samaritan  Fund  and  View- 

Leather  Market,  50 

Reid  &  Co.,  61 

day,  37 

Monastery,  founded,  49 

Signs  of  Breweries,  62 

Baths,  Olden  : 

Prize  altar  Picture,  49 

Thrale's  Brewery,  60 

Agnes-le-Clair,  37 

Roman  Catholic  Convent,  49 

Truman,  Hanbury,&  Co.,  61 

Bagnio,  Newgate- street,  38 

Skin  Market,  50 

Water  for  Brewing,  59,  60 

Baths  and  Wash-houses,  39 

Spa,  old,  50 

Whitbread's  Brewery,  59 

Cold  Bath,  Clerkenwell,  37 

Bethlem     or    Bethlehem 

Bridewell  Hospital: 

Duke's,  or  Bagnio,  38 

Hospital  : 

Bridewell  Boys,  63 

Floating,  39 

Arms  of  the  Hospital,  54 

Burial-place,  64 

844 


INDEX. 


Bridewell — continued. 

Bridges— continued. 

Chancery- lane — continued. 

Chamberlain's,   City,  juris- 

Westminster Bridge : 

Southampton     House     and 

diction,  64 

Labelye,  engineer,  70 

Lord  W.  Russell,  83 

Charter  picture,  not  by  Hol- 

Lambeth Palace  Ferry,  69 

Walton,  Isaak,  his  shop,  82 

bein,  64 

New  Bridge,  by  Page,  71 

Charing  Cross: 

City     Apprentices,    refrac- 

Wordsworth's Sonnet,  70 

Bermudas,  the,  85 

tory,  committed,  63 

BUCKLERSBURY,  75 

Canaletti's  View,  84 

Congregational  Church,  first. 

Barge-yard  andWalbrook,75 

Cherringe  village,  83 

established,  64 

Conduit,  Great,  75 

DoumfaUe  of  Charing  Cross, 

"Flock    of    Slaughter;"   in 

Herb-market,  and  Simplers, 

84 

Bridewell,  64 

75 

Eleanor  Cross,  the,  83 

Flogging  loose  persons,  63 

Bunhill  Fields  : 

Golden  Cross  Inn,  84 

Hogarth's      Harlot's     Pro- 

Bunyan and    Defoe  buried 

Hermitage  and  Hospital,  84 

gress,  63 

here,  77 

Statue  of  Charles  I..  84 

Hospital  rebuilt,  62 

Curll's    Register    of   inter- 

Payne, the  bookbinder,  85 

House  of  Occupation,  63 

ments,  75 

Proclamations,  84 

Lob's  Pound,  63 

Inscriptions,  curious,  76 

Taverns,  84 

Korman  Palace,  62 

Leased  to  theCorporation,75 

Charterhouse  : 

Pictures,  64 

Origin  of  the  name,  75 

Burnet,  Dr.  Thomas,  87 

Presented  to   the   City   by 

Persons  of  note  buried  here, 

Carthusians,  eminent,  87 

Edward  VI.,  62 

76,  77 

Chapel  and  Monuments,  86 

Bridges  : 

Plague  burials,  76 

Cbarterhomse    grounds  and 

Length,  breadth,  and  cost,  71 

Tindal's  Lease,  76 

buildings,  86 

Blackfriars  Bridge : 

Charterhouse  Monastery,  85 

Foundation-stone,  72 

pANONBURY  TOWER; 
V    Canons    of  S.   Bartholo- 

Elizabethan Chamber,  86 

Mylne,  architect,  71 

Fags  at  Charterhouse,  88 

New  Bridge,  by  Cubitt,  72 

mew,  78 

Hall,  the  Great,  86 

Suicides  from,  73 

Chambers  and  Goldsmith,  78 

Havelock,  General,  87 

Chelsea  Suspension,  by  Page, 

Spencer,  Sir  John,  78 

Hospital  of  King  James,  85 

74 

Carvings  in  Wood  : 

Manny,  Sir  Walter,  85 

Hammersmith  Suspension,  74 

Canonbury  House,  79 

Poor  Brethren,  87 

Hungerford  Suspension,  built 

Chapel  of  Henry  VII.,  79 

Portraits,  87 

by  I.  K.  Brunei,  74 

Cheapside,  No.  108,  80 

Prior,  the  last,  85 

Lambeth  Suspension,  75 

Cradle  for  Prince  Arthur,  80 

School-rooms,  87 

London  Bridge : 

Crosby  Hall,  and  S.  Helen's, 

Sutton's  estates,  86 

Budgell    and   Temple    sui- 

Bishopsgate, 79 

Sutton's  tomb,  85 

cides,  67 

Gibbons's  carving,  79 

Cheapside  : 

Cost  of,  69 

Gog  and  Magog,  Guildhall, 

Barclay's  house,  88 

Described     by     Sir     John 

80 

"  Beauty  of  London,"  88 

Rennie,  69 

Halls    of  the    City    Com- 

Chepe, or  Market,  88 

Fires,     Insurrections,     and 

panies,  79 

Cross,  Siandard,  and  Con- 

Sieges, 66 

S.  Mary-at-Hill  Church,  80 

duit,  89 

First  Stone  bridge,  65 

S.  Michael's    Church,  Corn- 

Joustings  and  Watches,  88 

Heads  on  the  gate-houses, 

hill,  80 

Mercers'&  Saddlers'Halls,89 

67 

Ormond-st.,  Queen-sq.,  80 

Nag's  Head  Tavern,  89 

Houses  on,  66 

Pulpit  of  St.  Paul's,  79 

Wren,  house  designed  by,  89 

Iron  from  old  piles,  69 

State  Coaches,  80 

Chelsea  : 

Norden's  View,  66 

Temple  Church  and  West- 

Beaufort and  Lindsey  Old 

London,  first,  65 

minster  Abbey,  80 

Mansions,  90 

Opened  by  William  IV.,  68 

Westminster  Hall  roof,  78 

Blacklands      and      White- 

Osborne     and    the     Leeds 

Westminster  New  Palace,  80 

lands,  90 

family,  68 

Wood  carvings,  79 

Cheyne,  Lord,  90 

Peter  of  Colechurch,  65,  69 

Cemeteries  : 

Churches,  St.  Luke's,  90 

Railway  Bridges,  72,  73,  74 

Abney  Park,  82 

Cremorne  House,  91 

Rebuilt  by  Uennie,  68 

Churchyards  planted,  32 

Five  Fields,  91 

Trades,  old,  67 

Evelyn  proposed,  81 

Highwaymen  at,  91 

Traffic,  69,  74 

Highgate,  82 

Little  Chelsea,  91 

"Waterworks,  67 

Jews'  Burial-grounds,  82 

Manor,  89 

South wark  Bridge : 

Kensal  Green,  81 

Mazarin,  Duchess  of,  90 

Built    of    Iron,    by    John 

Norwood,  82 

More,  Sir  Thomas,  mansion 

Rennie,  73 

Nunhead,  82 

of,  90 

Opened,  74 

Victoria  Park,  82 

Origin  of  Name,  89 

Vauxhall ; 

West  London,  82 

Saltero's      Museum,       and 

Built  of  Iron,  by  Walker,  72 

Chancery-lane  : 

Coffeehouse,  90 

Waterloo  Bridge  : 

Chichester,  Bishop's  Palace, 

Signs,  curious,  91 

Built  by  John  Rennie,  73 

82 

Sloane,  Sir  Hans,  90 

Great  cost  of,  73 

Lincoln's  Inn  gateway,  83 

Turner,  the  painter,  death 

Opened,  73 

Name,  82 

of,  91 

Suicides  from,  73 

Serjeants'  Inn,  82 

Waterworks,  91 

INDEX. 

845 

Chelsea  Buns: 

Chapels — continued. 

Chapels — continued. 

Bun-house.  Old,  91 

Moravian,  Fetter-lane,  220 

JIagdalen   Hospital,  Black- 

Curiosities  of,  92 

National     Scotch    Church, 

friars-road,  213 

George   II.    and   III.,   and 

Covent  Garden,  221 

Margaret-street,  213 

their  Queens,  91 

Old  Gravel-pit,Hackney,221 

S.    3Iark's,  North  Audley- 

Swift  and  Stella,  91 

Oxendon,  Haymarket,  221 

street,  214 

Chelsea  Porcelain  : 

Presbyterian,  Hackney,  224 

S.  Mark's,  Fulham-rd.,  214 

Bow  porcelain,  94 

Presbyterian,     Newington- 

Percy,  Charlotte-street,  214 

Dr.  Johnson's  experiments, 

green,  221 

S.  Peter's,  Queen-sq.,  214 

94 

Providence,  Marylebone,221 

S.  Peter's,  Vere-street,  214 

Manufactory,  94 

Providence,  Gray's-inn-lane, 

S.  Philip's,  Regent-st.,  215 

Bare  specimens,  94 

221 

Portland,  Great    Portland- 

Chess  Clubs  : 

Regent's-square,  Gray's-inn- 

street,  215 

Philidor,  95 

road,  222 

Quebec,  Quebec-street,  215 

St.    George's,  London,  Di- 

Scotch   Church,     Swallow- 

Ragged  Church,  215 

vans,  Parsloe's,  Salopian, 

street.  222 

Rolls,  Chancery -lane,  215 

Slaughter's,  95 

South-place,  Finsbury,  222 

Tenison's,  Regent-st.,  215 

Christ's  Hospital  : 

Spa-fields,  222 

Trinity,  Conduit-street,  216 

Abuses,  alleged,  100 

Stepney  Meeting,  223 

Trinity,  Knightsbridge,  216 

Bequests,  early,  96 

Surrey,  223 

York-st.,  St.  James's,  216 

Blue-coat  girl,  97 

Swedenborg     Church,    Ar- 

Churches,    Foreign     Pro- 

"Blue Coat  School,"  96 

gyle-square,  223 

testant  : 

Blues,  eminent,  99 

Tabernacle,     Metropolitan, 

Dutch,  Austin  Friars,  216 

Charity  to  the  Blind,  101 

223 

French,  217 

Cloisters  of  Hospital,  100 

Tabernacle,  Moorfields,  223 

Savoy,  217 

Drawing-room   presenta- 

Trinity Badependents,  Pop- 

Swiss, 217 

tions,  99 

lar,  224 

Roman  Catholic  Churches 

Edward  VI.,  grant  from,  96 

United  Presbyterian,  224 

and  Chapels: 

Exhibitions     for     Scholar- 

Unity Church,  Islington,  224 

Ambassadors'  Chapels,  229 

ships,  99 

Weigh-house,      Fish-street- 

Bavarian,  Warwick-st.,  229 

Foundation  of,  95 

hill,  224 

S.     George's,    S.    George's 

Girls'  School,  Hertford,  101 

Wesleyan,  City-road,  224 

Fields,  230 

Grants  from  Henry  VIII., 95 

Wesleyan,Kentish-town,225 

Immaculate       Conception, 

Grey  Friars'  monastery,  96 

Wesleyan,    Great      Queen- 

Farm-street,  230 

Hall,  Great,  97 

street,  225 

Italian,  Hatton-wall,  231 

Hertford  establishment,  101 

Wesleyan,  Liverpool-rd.,  225 

S.  John  of  Jerusalem,  Great 

Hospital,  originally,  96 

Whitefield's  Tabernacle.Tot- 

Ormond-street,  230 

Hospital  rebuilt,  97 

tenham-court-rd.,  225,790 

S.  John,  Evangelist,  Isling- 

Income, 100 

Zoar  (Bunyan's)  Southwark, 

ton,  231 

Library,  100 

226 

S.  Mary's,  Moorfields,  231 

Livery  or  Dress,  96 

Chapels,  Episcopal  : 

S.  Monica's,  Hoxton,  232 

Mathematical  School,  97 

Asylum     for    Female   Or- 

Oratory, Brompton,  232 

Orations,  98 

phans,  209 

Our  Lady's,  S.  John's-wood, 

Penmanship,  99 

S.    Bartholomew's,    Kings- 

232 

Pictures,  98 

land,  209 

S.  Patrick's,  Sutton-st.,  232 

Presentations,   and  Gover- 

Bedfordbury, 209 

Sardinian,     Lincoln's  -  Inn 

nors,  101 

Bentinck,        Chapel-street, 

Fields,  232 

President,  election  of,  101 

New-road,  210 

*  Spanish,  Spanish-pl.,  233 

Reports,  100, 101 

Charlotte  (Dodd's),  Pimlico, 

Churches  of  London  : 

Ridley,  Bishop,  96 

210 

Bishop  of  London's  Fund, 

Spital  Sermons,  99 

Duke-st.,  Westminster,  210 

103 

Suppings  in  Public,  98 

Foundling   Hospital,    Guil- 

Churches    destroyed  in  the 

Writing  School,  97 

ford-street,  210 

Great  Fire,  and  not  re- 

Chapels, Dissenters  : 

Gray's- Inn,  211 

built,  102 

Albion,  Moorgate,  219 

Grosvenor,   South   Audley- 

City  Churches,  great  num- 

Baptist, Little  Wild-st.,  219 

street,  211 

ber  of,  103 

Baptist,  Bloomsbury-st.,  219 

Hanover,  Regent-street,  211 

Metropolis  Churches  Fund, 

Baptist,  Notting  Dale,  219 

House  of  Charity,  Soho,  211 

103 

Caledonian,  Hatton  Garden, 

S.  James's,  Hampste  ad-road, 

Middle  Ages,  102 

219 

212 

Queen  Anne  Churches,  102 

Canonbury,  Islington,  220 

S.  James's,  Pentonville,  212 

Saxon,  101 

Catholic  and  Apostolic,  Gor- 

S. John's,  Bedford-row,  212 

Wren's  churches,  102 

don-square,  220 

Kentish-town,  212 

S.  Paul's,  Old : 

Congregational,        Kentish 

King's  College,  212 

Bankes's  Horse,  106 

Town,  220 

S.  John's  Wood,  212 

Cloisters,  Dance  of  Death, 

Essex-street,  Strand,  220 

Lamb,  Monkwell-st.,  212 

104 

Highbury,  220 

Leadenhall,  203 

Conversion  of  S.  Paul,  An- 

Independent,Kingsland,220 

Lincoln's  Inn,  213 

niversary,  104 

Jewin-st.,  Aldersgate,  220 

S.  Luke's,  Fulham-road,  213 

Dimensions  of  cathedral,  104 

846 


INDEX. 


Churches — continued. 

Duke  Humphrey'sTomb,10C> 
St.   Faith's   and   Gregory's 

Churches,  104 
First  and  Second  Churches, 

S.  Paul's,  104 
Great  Fire  of  1666,  107 
Miracles,     Penances,     and 

Shrines,  105 
Monuments,  105,  106, 115 
Paul's  or  Powly's  Cross,  105 
Paul's  Jacks,  106 
Paul's  Walk,  106 
Portico,  by  Inigo  Jones,  107 
Ruins  cleared,  107 
Spire  burnt,  104 
S.  Paul's : 
Admission  money,  116 
Ball  and  Cros3,  115 
Chapter-house,  116 
Clock  and  Great  Bell,  112 
Crypt,  113 

Dimensions  of  cathedral, 11 7 
Dome,  Thornhill's  Pictures, 

114 
Exterior,  109 
Fabric  Fund,  117 
Festivals,  116 
F.rst  stone  laid  by  Charles 

II.,  108 
Galleries,  Outer,  115 
Grave  of  Wren,  113 
Ground-plan,  109 
Gwilt,  Joseph,  on,  110 
Heights,  110 

Horner's  Sketches  from,  115 
Model-room,  111 
Monuments,  112 
Nelson's  Tomb,  113 
Order  against  Swearing,109 
Organs,  112 
Painted  Windows,  117 
Painters'  Corner,  113 
Picton's  remains,  114 
Plot  against   Queen  Anne, 

109 
Position  of  Old  and  New 

Cathedrals,  108 
Re-decoration,  117 
Secured  from  Lightning.110 
State  Processions,  116 
Views,  116,  117 
Wellington's    Funeral   and 

Tomb,  114 
Wellington's   Funeral   Car, 

exhibition  of,  114 
Whispering     Gallery     ex- 
plained, 111,  112 
Wightwick  on  the  architec- 
ture, 111 
Wren's  Design,  and  Model, 

107 
Westminster  Abbey : 
Admeasurements,  139 
Altar-painting,    curious 

early,  124 
Ambulatory,  125 
Ancient  Remains  described, 

120 


Churches — continued. 
Centenary,  Eighth,  Celebra- 
tion of,  140 
Chapels:  Abbot  Islip's,  128  ; 
S.    Benedict's,    124;    S. 
Blaise's,     123 ;     S.     Ed- 
mund's, 124 ;  Edward  the 
Confessor's,  127  ;  S.  Eras- 
mus's, 127;  Henry  VII. '8, 
125;    S.  John   Baptist's, 
128;  S.  Nicholas's,   125; 
S.  Paul's,  127 
Chapter-house,       Cloisters, 
North    Transept,     South 
Side,  Western  Front,  121 
Chapter-house  described,126 
Choir,     Monuments,      and 

Pavements,  131,  132 
Choir  refitted,  132 
Choir  Screen,  134 
Cloisters,  Monuments,  137 
Coronations  in  the  Abbey 

Church,  133 
Coronation  of  Georgel  V.  133 
Coronation   of  Queen  Vic- 
toria, 133 
Coronation  Chairs,  130 
Domesday  Book,  137 
Edward  the  Confessor,  118 
Elizabeth,      Queen,      reor- 
ganizes, 120 
Exterior  Views,  120 
Fees  for  Monuments,  123 
Foundation,  117,  118 
Gravestones  in  South  Tran- 
sept, 123 
Ground-plan,  121, 124 
Henry  III.  rebuilds,  118 
Interior  described,  121 
Jerusalem  Chamber,  135 
Library  of  the  Dean  and 

Chapter,  136 
Litlington's  buildings,  119 
Litlington  Tower,  137 
Metal  work  and  Brasses,  139 
Models,  various,  137 
Musical  Festivals,  138 
Nave  and  its  monuments, 

134,  135 
Nave  rebuilt,  119 
North  Transept,  Monuments 

in,  130,131 
Organs  described,  138 
Painted  and  Stained  Glass, 

138 
St.  Peter,  dedication  to,  119 
Poets'    Corner,    Tombs   in, 

122,  123 
Pulpit,  new,  135 
Remains,  most  ancient,  120 
Sanctuary,  119 
Sebert's  Church,  117 
Shrine  of  Edward  the  Con- 
fessor, 129,  130 
Shrine  of  Henry  V.,  129 
Spur-money,  126 
Stanley,    Dean,    on    West- 
minster Abbey,  139,  140 
Tablets  to  Queen  Mary,  126 


Churches — continued. 
Tombs,  celebrated,  138 
Waxwork  Exhibition,  128, 
818 
Chapel  Royal,  St.  James's : 
Children    of    the     Chapel 

Royal,  141 
Choral  service,  140 
Holbein's  ceiling,  140 
Spur  Money,  141 
Chapel  Royal,  Savoy : 
Altar-screen,  144 
Architecture,  143 
Christmas-day  customs,  144 
Fires  and  Restoration?,  144 
Grant  of  Henry  III.,  142 
Persons  of  note  buried,  1 43 
Prison  of  the  Savoy,  144 
Royal  Closet,  142 
Royal  Printing-press,  143 
Rubens's  ceiling,  142 
Savoy  Marriages,  143 
Schools  at  the  Savoy,  142 
Chapel  Royal,  Whitehall : 
Boyle  Lectures,  142 
Hospital,  142 
Maundy  distribution,  142 
Not  consecrated,  141 
Churches : 

S.  Alban's,  Baldwin's  Gar- 
dens, 144 
S.     Alban's,     Wood-street, 

Cheapside,  145 
Allhallows   Barking,  Great 

Tower-street,  145 
Allhallows,  Bread-8t.,146 
Allhallows,  Great  and  Less, 
Upper  Thames-street,  146 
Allhallows,  Honey-lane,146 
Allhallows,  Lombard-st.,146 
Allhallows  Staining,  Mark- 
lane,  146 
Allhallows  -  in  -  the  -  Wall, 

Broad-street  Ward,  147 
All  Saints,  Bishopsgate,  147 
All   Saints,    Knightsbridge, 

147 
All  Saints,  Lambeth,  147 
All  Souls,  Langham-pl.,  147 
All  Saints,  Margaret-st.,147 
All  Saints,  Poplar-lane,  149 
S.  Alphage,  London  Wall, 

149 
S.     Andrew's,     Kingsland- 

road,  149 
S.  Andrew's  Holborn,  149 
S.     Andrew's     Undershaft, 
Leadenhall-street,'    150  ; 
Stow,  sketch  of,  150 
S.   Andrew  by  the  Ward- 
robe, Castle  Baynard,  150 
S.  Andrew's,  Wells-st.,  150 
S.  Anne's,  Blackfriars,  150 
S.  Anne's,  Limehouse,  130 
S.  Anne's,  Soho,  151 
S.  Anthony 's,Budge-row,l  5 1 
S.     Augustine's,     Watling- 

street,  151 
S.  Barnabas,  Pimlico,  151 


INDEX. 

847 

Churches — continued. 

Churches — continued. 

Churchbs — continued. 

S.  Barnabas,  Edgware-rd., 

S.  Gregory  by  S.  Paul's,  165 

S.  Mary  Abbots,  Kensing- 

152 

S.  Helen's,  Bishopsgate,  165 

ton,  181 

S.  Bartholomew  by  the  Ex- 

S.    Katharine's,    Regent's- 

S.    Mary     Abchurch,    Ab- 

change,  152 

park,  166 

church-lane,  182 

S.  Bartholomew  the  Great, 

S.  James's,  Aldgate,  167 

S.  Mary  Aldermary,    Bow- 

152 

S.  James's,  Clerkenwell,  168 

lane,  182 

S.  Bartholomew   the   Less, 

S.  James's,  Garlick  Hithe, 

S.  Mary's,  Battersea,  182 

153 

168 

S.   Mary-le-Bone,  High-st., 

S.  Benet,Gracechurch-street, 

S.   James  the  Less,  West- 

183 

153 

minster,  168 

S.Marylebone,New-road,193 

S.  Bennet  Fink,  154 

S.  James's,  Piccadilly,  169 

S.  Mary-le-Bow,  Cheapside, 

S.  Bennet,  Paul's- wharf,  154 

S.  James's,  Shoreditch,  171 

183 

S.  Bennet  Sherehog,  154 

S.James's,  Bermondsey,171 

S.  Mary's,  Islington,  184 

S.  Botolph's,  Aldgate,  154 

S.  John's,  Hackney,  171 

S.  Mary's,  Lambeth,  185 

S.   Botolph's,    Bishopsgate, 

S.  John's,  Bethnal  Green,171 

S.  Mary-at-Hill,  Eastcheap, 

154 

S.John's.Clerkenwell:  Cock- 

185 

Bow  church,  see   S.  Mary- 

lane  Ghost,  171 

S.  Mary    Magdalene,  Ber- 

le-Bow 

S.    John    the     Evangelist, 

mondsey,  186 

S.  Bride's,  Fleet-street,  155 

Charlotte-street,  Fitzroy- 

S.  Mary   Magdalen,    Mun- 

British  and  Foreign  Sailors', 

square,  171 

ster-square,  186 

Wellclose-square,  156 

S.    John    the  Evangelist, 

S.  Mary  Magdalen, Old  Fish- 

Camden   Church,   Camber- 

Horselydown,  171 

street,  186 

well,  156 

S.    John    the    Evangelist, 

S.   Mary  Matfelon,  White- 

S.  Catherine  Cree,  Leaden- 

Westminster,  171 

chapel,  186 

hall-street,  156 

S.    John    the    Evangelist, 

S.  Mary's,  Newington-butts, 

S.  Chad,  Haggerston,  156 

Waterloo-road,  172 

187 

Christ  Church,  Westminster, 

S.  John  of  Jerusalem,  South 

S.  Mary's,  Paddington,  187 

156 

Hackney,  172 

S.Mary's,  Rotherhithe,  187 

Christ  Church,  Clapham,  157 

S.  John's,  Notting-hill,  172 

S.  Mary   Somerset,  Queen- 

Christ  Church,    Ficcadilly, 

S.   John's,    Oxford-square, 

hithe,  187 

157 

PaddingtOB,  172 

S.  Mary's,  Stoke  Newington, 

Christ    Church,   Highbury, 

S.  Jude's,  Gray's-inn-road, 

187 

157 

173 

S.  Mary-le-Strand,  188 

Christ     Church,    Newgate- 

S.  Lawrence  Jewry,  King- 

S.  Mary's,  Wyndham-pl.,  188 

street,   157:    Spital  Ser- 

street, Cheapside,  173 

S.    Mary  Woolnoth,   Lom- 

mons, 157 

S.  Leonard's,  Eastcheap,  173 

bard-street,  188 

Christ  Church,  Poplar,  157 

S.    Leonard's,     Shoreditch, 

S.      Matthew's,      Bethnal- 

Christ  Church,  Spitalfields, 

173 

green,  189 

157 

S.  Luke's.Edg  ware-road, 174 

S.  Matthew's,  City-road,  189 

S.Clement's,  Eastcheap,  158 

S.  Luke's  (Old),  Chelsea,  174 

S.  Matthias's,  Stoke  New- 

S. Clement's  Danes,  158 

S.Luke's  (New),  Chelsea,175 

ington,  189 

S.  Clement's,  Islington,  159 

S.   Luke's,  Old-street-road, 

S.Matthew's,  Brixton,  189 

S.  Clement's, Barnsbury,  159 

176 

S.  Michael  and  All  Angels, 

S.  Dionis  Backchurch,  159 

S.     Magnus    the    Martyr, 

Finsbury,  190 

S.   Dunstan's-in-the-East, 

London  Bridge,  176 

S.  Michael  Bassishaw,  Ba- 

Tower-street,  159 

S.  Margaret's,  Lothbury,176 

singhall-street,  190 

S.  Dunstan's-in-the-West, 

S.  Margaret  Pattens,  Fen- 

S.  Michael's,  Pimlico,  190 

Fleet-street,  159 

church-street,  176 

S.  Michael's,  Cornhil),  190 

S.  Dunstan's,  Stepney,  161 

S.  Margaret's, Westminster : 

S.  Michael's,  Crooked-lane, 

S.   Edmund's,    (King    and 

Overseer's       Box      and 

191 

Martyr),  Lombard-st-,  161 

Painted  Window,  177 — 

S.MichaelPaternosterRoyal, 

S.  Ethelburga's,Bishopsgate- 

179 

Upper  Thames-st.,  191 

street,  161 

S.  Mark's,  Kennington  Com- 

S. Michael's, Queenhithe,  192 

S.  Ethelreda's,  Ely-pl.,  161 

mon,  179 

S.  Michael's,  Wood-st.,  192 

S.  George's,  Kensington,  162 

S.  Mark's,  Old-street-road, 

S.  Mildred's,  Bread-st.,  192 

S.  George's,Hanover-square, 

179 

S.  Mildred's,  Poultry,  192 

162 

S.  Mark's,  Victoria  Docks, 

S.   Nicholas    Cole    Abbey, 

S.    George's    in  the    East, 

179 

Fish-street- bill,  192 

Ratcliff  Highway,  Raine's 

S.   Martin's -in -the -Fields, 

S.  Olave's,  Hart-street,  192 

Marriage  Charity,  162 

Strand,  179 

S.  Olave's,  Jewry,  193 

S.  George's,  Queen-sq.,162 

S.    Martin's,    Gospel    Oak 

S.  Olave's,  Tooley-st.,  193 

S.     George     the      Martyr, 

Fields,  180 

S.Pancras-in-the-Fields,193 

Queen-sq.,  163 

S.    Martin's,     Ironmonger- 

S.  Pancras,Euston-road,  194 

S.     George      the     Martyr, 

lane,  180 

S.Paul's,St.John's-wood,195 

Southwark,  163 

S.  Martin  Orgar,  Eastcheap, 

S.    Paul's,    Camden     New 

S.  Giles's,  Camberwell,  163 

181 

Town,  195 

S.  Giles's,  Cripplegate,  163 

S.    Martin's    Outwich,    Bi- 

S.Paul's.Covent  Garden,195 

S.  Giles's-in-the-fields,  164 

shopsgate-street,  181 

S.  Paul's,  Herne-hill,  196 

848 


INDEX. 


Churches — continued. 
S.  Paul's,  Lorrimore-square, 

Walworth,  196 
S.  Paul's,  for  seamen,  196 
S.  Paul's,  Shadwell.  196 
S.  Paul's.Knightsbridge,  197 
S.  Peter's,  Belsize-park,  19/ 
S.  Peter's,  Comhill,  197 
S.  Peter's,  Pimlico,  197 
S.  Peter's,  Saffron-hill,  197 
S.  Peter's,  Bankside,  197 
S.  Peter-le-Poor,  Old  Broad. 

street,  197 
S.  Peter's,  Vauxhall,  197 
S.Peter  ad  Vincula,  Tower, 

198 
S.  Peter's,  Walworth-rd.,  198 
S.  Peter's,  Great  Windmill- 
street,  199 
S.  Saviour's,  Clapham  Com- 
mon, 199 
S.  Saviour's,  Hoxton,  199 
S.  Saviour's,  Southwark,  199 
S.  Sepulchre's,  Skinner-st. 
S.  Simon's,  Chelsea,  203 
S.Stephen's,Coleman-st.,203 
S.   Stephen     the    -Martyr, 

Portland-town,  203 
S.    Stephen     the    Martyr, 

Westminster,  203 
S.Stephen's,  Spitalflelds,204 
S.  Stephen's,  Walbrook,204 
S.  Swithin's,  London  Stone, 

205 
Temple  Church,  205 
S.  Thomas  the  Apostle,  207 
S.  Thomas,Charterhouse,208 
S.  Thomas's,  Southwark,  208 
Trinity,  Albany-street,  208 
Trinity,  Brompton,  208 
Trinity.Gray's  Inn-road,208 
Trinity,  Haverstock-hill,  208 
Trinity, Holy,  Minories,  208 
Trinity,  Paddington,  208 
Trinity  ,VauxhaIlBridge,208 
S.  Vedast's,  Fo3ter-lane,  209 
Towers  and  Spires,  209 
City  Walls  and  Gates: 
Aldgate,     Alderpgate,     Bi- 
shopsgate,      Cripplegate, 
Ludgate,  Newgate,  233 
City  and  Liberties,  235 
Cripplegate  Bastion,  234 
Gates,  position  of,  234, 235 
London, derivation,  233,235 
London   destroyed    by   the 

Great  Fire,  236 
Ludgate  Statues,  235 
Norman  Wall,  234 
Roman  Wall,  233,  234,  235 
Clerkenwell  : 

Bagnigge  Wells,  237 
Britton,  the  Musical  Small- 
coal  Man,  236 
Clerks'  Well,  236,  237 
Cobham-row  and  Cold  Bath- 
square,  238 
Hicks's  Hall,  237 
Hockley-in-the-Hole,  237 


Clerkenwell — continued. 
S.  John's  Gate,  236 
Newcastle,  Duke  of,  236 
Oldcastle,  Sir  John,  238 
Pinks's  History  of  Clerken- 
well, 238 
Priory  Church,  236 
Red  Bull  Theatre,  236 
Watch  andClockmaking,238 
Climate  of  London: 
Change  of  Air,  239 
Howard  on,  238 
Smoke,  239 
Temperature,  238 
Winds,  effect  of,  239 
Clubs  and  Club-houses  : 
Alfred,  240 
Almack's,  240 
Alpine,  240 
Apollo,  240 
Army  and  Navy,  241 
Arts,  241 
Arthur's,  241 
Athenaeum,  241 
Athenaeum,  Junior,  242 
Beef-steak  Club,  243 
Beef-steak  Society,  243 
Blue-stocking  Club,  243 
Boodle's,  242 

British  and  Foreign  Insti- 
tute, 244 
Brooks's,  242 
Brothers' Club,  2  44 
Carlton,  244 
Carlton,  Junior,  250 
Cavendish,  244 
City,  244 
City,  New,  244 
Civil  Service,  244 
Civil,  245 
Clifford-street,  245 
Club  Chambers,  245 
Clubs,  origin  of,  239 
Cocoa-tree,  245 
Conservative,  246 
County,  246 
Coventry  House,  246 
Crockford's  (Crockford's  ca- 
reer, note),  246 
Dilettanti  Society,  247 
EastIndiaUnitedService,247 
Eccentric,  248 
Eccentrics,  the,  248 
Erechtheium,  248 
Essex  Head,  248 
Farmers',  248 
Fielding,  249 
Four-in-hand,  249 
Garrick,  (Pictures),  249 
Gresham,  250  ~ 
Grillion's,  250 
Guards,  250 
Independents,  250 
Ivy-lane,  250 
King  of  Clubs,  250 
Kit-Kat  (Pictures),  250 
Law  Institution,  251 
Literary  Club,  251 
Mermaid,  252 


Clubs — continued. 
Mulberries,  252 
Museum,  252 
National,  252 
Naval,  Royal,  252 
Naval  and  Military,  253 
Noviomagians,  253 
October,  253 
Oriental,  253 

Oxford  and  Cambridge,  253 
PallMall,Club-houses  in,254 
Parthenon,  254 
Phoenix,  254 
Portland,  254 
Prince  of  Wales's,  254 
Reform,  254 
Reform,  Junior,  255 
Robin  Hood,  255 
Rota,  or  Coffee  Club,  255 
Roxburghe,  255 
Royal  Society  Club,  256 
Royal  Thames  Yacht,  256 
Scriblerus,  256 
Smithfleld,  256 
Thatched  House,  257 
Tom's  Coffee-house,  257 
Travellers',  257 
Treason,  258  * 

Union,  258 
United  Service,  258 
United  Service,  Junior,  258 
University,  259 
Universities  Union,  259 
Urban,  259 
Volunteer  Service,  259 
Watier's,  259 
Wednesday,  259,  260 
Westminster,  260 
Whist  Club,  260 
White's,  260 
Whittington,  261 
Windham,  261 
Coffee-houses  : 
Baker's,  261 
Baltic,  261 
Bedford,  261 
British,  262 

Button's,  (Lion's  Head),  262 
Chapter,  263 
Child's,  264 
Clifford-street,  264 
Cocoa-tree,  264 
Coffee  first  drank  in  London, 

261 
Coffee-shops,  2.73 
Dick's,  264 
Garra way's,  265 
George's,  264 
Gray's,  junior,  265 
Grecian,  264 
S.  James's,  265 
Jamaica,  266 
Jerusalem,  266 
Jonathan's,  266 
Langbourn,  266 
Lloyd's,  266 
London,  267 
Man's,  267 
Miles's,  267 


INDEX. 


849 


Coffee-houses — continued. 

Munday's,  267 

Nando's,  267 

New  England,  267 

Peele's,  267 

Percy,  268 

Piazza,  268 

Rainbow,  268 

Saltero's,  at  Chelsea,  268 

Sam's,  268 

Serle's,  270 

Slaughter's,  270 

Smyrna,  270 

Somerset,  270 

Squire's,  270 

Tom's,  271 

Tom  King's,  271 

Turk's  Head,  271 

Will's,  272 

Will's,  Serle-street,  273 
Colleges  : 

S.  Barnabas,  273 

Church  of  England  Train- 
ing, 273 

Church  Missionary,  273 

Chemistry,  273 

Dulwich,  274 

Gresham,  274 

Heralds',  275 

King's  College  and  Schools, 
276 

S.  Mark's,  277 

New  College,  277 

Physicians,  277 

Preceptors,  279 

Queen's,  279 

Sion,  279 

Surgeons,  279 

University,  280 

Wesleyan  Normal,  280 
Colosseum  : 

Classic  Ruins,  283 

Conservatories  and  Swiss 
Chalets,  282 

Construction,  280 

Cost  of,  283 

Hornor,  planned  by,  280 

lie  Colise'e,  at  Paris,  281 

London  by  Night,  282 

Panorama    of    London, 
painted,  281 

Parris,  Mr.,  281,  282 

Sketches  from  S.  Paul's,  281 

Theatre  and  Cyclorama,  283 

View  described,  282 
Columns : 

Columns,  principal  dimen- 
sions of,  285 

Nelson ;  bas  reliefs,  con- 
struction, scaffolding,  and 
statue,- 2S3,  284 

Trafalgar-square,  285 

York  Column,  Carlton-gar- 
dens,  285 
Common  Council  : 

Churchill's  satire,  287 
Costume,  288 
Court  at  Guildhall,  287 
Numbers  of,  2S6 


Common  Council — continued. 

Origin  of,  286 

Wards,  286 
Conduits: 

Bayswater,  287 

Canonbury,  287 

Cheapside,  287 

Conduit-mead,  287 

Cornhill,  287 

Dalston  and  Islington,  288 

Fleet-street,  288 

S.  James's,  288 

King's-mews,  289 

Kensington,  288 

Lamb's,  288 

Stow's  account  of,  287 

Tyburn,  288 

Westminster  Abbey,  289 

Westminster  Palace,  289 
Convents  : 

Colleges,  Fraternities,  Friar- 
ies, Hospitals,  Nunneries, 
Priories,  2S9,  290 

Revivals,  290 

Sisters  of  Mercy,  Bermond- 
sey,  290 

Taking  of  the  Veil,  290 
Cornhill : 

Birchin&  Finch -lanes,  291 

Birch,  the  cook  and  con- 
fectioner, 291 

Change-alley  and  Gang- 
way's, 291 

Church  of  S.  Christopher-le- 
Stocks,  290 

Guy  ,the  stationer,  292 

Lottery  prize,  291 

Roman  remains,  .291 

Royal  Exchange,  291 

Standard  and  Tun,  290 

Taverns,  early,  291 
Covent  Garden  : 

Butler,  epitaphs  on,  295 

Clay's  Papier  Mdche,  296 

Convent  burial-ground  and 
garden,  292 

Dryden  cudgelled,  295 

Evans's  Hotel,  294 

Garrick  Club,  295 

Hollar's  view,  293 

Hotels  and  Taverns,  293 

King-st.  and  Rose-st.,  295 

Maiden-lane,  Marvell,  Tur- 
ner, and  Voltaire,  296 

Market  first  held,  293 

S.  Paul's  church,  292 

Phosphorus  first  made,  295 

Piazza,  Inigo  Jones's,  293 

Residents  of  note,  293 

Southampton-street,  295 
Tavistock-row     and     Miss 
Reay,  295 
Crane-Court  : 
Circulating  Libraries,  297 
Leach,  the  printer  of  Wilkes' 

North  Briton,  296 
Nursery  for  Newspapers,  297 
Royal   Society  and  Scottish 
Hospital,  296 


Crosby  Hall  : 

Architecture  of,  298 
Crosby,  Sir  John,  297 
Mayoralties  kept  here,  297 
More,  Sir  Thomas,  297 
Musical  memories,  298 
Presby  terianMeeting-house, 

298 
Restoration  in  1842,  298 
Richard,  Duke  of  Glouces- 
ter, 297 
Roof  of  the  Hall,  298,  299 
Shakspeare   in  S.    Helen's, 

297 
Spencer,  Sir  John,  298 
Statue  of  Sir  J.  Crosby,  299 
Ckutciied  Friars: 
Crouched  or  Crossed,  299 
Drapers'  Almshouses,  299 
Jewry-st,  old  Wall  in,  300 
Northumberland  House,  299 
Roman  occupation,  299 
Crypts : 

S.  Bartholomew's,  300 
Bishopsgate  Within,  300 
Bow  Church,  300 
S.  Ethelreda's,  301 
Garraway's,  301 
GerSrd's  Hall,  301 
Guildhall,  301 
"  Guy  Fawkes's  Cellar,"  301 
Hostelry  of  the    Priors  of 

Lewes,  302 
S.  John's,  Clerkenwell,  302 
Lambeth  Palace,  302 
Lamb's  Chapel,  302 
Leathersellers'  Hall,  303 
London  Bridge,  old,  300 
S.  Martin's-le- Grand,  303 
S.  Mary  Aldermary,  303 
Merchant  Tailors'  Hall,  303 
S.  Michael's,  303 
S.  Paul's,  303 
S.   Stephen's,  Westminster 

Palace,  304 
Tower  of  London,  804 
Curiosity  Shops  : 
Carvings,  China  and  Ena- 
mels,  Church  Furniture, 
Painted  Glass,  and  Metal 
Works,  294 
Hanway-street    and    War- 
dour-street,  304 
Ireland's    Shakspeare   For- 
geries, 305 
Sam  House  and  Fox,  305 
Custom-House  : 
Construction  of,  305 
Daily  report,  306 
Exports  and  Imports,  306 
Fifth  Custom-house,  306 
Great  cost  of,  305 
Interior  described,  305 
Queen's  Warehouse,  306 

DAGUERREOTYPE  • 
First  experiments  in  Eng- 
land, 306 
London  Atmosphere,  306 
3  I 


850 


INDEX. 


Deaf  and  Dumb  Asylum  : 

Ely- place — continued. 

ExCHANGES — continued. 

Employment,  307 

Ely,  Bishop's  House,  Dover- 

gister,     329 ;     Lloyd's 

First  established,  307 

street,  322 

Subscription       Rooms, 

Diorama  and  Cosmorama  : 

Gardens  and  Vine-yard,  322 

328 ;  Medal,  commemo- 

Baptist Chapel,  308 

Hatton  Garden,  322 

rative,  329 ;  North  and 

Cosmorama  described,  308 

John  of  Gaunt  died,  321 

South  fronts,  327;  No- 

Diorama described,  307 

Masque,  Inns  of  Court,  322 

table  Persons,328 ;  Por- 

Dioramas, various,  308 

Religious  Mystery,  322 

tico,  Great  West,  326 ; 

Docks : 

Serjeants'  Feasts,  321 

Political  Hoaxes,  332  ; 

Commercial,  309 

Sir  Christopher  Hatton,  321 

Queen  Victoria    opens 

East  India,  309 

Strawberries  grown,  321 

the    third    Exchange, 

Grand  Surrey,  310 

Exchanges  : 

326 ;    Roman  Remains 

S.  Katharine's,  310 

Coal  Exchange:  Coal  Supply 

on  the  site,  326 ;  Site, 

London,  310,  311 :  Queen's 

of  London,  329;  Interior 

331 ;    Statue  of  Queen 

Tobacco  Warehouse  and 

described,   330 ;    Rebuilt, 

Victoria,  329  ;  Statues, 

Pipe,  311 

329 ;  Polychrome  devices, 

Royal,   325 ;     System, 

Millwall,  311 

330  ;  Roman  remains,  330 

332  ;    TiTnes'  Testimo- 

Victoria, 311 

Corn  Exchanges,  Mark-lane, 

nial,  328;  Vocabulary, 

West  India,  312 

330 

332 

Doctors'  Commons  : 

King's  Exchange,  330 

Stock  Exchange,  331 

Admiralty  Court,  313 

Old  'Change,  330 

Exchange-Alley  : 

Court  of  Arches,  312 

New  Exchange,  Strand,  331 ; 

Alley  in  1700,  333 

Divorce  Court,  313 

Don  Pantaleon  Sa,  331  ; 

Bubble  Cards,  333 

Origin  of  the  Commons,  312 

Monk,  Duke  of  Albem  arle, 

South-Sea  Bubble,  333 

Prerogative    Court :    Wills 

and  Anne  Clarges,  331 ; 

Excise  Office  : 

and  Marriages,  313 

White  Milliner,  331 

Site  of  Gresham  College,  333 

Registries  of   the  Court  of 

Exchange,  Royal  : 

Removal  of,  333 

Probate:  CelebratedWills, 

First  Exchange,  322,  323: 

System  of  Excise,  334 

Perusal  and  Copy  of  Wills, 

Burse  in  Cornhill,   323 ; 

Exeter  Hall  : 

314,  315 

Gresham    family,  322, 

May  Meetings,  334 

Domesday-Book  : 

323 ;  Gresham's  Shop  in 

Orchestra,  334 

Described,  314 

Lombard-street,     322 ; 

SacredHarmonicSociety,334 

S.  Giles's  Domesday,  315 

Great    Fire     destroys 

Exeter  House  and  Exeter 

London,  not  in,  315 

the  first  Exchange,324 ; 

'Change  : 

Where  kept,  315 

Hollar's    print,     1644, 

Burleigh  House,  335 

Drury-Lane  : 

324 ;  Pawn,  origin  of, 

Chapel,  335 

Coal-yard  and  Nell  Gwynne, 

323  ;  Pictures  and  Sta- 

The 'Change,  335 

316 

tues,  323 ;  Queen  Eliza- 

" King  of  Exeter  'Change," 

Cock  and  Pye,  315 

beth   opened  the  first 

335 

Cockpit,  316 

Exchange,  323. 

Menagerie,  Pidcock,  Polito, 

Craven    House   and  Drury 

Second  Exchange: 

and  Cross,  335 

House,  315 

•  Burning  of  the  Exchange, 

New  Exeter  'Change,  335 

Sixteenth  Century,  315 

1838,   325  ;  Charles  II. 

Theatres,  316 

founds   and  opens  the 

"DETTER-LANE : 

■*-     Brothers  Rarebones,  335 

second  Exchange,  324  ; 

"EARTHQUAKES   IN 
J-J     LONDON:    1692,    1750, 

Chimes,  325 ;    Cibber's 

Brownrigg,  Mrs.,  336 

sculpture,  324,  325  ;  In- 

Dryden and  Hobbes,  336 

1756,  1761,  1842  (hoax), 

scription   and  Decora- 

Malcolm, Sarah,  the  mur- 

1803,-316,317 

tions,   326;    Insurance 

*    deress,  336 

Eastcheap  : 

calculations,  825 ;  Inte- 

Record Office,  New,  336 

Antiquity  of,  317 

rior — Merchant's  Area, 

White  Horse  Inn,  336 

Boar's  Head  Tavern,   317, 

327;Jerman'sExchan'ge, 

Field-Lane  : 

31S 

324 ;  LordMayor'sCourt 

Described  by  Dickens,  336 

Saxon  Market,  317 

Office,     325 ;     Salvage 

Old  Chick-lane  and  Thieves' 

East  India  House: 

Sale,   325;     Statue    of 

lodging-house,  337 

East  India  Company,  319 

Gresham,  326 

Field     of     Forty    Foot- 

First House,  318 

Third  Exchange : 

steps  : 

Museum,  319 

Ambulatories,  327 ;  Ane- 

Brothers' Duel,  837 

Pictures  and  Statues,  318 

mometer     and     Rain- 

S.  John  Baptist's  Day,  337 

Rebuilt,  318 

gauge,   328 ;    Architec- 

Legendary   Story    of    the 

Roman  Remains,  319 

tural  objects,  fine,  329  ; 

Forty  Footsteps,  337 

Sale  of  Materials,  319 

Baily,  Francis,  F.R.S., 

Porter,  Misses,  romance,  337 

Tesselated  Pavement,  319 

333  ;  Chart-room,  328  ; 

Southey's  account  of,  337 

Egyptian  Hale: 

Clock  and  Chimes,  326 ; 

FlNSBURY  : 

Bullock's  Museum,  320 

Cost  of  Rebuilding,  by 

Antiquity  of,  337 

Exhibitions,  from    1816  to 

W.Tite,    F.R.S ,    329  ; 

Bunhill  Fields,  338 

present  time,  320,  321 

East  Front,  326;   En- 

Finsbury, by  Aggas,  338 

Ely-Place  : 

larged,  331,  333 ;  Epi- 

Lord Mayor,  title  of,  338 

Bishops  of  Ely,  321 

sodes,  332 ;  Lloyd's  Re- 

Prebend  of  Finsbury,  338 

INDEX. 


851 


Fire  Brigade  : 

Curfew  rung  out,  341 

Fire  Engines,  343 

Fire  Police,  1668,Insurance, 

Office,  342 
Fire     in    Stephen's    reign, 

341 
Fire  Watch  or  Guard,  342 
Metropolitan  Fire  Brigade, 

343 
Squirts  or  Syringes,  342 
Steam  Fire-Engines,  343 
Telegraphiccommunication, 

343 
Wardmote's  orders,  341 
Fire  of  London  : 
Evelyn  and  Pepys  describe, 

338,  339 
Hollar's  View,  before  and 

after,  340 
Limits,  339 
Loss  estimated,  339 
Origin  of,  339 
Pudding-lane,  338 
Fires,  Memorable,  340,  341 
Fleet  Prison  : 
Bambridge    and    Huggins, 

344 
Dance's    Humours    of  the 

Fleet,  345 
Fleet  Marriages,  346 
Hooper,  Bishop,  344 
Howel,       Lilburne,       and 

Prynne,  344 
Notable  Persons  imprisoned 

here,  346 
Riots  of  1780,  346 
Rules  and  Day  Rules,  346 
Receiving  Box,  345 
Fleet  Kiver  and  Fleet 

Ditch : 
Bridges  across,  347 
Course  of  the  Fleet,  347 
Coal  Vaults,  348 
Ditch  deepened,  347 
Dunciad  and    City  Shower, 

347 
Fleet  Market,  348 
Sewer,  Great,  348 
Ships  in  Fleet-river,  347 
Fleet-street  : 
Alsatia,  349 

Banking-houses,  old,  351 
Bolt-court,  350 
Bolt-in-Tun,  350 
Bride,    Shoe,    and     Water 

lanes,  349 
Burning  of  the  Pope,  352 
Chatterton    and    Lovelace, 

349 
Chaucer  and  Cowley,  352 
Child's  banking-house,  351 
Cobbett  in  Bolt-court,  353 
Cock  Tavern,  352 
Coffee-houses  and  Taverns, 

352 
Cogers'  Hall,  349 
Crane-court,  296 
Dentists,  old,  351 


Fleet-street — continued. 
Devil  Tavern,  352 
DucRy  of  Corn  wall  office,  351 
Fenning,  Eliza,  case  of,  352 
Gosling's     banking  -  house, 

351 
Hardham's  37-Snuff,  349 
Hare-court,  350 
Hoare's  banking-house,  351 
Hone,  W.,  publisher,  352 
Johnson,  Dr.,  in  Bolt-court, 

350 
Mitre  Tavern,  352 
Posts,  349 

Printing-offices,  old,  351 
Richardson's  Printing-office, 

349 
Salisbury-court    and      Ser- 
jeant's Inn,  350  ;  Duke's 
Theatre,  349 
Salmon's  Waxwork,  350 
Shire-lane,  352 
Shop  Signs,  noted,  348 
Steam-printing.cradle  of,351 
Waithman,  Alderman,  348, 

349 
Wine-office-court,  350 
Fog  of  London : 
Lines  by  Luttrel,  353 
November  Fog,  353 
Fortifications  : 
Brill,  Oliver's  Mount,  Par- 
liamentary, Tyburn,  and 
Wardour-street,  354 
Foundling  Hospital: 
Chapel  and  Choir,  353 
Charter  to  Coram,  354 
Children,  356 
Guilford-street,  354 
Hatton-garden,  354 
Hogarth's  Pictures,  355 
Pictures,  Exhbition  of,  355 
Statue  of  Coram,  356 
Tenterden,  Lord,  355 
Fountains  : 

Bagnigge  Wells,  356 
Bank  of  England,  30 
Billingsgate,  359 
Brixton,  358 
Free  Drinking,  356 
Guildhall,  359 
-Kensington,  356 
Lincoln's-Inn,  356 
Myddelton,  358 
Parks,  358 

S.  James's-square,  357 
Soho,  356 

Somerset  House,  356 
Temple,  356 
Trafalgar-square,  357 
Freemasons'  Lodges  : 
Buildings    by   Freemasons, 

360 
Freemasons'  Hall,  359 
Masonic  Hall,  New,  360 
Lodges,  360 
Old  Lodges,  359 
Secrecy  of,  360 
Wren,  Sir  Christopher,  359 


Friends'  or  Quakers'  Meet- 
ing-houses, 226 

Starchamber  prison,  344 

Wardenship,  or   Serjeancy, 
344 
Frosts    and    Frost    Fairs 
on  the  Thames  : 

Blanket  Fairs,  301 — 363 

Cbarles  II. 's  reign,  361 

Frostiana,  363 

Great  Frosts,  361 : — Years, 
1281,  1410,  1434,  1506, 
1515,  1564,  160S,  1609, 
1683,  1688,  1709,  1715, 
1739,  1768,  1789,  1811, 
1813-14. 
Fulwood's  Rents: 

Former  state,  363 

Gray's-Inn  Walks,  364 

Taverns,  363,  364 

Ward,Ned,Punch-house,364 

GARDENS  : 
U     Apollo,  368 

Apothecaries'  Company,  369 

Baldwin's,  365 

Bays  water,  367 

Birds  of  London,  369 

Botanic  Gardens,  369 

Botanic  Society's,  3C9 

Brompton-park,  361 

Buckingham  Palace,  367 

Campden  House,  368 

Churchyards  planted,  369 

City  Hall,  366 

Clerkenwell,  367 

Finsbury -circus,  366 

Fitzstephen's  time,  364 

Flower-shows,  369 

Gerarde's  Herbal,  365 

Gray's-Inn,  366 

Holborn,  365 

Horticultural  Society's,  370 

Inns  of  Court,  365 

Kensington  Palace,  367 

Kew,  Royal,  370 

Lambeth,  368 

Leicester  House,  365 

Lincoln,  Earl  of,  365 

Market-gardening,  368 

Milton's,  367 

Montague  House,  365 

Napoleon's  Willow,  370 

Open  places,  364 

Pindar,  Sir  Paul,  366 

Squares,  368 

Temple,  Inner  and  Middle, 
366 

Tradescant's,  368 

Vauxhall,  368 
Gas  lighting  : 

Chinese,  371 

Coal  Gas,  372 

Early  Experiments,  371 

Gas  consumption,  373 

Johnson,  Dr.,  on,  371 

Lights,  various,  372 

London  Gas  Company,  372 

Murdoch  and  Winsor,  371 
3l2 


852 


INDEX. 


Gas-ligiitmg — continued. 

Pall  Mall,  372 

St.  James's  Park,  372 

Theatres,  372 

Westminster,  371 
Gate-house,   Westminster, 
373: 

Prisoners,  distinguished,  373 
Geology  of  London  : 

Eocene,  375 

Fossils,  375 

London  Basin,  375 

London  Clay,  374 

Lyell,Mantell,Mylne,Owen, 
Prestwich,  373,374 

Thanet  sands,  375 
S.  George's  Fields  : 

Brayley's  account,  376 

Maitland's  account,  376 

Roman  roads,  375 

Riots,  Gordon  &  Wilkes,  377 
S.  Giles's  : 

Ballad-singing,  378 

Dyott- street,  378 

Gallows,  377 

Health  of,  379 

Hogarth's  Pictures,  377 

Horse-shoes,  luck  of,  378 

Hospital  for  Lepers,  376 

Inns,  large  old,  376   ' 

Irish  in,  378 

Lodging-houses,  379 

Maps  of,  379 

Monmouth-street,  378 

Pound,  376 

Rookery,  378,  379 

Round-house,  377 

Seven  Dials,  377,  379 

Smith,  Albert,  describes,  378 

Tyburn  cart,  379 

Village,  376 

GlLTSPUR-STREET  : 

Cock-lane  Ghost,  380 

Great  Fire  &  Pie-corner,  380 
Gog  and  Magog  : 

Corina:us    and   Gog-magog, 
380,  381 

Costumes,  381 

Gigantick  History,  381 

Hone's  account,  381 

Midsummer  Pageants,  380 

Restoration,  380 
Goodman's  Fields  : 

Abbey  Farm,  381 

Jews,  381 

Roman  Remains,  381 

Rosemary-lane,  381 
Greek  Churches: 

London  Wall,  227 

Russian  Embassy,  227 
Grey  Friars: 

Convent,  382 

Chapel  and  Church,  382 

Christ's  Hospital,  382 

Foundresses  and  means,  382 

Friars  Minors,  381 

London  Russet,  382 

Monuments,  382 

Procession,  382 


Grey  Friars — continued. 
Sanctuary,  382 
Whittington's  Library,  382 
Grub-street  : 
City  Chapel,  384 
Dunciad  and  Grub-st.,  364 
Foxe,  the  martyrologi^t,  383 
Grub-street  authors,  384 
Grub-street     Journal    and 

Society,  384 
Hoole,    Samuel,    and    Dr. 

Johnson,  385 
Milton-street,  3S3 
Monk,  General,  384 
Pope  and  Grub-street,  384 
Soapworks,  Old  City,  384 
Speed,  John,  383 
Text-writers,  383 
Welby,  the  Hermit,  284 
Guildhall  : 
Aldermen's  Court,  391 
Chamberlain's  Office,  391 
Chapel,  ancient,  390 
Charles  II. 's  visits,  389 
Council  Chamber,  391 
Courts  of  Common  Pleas  and 

King's  Bench,  392 
Court  of  Exchequer,  391 
Crypt,  300 

First,  Second,  and  Third,  386 
Gas-lighting,  389 
Gog  and  Magog,  388 
Great  Fire,  387 
Hustings' Court,  390 
Interior,  387 
Library,  393 

Lord  Mayor's  Dinner,  389 
Kitchen  built,  386 
Monuments,  388,  389 
Pepys  at  dinner,  390 
Porch  and  Statues,  387 
Portraits  and  other  Pictures, 

392 
Roof,  New,  387 
Sovereigns  feasted,  389 
Trials,  memorable,  387 
Whittington  and  Henry  V., 

386 
Windows,  painted,  388 

HACKNEY-COACHES: 
Bailey  and  Duncombe,  392 

Cabs,  393 

Davenant's  description,  393 

Origin  of  Name,  393 

Sight-seeing,  393 

Stand,  the  first,  392 
Halls  of    the  Cit*    Com- 
panies : 

Barges,  395 

Charters,  393 

Companies'  Arms,  424 

Companies'  Charities,  423 

Companie8'Trusteeships,423 

Election    Feasts   and  Gar- 
lands, 394,  395 

Funerals,  394 

Gild-hallas  of  the  Saxons, 
393 


Halls — continued. 

Liveries,  394 

Loving  Cup,  395 

Louvre,  or  lantern,  393 

Offices,  393 

Paintings,  Tapestry,  and 
Painted  Windows,  393 

Plate,  Corporation,  394 

Salt,  above  and  below,  394 

Triumphs,  or  Pageants,  395 
Halls  of  the  Companies, 
Twelve  Great: 

Clothworkers' :  Banqueting- 
room  described, 409 ;  Gifts 
distributed,  410  ;  James  I. 
aclothworker,409 ;  Pepys's 
Cup,  409;  Rebuilt  1860, 
409  ;  Staircase  Hall,  409 

Drapers':  Cromwell's  House, 

398  ;  Feasts,  399;  Garden, 
39S,  399;  Great  Fire,  398; 
Livery,  399;  Lord  Mayor's 
day,  400  ;  Portraits,  398, 

399  ;  Swithin's-lane  Hall, 
399 

Fishmongers':  Charter,402 ; 
Chandelier,  Silver,  401 ; 
Curiosities,  401;  Dining- 
hall,  400;  Dogget,  the 
actor,  Coat  and  Badge, 
400;  Fishmongers  incor- 
porated, 401 ;  Great  Fire, 
401;  Lord  Mayors,  400; 
S.  Peter's  Hospital,  401 ; 
Pictures,  401 ;  Presiden- 
tial Chair,  401 ;  Stock- 
fishmongers,  401 ;  Third 
Hall,  400  ;  Trust  Estates 
and  Charities,  401  ;  Wal- 
worth, Sir  W.,400  ;  Wales, 
Prince  of,  admitted,  402  ; 
Wat  Tyler  slain,  400; 
Wine  Shades,  Old,  401 

Goldsmiths' :    Architecture, 
402  ;  Assay,  the,  401—4 
Banqueting-hall,        402 
Bowes,  Sir  Martin,  403 
Busts  and  Portraits,  402 
Hall-mark,  404 ;  Interior 
described,     402 ;       Lord 
Mayors,  403  ;  Myddelton, 
Sir  Hugh,  402;  Pageants, 
403;    Plate,   403  ;    Third 
Hall,  402 

Grocers' :  Bank  of  England, 
397;  Cutler,  Sir  John, 
397;  Garden,  397;  Lord 
Mayor's  Feasts,  398  ;  Pep- 
perers,  397 ;  Spoon  cus- 
tom, 398;  Third  Hall, 397 

Haberdashers' :  Charities, 
407;  Fire  in  1864,  406; 
Great  Fire,  406  ;  Hurrers, 
407;  Portraits,  406,  407 

Ironmongers' :  Almshouses, 
408  ;  Charities,  408  ;  Fra- 
ternity Feast,  408  ;  In- 
terior Fittings,  408 ;  Os- 
trich in    Pageant,    408; 


Halls — continued. 

Pictures,  408;  Statue  of 
Beckford,  408 

Mercers' :  Aeon,  Sir  Thomas, 
Hospital,  396 ;  Becket, 
Gilbert,  House  of,  396 ; 
Carvings,  396;  Caxton, 
the  printer,  396  ;  Chapel, 
396;  Election  Cup,  396; 
Golden  Lectureship,  396; 
Hicks  and  Hicks's  Hall, 
396  ;  Pictures,  396 

Merchant  Tailors' :  Ban- 
queting-room  screen  and 
music  gallery,  405  ;  Bull, 
Dr.  John,  405  ;  Freemen, 
Distinguished,  405,  406; 
Hawkwood,  Sir  John,405 ; 
James  I.,  visit  of,  405 ; 
Henry  VII.,  Master,  406  ; 
Ofrilby's  Virgil,  406 ; 
Pictures,  405 ;  Political 
Feasts,  405 ;  Speed  and 
Stow,  406 

Salters' :  Busts  and  Pic- 
tures, 407  ;  Four  Halls, 
407 ;  Game  Pie  (1394), 
407  ;  Meeting-house,  407  ; 
Plate  and  Loving  Cups, 
407;  Printed  Pageant, 
407 

Skinners':  ClerkenwellPlays, 
404  -,  Election  of  Officers, 
404  ;  Judd,  Sir  Andrew, 
404  ;  King's  and  Queens 
members,  404  ;  Lord 
Mayors,  404  ;  Precedence 
question,  405 ;  Skinners' 
Guild,  404;  Tunbridge 
Schools,  404 

Vintners' :  Picard,  Mayor, 
entertained  four  Kings, 
409;  Pictures,  408;  Swans 
on  the  Thames,  409;  Three 
Cranes,  409  ;  Vintry,  the, 
409 
Halls  of  the  Minor  City 
Companies  : 

Apothecaries' :  Portraits, 
410  -,  Fulminating  Explo- 
sion, 410 

Armourers'  and  Braziers' : 
Armour,  Northcote's  Pic- 
ture, and  Plate,  410 

Bakers':  Pictures,  410 

Barber-Surgeons' :  Barbers 
and  Surgeons,  411 ;  Car- 
toons, 411  ;  Carved  ca- 
nopy, 410 ;  Cup,  Loving, 
412;  Holbein's  Charter- 
picture,  411;  Plate,  411; 
Portraits,  411  ;  Theatre 
by  Inigo  Jones,  410 

Blacksmiths',  412 

Brewers'  :  Almshouses, 

Owen's  ;  Fine  for  selling 
Old  Ale ;  Pewter  pots, 
412 

Bricklayers' :      Bricklayers 


INDEX. 

Halls — continued. 

and  Carpenters  embroiled, 
412 ;  Curious  Customs, 
412 

Butchers',  412 

Carpenters' :  Court-rooms, 
413;  Crowns  and  Gar- 
lands, 413 ;  Frescoes  dis- 
covered in  the  Great  Hall, 
413;  Pictures,  413;  Plate 
and  curiosities,  414 

Clockmakers' Company,  424 

Coachmakers'  Hall :  Indus- 
trial Exhibitions;  Politi- 
cal Meetings,  414 

Cooks'  Company,  423 

Coopers'  Hall:  State  Lot- 
teries drawn,  414 

Cordwainers'  :  Charities, 
Portraits,  and  Plate,  414 

Curriers'  :  Carvings  and 
Paintings;  Guild,  1363; 
convivial  customs,  414 

Cutlers':  Belle  Sauvage-inn 
bequest,  414  ;  Company's 
crest,  415 

Dyers' :  Swana  on  the 
Thames,  and  Swan-up- 
pings,  415 

Embroiderers',  415 

Founders' :  Glass  Cup,  temp. 
Henry  VIIL,  415 

Fruiterers'  Company,  423 

Girdlers'  Hall :  Election 
Ceremonies  with  caps  and 
crowns,  415 

Innholders'  Hall,  415 

Joiners' :  Carvings,  Pic- 
tures, Cedar  Parlour,  415 

Leathersellers' :  Enriched 
ceiling,  screen,  and  sculp- 
tured pump,  416 

Masons',  416 

Needlemakers'  Company, 
424 

Fainter  Stainers'  Hall :  Cha- 
rities, 417;  Fraternity  of 
Artists ;  Camden  Cup ; 
Catton,  Master,  416  ;  Pic- 
tures, 417 

Parish  Clerks' :  Miracle 
Plays;  Diary  of  Henry 
Machin ;  Bills  pf  Mor- 
tality, Portraits,  and  Pri- 
vileges, 417 

Pewterers' :  Master's  Por- 
trait, Pewter  Pots ;  Foote 
and  Macklin,  41S 

Pinmakers' :  Pinners'  Com- 
pany; Pinners'  Hall  Meet- 
ing-house, 418 

Plasterers' :  Curious  Silver 
Bell  and  Cup,  and  Privi- 
leges, 418 

Plumbers',  418 

Porters' :  Tackle  and  Ticket 
Porters,  418 

Saddlers':  Oldest civicGuild; 
newfront;  Saint  Martin's- 


853 

Halls — continued. 

le-Grand,  Funeral  Palls, 
Sir  Richard  Blackmore, 
Honnor's  Home,  419 

Scriveners' :  Marching 

Watch,  the ;  Milton  and 
Scriveners'  Company ; 
Clayton, Sir  Robert ;  Jack 
Ellis,  the  last  money  scri- 
vener, 420 

Stationers' :  Almanacks,  the 
420;  Almanack-day,  421; 
Burgaveny  House,  420; 
Carvings,  by  Gibbons, 
421 ;  Charities,  421 ;  Copy- 
right Act,  420 ;  Lord. 
Mayor's  Show,  421 ; 
Moore's  Almanack,  421 ; 
Parkhurst's  Bibles,  420; 
Portraits,  421 ;  Registers 
of  the  Company,  420 ; 
School-house,  421  ;  Sta- 
tioners' Barge,  421 ;  Sut- 
ton's Funeral,  422 

Stocking-weavers' :  Lee  and 
the  Stocking-loom  Pic- 
ture, 422 

Tallow-chandlers',  422 

Watermen's :  Fares  regu- 
lated, 422;  Petition  in 
rhyme,  422  ;  Taylor,  the 
Water-poet,  422 

Wax-chandlers' :  Charter, 
illuminated,  423 

Weavers':  First  Charter  of 
the  City  Guilds,  423 
Halls,  Miscellaneous  : 

Agricultural  :  Exhibitions, 
Miscellaneous,425;  Smith- 
field  Club  Cattle  Show, 
424 

Bake  well,  425 

Commercial,  425 

Flaxman  Hall  and  Sculp- 
tures, 425 

Floral,  Covent  Garden,  424 

Hall  of  Commerce :  Bas- 
relief,  by  Watson,  426 

Hicks's  Hall:  Sir  Baptist 
Hicks,  426 ;  Hudibras, 
426;  Trials,  426 

Hudson's  Bay  Company's, 
436 

S.  James's  :  characteristic 
decoration,  427 ;  public 
dinners,  427 

S.  Martin's,  427 

Town  Halls  and  Vestry 
Halls,  427 

Union  Hall,  Southwark, 
427 

Wesleyan  Centenary  Hall: 
Wesley's  Picture ;  Thank- 
offerings,  427 

Westminster  Guildhall,  427 
Haymarket  : 

Baxter,  Richard,  428 

Cattle-market,  1664,  428 

Coventry  Act,  428 


354 

INDEX. 

Haym  arret — continued. 

Hospitals — continued. 

Houses   of   Old  London — 

Hay  sold  here,  temp.  Eliza- 

Lock, 438 

continued. 

beth,  428 

London,  439 

Long-lane,  484 

Haymarket  Theatre,  428 

S.  Luke's,  439 

Marylebone,  448 

Her  Majesty's  Theatre,  428 

Marylebone   and   Padding- 

Milborn's,  448 

Panton,  Col.,  428 

ton,  439 

Newcastle,  448 

Piccadilly  Hall,  429 

Middlesex,  439 

Old  City  Workhouse,  44S 

Shaver's  Hall,  428,  429 

Ophthalmic,  440 

Post-office,  Lombard-st.,  448 

Tennis-court,  428 

Orthopaedic,  440 

Queen-st.,  L.-I.-Fields,  448 

Holborn : 

Presidents  of  the  City  Hos- 

Schomberg, 449 

Chatterton,  lodging  of,  430 

pitals,  choice  of,  436 

Shaftesbury,  449 

Ely-place,  430 

Queen  Charlotte's,  440 

Southwark,  450 

Fearon,  Messrs.,  429 

Royal  Free,  440 

Spanish  Ambassadors',  450 

First  paved,  429 

Koyal  Maternity,  440 

Staple  Inn,  450 

Gerarde's  Garden,  430 

S.  Thomas's,  Southwark,  435 

Star  Chamber,  450 

Holborn  Charity,  431 

Small-pox  and  Vaccination, 

S.  Mary  Axe,  450 

Holborn    Valley,     raising, 

440 

Strand,  450 

429 

University  College,  440 

Tradescant's,  450 

Holborn  Theatre,  431 

Westminster,  440 

Warwick,  451 

Inns  of  Court,  431 

Hotels  : 

Weather-boarded,  451 

Kidder,  pastry-cook,  431 

Agricultural,  442 

Winchester-street,  451 

Middle-row,  430 

Charing  Cross,  442 

Old-bourne  bridge,  429 

City  Terminus,  443 

TNNS    OF     COURT     AND 
-1-     CHANCERY: 

Skinner-street,  429 

Euston,  441 

Southampton  House,  430 

Great  Northern,  441 

Admission  to  the  Inns,  471 

"  Up  the  Heavy  Hill,"  429 

Great  Western,  441 

Arms,  471 

Warwick  House,  431 

Grosvenor,  442 

Apprentices  and  Serjeants, 

Whitehead,  Paul,  431 

Inns  of  Court,  442 

460 

Holland    House,    Ken- 

Langham, 442 

Ascension-day  custom,  461 

sington  : 

London  Bridge,  442 

Calls  to  the  Bar,  471 

Addison,  death  of,  431 

Palace,  441 

Costume  of  Inns  of  Court,460 

Busts  and  Pictures,  432 

Westminster  Palace,  442 

Expenses,  471 

Celebrities  of,  433 

HOUNDSDITCH : 

Hall  dinner,  471 

Cope,  Sir  Walter,  431 

Dogsditch,  443 

Inns  of  Court   and   Trade 

Duel,  fatal,  433 

Foundry,  443 

Guilds,  4G1 

Fairfax,  Sir  T.,  431 

Jews'  Quarter,  444 

Star  Chamber  Court,  460 

Gardens,  432 

Rag  Fair,  444 

Students,  temp.   Hen.    VI., 

Gilt-room,  432 

Tench,  the  joiner,  443 

461 

Holland,  Baron,  432 

Houses  of  Old  London: 

Barnard's  Inn,  471 

Holland,  first  Earl  of,  431 

Aldersgate-street,  444 

Clement's  Inn : 

Library,  432 

Aldgate,  444 

Falstaffand  Shallow,  472 

Park,  433 

Ashburnham,  444 

S.  Clement's  Well,  472 

Thorpe,  architect,  432 

Bagnio,  444 

Sun-dial,  472 

Warwick,  Earl  of,  432 

Bangor,  444 

Clifford's  Inn,  472 

HORSEFERRY: 

Baumes,  445 

Members,  eminent,  472 

Flight  of  James  II.  and  his 

Brick,  stone,  and  wood,  445 

Dinner  custom,    curious, 

Queen,  433 

Brook's  Menagerie,  445 

472 

Westminster  and  Lambeth, 

Bulk  shops,  445 

Gray's  Inn : 

Ferry  between,  433 

Burnet's,  Bishop,  445 

Armorial  windows,  469 

Horse  Guards  : 

Campden  House,  445 

Bacon,  Francis,  470 

Clock,  434 

Canonbury,  446 

Bacon,  Sir  Nicholas,  470 

Mounted  Guards,  434 

Carlisle,  446 

Bolting,  469 

Origin  of  Horse  Guards,  434 

Caxton's,  446 

Chapel,  469 

Parade  ground,  434 

Coleherne,  448 

Christmasings,    Masques, 

Tilt-yard,  Whitehall,  434 

Crosby  Hall,  297 

and  Revels,  469 

Vardy,  Kent, and  Vanbrugh, 

Drury-lane,  446 

Gardens,  366,  470 

architects,  434 

Dyott's,  446 

Grey  of  Wilton  and  Port- 

Hospitals  : 

Elizabethan,  447 

poole,  469 

S.  Bartholomew's,  36 

Fowler's,  447 

Hall  built,  469 

Bethlehem,  56 

Fulwood's  Rents,  447 

Libraries,  471 

Charing  Cross,  437 

Grub-street,  447 

Members,  eminent,  470 

Consumption,  436 

Hale,  448 

Montagu,  Basil,  470 

Dispensaries,  441 

Holland,  431 

Osborn  and  Tonson,  book- 

French Protestant,  436 

Hoxton,  447 

sellers,  470 

S.George's,  437 

Kensington,  447 

Lincoln's  Inn : 

Guy's:  statues  and  portrait 

Kennington,  447 

Books  and  MSS.,  468 

of,  437 

Lindsey,  Chelsea,  448 

Chapel,  213 

King's  College,  438 

Lindsey,  L. -Inn-Fields,  448 

Christmasings,    masques, 

Lesser,  438 

Little  Moorfields,  448 

and  revels,  4C5 

t  < 


INDEX. 

855 

Inks  of  Court  and  Chan- 

Inns of  Court  and  Chan- 

Inns of  Court  and  Chan- 

cery— continued. 

cer  v — con  Unit  ed. 

cery — continued. 

Curfew-bell,  469 

Fountain,  356,  464 

White  Hart,  Welbeck-st.460 

Erskine,  Lord,  statue,  467 

Gatehouse,  462 

White   Horse,   Fetter- lane, 

Fresco,  by  Watts,  467 

Garden,  464 

236,  460 

Gardens,  365,  466 

Hall,  462 

Yorkshire  Stingo,  460 

Gatehouse,  465 

Last  Revel,  462 

Isle  of  Dogs: 

Hall,  New,  466 

Library,  New,  463 

Cubitt  Town,  477 

Hall,  Old,  465 

Members,  eminent,  464 

Dockyards,  476 

Hall  roof,  467 

Pictures  and  Busts,  463 

Dogs,  tradition  of,  476 

Hogarth's     Paul    before 

Prince  of  Wales  enrolled, 

Iron     Suspension     Bridges 

Felix,  467 

464 

and  Cables,  476 

Kitchen  and  cellars,  467 

Reader,  463 

Name,  476 

Library,  New,  466,  467 

Sun-dials,  464 

Peninsula  originally,  475 

Members,  eminent,  465 

Turkish  Tombstone,  464 

Islington  : 

More,  Sir  Thomas,  family 

Inns  of  Old  London  : 

Angel  Inn,  478 

of,  465 

Angel,  Islington,  451 

Canonbury,  477 

New-square,  456 

Angel,  S.  Clement's,  451 

Cattle  Market,  479 

Oriel  window,  painted,468 

Ape,  London  Wall,  451 

Cloudesley,  Richard  de,  476 

Origin,  464 

Baptist's  Head,  451 

Dairies,  477 

Portraits,  468 

Bell,  Carter-lane,  452 

Daniel,  George,  477 

Screen,  armorial,  465 

Bell,  Warwick-lane,  452 

Elizabethan  houses,  476 

Screen,  Hall ,  and  costumed 

Belle  Sauvage,  443 

Highbury,  477 

figures,  467 

Black    Bear    and     White 

Holloway,  479 

Stone-buildings,  466 

Bear,  455 

Inns,  477 

Sun-dials,  465 

Blossoms,  451 

Iseldon,  a  British  name,  476 

Thurloe  State  Papers,  465 

Bolt-in-Tun,  452 

Ivy  Gardens,  Hoxton,  479 

Visits,  royal,  466 

Bull,  Bishopsgate,  453 

New  River,  477 

Lyon's  Inn : 

Clerkenwell,  453 

Peabody  Bequest,  479 

Coke,  Reader,  473 

Coach  and  Horses,  453 

Persons,  eminent,  477 

Weare  and  Thurtell,  473 

Cock,  Tothill-street,  453 

Population,  479 

New  Inn  and  Sir   Thomas 

Cross  Keys,  453 

Regent's  Canal,  477 

More,  473 

Elephant  and  Castle,  453 

Sadler's  Wells,  478 

Sun-dial,  large,  473 

Four  Swans,  454 

Smeaton's  Observatory,  47 

Serjeants'  Inn : 

George  and  Blue  Boar,  454 

Spa  Fields,  478 

Armorial  windows,  474 

George,  Snow-hill,  454 

Taverns,  old,  478 

Hall,  475 

Gerard's  Hall,  454 

Portraits,  fine,  474 

Giles's,  S.  454 

O    JAMES'S: 

®*  Berry-street,  Swift'sLodg- 

Serjeantcy,  the,  474 

Green  Man,  454 

History,  of,  474 

Holboin  Hill,  454 

ings,  481 

Staple  Inn : 

King's  Arms,  454 

Court  of  S.  James's,  480 

Hall  and  Portraits,  475 

Old  Bell,  454 

S.  James's  Fields,  480 

Jacobean  architecture,475 

Oxford  Arms,  454 

S.  James's-street :    Bagnio, 

Johnson,  Dr.,  and  Beed, 

Paul  Pindar,  454 

Byron,   Lord,   481,   482; 

Isaac,  475 

Piccadilly  Inns,  454 

Betty's  Fruit-shop,  482; 

Strand,  or  Chester  Inn,  475 

Pied  Bull,  455 

Civil  Service  Club,  481 ; 

Symond's  Inn,  475 

Pindar  of  Wakefield,  455 

Club-houses,  482 ;  Claren- 

Thavie's Inn,  475 

Queen's  Head,  455 

don  House,  481;    Elms- 

Temple,  Inner,  461 

Rose  of  Normandy,  455 

ley's,  480 ;  Gibbon,  Pope, 

Gardens,  view  from,  462 

Rose,  Holborn  Hill,  456 

and  Waller,  480 ;  Gillray, 

Hall  Dinner,  462 

Saracen's   Head,  Snow-hill 

caricaturist,  481 ;    Hook, 

Hall  and  Pictures,  462 

and  Friday-street,  456 

Theodore,  Cleveland-row, 

Hatton,  Sir  C.  462 

Spread  Eagle,  459 

482;  Thatched  House,  480; 

Johnson  and  Goldsmith, 

Swan  with  Two  Necks,  459 

Wirgman,  Kantesian,  481; 

461 

/Three  Cups,  459 

Wren,  SirChristopher,481 

Knights  Hospitallers,  461 

J  White  Hart,  Bishopsgate,459 

S.  James's-place :  Eminent 

Lamb,  Charles,  461 

f  White  Hart,  Covent  Garden, 

residents,  482 ;   Rogers's 

Masques  and  plays,  462 

)      460 

Pictures,  Sculptures,  &c., 

Pastimes  and  Revels,  460 

1  Half-way  House,  454 

483,  Spencer  House,  482 

Pillars  at  S.  Paul's,  460 

f  Southwark  Inns: 

Jermyn-st. :    eminent  resi- 

Library, 461 

1       Bear  at  Bridgefoot,  458 

dents,  481 ;  Howe,  Mrs. ; 

Members,  eminent,  462 

/       Boar's  Head,  458 

Museum      of     Practical 

Parliament  chamber,  462 

Catherine  Wheel,  458 

Geology,  481 

Wat    Tyler's    Rebellion, 

Dog  and  Bear,  458 

James-street,  Westminster: 

461 

/        George,  457 

Arundel  Marbles,  479 

Temple,  Middle : 

/        King's  Head,  458 

Glover  and  Gifford,  479 

Ashmole  and  Aubrey,  463 

Tabard,  456 

Pictures  at  Tart  Hall,  480 

Calves' Heads,  463 

White  Hart,  457 

Stationery  Office,  480 

Feasts,  463                         j 

White  Lion,  458 

Tart  Hall,  479,480 

1L  j 


r/1 


?a 


856 


INDEX. 


Jews'  Synagogues  ; 

Kentish-town  : 

Lambeth  Paeace — coutd. 

Bevis  Marks,  228 

Camden-town,  4  96 

Gardens  and  Grounds,  505 

Duke's-place,  228 

Cemetery,  82,  495 

Gate-house,  502 

New,  Great  S.  Helen'?,  228 

Chapel,  495 

Guard-chamber,  503 

New,  U.  Bryanston-st.,229 

Fleet  River,  496 

Hall,  Great,  504 

"West    London,    Margaret- 

Gospel  Oak,  496 

Howley's  repairs,  504 

street,  229 

Somers-town,  496 

Letters,  collection  of,  505 

Jews  in  London  : 

Sycamore   planted  by  Nel- 

Libraries, 503 

Cemeteries,  483 

son,  495 

Lollards'  Prison  and  Tower, 

Clothes  Exchange,  483 

KlLBURN: 

502 

Corporation,  4S4 

Goldsmith's  Cottage,  496 

Pictures,  503 

Jewries,  483 

Priory,  496 

Royal  Guests,  505 

Jews'  Free  School,  4S4 

Wells,  496 

Stationers'    Company    and 

Jews'-row,  484 

Knigiitsbridge  : 

Archbishop's  Barge,  505 

Jewry  destroyed,  483 

Albert-gate,  491 

Wat  Tyler's  Rebellion,  501 

Massacre,  483 

Belgravia,  492 

Law  Courts: 

Old  Jewry,  483 

Brompton : 

Arches,  312 

Return  from  exile,  4  83 

Chinese  Collection,  491 

Central  Criminal  Court,  506 

Saturday,  Hebrew,  484 

Fox  and  Bull  Tavern,  492 

Chancery,  507 ;  Great  Seal, 

Saxon  period,  483 

Inns  and  Taverns,  491 

508  ;  and  Bag,  507 

Synagogues,  484 

Jenny's  Whim,  492 

Clerkenwell  Sessions' House, 

Wealth  of,  485 

Lowndes-square,  492 

237 

S.  John's  Gate  : 

Tattersall's,  New,  491 

Doctors'  Commons,  312 

Architecture,  486 

Westbourne  Bridge,  490 

Equity,  507 

Cave,  Garrick,  and  Johnson, 

Brompton,  Persons  of  note 

Exchequer,  509  ; 

485 

residing  at,  490 

Seal,  509 

Docwra,  Grand  Prior,  485 

Sheriffs' Presentation,  508 

Hollar's  prints,  485 

T  AMBETH ; 

-Li     Antiquity,  496 

Sheriffs'  Roll,  508 

Jerusalem  Tavern,  486 

Tallies,  509 

S.  John's  Church,  486 

Arundel  Marbles,  499 

Insolvent    Debtors'    Court, 

Knights  of  S.  John,  485 

Asylum,  498 

509 

No  Man's  Land,  485 

Bushell,  Thomas,  499 

Lord  Mayor's  Court,  510 

Restored,  486 

Canute's  Trench,  497 

Marshalsea      and      Palace 

Carlisle  House,  498 

Court,  509 

Chemical   Works  and  Pot- 

Old Bailey; 

T7ENNINGT0N : 

tery,  500 

Press-yard,  507 

-**•     Early  history,  486 

Clowes's    Printing    Works, 

Sheriffs  Dinner,  506 

Duchy  of  Cornwall  Estate, 

581 

Trials,  507  ' 

487 

Coade's  Artificial  Stone,  501 

Palace  of  Justice,  New,  510 

Kennington  Common,  487 

Cuper's  Gardens,  499 

Rolls  Court,  510 

Licensed  Victuallers'  School, 

Despard,  Colonel,  499 

Sheriffs'  Court,  510 

486 

Fair,  ancient,  497 

Star  Chamber,  450 — 510 

Manor  of  Lambeth,  4S7 

Gardens,  Public,  498 

"Westminster       Hall,      old 

Place  of  execution,  487 

Hock  Tide,  497 

Courts  in,  505 

Rcyal  Palace,  486,  487 

S.  John's  Church,  498 

Leadenhale-street  : 

Whitefield  preaching,  487 

Lambeth  Marsh,  499 

Corporation  Granary,  511 

Kensington  : 

Lampreys  and  Salmon,  497 

Crypt  of  S.  Michael's,  511 

Campden  Hill  and  Campden 

S.  Mary's  Church,  185,  497 

Denison  family,  511 

House,  486 

Maudsley's  Works,  500 

Hall  for  Arms,  511 

Colby      and       Kensington 

Moore's  Almanack,  499 

Market,  511 

Houses,  447 

New  Cut  and  Pedlar's  Acre, 

Motteux,  Peter,  511 

Gore  House,  488 

501 

S.  Mary  Axe,  511 

Horticultural  Society,  489 

Norfolk  House,  499 

Leicester-square  : 

International       Exhibition 

Pedlar  and  his  Dog,  497 

Aylesbury  House,  512 

and  Building,  489 

Plate  Glass,  500 

Burford's  Panorama,  514 

King's  Arms  Tavern,  488 

Price's  Candle  Company,  500 

Cranbourne-alley,  514 

Mansions,  489 

Roman  Remains  and  Road, 

Green-  street :  Woollett  the 

S.  Mary's  Church,  488 

497 

engraver,  514 

Newton,  Sir  Isaac,  488 

Shot  Towers,  500 

Hogarth,  AVilliam,  lived,  513 

Talace  Gardens,  488 

Theatres,  498 

Hotels  and  Foreigners,  515 

South,  Sir  James,  Observa- 

Vauxhall Gardens,  498 

Hunter,  John,  lived,  514 

tory,  488 

Waterworks,  499 

Leicester-fields,  511 

Soyer's  Symposium,  489 

Lambeth  Paeace: 

Lisle-street,  514 

Wilberforce,  William,  488 

Books  and  MSS.,  504 

Leicester  House,  511 

Kent-street  : 

Chapel  and  Crypt,  501,  502 

Leicester-place,  514 

Bridge,  ancient,  495 

Cranmer's  additions,  501 

Linwood,  Miss,  her  Needle- 

Broom-men  and   Mumpers, 

Curiosities,  505 

work,  512 

495 

Fig-trees,   Cardinal    Pole's, 

S.  Martin-street:  Newton's 

Cade  and  Wyat,  495 

505 

House,  514 

INDEX. 


857 


Leicester-square — contd. 
Orange-court :     Opie     and 

Holcroft,  514 
Keynolds,  Sir  Joshua,  lived, 

513 
Riots  of  1780,  512 
Savile  House,  512 
Statue  of  Geors-e  I.,  513 
Wyld's  Earth  Model,  513 
Levels ; 
Various,  515 

Highest  ground   and   mid- 
dle ground,  516 
Libraries  : 

Agricultural  Society,  516 
Antiquaries'  Society,  516 
Archaeological  Society,  516 
Artillery  Ground,  516 
Asiatic  Society,  516 
Astronomical  Society,  516* 
Bank  of  England,  516 
Barber-Surgeons'  Hall,  516 
Beaumont  Institution,  516 
Bible  Society,  516 
Botanical  Society,  517 
British  .Museum,  584 
Charter-house,  517 
Chelsea  Hospital,  517 
Christ's  Hospital,  517 
Church  Missionary,  517 
Circulating,  527 
City  of  London  Institution, 

517 
Civil  Engineers'  Institution, 

517 
Clockmakers'  Company,  517 
Club-houses,  517 
College  of  Physicians,  277 
College  of  Surgeons,  517 
Corporation      of     London, 

518 
Cottonian,  518 
Department     of    Practical 

Art,  518 
Doctors'  Commons,  313 
Dulwich  College,  274 
Dutch  Church,  519 
East  India  Company,  520 
Ellesmere,  520 
Free  Libraries,  527 
Geographical  Society,  520 
Heralds'  College,  275 
Horticultural  Society,  521 
Hospitals,  521 
Incorporated  Law  Society, 

521 
Inns  of  Court  and  Chancery, 

521 
King's  College,  521 
Lambeth  Palace,  501 
Linnaean  Society,  521 
Literary  Fund,  521 
London  Institution,  522 
London  Library,  522 
Mathematical  Society,  522 
Mechanics'  Institute,  522 
Medical     and     Chirurgical 

Society,  522 
Medical  Society,  350,  520 


Libraries — continued. 

Merchant-Tailors'     School, 

520 
Microscopical  Society,  522 
Mudie's  Select,  527 
Museum  of  Practical   Geo- 
logy, 522 
New  College,  277,  522 
Parliament  Houses,  665,  666 
Patent  Seal  Office,  522 
S. Paul's  Cathedral,  111,523 
S.  Paul's  Schools,  523 
Pharmaceutical  Society,  523 
Royal  Academy  of  Arts,  523 
Royal  Academy   of  Music, 

524 
Boyal  Institute  of   Archi- 
tects, 524 
Boyal  Institution,  524 
Royal  Library,  S.   James's 

Palace,  524 
Koyal  Society,  524 
Royal  Society  of  Literature, 

524 
Russell  Institution,  524 
Sion  College,  279,  525 
Soane's,  Sir  John,  525 
Societies,      Literary       and 

Scientific,  525 
Society  of  Arts,  525 
Statistical  Society,  525 
Tenison's,  Archbishop,  525 
Tower  of  London,  526 
United  Service  Institution, 

Whitehall,  526 
University  College,  526 
Williams's  Library,  526 
Zoological  Society.  527 
Lincoln's  Inn  Fields: 
Duke-street :    Silver   Foun- 
tain, magnificent,  528 
Extent  of,  527 
Inclosed,  528 
Law  Courts,  New,  529 
Lindsey  House,  527 
Mumpers  and  Rufflers,  528 
Place  of  Execution  and  Pil- 
lory, 527,  528 
Russell,  William  Lord,  527 
Turnstile,  Great  and  Little, 

528 
Whetstone's  Park,  528 
Literary  Fund  : 
Grants,  529 
First  Dinner,  529 
House,  Adelphi  Terrace,  1 
Instituted,  529 
Odes,  authors  of,  529 
Little  Britain  : 
Booksellers,  529,  530 
Bretagne,  Duke  of,  629 
Duke-street,  530 
Milton  lodged,  530 
Spectator  published,  530 
Lombard-street  •. 
Abchurch-lane,  531 
Badge  of  the  Lombards,  530 
Banking-houses,  532 
Barclay's  banking-house,532 


Lombard-street — continued' 

Birchin-lane,  531 

Booksellers,  531 

Burse  proposed,  531 

Churches  in,  532 

George-yard,  531 

Goldsmiths,  532 

Gresham's  shop,  531 

Isabella,  queen  of  Edward 
II.,  house  of,  530 

Pope,     Alexander,     birth- 
place of,  531 

Pope's  merchants,  531 

Post-office,  General,  532 

Roman  remains,  531 

Shore,  the  goldsmith,  530 
London  Institution; 

Established,  532 

Laboratory,    Lecture-room, 
and  Library,  533 
London  Wall — City  : 

Wall  and  Bethlem  Hospital, 
534 
Long  Acre : 

Butler  and  Curll,  in  Rose- 
street,  535 

Coachmakers,  535 

Elms  and  Seven  Acres,  534 

Endell-street,   and  S.  Mar- 
tin's Schools,  535 

Mug-house  Club,  535 

Nostrums,  sale  of,  535 

Prior's  Chloe,  535 

Rose-street     and     Dryden 
cudgelled,  535 

Taylor,  the  Water-poet,  534 
Lord  Mator's  State  : 

Banquets,  Inauguration,537 

Bullen,  Sir  Geoffrey,  537 

Custard  at  Feasts,  536 

Collar,  536 

Costume  and  Jewels,  536 

FooL  536 

Household,  537 

Jewels,  536 

Lord  Mayor's  Day  expenses, 
537 

Mace  and  Sword,  536 

Pearl  Sword,  537 

Plate,  537 

Salary,  536 

Seals,  536 

Silver  Cradle,  537 

State  Banquets,  536 

Staff,  536 

Watermen,  537 

Whittington,  537 
Ludgate,    Ludgate    Hill, 
and  Street  : 

Barbican,  or  Watch  Tower, 
539 

Belle  Sauvage  Inn,  539 

Elizabeth,  Queen,  Statue  of, 
from  the  Gate,  538 

Foster,  Sir  Stephen,  538 

Lud-gate,  538 

Newberry,  bookseller,  539 

S.  Paul's  and   S.  Martin's 
Churches,  539 


858 


INDEX. 


LUDGATE,      LUDGATE     HlLX, 

Mansions — continued. 

Mansions — continued. 

and  Street — continued. 

De  Grey,  Earl : 

Pictures     and    Carvings, 

Prison  of  Ludgate,  53S 

Pictures,  548 

555 

Prison  Thoughts,  538 

Devonshire  House : 

Overstone,  Lord:  Pictures, 

Railway  viaduct,  539 

Amateur  performance^  48 

555 

Rundell  and  Bridge's  shop, 

Berkeley  House,  548 

Peel,  Sir  Robert :  Pictures, 

539 

Bibliographical     rarities, 

555 

Wyat,  Sir  T.,  rebellion,  539 

548 

Rothschild,  Baron,  556 

Idbro  di  Verita,  548 

Rutland  House,  556 

"VfAGDALEN  HOSPITAL : 
J*i-    Benefactors,  540 

Pictures,  548 

Sibthorp,  Colonel: 

Redecorated,  548 

Collection  of  Plate,  Porce- 

Dodd, Dr.,  chaplain,  540 

Dorchester  House : 

lain,  Glass,  &c,  556 

Household,  541 

Pictures,  549 

Spencer  House,  556 

Magdalens,  their  dress  and 

Dover  House : 

Stafford    House— Built    for 

work,  540 

.Lord  Melbourne;  Duke  of 

the  Duke  of  York : 

Mansion  House  : 

York,  549 

Pictures    and    Sculpture, 

Architecture,  540 

Dudley  House : 

556,  557 

Egyptian  Hall,  541 

Pictures,  549 

Tomline,  Mr.  G. :    Pictures, 

Kitchen,  541 

Gloucester  House: 

557 

Venetian  and  Wilkes's  Par- 

Elgin Marbles,  549 

Uxbridge  House :  The  poet 

lours,  541 

Tapestry  Carpet,  549 

Gay,  557 

Tables,  541 

Grosvenor  House : 

Markets  :    — 

Mansions  : 

Picture      Gallery  ^_,and 

Billingsgate,  55,  557 

Apsley  House,  541 

Screen,  549      S" 

Borough,  559 

Bed-room    and    private- 

Grosvenor  Gallery  of  Pic- 

Clare, 559 

room,  543 

tures  and  Sculpture,  550 

Colombia,  558 

Bullet-proof  blinds,  541 

Harcourt  House,  550 

Corn,  Mark-lane,  329 

China  and  Plate,  542 

Hertford  House : 

Covent  Garden,  559 

Pictures   and    Sculpture, 

Pictures,  china,  &c,  550 

Farringdon,  559 

541,  542 

Holdernesse  House : 

Hungerford,  559 

Site,  543 

Pictures,  Sculpture,  550 

Leadenhall,  560 

Wellington  Shield,  542 

Hope  House : 

Metropolitan  Cattle,  560 

Argyll  House : 

Antiques  and  Pictures, 

Newgate  Market,  560 

Aberdeen  Ministry,  543 

Duchess-street  Collection, 

Newport,  561                   / 
Oxford  Market,  561    r l  A  - 
Smithfield,  561 

Industrial  School,  543 

551 

Bath  House: 

Lansdowne  House  s 

Pictures.  Sculpture,  544 

Pictures    and    Sculpture, 

Stocks  Market,  561             L 

Bedford,  Duke  of,  Pictures, 

551,  552 

Mark-lane  : 

544 

Lyndhurst  Lord : 

Blanch    Appleton    Manor- 

Bernal,  Ralph,  Esq.,  Works 

Pictures  by  Copley,  552 

house,  562 

of  Art,  Books,  and  Prints, 

Manchester  House,' 552 

Martin's  (S.)  Lane: 

544 

Marlborough  House : 

Notable  Tenants,  562 

Bridgewater  House : 

Architect,  Wren,  552 

Porridge  Island,  562 

Pictures,  545 

Duke     and    Duchess    of 

Martin's  (S.)  Le  Grand  : 

Buckingham    House,    Pall 

Marlborough,  552 

College  and  Sanctuary,  562, 

Mall :  Ministers  of  War, 

Hall  and  Paintings,  553 

563 

545 

Princess    Charlotte    and 

Crypt,  303 

Burlington  House : 

Prince  Leopold,  552 

Inns,  Taverns,  Trades,  563 

Burlington,  Lord,  his  ad- 

Prince   and    Princess  of 

Roman  remains,  563 

ditions,  545 

Wales,  553 

Ma KYI.EBONE  : 

Cavendish  Family,  546 

Re-embellished,  553 

Bowling-greens,  564 

Gay,  on,  546 

Stables,  new,  553 

Extent  and  Manor,  563 

Hogarth's  caricature,  546 

Montague    House,   Blooms- 

Gardens,  564 

Pope's  Eulogy,  545 

bury,  573,  574 

Park  and  Regent's  Park,563 

University  of  London,  54  7 

Montague  House,  Whitehall, 

Prize-fighting,  564 

Walpole,  Horace,  on,  545 

553 

Tyburn-road,  564 

Cambridge  House : 

Rebuilt,  554 

Mat  FAIR; 

Duke  of  Cambridge  and 

Montague  House,  Portman- 

S.  James's  Fair,  564 

Lord  Palmerston,  547 

square,  554 

Keith's  Chapel,  565 

Naval  and  Military  Club- 

Montague    House,     South- 

Marriages,  565 

house,  547 

wark,  554 

Mews,  Royal  : 

Chesterfield  House : 

Norfolk  House : 

Charing,  565 

Lord     Chesterfield     and 

Pictures  and  Coronation 

Original  Mews,  565 

French  Cookery,  547 

Plate,  554 

Queen's  Mews,  Pimlico,  565 

Portraits,      Busts,      and 

Norman  ton,  Lord : 

Royal  Mews,  Pinner-st.,  566 

Bronzes,  547 

Pictures,  554 

State  Coach,  565,  566 

Clarence  house,  547 

Northumberland        House, 

MlNORIES  : 

Clarendon     House,     Picca- 

Northampton     House, 

Gunsmiths,  566 

dilly,  672 

and  Suffolk  House,  555 

Hay  don-square,  566 

INDEX. 


859 


Minories — continued. 

Holy  Trinity,  566 

Nuns  of  S.  Clare,  5GC 
Mint,  Royal  : 

Curiosities,  567 

Lully,  the  Alchemist,  5G7 

Machinery,  steam,  568 

Mint,  Tower,  566 

Old  and  New  Mints,  567, 568 

Pix,  568 

Roman  Mint,  566 
Mist,  Southwark  : 

Asylum  for  Debtors,  569 

Marriages,  illicit,  569 

Minters,  exodus  of,  5G9 

Poets  in  the  Mint,  569 

Saxon  and  Norman  Mints, 
569 

Suffolk  Manor,  568 
Monument,  the  : 

Cibber's  sculpture,  570 

Described,  570 

Legends,  571 

Model,  570 

Pope's  couplet,  571 

Royal    Society's     observa- 
tions, 570 

Suicides  from,  571 

MoORFIELDS  : 

Archery,  572 
Bethlem  Hospital,  572 
Bone  Skate?,  571 
Calves'  Head  Club,  573 
Canning,  Elizabeth,  572 
Coleman-street,  572 
Common  Hunt,  572 
Evelyn  and  Pepys,  572 
Lackington's,  573 
Moor-gate,  572 
Museum,  British  : 

Antiquities  Department,  578 
Assyrian  Galleries,  581 
Bibles  and  Psalters,  587 
Botanical  or  Banksian  De- 
partment, 578 
British    and   Anglo-Roman 

Remains,  579 
British  and  Mediaeval  Room, 

583 
Bronze  Room,  582 
Central  Saloon,  576 
Cost  of  Museum  buildings, 

575 
Early  Christian  Collection, 

583 
Eastern  Zoological  Gallery, 

576 
Egyptian      Gallery        and 

Rooms,  581 
Elgin  Rooms,  579 
Ethnographical  Rooms,  583 
Exhibition  Rooms,  plans  of, 

577 
Gates  and  Railing,  575 
Greco-Roman  Rooms,  579 
Hellenic  Rooms,  580 
Libraries : 

Royal    Library :     Books 
with  Autographs,  584 


Museum,  British — continues 
General  Library,  584 
Greville  Library,  58* 
Newspapers,  585 
Mammalia  Saloon,  576 
Manuscripts ; 

Ancient  Rolls  and  Char- 
ters, 587 
Magna  Charta,  587 
Pope's  Bulls,  587 
Donation  MSS.,  587 
Medal  Room,  583 
Mediaeval  Collection,  583 
Mineral  Collections,  578 
Montague     Great    Gate, 

573 
Montague  House,  573 
North   Gallery    (Fossils), 

576-578 
Northern  Zoological  Gal- 
lery, 576 
Origin  of  the  Museum,  574 
Papyri,  588 

Portraits  in  Eastern  Zoo- 
logical Gallery,  576 
Print-room : 

Drawings     and    Engrav- 
ings, 588 
Keepers  of  the  Prints,  588 
Portraits,  589 
Admission     and     Cata- 
logues, 589 
Reading-room : 

Construction  and  dimen- 
sions,   585 ;    admission 
to,  587 
Sculpture,  by  Westmacott, 

575 
Sloane  and  Harleian  Col- 
lections, 574 
Smirke,  Sir  R.,  574 
Southern  Zoological  Gal- 
lery, 576 
Statues    of    Shakspeare, 
Banks,  and  Mrs.  Damer, 
575 
Stones,  immense,  574 
Syrian  Gallery,  579 
Temple  Collection,  582 
Townley  Collection,  579 
Vase-rooms  :  Hamilton  and 

Portland  Vases,  582 
Zoological  Collections,  575, 
576 
Museums  : 

Adelaide  Gallery,  589 
Anatomical  Museums,  589 
Antiquaries,    Society    of 

(Pictures),  589 
Antiquities  of  London, 590 
Archaeological  Association 

and  Institute,  590 
Architects'  Institute,  590 
Architectural,  591 
Armouries,  591 
Autographs,  591 
Botanical  Society,  591 
Brookes's  Museum,  591 
Bullock's  Museum,  320 


Museums — continued. 

Civil  Engineers'  Institu- 
tion, 592 
College  of  Physicians,  592 
College  of  Surgeons,  592 
Corporation,  593 
Cox's  Museum,  694 
Cumingian   Museum,  595 
Daniel,    George,    Canon- 
bury,  595 
Entomological      Sosiety, 

595 
Geology,  Practical,  595 
Geological  Society,  596 
Geological  (Bowerbank's), 

596 
Guiana  Collection,  596 
Hospitals :       Anatomical 

Museums,  596 
Hudson's  Bay  Company's, 

596 
Hunter's  (W.)    Museum, 

597 
India  Museum,  597 
King's  College,  597 
Leverian  Museum,  512 
Manufactures  and  Orra- 

mental  Art,  598 
Meade's  Dr.,  598 
Missionary,  599 
Naval  Museum,  599 
National  Repository,  599 
Pharmaceutical    Society, 

599 
Private  Collections,  60C 
Rackstrow's  Museum,  599 
Royal  Society,  600 
Saltero,  Don,  600 
Saull's  Collection,  600 
Sloane  Museum,  601 
Soane  Museum,  601 
Society  of  Arts,  603 
South    Kensington    Mu- 
seum, 603 
Tradescant's,  604 
Trinity  House,  605 
United    Service    Institu- 
tion, 605 
University  College,  605 
Waterloo  Museum,  606 
Weeks's  Museum,  606 
Zoological  Society's,  606 
Music  Halls  : 
Alhambra,  608 
Canterbury,  608 
Evans's,  608 
Grecian,  609 
Hanover-square,  609 
Highbury  Barn,  608 
James's,  S.,  688 
Oxford,  608 
Philharmonic,  608 
Surrey  Music  Hall,  609 

NEWINGTON  BUTTS: 
Butts  for  Archery,  614 
Cnut's  Trench,  615 
Origin  of,  614 
Walworth,  Sir  W.,  614 


860 


INDEX. 


Newington,  Stoke  : 

Abney  Park,  615 

Bishop's  Place,  615 

King  Henry's  Walk,  615 

Newington-green,  615 

Notable  Persons,  615 

Rural  village,  615 
New  River  : 

Chadwell      and      Amwell 
Springs,  609 

Myddelton,  Sir  Hugh,  609 

James  I.  and  Charles  I.,  619 

Pipes,  610 

Myddelton  family,  611 

New  River  Shares,  612 

River  course,  611 

New  River  Head,  611 

Sadler's  Wells  Theatre,  612 

Statue  of  Sir  Hugh  Myddel- 
ton, 612 
New  Road  : 

Euston,    Marylebone,    and 
Pentonville  Roads,  613 

Formation,  613 

Harley-house,  613 

Opposition  to,  612 
Newgate  street  : 

Bas-relief,  614 

Bath-street,  614 

King  Edward-street,  614 

Pannyer-alley,  614 

Warwick-lane,  614 
Newspapers : 

British  Museum   collection, 
585 

Dates  of  early  Newspapers, 
616,617 

Illustrated  London  News,  618 

Morning  Chronicle,  616 

Morning  Herald,  616 

Morning  Post,  616 

News  of  the  Present  Week,G15 

Times,   616:    Printing  ma- 
chinery, 616,  617 
Weekly  newspapers,  617 

OLD  BAILEY: 
Bales,  the  penman ;  Camden 

born,  619 
Execution,  first,  618 
Executions,  Memorable,  619 
Green  Arbour- court,  619 
Hogarth  born,  618,  619 
Skinner-st.  Execution,  619 
Surgeons'  Theatre,  618 
Sydney  House,  618 

Old  Jewry: 

Clayton,  Sir  Robert,  619 
Jews  and  Synagogue,  619 
London  Institution,  620 
Lord  Mayor's  Court,  620 
Porson,  Prof.  620 

Old-street  : 
Picthatch,  620 
S.  Leonard's,  Shoreditch,620 
Roman  Road,  620 
Vinegar  Works,  620 

Omnibus,  The: 
Barricade,  621 


Omnibus,  the — continued. 
First  established,  620 
Greenwich  stages,  620 
Shillibeer,  620,  621 

Oxford-street  : 
S.  Anne's  parish,  621 
Camelford  House,  623 
Han  way-street,  622 
Marylebone  old  church,  621 
Newman-street  and  Berners- 

street,  623 
New  Oxford-street,  623 
Nollekens's      Recollections, 

622,  623 
Pantheon,  622,  639,640 
Pennant's  Recollections,  621 
Portland-place,  notable  resi- 
dents, 622 
Statue :  Duke  of  Kent,  602 
Stratford-place,  622 
Tyburn-brook,  620 
Tyburn  and  Oxford-road,621 
Wardour-street,  622 

PADDINGTON: 
Bishop's  Estate,  624 

Churches,  624 

Craven  Hill,  624 

Dudley  Grove  and  Welling- 
ton Statue,  624 

Forest  of  Middlesex,  623 

Maida  Hill,  624 

Paddington  Green,  624 

Paddington,  Past  and  Pre- 
sent,  623 

Population,  623 

Public  Houses,  old,  625 

Saxon  name,  623 

Tyburnia,  623,  624 

Westbourne  Green,  624 
Painted  Chamber: 

Conferences  and  Courts,  625 

Edward  the  Confessor,  625 

Paintings  and  tapestry,  625 
Palaces,  Royal  : 

Buckingham  Palace: 
Arlington  House,  626 
Ball-room,  629 
Buckingham  House,  626 
Blore,  architect,  627 
Cartoons  of  Raphael,  637 
Chapel,  629. 
Costume  Balls,  629 
East  Front,  627 
George  III.  Library,  627 
Green  Drawing-room,  628 
Grand  Staircase,  628 
Marble  Arch,  627 
Marble  Hall  and  Sculp- 
ture Gallery,  627 
Mulberry  Garden,  626 
Nash,  architect,  627 
Paintings,  627 
Pavilion  in  Garden,  629 
Picture  Gallery,  628 
Pictures,  collection  of,  628 
Pleasure  Grounds,  629 
Queen's  House,  627 
Royal  Mews,  565 


Palaces,  Royal — continued. 
Sculptures,  629 
State  Apartments,  628 
Stothard,  T.,  R.A.,  628 
Throne-room,  62 S 
Carlton  House : 
Arms  and  Costumes,  635 
Carlton-house-terrace,635 
Carlton,  Lord,  634 
Conservatory,  635 
Epigrams,  635 
Furniture,  635 
Gardens,  by  Kent,  634 
Holland's  alterations,  634 
Interior  described,  635 
Kensington  Gravel,  634 
Marriages,  royal,  635 
Portico,  634 
Regent's  supper  to   2000 

guests,  635 
Sheridan's  bon  mot,  635 
Taken  down,  635 
Wales,  Princess  of,  died, 

634 
Walpole,     Horace,      de- 
scribes, 634 
S.  James's  Palace : 
Ambassadors'  Court,  631 
Board  of  Green  cloth,  031 
Chapel  Royal,  140 
Colour  Court,  631 
Court  of  S.  James's,  631 
Drawing-rooms  and    Le- 
vees, 632 
Friary,  630 
Gate-tower     and     Great 

Clock,  631 
Gentlemen-at-Arms,  632 
George  IV.  born,  631 
German  Chapel,  630 
Guard-chamber,  631 
Hospital,  ancient,  630 
Manor-house,  630 
Monk,  General,  630 
Norman  Remains,  630 
Pictures,  collection  of,632 
Tapestry-room,  632 
Throne-room  and  Queen's 

Closet,  632 
Verrio,  the  Painter,  630 
William,  Prince  of  Orange, 

630 
William  IV.  and  the  Great 

Clock,  631 
Yeomen  of  the  Guard,  632 
Kensington  Palace : 
Accession  of  Queen  Vic- 
toria, 633 
Anne,  Queen,  and  Prince 

George,  633 
Banqueting  House,  493 
Cube-room,  633 
Fir3t   Council   of   Queen 

Victoria,  633 
George  II.,  death  of,  633 
Great  Staircase,  633 
Kent,  Duke  and  Duchess 

of,  633 
King's  Gallery,  633 


INDEX. 


861 


Palaces,  Royal — contin  ueri. 
Library  of  the  Duke   of 

Sussex,  634 
Nottingham,  Finch,  Earl 

of,  632 
Paintings,  634 
Palace  Green,  634 
Presence  Chamber,  633 
Queen's  Gallery,  633 
Queen  Victoria  born,  633 
Sussex,  Duke  of,  633 
William  III.  purchases  the 

Mansion,  632 
Wren,    Hawskmoor,   and 
Kent,    architects,   632, 
633 
Pall-mall  ; 
Angerstein  and  Vernon,  630 
Banks's  sculpture,  639 
British  Institution,  639 
Charles  1 1,  and  Paille-Maille, 

636 
Club-houses,  639 
Coffee-houses  and    taverns, 

637 
DeFoe  and  Gay  describe,638 
Denison,  W.  J.,  M.P.,  638 
Dodsley,  the  bookseller,  638 
Duel  of  Lord  Byron  aud  Mr, 

Chaworth,  637 
Fossils  discovered,  639 
Gas  lighting,  371 
Gillray,  caricaturist,  636 
Giaham,  Dr.,  his  Goddess  of 

Health,  638 
James  I.   and  Palle-Malle, 

636 
Living  Skeleton,  637 
Lodge's  Portraits,  639 
Mail  robbed  in,  638 
Marlborough  House,  552 
Nell  Gwynne,  lived,  637 
Paille-maille,  game  of,  635 
Pell  Mell  Close,  636 
Pall-mall  East : 

Calves'  Head  Club,  639 
Hedge-lane,  639 
"  Rookery,"  the,  636 
Royal  Academy,  635 
Schomberg  House.449,638 
Sedans  and  Chairmen,  639 
Shakspeare  Gallery,  639 
Sights  and  Amusements, 

637 
Sydenham,  D.,  636 
Thelwall,  John,  639 
Thynne,  murder  of,  637 
"Tully's  Head,"  636 
Vulliamys,    royal    clock- 
makers,  636 
War-office,  Statue  of  Lord 

Herbert,  639 
Warwick  House  and  Prin- 
cess Charlotte,  639 
Wyat,  Sir  Thomas,  636 
Pantheon : 
Bazaar,  41,  640 
Fire,  destructive,  640 
Masquerade,  640 


Pantheon — continued. 

Rebuilt,  640 

Theatre,  640 

Winter  Ranelagh,  639 

Wyatt,  James, architect,  639 
Pancras,  S. : 

Agar  Town,  640 

Battle  Bridge  and   Roman 
inscription,  641 

Brill  of  Somers  Town,  640 

Cantelows  or  Kentish  Town, 
640 

Cemetery,  641 

Church,  ancient,  640 

Churches,  various,  641 

Domesday,  640 

Extent,  640 

Gospel  Oak  Field,  641 

Hampstead       Wells       and 
Walk,  641 

Houses  and  Population,  640 

King's  Cross,  641 

Mineral  Springs,  641 

Railway  Termini,  641 
Paris  Garden  : 

Cure's  Almshouses,  642 

Falcon  Theatre,  642 

Holland's  Leaguer,  642 

Origin  of,  641 
Parks  : 

Number,  cost,  income,  642 

Albert— Finsbury  Park,  642 

Battersea  Park : 

Earth  from  the  London 

Docks,  642 
Lake,  643 

Lammas  Lands,  642 
Laying  out,  643 
Sub-Tropical  Garden,  643 

Chelsea  Hospital  Grounds : 
Pensioners'      allotments, 
643 

Green  Park : 

Constitution  Hill,  643 
Arch  at  Hyde-park  Cor- 
ner, 644 
Lunatic  attempts  to  assa- 

sinate  the  Queen,  644 
Mansions,  Gardens,  643 
Peace      Commemoration, 

643 
Peel,  Sir  R.,  death  of,  644 

Hyde  Park : 
Cheesecakes  and  milk,  644 
Coaches  and  gallants,  645 
Commonwealth       troops, 

645 
Conduits  and  Fountains, 

646 
Cromwell  driving,  645 
Crystal  Palace,  647 
Deer,  races,  and  tolls,  644 
Drives  and  flowers,  648 
Duels    fought   in   Hyde- 
park,  649 
Fairs  and  Fireworks,  645 
Gates  and  Arches,  646 
GreatExhibition  1851,646 
Law  of  the  Parks,  649 


Parks — continued. 
Let  in  Farms,  644 
Manor  of  Hyde,  644 
Memorial   to   the   Prince 

Consort,  647 
Ring  and  Review,  645 
Riot  in  1866,  649 
Rotten  Row,  646 
Royal  Humane  Society's 

House,  648 
Serpentine,  the,  648 
Statue  of  Achilles,  646 
Vending  victuals,  645 
S.  James's  Park : 
After-dinner  Promenade, 

653 
Birdcage  Walk,  652 
Canal  Decoy,  and  Duck 

Island,  652 
Charles  I.,  Cromwell,  and 

Whitelock,  651 
Charles  II.  additions,  651 
Charles    II,     and     Nell 

Gwynne,  652,  653 
Evelyn,      Pepys,        and 

Waller,  651 
Goldsmith  in  Park,  653 
Horse  Guards  Parade, 654 
Mall  and   the    game   of 

Paille  MaiHe,  636,  651 
Milk  Fair,  654 
Milton's  garden-house,654 
Nursery  for  Deer,  651 
Ornithological     Society's 

House,  654 
Peace     Commemoration, 

1814,  653 
Privileges,  Skating,  Phy- 
sic   Garden,    and  Me- 
nagerie, 652 
Rosamond's  Pond,  653 
Soult's  Mortar,  654 
Wellington  Barracks,  653 
State  Paper  Office,  654 
Kennington  Park : 
Flower-gardens,     Lodge, 

649 
Poplar  Recreation  Grounds, 

649 
Primrose  Hill  Park : 

Gymnasium,  650 
Regent's  Park: 

Botanic  Society's  Garden, 

369,  650 
Colosseum,  280-283 
S.   Dunstan's  Villa    and 

clock-flgure3,  650 
Flower-gardens,  650 
Marylebone    Farm    and 

Fields,  650 
Observatory,  650 
Plan,  650 

Sheet  of  Water,  650 
Toxopholite  Society,  650 
Villas  and  Grounds,  651 
Zoological  Society's  Gar 

den  and  Menagerie,  650 
Southwark  Park,  651 
Victoria  Park : 


862 


INDEX. 


Parks — continued. 

Drinking  Fountain,  655 
Flower-beds,  655 
Ornamental  Lake,  655 
Pleasures  of  the  People, 

655 
Purchase  of  Ground,  655 
,  Parliament  Houses  : 

Admission  of  the  Public,  666 
Armada  Tapestry,  656 
Barry's  design,  658 
Central  Clock-tower,  661 
Central  Hall  : 

Statues    of    Kings     and 
Queens,  662 
Clock,  the  Great,  659 
Clock  Tower  Dials,  658, 659 
Cloisters  and  Crypt,  658 
Commons'  House,  665 
Bar,  the,  666 
Commons'  entrance,  661 
Commons'  Libraries, 

Lobby,    and    Refresh- 
ment Booms,  666 
Commons,  by  Wren,  658 
Division  Lobbies,  666 
Painted  Windows,  665 
Speaker's  Chair  and  Mace, 

666 
Cotton  House,  658 
East,  or  Biver  Front,  659 
Edward  the  Confessor,  656 
Electric  Telegraph-office, 

662 
Gates  of  the  Old  Palace, 

658,  662 
General  View,  661 
Gibson's  Statue  of  Queen 

Victoria,  663 
Gold-leaf  decoration,  659 
Great  Fire  in  1834,  656 
Ground-plan       of      the 

Houses,  657 
Law  Courts,  by  Soane,  658 
Lords,  House  of,  663 
Bar,  663 

Busts  andInscriptions,663 
Candelabra,  large,  664 
Decoration  of  Peers  and 
Commons' Corridor,  665 
Frescoes     and     Painted 

Windows,.663 
Heraldic  Ceiling,  663 
Old  House  of  Lords,  656 
Peers'  Libraries  and  Rob- 

ing-room,  664 
Peers'  Lobby,  664 
Peers'  Bobing-room,  661 
Prince    of    Wales     and 
Prince  Consort's  Chairs, 
664 
Queen's  Chair  of  State,664 
Reporters'  and  Strangers' 

Galleries,  663 
Royal  Throne,  664 
Memorial    to    Sir    Charles 

Barry,  662 
New  Palace,  659 
Norman  Porch,  662 


Parliament  Houses — contd. 
North  Front,  659 
Old  Court  of  Requests,  656 
Painted  Chamber,  656 
Paintings  in  St.  Stephen's 

Chapel,  658 
Prince's  Chamber,  656,  662 
Queen's  Robing-room,  662 
River- Wall,  658 
Rufus's  Great  Hall,  656 
Sculpture,  Victoria    Tower, 

661 
South     Front     —    Saxon 

Kings  and  Queens,  660 
Speaker's  House,  666 
Star-chamber,  656 
Statues    in     S.     Stephen's 

Hall,  665 
S.  Stephen's  Chapel,  656 
S.  Stephen's  Cloisters,  665 
S.Stephen's  Hall,662,665 
S.  Stephen's  Porch,  661,  665 
S.  Stephen's  Staircase,  661 
Ventilation     of    the    two 

Houses,  665 
Victoria  or  Royal  Gallery, 

662 
Victoria  Tower,  View  from, 

660 
West  Front— Statuettes,6  61 
Westminster    Palace    first 
named,  656 
Paternoster-row  : 

Am  en -corner,   Ave    Maria, 

and  Creed  lanes,  667 
Baldwin  and  Chambers,  667 
Castle    and    Dolly's    chop- 
house,  668 
Chapter  Coffee-house,   263, 

668 
Cyclopmdias     of  Chambers 

and  Bees,  667 
Hamilton  and  Co.,  668 
Longman's  house,  history  of, 

667 ;  rebuilt,  667 
Mercers  and  Lacemen,  667 
Newgate  Market  groaning- 

board,  668 
Origin  of  name,  667 
Panyer-alley,  668 
Publishers,  early,  667 
Religious     Tract    Society's 

Depot,  668 
RiviDgton's,    Bible    and 

Crown,  667 
Robinson's  and  Annual  Re- 
gister, 667 
Tarlton's  Ordinary,  668 
Warwick  and  Ivy-lanes,614, 

668 
Woodfall  and  Junius's  Let- 
ters, 667 
Pentonville; 

Gerard's  Herbal,  668 
Huntington  the    Preacher, 

668 
Penton's  ville,  668 
Piccadilly  : 
Albany,  673 


Piccadilly — continued. 
Albemarle-street   and    Cla- 
rendon House,  671 
Apsley  House,  541-543 
Arlington       and      Bennet- 

streets,  673 
Beckford,    William,    lived, 

670 
Berkeley-street  and  Dover- 

street,  671 
Bolton,  Clarges,  and  Half- 
moon  streets,  671 
Bond-street,  672 
Burdett,  Sir  Francis,  671 
Burlington-gardens,  673 
Cadogan,  Earl ;  collection  of 
Plate  and  Porcelain,  670 
Clarendon  Hotel,  672,  673 
Clarendon  House  described; 

pictures,  672 
Cork-street,  673 
Devonshire    House   Ticket, 

by  E.  M.  Ward,  671 
Gloucester  House,  549 
Hamilton-place,  670 
Hercules'  Pillars,  670 
Hope  House,  551 
Hyde  Park  corner  Turnpike- 
Gate,  673 
S.  James's  Church  altered, 

674 
S.  James's  Gallery  of  Art, 

674 
Nollekensat  ScheemakersV, 

Vine-street,  674 
Origin  of  Piccadilly,  669 
Ormond,  Great  Duke  of,  672 
Park-lane     and     Duke    of 

Wellington,  670 
Peter  Pindar  and  Giflbrd,674 
Peterborough,  Earl  of,  671 
Piccadilly  Hall.and  Shaver's 

Hall,  669 
Pickering,  publisher,  674 
Pope  at  school,  670 
Portugal-street,  669 
Queensbury,  Duke  of,  670 
Ranger's      Lodge,      Green 

Park,  670 
Royal  Institution,  672 
Stratton-street,  the  Duchess 
of  S.  Alban's,  and  Miss 
Burdett  Coutts,  671 
Swallow-street,  673 
Tennis  com ts,  669 
Van  Nost's  leaden  Figures, 

670 
Uxbridge  House,  673 
Willoughby      de     Eresby, 

Lord,  670 
Windmill-street,  669 
Winstanley  and  Sir  S.  Mor- 

land,  670 
Wright  and  Debrett.  674 
Wyat's  Bebellion,  669 
Picture  Galleries  : 
Dulwich  Gallery,  678 
National  Gallery : 
Corinthian  portico,  674 


INDEX. 

863 

Picture  Galleries — contd. 

Population  : 

Primrose  Hill  : 

Catalogue,  675 

Census  of  1801—1861,  684 

Chalk  Farm,  692 

Origin  of,  675 

City    Chamberlain's  Statis- 

Murder   of     Sir     Edmund 

Schools,  English,  Flemish, 

tics,  685 

Berry  Godfrey,  692 

French,     Italian,    and 

City,  Night  and  Day,  684 

Primrose-hill  Park,  650 

Spanish,  675 

Increase  in  the  Suburbs,  685 

View  from  Primrose-hill,692 

Sculpture  in  Hall,  674 

Petty,  Sir  W.,his  prediction, 

Prisons  : 

Turner     Pictures,    three 

684 

Borough  Compter,  698 

styles,  675 

Reign  of  Elizabeth,  and  be- 

Bridewell, 62 — 65 

Tear's  expenses,  675 

fore  the  Fire,  683 

Brixton  House  of  Correction 

Sheepshanks  Pictures,  677 

Registrar-General's    Report 

— Treadmill,  693 

National  Portrait    Exhibi- 

in 1S66,  684 

City  Prison,  Holloway,  693 

tion,  678 

Return  in  1867,  684 

Clerkenwell  Bridewell,  693 

National    Portrait  Gallery, 

Traffic  of  London,  685 

Clink,  Bankside,  693 

678 

Various  estimates,  684 

Cold-bath  Fields  Prison,C93 

Picture  Collections,  private, 

Port  of  London  : 

Committals    in    one    year, 

679 

Billingsgate,  54 

692 

Boyal  Academy : 

Custom  House,  305 

Fleet  Prison,  344-346 

Annual  Dinner,  677 

Day's  Business,  6S6 

Giltspur-street  Compter.695 

Diploma    Pictures     and 

Docks,  309—312 

Horsemonger-lane  Gaol,695 

Sculptures,  676 

Easterlings,  the,  685 

Ludgate  Prison,  538,  696 

Drawing  Schools,  Hall  of 

Execution  Dock,  686 

Marshalsea  Prison,  696 

Casts,  Library,  676 

Extent'  of  Port,  686 

Millbank  Prison,  697 

Exhibition  proceeds,  677 

Fitzstephen's  account,  685 

Newgate,  697 

Foundation  Members,  676 

Geographical  position,  685 

Cemetery,  699 

Memorials  and  Pictures, 

Jews  and  Guilds,  686 

Condemned  Sermons,  698 

677 

Loss  of  Life  in  the  Pool,  686 

Cool  Tankard  and  Bartho- 

Origin of,  676 

Tacitus's  account,  685 

lomew  Fair,  699 

Somerset  House,  676 

Portugal-street  : 

Debtors'  Door,  697 

Students  admitted,  677 

College  of  Surgeons,  688 

Hobhouse,  Mr.,  and  Lord 

Vernon  Collections,  677 

Duke's  Theatre,  687 

Byron,  699 

Piague,  the  Great,  679  : 

Grange,  Carey-street,  688 

Imprisonments,     Memor- 

Cock Alehouse  Token,  681 

Joe  Miller's  grave,  688 

able,  698 

Defoe's  Journal,  680 

Stocks,  last  in  London,  688 

Interior  reconstructed,699 

Grocer  in  Wood-street,  681 

Tennis-court,  687 

Lord  George  Gordon,  698 

Importation  of,  680 

Will's  Coffee-house,  688 

Press-yard,  556 

Peps  and  Evelyn,  accounts 

Post-office  : 

Riots  of  1780,697 

by,  680 

Chief  Office,  S.  Martin's-le- 

Statues  in  exterior,  697 

Piper  and  his  Dog,  6S0 

Grand,  688 

New   Prison,    Clerkenwell, 

Plague  of  1603,  6S1 

Dead  Letter  Office,  690 

699 

"Plague  Cross,"  681 

Five  locations,  68S 

Pentonville  Prison,  699 

Ravages  of,  680 

Foreign  Mails,  689 

Poultry  Compter,  628 

Remedies,  680 

Foreign  posts,  old,  688 

Queen's  Prison : 

PlMLICO  : 

Freeling,  Sir  Francis,  690 

Cochrane,  Lord,  Hay  don 

Belgravia,  679 

Great  Clock,  688 

and  Hone,  701,  702 

Chantrey,  the  sculptor,  679 

Hill,  Rowland,  690 

Combe  (Dr.  Syntax)  and 

Duchy  of  Cornwall  office, 

Letters,  number  of,  690 

Palmer,  the  actor,  702, 

679 

Mail-coaches  and  Railways, 

703 

Ebury-street,  679 

689 

Imprisonment  for  Debt, 

Pimlico  ale,  678 

Mechanical  contrivances,688 

703 

Pimlico,    Chelsea,    and    its 

Money  Order  Office,  691 

King's  Bench,  700 

taverns,  679 

Penny  and  Twopenny  post, 

King's  Bench  Gazette,  703 

Pimlico  Garden,  Bankside, 

690,  691 

Original  Prison,  700 

678 

Post  Magazine,  689 

Poet  in  prison,  701 

Pimlico  Walk,  Hoxton,  678 

Postage  envelope,  by  Mul- 

Prince     of    Wales    and 

Police  : 

ready,  690 

Justice  Gascoigne,  700 

Central  Police,  City,  681 

Postage-rates,  689 

Prison  closed,  703 

City  Police,  683 

Postage  Stamps  of  all  na- 

Queen's Bench,  700 

Dowling,  Vincent,  681 

tions,  690 

Remarkable  Persons  con- 

Force, Salaries,   and  Rate, 

Revenue,  690 

fined  here,  701 

682 

Poultry : 

Riots  of  1780,  700 

Horse  Patrol,  6S0 

Coneyhope-lane,  691 

Rules  of  the  Bench,  702 

Metropolitan  Police  Act,  681 

Dilly  and  Hood,  publishers, 

Sketclies    of  St.   George's 

Original  Police,  681 

691 

Fields,  701 

Peel,  Sir  Robert,  682 

Dunton,  the  bookseller,  691 

Wat  Tyler's  attack,  700 

Police  Magistrates,  682 

Lamb,  Dr.,  the  conjuror,  691 

Westbury,    Lord     Chan- 

Robberies on  Thames,  683 

S.  Mildred's  Church,  691 

cellor,  precis  by,  703 

System,  682,  683 

Poultry  Compter,  691 

Wilkes  imprisoned,  700 

Thames  Police,  &c,  683 

Taverns  and  Tokens,  C91 

Savoy  Prison,  703 

•864 


INDEX. 


Prisons — continued. 

Tothill  Fields  Bridewell: 

Colonel  Despard,  704 
Tower,  the,  704 
"Westminster  Gatehouse,  373 
Whitecross-street  Prison,  704 
Wood-street  Compter,  704 

QUEENHITHE: 
Broken  Wharf,  705 

Cornhithe,  705 

Hill,  Thomas,  drysalter,  705 

Lord  Mayors,  705 

liipa  Regince,  705 

Saxon  hithe,  705 

S.  Michael's  church  vane,705 
Railway  Termini  : 
'Blackwall,  705 

Charing  Cross,  706 

Great  Northern,  705 

Great  Western,  705 

Hotels,  442,  443 

London,  Dover,  and  Chat- 
ham, 706 

Metropolitan,  706 

North  London,  706 

North  Western,  705;  Archi- 
tectural gateway,  705 ; 
Great  Hall  and  Sculp- 
ture, 706 

Paxton,  Sir  Joseph,  his 
girdle  railway,  707 

Pneumatic,  706 

South  Eastern,  706 

South  Western,  706 

Underground,  706 

T)ANELAGH : 

■**  Arne,  Dr.,  musical   com- 
poser, 707 
Buildings  taken  down,  708 
Bloomfield's  visit,  708 
Capon.the  scene-painter  707 
Johnson,  Dr.,  707 
Ranelagh  House,  707,  708 
Rotunda  and  Pavilion,  707 
Walpole's  account,  707 

Eecords,  Public  : 
Domesday  Book,  710 
Lambarde,    Keeper  of   the 

Rolls,  708 
New  Record  Repository,  708 
Statue  of  Queen  Victoria,709 
Palgrave,  Sir  P.,  on,  708 
Photo-zincographic     fac-si- 

mile,  710 
Record  Office,  706  ;  Curiosi- 
ties, 710 
Rolls  Chapel,  709 
Romilly,  Lord,  Master  of  the 

Rolls,  his  bust,  701 
Searches,  709 
Victoria  Tower,  710 

Regent  Street  : 

All  Souls  Church,  347 
Argyll  Rooms,  22 
Chess  Tournament,  711 
Club  Chambers,  245 
Cosmorama,  308 


Regent  Street — continued. 
County  Fire  Office,  710 
Faubert's  Riding  Academy, 

711 
Foley  House,  711  . 
Gallery  of  Illustration,  308 
Junior  United  Service  Club, 

254 
Langham  Hotel,  711 
Macadamized  Road,  710 
Nash's  Quadrant    and   Co- 
lonnades, 710 
Parthenon  Club,  254 
Polytechnic  Institution,  711 

Diving-bell,  711 
S.  Philip's  Chapel,  215 
Shop-fronts  embellished,  710 
Tenison's  Chapel,  215 
Rotherhithe : 
Fire,  great,  718 
Henry  IV.  lodged  at,  718 
Leake  and  Benbow,  718 
Lilly,  dramatist,  718 
St.  Mary's  Church,  Neckin- 

ger,  187 
Origin  of,  718 
Prince  Le  Boo,  718 
Redriffe,  718 
Saxon  origin,  718 
Swift's  Captain  Gulliver,  718 
Thames  Tunnel,  718,  779 
Royal  Academy  of  Arts,719 
Royal  Exchange,  719 
Royal  Institution  : 

Banks,  Cavendish,  and  Rum- 
ford,  719 
Brande's      Chemical      Re- 
searches, 719 
Davy's  Discoveries,  719 
Faraday's  Researches,  719 
Laboratory,  719 
Library,  464 

Voltaic  Battery,  great,  719 
Workshop  of  the  Royal  So- 
ciety, 719 
Royal  Society  : 
Arundel  House,  720 
Burlington  House,  720 
Charter-book,  720,  721 
Conversazioni    and    Presi- 
dents, 720 
Cowley,  Evelyn,  &  Petty,  720 
Crane-courthouse,  296,  720 
Invisible    or   Philosophical 

Society,  719 
Medals,  720 
Museum,  600 
Newton,  Sir  Isaac,  relics  of, 

720,  721 
Origin  of,  719 
Oxford  meetings,  729 
Philosophical    Transactions, 

720 
Portraits,  720 
Royal  Charter,  720 
Royal  Society  Club,  256 
Wearing  the  Hat,  720 
Wood-street  and    Gresham 
College,  720 


Roman  London  : 

Aldgate,  713 

Augusta,  711 

Be  vis  Marks,  713 

Billingsgate :  hypocaust,  713 

Bishopsgate,  713 

Blackfriars,  713 

Broad-street,  713 
Fine  Pavement,  714 

Cannon-street,  714 

Cheapside,  714 

Crutched  Friars,  714 

Dowgate,  714 

Foster-lane :  altar,  714 

Grey  Friars,  714 

Houndsditch,  714 

S.  George's-in-the-East,  714 

Islington,  715 

King  William  and  Prince's- 
streets,  715 

Leadenhall-street :  magnifi- 
cent pavement,  319 

Lombard- street,  531,  715 
Londinium,  711 
Lyn-dun,orLlong-dinas,  711 
London  Stone,  533,534 
Lothbury,  715 
Lower  Thames-street,  717 
Ludgate :  sepulchral  monu- 
ment, 539,  715 
S.  Martin's-lane,  716 
S.  Martin's-le-Grand,  716 
Moorfields,  715 
Pavements,  various,  716 
S,  Pancras,  641,  716 
S.  Paul's-churchyard,  716 
Conyers  and  Wren,  716 
Roman  coins,  718 
Roman  houses,  712 
Roman  stratum,  712 
Royal  Exchange,  326,  716 
Runic  stone,  717 
Shadwell,  716 
Site  of  Roman  London,  712 
Smith,  Mr.  Roach,  his  Mu- 
seum, 718 
Southwark,  716 
Strand  :  Roman  Bath,  716 
Thames,  River,  716 
Threadneedle-street,  717 
Tower  of  London,  717 
Tower-hill,  717 
Upper  Thames-street,  717 
Wall,  233—236 
Walbrook,  717 
Whitechapel,  717 

OAVOY,  The: 

^     Chapel  Royal,  142 

Churches :    Dutch,  French, 
High    German,  and   Lu- 
theran, 722 
John  of  Gaunt  and  Chaucer, 

721 
John,  King  of  France,  721 
Lancaster's  palace,  721 
Wat  Tyler,  burnt  by,  722 
French  Protestant  Churches 
(note),  722 


INDEX. 


865 


Schools,  Public  : 
Charterhouse,  86 
Christ's  Hospital,  95 
City  of  London,  722 
Corporation.Carpenter,  722 ; 
Tonbridge,    722  ;    Dance 
of   Death,    723;    Statue 
of  Carpenter,  723 
Mercers',  723 

Eminent  Scholars,  723 
Merchant  Taylors,  723 
Eminent  Scholars,  723 
Fellowships  and  Plays,723 
S.    Olave's   and    S.  John's : 

Seal,  Sites,  History,  724 
S.' Paul's  School : 

Eminent  Paulines,724,725 
S.  Saviour's,  725 
Westminster : 
Chiswick  House,  at,  726 
Census  Alumnorum,  726 
Dormitory,  726 
Elizabeth,  Queen,  725 
Foundation,  725 
Hall,  726 
Masters     and      Scholars, 

eminent,  726 
Pancake  custom,  276 
S.  Peter's  College,  723 
Plays,  Latin,  726 
Saxon  remains,  726 
Trial  of  the  Pix  (note),  726 
Sewage  or  Drainage  ; 
Constructive  details,  727 
First      Commissioners      of 

Sewers,  7 2  7 
Fleet  Sewers,  348,  727 
High  and  Middle  Levels,  727 
Intercepting  Plan,  727 
Main  Drainage,  new,  727 
Sheriffs  : 
Costumes,  729 
Drinking  to  Sheriffs,  729 
Fund  and  Fines,  728,  729 
Hebrew  Sheriffs,  729 
Hoare,  Sheriff,  his  Journal, 

729 
Income  and  cost,  728 
London  and  Middlesex,  728 
Michaelmas-day,  729 
Letter,  Sheriff  Phillips's,  297 
Origin  of  the  Office,  728 
Presentation  of,  728 
Slingsby  Bethel,  729 
State,  Shrievalty,  728 
Shoreditcii  : 
Almshouses  and  Halls,  730 
Barnwell,  George,  and  Mill- 
wood, 730 
Churchyard's  ballad,  730 
College  Youths,  730 
Curtain  Theatre  and  Road, 

730 
Holywell-ln.  and  Mount,  730 
Legend  of  Jane  Shore,  729 
S.  Leonard's  Church,  720 
Lovel,  Sir  Thomas,  730 
Nunnery,  730 
Quiet  Poor,  731 


S  horeditch — continued. 

Roman  village,  729 

Soersditch,  ancient  family, 
729 
Skinner-street  and  Snow- 
hill  : 

Alderman  Skinner,  731 

Bunyan,  John,  731 

Cashman,  the  Sailor,  731 

Churches,  152,  731 

Cock- lane  Ghost,  732 

Holborn  Valley,  731 

Ladies'  Charity-school,  731 
Smithfield  : 

Bartholomew  Fair,  32,  731 

Elms,  executions  at,  732 

Jack  Straw,  732 

Jousts  and  Tournaments,732 

Martyrs  and  Burnings,  732 

Ordeal  Combats,  732 

Poisoners,  732 

Public  Walk,  Race-course, 
and  Live  Market,  731 

Quintain,  Sword,  and  Buck- 
ler, 731 

Richard  II.,  Walworth,  and 
Wat  Tyler,  731 
Smithfield,  East  : 

Cage,  Stocks,  &c.,  732 

Charles  I.  hunting,  732 

Vineyard,  732 
Society  of  Antiquaries  : 

Admission  ceremony,  733 

Folkes,  Martin,  first  Presi- 
dent, 733 

Obligation  Book,  733 

Paintings,   Memorials,  and 
Publications,  733 

Wanley,  Humphrey,  733 
Society  of  Arts  : 

Art-Manufactures,  734 

Awards,  early,  733 

Barry's  Paintings,  733 

First  Exhibition,  733 

First  Meeting,  733 

Goldsmith,  Oliver,  733 

Hope,  Thomas,  and  Chan- 
trey,  the  sculptor,  734 

Library,  525 

Museum,  603 

Origin  of,  733 

Premiums  and  Bounties, 734 

Presidents,  733 

Swiney  Bequest,  734 
Soho: 

Berwick-street,  735 

Carlisle  House  and  street, 
734 

Compton-street,  736 

Dean-street,  735 

Gerard-street,  735 

Greek   and  Church  streets, 
735 

Lion  Brewery,  734 

Macclesfield-street,  735 

Origin  of  Soho,  734 
Somerset  House,  Old  : 

Chapel,  by  Inigo  Jones,  and 
Capuchin  Convent,  735 


Somerset  House — continued. 
Chapel  goods,  735 
Cowley  and  Waller,  736 
Gardens  in  1720,  736 
Godfrey,  Sir  Edmund  Berry, 

murdered,  736 
John  of   Padua,  architect, 

735 
Masquerades,  Court,  736 
Protector  Somerset,  735 
Queen  Henrietta  Maria,  735 
Royal  Academy,  736 
State  funerals  of  Monk  and 

Cromwell,  736 
Somerset  House  : 
Architecture  and  Sculpture, 

737 
Bronze  Group,  by   Bacon, 

737 
Chambers,  Sir  William,  ar- 
chitect of,  736 
Government  Offices,  737 
King's  College,  737 
Nelson,  Lord,  anecdote  of, 

738 
Quadrangle,  offices  in,  737 
Sculptors    and   Architects, 

738 
Site  and  extent,  736 
Strand  front,  737 
Terrace,  737 
Thames  front,  Cowley's  lines 

on, 737 
Watch-face  story,  738 
West  Wing,  738 
South-Sea  House  : 
South-Sea  Bubble,  738 
South-Sea  Company,  738 
South-Sea  Stock,  739 
Swift  and  Pope,  satires  of, 

739 
Tom  of  Ten  Thousand,  739 
Southwakk  : 
Alleyn,  Edward,  741 
Alleyn's  Almshouses,  742 
Artists  in  glass,  739 
Bankside,  its  bear-gardens, 

stews,  and  theatres,  741 
Blackman-street,  742 
Borough,  the,  740 
Bridge    House    and    Yard, 

740  ~>~.. 

Burnt  by  William  I.,  739 
Deadman's-place,  742 
Elizabethan  houses,  742 
Etymologies,  97  in  number, 

739 
Fair,  739 

Falcon  Tavern,  741 
Ferry  and  Fortification,  73! 
Fort  and  Bulwarks,  740 
Globe  Theatre,  site  oi,  741 
Horselydown,  740 
Inns  and  Taverns,  456,  740 
Jack  Cade  and  Wyat,  739, 

740 
Long  Southwark,  740 
Manors,  740 
S.  Margaret's  Hill,  740 
3k 


866 

INDEX. 

Southwark — continued. 

Squares — continued. 

State  Coaches: 

S.  Mary  Overie  and  S.  Sa- 

Belgrave,Chester and  Eaton, 

Catton,  painter,  756 

viour's  Church,  199 — '202, 

737 

Chambers,  Sir  W.,  754 

1         740,  741 

Berkeley : 

Charles  I.'s,  754 

!    Mints  for  Coinage,  740 

LansdowneHouse;  Horace 

Cipriani,  painter,  755 

1    Montague-close  and  House, 

Walpole  died,  747 

Coronation  coach,  754 

\        741 

Bloomsbury : 

Cost  of  the  Queen's  Coach, 

Picture  of  Hor?elydown,  at 

Bedford      House ;    Lord 

755 

Hatfield  House,  740 

Mansfield's;    Statue  of 

Dance,  pa'nter,  756 

1  Rochester  House  and  Park, 

C.  J.  Fox,  747 

Hogarth's  City  Coach,  756 

)        742 

Bridgewater,  747 

Lord  Mayor's,  cost  of,  765  ; 

|  Roman  remains,  739 

Brunswick,  Mecklenburgh, 

painting,  755 

Rose-alley  and  Globe-alley, 

and  Torrington,  748 

Queen  Anne's,  754 

./         741 

Cavendish : 

Queen  Elizabeth's,  754 

\   Shakspeare  bust,  sculptor  of, 

Grand  Duke  of  Chandos ; 

Speaker's,  756 ;  carvings  and 

741 

Harcourt  House;  Bronze 

paintings,  756 

1    Shakspeare,    Edmund,    bu- 

Statues,  748 

State  Harness,  754 

I        ried,  741 
Southwark  Arms,  742 

Charterhouse,  748 

Thornhill,        Sir       James, 

Covent  Garden,  292,  296 

painter,  754 

Subway  in  Souihwark,  742 

Devonshire,  748 

Wilton,  carver,  754 

Suffolk   House    and    Bran- 

Euston,  748 

Statues  : 

donne's-place,  741 

Finsbury,  749 

See    Lists  with    sites    and 

Tokens,  Southwark,  742 

Fitzroy,  749 

names  of  sculptors  at  pp.  757 

"Winchester  Palace,  742 

Golden,  749 

— 760.    The  following  are  the 

Southwark  Fair; 

Gordon  : 

more  remarkable : — 

Evelyn  and  Pepys,  743 

First  locomotive,  749 

Achilles,  Hyde  Park,  757 

Grant  by  Edward  VI.,  743 

Gough : 

Charles  L,  Charing  C.'oss: 

Proclaimed    by    the    Lord 

Dr.  Johnson's  house,  749 

Walpole's  account;  d'Ar- 

Mayor,  743 

Grosvenor,  749 

ehenliolz ;  P.  Cunning- 

Sheriff Hoare's  account,  743 

Hanover : 

ham  -,  portions  stolen  ; 

Sights  and  Shows,  743 

Statue  of  Pitt,  750 

pedestal    by  Marshall, 

SPlTALFIf.LDS  : 

Haydon,  749 

artistic  merit  of,  757 

Betlmal  Green,  743,  744 

S.  James's : 

Coram,    Capt,    by   Calder 

Boiingbroke,  Lord,  745 

Notable  residents,  750 

Marshall,  758 

Christchurch,  157 

Leicester,  511 — 515 

Franklin,    Sir     John,    by 

Crispin-street  Mathematical 

Lincoln's-inn-fields,527-529 

Noble : 

Society,  745 

Lowndes,  750 

Bas-reliefs;  likeness,  758 

Culpepper,  the  herbalist,  744 

Manchester,  751 

George  IV.,  by   Chantrey, 

Edict  of  Nantes,  744 

Myddelton,  751 

758 

Fair  in  Spitalfields,  744 

Portman : 

Herbert,  Lord,  by  Foley : 

Lolesworth,  a  Roman  ceme- 

Montague House,  751 

Bas-reliefsonpedestal,758 

tery,  743 

Prince's  (two),  751 

Havelock,    Sir   Henry,   by 

Pauperism  of  the  weavers, 

Quadrates  or  Squares,  747 

Behnes : 

744 

Queen,  Bloomsbury,  751 

Inscriptions,  759 

Priory  and  Hospital  of  St. 

Queen,  Westminster,  751 

James  II.,  by  Gibbons : 

Mary  Spittle,  743 

Red   Lion  : 

Error  respecting,  759 

Pulpit    Cross    and    Spittle 

Cromwell's  remains,  751 

Myddelton,   Sir    Hugh,  by 

Sermons,  743 

Russell : 

Thomas : 

Silks  and  velvets,  744 

Bedford  House  and  statue, 

Costume  of  the  period  ; 

Sisters  of  Charity,  745 

752 

drinking         fountains, 

/    Stone  Coffins  found,  743 

Salisbury,  752 

759 

Weavers'  houses,  745 

Soho: 

Nelson,  Lord,  by  Baily : 

Weavers  and  Masters,  744 

Monmouth  House;   Mrs. 

Bronze  lions  at  base  of 

Spring  Garden  : 

Cornelys',    Sir    Joseph 

pedestal,  by  Landseer, 

Berkeley  House,  746 

Banks,  Alderman  Beck- 

759 

Bo. \ ling  Green,    Fountain, 

ford  ;  Statue  and  Foun- 

Richard Cceur  de  Lion,  by 

and  Ordinary,  745 

tain,  752 

Marochetti,  759 

Centlivre,  Mrs.,  746 

Tavistock : 

Wellington,    Duke    of,    by 

Milton  resided,  746 

Francis  Baily ;  weighing 

M.  C.  and  J.  Wyatt: 

New  Spring  Gardens,  745, 

the  Earth,  753 

Origin  and  cost ;  raising. 

746 

Tavistock-place,  753 

760 

Outer   Spring  Garden,  and 

Trafalgar ': 

Strand : 

Sir  P.  Warwick,  746 

Nelson  column;    Statues 

Ackermann,  the  printseller; 

.   Rupert,  Prince,  death  of,  746 
/*     Wigley's  Rooms,  746 

of  George  IV.,  Napier, 

Fountain     Tavern,     and 

and  Havelock;  Green- 

Ries's Divan,  763 

Squares  : 

land  Whale,  753 

Adelphi,  1 : 

Bedford,  747 

Vincent,  753 

Durham-place;  Sir  Walter 

Lords  Loughborough  and 

Wellclose,  753 

Raleigh;  Coutts's Bank, 

Eldon.  747 

Woburn,  754 

763 

INDEX. 


867 


Strand— co  nt  intted. 
Adelplii  Theatre,  769 
Anderson's     -Scots      Pills, 

764 
Arundel  House : 

Marbles,  Statues,  and  pic- 
ture galleries;  Old  Parr; 
Hollar's  views,  764,  765 
Arundel-street : 

Gay's  Trivia;  Crown  and 
Anchor  Tavern  and 
WhittingtonClub;  Aca- 
demy of  Ancient  Music, 
765 
Beaufort-buildings : 

Carlisle,    Bedford,    Wor- 
cester,   and     Beaufort 
House,763;  Hill, Aaron, 
born  ;  Lillie,  Perry,  and 
Rimmel,  perfumers,  763 
Ben  Jonson  ;  Nelson,  761 
Boswtll  court  and  its  cele- 
brities, 767 
Buckingham-street : 

Pepysand  Peter  the  Great; 
Etty,  the  painter,  762 
Butcher-row: 

Count  Beaumont ;    Gun- 
powder Plot ;  Nat  Lee ; 
Alderman  Pickett,  767 
Canaletti's  view,  760 
Canary  House,  768 
Catherine-street : 

New  Exeter  Change,  and 
Strand  Music  Hall,  768 
Cecil-street : 

Great    Salisbury    House, 
763 
Charing  Cross  Hospital,  436 
Circulating  Library.the  first, 

764 
S.  Clement's  Danes,  760 
S.  Clement's    Vestry   Hall, 

and  Kent's  picture,  767 
Craven-street : 

Dr.  Franklin  and  James 
Smith,  761 
Crockford's  Bulk-shop,  766 
Deville,    the     phrenologist, 

and  Nollekens,  769 
Doily's      Warehouse       and 

Wimbledon  House,  768 
Drury-court : 

Shrievalty  Tenure  custom, 
and  Clarges,  the  farrier, 
508,  768 
ElectricTime  Signal  Ball,769 
Essex-street  and  Devereux- 
court  and  Outer  Temple  ; 
Exeter,    Paget,    Norfolk, 
Leicester,      and       Essex 
House, Water-gate;  Essex 
Head  Tavern,  766 
Exeter  Change,  335,  768 
Exeter  Hall,  334 
Exeter-street: 

Dr.    Johnson ;    his    resi- 
dences, 768 
First  paved,  760 


Str  and — continued. 


Foregate    and     Clement's- 
lane: 
Sir  John  Trevor,  767 
Fountain-court : 

Blake,  the  painter,  763 
George's  and  Grecian  Coffee- 
houses, 264 
Golden  Cross  Hotel,  769 
Gothic    Cross,    by    E.     M. 

Barry,  A.R.A.,  761 
Hackney-coach  Stand,  first, 
andS.  Mary's  Church,  768 
Hermitage  and  Hospital  at 

Charing,  760 
Holy  well-street  and  "  holy 
spring ;"  old  houses  and 
Signs;  Lyon's  Inn,  767 
Hungerford,  761 
King's  College  Gateway,  276 
Lowther  Arcade,  20 
Maiden-lane : 

Marvell,  Swift,  and  Vol- 
taire ;      Turner,      the 
painter,    born ;    Cyder 
Cellar  and  Porson,  769 
Mawe  and  Tennant,  minera- 
logists, 764 
Maypole  in  the  Strand,  768 
Milford-lane: 

Ford      and       Windmill ; 
Baker,  the  chronicler; 
Woodfalls,  printers,  766 
New  Court  Chapel,  767 
Norfolk-street : 
Mountfort  and  Lord  Mo- 
hun ;  Penn  and   Peter 
the    Great ;     Ireland's 
Shakspeare  Forgeries ; 
Parr  and  Warton,  76 
Northumberland  House,  554 
One  Bell  Stables  and  Dor- 
chester coach,  767 
Open  fields,  north,  760 
Palsgrave-place : 

Heycock's  Ordinary,  76 
Queen's   Head  public-house 

and  Old  Parr,  769 
Salisbury-street: 

Salisbury  House ;  Hobbes, 

Partridge,  and  Swift,  763 

Savoy-steps  ;    Savoy-street, 

142,  722 
Ship-yard : 
Ashmole  and  Faithorne; 
Tokens,  766 
Snow,  the  banker,  lines  by 

Gay,  766 
Somerset  House,  735 
Somerset-place,  Savoy,  and 

Durham  House,  760 
Southampton-street : 
Bedford  House  and  bar- 
gate,  769 
Strand-lane,  764 
Strand  Tavern : 

Denham's  frolic,  767 
Strand    Theatre  and    Bar- 
ker's  Panorama,  764 


St  rand — cont  inued-. 

Thames' bank  Mansions,  760 

Tonson,  Millar,  and  Cadell, 
booksellers,  764 

Turk'sHeadCoffL'e-house,764 

View  in  1543,  760 

Wellington-street,  N  : 
Lyceum  Theatre,  768 

White  Swan  Tavern  : 

Dr.  King'sArt  of  Cookery  t 
Token,  768 

Wych-street : 
New  Inn, 473 

York  Buildings : 

Sea-water  Baths,  Water- 
works, and  Fire-engine, 
762 

York  House  and  Sir  Nicholas 
Bacon  and  Lord  Chancel- 
lor Bacon,  761 ;  pictures 
and  sculptures  ;  Villiers, 
Duke  of  Buckingham ; 
Water-gate,  761,  762 

TATTERSALL'S : 
Derby  winners,  770 
Established,  1766,  769 
Horses  and  Hounds,  770 
Horses  sold,  770 
Jockey  Club,  770 
New,  491 

Prince  of  Wales,  770 
Tattersall,  Richard,  769 
Telegraphs,  Electric  : 
Admiralty  Semaphores,  771 
Call-wire,  Houses  of  Parlia- 
ment, 771 
CentralOffice,  Lothbury,770 
Cook  and  Wheatstone's  Pa- 
tents, 770 
Exchange  News,  771 
Greenwich  Time,  771 
Founders'  Court,  770 
"  Nerves  of  London,"  771 
Special  Telegraphy,  771 
Terminus  Wires,  771 
Temple,    Inner    and    Mid- 
dle, 461 — 464 
Temple  Bar: 

CeremonyonRoyal  Visits,  773 

Gates,  773 

Heads  and  Limbs  of  Traitors, 

on,  772 
Layer's  Head,  772 
Marriage,  Royal,  773 
Original  Bar,  772 
Statues — Charles  I.  and  II., 
James  I.  and  Queen,  772 
Temple  Bar,   the    City  Gol- 
gotha, 772 
Wellington,    Duke   of,    his 

Funeral,  773 
Wren's  Bar,  772 
Thames  Embankment: 
Bazalgette's  plan,  773 
Construction  and  details,774 
Metropolitan      Board      of 

Works,  773 
Piers  and  Landing  steps, 7  7 1 


868 


INDEX. 


Thames  Embankment — cont 
Plans  by  Wren,  Trench,  and 

Martin,  773 
Roman  and  British,  773 
Sections  (three),  774 
Sewer  and  Subways,  774 
Temple  Gardens  and  Black- 
friars  Bridge,  774 
"Westminster     Bridge     and 
Vauxhall,  774 
Thames  Kiver  : 

Archbi-hops'  barges,  775 
Admiralty      and      Trinity 

House,  777 
Angling  at  Queenhithe,  776 
Barge  of  Richard  II.,  775 
Bridges.  65 — 75 
Companies'  Barges,  775 
Conservancy,  777 
Course  and  Name,  774 
Docks,  303—312 
Dogget's  Coat  and  Badge, 

400,  775 
Dolphins  and  Whales,  777 
Fishermen  and  Old  Swan, 

776 
Folly  on  the  Thames,  775 
Frosts  and  Frost  Fairs,  360 

—363 
Gower,  the  poet,  775 
Isle  of  Dogs,  475 
Lampreys,    immense  catch 

of,  776 
Landing-places,  old,  775 
Like  a  Whale,  774 
"  Maria  Wood  "  barge,  776 
Mayor  as  Bailiff,  777 
More,  Sir  T.,  his  barge,  775 
Nelson's  Funeral,  776 
Old  London  Bridge,  774 
•     Port  of  London,  685 — 687 
Rowing,    boat-racing,    and 

yachting,  775 
Salmon,  great  draughts  of, 

777 
Salmon  tithe,  776 
Sports  and  Pageants,  775 
State  Barges,  775 
State  Funerals,  776 
Steam  Navigation,  777 
Swans  kept,  776 
Taylor,  the  Water-poet,  775 
Thames  jet,  by  Morice,   776 
Thames  watermen,  775 
.    Tide,  774 

Water   impure,    and   disin- 
fectants, 777 
Water  Supply,  776 
Waterworks,LondonBridge, 

67 
Whitebait,  57,  58 
Wolsey's  barge,  7  75 
Thames-street,  Lower  : 
Billingsgate,  54 
Coal  Exchange,  329 
Custom  House,  305,  306 
Fish-street-hill   and   Monu- 
ment, 779 
Galley-quay,  779 


Thames  Street — continued. 
Petty  Wales,  779 
Pudding-lane  and  the  Great 
Fire,  779 
Thames  street,  Upper  : 
Athelstan's  palace,  778 
Boss,  Whittington's,  778 
Castle  Baynard  Wharf,  778 
City  Flour  Mill,  778 
Coldharbour  and  Sir  John 

Poultney,  778 
Dowgate ;    Sir    Francis 
Drake's  mansion,  778 
Harvey,  Dr.  William,  778 
Merchant   Taylors'   School, 

725 
Old  Signs,  779 
Old  Swan  House;  Richard 
Thornton,  the  millionaire, 
778 
Old  Swan  Stairs,  778 
Old  Wine  Shades,  778 
Puddle  Dock,  777 
Picard  in  the  Vintry,  779 
Queenhithe,  704 
Rectory    House,    Martin's- 

lane,  779 
Steelyard,  778 
Thames  Tdnnel  ; 
Brunei's  plan,  779 
Completion — Brunei 

knighted,  780 
Cost,  Dimensions,  and  Me- 
dal, 780 
Cylinder  and  Shield,  779 
Early  Attempts,  779 
Irruptions  of  the  river,  779 
Progress  of,  779 
Subscriptions     and     Loan, 

780 
Thames  Tunnel  fair,  780 
Theatres  : 
Adelphi,  780 
Astley's  Amphitheatre : 
Astley 's  nineteen  theatres, 
780;  Ducrow,  781 
Bankside  Theatres: 

Globe  licensed  to  Shak- 
speare,  781 ;  burnt  and 
rebuilt ;  site,  781 
Hope  and  Rose,  781 
Paris  Garden  Circus,  781 
Rose  and  Globe  alleys,781 
Swan,  781 
Blackfriars : 

Burbage,  Shakspeare,  and 
Alleyn,  781 
Britannia,    and    the   Rose- 
mary Branch,  781 
Brunswick  and  Royalty,  781 
City  of  London,  782 
City,  Milton-street,  782 
Cockpit  or  Phoenix,  782 
Covent    Garden    (three 

theatres),  782 
Curtain  Theatre,  Holywell, 

783 
Drury-lane  (three  theatres), 
783 


Theatres — continued. 

Dorset  Gardens,  Lady  Da- 

venant's,  784 
Duke's  Theatre,  687,  784 
Effingham  Theatre,  784 
Fortune  —  Henslowe    and 

Alleyn's,  784 
Garrick,  Goodman's  Fields, 

784 
Gibbon's  Court,  558 
Goodman's  Fields,  784 
Grecian,  City-road,  784 
Haymarket  Theatre : 

"  Little  Theatre  ;"  rebuilt 
by      Nash ;      Beggar's 
Opera,  Fielding,  Foote, 
and      the      Colmans ; 
Webster     and    Buck- 
stone,  784,  785 
Holborn  Amphitheatre,  785 
Holborn  Theatre,  785 
S.  James's  Theatre,  785 
Lyceum  and  English  Opera- 
house,  785 
Marionette,  785 
Marylebone,  785 
Newington  Butts,  785 
Nursery  in  Golding  lane  and 

Hatton  Garden,  786 
Olympic  Theatre : 

Astley,  Elliston.andVes- 
tris,  786 
Opera  Houses,  Italian : 

Her  Majesty's,  788 

Royal  Italian,  789 
Theatres,  London  licensed, 

789 
Pantheon,  639 
Pavilion,  786 
Princess',     Charles      Kuan, 

786 
Queen's  (Prince  of  Wales), 

786 
Queen's,  Long  Acre,  787 
Red  Bull,  Clerkenwell,  787 
Royalty,  787 
Sadler's  Wells,  787 
Salisbury  Court,  787 
Sans  Souci  (two),  787 
Standard,  787 
Strand  Theatre,  788 
"  The  Theatre,"  788 
Victoria  (Coburg),  788 
Whitefriars,  788 
Threadneedle-street  .- 
Crown  Tavern,  789 
Hall  of  Commerce,  789 
Merchant  Taylors'  Hall,  789 
Moon,  Alderman,  789 
Name,  789 
Sidney,  Sir  W.,  789 
South  Sea  House,  738 
Tokens : 
British  Museum,  790 
Charles  II.,  reign,  790 
Elizabethan,  789 
London  Traders'  and  Trades  • 

mens'  Token,  790 
Tokenhouae-yard,  790 


INDEX. 


869 


TOTTENHAM-COURT-ROAD : 

Adam  and  Eve,  790 
Capper's  Farm,  790 
Mansion     of    William    de 

Totenhall,  790 
Old  Court-house,  790 
Whitefield's  Chapel,  790 
Tower  Hill: 

Czar's  Head,  and  Peter  the 

Great,  791 
Execution,  place  of: 

Notable  Persons  executed, 
791 
Felton,  the  assassin,  791 
Postern-row,  791 
Raleigh,  Lady,  791 
Scaffolds  for  executions,  790 
Tower  Liberties'  perambu- 
lation, 791 
Tower  Dock,  791 
Tower  of  London  : 
Area  within  the  Walls,  791 
Admission  to  view,  806 
Ante-room  : 

Curiosities,  ancient  gems, 
&c,  803,  804 
Armouries : 

Horse  Armoury,  802 

Queen  Elizabeth's,  802 
Beauchamp      or      Cobham 

Tower,  and  its  memorials, 
795,  796 
Bloody  Tower: 

The  two  Princes,  798 
Broad  Arrow  Tower : 

Lady  Jane  Grey,  797 
Chapel  of  S.  John,  799 
Chapel  of  S.  Peter,  198 
Charles  of  Orleans : 

Oldest  view  of  the  Tower, 
800 
Constable  of  the  Tower: 

Lieutenant,  Deputy  Lieu- 
tenant,     and      Tower 
Major,  800 
Coronation  Plate,  &c,  806 
Coronation  processions,  793 
Council-chamber,  and  Can- 

queting-room,  799 
Courts  of  Justice  held  here, 

793 
Devereux     Tower    rebuilt, 

797 
Domestic  apartments  taken 

down,  793,  794 
Flint,   Bowyer    and    Brick 

Tower,  797 
Fortifications  repaired,  794 
Grand  Storehouse  for  Arms, 

794 
Great  Fire  in  1548,  792 
Grey,  Lady  Jane,  and  Prin- 
cess Elizabeth,  792 
Henry  VUI.  and  his  wives, 

792 
Imprisonments,  800 
Keep,  or  White  Tower,  79  2 
Lion  Tower  and  Menagerie, 

794 


Tower    of    London  —  con- 
tinued. 

"  Little  Ease"  torture  cham- 
ber, 798 

Locking  up  the  Tower,  800 

Martin  Tower: 

Anne     Boleyn's     prison- 
lodging-,  797 

Moat  or  Ditch,  794 

Ordnance  Office  and  Store- 
houses, 798 

Place  of  execution,  Tower- 
green,  798 

Portcullis,  genuine,  798 

Prisoners'  Fees,  800 

Queen  Elizabeth's  Armoury, 
799 

Raleigh's  imprisonments : 
History  of  the  World: 
still-house ;  execution  of 
Raleigh,  796,  797 

Receipts  given  for  Prisoners, 
794 

Record  Tower,  797 

Regalia  or  Crown  Jewels  : 
Baptismal  Font,  806 
Jewel-house,  New,  804 
Prince  of  Wales's  Crown, 

805 
Queen  Consort's  Crown, 

805 
Queen's  State  Crown,  804 
Queen's  Diadem,  805 
Regalia,  New,  804 
Salt-cellar,  gold,  805 

Roman  and  Saxon  fortresses, 
792 

Salt  Tower : 

Draper  of  Bristol,  797 

Saluting  Battery  and 
"Tower  Guns,"  795 

Scales,  Lord,  besieged,  792 

Sceptres,  Swords,  and  Brace- 
lets, 805 

Sovereigns,  their  additions, 
courts,  and  imprison- 
ments, 792,  793 

State  Prison  Room  : 
Lady  Jane  Grey,  796 

Tower  Palatine,  792 

Towers,  various,  794 

Traditional  Origin,  791 

Traitors'  Gate,  794 

View  in  1563,  793 

Waterloo  Barracks,  798 

White  Tower,  and  its  his- 
tory, 799 

Yeoman  Warders,  800 
Tower  Royal  : 

Queen's  Wardrobe,  806 

Roman  Remains,  806 
Treasury  and  other  Go- 
vernment Offices: 

Admiralty,  2 

Cockpit,  the,  807 

Downing-street : 

Notable  residents,  807 
Foreign  Office,  New,  807 
Horse  Guards,  434 


Treasury   and  other   Go- 
vernment  Offices — con- 
tinued. 
India  Office,  Colonial  Office, 
and  Navy  Office,  New,  807 
Treasury  Offices  : 

Harley,   Earl   of  Oxford, 

assassinated,  807 
Tennis-court,  807 
Treasury  relics,  807 
Treasury  throne,  807 
Wellesley,  Sir  Arthur,  and 

Lord  Nelson,  807 
Whitehall  front,  806 
York  House,  806 
Trinity  House: 

Bustb  and  Paintings,  808 
Great  Fire  of  1666,  808 
Human  remains  found,  809 
Guild  of  Mariners,  808 
Lighthouses,  Sea-marks,  Pi- 
lots, &c,  808 
Master  of  Corporation,  808 
Museum,  805 

State  Banquet,  annual,  808 
Trinity  Monday  procession, 
808 
Tyrurn      and      "  Tyhurn 
Tree,"  809 
Elms,  the,  and  first  execu- 
tion, 808 
Executions,  Memorable,  at 

Tyburn,  810 
Queen  Henrietta  Maria,  809 
Sites  of  the  gallows,  809 
Tybourn    and    Westbourn, 

808      " 
Tyburn  Ticket,  809 
Tyburn  Turnpike,  sketched 
by  Capon,  810 

UNIVERSITY    OF    LON- 
DON: 
Burlington     Gardens    and 
Somerset  House,  810 


V 


AUXHALL  GARDENS: 
Arne,   Dr.,  musical  com- 
poser, 812 
Artificial  Ruins,  813 
Balloon  Ascents,  814 
Battle  of  Waterloo  Fete,  813 
Bish,  Gye,  and  Hughes,  813 
Cheesecakes  and  Syllabubs, 

812 
Church  and  School,  815 
Copped  or  Copt  Hall,  811 
Conspirators'  Vault,  811 
Evelyn  and  Pepys,  811,812 
Fielding,  Sir  John,  813 
Finally  closed,  814 
Fireworks,  814,  815 
Fulke     de     Breautd     and 

Faukeshall,  811 
Gold  Ticket,  812 
Goldsmith's  Vauxhall,  813 
Guy  Fawkes'  Tradition,  811 
Hogarth's  paintings,  812 
La  Sale  Faukes,  811 


870 


INDEX. 


Vacxhall     Gardens — con- 
tinued. 
Morland,  Sir  Samuel,  811 
Music  composed  for,  814 
New  Spring  Gardens   laid 

out,  811 
Orchestra,  Gothic,  814 
Plan  of  the  Gardens,  814 
JRulotto  alfresco,  812 
Roman  fort  and  pottery,  812 
Sale  of  Pictures  by  Hogarth 

and  Hayruan,  814 
Saqui  on  the  Rope,  814 
Singers,  early,  812 
Statues     of    Handel     and 

Milton,  by  Koubiliac,  812 
Tom  Brown  and  Wycherley, 

812 
Tyers's  lease,  812 
View  in  1751,  813 
Walpole  and  Fielding,  813 

V  ALB ROOK: 
Bothaw,  or    Boat-haw, 
815 
Course  of  the  stream,  815 
"  Old  Barge,"  815 
Roman  remains,  815 
S.  Stephen's  Church,  204 
Wapping  : 
Ames  and  Day,  816 
Execution  Dock,  815 
Great  Fires,  816 
Jeffreys,    Lord    Chancellor, 

detected,  816 
Origin  of  Wapping,  816 
Radcline,    Sir    Hugh    fail- 
lough  by,  816 
Stag-hunt.  816 
Taverns,  old,  816 
Watling-street  : 
British  road  and  remains, 

816,  817 
Course  of,  817 
Etymons  of  the  name,  817 
London  Stone,  533,  534 
Roman  Grand  Way,  816 
South-Eastern  Railway  Sta- 
tion, 818 
Stukeley  and  Wren,  817 
Wat  ling-street  Thistle,  816 
Wax-work  Shows  : 
Collections,  various,  819 
Salmon,  Mrs.,  350 
Tussaud  Collection : 

Madame  Tussaud,  sketch 

of,  819 
Chamber  of  Horrors,  820 
George  IV.'s   Coronation 

Robes,  820 
Hall  of  Kings,  819 
Modelling   in    wax,   cos- 
tume, &c,  819 
Napoleon  Relics,  820 
Relics,  Miscellaneous,  820 
Royal    and     noble    cele- 
brities, 819 
Westminster  Abbey : 
Show  in  1754,  818 


Wax-work  Shows — contind. 
Play  of  theDead  Volks>,8 1 8 
Ragged  Regiment,  818 
Nollekens  on,  819 
Walpole  describes,  818 
Westminster  : 

Abingdon-street,  818 
Almonry,  818 
Artillery -place,  821 
Barton  and  Cowley-streets, 

822 
Broadway,  Christchurch,156 
Canon-row : 

Notable    residents ;  Lady 
Wheler  and  Charles  I., 
822 
Charles-street : 

Ignatius  Sancho,  822 
Dean's-yard : 

Ashburnham  House,  444 
Westminster  ?cholars,822 
Domesday  Book,  821 
Duke-street : 

Jeffreys,  Lord,  his   man- 
sion ;   chapel ;   notable 
resident?,  822 
Edgar's  Charter,  820 
Elizabethan,  821 
Fitzstephen's,  821 
Fludyer-street : 

Axe-yard  andPepys,  823 
Gardener's-lane : 

Hollar,  the  engraver,  823 
Geological  note,  821 
Great  George-street : 

Storey's    Gate ;    Reform 
Club ;      Sir     Matthew 
Wood,  823 
Heraldic  Signs,  821 
Horseferry,  433 
James-street,  479,  823 
King-street : 

Cromwell's  house ;  nota- 
ble residents ;  Spenser 
died,  823,  824 
Manchester-buildings,  822 
Millbank-street : 

Peterborough  House,  824 
Penitentiary,  697 
Origin  of  name,  820 
Palace-yard,  Old  and  New : 
Clock-tower  ;      Conduit ; 
Executions,        Pillory, 
Stocks,  and  Whippings ; 
Starchamber  buildings ; 
Chaucer  and  Ben  Jon- 
son  ;  Gunpowder-plot; 
Raleigh's      execution  ; 
White  Rose  Tavern,824 
Palmer's  Village : 

Maypole,  825 
Park-street : 
TownleyCollection ;  Cock- 
pit, 825 
Petty  France  : 

Milton's  House,  825 
Prince's-street : 

Broken  Cross ;  Stationery 
Office,  825 


Westminster — continued. 
Queen-square,  751 
Rochester-row,  825 
S.  Anne's-lane,  818 
S.  Margaret's  Church,  821 
Sanctuary,       Broad       and 
Little: 
Churches ;   National    So- 
ciety's Schools  j  Seekers 
of    Sanctuary ;    West- 
minsterHospital ;  West- 
minsters (Old)    Memo- 
rial, 825,  826 
Thorney  Island,  820,  821 
Tothill  Fields : 

Origin  of  Name  ;  Wager3 
of  Battle ;  "  Seven 
Chimneys  ;"  S.  Ed- 
ward's Fair ;  Bear-gar- 
den ;  Bridewell;  Duels ; 
Scotch  Prisoners,  826 
Tothill-street : 

Amory,    Betterton,     and 
Southerne;  Cock  public- 
house  ;  Orchard-street, 
826 
Tufton-street,  826 
Victoria-street : 

Commenced  1845,  826 
Churches,  826,  827 
Vine-street : 

Vineyard    and   Bowling- 
green;   Colonel  Blood, 
827 
Westminster  Abbey: 

Dean  and  Chapter,  827 
Wood-street : 

Carter,    the    antiquary ; 
North-street ;       Elliston, 
comedian,  827 
Woolstaple : 
Long      Staple      and     S. 
Stephen's  Hospital, 821, 
822 
Westminster  Hall  : 

Bill  of  Fare,  George  IV.'s 

coronation,  831 
Colours  and  Standards,  828 
Coronation  Feasts : 

Edward  I.,  Richard  II., 
George  IV,  830,  831 
Cromwell         inaugurated ; 

head  set  up,  830 
Fire  in  1630,  829 
Floods  of  the  Thames,  828 
Galilee,  828 

Great  Fire  of  1834,  829 
Great    and    Little     Halls, 

831 
Hell,   Purgatory,  Paradise, 

and  Heaven,  830 
Interior  dimensions,  827 
Kings  held  their  courts,  828 
King's  Championship,  830 
Norman  remains,  827 
Oak,  British,  Roof,  828 
Parliaments  assembled,  829 
Richard     II.     heightened, 
827 


INDEX. 

871 

Westminster  Hall — contd. 

Whitehall — continued. 

Wh  iteh  all — con  t  in  lied. 

Rioters  of  Evil  May-day,  830 

Elizabeth's  recreations,  834 

Vertue's  plan,  835 

Roof  carvings,  827 

Exchequer : 

United   Service  Institution 

Roof  and  Lantern,  827 

Trial  of  the  Pyx,  836,  837 

Museum,  836 

Rufus's  Hall,  827 

Execution  of  Charles  I.,  834 

Whitehall  Gardens,  837 

Shops  in  the  Hall,  829 

Extent,  833,  837 

Whitehall,  name,  833 

S-     Stephen's     Torch     and 

Gardens  and  Dials : 

Wolsey's  Statue,  833 

Statues,  662,  828 

Gunter  and  Hall's,  836 

Wyat's  rebels,  834 

Trials,  Memorable,  829 

Great  Fire,  835 

Windows,     Painted      and 

William  of  Wykeham,  827 

Gunpowder  Plot,  834 

Stained:  St.  Paul's;  Guild- 

Whitechapel : 

Henry    VIII.    and    Anne 

hall;  Oxford-street,  837 

Claude  Duval  and  Defoe ; 

Boleyn  married,  833 

Inns  and  galleried  yards ; 

Holbein's  Gate,  833 

YORK  HOUSE,  last  of,  836 
-»-     York-place,  833 

S.  Mary's  Church  ;  Mears*s 

James  II.,  Statue  of,  836 

Bell-foundry  ;        Prison ; 

James  II.  at  Whitehall,  835 

Tokens,  83 X,  832 

Jones,     Inigo,    Palace   de- 

700LOGICAL SOCIETY'S 
^     GARDENS : 

Whitefriars  : 

signed  by,  834 

Carmelite  Convent ;   Chap- 

Jones, Inigo,    and     Stone, 

Admission  of  Members,839 

ter-house    and    Church ; 

sculptor,  837 

Animals,    more    remark- 

Hanging- -  sword  -  alley  ; 

Mary,  Queen,  coronation,834 

able,  838 

Lombard-street ;        San- 

Museum, Whitehall-yard: 

Founders,  838 

quhar,  Lord;     Selden  in 

Portland  vase,  836 

Menagerie     in    Regent's 

Friary-house ;     Theatre  ; 

Orchard  of  Whitehall,  834 

Park,  838 

832 

Palace,  Confessor's,  rebuilt, 

Museum  opened,  838 

Whitehall  : 

833 

Society  instituted,  837 

Banqueting-house     rebuilt, 

Palace-row: 

Visitors,  839 

834 

Notable  residents,  837 

Zoological  Club,  839 

Bowling-alley,  Cockpit,  and 

Pictures,  833 

Zoological  Gardens,  Surrey  : 

Tennis-court,  833 

Privy  Garden,  836 

Cross'  Menagerie,  839 

Canaletti's  view,  835 

Remains  of  ancient  White- 

Gardens laid  out,  839 

Chapel  Royal,  835 

hall,  836 

Pictures  and  Models,  and 

Charles  I.,  pictures,  83* 

Richmond    and    Pembroke 

Fireworks,  839 

Charles  II., additions  by,  83  5 

House,  835 

Surrey  Music  Hall,  839 

Cromwell  at  Whitehall,  835 

Scotland-yard : 

St.    Thomas's    Hospital, 

Edward  VI.  'sPailiament,833 

Metropolitan  Police,  837 

temporary,  839 

THE  END. 


LONDON : 

SAVILL,    EUWABDS  AND   CO.,    PBINTKBS,   CHANDOS  STKKET, 

COVKNT  GARDEN. 


£ 


± 


V5 


5JAE-UNIVEM//V 


,  o 
<rii30NY-S01^ 


vvlOSANCElfj"- 

o 


%a3AINflMV 


^0FCALIF(%,       ^OFCALIF0% 
>  V7^  )§    £*w*  is 


v~V 


37 
-< 


^3  <=" 


>s 


%. 


University  of  California 

SOUTHERN  REGIONAL  LIBRARY  FACILITY 

Return  this  material  to  the  library 

from  which  it  was  borrowed. 


REC'D  YRl 

1  NOV    7  jggff 


I  Wifk 

lAPRUlii 


wm  w- 


APR  1 

REff 

QUAWJBX. 


# 


SEP  1  92000 

REC'D  YRL  SEP  20 


"ft 


fj 


^vrTAiiru^         ^vn-ttLiru/M^ 

<$   A  /—».    <*  ^  ft         X-~^    * 


^N  0  5  2QQ3 


J/MN 


'00 


res 


fWW      (J 


LIBRARY^ 


^AavaaiH^      ^Anvaan-#       ^tow-sov^ 


^OS-ANGElflU 


l^ 


'<oajAiNn-iW> 


'^UdllVJJO^  '^IMITCHO^ 


//jmNVSQV^ 


^lOSANCELFj^ 


^0FCALIF(%, 


^ 
^ 


<Til3DNYS01^ 


'0^       ^HBRARY^ 


*£      ^ 


0^      %(MI1V3-J0^ 


i^7    ^AHvaan-j^ 


\WE  UNIVER57/V 


^AOSANGElfj^ 
o 


«$UIBRARY& 


%        .^0FCAIIF(%,  .WtfUNIVERto 


^lOSANCELfj^ 
§>^ — *« 


<Gl33KV-SOV^ 


.^0FCAtlF(%, 

O 
I    ^ 


^'•/o  i  nun  nails' 

mmimmm^SS^  U8RAflY  fac.uty 


l^       ^/MAlNfHtt^         %0JITV3J0^ 
%        A^lOSANCELfj^  ^0FCAIIF(% 


^/OJITVDJO^         %13DNYS01^ 


.^0KA11F(%, 


1^       ^/MAIM^ 


^awwih^ 


^V\E  UN1VER5//V 


^AMIR^  ^JMNVSOl^ 


'Ofi.       ^lllBRARYQc 


AWEUNIVERJ/a 


^clOSANCEl^  ^t-UBRARY^ 


^vlOSANCElfj> 


#    %\mmi^ 


<TJ133NVS01^       "%3AINa3tW 


10^      ^KNIIVJJO^        ^fil30NVS01^       "%3AIM-3^         ^OJITVDJO^ 
%,       ^OKAllFO/j^  ^WEUNIVER^ 


^OFCAIIFO% 


y<?AHVJ]8IR^